Brief for Appellee — Aberdeen & Rockfish R. Co. v. Students Challenging Regulatory Agency Procedures (SCRAP)
Supreme Court brief1975
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
Ocroser Term, 1974
Nos. 73-1966 and 73-1971
UNITED STaTEs OF AMERICA and INTERSTATE COMMERCE
COMMISSION, Appellants
Vv.
STUDENTS CHALLENGING REGULATORY AGENCY
Procepures (8.C.R.A.P.) Ev AL.. Appellees
ABERDEEN AND RockrisH Rarroap CoMPANY, Er AL...
Appellants
Vv.
STUDENTS CHALLENGING REGULATORY AGENCY
Procepurgs (S8.C.R.A.P.) Er At... Appellees
On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia
BRIEF FOR APPELLEES NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
OF RECYCLING INDUSTRIES, INC., COMMERCIAL
METALS CoO., I. V. SUTPHIN CO. AND
FRAI’KEL BROS. & CO. INC.
Epwarp L. MERRIGAN
Attorney for Appellees
NART et al.
888 17th Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C. 20006
Press or Byron S. ADAMS Printine, Inc., WasHrncton, D. C.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
ee ee ne ee ee ee
pL RE ET ee Oe Fe eRe EY SNe
Se OED 6 k.k vdvcecntcccccussscsdécedevic
CouNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................-.
BORED ind un o6hnddencedtbedeesdhneckesésaecnéescs
I. This Court Lacks Jurisdiction Over Appellants’
Il.
Direct Appeals Under 28 U.S.C. § 1253. The
Appeals Should Therefore Be Dismissed .....
The District Court Clearly Had Jurisdiction To
Determine Whether the Commission Had Com-
plied With the National Environmental Policy
Act and To Grant Appropriate Relief When It
Found The Commission Had Not .............
III. The Commission’s Post-Mortem Environmental
IV.
Impact Statement, Drafted for the First Time
Five Months After the Commission’s Final Re-
port and Order of October 4, 1972 and There-
after Issued in Final Form Seven Months After
the Commission’s Said Final Report and Order,
Is Totally in Violation of NEPA and Is Thus
ee GD GHEE oneccccnndédesedossdsecduddus
The Commission’s Final Environmental Impact
Statement, Issued After the Commission’s
Order of Investigation of November 7, 1972,
Without a Hearing and Without the Right
of Confrontation, Is Unconstitutional and Vio-
lative of the Interstate Commerce Act, the Ad-
ministrative Procedures Act and the CEQ Guide-
lines Under the National Environmental Policy
BD 000b09000608dsene cesakecestecedseseuséss
. The Commission Has Constantly Exhibited Hos-
tility and Contempt for the Requirements of
NEPA, Both in This Case and in Other Statu-
tory Proceedings. Accordingly, the District
Court Properly Exercised Its Judicial Power To
24
ii Table of Contents Continued
Page
Review Not Only the Form of the Commission’s
Belated Asserted Compliance With NEPA in
This Case, but the Substance As Well ......... 44
VI. The Nation’s Urgent Interests in Resouree Con-
servation, Resource Recovery, Restriction of
Unnecessary Foreign Imports of Critical Mate-
rials and Energy Conservation Will All Be
Seriously Damaged If This Court Is Misled by
Some of the False Assertions Presently Ad-
vanced by Appellants in This Case. .......... 51
(1) The Commission’s Assertion That the Basic
Rate Structure For All Recyclable Com-
modities Is the Subject of Investigation
Se GPO cc ncdndecdéccnasciceéesins 51
(2) The Government’s Assertion That Constant
Rate Increases for Recyclables Are Neces-
sary Because the Railroads Are in Desper-
ate Financial Condition .................. 52
ee ee de geebeaueduansbeussewsa 54
pS Ee nr EE Ee eer la
EEE én ccudecsstbssenddeds esaesbbeossekonns 3a
TABLE OF CITATIONS
CAsEs:
Alabama Power Co. v. United States, D.C.D.C. 1969, 316
F. Supp. 337, affd. by divided court, 400 U.S. 73... 26
Algoma Coal & Coke Co. y. United States, D.C.E.D. Va.,
Bee BS Fe BU, GE occccccdcccccescoceesecces 26
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co. v, United
States, 284 U.S. 248, 262 (1932) ........cccccess 40
Baltimore & O.R.R. v. U.S., 386 U.S. 372 (1967) ...... 23
Calvert Cliffs’ Coordinating Commission v. United
States Atomic Energy Commission, 146 U.S. App.
ee 25, 26, 28, 46
City of New York v. United States, E.D.N.Y., 337 F.
Ps cittadudddacckeucanesdddiewnade 28, 44, 45
City of New York v. United States, U.S.D.C. E.D.N.Y.,
Se We ES GP Seecedccsecdsecccceseses 39
Table of Contents Continued iii
Page
Committee for Nuclear Responsibility, Inc. v. Seaborg,
_ 149 U.S. App. D.C, 380, 463 F.2d 783 ........... 25, 26
ae Columbia v. Volpe, 3 E.R.C. 1143 (D.C. Cir.
Electronic Industries Assn. v. United States, D.C. D.C.
1970, 310 F. Supp. 1286, affd. per curiam, 401
ie oe anheueses sbenndeecunnkéuedumassnnececs 26
Environmental Defense Fund vy. Corps of Engineers,
E.D. Arb., 1972, 342 F. Supp. 1211, 1214 ........ 46
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 90 S.Ct. 1011 (1970)
36,
Greene County Planning Board vy. Federal Power Com- “
mission, CCA 2, 1972, 455 F.2d 41s, cert. denied,
Se Ge CR, BS Cee ccccccoscces 28, 29, 30, 31, 38, 44, 46
Gunn v. University Committee to End the War, 399
U.S. 383, 391, 90 S. Ct. 2013 (1970) ............. 23
Harlem Valley Transportation Association et al v.
Stafford, Chairman, Interstate Commerce Com-
mission, CCA 2, 1974, 500 F.2d 328 ............ 29, 46
Hutcherson v. Lehtin, 399 U.S. 522, 90 S. Ct. 2238
DE 6udaeseanddaenddennsedeehuséudnontedane 23
Interstate Commerce Commission v. Louisville & Nash-
ville Railroad, 227 U.S. 88 (1913) .............. 37, 38
Koppers Co. vy. United States, D.C. W.D., Pa. 1955,
et is SE EP ntkducdentidcunewscanekasenans
Mitchell v. Donovan, 398 U.S. 427, 90 S. Ct. 1763, 26
Ss % § fF — Se eer rey 23
Northeast Airlines, Inc. vy. Civil Aeronautics Board,
CCA 5, 1965, 345 F.2d 484, cert. denied 382 U.S.
Sy I OU 42
Public Service Commission of Missouri vy. Brashear
Freight Lines, Inc., 306 U.S. 204, 59 S. Ct. 480, 83
i Ce CD sctecneehedecasdanddsdsdunsons 23
Rockefeller v. Catholic Medical Center, 397 U.S. 820, 90
S. Ct. 1517, 25 L.Ed. 2d 806 (1970) ............. 23
SCRAP v. United States, 346 F. Supp. 193 ..... eeeen 18
SCRAP vy, United States, 412 U.S. 669 (1973) ........ 20
SCRAP vy. United States, 371 F. Supp. 1291 ....20, 21, 22,
23, 41, 50
Sierra Club v. Froehlke, D.C. Wis., 1972, 345 F. Supp.
SEE sn endssneckocsedcdsdsedensendscsiavens 47
United States vy. Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., 406
ek HT ED kd sb bennceedduneneenevendeunad 23, 24
iv Table of Contents Continued
Page
ICC Ex Parte Rate Increase Proceepinas:
I i i iad ee ee ela 51, 52
Ex Se SO EE peda sevusvacdéeukenks 2, 17, 18, 19, 20,
24, 27, 31, 35, 45
oo agi che i vee 6 eas wees 7
I A a re 6, 7,8
SN i a oe 03
STATUTES:
Administrative Procedure Act:
5 USC, Section 554(a)(c) ........cccccccccecs 40, 41, 42
EE eee ccc eb Lica cepa cuneuuued 40, 41, 42
en ale ie ee ee 40, 41, 42
EE Er eee manne le 41
Interstate Commerce Act:
Section 15(7), 49 USC § 15(7) ............ 2, 3, 26, 40, 54
National Environmental Policy Act:
Section 101 et seq., 42 USC § 4331 et seq. .......... 2
Section 162(2)(c), 42 USC § 4332 (2) (e) ....... 2, 3, 16
ad ar NN a 2, 22, 23, 24
Sa I ar sa ara ee 25
EE AY Pony Prom e nm nts 15
Supreme Court, 57 FRD 573 aS 24
Council on Environmental Quality Guidelines, 40 CFR,
§§ 1500.7(d), 1500.14, January 28,1973 ......... 40, 43
MISCELLANEOUS:
Mandate of the National Environmental Policy Act:
The Preparation of Environmental Impact State-
ments, 41 Journal of the Bar Association of the
District of Columbia, No. 1, January-June, 1974 .. 29
Federal Maritime Commission Docket 72-35, Pacific
Westbound Conference—Waste Paper and Wood-
pulp Investigation, Record .................... 10
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OcToBER TERM, 1974
Nos. 73-1966 and 73-1971
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and INTERSTATE COMMERCE
COMMISSION, Appellants
Vv.
STUDENTS CHALLENGING REGULATORY AGENCY
Procepures (8.C.R.A.P.) Er Ax., A ppellees
ABERDEEN AND ROCKFISH RAILROAD Company, Er AL.,
Appellants
Vv.
STUDENTS CHALLENGING REGULATORY AGENCY
ProcepurES (8.C.R.A.P.) Er At., Appellees
On Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia
BRIEF FOR APPELLEES NATIONAL ASSOCIATION
OF RECYCLING INDUSTRIES, INC., COMMERCIAL
METALS CO., I. V. SUTPHIN CO. AND
FRANKEL BROS. & CO. INC.
2
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the three-judge district court is
reported at 3871 F. Supp. 1291. The Interstate ‘“om-
merece Commission’s opinion and order issued October
4, 1972 is reported at 341 LC.C. 290. The Com-
mission’s final environmental impact statement in Er
Parte 281 is reported at 346 LC.C. 88. The Commis-
sion’s order of May 2, 1973 is not reported, but can be
found in Appendix E to the Government’s Jurisdie-
tional Statement in this case.
JURISDICTION
Appellees contend this Court has no jurisdiction
over the two direct appeals here involved under the
provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 1253, and they urge the Court
to reconsider appellees’ earlier motion to dismiss for
lack of direct appellate jurisdiction.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1, Whether appellants are entitled, under 28
U.S.C, § 1253, to maintain a direct appeal to this Court
from a district court order which refused to grant
injunctive relief and where no appeals have been taken
by those who were denied injunctive relief.
2. Whether the district court had jurisdietion to
review orders issued by the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission under 49 U.S.C, §15(7) in response to com-
plaints alleging that said orders violated provisions of
another federal statute, the National Environmental
Policy Act (NEPA), 42 U.S.C. § 4331 et seq.
5. Whether the Interstate Commerce Commission,
which has an established record of adamantly refusing
3
to comply with the plain requirements of Section
102(2)(C) of the National Environmental Poliey Act
(NEPA), 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C), may lawfully ignore
those statutory directives by arbitrarily failing and
refusing to prepare any acceptable or sustainable En-
vironmental Impact Statement prior to the rendition
of its final decision and order in a nationwide freight
‘ate Increase proceeding, wherein it expressly approved
another across-the-board, unreasonable, diserimina-
tory, pyramidie increase in transportation rates for
recyclable wastepaper, textiles and scrap metal.
