Opposition Brief — Duck v. Bank of America, N. T. & S. A.

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited

Octoper Term, 1988

uf

No. 88-918 (Y)

CuarLes Duck, Trustee of the Bankruptcy Estate of

GeEorGE M. Jewett and Laura E. JEweLt,

and GeorGce R. JEweLt,

Petitioners,

v.

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND

SAVINGS ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

No. ss.934\2/)

IRENE O"CONNELL KRUSE,

Petitioner,

v.

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND

SAVINGS ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

OPPOSITION TO PETITIONS FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION ONE

Davip B. FLINN WARREN CHRISTOPHER*

LELAND, PARACHINI, BERTRAND M. Cooper

STEINBERG, FLINN, KAREN R. GROWDON

“MATZGER & MELNICK CARMEN R. LUEGE

333 Market Street O”’MELVENY & MYERS

27th Floor 400 South Hope Street

San Francisco, CA 94105 Los Angeles, CA 90071

Telephone: (415) 457-1800 Telephone: (213) 669-6000

Attorneys for Respondent

* Counsel of Record .' yWv

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. .........--ccccscoccccccecccccsscccssecccscees ii

STATEMENT OF THIE CASE 2.0...ccccccccscccscscosccsncsccsscscsesese 2

l. Facts Underlying Petitioners’ Claims Of Judicial

Fs a alt ES I RS a 2

2. GT Ee A OTT 5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRITB....................... 6

l. The Judgment Below Is Not Final .............2..0...000+-- 6

2. Petitioners Did Not Raise The Questions Present-

ed In The State Court Proceedings 7

3. The Case Does Not Present Important Questions

Of Law 9

4. The Lower Court’s Decision Does Not —

With Decisions Of This Court i

5. The Lower Court’s Decision Neither Interprets

Nor Applies Federal Law On Judicial Dis-

ee aiilsaiaiatts ccciscaniisvinssntieatasiainintnscininasinaiancs 11

6. Alleged Error In The Lower Court’s Decision

Does Not Justify Review By This Court ................--. 12

Saver aan TUITE catctvncicussihisicthaensasheentcandseiannentassennidomenepeempiassdesens 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PaGe&( S$)

Adickes v. S.H. Kress and Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970) ... 8

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813

[) ) EEE 8,9, 10

Agins v. City of Tibuoan, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) .........-+. 11

Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541, Reh. denied, 370

US. DGS ( TDG) veccconcccccccsassnsssncssansensasnisaivenniaansnnens 8

Berger v. United States, 255 U.S. 22 (1921) -....:csescees 12

Board of Directors of Rotary International v. Rotary

Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537 (1987) ......:ccccccceeeeeeens 8

Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969) ...........00. 8

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973) .........000: s

Cincinnati Street Railway Co. v. Snell, 179 U.S. 395

6) ) EE 6

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 US. 469

€ 1975 } ..ncceccssssesstinticemniea 7

Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619 (1981) ou... eeecesceeseeeersenenes 7

Gospel Army v. Los Angeles, 331 U.S. 543 (1947)....... 6

Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U.S. 441 (1935) cc ceecceeerees 8

Hill v. California, 401 U.S. 797 (1971) cece ccceesseeerennes 8

Jewell Ridge Coal Corp. v. Local No. 6167, United

Mine Workers of America. 325 U.S. 897 (1944) ..... 11

Kaufman v. Court of Appeal, 31 Cal. 3d 933, 184 Cal. -

Rarer. FOZ ( 19629 ssccniscnendcacctetecsceshiattnhneansiilindinkinassane §. 11

Killian v. United States, 368 U.S. 231 (1961), Reh.

decdad, FOE US. STS t USED ccossttsckossutsabintersttiinaieae &.9

Kruse v. Bank of America, 202 Cal. App. 3d 38, 248

Cal. Reser. 207 ( RGDB D nnissccrcsctecsntncdscatsssactiananmmmatante 2

Laird v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824 (1972 )....cceceececeeceeeeeeeees 11

Liljeberg v. Health Services Acquisition Corp., \O8

DC e, ZED 6 CSG D nesncinncdinnsesenningsstenaerddiatialacunanammanaines lO. 11

MacNeil Bros. Co. v. Cohen, 264 F.2d 186 ( Ist Cir.

$999 ) .corcsrdcoscansnentansscdinnnicapneansaiimamiaalas 12

Martin-Trigona v. Gouletas, 634 F.2d 354 (7th Cir.)

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1025 (1980) ooo 12

O’Dell v. Espinoza, 456 U.S. 430 (1982). cee. 6

Oxley Stave Co. v. Butler County, 166 US. 648

( BOT ) nnccconssnscsncnccsnsesbedehabientaaaaiaamaan 8

ili

Cases

Patterson v. Colorado ex rel Attorney General, 205

ae

Popkin v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 236 F Supp. 645

(E.D. Penn. 1964) Reeteiietacieneunsdiestceiss

Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600 (1974) ooo ccccceceeeeees

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. S10 (1927) oooccccccccccoccecceeeeeeee

— States v. Gigax, 605 F.2d 507 (10th Cir.

EES EEE

United States v. Sibla, 624 F.2d 864 ( 9th Cir. 1980) ..

Webb v. Webb, 451 U.S. 493 (1981) ooo ee

Webb's Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449

il tee

STATUTES

California Code of Civil Procedure

ESL aaa

i TIlidiiadineetieerneneenensenstanneneconsncces

SECONDARY MATERIALS

R. Stern, E. Grossman and S. Shapiro, Supreme

Court Practice § 4.1 (6th ed. 1986) 00...

B. California Procedure, Courts § 80 ( 3rd ed.

l ELLE ALLE ALES AID

PaGe(s)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

Octoser TERM, 1988

No. 88-918

Cuarces Duck, Trustee of the Bankruptcy Estate of

Georce M. Jewett and Laura E. JEwe Lt,

and GeorGeE R. JEWELL,

Petitioners,

v.

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND

SAVINGS ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

No. 88-934

IRENE O'CONNELL KRUSE,

Petitioner,

Vv.

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND

SAVINGS ASSOCIATION,

Respondent.

OPPOSITION TO PETITIONS FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION ONE

Respondent Bank of America N.T. & S.A.* (“the Bank”)

respectfully requests that this Court deny the petition for writ of

* Bank of America N.T. & S.A. owns less than a 100% interest in the

following of its subsidiaries: Banco Colombo Americano, Bank of America

Australia Limited, Bank of America S.A.E.. Bank of America ( France) S.A..

( Footnote Continued)

et eee

—_—

2

certiorari filed by Charles Duck, bankruptcy trustee of the

estate of George M. Jewell and Laura E. Jewell, and by George

R. Jewell (the “Jewells”) and the petition for writ of certioran

filed by Irene O'Connell Kruse (“Kruse”). Both petitions seek

review of the opinion of the California Court of Appeal, First

Appellate District, Division One filed on May 18, 1988, and

modified on June 17, 1988.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 18, 1988, the California Court of Appeal issued its

opinion in Kruse v. Bank of America (as later modified and )

reported at 202 Cal. App. 3d 38, 248 Cal. Rptr. 217 (1988)).

That opinion reversed the trial court judgment in favor of

petitioners. The decision was rendered by a panel composed of

Justices John T. Racanelli, William A. Newsom and Norman )

Elkington. |

The Court of Appeal found that Kruse and the Jewells had |

not established by substantial evidence the causes of action

alleged in their pleadings. The decision to reverse the judgment

was entirely based on established state law principles and did

not raise any federal issues or constitutional questions.

Petitioners seek the aid of this Court by legal maneuvers

aimed at creating a constitutional question where none in fact

exists. Notably, petitioners’ briefs contain only a sketchy

account of the facts and procedures giving rise to the alleged

constitutional questions— perhaps because those facts reveal the

frivolous nature of the petitions.

|. Facts Underlying Petitioners’ Claims Of Judicial

Disqualification.

Petitioners first raised the issue of judicial disqualification

after the Court of Appeal rendered its decision. While petition-

ers’ motions for rehearing were pending before the Court of |

Appeal, Kruse filed a motion requesting that Justice Racanelli |

and Justice Newsom recuse themselves. Kruse claimed that,

( Footnote Continued)

BA Servicios, S.A.. East Kemprtville Tin Corporation. and The Electronic

Payments Exchange. Inc. Bank of America N.T. & S.A. is itself wholly owned

by BankAmerica Corporation. all of the subsidiaries of which are wholly |

owned.

3

while the appeal was pending, Justice Racanelli owned Bank

stock and Justios Newsom had a “customline” of credit with the

Bank. The purported factual basis of those assertions was the

belated recollection of Kruse’s counsel that at an unrelated

hearing involving the Bank in April 1986 Justices Racanelli and

Newsom disclosed, respectively, stock ownership in and a loan

from the Bank. After Kruse filed her motion for recusal, the

Jewells immediately filed their own request based entirely on

the declaration filed by Kruse’s counsel.

Only days later, Kruse filed an additional brief raising

more unsubstantiated accusations. This time Kruse theorized

that Winslow Christian, the Bank's Director of Litigation, had

recommended Justice Racanelli, Justice Elkington and Justice

Newsom to be appointed to the Court of Appeal. Kruse also

speculated that Justice Racanelli may have been influenced by

a hope that Warren Christopher, the Bank’s counsel who

argued the appeal, might somehow obtain a federal judicial

appointment for the Justice if Governor Dukakis won the

presidential election. Appendix A. On June 17, 1988, the Court

of Appeal declined petitioners’ recusal requests as well as the

petitions for rehearing, and the court issued its modified

“-- ki : titorial cl

Kruse and the Jewells then filed petitions for review in the

California Supreme Court essentially requesting review of the

Justices’ refusal to disqualify themselves. Kruse also filed an

application to take evidence on the disqualification issue. On

June 30, 1988, Justice Racanelli submitted a declaration to the

California Supreme Court establishing beyond dispute that he

had never owned Bank stock. Appendix B. Obviously, that

declaration put to rest the issue of Justice Racanelli’s dis-

qualification. '

* By statute, a judge's ownership of less than !% of a party's stock, or of

such stock worth less than $1,500, is not a disqualifying interest. California

Civil Procedure Code §§ 170.1(a)(3), 170.5(b). Justice Racanelli’s State-

ments of Economic Interest filed pursuant to California Government Code

§ 87200 for the years 1986 and 1987 do not indicate any ownership of Bank

stock. ( Under Califorma Government Code § 87203 appellate court judges

4

As to Justice Newsom’s loan from the Bank, since the 1984

revisions to the California judicial disqualification statutes, a

loan is no longer a disqualifying financial interest. California

Civil Procedure Code Section 170.1; 2 B. Witkin, California

Procedure, Courts § 80 (3rd ed. 1985).2 See also Code of

Judicial Conduct, Canon 5C(4)(b) (a loan is not a dis-

qualifying interest if obtained in the “regular course of business

on the same terms generally available to persons who are not

judges”). Since the evidence presented did not establish any

ground for disqualification, the California Supreme Court de-

nied petitioners’ requests for review, as well as the application

to take evidence, finding that petitioners had “not made a

prima facie showing of conflict of interest or bias much less a

deprivation of due process.”

Faced with the absence of any basis in the record for

disqualifying Justice Racanelli or Justice Newsom, Kruse now

makes entirely new accusations concerning Justice Newsom. In

her petition Kruse claims that David Flinn, the Bank’s trial

attorney in this case, is the family lawyer for Justice Newsom,

and that this constitutes ground for disqualification. That again

exemplifies petitioners’ creation of innuendo without any fac-

tual basis.

As a threshold matter, we note that the alleged

lawyer/client relationship between Justice Newsom and Flinn

constitutes entirely new matter never raised below. Neither

Justice Newsom nor the California Supreme Court has had an

opportunity to consider that matter. To the extent this Court is

inclined to consider it, however, the Bank wishes to correct

Kruse’s false allegations.

Kruse’s conclusion that Flinn was Justice Newsom’s at-

torney is simply not supported by the evidence on which Kruse

relies. Her argument springs from two “facts”: (1) Justice

Newsom’s apparent ownership of stock in Squaw Valley Im-

provement Corporation, as reflected in his 1982 Statement of

Economic Interest, and (2) Flinn’s representation of that

corporation as reflected in its Statement of Domestic Stock

Corporation filed with the California Secretary of State in June

1982. Kruse unjustifiably assumes from those two documents

2 Although Justice Newsom’s Statements of Economic Interest revealing

the existence of the creditline were available for inspection at all times,

petitioners waited until after the Court of Appeal rendered its decision to raise

the disqualification issue.

5

that Flinn represented the Corporation when Justice Newsom

was one of its stockholders.? That assumption is wrong. In

May of 1982, Justice Newsom, in an arms-length transaction,

sold all his shares of Squaw Valley Improvement Corporation

to two sisters and a brother. Appendix C.4 In June of 1982,

after the sale, Justice Newsom’s sisters employed Flinn to

dissolve the corporation. It was only after Justice Newsom’s

sale of shares that Flinn’s law firm commenced representation

of the corporation. Flinn is not and never has been counsel for

Justice Newsom. Appendix C.

2. The Facts Of The Case.

This case arose out of a complex lending relationship

between the Bank, the Jewells and the O’Connell Company (of

which Kruse was sole shareholder). The litigation commenced

in 1981 when the Jewells and the O’Connell Company, faced

with financial collapse, filed claims against the Bank alleging

fraud, breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing and

other torts. The California Court of Appeal, applying state law,

found that petitioners did not establish at trial their claims of

tortious conduct on the part of the Bank.

3 Even if Mr. Flinn had been Justice Newsom’s lawyer, there would be

no ground for disqualification under California Civil Procedure Code § 170.1.

See also Popkin v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 236 F Supp. 645 (E.D. Pa. 1964).

But if Kruse truly believes these allegations constitute a ground for dis-

qualification, she should have raised that issue first with Justice Newsom

himself by seeking to vacate the decision under California Civil Procedure

Code § 473. See Kaufman v. Court of Appeal, 31 Cal. 3d 933, 184 Cal. Rptr.

302 ( 1982).

* Because the record contains no evidence on this new issue, the Bank

proffers in the Appendix David Flinn’s declaration explaining his involvement

with Squaw Valley Improvement Corporation.

