Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wilkes v. United States District Court

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

r Supreme Court, U.S.

88-528 FILED

_ SUG 31 1988

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

In Tye a

Supreme Court of the Unites States

October Term 11988

DONALD E. WILKES,

Petitioner.

—V.—

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

William H. Maness, Esquire

801 Investors Building

118 West Adams Street

Jacksonville, Florida 32202

(904) 353-5786

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER

1. QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW

QNE: Whether this Court's Selling! decision

mandates that a Federal Court find a lawyer unfit to

practice as a precondition to enforcement of a State

Court disbarment - a finding which was not made, and

could not have been made, in Wilkes’ case.

TWO: Whether a Federal Court - consistent with

Selling, Theard,2 and Ruffalo? - has power to

disbar a Lawyer, derivatively, as in Wilkes’ case,4

notwithstanding that the Court, expressly, finds that the

two offenses, involved, are "not very serious” - that

they were committed, if at all, thirty years past - and

that, as to one of them, the Lawyer was convicted on a

charge neither made nor tried.

1 Selling v. Radford, 243 US 46 (1917).

2 Theard v. U.S., 354 US 278 (1957).

3 In Re Ruffalo, 390 US 544 (1968).

4

The distinction, if any, between indefinite suspension and

disbarment is verbal, largely, and the terms will be treated as

interchangeable, here. In Re Fleck, 419 F.2d 1040 (6th Cir.

1969) cert den 397 US 1074; In Re Abrams, 521 F.2d 1094

(3rd Cir. 1975) cert den 423 US 1038.

ii

THREE: Whether a Lawyer, as in Wilkes’ case, is

denied procedural due process, per Ruffalo, where a

Federal Court notices him to answer for offenses,

specified in a State Court disbarment judgment,

whereupon The Federal Court, without further notice,

finds that, as to one of the offenses, he was convicted

on a charge never made but upholds the conviction,

nonetheless, upon the basis of a revised theory.

EQUR: Whether Ruffalo, supra, enjoins that a

Federal Court, in a derivative disciplinary proceeding,

hear the charges and proofs, de novo, as a condition

upon enforcement of a State Court disbarment.

FIVE: Whether the constitutional standards,

articulated in Schware,> which control State Court

proceedings - having to do with admissions and

punishments of attorneys-operate, equally, in Federal

Court proceedings, of like nature, and therefore inhibit

exclusion, or expulsion, from a Federal Court Bar

except upon competent proof in the record sufficient to

5 Schware v. Bd. of Bar Examiners, 353 US 232

(1957).

iii

support a rational inference of unfitness-taking into

account the age and nature of any acts of misconduct,

charged - and the circumstances surrounding their

commission.

2. PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The United States Attorney, Middle District of

Florida, Jacksonville, Division, though not named in

the caption, was appointed by The Court to succeed

an adversary party, Browning-Ferris Industries, Inc., in

prosecution of the proceeding against Wilkes.

A F NTENT

PAGE

QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iv

REFERENCE TO OPINIONS 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTIONAL

GROUNDS 2

STATUTES INVOLVED 2

iv

JURISDICTION OF THE DISTRICT

COURT 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3

ARGUMENT 11

APPENDIX

PROOF OF SERVICE vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Abrams, In re, 521 F.2d 1094

(3rd Cir. 1975) cert den i

423 US 1038

Ashton, In re, 768 F.d 74

(3rd Cir. 1984) 20,21,24

Ass'n Bar City of New York v.

isserman, 271 F.2d 784

(2nd Cir, 1959) 14

Berkan, In re, 648 F.2d 1386

(1st Cir. 1981) 20,21

Bradley v. Fisher, 80 US (13 Wall)

335 (1872) 16

Brady v. Maryland, 373 US 83 (1963) 8,21

Braverman, In re, 549 F.2d 913

(4th Cir. 1976) 14

Burr, Ex parte, 22 US (9 Wheat)

529 (1824) 15,16

Comm. Prof. Ethics v. Johnson,

447 F.2d 169 (3rd Cir. 1971) 20

Dreier, In re, 258 F.2d 68

(3rd Cir. 1958) 14

Echeles, In re, 430 F.2d 347

(7th Cir. 1970) 14

Vv

Fieck, In re, 419 F.2d 1040 \

(6th Cir. 1969) cert den i,14

397 US 1074

Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 200 So.2d 4

177 (Fla, 1967)

Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 199 So.2d

472 (Fla, 1967) cert den 6

390 US 983

Fiorida Bar v. Wilkes, 179 So.2d

193 (Fla, 1965) 5

Frazier v. Heebe, 482 US

1987 22

Garland, Ex parte, 71 US

(4 Wall) 333 16

Gordon, In re, 640 F.2d 1143

(10th Cir. 1981) 22,24

Greer's Refuse Service and

Donald E. Wilkes v. Browning-

Ferris Industries, Inc.,

782 F.2d 918 (11th Cir. 1986) 8,9

MacNeil, In re, 266 F.2d 167

(ist Cir. 1959) 14

Mattox, In re, 758 F.2d 1362

(10th Cir. 1985) 20,21 ,24

People v. Finnegan, 182 NE 792

(Ill, 1932) 19

Phelps, In re, 637 F.2d 171

(10th Cir. 1981) 14,20,24

Robinson, Ex parte, 86 US

(19 Wall) 505 (1873) 17

Ruffalo, In re, 390 US 544 (1968) i,8,19,20

Sacher, In re, 347 US 388 (1954) 14

Schell, In re, 12 NYS 790

(NY, 1st Dept. 1890) 19

Schware v. Bd. Bar Examiners,

353 US 232 (1957) ii,23,24

PAGE

Selling v. Radford, 243 US i,11,12,13

46 (1917) 14,15,25

Snyder, In re, 472 US 634 (1985) 15

Theard v. U.S., 354 US 278 (1957) i,14,15,25

Thies, In re, 662 F.2d 771

(D.C. 1980) 14

Wilkes, In re, 494 F.2d 472

(5th Cir. 1974) 4,6,7

28 USC 1254 2

Middle District Rule 2.04(b) 2

3. REFERENCE TO OPINIONS

The Official Reports of Wilkes’ case are:

In Re Wilkes, 201 NYS 2d 524 (ist Dept, 1960);

Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 179 S. 2d 193 (FLA, 1965);

Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 199 S. 2d 472 (FLA, 1967)

cert den 390 US $83; Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 200 S.

2d 177 (FLA, 1967); In Re Wilkes, 494 F. 2d 472 (5th

Cir. 1974); Greer's Refuse Service and Donald

E. Wilkes v. Browning-Ferris Industries, Inc.,

782 F. 2d 918 (11th Cir, 1986); Greer's Refuse

Service and Donald E. Wilkes v. BFI, Inc., __

F.2d _s (11th Cir, 1988)

2

4. STATEMENT OF JURISDICTIONAL

GROUNDS |

The Judgment, below, was entered April 16, 1988.

A Petition for Rehearing, in banc, was denied June

6, 1988.

28 USC 1254 confers jurisdiction on This Court.

5. STATUTES INVOLVED

The due process clauses of The Federal

Constitution, as provided for in The Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments, are involved together with

Local Rule 2.04(b), United States District Court, Middie

District of Florida. (App-110)

6. JURISDICTION OF THE DISTRICT

COURT

Jurisdiction in the Court of first instance was

invoked under Local Rule 2.04(b), supra.

3

7. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

New York Disbarment

March 4, 1959, The New York City Bar Association

charged Wilkes with three offenses viz (1)

communicating with an adversary party in violation of

Canon 9 (2) failure to return $600.00 to an adversary

party in breach of an escrow Agreement and (3)

misadvising a client as to the validity of a Mexican

divorce. (App-38, 54-56)

Charge 2 was preferred by an adversary party

whose written complaint, further, accused Wilkes of

anti-Semitism - an accusation which pervaded the

ensuring Grievance Committee Hearings.”

June 21, 1960, The First Department disbarred

Wilkes under an Order which, as to Charge 2,

6 The March 4th Notice was limited to Charges 1 and 2.

Charge 3 was served after the proceeding was in progress.

(App-39)

7 The adversary party wrote a series of follow-up letters to

the Grievance Committee republishing the anti-Semitism

invective and assailing him for many other villainies. The record

shows the Committee disavowed reliance upon such charges

but tried them, anyway. (App-56,69)

4

convicted him of an offense neither charged, nor tried,

i.e. that he had converted $600.00 of his client's funds,

201 NYS 2d 524.

Florida Suspension

In 1963, The Florida Bar began a derivative

proceeding based upon the New York Judgment.®

Wilkes defended, arguing, among other things, that

the offenses charged were minor - that, as to charge 2,

he had been convicted on a charge not made - that

none of them was supported by the evidence - that the

proceeding was unfair for The Committee was more

concerned with whether he was an anti-Semite than a

professional delinquent, etc.9

6 The Fiorida Bar refused to accept his annual dues, thus,

effectively, suspending him, pendente lite, though such

action, at the time, was not authorized by The Integration Rule.

Wilkes moved The Supreme Court to compel acceptance.

(App-76) His Motion was pigeonhoied, for four years, until

denied, as moot, on June 8, 1967, a month after The Court's

formal suspension order was entered, April 19, 1967. Wiikes

v. The Florida Bar, 200 S. 2d 177.

9 in Re Wilkes, 494 F.2d 474 (5th Cir. 1974).

5

At a Referee's hearing, The Florida Bar introduced

a pamphlet having to do with a lecture Wilkes had

given on Existentialism.

The pamphlet had the effect intended.

The Referee was inflamed.

His Report recommended sustention of all charges

and disbarment - to which recommendation he

Superadded a ferocious denunciation of Wilkes for

intellectual and religious crimes, that is; that he was

not a church-goer and believed in Existentialism - a

philosophy "wholly repugnant to the reputable practice

of the law" which "motivated" his misconduct and

rendered him unfit.1°

The Florida Bar's Board of Governors adopted The

Report, in toto.

The Florida Supreme Court reversed and

remanded for reconsideration before the same

Referee despite Wilkes' Motion that he be

disqualified.11

10 Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 179 S.2d p. 200-201.

11 Ibid.

6

Without further hearings, a second Report was

published recommending that the Charge 1 and

Charge 2 convictions be ratified - that Charge 3 be

dismissed - and that disbarment, for five years, be

ordered. 12

The Board of Governors entered Judgment,

accordingly, and The Supreme Court affirmed but for

modification of the sanction to provide for indefinite

suspension “until such time as...(Wilkes) shall

demonstrate...he has rehabilitated himself

and...should be reinstated..."15

Wilkes has not applied for reinstatement.'4

hern Distr in

January 23, 1950, Wilkes was admitted in The

Southern District of Florida and, subsequently, was

grandfathered into The Middle District.

12 Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 199 So.2d 473.

13 Ibid.

14 494 F.2d 472.

In 1971, he sought to file a “Motion To Confirm

Credentials” in The Middle District but on the advice of

Chief Judge McRae, now deceased, withdrew the

tender and brought on the Motion in The Southern

District - assured that the outcome, there, would be

recognized in both Districts. (App-75)

The Motion was dismissed but The Fifth Circuit

reversed, ordered Wilkes reinstated, pendente lite,

and remanded for a hearing, de novo on the State

Court charges.'5

A Grievance Committee studied the New York and

Florida records'® and, applying a de novo standard of

review, submitted a hundred page Report, December

30, 1977, finding that "...there now exists no present

basis for holding...Wilkes disqualified to practice law

for Federal in thi Shad

15 494 F.2d 476-477.

16 Live testimony, including Wilkes’, was taken, also.

17 The Report was ordered sealed for reasons unknown

though Wilkes speculates that publication would have

embarrassed The State Bar Authorities, most especially, New

York's for allowing the proceeding, there, to be used as a

forum to try Wilkes for suspected anti-Semitism. Wilkes has

8

The Southern District, in banc, August 10, 1978

confirmed Wilkes’ Credentials. (App-100-109)

le Distri

December 15, 1983, Browning-Ferris, Inc., an

adversary party in an antitrust action, moved to

disqualify and suspend Wilkes, in The Middle District,

based upon his 1967 Florida Bar suspension.'®

He submitted a copy of The Southern District's

1978 Order and pointed out that Judge McRae had

vouched that the adjudication, there, would control in

The Middle District, as well. (App-90-96)

Nevertheless, a Three Judge Panel convened and

ordered him stricken, peremptorily. (App-77-87)

been denied access to the Report but was able to arrange for

The Southern District to offer to make it available to The Middle

District Pane!. The offer was declined. 782 F.2d p. 2127 n 2.

The Report is exculpatory. A disbarment proceeding is quasi-

criminal. In Re Ruffalo, supra, The Panel's action, thus

trespassed the spirit, if not the letter, of Brady. Brady v.

Maryland, 373 US 83. Certainly, it evinced a studied

disregard for truthfinding - the talismanic search which Federal

pent are obliged to encourage in all controversies in their

main.

18 782 F.2d 2126.

9

The Eleventh Circuit, invoking the Fifth Circuit's

prior Wilkes decision, as controlling precedent,'9

reversed.20

Wilkes was allowed, on remand, to file a

"Memorandum Seeking To Show Why (...He) Should

Not Be Suspended." (App-33-72)

December 23, 1986, The Panel suspended him,

again, under an Order finding and concluding:

That his plea - that he did not take a client's funds -

was well-founded - and, further, he was correct in

asserting such a charge had never been made or

tried; (App-23)

That, actually, Charge 2 was preferred by an

adversary party who complained that Wilkes had

refused to return $600.00 deposited with him in return

for promised dismissal of a bastardy action and

issuance of a general release; (App-29-31)

19 Ibid.

ru The Middle District Panel, on remand, declined to reinstate

Wilkes, pendente lite, but yielded in the aftermath of a

Mandamus proceeding.

10

That The New York Court "simply _misspoke in

ri ‘client' ". (App-23)

That the other charge - having to do with Canon 9 -

"stems from a letter he wrote on October 1, 1958 to the

defendant who was then represented by counsel, in a

personal injury action in which Wilkes represented the

Plaintiff"; (App-31)

That "In all fairness”, the charges involved

".Offenses...(that) are just not very serious"; (App-30)

That, nonetheless, he would be suspended “until

he has gained reinstatement by the Florida Bar..."2'

(App-31)

That "If he has been punished enough - and that

r r- ni

| f ri for

reinstatement.” (App-28)

No finding was made as to Wilkes’ fitness, vel non.

21 The Order purging Wilkes, in The Middle District, states

that he is not a "member of any organized Bar." (App-30) He is

in good standing in The Southern District and in The Eleventh

Circuit both of which concluded his fitness is unimpaired.

11

8. ARGUMENT

Question One: Fitness Factor

The Court of Appeals affirmed under an Opinion

which, passing over any mention of the minor nature of

his offenses, as found by The District Court, declared

that "an independent determination whether Wilkes

was fit to practice law" was not required - that the

“obvious implication of our mandate,” on first Appeal,

was that such a requirement could be dispensed with

unless “the record revealed...infirmities identified in

Selling."

