Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Glendening v. Florida

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

88-1803 | “FILED

|

ey \ ee ee

=spr F. SPANIOL, JR.

co

\ : CLERK

No.

———————

IN THE ——_

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

DAVID EDWARD GLENDENING,

Petitioner,

v.

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Stuart C. Markman FB #32257]

Counsel of Record

Susan H. Freemon FB #344664

WINKLES, TROMBLEY, KYNES ©

& MARKMAN, P.A.

707 N. Franklin Street

Tenth Floor

P.O. Box 3356

Tampa, Florida 33601

813/229-7918

Counsel for Petitioner

II.

III.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does using a two-way mirror to prevent the complain-

ing witness from seeing or hearing the Petitioner, over

objection and without an individualized showing of

necessity, conflict with Coy v. Jowa and thereby violate

the Petitioner’s sixth amendment confrontation right?

Does admitting over objection the repudiated hearsay

statements of a three and one-half year old complain-

ing witness who did not understand the difference be-

tween telling the truth and telling a lie conflict with

Ohio v. Roberts and thereby violate the Petitioner’s

sixth amendment confrontation right?

Does applying Florida’s new statutory child abuse hear-

say exception to an offense occurring before its effec-

tive date to allow otherwise inadmissible hearsay into

evidence on the theory that unconfronted videotaped

testimony is constitutionally equivalent to live, con-

fronted testimony at trial substantially diminish the

constitutional right to confrontation in violation of the

prohibition against ex post facto laws?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CHIESTIONS PRESEN ERG . 663 since ce ieee sees

CPT bak 5 hae Sb iver end rena eee

PU CG ek kn ae See eee eee eee

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

PPE FER si VA RRS e as on ene Oe ee ee

STATEMENT OF Tete CASE ccna ccs einos tives

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............

-

USING A TWO-WAY MIRROR TO PREVENT

THE COMPLAINING WITNESS FROM SEE-

ING OR HEARING THE PETITIONER, OVER

OBJECTION AND WITHOUT AN IN-

DIVIDUALIZED SHOWING OF NECESSITY,

CONFLICTED WITH COY V. IOWA AND

THEREBY VIOLATED THE PETITIONER’S

SIXTH AMENDMENT CONFRONTATION

4 | ere ee ee ey ere re ith

A. Inconflict with Coy, the Florida videotap-

ing statute did not require and the trial judge did

not make an individualized finding of necessity

to justify an exception to the right to face-to-face

COMTRONOIOON ss o55 4 Win a aon eee

B. In conflict with Cov, the Florida Supreme

Court erroneously analyzed harmless error by

considering only the tainted, unconfronted

testimony and not the remaining evidence in the

CNOG con ike ee be ene eee

ADMITTING OVER OBJECTION THE

REPUDIATED HEARSAY STATEMENTS OF

A THREE AND ONE-HALF YEAR OLD

COMPLAINING WITNESS WHO DID NOT

UNDERSTAND THE DIFFERENCE BET-

WEEN TELLING THE TRUTH AND TELL-

ING A LIE CONFLICTED WITH OHIO V.

iil

ROBERTS AND THEREBY VIOLATED THE

PETITIONER’S SIXTH AMENDMENT CON-

eg 8 4 et a 18

Ill. APPLYING FLORIDA’S NEW STATUTORY

CHILD ABUSE HEARSAY EXCEPTION TO

AN OFFENSE OCCURRING BEFORE ITS EF-

FECTIVE DATE TO ALLOW OTHERWISE

INADMISSIBLE HEARSAY INTO EVIDENCE

ON THE THEORY THAT UNCONFRONTED

VIDEOTAPED TESTIMONY IS CONSTITU-

TIONALLY EQUIVALENT TO LIVE, CON-

FRONTED TESTIMONY AT TRIAL SUB-

STANTIALLY DIMINISHED THE CON-

STITUTIONAL RIGHT TO CONFRONTA-

TION IN VIOLATION OF THE PROHIBI-

TION AGAINST EX POST FACTO LAWS.. 23

ee 25

EE COECMEWOO ee eee 26

APPENDIX

Opinion and Judgment of District Court of Appeal A-]

Opinion and Judgment of Florida Supreme Court . A-!1

8 A-27

rr PM eSeCSGs),..................04 A-28

Record excerpts of child competency hearing ....... A -30

Comparison and Review of State Videotaping

ke ee eee ee eee A-33

Opinion and Judgment of District Court of Appeal

before modification on hearing ................... A-45

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Beazell v. Ohio, 269 U.S. 167, 46S. Ct. 68,

(2 ee el DL 3.) Re ee eee eat 24

Calder v. Bull,

fo ee SES Sh. eee eee ee 24

Commonwealth v. Haber,

$51 Pa. Super. 79,505 A.20 £73 (098O) . ws kn os ss 14

Commonwealth v. Willis,

A eh Re 7: AR | ee ree eet 14, 17

Cop v. Towa, 2. hk eens 1S SD. GU. IE,

SOS 5. Ce: a MESO kek) cx ev eeeeacso nase passim

Craig v. State, 76 Md. App. 250, 544 A.2d 784

(Ct. Spec. App.), cert. granted, 314 Md. 458,

pee ee Be 8g: RS eee ore re 10

Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 91S. Ct. 210,

Fe he ee ee EE ne allen Uae oes RARER 19

Glendening v. State,

S06 Se, 26 355 ( 20 ELA. PSST). nee cess passim

Glendening v. State,

S56: Gb; 2 Bre CO SEA ce eco cee hakeaue eee passim

Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, 457 U.S.

596, 102 S. Ct. 2613, 73 L. Ed. 2d 248 (1982) ....13, 14

Hall v. State,

44 Crim. L. Rep. 2396 (Miss. 1969).............. 10

Hochheiser v. Superior Court, 161 Cal. App. 3d 777,

208 Cel. Retr. 273 (aa Dist. 1964) ........... 10, 14, 17

Huff v. White Motor Corp.,

oe & Fe, Ee Oey. | enero e ree 22

Jaggers v. State,

S36 So. 20 321 (Pia. 20 D-C.A. 1966) joins 17

Ketcham vy. State,

240 Ind. 107, 162 N.E.2d 247 (1959) .>.......... 14, 22

Miller v. Florida, U.S. , 107 S. Ct. 2446,

fe SB. oy eee ont eee 24

Miller v. State,

SOF Te ee re ET ko ncn kN Kee Eh 14

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S. Ct. 2531,

A eR | re 16, 19, 20

People v. Johnson, 146 Ill. App. 3d 640, 100 III. Dec. 330,

497 N.E.2d 308 (Sth Dist. 1986), rev’d, 118 Ill. 2d 501,

115 Ill. Dec. 384, 517 N.E.2d 1070 (1987) ........ 10

State v. Cooper,

291 S.C... 351, 208 decd Set CRO ee oka cess 14

State v. Eastham, 39 Ohio St. 3d 307,

530 N.E.2d 409 (1988) (per curiam).............. 14

State v. Eaton,

44 Crim. L. Rep. 2444 (Kan. 1989) .............. 10

State v. J.C.E.,

po ee a 20

State v. Kuone,

243 Kan. 218, 757 P.2d 289 (1988)............... 10

State v. Paster,

Oe ) a 21, 22

State v. Robinson,

153 Ariz. 191, 735 P.2d 801 (1987) (en banc) ..... 14

State v. Sanchez,

752 S.W.2d 319 (Mo. 1988) (en banc) ............ 10

State v. Segerberg,

131 Conn. 546, 41 A.2d 101 (1945) ......0000.... 21

State v. Tafoya, 108 N.M. 1, 765 P.2d 1183 (Ct. App.

1988), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 1572 (1989)........ 14

State v. Thomas, 144 Wis. 2d 876, 425 N.W.2d 641,

reconsideration granted, 434 N.W.2d 786 (1988)... 14

State v. Vincent,

768 P.2d 150 (Ariz. 1989) (en banc).............. 10

State v. Wilson,

156 Ohio St. 525, 103 N.E.2d 552 (1952) ......... 22

Strickland v. State,

44 Crim. L. Rep. 2085 (Ala. 1988)............... 17

Weaver v. Graham,

450 U.S. 24, 101 S. Ct. 960, 67 L. Ed. 2d 17 (1981) 23

Wildermuth v. State,

310 Md. 496, 530 A.2d 275 (1987) ............... 10

vi

Constitutional Provisions:

U.S. Const., Art. £8 Biles eee eee, 23

U.S. Const., Art. 3, © 30h i ee ee 23

Statutes:

Act of May 31, 1985, ch. 85-53, 1985 Fla. Laws 140 ..10, 11

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-1 (Michie Supp. 1988) .......... 14

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2 (Michie Supp. 1988) .......... 12

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-3-413 (Bradford 1986) ....11, 12

Fla. Stat. § 90.GOS(2) CR0GT) cas ok ee eas cee ess 18

Fla. Stat. § 90.005¢03) (ISBT) coe ee passim

Fia. Seat. § 92.53 (IORI). ccs chee eee es passim

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 415.504 (West Supp. 1989) ............ 23

Ind. Code Ann. § 35-37-4-6 (West 1986) ................ 1]

Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 9-102 (Supp. 1986) ....

Mich. Stat. Ann. § 27A.2163 (Cailaghan Supp. 1988)..... 11

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02 (West Supp. 1989) ........ 11, 14

Miss. Code Ann. § 13-1-407 (Harrison/Law. Co-op.

Supp. 1968)... .....s: 0.5545 ene eee kee ss 12

Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.680 (Vernon Supp. 1989) .......... 12

N.M. Sup. Ct. R Ann. 1986, 5-504 (Cum. Supp. 1988) ...11

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41 (Page 1987) ......... 11, 14

S.D. Code Ann. § 23A-12-9 (Supp. 1987) ............... 11

28 U.S.C.A. § 1257(a) (West Supp. 1989) ................ 2

Vt. R. Evid. § 807 (Saupe. TORR eee heehee ees

Wis. Stat. Ann. § 967.04 (West Supp. 1987) Raa brett eae. 12

Articles:

Abusing the System, Tampa Tribune, Sept. 7 1987 at 10-A,

ce ar eg er

Benesck & Schetsky, Allegations of Sexual Abuse and Child

Custody Cases, Emerging Issues in Child Psychiatry and

MEE OED oo. cc wucaccececsabsscseues

Blodgett, Coping With Child Abuse, 73 A.B.A. J. 26 (May

ee eka shee hae ekeekaubans

Bulkley, /ntroduction: Background and Overview of Child

Sexual Abuse, 40 U. Miami L. Rev. 5 (1985)........

Davis, Confrontation and Hearsay Statements of Child

Victims of Sexual Abuse, Fla. B.J., Oct. 1988 at 33 .

Dunn, Accusation Makes Life a Nightmare, Tampa Tribune,

CN Fe Se Se ge

Frank, Confronting Child Victims of Sex Abuse: The

Unconstitutionality of the Sexual Abuse Hearsay

Exception, 7 U. Puget Sound L. Rev. 387 (1984) ....

Gordon, False Accusations of Abuse in Child Custody

ee,

Mclver, The Case for a Therapeutic Interview in Situations

of Alleged Sexual Molestation, THE CHAMPION,

EG 66h 69'S kK vk Ne ead ee ex seas

Taylor, Lawyers Consider the Alternatives, Nat’! L.J., Mar.

I ew we emeunn

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1989

DAVID EDWARD GLENDENING

STATE OF FLORIDA,

+> . .*

Responden.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

lO THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Petitioner David Edward Glendening respectfully prays that

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion ot

ihe Florida Supreme Court, entered in the above-entitled pro

eeding on December 1, 1988. Rehearing was denied by the

Florida Supreme Court on February 3, 1989.

OPINIONS BELOW

lhe intermediate Florida appellate court, the Second District

Court of Appeal, issued a modified opinion affirming the Peti-

tioner’s conviction in Glendening v. State, 503 So. 2d 335 (Fla.

2d D.C.A. 1987), reprinted in the appendix, p. A-1, infra. The

Supreme Court of Florida also affirmed in Glendening y. State,

$36 So. 2d 212 (Fla. 1988), reprinted in the appendix, p. A-11,

infra. Over a dissent, the Florida Supreme Court denied the Peti-

tioner’s motion for rehearing and clarification.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks review of the Florida Supreme Court's

2

December 1, 1988, affirmance of his conviction and its February

3, 1989, denial of his timely petition for rehearing. On March

16, 1989, Justice Anthony M. Kennedy entered an order extend-

ing the time for filing this petition to and including May 4, 1989.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.A. §

1257(a) (West Supp. 1989).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

1. The Sixth Amendment provides in pertinent part:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right. . .to be confronted with the witnesses against

him.

2. Fla. Stat. § 92.53 (1987), the Florida statute permitting

the replaying of videotaped depositions in lieu of the live

testimony of witnesses under age sixteen in sexual or child abuse

cases, is reprinted in the appendix, p. A-27, infra.

3. Fla. Stat. § 90.803(23) (1987), the Florida hearsay ex-

ception for the statements of children in sexual abuse cases, 1s

reprinted in the appendix, p. A-29, infra.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Based on an allegation of anal penetration, Petitioner David

Edward Glendening was charged with a single count of sexual

battery on a child eleven years of age or younger. He was con-

victed and sentenced to life imprisonment with a mandatory

minimum term of twenty-five years. Glendening, 536 So. 2d at

214.

Before trial the State of Florida moved pursuant to a new

Florida statute to videotape the testimony of the alleged victim,

the Petitioner’s three and one-half year old daughter, and to in-

troduce the videotape at trial in lieu of the child’s live testimony.

The statute provided that on a showing-of a ‘‘substantial

likelihood’’ the witness ‘‘would suffer at least moderate emo-

tional or mental harm”’ if required to testify in open court, the

court could require the defendant to view her testimony from

3

outside her presence by a two-way mirror, so that the defendant

could observe and hear her testimony, but the child could not

see or hear the defendant. Fla. Stat. § 92.53(1), (4) (1987).

Petitioner Glendening vigorously opposed the prosecution’s

motion for videotaping. He argued that concealing him from the

child’s sight and hearing by using a two-way mirror and replay-

ing the videotape at trial instead of requiring her to testify live

in his presence violated his sixth amendment right to face-to-face

confrontation. R 199, 200, 290, 294, 554.

The State contended the videotaping procedure did not in-

fringe the Petitioner’s sixth amendment right on the theory that

while the confrontation clause guarantees cross-examination, it

does not afford the accused a literal right to physically confront

his accuser face-to-face at trial. The prosecutor stated:

The defense is arguing David Glendening won’t get to

look his daughter in the eye. Well, | don’t know what

the purpose of that is other than intimidation because

that’s not the purpose of the confrontation clause. The

confrontation [clause] is for the purpose of cross-

examination and the purpose of allowing the witness

and the jury to see each other and evaluate credibility.

It has nothing to do with the defendant’s right of

physical confrontation.

R 209 (emphasis supplied).

The risk of ‘‘moderate emotional or mental harm’’ that the

State had to prove before the videotaping would be permitted

was not defined by the statute, although the statute did require

the trial court to conduct a hearing and make specific findings

of fact as to the basis for its ruling. Fla. Stat. § 92.53(1), (7) (1987).

To resolve the ‘‘moderate emctiona! or mental harm’’ issue, the

trial court received testimony from two lay people, a social

worker, and a pediatrician. Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 218. The

child did not testify.

There was no testimony at the hearing from a psychologist,

psychiatrist, or other qualified mental health professional that

4

the child would suffer moderate emotional or mental harm if

required to testify in her father’s presence. While the State did

present testimony that the child feared her father, a substantial

amount of evidence and argument was either inconsequential or

went only to show the child would, if required to testify live and

in court, experience the same general fears and anxieties any child

witness would assertedly experience in the same circumstance. '

Before he had even passed on the question of whether the

child’s testimony would be taken by videotape, the trial judge

announced that the Petitioner would be excluded from the child’s

presence. R 245. Finding there was not yet sufficient evidence

of a risk of moderate emotional harm to order the child’s

testimony videotaped, the court stated that irrespective of his

eventual decision on the videotaping motion, Petitioner would

not be permitted to physically confront the child face-to-face at

any stage of the proceedings. Without articulating any test, stan-

dard, rule, or legal basis for his decision, the trial judge stated:

Right now based upon what I’ve heard here, the action

that the court would take would be to have the father

so that the child would not see the father if she had

to testify in court and I would grant your motion, |

mean I would assure you that I would do that, I would

not allow physical confrontation between the child and

the father here in the courtroom or prior to being in

the courtroom. But I would not at this point grant your

motion for the videotape. I believe there would need

to be additional facts.

R 245.

After taking additional testimony, the trial judge granted

1/ For example, the prosecutor contended generally that the child’s age, three

and one-half years, in and of itself made the situation ‘‘intimidating?’ R 244.

The social worker stated ‘‘in general most three and one-half year olds would

be frightened by coming into this strange environment with so many people

around getting asked a lot of questions?’ R 275. The pediatrician, who had

examined the child for only twenty minutes four months earlier, conceded he

did not know the status of the child’s mental condition at the time of the hearing.

R 259, 263-64, 285. The child’s mother had never even explored the question

of testifying with the child. R 224-25.

the State’s motion to replay the child’s videotape in lieu of her

live trial testimony, and confirmed his earlier statement that he

would exclude the Petitioner from the child’s presence. R 286,

556. Ruling summarily without mentioning any specific facts or

evidence, the judge simply recited the statutory boilerplate. R

286. The court’s written order merely stated the motion was

**sranted.’’ R 394.

Before trial, Petitioner Glendening moved to exclude the out-

of-court statements purportedly made by the child that the State

was seeking to introduce through a recently enacted Florida statute

creating a new hearsay exception for statements of children in

sex abuse cases. As he had done previously in challenging the

videotaping statute, Petitioner Glendening urged the new hear-

Say exception was unconstitutional under the sixth amendment

confrontation clause. Because he was charged with an offense

allegedly occurring before the statute’s effective date, he also con-

tended its application to his case violated the prohibition against

ex post facto laws. Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 214.

The trial court and the parties recognized that before the

child would be permitted to testify live or by videotape, it first

had to be determined that she was a competent witness under

Florida law. Glendening, 503 So. 2d at 338; R 311, 423, 708. The

defense argued strenuously and repeatedly that the child lacked

the competency to be a witness. /d. at 219; R 41, 75, 311, 423,

710, 735-80. At the videotaping session before she was permitted

to testify as to the facts of the case, the child was examined by

the court and by the prosecutor to determine her competency.

