Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wilson v. Deukmejian

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ae *

| i? Supreme Court, U.S.

88= a ~ FILED

| 2090 ii ae

arr SPANAL UR.

In the Supreme Co =

OF THE ‘

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

DON C. WILSON, et al.

Petitioners,

ior

GEORGE DEUKMEBEJIAN, et al.

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA, FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

WILLIAM E. TRAUTMAN*® DONALD SPECTER

LUTHER KENT ORTON PRISON LAW OFFIC!

Davip D. CooKt General Delivery

BROBECK, PHLEGER & San Quentin, CA 94964

HARRISON Telephone (415) 457-9144

Spear Street Tower JAMES R. MADISON

One Market Plaza ORRICK, HERRINGTON &

San Francisco, CA 94105 S1 om aie

Telephone (415) 442-0900 Se Glaateomery Street

MICHAEL SATRIS, Esa. San Francisco, CA 94111

P.O. Box 337 Telephone (415) 392-1122

Bolinas, CA 94924

Telephone (415) 868-9209 Mark N. AARONSON

SAN FRANCISCO LAWYERS’

COMMITTEE FOR

URBAN AFFAIRS

625 Market St., Suite 1208

San Francisco, CA 94105

Telephone (415) 543-9444

Attorneys for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

BOWNE OF SAN FRANCISCO. INC ¢ 190 NINTH ST. « SF CA 94103 « 4\§* 664 230

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether double-celled confinement of inmates at California’s

San Quentin Prison, though not per se unconstitutional, neverthe-

less violated the Eighth Amendment, as interpreted and applied

in Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981), and was properly

enjoined, in light of the demonstrated inhumane consequences of

overcrowding and double-celling at San Quentin under the

deplorable and sordid conditions that were found to exist there?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The petitioners, plaintiffs in the California Superior Court (the

trial court) and respondents in the California Court of Appeal, are

Don C. Wilson, Richard Parento and Ursula Gealey, on their own

behalfs, and as representatives of the class consisting of “all

persons who have been confined on the mainline at San Quentin

since June 16, 1981, or who may be confined there in the future.”

The respondents, defendants in the trial court and appellants in

the California Court of Appeal, are the Governor of the State of

California, the Secretary of the California Youth and Adult

Corrections Agency, the Director of the California Department of

Corrections, and the Warden of the California State Prison at San

Quentin.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented ....... 3.5. +05 semua eee eee es

Parties To The Proceeding ... «5 .s.5.5550>4eenaens

Table Of Authorities ... 0:5: 5000s eeeee ee eee

Petition... sbi ia sae cee be eee eee

Opinions Below ... 0... 2 «5 i0cey pore ee

Jurisdiction. ...6 60.80 eee eee

Constitutional Provisions Involved .................56:

Statement Of The Case. 4525.2. sce ee ee

Reasons For Granting The: Wi... <s.09-0¢ ou wa

I. The Decision Below Conflicts with Rhodes v. Chap-

man, 452 U.S. 337 (1981), The Controlling Law Of

This Cowt 2260. cis dace ce eee ee

A. Rhodes v. Chapman Established That “Double-

Celling’” Of Inmates Would Be Unconstitutional

Where The Double-Celling Combined With Other

Conditions To Subject Inmates To Cruel And Unu-

sual Punishment... 2.44.0154555044 ee

B. Applying The Analysis Established In Rhodes vy.

Chapman, The Trial Court Properly Concluded

That Double-Celling Of General Population Prison-

ers At San Quentin, Under The Conditions Shown

To Exist There, Constituted Cruel And Unusual

Punishinent......-.5. 14555 ee i eee aaa et

C. The Decision Below, Which Reversed The Tnal

Court’s Judgment Condemning Double-Celling At

San Quentin Under The Conditions Then Existing

There, Mis-Construed The Trial Court’s Judgment

And Statement Of DecwiGh 32.5457 055

II. State And Federal Courts Require Guidance From

This Court In Their Efforts To Deal With The Conse-

quences Of The Continuing Nationwide Explosion Of

Prison Populations .... ¢...+- + sees ee ee eee

Conclusion... ..... Sool os eee eee

WwW NN N=

1]

15

16

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States Constitution

a

Lr ba ay bey 8

oe oe a iG a ako has ks avs ew ek Ras 2

Federal Statutes

Ee eS) a a ee : 2

Ged Us Ce rer 2

ae eee WOGtNON PSGS 2. ce cee Sy an 7

Cases

Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976) .............. = 7

Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460, 467 (1983)............. 12

Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981) ............ passim

mrmmeey ©. Armets, 475 U.S. 312 (1986) ................ 7

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (1974) .............. 12

Wright v. Rushen, 642 F.2d 1129 (9th Cir. 1981)........ 13

Miscellaneous

“Prisoners in 1988”, Bureau of Justice Statistics (1989) .. 15

supreme Court Practice Rule 28.2................... 2

No.

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

Don C. WILSON, et al.,

’ Petitioners,

VS.

GEORGE DEUKMEBSIAN, et al..,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA, FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

Petitioners Don C. Wilson, Richard Parento and Ursula

Gealey, by their counsel, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeal

of the State of California, First Appellate District, entered in this

proceeding on December 12, 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Declaratory Judgment and Permanent Injunction of the

California Superior Court is attached hereto as Appendix “A”.

The Statement of Decision supporting the judgment of the

California Superior Court is attached hereto as Appendix “B”.

The opinion of the California Court of Appeal, First Appellate

District, Division 3, reversing the trial court judgment in signifi-

cant respects, is attached hereto as Appendix “C”.

The order by the California Court of Appeal denying rehearing

in the case is attached hereto as Appendix “D”.

+

=

The California Supreme Court's decision denying review is

attached hereto as Appendix “E”.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeal was entered on Decem-

ber 12, 1988, and rehearing was denied on January 6, 1989. The

California Supreme Court denied the petition for review on

March 23, 1989.

This petition for certiorari is timely filed pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

$ 2102(c) and Supreme Court Practice Rule 28.2, within ninety

days of March 23, 1989.

This Court's jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments to

the United States Constitution, which provide in relevant part as

follows:

Amendment VIII

“Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines

imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.”

Amendment XIV

“...[{NJor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property without due process of law; nor deny to

any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners filed this lawsuit on June 16, 1981, the day after this

Court’s decision in Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981). In

the complaint, petitioners, general population (or “mainline” )

inmates at the California State Prison at San Quentin, alleged

that the conditions of their confinement violated the Eighth

Amendment's proscription of cruel and unusual punishment, as

applied to the States through the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment, as well as standards established by state

constitutional and statutory law. They sought a declaration to that

effect and an injunction forbidding their confinement under such

conditions.

This lawsuit was prompted by the disastrous consequences at

San Quentin of twin policies which the California Department of

Corrections (“CDC’’) adopted in the late 1970's. One of the

policies was to congregate at San Quentin those prisoners consid-

ered the most dangerous, maladjusted and difficult to manage in

the department.” The second policy, said to be necessitated by a

dramatic increase in the inmate population statewide, was to

overcrowd the prison by double-celling these men in cells that are

six feet wide, eight feet deep and eight feet high.’

As a direct consequence of the decision to overcrowd C ulifor-

nia’s perceived “worst” inmates in San Quentin's cramped <ells,

the rate of violent incidents at San Quentin increased diamati-

cally from 1979 to 1982. While the mainline population increased

by 46% during the period 1979-1982, treatments for assault-

related injunes increased 519%. Treatments for self-inflicted

' By the end of 1982 the class of petitioners, which had been certified

by the trial court, numbered about 1950 mainline inmates.

>The CDC’s appellation for these prisoners was “Level IV”, on a

scale of I through IV. 79% of these Level IV prisoners were serving

sentences for violent crimes. Over one-third were serving life terms. Two

thirds were under thirty years old; 42% were under 25.

The CDC also divided its institutions into four levels. San Quentin

was one of two institutions denominated level IV primarily because of its

walled perimeter and internal armed secunty capabilities.

* Subtracting space consumed by bunks, the sink and the toilet, each

‘amate was left with about 9 square feet, only a portion of which was

actually usable. One inmate had to lie on his bunk in order to permit the

other to move around. Inmates assigned to upper bunks could not sit up

in bed without hitting their heads on the concrete ceiling. (Appendix B,

pp. B-5, B-6, B-9.)

ries had increased 369 Reported assaults, suicides and

eapons possession incidents had increased 193%. The Warden

testified, and penology experts confirmed, that levels of unre-

ported violence were also quite high, especially so in mainline

units where inmates had more personal contact with one another

By 1982, violence had escalated to the point where significant

portions of the prison were on “lockdown” more than half the

time. During lockdown, inmates are confined to their cells nearly

24 hours per day. (Appendix B, pp. B-9, B-10.)

On June 19, 1982, in spite of the recurring lockdowns, a riot

involving some 150 inmates and resulting in scores of stabbing

and gunshot wounds occurred on the Upper Yard, an outdoor

space utilized by mainline inmates. Prison officials attributed this

riot in part to overcrowding. The Warden imposed a lockdown

that virtually shut the prison down for months.

Notwithstanding the lockdown, prison officials proceeded with

their plans to expand double-celling of the mainline. Accordingly,

on September 20, 1982, the Honorable Louis H. Burke, former

Justice of the California Supreme Court sitting by designation as

a Judge of the Superior Court, issued a preliminary injunction

enjoining expansion of double-celling at San Quentin.

Prison officials kept much of the mainline at San Quentin

locked down for most of the balance of 1982 and early 1983. The

violence did not abate, however, so that a total lockdown of San

Quentin’s mainline again was imposed in late March 1983; the

lockdown was still in effect when tral commenced on April 21,

1983. Though the prison remained locked down through the

conclusion of trial in June 1983, “[dluring the tral there were

multiple acts of violence (including two murders) virtually

weekly.”- (Appendix B, p. B-11.) From January through mid-

May 1983, San Quentin’s mainline suffered the murders of three

prisoners, the stabbings of two correctional officers, the rape of a

female counselor, and two mass ailtercations involving twenty or

more inmates each, not to mention reports of numerous other

fights, altercations, and incidents involving weapons.

At the six-week bench trial, the court conducted two tours of

the prison. The prison’s warden characterized San Quentin as a

—

“monstrosity” that “should not be standing and operating as a

prison in California’. The Statewide Director of the CDC opined

that San Quentin was “not even fit for human habitation” and

that overcrowded confinement of prisoners there was

“inhumane”.

The warden also admitted that overcrowding at San Quentin

had led to an escalation of inmate violence. The prison psychia-

trist found that the double-celling at San Quentin under the

conditions that existed there had produced a “psychiatric bomb-

shell.” It produced a greatly increased number of psychiatric

cases, contributing to actual psychotic decompensation in some

cases, and forced his staff to practice “battlefield” psychiatry

Substantial expert and lay testimony corroborated these opinions

of San Quentin’s own chief staff, as did the figures. The court

found that “[t]here was substantial and convincing evidence that

overcrowding and close confinement cause unbearable stress on

[the] inmates... .” (Appendix B, p. B-10.)

The court also found that “the weaker of the two inmates in

each cell is frequently subjected to threats, harassment and

physical abuse (including sexual attack).” (Appendix B, p. B-9.)

\ vulnerable young prisoner told the terrifying story of how he

was repeatedly raped by his cellmate during a lockdown at San

Quentin and became too fearful to report the crimes because of

threats on his life, made at knifepoint by his cellmate, if he did

In sum, the trial court agreed with the Director of the CDC

that confinement at San Quentin was “inhumane” and, found

that conditions there “amount to physical and emotional torture

and endanger life,” and declared that “[n]Jot one of these results

has any penological purpose.” {Appendix B, p. B-10.) It found

that the prisoners “live under daily threat of injury or death” and

that the “violence at San Quentin is out of control.” (Ap-

pendix B, p. B-11.) It concluded that the “escalation of violent

incidents at San Quentin, including San Quentin's general popu-

lation, is the result of many factors,” but that one of two “highly

significant causes [was] overcrowding (and the double-celling

LTT NTE An ae TNE aE a

6

generated thereby)....” (Appendix B, p. B-12.)* Finally, the

trial court concluded that “[r]Jeduction of San Quentin's uncon-

siitutional rate of violence cannot be accomplished without imple-

mentation of a progiam that includes, at the least,...an

elimination of overcrowding and double-celling....” (Ap-

pendix B, p. B-12.)

As to the physical conditions at the prison, the trial court found

as follows:

Certain facts are readily apparent and were not substantially

disputed. San Quentin is one of California’s oldest prisons,

portions of which were constructed over 100 years ago.

Inmates share cells of 48 square feet in area and 360 cubic

feet of space. The cells lack adequate heat, proper lighting,

sufficient ventilation, and hot water. The plumbing is badly

deteriorated. The electrical sysiem is in total violation of all

relevant codes and has been aptly described as an “electrical

nightmare.” Fire hazards abound and the provision for fire

safety is extremely inadequate. Food is prepared and served

under unsanitary conditions by inadequately trainea and

improperly supervised food service workers, using outmoded

and unsafe equipment. General sanitation... remains

deplorable. The physical plant deficiencies and inadequate

sanitation practices at San Quentin expose the men confined

there to constant, severe and unjustifiable threats to their

health and safety. (Appendix B, p. B-2.)

The trial court found that the prison authorities had known of

the unconstitutional conditions of confinement for years, but that

they had done nothing to correct them:

The evidence produced at trial with regard to the length of

time the inhumane, unsanitary and dangerous conditions had

* The other was the new classification system, which the CDC had

instituted in part to relieve the prisoners of violence at other institutions.

The CDC’s own records indicated, however, that the strategy had failed.

Rates of violent incidents increased in two of the three levels of

institutions, in the third they had not decreased very much. (Ap-

pendix B, p. B-12.)

existed, were likely to continue to exist and worsen, was

overwhelming. Year after year, from at least 1977 through

1982, report after report from staff and state-retained consul-

tants of the California Department of Corrections called

attention to all of the serious plant deficiencies existing at

San Quentin. In addition, the medical staff warned of the

effect of double-celling on the health of the inmates. Virtu-

ally nothing has been done to correct these deficiencies and

absolutely nothing has been done to relieve the pressure of

overcrowding on the inmates.

... Repeated requests have been made to alleviate the un-

sanitary, unhealthful, overcrowded, tense and dangerous con-

ditions at San Quentin, and repeatedly these requests have

been ignored. (Appendix B, pp. B-13, B-14.)

On this basis, and on the basis of the “extreme callousness toward

the plaintiffs’ constitutional nghts” exhibited on the witness stand

by the defendant Secretary of the California Youth and Adult

Corrections Agency (after the governor, the seniormost official

with responsibility for the state’s prisons), the trial court found

that the conditions were the product of “deliberate indifference”:

[1]t appears clearly, positively and unmistakably that de-

fendants have been “deliberately indifferent,” as that term

has been defined by the federal courts, to the constitutional

rights of plaintiffs in causing, permitting and allowing the

conditions described herein to occur, persist and worsen... .

