Petition for Writ of Certiorari — First Interstate Credit Alliance, Inc. v. American Bank of Martin County, 109 S. Ct. 557 (1988) (No. 88-646)

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

HILED

OCT 19 1988

88 -6 A6

.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

FIRST INTERSTATE CREDIT ALLIANCE, INC.

Petitioner

U.

AMERICAN BANK OF MARTIN COUNTY,

DOUGLASS E. WENDEL

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

JAMES E. FOSTER

Foster & Kelly

Post Office Box 3587

Orlando, Florida 32802-3587

(407) 423-0341

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does a beneficiary who draws on a standby letter of credit receive a

preference in bankruptcy under 11 U.S.C. §547 (6) solely because the

issuer required the debtor to provide security?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

re ea bs a ey od eee 8s AOE BAe ee eek ean i

eas hn 6G dae oS Sk Wb oo ba 6 exe Oe oe oe iv

a Ae go 1

ee eae bein wee e es aks. bea kk kaos eek eee 2

ee eae her Gah ek dnd aed eAwee eee a Oe wR 2

AA et SSCA a 2

Reasons For Granting The Petition .............,.........205. 4

ie sabe 66 cs4k sche 4bcb bie bdeae Wades 10

eid os Cans hays aa Reed ds ee haan ss eae OS Al

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

In re Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart,

645 F.2a 203 (iith Cir. 1966) .................. passim

In re Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart,

ero RSE og De . ) 1,3

In re Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart,

55 B.R. 157 (Bankr. S.D. Fla. 1985) ............ 1,3

American Bell Int'l v. Islamic Republic of Iran,

474 F.Supp. 420 (S.D.N.Y. 1979) .............. 7

Atlantic Richfield Co. v. Good Hope Refineries, Inc.,

604 F.2d 865 (5th Cir. 1979) ................... 10

In re Clothes, Inc., 35 B.R. 487

SR TD oka ccc gabsdcddbecssnase 6

In re Compton Corp., 831 F.2d 586 (5th Cir. 1987) ....passim

Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. v. Philadelphia

Gear Corp., 106 S.Ct. 1931 (1986) (no. 84-1972)

lg, a 4

First National Bank of Danville v. Phalen,

pgs Se eR ener earn es 10

In re Guy C. Long, Inc., 74 B.R. 939

ee ee a edb anes ay 5,9

Harris Corp. v. National Iranian Radio & Television,

GOl F.2d 1344 (11th Cir. 1962) ................. 7

KMW Int'l v. Chase Manhattan Bank, N.A.,

— f e& ff: o> ee ara 7

In re Marine Distributors, Inc., 522 F.2d 791

I ee a a os 6

National Bank of Newport v. National Herkimer County

BN, Se a PP ONEED oe nec ncwceccuecass 10

In re North Shore & Central Illinois Freight Co.,

30 B.R. 377 (Bankr. N.D. Ill. 1983) ............ 6

In re Page, 18 B.R. 713

a OS ene Se gan date oa 6, 9

Pringle-Associated Mortgage Corp. v. Southern National

Bank, 571 F.2d 871 (5th Cir. 1978) ............. 5

Sztejn v. Henry Schroder Banking Corp.,

177 Misc. 719, 31 N.Y.S.2d 631

ee aera een 7

In re Twist Cap, Inc., 1 B.R. 284

Sy Ot es SO Ss soo be ne vo ve eS 8, 9, 10

iv

Cases - Continued: Page

United States v. Sun Bank of Miami,

608 F.2d 832 (Sth Cir. 1960) ................... 5

In re Zaferis Bros. & Co., Ltd., 67 F.2d 140

SORE Ge. I fs Pcs eek ce Wereds ep eoaaeeneus 10

Statutes and Regulations:

28 U.S.C. § 2101(c) 7

Hh Bae eee 3

UO Bit i a eee 5

UDG. Chie ole 7

Miscellaneous:

Baird, Standby Letters of Credit in Bankruptcy,

49 U. Chi. L. Bev. 190 (1962) ... 0.2 cece eee ees 7,9

Baron, Debt Supported by Irrevocable Letters of Credit,

Irrevocable Commitments and Note Purchase

Agreements, Fixed Income Investor 553

a SE SR Na ae ce eee eee aha ween 8

Baron, LOCs and the ‘‘Twist Cap’”’ Problem,

Standard & Poor’s CreditWeek

Pe % eee here er err rere mr 9

Chaitman & Sovern, Enjoining Payment on a Letter of

Credit in Bankruptcy: A Tempest in a Twist Cap,

_ ee SS... rer eee 7,8

B. Clark, The Law of Bank Deposits, Collections

and Credit Cards (rev. ed. 1981 &

ee errr re ee eT err rer ree 5, 8

Federman & Baron, Bankruptcy Cases Impact LOCs,

Standard & Poors CreditWeek (Feb. 1, 1988) .... 9

Hahn & Schwartz, Letters of Credit under the

Bankruptcy Code, 16 U.C.C.L.J. 91 (1983) ..... 9

Kozolchyk, Is Present Letter of Credit Law Up To Its

Task?, 8 Geo. Mason U. L. Rev. 28b (1986) ..... 4

Kozolchyk, The Emerging Law of Standby Letters of

Credit and Bank Guaranties, 24 Ariz. L. Rev. 319

CE oc cndnd ak aaa 9, 10

McLaughlin, Letters of Credit as Preferential Transfers

in Bankruptcy, 50 Fordham L. Rev. 1033 (1982) ... 5

Note, The Independence Ruie in Standby Letters

of Credit, 52 U. Chi. L. Rev. 218 (1985) ......... 4,5,7

126 Cong. Rec. 31,153 (1980)

(statement of Sen. DeConcini) ................ 9

v

No.

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

FIRST INTERSTATE CREDIT ALLIANCE, INC.

Petitioner

Vv.

AMERICAN BANK OF MARTIN COUNTY,

DOUGLASS E. WENDEL

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

First Interstate Credit Alliance, Inc.' petitions for a writ of certiorari

to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

In re Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart, 845 F.2d 293 (11th Cir. 1988)

(App. Al).

In re Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuar* 72 B.R. 657 (S.D. Fla. 1987)

(App. A160).

In re Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart, 55 B.R. 157 (Bankr. S.D. Fla.

1985) (App. A18).

' Petitioner First Interstate Credit Alliance, Inc. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of

First Insterstate Bancorp. Petitioner was formerly known as Leasing Service Corpora-

tion and is referred to as such in all the opinions below and throughout this

petition. (1)

a

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered May 17, 1988

(App. Al). A petition for rehearing was denied on June 20, 1988

(App. A9). The jurisdiction of this court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §2101{c).

STATUTE INVOLVED

11 U.S.C. §547(6) provides:

Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, the

trustee may avoid any transfer of an interest of the debtor

in property-

(1) toor for the benefit of a creditor;

(2) fororon account of an antecedent debt owed by the debtor

before such transfer was made;

(3) made while the debtor was insolvent;

(4) made-

(A) on or within 90 days before the date of the filing of

the petition;

* * *

(5) that enables such creditor to receive more than such creditor

would receive if-

(A) the case were a case under chapter 7 of this title;

(B) the transfer had not been made; and

(C) such creditor received payment of such debt to the

extent provided by the provisions of this title.

STATEMENT

In December, 1982, Petitioner, Leasing Service Corporation (““LSC’’),

leased a computer system to Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart (‘ACT’).

To secure ACI’s performance under the lease, ACI granted LSC a

security interest in all of ACI’s assets. ACI defaulted under the lease in

February, 1984. In April of that year, LSC filed suit in Florida state

court seeking to replevy the computer system and ACI’s other assets.

After LSC recovered the computer system, the court ordered the issuance

of a writ of replevin to seize the remainder of ACI’s assets.

In consideration of LSC’s agreement to refrain from seizing ACI’s re-

maining property, ACI agreed to establish a letter of credit to guarantee

3

payment if the pending litigation was ultimately resolved adversely to

ACI. On June 14, 1984, ACI paid Respondent, American Bank of Martin

County (“American Bank”’), a fee of $2,904.35 to issue a standby letter

of credit naming LSC beneficiary. To memorialize ACI’s obligation to

repay American Bank if LSC drew upon the letter of credit, ACI

executed a promissory note in the sum of $20,030.15 payable to the

bank. Six days later at American Bank’s insistence, ACI delivered a

$20,000.00 certificate of deposit to American Bank to secure payment

under the promissory note.?

Approximately six weeks later, on July 25, 1984, ACI filed a petition for

reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.

LSC subsequently attempted to draw on the letter of credit. American

Bank refused to honor the letter of credit and filed a complaint in the

bankruptcy court alleging that LSC was violating the automatic stay.

The trustee, Respondent Douglass E. Wendel, intervened. The bank-

ruptcy court, without a trial, found that LSC had received a voidable

preference, nullified the letter of credit, and ordered American Bank to

surrender the certificate of deposit to the trustee. The district court

reversed the bankruptcy court’s nullification of the letter of credit, but

affirmed the finding that LSC had received a preference.

On appeal, the court of appeals affirmed, finding that LSC had

obtained a preference voidable by the bankruptcy trustee. Examining the

provisions of 11 U.S.C. §547(b), the court reasoned that ACI’s pledge of

the certificate of deposit to American Bank as security for ACI’s prom-

issory note was an “indirect transfer” of ACI’s assets “for the benefit of’

LSC. Concluding that a preference had occurred, the court held that

the beneficiary of the letter of credit, LSC, was the recipient of the pre-

ferential transfer. Both the district court and the court of appeals pro-

fessed the independence of the letter of credit but nevertheless held

that the entire letter of credit transaction resulted in a preference be-

cause the debtor gave security to the issuer. The act of furnishing security

at American Bank’s insistence resulted in a preference, thus trans-

fering the risk of insolvency from the issuer to the beneficiary, LSC.

The court of appeals relied heavily on a recent decision of the Fifth

Circuit. See In re Compton Corp., 831 F.2d 586 (5th Cir. 1987) (App.

A21).? The Compton court exhaustively examined several non-letter of

? LSC has no connection whatsover with American Bank and had no involvement in

procuring the letter of credit which was established pursuant to negotiation between

counsel for ACI and LSC. Despite the bankruptcy court’s conclusion that LSC was

“grossly undersecured,” ACI apparently believed that its assets were worth at least

$20,000.

> Judge Brown of the Fifth Circuit sat on the panels of both Compton and the cese

sub judice.

— Ct

4

credit cases where unsecured creditors improved their positions through

circuitous transfers of the debtor’s assets. In each of those cases, the

courts examined the overall impact of the multiple transfers and

reached the conclusion that voidable preferences had occured. The

Compton court then applied this reasoning to letter of credit transactions

where the beneficiary was an unsecured creditor owed an antecedent

debt. Claiming that its ruling preserved the sanctity of letters of credit

while carrying out the purposes of the Bankruptcy Code, the court con-

cluded that the trustee could recover from the beneficiary of the letter

of credit because the beneficiary had “received an indirect preference.”

Without examining the independence rule or the fundamental pur-

pose of letters of credit, the Compton court went to great lengths to

explain why the issuing bank had not received a preference in bank-

ruptcy. That court reasoned that the bank had given “‘new value” by

issuing the letter of credit and had perfected its security interest out-

side the preference period by virtue of a future advances clause in an

earlier security agreement. The court also concluded that the transfer

of the debtor’s assets was not for the benefit of the bank, even though it

was the bank which required that the repayment obligation be secured

with the debtor’s property. The court stated that:

[T]he issuer of the letter of credit, being just the intermediary

through which the preferential transfer was accomplished, com-

pletely falls out of the picture and is not involved in this par-

ticular legal proceding. Jd. at 594.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

With more than 120 billion dollars of standby letters of credit currently

outstanding,‘ the court of appeals has undermined the ability of letters

of credit to perform their most basic and critical economic function:

the absolute guaranty of payment. The court’s holding that payment

under a letter of credit may constitute a preference to the beneficiary

disregards both the commercial expectations of the parties and defeats

the fundamental purpose of letters of credit: the absolute guaranty of

payment. The court of appeals’ decision ignores several basic tenets of

letter of credit law which are critical to the continued economic utility

and efficacy of letters of credit. The crux of this petition is the adverse

“Petition for Certiorari at 7, Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. v. Philadelphia Gear

Corp., 106S.Ct. 1931 (1986) (No. 84-1972). The value of standby letters of credit by the

United States’ 100 largest banks increased to approximately $134 billion by 1984.

Kozolchyk, Js Present Letter of Credit Law Up To Its Task?, 8 Geo. Mason U. L. Rev.

286, 304 n. 38 (1986). See Note, The Independence Rule in Standby Letters of Credit,

52, U. Chi. L. Rev. 218, 219 n. 14 (1985) (by 1978 five banks alone had $12.6 billion

worth of outstanding standby letters of credit).

5

economic effect of the court of appeals’ decision on the use of standby

letters of credit as absolute guaranties of prompt payment. Immediate

review by this court of the question presented is appropriate.

