Brief for Appellant — United States Railway Ass'n v. Connecticut General Insurance

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

—

'

28 \s

In Tut BITES.

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER nn. 1974

um Appeal from the District Court for the

hastern District of Pennss lyani

BRIEF OF APPRELEANI

LCNITED STATES RATEWAY ASSOC TATION

* „

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Introduction: The Rail Crisis and the Rail Aet

A. The Rail Act Is Designed To Provide New So-

lutions to New Problems that Created the Rail

Crisis *

1. The Rail Act Provides a Thorough Planning

2. The Rail Act Provides Resources Not Avail-

B. The Rail Act Provides Solutions to the Problems

that Have Made It Impossible To Reorganize

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

3. Elimination of Uncompensated Passenger

4. Increased Revenues —— — of

New Finaneing

The Court Below Should Have Denied Equitable

Relief and Dismissed the Complaints as to the

“Taking” Issues on the Ground that Plaintiffs

Have an — — at Law Under the

A. Repeal of the Jurisdiction of the Court of

Claims Under the Tucker Act To Award Just

Compensation for Any Taking of Private

Property for Public Use May Not Be In-

ferred from Later Statutes that Do Not Ex-

pressly Repeal or Modify that Act and Do

Not Provide an Equivalent Remedy

B. The Rail Act Does Not Show an Intent To

Deprive the Court of Claims of Its Tucker

Act Jurisdiction To Hear „

Just Compensation

ä — Gow an

Intent To Deprive the Court of Claims of its

Tucker Act Jurisdiction To Hear Any Case

Claiming Just Compensation

Even in the Absence of a Tucker Act Remedy

— — —

Operation of the Rail Act

A. The Court Below Misconstrued Section 304

(t) of the Rail Act

B. The 304(f) Injunction Was Unwarranted

61

III.

TABLE OF CONTENTS Continued

C. It Was Error To Declare Section 303 of the

328 Unconstitutional on Its

1

D. The District Court Should Not Have En-

—— 2 2 ey ae oe

Under Section 209 (¢) nnn

There Is No Factual or Legal Basis for Conclud-

ing that the Rail Act Will Cause an “Erosion

Taking” of Private 2 for Which Just

Compensation Will Be Due

A. Plaintiffs Have Not Shown that Any Erosion

Will Occur .

B. Railroad Creditors and Shareholders Do Not

Have a Constitutional Right To Be Held

Harmless from Erosion During the Period

Reasonably Necessary 7 > — and

Save the Railroad

1. The Earliest Decisions Under Section 77

Established that Some Erosion Is Per-

missible Pending Reorganization .__.

2. This Court Reviewed and Reconfirmed

this Rule in the New Haven litigation .

3. External, as Well as Internal, Sources of

Aid Must Be Considered in Assessing the

Penn Central’s Future Prospects

4. The Public Interest in Implementing the

Act Clearly Outweighs * Forseeable

Burden on Investors

75

CASES:

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

5

Amell v. United States, 384 U.S. 158 (1966)

American Communications Association, CIO v.

Douds, 339 U.S. 382 (1950)

American Power & Light Co. v. ‘SEC, 329 U.S. 90

(1946)

Armstrong v. ‘United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960)...

Brooks-Scanlon Co. v. Railroad Commission, 251

U.S. 396 (1920) 70, 78, 83, 94,

Bullock v. Railroad Commission, 254 U.S. 513

—

Clement v. United States, 140 F. ‘Supp. 573 (Ct. Cl.

1956) 51

Communist Party v. ‘Subversive Activities Control

Board, 367 U.S. 1 (191) 63-64

Continental Bank v. Chicago, Rock Island & P. Ry.,

294 U.S. 648 (1938 22, 78-79, 84-85, 93

Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22 (1932) * 65

Eastern Railroad Presidents Conference v. Noerr

Motor Freight, Inc., 365 U.S. 127 (1961) 65-66

Eastport Steamship Corp. v. United States, 372

F.2d 1002 (Ct. Cl. 1967) 43

63

64

48

8 2 88 & &

Eccles v. Peoples Bank, 333 U.S. 426 (1948)

Electric Bond & Share Co. v. SEC, 303 U.S. 419

(1933535

Fawcett v. C.. R., 149 F.2d 433 (2d Cir. 1945)

Federal Sugar Refining Co. v. United States, 30

F.2d 254 (2d Cir. 1929), rev'd on other grounds

sub nom. Johnson v. United States Shipping

Board Emergency Fleet Corp., 280 U.S. 320

(1930)

FTC v. A. P. ‘Paper Co., 328 U.S. 193 (1946)

Fleming v. Rhodes, 331 U.S. 100 (1947)

Flemming v. Nestor, 363 U.S. 603 (1960)

Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87 (1810)

Fort Berthold Reservation v. United States, 390

F.2d 686 (Ct. Cl. 1968) 4

Gibson v. United States, 166 U.S. 269 u) 8

Glidden Co. v. Zdanok, 370 U.S. 530 (1962)

3

SER 88988

*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Gould v. United States, 301 F.2d 557 (D.C. Cir.

1962) 59

H. K. Hele v. United States, 100 Ct. Cl. 289

(1943) 47

Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 (1915) &3

Harlem Valley Transportation Association v. Staf-

ford, 360 F.Supp. 1057 (S.D.N.Y. 1973), aff'd,

No. 73-2496 (2d Cir., June 18, 1974) 34

Hooe v. United States, 218 U.S. 322 (1910) 46

Hurley v. Kincaid, 285 U.S. 95 (1932) 41, 44-45,

59, 60, 69

In re Boston & Maine Corp,, 484 F.2d 369 (ist Cir.

1973) N 79. 93

In re Florida East Coast Ry., 137 F.Supp. 693

(S.D. Fla.) aff'd per curiam, 227 F.2d 518 (5th

Cir. 1955) 36

In re New York, NH. & H.R. R. 378 F.2d 635 (2d

Cir. 1967) 63, 88

In re New York, VH. 4 H.R. R., 281 F.Supp. 65

(D. Conn. 1968) 89-90

In re New York, NH. & H.R. R. 289 F.Supp. 451

(D. Conn. 1968) 87, 90-92, 94, 95

In re New York, NH. & H.R. R.. 304 F.Supp. 793

(D. Conn. 1969) 88, 94

In re New York, NH. &HRR., 304 F.Supp. 1121

(D. Conn. 1969) 82

In re Penn Central Transportation Co., 494 F.2d

270 (34 Cir.), petition for cert. filed, 42

U.S.L.W. 3633 (U.S. May 8. 1974) (No. 73-

8 85

In re Penn Central Transportation Co., Bky. No.

70-347, Order No. 1 (E.D. Pa., June 21, 19700 67-68

In the Matter of Reading Co., Bky. No. 71-828

(E.D. Pa., July 1, 1974), appeal pending, No.

74-7 (Spec. Ct. R.R.R.A., filed Aug. 20, 1974) 79-80

International Longshoremen’s & Warehousemen's

Union, Local 37 v. Boyd, 347 U.S. 222 (1904) 64

Jackson v. United States, 230 U.S. 1 (1913) 83-84

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Jacobs v. United States, 290 U.S. 13 (19333 43, 45

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath,

341 U.S. 123 (1951) 63

Kennedy v. Silas Mason Co., 334 U.S. 249 (1948). 63

Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116 (1958) . 66

Malone v. Bowdoin, 369 U.S. 643 (1962) 45

Marine Insurance Co. v. United States, 410 F.2d

BQ QUE SSS a 51

Mercantile National Bank v. Langdeau, 371 U.S.

555 (1963) 48

Nagano V. McGrath, 187 F.2d 759 (7th Cir. 1951),

aff'd, 342 U.S. 916 (1952) 48

New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970) 22, 57,

59, 63, 70, 79, 88, 92-93

New York, VH. & H.R.R. Bondholders v. United

States, 289 F Supp. 418 (S.D.N.Y. 1968) 88. 92

Penn-Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486 (1968). 22, 84,

88-89

Phelps v. United States, 274 U.S. 311 (1927 59

Phillips v. Commissioner, 283 U.S. 589 (1931) 59

Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) 63

Portsmouth Harbor Land & Hotel Co. v. United

States, 260 U.S. 327 (1922) „%% 45

Public Affairs Press v. Rickover, 369 U.S. 111

—— ˙˙.iwA2ꝛ˙*n RN 63

Railroad Commission v. Eastern Tezas R. R., 264

US. 79 (1924) 78

Ralston Steel Corp. v. United States, 340 F.2d 663

(Ct. Cl.), cert. denied, 381 U.S. 950 (1965) 43

Reconstruction Finance Corp. V. Denver & Rio

Grande W. R. R., 328 U.S. 495 (1946) 22, 86, 93

Richard v. United States v. Stone Corral Irriga-

tion Dist., 282 F.2d 901 (Ct. Cl. 1960) . 45

Richmond Screw Anchor Co. v. United States, 275

U.S. 331 (1928) 65

St. Joe Paper Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R. R., 347

U.S. 298 (1954) —

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) — 3

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Simon v. United States, 113 Ct. Cl. 182 (1949)

Steel Hill Development, Inc. v. Sanborton, 469 F. 2d

956 (ist Cir. 1972)

Tempel v. United States, 248 U.S. 121 (1918) .

Twenty Per Cent Cases, 87 U.S. 179 (1873)

United States v. Babcock, 250 U.S. 328 (1919)

United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946)

United States v. Darby, 312 U.S. 100 (1941)

United States v. Dickinson, 331 U.S. 745 (1947)

United States v. Goltra, 312 U.S. 203 (194)

United States v. National Dairy Products Corp.,

372 U.S. 29 (1963)

United States v. Pfitech, 256 U.S. 547 (1921)

United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17 (1960)

United States v. Thayer-West Point Hotel Co., 329

U.S. 585 (197

United States v. Thirty-Seven (37) Photographs,

402 U.S. 363 (1971)

United States v. United States Fidelity 4 Guar-

anty Co., 309 U.S. 506 (1940)

United States Civil Service Commission V. National

Association of Letter Carriers, AFL-CIO, 413

U.S. 548 (1973) 48, 65

Van Schaick v. McCarthy, 116 F.2d 987 (10th Cir.

es 86

West Coast Hotel Co. v. ‘Parrish, 300 U.S. 379

3 96

Wright v. Vinton Branch of the Mountain Trust

Bank, 300 U.S. 440 (1937) 48

Yearsley v. . A. Ross Construction Co., 309 U.S.

18 (1940) . N 43-44, 45, 60

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. V. ‘Sawyer, 343 U.S.

—— — 416. 96

2 8 8 * 5 e 2 §

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES:

U.S. Constitution:

Art. I, § 8, cl. 3 (Commerce Clause) 3

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

ee ee) Cay Sen - J. 14, 62

Admiralty Act of 1920:

46 U.S.C. §§ 741 et seq. a

Bankruptcy Act:

Section 77, 11 U.S.C. §205 — 5. passim

Interstate Commerce Act:

Section 1, 49 U.S.C. 81 SS

Section 5, 49 U.S.C. §5 .

Judicial Code:

28 U.S.C. 88 1252 3

E 1 3

123i(a) ........... 2

2202 . 2

2282 2

2284 2

2516 59

National Environmental Policy Act of 1969:

42 U.S.C. §§ 4321, 4331-35 —

Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970, as amended:

45 U.S.C. §§ 501 et seq. 1 38

Regional! Rail Reorganization Act of 1973:

Pub. L. 93-236, 87 Stat. 985, 45 U.S.C.

1 701-93 — I. passim

Tucker Act:

2US.C. $1492 0 8, pein

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Other Statutes: Page

Pub. L. 65-182, 40 Stat. 704, 705 (July 1,

1918), as amended 28 U.S.C. § 1498 65

Pub. L. 93-5, 87 Stat. 5 (Feb. 9, 1973) 31

Pub. L. 93-240, 87 Stat. 1048 (Jan.2,1974) 28. 47

Pub. L. 93-305, 88 Stat. 195 (June 8, 1974) 28. 47

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEEDINGS:

ICC Order, Ex Parte No. 293 (Jan. 14, 1974) 23

Penn Central Transportation Co. Reorganization,

Corp. Reorg. Rep. (Penn Central), Document

No. 95, at 1102:86 (ICC Finance Docket No.

26241, Sept. 28, 1973) 35, 37

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:

Conference Report, H.R. Rep. No. 93-744, 93d

Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) 27, 32

H.R. Rep. No. 93-620, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) 24,

passim

S. Rep. No. 93-601, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) 24, 30,

31,53

119 Cong. Rec.

H9731-32 (daily ed. Nov. 8, 1973) 54. 57

H9742 (daily ed. Nov. 8. 1973) ) 4

H9743 (daily ed. Nov. , 1973). 53

H9756 (daily ed. Nov. 8. 1973) 56

111,876 (daily ed. Dec. 20, 1973) 52. 56

$22,483 (daily ed. Dec. 11, 1973) — 34

$22,485 (daily ed. Dec. 11, 1973) 53, 56

$22,820 (daily ed. Dec. 13, 1973) 56

$23,778 (daily ed. Dec. 21, 1973) * 53

$23,780 (daily ed. Dec. 21, 1973) 50-51

S23,782-4 (daily ed. Dec. 21, 19733 34, 53, 55

Hearings on H.R. 6591, H.R. 4897, H.R. 5822, H.R.

5385, H.R. 6880, H.R. 7373 and H.J. Res. 50 be-

fore the House Comm. on Interstate and Foreign

Commerce, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) 31

*

In THE

Page Supreme Court of the United States

Hearings on S. 1031, S. 2188 and H.R. 9142 before OCTOBER TERM, 1974

the Senate Comm. on Commerce, 93d Cong.,

Ist Sess. (1973) 31

Secretary of Transportation, Northeastern Fall-

road Problem, A Report to the Congress, March N

26, 1973 1 ' 31. 33, 36 0. 74-167

Secretary of Transportation, Rail ‘Service in the

Midwest and Northeast Region, Feb. 1, 1974 33

Special Staff of Senate Comm. on Commerce, 92d

Cong., 2d Sess., The Penn Central and Other UNITED STATES RAILWAY ASSOCIATION,

Railroads, A Report to the Senate Comm. on

Commerce (Comm. Print 1972) 24 Appellant,

Statement of Secretary Brinegar in Hearings he- v.

fore the Surface Transportation Subcomm. of

Se ae Se eee SS CONNECTICUT GENERAL INSURANCE CORPORATION, et al.,

2, at 258 ( 30, 1973) ae 23-24

N — Appellees.

MISCELLANEOUS:

Coleman, /s Railroad Accounting Off the Track?,

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

130 J. Accountancy 64 (Oct. 1970) 3 77 On Appeal from the Distriet Court for the

3A Collier on Bankruptcy “ 63.16 (14th ed. rev. Eastern District of Pennsylvania

J. Moore) ; 82

5 Collier on Bankruptcy © 77.20 (14th ed. rev. 1.

——A ee 82

Frankfurter, Som- ‘Reflections on the Reading of BRIEF OF APPELLANT

Statutes, 47 Colum. I. Rev. 527 (1947) 54-55 UNITED STATES RAILWAY ASSOCIATION

Iron Age, June 25, 1970 a — 81

Iron Age, July 22, 1974 én 81

Note, Takings and the Public Interest in Railroad

Reorganization, 82 Yale I. J. 1004 (1973) 85 This is an appeal from the decision of a three-judge

L. — at aime 28 Law of Eminent 2 — 11 —— Court sitting in the Eastern

Domai ial D ts: Richard strict vania, which held unconstitutional

388 8 1 Nixon 8 (Jan. 34 certain sections of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act

Spychalski, Imperfections in ‘Railway Line Aban- of 1973, Public Law 93-236, 45 U.S.C. §§ 701-93 (the

donment Regulation and Suggestions for their “Rail Act” or “Act”). Appellant is the United States

Correction, 40 ICC Prac. J. 454 (1973 35 Railway Association (“USRA” or the Association“), a

“government corporation” formed pursuant to Section

201 of the Rail Act.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and concurring opinion in the district

court and its order of June 25, 1974, are reprinted in

the Joint Appendix (“JA”)* at JA 9-83. The opinions

are not yet officially reported.

JURISDICTION

These cases were brought pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331

(a), 1337, 2201 and 2202, seeking a declaratory judg-

ment that the Rail Act is void for repugnance to the

United States Constitution and seeking an injunction

against the enforcement, operation and execution of the

Rail Act. Three-judge courts were convened pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. §§ 2282 and 2284. By consent of the parties,

two of the actions originally brought in the District

of Columbia were transferred to and consolidated for

disposition before the three-judge court in the Eastern

District of Pennsylvania.

The order appealed from, declaring certain provisions

of the Rail Act null and void as violative of provisions

of the Constitution and enjoining Appellant from taking

certain actions pursuant to the Rail Act, was entered on

June 25, 1974 in all of the cases. No order has been

issued respecting a rehearing. Notice of Appeal to this

Court was filed in the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania on July 17, 1974.

JA 386. Appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement was filed

A Joint Documentary Submission (“J. Doc.“) has been

filed with this Court. ’ *

on August 23, 1974. This Court has jurisdietion pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1252 and 1253. See Shapiro v. Thomp-

son, 394 U.S. 618, 625 (1969); United States v. Raines,

362 U.S. 17, 20 (1960); Fleming v. Rhodes, 331 U.S.

100, 102-04 (1947).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES INVOLVED

Article I, Section 8, Clauses 3 and 4 of the United

States Constitution provide:

“The Congress shall have Power

“To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and

among the several States, and with the Indian

Tribes;

“To establish an uniform Rule of Naturalization,

and uniform Laws on the — of Bankruptcies

throughout the United States, .

