Brief for Appellee — Robert W. Blanchette et al., v. Connecticut General Insurance Corp.
Supreme Court brief1974
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
—
In The Supreme Court of the Anited States
(HM TOBER TERM. 1974
NGT MKI REOROEANIZATION CASES
LNITED STATES OF AMERICA. of a \ppellants
COONNEC TICL TL GENERAL INS) CORP ia \ppellees
(No. 74-168
UNITED STATES RAILWAY ASSOCIATION. Appethan
CONNECTICUT GENERAL INS. CORP. of w Appellees
iNeo 74 lt)
ROBERT MN BLANCHETIE. RICHARD €. BOND ond
JOHN HH. MeAR THUR, as Trustees of the Properts of
Penn Central | ransportation ¢ ompany, Debtor, Appellants
CONNEC TICL | CGCENERAL INS. CORP t al \ppellees
(No. 74-165)
ON APPEALS FROM THE UNTIED STATES
IMSERICT COURT FOR THE FASTERN
IHSTRICT OF PENNSYIDANGA
BRIEF OF THE NEW HAVEN
TRUSTEE, AS APPELLEE
OF Counsel ten Mens
225 Franklin Street
Re fon Nee „5
6577
MORRIS Ki
CHARLES W. Momse, e
SULLIVAN & WORCESTER
225 Franklin Street
Boston, Masvachuwtt
27
Kurts Wt ere
54 Meadow Street
*. Haven, Connectu ul
nm 0%
Ih few Appell
Ruhard ] (¢ Smooth. lrudes
| the Property of the Ne dort
*. 0 i rH and A has
Campany, Debtor
iy
91 401
Page
. (iv)
Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved |. 3
Counter-Statement of Questions Presented ...... 5
Counter-Statememt of the Case ................ 6
Summary of Argument 20
Argument:
|. THERE IS NO “ADEQUATE REMEDY
AT LAW” TO ASSURE PENSATION
FOR THE TAKING OF PENN CEN.
TRAL'S RAIL PROPERTIES CAUSED BY
IMPLEMENTATION OF THE RRRA __.. 25
A. Congress Has Not Provided for Just Com-
pensation for the pag TY Private Prop-
erty Mandated by the RRRA ........... 30
B. There Is No Original Jurisdiction in the
§2284 Cour to Enter a — ey .
mem that, if Implementation Mag
om
E. NA
in the Court of Claims ........ 33
D. The Doctrine of Remedy «a
Law Requires that t New Haven
Trustee Have an I Cause of
Action Against the United States Under
the Theory of the Armstrong Decision. 65
E.A Deficiency Judgment Against the
United States for a Shor Fall in Con-
sideration Would Not Guarantee Receipt
of Just Compensation or Constitute an
Adequate Remedy at Law, Particularly
Where There Is Assurance that Con-
gress Would A vate the Funds Nec-
essary to Pay a —— of the Coun of
Clai
————— ũ ˖m
67
Il. THE COURT BELOW WAS CORRECT
IN HOLDING THAT THE RRRA COM.
PELS PENN CENTRAL TO CONTINUE
RAIL OPERATIONS PAST THE POINT
OF UNCONSTITUTIONAL EROSION,
AND IN ISSUING AN INJUNCTION
AGAINST f) AS APPLIED TO Dis.
CONTINUANCE OF RAIL SERVICE
AND THE CERTIFICATION OF A FI.
NAL SYSTEM PLAN UNDER §20%c) ....
A. This Court's Decisions, as Interpreted
and by the Third Circuit in the
Option Case, Govern the In-
reer eee eee
~
1
Grande Cases Do Not Furnish Suppor
8
76
78
78
107
ee es
Appendix: Letter dated November 14, 1973
Brinega to Senators Magno snd ot
to -
ton relative to “Senate Working Paper
—— ——U—UAU—ͤ :
119
A-l
IV
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases:
Aimota Farmers Elevater & Warehouse Co. v.
U' mted States, 409 U.S. 470 %%% „
Aptheker v. Secretary of State, 378 US. 500
Armstrong v. Unded States, WA US. 40 (1960) .
Assocration of Data Processang Service Or-
gamzations v. Camp, 997 U.S. 150 (1970) ..
Baker v. Carr, 69 U.S. 186 (1962)...
Baltimore S Olio RN ( mted States, Ae US.
A —˙ TE AD GF RS TEFL SR
Brooks-Scanlton Co. v. Railroad Commiuson, 251
r WAA LILLE I
Bullock H Commission of Flonda, 254 US.
. ———
Caw vo laA
US. 10601 © enéhnwetensedbbesdessees
Catlin v. United States, 324 U.S. 229 (1945) ...
Central Railroad Co. of New Jersey _v. Manu-
facturers Hanover Trust Co, 421 F. 2d 004
(3d Cir.) cert. demed, 398 U.S. 947 (1970) ..
Clark v. Uchersee Finanz Korporation, 332 U.S.
PD: eee
Consolidated Rock Products Co. v. DuBow, 312
Ce GOW GHGS cceccccccecvccccccceceses
Continental Ill. Nat. Bank v. Chicago, RA. C Pac.
Ry, 294 US. 647 (19385) .... 6.0... es.
Dugan v. Rank, 372 U.S. 609 (066)
E S.S. Corp. v. United States, 372 F. 2d
“thor . CL 1967) de
Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968) .....
Federal Power Commission v. Hope Natural Gas
Co, 320 U.S. 591 (1944) .. 0.
Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1960)
Fort Berthold Reservation v. Umted States, 990 F.
2d 686 (Cr. Cl. 1960)
105-06
21, 64, 65,
66
85
77
—
Glidden Co. v. Zdanok, US. 590 (1962
Goldberg v. Damels, 231 US. 218 (1913)... ..
Goltra v. Weeks, 271 U.S. 536 (1% %/f ũꝗBrtI
Hooe v. Umted States, 218 U.S. 322 (1910
Hurley v. Kincaid, 285 US. 95 (1932) ........
In ve Boston Y Maine Corp, 484 F 2d 369 (ist
.. <neaccncuseocesswecess
In ve Boston Y Mame Corp. D. Mass. No. 70-
250 M. May 2, 1974) ©... 66 cnn
In ve City of New York (Fifth Avenue Coach
Lines), 18 N.Y. 2d 212, 219 NE. 2d 410,
dismissed sub. nom. Fifth Avenue Coach
— City of New York, 386 U.S. 778
.
In ve New York, NH. S HAR, 378 F. 2d 635
eee eee
In ve New York, NIL. HRA. (Order No. 441),
281 F Supp. 65 (D. Conn. 1968) .........
In ve New York, NH. S&S HRA. (Decenon on Re-
orgamzation Plan), 289 F. Supp. 451 (D.
11 K— 666s
In ve New York, NH. & HRR. buten on
Price to be Paid Debtor's Assets), YOA F
793, 304 F. Supp. 1136 (D. Conn.
In ve Penn Central Transportation Co. (Columbus
Appeals), 494 F. 2d 270 (3d Cir.
0
1974), petition for cert. filed, 42 US.L.W.
3633 (May 8. 16300 No! 75-1672 ———
In ve Penn Central Tra on Co. (Order No.
124), 325 F. Supp. 302 (ED. Pa. 1971)
In ve Penn Central Transportation Co. (Opimon
in Support 7 Order No. 830 ve © consist
Dispute), 347 F. Supp. 1356 (E. D. Pa. 1972)
In re Penn Central Tra ion Co. (Order No.
1137), 355 F. Supp. (sas (E.D. Pa. 1973) .
In re Penn Central Tra jon Co. (Order No.
1189), 358 F. Supp. 54 (EL. D. Pa. 1973) ..
Page
29, 34, 72-73
vi
In re Port A ity Trans-Hudson Corp., 20
N.Y. 2d 457, 231 N.E. 2d 743, cert. demed
sub nom. Port Authority Trans-Hudson 1
— 1 Rapid Tubes Corp, 390 US. 1
...es
In re Third Avenue Transit Corp, 198 F. 2d 703
GG, GED 6c ccccccccvccecdsessccedec
Ivanhoe Irngation District v. McCraken, 357 U.S.
D —
Jacobs v. United States, 290 U.S. 13 (19333
Land v. Dollar, 330 U.S. 731 (1947) .........
Land v. Dollar, 184 F. 2d 245 (D.C. Cir. 1950)
Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce Corp.,
$37 U.S. 682 (1909000) cee cece eens
Louisville Joint Stock Land Bank v. Radford, 295
LL
Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571 (1934) ...
Malone v. Bowdoin, 369 U.S. 643 (1962) ......
Mine Safety Appliances Co. v. Forrestal, 326 U.S.
2 ——
Mitchell v. Unated States, 287 U.S. 341 (1925) .
New Haven Inclusion Cases 399 U.S. 392
EEA 0
Northern Pacific Ry. v. Boyd, 228 U.S. 482
enen ese
Olsen v. Umited States, 292 U.S. 246 (1934) ....
Penn Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486
neee des deset
Pewee Coal Co. v. Umited States, 341 U.S. 114
...es eee eee see
...alle eee eee
Pocono Pines Assembly Hotels Co. v. United States,
eee cédectces
Poe v. Uliman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961)
Railroad Commission v. Eastern Texas R.R., 264
Ss eT ED
59
54, 56, 57,
61
71
21 et passim
33, 75
57-59, 61
74
104
— —
„
vil
Reconstruction | mance Corp. v. Denver RU
R.R, 328 US. 495 (0 DP tbc seeds deat
Reesde v. Walker, 52 US. (11 How.) 271
„„ cbeeboceviccccccd cckscvcces
Roe v. Wade, 367 U.S. 497 (1961)
Silesian American Corp. v. Clark, 332 U.S. 469
D oö
Tempel v. United States, 248 U.S. 121 (1918) ..
United States v. Ansoma Brass S Copper (o. 218
eee. .
U' nited States v. Candelana, 271 U.S. 432 (1926)
ee |
United States v. Candelana, 16 F. 2d 559 (8th
e alt oth nde dees ot
United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946) ..
United States v. Dickinson, 331 U.S. 745 (1947)
United States v. Dollar, 196 F. 2d 551 (h Cir.
eee eee ee
U' nated States v. Fruchauf, 365 U.S. 146 (1961)
United States v. King, 395 U.S. 1 (1969) ......
U mated States v. Lee, 106 U.S. 196 (18827
United States v. National Dairy Products Corp.,
SIS UB. BO CUBED on ccccsccccccccsccces
U' nated States v. Nixon, 42 U.S.L.W. 5237 (U.S.,
EES CEE 62:00 pccscdeadbsceteotooucs
United States v. North Amerwan Transp. & Trad-
ing Co, 253 U.S. 330 (1920) .............
United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17 (1960) ....
United States v. Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14 (1970) ..
United States v. Sherwood, 312 U.S. 584 (1941)
United States v. Umted Mineworkers, 330 US.
D eo eee Relea eae ald 2 a
United States v. Zazove, 334 U.S. 617 (1948) ..
Vanhorne’s Lessee v. Dorrance, 2 U.S. (2 Dall.)
304 (Circuit Court Pa. 1795)
Yazoo © Mississippi Valley RR. v. Jackson Vin-
egar Co, 226 (Ps, 217 (1912) 17 3
Yea „ WA. Ross Construction Co, 309 U.S.
e eee
You Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343
ee.
29. 73. 74
104
27, 48, 49, 50
48
65
71
71
26 ef passim
59
71
77
26 1 passim
56, 57, 61
105
77
48
105
67
26 et passim
63-64
19
67
105
26, 42, 55
20 et passim
viii
ADMINISTRATIVE DECISIONS:
New York, NH. & HRRK, Second Supple-
mental Report, 331 LC.C. 643 (Nov. 16,
— 00 —— 4
Pennsylvama RR - Neu York Central RR. Re-
on 327 CC. 47
— — 88
Penn 1 2 Co. Reorganization,
zation Plans, Finance
— No. 26241 (Sept. 28, 1973) 8
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES:
Constitution of the United States:
Article I. Sec. 8, Cl. 3 (Commerce Clause) . 3
Article I, Sec. 8, Cl. 4 (Bankruptcy Clause) 3. 11
rr 3 et passim
r V (Due Process and Takings
F ˙ ails a helm ore 3 et passim
Statutes:
Aa to Establish Indian Claims Commis-
sion, August 13, 1946, §24: 60 Stat.
„„. 54
Act of June 1, 1910; 36 Stat. 455 54
Bankruptcy Act:
Section 77, 11 U.S.C. §205:
.
rr 2
7200 C 47
„„
re 23 107
E Rail Service Act
"Usc. 662 SS 80-81
Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. §§1 et seq:
EE ee eee ee 107
Judicial Code, 28 U.S.C.
D
n 4
ee es
—U —— — U
— ——— ee
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§151 ef seq. .
Rail ization Act of 1973,
Law 93-239, 87 Stat. 985, 45
U.S.C. §§701 et seq:
——* „„ „„ „ „ „ „ „ „ „„ eee
‚—G— ener * * eee
——— * *ũ 2233
—ͤ—ͤ— j ee ee ee
‚G—ͤ— A ũ ͤũͤũ*„mun„ * 0 * * ee
‚— UUUUU Uh ˖ 33
‚—UU — c 33333333333333333õ333333Võ᷑ꝛéumß
— —*ũ—·»k„ „„ „„ „„ „„ „„ „„ „ „
ee „„ „„ „„ „„ „ „ „ ee ee
‚G—ͤ—ͤ—U ***
—+*ũõ“¹1VuIlI „„
‚— UU)d k 553
‚G—ͤ— Æ h
9 595 2ũ53?ÿ—“zwꝛ „ „ „ „ „ „„ „„
— 3 „*
Joint Resolution No. 59, Public Law
93-5, 87 Stat. 5 (Feb. 9, 1973) .........
Title 31, U.S.C:
r
Trading with the Enemy ct. 50 U.S.C.
App. §§1 ef seq:
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:
119 Rec $ 23783-4 (daily ed. Dec. 21,
1973) tRemarks of Sen. Hartke)
119 Rec. H 11876 (daily ed. Dec. 20,
1973 Colloquy bet Adams and
Kuykendall 3 1
120 — 8 meget ed. Sept. 16,
1974) (Introduction of S. to amend
Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973)
4, 27, 29, 72
27 et passim
49-50
46-47, 53, 66
18, 42
110
MISCELLANEOUS:
Letter dated Nov. 14, 1973 from Secretary of
Transportation Brinegar to Senators M -
nuson and Cotton, and attachments
Note, Takings and the Public Interest in Railroad
Reorgamzations, 82 Yale L. J. 1004 (1973)
Note, The Court of Claims: Judicial Power and
— — Review, 46 Harv. L. Rev. 677
Staff Report of the Securities and exchange
Commission to the Special Suixcommittee
on — of the House Committee
on Interstate oreign Commerce, The
Financial Collapse of the Penn Central Com-
pany (August, 1973) eee 5 esse ery
* 1 + Seizure Case, House Doc. No. 534
azmgress, 2d Sess.) (U.S. Gov’ nt -
ing Office, 1952) —
——
——̃ 2 2
43, 62-63
— —ABᷣ— — —U
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1974
Nos. 74-165; 74-167; 74-168
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION CASES
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al, Appellants
i
CONNECTICUT GENERAL INS. CORP. ¢f al, Appellees
(No. 74-168)
UNITED STATES RAILWAY ASSOCIATION, Appellant
1
CONNECTICUT GENERAL INS. CORP., , Appellees
(No. 74-167)
ROBERT MN BLANCHETTE, RICHARD C. BOND and
JOHN H. McARTHUR, as Trustees of the Property of
Penn Central Transportation Company, Debtor, Appellants
i
CONNECTICUT GENERAL INS. CORP., et al, Appellees
(No. 74-165)
ON APPEALS FROM THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA
BRIEF OF THE NEW HAVEN TRUSTEE,
AS APPELLEE
This brief is submitted on behalf of Appellee Rich-
ard Joyce Smith, Trustee of the Property of The New
York, New Haven and Hartford Railroad Company,
Debtor (the “New Haven Trustee” and “New Haven,”
respectively). Since July, 1961, the New Haven has
been in reorganization under §77 of the Bankruptcy
Act, II U.S.C. §205, United States District Court for
the District of Connecticut, No. 30226. However, since
December 31, 1968, New Haven's former railroad has
2
been operated by Penn Central Transportation Com-
pany (“Penn Central”), pursuant to the inclusion ap-
proved by this Court in New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399
U.S. 392 (1970). The Court (399 U.S. at 483-89) de-
clared that the New Haven Reorganization Court (An-
derson, J.) was correct in concluding that a plan which
allowed payment of a portion of the purchase price
for New Haven’s assets in the form of common stock
of Penn Central valued at a price of $87.50 per share
was not fair and equitable; stated that Judge An-
derson’s solution to this problem, a provision whereby
Penn Central would be required to “underwrite” the
$87.50 value of the 950,000 shares, was conceptually
sound but had become “unrealistic” by virtue of Penn
Central having filed for reorganization some eight
days prior to the Court's decision; and accordingly re-
manded the case to the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion (“ICC”) and the appropriate federal courts for
further proceedings in accordance with its opinion.
The New Haven Trustee takes the position that the
only reasonable interpretation of the Court's opinion is
that the New Haven estate is to be treated as having a
secured claim as to the full unpaid amount of the pur-
chase price of the assets conveyed on December 31,
1968, secured by such assets. The issues on the re-
mand have yet to be adjudicated.' The New Haven
Trustee is presently owed $123,809,404 by Penn Cen-
tral, exclusive of interest, out of a total purchase price,
approved by this Court in the New Haven Inclusion
Cases, of $174,635,899. The New Haven Trustee's
standing in this case is predicated upon his unpaid se-
cured claim for the balance of the purchase price for
the assets conveyed to Penn Central on December 31,
1968.
The New Haven Trustee, together with other ap-
pellees here, prevailed in the court below as to certain
‘See New Haven Trustee's Brief as Cross-Appellant (in No. 74-166),
dated August 28, 1974, at 81-82, n. 76, for a discussion of the pro-
cedural history of the remand issue in the ICC and the federal courts.
