Petitioners Brief — California v. Krivda

Supreme Court brief1972

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

October Term, 1972 S72

No. 71-651 JUL 10

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

vs.

JupiTH H. KRrivpa and RopGER T. MINoR,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court

of the State of California

PETITIONER’S OPENING BRIEF

J EVELLE J. YOUNGER,

Attorney General of the State

of California,

EDWARD A. HINZ, JR.,

Chief Assistant Attorney General—

Criminal Division,

WILLIAM E. JAMES,

Assistant Attorney General—

Appeals Section,

S. CLARK MOORE,

RUSSELL IUNGERICH,

WILLIAM R. POUNDERS,

Deputy Attorneys General,

600 State Building,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90012,

(213) 620-2782,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

SESE © EEEET tae TO ae, SO |

EEF aR A 2

FE I EE DO 2

Constitutional Provisions Involved .......................... 2

EE 9 ean ee 3

eee Oe Oe 3

ne ON TU id ce seeeccetasoines 5

Summary of Argument ......................-2:ccccceeceoeeeeceee 8

NN sass inatcmhscobadaNsicchnbiinpeeconiesiishinsinencoceliods 10

After the Contents of Respondents’ Trash Barrels

Had Been Deposited in the Well of the Trash

Truck, the Discovery and Seizure of the Dis-

carded Contraband Did Not Violate the Fourth

Amendment Rights of Respondents ................ 10

A. No Issue of Search and Seizure Cognizable

Under the Fourth Amendment Arises

From Police Examination of Abandoned

SOOO EEE RHEE EEE EEE EE EEE EEE EERE EEE EE eee

B. Respondents Have No Reasonable Expec-

tation of Privacy With Respect to Their

PIT TN base toiloerieectatcneisinae

II

The Exclusionary Rule Should Not Be Applied

Under the Circumstances of the Present Case . 33

Page

A. The Exclusionary Rule Has Proved Inef-

fective as a Safeguard of Fourth Amend-

ment Rights While Diverting Critical Re-

sources From the Major Goals of the

NE IN Stncnctiencerirtecestennernnescces 34

Application of the Exclusionary Rule

Should Be Limited to Those Circum-

stances Which Gave Rise to the Need for

—_

iii.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Abel v. United States, 362 U.S. 217 (1960) ............

AER Ess MEOMPAP SE PASEO OR OS OT eee 8, 12, 16, 33

Alderman v. United States, 394 U.S. 179 .000000000...... 22

Berger v. New York, 388 U.S. 41 (1967) ....21, 40, 51

Bivens v. Six’ Unknown Named Agents of Fed.

Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971) ....36, 40

Brinegar v. United States, 338 U.S. 160 (1949) ...... 49

Burnett v. Coronado Oil & Gas Co., 285 U.S. 393

| REET ES OLE Oh NE TORE Oe TI 38

Burton v. United States, 272 F.2d 473 (9th Cir.

1959), cert. den., 362 U.S. 951 (1960) ............ 13

Caldwell v. United States, 338 F.2d 385 (9th Cir.

1964), cert. den., 380 U.S. 984 (1965) ............ 13

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523 (1967)

Care v. United States, 231 F.2d 22 (10th Cir.), cert.

GU, Berk Wi Fe CITGO) oocrslcicerccvcreweceviveccs 19, 26

Clarke v. Neil, 427 F.2d 1322 (6th Cir. 1970) ..28, 29

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 ....40, 52

Corngold v. United States, 367 F.2d 1 (9th Cir.

IT eistsesischdsh dseialielicieeniisiotahaindaheieduantnctinnscanintins 13

Crandall v. Woods, 8 Cal. 136 (1857) .00000..0000...... 51

Croker v. State, 477 P.2d 122 (Wyo. 1970) ............ 17

Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S. 206 (1960) ..

Ellis v. Brown, 177 F.2d 677 (6th Cir. 1949) ....... 15

Foulke v. New York Consol. R. Co., 228 N.Y. 267,

gs Fe SAA Ee 15

iv.

Page

Francis v. Southern Pacific Co., 333 U.S. 445

Gg) en BRO RD MUU a Fe Eh nS SRO Ae 38, 39

Hannah v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420 (1960) .............. 45

Hester v. United States, 265 U.S. 57 (1924) ...... 11, 12

Hill v. California, 401 U.S. 797 (1971) .00..0000..... 51

Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S. 293 (1966) ...... 8, 29

Irvine v. California, 347 U.S. 128 (1954) ........ 36, 48

Jackson v. State, 235 So.2d 382 (Ala. Crim. App.

