Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Air Line Pilots Ass'n, International v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| ‘FILED

88-1901, MAY 24 1989

JOSEPH Ff. SPa

No. CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Petitioner,

Ve

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

GARY GREEN

EUGENE B. GRANOF

JERRY D. ANKER

FELICE BUSTO *

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL

1625 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 797-4088

Attorneys for Petitioner

Air Line Pilots Association,

International

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

@ EE 00

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

An arbitrator acting under a collective bargaining

agreement determined that an air line pilot’s misconduct

(operating a commercial airliner while under the influ-

ence of alcohol) did not constitute “just cause” for dis-

charge, despite its obvious seriousness, because of various

mitigating circumstances, including the pilot’s subsequent

successful treatment for alcoholism and recertification by

the Federal Aviation Administration. The Court below

refused to enforce the arbitration award on the ground

that the pilot’s misconduct violated public policy as de-

fined in United Paperworkers International Union v.

Misco, Inc., 108 S. Ct. 364 (1987), even though there is

no public policy requiring discharge in such cases. The

court also held that the arbitration panel exceeded its

authority by considering the pilot’s post-discharge treat-

ment and recertification.

The questions presented are:

1. Did the court below, by applying the Misco stand-

ard to the employee’s misconduct rather than the arbi-

trator’s decision concerning the appropriate penalty, mis-

construe Misco and substitute its judgment for that of

the arbitrator in violation of the principles set forth in

Steelworkers Trilogy?

9 Did the court also err by holding that the arbitra-

tion panel exceeded its authority in considering events

occurring after the discharge in determining the issue

of just cause?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ekg 8 AS yD

By 0) to SE nn

en conencpsicensinnncatbnnsnsniecansntasaccotanense

Nee in geass naccsissavksevhnskynensasneaccaonsonese

Neila tins tnncisceachbvesenkecasnecineosanesicnceonss

eg 8 0) ee 8 OF.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ....................

I.

II.

Ii].

CONCLUSION

THERE IS A DIRECT CONFLICT IN THE

COURTS OF APPEALS CONCERNING THE

CIRCUMSTANCES IN WHICH A LABOR

ARBITRATION AWARD MAY BE VACATED

ON GROUNDS OF PUBLIC POLICY ................

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION

UNDERMINES THE RULE OF JUDICIAL

NONINTERFERENCE WITH LABOR ARBI-

a ccepichnacckiteinnneecxettnumnnaminenumiicennss

CERTIORARI SHOULD ALSO BE GRANTED

TO REVIEW THE LOWER COURT’S HOLD-

ING THAT THE ARBITRATOR WAS PRE-

CLUDED FROM CONSIDERING POST-

eT 38 4s

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Butterkrust Bakeries v. Bakery Workers Int’l

Union, 726 F.2d 698 (11th Cir. 1984) 11

Diamond v. Terminal Railway Ala. State Docks,

421 F.2d 228 (5th Cir. 1970) ................................ 11

Towa Elec. Light & Power v. Local Union 204 Int'l

Bhd. of Elec. Workers, 834 F.2d 1424 (8th Cir.

ROPE Pricind earns eee ate ee 7

John T. Wiley & Sons, Ine. v. Livingston, 376 U.S.

ee CEN eo eas ae Ree es eee a eh 13

Muschany v. United States, 324 U.S. 49 (1945)... 6

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Ass’n,

808 F.2d 76 (D.C. Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108

Be ROU CRO evs ncesgeecc ee es 8, 12

Stead Motors v. Automotive Machinists Lodge

1173, 843 F.2d 357 (9th Cir.), reh’g granted,

Sov Wie Gee CI re a 8, 10

Union Pac. Ry. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89 (i978)... 11

United Paperworkers Int'l Union v. Misco, Ine.,

Pee Ss ee EOE oe ee 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12

United States Postal Service v. National Ass’n of

Letter Carriers, 810 F.2d 1239 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

granted, 108 S. Ct. 500, 56 U.S.L.W. 3410, No.

87-59 (Dec. 14, 1987), cert. dismissed, 108 S. Ct.

ROOT SOOOD cence awiascun t Oe 7,12

United States Postal Service v. National Ass'n of

Letter Carriers, 839 F.2d 146 (3d Cir. 1988)... 7,12

United Steelworkers v. American Mfg. Co., 363

URN WE elena amen t tren Maa Uip ner at ua aalion 9, 10

United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Na vig. Co.,

SO Wi OES CROO RC ee ke 9,10

United Steelworkers v. Enterprise Wheel and Car

Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960) 9, 10

W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local 759, Int’l Union of

United Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757 (3963)... - € 9

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1) .......-.-------- Pere eek eit nice ns ss ae 2

Railway Labor Act

ra bm. © Oe & |. SeemnRinnnnnrnnentner ne TC oC Coc asta 2

45 U.S.C. § 153 (First (q) .....--------------------> ee 11

Pv SOP. 2 Oe |. Een eenrEn Coe ei 2

REGULATIONS

Leo Fe ty fp Reeeeenne nnn en Ct aaah 2

yee ot oe ky | Benen ear 2

14 C.F B. § 121.542 ...........--20--n-000--enesnnenionnanecnssnnsnanensns 10

MISCELLANEOUS

T. Denenberg & R. Denenberg, Alcohol and Drugs,

Issues in the Workplace 4 (BNA) (1983)...---- 12

Edwards, Judicial Review of Labor Arbitration

Awards: The Clash Between the Public Policy

Exception and the Duty to Bargain, 64 Chicago-

Kent L. Rev. 3 (1988) .....-.-------:----secrteeeesseete tt 11

F. Elkouri & E. Elkouri, How Arbitration J Works

(Ath edd. 1985) -...-.-:----:c-c-necenc-censvonnsnonennsarneoumacmnnas 12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No.

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Petitioner,

¥a

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Air Line Pilots Association, International

(“ALPA”), respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari

to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals has been officially

reported at 861 F.2d 665 (11th Cir. 1988) and is re-

printed at App. la-20a. The court of appeals’ denial of

rehearing in bane is unreported and reprinted at App.

79a-80a. The decision of the district court is officially

reported at 686 F. Supp. 1573 (N.D. Ga. 1987) and is

reprinted at App. 2la-37a. The arbitration decision and

award is not reported and is reprinted at App. 38a-76a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

December 8, 1988. Thereafter, on January 23, 1989, the

eourt of appeals denied a petition for rehearing. On

2

April 13, 1989. Justice Kennedy signed an order extend-

ing the time for filing the petition’ for certiorari to and

including May 24, 1989. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254 (1).

STATUTES

The issues in this case arise within the framework of

provisions of both the Railway Labor Act (“RLA"),

45 U.S.C. §§ 153 and 184, and the Federa] Aviation Reg-

ulations, 14 C.F.R. $91.11; 14 CFR. S$ 67.19. These

provisions are reprinted at App. 81a-96a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Captain Day’s Discharge

On January 10, 1985, Captain William D. Day served

as Pilot-in-Command of a Delta Air Lines’ passenger jet

from Bangor, Maine to Boston. Although the flight ar-

rived without incident, after the aircraft landed Delta

learned that Captain Day had piloted the plane while

intoxicated. After further investigation Delta terminated

Captain Day for Violating Company rules and Federal

Aviation Agency (FAA) regulations prohibiting the con-

sumption of aleohol Within twenty four hours of a flight

and for reporting for duty and operating a flight while

under the influence. (App. 2a; 39a-40a). At the time of

his discharge, Captain Day had been a pilot for Delta for

nineteen years with an unblemished disciplinary record.

(App. 41a; 73a-74a).

Shortly after his termination, Captain Day sought sev-

eral medical evaluations and was diagnosed as an alco-

holic. (App. 56a-57a)-. On March 21, 1985. he entered a

treatment program at South Miami Hospital, which in-

cluded 28 days as an in-patient followed by “aftercare”

as an out-patient. By December 2, 1985, he had pro-

gressed to the point where his physicians concluded that

he was ready to return to flying status. (App. 63a-64a).

3

On January 16, 1986, the FAA determined that he was

eligible to return to flight duty under a “special issu-

[ance] medical certificate.” (App. 66a).

2. The System Board Award

As required by Section 204 of the RLA. 45 U.S.C.

$184, the applicable collective bargaining agreement es-

tablished a System Board of Adjustment to resolve “dis-

putes between any pilot covered by this Agreement and

the Company growing out of grievances or out of inter-

pretation or application of any of the terms of this Agree-

ment.” (App. 28a). Captain Day submitted a grievance

concerning his discharge, which in due course was pre-

sented to a System Board comprised of two members ap-

pointed by Delta, two by ALPA, and a neutral Chairman.

The issue before the Board was “solely to determine

whether, in grievant’s specific case, there was just cause

for his discharge.” (App. 74a).

On January 31, 1987, the Board, with the two Delta

members dissenting, issued a thirty-five page decision and

award concluding that Captain Day’s discharge was not

for just cause, and that a lesser penalty should be im-

posed. The Board’s conclusion rested on four grounds:

(1) Captain Day had an unblemished record of nineteen

years service with Delta; (2) the uncontradicted medical

evidence demonstrated that he flew while intoxicated be-

‘FAA regulations permit the Federal Air Surgeon to grant a

special issuance medical certificate to a rehabilitated alcoholic pilot

upon a showing that he can perform his duties as a pilot without

endangering air safety. 14 C.F.R. $67.19. The “special issuance”

granted to Captain Day required him to be monitored by a super-

visor designated by his employer and a trained pilot representative,

both of whom had to submit monthly reports attesting to his con-

tinued total abstinence from alcohol. In addition. Captain Day was

required to keep up his “aftercare” program and to submit quar-

terly progress reports from his treatment clinic. He also had to

submit a yearly evaluation by a psychiatrist designated by the

FAA as well as periodic blood tests.

4

cause he was an undiagnosed alcoholic who ‘succumbed

to his disease of alcoholism on January 9 and 10” (App.

67a), but who thereafter was successfully treated so as

to be deemed eligible for recertification by the FAA; (3)

the two pilot crew members who failed to prevent Captain

Day from flying were equally guilty under Company pol-

icy but were not discharged; and (4) Captain Day had

been disparately treated by Delta in the application of

the Company’s alcohol policies because at least three

other pilots who had reported for duty under the in-

fluence had not been terminated but had instead been

permitted to enter Delta’s alcohol rehabilitation program.’

(App. 52a-54a).

Although recognizing that Captain Day’s misconduct

was “serious,” the Board reasoned that he should have

been offered the option of enrolling in the Company’s

aleohol rehabilitation program and ordered that he be

reinstated, but without backpay or other retroactive bene-

fits. Delta was also ordered to cooperate with the FAA

in its recertification of Captain Day and to reimburse

Captain Day for the costs of his alcohol rehabilitation

program as though he had been offered the option of

enrolling in it. (App. 6a; 74a).°

2A fourth pilot who performed preflight duties but was inter-

cepted after a mechanical problem delayed the flight was reinstated

by a unanimous System Board. (App. 59a-60a). In addition, Delta

had returned over 100 reformed alcholic pilots to the cockpit since

1986.

3 After Delta refused to comply with the award, Captain Day

obtained employment with another carrier, Amerijet International

where he has served as Pilot-in-Command of a Boeing 727 since

February 1987. In May 1988, he was promoted to Chief Pilot and

is responsible for the training and supervision of sixty pilots. In

January 1989. the FAA determined that Captain Day was eligible

for an unconditional first class medical certificate, i.e., without

monitoring.

3. The Decisions Below

On February 12, 1987, Delta filed a complaint in the

district court to set aside the arbitration award. The

district court vacated the award on September 30, 1987,

on the ground that it violated public policy. This deci-

sion was issued prior to this Court’s decision in United

Paperworkers International Union v. Misco, Inc., 108

S. Ct. 364 (1987).

The court of appeals affirmed, concluding that Misco

was distinguishable. The court noted that the employee’s

wrongdoing in Misco “was unrelated to his employment

duties.” (App. 9a). Accordingly, the court reasoned that

the pertinent public policy question is whether there is a

“public policy condemn{ing| the performance of employ-

ment activities in the manner engaged in by the em-

ployee.” (App. 13a).

After reviewing state and federal laws prohibiting fly-

ing an airplane while under the influence of alcohol, the

court concluded that “there is a well defined and explicit

public policy against the operation of an aircraft while

intoxicated.” Because the public policy was “inextricably

related to the performance of employment duties,’ the

court found that the arbitration award reinstating Cap-

tain Day violated public policy:

Delta . . . was under a duty to prevent the wrong-

doing of which its Pilot-In-Command was guilty,

and it could not agree to arbitrate that issue.

The collective bargaining agreement between Delta

and the ALPA, as interpreted by the System Board,

insofar as it would submit to arbitration the ques-

tion of whether Delta should authorize operation of

aircraft by pilots under the influence of alcohol,

violates public policy and cannot be enforced.

‘App. 19a).

The court also held that the System Board was pre-

cluded from considering Captain Day’s diagnosis of al-

6

coholism and his subsequent rehabilitation in mitigation

of the punishment. Rather, the arbitrator was “limited

to whether Delta had just cause to discharge Day, after

he had flown an airplane while drunk, and before he had

given the airline any indication that he was an alcoholic.”

(App. 19a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below is a classic example of a court’s

substitution of its judgment for an arbitrator’s under

the guise of public policy. The decision is in direct con-

flict with the decision of another circuit on virtually iden-

tical facts, and is part of a broader pattern of conflict-

ing interpretations in the lower courts of the scope of the

public policy exception even after this Court’s decision in

Misco. A further clarification of the circumstances in

which courts may set aside arbitration awards on public

policy grounds is necessary to halt the continuing erosion

of the doctrine of finality of arbitration awards.

I. THERE IS A DIRECT CONFLICT IN THE COURTS

OF APPEALS CONCERNING THE CIRCUM-

STANCES IN WHICH A LABOR ARBITRATION

AWARD MAY BE VACATED ON GROUNDS OF

PUBLIC POLICY

First in W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local 759, International

Union of United Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757 (1983),

and four years later in Misco, this Court defined in the

narrowest of terms the circumstances in which a labor

arbitration award may be set aside as violative of pub-

lic policy. The award must violate “some explicit public

policy” that is “‘well defined and dominant.” and that

can be “ascertained by ‘reference to the laws and legal

precedents and not from general considerations of sup-

posed public interests.’” 'W.R. Grace, 461 U.S. at 766;

Misco, 108 8. Ct. at 373, quoting Muschany v. United

States, 324 U.S. 49, 66 (1945). A court’s own concept

.

of public policy, even if “firmly rooted in common sense,”

cannot justify setting aside “an arbitration award that

was entered in accordance with a _ valid collective-

bargaining agreement.” Misco, 108 S. Ct. at 374.

Despite these decisions, the courts of appeals continue

to be divided concerning the circumstances under which

an award may be vacated as contrary to public policy.’

Some courts read Misco to hold that an arbitration award

may not be set aside unless there is a direct conflict be-

tween the award itself and public policy. See €.9.,

United States Postal Service v. National Ass’ n of Letter

Carriers, 839 F.2d 146 (3d Cir. 1988) (public policy of

protecting coworkers from employee violence did not re-

quire discharge of postal employee who fired shots into

Supervisor’s empty vehicle). Other circuits, like the

Eleventh Circuit here, continue to vacate arbitration

awards requiring reinstatement of an employee even if

there is no conflict between public policy and the award,

if they find that the employee’s misconduct which was at

issue in the case violates public policy. See Iowa Elec.

Light & Power v. Local Union 204 Int’l Bhd. of Elec.

Workers, 834 F.2d 1424, 1427 (8th Cir. 1987) (award

reinstating employee who intentionally violated interlock

4In Misco, this Court granted certiorari “Tb]ecause the Courts

of Appeals [were] divided on the question of when courts may set

aside arbitration awards as contravening public policy.” 108 S. Ct.

at 369 n.7 (collecting cases). The Court, however, did not reach

the issue of whether a court may vacate an award only when it

violates positive law or compels unlawful conduct. 108 S. Ct. 374

n.12. Two weeks after Misco was decided the Court granted cer-

tiorari in United States Postal Service v. National Association of

Letter Carriers, 810 F.2d 1239 (D.C. Cir.) (per curiam), cert.

granted, 108 S. Ct. 500 (1987) on the question of “should fan]

arbitration award ordering Postal Service to reinstate employee

who has been discharged for, and criminally convicted of, failing

to deliver thousands of picces of mail be set aside as contrary to

public policy.” See 56 U.S.L.W. 3410, No. 87-59 (Dec. 14, 1987).

After oral argument the Court dismissed the petition as improvi-

dently granted. See 108 S. Ct. 1589 (1988).

8

device in nuclear power plant set aside because employ-

ee’s conduct violated public policy) ; Stead Motors v. Au-

tomotive Machinists Lodge 1173, 843 F.2d 357 (9th Cir.),

reh’g granted, 857 F.2d 686 (1988) (award reinstating

employee who failed to tighten lug bolts on car set aside

because employee’s conduct violates public policy).

The most direct and dramatic conflict is between the

decision of the Eleventh Circuit in the present case and

the decision of the District of Columbia Circuit in North-

west Airlines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Association, 808

F.2d 76, 83 (D.C. Cir. 1987), cert. denied. 108 S. Ct.