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion provides in pertinent part:

“No person shall. . . be deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without

just compensation.”

The Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973, Pub.

L. 93-236, 87 Stat. 985, 45 U.S.C. §§ 701-93, is set forth

at JA 391-431.

The Tucker Act, as amended, 28 U.S.C. § 1491, pro-

vides in pertinent part:

“The Court of Claims shall have jurisdiction to

render judgment upon au claim against the United

States founded either upon the Constitution, or any

Act of Congress, or any regulation of an executive

department, or upon any express or implied con-

4

tract with the United States, or for liquidated or

unliquidated damages in cases not sounding in

3

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the court below erred in granting injunc-

tive relief on Plaintiffs’ claims that the Rail Act may

effect a taking of their property without just compensa-

tion, when Plaintiffs have adequate remedies at law in-

cluding a suit in the Court of Claims under the Tucker

Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1491.

2. Whether the court below breached its duty to con-

strue statutes so as to save their constitutionality when

it construed the Rail Act, despite its silence on the sub-

ject, as amending the Tucker Act by implication so as

to bar any suit in the Court of Claims to recover any

difference between the consideration provided in the Rail

Act and the “constitutional minimum” expressly recog-

nized in the Rail Act—a construction of the Rail Act

which led the court to declare certain provisions of the

Rail Act unconstitutional.

3. Whether the court breached its duty to construe

statutes so as to save their constitutionality when, after

holding that the Rail Act impliedly amended the Tucker

Act to bar a remedy for constitytional claims of the rail

estates, the court

(a) construed Section 304(f) of the Rail Act to

authorize USRA to forbid discontinuance of rail

service or abandonment of rail properties even if the

“erosion” of the railroad estate should pass the limits

beyond which operations can no longer be constitu-

tionally required without compensation—a construc-

tion of Section 304(f) which led the court to hold

Section 304(f) unconstitutional; and

(b) construed Section 303 of the Rail Act, which

expressly requires a “constitutional minimum” con-

sideration for transfers of rail property, to exclude

consideration for erosion beyond constitutional limits

—a construction of Section 303 which led the court

to hold Section 303 unconstitutional.

4. Whether the court below erred in first enjoining

all Defendants from taking any action under Section

304(f) to require continuation of rail service that would

result in “erosion” beyond constitutional limits and there-

after nullifying other provisions of the Rail Act solely

for their failure to provide explicitly for just compensa-

tion for the very “erosion” beyond constitutional limits

that the court had already enjoined Defendants from

causing.

5. Whether, in any event, an injunction unconditionally

prohibiting USRA from certifying any Final System Plan

for reorganized rail service to a federal court was a

necessary or appropriate remedy to prevent the possibility

of erosion beyond constitutional limits that the court had

already enjoined USRA and all other Defendants from

causing.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Eight major railroads operating in the Northeast/

Midwest region of the United States are now in reor-

ganization proceedings pursuant to Section 77 of the

Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C. § 205. Because of the serious

threat that this rail crisis presented to the welfare of

the region and of the United States, and because of the

inability of the procedures and resources of Section 77

to resolve the underlying problems of these railroads,

Congress enacted the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of

1973, which became law on January 2, 1974.

Plaintiffs below are creditors and the sole shareholder

of the largest of the railroads now in reorganization,

Penn Central Transportation Company (“Penn Central”).

They brought these actions seeking declaratory judg-

ments that the entire Rail Act is unconstitutional on its

face on a large number of grounds, and further seeking

injunctions against the implementation of all of its pro-

visions. JA 161-75. The Trustees of the property of

Penn Central Transportation Company, Debtor (“Penn

Central Trustees”) intervened as Defendants. JA 191.

Both sides filed Motions for Summary Judgment. JA

221-25. This appeal is taken from a final judgment

granting in part Plaintiffs’ Motions for Summary Judg-

ment and denying Defendants’ Motions. JA 9-83.

The Rail Act Reorganization Process

The following five steps required by the Rail Act

are essential to an understanding of the proceedings be-

low. In the Introduction to the Argument there is a

fuller discussion of the statutory provisions intended

by Congress to achieve “the reorganization of railroads

in this region into an economically viable system capable

of providing adequate and efficient rail service to the

region.” Section 101(b) (2).

(1) Each nited States district court having jurisdic-

tion of a railroad in the region in reorganization under

Section 77 (“Reorganization Court”) was required to

determine within 180 days of enactment whether its

railroad should be reorganized pursuant to the Rail Act.

Section 207(b). Such determinations (which are described

below under the heading “Reorganization Court Proceed-

ings”) have been made and are now under review by a

special United States district court of three judges

(“Special Court”) which was authorized by the Rail Act,

Section 209(b), and which has been formed in the Dis-

trict of Columbia.

-

‘

(2) A new government corporation, Appellant USRA,

is required to prepare a “Final System Plan” for re-

structuring the rail properties of the railroads being

reorganized pursuant to the Rail Act into a “financially

self-sustaining rail service system.” Sections 201, 202,

204-06. A central feature of the Final System Plan will

be the transfer of designated rail properties to a new,

for-profit corporation called Consolidated Rail Corporation

(“Conrail”) in exchange for all the securities of Con-

rail, plus up to 8500 million of USRA obligations guar-

anteed by the United States. Sections 206(d)(1), 210.

(3) USRA is required to submit a proposed Final

System Plan to Congress within 450 days of enactment

(i. e., by March 28, 1975). Section 208(a). The Plan

becomes “effective” if neither House of Congress disap-

proves it within sixty continuous session days after sub-

mission. Section 208. The Plan is then transmitted by

USRA, within 90 days after its effective date, to the

Special Court, which has exclusive jurisdiction of all

“proceedings with respect to the Final System Plan.”

Section 209. The Special Court is then directed to order

the trustees of each railroad in reorganization to transfer

to Conrail all right, title and interest in the rail prop-

erties designated in the Final System Plan. Section 303

(b).

(4) The Special Court is directed then to determine

whether the exchange of rail properties for Conrail se-

curities, USRA obligations and such “other benefits” as

the Rail Act provides, is fair and equitable to the estate

of each railroad in reorganization. Section 303ic). If

the Special Court finds that the transfer is not fair and

equitable “in accordance with the standard of fairness

and equity applicable to the approval of a plan of re-

organization or a step in such a plan under Section 77

of the Bankruptcy Act,” the Court is directed to order

a reallocation of the Conrail securities, and or to order

the issuance of additional Conrail securities and USRA

obligations (subject to an overall $500 million limitation

on USRA obligations used for this purpose), and/or to

enter a judgment against Conrail. Id. Section 303 does

not authorize the Special Court to enter a judgment

against the United States. Section 303 does, however,

recognize that the consideration to be transferred in

exchange for the rail properties must equal the “con-

stitutional minimum” and directs the Special Court to

make necessary adjustments so that this “constitutional

minimum” is not exceeded. The judgment of the Special

Court may be appealed directly to this Court. Section

303 (d).

(5) Section 304 of the Rail Act provides that railroads

in reorganization subject to the Act may discontinue

service over, and may “abandon”—i.ec., dispose of as

they wish—any rail properties not designated for trans-

fer under the Final System Plan. In the interim, how-

ever, Section 304/f) permits a railroad in reorganization

to discontinue service on or to abandon lines of railroad

only with the consent of USRA.

Reorganization Court Proceedings

Section 207(b) of the Rail Act required each Re-

organization Court to decide, in two stages, whether its

railroad should be reorganized pursuant to the Rail Act.

First, each Reorganization Court was to decide, within

120 days of the Rail Act’s enactment, whether (a) its

railroad is reorganizable on an income basis within a

reasonable time under Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act

and if so whether (b) the public interest would be better

served by continuing the reorganization under Section

77 than by proceedings under the Rail Act. If a Re-

organization Court made both affirmative findings, it was

authorized to keep its railroad out of all subsequent

Rail Act proceedings. Railroads not eliminated at the

“120-day” stage went through the second stage, or “180-

day” proceeding, in which each Reorganization Court was

to order that reorganization proceed under the Rail Act

unless it found that the Rail Act “does not provide a

process which would be fair and equitable to the estate

of the railroad in reorganization.”

On the date of enactment, eight major railroads were

in reorganization in the region. In addition, fifteen

of Penn Central's railroad subsidiaries (“Secondary

Debtors”) were considered separately from Penn Central

in distinct “120-day” and “180-day” proceedings in the

Penn Central Reorganization Court. Hence, the major

railroads and the Secondary Debtors required nine de-

terminations by the Reorganization Courts under Section

207 (b.

On May 1, 1974, two railroads—the Boston & Maine

and the Erie Lackawanna—were kept out of the Rail

Act procedures on the “120-day” grounds that they are

reorganizable on an income basis under Section 77 and

that the public interest would be better served by con-

tinuing under Section 77. These determinations have

not been appealed. In the remaining seven cases, the

railroads were not taken out of the Rail Act at the 120-

day stage. In six of these cases, the Reorganization

Courts found that the railroads were not reorganizable

on an income basis under Section 77. Certain of the

Secondary Debtors were found to be reorganizable on an

income basis under Section 77 but the Court was unable

to conclude that the public interest would be better

1 were and are the only operating railroads in reorganiza-

tion in the United States, except for a tiny carrier, the Cadillac and

Lake City Railroad. The Cadillac and Lake City, which is also in

region, has been excluded from further proceedings under the

on the ground that it is separately reorganizable on an income

is under Section 77 and the public interest would be better served

by continuing under Section 77.

10

served by reorganization under Section 77 than by pro-

ceedings under the Rail Act.

These seven cases were therefore the subject of the

subsquent “180-day” proceedings in the respective Reor-

ganization Courts. On July 1, 1974, six days after the

decision of the three-judge Court below in the present

ease, two Reorganization Courts, having before them

Reading Company and The Ann Arbor Railroad Com-

pany, ordered that their reorganizations proceed under

the Rail Act. In the remaining five proceedings, which

dealt with Penn Central, Secondary Debtors, Lehigh

Valley Railroad Company, The Central Railroad Com-

pany of New Jersey, and The Lehigh and Hudson River

Railway Company, the Reorganization Courts con-

cluded, wholly or in substantial part on the basis of the

decision below in the present case, that the Rail Act

does not provide a fair and equitable process and de-

clined to order reorganization under the Rail Act.

Section 207(b) provides that appeals from Reorgani-

zation Court orders pursuant to that section shall be

made to the Special Court. It further provides that

there shall be no appeal from the decision of the Special

Court. These seven 180-day determinations are all on

appeal to the Special Court, which is required by See-

tion 207(b) of the Rail Act to render its decision within

80 days after the appeals were taken, a period which

expires on September 29, 1974. Appellant USRA and

other parties intend to suggest to the Special Court that

it render its decision at that time but stay its mandate

pending the determination by this Court of the issues

on this appeal.

These five determinations were made by three courts: the Penn

Central, Secondary Debtors, and Lehigh Valley reorganizations are

all before Judge um in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.

Judge Fullam was aiso a member of the court below.

In the case of The Central Railroad of New Jersey, the 80-day

period expires on September 26, 1974.

ee ee RS ee

11

Proceedings Below

Plaintiffs in the court below challenged the constitu-

tionality of the Rail Act on a number of grounds. A

primary contention was that the consideration provided

in the “Final System Plan” for required transfers of

rail property pursuant to that Plan will or may, despite

the statutory requirement that the consideration be equal

to the “constitutional minimum standard of fairness and

equity,” fall below constitutiona! requirements so that

the transfers will constitute a taking of Plaintiffs’ prop-

erty for less than just compensation in violation of the

Fifth Amendment. This contention was rejected by the

court below as premature. JA 9 at 23-25.

Plaintiffs also contended below that a taking of their

property without just compensation will result from a

combination of the allegedly required continuation of rail

operations pending implementation of the Fina! System

Plan with the alleged “erosion” beyond constitutional

limits of the Penn Centra! estate during this period.

Appellant USRA contended below that, (i) on any theory

of “erosion,” the record before the court below did not

permit a determination of the amount of erosion suffered

by any railroad estate or a determination that any rail-

road estate has reached the “constitutional limit” be-

yond which operations cannot be required to continue

without an adequate remedy at law for compensation;

(ii) railroad creditors and owners can constitutionally

be required to sustain a reasonable burden of interim

erosion while efforts are being made to restructure the

railroad on a profitable basis: and (iii) in any event

Plaintiffs were not entitled to an injunction or a declara-

tory judgment of unconstitutionality because, if it should

ultimately be determined that the Rail Act had caused

an erosion of their interests beyond constitutional limits,

Plaintiffs would have an adequate remedy at law in the

Court of Claims under the Tucker Act for any claimed

shortfall in their compensation.

12

The court below determined that the present existence

of operating losses in the Penn Central system made

the erosion issue “ripe for adjudication.” JA 9 at 40. The

court did not define erosion, nor did it decide whether

the Penn Central or any other railroad has yet reached

the constitutional limit of erosion, nor did it attempt to

define the constitutional limit. The court said only that,

“we are persuaded that a significant possibility

exists that a point of erosion either has been or

may soon be reached so that it can be said that

plaintiffs’ contention of interim unconstitutional tak-

ing by continued loss operations is ripe for adjudi-

cation.” Id.

Without resolving the factual issues further, the court

then turned to the relevant statutory issues. The court

apparently read Section 304(f), which requires a railroad

in reorganization to obtain the approval of USRA be-

fore it discontinues rai! service or abandons rail lines dur-

ing the planning process, as authorizing USRA to with-

hold approval even if a court has determined that “ero-

sion” has gone beyond constitutional limits and even if an

adequate remedy at law for compensation is barred by

the Rail Act.

The court then concluded that the Rail Act did bar an

adequate remedy at law. It explicitly rejected the con-

tention of Appellant, of the other Government Parties,

and of the Penn Centra! Trustees that if the constitu-

tional limit of permissible uncompensated erosion should

be passed, Plaintiffs would have an adequate remedy at

law in the Court of Claims under the Tucker Act for

just compensation. JA 9 at 53. The court construed the

Rai! Act. despite its silence on the subject, as precluding

the Court of Claims from taking jurisdiction of any suit

for compensation for actions taken under the authority

of the Rail Act. The court also apparently decided that

the power of the Special Court, pursuant to Section 303.

—

13

to determine whether transfers of rail properties are fair

and equitable to the estate of each railroad in reor-

ganization and to award the “constitutional minimum,”

does not include the power to remedy erosion beyond con-

stitutional limits. Id. at 53, 82.

Based on this analysis, the court below held Section

3040

“null and void as violative of the Fifth Amendment

of the United States Constitution, to the extent that

it would require continued operation of rail services

at a loss in violation of the constitutional rights

of the owners and creditors of a railroad.” Id. at

82-83.

The court did not define such constitutional rights, but

it ined all Defendants,

“from taking any action to enforce the provisions of

Section 304(f) with respect to any abandon-

ment, cessation or reduction of service which has

been or may hereafter be determined by a court of

competent jurisdiction to be necessary for the pres-

ervation of rights guaranteed by the United States

Constitution.” Id. at 82.

Technically, this order has effect only if some other

court (presumably a Reorganization Court) determines

that an abandonment, cessation, or reduction of service

is constitutionally required.

The court below went on to declare that Section 303

of the Rail Act, relating to transfers of rai! properties

pursuant to the Final System Plan, is

“null and void as contravening the Fifth Amendment

of the United States Constitution insofar as it fails

to provide compensation for interim erosion pending

final implementation of the Final System Plan

„ A

In addition, without explanation, the court enjoined

USRA, unconditionally, from certifying any Final Sys-

14

2352225 Cat pumas & Get ee

e).

Plaintiffs made a third challenge to the Rail Act on

the ground that it is not uniform“ within the meaning

of Article I, Section 8, Clause 4, of the Constitution,

providing that Congress shall have the power to enact

“uniform Laws on the subject of Bankruptcies through-

out the United States.” The court below rejected this

contention except as to one sentence of Section 207(b).

Id. at 83. That sentence provides that if any Reorganiza-

tion Court determines, in the “180-day proceedings,”

that the Act does not provide a fair and equitable process

for the reorganization of its debtor and therefore that

the debtor shall not be reorganized in accordance with

the Act, then the Reorganization Court shall dismiss the

Section 77 proceedings. Since the court’s ruling nullifying

A ~ 7 does not materially affeet the

nistration Rail Act, we do not a

this part of the court’s order. —

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The * Act provides varied and substantial new

resources meet a rail crisis that is centered i

- ond Witness ten Gomme Ge aden ac an

entire nation. These resources can be used to create a

self-sustaining rail service system that will meet the

needs of the public. The creation of that system will

resolve the several present railroad reorganization pro-

ceedings and will afford fair and equitable treatment to

the creditors and shareholders of the bankrupt railroads.

The Rail Act has been attacked on the nd

under some hypothetical circumstances 22 2 —

to these private interests would not be assured. The

Act itself, with its commitment of major new public

resources, its revamping of the regulatory framework,

15

and its imaginative adaptation of traditional railroad re-

organization procedures and principles, provides ample

refutation of the Act’s detractors. The short answer to

their contentions, however, is that if, despite all of the

resources that Congress pledged and all the care it de-

voted to legislating a constitutional solution to the rail

crisis, the Act should require the use or transfer of rail

properties for less than the “constitutional minimum”

consideration that the Act expressly recognizes to be due,

a suit for just compensation in the Court of Claims under

the Tucker Act is an adequate and proper remedy at law,

and no injunction is justified.

