Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Caucus Distributors, Inc. v. Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce

Supreme Court brief1989

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

: } Supreme Court, U.S,

FilLED

SFP 7 1988

NO. 88 JOSEPH F, SPANIOL, UR,

CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United

States

September Term, 1988

CAUCUS DISTRIBUTORS, INC., and CAMPAIGNER

PUBLICATIONS, INC., New York Corporations,

INDEPENDENT DEMOCRATS FOR LAROUCHE, an

unincorporated association, RON FREDMAN, RONALD R.

BETTAG, PAUL GREENBERG, and all other parties and

organizations acting in concert with the named Petitioners,

Petitioners,

v

MINNESOTA COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

MINNESOTA COURT OF APPEALS

OF COUNSEL:

Patrick J. Moran

Moran & Bladen, P.C.

1221 Lamar, Suite 517

Houston, Texas 77010

(713)759-1555

Counsel for Petitioners

Le)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

May notes evidencing a loan transaction made to a first

amendment political group by a supporter constitute

securities under the Minnesota Securities Act?

Has the regulation of federal election campaign

organizations been preempted by federal law to the extent

that the Minnesota Securities Act does not apply to such

an organization when a supporter makes a loan in

conformity with FEC rules and regulations and receives a

promissory note in return?

Do the first amendment rights of politically oriented

organizations and the individuals who support them

prevent a State from using securities law to inhibit the

fund raising activities of those organizations?

Was the sanction imposed by the Administrative Law

Judge precluding Petitioners from contesting the cease

and desist order improper in view of Petitioner's first

amendment rights?

PARTIES BELOW

The parties in the Minnesota Court of Appeals were

Petitioners, Caucus Distributors, Inc., Campaigner

Publications, Inc., Independent Democrats for LaRouche, Ron

Fredman, Ronald R. Bettag, and Paul Greenberg and all other

parties or organizations acting in concert with the above named

Petitioners, and Appellee, Minnesota Commissioner of

Commerce.

Caucus Distributors, Inc. and Campaign Publications, Inc.

are not owned by any parent companies, have no affiliates or

non-wholly owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

a I SD ae Pe eR EA i

Ne eel he cednauuiewanenabes li

ean eis sea ne ences eeenehaoneeeas Vv

tock l oon ec da auiannpsenaaennsenakwhees i

ie. oss as scan sada pbexenneusn 2

Teen ee i cele c evi esnkeeenaeap en acaunedansaned 2

occ n alas ccaemenkekeneacedeesenadoncuaenns 2

I, WO so ann cin nheeescsaneunahonaenenesducs 7

a ica wa Ga vaakecenka seen iuuen 23

APPENDIX:

Order of the Minnesota Supreme Coutt...................... A-l

Opinion and Order of the Minnesota Court of

Opinion and Order of the Minnesota Commissioner

PRI ca cccsctundicmnendskuakeseknnasindebuamekabiwen C-l

Minnesota Securities Act Section 80A.14.................... D-1

Petition for Review of Decision of Court of

Ur cckannadsuducaascuscnudteandecdsébindunmmiosoeond F-]

Froelich v. Caucus Distributors, et, al..................ee eee G-l

Ansorge v. Kellogg, Michigan Court of Appeals,

Se a ER acorn ceckdesecxeactenbannnssancnsadeses H-1

Minnesota Attorney General Letter...................0eeeeeeees I-]

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Aloha Airlines. Inc. v. Director Taxation, 464

U.S. 7, 104 S.Ct 291, 78 L.Ed2d 10 (1985)........... 21

Ansorge v, Kellogg. MI Ct. of Appeals (1988);

Det: He oékcicdccctbackodcaksshaieaanreee eee 11

Australi m A ShioXinX Conference v.

Eh aise SHE WD Ger CRW xctccsankcsdwadacsisansnaces 26

Cornfeldt v. Tongen, 262 N.W.2d 684 (1977) .............. 28

Edgar v. Slaughter, 548 F.2d 770 (8th Cir., 1977).......... 28

Exxon Corn, v. Hunt, 475 U.S. 355 106 S.Ct

RAGS, TP Tie BES CRB icbenictssccsncrabnncsiecctass 21

Feder lection mmission v, Hall-Tvner

Election Campaign Committee, 678 F.2d 416

Cae GRE, Se wanna dkse casa tie 13, 26

Froelich v. Caucus Distributors. Inc, et. al, Ill Cty

Cir. Ct. No. 86L17562, (1988)....... RA eae ee 11

Federal Election mmission v. M h

Citizens for Life, 107 S.Ct 616, 93 L.Ed2d

SFI, Sa SE Se iikikcinssicsiiteieisc 17

w~ In Re Pnmus, 436 U.S. 412, 98 S.Ct 1893, 56

Ln GET CEP FOE cuicsechssccnsskavsnraecadaeneneneonen 12

vi

Landreth Timber Co, v, Ivan K, Landreth, 471

U.S. 681, 105 S.Ct 2297, 85 L.Ed2d 692

(3DGS) ..<000s0rccecqunantniniaainn cane skeneinan aunelmaaanas 10

106 S.Ct 1890, 476 U.S. 355, 90 L.Ed2d

SOR, (1D cccnvssaieigtitcsel eet eee 20

Marine Bank v, Weaver, 455 U.S. 551, 102S.Ct

1221, 7) Le Ge Cine 11

Meyer v. Grant, 108 S.Ct 1886, 56 USLW4516

CUDGED ic occseccacusancaccuimnlicncuatcnaneeanane nanan 18

NAACP y. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449, 78S.Ct 1163,

22 EAE FOE CII ves escsninicrd ordeal 25

NAACP vy, Button, 371 U.S. 415, 83 S.Ct328, 9

LRG GE Gee sascccicicimactnne 19

Vv w 328 U.S. 293, 66

S.Ct 1100, 90 L.Ed 1244 (1946)........0....ccecceceeeee 11

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 104 S.Ct 615.......00..... 21

Socite Internationale v. Rogers, 357 U.S. 197, 78

S.Ct 1087, 2L.Ed2d, 1255 (1958) ...........cccecee cece 28

United Housing Foundation, Inc. v. Forman, 421

U.S. 837, 95 S.Ct 2051, 41L.Ed2d 621

(1973). vassiscnersccsaiavinaiceietee Gee 11

NO. 88

In The

Supreme Court of the United

States

September Term, 1988

CAUCUS DISTRIBUTORS, INC., and CAMPAIGNER

PUBLICATIONS, INC., New York Corporations,

INDEPENDENT DEMOCRATS FOR LAROUCHE, an

unincorporated association, RON FREDMAN, RONALD R.

BETTAG, PAUL GREENBERG, and all other parties and

organizations acting in concert with the named Petitioners,

Petitioners,

Vv.

MINNESOTA COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

- MINNESOTA COURT OF APPEALS

Petitioners, Caucus Distributors, Inc., Campaigner

Publications, Inc., Independent Democrats for LaRouche, Ron

Fredman, Ronald R. Bettag, and Paul Greenberg pray that a

Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of the

Minnesota Court of Appeals

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the Minnesota Supreme Court denying

Petitioners petition for further review is attached as Appendix

A. The opinion and order of the State of Minnesota Court of

Appeals is printed as Appendix B. The opinion and order of

nN

the Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce is printed as

Appendix C. The Findings of Fact and Conclusions of the

Administrative Law Judge are printed as Appendix F-1.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Commissioner of Commerce, State of

Minnesota was entered September 3, 1987. The judgment of

the Court of Appeals of the State of Minnesota was entered

March 30, 1988. A timely petition for review of the decision

of the Court of Appeals was filed in the State of Minnesota

Supreme Court. That petition was denied on June 10, 1988.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

Section 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Minnesota Securities Act of 1959, Section 80A.14

(Appendix D). Also, Federal Election Campaign Act, 2

U.S.C. 431

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In December, 1985, the Minnesota Department of

Commerce issued an Order for Report of Sales to Caucus

Distributors, Inc. (Caucus), a New York non-profit

corporation, and/or Campaigner Publications, Inc., also a

New York corporation and to Independent Democrats for

LaRouche, an unincorporated association and federal political

committee recognized by the Federal Election Commission.

On February 10, 1986, counsel for Petitioners replied noting

they would provide limited information due to the First

Amendment nature of the organizations. A second letter was

sent by counsel to the Department dated March 6, 1986, which

reiterated the First Amendment nature of the organization,

provided copies of an acknowledgment of debt and a non-

negotiable document captioned "Unsecured Promissory Note."

On behalf of the corporate Petitioners, counsel asserted the

First Amendment as a bar to further disclosure concerning the

memberships and supporters of the organizations. The

correspondence also noted that, based upon the context of the

transactions, i.e. loans to political/socio-economic

organizations, the loan or loans in question were not

securities. Counsel again reiterated this position by letter dated

May 22, 1986.

The Department, evidently electing not to pursue resolution

of this issue by a Minnesota court, declined to employ the

provisions of the Minnesota laws which permits a court to

enforce the Order for Report of Sales and Subpoenas by the

Department. Minn. Stat. Sec. 80A.20, Subd. 3 (repealed

Laws 1987, Ch. 336, effective July 1, 1987).

On June 4, 1986 a Cease and Desist Order was issued by

the State of Minnesota, Commissioner of Commerce, along

with a Notice of Right of Hearing. On July 17, 1986 an

Amended Cease and Desist Order was issued alleging that

Petitioners had sold unregistered securities through unlicensed

agents in the State of Minnesota.

An initial hearing was held on August 4 and 5, 1986.

Because of the 11th hour (July 31) subpoenas by the

Department, the hearing was continued after testimony by one

witness, Mary Mitchell, who had subscribed to the various

publications disseminated by Petitioners, supported many of

their political and economic viewpoints and who had also

made loans to Petitioners.

The hearing was continued so that the Administrative Law

Judge could read various briefs that were to be re-submitted on

discovery issues and Petitioners objections to discovery. On

October 6, 1986 the Administrative Law Judge reversed an

earlier ruiing and issued an Order for Discovery which

required organizational Petitioners to provide additional

information to the State of Minnesota concerning the identities

of persons who had made loans to Petitioner organizations.

The Administrative Law Judge did find that Petitioners had

shown that their supporters reason to fear disclosure of their

identty and the claims of a chilling effect were reasonable and

realistic. Petitioners had also pointed out, without success, that

the State had never interviewed all of the persons whose

names they had been given by Petitioners earlier in the case

pursuant to an earlier order. On October 24, 1986 the State

moved for an order precluding Petitioners from contesting

certain allegations in the amended cease and desist order

because it was the State's position that Petitioners had not

complied with the Administrative Law Judge's discovery

order. On December 2, 1986 the Judge denied the

Enforcement Division's request for preclusion. On December

15, 1986 the judge issued another Discovery Order. The

Judge directed the organizational Petitioners to provide various

information concerning Minnesota residents who had lent

money to Petitioners. Since Petitioners had submitted John

Doe affidavits from a number of Minnesota citizens requesting

anonymity, the Judge asked for a list of all those who had not

requested anonymity and of the persons who had requested

anonymity, the Judge requested information so that he could

randomly select 25% of those who had asked their names not

be disclosed (a number of Petitioner's supporters had

submitted affidavits alleging fear of retaliation and reprisal if

their support for Petitioners became public knowledge) and

provide it to the Minnesota Department of Commerce and the

Attorney General's office. On December 23, 1986 the

Petitioners respectfully declined to disclose any additional

names of Minnesota residents who had lent money to

Petitioners on First Amendment grounds. Previously, on

November 12, 1986 counsel for Petitioners had sent a letter to

the Administrative Law Judge advising him that the total

number of loans in Minnesota consisted of loans obtained

from 48 people. The Administrative Law Judge was advised

that there was some 54 loans altogether, 24 for Campaigner _

Publications and 30 for Caucus Distributors. On January 13,

1987 the Judge issued an order denying Petitioners request for

an interlocutory appeal of his discovery order. On January 27,

1987 the Administrative Law Judge issued an Order Imposing

Sanctions for Noncompliance with Discovery on all Petitioners

including the individuals. That Order precluded Petitioners

from introducing evidence contesting the last sentence of

paragraph 1 and paragraphs 2 and 7 of the Department's

Amended Cease and Desist Order. The paragraphs in question

dealt with the fact that promissory notes were offered or sold

to persons in the State of Minnesota and that those promissory

notes constituted securities within the meanings of Minnesota

State 80(a).14 and, further, that material facts were omitted in

the course of obtaining the loans upon which promissory notes

were based. The sanction order, for all practical purposes,

constituted imposition of a default judgment against

Petitioners.

On April 20, 1987, the United States of America filed a

petition against Caucus Distributors, Inc. and Campaigner

Publications, Inc. seeking to place them in involuntary

bankruptcy in the United States District Court for Virginia.

Presently, Caucus Distributors, Inc. and Campaigner

Publications, Inc. are under the control of interim trustees. A

hearing on the bankruptcy issues was scheduled for May,

1988, but as yet no decision rendered.

On July 15, 1987 the Administrative Law Judge issued his

Findings of Fact, Conclusions and Recommendations.

(Appendix F) On September 3, 1987 the Commissioner of

Commerce issued his Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law and Order (Appendix C), stating that Petitioners shall

cease and desist from offering or selling any security or

promissory notes or other debt instruments in the State of

Minnesota without filing said instrument pursuant to Chapter

80(a) or without obtaining an opinion letter from the

Department of Commerce that exempted such instruments. The

Department has taken the view that any loan to Petitioners by a

Minnesota resident is a security whether or not a note is

issued.

On September 9, 1987 Petitioners filed a Petition for Writ

of Certiorari in the Court of Appeals. On October 6, 1987 the

Wnt was granted. On March 30, 1988 the Court of Appeals,

State of Minnesota, Judge Randall, issued its decision. The

Minnesota Court of Appeals affirmed the Commissioner of

Commerce's holdings stating that the promissory notes

Petitioners issued constituted securities under Minnesota

Statute Section 80A.14; the Federal Election Campaign Act did

not preempt regulation of the issuance of securities by

Petitioner, Independent Democrats for LaRouche, a federal

election campaign committee; Minnesota securities laws as

applied to Petitioner's fund raising activities did not

impermissibly infringe on Petitioner's first amendment rights

of association and the discovery sanctions by the

Adnuinistrative Law Judge were not an impermissible

infringement upon Petitioner's first amendment rights.

Petitioners filed a timely petition for further review to the State

of Minnesota Supreme Court. This petition was denied on

June 10, 1988.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

I. THE MINNESOTA COURT HAS APPLIED

THE MINNESOTA SECURITIES LAW

INCORRECTLY AND IN CONFLICT WITH

THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION AND

WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

This case concerns a Cease & Desist Order issued by the

State of Minnesota, Department of Commerce, Commissioner

of Securities, alleging that Caucus Distributors, Inc.,

Campaigner Publications, Inc., Independent Democrats for

LaRouche, and the individual defendants were selling

unregistered securities.

The alleged securities were non-negotiable promissory

notes issued by the above organizations acknowledging loans

made by political supporters. Caucus Distributors, Inc. is a

non-profit New York corporation, Campaigner Publications,

Inc. is a New York corporation that effectively operates as a

non-profit entity, Independent Democrats for LaRouche is an

unincorporated association and political committee recognized

by the Federal Election Commission. The individual

defendants were volunteers and consultants for the above

entities.

These organizations support and disseminate materials that

discuss political, social and economic issues of interest to the

general public. The State of Minnesota, by its actions in this

case, has treated these organizations as business entities

ignoring the obvious first amendment goals and aims involved

in their activities. This is a case of first impression in

Minnesota. The essence of the Minnesota Court's decision is

that promissory notes are securities regardless of the first

amendment impact of such a decision and the fact that the

Minnesota Statute specifically commands that the context and

circumstances of each case be examined in defining a security.

This Court has never ruled that promissory notes are always

securities within a "plain meaning" approach. See Landreth

Timber Company v. Ivan K. Landreth, 471 U.S. 681, 105

S.Ct 2297, 85 L.Ed2d 696 (1985) where this court stated:

Note’ may now be viewed as a relatively broad

term that encompasses instruments with widely

varying characteristics depending on whether issued

in a Consumer context as commercial paper or in some

other investment context. See id., at __. Wehere

expressly leave until ar other day the question whether

‘notes’ or 'bonds' or some other category and

instrument listed in the definition might be shown by

proving ‘only’ the document itself. (SEC v. C.M,

Joiner Leasing Corporation, supra, at 355.) We hold

only that 'stock' may be viewed as being in a category

by itself for purposes of interpreting the scope of the

Act's definition of securities."

The Minnesota Act is substantially similar to the Federal

Acts in its definitions. In Section 80A.14 definitions, the

Minnesota Act states:

“When used in Section 80A.01 to 80A.31, the

terms defined in this section have the meanings given

them unless the context otherwise requires." The

Minnesota Act then goes on in Subdivision 18 and

defines security as:

"Security (a) "Security" means any note; stock;

treasury stock; bond..."

