Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Aiello v. United States

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

© | YTvep

8 if FIL

8 I I 06 TEC tO S88

PGE SERN, JR.

| CLERK

In The |

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

October Term 1988

No.

ANDREA AIELLO, a/k/a "ANTONIO AIELLO,"

and LORENZO SCADUTO,

Petitioners,

—against—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

WILLIAM E. LORE, Esq.

Attorney for Petitioner Aiello

118-21 Queens Boulevard

Forest Hills, New York 11375

(718) 544-8006

MICHAEL VINCENT RICCI, Esq.*

Attorney for Petitioner Scaduto

11-01 154th Street

Whitestone, New York 11357

(718) 767-2230

*Attorney of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

. Do Ethical standards apply equally throughout the

United States to give equal protection to U:S. citi-

zens (with No waivers) in reversing convictions or do

ETHICS apply only to California and only in favor of

the Government in affirming convictions (with waivers)?

. Should the trial judge have held a Rule 44(c) or Sixth

Amendment inquiry when he knew of at least six con-

flicts in the record and who also should have known

about conflicts which were “common knowledge” and

“all of Brooklyn knew”?

. Does the U.S. Government have an affirmative ethical

duty to disclose conflicts which were “common know-

ledge” or do they only disclose, oppose or “manu-

facture” conflicts when defense counsel do a “fantastic

job”

. Was it impermissible for Evseroff to exclusively control

all referrals and

. Was it constitutional, after a successful appeal, for the

trial judge to resentence Scaduto in absentia?

. Was it fair to convict and upon resentence for the trial

judge to increase Scaduto’s sentence from 35 years to 45

years on an 848 count where the sole evidence is a note-

book found in someone else’s house and which had

coded names?

ae

10.

Il.

12.

13.

14.

Is it fair for a Court and a Government in order to get a

fugitive, to hold U.S. citizens hostage?

Was the trial judge prejudiced against Scaduto?

Can an Orwellian videotape based only upon a “search

warrant order” be used against U.S. citizens without any

Title II] or Fourth Amendment safeguards?

After a successive motion and recusal of the trial judge,

should the new District Judge have vacated the con-

victions after saying:

“I can tell you, if this was my trial, and I dont say

this critically of anybody, that I would have granted

a new trial”?

After finding only “minimum standards of competency,”

“appearance of impropriety,” “disturbing nature,”

“laundering,” “delicts,” and ethics only “for the future,”

should the District Judge have vacated the convictions?

Should the same Trial Judge, Government & Court of

Appeals have used different standards compared to

Ruggiero on the juror issue?

Should the Federal Government in New Jersey

(Gambino) have higher standards than in New York?

When a Father controls, should the Court of Appeals

apply different standards for trial in a Federal Court as

compared to a State trial?

17.

18.

ill

. Were petitioners Fourth Amendment rights violated?

Were petitioners Fifth Amendment rights violated?

Were petitioners Sixth Amendment rights violated?

After a successive motion to expand before a determina-

tion on the merits, locating hidden information in a

10,000 page record, comments by the trial judge, and

sworn testimony, should the Court of Appeals have

restricted petitioners Constitutional and Ethical rights?

. Is this case “on all fours” or a fortiori to Wheat?

We en ano

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

OD 6. s:o da dnc bbs dUEiw ees kbs vARE ORE

Pe FOE PTE CET ET PTL PELE ere errr ee

Constitutional, Statutory, and Other

PE ND, 6 ck vtec veaddeseandeavieuaxern

OE RD ccc cdcncdsepuaa dpxadescoanwen

Bee ee NS bs do hk de RW aR See SUR ER eA eered

Ue PD REG dino os base cadexeseueruen

Judge Costantino’s Behavior................00008-

Successive Motion to Expand ................000-

Judge Weinstein’s Oral Determination .............

Evseroff’s Insensitivity to Ethics...................

Rabin as Evserofi’s Employee ..........ccccsccees

Evseroff/ Rabin’s Representation

i SN ica Saw bees ws cs sb cekweaen 10

Evseroff’s Recruitment of

Coogerative Co-Counsel .....ccccccccccsccsccees 13

Evseroff’s Control of Legal Fees ................. 14

Impermissible Division of Fees ...............4.. 15

eg BO RC err 16

The Warehouse Videotape—Pretrial.............. 17

The Warehouse Videotape—At Trial ............. 19

ORIN OE WRU NOE so eek ness bbb0b5 se seewe 21

PEE OO Ge WIE oon ccc ccccccsceccnseees 22

No Confrontation of Witnesses ..............206. 23

po er ee er re 24

Comvestiets GG BemtOMG? 20.6 cc ccccvcsenncaceenn 25

Motion to Expand the Remand.................. 26

SUR TH OO inns ccnaccccesacévvsess 27

The Appeal Below (Aiello Ill) ................4.. 27

Cs 65.65 wv cen i ob b.caveneee sentersneneee 29

APPENDIX

. Order of U.S. Court of Appeals, 2d Circuit, 10/21/88

. Order, 3/3/88, on decision of U.S.D.J. Weinstein

. Memorandum & Order, 2/29/88 (Weinstein, U.S.D.J.)

. Oral determinations in proceedings, 2/8/88 (" ")

. Opinion, U.S.C.A.2d, 3/18/87

. Decision, 6/5/86 (Costantino, U.S.D.J.)

. Opinion, U.S.C.A.2d, 3/18/87

. Order, U.S.C.A.2d, 5/6/86

. Order, U.S.C.A.2d, 6/27/88

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

U.S. Constitution

pe REPT ER er ery 2, 19

gs 665s 5 a6 on wale eae 23, 24, 28, 30

Sixth Amendment.............02. 5, 23, 24, 25, 28, 30

Cases

Alderman v. United States, 394 U.S. 165 (1969)...... 19

Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41 (1967).............. 3

Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123 (1968) .... 25, 28

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967)...... 3

Camera v. Fogg, 658 F.2d 80 (3rd Cir. 1981) ........ 14

Curler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980) ..... 4, 5, Il, 28

Dalia v. United States, 441 U.S. 238 (1979). .......... 3

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974) ........... 25, 28

In re Evans, 452 F.2d 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1971),

cert. denied, 408 U.S. 903 (1972) ............ ee eee 3

Green v. United States, 365 U.S. 301 (1961) ......... 28

Hill v. United States, 368 U.S. 424 (1962) ........... 28

Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475 (1978)....... 5, 28

Osborn v. United States, 385 U.S. 323 (1966) ......... 3

People v. Gallina, 95 A.D.2d 336,

466 N.Y.S. 2d 414 (2nd Dept. 1983) .............. 16

Pe Rt ae Cres cacéveves hha odes s cad euedn 4

Solina v. United States, 709 F.2d 160

es bebe ke oe eso 6eeeee eames 28

Strickland v. Washington,

Re Ais CUD nob hoes caceccewcvseees 5, 27, 28

United States v. Aiello, 771 F.2d 621

Ce Ge, See 8 PD kciaccadncsss Appendix “G”,

3, 4, 6, 12, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27

United States v. Aiello, 814 F.2d 109

(2d Cir. 1987) (“Aiello II”) ..... Appendix “E”, 6, 8, 9

United States v. Aiello, 681 F.Supp. 1019

Cs SD £6 debs wear scans Appendix “C”, 2, 27

United States v. Aiello,

(Oral Determinations) ............. Appendix “D”, 8

United States v. Aiello, unreported ..... Appendix “A”,

2, 28

United States v. Biasucci, 1988, 786 F.2d 1986,

cert. denied, — U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 104............ 27

United States v. Cancilla, 725 F.2d 867

SE Meld dank ba bad ONE NEO EUR RAO Ue 64a soos 5, 9, 28

United States v. Cataldo, 625 F.Supp. 1255

ive wh cea deh oe eeek award en naeneee 28

United States v. Curcio, 680 F.2d 881 |

ee ee stbadecedasun 28

United States v. Gambino, (D.N.J.

AG he Vata Nabe toa wn 4be 86 6a. 4,9, 16, 26

United States v. Garcia- Duarte,

Fe ee ee ED hn cduceccdanvécasacnaen 24

United States v. Giordano, 416 U.S. 505 (1976) ....... 3

United States v. Hess, 482 F.2d 38

a NE teeta ik Sr las bis 6a ce k-4 a 8 0-4-0 de de 3

United States v. Katz, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) ........... 3

United States v. Lilla, 699 F.2d 99

og REE Ee Fe ern 3

United States v. New York Telephone Co.,

a oe wok eae ae ee 3

United States v. Ruggiero, 88-1083

aces bebe cata sans 4

United States v. Scafidi, 564 F.2d 633

gre ee a soa rn ep a ead s 18

United States v. Torres, 751 F.2d 875

(7th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

ee ee a ek ede daeaneeeas 3

United States v. Tortorello, 480 F.2d 764

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 866 (1973) ......... 3

United States v. Tortorello

ee ee case eeeeanas penned 2)

Wheat v. United States,

Se a ee Uo oko d006 aoe wneedeoane 27, 28

Wood v. Georgia, 450 U.S. 261 (1981) ............... 5

Statutes

Title I11, Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets

Acts of 1968, 18 U.S.C. 2510-2520 ............ 3, 18

ee SE So inc ance kes hh eae dnees eek ban 4, 11, 25

ee EE Fu eee ee Eh eSKKEE HS wee Appendix “B”

Rules

= NN os racine vieewncanens 20

Rule 32(a)(1) - 1966 Amendment,

Ee le ean eas bees owe 28

ee ick secs edeuatexewanees 27

ee ka daadeu been eh seanmees 3

ee ee Lo acta cede dasadeea paws 24

ee Se GE. ob ho beens ba bedeen ons 20 3

Code of Professional Responsibility

N.Y. Code of Professional Responsibility ............ 5

DR 2-106(C), N.Y. Code of

POCMIORS! MesPOmsibility . . 2. ccc ccsscscccess 26

EE Chews eee cn er ccéessveadnssendce Ie ae

EC 2-20, N.Y. Code of

Professional Responsibility ...............eeee0e. 26

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1988

No.

ANDREA AIELLO, a/k/a "ANTONIO AIELLO,"

and LORENZO SCADUTO,

Petitioners,

—against—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

WILLIAM E. LORE, Esq.

Attorney for Petitioner Aiello

MICHAEL VINCENT RICCI, Esq.

Attorney for Petitioner Scaduto

OPINION BELOW

The opinion below (Appendix A) arises under docket

number 88-2140 under the title UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA, Defendant-Appellee, against ANDREA

AIELLO a/k/a ANTONIA AIELLO and LORENZO

SCADUTO, Petitioners-Appellants. Andrea Aiello and

Lorenzo Scaduto seek certiorari from this Court to review

the order of the Second Circuit Court of Appeals affirming

the judgment of the District Court, Eastern District of

New York, 681 F. Supp. 1019(E.D.N.Y. 1988) (Appendix C).

JURISDICTION

The Circuit Court order was filed October 21, 1988, and

this petition was filed within 60 days.

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND OTHER

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The law involved in this case is the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United States.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The first appeal. Andrea Aiello and Lorenzo Scaduto, both

law-abiding US citizens with no prior criminal record, were

arrested in September 1983 and convicted in July 1984 on

federal drug charges, though it was not shown they sold or

possessed any drugs, records, equipment or proceeds.' Con-

fined since arrest, petitioners appealed. Both joined in each

other’s Briefs.

'In contrast, Salvatore Bartolotta (“Sal”), his wife Francesca, nee Ragusa,

and Carlogero Salemi were found to have made sales and possessed drugs, para-

phernalia, guns, and drug records.

iced ten LN LINEA A BN Sivoo renin

DA Ma ee a AEH beacon’ 8.9 are vi aah

Aiello argued: The surreptitious videotaping of his ware-

house was unlawful and unconstitutional, and its admission

was plain error, requiring reversal. No statute or rule

authorized the district court to permit the videotaping. Title

111 of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of

1968, 18 USC 2510-2520, encompasses only the interception

of spoken communications, not visual activities. United

States v. Torres, 751 F.2d 875 (7th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

470 U.S. 1087 (1985). Rules 41(b) and 57(b) are restricted to

ordinary search warrants for physical evidence and authori-

zations for pen register devices, which are far less intrusive.

United States v. New York Telephone Co., 434 U.S. 159

(1977) (dissenting opinion). Courts have no inherent power to

issue video warrants, and even if they did, the order here was

unconstitutional, because the standards for assessing its

validity: must be as stringent as those for Title III] orders,

United States v. Katz, 389 U.S. 347 (1967), United States v.

Giordano, 416 U.S. 505 (1974), /n re Evans, 452 F.2d 1239

(D.C.Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 408 U.S. 903 (1972). The video-

taping was not shown to be necessary and thus was consti-

tutionally unreasonable. Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41

(1967), Osborn v. United States, 385 U.S. 323 (1966), Camara

v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967), United States \.

Tortorello, 480 F.2d 764 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 866

(1973), United States y. Lilla, 699 F.2d 99 (2d Cir. 1983),

Dalia v. United States, 441 U.S. 238 (1979), United States v.

Hess, 482 F.2d 38 (2d Cir. 1973).

The Circuit Court found the record insufficient to review

the order and held that petitioners waived the issue because

their trial counsel had failed to raise constitutional or Title III

grounds to suppress, failed to object on those grounds, and

made affirmative use of the videotaped evidence. Aiello’s

conviction was affirmed. United States v. Aiello, 771 F.2d

621 (2d Cir. 1985) (“Aiello 1”) (Appendix G).

The Circuit Court found meritless Scaduto’s arguments

that a notebook found in the Bartolotta house was er-

roneously admitted into evidence as a co-conspirator’s state-

ment without a showing that it was authored by a co-

conspirator; that his counsel’s summation was unreasonably

curtailed; that one of the search warrants was defective; and

that the trial judge’s instructions permitted the jury to convict

Scaduto of managing a criminal enterprise in the absence of

proof he supervised five other persons. It rejected his point

that the trial judge’s failure to excuse a juror who doubted her

own impartiality, and his ex parte contacts with her and an

FBI agent, denied petitioners a fair trial? and upheld an

extended wiretap of a co-conspirator’s phone, but did vacate

Scaduto’s conviction and remand for the purpose of com-

bining his convictions and resentencing him.

Motion for a new trial. ln December 1985, after the Aiello /

decision but before Scaduto’s resentencing, petitioners

moved under Rule 33 for a new trial “in the interests of

justice.” Aiello asserted that his trial counsel, Taub, was

forced on him and was the “puppet” of Evseroff, trial counsel

for Scaduto, whose motion was based on Evseroff’s in-

effective assistance of counsel. Judge Costantino resentenced

Scaduto in absentia over objection. He gave Scaduto an

additional ten years on the 848 count. After two mandamus

*Judge Costantino denied the defense request fora mistrial because he did not

want to waste a ten-week trial. Contrast United States v. Ruggiero (2d Cir. 88-

1083), where someone contacted only an ex-juror, yet at the government's

request he granted a mistrial after seven months of trial.

Some of the counsel in that case—Carnesi, Lombardino, Fischetti—are the

same as here. Carnesi was also involved in Gambino, infra, and the Pizza case

and testified at a post-conviction hearing on Evseroff’s conflicts of interest

between his clients in the Gambino and Pizza cases.

hes AC lilt RROT CRORE rll tgs os obese

petitions (Appendix H), he denied the motion summarily,

finding no denial of the effective assistance of counsel

(Append:x F).

On appeal, petitioners maintained that their Sixth Amend-

ment rights were violated. They cited the failure to raise Title

III or constitutional objections to a videotape; the admission

of the Bartolotta notebook; Evseroff’s conflicts of interest in

his representation of the fugitive “number one” co-defendant

Filippo Ragusa and co-conspirator Sal Bartolotta and the

failure to call Sal as a witness, United States v. Cancilla, 725

F.2d 867 (2d Cir. 1984), DR 5-105(C) Code of Professional

Responsibility; Evseroff’s failure to discuss the conflicts with

Scaduto and Judge Costantino’s failure to inquire under

Rule 44(c), Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984),

Curler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980), Holloway v.

Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475 (1978); Evseroff’s recruitment of

Taub and other lawyers, Wood v. Georgia, 450 U.S. 261

(1981); the improper division and exclusive control of cash

fees, Code of Professional Responsibility; the failure to have

petitioners testify; the simultaneous representation of

Scaduto, Francesca, Sal and Salemi by Jeffrey Rabin,

Evseroff’s employee, and other breaches of professional

responsibility; and Scaduto’s in absentia resentence was

illegal and unconstitutional.

In its decision the Circuit Court began:

Loyalty of a lawyer to his client’s cause is the sine

qua non of the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee that

an accused is entitled to effective assistance of

counsel.

The Circuit Court cited allegations—“troublesome ones that

may not properly be ignored”—of Rabin’s association with

Evseroff, Evseroff’s control of the defense, the failure to call

Sal Bartolotta or to discuss potential conflicts with clients,

contacting defendants without counsel’s knowledge or

consent, and the failure to preserve the confidences of clients

—all “genuine issues of material fact”. It “reversed and re-

manded for further inquiry into appellants’ claims.” United

States v. Aiello, 814 F.2d 109 (2d Cir. 1987) (“Aiello IT’)

(Appendix E).

Judge Costantino’s behavior. Taub swears *** “Frankly if

Mr. Costantino wasn't the judge there, Scaduto would have

been acquitted” and “I believe that Judge Costantino’s

handling of the case prejudiced Scaduto completely.”

In open court, Judge Costantino at various times said:

Power, I have. I told a group of children how

powerful | am.

The Court of Appeals can recommend anything

they want. I’m still the trial judge and I will do it my

way. If they don’t like it they can send it back again.

That’s where I stand with it.

Let the Court of Appeals tell me | am wrong again.

It doesn’t make any difference.

I don't care what the Court of Appeals says. If they

want to make a mockery of it—but not in my court.

I know he would never testify in this court. | am

certain of it. | am certain Bartolotta would never

have testified.

| am not the Court of Appeals. Some day they are

going to learn about people in the courtroom at a

trial. That is the kind of judge I am. I don't quote

sections of law. This thing works very well for me,

thank God, until the Lord takes it away from me.

No more.