5 Justice Newsom’s name appears in the 1982 Statement of Domestic

Corporation filed by Squaw Valley only in the prestamped address placed

upon the document by the Secretary of State. Justice Newsom appears as the

addressee of the form simply because the Secretary of State records for 1981

showed Justice Newsom’s office as the “corporate office.” Appendix C.

6

The complex facts underlying petitioners’ original claims

against the Bank are irrelevant to this Court’s decision on the

petitions for certiorari. Those facts raise no federal issues or

questions of constitutional dimension. Suffice it to note that

Kruse’s statement of facts is quite misleading. For an accurate

explanation of the underlying facts, this Court can look to the

summary contained in the opinion of the California Court of

Appeal, attached as Appendix A to Kruse’s Petition for Certior-

ari.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRITS

1. The Judgment Below Is Not Final.

Under 28 U.S.C. Section 1257, Supreme Court review of

state court decisions is available only with respect to “final

judgments or decrees.” This Court has often applied the

precept that a decision reversing a case and remanding it for

further proceedings is “totally wanting in the requisite finality

required to support a writ of error from this court.” Cincinnati

Street Railway Co. v. Snell, 179 U.S. 395, 397 (1900). See also

O'Dell v. Espinoza, 456 U.S. 430 (1982); Gospel Army v. Los

Angeles, 331 U.S. 543 (1947). Here the Court of Appeal

reversed the judgment, and that had the effect of remanding the

case to the trial court for further judicial proceedings.* Accord-

ingly, petitioners are not seeking review of a “final” judgment

or decree.

Petitioneis may argue that this Court has granted certiorari

to review interlocutory decisions. Those grants, however,

* Pending before the trial court is the Bank's motion for immediate entry

of judgment, or alternatively for summary judgment. The trial court's

disposition of those motions will likely give rise to further proceedings in

either the trial or appellate court in California.

7

represent the exception, not the rule. For review of an

interlocutory decision, the case must fall under one of the four

exceptions to the finality requirement articulated in Cox Broad-

casting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975).

The petitioners do not even address the finality issue, much

less assert any of the Cohn exceptions. Both Kruse and the

Jewells, however, suggested to the trial court that the fourth

Cohn exception applies to their situation.’ That fourth ex-

ception permits interlocutory review when, among other things,

(1) “reversal of the state court on the federal issue would be

preclusive of any further litigation on the relevant cause of

action” and (2) failure to consider the state court decision

immediately “might seriously erode federal policy.” Cox Broad-

casting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. at 482-483. Petitioners cannot

establish either prerequisite.

Resolution of the questions presented here will not pre-

clude further litigation. Disqualifying the justices who decided

the instant case would only have the effect of remanding the

case back to the California appellate courts. Moreover, imme-

diate resolution is not required to prevent erosion of federal

policy. As this Court stated in Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619, 622

(1981), in applying the fourth exception, it is important that

the “exception [should not] swallow the rule.” This case gave

rise tO no state court opinion at all interpreting federal law

which will seriously erode federal policy, much less to such a

decision requiring immediate consideration by this Court. Not

falling under the fourth or any other CoAn exception, petition-

ers’ requests for review should be denied.

2. Petitioners Did Not Raise The Questions Presented In

The State Court Proceedings.

Petitioners cannot satisfy the requirement that a substantial

federal question must have been properly raised in the state

court proceeding. See, e.g., Webb v. Webb, 451 U.S. 493, 494-

7 Petitioners obtained a stay of proceedings in the trial court to pursue

their petitions for certiorari. The Bank opposed the stay on the ground that

this Court was not likely to issue a writ of certiorari because of lack of finality

of the decision below. Petitioners filed a reply in which they suggested that

the fourth Cohn exception applied.

8

498 (1981); Hill v. California, 401 U.S. 797, 805-806 (1971);

Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 439 (1969). The Jewells’

Petition for Certiorari in this Court raises for the first time a due

process issue under the Fourteenth Amendment. Never during

the state court proceedings did the Jewells frame a federal

constitutional question. The Jewell’s Petition for Review in the

California Supreme Court stated the question only as follows:

“Should a decision in a landmark lender liability case be

allowed to stand when the decision was wrongly decided by

two justices who should have disqualified themselves?” Appen-

dix D. As this Court has found, “[a]ll questions of judicial

qualification may not involve constitutional validity.” Tumey v.

Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 523 (1927). See also Aetna Life Insurance

Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813, 821 (1986).

In the court below, the Jewells did not brief or address.the

due process implications of the alleged disqualification issue.

Their failure to do so waived their constitutional claim. Cham-

bers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 290-291 n.3 (1973); Beck v.

Washington, 369 U.S. 541, 553, reh’g denied, 370 U.S. 965

(1962). Having failed to raise the constitutional issue before

the California Supreme Court, the Jewells cannot now seek

redress in this Court for any alleged due process violation.®

Likewise, Kruse’s petition for certiorari raises an issue not

presented in the state court proceedings: the alleged (but

mistaken) “newly discovered” lawyer/client relationship be-

tween Justice Newsom and the Bank’s trial counsel. Neither

the California Court of Appeal nor the California Supreme

Court had an opportunity to consider (much less resolve) the

essential factual predicate of the question presented, and so this

Court should not review the issue. See Adickes v. S. H. Kress

and Co., 398 U.S. 144, 158 n.16 (1970); Killian v. United

8 The Jewells did not overcome this jurisdictional impediment by citing

United States Supreme Court cases to the California Supreme Court on the

disqualification issue. Such citations do not satisfy the jurisdictional require-

ment. See Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U.S. 441, 442-43 (1935); Board of

Directors of Rotary International v. Rotary Club of Duarte, 481 U.S. 537, 107

S.Ct. Rptr. 1940, 1948 n.9 (1987). Neither do passing references to

“constitutional dimensions” w.ihout actually briefing the constitutional point.

See Oxley Stave Co. v. Butler County, 166 U.S. 648 (1897); Webb’s Fabulous

Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 159 2.5 (1980).

a

9

States, 368 U.S. 231, 243 (1961), reh’g denied, 368 U.S. 979

(1962).

3. The Case Does Not Present Important Questions of Law.

Kruse asserts that the case presents a question of first

impression: the degree or kind of interest on the part of a judge

which violates due process. The mere lack of a Supreme Court

ruling on a question has never been recognized as a basis for

the grant of certiorari. More importantly, Kruse’s character-

ization of the questions presented as an issue of first impression

is misleading.

As the Jewells recognize in their petition, on more than one

occasion this Court has explained the relationship between the

due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment and judicial

disqualification. In Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 523 (1927),

for example, this Court stated:

All questions of judicial qualification may not involve

constitutional validity. Thus matters of kinship, per-

sonal bias, state policy, remoteness of interest, would

seem generally to be matters merely of legislative

discretion. [citation omitted] But it certainly violates

the Fourteenth Amendment, . . . to subject [a per-

son’s] liberty or property to the judgment of a court

the judge of which has a direct, personal, substantial,

pecuniary interest in reaching a conclusion against

him in his case.

And more recently in Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475

U.S. 813, 822 (1985), this Court, reaffirming settled principles,

explained that:

{[W]hat degree or kind of interest is sufficient to

disqualify a judge from sitting ‘cannot be defined with

precision.” [citation omitted.] Nonetheless, a reason-

able formulation of the issue is whether the ‘situation

is one which would offer a possible temptation to the

average .. . judge to. . . lead him not to hold the

balance nice, clear and true.’ [citation omitted }.

Kruse also contends that the court should decide the issue

of the effect of disqualification of a single appellate justice when

10

the decision is rendered by a three judge panel. Whether or not

this issue is one of first impression, this case is an inappropriate

vehicle to review it because Kruse’s claims of prejudice are

predicated upon unsettled facts never raised below.

4. The Lower Court’s Decision Does Not Conflict With

Decisions Of This Court.

The Jewells, unlike Kruse, acknowledge that this Court has

set forth the due process standards requiring judicial dis-

qualification. They merely claim that the Court of Appeal did

not follow those standards when it refused to disqualify Justices

Newsom and Racanelli.

The refusal of Justices Newsom and Racanelli to recuse

themselves comports with decisions of this Court. Recently this

Court rejected the view that “the slightest pecuniary interest”

constitutes a violation of the Due Process Clause. Aetna Life

Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. at 825-826 n.3. Instead, the

Court held that recusal is required where there is “a direct,

personal, substantial, pecuniary interest.” Applying that prin-

ciple leads to the inevitable conclusion that Justices Racanelli

and Newsom did not violate the due process clause by refusing

to disqualify themselves. Justice Racanelli has never owned

any Bank stock and Justice Newsom’s small creditline does not

constitute “a substantial pecuniary interest” so as to cause the

judge “not to hold the balance, nice, clear and true.” Aetna Life

Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. at 822.

The Jewells suggest that the affidavits they filed question-

ing the justices’ qualifications should suffice for recusal regard-

less of their truthfulness. Contrary to the Jewells’ assertion,

Liljeberg v. Health Services Acquisition Corp., ___. US.

108 S.Ct. 2194 ( 1988), does not support such a conclusion. In

Liljeberg the trial judge in fact had a disqualifying interest in

the litigation. Liljeberg, 108 S.Ct. at 2196, 2203. The rule

suggested by the Jewells would result in a clear abuse. Every

losing appellant could disqualify appellate justices and vacate

® Liljeberg is also distinguishable in that it involved interpretation of 28

U.S.C. § 455 and not the due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

11

an adverse decision by simply filing affidavits questioning the

justices’ qualifications. Under the rule proposed by the Jewells,

the justices would have to recuse themselves regardless of the

truthfulness of the allegation. Certainly the Court in Liljeberg

did not intend to create such an artifice.

5. The Lower Court’s Decision Neither Interprets Nor

Applies Federal Law On Judicial Disqualification.

Both Kruse and Jewells seek certiorari because the Justices,

in refusing to recuse themselves, relied on the California

Supreme Court decision in Kaufman v. Court of Appeal, 31 Cal.

3d 933, 184 Cal. Rptr. 302 (1982), which, according to

petitioners, wrongly interpreted federal law. Kaufman rejected

the claim that a California appellate justice cannot decide the

issue of his own disqualification. Instead, Kaufman held that

an appellate justice in California should decide individually

whether the facts require recusal, and that the higher court only

determines whether bias rendered the appellate proceeding

unfair.

Contrary to petitioners’ position, Kaufman neither inter-

prets nor applies federal law; instead, it establishes the Califor-

nia rule (which the court mentioned was comparable to the

federal rule). This Court does not grant certiorari to review

questions of state law. See Agins v. City of Tibuoan, 447 U.S.

255, 260-261 n.6 (1980); Paterson v. Colorado ex rel. Attorney

General, 205 U.S. 454, 461 (1907).

Petitioners suggest that the Kaufman rule violates due

process, but the federal practice is fully consistent with Kauf-

man. Faced with a motion for recusal federal appellate judges

individually decide whether disqualification is required. In

Jewell Ridge Coal Corp. v. Local No. 6167, United Mine

Workers of America, 325 U.S. 897 (1944), Justice Jackson

stated that it is “the responsibility of each Justice to determine

for himself the propriety of withdrawing in any particular

circumstances.” Justice Jackson noted that the majority of the

Court lacked the power to exclude any of its duly commissioned

Justices from sitting or voting in any case. Almost thirty years

later Justice Rehnquist, when faced with a motion for dis-

qualification, individually decided the disqualification issue.

12

See Laird v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824 (1972). In refusing to recuse

himself, Justice Rehnquist considered and weighed facts within

his own knowledge. Challenged for disqualification, federal

circuit judges follow the same procedure. See, ¢.g., MacNeil

Bros. Co. v. Cohen, 264 F.2d 186, t89 (Ist Cir. 1959); Martin-

Trigona v. Gouletas, 634 F.2d 354, 355 n.1 (7th Cir.) cert.

denied, 449 U.S. 1025 (1980).

Petitioners misleadingly rely on cases like Berger v. United

States, 255 U.S. 22 (1921), United States v. Sibla, 624 F.2d

864 (9th Cir. 1980) and United States v. Gigax, 605 F.2d 507

(10th Cir. 1979) for the proposition that a judge challenged for

bias can only decide the legal sufficiency of the affidavit and not

the truthfulness of the allegations. Those cases, however,

involved a unique statutory procedure applicable only to trial

judges. Under both federal and California law trial judges pass

only upon the sufficiency of the affidavit. If the affidavit is

sufficient, the judge must refer the matter to another judge for

determination of the merits. See 28 US. C. § 144; Cal. Civil

Proc. Code § 170.3.

6. Alleged Error In The Lower Court’s Decision Does Not

Justify Review By This Court.

The Jewells suggest error in the decision below without

specifying the nature of the error. Jewell’s Petition pp. 15-16.

Kruse argues that the Court of Appeal erred by failing to

review the case in light of the actual legal theories upon which

she relied. Kruse’s Petition at pp. 13, 17. Kruse’s claim boils

down to arguing that the court simply misinterpreted her

position. While undoubtedly such a sentiment is shared by

most unsuccessful appellants, it certainly does not justify review

by this Court. As the Justices of this Court have explained:

The Supreme Court is not, and never has been, pri-

marily concerned with the correction of errors in lower

court decisions .. . . The function of the Supreme Court

is, therefore, to resolve conflicts of opinion on federal

questions that have arisen among lower courts, to pass

upon questions of wide import under the Constitution,

laws, and treaties of the United States, and to exercise

13

supervisory power over lower federal courts. If we

took every case in which an interesting legal question is

raised, or our prima facie impression is that the deci-

sion below is erroneous, we could not fulfill the Con-

stitutional and statutory responsibilities placed upon

the Court.

R. Stern, E. Grossman and S. Shapiro, Supreme Court Practice

§ 4.1, at 190-191 (6th ed. 1986), citing Address of Chief Justice

Vinson before American Bar Association, September 7, 1949.

See also Ross v. Moffitt, 417 U.S. 600, 616-17 (1974). Petition-

ers’ belief that the court below erroneously applied state law is

not a proper ground for certiorari.

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, petitioners’ requests for

certiorari should be denied.