The first amendment impact of the Minnesota Court's

decision is great and in effect holds that the State's rights to

define what is a security and then to impose a regulation

outweighs a substantial, direct and debilitating impact on

petitioner's first amendment rights.

The weight of precedent makes it clear that in determining

if a promissory note is a security the circumstances and

substance of the transaction must be examined. See United

Housing Foundation, Inc, v, Forman, 421 U.S. 837, 95 S.Ct

2051, 41 L.Ed2d 621 (1975); SEC v. W.J. Howey Company,

328 U.S. 293, 66 S.Ct 1100, 90 L.Ed 1244 (1946); Marine

Bank v. Weaver, 455 U.S. 551, 102 S.Ct 1221, 71 L.Ed2d

409 (1982); and Landreth Timber Company v. Ivan K,

Landreth, 471 U.S. 681, 105 S.Ct 2297, 85 L.Ed2d 692

(1985). See also Ansorge v, Kellog, MI Ct. of App. (1988)

i H); No. 86910 and Froelich v. Caucus

Distributors, Inc., Ill Cty Cir. Ct., No. 86L17562 (1988).

(Appendix G).

In this case the petitioners argue that the first amendment

aspects of the Petitioner organizations are among those

circumstances and must be weighed with great deference in the

initial determination of whether or not a security is involved in

the transaction in question. The ruling by the Minnesota Court

of Appeals is wrong because it classified the promissory notes

in this case as securities without regard to the first amendment

purpose of the Petitioners and the first amendment nature of

the fund raising activity being conducted.

The State of Minnesota has tried to treat these loan

transactions as if they were investments as that term is used in

the context of a security. An examination of the context of the

loans makes the first amendment concerns very clear. The

appellant organizations do not make or distribute profits,

workers are paid minimum amounts or are volunteers. The

money received by the organizations are spent disseminating

books, pamphlets, newspapers and other materials that discuss

issues seen as important to society and the voters.

10

In examining the context of these transactions the State

must regulate carefully with appropriate deference to the first

amendment. See In re Primus, 436 U.S. 412 (1978).

"Where political expression or association is at

issue, this court has not tolerated the degree of

imprecision that often characterizes govern ment

regulation of the conduct of commercial affairs. The

approach we adopt today in Qhralik posts, p.447, 56

L.Ed2d 444, 98 S.Ct 1912, that the state may

proscribe in person solicitation for pecuniary gain

under circumstances likely to result in adverse

consequences cannot be applied to appellant's activity

on behalf of the ACLU." at 437.

The Minnesota Court of Appeals stated in its opinion that

Petitioners were not engaging in first amendment activity in

seeking loans. Fund raising is vital to a political party or

organization, particularly a small one. In the case of Federal

Election C my: Hall-T Electi

Campaign Committee, 678 F.2d 416 (1982, 2 Nd Cir.), Judge

Kaufman stated:

"Acknowledging the importance of fostering the

existence of minority political parties, we must also

recognize that such groups rarely have a firm financial

foundation. If apprehension is bred in the mind of

contributors to fringe organization by fear that their

support of an unpopular ideology will be revealed,

they may cease to provide financial assistance. The

resulting decrease in contribution may threat the

minority parties very existence. Society suffers from

such a consequence because the free flow of ideas, the

life blood of the bodily politic, is necessarilly reduced.

Accordingly, a nation dedicated to free thought, free

expression cannot ignore the grave results of facially

innocuous election requirements."

This is exactly the situation in the instant case. Petitioners

assert that it is not enough in this case to decide, as the lower

11

court did, that the notes are securities and then hold that the

State has a compelling interest in regulating securities.

Therefore, Petitioners first amendment interest are overcome.

It is the position of Petitioners that the first amendment interest

must be considered in determining if there is, in fact, a security

involved in the transaction. This is "the context” in which the

transaction took place. Petitioners concede that the State has

an interest in regulating the sale of securities. Petitioners point

is that in the context of this case, these notes are being used to

raise funds in connection with a political first amendment

purpose and, therefore, should not be considered securities in

the first place.

Further, it is apparent that if notes issued in the context of

this case are considered securities no political organization

could ever comply with the required reporting and disclosure

requirements of a State's Securities Act. Almost all the State's

Securities Acts are based on the Uniform Securities Act and

require that the organizations issuing securities fit criteria

which are completely unrealistic when applied to a political

organization. Political organizations usually do not have large

Capital assets and they do not tend to accumulate capital.

Political organizations do continuous fund raising and most

State's registration requirements would demand that they set

specific times to begin and end fund raising. Political and first

amendment associational organizations differ even from

religious organizations in that they do not, as a rule,

accumulate large items of property or large asset bases.

These organizations would not be able to overcome the

problems presented by state rules which have restrictions on

fund use, required statutory earnings, minimum

capitalizations, and strict rules concerning distribution of non-

factual or inaccurate material. Obviously, many claims made

in the course of a political campaign do not turn out to be

factual. Some 28 states have merit review which gives too

much discretion to the Commissioner of Securities in that State

12

concerning registration. In other words, these commissioners

who are political appointees could determine a loan to a

political group was not a good investment. There are no

criteria for what a "good" investment is.

Moreover, treating political loans as securities requires all

fund raisers to be licensed securities agents working for

licensed securities brokers. Brokers and their agents are >

required, in Minnesota and most other states, to maintain lists

of all "sales" and make them available for inspection by the

Securities Commissioner and to determine if the investment is

"suitable" for the "buyer". Thus, if one is well to do, one may

support a political organization that is "risky" or not a

traditional mainstream Republican or Democratic group. If too

old, too young or not wealthy enough, the "investment" would

likely be found "unsuitable". Those who wished to support a

political group in this manner could not do so with anonymity.

Supporters who wished to fund raise would have to pass

examinations on securities laws to obtain agents licenses, i.e.

face "super literacy" tests more onerous than those employed

in the past to suppress racial and ethnic minorities. As noted

in Petitioner's appeals briefs, the list of debilitating

impairments goes on and on.

When one thinks of the concept of material disclosure

under the securities laws being applied to political candidates,

the mind boggles. Would a candidate have to disclose an extra

marital affair if it might impact the success of his campaign?

Would it be a material misstatement to claim the candidate

would defeat his opponent if that was unlikely. The

ramifications of applying securities concepts to first

amendment organizations and political campaigns are

staggering in their potential impact to core first amendment

rights.

13

The first amendment aspects of this case allow for an

analogy to be drawn from a recent Supreme Court decision

which, although it did not deal with securities regulation,

found that a section of the Federal Election Campaign Act was

unconstitutional under certain circumstances. The case in

question was the Federal Election Commission v.

Massachusetts Citizens for Life, Inc,, 107 S.Ct 616, 93

L.Ed2d 539, 55 U.S. LW 4067. This case concerned Section

316 of the Federal Election Campaign Act which prohibited

corporations from using treasury funds to make an expenditure

in connection with any election to any public office and

required that any expenditure for such purpose be financed by

voluntary contributions to a separate fund.Massachusetts

Citizens for Life, like petitioners, was a non-profit, non-stock

corporation. Its purpose was to foster respect for human life

and defend the right to life of all human beings born and

unborn through educational, political or other forms of

activities (one of the goals of Petitioners herein). To further

this activity it published newsletters that had been distributed

to contributors and to non-contributors who expressed support

for the organization. This court stated that the concern

underlined in the regulation of corporate political activity - that

organizations that amass great wealth in the economic

marketplace not gain unfair advantage in the political

marketplace - was absent with regard to Massachusetts

Citizens for Life. The court opined:

"This rationale for regulation is not compelling

with respect to independent expenditures by appellee.

Individuals who contribute to appellee are fully aware

of its political purposes and, in fact, contribute

precisely because they support those purposes. It is

true that contributors may not be aware of the exact

use to which his or her money ultimately may put or

the specific candidate used to support. However,

individuals contribute to a political organization as a

more effective means of advocacy than spending

money under their own direction..." at 4073.

14

Recently, this Court decided a similar situation involving a

State's overprotective attitude towards its citizens. In the case

of Meyer v. Grant, 108 S.Ct 1886 (1988), the State of

Colorado had forbidden paid solicitors from circulating

political petitions. The State's logic was that such paid

solicitors would have more reason to falsify signatures. This

Court held that such a ban was an infringement on the first

amendment rights of citizens wishing to bring political

questions 1n front of the voters. This Court stated:

"We agree with the Court of Appeals conclusion

that the statute trenches upon an area in which the

importance of the first amendment protections is ‘at its

zenith’. For that reason, the burden that Colorado

must overcome to justify this criminal law is weil nigh

insurmountable.” at pg. 1894.

Petitioners in this case would make the same claim that

because of the nature of their organizations and the purposes

of those organizations that the first amendment protection in

this case is at its highest and the State's actions are subject to

exacting scrutiny.

As is apparent from the letter made part of the record in

this case sent out by the Attorney General for the State of

Minnesota, the ideas and beliefs of the Petitioner organizations

and Lyndon LaRouche are not popular with the Minnesota

Attorney General. He stated: "We must show the Nation that

Minnesota will not tolerate the LaRouche fringe." Nor do

Petitioners seem to be popular with other states.

Notwithstanding that this securities issue is one of first

impression, supporters and fund raisers have been charged

with felony security law violations in Virginia, Missouri and

New York. However, the use of the securities law to censor

those ideas is improper. As this Court stated in NAACP v.

Button, 371 U.S. 415, 83 S.Ct 328, 9 L.Ed2d 405 (1963):

15

"The First Amendment is a value free provision

whose protection is not dependent on the truth,

popularity, or social utility of the ideas and beliefs

which are offered."

It should be noted that supporters dissausfied with

repayment of their loans have other remedies available under

Minnesota law. There are consumer protection statutes

enforceable by the Attorney General and individuals, common

law fraud causes of action, criminal fraud statutes and actions

in debt available to aggrieved persons.

II. THE MINNESOTA COURT OF APPEALS

HAS IMPROPERLY APPLIED

MINNESOTA SECURITIES LAW TO

INDEPENDENT DEMOCRATS FOR

LAROUCHE, A CAMPAIGN

ORGANIZATION REGULATED UNDER

THE FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION

IN CONFLICT WITH THE DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT.

Respondent Independent Democrats for LaRouche's (IDL)

loans should not fall within the purview of the Minnesota

Securities Act because this organization was a campaign

organization formed to aid Lyndon LaRouche in his campaign

for the presidency of the United States. The Federal Election

Campaign Act amendments of 1974 are an attempt by

Congress to reform campaign expenditures and political

contributions. This Act evidences a clear intent to preempt any

State law regarding campaign expenditures and political

contributions. To use the Minnesota Securities Law against

Independent Democrats for LaRouche effectively circumvents

the Federal Election scheme.

16

The Supreme Court outlined the various facts of federal

preemption law in Louisiana Public Service Commission v.

F.C.C., 106 S.Ct 1980, 1898-99 (1986):

“The Supremacy Clause of Art. VI of the

Constitution provides Congress with the power to

preempt state law. Preemption occurs when

Congress, in enacting a federal statute, expresses a

clear intent to preempt state law, Jones v

, 430 U.S. 519, 97 S.Ct 1305, 51

L.Ed.2d 604 (1977), when there is outright or actual

conflict between federal and state law, e.g., Free v.

Bland, 369 U.S. 663, 82 S.Ct 1089, 8 L.Ed.2d 180

(1962), where compliance with both federal and state

law is in effect physically impossible, m

Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 83

S.Ct 1210, 10 L.Ed.2d 248 (1963), where there is

implicit in federal law a barrier to state regulation,

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 103 S.Ct

2890, 77 L.Ed.2d 490 (1983), where Congress has

legislated comprehensively, thus, occupying an entire

field of regulation and leaving no room for the states

to supplement federal law, Rice v. Sante Fe Elevator

Corp,, 331 U.S. 218, 67 S.Ct 1146, 91 L.Ed. 1447

(1947), or wi.-ze the state law stands as an obstacle to

the accomplishment and execution of the full

objectives of Congress. Hines v. Davidwitz, 312

U.S. 52, 61 S.Ct 399 85 L.Ed. 581 (1941).

Preemption may result not only from action taken by

Congress itself; a federal agency acting within the

scope of its congressionally delegated authority may

preempt state regulation. Fideli

Vv , 458 U.S. 141, 102 S.Ct

3014, 73 L.Ed.2d 664 (1982); Capi

Inc, v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691 (1984)."

The Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1974

present an express preemption issue. As the Supreme Court

stated in Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp.,, 104 S.Ct 615, 621

(1984): "if Congress evidences an intent to occupy a given

field, any state law falling within that field is preempted."

Further, when a federal statute unambiguously preempts

certain state legislation, the statutory language is controlling

and preemption takes place. Exxon Corp. v. Hunt, 106 S.Ct

1103, 1109 (1986); Aloha Airlines, Inc, v, Director of

Taxation, 464 U.S. 7, 12 (1983).

The Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1974,

public law 93-443, 88 Stat. 1263, reprinted in 1974 U.S.

Code Congressional and Administrative News, p. 1436, et.

seq,, contain three different provisions regarding preemption

of state law. The first provision is contained in Section 104 of

the Act. Section 104 reads as follows:

"Sec. 104

(a) The provisions of Chapter 29 of Title 18 United

States Code, relating to elections and political

activities, supersede and preempt any provision of

state law with respect to election of federal office.

(b) For purposes of this section, the terms

"election", "federal office", and "state" have the

meanings given them by section 591 of Title 18

United States Code."

The legislative history explaining this provision states:

"Conference Substitute - The conference substitute

is the same as the House amendment. The provisions

of the conference substitute make it clear that the

federal law occupies the field with respect to criminal

sanctions relating to limitations on campaign

expenditures, the sources of campaign funds used in

federal races, the conduct of federal campaigns, and

similar offenses, but does not affect the state's rights

to prohibit false registration, voting fraud, theft of

ballots, and similar offenses under state law."

Senate Report no. 93-689, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code

Congressional and Administrative News 5587, 5638.

———ee_

18

There is a second preempting provision. Section 301 of

the Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1974,

codified at 2 U.S.C. Section 453 provides:

"The provisions of this Act, and of rules prescribed

under this Act, supersede and preempt any provision

of state law with respect to election to federal office."

This is very broad language. Its breadth is confirmed by

the legislative history. The legislative history concerning this

section of the law states:

"Senate Biull:

Section 213 of the Senate bill amended Section 403

of the Act, relating to effects on state law, to provide

that the provisions of the Act preempt any provision

of state law with respect to campaign for election to

federal office.

House Amendment:

Section 301 of the House amendment amended

Section 403 of the Act, relating to effect on state law,

in essentially the same manner as the amendment

made by Section 213 of the Senate Bill.

Conference substitute:

The conference substitute follows the House

amendment. It is clear that the federal law occupies

the field with respect to reporting and disclosure of

political contributions to and expenditures by federal

candidates and political committees, but does not

affect state laws as to the manner of qualifying as a

candidate, or the dates and places of elections."

Senate report #93-689, reprinted at 1974 U.S. Code

Congressional and Administrative News 5587, 5668.

Both the plain meaning of the statute and the legislative

history makes Congress’ intent to preempt very clear. As

19

noted above, in such a case, preemption must be deemed to

occur.

An attempt by the State of Minnesota to use their securities

law to regulate an organization such as IDL which was formed

to deal with the election of an individual to federal office, is a

use of the law directly in contradiction to the Federal Act. The

hearings officer in this matter has attempted to rule that the

federal preemption only applies to election laws. The Federal

Act specifically regulates loans to campaign committees. 2

U.S.C. Section 431(8); 11 CFR Section 100.7. Clearly,

under these circumstances, the Minnesota Securities Act is

operating as an election law and addresses an area specifically

regulated by the Federal Act.

Ill. THE SANCTION IMPOSED BY THE

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE

PRECLUDED THE PETITIONERS FROM

CONTESTING A CEASE AND DESIST

ORDER AND WAS IMPROPER IN THAT

IT DEPRIVED PETITIONERS OF A FAIR

AND IMPARTIAL HEARING AND

INFRINGED UPON THEIR FIRST

AMENDMENT RIGHTS.

On January 27, 1987 the Administrative Law Judge issued

an order precluding Petitioners from introducing evidence

contesting the last sentence of paragraphs 1, 2 and 7 of the

State's Amended Cease and Desist Order. Paragraph 2 was

the ultimate issue of the contested case in that it alleged that the

promissory notes offered by Petitioners constituted securities

within the meaning of the Minnesota Securities Act. Thus,

Appellants were not able to present witnesses or evidence at a

hearing to contest the State's allegations that the transactions

involved in this matter constituted a sale of securities. The

sanction order was based on the fact that the corporate

20

Petitioners had resisted throughout the course of the

proceeding the States attempts to obtain a list of Petitioner's

supporters, contributors and lenders. Petitioners resisted these

attempts on the part of the State on firstamendment and

privacy grounds. Petitioners contended that the orders and

subpoenas of the Minnesota Division of Securities inhibited

Petitioners and their supporters respective rights of

association, belief and freedom of speech as guaranteed by the

United States Constitution under the First and Fourteenth

Amendments. Further, Petitioners contended that supporters

and contributors right of privacy under the United States and

Minnesota Constitutions were being violated. Petitioners

submitted John Doe and other affidavits from or addressing

approximately 19 persons who had made loans to Petitioner's

organizations. These affidavits indicated that these lenders and

supporters did not wish their names revealed to government

agencies for fear of harassment or retaliation. In the October

6th discovery order, the Administrative Law Judge recognized

this fear on the part of Petitioner's supporters and

acknowledged that a chilling effect caused by this fear was

probable. At the beginning of the case, Petitioners had

revealed seven names to the State (with the permission of

those supporters) and the State had not even taken the trouble

to interview all of those individuals.