When I speak from the bench, if Costantino said it,

he won’t back off on it. They know me well in the

Court of Appeals.

Okay, I will have an order issued for Sal Bartolotta

*** | will bring in Sal Bartolotta ***. This is my

hearing not your hearing. I ask all the questions and

I become the lawyer ***. I will set up the hearing.

***I’m not concerned how other judges handle

their courtroom. I’m not concerned and they all

know it***,

***One thing nobody believes, | have a photo-

graphic mind. | can tell you what they were doing

the day of the trial. | don't have a piece of paper in

front of me when I try a case. I have no minutes. |

don't write anything in a book or anything else. |

can tell you what happens during the trial.

The law gave me a photographic memory, and |

never can erase it until I desire to do so.

***Isn't it plain here, Mr. Esroth held back

$500,000 unless they agreed to certain things which

they gave to him; Isn't that so?

If | had to look at how all the lawyers are hired in

the case I couldn't come out on the bench. |

wouldn't be able to live with myself. If | examined

how every lawyer was retained I wouldn't come out

on the bench. Take that and put it in your pipe and

smoke it.

She [Francesca] has her method of release and she

doesn’t want to do it; that’s her business, not mine. |

told her to turn in her father and she'll be released

from jail.

You don’t want to waive for resentencing? ***The

Court finds there is no need [for Scaduto] to be

present and it’s the Court’s ruling and not the

defendant’s ruling that’s being recessed.

Successive motion to expand. After the remand,

petitioners made a successive motion to expand. After Judge

Costantino’s recusal, the matter was assigned to District

Judge Weinstein, who granted the motion. Depositions were

conducted and the transcripts accepted into evidence, along

with the motion to expand and the testimony of Evseroff and

several other witnesses taken at a brief hearing before Judge

Weinstein.

Judge Weinstein’s oral determination. At oral argument

(Appendix D), Judge Weinstein stated:

I can tell you, if this was my trial, and I don’t say this

critically of anybody, that | would have granted a

new trial.”

Evseroff's insensitivity to ethics. Evseroff’s history is well

known to the Circuit Court, which observed in Aiello //:

The affidavits submitted, including those submitted

by counsel, if true, raise disquieting questions about

trial counsel’s insensitivity to issues of professional

responsibility.

Evseroff confessed his ignorance of the law on conflicts of

interest in representing multiple defendants. His involvement

in conflicts came to petitioners’ attention when they learned

that Evseroff was the unnamed attorney in the Cancilla case.

Evseroff knew he was the target of a criminal investigation in

Cancilla before the superseding indictment in the case at bar

was filed. Rabin knew of the investigation and knew Evseroff

knew of it. The government knew Evseroff was a target and

had told him so. “All of Brooklyn knew,” except petitioners.

After Aiello //, petitioners learned of at least three other

cases involwng Evseroff in conflicts of interest. In a State

case, he had represented a defendant, who was convicted

and sentenced to 12 to 25 years; a prosecution witness who

could have been the actual perpetrator was the client of

Evseroff’s co-tenant/landlord, and Rabin did a criminal

motion on his behalf. Judge Weinstein noted the “disturbing

nature” of Evseroff’s conflicts also in United States v.

Gambino (D.N.J. 84-CR-98),3 and United States vy.

Tortorello (E.D.N.Y. 80-CR-574).

Rabin as Evseroff's employee. Evseroff called Rabin his

“employee” or “associate.” Rabin was his de facto employee

for years, being paid, as Judge Weinstein noted, a monthly

stipend, extra for appeals, motions, trials and additional time

spent on Evseroff’s matters. He got extra income from clients

Evseroff referred to him where “there were multiple de-

fendants and possible conflicts *** both in the state court

[and] the federal court.” In this case, Rabin had no file of his

own, worked with Evseroff’s, and left it in Evseroff’s file

cabinet when he moved out. He did motions in Evseroff’s

3The US Attorney has opposed Evseroff representing any client inthe District

of New Jersey ever since.

10

name only, and the government always reached him at

Evseroff’s phone number.‘

Evseroff/Rabins’ representation of co-conspirators.

Evseroff was the lawyer and instrumentality of the Ragusa

family. He and Rabin had a prior relationship with Filippo

(“Tarzan”) Ragusa, the fugitive “number one” defendant in

this case, and with his son-in-law and co-conspirator Sal, a

drug dealer. Evseroff represented Ragusa in 1982 on a drug

conviction in absentia in Sicily,5 and Ragusa and Sal ona

customs matter in 1983. Ragusa and Sal came to Evseroff’s

suite often then, as did another drug dealer named Rina.

Ragusa paid Evseroff $5000 (later given to Francesca and

then to Rabin) on the drug matter. Petitioners had nothing to

do with these matters and never met Rabin or Evseroff until

after their arrest.

On September 19, 1983, Aiello was arrested and arraigned

in Buffalo, later transferred to New York City; Scaduto and

Sal were arrested at Ragusa’s pasiry shop and arraigned in

the Southern District. Ragusa, under constant surveillance

since early 1983, “pranced out” of the pastry shop with Rita

Volpe. Ragusa’s daughters Francesca and Maria asked

Evseroff to represent all the defendants. He demanded

$500,000 for himself and co-counsel, and got $63,000 to rep-

resent Sal. He gave Rabin $10,000 cash to represent Scaduto.

Rabin appeared for Scaduto and “of counsel” to Evseroff for

Sal in the Southern District.

In October 1983 the case was moved to the Eastern

‘The government knew, based on information accumulated over the years,

that Rabin was in Evseroff’s suite.

‘The government knew during the prosecution of the case at bar, that

Evseroff previously represented Ragusa.

District. Sal was dropped for prosecution in State court, but

he and co-defendant Salemi were still regarded as co-

conspirators. Sal was indicted on two A-! felonies, which

Evseroff told him carried a potential maximum sentence of

50. years to life. A superseding federal indictment was filed

January 13, 1984, adding “848” counts against Ragusa,

Scaduto, and Aiello.

Defense and prosecution regarded the federal and state

cases to be essentially the same case. Assistant US Attorney

Summers told Judge Costantino it was a “single operation

*** covered by different violations of law.” He and his

partner Cunningham (like Summers, now in private practice)

made frequent contact with the State prosecutors, who came

to the federal wiretap hearings and were “having the same

problems *** establishing the legality of the wiretaps.”

Summers spoke with them “dozens of times” and claims they

would ‘have prosecuted Sal on an 848 count had the State

finished its case before the federal trial started. He says that

prosecuting Sal on an 848 count remains a viable prospect,

that Evseroff knew this, and that the government spurned

attempts by his lawyers to get Sal a plea covering both federal

and State cases.®

On October 31, 1983, in the Eastern District, on behalf of

Scaduto, Rabin filed a formal notice of appearance. See

Cuvler, supra at 352 (J. Brennan). No withdrawal is on

record. Rabin represented Scaduto in December 1983 before

Judge Costantino. Though he was assigned to represent

Francesca in January 1984, he continued as Scaduto’s de facto

lawyer, being obligated, as Evseroff’s employee, to do

*The fact is. however, that 848 counts were not lodged against Scaduto and

Aiello until after Sal was dropped from the federal case. and the US Attorney

has yet to reinstate federal charges against him.

12

Scaduto’s motions without returning the $10,000 retainer.

Evseroff/ Rabin represented Sa! until after the federal trial.

Even after Steven Scaring was substituted for Evseroff, Rabin

was present for Sal’s plea negotiations.

Rabin was asked to represent Salemi and spoke with him

often until May 1984, when a State prosecutor calied atten-

tion to the conflict between Salemi and Sal. The State judge

ordered Rabin off the case’ but, disregarding the order, Rabin

continued sub rosa, advising Salemi on his guilty plea prior to

the federal trial. Evseroff also spoke with Salemi.

Rabin was asked to represent Francesca after her arrest in

1984.8 for a fee of $25,000, $10,000 of which was paid by

crediting the cash he got to represent Scaduto, plus later cash

payments. Rabin represented ber through her first appeal.’

’In contrast, Rabin had filed a notice of appearance for Scaduto and appeared

before Judge Costantino on his behalf, then later appeared for his co-defendant

Francesca before Judge Costantino, who said and did nothing about it.

Judge Costantino also knew Evseroff was the lawyer for both Scaduto and

Sal. Evseroff told him no less than three times during the course of the trial. The

government knew of the multiple representation: Summers calls it “common

knowledge.”

In addition, before the trial, Letters Rogatory arrived from Italy, requiring

the US Attorney to produce Scaduto, Aiello, Sal, Ragusa and others to answer

criminal charges arising in Italy from the same allegations in the case at bar.

Defense counsel knew of these charges before the trial; Rabin even told Judge

Costantino on the record that Italian judges were here conducting inquiries “for

at least the last week” and that an Assistant US Attorney had been appointed

“special commissioner.” Summers, so appointed by Judge Costantino, deposed

Scaduto (who needed an interpreter) and Sal. who were both represented by

Evseroff at the hearing, and Aiello, who was represented by his counsel in

Aiello 1.

‘Actually, Rabin’s notice of appearance was filed by another of Evseroff's

employees, Joseph Levy, a non-lawyer.

*The constant shuffling of clients between Evseroff and Rabin succeeded in

confusing even co-counsel. Sussman was not sure whether Evseroff or Rabin

represented Sal; others thought Rabin did.

ed a etl

ae ee

tam

22 A adel Rt

)

13

Evseroff's recruitment of cooperative co-counsel. To rep-

resent the rest of the co-conspirators, Evseroff enlisted

attorneys with little or no federal experience (Candelaria,

Carnesi, Taub!®) and his suitemates (Candelaria, Sussman,

Rabin), recommended them to the Ragusa family, and set

their fees (only Taub denies this), which were never discussed

with the clients. Evseroff handled all Candelaria’s “financial

details” and introduced her to Volpe after first advising Volpe

in regard to a grand jury subpoena. Candelaria asked

Evseroff to set her legal fee and did not discuss it with Volpe.

She admitted that Evseroff, not Volpe, had retained her.!!

Evseroff brought in Lombardino to replace a lawyer who

was representing an informant in another matter, and set his

fee. Taub was brought in to replace Aiello’s attorney in

Buffalo, Ragusa’s family fearing Aiello might turn informant.

Rabin was sent to Buffalo to oust the prior attorney. Aiello

was told the Ragusa family would pay for his lawyer only if it

was Taub, who got cash payments even before Evseroff

introduced him at MCC, and admits the fee was not discussed

with Aiello. Aiello was upset with Taub throughout the case

and strongly stated he wanted another lawyer, complaining to

Rabin, Maria, and others that Taub did not visit him or

discuss the case with him.!?

Cunningham, in a letter to the Circuit Court, excluded Taub from a dis-

cussion of experienced federal lawyers.

''She notarized an affidavit filed in support of the motion for a new trial.

'2Evseroff brought Auerbach, a Bronx attorney employed by Richman for

$400 weekly and a free office in exchange for a third share of a!l his private and

CJA fees, into the case as a CJA. Judge Costantino made several phone calls

and appointed him, though the client owned a house and a business. After the

trial, he submitted a CJA voucher for $18,000. but Judge Costantino allowed

him only $12,000, a third of which he turned over to Richman. Auerbach re-

ceived free daily copy of pretrial and trial minutes, almost 6000 pages, which

“everyone grabbed for.” Before the trial ended, Auerbach told Evseroff about

(footnote continued on next page)

4

As Judge Costantino confessed:

If | had to look at how all the lawyers are hired in

the case I couldn’t come out on the bench. |

wouldn't be able to live with myself. If | examined

how every lawyer was retained I wouldn't come out

on the bench. Take that and put it in your pipe and

smoke it.

Evseroff’s control of legal fees. Defense counsel deny knowing

the source of the legal fee monies. Assistant US Attorney

Gregory O’Connell indicates it was Ragusa (father of co-

defendant Francesca) and Rina who “controlled the purse

strings,” Camera v. Fogg, 658 F.2d 80 (2d Cir. 1981).

Ragusa’s daughters brought up the first payment but later

payments came from the Ragusa’s cohorts, Nick Aiello

(cousin to Ragusa, no relation to petitioner) and Rina. Pack-

ages of cash were brought only to Evseroff or Rabin and dis-

tributed only by them. Payments were always turned over to

the lawyers at Evseroff’s suite, always by Evseroff or one of

his employees.

Evseroff had the Circuit Court wondering “how he knew

that the money was distributed according to each lawyer's fee

arrangement when he has ignorant of what those arrange-

ments were.” He kept no ledger or other record of revenues

other than bank deposit slips, which fail to identify the

sources of cash. Co-counsel say Rabin distributed some pay-

ments and knew how much they were.

(footnote continued from preceding page)

his arrangement with Richman. Evseroff told Maria during the trial that he had

hired Auerbach, who would start working for him after the trial, and already

referred him a Criminal Court. Evseroff brought Auerbach into his suite just

after the trial, with the incentive of an arrangement similar to Rabin’s. Like

Rabin, Auerbach got clients from Evseroff’s multiple defendant cases.

15

Impermissible division of fees. As Judge Costantino

observed:

Isn’t it plain here, Mr. Esroth held back $500,000

unless they agreed to certain things which they gave

to him; Isn’t that so?

Rabin told Ragusa’s daughter that Taub, who was to receive

$75,000, got only $25,000. Rabin, Sussman and Carnesi were

slated for $75,000 but only got $25,000; Lombardino got only

$25,000 of his $62,500. Deposition testimony showed that

Candelaria received only $14,500 of the $25,000 promised

her, and Burke only two thirds of his $25,000 fee. Sussman

complained his fee was $3,000 to $5,000 short, and Carnesi

received only $15,000 of his $25,000.

To Candelaria, the case was “a learning experience,” as to

“Evseroff’s greed” and “his manipulation of lawyers and

clients.” Candelaria in person and Burke by telephone ad-

mitted a referral fee. At the hearing, Samuel Neuman, a

disabled health administrator, testifed he overheard her

complaining:

A [Candelaria] was explaining that she had to give

back a certain percentage of the money.

She said, “I have to give back a third of what-

ever fee is, whatever I got from Mr. Evseroff.”

THE COURT: Who?

THE WITNESS: Mr. Evseroff.

THE COURT: You heard her say the word

“Evseroff™?

A Yes.

Q Did she mention anything about money to give

to Mr. Evseroff?

A She said, “He even stuck me for $40.”

16

Sussman testified similarly:

Q__sDid you make any statement *** that could in

any way, shape or form have been construed by

him to have been to the fact that you returned

one-third of your fee for representing Mr.

Logalbo to Mr. Evseroff?

A It is possible. ***

Evseroff’s pretrial team. Evseroff organized a team of

lawyers and employees, based in his suite and led by Rabin, to

handle all pretrial matters. This team included a retired police

detective named Boccio, who interpreted for petitioners.'3 In

many “ad hoc” meetings at Evseroff’s suite, defense counsel

discussed various legal issues. Taub, called “taciturn” and

“stuffy” by co-counsel, attended none of these meetings; he

was based in Queens and had a heavy trial schedule.'* Dis-

covery materials were delivered exclusively to Evseroff’s suite,

where Rabin logged them in. The videotapes of Aiello’s ware-

house were obtained by this team and had to be communi-

cated to Taub, who saw them only a month before trial.

'3Aiello hardly spoke English and spoke only Italian. Scaduto spoke a “halt-

ing English” and was unable to understand the word or concept of “conflict”

without an interpreter. Scaduto needed an interpreter at trial and at the

Rogatory depositions. Boccio, sworn as an interpreter twice on the record, says

petitioners could not speak English well enough to understand legal concepts.

Nevertheless, Taub and Evseroff, who speak no Italian, say they used no

interpreter.

'*Taub began a trial only a month before Aiello’s trial. About the same time,

Evseroff went to Palermo and Rome, consulted with Ragusa’s Sicilian lawyer,

“one of the same lawyers involved in the Gambino case,” and went to Bagheria.,

Ragusa’s hometown.

iSPeople v. Gallina, 95 A.D.2d 336, 466 N.Y.S.2d 4!4 (2d Dept. 1983).

Summers assumed, from comparing papers received from the State prosecutor

concerning the Gallina case and papers submitted in the case at bar, that

Evseroff had hired the same Gallina defense lawyer, Steven Scaring.

Raabe wale me a,

3

F3

17

Prior to his retainer by Francesca and while he was still

representing Scaduto, Rabin did legal research and made

motions for all the defendants. Rabin’s “assignment” and

“obligation” as Evseroffs “lawman” was to review the

warrants and the wiretap orders on the issue of standing and

to draft a discovery letter, which he did on the request and

consent of “everybody,” including Taub. He researched and

prepared a motion, pressed on Sal’s behalf but submitted for

everyone in the federal case, which relied on Gallina to attack

two Salemi wiretaps and led to several suppression

hearings. '®

The warehouse videotape—pretrial. In time, however,

Rabin tired of his pretrial duties and approached co-counsel

for money. He made no motion on the videotape because he

was swamped with work on the other issues, was getting no

help or compensation from co-counsel and, after Francesca

Bartolotta’s arrest, was concentrating on her case, which did

not involve the videotape. Rabin says “anybody who was on

the videotape would have an interest in bringing a motion to

suppress,” and on the record (with Taub present representing

Scaduto, not Francesca) before Judge Costantino in

December 1983 argued that the government's “entire case

basically is the video.” He recalls no one raising the videotape

as an issue, except at trial, and may have never seen the video-

tape orders, though he was “going over the orders” and had

“gone over the videotapes.”

Other lawyers whose clients appeared on the videotape

made no motion to suppress. Taub, whose client owned the

‘Although by March 5, 1984, 167 days had elapsed since the petitioners’

arrest, no speedy trial motion was made. Likewise, Taub and Evseroff made no

written motion for severance.

18

warehouse and whose unsigned name appears on a pretrial

motion to suppress the videotape as “tainted” under Gallina,

says he never discussed a videotape motion with Rabin, saw

no videotape order at any time, is not sure there even was

such an order, and says he made no written motion. Evseroff

recalls “Rabin making motions in connection with this,” and

says Rabin’s “obligation *** was to draw the motion for

everybody.” Therefore, Taub’s “taint” motion may have been

prepared without his knowledge.!’