1751 (1988). Both cases involved pilots who, while suf-

fering from alcoholism, had operated aircraft while in-

toxicated. In Northwest Airlines, the court of appeals

held that no public policy was violated by an arbitration

award which would restore the pilot to service after he

had been successfully treated for his alcoholism as deter-

mined by the FAA. The court dismissed the public pol-

icy argument as “meritless” because “the [System]

Board’s decision merely required Northwest to reinstate

Morrison if and when he was recertified by the FAA as

fully fit and licensed to fly.”” The court reasoned that:

To suggest that the Board’s award violates public

policy is to contend that the FAA was derelict in its

responsibilities in considering Morrison for recer-

tification. Obviously, it would be patently absurd for

us, under the guise of ‘public policy,’ to reverse an

arbitration award that is expressly limited by defer-

ence to the ultimate judgment of the agency that is

charged with the enforcement of the public policy

here at issue... .It would be the height of judicial

chutzpah for us to second-guess the present judg-

ment of the FAA recertifying Morrison for flight

duty.

Id. at 83.

The Eleventh Circuit in this case did precisely what

the D.C. Circuit in Northwest refused to do: it held that

9

because the pilot’s conduct violated public policy—a mat-

ter about which no one disagrees—the arbitrator’s deter-

mination that discharge was not the appropriate penalty

likewise violated public policy. We believe that the D.C.

Circuit’s analysis of the issue is persuasive and the re-

sult it reached is correct.’ Certiorari should be granted,

however, not just to reverse an erroneous decision by the

Eleventh Circuit, but, more importantly, to resolve the

conflict between the circuits on the public policy question.

II. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION UNDER-

MINES THE RULE OF JUDICIAL NONINTERFER-

ENCE WITH LABOR ARBITRATION

Since the’ Steelworkers Trilogy® it has been a settled

principle of labor law that judges lack the authority to

set aside an arbitrator’s award because they disagree

with the arbitrator’s reasoning or his resolution of the

dispute. Misco, though continuing to recognize the pub-

lic policy exception to this rule articulated in W.R. Grace,

nonetheless made clear that the exception would not be

permitted to swallow the rule. The Misco opinion espe-

cially cautioned against using the public policy exception

to overrule the arbitrator’s determination concerning the

appointment of the penalty:

Even if it were open to the Court of Appeals to

have found a violation of ... [the Company’s rules]

because of the marijuana found in Cooper’s car, the

5 The only conceivable public policy issue that could be presented

by the award in either case is whether reinstatement might create

too great a risk that the pilot might again fly while intoxicated.

That issue, however, was eliminated by the arbitrators’ findings in

both cases that the pilots’ misconduct was the result of alcoholism,

and by the FAA’s determination that the pilots had been success-

fully treated and were eligible for recertification.

8 United Steelworkers v. American Mfg. Co., 363 U.S. 564 (1960) ;

United Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navig. Co., 363 U.S. 574

(1960); United Steelworkers v. Enterprise Wheel and Car Corp.,

363 U.S. 593 (1960).

10

question remains whether the court could properly

set aside the award because in its view discharge was

the correct remedy. Normally, an arbitrator is au-

thorized to disagree with the sanction imposed for

employee misconduct. In Enterprise Wheel, for ex-

ample, the arbitrator reduced the discipline from

discharge to a 10-day suspension. The Court of Ap-

peals refused to enforce the award, but we reversed,

explaining that though the arbitrator's decision must

draw its essence from the agreement, he “is to bring

his informed judgment to bear in order to reach a

fair solution of a problem. This is especially true

when it comes to formulating remedies.” 363 U.S. at

597, 80S. Ct. at 1861....

Misco, 108 S. Ct. at 8372 (emphasis as in original).

The decision below disregards the limitations upon the

public policy exception set forth by the Court in Misco

and, if permitted to stand, significantly weakens the

Trilogy. In the Eleventh Circuit’s view, all that is re-

quired to set aside an arbitrator’s award reducing a dis-

charge penalty is a showing, not that an explicit pub-

lie policy mandates the discharge, but only that the mis-

conduct for which the penalty was imposed violates a

work-related public policy. A deliveryman who gets a

parking ticket, a truckdriver who is cited for going ten

miles over the speed limit, a pilot who engages in non-

essential conversation in the cockpit in violation of 14

C.F.R. § 121.542 (or, for that matter, violates any other

FAA regulation)—all would be subject to discharge on

public policy grounds. The Ninth Circuit has gone even

a step further in Stead Motors, implying that public

policy can be used to sustain the discharge of any em-

ployee who creates a safety hazard by failing to do his

job properly.

In short, so many work-related acts or omissions can

be deemed violative of public policy that the Eleventh Cir-

cuit’s standard is really no standard at all. “|T]here

are no limiting principles once a court chooses to look

11

past the legality of the arbitrator’s award to the nature

of the underlying conduct at issue.” Edwards, Judicial

Review of Labor Arbitration Awards: The Clash Be-

tween the Public Policy Exception and the Duty to Bar-

gain, 64 Chicago-Kent L. Rev. 3, 22 (1988). Hence,

‘“li]n the proverbial next case, only the court will know

whether the arbitrator’s award violated public policy.”

Id.’

III. CERTIORARI SHOULD ALSO BE GRANTED TO

REVIEW THE LOWER COURT’S HOLDING THAT

THE ARBITRATOR WAS PRECLUDED FROM CON-

SIDERING POST-DISCHARGE EVENTS

Further warranting review by this Court is the holding

by the court below that the arbitrator could not consider

events occurring after Captain Day’s discharge—

specifically, his diagnosis of alcoholism, treatment for the

disease, and subsequent rehabilitation—in determining

whether discharge was the apnpropriate penalty for his

misconduct. The Eleventh Circuit relied in this regard

on its earlier decision in Butterkrust Bakeries v. Bakery

Workers International Union, 726 F.2d 698 (11th Cir.

1984), which it described as “hold{ing] that an arbitra-

tor is bound to decide just cause for discharge, vel non,

at the time of discharge.” (App. 8a).

* The principle of judicial noninterference with labor arbitration

applies with special force under the Railway Labor Act. The Act

explicitly limits judicial review to three specific grounds: (1) fail-

ure of the Board to comply with the requirements of the Act; (2)

failure of the Board to conform, or confine, itself to matters within

the ecope of its jurisdiction; and (3) fraud or corruption. 45

U.S.C. §$ 153 First (q). The Fifth Circuit aptly characterized this

scope of jucicial review as “among the narrowest known to law.” °

Diamond v. Terminal Railway Ala. State Docks, 421 F.2d 228, 233

(5th Cir. 1970). This Court later cited that characterization with

approval in emphasizing that the standard of review language

“means just what it says.” Union Pac. Ry. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89,

93 (1978).

12

Contrary to the Eleventh Circuit, arbitrators routinely

consider post-discharge events in mitigation of an em-

ployee’s misconduct. See F. Elkouri and E, Elkouri, How

Arbitration Works 675-677 (4th ed. 1985). Especially in

cases where the employee’s misconduct is found to have

been the result of alcoholism, arbitrators have explicitly

recognized not only that alcoholism is an illness rather

than willful misconduct, but also that rehabilitative ef-

forts after discharge should be considered as mitigating.

See T. Denenberg & R. Denenberg, Alcohol and Drugs,

Issues in the Workplace 4, 15-16 (BNA) (1983). The

Eleventh Circuit’s view that this is improper arbitral

practice is in direct conflict with the view of other cir-

cuits."

The Eleventh Circuit’s view is also out of step with

Misco. To be sure, in Misco the arbitrator’s refusal to

permit an employer to justify a discharge on the basis

of the employee’s post-discharge conduct was sustained.

The Court’s rationale, however, was not that the law

requires an arbitrator to reject as irrelevant “after-

discovered evidence,” but rather that it is up to the arbi-

trator, not a reviewing court, to determine whether and

to what extent such evidence will be considered. 108 S.

Ct. at 371. As the Court made clear, although “arbitra-

tors often, but not always, confine their considerations

to the facts known to the employer at the time of dis-

charge,” this is one of those “procedural” determinations

8 Arbitration awards finding mitigating circumstances on the

basis of post-discharge events have been upheld in the following

cases: United States Postal Service v. National Association of Let-

ter Carriers, 839 F.2d 146 (3d Cir. 1988) (employee’s post-

discharge conduct demonstrated no propensity to repeat previous

misconduct) ; Northwest Airlines v. Air Line Pilots Ass’n, 808 F.2d

76 (D.C. Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 1751 (1988) (pilot’s

post-discharge diagnosis of alcoholism and subsequent rehabilita-

tion); United States Postal Service v. National Association of Let-

ter Carriers, 810 F.2d 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (post-discharge

attendance at “Gamblers’ Anonymous” and cessation of gambling).

13

which is within the arbitrator’s discretion to make. Id.

at 371 n. 8, 371-872. See John T. Wiley & Sons, Inc. v.

Livingston, 376 U.S. 548, 557 (1964).

Like its expansive reading of the public policy excep-

tion, the Eleventh Circuit’s limitation on arbitral discre-

tion should not be left standing by this Court because

it, too, dangerously undercuts the longstanding rule of

judicial noninterference with labor arbitration.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GARY GREEN

EUGENE B. GRANOF

JERRY D. ANKER

FELICE BUSTO *

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL

1625 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 797-4088

Attorneys for Petitioner

Air Line Pilots Association,

International

Dated: May 24, 1989 * Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Counter-Claimant,

Defendant-A ppellee,

Cross-Appellant,

Arr LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,

Defendant-Counter-Claimant,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Cross-Appellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Georgia

Dec. 8, 1988

Before HILL and FAY, Circuit Judges and DUBINA*,

District Judge.

HILL, Circuit Judge.

* Honorable Joel F. Dubina, U.S. District Judge for the Middle

District of Alabama, sitting by designation.

2a

I. FACTS

This case concerns the discharge of William D. Day, a

former Delta Airlines pilot, who was discharged by Delta

for operating an aircraft while drunk. The facts, which

were established at Day’s grievance hearing before the

Delta System Board of Adjustment, are not in dispute.

On January 9, 1985, Day was the Pilot-In-Command

of Flight 410 from Boston to Bangor, Maine, which

arrived about 2:00 p.m. The other cockpit crew members

were First Officer David Rothbart and Second Officer

Peter V. Voorhees. The four flight attendants (F/A’s)

were Robin Surette, Maureen Dion, Linda Rehal and

Debbie Kleibech. The crew had a scheduled layover at

the Bangor Holid:y Inn. Flight 437 to Boston departed

at 7:05 a.m. on January 10. This same crew was to

operate that flight.

Before dinner on the evening of January 9, Day met

some of the other crew members in the lounge of the

hotel and drank three beers. The three pilots, two of the

F/A’s and Angela Miller (a friend of Voorhees) then

went to dinner, where they shared three carafes of wine.

After dinner, the group returned to the lounge for a

“nightcap.” Day and Miller remained in the lounge to

finish their drinks after the others had left. A stranger

at the next table offered to buy Day a drink; Day

accepted and consumed more alcohol. Although Day

maintains that he “blacked out” around 10:00 p.m. on

January 9, he acknowledges that he must have changed

his beverage of preference to scotch whiskey later in the

evening. Bar bills indicate that Day continued to drink

scotch until 12:30 a.m. The next thing Day remembers

is his alarm clock sounding at 5:15 a.m. January 10.

Rothbart knocked on Day’s door around 6:15 a.m., but

Day told him to go on to the airport without him.

Testimony of F/A’s Surette, Dion and Rehal establish

that Rothbart, upon returning from Day’s room, told the

3a

other crew members, “We’re going without him. He’s

still out cold.”

Day eventually made his way to the airport and

entered the aircraft shortly before departure and just

as the last passenger was boarding. His fellow flight

deck officers did not interfere with his boarding; more-

over, Day was supported by Rothbart as he entered the

aircraft. His face was very red; his eyes were glassed

over; and he appeared to be very disoriented. F/A

Surette smelled liquor on Day’s breath as be passed by

her. F/A Rehal testified that after observing Day’s

difficulty in getting into his cockpit seat, she said to

F /A Dion, “He’s drunk.”

The cockpit door was immediately closed and locked.

F/A Surette knocked on the cockpit door, attempting to

see if Day was too drunk to fly the airplane. Voorhees

opened the door, but stood in the doorway blocking

Surette’s view. Upon questioning by Surette, Voorhees

replied, “Everything is fine.” Noticing F/A Rehal, Voor-

hees said, “The blonde doesn’t look convinced.” Surette

answered, “She’s not, and neither am I.”

Nevertheless the flight departed Bangor with Day as

Pilot-In-Command. The aircraft, a Boeing-727, was

filled with passengers. All of the flight deck crew mem-

bers testified that Day flew the aircraft the entire trip.

After reaching cruise altitude, Voorhees walked back to

the galley and obtained coffee to carry to the flight deck.

F/A Surette told Voorhees that the F/A’s believed that

Day was drunk, but he again replied that everything

was all right. Upon his return to the cockpit, Voorhees

wrote a note to Rothbart stating, “We got trouble with

the F /A’s.” Rothbart, upon reading the note, instructed

Voorhees to disconnect the cockpit voice recorder, which

he did. This was a direct violation of Federal Aviation

Regulations. While the recorder was disconnected, the

pilots discussed the problem presented by there being

4a

F'/A’s who were perceived as being disagreeable because

their Pilot-In-Command was drunk. After about five

minutes, they reconnected the recorder.

Flight 437 did arrive and land at Boston. Thereupon,

the F/A’s reported to Chief Pilot James Baker that Day

was drunk while flying the aircraft. At the same time,

the passenger who had been last to board and who had

also believed Day was drunk, reported his observations

to a Delta Customer Service Manager, who, in turn,

gave the information to Baker.

Captain Baker called the pilot crew into his office

and promptly concluded that Day’s appearance and _ be-

havior indicated Day was drunk. All three pilots were

given blood alcohol tests. No alcohol was detected in

the blood of either Rothbart or Voorhees. However,

Day’s blood contained alcohol. Expert analysis demon-

strated that, given time for the alcohol to dissipate, Day

had a blood alcohol content of approximately .13 grams

at the time he flew the aircraft.1 Day was discharged

on January 15, 1985. Prior to his discharge, Day made

no attempt to enroll in an alcohol rehabilitation pro-

gram operated by Delta or any other such program,

though he had experienced other incidents of blackouts

from drinking.’

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), by

regulation, forbids the operation of any aircraft while

drunk. Federal Aviation Regulations provide:

§ 91.11 Liquor and Drugs

(a) No person may act as a crew member of a

civil aircraft—

1J~In Massachusetts, .1 gram is presumptive of operating an auto-

mobile under the influence of alcohol. Mass.Gen.Laws Ann. ch. 90

§ 24(1)(e).

2 Only after Delta denied Day’s discharge grievance did Day seek

evaluation concerning his alcoholic tendencies. Day was diagnosed

an alcoholic and entered in-patient treatment in March 1985.

5a

(1) within 8 hours after the consumption of

any alcoholic beverage;

(2) while under the influence of alcohol;

(3) while using any drug that affects the per-

son’s faculties in any way contrary to safety.

Delta forbids such conduct. Its Flight Operations Pro-

cedures Manual, Section 3, page 11 (10-12-84) states:

USE OF ALCOHOL OR OTHER DRUGS

Use of intoxicating beverages, including wines and

beer, by flight crew members while in uniform or

within 24 hours prior to departure of a flight is

prohibited.

The excessive use of intoxicants or drugs by any

flight crew member, regardless of the above limita-

tions, constitutes cause for discharge.

Any evidence of the use of alcohol or other drugs

which is apparent at the time of reporting for flight

duty, also constitutes reason for discharge.

Any flight crew member who knowingly permits

another flight crew member to attempt to perform

his flight duty while under the influence of intoxi-

cants or drugs shall be considered equally guilty.

Day was discharged for violating both the Delta rules

and the FAA Regulations.

Upon termination, Day submitted a grievance letter to

Delta. The grievance was denied. The Air Line Pilots

Association (ALPA), asserting that Day’s flying of

Flight 437 while drunk was not a sufficient cause for his

discharge, submitted the dispute to the System Board.

In a confusing three-to-two opinion, a majority of the

System Board found that, although Day had committed

a dischargeable offense, there was no just cause for dis-

6a

charge. According to the Board, Day should have been

offered the option of entering the Delta alcohol rehabilita-

tion program instead of being terminated. The Board

determined that Delta, by firing Day, did not administer

its aleohol rehabilitation program uniformly or fairly.

This conclusion was based on the fact that, on at least

three prior occasions, crew members who were appar-

ently en route to reporting for duty while intoxicated,

had been intercepted by fellow crew members or other

Delta employees prior to take-off. These three, who had

not served as crew members while drunk, were given

the opportunity to enter Delta’s rehabilitation program

and/or given punishment less severe than discharge. In

addition, the Board considered the fact that Voorhees and

Rothbart were suspended rather than discharged. The

majority also found it significant that, after discharge

and after rejection of his grievance, Day was diagnosed

as an alcoholic and had pursued a rehabilitation program

with effective results.

After the finding of “dischargeable offense,” the Board,

nevertheless, concluded that the discharge was “without

just cause although [Day] did commit serious miscon-

duct.” Day was awarded reinstatement, without back

pay or related benefits. and Delta was ordered to pay

for the costs of the alcohol rehabilitation program in

which Day had participated. Delta was also ordered to

cooperate with Day and with the FAA so that Day could

be granted special issuance of a first-class airmen medi-

cal certificate.*

On February 12, 1987, Delta filed a complaint in the

district court, seeking to have the arbitration award set

aside. The district court overturned the decision of the

System Board, except for that portion of the award re-

quiring Delta to reimburse Day for the costs of his alco-

3 Day’s pilot’s license and medical certificate had been suspended

by the FAA.