4. Whether the Interstate Commerce Commission
may lawfully defeat and cireumvent the plain require-
ments of Section 102(2)(C) of NEPA by waiting until
several months after it has already rendered a final de-
cision and order in a nationwide freight rate increase
proceeding, wherein it expressly approved another
across-the-board increase in transportation rates for
recyclable commodities, to prepare for the first time, a
post-mortem Environmental Impact Statement, the sole
purpose of which is to rationalize, nune pro tune, the
rate increase theretofore approved seven months be-
fore.
Dd. Whether the Interstate Commerce Commission,
which is obliged by Section 15(7) of the Interstate
Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C, § 15(7), to hold meaningful
hearings to determine the ‘“/awfulness’’ of proposed
rate increases, may properly issue a final order approv-
ing such rate increases and only thereafter consider
the “lawfulness” of such approved increases under the
National Environmental Policy Act in post-decision
proceedings that flatly deny the right to any hearing on
the new issues thus belatedly raised.
t
6. Whether in a case of this nature where the Com-
mission has constantly exhibited hostility to the require-
ments of the National Environmental Policy Act, the
district court properly exercised its judicial power to
review not only the form of the Commission’s alleged,
belated compliance with NEPA, but the substance of
that alleged compliance as well; and where the court
found the Commission's alleged compliance to be seri-
ously inadequate or capricious, was it proper for the
court to remand the case to the Commission for further
administrative proceedings consistent with the court’s
decree.
COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Appellee National Association of Reeveling Indus-
tries, Inc. (NARI) is the trade association for the
wastepaper, textile and non-ferrous metals recycling in-
dustries. NARI intervened as a plaintiff in the ease
below to represent the interests of its 700 members, all
of whom engage in the collection, processing or manu-
facturing utilization of the aforementioned recyclable
commodities.
Appellees Commercial Metals Co. of Dallas, Texas,
[.V. Sutphin Co. of Cincinnati, Ohio, and Frankel Bros.
& Co. Ine. of Rochester, New York also intervened as
plaintiffs in the district court. Each is engaged in the
recyeling of solid waste materials which, if not so
utilized, would have been burned, buried or otherwise
disposed at publie expense, with obvious adverse effects
on the environment; and all, of course, use the nation’s
railroads to ship recyclable commodities.
Recyclable wastepaper utilized by NARI’s member-
ship competes with virgin pulpwood or woodpulp in the
nation’s paper and boxboard manufacturing industries.
5)
Similarly, reeyelable non-ferrous metals (aluminum,
copper, lead, zine, etc.) and virgin non-ferrous ores and
concentrates are competing raw materials in metal man-
ufacturing, while recyclable textiles compete with vir-
gin fibers throughout the textile manufacturing indus-
try. By and large, these competing virgin and reeyel-
able commodities are interchangeable in manufactur-
ing processes, and where they are not completely sub-
stitutable, manufacturers use one as a supplement for
the other to produce various types and grades of goods
and products. 4
Almost without exception, the virgin commodities in
each of the industries mentioned above are able to de-
mand raw material prices far in excess of those manu-
facturers are willing to pay for competing recyclable
counterparts. Pulpwood or woodpulp, for example, is
typically sold at prices far higher that those simultane-
ously paid for competing wastepaper, and the same
situation applies to competing sales of virgin ores and
recyclable scrap, and those involving virgin and re-
cyclable textiles.
Thus, from the very outset, one is tempted automa-
tically to conclude that certainly the high-priced virgin
commodities must be paying higher transportation
‘ates than those exacted for the movement of compet-
ing, low-priced recyclable commodities. | Unfortu-
nately, however, the record in this case demonstrates
that this is not true. On the contrary, the record before
this Court shows that the railroad freight rate system
administered by the Interstate Commerce Commission,
in partnership with the nation’s railroads, has created
an abominable, incongruous situation where environ-
mentally-charged, low-priced recyclable commodities
have been compelled, for a long period of years, to pay
6
rates far higher than these charged for the transporta-
tion of competing virgin commodities, and that the
situation is getting worse with each passing year. In
this connection, the record shows: '
Rate Increase Case Year ©) Inerease
Ex Parte 281 1972 2.5°. surcharge,
_ plus 3%
Pulp v. Wastepaper
(1) In 1959, the average nationwide rates
eharged by the railroads for the transportation of
competing pulp and wastepaper were:
Pulp l7.4¢ per ewt,
Wastepaper dloe per ewt.
Net Difference: 13.9¢ per ewt. in favor
of virgin pulp.
(2) By 1971, as a result of © rate increases
sought by the railroads and approved by the Com-
mission in a series of Ex Purte proceedings, the
average nationwide rates for the transportation of
these two commodities had changed as follows:
Pulp 24.4¢ per ewt.
Wastepaper 43.06 per ewt.
Net Ditterence: 18.6¢ per ewt. in favor
of virgin pulp.
(3) Since 1971, the railroads have continued
to seek, and the Commission has either approved
or is in the process of studying, the following addi-
tional © rate increases for the transportation of
these competing commodities (in some cases, how-
ever, pulp was expressly exempted from any in-
crease Whatsoever) :
* See Commission's Environmental Impact Statement, Ex Parte
251, App. 146, 147.
Ex Parte 295, Sub. 1 1973 3%
Ex Parte 299 1974 2.8%
Ex Parte 303 1974 33° plus 10%?
Ex Parte 310 1975 7%*
When and if the two last mentioned ©; increases
go into effect as have the others mentioned above,
the competitive trausportation situation for com-
peting pulp and wastepaper will be as follows, on
an average nationwide rate basis:
Pulp s0¢ per ewt.
Wastepaper d8¢ per ewt.
Net Difference: 28¢ per ewt. in favor
of virgin pulp.
Non-Ferrous Ores y. Metal Scrap
The picture is very much the same for competing
non-ferrous ores or concentrates and metal scrap. The
record before the Court demonstrates that—
(i) In 1959, the virgin ores enjoyed a favor-
able 13.3¢ per ewt. average nationwide rate differ-
ential ;
(ii) By 1971, the differential in favor of the
virgin commodity had grown to 17.7¢ per ewt.; and
(iii) In 1975, the differential in favor of the
virgin commodity will expand to 34¢ per ewt., when
*The Commission authorized the railroads to put the 10% in-
crease into effect by individual tariff filings, and the railroads, as
a group, are now proceeding to put the increase into effect.
*The railroads’ application is now before the Commission for
action.
8
and if the Ev Parte 305 and 310 inereases are put
into effect as aforesaid.’
The severe adverse impact of these constantly-ex-
panding rate disparities on the ability of recyclable
commodities to compete with their virgin competitors In
the marketplace is not fully understood until one real-
izes, as conceded by the Government in its brief,® that
(a) transportation costs often far exceed the price paid
for low-value recyclable wastepaper, textiles and serap,
and (b) manufacturing plants are traditionally lo-
eated much nearer to the mines and forests where vir-
gin commodities are found than to the large metropoli-
tan areas where wastepaper, reevelable cans and textiles
are collected from the solid waste stream—meaning, of
course, that longer travel distances necessarily impose
greater transportation costs, at disproportionately
higher rates, on the competing recyelable materials.
This explains in large part, therefore, why our na-
tional recveling rates have actually declined in recent
vears and are threatened with further deterioration.
Statisties compiled by the Environmental Protection
Agency and made available to the Commission demon-
strate that the following national recycling rates inter
via are already dangerously low—
Current Reeveling
Commodities Rates
Textiles 4°
Zine 13%
Aluminum 18%
Wastepaper 19%
‘Similar inexplicable rate disparities exist in favor of virgin
textile fibers, which, as aforesaid, compete with recyclable textile
materials.
®> See Government's brief, pg. 30.
6 ee
|
9
In wastepaper, for example, the EPA statisties show
that, as recently as 1952, our national recycling rate
was 27‘; and that in other countries such as Japan, the
present recycling rate is far higher. Moreover, while
our recycling rates have been declining, the national
production of solid waste materiais has been dramat-
ically increasing. In textiles, EPA warns that while
the recycling rate is an almost meaningless 4°, the
production of textiles in this country will increase from
10 billion pounds in 1970 to 15 billion pounds in 1980,
The same statistics, which were available to the Com-
mission in this case, demonstrate that, in paper, the na-
tional production in 1969 was 58.5 million tons, less than
20% of which was recycled, leaving more than 42 mil-
lion tons to be burned or buried. By 1980, EPA and
the paper industry itself project that the consumption
of paper in the United States will grow to 80 million
tons a year, and that unless the current recyeling rate
of only 19°; is significantly increased, rather than de-
creased, our nation is in danger of being buried in its
own undisposed, unreeyeled trash.*
Simultaneously, of course, other agencies of the Fed-
eral Government have repeatedly warned the Congress
and the President that our nation is also in danger of
exhausting its supplies of precious ores and pulp in the
vears ahead, and that unless we reduce our voracious
industrial consumption of these virgin materials, we
will be forced to depend on foreign imports, particul-
®See also 1970 Report to Congress, President’s Council on En-
vironmental Quality, pgs. 105-108; June 1, 1972 Report to the
President, Citizens’ Advisory Committee on Environmental Qual-
ity; March, 1973 Report to EPA by National League of Cities-U.S.
Conference of Mayors, entitled ‘‘Cities and the Nation’s Disposal
Crisis."’
10
arly in metals—and, of course, increased dependence on
imports submits the United States to new foreign sour-
ces of cartel pricing and commodity embargoes, as well
as serious damage to our already strained balance of
payments position.’ In 1973, the Director of EPA’s
Office of Solid Waste Management deseribed the situa-
tion in pulp, in sworn testimony as follows:°
‘The U.S. Forest Service has predicted that by
the vear 2,000 a shortage of 20 billion board feet
of softwood saw timber will exist. ... The short-
age would reach 10 billion board feet by 1980.
1 million tons of wastepaper recycled saves 1.4
billion board feet of timber, which could to some
extent be used to offset this projected timber short-
age....
‘The land commitment required to produce an
annual timber growth sufficient to vield 1 million
tons of pulp per vear is roughly 2.5 million aeres.
‘**Each ton of paper reeyeled would allow land to
he used for other purposes, such as lumber pro-
duction or for a non-forestry function, such as ree-
reation.”’
7 See 1970 Report to Congress, President’s Council on Environ-
mental Quality, pg. 158; June 1973 Final Report to the Presi-
dent and the Congress, The National Commission on Materials
Policy: 1973 Report to Congress. Environmental Protection
Agency; March, 1973 Report to EPA by National League of
Cities-T.S, Conference of Mayors, entitled ‘‘Cities and the Nation’s
Disposal Crisis’: April 5, 1973 Report of The Couneil of State
Governments, entitled ** The States’ Roles in Solid Waste Manage-
ment’*; May 21, 1973 issue of Newsweek magazine, which stated:
‘‘As Government officials and environmentalists search for ways
to cut the drain on the nation’s natural resources, their thoughts
turn increasingly to recycling.’’
* Federal Maritime Commission Docket 72-35, Pacific Westbound
Conference--Waste Paper and Woodpulp Investigation, Record,
654-655.
NS Ee at et a ON OR a At
11
Similarly, in metals, the U.S. Geological Survey, in
a publication entitled ‘*United States Mineral Re-
sourees’’ (U.S. Geological Survey Paper No. 820
1973), geographically illustrated the dangerous ten-
deney of growing U.S. dependence on foreign basic
raw materials. In summary, the Survey reported that,
of the 13 basic industrial raw materials required, the
U.S. in 1950 was dependent on imports for more than
\% of its supplies of four — aluminum, manganese,
nickel and tin; by 1970, the list had increased to Sir,
as zine and chromium were added; by 1985, the U.S.
will depend on imports for more than 1 of its supplies
of nine basic raw materials—ak Tead and tungsten are
added to the list; and by the end of the century, our
country will depend on foreign sources for more than
14 of its supply of each of the 13 raw materials except
phosphate. (See also Geological Survey Circular No.