R 756-68.

Under Florida law, a child is not competent to testify unless

the ‘‘court determines the child understands the duty to tell the

truth or the duty not to lie.’’ Fla. Stat. § 90.605(2) (1987).

2/_ The statute, reprinted in the appendix, p. A-29, infra, provides that otherwise

inadmissible hearsay statements of children in such cases are admissible if the

trial court finds ‘‘sufficient safeguards of reliability?’ and the child either

“testifies,” or is “‘unavailable’’ due to a substantial likelihood that participation

in the trial will result in ‘‘severe emotional or mental harm!’ Fla. Stat. §

90.803(23) (1987).

6

Repeated questioning revealed the child did not know the mean-

ing of telling the truth or telling a lie, and that she could not

distinguish good from bad.* The trial judge specifically found

the child did not know the meaning of telling the truth or telling

a lie and was not able to distinguish between the words ‘‘truth’’

and ‘‘lie.’’ The court also found the child did not understand

the concept of ‘‘good or bad,’’ and that she was ‘‘unable to arti-

culate the difference between right and wrong or telling the truth

or telling a lie.’”’ R 761-62, 764, 767-68, 771-72, 778-79, 787. Even

the prosecutor conceded that the child was incompetent and

unable to distinguish between the truth and a lie. R 913.

Nevertheless, confessing he did not know the correct legal

test to apply, the trial judge ruled the child competent. R 779-80.

Candidly admitting his uncertainty, the court suggested this issue

would be better handled by the appellate courts:

I don’t really think there are any cases that have

specifically decided if that in that context, | mean

they’ve written these wonderful statutes about young

children coming in and testifying, but I don’t think in

any of them have clearly decided, and clearly she was

unable to articulate the difference between right and

wrong and telling the truth or telling a lie. So I think

this is a good case for [the appellate courts] to decide.

R 787 (emphasis supplied).

The child’s videotaped testimony, which was eventually

presented to the jury, totally exculpated and exonerated the Peti-

tioner. Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 218. Responding to at least

18 questions from the State and the court, many of which were

repetitive, leading and suggested incriminatory responses, the child

steadfastly denied the Petitioner had ever committed the sexual

3/ Pertinent portions of the transcript of the competency hearing are

reproduced in the appendix, p. A-30, infra.

battery alleged.* R 792-98; 835, 837-39. In contradiction to all

of the child’s incriminating hearsay statements the prosecution

had given notice it intended to introduce, the child ‘‘not only

did not implicate the defendant in any wrongdoing, but specifical-

.y Stated that he had not hurt her.’’ Glendening, 536 So. 2d at

218.5

On appeal, the Supreme Court of Florida approved the deci-

sion of the District Court of Appeal and affirmed the Petitioner’s

conviction. Glendening, 536 So. 2d 212. Although using the two-

way mirror during the videotaping had completely prevented the

child from having ever seen or heard the Petitioner at any phase

of the prosecution, the Florida Supreme Court declined to reverse

under this Court’s recent decision in Coy v. Iowa, US. ,

108 S. Ct. 2798, 101 L. Ed. 2d 857 (1988), concluding instead

that the instant case was distinguishable and that any errors were

harmless.® Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 217-18. The court also held

the trial judge did not abuse his discretion in determining the child

was competent to testify, and that in any event, it was not

necessary for the child to be testimonially competent for her hear-

say statements to be admitted.’ Jd. at 219. Further, the Florida

Supreme Court held the application of the new hearsay excep-

tion to Petitioner’s case did not violate the prohibition against

ex post facto laws.

4/ When repeated questioning failed to elicit even a single incriminating

remark, the court adjourned the proceeding, suggesting the child was fatigued

and unable to give ‘‘meaningful’’ testimony. R 800, 802-03, 814. When asked

by the court and the prosecutor, however, the child stated that she was not tired.

R 795, 802. Questioning resumed the next day, and the child’s testimony remained

totally exculpatory. R 835, 837-39. When it was again suggested her responses

were the result of fatigue, the child replied, as before, that she was not tired.

R 838.

5/ Apparently prompted by the child’s exoneration of the Petitioner and

refutation of her own hearsay statements, the trial court inquired of the State

if it intended to go forward with the prosecution. R 823.

6/ Coy was not decided until after the close of the briefing and oral argument

in this case, so that its application to the instant facts was not argued by the

Petitioner until he filed his motion for rehearing, after the Florida Supreme

Court had already issued its opinion affirming the conviction.

7/ The intermediate appellate court declined to affirm the trial judge’s

competency ruling, instead holding only that her competency was not a

precondition to admitting her hearsay statements. Glendening, 503 So. 2d at 340.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. USING A TWO-WAY MIRROR TO PREVENT

THE COMPLAINING WITNESS FROM SEEING

OR HEARING THE PETITIONER, OVER OBJEC-

TION AND WITHOUT AN INDIVIDUALIZED

SHOWING OF NECESSITY, CONFLICTED WITH

COY V. IOWA AND THEREBY VIOLATED THE

PETITIONER’S SIXTH AMENDMENT CON-

FRONTATION RIGHT.

In Coy v. lowa, Je. , 108 S. Ct. 2798, 101 L.

Ed. 2d 857 (1988), the United States Supreme Court held the sixth

amendment right to face-to-face confrontation was violated by

an Iowa statute permitting use of a large screen at trial that en-

abled the defendant to perceive his child accusers but complete-

ly prevented the witnesses from seeing him. Exactly like the screen

in Coy, the two-way mirror used in this case completely prevented

the witness from hearing or seeing the Petitioner. Nevertheless,

the Florida Supreme Court upheld the constitutionality of the

Florida videotaping statute, holding Coy was distinguishable and

any error was harmless. Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 212, 217-18.

Because the Supreme Court of Florida’s analysis directly con-

flicts with Coy, certiorari should be granted.

A. Inconflict with Coy, the Florida videotaping statute did not

require and the trial judge did not make an individualized

finding of necessity to justify an exception to the right to

face-to-face confrontation.

In Coy, this Court held that a legislatively imposed presump-

tion that child witnesses in sex abuse cases will experience trauma

in testifying is mot a ‘‘necessity’’ in furtherance of an ‘‘impor-

tant public policy’’ that would justify an exception to the literal

right to ‘‘meet face-to-face all those who appear and give evidence

at trial.’’ 108 S. Ct. at 2803 (emphasis in original). Leaving open

the question of whether any exceptions to this right exist, the

Supreme Court specifically held that such a presumption, without

individualized findings that particular witnesses needed special

protection, ‘‘could not be sustained by any conceivable excep-

tion.’’ Jd.

9

The Florida Supreme Court’s decision in Glendening con-

flicts with Coy because it upheld a statute authorizing denial of

a defendant’s right to face-to-face confrontation based on the

same legislative presumption of trauma expressly disapproved in

Coy. In distinguishing Coy, the Supreme Court of Florida deemed

the trial court’s quotation of the statutory language with the

child’s name inserted to be a ‘‘case-specific finding of necessity”’

in furtherance of an important public policy to protect child

witnesses. 536 So. 2d at 218. Such a finding based on a risk of

“*moderate’’ emotional harm goes only to the same ‘‘legislative-

ly imposed presumption of trauma’’ that Coy rejects as justify-

ing an exception to rights under the confrontation clause.

As this Court noted in Coy, trauma is a necessary compo-

nent of our adversary system of justice and an important feature

of the right to face-to-face confrontation. It is the aim of the

confrontation clause to secure for a criminal defendant ‘‘the pro-

found effect upon a witness of standing in the presence of the

person the witness accuses,’’ even if ‘‘[t]hat face-to-face presence

may, unfortunately, upset the truthful rape victim or abused

child?’ 108 S. Ct. at 2802. Confrontation may also ‘‘confound

and undo the false accuser, or reveal the child coached by a

malevolent adult?’ /d.

A finding of ‘‘moderate emotional harm’’ under the Florida

statute cannot be distinguished from the normal effect of con-

frontation on any witness the confrontation clause requires the

10

State to produce.’ In contrast to Florida’s insufficient standard,

the courts of other states have required that the child witness be

rendered unable to communicate in the defendant’s presence. See

State v. Vincent, 768 P.2d 150, 164 (Ariz. 1989); People v.

Johnson, 118 Ill. 2d 501, 115 Ill. Dec. 384, 517 N.E.2d 1070

(1987); State v. Eaton, 44 Crim. L. Rep. 2444 (Kan. 1989);

Wildermuth v. State, 310 Md. 496, 530 A.2d 275, 286 (1987);

State v. Sanchez, 752 S.W.2d 319, 322-23 (Mo. 1988) (en banc).

A number of other states’ statutes also hinge videotaped testimony

on standards much more demanding than Florida’s ‘‘moderate

8/ The situation would be different if the Florida statute protected against

a properly defined risk of ‘‘severe’’ or ‘‘permanent’’ harm. Ironically, before

its amendment in 1985, the Florida videotaping statute required proof of ‘‘severe’’

rather than mere ‘‘moderate’’ harm. Act of May 31, 1985, ch. 85-53, § 5, 1985

Fla. Laws 140, 142 (codified at Fla. Stat. § 92.53). Likewise, the new Florida

statutory hearsay exception for statements of child witnesses in child sex abuse

cases allows introduction of hearsay of children who are otherwise ‘‘unavailable”’

due to a substantial likelihood of ‘severe emotional or mental harm?” Fla. Stat.

§ 90.803(23)(a)(2)(b) (1987) (emphasis supplied).

Relatedly, to avoid face-to-face confrontation, other states demand the child

must evince more than nervousness, excitement, or reluctance. Craig v. State,

76 Md. App. 250, 544 A.2d 784, 801 (Ct. Spec. App.), cert. granted, 314 Md.

458, 550 A.2d 1168 (Md. 1988); see also Hochheiser v. Superior Court, 161 Cal.

App. 3d 777, 792, 208 Cal. Rptr. 273, 283 (2d Dist. 1984); State v. Kuone, 243

Kan. 218, 757 P.2d 289, 297 (1988). It has been recognized that mere reluctance

in contrast to actual inability may stem from fabrication as well as fear,

embarrassment, and guilt. People v. Johnson, 146 Ill. App. 3d 640, 100 III. Dec.

330, 497 N.E.2d 308, 318 (Sth Dist. 1986) (Harrison, J., dissenting), rev‘d, 118

Ill. 2d 501, 115 Ill. Dec. 384, 512 N.E. 2d 1070 (1987). In fact, whether testimony

in court is really even traumatic for children is hotly disputed. See Hail v. State,

44 Crim. L. Rep. 2396 (Miss. 1989). It may be less traumatic for children than

it is for adults, see Bulkley, /ntroduction: Background and Overview of Child

Sexual Abuse, 40 U. Miami L. Rev. 5, 11 (1985), or even therapeutic. /d. at 10;

Taylor, Lawyers Consider the Alternatives, Nat'l L. J., Mar. 20, 1989, at 26,

col. 3.

emotional harm.’’?

Telling evidence that the Florida statute is founded on the

same “‘legislatively imposed presumption of trauma’’ Coy disap-

proved is, ironically, presented in the Florida Supreme Court’s

own decision. Acknowledging the State legislature’s general in-

tention in enacting the videotaping statute was to spare children

- all children - the trauma of testifying in open court,’® the Florida

Supreme Court quoted the prefatory language of the statute where

the legislature declared: ‘‘WHEREAS, it is necessary that safe-

guards be instituted for the children of the State of Florida who

are victimized to assure that their right to be free from emotional

harm and trauma occasioned by judicial proceedings is protected

by the court....’’ Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 216 n.1."

Furthermore, the standard of necessity in the Florida statute

9/ Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-3-413(4) (Bradford 1986) (emotional trauma so

that victim is medically or otherwise unavailable); Ind. Code Ann. §

35-37-4-6(c)(2)(B) (West 1986) (unavailable if psychiatrist certifies that testifying

would be traumatic or physician certifies medical reasons for child not to testify);

Mich. Stat. Ann. § 27A.2163(13) (Callaghan Supp. 1988) (incapable of testifying);

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4) (West Supp. 1989)(psychologically traumatize so

as to render witness unavailable); N.M. Sup. Ct. R. Ann. 1986, 5-504(B)(1) (Cum.

Supp. 1988) (unreasonable or unnecessary harm); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §

2907.41(B)(1)(b) (Page 1987) (serious emotional trauma); S.D. Code Ann. §

23A-12-9 (Supp. 1987) (substantially detrimental).

10/_ The Florida statute is in this respect even broader and less defensible than

the unconstitutional statute in Coy. The lowa statute applied only to the children

most at risk of experiencing serious emotional harm, the complaining witnesses.

108 S. Ct. at 2799. The Florida Statute, on the other hand, applies to any ‘‘victim

or witness who is under the age of sixteen?’ Fla. Stat. § 92.53(1) (1987) (emphasis

supplied).

11/_ Not quoted by the Florida Supreme Court but also showing the statute

was based on the same presumption impermissible in Coy and is focused solely

on the general characteristics of age and status rather than individualized

considerations of specific harm, the Florida legislature also stated: ‘‘ WHEREAS,

children are in need of special protection as victims or witnesses in the judicial

system as a result of their age and vulnerability . . . ?’ Act of May 31, 1985,

ch. 85-53, 1985 Fla. Laws 140 (emphasis supplied).

12

is too vague to provide adequate guidance to the court hearing

the motion. The ‘‘moderate emotional or mental harm’’ the State

must show for excluding a defendant is left undefined, and there

is no indication of what is necessary to show a ‘‘substantial

likelihood”’ of a child experiencing it. Unlike other statutes, the

Florida statute does not include any factors to be considered, any

standard of proof, or any indication of what evidence is a proper

ground for the determination. It does not even require the trial

court to personally examine the child. The statutes of other states

direct trial judges to consider specific behavioral indicators'* or

various factual circumstances of the child, the offense, and the

defendant.'?

Contrary to the Florida Supreme Court’s attempt to

distinguish Coy, the Florida statute is not salvaged by the addi-

tional requirement that the trial court must make specific find-

ings showing the basis for ‘‘moderate harm.”’ Such findings, even

if detailed and specific, can have no significance since they are

made in furtherance of the invalid ‘‘moderate harm”’ standard.

Moreover, even if the required findings could cure the statute’s

facial unconstitutionality, certiorari should still be granted because

the trial court in this case made no such findings at all.'*

Although the trial judge’s decision to forbid the Petitioner

the opportunity to confront the child face-to-face was apparently

based on the trial judge’s conclusion that the child feared the

Petitioner, since no specific findings were made, its precise basis

cannot be known. The trial court’s ruling excluding the Petitioner

12/ Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-3-413(3) (Bradford 1986); Miss. Code Ann.

§ 13-1-407(4) (Harrison/Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988).

13/. Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp. 1988) (age and maturity o1

child, nature of offense, nature of testimony expected, possible effect of

testimony at trial along with any other relevant matters required by Supreme

Court rule); Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.680(a) (Vernon Supp. 1989) (elements of

offense charged, emotional and psychological trauma if required to testify in

open court or to be brought into the personal presence of the defendant); Wis.

Stat. Ann. § 967.04(7)(b) (West Supp. 1987) (10 factors listed).

14/. The court ruled summarily and cited no evidence in support of his deci-

sion. At the hearing, he simply recited the statutory boilerplate that there was

‘*a substantial likelihood’’ that the child would, if required to testify, ‘‘suffer

at least moderate emotional or mental harm.”’ R 286. His written order stated

only that the motion was ‘“‘granted.’’ R 394.

EES a, ie

13

came at the same time he declared the State had not yet proved

even a likelihood of the moderate emotional or mental harm

required for videotaping. R 245. For this reason, the generalized

‘‘fear’’ on which the judge’s ruling was based could not have

risen even to the low level of the constitutionally deficient

moderate harm the statute required for videotaping.

The trial court’s eventual ruling to permit videotaping based

on a risk of moderate emotional or mental harm does not cure

the constitutional error. Since in violation of the Florida statute

the court made no individualized findings of fact on the record

showing the basis for his rulings, it cannot be known whether

the trial judge relied at least in part on testimony and argument

going to show that the child in this case would suffer the same

generalized, non-specific trauma, harm, and anxiety that any

similarly situated three and one-half year old would experience.

Such generalized, presumed trauma is insufficient under Coy.

At this writing, thirty-seven states have statutes authoriz-

ing the videotaping of children’s testimony. Predictably, these

statutory responses differ dramatically.'® If any exception to the

right to face-to-face confrontation is recognized, it must be

necessary to further an important public policy, Coy, 108 S. Ct.

at 2803, and must be narrowly drawn. Globe Newspaper Co. v.

Superior Court, 457 U.S. 596, 607, 102 S. Ct. 2613, 2620, 73

L. Ed. 2d 248 (1982). Any intrusion on the right must be tailored

precisely to fit the particular child witness. Coy, 108 S. Ct. at

2803. To protect the right to face-to-face confrontation, in

evaluating the child, the court must first determine whether the

source of potential trauma to the child is testimony in court or

testimony in the defendant’s presence.'® Then the court can select

the manner of testimony that best fits the individual child. There

15/_ The variations in the state statutes are reviewed in the appendix, p. A-33.

16/ The trial court in the case at hand did just the reverse. Based on testimony

by the mother and guardian ad litem and without ever examining the child,

he determined that the child would not be deposed in her father’s presence.

The court then required the prosecution to present testimony in support of its

motion to videotape the deposition. R 245.

14

are a number of alternatives less intrusive’’ than total exclusion

of the defendant.'®

‘‘Society’s need to prosecute accused abusers is no greater

than its need to preserve the Constitution.’’ State v. Robinson,

153 Ariz. 191, 735 P.2d 801, 814 (1987) (en banc). Petitioner’s

case presents an important opportunity for this Court to guide

state courts and legislatures in their efforts to preserve the con-

stitutional rights guaranteed to the accused while accommodating

child witnesses!$

B. Inconflict with Coy, the Florida Supreme Court erroneously

analyzed harmiess error by considering only the tainted, un-

confronted testimony and not the remaining evidence in the

case.