The Court's dialectics circumvents Selling in the

name of Selling.22

22 Wilkes has come to think that disciplinary proceedings are

a kind of Gulag Archipelago, American-Style, and that

Professional Canons are not unlike Article 58 of The Soviet

Criminal Code of 1926 - an Article which, with its fourteen

Sections, in Solzhenitzyn's words, has an “all-encompassing

embrace” guaranteeing that “no step, thought, action or lack of

action . . . (can) not be punished” - not “so much through the

exact terms of its sections as in their extended dialectical

interpretations.” Alexander Solzhenitsyn, The Gulag

Archipelago, p. 60 Harper & Row. A point, made again and

again, by Solzhenitsyn, is that, once targeted for prosecution,

an accused learned that his guilt, or innocence, of specific

offenses - was irrelevant - that the aim was to compel his

submission - that his alleged crimes were of no concer to the

authorities but any show of independent will was - and that he

was made to understand he would be caught in the toils of

12

Nevertheless, Wilkes’ Appeal, plainly, was

disposed of on a ground which poses direct conflict

with Selling's strictures, the chief of which are:

That, in a derivative disbarment proceeding, a

Federal Court's overriding concern must be to

determine for itself, whether the “necessary effect of

the ...(State Court) action...nhas been to absolutely

destroy the condition of fair private and professional

character, without the possession of which there could

be no possible right to continue to..." practice. 243 US

50

That, accordingly, a State Court disbarment should

not be recognized, derivatively, where intrinsic

consideration of the record discloses “that there was

such an infirmity of proof as to facts found to have

established the want of fair private and professional

character as to give rise to a Clear conviction that...the

Article 58, for life, or, as long as, he resisted. That is the

message Wilkes got from The Panel's Order of Suspension,

December 23, 1986, and The Court of Appeal's affirmance,

behind an “extended dialectical interpretation” of Selling.

13

conclusion on that subject" should not be accepted as

"final"; 243 US 51

That a Federal Court should be mindful, in such an

investigation, that a determination to disbar, or not,

"must depend upon the character of the acts of

misconduct and wrong relied upon, of the place of

their commission and the nature of the proof relied

upon to established their existence.” 243 US 48-49

Selling, clearly, impressed a duty upon The

District Court to determine, independently, whether the

State Court charges and proofs operated to

"destroy...(Wilkes') fair personal and professional

character” taking into account the "character of the acts

of misconduct” charged, the time and circumstance of

their commission and “the nature of the proof relied

upon to establish their existence.”

In dispensing with such a determination, in Wilkes’

case, The Court of Appeals treated Selling as a mere

ceremonial barrier to automatic enforcement of his

14

State Court disbarment - satisfied by a polite, but idle,

show of compliance.23

The decision conflicts with Selling, supra, and

Theard, supra, and the decisions of the several sister

Courts of Appeals which have spoken to the

question.24

Question Two: Arbitrary and Excessive

Punishment

The Eleventh Circuit, here, opaquely, but

effectively, held that a District Court Panel was

empowered to enforce a State Court disbarment

23 The District Court's first Order, candidly, avowed a

persuasion in favor of automatic enforcement, saying: that

"the premise of Wilkes’ position is that . . . (This) Court should

.. . determine for itself his fitness to practice before it without

regard to his current suspension in this state” - that, however,

his position was not to be countenanced for “to do so would

engage this Court in . . . discipline practices contrary to those

... dictated by practicality and comity and would take this

Court down a path it does not wish to follow.” (App-84)

24 In Re Thies, 662 F.2d 774 (D.C. Cir.1980); In Re

Fleck, supra, fn 4; In Re Dreler, 258 F.2d 68 (3rd Cir. 1958)

Matter of Phelps, 637 F.2d 171 (10th Cir. 1981); Ass'n

Bar City of New York v. Isserman, 271 F.2d 784 (2nd

Cir. 1959); in Re Braverman, 549 F.2d 913 (4th Cir. 1976);

in Re Echeles, 430 F.2d 347 (7th Cir. 1970); In Re

MacNeill, 266 F.2d 167 (ist Cir. 1959); See, too, In Re

Sacher, 347 US 388 (1954).

15

which, The Panel admitted, predicated nonserious

offenses committed, if at all, thirty years, ago.

The decision conflicts, specifically, with Theard,

supra and Selling, supra - which ordain that a

Federal Court must not genuflect to a State Court

disbarment - that "Disbarment being the very serious

business it is..." 354 US 282- must not be decreed,

derivatively, for minor offenses. 243 US 50-51.

Indeed, whether in original or derivative

proceedings, Federal Courts "admit and suspend

attorneys as an exercise of their inherent power"25

applying Federal standards2® - and the decision, in

Wilkes’ case, conflicts with a rule of law, governing

disbarments, enshrined in generations of This Court's

decisions, from Burr,27 decided in 1824, to Snyder,28

decided in 1985.

®

In Re Snyder, 472 US 634, p. 645 n. 6.

26 Ibid.

27 __—«&Ex Parte Burr, 9 Wheat 529.

28 in Re Snyder, supra, fn 25.

16

This Court, for example, has admonished:

That “the profession of an attorney is of great

importance to an individual..." and the “right to

exercise it ought not to be lightly or capriciously taken

from him” - but, contrariwise, should be treated with

"great moderation” and "great caution."29

That an Attorney's office is not held as “a matter of

grace or favor... a mere indulgence, revocable at the

pleasure of the courts” - but is *...a right of which he

can only be deprived...for moral or professional

delinquency.”3°

That “removal from the Bar should...never be

decreed where any punishment less severe...would

accomplish the end desired."3'

That the "power to disbar...can only be exercised

where there has been such conduct...as shows...(an

29 Ex Parte Burr, supra.

30 Ex Parte Gariand, 71 US (4 Wall) 33.

31 Bradley v. Fisher, 80 US (13 Wall) 335 (1872).

17

attorney) to be unfit to be...(a member) of the

profession."32

This Court, nor any Federal Court, other than The

Eleventh Circuit, in Wilkes’ case, has ever tolerated a

Lawyer's excommunication for offenses, concededly,

antique in time and "just not very serious” in nature.

The conflict is plain.

The question is important.

Question Three: Denial of Procedural Due Process

The Charge 2, made in New York, was that Wilkes

refused to return $600.00 to an adversary party

deposited pursuant to a letter agreement, written by

the party's attorney, the terms of which purported to

obligate Wilkes to dismiss a bastardy action and

deliver a general release from his client.

The charge on which he was convicted, as recited

in The New York Court's disbarment, was that he had

misappropriated the funds from his client. (App-23)

32 Ex Parte Robinson, 86 US (19 Wall) 505 (1873).

18

Before The Middle District Panel, Wilkes argued

that his conviction on such an unmade, untried charge

denied him procedural due process within the reach of

Ruffalo.

The Panel, while admitting the New York Court

"misspoke in referring to a client's funds” (App-23) did

not disturb the conviction-reasoning that it should be

revised to conform to the charge, actually, made -

although The Court sidestepped finding that the

evidence supported even that charge. (App-29-30)

The Court of Appeals confessed, too, that "the New

York Court's reference to a client's funds...was...not the

best choice of words” - but opined Wilkes

"cannot...seriously claim he was trie¢ on an unnoticed

charge” - in that he was noticed for converting “funds

transmitted to him in escrow by an opposing lawyer” -

and the “record contains evidence that would support

the conclusion that...(he) engaged in the misconduct

charged."33

33 The Court of Appeals, obviously, did not inspect the

record which shows Charge 2, as made, was not proven - that

the alleged escrow agreement was a fiction. (App-29) The

19

The District Court and The Court of Appeals, then,

did not dispute that, without revision, Wilkes' Charge 2

conviction, as specified in the State Court disbarment,

would not survive Ruffalo scrutiny since he had no

notice, at all, that he was to be put on trial for taking a

client's funds.

Both Courts, however, were oblivious of any

Ruffalo problem created by sustaining the conviction,

as revised, notwithstanding that the end result was,

merely, a reverse replay of the State Court scenario,

that is; The District Court summoned him to defend

, against a charge of taking a client's funds, but, without

further notice, convicted him of taking an adversary

party's funds.

Ruffalo forbids Federal Court recognition of a

professional sanction based upon acts not specifically

Court overlooked, too, that Charge 2 did not state cognizable

misconduct. Disputes between lawyers and adversary parties

are litigated and resolved in “ordinary” legal procedures,” not

before disciplinary bodies. Wilkes' Charge 2 prosecution was

unprecedented. People v. Finnegan, 182 NE 792 (ill,

1932); In Re Schell, 12 NYS 790 (NY, 1st Dep, 1980).

Indeed, here, the adversary party sued Wilkes for conversion

and lost. (App-59)

20

noticed before the proceeding was commenced. 390

US 551

Aftfirmance of Wilkes' Charge 2 conviction, patently,

conflicts with Ruffalo and decisions of The First

Circuit, in Berkan,34 The Third Circuit, in Johnson,35

and Ashton,36 and The Tenth Circuit, in Phelps?’

and Mattox.?®

Question Four: Entitlement to De Novo Hearing

The Southern District in banc, heard the State

Court charges, de novo, in the proceeding, there, a

decade ago, obedient to The Fifth Circuit's decision in

Wilkes 1.39

34 In Re Berkan, 648 F.2d 1368 (1st Cir. 1981).

35 Committee Professional! Ethics v. Johnson, 447

F.2d 169 (1971).

36 In Re Ashton, 768 F.2d 74 (1984).

37 in Re Phelps, 637 F.2d 171 (1981).

38 Matter of Mattox, 758 F.2d 1362 (1985).

39 Wilkes’ case has been reviewed three times by Federal!

Courts of Appeal - once by The Fifth Circuit, in 1974, and twice

by The Eleventh, in 1986 and 1988. Hereafter, according to

chronology, they will be cited as Wilkes |, Wilkes Ili, and

Wilkes Ill.

21

Furthermore, The Eleventh Circuit, in Wilkes ll,

cited Wilkes I as ruling precedent - and quoted the

passage from Judge Wisdom's Opinion directing “that

the district court...hold a hearing (in effect a de novo

hearing) to conduct...an inquiry" - 782 F.2d 2126 - to

: verify, vel non, the trustworthiness of the “grounds

relied on by the New York and Florida courts." 782

F.2d 2126

On remand of Wilkes Il, he, accordingly, moved

for such a hearing in The Middle District (App-74-75) -

in reaction to which an Order was entered denying the

relief prayed for and making plain The Panel would

hear no evidence, at all, favorable to Wilkes - or, in

The Order's words, no “evidence...with respect to the

causes of Wilkes’ suspension by The Supreme Court

of Florida or with respect to rehabilitative or

exculpatory matters."49 (App-74-75)

40 Whether Brady, 373 US 83, will be extended to

disciplinary proceedings is debatable. But Wilkes submits it is

beyond debate that the Order resonated an implacable, rather

than a judicial, attitude toward him which disabled The District

Court Panel to decide his fate, fairly, on the merits. In Re

Ashton, supra, p. 80-81; In Re Mattox, supra, p..1368; In

Re Berkan, supra.

22

The Court of Appeals affirmed, explaining that

Wilkes had misunderstood the Opinion in Wilkes Il -

that he should not have read it to mean what it,

literally, said, as to de novo review.

What cannot be gainsaid, is that The Court's

decision, in Wilkes Ill, conflicts with This Court's

decision in Ruffalo as well as the decisions of The

Fifth Circuit, in Wilkes 1, and The Tenth Circuit, in

Gordon‘' and Phelps, supra.

The Courts of Appeal are divided in their

interpretations of the scope of review Selling and

Ruffalo, in tandem, prescribe in derivative

proceedings to discipline Lawyers.

Exercise of This Court's supervisory power is

appropriate and needed.42

Question Five: Schware's Application To Federal

Courts

41 In Re Gordon, 640 F.2d 1143 p. 1146-47 (10th Cir.

1981).

42 Frazier v. Heebe, 482 US (1987).

23

Wilkes argued, below:

That the constitutional commandments of

Schware43 apply in Federal, as well as State Court,

Proceedings to admit and expel Lawyers; (App-5-

36,47)

That such commandments, thus, should be

deemed to asylum him against expulsion, in The

Middle District, except upon the basis of evidence in

the record which "rationally justifies a finding that (he

is) unfit to practice law." 353 US 246.

That the only evidence, before The Panel, bearing

on his fitness, or not, was that twenty-nine years ago a

New York Court convicted and disbarred him for

commission of three minor offenses the most

noteworthy of which was neither charged not tried -

that twenty-two years, ago, The Florida Supreme

Court, derivatively, convicted and Suspended him on

two of the charges - that ten years, ago, The Southern

District - after de novo review of the State Court

4 Schware v. State Bd. of Bar Examiners, supra.

24

charges and proofs - found him fit to practice, there -

that four years, ago, he was deemed qualified and

admitted to The Eleventh Circuit's Bar.

That, unarguably, such evidence precluded a

rational conclusion of unfitness.

The Court did not address, explicitly, but,

necessarily, decided Wilkes’ argument, adversely -

resulting in conflict with decisions of The Third Circuit,

in Ashton, supra, and The Tenth Circuit, in Mattox,

supra, holding Schware regnant in Federal Court

proceedings.

The question is ripe for settlement.

CONCLUSION

The Middle District rubberstamped Wilkes’ State

Court disbarment,44 without a finding of unfitness -

indeed, under an Order containing recitals which,

paradoxically, were tantamount to a finding that he is

fit.

44 In Re Phelps, supra, p. 176; In Re Gordon, supra, p.

1146-1147.

25

The Court of Appeals’ allowance of such action

conflicts with Selling and Theard and "so far

departed from the accepted and usual course of

judicial proceedings" as to plead for correction under

the Aegis of This Court's Supervisory power.

Wilkes’ Petition, also, presents other important

Federal law questions which, invariably, confront

Federal Courts called upon to inquire into the

enforceability, or not, of State Court punishments of

Lawyers - questions The Courts of Appeal have not

been able to agree upon, yielding a Balkanized state

of affairs This Court should settle.

Above all, Federal Courts in The Eleventh Circuit,

and everywhere, should be reminded that the power to

disbar, even in derivative proceedings, must not be

used in terrorem, but should be reserved for exercise,

where necessary, as a measured response to grave

misconduct subversive of character and fitness - that

disbarment for non-serious offenses, always, is

inappropriate and abusive - that Lawyers are not to

26

Federal Courts “like flies to wanton boys...who

kill...(them) for their sport.”

Wilkes prays for Certiorari.

pacthaly submitted,

When, HN. mMancu—

William H. Maness, Esquire

801 Investors Building

118 West Adams Street

Jacksonville, Fiorida 32202

(904) 353-5786

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER

TABLE OF CONTENTS

EXHIBIT I, Order Denying Petition

For Rehearing 1

EXHIBIT II, Eleventh Circuit Court of

re Opinion Of April

26, 1988

EXHIBIT I], U.S. District Court

Memorandum Opinion of

December 23, 1986 ‘

1

EXHIBIT IV, Memorandum Seeking To

Show Cause Why Wilkes

Should Not Be Suspended “.

EXHIBIT V, U.S. District Court Order

Of June 19, 1986 am

EXHIBIT VI, U.S. District Court

Memorandum Opinion Of

April 9, 1985 77

EXHIBIT VII, ‘U.S. District Court

Order Establishing A

Three Judge Pane 88

EXHIBIT VIII, Memorandum in Opposition

To BFI’s Motion To

Suspend And Disqualify 90

EXHIBIT IX, Motion To Suspend and

Disqualify Plaintiff's

Counsel 97

EXHIBIT X,

EXHIBIT XI,

EXHIBIT XIl,

EXHIBIT XII,

Proof of Service

Order Granting Petitioner

Donald Wilkes’ Petition

To Confirm Credentials

Middle District,Local

Rule 2.04(b)

Amendment V

Amendment XIV

100

110

112

113

114

1

EXHIBIT I

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

NO.87-3060

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC. Plaintiff,

and

DONALD E. WILKES, Appellant,

versus

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES of Delaware,

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES of Florida,

Defendants-appellees.