698, entitled ‘‘Mineral Resources: Potentials and
Problems’’)
Faced with these gloomy predictions, the Deputy As-
sistant Secretary of the Interior for Mineral Resources,
described the ultimate financial implications for the
United States in this manner: °
‘‘In the case of metals, the forecast indicates a
continuing rapid rise in demand, but at the same
time, a very small increase in supply from domes-
tie sources,
‘This results in a forecast that, in metals, reli-
ance on foreign sources will increase from Five
Billion in 1970 to an annual level of Sixteen Bil-
lion Dollars by 1985 and to a staggering Thirty-
Six Billion Dollars by the year 2000.
‘‘And that is what can happen unless something
is done.’’
***Minerals In The Future,’’ June 16, 1973 by Dep. Asst. Seere-
tary of the Interior Rigg; See also May 21, 1973 issue of News-
week Magazine.
12
Finally, in the vitally important energy area, the
Atomie Energy Commission and EPA conducted sepa-
rate studies which proved that industrial utilization
of recyclable commodities in place of competing virgin
materials results in vast savings of precious oil and gas.
In a report entitled ‘‘Energy In Solid Waste,”’ issued
in early 1975, the President’s Advisory Committee on
Environmental Quality stated, at page 5:
‘From an energy conservation point of view, the
... recycling of paper requires /ess than one-third
of the fossil fuel energy needed to make paper from
primary sourees. If, as EPA’s Second Report to
Congress indicates, it is technically possible to re-
cover half of the 70°, of the mixed wastepaper,
the recycling of this portion (13.7 million tons)
plus the 11.7 million tens of the easily separable
items could mean a fossil fuel energy saving equiv-
alent to 2.4 billion gallons of gasoline per year.
This exceeds the fuel energy equivalent of 2.2 bil-
lion gallons of gasoline that could be produced an-
nually by burning the same amount of trash paper.
... Thus, the reeyeling of paper—as opposed to
burning—would produce a net energy benefit of
about 200 million gallons of gasoline, enough to
drive 270,000 cars 10,000 miles a year at a rate of
13.3 miles per gallon.” (Italies supplied.)
In the metals area, the President’s Committee re-
ported, at page 7:
‘*... reeyeled aluminum requires /ess than 3°
of the energy needed to produce aluminum from
hauxite ore. Recycled steel requires less than half
the energy needed to produce steel from virgin ore.
When it is assumed that about 70% of the alumi-
num and 90°; of the steel in the 1971 National
Trash Can could be recovered, these factors trans-
late to a potential recycling energy equivalent sav-
rent cise nd < 5 peek ok eh Te en
13
ing of 226.5 trillien BTU’s or 1.8 billion gallons
of gasoline—enough to make nearly 7 million one-
way car trips per year from New York to San
Francisco on the basis of 13.3 miles per gallon.”’
(Italies supplied.)
Considering all of these divergent factors of urgent
national interest, it is hardly surprising that there has
been a mounting clamor from all levels of Federal,
State, and local government calling upon the Inter-
state Commerce Commission immediately to eliminate
the outrageous disparity in freight rates for the trans-
portation of recyclable commodities—and in each ease,
the Commission has been urged not to license any fur-
ther “ rate increases until the basie disparities here-
inabove described have been eliminated. In its June,
1972 Report to the President, his Citizens’ Advisory
Committee on Environmental Quality, chaired by
Laurence Rockefeller, stated, at pages 33-41:
‘Solid waste problems have become staggering.
There are few environmentally effective ways to
handle it. In a very short time urban areas will
have run out of landfill sites. ... Large-scale, low-
cost incineration which does not contribute to air
pollution is not yet available. ...
“*Freight Rates
‘Traditionally, freight rates established by the
Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) for the
most part discourage recycling. ... (T)hey work
against recovery of solid waste. ...
‘*. .. In our 1971 Report, the Committee ree-
ommended that ICC initiate comprehensive reme-
dial action as soon as possible. We urge prompt
further action.”’
14
Similarly, in its March, 1973 report entitled ‘‘Cities
and the Nation’s Disposal Crisis,’ the U.S. Confer-
ence of Mayors states (at page 1-21):
‘The disposal of wastes and the conservation of
resources are two of the greatest problems to be
understood and solved by this nation in the latter
third of the century....
‘Recycling and resource recovery as a solution
is potentially the most environmentally cost effee-
tive and responsible approach. .. .
‘Discriminatory freight rates are . . . contrib-
uting te a disadvantaged marketing position for
recycled solid wastes. ... Before secondary mate-
rials handlers can buy and sell recycled municipal
wastes in a competitive market and before cities
can attempt rail haul of wastes to distant sites for
major land reclamation efforts, rate adjustments
must be made. Since regulatory rates of the In-
terstate Commerce Commission have exacerbated
the unfavorable economics of waste transport, fed-
eral action is required.”’
An almost identical position was expressed by The
Council of State Governments in its April 5, 1973 Re-
port entitled ‘*The States’ Roles In Solid Waste Man-
agement,’’ at pages 41-44, where it is stated:
“Freight Rates
‘*A substantial difference in freight rates
charged by rail carriers exists between virgin raw
materials and reeycled materials. ... Therefore,
freight rates established hy the Interstate Com-
merece Commission should be set in a manner that
does not give an advantage to either type of mate-
rial through set tariff charges.”’
In June, 1973, The National Commission on Mate-
rials Policy, established by Congress and appointed by
ee
15
the President under Title IT of the Resource Recovery
Act of 1970, P.L. 91-512, issued its final report to the
President and the Congress, in which it too coneluded,
at pages 4D17, 18:
‘Rail freight rates are an important factor in
the economics of recycling. Transportation costs
are a large percentage of the total cost of using
some secondary materials. Often they determine
whether recycling can be profitable. Certain rail-
road freight rates appear to discriminate against
secondary materials in favor of virgin mate-
rials....
‘*Cost data available .. . indicate obvious dis-
crimination against scrap. Two different studies,
one published by the ICC and the other by the
Department of Transportation, show that shippers
of scrap materials pay freight rates that more than
cover the full costs of transportation service re-
ceived. Shippers of virgin materials often do not.
“We recommend that... the Federal Govern-
ment take the necessary steps to correct the exist-
ing freight rate differentials between secondary
and primary materials,”
More particularly, in Ex Parte 281, the case now be-
fore this Court, the President’s Council on Environ-
mental Quality, the Environmental Protection Agency,
the Departments of Commerce and Interior and the
General Services Administration all appeared to urge
the Interstate Commerce Commission not to grant any
further % increases in the existing rates for recyclable
commodities until the Commission first eliminates the
basic disparities in rates for competing virgin and re-
eyclable materials. Indeed, these agencies and appel-
lee NARI have been appearing in various ICC Ez
Parte rate increase proceedings since 1968 to assert
16
that same position, but the Commission repeatedly
turned a deaf ear and continued, as hereinabove dem-
onstrated, to raise the rates on recyclables in such a
manner that the net disparities in rates for competing
virgin and reeyelable commodities have automatically
been exacerbated and expanded beyond the limits of
reasonable explanation or understanding.
In 1969, while the Commission was proceeding in the
manner just described, Congress passed the National
Environmental Policy Act (42 U.S.C. § 4521 et seq.).
That statute states, at 42 U.S.C. § 4331(b):
‘*(b) In order to carry out the policy set forth
in this chapter, it is the continuing responsibility
of the Federal Government to use all practicable
means, cousistent with other essential considera-
tions of national policy, to improve and coordinate
Federal planus, functions, programs, and resources
to the end that the Nation mav—....
(6) enhance the quality of renewable re-
sources and approach the maximum attainable
recycling of depletable resources.”
Section 102 of NEPA (42 U.S.C. § 4332) thereupon
provides:
‘The Congress authorizes and directs that, to the
fullest extent possible:
‘“*(1) the policies, regulations, and publie
laws of the United States shall be interpreted
and administered in accordance with the policies
set forth in this chapter, and
**(2) all agencies of the Federal Govern-
ment shall—...
*“(C) include in every recommendation
or report on... major Federal actions sig-
17
nificantly affecting the quality of the human
environment, a detailed statement by the re-
sponsible official on—
(i) the environmental impact of the
proposed action,
(ii) any adverse, environmental effects
which cannot be avoided should the proposal
be implemented,
(iii) alternatives to the proposed ac-
tion,
(iv) the relationship between local
short-term uses of man’s environment and
the maintenance and enhancement of long-
term productivity, and
(v) any irreversible and irretrievable
commitments of resourees which would be
involved in the proposed action should it be
implemented.
‘*Prior to making any detailed statement, the
responsible Federal official shall consult with and
obtain the comments of any Federal ageney which
has jurisdiction by law or special expertise with
respect to the environmental impact involved.
Copies of such statement and the comments and
views of the appropriate Federal, State, and loeal
agencies, Which are authorized to develop and en-
force environmental standards, shall be made avail-
able to the President, the Council on Environ-
mental Quality and to the public... and shall ae-
company the proposal through the existing agency
review processes.”’
Accordingly, when the railroads filed an application
in late 1971 in Ex Parte 281—Increased Freight Rates
and Charges, 1972 requesting permission to add
another 2.5°% surcharge to the existing freight rates
for recyclable commodities, the original plaintiffs in
SE a a
18
this case (S.C.R.A.P.) demanded that the Commission
fully comply with the mandates of the new statute
NEPA before any detinitive action was taken on the
‘ailroads’ latest ‘, rate increase proposal. The Com-
mission, however, in line with the myopic attitude
toward environmental issues it had repeatedly exhib-
ited prior to the enactment of NEPA, failed to pre-
pare any draft or final Environmental Impact State-
ment as required by Section 102(2)(C)(2), and on
February 1, 1972, it issued a blunt order approving
the proposed 2.5°, surcharge, in which it simply
eoneluded (See 346 F. Supp. 193) :
‘the involved general increase will have no
significant adverse effect on... the quality of the
human environment within the meaning of the
Knuvironmental Policy Act of 1949.”
The railroads thereafter filed a further request in
Ex Parte 281 for another permanent ‘; rate inerease
of 4.1°7, such increase to become effective no earlier
than May 1, 1972. In the meantime, S.C.R.A.P. and
others were engaged in negotiations with the Commis-
sion in an effort to secure compliance with NEPA. On
February 8, 1972, S.C.LR.A.P. and 1CC entered into
a ‘‘Memorandum of Understanding’? whereby
S.C.R.A.P. agreed not to seek an injunction against
the Commission’s February 1 order in exehange for
ICC’s promise to ‘tissue a draft environmental state-
ment in accordance with the requirements of NEPA
and... otherwise to comply with the requirements of
the Act in Ex Parte 281.” (See 346 F. Supp. 193.)
In response to this pressure from S8.C.R.A.P. and
other appellees in this case, the Commission did issue
a six-page document called a ‘Draft Environmental
19
Impact Statement’’ on March 6, 1972. The Nature of
this draft statement, upon which the Commission now
relies so heavily in the Government’s brief before this
Court, was described by the district court, as follows
in its July 10, 1972 decision in this case (See 346 F.
