Opposition Brief — Young v. Standard Oil
Supreme Court brief1988
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Supreme Quert, US.
FILED
NOV 14 1988
OL, JR,
»))
“a
a
No. 88-496
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1988
ry
Vv
PHILIP A. YOUNG, MAX GOSSARD,
ROBERT L. BROEKER, MARK BOKELMAN,
JAMES ROHLF, OLIVER E. MOLDESTAD,
LARRY GODEJAHN, EMERY PISTULKA
and ARTHUR REINSMA,
Petitioners,
We
STANDARD OIL (INDIANA) and
AMOCO OIL COMPANY,
Respondents.
ray
Vv
On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit
ray
Vv
RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
4)
Vv
STANLEY C. FicKE*
Cuar.es E. Bruess
OF
Barnes & THORNBURG
1313 Merchants Bank Building
11 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Telephone: (317) 638-1313
*Counsel of Record for Respondents
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
or call collect (402) 342-2831
i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether there is no sound reason to hold this case
for Firestone Tire d Rubber Co. v. Bruch, No. 87-1054,
cert. granted, 56 U.S.L.W. 3682 (U.S. 1988) because:
(a) the issue in Firestone is the proper standard for
judicial review under the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974 (‘‘ERISA’’) of the
plan fiduciary’s interpretation of ambiguous or
uncertain plan provisions;
(b) this case does not present such an issue but rather
involves plan provisions which explicitly disallow
plan benefits on the undisputed facts presented ;
and
(c) in contrast to Firestone, petitioners in this case
must invalidate or avoid the applicable plan pro-
visions in order to recover benefits.
2. Whether, in circumstances where the petitiones
plan participants had no accrued or vested rights to fu-
ture benefits under the terms of the existing benefit plan,
the respondent employer was prevented by ERISA or a
‘federal common law of contracts’’ from establishing a
new benefit plan prescribing a different eligibility con-
dition for any future benefits.
3. Whether, in circumstances where the terms of a
benefit plan do not contravene any statutory or regula-
tory requirement, ERISA permits judicial review of the
plan terms for substantive reasonableness. :
4, Whether, under ERISA, plan participants may
recover benefits contrary to explicit plan provisions on
the basis of ‘‘procedural’’ statutory violations that caused
no prejudice to any benefit right or other substantive
harm.
li
RULE 28.1 LISTING
At the time this action was commenced, respondent
Amoco Oil Company was a wholly owned subsidiary of
respondent Standard Oil (Indiana). In 1985, Standard
Oil (Indiana)’s name was changed to Amoco Corporation
and Amoco Oil Company became a wholly owned sub-
sidiary of Amoco Company, which is, in turn, a wholly
owned subsidiary of Amoco Corporation. Amoco Cor-
poration has no parent corporation. Non-wholly owned
subsidiaries or affiliates of Amoco Corporation, including
subsidiaries and affiliates of wholly owned subsidiaries,
include the following:
Southridge Park Associates
OK Tedi Mining Limited
3ennett/South Shore Association
Chicago Equity Fund 1985 Partnership
5836 W. Washington LTD. Partnership
33 North Lorel Limited Partnership
Midwest Club
Panorama Office Park IT
Tangley Oaks
Gene-Trak Systems, Ine.
Intelligenetics, Incorporated
Solare S.P.A.
Trout Lake Golf and Country Club
Detour Lake Mining Project
Rhodiaco Industries Quimieas Ltda
Amoco Fina N.V.
A. G. Intl. Chemical Company, Inc.
Singapore Petroleum Company, PTE., LTD.
Singapore Refining Company PTE., LTD.
iil
Cliffe Storage Limited
Kharg Chemical Company Limited
Petroleum Storage Limited
China American Petrochemical Company, LTD.
Samsung Petrochemical Company, LTD.
ACM Services, Ine.
Atlas Supply Company
Fertilizers of Trinidad & Tobago LTD.
Frontier Pipeline Company
Raven Ridge Pipeline Company
Chicap Pipe Line Company
Wyco Pipe Line Company
Kkma Oil Company
Gulf of Suez Petroleum Company
Rodeis Oil Company
Torsina Oil Company
Iran Pan American Oil Company
Sharjam LPG Company, Limited
Aimsa 8.A. DE C.V.
Amoco Exploration Zaire S.P.R.L.
H&R Industries
S.I. Tech. Ine.
iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTIONS PRESENIOY WN i
pe ad I ste a eat eee ea il
ga NES ae ig S88 big >, Sn Re Vv
PURE St ty | Seepnt mente eae as Ae hee ORS ee aCe re 1
STATEMEN? OF THE CASE 2. 1
ti ra ae 1
i: Ce Se 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT WW ... 10
I. This Case Will Not Be Affected By And Should
Not Be Held For The Court’s Decision In Fire-
EN Bi Ne ntact cand eipan toons 11
II. ERISA Does Not Prevent An Employer From
Amending A Benefit Plan With Respect To Un-
accrued And Contingent Future Benefits 00000... 14
lil. Under ERISA, Plan Participants May Not Chal-
lenge Welfare Plan Provisions As Substantively
“Unreasonable” or “Arbitrary” 2... = wi
IV. Plan Participants Are Not Entitled To Benefits
Contrary To The Terms Of The Plan Based On
Procedural ERISA Violations Which Caused No
Prejudice To Any Benefit Right Or Any Other
punstantve Harm AeA eres 25
CONCLUSION 30
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cass:
Adcock v. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co., 616 F. Supp.
409 (M.D. Tenn. 1985), rev’d in part and aff’d in
part, 822 F.2d 623 (6th Cir. 1987) 19
Adcock v. Firestone Tire d& Rubber Co., 822 F.2d
623 (6th Cir. 1987) 12, 20, 27
Agro v. Joint Plumbing Industry Bd., 623 F.2d 207
(2d Cir. 1980) 19
Anderson v. Ciba-Geigy Corp., 759 F.2d 1518
(11th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 995 (1985) 0. 27, 28
Anderson v. John Morrell & Co., 830 F.2d 872 (8th
ye a) 17, 20, 21
Baker v. Lukens Steel Co., 793 F.2d 509 (3d Cir.
| PAE SII Silo A 19
Bencivenga v. Western Pa. Teamsters and Em-
ployers Pension Fund, 763 F.2d 574 (3d Cir. 1985) .. 16
Blakeman v. Mead Containers, 779 F.2d 1146 (6th
+} NCR Sitter 24.0 12
Blau v. Del Monte Corp., 748 F.2d 1348 (9th Cir.
1984), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 865 (1985) 0 28, 29
Bruch v. Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., 828 }".2d
Ie (2G Cie. Sie eh eee 11, 12, 14, 18
Cattin v. General Motors Corp., 641 F. Supp. 591
(E.D. Mich. 1986). .................. 20
Deak v. Masters, Mates and Pilots Pension Plan,
821 F.2d 572 (11th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108
Sup. Ct. 698 (1988) ........ iret Eh ara Pree 19
Dhayer v. Weirton Steel Div. of Nat. Steel Corp.,
571 F. Supp. 316 (N.D. W. Va.), aff’d, 724 F.2d
406 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 205
(1984) ............ 1 gal besmeeo desc tg ea enlneeane leone 18
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Doughe rly v. Chrysl r Motors Corp., S40 I 2d 2
(6th Cir. 1988) 17. )
Elli nburg v. Bro¢ kway, Inc., 163 I vd LOO] (9th
Cir. 19085) 2v
lirestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch. No. 8&7-
1054, cert. granted, 56 U.S.L.W. 3682 (U.S.