The ancient law governing letter of credit transactions is premised

on the independent nature of each of the three discrete undertakings

which are common to all letter of credit transactions: the obligations

between

a. the debtor and the creditor;

b. the debtor and its bank (the “‘issuer’’); and

c. the issuer and the creditor (the ‘‘beneficiary’’).°

The obligations of the parties to any one of these undertakings is com-

pletely separate and independent of the other two undertakings which

together constitute a single letter of credit transaction. This principle

is known as the “independence rule.” This rule is the key to the com-

mercial vitality of the letter of credit.®

Under the court of appeals’ rationale, LSC has received a voidable

preference solely because the issuer, American Bank, required ACI to

secure its repayment obligation. Had American Bank not required

security fromm ACI, no preference would have occurred. According to

the reasoning of the court below, ACI’s pledge of the certificate of

deposit at the issuer’s request is the operative fact which created the

preference as to LSC. Air Conditioning, 845 F.2d at 296 (App. A3).

Whether a beneficiary of a letter of credit receives a preferential transfer

is, therefore, completely beyond the beneficiary’s power or control.

The court of appeals conferred that power on the issuing bank yet

imposed the risk of preference on the beneficiary. This inequitable

allocation is contrary not only to the law governing letters of credit, but

also to fundamental notions of fairness and commercial expectation.

The primary issue then becomes which party to a letter of credit

transaction properly bears the preference risk, if any. The court of

appeals has granted the issuer of a letter of credit the unfettered discre-

tion to place the beneficiary at risk. The issuer may, without risk to

itself, seek additional security placing the beneficiary in jeopardy.

Courts, including the Compton court, have recognized that in a let-

ter of credit transaction, the issuing bank is the best suited to evaluate

SInre Guy C. Long, Inc., 74 B.R. 939, 943 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1987); B. Clark, The Law

of Bank Deposits, Collections and Credit Cards $8.2[1] (rev. ed. 1981).

* See McLaughlin, Letters of Credit as Preferential Transfers in Bankruptcy, 50

Fordham L. Rev. 1033, 1039-1040 (1982); Note, The Independence Rule in Standby

Letters of Credit, 52 U. Chi. L. Rev. 218 (1985). See, also, United States v. Sun Bank of

Miami, 609 F.2d 832 (5th Cir. 1980); Pringle-Associated Mortgage Corp. v. Southern

National Bank, 571 F.2d 871 (5th Cir. 1978). The independence rule is codified in U.C.C.

§5-114(1).

6

its customer’s risk of insolvency:’

Under a standby letter of credit, the bank becomes primarily

liable to the beneficiary upon the default of the bank’s cus-

tomer to pay for goods or services. The bank charges a fee to

issue a letter of credit and to undertake this liability. The shift-

ing of liability to the bank rather than to the services or goods

provider is the main purpose of a letter of credit. After all, the

bank is ina much better position to assess the risk of its cus-

tomer’s insolvency than is the service or goods provider (em-

phasis added). Compton, 831 F.2d at 590.®

The issuing bank should not be permitted to utilize its ‘‘better posi-

tion” to unilaterally impose a greater risk on the unsuspecting ben-

eficiary. The decisions of Compton and the court below give a bank the

power not only to determine the risk of insolvency but also, after charging

a fee for assuming the risk, shift this risk to another, the unwary

beneficiary.

An issuing bank pays a letter of credit from its own funds.*® Accord-

ingly, the court of appeals acknowledged that the proceeds from a let-

ter of credit are not property of the debtor’s estate.'° The court also

recognized that the undertaking between the issuing bank and the

beneficiary is independent of the transaction between the bank and its

customer. Yet, from these legal declarations, the court traced the cer-

tificate of deposit from the debtor to the bank and then, in effect,

traced the proceeds from the certificate of deposit to the bank’s funds

which ultimately are paid LSC under the letter of credit. This type of

tracing is exactly what the independence rule prohibits. The finding of

an “indirect transfer” vitiates the essential purpose of the indepen-

dence rule.

Proceeds from a letter of credit are either part of the debtor’s estate

or they are not. The court of appeals in one breath states that the pro-

ceeds are not part of the debtor’s estate but in the next permits the trus-

tee to recover the proceeds from LSC for inclusion in the debtor’s

estate. This type of illogical reasoning takes all meaning from the

words themselves; in essence, the court of appeals has made the pro-

ceeds of a letter of credit property of the debtor’s estate. By its own

’ See In re Page, 18 B.R. 713 (D.D.C. 1982); In re North Shore & Central Illinois

Freight Co., 30 B.R. 377 (Bankr. N.D. Ill. 1983).

* The Compton court then distinguished the “risk of the debtor’s insolvency”’ from

“risk of a preference attack’’. LSC submits that this is an artificial and improper dis-

tinction.

* In re Clothes, Inc., 35 B.R. 487 (Bankr. D.N.D. 1983).

'© Air Conditioning, 845 F.2d at 296; In re Marine Distributors, Inc., 522 F.2d 791

(9th Cir. 1975) (the first decision to examine the relationship between letters of credit

and bankruptcy).

7

terms, 11 U.S.C. §547(6) applies only to a “‘transfer of an interest of the

debtor in property.”

Prior to Compton and the case sub judice, only one exception existed

for defeating the independence rule: fraud.'' Any concern that letters

of credit could be used to intentionally avoid the preference provisions

of the code are unfounded. The rules governing fraud in letter of credit

transactions prevent that result.

If a creditor were to persuade a debtor to obtain a letter of credit in

the creditor’s favor with the intent of avoiding the preference pro-

visions of the code and perpetrate a fraud on the bankruptcy court or

the debtor’s other creditors, that court could properly enjoin the creditor

from drawing on the letter of credit. This remedy is consistent with

well-established letter of credit principles dealing with fraud. The

integrity of the Bankruptcy Code and letters of credit would both be

preserved without venturing beyond the parameters of accepted prece-

dent.'? “In short, the letter of credit is an irrevocable obligation of the

bank which the debtor is powerless to affect except pursuant to the

traditional defenses of fraud.’’'*® The court’s reasoning defeats this

basic premise.

The court of appeals erred in holding that LSC receives a voidable

preference when it draws on the letter of credit from American Bank.

The court misperceived the nature of letters of credit, and failed to con-

sider adequately the commercial expectations of the business world

and the repercussions of a finding that a letter of credit may constitute

a preference as to the beneficiary in the absence of fraud. Under the

court of appeals’ ruling, a letter of credit is no longer an absolute

guaranty of payment. The wall surrounding the sanctity and indepen-

dence of letters of credit has been ruptured by the court, even though it

states otherwise.

Commenting on the district court’s assertion that it was preserving

the sanctity of letters of credit, Professor Clark stated that:

"' Baird, Standby Letters of Credit in Bankruptcy, 49 U. Chi. L. Rev. 130, 144-145

(1982); Note, The Independence Rule in Standby Letters of Credit, 52 U. Chi. L. Rev.

218, 219 (1985). The fraud exception was first applied in the seminal case of Sztejn v.

Henry Schroder Banking Corp., 177 Misc. 719, 31 N.Y.S.2d 631 (Sup. Ct. 1941). (The

Sztejn rule is codified in U.C.C. §5-114(2)(6)). The fraud issue has recently been exten-

sively litigated in cases involving post-revolutionary Iran. See, e.g., Harris Corp. v.

National Iranian Radio & Television, 691 F.2d 1344 (11th Cir. 1982); KMW Int'l v.

Chase Manhattan Bank, N.A., 606 F.2d 10 (2d Cir. 1979); American Bell Int'l v.

Islamic Republic of Iran, 474 F.Supp. 420 (S.D.N.Y. 1979).

‘2 In the present case, neither American Bank nor the trustee even hint that LSC’s

agreement with ACI was fraudulent.

'? Chaitman, infra n. 14 at 33.

8

The difficulty with the [district] court’s approach is that it

elevates form over substance. By treating the letter and the

reimbursement agreement as a single composite transaction for

preference purposes, the opinion requires the beneficiary to pay

back the proceeds of the draw. How does this result maintain

the “sanctity” of the letter of credit? A beneficiary cares little

whether it bears the loss by “nullification” or by forced regurgita-

tion under Section 550 (a) of the Bankruptcy Code. In either

case, the issuing bank comes out even and the estate retains the

value of the property pledged to secure the bank’s reimburse-

ment claim. Although the [district] court paid lip service to the

“independence principle”’ of letter of credit law, it violated

that principle by treating the letter and the bank’s right of

reimbursement as part of a two-step composite transaction for

preference purposes. B. Clark, The Law of Bank Deposits,

Collections and Credit Cards 98.11 [2] (cum. supp. 1988).

This criticism is equally applicable to the court of appeals decision

affirming the district court.

Air Conditioning and Compton are not the only recent assaults on

the inviolability of letters of credit. The business and banking com-

munity has only recently recovered from the impact of another Florida

bankruptcy decision: Jn re Twist Cap, Inc..* In Twist Cap, the ban-

kruptcy court first articulated the theory that a beneficiary could

receive an impermissible preference if a beneficiary were permitted to

draw on a letter of credit. This conclusion created what one commentator

characterized as ‘‘a tempest in the world of commercial finance.’’'®

Prior to Twist Cap, letter of credit-backed debt was rated solely on

the basis of the creditworthiness of the issuing bank. This method of

rating letter of credit-backed debt is valuable because a borrower is

able to obtain a credit rating based upon the creditworthiness of its

bank rather than its own. Reliance on the stronger credit of the bank

permits a borrower to secure a lower interest rate for financing.'* As a

result of the Twist Cap preference threat to letters of credit, however,

Standard & Poor’s could no longer rely on such readily and ascertain-

able indicia, stating that “absent the resolutions of the “Twist Cap’

‘* 1 B.R. 284 (Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1979).

's Chaitman & Sovern, Enjoining Payment ona Letter of Credit in Bankruptcy: A

Tempest ina Twist Cap, 38 Bus. Law. 21, 22 (1982).

** Clark, supra n.4 at 4 8.11[1] (cum. supp. 1988); Baron, Debt Supported by Irrevoc-

able Letters of Credit, Irrevocable Commitments and Note Purchase Agreements,

Fixed Income Investor 553 (June 21, 1980).

9

problem...S & P will not rate [letter of credit-backed debt] solely on

the creditworthiness of the bank.’’"’

Courts, commentators and legislators alike have universally criticized

Twist Cap.'* Professor Kozolchyk observed that:

[T]he Twist Cap court’s approach can lead to. . .a finding of

voidability, as a preference. . . These rules have already created

serious national disruption and could also have detrimental

international implications. They reflect a basic misunderstand-

ing of standby and commercial letter of credit transactions, law

and practice.'®

Senator Dennis DeConcini, one of the primary drafters and sponsors of

the Bankruptcy Code, stated in the United States Senate that:

Contrary to language in the case of Twist Cap...payments

...by the letter of credit bank are not preferential. . .since

payments are not being made with property of the estate. 126

Cong. Rec. 31,153 (1980).

The consistent and vehement rejection of Twist Cap prompted Standard

& Poor’s to announce in March 1987 that Twist Cap had become suf-

ficiently remote to be no longer a concern in letter of credit tran-

sactions.

When the furor over Twist Cap subsided, letters of credit were once

again widely believed to be safe from preference attack. Predictably,

the successful preference attack in Air Conditioning and Compton has

prompted a swift response from the business community. Standard &

Poor’s again refuses to rate letter of credit-backed debt unless certain

additional conditions are met.” This increases the cost of obtaining

letters of credit and adversely affects their ability to serve as an absolute

guaranty of payment. Twist Cap disrupted letter of credit transactions

for nearly eight years despite a maelstrom of criticism. Two decisions

of the courts of appeals, however, will undoubtedly have a more lasting

impact on letters of credit.

‘7 Baron, LOCs and the “Twist Cap” Problem, Standard & Poor's Credit Week (Jan.

25, 1982).

'® See, e.g., Inre Page, 18 B.R. 713 (D.D.C. 1982); in re Guy C. Long, Inc., 74 B.R.

939, 944 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1987) (exhaustive summary of cases dealing with letters of

credit in bankruptcy); Hahn & Schwartz, Letters of Credit under the Bankruptcy

Code, 16 U.C.C.L.J. 91 (1983); Baird, Standby Letters of Credit in Bankruptcy, 49 U.

Chi. Rev. 130 (1982); Kozolchyk, The Emerging Law of Standby Letters of Credit and

Bank Guaranties, 24 Ariz. L. Rev. 319, 343 (1982); Chaitman & Sovern, Enjoining

Payment ona Letter of Credit in Bankruptcy: A Tempest ina Twist Cap, 38 Bus. Law.

21 (1982).

'® Kozolchyk, supra n. 18 at 343.

2 Federman & Baron, Bankruptcy Cases Impact LOCs, Standard & Poors Credit-

Week (Feb. 1, 1988).

