Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Larrance v. Illinois Human Rights Commission

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

88 - 113 ie Supreme Court, U.S

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

@ctober Germ, 15988

CHARLES LARRANCE,

Petitioner,

v.

THE ILLINOIS HUMAN RIGHTS

COMMISSION, et al.

Respondents,

\

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

J. TImMoTHY EATON

COUNSEL OF RECORD

CoFFIELD UNGARETTI Harris & SLAVIN

3500 Three First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 977-4400

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

American Reprographics Management, Inc.™ (312) 332-ARMI (800-999-6239)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does active interference by a state agency with a

complainant’s pursuit of the proper procedure for

litigating his administrative claim deprive the com-

plainant of due process when that interference abrogates

the complainant’s action by causing the jurisdictional

time limit for bringing the action to lapse?

Does due process require the nonretroactive application

of a new judicial interpretation of a jurisdictional time

limit where nonretroactive application would render the

complainant’s action timely despite the agency’s

interference?

LIST OF PARTIES

Charles Larrance, Petitioner

The Illinois Human Rights Commission, as successor to the

Illinois Fair Employment Practices Commission, Respondent

The Illinois Department of Human Rights, as successor to the

Illinois Fair Employment Practices Commission, Respondent*!

Macon County Farm Bureau, Respondent

Country Casualty Insurance Company, Respondent

Country Insurance Company, Respondent

Country Mutual Insurance Company, Respondent

Country Life Insurance Company, Respondent

Country Capital Management Company, Respondent

1 * The Illinois Human Rights Commission and the Illinois Department

of Human Rights are collectively referred to as the FEPC throughout

this Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Ee oo rciebebaW hs esse ssa dWiseeceseesoeesen

NE eee ere ee errs

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PE MUTE TED ov co vnccsesesccesccscccceccccces

RPUR UII GF DOMES AMIENS os csc csv esccccssacsccsccesse

A. The Proceedings at the FEPC Through the

Issuance of the Administrative Law Judge’s

Recommended Order and Decision .................

B. The FEPC’s Review of the Recommended

rs cae nweneékdeeences

C. The FEPC’s Proceedings in Connection with

the Administrative Law Judge’s Supplemental

ec cee db sce swear cteceneaccess

D. Disposition of Petitioner’s Complaint for Admi-

nistrative Review in the Appellate Court ...........

E. Disposition of Petitioner’s Request for Leave

to Appeal to the Illinois Supreme Court ............

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE FEPC’S ACTIVE INTERFERENCE WITH

THE PETITIONER’S PURSUIT OF HIS ADMIN-

ISTRATIVE CLAIM, RESULTING IN THE DIS-

MISSAL OF HIS CLAIM, DEPRIVED PETI-

TIONER OF DUE PROCESS OF THE LAW..........

A. Petitioner had a Constitutionally Protected

Property Interest in Pursuing his Employment

Discrimination Claim via the FEPC’s Adjud-

re aca ehwatdienseaeseeees

iv

Page

B. The Dismissal of Petitioner’s Action Through

No Fault of His Own Violated Due Process

Because it Deprived the Petitioner of a “For

Cause” Determination on the Merits of His

Ill. THE FEPC AND THE ILLINOIS COURTS

ERRONEOUSLY APPLIED THE ROTHBARDT

DECISION RETROACTIVELY TO PETITIONER’S

CASE TO PERMIT AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL

AND INEQUITABLE RESULT ..................... 18

CIE 35k nd deeeessbawanesccuatevedddaensaessseas 22

SPE Shae adcdvcanccsniduanecnncubeepasdceuaens la-36a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Adams v. Jewel Companies, Inc., 63 Ill. 2d 336, 348

I oe se a rh eenen teen nmaeaaeee 21

Barry v. Barachi, 443 U.S. 55 (1979) ........ccccccccccceces 15

Bek wu. Daren, GOB UE. GEG GGT) 2 onc cvcvcnanscccsapessens 14

Board of Governors v. Rothbardt, 98 Ill. App. 3d 423, 424

ee Pe I EE 6 ci 5 5 on kee kb ened deceAeuandanes 8

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) ............... 12

Chevron Oil Company v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) ......... 19

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) ................04.. 12, 14

Goat O, LAO GAP UE PRD 6 kaw seck ne ddasnvencsresass 12

Illinois Consolidated Telephone Co. v. Illinois Commerce

Commission, 95 Ill. 2d 142, 447 N.E.2d 295 (1983) ......... 21

Johnson v. Marshall Field & Co., 57 Ul. 2d 272, 312 N.E.2d

SD Ge «x vind nas ne kc wade ae aed eee seer eaeotiawes 21

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Company, 455 U.S. 422

PRPS Re pet aerate went se rer yer punrd ere OU mae ley renege ree 8

Lott v. Governors State University, 106 Ill. App. 3d 851, 436

Pe er iccc i cadsepyrcunds<oncceuses 8

Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division v. Craft, 436

SR REET cc. ah inane suweunodes eeeenaca dca ehebekaewens 12

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.

I ook dos ocd dn auees ead OeeEAReeKneeesibarease 14

Paratt v. Zastor, 461 U.S. G27 (1961) .. 0. ccc cccccvevcces 16

Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972) .............00005- 12

Rothbardt and Northeastern Illinois University,

4 Il. F.E.P. Rep. 8 (F.E.P.C. January 12, 1977) ............. 7

Zimmerman Brush Co. v. The Fair Employment

Practices Commission, 82 Il.2d 99, 411 N.E.2d 277

(1980); rev'd Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co.,

ee iis so he Ng ckae oan ae eeueetaeee 6

CONSTITUTIONS:

United States Constitution:

IS icc cw acncceceséesececsuneece 2

Illinois Constitution:

Ee ie sak bee caeevassebebakea bb ewunne 3

STATUTES:

Illinois Fair Employment Practices Act, Il. Rev. Stat. Ch.

48 §851 et. seg. (1979) (repealed and reenacted as the Illinois

Human Rights Act, Il. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §1-101 et seq. effective

SDE ee i les talus bn owaweweweeens skawees 3

RULES AND REGULATIONS:

Rules and Regulations of the Fair Employment

Practices Commission, Articles III, IV, X, XII,

and XIV (effective November 17, 1975, as amended,

effective March 9, 1978, August 7, 1978, September 1, 1978,

SE Ae EE COED sc ncccsacarneeessdeaeeansee la-7a

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

@rctober Germ, 1988

CHARLES LARRANCE,

Petitioner,

THE ILLINOIS HUMAN RIGHTS

COMMISSION, et al.

Respondents,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE ILLINOIS

SUPREME COURT

Petitioner, Charles Larrance, (“Petitioner”) respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the Illinois Supreme

Court order that denied Petitioner leave to appeal from an order

of the Illinois Appellate Court for the Fourth District. The Fourth

District order affirmed the judgment of the Fair Employment

Practices Commission (“FEPC”’) dismissing the Petitioner’s claim

under the Illinois Fair Employment Practices Act, Ill. Rev. Stat.

ch. 48, §851 et seq. (1979) (““FEPA”) on jurisdictional grounds.

The order of the Illinois Supreme Court was entered in this case

on October 6, 1988.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

On February 20, 1987, the Fair Employment Practices

Commission(“FEPC”) issued an order dismissing Petitioner’s

FEPA action on jurisdictional grounds. On March 1, 1988 the

Illinois Appellate Court for the Fourth District issued an order

affirming the February 20, 1987 order of the FEPC denying

Petitioner’s claim. On March 25, 1988, the Illinois Appellate Court

for the Fourth District denied Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing

of its March 1, 1988 order. On October 6, 1988, the Illinois Supreme

Court issued an order denying Petitioner leave to appeal from

the appellate court order of March 1, 1988. Copies of the indicated

orders are contained in the Appendix attached hereto.

JURISDICTION

On March 1, 1988 the Illinois Appellate Court for the Fourth

District issued an order affirming the February 20, 1987 order

of the FEPC denying Petitioner’s claim. On October 6, 1988, the

Illinois Supreme Court issued an order denying Petitioner leave

to appeal from the appellate court order of March 1, 1988.

This Petition for Certiorari is timely filed pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §2101(c), being within ninety days of the entry of the

Illinois Supreme Court’s October 6, 1988 order.

The jurisdiction of this Court is sought pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part:

No State shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State deprive any person

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

3

Article 1, §19 of the Illinois Constitution provides in pertinent

part:

All persons with a physical or mental handicap...

shall be free from discrimination, unrelating to ability

in the hiring and promotion practices of any employer.

The Illinois Fair Employment Practices Act, Ill. Rev. Stat.

ch 48, §851 et seq (1979) (repealed by and reenacted as the L1linois

Human Rights Act, Il. Rev. Stat. ch. 68, §1-101 et seq., effective

July 1, 1980), is set out in the Appendix hereto.

Pertinent sections of the rules and regulations of the FEPC

are also set forth in the Appendix hereto.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Proceedings at the FEPC Through the

Issuance of the Administrative Law

Judge’s Recommended Order and

Decision.

In August of 1976, while serving as agency manager for

Respondent Macon County Country Companies Agency, Peti-

tioner suffered a heart attack. He returned to work full-time in

the Spring of 1977. In the spring of 1979, he was informed by

several of the board members of the Macon County Farm Bureau

who by written agreement with the Petitioner's employer could

make recommendations regarding Petitioner’s employment, that

he was not performing up to his pre-heart attack ability.

On April 27, 1979, Respondents! notified Petitioner that his

employment with Respondents would be terminated effective at

the close of business on May 31, 1979, but gave him no reason

for the termination. On May 31, 1979, Respondents did, in fact,

terminate the Petitioner. On July 9, 1979, approximately one

month following his termination, Petitioner went to the FEPC

1 For purposes of the STATEMENT OF THE CASE, the designation

“Respondents” refers to Petitioner's employers, Macon County Farm

Bureau, Country Casualty Insurance Company, Country Insurance

Company, Country Mutual Insurance Company, Country Life Insurance

Company, and Country Capital Management Company.

4

to file a charge of employment discrimination against Respon-

dents. He was unrepresented by counsel at the time and remained

unrepresented with respect to his FEPA claim until after

November 15, 1979.

At the FEPC Petitioner met with FEPC representative

George Crawford, told him of his desire to file a charge, and

filled out a form and made handwritten notes detailing the basis

for his charge against Respondents. Mr. Crawford kept the form

and the handwritten notes, but refused to file the charge at that

time. Instead, he advised Petitioner that he had to review the

facts of Petitioner’s case to determine whether the charge was

meritorious before any charge could be filed. Mr. Crawford

testified later that he advised Petitioner that, under then existing

FEPC rules, the FEPC had 180 days from the Petitioner’s last

day of work in which to file the charge, if the charge was

meritorious, and that the FEPC would, in fact, prepare a formal

charge for Petitioner’s signature in that event.

Mr. Crawford’s representations on July 9, 1979 about

Petitioner’s right to file his charge resulted in a wrongful refusal

to file the charge on that date. The FEPA and the FEPC's official

rules and regulations actually provided that Petitioner, himself,

had the right to file his charge at any time within 180 days

after the occurrence of an alleged unfair employment practice,

unconditioned by any prior FEPC investigation to determine the

merits of the charge. App., pp. la & 2a.2 Furthermore, the FEPC

was required to consider a charge filed when it received from

a complainant a written statement sufficiently precise to identify

the parties and to describe generally the allegedly wrongful action

or practice. App., pp. la & 5a.

After the receipt of such a written statement, FEPA and

the FEPC’s rules and regulations bound the FEPC to serve the

charge upon the Respondents within ten days and to initiate

an investigation to ascertain the facts relating to the unfair

employment practices alleged in the charge. App., pp. la & 5a.

Upon the completion of the investigation, the FEPC was bound

2 Citations to materials in the separate appendix accompanying this

petition will be denoted “App” followed by a page cite.

5

to issue a formal complaint if it found that there was substantial

evidence to support the charge and to dismiss the charge if it

found a lack of substantial evidence. App., pp. 2a, 5a & 6a:

In refusing to file Petitioner’s charge pursuant to the then

governing FEPC rules, Mr. Crawford testified that he relied upon

an established informal procedure or practice entitled “The Rapid

Charge Processing System.” App., p. 8a. In direct contravention

of FEPA and the FEPC’s official rules and regulations, the

established informal procedure or practice allowed intake

representatives the discretion to refuse to file a charge if the

representative entertained any doubt that the complainant’s

problem was the result of a prohibited practice within the

jurisdiction of the FEPC.