1988) i 10, 11, 13, 14, 18, 28
Hickman v. Tosco Corp., 840 F.2d 564 (Sth Cir.
1988) ....... 17
Holland v. Burlington Indus., Inc., 772 F.2d 1140
(4th Cir. 1985), aff’d, 477 U.S. 901, cert. denied,
477 U.S. 903 (1986) 2, 24, oo
In re White Farm Equip. Co., 788 F.2d 1186 (6th
Cir. 1986) reine cecrabasisisoatislanatan 21
Jung v. FMC Corp., 755 F.2d 708 (9th Cir. 1985) 12, 29
Me tropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachius: tts, 471
U.S. 724 (1985) 23
Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58
(1987) l
Moore Vv. R: ynolds Me tals C'o. Pe 4 Program. 740
I.2d 454 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S.
1109 (1985) 23
Norman v. United Mine Workers of America
Health and Ret. Funds, 755 F.2d 509 (6th Cir.
1985) ...... D4
Northe ast De pt. ILGWW HT alth and We lfare Fund
v, T amsters Local Union No. 229 Wee lfa ( I tnd,
764 F.2d 147 (38d Cir, 1985) 19
Pabst Brewing Co. v. Anger, 610 F. Supp. 214 (D.
Minn. 1985), aff'd, 784 F.2d 338 (Sth Cir. 1986)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Phillips v. Amoco Oil Co., 799 F.2d 1464 (11th
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 1893 (1987) 0. =17
Sharron v. Amalgamated Ins. Agency Services,
iée., fee Fae oe Cee Oe. ee .
Simmons v. Diamond Shamrock Corp., 844 F.2d
517 (8th Cir. 1988) ened 2, 18, 19, 27, 29
Stanton v. Gulf Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 432 (4th Cir.
RRR ER a snes Neen fra ae VR Ro RATA 17
724 F.2d 406 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467
ae EE RD dttincceenncinnat a Peace STI? 16, 17, 19, 20
Torimino v. United Food and Com. Workers Int’l
Union Indus. Pension Fund, 548 F. Supp. 1012
(E.D. Mo. 1982), aff’d, 712 F.2d 882 (8th Cir.
1983)... SE RT ae ODE FOS a RC ee A Se Ls SOR 24
United Elec., Radio and Mach. Workers v. Amcast
Indus. Corp., 634 F. Supp. 1135 (S8.D. Ohio 1986)... 19
United Ind. Flight Officers, Inc. v. United Air
Lines, Inc., 756 F.2d 1262 (7th Cir. 1985) oo. 17
United Mine Workers of America Health & Ret.
Funds v. Robinson, 455 U.S. 562 (1982) 200. 24
West v. Greyhound Corp., 813 F.2d 951 (9th Cir.
STATUTES AND RULEs:
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) Se Leen ee a:
nuseane 1
29 U.S.C. § 186 ee suitanaensiceeeas ae
29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 et 8€Q. vvcccccncmmnnmmenernnnnnnnnnenn 1
Vili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
29 U.S.C. § 1002(1)-(2)
29 U.S.C. §§ 1022, 1024
29 U.S.C. § 1051-1061, 1081-1086
29 U.S.C. § 1104(1)
29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B)
99 U.S.C. § 1133
29 C.F.R. § 2510.3-2
Supreme Court Rule 28.2
S.D. IND. R. 15(e)
OTHER AUTHORITY:
R. Stern, E. Gressman & S. Shapiro, Supr
Court Pra Pieg (Gth ed. LOSG )
Hide
> >
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Cireuit (“Seventh Cirevit”) was entered
on June 23, 1988. The Petition seeks to invoke the juris-
diction of this Court to review the judgment under 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1). It is unclear whether the Petition meets
the 90-day jurisdictional limitation provided by 28 U.S.C.
§ 2101(¢c). The only affidavit of mailing served by coun-
sel for petitioners on the respondents was prepared and
served in advance of the mailing of the petition and does
not comply with the requirements of Supreme Court Rule
28.2. See R. Stern, E. Gressman & 8S. Shapiro, Supreme
Court Practice at pp. 305-06 (6th ed. 1986).
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Proceedings Below.
This action was commenced on October 11, 1983 by
four of the petitioners in the Cireuit Court for Madison
County, Indiana, alleging a wrongful denial of severance
benefits under a benefit plan maintained by respondents
Amoco Oil Company (“Amoco”) and Standard Oil (In-
diana) (“Standard”). Amoco and Siandard removed the
action to the United States District Court for the South-
ern District of Indiana on the ground that the severance
plan was a welfare benefit plan within the coverage of
f the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974
(“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 et seg., and, therefore, the
claims alleged necessarily arose under that federal stat-
ute! Petitioners thereafter filed a second amended com-
plaint which alleged claims under ERISA and added the
other petitioners as plaintiffs.
On February 28, 1986, after extensive discovery by
the parties, Amoco and Standard moved for summary
‘See Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58 (1987).
1
)
a
judgment on all claims alleged by the second amended
complaint. After five extensions of time granted hy the
District Court, petitioners filed their response in opposi-
tion to the motion on October 14, 1986. The District
Court had an extensive evidentiary record before it on
the motion, consisting primarily of affidavits, excerpts
from discovery depositions and deposition exhibits filed
by the parties pursuant to S.D. IND. R. 15(c). After a
hearing on the motion on April 16, 1987, the District Court
entered an order setting forth extensive determinations of
uncontested facts and conclusions of law, and granted
summary judgment in favor of Amoco and Standard. (Pet.
App. at Al eft seg.) On appeal, the Seventh Cireuit af-
firmed the District Court’s judgment in all respects. (Pet.
App. at A25 et seq.)
B. Statement Of Facts
For a number of years prior to 1983, Amoco owned
and operated a Fertilizer & Pesticides Division (the “FE
& P Division’’). The F & P Division had over 800 em-
ployees and facilities in 14 States, including several fer-
tilizer processing plants, ammonia terminals and soil lab-
oratories, Torch Chemical (which operated agricultural
chemical distributorships), Trekker Chemical (which form-
ulated and manufactured specialty products) and more
than 350 retail fertilizer outlets.
Hach of the retail outlets in the I’ & P Division was
managed by an employee called a ‘*crop guide manager.’’
Some of the retail outlets also had a second full-time em-
,
ployee called a ‘helper’? or ‘*secondman.,’
,
Petitioners
were each employed in a retail outlet, either as a erop
guide manager or helper, in various locations in Indiana,
Minnesota and Ohio.
3
Because of an unsatisfactory return on investment,
due principally to changing supply and market conditions,
Amoco decided in 1982 to try to divest the F & P Division.
An initial effort to sell the Division as a going concern
through an investment banking firm was unsuccessful.
Thereafter, in July, 1982, Amoco’s management considered
and approved a proposal for Amoco to divest the F & P
Division and withdraw from the business. The proposal
in order of priority was (1) to try to sell the business as an
entity; (2) to try to sell the business in segments; and
(3) if and to the extent that sales were not possible, to
shut down the operations. Standard (Amoco’s corporate
parent) approved the divestiture proposal on July 20,
1982.