10

Other legal bases exist for questioning the propriety of the court of

appeals’ conclusion. Standby letters of credit are occasionally referred

to as ‘‘guaranty letters of credit,’’ more accurately descriptive of

their function." The beneficiary of a letter of credit can easily be

analogized to the beneficiary of a guaranty. A beneficiary of a guaranty

does not receive a preference in bankruptcy when paid by the guaran-

tor even though the primary obligor is bankrupt.** No preference is

created because the payment depletes the assets of the guarantor not

the debtor. Due to the functional similarities between letters of credit

and guaranties, beneficiaries of letters of credit should receive no worse

treatment than beneficiaries of a simple guaranty; the unique and

necessarily inviolable nature of letters of credit dictate this result. The

payment tothe beneficiary of a letter of credit should not be recaptured

by the debtor or trustee as a preference.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the court of appeals sub judice as well as that of

Compton unnecessarily deviate from well-established letter of credit

and bankruptcy preference principles even though an adequate remedy

already existed. Financial markets which only recently recovered from

the effects of Twist Cap are again disrupted.” The petition for cer-

tiorari should be granted so that this Court may more fully review the

adverse impact of the court’s decision on letters of credit.

Reaper ee

Vee

JAMES E. FOSTER

Foster & Kelly

Post Office Box 3587

Orlando, Florida 32802-3587

(407) 423-0341

Attorneys for Petitioner

September 16, 1988

2" Kozolchyk, The Emerging Law of Standby Letters of Credit and Bank Guaran-

ties, 24 Ariz. L. Rev. 319 (1982).

22 Atlantic Richfield Co. v. Good Hope Refineries, Inc., 604 F.2d 865 (5th Cir. 1979);

Inre Zaferis Bros. & Co., Ltd., 67 F.2d 140 (9th Cir. 1933); First National Bank of Danuille

uv. Phalen, 62 F.2d 21 (7th Cir. 1932). Accord National Bank of Newport v. National

Herkimer County Bank, 225 U.S. 178 (1912).

23 Because of the impact of the court of appeals decision on letters of credit and com-

mercial finance, we believe that review by this court is warranted despite the absence

of an existing conflict in the circuits on the precise question presented.

Al

In re AIR CONDITIONING, INC. OF

STUART, Debtor.

AMERICAN BANK OF MARTIN COUNTY,

Douglass E. Wendel, Trustee,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv

LEASING SERVICE CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

No. 87-5223.

United States Court of Appeals,

Eleventh Circuit.

May 17, 1988.

Before VANCE and ANDERSON, Circuit Judges, and BROWN*,

Senior Circuit Judge.

VANCE, Circuit Judge:

This bankruptcy appeal involves an undersecured creditor’s attempt

to obtain the proceeds of a $20,000 certificate of deposit used tosecure a

letter of credit issued in favor of the creditor. Both the bankruptcy

court and the district court held that there had been a preference, and

the district court ordered the creditor to deliver the payment made

pursuant to the letter of credit to the trustee. Except as to an award of

attorneys’ fees, we affirm.

I.

In December 1982 Leasing Service Corporation (LSC) leased a com-

puter system to Air Conditioning, Incorporated of Stuart (ACI). To

secure its performance under the lease, ACI granted LSC a security

interest in everything ACI owned.' ACI defaulted in February 1984,

and in April LSC instituted replevin actions against ACI in Florida

state court.

During June the parties negotiated a solution to the problem so that

ACI could remain in business. They reached an agreement whereby

LSC agreed not to exercise its right to seize ACI’s property. On June 11

ACI agreed in a joint stipulation to furnish a $20,000 bond within four

days. If it failed to furnish the bond, LSC would seize all of ACI’s assets

* Honorable John R. Brown, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the Fifth Circuit, sitting

by designation.

' A supplemental writ of replevin LSC later obtained pursuant to this security

interest ordered ACI to deliver to LSC: “All goods, chattels, fixtures, furniture, equip-

ment, assets and property of any kind whatever located now and hereafter belonging to

Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart and in which Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart has any

interest.”

A2

as provided in the supplemental writ of replevin LSC had previously

obtained. In either event, the agreement provided that LSC would

replevin the computer equipment. On June 19, the parties agreed to a

new joint stipulation which stated that ACI’s obligation to furnish the

bond had been met by the terms and provisions of a June 15, 1984 letter

of credit issued by American Bank in LSC’s favor. In return for the let-

ter of credit ACI had executed a promissory note payable to American

Bank in the amount of $20,030.15. ACI had secured the note with a

security interest in a $20,000 certificate of deposit.

As a result of these transactions, LSC allowed ACI to stay open for

business. ACI’s reprieve, however, only lasted a month. On July 25,

1984 ACI filed a petition under Chapter 11. On September 14 ihe bank-

ruptcy court granted LSC’s motion for relief from the stay to allow LSC

to obtain a judgment for possession and judicial sale of the computer

equipment. On October 4 the bankruptcy court lifted the automatic

stay further to permit LSC to proceed against ACI’s other assets as des-

cribed in the supplemental writ of replevin. LSC claims it never located

any assets of ACI other than the computer system. In November 1984

the case was converted to a Chapter 7 liquidation proceeding.

On May 23, 1985 LSC demanded that American Bank honor the let-

ter of credit. American Bank responded by filing a complaint in the

bankruptcy court, alleging that LSC was violating the automatic stay.

The trustee filed an intervention complaint. The bankruptcy court,

without a trial, nullified the letter of credit, ordered American Bank to

surrender the certificate of deposit to the trustee, and awarded American

Bank attorneys’ fees and costs associated with the original complaint.?

The district court reversed the bankruptcy court’s nullification of the

letter of credit, but affirmed the bankruptcy court’s finding of a pre-

ference in favor of LSC. 72 B.R. 657. The district court ruled that the

trustee could attack the preference under 11 U.S.C. § 550(a). LSC now

appeals the district court’s order.

II.

A.

LSC’s primary argument on appeal is that the district court and the

bankruptcy court erred by ruling that the trustee had proved all five

7A merican Bank had filed an interpleader action previously in Florida state court.

This action apparently was dismissed voluntarily because an interpleader action is

improper in letter of credit situations like this one. See Dallas Bank & Trust Co. v.

Community Dev. Corp., 686 S.W.2d 226, 230-31 (Tex.Ct.App.1985). American Bank

recovered the fees and expenses associated with this aborted state court interpleader

action. We reverse this award.

A3

elements of a preferential transfer under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b). That sub-

section allows the trustee to avoid any transfer of property of the

debtor:

(1) to or for the benefit of a creditor;

(2) for or on account of an antecedent debt owed by the debtor

before such transfer was made;

(3) made while the debtor was insolvent;

(4) made -

(A) on or within 90 days before the date of the filing of the

petition;

(5) that enables such creditor to receive more than such creditor

would receive if -

(A) the case were a case under chapter 7 of this title;

(B) the transfer had not been made; and

(C) such creditor received payment of such debt tothe extent

provided by the provisions of this title.

11 U.S.C. § 547(b). The trustee may recover any property transferred

in violation of section 547(b) from “‘the initial transferee of such transfer

or the entity for whose benefit such transfer was made...”’ Jd.

§ 550(a)(1). LSC argues that the trustee failed to prove elements (1)

and (5) under section 547(b), and that the district court erroneously

granted relief under section 550(a).

Initially LSC argues that there has been no preferential transfer

because the letter of credit issued by American Bank is not “‘an interest

of the debtor in property,” as required by the first sentence of section

547(b). Waving a banner acclaiming the inviolability of letters of

credit, LSC argues that section 547(b) cannot apply in this case.

We agree with LSC that neither a letter of credit nor its proceeds are

property of the debtor’s estate. See Jn re AOV Indus., Inc., 64 B.R. 933,

941 (Bankr.D.D.C.1986); In re Clothes, Inc., 35 B.R. 487, 489

(Bankr.D.N.D.1983). As the district court correctly noted, a letter of

credit is an undertaking between the issuing bank and the beneficiary,

and is independent of the relationship between the bank and the

account party. Jn re Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart, 72 B.R. 657, 660

(S.D.Fla.1987); see Pro-Fab, Inc. v. Vipa, Inc, 772 F.2d 847, 852-53

(1ith Cir.1985).

Collateral which has been pledged by the debtor as security for a let-

ter of credit, however, is property of the debtor’s estate. Jn re Compton

Corp., 831 F.2d 586,590 (5th Cir.1987). It was the transfer of the

$20,000 by the debtor ACI to American Bank as collateral for the letter

of credit that constituted the preferential transfer under section 547(b).

As the Fifth Circuit recently held: ““When a debtor pledges its assets to

A4

secure a letter of credit, a transfer of debtor’s property has occurred

under the provisions of 11 U.S.C. § 547.”” Compton, 831 F.2d at 590.

Thus there was a transfer of ACI’s property, and section 547(b) applies

in this case.

Turning to the disputed elements of section 547(b), LSC contends

first that the transfer of the $20,000 was not “‘to or for the benefit”’ of

LSC. See 11 U.S.C. § 547(b)(1). Instead, LSC maintains that the

transfer of the $20,000 to purchase the certificate of deposit was solely

and exclusively for the benefit of the bank.

The Fifth Circuit’s recent Compton opinion contains an excellent,

scholarly discussion of this issue. It held that a creditor can receive an

indirect benefit in the letter of credit context sufficient to meet the

requirement of section 547(b)(1). See 831 F.2d at 591-95. We agree that

an indirect transfer arising from a debtor’s pledge of security to a third

party bank “may constitute a voidable preference as to the creditor

who indirectly benefitted from the direct transfer to the third party.”’

Id. at 591-92. The district court in this case correctly held that “although

the transfer of the certificate of deposit (the debtor’s property) was

made to American Bank it was clearly ‘for the benefit’ of LSC because

it indirectly secured payment of an undersecured antecedent debt

owed by ACI.” 72 B.R. at 661. In addition the promised transfer of the

certificate of deposit induced American Bank to issue the letter of

credit in the first place. We hold therefore that LSC did receive a

benefit under section 547(b)(1).°

LSC contends next that the transfer did not enable LSC io receive

more than it would have received in a Chapter 7 liquidation had the

transfer not been made. See 11 U.S.C. §547(b)(5). LSC argues that the

trustee failed to present any evidence that ACI’s assets were insuffi-

cient tosatisfy fully LSC’s claims. LSC complains that the bankruptcy

court did not allow LSC the opportunity to show that ACI may have

had assets in which LSC had a valid security interest.

The Fifth Circuit eloquently and forcefully articulated this principle in Compton:

We hold that a creditor cannot secure payment of an unsecured antecedent debt

through a letter of credit transaction when it could not do so through any other type

of transaction. The purpose of the letter of credit transaction iu this case was to

secure payment of an unsecured antecedent debt for the benefit of an unsecured

creditor. This is the only proper way to look at such letters of credit in the bank-

ruptcy context. The promised transfer of pledged collateral induced the bank to

issue the letter of credit in favor of the creditor. The increased security interest held

by the bank clearly benefitted the creditor because the bank would not have issued

the letter of credit without this security. A secured creditor was substituted for an

unsecured creditor to the detriment of the other unsecured creditors.

831 F.2d at 594-95.

A5

The trustee responds that the bankruptcy court determined that

section 547(b)(5) was satisfied on the basis of the bankruptcy schedules

which showed LSC was grossly undersecured.* The trustee correctly

points out that he asked the bankruptcy court to take judicial notice of

the schedules, and that LSC did not object.$ In its memorandum deci-

sion, the bankruptcy court stated that “the essential facts appear from

undisputed documents or are otherwise admitted....’’ LSC again

made no motion or objection to this statement in the bankruptcy court.

LSC did not protest the bankruptcy court’s reliance on the schedules

until LSC was before the district court on appeal, where LSC com-

plained in its brief that although the bankruptcy court “did take judi-

cial notice of the Bankruptcy schedules. . . that is not evidence nor is it

binding on LSC.” This protest, however, was too late, and because

LSC failed to object to the schedules at the trial level in the bankruptcy

court, the schedules are indeed binding on LSC. Cf. In re Shults, 28

B.R. 395, 396 (Bankr. 9th Cir. 1983) (debtors impliedly consented to

trial of creditor’s claims for relief as presented through failure to

object).

On the basis of these schedules, the bankruptcy court found that

because the unsecured claims on the debtor’s estate could not be satis-

fied in full, the transfer at issue gave LSC more than it would have

received in a Chapter 7 liquidation without the transfer. The trustee

therefore met his burden under section 547(b)(5).

LSC makes much of the fact that there was no hearing in the bank-

ruptcy court. LSC argues that it is impossible to determine whether

the certificate of deposit was purchased with the debtor’s own funds,

and now asks this court to remand the case for a hearing on the origin of

the $20,000.

When a third party makes a loan toa debtor which enables the debtor to

satisfy a creditor’s claim, the proceeds of the loan do not become part of

the debtor’s estate. See Jn re Price Chopper Supermarkets, Inc., 40

B.R. 816, 820 (Bankr.S.D.Cal.1984); Jn re Castillo, 39 B.R. 45, 46

(Bankr.D.Colo.1984); Jn re Sun Railings, Inc., 5 B.R. 538, 539

(Bankr.S.D.Fla.1980). There are several possible sources from which

“The bankruptcy court found that ACI’s total debts exceeded its assets by at least

$50,000. ACI’s personal preperty, valued by ACI at $21,711, was subject to liens of

$173,470. The trustee had sold all of ACI’s tangible personal property for $1,000. The

court concluded that LSC was “grossly undersecured.”

