Opposition Brief — National Automatic Products Co. v. American Airlines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

, | Suprenis Court, U.S

No. 88-2087 |] yy

IN THE _ on, JR, |

Supreme Court of the United States a

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS COMPANY,

Petitioner,

VS.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Ex-CELL-O CORPORATION,

= Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

STEPHEN P. FRIOT

BARBARA L. SWIMLEY

SPRADLING, ALPERN, FRIOT & GUM

101 Park Avenue, Suite 700

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102

Telephone: 405/272-0211

Counsel for Respondents

July 21, 1989

SEER IE RG RETO NLLE LIL ELLE LLL E LEBER BEL CLE LE LL LAP LE ILLS ED

—|]—

QUESTION PRESENTED

The sole question presented for review is

whether the Oklahoma Supreme Court erred in

determining, in its 1985 opinion, that the Tulsa

County District Court could properly exercise

personal jurisdiction over Petitioner within the

limits imposed by the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution.

(The foregoing statement of the question pre-

sented assumes, arguendo, that Petitioner can

successfully establish, in the face of several irre-

mediable procedural defaults, that this Court has

certiorari jurisdiction in this case. See Proposi-

tion I, infra.)

ee Po

LIST OF RESPONDENTS AND RELATED

COMPANIES

American Airlines, Inc.

Fuel Systems Textron, Inc. (Ex-Cell-O Corpora-

tion), subsidiary of Textron, Inc.

—iii-—

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED .............cscecceeecceceeseeeess j

LIST OF RESPONDENTS AND RELATED

eS eee i

AMEE OF CONTENTS ...............0.0....0............ iii

PAE OF AUTHORITIES .............0:....-..0...000... V

OPINIONS BELOW .......................0.0..00000..000005. l

PUMMEITIINT 0 -.cn.cscc.snnsenccsocseussvecssccceasconsee 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ........ 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........ccccceeeeeeeeeeeeee 3

A. FACTUAL BACKGROUND ..........00-ceeecceeeeeees 3

B. THE OKLAHOMA PROCEEDINGS .........0..000+- 5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .......00.-e000- 8

Proposition I

THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE

THIS COURT LACKS JURISDICTION TO RE-

VIEW EITHER THE i985 OKLAHOMA SU-

PREME COURT JUDGMENT OR THE 1989

OKLAHOMA COURT OF APPEALS JUDG-

Teale eh dua dbsscksndesscsnknusnnsiCisceess 8

A. This Court lacks jurisdiction to review the

1985 Oklahoma Supreme Court decision be-

cause NAPCO’s Petition is untimely ............ 8

B. This Court lacks jurisdiction to review the

1989 judgment of the Oklahoma Court of Ap-

peals because NAPCO failed to seek review,

by the Oklahoma Supreme Court, of the deci-

sion of the Oklahoma Court of Appeals, with

the result that the 1989 judgment is not a judg-

ment of the highest state court ..................4. 12

ne 8 ae

Page

Proposition II

THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED FOR WANT

OF A SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION ... 15

EE A skin cdpcacadetuccnacaskeanapaeschenenaserseakade 21

APPENDICES

A. 1985 Opinion of the Oklahoma Supreme Court

B. 1989 Opinion of the Oklahoma Court of Ap-

peals

C. Nunc Pro Tunc Order

D. 1985 Mandate

E. 1989 Mandate

F. Excerpts from the Carl Peterson Deposition

G. NAPCO’s Answers to Interrogatory Nos. 28

and 29

H. Pertinent Rules of the Oklahoma Court of

Appeals and the Oklahoma Supreme Court

—V—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution .............. 25 19, tie 2A

22 GR. SO. SE FIRS vas ksharcestiomasiatcadianes 2

i UBM BABS $s ckistissinertactincmiinesueaeaee 9, 14

Oe RBA BEE saa wsccssassececesatsaenmivcepeemiaerens

Be UA. Ie se hcksenccresenivasnneeeinaceniaeaaees 2

National Labor Relations Act ....ic0sccsccveessssssnasncsens a

Rule 3.9 of the Rules of the Oklahoma Court of

POE aio cancasicasdessinsanicsaepadbedemnaiaeeeaas 13

Rule 3.13 of the Rules of the Oklahoma Court of

PIER a ccicnsssinistavesssenmaaiideuperenemenaneareenes 13

Rule 3.13(b) of the Rules of the Oklahoma Court of

PORE os cnaveccsnis cusnecencnuasnauancamunmeuneeapaneeainess 13

Rule 3.19 of the Rules of the Oklahoma Court of

PROUT oscccssncscasatnurssccsveisecsduscunsuanintneesieninnte 7, 14

Rule 17 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

Une SRN oxi scdccccnicesceccsserccasecugeysnieseneadinas 15

Rule 17(c) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

UMMC THANES ociessncannnncedcecdabecssuansadycveheonsceuens a)

Rule 28 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of .

CORDA .acncnk ss Suidacncccukduenseneneasbil ineeinaneeke 6, 8, 13

Rule 29 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of

CURIRIIOO ociscis cc cuscdinnseceneueennnuennenepane=neeaeiane 8

Rule 33 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of

RNIN 5. os ccincesssccsevanceiendapaeeernceunneeraanaeen 8

Ashai Metal Industries Co. v. Superior Court of

California, 408 U.S. 102, 107 S.Ct. 1026,

94 LB. 26 FE CSE) vcccicdsacunesssecnese ane taiees 20

am Yj

Page(s)

Banks v. California, 395 U.S. 708, 89 S.Ct. 1901,

Ze 1.8.20 GSS (ISGP) ccncrscriensscnccccossrcxaccenneasss 14

Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462,

505 $.Ct. 2174, GS L.B6.20 SEB (RGSS) vsccsscescnse 18, 19

Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. 783, 788 (7. 8),

104 S.Ct. 1482, 79 L.Ed.2d 804 (1984) ............... 9

California Retail Liquor Dealers Association v. Midcal

Aluminum, Inc., 455 U.S. 97, 100 S.Ct. 937,

G3 Lid. 28 ZSS (RSG) vcccsenssnssesccasnnnssasvcnaessess 14

Costarelli v. Massachusetts, 421 U.S. 193, 95 S.Ct.

S554, 44 L.BGB6 PG CIGD). dsicvviccsccsccaxnissvecenses 15

Department of Banking v. Pink, 317 U.S. 264, 63

S.Ct. 233, 87 Lied. 256 CPOGEE | sisastastvaccisccanseves 11

General Motors Corporation v. Washington, 377 U.S.

436, 84 S.Ct. 1564, 12 L.Ed.2d 430 (1964) .......... 18

Gotthilf v. Sills, 375 U.S. 79, 84 S.Ct. 187, 11

ot ae SSD CDG vcs ccisscesiccsanenedcreamsteeeaeas 15

Hill v. Chicago and E.R. Co., 140 U.S. 52, 11 S.Ct.

GIO, 3S 1..Bd. S31 (IGE) vccnccsscicessccesucaxvesssasens 12

Ins. Corp. of Ireland v. Compagnie Des Bauxites, 456

U.S. 694, 102 S.Ct. 2099, 72 L.Ed.2d 492 (1982) .. 10

International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310,

OG SAX, 154, FO LB. DS CE) acccsicisnvsccdcasnes 9, 18

Matthews v. Huwe, 269 U.S. 262, 46 S.Ct. 108, 70

Bd; BOG (TSS) kes vinscaccascccnusnscusksasnavecasuacuns 14, 15

N.W. States Portland Cement Co. v. State of

Minnesota, 358 U.S. 450, 79 S.Ct. 357,

DUR 20 ASE CIGD. iccicccsedaavannasctasscasncannanees 18

—Vvli—

National Labor Relations Board v. Friedman-Harry

Marks C. Co., 301 U.S. 58, 56 S.Ct. 645,

OA Bs PEG REMOTE, sik sin ces sada caceveads ch clancaasnnns

Sandquist v. California, 419 U.S. 1066, 95 S.Ct.

GOA, Se Ene Ge CEE) dvsckncacsnsacansecsacicis

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 97 S.Ct. 2569,

FS SMe WUD MOOTED sacetacatcasacks\aacsesarcesdaces

Stratton v. Stratton, 239 U.S. 55, 36 S.Ct. 26,

60 L.Ed. 142 (1915) ..cccccccceesseeccecccccecceeeceeee

Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing Scale Co., 261 U.S.

399, 43 S.Ct. 458, 67 L.Ed. 719 (1923) ...........

Worldwide Volkswagen v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286,

100 S.Ct. 559, 62 L.Ed.2d 490 (1980) .......... ]

Page(s)

me 9

, 18, 20

re ——— S—<- ae) eee = = - a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-2087

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS COMPANY,

Petitioner,

VS.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Ex-CELL-O CORPORATION,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The Respondents, American Airlines, Inc. and

Ex-Cell-O Corporation (herein “American Air-

lines’), respectfully request that this Court deny

the Petition of National Automatic Products Com-

pany (herein “NAPCO’) for a Writ of Certiorari,

seeking review of a 1985 opinion of the Supreme

Court of Oklahoma and a 1989 opinion of the

Oklahoma Court of Appeals.!

‘Neither opinion was released for publication. The opinions are printed at

Appendix A and Appendix B, respectively, and attached to this Brief.

a

JURISDICTION

This Court lacks certiorari jurisdiction in this

case. Petitioner has petitioned for a writ of cer-

tiorari, requesting that this Court review two

Oklahoma appellate court decisions. See Propo-

sition I, infra. This Court lacks jurisdiction to

review the 1989 Oklahoma Court of Appeals judg-

ment because, by virtue of procedural defaults

during the Oklahoma appellate process, the

judgment was not rendered by the highest Okla-

homa court in which a decision could be had. This

Court lacks jurisdiction to review the 1985 deci-

sion of the Oklahoma Supreme Court because that

decision was a final decision on the merits of the

federal question and review of that decision in

this Court was not timely sought. Further discus-

sion of these jurisdictional defects is contained

below in Proposition I of Reasons for Denying the

Writ.2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The only statute or constitutional provision

involved in this matter? is the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment, which states in

pertinent part as follows: “... nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law....”

"Petitioner also claims that 28 U.S.C. §2403(b) may be applicable. Section

2403(b) only applies where the constitutionality of a state statute is drawn into

question. In the case at bar, the issue presented for review does not involve the

constituuonality of a state statute, and thus, §2403(b) is not applicable.

‘NAPCO lists the Oklahoma long-arm statute in effect when the suit was filed in

1982 (12 Okla. Stat. §1703.03) as a statute relevant to this matter. However, the sole

issue for review is whether the Oklahoma Supreme Court’s 1985 decision that the

Oklahoma courts had personal jurisdiction over NAPCO exceeded the limits imposed

by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. NAPCO has not attacked

the constitutionality of 12 Okla. Stat. §1703.03.

~ a

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. FACTUAL BACKGROUND.

NAPCO is in the business of manufacturing

parts for aircraft engines. (Peterson Depo., p. 27).4

One of the parts manufactured by NAPCO is a fuel

nozzle nut for a Pratt & Whitney JT-9 jet engine.

