Appendixmm — Bieneman v. Chicago

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

EPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

ter fQerK

Supreme Court of the Anite

@ctober Term, 1988

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, on his own behalf

and on behalf of all persons similarly situated,

Petitioners,

v.

THE CITY OF CHICAGO; EUGENE SAWYER, in

his official capacity as Acting Mayor of the City

of Chicago; HOWARD STANBACK, in his official

capacity as Commissioner of the Department of

Aviation of the City of Chicago; AMERICAN

AIRLINES, INC.; DELTA AIRLINES, INC.;

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.; OZARK

AIRLINES, INC.; TRANS WORLD

AIRLINES, INC.; UNITED AIR

LINES, INC.; and, USAIRLINES, INC.,

Respondents.

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR A WRIT

OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

JOSEPH V. KARAGANIS

A. Bruce WHITE

KATHLEEN M. DONAHUE

ELLEN LoIs ZISOOK

Karaganis & White Ltd.

414 North Orleans

Suite 810

Chicago, Illinois 60610

(312) 836-1177

Attorneys for Petitioners

Pandick Technologies, Inc., Chicago © (312) 236-0200 i y)

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Mandate, dated January 5, 1989, Bieneman, et al.

v. City of Chicago, et al., No. 88-2399 ........ A-1

Judgment Order, dated December 13, 1988,

Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al....... A-3

Opinion, dated December 13, 1988, Bieneman, et

al. v. City of Chicago, et al., No. 88-2399...... A-4

Judgment Order, dated June 28, 1988, denying

Plaintiff’s motion for class certification and

dismissing Plaintiff’s cause of action with

prejudice, Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago,

. Se ee er A-23

Minute Order, dated June 24, 1988, denying

Plaintiff’s motion for class certification and

dismissing the case with prejudice, Bieneman,

et al. v. City of Chicago, et al.,

Pee te Gr I 6 ge sre ic as ec ace A-24

Transcript of Proceedings, dated June 24, 1988,

Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al.,

Se: ee ee ewe eee eas A-25

Mandate, dated February 26, 1988, Bieneman, et

al. v. City of Chicago, et al., No. 87-2077..... A-34

Judgment Order, dated February 3, 1988,

Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al.,

PO EE 65s 8 ie er ek hee nese oe A-36

Opinion, dated February 3, 1988, Bieneman, et al.

v. City of Chicago, etal., No. 87-2077 ....... A-37

ii

Page

Judgment Order, dated July 23, 1987, dismissing

Counts I, II, IV, V, VI, VII and VIII and Count

III, Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al.,

oe Rte | ac A-42

Minute Order, July 21, 1987 nunc pro tunc June 8,

1987, entering judgment and dismissing Counts

I, II, IV, V, VI, VII and VIII and Count III,

Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago. et al.,

Ben. eS Rs a kn ck Oda eee ee A-43

Minute Order, dated June 8, 1987, dismissing

Counts I, II, IV, V, VI, VII and VIII and Count

III, Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al.,

Ben. Be GG AEs A 5 0s an eG Ore ee eee A-44

Memorandum Opinion, dated June 8, 1987,

Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al.,

wee: GGUS Pe «6 eck tee eee A-45

First Amended Complaint, Bieneman, et al. v. City

of Chicago, et al., No. 84 C 10388 ......... A-54

Minute Order, dated March 19, 1986, denying

Plaintiff’s Motion for Reconsideration, Biene-

man, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al.,

mo Oe GP ce cd ce eucaue eo A-84

Minute Order, dated October 23, 1985, grant-

ing motion to dismiss Counts I and II, denying

motion to dismiss Count III, and granting motion

for a more definite statement, Bieneman, et al. v.

City of Chicago, et al., No. 84 C 10388...... A-86

Memorandum Opinion and Order, dated October

23, 1985, Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et

Oc.; tee. O6 GC UGG kk os C2 ee ee eee A-87

A-1

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

219 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Date: January 5, 1989

Thomas F. Strubbe

Clerk

312-435-5850

Mr. H. Stuart Cunningham, Clerk

United States District Court

219 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Re: LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on

behalf of all persons Appeal from the

similarly situated, - sniagsilie

Plaintiff-Appellant \ sa ted et cae

v8.

< The Honorable

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, et Harry D. Leinenweber,

al., Judge Presiding.

Defendants-Appellees. |}

Dear Clerk:

Herewith is the mandate of this Court in the above-

entitled appeal. “A certified copy of the judgment and a

copy of the opinion of the Court, if any, and any direc-

tion as to costs shall constitute the mandate.” (F.R.A.P.

41(a)). I am also returning the original record of your Dis-

trict Court, which was transmitted to this office for use on

appeal. Please acknowledge receipt on the enclosed copy of

this letter.

A-2

Contents of Record Being Returned Later:

Contents of Record being Returned:

3 Vols. Pleadings

2 Vols. Transcripts

2 Bound Vols.

/s/ MABEL L. BOBER

U.S.C.A. Deputy Clerk

Copies Mailed To:

Mark E. JONES

180 North LaSaile Street

Suite 801

Chicago, Illinois 60601

JAMES D. MONTGOMERY

Office of Corporation Counsel

121 North LaSalle

Suite 511

Chicago, Illinois 60601

JOSEPH V. KARAGANIS

414 North Orleans Street

Suite 810

Chicago, Illinois 60610

NOTE TO COUNSEL:

EDWARD L. FOOTE

1 First National Plaza

Suite 5000

Chicago, Illinois 60603

JEREMIAH MARSH

3 First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60602

If any physical and large documentary exhibits have been filed in

the above-entitled cause, they are to be withdrawn ten days from the

date of this notice. Exhibits not withdrawn during this period will be

disposed of.

A-3

JUDGMENT — ORAL ARGUMENT

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

December 13, 1988

Before

Hon. RICHARD A. POSNER, Circuit Judge

Hon. JOHN L. CoFFEy, Circuit Judge

Hon. FRANK H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

—\

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, Appeal from the

on his own behalf and on Unies whates Oisrict

Court for the Northern

behalf of all persons District of Illinois,

similarly situated, Eastern Division

Plaintiff-Appellant, >

No. 88-2399 vs.

No. 84 C 10388

The Honorable

CITY OF CHICAGO, et al., Harry D. Leinenweber,

Defendants-Appellees. } attain

This cause was heard on the record from the United

States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois,

Eastern Division, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND

ADJUDGED by this Court that the judgment is

AFFIRMED to the extent it rejects all of Bineman’s [sic]

claims under the Constitution, the judgment is VACATED

_to the extent it holds that claims under state law are

preempted, and the cause is REMANDED with directions

that the Court relinquish jurisdiction under Gibbs, so that

Bieneman may pursue his state-law contentions in state

court, in accordance with the opinion of this Court filed

this date. Each party shall bear its own costs on appeal.

A-4

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 88-2399

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

City OF CHICAGO, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 8 C 1038&—Harry D. Leinenweber, Judge.

SUBMITTED NoveMBER 1, 1988—DecipeEp DECEMBER 13, 1988*

Before PosNER, COFFEY, and EASTERBROOK, Circuit

Judges.

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge. Noise from O’Hare Air-

port is the subject of this case. Lawrence C. Bieneman,

who bought a parcel of land near O’Hare in 1967 and has

become a frequent filer, commenced this suit as a class

action on behalf of all other residents of northern Illinois

* The case was orally argued on January 6, 1988, but we dis-

missed the appeal for want of jurisdiction because the judgment

was not final. This new appeal, taken from a final judgment, has

been submitted to the original panel for decision without a second

ora] argument.

A-5

2 No. 88-2399

adversely affected by noise.! Bieneman contended that the

City of Chicago (which operates O’Hare) and the airlines

using O’Hare intentionally reduced the value of his land

by propagating noise and the chemicals in aircraft exhaust.

Two counts of the complaint alleged a deprivation of prop-

erty without due process, a third alleged a taking, and

other counts made claims under state tort law.

Decisions by three district judges have left Bieneman

empty-handed. Judge Decker dismissed the claims alleg-

ing deprivations of property without due process on the

ground that entitlements to be free from nuisances and

related torts are not “property” within the meaning of

the Due Process Clause. Judge Duff, to whom the case

was transferred, dismissed the remaining claims. 662 F.

Supp. 1297 (N.D. Ill. 1987). Any taking occurred no later

than 1976, Judge Duff concluded, so that this suit, filed

in 1984, is untimely. The state claims presented under the

court’s pendent jurisdiction all had been preempted by

federal statutes and regulations, Judge Duff concluded in

reliance on Luedtke v. County of Milwaukee, 521 F.2d

387, 391 (7th Cir. 1975). Although Judge Duff reserved

decision on the complaint’s demand to proceed as a class

action, 662 F. Supp. at 1298 n.1, Bieneman filed a notice

of appeal. After we dismissed this as premature, 838 F.2d

962 (7th Cir. 1988), Bieneman asked the district court to

certify a class limited to some of the legal issues in the

case. By then the case had been transferred to Judge

1 Bieneman became Mayor of Bensenville, Illinois, and that vil-

lage, joined by three others, filed suit in state court seeking an

injunction against the expansion of O’Hare. The villages lost. Vu-

lage of Bensenville v. City of Chicago, 16 Ill. App. 3d 733, 306

N.E.2d 562 (1st Dist. 1973). Bieneman, as Mayor of Bensenville,

was among the signatories to a consent decree affecting planning

for growth at O'Hare. Illinois ex rel. Scott v. Butterfield, No. 74

C 2440 (N.D. Ill. 1974). Bieneman personally was among the plain-

tiffs in a case challenging the Federal Aviation Administration’s

plan of redevelopment at O’Hare—another defeat. Suburban O'Hare

Commission v. Dole, 787 F.2d 186 (7th Cir. 1986). So this case

is at least the fourth for Bieneman on the topic.

A-6

No. 88-2399 | 3

Leinenweber, who denied the motion. Judge Leinenweber

doubted whether Bieneman, who had lost the case on the

merits, was an adequate representative of the class; at

all events, the judge thought that the prospect of incon-

sistent decisions on legal questions was insufficient to call

for certification of a class, given the disparate interests

of the many thousands of persons affected by operations

at O’Hare Airport. Bieneman again appeals, this time

from a final judgment.

I

Bieneman contests the district court’s refusal to certify

the case as a class action. Unless the district court abused

its discretion, we must respect its decision. Patterson v.

General Motors Corp., 631 F.2d 476, 480 (7th Cir. 1980);

Adashunas v. Negley, 626 F.2d 600, 605 (7th Cir. 1980);

Susman v. Lincoln American Corp., 561 F.2d 86, 90 (7th

Cir. 1977). There was no abuse. Bieneman’s proposed class

contained at least 300,000 persons. Some of these un-

doubtedly derive great benefit from increased operations

at O’Hare, which make the area attractive for business

and may increase the value of land, even as they make

land less attractive for residential purposes. The magni-

tude of any effect on residential owners depends on topog-

raphy, flight patterns, and many other variables; home-

owners who want to sell to businesses (or are in areas

zoned for business) may benefit from extra flights and so

oppose homeowners differently situated. No wonder courts

routinely decline to certify classes in airport-noise cases.

E.g., Virginians for Dulles v. Volpe, 344 F. Supp. 573,

575 (E.D. Va. 1972), affirmed in relevant part, 541 F.2d

442 (4th Cir. 1976); Town of East Haven v. Eastern Air-

lines, Inc., 331 F. Supp. 16, 18 (D. Conn. 1971), affirmed,

470 F.2d 148 (2d Cir. 1972); Ario v. Metropolitan Airports

Comm ’n, 367 N.W.2d 509 (Minn. 1985); City of San Jose

v. Superior Court of Santa Clara County, 12 Cal. 3d 447,

525 P.2d 701 (1974).

Conceding this, Bieneman insists that the district court

should have certified a class for purposes of legal ques-

A-7

4 No. 88-2399

tions only, such as preemption and the length of the stat-

ute of limitations. Such a class could prevent inconsistent

outcomes in multifarious cases, achieving the objective of

Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(bX1). Maybe so; some courts have given

class treatment to questions of law while reserving issues

of fact for individual resolution. Sterling v. Velsicol Chemi-

cal Corp., 855 F.2d 1188, 1196-97 (6th Cir. 1988); In re

Agent Orange Product Liability Litigation, 818 F.2d 145,

166-67 (2d Gir. 1987); In re School Asbestos Litigation,

789 F.2d 996, 1008-10 (8d Cir. 1986). That this may be

done does not mean that it must be. A court does not

abuse its discretion in failing to employ novel procedural

devices, especially when there are serious doubts about

the adequacy of the plaintiff's representation of the class,

even about the existence of a case or controversy with

regard to a certification of the sort Bieneman proposes.

A class limited to legal claims (such as identifying the

period of limitations), leaving the class members to file

separate suits if they want to take advantage of the rul-

ing, does not resolve any concrete case, and it looks sus-

piciously like a request for an advisory opinion. (Sterling,

Agent Orange, and similar opinions contemplated that ques-

tions not covered by the class certification would be re-

solved by further proceedings in the same case, avoiding

this problem.)

Bieneman filed this case as a class action yet pursued

it for more then three years without asking the district

court to certify a class; he appealed, leaving the class

behind, and recovered his zeal to serve as representative

only on learning that disposition of the class claim was

essential to his own claim. We suggested on the first ap-

peal that ‘fa class representative who has lost on the

merits may have a duty to the class to oppose certifica-

tion, to avoid the preclusive effect of the Judgment”. 838

F.2d at 964. Bieneman nonetheless pressed on. What he

pressed, however, was a motion for partial certification,

abandoning members of the class pleaded in the complaint

and many of the issues originally identified for class treat-

ment, in the teeth of our observation that a representative

A-8

No. 88-2399 5

may not unilaterally abandon the class, 838 F.2d at 963.

The district court was entitled to doubt that Bieneman

is a fit representative of other land owners. See East

Texas Motor Freight System, Ine. v. Rodriguez, 431 U.S.

395, 405 (1977). This is quite enough to support Judge

Leinenweber’s decision, and we resolve no other questions

concerning class certification.

II

Bieneman alleges that noise and noxious gasses emanat-

ing from O'Hare Airport deprive him of property without

oY rocess of law, and so allow a remedy under 42

SC §1983. The contention is fundamentally that O’Hare

is a nuisance, traditionally a subject of state law. Judge

Decker believed that maintaining a nuisance does not de-

prive anyone of “liberty or property” within the mean-

ing of the Due Process Clause. The desire to prosecute

a nuisance suit is not based on either liberty or proper-

ty, the judge held in reliance on Brown v. Brienen, 722

F.2d 360 (7th Cir. 1983), and Jackson v. City of Joliet,

715 F.2d 1200 (7th Cir. 1983). As we see things, however,

the right question is not whether there is or may be prop-

erty in a chose in action—to which the answer, if perti-

nent, is “yes”. See Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455

U.S. 422, 428 (1982). Sending waves of noise across a

stranger’s land can “take” his property, see United States

v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946), and therefore must be able

to ‘‘deprive” him of “liberty or property” too. The prop-

erty interest is in the land, not in the mght to litigate.

That the state’s conduct concerning the land is tortious

does not eliminate a liberty or property element that

otherwise exists. Brown, Jackson, and similar cases do

not depend on a belief that obnoxious conduct by the state

cannot deprive a person of liberty or property. They hold,

rather, that the Constitution does not require the state

to use civil or criminal process to protect its residents

from private aggression or ameliorate the vicissitudes of

life. See generally Archie v. City of Racine, 847 F.2d 1211

(7th Cir. 1988) (en banc).

A-9

6 No. 88-2399

The state is the aggressor in our case, however. The

complaint alleges that state actors manage O’Hare Air-

port so as to inflict injury on private persons. This for-

mally states a constitutional claim. The immediate hur-

dle for Bieneman, however, is the principle that negligent

conduct does not violate the Due Process Clause, Daniels

v. Williams, 474 U.S. 327 (1986), and we added in Archie

that grossly negligent conduct should be treated just like

negligence. 847 F.2d at 1218-20. To get anywhere, Biene-

man must show that the City of Chicago intentionally or

recklessly inflicted injury without due process of law. This

is so whether he contends that the violation is procedural

or substantive.?