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Middle District of Florida

(Opinion __ 4/26/88 _, 11 Cir., 1988,

F.2d__). (June 6, 1988)

Before TJOFLAT and KRAVITCH, Circuit Judges and

TUTTLE, Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM:

( ) The Petition(s) for Rehearing of the appellant are

DENIED and no member of this panel nor other Judge

in regular active service on the Court having requested

that the Court be polled on rehearing in banc (Rule 35,

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Eleventh Circuit

Rule 35-5), the Suggestions(s) of Rehearing in Banc are

DENIED.

3

EXHIBIT I

GREER’S REFUSE SERV. v.

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE,

INC., Plaintiff,

and

Donald E. Wilkes, Appellant,

Vv.

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES OF

DELAWARE, Browning-Ferris Industries

of Florida, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 87-3060.

United States Court of Appeals,

Eleventh Circuit

April 26, 1988.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Florida.

Before TJOFLAT and KRAVITCH, Circuit Judges, and

TUTTLE, Senior Circuit Judge.

TJOFLAT, Circuit Judge:

In this case, the United States District Court for

the Middle District of Florida, acting pursuant to its

4

rules, suspended attorney Donald E. Wilkes from further

practice in the Middle District. We affirm.

I.

Wilkes was admitted to the Florida Bar in 1950. Upon

becoming a member of that bar, he was admitted to

practice in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida. Subsequently when the

Middle District of Florida was created, he was admitted

to practice in that district as well.! In 1953, he

became a member of the New York Bar.

In 1960, Wilkes was disbarred in New York based on

four charges of professional misconduct. In re Wilkes,

11 A.D.2d 35, 201 N.Y.S.2d 524 (1960).2 In

1. The Middle District of Florida was carved from the Southern

District in 1962. Wilkes, as a member of the Southern District

bar, was grandfathered into the bar for the Middle District.

2. The court’s opinion listed three charges: “converting and

misappropriating [a] client’s funds, communicating directly with

a party represented by counsel in an attempt to negotiate a

settlement, and misadvising and assisting a client to obtain a

void Mexican divorce.” Wilkes, 11 A.D.2d at 35, 201 N.Y.S.2d at

524-25. The court also remarked that Wilkes had failed to

appear in the disbarment proceeding and had apparently

abandoned his law practice. We interpret this remark as

referring to a fourth charge of professional misconduct.

5

1963, on the basis of the New York disbarment, the

Florida Bar initiated its own disciplinary proceedings

against Wilkes. The referee assigned to the matter

recommended that Wilkes be permanently disbarred, or,

in the alternative, suspended until such time as the New

York disbarment was vacated. On review, the Supreme

Court of Florida held that the referee had erroneously

given undue weight to the New york disbarment and had

failed to consider whether the record of the New York

proceedings supported the charges on which the

disbarment was based. The supreme court therefore

remanded the case to the referee, ordering him to

conduct an independent examination of the record

underlying the New York disbarment. Florida Bar v.

Wilkes, 179 So.2d 193 (Fla. 1965).

On remand, the referee gave independent

consideration to the New York record and concluded

that two of the four charges upon which Wilkes’

disbarment had been based were not supported by the

Ser ere eee ve eee

6

record.> In light of this conclusion, the referee

rescinded his earlier recommendation that Wilkes be

permanently disbarred for a period of five years. The

Supreme Court of Florida agreed with the referee’s

assessment of the New York disbarment record, but

disagreed with the referee’s recommendation regarding

the appropriate sanction. Apparently believing that

disbarment for five years was unduly harsh, the supreme

court ordered that Wilkes be suspended from practice in

Florida "until such time as he shail demonstrate to the

Florida Bar and to this court that he has rehabilitated

himself and that he should be reinstated to practice law

in this state." Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 199 So.2d 472, 473

(Fla. 1967), cert.denied, 390 U.S. 983, 88 S.Ct. 1104, 19

L.Ed.2d 1280 (1968).

Wilkes has never sought reinstatement to the Florida

Bar, and therefore remains suspended from the practice

of Law in Florida to this day. He refuses as a matter

3. The referee found that the third and fourth charges mentioned

in the New York disbarment order, see supra note 2, were not

supported by the record.

-

of principle to seek reinstatement to that bar;

he believes that to do so would constitute a tacit

admission of guilt as to the charges upon which the

New York disbarment was based, and he is unwilling to

make such an admission.

In September 1983, Wilkes appeared as counsel of

record for a plaintiff in a case before the United States

District Court for the Middle District of Florida. The

defendants in the case moved the district court,

pursuant to Local Rule 2.04 (b),4 to disqualify Wilkes

from serving as plaintiff's counsel and to suspend Wilkes

from further practice in the Middle District. After

examining the two opinions of the Supreme Court of

Florida relating to Wilkes’ suspension in Florida, a

three-judge panel of the district court granted the

4. Rule 2.04(b) provides that "[w]henever it appears to the Court

that any member of its bar . . . has been disbarred or suspended

from practice by the Supreme Court of Florida, or by any other

Court of competent jurisdiction, . . . such disbarment [or]

suspension ... shall... operate an automatic suspension of

such attorney’s right to practice in this Court.” The rule

permits the attorney to file a petition with the district court

seeking relief from the automatic suspension.

8

motion. On appeal, this court reversed. We held

that the district court, before it could suspend Wilkes

pursuant to Local Rule 2.04(b), was required "to give

intrinsic consideration to the records underlying the

state proceedings against Wilkes in New York and

Florida." Greer’s Refuse Servs., Inc. v. Browning-Ferris

Indus., 782 F.2d 918, 923 (11th Cir. 1986).> In so

5. We noted in Greer’s that Wilkes is recognized as a member in

good standing of the federal bar for the Southern District of

Florida. In 1971, Wilkes filed a “Motion to Confirm

Credentials” in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida. The court denied the motion,

basing its decision on the fact that Wilkes had been suspended

from the Florida bar. On appeal, the Fifth Circuit reversed and

remanded, ordering the district court to conduct an intrinsic

examination of the records underlying the Florida suspension.

In re Wilkes, 494 F.2d 472 (Sth Cir. 1974). On remand, the

district court granted Wilkes’ Motion to Confirm Credentials.

As we emphasized in Greer’s, Wilkes’ success in the Sothern

District has no bearing on the merits of the present case:

Every indication . . . is that the order of the Southern

District granting Wilkes’ petition to confirm credentials

applied only to that district. Indeed, it could not be

otherwise; for, just as every court is entitled to determine its

own barmembership in terms of admission, each may also

determine its barmembership in terms of suspension or

disbarment as well.

Greer’s, 782 F.2d at 923.

q

E.

oe

9 :

rae

holding, we relied on the principle enunciated in Selling

v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46, 37 S.Ct 377, 61 L.Ed 585 (1917),

and reaffirmed in Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278,

77 S.Ct. 1274, 1276, 1 L.Ed2d 1342 (1957), and In re

Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 547, 88 S.Ct. 1222, 1224, 20

L.Ed.2d 117 (1968). In Selling, the Supreme Court held

that a federal court may rely on a state court

ENE DE Sef NES IIE NASON NE OO

disbarment to exclude an attorney from practice before

it

unless, from an intrinsic consideration of the

state record, one or all of the following

conditions should appear: 1. That the state

been for want of notice or opportunity to

e heard, was wanting in due process; 2. that

there was such an infirmity of proof as to facts

found to have established the want of fair

private and professional character as to give rise

to a clear conviction on our part that we could

not, consistently with our duty, accept as final

the conclusion on that subject; or 3, that some

other grave reason existed which should convince

us that to allow the natural consequences of the

Leen gm to have their effect would conflict

with the duty which rests upon us not to disbar

except upon the conviction that, under the

principles of right and justice, we were

constrained so to do.

Selling, 243 U.S. at 51, 37 S.Ct. at 379.

On remand, the district court examined the underlying

: . a : 345 _ va

FRIESE DTT ern PE TP TTI NR te Sm . eee Emr 2 ; : " pea Re

‘ ss : ss oer Py 7 7

records and concluded that neither the New York

10

disbarment nor the Florida suspension was infirm under

the Selling standard. Accordingly, the court reinstated

its order suspending Wilkes from further practice in the

Middle District. The district court commented that

should Wilkes gain reinstatement to the Florida Bar, he

would be entitled to apply for reinstatement to the

federal bar for the Middle District.®

Il.

On appeal, Wilkes first argues that the review

undertaken by the district court on remand was

essentially a sham. He apparently contends that he is

entitled, under our mandate in Greer’s, to a trial de

novo in the first instance on the question of his fitness

6. Local Rule 2.01(b) provides that “[o]nly those persons who are

members in good standing of The Florida bar shall be eligible

for general admission to the bar of this Court.” ‘Local Rule 2.02

provides that, under specified conditions, a "non-resident

attorney who is a member in good standing of the bar of any

District Court of the United States, outside the State of Florida,

may appear specially and be heard in any case in which he is

counsel of record.” Wilkes has not represented that he is a

member in good standing of any United States district court bar

outside the state of Florida.

—s

11

to practice law. This argument reflects a basic

misunderstanding of our mandate in Greer’s.

[1] Several preliminary points are in order. First,

federal district courts have clear statutory authority to

promulgate rules governing the admission and conduct of

the attorneys who practice before them.

See Frazier v, Heebe, -- U.S. --, 107 S.Ct. 2607, 2611,

96 L.ED 2d 2607 (1987):? Second, the Middle District,

pursuant to that authority, has promulgated rules

providing that general admission to practice in that

court is conditioned upon admission to the Florida Bar;

these rules further provide that state disbarment may be

grounds for suspension from the Middle District bar.8

7. 28 U.S.C. Section 2071 (1982) provides that "all courts

established by Actof Congress shall from time to time prescribe

rules for the conduct of their business." 28 U.S.C. Section 1654

(1982) provides that "[i]n all courts of the United States the

parties may plead and conduct their own cases ... by counsel as,

by the rules of such courts, respectively, are permitted to

manage and conduct cuases therein.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 83 provides

that "[eJach district court by action of a majority of the judges

thereof may from time to time, after giving appropriate public

notice and an opportunity to comment, make and amend rules

governing its practice not inconsistent with [the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure].”

8. See supra notes 4 and 6.

12

The Supreme court has implicitly upheld the validity of

rules such as those promulgated by the Middle District.

Greer’s, 782 F.2d at 921.2 As we emphasized in Greer’s,

a district court may suspend an attorney from its bar

pursuant to a rule such as Local Rule 2.04(b) provided

that an intrinsic consideration of the record underlying

the predicate state disbarment does not reveal the kind

of infirmities identified in Selling.

In this case, Wilkes has been admitted to practice in

the Middle District based on his status as a member in

good standing of the Florida Bar. The predicate of his

9. The Supreme Court does have the prerogative to "exercise its

inherent supervisory power to ensure that these local Rules are

consistent with the principles of right and justice.” Frazier v.

Heebe, -- U.S. --, 107S.Ct. 2607, 96 L.Ed.2d 557 (1987). In

Frazier, the Court exercised its supervisory power to invalidate

a local rule promulgated by the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana. The rule provided that

members of the Louisiana bar would not be admitted to the

district court’s bar unless they lived in, or maintained an office

in, Louisiana. The Court emphasized, among other things, the

irrationality of the rule as a means of ensuring the competence

of the attorneys who practice before the district court. Id. at -

-, 107 S.Ct. at 2612-13. Nothing in the Frazier opinion suggests

that a local rule requiring state bar membership as a condition

of general admission to a district court bar is an arbitrary or

irrational means of ensuring attorney competence.

13

suspension from practice in the Middle District was

his suspension from the Florida Bar. That being the

case, our mandate in Greer’s directed the district court

to give intrinsic consideration to the record underlying

the Florida suspension and to determine whether that

record revealed any of the infirmities identified in

Selling. The obvious implication of our mandate was

that if no such infirmities were uncovered, then it

would be entirely permissible for the district court to

use the Florida suspension as a predicate for its own

suspension of Wilkes from practice in the Middle

District. Only if the Florida suspension were found to

be infirm under the Selling standard would the district

court be required to make an independent determination

whether Wilkes was fit to practice law.

[2] Thus, contrary to Wilkes’ apparent suggestions,

our mandate in Greer’s did not direct the district court

to conduct a de novo trial in the first instance of

Wilkes’ fitness to practice law. The district court, in

compliance with our mandate, examined the record

underlying the Florida suspension. The court found

14

none of the infirmities identified in Selling. Assuming

that the court did not err in conducting it intrinsic

consideration of the records, then, it was entirely

proper for the court to reinstate its order suspending.

Wilkes on the basis of Local Rule 2.04(b). Furthermore,

it was entirely proper for the court to comment,

consistent with its validly promulgated local rules, that

Wilkes could be reinstated to the Middle District bar

should he gain reinstatement to the Florida Bar.

Having disposed of Wilkes’ argument that he was

entitle to a trial de novo in the first instance on the

question of his fitness to practice law, we turn to the

merits of the district court’s determination that the

Florida suspension was not infirm on any of the bases

identified in Selling. In making that determination, the

district court gave intrinsic consideration not only to

the record underlying the New York disbarment. Such

15

review was necessary because, as explained on the New

York disbarment. 10

Wilkes argues that the New York disbarment

proceeding was constitutionally defective, and that the

district court therefore erred in finding an absence of

the kind of infirmity identified in Selling. One of the

charges levied against Wilkes in the New York

proceeding was that he had misappropriated and

converted funds transmitted to him in escrow by an

opposing lawyer. The record of the New York

proceedings shows that Wilkes had notice of this charge

and was given an opportunity to respond to it. The

record also contains evidence that would support the

conclusion that Wilkes had in fact engaged in the

misconduct charged. The order disbarring Wilkes,

however, referred to his having converted and

misappropriated a "client’s" funds, rather than funds

10. Because the Florida suspension was based on only the first

two charges of professional misconduct involved in the New

York disbarment, see supra note 3 and accompanying text, the

district court properly limited its examination of the New York

record to that portion pertaining to those two charges.

16

transmitted to him in escrow by opposing counsel.

Wilkes, 11 A.D.2d at 35, 201 N.Y.S.2d at 525. Owing to

this discrepancy, Wilkes argues that he was denied due

process because his disbarment was based on an

unnoticed charge.

[3] We find this argument to be without merit. The

misappropriation charge stemmed from Wilkes’ handling

of a $600 check transmitted to him by an opposing

counsel. A letter accompanying the check stated that

"the proceeds of this check should be held by you in

escrow pending receipt by me of general release from

your client to mine, and dismissal of the present action

with prejudice to its renewal." No release was ever

delivered by Wilkes, but he kept the money. Since the

money was originally transmitted to Wilkes with the

intention that it ultimately be paid to Wilkes’ client, it

is understandable that the New York court might make

reference to the "client’s funds” rather than “funds

transmitted to Wilkes in escrow by opposing counsel.”

We recognize that the New York court’s reference to a

“client’s funds" in describing the subject of the

misappropriation was perhaps not the best choice of

17

words. Wilkes cannot, however, seriously claim that he

was tried on an unnoticed charge merely because the

description of the charge in the court's formal opinion

was not a modei of clarity. The fact remains that

Wilkes was charged with misappropriating the funds and

had adequate notice of that charge. We therefore

reject Wilkes’ contention that his disbarment was based

on an unnoticed change. !1

Ill.