3
of the constitutional questions presented for decision.’
The New Haven Trustee's present brief as Appellee is
in support of those portions of the order below which
enjoined the United States and USRA from enforcing
certain provisions of the Regional Rail Reorganization
Act of 1973.
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTES INVOLVED
These cases involve the following constitutional
provisions and statutes:
United States Constitution:
Article 1, Section 8, Clauses 3 (Commerce
Clause) and 4 (Bankruptcy Clause)
Article I. Section 9, Clause 7 |
Fifth Amendment (Due Process and Takings
Clauses)
Pertinent extracts of the foregoing provisions are
set forth in Appellants’ briefs, except for Article I, Sec-
tion 9, Clause 7, which reads in pertinent part as
follows:
The appellants and their briefs to which this is addressed are as
1. United States Railway Association (“USRA™), Appellant in No. 74-
167, brief dated August 28, 1974,
2. United States of America, A al (“United States”), Appellants in
No. 74-168 (includes appeals filed by the United States, the 1OC, the
Chairman of the I and the Secretary of the Treasury), bref dated
August, ; and
. om W. Blanchette, Richard ( Bond and John H. McArthur,
as Trustees of Penn Central (“Penn Central Trustees”), Appellants in
No. 74-165, brief dated August 23, 1974.
;
|
1
eas in his Amicus Cunae Brief and Motion for Leave to
— 1974. The New Haven Trustee
„ cross-appeal (No. 74-166) ts from so
much of the order below as denied in part his claim for injunctive rehef
against of — of the Regional Rail Re-
organization Act of 1973, 45 U.S.C. §701 ef on the ground that such
provisions were repugnant to the Constitution.
i
4
“No money shall be drawn from the Treasury but
in Consequence of Appropriations made by
Law....”
Statutes of the United States:
Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973, Pub-
he Law 93-236, 45 U.S.C. §§701 ef seq. (JA
491-531") (hereinafter cited as “RRRA”).
Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act, II U.S.C.
§205 7 oo to New Haven Trustee's
re as Cross-Appellant in No. 74-166, at Al-
12).
Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. §1491 (Appendix to brief
of Penn Central Trustees, at la- 2a).
In addition to the foregoing statutory provisions,
pertinent extracts of which are found in the Joint Ap-
pendix or in the appendices to the briefs of Appel-
lants, the following additional statutory provisions are
necessanly involved in the decision of these cases to
the extent that the Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. §1491, is re-
lied upon by Appellants:
31 U.S.C. §724a reads, in pertinent part, as follows:
“§724a. Appropriations for payment of judgments
— compromise settlements against the United
ates
“There are appropriated, out of any money in
the Treasury not otherwise appropri i and out
of the postal revenues, ively, such sums as
may on and after July 27, 1956 be necessary for
the payment, not otherwise provided for, as certi-
fied by the Com roller General, of final judg-
compromise settlements (not in
excess of $100,000, or its equivalent in foreign cur-
rencies at the time of payment, in any one case)
which are payable in accordance with the terms of
JA” followed by a reference refers to the Jor Appendix
condemned ae ee io he Cor a —
Documentary Submission (J. D. S % has also — ent —
ments therein are referred to by “J.D.S.” followed by the number of the
document.
— ae ———
5
sections 2414, 2517, 2672, or 2677 of Title 28. to-
ether with such interest and costs as may be spec-
ied in such judgments or otherwise authorized by
2
28 U.S.C. 62517 reads as follows:
“§2517. Payment of judgments
(a) Every final judgment rendered by the
Coun of Clauns — the United States shall be
id out of an 7 — iation therefor, on
— + —— Office of a
certification of the judgment by the clerk and chief
judge of the court.
“(b) Payment of an yy ty ~~ t and of in-
terest thereon shall be a full discharge to the
United States of all claims and demands arising out
of the matters involved in the case or controversy.”
28 U.S.C. §2518 reads as follows:
92518. Certification of judgments for
appropnation
“The Secretary of the Treasury shall certify to
Cc for a jation only such judgments of
the rr
are entered upon mandate of the Supreme Court.
COUNTER-STATEMENT OF
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Is there an remedy at law under the
Tucker Act (28 U.S.C. §1491) for an otherwise uncom-
pensated taking for public use of Penn Central's rail
properties and the New Haven Trustee's liens thereon
such that the constitutional issues posed by the RRRA
need not be reached?
2. If there is no such adequate remedy at law, was
the court below correct in enjoining enforcement of
the RRRA on the ground that, in failing to provide
just compensation for an interim taking for use, the
RRRA was repugnant to the Fifth Amendment to the
Constitution?
6
COUNTER-STATEMENT
OF THE CASE
Penn Central filed for reorganization under §77 of
the Bankruptcy Act on June 21, 1970. The early
stages of Penn Central's §77 proceedings were devoted
to an effort by the Penn Central Trustees to identify
the problems which had to be overcome in order to
achieve an earnings-based reorganization. The initial
cash crisis was temporarily alleviated by orders of the
Penn Central Reorganization Court permitting de-
ferrals of interest on debt (other than equipment
debt), of most leased line rentals and of real estate
taxes.’ In addition, acting pursuant to §77(c\(3), the
Penn Central Reorganization Court approved issuance
of $100 million of Trustees’ Certificates which, in or-
der to be marketable, required the guarantee of the
United States. See /n re Penn Central Transportation Co.
(Order No. 124), 325 F. Supp. 302 (E.D. Pa. 1971).
A series of ten reports of the Penn Central Trust-
= disclose the history of the Trustees’ efforts to
eve a private earnings—based reorganization of
— Cemral. The Trustees began by asserting that
enn Central could be reorganized if certain con-
ditions. not within their control, were met.’ Sub-
*Through December 31. 1973, the
ferred: interest, $104 million: — i on bn oe
$241 million. Stipulation as to Factual Matters pnnted
| ‘ ( at JA 317-24:
cee ee ne “See Co) Ge, 13, 1 me A oo ems
i
7
sequent reports spelled out a lack of success in achiev-
ing these conditions. Finally, in their January |, 1973
and February |, 1973 reports, the Trustees acknow!l-
edged that reorganization would not be possible with-
out a government grant (not merely financial assistance
by way of loans or guarantee of borrowings) on the or-
der of $600 to $800 million.
There followed an attempt by the Trustees to put
into effect certain crew-consist changes (which had
been the subject of exhaustive, but unproductive, pro-
ceedings under the Railway Labor Act), that resulted
in a strike by the United Transportation Union on
February 8, 1973. Congress responded by enacting
Senate Joint Resolution No. 59, which imposed a 90-
day moratorium on both the work-rule changes and
the strike.“
Shortly thereafter, acting - sponte, the Penn Cen-
tral Reorganization Court entered an opinion and or-
der regarding the status of reorganization efforts. /n re
Penn Central Transportation Ce, 355 F. Supp. 1343
(E.D. Pa. 1973). Judge Fullam on March 6, 1973 con-
cluded as follows:
“Whether the constitutional limit [of erosion] has
been exceeded depends primarily upon how the re-
maining assets are to be ; and this in turn
may well upon how those assets are to be
used at the conclusion of this reorganization. Un-
„ — oe 22 a seems clear that the
of unconstitutionality is fast approach fa
not already arrived. } „
hd essence of §77 of the Bankrur’ , Act is that
— e rg! remedies normally available to creditors
a eld in suspension for a reasonable time in
= — to permit rehabilitation of the enterprise.
7 ry u appears that there is % genuine like-
thood of ultimate success, the legal and constitutional
justification for restraining creditors from exercising their
normal remedies disappears. 48
“By the same token, however, this Co i
tl , , ourt cannot ig-
— — realities of the Debior's situation. On the
— — — record to date, it appears highly doubtful
at the Debtor could properly be permitted to continue to
operate on its present basis beyond October 1, 1973." 1d
at 1344-46 (emphasis added).° N N
4 There then followed proceedings before the ICC in
ugust, 1973 upon proposed plans of reorganization
of Penn Central filed by the New Haven Trustee in
June, 1973, and subsequently by the Penn Central
Trustees and Penn Central Company. The ICC's Re-
port dated September 28, 1973 rejected on various
—— all plans submitted for the reorganization of
— Central. e and declined to certify to the Re-
eye Court any plan of reorganization under
4 — essentially adopting the position urged by the
nit | States that reorganization of Penn Central had
to await a “solution” for the Northeast that would, in
turn, require Congressional action. ö
On October 9. 1973, the New Haven Trustee filed
a motion to dismiss Penn Central's §77 proceedings
Thus. by the time this appeal has been heard, Penn Central will
have been “permitted to i is”
— Cee ae Operate on its — —
The ICC's Repon dated September 28, 1973 j
‘ 3 is J.D.S. 54.
from the testimony in the ICC proceedings are set font in j.D2.
9
pursuant to §77(g), and sought a liquidating re-
ceivership, on the ground, infer alia, that the point of
unconstitutional erosion of the Penn Central estate
had commenced not later than January |, 1973.“ the
date of the Penn Central Trustees’ Report (J.D.S. 8).
On January 2, 1974, the RRRA was signed into law
by the President.’
On January 25, 1974, the New Haven Trustee filed
a complaint asserting that the RRRA was uncon-
stitutional on its face and as applied to Penn Central.
Named as defendants were the United States, USRA,
and Secretary of Transportation Brinegar (herein
sometimes referred to collectively as the “Gov-
ernmental Defendants”). The action was filed in the
United States District Court for the District of Col-
umbia, and was subsequently transferred, by consent,
to the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, where other
cases concerning the constitutionality of the RRRA
were pending. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§2282 and
9984, a three-judge district court, consisting of Circuit
Judge Ruggero J. Aldisen and District Judges John P.
Fullam and Louis C. Bechtle, was constituted to hear
all these cases. The Penn Central Trustees, who inter-
vened as defendants, answered that the RRRA was
constitutional by virtue of the alleged existence of a
“Tucker Act remedy” under 28 U.S.C. §1491 to un-
J. DS. 13. As is pert — detail in Part I1-A of the Argu-
ment, this Motion and a petition seeking an equity rece:
have not been decided. No hearing was held on the §77(g) Motion unl
May 6, 1974. A previously filed petition of the New Haven Trustee,
seeking, inter alia, the fixing of a date for termination of operations
22 12) filed March 16, 1973, was never set down for hearing. By Or-
No. 1648, further proceedings have been conducted on the §77(g)
Motion and related petitions, including a further hearing on September
19, 1974.
„public Law 93-236, codified as 45 U.S.C. §§70! ef seq. Section refer-
ences to the RRRA are to the Section numbers in Public Law 93-236,
and not to the codification in 45 U.S.C.
10
derwrite” any constitutional defici i
te” any ficiency
aa * of issue, the New — bh
Prin 29. 1974 filed a motion for summ
ö a ud
— — of the legal issues raised by ——
e vernmental Defendants and the Penn Central
Trustees each th i ;
judgment.“ en filed counter motions for summary
the court enjoined all ies
b | parties “from
— . action to implement, 80 — —
) of the RRRA as purports to require dismissal of
sofar as it fails to i
; us to provide compensation for inter
erosion pending final implementation of the final —
his pom of
plaintiffs — 4 — was entered sua sponte, none of the
;
+
;
tem plan contemplated by the RRRA, and that §304(f)
of the RRRA is null and void as violative of the Fifth
Amendment to the Constitution insofar as it would re-
quire continued operation of rail services at a loss in
violation of the constitutional nghts of the owners and
creditors of Penn Central (Order, §4a, 4b; JA 82-83).
The coun also declared a portion of the third sentence
of §207(b) of the RRRA to be null and void as vio-
lative of Article I. Section 8. Clause 4 of the Con-
stitution for the reason that the RRRA ts not uniform
geographically throughout the United States and, to
the extent that the RRRA amends §77 of the Bank-
ruptcy Act, it is a law on the subject of bankruptcies
within the meaning of Article I. Section 8, Clause 4
(Order, Vac; JA 83).
Insofar as the Order denied in part, on grounds of
alleged prematunity, the injunction sought by the New
Haven Trustee against the implementation of the
compulsory conveyance provisions of the RRRA as
constituting an uncompensated taking in violation of
his Fifth Amendment rights, the New Haven Trustee
filed a cross- appeal.“
The instant appeals (docketed as Nos. 74-165, 74-
167 and 74-168) concern an issue which the court be-
low found was ripe for constitutional adjudication,'®
namely, whether the RRRA produces an uncom-
pensated, or inadequately compensated, governmental
taking of private property for use by reason of com-
pelling deficit rail operations to continue notwith-
standing the erosion of Penn Central's estate. The
court considered that the evidence established that
'*Docketed as No. 74-166. See Jurisdictional Statement filed August
23, 1974, and Brief of New Haven Trustee as Cross-Appellant dated Au-
gust 28, 1974.
'*Apparently the A in these cases do not challenge the de-
termination of the court that the interim taking and “Tucker Ac
remedy” issues are indeed ripe for adjudication.
12
substantial erosion of the Pen
taken place in four years of operations under §77, that
it was continuin
** g. and would i
tit utionalhj erode th d inevitably uncon-
classes of claimants represented by plaintiffs, who in-
Growth in priority claims against the estate Deprived
of an adequate cash flow
the Pe a
has accumulated substantial prioriey an ie
of all -bankru
. Ipicy interests. C :
— these priority claims sheedy semen vA
east $300 million. On Aggregate at
another $100 million a a Status quo assumption,
unable to prevent continuing erosion.” (Penn Cex.
tral Trustees’ Interim Repo
8 n f
J. DS. 8 at p.4; quoted at JA 35.3003. 21) * Sova,
The court also i
quoted with
erosion made in March, 1973 —
organization Court:
“Eros; ;
— ne precise calculations have not
1 yy * ped, the record justifies the c
a. Lat post-reorganization deferrals and —4
—— claims have already eroded — 5
bret a — to the extent of about 8500 il
. ¢ Fenn Central Transportation “ om pany 355
F. Supp.
40) Pp. 1343, 1344 (F. D. Pa. 1973) (quoted at JA
Pproval an estimate of
y the Penn Central Re-
The coun concluded:
of
he court below '
jon, the d to, and did not, make findings
as to the amount of erosion
or the 4 a », the class of persons now
pom 22 erosion would be — by erosion,
vun interpreting the Fifth A tonal under the de-
;
:
;
1
7
13
885 1.000.000 during the present reorganization
proceedings, and cognizant also that unsecured
creditor as well as secured creditor interests are
squarely before this court, we are persuaded that a
significant —— exists that a point of erosion
either has or may soon be reached so that it
can be said that plaintiffs’ contention of interim
unconstitutional taking by continued loss oper-
ations is ripe for adjudication.” (JA 40).'*
Reaching the merits of the interim taking issue, the
court first noted that the defendants acknowledged
that the RRRA “does not explicitly provide for the
payment of just compensation” (JA 41) in the event
that the point of unconstitutional erosion of the Penn
Central estate is determined by the Reorganization
Court to have been passed. On the issue whether there
is a constitutional limit on the permitted erosion of a
railroad’s estate by reason of required deficit rail oper-
ations, and the factors which enter into the de-
termination of whether that limit had been passed, the
court quoted a portion of the following observations of
the Penn Central Reorganization Court:
“Underlying the provisions of Section 77 of the
Bankruptcy Act is the principle that, in order to
vindicate the public interest in continued rail ser-
vice, the normal rights of creditors and investors
may be held in suspension for a reasonable time in
order to achieve reorganization, and upon re-
organization may be drastically altered if necessary.
"The $851,000,000 of losses covers only the period from June 21.
1970 to December 31, 1973. In addition, for the first six months of 1974,
Penn Central suffered a net loss of $103,579,392 (Trustees’ Report dated
August 5, 1974). Thus the total deficit of the Penn Central system dur-
ing four years of operations under §77 is some $955 million. This loss is
after employing in rail ions Penn Central's non-rail income of $157
million (Stip. Fact. $11). Thus, rail ions alone during the four
years have produced deficits totaling some $1.1 billion. This amount in.
cludes deferred interest and leased line rentals in default in excess of
$500 million. The deficit in income available for fixed charges as the re-
sult of railroad operations is accordingly some $600 milhon.
14
Nevertheless, there are limits beyond which this
public interest cannot be served without violating
the constitutional prohibition against appropriation
of private property for public use without just com-
nsation. New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S.
992 90 S.Ct. 2054, 26 L. Ed. 2d 691 (1971); .
Brooks-Scanlon Co. v. Railroad Commission of
Louisiana, 251 U.S. 396, 40 S. Ct. 183, 64 L.Ed. 323
(1920). These limitations are measured both in
terms of the amount of erosion of the Debtor's es-
tate which can be permitted to occur before im-
airing liquidation value, and in terms of the
length of time that is reasonable for assessing the
ultimate prospects of achieving sufficient profi-
ability to support a valid recapitalization of the en-
terpnse.” Jn re Penn Central ge gee Co. (Opin-
ion in Support of Order No. 830 re Crew-Consist
Dispute), 347 F. Supp. 1356, 1366 (E.D. Pa. 1972);
quoted in part at JA 41.
The court below fully concurred in the doctrine thus
expressed, for which unqualified authority exists in
decisions of this Court.“ that the “normal rights of
creditors and investors [in a railroad] may be held in
suspension for a reasonable time in order to achieve
reorganization,” so as to “vindicate the public interest.”
The decision of the court was based on the corollary
of that proposition: that the rights of railroad creditors
and investors may not be held in suspension for more
than the “reasonable” time required to determine
whether a successful reorganization can be achieved.
USRA conceded below that if “a point might be
reached before consummation of the new [final sys-
tem] plan in which the constitutionally permissible
point of erosion had been reached,” unless a Tucker
Act remedy existed and provided an adequate remedy
‘Continental Ill. Nat. Bank v. Chicago, R. & Pac. RN. 294 U.S. 648
(1935) (hereinafter cited as “Rock Island”); Reconstruction Finance Corp. v.