Over a period of several years prior to 1981, Standard
and Amoco had implemented a number of different sev-
erance policies. Effective April 1, 1981, Standard adopted
for itself and its subsidiaries the Severance Allowance
Policy of Standard Oil Company and Participating Com-
panies (the ‘1981 Severance Policy’’). The 1981 Sever-
ance Policy provided that it would apply only when a
company’s ‘‘management elects to apply [it] to a particen-
lar employee-reduction situation.’’ It also conferred
authority on management to designate categories of em-
ployees who would not be eligible to participate in situa-
tions where the Policy was otherwise implemented. The
1981 Severance Policy further provided that:
3. Even though the Policy may be in effect for a par-
ticular employee-reduction situation, an employee
will not qualify for a severance allowance under
the following circumstances:
+
g. Sale of facilities when the new owner offers
to the employee comparable employment as
determined by the Company.
(Pet. App. at A5)
During the spring of 1982, when divestiture of the
F & P Division was initially being considered, Amoco’s
management also began considering the possible implemen-
tation of the 1981 Severance Policy in connection with
such a divestiture. The cost of doing so was estimated
under several alternatives, including the petential exeln-
sion of employees at the retail outlets (pursuant to man-
agement authority to designate categories of eligible
employees under the Policy).
On August 2, 1982, after Standard’s approval of the
final Amoco proposal with respect to the Division (which
included selling and shutting dewn the Division in seg-
ments, if sale as an entity was not possible), Amoco sought
permission from Standard to create a different severance
policy to apply to the F & P divestiture:
The Severance Allowance Poliey currently in effeet
states that severance will not be payable if ‘tthe new
owner offers to the employees comparable employ-
ment as determined by the company.’* Because of
the nature of the fertilizer and pesticides business,
it is unlikely that potential buyers would provide
wages or the level of benefits comparable to those
presently offered by Amoco Oil. Under these condi-
tions, all present Fertilizer & Pesticides employees
would probably quality for severance benefits, regard-
less of employment opportunities with the new own-
ers. Such payments would amount to approximately
$6,200,000, In addition, it is conceivable that many
different new owners will be involved, making it dif-
fienlt to determine comparable employment and in
Viting possible litigation in the determination of com
parable employment.
4)
Acomo Oil recommends that a special Severance Al-
lowance Policy be adopted for the Fertilizer & Pesti-
cides divestiture as follows:
1.
Any present Amoco employee who is) offered
a position with a new owner will forfeit
severance consideration, regardless of salary,
benefits, or position.
Severance payments will be given to current
employees who are not offered employment
with the new owner, and to employees when
facilities are not sold and operations are dis-
continued.
Consent Retirement will be available to cur-
rent employees with 20 or more years of Re-
tirement Plan participation even if they do
not qualify for a severance allowance.
(Pet. App. at A6-A7)
After Standard agreed with this recommendation to
adopt a special severance policy for the F & P divestiture,
the Severance Allowance Policy of the Fertilizer & Pesti-
cides Division of Amoco Oil Company (‘‘F & P Severance
Policy’’) was created, effective August 1, 1982. It pro-
vided, inter alia, that:
B. Qualifications—Severance Allowance
5
An employee will qualify for a severance al-
lowance provided all of the following condi-
tions are met:
a. The employee becomes unemployed be-
cause: —
(1) The Company does not sell the facil-
ity and the operations are discon-
tinued, or
(2) The facility is sold by the Company
but the buyer does not offer employ-
ment to the individuals.
6
2. An employee will not qualify for a severance
allowance under the following circumstances:
a. Offered a job by the new owner of the
facility.
(Pet. App. at A7)
Amoco then promptly informed the F & P employees,
both orally and in writing, of the anticipated divestiture
and of the conditions under which severance would be paid.
Amoco said in a letter dated August 3, 1982, addressed
to all employees of the Division, that:
Amoco Oil Company will announce publicly tomorrow
that it plans to offer for sale its entire fertilizer and
pesticides marketing and supply system....
. Barring sale of the system as a whole, Amoco
plans to sell the system in regional segments....
If the system is sold as a whole or in regional seg-
ments, current employees may be offered employment
by the purchaser. Should such sales not occur or em-
ployees are not offered employment by the new own-
ers, Amoco will provide severance and if eligible, re-
tirement benefits to regular full-time employees who
must leave the company.
(Pet. App. at A8) Amoco also distributed to its employees
a press release, dated August 4, 1982, which stated in part:
‘*Amoco will provide severance and appropriate retire-
ment benefits to regular, full-time employees who are not
offered employment by the new owners and must leave
the company because of the sale.’’? (/d.)
In addition, in August, 1982, the Division employees
were provided copies of ‘*Questions and Answers About
Fertilizer and Pesticides Sale.’? This document stated,
inter alta:
3. Does this mean that the Wertilizer & Pesticides
facilities will be shut down?
7
Answer: Finding a suitable purchaser for a
business this large requires a lot of
time and effort. Active, profitable
fertilizer and pesticides operations will
not be shut down at this time. Ulti-
mately, we plan to get out of the busi-
ness.
6. Should a purchaser for the system, or parts of it,
be found and the purchaser offered Amoco Oil
employees jobs, would Amoco Oil provide the
regular full-time employees with severance?
Answer: If a purchaser is found and elects to
hire Amoco Oil’s current regular, full-
time employees, they would not be
eligible for severance pay.
7. If I reject a job offer from the new owner, will I
forfeit my severence benefits?
Answer: Yes. Severance benefits will be avail-
able only to regular, full-time em-
ployees, who are not offered a job.
(Pet. App. at A7-A8) Amoco also held meetings with the
F & P employees in early August, 1982 to discuss the di-
vestiture and the conditions under which severance would
be paid. The employees were told at these meetings that
severance would not be paid if they were offered employ-
ment by any purchaser of the facilities where they worked.
After further efforts to sell the Division as an entity
were unsuccessful, Amoco began selling and shutting down
the Division in regional segments. In early 1983, Amoco
(1) sold the processing plant in Rochelle, Georgia to
Chemical Enterprises, Ine. and sold or shut down the re-
tail outlets in Georgia; (2) sold the Brunswick, Missouri
processing plant and all retail outlets in Missouri and
Kansas to SCF, Inc.; and (3) sold the processing plant at
|
8
Mt. Carmel, Illinois and the retail outlets served by that
facility to Triple T, Ine.
Amoco thereafter received an offer for the remainder
of the F & P Division from The Scoular Company and,
on June 15, 1983, entered into a purchase and sale agree-
ment with Scoular and The Cropmate Company (a sub-
sidiary created by Scoular). The sale agreement pro-
vided, inter alia, that the sale would he closed on August
31, 1983, and that before the closing Cropmate would pro-
vide Amoco with a list of those Ff & P employees to whom
Cropmate would offer employment. (Pet. App. at A9-
A10)
By letter dated June 20, 1983, Amoco told the remain-
ing & P employees of the sale agreement wita Seoular
and Cropmate, that the sale closing would be August 31,
1985, and that ‘‘the effective date of employment for those
employees who are offered and accept employment’’ with
Cropmate would be September 1, 1983. (Pet. App. at
All) In July, 1983, Amoco held termination benefit
meetings with the remaining F & P employees. The em-
ployees were again told that severance benefits would not
be paid to employees who were offered a job. The em-
ployees were also told how severance benefits fer eligible
employees would be computed according to the benefit
schedule set forth in the fF & P Severance Poley. (Pet.
App. at A12)
Seoular’s original intention, as communicated to
Amoco, was that it would offer employment toe most of
the k & P employees, and that it would also offer most
existing crop guide managers the opportunity to purchase
from and lease back to Cropmate the retail outlets where
they were presently employed. After the purehase and
9
sale agreement was executed, Cropmate reviewed the cur-
rent crop guide managers to determine which ones Crop-
mate wanted to be part of the new organization. Those
crop guide managers and existing helpers that Cropmate
wanted to become crop guide managers for Cropmate were
then invited to meetings in July, 1983.