No motion was made, by Taub, Evseroff or anyone else, to

suppress the videotape on that grounds that it violated the

Fourth Amendment or Title III or its rationale. On the

“taint” motion, a supporting memorandum discussed Title

III, but only as to whether it authorizes break-ins like the one

to Aiello’s warehouse and Ragusa’s pastry shop, and argued

that legislative history and Fourth Amendment considera-

tions should sway the trial judge to overrule Scafidi.'* It also

raised noncompliance with the break-in orders, treating the

video order as a “search warrant” instead of a wiretap. Ignored

was the issue that lies at the heart of Title II] and eaves-

dropping and wiretap orders—the feasibility of normal

investigative methods.'? As Judge Weinstein observed in oral

argument, “every defense lawyer would normally make such

a motion, *** just a way to go behind the court order to see

whether there is a basis.”

'7The notice of motion and Taub’s affirmation were apparently typed on the

same typewriter as Rabin’s affirmations.

"United States v. Scafidi, 564 F.2d 633 (2d Cir. 1977).

''The defense was not alerted by a wiretap ruling pretrial: “The motion by all

defendants to suppress wire tap evidence on the grounds that the wire tap

application for Salemi number one failed to establish that normal investigative

techniques were exhausted, is denied” (emphasis supplied).

19

In pretrial proceedings, Taub argued the “taint” motion,

but made no mention of Title III or the Fourth Amendment

and no other objection or motion to suppress on the grounds

raised in Aiello /.° Neither Taub nor Evseroff, who calls

himself a “trial man, not a motion man,” believed a sup-

pression motion was appropriate, Evseroff incorrectly con-

cluding that Scaduto lacked standing. A/derman v. United

States, 394 U.S. 165 (1969). Judge Costantino denied Taub’s

motion to suppress but did not preclude later motions,

saying:

There may be other motions that have to be made

in this case. Any other motions, if they are not

heard now, will be heard sometime during the trial,

if you happen to think of one. *** A lot will become

perfunctory, and when that time comes, I will say

take your exception and save it for your appeal.?!

The warehouse videotape—at trial. The videotape was

perhaps the government’s most potent piece of evidence and

certainly the most harmful to Aiello. It was referred to in

opening statements and was the subject of a motion by

WABC-TV to obtain and broadcast it. The government pro-

duced the witness who had installed the video equipment in

the warehouse. Evseroff pointed out that “the order for the

video taping didn’t ask, didn’t seek sound.” Taub orally

moved to suppress on the ground that the lack of sound made

the videotape more prejudicial than probative, which Judge

As the Circuit Court observed, Taub’s motion “argued that the court author-

ization for videotaping at the warehouse was based in part on the fruits of the

allegedly unlawful wiretap ***. Aside from this there was no motion to suppress

the videotaped evidence on constitutional or other grounds.”

*!The Circuit Court in Aie//o / held that the nature of Taub and Evseroff’s

objections at trial failed to preserve the Title II] and constitutional questions.

20

Costantino denied and the Circuit Court rejected in Aiello /.

The witness testified that sound equipment was not in-

stalled because the acoustics were bad and microphones or

transmitters were difficult to install. The government tried to

elicit that sound would have required a Title III order, which

would have been too time-consuming. In a lengthy sidebar,

Judge Costantino said he did not know what Title III was.

The prosecutors called the video order a “search warrant,”

not involving Title III, and said “sound has to be done under

the statute, video doesn’t.” No one disagreed; Taub was mum

throughout.

The witness testified to the “so-called search-warrant

order” and agreed that getting authorization for sound could

have taken only two hours. The government stipulated that

no authorization for sound was sought. Sound equipment

was not installed, the witness admitted, not because of

acoustical or other practical considerations but because

authorization was never sought. Still Taub and Evseroff

made no Title III or constitutional objections. Evseroff

instead raised the lack of a foundation, and Taub repeated

that the prejudice outweighed the probative value. Neither

lawyer even mentioned the videotape in his terse Rule 29

motions.

Both Taub and Evseroff swore that the videotape was

damaging, indeed devastating, to their clients, that it would

have been better for their clients had the tape nos been in

evidence and that it was not their tactical decision to let it in.*

*At oral argument following the hearing in the court below, Assistant US

Attorney O'Connell said, “! can't imagine how [the tape] would be viewed as

helpfu! to either Scaduto or Aiello’s case.”

21

Some lawyers felt the videotape was the turning point of the

whole case. Burke played portions of it so his client could

clarify the ambiguous activities shown on it. Carnesi

produced an expert to prove that sound could have been

monitored. The government cross-examined as to Title III

and asked specifically about soundless video, which the

expert insisted is:

*** definitely done under the wiretap statute. ***

I’m not a lawyer but I’m sure.

Even this testimony did not move Evseroff or Taub to object

to the videotape on Title III grounds. Only two pages of

Taub’s 24-page summation and a part of one page of

Evseroff’s 25 pages touched on the videotape. In contrast, the

government played a portion of the videotape in its summa-

tion and spent almost half of its 12-page rebuttal discussing it.

Evseroff as “trial leader.” Evseroff was regarded by the

lawyers and the judge as lead defense counsel, and the trial

record confirms this. With one notable exception, it was

Evseroff who substituted for absent lawyers during the trial,”

drawing unnecessary attention to Scaduto.?3 Judge Costan-

tino warned Evseroff not to raise objections or conduct

22Candelaria indicated she could not be present for testimony regarding tapes

of a telephone call from “Evseroff's client” to Volpe, and thought it inappro-

priate for Evseroff to stand in, as it “would present a potential conflicting

situation.” While surprising for its rare reference to the issue of conflicting

interests, it is noted here to illustrate that Evseroff, as lead defense counsel, was

assumed the first choice to stand in.

23Standing infor Lombardino, Evseroff asked Judge Costantino to advise the

jury he was doing so and then calling unnecessary attention to Scaduto:

THE COURT: ***. Now, just in retrospect, Mr. Lombardino is

not here, but Mr. Evseroff at this time with the consent of Mr.

Lombardino is representing Mr. Altamura.

MR. EVSEROFF: As well as my own client.

22

examination not pertinent to the defense of his own client.”4

At first Evseroff represented Sal and Rabin had Scaduto.

With Ragusa a fugitive, Scaduto became the first named

defendant on trial. In taking over Scaduto’s defense, Evseroff

was able to remain lead defense counsel, and to open first and

examine first. When the superseding indictment added

Francesca as the last named defendant, Rabin was assigned

to defend her, and thus allowing him to open and examine

last. The tandem of Evseroff and Rabin thus had the first and

last word on every witness.

Failure to call witnesses: Evseroff referred to potential

defense witnesses as “our people.” He felt all defendants

should testify. He approached Francesca without Rabin’s

consent and told her he planned tocall her to the stand, but-he

did not let Scaduto testify.

Aiello wanted to testify, but Taub would not let him. After

seeing the warehouse videotape, Evseroff believed Aiello

“didn't have a prayer unless he got on the stand and explained

what was going on there,” and told Taub Aiello wanted to

testify. Taub asked co-counsel whether Aiello should testify,

but Aiello was not present for these discussions. Petitioners

did not take the stand and were convicted. As many have

observed, all defendants who testified were acquitted.

At the end of the government's case, the indictment against

Volpe was dismissed. As Ragusa’s mistress and waitress-

cashier at his pastry shop, she knew where Ragusa was and

4 Judge Costantino encouraged defense counsel to agree on who would

examine the various witnesses, saying: “No one has to be afraid they don't have

the prominence of being the trial leader ***.”

23

knew aboui airline reservations made to Buffalo for Scaduto,

which was part of Scaduto’s defense. Evseroff says that

Volpe’s testimony would have helped Scaduto and that she

would have been a good witness, and even before the dis-

missal recommended that she testify. After the dismissal,

Volpe would have been unable to invoke the Fifth Amend-

ment, yet Evseroff did not put her on the stand.

Lina Picozzi was hired by Evseroff to make defense-version

Sicilian transcripts and English translations of them. The

exact meaning of certain conversations was at issue, the

government claiming that certain words referred to “heroin,”

“Godfather,” and “pallet,” the defense contending that the

words meant that a “godfather” in the religious sense “has

arrived OK” to see about “a small racehorse.” The defense

versions were never submitted to the jury; only the govern-

ment’s were.?°

No confrontation of witnesses. No defense lawyer called

Salemi. Many of the undercover’s conversations with Sal

occurred in Salemi’s apartment. Moving to strike hearsay

Statements attributed to Salemi and introduced through the

undercover, Rabin argued that confronting Salemi would

have profited the defense, calling him a declarant available to

the government and criticizing the prosecution for not

producing him, when all the while Salemi was available to the

defense and never called. Nonetheless, the government’s

introduction of Salemi’s hearsay statements without first

showing his unavailability was in violation of petitioners’

Sixth Amendment right to confrontation and cross-

examination.

This was fatal, by design or blunder. Judge Costantino had ruled earlier

that, since most of the conversations in evidence at trial were not in English.

transcripts would be provided to the jury but minutes of cross-examination

would not.

f4

Petitioners insist that they wanted Sal called. Rabin notes a

potential benefit to Scaduto in having Sal testify and Evseroff

claims he “suggested but did not recommend” Sal testify.

Evseroff indicates Sal might have exculpated Scaduto on the

question of whether the codename “Lorenzo” found in the

Bartolotta notebook meant Scaduto.”° Burke says co-counsel

should have shifted more culpability onto Sal than they did.

No one called Sal, who was willing to take the stand. Had

anyone done so, Evseroff says he would not have let him

testify and would have told him to invoke the Fifth.?” The

introduction of Sal’s hearsay statements without first showing

his unavailability denied petitioners’ Sixth Amendment right

to confrontation and cross-examination.

The notebook. Since Sal was never called by Evseroff or

subpoenaed by any other lawyer, and thus never required to

take the Fifth, his unavailability was never shown. Neverthe-

less, the notebook found, nor on Scaduto or in his house,

United States v. Garcia- Duarte, 718 F.2d 42 (2d Cir. 1983),

but in the Bartolotta house was admitted into evidence on the

government's direct case. The notebook, naming a “Lorénzo”

who Scaduto claims is not him, provided the sole basis for the

*Some of the other codenames were “Tarzan,”’“Sal,”“Edi,”“Mike,” “Aldo,”

“Ciarli,” “Gino,” and “Cic.”

In summation, all Summers could say was:

“ *** right under Tarzan, right underneath the King of the Jungle.

ladies and gentlemen, on the back page which shows the payout, is

the name Lorenzo. There is no evidence in this case, ladies and

gentlemen, that that indicates anything other than that Lorenzo,

the man sitting right over there at that table with the white jacket

on, Lorenzo Scaduto, and just under Tarzan, the name Lorenzo,

and just under that the amount of money Tarzan received.”

Evseroff said absolutely nothing on “Lorenzo™ or the notebook.

27Had Sal been called to the stand, Evseroff would have stood up as his

lawyer, and Judge Costantino would have been compelled, by the obvious

potential conflict of interests, either to follow Rule 44(c) or to order Evseroff off

the case entirely, at the risk of his legal fees.

25

848 count.28 The government noted in Aiello / that Rabin

resolved the question as to whether the notebook actually

belonged to “co-conspirator Salvatore Bartolotta” in the

cross-examination of government witnesses. Specifically,

Rabin, without objection or severance motion from Evseroff,

elicited from an FBI agent the /ay opinion that the hand-

writing in the notebook appeared to be Sal’s?? and, from

another FBI agent, Francesca’s statement that the notebook

was her husband’s. The government, knowing the notebook’s

importance, gave copies of it to the jury prior to its summa-

tion, in which the notebook was repeatedly mentioned.

Francesca’s statement that the notebook must be her

husband's was a hearsay statement nos made in furtherance of

the alleged conspiracy. Though obviously damaging to her

husband, Sal was not a defendant or witness in the federal

trial. It was Scaduto who was on trial, and that statement of

his co-defendant Francesca was being used against him, in

violation of his Sixth Amendment right of confrontation

under Davis and Bruton, infra.

Convictions and sentences. Scaduto was found guilty on all

counts, including the 848, and sentenced to a total of 64 years.

In contrast, after the federal verdict Sal, with Rabin present,

2*The notebook was crucial, not only on the “fourth essential” in the jury

charge (managing five or more persons) but also on the “fifth essential”

(obtaining substantial resources or income), which was the last matter the jury

wanted clarified before announcing its verdict.

Thus Rabin relieved the government of having a handwriting expert

identify who wrote the entries in the notebook, which were printed in black

letters, not cursive script.

THE COURT: If it is found inside it is attributable to the person whose

premises it was found. '

I don't make these rules. These are the rules | have to follow. | don’t make

them. I'm not going to change them. | will tell you right now | am not stretching

the rules one way or another. | am just not doing it.”

26

pled guilty and was sentenced to the minimum sentence of

only I5 years to life; the whereabouts of Evseroff’s first client,

Ragusa, were never exposed, and his daughter Francesca

received only a five-year sentence.

Aiello was found guilty of conspiracy and importation and

sentenced to a total of 26 years. Taub and Evseroff reserved

but never made post-verdict motions. Taub offered his

services for Aiello’s appeal, but Aiello turned him down.

Evseroff instead recommended the firm of Fischetti Feigus &

Pomerantz for Scaduto,*® and Gerard Lynch for Aiello,?!

with Rabin handling Francesca’s appeal.32 No request for

Taub’s assistance on the appeal was never made.

Motion to expand the remand. Besides indicating t.iat he

would have granted a new trial, Judge Weinstein at oral argu-

ment, with the foregoing evidence before him, recognized the

conventional wisdom in attacking the videotape order and

acknowledged the lapses in representation of the petitioners

but nonetheless suggested that the claimed ineffective assist-

ance of counsel did not arise from the obvious conflicts of

interest, and urged petitioners to move the Circuit Court to

expand the remand to permit him toconsider all the evidence,

not just the questions of Sal as a witness and the division of

fees. He refused to entertain a motion to renew based on the

Fischetti, recommended by Evseroff, was the lawyer who substituted for

Rabin when he was ordered off Gambino. Evserotftold him of his multiple rep-

resentation of Scaduto and Bartolotta, and the government mentioned it in its

brief in Aiello J, but Feigus’ initial and reply briefs for Scaduto said nothing

of this.

3! Feigus stood with Lynch at Aiello’s Rogatory deposition.

8Rabin received $7500 to $10,000 ($5000 received from Evseroff through

Francesca) of the agreed retainer of $25,000, the balance being due if the appeal

were successful, thus an impermissible contingent fee. DR 2-106(C), EC 2-20.

Code of Professional Responsibility.

eee “Ve

4

¢#

:

‘

i

i

i

;

¥

;

27

additional evidence, so a motion was made for an order

compelling or permitting Judge Weinstein to consider all the

evidence, whether or not directly attributable to a specific

conflict of interest, on the assertion that the original Rule 33

motion for a new trial was not restricted to those two issues

and that, in the interests of justice, all the evidence should be

considered. The motion was denied (Appendix I) in a terse

and belated order entered after Judge Weinstein had already

issued a written decision on the motion for a new trial.

Judge Weinstein’s order. His order (Appendix C) and judg-

ment (Appendix B) now found petitioners’ trial counsel “met

minimal standards of competency,” implied that the Title II

motion would have been “fruitless,” and denied the motion

for a new trial, nonetheless finding the “appearance of impro-

priety,” noting Evseroff’s “delicts” and the “disturbing nature”

of his conduct in prior cases, enumerating “suggestions for the

future”4 as to cash fees and referrals to suitemates, “related

case” and granting a “certificate of probable cause.”

The appeal below. On appeal, both peiiticners joined in

each other’s briefs. Aiello adopted his argument in Aiello /,

now with the benefit of the subsequent holding in United

States v. Biasucci, 786 F.2d 504 (1986), cert. denied, — U.S.

—, 107 S.Ct. 104, that the videotaping of his warehouse was

unlawful and unconstitutional. He argued that he did not

waive his constitutional objection to the videotaping, on the

grounds that Taub made no affirmative use of it, that the

record now showed that the underlying order ignored the

8Contrast the higher standard of “reasonably effective assistance”

enunciated in Strickland, supra at 687.

“Not yet having the precedent of Whear, infra, Judge Weinsiein applied

ethical standards only as a warning to the bar and not with the force of law.

28

issue of necessity,25 and that Taub had abdicated to Rabin

and Evseroff’s pretrial exam—out of incompetence, Srrick-

land, supra, or the control exerted by Evseroff or the Ragusa

family, Cuvier, supra—his duty to research the facts and law.

Scaduto maintained that Fifth and Sixth Amendment

rights were violated because he was never given the oppor-

tunity to make intelligent and knowing waivers of his right to

a conflict-free attorney, United States v. Cataldo, 625

F.Supp. 1255 (S.D.N.Y.), United States v. Curcio, 680 F.2d

881 (2d Cir. 1982), and Solina v. United States, 709 F.2d 160

(2d Cir. 1983), Cancilla, Strickland, Holloway, Cuvler, supra,

and DR 5-105(C), Code of Professional Responsibility. He

was denied the right to confront his lawyers’ other clients

Francesca, Sal and Salemi, Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308

(1974), Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123 (1968), and to be

heard at his resentencing, Green v. United States, 365 U.S.

301 (1961), Hill v. United States, 368 U.S. 424 (1962), Rule

32(aX 1).

In their joint Reply brief, petitioners, relying on Wheat v.

United States, 56 U.S.L.W. 4441 (1988), pressed the point

that they have been urging for the three years that have passed

since the motion for a new trial was first made, namely, that

the breaches of ethics mandated a new trial and were not

merely the concern of bar associations and grievance com-

mittees. Ignoring Wheat, the Circuit Court (Appendix A)

characterized many of petitioner’s arguments, without saying

which, as being “beyond the scope of the remand,” refused to

consider the evidence assembled as a result of the inquiry it

3$Copies of the order, the application for it, the supporting affidavit and the

required authorization letter were submitted to Judge Weinstein and the Circuit

Court. None cited the necessity of videotaping, in lieu of normal investigative

procedures.