Denver & RCN NR. 328 U.S. 495 (1946) (hereinafter cited as “Denver
& Rio Grande"), Penn Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486 (1968); New Ha-
ven Inclusion Cases, supra.
ee
4
;
15
at law, “the Act as a whole would probably be uncon-
sututional.” (Colloquy between counsel and Judge Al-
disert, JA 42). In the light of this concession, and per-
tinent factual stipulations (JA 317-323), the court
reasonably concluded that the RRRA’s constitutionality
as respects the interim taking issue would necessarily
depend on the availability and adequacy of a Tucker
Act remedy which would provide compensation to the
Penn Central estate in respect of the interim taking of
its rail properties for public use.
The court disposed of the Appellants’ Tucker Act
remedy argument by a detailed analysis totally at vari-
ance with Appellants’ characterizations in their briefs
here.” Although the court’s opinion discusses argu-
ments made below by the Appellants and certain of
the Appellees, as to whether the RRR should be con-
strued as an implied repeal of the Tucker Act, the
court's opinion did not decide which of the views is
correct, presumably because a resolution oi these ques-
tions was not necessary to its decision?
Rather, the court held that the issue of adequate
remedy at law” necessarily turned on statutory inter-
pretation of the RRRA itself. That is, the issue was
See e.g., USRA's brief at 41, asserting that the court ruled “that the
Court of Claims would not have jurisdiction over any claim for a taking
allegedly caused by the Rail Act because the Rail Act does not explicitly
make a Tucker Act remedy available.” This incorrectly states the court's
opinion, as indicated in the text. Moreover, the New Haven Trustee ar-
gued below that the RRRA does not withdraw any jurisdiction conferred
by 28 U.S.C. § 1491; his argument here (as it was below) is based on lack
of a substantively valid cause of action even assuming the Coun of Claims
has jurisdiction. See Part | of Argument herein.
"JA 44-50. While the court's opinion contains an elaborate ex-
— < a eepenien nsdictional comentions of USRA and the
n Central Trustees, on the one hand, and of certain of the plaintiffs
ng °
Trustee, having stated below that the jurisdiction of the Court of Claims i
unimpaired by the RRRA, argued that a resolution of this issue was
16
whether it was the intent of Congress to create a stat-
utory scheme which was all-inclusive in the sense that,
except by following its prescribed procedures with re-
gard to judicial review, claimants to the estate of a rail-
road were to have no substantive cause of action in the
Court of Claims for the changes effected in their
property rights by implementation of the RRRA. The
court held that this was the effect of the RRRA on
these grounds:
(a) The provision of Article I, Section 9, Clause 7
of the Constitution that “No money shall be drawn
from the Treasury, but in Consequence of Appropn-
ations made by Law” (JA 50) requires that Congress,
not the federal courts, make the decisions as to
whether, when and in what amounts monies of the
United States Treasury shall be expended.
(b) The express ceilings on appropriations
(§§213(b) and 214) and on obligations of USRA (§210)
preclude, as a matter of statutory construction, the
possibility that Congress was willing to appropriate
money to compensate any railroad’s estate for interim
erosion. (JA 50-51).
(c) The specificity of the delineation of judicial re-
view contained in §§209(a) and 303 of the RRRA (JA
51) precludes, as a matter of statutory construction,
that Congress granted the Special Court the power to
adjudicate, as part of its §303(c) proceedings, that a
constitutional “short fall” in consideration provided by
the RRRA is to be made up by a monetary judgment
against the United States which could be asserted in a
subsequent Court of Claims action.
The first sentence of §209(a) provides in pertinent
part:
“Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the final
system plan .. . is not subject to review by any court ex-
— —ñ—
me —
f
17
cept in accordance with this section.” (Emphasis
added.)
By citing this section (JA 51), the court interpreted
§20%a) to preclude any substantive cause of action
surviving the judicial review provided for in the sec-
ond sentence of §20%a), which reads as follows:
“After the final system plan becomes effective un-
der section 208 of this title, it may be reviewed with
respect to matters concerning the value of the rail
properties to be conveyed under the plan and the
value of the consideration to be received for such
properties.”
It is reasonably clear (even if not explicitly stated) that
the “review” rt med to in the second sentence of
§209%a) is solely that provided in §303(c) by the Special
Court, and in §303(d) by this Cour on review of the
Special Court's judgment. The difficult, problem of
Statutory construction is whether, in light of the first
sentence of §20%a), Congress intended that a person
aggnieved by the §303(c) judgment (as reviewed by this
Court under §303(d)) could seek to litigate essentially
the same issues again in the context of a suit for
money damages against the United States in the Court
of Claims. To answer that question, the court resorted
to the legislative history.
The legislative history confirmed the court's inter-
pretation of §209%a) that Congress did not intend that
a disappointed claimant at the conclusion of the pro-
ceedings in the Special Court and this Court, as con-
templated by §§303(c) and (d), could stant new lit-
igation by asserting a claim for money damages against
the United States in the Court of Claims, a claim
which might, if sustained, aggregate hundreds of mil-
lions or billions of dollars with respect to the Penn
Central claimants. The cour particularly noted the
following colloquy between the two “Managers on the
Part of the House” in the debate on the Conference
Committee Report:
Mr. [Dan] Kuykendall. “Mr. Some. I would like to
ask the leman from Washington one point,
and that is the matter of the deficency judgment.
There was a lot of uy in the original debate
which ex fears that the F Court had
the key to the Treasury.
“Will the gentleman give us his interpretation of
the guarantees we have to keep chet’ from hap-
pening in the court proceedings?
Mr. [Brock] Adams. “Mr. Speaker, there is a definite
limitation on the total amount that can be autho-
rized under this bill. Any amounts that go beyond
that, or the shifting of the way in which it is spent,
is to be a by an Act of Congress, to be
pp President. . . . [I}t was the clear intent
of the 1 that any amount other than com-
mon stock [of Conrail] was to be at the lowest
sible limit to meet the constitutional guarantees.
Mr. Kuykendall. “There is no way the Federal Court
may assess the tax or this Congress on the
judgments of the ors, is that correct?”
Mr. Adams. “The gentleman is correct.”
Mr. Kuykendall. “There is no way they can assess the
Congress for the money.”
Mr. Adams. “The gentleman is correct.” (119 Cong.
Rec. H. 11876 (1973), JA 49-50).
The cour below concluded:
“We are persuaded that the legislative hi su
nancial to t press term
of the Act.” (JA 500%¼ N = f
n is canon of statutory construction that where |i
ability of the United LN
‘footnote continued on ned page)
——
Concluding that the financial obligations of the
United States were intended by Congress to be “lim-
ited to the express terms of the Act,” the court was
compelled to find that the asserted availability of an
adequate remedy at law, to wit, a Tucker Act action
for a constitutional shon fall” at the conclusion of the
judicial proceedings under §§303(c) and (d), did not in
fact exist. It was in this context that the coun
observed:
“To read a Tucker Act remedy into the Act would
be a movement of the mass and not simply the par-
ticles. We simply lack such power.” (JA 53).
From this conclusion, and the Appellants’ con-
cessions below that the RRRA itself provided for no
compensation for the taking for interim use which
would inevitably (on the basis of the stipulated facts)
occur during the minimum of two or more years of
deficit rail operations mandated by the RRRA, the
court concluded:
“Accordingly, we hold that Section 304(f), in te-
quiring mandatory intenm ions without pro-
viding a legal remedy to furnish fair and just com-
pensation for an erosion of property beyond
constitutional limits, offends the Fifth Amend-
ment; that Section 303, the only provision of the
Act pertaining to valuation of the railroad estate, in
failing to provide a remedy for any uncon-
stitutional erosion caused by mandatory intenm op-
erations under Section 304(f), is also de-
fective... and that because of these conclusions
the United States Railway Association must be en-
joined from certifying a Final System Plan to the
pecial Court pursuant to Section 209%(c).” (JA 53).
‘footnote continued from preceding page’
expression of Congressional intent to a reading
—— the Treasury to a large liability. See Pine Hill Coal Co
„ Unated States, 259 U.S. 191, 196 (1922) (Holmes, I United States » Za-
we, 334 US. 602, 617 n. 24 (1948) (Vinson, C. J.)
20
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Two main issues are presented by these appeals:
1. Is there an adequate remedy at law under the
Tucker Act such that the constitutional issues posed by
the RRRA need not be reached?
2. If there is no such adequate remedy at law, was
the court below correct in enjoining enforcement of
the RRRA for repugnance to the Fifth Amendment to
the Constitution?
On the first issue, the New Haven Trustee, as Ap-
pellee, submits that the court correctly disposed of Ap-
pellants Tucker Act remedy arguments:
A. The RRRA on its face clearly excludes any in-
tent on the pan of Congress to subject the United
States to monetary liability for the takings of private
property mandated by the RRRA.
B. No court has jurisdiction to render a declaratory
judgment that, upon a certain set of facts ensuing, the
United States will be liable to plaintiffs in an action in-
voking the jurisdiction of the Court of Claims under
the Tucker Act.
C. Not all cases over which the Court of Claims has
junsdiction to consider the merits involve valid causes
of action. A valid cause of action under the theory of
“inverse eminent domain” ires a statute which ex-
pressly authorizes the exercise of the eminent domain
power. The RRRA is not such a statute. The decision
of this Court in Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,
343 U.S. 579 (1953) is controlling precedent to the ef-
fect that the remedy in the Court of Claims exists only
— ee Se ae oe
— a oe — — *
r
—
e
‘
if the statute is constitutional and authorizes the ex-
ercise of eminent domain powers. Such an inter-
pretation of Youngstown is necessary in order to recon-
cile Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce Corp., 337
U.S. 682 (1949) and subsequent post-Larsen cases with
Hurley v. Kincaid, 285 U.S. 95 (1932) and other in-
verse eminent domain cases.
D. The doctrine of adequate remedy at law re-
quires that the New Haven Trustee have an inde-
pendent cause of action against the United States un-
der the theory of the Court's decision in Armstrong =
United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960). Such a cause of ac-
tion would be based on divestment of the New Haven
Trustee's liens as a result of the implementation of
§303(b)(2) of the RRRA, and need not await the Spe-
cial Court's proceedings under §303(c).
E. A deficiency judgment against the United States
for the “short fall” in the consideration provided by
the RRRA would not in any event be an adequate rem-
edy at law since takings require payment of just com-
pensation entirely in money or its perfect equivalent.
Moreover, judgments entered by the Court of Claims
in amounts in excess of $100,000 cannot be enforced
against the United States Treasury without Con-
gressional a ion. The legislative history of the
RRRA shows that Congress did not intend to permit
the United States to pay any additional amounts of
government money to railroad estates beyond the
$500 million of potentially available debt obligations of
USRA backed by i United States guarantees
and the $85 million of grant funds authorized by §213
of the RRRA.
F. If the Court is in doubt as to whether the RRRA
is intended to be an eminent domain statute, it should
not render an advisory opinion that it may be sus-
22
tainable on the theory advanced by the Penn Central
Trustees that Congress has adequate time, if it dis-
agrees with the judicial interpretation, either to repeal
the RRRA or to vote to prevent any final system plan
from becoming effective pursuant to §208(a) of the
RRRA.
The coun’ below was correct in holding that the
RRRA requires Penn Central to devote its private
property to a public use without assurance of receiving
just compensation therefor:
A. Although railroad creditors may properly be re-
strained for a reasonable time in the exercise of their
contractual foreclosure or other remedies, it is not con-
stitutionally permissible for Congress to defer the ex-
ercise of those remedies endlessly. The court below
was correct in rejecting the Government's inter-
pretation of New Haven Inclusion Cases and Penn Cen-
tral Merger Cases, supra, and in following the reasoning
of the Third Circuit Coun of Appeals relative to the
issue of when a further restraint upon creditors
amounts to an intentional uncompensated taking.
B. The New Haven reorganization, when correctly
analyzed in the light of the facts of that proceeding,
the positions of the New Haven creditor parties, and
the procedural context in which the various judicial
decisions, including New Haven Inclusion Cases, supra,
were rendered, does not support the Government's
principal theory in support of the constitutionality of
the RRRA.
C. The Court's decisions in the Rock Island and
Denver & Rio Grande cases, supra, under §77, when cor-
rectly interpreted in the light of the facts of those
cases, do not support the constitutionality of the
RRRA.
,
:
:
23
D. Section 304(f) of the RRRA, properly inter-
preted, requires USRA, during the interim period pre-
ceding the effective date of a final system plan under
the RRRA, to deny Penn Central permission to termi-
nate rail operations on, or abandon, any rail segments
which might be included either in a final system plan
for conveyance to Conrail, or in lines as to which any
States or regional transportation authority will be pre-
pared to commit public funds for a rail service con-
tinuation subsidy beginning within a few months after
the effective date of the final system plan. Pending the
effective date of a final system plan, the scope of per-
missible discontinuances and/or abandonments under
§304(f) is negligible or non-existent. Prior decisions of
the Court indicate that a statute cannot be rewritten to
limit its applicability to a narrow area where it might
be constitutional. This rule is applicable a fortiori
where the plaintiffs below demonstrated that the
RRRA as written is unconstitutional as applied to
them.
E. Section 304(f) of the RRRA withdraws the juns-
diction of the reorganization court under §77(0) to or-
der abandonments of rail properties of a debtor rail-
road, and withdraws the court's equity jurisdiction to
order cessation of rail operations when necessary to
protect constitutional rights. Because of the policies
underlying 28 U.S.C. §§2282 and 2284, only a court as
there constituted can prevent this unconstitutional ap-
plication of §304(f) by enjoining its enforcement.
F. The court was correct in adjudging §303(c) of
the RRRA unconstitutional for failure affirmatively to
provide payment of just compensation for the erosion
being suffered by Penn Central during the period re-
quired to carry out the planning processes of the
RRRA.
24
G. The court was correct in enjoining USRA from
certifying a final system plan to the Special Court in
view of its holding on interim erosion and the failure
of §303(c) of the RRRA to provide just compensation
therefor. If USRA proves to be able to devise a final
system plan which does in fact provide just compen-
sation for the interim erosion suffered by Penn Cen-
tral during the period of the planning process, it can
apply to the §2284 court for appropriate modification
of the injunction in the light of the evidence then
presented to such court.
H. The evidence was more than sufficient to sup-
port the conclusion that the Penn Central estate has al-
ready suffered substantial erosion during the four
years of §77 proceedings, and that substantial erosion
is continuing during the planning process of the
RRRA. The court was not required to calculate the
amount of erosion with mathematical precision, or to
determine what claimants to the Penn Central estate
are currently being affected by erosion, because one or
more of the plaintiffs below are currently being in-
jured by erosion. Substantial deficits in income avail-
able for fixed charges, plus substantial accrual of pri-
ority administration claims that have accrued during
four years of 577 proceedings and are continuing to
accrue, are highly probative of massive on-going ero-
sion of the Penn Central estate. The Government in-
troduced no evidence that appreciation of the value of
balance sheet assets, even if arguendo such appreciation
is deemed a proper offset to erosion, has been realized
in amounts substantial enough to offset the erosion
which has occurred and is continuing.
:
:
‘
25
ARGUMENT
1
THERE IS NO “ADEQUATE REMEDY AT LAW”
TO ASSURE COMPENSATION FOR THE TAKING
OF PENN CENTRAL'S RAIL PROPERTIES
CAUSED BY IMPLEMENTATION OF THE RRRA
The New Haven Trustee agrees with Appellants
that the central issue in these cases is whether Con-
gress intended that a litigant in proceedings pursuant
to §§303(c) and (d) of the RRRA could, if dis-
appointed by the final judgment of the Special Court,
as affirmed or modified by this Court, start all over
again by suit against the United States in the Court of
Claims. Appellants contended below and contend here
that the Tucker Act creates a remedy both for an un-
compensated taking for interim use, and for an inad-
equately compensated permanent taking, of Penn
Central's rail properties. Thus, Appellants assert that
the Appellees have an “adequate remedy at law.
In summary, the New Haven Trustee's position on
the availability of a Tucker Act remedy issue is as
follows:
(i) The Tucker Act confers jurisdiction upon the
Court of Claims in an action for money damages by a
private person against the United States; and thereby
constitutes a waiver, but limited to the express terms
of 28 U.S.C. §1491, of the historic common law doc-
trine of sovereign immunity.
(ii) No court other than the Court of Claims has
original jurisdiction to decide that the United States is
liable in money damages for a taking of private prop-
erty under the Fifth Amendment. The bar to such de-
claratory judgments is the doctrine of sovereign im-
26
munity itself, as stated by the Court in the Sherwood™
and King“ cases. In fact, under the King decision, not
even the Court of Claims itself has jurisdiction to ren-
der such a declaratory judgment.”
(iii) The RRRA is silent as to any intent of Con-
gress partially to repeal 28 U.S.C. §1491 in cases aris-
ing under the RRRA. No such repeal is necessary,
however, to support the judgment below. That judg-
ment is based on there not being sufficient assurance
that a substantively valid cause of action would exist
against the United States for an “implied taking” to
make applicable the doctrine of “adequate remedy at
law.” The New Haven Trustee submits that the RRRA
cannot fairly be interpreted as allowing a substantively
valid cause of action to be asserted in the Court of
Claims to recover the constitutional “short fall” which
the RRRA itself fails to provide.
(iv) Cases such as Hurley v. Kincaid, supra, Yearsley v.
W. A. Ross Construction Co, 309 U.S. 18 (1940), United
States i Causby. 328 U.S. 256 (1946), and other cases
cited by Appellants“ are inapposite because they did
not arise in a context where Congress had specifically
provided for another court to render judgment as to the
value of the property being taken and the value of the
consideration provided under the law as compensation
therefor. The “implied takings” cases, of which the
Causby case, supra, is the most celebrated example, are
based on a theory of “inverse eminent domain,” and
are irrelevant to the decision of the issue here. The
question in the instant case is whether Congress in-
"United States v. Sherwood, $12 U.S. 584 (1941).
United States v. King, 395 U.S. 1 (1969).
*Although the United States has not cited the Sherwood King
cases in its brief as Appellant, it argued below that the Penn Central
Trustees’ cross-motion for summary based on the Tucker Act
— .