Petitioners made numerous allegations regarding what
was said at these meetings about employment with Crop-
mate and the proposed terms of the retail outlet purchase
and leaseback. In view of the undisputed facts regarding
petitioners’ employment with Cropmate after the sale, the
courts below held the factual disputes regarding what was
said at these meetings to be immaterial to the legal issues
presented. (Pet. App. at Al11-A12, A40-A41)
The sale closing between Amoco, Scoular and Crop-
mate was held on August 31, 1983. All of the petitioners
except Moldstad became employees of Cropmate on Sep-
tember 1, 1983, in the same positions, at the same salary,
and without any agreement to purchase and lease back a
retail outlet as a condition to that employment. (Pet. App.
at A12-A13) Moldstad refused to work for Cropmate.
(Pet. at 7)?
Cropmate terminated no one who did not want to buy
a retail-outlet as of September 1, 1983. Petitioners claimed,
2Six of the petitioners were still employed by Cropmate
when they were deposed in this action. Another testified that
he quit his job with Cropmate after two weeks to accept other
employment. The other testified that he left employment with
Cropmate five months later when Cropmate found a “potential’”’
purchaser for his retail outlet and that he returned to full-time
farming as he had already planned to do. After beginning em-
ployment with Cropmate, three of the petitioners later decided
to purchase and lease back their retail outlets (in November,
1983 and February and April, 1984, respectively). (Pet. App. at
A12-A13)
10
however, and Amoco and Standard accepted as true for
purposes of their summary judgment motion, that a crop
guide manager who did not purchase and lease back his
retail outlet was at risk that Cropmate would later sell
it to another buyer who might, in turn, decide not to re-
tain the existing manager.
ray
Vv
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
The Petition claims that this case “raises many of the
same basic questions under ERISA concerning the stan-
dard of review for ‘welfare benefits’” that are before this
Court in Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, No. 8T-
1054, cert. granted, 56 U.S.L.W. 3682 (U.S. 1988). (Pet.
at 11) That is not so. This ease and Firestone both in-
volve a denial of severance benefits in a “sale of business”
situation where the plan participants were employed by
the purchaser of the business. However, the similarity
between this ease and Firestone begins and ends at that
puint. Regardless how this Court decides the issue pre-
sented in Firestone, that would not affect the result here.
Firestone presents the issue whether the plan partici-
pants are entitled to severance under the terms of the
benefit plan and the proper standard for judicial review
of that issue. In this case, by contrast, petitioners are
not eligible for benefits unless they may override the
terms of the benefit plan—e.g., unless they may challenge
3Of the 265 retail outlets purchased by Cropmate from
Amoco, no more than six were resold to third parties other than
employees.
The extensive undisputed facts regarding the severance bene-
fit claims petitioners filed with Amoco and the plan adminis-
trator’s and fiduciary’s processing of those claims are accurately
summarized in the District Court's opinion and will not be re-
peated here. (See Pet. App. at A13-A16)
. .
11
the “job offer” term of the F & P Severance Policy as
substantively “unreasonable” or prevail on claims that
ERISA did not permit the establishment of the I) & P
Severance Policy in place of the 1981 Severan-e Policy
to govern this divestiture. The Seventh Circuit’s decision
on these quite different issues is correct, conforms with
the decisions of other cireuits, and does not warrant fur-
ther review.
I. This Case Will Not Be Affected By And Should
Not Be Held For The Court’s Decision In Fire-
stone v. Bruch.
ERISA creates a cause of action for a plan partici-
pant or beneficiary “to recover benefits due to him under
the terms of his plan... .” 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (1) (B)
(emphasis added). In Firestone Tire d& Rubber Co. v.
Bruch, No. 87-1054, this Court has granted certiorari to
consider the proper standard for judicial review under
that sectron. Specifically, the issue in Firestone is the
proper standard for review of the plan fiduciary’s denial
of benefits based upon an interpretation of ambiguous or
uncertain plan provisions. In contrast to other circuits
which have applied a deferential “arbitrary and caprici-
ous” standard of review, the Third Cireuit in Firestone
held that ordinary principles “governing construction of
contracts” should apply. Bruch v. Firestone Tire and Rub-
ber Co., 828 F.2d 134, 138, 145 (3d Cir. 1987). Although
the Seventh Circuit here, following its earlier precedent,
said that the “arbitrary and capricious” standard governs
review of denials of benefit claims under ERISA, a con-
trary conclusion by this Court in Firestone would not
alter the result in this ease.
Firestone, as well as many other cireuit court of ap-
peals decisions involving severance benefit claims, all in-
12
volved benefit plans which generally provided that sev-
erance would be paid when employment with the company
was terminated; those plans did not specifically address
the sale-of-business situation and make clear whether bene-
fits would be paid if a participant continued to be em-
ployed by a-purchaser of the business. E.g., Bruch v. Fire-
stone, S28 F.2d at 146; Simmons v. Diamond Shamrock
Corp., 844 F.2d 517, 522-25 (Sth Cir. 1988): Adcock v. Fire-
stone Tire & Rubber Co., 822 F.2d 623, 624, 626-27 (6th
Cir. 1987): Blakeman v. Mead Containers, T79 F.2d 1146,
1148-49 (Gth Cir. 1985); Holland v. Burlington Indus.,
Inc., 772 F.2d 1140, 1144 n.2, 1149 (4th Cir. 1985), aff'd,
477 U.S. 901, cert. denied, 477 U.S. 903 (1986); Jung v.
FMC Corp., 755 \'.2d 708, 712-13 (9th Cir. 1985). Thus,
the issue in those cases was whether the fiduciary had
erroneously interpreted the plan in determining that bene-
fits would not be paid to employees who continued their
employment with the new owner of the business. In such
situations involving uneertain or ambiguous plan provi-
sions, the difference between an “arbitrary and capricious”
standard and a standard less deferential to the plan fi-
duciary’s interpretation of the plan may well lead to a
different result.
However, no such issue is fairly presented in this
case. The IF & P Severance Policy here explicitly ad-
dresses the “sale-of-business” situation and explicitly pro-
vides that an employee who is “offered a job by the new
owner of the facility” is ineligible for benefits. (Pet. App.
at AT) There is no ambiguity or uncertainty in that lan-
evuage and its plain meaning cannot be avoided regardless
of the standard of review applicable to claims to recover,
in the words of the statute, “benefits due .. . wander the
terms of [the] plan... 2% 29 U.S.C. $1152(a)(1)(B)
13
(emphasis added). Indeed, the District Court expressly
stated that “no issue of plan ‘interpretation’ is presented
here; the I’ & P Severance Policy expressly provides that
employees are not eligible for severance if they are ‘[o]f-
fered a job by the new owner of the facility.’” (Pet. App.
at A22) While it does not repeat that statement verbatim,
the Seventh Cireuit’s opinion also shows that no issue
of plan interpretation is presented here. (See id. at A40-
A42)4
Rather, although the Petition frequently confuses or
obscures the issues in an effort to relate this case to Fire-
stone, the question in this case is whether petitioners may
avoid or override the terms of the benefit plan. As they
repeatedly argued in the courts below, and as is demon-
strated by those courts’ opinions, petitioners could recover
henefits only by prevailing on claims that:
(a) ERISA or a “federal common iaw of con-
tracts” prevents an employer from amending a bene-
fit plan with respeet to unaecrued and contingent fu-
ture benefits:
4Petitioners claim there is a “disputed” issue of fact ““wheth-
er any employment offers were made by Cropmate.” (Pet. at
23) That contention is incredible given the undisputed facts
that eight of them were employed by Cropmate immediately
following the sale (in the same jobs, at the same salary, and
without any agreement to purchase and lease back their retail
facilities) and the ninth admits he refused to work for Cropmate.