No one supposes that the City of Chicago set out to

aggravate Mr. Bieneman by jacking up the levels of noise

at O’Hare Airport. He is not a member of some prostrate

group; owners of land near O’Hare are among the wealthi-

est and most influential people in Illinois; noise injures

without regard to race, religion, and political beliefs. To

show “‘intent’’ (or at least recklessness), Bieneman main-

tains that Chicago knows the effect of noise and exhaust

gasses, yet does nothing to aid their victims. Put in this

way, however, the argument is no different from the one

in Personnel Administrator of Massachusetts v. Feeney,

442 U.S. 256 (1979). Statutes reserving public jobs for

veterans assist a group almost all members of which are

male. Women seeking the jobs contended that the state

must have “intended” to do them injury, because every-

one intends the natural and probable consequences of his

acts—and the consequences of the preference law were

apparent. The Supreme Court took a different view of in-

tent in constitutional law, however, distinguishing knowl-

edge from intent, byproduct from objective. A state may

know what its laws do, yet may not “‘intend”’ all of the

2 Whether there is such an animal as “substantive due process”

when the state affects property that it could choose to take out-

right is a subject we need not pursue. See Coniston Corp. v. Vil-

lage of Hoffman Estates, 844 F.2d 461 (7th Cir. 1988).

A-10

No. 88-2399 7

consequences. Some of them may be unwelcome fallout

from activities undertaken for another reason. The essen-

tial question, as the Court saw things, was whether the

state acted “at least in part ‘because of,’ not merely ‘in

spite of,’ [the] adverse effects upon an identifiable group.”

442 US. at 279.

Chicago intends to operate O’Hare Airport, knowing

that noise and pollution occur. But it does not operate

O’Hare because this is the best way to create noise and

fumes. These are unwelcome byproducts. A good way to

put the intent question is: “If the consequence at issue

were smaller, or its effect were reversed, would the actor

find the activity less attractive?” If planes made less

noise, would Chicago curtail the size and hours of opera-

tion of O’Hare? To put the question this way is to show

that Bieneman cannot establish intent.

Recklessness is a proxy for intent, and Bieneman fares

no better with the claim that Chicago gratuitously sub-

jects him to noise and pollution. He might say that a

government acts recklessly toward something if the gov-

ernment accords it no weight—in prison cases, for exam-

ple, we say the guards act recklessly if they accord the

interests of prisoners no weight and so disdain cries of

distress. One might ask from this perspective whether the

City would operate O’Hare differently if it owned all of

the surrounding land. Cf. William F. Baxter & Lillian R.

Altree, Legal Aspects of Airport Noise, 15 J.L. & Econ.

1 (1972). If Chicago would behave no differently, then it

must be holding property owners’ interests as dear as its

own, the pole away from recklessness. Bieneman’s com-

plaint does not allege that the City allows O’Hare to be

noisier or dirtier than it would if the government owned

the surrounding land, and at oral argument Bieneman’s

counsel denied that it does. This aspect of the case there-

fore stands or falls on the proposition to know of an ad-

verse consequence, and to do nothing to palliate things,

is to “intend” that consequence. Under Feeney, the con-

tention fails.

A-11

8 No. 88-2399

Ill

Protests about “deprivations” without due process sound

tinny when the state is free to take what it wants—with

or without process—so long as it is prepared to pay. A

state may take property outright or may condemn an

easement for noise, and sometimes under the Constitu-

tion it must do so, see Causby, although airport noise

rarely requires compensation, Griggs v. Allegheny County,

369 U.S. 84 (1962). also Chicago, Burlington & Quincy

R.R. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226, 233-41 (1897) (applying the

Takings Clause of the fifth amendment to the states through

the fourteenth). The right step logically is an inverse con-

demnation action. Bieneman contends that the noise at

O’Hare took his land—or at least an easement—no later

than 1976, when, Bieneman believes, the din became un-

bearable. Since this suit was filed eight years later, the

defendants insist that it is untimely.

A suit under 42 U.S.C. §1983 must be filed within the

time allowed by state law for personal injury actions.

Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985). See also Goodman

v. Lukens Steel Co., 107 S. Ct. 2617 (1987) (same for §1981).

In I}linois that period is two years, although we held in

Anton v. Lehpamer, 787 F.2d 1141 (7th Cir. 1986), that

in light of cases before Garcia that might have engen-

dered reliance on a longer period, the plaintiff would be

allowed two years from the decision in Garcia or five

years from the time the claim accrued, whichever is

shorter. Bieneman contends that Chicago took his proper-

ty in 1976, so under Anton he had until 1981 to file a

§1983 action. Bieneman attempts to avoid that outcome

by insisting that the takings claim rests on the Constitu-

tion rather than §1983. The district court disagreed, hold-

ing that constituticnal inverse condemnation suits against

state actors depend on §1983. 662 F. Supp. at 1299-1300.

We know from First English Evangelical Lutheran Church

v. County of Los Angeles, 107 S. Ct. 2378, 2386 n.9 (1987),

that takings suits may be filed directly under the Con-

stitution. It follows, Bieneman contends, that we should

use as the limitations period the most analogous period

A-12

No. 88-2399 9

drawn from state law—which, he submits, is the 20-year

time allowed to bring adverse possession actions, a period

applied to inverse condemnation suits against governmen-

tal units. E.g., Rosenthal v. City of Crystal Lake, 171 Il.

App. 3d 428, 525 N.E.2d 1176 (2d Dist. 1988); DiSanto

v. City of Warrenville, 59 Ill. App. 3d 931, 376 N.E.2d

288 (2d Dist. 1978).

The line of argument works only if three things hold:

first, that state rather than federal law supplies the period

of limitations for a claim arising directly under the Con-

stitution; second, that the period for adverse possession

is the most analogous period of state law; third, that the

existence of a claim directly under the Constitution cancels

the holding of Garcia that the period of limitations appli-

cable to personal injuries governs all constitutional torts,

even though state law might use different periods for dif-

ferent wrongs. Each is questionable. Agency Holding Corp.

v. Malley-Duff & Associates, Inc., 107 S. Ct. 2759 (1987),

which applied a four-year period from antitrust law to

suits under a different federal statute that did not con-

tain its own period of limitations, shows that the custom

of recurring to state law for periods of limitations is not

the same as a rule requiring their absorption. See also

DelCostello v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983) (applying

the six-month period from the National Labor Relations

Act to “hybrid” contract-duty of fair representation cases);

In re Data Access Systems Securities Litigation, 843 F.2d

1537 (3d Cir. 1988) (en banc) (applying the three-year pe-

riod contained in federal securities laws to implied federal

rights of action); Smith v. City of Chicago, 769 F.2d 408

(7th Cir. 1985) (applying a six-month period derived from

federal employment laws to actions enforcing rights under

a federal consent decree). An appropriate benchmark for

this purpose might be the six years provided by 28 U.S.C.

§2401(a) for suits against the United States, a period that

is employed to mark the outer limits for purposes of in-

verse condemnation actions under the Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C.

§1491(aX1). United States v. 422,978 Square Feet of Land,

445 F.2d 1180, 1187-89 (9th Cir. 1971); Stubbs v. United

A-13

10 No. 88-2399

States, 620 F.2d 775, 784 (10th Cir. 1980); ef. Kabua v.

United States, 546 F.2d 381, 383 (Ct. Cl. 1976). If this

six-year period were applied, Bieneman still would be out

of court.* And Chicago contests the submission that if

State law supplies a period of limitations, the 20-year ad-

verse possession rule is the most closely analogous. We

shall go no further along either path, however, for the

third condition cannot be satisfied.

Garcia and Goodman, which established the periods of

limitations applicable under §1983 and §1981, resolved two

questions: where to get the period of limitations, and which

‘a0 to use. The answer to the first of these questions,

ased on 42 U.S.C. §1988, was “‘state law’. Section 1988

does not apply to a case in which the Constitution rather

than a civil rights statute supplies the remedy, although

the Rules of Decision Act, 28 U.S.C. §1652, might have

the same effect for other federal litigation. The second

question has two parts: (a) shall there be a single period

of limitations for all §§ 1981 and 1983 cases, or should

different periods be used for different patterns (some anal-

ogized to contracts, some to intentional torts, some to

negligent torts, some left to the catch-all statute)?, and

(b) if one period is to be used, which? Garcia and Good-

man concluded that only one period should be borrowed

from state law, the one generally applicable to personal

injuries.¢

3 The 12-year period in the Quiet Title Act, 28 U.S.C. §2409a(f),

might be an alternative benchmark, but this statute applies only

when the government claims an interest in land. See United States

v. Mottaz, 476 U.S. 834 (1986); Block v. North Dakota, 461 U.S.

273 (1983). The point of Bieneman’s suit is that the government

disclaims an interest in his land but ought to be forced to pay

for it anyway, the classic inverse condemnation action.

4 The Court has heard oral argument in Owens v. Okure, 816

F.2d 45 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. granted, 108 S. Ct. 1218 (1988), which

presents the question whether a different rule should apply when

the state has a special period of limitations for intentional torts.

This complication need not detain us.

A-14

No. 88-2399 11

These decisions—whether to have a single period, and

which period to use—do not depend on §1988. Nothing in

the text or history of that statute speaks to the ques-

tions. The Court had to devise its own rule, and it made

a practical choice for compelling reasons:

The experience of the courts that have predicated

their choice of the correct statute of limitations on

an analysis of the particular facts of each claim dem-

onstrates that their approach inevitably breeds uncer-

tainty and time-consuming litigation that is foreign

to the central _—— of §1983. Almost every §1983

claim can be favorably analogized to more than one

of the ancient common-lav’ forms of action, each of

which may be governed by a different statute of lim-

itations. . . . If the choice of the statute of limitations

were to depend upon the particular facts or the pre-

cise legal theory of each claim, counsel could almost

always argue, with considerable force, that two or

more periods of limitations should apply to each §1983

claim. . . . The simplicity of the admonition in §1988

[to use state law] is consistent with the assumption

that Congress intended the identification of the ap-

propriate statute of limitations to be an uncomplicated

task for judges, lawyers, and litigants, rather than

a source of uncertainty, and unproductive and ever-

increasing litigation. Moreover, the legislative purpose

to create an effective remedy for the enforcement of

federal civil rights is obstructed by uncertainty in the

applicable statute of limitations, for scarce resources

must be dissipated by useless litigation on collateral

matters.

Garcia, 471 U.S. at 272-75 (footnotes omitted). See also

Agency Holding, 107 S. Ct. at 2763-64.

These considerations apply with equal force to claims

invoking the Constitution directly. Actions under §1983

and those under the principal fount of direct suits, Bivens

v. Six Unknown Named Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), are

identical save for the replacement of a state actor (§1983)

A-15

12 No. 88-2399

by a federal actor (Bivens). No wonder the only two courts

of appeals that have addressed questions concerning limi-

tations under Bivens have held that the rules used for

§1983 suits will be applied in full force to Bivens cases.

Chin v. Bowen, 833 F.2d 21, 23-24 (2d Cir. 1987); McSure-

ly v. Hutchison, 823 F.2d 1002, 1004-05 (6th Cir. 1987).

When the defendant is a state actor, §1983 and direct liti-

gation may be interchangeable, the choice between them

adventitious. There is no reason to have a different period

of limitations, and a strong reason not to: any difference

would give the plaintiff an incentive to pick whichever

jurisdiction provided the longer period, recreating the

uncertainty that the Supreme Court sought to eliminate.

We conclude, therefore, that there should be a single pe-

riod of limitations for all suits in which the Constitution

supplies the remedy.

Harmonizing the ‘‘direct” suit with the §1983 suit re-

quires us to go the rest of the way vith Wilson v. Gar-

cia. The Supreme Court applied the period for personal

injuries to all §1983 cases, recognizing that §1983 covers

many wrongs that states, for domestic purposes, would

classify under different statutes. To avoid enervating liti-

gation, the period for direct actions must be the same as

the period for §1983 actions. So pleading this case as a

claim directly under the Takings Clause leaves Bieneman

exactly where pleading it under §1983 would have left

him: with five years from the wrong, or two years from

Wilson, whichever is less, to file the complaint. Bieneman

missed the time by three years, and the district court

properly granted summary judgment for the defendants.

IV

There remain questions of Illinois law, laid under the

seg jurisdiction. “{I}f the federal claims are dismissed

efore trial, even though not insubstantial in a jurisdic-

tional sense, the state claims should be dismissed as well.”

United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 726 (1966).

The district court did not dismiss them but resolved them

A-16

No. 88-2399 13

on the merits—adversely to Bieneman. The court did not

give a reason for doing so or recognize that there might

be a problem in disposing of state questions after the

basis of federal jurisdiction evaporated.

The dictum given unqualified in Gibbs has been qualified

in practice. See Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397, 404-05

(1970). Although this court regularly directs district judges

to remit pendent state claims to state court after wrapping

up the federal issues before trial, e.g., Baltimore Orioles,

Inc. v. Major League Baseball Players’ Ass’n, 805 F.2d

663, 682 (7th Cir. 1986), we recognize that courts some-

times ought to dispose of everything at once, that prompt

resolution may be dramatically more efficient, justifying

the displacement of state questions to the federal tribunal.

See Zepik v. Tidewater Midwest, Inc., 856 F.2d 936, 945-

46 (7th Cir. 1988) (collecting cases). The failings in the

federal issues may carry over to the state claims. Mech-

met v. Four Seasons Hotels, Ltd., 825 F.2d 1173, 1178

(7th Cir. 1987). Or there might be a federal defense to

the state claims, one appropriately resolved by a federal

court. Graf v. Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Ry., 790 F.2d 1341,

1345-48 (7th Cir. 1986). Our case is of this kind. The defen-

dants contended, and the district court held in reliance

on Luedtke, that federal law preempts any claims other-

wise available under state law. 662 F. Supp. at 1300-01.

Bieneman recognizes that Luedtke governs and asks us

to overrule it, which a state court could not do. Gibbs

permits a federal court to proceed in such a case.

Luedtke offered this analysis, which we quote in full:

“Since the federal laws and regulations have preempted

local control of aircraft flights, Burbank [v. Lockheed Air

Terminal, Ine., 411 U.S. 624 (1973)], the defendants may

not, to the extent they comply with such federal laws and

regulations, be charged with negligence or creating a nui-

sance. Similarly, §114.04 of the Wisconsin Statutes can-

not be invoked to make unlawful flights which are in ac-

cordance with federal laws and regulations. . . . To the

extent that the County may be violating the federal laws

or regulations, the plaintiffs should . . . exhaust their ad-

A-17

14 No. 88-2399

ministrative remedies.” 521 F.2d at 391. Since Luedtke

every court that has examined the question independently

has come to the opposite conclusion. Greater Westchester

Homeowners Ass'n v. City of Los Angeles, 26 Cal. 3d 86,

100, 603 P.2d 1329, 1336 (1979), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 820

(1980); Owen v. City of Atlanta, 157 Ga. App. 354, 277

S.E.2d 338, affirmed, 248 Ga. 299, 282 S.E.2d 906 (1981);

Krueger v. Mitchell, 112 Wis. 2d 88, 101, 332 N.W.2d 733,

739 (1983); Baker v. Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport

Authority, 39 Cal. 3d 862, 705 P.2d 866 (1985); Ursin v.

New Orleans Aviation Board, 506 So. 2d 947, 955 (La.

App. 5th Cir.. 1987). The Solicitor General, in a brief filed

at the Supreme Court’s invit: tion in Greater Westchester,

informed the Court that Ly: ‘ke had been decided incor-

rectly but that because Lue ke stood alone the conflict

did not require resolution.

We must decide whether to maintain a go-it-alone posi-

tion. Three things persuade us that Luedtke is incorrect

and that we should fess up to the error.

1. Preemption of state law depends on either a compre.

hensive federal regimen (“occupation of the field’’), usually

established by express statutory declaration, or a clash

between state and federal norms (a fight that the federal

rules win under the Supremacy Clause). Silkwood v. Kerr-

McGee Corp., 464 us. 238, 248 (1984). See also, e.g.,

Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691, 698-99

(1984) (collecting cases); Louisiana Public Service Comm'n

v. FCC, 476 U.S. 355 (1986); CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp.,

107 S. Ct. 1637 (1987). The Federal Aviation Act does not

expressly preempt state damages remedies. To the con-

trary, §1106 of the Federal Aviation Act, 49 U.S.C. App.

§1506, provides that “{nJothing contained in this chapter

shall in any way abridge or alter the remedies now ex-

isting at common law or by statute, but the provisions

S$ Bryski v. City of Chicago, 148 Ill. App. 3d 556, 499 N.E.2d 162

(2d Dist. 1986), finds state claims preempted on the authority of

Luedtke.

A-18

No. 88-2399 15

of this chapter are in addition to such remedies.” Luedtke

did not mention this anti-preemption statute. Statutes of this

sort save common law remedies even when federal law

exclusively determines the content of substantive rules.

