Opposition Brief — Phenix Federal Savings & Loan Ass'n v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 88-953

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrTosBer Term, 1988

—~<_>-

PHENIX FEDERAL SAVINGS & LOAN ASSOCIATION, F.A.

Petitioner,

anil acs

SHEARSON LEHMAN HUTTON INC.

Respondent.

ON A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO A PETITION FOR

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STEPHEN GREINER

GERALD KERNER

DesoraH E. COOPER

Attorneys for Respondent

Shearson Lehman Hutton Inc.

One Citicorp Center

153 East 53rd Street

New York, New York 10022

(212) 935-8000

Of Counsel

JEROME BALSAM

WILLKIE Farr & GALLAGHER

One Citicorp Center

153 East 53rd Street

New York, New York 10022

(212) 935-8000

Davis, HOCKENBERG, WINE, BROWN,

KOEHN & SHORS

2300 Financial Center

Des Moines, Iowa 50309

(515) 243-2300

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Should this Court review the Eighth Circuit’s affirm-

ance of the District Court’s denial of a Rule 59 motion to

amend the judgment or, in the alternative, for a new trial, when

(i) the Court of Appeals considered the merits independently

of the jury instructions and ruled on the basis of the applicable

state law; (ii) in any event, Phenix failed to preserve its legal

issues for review and invited the purported error about which it

complains; and (iii) there is no conflict among the circuits with

respect to the circumstances under which a party may raise an

issue by post-trial motion following its failure to object to jury

instructions?

(2) Should this Court review a decision of the Eighth

Circuit that the plain error exception to Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 51 did not require reversal of the judgment when the

Eighth Circuit applied the exception properly and in the same

manner as all the circuit courts that recognize the exception?

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SERINE PIII occas cisscscadersnnicatccstiencmmaaael

A Ge PIII aisvsicssiivisiincectonaiisceccccaeee

A. The Original Loan and Subsequent Advances

B. The MT} Bond Transact on ccncssccscccascssascssaies

GFN FI estvinscansnsstnitcticcinnacabaldeedepedee eee

>. FUel- TVG SOOO oiiiccccnvciodoianeeeae

E. The Appeal to the Eighth Circuit ......000000000000...

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT.............cc0cccceesceeseeeeeeees

I. THis Case Does Not REFLECT A NEED FOR

GUIDANCE FROM THIS COURT ON THE

RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN JURY INSTRUC-

TIONS AND PosT-TRIAL MOTIONSG................-.

Il. THe EiGutTH Circuit APPLIED THE PLAIN

ERROR EXCEPTION TO FEDERAL RULE OF

CiviL PROCEDURE 51 PROPERLY AND IN A

MANNER CONSISTENT WITH THE OTHER

CIRCUITS THAT RECOGNIZE THE EXCEPTION.

COU RII os cis ness ssecs:ba cms dliceucheaa aaa ae

APPENDICES

1. Excerpts from Phenix Federal’s Brief to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit ( filed Aug. 29, 1986) .0...00.....

iV

15

19

iil

Excerpts from Shearson’s Brief to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit (filed April 15, 1987) ...............e ee

Excerpts from District Court’s Jury Instruc-

PIE fila dciiieh chawniiennanentnansontenenavswubenssbbimnnseanioie

Excerpts from Shearson’s Resistance to

Phenix Federal’s Post-Trial Motion ( filed

BE Be WE Bedivkrenisstcrincieneceiesssaxcnrsssdenstasiocssees

Excerpts from Shearson’s Response to

Phenix’s Post-Trial Motions (filed Dec. 27,

RA-3

RA-23

RA-26

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

All American Life & Casualty Co. v. Oceanic Trade

Alliance Council International, Inc., 756 F.2d 474

(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 819 (1985) ............

Aspen Highland Skiing Corp. v. Aspen Skiing Co., 738

F.2d 1509 (10th Cir. 1984), aff'd, 472 US. 585

A SS RSESRENEELELER ICS Apron DOERR CE SRC To

Beardshall v. Minuteman Press International, Inc., 664

Ta Me SI HTD hecsishin cacipaadnisar chnnndiéabacensasieiaclaasis

Boag v. McDougall, 454 U.S. 364 (1982)... .ccccccceseeseees

Brett v. Hotel, Motel, Restaurant, Construction Camp

Employees & Bartenders Union, 828 F.2d 1409 (9th

Re ee Ps eiscsstecisusssniasnaadgplasbsicaaitetlshiicntileeiiacdbbeibiatadaiaNeain

City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247

PaO asiseidcinentdalasatebdnsmnedininideatsctbedutcabbbncousbtanadiaiisibsiiiabanssdss

City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik, 108 S. Ct. 915 (1988) .....

Coca Cola Bottling Co. of Black Hills v. Hubbard, 203

Sane I i hbaselccl cio

Computer Systems Engineering, Inc. v. Qantel Corp., 740

gt ee: RRR a

Crockett v. Uniroyal, Inc., 772 F.2d 1524 (11th Cir.

RRR ERS cl Cae OUTROS ca REE

Davis v. United States, 417 U.S. 333 (1974) .cceecececeeee.

Director General of India Supply Mission v. Steamship

Maru, 459 F.2d 1370 (2d Cir. 1972), cert. denied,

Ts SN icici cecierinliy eect naitadnitietninteciinas

Dual Manufacturing & Engineering, Inc. v. Burris In-

dustries, Inc., 619 F.2d 660 (7th Cir.) (en banc),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 870 (1980) oceeccecccccsecececeeeseees

Dubose v. Kansas City Southern Railway, 729 F.2d 1026

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 854 (1984) oo...

Ebker v. Tan Jay International, Ltd., 739 F.2d 812 (2d

Ia I ea daticedieb aceasta ld ccaetaladdiagioas Mttntaesccnslaccadaate

Elmore v. United States, 843 F.2d 1128 (8th Cir. 1988) .

Elwood v. Pina, 815 F.2d 173 (1st Cir. 1987) 0.0...

Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Hester, 765 F.2d 723

SE I I hist ihc niccceg a pertitadectaiteeieeciecencdsars

Page

13-14

10

17

18

15 n.11

11 n.9, 17

11 n.8

9-10, 14

os

13

14

ua

10-11

CASES Page

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Pearson, 769 F.2d 1471

{ 1G Ry Cit, BSS) aseccccrnecnnessnnsndsnsssesecnscnsennesapscennsscnssbassanes 10-11 n.7

Gander v. Mr. Steak of Sun Ray, Inc., 774 F.2d 920

( Bthr Cir. 1965 ).......ccscrccrceccosscsscssccecsecsarsnrscsenassesssasvosense 16

Getty Petroleum Corp. v. Bartco Petroleum Corp., 858

F.2d 103 (2d Cie. 1968) 202...ccscriccscrscssccessensecsssanssssorcsness 11 n.9, 17

Gilchrist v. Jim Slemons Imports, Inc., 803 F.2d 1488

(Bele Cie, NGG) a nesscsssenssnnsecsssciisaiiasenensinoannnpnanininsnnnteannbante 13

Gundy v. United States, 728 F.2d 484 (10th Cir. 1984)... 14

Herman v. Hess Oil Virgin Islands Corp., 524 F.2d 767

(Bl Gir. UBT SY ssienneiensnrccrinserasimnvnsscnimcsinisiannmnasoiasnisitanannaen 14

House of Koscot Development Corp. v. American Line

Cosmetics, Inc., 468 F.2d 64 (Sth Cir. 1972) .............. 11

Hutches v. Renfroe, 200 F.2d 337 (Sth Cir. 1952)........... 12 n.10

Iervolino v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 796 F.2d 1408 (11th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1090 (1987) ............ 17

James v. Beaufort County Board of Education, 465 F.2d

477 (Othe Cie. 1972) .nccccocessccasencsecsresecnoracssensccssesanesasenasees 14

Johnson v. United States, 434 F.2d 340 (8th Cir. 1970).. 10

Kerr v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co., 731 F.2d 227

(GAB Cae, FI) nccecscnsncnnnscrrsisenccssnsnsssonsnnnnsensonticnnannasancsn 17

McDonald v. Federal Laboratories, Inc., 724 F.2d 243

( Bak Cae. 19GA) an senaccnncnscsrconaccacnsnsoontncescenenscasnasoesssapasoens 14

Mid-America Food Service, Inc. v. ARA Services, Inc.,

STE FB GOi CRG, UST) vsencvienncrrisscesecensccncnonstnsetienes 14

Miller v. Rykoff-Sexton, Inc., 845 F.2d 209 (9th Cir.

ROBY sasiseierieeicinsnencnnsissncrinssninsstinannscdihttiomguaanigsnnndsnncaminiachesiens 15n.11

Mitchell v. Volkswagenwerk, AG, 669 F.2d 1199 (8th

Cae, NID scisincnsercncccnccnnnsvavsinciniciaconnscennasomeninnwosnnendaniiinnten 16

Moore v. Telfon Communications Corp., 589 F.2d 959

( Dil C4. UDTB) nsenctisccncnacnassecnansanssasiocennnecssseraavaspnaisocaesnass 15 n.11

Morris v. Getscher, 708 F.2d 1306 (8th Cir. 1983) .......... 16

Morris v. Travisono, 528 F.2d 856 (Ist Cir. 1976)........... 16

Nimrod v. Sylvester, 369 F.2d 870 (1st Cir. 1966) ........... 16

O’Brien v. Willys Motors, Inc., 385 F.2d 163 (6th Cir.

NOG TD vsciincccrarcincsnsnoneciionscnticcnmmsinsnanenaicanesaanssbiaitmanbronsanaan 17

Patton v. Archer, 590 F.2d 1319 (Sth Cir. 1979) ............. 17

CASES Page

RCA/Ariola International, Inc. v. Thomas & Grayston

Co., 845 F.2d 773 (8th Cir. 1988) ................cccccccssssceees 13

Rakovich v. Wade, 850 F.2d 1180 (7th Cir.) (en banc),

cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 497 (1988) ..........cccccccceeeseeeeeees 10, 13, 16 & n.12

Ratay v. Lincoln National Life Insurance Co., 37¢ *.2d

209 {3d Cir. ), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 973 (1967). ....... 17

Robert’s Waikiki U-Drive, Inc. v. Budget Rent-A-Car

Systems, 732 F.2d 1403 (9th Cir. 1984) .00.0...... ee. 1S n.11

Rowe International, Inc. v. J-B Enterprises, Inc., 647

ee CI GES TE D vssensessvcsenenstenisemnrnetibieestninte 15-16

Shearson Hayden Stone, Inc. v. Leach, 583 F.2d 367

IN SUPP iiiksiiicheksscaceusccsasolouceanecauntinneaennlanedlaalnabianental 16

Sheppard Federal Credit Union v. Palmer, 408 F.2d

ON als FOIE Piictinisnstissaciancehbenvavgteiiiapadéstdineibianines 17

Smith v. Honeywell, Inc., 735 F.2d 1067 (8th Cir. ), cert.

OE, SEP Us FETT C BOD sicssicescicnetenrsstnsensiovinen 16

Solomon v. United States, 276 F.2d 669 (6th Cir. ), cert.

IGE, SS Ue. Be CTI D ecvnccsnvsnsncnsstcnseninisninnncnsannnss 12 n.10

Swift v. R.H. Macy’s & Co., 780 F.2d 1358 (8th Cir.

IEEE Ik» senieiisnseinhihusccnipesitaaiidilssénnctsasiassebliaebeaaeiaunamaeanmdaantiad 16

Thomas v. Booker, 784 F.2d 299 (8th Cir. ), cert. denied,

ED SEs OLE F © COU P ncccsnsinsstsicnarnsnsiliciegebteaiddaneebenniaaoaiaes 16

United States v. 57.09 Acres of Land, More or Less,

Situate in Skamania County, State of Washington,

FE ee SOR CONE GO. TIO PB isiinsiceischcarissincneteemacions 1S n.11

United States v. Steele, 610 F.2d 504 (8th Cir. 1979) ..... 13

Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1981) ....ccccccccccceeeseeeeeeees 18

Weinar v. Rollform Inc., 744 F.2d 797 (Fed. Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1084 (1985) ooo... cececceeeeeeeeee 14

Wells Real Estate, Inc. v. Greater Lowell Board of

Realtors, 850 F.2d 803 (Ist Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S.

SE A ID wisinsstiseieietreciecsiiictnsitntsiamiiaihdapiscaaabancaianealbtaiians 16

Williamson v. Handy Button Machine Co., 817 F.2d

I, PH a: WME Dini accrnsncsssecssiinstsiccsntesomanlandacadanaton 13, 16 n.12

Wilson v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 757 F.2d 948 (8th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1059 (1986) oo... 10

ee

Page

STATUTES

re I I sa cia caineaaeiaieanendiannsnniabl 2

EE ee STS 2

eo iuedsaaninbens 11 n.9

a I I TTT sn cticnsscrennsotentinanpedoaniaennnneaiesinnenbataets 12

Se cs eladnialinmtipneanieiniansdabens 2, 8, 15-18

Soo ssn nueeesebesoniaielebanenanan 2 Dot Ba

BOOKS AND ARTICLES

Estreicher & Sexton, A Managerial Theory of the

Supreme Court’s Responsibilities: An Empirical Study,

Ne SS, | SER ee 18 n.13

Leventhal, A Modest Proposal for a Multi-Circuit Court

of Appeals, 24 Am. U.L. Rev. 881 (1975)...............0... 18 n.13

R. Stern, E. Gressman & S. Shapiro, Supreme Court

IS SINE citicetseibictiiatiannecteneratinesineisinnnniss 14, 17, 18

9C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure

Ce iia aaiisdibiiabadicccintndas idadanenibibinibeeiabaeiaiiitiedindirtitaiii 15

ee hp PL a

No. 88-953

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

te

PHENIX FEDERAL SAVINGS & LOAN ASSOCIATION, F.A.,

Petitioner,

—vV.—

SHEARSON LEHMAN HUTTON INC.