17/ The court may exclude spectators, Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior

Court, 457 U.S. 596, 102 S. Ct. 2613, 73 L. Ed. 2d 248 (1982); State v. Cooper,

291 S.C. 351, 353 S.E.2d 451, 455 n.1 (1987) (collecting statutes); or the child

may be less traumatized in open court as opposed to the close quarters of

chambers. Commonwealth v. Willis, 716 S.W.2d 224, 233 (Ky. 1986). Other

less restrictive alternatives include allowing the presence of a supportive adult,

see Hochheiser v. Superior Court, 161 Cal. App. 3d at 788, 208 Cal Rptr. at

279: State v. Thomas, 144 Wis. 2d 876, 425 N.W.2d 641, 643 (child testified

from mother’s lap); State v. Cooper, 291 S.C. 351, 353 S.E.2d at 453; statutes

collected in the appendix, p. A-41, or the use of leading questions. Ala. Code

Ann. § 15-25=1 (Michie Supp. 1988). Courts may deny continuances, limit ques-

tioning and voir dire, Hochheiser, 161 Cal. App. 3d at 791 n.9, 208 Cal. Rptr.

at 282 n.9, or reduce the number of court appearances. See Miller v. State,

517 N.E.2d 64, 73 (Ind. 1987).

18/ At least two states allow the child to view the defendant on a television

monitor during his or her testimony. Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4)(c)(2) (West

Supp. 1989); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(2) (Page 1987). The Supreme

Court of Ohio observed that such a provision is ‘‘somewhat less intrusive on

a defendant’s nght of confrontation’’ than totally precluding the witness’

awareness of the defendant’s presence as was done in this case. State v. Eastham,

39 Ohio St. 3d 307, 530 N.E. 2d 409, 412 n.5 (1988) (per curiam). See also

State v. Tafoya, 108 N.M. 1, 765 P.2d 1183, 1184 (Ct. App. 1988), cert. denied,

109 S. Ct. 1572 (1989) (witnesses aware that defendant could see them);

Hochheiser v. Superior Court, 161 Cal. App. 3d at 788, 208 Cal. Rptr. at 280

(1984) (monitors in room with child showed defendant, judge, and examining

attorney). The witnesses in Coy must have known that although the screen

erected in the courtroom prevented them from seeing the defendant, he could

see them, and the Iowa statute requires the court to inform them of this fact.

Coy, 108 S. Ct. at 2806 n.2 (Blackmun, J., dissenting).

19/ As one court noted, legislators are politically motivated to vote in favor

of statutes designed to make it easier to convict persons accused of child abuse

and leave it to the courts to deal with the ramifications. Commonwealth vy.

Haber, 351 Pa. Super. 79, 505 A.2d 273, 275 n.1 (1986).

15

In holding that any error in denying Petitioner his right to

face-to-face confrontation of the videotape was harmless, the

Florida Supreme Court did not review the record evidence to

determine whether the errors were harmless beyond a reasonable

doubt. Instead, focusing solely and exclusively on the specific

unconfronted evidence in issue - the child’s videotaped testimony

- the court held:

Because the videotaped testimony was totally ex-

culpatory, the admission of the testimony unques-

tionably did not contribute to the conviction and was

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 218. The Supreme Court of Florida’s

harmless error analysis directly conflicts with Coy’s command

that in assessing harmless error, the reviewing court can consider

only ‘‘the remaining evidence,’’ and not the testimony the ac-

cused was precluded from confronting face-to-face.

Although the Florida Supreme Court recited the correct rule

in a footnote, Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 218 n.4, it failed to apply

it. In direct conflict with Coy, the Florida Supreme Court

analyzed the harmless error issue in this case by engaging in the

‘“*pure speculation’’ Coy prohibits. Its conclusion of harmlessness

came after it impermissibly hypothesized that confrontation would

have made no difference since the videotaped testimony was ex-

culpatory. /d. at 218.

The total lack of literal confrontation in this case cannot

be dismissed as harmless beyond a reasonable doubt. Although

the child’s videotaped testimony was excu!patory, the videotape

procedure was prejudicial because it served as the only basis for

admitting the child’s inculpatory and devastating hearsay state-

16

ments.?° Thus, the hearsay statements were admitted only because

the statute allowed a procedure that deprived Petitioner of his

literal right to face-to-face confrontation.

For this reason, it is impossible to separate the impact of

the videotaping procedure from Petitioner’s conviction. Without

the child’s videotaped testimony, her hearsay statements would

not be admissible. The ‘‘remaining evidence”’ is not so overwhelm-

ing that Petitioner’s guilt can be determined beyond a reasonable

doubt. Indeed, in both the intermediate appellate court and the

Florida Supreme Court, the State argued the Petitioner’s con-

viction should be affirmed based on the remaining nonhearsay

evidence in the record. Significantly, both Florida courts declined

to affirm on this ground.?'

The videotaping procedure also prejudiced Petitioner by

diluting the effect of the child’s testimony exonerating him.

20/ Although the prosecution never advanced the position at trial, the Florida

Supreme Court held the hearsay was admissible on the theory that replaying

the child’s unconfronted videotaped testimony was constitutionally equivalent

to her live, in court testimony at trial. Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 216. Absent

this holding, there was no basis for admitting the incriminating hearsay. The

only other possible constitutional basis for admitting the statements without

violating Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980), addressed infra, or the new

Florida hearsay exception, § 90.803 (23)(a)(2)(b), was that the child was

‘‘unavailable’’ due to a risk of severe emotional harm. It is uncontested that

unavailability was never shown.

21/. The ‘‘other evidence’ on which the State relied, the medical testimony

and the Petitioner’s supposed admissions to two prison inmates, is seriously

flawed. The medical evidence as to whether the offense even occurred was sharp-

ly in dispute and inconclusive at best. The State’s medical expert, who had never

before examined a child under anesthesia for rectal abuse, admitted that she

could not say the child was injured as a result of penile penetration. R 1523.

The defense’s medical expert was experienced in rectal examinations and con-

cluded there had been no abuse. R 1907-44. The child’s regular pediatrician

and her day care teacher did not observe anything unusual or any bowel or

rectal problems in the child. R 1880-83. Also unreliable was the testimony of

a prisoner, corroborated by his fellow prisoner, that Petitioner admitted the

offense while incarcerated prior to trial. Although the prisoner was an eight-

time convicted felon, the Petitioner was precluded at trial from fully cross-

examining him regarding a possible improper sentencing deal that might have

revealed bias and motive for his false testimony. R 2446-54. Moreover, the

prisoners’ testimony, even if believed, related to a period outside the time frame

of the charges in this case. R 82, 1335, 1819-20. Finally, because the trust-

worthiness of a confession is suspect, it is not allowed into evidence without

establishment of the corpus delicti of the crime by other evidence.

17

Substituting a videotape for live testimony affects the ability of

the jury to assess the witness’ testimony in an undefined and un-

predictable manner. The camera may distort or exclude evidence

that would be before the jury if the witness had appeared. See

Hochheiser, 161 Cal. App. 3d at 786-87, 208 Cal. Rptr. at 278-79.

Certainly, testimony videotaped outside the defendant’s presence

deprives the jury of the opportunity to see ‘‘the reaction of the

witness to the physical presence of the accused,’” Commonwealth

v. Willis, 716 S.W.2d 224, 234 (Ky. 1986) (Stephens, C.J., dis-

senting), and to see the defendant’s reaction to the testimony.

The jury is simply left to assume it would indicate guilt. Videotap-

ing also provides the potential for abuse through ‘‘camera

theatrics.”’ Strickland v. State, 44 Crim. L. Rep. 2085 (Ala. 1988).

A final harmful effect of the videotaping procedure in this

case is that it supported an inference of guilt. The juxtaposition

of the child’s unconfronted exculpatory videotaped testimony with

the live presentation of her damaging hearsay statements through

articulate adults created for the jury the improper impression that

the child feared the Petitioner, making it impossible for him to

get a fair trial. The procedure is especially damaging in cases such

as this where the defendant is a relative of the child witness.

Ironically, in a post-Coy decision by the same intermediate

Florida appellate court that affirmed Petitioner’s conviction

before Coy was issued, this precise conclusion was reached on

identical facts. In Jaggers v. State, 536 So. 2d 321, 330 (Fla. 2d

D.C.A. 1988), the defendant was convicted of the same sexual

batiery offense involved here. Exactly as in this case, the video-

taped testimony of the complaining witnesses, the defendant’s

daughter and step-daughter, was favorable to the defense. Revers-

ing the conviction in words that apply with equa! force here,

Jaggers stated:

After all, these witnesses were appellant’s daughter and

step-daughter. By their protected videotaped testimony,

they denied an essential element of the charges against

appellant. Why then shield these witnesses from sight

of appellant and thereby create a possible improper in-

fluence by inference on the jury that these children were

18

afraid of their father? Doesthat inference of fear create

in the jury a thought that the children may be falsely

testifying under oath when they exonerated their father,

but on the other hand, told the truth in their unsworn

out of court statements?...By their verdict, that ap-

pears to be what the jury believed.

536 So. 2d at 330.

Properly analyzed under Coy’s ‘‘remaining evidence’’ rule,

the constitutional error in this case cannot be deemed harmless.

Because the Florida Supreme Court’s harmless error analysis

directly conflicts with Coy’s, certiorari should be granted.

Il. ADMITTING OVER OBJECTION THE

REPUDIATED HEARSAY STATEMENTS OF A

THREE AND ONE-HALF YEAR OLD COM-

PLAINING WITNESS WHO DID NOT UNDER-

STAND THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN TELLING

THE TRUTH AND TELLING A LIE CONFLICTED

WITH OHIO V. ROBERTS AND THEREBY

VIOLATED THE PETITIONER’S SIXTH AMEND-

MENT CONFRONTATION RIGHT.

It was uncontested and the trial judge specifically found in

this case that the three and one-half year old complaining witness

did not comprehend and was not able to distinguish between the

‘truth’ and a “‘lie,’’ did not understand the concept of ‘‘good

or bad,’’ and was ‘‘unable to articulate the difference between

right and wrong or telling the truth or telling a lie.’’ R 771-72,

778-79, 787. Nevertheless, and in spite of the agreement of the

defense and the prosecution at trial that the child was not ‘‘com-

petent to testify’’ under Florida law, the Florida Supreme Court

affirmed the trial court’s holding to the contrary.”* Glendening,

536 So. 2d at 219. Because admitting the hearsay statements of

a child who cannot comprehend and distinguish between telling

22/ Under Florida law, a child witness is not competent to testify unless she

‘‘understands the duty to tell the truth or the duty not to lie.’’ Fla. Stat. §

90.605(2) (1987). Although the Florida Supreme Court stated portions of the

record supported a finding of competency, no such portions are presented in

its opinion. 536 So. 2d at 219. The intermediate appellate court declined even

to decide the issue. 503 So. 2d at 340.

19

the truth and telling a lie unavoidably conflicts with the reliability

and trustworthiness requirements of this Court’s decision in Ohio

v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S. Ct. 2531, 65 L. Ed. 2d 597 (1980),

certiorari should be granted.

In Roberts, this Court held that when a hearsay declarant

is not present for confrontation and cross-examination at trial,

the sixth amendment requires a showing that (1) the declarant

is unavailable for trial and (2) the declarant’s out-of-court

statements bear sufficient ‘‘indicia of reliability’ to provide the

jury with an adequate basis for evaluating the truth. 448 U.S.

at 62-66, 100 S. Ct. at 2536-39. The primary and critical con-

sideration under the confrontation clause for determining the ad-

missibility of hearsay is the reliability of the out-of-court state-

ment. To that end, the focus of the Supreme Court has been to

ensure that there ‘‘are indicia of reliability which have been widely

viewed as determinative of whether a statement may be placed

before the jury though there is no confrontation of the declarant.”’

Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 89, 91S. Ct. 210, 220, 27 L. Ed.

2d 213 (1970), quoted in Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. at 65, 100

S. Ct. at 2539.

The only basis for admitting the child’s hearsay statements

in this case was Florida’s new statutory child abuse hearsay excep-

23/ Although the Florida Supreme Court held that for confrontation clause

purposes the replaying of the child’s unconfronted videotaped testimony was

equivalent to her presence at trial under Roberts and the new Florida hearsay

exception, Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 216-17, this conclusion cannot withstand

scrutiny under Coy. The Florida Supreme Court’s equivalency holding rests

entirely on the misperception that the Petitioner’s confrontation rights were

fully protected so long as he had the opportunity to cross-examine the child

when she was videotaped, even though he was at the time behind a two-way

mirror and unable to confront her face-to-face. Jd. at 217. This exact reason-

ing - that the right to face-to-face physical confrontation is not violated so long

as there is an opportunity for cross-examination - was completely rejected by

Coy. Coy underscores that the literal right to face-to-face physical confronta-

tion at the time of trial, unlike other implicit rights for which exceptions have

been created, such as cross-examination, is at the core of the values furthered

by the confrontation clause. 108 S. Ct. at 2802-03. This is consistent with the

principle implicit in Ohio v. Roberts that presence for cross-examination a/

trial means the witness has appeared live and in court, or, at a bare minimum,

the defendant was able to physically confront the witness face-to-face when

the previous statements were made. 100 S. Ct. at 2537-39.

20

tion. Glendening, 503 So. 2d at 336. Because no presumptively

reliable ‘‘firmly rooted’”’ hearsay exception applied, under Roberts

the State was required to show reliability and particularized

guarantees of trustworthiness before the statements could be

allowed into evidence. 448 U.S. at 66, 100 S. Ct. at 2539.

The incriminating hearsay statements in issue in this case

were made by a three and one-half year oid child who, the trial

court found, lacked any understanding of the concepts of truth

and falsity, good and bad, and right and wrong. She also lacked

the ability to distinguish between those concepts. Whether such

a child is labeled ‘‘competent’’ or ‘‘incompetent’’ under state law,

or indeed whether an individual state even requires its witnesses

to be competent, the hearsay statements of such a child logically

cannot possess the reliability and trustworthiness the confronta-

tion clause demands. The Florida Supreme Court’s holding to

the contrary conflicts with the principle of Ohio v. Roberts.**

The trial judge’s finding that the three and one-half year old

lacked any understanding of truth or falsity was made on the

eve of trial. Her incriminating hearsay statements had been uttered

months earlier, when the child was younger and even less likely

to have understood the difference between telling the truth and

telling a lie. Additionally, when the hearsay statements were made,

the child was in an environment where she was susceptible to *

leading and suggestive questioning. In contrast to the more neutral

court-like setting of the competency hearing, where the child pro-

claimed the Petitioner’s innocence in the presence of the judge

and representatives for both sides, the damaging hearsay was

elicited in closed interview sessions with social workers, police,

and others. Under these circumstances, that the child possessed

at least some understanding of truth and falsity was an absolute

24/ See Frank, Confronting Child Victims of Sex Abuse: The Unconstitu-

tionality of the Sexual Abuse Hearsay Exception, 7 U. Puget Sound L. Rev.

387, 397-98 (1984), which stated ‘‘The confrontation clause cf the United States

Constitution bars the admission of hearsay by testimonially incompetent

children,’’ and noted that corroboration of such hearsay will not insure trust-

worthiness. Relatedly, in considering the admissibility of hearsay statements

by an incompetent child, the Montana Supreme Court recently identified the

child’s ability to differentiate truth and falsity as one of several factors to weigh.

State v. J.C.E., 767 P.2d 309, 315 (Mont. 1988).

; 21

necessity to assure her hearsay statements were trustworthy and

reliable under Roberts.?°

In a similar situation, the Supreme Court of Rhode Island

reversed a child sex abuse conviction because the trial court ad-

mitted hearsay statements of a four year old who could not ap-

preciate the concept of truthfulness and was testimonially in-

competent under that state’s law. State v. Paster, $24 A.2d 587

(R.1. 1987). Although the child in Paster was ruled incompetent,

the reasoning of the case applies with equal force here. If a child

witness cannot distinguish between truth and falsity, her trust-

worthiness and reliability cannot possibly be enhanced by hav-

ing her tainted testimony presented second-handed to the jury

by another person:

If an infant is ruled incompetent at the time of trial

because she is only four years old, assertions made by

that infant a year earlier cannot be considered inherent-

ly more reliable. Logic dictates that, if anything, they

are less reliable.

Id. at 590. The principle has been recognized in other states. See

State v. Segerberg, 131 Conn. 546, 547-48, 41 A.2d 101, i03

(1945) (reversing child sex abuse conviction because tria! court

admitted hearsay statements of testimonially incompetent child);

25/_ It has been recognized with increasing frequency that in the closed inter-

views between children and social workers or others, where much of the in-

criminating hearsay is elicited, the child is pressured and her responses are often

the product of leading and suggestive questioning. The questioning is often

biased and premised on the assumption that the abuse did in fact occur. See

Mclver, The Case for a Therapeutic Interview in Situations of Alleged Sexual

Molestation, THE CHAMPION, Jan./Feb. 1986 at 11, 11-13. The interviewers

have no motive to develop facts favorable to the accused, which calls into ques-

tion the completeness of out-of-court statements they convey. Davis, Confronta-

tion and Hearsay Statements of Child Victims of Sexual Abuse, Fla. B.J., Oct.

1988 at 33. The instant record indicates a significant likelihood that such flaws

infected the interview and investigative process here. A social worker who pro-

vided critical incriminating hearsay testimony acknowledged that she was ask-

ed to ‘‘confirm’’ the allegations against the Petitioner. R 2037-38. Even the

trial court observed that the incriminating hearsay responses to which the social

worker testified lacked spontaneity and were mostly ‘‘yes’’ answers to ques-

tions posed by the social worker. The trial judge remarked that he could not

interpret the child’s incriminating answers as ‘‘yes’’ responses ‘‘other than [the

social worker] saying that’s a yes.”’ R 1756.

22

Ketcham v. State, 240 Ind. 107, 162 N.E.2d 247 (Ind. 1959); State

v. Wilson, 156 Ohio St. 526, 103 N.E.2d 552 (1952) (reversing

conviction in child sex abuse case where deposition of child in-

troduced without prior determination of child’s competency).”®

That the instant case involves the emotion-charged allega-

tion of child sexual abuse heightens the necessity for scrupulous

enforcement of Roberts’ reliability and trustworthiness re-

quirements. Merely because such charges are made ‘‘does not

warrant admitting statements by an incompetent witness untested

by cross-examination into evidence where the liberty of one

charged with a serious crime hangs in the balance.’’ Paster, 524

A.2d at 591 (citing Ketcham v. State, 240 Ind. at 113-14, 162

N.E.2d at 250).

The practical realities and frequent manipulation and misuse

of child abuse prosecutions also compel strict enforcement of

Roberts’ criteria.?’ As this case vividly illustrates, notwithstand-

ing the states’ varying definitions of competency, before admit-

ting a child declarant’s hearsay statements, Roberts’ reliability

and trustworthiness requirement demands that she have at least

some understanding of and appreciation for the concept of

truthfulness and the difference between telling the truth and telling

a lie. With an accusation so fraught with potential for abuse,

26/ The necessity for a competent declarant has even been acknowledged in

the civil setting. For example, in Huff v. White Motor Corp., 609 F.2d 286,

293-94 (7th Cir. 1979), the Seventh Circuit held that where a declarant lacks

the mental capacity to make a responsible statement, the declarant’s hearsay

statements lose all circumstantial guarantees of trustworthiness.