International Paper Co. v. Ouelette, 479 U.S. 481, 497-98

(1987); Brown v. Hotel Employees, 468 U.S. 491, 505-07

(1984). Section 1106 is no exception. Nader v. Allegheny

Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290, 298-300 (1976), holds that

§1106 preserves against preemption a claim for fraudulent

misrepresentation in selling tickets for air travel. State

courts award compensation for takings in inverse condem-

nation cases, although if there is complete federal preemp-

tion the national rather than the local government should

be the payor. State courts award damages every day in

air crash cases, notwithstanding that federal law preempts

the regulation of safety in air travel. If damages are avail-

able for takings, and common law remedies are available

on questions of fraud and safety, why not on questions

of noise and chemical emissions?

2. Burbank, on which we relied in Luedtke, was a dif-

ferent kind of problem altogether. The City of Burbank

had enacted a curfew, forbidding departures of jet air-

craft from a privately-owned airport between 11 p.m. and

7 a.m. This directly regulated the airport’s operations, in-

terfering with the Federal Aviation Administration’s con-

trary judgment. The Supreme Court distinguished in Bur-

bank between the state’s role as a regulator and its role

as a proprietor of —_ observing that it was not ques-

tioning the ability of a governmental body to determine

how it would run its own airports. 411 U.S. at 635-36 &

n.14. It stepped back from this issue because both reports

on the statute establishing federal noise rules stated ex-

pressly that local governments could set their own stan-

dards as proprietors. See H.R. Rep. 92-842, 92d Cong.,

2d Sess. 8-10 (1972); S. Rep. 92-1160, 92d Cong., 2d Sess.

10-11 (1972).

So Illinois has some role notwithstanding Burbank in

governing the amount of noise and pollution that escapes

from O’Hare. We need not and do not say just what the

A-19

16 No. 88-2399

role is, although other courts have read Burbank as allow-

ing a State to exclude certain kinds of aircraft in order

to reduce noise. E.g., British Airways Board v. Port Au-

thority of New York, 558 F.2d 75 (2d Cir. 1977) (exclu-

sion of Concorde). Illinois might choose to exercise such

powers as it has through the City of Chicago, the “owner”

of O’Hare. It might withdraw home rule from Chicago

and exercise these powers through legislation of general

application. Or it might exercise these powers through the

courts. Neither the Constitution nor the Federal Aviation

Act, as amended by the Noise Control Act of 1972, deter-

mines how Illinois apportions its governmental powers.

Whalen v. United States, 445 U.S. 684, 689 n.4 (1980);

Mayor of Philadelphia v. Educational Equality League,

415 U.S. 605, 615 n.13 (1974); Highland Farms Dairy, Inc.

v. Agnew, 300 U.S. 608, 612 (1937); Prentis v. Atlantic

Coast Line Co., 211 U.S. 210, 225 (1908); Dreyer v. [li-

nois, 187 U.S. 71, 83-84 (1902); United Beverage Co. v.

Indiana Alcoholic Beverage Comm’n, 760 F.2d 155 (7th

Cir. 1985). Whether Illinois should allow its courts some

role in setting noise levels at O’Hare is the state’s busi-

ness. The federal role is limited to defining the powers

of the state as an entity. Given the recognition in Bur-

bank that the state may govern the operation of airports

it owns, the conclusion in Luedtke that every conceivable

role for state courts has been preempted is untenable.

3. Burbank dealt with regulation: the city enacted a

substantive rule. Bieneman wants damages, not regula-

tion. Perhaps this is a distinction without a difference.

An award of damages is compensatory from Bieneman’s

ie oy but from O’Hare’s it is no different from

regulation. The airport and the air carriers see the award

of damages as a signal to stop doing whatever led to the

decision, just as the monetary penalty for violating an ex-

press substantive rule would lead them to desist. Damages

for disobeying an acknowledged rule discourage that dis-

obedience and also induce potential defendants to steer

clear of the danger zone, to discontinue conduct that in

fact complies with the rule but could be mistaken for non-

A-20

No. 88-2399 17

compliance. It is hard (and costly) to determine facts, and

the errors inevitable in litigation may discourage beneficial

conduct. So too, excessive awards might discourage con-

duct that is questionable under existing rules but bene-

ficial on balance (and therefore goes unchallenged by the

agency with control of the substantive doctrines).

The identity of common law damages and penalties for

disobedience to substantive rules could lead to a conclu-

sion that where a state is forbidden to alter the substan-

tive rule, it is forbidden to award damages. Silkwood v.

Kerr-McGee rejects this equation, however. The Court

held in Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy Con-

servation & Development Comm’n, 461 U.S. 190 (1983),

that federal law occupies the field of nuclear safety regula-

tion. Notwithstanding the argument (indeed the truism)

that an award of hefty compensatory and punitive dam-

ages is a method of regulating safety, the Court concluded

that federal law does not preempt common law remedies

concerning nuclear safety. ““Silkwood . . . highlights the

extreme reluctance of the modern Court to find preemp-

tion.” Ronald D. Rotunda, Sheathing the Sword of Federal

Preemption, 5 Constitutional Commentary 311, 317 (1988).

If no preemption is the conclusion notwithstanding the

absence from nuclear safety legislation of a statute such

as §1106, it must be the appropriate treatment of air

travel as well.

Luedtke did not mention any of these considerations, and

its holding cannot be maintained in the face of them. We

overrule Luedtke to the extent it holds that all common

law remedies for airport noise and pollution have been

preempted by federal law.®

* Because this opinion overrules a portion of the decision in Lued-

tke, it was circulated to all judges in regular active service under

Circuit Rule 40(f). No judge requested that the case be heard en

bane.

eo

A-21

18 No. 88-2399

A word on what this means. Bieneman wants common

law remedies, but these must be remedies for wrongs,

as in Silkwood, or for those aspects of airport operation

within the state’s control as proprietor under Burbank.

Federal law governs much of the conduct of O’Hare and

its carriers. See 14 C.F.R. Part 36 (noise characteristics

of aircraft), Part 150 (noise abatement procedures at air-

ports). A state court could not award damages against

O’Hare or its users for conduct required by these regula-

tions, or for not engaging in noise-abatement procedures

that the Federal Aviation Administration considered but

rejected as unsafe. Bieneman’s complaint suggests that

damages should be awarded because there are too many

flights per hour, or because the aircraft are older models

not fitted with high-bypass turbofan engines, or because

the planes do not climb at a sufficiently steep rate after

takeoff. These subjects are governed by federal law, and

a state may not use common law procedures to question

federal decisions or extract money from those who abide

by them. There may be, on the other hand, aspects of ~

O’Hare’s operations that offend federal law, or that fed-

eral norms do not govern. Perhaps, as Bieneman insists,

the airport does not use adequate noise baffles around the

perimeter of the airport, or perhaps it has built more run-

_.ways than federal law requires (to the detriment of those

under the new ones), or is out of compliance with the gov-

erning federal rules. The essential point is that the state

may employ damages remedies only to enforce federal re-

quirements (as in Silkwood) or to regulate aspects of airport

operation over which the state has discretionary authority.

This disposes of the federal defense to the claims under

state law. Remaining questions about the common law of

Illinois are more appropriately resolved in state court,

since no ground of federal jurisdiction survives. We there-

fore affirm the district court’s judgment to the extent it

rejects all of Bieneman’s claims under the Constitution,

vacate the judgment to the extent it holds that claims

under state law are preempted, and remand with direc-

tions that the court relinquish jurisdiction under Gibbs,

A-22

No. 88-2399 19

so that Bieneman may pursue his state-law contentions

in state court.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

A-23

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

JUDGMENT IN A

CIVIL CASE

. DOCKETED

JUNE 28, 1988

CASE NUMBER:

84 C 10388

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN i

Vv.

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, ET AL. -

Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard and

a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

That the court having previously granted defendants’

motion to dismiss on June 8, 1987, the court now denies

plaintiff’s motion for class certification for the reasons

stated in open court. Therefore the cause of action of plain-

tiff is dismissed with prejudice.

Date: June 24, 1988 H. Stuart CUNNINGHAM

Clerk

/s/ WANDA PARKER

(By) Deputy Clerk

A-24

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

Minute Order Form

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN )

Date: June 24, 1988

v. Case Number 84 C 10388

> The Honorable

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, Harry D. Leinenweber,

Judge Presiding.

ET AL. a

DOCKET ENTRY:

Judgment is entered as follows:

The court having previously granted defendants’ motion to

dismiss on June 8, 1987, the court now denies plaintiff’s

motion for class certification for the reasons stated in open

court.

This case is hereby dismissed with prejudice.

Docketing to mail notices.

Mail AO 450 form.

Courtroom deputy’s initials: WAP

Date received in central Clerk’s Office: June 28, 1988

Date Docketed: June 28, 1988

Document # 139

A-25

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, ) Docket No. 84 C 10388

Plaintiff,

vs. 88-2399

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, et al.,

Defendants. Docket No. 85 C 10295

\

DELBERT M. BIDDISON, Chicago, Illinois

Plaintiff, | June 24, 1988

vs 9:00 O’Clock A.M.

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, et al., |

Defendants. a

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS BEFORE

THE HONORABLE HARRY D. LEINEWEBER

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiff: Mr. JOSEPH V. KARAGANIS

(Messrs. Karaganis & White Ltd.

414 North Orleans, Suite 810

Chicago, Illinois 60610)

For the Defendants: Mr. MICHAEL M. Conway

(Messrs. Hopkins & Sutter

Three First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60602)

Mr. CALVIN P. SAWYIER

(Messrs. Winston & Strawn

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60602)

A-26

Court Reporter:

JAMES W. CHEEK

Official Reporter

United States District Court

219 S. Dearborn St. - Rm. 1714

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Docketed July 11, 1988

Filed August 3, 1988

Thomas F. Strubbe

Clerk

A-27

THE CLERK: 84 C 10388, Biedeman [sic] vs. City of

Chicago and 85 C 10295, Biddison vs. City of Chicago.

THE COURT: This cause is before the court on the

motion of plaintiffs for class certification on certain legal

issues in the case of Biedeman [sic] vs. City of Chicago and

the case of Biddison vs. the City of Chicago, which has

previously been ordered related.

Plaintiffs filed these actions in their own behalf and

behalf of all persons similarly situated for personal injuries

and property damages resulting from noise and air pollu-

tion emanating from O’Hare International Airport. The

case was originally assigned to Judge Duff, who decided the

Bieneman case on motion, dismissing plaintiff’s complaint

on June 8th, 1987. Judge Duff had not made a determina-

tion as to whether the case might be maintained as a class

action. Judge Duff’s decision was appealed and the Sev-

enth Circuit held that until the district court determined

whether the case might proceed as a class action the order

of Judge Duff was not final and appealable. Plaintiff filed

the present motion on February 3rd, 1988, and this case

was subsequently reassigned to this court.

The proposed class consists of all persons in Cook or

DuPage County, Illinois who reside under or adjacent to

the flight paths of aircraft approaching, departing or cir-

cling O’Hare International Airport. Plaintiff’s subclass A

consists of all persons whose property is so located and who

claim that the City of Chicago, by reason of O’Hare air-

craft operations, has taken an aviation easement in their

property without compensation, in violation of the Fifth

Amendment.

Plaintiff’s proposed Subclass B consists of all per-

sons who merely reside in such location and who claim

that Chicago, by reason of O’Hare aircraft operations, has

caused them injury to their person or to their personal or

real property and who wish to pursue tort damage reme-

dies provided by state law.

A-28

An action may be maintained as a class action under

rule 23 only if the prerequisites of both Section (a) and one

of the subsections of Section (b) are met. The parties have

addressed their arguments to each subsection of (b) of Rule

23; the Court will do likewise.

Under Rule 23(b)(1)(A) a class should be certified only

if there is a danger of establishing incompatible standards

of conduct for the party opposing the class.

Although plaintiff seeks some declaratory and injunc-

tive relief, the primary goal of this lawsuit is for money

damages. The danger of establishing incompatible stan-

dards of conduct is normally not posed by a suit for money

damages. Zimmerman vs. Bell, 800 F. 2d 386 (4th Cir.

1986). Therefore, the proposed class may not be certified

under this section.

There are two situations in which a class should be

certified under Rule 23(b)(1)(B): Where adjudication as to

one member will effectively dispose of the interests of all

class members, and where adjudication as to one member

will substantially impair or impede the other’s ability to

protect their interests. Plaintiff asserts that this case fits

within the second situation.

Here, adjudication of these legal issues by plaintiff will

not preclude other class members fro winning his or her

case except to the extent that the adjudication serves as

precedent. Plaintiff has suggested no reason why the rest

of the proposed class would be foreclosed from suit except

to that extent.

Rule 23(b)(2) applies to cases involving final adjudica-

tive relief or corresponding declaratory relief. Essential

to a claim to this provision is that the case be primarily

one for injunctive relief. Walters vs. Thompson, 615 F.

Supp. 330 (N.D. Ill. 1985) Declaratory relief which has its

primary purpose to provide a foundation for subsequent

claims of damages does not come within this rule. Serafin

vs. Sears, Roebuck & Co. Inc., 446 F. Supp. 611 (N.D. III.

eV

A-29

1978); Evans vs. City of Chicago, 522 F. Supp. 789 (N.D.

Ill. 1986) affirmed in part, vacated in part on other ground,

689 F. 2d 1286 (7th Cir. 1982).

The Court has already found that the primary relief

sought in this case is money damages and not declaratory

or injunctive relief. Accordingly, the proposed class may

not be certified under any provision of Rule 23(b).

The Court also expresses doubt about whether Biene-

man plaintiff, who has already lost at the trial level, could

fairly and adequately represent the class. For the reasons

stated, the motion to certify is denied in both Bieneman

and Biddison vs. City of Chicago, the related case. Accord-

ingly, the Bieneman vs. City of Chicago cause of action,

the last issue having been resolved, is therefore dismissed

with prejudice.

Now we will proceed to summary judgment on —

MR. KARAGANIS: Your Honor, having been bloodied

on this issue, may we request a judgment order from the

Court, a final judgment order from the Court?

THE COURT: That is what I intended to do when I

say, “your cause of action is dismissed with prejudice in

Bieneman.”

MR. KARAGANIS: I am sorry. Joseph Karaganis for

the plaintiff, your Honor.

MR. CONWAY: Good morning, your Honor, Michael

Conway for the City defendants.

MR. SAWYIER: Calvin Sawyier for the airline defen-

dants.

MR. CONWAY: There is a recent Seventh Circuit case

that indicates that the parties are to request the Court to

have an order entered under — I guess it’s Rule 54 —asa

final judgment order.

MR. SAWYIER: An order in writing or perhaps a 54(b)

finding in the Bieneman case might be helpful.

MR. CONWAY: No, we don’t need a finding —

,

A-30

MR. KARAGANIS: You don’t need a 54(b).

MR. SAWYIER: All right, all right.

THE COURT: We will have a final judgment order

entered in the case.

MR. CONWAY: Your Honor, turning to the Biddison

case. Your Honor continued to this morning our motion

to request the plaintiffs to file their responsive brief to the

summary judgment motion which is pending to the only

remaining count, Count III, of the Biddison action. Your

Honor continued that to this morning. We would renew

our request that the plaintiff be directed to file a response.

THE COURT: You expressed a problem with time.

MR. KARAGANIS: Both with time, your Honor, and

we also filed — when we were last here we filed a motion to

compel production of documents which the Court deferred

until its ruling today. We suggested, as a preliminary

matter, that the question of withheld documents needs to

be resolved. We filed our motion. We are prepared to

adhere to a short briefing schedule on that.

We indicated, your Honor, that most of my firm is

going to be on trial in the Southern District of Indiana for

the bulk of the month of July if not all of July and we will

not be getting back until sometime in August. We intend,

upon coming back, once the document issue is resolved, to

request leave of court to take the depositions of the expert

or other witnesses for which affidavits were filed. There

are only two that the City filed, one a Mary Vigilante and

the other a Mr. Butler. Upon taking of those depositions

we would be prepared to file our response.

MR. CONWAY: Well, your Honor, that is all well and

good. It has been two years since we filed our motion.

We We [sic] are glad to refer to the motion to compel as

characterized by counsel. It is really a motion challenging

our assertion privilege document list that we prepared.

That probably should be referred to a magistrate as the

expeditious way to do that.

i

A-31

Your Honor, we would request that this be briefed in

some reasonable time and not just be continued off gener-

ally.

THE COURT: The motion to compel production of doc-

uments will be referred to the magistrate assigned to the

file.

Let’s see. Do we know who has been assigned?