In Petitioner’s case, Mr. Crawford testified that he elected

not to accept the charge for filing until he could make a

preliminary determination whether Petitioner’s problem was the

result of a prohibited practice. Likewise, he failed to serve

Petitioner’s charge upon Respondents within the prescribed ten

days. Instead, he initiated an investigation pursuant to the

established informal practice or procedure; made an informal

determination that Petitioner’s case was meritorious; and filed

a formal charge signed by Petitioner on November 15, 1979, a

date within 180 days of Petitioner’s last day of employment but

not within 180 days of the termination letter. On November 16,

6

1979, he assigned the charge to the FEPC’s Springfield office

for investigation.3

During the interval between the FEPC’s wrongful refusal

to file Petitioner’s charge in July of 1979, and its filing of a formal

charge in November of 1979, Petitioner kept in contact with the

FEPC. Never during that period did the FEPC permit Petitioner

to file his charge himself. On the contrary, each time he spoke

to FEPC representatives, the Petitioner was told that no decision

had been reached concerning whether his charge would be

allowed. Finally, on October 31, 1979, FEPC representatives

contacted Petitioner to inform him that the FEPC would permit

the charge, and on November 15, 1979, they allowed him to sign

the formal charge that they had prepared.

Although the FEPC did not file a charge until November

15, 1979, Respondents had notice of the Petitioner’s FEPA

proceedings against them well before that time. In early October

of 1979 Petitioner retained counsel for a purpose other than

representation regarding the FEPA claim, who, on October 4,

informed Respondents of the proceeding. Furthermore, FEPC

investigators maintained numerous contacts with the Respond-

ents prior to October 31, during the period that they conducted

their preliminary investigation.

$ On or about July 1, 1980, prior to the termination of the proceedings

concerning Petitioner’s charge, the FEPC merged into the [linois

Human Rights Commission and the Illinois Human Rights Department,

two separate administrative agencies created by the Illinois Human

Rights Act, Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 68 §1-101 et seq., effective July 1, 1980.

Pursuant to this Act, the Ilinois Human Rights Department handles

a complainant’s grievance from the initial filing of a charge through

the issuance of a formal complaint. The Illinois Human Rights

Commission processes complaints through the termination of the

litigation in any particular case. The Illinois Supreme Court has

determined that the Illinois Human Rights Act does not have retroactive

application. See Zimmerman Brush Co. v. Fair Employment Practices

Commission, 82 Ill. 2d 99, 108-109, 411 N.E. 2d 277, 282 - 283 (1980)

Accordingly, the FEPA and the rules and regulations of the FEPC in

effect at the time that Petitioner attempted to file his charge governed

the handling of his charge. For the sake of clarity, the entity handling

Petitioner’s charge following July 1, 1980 will be referred to throughout

this Petition as the FEPC.

7

Following November 15, 1979, the FEPC undertook a formal

investigation pursuant to FEPA and the FEPC’s official rules

and regulations to determine whether there was substantial

evidence to support Petitioner’s charge. This formal investigation

ultimately resulted in the FEPC's finding of substantial evidence

to support the charge on February 6, 1981.

Shortly thereafter, on April 3, 1981, the FEPC prepared a

formal written complaint pursuant to the FEPA and the FEPC’s

official rules and regulations and served the same on

Respondents.

Respondents moved to dismiss the Complaint in June of

1981 on the ground, inter alia, that Petitioner’s charge had not

been filed within 180 days of the date that the alleged unfair

employment practice had been committed. Specifically, Respon-

dents maintained that the 180 days should have been computed

from the date Petitioner was notified of his termination rather

than from the last day of his employment. Since the FEPC did

not file Petitioner’s charge until November 15, 1979, while notice

of termination was given on April 30, 1979, Respondents argued

that Petitioner’s charge was untimely.

In its order of June 18, 1981, the FEPC rejected Respondents’

argument, affirming its rule, announced in Rothbardt and

Northeastern Illinois University, 4 Ill. F.E.P. Rep. 8 (F.E.P.C.

January 12, 1977), that the filing of a charge begins to run from

the date termination of employment takes effect, rather than

from the time notice of termination is given. App., p. 14a. At

that time, the agency’s interpretation of the 180 day time filing

requirement was the only interpretation that existed.

Thereafter, Petitioner’s claim proceeded to a preliminary

hearing on the merits on September 16 and 17, 1981, October

19, 20 and 21, 1981, and December 17 and 18, 1981. On September

9, 1982, the administrative law judge entered a Recommended

Order and Decision in favor of Petitioner.

B. The FEPC’s Review of the Recommended

Order and Decision.

The administrative law judge’s Recommended Order and

Decision did not constitute a final determination on the merits.

8

The FEPA and the FEPC’s official rules and regulations required

the FEPC to review each recommended order, together with the

record of proceedings, prior to the issuance of a final order and

decision in any matter. App., p. 7a. Only the FEPC's decision

was final.

On October 27, 1982, in connection with the review proceed-

ings, Respondents filed exceptions to the administrative law

judge’s Recommended Order and Decision, raising among other

issues the effect of an Llinois appellate court decision, Board

of Governors v. Rothbardt, 98 Ill. App.3d 423, 424 N.E.2d 842

(4th Dist. 1981), on the disposition of the case. In that decision,

announced on July 17, 1981, the appellate court for the fourth

district announced that a timely charge was one which was filed

within 180 days of notice of the act of discrimination, regardless

of the date of actual termination.

The appellate court acknowledged that in so ruling, it was

ruling upon a question of first impression in [linois. Because

the time filing requirement was deemed to be jurisdictional,

Respondents urged the FEPC that the Rothbardt decision

deprived it of further jurisdiction to entertain Petitioner’s action

and required the FEPC to dismiss the case.

In its order dated January 7, 1983, the FEPC held that the

Rothbardt decision was not determinative concerning whether

the FEPC lacked jurisdiction to entertain the Petitioner's action

because of the recent first district appellate court decision in Lott

v. Governors State University, 106 Ill. App.3d 851, 486 N.E.2d

569 (1st Dist. 1982).

In Lott, the first district had held that the Illinois Human

Rights Commission’s administrative delay in filing a complaint

on a petitioner’s behalf, resulting in the lapsing of the 180 day

jurisdictional time period for filing the same, could not deprive

him of his cause of action. Relying on this Court’s decision in

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422 (1982), which also

involved the lapsing of a mandatory jurisdictional time period

because of administrative delay, the court in Lott had held that

such a result would deprive a complainant of equal protection

and due process of the law.

9

It is unquestionable that Petitioner’s charge would have been

timely filed if the FEPC had not improperly refused to allow

Petitioner to file his charge in July of 1979 when he attempted

to persuade the agency to accept it for filing. Accordingly, the

FEPC remanded the Petitioner’s case to the administrative law

judge to hear additional evidence on the facts and circumstances

surrounding the filing of Petitioner's charge.

C. The FEPC’s Proceedings in Connection

With the Administrative Law Judge’s

Supplemental Order and Decision.

On remand, the Petitioner argued, inter alia, that the new

interpretation of the 180 day charge filing requirement set forth

in Rothbardt should not be applied in his case because of the

due process principles announced in Logan. Petitioner argued

specifically that Logan forbade the abrogation of a complainant’s

cause of action because of a state agency’s failure to process

the same in accordance with a jurisdictional time limit, rather

than the fault of the Complaint and that the retroactive

application of Rothbardt had the effect of violating Petitioner’s

right to due process.

On November 12, 1985, after hearing the evidence on remand

and considering the briefing by the parties, the administrative

law judge issued a Supplemental Recommended Order and

Decision in which he found that the Rothbardt interpretation

of the 180 day time filing requirement applied retroactively to

Petitioner’s case. However, he further found that the agency’s

action preventing the timely filing of Petitioner’s charge

compelled the FEPC to permit the Petitioner’s case to proceed

to a final determination on the merits because of the due process

considerations set forth in Logan.

On review of the Supplemental Recommended Order and

Decision, the FEPC attacked the administrative law judge’s

position that agency conduct led to the failure to file a timely

charge. The FEPC acknowledged that the failure to file a charge

on a timely basis had been due to a practice of the FEPC.

Nonetheless, the FEPC concluded, without analysis, that the

Petitioner had no right to rely on the FEPC’S interpretation of

a timely charge and that, the agency’s practice of taking control

10

over the charge filing process could not, therefore, have deprived

the Petitioner of his due process rights. Rather, the FEPC held

that Petitioner’s case came within footnote seven of the Logan

decision which excepts from its ruling cases wherein the claimant

fails to comply with a reasonable procedural requirement or fails

to file a timely charge. Accordingly, the FEPC held that

Rothbardt deprived the FEPC of jurisdiction to proceed with

Petitioner’s action. App., p. 29a, 35a.

D. Disposition of Petitioner’s Complaint for

Administrative Review in the Appellate

Court.

Petitioner subsequently filed his Complaint for Administra-

tive Review in the appellate court for the fourth district of Illinois,

alleging, inter alia, that the FEPC had erred in construing Logan

to be inapplicable to cases in which a state agency practice

prevents a complainant from filing a timely charge.

Petitioner and Respondents fully briefed these issues before

the appellate court for the fourth district; and, on March 1, 1988,

the appellate court issued an order affirming the FEPC’s

dismissal of Petitioner’s action. In essence, the appellate court

held that since the 180 day jurisdictional time filing requirement

was a component of the right created and the 180 days ran from

the time Petitioner received his termination letter, Petitioner had

no cause of action. App., p. 15a, 21a. The appellate court

distinguished Logan merely on the basis that Logan did not

involve a claim that was untimely filed.

Subsequent to the appellate court's ruling, Petitioner filed

a Petition for Rehearing. The appellate court for the fourth district

denied that petition on March 25, 1988. App., p. 25a.

E. Disposition of Petitioner’s Request for

Leave to Appeal to the Illinois Supreme

Court.

Petitioner then prayed for leave to appeal to the [linois

Supreme Court on the ground, inter alia, that the appellate court

had misconstrued Logan as being inapplicable to Petitioner’s

case. On October 6, 1988, the Illinois Supreme Court denied the

Petitioner Leave to Appeal. App., p. 26a.

ee

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE FEPC’S ACTIVE INTERFERENCE WITH

THE PETITIONER’S PURSUIT OF HIS AD-

MINISTRATIVE CLAIM, RESULTING IN THE

DISMISSAL OF HIS CLAIM, DEPRIVED PETI-

TIONER OF DUE PROCESS OF THE LAW.

This Court should accept certiorari in this case because the

decision of the Illinois appellate court, affirming the dismissal

of Petitioner’s action, directly conflicts with the due process

principles announced by the Court in Logan v. Zimmerman Brush

Co., 455 U.S. 420 (1982).

In Logan the FEPC terminated Logan’s cause of action under

the FEPA because an agent of the FEPC failed to process Logan’s

claim within the framework prescribed by a statutorily mandated

jurisdictional time limit. A majority of this Court determined

that the termination deprived Mr. Logan of a constitutionally

protected property interest, the right to use the FEPA’s adjud-

icatory procedures to prosecute his FEPA claim, without due

process of law. Noting that under the FEPA’s statutory scheme,

a claim could not be terminated except for cause, the Court

determined that due process required both access to the FEPA’s

adjudicatory procedures and a hearing on the merits of

Petitioner’s claim before any decision dismissing the claim could

be made.

The circumstances of this case are virtually identical to those

involved in Logan. Agency practice permitted Petitioner’s cause

of action to lapse through no fault of his own. Therefore, Logan

compels the determination that the state’s termination of

Petitioner’s cause of action without a final adjudication on the

merits deprived the Petitioner of due process.

There are thousands of cases just like Petitioner’s in which

claimants were subjected to the FEPC’s unlawful “Rapid Charge

Processing System” only to learn that their claims had been

lost because the FEPC failed to act within the jurisdictional limit.

When Petitioner’s case was on appeal to the Illinois Supreme

Court, an amicus brief was filed in favor of Petitioner’s petition

for leave to appeal to that court by the Mandel Legal Aid Clinic

12

of the University of Chicago. In its amicus brief it stated to the

court that “approximately five thousand other complainants are

directly, adversely affected by the Fourth District’s decision

below.” App., 27a.