**See, ¢.g., cases cited in brief of USRA at 43-47.
N —
5
4
27
tended, in §§209(a) and 303(c) of the RRRA, that ail
issues concerning the value of rail properties required
to be conveyed under §303(b), and the consideration
therefor specified in the final system plan pursuant to
statutory guide lines contained in §206 of the RRRA,
should be definitively adjudicated solely by the Special
Court (§303(c)) and, on appeal from its judgment
(§303(d)), by this Court. If that question is answered in
the affirmative, there is no adequate remedy at law; if
in the negative, there could be a remedy at law for an
implied taking under the “inverse eminent domain”
theory. On the latter assumption only, a valid cause of
action could be asserted in the Court of Claims under
28 U.S.C. §1491. In that event, the only remaining is-
sues would be whether such a remedy is adequate (i)
as to the amount and (ii) in view of 31 U.S.C. §724a,
28 U.S.C. §2517, and Article I, Section 9, Clause 7 of
the Constitution, as to collectibility of the judgment.
(v) The court below concluded that there was no
Tucker Act remedy, relying on both the express words
of §20%a) and the legislative history. That decision
was correct. It is entirely consistent with the decision
of the Court in Silesian American Corp. v. Clark, 332
U.S. 469 (1947), involving a statutory scheme under
the Trading with the Enemy Act.“ whereby Congress
prescribed a taking of property of persons whose en-
emy alien status was yet to be determined, and pre-
scribed an elaborate administrative and judicial review
procedure to be followed by persons claiming to be
non-enemy aliens entitled to just compensation under
the Fifth Amendment. A litigant, such as the plaintiff
in the Sileuan American case, who pursued the adminis-
trative and judicial proceedings of §9(a) of the Trad-
ing with the Enemy Act and, if disappointed by the
District Court, appealed to the Court of Appeals, sub-
2740 Stat. 411 (Oct. 6, 1917), as amended by First War Powers Act of
1941, 55 Stat. 839 (Dec. 18, 1941), 50 U.S.C. App. §§1 ef seq.
28
ject to further review in this Court by certiorari, would
scarcely have been permitted to start all over again in
the Court of Claims. Since the Trading with the En-
emy Act does not specifically repeal 28 U.S.C. §1491
as to claims of unconstitutional takings by the Alien
Property Custodian, it follows that the Court of Claims
would have jurisdiction over such a case but would be
obliged to dismiss any complaint for want of merit.
From this it can be reasonably inferred that a sub-
stantively valid cause of action “upon any claim against
the United States founded either upon the Con-
stitution or any Act of Congress. (28 U.S.C. §1491)
must be one which is not only valid ab initio under the
Constitution but is not precluded by a law which pur-
ports to create an entirely different remedy cognizable
in a different court. When the procedural sections,
§§209(a) and 303(c) and (d) of the RRRA, are read
with the substantive sections, §§206 and 210-215, the
conclusion is inescapabie that Congress has af-
firmatively legislated that railroads whose rail proper-
ties are required to be conveyed pursuant to the
RRRA are to be compensated by securities of Conrail
and not in excess of $500 million of obligations of
USRA, as determined by the Special Court, and not by
a money judgment against the United States.
(vi) Even f there is a Tucker Act remedy under
the theory of inverse eminent domain, the remedy at
law would still be inadequate if it were limited, as Ap-
pellants contend, to a “short fall” remedy. No author-
ity exists for the analogous proposition, for example,
that the farmer whose lands were flooded in Hurley v.
Kincaid, supra, could constitutionally be paid partly in
stock of TVA, partly in bonds of the Federal Land
Bank, and the balance in money upon a judgment of
the Court of Claims. The Almots case. and a long line
**Almota Farmers Elevator & Warehouse Co. v. United States, 409 U.S.
470 (1973).
oe eS ee —"
$
1
N
4
*
29
of eminent domain cases cited in the New Haven
Trustee's brief as Cross- Appellant (at 56-59), stand for
the proposition that “just compensation” within the
meaning of the Fifth Amendment means money or its
perfect equivalent.
(vii) Glidden Co. v. Zdanok, 370 U.S. 530 (1962),
does not stand for the proposition that a litigant's rem-
edy at law under the Tucker Act can be assumed to be
adequate in spite of substantial doubts as to its col-
lectibility. Rather, it was early held in Reeside v. Walker,
52 U.S. (11 How.) 271 (1850), that no execution may
be issued by any court to the Treasurer of the United
States unless Congress has previously appropriated the
funds to pay such judgment; and Reeside v. Walker was
cited with approval in Glidden Co. v. Zdanok, supra. In
terms of appropriations, Congress has appropriated
only the following: up to $100,000 for any one judg-
ment rendered in the Court of Claims (31 U.S.C.
§724a); and $74,800,000 in appropriations pursuant to
§213 of the RRRA (of which some $28,000,000 has
thus far been committed)“ The possibility that Con-
gress would in fact appropriate funds, very likely to be
required in the hundreds of millions or billions, for the
purpose of paying Penn Central creditors is simply be-
yond the realm of reality. The Amicus Curiae brief filed
by Congressman Brock Adams on behalf of members
of Congress is eloquent for the shadow it casts.
See Foreign Assistance and Related Programs Appropnations Act,
1974, 87 Stat. 1048 (Jan. 2, 1974) ($35 million); Second oo
Appropriations Act, 1974, 88 Stat. 195 (June 8, 1974) ($39.8 million).
30
A. Congress Has Not Provided for Just Compensation
for the Taking of Private Property Mandated by the
RRRA
In §§206(d)(1) and 303(c) of the RRRA, Congress
has legislated the form of the consideration, which
USRA is legally authorized to provide in the final sys-
tem plan, to be exchanged for the property to be
taken from the estates of railroads pursuant to
§303(b). Thus, §206(d)(1) provides:
“All rail properties to be transferred to the Cor-
poration i. e., Conrail]. . by trustees of a railroad in
reorganization, or by any railroad leased, operated
or controlled by a railroad in reorganization in the
— shall be transferred in exchange for stock and
other securities of the Corporation (including obliga-
tions of the Association) and other benefits ac-
cruing to such railroad by reason of such transfer.”
(Em added).
Under §303(a)(1), Conrail is to deposit with the Special
Court “all of the stock and other securities of [Conrail]
and obligations of the Association designated in the fi-
nal system plan to be exchanged for such rail proper-
ties: under §303(c)(1), the Special Court shall test the
consideration in “accordance with the standard of fair-
ness and equity applicable to the approval of a plan of
reorganization or a step in such a plan under Section
77 of the Bankruptcy Act;” under §303(c)(2)(B), if the
Special Court finds that the standard of fairness and
equity is not met, it shall order additional amounts of
securities of Conrail or obligations of USRA specified
in the final system plan to be issued; and, finally, un-
der §303(c)(2)(C), if there is still failure to meet the
standard of fairness and equity, the Special Court shall
cure the lack of fairness and equity by entering a de-
ficiency judgment against Conrail—and not against
the sovereign which created Conrail. Further very
31
clear evidence of Congressional intent not to subject
the United States and its agencies to liability is found
in §206(i), where it is provided that any securities of
Conrai! “which purport to directly obligate the Asso-
ciation [i.e., USRA] shall not become effective without
affirmative approval, with or without modification, by
a joint resolution of the Congress.”
In any event, money is not even mentioned in the
RRRA as a possible medium of payment for the prop-
erties required to be conveyed by a railroad in re-
organization. The reason for excluding payment in
money is set out at length in the letter from Secretary
of Transportation Brinegar to Senators Magnuson and
Cotton.” The executive branch did not desire to pay in
money the price for a condemnation, as Secretary
Brinegar acknowledges would be necessary in the case
of a taking by eminent domain. Whether or not in-
fluenced by this advice, Congress in fact legislated
what is, in economic and legal effect a taking, while it
omitted any provision for a payment in money. The
omission of a provision for a money payment was in-
tentional and apparently was based upon the assump-
tion by the legislative draftsmen that the substance of
the transaction could be determined by the details of
the form provided in the legislation. Thus, it may be
inferred that Congress accepted Secretary Brinegars
advice that if the language of the legislation were lan-
guage of reorganization, and not language of a taking
by eminent domain, there could be a “traditional” re-
in pan: “The ahernative would be to have the Gov-
put up the cash or bonds [necessary to effect a taking by con-
demnation without recourse to the Corporation. That w clearly un.
(emphasis added).
32
organization patterned after the New Haven's in-
clusion in Penn Central. Conrail would thus be created
by Congress to be the inclusion “partner” of Penn
Central; and, as the “first step” of its “reorganization,”
Penn Central would be required to convey to Conrail
those of its rail assets which were designated by USRA.
The constitutional validity of this result is being
challenged here by the New Haven Trustee's cross-ap-
peal. For the purposes of the instant appeals, however,
it suffices to note that the legislative history establishes
the firm intent of Congress that the Treasury of the
United States should not be exposed to any financial
liability as guarantor of the securities to be issued by
Conrail in exchange for the rail properties of Penn
Central and other railroads required to be conveyed to
Conrail; and that USRA itself could not undertake vol-
untarih the role of a guarantor of Conrail’s securities
unless authorized to do so by a joint resolution of the
Congress.
:
.
33
B. There Is No Original Jurisdiction in the §2284 Court
to Enter a Declaratory Judgment that, if Implementation
of the RRRA Results in an Inadequately Compensated
Taking, the United States Will Be Liable in the Court of
Claims
No court, other than the United States Court of
Claims, has original jurisdiction to decide that the
United States is liable in money damages for a taking
of private property under the Fifth Amendment in the
case at bar. United States v. Sherwood, supra. And even
the Court of Claims itself has no subject-matter juris-
diction to issue declaratory judgments decreeing that,
if certain steps were followed, the United States would
be liable in futuro. United States v. King, supra. The juris-
dictional defense of the United States affirmed in the
King case is part and parcel of the doctrine of sov-
ereign immunity, and is not affected by procedural
statutes, such as 28 U.S.C. §2201 concerning the rem-
edy of declaratory judgments. The rule of law is clear:
the United States may not be sued save as it consents
to be sued; the terms of its consent to be sued in any
court define that court's jurisdiction to entertain the
suit; the consent to suit must be unequivocal and di-
rectly expressed; and a waiver of sovereign immunity
cannot be implied. United States v. King, supra; United
States v. Sherwood, supra, at 586, 589-91; Mine Safety Ap-
pliances Co. v. Forrestal, 326 U.S. 371 (1945); Lynch v.
United States, 292 U.S. 571, 581-82 (1934). The juris-
diction of the Court of Claims is clearly limited to
„There is one unimportant qualification: 28 U.S.C. §1346(2) grants
the District Courts concurrent junsdiction over claims of less than
$10,000 arising under the Constitution. If, contrary to what is being
done in the case of the RRRA, the United States were authonzed by stat-
ute specifically to exercise the sovereign’s power of eminent domain, the
District Courts would have jun ion under 28 U.S.C. §1358, and the
Court of Claims would have no such junsdiction.
„in the Lynch case, Mr. Justice Brandeis’ opimon for a unanimous
Court held that Congress retains the power at any time to withdraw the
(footnote continued on next page)
34
claims for the present recovery of money presently
due and owing from the United States. United States v.
King, supra; Glidden Co. v. Zdanok, supra.
_ Furthermore, even the question whether the RRRA
intended to exclude the possibility of railroad trustees
bringing suit in the Court of Claims against the United
States is a matter which only the Court of Claims can
initially resolve, since it has exclusive jurisdiction both
to determine its own jurisdiction and to adjudicate the
substantive merit, or lack thereof, of all dlaims for
money damages asserted againsi the United States of
the magnitude involved in this case. Thus, if the Court
of Claims were to determine that the RRRA violated
the Penn Central's Fifth Amendment rights, that it
had Junsdiction to hear the case, and that as a result of
implementing the RRRA a substantively valid cause of
action arose entitling Penn Central to recover judg-
ment against the United States in a specified amount
the United States could seek review of that decision in
this Court.’ If the Coun of Claims, on the other
hand, were to hold that it lacked jurisdiction to con-
sider the action because the RRRA itself constituted a
withdrawal by Congress of the limited waiver of sov-
ereign immunity otherwise available, or that, while it
et apnoea the — itself precluded a sub-
tie cause of action for money damages again
United States, the Penn — — —
wise seek review in this Court. These are the ways con-
(footnote continued from preceding page)
sovereign’s consent to be sued even though it would deprive individuals
Laced pena ‘er 2 cision which (the Court held, a pp. 579-580) was
— tyres ~ *
28 U.S.C. 61255. Two methods of review provided
cerhoran, and (2 i 10 ——
— ) certification by the Court of Claims of any question of
„ . 1
4
*
*
i
35
templated by law for exploration of the Tucker Act
remedy in the present context.™*
The Penn Central Trustees, as Appellants in these
cases, do not assert their “Tucker Act remedy” argu-
ment merely by way of asserting an “adequate remedy
at law” defense against the Appellees. The Trustees’
brief here makes it clear that the relief the Trustees
sought by their motion for summary judgment below
is no less than a declaratory judgment that:
“(a) If the market value of the consideration pro-
vided under the Act, determined as of the date of
payment of that consideration, falls below the just
compensation to which the Penn Central estate is
constitutionally entitled, the Court of Claims will
have jurisdiction over an action for a taking, and
must enter a judgment against the United States for any
remaining amount owing; the only defense open to
the United States in that court will be that the
value of the consideration paid under the Act is
sufficient in amount to constitute the full just com-
pensation necessary to satisfy the Fifth Amend-
ment; and
“(b) If it is determined that, by reason of the Act,
Penn Central loss ions for the account of the
estate were prolonged past the 11 of uncon-
stitutionality, the Court of Claims will have jurisdiction
to award just compensation to the estate for the taking
of property occasioned thereby; the only defense
open to the United States in that Court will be that
the erosion caused by Penn Central loss operations
did not become unconstitutional in amount before
the date of conveyance, or that the Special Court
has taken account of such erosion and awarded
consideration to the estate of sufficient value to sat-
isfy the Fifth Amendment.
“The Penn Central Trustees have thus far refrained from com-
mencing any action under 28 U.S.C. §1491 for the interim taking of
their properties produced by implementation of the RRRA.
36
“In other words, a bare holding that the jurisdiction of
the Court of Claims was not repealed by the Act would be
insufficient if the United States were to retain de-
fenses which, if successful, could frustrate a Tucker
Act remedy as ensuring just compensation to the
estate. Merely as one example, we think it clear
that the Government must be precluded from ar-
guing in a Court of Claims action that erosion is
not compensable on the ground that the Trustees
or the Reorganization Court somehow consented to
the continuation of rail operations for the account
of the estate, and that no taking occured for that
reason.
“Since it would be hazardous, if not impossible, to
uy to imagine every conceivable defense to a Court
of Claims action which ingenious Government
counsel might formulate, the only way to ensure
that the estate will receive just compensation is to
preclude all defenses other than those outlined
above.” Brief of Penn Central Trustees as Appel-
lants, at 63-64 (emphasis added).
By that position, the Penn Central Trustees urge
this Court to limit sharply the doctrine of the King and
Sherwood cases so as to enable them to support the con-
stitutionality of the RRRA. It is dear that. if this Coun
refuses to formulate such an exception to the King and
Sherwood doctrine, the Penn Central Trustees join the
Appellees in these cases in asserting that the RRRA is
unconstitutional and that the bare holding that Tucker
Act jurisdiction was not withdrawn by the RRRA is in-
sufficient to save the RRRA.*
Aside f remedy
the positions of the A and with the posi of
4 position of the New Haven
(as to interim erosion) and srry ye he —
‘ to the i com pensated
an — and. with — to ee with the New Ha-
see t rustees’ brief at 48-52, ing that
the issues of whether the RRMA effec s permercesn ene arene
tence or non-existence of a Tucker Aa
sation therefor are not premature and are ripe for decision
Mon ° 7 > — 1 4 8 * = * 1 2
er eee
37
The Penn Central Trustees’ argument that a
Tucker Act remedy exists produces an anomalous ju-
dicial review pattern. The Trustees must assume, nec-
essarily, that the Special Courts §303(c) decision, when
reviewed by this Court under §303(d), would be bind-
ing on the Court of Claims under a doctrine of res ju-
dicata or collateral estoppel. There would thus be, un-
der the Trustees’ approach, not one but two
declaratory judgments binding upon the Court of
Claims in anticipation of any Court of Claims action
being commenced: one by this Court on the present
appeals, and a second by the Special Court in —
§303(c) decision (which would be reviewed here un —
§303(d)). Apparently, therefore, the role thereafter :
the Court of Claims, under the Trustees approach,
would be limited to adjudicating whatever remaining
defenses could be deemed still open to the United
States.
In this Court, it is recognized that the doctrine of
stare decisis does not bar a revision or reversal of the
King and Sherwood decisions. It should be significant to
the Court, however, that the Appellees, the parties
with the greatest financial stake in the outcome of this
litigation, and presumably having the most to gain
from this Court’s entering a Tucker Act declaratory
judgment as urged by the Penn Central Trustees, do
not support that position. On the contrary, — *
recognize that under the Constitution, Congress has
the last word on appropriations. A declaratory judg-
ment as sought by the Penn Central Trustees will, it is
submitted, be at once a pyrrhic victory for the cred-
itors and an advisory opinion by the judicial branch
which is in no way binding upon Congress.
38
C. In the RRRA, Congress Intended to Preclude Any
Substantive Cause of Action for Money Damages Against
the United States in the Event that the Consideration
Specified in the RRRA Was Adjudged to Be Con-
stitutionally Inadequate
The Tucker Act is a jurisdictional statute, not a
statute which creates substantive rights or remedies.
The principal function of the limited grant of juns-
diction to the Court of Claims is to waive the defense
of sovereign immunity in cases within the jurisdiction
conferred. However, the jurisdictional grant (and
waiver of sovereign immunity) is broader in scope than
the nature of the valid actions which can be sustained
under it. That is to say, not all cases which may be
properly brought before the Court of Claims have sub-
stantive merit. The United States, USRA and the Penn
Central Trustees fall into error in assuming that, so
long as jurisdiction under the Tucker Act was not im-
pliedly withdrawn, a valid substantive cause of action
automatically exists merely because there is a claim
properly founded on the Constitution. While the text
of 28 U.S.C. §1491 may literally support that con-
struction, it is not one which is judicially sanctioned.