The Court finds that these conditions at San Quentin are

systemic and so grossly deficient that they are indeed the

product of “deliberate indifference.” (Appendix B, p. B-

13.)°

* The “deliberate indifference” standard was developed in individual

prisoner actions, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, for money damages. See

Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 104 (1976); Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S.

312 (1986). It was not applied in Rhodes, which, like the present case,

was a Class action challenge of conditions of confinement. Hence the

trial court observed that it was not a necessary element of petitioner's

proof. (Appendix B, p. B-13, B-20, B-2!.) Nevertheless, the proof was

there, and the trial court so found.

8

As a result, the trial court declared that a range of conditions of

confinement at San Quentin, including double-celling, was cruel

and unusual within the meaning of the Eighth Amendment, and

banned confinement at San Quentin under such conditions. (Ap-

pendix A, p. A-2.)

The State did not appeal the trial court judgment as it related

to the structural and operational deficiencies at the prison. Thus,

on appeal “[t]he principal question [was] whether the court

erred in prohibiting the confinement of two inmates in a single

cell.” (Appendix C, p. C-1.) The Court of Appeal found that it

had and reversed the judgment in this respect. (Appendix C, p.

C-20.)

The trial court explicitly recognized that “[t]he leading federal

case in this area of the law is the recent case of Rhodes v.

Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981)” (Appendix B, p. B-3) and that,

in Rhodes “in analyzing double-celling the Court considered

virtually every aspect of inmate life and institutional design and

operation” of the prison in question (Appendix B, p. B-18). The

Court of Appeal, however, found that the trial court “appears to

have held double-celling unconstitutional regardless of any other

conditions of cell confinement.” (Appendix C, p. C-10.) Conced-

ing increased violence at the prison and acknowledging that the

judgment could be supported if it was shown that double- celling

had led to that increased violence, the Court of Appeal found that

the “evidence .. . does not support the finding that double-celling

itself was a cause of the increase.” (Appendix C, p. C-11.)

Repeating this Court’s caution in Rhodes “that Eighth Amend-

ment determinations should not be merely the subjective view of

judges” (Appendix C, p. C-7), the Court of Appeal reversed the

double-celling portion of the judgment. As set forth above, it

denied rehearing on this point and the California Supreme Court

denied review of the issue. (Appendices D and E.)

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Below Conflicts With Rhodes v. Chapman, 452

U.S. 337 (1981), The Controlling Law Of This Court

Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981), is this Court’s sole

decision in a comprehensive class-action challenge by convicted

prisoners to the conditions of their confinement. As such, it is a

seminal decision in Eighth Amendment jurisprudence. For lower

courts and litigants it performs two essential functions. It provides

a blueprint for constitutional analysis of conditions in the nation’s

overcrowded prisons. It also establishes a baseline standard,

derived from an analysis of a prison which occupies one end of the

spectrum of conditions in American penal institutions, by holding

that confinement of two inmates in a cell designed for one does

not, per se, violate the Eighth Amendment.

There is trouble at the other end of the spectrum. It is at that

end where, after an exhaustive inquiry conducted in accordance

with the blueprint established in Rhodes, the trial court found the

conditions of confinement at California’s notorious San Quentin

Prison. The decision below by the Court of Appeal, which

purported to rely on Rhodes but which misconstrued and then

reversed the trial court’s ringing condemnation of double-celling

at San Quentin, effectively turns Rhodes on its head. For all

practical purposes the Court of Appeal’s decision means that

double-celling is per se constitutional—no matter where it is

practiced, no matter how inhumane its effects.

It is up to this Court to correct this manifestly erroneous result,

and, eight years after Rhodes, to provide a sorely-needed Eighth

Amendment standard that will guide the lower courts nationwide

as they grapple with the constitutional consequences of the

relentless population explosion in the state and federal prisons.

A. Rhodes v. Chapman Established That “Double-

Celling” Of Inmates Would Be Unconstitutional

Where The Double-Celling Combined With Other

Conditions To Subject Inmates To Cruel And Unusual

Punishment

In Rhodes v. Chapman, this Court resolved “[t]he question...

whether the housing of two inmates in a single cell at the

10

Southern Ohio Correctional Facility is cruel and unusual punish-

ment prohibited by the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments.”

Id., at p. 339. The Court there “consider[ed] .. . for the first time

the limitation that the Eighth Amendment... imposes upon the

conditions in which a State may confine those convicted of

crimes.” (/d., at pp. 344-345.) Thus, Rhodes presented this Court

with “‘an occasion to consider specifically the principles relevant

to assessing claims that conditions of confinement violate the

Eighth Amendment.” /d., at p. 345.

Rhodes concerned the Southern Ohio Correctional Facility

(“SOCF”) a prison described by that trial court “as unquestiona-

bly a top-flight, first-class facility.” /d., at 340. The cells were

‘[a]pproximately 63 square feet” and “dayrooms” were adjacent

to them. /bid. Further:

The food was “adequate in every respect....” The air

ventilation system was adequate, the cells were substantially

free of offensive odor, the temperature in the cellblocks was

well controlled, and the noise in the cellblocks was not

excessive.... {T]he number of acts of violence... had in-

creased with the prison population, but only in proportion to

the increase in population. Respondents failed to produce

evidence establishing that double-celling itself caused greater

violence.

Id., at pp. 342-343.

Accordingly, this Court ruled that “[i]n view of the District

Court’s findings of fact, its conclusion that double-celling at

SOCF constitutes cruel and unusual punishment is insupporta-

ble.” /d., at 347. In concluding its opinion, the Court affirmed the

role of the courts in protecting against conditions of confinement

that inflict cruel and unusual punishment, observing that “condi-

tions in a number of prisons, especially older ones, have justly

been described as ‘deplorable’ and ‘sordid’ [Citations].” /d., at

p. 352.

The concurring opinion of Justice Brennan, joined in by Jus-

tices Blackmun and Stevens, reaffirmed “that today’s decision

should in no way be construed as a retreat from careful judicial

scrutiny of prison conditions...” /d., at 353. Noting that “(t]he

1]

touchstone of the Eighth Amendment inquiry is ‘the effect upon

the imprisoned’ ” (id., at p. 366), the concurrence explained that

it was only because “‘[t]he findings of the District Court leave no

doubt that the prisoners are adequately sheltered, fed, and pro-

tected, and that opportunities for education, work and rehabilita-

live assistance are available” and that “[v]irtually the only

serious complaint” was double-celling that these Justices con-

curred in the judgment.° That concurring opinion concluded:

J

The District Court in this case was unable to identify any

actual signs that the double celling at the Southern Ohio

Correctional Facility has seriously harmed the inmates there:

indeed, the court’s findings of fact suggest that crowding at

the prison has not reached the point of causing serious injury.

Id., at p. 369. While Rhodes held that double-celling is not per se

unconstitutional, it most certainly did nor hold that double-celling

is per se constitutional. Conditions at each prison, the context in

which double-celling is practiced, must be considered.

B. Applying The Analysis Established In Rhodes v. Chap-

man, The Trial Court Properly Concluded That

Double-Celling Of General Population Prisoners At

San Quentin, Under The Conditions Shown To Exist

There, Constituted Cruel And Unusual Punishment

The contrasts between the SOCF facility involved in Rhodes

and San Quentin are stark indeed. Whereas SOCF, a new prison,

was “unquestionably a top-flight, first class facility,” 452 U.S. at

340, the century-old San Quentin was, in the words of senior

officials of the CDC, a “monstrosity,” “unfit for human habita-

tion,” an institution of “inhumane” conditions of confinement.

Whereas at SOCF the food was “adequate in every respect,” at

San Quentin the food was, and for years had been, a threat to the

health of the inmates who ate it. Whereas at SOCF the air

* The concurring justices also noted that “[t]he overcrowding in the

cells is mitigated considerably by the freedom of most prisoners to spend

time away from their cells, especially in the dayroom.” /d., at 366, n. 14.

Indeed, the prison implemented a plan limiting double-celling to those

inmates free to move about the facility 15 hours a day. /bid.

12

ventilation system was adequate, the cells were substantially free

of offensive odor, the temperature was well controlled and the

noise in the cellblocks was not excessive, in the San Quentin

mainline cellblocks there was no ventilation, the odors were

offensive, the temperature was uncontrolled, the noise was deaf-

ening, the plumbing was substandard, the electrical system was

dangerous and jerry-rigged, the filth was pervasive, birds flew in

the rafters, and rats ran on the floors. Whereas at SOCF, the 63-

square-foot cells were located next to “dayrooms,” and the

inmates were out of their cells for most of the day, at San Quentin

the 48-square-foot cells were located on stacked tiers, with no

‘“dayrooms,” and, due to incessant “lockdowns,” the inmates were

frequently locked in their cells almost around the clock. Whereas

at SOCF the number of acts of violence had not increased out of

proportion to the increase in population, at San Quentin acts of

violence increased at rates several times the rate of population

increase: What is more, the trial court specifically found that

overpopulation and double-celling at San Quentin were principal

causes of the dramatic increase in violence.

This was, frankly, not a close case. The weight of the evidence

that distinguished San Quentin from SOCF, as analyzed in

Rhodes, made the trial court’s decision easier. It found: “The

unconstitutionality of each of the various conditions of confine-

ment at San Quentin discussed herein and addressed in the

Declaratory Judgment and Permanent Injunction ‘clearly, posi-

tively and unmistakably appears.’” (Appendix B, p. B-4.) The

evidence was also damning, in that the unconstitutional condi-

tions were found to be the product of the state’s “deliberate

indifference” to the Eighth Amendment rights of the petitioners.

The Constitution compelled the trial court to act in the face of

the overwhelming evidence of equalor, violence and inhumanity

at San Quentin. Mindful, however, that “broad discretionary

authority is necessary because the administration of a prison is ‘at

best an extraordinarily difficult undertaking,” Hewitt v. Helms,

459 U.S. 460, 467 (1983), quoting Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S.

539, 566 (1974), the trial court chose a conservative, carefully-

tailored remedy. It enjoined the defendants from confining the

plaintiffs under the conditions declared to be unconstitutional, but

13

stayed that injunction upon satisfaction of certain conditions.

Primary among these conditions was the state’s development of a

plan to correct the constitutional deficiencies. The trial court also

required the defendants to refrain from double-celling mainline

inmates during the pendency of the stay. (Appendix A, pp. A-3,

A-S.) Nothing less was required.

C. The Decision Below, Which Reversed The Trial

Court’s Judgment Condemning Double-Celling At San

Quentin Under The Conditions Then Existing There,

Mis-Construed The Trial Court’s Judgment And

Statement Of Decision

The Court of Appeal decision below misconstrued the trial

court’s Judgment and Statement of Decision by inferring that the

trial court had held that double-celling was unconstitutional

regardless of other conditions of cell confinement (i.e., that it was

“per se” unconstitutional). The Court of Appeal ruled: “Insofar

as the trial court held that double-celling was per se unconstitu-

tional, the court erred.” (Appendix C, p. C-10.) And: “From the

[trial] court’s treatment of double-celling as a discrete category

of conditions of confinement, it appears to have held double-

celling unconstitutional regardless of any other conditions of cell

confinement.” (Appendix C, p. C-10).

In the Statement of Decision, the trial court made clear the

basis of its conclusion that double-celled confinement on the

mainline at San Quentin was inhumane. The trial court was

persuaded that the continued confinement of men “under each

condition and under the totality of conditions which prevail there

is unconstitutional and must be remedied.” (Appendix B, p. B-1.)

The court noted that, “in analyzing double-celling”, the United

States Supreme Court in Rhodes had “considered virtually every

aspect of inmate life and institutional design and operation... .”

(Appendix B, p. B-18). The trial court also noted the Ninth

Circuit’s cautionary statements in Wright v. Rushen, 642 F.2d

1129, 1133 (9th Cir. 1981), including the comment that courts

‘must consider the effect of each condition in the context of the

prison environment, especially when the ill-effects of particular

14

conditions are exacerbated by other conditions.” (Appendix B, p.

B-19).

Far from employing a rule of “per se” unconstitutionality, the

trial court here stated that the Rhodes opinion had set forth “by

its factual presentation the standard by which the constitutionality

of double-celling under the Eighth Amendment may be deter-

mined”, noting that another judge had “aptly observed” that

“* each case must be judged on its own unique facts.’ ”

(Appendix B, pp. B-19, B-20).

The “unique facts” which compelled the trial court’s declara-

tion here that double celled confinement on the mainline at San

Quentin was unconstitutional are detailed in the Statement of

Decision (Appendix B) and in the Declaratory Judgment and

Permanent Injunction (Appendix A) and are summarized in the

Statement of the Case, above. The facts overwhelmingly support

the trial court’s conclusions. They need not be restated here. We

note only that the trial court properly weighed these unique facts

against those described in Rhodes v. Chapman and the many

other authorities which provide standards against which condi-

tions at a particular prison under scrutiny must be measured.

The trial court then enjoined the defendants from continuing to

confine men on the mainline “until each of the unconstitutional

conditions of confinement described above is eliminated or cor-

rected,” but stayed the injunction so long as defendants remained

in compliance with conditions “calculated to result in the expedi-

tious elimination, amelioration and correction of each unconstitu-

tional aspect of confinement on the mainline at San Quentin.”

(Appendix A, p. A-3.) Among the conditions of the stay of the

injunction was a requirement that the defendants act immediately

to reduce overcrowding by, among other things, eliminating

double celling. (Appendix A, p. A-3.)

At any time since the injunction issued in 1983, however,

defendants could have sought a modification of the stay provisions

in light of subsequent changes at the prison or sought a confirma-

tion from the trial court that subsequent changes had sufficiently

altered the “specific facts” relevant to the double-celling on the

fe

mainline at San Quentin such that double-celling would no longer

violate the injunction.’

Defendants, however, did neither of these things. Rather, they

asked the Court of Appeal to reverse the trial court’s ruling on the

double pretense that it had found double-celling to be “per se”

unconstitutional and that the tnal court had imposed a “blanket

ban” on double-celling. The Court of Appeal’s opinion, which

accepted this double pretense as the truth, reached a transpar-

ently erroneous conclusion as a result.

Il. State And Federal Courts Require Guidance From This

Court In Their Efforts To Deal With The Consequences Of

The Continuing Nationwide Explosion Of Prison

Populations

In Rhodes, the Court “granted the petition for certiorari be-

cause of the importance of the question to prison administration.”

452 U.S. at 344. The constitutionality of double-celling remains

an urgent and pressing question not only to prison administrators,

but to the individual prisoners affected by such confinement.

If anything, the magnitude of the issue has become more

evident and insisting since Rhodes. In Rhodes, this Court noted

that “[o]ut of 82 court orders in effect concerning conditions of

confinement” in federal or state correctional facilities as of March

31, 1978, “26 involved the issue of overcrowding. [ Citation.]” /d.,

at p. 356 (Brennan, J., concurring.)