27/ A high percentage of reports of abuse are unfounded (65% according

to Congressional testimony by the former director of the National Center on

Child Abuse and Neglect), and a percentage of these (25% in an area near the

Petitioner’s home, see Abusing the System, Tampa Tribune, Sept. 7, 1987, at

10-A, col. 2) are knowingly false. Moreover, statistics indicate a large percent-

age of false child abuse accusations are brought by a parent in acrimonious

marital circumstances, and that false charges are often a result of ulterior motives

or the accusing parent’s own personality disturbance. See Benesck & Schetsky,

Allegations of Sexual Abuse and Child Custody Cases, Emerging Issues in Child

Psychiatry and the Law, Spring 1985; Gordon, False Accusations of Abuse

in Child Custody Disputes, New L.J., July 1985; Blodgett, Coping With Child

Abuse, 73 A.B.A. J. 26 (May 1987). Significantly, in this case, the originai

suggestion of abuse came from the Petitioner’s estranged wife, an admitted

abuser of cocaine and marijuana. R 1335, 1371-75.

23

this much is a constitutional necessity.?8

Ill. APPLYING FLORIDA’S NEW STATUTORY

CHILD ABUSE HEARSAY EXCEPTION TO AN

OFFENSE OCCURRING BEFORE ITS EFFECTIVE

DATE TO ALLOW OTHERWISE INADMISSIBLE

HEARSAY INTO EVIDENCE ON THE THEORY

THAT UNCONFRONTED VIDEOTAPED

TESTIMONY IS CONSTITUTIONALLY

EQUIVALENT TO LIVE, CONFRONTED

TESTIMONY AT TRIAL SUBSTANTIALLY

DIMINISHED THE CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT

rO CONFRONTATION IN VIOLATION OF THE

PROHIBITION AGAINST EX POST FACTO

LAWS.

Based on its conclusion that the statute is merely procedural

and does not affect substantial personal rights, the Supreme Court

of Florida held that application of the new child abuse hearsay

exception to Petitioner did not violate the constitutional prohibi-

tion against ex post facto laws.”® Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 215.

The Florida Supreme Court’s classification of a statute that

significantly diminishes an accused’s constitutional right to con-

front the witnesses against him at trial as purely procedural con-

flicts in principle with this Court’s ex post facto decisions.

A “‘seemingly procedural form,’’ Weaver v. Graham, 450

U.S. 24, 29.12, 101 S. Ct. 960, 964 n.12, 67 L. Ed. 2d 17 (1981),

will not save a statute from application of the ex post facto

clauses.*° Substance rather than form is determinative. As this

Court noted long ago, ‘‘[e]very law that alters the legal rules of

evidence, and receives less, or different testimony, than the law

28/ Unfortunately, even when a defendant is vindicated, the effects of hav-

ing been accused of child abuse linger on. Dunn, Accusation Makes Life a

Nightmare, Tampa Tribune, Mar. 19, 1989, at 12-1, col. 4 (charges dismissed

but house mortgaged and angry neighbors); Fla. Stat. Ann. § 415.504(4)(c) (West

Supp. 1989) (unfounded reports maintained for one year, where abuse is in-

dicated or confirmed report maintained for seven years).

29/ The sexual battery was alleged to have occurred between September 1,

1984, and June 24, 1985. R 82. The new statutory exception to Florida’s hear-

say rule became effective on July 1, 1985.

30/_ U.S. Const., Art. I, § 9, cl. 3; Art. I, § 10, cl. 1.

24

required at the time of commission of the offense, in order to

convict the offender,’’ Calder v. Bull, 3 Dall. 386, 390, 1 L. Ed.

648 (1798), quoted in Miller v. Florida, io. , 107S.

Ct. 2446, 2450, 96 L. Ed. 2d 351 (1987), violates the ex post facto

prohibition. Such laws alter ‘‘substantial personal rights.’’ Beazell

v. Ohio, 269 U.S. 167, 171, 46S. Ct. 68, 69, 70 L. Ed. 216 (1925).

This Court’s decision in Coy makes clear that a defendant’s

right to literal face-to-face confrontation is a substantial personal

right. It cannot be infringed unless necessary to further an im-

portant public policy. Coy, 108 S. Ct. at 2803. Although this

Court has never recognized an exception to the confrontation

right, by allowing into evidence the complaining witness’ hear-

say statements on the theory that her unconfronted videotaped

testimony was equivalent to live, confronted testimony at trial,

Glendening, 536 So. 2d at 216-17, the Supreme Court of Florida

has now created one.

As a result, Florida’s new statutory hearsay exception

significantly diminished the Petitioner’s constitutional right to

confrontation, thereby operating to his serious detriment. Its

retrospective application to the Petitioner, as candidly

acknowledged by the intermediate appellate court’s decision,

made the offense ‘‘easier to prove.’’ p. A-48, infra. When on

rehearing the court was reminded that making an offense ‘easier

to prove”’ was a prohibited ex post facto effect, it merely replaced

the language in question with ‘‘simply authorized the introduc-

tion of additional evidence to demonstrate his guilt.’? 503 So.

2d at 337-38. This facile substitution, made by the state appellate

court before this Court’s Coy decision was announced, overlook-

ed the serious detrimental impact of allowing the admission of

hearsay evidence based on the declarant’s testimony in the absence

of face-to-face confrontation.

This Court should grant certiorari to correct this serious

shortening of the reach of the ex post facto prohibition and to

rectify the undermining of the right to face-to-face confronta-

tion that unavoidably resulted.

25

CONCLUSION

Petitioner Glendening is now serving a life sentence because

the Supreme Court of Fldrida resolved critical issues of national

importance in ways that conflict with the right to face-to-face

confrontation as recently articulated in Coy v. Jowa, the reliability

and trustworthiness requirements of Ohio v. Roberts, and the

line of cases prohibiting ex post facto application of the laws.

Left uncorrected, the Florida Supreme Court’s opinion will

dramatically undermine those rights, not only in Florida but in

all the jurisdictions now grappling with these difficult but crucial

issues in the context of child abuse prosecutions.

Certiorari should be granted so that all jurisdictions will

know that an exception to the core right to face-to-face confron-

tation cannot rest on the legislatively imposed presumption of

trauma disapproved in Coy, even if a statute requires findings

in support of that insufficient presumption. Certiorari should also

be granted so that all jurisdictions will know that the hearsay

statements of a three and one-half year old chiid who does not

understand the difference between truth and falsity or good and

bad cannot possess the trustworthiness and reliability required

by Ohio v. Roberts. Finally, certiorari should be granted so that

all jurisdictions will know that a statute that makes it easier to

convict by creating the first known exception to the sixth amend-

ment’s literal right to face-to-face confrontation cannot be ap-

plied retroactively.

Respectfully submitted,

S frat Marlom ae

Stuart C. Markman FB #322571

Counsel of Record

Susan H. Freemon FB #344664

WINKLES, TROMBLEY, KYNES

& MARKMAN, P.A.

707 N. Franklin Street

Tenth Floor

P.O. Box 3356

Tampa, Florida 33601

813/229-7918

Counsel for Petitioner

26

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| HEREBY CERTIFY that a true copy of the foregoing has

been furnished by U.S. Mail to the Office of the Attorney

General, Suite 804, Park Trammel Building, 1313 Tampa Street,

Tampa, Florida 33602 this 4th day of May, 1989.

Stuart C. Markman

APPENDIX

A-]

David Edward

GLENDENING, Appellant,

STATE of Florida, Appellee.

No. 86-88.

District Court of Appeal of Florida,

Second District.

Jan. 14, 1987.

As Modified on Denial of Rehearing

March 6, 1987.

Defendant was convicted of sexual battery of child 11 years

of age or younger, by the Circuit Court, Sarasota County,

Andrew Owens, Jr., J., and defendant appealed. The District

Court of Appeal, Grimes, J., held that: (1) statute which allow-

ed admission of hearsay statements made by child sexual abuse

victim did not violate defendant’s state or federal right to con-

front adverse witnesses; (2) admission of out-of-court statements

pursuant to statute which was enacted after alleged offense was

committed did not constitute ex post facto application of law;

(3) court substantially complied with statutory requirement that

it make finding outside presence of jury that time, content, and

circumstances of statement made by child sexual assault victim

provided sufficient safeguards of reliability; (4) for purposes of

statute, introduction of child’s videotaped testimony was

equivalent to her having personally testified; and (5) fact that

child was unable to articulate difference between truth and lie

did not render out-of-court statement concerning sexual abuse

unreliable for admission under statute.

Affirmed.

1. Criminal Law 662.8

Statute which permitted admission of hearsay statements

made by child victim of sexual abuse to third party in trial of

alleged offender did not violate either state or federal constitu-

tional guarantee to right to confront adverse witnesses, as statute

only permitted admission of hearsay testimony if declarant was

available for cross-examination at trial, or if found to be

unavailable, statement had adequate indicia of reliability. West’s

F.S.A. § 90.803(23); West’s F.S.A. Const. Art. 1, § 16; U.S.C.A.

Const.Amend. 6.

2. Constitutional Law 199

Ex post facto law is one which either punishes an act which

was innocently committed, makes punishment for offense more

burdensome, or deprives accused of defense which was available

when offense was committed.

3. Constitutional Law 202

Admission of hearsay testimony by child victim of sexual

abuse against defendant at trial, pursuant to statute which was

enacted after alleged offense occurred did not constitute ex post

facto law, as allowing hearsay testimony into evidence did not

increase punishment or deprive defendant of defense, and had

no effect upon whether defendant committed a crime, but simply

authorized introduction of additional evidence to demonstrate

his guilt. West’s F.S.A. § 90.803(23); West’s F.S.A. Const. Art.

1, § 10; U.S.C.A. Const. Art. 1, § 10, cl. 1.

4. Criminal Law 681(1)

Court substantially complied with statutory requirement that

court make finding in hearing conducted outside presence of jury

that time, content and circumstances of hearsay statement pro-

vided sufficient safeguards of reliability as required by statute,

which permitted introduction of hearsay evidence made by child

sexual assault victim, where court announced findings when

defendant objected to testimony by certain witnesses, though it

did not announce findings after defendant made untimely ob-

jection or objected only to relevance rather than failure to abide

by statutory procedure. West’s F.S.A. § 90.803(23)(a)1.

5. Criminal Law 419(4)

Statute which allowed for hearsay testimony made by child

victim of sexual assault to be admitted into evidence if child

testified as witness or was unavailable was complied with, though

child did not appear before jury, where child testified on videotape

in presence of court, prosecutor, and defense counsel. West’s

F.S.A. § 90.803(23)(a)2.

A-3

6. Criminal Law 419(5)

Mere fact that child had been deemed incompetent to testify

will not render his out-of-court statements concerning child abuse

or sexual abuse unreliable for admission under statute which

allows admission of hearsay statements made by child victim of

sexual abuse. West’s F.S.A. § 90.803(23).

Ronald K. Cacciatore, Tampa, for appellant.

Jim Smith, Atty. Gen., Tallahassee, and Kim W. Munch,

Asst. Atty. Gen., Tampa, for appellee.

GRIMES, Judge.

This is an appeal from a conviction of sexual battery on a

child eleven years of age or younger.

The major thrust of appellant’s argument is that the court

erred in admitting out-of-court statements made by Jennifer

Glendening, the appellant’s 32 year-old daughter, which im-

plicated appellant. The testimony concerning these statements

could only have been admitted under section 90.803(23), Florida

Statutes (1985). Appellant not only attacks the constitutionality

of the statute and argues its inapplicability to him but also con-

tends that there was no compliance with its requirements.

Section 90.803(23) reads as follows:

(23) HEARSAY EXCEPTION; STATEMENT OF

CHILD VICTIM OF SEXUAL ABUSE OR SEXUAL OF-

FENSE AGAINST A CHILD.—

(a) Unless the source of information or the method or

circumstances by which the statement is reported indicates

a lack of trustworthiness, an out-of-court statement made

by a child victim with a physical, mental, emotional, or

developmental age of 11 or less describing any act of child

abuse, sexual abuse, or any other offense involving an

unlawful sexual act, contact, intrusion, or penetration per-

formed in the presence of, with, by, or on the declarant

child, not otherwise admissible, is admissible in evidence in

any civil or criminal proceeding if:

A-4

1. The court finds in a hearing conducted outside the

presence of the jury that the time, content, and circum-

stances of the statement provide sufficient safeguards of

reliability. In making its determination, the court may con-

sider the mental and physical age and maturity of the child,

the nature and duration of the abuse or offense, the rela-

tionship of the child to the offender, the reliability of the

assertion, the reliability of the child victim, and any other

factor deemed appropriate; and

2. The child either:

a. Testifies; or

b. Is unavailable as a witness, provided that there is

other corroborative evidence of the abuse or offense.

Unavailability shall include a finding by the court that the

child’s participation in the trial or proceeding would result

in a substantial likelihood of severe emotional or mental

harm, in addition to findings pursuant to s. 90.804(1).

(b) In acriminal action, the defendant shall be notified

no later than 10 days before trial that a statement which

qualifies as a hearsay exception pursuant to this subsection

will be offered as evidence at trial. The notice shall include

a written statement of the content of the child’s statement,

the time at which the statement was made, the circumstances

surrounding the statement which indicate its reliability, and

such other particulars as necessary to provide full disclosure

of the statement.

(c) The court shall make specific findings of fact, on

the record, as to the basis for its ruling under this subsection.

(i) In arguing facial unconstitutionality, appellant contends

that section 90.803(23) violates the sixth amendment to the United

States Constitution and article I, section 16, of the Florida Con-

stitution, both of which guarantee an accused the right to con-

front adverse witnesses. However, the United States Supreme

Court has held that the confrontation clause is satisfied when

a declarant whose out-of-court statement is sought to be intro-

duced is available for cross-examination at the trial or if found

to be unavailable, the statement bears adequate ‘“‘indicia of

reliability.’”” Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S.Ct. 2531, 65

L.Ed.2d 597 (1980). Section 90.803(23) tracks the requirements

of Ohio v. Roberts.

Comparable statutes providing for the admissibility of out-

of-court statements by child abuse victims have been held con-

stitutional in other jurisdictions. State v. Myatt, 237 Kan. 17,

697 P.2d 836 (1985); State v. Bellotti, 383 N.W.2d 308 (Minn.Ct.

App.1986); State v. Ryan, 103 Wash.2d 165, 691 P.2d 197 (1984).

The statute is intended to allow the courts to be sensitive

to the critical need for a child victim’s out-of-court

statements, while allowing them to address the various

reliability problems posed by the statements, thus protect-

ing the defendant’s confrontation rights.

697 P.2d at 842. We hold that section 90.803(23) does not violate

the confrontation clauses of the United States and Florida

Constitutions.

[2,3] Appellant also argues that since he was charged with

a criminal offense occurring between September 1, 1984, and June

24, 1985, the provisions of section 90.803(23) cannot be employed

against him because the statute did not become effective until

July 1, 1985. He contends that the admission of the out-of-court

statements which are covered by that statute constituted an ex

post facto application of the law. An ex post facto law is one

which either punishes an act which was innocent when committed,

makes the punishment for the offense more burdensome, or

deprives the accused of a defense which was available when the

offense was committed. Dobbert v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282, 97

S.Ct. 2290, 53 L.Ed.2d 344, rehearing denied, 434 U.S. 882, 98

S.Ct. 246, 54 L.Ed.2d 166 (1977). Clearly, section 90.803(23) did

not increase the punishment or deprive appellant of a defense.

Moreover, the statute had no effect upon whether appellant com-

mitted the crime but simply authorized the introduction of addi-

tional evidence to demonstrate his guilt. State v. Ryan. Thus,

section 90.803(23) as applied to appellant did not violate article

I, section 10, of the United States and Florida Constitutions.

Finally, appellant argues that even under the statute, the

court erred in permitting several witnesses to testify that Jennifer

had made prior statements to them concerning the misconduct

with which he was charged. In order to address this point, it is

first necessary to discuss certain matters which took place dur-

ing the progress of the case.

A-6

Prior to trial, the state served a motion to video tape Jen-

nifer’s testimony for introduction at trial pursuant to section

92.53, Florida Statutes (1985). After hearing evidence on the mo-

tion and making the requisite finding that there was substantial

likelihood that Jennifer would suffer at least moderate emotional!

or mental harm if she were required to testify in open court, the

court entered an order permitting the video taping and requir-

ing appellant to view the testimony outside Jennifer’s presence.

At the video taping session, the court first conducted a voir

dire examination of the child to determine her competency to

testify. The court concluded that she was competent because she

showed an above average intelligence for a 3% year-old and was

aware of her surroundings. The court attributed her inability to

explain the difference between the truth and a lie to the inartful

questioning by the court and the state attorney. Thereafter, when

the child was interrogated concerning the matters involved in the

case, she did not implicate her father in any misconduct. As a

consequence, appellant did not object to the introduction of the

video tape into evidence at the trial and, in fact, caused it to be

replayed as part of his defense. Hence, there is no contention

on appeal over the admissibility of the video tape. However, the

fact that the video tape was authorized and played at the trial

is relevant to our subsequent discussion.

About a month before trial, appellant made a motion to ex-

clude all hearsay statements made by the child. The state filed

a response in-which it enumerated the various hearsay statements

it intended to introduce. The court ruled that the state’s response

did not constitute adequate compliance with the notice re-

quirements of section 90.803(23) and permitted the state to file

a more detailed response. Thereafter, but more than ten days

before trial, the state filed a detailed recitation of the out-of-court

statements to be offered at trial in order to comply with the notice

mandated by section 90.803(23)(b). At a subsequent hearing, the

court observed that it could not rule upon the admissibility of

such statements without actually hearing the witnesses’ testimony

concerning the circumstances under which the child’s statements

were made.

Dr. Linda Boczar was the first of the witnesses listed on the

notice who testified. However, appellant cannot now complain

about her testimony because his counsel stated at the trial that

he had no objection to her stating what Jennifer had told her.