As the Court of Claims stated in Eastport S. Corp. .
United States, 372 F. 2d 1002 (Ct. Cl. 1967):
“Section 1491 of Title 28 of the United States Code
allows the Court of Claims to entertain claims
against the United States ‘founded either upon the
Constitution, or any Act of Congress, or any reg-
ulation of an executive department, or upon any
express or implied contract with the United States,
or for liquidated or unliquidated damages in cases
not sounding in tort.’ But it is not every claim in-
volving or invoking the Constitution, a federal stat-
ute, or a regulation which is cognizable here. The
claim must, of course, be for money. Within that
sphere, the non-contractual claims we consider un-
.
39
Section ivided into two somewhat
po —— in which the plainuff
on p Sao over to the Government, directly
1 Feilen and seeks return of all or part of that
— and those demands in which money has not
— paid but the plaintiff asserts that he is nev-
ertheless entitled to a payment from the — 2
— — — e the
been paid or taken), t . ~
sued rl id, exacted,
—— from = — in contravention — —
Constitution, a statute, or a regulation. 15 — —
ond group, where no such 2 2 —
made, the allegation must be that . = .
rovision of law relied upon grants the om.
— or by implication, a eS paid a
tain sum [citation and footnote omitted |.
— category includes the vaned liugations
in 2 = wee to hold that some —
rovision of law embodies a command to —
U ited States to pay the plaintiff some mon
— proof of contisions which he is said to meet.
Familiar examples are inverse eminent domain by 8
taking without formal r nited 1.
Causby, 328 U.S. 256, 66 S.Ct. 1062, 90 L.
( 1946) [other examples and citations omitted].
ho
> f case, we have held, ‘a claimant w
4 entitled to money from — —
— because a statute or a regulation [or t 4 _
stitution] grants him — pad — 4 7 —
icati co .
— — FF hs 4 is not frivolous but ar-
guable’ [citation omitted]. —
* ims which cannot be brought within
oan ae 9 beyond this courts ——
even though they may intimately involve the ol
stitution, an Act of Congress, or an executive reg
40
ulation. This is the reverse of saying that this
is not concerned with any and all — hoe —
against the Federal Government, simply because
they rely upon (and in that sense are ‘founded
upon) an aspect of federal constitutional, statutory
— regulatory law. Where the claimant is not suing
or money improperly exacted or retained (the first
class defined above), the historical boundaries of
our competence have excluded those instances in
which the basis of the federal claim —be it the Con-
stitution, a statute, or a lation —cannot be held
» command, in itself and as correctly interpreted
— — ment of money to the claimant, but in
which some other principle of damages has to be
invoked for recovery. A federal criminal de-
fendant, for instance, who has been invalidly con-
victed or deprived of his liberty because of a vio-
lation of the Constitution or an Act of Congress
cannot obtain compensation under 28 USC
§1491 for his loss (although remedies may oc.
soutien 08 USE ta under the unjust —
ms (28 U.S.C. §§1495, 2513) or
the civil nghts legislation) [footnote omined *
“Under Section 1491 what one must
. > * I
—— — the constitutional cause or the tegen
which the claimant cites can fairly be interpreted as
mandating compensation by the Federal Gov-
ernment for the — 1 sustained. If not, this
+ td baw — = — Section 1491, al-
general principle —arisi
2 —+ — tort law — might lead * —
* 0 i . * .
vision.” 372 F. 2d at 1007.09. *
The principles set forth in the £
11 Eastport St vh
decision define the question for decision — —
a substantively valid cause of action in the Court of
Claims if (a) the RRRA was not intended as an em-
inent domain statute, but (b) in fact is bound to result
.
2
+
41
in inadequately compensated takings of pnvate prop-
erty for public use if not enjoined. The issue is mol, as
suggested by some Appellants, whether there is an im-
plied repeal of the Tucker Act; the issue is the proper
statutory construction of the RRRA in light of the ju-
risdiction conferred by the Tucker Act, and the lim-
itation that valid causes of action against the United
States must be constructed upon statutory as well as
constitutional underpinnings.
The New Haven Trustee has not asserted at any
time that the jurisdiction of the Court of Claims under
28 U.S.C. §1491 was impliedly repealed by the RRRA.
Rather, his position is that Congress has acted in the
RRRA in a preclusionary fashion with respect to the
substantive cause of action. The Penn Central Trust-
ees have no substantive cause of action, under the
Tucker Act, for a taking for which they can invoke the
jurisdiction of the Court of Claims, because Congress
specifically and advisedly legislated the exclusive
means of paying compensation for the properties
made subject to mandatory conveyances under the
RRRA. Since no monies can be paid out of the Trea-
sury of the United States “but in Consequence of Ap-
propriations made by Law” (Constitution, An. I, Sec.
9, Cl. 7), the Congress has the last and only effective
word on whether there shall be any payment for a
taking.
This position is sustained by the text of the RRRA,
its legislative history, and applicable rules of
construction:
(a) The RRRA contains substantive provisions with
respect to compensation which appear undoubtedly to
have been intended by Congress to be exclusive,
namely, those contained in §§206(d)(1), 303(a)(1),
303(c)(1), 303(cK 2B), and 303/02. It likewise ex-
42
pressly made the §303(c) determinations of the Special
Court exclusive in §20%a), and withdrew the juris-
diction of all courts (including, presumably, courts
convened pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §2284) to restrain
conveyances pursuant to the final system plan after i
has been certified to the Special — cee lan
sentence). These compensation and jurisdiction provi-
sions seem wholly inconsistent with the construction
that Congress in enacting the RRRA intended that pri-
vate claimants to the estate of a railroad would be
given the opportunity to litigate once in the Special
Count, appeal that judgment to this Court, and, if not
satisfied with its judgment, commence a second round
of litigation in the Court of Claims.
(b) The doctrine of inclusio unius est exclusio alter
combined with the legislative history of the —
virtually requires the conclusion that Congress did not
— — subject the Treasury of the United States to
obligation to pay in legal tender for properties re-
—— — to Conrail under the authority
(c) While an obligation on the part of the United
States to pay for properties taken can be implied from
2 cases so holding have involved statutes
— w ns Congress clearly did not attempt to prescribe
at the consideration to be issued for the taking as-
sume af < :
United — than a money judgment against the
“For exa .
Kuyhenddl quoted press ta nny between Reps. Adome and
which comes into play when a statute can fai :
* l fairly be
zing the executive branch to effect a taking wit er
4 „
}
7
43
(d) Where by proper statutory construction it is de-
termined that Congress has legislated that a taking
shall not be paid for in money by the United States,
the doctrine of separation of powers, and the respect
due to Congress’ decisions as to legislative matters,
prevent the judicial branch from permitting a taking
to proceed on the assurances of the executive branch
that the United States will be liable to the owners of
the property in the Court of Claims. See Youngstown
Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, supra (a taking by the execu-
tive d t was not authorized by Congress); Hooe
„ United States, 218 U.S. 322 (1910) (a taking by the
executive department was not authorized if the
amount exceeded limits set forth in Congressional
budget appropnations).
Hooe v. United States, supra, is precisely in point.
Youngstown, supra, is significant in this context because
the Court, in response to the contentions by the Gov-
ernment that the steel mill owners had an adequate
remedy at law for President Truman's unauthorized
seizure, cited Hooe as indicating substantial doubt
whether a remedy in fact existed in the Court of
Claims.
The facts in Hooe were as follows: Congress had
appropriated a fixed sum of money for a government
agency to lease part of a privately owned building.
„in this Court, the Secretary of Commerce argued that 28 U.S.C.
§1491, giving the Court of Claims jurisdiction “upon any claim against
the United States ... founded ... upon ... any regulation of an execu-
uve ” was applicable “regardless of the constitutional validity
of the ems taking,” and an adequate remedy at law. Bref
of Acting Attorney General and Sola General Periman, May, 1952, in
Sawyer v. Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. (No. 51-745) at 70, 2 The Steel Sei-
zure Case 778. Youngstown is thus not distingui on the ground ar-
gued by USRA’s Brief at 46 u. 56. It is further significant that the Gov-
ernment in 1 relied upon Huriey v. Kincaid, and argued that
was a panacea for all cases of uncompensated takings. /d. at 7 71.
44
The agency negotiated a one-year lease covering all
floors except the basement, but the agency also oc-
cupied the basement. After the lease expired, the
landlord demanded more rent for the building, in-
cluding additional rent for the basement. The agency
agreed the request was reasonable, and promised to
seek a supplemental appropriation from Congress for
the additional rent. Based on this promise, the land-
lord permitted the agency to remain in the premises
even though it paid on a current basis only the rent
provided in the initial lease. This continued for three
more years, and Congress declined to approve any
supplemental appropriation. Suit was brought in the
Court of Claims. The Supreme Court held that the
United States was not liable to the plaintiff on the
ground that there was no cause of action based on im-
plied promise, or the Fifth Amendment taking clause,
because Congress had not authorized a taking at any
price, but only the use of private property at the rental
provided for in the Congressional appropriation. That
the Congress had not authorized the payment of any
rent for the basement area of the building was held to
bar any cause of action under a quantum meruit theory,
or a taking theory, because if private property was
“taken,” it was by action of the executive branch not
concurred in by the Congress.
Cases such as Hurley v. Kincaid, supra, involve a
Congressionally authorized taking where it is clear that
Congress expected to subject the United States to suit
for damages, a situation quite unlike the case at bar.
Hurley v. Kincaid involved a statute which authorized
the Government to acquire either fee title or an ease-
ment for the purpose of flooding privately-owned
lands in the event the Government determined that it
would be more feasible to allow flood waters to over-
flow such lands rather than to construct levees to con-
45
trol flood waters. The statute provided that “No li-
ability of any kind shall attach to or vest upon the
United States for any damage from or by floods or
flood waters at any place... .” However, a proviso to
that provision made it clear that the liability of the
United States precluded by the statute was liability in
an action in ton for consequential damages, not li-
ability for an actual taking of an easement for flood-
ing. In the K case, the Government resisted using
its eminent domain powers to take a flooding ease-
ment on the ground that it was unnecessary because
the government program would not subject Kincaid's
property to additional destructive flood waters. In the
District Court, the factual finding was made against
the Government that the plan would, in fact, cause ad-
ditional destructive flood waters to pass over Kincaid's
land. An injunction was accordingly issued, and was
affirmed by the Court of Appeals. This judgment was
reversed by this Court on the ground that:
“Kincaid concedes that the Act is valid and that it
authonzes those entrusted with its execution to
take his lands or an easement therein. ... If that
which has been done, or is contemplated, does con-
stitute such a taking, the complainant can recover
just compensation under the Tucker Act in an ac-
tion at law as upon an implied contract, since the
validity of the Act and the authority of the de-
fendants are conceded.” 285 U.S. at 103-04.
The differences between the RRRA and the statute
involved in Hurley v. Kincaid are numerous and signifi-
cant. First, unlike the statute at issue in Aincaid, the
RRRA contains no provision whatsoever expressly au-
thorizing the United States to take property or an
easement therein by eminent domain. Second, unlike
Kincaid, the RRRA includes express provisions man-
dating that payment for the properties required to be
conveyed take the form of stock and other secunties
46
of, and a deficiency judgment against, a corporation
created pursuant to the Act. Had the statute in Hurley
v. Kincaid provided that farmers whose land was
flooded would receive shares of stock in TVA, as de-
termined by a specially constituted court, and had this
Court held that, in addition, Kincaid had a remedy for
money damages against the United States in the Court
of Claims, then the case might be of some relevance to
the instant case. Third, Kincaid conceded, as the
Court noted, that the statute involved was a con-
stitutionally valid enactment;** the New Haven
Trustee and the other Appellees here make no such
concession.
These differences, it is submitted, are controlling.
In the RRRA, furthermore, unlike the statute involved
in Hurley v. Kincaid, no intention of Congress to effect
a compensable taking is expressed, even though the
RRRA defines with particularity the actions which gov-
ernment agencies are to cause to be done. While these
actions will have the legal effect of an uncompensated
or inadequately compensated taking, they do not ex-
press a Congressional intention to exercise the em-
inent domain power. The legislative history is clear
Congress was acting under a misapprehension as to
the extent of its Bankruptcy Clause powers. Congress
believed that invocation of the word “reorganization”
would have the legal effect of avoiding what is, in sub-
stance, a taking from being adjudged to be an exercise
of the eminent domain power. In the words of Senator
Hartke, floor manager for the bill in the Senate:
“We are providing that the creditors of this cor-
poration would be required to take common stock
“Had 28 U.S.C. §§2282 and 2284 been in effect at the time, it may
be questioned whether Kincaid would have persuaded a three-judge
court to issue an injunction in the light of that concession.
47
in the new quasi-government operation. In other
words, they are exchanging their present security
interest in the rail properties for common stock in
the new corporation.
“The railroad properties then become the .
ties of the new corporation free and clear 122
and encumbrances. In other words, the assets are
being transferred and the nghts are being changed.
The nonrailroad property will remain in the bank-
ruptcy court to be deal with by them. One can talk
about what is available if the railroad is liquidated
and put through the wringer, but even t the
chances of these creditors getting their money is
relatively slim, and this country cannot afford cessation
of rail service while the railroads are put through
the wringer. So what, in effect, is called the ‘cram
down’ — forces them to accept this kind of set-
tlement judges have ruled that this is fair.”
(Remarks of Senator Hartke; 119 Cong. Rec. S
> (daily ed. December 21, 1973); emphasis
).
This passage fairly summarizes Congressional in-
tent as regards authorizing any taking under the
RRRA. It constitutes (i) a recognition that Conrail is
indeed a “new quasi-government operation; (ii) a spe-
cification of an intent to free the rail properties of rail-
roads in reorganization from existing liens of cred-
itors; (iii) a statement of the policy underlying the
RRRA that “this country cannot afford cessation of
rail service while the railroads are put through the
wringer,” and (iv) an expression of the legal concept
accepted by Congress, to wit: that the “cram-down the-
ory” (presumably a reference to §77(e)) will force cred-
itors “to accept this kind of settlement” and that
“judges have ruled that this is fair.”
It is submitted that the legislative history is wholly
antithetical to any theory that the RRRA was intended
to be a Congressionally authonzed taking statute. In a
48
decision which predated his opinion in Hurley v.
Kincaid by seven years (and which is not cited in any of
the Appellants’ briefs), Mr. Justice Brandeis observed:
“There can be no recovery under the Tucker Act if
the intention to take is lacking. Tempel v. United
States, 248 U.S. 121. Moreover, the Act did not
confer authority to take a business. In the absence
of authority, even an intentional taking cannot sup-
port an action for compensation under the Tucker
Act. Umited States v. North American Transp. & Trad-
ing Co, 253 U.S. 330." Mitchell v. United States, 267
U.S. 341, 345 (1925).
As in Hooe v. United States, supra, Congress did not
intend in the RRRA to exercise the sovereign’s em-
inent domain powers to effect a compensable taking.
Rather, it intended to accomplish a non-compensable
taking in the belief that this could be achieved through
exercise of Bankruptcy Clause powers. The court be-
low has correctly found that Congress has violated the
Fifth Amendment nghts of creditors and stockholders
of Penn Central in the process. But that finding does
not convert Congress’ intent into one of effecting a
compensable taking by exercise of the eminent domain
power. The court below was, therefore, on sound
ground in refusing, as a matter of separation of pow-
ers, to impute to Congress an intent to effect a com-
pensable taking. Under the doctrine of the Hooe and
Mitchell cases, unless this Court is able to impute this
intent to Congress as a matter of fair construction of
the legislation, it cannot find that a substantively valid
Tucker Act action would come into existence at the
conclusion of the Special Court's §303(c) proceedings.
Likewise inapposite to the present decision is
Silesian American Corp. v. Clark, 332 U.S. 469 (1947),
cited by the Penn Central Trustees as a case “where
the ‘taking’ statute at issue (the Trading with the En-
49
emy Act) contained no provision for compen-
sation (Penn Central Trustees’ Brief at 27). This
characterization is inaccurate. Section %a) of that Act,
50 U.S.C. App. §%a), provides in pertinent part:
“Any person not an enemy or ally of an enemy
claiming any interest, nght, or title in money or
other property which 1 have been conveyed,
transferred, assigned, delivered, or paid to the
Alien Property Custodian or seized him here-
under... may file with the said custodian a notice
» Shp claim and the — t...may order
t yment, conveyance, transfer, assignment, or
222 to said — of the money or other
property so held by the Alien Property Cus-
todian....1f the President shall not so order
within sixty days... said claimant may institute a
suit in equity in the United States District
Cour ...to establish the interest, right. title, or
debt so claimed, and if so established the court
shall order the payment, conveyance, transfer, as-
signment, or delivery to said claimant of the money
or other property so held by the Alien Property
Custodian. . . .”
Further provisions of Sa) authorize the President
to order the sale of seized property of a person
claiming to be not an enemy or an ally of an enemy,
such sale to take place while the suit by a claimant ts
pending, and limit the recovery in the suit to the pro-
ceeds of the sale unless the claimant
“files with the court an election to waive all claims
to the net proceeds, or A thereof, and to
claim just compensation instead.“
Section 7(c) of the Trading with the Enemy Act, 50
U.S.C. App. §7(c), provides, in pertinent part:
“For a definitive interpretattom of the continued applicability of
§%a) in light of the 1941 amendment of §5(b), see Clark ( r Fi-
nanz-K orporation, 332 U.S. 480 (1947), decided the same day as ibe
Silesan Amencan case.
50
“The sole relief and remedy of any person havin
any claim to any money or other property . . . pai
over to the Alien Property Custodian ... or seized
by him shall be that provided by the terms of this
Act, and in the event of sale or other disposition of
such property . shall be limited to and enforced
against the net proceeds received therefrom . . . .”*!