So far as petitioners mean by that contention that they were
not offered “secure” or “permanent” employment with Crop-
mate, this is not a disputed “fact’’ issue but rather, as the
Seventh Circuit held, an attack on the substantive reasonable-
ness of the terms of the severance policy. See Part III, infra.
And even if there were some disputed issue of fact, Firestone
v. Bruch does not, as the Third Circuit noted, involve the issue
of the proper standard of review under ERISA of ‘‘a determina-
tion of fact by a plan administrator.” 828 F.2d at 144 n.9.
14
(b) ERISA permits judicial review of the terms
of welfare benefit plans for substantive “unreason-
ableness” or “arbitrariness”; or
(ce) plan participants may recover benefits con-
trary to the terms of the plan based on “procedural”
ERISA violations which caused no prejudice to any
benefit right or any other substantive harm.
None of these issues was decided or is presefhted in
Firestone v. Bruch. The Seventh Cireuit decided each of
them correctly and in conformity with other cireuit court
of appeals decisions, and none warrants further review
by this Court.
II. ERISA Does Not Prevent An Employer From
Amending A Benefit Plan With Respect To Un-
accrued And Contingent Future Benefits.
Although it is now confusingly intertwined with other
issues in the Petition, the core of petitioners’ claim in the
District Court was simply this: (1) their jobs with Crop-
mate were not secure unless they agreed to purchase and
lease back their retail outlets; (2) they therefore (alleged-
ly) would have qualified for benefits under the 1981 Sev-
erance Policy’s provision that severance would be paid to
employees who were not offered “comparable employ-
ment”; and (3) respondents acted illegally in establishing
the F & P Severance Policy to delete the condition that
the offered employment be “comparable.”
It is undisputed that the F & P Severance Policy was
established in August, 1982, long before the sale of the
portion of the Division to Scoular and Cropmate and more
than a vear before petitioners’ employment with Amoco
SNo such “plan amendment” issue was presented or de-
cided in Bruch v. Firestone, as the Third Circuit specifically
noted. See 828 F.2d at 144.11
15
was terminated. When that new Policy was established,
petitioners were not entitled to benefits under the plain
terms of the 1981 Severance Policy, and it was unknown
whether they would in the future qualify for benefits un-
der the terms of either the 1981 Policy or the IX & P Pol-
icy. In particular, no one knew whether the F & P Divit
sion would be sold as an entity, sold in segments, shut
down or some combination of the latter two possibilities.®
It is equally clear that ERISA permitted respondents
to establish the I & P Policy with its altered criterion for
any future severance benefits. There is no basis in the
statute or other law for holding the new Policy retro-
actively invalid based on events which occurred there-
after and particular facts pertaining to these particular
employees’ Jobs with Cropmate.
As the courts below noted, ERISA divides employee
benefits into two eategories: (1) “retirement” benefits;
and (2) “welfare” benefits, such as medical and disability,
and including severance benefits of the type at issue here.
29 U.S.C. § 1002(1)-(2); 29 C.FLR. § 2510.3-2. For most
retirement benefits, ERISA imposes minimum require-
ments for the accrual, vesting and non-forfeitability of
benefits under pension plans, as well as for the funding
of such plans. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1051-1061, 1081-1086. How-
ever, Congress expressly exempted welfare benefits from
these aecrual, vesting and funding requirements. 20 U.S.C.
1051, 1081(a)(1). Thus, welfare benefits (as well as
so-called “ancillary” retirement benefits such as early re-
tirement) may be made entirely “eoutingent™ and need
not be acerued, vested and made non-forfeitable. Aecord
ingly, ail emiplovee’s inchoate “interest” in such contingent
Accordingly, petitioners’ assertion that the benefit plan
changes” here were “retroactive” (Pet. at 28) is simply wron
>
on the undisputed tacts of this case
16
benefits may be lost if his employment is terminated or
the benefit plan is amended or terminated before he be-
comes eligible under the plan’s terms for the payment of
such benefits. E.g., Sutton v. Weirton Steel Div. of Nat.
Steel Corp., 724 F.2d 406 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467
U.S. 1205 (1984); Bencivenga v. Western Pa. Teamsters
and Employers Pension Fund, 763 F.2d 574 (3d Cir. 1985).
Petitioners’ various contentions that Amoco and Standard
acted illegally in creating the IX & P Severance Policy to
govern the divestiture simply attempt to extend to welfare
benefit plans the sorts of accrual, vesting and non-for-
feitability requirements which Congress determined to re-
quire only of retirement plans.
Petitioners’ primary contention is that Amoco and
Standard breached a “fiduciary duty” in changing the eli-
gibility condition for future benefits. However, an em-
ployer does not act in a fiduciary capacity or owe a fi-
duciary duty in creating, amending or terminating a bene-
fit plan. As the Fourth Circuit held in rejecting claims that
the employer had breached a fiduciary duty by amending
plans to reduce severance and early retirement benefits
for employees who continued to work for the purchaser in
a sale-of-business context, “[t]he aecrued benefits secured
by ERISA do not encompass unfunded, contingent early
retirement benefits or severance payments. The Act was
not designed to prohibit modification of these ancillary
benefits.” Sutton v. Weirton Steel Div. of Nat. Steel Corp.,
724 F.2d at 410. Accordingly, although the employer in that
case, as in this one, was the plan fiduciary:
National, in its capacity as a fiduciary, did not violate
ERISA. Congress authorized an employer to admin-
ister its pension plan, and in the discharge of its
duties with respect to the plan, the employer must
satisfy the exacting fiduciary standards imposed by
17
ERISA. Congress, however, has not prohibited an
employer who is also a fiduciary from exercising the
right accorded other employers to renegotiate or
amend, as the case may be, unfunded contingent bene-
fits payable before normal retirement age. The
changes, accomplished in this manner, are not to be
reviewed by fiduciary standards.
Id. at 410-11 (emphasis added).
Other decisions by the circuit courts of appeals, in-
eluding the Seventh Circuit in this ease (Pet. App. at A36-
A37), have uniformly followed the decision in Sutton.
E.g., Anderson v. John Morrell & Co., 830 F.2d 872, 875-
76 (8th Cir. 1987); West v. Greyhound Corp., 813 F.2d
951, 954-55 (9th Cir. 1987); Phillips v. Amoco Oil Co., 799
I'.2d 1464, 1471 (11th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct.
1893 (1987); Stanton v. Gulf Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 432, 435
(4th Cir. 1986); United Ind. Flight Officers, Inc. v. United
Air Lines, Inc., 756 F.2d 1262, 1268-69 (7th Cir. 1985).
See also Dougherty v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 840 F.2d
2, 3-4 (6th Cir. 1988); Hickman v. Tosco Corp., 840 F.2d
064, 566 (Sth Cir. 1988). As the Eleventh Circuit reiterated
in Phillips v. Amoco Oil:
ERISA simply does not prohibit a company from
eliminating previously offered benefits that are nei-
ther vested nor accrued. Moreover, ... ERISA...
envisions that employers will act in a dual capacity
as both fiduciary to the plan and as employer. ERISA
does not prohibit an employer from acting in accor-
dance with its interests as employer when not admin-
istering the plan or investing its assets.