First amendment rights are to be interpreted liberally.

They are fundamental and occupy a preferred place in society.

As this Court stated in NAACP v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449,

78 S.Ct 1163, 2 L.Ed2d 1488 (1958):

"Inviobility of privacy in group association may in

many circumstances be indispensable to preservation

of freedom of association, particularly where a group

espouses dissident beliefs." at page 462.

There is no doubt that the overwhelming weight of

authorities is to the effect that forced disclosure of first

21

amendment activities creates a chilling effect which must be

balanced against the State's interest in obtaining that

information. Australia/Eastern U.S.A. Shipping Conference

v. US., 537 F.Supp 807 (1982). The State of Minnesota had

received some seven names from Petitioners and had not

bothered to contact even all of those individuals to make its

case. Further, the State attempted to argue that a list of all

Petitioner's supporters and lenders was needed in order to

determine whether Petitioners could claim a limited offering

exemption. Petitioners at all times during this case made it

clear to the State that it did not wish to claim a limited offering

exemption. The State's interest could not be compelling under

these circumstances.

In the case of Federal Election Commission v, Hall-Tyner

Election Campaign Committee, 678 F.2d 416 (2nd Cir.,

1982), Judge Kaufman stated:

“Anonymity has long been essential to uninhibited

political activity in a democratic society. The secret

ballot insures that no one must answer for the vote he

cast. Confidentiality prevents the apprehension of

reprisal that threatens to suppress the robust

interchange of ideas at the core of the First

Amendment's guarantee of free speech and protection

of privacy and association. A society confident in its

stability does not fear the voice of opposition.

Indeed, unafraid of dissent, we recognize our ability

to exhibit special indulgence to nurture the free

expression of minority views. Realizing that mere

identification with certain disfavored ideologies can

result in harassment which may silence those voices,

the Constitution protects private support of political

associations."

Also,

"Acknowledging the importance of fostering the

existence of minority political parties, we must also

recognize that such groups rarely have a firm financial

foundation. If apprehension is bred in the mind of

22

contnbutors to fringe organizations by fear that their

support of an unpopular ideology will be revealed,

they may cease to provide financial assistance. The

resulting decrease in contributions may threaten the

minority parties very existence. Society suffers from

such a consequence because the free flow of ideas, the

life blood of the body politic, is necesarily reduced.

Accordingly, a nation dedicated to free thought and

free expression cannot ignore the grave results of

facially innocuous election requirements.

The power of the government to repress dissent is

substantial and can be exercised in a myriad of subtle

ways. Privacy is an essential element of the night of

association and the ability to express dissent

effectively. As a result, removing the cloak of

anonymity from a political committee by requiring it to

disclose the names of those who purchase its

publications, threatens important first amendment

values. Such forced revelations would likely lead to

‘vexatious inquiries’ which consequently could insull

in the public an unremitting fear of becoming linked

with the unpopular or the unorthodox."

The view of the Minnesota Attorney General's Office

concerning organizations associated actually or reputedly with

Lyndon LaRouche is illustrated by the attached Appendix I.

The State in this case had sufficient facts available through the

testimony of parties to the transactions at issue and would have

had further facts available had it taken the trouble to interview

all seven of the people whose names were given to them by

Petitioners. The further discovery of contributors and lenders

was merely official curiosity and would expose Petitioner's

sympathizers unnecessarily.

It is clear that in a situation such as this Petitioners could

not comply with the State's discovery orders without waiving

important constitutional rights. Such a refusal by Petitioners is

not willful, nor is it done in bad faith. See Edgar v. Slaughter,

548 F.2d 770 (8th Cir., 1977) and Socite Internationale v.

23

Rogers, 357 U.S. 197, 78 S.Ct 1087, 2L.Ed2d, 1255 (1958).

Petitioners even requested an interlocutory appeal. The State

of Minnesota decisions have consistently held the factors to be

considered in a sanctions manner are (1) the wilfullness of the

failure to disclose; (2) the resulting prejudice; and (3) the harm

to the truth seeking process if severe sanctions are imposed.

Cornfeldt v. Tongen, 262 N.W.2d 684 (1977). It is clear in

this case that the Petitioners tried to comply with the State's

orders as best they could and still be consistent with the

constitutional restraints they felt were present. Further, the

harm imposed by the sanction was great. It, in effect,

deprived Petitioners of the ability to present their case in front

of the Hearings Officer. The State of Minnesota was in no

way prejudiced by Petitioner's failure to reveal all of the

names.

CONCLUSION

This writ request should be granted because this case presents

a classic constitutional confrontation between the core freedom

of individuals and groups whose viewpoints are not traditional

and the more traditional mainstream political governmental

authorities seeking to suppress dissident viewpoints. Treating

loans to political associations as securities opens a veritable

pandora's box of debilitating blows to the sanctity of the First

Amendment. Numerous less restrictive alternatives are

available to police areas of legitimate concern. These

alternatives include a variety of civil and criminal remedies

which do not intrude on the First Amendment yet effectively

and fully address state interests. See Meyer v. Grant, 108

S.Ct 1886, 56 USLW 5616 (1988).

Permitting the states (there are 14 states with cease and

desist orders pending against some or all of Petitioners) to

impose securities regulation requirements on political

associations and federal campaign committees creates an

impermissible opportunity for of politically motivated

suppression of both dissident and opposing political

viewpoints. While efforts of securities commissioners are

24

confined to suppressing these Petitioners at the moment,

history demonstrates that the temptation to use this power will

prove irresistible. The practice will spread if not ended now.

In this day and age, fund raising is critical to effective

dissemination of viewpoints. Publication of newspapers,

magazines, books and flyers on a national basis is expensive.

Use of loans is a traditional method of political fund raising.

That is why it was addressed by the Federal Act and by

Federal Election Commission regulations. If it is a "security"

for these Petitioners, it is one for all campaign committees. A

loan could not issue unless registered as a security. A loan

could only be solicited by a licensed agent who worked under

the supervision of a licensed broker. If fund raising exceeded

certain limits ($100,000 to $500,000), a prospectus or

offering memorandum would be required in many states. The

devastating impact of this ruling in the Minnesota Supreme

Court is likely to be followed in Alaska, Maryland,

Washington, Virginia, Missouri, Indiana, Illinois, New York,

Massachusetts and elsewhere. There is a clear need to address

this issue now.

The granting of this writ would be an important step

towards clarifying the law as to the circumstances under which

promissory notes constitute securities subject to regulation

under state or federal securities acts.

Respectfully submitted,

a & we, P.

tab Ue

Patrick 1M

1221 “pr sing Suite 517

Houston, Texas 77010

(713)759-1555

Le ee ee. hes ay: see a ee

APPENDIX

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C4-87-1952

Caucus Distributors, Inc., et al.,

Relators,

VS.

Commissioner of Commerce,

Respondent.

ORDER

Based upon all the files, records adn proceedings herein,

It is hereby ordered that the petition of Caucus Distributors,

Inc., Campaigner Publications, Inc. and Independent

Democrats for La Rouche for further review be, and the same

is, denied.

Dated 6-10-88

By the Court

(signed)

Chief Justice

B-1

STATE OF MINNESOTA

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE

In the Matter of Caucus

Distributors, Inc., and

Campaigner Publications, Inc.,

New York Corporations, Independent

Democrats for LaRouche, an Unincorporated

Association, Ron Fredman, Ronald R. Bettag,

Paul Greenberg, and All Other Parties and

Organizations Acting in Concert with the

Named Respondent.

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSION OF LAW, AND

ORDER

COM/S-86-047-JL

8-1005-698-2

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before

Administrative Law Judge Jon Lunde, on Monday, August 4,

1986 at the Office of Administrative Hearings in Minneapolis,

Minnesota. Additional proceedings were held the following

day. The hearings were held pursuant to an Order for

Hearing, an Order Suspending Exemption issued by the

undersigned on June 4, 1986, and an amended Cease and

Desist Order, Notice of Right to Hearing and Order

Suspending Exemption issued by Deputy Commissioner of

Commerce James Miller on July 17, 1986.

Jerome Getz, Special Assistant Attorney General, 1100

Bremer Tower, Seventh Place and Minnesota Street, St. Paul,

B-2

Minnesota 55101, appeared on behalf of the Minnesota

Department of Commerce (Department). Patrick Moran,

Moran & Pilger, P.A., Attorneys at Law, 1221 Lamar

Building, Suite 517, Houston, Texas 77010, appeared on

behalf of each of the above-named organizations and

individuals. The record closed on May 20, 1987.

Thereafter, on July 15, 1987 Administrative Law Judge Lunde

issued his Findings of Fact, Conclusions and

Recommendations to the undersigned. On July 20, 1987, the

undersigned sent notice that exceptions and arguments should

be filed with the Department of Commerce no later than

August 12, 1987, and the Attorney General filed exceptions

and argument on August 14, 1987.

Based upon an examination of the transcript and exhibits,

and upon a review of all the briefs and all of the other records,

files and proceedings herein, the undersigned makes the

following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Caucus Distributors, Inc., (Caucus) is a Not-For-

Profit corporation incorporated under the laws of the State of

New York. The Certificate of Incorporations its incorporators

filed with the New York Department of State on April 5, 1982

reads in part as follows:

x***

2. Thecorporation * * * is not formed for pecuniary profit

or financial gain, [and] * * * no part of the assets,

income or profit of the corporation is distributable to, or

inures to the benefit of its members, directors or officers

or any private person except to the extent permissible

under the Not-For-Profit Corporation Law.

—————

B-3

3. The purposes for which the corporation is formed are:

To promote and encourage the political and [sic] ideas and

beliefs fostered by the International Caucus of Labor

Committees and other organizations advocating the same

ideas and beliefs; to distribute to the general public, sell

and obtain subscriptions to publications specifically

dedicated to the political ideas and beliefs fostered by the

International Caucus of Labor Committees and other

organizations; to solicit membership for certain

membership organizations associated with the

publications distributed by the corporation consonant with

the goals, purposes and programs of those organizations;

to advertise and promote the publications distributed by

the corporation; to engage the services of writers,

reporters, editors, distributors, corporations,

associations, partnerships and new agencies in

furtherance of these purposes; ***

2. Campaigner Publications, Inc. (Campaigner) is a New

York corporation.

3. Independent Democrats for LaRouche (IDL) is an

unincorporated association and a political committee apparently

recognized by the Federal Election Commission. Paul

Greenberg is an authorized representative of IDL and is

empowered to sign notes on its behaif.

4. Atall times material to this case, Ron Fredman and

Ronald R. Bettag worked for Caucus and solicited loans to

Caucus, IDL and Campaigner by selling notes for them.

5. Ron Fredman, Ronald R. Bettag and Paul Greenberg

are not and have never been licensed by the Department to sell

——77~

B-4

securities in the State of Minnesota. Likewise, Caucus,

Campaigner, and IDL are not and never have been licensed by

the Department to sell securities in the State of Minnesota.

6. Mary M. Mitchell, an 85-year-old widow, is a resident

of Minneapolis, Minnesota. She has lived there since moving

from Winona in 1938. Mitchell is a retired stenographer who

has a high school education.

7. In July, 1984, while walking on the Mall near.Seventh

and Nicollet in downtown Minneapolis, Mitchell was given a

pamphlet pertaining to the presidential candidacy of Lyndon

LaRouche. She told the man who gave her the pamphlet that

she had seen LaRouche on television and liked what she saw.

The man told her that if she gave him her name and telephone

number someone would call her with more information about

LaRouche. She gave him the information.

8. Approximately one week after her encounter on the

Mall, Ron Fredman telephoned Mitchell from Chicago to talk

to her about LaRouche, Caucus, Campaigner and IDL.

Fredman told Mitchell about corruption in the world and the

need for Americans to clean it up. He specifically mentioned

drug trafficking in the Middle East and South America, the

laundering of Mafia money by banks, the decline in American

culture, and bank failures. He told Mitchell that some banks

were shaky and that if the United States didn't pull together,

everyone would go bankrupt. Fredman told Mitchell that

LaRouche needed her help with these problems and he asked

her for a contribution. She agreed to make a $25 contribution

at that ime, and he made arrangements for her to receive

copies of "New Solidarity" and other publications.

9. During that initial telephone conversation, Fredman

also asked Mitchell to help by making loans. Fredman told her

B-5

that she would receive a promissory note for any loans she

made and that she could specify the interest rate and the term

of the notes. Since she would get a promissory note and could

specify the interest rate, Mitchell concluded that the loans

would be similar to a banking transaction. Moreover, since

LaRouche was "in the limelight", she concluded that she was

not dealing with a fly-by-night operation that would skip the

country, and that her loans would be a good investment.

Therefore, she agreed to make a $15,000 loan at that time. In

return, she was to receive two notes payable at the end of three

years. One was to be made payable to her and her stepson, R.

Keith Mitchell, in the principal amount of $10,000. The other

was to be made payable to her and her sister-in-law, Mozell

Hall, in the principal amount of $5,000. Fredman personally

collected two checks in the aggregate amount of $15,000 from

Mitchell at her home in Minneapolis early in July 1984. Later

that month, two promissory notes were mailed to her in the

aggregate principal sum of $15,000. The notes stated the

payees, amounts, term and interest rate Fredman promised.

10. On September 3, 1984, Fredman called Mitchell again

and asked her to loan $1,000 to IDL. She agreed to make a

$1,000 loan to IDL for one year at ten percent interest.

Following her conversation with Fredman, she mailed him a

$1,000 check payable to IDL's order. A few days later, she

received a promissory note signed by Paul Greenberg, as an

authorized representative of IDL. The note was in the

principal sum of $1,000, bore interest at the rate of ten

percent, and was payable in one year. The note, and

accumulated interest thereon, was paid by IDL in July 1986.

11. On or about September 17, 1984, Fredman telephoned

Mitchell again to give her an update on the activities of the

LaRouche organizations. At that time, he gave her more

information on their efforts to eliminate drug traffic and related

activities in the Middle East. In addition, he talked about a

publication entitled "Dope, Incorporated" which one of the

B-6

organizational Respondents had published. During that

telephone conversation, Mitchell agreed to make an additional

$5,000 loan to Caucus for 90 days with interest at 15 percent.

Immediately after her telephone conversation with Fredman,

Mitchell mailed him a check payable to Caucus in that amount.

A few days later, Mitchell received Caucus’ promissory note

incorporating the loan terms she and Fredman had discussed.

12. On or about November 26, 1984, Fredman called

Mitchell to solicit another loan. During that conversation,

Mitchell expressed regret for having made the initial $15,000

loan for a term of three years. He told her that if she returned

the notes to him, he would issue two new notes which would

mature in a year (on November 26, 1985). At that time,

Fredman persuaded Mitchell to make an additional $10,000

loan to Caucus for six months. When Mitchell told Fredman

she was getting 14 percent on a certificate of deposit with her

bank, he said that Caucus would pay 16 percent on the loan.

13. On or about November 26, 1984, a $10,000

promissory note signed by Fredman for Caucus was mailed to

Mitchell. It reflected a six-month term and a 16 percent

interest rate as she and Fredman had agreed on November 26.

At the same time, Mitchell was mailed two promissory notes

replacing those which she had returned due to her

dissatisfaction with their three-year maturity date. Exhibits 19

and 23. Those notes were signed by Fredman and

Campaigner and reflected a one-year term and a 12 percent

interest rate. The payees were the same as those in the notes

originally issued.

14. Caucus’ September 17, 1984 note -or $5,000 was due

on December 17, 1984. On or about the due date, Fredman

called Mitchell and told her that the note could not be paid

because their assets had been frozen by a bank, and“he asked

her if she would accept a one-third partial payment. Although

B-7

Mitchell agreed that the bank's explanation for freezing

Caucus’ funds was "outlandish", she said she would like half

of the note paid. Fredman said he would see if that could be

done and call her back. Early in January, 1985, after Mitchell

returned from a vacation, Fredman called her and asked if she

would accept a new note covering Caucus’ $5,000 loan to be

payable in five monthly principal installments of $1,000

commencing May 1, 1985 and a lump sum interest payment on

October 1, 1985. She agreed and a short time later received a

promissory note from Caucus in the principal sum of $5,000.

Exhibit 7. That note contained the payment terms she had

agreed to accept and was signed by Fredman for Caucus.