*The transcript of the October 24, 1985 hearing reads:

The Court: You would ask me to take judicial notice of the schedules?

[Counsel for the Trustee]: Yes, your Honor.

The Court: The schedules will tell me what the debts are.

Counsel for LSC responded to this exchange by renewing his argument that a letter

of credit cannot be property of the debtor’s estate. At no time did LSC object to the

introduction or use of the bankruptcy schedules.

A6

the $20,000 could have come such that the transfer to the bank would

not have created a preference. Once again, LSC did not initiate an

inquiry into this possibly important issue.

In its brief to the district court, LSC argued that “‘[n]o discovery ever

took place on that issue as the Bankruptcy Judge deemed it to be irrele-

vant.” This is not, however, an accurate account of what occurred in

the bankruptcy court. At the October 24, 1985 hearing, LSC raised the

issue of the source of the funds used to purchase the certificate of

deposit. The bankruptcy judge responded:

I wili. . . allow you, for the purposes of protecting your record, to pur-

sue discovery on that point, and I will require any person that you

want answers from to give you answers that would give the entire

genesis and the history of that money within-reason, if that is your

wish...

Thus the bankruptcy court practically encouraged LSC to pursue dis-

covery on this issue. LSC simply failed to foliow up.®

LSC raises some potentially meritorious contentions with respect to

the source of the $20,000. LSC did not pursue these avenues, however,

in the bankruptcy court. Although we will consider an issue not raised

below if it involves a pure question of law and if refusal to consider it

would result in a miscarriage of justice, Roofing & Sheet Metal Serus.,

Inc. v. La Quinta Motor Inns, Inc., 689 F.2d 982, 990 (11th Cir.1982),

the issue in this case of the source of the $20,000 is a pure question of

fact. Bankruptcy cases are to be tried in bankruptcy court. We therefore

affirm the district court and the bankruptcy court and held that the

trustee proved all elements of a preferential transfer under 11 U.S.C.

§ 547(b).

B.

Despite the existence of a transfer which satisfies the five elements

of section 547(b), the trustee may not avoid a transfer as a preference if

the transfer was “intended by the debtor and the creditor to or for

whose benefit such transfer was made to be a contemporaneous exchange

for new value given to the debtor....”’ Jd. at § 547(c)(1)(A).? LSC

argues that its acceptance of the letter of credit and its release of its

right to seize ACI’s inventory and property pursuant to the supplemental

*LSC similarly argued to the district court that it had never waived its right to pre-

sent evidence. This is true. It is also true, however, and more determinative of this

appeal, that LSC did not pursue the opportunities it had to discover and present

evidence.

"The Bankruptcy Code defines ‘“‘new value” as money or money’s worth in goods,

services, or new credit, or release by a transferee of property previously transferred to

such transferee in a transaction that is neither void nor voidable by the debtor or the

trustee under any applicable law, including proceeds of such property, but does not

include an obligation substituted for an existing obligation. 11 U.S.C. § 547(a)(2).

A7

writ of replevin constitute “new value” under section 547(c)(1)(A).

This argument overlooks the fact that whatever value LSC created

by these actions was not new. As in Compton, the bank in this case

issued the letter of credit “‘to secure an antecedent unsecured debt due

the beneficiary of the letter of credit. The unsecured creditor beneficiary

gave no new value upon the issuance of the letter of credit.’” Compton,

831 F.2d at 594. An agreement by an undersecured creditor to forego its

right to foreclose on collateral cannot be treated as a new value under

section 547. Drabkin v. A.I. Credit Corp., 800 F.2d 1158, 1159 (D.C.

Cir.1986). Forbearance from exercising pre-existing rights does not

consititute new value under section 547(a)(2). See Charisma Inv. Co.,

N.V. v. Air Florida Sys., Inc., 68 B.R. 596, 600-03 (S.D.Fla. 1986);

Matter of Lario, 36 B.R. 582, 584 (Bankr.S.D.Ohio 1983); cf. Matter of

Duffy, 3 B.R. 263, 266 (Bankr.S.D.N.Y.1980) (forbearance by lessor

from repossession of rented vehicle did not enhance the value of debtor’s

estate and therefore did not constitute new value within § 547(c)(1) as

defined by § 547(a)(2)). The letter of credit transaction therefore did

not give ACI new value, and LSC cannot use section 547(c)(1) as a

defense to the trustee’s avoidance of the preferential transfer under

section 547(b).

C.

Finally LSC argues that the district court erred by allowing the trustee

to recover the proceeds of the letter of credit from LSC pursuant to 11

U.S.C. § 550(a)(1) because the trustee sought relief from the bank and

not LSC. LSC complains that the trustee’s complaint failed to give

LSC notice of the nature of the claim against it, and the remedy reques-

ted, thus depriving LSC of procedural due process.

LSC doth protest too much. Although the parties’ initial pleadings

were perhaps misguided, see supra note 2, it has been clear from the

outset what this dispute is about: The $20,000 certificate of deposit. The

district court, in fact, did not allow the trustee to recover the proceeds

of the letter of credit (as LSC characterizes the district court’s judg-

ment). Instead, the district court correctly allowed the trustee to

recover from LSC the property transferred: the certificate of deposit.

The Bankruptcy Code explicitly provides for this by allowing the trustee

to recover a preferential transfer from ‘‘the initial transferee of such

transfer or the entity for whose benefit such transfer was made... .”’

11 U.S.C. § 550(a)(1) (emphasis added). The district court did this

primarily to uphold the sanctity of letters of credit as vital instruments

of commerce, the virtues of which LSC so vigorously extols. The record

thoroughly presented the preference issue, and the district court did

not abuse its discretion in resolving it. See In re Pizza of Hawaii, Inc.,

761 F.2d 1374, 1380 (9th Cir.1985); cf. Inre Espino, 806 F.2d 1001, 1002

A8&

(11th Cir.1986) (where the record reflects an issue was presented in a

cursory manner and never properly presented to the bankruptcy court,

the issue is not preserved for appeal).* We therefore affirm the district

court’s ruling that the trustee can recover the transfer under section

590(a).

III.

The district court’s order affirming the bankruptcy court’s award of

attorneys’ fees associated with American Bank’s initial interpleader

action is REVERSED. In all other repsects, the district court’s judg-

ment is AFFIRMED.

*LSC attempts to distinguish Pizza of Hawaii on the grounds that the bankruptcy

court denied LSC the opportunity to develop a complete factual record on the pre-

ference issue. The bankruptcy court, however, did not deny LSC this opportunity. See

supra Part II.A.

A9

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-5223 FLED

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

IN RE: ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

AIR CONDITIONING, INC. OF STUART,

JUN 2 0 1988

Debtor,

AMERICAN BANK OF MARTIN COUNTY, MIGUEL J. CORTEZ

DOUGLASS W. WENDEL, trustee, CLERK

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

versus

LEASING SERVICE CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United State District Court for the

Southern District of Florida

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING

(June 20, 1988)

BEFORE: VANCE and ANDERSON, Circuit Judges, and

BROWN’, Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM:

The petition (s) for rehearing filed by appellant,

LEASING SERVICE CORPORTATION, is Denied.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Robert S. Vance

United States Circuit Judge

*Honorable John R. Brown, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the Fifth Circuit,

sitting by designation.

Al10

In re AIR CONDITIONING, INC. OF

STUART, Debtor.

LEASING SERVICE,

CORPORATION, Appellant,

v

Douglas E. WENDEL, as trustee for Air

Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart, and American

Bank of Martin County, Appellees.

Bankruptcy Nos. 86-8006-CIV-NES-

BITT, 84-01395-BKC-TCB and

85-0965-BKC-TCB-A.

United States District Court,

S.D. Florida.

May 10, 1987.

CORRECTED MEMORANDUM

OPINION AND ORDER

NESBITT, District Judge.

I. NATURE OF THE APPEAL

This is an appeal from a memorandum decision and judgment by the

United States Bankruptcy Court entered in an adversary proceeding

involving a pre-bankruptcy transaction by the debtor. The Bank-

ruptcy Court nullified the debtor’s promissory note, an assignment of

its certificate of deposit and a Bank’s letter of credit and ordered return

of the certificate of deposit to the bankrupt’s estate. Upon review of the

decision and judgment of the Bankruptcy Court the Bankruptcy Court’s

“[flindings of fact should not be set aside unless clearly erroneous.”

Bankruptcy Rule 8013, Jn re All American of Ashburn, Inc., 805 F.2d

1515 (11th Cir.1986); Matter of Hammons, 614 F.2d 399 (5th Cir.1980).

However, the conclusions of law made by the Bankruptcy Court are

subject to de novo review by this Court. Jn Re All American, supra;

Hammons, supra. For the reasons hereinafter given upon a de novo

review, the Bankruptcy Court’s conclusion of law by which it “nullified” a

letter of credit is contrary to controlling principles of law and shall be

reversed. In all other respects the opinion and judgment appealed from

is affirmed.

Il. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On or about April 24, 1984 Leasing Service Corporation (LSC)

obtained a writ of replevin directed toward the recovery of computer

equipment which was leased by it to Air Conditioning, Inc. of Stuart,

(ACI). LSC sought the writ as a result of ACI’s failure to make payments

on account of debt admittedly owing and past due under the lease of

All

the computer equipment owned by LSC. A supplemental writ of replevin

was issued on May 9, 1984 to recover all of ACI’s ‘‘goods and assets”’ in

which LSC had a security interest pursuant to the term of the lease.

Apparently to avoid being put out of business completely, ACI arranged

for a $20,000 letter of credit to be issued on June 15, 1984 by AMERICAN

BANK OF MARTIN COUNTY (AMERICAN BANK) for the account

and benefit of LSC in return for LSC’s promise not to enforce the

second writ of replevin. As consideration for AMERICAN BANK’s

issuance of the letter of credit ACI executed an unsecured promissory

note dated June 15, 1984 and payable to AMERICAN BANK, which

was to be secured by a $20,000 certificate of deposit owned by the debtor

ACI' The assignment and delivery of the certificate of deposit took

place some six days later, on or about June 21, 1984.

On July 25, 1984, just over one month later, ACI filed a voluntary

petition in bankruptcy under Chapter 11. Thereafter LSC sought and

obtained relief from the automatic stay to liquidate the computer system

previously replevied by it from ACI. The liquidation of the computer

equipment was not sufficient to discharge the amount due and owing

LSC. On November 8, 1984 the Chapter 11 case was converted to a

Chapter 7 liquidation proceeding and Douglass E. Wendel was appointed

as trustee (Trustee). On May 10, 1985 LSC obtained a state court judg-

ment in the amount of $40,447 against ACI.

Thereafter, on or about May 23, 1985, LSC made a timely demand

upon AMERICAN BANK to honor its letter of credit. Instead of honoring

the draft, AMERICAN BANK filed an adversary proceeding against

LSC in the Bankruptcy Court seeking inter alia a judgment determining

the validity of any lien or interest by LSC in the letter of credit. The

trustee filed an intervention complaint seeking the return of the certifi-

cate of deposit on the theory that its transfer constituted a voidable

preference under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b). LSC took the position that there

had been no transfer of property to or for the benefit of a creditor, an

essential element of a preference under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b)(1). After

some threshold issues being raised as to whether the Bankruptcy Court

should dismiss or decline to exercise jurisdiction, the Bankruptcy

Judge conducted two hearings and after considering stipulated facts

and memorandums of law entered the decision and judgment ap-

pealed from.

The creditor LSC urges several procedural and substantive grounds for

reversal or for remand with instructions to enter judgment for LSC and

against the AMERICAN BANK in accordance with the terms of

‘The promissory note provided that the $20,000 certificate of deposit was to be

deposited with the bank no later than fifteen (15) days from the date of the note.

Al2

the letter of credit. LSC claims error by the Bankruptcy Judge’s

“enjoining”’ the drafting of the letter of credit and cites a legion of legal

authority for the proposition that it is “improper’’ for a Bankruptcy

Court to enjoin the drafting upon a letter of credit on the theory that

preference has occurred or may occur by reason of the honoring of the

letter of credit. Jn re Clothes, Inc., 35 B.R. 489 (Bankr.D.N.D.1983), Jn

re Price Chopper Supermarkets Inc., 40 B.R. 816 (Bankr.S.D.

Calif.1984). However, the Bankruptcy Court did not “enjoin” the let-

ter of credit, but agreed with AMERICAN BANK’s position that the

letter of credit should be canceled and the bank released from its

obligations thereunder. The net effect, however, was to nullify the let-

ter of credit which could threaten the disruption of commerce and

banking as they are dependent upon the traditional integrity of the letter

of credit.

The trustee, having prevailed, urges affirmance of the Bankruptcy

Court ruling as being ‘“‘well within the jurisdiction of the Bankruptcy

Court” to set aside a preferential transfer under § 547 of the Bank-

ruptcy Code.