7a

hol rehabilitation. The district court found that enforce-

ment of the award finding no just cause for discharge

would violate clearly established public policy against al-

lowing pilots of airliners to operate aircraft while under

the influence of alcohol. 686 F.Supp. 1573. The ALPA,

arguing that Day’s conduct was not just cause for dis-

charge, filed a Notice of Appeal. Delta filed a Notice of

Cross-Appea! concerning the order for reimbursement.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Scope of Review and Binding Authority

In deciding whether it was proper for the district

court to overturn the arbitrator’s decision, we note that

[t]he function of the court is very limited when the

parties have agreed to submit all questions of con-

tract interpretation to the arbitrator. It is confined

to ascertaining whether the party seeking arbitra-

tion is making a claim which on its face is governed

by the contract.... The courts, therefore, have no

business weighing the merits of the grievance. -

United Steelworkers of America v. American Manufac-

turing Co., 363 U.S. 564, 567-68, 80 S.Ct. 1343, 1346,

4 L.Ed.2d 1403 (1960). As long as the arbitrator’s

award “draws its essence from the collective bargaining

agreement,” and is not merely “his own brand of indus-

trial justice,” the award is legitimate. United Steelwork-

ers of America v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363

U.S. 593, 597, 80 S.Ct. 1358, 1861, 4 L.Ed.2d 1424

(1960). However, we must also be aware that there are

public policy considerations which may be applicable

under the facts of a given case. W.R. Grace & Co. v.

Rubber Workers, 461 U.S. 757, 103 S.Ct. 2177, 76 L.Ed.

2d 298 (1983).

Our inquiry focuses on the three-to-two award of the

Delta System Board of Adjustment. Examination of the

award reveals an ambiguity in the several findings of

8a

the majority. First, the majority found that Day “did

commit a dischargeable offense.” Then, in the following

paragraph, they found that there was no just cause for

Day’s discharge. In addition, the majority stated, in a

passage that might be taken as a disclaimer, that its

opinion “should not be interpreted as expressing a judg-

ment on the reasonableness of . . . [Delta’s] policies re-

lating to alcohol consumption and abuse.”

Notwithstanding this ambiguity, because the award

specifically states that there was no just cause for dis-

charge, we take it, for purposes of this review, that the

System Board majority found just that—no just cause—

and that Delta’s discharge of Day was improper. We

review the award as such.

We are particularly bound and informed by three

cases pertinent to the issue at hand: United Paperwork-

ers International Union v. Misco, Inc., U.S. ;

108 S.Ct. 364, 98 L.Ed.2d 286 (1987); Florida Power

Corp. v. International Brotherhood of Electrical Work-

ers, 847 F.2d 680 (11th Cir.1988); and Butterkrust

Bakeries v. Bakery, Confectionery and Tobacco Workers

International Union, 726 F.2d 698 (11th Cir.1984).

Butterkrust holds that an arbitrator is bound to decide

just cause for discharge, vel non, at the time of dis-

charge. The arbitrator’s responsibility is discharged

upon his determination of the existence of just cause.

If this finding has been made, the arbitrator is not

authorized to employ “his own brand of industrial jus-

tice’ and decide what post discharge good works would

entitle the properly discharged employee to rehire. While

the arbitrator (or independent member of a split panel)

may be an actual or potentially excellent personnel ex-

pert, his cpinion as to what employment opportunities

one ought to have if he or she, after discharge, con-

structively addresses the problems that led to discharge,

is not pertinent to arbitration duties. The arbitrator’s

9a

effort to impose his views on that subject upon the parties

to the arbitration amounts to his basing his decision

upon “his own brand of industrial justice,’ which is

forbidden.

Misco deals with the pubic policy exception to judicial

deference to arbitration awards. Misco follows the prin-

ciples of W.R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers, 461

U.S. 757, 103 S.Ct. 2177, 76 L.Ed.2d 298 (1983) with

respect to public policy:

In W.R. Grace, we recognized that “a court may not

enforce a collective-bargaining agreement that is

contrary to public policy” ... 461 U.S. at 766 [103

S.Ct. at 2183]... . We cautioned, however, that a

court’s refusal to enforce an arbitrator’s interpreta-

tion of such contracts is limited to situations where

the contract as interpreted would violate ‘some ex-

plicit public policy” that is “well defined and domi-

nant, and is to be ascertained ‘by reference to the

laws and legal precedents and not from general con-

siderations of supposed public interests.’” Id (quot-

ing Muschany v. United States, 324 U.S. 49, 66,

65 S.Ct. 442, 451, 89 L.Ed. 744 (1945)) (emphasis

in original text).

Misco, 108 S.Ct. at 373 (1987). In Misco, the employee

was apprehended on company premises in an atmosphere

of marijuana smoke in another’s car, and traces of mari-

juana were found in his own car on the company lot.

The Misco court found the reversal of the arbitration

award improper because the employee’s conduct was un-

related to his employment duties. As the Supreme Court

pointed out, the Court of Appeals did not ascertain any

“well defined and dominant” public policy violated by

the arbitrator’s interpretation of the contract to the ef-

fect that he may decide the question of whether the

company can continue to employ an employee who was

caught in a car with marijuana.

10a

In Florida Power, although the panel did not discuss

the public policy issue, the facts suggest that the dis-

charge was for conduct not integral to employment du-

ties. The employee in Florida Power, while off company

property and off company time, was stopped and arrested

for driving while intoxicated. A search of the employee’s

ear revealed cocaine, drug paraphernalia and a concealed

weapon. Upon learning of the employee’s arrest, the com-

pany discharged the employee for violation of a recently

adopted drug policy. The employee’s arrest resulted from

conduct unrelated to his employment duties, and for this

reason, the panel applied Misco. The court did not find

it necessary to discuss public policy considerations, it not

appearing that there is any public policy against employ-

ing someone who sells drugs away from the employment

premises. With respect to the scope of the arbitrator’s

authority, the panel merely followed the established prec-

edent and decided that the arbitrator's award was drawn

from the essence of the contract 2s required.

To summarize, we are instructed that our function in

reviewing an arbitration award is very limited. While

W.R. Grace makes it clear that we should reverse, if to

affirm, we enforce an agreement contrary to public pol-

icy, Misco teaches that we must find such public policy

from a more clear expression than our own notions of

what it might, or should, be. In Misco, it was not shown

that there existed explicit public policy forbidding the

continued employment of an employee who consumed

marijuana. We glean, inferentially, from Florida Power

that, no matter how strong a public policy may condemn

trafficking in drugs, Florida Power may, nevertheless,

agree to arbitrate the issue as to whether a party might

work for Florida Power, though guilty of such trafficking

off the job.

These cases he!p define the public policy exception enun-

ciated in W.R. Grace; none disapproves it. Such a doc-

trine exists, but examples of arbitration results that so

lla

offend public policy that they should be set aside by a

court are not readily to be found. This is not surprising.

An arbitrator’s result may be wrong; it may appear un-

supported; it may appear poorly reasoned; it may appear

foolish. Yet, it may not be subject to court interference.

The offending arbitrator’s award which properly results

in our setting it aside must be so offensive that one is to

be seen only rarely. Examples come to mind more read-

ily than exist in the real world.

It can hardly be denied that public policy would forbid

the enforcement of a contract submitting to arbitration

whether a complaint to the EEOC of racial discrimina-

tion constitutes just cause for discharge. See, e.g., Pett-

way v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 411 F.2d 998 | 5th

Cir.1969) (employee who was discharged for filing

charges with EEOC must be reinstated) ; Price v. Can-

non Mills Co., 607 F.Supp. 1146 (D.C.N.C. 1985) (dis-

charge of employee in retaliation for filing EEOC charges

violates Title VII). Should an employer make such an

assertion and an arbitrator find the assertion valid, the

court should promptly set the award aside. With this

background in mind, we review the award of the Delta

System Board of Adjustment.

B. Public Policy

The issue before this court is whether the district court

properly set aside the award of the System Board as

contrary to public policy.

We agree with the district court that, in the case be-

fore us. we have the rare example of an award the en-

forcement of which would violate clearly established pub-

lie policy which condemns the operation of passenger air-

liners by pilots who are under the influence of alcohol.

If this conclusion is correct, there must be some prin-

cipled difference between this case and Misco and Florida

Power. The difference is apparent.

,

12a

The employee in Misco appears to have smoked mari-

juana in a car in the plant’s parking lot. The employee

in Florida Power was discovered to have drug parapher-

nalia in his automobile. In these cases, the apparent

wrongdoing was serious and is seriously condemned.

However, in deciding to commit the wrong, the wrong-

doer was not making an employment decision. The em-

ployer, on the other hand, may reasonably have disliked

furnishing employment to one who is committing such

wrongs. Yet, should the employer decide to continue to

employ such a wrongdoer, even though his actions are

condemned by public policy, that decision—to continue

employment—is not itself contrary to public policy. Fur-

thermore, the wrongdoing by an employee can be ended

without affecting his employment. The wrongdoing and

the employment are parallel but not intertwined. The

wrongful conduct is wrongful, in and of itself, and its

lawfulness vel non does not depend in any way on the

employment. If public policy is offended—as it seems to

have been—the performance of employment duties has

nothing to do with it.

The case before us is remarkedly different. Here, it is

the employee gua employee who is the wrongdoer. It is

Day’s employment which made his intoxication violate

law and public policy. Day could not correct his offensive

conduct without altering the performance of his employ-

ment duties. He could not continue his offensive conduct

and yet perform his employment duties legally. Further-

more, Delta could not permit Day to continue to perform

his employment duties while his offensive conduct con-

tinued, without being an accessory to the wrongdoing.

As noted above, Misco requires the finding of a well

defined public policy and an award that conflicts with

that policy. The public policy of which the Supreme Court

speaks in Misco seems to be a public policy not ad-

dressing the disfavored conduct, in the abstract, but

disfavored conduct which is integral to the performance

18a

of employment duties. The question we are instructed,

by Misco, to ask is not, “Is there a public policy against

the employee’s*conduct?”, but, rather, “Does an estab-

lished public policy condemn the performance of employ-

ment activities in the manner engaged in by the em-

ployee?” Such a policy does exist in this case; the arbi-

trator’s finding of no just cause explicitly conflicts with

that policy.

The case before us is the case Misco was talking about.

The arbitrator has construed the collective bargaining

agreement in such a manner that it appears that Delta

has agreed to submit to arbitration the question as to

whether it should authorize operation of aircraft by

pilots while they are drunk. We must ascertain “by ref-

erence to the laws and legal precedent” whether there is

some explicit public policy that is “well defined and dom-

inant” which would prohibit Delta from entering into

such a contract. In order to find out, we must look at

what the people have done on this subject through their

elected representatives.

1. Laws and Legal Precedents

With the advent of the automobile came the need for

laws against drunk driving. The substitution of mechan-

ical power for that of horses and mules, as well as the

increased speed capability of the automobile, heightened

the dangers of vehicular traffic. In response to this, the

people, through their elected representatives, passed laws

which made it a crime to drive an automobile while in-

toxicated. Today, it is universally accepted throughout

the country that the operation of a motor vehicle while

drunk is a crime.

Likewise, the advent of the airplane, and its three

dimensions of movement and danger, produced a need

for laws against drunk flying. Public policy against the

operation of any vehicle while intoxicated promptly ex-

l4a

tended to that mode of travel as the people, again through

their elected representatives, passed laws against the op-

eration of aircraft while intoxicated. Today, laws pro-

hibiting flying while intoxicated have been adopted in

nearly every state, including Maine and Massachusetts

from which and into which Day piloted Flight 437. These

states include:

Alaska—Alaska Stat. § 02.30.030(a)

Arizona—Ariz.Rev.Stat. § 28-1744( B)

Arkansas—Ark.Code § 27-116-101

California—Cal.Pub.Util.Code § 21407.5

Connecticut—Conn.Gen.Stat. § 15-77

Florida—-Fla.Stat.Ann. § 860.13(1) (a)

Hawaii—Hawaii Rev.Stat. § 263-11

Idaho—Idaho Code § 21-112

[linois—Ill.Ann.Stat. ch. 15!. § 22.45d

Indiana—Ind.Code § 8-21-4-8

lowa—Iowa Code Ann. § 328.41

Kansas—Kan.Stat.Ann. § 3-1001

Kentucky—Ky.Rev.Stat. § 183.100

Louisiana—La.Rev.Stat.Ann. § 14:98(A)

Maine—Me.Rev.Stat.Ann. tit. 6, § 202(9)

Maryland—Md.Transp.Code Ann. § 5-1006(a)

Massachusetts—Mass.Gen.Laws. Ann. ch. 90 § 44

Michigan—-Mich.Comp.Laws § 259.185

Minn.Stat.Ann. $ 360.075

Mississippi—Miss.Code Ann. $ 61-11-1

Minnesota

Montana—Mont.Code Ann. § 67-1-204(7)

Nebraska—Neb.Rey.Stat. § 28-1465

Nev.Rev.Stat. § 493.130

Nevada

15a

New Hampshire—N.H.Rev.Stat.Ann. § 422:34(X)

New Jersey—N.J.Stat.Ann. § 6:1-18

New York—N.Y.Gen.Bus.Law § 245(7)

North Carolina—N.C.Gen.Stat. § 63-27

North Dakota—N.D.Cent.Code § 2-03-10 (2)

Ohio—Ohio Rev.Code Ann. § 4561.15 (c)

Oregon—Or.Rev.Stat. § 493.160

South Carolina—S.C.Code Ann. § 55-1-100(A)

South Dakota—S.D.Codified Laws § 50-13-17

Tennessee—Tenn.Code Ann. § 42-1-201

Texas—Tex.Rey.Civ.Stat.Ann. art. 46f-3

Vermont—-Vt.Stat.Ann. tit. 5, § 187

Virginia—Va.Code § 5.1-13

Washington—Wash.Rev.Code Ann. § 47.-68.220

West Virginia—W.Va.Code § 29-2A-11

Wisconsin—Wis.Stat.Ann. § 114.09

Wyoming—Wyo.Stat.Ann. § 10-6-103

Not only have the state legislatures passed these laws,

but the courts consistently upheld them. See State ex

rel. Schafer v. Fenton, 104 Ariz. 160, 449 P.2d 939

(1969) (damage to airplane which defendant crashlanded

was only an incident to offense of operating aircraft

while intoxicated and was not so closely related to the

offensive act as to bring into play misdemeanor compro-

mise statute, such that defendant was not entitled to

dismissal of information charging flying while intoxi-

eated, though he settled with owner of aircraft for dam-

age incurred in the crash); State v. Bahl, 242 N.W.2d

298 (Iowa, 1976) (defendant’s conviction for manslaugh-

ter can result from operating a motor vehicle, including

an aircraft, while intoxicated); Ward v. State, 280 Md.

485, 374 A.2d 1118 (1977) (statute making it a crime

l6a

to operate aireraft while intoxicated does not conflict

with federal law which, while proscribing identical con-

duct, imposes civil, rather than criminal penalties: there-

fore, defendant’s conviction under the statute upheld),

cert. denied, Ward v. Maryland, 434 U.S. 1011, 98 S.Ct.

723. 54 L.Ed.2d 754 (1978) ; Sanders v. State, 96 Okl.

Crim. 397, 256 P.2d 205 (1953) (where defendant pled

guilty to charge of operating an aircraft while intoxi-

cated, sentence which was not near the maximum was

affirmed). It appears that, of those states where we find

no specific statutory prohibitions, none allow operation

of an aireraft while intoxicated. Instead, those states

have general statutes which. properly construed, pro-

hibit reckless or dangerous flying (for example, Ala-

bama—-Ala.Code § 4-2-10 and Delaware—Del. Code Ann.

tit. 2. $309), and these statutes appear to be used to

penalize pilots who fly while intoxicated. On the federal

level, FAA Regulations, to which we have referred, for-

bid piloting an aireraft while intoxicated. We emphasize

that we have found no state that approves of operation of

an aireraft while drunk.

In addition to state statutes and federal regulations,

ease law also helps define public policy. As earlier ob-

ceyved. it is not to be expected that an extensive body of

case law has been, or will be, developed illustrating the

setting aside of arbitration decisions offending public

policy. Arbitrators are not prone to such extreme results.

However, with the principles we have outlined in mind,

we find precedential support in two cases, National La-

bor Relations Board (N.L.R.B.) v. Dixie Motor Coach

Corp., 128 F.2d 201 (5th Cir.1942) and Jowa Electric

Light and Power Co, v. Local Union 204 of the Interna-

tional Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, 834 F.2d 1424

(8th Cir.1987).

In Dixie Motor, the issue before the court was whether

there was sufficient evidence to support the award of the

N.L.R.B. reinstating certain employees. One employee, a

|

17a

bus driver, was discharged for his continued use of liquor.

Witnesses testified that the driver frequently became in-

toxicated, and that on occasions he drove his bus on his

regular run before he had fully recovered from a drink-

ing spree. The Rules and Regulations of the Railroad

Commission of Texas clearly forbade the operation of a

motor bus by an operator who drinks intoxicating liquor

either on or off duty. The court held that:

[t]he public interest, as well as that of the employer,

requires of any one entrusted with the lives and

safety of the travelling public that he conduct him-

self in a manner in keeping with his responsibilities.

The undisputed facts show that this employee’s

drinking habits were such as to place upon his em-

ployer the duty to discharge him.