1970) ....... sie 13

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) ..........

we 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 30

Liaise v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965) .......... 34

Linscomb v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 199 F.2d

431 (8th Cir. 1952) ... a ae

Lopez v. United States, 373 U.S. 427 (1963) .......... 21

Mancusi v. De Forte, 392 U.S. 364 (1968) ..14, 22, 43

Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) ....0.0....

PRS NERS LAA RRR AE 34, 39, 41, 43, 44, 45, 47

Marcus v. Search Warrant, 367 U.S. 717 (1961) .. 42

Marullo v. United States, 328 F.2d 361 (5th Cir.),

cert. den., 379 U.S. 850 (1964) ou... eeeeeee- 17

McNabb v. United States, 318 U.S. 332 (1943) .... 47

People v. Cahan, 44 Cal. 2d 434, 282 P.2d 905

Ng had Bee EE Se ESA a 43, 48

People v. Edwards, 71 Cal. 2d 1096, 80 Cal. Rptr.

633, 458 P.2d 713 (1969) ..............4.....18, 19, 20

People v. Ingle, 53 Cal. 2d 407, 2 Cal. Rptr. 14,

PE Pe OTE CAPO ccd iiticdvcb dite deciisihoandiactntics 5]

People v. Krivda, 5 Cal. 3d 357, 96 Cal. Rptr. 62,

486 P.2d 1262 (1971) .00000..... 1, 4, 10, 27, 28

Vv.

People v. Krivda, 91 Cal. Rptr. 219 (1970) ..........

People v. Lopez, 22 App. Div. 2d 813, 254 N.Y.S.

RRP iti adipasonrehihcnidinithntiaie nt iiehitiepesnnsiie nines

See v. City of Seattle, 387 U.S. 541 oy

Silverman v. United States, 365 U.S. 505 (1961) ..

Cepek real cits ipatintiel a Liiisincqnianieneean ss iecetenininlolnasceiceces As

Stanford v. Texas, 379 U.S. 476 (1965) ................

State v. Bisaccia, 58 N.J. 586, 279 A.2d 675 (1971)

Al ak aaa alltada ES i

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) cecccccccccoo----- 22,

Trupiano v. United States, 334 U.S. 699 (1948) ....

United States v. Cowen, 396 F.2d 83 (2nd Cir.

ue

United States v. Dzialak, 441 F.2d 212 (2nd Cir.

RRS Saat Ror one ae :

REGRESS st ERS AE RY See eR 13, 16,

ERR SII TE, ee OT ae AO OO

United States v. Minker, 312 F.2d 632 (3rd Cir.

1962), cert. den., 372 U.S. 953 (1963) ..15, 16,

United States v. Robinson, 430 F.2d 1141 (6th Cir.

UT 1st secicetivagihcahtinall Sdatdtetisieathdinininbteeiselairatanibianiiinns

CEES ICN Cea eS

United States v. White, 401 U.S. 745 (1971) ....23

Vale v. Louisiana, 399 U.S. 30 (1970) ..................

Warden v. Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967) ..13, 14,

vi.

Page

Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914) ........ 42

Wolf v. Colorado, 338 U.S. 25 (1949) ..39, 43, 45, 48

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963) .. 24

Work v. United States, 243 F.2d 660 (D.C. Cir.

eg ib ae AT RE EEN 17, 18, 19, 20, 31

| Constitutional Provisions

United States Constitution, Fourth Amendment ......

...-2, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 20, 21, 22,

....23, 24, 25, 26, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 37,

Paes eS 39, 40, 41, 42, 44, 45, 48, 49, 51, 52, 53

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment

icici cma ia a NERO 2! 34, 39, 41, 43, 44, 45, 47

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment,

Sec. 1 3

Statutes

California Health and Safety Code, Sec. 11530 .. 3

California Penal Code, Sec. 995 —

California Penal Code, Sec. 1238 ..................... 4

California Penal Code, Sec. 1538.5 ............ 3

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1257(3) .............. 2

Rule

California Rules of Court, Rule 28 .......................... l

Articles

Barrett, Exclusion of Evidence Obtained by Illegal

Searches—A Comment on People v. Cahan, 43

California Law Review 565 (1955) .................... 50

Burger, Who Will Watch the Watchman?, 14 Amer-

ican University Law Review (1964) ................

vii.