Since 1980, the number of inmates confined in state and federal

prisons in the United States has nearly doubled. See, “Prisoners

in 1988”, Bureau of Justice Statistics (1989). Pressures on prison

administrators to overcrowd prisons and prison cells, perhaps

unconstitutionally, is greater now than ever. Indeed, litigation

challenging over-crowded prisons and jails now pends in virtually

every state in the union, placing on trial court judges the burden

of responsibly balancing administrative pressures against constitu-

tional nghts.

’ Elsewhere in its opinion, the Court of Appeal recognized that “[i]f

conditions have changed, defendants are entitled to apply to the tral

court for a modification of the injunction.” (Appendix C, p. C-19.)

16

This Court, by means of a thoughtful and well-articulated

opinion in this case, can provide much needed guidance to the

trial court judges in resolving claims of unconstitutional double-

celling and overcrowding and in fashioning appropriate remedies

where cruel and unusual conditions are found.

CONCLUSION

For all of the above reasons, the Court should grant the petition

for certiorari,

DATED: June 21, 1989

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM E. TRAUTMAN*

LUTHER KENT ORTON

Davip D. COOKE

BROBECk, PHLEGER & HARRISON

MICHAEL SATRIS

Mark N. AARONSON

San Francisco Lawyers’

Committee for Urban Affairs

DONALD SPECTER

STEVEN FAMA

Prison Law Office

JAMES R. MADISON

ORRICK, HERRINGTON &

SUTCLIFFE

Attorneys for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

A-|

APPENDIX A

Superior Court of the State of California

for the County of Marin

No 103454

Don C. Wilson: Richard Parento; and Ursula Gealey

Plaintiffs,

VS

George Deukmejian, Governor of the State of California

N.A. Chaderjian, Secretary of the Youth and

Adult Corrections Agency of the State of California;

Daniel McCarthy, Acting Interim Director of the

California Department of Corrections; and

Reginald Pulley, Warden of San Quentin State Prison,

Defendants.

DECLARATORY JUDGMENT AND PERMANENT

INJUNCTION

[Filed Sept. 13, 1983]

This cause came on regularly for tnal in Department No

Courtroom No. 1, Marin County Civic Center, before the Honor-

able Beverly B. Savitt, Judge of the Superior Court. Trial began

on April 21, 1983, and continued thereafter from day to day

through June F, 1983. Michael Satris, Luther Kent Orton, David

D. Cooke and Kathleen Foster appeared as counsel for plaintiffs

Don C. Wilson, Richard Parento, Ursula Gealey and the class of

persons represented by plaintiffs Wilson and Parento, consisting

of all persons who have been confined on the mainline at San

Quentin since June 16, 1981, or who may be confined there in the

future (the “Mainline Class’). James B. Cuneo appeared as

counsel for defendants George Deukmejian, N.A. Chaderjian,

Daniel McCarthy and Reginald Pulley. Oral and documentary

evidence was presented and has been considered by the Court

Each party lodged a proposed form of judgment and proposed

statement of decision which have been reviewed and considered

by the Court. The cause was submitted on July 8, 1983

A-2

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND _ DE-

CREED THAT the men comprising the mainline population in

the California State Prison at San Quentin since the filing of the

Complaint herein on June 16, 1981, have been and are now

confined there under conditions which violate Section 17 of

Article | of the California Constitution, Sections 2600 and 2652

of the California Penal Code, and the Eighth and Fourteenth

Amendments of the United States Constitution. The men com-

prising the mainline population at San Quentin Prison suffer cruel

and unusual punishment and are denied due process of law in the

following respects:

(i) The prison is overcrowded. The men are forced to

remain confined for extended periods of time, two men to a

single cell less than 48 square feet in floor space and 360

cubic feet of space, with little or no opportunity for meaning-

ful activity. Most of the men confined there are dangerous:

many are seriously maladjusted or have psychiatric

problems. The cells have inadequate heat, improper light and

insufficient ventilation. Almost no cells have hot water. The

plumbing is badly deteriorated. The electrical system in the

cell blocks is dangerously substandard, in total violation of all

electrical codes. Noise levels are excessive. Lack of proper

sanitation practices produces harborage for birds, mice,

roaches, bacteria and vermin of all sorts. The threat of injury

or death from fire is real and imminent. These conditions

threaten the physical, mental and emotional health and well-

being of the men confined on the mainline at San Quentin

and are not penologically justified.

(ii) The men are forced to live amidst excessive violence;

the threat of injury or death from violent assault is great and

is punishment not included in the punishment to which each

inmate is sentenced.

(iii) The men are forced to live in a prison in which the

threat of an outbreak of food-borne, water-borne, or vector-

borne disease is severe. Food is prepared and served under

unsanitary conditions, by inadequately trained and improp-

erly supervised food service workers, using outmoded and

unsafe equipment. Lack of proper sanitation practices pro-

A-3

duces harborage for birds, mice, roaches, bacteria and verim

of all sorts. Opportunities for contamination of the potable

water supply proliferate. The sanitary conditions existing are

below minimum acceptable standards of decency.

IT IS HEREBY FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED

AND DECREED THAT the above-named defendants, and each

of them, and their officers, agents, employees, representatives, and

all persons acting in concert or participating with them, shall be

and they hereby are enjoined and restrained from causing or

permitting any person to be confined on the mainline at San

Quentin unless and until each of the unconstitutional conditions

of confinement described above is eliminated or corrected.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-

CREED that the foregoing order enjoining and restraining de-

fendants from the continued confinement of men on the mainline

at San Quentin shall be stayed, but only if and so long as

defendants remain in compliance with each of the following

conditions calculated to result in the expeditious elimination,

amelioration and correction of each unconstitutional aspect of

confinement on the mainline at San Quentin:

(1) Defendants shall act immediately to reduce over-

crowding at San Quentin. In addition, within forty-five (45)

days ofthe issuance of this order, defendants shall submit to

the Court a plan to be implemented within ninety (90) days

thereafter for the prompt elimination of overcrowding at San

Quentin, which plan shall include the elimination of all

involuntary double-celling at San Quentin and shall address

the effect on the physical, mental and emotional well-being

of members of the Mainline Class resulting from their

confinement in institutions other than San Quentin.

(11) Within forty-five (45) days of the issuance of this

order, defendants shall submit to the Court a plan for the

evaluation and re-examination of the departmental classifica-

tion system by which San Quentin has been designated a

Level IV institution. The evaluation and re-examination

shall be submitted to the Court within ninety (90) days of

the completion of the plan and shall address, inter alia:

A-4

(a) the modification of the classification system in light of

the extent to which the system has contributed to the

unprecedented and unacceptable levels of violence at Level

IV institutions, in general, and at San Quentin, in particular:

(b) the designation of one or more Level III institutions

as Level IV institutions to minimize overcrowding and elimi-

nate involuntary double-celling of Level 1V inmates;

(c) the modification of the classification system to pre-

vent the commitment to Level IV institutions of men whose

youth or other personal characteristics render confinement at

a Level IV institution unsafe, inappropriate, or not necessary

for the protection of the public and the proper functioning of

the Department of Corrections.

(iii) Within forty-five (45) days of the issuance of this

order, defendants shall submit to the Court a proposal for the

development of a plan and schedule for the expeditious

elimination of the structural and operational deficiencies at

San Quentin which threaten the lives, health and safety of

the inmates confined there and which are more fully de-

scribed in the Statement of Decision herein. The plan and

schedule to be developed shall be submitted to the Court

within ninety (90) days after the completion of the proposal

and shall address each of the following:

(a) The correction of physical plant, equipment and oper-

ational deficiencies in the food preparation and food service

area which threaten health and safety;

(b) The correction or amelioration of conditions through-

out the institution, especially in the cell-block areas, which

create a risk of death or injury by fire or electrical shock;

(c) The provision of safe and sufficient heat, light, plumb-

ing, electricity, ventilation and hot and cold running water to

all mainline cells as well as the control of noise in the cell

block areas; and

(d) The more effective control of birds, mice, roaches,

bacteria and other vermin throughout the institution, espe-

A-5

cially in the food preparation, food service and cell block

areas.

IT IS HEREBY FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED

AND DECREED that the Court shall review the adequacy of

each plan or proposal submitted with the assistance of a Special

Master to be appointed by the Court within thirty (30) days of

the date hereof from the candidates to be nominated by the

parties in writing within fifteen (15) days of the date hereof.

Reasonable compensation for the Special Master shall be paid by

defendants. The Special Master shall consult with the Court upon

request and shall submit a written report each calendar quarter

until further order of the Court concerning the adequacy of

defendants’ implementation of each plan or proposal. Plaintiffs’

[and defendants’| counsel shall be provided with a copy of each

plan, proposal and Special Master’s report and will be afforded an

opportunity to comment on them. The order enjoining and re-

straining defendants from continued confinement of men on the

mainline at San Quentin shall be stayed only if and so long as the

Court remains satisfied with the adequacy of defendants’ plans

and proposals and the implementation thereof.

IT IS HEREBY FURTHER ORDERED. ADJUDGED

AND DECREED that plaintiffs recover their costs of suit and

disbursements herein in the amount of $ , and their reason-

able attorneys’ fees according to proof to be submitted.

DATED: September 13, 1983.

/s/ BEVERLY B. SAVITT

Hon. Beverly B. Savitt

Judge of the Superior Court

B-|

APPENDIX B

Superior Court of the State of California

In and for the County of Marin

No. 103454

Don C. Wilson; Richard Parento; and Ursula Gealey,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

George Deukmejian, Governor of the State of California;

N.A. Chaderjian, Secretary of the Youth and

Adult Corrections Agency of the State of California;

Daniel McCarthy, Acting Interim Director of the

California Department of Corrections; and

Reginald Pulley, Warden of San Quentin State Prison,

Defendants.

STATEMENT OF DECISION

[Filed Sept. 13, 1983]

I. INTRODUCTION

This Statement of Decision is issued following a six-week trial

addressing the constitutionality of the conditions of confinement

of the mainline or general population inmates in the California

State Prison at San Quentin. At the trial, the parties called

dozens of witnesses and submitted hundreds of documentary

exhibits. In addition, this Court inspected the facility on two

separate occasions (once, on the last day of trial, without prior

notice to Defendants or to the inmates).

This Court is persuaded that Defendants’ continued confine-

ment of men at San Quentin under each condition and under the

totality of conditions which prevail there is unconstitutional and

must be remedied. Confinement at San Quentin is cruel and

unusual. The men imprisoned there live under conditions which

fall well below basic standards of human decency. Double-celling

in extremely small cells remains the rule on the mainline at San

Quentin. Violence in the prison is at an unprecedented level and

threatens to rage entirely out of control.

2

B-2

Certain facts are readily apparent and were not substantially

disputed. San Quentin is one of California’s oldest prisons,

portions of which were constructed over 100 years ago. Inmates

share cells of 48 square feet in area and 360 cubic feet of space.

The cells lack adequate heat, proper lighting, sufficient ventila-

tion, and hot water. The plumbing is badly deteriorated. The

electrical system is in total violation of all relevant codes and has

been aptly described as an “electrical nightmare.” Fire hazards

abound and the provision for fire safety is extremely inadequate.

Food is prepared and served under unsanitary conditions by

inadequately trained and improperly supervised food service

workers, using outmoded and unsafe equipment. General sanita-

tion, although improved in some respects since this suit was filed

in June of 1981, remains deplorable. The physical plant deficien-

cies and inadequate sanitation practices at San Quentin expose

the men confined there to constant, severe and unjustifiable

threats to their health and safety.

San Quentin is one of two maximum security prisons desig-

nated custody Level IV institutions in which California confines

its most violent offenders serving the longest terms. Since the

implementations of a revised custody classification system in

1980, virtually all prisoners at San Quentin are Level IV custody

inmates.

During recent years, as the result of a combination of factors

including determinate sentencing laws, mandatory prison terms

and longer sentences, the entire California prison system is vastly

overcrowded at all levels. At the time of trial, the Department of

Corrections was confining more than 32,000 inmates in a system

with a designed capacity of less than 24,000. Despite an approved

building program which will result in the construction of several

new prisons over the next five years, the system is expected to

continue to be overcrowded with the net system-wide population

increasing by approximately 100 inmates per week. Evidence

produced at trial indicated that the Department of Corrections

had more than 5,800 Level IV inmates, whose numbers are

increasing at a rate of approximately 1,000 per year, in Level IV

cells designed for no more than 4,300.

B-3

There are, to date, no reported California opinions in cases

challenging overall conditions of confinement in an institution of

the Department of Corrections. The courts of the state have had

little opportunity to consider and establish standards for evaluat-

ing conditions of prison confinement with respect to whether such

conditions are cruel or unusual. (However, state standards are

discussed for the first time, to this Court’s knowledge, in a new

decision filed July 12, 1983, by the Fourth District Court of

Appeal, /n Re The Inmates of the Riverside County Jail at Indio

v. Ben Clark, as Sheriff of Riverside County, 4 Civ. 27464, 83

Daily Journal D.A.R. 2057. This opinion states:

“The same basic test employed in the federal courts is

appropriate to assessing conditions of confinement chal-

lenged under the California Constitution”. (/d. at 2058)

The Court goes on to say that:

‘*. . In assessing the standards of decency which are essential

to this analysis, we think it appropriate that California courts

look chiefly to California standards and institutions for their

guideposts.” (/d., at p. 2058)

Prior to the Indio opinion California decisions relating to condi-

tions in penal institutions have been limited to a specific practice

in a specific institution. However, there is an abundance of federal

decisional authority concerning conditions of confinement in both

state and federal prisons. Federal cases have dealt with the

standards required under the Eighth Amendment to the United

States Constitution which bars “cruel and unusual punishment.”

The leading federal case in this area of the law is the recent case

of Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337 (1981).

California, however, has adopted Article 1, Section 17, of the

state constitution which, unlike the Eighth Amendment, bans

“cruel or unusual punishment.” In construing this provision, this

Court bears in mind the California Supreme Court’s admonition

in Allen v. Superior Court, 18 Cal.3d 520, 52 (1976), that our

constitution is “a document of independent force.” Our state

Supreme Court has further determined that the use of the

disjunctive between the terms “cruel” and “unusual” was pur-

poseful. People v. Anderson, 6 Cal.3d 628 (1972).

B-4

This Court has relied heavily upon federal cases in an attempt

rationally and meaningfully to evaluate the conditions of confine-

ment at San Quentin Prison in terms of their constitutionality.

This procedure was approved in the Allen decision cited above.

In its opinion in Rhodes, the United States Supreme Court

summarized conditions which had been held to violate the Eight

Amendment. These included unnecessary and wanton infliction of

pain, punishment grossly disproportionate to the crime and inflic-

tions of pain which are “totally without penological justification.”

Other federal cases have held that inmates are entitled to reason-

ably adequate food, clothing, shelter, sanitation, medical care,

ventilation, hot and cold running water, light, heat, plumbing, and

quarters which are reasonably fire-safe. Further, the federal courts

have held that inmates must be given reasonable protection from

constant threat of violence and sexual assault.