A-7

The next of the disputed witnesses was Rebecca Winkel, a

coordinator for the child protection team. Ms. Winkel testified

concerning the circumstances under which the child made in-

criminating statements about her father and the content of such

statements. Except for an initial objection on grounds of corpus

delicti, the appellant did not object to this testimony until after

it was given. At this point, appellant objected on hearsay grounds,

whereupon the court asked the jury to be removed and made the

following statement on the record:

THE COURT: At this time Mr. Dirmann had raised

an objection concerning the hearsay exception to some of

the testimony by Mrs. Winkel. The court would feel that

the objection has been waived in view of the timing of the

objection but in an abundance of caution and in view of

the fact that we’re all operating under a brand new legislative

enactment, which only came into effect this year, amending

section 90.803 and allowing, making an exception of children

or child victim statements of sexual abuse, which requires

the court to have a hearing conducted outside the presence

of the jury as to the time, content and circumstances of the

statement providing sufficient safeguards of reliability in

making the determination. The court has heard the testimony

of Mrs. Winkel concerning the doll interview. Based upon

the testimony presented by Mrs. Winkel here under oath

the court would find as to the time, I’m not certain of the

exact time but there was certainly no coercion of the child,

that the interview was conducted with a period of play where

the child became familiar with the interviewer and that she

was not prompted by the interviewer in the use of the dolls

and describing these alleged sexual acts. The court would

find that the content and the circumstances surrounding the

statement under these circumstances would provide suffi-

cient safeguards of reliability to allow the admission of that

testimony as an exception to the hearsay rule under subsec-

tion 23.

The third witness to testify concerning what Jennifer had

told her was Detective Barber. When the appellant objected on

grounds of hearsay and of relevance to section 90.803(23), the

court listened to a proffer of her testimony outside the presence

of the jury. The court then ruled that because the child’s state-

ment to Detective Barber was not a direct reference to child abuse

or sexual abuse, Detective Barber could not testify unless the state

could demonstrate that the child’s statement was relevant to prov-

A-8

ing that appellant was guilty of such misconduct. Later in the

trial the state introduced other evidence which showed how Jen-

nifer’s statement to Detective Barber was relevant to prove that

Jennifer's father had sexually abused her. Thereupon, the court

permitted Detective Barber to state what the child had told her.

The last witness who testified concerning the child’s state-

ments was Ruth Shapiro, a social worker at the Suncoast Mental

Health Center. At the outset, the court conducted a hearing out-

side the presence of the jury to determine whether Ms. Shapiro

could testify concerning the child’s hearsay statements. Ms.

Shapiro was interrogated at length concerning the content of the

statements and the circumstances under which they were made.

The court excluded certain statements and ruled that others could

be admitted since they met the standards of section 90.803(23).

[4] In regard to the argument that the requirements of the

statute were not followed, appellant first contends that the court

failed to make a finding ‘‘in a hearing conducted outside the

presence of the jury that the time, content and circumstances of

the statement provide sufficient safeguards of reliability’ as

required by section 90.803(23)(a)1. With respect to Ms. Winkel,

we concur with the court’s conclusion that appellant’s hearsay

objection was untimely. In any event, at the point the objection

was made, the court then removed the jury and made the requisite

findings predicated upon the testimony which had already been

presented.

When the state recalled Detective Barber to the stand, ap-

pellant did not object on grounds of hearsay, as such, but only

argued relevancy. By this time, however, the state had demon-

strated how the child’s statement was directly related to the con-

tention that her father had abused her, and the court properly

rejected appellant’s argument on this issue. The court was ob-

viously satisfied with the credibility of the child’s statements to

Detective Barber because the detective had previously testified

outside the presence of the jury. The court cannot be faulted for

failing to announce the findings specified by section

90.803(23)(a)1. when appellant was then only arguing relevance

and was making no objection to the procedure being followed.

Significantly, appellant does not assert that the court did

not comply with the procedural aspects of section 90.803(23) with

respect to Ms. Shapiro’s testimony. By the time Ms. Shapiro

testified, everyone had become familiar with the intricacies of

A-9

the statute. Her testimony was first proffered outside the presence

of the jury. There was ample evidence to support the court’s find-

ing that Jennifer’s out-of-court statements made to Ms. Shapiro

were reliable.

[5] Appellant further argues that even if the court sub-

stantially complied with the requirements of subparagraph 1. of

section 90.803(23)(a), the court made no finding whatsoever with

respect to subparagraph 2. which requires that the child either

testify or be unavailable as a witness. Appellant notes that in order

to be declared unavailable for purposes of this subparagraph,

the child would have to meet the definition of unavailability under

section 90.804(1) or the court would have to conclude that the

child’s participation in the trial would result in ‘‘a substantial

likelihood of severe emotional or mental harm.’’ We cannot

sustain the state’s response that the hearing previously conducted

for the purpose of deciding whether to permit the child’s

testimony to be video taped would suffice.-Aside from the fact

that the hearing was held for a different purpose, the standard

for permitting video taping is whether the child would suffer at

least moderate emotional or mental harm, whereas a finding of

unavailability is predicated upon a substantial likelihood of severe

emotional or mental harm. Notwithstanding, we believe that it

was unnecessary that the court make a finding of unavailability

in this case because the child did, in fact, testify. Her testimony

was taken before the court with participation by both attorneys

just as it would have been had the child been physically present

at trial. Appellant was in a position to cross-examine her con-

cerning the out-of-court statements because the state’s notice for

introduction of these statements had already been filed. There-

fore, we hold that for purposes of section 90.803(23)(a)2., the

introduction of Jennifer’s video tape was equivalent to her hav-

ing personally testified.

[6] Finally, appellant also contends that the court’s findings

that Jennifer’s statements were reliable cannot be sustained

because it was demonstrated in her video taped testimony that

she was unable to articulate the difference between the truth and

a lie, an essential element of the traditional test for determining

the competency of a witness of tender years. Bell v. State, 93

So.2d 575 (Fla.1957). See § 90.605(2), Fla.Stat. (1985). It is dif-

ficult to see how appellant can rely on Jennifer’s testimony to

demonstrate unreliability when he caused the video tape to be

replayed as part of his own case. In any event, we do not need

to reach the question of whether the court correctly concluded

A-10

that Jennifer was competent to testify because this is not the

criterion for the introduction of hearsay statements under sec-

tion 90.803(23). The mere fact that a child has been deemed in-

competent to testify will not render his out-of-court statements

concerning child abuse or sexual abuse unreliable for admission

under section 90.803(23). See State v. Superior Court, 149 Ariz.

397, 719 P.2d 283 (Ct.App.1986); State v. Myatt; State v. Bellotti;

State v. Campbell, 299 Or. 633, 705 P.2d 694 (1985); Contra State

v. Ryan. The record adequately supports the court’s conclusion

that Jennifer’s out-of-court statements were sufficiently reliable

for introduction into evidence.

Appellant’s other points on appeal are without merit.

Affirmed.

DANAHY, C.J., and HALL, J., concur.

A-1]

David Edward

GLENDENING, Petitioner,

Vv.

STATE of Florida, Respondent.

No. 70346.

Supreme Court of Florida.

Dec. 1, 1988.

Rehearing Denied Feb. 3, 1989.

Defendant was convicted of sexual battery of child 11 years

of age or younger, by the Circuit Court, Sarasota County,

Andrew Owns, Jr., J., and he appealed. The District Court of

Appeal, 503 So.2d 335, Grimes, J., affirmed, and defendant

applied for review. The Supreme Court, Ehrlich, C.J., held that:

(1) statute allowing admission of hearsay statements of children

regarding sexual abuse was constitutional; (2) application of

statute to defendant did not violate prohibition against ex post

facto laws; (3) allowing child’s testimony to be video taped did

not violate defendant’s right of confrontation; (4) judge was not

required to determine whether child was testimonially competent

prior to allowing admission of hearsay statements; (5) admission

of expert testimony that defendant was person who sexually

abused victim was not fundamental error; and (6) defendant

waived issue of whether expert improperly vouched for credibility

of hearsay declarant.

Affirmed.

Overton, J., concurred in result only.

1. Criminal Law 662.8

Statute which allowed admission of hearsay statements by

children concerning sexual abuse did not violate confrontation

clause; in order for statements to be admitted court was first

required to find, in a hearing, that time, content, and cir-

cumstances of statement provided sufficiency of guards of

reliability and child must either testify or be unavailable as a

witness. West’s F.S.A. § 90.803(23); U.S.C.A. Const. Amend.

6; West’s F.S.A. Const. Art. 1, § 16.

A-12

2. Constitutional Law 202

Infants 12

Application at trial of statute which allowed admission of

hearsay statements made by children regarding sexual abuse,

which statute was not in effect at time of offense, did not violate

prohibition against ex post facto laws; statute did not effect crime

with which defendant was charged, punishment prescribed

therefore, or quantity or degree of proof necessary to establish

guilt. West’s F.S.A. § 90.803(23); U.S.C.A. Const. Art. 1, §§

. 2. 3, Baek

3. Infants 20

Videotaped testimony of child sexual abuse victim was

‘‘testimony’’ under statute allowing admission of hearsay state-

ments by children regarding sexual abuse when child testifies.

West’s F.S.A., §§ 90.803(23), 92.53(1).

See publication Words and Phrases for other judicial construc-

tions and definitions.

4. Criminal Law 662.1 :

Allowing child sexual abuse victim’s testimony to be video-

taped and shown to jury rather than given live in open court did

not violate defendant’s right to confront witness; evidence showed

that child would have suffered emotional and mental harm had

the child been forced to testify in court, and defendant was per-

mitted to watch testimony behind two-way mirror and conduct

full cross-examination of child. U.S.C.A. Const.Amend. 6;

West’s F.S.A. Const. Art. 1, § 16; West’s F.S.A. §§ 90.803(23),

92.53(4).

5. Criminal Law 1168(2)

Child sexual abuse victim’s testimony did not implicate

defendant in any wrongdoing, and child specifically stated that

defendant had not hurt her, rendering testimony totally excul-

patory, and thus any error in denying defendant opportunity to

confront child witness face-to-face was harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt. U.S.C.A. Const.Amend. 6; West’s F.S.A.

Const. Art. 1, § 16.

A-13

6. Infants 20

Even if child sexual abuse victim’s videotaped testimony was

not ‘‘testimony’’ under statute allowing admission of hearsay

statements of children regarding sexual abuse when child testifies

and, requiring other corroborative evidence of abuse when child

does not testify, child’s hearsay statements were sufficiently cor-

roborated by medical testimony and by two witnesses that testified

that defendant admitted to them that he committed the sexual

abuse. West’s F.S.A. § 90.803(23).

7. Infants 20

Trial judge was not required to determine that chiid sexual

abuse victim was competent to testify in order to allow, under

evidence statute, admission of hearsay statements made by child

concerning sexual abuse, but rather was only required to deter-

mine that statements were trustworthy and reliable. West’s F.S.A.

§ 90.803(23).

8. Criminal Law 469

Qualified expert in interviewing child sexual abuse victims

was entitled to express opinion on issue of whether child had been

sexually abused. West’s F.S.A. §§ 90.702, 90.703.

9. Criminal Law 469

Qualified expert in interviewing child sexual abuse victims

was not entitled to give opinion as to whether defendant was

child’s abuser, and admission of such testimony was error. West’s

F.S.A. §§ 90.403, 90.702, 90.703.

10. Criminal Law 1036.6

Any error in admission of testimony of child sexual abuse

expert that defendant was person who sexually abused victim was

not fundamental error, and because defendant did not object to

testimony or move to strike, court would not consider propriety

of remark on appeal. West’s F.S.A. § 90.403.

11. Criminal Law 1043(3)

Defendant’s objection to expert testimony as irrelevant did

not preserve for appeal issue of whether testimony had effect of

A-14

improperly vouching for credibility of hearsay declarant.

Stuart C. Markman of Winkles, Trombley, Kynes & Mark-

man, P.A., Tampa, and Ronald K. Cacciatore, P.A., Tampa,

for petitioner.

Robert A. Butterworth, Atty. Gen., and Katherine V. Blanco

and Kim W. Munch, Asst. Attys. Gen., Tamp. ‘or respondent.

EHRLICH, Chief Justice.

We have for review Glendening v. State, 503 So.2d 335

(Fla.2d DCA 1987), in which the district court expressly declared

valid section 90.803(23), Florida Statutes (1985). We have jurisdic-

tion. Art. V, § 3(b)(3), Fla. Const.

On July 26, 1985, Glendening was charged by intormation

with sexual battery upon a child eleven years of age or younger,

in violation of section 794.011(2), Florida Statutes (1985). The

-~acts upon which the charge was based were alleged to have

occurred between September 1, 1984 and June 24, 1985. The

alleged victim was Glendening’s three-and-one-half-year-old

daughter.

Glendening was found guilty of the charged offense and

received a life sentence with a mandatory minimum twenty-five

years of incarceration. On appeal, the Second District Court of

Appeal affirmed Glendening’s conviction and sentence, rejecting

the arguments that the trial court erred in admitting out-of-court

statements made by the young victim under section 90.803(23),

Florida Statutes (1985).

Glendening now seeks review of the decision of the Second

District Court of Appeal. As the district court below noted, the

major thrust of Glendening’s argument involves the constitu-

tionality of section 90.803(23), its applicability to his case, and

compliance with the section’s requirements. Section 90.803(23)

is a hearsay exception which permits, under certain circumstances,

the introduction of out-of-court statements made by a child victim

of sexual abuse describing any act of child abuse, sexual abuse,

or any other offense involving an unlawful sexual act, contact,

intrusion, or penetration performed in the presence of, with, by,

or on the declarant child, if the child has a physical, mental, emo-

tional, or developmental age of eleven or less.

A- ] 5

[1] We first reject Glendening’s contention that section

90.803(23) is unconstitutional on its face. Glendening relies upon

the arguments set forth in the brief of Petitioner Perez filed in

the case of Perez v. State, Case No. 70,027 in regard to this issue.

We rejected these arguments in our decision in Perez v. State,

536 So.2d 206 (Fla.1988), released simultaneously with the pre-

sent decision.

We next address Glendening’s argument that because he was

charged with an offense occurring before the effective date of

section 90.803(23), application of the new hearsay exception to

his case violated the prohibition against ex post facto laws. The

United States Supreme Court has stated that there has been no

attempt to precisely delimit the scope of the phrase ‘‘ex post facto

law.’’ One statement of the characteristics of an ex post facto

law set forth by the Supreme Court, however, provided that

‘* “any statute which punishes as a crime an act previously com-

mitted, which was innocent when done; which makes more

burdensome the punishment for a crime, after its commission,

or which deprives one charged with crime of any defense available

according to law at the time when the act was committed, is pro-

hibited as ex post facto.’ ’’ Dobbert v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282,

292, 97 S.Ct. 2290, 2297, 53 L.Ed.2d 344 (1977) (quoting Beazel/

v. Ohio, 269 U.S. 167, 169-70, 46 S.Ct. 68, 69, 70 L.Ed. 216

(1925)). Another formulation, reiterated recently in Miller v.

Florida, also provides that ‘‘ ‘[e]very law that alters the legal rules

of evidence, and receives less, or different testimony, than the

law required at the time of the commission of the offense, in order

to convict the offender’ ’’ violates the prohibition against ex post

facto laws. 482 U.S. 423, 107 S.Ct. 2446, 2450, 96 L.Ed.2d 351

(1987) (quoting Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (Dall.) 386, 1 L.Ed. 648

(1798)). No ex post facto violation occurs if a change is merely

procedural and does not alter ‘‘substantial personal rights.”’

Miller, 107 S.Ct. at 2451; Dobbert, 432 U.S. at 293, 97 S.Ct.

at 2298.

Relying primarily upon that portion of the formulation of

the scope of ex post facto laws from Miller which is set forth

above, Glendening contends that section 90.803(23) alters the legal

rules of evidence and receives less or different testimony than

the law required at the time of the commission of the offense.

He further contends that because he was disadvantaged by the

retrospective application of the exception, admission of the out-

of-court statements of the child victim pursuant to section

90.803(23) in his case violated the prohibition against ex post factc

laws. We disagree.

A-16

The proscription against laws which affect the legal rules

of evidence and receive less, or different, testimony in order to

convict the offender has been construed as prohibiting those laws

which ‘‘ ‘change the ingredients of the offence or the ultimate

facts necessary to establish guilt.’ ’’ Miller, 107 S.Ct. at 2453

(quoting Hopt v. Utah, 110 U.S. 574, 590, 4S.Ct. 202, 210, 28

L.Ed. 262 (1884)). Changes in the admission of evidence have

been held to be procedural. Two examples of this, noted in

Dobbert, are found in Hopt and Thompson v. Missouri, 171 U.S.

380, 18 S.Ct. 922, 43 L.Ed. 204 (1898). In Hopt, the law in effect

on the date of the alleged homicide provided that a convicted

felon could not be called as a witness. Prior to trial of the case,

the law was changed and a convicted felon, called to the stand

to testify, implicated Hopt in the crime. The Supreme Court

rejected the argument that the law was ex post facto, stating that

‘‘falny statutory alteration of the legal rules of evidence which

_ only removes existing restrictions upon the competency of

certain classes of persons as witnesses, relate to modes of pro-

cedure only’”’ and ‘‘are not ex post facto in their application to

prosecution for crimes committed prior to their passage.’’ 110

U.S. at 589, 590, 4S.Ct. at 209-10. In Thompson, the Missouri

Supreme Court reversed Thompson’s conviction of murder

because of the inadmissibility of certain evidence. Letters writ-

ten by the defendant to his wife were submitted for handwriting

comparison, which was prohibited by the rules of evidence. Prior

to the second trial, the law was changed to make this objectionable

evidence admissible and Thompson was again convicted. The

United States Supreme Court rejected the argument that this

change was violative of the ex post facto clause and held that

the change was procedural. See Dobbert, 432 U.S. at 293, 97 S.Ct.

at 2298.

{2} The same reasoning which resulted in the Supreme

Court’s determination that the statutes in Hopt and Thompson

were procedural leads to the conclusion that section 90.803(23),

Florida Statutes, is also procedural and that the statute does not

affect ‘‘substantial personal rights.’’ As in Hopt, ‘‘[t]he crime

for which the present defendant was indicted, the punishment

prescribed therefor, and the quantity or the degree of proof

necessary to establish his guilt, all remained unaffected by’’ the

enactment of section 90.803(23). 110 U.S. at 589-90, 4 S.Ct. at

209-10. As in Thompson, section 90.803(23) ‘‘left unimpaired

the right of the jury to determine the sufficiency or effect of the

evidence declared to be admissible, and did not disturb the funda-

mental rule thal the state ... must overcome the presumption

A-17

of his innocence, and establish his guilt beyond a reasonable

doubt.”’ 17i U.S. at 387, 18 S.Ct. at 924. Accordingly, we con-

clude that the district court below correctly held that application

of section 90.803(23) in the present case does not violate the pro-

hibition against ex post facto laws.