(Peterson Depo., pp. 30-31). The JT-9 jet engine is

manufactured by Pratt & Whitney for commercial

or military use. It is a large engine, used, for

example, on a Boeing 747 airplane. (Peterson

Depo., pp. 30-32).

NAPCO’s main customers are Pratt & Whitney,

Ex-Cell-O Corporation and Chrysler Corporation.

(Peterson Depo., p. 16). There is a national com-

petition for the airplane engine parts manufac-

turing business and a nationwide market for air-

plane engine parts. (Peterson Depo., pp. 40-41).

NAPCO does not conduct any advertising because

all of the engine manufacturers in the United

States that NAPCO has the capability to serve are

aware of NAPCO’s manufacturing abilities. (Pe-

terson Depo., pp. 36-37).

The accident involved in this case occurred at

American Airlines’ maintenance base in Tulsa,

Oklahoma, in December, 1980. Between the years

of 1979 and 1981, NAPCO manufactured 11,007

“The Peterson Deposition and NAPCO’s Answers to Interrogatories were a part of

the record on appeal in the first appeal before the Oklahoma Supreme Court as ROA

413 and ROA 148, respectively. However, for purposes of clarity, references to

these documents shall be designated ‘‘Peterson Depo., p. * and ‘‘NAPCO’s

Answers to Interrogatory Nos. .”’ All other references shall be designated

“ROA _.’’ (This ROA designation will indicate the record on appeal in the second

appeal to the Supreme Court.) All references to the transcript of the trial of this action

shall be designated as ‘‘Tr. _.”” (The trial of this action occurred after the decision

on the first appeal became final.)

_

fuel nozzle nuts for the JT-9 jet engine. (Peterson

Depo., p. 47; NAPCO’s Answers to Interrogatory

Nos. 28 and 29). Aside from NAPCO’s direct ship-

ments of its products to Oklahoma (discussed

below), these fuel nozzle nuts were shipped from

NAPCO’s Connecticut plant to Ex-Cell-O Corpora-

tion in Michigan. In 1982, NAPCO’s price for a fuel

nozzle nut was $50. In 1979, the price was between

$30 and $35. (Peterson Depo., p. 50). After the fuel

nozzle nuts were shipped to Michigan, it was

NAPCO’s expectation that the nut would be

shipped anywhere in the United States that it was

needed for placement on a jet engine. (Peterson

Depo., p. 55). NAPCO recognized that the market

for its fuel nozzle nut was a nationwide market,

and NAPCO intended to serve the nationwide

market when it manufactured the fuel nozzle nut.

(Peterson Depo., p. 58).

In 1976, NAPCO shipped fuel nozzle nuts fora

TF-30 airplane engine directly to Tinker Air

Force Base in Midwest City, Oklahoma. (Peterson

Depo., pp. 51-52).

American Airlines, a commercial airline car-

rier, has a major maintenance and engineering

center in Tulsa, Oklahoma. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 33). At

this maintenance and engineering center, Amer-

ican Airlines refurbishes, maintains and repairs

the aircraft and engines for its fleet. (Tr. Vol. I, p.

34).

On December 29, 1980, while American Air-

lines personnel were testing a Pratt & Whitney

J °-9 jet engine at one of American Airlines’ test

cell facilities at the Tulsa, Oklahoma mainte-

nance and engineering center, a fire occurred,

originating from the engine. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 39). As a

=

result of the fire, American Airlines suffered

damage to the test cell facility and to the Pratt &

Whitney JT-9 jet engine in the amount of

$944,545.90. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 231).

An investigation at American Airlines after

the fire determined that the cause of the fire was

a defectively manufactured fuel nozzle nut. (Tr.

Vol. I, pp. 108-109). It was determined that the

defective nut in question had been manufactured

by NAPCO, who sold the nut to Ex-Cell-O Corpo-

ration, who in turn sold the nut to Pratt & Whitney

(a division of United Technologies, Ine.), who in

turn sold the nut to American Airlines. (Tr. Vol. I,

pp. 281-282). NAPCO derived between $14,760 and

$24,600 in revenues from the sale of 492 fuel

nozzle nuts for use in Oklahoma by American

Airlines at its maintenance plant in the years 1980

and 1981. (1985 Opinion of the Oklahoma Supreme

Court, Appendix A at pp. 6-7), (1983 ROA 392,

Exhibit B).

B. THE OKLAHOMA PROCEEDINGS.

American Airlines filed suit in the District

Court in Tulsa County, Oklahoma, seeking a judg-

ment against United Technologies, Inc. (herein

“United’”’), Ex-Cell-O Corporation (herein

“Ex-Cell-O”’) and NAPCO. American Airlines’ Pe-

tition contained counts of negligence, breach of

implied warranty and manufacturer’s products

liability (strict liability in tort) against all defen-

dants. (ROA 1-9). The defendants filed special

appearances, motions to quash and pleas to the

jurisdiction. (ROA 16-17, 18-19, 20-22). The trial

court granted the motions of United and NAPCO

to dismiss. (See Nunc Pro Tunc Order attached

a oe

hereto as Appendix C.)5 The trial court’s dis-

missal was appealed by American Airlines to the

Supreme Court of the State of Oklahoma in 1983.

On January 20, 1985, the Oklahoma Supreme

Court reversed and remanded the order of the

trial court, finding that the Tulsa County District

Court had personal jurisdiction over NAPCO and

United. NAPCO and United both timely filed pe-

titions for rehearing pursuant to Rule 28 of the

Rules of the Supreme Court of Oklahoma. On

March 4, 1985, the Supreme Court granted the

rehearing and issued a correction order for the

limited purpose of adding a name to a list of

attorneys. The Court denied all other points

raised upon rehearing. Subsequently, on March

11, 1985, a mandate was issued by the Oklahoma

Supreme Court to the District Court of Tulsa

County reversing and remanding the trial court’s

order and ordering the trial court to take such

further action as may be in accord with the Su-

preme Court’s opinion. (A copy of the Mandate is

attached hereto as Appendix D.)

The case was set for trial in March 1987. Prior

to trial, American Airlines settled with United

and with Ex-Cell-O. American Airlines and Ex-

Cell-O then proceeded jointly to trial against

NAPCO on American Airlines’ claims for negli-

gence, breach of implied warranty and manufac-

turer’s products liability and on Ex-Cell-O’s claim

for indemnity. The action was tried to a jury. At

trial, NAPCO’s chief of quality control admitted

*It was stipulated between the parties that, if the Supreme Court upheld the trial

court’s dismissais, Ex-Cell-O would also be dismissed from the action, and if the

Oklahoma Supreme Court reversed and remanded the trial court’s ruling, Ex-Cell-O

would agree to submit to the jurisdiction of the Court.

te

that the fuel nozzle nut in question was a NAPCO

nut and was defective (Tr. Vol. I, pp. 241, 242, 251,

252). The jury returned a verdict against NAPCO

for liability on the issues of manufacturer’s prod-

ucts liability and breach of implied warranty of

merchantability and awarded damages in the

amount of $944,545.90. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 482).

NAPCO filed a motion for new trial. (ROA

1793-1795). After the trial court overruled

NAPCO’s motion for new trial (ROA 1882), NAPCO

filed an appeal. During the pendency of the sec-

ond appeal, American Airlines assigned its inter-

est in the judgment to Ex-Cell-O. The second

appeal was assigned to the Oklahoma Court of

Appeals. The Court of Appeals rendered a deci-

sion affirming the verdict and judgment of the

trial court on March 7, 1989. On April 6, 1989,

pursuant to Rule 3.19 of the Rules of the Okla-

homa Court of Appeals, the clerk of the Oklahoma

appellate courts issued a mandate to the Tulsa

County District Court affirming the judgment of

the court and verdict of the jury. (A copy of the

Mandate is attached hereto as Appendix E.) The

mandate was received by the trial judge and

ordered filed and spread of record on April 12,

1989. Two weeks later, on April 28, 1989, NAPCO

filed a motion for rehearing in the Oklahoma

Court of Appeals.

Subsequently, on June 2, 1989, NAPCO filed a

Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court of the

United States and filed a Jurisdictional State-

ment with this Court. NAPCO was notified by

letter that its Jurisdictional Statement will be

considered to be a Petition for Writ of Certiorari

and was requested to make corrections in the

=

Jurisdictional Statement. The corrected petition

for certiorari was received by this Court on June

23, 1989.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Proposition I

THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED BE-

CAUSE THIS COURT LACKS JURISDIC-

TION TO REVIEW EITHER THE 1985

OKLAHOMA SUPREME COURT JUDG-

MENT OR THE 1989 OKLAHOMA COURT

OF APPEALS JUDGMENT.

A. This Court lacks jurisdiction to review the

1985 Oklahoma Supreme Court decision because

NAPCO’s Petition is untimely.

28 U.S.C. §2101 provides that any writ of cer-

tiorari that is intended to bring any judgment or

decree in a civil action before the Supreme Court

for review shall be applied for within 90 days

after the entry of such judgment or decree. The

Oklahoma Supreme Court’s 1985 decision was en-

tered on January 29, 1985. The appellees all filed

petitions for rehearing, which were denied by the

Court on Tuesday, March 5, 1985. Subsequently,

the mandate was issued to the trial court on April

12, 1985 (Appendix C). At that point, the Oklahoma

appellate proceedings were final, and the matter

was ripe for the filing of a petition for certiorari

in this Court. See Oklahoma Supreme Court Rules

28, 29, 33; 28 U.S.C. §2101. (Copies of all pertinent

Oklahoma Court Rules are attached hereto as

Appendix H.)

NAPCO failed to seek review of the 1985 deci-

sion in the United States Supreme Court withi» 90

= a

days of March 5, 1985. NAPCO now attempts to

seek review of the 1985 decision, more than four

years after its entry and after NAPCO was af-

forded a full and fair trial on the merits.

It is well settled that a decision by the highest

state court in which review could be had that the

courts of a state have personal jurisdiction over a

non-resident defendant is a final decision within

the meaning of 28 U.S.C. §1257 and, thus, can be

reviewed by this Court, even though there has not

yet been a trial on the merits. Shaffer v. Heitner,

433 U.S. 186, 195, 97 S.Ct. 2569, 2575 (n. 12), 53

L.Ed.2d 683 (1977), Calder v. Jones, 465 U.S. 783,

788 (n. 8), 104 S.Ct. 1482, 1486, 79 L.Ed.2d 804 (1984).

This Court has considered such decisions to be

final because the judgment is plainly final on the

federal issue and is not subject to further review

in the state courts. Shaffer v. Heitner, supra,

Calder v. Jones, supra. Research does not reveal a

single case where this Court reviewed the issue of

personal jurisdiction over a non-resident defen-

dant where, as here, following a decision by the

highest state court that it had personal jurisdic-

tion over the non-resident defendant, the defen-

dant failed to seek review, submitted to trial,

appealed the issue again through the state court

system, and attempted to appeal both state court

decisions after the rendition of the second deci-

sion. Personal jurisdiction issues have come be-

fore this Court (since International Shoe Co. v.

Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 66 S.Ct. 154, 90 L.Ed. 95

(1945)) either upon review of a state court decision

finding personai jurisdiction, or after a trial on

the merits where there was not a first appeal on

the jurisdictional issue.

2...

In Ins. Corp. of Ireland v. Compagnie Des

Bauxites, 456 U.S. 694, 102 S.Ct. 2099, 72 L.Ed.2d

492 (1982), this Court discussed the nature of the

constitutional requirement that a court have per-

sonal jurisdiction over a non-resident defendant.

In Ins. Corp. of Ireland, a non-resident defendant

had filed a special appearance and contested

personal jurisdiction over it. The district court

made a finding that it had personal jurisdiction

over the non-resident defendant as a sanction for

refusal by that defendant to comply with discov-

ery aimed at determining whether or not facts

existed that justified jurisdiction of the Court

over the defendant. The Court of Appeals af-

firmed the district court’s decision and this Court

affirmed the judgment of the Court of Appeals.

This Court found that

the requirement cf personal jurisdiction

may be intentionally waived, or for various

reasons a defendant may be estopped from

raising the issue. ... The actions of the

defendant may amount to a legal submis-

sion to the jurisdiction of the court,

whether voluntary or not. Id. at 705, 102

S.Ct. at 2105.

This Court also found that the expression of legal

rights is often subject to certain procedural rules

and that the failure to follow these rules may well

result in a curtailment of the rights. Id. at 705, 102

S.Ct. at 2105. This Court further found that

[b]y submitting to the jurisdiction of the

court for the limited purpose of challeng-

ing jurisdiction, the defendant agrees to

abide by that court’s determination on the

issue of jurisdiction: That decision will be

=)

res judicata on that issue in any further

proceedings. Id. at 706, 102 S.Ct. at 2106

(emphasis added).

Accordingly, the 1985 decision was final on

the federal question and, thus, subject to review

by this Court in 1985. NAPCO, by failing to obtain

a review of the 1985 decision in this Court, sub-

mitted to the jurisdiction of the Oklahoma courts

and was, thus, precluded from seeking any further

review of the 1985 decision.

In Department of Banking v. Pink, 317 U.S. 264,

63 S.Ct. 233, 87 L.Ed. 254 (1942), a petition for writ

of certiorari was denied for want of jurisdiction

when'tit was not made within three months from a

final judgment of the highest state court. This

Court held that the object of the three-month

statute is to limit an applicant’s time to three

months from the date when the finality of the

judgment for purposes of review is established.

Likewise, in Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing

Scale Co., 261 U.S. 399, 43 S.Ct. 458, 67 L.Ed. 719

(1923), this Court found that it lacked jurisdiction

to review the merits of a final decree on writ of

certiorari applied for more than three months

after the final decree was entered. In Toledo

Seale, the trial court entered a final decree to

enjoin infringement of a patent and for an ac-

counting of profits. The appeals court affirmed

the judgment for accounting of profits. The defen-

dant petitioned for a writ of certiorari in the

Supreme Court and was denied. The Court of

Appeals then entered an order and mandate and

enjoined the defendant from maintaining a suit

=| =

elsewhere. The defendant then petitioned for cer-

tiorari again. This Court denied defendant’s peti-

tion as untimely.

Similarly, in Hill v. Chicago and E.R. Co., 140

U.S. 52, 11 S.Ct. 690, 35 L.Ed. 331 (1891), this Court

dismissed plaintiffs appeal because it lacked

jurisdiction. In Hill, the plaintiff filed a suit to

compel transfer of shares of stock. The district

court crdered that the case be dismissed as to

some of the defendants and referred the remain-

ing case to a master to determine certain factual

issues. The plaintiff appealed the order of the

court to this Court but did not file a transcript and

the appeal was dismissed. Subsequently, the mas-

ter made his report which was confirmed by the

trial court. The plaintiff again appealed to the

United States Supreme Court. This Court deter-

mined that none of the matters determined by the

earlier judgment were open for consideration

upon the plaintiffs second appeal because the

earlier judgment was final on the matters it had

determined.

Consequently, this Court lacks jurisdiction tc

review the 1985 judgment of the Oklahoma Su-

preme Court because NAPCO did not seek review

of that judgment within 90 days of the date on

which that judgment became final.

B. This Court lacks jurisdiction to review the

1989 judgment of the Oklahoma Court of Appeals

because NAPCO failed to seek review, by the Okla-

homa Supreme Court, of the decision of the Okla-

homa Court of Appeals, with the result that the

1989 judgment is not a judgment of the highest

state court.

i

= =

As is shown with particularity below, NAPCO

failed, as a result of procedural defaults which

violated unmistakably clear Oklahoma appellate

rules, to either (i) timely seek a rehearing as to the

1989 decision of the Oklahoma Court of Appeals

or (ii) seek review of the 1989 Oklahoma Court of

Appeals decision by the Oklahoma Supreme

Court. Consequently, NAPCO forfeited any possi-

bility of Oklahoma Supreme Court review of the

Oklahoma Court of Appeals decision, with the

result that, although Oklahoma Supreme Court

review was available, there is not, and will never

be, an Oklahoma Supreme Court decision review-

ing the decision of the Oklahoma Court of Ap-

peals.

On March 7, 1989, the Oklahoma Court of Ap-

peals affirmed the judgment and jury verdict of

the trial court. Subsequently, on April 6, 1989,

after the time had passed for the parties to seek

further review of the judgment in the Oklahoma

appellate system,® the Oklahoma Supreme Court

issued a mandate to the trial court commanding

the trial court to show the affirmance of its judg-

ment of record. The mandate was received by the

district judge and ordered filed and spread of

record on@April 12, 1989. The mandate was then

filed in the district court on April 13, 1989.

*The Rules of the Oklahoma Court of Appeals provide that a petition for rehearing

shall be filed with the clerk of the court within 20 days from the date upon which the

opinion in the cause is filed. (See Rule 3.9 of the Rules of the Oklahoma Court of

Appeals and Rule 28 of the Rules of the Oklahoma Supreme Court.) Rule 3.13 of the

Rules of the Oklahoma Court of Appeals sets forth the criteria for review of a Court

of Appeals decision by the Oklahoma Supreme Court. Rule 3.13(b) states that ‘‘a

partv who did not petition for rehearing in the Court of Appeals may not petition for

certiorari.”

—14~—

Subsequently, on April 28, 1989, NAPCO filed

a petition for rehearing in the Oklahoma Court of

Appeals, more than 20 days after the date of the

opinion and several weeks after the mandate had

been filed and spread of record in the District

Court of Tulsa County. Rule 3.19 of the Rules of

the Oklahoma Court of Appeals provides that, if

there is no rehearing sought within the time pre-

scribed by Rule 3.9, or if a petition for rehearing

is denied and a writ of certiorari is not sought

from the Oklahoma Supreme Court as provided in

these rules, or if certiorari is denied by the Su-

preme Court, the Chief Justice will direct the

clerk of the Supreme Court to issue a mandate.

Consequently, when NAPCO failed to file a

petition for rehearing in the Oklahoma Court of

Appeals within 20 days after the date of the Okla-

homa Court of Appeals decision, it forfeited its

right to review of the Court of Appeals decision by

the Oklahoma Supreme Court. 28 U.S.C. §1257

requires that only final judgments or decrees

rendered by the highest court of a state in which a

decision could be had may be reviewed by the

Supreme Court.’

7It should be noted that this is not a case, such as California Retail Liquor Dealers

Association v. Midcal Aluminum, Inc., 455 U.S. 97, 100 S.Ct. 937, 63 L.Ed.2d 233

(1980), in which review of the intermediate appellate court’s decision by the state

court of last resort was sought and denied by the court of last resort. NAPCO never

sought review, by the Oklahoma Supreme Court, of the decision of the Oklahoma

Court of Appeals. NAPCO’s statements (Pet. 2, 8) that the opinion of the Oklahoma

Court of Appeals ‘‘was affirmed by the Oklahoma Supreme Court”’ are, in a word,

false. No such thing happened. Review by the Oklahoma Supreme Court was

available, but was never sought. If discretionary review by the state court of last

resort is available, that discretionary review must be sought. See Stratton v. Stratton,

239 U.S. 55, 36 S.Ct. 26, 60 L.Ed. 142 (1915); Matthews v. Huwe, 269 U.S. 262,

46 S.Ct. 108, 70 L.Ed. 265 (1925); Banks v. California, 395 U.S. 708, 89 S.Ct.

1901, 23 L.Ed.2d 653 (1969). Procedural default precluding review by the state

=

In Costarelli v. Massachusetts, 421 U.S. 193, 95

S.Ct. 1534, 44 L.Ed.2d 76 (1975), this Court held that

where the appellant could obtain state court ap-

pellate review of an adverse decision to a higher

state court, the appeal would be dismissed for

want of jurisdiction because 28 U.S.C. §1257 limits

United States Supreme Court review to the judg-

ments of highest state courts in which a decision

could be had. See also, Sandquist v. California,

419 U.S. 1066, 95 S.Ct. 651, 42 L.Ed.2d 662 (1974) and

Matthews v. Huwe, n. 7, supra.

Accordingly, because NAPCO failed to follow

the proper procedure to seek review of the Court

of Appeals decision to the Oklahoma Supreme

Court, this Court lacks jurisdiction to review the

1989 judgment of the Oklahoma Court of Appeals.

Proposition II

THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED FOR

WANT OF A SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL

QUESTION.

In the event that this Court determines that it

has jurisdiction to review the opinions of the

Oklahoma appellate courts, the writ should still

be denied for want of a substantial federal ques-

tion. Rule 17 of the Rules of the United States

Supreme Court sets forth the character of reasons

that will support a writ of certiorari. The only

reason listed that has any applicability to the case

at bar is “when a state court... has decided a

federal question in a way in conflict with appli-

cable decisions of this Court.” (Rule 17(c)). In this

court of last resort is fatal to review in this Court. Gotthilf v. Sills, 375 U.S. 79, 84

S.Ct. 187, 11 L.Ed.2d 159 (1963).

case, the-federal question is whether the 1985

decision of the Oklahoma Supreme Court, assert-

ing-personal jurisdiction over NAPCO, is within

constitutional limits. When the facts in this case

are compared with the relevant decisions of this

Court, it becomes clear that the 1985 decision

does not conflict with this Court’s decisions.8

NAPCO manufactured engine parts for air-

craft engines. NAPCO was aware that there was a

nationwide competition to supply aircraft engine

parts to the few users of those parts and that the

market is a nationwide market. NAPCO does no

advertising because the engine manufacturers

and aircraft operators that are its customers are

all aware of NAPCO’s manufacturing capabilities.