799 F.2d at 1471.
If the contrary were true, an employer could never
amend or terminate a benefit plan to reduce or eliminate
contingent future benefits. Indeed, every business deei-
sion arguably affecting future benefits would have to be
aaa
18
made solely in the interest of plan participants and bene-
ficiaries. See Dhayer v. Weirton Steel Div. of Nat. Steel
Corp., 571 F. Supp. 316, 328-29 (N.D. W. Va.), aff’d, 724
F.2d 406 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1205 (1984).
There is no basis in the statute for courts to pick and
choose among plan amendments and terminations under
a ‘fiduciary’? theory, upholding some and disallowing
others. Where fiduciary duties are owed under ERISA,
all actions must be taken ‘‘solely in the interest of the
participants and beneficiaries ... .’’? 29 U.S.C. § 1104(1)
(emphasis added). If lines are to be drawn in this area
and particular types of amendments and terminations for
future benefits to be disallowed, that is a task for Con-
gress.
The Petition seeks to confuse the legal issues, arguing
in favor of the Third Cireuit’s decision in Firestone and
for a ‘‘good faith’’ rather than an ‘‘arbitrary and capri-
cious’’ standard. (See, e.g., Pet. at 15-17) As stated -
above, however, whether an ‘‘arbitrary and capricious,”’
‘good faith’’ or any other standard is the proper one, that
issue involves only judicial review of a denial of benefits
under the terms of a plan. It is simply inapplicable to
the issue whether an employer may amend a plan with
respect to future benefits.
For example, petitioners assert that one factor to be
considered under the supposed ‘‘good faith’’ test is
‘‘fw]hat has been the past practices of the employer in
interpreting and implementing the benefit plan.’’ (Pet. at
16) While prior practices and interpretations of a given
plan are relevant to judicial review of a denial of benefits
under that same plan (under either an ‘‘arbitrary and
capricious’’ or a more stringent standard for review, com-
pare Bruch v. Firestone, 828 F.2d at 147 with, e.g., Sim-
19
mons v. Diamond Shamrock, 844 F.2d at 523; Adcock v.
l'irestone Tire, 822 F.2d at 626), it is patently irrelevant
to the issues of the legality of amending the plan or an
entitlement to benefits under the plan as amended. The
very point of a plan amendment is to change the terms
under which benefits will be provided in the future.’
Petitioners also assert that Amoco and Standard were
barred by a ‘‘federal common law’’ of contracts and/or
estoppel from establishing the F & P Severance Policy in
place of the 1981 Severance Policy. (See Pet. at 19-20)
As shown by petitioners’ leading (but consistently mis-
cited) authority for that proposition, Adcock v. Firestone
Tire & Rubber Co., 616 F. Supp. 409 (M.D. Tenn. 1985),
rev'd m relevant part and aff’d in part, 822 F.2d 623 (6th
Cir. 1987), that contention, like the discredited ‘‘fiduciary’’
theory, seeks to impose on welfare benefits the vesting
and aeceural requirements which Congress decided to re-
quire only for core retirement benefits. See 616 F. Supp.
7Petitioners assert that “[n]umerous circuits have expanded
the good faith/bad faith issue not only in the area of admin-
istration of plans but amendments and terminations thereof,”
but none of the cases cited to support that proposition in fact
does so. (See Pet. at 16 and cases cited) Some cases cited at
other points in the Petition did involve plan amendments but
are inapposite here because they involved both pension plans
and amendments promulgated by plan fiduciaries acting in
their capacities as such. E.g., Argo v. Joint Plumbing Industry
Bd., 623 F.2d 207 (2d Cir. 1980); Northeast Dept. ILGWU Health
and Welfare Fund v. Teamsters Local Union No. 229 Welfare
Fund, 764 F.2d 147 (3d Cir. 1985); Deak v. Masters, Mates and
Pilots Pension Plan, 821 F.2d 572 (11th Cir. 1987), cert. denied,
108 Sup. Ct. 698 (1988). Without noticing that crucial distinc-
tion, the court in Baker v. Lukens Steel Co., 793 F.2d 509 (3d
Cir. 1986), did apply the analysis in Argo to a plan amendment
by the employer. However, the result reached in Baker is fully
consistent with the result in this and the other cases following
Sutton. See 793 F.2d at 513-14.
20
at 413-19, 423-24.8 Judicial creation of a ‘‘federal common
law of contracts’’ to bar terminations and amendments of
welfare benefit plans eliminating or reducing future bene-
fits would contravene both the statutory scheme and the
settled rule that ‘‘[a]n employer may change such bene-
fits ....’? Sutton v. Weirton Steel Div. of Nat. Steel
Corp., 724 F.2d 406, 410 (4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467
U.S. 1205 (1984). See Anderson v. John Morrell & Co.,
830 F.2d 872, 876-77 (Sth Cir. 1987); United Elec., Radio
and Mach. Workers v. Amcast Indus. Corp., 634 F. Supp.
1135, 1142-43 (S.D. Ohio 1986) (rejecting both ‘‘fiduciary”’
and ‘‘federal common law of contracts’’ theories as in-
consistent with the statute); cf. Dougherty v. Chrysler
Motors Corp., 840 F.2d 2, 3-4 (6th Cir. 1988) (holding a
similar contention inconsistent with the statute and im-
plicity an attempt to assert a state law claim that is pre-
empted by ERISA).
Moreover, petitioners would not be entitled to bene-
fits here even if plan amendments or terminations with
respect to unaccrued future benefits were controlled by
a ‘‘federal common law of contracts.’* The 1981 Sever-
ance Policy (like each of the preceding severance policies)
provided that:
The Company reserves the right to amend, modify,
suspend, or discontinue the Policy and any such action
shall apply to existing as well as future employees.
(Pet. App. at A20) Where this power to amend or abolish
is reserved in the plan, there is no basis in ‘‘contract law’’
or ‘‘estoppel’’ for holding that the employer may not
exercise it. Cattin v. General Motors Corp., 641 F. Supp.
8On appeal in Adcock, the Sixth Circuit reversed this por-
tion of the district court decision on other grounds, stating that
if it were to reach the issue on the merits, the “district court’s
contract analysis’ would “likely . .. be reversed ... .” 822
F.2d at 627 & n.13 (citation omitted).
21
991, 595-96 (E.D. Mich. 1986); see also Anderson v. John
Morrell & Co., 830 F.2d 872, 876-77 (8th Cir. 1987); In re
White Farm Equip. Co., 788 F.2d 1186, 1190-93 (6th Cir.
1986) .°
III. Under ERISA, Plan Participants May Not Chal-
lenge Welfare Plan Provisions As Substantively
‘‘Unreasonable’’ or ‘‘Arbitrary’’.