4

ig

=

*

8

RT EF Hs

See alee Rub ABCR LT TROY | SE ah nhl I ear Ra Gee an BUSS

ee Sie,

WAAR ap

ara et Ua

29

had ordered and the successive motion granted before Judge

Weinstein’s determination on the merits, and affirmed “sub-

stantially for the reasons stated” in Judge Weinstein’s opinion.

CONCLUSION

Had the petitioners been told in advance that Evseroff rep-

resented the Ragusa family and was being investigated by the

very same US Attorney prosecuting the petitioners; that

Evseroff would have exclusive control of the legal fees and

would dominate the defense; that Rabin was Evseroff’s

employee; that Taub was brought into keep Aiello from

turning informant; that tenable severance and suppression

motions would not be made because of Evseroff’s trial hubris

and Taub’s undue reliance on Rabin and other suitemates;

that a notebook would be introduced with help from the

defense; that their lawyers would meet only minimum

standards of competency; that the conduct of their lawyers

would create the appearance of impropriety; that defense

transcripts of key conversations would not be introduced into

evidence; that certain admittedly helpful witnesses would not

be called to the stand because, if called, they would have

indicated Evseroff was their lawyer and thus caused him to be

relieved as defense counsel; that they would be denied the

right to confront three of Evseroff/ Rabin’s clients whose

statements were used against them at trial; that their lawyers

would pull punches in their defense to curry favor with the

US Attorney or the Ragusa family; and that no defense

attorney or prosecutor or trial judge was going to fulfill his

affirmative ethical duty to point out their constitutional

rights, one can certainly say petitioners, two Italian-speaking

US citizens without prior criminal records, finding them-

selves in jail facing the severest of drug charges, would have

30

thought twice about who their lawyers were, or at least

should have been given the opportunity, whether under Rule

4{c), the Sixth Amendment, or the fundamental principles

of fairness embodied in the Fifth Amendment, to hear what

all of Brooklyn knew and make a knowing and intelligent

choice of counsel.

In sum, the evidence adduced since the remand has not

enlarged the issues, only the proof of petitioners’ original

contentions, and the courts below simply found excuses to

disregard it, reserving for the future their disturbance at the

breaches of ethics. Petitioners ask the Court to examine this

case, as it did in Wheat, in the interest of preserving the

confidence of the public in the integrity of the legal system.

é

r

te

i

4

3

5

A

S|

3

af

:

#

a

APPENDIX A

RJC EDNY

83 cr 429

Weinstein

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE

SECOND CIRCUIT

Ata stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in

the City of New York, on the 2Ilst day of October, one

thousand nine hundred and eighty-eight.

Present:

HONORABLE J. EDWARD LUMBARD

HONORABLE RICHARD J. CARDAMONE

HONORABLE LAWRENCE W. PIERCE

Circuit Judges

United States Court of Appeals

Filed

October 31, 1988

Elaine B. Goldsmith, Clerk

Second Circuit

A-2

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant-A ppellee,

—against—

ANDREA AIELLO a/k/a ANTONIA AIELLO and

LORENZO SCADUTO,

Petitioners-Appellants.

ORDER

Docket No.

88-2140

Andrea Aiello and Lorenzo Scaduto appeal from the

February 29, 1988 decision and order of the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of New York

(Weinstein, J.) denying their petition to set aside their

conviction.

This case is before us for the third time. Petitioners were

convicted of heroin importation and distribution charges in

1984. We affirmed those convictions in United States v.

Aiello (Aiello I), 771 F.2d 621 (2d Cir. 1985). Following

denial of petitioners’ motion for a new trial on the ground of

newly discovered evidence, we remanded for assessment of

petitioners’ claims of ineffective assistance of counsel caused

by conflict of interest. United States v. Aiello (Aiello 11), 814

F.2d 109 (2d Cir. 1987). We directed the district court to

examine, first, the fee arrangement of petitioners’ lawyers to

see if attorney Evseroff had controlled other defense counsel

to the extent that he had de facto represented co-defendants,

and thereby created an impermissible conflict. Second, the

district court was directed to ascertain whether “Mr. Evseroff

had an actual conflict of interest in representing both Scaduto

Meee eC cor Vine Cte ete ere el

A-3

and Salvatore Bartolotta,” focusing on the absence of

Bartolotta’s testimony at trial. (Aiello //, 814 F.2d at 114).

Petitioners appeal the findings made pursuant to our

remand. Arguments raised beyond the scope of the remand

are not properly before us. Hence, we do not consider them.

We affirm substantially for the reasons stated in Judge

Weinstein’s thorough opinion dated February 29, 1988.

The order of the district is affirmed.

J. Edward Lumbard, U.S.C.J.

Richard J. Cardamone, U.S.C.J.

Lawrence W. Pierce, U.S.C.J.

N.B. This summary order will not be

published in the Federal Reporter and

should not be cited or otherwise relied

upon in unrelated cases before this or any

other court.

APPENDIX B

Filed

in Clerk’s Office

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

X

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

—against—

ANDREA AIELLO, a/k/a ANTONIO AIELLO

and LORENZO SCADUTO,

Petitioners.

x

JUDGMENT

CR 83-429 (JBW)

A memorandum and order of Honorable Jack B. Wein-

stein, United States District Judge, having been filed on

March 2, 1988, denying the petitioner’s motion to set aside

the judgments of conviction pursuant to 28 USC § 2255, and

granting the issuance of a certificate of probable cause, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that the petitioners take

nothing of the respondent; that the petitioners’ motion to set

aside the judgments of convictions is denied; and that the

issuance of a certificate of probable cause is granted.

ROBERT C. HEINEMANN

Clerk of Court

Dated: Brooklyn, New York

March 3, 1988

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EAS? RN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

—against—

ANDREA AIELLO, a/k/a ANTONIO AIELLO

and LORENZO SCADUTO

Petitioners

4

MEMORANDUM

AND ORDER

83-CR-429

APPEARANCES

Andrew J. Maloney

United States Attorney

By: Gregory J. O’Connell

Assistant U.S. Attorney

U.S. Dept. of Justice

225 Cadman Plaza East

Brooklyn, New York 11201

Attorneys for the United States

William E. Lore

118-21 Queens Boulevard

Forest Hills, New York 11375

{

Attorney for Petitioner Andrea Aiello

C-2

Michael Vincent Ricci

11-01 154th Street

Whitestone, New York 11357

Attorney for Petitioner Lorenzo Scaduto

WEINSTEIN, Ch. J.:

Defendants Andrea Aiello, Lorenzo Scaduto, and

Francesca Bartolotta were convicted in July of 1984 follow-

ing trial on various charges of importation and distribution of

heroin and conspiracy to import and distribute heroin. Five

other defendants were acquitted. The conviction was

affirmed on direct appeal in United States v. Aiello, 77\ F.2d

621 (2d Cir. 1985).

Defendants then moved for a new trial in February of 1986

based on the alleged discovery of new evidence tending to

prove prejudicial attorney conflicts of interest. The district

court treated the motion asa writ of habeus corpus, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2255, and denied it without a hearing. The Court of Appeals

reversed the denial on the ground that the appellants were

entitled to a fuller inquiry into their claim, and remanded the

matter to the district court for further proceedings. United

States v. Aiello, 814 F.2d 109 (2d Cir. 1987). The trial judge

then recused himself and the matter was assigned to another

judge by random selection.

Ms. Bartolotta subsequently withdrew her petition. She

had already been released from incarceration.

l. Facts

Federal and state agents arrested Mr. Scaduto, Mr. Aiello,

and Salvatore Bartolotta in September 1983 in connection

with a heroin importation and distribution scheme. Filipo

Ragusa, whom agents believed to be the ringleader of the

operation, escaped arrest and remains a fugitive. Ms. Barto-

lotta and Rita Volpe were arrested and indicted several

months later. A superceding indictment filed in February,

1984 named Mr. Scaduto, Mr. Aiello, Mr. Ragusa, Ms.

Volpe, Ms. Bartolotta, and five others in various counts of

heroin importation and distribution and conspiracy. Federal

charges were dropped against Mr. Bartolotta, who had orig-

inally been indicted in the federal proceeding; he was charged

in state court and convicted there upon a plea together with

another implicated person, one Charles Salemi.

Most of these defendants are closely related or socially

connected. Mr. Ragusa is the father of Francesca Bartolotta,

wife of Salvatore Bartolotta, and of Maria Scaduto, wife of

Lorenzo Scaduto. Defendant Michael Ducato is Mr. Aiello’s

nephew. Defendants Domenico Logalbo and Pietro Graffeo

are godfathers to one another's children. Mr. Logalbo and

Mr. Ragusa are cousins. Ms. Volpe is Mr. Ragusa’s girl-

friend. Defendant Michele Altamura was Mr. Ragusa’s

landlord.

Shortly after the initial arrests, the two sisters— Francesca

and Maria—approached Jacob Evseroff, Esq., and asked

him to represent all of those who had been arrested in con-

nection with the drug ring. He agreed to represent Mr.

Bartolotta, and recommended a number of other attorneys to

represent the other defendants. After federal charges were

dropped against Mr. Bartolotta, the two women asked Mr.

C4

Evseroff to represent Mr. Scaduto, which he agreed to do,

while at the same time continuing to represent Mr. Bartolotta

in the state proceeding.

Among the attorneys to whom Mr. Evseroff referred the

other defendants were Jeffrey Rabin, Esq. Arnold Taub,

Esq., Raymond Sussman, Esq., and Maria Candelaria, Esq.

Mr. Rabin was in effect, if not in name, of counsel to Mr.

Evseroff in his defense of both Mr. Bartolotta in the state

proceeding and Mr. Scaduto in the federal proceeding; Mr.

Taub was retained to represent Mr. Aiello; Mr. Sussman rep-

resented Mr. Logalbo; and Ms. Candelaria represented Ms.

Volpe. Mr. Rabin, Mr. Sussman, and Ms. Candelaria shared

Mr. Evseroff’s office suite at the time of trial. Mr. Rabin had

worked for Mr. Evseroff until 1985 in the law firm of Evseroff

& Sonenshine, and although the employment relationship

was Officially discontinued at that time, Mr. Rabin continued

to receive from Mr. Evseroff a $400 minimum weekly

stipend, free office space, free secretarial services, and tele-

phone privileges in exchange for services provided to Mr.

Evseroff. Paul Auerbach, Esq., who was appointed by the

court as counsel for the indigent co-defendant Angelo Golio,

moved into Mr. Evseroff’s suite a month after the district

court trial ended.

At the time Ms. Scaduto and Ms. Bartolotta agreed to

retain Mr. Evseroff and the other attorneys, they allegedly

brought a bag of cash to Mr. Evseroff’s suite which they

intended for him to distribute to co-counsel. Ms. Scaduto

alleges that all fees were thereafter paid only to either Mr.

Evseroff or Mr. Rabin, although Mr. Taub states that he was

paid directly on several occasions. Mr. Rabin stated in his

deposition that the cash brought to Mr. Evseroff’s suite was

distributed among co-counsel by separating it into piles

C-5

containing bills of various denominations, each fastened with

a rubber band and marked with a slip of paper containing an

attorney’s name.

The trial resulted in the conviction of Mr. Aiello, Mr.

Scaduto, and Ms. Bartolotta and the acquittal of five other

defendants. The charges against Ms. Volpe were dismissed on

a Rule 29 motion. All of those who were acquitted had taken

the stand, and those who were convicted had not. Neither Mr.

Bartolotta, Mr. Salemi, or Ms. Volpe were called to testify for

any of the defendants.

The chart below outlines the relationships among the

defendants and the disposition of their cases:

DEFENDANTS CHARGED IN FEDERAL COURT

Relationship to

Defendant Other Defendants Attorney Status

Filipo Ragusa Father of Francesca None Fugitive

Bartolotta; father-in-

law of Salvatore

Bartolotta and

Lorenzo Scaduto

Lorenzo Scaduto Son-in-law of Filipo Evseroff Convicted

Ragusa; brother-in-

law of Salvatore and

Francesca Bartolotta

Andrea Aiello Uncle of Ducato Taub Convicted

Domenico Godfather of Pietro Sussman Acquitted

Logalbo Graffeo’s children;

Cousin of Filipo

Ragusa

cs |

Relationship to

Defendant Other Defendants Attorney Status

Pietro Graffeo Godfather of Carnesi Acquitted |

Domenico Logalbo's

children |

Michele Altamura Landlord of Lombardino Acquitted

Filipo Ragusa

Michael Ducato Nephew of Burke Acquitted

Andrea Aiello

Angelo Golio None indicated Auerbach Acquitted

Francesca Wife of Salvatore Rabin Convicted

Bartolotta Bartolotta; daughter

of Filipo Ragusa

Rita Volpe Girlfriend of Candelaria Dismissed

Filipo Ragusa

Salvatore Husband of Evseroff Pleaded in

Bartolotta Francesca Bartolotta; State

son-in-law of Court

Filipo Ragusa

The trial court was not informed that (1) several of the co-

defendants’ attorneys were sharing office space, (2) the fees of

all defense counsel were for the most part being drawn from

cash distributed by Mr. Evseroff; (3) defense counsel had

been selected on Mr. Evseroff’s recommendation; or (4) Mr.

Evseroff and Mr. Rabin were involved in the defense of Mr.

Bartolotta in state court.

C-7

Il. Issues for Review

The court of appeals outlined two major areas of conflict of

interest. The first involves petitioners’ accusations of cor-

ruption stemming from the manner in which counsel fees

were distributed. Defendants claim that the fee arrangement

allowed Mr. Evseroff to control co-counsel both by giving

him excessive input into who was to be appointed to repre-

sent the co-defendants, and by allowing him to use the threat

of withholding fees as leverage to ensure that co-counsel

cooperated with his chosen defense strategy throughout the

trial. There was also disagreement regarding the amount of

the original lump sum payment—Ms. Scaduto claims that it

was $500,000, while Mr. Evseroff claims that it was sub-

stantially less—and regarding the defendants’ allegations that

Mr. Evseroff’s co-counsel paid kickbacks to Mr. Evseroff in

exchange for the referrals. The court of appeals presented this

issue in terms of four factual questions to be resolved on

remand: who paid trial counsel, how much counsel received,

whether fees were withheld, and whether fees were divided as

a form of referral fee. See 814 F.2d at 112, 114.

A second issue revolves around allegations that Mr.

Evseroff’s joint representation of Mr. Bartolotta and Mr.

Scaduto, coupled with his alleged control over the other

defendants’ attorneys, resulted in none of the attorneys being

willing to call Mr. Bartolotta as a witness at trial. The evi-

dence is in conflict over whether the defendants wanted Mr.

Bartolotta to testify: Mr. Scaduto and Mr. Aiello insist that

they asked their attorneys to call him but that Mr. Evseroff

refused because Mr. Bartolotta might get “50 years to life,”

while Mr. Evseroff and Mr. Taub aver that their clients did

not want Mr. Bartolotta to take the stand. None of the

C-8

petitioners’ affidavits indicate what Mr. Bartolotta’s testi-

mony would have been, and the attorneys cite tactical reasons

for the failure to call him as a witness. The specific questions

which the court of appeals ordered decided on remand are

whether petitioners wanted Mr. Bartolotta to testify, and

whether the defense counsel did or did not want him to

testify, and if not, why not. See 814 F.2d at I11-12, 114.

At the hearing, petitioners added to their claims by con-

tending that their sixth amendment rights were violated by

certain other lapses in the quality of their defense, among

them (1) the failure of Mr. Evseroff to call Ms. Volpe as a

defense witness for Mr. Scaduto, allegedly because of her

knowledge of Mr. Ragusa’s whereabouts; (2) failure of either

attorney to call as a witness Mr. Salemi, who had pleaded

guilty in state court; (3) failure of both Mr. Evseroff and Mr.

Taub to move to supress an incriminating videotape showing

heroin transactions taking place in Mr. Aiello’s warehouse in

Buffalo; (4) failure of either attorney to make a speedy trial

motion; (7) failure to introduce into evidence alternative

versions of translations of certain wiretap transcripts,

although the defense attorneys had access to such alternative

versions; (8) inadequate cross-examination and summation

on matters involving Mr. Ragusa and Mr. Bartolotta; and

(9) failure of either attorney to make written post-conviction

motions.

Finally, petitioners claim that Mr. Evseroff failed to

inform them of prior investigations of him for possible

conflicts of interest in a number of other criminal matters.

They argue the investigations in those matters—among them

United States v. Tortorello (E.D.N.Y. 80-CR-574), United

States v. Cancilla, 725 F.2d 867 (2d Cir. 1984), and United

States v. Gambino (D. N.J. 84-CR-98)—establish that such

conflicts were a general practice in Mr. Evseroff’s office.

C-9

Ill. Standards for Assessing Conflicts of Interest

In its decision remanding the petitioners’ case for hearing,

the Court of Appeals reiterated the standard for assessing

conflicts of interest established in Cuvier v. Sullivan, 446 U.S.

335, 100 S.Ct. 1708 (1980). There the Supreme Court held

that “[i]n order to establish a violation of the Sixth Amend-

ment, a defendant who raised no objection at trial must

demonstrate that an actual conflict of interest adversely

affected his lawyer’s performance.” (Footnote omitted.) This

standard has been interpreted to require that a defendant

show first, that some plausible defense tactic or strategy

might have been pursued but was not, and second, that this

defense was inherently in conflict with counsel’s other

loyalties. See, e.g., Oliver v. Wainwright, 782 F.2d 1521 (11th

Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 313 (1986): United States v.

Fahey, 769 F.2d 829 (Ist Cir. 1985). When failure to under-

take a possible line of defense constitutes a realistic tactical

choice rather than a reflection of loyalty to another client, the

failure does not establish the basis for a claim of ineffective

assistance of counsel. See, e.g., Smith v. Regan, 583 F.2d 72

(2d Cir 1978); Perez v. Harris, 459 F.Supp 1141 (S.D.N.Y.

1978), aff'd, 603 F.2d 214 (2d Cir. 1979). Thus, in the case at

bar, since the petitioners did not raise their conflict of interest

claims at trial, they must show both that the defense tactics

which were not pursued, including the calling of Salvatore

Bartolotta as a witness, would have been plausible in light of

surrounding circumstances, and that counsel’s failure to

employ them was a result either of the alleged unethical fee or

other arrangements or of loyalty to Mr. Evseroff’s other

client, Mr. Bartolotta.