This Court should not permit the state courts to put their

imprimaturs of approval on unconstitutional acts and should

accept certiorari in this case to correct that result.

A. Petitioner had a Constitutionally Pro-

tected Property Interest in Pursuing his

Employment Discrimination Claim Via

the FEPC’s Adjudicatory Procedures.

This Court has traditionally looked to state law to determine

whether an interest is “property” within the meaning of the Due

Process Clause. Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division v. Craft,

436 U.S. 1 (1978). See, also, Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S.

564 (1972) and Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972).

Where an interest has been granted to an individual by the

state and “cause” is a requirement for its abrogation, then the

interest constitutes constitutionally protected property. Memphis

Light; Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975); Goldberg v. Kelly, 397

U.S. 254 (1970).

Article 1, §19 of the Illinois Constitution entitles all persons

with a physical or mental handicap unrelated to ability to the

right te be free from discrimination in the hiring and promotion

practices of any employer. This state-created right is the

foundation for Petitioner’s claim of employment discrimination.

During the period that it was in effect, FEPA was the

legislatively mandated means of vindicating this Constitutional

right, in fact, the exclusive means for doing so. Furthermore,

it established a comprehensive scheme for adjudicating claims

of discrimination which ensured that a claim could not be

terminated except for cause. In particular, the FEPA required

the FEPC to determine by investigation whether there was

substantial evidence supporting an individual’s charge. Then,

after an evidentiary hearing, the FEPC decided whether an unfair

employment practice had occurred. A charge could be dismissed

only if it was found to be unmeritorious or if either party defaulted.

I

13

App., p. 5a. Because Petitioner’s interest in pursuing his FEPA

claim has been granted to him by the state and cannot be removed

except for cause, it constitutes property protected by the Four-

teenth Amendment.

The importance of the interests protected by FEPA are

undeniably worthy of Constitutional protection. The Ilinois

legislature recognized that employment discrimination wastes

“the productive capacities of individuals ... [and] deprives a

portion of the population of the State of earnings necessary to

maintain a reasonable standard of living.” Victims of discrim-

ination may be found to “resort to public charity and the anger

bred by discriminatory treatment may cause conflicts and

controversies resulting in grave injury to the public safety, health

and welfare.” Ill. Rev. Stat. ch 48, §851 (1979).

Recently, this Court has confirmed that the right to use the

FEPA’s adjudicatory procedures is a protected property interest.

In Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 481 (1982),

the majority stated unambiguously,

The right to use the FEPA’s adjudicatory procedures

shares these characteristics [the characteristics of

property]. A claimant has more than an abstract desire

or interest in redressing his grievance; his right to

redress is guaranteed by the state, with the adequacy

of his claim assessed under what is, in essence a “for

cause” standard, based upon the substantiality of the

evidence. And an FEPA claim, which presumably can

be surrendered for value is at least as substantial as

the right to an education labeled as property in Goss

v. Lopez, supra. Certainly it would require a remarkable

reading of a “broad and majestic term” to conclude

that a horse trainer’s license is a protected property

interest under the Fourteenth Amendment, while a

state-created right to redress discrimination is not.

Accordingly, because Petitioner has an entitlement to be free

from discrimination guaranteed by the Illinois constitution,

because FEPA ensures a means of vindicating that right which

cannot be abrogated except for cause, and because the interests

underlying Petitioner’s entitlement are important societal

+ eaten

14

interests, Petitioner has a protected property interest in pursuing

his employment discrimination claim through use of the FEPA’s

adjudicatory procedures, under the governing precedents of this

Court, which cannot be denied him without due process of law.

B. The Dismissal of Petitioner’s Action

Through No Fault of His Own Violated

Due Process Because it Deprived the

Petitioner of a “For Cause” Determina-

tion on the Merits of His Claim.

The dismissal of Petitioner's employment discrimination

through no fault of his own, but, rather, through the misappli-

cation of an unlawful agency practice to Petitioner’s case violated

the Petitioner’s due process rights because it deprived the

Petitioner of a “for cause” determination on the merits of his

claim. Although the administrative law judge made a determi-

nation on the merits in Petitioner’s favor, that determination

was not final until the FEPC itself reviewed the merits. The

FEPC declined to conduct this review before dismissing Peti-

tioner’s action, thereby depriving him of a “for cause” determi-

nation. The decision of the Illinois appellate court for the fourth

district ratified this unconstitutional result by affirming the

dismissal of Petitioner’s action through the retroactive applica-

tion of Rothbardt.

The minimum guarantee of due process protection is the

opportunity to be heard before being deprived of a protected

interest in property or liberty. Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank

& Trust Co., 339 U.S. 371 (1971); and Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S.

254 (1970). Inherent in this idea is the concept that a protected

property interest cannot be abrogated except for cause. Thus a

decision based on the merits or on the conduct of one of the

parties is a traditional minimum requirement of due process. Bell

v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971). Assuredly, the exact timing of

the required hearing may vary as well as the degree of formality,

but in all cases a “for cause” determination on the merits is

necessary before a person can be deprived of a protected property

interest within the bounds of due process.

The need for a decision on the merits is especially acute

when the deprivation of an interest is permanent. For example,

mmm

+ Til eee aN dl

15

in Barry v. Barchi, 443 U.S. 55 (1979), the Court found that the

post-suspension hearing provided by the statute violated due

process because it was not held soon enough after the suspension

to avoid a de facto final deprivation.

In this case, Petitioner, like the Petitioners in each of the

cited authorities, was entitled to a final determination on the

merits of his claim before his cause of action could be dismissed

consistent with due process. Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co.,

455 U.S. 422 (1982). Although a post-deprivation hearing, such

as a suit for damages against state officials, may be sufficient

to protect a claimant’s due process rights in cases where a

deprivation of property occurs as a result of the unauthorized

random failure of a state agent to follow established state

procedures, Logan and subsequent decisions clearly demonstrate

that such a hearing would be insufficient in this case.

In Logan, this Court held that Logan’s employment discrim-

ination action could not be terminated because of agency

inadvertence in processing his claim within a 120 day statutorily

mandated jurisdictional time period for agency action on his

claim. Rather, Logan was entitled to a hearing on the merits

of his FEPA claim before it could be eliminated. In so holding,

the Court noted that its decisions had time and again emphasized

that the Due Process Clause grants aggrieved parties the

opportunity to present their cases and have the merits fairly

judged, making some kind of hearing prior to deprivation an

absolute necessity.

This Court acknowledged in Logan that the timing and

nature of the required hearing would depend upon the appropriate

accommodation of the competing interests involved, including

the importance of the private interest, the length or finality of

the deprivation, and the likelihood of government error.

Applying those principles, the Court observed that Logan’s

interests in retaining his employment, in disproving his employ-

er’s charges of incompetence or inability and in redressing an

instance of discrimination were all substantial. Further, the

deprivation was final because Logan, unlike a claimant whose

charge is dismissed on the merits for lack of evidence, could not

obtain judicial review of FEPC action. The Court held that a

16

system or procedure that deprives persons of their claims in a

random manner presents an unjustifiably high risk that meri-

torious claims will be terminated. Furthermore the state’s interest

in refusing Logan’s request to proceed with his claim was

insubstantial. The Court concluded that Logan was, therefore,

entitled to have the FEPC consider the merits of his charge based

upon the substantiality of the available evidence, before deciding

whether to terminate his claim.

The Court expressly distinguished Paratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S.

527 (1981) in reaching this result. In Paratt, a state employee

had negligently lost a prisoner’s hobby kit. The Court had

concluded, in that case, that the prisoner had suffered a

deprivation of property within the meaning of the Fourteenth

Amendment but that all the process that was due him was

provided by the state’s tort claims procedure.

In distinguishing Paratt, the Court observed that negligent

deprivations such as those in Paratt were difficult to prevent

via a predeprivation hearing precisely because they involved

random unauthorized acts of state employees rather than acts

taken pursuant to some established state procedure.

In the Logan case, on the other hand, the state system itself

destroyed the complainant’s property interest by operation of

law, whenever the FEPC failed to convene a timely fact-finding

conference — whether the FEPC’s action was taken through

negligence, maliciousness or otherwise. Unlike the complainant

in Paratt, Logan was challenging not the FEPC’s error but an

established state procedure that destroyed his entitlement without

according him proper procedural safeguards.

The Court further observed that a post-deprivation hearing

would be constitutionally inadequate, in any event. It would leave

Logan only with a tort suit against the state which could not

make him whole regarding such things as reinstatement and

backpay. Accordingly, Paratt did not apply to render a prede-

privation hearing on the merits unnecessary.

This case is exactly like Logan in all material respects. As

in Logan, an established state procedure rather than a random

unauthorized act of a state employee destroyed the complainant’s

|

17

property interest. That established procedure was an informal

written procedure for processing charges that allowed intake

representatives the discretion not to file a charge if they believed

the complainant’s problem not to be the result of a prohibited

practice. The procedure left sole control over whether a charge

was filed within the jurisdictional 180 day time limit in the hands

of the intake representative, just as surely as the FEPC’s official

procedure in Logan left in the sole control of the FEPC whether

the 120 day jurisdictional hearing requirement would be met.

Thus, the FEPC’s informal procedure wrongfully permitted

situations in which the FEPC’s failure to file a charge within

180 days could terminate a complainant’s cause of action.

The very same policy determinations considered in Logan

to justify a predeprivation hearing on the merits apply with equal

force to this case. Petitioner has substantial interests in retaining

his employment and in disproving his employer’s charges of

incompetence or inability. Furthermore, he has an even stronger

interest than in Logan in redressing an instance of alleged

discrimination because the administrative law judge has actually

issued a Recommended Order and Decision to the effect that

Petitioner was discriminated against. Furthermore, like the

deprivation in Logan, the deprivation here is final. Unlike a

claimant whose charge is dismissed on the merits, Petitioner

cannot even obtain judicial review going to the substance of his

claim.

A post deprivation hearing would be just as useless in this

case as it was in Logan. At most, Petitioner could attempt to

sue the FEPC in state court on a tort theory. Such a proceeding

would be both lengthy and speculative. Furthermore, Petitioner

could get neither reinstatement nor backpay. Accordingly, like

the complainant in Logan, Petitioner was entitled to a final

adjudication on the merits of his claim before his cause of action

could be terminated.

Respondents have argued below that Logan is inapplicable

because Logan did not involve a charge that was untimely filed.

In support of their position that this distinction makes a

difference, Respondents have relied heavily upon the portion of

the Court’s opinion stating that a State may erect reasonable

procedural requirements for triggering the right to an adjudi-

18

cation by means of statutes of limitations and that the States

accord due process when they terminate a claim for failure to

comply with a reasonable procedural rule. Respondents’ reliance

on this portion of the Court’s opinion is misplaced. Nowhere did

the Court say that a State may erect reasonable procedural rules

for triggering the right to an adjudication, systematically prevent

a claimant from utilizing those rules via a contrary procedure,

and then terminate the claimant’s cause of action because he

did not follow the reasonable procedural rule in spite of the

systematic prevention. Any other conclusion makes a mockery

of this Court’s opinion.

Respondents have also relied heavily on footnote seven of

the Logan opinion which states that the Court did not mean

to suggest that the state must consider the merits of a claim

when the claimant fails to fails to file a timely charge. Respon-

dents’ reliance on this footnote is also wholly misplaced. In the

very text of the footnote, this Court italicized the word “claimant”,

emphasizing that its opinion is inapplicable only where the

noncompliance or untimeliness is the result of the claimant’s

fault rather than the agency’s.

Thus, Logan is applicable to all situations in which agency

conduct, whether intentional or inadvertent, leads to the lapsing

of a jurisdictional time filing requirement and jeopardizes the

claimant’s right further to pursue his cleim. Any other conclusion

“would allow the State to destroy virtually any state-created

property interest.”

Logan renders it abundantly clear that the FEPC’s inaction

in this case unconstitutionally deprived Petitioner of his protected

property interest in pursuing his claim and that Petitioner is

entitled to a hearing on the merits of his claim.

Ul. THE FEPC AND THE ILLINOIS COURTS

ERRONEOUSLY APPLIED THE ROTHBARDT

DECISION RETROACTIVELY TO PETI-

TIONER’S CASE TO PERMIT AN UNCONSTI-

TUTIONAL AND INEQUITABLE RESULT.