Tucker Act. In the court below, Plaintiffs sought (a)

a declaration that the Rai) Act is unconstitutional on

its face and (b) an injunction against its implementa-

tion. Their primary contention was that the Rai! Act

will cause a “taking” of their “property” for “public

use” without “just compensation” in violation of the

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States. The court below should have responded to that

challenge by denying the relief sought and dismissing

the complaints on the ground that if Plaintiffs should

ever wish to present such a claim, they will have an

adequate remedy at law in the form of a suit for just

compensation in the United States Court of Claims under

the Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. 81491. Decisions of this

Court have clearly established that since just compensa-

tion remains available in a suit under the Tucker Act,

it is inappropriate ever to enjoin duly authorized federal

action on the ground that it may constitute a taking for

less than the just compensation that must be paid. The

same decisions establish that this adequate legal remedy

makes it unnecessary and inappropriate for a court of

equity, when asked for such an injunction, even to in-

quire into whether a taking in fact has occurred or will

occur.

16

The court below, however, ruled that the Rail Act

bars a Tucker Act remedy for claims arising under the

Rail Act. The court assumed that the existence of such

a remedy depends on the intention of Congress, when

it passed the Rail Act, to make a Tucker Act remedy

available. Hence, the court stated the question as whether

there was an “implied remedy at law,” JA 9 at 41, and

concluded that to “read a Tucker Act remedy into the

Rail] Act” would be “judicial legislation on a grand,

if not arrogant, scale.“ Id. at 53.

In fact, the Tucker Act stands by itself as a century-

old bulwark both against inadequately compensated tak-

ings of property and against unwarranted prior restraint

by courts of equity against the efforts of Congress to

provide for the needs of the nation. The Tucker Act,

by itself, confers jurisdiction on the Court of Claims

to hear money claims arising under the Constitution of

the United States, including claims for just compensation

for the public use of private property. This remedy is

available for any claim of taking (including claim of a

taking of the use of property) that results from au-

thorized federal action. It is not necessary, when Con-

gress passes later substantive legislation which someone

alleges to have caused a taking, that Congress have in-

tended a taking, or have provided a remedy, or have

explicitly or implicitly preserved the availability of the

Tucker Act remedy in the later legislation.

The only question properly before the court below on

this issue was whether the Rail Act repealed the jurisdie-

tion of the Court of Claims pro tanto as to affected

rail estates. This it clearly did not do. The Rail Art

nowhere mentions either the Tucker Act or the Court of

Claims, although it contains thirteen separate provisions

explicitly modifying or repealing other federal statutes,

including an entire section entitled “Relationship to Other

Laws.” While it is clear from the statute and its legis-

EPS Ce 0 —

17

lative history that Congress did not expect that the con-

sideration provided under the Rail Act would be ju-

dicially determined to be less than the “constitutional

minimum” that the Rail Act expressly recognizes to be

due, there is nothing in the Rail Act or its legislative

history to suggest that Congress intended to deny the

traditional Court of Claims remedy to anyone asserting

such a claim.

The questionable inference, drawn by the court below,

that the Rail Act implicitly repealed a basic grant of

jurisdiction to a federal court, was especially inappropri-

ate in light of its consequences: ta) to impute to —

gress a deliberate nace to - „ — 42

r iring transfers of rail p "

vane Ming thet might judicially be determined to be

less than the “constitutional minimum” Congress itself

recognized and by barring any remedy to recover the

shortfall, and (b. to strike down portions of a major

federal statute that the Court apparently would have

upheld if it had drawn the opposite inference. The

action of the court below thus violated the basic precept

of constitutional litigation that a statute shall be inter-

preted, where possible, so as to save rather than destroy

its constitutionality.

ion 30 Apart from its rejection of the Tucker

ot saan: oo district court’s resolution of the merits

of the “taking” allegations was also erroneous. One of

Plaintiffs’ allegations was that Section 304(f ) of the

Rail Act, which forbids railroads in reorganization from

discontinuing service or abandoning rail lines during the

rail planning process without the approval of USRA,

has caused and or will cause a “taking” of Plaintiffs

property in the form of “erosion” of railroad estates

through continued rail operations. The court below did

not decide whether “erosion” amounting to a “taking’

has occurred or will occur. Indeed, the court neither de-

18

fined “erosion” nor specified the constitutional limits

beyond which erosion becomes a taking and cannot be

compelled unless an adequate remedy for just compensa-

tion is available. Instead, the court took the following

extraordinary steps: (a) it decided that the constitu-

tionality of Section 304(f) was ripe for adjudication even

though the constitutional limit of erosion had not been

found to have been reached and might not ever be

reached; (b) it interpreted Section 304(f) as barring

discontinuances and abandonments even though the re-

sult would be erosion beyond constitutional limits for

which the court had ruled no adequate remedy was

available; (c) it declared Section 304 /f, as so construed.

unconstitutional as applied to these hypothetical circum-

stances; (d it enjoined USRA, now, from interfering

with any discontinuance or abandonment that another

court may hypothetically find constitutionally required ;

and (e finally, it declared other portions of the statute

unconstitutional, without explanation, because they do

not specifically provide a remedy for the very erosion

beyond constitutional limits that the court itself had al-

ready done more than necessary to prevent.

The court, based on its ruling that the Rail Act barred

an adequate remedy at law, declared Section 304(f) “null

and void as violative of the Fifth Amendment to

the extent that it would require continued operation of

rail serivees at a loss in violation of the constitutional

rights of the owners and creditors of a railroad.” JA 9

at 82-83. The court then enjoined the Defendants

“from taking any action to enforce the provisions

of Section 304(f) of the Regional Rail Reorganiza-

tion Act of 1973, with respect of any abandonment,

cessation, or reduction of service which has been or

may hereafter be determined by a court of compe-

tent jurisdiction to be necessary for the preserva-

tion of rights guaranteed by the United States Con-

stitution.” Id at 82.

19

If this were all the court below had done, its order

would be merely gratuitous. The court did not need

to interpret Section 304(f) as permitting USRA to

such constitutional rights as a later court may

declare. It did not need to strike down the section,

or to enjoin USRA, now, from violating constitutional

rights declared by a hypothetical later court. Even if

the court correctly construed the Rail Act as denying

an adequate remedy at law, the entire resulting problem

could have been resolved by interpreting Section 304 (f)

as conferring authority only within the bounds permitted

by the Constitution. If, as the court below hypothesized,

some later court finds that an abandonment, cessation

or reduction of railroad service is required to preserve

constitutional rights, there is no reason to assume now

that USRA will act in violation of that hypothetical de-

termination or that the later court would not be able

itself to issue such injunctive and other orders as may

be necessary to enforce the constitutional rights it has

declared.

ion 303. The court below did not stop at en-

* — action under Section 304 f '. It also declared

that Section 303 of the Rail Act, which provides for the

conveyance of rail properties to Conrail pursuant to the

Final System Plan and for the valuation of those prop-

erties and the consideration therefor

. contravening the Fifth Amend-

—— = — States Constitution insofar as it

fails to provide compensation for interim erosion

pending final implementation of the Final System

Plan pursuant to the statute.” JA 9 at 82.

holding void a section of the statute that is

„ enney Rae for incidental references) in the

court’s opinion, was wholly unnecessary and erroneous

even on the court’s view of the Tucker Act and erosion

issues. In the first place, the court below did not de-

termine that an erosion taking, requiring just compensa-

tion, either has occurred or would occur if the process

of the Act were allowed to go forward unimpeded. Con-

sequently, even on the court’s view of the facts, the

erosion question may never arise.

More important, by its treatment of Section 304(f),

the court below itself eliminated any possible objection

to Section 303. The court enjoined all Defendants from

taking action under Section 304(f) that would conflict

with any future judicial determination that service should

be discontinued or property abandoned in order to avoid

erosion beyond constitutional limits. In fact, no Reor-

ganization Court or other court has yet determined that

the constitutional limit has been reached in the case

of its railroad. If any Reorganization Court or other

federal court determines that the constitutional limit

has been reached, it will presumably order selective or

total discontinuance of rail service or abandonments of

rail lines. As noted above, (a) once the court below

held that the Rail Act bars an adequate remedy at law,

it should not have interpreted Section 304(f) of the Rail

Act to purport to give USRA authority to prevent dis-

continuances or abandonments in such circumstances,

(b the Reorganization Court or other federal court

making such determination would obviously have power,

should it for some reason be necessary, to enjoin USRA

from interfering with its orders issued on constitutional

grounds, and (c) in any event, the court below itself

enjoined USRA from interfering with such hypothetica!

future constitutionally required discontinuances or aban-

donments. Consequently, if there was ever any possibility

that the Act would cause any railroad estate to reach

the constitutional limit of erosion and yet require such

railroad to continue to operate beyond that point, this

defect has been anticipatorily remedied by the court be-

low. There was no need to declare Section 303 uncon-

stitutional for failing to provide just compensation for

21

an erosion taking caused by the Rail Act when the pos-

sibility of any such taking has been more than adequately

eliminated.

Certification of the Final System Plan. a >

low did not stop even with this second ruling. Pore

on to enjoin USRA from certifying any Final —

Plan to the Special Court. . 4

in the opinions below that offers an — or —

ruling prohibiting the central step contempla =

Act. oO Gates ae ee

e 8

reached, it may be possible for the affected railroad,

USRA, and ethers including Congress snd the Special

Court to devise a basis for continuing rail service — ject

to adequate compensation in the Final System fn

otherwise. If that is not possible, the Reorganization

Court (or another appropriate court) a: Oe Se

tinuance or abandonment, as necessary, on constituti —

grounds. If it be presumed that USRA would —

any such order, USRA has now been enjoined from ng

80. rr

could the certification of a Final System Plan by

to the Special Court be an unconstitutional step; nor

could an injunction against this step serve in any —

to remedy any defect in the Rail Act found by the cou

below.

\ I ion of erosion requires

Calculation of Erosion. Calculation

a comparison between the consequences to creditors and

reholders reorganization under the Rail Act with

— — of some other alternative now avail-

record case does not permit a determina-

— 28 — of a long and expensive liquida-

tion — — OH, Ge ay cies See

able alternative. Nothing in the record demonstrates —

proceedings under the Rail Act, including the 5

tion of going- concern values in a railroad system su

to the present economic environment, the ability to obtain

state, local and private support for important but un-

profitable rail services, the abandonment and transfer of

unprofitable lines in a prompt and orderly manner, fed-

eral assumption of labor protection costs, substantial di-

rect and indirect cash subsidies and the use of federally

guaranteed debt, will yield creditors and shareholders

less than they can receive from any available alternative.

Moreover, the Rock Island.“ Denver & Rio Grande,’

Penn-Central Merger and New Haven Inclusion’ cases

make it clear that even if it could be shown that interim

operations will lead to a less satisfactory result for

claimants than some alternative available now, a reason-

able burden of “erosion” may constitutionally be imposed

while efforts are made to restructure their railroads into

a viable going concern. The “property” of railroad

creditors and owners is inherently subject to the right

of the public to make reasonable efforts to preserve es-

sential rail operations on a self-sustaining basis. There

is no reason to assume, at this time, that the implementa-

tion of this major federal program in accordance with

the very tight time schedule provided in the Act itself

will subject creditors or shareholders to an unconstitu-

tional erosion of their property.

*Continental Bank v. Chi , Rock

ees (1988). hicago Island & P. Ry., 294 US.

5 Reconstruction Finance C v. i

328 U.S. 495 (1946). orp. v. Denver & Rio Grande N. K. K.

Penn - Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486 (1968).

Neu Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970).

— GD ae x —ͤ—

23

ARGUMENT

Introduction: The Rail Crisis and the Rail Act

Eight major railroads* operating in the Northeast

Midwest Region of the United States are now in re-

organization proceedings pursuant to Section 77 of the

Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C. £205. The resulting threat

to the welfare of the Region and of the United States,”

*Seven are Class | railroads: the Penn Central, Reading, Erie

Lackawanna, Central of New Jersey, Lehigh Valley, Boston & Maine,

and Ann Arbor. Of these, the Erie Lackawanna and Boston &

Maine were found by their Reorganization Courts to be separately

reorganizable under Section 77, and consequently will not be reor-

ganized under the Rail Act. A Class I railroad is defined by the

Interstate Commerce Commission (“ICC”) as a railroad with 85

million or more of annual revenue. ICC Finance Dockets show

these seven to be the only Clase I railroads in the nation in re-

organization.

In addition to these Class | railroads, one significant (lass II rail-

road. the Lehigh 4 Hudson River, is in reorganization in the

Region. As noted above, a second, tiny Class II railroad, the

Cadillac and Lake City, is also in reorganization in the Region but

has been found to be separately reorganizable and will not be re.

organized under the Rail Act. See p. 9 note 1 supra. The 160

Finance Dockets disclose that the only Class II railroad in re-

organization outside the Region ceased all operations in 1968 and

sold substantially all of its lines in 1969.

* The Act defines “Region” as “the States of Maine, New Hamp-

shire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New

York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia,

West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, and Illinois; the District

of Columbia; and those portions of contiguous States in which are

located rail properties owned or operated by railroads doing business

primarily in the aforementioned e diet ions 4 determined by the

ice by order Section 102(13) ICC Order, Ex Parte No. 293,

approved January 14, 1974, delineated areas near Louisville, Ken-

tucky St. Louis, Missouri, and Kewaunee and Manitowoc, Wiscon-

sin, as included in the Region. As used herein, the term “Region”

refers to the area defined in the statute and by the ICC

„A 1970 Department of Transportation study concluded that

within eight weeks of a complete shutdown of the Penn Central,

GNP for the nation would drop by 2.7% and for the Northeast by

5.2%. Nearly two million Penn Central and other affected employees

would be laid off. Statement of Secretary Brinegar in Hearings be-

|

i

5

that the railroads’ problems in the 1970’s are not pri-

marily problems of capital structure but arise from

shifting economic trends and are in part the result

of regulatory policies make the limited resources of

™ See S. Rep. No. 93-601, gad Cong, Ist Sess. (“Sena Report”

6-7 (1973). As the House Committee stated, — which

Cong. Ist Sess. (“House Report") 29 — No. 93-620, 93d

of several railroads into a single con-

solidated unit.

1. The Rail Act Provides a Thorough Planning and

Review Process

(a) USRA, with the assistance of the Secretary

of Transportation (“Secretary”) and the Rail Services

Planning Office (“RSPO”), a new office created by the

Rail Act within the ICC is to prepare a Final System Plan

for restructuring the operations of the railroads in reor-

ganization.” A central feature of the Final System Plan

will be the transfer of designated rail properties of rail-

roads in reorganization to Conrail, a private corporation

for profit to be created, pursuant to Section 301, to own

and operate the restructured system. The Final System

Plan will provide for the issuance to the transferor es-

tates of securities of Conrail, plus up to $500 million of

USRA obligations guaranteed by the United States. Sec-

tions 206(d) (1), 210. It may also provide for transfer to

and consideration from profitable railroads, Section 206

(ce) (1) (b+ and 206/d)(2),” and may provide for addi-

tional Government obligations, subject to approval by

joint resolution of Congress. Sections 206% . (i), and

210 0b).

Sections 202, 204, 205, and 206. The statutory deadlines in

Sections 204 and 205(d)(1) for preliminary reports by the Secre-

tary and RSPO have been met.

These transfers are subject to expedited review by USRA

and the ICC, whose rulings are not reviewable by any court. Section

2061 d)(3).

(b) Following publication of and hearings on a

preliminary system plan, USRA must submit a proposed

Final System Plan to the ICC and Congress within 450

days after enactment e., by March 28, 1975). See-

tions 207 e, 208(a). The Plan becomes effective if

neither house of Congress disapproves it within 60 con-

tinuous session days. Section 208. Within 90 days after

it becomes effective, the Final System Plan is to be

transmitted to the Special Court created pursuant to See-

tion 209 of the Rail Act. Section 209 (e, The Conrail

securities and USRA obligations designated in the Final

System Plan as consideration for rail properties to be

transferred to Conrail under the Pian, and the considera-

tion from any profitable railroad purchasing property,

must be delivered to the Special Court within ten days

after the Plan is transmitted. Section 303(a). Within

a further ten days, the Special Court is to order the

transfer of the rail properties designated in the Plan.

Section 303 0b

e The Special Court is then to determine whether

the exchange of rail properties for securities and “other

benefits” is fair and equitable to the estate of each

railroad in reorganization “in accordance with the stand-

ard of fairness and equity applicable to the approval!

of a plan of reorganization or a step in such a plan

under Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act.” Section 303(c)

(1)(A). Congress recognized that, for the exchange to

be “fair and equitable,” the value of the consideration for

the transferred properties had to equa! the “constitutional

minimum,” and directed the Special Court to make any

adjustment needed so as not to exceed this “constitu-

tional minimum.” Sections 303(¢)(1)(B), (e¢) (3). The

Special Court is required, if it finds that the

is not fair and equitable, to order a reallocation of the

Conrail securities, and or to order the issuance of addi-

tional Conrail securities or USRA obligations, and or to

enter a judgment against Conrail. Section 303 ( % (2). A

finding, determination, order, or judgment of the Special

CU, ts ð̊ la ay ˙

27

Court under Section 303 may be appealed directly to this

Court. Section 303d).