In summary, we conclude that the district court's

Suspension of Wilkes pursuant to Local Rule 2.04(b) was

proper in all respects. The district court correctly

interpreted our mandate in Greer’s, and we perceive no

error in the court’s finding that the records of the

1i. Wilkes claims that the New York disbarment and the Florida

suspension were defective in several other respects. We

conclude that these additional claims do not merit discussion.

“—w emery 7

18

underlying disciplinary proceedings are devoid of the

kind of infirmity identified in Selling. !7

AFFIRMED

12. In his brief, Wilkes repeatedly points out that his professional

misconduct occurred some thirty years ago. Wilkes identifies

this passage of time as a “grave reason,” within the meaning of

Selling. for not using the suspension from the Florida Bar as a

predicate for suspension from practice in the Middle District.

In support of this argument, Wilkes relies on Theard v. United

States, 354 U.S. 278, 77 S.Ct. 1274, 1 L.Ed.2d 1342 (1957). In

Theard, as in this case, an attorney was suspended from a

federal district court bar on the basis of a stae disbarment.

The state disbarment order, entered in 1954, was based on an

incident of misconduct that had occurred in 1935, at a time

when the attorney was suffering from an extreme mental illness.

Id. at 280, 77 S.Ct. at 1276. In light of these facts, the

Supreme COurt held that the district court had erred in

automatically accepting the sate disbarment as a basis for

suspending the attorney, and remanded the case for

reconsideration. Id. at 283, 77 S.Ct. at 1277.

The present case does not involve the kind of special

circumstances that gave rise to the Court's apparent concerns

Theard. In Theard, the predicaie state disbarment itself

occurred nearly twenty years after the misconduct in question.

Here, the disciplinary proceedings that resulted in the New York

disbarment were commenced within roughly one year of the

misconduct in question, and the disciplinary proceedings that

resulted in the Florida suspension were commenced within three

years of the New York disbarment. Because the predicate state

proceedings occurred in temporal proximity to the underlying

misconduct, there is no danger here, as there was in Theard,

that the disciplinary actions were based on stale evidence.

Moreover, there is no suggestion in this case that Wilkes, like

the attorney in Theard, was suffering from a debilitating mental

illness at the time of the misconduct in question.

19

EXHIBIT Ill

UNITED STATE DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

JACKSONVILLE DIVISION

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

-VS- CASE NO. 83-825 CIV-J-14

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES,

INC., et al.,

Defendants.

/

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Donald E. Wilkes, counsel of the Plaintiff, is nor now,

nor was he at the commencement of this litigation, a

member in good standing of the bar of any state. On

motion of the Defendants, we! entered an order on

April 9, 1985, disqualifying Wilkes from affording

representation in this case and suspending him from

further practice in the Middle District of Florida.

1. A three judge panel was convened pursuant to Tule 2.04, M.D.

Fila. Rules.

20

On appeal, the Court of Appeals reversed and

remanded with directions that this Court give "intrinsic

consideration" to the underlying records in the state

courts disciplinary proceedings which resulted in Wilkes’

disbarment and suspension from practice, respectively, in

New York and Florida -- the two states in which he

was previously admitted to practice. Greer’s Refuse

Vv wnhing- i ies Ww

(Appeal of Donald E. Wilkes), 782 F.2d 918 (11th Cir.

1986).

I.

The record filed by the Florida Bar discloses that

Donald E. Wilkes was born on March 10, 1922 in Ocala,

and is-now 64 years of age. He attended Auburn

University from 1940 until 1942, and spent three years

in the Army during World War II. He returned to

Auburn after the war and then transferred to Stetson

University where he obtained his B.A. degree. He then

2. See, Selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46, 37 S.Ct. 377, 61 L.Ed. 585

(1917).

21

enrolled in Stetson Law School but transferred to the

University of Florida College of Law where he obtained

his LL.B. degree and was admitted to the Florida Bar in

1949 pursuant to the diploma privilege. He apparently

served an abbreviated clerkship with United States

Circuit Judge Curtis L. Waller of Tallahassee until Judge

Waller’s death in July of 1950, after which he became

associated with the firm of Cravath, Swain & Moore in

New York form 1950 through 1955. In 1956 he became

associated with then Senator Claude Pepper in Miami;

and, in 1957, he returned to New York city and formed

the firm known as Wilkes, Kennedy & Fields. His

trouble with the Bar began in 1959 (See report of

Referee of the Florida Bar dated March 3, 1964).

On March 4, 1959 Mr. Wilkes was notified by letter

from the Committee on Grievances of the Association of

the Bar of the City of New York that proceedings would

be undertaken to determine two charge of professional

misconduct made against him. Those charges were: (1)

that he had improperly addressed a direct communication

to an opposing party who was then be represented by

independent counsel; and (2) that he had

22

misappropriated $600 held by him in escrow.

Extensive hearings were conducted during the period

March - June, 1959. Mr. Wilkes appeared and

represented himself during the hearings. (The

transcripts are a part of the record filed by the Florida

Bar.) The Committee’s findings were adverse and

represented himself during the hearings. (The

transcripts are a part of the record filed by the Florida

Bar.) The Committee’s finding were adverse to Wilkes

and in November, 1959 a disbarment proceeding

commenced before a referee appointed by the Supreme

Court of New York, Appellate Division, First

Department. (The transcript of those proceedings is

also a part of the record.) Although he had received

notice of the disbarment proceedings, Wilkes did not

attend. It appears that he was in the midst of a

marital quarrel and had left his home in New York so

that his whereabouts were unknown. Even so, he was

represented at the hearing by a lawyer employed by his

wife and his law partner.

On June 21, 1960, the Supreme Court of New York,

Appellate Division, First Department entered its Order

23

disbarring Wilkes from the practice of law. In Re

Donald W, Wilkes, 201 N.Y.S.2d 524 (1960). The Court

recited that the charges against Wilkes were

"converting and misappropriating [a] client’s funds,>

communicating directly with a party represented by

counsel in an attempt to negotiate a settlement, and

misadvising and assisting a client to obtain a void

Mexican divorce." Id at 524-525. The Court also

remarked that Wilkes had failed to appear and had

apparently abandoned his law practice.

II.

In 1963, disciplinary proceedings were initiated against

Wilkes by The Florida Bar predicated upon the New

York disbarment. Hearings were conducted before a

= The Court simply misspoke in referring to a "client’s funds.”

The charge, and the evidence adduced to support it, was to the

effect that Wilkes misappropriated funds transmitted to him in

escrow by an opposing lawyer.

24

referee who file a written report commending that

Wilkes be disbarred or, alternatively, that he be

suspended until such time as the New York order of

disbarment should be vacated and set aside. (A copy of

the Referee’s report, dated March 3, 1964, is included in

the record.)

On review by the Supreme Court of Florida, the court

held that the Referee had placed undue, conclusive

weight upon the New York finding of guilt and

assessment of discipline, and the proceeding was

remanded for an independent determination of those

issues. The Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 179 So.2d 193 (Fla.

1965).

On remand, the Bar Referee gave independent

consideration to the record of the New York disciplinary

proceedings, as well as the proceedings he had

previously conducted, and then made a new report and

recommendation. He found that the first two charges

alleged against Wilkes in New York (misappropriating

escrow funds and communicating directly with an

opposing party) were established by the record; but that

the third charge mentioned in the New York Order of

25

Disbarment (misadvising a client as to the validity of a

Mexican divorce) was not supported by record.

Similarly, the Referee found that the fourth charge

(abandoning his law practice) could not be sustained

because the respondent had attended all of the

proceedings before the Grievance Committee in New

York, a fact that was either overlooked by, or was

unknown to, the New York Court. Accordingly, the

Referee on this occasion recommended that, rather than

permanent disbarment, Wilkes should be disbarred for a

limited period of five years beginning from the date in

1963 when the Florida Bar proceedings commenced.

(Referee’s report date May 2, 1966).

On review, the Supreme Court of Florida affirmed the

Referee’s finding the that the New York record

supported a finding of guilt with regard to the

misappropriation and direct communication charges, but

the Court disagreed that disbarment for five years was

an appropriate discipline. Rather, the Court ordered

that Wilkes should merely be suspended from all

practice of law "... until such time as he shall

demonstrate to the Florida Bar and to this Court that

26

he has rehabilitated himself and that he should be

reinstated to practice law in this State." The Florida

Bar v, Wilkes, 199 So.2d 472, 473 (Fla. 1967).

To this day, Wilkes has never applie ’ for

reinstatement as a member in good standing of the

Florida bar. He justifies this failure on the apparent

basis that to apply for reinstatement would constitute a

tacit admission of original guilt, and this he refuses to

do.

Il.

On August 6, 1971 Wilkes filed in the Southern

District of Florida a "Motion to Confirm Credentials to

Practice Before the Courts of the Southern District."

The motion was assigned to Judge Mehrtens and treated

by him as a motion for reinstatement. The Court then

abstained from ruling on the motion until such time as

Wilkes filed a petition for reinstatement in the Florida

Supreme Court. On appeal, the Fifth Circuit reversed

and remanded for further proceedings. Specifically, the

Court of Appeals ordered the District Court to

determine for itself whether Wilkes should be permitted

27

to practice before it, such determination to be made on

the bases of an "intrinsic consideration" of the

proceedings in New York and Florida as dictated by the

U.S. Supreme Court decision in Selling v. Radford, 243

U.S. 46, 37 S.Ct. 377, 61 L.Ed. 585 (1917). See In Re

Wilkes, 494 F.2d 472 (Sth Cir. 1974).

When the matter reached the Southern District on

remand from the Fifth Circuit, Wilkes’ petition was

referred to the Court’s Grievance Committee for a

recommendation. The Grievance Committee ultimately

reported as follows:

Under all the circumstanced surrounding the

charges and all the evidence concerning them,

the permanent disbarment of Wilkes is a more

severe punishment than Wilkes’ misconduct

justified, and that as of this time he has been

disciplined enough.

Recognizing that Mr. Wilkes, in the last

seventeen years, has suffered sever sanction, and

without in any way approving Mr. Wilkes’

conduct, and indeed, conceding that such conduct

was censorable, we believe there now exists no

resent basis for holding Mr. Wilkes disqualified

om continuing to practice law before the

Federal Courts in this State (pp. 101-02).

Acting on that recommendation the Judges of the

Southern District entered an Order on August 2, 1978

granting Wilkes’ "Petition to Confirm Credentials."

28

Parenthetically, we would note to our own view that

the Grievance Committee in the Southern District

exceeded its proper charge and went beyond "intrinsic

consideration" of the New York and Florida disciplinary

proceedings. It did not confine itself to the question

whether those records justified the discipline

administered; and, indeed, the Committee overstated the

severity of the discipline imposed by the Supreme Court

of Florida. Wilkes was not "permanently disbarred” in

Florida; he was merely given an indefinite suspension.4

If he has been punished enough -- and that may be a

correct view of the matter -- he need only apply to the

Supreme Court of Florida for reinstatement.

4. In his belief before this Court Wilkes asserts that his

indefinite suspension was unduly harsh and was more severe

than the discipline administered by the Supreme Court of Florida

in other similar cases. A reading of the Court’s opinion,

however, makes it abundantly clear that in rejecting the

referee’s recommendation of a definite period of disbarment in

favor of an indefinite period of suspension, the Court intended

to mitigate not enhance the discipline, and it chose suspension

in order to allow Wilkes the immediate opportunity to petition

for reinstatement. See The Florida bar v, Wilkes, 199 So.2d 472,

473 (Fla. 1967).

29

IV.

Our present chore in the Middle District of Florida,

pursuant to the mandate in Greer’s Refuse Service, Inc,

v. Browning-Ferris Industries of Delaware (Appeal of

Donald E. Wilkes), 782 F.2d 918 (11th Cir. 1986), is to

give “intrinsic consideration" to the proceedings in New

York and in Florida to determine: (1) Whether Wilkes

- in those State proceedings was afforded due process in

terms of notice and an opportunity to be heard; (2)

Whether there was "such an infirmity of proof" that the

conclusion reached by the State cannot be accepted;

and/or (3) Whether there is some other "grave reason"

why the State Court result should not be accepted. See

also Selling v. Bradford, supra.

Clearly, from our review of the record, none of those

three factors exist in this case.

The first charge against Wilkes (misappropriation of

escrow funds) stems from a letter written to him by an

opposing lawyer on August 20, 1958. By that letter the

opposing lawyer transmitted his client’s check in the

amount of $600 which was tendered in settlement of a

pending case. The letter specifically declared that "the

30

proceeds of this check should be held by you in escrow

pending receipt by me of a general release from your

client to mine, and distnissal of the present action with

prejudice to its renewal." The release was not

delivered, but Wilkes kept the $600 anyway. he seeks

to explain and excuse this conduct on the ground that

the letter varied the terms of an earlier telephone

conversation he had with opposing counsel, and/or on

the basis of a convoluted argument that subsequent

develops in the case justified his retention of those

funds as his fee.

The second charge against Wilkes (direct

communication with an opposing client) stems from a

letter he wrote on October 1, 1958 to the defendant,

who was then represented by counsel, in a personal

injury action in which Wilkes represented the Plaintiff.

In all fairness, These offenses, considering all of the

circumstances surrounding their commission, are just not

very serious. Over twenty years of disbarment and/or

suspension should be enough, assuming that the offender

has otherwise lived an exemplary life. But the fact

remains that he is not a member of any organized Bar;

31

that he was appropriately disbarred and/or suspended by

the Bars of which he was a former member; and that

"intrinsic consideration" of those proceedings confirms

that appropriateness of the disciplinary actions taken at

that time.

It follows that Wilkes should be, and is hereby,

suspended from the practice of law before this Court

until he has gained reinstatement by the Florida Bar (or

until such time as reinstatement has been sought and

unjustly denited).

IT IS SO ORDERED this _23_ day of December,

1986.

5. In Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278, 77 S.Ct. 1274 (1957)

the Court disapproved of reliance by a federal district court

upon a state disbarment proceedings which occurred in 1954

based upon wrongful behavior that had occurred almost twenty

years earlier in 1935 at a time when the subject lawyer was

mentally irresponsible. This case is clearly distinguishable.

There is no staleness or other infirmity in the state court

proceedings resulting in Wilkes suspension, and there is no

“grave reason” why the state court judgment should not be

honored.

32

IT IS SO ORDERED this _ 23__ day of December,

1986.

WM. TERRELL HODGES

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

HOWELL W. MELTON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

SUSAN H. BLACK

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

33

EXHIBIT IV

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

JACKSONVILLE DIVISION

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

VS. CASE NO. 83-825-Civ-J-14

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES,

INC., et al.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM SEEKING TO

SHOW CAUSE WHY WILKES

H D NOT B PENDED

The June 19th Order provided that Wilkes should

“show cause, by written pleading or memorandum, why

this Court should not, by reason of the three factors

.. -- enumerated in Radford! -- "suspend him from

1. Selling v. Radford, 243 US 46, 37 SCT 377, 61 L.Ed. 585

(1917).

;

Pa

:

34

further practice of law before this Court due to his

previous suspension from practice by the Supreme Court

of Florida..."