NAPCO is aware that the market for fuel nozzle

nuts (the defective part at issue in this action) is a

nationwide market, and NAPCO intends to serve

that market when it manufactures the nuts. Fur-

ther, NAPCO had previously shipped fuel nozzle

nuts directly to Tinker Air Force Base in Okla-

homa. It was NAPCO’s expectation that its fuel

nozzle nut could be shipped anywhere in the

United States and used on very large engines

which could either fly to or be serviced at certain

locations all over the world. In 1980 and 1981,

NAPCO derived revenue between $14,760 and

"The petition for certiorari is laced with references to matters, such as choice of

law and evidentiary rulings, which ere wholly irrelevant to the question of ii

personam jurisdiction presented by the petition. Because of the irrelevance of these

points to the question presented, we have resisted the temptation to demonstrate at

length the reasons for which such matters as petitioner’s novel contentions as to

choice of law are, to put it charitably, without merit.

a: oe

$24,600 from the sale of 492 fuel nozzle nuts for

use in the State of Oklahoma by American Air-

lines. These facts show that NAPCO had sufficient

minimum contacts with the State of Oklahoma

and that there was a sufficient relationship be-

tween NAPCO, the forum and the litigation such

that NAPCO could reasonably anticipate being

haled into court in Oklahoma.

In Worldwide Volkswagen v. Woodson, 444

U.S. 286. 100 S.Ct. 559, 62 L.Ed.2d 490 (1980), resi-

dents of New York purchased an automobile from.

a New York automobile retailer. The following

year, the plaintiffs, while passing through the

State of Oklahoma on their way to a new home in

Arizona, were involved in an automobile acci-

dent. The plaintiffs brought a products liability

action at the place the accident occurred, joining

as defendants the manufacturer, the importer, a

regional distributor and a retailer dealer. This

Court found that the regional distributor (whose

region was limited to New York, New Jersey and

Connecticut) and the retail dealer, located in New

York, did not possess sufficient minimum con-

tacts with the State of Oklahoma to warrant the

exercise of jurisdiction over them. However,

NAPCO’s position is completely different from

the position of the regional distributor and the

retailer in Worldwide Volkswagen. NAPCO, the

manufacturer of aircraft parts, seeks to serve and

does serve a nationwide market, whereas the

automobile wholesaler and retailer in Worldwide

only sought to serve a small, defined area. NAPCO

had previous direct contact with the State of

a)

Oklahoma and derived substantial revenues from

its products that were sold to Oklahoma buyers

and used in the State of Oklahoma.9

In Worldwide Volkswagen, this Court listed

several factors that should be considered in de-

termining whether or not it is reasonable to re-

quire a non-resident to defend a suit in a partic-

ular forum. These factors include the forum

state’s interest in adjudicating the dispute, the

plaintiff's interest in obtaining convenient and

effective relief and the interstate judicial sys-

tem’s interest in obtaining the most efficient res-

olution of controversies.

In the case at bar, Oklahoma, the forum state,

has an interest in adjudicating the dispute be-

cause the accident happened at a large service

facility that has been maintained by American

Airlines in the State of Oklahoma for many years.

A state generally has a manifest interest in pro-

viding its residents with a convenient form for

redressing injuries inflicted by out-of-state ac-

ters. Burger King Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462,

105 S.Ct. 2174, 85 L.Ed.2d 528 (1985).

°NAPCO highlights the fact that the fuel nozzle nuts were shipped f.o.b. its

Connecticut plant and that subsequent sales of the nuts from Ex-Cell-O and United

Technologies were also shipped f.o.b. at points outside of Oklahoma. Technical

considerations, such as f.o.b. noints, are irrelevant to a determination of whether or

not a non-resident defendant has sufficient minimum contacts with a state to enable

that state’s courts to exercise personal jurisdiction over it. International Shoe Co. v.

Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 66 S.Ct. 154, 90 L.Ed. 95 (1945) (personal jurisdiction

upheld even though all products were shipped into the State of Washington f.o.b.

points out of state). See also General Motors Corporation v. Washington, 377 U.S.

436, 84 S.Ct. 1564, 12 L.Ed.2d 430 (1964) and N.W. States Portland Cement Co.

v. State of Minnesota, 358 U.S. 450, 79 S.Ct. 357, 3 L.Ed.2d 421 (1959) (state’s

taxing power upheld on receipts from sales of products shipped into state f.o.b.

out-of-state locations, where other facts showed the tax bore a reasonable relation to

a

Further, American Airlines had an interest in

obtaining convenient and effective relief in Okla-

homa. In connection with its claim, American

Airlines sued companies with principal places of

business in Connecticut, Texas and Michigan. Any

of those forums would be inconvenient for Amer-

ican Airlines and most of the Defendants. Addi-

tionally, all of the witnesses to the accident were

in Oklahoma, as was all of the evidence of the

damage.

Finally, the interstate judicial system’s inter-

est in obtaining the most efficient resolution of

controversies militates in favor of an Oklahoma

forum since Oklahoma was the situs of the acci-

dent, and, again, the witnesses to the accident and

the evidence of the damage were all located in

Oklahoma.

Minimum contacts with a forum can be estab-

lished by a single act so long as it creates a

substantial connection with a forum. Burger King

Corp. v. Rudzewicz, 471 U.S. 462, 105 S.Ct. 2174, 85

L.Ed.2d 528 (1985). Additionally, when a defen-

dant has availed itself of the privilege of conduct-

ing business in a forum, jurisdiction cannot be

avoided merely because the defendant did not

physically enter the forum state.

Moreover,

[tlhe forum state does not exceed its

powers under the Due Process Ciause if

the corporations’ activities in the state) and National Labor Relations Board v.

Friedman-Harry Marks C. Co., 301 U.S. 58, 56 S.Ct. 645, 81 L.Ed. 921 (1937)

(corporation found to be engaged in interstate commierce and, thus, subject to the

National Labor Relations Act despite fact that all orders were shipped f.o.b. from

one manufacturing plant in Richmond, Virginia).

— 2)...

it asserts personal jurisdiction over a

corporation that delivers its products

into the stream of commerce with the

expectation that they will be purchased

by consumers in the forum State. World-

wide Volkswagen Corporation v. Wood-

son, 444 U.S. 286, 297-298, 100 S.Ct. 559,

567, 62 L.Ed.2d 490 (1980).

In the case at bar, NAPCO sold fuel nozzle nuts to

Tinker Air Force Base in Oklahoma a few years

before the accident at the American Airlines

service facility. It continued to intend to serve a

nationwide market in airplane engine parts and

fuel nozzle nuts. NAPCO delivered its product

(the fuel nozzle nut) into the stream of commerce

with the expectation that either the fuel nozzle

nut or the engine of which the fuel nozzle nut was

a part would be purchased by consumers in Okla-

homa and every other state in the United States.

Thus, Oklahoma did not exceed the limits im-

posed by the Due Process Clause by asserting

personal jurisdiction over NAPCO.

In support of its argument that the Oklahoma

courts exceeded the limits imposed by the Due

Process Clause in asserting jurisdiction over it,

NAPCO cites the case of Ashai Metal Industries

Co. v. Superior Court of California, 408 U.S. 102,

107 S.Ct. 1026, 94 L.Ed.2d 92 (1987). However, the

facts in Ashai Metal are distinguishable from the

facts in the case at bar. This Court recognized in

Ashai Metal that one of the facts critical to its

decision was the fact that the defendant was a

foreign defendant (a Japanese manufacturer of

tire valve stem assemblies). This Court consid-

ered not only the inconvenience of a California

forum but the fact that the Japanese manufac-

a, ee

turer would have to submit to a foreign judicial

system as well. Those concerns are not present in

the case at bar. NAPCO is an American, not a

Japanese, corporation which, in the past, had

directly done business with an Oklahoma resi-

dent and intended to be a part of the nationwide

market in aircraft engine parts. NAPCO did much

more than place its fuel nozzle nuts in the stream

of commerce; it sought to manufacture aircraft

engine parts that would be used by business con-

sumers (the manufacturers and purchasers of air-

craft engines) in every state in the United States.

Accordingly, because Oklahoma did not exceed

the limits imposed by the Due Process Clause by

asserting personal jurisdiction over NAPCO,

NAPCO has failed to present a substantial federal

question for review by this Court and, thus, the

writ shculd be denied.

CONCLUSION

Therefore, for the reasons discussed above,

NAPCO’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should

be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Stephen P. Friot

STEPHEN P. FRIOT

BARBARA L. SWIMLEY

SPRADLING, ALPERN, FRIOT & GUM

101 Park Avenue, Suite 700

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102

Telephone: 405/272-0211

Counsel for Respondents

A-1

APPENDIX A

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA

No. 60,005

AMERICAN AIRLINES INC.,

A DELAWARE CORPORATION,

Appellant,

VS.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC.,

Ex-CELL-O CORPORATION, AND

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS COMPANY,

Appellees.

Appeal From the District Court

of Tulsa County

Honorable Clifford E. Hopper

Appeal from nunc pro tunc order granting motions

to dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction over non-

resident corporations pursuant to 12 O.S. 1981, §1701.3.

REVERSED AND REMANDED

H. Jerome Gette

Robins, Zelle, Larson & Kaplan

Dallas, Texas

Gene C. Buzzard

Waddell & Buzzard For Appellant,

Tulsa, Oklahoma American Airlines, Inc.

Kirk D. Fredrickson ,

James T. Dupre’

Fredrickson, Merrick & Patton

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma For Appellees,

National Automatic

L. Ray Pearce Products Co., Comtec,

The Carlton Firm Inc., & Commercial

Dallas, Texas Technology, Inc.

DOOLIN, J.

We must determine, consistent with due process

requirements, whether a nonresident tool manufac-

turer which conforms its parts to the specifications of

users and a nonresident distributor of those parts may

be sued in Oklahoma, where the allegedly defective

part was delivered and where it caused substantial

property damage to the user.

The facts of this action are undisputed. Pursuant

to customer specifications, defendant NAPCO manu-

factures aircraft parts and components. In this case,

NAPCO manufactured fuel nozzle nuts according to

specifications provided by, and an order placed by,

defendant Ex-Cell-O. The nuts were then delivered

“F.O.B. Connecticut” to a carrier for shipment to Ex-

Cell-O’s Michigan plant, where they were shipped

“F.O.B.” to defendant United Technologies, Inc.

(United) in Connecticut. United, in turn, sold the nuts

to American Airlines, shipping them “F.O.B. Connect-

icut’” to New York. American then transported the

nuts to its aircraft maintenance facility in Tulsa, Okla-

homa. After the nut was installed in a JT-9 engine, its

allegedly improper tolerances allowed fuel to leak

and ignite, thereby damaging American’s property in

the amount of $1,000,000.

A suit based on negligence, implied warranty, and

strict liability was brought against NAPCO, Ex-Cell-O

and United Technologies, Inc. in the District Court of

Tulsa County. Comtec, Inc. (Comtec) and Commercial

Technology, Inc. (Commercial), the alter egos of

NAPCO, were later joined as additional defendants.

These defendants each filed a special appearance and

a motion to contest personal jurisdiction. After a

hearing on the motions, it was stipulated that Ex-Cell-

A-3

O would not contest Oklahoma jurisdiction unless

NAPCO and United were held subject to it. Similarly,

liability of Comtec and Commercial would exist only if

NAPCO is liable.

By its nunc pro tunc order, the trial court granted

the NAPCO and United motions to dismiss and subse-

quently granted the Comtec and Commercial motions

to dismiss. From these orders dismissing the defen-

dants for lack of personal jurisdiction, American ap-

peals.