Supp. 193, 194):
‘The Commission has never adequately ex-
plained why it bothered to prepare a draft state-
ment premised on facts it knew to be false, and
the reason why the ICC finds itself with the re-
sources necessary to prepare draft statements on
false hypotheses while it is assertedly without re-
sourees to prepare impact statements as required
by NEPA based on real facts remains one of the
enduring mysteries of this case.”
In any event, the extremely brief draft statement
prepared by the Commission in March, 1972 aimlessly
concluded (346 F. Supp. 194) :
‘*. .. it is impossible at this point in the investi-
gation to assess with any certainty the environ-
mental impact of assessment of, or failure to assess,
a surcharge on various recyclable commodities. ”’
The Commission thus allowed the 2.5‘. surcharge
to remain in effect allegedly without any knowledge
of the impact that action might have on the recyclables
involved, but it did solemnly promise the district court
a detailed final impact statement would be filed before
a final order was issued regarding the proposed per-
manent rate increases '’-—a promise it later broke, as
hereinbelow set forth.
At this point in the Av Parte 281 proceedings, ap-
pellee S.C.R.A.P. commenced the instant action. The
various legal proceedings that subsequently ensued are
See 346 F. Supp. 194.
20
detailed in this Cowrt’s earlier opinion in this case
reported at 412 U.S. 669 (1973). Indeed, while this
case was before this Court on the earlier appeal, the
Commission also promised the Chief Justice that it was
developing an impact statement under NEPA, and
that same would be issued before the final rate deci-
sion in Er Parte 281 was announced—but the Commis-
sion thereafter procecded likewise to ignore and violate
that further undertaking to this Court (See 371 F.
Supp. 1291, 1294). In fact, vo statement was prepared
for distribution to the parties or for consideration by
the Commission before the Commission issued its final
report in Ev Parte 281 on October 4, 1972, in which it,
approved the additional permanent rate increases for
the transportation of recyclables requested by the rail-
roads (See 371 F. Supp. 1294).
Once again, without the preparation of a NEPA
statement, the Commission arbitrarily concluded, in its
final report of October 4, 1972, that the new approved
% increases on recyclables ‘*would not significantly
affect the quality of the human environment”? (See 371
F. Supp. 1294). The Commission thus asserted (See
371 F. Supp. 1294)—
“there is thus no necessity for a formal impact
statement.”’
The Commission’s failure to prepare a NEPA state-
ment provoked vehement protestations from the Presi-
dent’s Council on Environmental Quality, the Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency, and appellees (See 371
F. Supp. 1294). CEQ, in its letter to the Commission,
felt that the Commission’s action was totally ‘‘unre-
sponsive to the language of our NEPA guidelines”
(See 371 F. Supp. 1294, ftn. 8).
21
Appellee SCRAP thereupon filed a motion for in-
junctive relief against the Commission. On the same
day, November 7, 1972, the Commission suddenly
shifted its position, and suspended until June, 1973,
the already-approved rate increases on reeyelables
(See 371 F. Supp. 1294). The Commission thereupon
announced that it intended to conduet a post-mortem
proceeding for the “limited purpose of further evalu-
ating ... the environmental effects of increased rail-
road freight rates and charges on .. . commodities
being transported for the purpose of reeyeling’’ (See
371 F. Supp. 1294).
On March 5, 1975, 5 months after the Commission
issued its final report of October 4, 1972 approving the
new rate increase on recyclables, the Commission finally
issued its post-mortem draft environmental impact
statement now before the Court in this ease.
Although numerous Executive agencies and depart-
ments, including EPA, CEQ, GSA, and the Depart-
ments of Commerce and Interior, filed extensive com-
ments that were highly critical of the Commission’s
draft statement and the arbitrary conclusions therein
contained, the Commission, on May 7, 1973, 7 months
after it issued its final report of October 4, 1972 ap-
proving the new rate increase for reevelables, issued
another post-mortem order whieh adopted the draft
impact statement theretofore issued without substan-
tial change (371 F. Supp. 1295).
Appellees thereupon filed motions for summary
judgment in the pending court proceedings, which
the district court granted on February 19, 1974.
The court vacated the Commission’s post-mortem
order of May, 1973 which put the previously-approved
EE SO
22
rate increases into effect, and it remanded the
ease to the Commission ‘‘for fulfillment of its NEPA
obligations”. The district court then proceeded to
rule (371 F. Supp. 1293):
‘*However, because of our uncertainty concerning
the meaning of the Supreme Court’s decision last
term in Atchison, Topeka d Santa Fe R. Co, V.
Wichita Bourd of Trade, 412 U.S. 800 (1973), we
refrain from issuing an injunction restraining the
railroads from collecting the increased rates pend-
ing the Conumission’s reconsideration,”
Appellant railroads and the Government appealed.
Injunctive relief having been completely denied, how-
ever, shippers of recyclable commodities have been
forced to pay another $8 to 10 million a year sinee
June, 1973 in new, arbitrary rate increases while this
case has proceeded through the courts.
ARGUMENT
I.
This Court Lacks Jurisdiction Over Appellants’ Direct Appeals
Under 28 U.S.C. § 1253. The Appeals Should Therefore
Be Dismissed.
soth Government appellants and railroad appellants
rely exclusively on 28 U.S.C. § 1253 to support their
direct appeals to this Court from the district court’s
judgment of February 19, 1974." But, 28 U.S.C.
§ 1253 allows direct appeals to this Court on/y from
judgments ‘‘granting or denying ... an interlocutory
or permanent injunction”’,
These two appeals, however, are not appeals ‘from
an order granting or denying... an... injunction’’.
See Government's brief, pg. 2; railroads’ brief, pg. 2.
23
While the district court did deny an injunction which
had been sought by appellees (371 F. Supp. 1307-10),
appellees have not perfected appeals from that denial.
Appellants, on the other hand, having clearly pre-
vailed on the injunction issue below so that the
railroads are still collecting the new rate increase
of $10 million a year authorized by the Commis-
sion, have no standing to appeal from that mas-
sive victory (Public Service Commission of Mis-
sourt V. Brashear Freight Lines, Inc., 306 U.S.
204, 59 S. Ct. 480, 83 L.Ed. 608 (1939); Gunn
v. University Committee To End The War, 399
U.S. 383, 391, 90'S. Ct. 2013 (1970); Rockefeller v.
Catholic Medical Center, 397 U.S. 820, 90 S. Ct. 1517,
25 L. Ed. 2d 806 (1970). In this case, the district
court expressly ruled (371 F. Supp. 1291, 1293) :
‘o.. (Woe refrain from issuing an injunction
restraining the railroads from collecting the in-
creased rates pending the Commission's reconsid-
eration.”’
Patently, therefore, both direct appeals to this Court
must be dismissed for lack of jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 1253 (Public Service Commission Vv. Brashear
Freight Lines, supra; llutcherson v. Lehtin, 399 US.
522, 90 S. Ct. 2238 (1969); Mitchell v. Donovan, 398
U.S. 427, 90 S. Ct. 1763, 26 L. Ed. 2d 378 (1970).
The two cases upon which appellants rely to support
their jurisdictional claims are plainly inapposite be-
cause, contrary to the situation here, both involved
appeals from orders granting or denying an injunction.
Baltimore & O. RR. v. ULS., 386 U.S. 372 (1967) in-
volved an appeal by losing parties who had sought an
injunction which was denied by the court below. United
States v. Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., 406 U.S. 742
24
(1972), in turn, involved two cases, one in which an
appealing party requested injunctive relief that was
denied, and the other in which the Interstate Com-
merce Commission opposed an injunction that had been
granted by the district court.
Appellants have continuously contended that cases
involving LCC actions should be placed in some sort of
‘special category’, so that direct appeals to this Court
should be allowed under 28 U.S.C. § 1253 even in eases
where no injunctive relief is present. The short answer
to that claim is found in the recent Report of the Study
Group on the Caseload of the Supreme Court, which
stated at 57 F.R.D. 573, 597 (1972) :
“Since many ICC cases are not of sufficient im-
portance to require review by the Supreme Court,
it is clear that the unique treatment of ICC orders
is a burden on the Supreme Court that can no
longer be justified.”
Here, therefore, the direct appeals, which have no
foundation whatsoever umder 28 U.S.C. § 1253, should
plainly be dismissed.
II.
The District Court Clearly Had Jurisdiction To Determine
Whether the Commission Had Complied With the National
Environmental Policy Act and To Grant Appropriate Re-
lief When It Found the Commission Had Not.
Railroad appellants speciously argue that the district
court lacked jurisdietion to determine whether the
Interstate Commerce Commission properly complied
with NEPA in Ev Parte 281. Government appellants
seemingly do wot join in that contention.
In any event, it is perfectly clear that the district
court did possess the necessary jurisdiction. Indeed,
:
;
:
|
;
>
’
25
when this case was last here in 1973, this Court seem-
ingly readily agreed that (93 8. Ct. 2420)—
‘*. .. there is general judicial power to determine
if an ageney has complied with NEPA, and to
grant equitable relief if it has not.’’
At that time, this Court appeared to cite with ap-
proval the earlier holdings of the Cireuit Court of Ap-
peals for the District of Columbia in Calvert Cliffs’
Coordinating Committee v. United States Atomic En-
ergy Commission, 146 U.S. App. D.C. 33, 449 F.2d 1109
and Committee for Nuclear Responsibility, Ine. v. Sea-
borg, 149 U.S. App. D.C. 380, 463 F.2d 783, wherein it
was ruled that district courts have full jurisdiction to
determine if federal agencies have complied with
NEPA, and to grant effective relief when such com-
pliance was either lacking or inadequate. In this re-
gard, this Court stated, at 93S. Ct. 2420:
“Calvert Cliffs’ held that a federal court had
power to review rules promulgated by the Atomic
Energy Commission, and there the court ordered
further consideration of the rules on the ground
there had not been compliance with NEPA. In
Committee for Nuclear Responsibility it was held
that federal courts had jurisdiction to consider
whether an executive decision to conduct a nuclear
test had satisfied the procedural requirements of
NEPA...”
Moreover, there can be no question about the statu-
tory jurisdiction of the district court to review orders of
the Interstate Commerce Commission. 28 U.S.C. 1336
states:
‘Except as otherwise provided by Act of Congress,
the district courts shall have jurisdiction of any
civil action to enforce, enjoin, set aside, annul or
suspend, in whole or in part, any order of the In-
terstate Commerce Commission.’”’
26
Appellants, of course, have pointed to no Act of
Congress which deprived the district court of jurisdic-
tion in cases of this kind. On the contrary, through the
National Environmental Policy Act, Congress has ac-
tually provided an additional, separate basis for
such jurisdiction over cases of this nature (Calvert
Cliffs’, supra; Committee for Nuclear Respousibility,
supra; City of New York vy. United States, ED. N.Y...
337 F. Supp. 150).
For these reasons, therefore, cases such as Algoma
Coal & Coke Co vy. United States, DC, ELD. Va., 1935,
11 F. Supp. 487, Koppers Co. v. United States, D.C.
W.D., Pa. 1955, 132 F. Supp. 159, Alabama Power Co.
v. United States, D.C. D.C. 1969, 316 F. Supp. 337,
affd. by divided court, 400 U.S. 73, and Electronic Tn-
dustries Assn. Vv. United States, D.C. D.C. 1970, 510
F. Supp. 1286. affd. per curiam, 401 U.S. 967, wpon
whieh the railroads rely so heavily, are totally inap-
posite. None of those cases involved NEPA, or a com-
plaint that the Commission had completely failed to
comply with a separate federal statute (NEPA) in its
proceedings under Section 15(7) of the Interstate
Commerce Act.
Il.
The Commission’s Post-Mortem Environmental Impact State-
ment, Drafted for the First Time Five Months After the
Commission's Final Report and Order of October 4, 1972
and Thereafter Issued in Final Form Seven Months After
the Commission's Said Final Report and Order, Is Totally
in Violation of NEPA and Is Thus Null and Void.