2 The Rail Act Provides Resources Not Available

in Section 77 Reorganizations

Section 77 was designed primarily to provide a pro-

cedure for the recapitalization of a single railroad. It

does not provide any means of trimming rail operations

to meet changed economic and competitive conditions, or

any means of compensating employees whom the railroads

are obligated to employ but who are unneeded in a

slimmer system. It does not provide any government

financial assistance. It does not provide any specific

means of transferring rail properties either to other rail-

roads which might put them to more profitable rail use |

or to governments or other entities for rail or non-rail

use. Finally, it provides no means of coordinating the

reorganizations of two or more railroads in the same

area.

The Rail Act was designed in part to supplement

Section 77 in these respects. The center of the Rail Act

is its provision for a planning process leading to a re-

structuring of rail operations and the abandonment of

excessive facilities. At the same time, the Act includes

special features, funded by up to $250 million of au-

thorized federal appropriations, to protect employees who

might be adversely affected. Title V.

Four additional forms of financial support provided

by the Rail Act deserve special mention:

(a) USRA is authorized to issue $1.5 billion in

Government-guaranteed obligations. Of this sum, up to

$1 billion may be issued to Conrail, of which not less than

The differing Senate and House approaches and their resolu-

tion are described in the Conference Report, H.R. Rep. No. 93-744,

93d Cong. Ist Sess. (“Conference Report“ 61-68 (1973).

28

half must be used by Conrail for rail rehabilitation and

modernization. Section 210 0b). Additional amounts above

this revolving $1.5 billion ceiling may be issued if ap-

proved by joint resolution of Congress. Id. The Act

permits Conrail’s obligations to USRA to be on terms dif-

ferent from the terms of USRA’s government-guaranteed

obligations. Thus, $1 billion in financing can be made

available to Conrail on terms more favorable than are

ordinarily available in the commercial market.

(b) The Secretary, with USRA’s approval, is au-

thorized to enter into agreements (involving the issuance

of up to $150 million in USRA obligations) for the ac-

quisition, maintenance, or improvement of property that

will be included in the Final System Plan. Section 215.

e To meet emergency needs pending implementa-

tion of the Final System Plan, the Secretary is further

authorized to make payments not exceeding $85 million

4 trustees of railroads in reorganization. Section

: (d) The Secretary and USRA may provide to pub-

lie agencies (within a $180 million authorization) sub-

sidies for continuing non-economic service and loans for

the acquisition and modernization of rail properties. Since

these funds are to be made available on a 70-30 matching

basis, the assistance under these programs is actually

approximately $250 million.

To overcome the difficulty of severing and transferring

properties in the traditional Section 77 process, Con-

The court below stated, JA 9 at 32, that only $25 milli i

amount had been appropriated. The current he is — 2

See Foreign Assistance and Related Programs Appropriations Act

of 1974, Pub I. 93-240 (Jan. 2, 1974) ($35 million) ; Second Sup-

939392 Act, 1974, Pub. L. 93-305 (June 8. 1974)

See Interstate Commerce Act § 5, 49 U.S.C. 5; Paper

Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line K.K., 347 U.S. 298 A1 *

— , ⏑ ] ¶ rr e

gress provided that the Final System Plan could require

rail properties of the railroads in reorganization to be

sold for their fair value pursuant to the Final System

Plan to (i) profitable railroads in the Region, (ii) the

National Railroad Passenger Corporation (“Amtrak”) for

rail passenger service, (iii) state, regional, or local

transportation authorities for commuter and intercity

rail services, and (iv) various recipients for other public

purposes, including highways, conservation, education,

and recreation. As already mentioned, railroads in re-

organization will also be able, subject to USRA’s ap-

proval, to dispose of unneeded rail properties for the

best price under simplified abandonment and termination

procedures.” The Act also provides for the possibility that

Congress will authorize USRA to guarantee Conrail ob-

ligations, Section 206(i), or to issue obligations in excess

of the $1.5 billion limit in order to implement the Final

System Plan, Sections 206(h) and 210(b).

Finally, the Rail Act reflects Congress’ recognition of

the need to coordinate the reorganization of adjoining

and competing railroads in reorganization: “{Njo one

Court can restructure the entire system under Section

77.”" Congress therefore created a new agency——-USRA

—to formulate “essentially a railroad reorganization plan

which would consolidate parts of [the] bankrupt carriers

into a new for-profit carrier.“ and, to review and ap-

prove the Plan, it created a single new court—the Special

Court—with all the powers of a Section 77 court.”

— —

Soc tion 206(c).

Section 304.

„House Report at 29.

0 Jd. at 23-24.

Section 209 0b

B. The Rail Act Provides Solutions to the Problems that

Have Made It Impossible To Reorganize the Penn

Central Under Section 77

All Plaintiffs in this case have claims against the

Penn Central estate, and the Penn Central Trustees have

intervened as Defendants. Consequently, although Plain-

tiffs challenged the Rail Act as unconstitutional on its

face, the Penn Central reorganization proceeding pro-

vides an essential backdrop against which their conten-

tions must be evaluated.

The Penn Central entered reorganization under Section

77 on June 21, 1970. During the first 30 months of re-

organization, the Penn Central Trustees identified and

attempted to satisfy four conditions which they judged

necessary to a successful Section 77 reorganization :

{1) rationalization of the physical plant by elim-

inating excess capacity;

(2) elimination of unnecessary labor expense;

(3) full compensation for all passenger service:

and

(4) inereased freight traffic and revenues.”

Since the primary focus of the Act was on the Penn Central.

this and the following section of this Brief present examples of

how and why Congress thought the Rail Act was a reasonable

approach to the Northeast/Midwest problem. Although the ex-

amples are drawn specifically from the Penn Central reorganization

proceeding, it is clear that Congress considered many of the Penn

Central's problems to be shared by other Northeast/Midwest rail-

roads. See Senate Report at 6-14; House Report at 25-29.

The first three conditions were identified in the Preliminary

Report of Trustees Concerning Premises for a Reorganization

(February 10, 1971), J. Doc. 1 at 3. As for the fourth condition.

a September 1971 report concluded that a study of Penn Central's

revenue-producing potential was necessary. Second Report of

Trustees on Status of Reorganization Planning (September 17.

1971) (“September 1971 Report“ . J. Doc. 3 at 14-18. In February

1972 the Trustees reported that a successful reorganization re-

quired, inter alia, attaining a certain projected volume of freight

31

The Penn Central Trustees reported for the first time

on January 1, 1973, that they believed substantial gov-

ernment financial assistance was essential in order to

achieve service improvements that would attract the

necessary increases in freight traffic and revenues.

Seven days after the Penn Central Trustees February

1973 Report quantified this needed assistance at $600-

$800 million. Congress passed Joint Resolution 59 di-

recting the Secretary to submit within 45 days “a full

and comprehensive plan for the preservation of essential

rail transportation services in the Northeast .. . - * Aft-

er studying various measures to relieve the rail crisis

during the remainder of 1973, Congress approved the Rail

aff Reorganiza-

traffic and revenue increases. Report of Trustees on 2

tion Planning February 15. 1972) (“February 1972 Report”).

J. Doe. 4 at 1. a atin

These f conditions were made especially eit in 2 enn

Central Trustees’ Plan for Reorganization April 1. 1972) (“April

1972 Reorganization Plan J. Doc. 5 at 1, and were reiterated in.

„% Trustees’ Interim Report of October 1, 1972 (“October 1972

Report”). J. Doc. 7 at 1: Trustees’ Interim Report of January 1.

1973 (“January 1973 Report”), J. Doe. 8 at 1; and Trustees Report

on Reorganization Planning April 5, 1974) (“April 1974 Report”).

J. Doe. 10 at 4.

Penn Central Trustees’ January 197% Report. J. Doc. & at I

penn Central Trustees’ Interim Report of February 1, 197%

(“February 197% Report”). J. Doe. Sat 2

; ; his require-

„pub I. 93-5, 87 Stat. 5. The Seeretary satisfied t

ana Northeastern Railroad Problem, A Report to the Con-

gress, submitted to Congress on March 26. 1972 (“Northeastern

Railroad Problem”).

* i 17. May & 9, 10, 21, 30, and 31, and June 6

and ee 1 . Committee on Interstate and Foreign Cor.

merce held hearings on H.R. 6591, H.R. 4897, HR 5822, HRK 5585.

HMR 6880, H.R. 7373, and HJ. Res. 50. On February 2. March 2.

May 30 and 1. and June 4, 15. 21. and 22, 1978. the Senate ——

mittee on Commerce held hearings on S. 1031, and. oe.

15. 16, and 19, 1973, it held hearings on S. 2188 and — N

Out of these hearings evolved the 1973 Act. The House and Se te

Reports are dated November 4 and December 6, 1973. respectively,

Bankruptey Act. The Reorganization Court

described the Penn Central's situation in part as follows:

i

|

;

i

721

i

;

.

7

,

i

17

.

:

ö

8 5

71

4

The accomplishment of the very task the Penn C

Reorganization Court found impossible under my

—the creation of a viable system—is described in the Rail

Act as the first goal of the Final System Plan. Section

206(a)(1). To achieve this goal, the Act provides the

resources and mechanisms—unavailable in Section 77—

that are necessary.

1. Elimination of Excess Capacity

The Penn Central Trustees,” the Department of Trans-

and the Conference Report is dated (in the House) December 20

and in the Senate) December

January 2. 1974. 26, 1973. Enactment occurred on

* In re Penn Central Transp. Co., Bky. No. 70-347, M

and Order No. 1543 (E.D. Pa., May 2, 1974), JA 84 at 102.

The Penn Central Trustees’ February 1972

at 2, proposed “(i) taking advantage of the be ine Doc. 4

— the Penn Central Reorganization Court,”

and Congress have all recognized that the Northeast

railroads, and the Penn Central in particular, are bur-

dened by an excessive physical plant. By January 1.

1973, the Trustees had filed applications with the ICC

to abandon over 3.000 miles of lines which they deemed

to be uneconomic, of which the ICC had

th

income by 1976 could not be achieved. The problem

plant redundancy also includes the operation of duplica-

tive facilities by two railroads in an area that can sup-

port only one, a problem that the Rail Act can ameliorate

but ae

efficiency made possible in theory by the 1968 merger but never

realized in fact, (ii) abandonment of those freight lines which

have neither busines nor public service justification, and (iii) mak

ing appropriate arrangements for continuing those freight lines

found to be essential to the public service but inoperable on a sound

business basis.” See also Trustees’ January 1973 Report. J. Doe.

&: Trustees’ April 1974 Report, J. Doc. 10.

Northeast Region, February 1, 1974 (“Secretary's Rail Serwiee

Report”).

Memorandum and Order No. 1543, supra, JA 84 at 88.

House Report at 27.

penn Central Trustees’ January 1973 Report, J. Doc. Sat 3.

„ Secretary's Rail Service Report, supra at 3, concludes that 96%

of the 1972 freight carloads carried on the railroads in reorgan!-

zation could have been accommodated on 75% of the 1972 route

mileage.

tion Courts. In general, Section 77 makes no provision

for restructuring rail operations, and discontinuance of

service and abandonment of property could be accom-

plished only on a line-by-line basis following standard ICC

procedures. The Act turns the process around by per-

mitting USRA to select the services and properties that

are to be kept in operation, with essentially automatic

diseontinuance and abandonment of everything else. That

process goes far to explain why there is a reasonable

prospect of creating a viable Conrail under the Act

even though the Penn Central and other railroads now

in reorganization cannot b made viable in Section 77

proceedings.

(a) Abandonments have been difficult, and have

not been accomplished with sufficient speed, because of

the need to comply with ICC and National En.ironmenta!

Policy Act procedures.” The Act dispenses with the need

for both, and permits USRA—in the absence of reason-

able objection from affected state or local governments—

to authorize prompt interim abandonments. Sections 304

(f) and 601(c).

A core system could not be established by the Penn

Central Reorganization Court because it has no authority

See Harlem Valley Transp. Ass'n Stafford, 360 F. Supp. 1057

(S. D. N. V. 1973), aff'd, No. 73-2496 (2d Cir., June 18, 1974). Be-

tween the district court's decision in that case in July 1973 and

the court of appeals’ affirmance in June 1974, there was a de facto

moratorium on almost all abandonment applications pending before

the ICC.

The economic burden imposed on railroads by lengthy abandon-

ment procedures is emphasized in House Report at 27 and 55 and

in the debates at 119 Cong. Rec. S22.483 (daily ed. Dec. 11, 1973)

(remarks of Senator Hartke) and 119 Cong. Rec. S23,782-83 (daily

ed. Dec. 21, 197%) (remarks of Senator Hartke). In addition, the

advantageous procedures for abandonments contained in the Act

were stressed by the President when he signed the bill into law.

10 Presidential Documents: Richard Nixon 8 (Jan. 2, 1974).

a —

to order the restructuring of the debtor’s rail operations.”

Even a final reorganization plan under Section 77 would

be dependent on piecemeal abandonments, each subject

to ICC approval.” The Act, on the contrary, permits the

selection of properties that have going-concern value and

permits the prompt discontinuance of service, without

ICC action, on all lines and properties not so selected.”

(b) Excessive duplication of plant and service

among competing carriers could not be effectively dealt

with by the Section 77 reorganization process because

of the difficulty of negotiations between carriers that are

in reorganization,” the need for ICC approval of mergers

and consolidations “ and the ICC’s lack of authority under

Section 77 to authorize mergers not initiated by the

debtor,” antitrust law considerations, and, of course,

Section 77 makes no provision for a comprehensive restruc-

turing of rail operations as part of the reorganization process.

Discontinuance of service and abandonment of lines can be ac-

complished, during Section 77 proceedings, only by ICC proceed ngs

on a line-by-line basis. For example, abandonments that would

require the closing of some line segments which, viewed individually,

appear viable, but whose continuation reduces the carrier's over-

all earnings from what they could be if the carrier were allowed to

concentrate its traffic on fewer routes may not be possible within

present ICC regulatory guidelines. Spychalski, Imperfections in

Railway Line Abandonment Regulation and Suggestions for their

Correction, 40 1CC Prac. J. 454, 456-57 (1973). No such constraints

limit the broad power of USRA to exclude rail lines from the Con-

rail system.

* See Penn Central Transportation Co. Reorganization, Corp.

Reorg. Rep. (Penn Central), Document No. 95, at 1102:86, 104

(ICC Finance Docket No. 26241, Sept. 28, 1973).

Sections 304(a) and 601(b). Operations may be continued

on a fully subsidized basis. See Section 304(c).

See House Report at 29.

Interstate Commerce Act § 5, 49 U.S.C. § 5.

„See St. Joe Paper Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R.R., 347 US.

(1954). That case states “that those who in the absence of § 77

would wield the corporate merger powers must initiate and work

each reorganization court's lack of jurisdiction over other

carriers in reorganizations under the supervision of other

judges. The Act offers an entirely different framework.

USRA will have final control, subject only to review by

Congress, over the design of the intramodal environment

in which Conrai! will compete.” USRA can encourage

— where 1 can support it, but USRA

can con competition among carriers in reorganization

and duplication of facilities where necessary to produce

a viable system. N

b e Transfer of the burden of uneconomic but

significant lines to the states, localities, and private inter-

ests affected was difficult under Section 77 but becomes

possible under the Act. The Penn Central Trustees, as

early as February 15, 1972, expressed the hope that lines

that were producing losses for the Penn Central but

were asserted to be important to particular localities

and shippers could be continued, under contracts with

those localities and shippers that would make Penn Cen-

tral whole.” Penn Central, however, had little bargaining

leverage because the alternative of selective discontinuance

of service was a very remote possibility. The Depart-

ment of Transportation's proposals for the Northeast rail

problem included the suggestion that “states and local

communities will be given the opportunity to ensure the

continuation of rai! service if they find it necessary and

are willing to subsidize the deficits fully.” “* Under See-

out the merger now.” /d. at 309 n. 12. “The implication is plain

the efllcers and directors of the Debtor are the ence naattin' a,

initiate and work out a merger.” In re Florida East Coast Ry., 137

F. Supp. 693, 694 (S.D. Fla). aff’ curiam,

(Sth Cir. 1955). * ä

See Sections 207 and 208.

* Penn Central Trustees’ February 1972 Report, J. Doc

See also Trustees’ February 1973 Report, J. Doc. 9 at 1. oes

“ Northeastern Railroad Problem, supra at 48 (emphasis added

37

tion 304 of the Act, service on lines not included in the

Final System Plan may be terminated promptly unless

the service is fully subsidized or the lines are purchased

and operations are provided for by the purchaser.”

2. Elimination of Unnecessary Labor Expense

The Penn Central Trustees and the Reorganization

Court identified elimination of excess |abor costs for rail-

way operating personnel as another requirement for a

successful reorganization.“ This problem involves both

crew size on operating lines and labor protection in

connection with necessary abandonments. Title V of the

Rail Act offers labor protection in connection with neces-

sary abandonments, and authorizes $250 million of federal

assistance to pay the cost of this protection. Section 509.

3. Elimination of Uncompensated Passenger Service

The third condition for a successful reorganization of

the Penn Central is the elimination of the burden of pas-

senger service for which the railroad is not fully com-

pensated.“

One of the major issues in litigation between the Penn

Central and Amtrak has been whether Penn Central

should receive a return on investment as part of its

compensation for the use by Amtrak of its rail prop-

* See Section 304(a)-(d).

Fe. Memorandum and Order No. 1543, supra, JA 84 at 88;

Penn Central Trustees’ February 1972 Report, J. Doc. 4 at 2;

Trustees’ April 1972 Reorganization Plan, J. Doc. 5 at 1; Trustees’

January \973 Report, J. Doc. 8 at 3.