DATED: December 22, 1988

Respectfully submitted,

WARREN CHRISTOPHER

BERTRAND M. Cooper

KarREN R. GROWDON

CARMEN R. LUEGE

O”’MELVENY & Myers

Davin B. FLINN

LELAND, PARACHINI,

STEINBERG, FLINN,

MatTzGer & MELNICK

By Warren Christopher

Attorneys for Respondent

00

i

APPENDIX

Plaintiff-Respondent and Cross-Appellant

Irene O’Connell Kruse’s Amendment to

Request That The Justices of Division One

Grant Rehearing and Recuse Themselves,

And Memorandum of Points and Authorities

in Support of Request sindibsaiphaniaabieahinenetiones

Declaration of John T. Racanelli Addressed

To California Supreme Court ....................0..00+.

Affidavit of David B. Flinn......................000000...

Petition for Review of Decision of the Court

a Appeal, First Appellate District, Division

cisnssthasincenntinntatineiatedusititieninonnmmsiibatsimenaiiges

PAGE

24

APPENDIX A

Civil No. A033064/A039161

COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

IRENE O"CONNELL KRUSE

Plaintiff, Respondent, and Cross-Appellant,

v.

BANK OF AMERICA NATIONAL TRUST AND

SAVINGS ASSOCIATION,

Defendant, Appellant, and Cross-Respondent.

Appeal from the Judgments of the

Superior Court of the State of California

County of Sonoma

Honorable Laurence K. Sawyer, Judge

PLAINTIFF-RESPONDENT AND CROSS-APPELLANT

IRENE O’CONNELL KRUSE’S AMENDMENT TO

REQUEST THAT THE JUSTICES OF DIVISION ONE

GRANT REHEARING AND RECUSE THEMSELVES,

AND MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND

AUTHORITIES IN SUPPORT OF REQUEST

LuKENS, Cooper, Perry & DaumMOND Frepericx E. WATSON

WituiaM M. LUKENS A Professional Corporation

Caro. G. Perry Frepericx E. WATSON

MARTHA ROSENBERG L111 Civic Drive, Suite 300

The Alcoa Building Suite 1200 Walnut Creek, California 94596

One Maritime Plaza Telephone: (415) 947-0393

San Francisco, California 94111

Telephone: (415) 433-2261

Kuourie & Crew

EUGENE Crew

MICHAEL N. KHOURIE

101 California, Suite 1500

San Francisco, California 94111

Attorneys for Plaintiff, Respondent

and Cross-Appellant Irene O’Connell Kruse

2

C. The Relationship and Long Acquaintance Between the

Members of the Court, and Counsel for the Bank, is a

Factor to Be Considered on the Issue of Impartiality:

Martindale-Hubbell discloses that Mr. Warren Christ-

opher, a senior partner of O'Melveny & Myers, who argued the

appeals for the Bank, and former Justice Winslow Christian of

this Court, were law school classmates at Stanford, and mem-

bers of the Law Review, graduating together in 1949. In 1959,

Mr. Christopher became special counsel to Governor Brown,

Sr. From 1964 through 1966, Winslow Christian was the

executive secretary to Governor Brown, Sr., and we are in-

formed and believe that in that position Mr. Christian recom-

mended judicial appointments to the Governor, and one of the

appointments made in 1964 by Governor Brown was the

appointment of Justice Racanelli to the Santa Clara County

Superior Court bench.

In 1966, Governor Brown appointed Winslow Christian

and Norman Elkington to the Court of Appeal for the First

Appellate District, and it is perhaps a reasonable inference that

Winslow Christian, as executive secretary, recommended his

own appointment, and the appointment of Justice Elkington. It

thus appears to be a reasonable inference that both Justice

Elkington and Justice Racanelli may have received their

appointments to the Court of Appeal and the Santa Clara

County Superior Court, respectively, as a result of recommen-

dations by Mr. Winslow Christian.

Justice Racanelli was appointed to the Court of Appeal by

Governor Brown, Jr., in 1977, and a year later Justice Newsom

was appointed to the Court of Appeal by Governor Brown, Jr.,

in 1978. We have at this time no information as to whether

former Justice Winslow Christian recommended, or played any

role in the appointment of, Justices Racanelli and Newsom to

the Court of Appeal, but we submit it would not be unreason-

able to assume that former Justice Christian may have played

some part in recommending the appointments of Justices

Racanelli and Newsom to the Court of Appeal, in view of Mr.

Christian's former position as executive secretary to Governor

Brown, Sr. during which time he may have recommended the

appointment of Justice Racanelli to the Superior Court bench in

1964.

3

In 1984, Justice Christian resigned from the bench, and

accepted a position as Director of Litigation in the Office of the

General Counsel of the Bank of America, and has maintained

his offices in the headquarters of the Bank in San Francisco,

since that time. As Director of Litigation of the Bank, Mr.

Christian has been in direct charge of this case and these

appeals, and it was Mr. Christian who undoubtedly selected his

law school classmate Mr. Christopher, and his lawfirm

O”’Melveny and Myers, to act as appellate counsel for the Bank,

in the briefing and argument of these appeals. The selection of

Mr. Christopher makes it necessary for this Court to consider

certain other facts, concerning political and governmental activ-

ity and experience of the members of this Court, and counsel

for the Bank, in order to comply with the principle that “a

judge faced with a potential ground for disqualification ought

to consider how his participation in a given case looks to the

average person on the street.” (United Farm Workers, supra,

170 Cal.App.3d at 104). Those facts to be considered are as

follows:

Mr. Christopher, for many years has been, and still is, very

prominent and influential in Democratic party political circles,

and has held state and federal governmental offices during

Democratic administrations. As previously mentioned, he was

special counsel to Governor Brown, Sr., in 1959. From 1961-

1965, during the Kennedy and Johnson administrations, Mr.

Christopher was legal counsel in the office of the Under-

secretary of State. He was appointed as a United States Deputy

Attorney General in 1967 during the Johnson administration,

and served in that position until 1969, resigning then during the

Republican Nixon administration. Mr. Christopher was ap-

pointed Deputy Secretary of State in 1977, during the Carter

administration, and served until 1981, resigning then during the

Republican Reagan administration.

Mr. Christopher is a member of the board of directors of

First Interstate Bancorp., the parent company of First Interstate

Bank. Mr. Christopher was Vice Chairman of Governor Brown

Sr.’s commission on the Los Angeles Riots, 1965-1966, during

the same time that former Justice Winslow Christian was

executive secretary to Governor Brown, Sr. During the Ken-

4

nedy administration, Mr. Christopher was Chairman of the

United States delegation to the U.S.-Japan Cotton Textile

Negotiations in 1961, and during that same year attended the

Geneva Conference on Cotton Textiles. During the Kennedy-

Johnson administrations, Mr. Christopher was special repre-

sentative of the Secretary of State for Wool Textile meetings, in

London, Rome, Tokyo, during the years 1964-1965. From

1975 to 1977, Mr. Christopher was the chairman of the

American Bar Association standing committee on the federal

judiciary. (The foregoing information appears in the 1987-

1988 edition of “Who’s Who in American Law,” at page 136).

In a reprint of a “Judicial Profile” dated October 6, 1981,

originally published in the Los Angeles Daily Journal, and

based on an interview with Justice Racanelli, it is stated:

“ .. Racanelli’s interest in judicial administration

seems to be only a continuation of his interest in bar

association work and party politics when he was an

attorney. While in practice in Santa Clara County,

Racanelli sat on the County Bar Association’s Board

of Directors and the County’s Democratic Central

Committee.”

Further, in this Court’s consideration of how Justice Raca-

nelli’s participation in these appeals looks to the average person

on the street, we submit that there should be taken into

consideration the comments of an attorney quoted in the same

Judicial Profile, as follows:

“ .. If Racaneili has been politically active in judicial

administration, a few attorneys also claim he has been

political in his decision-making. A deputy attorney

general who handles civil work said he is ‘much more

suspicious of intrusion of political motives in what

( Racanelli) does.’. . .”

Since January of 1981, Justice Racanelli has been the

administrative presiding Justice of the Court of Appeal for the

First Appellate District, charged with overseeing the operation

of the entire appellate court in San Francisco. We submit that

the average person on the street might reasonably conclude that

it is a somewhat remarkable coincidence that Division One was

assigned to handle the appeai in the Sanchez-Corea v. Bank of

5

America, and In Re the Estate of Barberis (i.e. Barberis v. Bank

of America), and Division One was also assigned to handle the

present appeals in Kruse/Jewell v. Bank of America. We

submit the average person on the street might therefore reason-

ably assume that Justice Racanelli, as the administrative pre-

siding Justice for this Court, may have had something to do

with the assignment of those three appeals to Division One.

The Bank of course prevailed om all three of those appeals in

this Court, based upon an opinion by this Division in Sanchez-

Corea that was identical, and a carbon copy, of the decision of

this Division, on the present appeals, in that both Sanchez-

Corea and the present appeals, this Division totally ignored the

rules of appellate review, and did not view the evidence in the

light most favorable to the prevailing party plaintiff that had

recovered judgment against the Bank, and instead viewed the

evidence in the light most favorable to the respondent Bank,

and concluded that the evidence was insufficient to support the

judgments against the Bank, and therefore reversed the judg-

ments. In Sanchez-Corea, where the plaintiff was fortunate

enough to obtain hearing in the Supreme Court, the Supreme

Court applied the usual and proper standard and rules of

appellate review, and in an opinion that presented a day and

night difference and contrast to the opinion of this Division,

held that there was abundant substantial evidence to support

the judgment for fraud perpetrated upon the borrower-

customer plaintiffs, by precisely the same Bank Regional Credit

Office head (Timmerman) using precisely the same modus

operandi as was used against Mrs. Kruse and the Jewells in the

present case.

We submit that the average person on the street, aware of

the foregoing facts, might reasonably assume that in participa-

ting in the decision on the present appeals, Justice Racanelli

may have had difficulty putting completely out of his mind, the

fact that his past very frequent assignments to sit pro tem on the

Supreme Court, which apparently arose from his reputed close

friendship with former Chief Justice Rose Bird, may well have

ended, and that therefore, if Governor Dukakis is elected

president, Mr. Christopher might be influential in obtaining for

Justice Racanelli either appointment to the federal bench, or

appointment to governmental position and post in a Dukakis

administration.

6

We respectfully emphasize again, that the test to be

applied by this Court is not whether in fact there is any such

possibility of such events taking place; rather, the much more

stringent test to be applied is whether the average person on the

street might reasonably think that Justice Racanelli could

consciously or subconsciously be influenced to favor the Bank in

his decision on the present appeals, and public confidence in the

integrity and absolute impartiality of the judiciary demands

disqualification, where the average person on the street might

entertain a reasonable doubt as to impartiality.

In summary, the three Justices comprising the panel that

decided the present appeals, and reversed judgments totalling

approximately $22 million against the Bank of America, were

Justices Racanelli, Elkington and Newsom. Justices Racanelli

and Newsom have in the past announced that they were

disqualified to sit on a Bank of America appeal, because of

stock ownership and loans. Despite this, it appears reasonable

to assume that Justice Racanelli had some hand in the assign-

ment to Division One, of three appeals involving the Bank of

America, in all of which the Bank prevailed. Justices Racanelli

and Elkington received appointments to the Superior Court and

Court of Appeal, respectively, during the time that Mr. Wins-

low Christian was executive secretary to Governor Brown, Sr. .

Mr. Christian was formerly a Justice of this Court, and thus a

fellow Justice of Justice Elkington for 12 years, and Justice

Racanelli for 7 years, and former Justice Christian has been the

Director of Litigation for the Bank of America, handling these

cases and appeals and Mr. Christian presumably selected Mr.

Christopher and the O’Melveny firm, to act as appellate counsel

for the briefing and argument, and Mr. Christopher has such

political influence as to possibly be able to obtain appointments

to the federal bench or positions in the federal government, for

Justices Racanelli and Newsom, and possibly Justice Elkington,

if Governor Dukakis is elected President. Lastly, Justices

Racanelli and Newsom have failed to disqualify themselves or

even to disclose their disqualification, to counsel on these

appeals, and Justice Elkington though aware of the said

disqualification of his fellow Justices, has failed to cause his

colleagues to disclose their disqualification, or to act on his own

initiative, to disclose their disqualification.

7

We submit that the average person on the street, knowing

all of the foregoing facts, would entertain a reasonable doubt of

the ability of Justices Racanelli, Elkington, and Newsom, to be

completely impartial in the decision of these appeals, and that

therefore, to avoid even the appearance of impropriety, as well

as to comply with the Canons of Judicial Ethics governing

disqualification, and to maintain the confidence of the public in

the integrity and impartiality of the judiciary, all three Justices

are disqualified, and must be considered disqualified.

APPENDIX B

First District State of California John T. Racanelii

Division One Court of Appeal Presiding Justice

State Building-Civic Center

San Francisco

June 29, 1988

Chief Justice Malcolm M. Lucas

Associate Justices

Supreme Court, State of California

State Building, Civic Center

San Francisco, Ca 94102

Re: Kruse v. Bank of America, S006208

A Motion to Take Evidence has been filed by Petitioner

Kruse in conjunction with her pending Petition for Review in

the above captioned matter. Said motion is based in part on the

declarations of petitioner’s counsel and two other declarants

relevant to a claim of disqualification based on my alleged

ownership of stock in the Bank of America.

I submit the enclosed declaration and attached exhibits

with reference to said motion for the court’s consideration.

Respectfully,

John T. Racanelli

9

DECLARATION OF JOHN T. RACANELLI

I, John T. Racanelli declare as follows:

1. I participated as a member of the panel of Division

One of the First Appellate District that heard and decided

the appeals in Kruse v. Bank of America.

(A033064/A039161.)

2. The Petition for Review filed by Irene O’Connell

Kruse on June 27, 1988 (S006208) contains allegations

essentially similar to those presented to the Court of

Appeal in her petition for rehearing that I was disqualified

because of an asserted ownership of stock in the Bank of

America.

3. In a companion Motion to Take Evidence, petition-

er Kruse has submitted declarations from William M.

Lukens, Calvin F. Gunn and Dolly Ares attesting that on

April 29, 1986, I stated in open court before an argument

that I owned stock in the Bank of America.