On October 4, 1972, after the conclusion of statutory
hearings under the Interstate Commerce Act on April
20, 1972, the Commission issued its final statutory
ee eee
27
report and order in Ev Parte 281, Increased Freight
Rates and Charges, 1972, 341 LC.C. 288. In that final
report, the Commission stated (See 341 L.C.C, 314):
‘Inasmuch as we conclude that our actions herein
will neither actually nor potentially significantly
affect the quality of the human environment, we
have not ineluded in our report an extensive
formal impact statement.”’
On November 7, 1972, after plaintiff S.C.R.A.P.
moved for further injunctive relief in this action to
prevent the rate increases thus authorized by the Com-
mission from going into effect, the Commission sud-
denly reopened Ex Parte 281 to *tevaluate the environ-
mental effects of (these) increased rates and charges
on the movements of commodities being transported
for the purposes of recycling’? (App. 91). No further
hearings were thereafter held by the Commission. On
March 5, 1973, approximately five months after the
Commission issued its report and crder of October
4, 1972 licensing permanent 1972 increases in rates
for recyclables, the Commission finaliy issued a ‘‘draft
impact statement.”’ That ‘‘ post-mortem” draft state-
ment simply concluded (App. 92, 93) :
‘*... the selective freight rate increases (already )
approved in this proceeding as to commodities
moving for the purposes of reeycling would not
have a significant adverse impact upon the equality
of the human environment. It wis found that
any environmental costs which may result from
that action would be outweighed by the economic
benefits derived by the railroads...”
Thereafter, on May 2, 1973, approximately seven
months after the Commission's rate-increase report and
order of October 4, 1972, the Commission prepared
28
and issued a Final Environmental Impact Statement,
which the Commission itself described as follows (App.
89) :
“This report represents, in accordance with the
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969
(NEPA), 42 U.S.C. 4321 et seq., our final state-
ment as to the environmental effects of these in-
creases in the railroad freight rates and charges on
movements of commodities being transported for
the purposes of recyeling found in our prior report
and order (341 1.C.C. 288) to be just, reasonable,
and otherwise lawful.”
Once again, the commission concluded, in * post-
mortem’ fashion long after the issuance of its final
report and order of October 4, 1972 (App. 256):
‘In conclusion, we do not believe that the action
we take in this proceeding will have a significant
adverse impact upon the quality of our human
environment. Had we found, however, that our
action would have some adverse effects upon the
environment, it would not preclude our granting
the relief sought by the respondent (railroads) to
the extent permitted in this decision.”’
Based on this record, we respectfully submit that
the Commission’s said Environmental Impact State-
ment, drafted for the first time five full months after
the Commission’s rate-inerease report and order of
October 4, 1972 and thereafter released in final form
seven full mouths after the said report and order, was
totally violative of NEPA and was thus null and void
ab initio (Calvert Cliffs Coordinating Committee et al
v. United States Atomic Energy Commission, 146 U.S.
App. D.C. 33, 449 F.2d 1109 (1971); Greene County
Planning Board vy. Federal Power Commission, CCA
ee ee wt NU ae Ones oes
29
2, 1972, 455 F.2d 412, cert. denied, 93 S. Ct. 56 (1972) ;
Harlem Valley Transportation Association et al vy.
Stafford, Chairman, Interstate Commerce Commission
CCA 2, 1974, 500 F.2d 328).
The rule to be applied here was succinctly sum-
marized in a recent article entitled ‘Mandate of the
National Environmental Policy Act: The Prepara-
tion of Environmental Impact Statements’’, written by
anattorney from the Department of Justice and printed
in The Journal of the Bar Association of the District
of Columbia, Vol. 41, No. 1, January-June, 1974 issue,
at page 50:
3
“Timing and Responsibility For The Prepara-
tion of Environmental Impact Statements
“The time to prepare the statement—NEPA
states in Section 102(2)(¢) that the environmental
impact statement and the comments received shall
accompany the proposal through ‘the existing
agency review processes.’ The CEQ Guidelines
(38 Fed. Reg. 20552, Sect. 1500.7(a)) state that
‘draft statements on administrative actions should
be prepared and circulated for comment prior to
the first significant point of decision in the agency
review process.” For the analysis presented in an
environmental impact statement to be fully inte-
grated into agency decision making, the NEPA
process should be well underway prior to the ren-
dering of firm decisions by the agencies.’
(Italics supplied)
In Greene County Planning Board vy. Federal Power
Commission, supra, the Federal Power Commission
argued it had no obligation to prepare an Environ-
mental Impact Statement under NEPA “until it files
its final decision’’ (See 455 F.2d 418, 419). The Second
Circuit rejected even that contention, holding that
30
NEPA coutains a Congressional mandate to regulatory
agencies such as FPC and ICC which requires that
they carefully consider cuvironmental values ‘at every
distinctive and comprehensive state of the [agency's]
process; ”’ and that they issue their own draft environ-
mental impact statement in each case “prior to any
formal hearings’” (See 455 F.2d 412, 419-20).
The Second Cireuit meticulously explained in Greene
County that “NEPA went far bevond the requirement
that the agency merely consider environmental factors
aud include those factors in the record subject to re-
view by the courts’’ (See 455 F.2d 412). Under NEPA,
the court wrote, agencies such as FPC and LCC have
the ‘‘nondelegable responsibility” to prepare detailed
environmental statcments al the earliest possible stage
of every environmentally-charged agency proceeding,
and to consider the environmental values thus involved
“at every distinctive and comprehensive stage of the
agency's process”” (See 495 F.2d 420). In fact, the
Second Cireuit, in Greene County heavily relied on the
prior decision of the District of Columbia Cireuit in
Calvert Cliffs’ Coordinating Committee vy. Atomie En-
ergy Commission, supra, whereix it was stated, at pages
1117, 1118:
*... NEPA was meant to do more than regulate
the flow of papers in the federal bureaucracy.
The word ‘accompany’ in Section 102(2)(e)
must not be read so narrowly as to make the Act
ludicrous. It must, rather, be read to indicate a
Congressional intent that environmental factors,
as compiled in the ‘‘¢ctailed statement,’ be con-
sidered through agency review processes.
‘Beyond Section 102(2)(¢), NEPA requires
that agencies consider the environmental impact
of their actions *‘to the fullest extent possible.”’
ol
The Act is addressed to agencies as a whole, not
only to their professional staffs. Compliance to the
“fullest”? possible exteut would seem to demand
that environmental issues be considered at every
important stage im the decision making process
concerning a particular action—at every stage
where an overall balancing of environmental fac-
tors is appropriate aud where alterations might be
made in the proposed action to minimize environ-
mental costs.”’
(Italies supplied)
There can be no doubt, we submit, about the complete
correctness of the Second Cireuit’s ruling in Greene
County and the D. C. Cireuit’s holding in Calvert
Cliffs. Both decisions do no more than fully sustain
the statutory requirement of Section 102(2)(e) of
NEPA (42 U.S.C. § 4822(2)(¢)) which states:
‘Copies of such [environmental impact] state-
ment and the comments and views of the appro-
priate Federal, State, and local agencies ... shall
accompany the proposal through the existing
agency review processes.”
(Italics supplied)
The briefs filed by the railroads and the Government
imphedly concede the correctness of this rule which
has become so firmly established in the various cir-
cuits. Llowever, they now belatedly contend that sonie-
how the Commission, which arbitrarily failed and re-
fused to have the necessary impact statement available
at every meaningful stage of the agency proceeding,
somehow nevertheless complied with NEPA by simply
continuing to rule throughout that indeed no statement
was required because its actions allegedly would have
no significant impact on the environment. The utter
fallaciousness of that position, however, is laid bare
a
32
by the Commission’s own belated admission that
it had not properly complied with NEPA prior to the
rendition of its tinal decision of October 4, 1972, and
that accordingly it would have to spend seven months
in the preparation of a post-mortem impact statement
in an attempt to rationalize the final decision it had
already issued.
In conclusion, therefore, we urge the Court to hold—
(i) that the Commission violated NEPA when it
failed to prepare or issue any impact statement to
support the final decision it released on October 4,
1972 in Ex Parte 281, in which it approved an-
other cumulative ‘, rate increase for the transpor-
tation of recyclables, and that accordingly, the rate
increase so licensed was unlawful; and
(ii) that the Commission further violated NEPA
when it prepared for the first time, five months after
its final order of October 4, 1972, a post-mortem NEPA
statement, the only purpose of which was to try to
‘ationalize the new rate increase on recyclables it had
already approved in final form many months before.
IV.
The Commission’s Final Environmental Impact Statement,
Issued After the Commission’s Order of Investigation of
November 7, 1972, Without a Hearing and Without the
Right of Confrontation, Is Unconstitutional and Violative
of the Interstate Commerce Act, the Administrative Pro-
cedures Act and the CEQ Guidelines Under the National
Environmental Policy Act.
On October 4, 1972, the Commission issued its final
report and order in Ex Parte 281 without preparing
or filing any environmental impact statement pursuant
33
to NEPA. Petitions vehemently protesting the Com-
mission’s conduct were thereupon filed by ChQ, EPA,
appellees and other parties. On November 7, 1972,
therefore, the Commission issued an Order of Investi-
gation in Ex Parte 281, which read in part as follows:
“Tt is ordered, That the above-entitled proceed-
ing be, and it is hereby, reopened for the limited
purpose of further evaluating, in accordance with
the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969
(42 U.S.C. 4521 et seq.). the environmental effects
of increased railroad freight rates and charges on
the movements of commodities being transported
for the purpose of reeyeling. .. .
“Tt is further ordered, That in view of the fore-
going actions, and because there is reason to believe
that the tariff schedules identified in the appendix
to this order may, if permitted to become effective,
result in... rates and charges, rules, regulations,
or practices which would not be in conformity
with the report in Ew Parte No. 281, Increased
Freight Rates and Charges, 1972, 341 I.C.C, 288,
decided September 27, 1972, as modified by this
order, an investigation be, and it is hereby, insti-
tuted into and concerning the rates, charges, and
regulations contained in said schedules, with a view
to making such findings and orders as the facts
and circumstances shall warrant. ...
“Tt is further ordered, That the investigation in
this proceeding shall not be confined to the matters
and issues hereinbefore stated as the reason for
instituting this investigation, but may include all
matters and issues with respect to the lawfulness
of the said schedules under the Interstate Com-
merce Act... .”’
(Italics supplied)
34
Plaintiffs and intervenor-plaintiffs thereupon re-
quested that hearings be scheduled with reference to
any and all matters within the scope of said investiga-
tion (App. 93). They also asserted the right to con-
front and cross-examine witnesses and Commission
personnel who might participate in the Commission's
fact-tinding mission, especially those upon whose
expertise the Commission would rely in the prepara-
tion of the belated environmental impact statement
(App. 93). The Commission flatly refused to schedule
any hearings, and it rejected the requests for confron-
tation and cross-examination, stating (App. 102):
“We see no benefit to be derived by allowing
further hearings in this proceeding. ... The pres-
ent environmental record has been developed in
substantial part by our own independent cfforts
and there appears no reasonable basis for now con-
eluding that the parties can make any further
rational contribution to that record. ...
‘The record in this proceeding is complete and
further publie procedures herein would be imprac-
ticable, unnecessary, and contrary to the public
interest.”