In California a punishment is “cruel or unusual,” within the

meaning of Article 1, Section 17, when it “shocks the conscience

and offends fundamental notions of human dignity.” /n re Lynch,

8 Cal.3d 410 (1972). Further, the California courts have found,

as the federal courts have, that the concept of cruel or unusual

punishment “must draw its meaning from the evolving standards

of decency that mark the progress of a maturing society.” People

v. Vaughn, 71 Cal.2d 406 (1969), citing Trop v Dulles, 356 U.S.

86 (1958).

Criminal defendants who challenge the constitutionality of the

severity of their legislatively-mandated sentences must show that

the unconstitutionality “clearly, positively and unmistakably ap-

pears.”” People v. Wingo, 14 Cal.3d 169, 174 (1975); People v.

Dennis M., 70 Cal.2d 444, 453 (1969). Plaintiffs were not

required, under the circumstances and in the context of this civil

case, to meet this burden of proof. Nevertheless, the unconstitu-

tionality of each of the various conditions of confinement at San

Quentin discussed herein and addressed in the Declaratory Judg-

ment and Permanent Injunction “clearly, positively and unmis-

takably appears.”

B-5

Il. OBSERVATIONS OF GOURT

This Court visited San Quentin on two occasions during the

trial. On April 26, 1983, the Court toured the three cell blocks in

which general population prisoners were housed at that time, the

food preparation, service and storage areas, the hospital, the

school, the exercise yards, and the shop areas. On the last day of

trial, June 1, 1983, this Court again visited San Quentin, includ-

ing the two cell blocks in which general population inmates were

then housed as well as the dining and kitchen areas visited

previously. On the April 26 visit, the Court’s first impression upon

entering each cell block was that there was an enormous din

which was extremely deafening. It was easy to discern where all

the noise came from. Almost every inmate had his own television

set as well as his own radio. It was not unusual to see two

television sets playing along with a radio at one time in a single

cell. Each was being played loudly in an apparent attempt to

drown out the noise from other nearby sets. The cell blocks are

constructed of steel and concrete and reverberate the extreme

noise levels generated by the many television sets and radios as

well as the voices of staff and inmates.

While the temperature on the lower tiers could be quite

comfortable, the temperature on the fourth and fifth tiers was

extremely hot. There appeared to be no air circulation. (Most of

the men were in their cells as the prison was in a lockdown). Even

though the temperature outside and on the lower level was

comfortable, the men in the upper levels generally wore only their

underwear because of the discomfort from the heat.

In the cells in which there were two inmates, at least one

inmate was in his bed. This Court entered several cells and noted

that it was virtually impossible to have more than one person

moving about in the approximate 18 inches of space between the

bunkbed and the wall. Further, it was quite obvious that the men

who were assigned to the upper beds had insufficient headroom to

sit up in bed. (The beds are the only furniture in the cells

permitted and, therefore, the only place a person can sit to read,

to study or to write.) Most of the available space in the cells was

filled with the inmates’ personal property. Many of the cells had

boxes stacked from floor to ceiling filled with books, magazines,

B-6

papers, clothing, radios and other personal property. Many had

stools, lamps, fans and other articles of furniture which were

termed “contraband” by the prison officials who accompanied the

Court on this tour. There was no stool or ladder by which the man

assigned to the top bunk could climb up to or down from his

bunk. (Several of the inmate witnesses who later testified, testi-

fied that the men in the upper bunk had to use the toilet as a

footstool to reach the bunk.)

The light in the cells was very dim, making it very difficult to

read, write or study. Some of the cells had jury-rigged wiring to

attach various electrical appliances. There were bare wires appar-

ent in many places. There were electric fans with no guards over

the blades. Many of the cell fronts were covered in full or in part

by curtains, boxes, clothing and other materials hung there by the

inmates in an apparent attempt to acquire privacy. |

Many of the men were lying in their beds sleeping or staring

into space, and they appeared to the Court to be depressed.

In East and West Block the shower stalls were at one end of

each tier. In Alpine the showers were in the center of the tier.

Only a few men could take a shower at the same time. One of the

most common complaints from the inmates that the Court heard

was that they were unable to take a shower frequently enough.

Although the administration indicated that the men were permit-

ted to take a shower every other day, they admitted that when the

general population was in lockdown it was impossible to allow

them to shower that often, for the reason that there was insuff-

cient time to get the men to and from the showers in small groups.

Several of the shower rooms were dark as the lights were broken.

Some of the showers could not be used as one of the hot water

boilers was not functioning.

The cell fronts are open, barred doors. The doors have two

separate locking systems. One system is a bar which, when

unlocked, can be removed in one stroke for a whole tier. The

second locking system consists of individual locks on each cell

door. To release a prisoner from a cell the bar must be removed

and each cell door individually opened.

B-7

The utility alleyways (frequently referred to as “sally ports” or

“plumbing chases’) in all three of the cell blocks were viewed. A

sally port is a narrow (three or four feet wide) alleyway running

from one end to the other of each cell block from basement

through the fifth tier. Each sally port contains heating and

ventilating ducts, plumbing for the entire cell block, electrical

wiring and television antenna wires. Each sally port was filthy,

containing evidence of vermin and roaches; many had leaking

pipes, bare wires; open fuse boxes and other electrical boxes

frequently lacked covers.

There were birds flying overhead in the cell blocks.

In the dining area, food was served from open containers

unprotected by sneezeguards. The inmates going through the line

were permitted to serve themselves. There was no indication that

the inmates were expected to come to the meal with clean hands.

The plastic eating utensils were placed in such a way that an

inmate was likely to touch a number of forks, knives and spoons

as he was pulling his own out of the container.

In the main kitchen there was a single sink for washing hands

for all of the kitchen workers. There was no running water at that

sink that day. The floors were broken and uneven. The walls in

the vegetable room were black with mold and gave off a foul odor.

There were overhead sewage lines above the work surfaces where

food was being prepared. There was standing water outside the

freezer in the vegetable room and ice from leaking pipes on the

floor of the freezer. The door to the exterior from the vegetable

room had an inch or more of space between it and the floor,

permitting access to mice, rats and other vermin. There was

evidence of mice in this area.

In the main kitchen there was evidence of poor ventilation over

the steam cookers, creating problems with condensation and

dripping. There was a broken steam line over the tray washing

area which was wrapped with rags but through which, neverthe-

less, steam was permitted to escape. The floors were extremely

wet and slippery. Covers to the sewer lines were missing in many

places. Water had backed up and was flooding the basement

B-§

under the main kitchen and was being pumped out through the

kitchen.

In the bakery area there was a dead rat in a trap; there was

evidence of mouse droppings both in the dry food-storage area

and in the cooking room. The serving bins in the bakery were

dirty. There was a bird in the bakery and there were insects in

some of the corn flour. The mixing bowls had evidence of dried

food material and one showed evidence of mouse droppings.

There was a loose, filthy ventilation system filter hanging from the

ceiling in the bakery area.

The shower room provided for the kitchen workers had no

lights and was extremely dark.

The garbage containers both in the main kitchen and outside

where most were stored had no lids. The wet garbage was dumped

into large 55-gallon drums. Empty drums showed evidence of

rotting food. Many of the drums appeared to be old, cracked,

bent, and filthy, as was the broken concrete area around them.

At the Court’s second visit, on June 1, the prison was still in

lockdown. This lockdown was even tighter than on the visit six

weeks earlier as there had been a new outbreak of violence shortly

before the second visit. Most of the same conditions prevailed in

the cell block areas as had existed on the first visit. There were

even more inmates in their cells at this time. The inmates

appeared to be more depressed and sullen. The heat and the lack

of ventilation in the top tiers was more evident than on the first

VISIt.

There was some improvement noticed in the food preparation

areas. In particular, the empty garbage cans seemed to be free of

rotting debris and the bakery seemed to be cleaner than on the

Court's first visit. However, all of the rest of the conditions which

existed on the first visit seemed to be present on the second tour.

In addition, although the hot water was running in the main

kitchen washbasin, the basin itself was filthy and there were no

towels available. The vegetable slicer was dirty. The sink in the

butcher shop was dirty and there were no towels available. There

was steam escaping from the tray washer. The steam pipe which

the Court noted was broken at her first visit was still broken,

Eero

B-9

wrapped in rags and leaking. There were mouse droppings ob-

served in the bakery storage area. One of the large mixing bowls

in the bakery was cracked and broken, but nevertheless still being

used. The loose ventilation filter was still hanging from the

ceiling. There were still no lights in the kitchen shower room

Il. THE CONDITIONS OF CONFINEMENT OF GEN-

ERAL POPULATION PRISONERS AT SAN QUEN-

TIN AMOUNT TO CRUEL AND UNUSUAL

PUNISHMENT

The Court bases its decision concerning this matter on the

following facts which were adduced at trial.

\. Double-celling.

|. Two men are confined to a single cell only 48 square feet in

floor area and 360 cubic feet of space which contain a double

bunkbed, a toilet, and a sink with shelves above the toilet and

sink

2. The bunk beds are approximately 30 inches wide. This

leaves only 18 inches between the bed sides and the wall for two

men to move about.

~

3. There is only 18 square feet of floor space free from

furniture and fixtures.

4. The cells are filled with equipment, clothing, and other

personal belongs which the inmates have obtained in an attempt

to make their daily lives more comfortable. Two men who must

share such a cell cannot move about the cell at the same time.

5. The inmate required to take the upper bunk is unable to sit

up at any time as the distance between the top of the bunk and

the ceiling is only two-and-a-half feet.

6. The weaker of the two inmates in each cell is frequently

subjected to threats, harassment and physical abuse (including

sexual attack). Fear of retaliation prevents the weaker inmate

from complaining to the prison administration.

Men are confined in such cells for long periods of time. In

1982 inmates were in “lockdown” (in cells approximately 24

B-10

hours a day) for almost half of the year. Thus far in 1983, the

general population has been in lockdown since March 27

8. There is no dayroom area nor any place within the cell

blocks for inmates to move about, to exercise or to obtain relief

from the close confinement which double-celling compels

9. Because length of sentence is primary in determining

which level a person sentenced to state prison is placed, an

increasing number of very young men who have never before been

incarcerated have been committed to San Quentin under the new

classification system. Many of these young men are physically and

emotuonally weak and are not able to cope with imprisonment

with the more typical Level IV inmate housed at San Quentin

hese men are subject to threats, harassment, intimidation, sex

ual abuse and physical abuse in much greater numbers than the

general population as a whole. Further, these men have a higher

rate of suicide than does the general population

10. There was substantial and convincing evidence that over

crowding and close confinement cause unbearable stress on ir

mates who are frequently psychologically marginal or brittle

Such inmates are likely to decompensate and suffer mental or

emotional breakdowns

11. These conditions are inhumane. They amount to physica!

and emotional torture and endanger life. Not one of these results

has any penological purpose.

B. Other Conditions of Cell Confinement:

|. The cells have inadequate heat and grossly insufficient

ventilation. The temperature differences between lower tiers and

2

upper tiers can be as great as 15 or 29 degrees

2. There is no hot water in the cells

3. There is insufficient light in each cell

4. The plumbing is badly deteriorated

[he electrical system in the cell blocks 1s dangerous and in

tal violation of all electrical codes

6) Ihe noise levels are extremely high and exce

B-1]

Poor sanitation throughout the cell blocks produces harbor-

age for birds, mice, roaches, bacteria and other vermin

8. The threat of injury or death from fire is real and immi-

nent. The cell blocks are large; evacuation in the event of fire

would take at least 25 minutes. In addition, most of the cells have

jury-rigged and dangerous wiring.

These conditions threaten the physical, mental and emotional

health of the men confined on the mainline at San Quentin, who

are acknowledged to be the most dangerous in the prison system

and seriously maladjusted before they enter the system.

rhe conditions which exist in the cell blocks do not meet the

most minimum standard required for reasonably adequate shelter

( \ iolence

1. San Quentin prison has the highest measured rate of

violence in the California prison system. Violent incidents in the

last three years have multiplied many times and are dispropor

tionate to the rate of increase in the prison population.

>

2. State-wide statistics indicate that the 1982 rate of assaults

for the prison system as a whole was 6.24 per 100 of prison

population; for Level III prisons the rate was 6.00; for Folsom

(the only other Level IV prison in California) 9.56; and for San

Quentin, 15.44. In 1979 the rates were: statewide, 5.08; Level III,

7.04; Folsom, 4.35; and San Quentin, 5.27. During this three-year

period the San Quentin rate almost tripled and the Folsom rate

doubled, while the Level III rate decreased. The San Quentin

rate is 6] percent greater than that at Folsom and two-and-one-

half times greater than that at Level III institutions.

3. From January 1, 1983, until the start of the trial, April 24,

assaults occurred on the mainline at San Quentin on 20 separate

occasions, including one murder. During the trial there were

multiple acts of violence (including two murders) virtually

weekly. Although under 24-hour surveillance by correctional

officers, the men in the San Quentin general population live under

daily threat of injury or death. Violence at San Quentin 1s out of

control

B-12

4. This escalation of violent incidents at San Quentin, includ-

ing San Quentin’s general population, is the result of many

factors. Two highly significant causes are overcrowding (and the

double-celling generated thereby), and the classification system

implemented in 1980, which operates to place at San Quentin and

at Folsom State Prison those inmates who are perceived to be the

most dangerous and volatile inmates in the custody of the Depart-

ment of Corrections.

5. Implementation of this classification system has not re-

sulted in a significant reduction in the rate of violent incidents

occurring in Level II] institutions, nor has it resulted in any

reductions in the rate of violent incidents occurring in Level | and

Level II institutions.

6. Reduction of San Quentin's unconstitutional rate of vio-

lence cannot be accomplished without implementation of a pro-

gram that includes, at the least, both an elimination of

overcrowding and double-celling, and at the same time, a serious

reevaluation. of the classification system that congregates the

Department of Corrections’ so called ‘Level IV’ inmates at two

institutions, one of which is San Quentin. The classification

system is not and cannot be justified by the rates of violence at

‘Level I,’ “Level II,’ or ‘Level III’ institutions in the Department

of Corrections.

The legislature has decreed harder, longer sentences for those

who have committed felonies; however, it did not order that part

of each felon’s punishment was to live in dailv fear of life and

limb. Exposure to these dangers has no appropriate penological

function. The rate of violence is constitutionally impermissable.

D. Food Service.

1. Food is prepared and served under unsanitary conditions,

by inadequately trained and improperly supervised food service

workers, using outmoded and unsafe equipment.

2. The threat of an outbreak of food-borne, water-borne. or

vector-borne disease is severe.

B-13

3. Opportunities for contamination of the potable water

proliferate.

4. There is a lack of proper sanitation which produces harbor-

age for birds, bacteria and other vermin.

The conditions existing in the food service area are a threat to

the physical health of the inmates and fall below contemporary

standards of decency.

IV. INJUNCTIVE RELIEF IS NECESSARY AND AP-

PROPRIATE TO REMEDY THE UNCONSTITU-

TIONAL CONDITIONS OF CONFINEMENT.