4. I do not now own, nor have I ever owned, any

stock in the Bank of America in any amount whatever. To

my knowledge, no other person or entity holds, or has ever

held, any stock in the Bank of America in my behalf, either

in my name or any other name or designation.

5. My annual Statements of Economic Interests, filed

under oath with the Clerk of the Court, First Appellate

District, accurately reflect that I do not own and have

never owned any Bank of America stock.

6. I have never publicly stated or claimed, either in

open court on April 29, 1986, or at any other time and

place, that I owned stock in the Bank of America.

7. I presently own, and for some time have owned, a

Visa credit card issued in the ordinary course of business

by the Bank of America. Prior to the 1984 repeal and

replacement of Code of Civil Procedure section 170, it was

my usual practice, in proceedings involving the Bank of

America as 4 party, to disclose the debtor-creditor

relationship resulting from my periodic use of the Visa

card. Though I have no independent recollection of

10

statements made in connection with oral argument on

April 29, 1986, it is likely that—consistent with my past

practice— I made a similar disclosure of ownership of a

Bank of America Visa card.

8. I have attached the following certified copies of

court records for the First Appellate District, Division One:

Certified copies of the minutes of April 29, 1986 and April

30, 1986 (Exhibits A and B, respectively) and certified copies

of the computerized docket entries for Johnson v. Daon Corpo-

ration (A0279361 and Alexander v. Alexander (A023629)

(Exhibits C and D, respectively). Those minutes and comput-

erized docket entries reflect the following:

a) There was no oral argument in Johnson v. Daon

Corporation (A027936), the matter for which Gunn attests

he appeared and made an oral argument (Exhs. A, C);

b) No action was taken on April 29, 1986, in

Alexander v. Alexander ( A023629), the matter for which

Ares attests she appeared. However, a written request for

continuance was filed by Ares on April 30, 1986, and

granted by the court that same day (Exhs. B, D).

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true

and correct.

Executed this 29th day of June 1988 in San Francisco,

California.

John T. Racanelli

EXHIBIT A

San Francisco, April 29, 1986

Division One

COURTROOM PROCEEDINGS

The court met in its courtroom at the State Building, 350

McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA at 9:00 a.m. Present:

Racanelli, P.J., Elkington, J.. Newsom, J., P. Keeley, Deputy

Clerk.

A029660 — People v. Deigade. Cause called and argued

by James Kyle Gee for appellant and Gene Kaster for Re-

spondent. Cause ordered submitted.

A027188 — People v. Watkins. Cause called and argued

by Deborah Tuttleman for appellant and Ann K. Jensen for

respondent. Cause ordered submitted.

A026704 — Wright v. Toomajian. Cause called and ar-

gued by Orville L. Wright for appellant and Geoffrey A. Mires

for respondent. Cause ordered submitted.

A025332 — Margaret Inda Smyklo v. Alexander Smykio.

Cause called and argued by Alexander Smyklo, appellant in

pro per and S. Simone Campbell for respondent. Cause

ordered submitted.

A026709 — Frank Barberis v. Bank of America. Cause

called and argued by William M. Lukens for appellant and

Kristan D. Whitten for respondent. Cause ordered submitted.

At this ime Holmdahl, J., joins the bench for the remain-

der of cases argued.

A026551 — People v. Smith. Cause called and argued by

Paul Wolf for appellant and Mark S. Howell for respondent.

Cause ordered submitted.

At this time Racanelli, PJ., leaves the bench for the

remainder of the cases argued.

A030691 — People v. Carpenter, Jr. Cause called and

argued by Catalina Lozano for appellant and Jeff Bryant for

respondent. Cause ordered submitted.

12

A026959 — Sierra Mortgage v. Bi’Anny Corp., Stephen

Lopes et al. Cause called and argued by Wade H. Hover for

appellant Stephen Lopes. Leo M. Cook, attorney for respond-

ent, did not appear. Cause ordered submitted.

Court adjourned in tribute to the late Justice Murray

Draper.

Oral argument having been waived, the following cases are

deemed submitted:

A023402 — Rodrigues et al. v. Lewis et al.

A028446 — People v. Slater.

A028289 — Bouzos et al. v. City of Berkeley et al.

A027936 — Johnson et al. v. Daon Corp. et al.

A030075 — Buckenmeyer v. Parmelee et al.

Court recessed until Wednesday, April 30, 1986 at 9:00

a.m.

Minutes of the First Appellate District, microfilm roll 59;

printed in Advance Sheet No. 15 (June 3, 1986), pp. 70-71.

13

EXHIBIT B

San Francisco, April 30, 1986

Division One

A023629 — Mabel G. Alexander v. Richard E. Alexander.

The request for continuance of oral argument is granted. The

cause heretofore scheduled for hearing on Tuesday, April 29,

1986 at 9:00 a.m. is taken off calendar and rescheduled for

hearing on Tuesday, May 27, 1986 at 9:00 a.m. Racanelli, P.J.

A027435/A033676 — George S. Krusi v. Bear, Stearns &

Co. The request that same panel hear related appeals is denied.

The request to augment the record is treated as a request to

take judicial notice and as such, is granted. Judicial notice will

be taken of the transcript of the hearing held March 7, 1984.

Elkington, Acting, P_J.

A032599 — Thomas E. Flowers etc. v. San Francisco

Residential Rent Stabilization & Arbitration Board; Golden

Gateway Center et al., Real Parties in Interest.

A032602 — John L. Farr, etc. v. San Francisco Residen-

tial Rent Stabilization and Arbitration Board; Stonestown

Properties, Inc. et al. The stipulated motion for consolidation

of the above-entitled appeals is granted for purposes of brief-

ing, oral argument and decision in Division One. Racanelli,

P.J.

A034789 — In re Helmut August Hanken. The petition

for writ of habeas corpus and continuance of bail pending

determination of the proceeding is denied. Racanelli, P.J.

A034794 — Joseph Wilfred Boulet v. Superior Court,

Alameda County; People, First Appellate District. The peti-

tion for writ of prohibition is denied. Racanelli, P_J.

Minutes of the First Appellate District, microfilm roll 59;

printed in Advance Sheet No. 15 (June 3, 1986), pp. 74-75.

14

EXHIBIT C

COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOR THE FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION: 1

Case No. A027936

TITLE

JOHNSEN, ALBERT C., Et Al.

vs.

Daon Corporation, Et Al.

SUPERIOR COURT INFORMATION

County: Santa Clara

Superior Court No.: 483580

Superior Court Judge: H. B. Thompson

Notice of Appeal Date: July 5, 1984

ATTORNEYS—LITIGANTS

Gunn, CaLvIn F.

2345 Yale St.

P.o. Box 60369

Palo Alto, CA 94306

JOHNSEN, ALBERT C., Et Al. Plaintiff- Appellant

Devuimy, GUITY

Mills Bidg., Suite 924

220 Montgomery St.

San Francisco, CA 94104

JOHNSEN, ALBERT C. Plaintiff-Appellant

Carrot, Davip

PO Box 5080

Costa Mesa, CA 92626

Daon Corporation, Etc. Defendant-Respondent

15

DOCKET ENTRIES

July 11, 1984

Supreme Court Order Filed Transferring Case.

July 11, 1984

Notice of Appeal Lodged/ Received.

Fee Paid Attys Gunn and Deyhimy

December 18, 1984

Record On Appeal Filed.

R3

Under 5.1 Ruling

January 2, 1985

Note:

Kelly of Atty Ruben’S Office Called Re: Not Receiving the

Record Due To Incorrect Address of

January 2, 1985

Note:

P.o. Box 5030 When the Correct Address is P.o. Box 5080

January 18, 1985

Filed Letter From:

Richard Ruben Dated 1-2-85 Re His Correct Address.

Atty Screen Has Been Corrected.

January 24, 1985

Apellant’S Appendix and Opening Brief Filed.

2 Volumes of Appendix

March I, 1985

Respondents Brief Filed.

March 15, 1985

Motion Filed.

To Augment Record From Atty David Carroll of Drummy,

Garrett King & Harrison For Resp. daon Corp.

16

March 15, 1985

Previous Entry Continued.

Tet 4-1-85

April 1, 1985

To Court.

Motion To Augment Record. To Martha (From Resp.

Daon Corp. )

April 15, 1985

Case Fully Briefed.

No Arb Received.

May 14, 1985

Order Filed.

Mot. to Augment Record Granted. Record Deemed Aug.

To Include A Tx of Proceed. held 8-9-82 and Exh. n

May 14, 1985

Previous Entry Continued.

To Plifs. and Appell. firs: Amended Complaint Attachd

To Motion To Aug. (Jt)

March 28, 1986

Calendar Notice Sent. Calendar Date:

Tuesday, April 29, 1986 At 9:00 a.m. (N,E,H) Pak

April 9, 1986

Request for Oral Argument Filed By:

Atty Carroll For Rspdt Daon Corp. only If Appits Req.

oral Argument. ( Pak)

April 29, 1986

Argument Waived, Cause Submitted.

Pak

June 26, 1986

Opinion Filed.

judgment of Trial Ct Dismissing the Ist, 2nd, 3rd

And 7th Causes of Appit’s Second Amended Complaint

17

June 26, 1986

Previous Entry Continued.

Is Reversed. The Case Is Remanded To the Trial Ct For

Proceedings Consistent With the Views

June 26, 1986

Previous Entry Continued.

Expressed Herein. (See Dissenting Opinion )

Np (Pak)

August 26, 1986

Remittitur Issued.

Jt

CASE DISPOSITION INFORMATION

Disposition Date: June 26, 1986

Disposition: Reversed & Remanded To Trial Cour

W/ Directions.

Opinion Type: Sign Npub

Disposition Final: (Y = Yes — Blank = No) Y

Notation: Newsom J (A) Elkington Apj (C) Holmdahi (D)

JUDGES PANEL INFORMATION

Judge Name: Newsom, William A. (J)

Role: Authoring

Judge Name: Elkington, Norman (J)

Role: Participa

Voted: Concur

Judge Name: Holmdahl, John (J)

Role: Participa

END OF DOCKET CARD INFORMATION

18

EXHIBIT D

COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOR THE FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION: 1

Case No. A02369

TITLE

ALEXANDER, MABEL G.

vs.

ALEXANDER, RICHARD E.

SUPERIOR COURT INFORMATION

County: San Francisco

Superior Court No.: 723984

Superior Court Judge: L H. Grant

Notice of Appeal Date: July 28, 1983

ATTORNEYS—LITIGANTS

Ares, DOLLY

110 N. Third St.

San Jose, CA 95112

ALEXANDER, RICHARD E. Defendant- Appellant

De Hart, Goria, Deputy

6000 State Building

San Francisco, CA 94102

ALEXANDER, MABEL G. Plaintiff- Respondent

19

DOCKET ENTRIES

August 2, 1983

Notice of Appeal Lodged/ Received.

Fee Paid Atty Ares

August 31, 1984

Record On Appeal Filed.

CIRI ‘

September 28, 1984

Stipulation of Extension of Time Filed To: tt?

Aob To November |, 1984 Granted.

November |, 1984

Stipulation of Extension of Time Filed To: tt+

Aob To December |, 1984 Granted.

November 30, 1984

Appellant’S Opening Brief Filed.

January 2, 1985

Stipulation of Extension of Time Filed To: ++

Rb To March I, 1985 Granted.

March 7, 1985

Respondent Notified Pursuant To Rule 17(B).

April 2, 1985

Respondents Brief Filed.

April 25, 1985

Appellant’S Reply Brief Filed.

April 25, 1985

Case Fully Briefed.

March 28, 1986

Calendar Notice Sent. Calendar Date:

Tuesday, April 29, 1986 At 9:00 a.m. (N, R, E)

Pak

20

Apni 3, 1986

Request For Oral Argument Filed By:

Atty Ares For Appit Richard Alexander. (Pak)

April 30, 1986

Filed Letter From:

Req. continuance of Oral Argument From Dolly Ares

Office, Atty For Appit. ( Pak)

April 30, 1986

Order Filed.

Cont. of Oral Argument Granted. Cont. To Tuesday,

May 27, 1986 At 9:00 a.m. ( Pak)

May 27, 1986

Cause Argued and Submitted.

Jt

August 20, 1986

Opinion Filed. |

The Judgment Is Reversed. Costs Are Awarded To

Appellant. Np ( Pak)

September 30, 1986

Petition For Review In Supreme Court Received.

A.g. Gloria De Hart.

Jt

September 30, 1986

Petition For Review Filed In Supreme Court.

Pak

November 42, 1986 —

Petition For Review Denied In Supreme Court.

Respondent. (N, R, E) (Pak)

November 12, 1986

Remittitur Issued.

Pak

21

CASE DISPOSITION INFORMATION

Disposition Date: August 20, 1986

Disposition: Reversed In Full.

Opinion Type: Sign Npub

Disposition Final: (Y = Yes — Blank = No) Y

Notation: Newsom J (A) Racanelli Pj (C) Elkington J (C)

JUDGES FANEL INFORMATION

Judge Name: Newsom, William A. (J)

Role: Authoring

Judge Name: Racanelli, John T. ( Pj)

Role: Participa

Voted: Concur

Judge Name: Elkington, Norman (J)

Role: Participa

Voted: Concur

22

APPENDIX C

AFFIDAVIT OF DAVID B. FLINN

I, Davip B. FLINN, under penalty of perjury, declare as

follows:

Petitioner IRENE O’CONNELL KRUSE commences her “State-

ment of the Case” of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari with the

statement that the undersigned and his law firm “have long

acted as the attorneys on behalf of the family corporation of

Justice William A. Newsom, who participated on the pane! of

three Justices who reversed Petitioner’s judgment.” That state-

ment is completely untrue. Neither I, nor the law firm of

Leland, Parachini, Steinberg, Flinn, Matzger & Melnick, has

ever represented Justice Newsom.

In May of 1982 Justice Newsom, in an arm’s length

negotiated transfer, sold all of his shares of Squaw Valley

Improvement Corporation to two sisters and a brother. Prior to

the sale, the corporation was represented by Lawrence Silver of

the law firm of Feldman, Waldman & Kline of San Francisco.