C-10

IV. Findings of Fact

The trial judge, who had the opportunity to evaluate the

effect of counsel’s conduct based on first-hand knowledge,

concluded in his memorandum and order dated June 6, 1986

that no violation of defendants’ sixth amendment rights had

occurred as a result of a conflict of interest. All of the evidence

taken in connection with the hearing after remand supports

his conclusion. Although the conduct of the defense attorneys

at times created the appearance of impropriety, petitioners

have failed to establish the existence of an actual conflict of

interest in accordance with the Cuvier standard.

The mere possibility that a conflict may have affected a

defendant’s representation is insufficient to impugn a

criminal conviction. Cuvier, 446 U.S. at 350, 100 S.Ct. at

1719. The petitioners have shown that some potential con-

flicts existed, and have also set forth a number of plausible

defense tactics that might have been pursued and were not,

but they have failed to show that these alleged facts were or

could have been in any way connected. None of the defense

Strategies which could actually have been pursued would

have worked adversely to the interest of some clients but not

others, and thus none of these alleged lapses could logically

have resulted from counsel’s favoring one client over another.

The few defense tactics suggested by petitioners which might

have resulted in a conflict could not in any event realistically

have been used at trial. Beyond a reasonable doubt, no

conflict and no action or inaction of trial counsel complained

of by petitioners had any effect on the outcome of the case.

C-11

A. Issues Regarding Counsel Fees

and their Effect on Relationships

Among Co-counsel

Mr. Taub, who represented defendant Aiello, was not

under the control of Mr. Evseroff as the petitioners have

claimed. He made decisions on behalf of Mr. Aiello wholly

independent of any relationship with other attorneys, includ-

ing Mr. Evseroff, despite the fact that his fee was paid in cash

which had originally been delivered to Mr. Evseroff. Mr.

Evseroff controlled neither the selection of attorneys nor the

allocation of fees. There was no fee splitting, and Mr. Evseroff

did not withhold any forewarding fee or kickback for himself

before delivering Mr. Taub’s fee as defendants have alleged.

Cash turned over to Mr. Evseroff for distribution to the other

attorneys was turned over in exactly the form and amount

decided upon by the clients. Mr. Evseroff's fee was $75,000, of

which he received $50,000, an appropriate amount in light of

the complexity and length of the trial. Other attorneys

received somewhat lesser fees commensurate with their

experience. |

Undoubtedly Mr. Evseroff and Mr. Taub conferred during

the course of the representation regarding defense strategy

and fees. Such communication among co-counsel is normal

and to be expected in a complex, multi-defendant case such as

this one. The fee arrangement, although somewhat uncon-

ventional, is understandable in view of the fact that most of

the defendants were related. The rules of legal ethics and rep-

resentation should not be interpreted so as to divorce them

from the practical needs and desires of the clients they are

designed to protect.

C-12

Mr. Taub was operating independently of Mr. Evseroff.

Thus, any failure on the part of Mr. Taubtoemploy available

defenses could not have resulted from Mr. Evseroff’s alleged

conflict of interest.

B. Failure of Mr. Bartolotta and Other

Potential Witnesses to Testify

All defendants and all counsel were informed and aware of

the fact that Mr. Evseroff had represented Mr. Bartolotta in

related state court proceedings and of the resulting potential

conflict that might inhibit their defense. All defendants,

particularly Mr. Evseroff’s own client, insisted emphatically

that he continue to represent them despite any such conflict.

Mr. Bartolotta’s failure to testify was not attributable to a

conflict of interest on the part of counsel. Petitioners’

argument on this issue is supported only by the bald assertion

of Mr. Bartolotta that he would have testified if he were

called—without any indication of what he would have said—

coupled with the retrospective assertions of the petitioners

and their co-defendants that they wanted him to take the

stand. Such paltry evidence is inadequate to demonstrate that

calling Mr. Bartolotta would have been a plausible defense

tactic—is the first prong of a showing of actual conflict of

interest. Petitioners’ similar assertions regarding counsel’s

failure to call Ms. Volpe or Mr. Salemi, and the accusation

that their cross-examination and summation on matters in-

volving Mr. Ragusa and Mr. Bartolotta was intentionally

weak, are supported by even less evidence.

C-13

All of the evidence taken together indicates that the

decision to keep Mr. Bartolotta off the stand was the result of

plausible tactical considerations in which both Mr. Scaduto

and Mr. Aiello concurred. Messrs. Evseroff, Taub, Rabin,

and Sussman each stated emphatically that Mr. Bartolotta

had no credibility as a witness following the disclosure at trial

that he had conducted a major heroin deal in his car while in

the company of his two children. There is every indication

that all the defendants concurred in the decision not to call

him. Mr. Evseroff states in his deposition that Mr. Scaduto

was “dead set against it.” The testimony and other depositions

support this conclusion.

C. Other Inadequacies in Representation Alleged

by Petitioners

There is no reason to rule on whether the alleged failure of

defense counsel to pursue various other potential arguments

and motions resulted in a denial of petitioners’ rights, because

we find that no such omissiqn could logically have been

related to a conflict of interest. Mr. Evseroff’s decisions not to

move to suppress an incriminating videotape, “allow” the

defendants to testify on their own behalf, introduce his own

translations of tape transcripts, or make a speedy trial motion

could not conceivably have innured to the benefit of any of his

other clients. We note nevertheless that petitioners’ counsel

appear to have met minimum standards of competency. The

case was a difficult one, and nothing they did or failed to do

would have had any appreciable effect on the verdict. The

evidence against their clients was quite strong. The tactical

decisions in context were sound. Making fruitless motions

and arguments could have served no useful purpose.

C-14

D. Prior Investigations of Mr. Evseroff

With regard to the petitioners’ claim that Mr. Evseroff’s

conduct in prior cases establishes a pattern of representation

of conflicting interests, the court notes the disturbing nature

of this alleged patern. Nevertheless, the overwhelming weight

of evidence in the instant case indicating the lack of any actual

conflict clearly outweighs the evidence suggesting that the

alleged pattern of conflicts could have had any appreciable

effect on the petitioners’ trial.

There is not the slightest evidence that Mr. Evseroff pulled

punches in defense of his client to curry favor of the

prosecutor in order to avoid prosecution for his own delicts.

E. Summary of Answers to Questions Posed by

the Court of Appeals

(1) Who paid trial counsel? The defendants paid counsel,

and Mr. Evseroff served only as a conduit for the distribution

of their fees.

(2) How much did counsel receive? Mr. Evseroff received

$50,000. Other counsel received fees commensurate with their

level of experience.

(3) Were fees withheld or kicked back to Mr. Evseroff? No

fees were withheld, kicked back, or split.

(4) Were fees divided as a form of referral fee? Fees were

not divided, and no referral fees were paid.

(5) Did the petitioners want Mr. Bartolotta to testify?

After discussing the issue extensively with their counsel,

C-15

petitioners decided that they did not want Mr. Bartolotta to

testify.

(6) Did defense counsel want Mr. Bartolotta to testify? If

not, why not? Defense counsel did not want Mr. Bartolotta to

testify, because they believed that given the evidence which

could have been introduced to impeach him, his testifying

would have prejudiced their clients more than it would have

helped them.

F. Evidence Considered by the Court

In reaching these findings, this court has considered exten-

sive testimony presented over a period of three day, as well as

briefs submitted by the petitioners and the government, affi-

davits of the petitioners’ attorneys, depositions of the

defendants’ attorneys, and portions of the record in the case at

bar and in the prosecution of Mr. Bartolotta in state court.

We find that the affidavits, depositions, and testimony of Mr.

Evseroff and other defense counsel are credible and consistent

with the trial record, and that the affidavits of the petitioners

are not. |

V. Suggestions for the Future

Although the petitioners have failed to meet their burden of

demonstrating an actual conflict of interest which adversely

affected counsel’s performance in accordance the Curler

standard, counsel’s conduct and methods of operation cannot

be approved. Much of it resulted in an appearance of im-

propriety and should be avoided in the future. Faith of

defendants and the public in the legal system would be en-

hanced, an unnecessary litigation avoided, were counsel to

adhere to the following guidelines:

C-16

1. Payment of fees to independent counsel should be made

directly and not by lump-sum payment to be distributed by

one attorney to co-counsel. Fee-splitting and use of referral

fees without the explicit consent of the client is always

improper. Where an attorney is paid by the court for repre-

senting an indigent client, the court’s permission must be

obtained for any diversion of the fee.

2. An attorney who works in another attorney’s office,

whether as partner, associate, or co-tenant should be treated

as a partner for the purpose of evaluating a possible conflict.

3. Representation of another party in any arguably related

case in the same or another court, whether state of federal,

should be treated as if it were a representation of that party in

all related cases for purposes of determining whether there

exists a conflict of interest.

4. Counsel should make known to the client all possible

conflicts that might arise. Counsel should make known to the

court on the record in the presence of the client all possible

conflicts, real or apparent, that might arise. The court will

then inquire on the record to ensure that the clients’ sixth

amendment rights are protected, and a hearing will be held if

necessary. Defendant should be present at all relevant pro-

ceedings to ensure that she or he understands the nature of the

possible conflict and its consequences.

5. Counsel are reminded that the practice of receiving large

payments in cash may present civil and criminal issues that

are beyond the scope of the questions posed by the court of

appeals in this case. The court makes no findings with respect

to the implication that delivery of the fees to Mr. Evseroff in

the form of bags of cash constituted a method of money

C-17

laundering. This is, however, an issue the bar may wish to

address along with other issues raised in this memorandum in

order to avoid future problems.

Conclusion

The petition to set aside the judgements of conviction is

denied. 28 U.S.C. § 2255. A certificate of probable cause is

granted.

So ordered.

Dated: Brooklyn, New York

February 29, 1988

Chief Judge, U.S.D.C.

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

x

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, CR 83 429

Courthouse

LORENZO SCADUTO and Brooklyn,

ANDRE AIELLO, New York

Defendant. February 8, 1988

X. 3:00 o’clock p.m.

TRANSCRIPT OF MOTION

BEFORE THE HONORABLE JACK B. WEINSTEIN

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiff: ANDREW J. MALONEY

United States Attorney

BY: GREGORY O'CONNELL, ESQ.

Assistant United States Attorney

225 Cadman Plaza East

Brooklyn, New York

For the Defendant! MICHAEL VINCENT RICCI, ESQ.

For Scaduto

WILLIAM E. LORE, ESQ.,

For Aiello

EEE

D-2

Court Reporter: Henry R. Shapiro

225 Cadman Plaza East

Brooklyn, New York

718-330-7687

Proceedings recorded by mechanical stenography, transcript

produced by computer.

HENRY R. SHAPIRO

OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER

D-3

THE COURT: We've been waiting for the defendants and

they haven’t been brought over. We can argue it without them

since it’s a argument on the law or we can put it off until

tomorrow.

MR. RICCI: Michael Ricci.

MR. LORE: William Lore.

MR. O’CONNELL: Gregory O’Connell.

MR. LORE: I have no objection to proceeding without my

client. Before we get into that if | may, Mr. O'Connell has

provided me with some more materials that were in the nature

of Court Exhibit One, additional statements, including a

letter from Mr. Evseroff’s secretary. | have no objection to

amend this. Mr. Ricci has a translation of the Italian—

THE COURT: I haven’t seen it.

MR. RICCI: I would move that into evidence. It has a seal

on it. We gave you the original.

THE COURT: Do I have all of these materials?

MR. RICCI: I don’t know about the Italian document. |

could go look for it now.

THE CCURT: You say these are supplements to one.

MR. RICCI: Yes.

THE COURT: Mark them as One A. What is the number

of the document which is now translated.

D-4

MR. RICCI: I don't have the number, your Honor. Sorry.

THE COURT: Mark it as Defendant’s Exhibit A. I think

all the others are court exhibits.

THE COURT: Do we have all the copies.

THE CLERK: We have the original right now.

THE COURT: Hold them.

THE COURT: Does anybody want to submit any other

exhibits.

MR. O'CONNELL: Just to put a couple of things on the

record. Included on the record is the criminal history of Paul

Labriola, one of the affiants.

THE COURT: Was that marked?

MR. O'CONNELL: It was marked. We want to bring to

your attention there were two federal convictions that were

not on the printout. One was in 1974 for forgery of U.S.

savings bonds.

The second was in 1981 again charges concerning stolen

U.S. savings bonds and forgery.

There is a Second Circuit order if your Honor wants to

look at it which refers to some of the substance of it which I

can offer.

THE COURT: Mark that as Government Exhibit I.

D-5

MR. O’CONNELL: The charges included 38 counts of

forgery.

THE COURT: Anything further.

MR. O’CONNELL: I don’t know if Mr. Ricci addressed

the question whether he wants to proceed without Mr.

Scaduto being present.

MR. RICCI: I would join with co-counsel in terms of it

being argument.

THE COURT: I have now a brief of the government and a

joint brief from the defendants; is that night.

MR. RICCI: Yes.

MR. LORE: Yes.

THE COURT: Whatever happened to Francesca

Bartolotta.

MR. O’CONNELL: She withdrew her application.

THE COURT: What was she sentenced to.

MR. O’CONNELL: Her original sentence I think was five

years. She’s in a half way house now.

MR. RICCI: She’s here. Five years.

THE COURT: But she’s not incarcerated.

D-6

MR. RICCI: She made halfway house December some-

thing.

MR. O’CONNELL: I recall seeing a letter from her

counsel—

THE COURT: I understand. That is why these two are

pressing. Do you want to add anything.

MR. LORE: | wish to get into the argument if the court

pleases. | had intended to summarize the major points from

the prospective briefs.

Our basic point, mine and my client’s, he was denied the

effective assistance of counsel. From the start the initial

affidavit from the client he did not want Arnold Taube as his

attorney and this attorney was thrust on him.

My point has been that Mr. Taube was subject to Mr.

Evseroff’s control. In the deposition | believe we showed

various means of the control. However wittingly or unwitting.

Number one, Mr. Evseroff and his employee, | think it was

well established that Mr. Rabin was his employee. He re-

ceived something like thirty-four thousand dollars a year in

benefits by being his associate, or Mr. Evseroff used the word

employee in his office. In percs and in weekly payments not

tied to any specific case.

THE COURT: What does that have to do with Taube?

Your client was represented by Taube.

MR. LORE: Yes, your Honor.

D-7

THE COURT: Taube was an independent attorney, wasn’t

he.

MR. LORE: He was independent in the sense he was not a

member of Mr. Evseroff’s office. Mr. Evseroff did testify that

Mr. Aiello had an attorney up in Buffalo and that he had

believed that Mr. Rabin was sent up to Buffalo or was re-

quested to be sent up to Buffalo. We did not get into evidence.

He did actually go to Buffalo, in order to, inform the attorney

up there that he was no longer on the case, that Mr. Taube had

been hired.

As a matter of fact, according to the testimony of the wit-

nesses themselves, Mr. Taube was hired and paid two or three

times before he ever met Mr. Aiello. His conversation were

with Mr. Evseroff, and two people from the Ragusa family.

THE COURT: That is not uncommon that somebody in

effect pays for a lawyer while they are being brought here.

MR. LORE: That may not be uncommon. There was no

indication—Mr. Taube had no indication that the clierit knew

about it. There was some reference that the people who hired

him said, we talked with Mrs. Aiello Aiello, and she says

Okay.

Mr. Taube never testified that he called the other attorney,

made any contact.

THE COURT: I don't find that at all convincing. They sat

next to each for months and your client never objected to

Taube. When he got here he never objected. Taube so far as |

can tell was an a very fine lawyer. At least he on paper had

very fine experience.

5

a

x

4

3

D-8

MR. LORE: I’m not sure about his experience. He testified

that he went into private practice in February of 83.

THE COURT: What did he do before he was in private

practice.

MR. LORE: I understand he was in the prosecutor’s office.

THE COURT: That is main training ground for defense in

this city.

MR. LORE: Your Honor, | think—

THE COURT: Nothing that he did, you have shown that

was at all adverse to the client. | really don’t find any

domination of him by Evseroff.

MR. LORE: Perhaps you don’t see it. | would like to focus

on one exhibit which Mr. Taube says was devastating to the

client, that is the video tape of Mr. Aiello’s warehouse in

Buffalo. W A BC made a motion to release the tape. It was

played twice during the government’s summation. The jury

requested to see it. All the attorneys have said it was devastat-

ing. No motion was made that the prejudicial effect out-

weighed the probative value.

THE COURT: What was Aiello’s standing.

MR. LORE: It was his warehouse.

THE COURT: I don’t find there was much of a basis for

suppression there anyway.

D-9

MR. LORE: The Court of Appeals seemed to have be-

lieved it was in violation of Title Three. It was a potential

violation.

THE COURT: Potentially, yes.

MR. LORE: That was never gone into. The reason why,

Jeff Rabin was doing all the motions. He never got to this one.

He said he never saw the orders. Taube said he doesn’t think

there was an order.

THE COURT: Is that a constitutional violation.

MR. O’CONNELL: It’s a matter of record there was a

court order for the video.

THE COURT: That is a different matter than Evseroff

seeking to dominate, because everybody would have gained

by an suppression. It’s an entirely different issue. It’s not an

issue on remand. The issue on remand is not an issue whether

your client was well represented. Certainly under constitu-

tional theory as laid down by the Supreme Court, representa-

tion wasn't so poor we can say his constitutional rights were

violated.

MR. LORE: | would submit it was that poor.

THE COURT: Was that raised on the appeal.

MR. LORE: On the direct appeal.

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. LORE: Or our appeal.

D-10

THE COURT: Anyone.

MR. LORE: I don’t recall it being a point. The video tape

was an issue.

THE COURT: No, was there an issue raised with respect to

his right to effective counsel?

MR. LORE: The whole issue of conflicts that stems—

THE COURT: Conflict is different. You are now saying

that he didn’t do a good job because he didn’t make these

points.

MR. LORE: I mean that asa result—your Honor asked me

the question did that—was there anything—I didn’t see any-

thing shoddy about the performance.