The Trading with the Enemy Act does indeed
present some striking analogies to the RRRA, al-
though the facts in the Silesian American case are
hardly “simila: to the present situation.” Fenn Central
Trustees’ Brief at 27. One analogy is that Congress, al-
though it clearly authorized takings of private prop-
erty, did not want to create a situation in which the
Alien Property Custodian could by error subject the
United States Treasury to liability of millions or hun-
dreds of millions of dollars.” Hence Congress pro-
vided a different remedy: a person who claimed that
the Alien Property Custodian had misclassified him as
an enemy alien could (after exhausting his adminis-
trative remedies with the Custodian and the President)
bring suit in equity to recover his property.” Recog-
nizing, however, that the Government might find it
prudent to sell the property during the course of lit-
igation seeking its recovery, Congress provided that
*'It is noteworthy that in §7(c) of the Trading with the Enemy Act,
Congress expressly limited the substantive cause of action available to
sins. Conan chsioudy Uetivad rr
. Congress obvi that
Tucker Act jurisdiction. eae 5 2
“For example, the /nterhandel litigation was a claim by a Swiss Cor-
poration which asserted that was not comrolied by matlonale of Nes
Germany and was entitled to recover from the Alien Property Custodian
aoe ae ee — & Film © ion; the value of
t was measured in hundreds of millions of dollars.
ultimately settled in the 1960's. —
“The Tucker Act provides the Court of Claims with jurisdiction
only to render money judgments, and in this respect is an inferior rem.
edy to that provided in §%a) of the Trading with the Enemy Act.
51
the property could be sold. Not wishing to give the
claimant in effect a right to demand that the Gov-
ernment then pay him whichever was the greater, the
net proceeds of sale or just compensation (presumably
as of the date of taking), Congress provided for a limit
on the possible recovery to the net proceeds unless the
claimant filed a waiver agreeing to seek only just com-
pensation. The basic analogy to the RRRA in this
scheme is that Congress has created in each instance
an elaborate judicial machinery for determining issues
of value of property and the compensation to be paid
therefor. If there is a section of the RRRA which cor-
responds to ga) of the Trading with the Enemy Act,
it is §303(c), which vests jurisdiction (within limits) in
the Special Court to decide whether transfers made
under §303(b) are fair and equitable and, if not, pre-
scribing various substantive remedies, including the
power of the Special Court to order Conrail to provide
additional securities or to enter a deficiency judgment
against Conrail. If, and to the extent that, §303(c) is
perceived to parallel §§%a) and 7(c) of the Trading
with the Enemy Act, the intention of Congress in the
case of the RRRA to create or permit a substantive
cause of action against the United States in the Court
of Claims is made even more doubtful.
A lack of a substantive cause of action for takings
resulting from implementation of the RRRA would
mean that the United States would have a complete
defense in a Court of Claims action under the Tucker
Act: the defense would rely on Congress’ power to de-
clare when and under what circumstances, if at all, the
United States Treasury is subject to liability. That
power, of course, derives from the express words of
Article 1, Section 9, Clause 7:
‘No money shall be drawn from the Treasury, but
in Consequence of Appropriations made by
las
52
The same power was exercised by Congress in the
Trading with the Enemy Act to deny a person entitled
to Fifth Amendment protection a substantively valid
cause of action, or to limit his recovery if his action
could not, consistent with the Constitution, be denied.
Furthermore, Congress did not expressly repeal the
Tucker Act jurisdiction as to claims arising under SO)
of the Trading with the Enemy Act. Presumably, if
any claimant had filed a complaint in the Court of
Claims, it would have been dismissed not on juris-
dictional grounds but for want of a valid cause of ac-
tion. Such a claimant's cause of action would not have
been valid because (a) he had not exhausted adminis-
trative remedies, and upon discovering the claimant to
be a non-enemy alien the President would order his
property restored, or (b) if he had exhausted adminis-
trative remedies, he had not exhausted his judicial re-
medies in equity, or (c) if his property had been sold,
he was not entitled to just compensation but only to
the proceeds of the sale unless he signed the waiver.
Although §9%a) is not wholly clear on this point, if the
claimant signed the waiver, his claim for just compen-
sation would presumably be adjudicated by the District
Court ander Sa), from which he could appeal to the
Court of Appeals and, if not satisfied, petition this
Court for a writ of certiorari. It seems wholly untenable
that, after judgment in this Court affirming the Dis-
trict Court’s decision, such a claimant could start all
over again in the Cour of Claims under 28 U.S.C.
§1491.
If that correctly states the law as applied under the
Trading with the Enemy Act, it must be concluded
that the jurisdiction of the Court of Claims is broader in
scope than the area of substantively valid causes of ac-
tion. Like all courts, the Court of Claims has cases
presented to it that, for one reason or another, are
without substantive merit. Congress need not concern
53
itself with repealing jurisdictional legislation pertaining
to the Court of Claims when it perceives that no sub-
stantively valid cause of action could ever be estab-
lished, or when ii deliberately sets out to preclude the
same. The nub of the New Haven Trustee's position
on this point is that Congress intended to preclude a
Tucker Act cause of action by any person aggnieved by
the §303(c) decision of the Special Court, as reviewed
on appeal by this Court pursuant to §303(d).
The differences, as well as the analogies, between
the RRRA and the Trading with the Enemy Act are
revealing. Railroad creditors as a class are apparently
viewed as having a lesser degree of Fifth Amendment
rights than non-enemy aliens, since they can have
stock and other securities forced upon them, and “the
‘cram-down’ theory forces them to accept this kind of
Settlement. Unlike non-enemy aliens, railroad cred-
itors would not be allowed even to elect to receive the
proceeds of the sale of rail properties: for example, if
Conrail takes the Northeast Corridor rail properties
and sells them to Amtrak for $500 million as con-
templated by the RRR.“ Conrail keeps the proceeds.
Under the Trading with the Enemy Act, the non-en-
emy alien has a choice of accepting net proceeds of
the sale of his property or just compensation.“
Fort Berthold Reservation v. United States, 390 F. 2d
“See Senator Hartke’s remarks, quoted in full supra at 46-47.
“See §20HCK IMC) and lid) of the RRRA. USRA has advised the
2 ee — — 1974) that the “muss-
' 4500 million in §210 not accounted for by the $1 bilhon of USRA
' ions which may be issued to Conrail is intended to be allotted to
Amtrak for this purpose. |
‘Judge Fullam observed in his Secondary Detnor 180-day decision:
‘ertainly if Congress were to give Amtrak the eminent
DDr But
I find it difficuk to accept the theory that it is constitutionally per-
missible for the government to achieve that result by the RR A.
without providing the present owners of the property with cash or
its equivalent.” (JA 155).
54
686 (Ct. Cl. 1968) is cited in the Penn Central Trust-
ces Brief (at 16) as being “virtually on all fours with
the present situation.” Fort Berthold avose in the juris-
dictional comext of the Act of August 13, 1946, §24,
60 Stat. 1049, 1055, which created the Indian Claims
Commission with authonty to determine certain types
of Indian claims against the Unned States which had
occurred prior to the date of the Act, subject to a right
to appeal to the Court of Claims; and another provi-
sion’ gave the Court of Claims original jurisdiction to
determine similar claims thereafter arising. In Fort
Berthold, an earlier act of (Congresse had authorized
the taking of the claimants’ land and arbitrarily de-
creed the price ($2.50 per acre) to be paid therefor.
Except for the fact that Congress relented in 1946 and
extended to Indian claimants nghts similar to those
enjoyed by other Americans since 1887, and specifi-
cally refrained from imposing the six-year statute of
limitations applicable to Tucker Act suits (28 U.S.C.
§2501), these Indian claimants would have been with-
out any substantive remedy in the Coun of Claims or
any other court for any failure of earlier takings to
have accorded them just compensation. Because Con-
gress did relent in the case of Indian claims, these In-
dian claimants were afforded both an administrative
hearing and a nght to appellate judicial review in the
Court of Claims, and the Court of Claims upheld cer
tain of their claims some 58 years after the takings oc-
curred. If all inadequately compensated takings were
subject to suit in the Court of Claims based on 28
U.S.C. §1491, these claims could have been adju-
dicated long ago. It is submitted that reliance on Fort
Berthold by the Penn Central Trustees for construction
of the RRRA is wholly misplaced.
“Codified as 28 U.S.C. §1505 by Aa of May 24, 1949, « 139.
§8%a), 63 Seat. 102.
“Act of June |, 1910, 36 Stat. 455.
55
Yearsley v. W. A. Ross Construction Co., supra, is not in
point for the same reason as Hurley v. Kincaid, supra. In
Yearsley, private riparian owners brought an action for
damages to their land against a government contractor
working on a er improvement project. Chief Justice
Hughes said, “it is clear that if this authority to carry
out the project was validly conferred, that is, if what
was done was within the constitutional power of Con-
gress, there is no liability on the part of the contractor
for exercising its will.” (309 U.S. at 20-21). Chief Jus-
tice Hughes then discussed the case on the theory that
what the contractor had done “constituted a taking of
their [plaintiffs'] property for which compensation
must be made.” On this theory, he held the statute
valid since the Fifth Amendment does not require pay-
ment in advance of the taking,” and the plaintiffs had
a remedy in the Court of Claims, cating Hurley v.
Kincaid, supra.
Cases such as Hurley v. Kincaid and Yearsley must be
contrasted with cases such as Land v. Dollar, 330 U.S.
731 (1947), in which plaintiffs were the stockholders
of Dollar Steamship Lines, Lid. Facing difficult fi-
nancial straits, in 1938 plaintiffs entered into a con-
tract with the Maritime Commission under which they
delivered their stock to the Commission in exchange
for financial assistance and operating subsidies. In
1943, the plaintiffs demanded the return of the
shares, and the Maritime Commission refused on the
ground that it had acquired title to the shares. The
plaintiffs sued in equity to recover their shares. The
56
suit was dismissed by the district court as an uncon-
sented suit against the government. This Court re-
versed, holding that if the plaintiff's contentions were
proven, they would be entitled to equitable relief to se-
cure possession of their shares, cating United States v.
Lee, 106 U.S. 196 (1882) and a nes of cases which
followed Lee. If Hurley v. Kincaid stood for the proposi-
tion for which it is cited by Appellants, Land v. Dollar
should have been decided on the ground that the
plaintiffs were in the wrong court seeking the wrong
remedy, and they should have been remitted to an ac-
tion for damages under the Tucker Act for the value
of their shares taken by the Maruime Commission.
Land v. Dollar, supra, was then followed by two cases
which, if Appellants were correct, should also have
been decided by reference to Hurley v. Kincaid, supra,
but were instead decided on the basis of sovereign im-
munity. In its 1949 decision in Larson v. Domestic &
Foreagn Commerce Corp., supra, the Court reconciled two
divergent lines of sovereign immunity cases, one rep-
resented by l'nited States v. Lee, Land v. Dollar, and
Goltra v. Weeks, 271 U.S. 536 (1926), all holding on
their facts that sovereign immunity does not bar equi-
table relief, and the other represented by Goldberg v.
Damels, 231 U.S. 218 (1913), holding that sovereign
immunity is a bar. Chief Justice Vinson, for a majonty
of the Court, held that sovereign immunity was a bar
in a case where plaintiff did not claim that the statute
under which the government officer acted was itself
unconstitutional, thus confining the Ler doctrine to
cases of asserted unconstitutionality. Lee itself, how-
ever, should have been overruled expressly in Larson,
if Hurley v. Kincaid stands for the Appellants’ proposi-
tion that all governmental takings which violate the
Fifth Amendment are compensable in actions under
the Tucker Act, particularly since Lee predated the en-
57
actment of the Tucker Act. Mr. Justice Douglas con-
curred in the result in Larson, but would have limited
its holding to government procurement cases, thus
leaving the Lee line of cases otherwise in force. Mr.
Justice Frankfurter dissented on the ground that
Larson should have been governed by Lee, Land v. Dol-
lar and Goltra v. Weeks. Both the concurnng opinion
and the dissent in Larson are inconsistent with the rule
of law which Appellants claim is to be derived from
Hurley v. Kincaid.
The second of the post-1949 sovereign immunity
cases was Malone v. Bowdoin, 369 U.S. 643 (1962), in
which plaintiffs filed an action of ejectment against a
forest service officer of the United States claiming title
to land occupied by the officer. The District Court dis-
missed the case on grounds of sovereign immunity;
the Court of Appeals reversed, citing the Lee case.
This Court (by a 4 to 3 vote) reversed, and held that
the action was barred by sovereign immunity because
the case was governed by Larson. The opinion of the
majority, by Mr. Justice Stewart, has an important
bearing on the scope to be given to Hurley v. Kincaid,
supra:
“While it is possible to differentiate many of these
cases fe. g. Lee, Land v. Dollar| — their indi-
viduali facts, it is fair to say that to reconcile
completely all decisions of the Court in this field
prior to 1949 would be a Procrustean task.
“The Court's 1949 Larson decision makes it un-
necessary, however, to undertake that task
here
“While not expressly overruling United States v.
Lee, supra, the Court in Larson limited that de-
cision in such a way as to make it inapplicable to
the case before us. Pointing out that at the time of
the Lee decision there was no remedy by which the
—
| Id have pen
he taking of his land, the Court interpreted Lee as
mply ‘a specific application of the constitutional
o the doctrine of ign immunity.’
at 696. So construed, the Lee case has
ey -I that the hold-
ing [of property of the plaintiff] constitutes an uncon-
stitutional taking of property without just compensation.
Bendy Ty has been 1 in the present
case. S. at 646-48 (footnote itted: >
— 8 omitted: em
Since in the present case plaintiffs asserted that
their property (i.e., their liens which would
be divested pursuant to §303(b)(2)of the RRRA, and
their right to earn a return on their investment in such
mortgages) is threatened with an unconstitutional tak-
ing, it follows (on the basis of Malone v. Bowdoin) that
the plaintiffs in the instant cases meet the test estab-
lished by Malone v. Bowdoin and Larson for the appli-
cability of the Lee decision. And if the reasoning of the
dissent in Malone v. Bowdoin is followed, it is clear a for-
liori that the Appellees have established their right to
injunctive relief. Speaking for the dissent in Malone v.
Bowdoin, Mr. Justice Douglas would have limited the
Larson holding to government procurement cases. He
observed:
“If it [the United States] is aggrieved by the state or
federal court ruling on title, it can bring its arsenal
of power into play. Eminent domain—with the
power immediately to take possession — is available.
“If, however, the citizen must bow to the doctrine
of sovereign immunity, he is precluded from an
relief except a suit for under 28 U.S.C.
1346(b) or 28 U.S.C. §1346(a)(2), or 28 U.S.C.
1491. This places the advantage with an all-powerful
882
75
7 *
-
59
Government, not with the citizen” 369 U.S. at 650
(emphasis added).*°
It should be observed in the case of the RRRA,
that the alternative of the Government bringing “its
arsenal of power into play. Eminent domain — with the
power immediately to take possession—" is likewise
available. See New Haven Trustee's Brief as Cross-Ap-
pellant at 88-92.
Larson and Malone v. Bowdoin were also followed in
Dugan v. Rank, 372 U.S. 609 (1963), which is another
in the senes of flooding and npanan ownership cases
exemplified by Hurley v. Kincaid, supra.’ An action was
brought in Dugan to enjoin the United States from im-
pounding waters as part of a dam project thereby
making plaintiff's agricultural land less valuable. [he
District Court granted an injunction, holding that the
United States had consented to sun under the
McCarran amendment, 43 U.S.C. §666. The Court re-
versed, not on the ground of any adequate remedy at
law, but because the action was barred by sovereign
immunity, citing Larson and Malone v. Bowdoin, and the
McCarran amendment did not apply. Mr. Justice
Clark observed:
“The Court has on other occasions refused to construe an eminent
domain statute so narrowly that a Guzen would be left only with a em
edy in the Court of Claims. See ¢.g., Catlin v United States, 324 US. 229,
241 (1945):
“While the and the wording of the act [Declaration of Tak-
ing Ac of 26, 1931, 46 Seat. 1421] are not wholly free
from doult, we see no necessary inconsistency between the provi-
sions for transfer of utle upon filing of the declarauion and making
of the deposit and at the same time preserving the owner's pre-
existing right to question the validity of the taking... . The .
native construction, that title passes irrevocably, leaving the owner
no Opportunity to question the taking’s validity or one for which the
only remedy would be to accept the compensation which would be just uf the
lad would cause serous queshon concerning the statute's va-
lde (emphasis added).
„Other “flooding” cases include Jacobs „ Umied States, 290 US. 13
(1933); United States v. Dickinson, 331 U.S. 745 (1947). Cf. United States v
Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946) (low flights of military aircraft over a chicken
farm).
“Since the Government, through its officers here,
had the power, under authorization of Congress, to
seize the property of the respondents... . and this
wry of seizure was constitutionally permissible, as we
in run Irngation District v. McCracken, 357
U.S. 275 (1958)], there can be no question that this
case comes under the rule of Larson and Malone,
supra. The power to seize which was ed here
had no limitation placed upon it the Con-
gress. ...” 372 U.S. at 622-23 (emphasis added).
If the RRRA were worded differently, no doubt it
could have been sustained as a grant by Congress to
the executive branch to seize plaintiff's property (ie.
their mortgage liens and their right to earn a return
on their investment) as well as Penn Central's rail
properties. However, it is not so worded. Not a single
provision of the RRRA can fairly be interpreted as say-
ing that Congress expressly authorized USRA, if nec-
essary, to take by eminent domain the property of
Penn Central and of its mortgage lien creditors. On
the contrary, the Amicus Cunae brief filed in these
cases by Rep. Brock Adams (on behalf of 36 Con-
gressmen) states:
a Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. 1491 (1970), waiver of
sovereign’s junsdictional immunity was enacted
to — adequate opportunity for expeditious
and orderly determination of claims — the
— The Tucker Act deals with the five
imued areas of liability to which the government
consents. The five areas do not purport to deal
with the upholding of other Acts of Congress. This
Court has never relied upon the presence of the
Tucker Act to u the ituti ;
a. oS — constitutionality of
“The logic employed in attempting .
the Rail Act is constitutional wal of + ae
Tucker Act remedy is indeed strained. h and
every act of Congress of a similar nature, irre-
61
spective of the amount of authonzation or the pro-
cess i for in any such act, could be con-
stit utionally upheld on the grounds that a future
Tucker Act remedy might be invoked. The intent
of Congress in passing the Tucker Act was not to
insure the constitutionality of potential uncon-
stitutional laws and such a precedent would be very
dangerous.