Id. at 203. The court found that reinstatement of an

employee who drives drunk to a position of public serv-

ice “would do violence to the public welfare and to the

purposes of the National Labor Relations Act.” Jd. Thus,

the court reversed the order reinstating him. Driving a

bus while drunk, like flying an airplane while drunk,

offends public policy in such a way that discharge must

be justified, if not demanded. The driver’s misconduct—

driving while drunk—was inextricably related to the per-

formance of his employment duties. Discharge was there-

fore authorized, and the employer’s decision to discharge

for such an offense was not subject to being set aside.

The arbitration award in Jowa Electric called for the

reinstatement of a nuclear power plant machinist who

had been discharged for deliberately violating important

federally mandated safety regulations. The employee, in

a rush to get to lunch early, deliberately ordered a fore-

man to pull a fuse on the interlock door system so that

he could leave the secondary containment area. This door

system is used as a measure to protect the public from

exposure to harmful radiation. The district court va-

18a

cated the arbitrator’s award on public policy grounds,

and the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed.

The court found a “well defined and dominant’ na-

tional policy requiring strict adherence to nuclear safety

rules. The court then concluded that this strong public

policy would be violated by judicial enforcement of an

arbitrator’s award requiring the reinstatement of an

employee who had deliberately violated nuclear safety

regulations. The employee’s misconduct occurred in the

midst of, and as a part of, the performance of employ-

ment duties, as did Day’s, and discharge was found to be

justified.

2. Conflict with Public Policy

In our investigation, we have not uncovered any stat-

ute, law, ordinance or court precedent to the effect that

flying under the influence of alcohol is consistent with

publie policy. It may be remarkable to find in any field

of public opinion and policy such unanimity and _ total

absence of dissent.

The existence of public policy denouncing the operation

of any aircraft, even those not occupied by passengers,

while intoxicated is “explicit,” “well defined and domi-

nant,” and “ascertained by reference to laws and legal

precedents” we have here reviewed. When public policy

is offended by what a person does, unrelated to the per-

formance of his employment duties, an employer may

well conclude that he should discharge that person as an

expression of disapproval, though there be no public pol-

icy one way or the other. Where the person performs

his employment duties and, in doing so, violates stand-

ards, restraints and restrictions on conduct, clearly and

explicitly established by the people in their laws, a re-

quirement that the employer suffer that malperformance

and not discharge the offender does itself violate the

same well established public policy. The public policy de

19a

nouncing the operation of any aircraft while drunk ad-

dresses disfavored conduct which is inextricably related

to the performance of employment duties, and thus fits

within the limitations imposed by Misco. What Day did

as performance of his employment is the very thing which

offends public policy. He flew an airplane while drunk and

endangered the lives of his passengers and crew.

While the employers in Misco and Florida Power may

have wished to use the leverage of employment to vindi-

cate public condemnation of marijuana smoking and

drug dealing, neither was under a duty to do so. Delta,

on the other hand, was under a duty to prevent the

wrongdoing of which its Pilot-In-Command was guilty,

and it could not agree to arbitrate that issue.

The collective bargaining agreement between Delta

and the ALPA, as interpreted by the System Board, inso-

far as it would submit to arbitration the question of

whether Delta should authorize operation of aircraft by

pilots under the influence of alcohol, violates public pol-

icy and cannot be enforced. The award of the System

Board, which would give effect to such an interpretation,

cannot be enforced,

As the district court noted, we are not suggesting that

an airline pilot may not be reinstated under different

circumstances or that a discharged pilot cannot be re-

habilitated and hired once again to fly. There is no pub-

lie policy against rehiring former alcoholics, post-rehabil-

tation. However, the arbitrator in this esse was not

authorized to decide whether, having been rehabilitated,

Day should be rehired. The arbitrator’s decision in this

case was limited to whether Delta had just cause to dis-

charge Day, after he had flown an airplane while drunk,

and before he had given the airline any indication that

he was an alcoholic. The System Board’s finding of no

just cause falls within the public policy exception, as lim-

20a

ited by Misco, and was properly set aside by the district

court.

Finally, we must examine that portion of the district

court’s judgment which required Delta to reimburse Day

for the expenses of his alcohol rehabilitation. As the

district court noted, Day, although asserting his right to

treatment in Delta’s alcohol rehabilitation program well

after discharge, made the claim the subject of his griev-

~ ance. As such, the issue was properly before the System

Board for determination. Given the factual conclusions

reached by the Board regarding Day’s entitlement to

treatment in Delta’s program, the district court held that

requiring Delta to reimburse Day for the costs of private

therapy did not exceed the arbitrator’s authority. We

agree. It may well be that the System Board would have

come to another result on this issue had it reached what

we hold was required on the principle issue, reinstate-

ment. We do not speculate on that. Contrary to that

which obtains vis-a-vis just cause for discharge, there

are no public policy implications in paying for rehabili-

tation. Were we initial deciders, we should perhaps be

guided by the fact that Day did not seek or request re-

habilitation until after his discharge. We are not initial

deciders. We end up where we started. “The courts,

therefore, have no business weighing the merits of the

grievance.” United Steelworkers of America v. American

Manufacturing Co., 363 U.S. at 568, 80 S.Ct. at 1346.

As to rehabilitation expense, there being no public policy

implicated, we agree with the district court.

III. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the district court’s order

is

AFFIRMED.

ne

21a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

Civil No. C87-239

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.

VS.

AIRLINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION

ORDER

{Filed Sept. 30, 1987]

This action seeking to overturn an arbitration award

handed down pursuant to the provisions of the Railway

Labor Act (“RLA”) is before the court on cross motions

for summary judgment.

This case concerns the discharge of William D. Day, a

former Delta pilot, who was discharged by Delta for

operating an aircraft while intoxicated. The facts un-

derlying both parties’ motions for summary judgment

were established at Mr. Day’s grievance hearing before

the Delta System Board of Adjustment, (“the Board’),

and are unchallenged.

On January 9, 1985, William D. Day served as the

Pilot-in-Command of a flight which arrived in Bangor,

Maine around 2:00 p.m. He and the crew were schedule

to lay over in Bangor for the night then fly Delta

Flight No. 437 from Bangor to Boston at 7:05 a.m. the

next morning.

22a

During that lay over, Day drank unknown quantities

of scotch whiskey, as well as wine and beer, and became

extremely intoxicated. At his hearing, Day indicated

that he did not have a clear idea of how much alcohol

he drank. He stated that he could not remember any-

thing that happened after about 10:00 p.m.

The next morning Day was unable to get out of bed

in time to leave for the airport with the rest of the

crew. He arrived at the airport just prior to the sched-

uled departure. Witnesses indicated that another mem-

ber of the cockpit crew, first officer David Rothbart, had

to assist him on board the aircraft. At least one pas-

senger and two flight attendants indicated their concern

-buut Day’s condition. His eyes were glazed, his face

was red and swollen, and he smelled strongly of alcohol.

One flight attendant knocked on the locked cockpit door

to voice her objections to having a drunk fly the plane.

The second officer, Peter Voorhees, opened the door

slightly, and simply responded that everything was fine.

After takeoff, the second officer left the cockpit to get

some coffee. One of the flight attendants told Voorhees

that she knew the captain was drunk and that she hated

him for putting the flight attendants in that position.

Upon returning to the cockpit the second officer passed

a note to the first officer stating, “We got trouble with

the F/A’s.” Immediately thereafter, the cockpit voice

recorder was deliberately disconnected, in direct violation

of FAA regulations, while the crew discussed what to do

about the flight attendants’ concerns regarding Day’s

condition.

On arriving in Boston, one of the passengers con-

tacted a Delta customer service supervisor and declared

that the captain of the aircraft was intoxicated. The

flight attendants went directly to Captain James Baker,

Delta’s chief pilot in Boston, and reported that Captain

Day was drunk.

23a

Realizing the seriousness of these accusations, Captain

Baker met with Day in his office. He indicated that Day

was moving slowly, that his speech was slurred, and

that he looked drunk. Baker ordered Day and the first

and second officers to submit to a blood alcohol test. The

test results of the first and second officers were both

negative. Captain Day’s test indicated an alcohol con-

tent of .065 miligrams. Expert analysis indicated that

given time for the alcohol to dissipate, at the time that

Captain piloted Flight 437 from Bangor to Boston he

had a blood alcohol content of around .13 grams.’

Under the Delta Flight Operations Procedures Manual,

Use of intoxicating beverages, including wines and

beer, by flight crew members while in uniform or

within 24 hours prior to departure of a flight is pro-

hibited. The excessive use of intoxicants or drugs by

any flight crew members regardless of the above lim-

itations, constitutes cause for discharge.

Any evidence of the use of alcohol or other drugs

which is apparent at the time of reporting for flight

duty, also constitutes reason for discharge.

Federal aviation regulations specify that:

No person may act as a crew member of a civil

aircraft-—

1. Within eight hours after the consumption of any

alcoholic beverage

2. While under the influence of alcohol;

8. While using any drug that affects the person’s

faculties in any way contrary to safety; or

4. While having .04% by weight or more alcohol in

the blood

1In Georgia, .1 gram is presumptive of operating an automobile

under the influence of alcohol.

24a

Having clearly violated these rules by acting as pilot

in command of a flight while drunk, Captain Day was

terminated by Delta on January 19, 1985. The parties

agree that Delta had no reason to know about Day’s

drinking problem before the incident occurred, and that

he did not inform Delta that he thought he was an al-

coholic until after his discharge. Nor did Captain Day

ask to be enrolled in Delta’s alcohol rehabilitation pro-

gram prior to his discharge.

Day subsequently filed a grievance against Delta,

which was denied. The Airline Pilots Association then

requested arbitration, and the System Board of Adjust-

ment was covened pursuant to the Airline Pilots’ col-

lective bargaining agreement with Delta.

In an opinion issued in January, 1987, the System

Board determined that:

[Day] ingested a considerable quantity of alcohol

(beer, wine and Scotch Whiskey) in violation of the

Company’s (then) 24-hour rule and the FAA’s 8-

hour rule. He reported for Flight 437 on January

10, 1985, under the influence of aleohol and flew this

Bangor-Boston trip as captain despite his impaired

condition. A blood alcohol test administered to

[Day] at 11:33 a.m. on January 10, 1985, indicated

approximately 0.13 grams percent aleohol (well

above the usual d.c.i. standard of 0.10) when griev-

ant commenced flight 4387 at about 7:05 a.m. that

morning.

System Board Opinion, p. 27.

In a three-to-two opinion, a majority of the System

Board found that, although Day had committed a dis-

chargeable offense, he should have been offered the op-

tion of entering the Delta alcohol rehabilitation program

instead of being terminated. The Board determined that

Delta, by firing Captain Day, did not administer its

aleohol rehabilitation program uniformly or fairly. This

25a

conclusion was based on the fact that, on at least three

prior occasions, crew members who attempted to report

for duty while intoxicated were intercepted by fellow

crew members or other Delta employees before take off.

Rather than be discharged, they were either given the

opportunity to enter Delta’s alcohol rehabilitation pro-

gram and/or given punishment less severe than dis-

charge. Further, the Board’s decision turned on its find-

ing that although under Delta’s Operations Manual crew

members who allowed fellow crew members to operate

air craft while under the influence of alcohol were

“equally guilty,” the first and second officers in this case

were suspended and not discharged. The System Board’s

opinion reasoned:

Nothing in the record indicates that the Company

has advised its pilot group that a pilot who reports

for work under the influence of alcohol but who is

intercepted before he gets to the plane will prob-

ably not be discharged, but that if this pilot enters

the plane his discharge will be automatic. The

[Flight Operations Manual] says only that report-

ing for flight duty under the influence is cause for

discharge.

The Company, in other words, has not effectively im-

plemented the policy it claims to have designed to

encourage interception [of crew members under the

influence] in the interest of flight safety.

* * * *

The troublesome element model in this case is that

under the Company’s scenario grievant should have

been intercepted, and the fact that he was not in-

tercepted was not grievant’s fault but that of his

fellow crewmembers. Moreover, as noted above, the

Company, by having failed to communicate effec-

tively its real interception policy, must share in the

responsibility for the non-interception.

System Board Opinion at 32-33.

26a

In its award, the Board concluded that the discharge

of Captain William D. Day was “without just cause

although [Day] did commit serious misconduct.” Cap-

tain Day was awarded reinstatement, without back pay

or related benefits, and Delta was ordered to pay for the

costs of the alcohol rehabilitation program in which Day

had privately enrolled several months after his termina-

tion with Delta. Further, Delta was directed to cooper-

ate with Day and with the Federal Aviation Administra-

tion to allow Day to receive a first-class airman medical

certificate.

The scope of judicial review over arbitration awards

is extremely narrow. “Substantive review of an award

is limited to a determination of whether an award is

irrational, whether it fails to draw its essence from the

collective bargaining agreement, or whether it exceeds

the scope of the arbitrator’s authority.” Butter Arust

Bakeries v. Bakery, Confectionary and Tobacco Workers

International Union, 726 F.2d 698, 699 (11th Cir.

1984). In addition, a court may overturn an arbitration

award where the award is contrary to a well-defined

and definite public policy. W. R. Grace v. Local Union

759, International Union of United Rubber, Cork, Linol-

eum and Plastic Workers, 461 U.S. 757, 766 (1983).

Delta argues that the arbitration award in this case

must be set aside because the Systems Board exceeded

its authority, and because the award violates a clearly

defined public policy against allowing pilots to fly while

intoxicated.

With respect to the first argument, Delta maintains

that the Board acted outside its authority by fashioning

a remedy which interfered with Delta’s ability to carry

out its statutory obligation to provide “the highest pos-

sible degree of safety in the public interest.” 49 U.S.C.

$1421(b). Delta contends that federal law, including

FAA regulations, place upon the company the exclusive

authority to assess a pilot’s abilities, giving full con-

27a

sideration to “personal characteristics that could ad-

versely affect safety.” 14 C.F.R. § 121.413(4) id. The

evidence produced at the hearing indicated that Day had

at least two prior drinking episodes during which he

suffered complete blackouts or loss of memory. The sec-

ond of these incidents occurred less than a month prior

to the blackout he suffered before piloting Delta flight

437.

Delta contends that Day’s voluntary decision to begin

drinking shortly before he was to act as pilot in com-

mand of a passenger flight evidences a deficiency in

judgment and a willingness to endanger the lives of

hundreds of passengers. It contends that an air carrier’s

decision as to such safety factors as pilot judgment may

not be usurped by the Systems Board.

In support of its position, Delta cites World Air Ways,

Inc. v. International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 578 F.2d

800 (9th Cir. 1978). In that case, the arbitration award

reinstated a pilot whom the air carrier believed lacked

the sound judgment necessary to operate an air craft.

The pilot had been discharged after a series of incidents,

including flying a plane with too little fuel, and missing

approaches at at least three different airports. The ar-

bitration board ordered his restatement, notwithstanding

testimony indicating that increased training would en-

hance his technical capabilities but not ameliorate his

poor judgment.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals overturned the

award, explaining that although there was a _ strong

policy in favor of allowing disputes to be arbitrated, an

equally strong federal policy gave carriers the responsi-

bility for determining whether a given pilot has the

capacity to operate an air craft safely. The Court found

that, “It was the duty of the carrier to determine the

competency of its pilots in the interest of public safety

taking into account such things as ‘personal characteris-

28a

tics that could adversely affect safety.” 578 F.2d at

803, quoting 14 C.F.R. § 121.413(4) (il).

However, the scope of this decision was restricted in

a later case when the Ninth Circuit held that the deci-

sion in World Airways did not exclude air passenger

safety issues from arbitration. The Court explained that

it was not the consideration of a safety-related issue

that exceeded the appropriate scope of an arbitrator’s

authority; rather, the remedy in World Airways went

beyond the arbitrator’s authority because evidence in the

record indicated that the pilot’s judgmental errors were

not correctable. Association of Professional Flight At-

tendant v. American Air Lines, 767 F.2d 13831, 13834

(9th Cir. 1985).

Under the collective bargaining agreement at issue

here, the System Board’s jurisdiction is extremely broad.

The Board may consider “disputes between any pilot cov-

ered by this Agreement and the Company growing out of

grievances or out of interpretation or application of any

of the terms of this Agreement.” * Nor does the agree-

ment list specific reasons for discharge. Thus, the safety-

related issue presented by Day’s discharge was properly

before the Board so long as the remedy did not violate

the agreement or public policy. See Northwest Air Lines

v. Air Line Pilots Ass’n Int., 808 F.2d 76 (D.C. Cir.

1987), pet. for cert. pending.

2 Delta also argues that the Board acted outside its authority

by evaluating Day’s dismissal in light of Delta’s alcohol rehabilita-

tion program. Delta claims that because the program is not men-

tioned in the collective bargaining agreement, the Board may not

consider it. However, this argument ignores the language of the

agreement, which gives the Systems Board jurisdiction over dis-

putes stemming from “grievances or out of an interpretation of ap-

plication” of the collective bargaining agreement. {Emphasis sup-

plied]. The term “grievances” is not limited by any language in

the contract. Given this sweeping language, the arbitrators were

authorized to consider Delta’s alcohol rehabilitation program in

connection with Day’s discharge. Cf. Loveless v. Eastern Air

Lines, 681 F.2d 1212 (11th Cir. 1982).

a

29a

This court reads World Airways to stand for the prop-

osition that an arbitration award cannot put an air car-

rier in the position of violating its duty to ensure air

safety. Flight Attendents makes clear that the earlier

ease did not really involve an arbitration award going

beyond the arbitrator’s authority. Rather, the true ra-

tionale underlying World Airways was that it is con-

trary to public policy to allow a pilot to fly when his

judgment is irreparably impaired.