The New York Clearing House Association (the “Clearing House’’)

has filed an amicus curiae brief before this Court. The Clearing House

urges that the Bankruptcy Court decision nullifying the letter of credit

is contrary to well established legal precedent and “‘threatens to create

uncertainty and confusion which would undermine the function of letters

of credit generally as an essential element of commerce.”

III. LEGAL DISCUSSION

The primary issue which governs disposition of this appeal is whether

under the stipulated facts of this case the Bankruptcy Court exceeded

its authority when it nullified the letter of credit. This, in turn, depends

on whether the letter of credit transaction was a transfer of property of

the debtor (ACI) for the benefit of the creditor (LSC) so as to be con-

sidered a preferential transfer under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b).

In order to put this case in perspective an important fact should be

kept in mind. The debt owed by ACI to LSC existed prior to the

issuance of the letter of credit. In other words, there is no question that

the debt owed by ACI was an “antecedent” debt. Thus, if ACI had

given LSC an additional security interest of any kind to secure repay-

ment of the debt, rather than providing for the issuance of the letter of

credit, the transfer clearly would have been subject to being avoided as

a preference by the trustee under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b)? The question

211 U.S.C. § 547(b) provides that “the trustee may avoid any transfer of an interest

of the debtor in property. . . (2) for or on account of an antecedent debt owed by the debtor

before such transfer was made.”

Al3

that then arises is whether a debtor should be able, through the

recognized sanctity of a letter of credit, tosecure payment of an antece-

dent debt when he could not do so through any other type of security

interest.

One can understand how in the interest of efficiency, and looking to

substance rather than form, the Bankruptcy Court found that the letter of

credit was part of a “single contemporaneous transaction’’(i.e., the

promissory note, the letter of credit and the assignment of collateral)

which transferred property of the bankrupt debtor. Additionally, the

transfer of the certificate of deposit depleted the estate of the bankrupt

debtor ACI and conferred a benefit on the creditor LSC to the detri-

ment of other creditors which is the essence of a preferential transfer.

However, there is an equally compelling factor to be considered in

that a letter of credit is traditionally an instrument of commerce that

travels with no baggage except that which is acquired by its terms. The

independence of the letter of credit is well established. It is a fun-

damental principle of commercial transactions that a letter of credit is

an undertaking solely of the issuing bank to the beneficiary; it is

independent of the obligations of the issuing bank and the account

party. See Fla.Stat. § 675.109. Pringle-Associated Mortgage Corp. v.

Southern National Bank, 571 F.2d 871 (5th Cir.1978); Pro-Fab, Inc. v.

Vipa Inc., 772 F.2d 847 (11th Cir.1985). Thus under the facts of this

case, an apparent conflict exists between the preference provisions of

the Bankruptcy Code and established principles governing the unique-

ness of a letter of credit.

Putting aside the propriety of the Bankruptcy Court “nullifying a

letter of credit’ as a remedy, it is necessary first to determine whether

the composite transaction completed between ACI and the AMERICAN

BANK during the six day period between June 15, and June 21, 1984

constituted a “‘preference.” The creditor LSC conceded three of the

five elements of a preference as specified in 11 U.S.C. § 547, contesting

only elements (1) and (5). The pertinent parts of § 547(b) are as

follows:

«the trustee may avoid any transfer of an interest of the debtor in

property—

(1) to or for the benefit of a creditor. . . (and)

(5) that enables such creditor to receive more than such creditor

would receive (in Chapter 7 liquidation proceedings).”

Once a preference is established under § 547(b) the trustee may recover, if

the Court so orders, the ‘“‘value of such property, from. . .the initial

transferee of such transfer or the entity for whose benefit such transfer

was made...” § 550(a)(1).

a. Transfer of Property of the Debtor to or for Benefit of a Creditor

Al4

LSC takes the position that there was no transfer of property by ACI

for the benefit of LSC because the only transfer of the debtor’s property

occurred six days after the issuance of the letter of credit when ACI

delivered the $20,000 certificate of deposit to AMERICAN BANK. It

follows therefore, according to LSC, that at the time the letter of credit

was issued for the benefit of LSC, there was no transfer of the debtor’s

property for LSC’s benefit, and that since LSC was not a party to the

transaction between AMERICAN BANK and ACI, it did not receive a

preference by receiving the letter of credit. LSC further reasons that at

the time the certificate of deposit was pledged it was for the benefit of

the Bank and became the Bank’s collateral, not LSC’s, and therefore

the issuance of the letter of credit was not a transfer of property of the

debtor’s estate for the benefit of a creditor. LSC concludes that if any-

one, it was AMERICAN BANK that received a preferential transfer

because it transformed an unsecured obligation of ACI into a secured

obligation within ninety (90) days of the filing of the chapter 11 peti-

tion, and as it did not receive the certificate of deposit until six days

after the letter of credit was issued.

LSC’s analysis seems reasonable at first blush, particularly as there

is no evidence of any urging by LSC for ACI to obtain the letter of credit

to the disadvantage of other creditors, and for the further reason that

LSC “gave up” pursuing its second writ of replevin in exchange for the

letter of credit. However, LSC’s analysis is lacking in some important

respects.

First, although the transfer of the certificate of deposit (the debtor’s

property) was made to AMERICAN BANK it was clearly “for the

benefit” of LSC because it indirectly secured payment of an under-

secured antecedent debt owed by ACI. Secondly, it is not disputed that

the promised transfer of the certificate of deposit to AMERICAN

BANK induced the Bank to issue the letter of credit in favor of LSC.

Consequently, by the so-called ““contemporaneous transaction’”’ there

was a transfer of property of the debtor (ACI) for the benefit of the

creditor (LSC).

b.Creditor LSC Would Receive More Than in Chapter 7 Liquida-

tion Proceeding.

The next element the trustee must prove is that LSC would have

received more from the letter of credit transaction than they would

have received if the letter of credit transaction had not been made and

LSC received distribution under a Chapter 7 proceeding. § 547(b)(5).

The creditor asserts that there was no evidence before the Bankruptcy

Court as to the value of the debtor’s estate and therefore no such deter-

mination could have been properly made.

Upon a review of the transcript of October 24, 1985 it appears the

a

———————————

Ald

Bankruptcy Court conducted a hearing and elicited a narrowing of the

issues and stipulations by the parties and reflects that the Bankruptcy

schedules would be reviewed and relied on by the Bankruptcy Court to

determine whether LSC was an undersecured creditor. The Bank-

ruptcy Court in its opinion concluded the Bankrupt’s total debts

exceeded the total assets by approximately $50,000. Thus, the Bank-

ruptcy Court’s finding that the letter of credit would have enabled LSC

to recover more than they would under a Chapter 7 liquidation is sup-

ported by the record.

In summary, the Bankruptcy Court was correct in finding all the

elements of a preferential transfer to LSC. There was clearly a transfer

of property of the debtor for the benefit of a creditor when ACI obtained

the letter of credit secured by the certificate of deposit which was

timely delivered to AMERICAN BANK. Further, there is no question

that the transfer of the certificate of deposit depleted the estate of the

debtor. Since LSC was a vastly undersecured creditor prior to the date

the ____ letter of credit secured by the certificate of deposit was issued,

the letter of credit enabled it to receive more than it would have ina

Chapter 7 proceeding at the expense of other creditors. Also, as con-

ceded by LSC, the transfer of the certificate of deposit on June 21, 1984

was only one month before the bankruptcy petition was filed on July

25, 1984, well within the ninety day provision of § 547(b)(4). Additionally,

the debtor ACI was concededly insolvent at the time of the transfer

and, the transfer was made on account of antecedent debt.‘ Therefore,

all the elements of a preference have been met.

Having properly found a preference the Bankruptcy Court then

recited that the letter of credit was part of a “‘single contemporaneous

transaction” and concluded that the appropriate remedy was to nullify

the letter of credit issued by AMERICAN BANK. This is where the

Bankruptcy Court erred.

Even though a letter of credit may be ‘“‘contemporaneous”’ with

other agreements between debtors and creditors, it still includes by its

very nature and purpose an independent agreement between the

customer and the Bank which is to be treated separately from the

3[t apparently is undisputed that the debtor’s tangible personal property was subse-

quently sold by the trustee for only $1,000.00. Consequently, in light of the fact that

ACI was indebted to LSC in an amount exceeding $47 ,000.000, the Bankruptcy Court’s

finding that LSC was undersecured has been borne out by the facts and cannot be said

to be clearly erroneous.

“LSC also asserts that the transaction fits within the contemporaneous exchange

exception of § 547(c)(1) because it allegedly gave new value when it agreed not to

enforce the writ of replevin. However, simple forbearance from repossessing goods does

not constitute new value. Matter of Lario, 36 B.R. 582 (Bankr.S.D.Ohio1983); Matter

of Duffy, 3 B.R. 263 (Bankr.S.D.N.Y.1980).

Al6

agreement existing betweea the customer and the beneficiary. /n re

Clothes, supra.

In fact, the usefulness of a letter of credit as a recognize instrument

in commerce rests on the premise that timely payment under the letter

of credit will be forthcoming so long as the beneficiary complies with

the terms and conditions of the letter of credit, regardless of any dis-

pute between the account party and beneficiary or issuing bank. East

Girard Savings Assn. v. Citizens Nat'l Bank & Trust Co. of Baytown,

593 F.2d 598 (5th Cir.1979). As was said in Pringle-Assoc. Mortg. Corp.

v. Southern Nat. Bank, 571 F.2d 871, 874 (5th Cir.1978):

The essence of a letter of credit is the promise by a bank, or other

issuer, to pay money. The key to the uniqueness of a letter of credit

and to its commercial vitality is that the promise by the issuer is

independent of any underlying contracts.

The trustee, having established a preferential transfer to LSC, is not

without a remedy even though the sanctity of the letter of credit is reaf-

firmed by this opinion. Section 550(a) provides that the trustee may

recover either the debtor’s property that was transferred or the value of

such property from “the entity for whose benefit the transfer was made.”

In this case the property transferred was the certificate of deposit and

the entity for whose benefit the transfer was made was LSC.

Since the creditor LSC received the benefit of a letter of credit as a

preferential transfer, the trustee should be able to recapture from LSC

the payment made pursuant to the letter of credit to the extent of the

value of the certificate of deposit transferred to AMERICAN BANK

without nullifying the letter of credit or the certificate of deposit itself.

While this procedure may appear to be revering form over substance,

as LSC will still “‘be out” the $20,000 under the facts of this case, LSC

was at least assured that they would receive payment under the letter

of credit. It is only the preference risk which may not be eliminated

under the facts and circumstances of this case. Thus, this procedure

only places the burden of repayment of the monies paid pursuant tothe

letter of credit where it belongs, upon LSC who received the preferen-

tial transfer to the detriment of other creditors of ACI, not upon

AMERICAN BANK who issued the letter of credit.

A discussion of the sanctity of the letter of credit, particulariy in

Florida, would not be complete without an acknowledgment of Matter

of Twist Cap, Inc., 1 B.R. 284 (Bankr.M.D.Fla.1979). Although not

referred to or mentioned by the Bankruptcy Court, it is relied on by the

trustee as authority for affirming the Judgment appealed from.

In Twist Cap, a Bank issued three letters of credit for the account of the

debtor Twist Cap in favor of two of Twist Cap’s creditors. The issuance

of the letters of credit took place more than four months before Twist

Al7

Cap filed a bankruptcy petition. The Bankruptcy Court issued a

temporary restraining order prohibiting payment on the letters of

credit in order to preserve the status quo pending a determination of

the rights of the parties.

The beneficiaries of the letters of credit challenged the jurisdiction

of the Bankruptcy Court to enjoin payment of the letter of credit as

they were not properties of the debtor Twist Cap. The Bankruptcy

Court rejected the beneficiary’s argument and granted a preliminary

injunction. The underlying basis for the Court’s decision was the view

that a letter of credit can constitute property of the bankrupt’s estate

and therefore is within the jurisdiction of the Bankruptcy Court.

The Twist Cap case did not invalidate or nullify the letter of credit as

was done by the Bankruptcy Court in this case. Further, the Twist Cap

decision has not been followed in subsequent decisions. See, e.g., Jn re

M.J. Sales & Distributing Co., Inc., 25 B.R. 608 (Bankr.S.D.N.Y.1982);

In re North Shore & Central Illinois Freight Co., 30 B.R. 377

(Bankr.N.D.IIl.1983); Matter of St. Petersburg Hotel Associates, Ltd.,

37 B.R. 380 (M.D.Fla.1984). Thus, Twist Cap is not determinative of

this proceeding.

IV. CONCLUSION

After due consideration the Court concludes that that portion of the

Bankruptcy Court’s Opinion and Judgment finding a preference in

favor of LSC is affirmed, and that portion of the opinion which nullifies

the letter of credit, promissory note and assignment of certificate of

deposit is reversed and this matter is remanded for further proceedings

not inconsistent with this opinion.

Al8

In re AIR CONDITIONING, INC. OF

STUART, Debtor(s).

AMERICAN BANK OF MARTIN COUNTY,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

LEASING SERVICE CORPORATION,

Defendant

Bankruptcy No. 84-01395-BKC-TCB

Adv. No.85-0965-BKC-TCB-A.