The third issue addressed concerns compliance with the

requirements of section 90.803(23) in the trial court below. Prior

to trial, the state served a motion to videotape the child’s

testimony for introduction at trial pursuant to section 92.53,

Florida Statutes (1985). Section 92.53 provides that upon

a finding that there is a substantial likelihood that a victim

or witness [in a sexual abuse or child abuse case] who is under

the age of 16 would suffer at least moderate emotional or

mental harm if he were required to testify in open court or

that such victim or witness is otherwise unavailable as de-

fined in s. 90.804(1), the trial court may order the video-

taping of the testimony of the victim or witness in a sexual

abuse case or child abuse case, whether civil or criminal in

nature, which videotaped testimony is to be utilized at trial

in lieu of trial testimony in open court.

The trial court heard evidence on the motion and found that there

was a substantial likelihood that the child would suffer at least

moderate emotional or mental harm if she were required to testify

in open court.-The trial court accordingly entered an order per-

mitting the videotaping and required Glendening to view the

testimony outside the child’s presence.

At the videotaping session, the trial court first conducted

a voir dire examination of the child to determine her competency

to testify. The trial court concluded that the child was competent

to testify because she showed an above average inteiligence for

a three-and-one-half-year-old child and was aware of her sur-

roundings, attributing her inability to explain the difference be-

tween the truth and a lie to the inariful questioning by the court

and the state attorney. Thereafter, when the child was interrogated

concerning the matters involved in the Case, she did not implicate

her father in any misconduct.

Glendening made a pretrial motion to exclude all hearsay

statements made by the child. In response, the state filed a notice

of the various hearsay statements it intended to introduce. The

trial cgurt ruled that the state’s response did not constitute ade-

A-18

quate compliance with the notice requirements of section

90.803(23)(b) and permitted the state to file a more detailed

response. Thereafter, but more than ten days before trial, the

state filed a detailed recitation of the hearsay statements to be

offered at trial. At a subsequent hearing on the motion, the trial

court observed that it could not rule upon the admissibility of

the hearsay statements without hearing the witnesses’ testimony

concerning the circumstances under which the child’s statements

were made.

At trial, the witnesses listed on the state’s notice testified

concerning the out-of-court statements made by the child and

the circumstances under which the statements were made. The

videotape of the child’s testimony was shown to the jury once

during the state’s case-in-chief and then again by the defense.

Glendening raises several arguments in regard to the com-

pliance with section 90.803(23) by the trial court. Glendening con-

tends that the requirements of section 90.803(23)(a)(2) were not

met. This subsection provides that in order to admit the hearsay

statements of a child under this exception, the child must either

(a) testify, or (b) be unavailable. If the child is unavailable, the

statute also requires other corroborative evidence of the abuse

or offense. Glendening argues the district court below erred in

holding that introduction of the videotaped testimony of the child,

taken pursuant to section 92.53, was sufficient to satisfy the

requirement that the child testify in order to admit the child’s

hearsay statements. We reject this argument.

[3] Section 92.53(1) provides that when the requisites of

the statute are met, the trial court may order ‘‘the videotaping

of the testimony of the victim or witness ... which videotaped

testimony is to be utilized at trial in lieu of trial testimony in open

court.’’ (Emphasis added.) The statute clearly provides that

videotaped testimony is the equivalent of testimony in open court.

Moreover, the legislative intent in enacting section 92.53 was to

spare children, to the extent constitutionally permissible, the

trauma of testifying in open court.’ The legislative intent would

be defeated if section 92.53 did not have the effect of allowing

the videotaped testimony of children meeting the requirements

1. See ch. 85-53, Laws of Fla.: ‘‘WHEREAS, it is necessary that safeguards

be instituted for the children of the State of Florida who are victimized to

assure that their right to be free from emotional harm and trauma occa-

sioned by judicial proceedings is protected by the court....”’

A-19

of the statute where the laws of the state refer to ‘‘testimony”’

or ‘‘testifying.’’

[4] Application of section 92.53 to permit videotaping the

child’s testimony instead of requiring the child to testify in open

court for purposes of admitting the child’s out-of-court statements

pursuant to section 90.803(23) does not violate the federal or

Florida constitutional guarantee of the right of confrontation.”

The defendant is permitted full cross-examination of the child,

which is the functional purpose of the confrontation clause. Ken-

tucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S. 730, 107 S.Ct. 2658, 2664, 96 L.Ed.2d

631 (1987). The jury is still able to see the witness as the testimony

is given and ‘‘judge by his demeanor upon the stand and the man-

ner in which he gives his testimony whether he is worthy of

belief.’’ Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237, 242-43, 15 S.Ct.

337, 339, 39 L.Ed. 409 (1895). The fact that Glendening was

required to view the child’s testimony from behind a two-way

mirror as it was videotaped does not change the conclusion.? In

the present case, Glendening was accompanied by counsel behind

the two-way mirror and was able to communicate with counsel

questioning the child if the need arose. His opportunity to engage

in full and effective cross-examination was not interfered with

by his exclusion. See, e.g., Stincer, 107 S.Ct. at 2663-64 n. 9.

Furthermore, although the confrontation clause does reflect

a preference for face-to-face confrontation at trial, Ohio v.

Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 63, 100 S.Ct. 2531, 2537, 65 L.Ed.2d 597

(1980), the Supreme Court has recognized that

competing interests, if ‘‘closely examined,’’ Chambers y.

Mississippi, 410 U.S., [284,] at 295, 93 S.Ct., [1038,] at 1045,

[35 L.Ed.2d 297] may warrant dispensing with confronta-

tion at trial. See Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S., [237,]

at 243, 15 S.Ct. [337,] at 340 [, 39 L.Ed. 409] (‘‘general rules

of law of this kind, however beneficent in their operation

and valuable to the accused, must occasionally give way to

considerations of public policy and the necessities of the

2. U.S. Const. amend. VI; art. 1, § 16, Fla. Const.

3. Section 92.53(4) provides that [t]he court may require the defendant to view

the testimony from outside the presence of the child by means of a two-way

mirror or another similar method that will ensure that the defendant can

observe and hear the testimony of the child in person, but that the child

cannot hear or see the defendant. The defendant and the attorney for the

defendant may communicate by any appropriate private method.

A-20

case’’). Significantly, every jurisdiction has a strong interest

in effective law enforcement, and in the development and

precise formulation of the rules of evidence applicable in

criminal proceedings.

Id. at 64, 100 S.Ct. at 2538. We agree with the First District Court

of Appeal that ‘‘[wJeighing the competing interests in the balance

... the defendant’s right to confront his accusers must give way

to the State’s interest in sparing child victims of sexual crimes

the further trauma of in-court testimony.’’ Chambers v. State,

504 So.2d 476, 477-78 (Fla. Ist DCA 1987). Our conclusion is

not altered by the recent United States Supreme Court decision

in Coy v. Iowa, ____ U.S. , 108 S.Ct. 2798, 101 L.Ed.2d

857 (1988), which was issued subsequent to oral argument in the

present case. Coy was charged with sexually assaulting two

thirteen-year-old girls while they were camping out in the backyard

of the house next door to him. Neither of the girls was able to

describe their assailant’s face. At trial, the girls were permitted

to testify behind a large screen which enabled Coy to dimly

perceive the witnesses but because of which the witnesses were

completely unable to see Coy. See lowa Code § 910A.14 (1987).

The United States Supreme Court found that Coy’s constitutional

right to face-to-face confrontation was violated and reversed the

judgment of the lowa Supreme Court which had affirmed his

convictions and sentences.

There are two reasons why the decision in Coy does not alter

our conclusion. First, the present case is distinguishable from the

scenario in Coy. In Coy, the Supreme Court recognized that ‘‘[i]t

is true that we have in the past indicated that rights conferred

by the Confrontation Clause are not absolute, and may give way

to other important interests.’’ 108 S.Ct. at 2802. The majority

opinion notes that any such exception to the right of face-to-face

confrontation will only be allowed when necessary to further an

important public policy. The majority then concludes that

whatever exceptions may exist, the exception set forth in the lowa

statute could not be sustained by any conceivable exception.

lowa’s argument that a necessity for an exception was establish-

ed by the statute, which creates a legislatively imposed presump-

tion of trauma, was rejected because the exception was not a firm-

ly rooted exception and ‘‘there have been no individualized find-

ings that these particular witnesses needed special protection.”’

Id. at 2803.

In contrast to the statute at issue in Coy, section 92.53

A-21

requires an individual determination for each child witness that

the use of videotaped testimony is necessary to prevent the child

from suffering emotional or mental harm. In the present case,

the trial court conducted a hearing on the issue of whether the

child victim would suffer at least moderate emotional or mental

harm if required to testify in open court. The child’s mother and

the child’s guardian ad litem testified that the child had express-

ed a fear of seeing her father and described behavior of the child

on various occasions to support their conclusions. In addition,

Dr. Meyer, a pediatrician who had attempted to examine the

child, and Ms. Shapiro, a social worker who works with sexual-

ly abused children, testified that based upon their experience with

this particular child testifying in open court would be a terrify-

ing experience, particularly if she were to be cross-examined with

her father in the room. Both Dr. Meyer and Ms. Shapiro felt

that examining the child by way of videotaping where she was

not able to see her father would minimize her emotional trauma.

Based upon this testimony, the trial judge concluded that there

was a substantial likelihood that the victim would suffer at least

moderate emotional or mental harm if required to testify in open

court in the presence of the defendant. Thus, contrary to the facts

in Coy, the present case involved ‘‘a case-specific finding of

necessity.’’ Coy, 108 S.Ct. at 2805 (O’Connor, J., concurring).

Moreover, as noted previously, the protection of child witnesses

from the trauma of testifying in open court in the presence of

the defendant, when it is demonstrated that there is a substantial

likelihood that such trauma would result, is a public policy of

such importance as to justify a trial procedure that calls for

something other than face-to-face confrontation. See id.

[5] Second, Justice Scalia recognized in the majority

opinion in Coy that the United States Supreme Court has

‘*recognized that other types of violations of the Confrontation

Clause are subject to that harmless error analysis ... and [has]

see[n] no reason why denial of face-to-face confrontation should

not be treated the same.’’* 108 S.Ct. at 2803. We conclude that

if the denial of face-to-face confrontation in the present case had

4. Justice Scalia went on to note that ‘‘[a]n assessment of harmlessness can-

not include consideration of whether the witness’s testimony would have

been unchanged, or the jury’s assessment unaltered, had there been con-

frontation; such an inquiry would obviously involve pure speculation, and

harmlessness must therefore be determined on the basis of the remaining

evidence.’’ Coy v. lowa, ____~‘US. , 108 S.Ct. 2798, 2803, 101

L.Ed.2d 857 (1988).

A-22

been error, any error would have been harmless. When question-

ed, the child not only did not implicate the defendant in any

wrongdoing, but specifically stated that he had not hurt her.

Following this testimony by the child during examination by the

state, defense counsel declined to conduct cross-examination of

the child. Moreover, this exculpatory tape was presented to the

jury by the defense during its case. Because the videotaped

testimony was totally exculpatory, the admission of the testimony

unquestionably did not contribute to the conviction and was

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt. State v. DiGuilio, 491 So.2d

1129, 1138 (Fla.1986).

Accordingly, we conclude the district court below correctly

held that introduction of the child’s videotaped testimony, taken

pursuant to section 92.53, satisfied the requirement of section

90.803(23)(a)(2) that the child either testify or be unavailable.

Accord State v. Sheppard, 197 N.J.Super. 411, 484 A.2d 1330

(Law Div.1984) (Child victim would be permitted to testify

through use of video equipment in prosecution of child’s step-

father for sexual assault, despite resulting lack of eye contact be-

tween child witness and defendant where defendant, judge, jury,

and spectators would see and hear the child clearly, adequate

opportunity for cross-examination would be provided, and in view

of trial court’s finding of harm to the child if she was required

to testify in open court.).

[6] Even if we had agreed with Glendening’s argument that

if the child testifies via videotape rather than in open court, the

child’s out-of-court statements could not be admitted without

first imposing the additional safeguards under the Ohio v.

Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S.Ct. 2531, 65 L.Ed.2d 597 (1980),

unavailable declarant scenario, it would be of no consequence

in our review of the present case. The Roberts unavailable

declarant scenario requires that if the declarant is unavailable,

the hearsay must be marked with particularized guarantees of

trustworthiness in order to be admissible. Jd. at 65, 100 S.Ct.

at 2538. Section 90.803(23) incorporates this requirement by

requiring that there be other corroborative evidence of the abuse

or offense if the child declarant is unavailable. We held in Perez

that this requirement satisfied the Roberts standard for admis-

sion of hearsay statements by unavailable declarants. Perez v.

State, 536 So.2d 206 (Fla.1988). In the present case, the abuse

was corroborated by medical testimony and by two witnesses who

A-23

testified that Glendening admitted to them that he committed

the offenses.®

[7] We also reject Glendening’s argument that the trial

court erred in determining that the child was competent to testify.

We have been referred by Glendening to portions of the transcipt

of the competency hearing which focus on the child’s weakness

as a witness. Other portions, however, tend to support the child’s

competency to testify. As this Court has previously held, it is

‘“‘within the sound discretion of the trial judge to decide whether

an infant of tender years has sufficient mental capacity and sense

of moral obligation to be competent as a witness, and his ruling

will not be disturbed unless a manifest abuse of discretion is

shown.” Rutledge v. State, 374 So.2d 975, 979 (Fla.1979), cert.

denied, 446 U.S. 913, 100 S.Ct. 1844, 64 L.Ed.2d 267 (1980).

Our examination of the record reveals no abuse of discretion on

the part of the trial judge in permitting the child’s testimony.®

The final issue involves the alleged improper admission of

expert witness testimony. Rebecca Winkel, a coordinator for the

child protection team, was recognized by the trial court as an

expert in the area of interviewing children regarding the subject

5. Glendening’s argument that permitting videotaped testimony to be the

equivalent of in-court testimony will make it easier for the state to introduce

hearsay and decrease the likelihood that children will be produced for in-

court testimony is without merit. The argument ignores the fact that by

meeting the lower standard of demonstrating that testimony in open court

will cause moderate emotional harm so that the child’s testimony may be

videotaped, the state is subjecting the child to cross-examination by the

defense. In contrast, if the state meets the heavier burden of establishing

that testimony will cause the child to suffer severe emotional harm, the

defense may have no opportunity to cross-examine the child. In addition,

the argument assumes that the trial court will always find that the child will

suffer emotional harm if required to testify in open court. We decline to

engage in such speculation.

6. Furthermore, Glendening’s argument that the child must be testimonially

competent in order for the child’s out-of-court statements to be admitted

has been rejected by this Court in Perez v. State, 536 So.2d 206 (Fla. 1988).

In Perez, we held that the requirement of section 90.803(23) ‘‘that the trial

court find that the time, content, and circumstances of the statement pro-

vide sufficient safeguards of reliability furnishes a sufficient guarantee of

trustworthiness of the hearsay statement”’ to satisfy the requirements of Ohio

v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S.Ct. 2531, 65 L.Ed.2d 597 (1980). At 211.

In the present case, when an objection to the admission of a hearsay state-

ment was made, the trial court properly made findings, outside the presence

of the jury, that the out-of-court statements were reliable.

eo i ad. ar ee Orme. : ee

A-24

of child abuse. During direct examination, the prosecutor asked:

‘‘Mrs. Winkel, based upon your interview with Jennifer did you

reach any opinion within a reasonable degree of professional cer-

tainty as to whether or not she had been sexually abused?’’

Defense counsel objected to the question on the basis that the

question called for an opinion on the ultimate issue in the case

and on the basis that the witness was not competent to make the

conclusion. The objection to the question was overruled, with

the understanding that the question was limited to the specific

act alleged, anal penetration, and limited to the doll interview.

The question was rephrased as follows: ‘‘Based upon your inter-

view with Jennifer, her marking the charts, have you reached any

opinion within a reasonable degree of professional certainty as

to whether or not Jennifer Glendening’s anus was penetrated by

a penis?’”’ In response to the question, Mrs. Winkel stated that

she had. When questioned what that opinion was, Mrs. Winkel

stated that it was her opinion ‘‘that Jennifer has been sexually

abused by her father.’’ Glendening contends he was prejudiced

by the improper admission of this expert opinion.

The trial court correctly overruled the defense objection to

the question. Rebecca Winkel was recognized, without objection

by the defense, as an expert in conducting interviews with children

regarding suspected sexual abuse. A trial court has broad discre-

tion in determining the range of subjects on which an expert

witness may be allowed to testify and unless there is a clear show-

ing of error, its decision will not be disturbed on appeal. Johnson

v. State, 393 So.2d 1069, 1072 (Fla.1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S.

882, 102 S.Ct. 364, 70 L.Ed.2d 191 (1981). The trial court did

not abuse its discretion in determining that an opinion as to

whether the child was sexually abused was within the province

of the expert witness.

[8] A qualified expert may express an opinion as to whether

a child has been the victim of sexual abuse. Sections 90.702 and

90.703, Florida Statutes (1985), deal with admissibility of expert

testimony and opinions.

90.702 Testimony by experts.—If scientific, technical, or

other specialized knowledge will assist the trier of fact in

understanding the evidence or in determining a fact in issue,

a witness qualified as an expert by knowledge, skill, ex-

perience, training, or education may testify about it in the

form of an opinion; however, the opinion is admissible only

if it can be applied to evidence at trial.

EEE

’

A-25

90.703 Opinion on ultimate issue.—Testimony in the form

of an opinion or inference otherwise admissible is not ob-

jectionable because it includes an ultimate issue to be decided

by the trier of fact.

These two sections are subject, however, to the limitations of sec-

tion 90.403, Florida Statutes (1985), which provides in relevant

part:

Relevant evidence is inadmissible if its probative value is

substantially outweighed by the danger of unfair prejudice,

confusion of issues, misleading the jury, or needless presen-

tation of cumulative evidence.

Accordingly, the evidence code sets forth four requirements to

be met in order to admit an expert opinion: (1) the opinion

evidence must help the trier of fact; (2) the witness must be

qualified as an expert; (3) the opinion must be capable of being

applied to evidence at trial; and (4) the probative value of the

opinion must not be substantially outweighed by the danger of

unfair prejudice. See Kruse v. State, 483 So.2d 1383 (Fla. 4th

DCA 1986).