15. In April 1985, Mitchell asked Fredman if the

beneficiaries on Campaigner’s November 26, 1984 notes

could be changed. He said that could be done and they agreed

that Campaigner's two notes (Exhibits 19 and 23) would be

destroyed and that one new note would be issued in the

principal amount of $15,000. Mitchell also agreed that the rate

of interest could be reduced from 12 percent to 10 percent on

the new note. Exhibit A. A short time later, a $15,000 note

payable in one year with interests at 10 percent was mailed to

her. Exhibit 24. Caucus was listed as the payor of that note

and it was signed by Fredman. The note was dated April 16,

1985 rather than November 16, 1984. Mitchell did receive

interest on the $15,000 loan between November 26, 1984 and

April 16, 1985, did not agree to waive interest earned during

that time, and did not authorize a change in the date of the two

notes when they were rolled over and consolidated.

16. During the telephone conversation between Mitchell

and Fredman on April 10, 1985, Mitchell agreed to make an

additional loan to Caucus in the amount of $10,000. The loan

was made in two separate payments to Caucus. A $6,000

payment was made by a check dated April 10, 1985 anda

$4,000 payment was made to Caucus by a check dated April

26, 1985. On or about April 29, 1985, Caucus’ $10,000

B-8

promissory note was mailed to Mitcheil. The note, which was

signed by Fredman, carried an interest rate of 10 percent and

was payable in six months.

17. Apart from her loan to IDL, Mitchell loaned $40,000

to Caucus between July 1984 and April 29, 1985. As of

November 21, 1985, only $2,000 had been repaid to her. A

$1,000 payment was made late in April 1985, a $500 payment

was made on November 6, 1985 and a $500 payment was

made on September 30, 1985 (two checks).

18. During their telephone conversation in 1984 and 1985,

Mitchell and Fredman primarily talked about Caucus, but he

never explained his relationship to Caucus, Campaigner or

IDL. In addition, he never told her how they would repay the

loans, if they had solicited loans from other persons, or if they

had repaid those loans in a timely fashion.

19. All of Mitchell's loans to the Respondents, except the

$1,000 loan made to IDL, were made by check payable to

Caucus. All the checks were presented for payment and paid

by her bank. Mitchell did receive interest on the $15,000 loan

between November 26, 1984 and April 16, 1985, did not

agree to waive interest earned during that time, and did not

authorize a change in the date of the two notes when they were

rolled over and consolidated. All the loans we:- solicited by

Fredman. Mitchell had no direct contact with Greenberg and

had very limited contact with Bettag. Her only contact with

Bettag occurred in 1985 after she became concerned about the

repayment of her notes. Bettag told her that the LaRouche

organizations stand behind their commitments and that notes

were good investments. Bettag explained that money wasn't

coming in as fast as they had expected, but that all their loans

would be repaid and that her money was safe.

20. After the conversation with Bettag, Mitchell advised

B-9

family members about the loans she had made to the

Respondents and the delinquencies that existed. Later, with

their advice and input, she retained counsel and the Department

was eventually informed of the transactions.

21. In later November of 1985, Joyce Rubenstein, a

Caucus representative, telephoned Mitchell from New York to

discuss her loans to Caucus. Rubenstein advised Mitchell that

if she would make an additional $10,000 loan to Caucus she

would be sure to get the rest of her money ($40,000) back.

Based on these representations, Mitchell loaned Caucus

another $10,000 for eight months at 12 percent. On

November 29, 1985, Mitchell received confirmation from

Caucus that the loan had been made under those terms.

Confirmation was in a letter form. No note was issued as had

been done in the past.

22. Mitchell considered all of her loans to the Respondents

as investments, not unlike certificates of deposit that

individuals can purchase from a bank. None of her loans were

intended to be contributions and none of them were

collateralized. Apart from IDL's note, most of the notes

issued were notarized by .Bettag and most specifically stated

that they could not be assigned, transferred or discounted. All

of them were signed by Fredman.

23. In 1984 and 1985, the Respondents solicited loans

from other Minnesota residents and from residents in other

states including Illinois, Maryland, Alaska, Indiana, and

Washington.

24. No individual employed by or representing the

Respondents gave Mitchell any financial information regarding

the organizational Respondents that she could use to determine

their ability to repay the loans she made. She was not told

how the Respondents would be able to repay her loans, where

B-10

the money used to repay her loans would come from, or what

the risks of her investments were. Mitchell was not advised if

Caucus was in default of its obligation to repay principal and

interest to other investors or that one judgment had been

entered against Caucus for failure to repay a loan when due. :

Moreover, Mitchell was never advised that the Respondents

were not licensed to sell securities in the State of Minnesota or

that the notes were not registered as required by law. In fact,

Fredman told Mitchell that the loans were legal.

BASED ON THE FOREGOING FINDINGS OF

FACT, THE UNDERSIGNED MAKES THE

FOLLOWING:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce and the

Administrative Law Judge have authority to consider the

issues raised by the Commissioner's Cease and Desist Order

and Order Suspending Exemption, as amended, under Minn.

Stat. §§ 80A.21, 80A.15, subd. 3, and 14.50 (1984).

2. That the Department has complied with all releyant

substantive and procedural requirements of law and rule and

that the Respondents received proper and timely notice of the

hearing and of the Commissioner's Orders.

3. That under Minn. Rule 1400.7300, subp. 5, the

Department has the burden of proof to establish the Statutory

violations alleged by a preponderance of the evidence.

4. That the loans solicited by Ron Fredman and the notes

issued by the organizational Respondents constituted offers

and sale for purposes of Minn. Stat. § 80A.14, subd. 17

(1984).

B-11

5. That the promissory notes offered and sold by the

Respondents in the state of Minnesota constitute securities for

purposes of Minn. Stat. § 80A.14, subd. 18 (1984).

6. That the promissory notes offered and sold by the

Respondents in the State of Minnesota were not registered

with the Commissioner .prior to :or at the time of their offer of

sale as required by Minn. Stat. § 80A.08 (1984).

7. That the Respondent Ron Fredman violated Minn. Stat.

§ 80A.014, subd. 1, by transacting business in this State as an

agent without a license to do so.

8. That the organizational Respondents violated Minn.

Stat. § 80A.04, subd. 2, by employing Ron Fredman as their

agent.

9. That in connection with the sale of promissory notes to

Mary Mitchell, the Respondents Ron Fredman and Ronald R.

Bettag failed to state material facts necessary in order to make

statements that were made not misleading, contrary to Minn.

Stat. § 80A.04, clause (b) (1984), by failing to disclose

financial information which could have been used to determine

the organizational Respondents. ability to repay the notes

when due and by failing to advise Mitchell that none of the

Respondents were licensed to sell securities in the State of

Minnesota and that the promissory notes were not registered

pursuant to the Minnesota Securities Act.

10. That the Cease and Desist Order proposed by the

Commissioner is in the public interest and should be issued.

11. That under Minn. Stat. § 80A.15, subd. 4, the

Respondents have the burden of proving any exemption

claimed under Minn. Stat. § 80A.Ol to 80A.31 or any

exception from a definition contained therein.

——ee——_e_—

B-12

12. That the Respondents have failed to establish that the

promissory notes they sold are subject to any exemption or

exception.

13. That the Respondent Ron Fredman fraudulently

misdated one of the promissory notes issued to Mitchell in

violation of Minn. Stat. § 80A.Ol, clause (c) (1984).

14. That the Respondent Ron Fredman did not violate

Minn. Stat. § 80A.Ol, clause (c) by telling Mitchell that some

banks were failing. z

BASED UPON THE FOREGOING

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW, THE UNDERSIGNED

MAKES THE FOLLOWING:

ORDER

1. That Respondent shall cease and desist from offering or

selling any security in Minnesota without filing said security

pursuant to Minn. Stat. ch. 80A, or without obtaining an

opinion letter from the Department of Commerce that said

security is exempt from filing.

2. That Respondents shall cease and desist from offering

or selling any promissory notes or other debt instruments

without filing said instruments pursuant to Chapter 80A, or

without obtaining an opinion letter from the Department of

Commerce that the instrument need not be filed.

Dated: Sept. 3, 1987

MICHAEL A..HATCH

Commissioner of Commerce

State of Minnesota

Department of Commerce

B-13

500 Metro Square Building

Seventh & Robert Streets

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

C-1

State of Minnesota

In Court of Appeals

C4-87-1952

Department of Commerce

Randall, Judge

CAUCUS DISTRIBUTORS, INC.,

STUART L. FINNEY

ET AL..,

FULLER & FINNEY

3300 EDINBOROUGH WAY, SUITE 415

EDINA, MN 55435

PATRICK J. MORAN

MORAN & PILGER

1221 LAMAR,SUITE 517

HOUSTON, TX 77010

Relators,

Vv

COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE,

HUBERT H. HUMPHREY, III

ATTORNEY GENERAL

JEROME L. GETZ

SPEC. ASST. ATTORNEY GENERAL

1100 BREMER TOWER

7TH PLACE & MINNESOTA STREET

C-2

ST. PAUL, MN 55101

Respondent.

Filed April 5, 1988

Office of Appellate Courts

SYLLABUS

A discovery sanction that precluded relators

from contesting some of respondent's

allegations did not impermissibly deprive

relators of an opportunity to be heard. The

sanction was for good cause and within the

discretion of the Administrative Law Judge

(ALJ).

The factual findings of the Commissioner

were supported by substantial evidence.

The promissory notes relators issued

constituted securities under Minn. Stat. §

80A.14.

The Federal Election Campaign Act does not

preempt regulation of the issuance of securities

by relator Independent Democrats for

LaRouche.

Minnesota Security Laws do not

impermissibly infringe on relators’ first

amendment rights to freedom of association.

C-3

6. Improper portions of relator's brief and

appendix are stricken.

Affirmed.

Heard, considered and decided by Randall,

Presiding Judge, Lansing, Judge, and

Mulally,” Judge.

OPINION

RANDALL, Judge

This matter is before us on writ for certiorari to review a

decision of the Commissioner of Commerce. The

Commissioner found promissory notes relators offered and

sold in exchange for loans were unlicensed securities. The

Commissioner ordered relators to cease offering or selling

unfiled promissory notes or debt instruments without

obtaining an opinion letter from the department of commerce.

This appeal is from the Commissioner's order. We affirm.

FACTS

Relators Caucus Distributors, Inc. (CDI) and Campaigner

Publications, Inc. (CPI) are New York corporations.

Independent Democrats for LaRouche (IDL) is an

unincorporated association.

MM, an 85 year old widow, was the only witness to

testify at the hearing. According to MM's testimony, her first

contact with respondents was in July 1984. MM was

downtown Minneapolis, when she saw an individual passing

* Acting as judge of the Coun of Appels by

appointment pursuant to Minn. Const. Art. 6,§2.

C-4

out pamphlets. MM took a pamphlet and found it discussed

Lyndon LaRouche. She heard LaRouche on television a few

days earlier, and she told the pamphleteer she liked LaRouche

and his views. MM gave the pamphleteer her telephone

number so someone could call her and talk about LaRouche.

About a week later, MM received a telephone call from

Ron Fredman of the Chicago office. Fredman told MM that

the organization could use her help in its efforts to cut down

on dope pushing in the Middle East and other places. He also

mentioned incidents of banks closing, a matter of which MM

was already aware through various newspaper articles.

Fredman asked MM to loan money to the LaRouche

organization. MM testified Fredman told her she would get a

promissory note, specifying the interest rate and maturity date,

and MM said she "thought it was just like something you

would give to a bank." In return for a $15,000 three-year loan,

MM received two notes, one for $10,000 and another for

$5,000.! On September 3, 1984, MM made out a check for

$1000, payable to IDL. On the bottom of the check, MM

made the notation: “l-yr.

April 16, 1985, to replace one note for $5000 and one note

for $10,000, which had been made out for three years loan at

10%."2 Shortly after MM mailed the check, she received a

note from IDL, signed by Paul Greenberg. Relators stipulate

that this was a valid ioan, and that Greenberg was authorized

to sign the note.

1 A 12-month, $15,000 note was issued by

Caucus Distributors

2 The loan was paid off, together with interest.

C-5

After receiving another telephone call from Fredman, MM

made out a check to CDI for $5000. On the bottom of the

check, MM wrote: "90-day loan, 15 percent annual rate." MM

received a note from CDI in early 1985, after Fredman

informed her she could not be repaid within the 90-day period.

About November 26, 1984, MM made another loan to COI

for $10,000, “for the same reason that [she] made the other

ones. [She] thought it was a good investment * * *." MM

received a six-month promissory note dated November 26,

1984, signed by Fredman for CDI in the amount of $10,000,

with interest at 16%. Fredman offered her 16% when she told

him she had a certificate of deposit (CO) at 14%.

In April 1985, Mr. Fredman called MM and asked to

borrow more money from her. MM sent CDI one check for

$4000 and another for $6000. She received a $10,000

promissory note at 10% interest from CDI, signed by

Fredman. In the fall of 1985, appellant received three checks

from CDI, totalling $1000, as partial loan repayment. MM

testified she never believed she would not be timely repaid on

the notes. She testified she was not informed that CDI was

borrowing significant amounts of money from other persons.

She did not know that CDI, CPI or IDL had failed to make

timely payments on notes issued to other persons. MM did

not know that other lenders had not been repaid and had

obtained judgments against CDI.

In November 1985, Joyce Rubenstein, from CDI's New

York office, telephoned MM, informing her that if she made

an additional loan to CDI, the $40,000 total loans would be

repaid. When she sent the check to CDI, MM received a letter

acknowledging receipt of the loan.

On October 6, 1986, the ALJ issued a discovery order,

requiring relators to provide a list of persons who made loans

C-6

to relators after September 1, 1983. Relators resisted on the

grounds that the names of lenders to LaRouche's campaign

were privileged information, and that requirement of their

disclosure would somehow interfere with the first amendment

right of freedom of association of CDI and its lenders.

The ALJ gave relators an alternative solution. Each relator

could provide the ALJ with a comprehensive list of persons

who had made loans. The ALJ would provide respondent

with thirty names, chosen at random from each list, and

respondent could then request additional information about the

individuals chosen. The ALJ indicated that the information

would be subject to a protective order providing for the

confidentiality of the information, and for the return to relators

of all information after a final decision was reached.

Relators deliberately did not comply with either option

offered by the discovery order, continuing to claim the lists

were privileged. Respondents moved for the imposition of

sanctions. The ALJ denied the motion, but reaffirmed its prior

order and again directed relators to comply with discovery.

Relators again informed the ALJ of their decision not to

comply with any discovery order. The ALJ then entered an

order precluding relators from contesting portions of

respondent's amended cease and desist order.

After considering the evidence, and consistent with the

ALJ's recommendation, the Commissioner found that relators

_ _ offered and sold unregistered securities in Minnesota, contrary

to the requirement of Minn. Stat. § 804.08, and ordered

relators to cease and desist selling unfiled securities in

Minnesota without obtaining an opinion letter from the

department of commerce.

ISSUES

C-7

1. Did discovery sanctions improperly deprive

relators of a night to be heard?

2. Were the factual findings of the Commissioner

supported by substantial evidence?

3. Do the promissory notes issued by relators

constitute securities under Minn. Stat. §

80A.14?

4. Does IDL constitute a presidential campaign

organization, the regulation of which is

preempted by the Federal Election Campaign

Act?

5. Are relators' fund-raising activities protected

by the first amendment?

6. Should materials in relators’ brief be stricken?

ANALYSIS

I

DISCOVERY SANCTIONS

Relators contend they had a right to protect their lists of

supporters and contributors on first and fourteenth amendment

and privacy grounds. They assert that the order requiring

disclosure of their membership violated their supporters’ rights

to free association and speech.

The compelled disclosure of an individual's affiliation with

an organization may, standing alone, constitute an intrusion

into the first amendment rights of privacy of association and

C-8

belief. Jones v. Unknown Agents of the Federal Election

Commission, 613 F.2d 864, 874 (D.C. Cir. 1979)(discussing

NAACP vy. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449 (1958)).

[A] court must be particularly mindful of

potential damage to associational interests

when enforcing a subpoena against minor

political parties and their members.

nome ee ™

644 F.Supp. 120, 123 (S.D.N.Y. 1986)(citing Buckley v.

Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 71 (1976)).

However, governmental interests underlying the disclosure

provisions of the Federal Election Campaign Act may

outweigh the possible harm to the associational rights of

members of minor political parties. See NAACP, 357 U:S. at

463.

The state's security laws are aimed at

speculative schemes having no more basis than so many

feet of blue sky, * * * and * * * [they are] intended to

put a stop to the sale of shares in visionary oil wells,

nonexistent gold mines and other "get-rich-quick"

schemes calculated to despoil credulous individuals of

their savings. It is a proper and needful exercise of the

police power of the state and should not be given a

narrow construction * * *. The commission * * * has

the power, in making its investigation, to compel a full

disclosure of the facts upon which to base an intelligent

judgment.

State v, Gopher Tire & Rubber Co, 146 Minn. 52, 55, 177

N.W. 937, 938 (1920). This governmental interest is

sufficiently compelling to outweigh the claimed infringement

C-9

by relators on their night of association with their contributors.