„See, „, Penn Central Transportation Co. Reorganization,

supra, Corp. Reorg. Rep. (Penn Central) at 1102:104-06; Penn

Central Trustees’ January 1973 Report, J. Doc. 8 at 3; Trustees’

October 1972 Report, J. Doc. 7 at 3-4.

* See, %. Memorandum and Order No. 1 supra, JA

Penn Central Trustees’ February 1972 J. Doe. 4 at 5.

erties in the Boston-Washington corridor. The Rail Act

provides for the sale or lease to Amtrak of those rail!

properties. Sections 206% 10, GO1id).”

As pointed out above, the Act further provides for a

system of subsidies, involving matching federal grants

authorized at $180 million for two years to state, local,

or regional authorities, to ensure the continuation of rail

services, including passenger services. Sections 401 and

402. This USRA authority should enhance the prospects

that other governmental! entities will subsidize uneconomic

commuter passenger operations. Also, USRA can make

loans to state, local, or regional transportation authorities

to acquire rail properties and to modernize their prop-

erties. Section 403.

4. Increased Revenues Through Application of New

Financing

The Penn Central Trustees have noted that the Penn

Central has been caught in “a vicious civele.” In order

to become viable it needed to increase the volume and

efficiency of freight traffic and operations, but inade-

quate revenues and lack of horrowing capacity made un-

attainable the necessary substantial additions and im-

provements to the physical plant as well as substantial

catch-up maintenance.

The Act offers a means by which Conrail can break

the circle. Section 210 provides, in effect. $1 billion in

federally guaranteed obligations of USRA to enable Con-

rail to borrow funds on the favorable interest and pay-

ment terms enjoyed by the United States. Half of this

cum wust be used to rehabilitate and modernize the phy-

© The methed of compensation for services provided to Amtrak

is covered by the Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970, as amended,

45 U.S.C. $8 501 ef seq.

“Penn Central Trustees’ January 1973 Report, J. Doc. 8 at 2.

See also Trustees’ April 1974 Report, J. Doc. 10 at 3.

—

sical plant, and USRA may make available the remaining

half, if necessary, for that purpose.

The Act, clearly, is broadly responsive, and in many

ways more than responsive, to the concerns expressed

by the Penn Central Trustees when they first outlined

their views on the necessary government financial assist-

ance.” They themselves, of course, have acknowledged

the soundness and responsiveness of the Act as it relates

to the creation of a self-sustaining rail service system:

“The basic concept of the Act is, in the Trustees’

judgment, sound. The Act envisions the transfer

to a new entity ‘Consolidated Rail Corporation,

CRC) of those Penn Central lines, and ines of other

bankrupt carriers, which, following a thorough

planning process, are found to offer the prospect of

a viable rail network in the Northeast. Provision is

made for public support or abandonment of those

lines not deemed essential in the restructuring proc-

ess. Provision is also made for government-guar-

anteed financing of improvements to the plant being

conveyed to CRC. The Act embodies a labor pro-

tection arrangement, satisfactory to both labor and

industry, whereby Federal funding is available to

certain employees whose services would not be re-

quired after the restructuring.” “

‘In the interim period before implementation of the Final

System Plan. USRA is avtherived to issue up to £150 million in

obligations to finance agreements with the Penn Centra! and other

railroads in reorganization for the maintenance and improve:

ment of rail properties. Section 215. In addition, $85 million in

subsidies is authorized for the continued provision of essential

transportation services. Section 215.

Penn Central Trustees’ February 1973 Report, J. Doc. 9 at 1-2.

Penn Central Trustees’ April 1974 Report. J. Doc. 10 at 4. The

Penn Central Reorganization Court shares the Trustees’ view that

“the basic approach of the statute is fundamentally sound.” Memo-

rundum in Support of Findings and Order No. 1596, In re Penn

Central Transportation Company, Debtor (E. D. Pa., July 2, 1974

JA 124 at 148. (“Penn Central ‘180-Day’ Decision“

I. The Court Below Should Have Denied Equitable Relief

and Dismissed the Complaints as to the “Taking” Issues

on the Ground that Plaintiffs Have an Adequate

Remedy at Law Under the Tucker Act

Plaintiffs alleged in the court below that implementa-

tion of the Rail Act would cause, or threatened to cause,

a “taking” of their property for public use without

just compensation, contrary to the Fifth Amendment

to the Constitution. They alleged two sorts of “takings” :

first, they contended that there would or might be a trans-

fer of rail properties pursuant to the Final System Plan

for less than the constitutionally required consideration

(alleged “permanent taking”); second, they contended

that by allegedly requiring Penn Central to continue op-

erating its railroad until! the implementation of the Final

System Plan, the Rail Act would or might cause an “in-

terim” or “erosion” taking for which just compensation

would be due.

Appellant believes that when the processes of the Rail

Act have run their course, no such taking, of either kind,

will be found to have occurred. The ultimate determina-

tion of this question, however, will depend on facts not

of record in this case, events in the future including the

actions of USRA and other governmental bodies, and the

resolution of many large and complex statutory and con-

stitutional issues whose exact scope will depend on the

course of events.

Appellant urged the court below to follow the decisions

of this Court in similar cases and decline to inquire into

the merits of the taking allegations, on the ground that

provided for railroad estates under the Rail Act, plain-

tiffs have an adequate legal remedy in the form of a suit

in the Court of Claims under the Tucker Act. The rule

of law for which Appellant contended can

— —

41

stated: an equity court may never enjoin congressionally

authorized, otherwise proper federal action on the ground

that it may cause a taking for which compensation may

be due, because a plaintiff always has another forum,

the Court of Claims, in which he can obtain just com-

pensation if his claims are upheld. This is the teach-

ing of Hurley v. Kineaid, 285 U.S. 95 (1932), and ac-

counts for the fact that, so far as we are aware, no fed-

era! court has issued such an injunction between the

decision in Hurley and the present case.

The court below did not question the principle that

equitable relief should be denied, without further inquiry,

when there exists an adequate remedy at law. Nor did

the majority question the fact that the Tucker Act

remedy, if available to railroad estates, would be an ade-

quate remedy.” Rather, it ruled that the Court of Claims

would not have jurisdiction over any claim for a taking

allegedly caused by the Rail Act because the Rail Act

does not explicitly make a Tucker Act remedy available.

It said that to “read a Tucker Act remedy into the

[Rail] Act” would be “judicial legislation on a grand, if

not arrogant scale.” JA 9 at 53

The court below, we respectfully submit, put the Tuck-

er Act question the wrong way around. The century-old

Tucker Act needs no supplemental implementing legis-

lation, judicial or otherwise. The remedy is available

unless later legislation repeals or modifies it. Nothing

in the Rail Act repeals or modifies the Tucker Act and

nothing in the Rail Act provides a basis from which re-

peal or modification can be inferred, especially when the

consequence of the inference is to invalidate a major

federal statute.

The Tucker Act is the basic jurisdictional statute for

suits seeking just compensation from the United States

The adequacy of the remedy is discussed below at pp. 58-60.

for takings of private property for public purposes.

There is no need for Congress, every time it passes sub-

stantive legislation that might lead to a taking of private

property, to make an explicit or implicit new grant of

authority in order for the Court of Claims to exercise

its historic jurisdiction. No court, so far as we have

been able to discover, has ever required such a supple-

mentary grant of jurisdiction, and no case suggesting

such a notion was cited by the court below.

The question, properly framed, is whether Congress, in

the Rail Act, took away the Court of Claims’ jurisdiction

with respect to claims based on actions authorized by the

Rail Act. The court below found a congressional intent

to bar a Tucker Act remedy, not in the words of the Rail

Act, which is silent, nor even in the reports of the con-

gressional committees, none of which discuss the point.

Rather, the entire decision rests on several exchanges

among individual members on the floor of the Senate and

House. But these exchanges, more thoroughly discussed

below, show only a congressional intent to restructure

Northeast Midwest rail services in a manner that Con-

gress believed would not result in any taking or transfer

of property for less than the “constitutional minimum”

value that the Rail Act expressly recognizes to be due.

There is no basis in these exchanges for concluding that

Congress intended to bar the normal Tucker Act remedy

if, contrary to Congress’ expectation, the steps taken pur-

suant to the Rail Act should require transfers for a con-

sideration that the Special Court and this Court on re-

view! determined to be less than the “constitutional min-

imum.”

Nevertheless, the court below read these portions of the

legislative history as showing an affirmative intent in the

Rail Act to deny the constitutionally required remedy

even if the consideration provided for the transfers under

the Fina! System Plan is eventually found to be less than

43

the “constitutional minimum.” In so doing, as we show

below, that court engaged in the very type of judicial

legislation from which it professed to abstain.

A. Repeal of the Jurisdiction of the Court of Claims

Under the Tucker Act To Award Just Compensa-

tion for Any Taking of Private Property for Public

Use May Not Be Inferred from Later Statutes that

Do Not Expressly Repeal or Modify that Act and

Do Not Provide an Equivalent Remedy

The Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1491, confers jurisdiction

on the Court of Claims:

“to render judgment upon any claim against the

United States founded either upon the Constitution,

or any Act of Congress, or any regulation of an

executive department, or upon any express or im-

plied contract with the United States, or for liqui-

~~ or unliquidated damages in cases not sounding

n tort.”

Section 1491 is the Court of Claims’ “general jurisdie-

tional statute.” Ralston Steel Corp. v. United States, 340

F.2d 663, 668 n.5 Ct. Cl), cert. denied, 381 U.S.

950 (1965); Simon v. United States, 113 Ct. Cl. 182,

190-91 (1949); see also Eastport Steamship Corp. v.

United States, 372 F.2d 1002, 1007-08 (Ct. Cl. 1967)

(dictum), and Jacobs v. United States, 290 U.S. 13

(1933). One is not required to seek in any later act, no

matter how significant, a renewed grant of jurisdiction

to the Court of Claims to hear a suit “founded” upon

the later act or upon any constitutional claim thereunder,

including any claim for just compensation for an alleged

taking. The Court of Claims has such jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. § 1491 unless Congress has in the later act

withdrawn it.

In Yearsley v. W.A. Ross Construction Co., 309 U.S.

18 (1940), for example, plaintiffs sought damages against

44

a government contractor for land erosion alleged to have

been caused by performance of a government construc-

tion contract. The statute authorizing the construction

contract was silent on claims of government liability to

third parties. The Court held that the defendant con-

tractor could not be held liable for carrying out a con-

tract authorized by Congress and found it unnecessary

to determine the merits of plaintiffs’ argument that they

were entitled to recover compensation from the defend-

ant for what amounted to a governmental taking of their

property. If a taking had occurred, the Court said, an

adequate remedy for compensation existed by way of suit

in the Court of Claims, because

“in the case of a taking by the Government of pri-

vate property for public use . it cannot be

doubted that the remedy to obtain compensation from

the Government is as com ve as the require-

ment of the Constitution ... Id. at 22 (Mr. Chief

Justice Hughes).

Hurley v. Kineaid, 285 U.S. 95 (1932), is even more

directly in point and is, we submit, dispositive of this

case. Hurley involved a statute authorizing a flood con-

trol project and providing for condemnation of any land

in the path of planned diversion channels. Plaintiff sought

to enjoin work on the project, alleging that his land had

not been condemned although his land was in the path of

the planned diversion channels. Although the authorizing

statute expressly provided that the United States shall

have “|nJo liability of any kind . . for any damage from

or by floods” (id. at 102 n.2), a unanimous Court, speak-

ing through Mr. Justice Brandeis, held that injunctive

relief should have been denied. The Court reasoned that

if the acts alleged did constitute a taking, just compen-

sation under the Tucker Act was an available and ade-

quate remedy at law.

Hurley shows how reluctant courts have been to infer

that later statutes bar the Tucker Act remedy; the Court

45

found that remedy available despite a statutory provi-

sion expressly barring Government liability for flooding.

Hurley also is living proof of Chief Justice Hughes’ state-

ment in Yearsley that if the Government takes property.

the remedy to obtain compensation “is as comprehensive

as the requirement of the Constitution 309 U.S.

at 22), and demonstrates that a congressionally directed

taking cannot be enjoined because a Tucker Act remedy is

always available until Congress affirmatively withdraws

it.

pensation was made at or before the time of taking.

Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 48-49 1960

United States v. Dickinson, 331 US. 745 1947

United States v. Causby, 328 US. 256 (1946);

Jacobs v. United States, 290 U.S. 13 1933 Forte

mouth Harbor Land & Hotel Co. v. United States, 260

U.S. 327. 330 (1922); Richard v. United States v. Stone

Corral Irrigation Dist., 282 F.2d 901, 904 Ct. CL

1960). See also Malone v. Bowdoin, 369 U.S. 643, 647 n.

8 (1962) dictum For example, in Causby, supra, this

Court held that the Court of Claims could award com-

pensation on a claim, based directly on the taking clause

of the Fifth Amendment, that low and frequent flights

—— ——

“The earlier cases, such as Portsmouth Harbor, reached the

result on an implied contract theory. “If the acts amounted to a

taking, without assertion of an adverse right, a centract would be

implied whether it was thought of or not.” 260 U.S. at 330. A

similar rationale was used in Yeersley. Later cases, such as

Causby, find the Government's promise to pay in the Constitution

itself. Thus it is not necessary to find a promise to pay implied in

the legislation which authorizes the taking. Nothing in these cases

supports the suggestion that they are limited to situations where

Congress did not attempt to prescribe any consideration for the

property taken, and Yearsley and Hurley show that no such limited

reading is proper.

328 U.S. at 260 (footnote omitted). Of course, the result is

different (a) im cases in which there was a mere trespass (“sound-

img im tort”) rather than a taking, „ Tempel v. United States,

248 U.S. 121, 129 (1998), LIAN

of

47

With respect to the Court of Claims in particular, Con-

gress’ intent to limit its jurisdiction “must be evidenced

expressly or by necessary implication.” . E. Hele v.

United States, 100 Ct. Cl. 289, 294 (1943) ‘statute pro-

viding that reasonable value of improvements on tracts

occupied by the United States “be determined by the

courts of the Canal Zone” did not oust Court of Claims

of jurisdiction over suit brought under predecessor of

28 U.S.C. £1491 for breach of contract arising from

failure to pay reasonable value’. See also United States

v. Pfitach, 256 U.S. 547 1921

Moreover, the fact that Congress authorized a limited

amount of appropriations and made a limited amount of

government-guaranteed obligations available as part of

the consideration for acquisition of rai] properties, in the

belief that the Rail Act would not require the transfer of

property for less than the “constitutional minimum,”

does not indicate that Congress intended to withdraw a

remedy if such transfers should occur. In Fort Berthold

Reservation v. United States. 390 F.2d 686 Ct. ©).

1968). the Court of Claims held that acquisition of

Indian lands under a statute containing a provision fixing

a per-acre payment was a taking, for which the Court of

(aims could award compensation above the statutory

vided a constitutionally adequate remedy by suits in admiralty.

The case thus inst rates only that where the United States creates

„ wicht against tert and provides a special and constitutionally

adequate remedy, it may make that remedy exclusive. See United

States Vv. Babcock, 250 U.S. 328 (191%)

* The court below also relied on th. facts that authorizations for

emergency assistance under Section 213 of the Rail Act are limited

in amount and that Congress had appropriated less than half of the

authorized amount. in fact, Congress has now appropriated al-

most all of the authorized amount. See Foreign Assistance and

Related Programs Appropriations Act. 1974. Pub. I. 93-240. &7

Stat. 1048 (Jan. 2. 1974) ($35 million); Second Supple: sental Ap-

propriations Act. 1974, Pub. I. 93-305, 88 Stat. 195 (June 8, 1974)

($39.8 million).

per-acre limit. The specification of a per-acre price

Congress was held not to oust the Court of Claims

jurisdiction to award a larger amount as

pensation.

constitutionality. For more than a century this precept

has been invoked to save the constitutionality of statutes

where First Amendment rights are involved, United

States Civil Service Commission v. National Association

of Letter Carriers, AFL-CIO, 413 U.S. 548, 571 (1973):

American Communications Association, CIO v. Douds,

339 U.S. 382. 407 (1950); and to construe in a consti-

tutional manner statutes affecting “existing contracts,

rights of actions, or . . . vested rights,” Twenty Per Cent

Cases, 87 U.S. 179, 187 (1873), as well as the Bank-

ruptey Act itself, Wright v. Vinton Branch of the Moun-

tain Trust Bank, 300 U.S. 440, 461 1937

B. The Rail Act Does Not Show an Inter i To Deprive

the Court of Claims of Its Tucker Act Jurisdiction

To Hear Any Case Claiming Just Compensation

When Congress intended the Rail Act to override other

important federal statutes, it did not rely on judicial

inference and conjecture. For example, in Section 601

of the Rail Act. entitled “Relationship to Other Laws,”

Congress explicitly declared the antitrust laws to be in-

The decision below also violates the rule of construction that

repeal of a siatute is not to be inferred unless there is no other

reasonable way to construe the subsequent statute. F.., Amell v.

United States, 284 U.S. 158 (1966); Mercantile Nat'l Bank v.

Langdeau, 371 U.S. 555 (1963); FTC v. AP.. Paper Co., 328 U.S.

198 (1946); Nagano v. McGrath, 187 F.2d 759, 766-67 (7th Cir.