Retroactive application of the Rothbardt decision by the

FEPC and the Dlinois appellate court for the fourth district

19

ratified and completed the abrogation of the Petitioner’s due

process rights. Furthermore, it endangered the claims of a whole

class of persons who brought their claims to the attention of

the FEPC well within the statutorily mandated time period but

suffered the FEPC’s unlawful “Rapid Charge Processing System”’

procedure. This procedure left the determination to act within

the statutory time limit entirely within the control of the FEPC,

creating a system whereby mere agency inadvertance and not

the conduct of a complainant could abrogate a complainant’s

claim. In Logan, the Court decried agency schemes which produce

results such as those indicated. This Court should accept certiorari

to reverse the retroactive application of Rothbardt and thus avert

the injustice that the Illinois appellate court has sanctioned and

that Logan was designed to avoid.

Acceptance of certiarori under the circumstances of this case

is particularly appropriate because this Court has expressly

recognized that the nonretroactive application of a judicial

decision is required in such circumstances.

In Chevron Oil Company v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) the

issue before the Court was whether a United States Supreme

Court opinion applying a one-year statute of limitations to actions

for personal injuries on offshore oil dwelling rigs should be

retroactively applied to bar actions that had been commenced

and prosecuted in the reasonable belief, based on federal

decisions, that the one-year statute did not apply and that were

pending at the time the contrary opinion was announced. The

Court held that the decision should not be retroactively applied

to such cases.

In so holding, the Court noted that the respondent was not

at fault in any way in failing to comply with the one year statute

because the decision in question had both decided an issue of

first impression and effectively overruled a long line of decisions.

For the two years prior to the filing of his lawsuit and for an

entire year of his pretrial proceedings, the overruled decisions

represented the law governing respondent’s case. It could not,

therefore, be assumed that respondent did or could foresee that

those decisions would be overruled. The Court cautioned against

indulging in the fiction that the law now announced has always

20

been the law and that those who have not availed themselves

of it have waived their rights.

The Court further held that to hold respondent’s lawsuit

retroactively time barred would be anomalous since the primary

purpose underlying the statutory scheme pursuant to which

respondent had sued was to aid injured employees and afford

them comprehensive remedies. The Court emphasized that,

contrary to the purpose of the statutory scheme, retroactive

application of the new Court decision would deprive the respon-

dent of any remedy, whatsoever. Accordingly, terminating the

lawsuit after it had proceeded through lengthy and, no doubt,

costly discovery served no beneficial purpose.

The Court then again stressed that retroactive application

would produce the most “substantial inequitable results” in that

it would result in the abrogation of respondent’s right to his

day in court at a time when he could not have known the

limitations that the law imposed upon him. Having made these

findings, the Court concluded that retroactive application of the

new decision was in order and affirmed the circuit court’s opinion

to that effect.

The case at hand bears remarkable similarity to the Chevron

Oil case because the Petitioner was not at all at fault in failing

to comply with the jurisdictional time limit as it was interpreted

in Rothbardt. First, in Rothbardt, the Court decided a question

of first impression, namely from what event the 180 day period

for filing a charge was to run. Second, always prior to Rothbardt,

the agency rule had been that the period for filing a charge ran

from the date of the employee’s actual termination, rather than

his notice of termination. This rule was announced by the agency

as early as 1977; furthermore, FEPC representatives informed

Petitioner of the agency interpretation and applied it to his case.

Third, numerous judicial decisions in Dlinois acknowledge the

reasonableness of relying on agency interpretations of the

sista

= ji alin aghast

21

law. 4 Accordingly, Petitioner, like the respondent in Chevron,

reasonably relied on existing law in assuming that his charge

was governed by the rule that filing had to occur within 180

days from the last day of his employment. Like the respondent’s

action in Chevron Oil, Petitioner’s action proceeded for at least

a year before the new interpretation of the statutory time period

was announced, and there was nothing to foreshadow a change

in the rule.

Retroactive application of Rothbardt would no more effec-

tively further the purpose and effect of the statutory scheme,

in this case, than retroactive application of the opinion considered

in Chevron Oil would have furthered the statutory scheme at

issue there. Similarly to the statutory scheme in Chevron Oil,

the purpose of the statutory scheme under which Petitioner sued

was to aid injured individuals by affording them comprehensive

remedies. The whole statutory scheme is frustrated by Roth-

bardt’s retroactive application to Petitioner’s case because

retroactive application would deprive Petitioner of any remedy,

whatsoever, on the basis of an unforeseeable change in the law.

Thus, just as it would have been anomalous to apply the decision

considered in Chevron retroactively, it would be anomalous to

apply Rothbardt retroactively in this case.

4 See e.g., Illinois Consolidated Telephone Co. v. The Illinois Commerce

Commission, 95 Ill. 2d 142, 447 N.E.2d 295 (1983) (it is generally

reco.nized that courts will give substantial weight and deference to

an interpretation of a statute by the agency charged with the enforcement

of the statute); Adams v. Jewel Companies, Inc., 63 Ill. 2d 336, 348

N.E.2d 161 (1976) (interpretation by administrative agencies provides

an informed source for ascertaining legislative intent; and Johnson v.

Marshall Field & Co., 57 Ill. 2d 272, 312 N.E.2d 271 (the interpretation

of statutes by administrative bodies constitutes an informed source for

guidance to ascertain the legislature’s intention when it enacted the

statute).

22

CONCLUSION

This Court should accept certiorari to correct the unconsti-

tutional abrogation of Petitioner’s rights which the Illinois

appellate court and the [linois Supreme Court have sanctioned

and to avoid the same result in thousands of other cases similar

to Petitioner’s. This Court’s decision in Logan forbids such

deprivations. In the alternative, in view of the clear mandate

of the Logan case, Petitioner prays for summary reversal of the

appellate court’s decision.

DATED: January 3, 1989

Respectfully submitted,

J. TIMOTHY EATON

COUNSEL OF RECORD

CoOFFIELD UNGARETTI Harris & SLAVIN

3500 Three First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 977-4400

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

la

FAIR EMPLOYMENT PRACTICES ACT

Section 8. Procedure - charge, investigation, confer-

ence, settlement and adjustment -

Whenever within 180 days after the date that an unfair

employment practice allegedly has been committed, a charge in

writing under oath or affirmation is filed with the Commission

by a complainant or by the Commission upon a vote of at least

three members and in such detail as to substantially epprise

any party properly concerned as to the time, place and facts

with respect to such alleged unfair employment practice, that

any employer, labor organization, employment agency, or person,

hereinafter referred to as a respondent, has committed such unfair

employment practice, the Commission shall promptly serve a

copy of the charge within 10 days on the respondent and

thereafter shall institute an investigation by its employees to

ascertain the facts relating to such alleged unfair employment

practice. If it is determined by the Commission, after such

investigation, that there is not substantial evidence that the

alleged unfair employment practice has been committed, the

charge shall be dismissed; otherwise the Commission, a Com-

missioner or a hearing officer, who shall be an attorney licensed

to practice in Illinois, designated by the Commission, shall

endeavor to eliminate the effect thereof and prevent repetition

thereof by means of conference and conciliation. The complainant

and respondent shall be notified of the time and place of the

conference by registered or certified mail at least 10 days prior

thereto and either or both parties shall appear at such conference

or conciliation in person or by attorney. The place fixed shall

be within 35 miles of the place where the unfair practice is alleged

to have been committed. What occurs in the conference or

conciliation meeting shall not be disclosed by the Commission

unless the complainant and respondent agree in writing that

such disclosure be made. When a settlement is effectuated in

conference and conciliation conducted by a Commissioner or

hearing officer, the terms of settlement and adjustment shall

be subject to the approval of the Commission. The Commission

shall notify the complainant and the respondent of the disposition

of every charge filed and the terms of any settlement, adjustment

or dismissal thereof. Any member of the Commission who takes

2a

part in an investigation shall thereby be disqualified to hear

any evidence on the cause in question. Except as provided in

this Section, the manner and form of filing charges shall be

in accordance with such rules and regulations as the Commission

shal! from time to time prescribe. If a settlement is effectuated,

and the terms thereof are approved by the Commission, then

the Commission shall prepare written terms of settlement and

adjustment and have the complainant and respondent agree to

them in writing. The Commission shall then enter upon all parties

an order in accord with the executed written terms of settlement

and adjustment. If the Commission determines after an inves-

tigation that there is substantial evidence that the respondent

has violated the terms of settlement and adjustment and the

order entered pursuant thereto, the Commission may either

commence an action pursuant to Section 11 of the Act, or issue

a written complaint and order a public hearing on such alleged

violation, and, finding that such alleged violation has occurred,

may then order such remedies as may be necessary to correct

the violation. If the Commission finds that no violation has

occurred it shall dismiss the complaint. If terms of settlement

and adjustment not approved by the Commission are entered

into by a complainant and respondent, the Commission need

not enter an order in accord therewith and may terminate further

proceedings in the case. The Commission may dismiss a charge

if, in conference and conciliation, it is established to the

satisfaction of the Commission that the respondent has taken

steps to eliminate the effects of the unfair employment practice

charged and prevent the repetition thereof, or if, in conference

and conciliation, the respondent offers and the complainant

declines to accept terms of settlement and adjustment which the

Commission finds are sufficient to eliminate the effects of the

unfair employment practice charged and prevent the repetition

thereof.

Section 8.01. Procedure - complaint, answer, hear-

ing and order—

(a) In case of failure to settle or adjust any such charge

by conference and conciliation in accordance with

Section 8 of this Act, the Commission shall cause to

be issued and served upon such respondent a written

aa. 2

1 NEE ee

3a

complaint, under oath or affirmation, stating the

charge of unfair employment practice substantially as

alleged in the charge theretofore filed with the Com-

mission as hereinbefore provided in Section 8 of this

Act and the relief sought on behalf of the person

aggrieved and containing a notice of public hearing

before a Commissioner or a duly appointed hearing

examiner at a place therein fixed, to be held not less

than 30 nor more than 90 days after the service of

such complaint. The place fixed shall be within 100

miles of the place where the unfair employment

practice is alleged to have been committed.

Whenever such a charge of an unfair employment

practice has been properly filed, the Commission,

within 180 days thereof or within any extension of

the 180 day period agreed to in writing by all parties

and approved by a member of the Commission, shall

either issue and serve a complaint in the manner and

form set forth in this Section or shall order that no

complaint be issued. Any such order shall be duly

served upon both the complainant and the respondent.

Section 8.02. Procedure - review by Commission,

order -

(a)

(d)

The findings and recommended order of the Commis-

sioner or hearing examiner shall be filed with the

Commission.

Following the filing of the findings and recommended

order of the hearing examiner and any written excep-

tions and responses thereto, and any other proceedings

provided for in this Section, the Commission shall

review the record and may adopt, modify or reverse

in whole or in part the findings and recommendations

of the hearing examiner. The Commission shall adopt

the hearing examiner’s findings of fact if they are not

contrary to the manifest weight of the evidence. The

Commission shall file its written order and decision

in its office and serve copies thereof on all parties

together with a notification of the date when it was

4a

RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE FAIR EMPLOY-

MENT PRACTICES COMMISSION

PART TWO: CHARGES OF UNFAIR EMPLOYMENT

PRACTICE

ARTICLE III

Charge

Section 3.1. Time of Filing - A complainant, or the

Commission upon a vote of at least three members, may file

a charge at any time within 180 days after occurrence of an

alleged unfair employment practice. If the alleged unfair

employment practice is of a continuing nature, the date of

occurrence may be any date subsequent to the commencement

of the unfair employment practice up to and including the date

on which it shall have ceased.

Section 3.2. Form - A charge shall be in writing and signed

by the complainant, or by a member of the Commission in the

case of a Commission charge, under oath or affirmation before

a notary public or other person authorized by law to administer

oaths or affirmations. Notary service shall be provided without

cost at the Commission’s offices.

Section 3.3. Contents - A charge shall be in such detail

as to substantially apprise any party of the time, place and facts

with respect to the alleged unfair employment practice. It should

contain the following:

(a) The full name and address of the complainant, or a

statement that the charge is filed in the name of the

Commission in the case of a Commission charge;

(b) The full name and address of the respondent;

(c) Astatement of the facts alleged to constitute the unfair

employment practice, including the date, time, and

place thereof;

(d) A statement describing any other action instituted by

or on behalf of the complainant in any other forum,

including one instituted under grievance or arbitration

provisions of a collective bargaining agreement, based

on any of the incidents or practices alleged in the charge.