In the courts below, petitioners argued that they
should receive severance benefits because their jobs with
Cropmate were ‘‘temporary’’ and not sufficiently seeure—
i.e., if they did not later purchase their retail outlet and
lease it back to Cropmate, there was a risk that Cropmate
might find another buyer who would in turn decide not to
retain the existing crop guide manager. The Petition ap-
parently advances the same contention in the guise of
claiming that petitioners were really not ‘‘offered jobs”’
by Cropmate. (The contention is otherwise unintelligible
given the undisputed fact that they were employed by
Cropmate.) Petitioners also advance a similar contention
in claiming that judicial review of the denial of severance
should consider whether ‘‘the sale contract between the
seller and purchaser binds the purchaser to offer con-
tinued benefits including severanee.’’ (Pet. at 17)
°Even apart from this reserved power to amend or abolish
the 1981 Severance Policy, petitioners’ ‘“contract’’ contention
ignores that there was no unilateral entitlement to severance
benefits under that Policy in any event. Rather, benefits under
the 1981 Policy depended upon a management decision to im-
plement the policy “for a particular employment reduction sit-
uation,” and further gave management discretion to designate
the eligible categories of employees if the Policy were imple-
mented. (Pet. App. at A5) While the F & P Policy changed the
eligibility criterion in the sale-of-facility situation to delete the
requirement that the job offered be ‘‘comparable,” it at the
Same time guaranteed severance to all employees who were not
offered jobs whereas there was no such guarantee under the
1981 Policy.
22
However, under the express terms of the F & P Sev-
erance Policy here, the applicable trigger for benefits is
only whether the individual employee was ‘‘offered a job’’
by a purchaser of his facility. The Policy’s criteria do
not include an analysis of the relative ‘‘security’’ of a
given job, nor the length of time the employee keeps a
new job, nor for what reasons an employee might subse-
quently choose to leave, or be forced to leave, the new job.
It contains no requirement that Amoco re-determine a
former employee’s right to severance benefits if his em-
ployment with the purchaser did not endure, or do so if
the cause of a subsequent employment termination was
not the result of the employee’s fault or choice.'
In these circumstances, petitioners’ ‘‘job security”’
contentions simply amount to a substantive attack on the
terms of the severance policy itself, implicitly claiming
that it ought to be more ‘‘finely tuned’’ to take such fac-
tors into account. However, ERISA does not require sev-
erance plans to include such additional factors and con-
siderations. The statute simply does ‘‘not regulate the
True, given the “unemployment compensation’ purpose
of severance pay, windfall gains and losses can occur in individ-
ual cases. A particular employee not offered a job by the pur-
chaser of his facility might have alternative employment already
arranged by the time of his termination with Amoco, or secure
alternative employment promptly thereafter, thus receiving sev-
erance pay but not really “needing” it in light of its purpose.
By contrast, another employee, although offered a job by the
purchaser, might lose the job for any number of reasons and
thus have a “need” for severance pay within a short time after
the sale. Such possibilities in particular cases notwithstanding,
however, Amoco chose and implemented an administratively
simple policy that did not require it to police the employees’
subsequent employment relationships with other employers or
to re-determine severance eligibility based upon future events.
Under the F & P Severance Policy, severance benefits are pay-
able or not depending upon a single fact at the time of sale
and termination of the employment relationship with Amoco—
whether the employee was offered a job by the purchaser.
23
substantive content of welfare-benefit plans.’’ Metropoli-
tan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 732 (1985).
The general ‘‘arbitrary and capricious”’ standard of
review employed by most circuits has frequently led plan
participants to challenge as ‘‘arbitrary’’ plan provisions
which result in ineligibility for benefits in particular cir-
cumstances. Such contentions misapprehend the role of
the courts and judicial review under ERISA. ERISA pro-
vides only for judicial review of the denial of a benefit
claim (whether under an ‘‘arbitrary and capricious’’ or
any other standard of review) given the terms of the bene-
fit plan. 29 U.S.C. §11382(a)(1)(B). Except in areas
where the statute imposes substantive requirements for
plans—and it contains no such requirements for welfare
benefit plans—participants may not challenge the terms
of the plan itself as ‘‘arbitrary’’ or ‘‘unreasonable.’’
Courts are not authorized to redraft plan eligibility re-
quirements to provide benefits for particular employees
based on claims of ‘‘unfairness,’’ to ‘‘better accomplish
the purpose’”’ of the benefit plan, or to avoid ‘‘harsh re-
sults’? caused by the application of an eligibility rule to
individual circumstances.
There is no disagreement among the circuits on these
principles. For example, in Moore v. Reynolds Metals
Co. Ret. Program, 740 F.2d 454 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. de-
nied, 469 U.S. 1109 (1985), a plan provision requiring a
five-month waiting period for disability retirement result-
ed in a loss of all retirement benefits by a dependent
spouse of an employee who became disabled but died before
the end of the waiting period. The court held that the
spouse eould not attack the plan provision as illegally
‘‘arbitrary and capricious’’:
24
[O]nce a plan is established and is governed by the
requirements of ERISA, courts may review a deci-
sion by trustees to deny benefits .... Such review,
however, is limited to a determination of whether the
trustees’ actions in administering or interpreting a
plan’s provisions are arbitrary and capricious... .
Courts ... have not been authorized by Congress to
impose upon employers the court’s subjective beliefs
concerning the relative value of benefits which em-
ployers have chosen voluntarily to confer upon em-
ployees.
740 F.2d at 457 (emphasis added; citations omitted). <Ac-
cord, e.g., Norman v. United Mine Workers of America
Health and Ret. Funds, 755 F.2d 509, 510 (6th Cir. 1985) ;
Sharron v. Amalgamated Ins. Agency Services, Inc., 704
F.2d 562, 569 (11th Cir. 1983); Torimino v. United Food
and Com. Workers Int’l Union Indus. Pension Fund, 548
F. Supp. 1012, 1014-15 (E.D. Mo. 1982), aff’d, 712 F.2d
882 (8th Cir. 1983); cf. United Mine Workers of America
Health & Ret. Funds v. Robinson, 455 U.S. 562, 573-76
(1982) (court has no authority under 29 U.S.C. § 186 to
review for substantive reasonableness terms of pension
plan created pursuant to collective bargaining agreement).
Accordingly, the courts below correctly rejected peti-
tioners’ contentions which implicitly challenge the substan-
tive content of the severance policy here. (Pet. App. at
A20-A21, A42) Claims by petitioners that their employ-
ment with Cropmate was ‘‘insecure’’ are legally imma-
terial under ERISA. Because they were in fact employed
by Cropmate, they are not eligible for severance under the
express terms of the Policy, notwithstanding any claim
that the plan’s term is ‘‘unreasonable”’ or ‘‘arbitrary”’ in
application to their ind: vidual situations.
Petitioners’ argument that they should receive sever-
ance from Amoco because Cropmate did not have a sever-
25
ance plan of its own suffers the same legal deficiencies.
Under the F & P Severance Policy, the criterion for sev-
erance is—and is only—whether the employee is offered
a job by a purchaser of the facility. There is no term pro-
viding that severance will be paid if the purchaser has no
severance plan and the employee loses his job in the future.
Under ERISA, that is the end of the matter. There is no
requirement that a benefit plan contain such additional
criteria.
IV. Plan Participants Are Not Entitled To Benefits
Contrary To The Terms Of The Plan Based On
Procedural ERISA Violations Which Caused No
Prejudice To Any Benefit Right Or Any Other
Substantive Harm.
Petitioners’ final argument, albeit confusingly inter-
spersed with their other contentions, is that they should
receive severance benefits because respondents violated
disclosure and other ‘‘procedural’? ERISA requirements.
This argument is based upon numerous ‘‘factual’’ asser-
tions contrary to the undisputed evidence of record and
is refuted by uniform case law from all cireuits which have
considered the issue.
The Petition asserts that ‘‘Respondents totally ig-
nored the ERISA mandates of disclosure and all other
applicable procedures, especially the provision of a mean-
ingful claims procedure as mandated in 29 U.S.C. § 1133.’