Respondent.

ON A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO A PETITION FOR

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

The respondent Shearson Lehman Hutton Inc. (“‘Shear-

son”)! respectfully requests that the Court deny the petition for

a writ of certiorari seeking review of the judgment and opinion

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in

this case. As Shearson will demonstrate, there is no good

reason to grant the writ in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit is reported at 856 F.2d 1125 (1988) and has

been reprinted in the appendix to the petition. P.A. 1.2

1 Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 28.1, Shearson’s corporate par-

ents, affiliates, and non-wholly owned subsidiaries were listed in Louis

A. Craco’s letter to the Court dated December 30, 1988.

2 The following abbreviations are used in this brief: P.A. for

Petitioner’s Appendix, Cert. Pet. for Petition for Certiorari, and R.A.

for Respondent’s Appendix.

|

2

JURISDICTION

Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of this Court under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

At issue on this petition for a writ of certiorari are the

Seventh Amendment to the United States Constitution, U.S.

Const. amend. VII, and Rules 51 and 59 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, Fed. R. Civ. P. 51 & 59.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Original Loan and Subsequent Advances

In March 1981, Phenix Federal Savings & Loan Associ-

ation, the predecessor-in-interest of petitioner Phenix Federal

Savings & Loan Association, F.A. (collectively “Phenix’’), lent

$1.6 million to Van Buren County Alcohol, Inc. (“WBCA”’) as

interim construction financing for an ethanol plant in Iowa.

VBCA executed a demand promissory note and a mortgage on

the plant in favor of Phenix. By late 1981, Phenix learned that

Shearson Loeb Rhoades, Inc., the predecessor-in-interest of

respondent Shearson, had refused to provide permanent financ-

ing to VBCA. In May 1982, Phenix commenced an action

against Shearson in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Iowa, initially claiming $1.6 million in

compensatory damages.

After learning that Shearson would not provide permanent

financing, Phenix continued to fund the plant’s operations

rather than foreclosing on its first mortgage, notwithstanding

that the plant had a market value at the time of $6.5 million,

substantially more than the indebtedness of $1.6 million. From

early 1982 through late 1984, Phenix provided VBCA with

additional loans of more than $3.7 million.

B. The MTJ Bond Transaction

By late 1984, the principal amount of VBCA’s in-

debtedness to Phenix had risen to $5,347,496. With interest,

3

the total was $7,241,061. At that time, Phenix decided to

participate in a transaction whereby VBCA transferred own-

ership of the ethanol plant to MTJ, Inc. (“MTJ’’), a newly

created corporation, and the city of Bonaparte, Iowa sold

$7.795 million in tax-exempt bonds for the purpose of financing

the plant. Of the bond proceeds, $6.5 million was used to repay

VBCA’s indebtedness to Phenix, while the remainder was used

to improve the plant and to cover the costs of financing. MTJ

was primarily liable to repay the bond interest and in-

debtedness and Phenix guaranteed MTJ’s repayment. The

transaction (the ““MTJ bond transaction”) closed on December

27, 1984. Thus, when trial began in the District Court in

January 1985, Phenix had been repaid the entire principal

amount of its loans to VBCA, but faced contingent liability on

its guarantee of the MTJ bond obligation.

C. The Trial

At trial, the damages sought by Phenix included not only

$1.6 million for the initial loan and more than $5 million for

subsequent loans and interest, but also $7,945,263, representing

the full amount of its guarantee in the MTJ bond transaction,

and a variety of other damages. As the Court of Appeals noted:

**Phenix claimed the risk it faced in this deal as an element of

consequential damages for which Shearson was responsible,

and it asked the jury to determine how much it would likely

lose on the letter of credit and award it that sum. The

[ District] Court accepted this theory... .” P.A. at 8.

Thus, the MTJ bond transaction, and the extent of Phenix’s

contingent liability on its guarantee, were put at issue by Phenix

in an effort to maximize its potential recovery. In implementing

this trial strategy, Phenix was the first party to bring the MTJ

bond transaction to the jury’s attention, in counsel’s opening

statement, R.A. at 6, and later introduced evidence designed to

show that the ethanol plant would not likely be profitable, id. at

19. For its part, Shearson introduced projections prepared by

Phenix’s own accountant that the plant would produce

sufficient revenue to cover principal and interest payments on

the MTJ bonds. I/d. at 18.

4

With Phenix seeking to recover consequential damages as

a result of its contingent liability on the MTJ bonds, the District

Court assigned to Phenix the burden of proving its entitlement

to recover such damages, just as it had assigned to Phenix the

burden of proving its other damages. See R.A. at 24-25. In

addition, the Court determined that because Phenix sought to

recover damages stemming from this contingent liability, the

$6.5 million realized by Phenix in the MTJ transaction must be

subtracted from any damages it might be awarded in order to

prevent duplicative recovery. This approach was embodied in

Instruction No. 41 to the jury, the text df which appears in the

Eighth Circuit’s opinion in this case. P.A. at 8-9.3

Having invited this approach by the way in which it

framed its damage claims, Phenix naturally failed to interpose

any objection to Instruction No. 41. Instead, Phenix repeatedly

expressed its full agreement with the $6.5 million set-off.

Responding to Shearson’s motion for a directed verdict, counsel

for Phenix told the District Court: “[Y]ou’ve already sub-

tracted, which we fully agree with, the six and a half million.”

R.A. at 6 (emphasis added ). Counsel for Phenix reiterated this

point three times during summation. First, he told the jury that

“the damages which we are claiming, totals $20,600,324.57,

and from that figure the Court will instruct you that you’re not

3In substance, the District Court informed the jury that a

damages award could include any payment Phenix established it

would be required to make over the life of the bonds for which it

would not be reimbursed, but that the Court would reduce any award

by the $6.5 million that Phenix had admittedly received in the

transaction. The Court specifically advised the jury that Phenix would

recover nothing if its total damages prior to the offset were less than

$6.5 million.

The Court also submitted to the jury, without objection by

Phenix, Special Interrogatory No. 6, which asked:

Has Phenix Federal established by a preponderance of the

evidence it [sic] claim for CONTINGENT LOSS CONSISTING

OF THE AMOUNT OF PRINCIPAL AND INTEREST ON

THE MTJ BONDS THAT PHENIX FEDERAL WILL PAY

FOR WHICH IT WILL NOT BE REIMBURSED UNDER

THE GUARANTEES OR THE PLANT MORTGAGES, RE-

DUCED TO PRESENT VALUE[?]

5

to consider the fact that he will subtract from this figure, and we

fully agree with this calculation.” Id. (emphasis added). Sec-

ond, he said that “the Court will instruct — which we agree with

this instruction, will subtract $6.5 million from that which

represents the money that we have received in the bond

transaction.” Jd. (emphasis added). Finally, in his rebuttal

summation, counsel for Phenix stated: ““When you look on the

board, those are the figures which reflect our damages as they

are today when you must consider them, and they total the 19

million, as I have stated; and when the Judge subtracts, as he

will instruct you he will do, the 6.5, you will have the figure that

we say we’re damaged today.” Id. (emphasis added ).

The jury awarded Phenix $5,148,554 on theories of negli-

gent misrepresentation and promissory estoppel. The jury also

determined, by answering Special Interrogatory No. 6, see

supra note 3, in the negative, that Phenix had not met its

burden of proving it would be required to expend any funds on

its contingent guarantee in the MTJ bond transaction for which

it would not be reimbursed. The District Court then subtracted

the $6.5 million Phenix received in the MTJ bond transaction,

as Phenix had previously agreed was appropriate.

D. Post-Trial Motions

Once the jury returned a verdict that did not meet Phenix’s

expectations, however, Phenix did an about-face. In its motion

to amend the judgment or for a new trial, pursuant to Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 59, Phenix argued to the District Court,

inter alia, that the $6.5 million offset was improper. Shearson

responded, among other things, that there had been no error in

the assessment of damages. See R.A. at 26-31. The District

Court denied Phenix’s motion. P.A. at 47.

E. The Appeal to the Eighth Circuit

On appeal to the Eighth Circuit, Phenix argued that the

District Court had erred, under the lowa law of damages, in

admitting evidence of proceeds from the MTJ bond transac-

tion’ and in offsetting those proceeds against the jury’s damage

4The petition for certiorari does not challenge the District

Court’s evidentiary ruling.

6

award. See R.A. at 1. Phenix made a number of arguments on

appeal that it had not made in its Rule 59 motion as to why it

claimed the offset was improper under state law.5

In addition, Phenix introduced an alternative argument it

had not made in its post-trial motion: even if the MTJ bond

transaction was relevant, the District Court had misallocated

the burden of proof under Iowa law when it required Phenix to

prove how much it could be expected to lose on the transaction.

Id. at 2. Phenix conceded that the purported misallocation of

the burden of proof could not be reversed on appeal unless

there had been plain error, since there had been no objection to

the allocation at trial. Jd.

Shearson argued to the Eighth Circuit, among other things,

that the District Court had correctly applied the law of Iowa in

applying the $6.5 million offset and allocating the burden of

proof. Jd. at 10-22. Shearson also argued that Phenix was

precluded from challenging the judgment on the alternative

grounds that the jury instructions including the offset and the

allocation of the burden of proof had been invited by Phenix as

a result of tactical positions it took at trial, its express encour-

agement of and agreement with the instructions, and its failure

to object to the instructions. Jd. at 3-10.

On March 10, 1988, the Eighth Circuit filed an opinion

affirming the judgment of the District Court. Phenix Federal

Savings & Loan Ass’n, F.A. v. Shearson Loeb Rhoades, Inc.,

No. 86-1407 (8th Cir. Mar. 10, 1988). Phenix thereafter filed

a petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc.

On May 3, 1988, the Eighth Circuit denied Phenix’s petition for

rehearing en banc. In an order dated September 9, 1988, the

Eighth Circuit also denied Phenix’s petition for rehearing by the

panel but simultaneously issued a slightly revised opinion.

5 For example, in its petition Phenix refers to its argument that

the $6.5 million offset was improper because it “was not reasonably

certain.” Cert. Pet. at 9. This argument was not made in Phenix’s

Rule 59 motion.

7

The September 9 opinion rejected Phenix’s arguments,

stating in part:

[U]nder the applicable law Phenix was entitled to what-

ever it had lost on the loans to Van Buren County Alcohol,

plus what it would lose on the letter of credit in the MTJ

deal, less what it had received from that deal, $6.5 million.

The jury found that Phenix had lost over $5 million on the

loan to Van Buren County Alcohol, but had not proved

that it would lose anything on the letter of credit. There-

fore Phenix got exactly what it was entitled to.

Only if the statement of the applicable law contained

in the jury instruction Phenix now complains of were

egregiously wrong, and that statement produced a result

substantially different from what would have resulted from

a correct instruction, would we find plain error in this civil

case. This did not happen here. The instruction at issue

was, at worst, arguable, and it resulted at least in part from

Phenix’s own tactical position at trial.

P.A. at Il.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Phenix’s petition makes two arguments: first, the Court of

Appeals erred in permitting Instruction No. 41 to bar post-trial

review of the $6.5 million offset; and, second, assigning to

Phenix the burden of proving damages stemming from the MTJ

bond transaction was plain error. As to both issues, Phenix

maintains that there is a split among the circuits requiring

resolution by this Court.

Phenix’s first point rests on the erroneous premise that the

Eighth Circuit treated Instruction No. 41 as the law of the case

for purposes of post-trial motions. In fact, the Court of Appeals

considered and rejected Phenix’s argument that the offset was

improper. Moreover, contrary to Phenix’s suggestion, there is

no confusion or lack of uniformity among the federal courts as

to how the failure to object to jury instructions should affect

post-trial motions. In cases in which a trial court erred in

denying a motion for a directed verdict, failure to object to a

jury charge will not bar post-verdict review. Although the

iii:

8

Court of Appeals did not treat Instruction No. 41 as the law of

the case, neither its prior precedents nor the decisions from

other courts of appeals entitled Phenix to the broad review on

the merits that it received. Unlike cases in which a party moved

for a directed verdict, but failed to object to jury instructions,

Phenix did not preserve an objection to the offset ruling in any

manner. To the contrary, Phenix invited that ruling and then

expressly approved it. Finally, if the Eighth Circuit did depart

from its precedents on the review of post-verdict motions, the

mere intra-circuit conflict does not merit review by this Court.

As to Phenix’s second point, there is similarly no need for

intervention by this Court. First, there is no significant split

among the circuits on this issue. The Eighth Circuit, in this case

and others, is in the mainstream of plain error jurisprudence.

Any disagreement among the circuits is irrelevant to the result

below and insufficiently serious to warrant review by this Court.

Second, contrary to Phenix’s suggestion, the Eighth Circuit did

not abrogate the plain error exception in this case. Instead, it

applied the exception properly under the facts presented here.

Finally, even if the Eighth Circuit erred in its application of the

plain error doctrine, there is no reason to grant the writ, since

this Court is not primarily concerned with the correction of

error.

I.

THIS CASE DOES NOT REFLECT A NEED FOR

GUIDANCE FROM THIS COURT ON THE

RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN JURY INSTRUCTIONS

AND POST-TRIAL MOTIONS.