1951). aff'd by an equally divided court, 342 U.S. 916 (1952):

Faweett v. C1.R., 149 F.2d 433, 435 (2d Cir. 1945).

— ee ee — —

applicable to the actions taken to formulate the Final

System Plan (Section 601(a)); it declared portions of

the Interstate Commerce Act and the Bankruptcy Act

to be inapplicable to the extent inconsistent with the

Rail Act (Section 601(b)); and it declared certain pro-

visions of the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969 inapplicable to actions authorized by the Rail Act

before the effective date of the Final System Plan.

Section 601 1e. Congress also provided that a railroad

in reorganization could disecntinue service or abandon

rail property only in accordance with the Rail Act,

not withstanding

provision of any other Federal law. the consti-

tition or law of any State, or decison or order of

or the pendency of any proceeding before any

eral or State court, agency, or authority.” Section

304(f).

In all, the Rail Act contains no fewer than 13 provisions

repealing or making inapplicable provisions of various

laws or excluding the jurisdiction of federal courts on

various subjects.”

There is, of course, no explicit provision relating to

the Tucker Act. One searches the Rail Act in vain for

a sentence such as “The Court of Claims shall have

no jurisdiction over any action alleging that the property

of any person has been taken pursuant to this Act with-

out just compensation.” The fact that Congress gave

meticulous and explicit attention to modifying other laws

should at least make one pause before concluding that

Congress, without saying so, amended the Tucker Act

and implicitly removed the traditional remedy should

actions taken pursuant to the Rail Act give rise to a

claim for just compensation for a taking of property.

elm addition to those cited in the text, see Sections 202(a).

20806 (2), 206(d)(3), 207(b), 209(a), 209(b), 303(b)(2), 303

(d and 304(c).

of an intent to amend the Tucker Act.

The court below apparently inferred an intent to

repeal the Tucker Act from Section 209(b), providing

that all judicial proceedings with respect to the final

system plan” shall be consolidated before the Special

Court, and from the further provision in Section 303

(d) for appeal from the Special Court's determinations

and findings directly and exclusively to this Court.“ In

the first place, as a matter of language, a suit against

— — roy" for compensation for erosion that

rs et's processes work is not, on

ee

to the final system plan.“ More fundamentally, the

}

8

=

12

2

5 f

1

2

8

by a diversity of legal proceedi

tion, with different theories canceling each

out very often, and not resolvable until you get to

the Supreme Court, and sometimes not even

Here, by exercising the authority we first exercised

"JAY at 46-49, 51.

51

in the Judiciary Act of 1789, we have provided for

consolidating these proceedings and appointing a

special court for the purpose. I think it is a very,

very gifted position, for which the Committee is en-

titled to great credit.” 119 Cong. Ree. 823.780

(daily ed. Dec. 21. 1973

The function of the Special Court is to prevent a

multiplicity of suits in different courts on such questions

as the value of the rail properties transferred to Conrail

and of the consideration received by the transferors.” A

subsequent suit against the United States in the Court of

Claims would neither infringe upon the Special Court's

functions nor invalidate the congressional purpose in

consolidating the valuation proceedings. Indeed, if the

Special Court (and the Supreme Court on review) found

the values of the rail properties transferred to be greater

than the values of the consideration provided therefor.

so that the consideration fel! below the “constitutional

minimum,” these values would presumably be binding on

the private parties in any subsequent Court of Claims

suit.” Whether or not these determinations were tech-

nically binding on the United States. they would still be

dispositive, as a practical matter, of the same issues in

the Court of Claims.

The court below also referred to Section 303 (c. which

specifies how the Special Court shall determine “fair

and equitable” compensation and states the means not

including a judgment against the United States) by which

the Special Court could remedy any deficiency, as show-

ing an intent to bar subsequent claims under the Tucker

House Report at 52

See Marine Insurance Co. v. United States, 410 F 2d 764 ‘Ct.

Cl. 1969) Clement v. United States. 140 F Supp. 573 Ct. Cl. 1956).

* See United States v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co.

309 U.S. 506 (1940).

Act.” But the court below ignored the provisions of

Section 303 that equate “fair and equitable” with

“constitutional minimum.” Those provisions require the

Special Court to determine whether the value of the con-

sideration to be received by each rail estate is “fair and

tion 303% show beyond doubt that Congress intended

to provide compensation out of the

mum — no more and no less. It cannot be fairly con-

strued to mean that Congress intended to provide less

the Supreme Court on review) should ultimately find that

the value of the consideration available for award under

Section 303% to any rail estate is less than the con-

stitutional minimum,” Congress intended to deny the

traditional Tucker Act remedy for the difference. Com-

pare Fort Berthold Reservation v. United States, supra,

holding that a statutory per-acre price for transferred

lands did not bar the Court of Claims from awarding

compensation above the statutory price. To infer here

that the statutory consideration is exclusive even if be-

low the “constitutional minimum recognized in the

statute is to suggest that Congress deliberately intended

to act in an unconstitutional manner.”

~ JA 9 at 50-51.

“Such an inference would contradict the flat statement of Rep-

resentative Adams, for example, that consideration other than

Conrail common stock was to be “at the lowest possible limit to meet

the constitutional guarantees.” 119 Cong. Rec. H11,876 (daily ed.

Dec. 20, 1973).

Hi

rik

i

f

i

fi

.

f

+

I

li

Hh

0

iil

eel

ö

i

i

0 4., Senate at 18: House Report at 54; 119 Cong.

2 daily n (remarks of Senator Hartke

id. at S23.778 (remarks of Senator Beall); 119 Cong. Rec. 522.485

(daily ed. Dec. 11, 1973) (remarks of Senator Hartke); 119 Cong.

Rec. H9743 daily ed. Nov. 8 1973) (remarks of Representative

Kuykendall ).

— House Report at 54. The intent to act constitutionally appears

as well from other passages in the House Report, such as:

— 4 — problems interwoven into the various bank-

ruptcies involved.” Id. at 29; see id. at 47.

{ Footnote continued on page 54

54

The House Report also stated at 55:

“The Committee is of the opinion that provisions

of this title of the Act, and especially the provision

for deficiency judgment and payment of obligations

of the Association provided in the preceding subsec-

tion, are more than adequate to guarantee that the

creditors of the bankrupt railroad will receive all

that they may Constitutionally claim.“

Congress plainly intended to provide constitutionally

adequate compensation to the owners of the rail prop-

erties transferred to Conrail. Whether the consideration

specifically provided in the Act will be adequate for that

purpose is both premature and, for the purpose of this

argument. beside the point. There is nothing in the

legislative history to support the view that if the con-

sideration is eventually found by the Special Court ‘and

by this Court on review) to be less than “fair and equit-

able — , less than the “constitutional minimum

Congress intended to foreclose a Court of Claims remedy

for the difference.

The few statements on the floor of the Senate and

House quoted by the court below to show that Congress

intended to bar subsequent claims under the Tucker Act

prove no such thing. They reinforce the view that Con-

~ | Continued |

See also 119 Cong. Rec. H972%1-"%2 daily ed. Nov. K. 197%) (remarks

of Representative Adams); id. at H9742 ‘remarks of Representa-

tive Kuykendall) .

“In both of the above quotations, as Section Me clearly

shows, the Committee regarded “fair and equitable” as effectively

synonymous with the “constitutional minimum.” See also House

Report at 2. 31. 43.

The majority opinion below professed to be guided in construing

the Rail Act by Frankfurter, Some Reflections on the Reading of

Statutes, 47 Colum. I. Rev. 527 (1947). Mr. Justice Frankfurter

reflections included the following at 542:

Foot note continued on page 55 |

it

f

17

ct

A

fi

.

14

1

rc

i

Toe

11115

TRL

fell

ff

1 745

under the Act would be sufficient" to prevent such a

claim from being “sustained in the Court of Claims.”

(Emphasis added.

No different light on what Congress meant is cast

by the portion of House debate set forth in the opinion

below at JA 9 at 49. The dialogue focuses on “the

deficiency judgment” and whether Section 303 would

keep “the Federal court,” i. e., the Special Court, from

having “the key to the Treasury” in “the court proceed-

ings. Because the context of this dialogue was not

brought to the attention of the court below, that court

may have gravely misconstrued its meaning. Neither the

Senate nor the House bil] contained a counterpart to

Section 303% 2 (C), providing for a deficiency judg-

ment in money against Conrail.’ This provision was

added in conference; the subsequent House discussion

seems clearly intended to explain it and to assure mem-

bers that any such money judgment against Conrail

would not be a judgment against the United States.

Representative Kuykendall’s several references to “the

Federal Court” and “the court proceedings” are, we

submit, clearly references to the Special Court and its

authority added in Section 303(c}(2)‘(C). Representa-

tive Adams’ careful response that there was a limit to

authorizations “under the bill“ was entirely correct. As

we read the dialogue, he was not asked and did not

volunteer a view as to whether there could be liability

of the United States otherwise than “under the bill“

Senator Hartke expected Conrail to be profitable, as is dem-

onstrated by his comments cited at p. 53 note 67 supra.

"2119 Cong. Rec. H11,876 (daily ed. Dec. 20, 1973).

See Section 303(c)(2) of the Senate bill, 119 Cong. Rec.

$22,820 ‘daily ed. Dec. 13, 1973) and Section 502(d) of the House

bill, 119 Cong. Rec. H9756 daily ed. Nov. 8, 1973). Both versions

authorized the Special Court to award additional Conrail or USRA

securities to railroads in reorganization, but neither authorized the

entry of a money judgment against either.

57

if, despite Congress’ expectation to the contrary, the

consideration available under Section 303(c) were ju-

dicially determined to be less than the “constitutional

minimum.” Indeed, the dialogue itself stressed Mr.

Adams’ concern that any amount other than Conrail

securities “was to be at the lowest possible limit to meet

the constitutional guarantees.” (Emphasis added.)

Earlier Mr. Adams had stated his view that the con-

stitutional minimum in a reorganization is liquidation

value, and asserted that “we have done everything pos-

sible in the legislative history . . to make certain

that no more than the constitutional minimum for liquida-

tion as defined by the Supreme Court will be paid by

the new corporation Mr. Adams, we submit,

was contrasting a congressional commitment to considera-

tion equal to liquidation value for non-rail purposes

which he regarded as constitutionally necessary and was

willing to support—with an open-ended commitment es-

timated at up to $15 billion as the cost of “nationaliz-

ing“ the properties, as some members of Congress had

urged.”

We do not believe that this Court can fairly read the

language in the dialogue about keeping “the Federal

Court” from having “the key to the Treasury” as refer-

ring to claims against the Government for the amount,

if any, by which the value of the consideration trans-

119 Cong. Rec. H9732 (daily ed. Nov. 8, 1973) (emphasis

added). Appellant does not accept the view that liquidation value

is the constitutional minimum. Creditors and shareholders would

appear to be entitled to liquidation value only if they have an

underlying constitutional right to liquidate. Whether there is a

constitutional right to liquidate an essential railroad that is, or

can be made, viable has never been decided. The issue was expressly

reserved by this Court in New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392.

489-490 (1970).

Id. at H9731.

ferred under the Act might some day be found by the

Special Court (and on appeal by this Court) to fal!

below the “constitutional minimum.” The inference that

Cong ess intended to bar a claim under the Tucker Act

for this difference does not square with its express

recognition in Section 303(c) of the need to provide the

“constitutional minimum.”

To summarize, there are two possible ways to read

the Rail Act in relationship to the Tucker Act. One

is to agree with the court below that even if the Special

Court should ultimately find the consideration available

to be paid for rail properties under the Act to be less

than the “constitutional minimum,” Congress intended

to bar a Tucker Act claim for the difference. A second

is to conclude that Congress, believing that the value

of the consideration available under Section 303 would

in fact equal the “constitutional minimum,” never ad-

dressed itself in the Rail Act to the question of what

would happen if the Special Court found to the con-

trary.

We respectfully submit that the first reading, if it

is possible, is not plausible since it requires the con-

clusion that Congress, in a statute expressly and repeat-

edly recognizing the existence of a “constitutional mini-

mum,” also decided to bar a claim to obtain that mini-

mum. We further submit that wnder the second reading,

the Tucker Act remedy must be found to remain avail-

able, and the Rail Act must be found constitutional.

D. The Tucker Act Remedy ls Adequate

Having concluded that Congress meant to repeal or

modify the Tucker Act, the majority of the court below

did not examine the adequacy of the Tucker Act remedy.

However, the concurring judge questioned the due process

adecnacy of relegating claimants to the and

complex” procedures of the Rail Act and then, if there

—— ———

—ä—ũĩä— — —

should remain a basis for a claim against the United

States, to the Court of Claims.” No rule of due process

holds that a process that results in full and complete

compensation is unconstitutional merely because it may

be lengthy and complex.”

Three points deserve mention. First, even in a con

demnation case, which reorganization under the Rail Act

is not, it is unquestionably constitutional to complete a

“taking” before a judicial determinaticn of the required

amount of compensation.” Second, a Court of Claims

award of compensation for an inadequately compenstated

taking under the Rail Act would be a “perfect” remedy:

although interest is not generally recoverable against the

United States in the absence of a statute or contract

expressly authorizing it,” interest on a just compensation

award runs from the date of the taking.” Third, as

we have noted above, a Tucker Act suit after the

Special Court ‘and the Supreme Court on review) had

*JA 9 at 81. These doubts were not so serious as to prevent

the same judge from concluding in the Penn Central “180-Day”

Decision at JA 124 at 148 that:

agree with the Trustees that the basic approach of the stat-

ute is fundamentally sound. If I were persuaded that Congress

had intended to permit recourse to a Tucker Act remedy in the

event that implementation of the RRRA [Regional Rail Reor-

ganization Act] proved violative of constitutional rights, an

affirmative § 207(b) finding might be permissible.”

See Phillips v. Commissioner, 283 U.S. 589, 596-99 (1931).

™ Hurley v. Kincaid, 285 U.S. 95 (1932). Moreover, as indicated

in the discussion below of the New Haven Inclusion litigation.

there is precedent in the reorganization field fon transfer before

valuation or payment.

28 U.S.C. § 2616; United States v. Goltra, 312 U.S. 203, 207-08

(1941); Gould v. United States, 301 F.2d 557, 558-59 (D.C. Cir.

1962).

United States v. Thayer-West Point Hotel Co, 329 U.S. 585,

588 (1947); Phelps v. United States, 274 U.S. 341, 344 (1927).

found the relevant values would not, as a practical mat-

ter, require retrial of these issues.

Il. Even in the Absence of a Tucker Act Remedy the

Court Below Should Not Have Enjoined the Operation

of the Rail Act

Even if the court below correctly construed the Rai!

Act to bar a Tucker Act remedy for erosion beyond

constitutional limits, each element of its order was er-

roneous. The order rested on other misconstructions of

the statute. It anticipated problems that may not arise

and can be remedied at the time if they do. Moreover,

even on the district court’s stated view of both the law

and the facts, the relief it granted, relief whose most

crucial features were wholly unexplained, was super-

fluous.

The court below held that the erosion issue was “ripe

for adjudication,” but it did not in fact decide whether

or to what extent the asset values available to satisfy

pre-reorganization creditors have declined during the Penn

Central reorganization or will decline in the future. Nor

did the court decide the extent to which pre-reorganiza-

tion creditors may be required to accept such “erosion”

during the reorganization process, on account of the

public interest in continued rail service, where, as here,

there is a reasonable prospect of reorganizing the rail-

road on a self-sustaining basis. We argue, in Part III

below, that the extent of any erosion problem cannot

—

Concerns that Congress might not appropriate funds to pay a

judgment do not vitiate the adequacy of a Tucker Act suit. No

such concern was mentioned in Yearsicy and Hurley, supra. More-

over, in concluding that the Court of Claims is an Article III court,

Mr. Justice Harlan rejected an argument to the contrary based on

that court's inability to enforce its judgments, saying “there seems

to be no sound reason why the Court of Claims may not rely on

the good faith of the United States,” Glidden Co. v. Zdanok, 370

U.S. 530, 571 (1962). None of the other opinions in that case chal-

lenged his view.

61

be determined on the present record and without refer-

ence to the benefits of reorganization under the Rail Act,

and that in any event a reasonable erosion burden may

be imposed on persons who invest in a railroad while

and substantial public efforts are made to create

a “self-sustaining rail service system.” Our argument

here is that even if it is assumed that the constitutiona!

limit of erosion—the point beyond which service may not

be required without an adequate remedy at law for com-

pensation—may be reached before implementation of the

Final System Plan, and even assuming that the court

below correctly read the Rail Act to bar an adequate

remedy at law, the orders issued by the court below were

nevertheless unwarranted and erroneous.

A. The Court Below Misconstrued Section 304(f) of

the Rail Act

Before passage of the Rail Act, Section 1(18) of the

Interstate Commerce Act required any railroad

(whether or not in reorganization) to obtain ICC ap-

proval for discontinuance of rail service on any line of

track, or for the abandonment of such rail properties.