MR. CONWAY: We have never had any dealings with

the magistrate in this matter. So, I honestly don’t know.

THE COURT: This is before the automatic.

THE CLERK: It will be by lot.

THE COURT: It will be referred to the Executive Com-

mittee for re-assignment to a magistrate for purposes of

consideration of plaintiff’s motion to compel production of

documents.

MR. KARAGANIS: Your Honor, if I might suggest,

we would be prepared, subject to our availability of getting

their witnesses for deposition, to file our response 60 days

from the ruling by the magistrate. In other words, if the

magistrate rules against us, we will prepare our response

in 60 days. If the magistrate rules for us and we get the

documents, we will still work within 60 days.

THE COURT: That seems to be pretty long if we are

going to wait for the magistrate to rule.

MR. CONWAY: It does to me.

MR. KARAGANIS: Judge, the documents may be

highly relevant to our response.

THE COURT: I know. I am not saying that. How

about 30 days from the ruling of the magistrate?

MR. KARAGANIS: Judge, it is a question of getting

the depositions of the witnesses.

MR. CONWAY: Why can’t they take the depositions

now and, if there are some further documents that are

produced, they can —

A-32

THE COURT: I will require the plaintiff to respond to

the motion for summary judgment 30 days from the date

of the ruling of the magistrate on the motion to produce.

MR. KARAGANIS: Thank you, Judge.

MR. CONWAY: Your Honor, I have one other sugges-

tion, if I might, on Biddison. Since the class issue, which

your Honor has decided this morning is the same in both

cases, and the seven counts that are dismissed by Judge

Duff are identical, one count remaining, it would seem

appropriate that that class issue be reviewed if plaintiff

intends to raise it on appeal — I don’t know if he does —

together. So, I would request that a 54(b) finding be made

on the seven counts of Biddison, which Judge Duff also

dismissed, so that any appeal on the class in Biddison and

Bieneman and so forth would be handled together.

MR. KARAGANIS: Judge, if I express a certain gun

shyness with respect to the current status of what we have

got to do up in the Seventh Circuit — Bieneman is clean.

The Court has indicated to us that it looks askance on 54(b)

certifications. I just as soon see Bieneman get up and get

decided. It will obviously have an impact on Biddison.

THE COURT: I think, to the extent that Bieneman

will be precedent —

MR. CONWAY: My only concern in that respect, your

Honor, is that while you have ruled on grounds uniform

to both, relating to aspects of Rule 23(b), you have made

the reference in your ruling to Mr. Bieneman’s peculiar _

situation, haviqg [sic] lost all of his case as opposed to sev-

en/eight’s [sic] of his case, as with Mr. Biddison. So, if the

Court of Appeals were to rule on that, perhaps, narrower

ground, then we would have no instruction as to Biddis-

on. So, it is just an effort, your Honor, to have the two

class allegation issues before the Court. On the substan-

tive issues I agree with your Honor because there are car-

bon copy complaints on those seven counts. But it’s the

class issue that is the only potential for a differentiation.

A-33

MR. KARAGANIS: Judge, having had various por-

tions of my figurative anatomy shot off by the Seventh

Circuit when I went up to argue the case on jurisdictional

grounds — the Bieneman case is clean jurisdictional. There

is a final judgment going to be entered by the Court. At

the risk of complicating things —

THE COURT: I am going to decline your request for a

54(b) finding certification.

MR. CONWAY: All right. Very good, your Honor.

Thank you.

MR. KARAGANIS: Thank you, your Honor.

MR. CONWAY: Shall we have another status date,

your Honor, only so we can report back on the progress of

our briefing?

THE COURT: Let’s have a status in about 60 days.

MR. KARAGANIS: Thank you, Judge.

THE CLERK: August the 25th at 9:00 o’clock.

MR. CONWAY: Thank you, your Honor. That status,

of course, will only be in Biddison.

THE COURT: Right. There is nothing left and I will

have lost the jurisdiction in Bieneman.

MR. KARAGANIS: Hopefully, Judge. Thank you.

MR. CONWAY: Thank you, your Honor.

(Which were all the proceedings had in the above-entitled

cause.)

I CERTIFY THE FOREGOING TO BE THE CORRECT

TRANSCRIPT FROM THE RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

IN THE ABOVE-ENTITLED MATTER.

/s/ James W. Cheek

Official Court Reporter Date: 6-27-88

A-34

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

219 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Date: February 26, 1988

Thomas F. Strubbe

Clerk

312-435-5850

Mr. H. Stuart Cunningham, Clerk

United States District Court

219 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

“

Re: LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on

nd US.C.A. -

behalf of all persons No. pogo

similarly situated,

Plaintiff-Appellant, \ bag cg apes

oO.

= vs.

Judge

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, et Brian Barnett Duff

al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Dear Clerk:

Herewith is the mandate of this Court in the above-

entitled appeal. “A certified copy of the judgment and a

copy of the opinion of the Court, if any, and any direc-

“tion as to costs shall constitute the mandate.” (F.R.A.P.

41(a)). I am also returning the original record of your Dis-

trict Court, which was transmitted to this office for use on

appeal. Please acknowledge receipt on the enclosed copy of

this letter.

A-35

Contents of Record Being Returned Later:

Contents of Record being Returned:

3 Vols. Pleadings

Exhibits to item No. 25

/s/ MABEL L. BOBER

U.S.C.A. Deputy Clerk

Copies Mailed To:

JOSEPH V. KARAGANIS JUDSON H. MINER

KARAGANIS & WHITE LTD. Office of Corporation Counsel

414 North Orleans Street 610 City Hall

Suite 810 Chicago, Illinois 60602

Chicago, Illinois 60610

CALVIN SAWYIER

MICHAEL M. CONWAY WINSTON & STRAWN

Hopkins & SUTTER One First National Plaza

Three First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Chicago, Illinois 60602

MarK E. JONES

180 North LaSalle Street

Suite 801

Chicago, Illinois 60601

NOTE TO COUNSEL:

If any physical and large documentary exhibits have been filed in

the above-entitled cause, they are to be withdrawn ten days from the

date of this notice. Exhibits not withdrawn during this period will be

disposed of.

a

A-36

JUDGMENT —- ORAL ARGUMENT

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

219 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

February 3, 1988

Before

Hon. RIcHarp A. Posner, Circuit Judge

Hon. JOHN L. CorFey, Circuit Judge

Hon. FRANK H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, >

. Appeal from the

on his own behalf and on United States District

behalf of all persons Court for the Northern

similarly situated, District of Ilinois,

Plaintiff-Appellant, Eastern Division

No. 87-2077 vs. No. 84 C 10388

CITY OF CHICAGO, et al., The Honorable

Brian Barnett Duff,

Defendants-Appellees. Judge Presiding.

|

)

This cause was heard on the record from the United

States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois,

Eastern Division, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND

ADJUDGED by this Court that the judgment of the said

District Court in this cause appealed from be, and the same

is hereby, DISMISSED for want of jurisdiction, with no

costs in this Court, in accordance with the opinion of this

Court filed this date.

3n the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 87-2077

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, on his own behalf and on behalf

of all persons similarly situated,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

City OF CHICAGO, et al.,

Defendants- Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 8 C 10388—Brian Barnett Duff, Judge.

ARGUED JANUARY 6, 1988—DecIDED FEBRUARY 3, 1988

Before PosNER, COFFEY, and EASTERBROOK, Circuit

Judges.

PER CurRIAM. Lawrence Bieneman filed this case on

behalf of a class of other people similarly affected by noise

from O’Hare Airport. Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(cX1) requires a

district court to decide “{aJs soon as practicable after the

commencement of [the] action” whether it may be main-

tained on behalf of a class. Some three years went by,

and the district judge was ready to rule on the merits.

He dealt with the class aspect of the complaint this way,

662 F. Supp. 1297, 1298 n.1 (N.D. Ill. 1987).

EE ———EeoO

A-38

2 No. 87-2077

(No party [to this case or a companion suit) has

sought a determination of whether it is appropriate

to maintain these cases as class actions. It appears

likely from the face of the complaints that class ac-

tion status is appropriate, but the court declines to

make such a determination without the participation

of counsel. Presumably some party will raise the issue

in the near future. Since the status of these cases

as class actions is irrelevant to the motions before

the court today, the court proceeds to address the

merits of those motions.

The motions at hand were filed under Rule 12(bX6), seek-

ing dismissal for failure to state a claim on which relief

may be granted. The court granted the motions, and the

clerk inserted this language in the printed form used for

final judgments:

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Counts

I, II, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII are dismissed Count

III is also dismissed.

Bieneman immediately filed a notice of appeal, which we

must dismiss for want of jurisdiction.

An order dismissing a “complaint” as opposed to a

“case” ordinarily is not a final judgment, jamin v.

United States, 833 F.2d 669 (7th Cir. 1987), because the

plaintiff may file an amended complaint. The theories on

which the district court dismissed Bieneman’s complaint

preclude amendment, but the court’s remarks show that

it nonetheless believes there is more to do. It must decide

whether to certify the case as a class action—no small

matter, because this determines whether the judgment

governs everyone who lives near O’Hare Airport or only

Mr. Bieneman. A document identifying 2 defect in the

complaint, without stating who is bound by the decision,

is not a final judgment. Glidden v. Chromalloy American

Corp., 808 F.2d 621 (7th Cir. 1986).

Glidden is strikingly similar to our case. The district

court in Glidden granted judgment for defendants while

A-39

No. 87-2077 3

reserving decision on the request to certify a class. The

judge indicated that he would turn to this subject after

the completion of the appeal on the merits. This reserva-

tion, we concluded, meant that the case was not over in

the district court, making appeal impossible. The district

court must complete its handling of the case before the

judgment is “final” under 28 U.S.C. §1291. Here, as in

Glidden, the district judge has flagged the class aspect

of the case for future decision.

In a series of cases since Glidden, we have held that

when the court overlooks the class allegation, a judgment

dealing with the representative’s claim alone is final be-

cause the district court has done ss it plans to

do. Gomez v. Illinois State Board of Education, 811 F.2d

1030, 1034 n.1 (7th Cir. 1987), Clift v. United Auto Work-

ers, 818 F.2d 623, 626 (7th Cir. 1987), Bennett v. Tucker,

827 F.2d 63, 67 (7th Cir. 1987), Lorance v. AT&T Tech-

nologies, Inc., 827 F.2d 163, 165 n.1 (7th Cir. 1987); Hickey

v. Duffy, 827 F.2d 234, 238 (7th Cir. 1887). Bieneman’s

‘ease has not ended, however, given the district judge’s

express identification of this issue as one needing resolu-

tion. Why none of the parties responded to the district

court’s invitation with a motion is beyond us—the district

court even cited Glidden for the parties’ edification—but

none did, so the case is alive in the district court.

The district court’s discussion might be read as saying

that until some party makes a motion for class certifica-

tion the court need not rule. On this view, failure to re

quest certification amends the complaint to delete the

claim on the class’s behalf. We rejected a similar posi-

tion in Glidden, however. 808 F.2d at 623-24. If a com-

plaint includes a class allegation, the district court must

address it, no matter what the parties later do. Other-

wise the plaintiff could withdraw as representative uni-

laterally, or the parties could settle the case without the

court’s permission. Rule 23(e) forbids either course. If the

complaint depicts the plaintiff as representative of a class,

the district court must deal with the subject even if no

one asks.

A-40

4 No. 87-2077

Rule 23(cX1) says that that decision must come “as soon

as practicable”. Sometimes the class issues may be so in-

tertwined with the merits (or the wisdom of a settlement)

that they should be handled together. Cf. Mars Steel

Corp. v. Continental Illinois National Bank, 834 F.2d

677, 680-82 (7th Cir. 1987). But the propriety of class cer-

tification does not depend on the outcome of the suit, see

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156, 176-78 (1974),

and one reason for early certification is to identify the

stakes of the case so that the parties may choose their

litigation strategies accordingly. After even a tentative

decision on the merits, incentives are different. Indeed,

a class representative who has lost on the merits may

have a duty to the class to oppose certification, to avoid

the preclusive effect of the ju nt, while the defendants

suddenly want the certification that ys | might have op-

posed at the outset. It is therefore difficult to —

cases in which it is appropriate to defer class certifica-

tion until after decision on the merits. See Premier Elec-

trical Construction Corp. v. National Electrical Contrac-

tors Ass’n, Inc., 814 F.2d 358, 363 (7th Cir. 1987); Fin-

berg v. Sullivan, 634 F.2d 50, 64 (8d Cir. 1980) (en banc).

Cf. Watkins v. Blinzinger, 789 F.2d 474, 475 n.3 (7th Cir.

1986). But cf. Floyd v. Bowen, 833 F.2d 529, 534-35 (5th

Cir. 1987). Certainly this is not one. When the district

judge (to whom this case was transferred some two years

after its filing) recognized that there was an unresolved

class allegation, he should have requested the views of

the parties and postponed decision of the merits. Omis-

— = do this does not dispose of the class allegation by

efault.

Glidden _—- this case, and the appeal is dismissed

for want of jurisdiction. After the district judge has dealt

one way or the other with the class aspect of the com-

plaint, any fresh appeal will be resubmitted to this panel.

Counsel should advise the court promptly, after filing a

new notice of appeal, whether they wish to use the orig-

inal briefs or betieve that supplemental submissions are

necessary. If any party objects to the decision concern-

A-41

No. 87-2077 5

ing the class, the court will set a schedule for briefs ad-

dressing that issue. No costs.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

A-42

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

BIENEMAN

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

¥, DOCKETED JULY 23, 1987

CASE NUMBER: 84 C 10388

CITY OF CHICAGO

Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard and

a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Counts I, II, IV,

V, VI, VII, and VIII are dismissed. Count III is also dis-

missed.

July 21, 1987

nunc pro tunc June 8, 1987 H. STUART CUNNINGHAM

Date Clerk

CLAUDIA M. FLaG

(By) Deputy Clerk

A-43

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

Minute Order Form

‘)

BIENEMAN Date: June 21, 1987

nunc pro tunc

June 8, 1987

v. CASE NUMBER: 84 C 10388

The Honorable

CITY OF CHICAGO Face Barnett Duff,

udge Presiding.

DOCKET ENTRY:

Judgment is entered as follows:

Counts I, II, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII are dismissed. Count

III is also dismissed.

Mail AO 450 form.

Courtroom deputy’s initials: CMF

Date received in central Clerk’s Office: July 23, 1987

Date Docketed: July 23, 1987

Document # 111

A-44

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

Minute Order Form

BIENEMAN ;

Vv. CASE NUMBER: 84 C 10388

CITY OF CHICAGO Date: June 8, 1987

The Honorable

P Brian Barnett Duff,

Judge Presiding.

BIDDISON

v. 85 C 10295

CITY OF CHICAGO

DOCKET ENTRY:

Other docket entry:

Counts I, II, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII of Bieneman v. City

of Chicago, Case No. 84 C 10388, and Biddison v. City

of Chicago, No. 85 C 10295, are dismissed. Count III of

Bieneman also is dismissed. ENTER MEMORANDUM

OPINION.

For further detail see order attached to the original minute

order form.

Docketing to mail notices.

Courtroom deputy’s initials: CMF

Date received in central Clerk’s Office: June 9, 1987

Date Docketed: June 9, 1987

A-45

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHRN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on

behalf of all persons

similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

Vv

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, et

al., No. 84 C 10388

Defendants.

DELBERT M. BIDDISON, on

his own behalf and on behalf

of all persons similarly No. 85 C 10295

situated,

Plaintiffs,

v.

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, et

al.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Lawrence Bieneman and Delbert Biddison own homes

near O’Hare International Airport and claim various

injuries from the noise, vibrations, and air pollution that

O’Hare inflicts on its neighbors. Each has sued the City

of Chicago — which owns and operates O’Hare — and sev-

eral airlines, seeking relief both on his own behalf and on

behalf of “all persons who own, use or reside in residen-

tial real property situated in Illinois within the territorial

boundaries of Cook County and DuPage County, under or

adjacent to the paths of aircraft approaching, departing or

A-46

circling O’Hare International Airport.” Bieneman v. City

of Chicago, No. 84 C 10388; Biddison v. City of Chicago,

No. 85 C 10295. The two cases have been found related,

and come before the court today on defendants’ motion to

dismiss.!