(Pet. at 17) This contention regarding the ‘‘claims pro-
cedure’? and ‘‘29 U.S.C. 4 1133’’ is squarely contradicted
by the terms of the F & P Severance Policy which, al-
though not quoted in the District Court’s opinion, estab-
lished the required procedure. It is also refuted by the
uncontradicted evidence, detailed in the District Court’s
opinion, demonstrating that petitioners’ claims for sever-
26
ance benefits were processed properly and in the ordinary
course. (See Pet. App. at A14-A16)
Petitioners also urge that they were not given a sum-
mary plan description for severance benefits as required
by 29 U.S.C. §§ 1022, 1024. However, the undisputed evi-
dence establishes that in early August, 1982, within days
after the divestiture plan was approved and the F & P
Severance Policy was created, petitioners were repeatedly
told, both orally and in writing, of the material facts—.e.,
that Amoco would try to sell the F & P Division and in
any event planned eventually to leave the business, that
severance benefits would be paid to employees who were
not offered employment by any purchaser of their facility,
and that severance would not be paid to employees who
were offered a job. See pp. 5-7, supra.
Amoco and Standard disagree with the Seventh Cir-
cuit’s statement that:
[T]he employees were not made aware that they were
now ineligible for benefits if they received any offer
of employment from a potential purchaser rather than
an offer of comparable employment, as previously set
forth in the 1981 severance policy. Nor did a iater
press release or a “Question and Answer” brochure
make this clear.
(Pet. App. at A29; emphasis in original). The written
documents specifically stated the material terms of the
F & P Severance Policy using the identical words: That
severance (1) would be paid to employees who were “not
offered employment” by a purchaser and (2) would not
be paid to employees who were “offered a job.” See pp.
5-7, supra. And as one of the petitioners testified, the em-
ployees were also orally told that:
[I}f you were offered a job with the new company
you wouldn’t receive severance, if you’re not offered
27
a job, you would receive. You wouldn’t receive if you
were offered a job, you would receive if you weren't.
In any event, petitioners’ submitted no evidence that,
after these oral and written disclosures in August, 1982,
any of them “misunderstood” the “job offer” rule and
believed that he would receive severance if he was not
offered a “comparable” job. Nor is there evidenee that
petitioners’ benefit rights were in any way prejudiced by
such a misunderstanding, or even that they continued their
employment with Amoco rather than leaving the eom-
pany based upon such a misunderstanding. Nor is there
evidence of any substantive harm or prejudice to peti-
tioners’ benefit rights based upon a failure to deseribe
the severance policy in a document entitled “summary plan
description.” (See Pet. App. at A21) In sueh cireum-
stances, the circuit courts of appeals have repeatedly and
consistently held that “procedural” defects in creating or
disclosing a severance benefit plan do not create a sub-
stantive entitlement to benefits. E.9., Simmons v. Diamond
Shamrock Corp., 844 F.2d 517, 524-25 (Sth Cir. 1988);
Adcock v. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co., 822 F.2d 623, 627
n.10 (6th Cir. 1987); Holland v. Burlington Indus., Inc.,
772 F.2d 1140, 1149-50 (4th Cir. 1985), aff'd, 477 U.S. 901,
cert. denied, 477 U.S. 903 (1986); Anderson v. Ciba-Geiay
Corp., 759 F.2d 1518, 1521 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 474
U.S. 995 (1985) ; Pabst Brewing Co. v. Anger, 610 F. Supp.
214, 216 (D. Minn. 1985), aff'd on basis of district court
opinion, 784 F.2d 338 (Sth Cir. 1986) ."!
"Because the cases cited above involved severance plans
which did not expressly address the ‘sale-of-business/subsequent
employment with the purchaser” situation, one issue presented
was whether the plan had been erroneously interpreted (i.e.,
(Continued on following page)
28
Petitioners argue the contrary based on Blau v. Del
Monte Corp., 748 F.2d 1348 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,
474 U.S. 865 (1985), but that case is inapposite and there
is no circuit split on this issue. First, in Blau, the em-
ployer had ‘‘flouted in... a wholesale and flagrant man-
ner’’ ‘‘virtually every applicable mandate of ERISA.’’
Id. at 1353. Among other things, the employees were
never told of the severance policy or its terms and it was
‘‘actively concealed’’ from them, they were never informed
of the decision to deny benefits, they were never told of a
procedure for filing a claim for benefits, and the plan in
fact had no such procedures. /d. at 1351-53. Not one of
those factors is presented in this case, let alone all of them.
Subsequent circuit decisions (including one by the
Ninth Cireuit which decided Blau) have confined the hold-
ing in Blau to such ‘‘wholesale and flagrant’’ violations of
ERISA. In Holland v. Burlington Indus., for example,
employees who were given a ‘‘general statement of [the
severance] policy’’ and ‘‘promptly informed .. . that sev-
erance pay was not available’’ when the business was sold,
were not entitled to severance benefits on the basis of
“procedural violations.” 772 F.2d at 1149-50. Accord,
(Continued from previous page)
whether the participants were entitled to benefits under the
terms of the plan). In that context, certain of those cases con-
sidered whether “procedural” ERISA violations justified depart-
ure from the “arbitrary and capricious” standard of review. See
Holland, 772 F.2d at 1149; Anderson, 759 F.2d at 1521. The
latter issue is similar to the one before this Court in Firestone
v. Bruch, No. 87-1054. For the reason stated in Part |, supra,
no such issue is fairly presented in this case. Here, the F & P
Severance Pclicy expressly addresses the “sale-of-business” sit-
uation and expressly provides that employees who are offered
a job by a purchaser are ineligible for severance. Hence, peti-
tioners here are not entitled to benefits unless a procedural
ERISA violation which causes no prejudice or injury permits
plan participants to override the terms of their benefit plan.
29
e.g., Simmons v. Diamond Shamrock, 844 F.2d at 524-25;
Anderson v. Ciba-Geigy, 759 F.2d at 1521-23; Jung v.
FMC Corp., 755 F.2d 708, 714-15 (9th Cir. 1985).
Second, in Blau, the severance policy did not address
the ‘‘sale of business’’ situation and bar benefits to em-
ployees who went to work for a purchaser. Hence the issue
was whether the plan administrator had erroneously in-
terpreted the policy to ‘‘impose[] ... standards not re-
quired [by its terms]. 748 F.2d at 1354-55. In this case,
by contrast, the ‘‘job offer’’ eligibility condition appears
on the face of the F & P Severance Policy.
Nothing in Blau (or any other case) suggests that
procedural ERISA violations which cause no substantive
harm permit plan participants to override the express
terms of the benefit plan. To the contrary, the Blau court
noted that under ERISA, a court on review ‘‘has no au-
thority to [re|draft the substantive content of [welfare
benefit] plans.’’ Jd. at 1353. See also, id. at 1354 n.2.
And as that same court held in a later case, under ERISA:
Procedural defects do not necessarily require sub-
stantive remedies. A substantive remedy would be
appropriate only if the procedural defects caused a
substantive violation or themselves worked a substan-
tive harm.
Ellenburg v. Brockway, Inc., 763 F.2d 1091, 1096 (9th Cir.
1985) (citations omitted).
i)
30
CONCLUSION
The decision below is correct and conforms with the
uniform view among the circuits on each of the issues
fairly presented by this case. The Petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
STaNn ey C. Fickie*
CuHar.es E. Bruess
OF
Barnes & THORNBURG
1313 Merchants Bank Building
11 South Meridian Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
Telephone: (317) 638-1313
*Counsel of Record for Respondents
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.