5a

Section 3.4. Amendment -

(a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of these Rules

and Regulations, a charge shall be deemed filed when

the Commission receives from a complainant a written

statement sufficiently precise to identify the parties

and to describe generally the action or practices

complained of. A charge or any part thereof may

subsequently be amended by the complainant to cure

technical defects or omissions (including failure to

properly subscribe or swear to the charge as herein-

above provided), or to clarify or amplify allegations

made therein, or to set forth additional facts or

allegations related to the subject matter of the original

charge, and such amendments shall relate back to the

original filing date.

ARTICLE IV

Investigation

Section 4.1. Docketing and Service of Charge - Each

charge, once filed, shall be docketed and assigned a case number

by the Commission, and a copy of such charge shall, within

ten (10) days following the date of filing, be served by the

Commission on the named respondent.

Section 4.3. Investigation - After a charge has been filed,

the Commission’s staff shall institute an investigation to

ascertain the facts relating to the unfair employment practice

alleged in the charge and any amendments thereto.

Section 4.5. Dismissal After Investigation - If after

investigation of a charge, the investigative findings indicate that

the charge is not supported by substantial evidence or that the

Commission lacks jurisdiction of the charge or that the charge

otherwise should be dismissed, and this indication is concurred

in by the Commission’s Director of Investigations, the Director

of Investigations shall thereupon cause to be served upon the

complainant a Notice of Dismissal. The Notice of Dismissal shall

advise the complainant that the charge is recommended for

cian

6a

dismissal, and shall state the ground upon which it is to be

dismissed, and shall be accompanied by a copy of the written

investigation report. The Notice shall further advise that the

complainant may object to dismissal of the charge and obtain

consideration of the matter by the full Commission, by serving

a demand therefor upon the Commission within thirty (30) days

of the date of the Notice. If no such timely demand is served

by the complainant upon the Commission, the charge shall be

deemed dismissed as of the expiration of said thirty-day period,

and the parties shall be so notified. In the event the complainant

files a timely demand for reconsideration as herein provided,

the matter shall be submitted to the full Commission for

determination. A complainant’s timely demand for reconsider-

ation under this Section may be accompanied by such statements

and/or evidence as the complainant may feel supports the charge.

Section 4.6. Commission Finding - After investigation,

the Director of Investigations shall submit to the Commission

each charge which the investigation indicates is supported by

substantial evidence, or in which a complainant has filed a timely

demand for reconsideration of a Notice of Dismissal as provided

in Section 4.5 of these Rules and Regulations. If the Commission

finds that it has jurisdiction of the charge and that there is

substantial evidence to support the charge, it shall order that

conciliation be attempted in accordance with Article V of these

Rules and Regulations. Otherwise, it may return the charge for

further investigation, or order that the charge be dismissed. In

the event that a charge is ordered to conciliation or ordered

dismissed, the Commission shall promptly serve notice of such

action upon all parties.

ARTICLE X

Section 10.1. Service of Complaint - A complaint and

notice of public hearing, issued by the Commission pursuant to

Article V, Section 5.7 of these Rules and Regulations, or pursuant

to Article VIII, Section 8.4(b) of these Rules and Regulations,

shall be served by the Commission upon the parties to such

proceeding either personally or by registered or certified mail.

Section 10.2. Form of Complaint - The complaint shall

be in writing and shall state the relief sought. The allegations

Ta

of the complaint may encompass (a) such matters as alleged

in the underlying charge or which are substantially related

thereto, and (b) such matters as would constitute noncompliance

with Part Three of these Rules and Regulations and which were

involved in the Commission’s investigation or compliance review.

ARTICLE XI

Review of Recommended Order and Decision

Section 12.1. Recommended Order Not Final - The

Administrative Law Judge’s recommended order and decision

shall not constitute a final order determining or disposing of

the proceedings. Whether or not exceptions to the recommended

order and decision are filed with the Commission as hereinafter

provided, the Commission shall review each recommended order

together with the record of proceedings prior to issuance of its

final order and decision therein. Only the Commission’s decision

shall be final.

ARTICLE XIV

Section 14.2 Standard of Review - The Commission shall

accept the findings of fact of its Administrative Law Judge and

of the person who presided at any supplemental proceedings as

true and correct, unless it shall find that such findings or any

of them are contrary to the manifest weight of the evidence.

8a

ILLINOIS REGISTER

AGENCY: Fair Employment Practices Commission

ACTION: Emergency Adoption of Amendments to Rules and

Regulations.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 48, §856.05.

EXPLANATION: In response to a growing backlog of charges

filed with it, the Fair Employment Practices Commission

is revamping its intake and investigative techniques so as

to enable it more readily to identify charges which do not

state a claim under the FEPA, and to more rapidly reselve

charges through investigation and settlement. Because of

the magnitude of the present backlog and the volume of

new charges it receives daily, the Commission must

implement these new techniques on an emergency basis,

beginning as of Monday, March 13, 1978.

DESCRIPTION: Under these new procedures, the Commission

will conduct more intensive interviews of prospective

complainants, administratively close charges in which

complainants fail to cooperate, and schedule early fact-

finding conferences to obtain evidence and provide an

opportunity for rapid settlement of disputes. The new

procedures will be implemented through amendments to

Articles III and IV of the Commission’s Rules and Reg-

ulations adopted by the Commission on March 8, 1978.

THE FULL TEXT OF THE AMENDED ARTICLES I AND

IV FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE III

Charge

Section 3.1. Time of Filing-A complainant, or the Commis-

sion upon a vote of at least three members, may file a charge

at any time within 180 days after occurrence of an alleged unfair

employment practice. If the alleged unfair employment practice

is of a continuing nature, the date of occurrence may be any

date subsequent to the commencement of the unfair employment

practice up to and including the date on which it shall have ceased.

iatelaiesi-ec ince «

,

9a

ILLINOIS REGISTER

Section 3.2. Form-A charge shall be in writing and signed

by the complainant, or by a member of the Commission in the

case of a Commission charge, under oath or affirmation before

a notary public or other person authorized by law to administer

oaths or affirmations. Notary service shall be provided without

cost at the Commission’s offices.

Section 3.3. Contents-A charge shall be in such detail as

to substantially apprise any party of the time, place and facts

with respect to the alleged unfair employment practice. It should

contain the following:

(a) The full name and address of the complainant, or a

statement that the charge is filed in the name of the

Commission in the case of a Commission charge;

(b) The full name and address of the respondent;

(c) Astatement of the facts alleged to constitute the unfair

employment practice, including the date, time, and

place thereof;

(d) A statement describing any other action instituted by

or on behalf of the complainant in any other forum,

including one instituted under grievance or arbitration

’ provisions of a collective bargaining agreement, based

on any of the incidents or practices alleged in the

charge.

Section 3.4. Requirements for Charge-In addition to the

elements specified in Section 3.3 hereof, an individual may be

required to provide the Commission with the following informa-

tion where available to enable the Commission to determine

whether the facts alleged by the individual state a claim of unfair

employment practice under the Act:

(a) The approximate number of persons employed by

any entity which is sought to be charged in the capacity

of an employer;

(b) For each alleged unfair employment practice,

10a

ILLINOIS REGISTER

a statement of the facts which lead the individual to

believe that the practice is or was unlawful;

(c) A statement of each specific harm or injury that the

individual has suffered as a consequence of the alleged

unfair employment practice.

Section 3.5. Acceptance of Charge-

(a) The Commission shall accept for filing any charge

which it receives from an individual in compliance with

the foregoing provisions of this Article.

(b) In the event the Commission receives a written

statement from an individual which complies substan-

tially with Sections 3.1 and 3.3 hereof, but which is lacking

elements specified in Sections 3.2 and/or 3.4, the Com-

mission may accept and docket the statement as an

unperfected charge. The Commission shall then notify

the complainant in writing of the elements which must

be supplied to perfect the charge. If the individual fails

or refuses to perfect the charge as specified, the charge

may be dismissed pursuant to Section 4.6 of these Rules

and Regulations.

Section 3.6. Amendment-

(a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of these Rules

and Regulations, a charge may be deemed sufficient when

the Commission receives from a complainant a written

statement sufficiently precise to identify the parties and

to describe generally the action or practices complained

of. A charge or any part thereof may subsequently be

amended by the complainant to cure technical defects

or omissions (including failure to properly subscribe or

swear to the charge as hereinabove provided), or to set

forth additional facts or allegations related to the subject

matter of the original charge, and such amendments shall

relate back to the original filing date.

ee ne

lla

ILLINOIS REGISTER

(b) A charge may be amended by the complainant to

substitute or name additional parties respondent, and

such an amendment shall relate back to the original filing

date, if (i) at the time of the amendment a separate charge

could have been filed against such additional respondent;

or (ii) such additional respondent had timely notice of

the original charge and the fact it might be involved

therein.

Section 3.7. Withdrawal of Charge-A charge or any part

thereof may be withdrawn by the Complainant upon the consent

of the Commission, at any time prior to an order of the Com-

mission dismissing the charge or the issuance by the Commission

@f a Complaint based on the charge. A complainant’s request

to withdraw a charge shall be in writing to the Commission

and signed under oath or affirmation.

ARTICLE IV

Investigation

Section 4.1. Docketing and Service of Charge-Each charge,

once filed, shall be docketed and assigned a case number by

the Commission, and a copy of such charge shall, within ten

(10) days following the date of filing, be served by the Commission

on the named respondent.

Section 4.2. Maintenance of Employment Records--

Notwithstanding any other provision of these Rules and Reg-

ulations, once a charge has been served on a respondent, the

respondent shall preserve all personnel records, production

records and other evidence which may be relevant to the case

until the matter has been finally adjudicated.

Section 4.3. Investigation—-After a charge has been filed, the

Commission’s staff shall institute an investigation to ascertain

the facts relating to the unfair employment practice alleged in

the charge and any amendments thereto. As part of its inves-

tigation the Commission may convene a fact-finding conference

upon notice of not less than ten (10) days to all parties whose

attendance will be required, for purposes of ascertaining the

positions of the parties, identifying the issues in dispute, obtaining

12a

ILLINOIS REGISTER

evidence and determining the likelihood of a negotiated

settlement.

Section 4.4. Adjustment During Investigation-If terms of

settlement are agreed to between complainant and respondent

during the investigation of a charge, the same shall be reduced

to writing, signed by the parties and submitted to the Commission

for approval. If so approved, the Commission shall thereupon

enter an order incorporating the terms of settlement and

dismissing the charge pursuant thereto without a finding on the

merits of the charge. Said order shall be served by the Commission

on all parties.

Section 4.5. Dismissal After Investigation-If after investi-

gation of a charge, the investigative findings indicate that the

charge is not supported by substantial evidence or that the

Commission lacks jurisdiction of the charge, and this indication

is concurred in by the Commission’s Executive Director or his

designee, the Executive Director shall thereupon cause to be

served upon the complainant a Notice of Dismissal. The Notice

of Dismissal shall advise the complainant that the charge is

recommended for dismissal, and shall state the ground upon

which it is to be dismissed, and shall be accompanied by a copy

of the written investigation report. The Notice shall further advise

that the complainant may object to dismissal of the charge and

obtain consideration of the matter by the full Commission, by

serving a demand therefor upon the Commission within thirty

(30) days of the date of the Notice. If no such timely demand

is served by the complainant upon the Commission, the charge

shall be deemed dismissed as of the expiration of said thirty-

day period, and the parties shall be so notified. In the event

the complainant files a timely demand for reconsideration as

herein provided, the matter shall be submitted to the full

Commission for determination. A complainant’s timely demand

for reconsideration under this Section may be accompanied by

such statement and/or evidence as the complainant may feel

supports the charge.