Thus World Airways can be seen to support Delta’s

second argument, that being that the arbitrator’s award

violates public policy. In order for an arbitrator’s award

to be overturned as a violation of public policy, the

policy must be “well-defined and dominant.” W. R.

Grace, 461 U.S. at 766. The public policy at issue may

be ascertained by “reference to the laws and legal prece-

dents and not from general considerations of supposed

public interests.” /d., quoting Muschany v. United

States, 324 U.S. 49, 66 (1945).

It seems that two different interpretations of the public

policy doctrine have developed among the circuits. The

Eleventh Circuit has not yet delineated the scope of the

doctrine, other than to acknowledge its existence. See

e.g., Shopmen’s Local 539 v. Nosher Steel Co., 796 F.2d

1361 (11th Cir. 1986), and Drummond Coal v. United

Mine Workers of America, District 20, 748 F.2d 1495

(llth Cir. 1884). The First, Fifth and Seventh Circuits

have held that where the worker’s conduct constituted a

blatant violation of a clearly defined public policy that

reinstatement is inappropriate. The D. C. Circuit has

recently promulgated a much narrower view of the public

policy doctrine, holding that the act of reinstating a

discharged worker must somehow violate a specific policy.

An examination of the relevant case law makes this dis-

tinction clear. In United States Postal Service v. Amer-

ican Postal Workers Union, 736 F.2d 822 (1st Cir.

|

30a

1984) a postal worker embezzled funds from the post

office during his employment. The arbitration board,

finding that certain mitigating circumstances existed,

ordered that he be reinstated without back pay. The

post office sued to overturn the award on grounds that

reinstatement would violate public policy. The union

argued that because there was not a specific public policy

against the reinstatement of embezzlers, that the award

did not violate public policy.

The First Circuit held that the public policy doctrine

was not as narrow as the union claimed. Although in

at least one prior case reinstatement itself violated a

federal law,’ the Court did not require such a close nexus

between the award and a specific public policy in all

cases. Rather, the court determined that reinstatement

of a worker who had embezzled funds from the post

office would serve to encourage embezzling and under-

mined the government’s ability to enforce the public

policy against embezzling. The Court explained:

Aside from any considerations bearing directly on

Cote |the dismissed employee] we cannot avoid the

common sense implications that requiring the rehir-

ing of Cote would have on other postal employees

and on the public in general. Other postal employees

may feel there is less reason for them to be honest

than they believed-the Union could always fix it if

they were caught. Moreover, the public trust in the

Postal Service, and in the entire federal government,

could be diminished by the idea that graft is con-

doned.

736 F.2d at 825.

3In American Postal Workers v. United Postal Service, 682 F.2d

1280 (9th Cir. 1982), a postal worker engaged in an unauthorized

strike. The arbitration board oravred the worker reinstated. His

reinstatement explicitly violated 5 U.S.C. § 7311, which stated that

individuals who participated in strikes against the United States

government may not hold a position with the government. On this

basis, the Ninth Circuit declined to enforce the arbitrator’s award.

3la

Similarly, in S. D. Warren Company v. United Paper

Workers International Union, 815 F.2d 178 (1st Cir.

1987), the Court declined to enforce an arbitration award

which required the reinstatement of two employees who

had been fired for using or possessing illegal drugs on

company property. The Court once again noted that in

order to invoke the public policy exception the court need

not point to some positive rule of law declaring that

reinstatement of an employee fired for possession of

drugs is illegal. Rather, the Court found that the rein-

statement of employees who had clearly violated not only

company policy but public law by possessing illegal nar-

cotics was sufficiently in violation of public policy to war-

rant overturning the arbitrator’s decision. The Court

was particularly concerned with the issue of work place

safety, because the employees worked around heavy

machinery, and doing so under the influence of drugs

could jeopardize the safety of their co-workers.*

The Fifth Circuit has applied the public policy doctrine

in the same manner. In Amalgamated Meat Cutters v.

Great Western Food Company, 712 F.2d 122 (5th Cir.

1983), the Court considered the case of a discharged

employee who had wrecked the company’s tractor-trailer

rig while under the influence of alcohol. The arbitrator

ordered the employee reinstated on grounds that Great

Western failed to investigate the accident thoroughly, al-

though the employee did admit to drinking shortly before

the accident. The Court noted that drinking within four

hours of operating a motor vehicle or operating a motor

4The Court also held that the decision was outside the scope

of the arbitrator’s authority because the unambiguous wording of

the collective bargaining agreement said that where drugs are im-

plicated an employee may be fired. Thus, once the arbitrators de-

termined that the employees had actually used or possessed drugs

on company property, they did not have the authority to consider

mitigating circumstances in deciding whether the employees should

have been discharged. Here, the arbitrators’ authority was not so

constrained.

32a

vehicle under the influence of alcohol violated federal

motor carrier safety regulations. The Court determined:

Thus, the public policy of preventing people from

drinking and driving is embodied in the case law, the

applicable regulations, statutory law, and pure com-

mon sense. The policy is “well defined and definite.”

W. R. Grace and Company, U.S. at , 103

S.Ct. at 2182. To enforce the arbitrator’s award in

this case, an award which compels the reinstatement

to. driving duties of a truck driver who admittedly

drank while on duty, would violate this public policy.

Therefore, the district court erred in enforcing the

award.

712 F.2d at 125.

The Fifth Circuit again considered the public policy

doctrine in Misco, Inc. v. United Paper Workers Inter-

national Union, 768 F.2d 739 (Sth Cir. 1985), cert.

granted, 55 U.S.L.W. 3472 (1987) (No. 86-651). In that

case, the arbitrator ordered reinstatement of an employee

found to be in violation of the company’s prohibition

against possession of drugs on company property because

the arbitrator did not consider the presence of marijuana

in the employee’s car to be a significant violation. The

Fifth Cireuit disallowed enforcement of the arbitration

award, noting that use or possession of drugs, especially

in the work place, was contrary to the public policy and

that enforcement of the award could encourage other

workers to engage in illegal and potentially dangerous

conduct.

The Seventh Circuit has also construed the public pol-

icy exception in a manner consistent with the First and

Fifth Circuits’ approach. In FJ, DuPont de Nemours v.

Grassclli Employment Association, 790 F.2d 611 (7th

Cir, 1986), the Seventh Circuit noted that in reviewing

an award a reviewing court must respect the arbitrator’s

finding of facts but that the judgment of whether the

33a

award violates public policy is a de novo one for the

court. The Court explained that the arbitration award

need not, by itself, violate a positive rule of law. Rather,

the enforcement of the award must have the effect of

violating a clearly defined public policy. See also Inter-

national Union of United Auto Workers v. Keystone Con-

solidated Industries, 782 F.2d 1400 (7th Cir. 1985) (ar-

bitrator’s award vacated where enforcement would vio-

late clearly defined public policy behind the enactment

of ERISA).

The D. C. Circuit stands alone in giving a limited in-

terpretation to the public policy exception. In Northwest

Air Lines, 808 F.2d at 76, the first officer was termi-

nated for flying an aircraft while intoxicated. The sys-

tem board determined that in light of the employee’s

alcoholism, subsequent rehabilitation, and other mitigat-

ing factors, the discharge should be reduced to a suspen-

sion without back pay with reinstatement dependent

upon his unconditional recertification by the FAA. The

district court overturned the award on grounds that it

violated public policy. The Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia reversed, holding that in order

for an award to contravene public policy the act of re-

statement must itself violate some positive rule of law.

The Court found that there was no FAA regulation or

other rule forbidding the reinstatement of alcoholic pilots

who have undergone rehabilitation. Thus, the court

found that public policy exe»ption inapplicable.

The contrast between the two approaches is clearly

illustrated by the D.C. Circuit’s treatment of a postal

worker dismissed for embezzling. In American Postal

Workers v. United States Postal Service, 789 F.2d 1

(D.C. Cir. 1986), the arbitrator reinstated an employee

who had admitted to dishonesty in postal service trans-

actions because he found that the postal worker should

have bcen given Miranda warnings before being ques-

tioned about his illegal embezzlement of post office funds.

34a

The postal service sought to overturn the award as vio-

lative of public policy, as the First Circuit did when it

dealt with a similar fact situation... The D.C. Circuit

found that “the arbitrator’s award was not itself un-

lawful, for there is no legal prescription against the re-

statement of a person such as the grievant. And the

award did not otherwise have the effect of mandating

any illegal conduct.” 789 F.2d at 8. Thus the court

found public policy exception inapplicable.

Although the Eleventh Circuit has not had the occasion

to analyze the public policy exception in detail, the for-

mer Fifth Circuit did apply it in at least one case, that

being National Labor Relations Board v. Dixie Motor

Coach Corp., 128 F.2d 201, 203 (5th Cir. 1942). In that

case, the former Fifth Circuit denied enforcement of an

NLRB award order reinstating a bus driver who had

been discharged for drinking while on duty.” In light of

this former | ifth Circuit decision, this court finds that

the correct approach is the majority position outlined

above, and declines Defendant’s invitation to follow the

D. C. Circuit in its narrow construction of the public

policy doctrine.’

After carefully examining the facts of this case as well

as the above legal precedents, the court finds that en-

forcement of this award would violate clearly established

public policy against allowing the pilots of airliners to

operate aircraft under the influence of alcohol. That

policy is “well defined and dominant” and codified in

FAA regulations. The public safety implications of a

5 See United States Postal Service v. American Postal Workers

Union, 736 F.2d 822 (1st Cir. 1984), discussed above.

6 Under Bonner v. The City of Prichard, Ala., 661 F.2d 1206 (11th

Cir. 1982), former Fifth Circuit precedent is binding upon this

court.

7Even in the absence of binding precedent, the court would

follow the majority approach as the better-reasoned position.

35a

situation such as the one that occurred when Captain

Day piloted Delta Flight 437 are enormous. While in

some sense it may be “unfair” that Captain Day was

fired while other pilots who were intercepted before fly-

ing were allowed to try to rehabilitate before being dis-

charged, Delta is perfectly correct in arguing that fail-

ure to discharge in this case could render ineffective the

only real deterrent that an airline carrier can use to try

and prevent its employees from operating aircraft under

the influence of alcohol.

In fact, Delta indicated that this is the only time in

Delta’s history, to its knowledge, that an aircraft was

actually flown by an intoxicated pilot. While in some

sense it may not be Captain Day’s “fault” that he flew

the airplane while drunk, he did so, and allowing his

reinstatement would give other aircraft pilots the mes-

sage that, when they get into that kind of trouble, “the

union could always fix it.” .Postal Services, 736 F.2d at

825. The court cannot imagine a more egregious viola-

tion of the public policy against allowing pilots to fly

while intoxicated.*

The court is not suggesting that an airline pilot may

not be reinstated under different circumstances, or that a

discharged pilot cannot be rehabilitated and hired by

another airline. However, the arbitrators in this case

were not authorized to decide whether, having been re-

habilitated, Captain Day should be rehired. See Butter

Krust Bakeries, 726 F.2d at 698 (remedial events occur-

ring after termination are not to be taken into account

as mitigating a dischargeable offense). Rather, the ar-

bitrators’ decision was limited to whether or not Delta

8 The negative impact of the System Board’s decision is exacer-

bated by the fact that the arbitrators’ award may be interpreted

to mean that every Delta pilot must be given the opportunity to go

into alcohol rehabilitation before being discharged, thus giving each

pilot the opportunity to fly an airplane drunk at least once before

being discharged.

36a

was justified in discharging Day at the time, after he

had flown an airplane while drunk, and before he had

given the airline any indication that he was an alcoholic.

The fact that Captain Day sought treatment for alcohol-

ism after his discharge, and subsequently controlled his

drinking, is quite simply irrelevant to the public policy

implications of this case.°

Finally, Delta argues that requiring Delta to pay the

costs of the private alcohol rehabilitation treatment which

Captain Day sought after his discharge amounts to puni-

tive damages, and is beyond the scope of the arbitrator’s

authority. The court agrees with Defendant that these

damages are compensatory, not punitive, and therefore

permissible. However, the court cannot find eny allow-

able reason to overturn the arbitrators’ award. As noted

previously, the Board has jurisdiction over all grievances

arising between Delta pilots and the company. See note

2, supra. This includes any grievance Day may have

with respect to his entitlement to enroll in Delta’s alcohol

rehabilitation program. While it is true that Day did not

assert a right to such treatment until well after his

discharge, Day made the claim the subject of his griev-

ance and the question was therefore properly before the

Systems Board.

No matter how strongly this court may disagree with

the factual findings ’® or conclusions of the Board, it

does not have jurisdiction to overturn the arbitrators’

decision unless the award fails to pass scrutiny on one of

®In fact, Defendant has informed the court that Captain Day,

having successfully undergone treatment, is currently working for

another airline.

10 It seems inconceivable that Day should be entitled to participate

in Delta’s alcohol rehabilitation program when he did not make

such a request until after his discharge, but such were the findings

of the Systems Board, and this court has no authority to second-

guess them.

37a

the four grounds enumerated above. Requiring Delta to

reimburse Day for the costs of his private therapy does

not exceed the arbitrators’ authority, given their factual

conclusions regarding his entitlement to treatment in

Delta’s program. Given the sweeping scope of the

Board’s jurisdiction under the Agreement, the court can-

not say that the award fails to draw its essence from the

Agreement. It is not irrational, and no corruption has

been alleged.

With respect to the public policy considerations, the

court finds that requiring Delta to cooperate with Day

and the FAA in recertifying Day is violative of public

policy, for the same reasons his reinstatement is unsup-

portable. However, the court cannot say that, as a mat-

ter of law, allowing Day to be treated for alcoholism

violates public policy. Thus this portion of the award

must be upheld.

In sum, Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is

GRANTED in part and DENIED in part. Defendant’s

cross motion for summary judgment is GRANTED in

part and DENIED in part. The court vacates the Sys-

tems Board’s award insofar as it required reinstatement

of Captain Day, or that Delta cooperate in getting Day

recertified. Delta is ordered to pay the money damages

awarded to Day by the Board. The clerk is directed to

enter final judgment based upen this order. Plaintiff’s

request for oral argument is DENIED.

SO ORDERED, this 30th day of September, 1987.

/s/ Orinda D. Evans

ORINDA D. EVANS

United States District Judge

38a

DELTA AIR LINES PILOTS’ SYSTEM

BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT

ALPA Case #£1-85

William D. Day

OPINION OF NEUTRAL CHAIRMAN

AWARD OF SYSTEM BOARD

System Board

Richard Colby and James Suckow

(appointed by Association )

John Moran and C. A. Smith

(appointed by Company)

Mark L. Kahn, Neutral Chairman

Hearings held Jahuary 28, 29, 30 and 31, 1986

Atlanta, Georgia

For the Company

Appearances:

Thomas J. Kassin, Esq.

Gregory L. Riggs, Esq.

Witnesses:

Robin Surette, F/A, BOS

Maureen Dion, F/A, BOS

Linda Rehal, F/A, BOS

Helen Frazier, Customer

Service Supervisor, BOS

James Baker, Chief Pilot, BOS

James W. Panter, Supervisor

Implied Consent Section

Georgia Bureau of Invest.

39a

Peter V. Voorhees, 727 F/0, BOS

David Rothbart, 727 S/O, BOS

Harry C. Alger, Asst. V.P. Opns.

Lynn Hankes, M.D., Dir., Addiction Treatment

Program

South Miami Hospital, FL

Nestor Kowalski, M.D., Avn. Prev. Medicine Assoe.,

Denver, CO

For the Association

Appearances:

William A. Roberts, Esq.

Robert A. Drew, Contr. Adm.

Witnesses:

William D. Day

Grievant

Joseph Westermeyer, M.D.

Dir., Program for Alcohol. Drug Dependence,

Univ. of Minn. Hospitals & Clinics

OPINION

This proceeding before the Delta Air Lines Pilots’ Sys-

tem Board of Adjustment, ALPA Case #1-85, involves

the grievance of William D. Day, a B-727 Captain based

at Boston. Captain Day was discharged on the basis of

the following “Notice of Termination” dated January 15,

1985, from Captain James M. Baker, Chief Pilot at

Boston (BOS):

This letter is being presented to you in accordance

with Section 18.C.1 of the current Agreement be-

tween Delta Air Lines Inc. and the Air Line Pilots

in the service of Delta Air Lines Inc. as repre-

sented by the Air Line Pilots Association Interna-

tional.

On January 9, 1985, you flew as Captain on Flight

410 from Boston to Bangor, Maine, and arrived in

40a

Bangor at approximately 2 P.M. You had a sched-

uled layover at the Holiday Inn in Bangor and were

scheduled to fly Flight 437 from Bangor to Boston,

departing at 7:05 A.M. on January 10, 1985.

While on your layover in Bangor, you consumed

alcoholic beverages within twenty four hours of the

scheduled departure of your assigned flight in direct

violation of Company rules. You continued to con-

sume alcoholic beverages within eight hours of the

scheduled departure of your flight in direct violation

of Federal Aviation Administration Regulations.

On January 10, 1985, you reported for duty on

Flight 437 under the influence of alcohol. You

served as Captain on that flight and operated the

aircraft from Bangor to Boston, during which time

you were under the influence of alcohol.

Your actions in consuming alcoholic beverages in

violation of Company and FAA Rules and Regula-

tions. and in reporting for and operating an as-

signed flight while under the influence of alcohol

demonstrate a blatant disregard for your profes-

sional responsibilities and for the safety and welfare

of your passengers, fellow crewmembers and _ the

public. Accordingly, your employment is hereby ter-

minated effective this date.