Throughout the entire sale transaction Justice Newsom was

represented by Edwin Shiver of San Francisco.

In June of 1982, after the sale, the corporation, then

controlled by Justice Newsom’s sisters and brother, employed

the undersigned and his law firm, Leland, Parachini, Steinberg,

Flinn, Matzger & Melnick, to dissolve the corporation and

distribute the assets amongst the three shareholders, and only

then (after Justice Newsom’s withdrawal), did the undersigned

and his law firm commence representation of the corporation.

( The corporation was liquidated and dissolved. )

The form entitled “Statement by Domestic Stock Corpo-

ration” attached as Exhibit G to the Petition is a standard

California form which is mailed annually by the California

Secretary of State to each corporation. The portion at the top

which reads “Squaw Valley Improvement Corporation, Wil-

liam A. Newsom, Jr., 350 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA

94102” is a prestamped address placed upon the form by the

Secretary of State from the prior year’s filing. Thus, the

inclusion of Justice Newsom upon the form is solely as ad-

23

dressee of the form, since the Secretary of State records from

1981 showed his office as the “corporate office.” The new

shareholders changed the place of business of the corporation

to the office of my law firm, and only the new shareholders

acted as officers and directors. Justice Newsom had no further

involvement with the corporation and thus neither I, nor my

firm, represented the corporation at a time that Justice Newsom

was a shareholder.

Dated: December 19, 1988.

DAVID B. FLINN

David B. Flinn

Sworn to and subscribed before

me this 19th day of December,

1988.

HELEN D. CARLSON

Notary Public

24

APPENDIX D

Ist Civil Nos.

AO 33064, AO 39161

IN THE

Supreme Court of the State of California

(Sonoma County

IRENE O’CONNELL KRUSE,

Court No. 112439)

Plaintiff and Respondent,

GeorGE R. JEWELL

and CHARLES DUCK,

Trustee of the Bankruptcy Estate

of GEORGE M. JEWELL

and Laura E. JEWELL,

Cross-Complainants and

Respondents,

Vv.

BANK OF AMERICA, N.T. & S.A.

Defendant, Cross-Defendant

and Appellant.

PETITION FOR REVIEW

OF DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEAL,

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION ONE

A. Barry CAPPELLO

THomas G. FOLey, Jr.

FRANCES E. KOMOROSKE

LeILta J. NOEL

CAPPELLO & FOLEY

831 State Street,

Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Telephone (805) 564-2444

Attorneys for Cross-Complainants

and Respondents GeorGce R.

JEWELL and CHARLES Duck,

Trustee of the Bankruptcy

Estate of GeorGE M. JEWELL

and Laura E. JEWELL

25

TOPICAL INDEX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Be REET atnrentiennsceusunencncncccccsecnccccssoacese

Il. ISSUE PRESENTED FOR REVIEW...............

Ill. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Be I TTT dncincnccsencnncncsescssscsscsseesees

B. Statement of Facts

OPINION WAS WRONGLY DE-

IV. THE

CIDED BY TWO JUSTICES WHOSE DI-

RECT FINANCIAL TIES TO THE APPEL-

LANT BANK OF AMERICA MANDATED

~~

-

>

The Opinion Refused to Consider

the Existence of the Fiduciary

Relationship Between the Jewells

and the Bank

The Opinion Ignored the Substantial

Evidence of the Long-Term Loan

Commitment and the Bank's

ES SE

The Opinion Ignored Substantial

Evidence and Legal Authority

Which Demonstrated the Jewells’

Reliance Was Justifiable ....................

The Opinion Refused to Consider

the Law or the Facts Which Demon-

strated the Bank’s Acts Were the

Proximate Cause of the Jewells’ In-

The Allegedly Internally Inconsistent

Verdicts Can Be, And Should Have

Been, Reconciled by the Court of

Iai licaiasitechbitheresniatcipsatiteniinensenpenentons

39

39

45

49

50

' Page references have been revised to conform to the pagination of this

Appendix.

26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Adams v. Minor (1898)

Se ie ati aiiiicicnicipmminininensindinninnians 40

Adoption of Alexander S. ( 1988)

44 Cal.3d 857 [245 Cal. Rptr.1] 47

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie ( 1986)

475 U.S. 813 [106 S.Ct. 1580; 89 L.Ed.2d 823] ...... 8,9, 10,42

Allen v. Sundean ( 1982)

137 Cal.App.3d 216 [186 Cal.Rptr. 863] ................ 50

Barbara A. v. John G. (1983)

145 Cal. App.3d 369 [ 193 Cal.Rpir. 422] ................ 46

Barrett v. Bank of America ( 1986)

183 Cal. App.3d 1362 [229 Cal. Rptr. 16] ................ 45,50

Bixler v. First National Bank of

(Ore.App. 1980) 619 P.2d 895 20... cece ceeeeceseeees 47

Brewer v. Simpson (1960)

$3 Cal.2d 567 [2 Cal. Rptr. 609 J oo... eeeeeeceeeeeee 50

Coastland Corp. v. Third National Mortgage Co.

CS Be De iethetnteecccccncccccsesccccese 47

Crystal Springs Trout Co. v.

First State Bank of Froid ( Mont. 1987)

ppg, EEE OR EL Se 47,50

Estate of Sanders ( 1985)

40 Cal.3d 607 [221 Cal. Rptr. 432 J... 45,48

First National Bank in Lenox v. Brown

fo Bi ES & | 5 ee 45

Hobart v. Hobart Estate Co. (1945) ~

| | eee 48

Isthmian Lines, Inc. v. Schirmer

Stevedoring, Co. (1967)

255 Cal.App.2d 607 [63 Cal.Rptr. 458] .................. 46

Kaufman v. Court of Appeal (1982)

31 Cal.3d 933 [184 Cal. Rptr. 302 J... 5,11,42

Khanna v. Microdata Corporation ( 1985 )

170 Cal.App.3d 250 [215 Cal. Rptr. 860] ................ 46

CASES PAGE

K-Line Builders, Inc. v. First Federal

Savings & Loan Ass’n ( Ariz.App. os

6TTP ania A oe 47

Landes Construction Co., Inc. v.

Royal Bank of Canada (9th Cir. 1987)

RE EEE SSL ENS VEE ev TOT OO 47

Liljeberg v. Health Services Acquisition Con

(June 17, 1988) ___ U.S. ____ [88 Daily

es HI actin tcnenccahteccectnncncescctexsseseseses 10,41

Lindsay-Strathmore Irrigation District v.

Superior Court (1920)

I rs ID Bs snccsncscscscsensenssccesecccnssanes 43

Moody v. Shuffleton (1928)

ee I Oe CPOE B ccccscccncccccccceccsceseccssnscceeceees 40

In Re Murchison (1955)

349 U.S. 133 [75 S.Ct. 623; 99 L.Ed. 942] .............. 41,42

National Farmers’ ization v.

i" Bank (10th Cir. 1984)

irate inne titeetentineiersnennnecnececeseansesaseones 47

Public Utilities Commission v. Pollak (1952)

343 US. 451 [72 S.Ct. 813; 96 L.Ed. 1068} ............ 42

Sanchez-Corea v. Bank of America (1985)

38 Cal.3d 892 (215 Cal.Rptr. 679] ...........ecceceseeeees 4,5,47

Seeger v. Odell (1941)

tie bE TL Gtl SS” | 7» | Beene ener 48

Skeels v. Universal C.I.T. Credit Corporation

(38 Cit. 1966) FSS P26 B66 .nccccccccsecrcescscccssesescccesse 48

v. Superior Court (1977)

19 al.3d 182 Rha EE ae 39

Tatum v. Southern Pacific Co. ( 1967)

250 Cal.App.2d 40 [58 Cal.Rptr. 238] .................... 43

Wait v. First Midwest Bank/ Danville (Ill.App. 1986)

FE acrtiiaeidiinastlanseniddddininisinttiannaninctencnses 47

Ward v. Village of Monroeville Ohio ( 1972)

409 U.S. 57 [93 S.Ct. 80; 34 L.Ed.2d 267] .............. 42

28

CASES PAGE

STATUTES

BE GEG. BOBS. BD? ccccecececcsnsnsenttinititbestetsanssnstnmnenssiatmsaneets 41,42

California Code of Judicial Conduct ee 40,41,42

California Code of Judicial Conduct Canon 6.............. 44

California Code of Judicial Conduct Preamble............ 43

California Rule of Court 29( a)(3) 39

California Rule of Court 976( b) .... 33

Government Code section 68081 .... dane 47

Government Code section 82034...... 40

MISCELLANEOUS

ABA Code of Judicial Conduct Canon 3....................... 41

Corbin om Comtracts (1963 ) .........ccccccceeeeeececeeneneeeeeenennne 46

Prosser & Keaton, The Law of Torts

Co 9S 9 eee 50

29

TO THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE OF CALIFOR-

NIA AND THE ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SU-

PREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA:

George R. Jewell and Charles Duck, trustee of the bank-

ruptcy estate of George M. Jewell and Laura E. Jewell, cross-

complainants and respondents (the “Jewells”), respectfully

petition for review following the decision of the Court of

Appeal, First District, Division One ( per Racanelli, PJ.), filed

on May 18, 1988 and modified June 17, 1988.

I

INTRODUCTION

The farm credit crisis of the 1980's, brought about in part

by questionable practices of agricultural lenders, resulted in the

foreclosure of thousands of acres of agricultural land through-

out the country. The reaction by Midwestern farmers included

murders of bankers and suicides, while California farmers

reacted in a more civilized way by resorting to the courts. This

case represents the first of those decisions favorable to farmers

which has worked its way through the California judicial

system.

That journey was abruptly blocked by an appellate court,

two of whose justices have direct, undisclosed financial ties to

the appellant Bank of America, California's largest agricultural

lender. Those ties include the ownership by one justice of Bank

of America stock during the pendency of this appeal, a fact

admitted by him in open court and corroborated by independ-

ent attorneys. It also includes a substantial loan from the Bank

of America to another justice which was obtained during the

pendency of this appeal, a fact substantiated by the justice's

Form 721 Statement of Economic Interests.

The two justices, in disregard of their duty to disqualify

themselves to avoid having their impartiality questioned, re-

fused respondents’ requests to recuse themselves. In the face of

these obvious conflicts, the court instead issued two published

opinions which reversed a multi-million dollar jury verdict

against the Bank of America in a decision being described by

30

the commentators as “extraordinary”, “highly unusual”, and

“very surprising”. The appearance, if not the fact, is unmistak-

able: These justices were not impartial. That appearance was

later confirmed by the comments of the justices and their staff

to the press.

The court’s total disregard of traditional standards of

appellate review was proof in and of itself of its lack of

impartiality. By selectively disregarding evidence, judging

witnesses’ credibility, crediting the Bank’s version of the facts

over those supporting the judgments, and otherwise performing

the functions of the jury, the appellate court stepped far beyond

the bounds of propriety in stretching to reach a decision

extremely favorable to a party to whom it had financial ties.

~ This decision provided an immediate benefit to the Bank of

America in relieving it of a multi-million dollar judgment; more

importantly, it discourages future challenges to the Bank’s

improper practices.

Conduct such as the appellate court’s destroys the public’s

perception of the independence and integrity of the judiciary,

and raises serious questions over its ethics. This Court is

therefore respectfully petitioned to grant review to uphold the

traditionally high ethical standards of the California courts.

II

ISSUE PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

This case presents one issue for review: Should a decision

in a landmark lender liability case be allowed to stand when the

decision was wrongly decided by two justices who should have

disqualified themselves?

Ill

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Procedural History.

The Jewells filed these actions against the Bank in 1981; a

three-month jury trial began on April 22, 1985. During trial it

was discovered the Bank had wilfully suppressed evidence

OO Eee

31

damaging to its case; that evidence was ordered disclosed.

( V.37:3476-87.') After eight days of deliberations, verdicts

were rendered on July 19, 1985. (R.A. 152-53.)

The jury awarded the bankruptcy estate of George and

Betty Jewell $12.75 million in compensatory damages and $19

million in punitive damages. (R.A. 154.) George R. was

awarded $4.5 million in compensatory damages and $1 million

in punitive damages. (R.A. 155.) Special interrogatories

indicated the jury found in favor of the Jewells for actual fraud,

constructive fraud, and bad faith breach based on the denial of

the existence of a contract.2 (R.A. 150-51.)

The Bank moved for judgment notwithstanding the verdict

and new trial; the trial court denied the former, but condi-

tionally granted the latter if the Jewells did not consent to a $15

million reduction in the punitive damage awards. (R.A. 343-

47.) The Jewells consented to the remittitur, the Bank ap-

pealed, and the Jewells cross-appealed. (R.A. 348-50, 351-59,

360-67.)

On May 18, 1988, the Court of Appeal filed its initial

opinion, certified for publication, which overturned the Jewells’

judgments. That opinion ignored virtually all rules of appeilate

review and was seemingly motivated by a desire to reach a

decision favorable to the Bank. The linchpin to the Jewells’

case, their fiduciary relationship with the Bank, was totally

disregarded, as was the substantial evidence supporting the

jury’s findings that the Bank had committed three separate torts

in ten distinct instances over a four-year period. In response to

these and many other factual and legal errors, the Jewells filed

a petition for rehearing on June 2, 1988.

On June 11, 1988, the Jewells for the first time learned

from counsel for respondent Mrs. Kruse that Presiding Justice

Racanelli had stated on April 29, 1986 at oral argument of an

' Excerpts from the reporter's transcript are cited by volume and page

number, “R.A.” is respondent’s appendix.

2 The basis for these findings was a series of acts by the Bank over a four--

year period which constituted actual and constructive fraud in 1976; actual

and constructive fraud in 1977; actual fraud, constructive fraud, and bad faith

breach of contract ia 1978-79; and actual fraud, constructive fraud, and bad

faith breach of contract in 1980.

32

unrelated Bank of America case that he owned stock in the

Bank of America. (Ex. A. at p.2.) It was also then learned that

Justice Newsom had paid off or otherwise discharged loans to

the Bank of America and then negotiated for and obtained a

new custom line of credit from the Bank in excess of $10,000 in

1987 while this appeal was pending. (Jd. at pp. 8, 11, 14, 17.)