The Court bases its decision concerning this matter on the fact

that unconstitutional conditions have long existed at San Quentin

and are likely to persist and even worsen in the absence of the

judicial intervention specified in the Declaratory Judgment and

Permanent Injunction.

The evidence produced at trial with regard to the length of time

the inhumane, unsanitary and dangerous conditions had existed,

were likely to continue to exist and worsen, was overwhelming.

Year after year, from at least 1977 through 1982, report after

report from staff and state-retained consultants of the California

Department of Corrections called attention to all of the serious

plant deficiencies existing at San Quentin. In addition, the medi-

cal staff warned of the effect of double-celling on the health of the

inmates. Virtually nothing has been done to correct these defi-

ciencies and absolutely nothing has been done to relieve the

pressure of overcrowding on the inmates.

The Court rejects defendants’ contention that the conditions

addressed in this Statement of Decision and in the Declaratory

Judgment and Permanent Injunction cannot be unconstitutional

if they are not the product of the “deliberate indifference” of

defendants or defendants’ employees. See “Legal Basis for

Court's Decision,” § 16, infra. However, it appears clearly, posi-

tively and unmistakably that defendants have been “deliberately

indifferent,” as that term has been defined by the federal courts,

to the constitutional rights of plaintiffs in causing, permitting and

allowing the conditions described herein to occur, persist and

B-14

worsen. Repeated requests have been made to alleviate the

unsanitary, unhealthful, overcrowded, tense and dangerous condi-

tions at San Quentin, and repeatedly these requests have been

ignored. The Court finds that these conditions at San Quentin are

systemic and so grossly deficient that they are indeed the product

of “deliberate indifference.”

The Court also bases its finding of defendants’ deliberate

indifference on the trial testimony of defendant N. A. Chaderjian,

Secretary of the Youth and Adult Corrections Agency, who

displayed extreme callousness toward the plaintiffs’ constitutional

rights.

V. ATTORNEY FEES.

An award of reasonable attorney fees and costs is appropriate in

this case as it involves the vindication of the constitutional rights

of the members of Plaintiff Class. The amount of such fees shall

be determined at a hearing to be had after entry of judgment.

VI. LEGAL BASIS FOR COURT'S DECISION.

The legal basis for the Court’s decision is as follows:

1. The Eighth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States provides: “Excessive bail shall not be required, nor exces-

sive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.”

2. “No static ‘test’ can exist by which courts determine

whether conditions of confinement are cruei and unusual, for the

Eighth Amendment ‘must draw its meaning from the evolving

standards of decency that mark the progress of a maturing

society.."’ Rhodes v. Chapman, 452 U.S. 337, 346 (1981),

quoting Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 100 (1958) (plurality

opinion). “The basic concept underlying the Eighth Amendment ~

is nothing less than the dignity of man.” Jd., 356 U.S. at 100. As

such, this Court is constitutionally bound to apply “broad and

idealistic concepts of dignity, civilized standards, humanity and

decency,” Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 102 (1976), in its

evaluation of the conditions of confinement on the mainline at

San Quentin.

3. The Supreme Court has stated:

B-15

“Today the Eighth Amendment prohibits punishments

which, although not physically barbarous, “involve the un-

necessary and wanton infliction of pain,” Gregg v. Georgia,

428 U.S. 153, 173 (1976), or are grossly disproportionate to

the severity of the crime, Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584,

592 (1977) (plurality opinion); Weems v. United States, 217

U.S. 349 (1910). Among “unnecessary and wanton” inflic-

tions of pain are those that are “totally without penological

justification.” Gregg v. Georgia, supra, at 183; Estelle v.

Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 103 (1976).[”] Rhodes v. Chapman,

452 USS. at 346.

4. The Eighth Amendment prohibition of cruel and unusual

punishments applies to the states through the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States. Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962).

5. Article I, Section 17, of the California Constitution pro-

vides: “Cruel or unusual punishments may not be inflicted or

excessive fines imposed.”

6. A punishment is cruel or unusual within the meaning of

Article 1, § 17 when it “ ‘shocks the conscience and offends

fundamental notions of human dignity.” Jn re Foss, 10 Cal.3d

910, 919 (1974), quoting Jn re Lynch, 8 Cal.3d 410, 424 (1972).

As with the Eighth Amendment, the concept of cruel or unusual

punishments “ ‘must draw its meaning from the evolving stan-

dards of decency that mark the progress of a maturing society,’ ”

People v. Vaughn, 71 Cal.2d 406, 418 (1969), citing Trop v.

Dulles, 36 U.S. 86, 101 (1958).

7. In Allen v. Superior Court, 18 Cal.3d 520, 525 (1976), the

Court stated: “It is established that our Constitution is a ‘docu-

ment of independent force (citations) whose construction is left

to this court, informed but untrammeled by the United States

Supreme Court’s reading of parallel federal provisions. . . .”

Furthermore, Cal. Const. Art. 1, Section 24 provides in part:

“Rights guaranteed by this Constitution are not heap

on those guaranteed by the United States Constitution. .

B-16

8. The use, by the drafters of the California Constitution, of

the disjunctive between the terms “cruel” and “unusual,” with

knowledge of the federal formulation, was “purposeful.” People v.

Anderson, 6 Cal.3d 628, 634 (1972), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 958

(1972).

9. Calif. Pen. Code Section 2652 makes it a misdemeanor “to

use in the prisons, any cruel, corporal, or unusual punishment or

to inflict any treatment or allow any lack of care which would

injure or impair the health of the prisoner, inmate, or person

confined... .”

10. Calif. Pen. Code Section 2600 provides:

“A person sentenced to imprisonment in a state prison

may, during any such period of confinement, be deprived of

such rights and only such rights, as is necessary in order to

provide for the reasonable security of the institution in which

he is confined and for the reasonable protection of the

public.”

11. An analysis of state standards under Article I, Section 17,

of the California Constitution is found in a new opinion filed by

Division Two of the Fourth Appellate District of the Court of

Appeal.

“The same basic test employed in the federal courts is

appropriate to assessing conditions of confinement chal-

lenged under the California Constitution .. .

‘in assessing the standards of decency which are essential

to this analysis, we think it appropriate that California courts

look chiefly to California standards and institutions for their

guideposts. Jn Re The Inmates of Riverside County at Indio

v. Ben Clark, as Sheriff of Riverside County. (July 12, 1983)

83 Daily Journal D.A.R. 2057, 2058.

Justice Morris (4th District Court of Appeals, Division 2), in

her opinion in the /ndio case carefully contrasted the conditions of

confinement in the Indio jail to those which existed at the

Southern Ohio Correctional Facility which are set out in Rhodes,

supra, 452 U.S. 337 and the Metropolitan Correctional’ Center

considered in Bell v. Wolfish, supra, 441 U.S. 520:

OM

B-17

“In each of these cases the Supreme Court considered

arguments that overcrowded conditions at detention facilities

rose to the level of constitutional violations, and in each case

the court held that ““double-celling” or exceeding a facility’s

design capacity was not per se constitutionally prohibited.

(Citation). In each case the court directed its attention to

the particular conditions at the facility in question.

“The Metropolitan Correctional Center, at issue in Bell v.

Wolfish, was constructed in 1975, and “differ(ed) markedly

from the familiar image of a jail; there are no barred cells,

dank, colorless corridors, or clanging steel gates. It was

intended to include the most advanced and innovative fea-

tures of modern design of detention facilities. As the Court of

Appeals stated: ‘(1)t represented the architectural embodi-

ment of the best and most progressive penological planning.’

(Citation. )

“The Southern Ohio Correctional Facility, at issue in

Rhodes v. Chapman, was built in the early 1970's; it was

described as “ ‘unquestionably a top-flight, first-class facil-

ity.” (452 U.S. at p. 341.) Both the Bell and Rhodes

opinions stressed that under the conditions shown to exist at

those facilities, no constitutional violation could be found. By

clear implication, the court recognized that under other

circumstances, overcrowding would be critical to a finding of

unconstitutionality. (Citation.) Conditions of confinement

“alone or in combination, may deprive inmates of the mini-

mal civilized measure of life’s necessities.’ (Citation.)”

“The Indio jail facility differs substantially from the “top-

flight” and progressive facilities described in the two Su-

preme Court opinions. ... the jail is a “very badly outmoded

physical plant, in virtually all of the facilities,” in the uncon-

tradicted view of an expert from the Board of Corrections.

Breakdown of plumbing was common; maintenance suffered.

The problems of a badly designed, antiquated physical plant

could only be exacerbated by relying on 31 individuals to do

the work of 45 staff members.” (/d. at p. 2058).”

B-18

In Indio the Riverside County Jail was only twenty-two (22)

years old at the time of trial. In the present case the facility varies

in age from approximately 50 years to approximately 100 years.

No part of the facility has been built since 1950.

Under the circumstances set forth in this court’s Statement of

Decision, supra, this Court finds that the conditions of confine-

ment at San Quentin fail to meet contemporary standards of

decency, and are unconstitutional.

12. In Rhodes v. Chapman, supra, the Supreme Court was

concerned with the issue of double-celling. However, in analyzing

double-celling the Court considered virtually every aspect of

inmate life and institutional design and operation in the Southern |

Ohio Correctional Facility (SOCF). The Court discussed its

previous opinions in Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976),

involving inmate medical care, and in Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S.

678 (1978), involving conditions of confinement in Arkansas’

punitive isolation cells, and observed:

“Conditions other than those in Gamble and Hutto, alone or

in combination, may deprive inmates of the minimal civi-

lized measure of life’s necessities. Such conditions could be

cruel and unusual...” 452 U.S. at 347 (emphasis supplied).

Most courts adopt Justice Brennan’s assessment of the majority

opinion in Rhodes, see 452 U.S. at 362-63 and n. 10 (Brennan, J.

concurring in the judgment), and refer to the analysis as one

respecting the “totality of conditions” of confinement. Ruiz v.

Estelle, 679 F.2d 1115, 1139 (Sth Cir. 1982) amended in part,

vacated in part on other grounds, 688 F.2d 266 (Sth Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, U.S. , 103 S.Ct. 1938 (1983). The “total-

ity of conditions” approach adopted by the Supreme Court and by

these lower federal courts is an appropriate analytical framework

for this Court’s consideration of the constitutionality of conditions

on the mainline at San Quentin under both the state and federal

constitutions.

One court eschews the label “totality of conditions,” cautioning

against vagueness in findirgs of cruel and unusual punishments

and in creation of remedies for such constitutional violations; that

court prescribes a focus on “discrete areas of human needs.”

B-19

Hoptowit v. Ray, 682 F.2d 1237, 1246-47 (9th Cir. 1982); see

also, Wright v. Rushen, 642 F.2d 1129 (9th Cir. 1981). That

same court also recognizes that

_ each condition of confinement does not exist in isola-

tion; the court must consider the effect of each condition in

the context of the prison environment, especially when the

ill-effects of particular conditions are exacerbated by other

related conditions. Wright v. Rushen, supra, 642 F.2d at

1133.

The Court’s judgment in the present case reflects these cautionary

statements by the Federal Ninth Circuit Court of Appeal.

13. Generally speaking, inmates are entitled under the Eighth

Amendment to “reasonably adequate food, clothing, shelter, sani-

tation, medical care, and personal safety.” Newman v. Alabama,

559 F.2d 283, 291 (Sth Cir. 1977) remanded on other grounds

sub nom. Alabama v. Pugh, 438 U.S. 781 (1978), cert. denied,

438 U.S. 915 (1978); Wright v. Rushen, 642 F.2d 1129, 1132-33

(9th Cir. 1981).

14. With respect to reasonably adequate shelter, Rhodes v.

Chapman, supra, sets forth by its factual presentation the stan-

dard by which the constitutionality of double-celling under the

Eighth Amendment may be determined. It does not confer a

federal constitutional blessing on double-celling in all circum-

stances. The court declared that “conditions in a number of

prisons, especially older ones, have justly been described as

“deplorable” or “sordid.” 452 U.S. at 352. The courts, including

this Court, “have a responsibility to scrutinize claims of cruel and

unusual confinement.” /d. On this basis, it is appropriate to

compare the conditions at the institution under scrutiny in Rhodes

v. Chapman with conditions found in other prisons such as San

Quentin.

One Federal District Court aptly observed:

“As important as what the Supreme Court decided in

Rhodes is what it did not decide. The Court did not rule that

double celling may never amount to cruel and unusual

punishment. Rather, the extensive analysis of related prison

B-20

conditions makes it crystal clear that each case must b

judged on its own unique facts.” Grubbs v. Bradley, 55

F.Supp. 1052, 1122 (M.D. Tenn. 1982).

e

2

Accordingly, since Rhodes, several courts, including the Grubbs

courtfhave determined that double-celling may violate or in fact

does violate the Eighth Amendment. Madyun v. Thompson, 657

F.2d 868 (7th Cir. 1981); Hendrix v. Faulkner, 525 F.Supp. 435

(M.D. Ind. 1981); French v. Owens, 538 F.Supp. 910 (S.D. Ind.

1982): Grubbs v. Bradley, 552 F.Supp 1052 (M.D. Tenn. 1982);

see also, Toussaint v. Rushen, #C-73-1422 SAW (N.D. Cal.)

(preliminary injunction issued Jan. 14, 1983, enjoining, inter alia,

double-celling in the restricted housing units at San Quentin).

15. “Sanitation is a discrete core area entitled to independent

Eighth Amendment protection.” Grubbs v. Bradley, supra, at

1127. Inmates are entitled to “reasonably adequate ventilation,

sanitation, bedding, hygenic materials and utilities (1.e., hot and

cold water, light, heat, plumbing), Ramos v. Lamm, 639 F.2d

559, 568 (10th Cir. 1980). Their quarters must be reasonably fire-

safe. Leeds v. Watson, 630 F.2d 674, 675-76 (9th Cir. 1980);

Ruiz v. Estelle, 503 F.Supp. 1265, 1383 (S.D. Tex. 1980) aff'd in

part, rev'd in part and remanded, 679 F.2d 1115 (Sth Cir. 1982)

amended in part, vacated in part, 688 F.2d 266 (Sth Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, ____. U.S. ___,, 103 S.Ct. 1438 (1983).

16. “[{DJeliberate indifference to serious medical needs of

prisoners constitutes the ‘unnecessary and wanton infliction of

pain, ... proscribed by the Eighth Amendment.” Estelle v. Gam-

ble, 429 U.S. 97, 104 (1976). Mental health care falls within the

ambit of serious medical needs. See, e.g., Woodall v. Foti, 648

F.2d 268, 272 (Sth Cir. 1981), and Bowring v. Godwin, 551 F.2d

44 (4th Cir. 1977).

This Court rejects defendant’s contentions that it must find that

defendants have been “deliberately indifferent” with respect to

conditions of confinement at San Quentin before it can properly

declare such conditions unconstitutional and fashion an appropri-

ate remedy therefor. However, as stated elsewhere in this State-

ment of Decision, the evidence showed that defendants have

B-21

indeed been “deliberately indifferent,” both literally and as that

tional rights delineated herein.