13a

ILLINOIS REGISTER

Section 4.6. Failure to Proceed--A complainant has the

responsibility to promptly provide the Commission with notice

of any change in address or any prolonged absence from that

current address so that he or she can be located when necessary

during the Commission’s investigation and consideration of the

charge. In addition, a complainant is responsible for providing

the Commission with necessary information and to be available

for interviews and conferences, upon reasonable notice or request

by the Commission. If a complainant cannot be located or does

not adequately respond to reasonable requests by the Commis-

sion, the Commission’s Executive Director is authorized to

dismiss the charge for complainant’s failure to proceed; Provided,

that the Commission shall first afford the complainant written

notice of his or her failure to comply with this Section at the

last known address, and shall allow the complainant not less

than thirty (30) days to respond thereto. Written notice of any

dismissal pursuant to this Section shall be promptly provided

by the Executive Director to the complainant and respondent

and shall specify the nature of the complainant’s noncompliance

herewith.

Section 4.7. Commission Finding-After investigation, the

Commission’s staff shall submit to the Commission each charge

which the investigation indicates is supported by substantial

evidence, or in which a complainant has filed a timely demand

for reconsideration of a Notice of Dismissal as provided in Section

4.5 of these Rules and Regulations. If the Commission finds that

it has jurisdiction of the charge and that there is substantial

evidence to support the charge, it shall order that conciliation

be attempted in accordance with Article V of these Rules and

Regulations. Otherwise, it may return the charge for further

investigation, or order that the charge be dismissed. In the event

that a charge is ordered to conciliation or ordered dismissed,

the Commission shall promptly serve notice of such action upon

all parties.

l4a

IN RE: MARLENE ROTHBARDT, Complainant, and

NORTHEASTERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY, Respondent, Nos.

73WS-68, 73CF-1092 (January 12, 1977).

Synopsis: 1. Complainant’s termination from employment

became effective as of her last day of employment, even

though the decision to terminate her may have been made

considerably earlier, so that it was actionable under the

provisions of the Act in effect on the latter date.

2. An employer’s reconsideration of its decision to discharge

its employee, resulting in reaffirmation of the original

decision, constituted an independent action subject to

challenge under the Act.

3. An employer’s aversion to the employment of females with

minor children is sexually discriminatory where no similar

aversion is evident with regard to males with minor children.

4. There was sufficient evidence for the Administrative Law

Judge to find that Complainant’s Department Chairman

influenced others with decision-making authority to support

Complainant’s termination, thus infecting their decisions

with his discriminatory animus.

Peewee a a) eee

OO WAST) Ptr

15a

NO. 4-87-0205

IN THE APPELLATE COURT

OF ILLINOIS

FOURTH DISTRICT

CHARLES LARRANCE, ~

Petitioner,

THE ILLINOIS HUMAN Administrative

RIGHTS COMMISSION, Review of

Rights THE ILLINOIS linois Human

DEPARTMENT OF Nos. 1980SN0206

HUMAN RIGHTS, COUNTY 1980SN0207

Commission MACON FARM 1980SN0208

BUREAU, COUNTRY CAS- 1980SN0209

UALTY INSURANCE COM- 1980SN0210

PANY, COUNTRY INSURANCE 1980SN0211

COMPANY, COUNTRY MUTUAL

INSURANCE COMPANY, COUNTRY

LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, and

COUNTRY CAPITAL MAN-

AGEMENT COMPANY,

Respondents. Y

JUSTICE McCULLOUGH delivered the opinion of the court:

Petitioner appeals an order of the Illinois Human Rights

We affirm.

Commission (Commission) which dismissed his complaint. The

Commission found it lacked jurisdiction to entertain the cause.

(Ill. Rev. Stat. 1985, ch. 68, par. 7-102(A)(1).) Petitioner argues:

(1) the Commission erred in retroactively applying Board of

Governors v. Rothbardt (1981), 98 Ill. App. 3d 423, 424 N.E.2d

742; (2) principles of equitable tolling apply in the instant cause;

(3) petitioner’s formal charge should be found to relate back to

his complainant information sheet (CIS) so as to create a timely

charge; and (4) dismissal of petitioner’s cause of action because

of a State procedure denied him due process.

16a

Petitioner filed his employment-discrimination charge on

November 15, 1979. The administrative law judge found for

petitioner. On October 27, 1982, respondents filed exceptions to

the recommended order and decision, arguing lack of jurisdiction.

Petitioner filed a motion to produce additional information. On

January 7, 1982, the Commission denied petitioner’s motion but

on its own motion, remanded for a hearing on the circumstances

surrounding the filing. Respondents filed suit in the circuit court

to prohibit the hearing on remand. The circuit court ruled the

Commission could order an additional hearing. On appeal, this

court, in Country Casualty Insurance Co. v. Human Rights

Comm’n (Nov. 30, 1984, 4th Dist. Gen. No. 4-83-0772, order under

Supreme Court Rule 23), affirmed the circuit court. The facts

relevant to the instant appeal stem from information obtained

at the supplemental hearing.

Petitioner had been hired by respondents, Country Casualty

Insurance Company, Country Insurance Company, Country

Mutual Insurance Company, Country Life Insurance Company,

and Country Capital Management Company (Country Compan-

ies) in 1956. In 1962, he was made agency manager in Macon

County. On April 30, 1979, petitioner received a letter telling him

his employment would be terminated, effective May 31, 1979.

On July 9, 1979, petitioner contacted the Fair Employment

Practices Commission (FEPC) in Springfield. Petitioner testified

that he had not talked to an attorney at that time. He completed

a form entitled “Complainant Information Sheet.” On that form,

he indicated his termination was due to a heart attack which

occurred in 1976. The only document he brought to the meeting

was the termination letter. Petitioner stated that he told the intake

representative that the name of his employer was Country

Companies. George Crawford, the intake representative, told

petitioner that he had until the end of November to file a formal

charge. Petitioner never calculated the last day on which he could

file the charge.

Petitioner further testified that Crawford took notes and

raised a question about whether petitioner could file a charge.

Crawford indicated the FEPC would decide whether or not to

17a

accept the charge. Crawford needed to discuss the matter with

his superiors and would contact petitioner. Crawford did not ask

for additional information on July 9, 1979.

Petitioner stated Crawford gave him a brochure on July 9,

1979, and he looked at it. Between July 9, and October 29, 1979,

petitioner called the FEPC office to check on the status of his

cause. On October 29, 1979, the FEPC contacted him to ask for

his employment contracts. He brought them in the same day.

On October 31, 1979, he met with Crawford. They discussed his

heart attack. After he brought in his employnent contracts, the

individual companies were charged separately.

On November 15, 1979, petitioner signed a formal complaint.

No one indicated a timeliness problem. Petitioner stated that

although he met with an attorney concerning renewal income

from Country Companies to which he felt entitled, he and his

attorney did not discuss his employment discrimination action.

He would have signed a charge on July 9, 1979, if he had been

given one.

On cross-examination, petitioner agreed that the CIS form

states it is not a legal charge. On October 4, 1979, his attorney

drafted a letter seeking commissions. In the letter, counsel states

that if the additional commission is not forthcoming, the

employment discrimination action will be pursued. Petitioner

denied delaying filing because of the dispute.

Crawford stated that anyone who wished to file a complaint

would be assigned a representative, who gathered the needed

information. If the criteria were met, the representative would

prepare a charge. The complainant would then sign it. Crawford

met plaintiff on July 9, 1979. The CIS is a general information

sheet which a complainant completes. The intake officer reviews

the CIS before interviewing the complainant to determine if there

is a charge.

Crawford stated that he told petitioner he needed to determine

a couple of factors and would have to discuss those issues with

his supervisor before knowing whether the FEPC would be able

to proceed with the charge. Crawford outlined the procedure for

petitioner. Crawford believed that May 31, 1979, was the date

18a

of the discriminatory act. This was the FEPC’s position in 1979.

Petitioner, therefore, had 180 days from that date to file his action.

He told petitioner the FEPC would decide whether it would accept

the charge for filing. Crawford stated that the brochure he gave

petitioner did not contain an indication that the FEPC would

automatically file complaints or that a complainant may demand

a charge be filed.

Crawford further stated that at the time petitioner came in

charges were not automatically accepted for filing. The policy |

changed after July 1980. Petitioner’s charge was not accepted |

on July 9, 1979, and Crawford did not draft a charge for him.

Crawford had a question about whether petitioner was an

employee. However, he covered all the jurisdictional prerequisites

and could have prepared a charge on July 9, 1979.

Crawford stated that petitioner cooperated. After Crawford

had a meeting with his supervisor he prepared a charge on

October 31, 1979. He and his supervisors had determined that

petitioner was an employee under the Fair Employment Practices

Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 48, par. 852(c)). Petitioner signed

the charge on November 15, 1979.

Crawford admitted that now the Commission will file a

charge if a complainant insists even if the jurisdictional

prerequisites are not fulfilled.

Sandra Jean Kimberly, an intake representative with the

Commission, stated that when she first started, a complainant

had 180 days from the last day of employment to file a charge.

Now, a complainant has 180 days from the date he is told of

his termination to file. She believed the change occurred after

January 1, 1980. However, it had always been a practice to accept

a charge if the complainant wanted one filed, regardless of

whether the intake representative wanted him to file a charge.

She tells complainants this fact. The policy in effect when plaintiff

filed his charge was to file charges even if a question existed

about their validity.

The documents indicate plaintiff was not told that he could

insist on filing a charge and Crawford asked plaintiff to bring

in his contracts on July 9, 1979.

dee

19a

A supplemental recommended order and decision (SROD)

was filed on November 12, 1985. The hearing officer found

Rothbardt applied but that the Commission’s actions caused the

tardy filing. Therefore, the hearing officer felt that the Commis-

sion had jurisdiction pursuant to United States Supreme Court

cases. He also found the November 15, 1979, charge was not

an amendment of an earlier charge so did not relate back to

the CIS. The Commission did not follow the recommendation

and found that it did not have jurisdiction. It also found the

United States Supreme Court cases were distinguishable.

Initially, petitioner argues Rothbardt should not apply

retroactively to his cause because he justifiably relied on an

administrative interpretation of the charge-filing limitations

period. He had no choice but to rely upon the administrative

agency. Respondents point out that the Rothbardt court itself

retroactively applied its decision, that the degree of untimeliness

is irrelevant in determining retroactivity, and petitioner’s reliance

on existing administrative interpretation of the law does not affect

the applicability of Rothbardt to his case.

In Rothbardt, this court held that an aggrieved employee

had 180 days from the time he was notified of termination of

employment to file a charge under the Fair Employment Practices

Act, interpreting section 8 of the Fair Employment Practices Act.

(il. Rev, Stat. 1973, ch. 48, par. 858.) Rothbardt, a college professor,

was notified that she would not be given tenure. She then received

a terminal contract. She filed a charge within 180 days of her

last actual day of work but in excess of 180 days of the date

of the notice. The Board of Governors raised a jurisdictional

question throughout.

The circuit court found the agency lacked jurisdiction over

the cause. The appellate court affirmed, holding that timely filing

as a necessary condition to the FEPC’s jurisdiction. In deter-

mining that the period started to run at the time notice was

given, the court relied on Delaware State College v. Ricks (1980),

449 U.S. 250, 66 L. Ed. 2d 431, 101 S. Ct. 498, where the court

reached a similar result. This court affirmed dismissal of

Rothbardt’s complaint. The court noted that the time limitation

was an inherent part of the right created. (See also Pickering

v. Human Rights Comm’n (1986), 146 Ill. App.3d 340, 496 N.E.2d

20a

746 (where the court held that the 180-day charge-filing limitation

period was an inherent part of the employment discrimination

action created by the statutes); Lee v. Human Rights Comm’n

(1984), 126 Ill. App.3d 666, 467 N.E.2d 943.) Section 8 of the Fair

Employment Practices Act was incorporated into the Illinois

Human Rights Act (Human Rights Act) as section 7-102(A)(1).

Ill. Rev. Stat. 1985, ch. 68, par. 7-102(A)(1).

Petitioner in the instant cause does not contest in this court

that the charge-filing limitation period is an inherent part of

the right created. However, he argues that this court should not

apply Rothbardt to his situation but should only apply it

prospectively. The decision of a court is generally applied

retroactively to the case under consideration. The criteria for

determining prospective or retroactive application of a decision

are: (1) a decision to be applied prospectively must establish a

new principle of law; (2) will the purpose and effect of the new

decision be best served by prospective or retroactive application;

and (3) the equities of the situation. Revoal v. Human Rights

Comm’n (1984), 128 Ill. App.3d 70, 470 N.E.2d 54.