An investigation was begun, and a request made that the two

justices disqualify themselves and grant rehearing if Mr. Lu-

kens’ allegations were true.

The response of the justices, their staff attorneys, and the

Bank to these serious charges of impropriety was highly

troubling. In the media, Justice Racanelli enigmatically stated

to The Recorder in an article published June 15, 1988 that he

had “no reportable stocks or bonds” in the Bank of America,

implying he owned some interest. (Ex. B.) Justice Newsom

declined all comment. ( Jbid.)

The court’s attorneys did comment; one stated that Justice

Racanelli “has never owned Bank of America stock,” and

claimed that “Mr. Lukens misunderstood what was said or

misrecollected” the events of April, 1986. (Jbid.) However,

two independent attorneys present at the April, 1986 oral

argument have corroborated Mr. Lukens’ statement that the

two justices did in fact admit to their financial ties to the Bank

of America. (Exs. C and D.)

The principal court attorney for the First District was

quoted in The Recorder article as stating that Justice Racanelli

did not learn that this appeal was assigned to his panei until

February, 1987, and that:

“If he owned stock, he obviously would have dis-

qualified himself. Judges recuse themselves for the

slightest of reasons. Even the appearance of impro-

priety. I am sure there was none of that here.” ( Ex.

B.)

That is not true; as the docket sheet from Division One,

District One indicates, this case was before this panel on

October 24, 1985. (Ex. E.) One December 4, 1985, this panel

sent Mr. Lukens a notice regarding his filing fee (Ex. F), and

on July 22, 1986, Justice Racanelli himself granted the Bank of

America an extension to file its opening brief. (Ex. G.)

33

The day after The Recorder article, the requests for

disqualification were denied along with the petitions for rehear-

ing. A new, modified opinion with over 100 changes was

issued; it was also certified for publication despite the fact that

it, like the prior opinion, failed to meet the requirements of

California Rule of Court 976(b). (App. A.)

B. Statement of Facts

The Jewells jointly owned and operated a highly successful

business in Sebastopol which grew, brokered, transported, and

packed apples. (R.A. 419, 891; V.25:4202.) The Jewells had -

been customers of the Bank of America since the late 1930s,

and they developed a close friendship with Bill Sullivan, the

local branch manager. (V.9:1911, V.10:2250-34, V.24:4166,

4200-lb. )

The Jewells were unsophisticated in financial matters and

relied extensively on Sullivan for advice and guidance in that

area. (V.10:2250-88, V.24:4200-lb, 4200-2, 4200-5.) The

Jewells believed Sullivan to be the Bank of America, and

whatever he told them, they “banked on.” (V.11:2335,

V.24:4200-4, 4200-5, V.25:4211, 4216.)

The Bank first exploited this fiduciary relationship in 1976

when it induced the Jewells to borrow $150,000 from the Bank

to save the James E. O’Connell Company (“O’Connell”) from

an impending foreclosure sale which would have exhausted the

Bank’s security for its loans to O’Connell. (R.A. 556, 565;

V.16:3154-56, V.25:4217-18, 4225.) Sullivan failed to disclose

to the Jewells the severe financial problems O’Connell was

facing and the fact the Bank would not loan any more money to

it. (R.A. 542; V.11:2283, 2290-92, V.15:2987-88, V.25:4218.)

This intentional concealment was documented by an internal

memo by Sullivan. (R.A. 824.)

3 These facts are necessarily severely abridged because of space limita-

tions; a more detailed rendition is located in the Jewells’ Respondents’ Brief

filed April 3, 1987.

Gd

Months later O’Connell faced another financial crisis and

the Jewells loaned it another $114,000 which they borrowed

from the Bank, still operating under the assumption that

Sullivan would advise them if they should not do so. (R.A.

504-13; V.25:4237-39, V.26:4440-41.) The two loans caused a

severe strain to the Jewells’ working capital, a fact reflected in

internal Bank documents which questioned the Jewells’ ability

to repay the Bank. (R.A. 548-55, 557, 565; V.11:2315-19,

2323, V.25:4232-34.)

Despite this knowledge, Sullivan’s superiors at the Bank

decided to induce the Jewells to borrow from the Bank to pay

off O’Connell’s delinquent loans to the Bank, a fact documented

in its internal memos. (R.A. 565, 573.) When George

questioned why the Bank wanted him to pay off O’Connell’s

delinquent loans, Sullivan said his superiors at Regional Credit

Administration (“Regional”) had asked that George do this,

but that if any problems arose because of it, the Bank would

work with the Jewells to solve them. (V.12:2541; V.25:4235-

37.)

The promised assistance included a long-term loan to

consolidate the Jewells’ short-term debt; the Jewells promised

not to encumber their ranch so it would be available as security

for that loan. ( V.10:2069-70, V.11:2376, V.12:2426, V.13:2641-

44, V.25:4236-37, 4277-79, V.26:4346.) The Jewells believed

that by doing as their friend Sullivan asked, Sullivan was

committing to help them; based on this belief, the Jewells

borrowed $150,000 from the Bank and gave it to the Bank to

pay off O’Connell’s delinquent loans. (R.A. 577, 578;

V.11:2372-76; V.25:4236-37. )

The Jewells’ financial condition quickly degenerated as a

result of their “favor” to Sullivan, a fact reflected in the Bank’s

documents. (R.A. 573, 658, 891.) The burden imposed by

their large loans to O’Connell prevented them from paying

back from their own operations the funds they had borrowed

from the Bank for O’Connell. (V.11:2350-51; V.25:4235-37;

V.33:5805-07, 5812-13.) This set in motion a spiral of debt

which forced the Jewells to borrow more funds from the Bank

for O’Connell in the futile hope O’Connell could thereby

recover and repay the Jewells. (V.12:2446, V.25:4242-43,

4250, V.26:4454.)

LEE FN TTT ES LT

35

When it became necessary to construct a new dehydrator

for the O’Connell plant, Sullivan agreed to make a $1 million

long-term loan to be secured by the new plant. (R.A. 659;

V.25:4250-52, V.26:4346.) This agreement was evidenced by

Betty’s notes from a meeting with Sullivan, which were found in

his files. (R.A. 659; V.25:4250-52, V.37:6581-82.) As a result

of discussions with Sullivan at this meeting, the Jewells believed

the Bank would make a long-term loan on the O’Connell plant

or, if necessary, the Bank would make a long-term loan directly

to the Jewells secured by their ranch. (V.12:2508-10,

V:25:4250-52, 4277-79, V.26:4346. )

Sullivan later informed George that the Bank would not

fund the O’Connell project if Dan O’Connell managed it.

(V.25:4248-49, 4253-54; V.26:4370-71.) George refused to

remove Dan O’Connell from his own family’s business and

instead went to the Bank’s main competitor, the Production

Credit Association (“PCA”), for financing. (V.25:4254.)

Sullivan soon lured the Jewells back with statements that

Regional regretted its refusal to loan them the funds.

(V.25:4258, V.26:4391.)

Regional was actually motivated by its concern that the

PCA might get a security interest in the Jewell’s ranch, but to

the Jewells, Sullivan’s statements meant the Bank would fund

the O’Connell plant. (R.A. 599; V.10:2069-70, V.12:2474-75,

V.25:4259.) The Bank made a $209,000 equipment loan to the

Jewells for that plant; in exchange it asked the Jewells for deeds

of trust on their property. (R.A. 606-17; V.12:2480-81,

V.25:4259.) The Jewells resisted encumbering their own prop-

erty for O’Connell since they “did not owe the industry that

much.” ( V.25:4259-60. )

The fact that the Bank made an equipment loan on a

project indicated to the Bank’s assistant manager that the Bank

would make a long-term loan on that project. (R.A. 606-17;

V.20:3600-09, 3600-10.) A Bank vice-president also testified it

would be unusual for the Bank to make an equipment loan for

a project without providing a long-term loan. ( V.23:2977-78.)

In addition, it was standard Bank practice to loan funds for

major construction projects only after permanent financing had

been arranged. (V.21:3641, 3701, V.23:3959-60, 4047,

36

V.30:5141.) The Bank knew that the funds it was advancing the

Jewells were being used for O’Connell; this also implied the

long-term loan was forthcoming. (R.A. 644-46, 655-56, 712-

30, V.23:4049-50/lb, V.34:5864-66, 5878-79. )

Sullivan’s practice of advancing construction funds on the

basis of oral assurances that long-term loans would eventually

be approved was repeated by him on at least two other

projects: The $17.7 million Sebastopol Cooperative Cannery

(“Co-op”) and the $900,000 “Fresh Pack” plant which George

R. built for packing and storing high quality apples. (R.A. 461,

862-71; V.7:1423, V.9:1990, V.13:2741, V.19:3303-07,

V.32:5553, V.25:4265.) This was an unorthodox way of financ-

ing major construction projects, yet Sullivan routinely followed

it and even advanced sums which exceeded his lending limit.

(R.A. 634-43, 647, 862-71; V.13:2754-56, V.14:2777, 2782-86,

V.20:3600/9-10, V.22:3858.) The Co-op and Fresh Pack plants

eventually got the long-term loans promised by Sullivan.

( V.9:1964-65, V.32:5553.)

As the O’Connell project advanced, various representatives

of the Bank repeatedly visited the site and offered nothing but

encouragement to the Jewells. (R.A. 454; V.32:5526-27.)

Sullivan’s support was unflagging, and his superior Norm

Jensen also expressed his enthusiasm to the Jewells. ( V.9:1985-

88, V.12:2526-28, V.23:4051/14, V.25:4248, 4263, .4265, 4281-

83, V.26:4455-56, 4500/7, V.32:5519, 5525-27, V.36:6418-19. )

No one from the Bank ever said or did anything which

discouraged the Jewells from going forward with the project or

which indicated that the long-term loan might not be approved.

(V.4263, 4265-66). As a result, the Jewells believed that

“further up in the Bank everything was in accord.” ( V.25:4282-

83, V.26:4500/7.)

This belief was not unreasonable; the Bank’s own policy

manual prohibited “entering into detailed discussions or nego-

tiations with customers regarding complex, controversial, or

unusual transactions” without prior approval by Regional.

(R.A. 887.) The manual also directed the Bank’s employees to

“[e]xercise care in such discussions to ensure that the customer

does not interpret the discussions as a commitment.” ( [bid. )

ore "

37

Internal Bank documents evidenced the Bank’s intent to

make the loan, as well as the fact the Jewells were relying on

the loan to help them repay the debt they were incurring on the

O’Connell project. (R.A. 437, 454, 631, 644, 645, 648-49, 813;

V.9:1987-88, V.10:2250/27, V.12:2511-12, 2527). Other docu-

ments indicate Regional knew Sullivan was advancing large

sums to the Jewells for the O’Connell project and that these

could only have been repaid with a long-term loan. (R.A. 404-

05, 589-91, 606-17, 631, 632-33, V.9:1797, V.23:3989. )

Despite this knowledge, the long-term loan was denied on

the pretense the O’Connell plant was “special purpose” and the

Bank loaned funds only for multi-purpose buildings. (R.A.

424; V.22:3773, 13878-79.) The plant was in fact multi-

purpose; in addition, the Jewells’ Fresh Pack plant, which did

obtain a long-term loan, was a special-purpose building. (R.A.

424, 663; V.9:1791, V.22:3878-79. )

Sullivan argued these points to Regional in an impassioned

memo, criticizing the Bank for disregarding its own policies and

for failing to tell him it would not approve the O’Connell loan.

(R.A. 438-40, 652-54; V.13:2656-57.) Unable to change Regio-

nal’s mind, Sullivan abruptly and permanently left the Bank.

(R.A. 677-78; V.13:2615-16, 2656-57, 2660. )

Sullivan was replaced as branch manager by Roger

“Rocky” Bunch, whose self-proclaimed mission from his first

day in Sebastopol was to get deeds of trust on the Jewells’

ranch. (V.17:3171/90-92, 3171/95-96, 3171/99, V.30:5255,

V.45:8056-57.) From that day on, Bunch resorted to every

conceivable means to entice, persuade, humiliate, or frighten

the Jewells into turning the deeds over to him. (V.26:4330,

V.30:5 193-94, V.30:5248-50, V.37:6589-90.) Bunch’s “job and

duty to the Bank [was] to try to get deeds of trust from any

source I can if I possibly can” since “anything that George

controlled, it would be [my] job to try to get that for the bank.”

( V.18:3300/ 10. )

On October 30, 1979, an application for a $1.9 million

long-term loan for the O’Connell plant was submitted which

specified all the terms and conditions of the long-term loan

Sullivan had been promising the Jewells; these included a 20-

year term, 12 percent interest, and the O’Connell plant as

38

security. (R.A. 669-75.) The application also noted that the

Jewells had borrowed $1.3 million from the Bank to construct

the plant in reliance on the fact the Bank would finance it.

(R.A. 673.) No one from the Bank would take responsibility

for the application. (V.17:3171/55-56, V.20:3600/19,

V.31:5395-98. )

Bunch’s mission to get the Jewells’ deeds of trust became

an obsession; virtually every time the Jewells met with Bunch,

he asked for them. (R.A. 695; V.17:3171/101, 3171/95-96,

3171/106-107.) The Jewells refused, since Bunch never agreed

to the long-term loan which Sullivan had promised and on

which the Jewells had substantially relied. (V.17:3171/97,

V.25:4294, V.26:4336.) The Jewells were, however, fully pre-

pared to give the Bank the deeds of trust if it honored its

promise to give them the long-term loan on their own ranch

which they desperately needed, but the Bank did not.

(V.17:3171/136, V.25:4294-95, V.26:4470. )

Bunch’s determination paid off; in the summer of 1980, he

announced to the Jewells the Bank would loan them no more

money, but offered to assist them with a plan to liquidate their

assets under the Bank’s supervision. (V.25:4299, V.30:5248-

50.) The proceeds were to go to the Bank, which would first

pay the 100 apple growers who had sold apples to the Jewells

and who were at that point the Jewells’ greatest concern, then

the PCA, and, lastly, itself. (V.30:5191, 5198-99, 5248.) The

Jewells reluctantly agreed to the plan, after months of threats,

humiliation, and intimidation, which culminated in George's

emotional collapse at a joint Bank-PCA meeting. ( V.26:4326-

27, V.29:4970, V.30:5193-94, V.32:5561, V.37:6589-:90. )

In reliance on Bunch’s assurances of assistance, the Jewells

turned over everything they owned to the Bank. V.26:4328,

4336, V.30:5242, 5250-51, 5264-66, V.32:5562, V.37:6591.)