Captain Day’s grievance letter was submitted the fol-

lowing day to Captain C. A. Smith, Vice President /

Flight Operations. The requested hearing was conducted

on January 24, 1985, by Glen Sage, System Manager —

Line Operations. Captain Sage denied the grievance on

January 28, 1985, and the Association, on January 31,

1985, submitted the dispute to the System Board.

A four-member System Board deadlocked after hear-

ing this case on or about June 25, 1985. A five-member

System Board, including the undersigned as fifth member

*

4la

and Neutral Chairman, conducted hearings on January

28, 29, 30 and 31, 1986. Both parties agreed, at the out-

set (Tr. 6-7), that this case was properly in arbitration

before the System Board. Each party had a full oppor-

tunity, during these hearings, to present evidence and

argument on behalf of its position, and a transcript of

the hearings was prepared by certified court reporters.

Closing oral argument was waived in favor of post-

hearing briefs and reply briefs. Receipt of,each party’s

brief dated July 18, 1986, and of each party’s reply brief

dated August 22, 1986, completed the record. On Octo-

ber 21, 1986, the System Board reviewed the record and

considered the merits of the case during an executive ses-

sion in Atlanta, Georgia. A draft of this decision was

subsequently prepared by the Neutral Chairman and sub-

mitted to the other Board members for review and com-

ment. Sole responsibility for the content of this Opinion

remains, of course, with the Neutral Chairman.

Background

Grievant has a Delta pilot seniority date (including

prior Northeast Airlines service) of January 17, 1966,

and had never been disciplined by the Company prior to

his discharge on January 15, 1985. On January 9, 1985,

grievant was the Captain on Flight 410 from Boston,

where he was based, to Bangor, Maine, arriving at about

2:00 P.M. The other cockpit crew members were First

Officer David Rothbart and Second Officer Peter V.

Voorhees. Four Flight Attendants comprised the cabin

crew: Robin Surette (the A-Line F/A, in charge),

Maureen Dion, Linda Rehal and Debbie Kleibech. The

crew had a scheduled layover at the Bangor Holiday Inn,

and was to operate Flight 437 to Boston with a sched-

uled departure of 7:05 A.M. the following day.

Grievant testified that he had been sick with the flu,

and in bed with a high fever for four days, during the

42a

week before his current trip began on January 7; that

he was still feeling tired when, against his wife’s wishes,

he took the trip; that he was taking Sudafed (a de-

congestant), vitamins and aspirin; and that he was still

feeling tired on January 9 and 10 from the after-effects

of the flu. (Tr. 714-16)

Grievant testified that when he arrived at the Bangor

Holiday Inn at about 2:50 P.M. on January 9, he took

some Sudafed and aspirin and rested until about 4:15

P.M.: that he went to the lobby at about 5:00 P.M. to

join the crew for dinner, but found no one there; that

F/O Rothbart was in the lounge having a beer and

waved grievant over; that grievant had a beer and some

cheese. and then a second beer, while they waited for the

others: and that when others arrived there was another

round during which grievant drank a third beer before

six of them went to dinner in a car driven by SO

Voorhees: the three pilots, Angela Miller (a friend of

SO Voorhees) and two of the four Flight Attendants.

During their dinnner at the Pilot House restaurant, ac-

cording to grievant, the group of six shared three carafes

of wine.

Grievant testified that unon arriving back at the Holi-

day Inn at about 8:45 P.M., the entire group went into

the lounge for a “nightcap”; that F O Rothbart and

S/O Voorhees left: that grievant and Angela Miller, who

hadn’t finished their drinks, were talking and were joined

by a man from the next table who wanted to get infor-

mation about the Bangor area; that Miller moved over

to where the band was playing, and the man offered to

buy grievant a drink; that grievant accepted the offer;

that he and the man continued to talk; ‘and that’s basi-

cally about the last I remember of the evening.” (Tr.

717-21, 785-87)

Grievant now maintains that he blacked out shortly

before 10:00 P.M. on January 9, but he acknowledges

43a

that he must have switched to scotch and — based on bar

bills examined at the four-member Board hearing — that

he continued to drink scotch until about 12:30 A.M. (Tr.

769, 834-35). Grievant testified (Tr. 787) that his next

recollection was “When my alarm went off at 5:15 in

the morning.”’; that “I was cold, it was cold in my room

and I... had a sore throat, swollen glands, and sinus

congestion, tired.”; but that he had no awareness of how

late he had been up drinking the previous night (Tr.

788, 722).

Grievant fell back asleep after his 5:15 A.M. alarm

and remained asleep until awakened at 6:10 or 6:15

A.M. when F/O Rothbart knocked on the door to griev-

ant’s room. Grievant told Rothbart that the others should

proceed to the airport and that he would get there soon.*

Rothbart, at about 6:40 A.M., called grievant from Oper-

ations and said that the van would be waiting for him

at the Holiday Inn’s front door. Grievant told Rothbart

that he was “going out the door.” (Tr. 723)

Rothbart met grievant at the ticket counter door, told

grievant that his flight kit (which had remained at

Operations overnight) was already on board, and the

two walked through the baggage bin area and out of

that door across the ramp to the jetway stairs, a dis-

tance (according to grievant) of about 200 feet (Tr.

833). Grievant testified (Tr. 723-25) that there was

patchy ice, wind blowing at 30 or 35 knots, and some

dry snow blowing across the ramp:

I went first up the stairs, I opened the door, Dave

[Rothbart] grabbed the door behind me, I walked

in because there was only room for one person to

1 The testimony of Flight Attendants Surette, Dion and Rehal

(Tr. 60, 92, 99-100, respectively) establishes that F/O Rothbart,

upon returning to the Holiday Inn lobby from grievant’s motel room,

told the rest of the crew: “We’re going without him. He’s still out

cold.”

44a

go through the door at a time. He came in behind

me. I had my bag in my hand; he grabbed me by

the arm, he said, “I’ll take your bag, you just get

undressed and get in your seat.”

Grievant maintains that he did not feel drunk that morn-

ing but simply didn’t feel well, just as he had not felt

well the entire trip (Tr. 722-23). Grievant asserts that

he must have experienced a blackout starting just before

10:00 P.M. on January 9, 1985, because he had no recol-

lection of drinking to excess and violating the eight-hour

no-aleohol rule of the FAA.”

The testimony of all three cockpit crew members is

that grievant flew the trip from Bangor to Boston with-

out incident. According to grievant (Tr. 729):

_.. When we got out to the end of the runway 33

in Bangor, Dave Rothbart asked me, he says,

“Would you like me to fly because — until you get

caught up?” He thought that since I was rushed

and everything, which often happens when you're

rushed you feel uncomfortable. I told him no, I

felt fine.

2 According to grievant, this was his third blackout. He testified

that the first blackout had occurred at a party in 1977, when he

began drinking on an empty stomach at about 6:00 P.M., drank for

about two hours, and then awakened in his own bed the following

afternoon with no recollection of the intervening period. Grievant

stated that this experience so frightened him that he did not drink

at all for two or three years and then limited himself to beer and

wine when he resumed drinking in 1980. His second blackout, ac-

cording to grievant, took place around Christmas of 1984 upon his

return from a four-day trip at a party in his home. Grievant re-

calls drinking about three Scotches and being very tired, after

which he remembers nothing until awakening the following after-

noon. Grievant testified that he then decided to stop drinking

Scotch. which seemed to be associated with his blackouts, and to

stick to beer and wine; that he initially drank only beer and wine

on January 9, 1985, in Bangor; and that “when I started drinking

Seotch that night, I know now that that’s when I lost control.”

(Tr. 769)

‘ee

45a

Grievant had entered the aircraft shortly before

depariure time and just as the last passenger was also

boarding. Flight Attendant Surette testified (Tr. 62):

Dave [Rothbart] was supporting the Captain.

He had his arm behind the Captain’s arm and ap-

peared to be holding on to the back of his arm, like

around the elbow portion. And the Captain seemed

to be leaning against Dave.

F/A Surette also testified (Tr. 81) that she smelled

liquor as grievant and Rothbart walked by, and that

(Te Clie

His [grievant’s] face was very red, his eyes were

glassed over, and he just looked very disoriented,

not right.

Surette added that “Maureen [F/A Dion] and I ex-

changed a look of utter fear.” F/A Dion (Tr. 94-95)

and F/A Rehal (Tr. 100-103) corroborated the sub-

stance of F/A Surette’s testimony. F/A Rehal testified

that after observing grievant’s difficulties in getting into

his cockpit seat she said to F/A Dion: ‘“He’s drunk.”

The cockpit door was immediately closed and locked,

after which the cabin door was closed and the jetway

pulled away. F/A Surette knocked on the cockpit door.

When the door was opened by S/O Voorhees, who stood

right in the doorway and opened the door only enough

to talk te Surette, she asked him if everything was all

right and he replied, “Everything is fine.” According to

F/A Surette (Tr. 64-65) :

And then, from his viewpoint, he could see...

Linda Rehal leaning against the galley. And he said

to me, “The blonde doesn’t look convinced.” And I

said, “She’s not and neither am I.” And he said,

everything is fine. You take care of things out

there.” And I said, “No, you take care of things up

46a

there.” And then we were pushing back, the door

shut, and I had to do my PA.

After reaching cruise altitude, S/O Voorhees walked back

to the First Class galley and obtained coffee for himself

and the other pilots. There, he had a substantial conver-

sation with F/A Surette during which she told Voorhees

that the Flight Attendants believed that grievant was

intoxicated (Tr. 253-55, 66-67) and he again assured

her that everything was all right.

S/O Voorhees, upon returning to the cockpit, promptly

wrote a note that he passed up to F/O Rothbart: “We

got trouble with the F/A’s”. Rothbart, upon reading

the note, instructed Voorhees to disconnect the cockpit

voice recorder by pulling the appropriate circuit breaker

(Tr. 267). Voorhees did so.* The three cockpit crew

members then engaged in what may fairly be called some

off-the-record discussion of the Flight Attendant “trouble”

until, four or five minutes later, the cockpit voice re-

corder was turned back on at Rothbart’s direction (Tr.

353).

The Flight Attendants, discussing the situation among

themselves, decided that it would have to be reported at

Boston to Chief Pilot James Baker. This was done by

F/A Rehal. Meanwhile, the passenger who had been

last to board at Bangor, and who also believed that the

Captain was intoxicated, reported this at Boston to a

Delta Customer Service Manager and she, in turn, gave

this information to Captain Baker.

Captain Baker called the pilot crew into this office and

promptly concluded that grievant’s appearance and_ be-

havior fully justified the concerns of the Flight Attend-

ants. All three were removed from flight duty and

ordered by Baker to take blood alcohol tests, which were

3 It is concededly a violation of the Federal Aviation Regulations

to disconnect the cockpit voice recorder during a flight.

47a

administered at the Logan Airport Medical Station. No

alcohol was detected in the blood of either F/O Rothbart

or S/O Voorhees. The outcome of grievant’s blood test

is set forth in the following joint stipulation of the

parties (Tr. 5-6, Co. Ex. 3):

1. The grievant . . . was given a blood alcohol

test cn January 10, 1985 at 11:33 a.m. by the Logan

Airport Medical Station of Massachusetts General

Hospital.

2. The results of the blood alcohol test given to

the grievant on January 10, 1985 at 11:33 a.m.

established that the grievant had a blood alcohol

level of 65mg percent (.065 grams)... .

Grievant, as noted above (p. 1) was discharged on Janu-

ary 15, 1985. On that same date, F/O Rothbart was

issued a one-year suspension without pay and benefits,

and S O Voorhees was issued a six-month suspension

without pay and benefits. Their discipline notices each

contained the following statement regarding the basis for

their respective disciplinary penalties:

On January 10, 1985, you served... on Flight 437

from Bangor to Boston... Prior to the commence-

ment of this flight, you became aware of the obvious

fact that the Captain appeared to be intoxicated,

vet you and Mr. Voorhees [or Mr. Rothbart] will-

ingly participated in the conduct of the flight as

crewmembers. Your actions jeopardized the safety

of Flight 437, the safety of the passengers, as well

as the safety of the other crewmembers on said

flight.

Your knowing participation in the operation of the

flight while in violation of the Company’s twenty

four hour rule and while you were aware that Cap-

tain Day appeared to be intoxicated compromised the

safety of the flight. You intentionally disregarded

48a

your professional responsibilities and in doing so

endangered your passengers, fellow crewmembers

and the public. Such irresponsible conduct will not

be tolerated.

Subsequently, however, the Company reduced FO Roth-

bart’s one-year penalty to fe#-months and S/O Voor-

- fnalty to three months (Tr. 386).

The Company’s policy relating to alcoho! use, as of

January 1985, was set forth in its Flight Operations

Procedures Manual |FOPM}], Section 3, page 11 (10-12-

84):

USE OF ALCOHOL OR OTHER DRUGS

Use of intoxicating beverages, including wines and

beer, by flight crew members while in uniform or

within 24 hours prior to departure of a flight is

prohibited.

The excessive use of intoxicants or drugs by any

flight crew member, regardless of the above limita-

tions, constitutes cause for discharge.

Any evidence of the use of alcohol or other drugs

which is apparent at the time of reporting for flight

duty. also constitutes reason for discharge.

Any flight crew member who knowingly permits an-

other flight crew member to attempt to perform his

flight duty while under the influence of intoxicants

or drugs shall be considered equally guilty. [Orig.

emphasis. |

The Federal Aviation Regulations (FARs) provide:

$91.11 Liquor and Drugs

(a) No person may act as a crewmember of a

civil aircraft —

(1) within 8 hours after the consumption

of any alcoholic beverage;

49a

(2) while under the influence of alcohol;

(3) while using any drug that affects the

person’s faculties in any way contrary to

safety.

The Company, in 1977, instituted an Alcohol Rehabili-

tation Program. The 1980 statement of Standard Prac-

tice for this Program includes this introductory ma-

terial (ALPA Ex. 3):

1026.1 GENERAL

Excessive use of alcohol normally results in job

related problems such as absenteeism and deteriorat-

ing performance, as well as personal problems in-

cluding ill health, financial difficulties and degenera-

tion of relationships with family and friends. To-

day, the problem of alcohol dependency has been

resolved for many by their dedicated resolve to help

themselves through participation in alcohol rehabili-

tation programs at various centers throughout the

country. Delta’s Alcohol Rehabilitation Program is

designed to assist personnel who suffer from alcohol

dependency if they individually recognize or admit

that they have a problem and are willing to face up

to the situation by obtaining treatment.

It is hoped that through this program, individuals

who suspect they may be developing a dependency

on alcohol will be encouraged to seek help before

their dependency results in a serious deterioration

of their health or on-the-job performance. Individ-

uals who participate in the program will be assured

of confidentiality. A request for treatment of al-

cohol dependency will not jeopardize an individual’s

job security. ...

This program should not be construed in any man-

ner as condoning intemperance or lowering company

50a

standards applicable to on-the-job conduct and job

performance. Participation in the program will not

absolve individuals from their responsibilities to

Delta, their fellow employees, or appropriate au-

thorities, or in any manner infringe upon the com-

pany’s rights and responsibilities to administer dis-

cipline in connection wth any associated acts of mis-

conduct.

The Program provides (§ 1026.10) that where the em-

ployee has developed work-related problems, he or she

is to be “offered the choice of admitting the problem and

entering the Alcohol Rehabilitation Program, or being

terminated for unacceptable work performance.” It is

also specified that an employee may participate in the

Program only once, and that failure to complete the Pro-

gram successfully will result in termination (§ 1026.8-B).

Position of the Company

The Company emphasizes that it is charged by law to

provide “the highest possible degree of safety in the

public interest.” 49 U.S.C. § 1421 (b). Accordingly, in

the Company’s view, “An airline’s determination regard-

ing a pilot’s fitness and competency is not to be set

aside unless,it can be shown that the airline acted ar-

bitrarily or in bad faith.” (Br. 37)

The Company points out that, to ensure against pilot

impairment, it prohibits aircraft operation by a pilot

under the influence of any alcohol. (Br. 41) It cites the

applicable provisions in its FOPM (see above, p. 10),

noting that later in 1985 its 24-hour rule was amended

so as to prohibit alcohol consumption within eight hours

of a flight, “consistent with the Federal Aviation Reg-

ulations.” (Br. 42) The Company describes its alcohol

policy this way (Br. 15-16):

. . . To keep aleohol out of the cockpit, Delta has

developed a comprehensive set of incentives and de-

5la

terrents to encourage pilots with alcohol problems to

come forward and seek assistance prior to an inci-

Jent of alcohol related job misconduct (T. 368).

Among those incentives is a program whereby pilots

with alcohol problems who are identified prior to an

incident of alcohol related job misconduct are eligible

for participation in Delta’s aleohol rehabilitation

program. The costs of treatment, sick leave and

other benefits are paid for by Delta (T. 369-371).

As a deterrent, however, pilots identified as having

an alcohol problem as a result of an alcohol related

incident of job misconduct, face disciplinary action

up to and including termination (T. 369, 414-415).