In LaRouche Campaign, the Federal Election Commission

(FEC) sought information to determine whether the LaRouche

Campaign had reported false information about contributions

and loans. The court concluded that the state's interest was

sufficiently compelling to require disclosure of solicitors and

contributors. LaRouche Campaign, 644 F.Supp. at 122. The

information that could be requested by the FEC included

identification of officers, directors and other members insofar

as they related to persons responsible for soliciting

contributions, and all bank records pertaining to loans and

contributions.

Here, the information requested is even less intrusive. The

discovery order did not require disclosure of the names of

persons soliciting loans, officers, directors, employees and

volunteers unless the lists furnished had fewer than 25 names.

Respondents claim they were prejudiced by relators'

failure to provide the list. We agree. Relators point out they

provided respondent with seven names. However, relators'

disclosure of seven names selected by relators did not

adequately comply with the order. The ALJ correctly found

that relators' failure to provide the required information

deprived respondent of the opportunity to prove its case,

particularly to prove the instruments were securities. The

sanction was appropriate.

II

EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT FINDINGS OF FACT

Decisions of.administrative agencies enjoy a presumption

of correctness, and deference should be shown by courts to

the agency's expertise and special knowledge in its field of

C-10

technical training, education, and experience. Reserve Mining

Co. v. Herbst, 256 N.W.2d 808, 824 (Minn. 1977). This

court must decide whether findings of fact are unsupported by

substantial evidence. Id. at 827; Minnesota Administrative

Procedure Act, Minn. Stat. § 15.0425 (1984).

Relators claim some of the Commissioner's findings of

fact were not supported by the evidence. MM did not testify

that Bettag, a consultant for relators, solicited loans from her.

Relators claim there was no evidence Bettag had any role in

soliciting loans.

However, respondent alleged that Bettag solicited loans.

Relators’ failure to comply with the ALJ's discovery order

deprived respondent of the opportunity to prove this

allegation. The ALJ's sanction for failure to comply with

discovery precluded relators from contesting, among other

things, respondent's claim that Bettag offered or sold

promissory notes to persons in Minnesota. Since we affirm

the discovery sanctions, we hold the Commissioner's finding

was proper.

Relators claim the Commissioner's finding #18 constituted

an abuse of discretion:

During their telephone conversation in 1984 and 1985,

[MM] and Fredman primarily talked about Caucus, but

he never explained his relationship to Caucus,

Campaigner or IOL. In addition, he never told her how

they would repay the loans, if they had solicited loans

from other persons, or if they had repaid those loans in a

timely fashion.

Relators contend that it was unreasonable to assume MM

did not realize that other lenders made loans to relators. The

contested finding was that relators never told MM how the

loans were to be paid, or about other loans or inability to make

C-11

other loan payments. That finding is supported by MM's

testimony that Fredman never discussed with her how CDI

would repay the loans, that COI was borrowing significant

amounts of money from other persons, or that CDI had failed

to make timely repayment on notes CDI had issued to other

persons. She testified no one connected with CPI, IDL or

CDI told her that any of those organizations had failed to make

timely payments on loans to other persons.

Relators contend there was inadequate evidence to support

finding #22, that MM "considered all of her loans to [relators]

as investments, not unlike certificates of deposit * * *." When

asked why she made a particular loan to CDI, MM testified:

"[F]or the same reason that I made the other ones. I thought it

was a good investment on there." MM testified Fredman

offered her a note at 16% when she told him she had money

invested in a CO at 14%. MM testified that she has quite a few

CD's, and thought of them and bank accounts as investments.

MM testified

as long as he told me I could give a promissory note and

specify the interest and when I would get repaid, I

thought it was just like something you would give to a

bank. * * * I said, "Well, if it's just a loan for a year or

so, I could put it in the bank anyhow, so he could have

it."

MM's testimony supports the finding.

Ill

SECURITIES

The Commissioner found that "the promissory notes

offered and sold by [relators] in the State of Minnesota

constitute securities for purposes of Minn. Stat. § 80A.14,

C-12

subd. 18 (1984)." The statute includes in its definition of

"security:”

any note; stock; treasury stock; bond; debenture;

evidence of indebtedness; certificate of interest * * *.

Id. In a judicial or administrative proceeding under Minn.

Stat. §§ 80A.01-.31, the burden of proving an exemption or

an exception from a definition is upon the person ciaiming the

exemption or exception. Minn. Stat. § 80A.15, subd. 4

(1984).

Both parties agree there is no applicable Minnesota caselaw

defining security in a context similar to the notes at issue here.

However, they agree that appropriate analysis would be under

federal law interpreting the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

§§ 77a-77bbbb, and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15

U.S.C. §§ 78a-78kk.

Relators point out that the term "security" has the meaning

given to it in the statute unless the context requires otherwise.

Minn. Stat. § 80A.14, subd. 1 (1984). Relators contend that

viewed in the context of the transaction, its notes are not

securities within the definition of Minn. Stat. § 80A.14.

Respondent agrees that it would be inappropriate to consider

all notes securities, but claims the Commissioner ey

found the notes at issue here to be securities.

Under a literal application of Minn. Stat. 80A.14, subd.

18, which specifically refers to notes as securities, the

promissory notes would be securities. In Landreth Timber

Co. v. Landreth, __ U.S. _, 105 S.Ct. 2297 (1985), the

Supreme Court found instruments bearing the name and the

usual characteristics of stock had to be treated as a security

under the plain meaning of the statutory definition.

A literal interpretation is, however, inappropriate for the

C-13

term "note," which

may now be viewed as a relatively broad term that

encompasses instruments with widely varying

characteristics, depending on whether issued in a

consumer context, as commercial paper, or in some other

investment context.

Id. at __, 105 S.Ct. at 2306.

Some courts have applied an investment contract analysis

to determine whether a document is a security. In Securities &

Exchange Commission v. W.J. Howey Co., 328 U.S. 293

(1946), the Supreme Court defined an investment contract, a

security under the federal act, as:

a contract, transaction or scheme whereby a person

invests his money in a common enterprise and is led to

expect profits solely from the efforts of the promoter or a

third party, it being immaterial whether the shares in the

enterprise are evidenced by formal certificates or by

nominal interests in the physical assets employed by the

enterprise.

Id. at 298-99. See also Gopher Tire, 146 Minn. at 56,

177 N.W. at 938 ("investment contract" found to mean

contract or scheme for "placing of capital or laying out of

money in a way intended to secure income or profit from its

employment").

The Howey test has been applied to documents similar to

the notes issued by relators. See Securities & Exchange

Commission v, World Radio Mission, Inc., 544 F.2d 535 (Ist

Cir. 1976). World Radio Mission was a religious organization

which raised funds by selling interest-bearing notes. The

court found the documents were securities, both within the

plain meaning of the statute and under the investment contract

analysis, as applied in United Housing Foundation, Inc, v,

Forman, 421 U.S. 837 (1975). Id. at 852. Several federal

C-14

courts have rejected the Howey test, however. See Daily v,

Morgan, 701 F.2d 496 (Sth Cir. 1983); Exchange National

Bank of Chicago v. Touche Ross & Co., 544 F.2d 1126 (2d

Cir. 1976).

Relators contend the courts must look for the

characteristics of an investment, i.e. “the expectation of profit

based upon the entrepreneurial or managerial efforts of

others." See Great Western Bank & Trust v, Kotz, 532 F.2d

1252 (9th Cir. 1976).

To determine whether the transaction under review

involves an "investment" in return for "securities" within

the meaning of the securities laws, we analyze the nature

and degree of risk accompanying the transaction to the

party providing the funds. * * * The inquiry is whether

the funding party invested "risk capital.”

Id. at 1256-57 (citations omitted). The Kotz court found the

ultimate inquiry to be whether the lender, a bank that received

an unsecured note in exchange for a loan, contributed "risk

capital” subject to the entrepreneurial or managerial efforts of

the issuer of the note. Id. at 1257.

Relators argue MM made the loans with only an

expectation of a set rate of interest not contingent upon the

managerial or entrepreneurial efforts of relators, and therefore

the loans are not securities. See Union Planters National Bank

of Memphis v. Commercial Credit Business Loans. Inc,, 651

F.2d 1174, 1185 (6th Cir. 1981)(loan participation purchased

by bank did not constitute security, where bank considered

transaction a loan, not an investment, the existence of collateral

strongly suggested a commercial loan, and the interest

payments were to be made from the efforts of a third party).

Here, the notes are securities under the Kotz test. MM's

loans to relators were not collateralized: the loans made to MM

——— eee

a

C-15

and to other individuals were not isolated transactions, but part

of a general offering; and the notes were not short-term

demand notes. This case can be distinguished from Union

Planters, in that the ability to repay the loan and interest was

directly dependent on the fund-raising efforts of relators, and

not upon the managerial or entrepreneurial efforts of some

third party.

Among the factors to consider when determining whether

the notes were purchased as an investment or as a commercial

loan are whether the notes were personal promissory notes

issued by a private party; whether the notes were offered to the

public; whether the issuer is the person bringing the claim; and

whether the notes were procured in the solicitation of venture

capital. See Lino v, City Investing Co,, 487 F.2d 689, 694-

95 (3d Cir. 1973).

Relators contend that MM did not make an investment

because she expected to get back only her principal plus

interest, and did not expect to share in any profits of

enterprises conducted by relators. MM risked the loss of her

capital in return for loans at an interest rate up to two

percentage points above the rate she was receiving on her CD.

The following factors weigh in favor of finding the notes

are securities under the commercial/investment dichotomy test:

1 MMis nota financial institution or commercial

lender in the business of making loans to

private parties;

2 The notes Were not issued in connection with

consumer installment transaction or real estate

purchase;

C-16

3 The notes were not collateralized;

4 The sale took place outside the normal market

for notes and commercial paper,

5 The sales to MM took place as part of a

broader solicitation of loans from members of

the public;

6 MM considered the notes an investment:3

7 The notes are securities within the plain

ING OE Oe CIID ancciinsnsencecinsiinteadenees.cs.......

Relators point out that MM thought of the notes like

certificates of deposit. Certificates of deposit issued by

federally regulated banks are not securities. Marine Bank v.

Weaver, 455 U.S. 551, 559 (1982). However, relators

ignore the Supreme Court's reasoning:

It is unnecessary to subject issuers of bank certificates of

deposit to liability under the antifraud provisions of the

federal securities laws since the holders of bank

certificates of deposit are abundantly protected under the

federal banking laws.

3 She was unwilling to make contributions in excess of

$25 to appellants, but was prevailed upon to make

substantial loans ($40,000), by promises of higher

interest, including at one point interest two percentage

points higher than interest she was currently receiving on

a CD.

| C-17

Id. The certificate of deposit analogy is not applicable

here. MM and other lenders do not benefit from the protection

of federal or state banking laws. An important consideration is

that the purpose of the securities law is to protect members of

the public from fraud and imposition. Gopher Tire, 146

Minn. at 55, 177 N.W. 938: see also State v. Investors

Security Corp,, 297 Minn. i, 8, 209 N.W.2d 405, 409

(1973)(in accordance with an expansive view of our securities

statutes, there has been a consistent broadening of the

coverage of these statutes in Minnesota). We find,

unequivocally, that this policy is furthered by our holding here

that the Commissioner correctly found these notes to be

securities under Minn. Stat. §80A.14 (1984) and subject to

regulation by the State of Minnesota.

IV

FEDERAL PREEMPTION

Relators point out that state law may be preempted where

congress enacts federal statutes with the clear intent of

preempting state law. See Silkwood v, Kerr-McGee Corp.

464 U.S. 238, 248 (1984). Generally, a federal act does not

supersede the police power of the state unless that was the

clear and manifest purpose of Congress. Jones v, Rath

Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 525 (1977)(quoting Rice v.

Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947)). The

federal-state balance will not be disturbed unintentionally by

Congress or unnecessarily by the courts. See id. The test is

whether, in the relationship between state and federal law as

applied, the state law "stands as an obstacle to the

accomplishment and execution of the full purposes and

objectives of Congress." Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52,

67 (1941).

Respondent argues that Congress did not intend to preempt

laws of general application outside the area of election, that

C-18

there is no conflict between the federal election laws and state

law, and that compliance with one does not preclude

compliance with the other. We agree that Minnesota security

laws, as applied here to protect Minnesota residents, do not

conflict with the intent of the federal election laws.

Relators would have this court hold that the federal laws

relating to elections and political activities supersede and

preempt any state law provision with respect to federal Office,

giving appellants absolute immunity from state law simply

because LaRouche has aspirations to federal office. We

decline to do so.

Vv

FIRST AMENDMENT ARGUMENTS

Relators argue that because they are political organizations,

the first amendment protects them from application of state

regulation. See generally Federal Election Commission v,

M h itizens for Life. In tuna . for ace

616 (1986)(federal statute restricting independent spending

unconsttutionally infringed on free speech without compelling

justification). However, the bare Claim of a first amendment

interest does not insulate behavior from responsible judicial

scrutiny. The state has an interest in protecting citizens from

abusive practices in solicitation of funds for charity, even

when the charitable Organization has a purpose protected by

the first amendment. See Cantwell v, Connecticut, 310 U.S.

296, 306 (1940).

In World Radio Mission, notes made in exchange for loans

to a religious organization were found to be securities. World

Radio Mission asserted first amendment freedom of religion

nights. The First Circuit Court of Appeals found that World

Radio did not solicit contributions, but stressed the security of

C-19

investment. World Radio Mission, 544 F.2d at 538-39. The

court pointed out the 12% interest rate "suggests defendants’

investors were moved by something more than a donative

spirit." Id. at 539. Having solicited funds on economic

grounds, the court found, World Radio could not claim first

amendment protection. MM, by her own uncontradicted

testimony, stated she was induced, not by LaRouche's oratory

or his political platform, but by high interest rates, to lend the

money.

Similarly, relators here were not engaging in an activity

protected by the first amendment when they issued promissory

notes in exchange for loans. As in World Radio Mission, MM

was motivated by "something more than a donative spirit."

MM's testimony supports the Commissioner's finding that

MM considered the loans investments and did not intend to

make contributions. As purveyors of these "investments,"

relators cannot claim first amendment protection shields them

from reasonable state regulation and reasonable scrutiny by the

courts.

VI

STRIKING OF APPENDIX

Respondent requests this court to strike from the appendix

a copy of a loan repayment agreement of the Ronald Reagan

Congressional Victory Fund. Appellant claims this is the sort

of thing to which MM referred when she said

money is lent to Democrats, Republicans right along,

and then they pay it when they get it. Where they get it

from or how they arrange it, I don't know about it.

The record is devoid of evidence that MM had ever seen

the victory fund document, and thus no evidence exists that

she either relied on it or compared the notes in question to that

C-20

“loan repayment agreement.” Additionally, the document was

not introduced at trial. Portions of an appendix that were not

before the trial court are not properly before this court. See

State v. Edmison, 373 N.W.2d 639, 640 (Minn. Ct. App.

1985), reviewed and remanded on other grounds, 379

N.W.2d 85 (Minn. 1985).

Respondent objects to other portions of relators’ brief

containing information not in evidence. For instance, relators'

brief refers to fund-raising activities of Republicans. Relators

argue that such activities were overlooked, and that they are

the victims of selective enforcement against minority political

groups. The record does not support this accusation; this

issue was not briefed, raised and argued to the ALJ, and will

not considered on appeal.

Respondent also challenges a statement in relator's brief

alleging some states received lists of lenders from Virginia or

the federal authorities, and that it was probable Minnesota also

received a list of Minnesota residents who ere lenders.

Relators inferred from this claim that the discovery order they

resisted was therefore unnecessary. Relators admit that this

information was not in evidence, but assert it is common

knowledge, and assert it is common knowledge, and assert

these statements were never refuted. The statement that

Minnesota "may have" received such a list is, by its phrasing,

speculative, and , without more, we do not consider it.

We grant respondent's motion to strike portions of relators'

appendix. We note that our decision to strike these relatively

immaterial portions has no bearing on our disposition of the

issues in this case.

DECISION

The ALJ's discovery sanctions did not impermissibly

deprive relators of the opportunity to present issues and argue

C-21

their case. The factual findings of the ALJ are supported by

substantial evidence. The promissory notes relators issued

constitute securities under Minn. Stat. §80A.14. The Federal

Election Campaign Act does not preempt regulation of the

issuance of securities by relator Independent Democrats for

LaRouche. Minnesota security laws, as applied to relators

fund raising activities, do not impermissibly infringe on

relator’s first amendment right of association. Portions of

relators' brief and appendix are stricken.

Affirmed.