This procedure was replaced, with respect to railroads in

reorganization in the Region, by Section 304 of the Rail

Act. Section 304, whose primary purpose is to provide

a more efficient means for a substantial reduction and

streamlining of the Northeast’ Midwest rail system, per-

mits the Region’s railroads, without the approval of any

entity, to discontinue service over and to

abandon (i.¢., liquidate as they wish) all rail properties

= 49 U.S.C. 61018) provides in pertinent part:

“(No carrier by railroad subject to this chapter shall abandon

all or any portion of a line of railroad, or the operation there-

of, unless and until there shall first have been obtained from

the Commission a certificate that the present or future public

convenience and necessity permit of such abandonment.”

not designated for transfer pursuant to the Final System

In order, however, to facilitate a planning process

that is required to be completed within 450 days after

enactment, Section 304(f) provides as follows:

“After the date of enactment of this Act, no rail-

road in reorganization may discontinue service or

abandon any line of railroad other than in accord-

ance with the provisions of this Act, unless it is

ee SS & SS Seen as ate

no affected State or or regional transportation

authority reasonably opposes such action, notwith-

standing any provision of any other Federal law tbe

constitution or law of any State, or decision ( order

of, or the pendency of any proceeding befoe y

Federal or State court, agency, or authority.”

As we read the opinions and order of the court below,

all of the court’s objections to the Rail Act (except one

1 flow from its interpretation of that Sec-

The district court interpreted Section 304(f) as au-

thorizing the required continuation of rail operations after

the (hypothetical! point has been reached at which con-

tinuation of service can no longer be constitutionally

required without compensation. Having construed the

section to authorize an unconstitutional action in a hy-

pothetica! situation, the court declared the section to that

extent unconstitutional on its face.

In the first place, the court reached its troublesome

construction prematurely. Having concluded that the

The one exception is the court's holding that the irement,

in Section 207(b), that Section 77 proceedings be dismisned im the

case of certain railroads not being reorganized under the Rail Art.

violates the requirement of Article I. Section 8, Clause 4, of the

Constitution that bankruptcy laws shall be uniform throughout the

United States. USRA does not agree with this ruling but, in view

of the fact that the ruling has no material effect on USRA’s

planning process, USRA has not appealed on this que: ion.

— —

erosion issue was “ripe for adjudication,” the court pro-

ceeded not to adjudicate whether the constitutional limit

of erosion had been or would be reached, nor to define

the limit. Instead, the district court proceeded as if the

erosion limit had in fact passed, when in fact it remains

possible that the issue will never arise.

The objections to premature decision of hypothetical

legal issues, particularly on an incomplete factual! record,

are too familiar to be repeated at length here. The

district court itself recognized the dangers in another

context. JA 9 at 23. Suffice it to say that the objections

to premature decision are especially forceful where there

is a major question of statutory construction which re-

lates directly to the constitutionality of the statute and

the decision is adverse to constitutionality. E.g., Poe v.

Ullman, 367 U.S. 497, 502-03 (1961); Communist Party

„Courts do not review issues, especially constitutional issues,

until they have to.” Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Comm. . McGrath,

341 U.S. 123, 154-55 (1961) Frankfurter, J., concurring). A court

should stay its hand when the injurious impact of the challenged

condition depends on the “concurrence of .. . contingent events .

too speculative to warrant anticipatory judicial determinations,”

Eccles w Peoples Bank, 333 U.S. 426, 432 (1948). Courts, moreover,

do not adjudicate “matters of serious public concern” on a record

that is not “adequate and full-bodied.” Public Affairs Press Vv.

Rickover, 269 U.S. 111, 112-13 (1962). Kennedy v. Silas Mason Co.

334 U.S. 249, 256 (1948).

The courts reviewing the inclusion of the New Haven in the

merged Penn Central illustrated these rules by refusing to decide

issues that were premature or where the factual record was in-

complete. E.g.. In re New York, VH AH ARK. 378 F 2d 635, 640

(2d Cir. 1967):

“Since we thus are by no means certain the plan the Com-

mission and the court will approve .. will contain the features

to which appellants object, we think it improper to pass upon

their objections at this time.

[There was no occasion to involve Judge Anderson

or us in an advisory opinion to the Commission on legal issues

that may never arise.”

See also New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 447 n. 65 (1970).

v. Subversive Activities Control Board, 367 U.S. 1, 81

(1961); International Longshoremen’s & Warehouse-

men's Union, Local 37 v. Boyd, 347 U.S. 222 (1954);

Electric Bond & Share Co. v. SEC, 303 U.S. 419 (1938).

Having decided to reach the erosion issue, the district

court then took a second headlong leap into the path

of a constitutional problem. Although it had construed

the Rail Act to bar a Tucker Act remedy for erosion past

constitutional limits, the court decided to construe Sec-

tion 304(f) as purporting to confer authority to require

continuation of rail service even where discontinuance

is required to protect constitutional rights. This construc-

tion was wholly unwarranted. In the assumed absence

of a remedy at law, Section 304% could and should

have been construed to confer approval power only within

constitutional limits as the courts may declare them.

A statute cast in general terms need not recite the con-

stitutional limits on its reach in order to avoid being

declared unconstitutional on its face. If it is inferred

that Congress barred suits in the Court of Claims for

required erosion beyond constitutional limits, the entire

statutory scheme could nevertheless function as fairly

(though possibly less successfully) if it were also inferred

that Congress intended to require continued operations

only within constitutional limits.”

No rule of construction is more well established than

the rule that federal courts should accord acts of Con-

gress a “strong presumptive validity” and seek an “inter-

pretation which supports the constitutionality of legisla-

tion.” United States v. National Dairy Products Corp.,

There are, of course, substantial problems in determining,

in any actual case, whether discontinuances or abandonments

constitutionally required. The resolution of that problem in indi-

vidual cases, however, is no easier after the decision below than

was before, since the court offered no guidance on either the

stance or procedures involved in that determination.

Fs

372 U.S. 29, 32 19630. There are numerous cases in

which federal courts have gone to considerable lengths

to construe statutes to uphold their constitutionality.

The case of Richmond Screw Anchor Co. v. United States,

275 U.S. 331 (1928), is a good illustration. As the law

stood immediately before July 1, 1918, the owner of a

patent infringed by a government contractor could or-

dinarily sue either the contractor or the United States.

If the owner were an assignee, however, his suit against

the United States would be barred by the general statute

prohibiting assignment of unliquidated claims against

the United States. On July 1, 1918, Congress passed a

new statute depriving a patent owner of a suit against

a government contractor and imiting him to his remedy

against the United States. The 1918 statute, together

with the general anti-assignment statute, thus appeared

to prevent an assignee from suing either the contractor

or the government. The Court, noting that this result

would seem to raise a serious question as to the con-

stitutionality of the Act of 1918 under the Fifth Amend-

ment,” id. at 345, and stating that it is our duty in

the interpretation of federal statutes to reach a conclu-

sion which will avoid serious doubt of their constitu-

tionality,” id. at 346, interpreted the 1918 statute as

making the genera! anti-assignment statute inapplicable

to patent rights covered by the 1918 statute, so that the

assignee could sue the United States in the Court of

Claims.

In Eastern Railroad Presidents Conference v. Noerr

Motor Freight, Inc., 365 U.S. 127 (1961), a unanimous

Court held that the Sherman Act does not prohibit a

“ Accord, % United States Civil Service Commission v. Va-

tional Association of Letter Carriers, AFL-CIO, 413 U.S. 548, 571

(1973); Flemming » Nestor, 363 U.S. 603, 617 (1960); Crowell

v. Benson, 286 U.S. 22, 62 (1982); Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6

Cranch) 87, 128 (1810).

"See also United States v. Thirty-Seven (37) Photographs,

402 U.S. 3683 (1971); American Power 4 Light Co. v. SEC, 329

U.S. 90 (1946).

conspiracy or combination to influence the passage of

legislation or the enforcement of the laws, even where

the objective is to harm competition and the means used

are deceptive. The Court reached its construction of the

statute by considering policies underlying the First

Amendment and, in part, because a contrary construc-

tion “would raise important constitutional questions.” Id.

at 138. Similarly, in Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116

(1958), when faced with a constitutional challenge to

regulations of the Secretary of State governing the issu-

ance of passports, the Court decided that the statutory

power of the Secretary, though “expressed in broad

terms,” id. at 127, should be construed more narrowly

so as to avoid constitutional questions. This case is a

good example of the rule that a delegation in broad

terms should be narrowly construed to avoid constitu-

tional questions rather than broadly construed and then

struck down.”

B. The 304(f) Injunction Was Unwarranted and

Erroneous

The court below then enjoined USRA from

This injunction against a federal agency just

in good faith, on the Herculean task Congress

it was unwarranted and erroneous.

be Kent case divided the Court 5-4 on the statutory issues,

75

i

5

:

ic

11

4

5

1

Feige

iis

rf 1111.

THE

Bilis

115750

a1 net

Ht au

ih

18

:

z

5

7

a

strained and enjoined from interfering with, seizing, convert-

ing, appropriating, attaching, garnisheeing, levying upon, or

enforcing liens upon, or in any manner whatsoever disturb-

have as much power both to make this findi

) ng and to or may not be sufficient to achieve the congressional ob-

— issued — di 1 out without the in- jective of providing each estate the “constitutional mini-

co court as it has in light mum” on the ground that in any event

the of the Act not adequately assure that

|

Special Court shall order transfers of rail properties | ** Appellant's position is that since Plaintiffs were alleging only s

in accordance with the Final System P! ond aol taking or threatened taking of their property without just compen-

then order the distribution of the consideration ) — — t- 1 *

vided . pro- any taking result from the processes of the Rail Act,

therefor after determining that the exchanges are the court below should have followed the decision of this Court in

“in the Hurley v Kincaid, supra, and avoided the difficult statutory and

public interest and are fair and equitable constitutional issues by leaving Plaintiffs to their plain and ade-

to the estate of each railroad in reorganization in | quate remedy at law. See Part I, supra.

accordance with the standard of fairness and equity On the assumption that the court below correctly construed the

applicable to the approval of a plan of Rail Act to bar a Tucker Act remedy, we agree that the question

tion or a step in such a plan under Section 77 of whether the consideration available under the express terms of the

the Bankrupty Rail Act itself will meet the constitutional minimum is premature

(a) it is impossible to determine at this time the value to which

and that the exchanges are not “more fair and equitable the cataten wl be es te he Fined Spee Te ten ot toe

than is j — properties to be | in i System ve not been

required as a constitutional minimum. . identified. (b) It should be assumed that the 82 carefully

n context, it is clear that designed after long study by Congress will be to achieve the

“np alae Cane statutory goal of a “self-sustaining rail service system” and

aul an exchange in which that the rail properties transferred to Conrail will therefore have

estate receives the “constitutional minimum” con- substantial going-concern value; the dollar amount of this value.

sideration—no more and no less. Congress thus exhibited however, is obviously incalculable today. e If, after the Final

its concern, throughout Section 303, tha System Plan has become effective, there are grounds for contending

— cates Gn t each railroad in the assumed absence of a Tucker Act remedy) that its imple-

constitutionally required consideration mentation will cause a taking of private property for less than just

for its properties. ion. these grounds can be urged upon the Special Court

tion ** during the period of uP un h. e which the Special Court

of trains, buses. the Final System the on Court is

i. onl amen Geen Ge eee directed to order the transfer of rail properties; if these grounds

Ihn appear substantial, the Special Court may then decide that it can-

whether as trustee or otherwise, to rolling st 4b not constitutionally order the transfer until the constitutional issue

leased or conditionally sold to the Debtor, and equipment has been resolved; this theoretical possibility does not make it

Nr necessary to resolve the series of complex statutory and consti-

with the provisions of any auch lease or conditional aale con- tutional issues involved until there is some basis for concluding

Saen that the processes of the Rail Act have failed to provide the “con-

order stitutional minimum” consideration that Congress commanded.

70

Nevertheless, the court below declared that

“Section 303 of the Regional Rail Reorganization

Act of 1973 is null and void as contravening the

Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitu-

tion insofar as it fails to provide compensation for

interim erosion pending final implementation of the

Final System Plan pursuant to the statute.” JA 9

at 82.

Reading that part of the court’s order, one might

assume that the court below concluded that all such

“interim erosion” is compensable under the Fifth Amend-

ment. We argue in Part III, infra, that any such con-

clusion would be erroneous. In fact, the court below

reached no such conclusion. On the contrary, the court

did not define “erosion” or its constitutional limits, and

did not determine that the point has been or will neces-

sarily be reached at which erosion becomes compensable.

The closest the court below came ‘o stating its view of

the law of erosion was in footnote 23, JA 9 at 41, where

it quoted as follows:

“*(T)here are limits beyond which . . the] public

interest cannot be served without violating the con-

stitutional prohibition against appropriation of pri-

vate property for public use without just compensa-

tion. New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 90

S. Ct. 2054, 26 L.Ed.2d 691 (1971); ef. Brooks-Scan-

lon Co. v. Railroad Commission of Louisiana, 251

U.S. 396, 40 S.Ct. 183, 64 L.Ed. 323 (1920). These

limitations are measured both in terms of the amount

of erosion of the Debtor’s estate which can be per-

mitted to occur before impairing liquidation value,

and in terms of the length of time that is reasonable

for assessing the ultimate prospects of achieving

sufficient profitability to support a valid recapitaliza-

tion of the enterprise.’ Jn Re Penn Central Trans-

2 Company, 347 F.Supp. 1246, 1366 (E. D.

*

71

We read the court’s order, therefore, as declaring Sec-

tion 303 unconstitutional only insofar as it fails to pro-

vide compensation for erosion that is determined to ex-

ceed constitutional limits unless an adequate remedy at

law for compensation is provided. This part of the order,

so read, parallels the court’s Section 304(f) injunction

in which the court left the determination of the actual

limit to a fut-ure court.

So read, the court’s Section 303 order is premature

for the same reasons as its Section 304(f) injunction; it

deals with a situation that has not arisen and may not

arise. There are, however, even more fundamental ob-

jections: the court’s reading of Section 303 was er-

roneous and the court’s order, on its own view of the

issues, was superfluous.

In the first place, there was no reason to read See-

tion 303, with its repeated emphasis on fairness, equity,

and the “constitutional minimum” consideration, as de-

liberately excluding one element of that consideration,

that the court below thought might turn out to be con-

stitutionally required. On the contrary, if it is later

determined that the constitutional limit of erosion has

been reached, and if the Act is construed to require

rail operations to continue beyond that point, then this

must be taken into account when the Special Court meas-

ures the “fairness and equity” of the exchanges. Rather

than presume, in the face of clear congressional concern

for constitutionality, that Congress deliberately intended

an unconstitutional result in the hypothetical situation

the court itself constructed, the court below could have

solved its own problem by construing Section 303’s con-

stitutional minimum” to inelude all constitutionally re-

quired consideration.”

As a practical matter, there would be no insurmountable diffi-

culty if the Special Court ruled, for example, that the “constitu-

72

There is, however, an even more obvious point. Rail

estates in reorganization are entitled to compensation

for erosion only to the extent that the United States

requires them to continue rail operations or preserve

their properties beyond the point at which uncompensated

erosion can no longer be required. The only section of the

Rail Act that could conceivably impose such a require-

ment is Section 304(f). We have argued above, in Part

II(A), that the court below could and should, in the

assumed absence of a Tucker Act remedy, have construed

Section 304(f) as not imposing any such requirement.

Instead, the court below construed Section 304(f) as im-

posing such a requirement but then declared the Section

pro tanto unconstitutional and enjoined the enforcement

of the objectionable requirement. At that point, the

court had achieved by constitutional adjudication what

it could have achieved by construction: it eliminated any

requirement in the Rail Act that rail estates suffer any

erosion for which an adequate remedy for compensation

would be constitutionally required. In so doing, it elimi-

nated any possible claim to compensation.

Once any Reorganization Court has determined that

discontinuance of service or abandonment is constitu-

tionally required in the absence of compensation, USRA

(and the other Defendants) will be powerless to inter-

fere and, unless provision is made for compensation

satisfactory to the Reorganization Court, the discon-

tinuance or abandonment will occur. Under these cir-

cumstances, there was no basis for invalidating Section

303 for an imputed failure to provide compensation for

an “erosion taking” that cannot lawfully occur.

tional minimum” is the amount necessary to place the Penn Central

estate in the position it would have been in had the o-

curred on some earlier date determined bv the Special Court to be

appropriate.

— ona

73

D. The District Court Should Not Have Enjoined

Certification of a Final System Plan Under

Section 209(c)

Section 209(c) of the Rail Act provides that after

the Final System Plan has been prepared and reviewed

by Congress and become effective, USRA shall “de-

fied

special court” and shall certify to the Special Court,

among other things, that the Plan is in the public

interest and is fair and equitable. This step is obviously

central to the processes of the Act. The court below,

however, enjoined USRA from “certifying a Final Sys-

tem Plan to the Special Court pursuant to Section 209

(e.“ JA 9 at 82. The injunction appears to be un-

qualified and unconditional.

While this part of the court’s order presents the

most significant obstacle to USRA’s discharge of its

statutory responsibilities, USRA is somewhat at a loss

to respond to it because the court below offered no

explanation whatsoever of the reason for this particular

order. Section 209(c) is mentioned only twice in the

court’s opinion, once at JA 9 at 16 where its existence

and text are recited without comment as part of a

general summary of the Rail Act, and once in the second-

to-last paragraph of the principal opinion, which, im-

mediately after discussion of the Tucker Act question,

reads in its entirety as follows:

“Accordingly, we hold that Section 304(f), in re-

quiring mandatory interim operations without pro-

viding a legal remedy to furnish fair and just com-

pensation for an erosion of property beyond consti-

tutional limits, offends the Fifth Amendment; that

Section 303. the only provision of the Act pertain-

ing to valuation of the railroad estate, in failing to

provide a remedy for any unconstitutional erosion

caused by mandatory interim operations under Sec-

74

tion 304(f), is also defective; that because the effect

of Section 207(b) precludes a form of liquidation

under Section 77 of the Act, it is con-

stitutionally defective as set forth in Part II of the

separate opinion of Judge Fullam; and that because

of these conclusions the United States Railway As-

sociation must be enjoined from certifying a Final

System Plan to the Special Court pursuant te See-

tion 209 (e).“ JA 9 at 53.