“The Tucker Act remedy in such cases as (d
States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1945), and Hurley v.
Kincaid, 285 U.S. 95 (1932), is based upon a lawful
government action inadvertently causing injury to a
private party which gives rise to a cause of action in
the Court of Claims. Such a lawful action by the-
Government may result in an le — — 1 1 0.
low-flying airplanes or flooding of property. In any
of these cases, however, the — — statutory ac-
tion was proper, ie, flying military airplanes or
carrying out a flood control project.” /d. at 17-18.
“The court should not at this time consider the
availability of a future Tucker Act remedy in con-
sidering the constitutionality of the Rail Act. Any
Tucker Act remedy must be based upon the facts
which show an implied taking or improper erosion
of creditor rights if and when the matter is
to the Court of Claims. Any nual
ucker Act remedy is, therefore, not ore this
Court. If this Court should decide at this time that a
mechamsm of a deficiency judgment against the C nie
States under the Tucker Act is necessary to make this Act
constitutional, then the Act must fall since the leg-
islative history and the language of the Act are
clear that no deficiency j t against the U.S.
is authorized by the Act.” Id. at 21-22 (emphasis
added).
Under the doctrine of United States v. Lee, Goltra .
Weeks and Land v. Dollar, supra, as limited by Larson
and Malone v. Bowdoin, supra, the Court is required to
62
assess whether the RRRA is constitutionally valid leg-
islation or whether it results in an inadequately com-
pensated taking (either permanent or interim or both)
of plaintiffs’ property nghts. It is submitted that the
answer to this question is that Congress did not pur-
port to exercise the sovereign’s eminent domain pow-
ers and, in any event, specifically intended not to per-
mit a deficiency judgment against the United States
Treasury. If, but only if, the Court can first read into
the RRRA an intent to exercise the power of eminent
domain, can the RRRA be sustained; and only in that
event would it follow that the United States has con-
sented to suit in the Court of Claims. If the RRRA is a
constitutional exercise of the eminent domain power,
the doctrine of adequate remedy at law would be ap-
plicable, and the limited exception to sovereign im-
munity which permits equity actions seeking to re-
strain the enforcement of an unconstitutional
enactment would be inapplicable. The Appellants,
however, would put the can before the horse. They
argue that the RRRA is constitutional because of the
availability of a Tucker Act remedy. The law is oth-
erwise: only if the RRRA is constitutional because the
Congress in fact intended to authorize the exercise of
the sovereign’s eminent domain power, would there be
a Tucker Act remedy. The Court below correctly held
that the RRRA is unconstitutional because Congress
did not authorize the exercise of the eminent domain
power, and accordingly held that there is no Tucker
Act remedy for any takings of private sed
by the RRRA. ord a ae ee
. In Youngstown, supra, counsel for the Government
similarly put the cart before the horse in arguing:
“Plaintiffs’ argument is that this [Tucker A -
edy is not available to them —— — —
yers acts are supported by statutory or con-
63
stitutional authority; hence, that the preliminary
question whether plaintiffs have an uate rem-
edy at law hinges on the very merits of the case.
We submit, on the contrary, that plaintiffs have a
remedy in the Court of Claims, and that therefore
the Court need not reach any of the constitutional
questions in order to decide that an injunction may
not issue.” Brief of Acting Attorney General and
Solicnor General Perlman, May, 1952, in Sawyer v.
Youngstown Sheet S Tube Co. (No. 51-745), at 55-56,
2 The Steel Seizure Case 763-64.
In these cases, the United States and USRA make
precisely the same argument in support of their
Tucker Act remedy defense. See United States brief at
39-48; USRA brief at 43-60." The rejection of this ar-
gument by the Court in Youngstown ts controlling pre-
cedent here. If Hurley v. Kincaid has the meaning as-
cribed to it by Appellants, then all six concurring
opinions and the dissenting opinion in Youngstown
were in error because the Justices never should have
reached the merits of the asserted lack of con-
stitutional authority to effect the seizure. If the Tucker
Act remedy cures all instances of temporary takings,
then the steel companies in Youngstown clearly had, as
government counsel claimed, a complete and adequate
remedy at law, similar to that upheld by this Court in
Pewee Coal Co. v. United States, 341 U.S. 114 (1951),
affirming 115 Ct. Cl. 626, 88 F. Supp. 426 (1950). See
also U'mited States v. Umited Mineworkers, 330 U.S. 258,
284-85 (1947) (seizure of coal mines by executive or-
der, directing owners to continue to operate for ac-
count of the Government, is a taking “in as complete a
„Much of the arguments of the United States and USRA are de
voted to a non-issue in this case) whether the RRRA impliedly effected a
repeal of the Court of Claims Tucker Act jurisdiction. The Court below
did not so hold, although such a contention was advanced by certain of
the plaintiffs. The New Haven Trustee a below, and asserts here.
that there has been no implied repeal of the Tucker Act junsdiction of
the Court of Claims.
64
sense as if the Government held full tithe and
ownership”). The only way in which the decision in
Youngstown can be reconciled with the Hurley v. Kincaid
line of cases is that the issue of adequate remedy at
law itself turns on constitutional and statutory author-
ity to exercise the eminent domain power. If the con-
sttutional and statutory authority be lacking, either
because Congress has rejected the idea of subjecting
the United States Treasury to the cost of a taking ( the
instant case), or because Congress prescribed a differ-
ent statutory route which the executive branch has de-
clined to follow (Youngstown), then there is no remedy
under the Tucker Act. This distinction is also the basis
upon which Youngstown can be reconciled with Larson
v. Domestic and Foreagn Commerce Corp., supra:
“There is no claim that [the administrator's] action
constituted an unconstitutional taking ... Only if
the Administrator's action was within his authority
could such a suit [in the Coun of Claims under the
Tucker Vet] be maintained.” 337 U.S. at 703 and
n. 27.9
This Court cannot avoid deciding whether the
RRRA represents a constitutional exercise of the em-
inent domain power, or an invalid exercise of the
Bankruptcy Clause power. If, but only if, the RRRA is
constitutional is it necessary to consider the nature of
any Tucker Act remedy for an inadequately compen-
sated taking.
“This distinction also helps to explain why the vendor in Armstrong
v. United States, supra, who was barred by sovereign immunity from en
forcing his lien by repossession and sale, had a remedy in the Coun of
Clams. There was no suggestion that the Department of the Navy, in or-
— the vessel to be transferred to the United States, was acting in ex-
cess of constitutional or statutory authority.
65
D. The Doctrine of Adequate Remedy at Law Requires
that the New Haven Trustee Have an Independent
Cause of Action Against the United States Under the
Theory of the Armstrong Decision
In Armstrong v. United States, supra, this Court in
1960 upheld a judgment of the Court of Claims that
the United States was liable for a taking of the interest
of a vendor who supplied materials to a contractor for
a nave. vessel. The vendor was entitled to a lien on the
property in the possession of the contractor, but when
title passed to the United States the lien created by
state law could not be enforced by reason of sovereign
immunity. United States v. Ansoma Brass S Copper Co.
218 U.S. 452 (1910). The Court held that Louisville
Joint Stock Land Bank i. Radford, 295 U.S. 555 (1935)
was applicable, 364 U.S. at 44, entitling the vendor to
assert that divestment of his lien is a taking of his
property, 364 U.S. at 48-49, saying:
“This [the destruction of the liens] was not because
their ny vanished into thin air. It was because
the Government for its own advantage destroyed
the value of the liens. Since this acquisition [of
property subject to the liens] was for a public
use in the circumstances of this case [the Gov-
ernment] did thereby take the property value of
those liens within the meaning of the Fifth Amend-
ment.. The Fifth Amendment's guarantee that
private property shall not be taken for a public use
without just compensation was designed to bar
the] Government from forcing some people alone
to bear public burdens which, in all fairness and
justice, should be borne by the public as a whole.”
If any of the “inverse eminent domain” cases are of
relevance in the case at hand, the case most clearly in
point is the Armstrong decision. However, the logic of
the Armstrong decision requires a completely different
type of Tucker Act remedy than that advocated by
66
Appellants: the New Haven Trustee, with a lien upon
property securing a claim for $124 million plus ac-
crued interest, should be entitled to judgment against
the United States for $124 million plus interest (upon
proof that the property subject to his liens is worth
that amount), in exchange for which the United States
should be subrogated to the New Haven Trustee's
claim against Penn Central. The logic of Armstrong re-
quires this result because the effect of §302(b)(2) of
the RRRA is to divest the lien created by state law and
to substitute nothing of comparable legal effect. If the
Court were to hold the Armstrong rationale applicable,
the New Haven Trustee would not have to await the
§303(c) judgment of the Special Court; rather, forth-
with upon divestment of his lien by the §303(b) order
of the Special Court, he would file his complaint in the
Court of Claims. The New Haven Trustees remedy at
law can scarcely be “adequate” unless Armstrong is held
by the Court to be applicable to the divestment of lien
legislated by §303(b) of the RRRA.
It may well be that Senator Hartke had the
Armstrong decision in mind when he stated:
“If we did nothing while continuing to mandate
rail service, there is the distinct possibility in view
of the prior action of Congress ſa reference to Sen-
ate Joint Resolution No. 59] that a number of these
people [Penn Central creditors] could make a claim
against the Government which could be sustained
in the Court of Claims.” 119 Cong. Rec. $23,783-
_— ed. Dec. 21, 1973) (quoted in part at JA
67
E. A Deficiency Judgment Against the United States for
a there Pel — } } ———
ipt o Compensation or Constitute an
22 Particularly Where There Is No As-
surance that Congress Would Appropriate the Funds
Necessary to Pay a Judgment of the Court of Claims
The New Haven Trustee has argued in his Brief as
Cross-Appellant that any exercise of the sovereign’s
power of eminent domain must be accompanied by
statutory provision for payment in money or its per-
fect equivalent of the just compensation value of the
properties taken (both permanently and for interim
use). See New Haven Trustee's Cross-Appellant Brief
at 52-83.
The Penn Central Trustees, as Appellants in these
cases, seem to agree with the New Haven Trustee as to
this legal conclusion, but attempt to avoid its force by
an invitation to the Court to declare now the operative
rules governing later judicial proceedings in both the
Special Court and the Court of Claims, arguing as
follows:
“If a fully adequate Court of Claims remedy is thus
catablished. the question remains whether the Act
nonetheless infringes the Fifth Amendment be-
cause the partial consideration there provided for is
to be paid in forms (g. Conrail securities) other
than cash. Even if a rt of Claims — is
available for the deficiency, which of course will be
owed in cash, arguably the form of compensation
specified in the Act is constitutionally inadequate
because of the rule that when property is taken —
blic purpose the Constitution requires paymen
in a 7 cash equivalent. Eg. Auel Farmers Elev.
& Whse. Co. v. United States, 409 U.S. 470 (1973);
United States v. Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14 (1970); Olsen v.
United States, 292 U.S. 246 (1934); Vanhorne’s Lessee
v. Dorrance, 2 U.S. (2 Dall.) 304 (1795). This prob-
an concerned the Reorganization Cour (JA 146
“We think that concern would be fully justified if
the Conrail securities and other consideration
tendered under the Act were valued on the basis of
some intrinsic value unrelated to their
market v on the date of their receipt by the es-
tates in reorganization. The estates would then be
receiving, as ion for a taking of
property, 2 or cash *
alent, but i alleged
merely ive securities the
value of which be realized only after many
years and only if the ial Court's is of
the ty of Conrail accurate. lt was a
similar in the Haven reorganization
which Judge Anderson to devise an ‘under-
writing plan’ to ensure that the New Haven estate
in fact recewed the cash equivalent of the intrinsic
value attributed to the Penn Central stock it was ac-
qu „ In ve New York, NH. & H. RR, 304 F.
22 304 F. Supp. 1136 (D. Conn.
That device was specif | approved by this
Coun, but for the unforeseen Penn Central bank-
ruptcy, in New Haven Incluson Cases, 3999 U.S. 392.
48 (1970): and the Court rejected the lower
court's findings as to ‘intrinsic value,’ since ‘the fair-
ness and equity that are the essence of a §77 pro-
ceeding f our approval of a payment for the
transferred New Haven properties that may be
mY a fraction of its purported value.” 399
S. at 488.
“No effective underwnti nis permissible un-
der the 1973 Act as — . We believe it
follows . that, or = —— tutional rule
with respect to or cas uivalent, the Special
Cour will be obliged to — any alleged in-
trinsic’ value and, instead, to value the securities
tendered to the estates in reorganization at no
more than their cash market value on the date they
are received by those estates.
“Even if the Act were held to lude such a
method of valuation by the Special Court - and we
know of no reason why that should be beid- then
a Tucker Act remedy is adequate if the Court of
Claims will be able to ensure constitutionally ade-
uate treatment to the Penn Central estate. We be-
leve it will be so able. If and when the Court of
Claims is asked to award a deficiency | nt
against the United States, on the ground that the
maximum consideration which the Special Court
could award was constitutionally im uate, the
Coun of Claims could and must, consistently with
the Constitution, enter judgment for that amount
which remains constitutionally owing. We think
that this Court can meet the argument that the Act
is unconstitutional because it fails to ensure the
cash or cash equivalent which the Constitution re-
quires only by holding that the partial con-
sideration to be under the Act must be
valued at no more than its cash value on the date
of its receipt.” Penn Central Trustees’ Bnet at 65-
67 (footnote omitted).
The evidence in this case (see Stipulation as to Fas-
tual Matters, at JA 317-23) establishes a high prob-
ability that the fair market value of secunties of Con-
rail, whether they be confined to common stock or also
comprise mortgage bonds, with or without fixed inter-
est provisions, will be nominal for the reason that Con-
rail will not have a demonstrable ability adequately to
cover its fixed charges. If the entire $500 million of
obligations of USRA, carrying a current market rate of
interest, and being guaranteed as to pnncipal and in-
terest by the United States, were to be issued to the re-
spective estates of Penn Central, its secondary debtors,
its non-bankrupt leased lines, and the five other rail-
road systems in reorganization subject to the RRRA,
then only a total of $500 million of current value will
assuredly pass to the estates of the owners of the rail
properties conveyed under §303(b) of the RRRA.
70
No findings have been made as to what these rail
properties are worth,” and no court has judicially de-
termined the amount of post-January 2, 1974 erosion
of the estates which would also be compensable in the
Court of Claims. It suffices for present purposes, how-
ever, to note that a deſiciency judgment as visualized
by the Penn Central Trustees necessarily will involve
hundreds of millions. if not billions, of dollars.
It is to be doubted that the United States and
USRA, despite their reliance on the Tucker Act rem-
edy, agree with the Penn Central Trustees on either
the valuation of the rail properties or the valuation of
Conrail’s securities. Thus, unless the Court accepts the
Trustees’ invitation to limit the Sherwood and King doc-
trine by issuing a declaratory judgment as to the the-
ory of valuation which will govern subsequent judicial
proceedings, it would appear that a Tucker Act rem-
edy, even if one exists, cannot be relied upon as an ad-
equate remedy at law.
The United States has heretofore argued in the
Special Court proceedings under §207(b), and there-
fore can be expected to argue in the later §303(c) pro-
ceedings, as follows: first, that the RRRA is nol an ex-
ercise of the sovereign’s power of eminent domain (see
Brief of the United States at 16-36), despite the con-
flict between that view and their argument that a
Tucker Act remedy exists for any taking found to
have occurred; second, that the rail properties of the
railroads have little or no liquidation value, because of
the difficulties which the railroads experience in ob-
“Even the method of valuation is a matter of dispute , see New Haven
Trustee's Bnef as Cross-A at 82. See also /n re Port Authority
Trans-H udson Corp, 20 N.Y. 2d 457, 231 N.E. 2d 734, cert. denied sub nom.
Port Authority Hudson Corp. v. Hudson Rapid Tubes Corp, 390 U.S. 1002
(1968); In re City of New York (Fifth Avenue Coach Lines), 18 N.Y. 2d 212.
219 N.E. 2d 410, dismissed sub nom. Fifth Ave. Coach Lines v. City of
New York, 386 U.S. 778 (1966). ;
71
taining permission to abandon; third, that USRA’s or
Conrail’s bonds, together with Conrail’s common
stock, have a value equal to or in excess of the rail
properties conveyed; fourth, that a deficiency judg-
ment against Conrail will represent value, dollar for
dollar, and does not duplicate alleged value of the
common stock of Conrail; fifth, that the undefined
“other benefits referred to in §206(d)(1) and
§303(c)1 MAM) have value sufficient to m_ke up any
remaining deficiency in consideration. If these argu-
ments fail to carry the day, the United States can be
expected to argue that only the “short fail” caused by
rejection of its valuation arguments is recoverable in
the Coun of Claims.
When, as and if the case finally moves to the Court
of Claims stage, the United States could be expected
to argue on grounds of sovereign immunity that it ts
not bound by any unfavorable decision in the Special
Court, even if sustained by this Court. See United States
v. Sherwood, supra; United States v. King, supra. Compare
United States v. Dollar, 196 F. 2d 551 (9th Cir. 1952),
where the Court of Appeals declined to give collateral
estoppel effect to Land v. Dollar, 184 F. 2d 245 (D.C.
Cir. 1950), in which, following a trial on the ments,
the Dollar plaintiffs received a judgment entitling them
to recover their shares of stock.’ The United States
could be expected to argue in the Court of Claims that
sovereign immunity makes non-binding all prior judg-
ments as to liability of the United States for a taking.
In the Court of Claims, the United States can be ex-
‘ted to raise at least the five lines of defense out-
lined above, and, presumably, other defenses as well.
„But cf. United States v. Candelana, 16 F. 2d 559, 562-63 (h Cir.
1926), which gave collateral estoppel effect to ( mited States v Candelaria,
271 U.S. 432 (1926). The Dollar tnigation was settled finally. See 344
U.S. 806, 807 (1952).