United States Bankruptcy Court,

S.D. Florida.

Nov. 12, 1985.

MEMORANDUM DECISION

THOMAS C. BRITTON, Bankruptcy Judge.

The plaintiff bank has sued a creditor of the debtor asking this court

to determine whether it owes $20,000 to the defendant/creditor or to

the debtor’s chapter 7 trustee. The creditor moved for abstention or

dismissal. (C.P. No. 3). The trustee moved to intervene and tendered a

complaint seeking recovery of the $20,000 upon the ground that it con-

stituted a voidable preference under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b). (C.P. No. 6).

The trustee has since abandoned a second count contained in the com-

plaint. The matter was heard on September 17 and October 24.

At the first hearing this court agreed with the defendant/creditor

that only the trustee has standing to maintain a preference action;

however, since the trustee has intervened and asserted the preference

claim, the creditor’s motion to abstain or dismiss was denied.

Though not framed as such, the complaint is in effect an inter-

pleader action under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1335, 1397, and 2361. B.R. 7022

incorporates Rule 22(1), Fed.R.Civ.P. See Wright & Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure: Civil, § 1701 ff. The $20,000 which is in dis-

pute is held by the plaintiff bank in the form of a certificate of deposit

drawing interest. Under these circumstances, plaintiff is excused from

depositing the sum into this court’s registry.

At the second hearing, the parties agreed that the essential facts

appear from undisputed documents or are otherwise admitted and the

parties stated their respective contentions. Further pleadings are,

therefore, unnecessary. The parties have since submitted their

arguments by memoranda.

The trustee claims that the following actions constituted a $20,000

preferential transfer of the debtor’s property to or for the benefit of the

creditor under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b).

Alg

On May 10, 1984 the creditor, Leasing Services, got a judgment

against the debtor for $40,447 on account of an antecedent debt admit-

tedly owing and past due. On April 24 and May 9 the creditor had

obtained two writs of replevin on account of the same claim. The first

was for the computer equipment leased to the debtor. The writ was

executed before bankruptcy.

By stipulations dated June 11 and June 19 the parties agreed that

the unexecuted second writ of replevin be replaced by a $20,000 letter

of credit issued June 15, 1984 by the plaintiff bank.

The consideration for issuance of the letter of credit was the debtor’s

note dated June 15 in the amount of $20,000 which was secured by the

assignment and delivery on June 21 to the bank of a $20,000 certificate

of deposit owned by the debtor.

The debtor’s bankruptcy petition was filed a month later on July 25.

The sum still due the creditor was $37,067 with 18% interest as of

November 6, 1984, after applying the proceeds ($5,000) from the execu-

tion of the first writ of replevin.

The creditor concedes three of the five elements specified in § 547(b),

contesting only the first and fifth. The first element is that there

was a:

“transfer of property of the debtor (1) to or for the benefit of a

creditor’.

The creditor argues that it received only the letter of credit which

was the bank’s property, not the debtor’s, and that there is no proof

where the money came from to purchase the letter of credit.

I agree with the trustee that the letter of credit was but a part of a

single contemporaneous transaction which included (a) the debtor’s

note to the bank (which bore the notation that its purpose was to

establish the letter of credit) and (b) the assignment of the debtor’s cer-

tificate of deposit. The assignment of the C.D. as security was an

express condition stated on the note for the issuance of the letter of

credit. By these documents both parties intended that $20,000 additional

collateral for the antecedent debt be furnished to the creditor by the

debtor through the bank as an intermediary. The transaction was con-

cluded within seven days. This composite transaction was a transfer of

the debtor’s property for the creditor’s benefit.

I also agree with the trustee that it is irrelevant where the money

came from to purchase the C.D. The certificate was unquestionably

property of the debtor and it was transferred by the debtor to the

bank.

The creditor also argues that it would be against public policy to permit

the nullification of a letter of credit under § 547. On the contrary, to

permit a debtor and creditor to evade the preference statute by this

A20

device would defeat the purpose of §547.

The trustee has proved the first element.

The fifth element requires proof that the transfer gave the creditor

more than it would receive under a chapter 7 liquidation of this debtor’s

estate had the transfer not occurred.

This creditor had a duly perfected security interest in the debtor’s:

“goods, chattels, fixtures, furniture and equipment’’. (C.P. No. 30).

This personal property was valued by the debtor at $21,711, but the

inventory ($17,241) was subject to a $169,000 lien of another party and

the remaining personalty ($4,470) was subject to purchase money liens

of $4,250. All of the debtor’s interest in its tangible personal property

was sold by the trustee on February 21, 1985 for $1,000. (C.P. No. 57).

The creditor is, therefore, grossly undersecured. The debtor’s total

debts exceeded its total assets by at least $50,000. Unsecured claims

cannot be satisfied in full from this estate. I find, therefore, that the

transfer at issue here gave the creditor far more than it would receive in

liquidation. Of course, if I am mistaken this creditor will suffer no

harm because this state is being liquidated now under chapter 7.

The creditor has also argued under § 547(c)(1) that the transfer was:

‘“‘a contemporaneous exchange for new value given to the debtor”.

The new value claimed is the creditor’s forbearance in executing its

second writ of replevin of May 9, 1984. That writ was aimed at the same

personal property just discussed which has been sold by the trustee

for $1,000.

Forbearance is not ‘“‘new value” as defined in § 547(a)(2). An obliga-

tion substituted for an existing obligation is expressly excluded from

the definition of ‘“‘new value’. Bavely v. Merchants National Bank

(Matter of Lario), 36 B.R. 582, 584 (Bankr.S.D.Ohio 1983); Matter of

Duffy, 3 B.R. 263, 266 (Bankr.S.D.N.Y.1980).

As required by B.R. 9021(a), a separate judgment will be entered

avoiding under § 547 and, therefore, nullifying the debtor’s note, the

debtor’s assignment of its certificate of deposit and the bank’s letter of

credit in favor of Leasing Services Corp. (each of which is in the

amount of $20,000). The bank will be ordered to deliver the debtor’s

certificate of deposit to the trustee. The creditor may continue enforce-

ment of its security interest as previously authorized by this court’s

order of October 4, 1984. (C.P. No. 30).

Upon its compliance with the foregoing requirements, the bank is

discharged of further liability to Leasing Services and, except under

the terms of the C.D., to the trustee.

Costs in the amount of $560 are assessed in favor of the plaintiff bank

against the disputed fund. Therefore this amount may be setoff against

the certificate of deposit. Wright & Miller, supra § 1719. Each party

shall bear anv other costs incurred by it.

A21

In the Matter of COMPTON CORP.,

Debtor.

Walter KELLOGG, Trustee,

Plaintiffs-Appellant,

Vv.

BLUE QUAIL ENERGY, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee,

and

MBank Abilene, N.A., Appellee.

No. 87-1135.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Nov. 12, 1987.

Rehearing Granted Jan. 12, 1988.*

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Texas.

Before BROWN, JOHNSON and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

JERRE S. WILLIAMS, Circuit Judge:

This is a bankruptcy preference case in which a bankruptcy trustee

seeks to recover a transfer made via a letter of credit for the benefit of

one of the debtor’s unsecured creditors on the eve of bankruptcy. The

bankruptcy court and the district court found there to be no voidable

preference. We reverse.

I. Factual Background

~ In March 1982, Blue Quail Energy, Inc., delivered a shipment of oil

to debtor Compton Corporation. Payment of $585,443.85 for this ship-

ment of oil was due on or about April 20, 1982. Compton failed to make

timely payment. Compton induced Abilene National Bank (now

MBank-Abilene) to issue an irrevocable standby letter of credit in Blue

Quail’s favor on May 6, 1982. Under the terms of the letter of credit,

payment of up to $585,443.85 was due Blue Quail if Compton failed to

pay Blue Quail this amount by June 22, 1982. Compton paid MBank

$1,463.61 to issue the letter of credit. MBank also received a promissory

note payable on demand for $585,443.85. MBank did not need a

security agreement to cover the letter of credit transaction because a

prior 1980 security agreement between the bank and Compton had a

future advances provision.' This 1980 security agreement had been

perfected as to a variety of Compton’s assets through the filing of

several financing statements. The most recent financing statement

*Opinion on rehearing, 835 F.2d 584.

‘A future advances clause ina security agreement subjects the specified collateral to

any future loan made by the creditor in addition to the current loans.

A22

had been filed a year before, May 7, 1981. The letter of credit on its face

noted that it was for an antecedent debt due Blue Quail.

On May 7, 1982, the day after MBank issued the letter of credit in

Blue Quail’s favor, several of Compton's creditors filed an involuntary

bankruptcy petition against Compton. On June 22, 1982, MBank paid

Blue Quail $569,932.03 on the letter of credit after Compton failed to

pay Blue Quail.

In the ensuing bankruptcy procceding, MBank’s aggregate secured

claims against Compton, including the letter of credit payment to Blue

Quail, were paid in full from the liquidation of Compton’s assets which

served as the bank’s collateral. Walter Kellogg, bankruptcy trustee for

Compton, did not contest the validity of MBank’s secured claim against

Compton’s assets for the amount drawn under the letter of credit by

Blue Quail. Instead, on June 14, 1983, trustee Kellogg filed a complaint

in the bankruptcy court against Blue Quail asserting that Blue Quail

had received a preferential transfer under 11 U.S.C. § 547 through the

letter of credit transaction. The trustee sought to recover $585,443.85

from Blue Quail pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 550.

Blue Quail answered and filed a third party complaint against

MBank. On June 16, 1986, Blue Quail filed a motion for summary

judgment asserting that the trustee could not recover any preference

from Blue Quail because Blue Quail had been paid from MBank’s

funds under the letter of credit and therefore had not received any of

Compton’s property. On August 27, 1986, the bankruptcy court granted

Blue Quail’s motion, agreeing that the payment under the letter of

credit did not consitute a transfer of debtor Compton’s property but

rather was a transfer of the bank’s property. The bankruptcy court

entered juagment on the motion on September 10, 1986. Trustee

Kellogg appealed this decision to the district court. On December 11,

1986, the district court affirmed the bankruptcy court ruling, holding

that the trustee did not establish two necessary elements of a voidable

transfer under 11 U.S.C. § 547. The district court agreed with Blue

Quail and the bankruptcy court that the trustee could not establish

that the funds transferred to Blue Quail were ever property of Compton.

Furthermore, the district court held that the transfer of the increased

security interest to MBank was a transfer of the debtor’s property for

the sole benefit of the bank and in no way benefitted Blue Quail. The

district court therefore found no voidable preference as to Blue Quail.

The trustee is appealing the decision to this Court.

II. The Letter of Credit

It is well established that a letter of credit and the proceeds therefrom

are not property of the debtor’s estate under 11 U.S.C. §541./n re W.L.

A23

Mead, Inc., 42 B.R. 57 (Bankr.N.D.Ohio, W.D.1984); Jn re Leisure

Dynamics, Inc., 33 B.R. 171 (Bankr.Minn.1983); In re North Shore &

Central Illinois Freight Co., 30 B.R. 377 (Bankr.N.D.Ill., E.D.1983);

In re M.J. Sales & Distributing Co., 25 B.R. 608 (Bankr.S.D.N.Y.1982).

When the issuer honors a proper draft under a letter of credit, it does so

from its own assets and not from the assets of its customer who caused

the letter of credit to be issued. Jn re W.L. Mead; Inre M.J. Sales. Asa

result, a bankruptcy trustee is not entitled to enjoin a post petition

payment of funds under a letter of credit from the issuer to the

beneficiary, because such a payment is not a transfer of debtor’s pro-

perty (a threshold requirement under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b). A case

apparently holding otherwise, Jn re Twist Cap., Inc., 1 B.R. 284

(Bankr.Fla.1979), has been roundly criticized and otherwise ignored

by courts and commentators alike.

Recognizing these characteristics of a letter of credit ina bankruptcy

case is necessary in order to maintain the independence principle, the

cornerstone of letter of credit law. Under the independence principle,

an issuer’s obligation to the letter of credit’s beneficiary is independent

from any obligation between the beneficiary and the issuer’s cus-

tomer. All a beneficiary has to do to receive payment under a letter of

credit is to show that it has performed all the duties required by the letter

of credit. Any disputes between the beneficiary and the customer do

not affect the issuer’s obligation to the beneficiary to pay under the letter

of credit.

Letters of credit are most commonly arranged by a party who benefits

from the provision of goods or services. The party wil! request a bank to

issue a letter of credit which names the provider of the goods or services

as the beneficiary. Under a standby letter of credit, the bank becomes

primarily liable to the beneficiary upon the default of the bank’s cus-

tomer to pay for the goods or services. The bank charges a fee to issue a

letter of credit and to undertake this liability. The shifting of liability

to the bank rather than to the services or goods provider is the main

purpose of the letter of credit. After all, the bank is in a much better

position to assess the risk of its customer’s insolvency than is the ser-

vice or goods provider. It should be noted, however, that it is the risk of

the debtor’s insolvency and not the risk of a preference attack that a

bank assumes under a letter of credit transaction. Overall, the

independence principle is necessary to insure “the certainty of payments

for services or goods rendered regardless of any intervening misfortune

which may befall the other contracting party.” Jn re North Shore, 30

B.R. at 378.