The Supreme Court, in McGee v. International Life

Ins. Co., 355 U.S. 220 (1957), and International Shoe Co.

v. State of Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945), determined

that a nonresident is subject to personal jurisdiction

in a torum with which he has minimum contacts if

doing so does not offend the traditional notions of

fair play and substantial justice. The substantiality of

contact with a forum state, however, is determined by

tne facts of each individual case. Vacu-Maid v. Coving-

ton, 530 P.2d 137, 139 (Okl. 1974).

In Oklahoma, personal jurisdiction over a nonres-

ident is governed by 12 O.S. 1981, §1703.03, which

provides:

“(a) A court may exercise personal jurisdiction

over a person, who acts directly or by an agent, as

to a cause of action or claim for relief arising from

the person’s »

(1) transacting any business in this state;

(2) contracting to supply services or things in

this state;

(3) causing tortious injury in this state by an

act or omission in this state;

(4) causing tortious injury in this state by act

or omission outside this state if he regu-

larly does or solicits business or engages in

any other persistent course of conduct, or

) \

4

A-4

derives substantial revenue from goods

used or consumed or services rendered, in

this state;

(5) having an interest in, using, or possessing

real property in this state; or =

(6) contracting to insure any person, property,

or risk located within this state at the time

of contracting, or

(7) maintaining any other relation to this state

or to persons or property including support

for minor children who are residents of

this state which affords a basis for the

exercise of personal jurisdiction by this

state consistently with the Constitution of

the United States.

(b) When jurisdiction is based solely upon this

section, the defendant’s appearance does not au-

thorize the exercise of personal jurisdiction ex-

cept as to a cause of action or claim for relief

arising in the circumstances enumerated in this

section.”

This “Long arm” statute extends jurisdiction of Okla-

homa courts over nonresidents to the outer limit per-

mitted by the due process clause of the 14th Amend-

_ment. That clause does not permit a state to “make

binding a judgment in personam against an individual

or corporate defendant with which the state has no

contacts, ties, or relations.’”’ Henderson v. University

Associates, Inc., 454 F. Supp. 493, 494 (N.D. Okl. 1977)

[emphasis added]. Further, it is not the conduct of

the plaintiff that determines jurisdiction, but the con-

duct of the defendant. Jem Engineering & Mfg., Inc. v.

Toomer Electrical Co., 413 F. Supp. 481 (N.D. Okl.

1976).

The Court of Appeals in Vacu-Maid, supra, stated

that personal jurisdiction unquestionably would be

upheld, “where the nonresident defendant is a seller

A-5

who has shipped goods into Oklahoma, even if such

shipment were an isolated or infrequent occurrence.”

It makes no difference whether the nonresident deals

directly or indirectly with the residents of the forum

state. Carmack v. Chemical Bank New York Trust Co.,

536 P.2d 897, 900 (Okl. 1975). However, it is essential

that the nonresident ‘purposefully avails himself of

the privilege of conducting activities within the forum

State, thus invoking the benefits and protections of its

laws.” Hudson v. Hudson, 569 P.2d 521, 524 (Okl. App.

1976) [emphasis added], citing from Hanson v. Denckla,

357 U.S. 235 (1958).

The Oklahoma Supreme Court has denied per-

sonal jurisdiction where the nonresident transacted

no business in Oklahoma, engaged in no relationship

with a resident in any transaction, and had no offices,

employees, agents, or representatives in the state.

Barnes v. Wilson, 580 P-2d 991, 993 (Okl. 1978); Archi-

tectural Building Components Corp. v. Comfort, 528

P.2d 307, 319 (Okl. 1974). The Court also did not exer-

cise personal jurisdiction over the nonresident corpo-

ration in Precision Polymers, Inc. v. Nelson, 512 P.2d

811 (Okl. 1973). In Precision, the nonresident manufac-

turer who fabricated allegedly defective materials for

construction projects in Oklahoma and Missouri, sold

these materials to a nonresident distributor, and de-

livered them to sites in Oklahoma. However, the man-

ufacturer never transacted any business or committed

any act in Oklahoma in connection with the Missouri

project, the subject of the lawsuit. Because the manu-

facturer committed no act to subject it to Oklahoma

jurisdiction, jurisdiction was denied.

Jurisdiction has been upheld, however, where a

nonresid@yt manufacturer who fabricated defective

component parts of an aircraft outside the forum state,

sold them within the state where death occurred, and

derived substantial revenues from the sales in the

forum state. Paddock v. Bensen Aircraft Corp., 293

A-6

F.Supp. 745 (W.D. Okl. 1968). Jurisdiction also was

found where a nonresident, who had caused tortious

injury in the forum state, merely gained substantial

revenues therein. Oral Roberts Univ. v. Automatic

Switch Co., 319 F.Supp. 381 (N.D. Okl. 1970).

At first glance the present case seems aligned with

Precision, supra; but it is clearly distinguishable. That

is, we are confronted with a nonresident manufac-

turer, supplier, and distributor, but we cannot say that

these entities maintained no relations with, or ties to,

Oklahoma.

The record establishes sufficient contacts with the

State. The United representative testified in his dep-

osition that the fuel nozzle nut was designed for na-

tional and international distribution. To reach these

markets, United advertises in national periodicals

and engages in “vigorous and very fine advertising

* * * on television and in the papers: although it

focuses on no given state. While it (or its division, Pratt

& Whitney) conducts no sales, transfers no title, and

warehouses no goods in Oklahoma, Oklahoma is one

state likely to receive a greater portion of its products.

In fact, in 1979, 1980 and 1981, United indirectly sup-

plied goods to Oklahoma. American estimates that it

alone used $80,000,000 worth of parts in Oklahoma in

1980 and 1981. In addition to deriving substantial

revenues from Oklahoma, United maintains personnel

at Tinker AFB and at American’s overhaul facility in

Tulsa. With regard to United, its activities were suffi-

cient to establish the minimum contacts required by

law, and it was an abuse of discretion for the trial

court to hold otherwise.

The NAPCO representative also testified that his

company “intended to serve as much of the nationwide

market as it could.” In fact, it expected that the fuel

nozzle nut would “end up” at whatever service facili-

ties demanded them. American estimated that it re-

ceived 492 fuel nozzle nuts, resulting in gross revenues

A-7

to NAPCO of $14,760 to $24,000. While NAPCO’s ties to

Oklahoma are less than United’s, they still fall well

within the minimum contacts required by due process.

Although the nonresident defendants actively

court the State of Oklahoma for business, either di-

rectly or indirectly, they attempt to escape liability for

damage caused therein merely by designating the

place of title transfer (F.0.B. Connecticut) as the

proper forum in which to be sued. Such conduct

frustrates, not enhances, the notions of fair play and

substantial justice, and is a perfect example of one

who bites the hand that feeds it.

Accordingly, the orders of the trial court dismiss-

ing the defendants for lack of personal jurisdiction

are reversed and the cause is remanded for a deter-

mination on the merits.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

Barnes, Opala, Wilson, Kauger, JJ. - concur

Sims, C.J., Hodges, Lavender, Hargrave, JJ. - dissent

B-1

APPENDIX B

IN COURT OF APPEALS, DIVISION 4

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

No. 68,771

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Appellee,

VS.

Ex-CELL-O CORPORATION,

Appellee,

and

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS COMPANY AND COMMERCIAL

TECHNOLOGY, INC..

Appellants.

Appeal From the District Court

of Tulsa County, Oklahoma

Honorable Daniel J. Boudreau, Trial Judge

Stephen P. Friot

Barbara L. Swimley

Spradling, Alpern, Friot & Gum

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma For Appellees

B. David Gambill

Kelly & Gambill

Pawhuska, Oklahoma

Joe B. Abbey

Law Offices of Joe B. Abbey

Dallas, Texas For Appellants

B-2

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BACON, J.

This is an appeal from a judgment based on a jury

verdict in favor of American Airlines for damages

occasioned by a defective fuel nozzle nut that caused a

fire which damaged a jet engine and test cell.

In August 1982, American Airlines, Inc., (Amer-

ican) filed suit against United Technologies, Inc.

(United), Ex-Cell-O Corporation (Ex-Cell-O), and Na-

tional Automatic Products Company (NAPCO) for dam-

ages due to an alleged defective fuel nozzle nut.

The fuel nozzle nut was manufactured by NAPCO,

who in turn sold it to Ex-Celi-O, who in turn sold it to

Pratt and Whitney, a division of United, who in turn

sold it to American. American’s suit was based on

negligence, breach of implied warranty, and manufac-

turer’s products liability as to all defendants.

Thereafter, American filed amended petitions

joining Commercial Technologies, Inc. (Commercial)

and Comtec, Inc., as additional defendants, alleging

that NAPCO was an instrumentality of Commercial

and Comtec, and that they should be held liable along

with NAPCO.

Ex-Cell-O filed a cross-petition against NAPCO,

Commercial, and Comtec for indemnification. All of

the defendants filed special appearances and motions

to quash and pleas to the jurisdiction. The trial court

granted the motions of United and NAPCO. American,

in turn, appealed and on January 20, 1985, in case No.

60,005, the Supreme Court reversed and remanded the

order to the trial court, finding that there was per-

sonal jurisdiction as to NAPCO, Commercial, aiid

United.

Prior to trial, American settled with United and

dismissed United with prejudice. American also set-

B-3

tled with Ex-Cell-O, and thereafter, American and

Ex-Cell-O proceeded to trial against NAPCO, Commer-

cial and Comtec.

Based on a motion made by NAPCO, the trial court

bifurcated the proceedings. The first trial was to de-

termine the liability of NAPCO, if any, and determine

the amount of the damages, if any. The jury found

NAPCO liable and fixed damages at $944,545.90.

The second trial was to determine whether

NAPCO was an instrumentality of either Commercial

or Comtec, or both, and thus liable for the same

damages. At the conclusion of the second trial, the

jury found that NAPCO was an instrumentality of

Commercial, but not Comtec.

NAPCO and Commercial filed timely motions fora

new trial which were overruled by the trial court. It is

from this ruling that they appealed. Subsequently,

American assigned any interest in the judgment ap-

pealed from to Ex-Cell-O.

After briefing was concluded, Ex-Cell-O and Com-

mercial entered into a settlement agreement, and the

parties agreed to dismiss the pending appeal as to

Commercial only. Thus, the issues of error raised on

appeal are moot as to Commercial only and we ad-

dress only those points of error raised by NAPCO, the

sole remaining appellant.

The first issue to be addressed is the alleged lack

of personal jurisdiction as to NAPCO. This issue has

already been decided in Case No. 60,005, wherein the

court held that the order of the trial court dismissing

United, Ex-Cell-O, and NAPCO was reversed and re-

manded for a determination on the merits. Once the

question of jurisdiction has been raised and decided,

that operates to disallow any future litigation of that

issue. Veiser v. Armstrong, 688 P.2d 796, 802 (Okia.

1984).

B-4

Also raised as error is the denial by the trial court

of a continuance when NAPCO’s expert witness, Mr.