The Bank kept virtually all the proceeds of the sales of the

Jewells’ properties, as well as their deeds of trust. ( V.26:4332,

V.29:5016, V.30:5262-63, V.31:5339. )

After three years of litigation, thousands of dollars of

attorneys’ fees, and an order from the Bankruptcy Court, the

Bank was forced to return the proceeds and deeds of trust to the

Jewells. (V.29:5014, V.31:5370, V.37:6524-25.) It was undis-

39

puted the Jewells would never have given their deeds of trust if

they had known the Bank would not honor its commitment to

pay their growers and the PCA, a fact the Bank conceded.

( V.26:4334, 4338; V.30:5264-65, V.37:6591-92.)

As soon as the PCA learned the Bank had “double-

crossed” it by taking the Jewells’ deeds of trust, the PCA moved

against the Jewells. (R.A. 457, 803, 805; V.29:5001-5005,

5019-5020, V.34:5997-98.) George told Dan O’Connell, and

the O’Connells filed a lawsuit to prevent the Bank from forcing

the Jewells to foreclose on the O’Connell property. ( V.24:4099;

V.26:4338; V.29:5050-52.) George and Betty then filed a

voluntary bankruptcy petition, their son followed them several

months later and the 100 apple growers are still waiting, eight

years later, to be paid. (R.A. 805; V.30:5123, V.31:5475/19,

V.32:5573.)

IV

THE OPINION WAS WRONGLY DECIDED BY

TWO JUSTICES WHOSE DIRECT FINANCIAL TIES TO

THE APPELLANT BANK OF AMERICA MANDATED

THEY BE DISQUALIFIED

A. Presiding Justice Racanelli Owned Stock in the Bank of

America During the Pendency of this Appeal and Failed to

Disclose It.

California Rule of Court 29(a)(3) mandates review of a

decision of an appellate court “where, because of dis-

qualification or other reason, the decision of the court of appeal

lacks the concurrence of the required majority of qualified

justices.” At least one and perhaps two of the three justices

who issued the opinion should have disqualified themselves

from hearing this appeal. As a result, their decision is

necessarily void, and review should be ordered. (Solberg v.

Superior Court (1977) 19 Cal.3d 182, 190.)

What evidence there is on Justice Racanelli’s stock own-

ership in the Bank of America would lead a reasonable person

to conclude he should have disqualified himself from hearing

Bal

this case. At the same time this appeal was pending before

District One, Division One, Justice Racanelli owned, by his

admission in 1986, some stock in the Bank of America.

Whether Justice Racanelli still owns stock in the Bank has

not been answered satisfactorily; he merely stated on June 15,

1988 he had no reportable interest. (Ex. B.) According to

Government Code section 82034, an interest which is less than

$1,000 need not be reported. Despite this, California Code of

Judicial Conduct Canon 3 requires disqualification if a judge

has amy financial interest in a party. As a result, Justice

Racanelli should have disqualified himself, even if his interest

did not have to be reported on his Form 721.

It is no defense that Justice Racanelli has since disposed of

his Bank of America stock, if that is in fact what occurred.

Almost 100 years ago, this Court decided another case in which

a judge owned stock in a bank which was a party to a lawsuit,

yet believed he was not disqualified because he had disposed of

the stock. (Adams v. Minor (1898) 121 Cal. 372.) This Court

responded:

We do not think that the belief of the judge one way

or the other would change the fact of his dis-

qualification. He might honestly believe and hold that

he was qualified, but that would not qualify him any

more than he could acquire jurisdiction by deciding

that he had it. Nor do we think that removing the

cause of disqualification after the case was submitted

to him for decision would operate to remove the

qualification. The code says if he is interested no

“justice, judge, etc. . . . shall sit or act as such.” This

does not mean that he may hear the evidence in a-case

in which he is interested and may decide it, after

sitting and acting in it, provided he remove the cause

of disqualification before he enters judgment. As we

all know, the decision of questions arising during the

course of the trial often determines the final judgment

itself. The statute must be held to mean what it says,

and it is that he shall not sit or act as judge in an

action in which he is interested. (Jd. at 375; accord.

Moody v. Shuffieton (1928) 203 Cal. 100, 103-05.)

41

Disqualification rules are strictly interpreted; they mandate

disqualification of judges who do not even know of the facts

which create the appearance of impropriety. Less than two

weeks ago, the U.S. Supreme Court decided the landmark

decision of Liljeberg v. Health Services Acquisition Corp. (June

17, 1988) _. U.S. —_. 88 Daily Journal D.A.R. 7756, in

which it vacated a final order by a District Court judge because

of the judge’s possible conflict of interest, even though the judge

was unaware of the conflict.

The Supreme Court based its decision on 28 U‘S.C.

§ 455(a)4; it, like California Code of Judicial Conduct Canon 3,

is based on ABA Code of Judicial Conduct Canon 3. The

statute’s violation is established when “a reasonable person,

knowing all the circumstances, would expect that the judge

would have actual knowledge” of the facts which create the

appearance of partiality; in that situation the judge’s “impar-

tiality might reasonably be questioned.” (Liljeberg, supra at

7759.)

The Supreme Court noted that the purpose of section

455(a) is to “promote public confidence in the integrity of the

judicial process”; it is therefore irrelevant “whether or not the

judge actually knew of facts creating an appearance of impro-

priety, so long as the public might reasonably believe that he or

she knew.” While the risk of injustice to the parties should be

considered, much more significant is “the risk of undermining

the public confidence in the judicial process.” (Jd. at 7760.)

The Court cautioned that it “must continuously [be borne] in

mind that to perform its highest function in the best way ‘justice

must satisfy the appearance of justice.’” (bid., quoting In Re

Murchison (1955) 349 U.S. 133, 136, 75 S.Ct. 623, 625.)

In weighing whether the drastic sanction of vacating a final

order on which the parties have relied should be imposed, the

Supreme Court found that doing so would prevent “a substan-

tive injustice in some future case by encouraging a judge or

litigant to more carefully examine possible grounds for dis-

qualification and to promptly disclose them when discovered.”

(Id. at 7761.) The Court concluded that in all cases, the

* It provides: “Any justice, judge, or magistrate of the United States shall

disqualify himself in any proceeding in which his impartiality might reason-

ably be questioned.”

42

“guiding consideration is that the administration of justice

should reasonably appear to be disinterested as well as be so in

act.” (bid. quoting Public Utilities Commission v. Pollak

(1952) 343 U.S. 451, 466-67, 72 S.Ct. 813, 823; accord, Aetna

Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie (1986) 475 U.S. 813, 823, 106

S.Ct. 1580, 1580.)

California Code of Judicial Conduct Canon 3, like 28

U.S.C. $455(a), requires judges to disqualify themselves in any

proceeding in which “their impartiality might reasonably be

questioned.” Despite this clear mandate and in complete

disregard of the public’s perception of their action, Justices

Racanelli and Newsom refused to disqualify themselves, appar-

ently in reliance on Kaufman v. Court of Appeal (1982) 31

Cal.3d 933, 939-40. (App. A.)

Neither Kaufman nor any other California case, statute,

rule, or canon authorizes that action. Kaufman held that —

California follows the Federal rule in allowing a challenged

justice to decide whether he sould disqualify himself, but that

decision is obviously reviewable by this Court. It is also

reviewable by the U.S. Supreme Court since the issue has

Constitutional dimensions. (Aetna Life Insurance Co. v.

Lavoie, supra at 825, 1587, quoting in Re Murchison (1955)

supra at 136, 625; see also, Ward v. Village of Monroeville Ohio,

(1972) 409 U.S. 57, 60, 93 S.Ct. 80, 83).

Whatever interests Justices Racanelli and Newsom had in

the Bank of America should have been disclosed to allow the

parties and their counsel the choice of proceeding with that

panel. This Court demands no less of itself; those justices who

are shareholders in the Bank of America routinely disqualify

themselves from considering cases involving the Bank of Amer-

ica. (Ex. H).

The same is true of the Federal courts; U.S. District Court

Judge William A. Ingram, who unknowingly and indirectly

owned $80 worth of stock of Intel, but later disposed of it,

recently disqualified himself from deciding the landmark com-

puter copyright case of NEC Corp. v. Intel Corp. (Ex. L.)

However, Judge Ingram did so only after he had earlier refused

to disqualify himself, which prompte a request by NEC to the

43

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeal to intervene; at that point Judge

Ingram disqualified himself and vacated all his rulings in the

case.

Certainly the public deserves no less from Division One,

District One, and especially from its Presiding Justice, the

highest ideals of both personal and official conduct. ( Pre-

amble, California Code of Judicial Conduct.) Public per-

ceptions of justice are hardly furthered when justices who are

reasonably thought to be biased by virtue of financial ties to a

party decide in a case, particularily Case as far-reaching and

significant as this. (Lindsay-Strathmore Irrigation District v.

Superior Court (1920) 182 Cal. 315, 334; Tatum v. Southern

Pacific Co. (1967) 250 Cal. App.2d 40, 42.)

B. Justice Newsom Negotiated and Obtained a Substantial

New Loan from the Bank of America While this Appeal

Was Pending.

It appears from Justice Newsom’s Form 721 that he had a

car loan from the Bank of America during 1985 and two other

small unsecured loans from the Bank in 1986 and 1987 which

were each paid off in those years. (Ex. A at pp. 8, 11, 14.)

Justice Newsom apparently thereafter negotiated and obtained,

sometime between January and December, 1987, a substantial,

new, unsecured “Customline credit” loan from the Bank in an

amount in excess of $10,000. (Jd at p. 17.) Justice Newsom

held this loan as of February 29, 1988; he heard oral argument

in this case on February 25, 1988. (Jd. at p. 16.)

The Bank claims that its loan to Justice Newsom is

“virtually indistinguishable from a credit card charge account”.

( Bank’s Opposition to Petition for Disqualification, p. 9, fn. 2.)

It is submitted that it could appear to a reasonable person

highly unusual for a person with an income of that of an

associate appellate court justice to have a credit card from the

Bank of America with a limit in excess of $10,000. Whether

such a credit arrangement is in fact “a loan from a lending

‘a 44

institution in its regular course of business on the same terms

generally available to persons who are not judges”, as author-

ized by Canon 5C (4)(b), is a matter which cannot be

determined by virtue of Justice Newsom’s refusal to comment.

However, even if the loan were technically permitted by

Canon 5C (4)(b), its propriety must still be weighed against

the admonition in the Commentary to Canon 5C which states

that judges should “refrain from engaging in business and from

financial activities that might interfere with the impartial per-

formance of their judicial duties.” It must also be weighed

against the paramount concerns of Canon 3C, which requires

judges to disqualify themselves in any proceeding in which their

impartiality might reasonably be questioned. It is submitted that

a reasonable person would find it highly unseemly that a judge

who had the power to decide a major case which substantially

affected the financial interests of a lender was negotiating with

that lender to obtain a large, unsecured loan while the case was

pending before him.

In any event, if Justice Newsom felt his old loans were

significant enough to disclose it at the April, 1986 oral argument

of a minor Bank of America case, then certainly it would have

been more important to disclose his new, increased loan in this

landmark decision. His failure to even mention it in this

proceeding raises serious doubts about his impartiality and

leaves the public with the distinct impression that perhaps

justice is not blind.

C. The Bias of the Court is Evident From The Opinion’s

Intentional Rejection of Established Principles of Appel-

late Review.

The decision in this case was, to say the least, shocking.

Lenders’ counsel and the commentators were as surprised as

the parties and their counsel that an appellate court would

reverse jury verdicts and a new trial order on the basis on an

alleged lack of substantial evidence. William Burke, bank

counsel and authority in lender liability, described the decision

as “highly unusual.” (Ex. J.) Professor Schecter of Loyola

Law School, another authority in the field, described it as “very

surprising” since “the appellate court is in essence saying that

45

no reasonable jury could have come to the conclusion that this

jury came to. This is extraordinary.”5 ( [bid. )

Reversals based on a lack of substantial evidence are rare;

this is so because of the weii-established rules which presume

the judgment to be correct, prevent reviewing courts from

weighing evidence and re-examining questions of fact, and

require that the evidence and the inferences based thereon be

viewed in the light most favorable to the prevailing party. All

of these rules were completely disregarded, along with both

substantial evidence and legal authority which supported the

verdicts. No rational explanation exists for this result, other

than a lack of impartiality by the court which rendered the

decision.

1. The Opinion Refused to Consider the Existence of

the Fiduciary Relationship Between the Jewells and

the Bank.

The Opinion cavalierly dismissed what was probably the

most central issue in the case: The Bank’s exploitation of its

admitted fiduciary relationship with the Jewells.6¢ (App. A at

17.) Had it not done so, it would have been compelled to find

in favor of the Jewells for three reasons.

First, there is no question that the Bank had a duty to

disclose facts to the Jewells which it failed to disclose and that it

took undue advantage of the Jewells by using them “as tools

with which to alleviate the results of its own prior poor loan

judgment” by paying off O’Connell’s delinquent loans. ( First

National Bank in Lenox v. Brown (lowa 1970) 181 N.W.2d

178, 184.) That shifted the burden of proof to the Bank to

prove its good faith and lack of undue influence, a burden the

Bank never met; it also constituted constructive fraud. (Estate

of Sanders (1985) 40 Cal.3d 607, 616.)

5 Almost as surprising was the modified opinion which omitted some

issues which had been raised sua sponte by the court, changed substantially

the court’s interpretation of the facts, and substituted new legal authority for

old. Despite these concessions that the original opinion was both factually

and legally erroneous, the ultimate decision to reverse remained unchanged.

® The opinion ignored both the facts and the law on fiduciary relation-

ships, including cases such as Barrett v. Bank of America (1986) 183

Cal.App.3d 1362, in which the Bank of America was found liable for acts

strikingly similar to those of this case.