Radford? instructs Federal Courts not to enforce

State Court disciplinary actions where "1...the state

procedure, from want of notice or opportunity to be

heard, was wanting in due process 2...there was such an

infirmity of proof as to fats found to have established

the want of fair private and professional character as

to give rise to a clear conviction..." that the

"conclusion" should not be accepted "as final" or

3..."some other grave reason existed" which "would

conflict with the duty...not to disbar except upon the

conviction that under the principles of right and

justice..."such action is "constrained."

This Memorandum is tendered in compliance with the

June 19th Order.

2. Ibid.

35

Background of

State Proceeding

The New York charges had to do with events that

took place, in 1958, and the proceeding itself, was

commenced, officially, March 4, 1959.

It was a near-antediluvian period in the evolution of

the constitutional rights which have come to shelter the

practice of law -- rights which lawyers, now, take for

granted.

Prior to Schware,? admission to the practice of law

was deemed a privilege granted by grace of The

ie he a ee ee re

Sovereign and subject to summary revocation on terms

and conditions agreeable to The Sovereign’s will, only.

Schware’s* announcement, May 6, 1957, was the

beginning of a new direction, holding: :

my ees a te ee Pe

a, hware v r iners of New ico, 353 US 232,

77 SCT 752, 1 L.Ed2d 796 (1957).

4. Ibid.

eel

36

That a State cannot exclude a person from the

practice of law...in a manner or for reasons that

contravene the Due Process or Equa! Protection Clause";

That exclusion must be founded on evidence in the

record sufficient to warrant a finding of unfitness;

That such a finding is not tolerable unless it takes

"into account" the "nature of an offense";

That there must be a rational basis for imputation of

bad character;

That allowance must be made for the age of the acts

of misconduct, charged -- and the circumstances of

their commission.

Schware, then, was a watershed in lawyers’ rights but

too recent in vintage and novel in doctrine to influence

the conduct of New York’s Bar authorities in Wilkes’

prosecution.

It was not until 1963, in Willner,» that The Supreme

Court rebuked them for their indifference to procedural

Willner v. Comm. on Character and Fitness, Appellate Division

of The Supreme Court of New York, 373 US96, 83 SCT 1175, 10

L.Ed2d 224 (1963).

37

procedural due process in investigating and judging

professional fitness.©

Wilkes thinks that a fair reader of The New York

record will conclude that what happened to him could

not happen to a lawyer in the consitutional climate of

the 1980's.

New York Record

The New York record consist of the transcript of the

several Grievance Committee Hearings -- running to 426

pages -- and the transcript of an ensuing trial before a

Referee -- running to 100 pages.

It is, Wilkes thinks, important to take note that The

Referee declined to consider The Grievance Committee

transcript notwithstanding that Wilkes’ cause was before

him pursuant to The Committee’s reference. (GCT-87)

DE he eth a te en neat Re

6. Willner’s foe was The Admissions Committee created by The

Appellate Division of The Supreme Court of New York, First i

Judicial Department. The same Court, hereafter, sometimes,

called The First Department, created The Grievance Committee

that heard Wilkes’ case.

ibis callin

38

It is notable, too, th: The First Department’s

disbarment order was entered without benefit of The

Committee transcript.

New York Record

Desionatt

The Committee transcript will be referred to by the

symbols GCT followed by the page number.

The Referee’s transcript will be designated RT

followed by the page number.

New York Charges

Two charges were preferred in The Grievance

Committee’s Notice, dated March 4, 1959.

Charge No. 1 was that Wilkes had communicated with

an adversary party, represented by counsel, in violation

of Canon 9.

Charge No. 2 was that an adversary party had

deposited $600.00, in escrow -- that he had not

performed the duties imposed under the escrow

agreement -- and that he had "failed to return any part

of the $600.00 ...and...(had) converted it to...(his) own

"

use.

39

Charge No. 3, served when he attended a hearing on

the original charges, was the had misadvised a client as

to the validity of a Mexican divorce.

Memorandum

The Florida Supreme Court, ultimately, acquitted

Wilkes on Charge No. 3 and it will be passed over,

here,

His conviction on Charges 1 and 2 will be taken up,

in order, for purposes of Radford -- analysis, viz to

inquire into whether they are unworthy of This Court’s

acceptance because of (1) want of notice incompatible

with procedural due process (2) infirmity of proof of (3)

“other grave reason..."

CHARGE 1

Hearing

Facts

The Grievance Committee transcripts shows:

40

That Wilkes succeeded another Lawyer in representing

a pedestrian knocked-down by a motorist in an

intersection; (GCT-17-19)

That the Attorney, who represented the motorist’s

insurer, Liberty Mutual, refused to disclose the Insured’s

address and, arbitrarily, revoked a settlement offer made

to Wilkes’ predecessor; (GCT-18-20)

That Wilkes’ client claimed -- and medical opinion

confirmed -- that a mid-term miscarriage was caused by

the accident; (GCT-52-57)

That, after considerable exertion Wilkes tracked down

the motorist and brought suit; (GCT-20)

That, subsequently, he wrote asking that she demand

her insurer pay the policy limit -- $10,000.00 -- lest she

be exposed to liability for judgment in an amount in

excess of the limit -- considering the nature of her

victim’s special injuries, i.e. the miscarriage; (GCT-8-9,

victim’s special injuries, i.e. the miscarriage; (GCT-8-9,

52-60

That, simultaneously, Wilkes mailed a copy of the

letter to the motorist’s attorney employed by Liberty

Mutual to represent her; (GCT-25)

41

That the controversy proceeded to trial and a jury

verdict rendered for the motorist; (GCT-5)

That the Insurer’s Attorneys complained against

Wilkes to the Grievance Committee asserting a Canon 9

violation;

That Wilkes’ defense, presented during the Committee

hearings, was that, on the facts, his letter did not

violate the Canon (GCT-7) that he sought to lay the

predicate for an excess liability claim against the

insurer in the event it declined to settle for the policy

limit after demand by the Insured (GCT-9-24) that a

communication, for such purpose, was permissible (GCT-

9-24) that, as to any excess exposure, in insured is not

represented by an insurer’s Lawyers (GCT-9-24) and

that, accordingly, a Plaintiff's Lawyer may communicate

with the insured to recommend that the insured seek

the advise of independent counsel in regard to such

exposure. (GCT-9-24)

Tn r Ww

Referee

The transcript of the trial before the New York

Referee shows:

42

That only Charge 1 witness was Keane, Liberty

Mutual’s lawyer;

That he testified the Wilkes had written the disputed

letter; (RT-30-31)

That he admitted Wilkes had sent him a copy as the

insured’s lawyer; (RT-30)

That he conceded, too, that the letter had not

_ persuaded the insured to pursue a course of action

contrary to the insurer’s interests -- that “within a

week she called up and said she would follow whatever

we did";(RT-29-30)

CHARGE 1 LAW

Wilkes contends that "infirmity of proof" and "other

grave reason" -- within the meaning of Radford --

militate against enforcement of his Charge 1 conviction.

No evidence, at all, was introduced showing the

letter, in dispute, violated Canon 9 except Keane’s

testimony that he had been working for insurers

twenty-five years and had never "seen a letter like

that." (GCT-70)

43

Nor did the prosecutor cite cases or authorities

tending to establish a violation.

Wilkes, contradistinctively, produced, read into the

record and introduced into evidence articles from legal

publications the tenor of which was that his letter was

blameless; (GCT-9-11; 13-17; 22-24)

They demonstrated that some experts, in the field,

were convinced that "The restriction upon the right of

the insured to settle the claim does not apply to a

settlement of...potential excess liability" -- that "To this

extent he has a right to protect himself; (GCT-23)

The articles, moreover, documented that The American

Bar Association had declined to issue a "ruling on the

ethical propriety of communicating directly with the

insured” in such a situation.(GCT-24)

At the time of his 1959 Trial, indeed, there,

apparently, was no New York case in point, even

tangentially, except Re O'Neil’ in which an insurer’s

7. Re O'Neil, 239 NYS 297 (ist Dept., 1930).

44

lawyer was exonerated on a Canon 9 charge that he had

approached and negotiated settlement with claimants

represented by counsel.

The First Department found the settlements had taken

place and were improper but concluded they were the

work of the lawyer’s underlings -- of which he had no

specific knowledge.

But Re O'Neil did not speak to the propriety of a

letter, like Wilkes; advising an insured to enlist

independent counsel for protection against contingent,

excess liability.

Even Keane, Liberty Mutual’ lawyer, testified, before

The Grievance Committee, that an insurer has a duty to

inform as to such a contingency -- and that,

accordingly, "on June 19, 1958 a letter was sent to the

assured notifying her of the excess addendum...and that

the coverage was considerable less,...(and) inviting her

to get her own counsel and associate with me in the

trial of this case." (GCT-67-69)

Wilkes’ spontaneous response was: "May I comment

that is a splendid thing to do and that is what all

insurers should do." (GCT-69)

45

But it must be remembered that, pre-litigation,

Keane’s associate, Holden, had refused to give the

insured’s address to Wilkes, or, in the alternative, "to

communicate to her the fact that...(Wilkes) wanted to

discuss settlement.” (GCT-18-19)

It was not irrational, then, for Wilkes to assume that

the insured would not learn of her rights unless he

informed her.

In brief, at the time he wrote the October 1, 1959

letter, made the subject of Charge 1, there was no New

York case which could be construed as a precedent for

Wilkes’ Charge 1 Canon 9 conviction.8

Oppositely, all the persuasive authorities were to the

effect that such a letter, written to prepare the way

8. In 1976, in LaCava, 385 NYS2d 642, New York’s Fourth

Department rejected an argument somewhat like, but not the

same as, Wilkes made in 1959. The LaCava facts, moreover,

were aggravated. The lawyer, or his agent, secured an affidavit

from an adversary party represented by counsel. The lawyer

contended he had “an implied right to take . . . (the) statement

by virtue of his representation of both parties in varying

matters” -- and that, in any event, “opposing counsel only

represented affiant’s insurance carrier.”

mage’ PPR ee i ty

46

for an excess liability claim against an intransigent

insurer, was not unethical.?

Wilkes’ Charge 1 conviction was arbitrary and a

fortiori infirm in proof.

“Other Grave Reason"

Why Charge 1 Should

Not Be Recognized

Radford’s!9 "other grave reason: component enjoins

Federal Courts to refuse to adhere to State Court

disbarments, or suspensions, where adherence would

“conflict with the duty" not to disbar unless

"constrained" to do so under "the principles of right and

justice."

9. Canon 9 is, now, DR 7-104(A)(1). A significant accompanying

revision allows for communication with an adversary party,

represented by counsel, where "authorized by law ...." The

purpose of the prohibition, past and present, is not clear. The

ABA’s only explanation is that the legal system “functions best

when persons in need of legal advise or assistance are

represented by their own counsel." ABA Annotated Code of

Professional Responsibility, 1979, page 332. If such be the

purpose Wilke’s letter was not an infringement. he sought to

enable the insured to have the benefit of her “own counsel” as

to her excess exposure. She was not, to that extent,

represented, at all.

10. Selling v. Radford, supra, fn 1.

47

Does an ancient, Canon 9 violation, assuming its

validity, warrant striking Wilkes from The Roll of

Attorneys? |

Would the punishment be so disproportionate as to

pose “conflict...(of) duty” as contemplated by Radford?

Wilkes thinks it would -- and, further, that conflict

with Schware’s!! strictures would arise -- strictures

which denounce exclusion from the practice of law

unless the "nature of the offense" is taken into account

-- and is shown to be so malignant as to support a

rational inference of bad character.

Usually a Canon 9 violation -- now DR 7-104(.4)(1) --

is punished by censure, reprimand or short term

suspension. 12

There are four Florida cases that furnish guidance in

appraising "the nature of the offense" and the

appropriate measure of punishment.

11. Schware v. Bd. Bar Examiners, supra, fn 3.

12. Selling v. Radford, supra, fn. 1.

48

In LeFave, }3 where the charge was a violation of DR

7-104(A)(1), without more, a public reprimand was

ordered.

In Shapiro, !4 where a DR 7-104(A)(1) count was

conjoined with five others -- having to do with

commingling of clients’ funds, insanity etc. -- and a

written plea of guilty, as charged, was entered, except

13. Florida Bar v. LeFave, 409 So.2d 1025 (1982).

14. Florida Bar v. Shapiro, 413 So.2d 1184 (1982).

49

as to the insanity count, the sanction imposed was

suspension for three months and a day.15

15.

New York’s First Department enforced Florida’s Shapiro

sanction because he had not contested guilt (455 NYS2d 604).

But, ironically, under the Aegis of The Florida Supreme Court’s

original decision, in Wilkes’ cause, (179 So.2d 193) The new York

Court of Appeals, per curiam, declined enforcement of a Florida

disbarment following upon a sodomy conviction. In Re Kimball,

301 NE 2d 436 (1973) The Court adopted the opinion of the

Dissenters, below, (339 NYS 2d 302) who posited that full-faith

and credit nor comity enjoined New york to "blindly follow’ the

Florida adjudication -- that “differing conditions” of place, time

and social and moral climate" in new York, in 1973, dictated an

appraisal of fitness contrary to Florida’s made in 1957. The

Wilkes pronouncement has had a salutary influence in

repropagating Radford’s principles in derivative disciplinary

proceedings among State Courts. The Missouri Supreme Court,

en hanc, in Weiner, 530 SW2d 222 (1975), expressly, adopted

Wilkes as the benchmark in such a proceeding. Kentucky’s

Highest Court did the same in Signer, 553 SW 2d 534 (1966),

saying that automatic acceptance of another state’s disciplinary

adjudication would oust a domestic state’s jurisdiction to decide

for itself, the fitness, vel non, of a lawyer. Even New York’s

First Department has been converted. When Wilkes was on

trial, in Florida, The Department's agents inveighed that his

disbarment, there, should be enforced, automatically, in Florida -

- that otherwise, the public weal would be subverted. The

Department, in an about face, has codified Radford (455 NYS2d

p. 605). In a nub, Wilkes has not been a refuge for soundrels.

It has has a leavening and healing power. Rubber stamp

judgments, now, are disfavored. State Courts, like Federal

Courts, are enabled to do rational justice in derivative

proceedings.

50

In Kirtz,1® two proceedings, prosecuted

simultaneously, laid a DR 7-104(A)(1) charge and five

more -- among them exaction of an excessive fee,

neglecting a client’s affairs, fraud and deceit, etc.

Guilt was confessed.

Suspension, for four months, was ordered in both

proceedings, to run concurrently.

In Suprina, !7 the Complaint was in six counts - i.e.

violation of DR 7-104(A)(1), mishandling of trust funds,

improper record keeping, etc.

The Referee convicted on all counts.

Suprina was ordered to "appear before the Board of

Governors of The Florida Bar to receive a public

reprimand."

16. Florida Bar v. Kirtz, 445 So.2d 576 (1984).

17. Florida Bar v. Suprina. 468 So.2d 988 (1985).

51

The quartet of cases, canvassed above, contains the

whole corpus of Florida law on Canon 9, or DR 7-

104(A)(1), violations.

Plainly, the judicial attitude they express is tolerant,

if not quite permissive.

The establish that Wilkes’ indefinite suspension, by

The Florida Supreme Court, for such violation, was

unprecedented - and so discriminatory as to excite

suspicion about intrusion of unspoken, extra-judicial

considerations.

52

In Theard,18 Mr. Justice Frankfurter, was appalled

that a District Court had enforced, automatically, a

State Court disbarment for a time-encrusted wrong.

In his words, "We do not think that ’the principles of

right and justice’ require a federal court to enforce

disbarment of a man eighteen years after he had uttered

a forgery when concededly he was ’suffering under an

exceedingly abnormal condition some degree of insanity’.