THE COURT: | must say I don't see any conflict here. I

simply don’t credit your client, and Taube and Evseroff are

admitted members of the bar. I read their materials and they

seem fully consistent with what all the other attorneys said.

We have a family situation here. It’s not uncommon for

families to pay this way. The evidence was overwhelming that

they were all involved in an illegal enterprise and the ring

leaders, either hung separately or stayed together. That is

what they did.

MR. LORE: Perhaps if we look at it this way. We’re talking

about the question of effective assistance of counsel—

THE COURT: We're talking about conflict. As far as

effective assistance I find that given all of these circumstances

there was. not such in effective assistance as to constitute a

D-11

violation of constitutional rights.

We're down to the issues before me as remanded by the

Second Circuit. I don’t find any conflict. Evseroff did not

dominate Taube.

MR. LORE: We're focusing on the Sixth Amendment and

the right to counsel. Imagine if you will, Mr. Aiello, has an

attorney in Buffalo. Mr. Aiello’s we have a better attorney.

The families are going to bank role the whole thing, Mr.

Ragusa, I don’t know where he is, his daughters are here. This

laywer will not make any motions. He'll let my employee Jeff

Rabin, we are not going to look at the orders, all we’re going

to do is object to its prejudicial value. Aiello is not going to

say, yes.

THE COURT: At the time he agreed to accept the attorney.

He did it without anybody breaking his arm. He did it openly

and freely. Taube was a decent attorney as far as I can tell.

You might have tried it differently. You might have been

more successful. Given the evidence as it developed I dont

think you would have. I don’t credit his testimony that he

didn’t want Taube.

MR. LORE: Several of the other—not to be argumenta-

tive. Several of the other attorneys who have nothing to lose in

this sense—of course Mr. Taube is going to say that Mr.

Aiello’s wanted him.

THE COURT: I credit what he says.

MR. LORE: We have other attorneys Mr. Aiello com-

plained to me. Rabin bin said it. Sussman said it or he’s

complaining to everyone else but not to his own lawyer. It

|

OE

D-12

evidences his own satisfaction. We’re looking at a denial of the

right to counsel.

THE COURT: That is not enough. Every defendant I see

practically when he loses after trial is dissatisfied with his

counsel. If his counsel gets an acquittal he’s the greatest

person in the world. You have tried enough cases to know

that. After the event everybody can second guess.

MR. LORE: Your Honor, the fact is even being ona mis-

demeanor panel, on 18 B in Queens, I know that you don’t

divy up clients with people in your office. You just don’t do

that.

THE COURT: I don’t believe that as to Taube there was

any divying up. There may be argument as to somebody else.

Taube was not directly connected with Evseroff at all. There is

nothing to be gained by Evseroff appointing Taube. Taube

was quiet independent. He’s from the Bronx.

MR. LORE: He was chosen according to Evseroff’s testi-

mony. Evseroff was the man who was giving effect to the

desires of the family—

THE COURT: Of course that is true.

MR. LORE: He was reappraised because they thought

Aiello would turn informant. Those were Mr. Evseroff’s own

words. Obviously the corollary of that or the assumption, Mr.

Taube is going to go along with the program, not the attorney.

THE COURT: I don't credit that. I can’t believe that Taube

sold his client out. There is no evidence of that.

D-13

MR. LORE: That’s my client’s position. It appears to be an

interpretation of the—

THE COURT: I will look at the records again and reread

what I think is necessary. | simply find it difficult to credit

your client as against all of these attorneys.

MR. LORE: Half of the attorneys said Mr. Aiello didn’t

want Taube.

MR. LORE: We had the motion for contempt that your

Honor ruled on. I was dismayed not having been in your

Honor’s court before, but prior to being in your Honor’s

court on this matter, I wasa little bit aghast in what I saw to be

a bunker mentality on the part of the government and the

defense witnesses. People you talked to on the phone don’t

have the guts to put something in writing. You have to sub-

poena everyone into the courtroom—

THE COURT: Who did you want to get that didn’t come

in?

MR. LORE: Your Honor we did get them in under the egis

of the Court. That is the only way we dragged these people in.

THE COURT: For whatever reason they were here. I think

we have had a full elucidation of the issues. What conclusion

should be drawn is arguable. I don’t believe you have been

denied any evidence that was available.

MR. LORE: The only thing that we haven’t gotten the

letters rogatory.

|

;

EE

ee”

Z

D-14

THE COURT: Where are those materials? Do you have

anything?

MR. O'CONNELL: No, your Honor. I gave all the infor-

mation that I have been able to come up with. All I have

gotten is a report from the Office of International Affairs—

THE COURT: Did you give it in writing.

MR. O’CONNELL: The only writings that were read to me

over the telephone were letters—letters transmitted in "84—

THE COURT: Where are those documents?

MR. O’CONNELL: In Washington.

THE COURT: Get copies. You have communication, in-

stantaneous communication with Washington. I want copies

of those documents in the file turned over to defendant. | want

your letter of transmittal saying in the letter, if this is the case,

that these are all the documents that could be obtained and

you have nothing else.

MR. O’CONNELL: The only way to get additional infor-

mation would be by contacting a magistrate in Italy—

THE COURT: Did you hear what I just told you?

MR. O'CONNELL: Yes.

THE COURT: Then do it. I haven’t asked you to go to

Italy. The defendants can go to Italy if they want to.

MR. LORE: If I may on that point. Mr. Summers, who

D-15

was then assistant United States attorney recalled clearly that

a decision was made to postpone that matter until after the

trial and did we did present some documents. | find it hard to

believe that the United States attorney attorneys has no

documents, that they are only in Washington, D.C.

THE COURT: That is what they tell me and I'll accept that.

Next.

MR. RICCI: I would like to join—

THE COURT: I can't decide the case until that information

is supplied, is that clear?

MR. O'CONNELL: Yes, your Honor.

MR. LORE: I join in counsels arguments and rely on the

brief that we’ve submitted in terms of laying out all of the facts

in this case. I would simply like to read something quickly and

this is from U.S. against Cataldo which is—I will get the cite

625, F. Supp, 1255 Southern District 1985. There is a part

here where the judge is quoting from Judge Bryant who had

previously asked a series of questions to the particular

defendant. | think it’s phrased very well and I don't think I can

improve.

“Are you aware of the possibility that Mr. Corio or any

attorney so situated may be unable to give you impartial

advise because he has another ongoing matter with the

government at the same time and there is a possible incentive

or risk that anybody so situated might be motavated to act in

some fashion which would improve his relationship with the

government prosecutors in his own case and possibly to your

D-16

detriment? Do you understand that risk may exist.

The defendant replied, “Yes I understand.

The judge, “Do you understand further that Mr. Corio or

any attorney so situated might be unwilling or unable to

advise you impartially as to whether or not you should effect a

_ disposition of this case or how this case should be handled

because of the fact that he might fear that any discussion you

had with the government might adversely effect his own

relationship in connection with this possible difficulties in the

Eastern District or elsewhere. Do you understand that?

The defendant responded, “I do.

Judge Bryant further asks whether the defendant under-

stood that Mr. Corio might be required to focus attention on

his defense to the detriment of the defendant.

Might be called to trial at any time leaving the defendant to

obtain a new attorney at the last minute.

To each of these questions the defendant responded affirm-

atively.

Judge Bryant then asked the defendant, “Now do you

understand—Now do you understand that you havea right to

make a change in counsel at any time providing that change

does not delay the trial and it is your obligation to yourself to

consider whether these matter impair your constitutional

right to have the effective independent representation of

counsel in connection with this case due to the fact that your

attorney is under indictment in Federal court in a different

district, do you understand that?

D-17

The defendant, “Yes I do.”

The case turned on other points, I believe, but at least the

jist of the argument, Mr. Evseroff’s version—

THE COURT: Who represented your client?

MR. RICCI: Mr. Evseroff.

THE COURT: He himself.

MR. RICCI: He himself.

THE COURT: His domination of others is not an issue in

your case. If he dominated others, presumably it was in favor

of your client.

MR. RICCI: Yes, he never told my client and even admits

that on the deposition, that he never told him about the

investigation which was prior to this January 13.

THE COURT: What investigation.

MR. RICCI: Like | say I join in everything said—

THE COURT: What investigation.

MR. RICCI: The investigation by the United States

Attorney’s Office.

THE COURT: Of who.

MR. RICCI: Of Mr. Evseroff.

D-18

THE COURT: I don't understand what that has to do with

your client. He wasn't being investigated in connection with

these events.

MR. RICCI: No, but he was under investigation. The

analogy with the Cataldo case we had a situation where Judge

Bryant—

THE COURT: Corio was indicted.

MR. RICCI: Correct. What Judge Bryant is saying to Mr.

Cataldo applies equally if Mr. Scaduto had known that Mr.

Evseroff was under investigation.

THE COURT: I don’t—

MR. RICCI: —and he was never told about that.

THE COURT: I dont believe that the United States

Attorney can in effect put a lawyer out of business by investi-

gating him.

MR. RICCI: I’m not saying that at all. Not at all. I’m not

saying that he’s automatically disqualified.

THE COURT: Did Evseroff know he was being investi-

gated by the grand jury.

MR. RICCI: If you read the papers on the—that we sub-

mitted under the Torterelli case there is the Brian Mass affi-

davit indicating that Mr. Evseroff was told prior—the Court

of Appeals decision—we have a date January 13. There is

then a letter by Mr. Evseroff, in the Torterelli case, referring

to the—Mr. Mass affidavit saying | didn’t know until then.

D-19

Then there is Judge Mishler who makes the finding that he

knew and wasn’t told until that date. As of the January 13

date we have—

THE COURT: It’s remote. Are you saying that he laid

down on Scaduto in order to gain favor with the United States

Attorney? He wouldn't be prosecuted in his own case?

MR. RICCI: What I’m trying to say he’s not automatically

disqualified. What he should have done or the United States

Attorney should have done, is say Mr. Scaduto, Mr. Evseroff

is under investigation, then we could have had a Judge Bryant

situation saying—

THE COURT: I have given the same warnings to defend-

ants as Judge Bryant did when Corio was representing

somebody. :

MR. RICCI: At least Cataldo knew.

THE COURT: And the evidence i is clear here that Scaduto

did not know.

MR. RICCI: Absolutely he says itand Mr. Evseroff 1 asked

that question.

THE COURT: Then you have the other point.

MR. RICCI: The other point.

THE COURT: Bartolotta was being represented.

MR. RICCI: And all at the same time.

D-20

THE COURT: It the others—Bartolotta was represented

in the state proceeding.

MR. RICCI: And Solemi was seen by Mr. Rabin during

that proceeding too.

I would just like to é€nd it with another short quote. I’m

quoting from page 192 of the Gambino transcript which we

put before the court. | like the phrasing of this. Mr. Carnesse

is on the stand and the prosecutor is asking him a series of

questions and it gets to the point with this conflict and the

prosecutor says.

QUESTION: As an officer of the court—he’s talking to

Mr.—dquestioning Mr. Carnesse—as an officer of the court,

you certainly didn’t go to Judge Lacy and say, “Judge | think

Mr. Evseroff has a conflict of interest here, did you?

|

ANSWER: No, sir I did not.

THE COURT: | might add that no one from the govern-

ment went to him either, did they?

THE WITNESS: I’m glad you said that before I did, Judge.

MR. ROTH: There is a difference. The government didn’t

know that Jacob Evseroff represented—the government in

this district MarryAnn Murphy and Ed Balinkus, who

handled the case, did not know that Mr. Evseroff represented

Giatano Mosara in the Southern District of New York or we

would have.

I think that is the idea—

D-21

THE COURT: I understand. It’s not a easy case. What

does the government have to say.

MR. O’CONNELL: Your Honor, we have laid out our

arguments in the brief. | would like to respond to a couple of

things.

One, Mr. Lore has made a very lose reference to the record

concerning other defense attorney’s comments about Aiello’s

complaints, about his representation, by Taube. | think all

that the record will show is that a couple of the defense

attorneys during the deposition mentioned that they thought

they recalled Aiello complaining that he did not see Taube

enough. Which is a common complaint. I don’t think there

was substance to the complaints at all.

In so far as this Concilla argument is concerned, | think

your Honor rightly points out that the facts in Concilla are

entirely distinguishable from this case. There is absolutely no

relationship between the subject matter of the Ragusa case _

and the investigation of Evseroff which our office had under

way in 1983.

THE COURT: What is the answer that you give that there

should have been a motion to suppress the TV tape in Aiello

in the warehouse in Buffalo.

MR. O’CONNELL: Your Honor, I think that would come

under ineffective assistance on the merits. As your Honor

pointed out and the standard for assessing the attorney’s per-

formance is one which is very foregiving, and in any event, I’m

not certain, and I’ve been unable to find in the record whether

an objection to the admission of that tape had been filed or

not. I think there was an objection. Counsel had testified that

ee ce ee

se D-22

no go to the admission of the tape.

THE COURT: Counsel for the defendant—

MR. LORE: Page 2378.

THE COURT: You'd better gOthrough the record and see

what there is on that. If the objection es under Rule 403

grounds that is entirely different from a oe

MR. RICCI: The two objections were won Mr. Tau

objected on the basis that the prejudice far outweighed—

THE COURT: That is Rule 403—

MR. RICCI: And Mr. Evseroff objected on no proper

foundation.

THE COURT: It’s a common motion. Every defense

lawyer would normally make such a motion.

MR. O'CONNELL: There was a federal court order in

place which permitted the video to be installed.

THE COURT: They always go behind the court order to

see whether there is a basis.

MR. O’CONNELL: I dont see any connection between the

failure—

THE COURT: Do we have in the record all the supporting

data for that court order in Buffalo?

MR. O’CONNELL: I'm sure it’s in the record. It’s a matter

D-23

of retrieving it.

THE COURT: Retrieve it and submit it.

MR. O'CONNELL: What I fail to see is any connection

between a conflict claim raised by the petitioners and the

suppression issue, if any, regarding that video tape in the

Buffalo warehouse.

THE COURT: I suppose arguably if Evseroff were using

Taube as a stooge, he might have thought if Aiello didn’t

suppress, may be Scaduto would have gotten off. I don't

know how it would be argued.

MR. O’CONNELL: The tape certainly was helpful to the

government's case. It showed Aiello and Scaduto within the

warehouse dismantling the pallets which contained the heroin

or formerly contained the heroin. I can’t imagine how it

would be viewed as helpful to either Scaduto or Aiello’s case.

Scaduto’s case in the conflict scenario to include that tape in

the government’s andnot to object to it. It’s just a

ludicrous ae Ao ws ase Game a

doesn’t make any sense.

I responded already—

THE COURT: That is the difficulty I have with it. It may

show incompetence, but it doesn’t show that incompetence

was due to conflict.

MR. O’CONNELL: I don't think any neglect or lack of

care by the defense attorneys rises to the level of irresponsi-

bility which would effectively deny the constitutionally

entitled right to counsel of these defendants at trial.

D-24

THE COURT: You will submit all that documentation. |

will take a look at it and see if there was any real basis for a

motion. If there was no substantial basis may be that is why

they didn’t make it.

MR. O'CONNELL: There was a lack of standing on the

part of Scaduto.

THE COURT: Yes, Scaduto doesn’t have standing.

MR. O’CONNELL: It was a matter of Aiello’s assess-

ment—

THE COURT: They would have had to sever.

MR. LORE: That is the point.

THE COURT: I understand the point. They would have

had to sever the case.

MR. LORE: It was Taube’s doing.

MR. O’CONNELL: I think your Honor has noted there

has been an insufficient showing, if any, that Evseroff

controlled the tactical strategy decisions of the other defense

attorneys involved in the trial. There were several critical

decisions made by defense attorneys that we have attorney

testimony about that were completely at odds with the

suggested view of Evseroff. That included the decision—

THE COURT: He didn’t dominate the trial. That is fairly

clear to me.

MR. O’CONNELL: | think that would go hand in hand

D-25

with a rejection of the argument that the failure to—of Taube

to file a pretrial motion to suppress the video tape was

connected to his domination and thus his conflict. I don't see

it. I don’t think that they have established it. The other issue

raised and specified for further inquiry by the Second Circuit

concerned the failure to call Salvatore Bartolotta as a witness.

Each of the defense attorneys was questioned on this

subject. We have laid out their responses in our statement of

facts and memorandum, your Honor. There is a consistency

to the view of each of these defense attorneys as to what their

tactical reasons were for not calling him as a witness. Pri-

marily it was the lack of appeal that that witness would

have—

THE COURT: Was there ever a motion to sever the

various defendant’s cases.

MR. O’CONNELL: I’m not certain of that.

THE COURT: Would vou look ints thattoo and give me

hat in a letter. That is a very strange circumstances.

MR. RICCI: The docket sheet doesn’t indicate any at all.

THE COURT: Then at least some of these people would

have wanted to call Bartolotta.

MR. LORE: There were oral motion mades during the

trial, but none that I recall to paper.

THE COURT: Better check the record and let me know

what was in the way of motions to sever.

D-26

MR. RICCI: With reference to that court order—

THE COURT: One at a time.

MR. O’CONNELL: One thing that is glaring in the record

that has been finalized and before the court. It’s something

that is glaringly absent. There is no indication from Salvatore

Bartolotta what exculpatory testimony he would provide.

THE COURT: Where is he now?

MR. O'CONNELL: He must be incarcerated in the state

system.

THE COURT: Do you want a proffer as to what he would

say?

MR. O'CONNELL: They haven't come forward.

A ge

Jie er eee

HE-€GURKT: Do you want to make a proffer.

MR. LORE: The shortest answer, no, your Honor.

THE COURT: That is enough. That’s enough you don’t

want to make a proffer.

MR. O’CONNELL: In response to that we do have the

testimony of Mr. Evseroff on the subject that he was aware of

no exculpatory testimony that could have been provided by

Bartolotta.

THE COURT: I suppose the answer to that is accurate.

MR. O'CONNELL: We have the—as I said, your Honor,

D-27

we have the testimony of Mr. Taube, that Aiello never

requested that Bartolotta testify. We have the testimony of

Mr. Evseroff and Mr. Rabin that Mr. Scaduto rather than

wanting to call him to testify held Mr. Bartolatta in very low

steam and had no interest in calling him as a witness.