Delta’s safety net of policies and practices is de-

signed to maximize the-opportunity for detection of

impaired pilots prior to the point at which the safety

of the traveling public is directly threatened. To en-

courage co-worker participation in accomplishing this

objective, Delta has determined that the period of

detection of an impaired pilot without fear of au-

tomatic discharge should run to the point that a

pilot reports to the aircraft (T. 974-975). If an

impaired pilot is detected by a co-worker after re-

porting to work but prior to reporting to the air-

craft, it is Delta’s policy to evaluate all of the cir-

cumstances (Tr. 976). In exceptional circumstances,

a pilot may be admitted into the Company’s alcohol

rehabilitation program without disciplinary sanc-

tions. Once a pilot reports to the aircraft, Delta’s

overriding concern for the safety and welfare of its

passengers compels the termination of that pilot (T.

976).

Delta management had found this extended period

for detection to be an effective incentive for co-

workers to intervene in a positive manner in the

interest of safety without fear of reprisal for re-

porting a co-worker. Delta firmly believes that this

EE

52a

period is essential to break the conspiracy of silence.

among pilots to ensure that its safety net works so

that no flight operates with a pilot under the in-

fluence of alcohol (T.977)....

The Company observes, in regard to this case (Br. 43):

Delta’s no-alcohol policy is well-known to all of

its pilots. The grievant admitted that he was aware

of Delta’s rules relating to alcohol (T. 820). De-

spite his knowledge of the rules and his professional

obligations, he started an evening of heavy drinking

that progressed from beer and wine to scotch. With

a blood alcohol level of .13 grams percent alcohol,'

which caused him to have difficulty in walking (i.e.,

requiring First Officer Rothbart to hold him up and

bumping the center console as he entered the cock-

pit) and talking (i.e., he had to intentionally slow

down his speech in an effort to minimize slurring),

the grievant proceeded to pilot and command the

Delta passenger jet from Bangor to Boston.

The Company observes (Br. 45):

Delta has a well established policy of strictly en-

forcing its no-aleohol rule. It has consistently drawn

the line at reporting to the aircraft, and has ter-

minated the employment of all pilots who crossed

that line. The grievant not only reported to the air-

craft, but he operated the aircraft as pilot in com-

mand, directly jeopardizing the safety of the pas-

sengers and other crew members. [Orig. emphasis. |]

The Company summarizes as follows the characteris-

ties of four previous instances in which a Company pilot

4The estimate of 0.13 grams percent alcohol is derived from

grievant’s blood alcohol test result at 11:33 A.M. on January 10,

1985 (0.065), projected backward to 7:00 A.M. that same day on

the premise of an average alcohol assimilation rate of 0.015 grams

percent alcohol per hour. See testimony of James W. Panter, Geor-

gia Bureau of Investigation (Tr. 224).

| 53a

reported for work under the influence of alcohol: 7 arr,

Rochford, O’Shea and Cantrell (Br. 45-48) -

. . . Tarr and Rochford were pilots who reported

for duty under the influence of alcohol but were de-

tected prior to ever reaching the aircraft. Tarr

was intercepted by two other pilots who reported

him to the Chief Pilot. Following an intervention

and alcohol rehabilitation, Tarr was reinstated with-

out discipline because the safety net worked and the

pilot was intercepted by other pilots well before the

flight was to operate (T. 424-425). Rotchford was

given the opportunity to retire in lieu of facing dis-

ciplinary action. He was never permitted to pilot

another Delta aircraft following that incident (T.

424).

O’Shea and Cantrell were pilots who actually re-

ported to the aircraft while under the influence of

alcohol. Both pilots were intercepted prior to operat-

ing the flight. O’Shea was stopped by the other

pilots, who properly cancelled the flight. Cantrell

was reported by the flight attendants on board the

aircraft prior to the flight departing. Both pilots

were terminated by Delta.

O’Shea was ultimately brought back to work by

Delta voluntarily after one year without a System

Board case. Delta acted due to a premature promise

made by Captain Alger to Captain O’Shea at the

time that he initially investigated the O’Shea inci-

dent and prior to all of the facts involving O’Shea’s

drinking coming to light. As explained by Captain

Alger, “we felt because of Corporate ethics and mo-

rality, that we had an obligation to uphold our origi-

nal promise and commitment to Captain O’Shea in

his return to work. That does not in any way miti-

gate the fact that termination was the appropriate

discipline.” (T. 394)

54a

Mr. Cantrell was returned to work following a

System Board arbitration decision. In that case,

Delta Air Lines, Case No. 11-8 (Scearce, 1985), the

grievant was reinstated, although the System Board

found that the Company “had cause for removal of

the grievant.” Supra at 15. The facts of the case

are quite distinct from the case involving the griev-

ant.

Mr. Cantrell was a First Officer on the Boeing

767 aircraft. He reported to a flight in Atlanta, hav-

ing consumed two drinks while commuting as a pas-

senger on a flight from Dallas. Mr. Cantrell was

suspected of drinking by the flight attendants while

the aircraft was on the ground prior to passenger

boarding. When questioned by the Chief Pilot in

Atlanta, he readily admitted his drinking and was

removed from the flight prior to its ever operat-

ing...

_. . Although perhaps well intentioned and moved

by the extremely emotional testimony of the griev-

ant as to his recovery and extraordinary efforts to

help others, the System Board’s exception to Delta’s

no-aleohol policy has weakened Delta’s efforts to keep

aleohol out of the cockpit. [Underlining as in origi-

nal. |

The Company emphasizes that “in no other Delta dis-

ciplinary case did a pilot fly an aircraft while intoxi-

cated” and that “It is absolutely critical to Delta’s safety

net that no further exceptions to its no-aleohol policy

be made.” (Br. 48) ALPA has failed, in the Company’s

view, to show that the Company unfairly discriminated

against grievant: “ALPA’s claim of disparate treatment

is without merit and should be dismissed.” (Rep. Br.

9-10)

The Company submits that grievant’s undiagnosed al-

coholism does not excuse his operation of a passenger jet

55a

while under the influence of alcohol. “It is clear,” says

the Company, “from the way that the grievant conducted

himself on the morning of January 10th, that he knew

he was impaired.” (Br. 51) Moreover, in the Company’s

view, grievant was responsible for his impaired condi-

tion. His two previous blackouts, the last one only about

two weeks before January 10, 1985, caused him to realize

that he had a serious problem with Scotch (Tr. 770-

771), yet when he returned to the hotel bar after dinner

on January 10 he proceeded to drink two Scotches (Br.

59):

.. . He did all this knowing that he had just had a

blackout only days earlier and that he had a flight

scheduled for early the next morning. In doing so,

he intentionally placed himself in risk of another

blackout and is responsible for the consequences of

his actions. The grievant cannot now excuse his con-

tinued drinking until 12:30 a.m. by virtue of his

blackout... 5

The Company concludes as follows (Br. 63-64) :

Delta renews its motion to limit the jurisdiction

of the System Board. The grievant’s employment

with Delta was terminated for cause. He violated

Delta’s no-alcohol policy, Federal Aviation Regula-

tions, and the trust placed in him as a professional

airline pilot. The safety rules violated by the griev-

ant are not part of the collective bargaining agree-

ment between Delta and ALPA and there is no con-

tractual agreement to submit safety matters to ar-

*The Company cites these cases in support of its discharge de-

cision: Ozark Air-ALPA, Gr. STL-83-9-1 (Arb. John J. Mikrut,

Jr., 1985); Eastern Airlines, 74 LA 316 (Burton B. Turkus, 1980) ;

. Trans- World Air, NY-150-74 (Mark L. Kahn 1976): Ozark Air-

lines, LAX-87-74 (Leo C. Brown, 1975); and Eastern Airlines, 46

LA 549 (Jacob Scidenberg, 1965). All cases cited by the parties

have, of course, heen reviewed and considered by the Neutral

Chairman.

ee

56a

bitration. The System Board does not have jurisdic+

tion to modify, amend or revise the safety rules

which the grievant violated. Accordingly, the Sys-

tem Board may not consider the grievant’s alcohol-

ism defense. To do so would effectively place the

System Board in the position of substituting its

judgment for that of Delta’s management in an area

where the airline has substantial and exclusive re-

sponsibility for establishing and enforcing safety

rules.

Moreover, the grievant’s violation of Delta’s safety

rules is not to be excused by his claim of alcoholism.

At the time that he piloted the Delta jet he knew

that he was under the influence of alcohol. His con-

duct clearly demonstrated that he was aware that

he was drunk. Furthermore, the grievant knew from

two prior blackouts that he had a serious drinking

problem. Although aware of the drinking probiem,

he failed to take corrective action. On the evening

of January 9, 1985, he knowingly placed himself in

a position of having another blackout and is re-

sponsible for the consequences of his volitional acts.

Hence, the Company says, grievant’s discharge was for

just cause and his grievance should be denied.

Position of the Association

The Association points out that grievant, at the time

of the incident on January 10, 1985, suffered from the as

yet undiagnosed disease of chronic alcoholism (Br. 4).

The Association notes, and considers relevant, these later

events (Br. 2-3):

. . . Subsequent to his termination jon January 15,

1985], grievant sought evaluation to determine

whether he was an alcoholic (T. 737). He went to

the Ridgeview Institute near Atlanta, South Miami

Hospital and Mount Sinai Hospital in Miami Beach.

57a

The evaluations at all three institutions indicated

that [grievant] was an alcoholic and they recom-

mended in-patient treatment (T. 738-9, ALPA Ex.

4). [Grievant] entered the treatment program at

South Miami Hospital March 21, 1985 and remained

in the hospital for 28 days (T. 739, ALPA Ex. 4).

He received individual therapy, group therapy and

counseling in a “highly structured program” (T.

517-8). He is currently [January 1986] in the out-

patient phase of treatment or aftercare which in-

cludes group therapy for two years (T. 518, 540).

He also attends weekly meetings of Birds of a

Feather, a pilot AA group (T. 740).

with an airline transport rating (T. 741). The Fed-

eral Air Surgeon has determined that medical cer-

tification of |grievant] “with appropriate monitor-

ing would not compromise aviation safety.” He,

therefore, finds him eligible for special issuance of a

first class medical certificate when monitoring re-

quirements are arranged (Alpa Ex. 14).

The Association submits that grievant’s conduct on

January 9 and 10, 1985, “was inextricably tied to his

alcoholism.” (Br. 11) The Association maintains (Br.

12) that grievant was not aware he was impaired when

he boarded Flight 437 on January 10, 1985, because of

his blackout the previous night and because of the toler-

ance and denial characteristics of alcoholism (Br. 14):

The unrebutted medical evidence in the record

establishes not only that alcoholism is a disease (T.

455-60) but also that an individual has not control

over whether he will get the disease (T. 509, 624).

. Since [grievant's] actions were a result of his

alcoholism and since an individual is not at fault

or responsible for getting alcoholism, there is no

justification for imposing discipline based on con-

———

58a

duct that is a product of that disease... . How can

one rationally fix blame when the “perpetrator’s”

conduct was the result of a condition he was neither

aware of nor responsible for?

Certainly if an aircraft accident, involving a vio-

lation of Company operating rules, occurred as a

result of an undiagnosed epileptic pilot suffering a

seizure, or an undiagnosed pilot falling into insulin

shock,'*! Delta would not discipline the pilot if the

accident were the result of his illness. The evidence

indicates that there is no justification for treating

an undiagnosed alcoholic who violated Company

rules any differently....

Arbitrators, says the Association, have often found that

discipline was not for just cause in cases where the mis-

conduct was medically related to the disease of alcohol-

ism (Br. 16).7 Thus, Arbitrator George Nicolau, in

Northwest Airlines-ALPA SBA Docket 82-23, decided

October 29, 1984, held (at p. 39):

Thus, we have an employee, who after 16 years

of service, committed serious offenses, but offenses

that were the unavoidable consequence of the illness

of alcoholism, which illness has been arrested and

successfully treated. Our weighing of these factors

leads a majority of the Board to conclude that

[grievant], despite the seriousness of the infractions,

should be given an opportunity to demonstrate...

6 This example is inapt, since an undiagnosed diabetic pilot would

not be taking insulin. The appropriate example for this condition

would be a diabetic coma.

7The Association cites Armstrong Cork Co., 56 LA 527 (Wolf,

1971): Standard Packaging Co., 71 UA 445 (Fogelberg, 1978); Air

Wisconsin, Case No. AW-8-81 (Seidenberg, August 11, 1985);

Northwest Airlines, Inc., System Board Docket 82-23 (Nicolau,

October 29, 1984) ; and others.

59a

that he can meet the Company’s standards for fly-

ing.'®!

The Association calls particular attention to the deci-

sion of this System Board, with Abitrator James F.

Scearce serving as Neutral Member, in Cantrell, ALPA

11-83 (ATL), decided August 4, 1985. Cantrell, at B-

767 First Officer, had a scheduled trip departure from

ATL at 2:45 P.M. on November 8, 1983. As stated in

the Chairman Scearce’s Opinion:

. The record shows that the grievant changed

into a uniform, checked in and then went to

cencourse/gate to perform the regular pre-flight

walkaround. The grievant completed such duties and

SIt is pertinent to note here that Northwest Airlines challenged

this System Board award in Federal District Court. Northwest

Airlines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Association, International, 633 F.

Supp. 779 (D.D.C. 1985), decided 11-27-85. (See Co. Br. pp. 6-10.)

This Court reversed the Nicolau decision, finding that it “signifi-

cantly encroaches on Northwest’s responsibilities to the air travel-

ling public. ... Under the guise of a debate over policy and rules,

the Board’s decision substitutes its own policy for Northwest’s.”

On appeal by the Association, however, the judgment of the Dis-

trict Court was reversed (No. 85-6228, D.C. Cir., decided 1-6-87).

The C.C.A. asserted:

[T]he conclusion is inescapable that the Board acted

within its authority in considering [grievant’s] claim that he

had been fired without “just cause.” And in reviewing this

grievance, it is equally plain that the Board was authorized to

judge the legitimacy of the disciplinary penalty in the light

of mitigating circumstances. ... The fact that the arbitration

touches on issues related to airline safety is irrelevant. There

have been numerous arbitrations under the RLA involving

grievances that implicate safety issues, and no court has ever

ruled that an arbitral board lacked jurisdiction to consider such

issues.

This Opinion in no way relies on the above Court decision, which

appeared too recently to be part of the record. The ruling of this

System Board concerning its jurisdiction (Tr. 40-41, infra pp. 26-

27) does appear to be consistent with the view expressed by the

Court of Appeals as quoted above.

60a

went to the cockpit, at which time he learned that

a mechanical problem had been found which would

delay the flight departure. He apparently left the

cockpit and went to the galley area where a flight

attendant detected the odor of alcohol on his breath

and reported as much to her supervisor. The Chief

Pilot at Atlanta was contacted and advised of the

situation; he confronted the grievant with such cir-

cumstance. Whereupon, the grievant admitted that

while he traveled from D/FW at ATL on Flight

1020 [arriving about 36 minutes before his sched-

uled 2:45 P.M. departure] he was in civilian clothes

and consumed two scotches and sodas... .

FO Cantrell was discharged. The System Board decided

he should be reinstated without back pay and stated

(at pp. 13-14):

_.. [T]he Company has concluded that alcohol abuse

is a problem and has structured and effected a pro-

gram at considerable expense in an effort to salvage

deserving employees. Such an enlightened approach

ean be expected to recognize exceptions where un-

usual circumstances exist. This Board finds suffi-

cient basis to conclude that grievant meets such ex-

ceptions and is deserving of another opportunity to

prove his worth. ... The grievant will, of course,

have to meet the physical, flight and other qualifica-

tions attendant to his position. The particular and

individual circumstances of this case, including his

discipline-free and satisfactory prior record and his

own efforts of recovery form the basis to provide

him a special opportunity to return to duty.

The Association cites other cases in which arbitrators

“recognized that rehabilitative efforts, even after dis-

charge. should be considered as mitigating factors when

evaluating the Company’s disciplinary action.” (Br.

20-21)

6la

The Association maintains that such mitigating factors

are present in this case, since grievant has engaged in

a successful rehabilitation effort (Br. 21) :

[Grievant] voluntarily entered in-patient treatment

on March 21, 1985 and was discharged on April 18,

1985. In September [1985], Dr. David Millett, Di-

rector of Flight Medicine for Eastern Air Lines,

wrote that since his release from the _ hospital

[grievant] maintained a vigorous aftercare pro-

gram. ...” He further stated “It is my belief

that Captain Day has done very well, and I believe

that he will maintain his sobriety.”” On December 2,

1985 Dr. Carone, a psychiatrist, and Dr. Krinsky,

a psychologist, wrote about Captain Day as follows:

It’s gratifying to note that the signs of progress

have continued. He is pleasant, friendly and

continues to impress us as free of any major

psychopathology. The overall impression we

gain is that his insight has deepened and his

judgment is better. At the same time, his moti-

vation to attain and then maintain sobriety is

even stronger than it was previously.

The Association also cites the testimony of Lynn Hankes,

M.D., director of the Addiction Treatment Program at

South Miami Hospital (where grievant was hospitalized

for alcoholism), that grievant was doing the things that

were necessary for a sustained recovery and that his

prognosis is excellent (Tr. 534, 536). The Association

therefore urges (Br. 22) :

... Overturning his [grievant’s] termination would

be consistent with arbitral precedent in this industry

as well as with the rehabilitative approach to alco-

holism adopted by the FAA. It would also be con-

sistent with the precedent established by this System

Board on this property [Cantrel/]. Day’s 19 year

discipline free record (T. 713, 166) and his recov-

62a

ery, rehabilitation and recertification bring him

within the ambit of the prior award on this property.