17. Inmates must be given reasonable “protect{ion] from the

constant threat of violence... and sexual assault.” Jones v. Dia-

mond. 636 F.2d 1364 (Sth Cir. 1981), cert. dismissed sub nom.

Ledbetter v. Jones, 453 U.S. 950 (1981); see also, Ramos vy.

Lamm, supra, 639 F.2d at 572. “...[CJonfinement in a prison

where violence and terror reign is actionable. A prisoner has a

right, secured by the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments, to be

reasonably protected from the constant threat of violence and

sexual assault by his fellow inmates, and he need not wait until he

is actually assaulted to obtain relief.” Woodhous v. Virginia, 487

F.2d 889, 890 (4th Cir. 1973), citing Holt v. Sarver, 442 F.2d

304, 308 (8th Cir. 1971). Furthermore, “[a] pervasive risk of

harm... may be established by much less than proof of a reign of

violence and terror in the particular institution.” Doe v. District of

Columbia, 701 F.2d 948, 961 (D.C. Cir. 1983).

“When a state confines a person by reason of conviction of a

crime, the state must assume the obligation for the safekeeping of

that prisoner. The means of protecting inmates from each other is

the provision of adequate physical facilities. Long-range plans

provide no satisfactory solution to those who are assaulted or

physically harmed today.” Finney v. Arkansas Board of Correc-

tions, 505 F.2d 194, 201 (8th Cir. 1974), on remand, Finney v.

Hutto, 410 F.Supp. 251 (N.D. Ark. 1976), aff'd 548 F.2d 470

(8th Cir. 1977), affd 437 U.S. 678 (1978), reh. denied, 439 U.S.

1122 (1979).

18. ‘“...[W]hen prison officials have failed to control or

separate prisoners who endanger the physical safety of other

prisoners, and the level of violence becomes so high as to

constitute cruel and unusual punishment under the Eighth

Amendment, federal courts have broad authority to eradicate

such conditions and may order the development of a classification

system as part of the remedy. [Citation]. Jones v. Diamond, 549

F.2d 997, 1015 (Sth Cir. 1979), on reh., 636 F.2d 1364, 1376 (Sth

Cir. 1981) (same principal applied), cert. dismissed sub nom.

Ledbetter v. Jones, 453 U.S. 950 (1981).

B-22

“The classification system is a matter ordinarily leit to the

expertise and discretion of prison administrators. [ Citations omit-

ted]. Nevertheless, if the proof shows a sufficient connection

between an improper classification system and a protected consti-

tutional right, such as the right to be free from excessive violence.

there may be just cause for court intervention in the proper case.”

Grubbs v. Bradley, 552 F.Supp. 1052, 1124 (M.D. Tenn. 1982).

19. “... [While an inmate does not have a federal constitu-

tional right to rehabilitation, he is entitled to be confined in an

environment which does not result in his degeneration or which

threatens his mental and physical well-being.” Battle v. Anderson.

564 F.2d 388, 403 (10th Cir. 1977).

20. An Eighth Amendment violation is proved when “the

cumulative impact of the conditions of incarceration threatens the

physical, mental and emotional health and well-being of the

inmates and/or creates a probability of recidivism and future

incarceration.” Laaman vy. Helgemoe, 437 F.Supp. 269, 323

(N.D.H. 1977), quoted in Rhodes v. Chapman, supra, at 364

(Brennan, J., concurring in the judgment).

21. “...[J]Judicial intervention is indispensable if constitu-

tional dictates—not to mention considerations of basic humanity

—are to be observed in the prisons.” Rhodes v. Chapman, supra

t 354 (Brennan, J., concurring in the judgment) (emphasis in

the original). “... [Control of jails and prisons is best left to the

experts who are charged with the responsibility of running them,

except when the conditions do not comport with concepts of

human dignity of constitutional principles.” Jnmates of Sybil

Brand Institute for Women vy. County of Los Angeles, 130

Cal.App.3d 89, 101 (1982). “...[W]hena prison has been found

to be operated in plain violation of law, the court has the power,

and it is its duty, to order appropriate remedial action.” French y.

Owens, supra, at 926. When conditions of confinement amount to

cruel and unusual punishment, “federal courts will discharge their

duty to protect constitutional rights.” Rhodes y. Chapman, supra,

at 352. This Court will do no less.

22. The courts in this state_are vested with wide discretion in

formulating equitable remedies to cure constitutional violations.

B-23

Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678, 687 n.9 (1978); Molar v. Gates, 98

Cal.App.3d 1, 25 (1979); Blair v. Pitchess, 5 Cal.3d 258 (1971);

Central Valley Chapter of the Seventh Step Foundation, Inc. v.

Younger, 95 Cal.App.3d 212 (1979).

23. The Court need not find that defendants have acted

maliciously or in bad faith before it can declare conditions at San

Quentin unconstitutional or fashion its remedy. See, Rhodes v.

Chapman, supra, at 358 (Brennan, J., concurring in the judg-

ment). Furthermore, Defendants’ statutory duty to incarcerate

prisoners legally committed to them does not shield them from

injunctive relief to cure unconstitutional conditions of confine-

ment. See, e.g., Startrack, Inc. v. County of Los Angeles, 65

Cal.App.3d 451, 457 (1976); Merandette v. City and County of

San Francisco, 88 Cal.App.3d 105, 110-111 (1979). “Legislative

mandate cannot take precedence over constitutional provisions.”

Molar v. Gates, supra, 98 Cal.App.3d at 24.

24. The Court recognizes and does not dispute the prerogative

of the California legislature in the first instance to define conduct

as criminal, to establish criminal penalties, or to appropriate funds

to the various agencies of the Executive Branch as it sees fit or

proper. However, the prerogatives of the Legislative Branch are

circumscribed and limited by both the Federal Bill of Rights and

the California Constitution. Methodist Hospital of Sacramento v.

Savlor, 5 Cal.3d 685 (1971); Way v. Superior Court, 74

Cal.App.3d 165 (1977). It is this Court’s duty to enforce these

constitutional limitations whenever the exercise of legislative

prerogative results in a deprivation of constitutional nghts.

25. While reduction of population and elimination of double-

celling as a remedy for overcrowding at penal institutions may

well cause logistical difficulties for prison officials in the operation

of prison systems, it is nevertheless a remedy that may be ordered

in an appropriate case. Battle v. Anderson, 564 F.2d 388, 403

(10th Cir. 1977). Furthermore, while remedies ordered by a court

may be costly to accomplish,

Constitutional nghts are not. . .confined to those available at

moderate cost... .[T]he nature of the safeguards imposed by

the Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth Amendment levy costs

B-24

impossible for an accountant to calculate, but esteemed by us

because they are literally priceless. Ruiz v. Estelle, 679 F.2d

1115, 1146 (Sth Cir, 1982)

26. “[T]he reduction of population at one institution must

not be accomplished in such a way that another facility becomes

unconstitutionally overcrowded.” Grubbs v. Bradley, supra, 552

F.Supp. at 1131.

The Court may appoint a Special Master to oversee

enforcement of its judgment. The powers of the Special Master

are to be dictated and delegated by the Court, and authority for

his or her appointment may be derived from C.C.P. § 564,

pertaining to receivers: “In Superior Court a receiver may be

appointed by the court in which an action or proceeding Is

pending, or by a judge thereof, in the following cases:. .. 3. After

judgment, to carry the judgment into effect... [and] 8. Where

receivers have heretofore been appointed by the usage of courts of

equity.” Special Masters, who are sometimes designated as “‘re-

ceivers,” have been appointed to enforce equitable decrees in

prison condition cases. Ruiz v. Estelle, 679 F.2d 1115, 1161 (Sth

Cir. 1982).

28. C.C.P. § 1021.5. The “private attorney general theory.

“seeks to encourage suits effectuating a strong congressional or

national policy by awarding substantial attorneys’ fees, regardless

of defendants’ conduct, to those who successfully bring such suits

and thereby bring about benefits to a broad class of citizens.’

Serrano v. Priest, 20 Cal.3d 25, 43 (1977), quoting DAmico \

Board of Medical Examiners, 11 Cal.3d 1, 27 (1974). This case,

involving vindication of the constitutional rights of members of

the plaintiff class, is an appropriate case for an award of reasona-

ble attorneys’ fees to Plaintiffs. See, e.g., Inmates of Sybil Brand

Institute for Women v. County of Los Angeles, 130 Cal.App.3d at

112-114 (reasonable fee award in case involving several condi-

tions of confinement in women’s county jail facility housing pre-

trial detainees and sentenced prisoners)

2

B-25

29. Actions pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 may be brought in

California State Courts. Brown vy. Pitchess, 13 Cal.3d 518 (1975)

42 U.S.C. § 1988 provides in part: “In any action or proceeding to

enforce a provision of Section [ |] 1983...of this ttle

the court, in its discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other

than the United States, a reasonable attorney's fee as part of the

costs.” This provision is a federal parallel to C.C.P. § 1021.5, and

under § 1988 reasonable attorney's fees to prevailing plaintiffs in

prison conditions litigation have been made in many Cases,

including the following: Ruiz v. Estelle, 553 F.Supp. 567 (S.D

Tex. 1982); Stewart v. Rhodes, 656 F.2d 1216 (6th Cir. 1981),

eri denied, 455 U.S. 991 (1982)

DATED: September 13, 1983

BEVERLY BLOCH SAVITT

Beverly Bloch Savitt

Judge of the Superior Court

af

C-]

APPENDIX C

In the Court of Appeal of the State of California

First Appellate District, Division Three

A026277

(Super. Ct. No. 103454 Marin County)

Don C. Wilson et al.,

Plaintiffs and Respondents,

ft

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN et al.,

Defendants and Appellants.

[Filed December 12, 1988]

These consolidated appeals are from a judgment and orders

declaring conditions of confinement of the general inmate popula-

tion at the California State Prison at San Quentin (San Quentin)

unconstitutional and mandating significant changes in its opera-

tion. The trial court found severe structural and operational

deficiencies at the prison which threatened the lives, health, and

safety of its inmates. We agree with the trial court’s assessment of

those deficiencies, which are not now at issue in this appeal;

fortunately, most have been or are now being corrected. The

principal question in this appeal is whether the court erred in

prohibiting the confinement of two inmates in a single cell. As we

will discuss, we have concluded that the blanket ban on double

celling cannot be sustained.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

In 1981, two San Quentin prisoners filed a class action alleging

that conditions of confinement at the prison were unconstitu-

tional. The complaint, which sought declaratory and injunctive

relief, was filed on behalf of the “mainline” or general population

of the prison.’ Defendants were the warden of the prison, the

' More specifically, the class consisted of all persons confined at San

Quentin as of June 16, 1981, or who may be so confined in the future,

except for persons confined in restricted housing units. Conditions of

C-2

director of the California Department of Corrections, the Gover-

nor and others.”

On September 13, 1983, after a lengthy trial, the trial court

issued a declaratory judgment and permanent injunction in which

it concluded that the prisoners in the mainline population were

being subjected to cruel and unusual punishment in several

respects. The judgment stated: (i) The prison is overcrowded.

The men are forced to remain confined for extended periods of

time, two men to a single cell less than 48 square feet in floor

space and 360 cubic feet of space, with little or no opportunity for

meaningful activity. Most... confined there are dangerous; many

are seriously maladjusted or have psychiatric problems. The cells

have inadequate heat, improper light and insufficient ventilation.

Almost no cells have hot water. The plumbing is badly deterio-

rated. The electrical system in the cell blocks is dangerously

substandard, in total violation of all electrical codes. Noise levels

are excessive. Lack of proper sanitation practices produces har-

borage for birds, mice, roaches, bacteria and vermin of all sorts.

The threat of injury or death from fire is real and imminent.

These conditions threaten the physical, mental and emotional

health and well-being of the men confined on the mainline...

and are not penologically justified.

(ii) The men are forced to live amidst excessive violence; the

threat of injury or death from violent assault is great and is

punishment not included in the punishment to which each inmate

is sentenced.

(iii) The men are forced to live in a prison in which the threat

of an outbreak of food-borne, water-borne, or vector-borne dis-

confinement of prisoners in administrative segregation at San Quentin

are the subject of litigation in federal court. (See Toussaint v. Yockey

(9th Cir. 1984) 722 F.2d 1490; Toussaint v. McCarthy (9th Cir. 1986)

801 F.2d 1080; Rowland v. U.S. Dist. Court for N.D. of Cal. (9th Cir.

1988) 849 F.2d 380.)

> The action was also filed as a taxpayer's action by plaintiff Ursula

Gealey, who alleged that the expenditure of funds to imprison persons at

San Quentin under existing conditions is a waste of public funds and a

threat to the physical security and general welfare of all Californians.

C-3

ease is severe. Food is prepared and served under unsanitary

conditions, by inadequately trained and improperly supervised

food service workers, using outmoded and unsafe equipment.

Lack of proper sanitation practices produces harborage for birds,

mice, roaches, bacteria and vermin of all sorts. Opportunities for

contamination of the portable water supply proliferate. The sani-

tary conditions existing are below minimum acceptable standards

of decency.”

The court enjoined defendants from confining anyone at San

Quentin until each unconstitutional condition was eliminated or

corrected, but stayed the injunction provided defendants complied

to the court’s satisfaction with several enumerated conditions.

First, defendants were to submit a plan for the elimination of

overcrowding; that plan had to provide for elimination of all

involuntary double celling and “address the effect on the physical,

mentai and emotional well-being” of members of the class from

their confinement in institutions other than San Quentin. Second,

defendants were to submit a plan for the “evaluation and reexam-

ination” of the classification system which designated San Quen-

tin a prison for the placement of the most violent prisoners.

Finally, defendants were to submit a proposal for the elimination

of the numerous structural and operational deficiencies specified

in the court’s statement of decision. The judgment provided for

appointment of a Special Master to assist the court in reviewing

the adequacy of the plans. Defendants commenced compliance

with the court’s conditions, but also filed a notice of appeal from

the judgment.

In October 1983, defendants submitted its Phase I Report, a

preliminary proposal to implement the injunction, which included

a request for limited double celling. On January 19, 1984, after

reviewing defendants’ report and that of the Special Master, the

court issued an order stating that it was impressed with the

progress the defendants had already made toward correcting

structural and operational deficiencies at the prison which

threatened the lives, health, and safety of the inmates. The order

also specified in some detail what the final plan should include,

required a study of the classification system, directed the monitor-

ing of all inmates transferred from the mainline to other institu-

C-4

tions, and refused to allow any involuntary double celling absent a

riot or other similar emergency. Defendants also appealed from

that order.

In March 1984, this court granted in part defendants’ petition

for writ of supersedeas by partially staying the double celling

prohibition. In April 1984, defendants submitted a final plan to

implement the court’s findings, the Phase II Report. On August

30, 1984, the trial court approved the operations and structures

section of the plan, but ordered that double celling, whether

voluntary or involuntary, should not exceed the limit established

by this court’s stay. On September 24, 1984, the trial court issued

a second order, approving the final plan only provisionally. As will

be discussed in more detail later in this opinion, the order directed

defendants to report further on their efforts to alleviate over-

crowding by means other than transferring -prisoners; it also

ordered defendants to carry out a “total analysis” of the existing

system for classifying inmates and prisons. Defendants filed a

third notice of appeal from these two orders.