Bieneman’s and Biddison’s eight-count First Amended

Complaints are nearly identical, and name as defendants

the City, Harold Washington in his official capacity as

Mayor of the City of Chicago, Jerome Butler, in his offi-

cial capacity as acting Commissioner of the Department

of Aviation of the City of Chicago (collectively, “the City

defendants”), and seven companies providing air passen-

ger service at O’Hare: American Airlines, Inc.; Delta Air-

lines, Inc.; Northwest Airlines, Inc.; Ozark Airlines, Inc.;

Trans World Airlines, Inc.; United Air Lines, Inc.; and

USAirlines, Inc. (collectively, “the airline defendants”).

Count I of each First Amended Complaint accuses the

City defendants of maintaining an official policy that has

deprived plaintiffs of their Fourteenth Amendment rights

to life, liberty, and property in violation of 42 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 1983. Count II accuses the airline defendants of acting

under color of state law as co-conspirators with the City to

1 Rule 23(c)(1) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that “[a]s soon as practicable after the commencement of an

action brought as class action, the court shall determine by order

whether it is to be so maintained.” Althoug the Seventh Circuit

has emphasized the improtance of compliance whith this require-

ment, see, eg., Glidden v. Chromalloy American Corp., 808 F.2d

621 (7th Cir. 1986), no party in either Bieneman or Biddison has

sought a determination of whether it is appropriate to maintain

these cases as class actions. It appears likely from the face of the

complaints that class action status is appropriate, but the court-

declines to make such determination without the participation of

counsel. Presumably some party will raise the issue in the near

future. Since the staus of these cases as class actons is irrele-

vant to the morions before the court today, the court proceeds to

address the merits of those motions.

A-47

deprive plaintiffs of their Fourteenth Amendment rights in

violation of Section 1983. Count III is an inverse condem-

nation claim against the City.

Count IV alleges that the City’s operation of O’Hare

constitutes a continuing nuisance. Count V is a claim

against the City for assault and battery. Count VI alleges

that the airline defendants are joint venturers with the

City in the operation of O’Hare and therefore are liable

together with the City for the injuries alleged in Counts

III-V. Count VII seeks a declaratory judgment that fed-

eral law does not preempt plaintiffs’ state law tort claims

against the City. Finally, Count VIII alleges that the City

violated plaintiffs’ Fourteenth Amendment rights by tak-

ing their property without due process.

The City defendants have moved to dismiss Counts I,

III, IV, V, VII, and VII in Bieneman, and Counts I, IV, V,

VII, and VIII in Biddison. In Biddison the City defendants

have also filed a motion for summary judgment on Count

III, but the court has suspended briefing on that motion

pending additional discovery. The airline defendants have

moved to dismiss Count VI in both Bieneman and Biddison.

Because the parties have consolidated briefing in the Biene-

man and Biddison cases, the court now has before it a sin-

gle set of briefs addressing the merits of Counts I, III, IV,

V, VII, and VIII of the First Amended Complaints, and a

single set of briefs addressing the merits of Count VI of

those complaints. The court examines each count in turn.

Counts I and II

Counts I and II of the First Amended Com-

plaints restate claims that Judge Decker dismissed from

Bieneman’s original complaint on October 23, 1985. This

court declined to reconsider Judge Decker’s order and made

it applicable to the Biddison case. Plaintiffs say they have

repleaded Counts I and II in order to preserve their right

to appeal Judge Decker’s dismissal of these counts. See

London v. Coopers & Lybrand, 644 F. 2d 811, 814 (9th Cir.

= . ) :

A-48

1981) (plaintiff waives all claims alleged in the original

complaint which are not reasserted in the amended com-

plaint); contra Wilson v. First Houston Investment Corp.,

566 F. 2d 1235, 1238 (5th Cir. 1978) (plaintiff who filed

amended complaint after dismissal may raise on appeal

the correctness of the dismissal order). It is not for this

court to decide whether plaintiffs who file amended com-

plaints must replead dismissed claims in order to preserve

those claims for appeal; in this case plaintiffs have chose

to replead the dismissed claims, and Judge Decker’s ruling

remains the law of the case. Counts I and II are dismissed.

Count III

Count III of Bieneman’s complaint alleges that “in

1976 Defendant City of Chicago destroyed the use and

enjoyment of Plaintiffs’ properties, damaged and destroyed

Plaintiffs’ airspace, dwellings, and other structures on

Plaintiffs’ properties, and totally destroyed the value of

Plaintiffs’ property as residences.” By virtue of this

conduct, Bieneman continues, “Plaintiffs’ properties and

airspace, and each of them, have been confiscated, con-

demned, taken and made useless by Defendant City of

Chicago without due process and without compensation in

violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States.” The City moves to dismiss Count

III on the ground that it fails to state a claim under the

Fourteenth Amendment, and in any event is barred by the

statute of limitations.

Unlike Bieneman’s other federal claims — Counts I

and II, which allege violations of Section 1983 — Count

III alleges only a violation of the Fourteenth Amendment.

There is strong authority that the Fourteenth Amendment

does not support a direct cause of action against a munic-

ipality when the municipality is subject to suit under Sec-

tion 1983.

A-49

The Supreme Court did imply a cause of action aris-

ing directly under the Constitution in Bivens v. Unknown

Federal Narcotics Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971), where a

Court held that victims of constitutional violations by fed-

eral agents may sue the agents despite the absence of a

statutory cause of action. But the Court subsequently

held that such a cause of action is not available when

“Congress has provided an alternative remedy which is

explicitly declared to be a substitute for recovery directly

under the Constitution and viewed as equally effective.”

Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14, 18-19 (1980) (emphasis in

original). Lower courts subsequently have expressed con-

siderable reluctance to expand the number of direct actions

allowed under the Constitution absent explicit Supreme

Court approval, reading Carlson to limit the availability of

such causes of action to circumstances where no alternative

statutory remedy exists. See, e.g., Morris v. Washington

Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, 702 F. 2d 1037, 1042

n. 10 (D.C. Cir. 1983). ae

Since the Supreme Court’s decision in Monell v.

Department of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658 (1978), it has

been clear that Section 1983 provides a cause of action

against municipalities and municipal employees acting

in their official capacities, and courts accordingly have

declined to allow direct constitutional claims against local

governments. As one court in this district has concluded,

“Congress intended Section 1983 to be the exclusive federal

remedy for the unconstitutional actions of city officials.”

Strauss v. City of Chicago, 614 F. 2d 9, 10 (N.D. Ill. 1984),

aff’d 760 F. 2d 765 (7th Cir. 1985). Accord Williams v.

Bennett, 689 F. 2d 1370, 1390 (11th Cir. 1982); Ward v.

Caulk, 650 F. 2d 1144, 1147-48 (9th Cir. 1981). Indeed,

the D.C. Circuit noted in Morris that since the Supreme

Court’s Monell decision every court of appeals to address

the issue has concluded that no direct cause of action

exists under the Fourteenth Amendment against nonfed-

eral defendants. 702 F.2d at 1042 n. 10. In view of the

A-50

many decisions rejecting direct causes of action under the

Constitution when statutory remedies are available, and in

view of the fact that the Supreme Court has recognized a

cause of action against a municipality under Section 1983

for inverse condemnation, Lake Country Estates v. Tahoe

Planning Agency, 440 U.S. 391, 399-400 (1979), this court

concludes that Bieneman does not have a direct cause of

action against the City under the Fourteenth Amendment.

Only one recent case provides contrary authcrity, hold-

ing in a footnote that “[blecause an alleged ‘taking’ in vio-

lation of the fifth and fourteenth amendments presents a

serious constitutional question, a direct cause of action lies

within the district court’s federal question jurisdiction.”

Amen v. City of Dearborn, 718 F. 2d 789, 792 n. 4 (6th

Cir. 1983). But Amen cites as its only authority two pre-

Monell cases, Gordon v. City of Warren, 579 F. 2d 386,

391 (6th Cir. 1978), and Muskegon Theaters, Inc. v. City

of Muskegon, 507 F.2d 199, 200 (6th Cir. 1974), which

allowed direct Fourteenth Amendment inverse condemna-

tion actions against municipalities on the ground that no

remedy was available under Section 1983. In light of Mon-

ell and Lake Country Estates, such reasoning is no longer

valid.

Bieneman cannot save Count III by amending it to

allege a violation of his rights under Section 1983. “[I]n

Illinois, a plaintiff whose section 1983 cause of action

accrued before the [Supreme Court’s decision in Wilson v.

Garcia, 105 S.Ct. 1938 (1985)], must file suit within the

shorter period of either five years from the date his action

accrued or two years after Wilson.” Anton v. Lehplamer,

787 F. 2d 1141 (7th Cir. 1986). Because Bieneman’s cause

of action under Section 1983 arose in 1976, more than five

years before he brought this suit, the statute of limitations

bars his claim. Count III of Bieneman’s complaint is dis-

missed.

A-51

Counts IV and V

The City raises two arguments against Counts IV and

V, which allege the torts of nuisance and assault and bat-

tery: first, that federal law preempts state tort claims

against airport proprietors; and second, that Illinois courts

have not recognized a cause of action against the proprietor

of a transportation facility for the lawful, non-negligent

operation of that facility.

As the City points out, Lwuedtke v. County of

Milwaukee, 521 F.2d 387 (7th Cir. 1975) is a formidable

obstacle to plaintiffs’ tort claims. In Luedtke the Seventh

Circuit held that federal law preempts state negligence and

nuisance actions against airport proprietors and airlines

so long as the airports and airlines are operating consis-

tently with federal laws and regulations. 521 F. 2d at 391.

Accord, Bryski v. City of Chicago, 148 Ill. App. 3d 556, 564

(2nd Dist. 1986).

Plaintiffs acknowledge Luedtke, but argue that it is

no longer good law in light of the Supreme Court’s deci-

sion in Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238 (1984).

Silkwood holds that federal regulation of the safety aspects

of nuclear energy does not preempt a state law action for

punitive damages for the release of plutonium from a feder-

ally licensed facility. 464 U.S. at 258. The Court based its

conclusion on extensive evidence that Congress intended

to retain state tort remedies for nuclear injuries when it

enacted laws regulating nuclear safety, and on its determi-

nation that the existence of state remedies would neither

frustrate the objectives of federal law nor create an irrec-

oncilable conflict between state and federal standards. Id.

at 256.

Nothing in Silkwood suggests that the Seventh Circuit

erred in Luedtke when it held that federal regulation of

air transportation preempts state tort actions against air-

port proprietors and airlines complying with federal law.

Neither Luedtke nor the Supreme Court decision on which

A-52

Luedtke relied, City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Termi-

nal, Inc., 411 U.S. 624 (1973) (pervasive nature of scheme

of federal regulation of aircraft noise preempts local ordi-

nance limiting hours of takeoffs by jet aircraft), finds any

evidence of Congressional intent to allow state regulation

of airport operations. Indeed, City of Burbank recites sub-

stantial evidence that Congress did intend to preempt local

regulation of airport noise. 411 U.S. at 633-39. Silkwood’s

conclusion that federal law does not preempt state tort

actions in the area of nuclear safety does nothing to under-

mine Luedtke’s conclusion that federal law preempts such

claims in the unique and entirely unrelated field of air

transportation.

Because Luedtke remains good law in the Seventh Cir-

cuit, this court must follow it. Counts IV and V are dis-

missed because they assert state tort claims preempted by

federal law. It is unnecessary to address the City’s alter-

native argument for the dismissal of Counts IV and V.

Count VI

Count VI alleges that the airline defendants are joint

venturers with the City in the operation of O’Hare, and

thus are liable together with the City for inverse condem-

nation alleged in Count III, and for the common law torts

alleged in Counts IV and V.

As the court has already concluded, federal law pre-

empts plaintiffs’ state tort claims. Lwuedtke v. County of

Milwaukee, 521 F. 2d at 391. Lwuedtke and Griggs v.

Allegheny County, 369 U.S. 84, 89 (1962) foreclose plain-

tiffs’ inverse condemnation claim against the airlines; both

cases squarely hold that airlines may not be held liable for

the taking of property adjacent to airports from which the

airlines operate flights. Count VI is dismissed.

Count VII

In Count VII plaintiffs request a declaratory judgment

that federal law does not preempt their state tort claims

A-53

against the City. Count VII is superfluous and an inap-

propriate invocation of the district court’s power to grant

declaratory relief. If plaintiffs’ state tort claims survive a _

motion to dismiss there is no need for a declaration that

federal law does not preempt them; on the other hand, if

the court dismisses the state tort claims on the basis of

preemption a request for a declaratory judgment of non-

preemption can fare no better. Count VII is dismissed for

the same reasons as Counts IV and V.

Count VIII

Count VIII alleges that the City violated plaintiffs’

Fourteenth Amendment right to due process by acquiring

interests in their property without notice or a hearing.

This adds nothing to the allegations of Count III. Assum-

ing plaintiffs can show that the City did actually “take”

their property, it is settled law that a governmental body

may take land without notice or a hearing, leaving the

landowner with an action for inverse condemnation as his

sole remedy. United States v. Clarke, 445 U.S. 253, 256-57

and n. 3 (1980); Barbian v. Panagis, 694 F. 2d 476, 482 n.

6 (7th Cir. 1982). Count III asserts such a claim, so Count

VIII is redundant. Count VIII is dismissed.

CONCLUSION

Counts I, II, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII of Bieneman

v. City of Chicago, No. 84 C 10388, and Biddison v. City

of Chicago, No. 85 C 10295, are dismissed. Count III of

Bieneman also is dismissed.

ENTER:

/s/ BRIAN BARNETT DUFF

Brian Barnett Duff, Judge

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DATE: June 8, 1987

A-54

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, )

on his own behalf and on

behalf of all persons simi-

larly situated,

Plaintiff,

v.

THE CITY OF CHICAGO;

HAROLD WASHINGTON ,

in his official capacity as a ee

° : . 0.

pre notion oy he egret Honorable Brian Duff

official capacity as acting

Commissioner of the Depart- P FIRST

ment of Aviation of the AMENDED COMPLAINT

City of Chicago; AMERICAN PLAINTIFF DEMANDS

AIRLINES, INC.; DELTA TRIAL BY JURY

AIRLINES, INC.; NORTH-

WEST AIRLINES, INC.;

OZARK AIRLINES, INC.;

TRANS WORLD AIRLINES,

INC.; UNITED AIR LINES,

INC.; and, USAIRLINES,

INC.,

Defendants-Appellees.

COUNT I

Defendants’ Deprivation Of Rights

Protected By The Constitution

NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, by his attorneys, and complaining of Defendants

CITY OF CHICAGO, HAROLD WASHINGTON, in his

A-55

official capacity as Mayor of the City of Chicago, and

JEROME R. BUTLER, in his official capacity as acting

Commissioner of the Department of Aviation of the City

of Chicago, alleges as follows:

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1. This Court has jurisdiction over this action pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1331 and 28 U.S.C. Section 1343.

The federal claims in this case arise under and are based

upon the following constitutional provisions and laws of

the United States:

a. The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

b. 42 U.S.C. Section 1983, which provides a claim

for relief against any person acting under color of

state law, individually, or in concert with others,

to deprive plaintiffs of rights guaranteed by the

Constitution and laws of the United States.

2. This Court’s jurisdiction over the Plaintiff’s state

law claims is founded upon the doctrine of pendent juris-

diction. The state law claims arise out of the same common

nucleus of operative facts as do the federal claims.

3. Venue is proper in this district under the provi-

sions of 28 U.S.C. Sections 1391(b) and 1391(c). All of the

causes of action arise in this district, and all of the Defen-

dants do business in this district.

PARTIES

4. Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN is a citi-

zen, resident and owner of real property used for residen-

tial purposes located at 15 West Wood in the Village of

Bensenville, DuPage County, Illinois. Mr. Bieneman pur-

chased the aforesaid property in 1967.

——————————————

A-56

5. Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO is a municipal cor-

poration organized and existing under the laws of the State

of Illinois and has its principal place of business in Cook

County, Illinois.

6. Defendant HAROLD WASHINGTON is the duly

elected Mayor of the City of Chicago.

7. Defendant JEROME R. BUTLER is the duly

appointed acting Commissioner of the Department of Avi-

ation of the City of Chicago.

8. Defendant AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC. is a cor-

poration organized and existing under the laws of the State

of Delaware, and is engaged, inter alia, in the business

of carrying passengers for hire by airplane to and from

O’Hare International Airport in Cook County and DuPage

County, Illinois.

9. Defendant DELTA AIRLINES, INC. is a corpora-

tion organized and existing under the laws of the State of

Delaware, and is engaged, inter alia, in the business of car-

rying passengers for hire by airplane to and from O’Hare

International Airport in Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

10. Defendant NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC. is a

corporation organized and existing under the laws of the

State of Minnesota, and is engaged, inter alia, in the busi-

ness of carrying passengers for hire by airplane to and from

O’Hare International Airport in Cook County and DuPage

County, Illinois.