Neither considerations relating to ’the law of the

case;...nor the temptation to get bogged down in the

quagmire of controversy about the McNaghten rule,

require automatic acceptance by a federal court of the

state disbarment in the circumstances of this case. The

18. Theard v, US., 354 US 278, 77SCT 1274, 1 L.Ed2d 134 (1957).

53

District Court apparently felt itself so bound. This we

deem error."

Wilkes’ asserted Canon 9 entanglement is twenty-eight

years old.

If proven, originally, which Wilkes denies, it would

have constituted a minor offense, at best - warranting

reprimand, at worst.

Staleness has extinguished it, entirely.

This Court should treat it as undeserving of notice.

Summary Review of

Wilkes’ Charge 1 ition

No action should be taken against Wilkes on Charge 1.

Intrinsic consideration of the New York record shows

that his conviction, on that charge, was not supported

by competent evidence in the record - and, therefore,

"infirmity of proof" - within Radford’s meaning -

prohibits its enforcement by This Court.

54

Further, purging Wilkes, for so minor an offense,

committed so long ago, would affront "the principles of

right and justice."19

CHARGE 2

Facts

The Committee transcript shows:

March 4, 1959 Wilkes was summoned to appear to

answer a Charge that his failure to return $600.00, to

an odumare party, breached an escrow agreement and

amounted to a conversion of the funds.

The Notice, word for word, read:

CHARGE NO. 2

Facts

5. On August 15, 1958, you caused a summons in a

paternity proceeding under the New York City Criminal

19. Theard v. U.S., supra, fn 18; Selling v. Radford, supra,

fn 1 Schware v. Bd. of Bar Examiners, supra, fn. 3.

55

Court Act to be served upon Samuel Post on behalf of

your client, Mrs. Barbara Patterson.

6. On August 20, 1958, William B. Dunne, Esq. an

attorney representing Mr. Post, had a telephone

conversation with you and sent you a letter and a

check for $600.00. The letter reads in part, as follows:

"I now enclose my client’s check payable to

you in the amount of $600.00. The proceeds

of this check should be held by you in

escrow pending receipt by me of a general

release from your client to mine, and

dismissal of the present action with prejudice

to its renewal."

7. Following the receipt of Mr. Dunne’s letter and

the check for $600 you sent Mr. Dunne a letter dated

August 26, 1958, which read as follows:

"The $500.00 advance by Mr. Post will be

applied to the preservation of the moral and

material welfare of Mrs. Patterson and the

unborn child."

8. Following the receipt of your letter of August 26,

1958, Mr. Dunne in a telephone conversation with your

56

demanded the return of the $600 and in a letter sent to

you on September 3, 1958, repeated the demand.

9. You have to date failed to return any part of the

$600.00 received by you to be held in escrow and have

converted it to your own use.

Charge 2 was not amended at any stage of the

ensuing Committee hearings.

The evidence taken was concerned, solely, with

whether Wilkes was obligated to return the deposited

funds to the adversary party who had complained to The

committee - and whose complaint underlay the Charge.

(GCT-129) ;

Wilkes’ client did not complain against him - did not

appear and testify at the hearings, though she furnished

an affidavit, made part of the record, saying all the

adversary’s accusations,29 made to The Committee, were

20. The adversary party wrote a series of letters to The

Committee accusing Wilkes of anti-semitism, blackmail, seduction

and the like. (GCT-184-191, 254-256).

57

unfounded and that "Lastly, in regard to Mr. Wilkes’

fusal to return th »y, Mr. Wilkes’ letter of

: ber 15t} oy ie he f

correctly." (Resp’s Ex L-1) |

When Wilkes sought to persuade The Committee to

assist in securing his client’s appearance, to give

testimony which might be important "in an attempt to

elicit all the facts...", he was told to look to his own

devices - that no assistance would be given - that her

appearance, or not, was his responsibility, no The

Committee’s (GCT-197-199)

Indeed, The Vice-Chairman admonished him, at the

outset of the Charge 2 phase of the hearings, that "We

spite of that you did not." (GCT-132)

The Vice-Chairman intervened, again, at a later time

to remind Wilkes not to inquire into the collateral

charges, further, because "All we are concerned with

ist ton of the fail

charge. (GCT-254-255)

As the hearings neared conclusion, Wilkes resumed his

efforts to obtain his client’s attendance, as a witness,

and the Vice Chairman fumed: "Lthink you have had

] ingi iss

it] we will hav

ital in he case, as r

of fact." (GCT-352-353)

The last day, Wilkes departed the hearing room.

A brief "off the record" discussion took place and The

Vice Chairman announced: "The members of the

committee present and voting, vote unanimously to

59

recommend to the Executive Committee prosecution of

the respondent...on all three charges." (GCT-425-426)

Referee’s Heari

The Charge 2 referred to The Referee, as far as the

New York record shows, was unchanged, i.e. that Wilkes

had not returned $600.00 to an adversary party,

contrary to an escrow agreement.

There, the only witnesses were the adversary party,

Post, his attorney, Dunne, and The Grievance

Committee’s Attorney, Reynolds.

Dunne’s testimony, capsulized, was that he had

delivered $600, subject to escrow - that the terms were

not kept - and that the money had not been returned,

on demand. (RT-39-57)

Post testified that he had not recovered his money

but he was suing Wilkes for it.21 (RT-58-59)

21. Post sued Wilkes, alleging conversion, on the advice of The

Attorney For The Grievance Committee, Reynolds, to whom Post

wrote, May 15, 1959, declaring: “Just a line to let you know I

have now taken your advice and instituted private action against

... Wilkes for recovery of my money ... If 1 could repay you

for your efforts, it would make me happy.” (GCT-387-388, Resp

Ex Q)

60

Reynolds testified, perfunctorily, to identify certain

Exhibits. (RT-89-95)

The Referee was satisfied that he had inquired into

Charge 2, sufficiently, when he verified that "Wilkes did

not give Dunne back the six hundred dollars...After

demand made upon him." (RT-96)

He excluded The Grievance Committee transcript from

evidence, grumbling "I don’t want to read this entire

record." (RT-87)

There was no intimation, at any time, from The

Referee, The Prosecutor or The Witnesses, that the

disputed funds belonged to Wilkes’ client - and that his

non-return of them wronged her.

The first Department’s disbarment order22 recited that

Wilkes "is charges with converting and misappropriating

of client’s finds...(and) The evidence adduced amply

established that...(he) violated the terms of an escrow

22. Matter of Wilkes, 201 NYS2d 524 (1960).

61

agreement by misappropriating funds which rightfully

belonged to his client."23

Of course, nowhere, in the New York record, was a

charge made that Wilkes converted and misappropriated

a client’s funds - nor was any evidence introduced to

support such a charge, had it been made.

The First Department’s confusion was enormous - and

inexplicable.

CHARGE 2 LAW

On the facts of Wilkes’ case, all Radford’s

prohibitions - against derivative enforcement of

disciplinary actions - operate to save him against

removal from This Court’s Bar on the basis of his state

court, Charge 2 conviction.

Intrinsic consideration of the underlying record

establishes (1) that he had no notice he was to be tried

for taking a client’s funds (2) that there is no evidence,

23. _— Ibid.

62

at all, that he committed such an offense and (3) that

the state court proceedings were defective for "other

grave reasons."

Want of Notice

It is indisputable that Wilkes was charged with a

wrong done an adversary party, not his client - that he

sought to procure his client’s attendance but was

rebuked by The Vice Chairman who added "I don’t think

ri Se, as I

fact." (GCT-353) - that, at no time, did he have any

warning that he stood in danger of a conviction for

"converting and misappropriating" her funds - that The

Vice Chairman, repeatedly, assured him the sole concern

of The Committee (GCT-254-255) - the "simple issue"

presented (GCT-132) - the "only charge" made (GCT

254-255) was whether he was obligated to restore an

adversary party’s funds pursuant to an escrow

agreement.

Of course, if he had had any inkling that he was to

be convicted of harming his client, in any way, he

63

would have demanded that she be called by the

prosecution to testify and be cross-examined.

There is no room for rational debate.

Wilkes was denied procedural due process for want of

notice.24

The controlling law is brightlined.

Ruffalo,2> expanded and applied Radford, to hold:

That due process requires that a lawyer, prosecuted

for alleged misconduct, must be informed of the specific

nature of the charge before the proceeding begins:

That, accordingly, a State Court, disciplinary sanction

is disqualified for Federal Court acceptance upon a

showing that the accused lawyer was convicted on a

charge not timely made - or not made, at all.

Ruffalo, simply, imported into quasi-criminal

disciplinary proceedings a categorical imperative of

fairness which The Court restated, without a Dissent, in

24. — Selling v. Radford, supra, fn 1.

25. In Re Ruffalo, 390 US 544, 88 SCT 1222, 20 L.Ed2d-117 (1968).

64

Dunn29, viz that to uphold a conviction on a

charge...neither alleged...nor presented to a jury at trial

offends the most basic of notions of due process" - that

"Few constitutional principles are more firmly

established than a defendant’s right to be heard on the

specific charges of which he is accused."

Unarguably, Wilkes was convicted on an unmade,

untried charge.

Ruffalo precludes This Court’s enforcement of his

proscription in New York and Florida.

Infirmity of Proof

The evidence, in the state court record, does not

support Wilkes’ conviction for converting a client’s

funds.

Infirmity of proof, in the The Radford sense,

therefore, forecloses Federal Court enforcement of his

State Court proscription.

26. Dunnv.US., 442 US 100, 99 SCT 2190, 60 L.Ed2d 743 (1979).

65

Moreover, the infirmity, in Wilkes; case, is of

constitutional magnitude in that he was tried and

convicted in quasi-criminal prosecution where the record

contains no evidence, at all, of quilt.27

Other Grave Reason

There are many "other grave reasons" why his Florida

Bar expulsion should not be given credence.

Three of them are: (1) disparate punishment (2)

prosecutorial misconduct and (3) avoidance of conflict

with The Eleventh Circuit.

Wilkes’ indefinite suspension for the offenses involved

- assuming, arguendo, their commission - was disparate,

to the point of irrationality.

The Florida Supreme Court had never before - and

has never since - imposed such a sanction for such

misconduct.

27. Thompson v, City of Louisville, 362 US 199, 80 SCT 624, 4

L.Ed2d 654 (1960).

66

The disparity can be best illustrated by contrasting

the treatment given Wilkes - and the treatment given

some of his Law School peers.28

In Hathaway,29 a Complaint charged that, during the

period 1956-1958, a lawyer misappropriated $2,767.25

belonging to a corporate client - misappropriated

$23,400.00 in funds belonging to an estate - refused to

furnish an accounting for funds - cashed $16,000,00 in

bonds belonging to a client and misappropriated

$9,000.00 of the proceeds, etc.

He was convicted on all charges.

He was suspended for two years.

In Jacobson,29 a lawyer who prosecuted The Florida

Bar’s case against Wilkes - though they attended

28. Wilkes attended Stetson two years but graduated at Florida.

he adverts, here, to his Stetson peers.

29. Florida Bar v. Hathaway, 145 So.2d 483 (1962).

30. Florida Bar v, Jacobson, 261 So.2d 815 (1972).

67

Stetson, together - was charged with (1) mishandling

client’s affairs (2) converting $500.00 in escrow funds

(3) altering a mortgage to secure a loan in an amount

greater than the value of the property mortgaged and

(4) charging an excessive fee.

He was suspended for two months.

In Ragano,?! a lawyer - known to Wilkes at Stetson-

applied for reinstatement after suspensions for a

criminal conviction.

Simultaneously, he was the respondent in a

disciplinary proceeding charging, inter alia, that he had

refused to return $30,000.00 in funds held in trust for a

client - had commingled funds - had maintained

improper Bank accounts - and kept faulty records -

sought to exact an unauthorized excess fee, etc.

For the fresh misconduct he was suspended for three

months followed by two years probation.

31. Florida bar v. Ragano, 402 So.2d 401 (1981).

68

His reinstatement Petition - seeking to cure the

consequence of his old misconduct - was granted - but

deferred three months to allow for expiration of his

concurrently ordered second suspension.

Wilkes is pleased that The Florida Supreme Court,

habitually, is lenient in meeting our discipline - and

that the justice dispensed to Hathaway, Jacobson and

Ragano was in keeping with that dispensed to all

Florida lawyers unless their offenses be atrocious.

He simply, submits he was not treated even handedly

- which, perhaps, was attributable to unarticulated

factors.

Enforcement of a sanction so drastic and

disproportionate would not be obedient to Radford’s

Commandment that disbarment be avoided unless

“constrained” by "principles of right and justice."

P ial Mi

The New York record shows:

That the charges filed and prosecuted against Wilkes

before The New York Grievance Committee - were filed

and prosecuted by a lawyer, named Reynolds, who

69

entertained angry feelings towards Wilkes because of a

confrontation between them, earlier; (GCT-376-391)

That Reynolds’ behavior evidenced a greater zeal for

doing in Wilkes than doing justice; (GCT-376-391)

That the charges against Wilkes were so trifling and

unfounded that it is apparent they would not have been

made the subject of a disciplinary proceeding but for

Reynolds’ enmity;

That, further, the adversary party whose complaint

resulted in Charge 2 against Wilkes wrote a series of

letters to The Grievance Committee accusing Wilkes of a

catalogue of villainies including anti-semitism. (GCT-184-

191, 254-256, 388-389)

The Florida record shows:

That Wilkes was twice put to trial before a

Referee who considered his intellectual and religious

unorthodoxy so abominable as to be "incompatible with

the reputable practice of the law."

70

The District Court, in Ruffalo.>2 deemed prosecutorial

misconduct to constitute "other grave reason” for

disapproval of a state court excommunication.

Can it be said, upon "intrinsic consideration:, that the

New York and Florida records verify Wilkes was tried

and condemned, impartially?

Federal Court

Unity

In Ruffalo»>3 the District Court refused to recognize

a state court disbarment.

The Sixth Circuit,34 contrariwise, enforced it.

The District court vacated its original Order and

entered another consistent with The Sixth Circuit’s for

the sake of seemliness.2>

32. In Re Ruffalo, 249 F.Supp 432 (N.C., Ohio, 1965).

33. Ibid.

34. JInRe Ruffalo, 370 Fed 2d 447 (6th Cir., 1966).

35. In Re Ruffalo, supra, fn 25, see footnote one. The Supreme

Court, of course, reversed The Sixth Circuit.

71

In Gordon,*© a District Court, similarly, deferred to

The Tenth Circuit.

Wilkes is in good standing before The Eleventh

Circuit.

This Court might consider that Court’s imprimatur

sufficient to vouch for Wilkes.

CONCLUSION

Wilkes’ Charge 1 conviction was infirm of proof and

disproportionate in punishment.

His Charge 2 conviction was on a charge, neither

noticed nor tried - was infirm of proof - and was

punished, excessively.

Even assuming, for the sake of argument, that both

charges were, properly, made and supported by the

evidence - which Wilkes denies - the "nature of the

offenses" was so minor - and they were committed so

36. Matter of Gordon, 640 Fed 2d 1143 (10th Cir, 1981).

72

long ago - that This Court’s striking of wilkes from The

Roll would conflict with the duty not to disbar except

where “contrained by” the “principles of right and

justice."