Phenix contends that “both the district court and the court

of appeals held that by failing to object to [Instruction No. 41],

Fed.R.Civ.P. 51 precluded consideration of the propriety of the

$6.5 million offset — at the appellate level and at the trial level

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 59.” Cert. Pet. at 13. More generally,

Phenix argues that “[t]his case dramatizes a general confusion

in the lower courts on the relationship between jury instructions

and post-verdict motions.” Jd. Phenix is incorrect on both

counts.

9

In the first place, contrary to the essential premise of

Phenix’s petition, the Eighth Circuit never determined that

Instruction No. 41 was the law of the case. Instead, the Court

of Appeals considered and rejected the merits of Phenix’s

argument and in so doing went well beyond what it was

required to do under the circumstances of this case.

Specifically, the Court of Appeals stated: “[ U]nder the

applicable law Phenix was entitled to whatever it had lost on the

loans to Van Buren County Alcohol, plus what it would lose on

the letier of credit in the MTJ deal, less what it had received

from that deal, $6.5 million.” P.A. at 11 (emphasis added ).®

The Court of Appeals thus decided, as Shearson argued, that

the offset was proper under Iowa law and did not confine itself

to Phenix’s failure to object.

Furthermore, contrary to the other basic premise of the

first point of Phenix’s petition, there is no lack of consensus

among the federal courts of appeals “‘as to what role the failure

to object to jury instructions should play in post-verdict mo-

tions,” Cert. Pet. at 16. As the cases cited by Phenix demon-

strate, this issue has most often arisen when a party who has

moved for a directed verdict that has been denied subsequently

fails to object to jury instructions. While Phenix suggests that

the federal courts of appeals have taken three different ap-

proaches on the issue, the cases cited in Phenix’s petition and

many others demonstrate remarkable uniformity among the

circuits. They hold that when determining whether a trial court

erred in denying a motion for a directed verdict, it is the

applicable law — and not what the trial court announces in its

instructions to be the law — that controls.

The Eighth Circuit has been in the vanguard, and remains

in the mainstream, on this issue, going back to Coca Cola

Bottling Co. of Black Hills v. Hubbard, 203 F.2d 859 (8th Cir.

1953). In Coca Cola, the defendant contended that the trial

court erred in denying a motion for directed verdict and

permitting the case to go to the jury. The plaintiff responded

6 Although the Court of Appeals stated that it did “not need to

reach” Phenix’s legal arguments, P.A. at 10, it is clear that the Court

did not rest its decision on the procedural default and in fact did reach

the merits.

10

that the jury instructions, to which there had been no objection,

became the law of the case and foreclosed review of the

sufficiency of the evidence. The court disagreed:

{I]n determining whether a trial court has erred in

denying a motion for a directed verdict made at the close of

the evidence, it is the applicable law which is controlling,

and not what the trial court announces the law to be in his

instructions. This Court must ascertain for itself what the

applicable law is, whether the instructions were excepted to

or not. A proper motion for a directed verdict and its

denial will always preserve for review the question whether

under the law truly applicable to the case there was an

adequate evidentiary basis for the submission of the case ‘to

the jury.

Id. at 862 (emphasis added ); accord Wilson v. Sears, Roebuck

& Co., 757 F.2d 948, 953 (8th Cir. 1985) (district court

appropriately granted defendant’s motion for judgment n.o.v.,

notwithstanding prior inconsistent jury charge), cert. denied,

474 U.S. 1059 (1986); Johnson v. United States, 434 F.2d 340,

342-43 (8th Cir. 1970) (motions for directed verdict and

judgment n.o.v. should have been granted, notwithstanding

government’s failure to object to jury charge).

The Eighth Circuit’s rule in Coca Cola has been quoted

and followed by other circuits to consider the issue. See, e.g.,

Rakovich v. Wade, 850 F.2d 1180, 1203 (7th Cir.) (en banc),

cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 497 (1988); Ebker v. Tan Jay Inter-

national, Ltd., 739 F.2d 812, 825-26 n.17 (2d Cir. 1984); Aspen

Highland Skiing Corp. v. Aspen Skiing Co., 738 F.2d 1509,

1517-18 (10th Cir. 1984) (defendant’s motions for directed

verdict preserved opportunity to challenge sufficiency of evi-

dence under truly controlling law, notwithstanding failure to

object to jury charge), aff'd, 472 U.S. 585 (1985);? Dual

7 Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Pearson, 769 F.2d 1471 (10th

Cir. 1985), cited by Phenix, Cert. Brief at 16, is not contrary to the

Coca Cola principle, or to the Tenth Circuit decision in Aspen

Highland. In that case, Firestone moved for a directed verdict,

claiming that warehouse agreements containing an integration clause

superseded certain letters on which the counterclaimants relied. The

Court of Appeals determined that the motion for a directed verdict

was properly denied because the issue of whether the letters formed

_—

shanty

11

Manufacturing & Engineering, Inc. v. Burris Industries, Inc.,

619 F.2d 660, 661-63 (7th Cir.) (en banc) (issue of obvious-

ness preserved for appellate review, despite failure to object to

jury charge, because of motion for judgment n.o.v.), cert.

denied, 449 U.S. 870 (1980); House of Koscot Development

Corp. v. American Line Cosmetics, Inc., 468 F.2d 64, 65-66 (Sth

Cir. 1972) (failure to object to jury charge does not become

law of case for purposes of review of denial of motion for

directed verdict). There is simply no conflict among the

circuits. The circuits that have addressed the issue have held

that failure to object to a jury charge does not preclude a grant

of a motion for judgment n.o.v.9

an agreement separate from the warehouse agreements raised a

question of fact for the jury. Notwithstanding the factual question

whether the warehouse agreements precluded reliance on the earlier

letter agreements, Firestone submitted no instructions on the issue.

Instead, Firestone, without objection, permitted the jury to be in-

structed that the existence of the letter agreements was admitted.

Firestone therefore could derive no benefit from the Coca Cola line of

cases, because its motion for a directed verdict was properly denied

and did not preserve the issue it sought to raise on appeal.

8 This Court, too, has endorsed this rule. See City of St. Louis v.

Praprotnik, 108 S. Ct. 915, 922 (1988) (plurality opinion) ( failure to

object to jury instruction does not render instruction “law of the case”

for purposes of appellate review of denial of directed verdict or

judgment n.0o.v. ).

9 Phenix also relies upon twe cases that are very fact-specific and

presented important substantive questions of federal law. These cases

clearly do not support the granting of relief in this case. In City of

Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247 (1981), this Court held

that municipalities were immune from punitive damages in actions

brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. The Court noted that while

Newport had failed to object to the punitive damages instruction at

trial, the district court had gone beyond the procedural default to

consider the merits when it denied Newport’s motion for a new trial.

453 U.S. at 253-55; see Elwood v. Pina, 815 F.2d 173, 176 (1st Cir.

1987). In light of the district court’s treatment of the merits, this

Court likewise reached the merits of the important federal issue

presented. See 453 U.S. at 256; accord Getty Petroleum Corp. v.

Bartco Petroleum Corp., 858 F.2d 103, 108 (2d Cir. 1988) (reaching

merits of whether punitive damages were available under Lanham

Act because, among other things, district court had reached this

important and novel legal issue ).

12

Although the Court of Appeals reviewed Phenix’s chal-

lenge to the offset, it was not required to do so under its prior

precedents or the law of any circuit. Phenix failed to show any

plausible entitlement to post-trial relief under the circumstances

here, which are fundamentally different from those present in

the Coca Cola line of cases upon which Phenix principally

relies. In those cases, the party who had failed to object to the

instructions had informed the district court of and had pre-

served its position by moving for a directed verdict in the

manner contemplated by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

See Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b). In the absence of a motion for a

directed verdict, denial of any post-trial relief from the er-

roneous jury instructions would have been mandated.

Under the Coca Cola line of cases, Phenix’s failure to

preserve its legal position in any manner was itself a sufficient

ground for denial of post-trial relief. Here, however, there was

a further basis for denial of the Rule 59 motion, since Phenix

affirmatively invited the purported error about which it now

complains. As found by the Court of Appeals, the alleged error

“resulted at least in part from Phenix’s own tactical position at

trial.” P.A. at 11. In an effort to increase its potential recovery,

Phenix made the tactical decision to claim “the risk it faced in

this deal as an element of consequential damages for which

Shearson was responsible, and it asked the jury to determine

how much it would likely lose on the letter of credit and award

it that sum.” Jd. at 8. Having taken this position, Phenix

necessarily accepted the offset — a concept that it expressly

approved on four occasions during the trial. Phenix has cited

no authority that would support the granting of Rule 59 relief

under these circumstances, much less conflicting authority

among the circuits on the question. 1°

10 Phenix relies upon Hutches v. Renfroe, 200 F.2d 337 (Sth Cir.

1952). Cert. Brief at 22. Hutches, however, does not implicate Rule

51 or the jury function in any way, since it was tried without a jury.

200 F.2d at 338.

Similarly, Solomon v. United States, 276 F.2d 669 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 364 U.S. 890 (1960), cited by Phenix, Cert. Brief at 19-

20, is distinguishable. Although the Sixth Circuit permitted the

defendants to raise a legal issue on a motion for a new trial where an

instruction based upon the wrong statute had been given inadvert-

ently, it held that the district court had properly denied the motion.

276 F.2d at 674.

a

13

Where, as here, a party, through its tactical positions or

other conduct, has invited or induced the purported error about

which it complains, the courts of appeals have held that the

error may not be raised on appeal. For example, in Federal

Crop Insurance Corp. v. Hester, 765 F.2d 723 (8th Cir. 1985),

both parties requested a jury instruction that the plaintiff need

prove its case by a preponderance of the evidence. On appeal,

the defendant urged reversal on the ground that the correct

burden of proof was “clear, unequivocal, and convincing

evidence.” He argued that his failure to object to the charge

should be excused under the plain error exception. Jd. at 727.

The court rejected this contention:

ee ei Lee i a

We are reluctant to review this issue even on plain

error grounds. Hester not only failed to object to the

court’s burden of proof instruction, see Fed.R.Civ.P. 51,

but submitted the preponderance of the evidence standard

in three of his requested instructions. Thus, we need not

search for plain error, for it is “fundamental that where the

defendant ‘opened the door’ and ‘invited error’ there can

be no reversible error.”

CE TUG Ses on andes

Id. (quoting United States v. Steele, 610 F.2d 504, 505 ( 8th Cir.

1979) ); accord, e.g., Rakovich v. Wade, 850 F.2d 1180, 1203

(7th Cir.) (en banc) (where party proposes jury instruction, he

cannot complain of error), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 497 (1988);

RCA/Ariola International, Inc. v. Thomas & Grayston Co., 845

F.2d 773, 778-79 (8th Cir. 1988) (plaintiff barred by invited

error doctrine from challenging finding of joint and several

liability since plaintiff contended that defendants jointly and

severally infringed copyright); Williamson v. Handy Button

) Machine Co., 817 F.2d 1290, 1295-96 (7th Cir. 1987) (failure

| to object to instruction as part of “trial strategy” not excused by

plain error doctrine ); Gilchrist v. Jim Slemons Imports, Inc., 803

F.2d 1488, 1493 (9th Cir. 1986) (party who requests instruc-

tion invites any error contained therein and, absent objection

before submission to jury, waives appellate review of its

correctness ); Crockett v. Uniroyal, Inc., 772 F.2d 1524, 1530 n.4

(llth Cir. 1985) (cardinal rule of appellate review that party

may not challenge ruling or other trial proceeding he invited );

All American Life & Casualty Co. v. Oceanic Trade Alliance

a rl

14

Council International, Inc., 756 F.2d 474, 479-80 (6th Cir.)

(where injection of evidence is attributable to action of party

seeking to exclude evidence, invited error doctrine applies),

cert. denied, 474 U.S. 819 (1985); Weinar v. Rollform Inc., 744

F.2d 797, 805 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (invited error doctrine bars

challenge to admissibility of testimony elicited by party’s cross

examination in absence of motion to strike), cert. denied, 470

U.S. 1084 (1985); Computer Systems Engineering, Inc. v.

Qantel Corp., 740 F.2d 59, 64 (Ist Cir. 1984) (defendant could

not invite error by requesting jury instructions based on state-

ment of law it would later challenge on appeal); Dubose v.

Kansas City Southern Railway, 729 F.2d 1026, 1033 & n.4 (Sth

Cir. 1984) cert. denied, 469 U.S. 854 (1984): Gundy v. United

States, 728 F.2d 484, 488 (10th Cir. 1984) (per curiam);

McDonald v. Federal Laboratories, Inc., 724 F.2d 243, 248 (lst

Cir. 1984) (“the ‘plain error’ doctrine has no application where

the party claiming error invited or elicited the alleged error’’);

Mid-America Food Service, Inc. v. ARA Services, Inc., 578 F.2d

691, 696 (8th Cir. 1978) (defendant invited error by telling

trial court that jury could find punitive damages without

awarding actual damages); Herman v. Hess Oil Virgin Islands

Corp., 524 F.2d 767, 772 (3d Cir. 1975) (counsel having

proposed that evidence be developed in summation rather than

in jury charge, invited error doctrine bars challenge to trial

court’s failure in jury instructions to relate relevant law to

disputed facts); James v. Beaufort County Board of Education,

465 F.2d 477, 479 (4th Cir. 1972); Director General of India

Supply Mission v. Steamship Maru, 459 F.2d 1370, 1377 (2d

Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1115 (1973).