Richard Allen Smith, was hospitalized and unable to

appear. The trial court talked to the doctor and deter-

mined that he could be deposed and ordered the

parties to do so on a day certain before trial. NAPCO

did not do so. NAPCO sought to offer segments of an

earlier deposition dealing with matters requiring ex-

pertise in a certain area. The trial court examined the

deposition and concluded that there was no evidence

Mr. Smith was qualified as an expert by knowledge,

skill, experience, training, or education in subject

area.

NAPCO then sought to have Mr. Lennehan substi-

tute as an expert witness. He had at one time been

endorsed as a witness, but NAPCO withdrew his name,

and thus, no discovery had been conducted as to the

testimony of Mr. Lennehan. The trial court denied the

request.

The question of the qualifications of an expert

witness is left to the sound discretion of the trial court,

and its ruling will not be disturbed on appeal in the

absence of a showing of abuse of discretion. City of

Holdenville v. Griggs, 411 P.2d 521 (Okla. 1966).

We find no abuse of discretion on the part of the

trial court in its ruling as to the lack of qualifications

of Mr. Smith as an expert witness, nor the denial of the

request for Mr. Lennehan to testify as a substitute for

Mr. Smith when his name had been withdrawn as a

witness and he was not listed on the pre-trial order.

Allowing or denying admission of evidence rests

in the sound discretion of the trial court. Jordan v.

General Motors Corporation, 590 P.2d 193, 196 (Okla.

1979). Upon review of the record we find no reversible

error in respect to the trial court’s decisions on the

admissibility or inadmissibility of either evidence or

testimony.

B-5

Where the trial court exercises its sound discre-

tion in passing on the question of mistrial, its finding

cannot be disturbed on appeal in the absence of a

clear abuse of discretion. Jordan, supra, 195. We find

no such abuse.

NAPCO urges error on the part of the trial court in

admitting evidence of the 1972 convictions of Mort

Zimmerman, as principal officer of Commercial, on

three counts of mail fraud and securities fraud. 12 O.S.

1981 § 2609(B), permits the introduction of a conviction

over ten years old if its probative value substantially

outweights its prejudicial effect, and NAPCO was

given sufficient advance notice of the intent to use

such evidence. United States v. Cathey, 591 F.2d 268,

275 (5th Cir. 1979).

We find that the trial court did not err in admitting

the witness’s crimes involving dishonesty over ten

years ago, in that we cannot say the prejudicial effect

of such evidence substantially outweighted its proba-

tive value.

It is additionally urged that the trial court erred in

applying Oklahoma manufacturers’ products liability

law, which imposes strict liability, rather than ‘fed-

eral procurement law.” This is premised on the con-

tract standards of quality control being government

military standards, i.e., MLT-STD-105D, in the manu-

facture of the fuel nozzle nut.

NAPCO’s proposition is that either preemption or

federal contract law should prevail over state law. We

find no uniquely federal interests involved herein nor

any congressional authority to fashion a federal com-

mon law as to product liabilities. Texas Industries,

Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 630, 68 L.ed.2d

500, 101 S.Ct. 2061 (1981).

Where conflicting evidence has been presented to

the jury and its verdict is supported by competent

evidence, it will not be disturbed on appeal. Mitchell

B-6

v. Ford Motor Credit Co., 688 P2d 42 (Okla. 1984). We

find there is competent evidence to support the ver-

dict of the jury.

The judgment of the trial court in all respects is

AFFIRMED.

BRIGHTMIRE, PJ., concurs, and RAPP, J., dissents.

RAPP. J., dissenting

This is an issue of products liability not at all

dissimilar to the old rhyme — “for want of a nail a shoe

was lost, for want of a shoe, a horse... .”! Here, a nut’s

wrong dimension resulted in a sequence of events

culminating in an engine test cell fire. The issue of

products liability was: did NAPCO manufacture and

put into the stream of commerce a nut not in confor-

mity with its engineering specifications? The evidence

was that it did at some point during the years 1979 and

1980. Moreover, the evidence indicated a dimensional

problem existed with this type of nut in NAPCO’s

manufacturing process as early as 1976, which re-

quired it to initiate one hundred percent inspection.?

This manufacturing problem apparently continued at

least through 1980, when the nut was manufactured.

NAPCO was acquired by H.P. Townsend Co. in

~1979. Comtec was organized in March 1980. Zimmer-

man was chairman of the board of directors of Comtec.

Comtec subsequently acquired NAPCO.

Zimmerman’s first contact with NAPCO was in

August 1979, when NAPCO contracted with a separate

company to provide it with financial and legal func-

tions and tax reporting services. Zimmerman was a

member of this company’s staff. The record is totally

‘George Herbert, “‘Love.”’

“It is well known within manufacturing that even one hundred percent inspection

will not find and remove all defective units. Acheson J. Duncan, Quality Control &

Industrial Statistics (1962).

B-7

devoid of any evidence Zimmerman was involved in

any manner with either the engineering and develop-

ment or manufacturing of the nut in question.

The purported usage of Zimmerman’s conviction

for mail fraud and securities violations for impeach-

ment purposes was so far removed from the reality of

the trial issues as to be patently asinine. It was in-

tended and used for a single purpose in contravention

of the statute’s intent regarding convictions in excess

of ten years? — to smear and diminish not only the

testimony and character of Zimmerman, but also of all

associated with him. His conviction had no probative

value nor was it even remotely connected with the

principal issue, other than to function as a firebrand

to inflame the jury and induce bias and prejudice into

their minds. It is obvious it did this work well. Accord-

ingly, I would hold this single issue prevented a fair

and impartial trial and so blinded the jury that it must

be reversed and remanded for a new trial.

Title 12 O.S. 1981 § 2609; see also Fed. R. Evid. 404(a), which strictly limits

when character evidence may be admitted to show acts in conformity with the

criminal conviction. The court, in Perrin v. Anderson, 784 F.2d 1040, 1044 (10th

Cir. 1986), stated, “‘Although the literal language of the exceptions to Rule 404(a)

applies only to criminal cases, we agree with the District court here that, when the

central issue involved in a civil case is in nature criminal, the defendant may invoke

the exceptions to Rule 404(a).’’ Here, in this matter under review, the question and

issue were strictly civil.

C-1

APPENDIX C

IN THE DISTRICT COURT FOR TULSA COUNTY

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

C.A. NO. CT-82-739

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Plaintiff.

VS.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC.,

A DELAWARE CORPORATION,

Ex-CELL-O CORPORATION,

A MICHIGAN CORPORATION, AND

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS Co.,

A CORPORATION,

Defendants.

Nunc Pro Tune Order Granting the Motions

to Dismiss of United Technologies, Inc. and

National Automatic Products Co. and Re-instating

the Cause of Action of American Airlines, Inc.

Against Ex-Cell-O Corporation

The Court has reviewed the motion of Plaintiff

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., in the above-entitled

cause asking that the Order granting the motions to

dismiss of Defendants UNITED TECHNOLOGIES,

INC., NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS CO. and

EX-CELL-O CORPORATION be amended nunc pro

tune as of the date of the entry thereof to delete all

reference to EX-CELL-O CORPORATION. Since De-

fendant EX-CELL-O CORPORATION has no objection

to the Court granting this motion, the motion is hereby

granted.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED by the Court that

the motion of Plaintiff AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.

C-2

that the Order herein granting the Motions to Dismiss

of UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC., NATIONAL AU-

TOMATIC PRODUCTS CO. and EX-CELL-O CORPO-

RATION be amended nunc pro tunc as of the date of

the entry thereof as follows:

Now on this 25th day of March, 1983, the Court

having heretofore taken under advisement the objec-

tions to in personam jurisdiction and motions to dis-

miss for lack of personal jurisdiction of Defendants

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION and NA-

TIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS CoO.; and the Court

having heretofore considered the pleadings, affida-

vits, depositions, briefs, and having heard oral argu-

ment of counsel on February 23, 1983, at which time

the parties each appeared by counsel.

Now, therefore, being fully advised, the Court

finds that Defendants UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC.

and NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS CoO.’S ob-

_ jections and combined motions to dismiss for lack of

personal jurisdiction are meritorious and are sus-

tained. Plaintiff's causes of action as against Defen-

dants UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC. and NA-

TIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS CO., are hereby

severed from the case and are hereby dismissed, with

exceptions granted to the Plaintiff.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

SIGNED on this the 30th day of March, 1983.

/s/CLIFFORD E. HOPPER

DISTRICT JUDGE

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

/s/P-C. HUNSUCKER

H. Jerome Gette

Philip C. Hunsucker

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.

/s/STEPHEN P. FRIOT

ATTORNEY FOR DEFENDANT

EX-CELL-O CORPORATION

D-1

APPENDIX D Mandate received and or-

dered filed and spread of

STATE OF OKLAHOMA record this llth of April,

SUPREME COURT 1985.

MANDATE s/ Clifford J. Hopper

t P Judge

No. 60,005

Tulsa County District Court

CT-82-739 Filed

April 12, 1985

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC. ae TP heeite

VS. Court Clerk

State of Okla.,

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC.. Tulsa County

Ex-CELL-O CORPORATION, ET AL

THE SUPREME COURT OF OKLAHOMA:

To the Honorable Judge of the District Court of

Tulsa County in said State of Oklahoma.

Whereas, the Supreme Court of the State of Okla-

homa, did on the 29th day of January, 1985 render an

Opinion in the above entitled cause, appealed from

the District Court of Tulsa County.

REVERSED AND REMANDED

(with attached correction order dated 3-5-85)

Now, Therefore, you are hereby commanded to

cause such Reversing and remanding to show of

record in your court and to issue such process and

take such other and further action as may be in accord

with right and justice and said Opinion.

Witness, the Honorable Robert Simms, Chief Jus-

tice of the Supreme Court of the State of Oklahoma, at

the City of Oklahoma City, this 11th day of March, 1985.

/s/JJAMES W. PATTERSON

CLERK

By Barbara Clenney, Deputy

E-1

APPENDIX E Mandate received and

ordered filed and spread

STATE OF OKLAHOMA of record this 12th day of

SUPREME COURT April.

MANDATE s/ Daniel J. Boudreaux

— , Judge

No. 68.771

Tulsa County District Court

CT82739 District Court

eee ie ee Reais +f Filed

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., April 13, 1989

EX-CELL-O Corp Don E. Austin

VS. Court Clerk

State of Okla.,

AT amin ' m OD rome (*

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS Co, Tulsa County

COMMERCIAL TECHNOLOGY, INC

THE SUPREME COURT OF OKLAHOMA:

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF THE DISTRICT

COURT OF TULSA COUNTY IN SAID STATE OF

OKLAHOMA.

WHEREAS, THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, DID ON THE 07TH DAY OF

MARCH, 12959 RENDER A MEMORANDUM OPINION

IN THE ABOVE ENTITLED CAUSE, APPEALED

FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF TULSA COUNTY.

AFFIRMED

NOW, THEREFORE, YOU ARE HEREBY COM-

MANDED TO CAUSE SUCH AFFIRMANCE TO SHOW

OF RECORD IN YOUR COURT AND TO ISSUE SUCH

PROCESS AND TAKE SUCH OTHER AND FURTHER

ACTION AS MAY BE IN ACCORD WITH RIGHT AND

JUSTICE AND SAID OPINION.