Finally, on June 19, 1985, the trial court issued an order

enjoining defendants from involuntarily transferring any class

member to either the North or Central facilities of the Correc-

tional Training Facility at Soledad. Defendants filed a fourth

notice of appeal from that order.

The several appeals have all been consolidated in this court.

FACTS

In recent years the prison population in California has in-

creased dramatically. In 1983 the design capacity of the institu-

tions in the statewide prison system was 23,557, but the inmate

population was over 32,000 and was increasing by approximately

340 prisoners per month. Between 1977 and mid-1982, the

number of inmates at San Quentin grew from 2,000 to 3,400. By

February 1983, the general population was 153 percent of design

Capacity.

At the time of trial, California prisons were divided into four

Categories, ranging from the least (Level I) to the most secure

C-5

(Level IV). The only two level IV prisons were Folsom and San

Quentin. In the late 1970's a new system for classifying prisoners

was adopted, which was intended to insure that prisoners were

placed in an institution with an appropriate level of custody, and

to house similar prisoners in the same institution. Prison adminis-

trators hoped that housing disruptive and assaultive prisoners in

One institution would free other institutions to provide programs

for less disruptive individuals. Their attempt was to provide a

more objective way of classifying prisoners than had been utilized

previously. Prisoners were classified as Level I, II, III, or IV

inmates, with the latter considered the most difficult management

problems within the system. Criteria utilized to classify prisoners

included length of term, nature of the crime committed, and prior

escapes or assaultive behavior. A prisoner might qualify for Level

IV custody solely on the basis of sentence length, and could be

confined at San Quentin with no previous convictions. Reclassifi-

cation of a prisoner based on in-prison behavior was possible.

Among the results of the classification system was that the most

violent offenders were concentrated at San Quentin. At the time

of trial, there were more Level IV inmates in the system than

Level IV cells available at Folsom and San Quentin; thus some

Level IV inmates were confined at Level III institutions.

The general or mainline population at San Quentin consists of

inmates who are ordinarily free to go from their cells to work,

school, and to the mess hall.’ At times, however, inmates in the

mainline population are “locked down,” or confined in their cells

for up to 23 hours each day, and are released only to take showers

and occasionally for meais. Among circumstances triggering a

lock-down are violent incidents, when prison officials need to

investigate and control inmates.

When the prison was not locked down, about 75 percent of the

mainline population inmates were out of their cells about 14 hours

a day; the rest, about 10 or 11 hours a day. Lock-downs were

frequent, however.

2 ‘. ‘ ‘ .

Other inmates are in secured housing units for various reasons.

Those units are also referred to as housing management control units or

lock-ups.

C-6

The overcrowding at the prison led the the double celling of

many mainline inmates. Prison officials testified that attempts

were made to double cell individuals who were “somewhat

compatible.’ Procedures were available to allow cell changes by

an inmate having difficulty with a cellmate or with medical

reasons for a change. The unit staff handled initial requests for

changes, with the inmate appeal process available to an unsatis-

fied prisoner. Nevertheless, accomplishing a change often took a

long time.

The conflicting evidence about the level of violence at the

prison and its causes will be discussed later in this opinion. It is

unnecessary for purposes of this appeal to set forth the evidence

about the deplorable structural and operational conditions at the

prison, as defendants do not challenge the trial court’s findings

and conclusions concerning those conditions.

CRUEL AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT: THE STAN-

DARD OF REVIEW

In considering these appeals, we must accept the trial court’s

findings of fact, provided they are supported by substantial evi-

dence. The constitutional significance of the facts found, however,

is a question of law for the independent judgment of this court.

(See People v. Louis (1986) 42 Cal.3d 969, 984-985; People v.

Levba (1981) 29 Cal.3d 591, 596-597 [discussing the two-tiered

standard of review in the context of a motion to suppress

evidence ].)

Our determination of whether the facts found amount to cruel

and unusual punishment is governed by Rhodes v. Chapman

(1981) 452 U.S. 337, in which the Supreme Court considered for

the first time whether conditions of confinement at a particular

prison constituted cruel and unusual punishment in violation of

the Eighth Amendment. Articulating the principles relevant to its

analysis, the court explained that the Eighth Amendment prohib-

its conditions of confinement which ‘“ ‘involve the unnecessary

and wanton infliction of pain’ [citation]... .” (/d., at p. 346, fn.

omitted.) “Among ‘unnecessary and wanton’ inflictions of pain

C-7

are those that are ‘totally without penological justification.’ [ Cita-

tions.]” (/bid.)

The court emphasized that there is no static test for ascertain-

ing whether conditions of confinement are cruel and unusual.

Rather, “the Eighth Amendment ‘must draw its meaning from

the evolving standards of decency that mark the progress of a

maturing society.’ [Citation.]” (Rhodes v. Chapman, supra, 452

U.S. at p. 346.) Conditions of confinement, “alone or in combina-

tion, may deprive inmates of the minimal civilized measure of

life’s necessities. Such conditions could be cruel and unusual

under the contemporary standard of decency. ... But conditions

that cannot be said to be cruel and unusual under contemporary

standards are not unconstitutional. To the extent that such condi-

tions are restrictive and even harsh, they are part of the penalty

that criminal offenders pay for their offenses against society.”

(/d., at p. 347.)

The court cautioned that Eighth Amendment determinations

should not be merely the subjective views of judges. (Rhodes v.

Chapman, supra, 452 U.S. at p. 346.) “In assessing claims that

conditions of confinement are cruel and unusual, courts must bear

in mind that their inquiries ‘spring from constitutional require-

ments and that judicial answers to them must reflect that fact

rather than a court’s idea of how best to operate a detention

facility.” [Citation.]” (/d., at p. 351.)

The specific question in Rhodes was whether the double celling

of inmates at an Ohio prison was unconstitutional. According to

the trial court’s findings, each 63-square-foot cell contained a

two-tiered bunk bed, a cabinet night stand, a wall-mounted sink

with hot and cold running water, and a toilet, a cabinet, shelf, and

built-in radio. About 75 percent of the inmates could choose to

spend most of their time outside the cells, in the day rooms,

school, workshops, library, or in visits. Other inmates spent more

time in their cells. The food was adequate, as was the air

ventilation system and the temperature. While violence had

increased with the prison population, evidence failed to establish

that it had increased out of proportion to the increase in popula-

tion, or that double celling itself caused greater violence.

C-8

The trial court had concluded that double celling under those

circumstances constituted cruel and unusual punishment, but the

Supreme Court disagreed. It reasoned that the double celling did

not “lead to deprivations of essential food, medical care, or

sanitation. Nor did it increase violence among inmates or create

other conditions intolerable for prison confinement.” (Rhodes vy.

Chapman, supra, 452 U.S. at p. 348.) The court acknowledged

that the double celling was not desirable and might even inflict

pain, but stated, “there is no evidence that double celling under

these circumstances either inflicts unnecessary or wanton pain or

is grossly disproportionate to the severity of crimes warranting

imprisonment.” (/d., at pp. 348-349, fn. omitted. )

Our review must also be quided by Whitley v. Albers (1986)

475 U.S. 312, decided by the Supreme Court while the instant

appeals were pending. In Whitley, the Supreme Court discussed

the requirements of the Eighth Amendment in the context of a

prisoner's claim that officials subjected him to cruel and unusual

punishment by shooting him during an attempt to quell a prison

riot. Relying on Estelle v. Gamble (1976) 429 U.S. 97, in which it

had held that deliberate indifference to serious medical needs of

prisoners is cruel and unusual punishment, the court stated that

an intent to inflict unnecessary pain is not required to establish an

Eighth Amendment violation. Nevertheless, it also stressed that

to be cruel and unusual punishment, conduct which does not

purport to be punishment at all must involve more than ordinary

lack of due care for ia prisoner’s interests or safety. (Whitley v.

Albers, supra, 475 U.S. at p. 319.) “Jt is obduracy and wanton-

ness, not inadvertence or error in good faith, that characterize the

conduct prohibited by the Cruel and Unusual Punishments

Clause, whether that conduct occurs in connection with establish-

ing conditions of confinement, supplying medicial needs, or restor-

ing official control over a tumultuous cellblock.” (/bid., emphasis

added. )

Whether the trial court correctly assessed the constitutionality

of conditions at San Quentin is not the only question in this case.

Even if we were to agree with that assessment, we must also

evaluate the remedies it ordered. When a court has concluded

that an Eighth Amendment violation has occurred, its function is

C-9

“to [fashion] a remedy that does no more and no less than correct

that particular constitutional violation.” (Hoptowit v. Ray (9th

Cir. 1982) 682 F.2d 1237, 1246; see also Spain v. Procunier (9th

Cir. 1979) 600 F.2d 189, 194; Ruiz v. Estelle (Sth Cir. 1982) 679

F.2d 1115, 1144-1145, mod. on other grounds 688 F.2d 266.) A

remedial injunction which goes beyond what is required to correct

the Eighth Amendment violations must be reversed. (Union

County Jail Inmates v. Di Buono (3d Cir. 1983) 713 F.2d 985,

1001-1003; Hoptowit v. Ray, supra, 682 F.2d at pp. 1244-1245.)

This limitation on the court's discretion is based in part on the

recognition that “the problems of prisons in America are complex

and intractable, and... not readily susceptible of resolution by

decree. Most require expertise, comprehensive planning, and the

commitment of resources, all of which are peculiarly within the

province of the legislative and executive branches of government.

For all of those reasons, courts are ill equipped to deal with the

increasingly urgent problems of prison administration and re-

form.” (Procunier v. Martinez (1974) 416 U.S. 396, 404-405, fn.

omitted: see also Wilson v. Superior Court (1987) 194

Cal.App.3d 1259, 1268-1269.)*

OVERCROWDING

a. Double celling

Initially the court prohibited involuntary double celling; later, it

barred voluntary double celling as well. Before we consider

defendants’ objections to this ban, it is necessary to clarify what is

not at issue in this appeal and to determine precisely what the

trial court held with respect to double celling.

In its statement of decision the trial court made detailed

findings of fact about four categories of conditions of confinement:

double celling, “other conditions of cell confinement,” violence,

and food service. As to the “other conditions” category, which

included such deficiencies as inadequate heat and ventilation,

*When a federal court reviews conditions in a state prison, that

court's discretion in fashioning a remedy is also limited by principles of

federalism. (Hoptowit v. Ray, supra, 682 F.2d at p. 1246.)

ooo

cia

C-10

deteriorated plumbing, and an electrical system violating code

requirements, the court concluded that these conditions did not

meet “the most minimum standard required for reasonably ade-

quate shelter.” In other words, the court held that those condi-

tions combined to deprive prisioners of their need for habitable

shelter and in combination amounted to a violation of the Eighth

Amendment. (See Toussaint v. McCarthy, supra, 801 F.2d at

p. 1107.) The court also concluded that conditions existing in the

food service area threatened the physical health of the inmates

and fell “below contemporary standards of decency.” Defendants

do not dispute the sufficiency of the evidence to support the

court's findings concerning either of these two categories: they

have not attacked the judgment insofar as it concluded that these

deficiencies violated the Eighth Amendment and ordered their

correction.

The trial court also concluded that the rate of violence at the

prison was constitutionally unacceptable. As will be discussed.

defendants do dispute the court’s findings and conclusions on that

category.

The court’s findings and conclusions about double celling are

somewhat ambiguous. From the court’s treatment of double

celling as a discrete category of conditions of confinement. it |

appears to have held double celling unconstitutional regardless of |

any other conditions of cell confinement. The court also men-

tioned double celling in its findings about the escalating rate of

violence at the prison, stating that two of its many causes were the

double celling generated by overcrowding and the classification |

system which placed the most dangerous inmates at San Quentin.

Thus it appears that the court also prohibited double celling based

on its finding that the practice contributed to the unconstitutional

rate of violence at the prison.

ee

[I]n and of itself double-celling is not unconstitutional.”

( Toussaint v. Yockey, supra, 722 F.2d at p. 1492, citing Rhodes v.

Chapman, supra, 452 U.S. 337.) Considered in isolation, double

celling may be undesirable, harsh, and restrictive, but it does not

inflict unnecessary and wanton pain or violate contemporary

standards of decency. Insofar as the trial court held that double

celling was per se unconstitutional, the court erred.

C-1]

In Rhodes, the Supreme Court intimated that double celling

may be prohibited by the Eighth Amendment if it increases

violence among inmates. (Rhodes, supra, 452 U.S. at p. 348.)

Unquestionably prison officials are obligated to take reasonable

steps to protect inmates from physical abuse. (Hoptowit v. Ray,

supra, 682 F.2d at p. 1250.) Although “[vJiolence is unfortu-

nately epidemic to American prisons” (Murphy v. United States

(D.C. Cir. 1981) 653 F.2d 637, 342), “[v]iolence and sexual

assault among inmates may rise to a level rendering conditions

crue} and unusual.” (Alberti v. Klevenhagen (Sth Cir. 1986) 790

F.2d 1220, 1224.) Accordingly, we must also examine the suffi-

ciency of the evidence to support the court’s finding that double

celling was among the causes of increased violence at San

Quentin.

The evidence does indicate that in 1982, the number of

assaults, suicides, and weapon possession incidents per 100 aver-

age daily population at the prison was increasing, and that the rate

of increase was greater at San Quentin than at Folsom, the other

Level IV institution. That evidence, however, does not support

the finding that double celling itself was a cause of the increase.

The statistics upon which the court relied did not distinguish

between the mainline population and the segregated units, or

between single and double celled inmates. As defendants point

Out, an increase in violence as a whole does not establish that

double celling among the general population caused that increase.

Accordingly, the court’s prohibition on double celling based on its

causal relationship to the rate of violence at the prison cannot be

sustained. In light of our conclusion, the court’s ban on voluntary

double celling must also fall.

b. Monitoring of transferred inmates

The second component which the court ordered included in

defendants’ plan to eliminate overcrowding was a section address-

ing “the effect on the physical, mental and emotional well-being”

of members of the class resulting from their confinement in

institutions other than San Quentin. The court’s order on defend-

ants’ final plan requires monitoring of conditions of confinement

of any class member transferred to another prison within the

system. Defendants object to this order.

C-1]2

The monitoring réquirement apparently stemmed trom the

court's concern that’ its ban on double celling at San Quentin

would result in overcrowded conditions at other state prisons. Our

conclusion that the prohibition on double celling must be reversed

would seem to eliminate the reason for the monitoring

requirement.

The monitoring order must also be reversed for a more funda-

mental reason. Although a trial court has broad discretion in

tailoring a remedial injunction (see Times-Mirror Co. v. Superior

Court (1935) 3 Cal.2d 309, 331), that discretion is not unlimited,

particularly in a case such as this. As already stated, a court which

concludes that a condition of confinement violates the Eight’:

Amendment should “[fashion] a remedy that does no more an?

no less then correct that particular constitutional violation.