The trustee in this case accepts this analysis and does not ask us to

upset it. The trustee is not attempting to set aside the post petition

A24

payments by MBank to Blue Quail under the letter of credit as a pref-

erence; nor does the trustee claim the letter of credit itself constitutes

debtor’s property. The trustee is instead challenging the earlier transfer

in which Compton granted MBank an increased security interest in its

assets to obtain the letter of credit for the benefit of Blue Quail.

Collateral which has been pledged by a debtor as security for a letter of

credit is property of the debtor’s estate. Jn re W.L. Mead, 42B.R. at 59.

The trustee claims that the direct transfer to MBank of the increased

security interest on May 6, 1982, also constituted an indirect transfer

to Blue Quail which occurred one day prior to the filing of the involun-

tary bankruptcy petition and is voidable as a preference under 11

U.S.C. § 547. This assertion of a preferential transfer is evaluated in

Parts III and IV of this opinion.

It is important to note that the irrevocable standby letter of credit in

the case at bar was not arranged in connection with Blue Quail’s initial

decision to sell oil to Compton on credit. Compton arranged for the letter

of credit after Blue Quail had shipped the oil and after Compton had

defaulted in payment. The letter of credit in this case did not serve its

usual function of backing up a contemporaneous credit decision,? but

instead served as a back up payment guarantee on an extension of

credit already in jeopardy. The letter of credit was issued to pay off an

antecedent unsecured debt. This fact was clearly noted on the face of

the letter of credit.* Blue Quail, the beneficiary of the letter of credit,

did not give new value for the issuance of the letter of credit by MBank

on May 6, 1982, or for the resulting increased security interest held by

MBank. MBank, however, did give new value for the increased security

interest it obtained in Compton’s collateral: the bank issued the letter

of credit.

When a debtor pledges its assets to secure a letter of credit, a transfer

of debtor’s property has occurred under the provisions of 11 U.S.C.

§ 547. By subjecting its assets to MBank’s reimbursement claim in the

event MBank had to pay on the letter of credit, Compton made a

transfer of its property. The broad definition of “transfer” under 11

U.S.C. § 101(50) is clearly designed to cover such a transfer. Overall,

the letter of credit itself and the payments thereunder may not be pro-

perty of debtor, but the collateral pledged as a security interest for the

letter of credit is.

Furthermore, in a secured letter of credit transaction, the transfer of

debtor’s property takes place at the time the letter of credit is issued

(when the security interest is granted) and received by the beneficiary,

?As was thecasein/nre W.L. Mead, Inc., Inre Leisure Dynamics, In re North Shore

& Central Illinois Freight Co., and In re M.J. Sales, all supra.

2The letter of credit was dated May 6, 1982, and noted that it covered delivery of

Oklahoma Sweet crude oil during March 1982.

A25

not at the time the issuer pays on the letter of credit. Jn re Briggs

Transportation Co., 37 B.R. 76, 79 (Bankr.Minn.1984). In re M.d.

Sales, supra (transfer of pledged collateral occurs not when bank

forecloses on it, but when it is pledged.)

The transfer toMBank of the increased security interest was a direct

transfer which occurred on May 6, 1982, when the bank issued the letter of

credit. Under 11 U.S.C. § 547(e)(2)(A), however, such a transfer is

deemed to have taken place for purposes of 11 U.S.C. § 547 at the time

such transfer ‘“‘takes effect’’ between the transferor and transferee if

such transfer is perfected within 10 days. The phrase “‘takes effect” is

undefined in the Bankruptcy Code, but under Uniform Commercial

Code Article 9 law, a transfer of a security interest ‘“‘takes effect” when

the security interest attaches. Because of the future advances clause in

MBank’s 1980 security agreement with Compton, the attachment of

the MBank’s security interest relates back to May 9, 1980, the date the

security agreement went into effect. The bottom line is that the direct

transfer of the increased security interest to MBank is artifically deemed

to have occurred at least by May 7, 1981, the date MBank filed its final

financing statement, for purposes of a preference attack against the

bank.* This date is well before the 90 day window of 11 U.S.C.

§ 547(b)(4)(A). This would protect the bank from a preference attack

by the trustee even if the bank had not given new value at the time it

received the increased security interest. MBank is therefore protected

from a preference attack by the trustee for the increased security

interest transfer under either of two theories: under 11 U.S.C. § 547(c)(1)

because it gave new value and under the operation of the relation back

provision of 11 U.S.C. § 547(e)(2)(A). The bank is also protected from

any claims of reimbursement by Blue Quail because the bank received

no voidable preference.

The relation back provision of 11 U.S.C. § 547(e)(2)(A), however,

applies only to the direct transfer of the increased security interest to

MBank. The indirect transfer to Blue Quail that allegedly resulted

from the direct transfer to MBank occurred on May 6, 1982, the date of

issuance of the letter of credit. The relation back principle of 11 U.S.C. -

§ 547(e)(2)(A) does not apply to this indirect transfer to Blue Quail.

Blue Quail was not a party to the security agreement between MBank

and Compton. So it will not be able to utilize the relation back provi-

sion if it is deemed to have received an indirect transfer resulting from

the direct transfer of the increased security interest to MBank. Blue

“Tex. Bus. & Com.Code Ann. § 9.312(g) specifies that for purposes of priority among

competing secured parties, the security interest for a future advance has the same

priorty as the security interest for the first advance. Conflicting security interests rank

according to priority in time of filing or perfection. Tex.Bus. & Com.Code Ann.

§ 9.312(e)(1)

A26

Quail, therefore, cannot assert either of the two defenses to a preference

attack which MBank can claim. Blue Quail did not give new value

under § 547(c)(1), and it received a transfer within 90 days of the filing

of Compton’s bankruptcy petition.’

III. Direct/Indirect Transfer Doctrine

The federal courts have long recognized that “[t]o constitute a pref-

erence, it is not necessary that the transfer be made directly to the

creditor.” National Bank of Newport v. National Herkimer County

Bank, 225 U.S. 178, 184, 32 S.Ct. 663, 635¢G, 56 L.Ed. 1042¢G (1912).

“If the bankrupt has made a transfer of his property, the effect of which

is toenable one of his creditors to obtain a greater percentage of his debt

than another creditor of the same class, circuity of arrangement wiil

not avail to save it.’’ Jd. (Emphasis added). To combat such circuity,

the courts have broken down certain transfers into two transfers, one

direct and one indirect. The direct transfer to the third party may be

valid and not subject toa preference attack. The indirect transfer, aris-

ing from the same action by the debtor, however, may constitute a void-

able preference as to the creditor who indirectly benefitted from the

direct transfer to the third party.

This is the situation presented in the case before us. The term

“transfer” as used in the various bankruptcy statutes through the

years has always been broad enough to cover such indirect transfers

and to catch various circuitous arrangements. Katz v. First National

Bank of Glen Head, 568 F.2d 964, 969 n. 4, (2nd Cir.), cert, denied, 434

U.S. 1069, 98 S.Ct. 1250¢G, 55 L.Ed.2d 771¢G (1978). The new Bank-

ruptcy Code implicitly adopts this doctrine through its broad defini-

tion of ‘‘transfer.”* Examining the case law that has developed since

the National Bank of Newport case yields an understanding of what

types of transfers the direct/indirect doctrine is meant to cover.

In Palmer v. Radio Corporation of America, 453 F.2d 1133 (5th

Cir.1971), athird party purchased from the debtor a television station

for $40,000 cash and the assumption of certain liabilities of the debtor,

including unsecured claims by creditor RCA. This Court found the

direct transfer from the debtor to the third party purchaser constituted

an indirect preferential transfer to creditor RCA. We found that the

assumption by the third party purchaser of the debt owed by the debtor

to RCA and the subsequent payments made thereunder constituted a

voidable transfer as to RCA. The court noted that such indirect transfers

as this had long been held to constitute voidable preferences under

bankruptcy laws. 458 F.2d at 1136.

‘Nor does Blue Quail have the protection of the 11 U.S.C. § 547(c)(2) “ordinary

course of business” preference exception. Getting a standby letter of credit issued to

cover a debt several] weeks past due does not constitute ordinary course of business.

A27

Although the Palmer court did not elaborate its reasoning behind

this holding, such reasoning is self evident. A secured creditor was

essentially substituted for an unsecured creditor through the transfer

of the television station to the third party purchaser and the assump-

tion of the unsecured debt by the purchaser. The third party purchaser

was in effect secured because it had the television station. Creditor

RCA would receive payments directly from the solvent third party

without having to worry about its original debtor’s financial condition.

The original debtor’s other unsecured creditors were harmed because a

valuable asset of the debtor, the television station, was removed from

the debtor’s estate. The end result of the Palmer case was that the third

party’s payments on the RCA debt were to be made to the debtor’s

estate instead of to RCA. RCA would then recover the same percentage

of its unsecured claim from the estate as the other unsecured creditors.

In Jn re Conrad Corp., 806 F.2d 610 (5th Cir.1986), we found a void-

able indirect transfer on facts similar to those of Palmer v. Radio

Corporation of America. In the Conrad case, the debtors bought several

restaurants from the Burtons in exchange for an unsecured promissory

note. A third party in turn purchased the restaurants from the debtors

and assumed the payments to the Burtons on the promissory note.

Relying on the analysis of the Palmer case, we held that the transfer of

the restaurants by the debtors in exchange for a simultaneous assump-

tion of the Burton debt by the third party benefitted the Burtons and

constituted a voidable indirect transfer as to the Burtons.

We observed that as a result of executing the assumption of debt

agreement, the debtors transfered to the Burtons the debtors’ right to

receive from the third party so much of the sales price for the res-

taurants as was needed to reimburse the Burtons on their unsecured

note. Once again a secured creditor, in effect, was substituted for an

unsecured creditor by the transfer, and a depletion of the debtor’s

estate occurred. We held that the trustee of the debtor could recover

from the Burtons the payments made by the third party to the Burtons

and that the Burtons’ would recover only their proportionate share of

the value of the unencumbered assets of the debtor along with the other

unsecured creditors.

There are a number of federal cases in the other circuits supporting

the holdings and reasoning in our direct/indirect doctrine cases. In

Aulick v. Largent, 295 F.2d 41 (4th Cir.1961), a third party endorsed

the debtor’s antecedent obligation to one of the debtor’s unsecured

creditors in exchange for the transfer of some stock within the pre-

ference time period. The creditor eventually received payment from

the third party who in turn retained the pledged stock. The Fourth Cir-

cuit held that while the direct transfer of the stock to the third party to

A28

secure the contingent liability of the endorsement was not voidable

because it was a transfer for consideration presently furnished, the

indirect transfer to the unsecured creditor via the third party endorser

was a voidable preference. The creditor in Aulick made the same argu-

ment that Blue Quail makes in the case at bar. The creditor claimed

that the payment to it by the third party endorser came from the en-

dorser’s personal funds and thus the payment did not deplete the debtor’s

estate. Therefore one of the essential elements of a voidable preference

was lacking.

The court rejected this argument relying on National Bank of New-

port. The Aulick court found there to be two transfers arising from the

pledge of stock to the third party, one direct and one indirect, and then

collapsed them, in effect, into a single one for a preference attack

against the indirect transferee creditor. The court noted that if the

debtor had delivered the shares of stock directly to the unsecured

creditor as security for the antecedent debt, the creditor would have

clearly received a voidable preference. The court held that such a

result could not be avoided by indirect arrangement.’ “[P]references

obtained by indirect or circuitous arrangements are to be struck down

just as quickly as those obtained by direct arrangements.”295 F.2d

at 52.

In Virginia National Bank v. Woodson, 329 F.2d 836 (4th Cir.1964),

the debtor had several overdrawn accounts with his bank.* The debtor

talked his sister into paying off $8,000 of the overdrafts in exchange for

an $8,000 promissory note and an assignment of some collateral as

security. The debtor’s sister made the $8,000 payment directly to the

bank. The $8,000 technically was never part of the debtor’s estate. The

court, however, held that the payment of the $8,000 by the sister to the

bank was a preference as to the bank to the extent of the value of the

collateral held by the sister. The court noted that the measure of the

value of a voidable preference is dimunition of the debtor’s estate and

not the value of the transfer to the creditor.

In the Woodson case the sister was secured only to the extent the

pledged collateral had value; the remainder of her loan to her brother

’Apparently the bottom line in the Aulick case was that the creditor and not the

third party endorser was ultimately liable for the preferential transfer. This is the way

the preference provisions are supposed to work; it was the creditor, after all, and not

the endorser who was preferred. It should also be noted that there would have been no

preference attack against the creditor had not the endorser received the assignment of

stock from the debtor to secure its contingent liability on the endorsement. It is the

substitution of a secured creditor for a general unsecured creditor that constitutes the

voidable transfer as to the unsecured creditor. This is acommon theme underlying the

direct/indirect cases and applies with equal force to the case at bar.