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM H. MANESS, ESQUIRE

502 Florida Theatre Building

Jacksonville, Florida 32202

(904) 353-5786

Attorney for Petitioner

73

EXHIBIT V

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

JACKSONVILLE DIVISION

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

-VS- CASE NO. 83-825 Civ-J-14

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES,

INC., and BROWNING-FERRIS

INDUSTRIES OF FLORIDA, INC.,

Defendants.

ORDER

By Order entered April 8, 1986, the Florida Bar was

requested to file in camera with the Clerk of this Court

the complete record in its disciplinary proceedings

against Donald E. Wilkes so that the Court might give

“intrinsic consideration" of that record as required by

the opinion and mandate of the Court of Appeals. See

Ciensith Rialieatiiaitines: Doe Tameaibiacines

74

Industries of Delaware (Appeal of Donald E. Wilkes), 782

F.2d 918 (11th Cir. 1986).

The record has now been filed; and, in the meantime,

counsel for Mr. Wilkes has filed a motion for an "Order

Reinstating Wilkes and Establishing Procedure For a de

novo Hearing.”

We read the opinion of the court of Appeals, supra,

to apply Rule 2.04(b), M.D. Fla. Rules, as effecting a

stay of Wilke’s suspension as a member of the bar of

this Court pending "intrinsic consideration" of the

Florida Bar record. Accordingly, to the extent that his

pending motion seeks temporary restoration of his right

to practice in this Court"...to resume prosecution of the

above cause, "itis GRANTED. Mr. Wilkes may resume,

with Plaintiff's consent and pending further Order of

the Court, his prosecution of this case as Plaintiff's

counsel of record.

However, to the extent that the pending motion seeks

a de novo hearing during which evidence would be

taken anew with respect to the causes of Wilkes’

suspension by the Supreme Court of Florida, or with

respect to rehabilitative or exculpatory «:atters, it is

75

DENIED. The "intrinsic consideration" which this Court

is required to give the record in the state court

proceedings is just that -- intrinsic. Under the seminal

authority of Selling v. Bradford, 243 U.S. 46, 37

S.Ct.377, 61 L.Ed. 585 (1917), such intrinsic

consideration has been defined as an examination of the

State record to determine (1) whether the respondent in

the state proceeding was afforded due process in terms

of notice and an opportunity to be heard; (2) whether

there was "such an infirmity of proof" that the

conclusion reached by the state cannot be accepted;

and/or (3) whether there is some other "grave reason"

why the state court result should not be accepted.

There is no requirement and no present justification for

conducting any hearing for the purpose of going beyond

the state court record which is now before us.

Accordingly, Wilkes may have twenty (20) days within

which to show cause, by written pleading or

memorandum, why this Court should not, by reason of

one or all of the three factors mentioned in the

preceding paragraph, suspend him from further practice

of law before this Court due to his previous suspension

76

from practice by the Supreme Court of Florida through

its order and opinion in The Florida Bar v, Wilkes, 199

So.2d 472 (Fla. 1967). The Court will then decide the

issues presented with or without such additional

proceedings or hearings as the Court shall then deem

necessary.

The Clerk is directed to permit Mr. Wilkes and his

counsel of record full access to the state court record

filed in camera.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DONE and ORDERED at Jacksonville, Florida, this 19

day of June 1986.

WM. TERRELL HODGES

CHIEF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

HOWELL W. MELTON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

SUSAN H. BLACK

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

77

EXHIBIT VI

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT COURT

JACKSONVILLE DIVISION

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC.

Plaintiff,

-VS- CASE NO. 83-825 Civ-J-14

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES OF

DELAWARE and BROWNING FERRIS

INDUSTRIES OF FLORIDA

Defendants.

ORDER

The Defendants, through their counsel of record, have

filed a motion seeking the entry of an order

disqualifying Mr. Donald E. Wilkes, one of the attorneys

of record for the Plaintiff, and suspending him from nay

further practice of law before this Court. The motion

was made pursuant to Rule 2.04(b), M.D. Fla. Rules, and

78

although it was not precisely the type of motion

contemplated by the Rule, the Court determined that

the issue presented should be considered by a three

judge panel. Accordingly, such a panel was convened.

I.

On June 21, 1960, the State of New York disbarred

Mr. Wilkes from the practice of law in that state on

the grounds that he misappropriated client’s funds,

communicated directly with a party represented by

counsel to negotiate a settlement, and mis-advised a

client in obtaining a void decree. In Re Wilkes, 11 App.

Div.35, 201 N.W.S.2d 524 (1960). In 1963, the Florida

Bar commenced proceedings to disbar Wilkes in Florida;

and on April 19, 1967, the Florida Supreme Court

suspended Wilkes from the practice of law but declined

to do so for the period of time requested by the Bar.

The Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 199 So.2d 472 (Fla. 1967),

cert. denied, 390 U.S. 983, 88 S.Ct. 1104 (1968). Rather,

the suspension was to continue until such time as

Wilkes could demonstrate to the Florida Bar and to the

Court that he had rehabilitated himself. Id. The Court

79

premised its suspension on the first two grounds cited

by the New York court. Id., 199 So.2d at 473.

Subsequently, on June 28, 1967, the Florida Supreme

Court denied Wilkes’ motion for reinstatement to active

status. The Florida Bar v. Wilkes, 200 So.2d 177 (Fla.

1967). Wilkes has remained suspended from practice in

Florida to date; indeed, he has not again petitioned the

Florida Supreme Court for reinstatement and he is not

presently a member in good standing of the organized

bar of any state.

In 1971, Wilkes petitioned the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Florida to confirm

his credentials to practice before that Court. The

Court considered the petition as one for reinstatement

and dismissed it, apparently assuming that the state

suspension had operated to automatically suspend Wilkes

from practice before the District Court. Therefote, the

Court stated, it "was appropriate to abstain until Wilkes

filed a petition for reinstatement with the Florida

Supreme Court." In Re Wilkes, 494 F.2d 472, 475 (Sth

Cir. 1974). On appeal, the Fifth Circuit noted that the

Local Rules of the Southern District in force at the

80

time of the Florida Supreme Court action did not

provide for such automatic suspension, and consequently

reversed on the ground that the District Court erred

when it assumed that federal bar suspension flowed

automatically from state suspension. Id. at 476. The

Court of Appeals instructed the District Court to treat

the motion as one for confirmation of credentials, and

it directed the District Court to make its own

determination whether Wilkes should be suspended from

practice before the Southern District after giving

"intrinsic consideration" to the New York and Florida

decisions. Id.

On remand, the District Court adopted the findings of

the Grievance Committee which it appointed to examine

Wilkes’ qualifications to practice and granted the

petition to confirm credentials. In Re Wilkes, Case No.

71-1214 Civ-WM (Order of August 10, 1978). No appeal

of that decision was prosecuted.

Il.

Since the August 10, 1978 Order of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Florida,

81

Wilkes has apparently believed himself able to practice

law in all Federal District Courts in this state. ! Being

of a contrary view, the Defendants filed the motion

currently before the panel. The precise issue

confronting the panel, then, is whether Mr. Wilkes shall

be allowed to continue to practice in the Middle

District of Florida.

It cannot be gainsaid that federal courts are

empowered to determine the fitness of attorneys to

practice before them. E.g. Theard v. United States. 354

U.S. 278, 77 S.Ct. 1274 (1957). Indeed, Title 28, United

States Code, Section 1654 expressly authorizes the

federal courts to make rules governing the admission of

counsel to practice. The general practice utilized by

1. Indeed, it appears the Clerk of this Court erroneously issued

Wilkes a Certificate of Good Standing in 1974 although he had

been suspended from further practice in this District in 1967.

Additionally, on July 19, 1984, the Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals admitted Wilkes to practice before that Court.

82

the District Courts, however, is that a lawyer gains

admission to a federal court by way of admission to

state court, most often by order of the highest state

court. See Theard, 77 S.Ct. at 1276, n. 1. Such is the

case in this District under both Local Rule 2.01, which

is now the force, and former Local Rule 3(b), which was

in effect at the time of Wilkes’ state suspension.

The rationale for such derivative admission practices

is easily grasped. There is simply no federal mechanism

in the District Court for determining an appicant’s

fitness to practice law before it; consequently, District

Courts typically relay on prior admission to the bar of

the state as evidence of some acceptable level of

professional competence and integrity. In the Matter of

Roberts, 682 F.2d 105, 108 (3d Cir. 1982). Quite apart

from the administration of bar exams (which might

conceivably be duplicated in this court), The Florida Bar

conducts extensive background investigations of

applicants for admission; and, following admission,

finances and maintains an extensive program relating to

client security and professional discipline. Moreover,

derivative admission protects the public interests

83

because admission to both bars allows an attorney to

carefully consider with personal detachment the proper

forum when analyzing a client’s case rather than of

necessity pursuing the claim only in the federal court.

Id.

Wilkes makes much of the fact that this court, like

all federal courts, retains independent control over

admission, discipline and disbarment of attorneys who

seek to practice before it. See In Re Ruffalo, 390 U.S.

544, 88 S.Ct. 1222, 1224 (1968). However, once the

policies animating derivative admission are understood,

it is clear that the primary purpose of the Local Rules

governing admission, discipline and disbarment is to

permit the court to demand and enforce higher, not

lower, standards of professional competence than might

otherwise be tolerated.

The stark, ultimate fact is that Mr. Wilkes seeks to

continue practicing in the Middle District without

meeting the requirement of a resident attorney that he

be a member in good standing of the Florida Bar. Local

Rule 2.01, M.D. Fla. Rules. In fact, as previously noted,

Wilkes has not petitioned the Florida Supreme Court for

84

reinstatement and is not presently a member in good

standing of any state bar. Nor does he here challenge

the 1967 findings of the Florida Supreme Court.2 By

necessary implication, then, the premise of Wilkes’

position is that the Court should either waive altogether

any minimum standard of competence, such as that

insured by the Florida Bar admission and disciplinary

process, or determine for itself his fitness to practice

before it without regard to his current suspension in

this state.>

These alternatives are neither consistent with the

Local Rules nor mandated by existing precedent. To the

contrary, State disbarments and suspensions are entitled

to great respect in the federal courts, In Re Ruffalo,

390 U.S. 544, 88 S.Ct. 1222 (1968), and should be relied

2. Despite the Court’s Order that he do so, Wilkes has not

supplied the Court with the record of the New York or the

Florida disbarment proceedings.

3. This seems so whether the Court views Wilkes’ response to

the motion to disqualify as a petition for confirmation of

credentials or as a petition for reinstatement. Compare In Re

Wilkes, 494 F.2d 472 (Sth Cir. 1974).

85

upon if the state action meets three requirements: (1)

the state must have given the atiorney notice of the

charges and an opportunity to be heard; (2) the

evidence must support the findings made; and, (3) there

must be no other "grave reason" for ignoring the

actions taken. Selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46, 37 S.Ct.

377 (1917); In Re Dawson, 609 F.2d 1139 (Sth Cir. 1980);

Wrighten v. United States 550 F.2d 990 (4th Cir. 1977).

Here, Mr. Wilkes has not contested the procedural

validity of the state proceedings nor has he

controverted the accounts of the facts relied upon by

the state courts in reaching their disbarment decisions.

Significantly, the opinion of the Southern District which

confirmed Wilkes’ credentials and upon which Wilkes

relies so heavily here, does not question the procedural

or substantive correctness of the Florida Supreme

Court’s decision. Additionally, as noted earlier, Wilkes

has not supplied this Court with the record of either

the New York or the Florida proceedings; but the

Court’s own examination of the opinions of the Florida

Supreme Court reveals that the requirements of Selling

yv. Radford have been met.

86

The record before the panel is completely devoid of

any meritorious reason for allowing Mr. Wilkes to

continue practicing law before this Court. To permit

him to do so would engage this Court in admission and

discipline practices contrary to those contemplated in

the Local Rules as dictated by practicality and comity,

and would take this Court down a path it does not wish

to follow.

The motion to disqualify Mr. Donald E. Wilkes from

further representation in this case is GRANTED.

Similary, the motion to suspend Mr. Donald E. Wilkes

from the further practice of law in the Middle District

of Florida is GRANTED and the Clerk is directed to

strike his name from the list of attorneys currently

authorized to practice in this District.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

87

DONE and ORDERED this 9 day of April, 1985.

WM. TERREL HODGES

CHIEF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

HOWELL W. MELTON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

SUSAN H. BLACK

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

88

EXHIBIT VII

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MiDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

JACKSONVILLE DIVISION

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

-VS- CASE NO. 83-825 Civ.-J-14

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES,

INC., and BROWNING FERRIS

:NDUSTRIES OF FLORIDA, INC.

Defendants.

ORDER

The Defendants, through their counsel of record, have

filed a motion seeking the entry of an order

disqualifying Mr. Donald E. Wilkes, one of the attorneys

of record for the Plaintiff, and suspending him from any

further practice of law before this Court. The motion

was made pursuant to Rule 2.04(b), M. D. Fla. Rules.

89

Accordingly, the Honorable Susan H. Black, as the

presiding judge in this case, brought the motion to my

attention as Chief Judge because of the provision of the

Rule that matters arising under it ".. . shall be heard

and determined by the Chief Judge of the Court sitting

with any two or more of the other judges of the

District as the Chief Judge shall designate." Although

the present motion does not fit nicely within the

description of those to be heard by a panel of three

judges under the Rule, it is otherwise appropriate and

entirely in keeping with the spirit of the rule that it be

heard and determined in that way.

Accordingly, the pending motion for disqualification

will be considered and determined by a three judge

panel of this Court consisting of the Honorable Howell

W. Meiton, the Honorable Susan H. Black, and myself as

Chief Judge. A hearing on the motion will be scheduled

by separate notice.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

90

DONE and ORDERED at Tampa, Florida, this 12 day

of January, 1984.

CHIEF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

EXHIBIT VIII

UNITED STATE DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

JACKSONVILLE DIVISION

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

-VS- CASE NO. 83-825 CIV-J-14

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES,

INC., and BROWNING-FERRIS

INDUSTRIES OF FLORIDA, Inc.

Defendants.

/

MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO BFI’s

MOTION TO SUSPEND AND DISOQUALIFY

91

Preface

The Motion To Suspend and Disqualify Wilkes

signifies that B.F.I.’s Attorneys "play hardball."

Wilkes is disadvantaged.

He has neither the talent, temperament nor inclination

to be a "hardballer".

He things, in truth, that “hardballing”, certainly,

menaces civility in the Courtroom - and may tend to

render the practice of law a kind of blood sport.

The Motion’s A it

The Motion, in words or effect argues:

That This Court should require Wilkes to demonstrate

why his good standing in The Middle District should not

be revoked in contemplation of the disciplinary action

taken against him in New York, and derivatively, in

Florida;

That the Fifth Circuit’s pronouncements in Wilkes’

case has no relevance to his Middle District status; |

1. 494 Fed 2d 472 (Sth Cir 1974).

92

Wilkes’ ion

That, further, neither comity, collateral estoppel,

nor any other adequate legal resason enjoins This Court

to defer to The Southern District’s prior ajudication of

Wilkes’ right "to practice law before The Frderal Courts

in this State."2

Wilkes contends:

That The Fifth Circuit’s decision was founded on more

than a technicality;>

That Judge Wisdom’s Opinion took pains to chronicle

Wilkes’ troubles with The New York and Florida Bars--

most especially the grotesqueries which may have

tainted the proceedings in both States, that is; the

charge, in New York, that he was an anti-Semite and

the charges, in Florida, that he was irreligious and a

"believer in Existentialism, a philosophy of radical

individualism incompatible with the reputable practice of

the law;"

2. See the decision of the Southern District, en banc, annexed,

marked Exhibit A.