11. Defendant OZARK AIRLINES, INC. is a corpora-

tion or ganized and existing under the laws of the State of

Delaware, and is engaged, inter alia, in the business of car-

rying passengers for hire by airplane to and from O’Hare

International Airport in Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

12. Defendant TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC. is

a corporation organized and existing under the laws of

A-57

the State of Delaware, and is engaged, inter alia, in the

business of carying rying passengers for hire by airplane

to and from O’Hare International Airport in Cook County

and DuPage County, Illinois.

13. Defendant UNITED AIR LINES, INC. is a corpo-

ration organized and existing under the laws of the State

of-Delaware, and is engaged, inter alia, in the business

of carryying passengers for hire by airplane to and from

O’Hare International Airport in Cook County and DuPage

County, Illinois.

14. Defendant USAIRLINES, INC. is a corporation

organized and existing under the laws of the State of

Delaware, and is engaged, inter alia, in the business of car-

rying passengers for hire by airplane to and from O’Hare

International Airport in Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

CLASS ACTION ALLEGATIONS

15. Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN brings

this action on his own behalf and as a class action pursuant

to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

16. The plaintiff class consists of all persons who

own, use and reside in residential real property situated in

Illinois within the territorial boundaries of Cook County

and DuPage County, under or adjacent to the paths of air-

craft approaching, departing or circling O’Hare Interna-

tional Airport. (The individual plaintiff and the plaintiff

class are referred to hereafter collectively as “Plaintiffs”).

a. There are several hundred thousand members of

the plaintiff class, thereby making joinder of all

its members impossible.

b. There are questions of both law and fact common

to the entire plaintiff class. Specifically, the legal

bases of the complaint are identical as to each

member of the class, and the unlawful conduct of

is

A-58

the Defendants was committed on grounds gener-

ally applicable to the class as a whole. In addition,

common elements of relief are sought.

The claims of Plaintiff LAWRENCE C.

BIENEMAN, as a representative party, are typ-

ical; and the legal bases of the claims are iden-

tical to the claims of the entire plaintiff class.

Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, will fairly

and adequately represent and protect the interests

of the plaintiff class.

17. This action is maintainable as a class action for

each of the following reasons:

a.

Prosecution of separate actions by individual mem-

bers of the class would create a risk of inconsistent

and varying adjudications with respect to the same

conduct by Defendants, and would establish a risk

of incompatible and inconsistent standards of con-

duct for the Defendants.

Prosecution of separate actions by iadividual mem-

bers of the class would, if successful, be dispositive

of the claims of the other members, because Defen-

dants conduct would be declared unlawful, Defen-

dants would be enjoined from violating the rights

of class members and money damages would be

recovered. If unsuccessful, prosecution of separate

actions would substantially impair the ability of

other members of the class to protect their inter-

ests.

Defendants have acted and refused to act on

grounds generally applicable to the plaintiff class,

thereby making appropriate final injunctive relief

and corresponding relief with respect to the class

as a whole.

The common questions of law and fact that exist

A-59

as to all members of the plaintiff class predomi-

nate over any questions solely affecting individual

members of the class. A class action is superior to

other available means for fair and efficient adjudi-

cation of this controversy.

DEFENDANTS’ WRONGFUL CONDUCT

18. Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO owns, controls,

operates and is proprietor of O’Hare International Airport,

which is situated in both Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

19. It has been and continues to be the official pol-

icy and practice of Defendant City of Chicago to operate,

manage, develop and expand O’Hare International Airport,

under color of state law, in a manner that intentionally

injures Plaintiffs and deprives them of their substantive

constitutional rights to life, liberty and property that are

guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution.

20. It has been and continues to be the official policy

and practice of Defendant City of Chicago — duly authorized

by Defendant Harold Washington, in his official capacity

as Mayor, and duly implemented by Defendant Jerome

R. Butler and his predecessor in office, Thomas Kapsalis,

in their official capacity as Commissioner of the Depart-

ment of Aviation — to operate, manage, develop and expand

O’Hare International Airport as follows:

a. to put as many aircraft operations as possible

through the airport with the full knowledge and

intention that increases in aircraft operations

increase the noise, vibrations, and air pollution

impacting Plaintiffs and thereby injures Plaintiffs

in their persons and property;

b. to fail to implement alternatives to increased air-

craft operations that would not cause injury to

A-60

Plaintiffs in their persons and property;

to fail to implement mitigating measures that

would reduce the injury to Plaintiffs in their per-

sons and property resulting from noise, vibration

and air pollution.

21. As a direct and proximate result of the offi-

cial authorized policy and practices of Defendant City of

Chicago, Plaintiffs have been intentionally pounded with

excessive levels of noise and vibration, and have been inun-

dated with air pollution by aircraft approaching, depart-

ing or circling O’Hare International Airport; and Plaintiffs

have been injured and deprived of their substantive liberty

and property interests protected by the Constitution in one

or more of the following manners:

a.

Plaintiffs have sustained physical injuries, includ-

ing but not limited to headaches, nausea from nox-

ious fumes and odors, other interferences with the

senses, loss of sleep, fatigue, and pain and suffer-

ing;

Plaintiffs have sustained severe mental and emo-

tional distress that has further damaged their

physical health, including but not limited to stress,

anxiety, nervousness, annoyance, strain, irritabil-

ity, worry and fear for the safety of themselves and

their family members;

Plaintiffs have sustained physical damage to the

residential real property which they own, reside

in and use, including but not limited to continued

shaking and vibration of the structure, objects, and

appliances and broken windows;

Plaintiffs have sustained damage from a substan-

tial loss of the use and peaceful enjoyment of their

property, including but not limited to interfer-

ence with speech among family members and tele-

phone communications, interference with radio,

A-61

stereo, and television communications and enjoy-

ment, interference with the use of their yards

and other out-of-doors portions of their homes, and

difficulties in finding persons willing to purchase

their homes;

e. Plaintiffs have sustained damages by reason of

substantial interference with their ability to oper-

ate their businesses and pursue their livelihood,

their ability to concentrate mental effort, their

ability to study, their ability to perform ordinary

tasks, their ability to pursue their recreational

activities and pursuits, and their personal security

and privacy; and

f. Plaintiffs have been exposed and are continuing to

be exposed to a risk of cancer from the burned and

unburned aircraft fumes.

22. The knowing and intentional infliction of the

above-described injuries on Plaintiffs, as an official autho-

rized policy of Defendant City of Chicago, violates Plain-

tiffs’ substantive rights to life, liberty and property guar-

anteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution. The deprivations and violations of Plaintiffs’

constitutional rights and the damage to Plaintiffs by rea-

son of the duly authorized official policy of Defendant City

of Chicago is continuing and occurs on a daily basis.

23. In furtherance of its official policy, Defendant

City of Chicago has, under color of state law, duly autho-

rized and commenced implementation of a $1,500,000,000

expansion of O’Hare International Airport that will

increase annual aircraft operations from 667,000 opera-

tions in 1983 to 920,000 or more operations in 1995, and

to well in excess of 1,000,000 operations in the years

thereafter. Defendant City of Chicago knows and intends

that this substantial increase in operations will drastically

increase the noise, vibrations, and air pollution impacting

Plaintiffs, and will thereby exacerbate Plaintiffs’ past and

A-62

current injuries and cause new and additional injuries and

damage.

24. In furtherance of its official policy, Defendant

City of Chicago has failed and refused to implement alter-

native plans that will not cause injury to Plaintiffs, and

Defendant City of Chicago has failed and refused to imple-

ment mitigating measures that would reduce the potential

injury to Plaintiffs from the expansion.

25. No municipality has the right to intentionally

inflict physical injury on the person and property of indi-

vidual citizens in furtherance of an official policy to max-

imize economic gains. Defendant City of Chicago, Harold

Washington, in his official capacity as Mayor of the City

of Chicago, and Jerome R. Butler, in his official capac-

ity as acting Commissioner of the Department of Avia-

tion of the City of Chicago, are liable to the Plaintiffs for

compensatory damages under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 for

Defendants’ past and current willful and intentional viola-

tions of Plaintiffs’ substantive constitutional rights. Plain-

tiffs have no adequate remedy at law for the announced

intention of, and steps already taken by Defendant City

of Chicago and its duly authorized representatives to fur-

ther violate Plaintiffs’ substantive constitutional rights

and cause further injury to Plaintiffs.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENE-

MAN, on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons sim-

ilarly situated, prays that this Court grant the following

relief in Plaintiffs’ favor and against Defendants CITY

OF CHICAGO, HAROLD WASHINGTON, in his official

capacity as Mayor of the City of Chicago, and JEROME R.

BUTLER, in his official capacity as acting Commissioner

of the Department of Aviation of the City of Chicago:

A. judgment for compensatory damages against the

Defendants in an amount in excess of $10,000 per

Plaintiff for Defendants’ past and current viola-

tions of Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights;

A-63

B. a preliminary and permanent judgment enjoining

and restraining Defendants from further violating

Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights;

C. apreliminary and permanent injunction requiring

Defendants to implement alternatives to increased

aircraft operations at O’Hare International Air-

port that would not cause injury to Plaintiffs in

their person and property;

D. a preliminary and permanent injunction requir-

ing Defendants to implement mitigating measures

to reduce the continuing injury to Plaintiffs from

noise, vibration and air pollution;

Plaintiffs’ costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees; and

F. such other relief as this Court deems just and

proper.

COUNT II

Collusion Of The Airline Defendants

With The City Of Chicago To Intentionally

Injure Plaintiffs And Deprive Plaintiffs

Of Their Constitutional Rights

NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons simi-

larly situated, by his attorneys, and complaining of Defen-

dants AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., DELTA AIRLINES,

INC., NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC., OZARK AIR-

LINES, INC., TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC., UNITED

AIR LINES, INC., and USAIRLINES, INC., (hereinafter

collectively referred to as “Airline Defendants”), alleges as

follows:

1-25. Plaintiffs adopt and reallege the allegations of

paragraphs 1 to 24 inclusive of Count I as and for the

allegations of paragraphs 1 to 24 of Count II.

26. The Airline Defendants planned, designed, imple-

A-64

mented and funded, in whole or in part, the past increases

in aircraft operations at O’Hare International Airport in

active concert and participation with Defendant City of

Chicago, and in furtherance of Defendant City of Chicago’s

official policy.

27. In so doing, Airline Defendants knew and

intended that the increased aircraft operations at O’Hare

International Airport would increase the noise, vibrations

and air pollution impacting Plaintiffs and thereby injure

Plaintiffs in their person and property.

28. Asadirect and proximate result of the conspiracy

between and collusion of Airline Defendants and Defen-

dant City of Chicago to intentionally deprive Plaintiffs of

their substantive constitutional rights of life, liberty and

property under color of state law, Plaintiffs, and each of

them, have been injured in one or more of the following

manners:

a. Plaintiffs have sustained physical injuries, includ-

ing but not limited to headaches, nausea from nox-

ious fumes and odors, other interferences with the

senses, loss of sleep, fatigue, and pain and suffer-

ing;

b. Plaintiffs have sustained severe mental and emo-

tional distress that has further damaged their

physical health, including but not limited to stress,

anxiety, nervousness, annoyance, strain, irritabil-

ity, worry and fear for the safety of themselves and

their family members;

c. Plaintiffs have sustained physical damage to the

residential real property which they own, reside

in and use, including but not limited to continued

shaking and vibration of the structure, objects, and

appliances and broken windows;

d. Piaintiffs have sustained damage from a substan-

tial loss of the use and peaceful enjoyment of their

A-65

property, including but not limited to interfer-

ence with speech among family members and tele-

phone communications, interference with radio,

stereo, and television communications and enjoy-

ment, interference with the use of their yards

and other outof-doors portions of their homes, and

difficulties in finding persons willing to purchase

their homes;

e. Plaintiffs have sustained damages by reason of

substantial interference with their ability to oper-

ate their businesses and pursue their livelihood,

their ability to concentrate mental effort, their

ability to study, their ability to perform ordinary

tasks, their ability to pursue their recreational

activities and pursuits, and their personal security

and privacy; and

f. Plaintiffs have been exposed and are continuing to

be exposed to a risk of cancer from the burned and

unburned aircraft fumes.

29. The knowing and intentional infliction of the

above-described injuries on Plaintiffs, as a result of the

conspiracy between and collusion of the Airline Defendants

and Defendant City of Chicago, violates Plaintiffs’ substan-

tive rights to life, liberty and property guaranteed by the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

The deprivations and violations of Plaintiffs’ constitutional

rights and the dam~ ge to Plaintiffs by reason of the Airline

Defendants’ conspiracy and collusion with Defendant City

of Chicago is continuing and occurs on a daily basis.

30. In furtherance of this conspiracy, Airline Defen-

dants are planning, designing, implementing and funding

Defendant City of Chicago’s $1,500,000,000 expansion of

O’Hare International Airport that will increase annual air-

craft operations from 667,000 operations in 1983 to 920,000

operations in 1995, and to well in excess of 1,000,000 oper-

ations in the years thereafter.

A-66

31. Defendant City of Chicago and the Airline Defen-

dants have entered into a certain “Airport Use Agreement

and Terminal Facilities Lease and Amendments Nos. 1

and 2” (hereinafter referred to as the “Use Agreement”).

The form of the Use Agreement is too lengthy to attach

hereto (more than 500 pages, including exhibits), but a true

and correct copy is set forth in the Journal of Proceedings

for the City Council of the City of Chicago, January 28,

1983, commencing at p. 15,665.

32. Pursuant to the Use Agreement, the Airline

Defendants have guaranteed Defendant City of Chicago

that the Airline Defendants will pay for the $1,500,000,000

expansion of O’Hare International Airport that will sub-

stantially increase annual aircraft operations.

33. Airline Defendants know and intend that the

substantial increase in aircraft operations at O’Hare will

drastically increase the noise, vibrations and air pollution

impacting Plaintiffs and will thereby exacerbate Plaintiffs’

past and current injuries and cause new and additional

injuries and damages.

34. According to Thomas Kapsalis, former Commis-

sioner of the Department of Aviation of the City of Chicago,

Defendant City of Chicago failed to consider alternative

plans that would not cause injury or damage to Plaintiffs,

because the City’s co-conspirators, the Airline Defendants,

refused to fund less destructive alternatives than expan-

sion of operations at O’Hare International Airport.

35. The Airline Defendants, having acted under color

of state law as co-conspirators with Defendant City of

Chicago, are liable to the Plaintiffs for compensatory and

punitive damages under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 for the Air-

line Defendants’ past and current willful, malicious and

intentional violations of Plaintiffs’ substantive constitu-

tional rights. Plaintiffs have no adequate remedy at law

for the announced intention of and steps already taken

by the Airline Defendants, in collusion with Defendant

A-67

City of Chicago, to willfully, maliciously, and intentionally

further violate Plaintiffs’ substantive constitutional rights

and cause further injury to Plaintiffs.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENE-

MAN, on his own behalf and on behalf of all per-

sons similarly situated, prays that this Court grant the

following relief in his favor and against Defendants

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., DELTA AIRLINES, INC.,

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC., OZARK AIRLINES,

INC., TRANS WORLD AIRLINES, INC., UNITED AIR

LINES, INC., and USAIRLINES, INC-.:

A. judgment for compensatory damages against the

Defendants in an amount in excess of $10,000 per

Plaintiff for Defendants’ past and current viola-

tions of Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights;

B. judgment for punitive damages against the Defen-

dants in an amount sufficient to punish the Defen-

dants for their past and current willful, malicious

and intentional violations of Plaintiffs’ constitu-

tional rights, and to deter Defendants from com-

mitting similar wrongs in the future;

C. a preliminary and permanent judgment enjoining

and restraining Defendants from further violating

Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights;

D. apreliminary and permanent injunction requiring

Defendants to implement alternatives to increased

aircraft operations at O’Hare International Air-

port that would not cause injury to Plaintiffs in

their person and property;

E. a preliminary and permanent injunction requiring

Defendants to implement mitigating measures to

reduce the continuing injuries to Plaintiffs from

noise, vibration and air pollution;

F. Plaintiffs’ costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees; and

A-68

G. such other relief as this Court deems just and

proper.

COUNT II

Taking Of Plaintiffs’ Property Under

The Fifth And Fourteenth Amendments

Of The United States Constitution

NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, by his attorneys, and complaining of Defendant

CITY OF CHICAGO, allege as follows:

1-18. Plaintiffs adopt and reallege the allegations of

paragraphs 1 to 17 inclusive of Count I as and for the

allegations of paragraphs 1 through 17 of Count III.