Blue Sky Law

(3) the security registered or sought to be registered is the

subject of an administrative stop order or similar order or a

permanent or temporary injunction of any court of competent

jurisdiction entered under any other federal or state act

applicable to the offering; but (i) the commissioner may not

institute a proceeding against an effective registration statement

under this clause more than one year from the date of the order

or injunction relied on, and (ii) may not enter an order under

this clause on the basis of an order or injunction entered under

any other state act unless that order or injunction was based on

facts which would currently constitute a ground for a stop

order under this section;

(4) the issuer's enterprise or method of business includes

or would include activities which are illegal where performed;

(5) the offering has worked or tended to work a fraud

upon purchasers or would so operate;

(6) excep: with respect to securities which are being

registered by notification, the terms of the securities are unfair ~

and inequitable; provided, however, that the commissioner

may not determine that an offering is unfair and inequitable

solely on the grounds that the securities are to be sold at an

excessive price where the offering price has been determined

by arms length negotiation between nonaffiliated partes. The

selling price of any security being sold by a broker-dealer

licensed in this state shall be presumed to have been

determined by arms length negotiation;

D-2

(7) when a security is sought to be registered by

coordination there has been a failure to comply with the

undertaking required by section 80A.10, subdivision 2, clause

(d);

(8) the applicant or registrant has failed to pay the proper

filing fee; but the commissioner may enter only a denial order

under this clause and he shall vacate any such order when the

deficiency has been corrected; or

(9) the offering of securities sought to be registered is not

firmly underwritten and (i) the minimum amount of proceeds

from the sale of the securities is not more than $500,000, and

(ii) the maximum amount of proceeds is more than 200 percent

of the minimum amount of proceeds required to go forward

with the offering.

The commissioner may not institute a stop order

proceeding against an effective registration statement solely on

the basis of a fact or transaction known to him when the

registration statement became effective unless the proceeding is

instituted within the next 30 days.

Subd. 2. The commissioner may issue an order requiring

the person for whom a registration was made to show cause

why the registration should not be revoked. The order shall

not b calculated to give reasonable notice of the time and place

for hearing thereon, and shall state the reasons for the issuance

of the order. The commissioner may by order summarily

suspend a registration pending final determination of an order

to show cause. a hearing on the merits shall be held within 30

days of the issuance of the order or suspension. All hearings

shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of

chapter 14 [Administrative Procedure]. After the hearing, the

D-3

commissioner shall enter an order making such disposition of

the matter as the facts require. If the person for whom the

registration was made fails to appear at a hearing of which he

has been duly noufied, such person shall be deemed in default ~

and the proceeding may be determined against the person upon

consideration of the order to show cause, the allegations of

which may be deemed to be true. The commissioner may

adopt rules of procedure concerning all proceedings conducted

pursuant to this subdivision.

[933,114]

Sec.80A14.Definitions. Subdivision 1. Terms. When

used in sections 80A.01 to 80A.31, the terms defined in this

section have the meanings given them unless the context

otherwise requires.

Subd.2 Affiliate. " Affiliate" of another person means any

person directly or indirectly controlling, controlled by, or

under common control with the other person.

Subd. 3 Agent. "Agent" means any individual other than a

broker-dealer who represents a broker-dealer or issuer in

effecting or attempting to effect purchases or sales or

securities. "Agent" does not include an individual who

represents an issuer in:

(1) effecting transactions in a security exempted by section

80A.15, subdivision 1;

(2) effecting transactions exempted by section 80A.15,

subdivision 2;

(3) effecting transactions with existing employees, partners

or directors of the issuer if no commission or other...

D-4

subdivision of a government or any other entity.

Subd. 16 Purchasing for investment. "Purchasing for

investment" means a purchase made for investment and not for

the purpose of resale. In determining whether securities have

been purchased for investment, the length of the period for

which the securities are held will be one of the factors

considered. Securities held fr two years after their purchase

shall be conclusively deemed to have been purchased for

investment.

Subd. 17. Sale, sell. (1) "Sale" or "sell" includes every

contract of sale of , contract to sell, or disposition of , a

security or interest in a security for value.

(2)" Offer" or “offer to sell" includes every attempt or offer

to dispose of, or solicitation of an offer to buy, a security or

interest in a security for value.

(3) Any security given or delivered with, or as a bonus on

account of, any purchase of securities or any other thing is

considered to constitute part of the subject of the purchase and

to have bee offered and sold for value.

(4) A purported gift of assessable stock is considered to

involve an offer and sale.

(5) Every sale or offer of a warrant or right to purchase or

subscribe to another security of the same or another issuer, as

well as every sale or offer of a security which gives the holder

a present or future right or privilege to convert into another

security of the same or another issuer, is considered to include

an offer of the other security.

D-5

(6) The terms defined in this subdivision do not include (i)

any bona fide pledge or loans; (ii) any stock dividend, whether

the corporation distributing the dividend is the issuer of the

stock or not.

Subd. 18. Security. (a) "Security" means any note; stock;

treasury stock; bond; debenture; evidence of indebtedness;

certificate of interest or participation in any profit sharing

agreement; collateral trust certificate; preorganization certificate

or subscription; transferable shares; investment contract;

investment metal contract or investment gem contract, voting

trust certificate; certificate of deposit for a security; certificate

of interest or participation in an oil gas or mining right, title or

lease or in payments out of production under the right, title or

lease; or, in general, any interest or instrument commonly

known as a security, or any certificate of interest or

participation in, temporary or interim certificate for, receipt for

guarantee of , or warrant or right to subscribe to or purchase,

any of the foregoing. "Security" does not include:

(1) any insurance or endowment policy or annuity contract

under which an insurance company promises to pay money

either in a lump sum or periodically for life or for some other

specified period; or

(2) stock of a closely-held corporation offered or sold

pursuant to a transaction in which 100 percent of the stock of

that corporation is sold as a means to effect the sale of the

business of the corporation if the transaction has been

negotiated on behalf of all purchasers, and if all purchasers

have access to inside information regarding the corporation

before consummating the transaction.

(b) A security that is offered and sold pursuant to section

4(5) of the Securities Act of 1933 or that is a "mortgage related

security" (as defined in section 3(a)(41) of the Securities

D-6

Exchange act of 1934) is not a security exempt from

registration under section 80A.15, subdivision 1 paragraph

(a), in the same manner as obligations issued or guaranteed as

to principal and interest by the United States or its agencies or

instrumentalities. This provision specifically overrides the

preemption of state law contained in section 106(c) of the

Secondary Mortgage Market Enhancement Act of 1984, Public

Law Number 98-440.

Subd.19. State. "State" means any state, territory or

possession of the United States, the District of Columbia and

Puerto Rico.

[Sec.80A.14 amended by Laws 1986, Ch. 358,Laws 1987,

Ch.336.]

[933,115]

Sec.80A.15 Exemptions. Subdivision 1. The

following securities are exempted from sections 80A.08 and

80A. 16:

(a) Any security, including a revenue obligation,

guaranteed by the United States, any state, any political

subdivision of a state or any corporate or other instrumentality

of one or more of the foregoing; but this exemption shall not

include any industrial revenue bond. Pursuant to section

106(c) of the Secondary Mortgage Market Enhancement Act of

1984, Public Law Number 98-440, this exemption does not

apply to security that is offered or sold pursuant to section

106(a)(1) or (2) of that act.

(b) Any security issued or guaranteed by Canada, any

Canadian province, any political subdivision of any province,

any agency or corporate or other instrumentality of one or

more of the

E-1

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN THE SUPREME COURT

CAUCUS DISTRIBUTORS, INC., ET AL

Petitioners

V.

COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE

Respondent

PETITION FOR REVIEW

OF DECISION OF COURT

OF APPEALS

Appellate Court Case

DATE OF FILING OF COURT OF APPEALS

DECECISION: April 5, 1988

No. C4-87-1952

TO: The Supreme Court of the State of Minnesota

The Petitioners, Caucus Distributors, Inc., Campaigner

Publications, Inc., and Independent Democrats for LaRouche

request a Supreme Court review of the above entitled decision

of the Court of Appeals upon the following grounds:

E-2

I. STATEMENT OF FACTS AND PROCEDURAL

HISTORY

Petitioners are New York corporations. Independent

Democrats for LaRouche is an unincorporated association

organized and qualified under the Federal Election Campaign

Act, 88 Stat. 1263. Martha Mitchell, a Minnesota citizen,

approached by an individual passing out informational

pamphlets took one and purchased a subscription to some

publications supporting viewpoints also supported by Lyndon

R. LaRouche. She had previously heard Mr. LaRouche on

television and was in sympathy with his views.

Subsequently, Martha Mitchell made several loans to

Petitioners, some of which were repaid, some of which were

not. The only loan made to Independent Democrats for

LaRouche in the amount of $1,000.00 was in conformity with

the specific regulations of the Federal Election Commission. It

was duly repaid. In return for the loans, Petitioners gave

notes specifying the amount of the loan and interest rates. The

notes ranged for various periods of time from three months to

three years.

Minnesota issued a Cease & Desist Order on July, 1986

and a hearing was held August 4, 1986; on October 6, 1986

the administrative law judge issued a discovery order requiring

Petitioners to provide a list of persons who made loans to

Petitioners after September 1, 1983. Petitioners resisted on

the grounds that the release of the names of their lenders

would have a chilling effect on the exercise of the first

amendment rights of those lenders. Almost half of the lenders

requested their names not be disclosed to the Attorney

General. The Administrative Law Judge ruled a prima facie

chilling effect showing had been made. The administrative

law judge then imposed sanctions precluding Petitioners from

E-3

contesting portions of the amended cease and desist order,

effectively defaulting Petitioners.

On September 3, 1987, Michael A. Hatch, Commissioner

of Commerce, found that Petitioners had offered and sold

unregistered securities in the State of Minnesota and ordered

Petitioners to cease and desist.

II. STATEMENT OF LEGAL ISSUES AND

THEIR RESOLUTION BY THE COURT OF

APPEALS

Petitioners appealed to the Minnesota Court of Appeals and

the decision of the Court of Appeals was filed April 5, 1988.

The Minnesota Court of Appeals found that:

(1) Discovery sanctions did not impermissibly deprive

Petitioners of a right to be heard;

(2) The factual findings of the Commissioner were

supported by

substantial evidence;

(3) The promissory notes evidencing loans to Petitioners

were securities under Minnesota Statute Section 80A.14;

(4) The Federal Election Campaign Act does not preempt

regulation of securities in reference to Independent Democrats

for LaRouche:

(5) Minnesota securities laws as applied in this matter did

not impermissibly infringe on Petitioner's first amendment

rights of association, and;

(6) Certain materials were stricken from Petitioner's brief.

Specifically, a copy of a loan repayment agreement of the

Ronald Reagan Congressional Victory Fund and other

portions of Petitioner's brief referring to fund raising activities

of Republicans.

Sanctions imposed by the administrative law judge in this

matter for Petitioner's resistance to the State's discovery

orders, were improper and, in fact, resulted in Petitioners

being unable to present their case. Those discovery requests

were for Petitioner's contributor and lender list. Were

Petitioner's contributors and lenders to believe their names

would become a matter of public record and be circulated

among state departments who happened to be politically

opposed to them, this would have a chilling effect on those

contributors and lenders willingness to support Petitioner's

organizations. See Britt v. Superior Court of San Diego

County, 574 P.2d 766 (1978) and FEC v. Hall Tyner

Election Campaign Committee, 678 F.2d 416 (1982). The

State had sufficient facts available through testimony of parties

to the transaction and through their own investigation to

determine whether or not the loan in question was a security.

See also Savika v. Webster. 644 F.2d 743 (1981).

The second issue is that the Commissioner made certain

factual findings that were not supported by the record. There

was no evidence in the record to suggest that Mr. Bettag

solicited loans. The testimony of Mrs. Mitchell was that she

only spoke with Mr. Bettag about payments (Tr. 85) and

these were already after she had made the loans. (Tr. 98) Mrs.

Mitchell testified that the only one who asked her to make

loans was Appellant Fredman. (Tr. 98-99) The Court of

Appeals made a finding that Bettag sold loans based on the

assumption that the evidence which was not produced in

response to the discovery request would have shown this.

This was patently false, as Mrs. Mitchell did testify that

Bettag solicited no loans.

E-5

The third issue is the Gravamen of this case since if the

notes in question were not securities, then the State's intrusion

into the activities of Petitioners would have been improper.

The notes in question are not securities and that the Minnesota

Act itself coupled with applicable case law indicates that the

term security only has the meaning given to it that the context

involved requires. See Landreth Timber Company y. Ivan K.

Landreth, 471 U.S. 681, 105 S.Ct 2297, 85 L.Ed.2d 692

(1985); Lino v. City Investing Company, 487 F.2d 689 (3rd

Cir., 1973). The transaction in question in this case did not

bear the characteristics of an investment. There was no

"expectation of profit based upon the

entrepreneurial/managerial skill of others." Great Western

Bank X Trust v. Kotz, 532 F.2d 1252 (9th Cir., 1976).

Further, these loans were made with only the expectation of a

set rate of interest not contingent upon the managerial or

entrepreneurial efforts of Petitioners. Therefore, the loans are

not securities. Union Planters National Bank of Memphis v.

Commercial Credit Business Loans, Inc, 651 F.2d 1174,

1185 (6th Cir., 1981). The Court of Appeals in this matter

essentially found that these notes in question were securities

because the Minnesota Act must be construed as broadly as

possible in order to protect members of the public.

Petitioners contend that the application of the Minnesota

Securities Law to the Independent Democrats for LaRouche

organization raises a federal preemption issue since the Federal

Election Campaign Act expressed Congress’ intent to preempt

this area. See Silkwood v, Kerr-McGee Corp,, 104 S.Ct

615, 621 (1984). Specifically, Petitioners contend that

Section 301 of the FEC Act Amendments of 1974 at 2 U.S.C.

Section 453 provide:

"The provision of this Act and the rules

prescribed under this Act supersede and

preempt any provision of state law with

E-6

respect to election of federal office."

Finally, Petitioners argue that because they are a political

organization, the First Amendment protects them from a broad

and forced disclosure of information in connection with their

first amendment activities. The First Amendment would

require that the definition of security be made much less broad

due to the first amendment impact on the context of the

transactions involved. There is and should be a distinction

between a transaction for political purposes and one for

commercial purposes. See in re Primus, 436 U.S. 412

(1978) and Ohralik v, Ohio State Bar Association, 436 U.S.

447 (1978).

For these reasons, the Petitioner seeks an order granting

review of the decision of the Court of Appeals.

DATED:

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick J. Moran

Moran & Pilger, P.C. 1221 Lamar, Suite 517

Houston, Texas 77010

Stuart Finney

Fuller & Finney

3300 Edinborough Way,

X415 Edina, MN 55435

COM/S-86-047-JL

8-1005-698-2

STATE OF MINNESOTA

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

FOR THE MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF

COMMERCE

In the Matter of Caucus Distributors,

Inc., and Campaigner Publications,

Inc., New York Corporations,Independent Democrats For

LaRouche,an Unincorporated Association, RonFredman,

Ronald R. Bettag, Paul

Greenberg, and All Other Persons

and Organizations Acting in Concert

with the Named Respondents.

The above-entitled matter came in for hearing before

Administrative Law Judge Jon L. Lunde commencing at 9:00

a.m. om Monday, August 4. 1986 at the Office of

Adminiistrative hearings in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Additional proceedings were held the following day. The

hearings were held pursuant to a Cease and Desist Order,

Notice of Right to Hearing and Order Suspending Exemption

issued !by the Commissioner of Commerce on June 4, 1986.

and an Amended Cedse.and Desist Order. Notice of Right to

Hearinjg and Order Suspending Exemption issued by the

Deputy Commissioner of Commerce on July 17, 1986.

Jerome L. Getz, Special Assistant Attorney General, 1100

F-2

Bremer, Seventh Place and Minnesota Street. St. Paul,

Minnesota 55101. appeared on behalf of the Minnesota

Department of Commerce (Department). Patrick J. Moran,

Moran & Pilger, P.A.. Attorneys at Law. 1221 Lamar, Suite

517, Houston, Texas 77010, appeared on behalf of each of the

above-captioned organizations and individuals. The record

closed on May 20. 1987, when the last authorized brief was

filed.

This Report is a recommendation, not a final decision.

The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Commerce

will make the final decision after a review of the record which

may adopt, reject or modify the Findings of Fact,

Conclusions, and Recommendations contained herein.

Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 14.61, the final decision of the

Commissioner shall not be made until this Report has been

made available to the parties to the proceeding for at least ten

days. An opportunity must be afforded to each party

adversely affected by this Report to file exceptions and present

argument to the Commissioner. Parties should contact

Michael A. Hatch, Commissioner of Commerce. State of

Minnesota, Fifth Floor Metro Square Building, St. Paul. -

Minnesota 55101 to ascertain the procedure for filing

exceptions or presenting argument.

STATEMENT OF ISSUES

The issues in this proceeding, as set forth in the Amended

Cease and Desist Order of July 17. 1986, are as follows:

Whether the Respondents offered and sold

unregistered securities consisting of

promissory notes to Minnesota residents and

did so without the requisite licenses.

F-3

Whether all or any one of the Respondents fraudulently

misdated a promissory note issued 10 a Minnesota resident

and fraudulently or deceitfully advised the prospective

purchaser of promissory notes issued by the Respondents that

some banks were failing, contrary to the provisions of Minn.