(Hoptowit v. Ray, supra, 682 F.2d at p. 1246.)

This action was brought on behalf of persons confined at San

Quentin or who might be confined there in the future, and

challenged conditions of confinement at that institution, not in the

State's prison system as a whole. The court’s function was limited

to devising a remedy for those conditions at San Quentin which it

found unconstitutional. Conditions at other state prisons were not

litigated in this action. These conditions are being litigated in

other courts. Plaintiffs do not explain how the monitoring of

inmates transferred from San Quentin would rectify conditions at

that prison, and cite no authority which supports this intrusive

aspect of the court’s remedial orders. The court abused its

discretion in mandating the monitoring of transferred prisoners.”

* Rowland v. U.S. Dist. Court for N.D. of Cal., supra, 849 F.2d 380 is

consistent with our conclusion. Rowland is the most recent appeal in the

lawsuit brought on behalf of prisoners confined in administrative segre-

gation in four California prisons. (See ante, p. 2, fn. 1.) A permanent

injunction, limited to Folsom and San Quentin, was issued by the trial

court to correct several unconstitutional conditions. A monitor was

appointed to review compliance with the injunction, and was ordered by

the trial court to investiage the transfer of Folsom prisoners to another

prison and evaluate the constitutionality of conditions at that prison. The

appellate court reversed, reasoning that the trial court had no jurisdic-

tion to send an emissary into a facility not covered by the injunction to

C-13

c. Alternatives to transferring inmates

The potential impact on other prisons of the San Quentin

double-celling underlies another order of the court challenged by

defendants. After reviewing defendants’ -proposed plan, the court

ordered that their final plan should contain solutions to the

overcrowding problem other than transferring prisoners to

crowded prisons elsewhere in the system; it listed several such

solutions, among them proposals for legislation to create a “safety

valve” release program. In its order evaluating the final plan, the

court stated that defendants had not “carried their burden” in

seeking the enactment of legislation and that the plan ignored

many alternative solutions to overcrowding. The order stated that

the court could not accept defendants’ policy choice to overcrowd

other institutions; it required defendants to report at a later date

theiz efforts to alleviate overcrowding through adoption of ap-

proaches other than the transfer of inmates.

As with the monitoring requirement, this order must be re-

versed for more than one reason. First, the reversal of the double-

celling ban removes one of the reasons underlying this order.

More importantly, “[c]ourts must recognize that the authority to

make policy choices concerning prisons is not a proper judicial

function.” (Hoptowit v. Ray, supra, 682 F.2d at p. 1246.) As

already stated, conditions of confinement elsewhere in the prison

system were not challenged in this lawsuit, and the court made no

findings with respect to the constitutionality of conditions in other

prisons. Under these circumstances, the court abused its discre-

tion by dictating that defendants had to alleviate overcrowding by

methods other than transferring of inmates. Furthermore, the

doctrine of separation of powers prohibits courts from compelling

legislative action. (California State Employees’ Assn. v. State of

California (1973) 32 Cal.App.3d 103, 108-109.) By ordering

defendants to seek the passage of “safety valve” legislation, the

court impermissibly attempted to accomplish indirectly what it

could not order directly.

determine the existence of constitutional violations there. “If such

violations exist, they must be established on the basis of a new lawsuit

brought by allegedly aggrieved parties.” (Rowland, supra, at p. 382.)

d. Transfers to Soledad

On June 19, 1985, the court enjoined defendants from involun-

tarily transferring mainline prisoners to the North and Central

facilities of the Correctional Training Facility at Soledad. The

order provided that it would dissolve if conditions of confinement

at those facilities were found to meet constitutional standards in

two separate actions then pending. We take judicial notice of two

unpublished opinions in those actions, Jn re Rock (Nov. 14,

1986) HO000890 and /n re Daily and Smith (Mar. 16, 1987)

A026682, in which the reviewing courts reversed trial court orders

concluding that conditions at those facilities were unconstitutional

or ordering changes in the prison operation. In light of those

decisions, the parties now agree that defendants’ appeal from this

order is moot.

INMATE CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

Among the conditions upon which the court stayed its judg-

ment was the submission of a plan for the evaluation and re-

examination of the classification system-by which San Quentin

was designated a Level IV institution. Defendants’ Phase |

Report included a proposal for_a comprehensive review of the

classification system. The court’s order in response to that report

specified several questions which should be addressed, including

the extent to which the classification system had contributed to

violence at San Quentin and whether the system should be

modified.

In April 1984, defendants submitted their Phase II Report and

a study titled “Preliminary Report, Review and Analysis of

Departmental Inmate Classification System.” According to its

introduction, the latter report had its origin in the trial court’s

directive in the instant case, but correctional administrators,

legislators, and others involved concluded that a more extensive

evaluation and modification of the overall classification system

was necessary. This preliminary report explained that a long-term

evaluation of the system would follow. Nevertheless, in its Sep-

tember 24, 1984, order, the trial court directed defendants to carry

out “a total analysis of the existing classification system.” It

C-15

ordered defendants to consult outside experts and include speci-

fied components in the analysis.

The Department’s evaluation culminated in its Inmate Classifi-

cation System Study: Final Report, January 1986, which was filed

with the trial court. In his 7th Quarterly Report to the trial court,

the Special Master expressed some criticism of the study, but

concluded that defendants had met the mandates of the court in

performing the study and recommended that they be found in

compliance with the final plan. (Special Master's 7th Quarterly

Report at p. 13.) In an order dated October 17, 1986, the trial

court accepted the Special Master's Report. °

Defendants contend that the court erred in requiring an evalua-

tion of the classification system. In general, courts defer to the

expertise of prison officials in classifying inmates, and will not

limit their discretion to classify prisoners as they deem appropri-

ate. (See, e.g., Groseclose v. Dutton (D.Tenn. 1985) 609 F.Supp.

1432, 1436, 1446-1447, vacated on other grounds and remanded

829 F.2d 581, 585.) Nevertheless, a court may order the develop-

ment of a classification system as part of the remedy when prison

officials have not controlled or isolated prisoners who threaten the

safety of others and the level of violence is so high that it

constitutes cruel and unusual punishment. (See Jones v. Dia-

mond (5th Cir. 1981) 636 F.2d 1364, 1374, 1376.)

In this case, however, we will not decide whether the court

erred in ordering a study of the classification system. The duty of

a reviewing court is to decide actual controversies by a judgment

which can be carried into effect, and not to give opinions on moot

questions. An issue in an appeal may be moot when an event has

occurred which makes it impossible for the court to grant the

appellant any effectual relief should it rule in his or her favor.

(See Paul v. Milk Depots, Inc. (1964) 62 Cal.2d 129, 132.)

Given the Department’s study, the Special Master’s Report and

the court’s acceptance of that report, any issues concerning the

classification system are moot.

*We have taken judicial notice of the study, the Special Master's

report, and the order accepting that report.

C-16

Defendants contend that a live controversy exists as to the

validity of the court’s factual findings about the effects of the

existing classification system. Regardless of those findings, how-

ever, defendants have prepared the study, the Special Master has

concluded that defendants have met the mandates of the court in

performing that study, and the court has accepted the Special

Master's Report. In plaintiffs’ words, ““With respect to the orders

requiring examination and reevaluation of the classification sys-

tem, there is nothing left to do. [Defendants] have complied.

[Defendants] so contend; the special master agreed; the trial

court so found. The studies cannot be un-written.” Any decision

by this court about whether the court should have ordered the

study would have no practical effect or provide defendants with

any effective relief.

In the alternative, defendants also urge that we should evaluate

the court's classification orders even if events have rendered those

orders moot, because the question is one of substantial public

interest which is likely to recur. (See Marin County Bd. of

Realtors, Inc. v. Palsson (1976) 16 Cal.3d 920, 929.) Undoubt-

edly the state’s prison system and the manner in which prisons

and inmates are classified is of considerable public interest.

Nevertheless, in any case challenging the constitutionality of

conditions of confinement, the validity of an order involving

classification will depend on the facts and circumstances of that

particular case. (See, e.g., Gates v. Collier (Sth Cir. 1974) 501

F.2d 1291, 1308-1310; Palmigiano v. Garrahy (D.R.1. 1977) 443

F.Supp. 956, 965-968, 987-988.) We are unaware of any other

similar pending case, and have not been convinced by defendants

that the precise questions raised by the court’s orders in this case

are likely to arise again.

OTHER ORDERS

Defendants also object to several other aspects of the court’s

post-judgment orders.

a. Compliance with health and fire surveys

Defendants have not challenged the court’s findings about the

many serious structural and operational deficiencies at San Quen-

C-17

tin or its conclusion that these deficiencies combined to deprive

inmates of habitable shelter and personal safety according to

contemporary standards of decency. Nor have they challenged

that portion of the injunction directing development of a plan for

the expeditious elimination of “the structural and operational

deficiencies at San Quentin which threaten the lives, health and

safety of the inmates... .”

In its January 1984 order on the proposed plan, the court stated

that it was impressed with the progress made by defendants in

correcting these deficiencies, and approved their schedule to

improve the situation, subject to several conditions. Among those

conditions was that the deficiencies to be monitored should

include not only those set forth in the court’s declaratory judg-

ment, “but also those set forth in the most recent Environmental

Health Survey conducted by the Environmental Health Division,

Department of Health Services, as well as the Fire Inspection

Report made by the State Fire Marshal as these reports apply to

structure, services,” and programs covered by this Court’s

decision.”

Defendants object to that condition, arguing that compliance

with health and fire surveys is desirable but that such reports do

not set constitutional standards. We agree. Opinions of experts as

to desirable prison conditions do not establish constitutional

minima. (Rhodes v. Chapman, supra, 452 U.S. at p. 348, fn. 13.)

While fire safety and environmental health are legitimate con-

cerns under the Eighth Amendment, “ ‘not every deviation from

ideally safe conditions constitutes a violation of the constitu-

tion.” ” (French v. Owens (7th Cir. 1985) 777 F.2d 1250, 1257.)

To the extent that the trial court’s order may be read as compel-

ling defendants to remedy all defects in every health survey and

fire inspection report, present and future, that order goes too far.

Nevertheless, the trial court is entitled to consider those reports in

determining whether conditions at the prison currently satisfy

contemporary standards of decency.

b. Inmate out-of-cell activities; staff training

In that January 1984 order, the court also conditioned its

approval of the proposal to eliminate structural and operational

On

C-18

deficiencies on the inclusion in the final plan of sections address-

ing inmate out-of-cell activities and staff training. Defendants

object to this condition as well.

Read as a request for information rather than a directive to

implement specific programs, the requirement that the plan report

on oOut-of-cell activities was not improper. The structural and

operational deficiencies being remedied included inadequate heat,

lighting, plumbing, and ventilation in cells; assessment of the

adequacy of any improvements would not be complete without

information about whether, when, and for how long inmates may

be out of those cells. Likewise, the directive regarding staff

training was not an abuse of the court’s discretion. It merely

directed the defendants to address staff training in working toward

compliance with the court’s order. This was done in the opera-

tions and structures section of defendant's plan which was subse-

quently approved by the court. If the court had ordered the

specific type of training required we would have a different

question. Proper training for guards is unquestionably desirable,

but the nature of that training is not a determinative issue in

respect to a violation of the Eighth Amendment. “[T]o require

prisons to have adequate... training programs [for staff] is an

impermissible judicial involvement with the minutiae of prison

administration. [Citation.]” (/foptowit v. Ray, supra, 682 F.2d at

p. 1251.)

c. Order on the final plan

In its September 1984 order, the court directed defendants to

“carry out their final plan.” Defendants express concern that

compliance with that plan may become the measure of the trial

court’s continuing jurisdiction over the prison, and ask this court

to modify the order to require them to carry out the plan only as

long as conditions at the prison remain unconstitutional.

However, our disposition of this appea! has significantly re-

duced the scope of that order. The final plan discussed defend-

ants’ proposals to eliminate, ameliorate, or correct each condition

cited by the court as unconstitutional. It addressed four general

topics: overcrowding, the inmate classification system, operational

deficiencies, and structural deficiencies. We have already ex-

C-19

plained why the court’s orders directed at overcrowding, such as

its ban on double celling and its requirement for monitoring of

transferred prisoners, must be reversed. Thus to the extent that

the September 1984 order directs defendants to carry out that

portion of their final plan for the elimination of overcrowding, it

too must be reversed.

In addition, we have concluded that any issues with respect to

the inmate classification system are moot because defendants

have complied with the court’s orders for an evaluation of that

system; therefore the order to carry out the final plan does not

encompass any Classification issues.

What remains of the September 14 order, then, is that defend-

ants are to carry out their final plan for the elimination of the

structural and operational deficiencies at the prison. We reiterate

that defendants have not appealed from the court’s judgment and

orders with respect to those deficiencies. If conditions have

changed, defendants are entitled to apply to the trial court for a

modification of the injunction. The question then will be whether

the changed conditions satisfy constitutional requirements, not

whether defendants have complied with all requirements of their

plan. (See Toussaint v. Yockey, supra, 722 F.2d at p. 1492, fn. 3;

Cody v. Hillard (8th Cir. 1986) 799 F.2d 447, 451, affd. in part,

revd. in part 830 F.2d 912; see also Welsch v. Goswick (1982) 130

Cal.App.3d 398, 404.)

Finally, in light of our conclusions with respect to defendants’

contentions, it is unnecessary to consider their alternative conten-

tion that the trial court had no jurisdiction to modify the injunc-

tion once notice of appeal from that injunction had been filed.

C-20

DISPOSITION

The declaratory judgment and injunction and the orders ap-

pealed from are reversed insofar as they: (1) hold double celling

unconstitutional; (2) prohibit involuntary or voluntary double

celling; (3) require the monitoring of transferred inmates:

(4) mandate defendants to seek the enactment of legislation and

consider methods other than transferring prisoners to alleviate

overcrowding. The appeal from the order of June 19, 1985, which

the parties agreed is moot, is dismissed. In all other respects, the

judgment and orders are affirmed. Plaintiffs and defendants shall

bear their own costs on appeal.

Merrill, J.

We concur:

White, P.J.

Barry-Deal, J.

D-|

APPENDIX D

Court of Appeal of the State of California

In and for the

First Appellate District

Division: 3

[Filed January 6, 1989]

Wilson, Don D.., et al.

VS.

Deukmejian, George, et al.

A026277 Old No. A022431

Marin County No. 103454

BY THE COURT:

The petition for rehearing is denied.

Dated: January 6, 1989

3.

E-]

APPENDIX E

Order Denying Review

After Judgment by the Court of Appeal

Ist District, Division 3, No. A026277

S008 560

In the Supreme Court of the Séate of California

In Bank

Don C. Wilson et al., Respondents,

Ms

George Deukmejian et al., Appellants.

Filed March 23, 1989

Robert Wandruff Clerk

Respondents’ petition for review DENIED.

The request for an order directing publication of the opinion in

the above-entitled cause is DENIED.

/s/ [Malcolm] Lucas

Chief Justice

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.