(Italics supplied )
It is perfectly clear, of course, that the Commis-
sion’s position in this regard was totally arbitrary
and eapricious. It had nowhere theretofore disclosed
the so-called ‘environmental record’? allegedly pro-
duced as a result of ‘its own independent efforts’’—
certainly, it had never confronted the parties with any
such record for the purpose of cross-examination, refu-
tation or rebuttal. It had not vet issued the draft
environmental impact statement, later released in
35
March, 1973, and the Commission had theretofore stead-
fastly foreclosed presentation of the true environ-
mental facts by simply concluding unilaterally that
increased freights rates do not adversely affect either
recycling or the human environment. Indeed, even in
its final environmental impact statement of May 1, 1973,
the Commission once again failed to make any findings
regarding the last-mentioned crucial threshhold en-
vironmental issue, stating (App. 102):
*.., Chairman Russell B. Train of CEQ... has
conveyed to us his belief that ‘several rail haul cost
biases currently exist’, and certain of the parties
herein aver that discriminatory railroad rates and
charges impede the movement of waste materials
and favor the transportation of primary materials
with ‘obvious’ adverse consequences to the envir-
onment.
**As recently as the last general rate proceeding,
we pointed out that such a case does not provide
an appropriate vehicle for examining these issues
(lnereased Freight Rates, 1970 and 1971, 339
L.C.C, 125, 189 (1971)). Thus, we do not attempt
to determine whether the particular rates which
result from the increases are maximum reasonable
rates. .'..°
Appellees respectfully submit, therefore, that the
Commission’s refusal to schedule hearings with refer-
ence to all matters covered by its Order of Investiga-
tion of November 7, 1972 in Ex Parte 281 violated the
parties’ rights under the Due Process Clause of the
Fifth Amendment and under the Interstate Commerce
Act, the Administrative Procedure Act and the applie-
able Guidelines issued by CEQ under NEPA.
36
In Goldberg vy. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 90 8.Ct. 1011
(1970), this Court extended ‘rudimentary due process”
to cases involving the termination of federally-assisted
welfare benefits on the basis of the following general
rules which, we submit, should be equally applied in a
‘ase of this nature, where a federal agency is engaged
in the licensing of millions of dollars in inereased
freight rates on recyclable commodities (at 397 U.S.
267-271) :
‘**The fundamental requisite of due process of
law is the opportunity to be heard.’ Grannis V.
Ordean, 234 U.S. 385, 394, 34 S.Ct. 779, 783, 58
L.Ed. 1363 (1914). ‘The hearing must be at
meaningful time and in a meaningful manner.’
Armstrong Vv. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552, 85 S.Ct.
1187, 1191, 14 L. Ed. 2d 62 (1965).
‘The opportunity to be heard must be tailored
to the capacities and cireumstances of those who
are to be heard. It is not enough that a welfare
recipient may present his position in writing. ...
Written submissions are an unrealistic option. ...
Moreover, written submissions do not afford the
flexibility of oral presentations; they do not permit
the recipient to mold his argument to the issues
the decisionmaker appears to regard as import-
ant. .
“In, almost every setting where important deci-
sions turn on questions of fact, due process re-
quires an opportunity to confront and cross-
eramine adverse witnesses.
‘Finally, the decisionmaker’s conclusion
must rest solely on the legal rules and evidence
adduced at the hearing. ...° (Italies supplied)
As early as 1913, of course, this Court applied essen-
tially the same rules of due process of law to rate
ae ts
es
37
proceedings before the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion, and that 1913 decision was relied on by Mr. Jus-
tice Brennan in the majority 1970 decision in Goldbery
v. Kelly, supra. In that case, Interstate Commerce
Commission V. Louisville & Nashville Railroad, 227
yA
U.S. 88 (1913), the Commission contended that its de-
cisions in rate cases were absolutely conclusive and
could not be set aside even where the Commission’s
findings were wholly without substantial evidence to
support them (See 227 U.S. 91). This Court unani-
mously rejected the Commission’s position, stating, at
pages 91, 92:
‘A finding without evidence is arbitrary and
haseless. And if the Government’s contention is
correct, it would mean that the Commission had
a power possessed by no other officer, administra-
tive hody or tribuna! under our Government. It
would mean that where rights depended upon
facts, the Commission could disregard all rules
of evidence, and capriciously make findings by
administrative fiat. Such authority, however bene-
ficently exercised in one case, could be injuriously
exerted in another; is inconsistent with rational
justice, and comes under the Constitution’s eon-
demnation of all arbitrary exercise of power.
‘*In the comparatively few cases in which such
questions have arisen it has been distinctly recog-
nized that administrative orders, quasi-judicial in
character, are void if a hearing was dented; tf that
granted was incdequate or manifestiy unfair; if
the finding was contrary to the ‘indisputable char-
acter of the evidence’ -
‘© |. A finding without evidence is heyond the
power of the Commission. An order hased thereon
is contrary to law and must, in the language of the
statute ‘he set aside by a court of competent juris-
diction’... .7’ (Italies supplied)
38
In Louisville & Nashville R.R., supra, this Court, in
a further holding particularly relevant to the case at
bar, went on to state, at pages 93, 94:
‘‘The Government further insists that the Com-
meree Act ... requires the Commission to obtain
information necessary to enable it to perform the
duties and carry out the objects for which it was
created, and having been given legislative power
to make rates it can act, as could Congress, on such
information, and therefore its findings must be
presumed to have been supported by such infor-
mation, even though not formally proved at a hear-
ing. But such a construction would nullify the
right to a hearing—for manifestly there is no hear-
ing when the party does not know what evidence
is offered or considered and is not given an oppor-
tunity to test, erplain or refute. ... All parties
must be fully apprised of the evidence submitted
or to be considered, and must be given opportunity
to cross-eramine witnesses, to inspect documents
and to offer evidence in explanation or rebuttal.
In no other way can a party maintain its rights
or make its defense. In no other way ean it test
the sufficiency of the facts to support the finding;
for otherwise, even though it appeared that the
order was without evidence the manifest defi-
cieney could always be-explained on the theory
that the Commission had before it extraneous,
unknown but presumptively sufficient information
to support the finding.’’ (Italies supplied)
Clearly, therefore, these long standing rules of eon-
stitutional law, directly applicable to rate proceedings
before the Commission, explain why the Second Cir-
euit, in Greene County Planning Board v. Federal
Power Commission, supra, ruled, in 1972, that federal
regulatory agencies such as FPC and ICC must issue
their draft environmental impact statements under
ee ee
39
NEPA “prior to any formal hearings” (See 455 F.2d
419).
These same rules of constitutional law directly ap-
plicable to proceedings before the Commission also
undoubtedly explain why the Interstate Commerce
Commission itself felt constrained to schedule ‘‘fur-
ther hearings’’ in City of New York vy. United States,
U.S.D.C. E.D.N.Y., 1972, 344 F. Supp. 929, when the
district court in New York rejected the Commission’s
earlier order approving the abandonment of railroad
facilities pending full compliance by the Commission
with NEPA. Under obvious scrutiny of the district
court in New York, the Commission let all interested
parties participate fully in these ‘further hearings”
which dealt with the ‘‘environmental questions’’ there
‘aised under NEPA (See 344 F. Supp. 931). Totally
unlike its arbitrary, capricious hearing denial in the
ease at bar, the Commission proceeded as follows in
City of New York, supra, (See 344 F. Supp. 936-939) :
‘Together with its order directing further hear-
ings following remand, the Commission issued a
draft environmental impact statement to provide
a basis for exploration of the Railroad’s abandon-
ment at the hearing... .
‘‘Although not compelled to do so by the terms
of our remand, see 337 F. Supp. at 164, the Com-
mission held five days of hearings, a substantial
portion of which were focused on the environ-
mental questions. All parties were given full op-
portunity to present evidence on the environmental
aspects of the ease... .
“This procedure was consonant with that man-
dated in Greene County Planning Bd. v. FPPC,
supra, 455 F.2d at 422, where the Second Circuit
49
held that the FPC violated “NEPA by conducting
hearings prior to preparation by its staff of its
own impact statemut.’’ (Italics supplied)
Clearly, therefore, the Commission’s refusal to hold
hearings in the case at bar after issuance of its Order
of Investigation on November 7, 1972 violated appel-
lees’ rights under the Fifth Amendment; and the Com-
mission’s failure to hold any hearings whatsoever after
issuance of its draft environmental impact statement
on March 5, 1973, violated NEPA. as construed by the
Second Circuit in Greene County, supra—a_ ease
wherein this Court denied certiorari.
Moreover, the Commission's procedures in this case
were simultaneously violative of the Interstate Com-
merce Act (Title 49 U.S.C. § 15(7) ), the Administra-
tive Procedure Act (Title 5 U.S.C. §§ 554-556), and
the Guidelines issued by the President’s Council on
Environmental Quality pursuant to NEPA (40 C.F.R.
§ 1500.7(d), effective 128/73, 40 C.F.R. 1500.14).
The Commerce Act (49 U.S.C. § 15(7)) plainly re-
quires a ‘‘full hearing” in all rate cases of this nature
after the Commission decides to investigate **the law-
fulness of such rate.’’ Indeed, in Atchison, Topeka &
Santa Fe Railway Co. v. United States, 284 U.S. 248,
262 (1932), a case like the instant action involving a
reopened rate proceeding, this Court ruled that the
Commerce Act requires the Commission to hold a full,
fair hearing, even in reopened rate procecdings under
the Act, whenever such a hearing ‘tis required by the
essential demands of justice.”*. The Court admonished
the Commission (284 U.S. 262):
‘Tn the discharge of its duty, a fair hearing is
a fundamental requirement. ... In the instant
41
proceeding, the [original] hearing accorded re-
lated to conditions which had been radically
changed, and a hearing [in the reopened proceed-
ing]... would have permitted the presentation
of evidence relating to existing conditions, was
denied. We think this action was not within tie
permitted range of the Commission’s discretion,
but was a denial of rights. The order of the Com-
mission which was thus made effective, and the
ensuing supplemental order, cannot be sustained.”
In the case at bar, the Commission’s November 7,
1972 Order of Investigation reopened Ex Parte 281
for
‘*(i) the purpose of re-evaluating the environ-
mental effects under NEPA of the inereased
freight rates ordered by the Commission’s report
of September 27, 1972, and
(ii) the purpose of investigating any and all
other matters and issues with respect to the law-
fuluess of the... schedules under the Interstate
Commerce Act.’’
Ergo, appellees were patently entitled to the hearing
they demanded in the said reopened investigation un-
der both NEPA and the Commerce Act itself, and the
Commission violated the latter as well as the former
when it flatly denied that right.
The same conclusion is equally compelling under the
Administrative Procedure Act (5 U.S.C. §§ 554-556)
and the CEQ Guidelines under NEPA. Under 5 U.S.C.
§ 554(a). (c) hearings must be granted, in accordance
with 5 U.S.C. §§ 556 and 557, ‘‘in every case of adjudi-
eation required by statute to be determined on the
record after opportunity for agency hearing.”’ Here,
a hearing is required by the Commerce Act, so 5 U.S.C.
42
554-556 are entirely apposite to the case at bar. Under
5 U.S.C. § 556, it is provided:
‘‘A party is entitled to present his case... by
oral or documentary evidence, to submit rebuttal
evidence, and to conduct sue +h cross-examination
as may be required for a full and true disclosure
of the facts.”’