Stat. § 80A.Ol(c).

Whether the Respondents or any of them failed to state

material facts necessary to make statements made during the

offer and sale of promissory notes not misleading in violation

of Minn. Stat. § 80A.Ol. clauses (b) and (c).

Based upon all of the proceedings herein, the

Administrative Law Judge makes the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Caucus Distributors, Inc. (Caucus' is a Not-For-Profit

corporation incorporated under the laws of the State of New

York. The Certificate of Incorporation its incorporators filed

with the New York Department of State on April 5, 1982 reads

in part as follows:

2. The corporation * * * is not formed for pecuniary profit

or financial gain, [and] * * * no part of the assets, income or

profit of the corporation is distributable to, or inures to the

benefit of its members, directors or officers or any private

person except to the extent permissible under the Not-For-

Profit Corporation Law.

F-4

3. The purposes for which the corporation is formed are:

To promote and encourage the political.and [sic]

ideas and beliefs fostered by the International

Caucus of Labor Committees and other

organizations advocating the same ideas and

beliefs; to distribute to the general public, sell and

obtain subscriptions to publications specifically

dedicated to the political ideas and beliefs fostered

by che International Caucus of Labor Committees

and other organizations to sclicit membership for

certain membership organizetions associated with

the publications distributed by the corporation

consonant with the goals, purposes and programs

of those organizations;

to advertise and promote thepublications

distributed by the corporation;

to engage the services of wrters, reporters,

editors, distributors. corporétions, associations,

partnerships and news agenaes in furtherance of

these purposes;

2. Campaigner Publications, Inc. (Campaigner) is a New

York corporation.

3. Independent Democrats for LaRoiche (IDL) is an

unincorporated association and a politicalcommittee apparently

recognized by the Federal Election Commission. Paul

Greenberg is an authorized representative of IDL and is

empowered to sign notes on its behalf.

4. At all ames material to this case. Lon Fredman and

Ronald R. Bettag worked for Caucus anc solicited loans to

Caucus, IDL and Campaigner by selling notes for them.

5. Ron Fredman. Ronald R. Bettag and Paul Greenberg

are not and have never been licensed by the Department to sell

securities in the State of Minnesota. Likewise, Caucus, ;

Campaigner and IDL are not and never have been licensed by

the Department to sell securities in the State of Minnesota.

6. Mary M. Mitchell, an 85-year-old widow. is a resident

of Minneapolis. Minnesota. She has lived there since moving

from Winona in 1938. Mitchell is a retired stenographer who

has a high school education.

7. In July, 1984, while walking on the Mall near Seventh

and Nicollet in downtown Minneapolis. Mitchell was given a

pamphlet pertaining to the presidential candidacy of Lyndon

LaRouche. She told the man who gave her the pamphlet that

she had seen LaRouche on television and liked what she saw.

The man told her that if she gave him her name and telephone

number someone would call her with more information about

LaRouche. She gave him that information.

8. Approximately one week after her encounter on the

Mall. Ron Fredman telephoned Mitchell from Chicago to talk

to her about LaRouche, Caucus. Campaigner and IDL.

Fredman told Mitchell about corruption in the world and the

need for Americans to clean it up. He specifically mentioned

drug trafficking in the Middle East and South America. the

laundering of Mafia money by banks, the decline in American

culture, and bank failures. He told Mitchell that some banks

were shaky and that if the United States didn't pull together,

everyone would go bankrupt. Fredman told Mitchell that

LaRouche needed her help with these problems and he asked

her for a contribution. She agreed to make a $25 contribution

F-6

at that time, and he made arrangements for her to receive

copies of "New Solidarity" and other publications.

9. During that initial telephone conversation, Fredman

also asked Mitchell to help by making loans. Fredman told her

that she would receive a promissory note for any loans she

made and that she could specify the interest rate and the term

of the notes. Since she would get a promissory note and could

specify the interest rate, Mitchell concluded that the loans

would be similar to a banking transaction. Moreover, since

LaRouche was "in the limelight", she concluded that she was

not dealing with a fly-by-night operation that would skip the

country, and that her loans would be a good investment.

Therefore, she agreed to make a $15,000 loan at that time. In

return, she was to receive two notes payable at the end of three

years. One was to be made payable to her and her stepson, R.

Keith Mitchell, in the principal amount of $10,000. The other

was to be.made payable to her and her sister-in-law, Mozell

Hall, in the principal amount of $5,000. Fredman personally

collected two checks in the aggregate amount of $15,000 from

Mitchell at her home in Minneapolis early in July 1984. Later

that month. two promissory notes were mailed to her in the

aggregate principal sum of $15.000. The notes stated the

payees, amounts, term and interest rate Fredman promised.

10. On September 3, 1984, Fredman called Mitchell again

and asked her to loan $1.000 to IDL. She agreed to make a

$1,000 loan to IDL for one year at ten percent interest.

Following her conversation with Fredman. she mailed him a

$1.000 check payable to IDL's order. A few days later, she

received a promissory note signed by Paul Greenberg, as an

authorized representative of IDL. The note was in the

principal sum of $1,000. bore interest at the rate cf ten percent,

and was payable in one year. The note, and accumulated

interest thereon, was paid by IDL in July 1986.

F-7

11. On or about September 17, 1984, Fredman

telephoned Mitchell again to give her an update on the activities

of the LaRouche organizations. At that time, he gave her more

information on their efforts to eliminate drug traffic and related

activities in the Middle East. In addition, he talked about a

publication entitled "Dope. Incorporated" which one of the

organizational Respondents had published. During that

telephone conversation, Mitchell agreed to make an additiona!

$5.000 loan to Caucus for 90 days with interest at 15 percent.

Immediately after her telephone conversation with Fredman,

Mitchell mailed him a check payable to Caucus in that amount.

A few days later, Mitchell received Caucus’ promissory note

incorporating the loan terms she and Fredman had discussed.

12. On or about Novemb ¢ 26, 1984. Fredman called

Mitchell to solicit another loan. During that conversation,

Mitchell expressed regret for having made the initial $15,000

loan for a term of three years. He told her that if she returned

the notes to him, he would issue two new notes which would

mature in a year (on November 26, 1985). At that time,

Fredman persuaded Mitchell to make an additional $10,000

loan to Caucus for six months. When Mitchell told Fredman

she was getting 14 percent on a certificate of deposit with her

bank, he said that Caucus would pay 16 percent on the loan.

13. On or about November 26, 1984, a $10,000

promissory note signed by Fredman for Caucus was mailed 10

Mitchell. It reflected a six-month term and a 16 percent

interest rate as she and Fredman had agreed on November 26.

At the same time, Mitchell was mailed two promissory notes

replacing those which she had returned due to her

dissausfaction with their three-year maturity date. Exhibits 19

and 23. Those notes were signed by Fredman for Campaigner

eee ieee

F-8

and reflected a one-year term and a 12 percent interest rate.

The payees were the same as those in the notes originally

issued.

14. Caucus’ September 17, 1984 note for $5,000 was due

on December 17, 1984. On or about the due date, Fredman

called Mitchy:ll and told her that the note could not be paid

because their assets had been frozen by a bank, and he asked

her if she would accept a one-third partial payment. Although

Mitchell agreed that the bank's explanation for freezing

Caucus’ funds was “outlandish”, she said she would like half

cf the note paid. Fredman said he would see if that could be

done and call her back. Early in January, 1985, after Mitchell

returned from a vacation, Fredman called her and asked if she

would accept a new note covering Caucus’ $5,000 loan to be

payable in five monthly principal installments of $1,000

commencing May 1, 1985 and a lump sum interest payment on

October 1, 19B5. She agreed and a short time later received a

new promissory note from Caucus in the principal sum of

$5,000.

Exhibit 17. That note contained the payment terms she had

agreed to accept and was signed by Fredman for Caucus.

15. In April 1985, Mitchell asked Fredman if the

beneficiaries on Campaigner’s November 26, 1984 notes

could be changed. He said that could be done and they agreed

that Campaigner’s two notes (Exhibits 19 and 23) would be

destroyed and that one new note would be issued in the

principal amount of $15,000. Mitchell also agreed that the rate

of interest could be reduced from 12 percent to 10 percent in

the new note. Exhibit A. A short time later, a $15,000 note

payable in one year with interest at 10 percent was mailed to

her. Exhibit 24. Caucus was listed as the payor of that note

eee

F-9

and it was signed by Fredman. The note was dated April 16,

1985 rather thar November 26, 1984. Mitchell did not receive

interest in the $15,000 loan between November 26, 1984 and

April 16, 1985. did not agree to waive interest earned during

that time, and did not authorize a change in the date of the two

notes when they were rolled over and consolidated.

16. During the telephone conversation between Mitchell

and Fredman on April 10, 1985, Mitchell agreed to make an

additional loan to Caucus in the amount of $10,000. The loan

was made in two separate payments to Caucus. A $6,000

payment was made by a check dated April 10, 1985 and a

$4,000 payment was made to Caucus by a check dated April

26, 1985. On or about April 29. 1985. Caucus’ $10,000

promissory note was mailed to Mitchell. The note. which was

signed by Fredman, carried an interest rate of 10 percent and

was payable in six months.

17. Apart from her loan to IDL, Mitchell loaned $40,000

to Caucus between July 1984 and April 29. 1985. As of

November 21, 1985, only $2.000 had been repaid to her. A

$1,000 payment was made late in April 1985, a $500 payment

was made on November 6, 1985 and a $500 payment was

made on September 30, 1985 (two checks).

18. During their telephone conversations in 19B4 and

1985, Mitchell and Fredman primarily talked about Caucus,

but he never explained his relationship to Caucus, Campaigner

or IDL. In addition, he never told her how they would repay

the loans, if they had solicited loans from other persons, or if

they had repaid those loans in a timely fashion.

19. All of Mitchell's loans to the Respondents. except the

F-10

$1,000 loan made to IDL, were made by check payable to

Caucus. All the checks were presented for payment and paid

by her bank. All the loans were solicited by Fredman.

Mitchell had no direct contact with Greenberg and had very

limited contact with Bettag. Her only contact with Bettag

occurred in 1985 after she became concerned about the

repayment of her notes. Bettag told her that the LaRouche

organizations stand behind their commitments and that notes

were good investments. Bettag explained that money wasn't

coming in as fast as they had expected, but that all her loans

would be repaid and that her money was safe.

20. After her conversation with Bettag, Mitchell advised

family members about the loans she had made to the

Respondents and the delinquencies that existed. Later, with

their advice and input, she retained counsel and the Department

was eventually informed of the transactions.

21. In late November of 1985, Joyce Rubenstein. a

Caucus representative, telephoned Mitchell from New York to

discuss her loans to Caucus. Rubenstein advised Mitchell that

if she would make an additional $10,000 loan to Caucus she

would be sure to get the rest if her money ($40,000) back.

Based on these representations, Mitchell loaned Caucus

another $10,000 for eight months at 12 percent. On

November 29, 1985, Mitchell received confirmation from

Caucus that the loan had been made under these terms.

Confirmation was in a letter form. No note was issued as had

been done in the past.

22. Mitchell considered all of her loans to the

Respondents as investments, not unlike certificates of deposit

that individuals can purchase from a bank. None of her loans

were intended to be contmbutions and none of them were

F-11

collateralized. Apart from IDL's note. most of the notes

issued were notarized by Bettag and most specifically stated

that they could not be assigned. transferred or discounted. All

of them were signed by Fredman.

23. In 1984 and 1985, the Respondents solicited loans

from other Minnesota residents and from residents in other

States including Illinois, Maryland, Alaska. Indiana and

Washington.

24. No individual employed by or representing the

Respondents gave Mitchell any financial information regarding

the organizational Respondents that she could use to determine

their ability to repay the loans she made. She was not told

how the Respondents would be able to repay her loans. where

the money used to repay her loans would come from. or what

the risks of her investments were. Mitchell was not advised if

Caucus was in default in its obligation to repay principal and

interest to other investors or that one judgment had been

entered against Caucus for failure to repay a loan when due.

Moreover, Mitchell was never advised that the Respondents

were not licensed to sell securites in the State of Minnesota or

that the notes were not registered as required by law. In fact,

Fredman told Mitchell that the loans were legal.

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact. the

Admuinistrauve Law Judge makes the following:

CONCLUSIONS

1. That the Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce and

the Admuinistranve Law Judge have authonty to consider the

F-12

issues raised by the Commissioner's Cease and Desist Order

and Order Suspending Exemption, as amended. under Minn.

Stat. §§ BOA.21, 80A.15. subd. 3, and 14.50 (1984).

2. That the Department has complied with all relevant

substantive and procedural requirements of law and rule and

that the Respondents received proper and timely notices Xf the

hearing and of the Commissioner's Orders.

3. That under Minn. Rule 1400.7300, subp. 5, the

Department has the burden of proof to establish the statutory

violations alleged by a preponderance of the evidence.

4. That the loans solicited by Ron Fredman and the notes

issued by the organizational Respondents constituted offers

and sales for purposes of Minn. Stat. § 80A.14, subd. 17

(1984X.

5. That the promissory notes offered and sold by the

Respondents in the State of Minnesota constitute securities for

purposes of Minn. Stat. § 80A.14. subd. 18 (1984)..

6. ‘That the promissory notes offered and sold by the

Respondents in the State of Minnesota were not registered

with the Commissioner prior to or at the time of their offer of

sale as required by Minn. Stat. § 80A.08 (1984).

7. That the Respondent Ron Fredman violated Minn. Stat.

§ 80A.014, subd. 1, by transacting business in this State as an

agent without a license to do so.

F-13

8. That the organizational Respondents violated Minn.

Stat. § BOA.04. subd. 2, by employing Ron Fredman as their

agent.

9. That in connection with the sale of promissory notes to

Mary Mitchell, the Respondents Ron Fredman and Ronald R.

Bettag failed to state material facts necessary in order to make

statements that were made not misleading, contrary to MInn.

Stat. § 80A.04, clause (b) (1984), by failing to disclose

financial information which could have been used to determine

the organizational Respondents’ ability to repay the note$

when due and by failing to advise Mitchell that none of the

Respondents were licensed to sell securities in the State of

Minnesota and that the promissory notes were not registered

pursuant to the Minnesota Securities Act.

10. That the Cease and Desist order proposed by the

Commissioner is in the public interest and should be issued.

11. That under Minn. Stat. § 80A.15, subd. 4, the

Respondents have the burden Xf proving any exemption

claimed under Minn. Stat. § 80A.Ol to 80A.31 or any

exception from a definition contained therein.

12. That the Respondents have failed to establish that the

promissory notes they sold are subject to any exemption or

exception.

13. That the Respondent Ron Fredman fraudulently

misdated one of the promissory notes issued to Mitchell in

violation of Minn. Stat. § 80A.Ol. clause (c) (1984).

F-14 .

14. That the Respondent Ron Fredman did not violate

Minn. Stat. § BOA.OI, clause (c) by telling Mitchell that some

banks were falling.

Based on the foregoing Conclusions of Law, the

Administrative Law Judge makes the following:

RECOMMENDATION

That the Cease and Desist Order and Order Suspending

Exemption be made permanent.

Dated this 15th day of July, 1987,

JON L. LUNDE

Administrative Law Judge

Reported: Transcript Prepared.

MEMORANDUM

BURDEN OF PROOF

The Department argues that its only burden of proof on the

- question whether the Mitchell notes are securities is to show

that the Respondents solicited loans from her and issued

promissory notes reflecting the loans. It argues that the

Respondents then have the burden to establish that the notes

are not securities, citing Minn. Stat. § 80A.15. subd. 4 and

Exchange National Bank v. Touche, Ross & Co., 544 F.2d

F-15

1126 (2d Cir. 1976). Under the cited statute. the burden of

proving an exemption or an exception from a definition is

upon the person claiming it. Hence. to the extent that the

Respondents claim any statutory exemption or exception from

a definition, they have the burden of proof. However, the

Judge is not persuaded that the enforcement division's burden

can be met merely by showing that the Respondents made a

loan in this State and issued a note evidencing that loan. In

Landreth Timber v. Landreth. 471 U.S. 681. 105 S. Ct.

2297, 85 L. Ed. 2d 692 (1985), the United States Supreme

Court refused to hold that one could prove a security (note)

simply by proving the document itself, which is exactly the

result the enforcement division argues is appropriate.

Moreover, under Minn. Rule 1400.7300. subp. 5. the Judge

is persuaded that the Department has the burden of establishing

that the notes were offered and sold as investments rather than

commercial loans.

The definitions in the Minnesota Securities Act, like those

in most securities acts’ , apply "unless the context otherwise

requires" Minn. Stat. § 80A.14, subd. 1. The courts have

frequently cited this language to support departures from the

literal definition of a security when required by the context in

which the instrument alleged to be a security is offered or sold.