Finally, even if the decision of the Court of Appeals

represents a departure from the rationale of Coca Cola, as

Phenix argued to the Eighth Circuit in its petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en banc, the decision below would

represent no more than an intra-circuit conflict, which should

be resolved by the Eighth Circuit rather than by this Court. See

R. Stern, E. Gressman & S. Shapiro, Supreme Court Practice

§ 4.6, at 204-05 (6th ed. 1986); see generally Davis v. United

States, 417 U.S. 333, 340 (1974) (Solicitor General opposed

certiorari petition on ground that intra-circuit conflict should be

resolved by circuit; petition was denied ).

peer

15

Il.

THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT APPLIED THE PLAIN ER-

ROR EXCEPTION TO FEDERAL RULE OF CIVIL

PROCEDURE 51 PROPERLY AND IN A MANNER

CONSISTENT WITH THE OTHER CIRCUITS THAT

RECOGNIZE THE EXCEPTION.

Taken literally, Rule 51 bars a party from assigning a jury

instruction as error unless objection to that instruction was

lodged before the jury retired to deliberate. Over the years,

however, courts have recognized a “plain error” exception to

that blanket rule in cases where literal application of Rule 51

would result in a miscarriage of justice. See 9 C. Wright & A.

Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure § 2558, at 672 (1971).

Phenix maintains that the Eighth Circuit has effectively

“abrogat[ed]” the plain error exception, thereby aligning itself

with the First, Seventh, and Ninth Circuits in opposition to the

other circuits. Cert. Pet. at 24. This argument rests on a

misunderstanding of the law and a misreading of what took

place below.

Contrary to Phenix’s suggestion, the Eighth Circuit is in the

mainstream of Rule 51 jurisprudence. It follows the same

approach as all other circuits that have considered adoption of

the plain error exception, except for the Ninth Circuit, the only

court of appeals to reject the exception.'! In this case, the

Eighth Circuit stated that the exception applies

where the alleged error “is plain error in the sense that a

miscarriage of justice would otherwise result.” Rowe

International, Inc. v. J-B Enterprises, Inc., 647 F.2d 830,

11 See, e.g., Brett v. Hotel, Motel, Restaurant, Construction Camp

Employees & Bartenders Union, 828 F.2d 1409, 1414 n.7 (9th Cir.

1987); Moore v. Telfon Communications Corp., 589 F.2d 959, 966

(9th Cir. 1978). Even the Ninth Circuit has recognized an exception

to Rule 51 when the district court is aware of a party’s position and

further objection would be futile. See, e.g., Miller v. Rykoff-Sexton,

Inc., 845 F.2d 209, 214 (9th Cir. 1988); United States v. 57.09 Acres

of Land, More or Less, Situate in Skamania County, State of

Washington, 757 F.2d 1025, 1027 (9th Cir. 1985); Robert’s Waikiki

U-Drive, Inc. v. Budget Rent-A-Car Systems, 732 F.2d 1403, 1410

(9th Cir. 1984).

16

835 (8th Cir. 1981). But we emphasize the extremely

narrow scope of this rule in civil cases; it lies “‘in only those

exceptional cases where the error has ‘seriously affected the

fairness, integrity or public reputation of judicial proceed-

ings.” Morris v. Getscher, 708 F.2d 1306, 1309 (8th Cir.

1983), quoting Rowe International, supra, at 835.

P.A. at il; see also Elmore v. United States, 843 F.2d 1128,

1132 (8th Cir. 1988); Thomas v. Booker, 784 F.2d 299, 307

(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1117 (1986); Swift v. R.H.

Macy’s & Co., 780 F.2d 1358, 1360-61 (8th Cir. 1985); Gander

v. Mr. Steak of Sun Ray, Inc., 774 F.2d 920, 923 (8th Cir.

1985); Smith v. Honeywell, Inc., 735 F.2d 1067, 1069 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1077 (1984); Mitchell v. Volks-

wagenwerk, AG, 669 F.2d 1199, 1209-10 (8th Cir. 1982).

Phenix is also incorrect in its assertion that the First and

Seventh Circuits reject the plain error exception. The First

Circuit accepts the doctrine in exceptional cases where neces-

sary to prevent a clear miscarriage of justice. See, e.g., Wells

Real Estate, Inc. v. Greater Lowell Board of Realtors, 850 F.2d

803, 809 (Ist Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 392 (1988); Elwood

v. Pina, 815 F.2d 173, 175-76 (list Cir. 1987); Morris v.

Travisono, 528 F.2d 856, 859 (Ist Cir. 1976); Nimrod vy.

Sylvester, 369 F.2d 870, 873 (Ist Cir. 1966). The Seventh

Circuit also recognizes an exception to the objection require-

ments of Rule 51 “in ‘very rare circumstances where necessary

tc prevent a miscarriage of justice.”” Rakovich v. Wade, 850

F.2d 1180, 1203 (7th Cir.) (en banc) (quoting Shearson

Hayden Stone, Inc. v. Leach, 583 F.2d 367, 370 (7th Cir.

1978) ), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 497 (1988). 12

Moreover, the approach taken in the First, Seventh, and

Eighth Circuits does not differ in any significant way from that

followed in the circuits that Phenix views as more lenient. See,

12 The Seventh Circuit has held, however, that the plain error

doctrine will not protect parties from the consequences of their

decisions where. as here, the failure to object may be part of their trial

strategy. See Williamson v. Handy Button Machine Co., 817 F.2d

1290, 1295-96 (7th Cir. 1987); see also Rakovich, supra, 850 F.2d at

1202-03 (refusing to apply plain error exception where party pro-

posed jury instruction it cited on appeal as error).

ieee

Pee See ee aes

17

e.g., Getty Petroleum Corp. v. Bartco Petroleum Corp., 858 F.2d

103, 107-08 (2d Cir. 1988) (plain error doctrine appropriate to

correct “obvious instances of injustice or misapplied law’’)

(quoting City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247,

256 (1981) ); Zervolino v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 796 F.2d 1408,

1414 (llth Cir. 1986) (doctrine applies “only in exceptional

cases where the error is “‘so fundamental as to result in a

miscarriage of justice””’”’) (quoting Patton v. Archer, 590 F.2d

1319, 1322 (Sth Cir. 1979)), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1090

(1987); Kerr v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co., 731 F.2d 227,

229 (4th Cir. 1984) (exception applies where error was

fundamental and highly prejudicial) (citing Ratay v. Lincoln

National Life Insurance Co., 378 F.2d 209, 212 (3d Cir. ), cert.

denied, 389 U.S. 973 (1967)); Beardshall v. Minuteman Press

International, Inc., 664 F.2d 23, 27 (3d Cir. 1981) (exception

applies when error is fundamental and highly prejudicial or

when instructions leave jury without adequate guidance and

failure to consider error would result in miscarriage of justice );

Sheppard Federal Credit Union v. Palmer, 408 F.2d 1369, 1371

(Sth Cir. 1969) (exception applies when “error has been

committed which results in a miscarriage of justice”); O’Brien v.

Willys Motors, Inc., 385 F.2d 163, 166 (6th Cir. 1967) (ex-

ception applies where error is obvious and prejudicial ).

In short, the Eighth Circuit applied in this case essentially

the same standard that prevails in all circuits but the Ninth. A

deviation from the prevailing rule by a single circuit does not

create a sufficiently serious conflict to justify certiorari, particu-

larly in a case where the petitioner received the benefit of the

standard favorable to its position and still lost. See generally R.

Stern, E. Gressman & S. Shapiro, Supreme Court Practice § 4.4,

at 201-02 (6th ed. 1986) (certiorari may be denied where

resolution of conflict is irrelevant to ultimate outcome of

case ).13

13 Even if there were a serious conflict among the courts con-

cerning the proper interpretation of Rule 51, such a disagreement

would not provide a strong basis for a grant of certiorari. Impor-

tantly, conflicting interpretations of Rule 51 will not lead to forum-

shopping, since no one will choose where to sue based on the

likelihood that an appeals court will reconsider a jury charge to which

no objection has been stated. Nor will a conflict on this issue pose

difficulties for individuals or corporations who conduct their activities

i8

There is also no substance to Phenix’s suggestion that the

Eighth Circuit, while paying lip service to the plain error

exception, effectively ignored it in this case. Cert. Pet. at 24.

The Court of Appeals correctly found that the instruction of

which Phenix complains did not fall within the plain error

exception because it was “at worst, arguable” and “resulted at

least in part from Phenix’s own tactical position at trial.” P.A.

at 11. As Shearson argued to the Eighth Circuit, the burden of

proof was properly assigned to Phenix because it affirmatively

sought more than $7.9 million in damages on the basis of its

guarantees in the MTJ bond transaction. Having made that

affirmative claim, Phenix assumed the burden of proving its

damages, i.e., that it would suffer a loss as a result of its

guarantee.

Finally, even assuming that the Eighth Circuit erred in its

application of the plain error doctrine, this would not be an

appropriate case for a grant of certiorari. “It has been

reiterated many times that the Supreme Court is not primarily

concerned with the correction of errors in lower court deci-

sions.” R. Stern, E. Gressman & S. Shapiro, Supreme Court

Practice § 4.17, at 221 (6th ed. 1986); see Boag v. McDougall,

454 US. 364, 368 (1982) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) ( quoting

Address of Chief Justice Vinson before the American Bar

Association (Sept. 7, 1949)); Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259,

275-76 & n.5 (1981) (Stevens, J., concurring). If this Court

were to review application by the courts of appeals of the plain

error doctrine to the facts of particular cases as Phenix requests

here, it would deviate from its appropriate role.

in several states, because Rule 51 does not state a substantive

obligation with which they must comply. See generally Estreicher &

Sexton, A Managerial Theory of the Supreme Court’s Responsibilities:

An Empirical Study, 59 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 681, 725 (1984).

Indeed, there is some benefit to be derived from circuit-by-circuit

experimentation in procedural rules. See Leventhal, A Modest

Proposal for a Multi-Circuit Court of Appeals, 24 Am. U.L. Rev. 881,

898-99 & n.61 (1975).

19

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, respondent Shearson

Lehman Hutton Inc. respectfully requests that this Court deny

the instant petition for a writ of certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

Dated: February 10, 1989

New York, New York

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN GREINER

GERALD KERNER

DEBORAH E. COOPER

Attorneys for Respondent

SHEARSON LEHMAN HUTTON INC.

One Citicorp Center

153 East 53rd Street

New York, New York 10022

(212) 935-8000

Of Counsel

JEROME BALSAM

WILLKIE Farr & GALLAGHER

One Citicorp Center

153 East 53rd Street

New York, New York 10022

(212) 935-8000

Davis, HOCKENBERG, WINE, BROWN,

KOEHN & SHORS

2300 Financial Center

Des Moines, Iowa 50309

(515) 243-2300

RESPONDENT'S APPENDIX 1

a Pe

En eee ee oe ee ee

RA-1

Excerpts From PHENIX FEDERAL’S BriEF To THE

UNITED StraTes Court OF APPEALS

For THE E1cutTuH Circuit

Filed August 29, 1986

[Caption and Material Omitted ]

[p. 25]

ARGUMENT

I. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN ADMITTING

EVIDENCE OF PROCEEDS FROM THE MTJ

BOND TRANSACTION AND OFFSETTING

THOSE PROCEEDS AGAINST THE JURY’S

DAMAGE AWARD.

[ Material Omitted ]

[p. 33]

Analysis of cases applying these principles in Iowa and

elsewhere demonstrate three distinct, yet interrelated reasons

the MTJ bond transaction was irrelevant in this case, each

legally sufficient in and of itself to bar admission: (1) the bond

transaction did not confer a “benefit” on Phenix Federal; (2)

the prospects of the bond issue were at best too speculative to

submit to the jury — a conclusion actually reached by the

District Court on a related issue — and (3) any benefit that

might have accrued to Phenix Federal had the plant been

successful over the next twenty years would clearly have

derived from a collateral source — an independent contract

entered into by Phenix Federal for substantial consideration

and at substantial risk.

RA-2

[ Material Omitted ]

[ p.43 ]

Finally, the $6.5 million would not have been a proper

offset even if the prospects of the plant had been amenable to

proof, the burden on that issue properly allocated (see Part II

infra), and sufficient evidence presented to prove the plant

would be successful.

{ Material Omitted ]

[p. 46]

Il. ASSUMING ARGUENDO THE MTJ BOND PRO-

CEEDS WERE ADMISSIBLE, THE TRIAL

COURT IMPROPERLY PLACED ON PHENIX

FEDERAL THE BURDEN OF PROVING HOW

MUCH IT WOULD LOSE ON THE LETTER OF

CREDIT

Even if the $6.5 million in proceeds and the prospects of

the ethanol plant through 2004 had been admissible as both

relevant and amenable to proof to a reasonable certainty, how

much Phenix Federal was likely to retain would necessarily be a

matter of mitigation, with the burden of proof on defendant

Shearson. Instead, the burden was placed on Phenix Federal in

the form of special interrogatory No. 6.

{ Material Omitted |

[p. 55]

If this court concludes the MTJ proceeds were admissible

as an Offset, analysis must then focus on allocation of the

burden of proof on the prospects of the bond issue. On that

issue there was admittedly no trial objection. It is therefore not

reviewable here unless misallocation of that burden constitutes

“plain error.”