3. Supra, fn 1.

93

That, indeed, The Court’s reversal and remand,

accompanied by an order that he be restored to The

Southern District Bar, pendente lite, was tantamount to

provisional vindication of Wilkes’ claims on the merits.

That, The Southern District’s trial de novo of Wilkes’

cause spoke to his qualifications to continue to

"practice law before the Federal Courts in this State"--

not the Southern District, alone:4

That, in all events, This Court, as a matter of comity,

should honor the Southern District’s adjudication and

decline to compel Wilkes to relitigate his qualifications

in The Middle District.

Southern District’s Adjudication

Wilkes was admitted to The Southern District, in

1950--and grandfathered into The Middle District.

He filed his Petition To Confirm his Federal Bar

Credentials in The Southern District on the

understanding that the determination made, there, would

be dispositive in The Middle District as well.

4. Supra, fn 2.

94

His Petition was dismissed but The Fifth Circuit

reversed and ordered that he "be entitled to practice

... pendente lite."

On remand, The Southern District appointed a

Grievance Committee to conduct an inquisition into

Wilke’s "qualifications to practice in the Southern

District of Florida."

December 30, 1977, The Committee concluded, after a

trial de novo, that "we believe there now exists no

present basis for holding Mr. Wilkes disqualified from

continuing to practice law before the Federal Courts in

this State."

August 2, 1978, The Southern District, sitting en

banc, entered an Order declaring that "this Court

concurs in the Committee’s conclusion and GRANTS

Wilkes’ Petition to confirm credentials."°

Supra, fn 1.

Supra, fn 2.

Supra, fn 2.

Supra, fn 2.

OIA

95

Bar Reinstatement

Wilkes has never applied for reinstatement to The

Florida Bar.

B.F.I.’s citation to such effect is misleading.?

At the outset of its serivative prosecution, in 1963,

The Florida Bar refused to accept Wilkes’ annual dues--

the effective result of which was to suspend him,

peremptorily--notwithstanding that The Integration Rule

made no provision, therefore.

Wilkes petitioned The Supreme Court to compel

acceptance of his dues, pendente lite.

The Court, obliquely, avoided confronting the issue by

inaction for four years, until 1977, when final

determination, on the merits, of the proceedings against

Wilkes mooted the Petition.

9. The Florida bar v, Wilkes, 200 So.2d 177 (FL, 1967).

96

Then The Court dismissed the Petition and admonished

Wilkes to apply for reinstatement in the usual way.

He refused.

Conclusion

The Southern District has adjudicated Wilke’s Federal

Bar Credentials and comity precludes their relitigation

in The Middle District.

The Motion to Suspend and Disqualify should be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Donald E. Wilkes

Attorney at Law

P. O. Box 2753

Gainesville, Florida 32602

904/374-8458

97

EXHIBIT IX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

___ JACKSONVILLE DIVISION _

GREER’S REFUSE SERVICE, INC.,

A FLORIDA CORPORATION

Plaintiff,

-VS- CASE No. 83-825-Civ-J-14

BROWNING-FERRIS INDUSTRIES,

INC., and BROWNING-FERRIS

INDUSTRIES OF FLORIDA, INC.

Defendants.

MOTION TO SUSPEND

AND DISQUALIFY PLAINTIFF’S COUNSEL

Defendants, Browning-Ferris Industries, Inc. ("BFI")

and Browning-Ferris Industries of Florida, Inc. ("BFI-

Florida"), move the Court, pursuant to Rule 2.04(b),

Rules of the United States District Court for the Middle

District of Florida, for the entry of an order suspending

Mr. Donald E. Wilkes, one of the attorneys of record

for plantiff, Greer’s Refuse Service, Inc., from the bar

of this Court and disqualifying Mr. WIlkes from further

98

representation of plaintiff in this action, on the ground

that Wilkes has been suspended from The Florida Bar.

In support of this motion, defendants state:

1. On April 19, 1967, in an action commenced by The

Florida Bar, the Supreme Court of Florida suspended

Wilkes from practicing law in the State of Florida until

such time as he could demonstrate to The Florida Bar

and to the Supreme Court that he had rehabilitated

himself.

2. On June 28, 1967, the Supreme Court of Florida

denied Wilkes’ motion for reinstatement to active status

in The Florida Bar.

3. Wilkes has never again petitioned the Florida

Supreme Court for reinstatement to The Florida Bar,

and, therefore, Wilkes is not a member of The Florida

Bar at the Present time.

4. Rule 2.04(b) of the Rules for the Middle District

of Florida provides that when it comes to the attention

of the Court that a member of its bar has been

disbarred or suspended by the Suprement Court of

Florida, such disbarment or suspension operates as an

automatic suspension of the attorney’s right to practice

99

before the Court, subject to the attorney’s right to file

within 20 days a petition seeking relief from operation

of this rule.

5. This motion is made to notify the Court of Wilkes’

suspension from The Florida Bar.

SMITH & HULSEY

Stephen D. Busey

Waddell A. Wallace III

500 Barnett Bank Building

Jacksonville, Florida 32202

(904) 359-7700

Attorneys for Defendants,

Browning-Ferris

Industries, Inc.

and Browning-Ferris

Industries of Florida, Inc.

100

EXHIBIT X

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

IN RE: DONALD E. WILKES

Motion to Confirm

Credentials

NO. 71-1214-Civ-QM

/

ORDER GRANTING PETITIONER WILKES’ PETITION

TO CONFIRM CREDENTIALS

Mr. Wilkes was admitted to the Florida Bar in 1950.

He was also a member of the New York Bar. In 1960,

the New York Supreme court disbarred Wiles pursuant to

a recommendation of a referee appointed by the

Grievance Committee of the New York City Bar

Association. The referee found Wilkes guilty on three

charges violating the Professional Canons of Ethics (1)

violating terms of an escrow agreement; (2) misadvising

a client as to the validity of a Mexican divorce, and (3)

directly communicating with a party represented by

101

counsel in an attempt favorably to influence a

settlement in a personal injury action. In 1963, The

Florida Bar commenced proceedings to disbar Wilkes in

Florida, based upon the New York adjudication that

Wilkes had been guilty of misconduct. The Florida

Supreme Court rejected the first judgment of the

Florida Bar’s Board of Governor’s recommending Wilkes’

disbarment and remanded the case with directions that

it be returned to the referee, appointed by The Bar, for

reconsideration and recommendations as to the discipline

to be imposed on Wilkes for the misconduct of which he

was found guilty in New York as charged. Florida Bar

vy. Wilkes 179 So.2d 193 (Fla. 1965). The Court

concluded that neither comity nor full faith and credit

requires that the judgment in New York result in

disbarment. Id. at 196. The Court heid, however, that

under Rule 11.02(6) of the Florida Integration Rule, the

New York judgment operated as conclusive proof of

guilt of the acts of misconduct adjudicated in that

judgment, but that the discipline to be meted out for

such acts by Florida is to be determined by the Florida

102

Supreme Court and its agencies in the same manner as

in all other disciplinary proceedings.

Although the referee had based his recommendation

primarily on the misconduct determined by the New

York referee, he had also relied on Wilkes’ belief in

existentialism as further ground for holding him unfit to

practice. The Florida Supreme Court inveighed against

this ground by stating that: "Mere belief in unorthodox

philosophy does not in itself make one unfit to practice

law." Id. The referee had also noted the absence of

any testimony by Wilkes as to church, civic and social

affiliations. The Court considered that this mention

required it to say that "while evidence of such activities

may be offered by an accused to demonstrate moral

fitness, the lack of evidence thereof may not be

considered as negating fitness to practice or moral

character.”

Upon remand, without any further hearings, the

referee considered the entire record, including that of

the New York proceedings, and found that Wilkes should

be disciplined in Florida for only two of the acts of

misconduct (charges 1 and 3) adjudicated in New York.

103

The Florida Bar of Governors approved the referee’s

recommendation of disbarment for five years, retroactive

to the date of the filing of the Florida complaint.

In 1967, the Florida Supreme Court affirmed the

findings of guilt on the two charges, but concluded that

disbarment for five years was not necessary to

accomplish the purpose of disciplinary actions. Florida

Bar v. Wilkes, 199 So.2d 473 (Fla. 1967). Thus the

Court suspended Wilkes until such time as he should

demonstrate to the Florida Bar and the Court that he

should be reinstated to practice law. The U.S. Supreme

Court denied certiorari from the judgment of the

Florida Supreme Court, 390 U.S. 983 (1968).

Wilkes has never requested reinstatement to the

Florida Bar, because he feels that such action would be

tantamount to and admission of guilt of the charges.

Instead, on August 6, 1971, Wilkes filed the subject

"Motion to Confirm Credentials Before the Courts of the

Southern District." The motion alleged that Wilkes was

purged in Florida as a suspected intellectual and "active

follower of the existentialism philosophy of radical

individualism." Wilkes contended that the District court

104

must give "intrinsic consideration" to the New York

record to determine whether in the New York

proceeding there had been (1) want of due process; (2)

informity of proof; (3) "other grave error that would

justify federal courts’ not giving effect to the New

York judgment directly or indirectly." He also argued

therein that the Florida proceeding cannot rise above

the level of the New York proceeding.

On September 2, 1971, Judge Mehrtens entered an

order taking jurisdiction of the matter. Therein the

court denied Wilkes’ ex parte petition for confirmation

"for the reason that he failed to comply with the local

rules of this court regarding suspension of attorneys,

and further that his delay for filing such a petition is

not sufficiently explained in his petition." Upon

suggestion by The Florida Bar, the court treated Wilkes’

petition not as a motion for confirmation, but rather as

one for reinstatement. In making this argument, The

Florida Bar assumed that Wilkes had in fact been

suspended from the Southern District in 1967,

immediately or shortly after his suspension in Florida.

Based on this assumption The Bar argued that the

105

district court should abstain from deciding the merits of

the petition because the petitioner then and at all times

had a present right to petition the Florida Supreme

Court for reinstatement. In an order entered December

16, 1971, the Court agreed that it was appropriate that

it abstain until wilkes filed a petition for reinstatement

with the Florida Supreme Court. The district court

accordingly dismissed the complaint.

On appeal, the Sth Circuit, In Re Wilkes, Slip Op. No.

72-1399, May 23, 1974, p. 4010, held that (1) "Wilkes is

on solid ground in asserting that disbarment by federal

courts does not automatically flow from disbarment by

State courts. Federal courts must ’determine for

ourselves the right to continue to be a member of

...{the federal Bar}’ after giving intrinsic consideration’

to the underlying record." Id. at 4014; (2) "The trial

court was mistaken in assuming that Wilkes ever was

suspended from practice before the Southern District.

We conclude, therefore, that the Court erred in treating

the petition as one for reinstatement, and in deciding

on that basis that it should abstain pending an

application for reinstatement in Florida." Id. at 4016;

106

(3) "A remand will be required in this case so that the

district court may hold a hearing (in effect, a de novo

hearing) to conduct such an inquiry. Federal Courts

must determine’ for ourselves the right to continue to

be a member of...[the federal] Bar’ after giving ‘intrinsic

consideration’ to the underlying record to verify

whether ’one or all of the following ...conditions

appear: (1) that, the state procedure, from want of

notice or opportunity to be hear, was wanting in due

process; (2) that there was such an infirmity of proof

as to facts found to have established the want of fair,

private and professional character as to give rise to a

clear conviction on our part that we could not,

consistently without duty, accept as final the conclusion

on that subject; or (3) that some other grave reason

existed which should convince us that to allow the

natural consequences of the judgment to have their

effect would conflict with the duty which rests upon us

not to disbar except upon the conviction that, under the

principles of right and justice, we were constrained to

do so.’ Selling v. Radford, 243 U.S. 46, 51... we find

no merit in [Wilkes] suggestion that we are in a

107

position to decided the case in full, and instead order a

remand to the district court for decision on merits. We

hold that Wilkes is entitled to practice before the

Southern District of Florida pendente lite." Id. at 4018-

19.

On December 30, 1977, the Grievance Committee

submitted to this Court a detailed report concerning

petitioner’s qualifications to practice in the Southern

District of Florida. The Committee concluded that:

Under all the circumstances surrounding the

charges the and all the evidence concerning them,

the permanent disbarment of Wilkes is a more

severe punishment than Wilkes’ misconduct

justified, and that as of this time he has been

disciplined enough.

Recognizing that Mr. Wilkes, in the last seventeen

years, has suffered severe sanctions, and without

in any way approving Mr. Wilkes’ conduct, and

indeed, conceding that such conduct was

censorable, we believe there now exists no present

basis for holding Mr. Wilkes disqualified from

continuing to practice law before the Federal

Courts in this State (pp. 101-02).

Accordingly, upon examining the Grievance Committee

Report, this Court concurs in the Committee’s

conclusion and GRANTS petitioner Wilkes’ Petition to

Confirm Credentials.

108

All documents and matters from the Grievance

committee relating to this matter shall be preserved as

confidential, non-public record cmlees otherwise directed

by the Court.

ENTERED at Miami, Florida, this 2 day of August,

1978.

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

109

cc: Chairman, Grievance Committee

Nicholas Friedman, Esq.

Norman A. Faulkner, Esq.

John Fanning, Esq.

United States Attorney

110

EXHIBIT XI

Local Rule 2.04(b)

Whenever it appears to the Court that any member of

its bar, admitted generally under Rule 2.01 has been

disbarred or suspended from practice by the Supreme

Court of Florida, or by any other Court of competent

jurisdiction, as the case might be, or has been convicted

of a felony in any court, such disbarment, suspension or

convictions hall, twenty (20) days there-after, operate

as an automatic suspension of such attorney’s right to

practice in this Court; provided, however, the attorney

may file, within such twenty (20) day period, a petition,

with copy served upon the United States Attorney,

seeking relief from the operation of this rule, and if a

timely petition is filed, suspension shall be stayed until

the petition is determined. If such petition is filed by

an attorney who has been admitted to practice generally

under Rule 2.01 of these rules, it shali be heard and

determined by the Chief Judge of the Court sitting with

any two or more of other judges of the District as the

Chief Judge shall designate. If such petition is filed by

111

an attorney who has been admitted to practice specially

under Rule 2.02 of these rules, it shall be heard and

determined by the judge assigned to the case in which

special appearance has been made.

112

EXHIBIT XII

United States Constitution

Amendment V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital or

other infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a grand jury, except in cases arising in

the land or naval forces, or in the militia when in

actual service, in time of war or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same offense to be

twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be

compelled in any criminal case to be witness against

himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor shall private property

be taken for public use without just compensation.

113

EXHIBIT XIll

United States Constitution

Amendment XIV

All persons born of naturalized in the United States,

and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of

the United States and of the State wherein they reside.

No State shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States, nor shall any State deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of law,

nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

vi

PROOF OF SERVICE

1, WILLIAM H. MANESS, attorney for Donald E.

Wilkes, Petitioner herein, and a member of the Bar of

the Supreme oy of the United States, hereby certify

that on the ao day of September, 1988, | served

three copies of the foregoing Petition for Certiorari on

the Solicitor General, Department of Justice,

Washington, D.C., 20530 by mailing said copies in a

duly addressed envelope with Air Mail postage and

one copy of said Petition on Honorable Richard P.

Storch, U.S. Attorney, P.O. Box 600, Jacksonville,

Florida 32201.

Attorney

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.