Finally, under 5 U.S.C. § 556(e), it is provided:
‘The transcript of testimony and exhibits, to-
gether with all papers and requests filed in the
proceeding, constitutes the erclusive record for
decision... When an agency decision rests on
official notice of a material fact not appearing in
the evidence in the record, a party is entitled, on
timely request, to an opportunity to show the con-
trary.” (Italies supplied)
All of these rights and protections were denied ap-
pellees in this case when the Commission arbitrarily
and unlawfully refused to conduct any hearings after
it reopened Ex Parte 281 in November, 1972 and sched-
nled a further investigation, under both the Commerce
Act and NEPA. In Northeast Airlines, Ine. v. Civil
Aeronautics Board, CCA 5, 1965, 345 F.2d 484, cert.
denied 382 U.S. 845, 86 S.Ct. 41 (1966), a case wherein
the CAB reopened a case theretofore heard by the
Board, CAB elected to rely exclusively on its own data
and statistics and it denied Northeast Airlines’ demand
for a hearing under the Administrative Procedure Act.
The Fifth Cirenit rejected the Board’s procedure,
stating at 345 F.2d 487:
‘* Having opened the door to new data, the Board
was obliged to take a full leok. No useful pur-
pose would be served in our discussing each aspect,
but we suggest that fairness may require that
43
Northeast’s opportunity to rebut and explain what
the Board has already noticed should extend to as
recent developments as may be available at the
date of the hearing. ...”’
In conelusion, the Court’s attention is directed to the
Guidelines under NEPA published by CEQ and made
effective and applicable ‘‘to all draft and final impact
statements filed with the Council after January 28,
1973.’’ These guidelines state, at 40 C.F.R. 1500.7(d) :
‘‘Agency procedures developed pursuant to
§ 1500.3(a) of these guidelines should indicate as
explicitly as possible those types of agency deci-
sions or actions which utilize hearings as part of
the normal ageney review process, either as a re-
sult of statutory requirement or agency practice.
To the fullest extent possible, all such hearings
shall include consideration of the environmental
aspects of the proposed action. Agency procedures
shall also specifically inelude provision for publie
hearings on major actions with environmental im-
pact.... In deciding whether a public hearing is
appropriate, an agency should consider ... the
degree of interest in the proposal, as evidenced by
requests from the publie and from Federal .
authorities that a hearing be held... Agencies
should make any draft environmental statements
to be issued available to the public at least fifteen
(15) days prior to the time of such hearings.”
(Italies added)
A fortiori, the Commission’s final environmental im-
pact statement of May 2, 1978 in Ex Parte 281 is un-
constitutional, completely unlawful and it must there-
fore be rejected by this Court (See Atchison, Topeka
& Santa Fe Railway Co. v. Wichita Board of Trade,
93 S.Ct. 2367, 2374 wherein this Court recently re-
affirmed the rule that decisions of the Commission in
+4
rate eases may be rejected by the courts ‘‘upon a show-
ing that they ... were made without a hearing, exceed
constitutional limits, or for some reason amount to
abuse of power’’).
V.
The Commission Has Constantly Exhibited Hostility and Con-
tempt for the Requirements of NEPA, Both in This Case
and in Other Statutory Proceedings. Accordingly, the
District Court Properly Exercised Its Judicial Power to
Review Not Only the Form of the Commission’s Belated
Asserted Compliance With NEPA in This Case, but the
Substance as Well.
The Commission, over the years since 1970 when
NEPA became effective, has exhibited almost com-
plete disdain and contempt for the requirements of
that federal statute. As early as 1971, it sought to
intervene in Greene County Board v. Federal Power
Commission, supra, in support of the Federal Power
Commission's attempt to avoid regulatory agency com-
pliance with NEPA. LICC’s intervention was rejected ;
the Second Circuit overruled FPC’s position, and this
Court denied certiorari,
In City of New York v. United States, supra, a 1972
‘ase involving proceedings before the Commission it-
self, ICC directly detied NEPA and endeavored to
license the abandonment of railroad facilities without
the prey sation of a supporting impact statement. A
three-judge court in New York criticized the Commis-
sion for its ‘‘slow reaction”’ to Ni PA, and stated the
Commission is powerless to ‘‘disregard ... the law’’
(337 F. Supp. 158-160). The Court remanded the case
to the Commission, stating, at 337 F. Supp. 160:
“To permit an agency to ignore its duties under
NEPA with impunity because we have serious
ee A ED Se ae Si i
45
doubts that its ultimate decision will be affected by
compliance would subvert the very purpose of the
Act and encourage further administrative laxity in
this area.... In any event, preservation of the
integrity of NEPA necessitates that the Commis-
sion be required to follow the steps set forth in
§ 102, even if it seems likely that these steps will
lead it to adhere to the present result. Thus, this
proceeding must be remanded to the Commission
ve it to bring itself into compliance with the
aw.
Albeit the deci8ion in City of New York, supra, was
rendered on January 20, 1972, the Commission never-
theless proceeded just 12 days later (on February 1,
1972) in this case to license another increase in rates
for the transportation of recyclables without preparing
any impact statement under NEPA. The Commission
instead arbitrarily continued to rely on the same type
of terse, unsupported conclusion it espoused in City
of New York, to wit, that, in its opinion, the approved
new increase **would have no significant effeet ... . on
the quality of the human enviromument within the mean-
ing of NEPA” (See 341 LC.C. 288, 314).
The Commission’s continued defiance of the law in
Ex Parte 281 thus led to the commencement of this
action, and although the Commission promised both
the district court and the Chief Justice of this Court
that it would fully comply with all of the requirements
of NEPA before it issued its final report in this case,
the record shows that once again, the Commission
rendered that report on October 4, 1972 without pre-
paring a final impact. statement under NEPA.
In the meantime, in still another case simultaneously
pending in New York, the Commission, contrary to the
46
position taken by the Department of Justice in the
same case, contended that it had no obligation even to
prepare a NEPA intpact statement until it was ready
to reach its final decision in a case—i.e. ICC argued it
had no duty to prepare its statement at any earlier
stage of the proceedings (See Harlem Valley Transpor-
tation Association v. Stafford, Chairman, ICC, 500 F.2d
328 (1974). That contention was bluntly rejected by
the courts in New York, and the Second Cireuit stated:
“>. . (W)hile we recognize there are limits to
what may reasonably be expected from an agency,
we cannot excuse noncompliance with NEPA such
as the ICC here seeks to justify.”’
Ergo, it is plain, we submit, in light of this ree-
ord which demonstrates constant hostility and con-
tempt on the part of the Commission for the require-
ments of NEPA, both in this ease and in all others
recently before the courts, that the district court
clearly had the power and duty to review not only the
form of the Commission’s alleged belated compliance
with NEPA in the case at bar, but the substance of that
compliance as well.
In this regard, the courts have held that federal
agencies must at least make a good faith effort to com-
ply with NEPA (Environmental Defense Fund vy.
Corps of Engineers, &.D. Arb., 1972, 342 F. Supp. 1211,
1214). NEPA does not permit impact statements to be
slanted or biased and it utterly precludes those which
amount to mere pro forma rituals, since clearly such
statements negate the requirement of good faith (En-
vironmental Defense Fund, Inc. v. Corps of Engineers,
supra, at pg. 1214; Calvert Cliffs Coordinating Com-
mittee v. Atomic Energy Commission, supra, at pgs.
47
1114, 1117, 1128). Indeed, when an impact statement
falls into one of the last mentioned categories, it must
be rejected by the courts because of NEPA’s insistence
‘‘upon unbiased and open-minded evaluations in spite
of the Agency's contradictory roles”’ (District of Co-
lumbia v. Volpe, 3 E.R.C. 1143 (D.C. Cir., 1971) ;
Sierra Club v. Froehlke, D.C. Wis., 1972, 345 F. Supp.
440, 445).
Here, it is plain, we submit, that the post-mortem
Environmental Impact Statement released by the Com-
mission 7 months after the rendition of its final report
in Ev Parte 281 was not ‘‘a good faith effort to comply
with NEPA.”’ Rather, it was a mere pro-forma ritual,
the sole purpose of which was to rationalize the Com-
mission’s earlier conclusion that the rates for transpor-
tation of recyclables should suffer still another % in-
crease and that such action, blindly taken exclusively
with the interests of the railroads in mind, allegedly
would not (in the Commission's judgment) adversely
affect the environment. Any doubt about the absolute
validity of this assessment is dispelled by the following
comments filed by other Federal Government agencies
regarding the Commission’s post-mortem production:
(i) U.S. Department of Commerce— “*.. . the
draft impact statement was written to support the
prior conclusions of (the) Commission and not to
inform the publie’’ (App. 100).
(ii) General Services Administration— “GSA
does not believe recyclables should be required to
bear their full share of the carriers’ revenue re-
quirements. It suggests that where it ean be de-
termined that reduced rail freight levels might
reasonably be expected to result in increased re-
eveling of solid wastes, serious consideration
should be given to the establishment of rate ceil-
48
ings on such traffic no lower than the compensa-
tory level’’ (App. 271).
(iii) U.S. Department of Interior— **... the
involved statement does not provide a careful
multi-disciplinary examination of the environmen-
tal effect’? (App. 274).
(iv) Environmental Protection Agency— ‘* EPA
has classified the draft environmental impact state-
ment as Category 3—Inadcquate. ... (T)he state-
ment does not adequately assess the environmental
impact of the proposed freight rate increases on
the movement of secondary materials; and... it
does not consider in reasonable detail the range of
alternatives to the proposed action’? (App. 275).
(v) President’s Council on Environmental Qual-
ity—**... (T)he draft statement fails to consider
how freight rates affect longrun decisions on in-
vestment in scrap-intensive production facilities
... and it finds it difficult to believe that the eco-
nomic well-being of the Nation’s railroads is at
stake in this proceeding. CEQ does not under-
stand why the Commission cannot design incentive
‘ates for recyecling.”’
Moreover, the record before the Court demonstrates
that two members of ICC itself dissented from the
Commission's order which approved the post-mortem
impact statement, and both suggested that a mora-
torium should be placed on any further rate increases
for recyclables until the Commission comes to grips
with the basic rate disparities which grow wider with
each % increase in the rates (App. 237, 238).
Based on this record, we respectfully submit it was
absolutely incumbent upon the district court to review
not only the form, but also the substance of the Com-
mission’s post-mortem alleged compliance with NEPA
49
in this ease. And, upon such review in this case, we
submit further that it was wholly correet and proper
for the court to find—
(1) **The Commission’s mode of preparation
and utilization of the challenged impact statement
here violated both Section 102(2)(C)’s funda-
mental purpose and .. . specific command” (371
F. Supp. 1299).
(2) **The Commission ... neither intended to
give nor actually gave full reconsideration to the
question of the recyclable rate increase’? (371
F. Supp. 1299).
(3) “*[The Commission’s statement] makes no
attempt to integrate the considerations of national
transportation policy justifying the rate increase
with the environmental considerations analyzed in
the impact statement”? (371 F. Supp. 1299).
(4) **[The Commission] refused to hold... a
hearing to reconsider the increase on recyclables.
... (371 F. Supp. 1300).
(5) “*. . . a reader of the statement must be
struck by the combative, defensive and advoeatory
language and style in which it is written’? (371
F Supp. 1302).
(6) ‘*We find the Commission’s failure to alter
its draft impact statement in response to three of
the critical comments of other federal agencies par-
ticularly troublesome’? (371 F. Supp. 1302).
(7) *. .. (T)he draft statement’s . . . most
fundamental and important deficiency (is) the
limitation of its analysis to the marginal impact of
the most recent rate inercase with no discussion of
whether the underlying rate structure itself sig-
nificantly affects the environment’? (371 F. Supp.
1303, 1304).