{ Material Omitted |

RESPONDENT'S APPENDIX 2

RA-3

Excerpts From SHEARSON’S BRIEF

To Tue UNrrep States Court

Or APPEALS For THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Filed April 15, 1987

[Caption and Material Omitted ]

[pp. 7-11]

ARGUMENT

POINT I

PHENIX’S APPEAL MUST BE DENIED

A. Phenix Waived Its Right To Appeal The Offset, The

Introduction Of Evidence And The Allocation Of The

Burden Of Proof Relating To The MTJ Transaction, And

Thus Its Damage Judgment Is Not Reviewable By This

Court.

Phenix failed to preserve as issues for appeal any objec-

tions to the offset, burden of proof and evidentiary rulings

which it now claims constitute reversible error. As shown

below, Phenix’s waiver with respect to these issues could not be

more compelling.

1. Phenix’s failure to object at trial bars its present

appeal.

A party’s failure to object or otherwise inform the court of

its disagreement with the court’s action waives the objection

and precludes later appeal. See, e.g., Dehues v. Western

Electric Co., 710 F.2d 1344 (8th Cir. 1983); United States ex

rel. Planet Corp. v. McDonald Construction Co., 417 F.2d 687

(8th Cir. 1969). This waiver applies to all court actions,

whether rulings on questions of law, jury instructions or admis-

sion of evidence. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 51 (party must object to

RA-4

jury instruction before jury is charged in order to preserve

appeal); Fed. R. Civ. P. 46 (failure to make known to court

objection to ruling or grounds therefor or to inform court of

desired contrary ruling waives later appeal); Fed. R. Evid.

103(a)(1) (appeal on basis of erroneous decision concerning

admission or exclusion of evidence is barred by failure to object

at time of ruling).

To preserve an issue for appeal, a party must raise the issue

in the trial court before or at the time of the court’s decision.

Mid-America Food Service, Inc. v. ARA Services, Inc., 578 F.2d

691 (8th Cir. 1978); Morrow v. Greyhound Lines, Inc., 541 F.2d

7:3 (8th Cir. 1976). Issues which were “not raised in the trial

court cannot be considered by [an appellate court] as a basis

for reversal.” Edwards v. Hurtel, 724 F.2d 689, 690 (8th Cir.

1984); Kelley v. Crunk, 713 F.2d 426, 427 (8th Cir. 1983);

Rowe International, Inc. v. J-B Enterprises, Inc., 647 F.2d 830,

835 (8th Cir. 1981). See also Shepard v. General Motors Corp.,

423 F.2d 406 (1st Cir. 1970) (appellants cannot appeal from

trial court’s ruling that damages would be offset where they did

not contest or object to the ruling during trial).

The reasons for requiring a party to object to, or make

known its disagreement with, a court’s action at the time of that

action are twofold. First, it enables the court to “reconsider the

ruling and make desired changes”. Edwards v. Hurtel, 724 F.2d

689, 690 (8th Cir. 1984); Morrow v. Greyhound Lines, Inc., 541

F.2d 713, 724 (8th Cir. 1976). Second, it prevents a losing

party from unfairly obtaining a new trial or other relief by

relying on a possible error at trial which it should have sought

to correct. Johnson v. Houser, 704 F.2d 1049 (8th Cir. 1983);

Lange v. Schultz, 627 F.2d 122 (8th Cir. 1980). Otherwise a

party could secure a second opportunity to try its case if it

decided that it were dissatisfied with the first result.

Phenix offers no excuse for its failure to object below.

Phenix was given ample notice by Shearson of its position and

arena tha ibaciat Biel remind he

RA-5

by the District Court of its rulings and instructions. Shearson

made known its position concerning the effect of the MTJ bond

proceeds throughout the trial proceedings.? Similarly, Phenix

was given more than ample time to consider and object to the

jury instructions including the offset to be applied and the

allocation of the burden of proof. Early in the damages trial

the Court solicited proposed instructions from and thereafter

distributed its own draft instructions to all parties. [See Tr.

4277, 5460-61, 5740-41, J.A. 1412, 1651-52, 1682-83.] This

was followed by two conferences on June 7 and June 10 among

the Court and counsel to discuss the instructions, including the

offset and burden of proof instructions, and to afford the parties

opportunities to suggest changes and lodge objections. [Tr.

5824-25, 5890-959, J.A. 1695-96.] On June 12, 1985, the Court

read its instructions to the jury. At no point during this process

did Phenix make known any concern about, much less objec-

tion to, the District Court’s rulings or instructions.

2. Phenix’s agreement with the District Court’s actions

bars its present appeal.

Preclusion of appellate review is particularly apt when a

party not only failed to object by silence, but also encouraged

and agreed with the trial court’s action. See Mid-America Food

Service, Inc. v. ARA Services, Inc., 578 F.2d 691 (8th Cir.

1978); Cone v. Beneficial Standard Life Insurance Co., 388

F.2d 456, 459-60 (8th Cir. 1968). “[A] party cannot success-

fully complain of error for which he himself is responsible or of

rulings which he has invited the trial court to make.” Mach v.

Abbott Co., 136 F.2d 7, 10 (8th Cir. ), cert. denied, 320 U.S. 773

(1943). See also Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Hester, 765

F.2d 723, 727 (8th Cir. 1985) (“‘it is ‘fundamental that where

the defendant “opened the door” and “invited error” there can

3 It did so in its pretrial brief on damages [Shearson’s Brief on Damage

Issues at 37-41, J.A. 89-92]; at the outset of the damages trial in its opening

statement [ Tr. 4223, J.A. 1403]; again during the trial, in a memorandum of

law [Docket Number 658], and by its questioning of witnesses, without

objection, to demonstrate that Phenix had been repaid $6.5 million [ See Tr.

4341-44, 4969-70, J.A. 1440-43, 1539-40]; in its motion for a directed verdict

[ Tr. 5828-29, J.A. 1697-98]; and finally during summation. [Tr. 6112, 6114,

J.A. 1750, 1752.]

cae

RA-6

be no reversible error.’”) (quoting United States v. Steele, 610

F.2d 504, 505 (8th Cir. 1979)). Phenix’s conduct fits squarely

within this rule.

In his response to Shearson’s motion for a directed verdict,

Phenix’s counsel told the Court “you’ve already subtracted,

which we fully agree with, the six and a half million.” [Tr.

5843, J.A. 1708.] During summation, counsel for Phenix twice

told the jury that Phenix agreed with the $6.5 million offset. He

told the jury “the damages which we are claiming, totals

$20,600,324.57, and from that figure the Court will instruct you

that you’re not to consider the fact that he will subtract from

this figure, and we fully agree with this calculation” [Tr. 6041,

J.A. 1737] and later repeated that “the Court will instruct

— which we agree with this instruction, will subtract $6.5

million from that which represents the money that we have

received in the bond transaction.” [Tr. 6042, J.A. 1738.] And

during his rebuttal to Shearson’s summation, Phenix’s counsel

summarized both his client’s damages and, without dis-

agreement, the manner in which the offset would be applied:

When you look on the board, those are the figures

which reflect our damages as they are today when you

must consider them, and they total the 19 million, as I

have stated; and when the Judge subtracts, as he will

instruct you he will do, the 6.5, you will have the

figure that we say we’re damaged today.

[Tr. 6132, J.A. 1757. ]

Moreover, as explained more fully below, during the

damage trial Phenix did not claim the MTJ transaction was

irrelevent. Phenix used the MTJ guarantee offensively as a

basis to claim in excess of $7.9 million in damages. In that

connection, Phenix was the first party to bring the matter to the

jury’s attention in the opening statement of its counsel and

Phenix also introduced evidence concerning the transaction.

[Tr. 4216, 4923-28, J.A. 1402, 1522-27.] Finally, Phenix

affirmatively advised the Court that it had no objection to the

RA-7

jury instructions allocating the burden of proof. {Tr. 5934,

5946, J.A. 1714, 1718; see also Tr. 5950, J.A. 1719. j

[ Material Omitted ]

[pp. 14-28]

4. The plain error rule is inapplicable.

Secondly, Phenix argues that the plain error rule is appli-

cable. [Phenix Brief at 55-57.] As explained below, Shearson

strenuously urges that no error was committed. But. even if it

were, the plain error rule is not available to Phenix. The rule is

sparingly applied only “to the exceptional case in which error

has affected seriously the fairness, integrity or public reputation

of judicial proceedings.” Johnson v. Houser, 704 F.2d 1049,

1052 (8th Cir. 1983); Lange v. Schultz, 627 F.2d 122, 128 (8th

Cir. 1980); Figge Auto Co. v. Taylor, 325 F.2d 899, 907 (8th

Cir. 1964). This is not such a case.

In cases where, as here, the appellant did not merely

remain silent, but expressly told the court that it agreed with the

challenged ruling or affirmatively stated that it had no objec-

tion, considerations of fairness and finality overwhelmingly

demand that error should not give rise to appellate rights. See

Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Hester, 765 F.2d 723 (8th Cir.

1985); Cone v. Beneficial Standard Life Insurance Co., 388

F.2d 456 (8th Cir. 1968).9 As explained more fully below,

moreover, Phenix sought damages as a result of the MTJ

transaction. Having lost on that claim, Phenix should not be

permitted under the guise of the plain error rule now to reverse

its strategy and claim error because it is dissatisfied with the

result.

Insofar as Phenix contends that the burden of proof was

misallocated, Eight Circuit cases demonstrate that the plain

In Beardshall v. Minuteman Press International, Inc., 664 F.2d 23 (3d

Cir. 1981), a case cited by Phenix, the court found plain error in jury

instructions even though the appellant’s counsel had said that he had no

objections to the instructions. Phenix, however, did far more than simply

state its lack of objection to the District Court’s rulings. Moreover, the Eighth

Circuit, unlike the Third Circuit, refuses to find plain error under such

circumstances. See Cone v. Beneficial Standard Life Insurance Co., 388 F.2d

456 (8th Cir. 1968).

RA-8

error rule is not available here. In Fulton v. Chicago, Rock

Island & Pacific Railroad, 481 F.2d 326 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,

414 U.S. 1040 (1973), for example, a railroad counterclaimed

against a shipper for the collapse of the railroad’s bridge caused

when machinery loaded by the shipper struck the bridge during

transport. After judgment was entered for the shipper, the

railroad appealed on the ground that the trial court erred in

instructing the jury that the railroad bore the burden of proving

its freedom from contributory negligence. The Eighth Circuit

refused to determine the merits of the railroad’s appeal and

held that the railroad had waived the burden of proof issue

even though it had requested a specific instruction allocating the

burden of proof to the shipper: “regardless of the substantive

merits of this contention, [the railroad] failed to object after

the charge was delivered to this particular instruction and it is

therefore precluded from raising this issue on appeal.” Jd. at

338. Even the railroad’s requested instruction did not “obviate

the need for a specific statement of the alleged error.” Jd. See

also Farrar v. Cain, 756 F.2d 1148, 1150 (Sth Cir. 1985) (claim

of alleged error in burden of proof instruction summarily

rejected because no objection at trial).

In Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Hester, 765 F.2d 723

(8th Cir. 1985), the appellant contended that the trial court

erred in instructing the jury that the plaintiff needed to prove its

case only by a preponderance of the evidence rather than by

clear and convincing evidence. The Eighth Circuit, noting that

the appellant not only had not objected to but also had

included the preponderance standard in his requested instruc-

tions, held that the court “need not search for plain error, for it

is ‘fundamental that where the defendant “opened the door”

and “invited error” there can be no reversible error.’”’ Id. at

727 (quoting United States v. Steele, 610 F.2d 504, 505 (8th

Cir. 1979)). See also Goldsmith v. Diamond Shamrock Corp.,

767 F.2d 411, 415-16 (8th Cir. 1985); Cone v. Beneficial

Standard Life Insurance Co., 388 F.2d 456, 459-60 (8th Cir.

1968) (Rule 51 “cannot be circumvented under the guise of

RA-9

‘plain error’” where appellant specifically told court that he

had no objection to instructions ).1°

Finally, the plain error exception is not applicable unless

the Court is convinced that the result would have been different

if the burden of proof had been allocated differently. See

Castillo v. Givens, 704 F.2d 181, 195 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,

464 U.S. 850 (1983); Sheppard Federal Credit Union v. Palmer,

408 F.2d 1369 (Sth Cir. 1969). See also Johnson v. Houser, 704

F.2d 1049 (8th Cir. 1983). Phenix has not demonstrated, as it

must, that if the burden had been allocated to Shearson, the

result would have been different. As explained in detail below,

the evidence adduced concerning the future prospects and the

value of the plant demonstrated that the plant would be

successful, that the plant had a substantial market value and,

10 Phenix states that “federal courts of appeals applying the plain error

standard have almost universally held that misallocation or mistatement [sic]

of the burden of proof on an important issue constitutes plain error.” [Phenix

Brief at 56.] As demonstrated by Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Hester, 765

F.2d 723 (8th Cir. 1985), and Fulton v. Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific

Railroad, 481 F.2d 326 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1040 (1973), this

Circuit has never adopted such a rigid rule.

Moreover, in the three Eighth Circuit cases cited by Phenix where this Court

found plain error, Smith v. Updegraff, 744 F.2d 1354 (8th Cir. 1984), Morris

v. Getscher, 708 F.2d 1306 (8th Cir. 1983), and Mitchell v. Volkswagenwerk,

AG, 669 F.2d 1199 (8th Cir. 1982), none of which involved alleged errors in

the trial court’s allocation of the burden of proof, there was no indication that

the appellant had specifically told the trial judge, as Phenix did here, that it

had no objections to the manner in which the case was submitted to the jury.