Testimony in the form of an opinion by Mrs. Winkel would

be helpful to the jury in view of the age of the victim. The child’s

age made it likely that her inexperience in sexual matters would

make it difficult for her to describe what happened. The opinion

of a witness such as Mrs. Winkel, recognized as an expert in inter-

viewing suspected young victims of sexual abuse, provided the

jury more information from which to decide whether the child

had actually been a victim of sexual abuse. Mrs. Winkel’s opinion

testimony could be applied by the jury to the medical evidence

to connect the findings of the medical examination to the cause.

The probative value of the opinion that the child was sexually

abused was not substantially outweighed by any unfair prejudice.

The jury was able to hear a tape recording of the interview which

formed the basis of Mrs. Winkei’s opinion and heard defense

arguments challenging the interview technique. The jury was

properly left free to determine whether to accept the opinion and

if so, what weight it should be given. See Kruse. See also Blood-

worth v. State, 504 So.2d 495, 497 (Fla. Ist DCA 1987) (trial

court did not err in allowing expert to express opinion that the

victim had engaged in recent nonconsensual intercourse).

[9, 10] Weagree with Glendening that it was improper for

A-26

the expert witness to testify that it was her opinion that the child’s

father was the person who committed the sexual offense. An

opinion as to the guilt or innocence of an accused is not admis-

sible. See Lambrix v. State, 494 So.2d 1143 (Fla.1986); Spradley

v. State, 442 So.2d 1039 (Fla..2d DCA 1983). Although section

90.703 would appear to permit such an opinion, such testimony

is precluded on the basis of section 90.403. Any probative value

such an opinion may possess is clearly outweighed by the danger

of unfair prejudice. This error does not, however, require rever-

sal. Except in cases of fundamental error, an issue will not be

considered for the first time on appeal. Steinhorst v. State, 412

So.2d 332 (Fla.1982). Defense counsel neither objected to the

answer nor moved to strike it and the error is not of a fundamental

nature. Accordingly, the issue is not properly preserved for appeal

because the question was proper and the improper reply was not

contemplated by the question and was not the subject of a mo-

tion to strike.

[11] Glendening also argues that Dr. Kent, a psychologist,

was improperly allowed to vouch for the credibility of a witness

by stating that in his expert opinion the child’s allegation, as con-

veyed by Mrs. Winkel, was based upon independent recall rather

than improper prompting. Defense counsel’s objection, however,

was on the basis that the question was irrelevant, not that the

question called for improper vouching for the credibility of the

hearsay declarant. In order for an argument to be cognizable on

appeal, it must be the specific contention asserted as the legal

ground for the objection below. Steinhorst. Accordingly, this issue

is also not properly preserved for appeal.

In summary, we conclude the district court below correctly

held that section 90.803(23) is constitutional and was properly

applied in the present case. Accordingly, we approve the deci-

sion of the district court below.

——

It is so ordered.

McDONALD, SHAW, BARKETT and KOGAN, JJ.,

concur.

OVERTON, J., concurs in result only.

GRIMES, J., did not participate in this case.

—

A-27

Fla. Stat. §

92.53 Sexual abuse or child abuse case; videotaping of

testimony of victim or witness under age 16.—

(1) On motion and hearing in camera and a finding that

there is a substantial likelihood that a victim or witness who is

under the age of 16 would suffer at least moderate emotional

or mental harm if he were required to testify in open court or

that such victim or witness is otherwise unavailable as defined

in s. 90.804(1), the trial court may order the videotaping of the

testimony of the victim or witness in a sexual abuse case or child

abuse case, whether civil or criminal in nature, which videotaped

testimony is to be utilized at trial in lieu of trial testimony in open

court.

(2) The motion may be filed by:

(a) The victim or witness, or the victim’s or witness’ at-

torney, parent, legal guardian, or guardian ad litem:

(b) A trial judge on his own motion.

(c) Any party in a civil proceeding; or

(d) The prosecuting attorney or the defendant, or the defen-

dant’s counsel.

(3) The judge shall preside, or shall appoint a special master

to preside, at the videotaping unless the following conditions are

met:

(a) The child is represented by a guardian ad litem or

counsel;

(b) The representative of the victim or witness and the

counsel for each party stipulate that the requirement for the

presence of the judge or special master may be waived; and

(c) The court finds at a hearing on the motion that the

presence of a judge or special master is not necessary to protect

the victim or witness.

(4) The defendant and the defendant’s counsel shall be pre-

—

rn See Rn were dome of andre heat eae eer ee ee . ee

A-28

sent at the videotaping, unless the defendant has waived this right.

The court may require the defendant to view the testimony from

outside the presence of the child by means of a two-way mirror

or another similar method that will ensure that the defendant can

observe and hear the testimony of the child in person, but that

the child cannot hear or see the defendant. The defendant and

the attorney for the defendant may communicate by any ap-

propriate private method.

(5) Any party, or the court on its own motion, may request

the aid of an interpreter, as provided in s. 90.606, to aid the parties

in formulating methods of questioning the child and in inter-

preting the answers of the child throughout proceedings conducted

under this section.

(6) The motion referred to in subsection (1) may be made

at any time with reasonable notice to each party to the cause,

and videotaping of testimony may be made any time after the

court grants the motion. The videotaped testimony shall be ad-

missible as evidence in the trial of the cause; however, such

testimony shall not be admissible in any trial or proceeding in

which such witness testifies by use of closed circuit television pur-

suant to s. 92.54.

(7) The court shall make specific findings of fact, on the

record, as to the basis for its ruling under this section.

Fla. Stat. §

90.803 Hearsay exceptions; availability of declarant im-

material.—The provision of s. 90.802 to the contrary notwith-

standing, the following are not inadmissible as evidence, even

though the declarant is available as a witness:

* * *

(23) HEARSAY EXCEPTION; STATEMENT OF CHILD

VICTIM OF SEXUAL ABUSE OR SEXUAL OFFENSE

AGAINST A CHILD.—-

(a) Unless the source of information or the method or cir-

cumstances by which the statement is reported indicates a lack

of trustworthiness, an out-of-court statement made by a child

victim with a physical, mental, emotional, or developmental age

of 11 or less describing any act of child abuse, sexual abuse, or

any other offense involving an unlawful sexual act, contact, in-

A-29

trusion, Or penetration performed in the presence of, with, by,

or on the declarant child, not otherwise admissible, is admissible

in evidence in any civil or criminal proceeding if:

1. The court finds in a hearing conducted outside the

presence of the jury that the time, content, and circumstances

of the statement provide sufficient safeguards of reliability. In

making its determination, the court may consider the mental and

physical age and maturity of the child, the nature and duration

of the abuse or offense, the relationship of the child to the of-

fender, the reliability of the assertion, the reliability of the child

victim, and any other factor deemed appropriate; and

2. The child either:

a. Testifies; or

b. Is unavailable as a witness, provided that there is other

corroborative evidence of the abuse or offense. Unavailability

shall include a finding by the court that the child’s participation

in the trial or proceeding wouid result in a substantial likelihood

of severe emotional or mental harm, in addition to findings pur-

suant to s. 90.804(1).

(b) Inacriminal action, the defendant shall be notified no

later than 10 days before trial that a statement which qualifies

as a hearsay exception pursuant to this subsection will be offered

as evidence at trial. The notice shall include a written statement

of the content of the child’s statement, the time at which the state-

ment was made, the circumstances surrounding the statement

which indicate its reliability, and such other particulars as

necessary to provide full disclosure of the statement.

(c) The court shall make specific findings of fact, on the

record, as to the basis for its ruling under this subsection.

iH

|

:

it

’

,

i

%

es le ee

A-30

EXCERPTS FROM CHILD COMPETENCY HEARING

THE COURT: Do you know what to tell the truth means?

CHILD: Uh uh. (Negative response.)

CHILD: Uh uh. (Negative response.)

THE COURT: Okay. Do you know what a lie is?

CHILD: Making people.

THE COURT: What?

CHILD: Make people.

THE COURT: Make people? If mommy told you not to

eat a cookie and you ate one would that be good or bad?

CHILD: Good.

THE COURT: Huh?

CHILD: Good.

THE COURT: That would be good?

CHILD: (Nods head affirmatively.)

THE COURT: Does mommy ever talk to you about tell-

ing the truth?

CHILD: (Shakes head negatively.)

THE COURT: No? Does mommy ever talk to you about

telling a lie?

CHILD: (Shakes head negatively.)

THE COURT: Who does mommy talk to you about?

CHILD: Nobody.

THE COURT: Do you and mommy talk about a lot of

things?

ow

A-31

CHILD: (Shakes head negatively.)

R. 761-62.

THE COURT: What does being good mean? Don’t know?

CHILD: Uh uh. (Negative response.)

THE COURT: Have you ever been bad?

CHILD: Uh uh. (Negative response.)

THE COURT: No?

R. 764.

THE COURT: Jenny, if your mommy said, Jenny, I don’t

want you to chew any gum and you chewed gum, would that

be bad or good?

DEFENSE COUNSEL: Objection Your Honor, asked and

answered.

CHILD: Good.

R. 764.

PROSECUTOR: Yeah. Okay. And see that pail over there

in the sandbox?

CHILD: Can I go over there?

PROSECUTOR: Not right now. In a few minutes. But can

you tell me the coior of the pail?

CHILD: That picture?

PROSECUTOR: No, see the pail in there?

A-32

DEFENSE COUNSEL: Objection, Your Honor, leading.

CHILD: Red and white.

THE COURT: Overruled.

PROSECUTOR: Okay. Now, Jenny, if I told you that the

pail was black, would I be, would I be telling the truth or telling

a lie?

DEFENSE COUNSEL: Objection as to

CHILD: Truth.

A-33

COMPARISON AND REVIEW OF STATE VIDEOTAPING

I. AGE

A.

G.

STATUTES

APPLICABILITY

Seventeen or younger

R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-37-13.2 (1986)

Under seventeen

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 43-2036 (Supp. 1985); Mo. Stat.

Ann. § 491.678 (Vernon Supp. 1989)

Sixteen or younger

Alaska Stat. § 12-45-047 (1984)

Under sixteen

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(A) (Michie Supp. 1988); Fla.

Stat. § 92.53(1) (1987); Miss. Code Ann. § 13-1-407(1)

(Harrison/Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988); N.H. Stat. Ann.

§ 30-9-17 (1986); Wis. Stat. Ann. § 967.04(7)(a)2 (West

Supp. 1987) (prior to 16th birthday and interests of

justice warrant)

Fifteen or less

Cal. Penal Code Ann. § 1346(a) (West Supp. 1989);

S.D. Code Ann. § 23A-12-9 (Supp. 1987)

Under fifteen

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-4253B (West Supp. 1988);

Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-3-413(1) (Bradford 1986);

Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 278, § 16D(a) (Law. Co-op.

Supp. 1988); Mich. Stat. Ann. § 27A.2163(1)(b)

(Callaghan Supp. 1988)

Under fourteen

lowa Code Ann. § 910A.14 (Supp. 1985); La Stat. Ann.

II.

A-34

§ 440.2A(1) (West Supp. 1989); Nev. Rev. Stat. §

174.227 (1986); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5982 (West

Supp. 1988)

H. Under thirteen

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 24-3434(a) (1986); N.H. Rev. Stat.

Ann. § 517:13-a (Supp. 1987); Tenn. Code Ann. §

24-7-116(a) (Michie Supp. 1988)

I. Twelve or younger

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 54-86g(a) (West Supp. 1988);

Ill. Stat. Ann. ch. 38, § 106A-2(a) (West Supp. 1988);

N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law § 190.32(1)(a) (West Supp.

1989); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 753A (West Supp.

1988); Tex. Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 1

(Vernon Supp. 1989); Vt. R. Evid. § 807 (Supp. 1986)

J. Under twelve

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987); Ky.

Rev. Stat. Ann. § 421.350(4) (Baldwin 1986); Utah

Code Ann. § 77-35-15.5(3) (Supp. 1987); Wis. Stat.

Ann. § 967.04(7)(a)l (West Supp. 1987); Wyo. Stat.

§ 7-11-408 (1987)

K. Under eleven

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(1) (Page 1987)

L. Under ten

Ind. Code Ann. § 35-37-4-8(b) (West 1986); Minn. Stat.

Ann. § 595.02(4)(a) (West Supp. 1989)

M. ‘‘Very young’’

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-1530(G) (Law. Co-op. Supp.

1988)

PERSON

A. Child victim of sexual offense

|

A-35

Every statute applies to child victims of sexual offenses.

See, e.g., Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp.

1988)

B. Child victim of other crimes

Cal. Penal Code Ann. § 1346 (West Supp. 1989)

(assault); Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 54.86g(a) (West

Supp. 1988) (assault); Fla. Stat. § 92.53(1) (1987) (child

abuse); Ind. Code Ann. § 35-37-4-6(a) (West 1986) (bat-

tery, kidnapping, confinement); Minn. Stat. Ann. §

595.02(4) (West Supp. 1989) (physical abuse, neglect);

Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.680(1) (Vernon Supp. 1989) (any

criminal prosecution involving alleged child victim);

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(1) (Page 1987)

(endangering)

C. Any child witness

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-4253 B (West Supp. 1988);

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987); Fla.

Stat. § 92.53(1) (1987); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 24-3434

(1986); Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 278, § 16D(a) (Law. Co-

op. Supp. 1988); Miss. Code Ann. § 13-1-407(1) (Har-

rison/Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988); N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law

§ 190.32(1)(a) (West Supp. 1989); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit.

22, § 753A (West Supp. 1988); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann.

§ 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988); S.C. Code Ann. §

16-3-1530(G) (Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988); Wis. Stat.

Ann. § 967.04(7)(a) (West Supp. 1987)

D. Other witnesses

Cal. Penal Code Ann. § 1346(a) (West Supp. 1989) (any

victim developmentally disabled as result of retarda-

tion); Mich. Stat. Ann. § 27A.2163(1) (Callaghan Supp.

1988) (victim with developmental disability); S.C. Code

- Ann. § 16-3-1530(G) (Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988) (vic-

tims and witnesses who are elderly or handicapped or

have undefined ‘‘special needs’’)

Ill. PROCEEDINGS WHERE USED

A. Trial

B.

D.

A-36

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp. 1988); Ariz.

Rev. Stat. § 13-4253C (West Supp. 1988); Ark. Stat.

Ann. § 43.2036 (Supp. 1985); Cal. Penal Code Ann.

§ 1346(d) (West Supp. 1989); Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 18-3-413(4) (Bradford 1986); Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann.

§ 54-862(b) (West Supp. 1988); Del. Code Ann. tit. 11,

§ 3511(b) (Michie 1987); Fla. Stat. § 92.53(1) (1987);

Ill. Stat. Ann ch. 38, § 106A-2(b) (West Supp. 1988);

Ind. Code Ann. § 35-37-4-6 (West 1986); Kan. Stat.

Ann. § 22-3434(c) (Supp. 1985); Mass. Ann. Laws ch.

278, § 16D(b)(6) (Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988); Mich. Stat.

Ann. § 27A.2163(13) (Callaghan Supp. 1988); Minn.

Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4) (West Supp. 1989); Miss. Code

Ann. § 13-1-407(1) (Harrison/Law. Co-op. Supp.

1988); Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.680(1) (Vernon Supp.

1989); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 2907.41(A), 2945.49(B)

(Page 1987); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 753D (West

Supp. 1988); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West

Supp. 1988); Tenn. Code Ann. § 24-7-116(d) (Michie

Supp. 1988); Tex. Crim. Proc. Code art. 38.071, § 4(a)

(Vernon Supp. 1989); Wis. Stat. Ann. § 967.04(7)(a)

(West Supp. 1987)

Preliminary hearing

Cal. Penal Code Ann. § 1346(a) (West Supp. 1989);

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988)

Juvenile Proceeding

Del Code Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987); La.

Stat. Ann. § 440.2.A.(3) (West Supp. 1989)

Grand Jury

N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law § 190.32 (West Supp. 1989)

Civil Proceedings

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-42501 (West Supp. 1988);

Miss. Code Ann. § i13-1-407(1) (Harrison/Law. Co-

op. Supp. 1988) (where occurrence or non-occurrence

of sexual abuse or child abuse is material fact); Tenn.

Code Ann. § 24-7-116(a) (Michie Supp. 1988) (any civil

proceeding in which child sexual abuse is issue)

A-37

PROCEDURE

MOVANT

A.

Prosecutor

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp. 1988);

Alaska Stat. § 12.45.047 (1984); Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 13-4253B (West Supp. 1988); Ark. Stat. Ann. §

43-2036 (Supp. 1985); Cal. Penal Code Ann. § 1346(a)

(West Supp. 1989); Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-3-413(1)

(Bradford 1986); Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a)

(Michie 1987); Ill. Stat. Ann. ch. 38, § 106A-2(a) (West

Supp. 1988); Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.680(1) (Vernon

Supp. 1989); Nev. Rev. Stat. § 174.227 (1986); N.Y.

Crim. Proc. Law § 190.32(2) (West Supp. 1989); Ohio

Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(1) (Page 1987); 42 Pa.

Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988); Utah

Cede Ann. § 77-35-15.5 (Supp. 1987)

Any party

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 54-86g(a) (West Supp. 1988);

Fla. Stat. § 92.53(2)(c),(d) (1987); lowa Code Ann. §

910A.14 (Supp. 1985); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-3434

(1986); Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 421.350(4) (Baldwin

1986); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4) (West Supp. 1989);

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 517:13-a (Supp. 1987); Okla.

Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 753C (West Supp. 1988); Tenn.

Code Ann. § 24-7-116(d) (Michie Supp. 1988); Tex.

Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(a) (Vernon

Supp. 1989); Vt. R. Evid. § 807 (Supp. 1986)

Court

Fla. Stat. § 92.53(2)(b) (1987); lowa Code Ann. §

910A.14 (Supp. 1985); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-3434

(1986); La. Stat. Ann. § 440.2.A.(1) (West Supp. 1989);

Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 278, § 16D(b)(1) (Law. Co-op.

Supp. 1988); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4) (West Supp.

1989); Nev. Rev. Stat. § 174.227 (1986); N.H. Rev.

Stat. Ann. § 517:13-a (Supp. 1987); Tex. Crim. Proc.

Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(a) (Vernon Supp. 1989);

Vt. R. Evid. § 807 (Supp. 1986)

A-38

Representative of child

Fla. Stat. § 92.53(2)(a) (1987) (attorney, parent, legal

guardian, or guardian ad litem); La. Stat. Ann. §

440.2.A.(1) (West Supp. 1989) (parish welfare unit or

agency or Department of Health and Human Re-

sources); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 517:13-a (Supp. 1987)

(victim); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp.

1988) (parent, guardian, or child’s advocate): Vt. R.

Evid. § 807 (Supp. 1986) (guardian ad litem). In

Mississippi the child’s representative may move to

require the defendant to view the testimony outside of

the child’s presence. Miss. Code Ann. § 13-1-407(4)

(Harrison/Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988)

NOTICE TO DEFENDANT

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp. 1988);

Alaska Stat. § 12.45.047 (1984); Ark. Stat. Ann. §

43-2036 (Supp. 1985); Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-4251

(West Supp. 1988); Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18.3.413

(Bradford 1986); Fla. Stat. § 92.53(6) (1987); Ind. Code

Ann. § 35-35-4-6(c) (West 1986)

HEARING

Fla. Stat. § 92.53(1) (1987) (hearing in camera); Ind.

Code Ann. § 13-37-4-6(c)(1) (West 1986) (hearing out-

side presence of jury and attended by child); Mass.

Ann. Laws ch. 278, § 16D(b)(1) (Law. Co-op. Supp.

1988); Miss. Code Ann. § 13-1-407(1) (Harrison/Law.

Co-op. Supp. 1988) (hearing in camera); N.H. Rev.

Stat. § 174.227 (1986)

PERSONS PRESENT

ATTORNEYS

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp. 1988); Ariz.

Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-4253B (West Supp. 1988); Ark.

Stat. Ann. § 43-2036 (Supp. 1985); Conn. Gen. Stat.

Ann. § 54-86g(a) (West Supp. 1988); Del. Code Ann.

tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987); Fla. Stat. § 92.53(4)

(1987); Ill. Stat. Ann. ch. 38, § 106A-2(a) (West Supp.

1988); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-3434(b)(1) (1986); Mass.

’

A-39

Ann. Laws ch. 278, § 16D(b)(3) (Law. Co-op. Supp.

1988); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4)(b) (West Supp.

1989); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(1)(2) (Page

1987); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 753C (West Supp.

1988) 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp.

1988); Tenn. Code Ann. § 24-7-116(d) (Michie Supp.

1988); Tex. Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(a)

(Vernon Supp. 1989)

Il. JUDGE

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 43-2036 (Supp. 1985); Conn. Gen.

Stat. Ann. § 54-86g(a) (West Supp. 1988); Fla. Stat.

§ 92.53(3) (1987) (unless parties and child’s represen-

tative waive and judge finds not necessary to protect

child); Ill. Stat. Ann. ch. 38, § 106A-2(a) (West Supp.

1988); Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 278, § 16D(b)(3) (Law.

Co-op. Supp. 1988); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4)(b)

(West Supp. 1989); Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.680(3)

(Vernon Supp. 1989); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §

2907.41(A)(1)(2) (Page 1987) (judge may preside from

outside room); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West

Supp. 1988); Tenn. Code Ann. § 24-7-116(d) (Michie

Supp. 1988); Tex. Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art. 38.071,

§ 4(a) (Vernon Supp. 1989); Wis. Stat. Ann. §

967.04(8)(a) (West Supp. 1987)

lil. DEFENDANT REQUIRED

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp. 1988); III.

Stat. Ann. ch. 38, § 106A-2(a) (West Supp. 1988); Ohio

Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(1) (Page 1987)

IV. DEFENDANT PROHIBITED

Ark. Stat. Ann. §§ 43-2035 to 2037 (Supp. 1985); Kan.

Stat. Ann. § 22-3434(b)(4) (1986); Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 421.350(4) (Baldwin 1986); Mich. Stat. Ann. §

27A.2163(14) (Callaghan Supp. 1988); R.1. Gen. Laws

§ 11-37-13.2 (1986); Utah Code Ann. §

77-35-15.5(3),(4) (Supp. 1987)

V. DEFENDANT MAY BE EXCLUDED

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987); Fla.

7h

Vil.

VIII.

A-40

Stat. § 92.53(4) (1987); Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 278, §

16D(b)(3) (Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988); Minn. Stat. Ann.

§ 595.02(4)(c) (West Supp. 1989); Miss. Code Ann. §

13-1-407(4) (Harrison/Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988); Mo.

Stat. Ann. § 491.685(1} (Vernon Supp. 1989); Vt. R.

Evid. § 807 (Supp. 1986); Wyo. Stat. § 7-11-408 (1987)

DEFENDANT ON TELEVISION MONITOR

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4)(c)(2) (West Supp. 1989);

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(2) (Page 1987)

EXCLUDED DEFENDANT COMMUNICATE WITH

ATTORNEY

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 54-86g(a) (West Supp. 1988)

(defendant may consult with his attorney); Del. Code

Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987) (defendant able

to communicate with his attorney); Fla. Stat. § 92.53(4)

(1987) (defendant and attorney may communicate by

any appropriate private method); Mass. Ann. Laws ch.

278, 16D(b)(5) (Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988) (defendant

able to have constant private communication with

defense counsel); Mich. Stat. Ann. § 27A.2163(12)(b)

(Callaghan Supp. 1988) (defendant able to com-

municate with his or her attorney); Miss. Code Ann.

§ 13-1-407 (Harrison/Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988) (defen-

dant and attorney may communicate by any ap-

propriate private electronic or telephonic method);

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(2) (Page 1987)

(defendant provided electronic means of immediate

communication with his attorney); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat.

Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988) (defendant and

defense counsel shall have adequate opportunity to

communicate); Tex. Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art.

38.071, § 4(a) (Vernon Supp. 1989) (permit defendant

to communicate contemporaneously with his attorney

during periods of recess or by audio contact); Wis. Stat.

Ann. § 967.04(8)(b)(9) (West Supp. 1987) (defendant

can communicate privately and conveniently with his

counsel)

EQUIPMENT OPERATOR

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987); Ill.

A-41

Stat. Ann. ch. 38, § 106A-2(a) (West Supp. 1988);

Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4)(b) (West Supp. 1989);

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988)

IX. OPERATOR CONFINED FROM VIEW

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-4253B (West Supp. 1988);

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-3434(b)(3) (1986); Ohio Rev. Code

Ann. § 2907.41(A)(2) (Page 1987); Okla. Stat. Ann.

tit. 22, § 753C (West Supp. 1988); Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 24-7-116(d) (Michie Supp. 1988); Tex. Crim. Proc.

Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(a) (Vernon Supp. 1989)

X. SUPPORT PERSON

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-4253B (West Supp. 1988)

(any person whose presence would contribute to welfare

and well-being of minor); Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §

54-86g (West Supp. 1988); Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §

3511(a) (Michie 1987); Ill. Stat. Ann. ch. 38, §

106A-2(a) (West Supp. 1988); Kan. Stat. Ann. §

22-3434(b)(1) (1986); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(4)(b)

(West Supp. 1989); N.Y. Crim. Proc. Law § 190.3(5)(c)

(West Supp. 1989) (doctor, nurse, or other medical

assistant if required); id. § 190.25 (3)(h) (social worker,

rape crisis counselor, psychologist, or other profes-

sional); Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(2) (Page

1987)) (one person chosen by child and any person

whose presence judge determines would contribute to

welfare and well-being of child); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit.

22, § 753C (West Supp. 1988); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann.

§ 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988); Tenn. Code Ann. §

24-7-116(d) (Michie Supp. 1988); Tex. Crim. Proc.

Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(a) (Vernon Supp. 1989);

Wis. Stat. Ann. § 967.04(8)(b)(11) (West Supp. 1987)

(reasonable number of persons deemed by court sup-

portive of child)

XI. OTHERS

Fla. Stat. § 92.53(5) (1987) (interpreter if child cannot

be reasonably understood); Ill. Stat. Ann. ch. 38, §

106A-2(a) (West Supp. 1988) (security personnel); Ohio

Rev. Code Ann. § 2907.41(A)(2) (Page 1987) (inter-

preters); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp.

A-42

1988) (shorthand reporter); Wis. Stat. Ann. §

967.04(8)(b)(6) (West Supp. 1987) (advisors to assist

questioners)

XII. PLACE

A. Chambers

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 43-2036 (Supp. 1985); Mo. Stat.

Ann. § 491.680(1) (Vernon Supp. 1989); 42 Pa. Cons.

Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988)

B. Outside courtroom

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-4253B (West Supp. 1988);

Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 54-86g(a) (West Supp. 1988);

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-3434(a)(2) (1986); Tex. Crim.

Proc. Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(a) (Vernon Supp.

1989); Utah Code Ann. § 77-35-15.5(3), (4) (Supp.

1987); Vt. R. Evid. § 807 (Supp. 1986)

C. Special facility

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988)

(special facility designed for taking depositions of

children); Wis. Stat. Ann. § 967.04(8)(b)(2) (West

Supp. 1987) (room which provides adequate privacy,

freedom from distractions, informality, and comfort

appropriate to child’s developmental level)

XIII. TESTIMONY

A. Oath or admonishment

Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.693 (Vernon Supp. 1989); Tex.

Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(b)(5) (Vernon

Supp. 1989); Wis. Stat. Ann. § 967 .04(8)(b)(4) (West

Supp. 1987) (if oath or affirmation inappropriate court

shall determine that child understands it is wrong to

tell a lie and will testify truthfully)

B. Competency

Tex. Crim. Proc. Code Ann. art. 38.071, § 4(b)(6)

(Vernon Supp. 1989)

A-43

C. Questioners

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 3511(a) (Michie 1987) (only

attorneys or defendant acting pro se); Ill. Stat. Ann.

ch. 38, § 106A-2(a) (West Supp. 1988) (prosecutor or

court); Kan. Stat. Ann. § 22-3434(b)(2) (1986); Okla.

Stat. Ann. tit. 22, § 753C (West Supp. 1988) (only at-

torneys); Tenn. Code Ann. § 24-7-116(d) (Michie Supp.

1988) (attorneys or court); Wis. Stat. Ann. §

967 .04(8)(b)(6) (West Supp. 1987) (advisor may assist

questioner or conduct questioning)

D. Second Occasion

Mo. Stat. Ann. § 491.680(4) (Vernon Supp. 1989)

(cross-examination prior to preliminary hearing and at

least one additional time prior to trial); Ohio Rev. Code

Ann. § 2907.41(A)(1) (Page 1987) (defense may request

another deposition upon discovery of new evidence

material to defense that could not have been discovered

with reasonable diligence before first deposition); Tenn.

Code Ann. § 24-7-116(e) (Michie Supp. 1988) (on mo-

tion of either party for good cause court may order

additional testimony if time and circumstances permit

or testimony in court restricted to specified matters)

STANDARD OF NECESSITY

A. GOOD CAUSE

Ala. Code Ann. § 15-25-2(a) (Michie Supp. 1988); Ariz.

Stat. Ann. § 13-4253B (West Supp. 1988); Ark. Stat.

Ann. § 43-2036 (Supp. 1985); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann.

§ 5984(a) (West Supp. 1988); Utah Code Ann. §

77-35-15.5(3), (4) (Supp. 1987)

B. APPROPRIATE

S.C. Code Ann. § 16-3-1530(G) (Law. Co-op. Supp.

1988)

C. IN THE INTEREST OF JUSTICE

Wis. Stat. Ann. § 967.04(7) (West Supp. 1987) (10

factors listed for consideration)

A-44

D. UNAVAILABLE UNDER EVIDENTIARY RULES

Miss. Code Ann. § 13-1-407(1)(b) (Harrison/Law. Co-

op. Supp. 1988) (otherwise unavailable); Ohio Rev.

Code Ann. § 2907.41(B)(1) (Page 1987) (unavailable

under evidentiary rules)

C. MEDICALLY OR PSYCHIATRICALLY

UNAVAILABLE

Cal. Penal Code Ann. § 1346(d) (West Supp. 1989)

(emotional trauma so that victim is medically

unavailable or unavailable within meaning of Evidence

Code); Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 18-3-413(4) (Bradford

1986) (emotional trauma so that victim is medically or

otherwise unavailable); Ind. Code Ann. §

35-37-4-6(c)(2)(B) (West 1986) (unavailable because a

psychiatrist has certified that testifying would be

traumatic or physician has certified medical reasons

for child not to testify)

D. INCOMPETENT

Ind. Code Ann. § 35-37-4-6(c)(2)(iii) (West 1986)

(incapable of understanding nature and obligation of

oath); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 595.02(3) (West Supp. 1989)

(incompetent)

E. TRAUMA

Fla. Stat. § 92.53(1) (1987) (at least moderate emotional

or mental harm); Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 278, § 16D(b)(1)

(Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988) (psychological or emotional

trauma); Miss. Code Ann. § 13-1-407(1)(a) (Har-

rison/Law. Co-op. Supp. 1988) (traumatic emotional

or mental distress); N.M, Sup, Ct, R, Ann, 1986,

§-504(B)(1) (Cum, Supp, 1988) (unreasonable or un-

necessary harm); Ohio Rev, Code Ann, §

2907. 41(B)U1)(b) (Page 1987) (serious emotional

trauma); RI, Gen, Laws § 11-37-13,2 (1986)

(unreasonable or unnecessary harm); 8,D, Code Ann,

§ 23A-12-9 (Supp, 1987) (substantially detrimental);

Wyo, Stat, § 7-11-408 (1987) (harm which would render

child incapable of testifying)

A-45

NOT FINAL UNTIL TIME EXPIRES TO FILE REHEARING

MOTION AND, IF FILED, DETERMINED.

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF FLORIDA

SECOND DISTRICT

CASE NO. 86-88

DAVID EDWARD GLENDENING,

Appellant,

Vv.

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellee.

Opinion filed January 14, 1987.

Appeal from the Circuit

Court for Sarasota County;

Andrew Owens, Jr., Judge.

Ronald K. Cacciatore, Tampa,

for Appellant.

Jim Smith, Attorney General,

Tallahassee, and Kim W. Munch.

Assistant Attorney General,

Tampa, for Appellee.

GRIMES, Judge.

This is an appeal from a conviction of sexual battery on a

child eleven years of age or younger,

The major thrust of appellant's argument is that the court

erred in admitting out-of-court statements made by Jennifer

Glendening, the appellant's 4-!> year-old daughter, which im.

plicated appellant, The testimony concerning these statements

could only have been admitted under section 90, 804(23), Florida

Statutes (1985), Appellant not only attacks the constitutionality

of the statute and argues its inapplicability to him but also con-

tends that there was no compliance with its requirements.

Section 90.803(23) reads as follows:

(23) HEARSAY EXCEPTION; STATEMENT OF

CHILD VICTIM OF SEXUAL ABUSE OR SEXUAL OF-

FENSE AGAINST A CHILD.—

(a) Unless the source of information or the method

or circumstances by which the statement is reported indicates

a lack of trustworthiness, an out-of-court statement made

by a child victim with a physical, mental, emotional, or

developmental age of 11 or less describing any act of child

abuse, sexual abuse, or any other offense involving an

unlawful sexual act, contact, intrusion, or penetration per-

formed in the presence of, with, by, or on the declarant

child, not otherwise admissible, 1s admissible in evidence in

any civil or criminal proceeding if:

1. The court finds in a hearing conducted outside the

presence of the jury that the time, content, and circum-

stances of the statement provide sufficient safeguards of

reliability. In making its determination, the court may con-

sider the mental and physical age and maturity of the child,

the nature and duration of the abuse or offense, the rela-

tionship of the child to the offender, the reliability of the

assertion, the reliability of the child victim, and any other

factor deemed appropriate; and

tv

The child either: -

a. Testifies; or

b. Is unavailable as a witness, provided that there is

other corroborative evidence of the abuse or offense, Un-

availability shall include a finding by the court that the

child’s participation in the trial or proceeding would result

in a substantial likelihood of severe emotional or mental

harm, in addition to findings pursuant to s, 90,804(1),

(b) Inaeriminal action, the defendant shall be notified

no later than 10 days before trial that a statement which

qualifies as a hearsay exception pursuant to this subsection

will be offered as evidence at trial, The notice shall include

A-47

a written statement of the content of the child’s statement,

the time at which the statement was made, the circumstances

surrounding the statement which indicate its reliability, and

such other particulars as necessary to provide full disclosure

of the statement.

(c) The court shall make specific findings of fact, on

the record, as to the basis for its ruling under this subsection.

in arguing facial unconstitutionality, appellant contends that

section 90.803(23) violates the sixth amendment to the United

States Constitution and article I, section 16, of the Florida Con-

stitution, both of which guarantee an accused the right to con-

front adverse witnesses. However, the United States Supreme

Court has held that the confrontation clause is satisfied when

a declarant whose out-of-court statement is sought to be intro-

duced is available for cross-examination at the trial or if found

to be unavailable, the statement bears adequate ‘‘indicia of

reliability.’’ Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 100 S.Ct. 2531, 65

L.Ed.2d 597 (1980). Section 90.803(23) tracks the requirements

of Ohio v. Roberts.

Comparable statutes providing for the admissibility of out-

of-court statements by child abuse victims have been held con-

Stitutional in other jurisdictions. State v. Myatt, 237 Kan. 17,

697 P.2d 836 (1985); State v. Bellotti, 383 N.W.2d 308 (Minn.

Ct. App. 1986); State v. Ryan, 103 Wash.2d 165, 691 P.2d 197

(1984).

The statute is intended to allow the courts to be sensitive

to the critical need for a child victim’s out-of-court state-

ments, while allowing them to address the various reliability

problems posed by the statements, thus protecting the defen-

dant’s confrontation rights,

697 P.2d at 842, We hold that section 90,803(23) does not violate

the confrontation clauses of the United States and Florida

Constitutions,

Appellant also argues that sinee he was eharged with a

criminal offense occurring between September |, 1984, and June

24, 1985, the provisions of section 90,803(23) cannot be employed

A-48

against him because the statute did not become effective until

Juiy 1, 1985. He contends that the admission of the out-of-court

statements which are covered by that statute constituted an ex

post facto application of the law. An ex post facto law is one

which either punishes an act which was innocent when committed,

makes the punishment for the offense more burdensome, or

deprives the accused of a defense which was available when the

offense was committed. Dobbert v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282, 97

S.Ct. 2290, 53 L.Ed.2d 344, rehearing denied, 434 U.S. 882, 98

S.Ct. 246, 54 L.Ed.2d 166 (1977). Clearly, section 90.803(23) did

not increase the punishment or deprive appellant of a defense.

Moreover, the statute had no effect upon whether appellant com-

mitted the crime but simply made it easier to p

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.