See. e.g., Marine Bank v. Weaver, 455 U.S. 551, 556, 102

S. Ct. 1220, 71 L. Ed. 2d 409 (1982); Lino v. City Investing

Co., 487 F.2d 689! 694 (3d Cir. 1973); State v. Hoephner,

574 P.2d 1079, 1081 (Okl. Cr. 1978). Although the courts

have cited the "unless the context otherwise requires" language

to avoid applying the securities definition literally, they

generally have not held that the language was intended to

change the normal burden of proof-in civil or administrative

proceedings and they have not held that that language

1 See 15 U.S.C. §78c(a)(10) and 77b(1) and the Uniform

Securities Act of 1985, § (ULA 1987 Supp.).

F-16

constitutes an "exemption" or an “exception” that the

Respondent has the burden to establish.

In Exchange National Bank, the court held that the

statutory definition of a security should be applied literally and

that persons seeking to avoid the plain language of the statute

have the burden to establish that the context requires a different

result. The literal test adopted in Exchange National Bank has

been implicitly rejected by the United States Supreme Court.

See United Housing Foundation, Inc. v. Forman, 421 U.S.

837, 849, 95 S. Ct. 2051. 2059, 44 L. Ed. 2d 621 (1975)

and Landreth Timber Co, v, Landreth, supra, 105 S. Ct. at

2306 (1985). Moreover, it has apparently been rejected by

every'See 15 U.S.C. § 78c(a)(1O) and 77 b(1) and the

Uniform Securities Act of 1985. § 101 (ULA 1987

Supp.).other federal circuit court of appeals that has

considered the issue. See. e.g., Hunssinger v. Rockford

Business Credits Inc , 745 F.2d 484 (7th Cir. 1984);

McClure v. First National Bank of Lubbock, 497 F.2d 490

(Sth Cir. 1974), cert. den, 420 U.S. 930 (1975); Lino v. City

Investing Co.,, supra. In addition, it has not been adopted in

Minnesota. The Minnesota Supreme Court has always

examined the economic reality of the instrument or transaction.

See, e.g.. State v, Investors Security Corporation, 209

N.W.2d 405 (Minn. 1973). Recently it reaffirmed its

preference for examining the context (economic reality). Rice

County Specialized Tours, Inc. v.Hagen. 292 N.W.2d 520,

535 (Minn. 1986).

For all these reasons, it is concluded that the Department

has the burden of establishing that the notes issued by the

Respondents involved an investment rather than an ordinary

commercial transaction and if such X showing is made. the

note will constitute a security unless the Respondents can point

to a specific statutory exemption or exception that applies to

them.

F-17

The fact that the Respondents were precluded. by order,

from presenting evidence showing that its notes are not

securities is not equivalent to a default on that issue as the

enforcement division has argued. When there is

noncompliance with a discovery order, the Judge may order

that certain facts be taken as established for purposes Xf the

case, refuse to allow a party to support or oppose designated

claims or defenses. or prohibit a party from introducing

designated matters in evidence. Minn. Rule 1400.6700. subp.

3. In this case, the Respondents were precluded from

opposing certain claims made by the Department. However,

the Department was not granted a default judgment on those

issues and it still has a burden of proof to meet.

Consequently, the

Respondents’ notes cannot be deemed to be securities

under the theory that the Respondents are in default.

ARE THE PROMISSORY NOTES SECURITIES?

The first and mosi basic substantive issue that must be

resolved in this case is whether the promissory notes Fredman

sold to Mitchell for the organizational Respondents constitute

securities. Minn. Stat. § 80A.14, subd. 18(a) defines a

security as follows:

"Security" means any note: stock; treasury

stock; bond; debenture; evidence of

indebtedness; certificate of interest or

participation in any profit sharing agreement

In spite of the inclusive scope of the definition of a

F-18

security, the words used, including the words “any note"

cannot be literally applied. United Housing Foundation, Inc.

v. Forman. supra. Instead. substance must prevail over form

and the context in which an instrument is offered or sold must

be examined to determine the economic reality involved.

Tcherepnin v. Knight, 389 U.S. 332, 336, 88 S. Ct. 548,

553, 19 L. Ed. 2d 564 (1967). When the economic reality is

that an investment rather than a commercial transaction is

involved, the instrument will be treated as a security:

otherwise, it won't. See, e.g.. Baurer v, Planning Group,

Inc.. 669 F.2d 770. 775 (D.C. Cir. 1981). The Minnesota

Supreme Court has not addressed the scope of the words "any

note" and it has not adopted a test for determining when a note

is a security. Consequently, the decisions of federal courts

and other state courts and agencies must be consulted. This

follows from the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 80A.31, which

States:

Sections 80A.Ol to 80A.31 shall be so construed as to

effectuateits general purpose to make uniform the law of those

states which enact it and to coordinate the interpretation of

sections 80A.Ol to 80A.31 with the related federal regulation.

See Specialized Tours, Inc. v. Hagen, supra at 535; Hayden

v. McDonald, 742 F.2d 423. 428 (8th Cir. 1984).

Generally speaking, four tests have been adopted for

determining when an instrument is a security: (1) the literal

test. (2) the commercial/investment dichotomy test, (3) the risk

capital test, and (4) the Howey test. However. there are

variations to these tests and some basic principles that are

always considered by the courts in determining what

instruments are securities.

F-19

Although at least four different tests for determining when

an instrument is a security have been adopted by the courts,

the Judge is persuaded that the only appropriate test that

should be used in determining whether a note is a security is

the commercial/investment dichotomy test. The literal test

articulated in Exch National Bank of Chi v. Touche

Ross & Co.. supra, has been implicitly rejected by the United

States Supreme Court. In United Housing Foundation, Inc.

v. Forman, 421 U.S. at 849, the court reiterated the need to

examine the economic realities underlying a transaction and not

the name attached to it, noted (footnote 14) that all but one of

the Federal circuits that had recently considered the scope of

the definition of a security had rejected a literal approach, and

went on to examine the economic realities underlying the

purchase of shares in a cooperative housing project to

determine if they were securities. Subsequently, in Landreth

Timber Co. v, Landreth, supra. the court did adopt a literal

approach where stock is involved. but refused to do so for

notes. The court stated. (105 S. Ct. 2306):

. "note" may now be viewed as a relatively broad

term that encompasses instruments with widely

varying

characteristics, depending on whether issued in a

consumer context, as commercial paper, or in some

other investment context. * * * We here expressly

leave until another day the question whether "notes"

or "bonds" or some other category of instrument

listed in the definition might be shown "by proving

[only] the document itseif." * * * We hold only that

"stock" may be viewed as being in a category by

itself for purposes of interpreting the scope of the

Acts’ definition of "security."

In Landreth, the Supreme Court.said that instruments that

bear both the name and all the usual characteristics. of stock

present the clearest case for coverage by the plain language of

the definition and should be treated as securities. Accordingly,

F-20

the court proceeded to apply the federal acts to the sale of 100

percent of the stock of a business. Although the United States

Supreme Court has moved closer to the literal test generally

applied by the Second Circuit. it strongly implied that the

literal test is inappropriate in many situations and will be

limited to stocks. In Specialized Tours, Inc. v. Hagen. supra.

the Minnesota Supreme Court followed the Landreth decision

but expressed dissatisfaction with it, noting that if it were

writing on a "clean slate", it would have reached a different

result by examining the economic realities xf the transaction.

Since the Second Circuit's literal approach has not been

accepted by the United States Supreme Court except in a

modified version when stock is involved, and since the

Minnesota Supreme Court has expressed dissatisfaction with

it, it is concluded that the Commissioner should not apply that

test in this case, even though it is discussed further below.

Also, the Judge is persuaded that application of the Howey

test is inappropriate. The Howey test was adopted by the

United States Supreme Court in SEC v, W.J, Howey Co.,

328 U.S. 293 (1946) to identify "investment contracts" for

purposes of the securities laws. The court described an

investment contract as a transaction, contract or scheme

whereby a person invests money or value in a common

enterprise and is led to expect profits derived solely from the

efforts xf the promoter or some third party. The First Circuit

applied the Howey test to notes sold by a religious

organization. SEC v. World Radio Mission.. Inc., 544 F.2d

535, 538 (1st Cir. 1976). However, it did not rely

exclusively on Howey or explain why the Howey test was

used. More important, other federal courts have rejected its

use for any securities but investment contracts. In Landreth.

the United States Supreme Court reaffirmed the fact that the

Howey test was designed only to determine whether an

investment contract constitutes a security. stating (105 S. Ct.

at 2305):

F-21

we would note that the Howey economic

reality test was designed to determine whether

a particular instrument is an "investment

contract, not whether it fits within any of the

examples listed in the statutory definition of

“security” Our cases are consistent with this

view. . Moreover, applying the Howey test to

traditional stock and all other types of

instruments listed in the statutory definition

would make the Acts’ enumeration of many

types of instruments superfluous.

The Howey test has also been specifically rejected by several

federal courts of appeals as an analytical tool for determining

whether a note is a security. Hunssinger v, Rockford

Business Credits, Inc., 745 F.2d 484. 492 (7th Cir. 1984);

Exchange National Bank v. Touche Ross & Co.. supra: and

Daily y. Morgan, 70! F.2d 496 (Sth Cir. 19B3). Based in

these cases, the Judge is persuaded that the Howey test is

inappropriate for determining whether a note is a security and

that test will not be discussed further.2

The risk capital test that has been adopted by the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals is discussed below. even though the

Judge is not persuaded that it should be used by the

Commissioner in this case. It was rejected in Exchange

National Bank, supra, and the Judge believes that the reasons

2 Even if the Howey test is used. the notes sold by

Respondents would be ,/ securities under W i

Sp World Radio

Mission. See also State v. Weisser, 161 N.W.2d 360 (N.D.

1968).

F-22

stated in that decision for rejecting the risk capital test are

persuasive.

LITERAL TEST

Apart from the literal test for stocks adopted in Landreth.

the literal test adopted in Exchange National Bank of Chicago

v. Touche Ross & Co,, supra, is the most inclusive test for

determining whether a particular instrument is a security. In

that case, the court held that the plain language of the federal

statute should be closely followed and that notes should be

treated as securities unless the context of the transaction clearly

requires a different result. In discussing the kinds of notes

that would not be included. the court referred to:

the note delivered in consumer financing. the

note secured by a mortgage on a home, the

short-term note secured by a lien on a small

business of some cf its assets. the note

evidencing a “character” loan to a bank

customer. short-term notes secured by an

assignment of accounts receivable, or a note

which simply formalizes an open-account debt

incurred in the ordinary course of business

(particularly if, as in the.case of the customer

of a broker, it is collateralized)

Id. at 1138.

The inclusive. literal approach adopted in Exchange

National Bank places a substantial burden on the issuer of

notes to establish that the notes are required to be excluded

from the definition. The burden placed on the issuer would

apparently demand a clear showing that characterizing the

F-23

notes as securities would disrupt the settled expectations of

both parties. interfere with routine transactions, provide

additional protection where no such protection is needed,.or

produce some other clearly undesirable result. See Petitioner's

Post-Hearing Brief, Appendix 2, p. 19).

In this case. the notes Mitchell purchased do not bear any

resemblance to the kinds of notes mentioned in Exchange

National Bank as outside the scope of the securities laws.

They are not the kind of routine loan transactions to which the

securities laws should not apply and there is no evidence that

the parties had any settled expectations regarding the status of

the notes under the securities laws. In fact, Mitchell clearly

regarded her loans as an investment similar to the purchase of

certificates of deposit from a bank. Moreover, the loans

Mitchell made appear to be the kind of transactions the

securities laws were designed to cover and are the kind of

investments that need the protections of the securities laws of

this State. After all. Mitchell was unsophisticated in financial

matters and incurred a significant risk without the ability to

obtain and evaluate the information needed to make an

informed investment decision. For these reasons, it is

concluded that the notes sold to Mitchell constitute securities

under the literal test.

RISK CAPITAL TEST

The "risk capital test" was devised by the California

Supreme Court in Silver Hills Country Club v, Sobieski, 55

Cal. 24 811, 13 Cal. Rptr. 186, 361 P.2d 906 (1961). It is

not an appropriate test for determining the status of an

instrument as a security in all cases. United Housing

Foundation, Inc, v, Format, supra. 421 U.S. 837 at 857 n.

24. However, in Great Western Bank & Trust v. Kotz. 532

F.2d 1252 (9th Cir. 1976). the Ninth Circuit used the risk

F-24

Capital test to determine whether the notes involved in that case

were securities. Generally speaking. the ultimate inquiry

under the risk capital test is whether the lender contributes

"risk capital" that is subject to the entrepreneurial or managerial

efforts of the borrower. In determining if it is, the duration of

the loan, the amount of collateralization, the circumstances of

issuance, the relationship between the amount borrowed and

the size of the borrower's business, and the contemplated use

of the proceeds must all be considered. Because the loans

Mitchell made were not collateralized. because her loans and

the loans other persons made to the Respondents were not

discrete transactions--but part of a general offering made in a

number cf states--and because the notes were not short-term-

demand-notes. it is concluded that the notes are securities

under the Kotz test. Clearly, Mitchell placed her capital at risk

and was totally dependent upon the Respondents’ efforts for

payment.

Commercial/Investment Dichotomy Test

At least four federal circuits have adopted the

commercial/investment dichotomy test for determining what

notes constitute securities. See CNS Enterprises. Inc, v. G x

G Enterprises. 508 F.2d 1354 (7th Cir. 1975): Baurer v.

Planning Group, Inc. supra Lino v, City Investing Co., supra:

and Bellah v, First National Bank, 495 F.2d 1109 (Sth Cir.

1974). Under this test, the protection of the securities laws is

confined to investors and not to borrowers and lenders in

commercial settings. Thus, in determining whether a

particular note is an investment, the courts examine the

economic reality of the note to determine whether it was

offered or sold as an investment. In this case, the Judge is

persuaded that the notes sold by the Respondent to Mitchell

constitute securities. In determining that the Respondents’

notes were purchased as an investment and not as an incident

to a commercial loan, the following factors.were considered:

F-25

a. whether the lender is a bank, financial

institution or commercial lender in the

business of making loans or a private party;

b. whether the notes were issued in connection

with a consumer installment transaction or the

purchase or real estate;

a

c. whether the notes were collateralized;

d. whether the sales took place outside the

normal markets for notes and commercial

paper,

e. whether the sales to Mitchell were an isolated

set of transactions or part of a broader

solicitation of loans from members of the

public;

f. whether the proceeds of the loan were used to

provide capital needed to finance a business or

to purchase consumer goods and services.

g. the fact that notes are within the plain language

of the definition of a security.

Consideration of these factors persuades the Administrative

F-26

Law Judge that the notes Mitchell purchased from the

Respondents were bought as an investment. She considered

her loans to be investments not dissimilar from the purchase of

certificates of deposit from a bank. Moreover, Mitchell is not

a typical commercial lender. Unlike a bank or other financial

institution, she is not in the business of making loans, and the

loans she made were not made in connection with a consumer

installment transaction and they were not secured with any

collateral. Likewise, they took place outside the normal

markets for notes and commercial paper, and they were not an

isolated transaction, but part of a broader solicitation of loans

from members of the public. Although the loans paid a fixed

rate of interest. the rate paid was higher, in some cases. than

the rate Mitchell was receiving from her bank. Given the

purposes of the securities law to protect members cf the public

from fraud and imposition, and due to the lack of any

commercial aspect to the notes. it is concluded that the notes

sold by the Respondents were not of a commercial nature and

that they constitute securities under the commercial/investment

dichotomy test.

Treating the notes the Respondents sold to Mitchell as

securities is consistent with the purposes of the Minnesota

Securities Act, which is to regulate the merits xf securities in

order to protect the public against fraud and imposition. State

v. Investors Security Corporation. 209 N.W.2d 405, 408

(Minn. 1973). The Minnesota courts have consistently held

that the securities laws should not be given a narrow

construction. Sex, e.g.. Donovan v. Dixon, 113 N.W.2d

432. 443 (Minn. 1962). The Minnesota Supreme Court's

expansive view of the securities laws has led to a consistent

broadening of their coverage. State v. Investors Security

Corporation. supra at 409. Treating the notes Respondents

sold to Mitchell and other residents is consistent with the

remedial purposes of the act and is necessary in order to

F-27

protect citizens of this State from fraud and imposition.

In determining when an instrument is a security, it is

appropriate to consider the character given to the instrument in

commerce by the terms of the offer, the plan of distribution

and the economic :..ducements made by the offeror. Marine

Bank v. Weaver. 445 U.S. 551. 556. 102 S. Ct. 1220

(1982). In this case, the Respondents represented its notes as

investments, planned to sell notes throughout the State of

Minnesota and other states in order to accumulate capital for a

variety of unknown purposes. and held out economic

inducements to Mitchell to purchase those notes. Those

inducements included flexible maturity dates and competitive

interest rates. There is no reason why the Respondents’ notes

should not be treated as they were represented to be. The

solicitation of members of the general public seeking a passive

return from their capital and the sale to them of units of a larger

offering are the hallmarks of an investment transaction.

Hunssinger v. Rockford Business Credits, Inc., supra at 492.

In the enforcement of the securities act, it i

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Caucus Distributors, Inc. v. Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce · 488 U.S. 1006 | Frix