Everything points to the conclusion I would suggest that

there was never any serious contemplation by the defense for

calling Bartolotta as a witness.

THE COURT: I think that is probably so.

THE COURT: I’m going to have to decide what the Court

of Appeals remanded as issues.

I can tell you, if this was ~ trial, and I don’t say this

Had this situation ones before with a very eminent defense

counsel who when I told him somebody else had to represent

the co-defendant, arranged for somebody in his office to

represent the co-defendant, without informing me that they

were related in the same office. | wasnt aware of it, and after

the conviction, even though the conviction was a very strong

one, | insisted on a new trial on the theory that should have

been brought to my attention so that I could inquire of the

defendants.

The practice here was very sloppy at best. I did not try the |

case. I just got very narrow questions posed by the Court of

Appeals.

MR. LORE: If I may be heard?

THE COURT: If you want toamend your 2255 application

D-28

in other respects you can do so while I’m waiting for these

matters to be tied up by the Government.

As it now stands I believe I’m restricted to what the Court

of Appeals remanded for.

MR. RICCI: If | may—

THE COURT: If you want to have a broader 2255 you will

have to move in the Court of Appeals for a general remand as

I «understand it. It has been remanded only for the issues that

they pose, isn’t that so.

MR. O'CONNELL: That is the way I view the decision.

MR. RICCI: I direct your attention to the very first para-

talking Sixth Amendment. Whether it’s a Sixth Amendment

violation—

THE COURT: I’m just a trial judge and I do what the

Court of Appeals tells me to do. Let me see the opinion.

MR. O'CONNELL: Your Honor, if there is—

THE COURT: May I see the opinion?

MR. RICCI: I have it someplace, yes.

MR. O'CONNELL: I have a copy.

MR. RICCI: It starts out quote—

THE COURT: Excuse me.

D-29

Remanded for further proceeding under conflict of interest

claims.

MR. RICCI: I think what we can put in there the example

you brought out to a person that works in his office, that was

never before the court and that is clearly conflict.

THE COURT: I’m not going to do anything that wasn’t

before the court. If you want me to go any further than the

narrow issues | believe the Court of Appeals has remanded to

this court, you are going to have to move to amend your 2255

application.

MR. RICCI: Before this Court.

THE COURT: Before this Court and then I’m—Aiello

deem that denied. You will have to go to the Court of Appeals

aid ask for a broader remand to consider the broader issues ——

under Rule 2255 including any Sixth Amendment, adequacy

of counsel rights, and so on. Otherwise | dont believe I have

the power.

MR. RICCI: It was always my understanding on reading

the case law under that 44 C with reference to association, et

cetera, that is clearly under the egis of the Sixth Amendment,

conflicts of issues.

THE COURT: I don’t believe it is.

You are raising a new issue with respect to adequacy of

tepresentation. Rather than spend a lot of time unnecessarily,

if you want to expand the 2255 application and raise all of

these other issues and have a complete decision on the 2255

you had better move for an amendment of the order of

D-30

remand.

MR. RICCI: Your Honor, if | may can I direct your atten-

tion to footnote one of page 1899. That is going under. You

notice they didn’t go with the requirement of 44 C because the

judge had no evidence of the association—

THE COURT: That doesn’t necessarily decide the issue of

whether that shouldn't have been made known. The judge can

make inquiry. Particularly in view of footnote one if I were in

your position | would move in the Court of Appeals for

remand on all issues and then seek to broaden the 2255.

MR. O'CONNELL: Is your Honor alluding to the rela-

tionship, or whatever it might have been, between Rabin and

Evseroff that troubles you?

~TWty-view it-would be to the detriment of—

ee MOR Reread

THE COURT: My position as a trial judge is, | want to

know everything about representation. If there is any asso-

ciation between the lawyers, if one lawyer is controlling the

other lawyer, possibly. If one lawyer is paying the other

lawyer. If they have joint clients, | want to know sol can raise

it in advance and not waste my time with a trial. | take a very

firm view of that matter. But whether my general views in a

case that I would try should applied in this case retroactively I

don't know.

I can tell you any lawyer who didn’t tell me would be

excoriated in my court and I told the lawyers previously

involved before me if they ever did that again they were going

to go to the disciplinary committee. | considered it an attempt

to mislead the court.

D-31

This is not my trial. Its been remanded for a narrow issue.

Judge Costantino recused myself. If you want me to do every-

thing in the case get a broader remand. | don’t know whether

I'll decide for the defendants. I’m not sure. I don’t credit their

testimony. I think they lied throughout. I believe generally the

attorneys told the truth, but whether that is dispositive I’m not

sure.

MR. O'CONNELL: I would like to note for the record the

relationship that existed between Rabin and Evseroff in that

office is one which was fully explored by counsel throughout

this proceeding, throughout these depositions.

THE COURT: It was not explored by the trial judge. It was

not told to the trial judge at the beginning of the case and the

trial judge did not ask the defendants about it. That’s what

disturbing.

MR. O’CONNELL: | understand.

THE COURT: Get what I told you to get. Defendants will

~~ decide what they want to do in the Court of Appeals.

aay de

MR. RICCI: Could we make that motion——_____

Pe ee en

THE COURT: I’m denying it.

MR. LORE: Could we make it—

THE COURT: I have limited power. If you want to expand

the 2255 you will have to go to the Court of Appeals.

MR. LORE: Would your Honor take it in the context of a

motion to review based upon newly discovered evidence.

tg

D-32

THE COURT: No.

I’m not going to expand the 2255. That is the one before the

Court of Appeals and the one they remanded. I’m not going

to waste my time doing something the Court of Appeals has

not authorized me to do.

Order a copy of the record and discuss what you want to

do.

Submit a copy.

MR. LORE: Can we have a control date on the informa-

tion from Washington, D.C.

THE COURT: Could you get it in two weeks.

MR. O'CONNELL: I don’t want to mislead anyone into

thinking that we'll have a final answer from these records that

the office—

THE COURT: I don’t want any final answer. I just want

the records.

an MR. O’CONNELL: Whatever records are available.

ee °

THE COURT: That is what I want.

bia cea

MR. O'CONNELL: I11 try to hve them available in a

couple of weeks. eae

™.

ins

THE COURT: You have three weeks. If you don't ie oe

from the defendants with respect to a motion to amend the

order on remand, it’s going to be decided solely on the 2255

“SS

D-33

that went up to the Court of Appeals and that they decided the

case on and it will be decided on the issues remanded by the

Court of Appeals.

MR. RICCI: Can I ask your Honor, when you say haven’t

heard from the defendants, are you saying you want acopy of

the motion made.

THE COURT: I would like to know what you are doing. |

would like to close this out. It’s about time.

Thank you very much.

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

-

No. 525—August Term, 1986

(Argued: December 11, 1986 Decided: March 18, 1987)

Docket No. 86-2236

.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

—_— v——_—

ANDREA AIELLO a/k/a ANTONIO AIELLO, FRANCESCA

BARTOLOTTA and LORENZO SCADUTO,

Defendants-Appellants.

>

Before:

OAKES, CARDAMONE and DAVIs*

Circuit Judges.

+

*Honorable Oscar H. Davis, U.S. Circuit Judge for the Federal Circuit,

Washington, D.C., sitting by designation.

1891

E-2

Andrea Aiello, Francesca Bartolotta and Lorenzo

Scaduto appeal from an order entered June 6, 1986 in the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

New York (Costantino, J.) that treated their Fed. R.

Crim. P. 33 motion for a new trial as an application for

a writ of habeas corpus and denied the application. Appel-

lant Scaduto separately appeals from an order of February

13, 1986 that denied his Fed. R. Crim. P. 35(a) motion to

correct his sentence. Insofar as the order denied habeas

relief, it is reversed and remanded for further proceed-

ings. Insofar as it denied appellant Scaduto’s motion for

resentencing, it is affirmed.

Reversed in part and remanded.

Affirmed in part.

a

WILLIAM E. LORE, Forest Hills, New York, for

Defendant-Appellant Andrea Aiello.

MARTIN OZER, New York, New York, for

Defendant-Appellant Francesca Bartolotta.

MICHAEL RICCI, Whitestone, New York, for

Defendant-Appellant Lorenzo Scaduto.

JULIE COPELAND, Assistant United States

Attorney, Eastern District of New York

(Andrew J. Maloney, United States Attor-

ney, Eastern District of New York, David

V. Kirby, Emily Berger, Assistant United

States Attorneys, Eastern District of New

York, of counsel), for Plaintiff-Appellee

United States of America.

ae

E-3

CARDAMONE, Circuit Judge:

Loyalty of a lawyer to his client’s cause is the sine qua

non of the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee that an accused

is entitled to effective assistance of counsel. Because

defense counsel are best positioned to know when a con-

flict exists or will likely develop during the course of trial,

the initial responsibility for preventing the erosion of a

client’s rights rests on the lawyer’s shoulders. This appeal

raises questions concerning whether in this case that duty

was adequately discharged.

I. BACKGROUND

Andrea Aiello, Francesca Bartolotta and Lorenzo

Scaduto appeal from the disposition of their Fed. R.

Crim. P. 33 motion for a new trial, which the district

court treated as an application for a writ of habeas corpus,

28 U.S.C. § 2255, and denied. Appellants’ claims arising

from their convictions on heroin importation and distri-

bution charges have been previously considered and

affirmed on direct appeal in United States v. Aiello, 771

F.2d 621 (2d Cir. 1985). On the present appeal appellants

assert that their trial attorneys had conflicts of interest

that deprived them of effective assistance of counsel in

derogation of their Sixth Amendment rights. Although the

district court reviewed all the affidavits submitted on this

issue, it denied the application without a hearing. Because

we think that appellants are entitled to a fuller inquiry

into their claim, the order denying the writ is reversed and

the matter is remanded to the district court for further

proceedings. Appellant Scaduto also appeals the denial of

his Fed. R. Crim. P. 35(a) motion to correct his sentence.

Finding no merit to his claim, we affirm.

A. Facts

A brief summary of background facts is necessary. Fed-

eral and state agents arrested Lorenzo Scaduto, Andrea

E-4

Aiello, Salvatore Bartolotta, and Filippo Ragusa in Sep-

tember 1983. Ragusa is the father of appellant Francesca

Bartolotta, wife of Salvatore Bartolotta, and Maria

Scaduto, wife of appellant Lorenzo Scaduto. Francesca

Bartolotta was arrested and indicted several months later.

Shortly after the initial arrests, the two sisters—Francesca

and Maria—asked Mr. Evseroff to represent all of those

arrested on drug charges. He agreed to represent Fran-

cesca’s husband Salvatore and recommended a number of

lawyers to represent the other defendants. Among these

were Mr. Jeffrey A. Rabin, who later became Francesca

Bartolotta’s trial counsel and Mr. Arnold Taub, who rep-

resented appellant Andrea Aiello at trial. Attorney Ev-

seroff, in an affidavit, states that shortly after Salvatore

Bartolotta’s arrest and indictment by a New York State

Grand Jury he was asked to represent Bartolotta in the

state proceeding. Once Bartolotta was severed from the

original federal charge, Mrs. Scaduto and Mrs. Bartolotta

then asked Evseroff to represent Lorenzo Scaduto on the

federal charge. Attorney Evseroff further states that attor-

ney Rabin was retained to assist him in representing

Scaduto on the federal charges. Neither attorney indicates

in their affidavits who retained attorney Rabin. In addi-

tion to appearing for Scaduto, Mr. Rabin states that he

made appearances for Salvatore Bartolotta in the state

proceeding. Thus, at the end of 1983, Mr. Rabin was

assisting Mr. Evseroff in his representation of Salvatore

Bartolotta and Lorenzo Scaduto.

When appellants’ trial began in March 1984 Evseroff

continued to represent Salvatore Bartolotta and Scaduto,

Mr. Rabin represented Mrs. Bartolotta, and Mr. Taub

defended Aiello. Evseroff’s affidavit merely states that “it

was decided that Mr. Rabin ... would represent Fran-

cesca Bartolotta.” Mr. Rabin’s affidavit does not indicate

E-5

whether he was still consulting with her husband when he

undertook Mrs. Bartolotta’s defense. No dates are pro-

vided.

B. Alleged Areas of Conflict of Interest

There are two areas of disagreement between the affida-

vits submitted by appellants and the attorneys’ affidavits

furnished by the government—each area raises the possi-

bility of a conflict of interest. The first area of an alleged

conflict of interest is the failure to call Salvatore Barto-

lotta to testify. This conflict of interest contention centers

on attorney Jacob Evseroff who served as Scaduto’s trial

counsel. Mr. Evseroff also represented Francesca Bartolot-

ta’s husband, Salvatore, who was an unindicted co-

conspirator in his wife’s federal trial and a defendant in

state court for his part in the heroin scheme. Appellants

assert that Evseroff failed to call his client Salvatore Bar-

tolotta to testify in appellants’ federal trial because he put

Bartolotta’s interests above their interests. Trial counsel

representing the other appellants also failed to call Barto-

lotta as a witness because these lawyers were controlled,

appellants allege, by attorney Evseroff.

Appellants insist that they wanted Salvatore Bartolotta

to testify. Scaduto and Aiello state that they asked their

attorneys to call him, and Francesca Bartolotta indicates

that she discussed this possibility with Mr. Rabin. In their

affidavits attorneys Evseroff, Taub, and Rabin aver that

their respective clients did not wish them to call Barto-

lotta as a witness.

The affidavits submitted in support of the appellants’

applications suggest a reason for the failure to call Salva-

tore Bartolotta. Scaduto, Aiello, Maria Scaduto, and Rosa

Ragusa—another daughter of Filippo Ragusa and sister of

E-6

Maria Scaduto and Francesca Bartolotta—all claim that

Mr. Evseroff stated that he would not call Bartolotta

because he would get “50 years to life” for the charges he

was facing in state court if he testified in the federal case.

Francesca Bartolotta attributes that same statement to

attorney Rabin. Mr. Evseroff responds to that claim by

stating that he discussed the possibility of Bartolotta testi-

fying with Scaduto and Francesca Bartolotta and that they

vociferously opposed it. Mr. Taub states that he never

heard Mr. Evseroff state that Salvatore Bartolotta would

get more time if he testified. Attorney Rabin admits dis-

cussing with Francesca Bartolotta the possible conse-

quences of her husband’s testifying, but denies stating

that Salvatore Bartolotta would receive “50 years” if he

did in fact testify. Moreover, attorneys Taub and Rabin

cite tactical considerations for not having Bartolotta tes-

tify. Finally, Salvatore Bartolotta himself states in his affi-

davit that he was willing to testify, if called, but does not

indicate what his testimony would have been.

The affidavits differ most sharply in the second area

where there is a claimed conflict of interest. That alleged

conflict concerns counsel fees. While Maria Scaduto and

attorneys Taub and Evseroff agree that Maria Scaduto

was the ultimate source of the money paid to the trial

attorneys, they disagree as to the amount of fees paid and

how the fees were paid. Maria Scaduto claims that she

gave Mr. Evseroff $500,000 to pay for Evseroff’s represen-

tation of both Lorenzo Scaduto and Salvatore Bartolotta,

and for the services of the other attorneys. She further

claims that Mr. Evseroff told her that the money would be

distributed among the other attorneys, and informed her

of what attorneys Rabin’s and Taub’s fees would be as

part of that distribution. Her affidavit is silent as to who

would make the distribution.

E-7

Mr. Evseroff denies that the aggregate fee for all the

lawyers amounted to “anything approximating”

$500,000. He does acknowledge that Maria Scaduto

brought cash to his office for distribution and that the

money was distributed according to each lawyer’s fee

arrangement. But he does not indicate who effected the

distribution. Nor does Mr. Evseroff explain how he knew

that the money was distributed according to each lawyer’s

fee arrangement, when he was ignorant of what those

arrangements were. Contradicting Maria Scaduto, Mr.

Taub claims that she paid him directly on several occa-

sions.

The final point of disagreement involves the alleged

withholding by attorney Evseroff of legal fees for Mr.

Rabin, Mr. Taub, and other defense counsel. Maria

Scaduto and Francesca Bartolotta both state that they had

a September 1984 conversation with Mr. Rabin in which

he is supposed to have said that Mr. Evseroff had with-

held some of the money provided by Maria Scaduto. In

response, the government produced a letter from attorney

Rabin to an Assistant United States Attorney in which he

denied making those statements. Because both Mr. Taub’s

and Mr. Evseroff’s affidavits preceded the particular affi-

davits in which Scaduto and Bartolotta make this particu-

lar assertion, the attorneys’ affidavits do not directly

address it. Nonetheless, Mr. Taub’s and Mr. Evseroff’s

various statements concerning the payment of fees are

implicit denials of Scaduto’s and Bartolotta’s statements.

Faced with these conflicting sworn statements, the dis-

trict court denied appellants’ application without a hear-

ing. The trial court held that the appellants had either

failed to allege or establish an actual conflict of interest

sufficient to qualify as an actual conflict of interest

E-12

whether the appellants wanted Salvatore Bartolotta to tes-

tify, whether the defense counsel did or did not want him

and, if not, why not.

Two other factors persuade us that summary disposi-

tion of appellants’ application was inappropriate. Appel-

lants have not previously had an evidentiary hearing on

this claim, see Dalli, 491 F.2d at 761, and the circum-

stances providing the factual basis for appellants’ applica-

tion occurred outside of the courtroom. Thus, the files

and records of the case would be of little or no aid to the

trial court in passing on it. See Machibroda, 368 U.S. at

494-95.

For these reasons, we reverse the district court’s order

that denied their application for a writ and remand the

case for further inquiry into appellants’ claims. Of course,

such inquiry may take the form of an evidentiary hearing,

or the district court, in its discretion, may utilize any of

the habeas rules designed to supplement the record with-

out the necessity of conducting a full-blown evidentiary

hearing. See Rules Governing Habeas Corpus Cases, 28

U.S.C. app. fol. § 2255 (1982). See also Blackledge, 431

U.S. at 81-82 (discussing the advantages of Rules 6 and 7

of the Rules Governing Habeas Corpus for supplementing

the record while avoiding the necessity of a hearing).