18. Defendant City of Chicago owns, controls, oper-

ates and is proprietor of O’Hare International Airport,

which is situated in both Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

19. Plaintiffs own, use and reside in residential

real property under or adjacent to the paths of aircraft

approaching, departing or circling O’Hare International

Airport.

20. Defendant City of Chicago has caused and contin-

ues to cause numerous jet-powered aircraft to be operated,

piloted and propelled through the airspace over or adjacent

to Plaintiffs’ property, repeatedly and at all hours of every

day and night.

21. These continuous operations of airplanes from the

airport owned, operated, and controlled by Defendant City

of Chicago, have impacted and continue to impact Plain-

tiffs and their property with excessive levels of noise and

vibration, and inundate Plaintiffs with air pollution.

22. Asa direct and proximate result of this contin-

uous impacting and inundation, in 1976 Defendant City

of Chicago destroyed the use and enjoyment of Plaintiffs’

ee F

A-69

properties, damaged and destroyed Plaintiffs’ airspace,

dwellings, and other structures on Plaintiffs’ properties,

and totally destroyed the value of Plaintiffs’ property as

residences.

23. By reason of the foregoing, Plaintiffs’ properties

and airspace, and each of them, have been confiscated,

condemned, taken and made useless by Defendant City of

Chicago without due process and without compensation in

contravention of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Con-

stitution of the United States of America.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, prays that this court grant the following relief in

his favor and against Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO:

A. a declaration that Plaintiffs’ properties and

airspace have been taken by Defendant CITY OF

CHICAGO, without due process in contravention

of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States of America;

B. judgment for compensatory damages against

Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO for each Plaintiff,

for the value for the property and airspace taken

by Defendant City of Chicago;

C. Plaintiffs’ costs;

such other relief as this court deems just and

proper.

COUNT IV

State Tort Law Claim For Continuing Nuisance

NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, by his attorneys, and complaining of Defendant

CITY OF CHICAGO, alleges as follows:

A-70

1-17. Plaintiffs adopt and reallege the allegations of

paragraphs 1-17 inclusive of Count I as and for the allega-

tions of paragraphs 1-17 of Count IV.

18. Defendant City of Chicago owns, controls, oper-

ates and is proprietor of O’Hare International Airport,

which is situated in both Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

19. Plaintiffs, and each of them, own, use, and reside

in residential real property under or adjacent to the paths

of aircraft approaching, departing, or circling O’Hare !nter-

national Airport.

20. Defendant City of Chicago has caused and contin-

ues to cause numerous jet-powered aircraft to be operated,

piloted and propelled at low altitudes through the airspace

over or adjacent to Plaintiffs’ property, repeatedly and at

all hours of every day and night.

21. These operations of airplanes to, from, and

around the airport owned, operated, and controlled by

Defendant City of Chicago, have impacted and continue to

impact Plaintiffs and their property with excessive levels

of noise and vibration, and inundate Plaintiffs with toxic

air pollutants. :

22. As a direct and proximate result of this pound-

ing with noise, vibration and inundation by air pollution,

Plaintiffs, and each of them, have sustained and continue

to sustain one or more-of the following injuries to their

persons and/or property:

a. Plaintiffs have sustained rhysical injuries, includ-

ing but not limited to headaches, nausea from nox-

ious fumes and odors, other interferences with the

senses, loss of » vep, fatigue, and pain and suffer-

ing;

b. Plaintiffs have sustained severe mental and emo-

tional distress that has further damaged their

physical health, including but not limited to stress,

A-71

anxiety, nervousness, annoyance, strain, irritabil-

ity, worry and fear for the safety of themselves and

their family members;

c. Plaintiffs have sustained physical damage to the

residential real property which they own, reside

in and use, including but not limited to continued

shaking and vibration of the structure, objects and

appliances and broken windows;

d. Plaintiffs have sustained damage from a substan-

tial loss of the use and peaceful enjoyment of their

property, including but not limited to interfer-

ence with speech among family members and tele-

phone communications, interference with radio,

stereo, and television communications and enjoy-

ment, interference with the use of their yards

and other outof-doors portions of their homes, and

difficulties in finding persons willing to purchase

their homes; a

e. Plaintiffs have sustained damages by reason of

substantial interference with their ability to oper-

ate their businesses and pursue their livelihoods,

their ability to concentrate mental effort, their

ability to study, their ability to perform ordinary

tasks, their ability to pursue their recreational

activities and pursuits, and their personal security

and privacy; and

f. Plaintiffs have been exposed and are continuing to

be exposed to a risk of cancer from the burned and

unburned aircraft fumes.

23. The foregoing actions of the Defendant City of

Chicago constitute a continuing nuisance for which Plain-

tiffs are entitled to damages.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, prays that this court grant the following relief in

A-72

their favor and against Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO:

A. judgment for compensatory damages against

Defendant City of Chicago in an amount in excess

of $10,000 per Plaintiff;

B. Plaintiffs’ costs;

C. such other relief as this Court deems just and

proper.

COUNT V

State Tort Law Claim For Assault And Battery

NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly situ-

ated, and complaining of Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO,

alleges as follows:

1-17. Plaintiffs adopt and reallege the allegations of

paragraph 1 to 17 inclusive of Count I as and for the alle-

gations of paragraph 1 through 17 of Count V.

18. Defendant City of Chicago owns, controls, oper-

ates and is proprietor of O’Hare International Airport,

which is situated in both Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

19. Plaintiffs, and each of them, own, use, and reside

in residential real property under or adjacent to the paths

of aircraft approaching, departing, or circling O’Hare Inter-

national Airport.

20. Defendant City of Chicago has caused and contin-

ues to cause numerous jet-powered aircraft to be operated,

piloted and propelled at low altitudes through the airspace

over or adjacent to Plaintiffs’ property, and repeatedly at

all hours of every day and night.

21. These operations of airplanes to, from, and

around the airport owned, operated, and controlled by

Defendant City of Chicago, have impacted and continue to

a

A-73

impact Plaintiffs and their property with excessive levels

of noise and vibration, and inundate Plaintiffs with air pol-

lution.

22. Asa direct and proximate result of this continu-

ous impacting with noise and vibration and inundation by

air pollution, Plaintiffs, and each of them, have sustained

one or more of the following injuries to their person:

a. Plaintiffs have sustained physical injuries, includ-

ing but not limited to headaches, nausea from nox-

ious fumes and odors, other interferences with the

senses, loss of sleep, fatigue and pain anid suffer-

ing;

b. Plaintiffs have sustained severe mental and emo-

tional distress that has further damaged their

physical health, including but not limited to stress,

anxiety, nervousness, annoyance, strain, irritabil-

ity, worry and fear for the safety of themselves and

their family members;

c. Plaintiffs have sustained physical damage to the

residential real property which they own, reside

in and use, including but not limited to continued

shaking and vibration of the structure, objects, and

appliances and broken windows;

d. Plaintiffs have sustained damage from a substan-

tial loss of the use and peaceful enjoyment of their

property, including but not limited to interfer-

ence with speech among family members and tele-

phone communications, interference with radio,

stereo, and television communications and enjoy-

ment, interference with the use of their yards

and other out-of-doors portions of their homes, and

difficulties in finding persons willing to purchase

their homes;

e. Plaintiffs have sustained damages by reason of

substantial interference with their ability to oper-

A-74

ate their businesses and pursue their livelihood,

their ability to concentrate mental effort, their

ability to study, their ability to perform ordinary

tasks, their ability to pursue their recreational

activities and pursuits, and their personal security

and privacy; and

f. Plaintiffs have been exposed and are continuing to

be exposed to a risk of cancer from the burned and

unburned aircraft fumes.

23. The foregoing intentional pounding and inunda-

tion of Plaintiffs by the Defendant City of Chicago consti-

tutes a continuing assault and battery for which Plaintiffs

are entitled to damages.

24. Recently, Defendant City of Chicago duly autho-

rized and commenced implementation of a $1,500,000,000

expansion of O’Hare International Airport that will

increase annual aircraft operations from 667,000 opera-

tions in 1983 to 920,000 or more operations in 1995. Defen-

dant City of Chicago knows and intends that this sub-

stantial inicrease in operations will drastically increase the

noise, vibrations, and air pollution now beating and inun-

dating Plaintiffs, and will thereby exacerbate Plaintiffs’

past and current injuries and cause new and additional

injuries and damage.

25. This threat by Defendant City of Chicago to fur-

ther intentionally physically injure Plaintiffs, coupled with

the apparent physical ability of and steps already taken

by Defendant City of Chicago to effectuate the threat, has

created a well-founded fear of imminent peril in Plaintiffs.

This conduct constitutes a further continuing assault by

Defendant City of Chicago for which Plaintiffs are entitled

to damages.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, prays that this court grant the following relief in

A-75

his favor and against Defendant City of Chicago:

A. judgment for compensatory damages against

Defendant City of Chicago in an amount in excess

of $10,000 per Plaintiff;

B. Plaintiffs’ costs;

C. such other relief as this Court deems just and

proper.

COUNT VI

Liability Of Airline Defendants

As Joint Venturers

NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similar sit-

uated, and complaining of Defendants AMERICAN AIR-

LINES, INC., DELTA AIRLINES, INC., NORTHWEST

AIRLINES, INC., OZARK AIRLINES, INC., TRANS

WORLD AIRLINES, INC., UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

and USAIRLINES, INC., (hereinafter collectively referred

to as “Airline Defendants”), alleges as follows:

1-17. Plaintiffs adopt and reallege the allegations of

paragraphs 1 to 17 inclusive of Count I as and for the

allegations of paragraphs 1 to 17 of Count VI; and Plain-

tiffs further incorporate all of the remaining allegations of

Counts III, IV and V inclusive, as allegations of this Count

VI.

18. On or about January 28, 1983, Defendant City of

Chicago and the Airline Defendants entered into certain

Airport Use Agreemenis and Terminal Facilities Leases

(hereinafter referred to as the “Use Agreements”). The

form of the Use Agreement is too lengthy to attach hereto

(more than 500 pages, including exhibits), but a true and

correct copy is set forth in the Journal of Proceedings for

the City Council of the City of Chicago, January 28, 1983,

commencing at p. 15,665.

A-76

19. Under said Use Agreements, each Airline Defen-

dant is granted the right to conduct an air transportation

business at the airport, and to perform all operations and

functions incidental, necessary or proper thereto. The City

has agreed not to grant any airline in competition with any

Airline Defendant any rights or privileges at the airport of

a character or on a basis more favorable to such person

than those granted or available to an Airline Defendant,

the effect of which is to place an Airline Defendant at a

competitive advantage. This grant includes the right to

use, subject to certain restrictions, the airfield area, non-

exclusive aircraft parking areas, airline’s exclusive use

premises, airline’s aircraft parking area and the public use

premises. Each of the Airline Defendants and the City

have certain specified obligations with respect to the main-

tenance and operation of the airport.

20. The Use Agreements contain as exhibits thereto

a list of those Capital Projects which are part of the Airport

Development Plan approved by the Airline Defendants.

Such exhibits also indicate with respect to each approved

Capital Project its “Airline Funded Cost”and its “Priori-

ty” classification (see “1983 Use Agreements - Authorized

Financing of Capital Projects”) and certain other informa-

tion.

21. The Use Agreements provide that the aggregate

of all rentals, fees and charges to be paid by the Airline

Defendants shall be sufficient to pay for the net cost of

operating, maintaining and developing the airport (exclud-

ing the Land Support Area), including the satisfaction of

all of the City’s obligations to make deposits and payments

under any ordinance or resolution authorizing airport obli-

gations.

22. The Use Agreements further provide that the

Airline Defendants shall indemnify and save the City

harmless from and against any and ail liabilities,

losses, damages, judgments, awards, settlement costs and

A-77

expenses (including attorneys’ fees and expenses) arising

out of “... suits alleging a taking of property or interests

in property without just compensation, trespass, nuisance,

or similar suits based upon the use of the airport (other

than the Land Support Area) for the landing and take off

of aircraft...” (Use Agreements, Section 19.01(a)(i) (em-

phasis added).

23. The degree of effective control over the expansion,

development and use of the airport exercised and retained

by the Airline Defendants, as set forth in the Use Agree-

ments, make said Airline Defendants joint venturers with

Defendant City of Chicago in the development and use of

the airport.

24. As joint venturers, the Airline Defendants are

jointly and severally liable with Defendant City of Chicago

for the damages sought herein in Counts III, IV, and V

inclusive.

25. Inasmuch as the causes of action set forth in

Counts III, IV, and V are based on intentional, willful, and

malicious conduct of the Airline Defendants in concert and

participation and collusion with Defendant City of Chicago,

the Airline Defendants are further liable to Plaintiffs, and

each of them, for punitive damages.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs LAWRENCE C. BIENE-

MAN, on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons simi-

lar situated prays that this Court grant the following relief

in their favor and against Defendants AMERICAN AIR-

LINES, INC., DELTA AIRLINES, INC., NORTHWEST

AIRLINES, INC., OZARK AIRLINES, INC., TRANS

WORLD AIRLINES, INC., UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

and USAIRLINES, INC., and each of them:

A. judgment for compensatory damages against the

Airline Defendants, jointly and severally, for a!]

compensatory damages sought from Defendar.t

City of Chicago in Counts III, IV, and V inclusive;

A-78

B. judgment for punitive damages against the Airline

Defendants, jointly and severally, in an amount

sufficient to punish Airline Defendants for their

past and current intentional, willful an malicious

conduct, and to deter Airline Defendants from com-

mitting similar wrongs in the future;

C. Plaintiffs’ costs; and

D. such other relief as this Court deems just and

proper.

COUNT VII

Declaratory Judgment That There Is

No Federal Preemption Of Plaintiffs’

State Law Actions For Damages

NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, by his attorneys, and complaining of Defendant

CITY OF CHICAGO, alleges as follows:

1. Plaintiff hereby incorporates and realleges the

allegations of Counts IV and V which allege state tort law

claims against Defendant City of Chicago.

2. As a matter of federal law the State Supreme

Courts of California, Georgia and Wisconsin have held that

Congress, in the passage of federal aviation legislation, did

not choose to preempt state law tort actions for damages

against airport proprietors. See Greater Westchester Home-

owners Association v. City of Los Angeles, 26 Cal.3d 86, 760

Cal.Rptr.733, 603 P.2d 1329 (1979), cert. den., 499 U.S. 820

(1980); City of Atlanta v. Owen, 282 S.E.2d 906 (Sup.Ct.Ga.

1981); Krueger v. Mitchell, 112 Wis.2d 88, 332 N.W.2d

733 (1983); Baker v. Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport

Authority, No. L.A. 31869, Slip. op. (Cal. September 23,

1985).

3. Asa matter of the same federal law, the United

A-79

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit has held

that Congress, in the passage of federal aviation legisla-

tion, did intend to preempt state law claims for damages.

Luedtke v. County of Milwaukee, 521 F. 2d 387 (7th Cir.

1975).

4. It is irrational, arbitrary and discriminatory that,

under the identical federal law of preemption, injured res-

idents are allowed to invoke state law remedies in Los

Angeles and Atlanta, but not in Chicago.

5. Plaintiffs contend that as a matter of federal law

Congress, in the passage of federal aviation legislation, did

not intend to preempt their state law claims against the

City of Chicago for damages.

6. Defendant City of Chicago contends that as a mat-

ter of federal law Congress, in the passage of federal avi-

ation legislation, did intend to preempt state law claims.

Defendant City of Chicago justifies its injurious conduct

and its refusal to compensate victims on the basis of

the arbitrary and irrational discrimination between the

application of the federal law of preemption as applied to

Chicago, and the application of the identical federal law of

preemption to Atlanta and Los Angeles.

7. By virtue of the foregoing, an actual contro-

versy exists between the Plaintiffs and Defendant City of

Chicago.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similar situ-

ated prays that this Court grant the following relief in his

favor and against Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO:

A. a declaration that as a matter of federal law Con-

gress, in the passage of federal aviation legislation,

did not preempt state law actions against airport

proprietors.

B. such other relief as this Court deems appropriate.

A-80

COUNT VIII

Violation Of Procedural Due Process

. NOW COMES Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similarly

situated, by his attorneys, and complaining of Defendant

CITY OF CHICAGO, alleges as follows:

1-17. Plaintiffs adopt and reallege the allegations of

paragraphs 1 to 17 inclusive of Count I as and for the

allegations of paragraphs 1 to 17 of Count VIII.