The Association also contends that grievant has been

subjected to disparate treatment in comparison to the

other cockpit crew members involved in the incident

of January 10, 1985. F/O Rothbart and S/O Voorhees

were both charged by the Company with being “aware

of the obvious fact that the Captain appeared to be

intoxicated, yet you... willfully participated in the

conduct of the flight as crewmembers.” (See above, p. 9)

Although the Flight Operations Procedures Manual

(FOPM) declares that this made grievant’s fellow crew

members “equally guilty” (see above, p. 10), the Com-

pany failed to apply its own policy to them. Neither

Rothbart nor Voorhees was discharged. (Br. 23-24)

The Association maintains that there has also been

discrimination between grievant and other Delta pilots

who violated the rule in the same FOPM that “evidence

of the use of alcohol . .. at the time of reporting for

flight duty, also constitutes reason for discharge.” Spe-

cifically, pilots Tarr, Rotchford and O’Shea (see above,

pp. 14-15) all reported for flight duty showing evidence

of alcohol use but were not discharged. Cantrell’s dis-

charge was reversed by the System Board (see above,

p. 20). The Association says (Br. 25-26) :

Captain Day is apparently the first and only

Delta pilot to be terminated for violating the FOPM

provision prohibiting evidence of the use of alcohol

at the time of reporting for flight duty. ... The

only difference between Captain Day’s incident and

these other cases, and perhaps the other 100 cur-

rently employed Delta pilots who have been treated

for alcoholism (Tr. 403) is that someone stopped

the alcoholic pilot and kept him from operating

under the influence. .. .

Captain Day’s disparate treatment from other

Delta pilots involved in similar rules violations can-

63a

not be justified. The rule prohibits reporting under

the influence. The actual violation in this case,

therefore, is identical to the violations of Tarr,

Rotchford and O’Shea in that they all reported for

duty under the influence. The difference between

those cases and the instant case is the fortuitous

intervention of another party. This intervention did

not occur as a result of any action by Tarr, Rotch-

ford, O’Shea or Cantrell. Captain Day is not respon-

sible for the fact that for whatever reason, no one

intervened to stop him. ...

The Association emphasizes that all three medical ex-

perts who testified in this case “agreed that medically

there was no difference either in terms of treatment or

diagnosis between the pilot who flew under the influence

and a pilot who stopped short of that.” (Br. 27). Thus,

Company witness Joseph Westermeyer, M.D., testified

(Tr. 967) :

Q. So that whatever the proper solution is, you

wouldn’t distinguish between a person who operates

the plane—

A. Right.

Q. —and the person who is stopped before he

actually operates it?

A. Yes. Twenty years of experience suggests to

me that the individual who takes step one is not

going to do things along the way to make it stop

happening. In other words, once they’ve set this

thing in action, they’re going to carry it through

as far as they can go....

The Association acknowledges the Company’s respon-

sibility for the safety of the public and its employees,

but it asserts that grievant’s reinstatement would not

constitute any threat to safey: “His disease is in re-

mission and he is doing what is necessary to sustain his

recovery. His prognosis is excellent and he is medically

64a

safe to fly.” (Br. 31) The Association also cites the

conclusion of Drs. Carone and Krinsky on December 2,

1985, that “from a psychiatric/psychological standpoint,

we believe that he is ready for a return to flying status.”

The Association adds that the FAA’s position on griev-

ant’s condition supports this conclusion, and observes

(Br..32).:

Since 1976, the FAA has had a procedure for and

has, in fact, recertified alcoholic air line pilots.

Nearly 600 alcoholic air line pilots had been re-

certified as of December 31, 1984. This recertifica-

tion... only occurs if the Federal Air Surgeon the

duties of the airman “can be performed without

endangering air commerce... .” ... [T]he Federal

Air Surgeon determined that medical certification in

this case would not compromise aviation safety and

did find Captain Day eligible for special issuance of

a medical certificate.

Moreover, says the Association, the Company “readily

acknowledges that alcoholic pilots can undergo success-

ful rehabilitation and return to work without compro-

mising safety’, as demonstrated by Delta’s own Alcohol

Rehabilitation Program and the fact that about one hun-

dred treated alecholics are currently flying for Delta.

In the Association’s view, the Company has failed to

provide any factual basis for distinguishing grievant’s

status from these one hundred other rehabilitated alco-

holic pilots.

The Association also argues that the Company has

failed in grievant’s case to adhere to its own Alcohol

Rehabilitation Program. Section 1026.2-C is pertinent:

C. Compulsory Confrontation

1. The individual is confronted as a result of on-

the-job problems or misconduct.

2. Immediate disciplinary action will be taken; and

65a

3. The individual will be advised of termination

alternative if he or she does not participate in and

successfully complete the program.

Thus, says the Association (Br. 34): “The Program

contemplates discipline short of termination since it pro-

vides for discipline and the choice of participation in

the Program or termination.” The only other reference

to termination is in Section 1026.1, 13, where it pro-

vides that “failure to comply with the requirements [of

the Program] will subject him/her to immediate ter-

mination of his/her services with Delta.” The Associa-

tion submits (Br. 35) that, since grievant was never 7

given an opportunity to enter the Program, he did not

fail to comply with its requirements and his immediate

termination was not justified.

As to the implications for air safety of grievant’s

discharge, the Association comments (Br. 37) :

. Moreover, this punitive approach discourages,

rather than encourages, pilots from coming forward

or fellow pilots from intervening on behalf of an-

other pilot. If a pilot knows his colleague will be

terminated for a rule violation he’ll be more apt to

“cover” for him and less apt to intervene and bring

the problem to the Company’s attention for solution

(Tr. 606, 698). Thus, there really is no persuasive

rationale to support the termination of Captain Day.

The Association concludes that the grievance should be

granted in full and urges the following remedy (Br. 38):

The grievant should be reinstated with his seniority

unimpaired. He should be treated retroactively in

conformity with the Company’s Alcohol Rehabilita-

tion Program and should be made whole for losses

he may have suffered as a result of the Company’s

failure to treat him in accordance with that Pro-

gram. He should receive compensatory back pay

66a

from the date the FAA certified that he was eligible

to receive a special issue airman medical certificate,

January 16, 1986. On that date he was legally able

to return to flying. Upon reinstatement he should be

allowed to exercise his seniority as a pilot returning

from sick leave.

Discussion

I have presented, above, the salient facts and major

arguments of the parties. The record of this case is a

substantial one: the testimony of thirteen witnesses, 979

transcript pages, 25 exhibits, many cited court and ar-

bitration decisions, and 147 pages of briefs. Accordingly,

I have not attempted to recapitulate every item of evi-

dence and each line of argument, and the parties should

understand that my analysis of this dispute is based

on the complete record.

As a threshold matter, this Opinion should first con-

sider the position of the Company in regard to the

jurisdiction or authority of the System Board in this

type of safety-related case. The Company, at the outset

of the Svstem Board hearing, asserted the following

position (Tr. 12-13):

... 80 what I would urge the Board is that its ju-

risdiction is limited in this case to determine whether

or not there was a violation of Delta’s safety rules

prohibiting the operation of an aircraft while under

the influence of alcohol, and if, in fact, the violation

did occur and the evidence of the case supports that

violation, then the Board ... [should] uphold the

termination of the pilot involved. And the Board

simply does not have jurisdiction to make exceptions

to that safety-based policy or to otherwise interpret

it or apply it.

The System Board, after hearing substantial argument

on this matter, ruled as follows (Tr. 45-46) :

67a

With regard to the Company’s position on what we

call the limits of the Board’s jurisdiction, the sim-

plest way to put it is: the Board does not accept that

limitation on its jurisdiction. ... In principle, the

Board has the right to entertain, for example, an

allegation or claim that a Company-formulated rule

is unreasonable; or that in a particular application

a reasonable rule has not been reasonably applied.

Obviously, if a reasonable rule has been reasonably

applied and appropriate action has been taken, then

presumably the grievance should be denied: but these

are all matters that fall within the Board’s author-

ity.

This Neutral Chairman has reconsidered the issue in re-

sponse to the Company’s renewal of its motion (see above,

p. 16) and finds no reason to modify the System Board’s

original ruling.

As to the facts of this case, there is no need to now

review or describe them in any detail. They are not in

significant dispute. Grievant is an aleoholic. He suc-

cumbed to his disease of alcoholism on January 9 and 10,

1985, when he ingested a considerable quantity of alco-

hol (beer, wine and Scotch whiskey) in violation of the

Company’s (then) 24-hour rule and the FAA’s eight-hour

rule. He reported for Flight 437 on January 10, 1985,

under the influence of alcohol and flew this Bangor-Boston

trip as Captain despite his impaired condition.’ A blood

® The testimony of grievant and his fellow flight crew members

is that grievant actually handled the flight controls and flew this

Bangor-Boston trip competently and without incident in spite of

his inebriated condition. There were no other witnesses to what

actually transpired in the cockpit, and both parties have accepted

as a fact that grievant did operate the flight controls. I am not

convinced of this. Under the circumstances, of course, the trip

would have been a far safer one with the First Officer at the con-

trols. In regard to the issues presented by this case, however, it

makes no difference, in my judgment, whether it was the intoxicated

Captain or the First Officer who actually handled the flight.

68a

alcohol test administered to grievant at 11:33 A.M. on

January 10, 1985, indicated approximately 0.13 grams

percent alcohol (well above the usual d.u.i. standard of

0.10) when grievant commenced Flight 437 at about

7:05 A.M. that morning.

Grievant was discharged on January 15, 1985, for

these violations of Company and FAA rules. F/O Roth-

bart was issued a one-year disciplinary suspension, later

reduced by the Company to four months, for violating

the 24-hour rule and for participating in the flight al-

though aware that grievant appeared to be intoxicated.

S/O Voorhees, on the same grounds, was issued a six-

month disciplinary suspension, later reduced by the Com-

pany to three months. Subsequently, the four-member

System Board reduced their penalties to three months

and two months, respectively.

It will be useful, at this juncture, to review the Com-

pany’s policies in regard to alcohol usage by pilots. These

policies, and how they have been communicated and ap-

plied, establish the context within which the Board must

determine whether just cause existed for grievant’s dis-

charge.

The Company’s published policy, as it relates to flight

crew members, appears in Section 3 of the Flight Opera-

tions Procedures Manual (see above, p. 10, for the FOPM

provisions in effect as of January 1985). Paragraph 3

of this policy declares that “Any evidence of the use of

aleohol or other drugs which is apparent at the time of

reporting for flight duty also constitutes reason for dis-

charge.”

The Company’s actual policy, as manifested by not

only by its actions in specific cases but also by its evi-

dence and argument in this case, differs significantly

from what is asserted in the FOPM. In actuality, says

the Company, automatic discharge would apply only to

the pilot who reports to the aircraft under the influence

69a

of alcohol. In order to encourage other employees to in-

tervene so as to prevent the impaired pilot from reaching

the aircraft after he reports for duty, the Company will

“evaluate all of the circumstances.” (See above, pp. 12-

13.) As Captain Harry Alger, Assistant Vice President

for Operations, testified on behalf of the Company (Tr.

976-7) :

Q. Will the pilot who reports to the cockpit un-

der the influence of alcohol always be terminated?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Okay. Will the pilot who reports and signs

in but is detected prior to making it to the cockpit

always be terminated?

A. That will be discretionary discipline.

Q. Will that be a fact case-by-case determination?

A. Certainly, certainly.

Q. And why does Delta reserve the right to have

that discretion between the time of sign-in and the

time the man reports to the aircraft?

A. Well, I think that something short of termi-

nation is the appropriate discipline. Discipline is ap-

propriate, probably appropriate, but not termination.

Q. Okay. And you feel that’s necessary to retain

that discretion in order to break the conspiracy of

silence that exists among pilots?

A. Yes, yes, absolutely.

The pilot who reports for duty while‘ under the influence

of alcohol, but who is intercepted and does not get on the

plane, would be subject to the “compulsory confronta-

tion” option of the Company’s Alcohol Rehabilitation Pro-

gram: either enter the Alcohol Rehabilitation Program

and complete it successfully or be terminated (see above,

p. 24). Grievant was not offered this option on January

10, 1985, because he was not intercepted, did enter the

aircraft, and served as Captain during the Bangor-

Boston flight. It is a reasonable inference that if griev-

70a

ant had been intercepted, given his nineteen years of sat-

isfactory pilot service, he would not have been discharged.

Another difference between the FOPM and actual pol-

icy relates to the first paragraph of Section 3, which sets

forth the 24-hour no-alecohol rule (see above, p. 10).

There is undisputed testimony by grievant (Tr. 721, 778-

9), by F/O Rothbart (Tr. 346-350) and S/O Voorhees

(Tr. 285-6) that violations of this rule were common-

place and that the Company made no serious effort to

enforce it. The validity of this testimony is supported

by the Company’s decision, later in 1985 (after grievant’s

discharge), to eliminate the 24-hour rule and instead to

adopt the FAA’s eight-hour rule.’

Finally, at least in the judgment of the Neutral Chair-

man, the Company failed in this case to apply the un-

equivocal mandate of the fourth paragraph of FOPM

Section 3, a provision that appears in bold-face type:

Any flight crew member who knowingly permits

another flight crew member to attempt to perform

his flight duty while under the influence of intoxi-

cants or drugs shall be considered equally guilty.

The discipline notices issued to each of grievant’s fellow

flight crew members (see above, p. 9) asserted that they

had violated this rule. Although therefore just as guilty

as grievant (“equally guilty”) under the published pol-

icy, neither was discharged. Their initial penalties were

subsequently reduced, according to Captain Alger (Tr.

432-5), in part because they adhered to their claim of not

being aware that grievant was intoxicated and were

given the benefit of the doubt on this point by the Com-

pany. The critical point, here, is that even when the

Company considered Rothbart and Voorhees to have been

10 Captain Alger testified that the Company’s decision to reduce

the penalties initially imposed on F/O Rothbart and on S/O Voor-

hees was based in part on the change from a 24-hour rule to an

8-hour rule (Tr. 425, 431-5).

Tla

in violation of this paragraph, they were issued lesser

penalties than grievant.

The record leaves no doubt in this arbitrator’s mind

that F/O Rothbart and S/O Voorhees must have known

that grievant was impaired.’' Although they are not “on

trial” before this Board, their actions impacted signifi-

cantly on grievant’s fate. Their obvious responsibility

was to have stopped grievant from taking that flight.

Had they done so, Company policy indicates that griev-

ant would not have been discharged and he would have

been offered the option of the Alcohol Rehabilitation Pro-

gram. In addition, an intolerably hazardous incident

would have been avoided. Why didn’t Rothbart and Voor-

hees “intercept” grievant, prevent him from boarding

the flight, and thus—under the Company’s policy as enun-

ciated at the System Board hearing—promote safety

11 Tt would serve no useful purpose to assess in detail all of the

evidence bearing upon this conclusion. It will suffice, at this junc-

ture, to note that three Flight Attendants on board Flight 437 along

with the last boarding passenger had no doubt that grievant was

drunk; that Captain Baker, at Boston, had a similar impression;

that the First Officer (who had earlier advised the rest of the crew

that grievant was “out cold”) assisted grievant into the aircraft

(I do not credit his contradictory testimony); that the Flight At-

tendants were effectively excluded from observing or entering the

cockpit immediately after the Captain’s arrival; that S/O Voorhees

barely opened the cockpit door in response to F/A Surette’s knock

and blocked her view; that when Voorhees went to the galley for

coffee, and Surette repeated the charge that grievant was drunk,

Voorhees returned to the cockpit and passed a note to Rothbart

saying, “We got trouble with the F/A’s”; that Rothbart then di-

rected Voorhees to disconnect the cockpit voice recorder so that the

“problem” could be discussed; that at no time during the trip did

the flight crew permit or invite a Flight Attendant into the cock-

pit; and that after landing at Boston, grievant slipped away to get

coffee while Rothbart sought to convince the three Flight Attend-

ants still in the cabin that nothing was wrong. Of course, as later

established by the blood alcohol test, grievant was in fact substan-

tially “under the influence” during the flight.

Lt .

72a

and save grievant’s job? I must infer that it was be-

cause they were not aware of this Company policy.

Nothing in the record indicates that the Company has

advised its pilot group that a pilot who reports for work

under the influence of alcohol but who is intercepted be-

fore he gets to the plane will probably not be discharged,

but that if this pilot enters the plane his discharge will

be automatic. The FOPM says only that reporting for

flight duty under the influence is cause for discharge.

The Company, in other words, has not effectively im-

plemented the policy it claims to have designed to encour-

age interception in the interest of flight safety. Surely,

if grievant’s fellow crew members had understood that

the best way to protect grievant (and themselves) was to

keep him off the aircraft, this is what they would have

done. Instead, they helped grievant to board and serve

on Flight 437 while attempting to conceal his impaired

condition.

As the Association contends and as the medical evidence

indicates, any pilot who reports for duty under the in-

fluence of aleohol intends to get on the plane and fly the

trip (see above, p. 23). This will happen unless someone

intercepts the pilot and keeps him from boarding. One

must therefore infer that the pilot who reports for duty

while intoxicated but is intercepted has the same faulty

judgment as the intoxicated pilot who is not intercepted.

The Company asserts, however, that the intercepted pilot

will probably not be discharged and can return to the

flight deck if and after he is successfully rehabilitated

and satisfies FAA requirements. The Company does not

deem such a pilot a threat to safety. If that is so, then a

non-intercepted pilot who is similarly rehabilitated and

me2ts all FAA requirements can also safely return

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Air Line Pilots Ass'n, International v. Delta Air Lines, Inc. · 493 U.S. 871 | Frix