III. SCADUTO’S RESENTENCING

Scaduto appeals from his resentence by the district

court following the disposition of the direct appeal.

Scaduto was convicted at trial of conspiracy to import

heroin (21 U.S.C. §§ 952, 960, 963), conspiracy to distrib-

ute heroin (§§ 841, 846), the substantive crimes of posses-

sion of heroin with intent to distribute (§ 841) and

importation of heroin (§§ 952, 960), and, managing a con-

E-13

tinuing criminal enterprise (§ 848). He was sentenced to a

35 year term with a $100,000 fine for the § 848 convic-

tion, a 14 year term and a $25,000 fine for each of the two

conspiracy convictions—these terms to run concurrently

with each other and consecutively to the § 848 sentence—

and a 15 year term and $25,000 fine for each of the two

convictions for the substantive crimes, these terms to run

concurrently to each other, but consecutively to those on

the other counts. See Aiello, 771 F.2d at 626-27.

On Scaduto’s direct appeal we followed the procedure

outlined in United States v. Osorio Estrada, 751 F.2d 128

(2d Cir. 1984), modified on reh’g on other grounds, 757

F.2d 27 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 97 (1985), for

handling convictions for lesser and greater offenses. Thus,

we vacated Scaduto’s sentences for the conspiracy convic-

tions and remanded the case to the district court for it to

combine those convictions with the continuing criminal

enterprise conviction, as well as for resentencing on the

latter conviction. See Aiello, 771 F.2d at 634. Upon

remand, the district court ultimately vacated the conspir-

acy convictions, thereby effectively combining them with

the § 848 conviction, and increased the sentence for the

§ 848 conviction from 35 to 45 years. The § 848 sentence

was concurrent with the sentences for the two substantive

counts. As a result of the district court’s resentencing, the

total sentence imposed on Scaduto was reduced.

The exact ground of Scaduto’s challenge to the district

court’s action is unclear. Presumably appellant objects to

the increase in the sentence on the § 848 conviction fol-

lowing the combination of it with the conspiracy convic-

tions. If this is the objection, it is groundless. We have

previously approved an increase of a § 848 sentence after

a conspiracy conviction has been combined with it. See

E-8

adversely affecting counsel’s performance. From this dis-

position an appeal was taken.

II. ALLEGED CONFLICT OF INTEREST CLAIMS

A. Standards For Assessing

The standard for assessing whether an attorney’s con-

flict of interest renders his assistance ineffective is set

forth in Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980). “In order

to demonstrate a violation of his Sixth Amendment

rights, a defendant must establish that an actual conflict

of interest adversely affected his lawyer’s performance.”

Id. at 350. In examining this question, we consider first

whether the district court had a duty under either Fed. R.

Crim. P. 44(c) or the Constitution to inquire at the time

of trial into Mr. Evseroff’s representation of Scaduto and

Salvatore Bartolotta.

Appellants’ argument that the trial court erred in failing

to conduct a hearing into Mr. Evseroff’s dual representa-

tion as required by Rule 44(c) is misplaced. The language

of Rule 44(c) itself indicates that a hearing is required

only in cases where defendants have been “jointly

charged” or “joined for trial.” The Advisory Committee

Note accompanying the Rule confirms this: “Rule 44(c)

establishes a procedure for avoiding the occurrence of

events which might otherwise give rise to a plausible post-

conviction claim that because of joint representation the

defendants in a criminal case were deprived of their Sixth

Amendment right to the effective assistance of counsel.”

Fed. R. Crim. P. 44(c) Advisory Committee Note. More-

over, appellants do not point to—nor has research

uncovered—any case where a court has applied Rule

44(c) when one attorney represents two defendants—one

of whom is a potential witness in the trial of the other—

E-9

B. Dismissal Without A Hearing

Even without an affirmative duty to inquire at trial, the

relevant question on this appeal becomes: Should the dis-

trict court have denied the appellants’ post-trial applica-

tion without further inquiry? While it would go too far to

say that it was error for the district court to have failed to

conduct a full evidentiary hearing; nevertheless, it was not

an appropriate case for summary dismissal of the petition.

The language of § 2255 states that “[uJnless the motion

and the files and records conclusively show that the pris-

oner is entitled to no relief, the court shall... grant a

prompt hearing.” 28 U.S.C. § 2255 (1982). As a result, we

look with disfavor on summary rejection of a habeas peti-

tion when it is supported by a “sufficient affidavit.” Dalli

v. United States, 491 F.2d 758, 760 (2d Cir. 1974) (em-

phasis in original).

When considering a § 2255 habeas application the sup-

porting affidavits must be examined first. Opposing affi-

davits should also be considered in order to test the

sufficiency of the petitioner’s allegations, but not for find-

ing them false. See, e.g., Machibroda v. United States, 368

U.S. 487, 495 (1962); United States v. Franzese, 525 F.2d

27, 30-31 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 921

(1976). Not every application that is supported by a set of

facially meritorious allegations will survive a motion to

deny the writ. To warrant plenary presentation of evi-

dence, the application must contain assertions of fact that

a petitioner is in a position to establish by competent evi-

dence. See Machibroda, 368 U.S. at 495-96; Dalli, 491

F.2d at 761. Whether there is a genuine issue of material

fact depends upon the sufficiency of those factual allega-

tions. Airy generalities, conclusory assertions and hearsay

statements will not suffice because none of these would be

E-10

in two different forums.’ Thus, we conclude that in this

instance the trial court had no duty under Rule 44(c) to

conduct an inquiry.

The Sixth Amendment also imposes a duty upon a trial

court to inquire when it “knows or reasonably should

know that a particular conflict exists.” Cuyler, 446 U.S. at

347. Appellants argue that there were three separate occa-

sions when Mr. Evseroff indicated that he was represent-

ing both Bartolotta and Scaduto. Yet, taken together these

instances were insufficient to alert the trial court to a pos-

sible conflict of interest. First, attorney Evseroff’s remarks

made it clear that Bartolotta and Scaduto were facing

separate proceedings. See Cuyler, 446 U.S. at 347 (“The

provision of separate trials for [the petitioner] and his

codefendants significantly reduced the potential for a

divergence in their interests.”); Mosier v. Murphy, 790

F.2d 62, 65 (10th Cir. 1986) (following Cuyler). Second,

the attorney’s comments indicated that Bartolotta’s and

Scaduto’s interests converged, rather than diverged, on

the particular issue that Evseroff was raising before the

court. Cuyler instructs that the consistency or compatibil-

ity of co-defendants’ defenses is a factor to be considered

in determining whether the trial court had notice of a

potential conflict. See Cuyler at 347. Finally, appellants

did not object at trial to the dual representation. See id. at

347. Thus, we conclude that the district court was not

obliged by Cuyler to conduct an inquiry at the trial.

1appellants also argue that attorneys Rabin and Evseroff were

“associated in the practice of law” within the meaning of Rule 44(c). Such

a relationship also triggers the requirement for an inquiry. This claim is

meritless. There is no evidence suggesting that the trial court should have

been aware of this “association” if, in fact, it existed.

E-11

admissible evidence at a hearing. See Franzese, 525 F.2d

at 31. Hence, like a motion for summary judgment in civil

cases, both the petitioner’s and government’s afiidavits—

taken together—are used to determine the existence of

genuine issues of material fact. See Blackledge v. Allison,

431 U.S. 63, 80-81 (1977); 3 C. Wright, Federal Practice

& Procedure, § 599 at 499 (2d ed. 1982). If the affidavits

disclose such material issues, then the application will sur-

vive a motion to dismiss and a contrary ruling that sum-

marily disposes of the petition is error. See Allison, 431

U.S. at 82-83.

The affidavits submitted here disclosed genuine issues

of material fact that should have been explored further.

As noted, they reveal sharp disputes concerning who paid

trial counsel, how much such counsel received, whether

fees were withheld, and whether the fees were divided as

a form of a referral fee. If these questions were resolved

in appellants’ favor,” it would then appear that attorney

Evseroff was in a position to control other defense coun-

sel. If that in fact was what occurred, it would be tanta-

mount to his representing all the appellants and

constitute, therefore, an impermissible conflict. The other

dispute concerns whether Mr. Evseroff had an actual con-

flict of interest in representing both Scaduto and Salva-

tore Bartolotta. Again, the affidavits sharply disagree on

2The affidavits submitted, including those submitted by counsel, if true,

raise disquieting questions about trial counsels’ sensitivity to issues of

professional resporsibility. In addition to the alleged basic conflict of

interest, there are questions involving referral fees and fee splitting and

withholding. Appellants also cite other unrelated conflicts of interest, such

as neglecting to discuss potential conflicts of interest with clients, contact-

ing a defendant without the knowledge or approval of that individual's

attorney, and failing to preserve the confidences of a client. The record

before us is far too incomplete to reach any conclusions on these allega-

tions, but we note them because they are troublesome ones that may not

properly be ignored.

E-14

United States v. Mourad, 729 F.2d 195, 203-04 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 855 (1984). See also United States

v. Grayson, 795 F.2d 278, 287 (3d Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

107 S. Ct. 927 (1987) (district court may increase sen-

tence for § 848 conviction following vacation of conspir-

acy conviction).

CONCLUSION

Accordingly, the judgment denying appellants’ relief

under 28 U.S.C. § 2255 is reversed and remanded for fur-

ther proceedings on the conflict of interest claims. The

order denying Scaduto’s motion to be resentenced is

affirmed.

Reversed and remanded in part.

Affirmed in part.

APPENDIX F

FILED

in Clerk’s Office

U.S. District Court, — N.Y.

June 5, 1986

MEMORANDUM OF

DECISION AND

ORDER

83 CR 429

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

xX

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

—against—

ANDREA AIELLO, a/k/a “ANTONIO

AIELLO,” FRANCESCA BARTOLOTTA,

and LORENZO SCADUTO,

Defendants.

X

Defendants move this court pursuant to F.R. Crim. P. 33

_for a new trial upon the ground that newly discovered evi-

dence requires a new trial in the interest of justice.

This court, after having reviewed the submissions of

defendants’ concluded that the alleged conflict of interest in

violation of defendants’ Sixth Amendment rights was not

newly discovered evidence at all, but rather an application for

a writ of Habeas Corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2255.

F-6

exculpatory. The opposition also highlights the fact that

defendants were aware that Evseroff represented both

Scaduto and Salvatore Bartolotta.

There is neither a claim nor an intimation that THIS

COURT was aware of Evseroff’s multiple representation.

The government also submitted the affidavits of de-

fendants’ former counsel. These affidavits state in relevant

part:

Jacob Evseroff details the circumstances surrounding his

retainer by Francesca Bartolotta and Maria Scaduto.

Evseroff claims that he had numerous conferences with

Scaduto and Salvatore Bartolotta and that “it was made

abundantly clear by Scaduto, and by Salvatore and Fran-

cesca Bartolotta, that none of them were desirous of Salvatore

Bartolotta testifying as a witness in [this] trial, although |

suggested this to each of them as a viable possibility, though I

did not recommend it and all of them unanimously and

vociferously opted against his testimony.”

Evseroff further states that Salvatore Bartolotta “never

entertained the prospect” of entering a negotiated plea to his

pending state indictment, “and that he had planned to put the

State to its proof.”

Additionally, Evseroff contends that it was his advice that

Mrs. Bartolotta and Aiello each testify on their own behalf

but that this advice was ignored. Evseroff denies withholding

fees due to the other attorneys in the case and claims that the

fees were distributed in accordance with the agreement

between the parties.

Jeffrey Rabin, in his affidavit, denies Mrs. Bartolotta’s

F-7

contention that his legal advice to her was based upon a desire

to protect her husband. Rabin concedes a prior appearance

on behalf of Scaduto but notes that it was prior to Mrs.

Bartolotta’s being indicted. With respect to the contention

that Mr. Bartolotta should have been called as a witness on

his wife’s behalf, Rabin contends tht she was advised that it

would have been to her “detriment to have her husband called

to the stand because of the wealth of material that the prose-

cution had to cross-examine him on and attack his credibility

with. Mrs. Bartolotta concurred in this decision never

wanting her husband to learn all the facts of her case or

hear the conversations she had with a Francesca Affatigato,

the individual that she had an ongoing relationship with

during that time.”

Rabin also contends that the decision not to call Mrs.

Bartolotta “as a witness was done for her benefit and her

benefit alone without any concern for the plight of her

husband.”

. é . ’ . 7

Rabin’s affidavit discusses Mrs. Bartolotta’s adamant

refusal to ever testify at her trial.

Rabin’s affidavit also discusses Scaduto’s great dislike for

Mr. Bartolotta. “It was always Mr. Scaduto’s belief that Mr.

Bartolotta was a liability and that the danger in calling him as

a witness far outweighed the benefit that there would have

been in using him.”

Arnold Taub’s affirmation avers that it was his impression

that Aiello was satisfied with his representation in that Aiello

was acquitted of an § 848 count. Taub denies ever hearing

anyone tell Aiello that there was no case against him es-

pecially after “having seen the videotape of Aiello removing

F-2

I. THE MOTION

The alleged “newly discovered evidence” is defendant’s

conclusion that since the attorney for defendant Lorenzo

Scaduto (“Scaduto”), Jacob Evseroff, (“Evseroff”) also rep-

resented Salvatore Bartolotta, the Sixth Amendment rights of

the above-named defendants were violated.

Salvatore Bartolotta is the husband of defendant Fran-

cesca Bartolotta. Salvatore Bartolotta was not a defendant in

the instant case. He was, however, prosecuted for sub-

stantially the same offenses in a New York State court pro-

ceeding and was an unindicted co-conspirator in this case.

Salvatore Bartolotta was convicted upon a plea of guilty to

the State court charges pursuant to a plea-bargain agreement.

Francesca Bartolotta also contends that because her attor-

ney, Jeffrey Rabin, (“Rabin”) appeared at a pre-trial

conference on behalf of Salvatore Bartolotta, her Sixth

Amendment rights were compromised.

Andrea Aiello, (“Aiello”) contends that since Scaduto and

Francesca Bartolotta’s Sixth Amendment rights were vio-

lated, he too, must have been a victim of the alleged conflict of

interest.

This court directed the parties to submit briefs on the Sixth

Amendment issues. Neither the government’s nor the

defendants’ briefs cite the proper authority for the proposi-

tions espoused. The defendants, however, citing United States

v. Cancilla, 725 F.2d 867 (2d Cir. 1984) have alleged the

following:

|. That Mr. Evseroff admittedly represented not

F-3

only Mr. Scaduto but also Salvatore Barto-

lotta and Filippo Ragussa;

2. That Mr. Rabin admittedly represented not only

Mrs. Bartolotta but also Charlie Salemi for a

time and Sal Bartolotta on a hearing;

3. That Mr. Evseroff not only handpicked defense

counsel but also may have arranged for their

payment at his offices;

4. That Mr. Evseroff may have either misappro-

priated funds by taking illegal and unethical

referral. fees from other defense attorneys

(including Mr. Rabin and Mr. Taub) and/or

held back a portion of their legal fees to extort

their cooperation, however tacitly; and

5. That Mr. Evseroff, whether acting out of loyalty

to his clients, self-interest, or admiration for Mr.

Taub, may have, knowingly or not, forced Mr.

Aiello to accept Mr. Taub as his attorney.

6. The fact that Mr. Evseroff appears to have been

involved in both Cancilla and our case may be

more than a happy coincidence and should alert

the Court to ponder his predisposition and

credibility on conflict-of-interest questions.

In Cancilla as well, he failed to perceive or

admit to any conflict.

Moreover, the defendants have submitted affidavits as

follows:

Lorenzo Scaduto contends that he insisted that Evseroff

call Salvatore Bartolotta as a witness on his behalf and that

F-4

Evseroff refused. Scaduto claims that Salvatore Bartolotta

would have convinced the jury that the name “Lorenzo”

referred to in a “notebook” found in Bartolotta’s house was

not him.

Maria Scaduto contends that Salvatore Bartolotta would

have exonerated her husband. Mrs. Scaduto also contends

that Evseroff told her that he “controlled” the other attorneys

on the case.

Andrea Aiello contends that he was not given any choice in

the selection of counsel, but rather that Evseroff told him that

Arnold Taub (“Taub”) would be his attorney. Aiello claims

that his trial was a “mockery” and his lawyer was Evseroff’s

“puppet.” Aiello additionally claims that he was willing to

testify on his own behalf, but was not permitted to do so.

Aiello also contends that Salvatore Bartolotta’s testimony

would have exonerated him.

Rosa Ragusa contends that Salvatore Bartolotta ex pressed

his willingness to testify at the trial. She also claims to have

asked Evseroff if he was going to call Salvatore Bartolotta at

the trial and that Evseroff said that if Bartolotta testified he

“will get fifty years to life.”

Francesca Bartolotta contends that she was advised not to

call her husband as a witness because he would get “fifty

years.” Mrs. Bartolotta was also dissuaded from testifying on

her own behalf “because | would have had to implicate my

husband.”

Salvatore Bartolotta’s affidavit states that he was informed

ot his status as an unindicted co-conspirator in this case and

that evidence involving him was admitted at the tnal. He is

F-5

also aware that a notebook “allegedly taken from my house

was introduced into evidence” at the trial. He also states that

Rabin has, in the past, appeared on his behalf. Finally

Bartolotta avers:

That I was not requested, subpoenaed or asked by

Jacob Evseroff nor by any attorney to appear in this

Court and testify on behalf of Francesca Bartolotta,

Lorenzo Scaduto and Andrea Aiello. That had |

been asked by attorney to testify | would have vol-

untarily testified and I was available to do so.

Maria Scaduto and Francesca Bartolotta submitted supp-

lemental affidavits wherein they relate a conversation they

had with Rabin at which time Rabin advised them that

Evseroff “had not paid the other defense lawyers the money

that had been left with him for their legal fees.” !

The government, in opposition, distinguishes Cancilla

from the instant case but does not cite the relevant authority

to be applied.

The government, however, pursuant to United States v.

Franzese, 525 F.2d 27, 30 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied sub nom

Potere v. United States, 424 U.S. 921 (1976), submitted affi-

davits of defendants’ former cou

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.