18. Defendant City of Chicago owns, controls, oper-

ates and is proprietor of O’Hare International Airport,

which is situated in both Cook County and DuPage County,

Illinois.

19. Plaintiffs, and and each of them, own, use, and

reside in residential real property under or adjacent to the

paths of aircraft approaching, departing, or circling O’Hare

International Airport.

20. On information and belief, Defendant City of

Chicago, without notice or payment of compensation to

Plaintiffs, claims to have taken for itself property rights

in tens of thousands of parcels of residential real property

owned, used and resided in by Plaintiffs. On information

and belief, Defendant City of Chicago also claims that it

need not pay any compensation for any of the property in-

terests it claims to have taken.

21. Pursuant to the statutory provisions of the State

of Illinois that govern O’Hare International Airport,

Ill.Rev.Stat., ch. 24, Sections 11-102-1, et seg., the City of

Chicago cannot acquire a legal interest in Plaintiffs’ prop-

erty without first giving notice, holding a hearing and dis-

closing its plan.

22. Defendant City of Chicago has never given Plain-

tiffs any notice of Defendant’s plan to acquire a legal in-

terest in Plaintiffs’ property.

A-81

23. Defendant City of Chicago has never held a hear-

ing on Defendant’s plan to acquire a legal interest in Plain-

tiffs’ property.

24. Defendant City of Chicago has never publicly dis-

closed its plan to acquire a legal interest in Plaintiffs’ prop-

erty.

25. Defendant City of Chicago’s failure to give notice,

hold a hearing and publicly disclose its plan to acquire an

interest in the tens of thousands of parcels of residential

real property owned, used and resided in by Plaintiffs vio-

lates Plaintiffs’ right to procedural due process guaranteed

by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN,

on his own behalf and on behalf of all persons similar situ-

ated prays that this Court grant the following relief in his

favor and against Defendant CITY OF CHICAGO:

A. a declaration that Defendant City of Chicago has

violated Plaintiffs’ rights to procedural due process

guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution.

B. a declaration that any acquisition of any legal in-

terest in Plaintiffs’ real property claimed to have

been made by the City of Chicago is null, void and

of no force and effect by reason of Defendant City

of Chicago’s violation of Plaintiffs’ procedura! due

process rights.

C. an injunction enjoining and restraining Defendant

City of Chicago from acquiring any legal interest

in any of the residential real property owned, used

or resided in by Plaintiffs, unless and until Defen-

dant City of Chicago gives all Plaintiffs notice, and

holds a public hearing at which Defendant City of

Chicago makes full disclosure of its plan.

A-82

D. such further relief as this Court deems appropri-

ate.

PLAINTIFFS DEMAND TRIAL BY JURY.

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, on

\ his own behalf and on behalf

of all persons similarly situated,

Plaintiffs

By /s/ JOSEPH KARAGANIS

One of his attorneys

JOSEPH V. KARAGANIS

A. BRUCE WHITE

KATHLEEN M. DONAHUE

ELLEN LoIs ZISOOK

Three First National Plaza

Suite 3200

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 372-1121

A-83

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that on April 18,

1986, copies of Plaintiffs’ FIRST AMENDED COM-

PLAINT in Bieneman, et al. v. City of Chicago, et al., Case

No. 84 C 10388, were served upon the following persons,

by personal delivery:

MICHAEL M. CONWAY Mr. CALVIN SAWYIER

MR. JEREMIAH MARSH WINSTON & STRAWN

Mr. MICHAEL SCHNEIDERMAN One First National Plaza

Mr. ALBER C. MAULE Suite 500

MR. WILLIAM J. MCKENNA Chicago, Illinois 60606

Mr. JAMES D. OsSYRA

Hopkins & SUTTER Mr. MARL E. JONES

Three First National Plaza Mr. MITCHELL WARE

Suite 4100 Mr. FRANK M. GRENARD

180 North LaSalle Street

Suite 801

Chicago, Illinois 60606

/s/ JOSEPH KARAGANIS

JOSEPH V. KARAGANIS

A. BRUCE WHITE

KATHLEEN M. DONAHUE

ELLEN LcIs ZISOOK

Three First National Plaza

Suite 3200

Chicago, Illinois 60602

A-84

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

Minute Order Form

BIENEMAN |

Date: March 19, 1986

v. > No. 84 C 10388

Judge Duff

THE CITY OF CHICAGO

MOTION:

Plaintiff’s motion to reconsider.

DOCKET ENTRY:

For further detail see order on the reverse of the original

minute order form.

Docketing to mail notices.

Date received in central Clerk’s Office: March 20, 1986

Docketed: March 20, 1986

Document # 60

A-85

(Reserved for use by the Court)

ORDER

Plaintiff’s motion to reconsider Judge Decker’s order of

October 3, 1985, dismissing Counts I and II and ordering a

more definite statement as to Count III, is denied. Because

the legal and factual issues in this case are, by agreement

of the parties, essentially identical to those in Biddeson

[sic] v. City of Chicago, No. 85 C 10295, which has been

consolidated with this case, Judge Decker’s October 3, 1985

order shall apply equa'tly in that case. Accordingly, the

court strikes Counts / and II and orders a more definite

statement of Count JII in Biddison v. City of Chicago.

Plaintiffs in both cases are given until April 18, 1986

to amend their pleadings or file additional particulars.

Defendants are given until May 19, 1986 to answer.

A status hearing is set for 9:30 am on June 3, 1986.

/s/ BRIAN BARNETT DUFF

Brian Barnett Duff

A-86

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

Minute Order Form

+

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN

Date: 23 Oct 85

Vv. Case Number 84 C 10388

Judge Decker

THE CITY OF CHICAGO et al

J

DOCKET ENTRY:

Memorandum opinion and order.

Defendants’ motions to dismiss Ct I and II of the com-

plaint are granted. The City’s motion to dismiss Ct III

is denied. The Court grants the City’s motion for a more

definite statement.

Courtroom deputy’s initials: MEU

Date received in central Clerk’s Office: October 28, 1985

Date Docketed: October 28, 1985

Document # 29

A-87

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

LAWRENCE C. BIENEMAN, )

Plaintiff,

v8. > No. 84 C 10388

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, et

al.,

Defendants.

a

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff, Lawrence Bieneman (Bieneman), owns real

property near O’Hare Airport (O’Hare). He claims the

noise, vibration and pollution incident to the operation

of O’Hare violate his constitutional rights. Therefore, he

brought this class action 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 against the

City of Chicago (the “City”), certain city officials, and var-

ious airlines (the “Airlines”). First, plaintiff alleges that,

by its operation of O’Hare, the City intentionally deprived

him of his Fourteenth Amendment rights (Count I). Next,

plaintiff claims the Airlines conspired together and with

the City to operate O’Hare in a manner violative of those

rights (Count II). Finally, plaintiff alleges the City’s oper-

ation of O’Hare constitutes a taking of his property without

compensation in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment

(Count III). Plaintiff seeks damages and injunctive relief.

The City moves to dismiss Count I for failure to state

a claim.! It also seeks dismissal of Count III for failure

to join a necessary and indispensable party under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 12(b)(7) and 19(b), or in the alternative, for a more

Adefinite statement of Count III. The Airlines move to

lin considering a motion to dismiss, the court must “take

[plaintiff’s] allegations to be true, and view them, together with

(Footnote continued on the following page)

A-88

dismiss Count for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and

failure to state a claim.

I. Discussion

1. Count I

Plaintiff complains that the City’s operation of O’Hare

results in a high volume of noise, vibration and air pollu-

tion harming residents of the surrounding community and

their property. This may be, but plaintiff must identify

a Fourteenth Amendment liberty or property interest vio-

lated by such activities to state a cause of action under

Section 1983. Jackson v. Byrne, 738 F. 2d 1443, 1445-1446

(7th Cir. 1984).It is well settled that liberty and property

interests arise from state law and the Due Process Clause

itself. Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460, 466 (1983).

Plaintiff rightly admits there is no constitutional right

to protection from general environmental harma. Plaintiff

argues, however, that this case “should be treated ... [as

one] involving official policies that result in the intentional

beating of citizens with fists and clubs.” Plaintiff’s Mem-

orandum at 18. In essence, plaintiff alleges the noise,

vibration and pollution at O’Hare constitute an assault

and battery. Plaintiff, however, cites no case adopting his

novel theory.” The court finds plaintiff’s analogy between

1 (Continued)

reasonable inferences to be drawn therefrom, in the light most

favorable to the plaintiff. Powe v. City of Chicago, 664 F.2d 639,

642 (7th Cir. 1981). Dismissal for failure to state a ciaim is

proper only if “it appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff can

prove no set of facts in support of his claim which would entitle

him to relief.” Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957).

2 Plaintiff contends that the factually similar case of Virginians

for Dulles v. Volpe, 344 F. Supp. 573 (E.D. Va. 1972) affd in

part, rev'd in part on other grounds, 541 F.2d 442 (4th Cir. 1976),

recognized such a claim. The court disagrees. In Virginians for

Dulles, the court characterized the plaintiffs’ due process claim

(Footnote continued on the following page)

A-8S

fists and clubs and airplane noise wholly inappropriate.

Plaintiff’s claim in better analogized to common law nui-

sance and the Seventh Circuit has expressly held that such

tort rights “are not property rights under the Fourteenth

Amendment.” Brown v. Brienen, 722 F. 2d 360, 364 (7th

Cir. 1983). Plaintiff’s analogy also stretches the scope of

the Fourteenth Amendment and Section 1983 beyond plau-

sible limits. If noise from a lawfully operated airport is

actionable under Section 1983, so too are other normal

government operations, i.e., bus and train systems, con-

struction projects. Neither the Fourteenth Amendment nor

Section 1983 was intended to mandate such a result. Cf.

Jackson v. City of Joliet, 715 F. 2d 1200, 1205 (7th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 1325 (1984). Because plain-

tiff does not sufficiently allege violation of his Fourteenth

Amendment rights, Count I cannot survive.

2. Count II

Count II alleges a conspiracy among the Airlines and

the City. Plaintiff’s Fourteenth Amendment claim is based

on the same faulty analogy rejected above.It is axiomatic

that there can be no conspiracy to do that which is legal.

Therefore, because plaintiff does not sufficiently allege vio-

lation of his Fourteenth Amendment rights, his conspiracy

claim lacks an essential element and must be dismissed.°

2 (Continued)

as one based on nuisance. The court, in dicta, entertained the

relevance of specific personal injury. Plaintiff interprets this to

mean that a due process claim can be based on personal injury

caused by airplane noise. The court’s discussion, however, occurs

in the context of its consideration of the nuisance claim and is

relevant only thereto. The Fourth Circuit so interpreted the

court’s ruling on appeal. Virginians for Dulles, 541 F.2d 442,

443-444 (4th Cir. 1976).

3 The court also notes that, even if properly pleaded, no such

cause of action may be asserted against the Airline defendants.

(Footnote continued on the following page)

A-90

3. Count III

A. Motion to Dismiss

It is undisputed that plaintiff pleads a valid cause

of action for the alleged taking of his property without

compensation. Griggs v. Allegheny County, 369 U.S. 84,

88 (1962). The issue raised by defendant’s motion is

whether the United States must be joined as a party to

this action. In Griggs, the Supreme Court held that the

airport “promoter, owner and lessor” (the “proprietor”) was

liable for taking an air easement. Plaintiff argues that

the City is the sole proprietor of O’Hare and the only nec-

essary party to this action. The City contends, however,

that by its independent control over certain land and oper-

ations at O’Hare, the United States is co-proprietor and as

such must be joined in this action. Defendant’s [sic] rightly

point out that the court has no jurisdiction over the United

States in this case because the United States can only be

sued for inverse condemnation in the United States Claims

Court where, as here, the claim exceeds ten thousand dol-

lars. 28 U.S.C. Sections 1346(a), 1491. Therefore, if the

United States is a necessary party, the court must deter-

mine whether this action should, in equity and good con-

science, proceed without the United States. Fed. R. Civ. P.

19(b).

The court must decide whether the United States is a

proprietor of O’Hare. Criteria relevant to this determina-

tion are ownership, operation, promotion and the ability

to acquire necessary easements. San Diego Unified Port

District v. Gianturco, 651 F. 2d 1306, 1317 (9th Cir. 1981),

cert. den., 455 U.S. 1000 (1982).

The United States originally selected the site and

owned t' e land on which O’Hare is now situated. Through

3 (Continued)

The Seventh Circuit so held in Luedtke v. County of Milwaukee,

521 F.2d 387, 389 (7th Cir. 1975).

A-91

a series of conveyances, it has transferred most of that land

to the City. The United States retained a variety of con-

trols over the land and operations at O’Hare as a condition

of these conveyances. In particular, the City was obligated

to, 1) use the land for airport purposes; 2) deny an exclu-

sive right of use to any third party; 3) maintain the land

and improvements in good condition; and 4) prevent the

development of navigation hazards. In deeds executed in

1946 and 1972, the United States retained reversionary

rights which vest if these conditions are not satisfied. See

Exhibits “B-1,” “B-7,” and “B-8” to Defendant’s Memoran-

dum. Furthermore, the United States has title to a small

portion of the land at O’Hare which it uses independently

for maintenance and operation of its military aircraft.

Considering these and defendant’s other arguments,

the court is not convinced that the United States is a pro-

prietor of O’Hare. The conditions set out in the deeds cited

above implicitly assume that the City operates O’Hare.

These conditions can be satisfied only by O’Hare’s opera-

tor. The reversions constitute a remote interest in certain

land at O’Hare, but do not evidence any active operation

thereof.*

The United States’ flights out of O’Hare constitute less

than one percent of the airport’s total flights. See Exhibit

“4” to Plaintiff's Memorandum. Furthermore, the United

States’ independent operations at O’Hare are not at issue

in this case. Plaintiff’s complaint attacks only the City’s

operations at O’Hare. The City has no control over the

United States’ operations and therefore cannot be respon-

sible for an easement created thereby.

4 The reversions may vest only upon violation of the aforemen-

tioned conditions. These conditions, however, are not impli-

cated in this action. Therefore, there is little likelihood that the

United States’ interest in O’Hare will become more immediate

and important as a result of this litigation.

A-92

The court is also mindful that in numerous documents,

including O’Hare’s operating license and a City ordinance

authorizing revenue bonds for O’Hare construction, the

City is listed as the sole operator of O’Hare. See Exhibits

“2F,” and “3” to Plaintiff’s Memorandum. These and other

documents indicate that the United States plays no active

role in the proprietary operation of O’Hare. See generally

Exhibits to Plaintiff’s Memorandum. In sum, the court

finds that the City is the sole proprietor of O’Hare and the

only necessary party to this action. Accord Illinois ex rel.

Scott v. Butterfield, 396 F. Supp. 632, 645 (N.D. Ill. 1975).

Alternatively, the court is convinced that even if the

United States is a necessary party, equity and good con-

science dictate that this action proceed without it. The

factors considered by the court in this regard include, 1)

the extent to which a judgment rendered in the absence

of the United States might prejudice the United States or

the City; 2) the extent to which that prejudice can be min-

imized by shaping the appropriate relief; 3) whether the

relief so shaped is adequate; and 4) whether plaintiff has

another available forum. Fed. R. Civ. P. 19(b).

Of greatest import is the lack of another available

forum. Defendant admits that it cannot be joined by plain-

tiff as a matter of right in the United States Claims Court.

Further, because the United States operates relatively few

flights out of O’Hare, the court is confident that adequate

relief can be fashioned in its absence and the practical like-

lihood of multiple proceedings is low. In addition, there is

little possibility that proceeding will prejudice the City or

the United States. Any such prejudice is outweighed by

the aforementioned countervailing factors.

B. Motion for More Definite Statement

The court finds merit in defendant’s motion for a more

definite statement of the time at which the alleged tak-

ing occurred. Under plaintiff’s theory of liability, at some

point in time, the operations at O’Hare so burdened his

A-93

property as to constitute a partial taking thereof. For

plaintiff to recover compensation from the City for this

easement, he must show that he held title to the property

at the time the easement was created. Therefore, plaintiff

must allege in his complaint the time he took title to the

property and the approximate time the easement was cre-

ated. See Branning v. United States, 654 F. 2d 88, 102-103

(Ct. Cl. 1981).

II. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, defendants’ motions to dis-

miss Counts I and II of the complaint are granted. The

City’s motion to dismiss Count III is denied. The court

grants the City’s motion for a more definite statement.

ENTER:

/s/ BERNARD M. DECKER

United States District Judge

DATED: October 23, 1985

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Appendixmm — Bieneman v. Chicago · 490 U.S. 1080 | Frix