Finally, in Teen-Ed, Inc. v. Kimball International Inc., 620 F.2d 399, 401-02

(3d Cir. 1980), the other main case on which Phenix relies, before vacating

the lower court judgment on the basis of an argument raised for the first time

on appeal, the appellate court noted that neither the appellant nor the

appellee had assisted the trial court in resolving the “very difficult evidentiary

problem” at issue. Moreover, the court stated, that “[u]nder ordinary

circumstances, perhaps, even this concert of activity would not be sufficient to

vacate a judgment,” but held that because the court’s erroneous ruling had

prevented appellant from presenting its damages case, a new trial was

required. Here, on the other hand, the issues of Phenix’s damage claims and

the MTJ transaction were fully presented and no evidence concerning

damages legally recoverable by Phenix was excluded from the jury.

RA-10

accordingly, it was unlikely that Phenix would suffer any loss

under its MTJ guarantee. See discussion at Point I(B)(3)(b)

and Point II(B), infra.

For all these reasons, the plain error rule, like the other

contentions Phenix makes to excuse its failure to object, is not

available to Phenix.

B. The Offset Of $6.5 Million Against Phenix’s Damages And

The Court’s Allocation Of The Burden Of Proof Con-

cerning Such Damages Were Legally Correct.

Relying upon several different strands of authority, Phenix

claims that as a matter of law it was error for the District Court

to offset against the damage award the $6.5 million which

Phenix received in the MTJ transaction. Additionally, Phenix

contends that if the offset were not improper as a matter of law,

the District Court erred in allocating to Phenix, rather than

Shearson, the burden of proving that it would suffer damage

under the MTJ guarantees. As demonstrated below, the rulings

of the District Court concerning the offset and the burden of

proof were correct and reversal would not be appropriate even

if Phenix had preserved its objections.

1. Phenix has fundamentally revised the approach it

took to the MTJ proceeds at trial.

In the opening page of its brief, Phenix criticizes the

District Court for rejecting “appellant’s contention that these

bonds proceeds were irrelevant” and for placing on appellant

“the burden to prove it would lose any of this money” under

the MTJ guarantee. It then concludes that “in so doing, the

District Court turned the law of mitigation of damages on its

head and denied appellant any remedy for Shearson’s wrong.”

These criticisms are based on the fundamental premise which

Phenix asserts much later in its brief that “plaintiffs agreed not

to claim any damages that occurred after December 26, 1984,

the day before the closing on the MTJ bond issue.” [Phenix

Brief at 54. ]

Based on that fundamental premise, in the remainder of its

brief Phenix attempts to demonstrate that its receipt of the $6.5

RA-11

million was irrelevant as a matter of law and could not be

considered in reduction of its damages or, alternatively, if the

MTYJ transaction was relevant, it was relevant only to mitigation

of damages and hence the burden of proving Phenix would not

lose the $6.5 million should have been placed on Shearson.

These contentions substantially and fundamentally mis-

characterize the positions Phenix took with respect to the MTJ

transaction during the damages trial.

During the damages trial Phenix in fact did not dispute

that it had received and enjoyed the use and benefit of the $6.5

million and that such funds should properly reduce any overall

recovery which Phenix obtained from the jury. Phenix con-

ceded that the $6.5 million was an asset and that it could use

such funds for any corporate purpose. [Tr. 4970, 5055, J.A.

1540, 1581.] It did not argue that it would lose part or all of

the $6.5 million which it had received. Thus, contrary to what

Phenix now suggests, the jury was not asked to determine

whether Phenix would lose part or all of the $6.5 million, and

the burden of proof was allocated to neither party on that issue.

Instead, Phenix contended that the MTJ guarantee gave

rise to a separate additional damage claim of more than $7.9

million. During his opening and closing statements, Phenix’s

counsel explicitly told the jury that Phenix was seeking dam-

ages based upon the MTJ transaction. [Tr. 4215-16, 6039-40,

J.A. 1401-02, 1735-36.] Consequently, the Court expressly

charged the jury that Phenix was seeking several different kinds

of consequential damages, including “the amount of principal

and interest on the MTJ bonds that Phenix Federal will pay for

which it will not be reimbursed.” [Damage Instruction No. 39,

J.A. 254-55.] Those damages were substantially more than

and were not directly related to the $6.5 million which it

concededly had received. Because Phenix was not contending

that it would lose the benefit of the $6.5 million, but instead

was pressing a separate claim for more than $7.9 million in

damages based on its guarantee, Phenix agreed to the offset

and accepted the burden of proof on the issue.

RA-12

The reason Phenix seeks to portray the positions it took at

trial in the way it now does is no mystery — it did not prevail

on its claim for approximately $7.9 million in consequential

damages for the MTJ transaction. Its indirect attempt to do so

now should be rebuffed. In pressing the claim for damages

under the guarantee, it was clearly Phenix’s hope and ex-

pectation that it would recover in excess of $7.9 million and

thus fare much better than if it merely claimed that the MTJ

transaction was irrelevant.11 Had Phenix prevailed on its MTJ

guarantee claim, it would readily have accepted the benefits

and presumably would not be complaining about the offset

today. Having lost on the claim, however, it must be charged

with the consequences of the positions it took. No blame can be

placed on the District Court for the “extraordinary denoue-

ment” which Phenix complains has been reached. [Phenix

Brief at 25.]

2. Neither the principles enunciated in the National Steel

case nor the collateral source rule affect the propriety

of the offset.

Phenix now claims that its receipt of $6.5 million was

irrelevant to any issue and that even if it had not given a

guarantee as part of the MTJ transaction it could retain that

$6.5 million and still recover the full amount of the VBCA loans

from Shearson. Phenix reaches this result by contending that its

damages became fixed no later than December 1981 when

11 Phenix could not reasonably have claimed that it was entitled to

damages under the MTJ guarantee and that Shearson was not entitled to

offset the $6.5 million which Phenix had received. If it had done so, Phenix

would have been seeking a possible recovery of not merely double but more

than triple the amount of its loans to VBCA. As Phenix structured its damage

claims, it sought approximately $7.2 million for the original and subsequent

advances, including interest, and, in addition, approximately $7.9 million

under the guarantee. If the offset had not been applied, Phenix would have

been in the position of seeking in excess of $15.1 million (not including its

other consequential damages) while at the same time retaining the $6.5

million it had received. As a result, if Phenix ultimately did not incur losses

under its guarantee, it could well have recovered $15.1 million from Shearson

although it had already received almost full repayment of its loans to VBCA.

And even if Phenix were called upon to make payment under the guarantee, it

would still be able to look to its mortgage on the plant.

RA-13

“VBCA was unable to pay-off the $1.6 million interim loan”

and that its damages could not have “un-accrued” as a result of

the MTJ transaction. [Phenix Brief at 27-28.] In support of

these contentions, Phenix relies principally upon National Steel

Corp. v. Great Lakes Towing Co., 574 F.2d 339 (6th Cir. 1978)

(“National Steel’). Phenix further contends that the pay-

ments received by Phenix were from a collateral source and

hence do not reduce its damages. [Phenix Brief at 43-46. ]

These contentions must be rejected for several reasons aside

from the fact that they ignore the positions Phenix took at trial,

including the way it structured its damage claims.

The National Steel case is inapposite. That case held that

damages for a three day loss of use of a steel mill which had

“already accrued” at the time plaintiff began its efforts to

mitigate could not be reduced by above normal production

after the three day period. National Steel thus holds that

certain types of damages, once having accrued, cannot be

reduced by subsequent events. National Steel did not hold that

payments made to a plaintiff after a cause of action has accrued

may never reduce plaintiffs damages or that a payee of

promissory notes such as Phenix can sue other parties such as

Shearson for damages equal to the face amount of the notes

without regard to payments received prior to trial. Such

subsequent payments up to the time of trial are relevant to

reduce damages.

Indeed, there are many instances in which payments made

to a plaintiff after a cause of action accrues and before the time

of trial eliminate or reduce damages. For example, although a

guarantor may be sued upon default of the primary obligor,

repayment of the indebtedness by the primary obligor or on its

behalf prior to trial relieves the obligation of the guarantor. See

Bledsoe v. Cargill, Inc., 452 So. 2d 1334 (Ala. Civ. App. 1984);

Industrial Development Corp. v. Rocca, 100 Idaho 228, 596

P.2d 100 (1978), later appeal, 102 Idaho 920, 643 P.2d 1090

(1982). Shearson’s liability to Phenix may be viewed as

analogous to that of a guarantor of the obligation of VBCA. It

arose only because the promissory notes were not paid in a

timely manner. Additionally, where more than one defendant

RA-14

may be liable to a plaintiff for the same injury, whether in tort,

contract or otherwise, payment by one defendant either in a

settlement prior to trial or in satisfaction of judgment, reduces

the liability of the other defendants to the plaintiff. See, e.g.,

Wadle v. Jones, 312 N.W.2d 510, 514 (Iowa 1981); Brigdon v.

Covington, 298 N.W.2d 279, 280 (Iowa 1980); Greiner v.

Hicks, 231 Iowa 141, 300 N.W. 727, 731 (1941); Mulinix v.

Saydel Consolidated School District, 376 N.W.2d 109, 111

(lowa Ct. App. 1985); see also Syverson v. Heitmann, 171 Cal.

App. 3d 106, 110, 214 Cal. Rptr. 581, 584 (3d Dist. 1985)

(“Where a plaintiff's settlement completely offsets the damages

assessed against a nonsettling joint tortfeasor, it reduces the

judgment to zero by operation of law.”). Phenix may not avoid

this rule simply because it did not sue VBCA, the primary

obligor under the promissory notes.

Indeed, there are other examples as well. Thus, in an

action for conversion, where payment has been made to the

injured party for the property converted by the person in

possession, the amount of that payment must be offset against

any damages awarded the plaintiff against a defendant found

liable for the conversion. See Keota Produce Co. v. Chicago,

Rock Island & Pacific Railroad, 189 lowa 1284, 179 N.W. 834,

835 (1920). See also Thornton & Co. v. Gwinnett Bank & Trust

Co., 151 Ga. App. 641, 260 S.E.2d 765, 769 (1979)(in an

action for conversion against bank which paid out funds on

forged instrument, bank was entitled to a setoff for amounts

repaid by forger); DoAll Dallas Co. v. Trinity National Bank,

498 S.W.2d 396, 404 (Texas Ct. App. 1973 — writ ref. n.r.e. )

(same).

Contrary to Phenix’s contention, its actual damages did not

accrue in respect of the $1.6 million loan in December 1981.

Instead, the amount of its damages, if any, could not be

determined until the time of trial. Accordingly, it would not

have been sufficient for Phenix to have shown that it had not

been paid in December 1981. Phenix was required to prove

that as of the time of trial its loans to VBCA had not been paid.

In recognition of this fact, Phenix’s principal witness, Carroll

Sasser, was not merely asked whether Phenix had been repaid

in December 1981, but whether VBCA’s indebtedness re-

RA-15

mained outstanding at the time of trial. [Tr. 4927, 5052-53,

J.A. 1526, 1578-79. ]

If it were assumed that VBCA had secured permanent

financing from a source other than Shearson in early 1982 or at

some other time before trial and had used that financing to

repay Phenix, the fallacy in plaintiffs argument becomes

apparent. In that event, Phenix could not have recovered from

Shearson or from VBCA. Phenix could not reasonably contend

in that event, as it seeks to do now, that its damage claims

against Shearson became fixed in December 1981, that repay-

ment was from a collateral source and, therefore, it could still

maintain an action against Shearson to obtain full recovery.

Yet, that is exactly what happened through the MTJ transac-

tion. Permanent financing was obtained which was used to

repay Phenix.

In addition, Phenix’s contention that its damages accrued

in December 1981, became fixed at that time and were not

subject to reduction is inconsistent with its claim for post-

December 1981 advances. At trial, Phenix contended that after

December 1981, it advanced more than $3.7 million in a

“reasonable effort from the standpoint of a prudent lender, to

recoup Phenix’s original loan of $1.6 million.” [Damage

Instruction No. 43, J.A. 261A.] Stated otherwise, Phenix

claimed that it made the subsequent advances to mitigate its

original $1.6 million loss. Thus, Phenix conceded that if it had

recovered the original $1.6 million as a result of the subsequent

advances — by making the plant successful and enabling

VBCA to repay the $1.6 million — it would have mitigated its

damages in respect of the $1.6 million and could not have

recovered those loans from Shearson. This makes clear that

Phenix’s damages were not fixed, absolute and immune from

reduction as Phenix now claims.

For the same reasons, the collateral source rule is also

inapplicable to the $6.5 million payment.'2 In addition, neither

12 This is not, as Phenix claims, “a classic collateral source payment”

situation. [Phenix Brief at 43.] The facts here are a far cry from the cases in

which the collateral source rule developed. The collateral source rule is an

RA-16

VBCA nor MTYJ are collateral sources. Phenix received the $6.5

million from the parties which owed the debt.13 Discharge of

loans by, or on behalf of, the borrower cannot be considered a

collateral payment. See Huber, Hart & Nichols, Inc. v. Moore,

67 Cal. App. 3d 278, 304, 136 Cal. Rptr. 603, 619 (Sth Dist.

1977).

In sum, neither the principles set forth in the National Steel

case nor the collateral source rule are applicable.

[ Material Omitted ]

[pp. 30-37]

b. Phenix’s contingent obligation under its MTJ

guarantee was not too speculative to be evaluated

by the jury.

The factors the jury was instructed to consider in eval-

uating Phenix’s potential loss under the guarantees, including

the value and success of the plant, were not too speculative.