It is part of the inherent power of the court to determine

whether its decision should be prospectively or retroactively

applied. (Lane v. Sklodowski (1983), 97 Il. 2d 311, 454 N.E.2d

322.) Reliance is a factor to be considered. (Brown v. Metzger

(1984), 104 Ill.2d 30, 470 N.E.2d 302.) However, as a general rule,

a decision will be applied retrospectively unless the court

expressly declares that its decision is a clear break with the past,

such as when a court explicitly overrules its own past precedent,

disapproves a practice that it has previously approved, or

overturns a well established body of lower court authority. (People

v. Boswell (1985), 132 Dl. App.3d 52, 476 N.E.2d 1154.) Judicial

interpretation of a statute does not necessarily constitute a change

in the law. People v. Crete (1986), 113 Ill. 2d 156, 497 N.E.2d

751.

Plaintiff argues Rothbardt’s interpretation should not control

his case essentially because Rothbardt was decided after he had

filed his complaint and while the decision of the hearing officer

was pending. He argues his reliance on the intake officer’s

statement and the FEPC’s interpretation of the statute should

bar retroactive application. Parties have a right to rely on the

2la

decisions of the supreme court. (Moehle v. Chrysler Motors Corp.

(1982), 93 Ill.2d 299, 443 N.E.2d 575; Garcia v. Hynes & Howes

Real Estate, Inc. (1975), 29 Ill. App.3d 479, 331 N.E.2d 634.)

Reliance on administrative interpretations is entitled to weight

in determining whether a decision should be given retroactive

or prospective application, but it is not controlling. (People ex

rel. Ponder v. Bensinger (1974), 57 Ill.2d 55, 310 N.E.2d 161.)

It, as well as lower court opinions, is subject to review and

modification by the supreme court.

Although a court of review may also give significant weight

to an agency’s ‘interpretation of a statute which it is charged

with enforcing, the agency’s interpretation is not binding on the

court. (People v. Roos (1987), 118 I1l.2d 203, 212, 514 N.E.2d 993,

998; Illinois Consolidated Telephone Co. v. Illinois Commerce

Comm’n (1983), 95 Ill.2d 142, 447 N.E.2d 295.) An agency,

however, is bound by an uncontested judicial interpretation of

a statute. Spraic v. United States R.R. Retirement Board (9th

Cir. 1984), 735 F.2d 1208, 1211.

The charge-filing limitation period is an inherent part of

the employment discrimination action created by the statutes.

The Rothbardt case was the first judicial interpretation of this

type of language in Illinois, and its interpretation is binding

on the agency. Since timely filing is a jurisdictional part of the

right created and the 180 days is counted from the time of the

discriminatory act, petitioner here has no cause of action. The

Commission was correct in dismissing the action.

An administrative agency can only act pursuant to its

statutory authority. (City of Chicago v. Fair Employment

Practices Comm’n (1976), 65 [.2d 108, 357 N.E.2d 1154; Pickering,

146 Ill. App.3d 340, 496 N.E.2d 746.) Any action outside of that

authority is void. Since the agency interpretation is controlled

by the judicial interpretation of a statute, the agency was bound

by Rothbardt and lacked authority to hear plaintiffs complaint.

Interpretation of the statute did not create new law, there were

no past precedents to break with, and petitioner’s reliance on

the administrative interpretation needs to be balanced with the

potential harm to respondents, who raised the issue throughout.

Petitioner next argues that the charge-filing period should

22a

be tolled because the agency misled him. In Pickering, plaintiff

was employed as a sales manager when his position was

terminated. At the time of termination, he signed a release of

all of his claims against his employer. Subsequently, he filed

an employment discrimination action arguing he had been

terminated because of a physical disability. Pickering argued

that equitable tolling and estoppel concepts should bar enforce-

ment of the 180-day charge-filing limitations period. The appellate

court found to the contrary, noting the distinction between

statutes of limitations and limitations periods which are an

inherent part of the right created. Concepts of equitable stoppel,

tolling, and waiver usually apply to statutes of limitations, not

limitations periods which are inherent parts of the right of action

created. See also Fredman Brothers Furniture Co. v. Department

of Revenue (1985), 109 Il.2d 202, 486 N.E.2d 893, for a discussion

of the distinctions between the two types of limitations.

The appellate court in Pickering found that estoppel did not

apply. In Lee v. Human Rights Comm’n (1984), 126 Il. App.3d

666, 467 N.E.2d 943, the appellate court stated the 180-day charge-

filing limitations period was jurisdictional. The Lee court,

however, stated that if appropriate factors were present, the

employer would be estopped from raising the issue.

Petitioner urges this court to find equitable tolling here based

on the language in Lee and Dartt v. Shell Oil Co. (10th Cir.

1976), 5389 F.2d 1256. Dartt is distinguishable from the instant

case. In Dartt the court reviewed the filing limitations period

in the Fair Labor Standards Act. The court noted the period

was analogous to a statute of limitations so equitable modifi-

cations were appropriate. See also Zipes v. Trans World Airlines,

Inc. (1982), 455 U.S. 385, 71 L. Ed. 2d 234, 102 S. Ct. 1127.

In the instant cause, no employer misconduct is involved

so the applicability of the Lee exception need not be addressed.

Additionally, agency representatives did not mislead the

petitioner. The agency position and its interpretation of the law

was correctly stated to petitioner. This interpretation was altered

by a judicial decision. Therefore, neither the agency nor the

employer intentionally misled petitioner to his disadvantage since

both acted on the information available. Equitable tolling is a

concept which should be applied to prevent injustice when the

23a

agency has knowingly misled a complainant or in some manner

acted unfairly. It does not apply under the instant circumstances.

Petitioner next argues that the Commission should have

accepted the CIS as an unperfected charge and allowed the

November 15, 1979, charge to relate back to it. It is uncontested

that under the FEPC rules in effect in 1979, the FEPC could

have accepted a charge for filing if it was written even though

it lacked an element necessary for a perfected charge. A later

amendment would relate back to the original unperfected charge.

Here, the hearing officer found, and the Commission

approved the finding, that no unperfected charge was filed in

a timely fashion. This is essentially a factual determination by

the agency. Factual determinations of administrative agencies

are considered prima facie true and correct. They will be affirmed

unless they are contrary to the manifest weight of the evidence.

Department of Corrections v. Adams (1986), 146 Tl. App.3d 173,

496 N.E.2d 1138.

Petitioner asserts this case is analogous to Logan v. Zim-

merman Brush Co. (1982), 455 U.S. 422, 71 L. Ed. 2d 265, 102

S. Ct. 1148, and therefore, he has a due process interest in

preservation of his cause of action. In Logan, the United States

Supreme Court held that a State may not terminate a complain-

ant’s cause of action because a State official, for reasons beyond

the complainant’s control, failed to comply with the statutorily

mandated procedure. In Logan, plaintiff filed a timely complaint

with the FEPC, alleging employment discrimination. The statute

gave the FEPC 120 days to convene a fact-finding hearing. After

the fact-finding determination, the FEPC had 180 days to decide

whether it would issue a formal complaint. The FEPC failed

to hold the fact-finding hearing within the 120 days. The Dlinois

Supreme Court affirmed a finding that the FEPC lost jurisdiction

over the cause.

The United States Supreme Court reversed. It held the

complainant had a protected property interest in the continuation

of his cause of action such that it could not be eliminated by

the State’s failure to act. In a footnote, the United States Supreme

Court specifically stated that it was not suggesting a State had

to consider the merits of a claim which was not timely filed.

24a

(Logan, 455 U.S. at 434 n.7, 71 L. Ed. 2d at 277 n.7, 102 S. Ct.

at 1157 n.7.) Illinois courts have applied Logan to similar

situations. (See Lott v. Governors State University (1982), 106

Ill. App.3d 851, 484 N.E.2d 569.) However, the instant situation

is distinguishable from Logan and analogous to the situation

stated in the footnote. Petitioner could not rely on an adminis-

trative interpretation to create a protected property interest in

an action which was not timely under a judicial construction

of the statute.

For the above reasons, we affirm the judgment of the Illinois

Human Rights Commission.

Affirmed.

GREEN, P.J., and LUND, J., concur.

25a

DATE: March 25, 1988

RE: Larrance v. Ill. Human

Rights Commission, et al.

General No. 4-87-0205

TO COUNSEL:

The court today denied the petition for rehearing filed in

the above entitled cause.

The mandate of this court will issue in 7 days to the Clerk

of the Circuit Court unless an affidavit of intent to seek review

in the linois Supreme Court [Rule 368(b)] is filed in this court.

DARRYL PRATSCHER, Clerk

Appellate Court

Fourth District

DP:mcb

TO: Jon D. Robinson David B. Stumpf

Hull, Campbell & Robinson Attorney at Law

132 South Water Street 1701 Towanda Avenue,

Decatur, IL 62523 Box 2901

Bloomington, IL 61701

Wildman, Harrold, Allen & Dixon

Attorneys at Law

One IBM Plaza, Suite 3000

Chicago, IL 60611

Bernard Harrold

Anne G. Kimball

James B. Fiffer

26a

66970

October 6, 1988

Mr. Jon D. Robinson

Hull, Campbell & Robinson

P. O. Box 1765

Decatur, IL 62525

No. 66970 — Charles Larrance, petitioner, v. The Illinois

Human Rights Commission, et al., respondents.

Leave to appeal, Appellate Court, Fourth District.

The Supreme Court today DENIED the petition for leave

to appeal in the above entitled cause.

Stamos, J., took no part.

The mandate of this Court will issue to the Appellate Court

on October 28, 1988.

27a

No. 66970

In Che Supreme Court

of Che State of Illinois

IN THE MATTER OF: ie

CHARLES LARRANCE

Appellant-Petitioner

= Appeal from Fourth

THE ILLINOIS HUMAN RIGHTS District Appellate

COMMISSION, THE ILLINOIS Court of the State of

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN Illinois

RIGHTS, MACON COUNTY >

FARM BUREAU, COUNTRY

CASUALTY INSURANCE COM- No. 4-82-0205

PANY, COUNTRY INSURANCE

COMPANY, COUNTRY MUT-

UAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

COUNTRY LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY, and COUNTRY CAP-

ITAL MANAGEMENT COMPANY,

Appellee-Respondent.

of

MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF MOTION OF

AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF CHARLES

LARRANCE’S PETITION FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL

Jerald Beene, by his attorney, Gary H. Palm, Mandel Legal

Aid Clinic, respectfully submits this Memorandum of Law in

support of Charles Larrance’s Petition for Leave to Appeal filed

in this case, and states as follows:

28a

THIS COURT SHOULD ACCEPT

THIS APPEAL BECAUSE IT PRESENTS

A QUESTION OF GENERAL IMPORTANCE

Jerald Beene and approximately five thousand other com-

plainants are directly, adversely affected by the Fourth District’s

decision below. They may lose their rights to pursue their charges

of discrimination against their employers because of the faulty

procedures of the Human Rights Department, and through no

fault of their own. Jerald Beene was forced to have an attorney

accompany him to the Human Rights Department (the “Depart-

ment”) to ensure that the Department would prepare a timely

charge. Approximately five thousand persons have filed timely

Complaint Information Sheets (“CIS”), which were accepted by

the Department as “unperfected charges,” meeting the statute

of limitations criteria.1

1 The Department, pursuant to its Rules and Regulations, 56 Ill. Admin.

Code, Section 2520. 350 b), accepts a written statement from a com-

plainant (the CIS) as an unperfected charge. The Department estimated

in 1987 that over 5000 such unperfected charges have been accepted

since July, 1980. See Department of Human Right’s Exceptions to the

Recommended Order and Decision of the Administrative Law Judge

at 18, n.4, (May 26, 1987) Jose Gonzales and St. Anne’s Hospital, file

no. 1789, charge no. 1987 CF-1488, affirmed by the Ill. Human Rights

Commission (January 25, 1988).

EE |

29a

STATE OF ILLINOIS

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF: a

CHARLES LARRANCE

Complainant

AND CHARGE NOS):

P 1980 SN 0206

COUNTRY CASUALTY INSURANCE et al.