46

Second, the existence of the fiduciary relationship required

the Jewells’ reliance to be measured by a different standard

than that used in the opinion. (Barbara A. v. John G. (1983)

145 Cal. App.3d 369, 382.) As discussed infra, the Jewells met

the correct standard.

Third, since the judgment was based on the three separate

torts of actual fraud, constructive fraud, and bad faith breach, it

had to be affirmed if any one of the three was supported by

substantial evidence and unaffected by error. (Khanna v.

Microdata Corporation (1985) 170 Cal. App.3d 250, 258.) The

constructive fraud claim was fully supported both legally and

factually; thus, the judgments should have been affirmed.

2. The Opinion Ignored the Substantial Evidence of the

Long-Term Loan Commitment and The Bank’s

Breaches.

The opinion claims the parties never got beyond the

negotiating stage, and that therefore no contract ever arose.

(App. at 28-31.) While this issue was never raised at trial and

there was necessarily no evidence on it, what was proven at trial

clearly disproves it.

First, it is only when the evidence clearly shows an agree-

ment is subject to further negotiations that it will not be

enforced on the basis the parties were merely negotiating.

( Corbin on Contracts (1963) $95, pp. 397, 401-02.) There was

no such evidence.

Second, the fact that one party to the agreement begins

performance with the knowledge of the other proves the

contract was consummated. (Jd. at 407.) Here, the Jewells did

everything the Bank asked of them and substantially relied on

the fact the Bank would perform.’

’ For this reason, the Jewells have consistently argued that it will be an

idle act to reverse the judgments since the Jewells can prevail at retrial on the

alternative theories of implied contract and estoppel. ( /sthmian Lines, Inc. v.

Schirmer Stevedoring, Co. (1967) 255 Cal.App.2d 607, 610.) The modified

opinion concedes this point. (App. A at former fn. 14, p.29.)

47

The opinion also claims there was a lack of substantial

evidence of the loan commitment, yet that evidence was

overwhelming. Many recent decisions have upheld oral loan

commitments on evidence much less substantial than this.®

There was thus no basis in the law or the facts for the opinion to

conclude no commitment was made.

Similarly, there was absolutely no basis for the opinion to

find no breach by the Bank of that commitment. The opinion’s

basis for this finding was the Jewells’ alleged refusal to pledge

their ranch as security for a long-term loan. However, the

evidence was undisputed that the Jewells were fully prepared to

do so as soon as the Bank gave them the long-promised, long-

term loan, yet the Bank never did so.

Finally, the opinion includes the incredible statement that

the Bank’s conduct in refusing to return the sales proceeds from

the Jewells’ property, along with their deeds of trust, was not a

breach.'° (App. A at 31-33.) It is beyond comprehension how

a court could state in a published opinion that when a party

® For example, the visits by Sullivan's superiors, the Bank documents

discussing the commitment, the loan application itself, the parties’ course of

dealing, the evidence relating to similar funding of the Co-op and the Jewells’

Fresh Pack plants, Betty Jewell’s notes from the December, 1978 meeting,

and the Bank's practice of not advancing funds for construction projects in the

absence of a long-term commitment all supported the Jewells’ statements that

a commitment had been made.

* See, Landes Construction Co., Inc. v. Royal Bank of Canada (9th Cir.

1987) 833 F.2d 1365; National Farmers’ Organization v. Kingsley Bank ( \0th

Cir. 1984) 731 F.2d 1464; Coastland Corp. v. Third National Mortgage Co.

( 4th Cir. 1979) 611 F.2d 969; Crystal Springs Trout Co. v. First State Bank of

Froid (Mont. 1987) 732 P.2d 819; Wait v. First Midwest Bank/ Danville

( ILApp. 1986) 491 N.E.2d 795; X-Line Builders, Inc. v. First Federal Savings

& Loan Ass'n ( Ariz.App. 1983) 677 P.2d 1317; Bixler v. First National Bank

of Oregon (Ore.App. 1980) 619 P.2d 895.

‘© In stretching to reach this conclusion, the opinion had to consider, and

resolve, highly technical bankruptcy issues which had never come up at trial

and on which there was no evidence. (App. A at 32-33.); by doing so, the

opinion erred both legally and factually, and violated Government Code

$68081. (See, Adoption of Alexander (1988) 44 Cal.3d 857, 864-65.) The

opinion had to also disregard such highly damning evidence as Bunch’s boasts

that there “was never any doubt in our mind” that the Bank would have to

return the property it had in effect stolen from the Jewells. Similar conduct by

the Bank has earned this Court’s censure in cases such as Sanchez-Corea v.

Bank of America (1985) 38 Cal.3d 892, 908-09, another case in which

Division One, District One again sided with the Bank of America.

48

makes a promise, fails to perform, denies it ever had a duty to

perform, fights in court for years to prove it had no duty to

perform when it knew full well it did, loses that fight, and then,

when mandated by court order, belatedly and begrudgingly

performs, that is not a “breach” of the original promise. It is

submitted that only bias could produce such a result.

3. The Opinion Ignored the Substantial Evidence and

Legal Authority Which Demonstrated the Jewells’

Reliance Was Justifiable.

Reliance in a fiduciary relationship is measured by special

standards; facts that would ordinarily require investigation may

not excite suspicion, and the same degree of diligence is not

required. (Hobart v. Hobart Estate Co. (1945) 26 Cal.2d 412,

440; Estate of Sanders, supra, at 619.) The opinion ignored

this in concluding the Jewells’ reliance was not justifiable

because they allegedly knew the promised loan was beyond

Sullivan’s lending limit. (App. A at 21.)

The Jewells proved their reliance was justifiable given their

fiduciary relationship with the Bank, their intelligence, and

information. (Seeger v. Odell (1941) 18 Cal. 2d 409, 415.)

The Jewells dealt exclusively with Sullivan, and felt it was

inappropriate to confer with Sullivan’s superiors. ( V.25:4282. )

In addition, the Jewells got nothing but positive support from

Sullivan, who had in the past regularly provided the funds he

promised, even if they exceeded his lending limits. Sullivan’s

superiors also expressed their support to the Jewells; this

signified Regional approval to the Jewells. This type of belief

was precisely what the Bank’s policy manual warned against.

Given the Bank’s decision to place Sullivan in the role of

vice president and branch manager, his assurances to the

Jewells were the equivalent of “factual representations of an

apparently knowledgeable agent for his principal”. Skeels v.

Universal C.I.T. Credit Corporation (3rd Cir. 1964) 335 F. 2d

846, 851.) In such a situation, it was entirely reasonable for the

Jewells to rely on them.

a 49

4. The Opinion Refused to Consider the Law or the

Facts Which Demonstrated the Bank’s Acts Were

the Proximate Cause of the Jewells’ Injuries.

The opinion is wrong in stating there was no substantial

evidence the Jewells’ injuries were proximately caused by their

involvement in O’Connell, that the Jewells’ ultimate destruction

was inevitable, and that the law on proximate cause is contrary

to the Jewells’ position. First, there was overwhelming evi-

dence that but for Sullivan’s initial inducement of the Jewells in

becoming involved with O’Connell and later staying involved,

the Jewells would not have suffered the damages they did. This

evidence ranged from Sullivan’s own admission he had

“participated” in the Jewells’ “difficult situation” ( V.12:2509-

10), to an internal Bank document which noted in November,

1980 that the Jewells’ problems began with their 1976 in-

volvement with O’Connell (R.A. 891). Simple common sense

also provides support; had the Jewells not gotten involved in

O’Connell, O’Connell would have collapsed and there would

have been no subsequent drain on the Jewells’ finances.''

Second, there was nothing at trial which proved that the

Jewells’ destruction was inevitable. The opinion seized on a

number of factors which allegedly contributed to the Jewells’

demise, yet all but one of them directly resulted from the

Jewells’ involvement in O’Connell and would not have occurred

but for it. (App. A at 19.) The one remaining factor, the

bankruptcy of one of the Jewells’ debtors, was a very minor

cause of their problems and could have easily been absorbed if

the Jewells had not had the burden of O’Connell. ( V.26:4500-

8.)

Third, the opinion is wrong in stating that if other factors

also contributed to the Jewells’ economic problems, then the

Back was relieved of liability. (App. A at 19.) The law is clear

that if several factors contribute to the occurrence of an event, a

11 Other evidence included the testimony of Jewells’ expert witnesses that

after the Jewells paid off the delinquent O'Connell loans in 1977, they could

not pay back the Bank from their own operations because of their in-

volvement with O’Connell, and were left with insufficient operating funds as a

result of that involvement. (V.11:2350-51, V.25:4235-37, V.33:5805-06,

5812-13.) In addition, the Bank's own documents reflect its concern over the

Jewells’ finances as a result of their involvement in O'Connell. (R.A. 557,

658, 660, 648, 887, 888, 896.)

50

defendant is not absolved if his conduct was a substantial

factor, or if the other factors were within the scope of the

Original risk to which the defendant subjected the plaintiff.

(Prosser & Keaton, The Law of Torts ( 15th ed. 1984) $41, pp.

266, 268; $44, p. 303.) Since the later risks the Jewells’

encountered were within the scope of the original risk to which

the Bank subjected them, then necessarily the Bank is liable.

(See, Crystal Springs Trout Co. v. First State Bank, supra, at

824.)

Fourth, the opinion’s legal and factual analysis of the

Jewells’ eventual destruction is inaccurate. It is not true that a

defendant is not liable if the plaintiffs’ damages were “inevi-

table or due to unrelated causes”, and the authority the opinion

cites does not so hold. In addition, since the issue never came

up at trial, there was minimal evidence on it; what little there

was directly contradicts the opinion’s statement. '2

5. The Allegedly Internally Inconsistent Verdicts Can

Be, And Should Have Been, Reconciled by the Court

of Appeal.

It is the duty of appellate courts to reconcile superficially

inconsistent findings. (Brewer v. Simpson (1960) 53 Cal.2d

567, 583; Allen v. Sundean (1982) 137 Cal. App.3d 216, 224.)

This can easily be done in the instant case, yet the court simply

flung up its hands in mock despair over its alleged inability to

do so.

The jury could have found both that Sullivan, as the bank’s

agent, intended to the make the long-term !oan, but that his

superiors did not. That would still result in liability to the Bank

since “a principal may be liable when he intentionally mis-

informs or withholds information from the agent and the agent

thereupon innocently misrepresents.” (Barrett v. Bank of

America, supra at 1369-70.) Had not the court been searching

for opportunities to reverse the judgment, it could have per-

formed this simple task of reconciling the verdicts.

‘2 By taking the Jewells’ deeds of trust, the Bank started a domino effect

which caused the Jewells’ creditors to scramble for assets; bankruptcies and

lawsuits were then filed to prevent foreciosures. But for that original act of

the Bank, the Jewells would not have been forced into bankruptcy.

51

Vv

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, this petition for review should be

granted and this cause set for argument.

DATED: June 27, 1988

Respectfully submitted,

CAPPELLO & FOLEY

By: A. BARRY CAPPELLO

A. BARRY CAPPELLO

Attorneys for Respondents

Charles Duck, Trustee of

Bankruptcy Estate of

George M. and Laura E.

Jewell, and George R. Jew-

ell

52

VERIFICATION

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF

I have read the foregoing

and know its contents.

kK] CHECK APPLICABLE PARAGRAPH

I am a party to this action. The matters stated in the

foregoing document are true of my own knowledge except

as to those matters which are stated on information and

belief, and as to those matters I believe them to be true.

I am C an Officer C) a partner O

a : of

a party to this action, and am authorized to make this

verification for and on its behalf, and I make this veri-

fication for that reason. C) I am informed and believe and

on that ground allege that the matters stated in the

foregoing document are true. () The matters stated in the

foregoing document are true of my own knowledge except

as to those matters which are stated on information and

belief, and as to those matters I believe them to be true.

I am one of the attorneys for

a party to this action. Such party is absent from the county

of aforesaid where such attorneys have their offices, and I

make this verification for and on behalf of that party for

that reason. I am informed and believe and on that

ground allege that the matters stated in the foregoing

document are true.

Executed on a , at

California.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the

State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Type or Print Name Signature

53

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF RECEIPT

OF DOCUMENT

(other than summons and complaint)

Received copy of document described as

on 19

Type or Print Name Signature

54

PROOF OF SERVICE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF

SANTA BARBARA

I am employed in the county of SANTA BARBARA,

State of California. I am over the age of 18 and not a party

to the within action; my business address is: 831 State

Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101.

On June 27, 1988, I served the foregoing document

described as PETITION FOR REVIEW OF DECISION

OF THE COURT OF APPEAL, FIRST APPELLATE

DISTRICT, DIVISION ONE on

in this action by placing a true copy thereof enclosed in a

sealed envelope addressed as follows:

see attached list

(BY MAIL) I caused such envelope with postage thereon

fully prepaid to be placed in the United States mail at

Santa Barbara, California.

Executed on June 27, 1988, at Santa Barbara, California.

(BY PERSONAL SERVICE) I caused such envelope to

be delivered by hand to the offices of the addressee.

Executed on

19 at

California.

(State) I declare under penalty of perjury under the

laws of the State of California that the

above is true and correct.

(Federal) I declare that I am employed in the office of a

member of the bar of this court at whose

direction the service was made.

PATRICIA LYNCH

Type or Print Name Signature

55

Proof of Service List for Jewell v. Bank of America

David B. Flinn -

Steven B. Mains

Jeffrey Lowenthal

LELAND, PARACHINI, STEINBERG, FLINN, MATZGER & MELNICK

333 Market Street, 27th Floor

San Francisco, California 94105

William Lukens

LUKENS, Perry DRUMMOND & COOPER

One Maritime Plaza

San Francisco, California 94111

Frederick N. Watson

Attorney at Law

1111 Civic Drive, Suite 300

Walnut Creek, California 94596

Warren Christopher

Karen Growdon

O’MELVENY & MYERS

400 South Hope Street

Los Angeles, California 90071-2899

Honorable Laurence K. Sawyer

Superior Court of Sonoma County

600 Administration Drive

Hall of Justice

Santa Rosa, California 95401

Court of Appeal

4154 State Building

350 McAllister Street

San Francisco, CA 94102

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.