{Damage Instruction No. 41, J.A. 258-59.] First, there was

ample evidence to support a jury finding that the plant had

substantial value to which Phenix could look if it had been

exception to the general principle that an injured party is entitled to recover

only for damages actually sustained. The rule typically applies to insurance

payments received by personal injury claimants which were contracted for in

advance or to employment benefits, such as sick leave payments, provided

voluntarily. See, e.g., Stewart v. Madison, 278 N.W.2d 284, 293-94 (lowa

1979) (rule applied to automobile insurance payments); Rigby v. Eastman,

217 N.W.2d 604, 609 (lowa 1974) (rule applied to workmen’s compensation

payments); Clark v. Berry Seed Co., 225 lowa 262, 271, 280 N.W. 505, 510

(1938) (rule applied to payment of medical expenses by employer). It is

intended primarily to preserve the rights of subrogation and the benefits of

insurance for those who have purchased coverage. D. Dobbs, Handbook on

the Law of Remedies § 3.5, at 185-86 (1973).

13 Phenix contends that the $6.5 million did not discharge VBCA’s

indebtedness and therefore VBCA still owes approximately $5.3 million plus

interest for the loans made before December 27, 1984. [Phenix Brief at 33-

34.] Phenix, however, is not entitled to keep and use the $6.5 million as an

asset without crediting it against the debts of the parties from which it was

received. Indeed, in apparent recognition of this fact, Phenix agreed that it

would not seek to recover for the VBCA loans unless MTJ defaulted on its

bond obligations. [Ex. 1654 at Art. 1.6 J.A. 647; Tr. 4343-44, J.A. 1442-43. ]

ee!

RA-17

called upon to make payments under the guarantees. Thus, the

jury determined that the market value of the plant was $6.5

million as of December 1981. [Phenix Damage Interrogatory

No. 8, J.A. 291.] As set forth below, there was overwhelming

evidence to support this determination. See discussion at Point

II(B), infra. Plaintiffs contended that by 1985, material

improvements had been made in the plant [| See Tr. 4290, 4297-

301, 4345, J.A. 1420, 1422-26, 1444] which must have in-

creased its value.

In addition, the future success or profitability of the plant

was not, as a matter of law, incapable of proof as Phenix now

contends. In 1984, the lowa Supreme Court overturned the

new business rule which previously barred recovery of damages

based on future profits of a new business. See Harsha v. State

Savings Bank, 346 N.W.2d 791 (Iowa 1984). Upon a proper

showing, courts in Iowa and in various other jurisdictions

permit recovery of lost future profits even though the proof of

such profits involves uncertainty. See, e.g., Autowest, Inc. v.

Peugeot, Inc., 434 F.2d 556 (2d Cir. 1970); Galindo v. Hibbard,

106 Idaho 302, 678 P.2d 94 (Ct. App. 1984); Cook Associates

v. Warnick, 664 P.2d 1161 (Utah 1983); Cardinal Consulting

Co. v. Circo Resorts, Inc., 297 N.W.2d 260 (Minn. 1980).15

15 Phenix relies on Rudolph v. Iowa Methodist Medical Center, 293

N.W.2d 550 (Iowa 1980), Groesbeck v. Napier, 275 N.W.2d 388 (lowa

1979), and Stanley v. State, 197 N.W.2d 599 (lowa 1972), for the proposi-

tion that the plant’s prospects were too speculative as a matter of law to be

capable of proof. None of those cases involved future lost profits which,

under Harsha, is now a matter capable of proof. In addition, here, Phenix

had already received the MTJ proceeds. None of the above cases involved a

comparable situation in which payment had aiready been made to the

plaintiff, but only situations in which funds might possibly be received in the

future.

Phenix also cites to Great Lakes Gas Transmission Co. v. Grayco Constructors,

Inc., 506 F.2d 498 (6th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 947 (1975), and

Randall v. Loftsgaarden, 106 S. Ct. 3143 (1986). In Great Lakes Gas, the

court held that the District Court properly excluded as speculative evidence

concerning a gas company’s pass-along to the public of repair costs resulting

from the appellant’s negligence through increased rates because the gas

company’s rates were highly regulated and could be readjusted. In Randall,

the court held that tax benefits realized by defrauded investors would not be

RA-18

Virtually the only proof adduced on the issue tended to

show that the plant would become profitable after it reopened

in 1985. For example, Leonard Conrad testified that he

believed that by January 1985, many of the plant’s problems

had been solved and that the plant would thereafter be

successful. Specifically, he testified that the equipment was

substantially improved, the interest rate on the plant’s in-

debtedness had been lowered and his ability to manage the

plant had improved because of the experience he had gathered

during the past three years. [Tr. 4297-301, 4303, 4341, 4345-

48, J.A. 1422-26, 1427, 1440, 1444-47.] Additionally, Shearson

introduced, without objection by Phenix, detailed MTJ projec-

tions prepared by Russel Ninas, the accountant employed by

both Phenix and Conrad. They projected that during 1986 the

plant would be able to fully cover payment of interest and

principal on the MTJ bonds, including that portion which was

past due.1® [Tr. 4357-58, 5255-57, J.A. 1451-52, 1641-43; Ex.

1699, J.A. 783-94.] Such projections can be sufficient to

support a jury verdict of lost profits. See, e.g., International

Wood Processors v. Power Dry, Inc., 792 F.2d 416, 431 (4th Cir.

1986); G.M. Brod & Co. v. U.S. Home Corp., 759 F.2d 1526,

1538-39 (llth Cir. 1985); Harsha v. State Savings Bank, 346

N.W.2d 791 (Iowa 1984). This is particularly true where, as

here, the projections are offered against the party that prepared

them or relied on them in making business decisions. See

Perma Research & Development Co. v. Singer Co., 402 F. Supp.

881, 900 (S.D.N.Y. 1975), aff'd, 542 F.2d 111 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 987 (1976).

used to offset their damages because of the “substantial” burden of

reconstructing the investors’ tax histories. Here, by contrast, the possibility

that Phenix would sustain losses under its guarantee depended on the future

profitability of the plant, which the lowa Supreme Court in Harsha held was

not too speculative for proof, and on the value of the plant, about which there

was extensive evidence.

16 While Phenix now emphasizes the disclaimer included in the projec-

tions [Phenix Brief at 41 n.32], this argument misses the point. Shearson

does not contend that the projections were a guaranty of future success.

Presumably, however, they were conscientiously prepared by plaintiffs and

constitute one basis on which Phenix made important decisions concerning

the plant including its decision to make the interest payments on which MTJ

defaulted. The weight to be accorded to the projections was a matter for the

jury to determine.

RA-19

The principal evidence on which Phenix relied to show

possible losses under the guarantee was the fact that MTJ had

been unable to make the initial interest payment on the bonds

in January 1985.17 [Tr. 4929, 5041, 5047, J.A. 1528, 1572,

1577.] This evidence had almost no probative value. All of the

witnesses who addressed the issue testified that an alcohol plant

could not be expected to be profitable in its early months of

operations. [Tr. 4603-04, 4854, 5194, 5489, J.A. 1467-68,

1474, 1613, 1653.] Consistent with this testimony, the MTJ

projections predicted that the plant would incur losses in its

early months and would turn profitable thereafter. [Ex. 1699,

J.A. 783-94.] Phenix made no attempt to impeach the projec-

tions and offered not a scintilla of evidence that MTJ would not

be profitable following its shake-down phase.

Phenix relies heavily on the fact that the District Court

disallowed the jury awards of lost profits to VBCA for 1982 and

1983 as demonstrating that the plant’s prospects for the post-

1985 period must have been incapable of proof. [Phenix Brief

at 42-43.] Phenix misconstrues the rationale for the District

Court’s decision. The District Court did not hold that the 1982

and 1983 lost profits were incapable of proof as a matter of law.

Rather it held that VBCA had failed to introduce such proof

and that other proof which was offered demonstrated as a

matter of law that the plant could not have been profitable

during those years. The evidence concerning the plant’s post-

1985 prospects had none of those failings which the Court

found decisive in vacating the award for 1982 and 1983 lost

profits.18 [ See Decision at 7-8, J.A. 468-69. |

17 Phenix also briefly questioned Carroll Keim, Shearson’s expert, to

clarify his testimony that in his judgment an ethanol plant with a 2.5 million

gallon capacity, such as the Bonaparte plant, as a general matter is not

economically feasible. [Tr. 5506-08, J.A. 1655-57.] Even before the plant

reopened after the MTJ bond issue, however, its capacity had been increased

to 3.5 million gallons. [Tr. 4352, J.A. 1449.] Moreover, Keim qualified his

testimony by stating that the profitability of a plant depends in each case on

several variables and by citing to another plant with a 2.5 million gallon

capacity which had been “extremely successful.” [Tr. 5506-07, J.A. 1655-

56. }

18 Phenix refers to design and conception flaws in the plant and the fact

that Ninas’ projections concerning MTJ’s future operations could not be

RA-20

Finally, Phenix refers to statements of Shearson’s counsel

during summation as showing it was impossible for the jury to

determine the future success of the plant. [Phenix Brief at 40. ]

The thrust of those arguments was, as explained above, that

Phenix had offered no persuasive evidence to carry its burden

of proving that the plant would not be successful and that the

only available evidence tended to show the opposite. Those

arguments remain valid.

In sum, the likelihood that Phenix would sustain loss under

its guarantee was a factual matter capable of proof, which the

jury determined against Phenix. There was ample evidence to

support the jury’s finding.

4. The District Court correctly allocated the burden of

proof to Phenix.

Phenix now contends that if the receipt of the MTJ funds

was relevant, it was a matter of mitigation and that the burden

of proof should have been placed on Shearson to demonstrate

that it would not lose those funds. [Phenix Brief at 46-56.] It

further claims that because the future prospects of the plant and

its ability to repay the principal and interest on the bonds was

too speculative to be susceptible of proof, Shearson could not

have met that burden, that a new trial is not required and that

judgment should be entered in its favor for the full amount of

the jury award. [Phenix Brief at 58-59. ]

verified by actual operating data in arguing that “the prospects of the plant

through the year 2004 were not (and could not be) shown with reasonable

certainty.” [Phenix Brief at 43.] It is surprising, to say the least, that Phenix

would have participated in the MTJ transaction and assumed financial

exposure in that regard if it believed the plant had design flaws. In any event,

by 1985, any faulty equipment had been replaced and the plant upgraded.

[ Tr. 4298, 4300-01, 4344-47, J.A. 1423, 1425-26, 1443-46.] In addition, the

assumptions on which Ninas based his MTJ projections differed from the

assumptions in the original 1981 VBCA projections and reflected the plant’s

actual operations as well as Conrad’s three years of experience with ethanol

production. [Tr. 4359-60, J.A. 1453-54; Ex. 1699 at 2-3, J.A. 784-85.] Iowa

law does not require anything more. See Harsha v. State Savings Bank, 346

N.W.2d 791 (Iowa 1984).

RA-21

In the first place, Phenix concedes that “‘on [the burden of

proof] issue there was admittedly no trial objection.” [Phenix

Brief at 55.] As demonstrated above, Phenix may not invoke

the plain error rule to avoid this failure and consequently is

barred from raising the issue for the first time now. See

discussion at Point I(A)(4), supra.

Moreover, it is clear that because of the way Phenix

structured its damage claims, the burden of proof properly

rested with Phenix. As explained above, Phenix did not frame

the issue for jury determination in the way it now does. It did

not request that the jury be instructed to determine what

portion of the $6.5 million Phenix would retain. The jury was

not instructed to and did not resolve that issue and the burden

of proof on that issue was not allocated to either party. Instead,

Phenix affirmatively sought more than $7.9 million in damages

on the basis of the MTJ guarantees. That was the issue the jury

was instructed to and did determine. As with all of its damage

claims, Phenix bore the burden of establishing damage and the

amount thereof. [Damage Instruction Nos. 40 and 50 J.A. 256-

57, 265-66.] See Sedco International, S.A. v. Cory, 522 F.

Supp. 254, 322 (S.D. Iowa 1981), aff'd, 683 F.2d 1201 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1017 (1982).

The allocation of the burden of proof was correct for

another reason. Even if Phenix were allowed on this appeal to

rewrite what happened at trial and to characterize the MTJ

transaction as relevant only to affirmative defense issues, Shear-

son did meet its burden. Shearson’s burden was to demonstrate

that Phenix received the $6.5 million. This fact was demonstra-

ted without dispute and as a matter of law. [ See, e.g., Tr. 4341,

4969-70, J.A. 1440, 1539-40.] If Phenix had contended that it

would not retain the $6.5 million and therefore did not benefit

from its receipt of the funds, the burden rested with Phenix to

prove that contention.

Phenix has not cited a single case in which a defendant has

been required to prove not only receipt of funds by plaintiff

which mitigate damages, but that plaintiff will thereafter not

RA-22

lose the benefit of such funds.19 The cases relied on by Phenix

in which the burden-of proof has been placed on the defendant

to prove a mitigating offset to the plaintiffs damages support

this reasoning. [See Phenix Brief at 48-49.] In those cases in

which an offset was allowed, the burden of proof was met by

establishing that the credit or other offset payment was actually

paid to and received by the plaintiff. See, e.g., Cates v. United

States, 451 F.2d 411, 417-18 (Sth Cir. 1971). See also Wadle

v. Jones, 312 N.W.2d 510, 515 (lowa 1981). Shearson met its

burden in this regard when it demonstrated that Phenix re-

ceived a payment of $6.5 million in the MTJ bond offering.2°

| Material Omitted ]

19 National Steel did not reach this question. At most, the court held that

a defendant has the burden of proving the receipt of funds that mitigate the

plaintiffs damages, not that the funds received were not thereafter lost. See

574 F.2d at 344-45.

20 Phenix contends that if this Court were to accept its various con-

tentions, a new trial would not be necessary. Instead it asks the Court simply

_ to enter judgment on the jury verdict. [Phenix Brief at 58-59.] Because of

the importance of the MTJ transaction to the trial insofar as it concerned

Phenix’s damages and Phenix’s role in eliciting or, at a minimum, acquiescing

in the actions which it now challenges, Phenix’s request should be rejected.