COMPANY, et al.,

Respondents

¢

ORDER AND DECISION

This matter comes before the Commission panel to review

a Supplemental Recommended Order and Decision submitted by

Administrative Law Judge Kenneth N. Parker, Jr. The Com-

plainant claims that he was discriminated against because of

a perceived handicap. The Respondent! claims that the Com-

plainant did not file a charge of discrimination within 180 days

after the alleged discriminatory event, as required by section 8

of the Fair Employment Practices Act.?

The Respondent claims that the failure of the Complainant

to file a timely charge of discrimination deprives the Human

Rights Commission of jurisdiction in this case. This matter was

remanded to the Administrative Law Section to determine if the

1 The Respondents in this case are a group of related companies.

Since they all have the same position with respect to the issues addressed

in this Order and Decision, they will sometimes be referred to collectively

as “the Respondent”.

2 The Fair Employment Practices Act has been repealed by the Human

Rights Act. Under section 9-102 of the Human Rights Act, the cause

of action does not abate. Instead, each charge pending at the time of

repeal was assumed by the Human Rights Commission at the same

stage of proceeding to which it had progressed prior to the effective

date of the Human Rights Act.

30a

Commission has jurisdiction to proceed to a decision on the merits

of the Complainant’s handicap discrimination claim.

SUPPLEMENTAL RECOMMENDED ORDER AND DECISION

The Administrative Law Judge finds that under the law

which is in effect at this time the date of an alleged discriminatory

termination is the date that the employee is informed that he

is “terminated”, not the last date of employment. Thus, if an

employee is told that he is terminated on April 1, but is allowed

to work until April 15, the employee must file a charge of

discrimination within 180 days of April 1. If the employee waits

until 180 days have elapsed from his last day of employment,

the charge will not be timely. The Administrative Law Judge’s

finding with respect to the current state of the law is based upon

the Appellate Court case of Board of Governors v. Rothbardt,

98 Ill App 3d 423, 53 Ill Dec. 951 (1981). It is undisputed that

the Rothbardt standard is the law in Illinois today.

If the Rothbardt standard is applied to the claim made by

the Complainant, the charge could not be considered timely. The

Complainant filed the charge some 199 days after he received

notice that certain employment contracts he had with the

Respondents would not be continued.

The Complainant argued to the Administrative Law Judge

that the Rothbardt standard should not be applied retroactively

to this case. The Rothbardt decision came down in 1981, after

the Complainant filed the instant charge. It is the Complainant’s

argument that it is unfair to apply the Rothbardt standard to

a decision he made prior to the date that the Appellate Court

decision was published.

The Administrative Law Judge states that the general rule

in Dlinois is that a court decision which interprets a statutory

provision is applied retroactively. Judge Parker states that it is

only in exceptional circumstances that a new court decision is

applied prospectively. He points out that the rule announced in

the Rothbardt decision was applied to Rothbardt herself, even

though Rothbardt filed her charge well before the Appellate Court

decision.

3la

The Complainant argued in front of the Administrative Law

Judge that a court decision should be applied prospectively if

retroactive application would affect rights which had vested by

reason of an earlier decision. The Complainant argues that the

Fair Employment Practices Commission had ruled that the 180

day period began to run from the last day of employment. Since

the Complainant relied upon this quasi-judicial decision, the

Rothbardt rule should not be applied retroactively.

The Administrative Law Judge found that an individual may

not acquire vested rights by relying on the law as interpreted

by a judicial body, unless the judicial body is the court of last

resort in the state. Since there had not been a binding declaration

by a court of last resort with respect to the 180 day rule at the

time that the Complainant filed his charge, he could not obtain

a “vested right” in the prior law. Thus, the Administrative Law

Judge ruled that the Rothbardt decision applied retroactively to

the facts of this case. Accordingly, he finds that the Complainant

failed to meet the 180 day deadline set out in the Fair Employment

Practices Act, because he filed his charge more than 180 days

after he received notice that hewould be terminated.

The Administrative Law Judge next considers whether the

actions of the Fair Employment Practices Commission worked

to deprive the Complainant of his right to try his case, without

due process of law. In the case of Logan v. Zimmerman Brush

Company, 455 U.S. 422 (1982) the United States Supreme Court

ruled that state action could not work to deprive a Complainant

of his right to try his case under the state anti-discrimination

law. In other words, a Complainant has a property interest in

a cause of action arising under Illinois law. This property interest

cannot be taken away by the state without a hearing which

comports with due process. Thus, the failure of the state to meet

a statutory deadline cannot deprive the Complainant of his cause

of action.

The Complainant argued in front of the Administrative Law

Judge that his failure to file his charge on a timely basis was

due to the fact that he relied upon misinformation from a state

agency. Thus, he contends that it was the state which took away

his cause of action. Accordingly, he argues that this case is

analogous to Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Company.

32a

The Administrative Law Judge accepted the Complainant’s

arguments with respect to the Constitutional question. On page

11 of the Supplemental Recommended Order and Decision the

Administrative Law Judge states that it was “state action” which

caused the late filings. Judge Parker states that it would be a

deprivation of due process to dismiss the instant claim based

upon the action of the state. Accordingly, the Administrative

Law Judge recommends that the case be considered on its merits,

because the Supreme Court case of Logan v. Zimmerman Brush

Company prevents the dismissal of a cause of action based upon

the malfeasance of the state.

Finally, the Administrative Law Judge rejects the Complain-

ant’s argument that he filed a timely charge on July 9, 1979.

The Complainant contended that he gave the Fair Employment

Practices Commission all the information it needed to file a charge

on that date. It is his contention that the signing of a document

which contains his allegations is a mere technical detail. Thus,

the signing of the ultimate charge in this case should “relate

back” to the date on which the Fair Employment Practices

Commission received the information upon which the charge

was based. Since this date was within the 180 day filing period,

the Complainant argues that his charge was timely filed. Judge

Parker rejects this argument based upon the clear wording of

the statute which requires that charges be in writing, signed

and filed within 180 days of the alleged discriminatory event.

THE RESPONDENT’S EXCEPTIONS

The Respondent argues that the case of Logan v. Zimmerman

Brush Company does not apply to the facts of the case at bar.

In Logan it was argued that the Complant’s charge should be

dismissed because the Fair Employment Practices Commission

failed to conwene a fact finding conference within 120 days of

the filing of the charge. This position was upheld by the Illinois

Supreme Court. Zimmerman Brush Company v. Fair Employ-

ment Practices Commission, 82 I11.2d 99, 411 N.E. 2d 277 (1980).

The U.S. Supreme Court said that such a rule violated the

Complainant’s right to due process. Justice Blackmun, speaking

for the Court, said that the state may not finally destroy a property

Os

33a

interest without first giving the putative owner an opportunity

to present his claim. of entitlement. This language is accompanied

by a footnote which reads as follows:

This is not to suggest, of course that the state must

consider the merits of the claim when the claimant

fails to comply with a reasonable procedural require-

ment or fails to file a timely charge. (Logan, supra,

fn.7; emphasis in original)

As can be seen from the above quotation, the U.S. Supreme

Court has made it crystal clear that the rationale behind the

Logan decision does not apply when the claimant fails to file

a timely charge. Thus, it appears that the Logan decision is not

analogous to this case.

The Administrative Law Judge states, however, that it was

not the Complainant’s fault that the charge was not timely filed.

Judge Parker states that the Complainant’s failure to file on

a timely basis was a direct result of the Commission’s ruling

and its employee’s statement. Thus, he concludes that it was

state action, and not the Complainant’s fault which led to the

failure to file a timely charge.

The problem with this analysis is that it directly contradicts

the portion of the Supplemental Order and Decision which states

that no one may obtain a vested right in a judicial determination

unless the determination is made by the court of last resort in

the state. When the employee of the Fair Employment Practices

Commission told the Complainant that the filing period began

to run on the last day of employment, the complainant was

receiving the position of the Fair Employment Practices Com-

mission, as stated in the case of Rothbardt and Northeastern

Illinois University, 4 Ill FEP Rep. 8. This decision is clearly not

an interpretation of the Fair Employment Practices Act by a

Court of last resort in Illinois. Thus, under Judge Parker’s own

analysis, the Complainant could have obtained no vested right

in the FEPC interpretation of the law. Accordingly, the fact that

the Appellate Court reversed the Commission’s decision cannot

be considered a “taking” of the Complainant’s “property” within

the meaning of the due process clause. Since the Complainant

had no right to rely on the position of the Fair Employment

34a

Practices Commission, his failure to file a timely charge with

the FEPC comes squarely within the wording of footnote 7 to

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Company. In view of the fact that

~ the U.S. Supreme Court has specifically stated that the failure

of a Complainant to file a timely charge does not, by itself,

constitute a taking of a property interest without due process,

the Administrative Law Judge’s analysis must be rejected. The

case of Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Company does not require

that the Complainant be given a hearing, even though he did

not file a timely charge.®

In his response to the Respondent’s exceptions the Complain-

ant sets forth another argument in support of his position that

the Commission should consider this case on its merits. He states

that even if the charge were not timely filed, and even if there

were no Constitutional deprivation, his action in going to the

Fair Employment Practices Commission and asking to file a

charge worked to toll the 180 limitations. In other words, he argues

that the 180 day time limitation is subject to concepts such as

equitable tolling.

This position has recently been rejected oy the Illinois

Appellate Court. In the case of Pickering v. Illinois Human Rights

Commission, 146 Ill.App.3d 340, 496 N.E.2d 746 (1986) the

Appellate Court ruled that the 180 day filing deadline is not in

the nature of a statute of limitations, subject to the doctrines

of waiver, estoppel and equitable tolling. . DLApp.3d. _,

496 N.E. 2d 746, 750. According to the Pickering court, the failure

to file within the 180 day period extinguishes the cause of action.

Thus, once it is established that a timely charge was not filed,

the Human Rights Commission no longer has jurisdiction over

the case. The court went on to say that if the employer misleads

the Complainant in a way which prevents him from filing a

timely charge, the employer may be estopped from raising the

3 What we have said here applies only to instances where Commission

employees transmit to Complainants correct information concerning the

Commission’s position. need not decide in this case if the due process

clause of the Constitution is violated when a state employee gives a

Complainant incorrect information which leads to an untimely filing.

35a

180 day period as a defense. According to the Pickering Court,

this is a narrow exception to the 180 day jurisdictional time limit.

In this case there is no evidence that the Respondent misled

the Complainant with respect to the time for filing a charge

of discrimination. Accordingly, the Complainant cannot argue

that the defendant should be estopped from asserting the

jurisdictional defense. Since it is quite clear that the Complainant

did not file his charge within 180 days, under the Pickering

decision it appears that the Human Rights Commission is without

jurisdiction to proceed.

The Complainant urges the Commission to follow the federal

court case of Dartt v. Shell Oil Company, 539 F.2d 1256 (10th

Cir. 1976). The Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit held in

that case that equitable tolling would apply to the action or lack

of action of a federal employee. The Dartt case is based upon

the proposition that the filing period under federal law is a statute

of limitations. This is consistent with the ruling of the U'S.

Supreme Court that the filing period under Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act 1964 is a statute of limitations, and not jurisdictional.

Zipes v. Transworld Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385 (1982). We find

much merit in the approach used by the Supreme Court in Zipes.

We are not, however, writing on a clean slate. As stated above,

the Illinois Appellate Court has already determined that the Zipes

doctrine does not apply in Illinois. The 180 day deadline is in

the nature of a jurisdictional limitation, and not a s.atute of

limitation. We have no authority to decline to follow a binding

ruling of the Appellate Court of Illinois. Consequently, we find

that there is no jurisdiction vested in the Human Rights

Commission to reach the merits of this case.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED

1. That the Complaint filed in the instant matter is

dismissed with prejudice on the ground that the Human Rights

Commission has no jurisdiction over the claims made by the

Complainant.

2. That the Supplemental Recommended Order and Deci-

sion in this matter is reversed. The factual findings of the

Administrative Law Judge are accepted by the Commission only

eee

36a

to the extent that they are not inconsistent with this Order and

Decision.

3. Thatall motions and exceptions not previously dealt with

by the Commission, and not specifically mentioned in this Order

and Decision are hereby denied.

4. That this Order and Decision is final and appealable.

(Commissioner Lillian A. Mitchell, Commissioner Randall

Raynolds, Commissioner Howard R. Veal, Sr.)

HUMAN RIGHTS COMMISSION

Lillian A. Mitchell

Randall Raynolds

Howard R. Veal, Sr.

Entered:

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.