WITNESS, THE HONORABLE RUDOLPH HAR-

GRAVE, CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA, AT THE CITY OF

OKLAHOMA CITY, THIS 06TH DAY OF APRIL, 1989.

/s/JJAMES W. PATTERSON,

CLERK

By Debbi Dolnci, Deputy

5 eeneneemeaie

F-]

APPENDIX F

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

IN AND FOR TULSA COUNTY

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

NO. CT 82 739

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

A DELAWARE CORPORATION,

Plaintiff.

VS.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC.,

A DELAWARE CORPORATION,

E}x-CELL-O CORPORATION,

A MICHIGAN CORPORATION, AND

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS COMPANY,

A CORPORATION,

Defendants.

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

MR. CARL PETERSON TAKEN DECEMBER 20, 1982

BEFORE DANIEL S. NIZIANKIEWICZ,

CERTIFIED SHORTHAND REPORTER

p. 16

THE DEPONENT: Some housings, nozzles, I said.

BY MR. GETTE:

Q How are orders generated from your company?

A Well, actually through personal contact with

the customer.

Q Okay. You have a sales force, I presume?

A No. Iam the salesman.

Q You are the sales force?

F-2

A Yes.

® You contact the customer?

A Icall on the customer, yes.

Q They have needs which you hope your company

can meet?

A Yes.

@ You discuss those at your meetings with them

and sales results?

A Yes.

Q Is that right?

A That is it.

Q Who are some of your customers?

A Pratt and Whitney, of course, is our largest,

Ex-Cell-O Corporation, Chrysler Industrial, and that is

about the bulk of it. We have others, but many other

small accounts.

p. 27

Q So, all of the parts you manufacture for

Chrysler, when the production is complete, National

Auto sends those parts to Elmwood Park, New Jersey,

is that correct?

A Yes, they do.

Q As I recall from your earlier testimony, Na-

tional Auto primarily manufactures parts for the air-

lines industry, is that right?

A Yes.

Q@ You manufacture parts for all types of aircraft,

or do you limit your manufacturing to certain types of

aircraft?

A Engine parts only.

F-3

Q How many engineers does National Auto em-

ploy?

A One designated as engineer, but actually three

get involved.

Q Who are these folks?

A Ted Boryccki.

MR. KATZ: Spell it.

THE DEPONENT: I am thinking, B-O-R-Y-

C-C-K-I, I believe.

MR. GETTE: I misspelled that one on my

notes.

MR. KATZ: Carl might have, too.

MR. GETTE: I wasn’t even in the ballpark.

p. 30

A Yes, I do.

Q What nut are we referring to?

A Part number 748333-B.

Q What is that part used for?

A Well, it is a fuel nozzle, it is used for the

propulsion or part of it in the engine.

Q Do you know what engine it is used in?

A Iam not sure, no.

Q Is there anyone at your company that knows

that information?

A Well, I'd have to say that if the blueprint is

marked with the engine model we assume it is going on

to that, but we don’t know.

Q Okay. Have you checked the blueprint to make

a determination whether that blueprint contained the

engine model?

F-4

It does.

What engine model?

The JT-9.

And you checked, that is, yourself personally?

I did.

Q Although you may not know it is going to go on

a JT-9, that is your assumption in the manufacturing

process?

A Yes.

Q What is a JT-9 engine?

ee ae

p. 31

A Well, how do you want me to describe it?

Q As best you know how.

A Well, it is an engine like any other jet engine,

and it is manufactured by Pratt and Whitney for com-

mercial use.

Q Okay. Let —

A Commercial or military. I have to amend that.

Q Let me see if I can break it down a little more.

As I understand it, airplanes come in all shapes and

sizes, from very small to very large, could aJT-9 engine

be used on any sized airplane?

A I would say so.

Okay. Why do you say that?

Because of the size of the engine.

Is it a large engine?

It is a large engine, yes.

Is it one of the largest engines there is?

That I don’t know.

> O PP O Pp

F-5

Q But it is a large engine?

A Itis a large engine.

Q Inthe whole spectrum of engines, this is a big

engine?

A Yes.

Q Are you aware of any planes that this engine

would be used for?

p. 32

It is used on the 747.

How do you know that?

Well, I have seen them on the 747.

So, you know that personally?

Yes, I do.

Q ThataJT-9 engine is manufactured for use ona

G

747, it is a Boeing 747, right?

A Yes.

Q Do you know if a JT-9 is used on any other

aircraft?

A Idon’t know.

Q Would it be your assumption it is used on any

other aircraft, a comparable model to a Boeing 747?

> O- O >

A I would say by size, yes.

Q Okay. Have you ever seen it on any other Boe-

ing aircraft, like a 727, or any other?

A No.

Q Do you know if the JT-9 engine is used on some

of the new aircraft, Boeing is coming out with, I

believe, the 767?

A No, I don’t.

F-6

You just don’t know that?

No, I don’t.

Does anyone in your company know that?

> O Pp

I am sure there is someone that must know, but

p. 36

No, I don't.

Any ballpark idea?

No.

But you think sometime after 1970?

Definitely, yes.

O>rO>O >

Pratt and Whitney manufactures that engine, is

that right?

A Yes.

Q Have you ever had any discussions with any

Pratt and Whitney individuals about'the JT-9 engine?

A I[imagine I must have. I have been doing busi-

ness with them all these years, I am sure I did.

Q Iwould assume in some of your sales meetings

where you’re promoting your company and they are

promoting their company, they would tell you, “We

have got a new engine, and we would like your com-

pany to do some parts for it,” that conversation must

have come up sometime?

A Well, it doesn’t happen just that way.

Q Okay. That is an oversimplification maybe?

A No, we, again, we manufacture details, at the

time of the manufacture, it is our capability rather

than what engine it goes on that is considered.

Q So, you have a role in production of airline

parts that the airline industry is aware of, is that right,

you have a capability?

F-7

p. 37

A Yes.

Q That the airline industry is aware of?

A No, I should say no to that. The engine manu-

facturers are.

Q Are aware of?

A Yes.

Q And they can tap into your market?

A Yes.

Q Based on their need for your capability.

A Yes.

Q Could you describe for me as clearly as you can

what your capability is?

A We have a limit by part size, we go from one-

half inch up to ten inches in diameter. We have equip-

ment capable of that range.

Q So, if Iam an engine manufacturer and I have

got a part size in that range, I know that National Auto

can supply that part to me, is that right?

A Yes.

Q Now, when did National Auto start manufac-

turing part number 748333-B?

A 1979.

Q How did this order come to be placed?

MR. KATZ: Are you talking about the

first order?

p. 40

Q Okay. Do you know which one of these individ-

uals was responsible for the request for quotation on

this fuel nozzle nut we are talking about?

F-8

A No, I don't.

Q Butit would have had to have been one of those

two?

A I would say so, yes. That information is avail-

able, but I don’t have it.

Q Would the name be on the request for quota-

tion, the name of the individual who sent the request?

A I don’t know. They don’t always indicate the

person’s name.

Does Mr. Snyder work for Ex-Cell-O”?

Yes, he does.

Q Sometimes they do, and sometimes they don't?

A Yes. =

Q Okay. |

A Itis not a hard and fast rule.

Q Okay. Does Mr. Crozier still work for Ex-Cell-O?

A Yes, he does.

Q Inthe Purchasing Department?

A No.

Q Do you know what department he is in now?

A No, I don't.

Q

A

Q

Do you know what department?

p. 41

A Now, in Planning.

Q Did you have any discussion with either Mr.

Crozier or Mr. Snyder prior to the time they created

this request for quotation that they were going to do

that?

A No, we are an approved vendor for them, and

we have the opportunity to quote on everything that

goes through the Purchasing Department.

——

F-9

Q Who are some of your competitors?

A Badger Marine. This is for Ex-Cell-O, you are

asking this question, competitors for Ex-Cell-O?

Q Okay, I will limit it to Ex-Cell-O for right now.

A That is the only competitor that I know of.

Q Badger Marine?

A Marine.

Q Where is Badger Marine located?

A They are in Michigan. I don’t know where.

Q@ Do you have any competitors for Pratt and

Whitney?

A Oh, yes.

Q Who are some of those?

A There are many.

Q Nationwide?

A Yes.

Q How about for Chrysler Corporation, is that

like Ex-Cell-O or like Pratt and Whitney?

A Like Ex-Cell-O.

p. 47

A There is more than one purchase order num-

ber, so, it is more than one order, but whether it was

quoted again, as you Say, I don’t know.

Q I believe you have disclosed that in total for

1979 and 1980 and 1981 on this part number National

Auto Part manufactured 11,007 parts?

A Yes.

Q Okay, and this was pursuant to, you think, one

quote, but more than one purchase order?

F-10

A Yes.

How many purchase orders are you aware of?

Two I am sure of.

There may be a third?

> O - ©

There may be a third, I would have to check.

Q What were the shipping instructions with re-

spect to this part, if you remember’?

A The shipping instruction, of course, gives us

the packaging, the method of packaging, and the

schedule of shipments to Zeeland, Michigan.

Q To Zeeland, Michigan?

A Yes.

Q In Zeeland, I don’t know, where is Zeeland in

Michigan?

A Do you know where Holland, Michigan is?

Q My understanding is that is on the west side of

p. 50

Q It takes highly skilled people to manufacture

these parts?

A Yes.

Q Because it is made with very close tolerances,

is that right?

A Yes,

Q And it is an expensive part, it is more than five

cents a piece, isn't it?

A Itis.

Q Do you know how much, for instance,this part

would cost?

A Today’s prices?

F-11

Q Yes, today’s prices. Today’s American dollar

prices.

A_ In the vicinity of $50.

Q How much in ’79, do you think?

A Probably 30, $35.

Q That would be the price somebody would pay

you to manufacture it?

A Yes.

@ Not your actual manufacturing cost?

A No, that is the selling price.

Q@ We hope your manufacturing cost would be

A Much, I hope.

Now, National Auto made 11,000 in rough num-

©

bers of

p. 51

these parts and sent them all to Zeeland, Michigan, is

that correct?

A That is correct.

Q Has National Auto ever shipped any products

to the State of Oklahoma?

A No.

@ How do you know that?

A That question again?

Q Which one?

A Have we ever shipped?

Q Have you ever shipped any product to the State

of Oklahoma?

A Yes, we have.

F-12

Q Okay. What products and when?

A Weshipped in 1976, I believe, was the last time

we shipped.

Q Whom did you ship to?

A Tinker Air Force.

Q What did you ship”

A It was a nut, nozzle nut.

Q For what engine’?

A TF-30.

Q Was that a large quantity, a large order, small

order?

A No.

p. 52

Q What is the quantity’?

A Ican’t tell you now what the quantity was, but

it was small, a very small quantity.

Q Prior to 1976, had National Auto shipped any

products into the State of Oklahoma?

A Not that I know of.

Q As far as you know, 1976 was the last time

National Auto shipped any products into the State of

Oklahoma, is that correct?

A Yes, that is correct.