72
As Mr. Justice Black observed in Youngstown Sheet
& Tube Co. v. Sawyer, supra:
“Moreover, seizure and governmental operation of
these going businesses were bound to result in
many and future damages of such nature
as to difficult, if not incapable, of mea-
surement.” 343 U.S. at 585.
The situation presented by the RRRA calls for val-
uation of properties and secunties far more complex
than any valuations which would have been entailed
had this Court decided to remit the steel companies to
their remedy, conceded to exist by the Secretary of
Commerce, in the Coun of Claims. Moreover, the
United States and USRA do not in these cases concede
that the remedy exists, or what its measure would be;
they concede only that, in the contingency of a future
adverse court ruling on valuation, such a remedy
might exist. These cases are thus governed a fortiori by
the holding of the Court in Youngstown.
Appellant USRA (USRA's brief at 60, n. 81) sum-
marily dismisses what is perhaps the most significant
defect of the Tucker Act remedy argument: that Con-
gress under Article I, Section 9, Clause 7, of the Con-
stitution has the final word on whether any judgment
of the Court of Claims shall be paid. Congress, in 31
U.S.C. §724a, has made a blanket appropriation of
moneys to be paid to satisfy final judgments in the
Court of Claims of $100,000 or less, an amount pre-
sumably sufficient for cases such as Cause v. United
States, supra ($2,000 judgment). This amount is ob-
viously inadequate in the instant case, even if the ac-
tion were limited to recovery of the constitutional
“short fall,” and a fortion if it is not so limited.
USRA’s reliance upon Glidden Co. v. Zdanok, 370
73
U.S. 530 (1962) is misplaced. Glidden does not hold
that judgments of the Cour of Claims are capable of
being executed without Congressional appropnation.
On the contrary, in Glidden the Court held that the
inability of the Court of Claims to enforce its judg-
ments by execution directed to the Secretary of the
Treasury of the United States did not operate to de-
prive judgments of the Court of Claims of the finality
inherent in a “judicial” decree of an Article III
Court.” This is made plain by the following extracts
from the opimon:
“For claims in excess of $100,000 28 U.S.C. §2518
direas the Secretary of the Treasury to certify
them to Congress once review in this Court has
been foregone or sought and found unavailing.
This, then is the domain of our problem, for Art. J.
§9, cl. 7, vests exclusive responsability for appropriations
im Congress and the Court early that no execn-
tion may issue directed to the Secretary of the Treasury
until such an ion has been made. Reeside v.
Walker (U.S.) ow. 272, 291.
“A study concluded in 1933 found only 15 m-
stances in 70 years when Congress had refused to
ya} . Note, 46 Harv. IL. Rev. 677, 685-
B85 n. 63. This historical record, surely more fa-
“The case involved the constitutional validity of an act of Congress
declaring that the Court of Claims is an Arucle II] Court im the context,
not of a suit in the Coun of Claims, but rather of a sun im a District
Court which was reviewed by a pane! of the Court of Appeals for the
Second Carcun, which included a Court of Clanms judge stung by desig-
nation under 28 U S.C. §293(a).
‘The actual holding of (lidden was as follows:
“We conclude that the presence of the United States as a party de-
fendant to suits mamtained in the Coun of Clams and the Court of
Customs and Parent Appeals does not debar those Courts from ex-
ercising the judicial power provided for in Article IIL” 370 U.S. at
571.
“The Note at 46 Harv. I. Rev. 677 (1935) is entitled: “The Coun of
Claims: Judicial Power and Congressional Review.” Its firs sentence
reads as follows: “The acuion of Congress in ‘remanding’ the ‘case’ of
Pocono Pines Assembly Hotels Co. v. Umied States, to the Count of Claims
(footnote continned on next page)
74
vorable to prevailing parties than that obtaining i
private ligation, may well make ws dowlt whether the
capacity to enforce a judgment is always indispensable for
“If this Court may rely on the faith of state
governments or other public ies to to
Glidden thus leaves the matter exactly where it has
stood since Reeside v. Walker, supra, namely, that no
execution (in excess of the $100,000 provided for in
31 U.S.C. §724a) may be directed to the Secretary of
the Treasury until an appropriation has been made by
Congress under Ar. I. §9, Cl. 7.
The Court of Claims has never had occasion to is-
sue a judgment against the United States for hundreds
of millions or billions of dollars. As a practical matter,
it is almost unthinkable that prudent persons would
rely upon Congress’ willingness, which is particularly
doubtful in view of the legislative history of the
RRRA, to appropriate hundreds of millions or billions
of dollars to satisfy a judgment. It is at least as likely
that, if the Special Court entered the declaratory judg-
ment which the Penn Central Trustees seek, Congress
would interpose the sovereign immunity of the United
States. This it could do simply by expressly with-
— continmed foom — page)
raises importamt questions as to the nature of the deasions of that tnbu-
nal.” Pocono Pines, 69 C1. Cl. 91 (1930), held the United States liable to
plaintiff in the sum of $227,239.54. Congress reacted by passing a law.
46 Stat. 1G82 (1951) somanding the cans'to the Court af Chains ber
new inal, with instructions to report its conclusions to Congress. Plaintiff
petiuoned the Supreme Court for a wnt of mandamus or prohibition to
prevent a further action in the Court of Claims, which petition was de-
526 Court
75
drawing jurisdiction under 5149 to hear cases arising
under the RRRA.”* If this Court were to sustain the
constitutionality of the RRRA upon a Tucker Act rem-
edy theory, its judgment will not, in any event, have
the effect of final adjudication by the Court of Claims
that the United States is liable to the Penn Central es-
tate, or as to the amount of any such liability. If Con-
gress waited until after conveyance of the Penn Cen-
trals properties to Conrail pursuant to §303(b), and
then withdrew the jurisdiction of the Court of Claims
to hear any claim arising from implementation of the
RRRA, the only remedy of the Penn Central estate
would be a deficiency judgment against Conrail.
That this is the most likely result is indicated by the
Amicus Cunae brief of Rep. Adams:
“It would seem that some creditor appellees hope
and expect that if they can destroy the Act, they
will force the government to nationalize the Penn
Cenral which they hope would require the rail
properties to be taken under eminent domain pnn-
ciples which might result in a greater cash return
for them. One of the purposes of this brief amicus
curiae is to indicate the strong resistance — ex-
ists in © to ing any additional amounts
of queeenglins easy oo tase estates beyond that
provided in the Act.” /d. at 16.
See the opinion. of Mr. Justice Branders in Lynch v LU mated States,
supra.
76
F. This Court Should Not Render an Advisory Opinion
that a Tucker Act Remedy Saves the Constitutionality of
the RRRA if Congress Does Not Repeal or Amend the
Act
The Penn Central Trustees would have this Court
issue an advisory opinion as to the availability of the
Tucker Act remedy, even if it is not fully convinced
that Congress intended to exercise eminent domain
powers in enacting the RRRA:
“We would in addition poimt out, however, that if
the Court entertains any doubt as to Congress’ in-
tention on this score, uu will not, by holding in favor
of the existence of the Tucker Act remedy, compel
the expenditure of any publi funds contrary to the
desire of Congress. If, after such a holding, Con-
believes that its intent has been frustrated or
that the price for continuation of rail service in the
Northeast ts too high if must meet constitutional
standards, Congress will have more than adequate
time, pnor to any compulsory conveyance under
the Act, to repeal the Act or to amend it so as to
avoid a taking of property. The earliest time at
which compulsory conveyances under the Act
could be made is September 1975. This gives Con-
gress ample time to consider whether it still wishes
such conveyances to proceed after it is fully on no-
tice of the legal ep thereof. Moreover,
under Section 208 of the Act, Congress must re-
view the final system plan in any event, and will
have the opportunity to disapprove or to amend
the final system plan, or to amend the Act, if it is
unwilling to pay the cost of the taking. There is no
risk whatever that unintended or — obliga-
tions will be incurred.” Penn Central Trustees’
Brief at 25.
This is, in effect, an invitation to the Court to pro-
long the agony of the Penn Central claimants for an
additional period of time in spite of the frank recog-
nition by the Penn Central Trustees that the result for
77
creditors might be that their estate would be further
diminished by hundreds of millions of dollars. Aside
from the propriety of such a proposal, adoption of this
proposal would involve the Court in the rendering of
an advisory opinion. The Court recently reviewed the
ongins of the rule against federal courts issuing advis-
ory Oprmons and made clear the reasons for the Art-
cle III prohibaions against them. Flav v. Cohen, 392
U.S. 83, 96-97 (1968).
In the instant cases, the plaintiffs did not seek a de-
claratory judgment that, upon thei mortgage lens be-
ing divested pursuant to §303(b)(2) of the RRRA, they
would be entitled to judgment against the United
States for a specific sum of money. Plaintiffs rather
sought to enjoin the implementation of the RRRA as
an invalid statute. Those who advocate a Tucker Aa
remedy approach are the defendants in these cases.
The Governmental Appellants do not take the position
that on the present record there could be a judgment
in any particular amount against the United States; on
the contrary, they can fairly be expected in future
court proceedings vigorously to resist both lability
and, if lability be established, the amount thereof.
The present posture of the cases means that the
Tucker Act remedy issue, despite all that has been
written about it, has not been presented with “that
clear concreteness provided when a question emerges
recisely framed and necessary for decision from a
clash of adversary argument exploring every aspect of
a multifaced situation embracing conflicting and de-
manding interests. Flav v. Cohen, supra, 392 US. at
96-97, quoting United States v. Fruchauf, 365 US. 146,
157 (1961). See also United States v. Nixon, 42 U.S.L.W.
5237, 5241 (U.S., July 24, 1974), quoting Baker v. Carr,
369 U.S. 186, 204 (1962).
78
THE COURT BELOW WAS CORRECT IN HOLD-
ING THAT THE RRRA COMPELS PENN CEN-
TRAL TO CONTINLE RAIL OPERATIONS PAST
THE POINT OF UNCONSTITUTIONAL ERO-
SION. AND IN ISSUING AN INJUNCTION
AGAINST §304(f) AS APPLIED TO DISCON-
TINU ANCE OF RAIL SERVICE AND THE CERTI-
FICATION OF A FINAL SYSTEM PLAN UNDER
S 20e
Ihe New Haven Trustee is wholly in accord with
the views of the Penn Central Trustees, set forth in
Section II of thew bref (pp 30-47), that, absent a
Tucker Act remedy, the RRRA requires Penn Central
to devote its pnvate property to a public use without
assurance of the receipt of just compensation therefor;
that on the undisputed facts the point of uncon-
sutuuional erosion of the Penn Central estate has al-
ready, or soon will be, passed; and that it was not nec-
essary for the court below, in ruling that the
implememation of the RRRA must be enjoined, to de-
termine that the point of unconstitutional erosion had
in fac, already been passed, or to define erosion, or to
assess its impact on Penn Central with mathematical
precision.
A. This Courts Decisions, as Interpreted and Applied by
the Third Circuit in the Columbus Option Case, Govern
the Interim Erosion Issue
The United States’ brief (at 16-37), and USRA's
brief (at 75-95), argue a theory of Fifth Amendment
interpretation of which the essence is that, because of
the peculiar public interest in railroads, it is con-
stitutionally permissible Sor Congress to defer the ex-
ercise of creditors’ normal remedies endlessly. The
79
only limit to the doctnne which these Appellants
would acknowledge is that there must be a showing
that the government is doing something which might
(without establishing whether it wi//) uluumately lead to
the creditors being relieved from any continuing obli-
gation to subsidize the public interest. The United
States advanced this theory without success in % r¢
Penn Central Transportation Co. (Columbus Option Ap-
peals), 494 F. 2d 270 (3d Cir. 1974), petition for cert
filed, 42 US.L.W. 3633 (CS. May 8, 1974), No. 73-
1672. There is no precedent which supports the Gov-
ernmental Appellants’ theory.”
The issues decided in Columbus Option Appeals, can
best be seen by starting with the contentions of the
parties as summanzed by (Circuit Judge Gibbons:
“They [the mortgage indenture trustees] object to
the sale of unmor capital assets secunng
prior liens ($100 millon of United States guar-
anteed Trustees’ Certificates] unless (1) the
ceeds of sale are applied in reduction of th
liens, or (2) under the equitable rule of marshaling
the prior liens are reduced pro tanto, or (3) the
court, before it permits expenditure of the pro-
ceeds, makes the findings required for a section
77% sale by Central Railroad Co. of New Jersey «
Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., 421 F. 2d 604 (3d
Cir.), cert. demed, 398 U.S. 949 (1970) (Jersey Cen-
tral and In re Third Avenue Transat Corp., 198 F. 2d
“USRA's brief daims (at 93 n. | 16) that its imerpretation of the de-
asons from Rock Idand through New Haven Inclusen Caw: was adopied
im In re Boston & Maine Corp, 484 §. 2d 369, 374-75 (l Cir, 1973)... ~
The holding n that case does not furmsh support for the Appellants
theory: “... while... the secured creditors cannot be made to devore
Railroad has been found to be reorgamzable on an income basis within a
77. In re Boston & Maine Corp. D Mass. No. 70-
86
703 (2d Cir. 1952) (Third Avenue)” 494 F. 2d at
273.
“The United States acknowledges that by resorting
to first lien trustees certificates the trustees oper-
ating a railroad in reorganization can accomplish a
substantial diminution of the security of the rail-
road's secured creditors, but urges
(1) that such result violates neither section 77 nor
the fifth amendment,
(2) that its first lien is not, under the Emergency
Rail Services Act of 1970, subject to the mar-
shaling rule, and that the marshaling rule is not
constitutionally required, and
(3) that the principles of the Jersey Central and Third
Avenue cases are applicable only to property
mortgaged by the debtor to the protesting
creditor.
“Chief reliance for these positions is placed upon
the Penn Central Merger Cases, 389 ug 486 (1968)
and the New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392
(1970).” 494 F. 2d at 275.
The United States thus made a three-pronged ar-
gument to the Court of Appeals which necessitated
the court's deciding whether “the substantial di-
minution of the security of the railroad’s secured cred-
itors,” that is to say, interim erosion, was or was not
authorized by §77 and the Fifth Amendment. By the
time the case was decided (February 6, 1974), the
RRRA had been enacted, and if the result of the de-
cision would have been in any way affected by the
“light at the end of the tunnel” claimed by the Gov-
ernment to be afforded by the RRRA, the Court of
Appeals was bound to give effect to the RRRA.
The United States relied in Columbus Option Appeals
on the Emergency Rail Services Act of 1970, 45 U.S.C.
5662 ("1970 Act”), as authority for the propositions
that:
“it [the United States}, as a superior lienholder, is
required to permit the sale of all the debtor's un-
mort capital assets and the application of the
proc thereof for deficit operation of the rail-
road even if this means that junior encumbrancers
must ultimately bear the entire cost of the trustees
certificates.” 494 F. 2d at 277.
The secured creditor parties in Columbus Option Ap-
peals urged that the 1970 Act had to be interpreted in
a wholly different manner in order that it not run
afoul of the Fifth Amendment clause. Therefore the
“interim taking” issue was squarely presented by the
1970 Aa, which was then interpreted by the Court of
Appeals contrary to the Government's contentions, on
the ground that such an interpretation was necessary) to
avoid Fifth Amendment taking issues,
Just as it does in this case, the United States urged
in Columbus Option Appeals that in Penn Central Merger
Cases and New Haven Inclusion Cases,
“the Coun laid down a new principle of con-
stitutional law. That new principle, they [the
United States and the Penn Central Trustees] urge,
is that secured investors in a railroad enterprise
take on obligations in relation to the public which
makes it appropriate that they run such nsk of ero-
sion of their investment as is necessary in the pub-
lic interest in order to preserve railroad service.” 4.
at 279.
This line of argument perforce required the court
to analyze the entire New Haven reorganization as it
pertained to Penn Central Merger Cases and New Haven
Inclusion id. at 279-82.
Judge Gibbons concluded as follows:
“The constitutionality of the erosion [of the New
82
Haven estate] which had taken place prior to the
valuation date [December 31, 1966] was never
resented to the Court in any proceeding in which
it could have upon that issue. The New Ha-
ven Inclusion Cases deade no more than that Penn
Central does not have to pay for erosion which
took place prior to its purchase of the assets.
... The Supreme Court merely approved the re-
organization court's application of settled fifth
amendment law. Nothing more was presented to it
in either of the cases on by the government
and the trustees.” 494 F. 2d at 282.
The Government next urged upon the Third Cir-
cuit the “light at the end of the tunnel” theory:
“The appellees suggest that we can take judicial no-
tice of legislative solutions for the north-
east rail transportation crisis which at the time of
argument were under active consideration in Con-
= and have since been enacted. They suggest,
urther, that such judicial notice can serve as a sub-
stitute for the findings required by the Third Ave-
nue and Jersey Central rules.” Id.
This line of argument required the panel to ad-
dress the possible effect of the RRRA:
“The Regional Rail Reorganization Act of
1973... enacted January 2, 1974, establishes the
United States Railway Association whose duty is to
prepare a final plan for acquiring and distributin
some of the assets of each bankrupt northeast rail-
road permitted by its reorganization court to par-
ticipate. If a reorganization court finds the Act
does not provide a process which would be fair and
equitable to the estate of the railroad, it may either
attempt a separate reorganization under §77 if it
finds the railroad is reorganizable on an income ba-
sis, or dismiss the ization proceeding. As-
suming that the Act wit ds constitutional scru-
17 see, eg N.Y. Times, Jan. 25, 1974, p. 43, cols.
5-7 (New Haven trustees’ suit challenging the Act),
83
and that the ure contemplated is not inter-
rupted, the 4— . assets — take place ap-
proximately 510 days after enactment. Loans and
emergency grants are available, but there is no in-
demnification against interim losses. Section 303(c)
of the Act contemplates that no more shall be paid
in compensation than is ‘fair and equitable’, which
is defined as the minimum constitutionally re-
22 In determining whether to participate in
the proceedings under the Act, the reorganization
court will have to be cognizant of the limitations
imposed by the fifth amendment. Unless adequate
protection against interim losses can be obtained ei-
ther in the form of emergency grants, loans under
which the Association bears the risk and burden of
loss at least ahead of secured creditors, or con-
stitutionally compelled compensation under
This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.