Moreover, a new trial would also be required because it is impossible to know

that the jury instruction that Phenix’s damages would be reduced by $6.5

million had no effect on the jury’s deliberations.

pon NT'S APPENDIX 3

a ‘ ae eee ;

Se ; eR a

a Baa .

;

RA-23

Excerpts From Districr Court’s

JURY INSTRUCTIONS

INSTRUCTION NO. 39

Phenix Federal’s claim for general damages consists of the

1.6 million dollar construction loan it made before learning that

Shearson was not going to provide permanent financing for the

Van Buren County Alcohol plant. It is for you to determine the

amount of general damages Phenix Federal has sustained as a

result of Shearson’s failure to provide permanent financing.

In addition, Phenix Federal claims several different kinds

of consequential damages, as follows:

1. Loss of interest on the 1.6 million dollar loan that

accrued after Phenix Federal knew that Shearson was not going

to provide long-term financing for the Van Buren County

Alcohol plant.

2. Advancements and interest on the advancements to Van

Buren County Alcohol for equipment and operating expenses

after Phenix Federal knew that Shearson would not provide

permanent financing.

3. Expenses incurred by Phenix Federal in overseeing the

operations of the Van Buren County Alcohol plant.

4. Loss due to the decrease in the value of Phenix Federal

stock because of Shearson’s failure to provide long-term financ-

ing.

5. Losses that are contingent on success of the plant, the

value of the plant, and the guarantees of Leonard Conrad and

Van Buren County Alcohol, consisting of the amount of princi-

pal and interest on the MTJ bonds that Phenix Federal will pay

for which it will not be reimbursed under the guarantees or the

plant mortgages, reduced to present value.

RA-24

It is for you to determine which, if any, of these claims for

consequential damages were the result of Phenix’s reliance on

Shearson’s negligent misrepresentations as explained in instruc-

tions 38-48, or promissory estoppel, as explained in instructions

49-53. There will be a separate interrogatory for each claim of

consequential damages. You should place the amount of

damages you determine in the appropriate space.

INSTRUCTION NO. 40

In order to recover any amount of damages for negligent

misrepresentation, Phenix Federal must establish by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence each of the following propositions

as to each item of damages:

1. That Phenix Federa! acted in justifiable reliance in

taking the action that resulted in the damages as explained in

Instruction No. 42;

2. That the particular plaintiffs reliance on the negligent

misrepresentations was the proximate cause of the damages, as

explained in Instruction No. 4;

3. That Phenix Federal’s reliance on the negligent mis-

representations was the legal cause of the damages, as ex-

plained in Instruction No. 43;

4. That the amount of damages is reasonably certain, as

explained in Instruction No. 44; and

5. That the damages were sustained by the specific

plaintiff claiming the right to recover, as explained in Instruc-

tion No. 45-46.

Each of these propositions must be proved for each item of

damages. Where more detailed instructions are necessary with

reference to a particular item of damages, they will be included

in the appropriate place.

RA-25

If you find that Phenix Federal has established each of

these propositions by a preponderance of the evidence as to one

or more of the items of damages they claim, you must then

determine the amount to be awarded for each item, but in no

event can the amount be in excess of the amount claimed. If

you find that Phenix Federal has failed to prove any of these

propositions, by a preponderance of the evidence as to one or

more of the items of damages claimed, then your verdict must

be for Shearson as to that particular damage claim.

INSTRUCTION NO. 44

In order to recover damages on the negligent mis-

representation claim, Phenix Federal must prove the fact and

amount of damages in accordance with Instruction No. 23.

INSTRUCTION NO. 45

In order to recover any damages for negligent mis-

representation, Phenix Federal must show that it actually

suffered the damage claimed. No plaintiff is permitted to

recover for another plaintiffs losses. The plaintiffs have the

burden of proving which of them sustained each injury. If

Phenix Federal fails to prove that it sustained a particular loss

claimed, then it may not recover for that loss.

RESPONDENT'S APPENDIX 4

RA-26

Excerpts From SHEARSON’S BRIEF

IN RESISTANCE TO PHENIX’s MOTION

To AMEND JUDGMENT Or For A NEw TRIAL

Filed October 9, 1985

[Caption and Table of Contents Omitted ]

[p. 2]

Shearson has filed a Resistance to Phenix Federal’s Motion

to Amend Judgment or, in the alternative, for a New Trial.

This Brief sets forth Shearson’s position on the following issues:

(1) Phenix Federal did not object to the damages instructions

and thus has no standing to complain about those instructions,

(2) the Court correctly submitted the issue of Phenix Federal’s

general damages, (3) the Court properly ruled on Plaintiffs’

pretrial motions, and (4) the Court ruled correctly on the

evidentiary issues complained of by Phenix Federal and, in any

event, even if the rulings were incorrect, they do not provide a

basis for an amended judgment or a new trial under the facts of

this case.

RA-27

[Material Omitted]

[pp. 3-4]

Il. THE COURT CORRECTLY SUBMITTED THE

ISSUE OF PHENIX FEDERAL’S GENERAL

DAMAGES.

Paragraphs 1, 2, and 3 of Phenix Federal’s Motion and

pages 2-5 of its brief assert that the Court should have

submitted Phenix’s general damage claim in some different

way. As noted above, this argument is groundless because of

Phenix’s failure to object to the jury instructions. Second, this

argument is groundless because the Court properly submitted

all appropriate individual damage claims made by Phenix

Federal. The Court submitted these individual items of dam-

ages because these were the losses claimed by Phenix. Phenix

appears to argue that it is entitled to some amorphous general

damage claim that is not tied to any specific damage. The law

does not allow Phenix to present to the jury this type of

unspecified damages claim. See Restatement (Second) of

Torts § 552B. Cj. Lenard v. Argento, 699 F.2d 874, 888-92 (7th

Cir. 1983) ( Plaintiff cannot recover “substantial damages” that

are not tied to any specific actual damages). Clearly, Phenix

cannot recover on any such amorphous claim, and the Court

correctly submitted Phenix Federal’s general damage claim.

[ Material Omitted ]

RESPONDENT'S APPENDIX 5

RA-28

Excerpts From SHEARSON’S RESPONSE

To PHENIx’s Post-TRIAL MOTIONS

Filed December 27, 1985

[Caption and Table of Contents Omitted ]

[pp. 1-5]

On October 10, 1985, Phenix Federal filed an ““Amend-

ment to Brief in Support of Motion to Amend Judgment or, In

the Alternative, Motion for a New Trial.” Because this

Amendment was filed one day after Shearson’s Resistance to

Phenix Federal’s Motion, Shearson files this Response to

Phenix Federal’s Brief.

Phenix Federal asserts two principal bases for its post trial

motions — the Court’s failure to submit an interrogatory

allowing the jury to award an amorphous amount of “general

damages” and the Court’s jury instruction providing that the

$6.5 million received from the MTJ bond issue must be set off

from Phenix Federal’s damages. However, as Shearson point-

ed out in its Resistance, Phenix Federal cannot now raise these

complaints because they were not made at the appropriate time

— at trial. See Shearson’s Resistance at pages 2-3. Phenix

Federal’s failure to make any objections it had at the time

clearly required by Rule 51 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure and the cases decided thereunder precludes it from

now raising this issue and claiming error. Even if Phenix

Federal could somehow ignore the dictates of Rule 51 and

assert its claims at this time, Phenix Federal would still be

unable to obtain the post judgment relief it seeks.

A. General Damages

Phenix Federal complains that it was not allowed to

recover all of its “general damages” because the Court sub-

RA-29

mitted as individual items of damage all of Phenix Federal’s

claimed specific losses. Phenix Federal’s assertion that it was

entitled to more than the sum of its individual damage claims

indicates a misunderstanding of the Iowa law on “general

damages”. The cases cited in Phenix Federal’s brief in support

of its general damages proposition are cases decided pursuant

to Georgia statutory definitions, and they have no relevance to

this case. See Hood v. Dunn & Bradstreet, Inc., 486 F.2d 25

(1973); Hayes v. Irwin, 541 F. Supp. 397 (S.D. Ga. 1982).

Iowa damages cases specifically provide that “no rule of law

should permit an injured party ... to receive more than has

been lost as the result of some tortious act.” Adams v. Deur,

173 N.W.2d 100, 105 (Iowa 1969).

Additionally, Phenix Federal’s argument misconstrues the

meaning of the term “general damages”. General damages are

not some additional, amorphous category of damages in a fact

situation such as the case at bar. Instead, general damages are

those suffered by all injured parties in the same circumstances

— a category of damages distinguished from special or con-

sequential damages, which are those additional damages suf-

fered by a particular injured party as‘a result of the breach. See

R. Hillman, Contract Remedies, Equity, and Restitution in Iowa

§ 6.1, at 126 (1979). In this case Phenix Federal was allowed

to assert claims for any and all damages that would be suffered

by all injured parties in the same circumstances. Phenix

Federal made claims for loss of principal and interest — loss of

the “‘value” of its expectation from Shearson — and that is all

that Phenix Federal is entitled to recover under the principal of

general damages.' See id. The principle of general damages,

then, does not allow Phenix Federal to recover any additional

damages under the facts of this case.

‘The court (correctly) submitted the damages issue on special inter-

rogatories. This submission resulted in the general damages being broken

into specific damage figures. However, a totalling of these specific figures stil!

results in a total that constitutes general damages as provided for by law.

RA-30

B. Collateral Source Rule

Further, the collateral source rule clearly does not provide

Phenix a basis for a new trial in this action. In this case, actions

were taken by the plaintiffs to mitigate damages by obtaining

new funding for the plant. See Iowa Power & Light Co. v.

Board of Water Works Trustees, 281 N.W.2d 827, 833 (lowa

Ct. App. 1979); Nizzi v. Lavery Sprayers, Inc., 143 N.W.2d 312,

317-18 (Iowa 1966) (Iowa law requires parties to mitigate their

damages). The result of these actions was the repayment of

most of the contractual debt owed to Phenix.? See Sasser

Testimony at 4969-70. Having- been repaid $6.5 million,

Phenix could not recover these funds a second time from VBCA

or MTJ, the principal obligors, much less a second time from

Shearson, a party who became liable to Phenix only because

VBCA had initially defaulted on its promissory notes.3 In short,

through the bond issue Phenix has received $6.5 million in

repayment of the contractual indebtedness owed to it and it is

not entitled to a double recovery of these sums from any party,

be it VBCA or Shearson. See Team Central, Inc. v. Teamco,

271 N.W.2d 914, 925 (Iowa 1978).

It is apparent that the facts here are a far cry from the cases

in which the collateral source rule developed. That rule has

2In its Brief, Phenix refers to the MTJ bond issue as a “loss spreading

mechanism” instead of a repayment. Phenix Brief at 4. Phenix’s character-

ization is just that, as the evidence demonstrated that Phenix received $6.5

million as a result of the bond issue. To refer to the receipt of this money as

simply “ioss spreading” is not an accurate reflection of the facts.

3 As indicated, Shearson became liable to repay the debt to Phenix only

as a result of the default of the primary obligors. It is black letter law that

repayment of an obligation discharges a party secondarily liable to the extent

of repayment. Bledsoe v. Cargill, Inc., 452 So. 2d 1334 (Ala. Civ. App.

1984); Industrial Investment Corp. v. Rocca, 596 P.2d 100 (Idaho 1978),

appeal after remand, 643 P.2d 1090 (1982); Spencer v. American Advisory

Corp., 338 So. 2d 62 (Fla. App. 1976), cert. denied, 348 So. 2d 953 (Fla.

1977). This is true whether the payment is made by the primary debtor or by

a third party on behalf of the primary debtor. 38 C.J.S. Guaranty § 77

(1943); see also Brunson Bonding & Insurance Agency, Inc. v. Floyd Electric

Co., 416 So. 2d 558 (La. App. 1982). Moreover, because MTJ was a primary

obligor it was not a collateral source and, hence, the collateral source rule

could not be applicable to any funds received by Phenix from MTJ. Huber,

Hunt & Nichols, Inc. v. Moore, 136 Cal. Rptr, 603, 619 (Cal. App. 1977).

RA-31

generally been applied to payments received by personal injury

claimants from insurance companies, which payments had been

contracted for in advance, or from employers on a voluntary

basis. As Dan Dobbs has noted in his treatise on remedies, the

collateral source rule “finds its most common application in

personal injury cases” and is intended to preserve the rights of

subrogation and the benefits of insurance for those who have

purchased coverage. D. Dobbs, Handbook on the Law of

Remedies, § 3.5, at 185-86. Dobbs notes that the rule “‘is in fact

retained less on the basis of the arguments [in its favor] than

on the basis of its value in financing personal injury litigation.”

Id. § 8.10, at 584. The rule clearly has no application to the

facts presented here for all of the reasons indicated.

[ Material Omitted ]

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.