It is unclear what evil the court thought it was remedy-

ing with this order.” The only conceivably relevant

constitutional objection to the Rail Act is the assumed

failure of the Act to deal with the possible problem of

erosion beyond constitutional limits. As discussed above,

this problem may never arise in fact. Moreover, any

possibility of its arising could have been avoided by a

construction of Section 304(f) that would not allow USRA

to require continued operations after the point of un-

constitutional erosion has been reached, or by a con-

struction which presumes that the Special Court will

take such operations into account when determining

the consideration under the Act necessary to satisfy the

“constitutional minimum.” In any event, the court below

has more than adequately eliminated any possible prob-

lem by prohibiting the application of Section 304 (f to

require erosion beyond constitutional limits. Finally,

there was no reason for an unconditional order prohibit-

ing the certification of any final system plan, even one

that makes full and adequate provision for all constitu-

tional rights of the private parties.

One thing that seems clear is that the 209(c) order to which

we are now objecting has nothing to do with the 207(b) problem

referred to in the quoted paragraph, from which no appeal is taken.

The 207(b) p blem, as described in Judge Fullam's separate opin-

ion, relates oniy to the question whether Section 77 proceedings

should be dismissed in the case of railroads that are not to be re-

organized under the Act.

— — —

75

III. There Is No Factual or Legal Basis for Concluding

that the Rail Act Will Cause an “Erosion Taking”

of Private Property for Which Just Compensation Will

Be Due

We have presented two reasons why it was unnecessary

for the court below even to reach the constitutional merits

of Plaintiffs’ claims that the Rail Act will cause a taking

of their property through erosion: First, Plaintiffs have

an adequate remedy at law under the Tucker Act, which

precludes their obtaining injunctive relief against the

implementation of the Rail Act. Second, in the absence

of the Tucker Act remedy, the Rail Act should not have

been construed to require rail operations beyond the

point at which compulsory operations become compen-

sable. The court below failed to adopt either of those

propositions, but proceeded to decide that the danger of

an erosion taking justified its enjoining the implementa-

tion of key provisions of the Act. Having erred in

dealing with the Tucker Act and statutory construction

issues, that court committed further error, we submit,

in its handling of the erosion contentions.

The court below decided that the erosion issue is “ripe

for adjudication”—meaning, apparently, that available

statistics indicate that Plaintiffs’ fears that the value of

their claims will decline between now and the effective

date of the Final System Plan (as early as 510 days

from enactment) cannot be dismissed as far-fetched. The

court then proceeded, however, to grant broad injunc-

tive relief without ever facing the questions that must

be decided to adjudicate the erosion issue. Should this

Court conclude that it is necessary to reach that issue,

we submit that there are two controlling reasons why

it was error for the court below to grant injunctive re-

lief on the ground that erosion pending implementation

of the Rail Act might exceed constitutional limits.

76

In the first place, the record in this case does not

establish that any injury at all will result to Plaintiffs

from the implementation of the Rail Act. In order to

determine whether the value of Plaintiffs’ claims will

in fact be eroded—that is, whether Plaintiffs will, on

balance, suffer economic injury—through the implementa-

tion of the Act, a court would have to make a comparison

between Plaintiffs’ present situation and the consequences

of implementing the Act. Only if Plaintiffs have avail-

able to them some currently feasible course of action

that would produce greater value for the estates than

can be realized through reorganization pursuant to the

Act will Plaintiffs be harmed by continued proceedings

under the Act.”

Plaintiffs have not established a record that permits

such a comparison to be made. It is not clear what

feasible course of action the Penn Central (or any other)

railroad estate would follow if it were permitted to

proceed on the premise that the Rail Act did not exist,

and it is wholly unclear what the dollar consequences

* The court below noted that Plaintiffs included secured creditors,

unsecured creditors, and shareholders. That fact, however, does not

—— — — —

77

of any such course of action would be. On the other hand,

it is obviously impossible to determine now the dollar

consequences of reorganization pursuant to the Act.

Plaintiffs seek to suggest, and the court below ap-

parently concluded, that the only facts of record—recent

income-statement losses, together with the continuing

increase in administration claims—-demonstrate that some

unspecified present alternative must necessarily be better

than proceeding under the Rail Act. The only alternative

that suggests itself is to begin liquidation of the Penn

Central estate for non-rail purposes, with its attendant

uncertainties, expenses, and delays. The facts of record

fail wholly to support the court's apparent conclusion

that such a course would yield greater value than re-

organization under the Act, for several reasons: First.

income-statement losses, computed in accordance with

ICC accounting procedures and including as expense items

(for example) track replacement costs that may even

increase the value of the Penn Central estate” and

depreciation, do not establish that the value of the assets

is declining; second, even if liquidation value were demon-

strably declining, the essential comparison is between the

value of the Penn Central now, in liquidation, and the

going-concern value of the Penn Central estate’s share

of a revitalized system that has received substantial fed-

eral support; and third, it is by no means clear that a

liquidation commenced today or any other alternative

action would stop the losses and solve the creditors’

problems more quickly than proceedings under the Act.

There is a second and more fundamental point. The

central premise of Plaintiffs’ erosion argument is their

contention that they have a constitutional right to termi-

nate rail service and liquidate the Penn Central es te

* This accounting treatment was criticized as unrealistic in

Coleman, Is Railroad Accounting Off the Track, 130 J. Account-

ancy 64, 66-68 (Oct. 1970).

78

now. They contend that consequently they are entitled

to a present assurance that they will ultimately receive

the current liquidation value of the estate plus the amount

of priority administration claims accruing between now

and the time they receive that value. We believe that

Plaintiffs’ central premise is wrong as a matter of law.

Plaintiffs do not have a right to liquidate or be com-

pensated for not doing so. As we have repeatedly stressed,

the Rail Act makes adequate provision for payment of

whatever “constitutional minimum” Plaintiffs are ulti-

mately adjudged entitled to receive. However, we reject

Plaintiffs’ views about the measure of that constitutional

minimum.

Plaintiffs assert that their right to liquidate is es-

tablished by three cases decided in the early 1920’s hold-

ing that owners could not be compelled to continue to

operate tiny, hopelessly unprofitable railroads when it

was clear that there was no way of restoring them to

profitability.” Since the enactment of Section 77, how-

ever, it has been clear (and has been established by

repeated decisions of this Court) that if a railroad is

important and reorganizable, the rights of its creditors

and owners are inherently subject to the right of the

public to keep it running while reasonably prompt efforts

are made to reorganize it on a self-sustaining basis.

When this Court upheld the constitutionality of See-

tion 77, it held that such a deferral of remedies was

justified in view of Congress’ determination that the

continuous, uninterrupted operation [of railroads] is

"* Brooks-Scanion Co. „ Railroad Commission, 251 U.S. 396

(1920), involved a narrow gauge railroad between Kentwood and

Hackley, Louisiana, which was “primarily a logging road” but which

the Court “assumed” to have done business as a common carrier.

Bullock v. Railroad Commission, 254 U.S. 613 (1921), involved a

“logging road” for which one suggested total purchase price

$200,000. Railroad Commission v. Eastern Teras R. R., 264 U.S.

79 (1924), involved a railroad 30.3 miles long which had been

to carry timber, whose supply had been exhausted.

79

necessary in the public interest. Continental Bank v.

Chicago, Rock Island & P. Ry., 294 U.S. 648, 671 (1935).

As the Court observed, “without the maintenance of the

or a reasonable length of time no satisfactory

be worked out.” Id. at 679. Consequently,

the contention of Plaintiffs here that they have a right

red of full compensation for their cooperation

the effort to save Penn Central is without legal

A. Plaintiffs Have Not Shown that Any Erosion Will

Occur

This Court discussed the erosion issue in the New

Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 489-93 1970

The Court made clear that the essence of erosion is a

net reduction in the amount available to satisfy pre-

bankruptcy claimants. The Court stressed that there are

two factors that may reduce the size of the “pot” avail-

able to pay pre-bankruptcy claims: a decline in the

total value of the assets of the estate, and an accumula-

tion of priority administration claims. Consistent with

this Court’s analysis in that case, other courts have

pointed out that market appreciation in asset values dur-

ing reorganization tends to increase the amount realized

by pre-bankruptcy claimants, offsetting other factors, such

as operating losses, which tend to reduce the realizable

value. See In re Boston & Maine Corp, 484 F.2d 369,

373 n.5 (Ist Cir. 1973). In fact, in the Reading Railroad

“180-day” proceedings, where the Court held in favor

„A] proceeding under §77 is not an ordinary proceeding in

bankruptcy. It is a special proceeding which seeks only to

bring about a reorganization, if a satisfactory plan to that end

can be devised. And to prevent the attainment of that object

is to defeat the very end the accomplishment of which was the

sole aim of the section, and thereby to render its provisions

futile.” Id. at 676.

As we have previously noted, the court below recited

the stipulated fact that the Penn Central income state-

ments for the reorganization iod show

in losses, concluded that this

1

2

l

i

of the Penn Central estate on any basis ‘except book)”

ability of the Penn Central estate to pay its debts (what-

ever that ability may now be). Income statements, how-

ever, do not necessarily show even that. For one thing,

as noted above, they leave out of account changes in

asset values, which are essential to any comparison of

In the Matter of Reading Co., Bky. No. 71-828 (E.D. Pa., July

1, 1974), appeal pending, No. 74-7 (Spec. Ct. R.R.R.A., filed Aug.

liquidation values at different times. For another,

they reflect items having no direct relation to value.

For example, the $851 million in ineome-statement

losses of Penn Central reflect “expenses” of $313 million

in depreciation; $358 million in track replacement re-

quired by the ICC to be charged to current income;

$100 million in deferred leased-line rentals; and $250

million in deferred interest on debt. Depreciation, how-

ever, is an arbitrary charge not involving the expenditure

of cash and not necessarily reflecting any decline in

recoverable value. Track replacement, while an “ex-

pense” according to ICC conventions, presumably does

not reduce liquidation value and may actually increase

it. It is stipulated that Penn Central's actual liability on

leased-line rentals is unkrown. Finally, less than half

of the deferred interest is on debt that purports to be

secured, and unsecured debt is not entitled to receive

post-bankruptcy interest as an allowable claim in re-

For example, the trade publication Iron Age indicates that the

market value of heavy melting scrap (such as scrapped steel rails)

has dramatically increased since June 21, 1970:

MARKET PRICES FOR NO. 1 HEAVY MELTING SCRAP

AT SELECTED LOCATIONS ($/TON)

Prices On Prices On

June 22, 1970° July 15, 1974**

Chicago $43-44 $137-138

Pitsburgh 42-43 129-130

Philadelphia 43-44 118-120

* Iron Age, June 25, 1970, at 94.

** Iron Age, July 22, 1974, at 64.

Stipulation of Facts, {13 (JA 203 at 208). The point is that

the figure charged to Penn Central's income is the total stated

lease obligations, but if any leases are disaffirmed, the Trustees will

an offset in the amount of any losses incurred for the account

the lessor. See Section 77(c)(6) of the Bankruptcy Act, 11

205 (e

~

organization. These four items alone thus raise more

than $1 billion worth of doubt about the impact of an

$851 million loss.

be injured by actions taken

under the Rail Act would not be between liquidation

values now and in the future but between liquidation

value now and the going concern value of the Penn

Central estate’s share of the reorganized rail system,

represented by Conrail securities and USRA obligations,

plus other benefits provided by the Rail Act and the

i

t

*

258

21

75

dg

41

175

Plaintiffs have contended, and the court below may

have assumed, that the claimants against the Penn Cen-

tral estate are constitutionally entitled to receive at

least the present liquidation value of the estate’s assets.

Therefore, they reason, any erosion caused by implementa-

tion of the Rail Act entitles Plaintiffs to compensation.

That reasoning is based on the premise that the Brooks-

Scanlon line of cases, supra, gives railroad investors a

constitutional right to cease operations and realize net

liquidation value if the railroad has no reasonable pros-

pect of future profitability. Since the Penn Central can-

not be separately reorganized on an income basis, Plain-

in re New York, VH. 4 H.R. R., 304 F.Supp. 1121, 1129-34

(D. Conn. 1969). Cf. 3A Collier on Bankruptcy © 63.16, at 1858

(14th ed. rev. J. Moore); 5 id. , 77.20, at 562-63 n.6.

tiffs characterize it as “hopelessly losing” within the

meaning of Brooks-Scanlon and invoke the protection

of that decision.

We submit that Brooks-Scanion has no applicability

to the situation of the Penn Central or the other estates

Court has confirmed beyond doubt that investors who

have dedicated their property to railroad use in the

public interest have no right to withdraw that dedication

as long as a reasonable prospect exists that the railroad's

operations can be made self-sustaining. Whether the

prospect of future profitability arises internally—as in

a traditional Section 77 reorganization—or externally—

as in the case of the Rail Act—it justifies requiring con-

tinued rail operations without compensation for a period

reasonably necessary to complete efforts to save the rail-

road’s operations.

To subject railroad investors to some economic burden

in such circumstances does not involve a deprivation of

their “property” richts. It involves merely a recogni-

16° Tt is far too late in our constitutional history to suggest that

any — aes action that impairs property rights or reduces

property values creates a right in the owner to compensation. Fed-

eral, state, and local governments daily undertake myriad actions

that affect the use or value of private property.

« without ng that the courts have never construed

ha ices ncmmemation’ cause of @ Sederal or ctate constitution as

requiring payment for all injuries imposed upon persons or property

by acts of government. Any such requirement would make govern-

ment itself impossible. No legislature can enact an important

statute which does not directly or indirectly impose a material loss

on some property owners.” L. Orgel, Valuation Under the Law of

Eminent Domain § 1, at 5 (2d ed. 1953).

See, , Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 (1915) (zoning

ordinance preventing continuation of an existing commercial use

of real property did not constitute a taking); Jackson v United

tion that the property rights of railroad investors are

inherently subject to the public’s right to make reason-

able efforts to save the common carrier rail operations

to which the owners dedicated their properties. So long

as reasonable efforts are being made to preserve an

important rail transportation system, the rights of

creditors command neither “Procrustean measures” nor

compensation for failure to take them.

1. The Earliest Decisions Under Section 77 Estab-

lished that Some Erosion Is Permissible Pending

Reorganization

In contending that they have a constitutional right to

be compensated for any erosion of their interests during

the period necessary to reorganize their railroad, Plain-

tiffs seek to overturn an unbroken line of Supreme Court

decisions under Section 77. The question whether claim-

ants against a debtor railroad may constitutionally be

required, without compensation, to suffer a decline in

their positions during the period reasonably needed to

reorganize the railroad was answered when Section 77

first reached this Court in the Rock Island case.“ In

that case, holders of “collateral notes” issued by the

debtor challenged an order of the reorganization court

which barred them from foreclosing on their collateral.

The Court responded as follows:

States, 230 U.S. 1 (1913) (flood control improvements which in-

jured private property by overflow or erosion did not constitute a

taking) ; Gibson v. United States, 166 U.S. 269 (1897 (Government

actions to improve navigation which impaired riparian rights of

waterfront owner did not constitute a taking); Steel Hill Develop-

ment, Inc. v. Sanborton, 469 F.2d 956 (Ist Cir. 1972) (three-acre

and six-acre minimum lot requirements imposed to preserve en-

vironmental! values did not constitute a taking).

™ Penn-Central Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486, 511 (1968).

Continental Bank v. Chicago, Rock Island & P Ry. 294 U.S.

648 (1935).

“It ma as , that during the period of

ane A meg h- decline in value; but

the same may be said in respect of an injunction

against the sale of real = 4 2 „

mortgage; and such an injunction may iss

ordinary proceeding in bankruptcy. ... A claim that

injurious consequences will result to the pledgee

or the mortgagee may not, of course, be disregarded

by the district court; but it presents a question ad-

dressed not to the power of the court but to its dis-

cretion—a matter not subject to the interference of

an appellate court unless such discretion be improvi-

dently exercised.” 294 U.S. at 677 (emphasis add-

ed) 108

106 sometimes been suggested that the Rock Island case

can haf Been on the ground that the holders of the collateral

notes had ample security. E.g., Note, Takings and the Public

Interest in Railroad Reorganization, 82 Yale L.J. 1004, 1112 (1973).

See also In re Penn Central Transp. Co., 494 F.2d 270 (3d Cir.),

petition for cert. filed, 42 U.S.L.W. 3633 (U.S. May 8, 1974) (No.

73-1672) (“Columbus Option Appeals”).

rted distinction evidences a clear misreading of the

ecb Iona opinion. The notes involved were secured by mortgage

bonds of the debtor and its affiliates, which were in turn secured

by rail properties. It is true that the face amount of the 11 *

bonds exceeded the face amount of the collateral notes and that

debtor alleged that the value of the bonds exceeded the face amount

of the notes. However, no court either found, assumed, or even in-

quired whether the notes were in fact adequately secured.

clear from the opinion that the statement quoted in the

1

The extent to which creditors’ interests may constitu-

tionally be eroded during the reorganization of a salvage-

able railroad was vividly demonstrated a decade later in

Reconstruction Finance Corp. v. Denver & Rio Grande

W.R.R., 328 U.S. 495 (1946). In that case

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.