50
Considering the aforementioned fact that constant
annual ©; rate increases in the last few years have seri-
ously aggravated the nationwide average disparities in
freight rates for the transportation of competing re-
eyelables and virgin natural resoureces—to wit,
(a) in the case of wastepaper and pulp, from
13.9¢ per ewt. in 1959 to 28¢ per ewt. in 1975 in
favor of pulp, and
(b) in the case of non-ferrous metal ores and
scrap, from 13.3¢ per ewt. in 1959 to 24¢ per ewt.
in favor of the virgin ores—
it was likewise perfectly correct and proper for the
district court to hold, at 371 F. Supp. 1504:
“We fail to understand how any considerat on
of the environmental impact of approving the re-
ey¢clable rate increases could be full without an
analysis of how the underlying rate structure itself
affects the environment. Jt is the underlying rate
structure which the percentage increases aggra-
vate; if this structure contributes to the degrada-
tion of our environment, then the inereases would
at least presumptively aggravate that contribution.
. Any impact on the underlying structure could
be eliminated by holding down reeyelable rate in-
ereases each time the railroads requested a general
rate increase. The Commission’s failure to hold
down the rate increases on reeyvelables would thus
have a cumulative impact on the environment.”’
(Italics supplied.)
These findings by the court are in full accord with
the position taken by 5 federal agencies in this case
and by 2 of the ICC Commissioners. They are like-
wise fully responsive to the constant positions taken
in recent years by the League of Cities-U.S. Confer-
ence of Mayors, Council of State Governments, Na-
5]
tional Commission on Materials Policy, and the Presi-
dent’s Citizens Advisory Committee on Environmental
Quality, all of which are a matter of record in this ease.
Ergo, the district court’s decision, based on volumi-
nous supporting evidence before the Court, should
plainly be affirmed.
VI.
The Nation’s Urgent Interests in Resource Conservation, Re-
source Recovery, Restriction of Unnecessary Foreign
Imports of Critical Materials and Energy Conservation
Will All Be Seriously Damaged If This Court Is Misled
by Some of the False Assertions Presently Advanced by
Appellants in This Case.
Before concluding, NARI feels constrained to direct
the Court’s attention to some of the inaccurate, base-
less contentions advanced by appellants in this case,
not only because they threaten a fair and just decision
in the instant action, but also because, if believed, they
could result in serious adverse impacts on our nation’s
vital, urgent interests in resource conservation, reeyel-
ing, restriction of unnecessary foreign imports of
critical raw materials and energy conservation.
(1) THE COMMISSION’S ASSERTION THAT THE BASIC RATE
STRUCTURE FOR RECYCLABLE COMMODITIES IS THE
SUBJECT OF INVESTIGATION IN EX PARTE 270.
Throughout its brief, the Government attempts to
claim that Ex Parte 270, a long, malingering study ICC
has been conducting off and on for the past 4 years and
which will apparently continue for another 4, is the
proper place for an examination of the basic rate struc-
ture for recyclables (Govt’s brief, pgs. 16, 17; 41). The
record before the Court, however, demonstrates that
when NARI applied to Commissioner Hardin, the ICC
o2
Commissioner-in-Charge of Er Parte 270 on No-
vember 7, 1973 for assurance that the basie rate
structure for recyelable wastepaper, textiles and
non-ferrous scrap would be included in the Er
Parte 270 rate investigation proceedings (See Ap-
pendix A hereto), Commissioner Hardin refused to
include those commodities in the Kx Parte 270
investigation proceedings because allegedly the Com-
mission’s ‘investigative abilities are limited in terms
of money and manpower.’’ Commissioner Hardin went
on to state (Appendix B hereto):
“With respect to your... suggestion that a(n)
... investigation be instituted with respect to non-
ferrous metal serap, wastepaper, and the virgin
competitive products, ... 1 am not in a position
to advise .. . when and if such an investigation
will be instituted. ...
‘Rather than await an initiating response from
the Commission, ... [ suggest that you meet with
the railroad industry in order to determine whether
or not it is possible to agree upon a relevant data
base and limit the areas of controversy... .”’
As of this date, the Commission has not embarked
upon any investigation of the rate structure for these
hasie recyclable solid waste materials, and thus it is
absolutely misleading for the Government to take the
position it has regarding Lx Parte 270 in its brief.
(2) THE GOVERNMENT'S ASSERTION THAT CONSTANT RATE
INCREASES FOR RECYCLABI.F'S ARE NECESSARY BECAUSE
THE RAILROADS ARE IN DESPERATE FINANCIAL CONDI-
TION.
The Court certainly knows that fortunately only
some of the nation’s railroads have been mismanaged to
the point of financial embarrassment. Railroads such
en rey poor es
a3
as the Southern System, the Burlington Northern, the
Southern Pacific, the Union Pacific, the Chessie Sys-
tem and others are operating with handsome profits.
Moreover, in each of the general revenue proceed-
ings in recent years, the railroads themselves have
either totally or partially exempted long lists of com-
modities, including some virgin commodities such as
pulp which competes with waste-paper, from the re-
quested rate increases.
The point, therefore, is that the rate inereases sought
on recyclables are not essential to the continued opera-
tion of the railroads, and it is exceedingly unreason-
able and damaging for the railroads constantly to ag-
gravate the existing rate disparities against recyclables
by increasing the rates for those commodities, while
exempting scores of other commodities for reasons
known only to the railroads themselves.
Finally, the Commission itself recently received
extensive evidence in Ex Parte 310— Nationwide
Freight Rate Increases, 1975, which demonstrates, as
the Commission’s records already reflected, that typi-
‘ally, virgin commodities are traveling on the nation’s
railroads at rates far below the railroads’ variable
costs, while recyclable commodities are concomitantly
compelled to pay rates that fur ecceed the railroads’
costs. How, therefore, could the Commission possibly
justify any further increases in transportation rates
for recyclables when virgin commodities are carried at
‘ates substantially below the railroads’ costs?
And, how can the railroads justly demand further
increases for the carriage of recyclables when daily
they transport long lists of other commodities at rates
which do not even defray their own costs ?
o4
CONCLUSION
The two appeals should be dismissed for lack of jur-
isdiction. If the Court reaches the merits, the district
court’s judgment should be affirmed, or in the alterna-
tive, this Court should rule that the 1972 rate increases
on recyclables, approved by the Commission’s order
issued on October 4, 1972, without the preparation of
any impact statement under NEPA, are unlawful; and
the Commission’s post-mortem attempt to legalize
those unlawful rate increases is unsustainable.
Respectfully submitted :
Epwarp L. MERRIGAN
Attorney for Appellees
NARI et al.
888 17th Street, N. W.
Washington, D. C. 20006
la
APPENDIX A
SMATHERS AND MERRIGAN
ATTORNEYS AND COUNSELLORS AT LAW
888 SEVENTEENTH STREET, N.W.
WASHINGTON, v.c. 20006
November 7, 1973
Honorable Dale W. Hardin
Commissioner
Interstate Commerce Commission
Washington, D. C. 20423
Re: Ex Parte No. 270, Investigation of Railroad
Freight Rate Structure
Dear Commissioner Hardin:
Thank you for your very nice letter of October 23, 1973
and for the information furnished therewith.
Considering the serious problems confronting the Com-
mission, the recycling industry throughout the United
States and, of course, the railroads as a result of the con-
tinuing litigation in Ex Parte No. 281—Increased Freight
Rates, 1972 (S.C.R.A.P. v. United States, et al), we find
it exceedingly difficult to understand why your investiga-
tions announced to date do not include non-ferrous metal
scrap and its competing virgin commodities as well as just
iron ores and scrap iron and steel, and why they do not
include wastepaper and competing wood pulp shipments
instead of just lumber and lumber products.
While we understand the Commission’s assertion that
its investigative abilities are limited in terms of money
and manpower, certainly these additional recyclable com-
modities (non-ferrous metal scrap and wastepaper) should
fairly be added to and considered as part of Ex Parte No.
270 (Sub-No. 5), Ex Parte No. 270 (Sub-No. 6), and Ex
Parte No. 270 (Sub-No. 7), especially in light of the long
malingering litigation problem hereinabove referred to.
2a
Accordingly, we urge you to take whatever actions are
necessary—
(1) To add non-ferrous metal serap to Lx Parte No.
270 (Sub-No. 6) and the competing virgin metal
natural resource commodities to Ha Parte No. 270
(Sub-No. 7), along with wood pulp, which is certainly
one of our most important timber products, or in the
alternative
(3) To commence at the earliest possible date addi-
tional ka Parte No. 270 investigations to cover the
aforementioned recyclable commodities so heavily in-
volved in the basie rate discrimination questions
raised in a Parte No. 251 and the related litigation.
Obviously, NASMI’s committee is ready and anxious to
meet with both you and Mr. Goodman. However, certainly
the first step must be taken by the Commission, to wit, the
commencement of active investigations regarding all of the
important recyclable commodities—not just one of them.
In faet, NASMLI is principally concerned with all reeyel-
able commodities other than serap iron and steel—and
those if represents (non-ferrous metal scrap, wastepaper,
textiles, plastics) are the ones which create the biggest and
most troublesome solid waste disposal problems for our
federal, state and local governments. Accordingly, it is
these which should clearly have some fair preference in
the current freight rate investigation. Indeed, these are
the reeyelable commodities the Federal Maritime Commis-
sion selected for first order of investigation (see Docket
72-35, FMC Investigation of Freight Rates Charged for
Transportation of Wood Pulp and Wastepaper).
Looking forward to your advice in this regard, I am,
Sincerely,
Kpwarp L. Merrican
KLM sek
ee: Leonard S. Goodman, Esq.
3a
APPENDIX B
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION
WASHINGTON, D. c. 20423
November 13, 1973
Mr. Edward L. Merrigan
Counsel, National Association of
Secondary Material Industries, Ine.
Smathers and Merrigan
888 Seventeenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20006
Dear Mr. Merrigan:
In the Coordinator’s report, served October 10, 1973,
Investigation of Railroad Freight Rate Structure, 345
I.C.C, 1, 2, after announeing that five subumbered investi-
gations were being instituted, I stated that, ‘‘While ship-
pers of various commodities. may believe that the Coordi-
nator should immediately institute investigations into the
aspects of the railroad freight rate strueture of critical
concern to them, they must remember that the resources in
terms of money and manpower of the railroads, the Special
Projects Counsel, and the Commission are not unlimited.’’
I therefore can understand your concern that investiga-
tions were not instituted with respeet to non-ferrous metal
scrap and wastepaper. Further, I appreciate your aware-
ness that. the Commission’s ‘‘investigative abilities are
limited in terms of money and manpower.”’
Although I am also well aware of the long ‘‘malinger-
ing’’ litigation problem surrounding the Commission’s de-
cision in Ex Parte No. 281, cited in your letter of Novem-
ber 7, 1973, I am unable to agree with your proposal to
expand the ex parte subnumbered investigations, Sub-No.
5, Sub-No. 6, and Sub-No. 7. With respect to your alter-
nate suggestion that a subnumbered investigation be insti-
tuted with respect to non-ferrous metal scrap, waste-paper,
4a
and the virgin competitive products, obviously I am not in
a position to advise you by letter when and if such an in-
vestigation will be instituted. You and all interested
parties will be advised of developments in Ex Parte No.
270 by order, notice, or other appropriate means.
Rather than await an initiating response from the Com-
mission, I renew my suggestion of October 23, 1973, that
you meet with the Special Projects Counsel. I would sug-
gest that you also meet with the railroad industry in order
to determine whether or 1.9t it is possible to agree upon a
relevant data base and limit areas of controversy. I can
assure you that such efforts, if successful, will in the long
run prove to be useful in the Commission’s continuing
study of the railroad rate structure.
For the convenience of all, I am arranging to have a
copy of this letter and our previous correspondence in-
cluded in the correspondence section of the basic Ex Parte
No. 270 docket.
Sincerely,
/s/ Date W. Harpin
Dale W. Hardin
Commissioner
CC: Leonard S. Goodman
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.