*Unsecured antecedent debts.

A29

was unsecured. Swapping one unsecured creditor for another unsecured

creditor does not create any kind of preference. The court held that a pref-

erence in such a transaction arises only when a secured creditor is

swapped for an unsecured creditor. Only then is the pool of assets

available for distribution to the general unsecured creditors depleted

because the secured creditor has priorty over the unsecured creditors.

Furthermore, the court held that the bank and not the sister had

received the voidable preference and had to pay back to the trustee an

amount equal to the value of the collateral.

A slightly different indirect transfer was involved in Jn re Mercon

Industries, Inc., 87 B.R. 549 (Bankr.E.D.Penn.1984). In that case a

debtor paid off a non-insider unsecured creditor within one year of the

filing of the bankruptcy petition on a debt guaranteed by insiders of the

debtor. The payment to the creditor had the effect of releasing the

insider guarantors from contingent liability on the debt, thereby

benefitting the insiders. The court held that releasing an insider

guarantor from contingent liability is a beneficial transfer to the

guarantor for purposes of 11 U.S.C. § 547.

The court in Mercon viewed the payment to the non-insider creditor

as effecting two transfers under the Bankruptcy Code because of the

secondary liability of the guarantors on the debt. The court held that

while the direct transfer from the debtor to the non-insider creditor in

satisfaction of the primary debt may not be a voidable preference (if it

was made over 90 days of filing), the court found that the indirect

transfer to the insider guarantors extinguishing their contingent

liability (and their contingent unsecured claim for reimbursement)

was a separate voidable transfer under 11 U.S.C. § 547. Such an

indirect transfer is voidable if it occurred within one year of filing pur-

suant to § 547(b)(4)(B). Furthermore, the court held that because the

Bankruptcy Code “dictates that there are two transfers rather than

one, liability of the guarantors under § 547(b) need not be predicated

on a finding of an avoidable transfer to [the non-insider creditor], since

a finding of liability on one transfer is independent of the other, rather

than derivative.” 37 B.R. at 552. The court held that the insider

guarantors, and not the non-insider creditor, were ultimately liable for

this preference.®

*See also In re Deprizio Construction Co., 58 B.R. 478 (N.D.IIl.E.D.1986) (case with

similar facts and a similar holding). This case also described the bankruptcy courts’

equitable powers under 11 U.S.C. § 550 to preclude a trustee from recovering from

innocent creditors who were the initial direct transferees of a voidable indirect

preference.

A30

IV. The Direct/Indirect Doctrine in the Context

of a Letter of Credit Transaction

The case at bar differs from the cases discussed in Part III supra only

by the presence of the letter of credit as the mechanism for paying off

the unsecured creditor. Blue Quail’s attempt to otherwise distinguish

the case from the direct/indirect transfer cases does not withstand

scrutiny.

In the letter of credit cases discussed in Part II supra, the letters of

credit were issued contemporaneously with the initiai extension of

credit by the beneficiaries of the letters. In those cases the letters of

credit effectively served as security devices for the benefit of the creditor

beneficiaries and took the place of formal security interests. The courts

in those cases properly found there had been no voidable tranfers,

direct or indirect, in the letter of credit transactions involved. New

value was given contemporaneously with the issuance of the letters of

credit in the form of the extensions of credit by the beneficiaries of the

letters. As a result, the 11 U.S.C. § 547(c)(1) preference exception

was applicable.

The case at bar differs from these other letter of credit cases by one

very important fact: the letter of credit in this case was issued to secure

an antecedent unsecured debt due the beneficiary of the letter of

credit. The unsecured creditor beneficiary gave no new value upon the

issuance of the letter of credit. When the issuer paid off the letter of

credit and foreclosed on the collateral securing the letter of credit, a

preferential transfer had occurred. An unsecured creditor was paid in

full and a secured creditor was substituted in its place.

The district court upheld the bankruptcy court in maintaining the

validity of the letter of credit issued to cover the antecedent debt. The

district court held that MBank, the issuer of the letter of credit, could

pay off the letter of credit and foreclose on the collateral securing it. We

are in full agreement. But we also look to the impact of the transaction

as it affects the situation of Blue Quail in the bankrupt estate. We hold

that the bankruptcy trustee can recover from Blue Quail, the beneficiary

of the letter of credit, because Blue Quail received an indirect pre-

ference. This result preserves the sanctity of letter of credit and carries

out the purposes of the Bankruptcy Code by avoiding a preferential

transfer. MBank, the issuer of the letter of credit, being just the inter-

mediary through which the preferential transfer was accomplished,

completely falls out of the picture and is not involved in this particular

legal proceeding.

MBank did not receive any preferential transfer — it gave new value

for the security interest. Furthermore, because the direct and indirect

a

A31

transfers are separate and independent, the trustee does not even need

to challenge the direct transfer of the increased security interest to

MBank, or seek any relief at all from MBank, in order to attack the

indirect transfer and recover under 11 U.S.C. § 550 from the indirect

transferee Blue Quail.

We hold that a creditor cannot secure payment of an unsecured

antecedent debt through a letter of credit transaction when it could not

doso through any other type of transaction. The purpose of the letter of

credit transaction in this case was to secure payment of an unsecured

antecedent debt for the benefit of an unsecured creditor. This is the

only proper way to look at such letters of credit in the bankruptcy con-

text. The promised transfer of pledged collateral induced the bank to

issue the letter of credit in favor of the creditor. The increased security

interest held by the bank clearly benefitted the creditor because the

bank would not have issued the letter of credit without this security. A

secured creditor was substituted for an unsecured creditor to the detri-

ment of the other unsecured creditors.

We also hold, therefore, that the trustee can recover under 11 U.S.C.

§ 550(a)(1) the value of the transferred property from “‘the entity for

whose benefit such transfer was made.” In the case at bar, this entity

was the creditor beneficiary, not the issuer, of the letter of credit even

though the issuer received the direct transfer from the debtor. The

entire purpose of the direct/indirect doctrine is to look through the

form of a transaction and determine which entity actually benefitted

from the transfer.'®

The fact that there was a prior security agreement between the issu-

ing bank and the debtor containing the future advances clause does not

alter this conclusion. As we pointed out in Part il supra, this prior

security agreement gave MBank an additional shield from preferential

attack because of the relation back mechanism of 11 U.S.C. § 547(e)(2)(A).

1i U.S.C. § 547(e)(2)(A), however, does not avail Blue Quail te shield

it from a preferential attack for the indirect transfer. The indirect

transfer to Blue Quail occured on May 6, 1982, when the letter of credit

was issued and the increased security interest was pledged. This was

the day before the involuntary bankruptcy petition was filed. For pur-

poses of 11 U.S.C. § 547, a transfer of Compton’s property for the

benefit of Blue Quail did occur within 90 days of the bankruptcy filing.

'°We have found only one prior case that has fully addressed the application of the

direct/indirect doctrine in the context of a letter of credit transaction. Jn re Air Con-

ditioning, Inc. of Stuart, 55 B.R. 157 (Bankr.S.D.Fla.1985), affirmed in part, reversed

in part 72 B.R. 657 (S.D.Fla.1987) (currently on appeal to the Eleventh Circuit). In a

carefully and thoroughly reasoned opinion, the court reached the same conclueion we

reach in this case.

A32

The bankruptcy and district courts erred in failing to analyze properly

the transfer of debtor's property that occurred when Compton pledged

its assets to obtain the letter of credit. This transfer consisted of two

aspects: the direct transfer to MBank which is not a voidable pre-

ference for various reasons and the indirect transfer to Blue Quail

which is a voidable preference.

All of the requirements of 11 U.S.C. § 547(b) have been satisfied in

the trustee’s preferential attack against Blue Quail. There was (1) a

transfer of Compton’s property for the benefit of Blue Quail (2) for an

antecedent debt owed by Compton (3) made while Compton was insol-

vent" (4) within 90 days before the date of the filing of the petition (5)

that enabled Blue Quail to receive more than it would receive under a

Chapter 7 liquidation.'? The net effect of the indirect transfer to Blue

Quail was to remove $585,443.85 from the pool of assets available to

Compton’s unsecured creditors and substitute in its place a secured

claim for the same amount.

The precise holding in this case needs to be emphasized. We do not

hold that payment under a letter of credit, or even a letter of credit

itself, constitute preferential transfers under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b) or

property of a debtor under 11 U.S.C. § 541. The holding of this case

fully allows the letter of credit to function. We preserve its sanctity and

the underlying independence doctrine. We do not, however, allow an

unsecured creditor to avoid a preference attack by utilizing a letter of

credit to secure payment of an antecedent debt. Otherwise the unsecured

creditor would receive an indirect preferential transfer from the grant-

ing of the security for the letter of credit to the extent of the value of

that security. Our holding does not affect the strength of or the proper

use of letters of credit. When a letter of credit is issued contem-

poraneously with a new extension of credit, the creditor beneficiary

will not be subject to a preferential attack under the direct/indirect doc-

trine elaborated in this case because the creditor will have given new

value in exchange for the indirect benefit of the secured letter of credit.

Only when a creditor receives a secured letter of credit to cover an

unsecured antecedent debt will it be subject to a preferential attack

under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b).

"There is a presumption that a debtor is insolvent at least 90 days prior to its bank-

ruptcy filing. 11 U.S.C. § 547(f).

'?There was undisputed evidence below that the other unsecured creditors of

Compton would receive less than fifty cents on the dollar for their unsecured claims.

A33

V. Liability of MBank for the Preferential Transfer

Blue Quail has no valid claim against MBank for reimbursement for

any amounts Blue Quail has to pay the trustee under the trustee’s pref-

erence claim, just as the trustee has no preference challenge against

MBank. Blue Quail received the preferential transfer, not MBank.

MBank gave new value in exchange for the increased security interest

in its favor. Thus, it is insulated from any assertion of a voidable pref-

erence. The bank in no way assumed the risk of a preference attack by

issuing the letter of credit. For these reasons, we affirm the district

court’s dismissal of Blue Quail’s request to proceed against MBank

for reimbursement."*

In addition, the trustee may not set aside the $1,463.61 fee Compton

paid MBank to issue the !xtter of credit. This payment is not a pref-

erential transfer. MBank has fully performed its duties under the

terms of the letter of credit and has earned this fee. The services

MBank rendered in issuing and executing the letter of credit constitute

new value under the 11 U.S.C. § 547(c)(1) preference exception.

VI. Conclusion

Blue Quail Energy received an indirect preferential transfer from

Compton Corporation on May 6, 1982, one day prior to the filing of

Compton’s bankruptcy petition. We reversethe district court and render

judgment in favor of Trustee Kellogg against Blue Quail Energy, Inc.

in the amount of $585,443.85 plus interest to be fixed by the district

court pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §§ 547, 550. The district court’s dismissal

of Blue Quail’s claim against MBank for reimbursement is affirmed.

REVERSED IN PART, AFFIRMED IN PART, AND REMANDED.

'2The liability of MBank to Blue Quail in the event of this Court's finding a preferen-

tial transfer to Blue Quail is interrelated with the Trustee’s preference challenge

against Blue Quail. The briefs of Blue Quail and Trustee Kellogg both addressed

this issue.

A34

In the Matter of COMPTON CORPORATION,

Debtor.

Walter KELLOGG, Trustee,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

BLUE QUAIL ENERGY, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee,

and

MBank Abilene, N.A., Appellee,

No. 87-1135.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Jan. 12, 1988.

Rehearing Denied Feb. 29, 1988

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING .

(Opinion November 12, 1987, 5th Cir.1987, 831 F.2d 586)

Before BROWN, JOHNSON and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

We grant the petition for rehearing for the narrow purpose of

remanding one additional matter to the district court.

Our previous decision, Matter of Compton Corp., 831 F.2d 586 (5th

Cir.1987), remanded this case in order for the district court to deter-

mine the amount of interest due on the preference claim. We now hold

that on remand the district court needs to make factual findings

regarding the amount MBank actually foreclosed on and received

from Compton Corp.’s trustee to cover the letter of credit transaction.

In addition, the district court needs to determine the amount Blue

Quail received from MBank under the letter of credit. The trustee

states the amount paid to Blue Quail on June 22 , 1982, by MBank

totaled $569,932.03, rather than $585,448.85, the face amount of the

letter of credit and the amount Compton owed Blue Quail. This is a

difference of $15,511.82. Whether this amount was paid to Blue Quail

on another occasion by MBank under the letter of credit, whether Blue

Quail and MBank reached some kind of compromise on the amount,

or whether Blue Quail received this amount directly from Compton

Corp. are all factual issues that need to be resolved by the district

court on remand.

Overall, the amount of the preference which Blue Quail! has to pay

over to the trustee, prior to interest adjustments, is limited to the

value of the collateral MBank actually foreclosed on to cover the letter

A35

of credit transaction. This amount represents the dimunition of the

assets in Compton’s estate available to the unsecured creditors. This

amount in turn is to be limited by the actual amount Blue Quail

received from MBank under the letter of credit transaction.

REHEARING GRANTED.

ADDITIONAL REMAND TO DISTRICT COURT.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.