Q And you are the person who would know that, if

anybody at National does, is that correct?

A Yes.

Q Has National ever had any employees in the

State of Oklahoma?

A No.

F-13

Q Has National Auto ever had a business address

or business location in the State of Oklahoma?

A No.

@ Has National Auto ever entered into a contract

with an Oklahoma customer’?

A Entered into a contract. I don’t understand

what that implies.

Q For the sale of a product manufactured by

National Auto?

Dp. d3

A Wouldn't that shipment, that would be a pur

chase order from Tinker, that would be one

@ That would be one?

A We would say that is a contract, yes

MR. KATZ: Do you know when the contract

to ship to Tinker was entered into?

MR. GETTE: That wasn’t my question

when the contract was entered into.

BY MR. GETTE:

Q Just is there any contract with an Oklahoma

customer, I don’t care when it was entered into?

A Yes, that would be it, yes.

@ Has National Auto ever had any Oklahoma

}

customers.

A No

@ Is there any other use for the fuel nozzle nut

that we have been talking about other than for use on

a jet engine?

A Other than use on a jet engine?

Q That is right.

F-14

A !don’t know for certain, but I would assume

not.

@ Does Ex-Cell-O manufacture jet engines?

A No.

@ That is what I thought. And Pratt and Whitney

does, is that correct?

A Yes.

p. 55

Q Now, at the time that National Automotive was

manufacturing the fuel nozzles, 748333-B, was it your

understanding that the fuel nozzle nut would remain

in the State of Connecticut during its useful life after

the manufacturing process was complete?

A I would say no, because we shipped them to

Michigan.

Q Okay. At the time you shipped them to Michi-

gan, was it your understanding that the fuel nozzle nut

would remain in the State of Michigan during its

useful life?

A That I don’t know.

Q It would be your expectation that it would not,

is that correct?

A Yes. It could be shipped to Pratt and Whitney,

it could be shipped to any other, it could be shipped to

airlines.

Q From Michigan?

A Idon't know that. From Michigan or in Michi-

gan, you know.

Q Itcould be shipped to virtually anyplace in the

United States from Michigan, is that correct?

A Iwould think so, yes.

F-15

Q The partis not designed to remain in Michigan,

is it?

A If there are, we will say overhaul stations in

the

p. 58

A Yes.

Q@ And, indeed, anyplace in the world that can

service that aircraft, is that correct?

A Yes.

Q And your company had no way to predict

where any particular fuel nozzle nut would end up, is

that correct?

A That is correct.

Q The market for that fuel nozzle nut is a nation-

wide market, it is not a local market?

A Yes.

Q@ And you were intending to service that entire

nationwide market when you manufactured that part?

A As much of it as we could, yes.

Q Now, at the time that you were manufacturing

this fuel nozzle nut, were you aware that American

Airlines had a maintenance facility in Tulsa, Okla-

homa?

A No, I wasn’t.

Q@ Are you aware of that fact now?

A Yes, 1 am.

Q@ And the American Airlines maintenance facil-

ity is one of those facilities we were referring to

earlier where the fuel nut could have ended up?

A Yes.

F-16

Q But we have no way of knowing where any

specific nut could have gone?

G-1

APPENDIX G

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

IN AND FOR TULSA COUNTY

STATE OF OKLAHOMA

Cause No. CT-82-739

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

A DELAWARE CORPORATION,

Plaintiff.

VS.

UNITED TECHNOLOGIES, INC.,

A DELAWARE CORPORATION,

Ex-CELL-O CORPORATION,

A MICHIGAN CORPORATION,

AND

NATIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS Co.,

A CORPORATION,

Defendants.

Plaintiff, American Airlines, Inc.’s

First Set Of Interrogatories To Defendant,

National Automatic Products Co.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that Plaintiff, AMERI-

CAN AIRLINES, INC., requires Defendant, NA-

TIONAL AUTOMATIC PRODUCTS CoO., by and

through its attornies (sic) of record, L. Ray Pearce,

Esq., The Carlton Firm, 3109 Carlysle, Post Office Box

190427, Dallas, Texas 75219, and Kirk Fredrickson,

Esq., Day, Fredrickson, Merrick & Patton, 2200 Classen

Boulevard, Suite 1110, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

73106, to answer the following interrogatories within

thirty (30) days from the date of service thereof, pur-

G-2

suant to Okla. Stat. tit. 12 §3210. You are required to

answer each of the interrogatories separately and

fully in writing under oath. The answers to the inter-

rogatories must be signed by the person(s) making

them. Each of the interrogatories shall be considered

continuing and should the answers to any of them be

changed before trial of this action, you are requested

to furnish such different answers in writing and under

oath, or it will be assumed the answers originally

given continue as your answers to these interrogato-

ries.

INTERROGATORY NO. 28: For each of the years

1979, 1980 and 1981, please list the name of each entity

to whom you sold fuel nozzle nuts (Part Number

748333-B).

ANSWER: Ex-Cell-O Corporation.

INTERROGATORY NO. 29: For each such entity

listed in your response to Interrogatory No. 28, please

state:

a. Its address;

b. The number of fuel nozzle nuts (Part Number

748333-B) which were sold to it; and,

c. The date(s) upon which each fuel nozzle nut,

(Part Number 748333-B) was sold to it.

ANSWER: a) 700 North Centennial Street, Zee-

land, Michigan 49464

b) 11,007

c) 4/5/79

4/24/79

4/25/79

5/11/79

5/16/79

5/18/79

6/12/79

6/15/79

6/18/79

6/22/79

7/9/79

8/22/79

8/24/79

9/7/79

9/17/79

9/19/79

9/28/79

10/3/79

10/4/79

G-3

10/15/79

11/2/79

11/15/79

11/19/79

11/26/79

2/4/80

2/7/80

/25/80

3/7/80

4/15/80

H-1

APPENDIX H

SELECTED RULES ON PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

IN THE [OKLAHOMA] COURT OF APPEALS

RULE 3.9 PETITION FOR REHEARING

A party who is aggrieved by a decision of the Court

of Appeals may file one petition for rehearing com-

bined with brief in its support. On good cause being

shown, a party may be allowed to supplement the brief

on rehearing, but not more than one petition for

rehearing may be presented by any party. The time for

filing a petition for rehearing shall be the same as that

prescribed for filing a petition for a rehearing in the

Supreme Court. See Rule 28, Rules of the Supreme

Court, Title 12, Chapter 15, App. Oklahoma Statutes.

The time shall run from the date the opinion is filed.

An application for an extension of time not to exceed

twenty (20) days to file a petition for rehearing and

brief in support thereof may, if filed within the time

limits provided by said Rule 28, Rules of the Supreme

Court, be allowed by the Presiding Judge of the divi-

sion of the Court of Appeals involved, if in the judge’s

opinion good cause is shown in the application for an

extension.

Amended by order of June 22, 1979; Oct. 22, 1984.

RULE 3.13 REVIEW BY SUPREME COURT

ON CERTIORARI

A. A review of an opinion of the Court of Appeals

in the Supreme Court on writ of certiorari as provided

in 20 O.S. 1971, § 30.1 is a matter of sound judicial

discretion and will be granted only when there are

special and important reasons and a majority of the

justices direct that certiorari be granted. The follow-

ing, while neither controlling nor fully measuring the

Supreme Court’s discretion, indicate the character of

reasons which will be considered:

Ce |

H-2

(1) Where the Court of Appeals has decided a

question of substance not heretofore determined by

this court;

(2) Where the Court of Appeals has decided a

question of substance in a way probably not in accord

with applicable decisions of this court or the Supreme

Court of the United States;

(3) Where a division of the Court of Appeals has

rendered a decision in conflict with the decision of

another division of that court;

(4) Where the Court of Appeals has so far departed

from the accepted and usual course of judicial pro-

ceedings or so far sanctioned such procedure by atrial

court as to call for the exercise of this court’s power of

supervision.

B. A party who did not petition for rehearing in the

Court of Appeals may not petition for certiorari.

Amended by order eff. Feb. 28, 1972; amended by order of Sept. 3,

1976, eff. Oct. 30, 1976.

RULE 3.19 MANDATE TO TRIAL COURT

If no rehearing be sought in a case assigned to the

Court of Appeals within the time prescribed by Rule

3.9 or if a petition for rehearing is denied and no

certiorari is sought to the Supreme Court as provided

in these rules, or if certiorari is denied by the Su-

preme Court, the Chief Justice will forthwith direct

the clerk of the Supreme Court to issue mandate.

Amended by order of Sept. 3, 1976, eff. Oct. 30, 1976.

SELECTED RULES OF THE

SUPREME COURT OF OKLAHOMA

RULE 28. REHEARINGS

(1) Applications for a rehearing, and a brief in

support thereof, in any cause, unless otherwise or-

dered by the Court, shall be made by petition to the

is

me i |

H-3

Court, signed by counsel, and filed with the Clerk

within twenty (20) days from the date on which the

opinion in the cause is filed. No oral argument on

petition for rehearing shall be allowed except upon

| order of the Court. No petition for rehearing shall be

filed or considered without proof of service. An appli-

cation for an extension of time not to exceed twenty

(20) days to file a petition for rehearing and brief in

support thereof may, if filed within the twenty (20) day

; time limit above specified, be allowed by the Chief

Justice if in his opinion good cause is shown in the

application for an extension.

(2) Ten (10) clearly legible copies of petitions for

rehearing shall be filed.

Amended by order of Oct. 2, 1967, eff. Dec. 4, 1967; amended by

order of June 22, 1979; Oct. 22, 1984.

RULE 29. APPLICATION FOR SECOND PETITION

FOR REHEARING

No motion or application for rehearing or review

will be allowed after the denial of a petition for

rehearing. The Clerk shall not file any such motion or

application after the denial of a petition for rehearing.

Amended by order of Oct. 2, 1967, eff. Dec. 4, 1967; Sept. 30, 1976,

eff. Oct. 30, 1976.

RULE 33. MANDATE AND ISSUANCE

(1) After the expiration of twenty (20) days from the

filing of an opinion proper mandate to the trial court

may issue; provided, that when a petition for rehear-

ing is filed within the time prescribed, or by leave of

Court, no mandate shall issue until such petition for

rehearing shall have been determined. If the petition

for rehearing is denied the mandate may issue.

(2) All mandates shall be issued by the Clerk on

order of the Chief Justice.

Amended by order of Oct. 2, 1967, eff. Dec. 4, 1967; amended by

order of April 7, 1980.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 21st day of July,

1989, three true and correct copies of the above

and foregoing were mailed, postage prepaid, to:

Joe B. Abbey, Esq., 1717 Main Street, Suite 2220,

Dallas, Texas 75201, counsel for the Petitioner;

and Robert J. Henry, Attorney General for the

State of Oklahoma, State Capitol Building, Okla-

homa City, Oklahoma 73105. I further certify that

all parties required to be served have been

served.

/s/ Barbara L. Swimley

Stephen P. Friot

Barbara L. Swimley

of

Spradling, Alpern, Friot & Gum

101 Park Avenue, Suite 700

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102

Telephone: 405/272-0211

Counsel for Respondents

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.