Page

Burns, Mapp v. Ohio: An All-American Mistake, 19

DePaul Law Review 80 (1969) ...0....000.cccccccc. 50

Cox, The Decline of the Exclusionary Rule: An Al-

ternative to Injustice, 4 Southwestern University

Ber Review GE C1DTZ) oo. i ck ccccccccccdecccccecected 40-41

Douglas, Stare Decisis, 49 Columbia Law Review

NE WY necks bitte ie ES i IO 2s 39

Friendly, The Bill of Rights as a Code of Criminal

Procedure, 53 California Law Review 929 (1965)

Horowitz, Excluding the Exclusionary Rule—Can

There Be an Effective Alternative, 47 Los Angeles

DN INES PE CRP ODED oiseiso en pensscdseressncccvesescacecees 41

La Fave & Remington, Controlling the Police: The

Judge’s Role in Making and Reviewing Law En-

forcement Decisions, 63 Michigan Law Review

GRAS PRCA TES WEG RR 38

Mascolo, The Role of Abandonment in the Law of

Search and Seizure: An Application of Mis-

directed Emphasis, 20 Buffalo Law Review 399

ID Aa idke icicles daiciiabiianappientiia conmetapaieetooe 13, 14

Note, From Private Places to Personal Privacy: A

Post-Katz Study of Fourth Amendment Protection,

43 New York University Law Review 968 (1968)

IAAL debbie subi bith inslbbahniatiidinapiontione balelisinierapanioriieebeabes en 25, 30

Oakes, Studying the Exclusionary Rule in Search

and Seizure, 37 University of Chicago Law Review

BE ETE E | Licthaiesespiibinlnnnedisntvwehearnbneee 35, 37, 38, 41

Waite, Judges and the Crime Burden, 54 Michigan

MUU DOU C BUNID. cove cevcnevcoucascsconscentceecsee 43

Wright, Must the Criminal Go Free if the Constable

Blunders?, 50 Texas Law Review 736 (1972) .... 50

viii.

Miscellaneous Page

ALI, Model Code of Pre-Arrangement Procedure,

(Tent. Draft No. 4, 1971), Sec. SS 8.02(2), p.

23 . §2

Hufstedler, “The Directions and Mis-Directions of a

Constitutional Right of Privacy,” Twenty-Eighth

Annual Benjamin N. Cardozo Lecture, Associa-

tion of the Bar of the City of New York, May 11,

_, OS) ee 44

Report of the President's Commission on Law En-

forcement and Administration of Justice, The

Challenge of Crime in a Free Society (1967), p.

99

Report of the Task Force on Law and Law Enforce-

ment to the National Commission on the Causes

and Prevention of Violence, Law and Order Re-

Task Force Report: The Police (1967), p. 126

8 Wigmore on Evidence (McNaughton ed. 1961),

Sec. 2184, pp. 41-52

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1972

No. 71-651

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, Petitioner

JupitH H. Krivoa and Ropcer T. Minor,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court

of the State of California

PETITIONER’S OPENING BRIEF

Opinion Below

The opinion of the California Supreme Court is re-

ported as People v. Krivda, 5 Cal. 3d 357, 96 Cal.

Rptr. 62, 486 P.2d 1262 (1971). A copy of this

opinion is set forth as Appendix A to the Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari.

The prior opinion of the California Court of Ap-

peal, Second Appellate District, Division One is re-

ported as People v. Krivda, 91 Cal. Rptr. 219 (1970).

The Court of Appeal opinion was superseded when the

California Supreme Court granted a hearing pursuant

to Rule 28 of the California Rules of Court. Conse-

quently the Court of Appeal opinion appears only in

the unofficial reports. A copy of the Court of Appeal

Opinion is set forth as Appendix C to the Petition for

~2--

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the California Supreme Court was

filed on July 12, 1971, that court entering a further

order on August 16, 1971, denying petitioner’s petition

for rehearing and application for stay of the remittitur.

(Petn. for Cert., Apps. A & B.) The Petition for Writ

of Certiorari was filed November 12, 1971, and was

granted April 3, 1972. The jurisdiction of this Court

rests on 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).

Questions Presented

1. Whether a person who deposits contraband in a

trash receptacle which he places on public property

adjacent to a street, for the purpose of removal by a

municipal trash collector, exhibits a reasonable expecta-

tion of privacy that such contraband will not be viewed

inside the bin of a garbage truck at some distance from

the place of pickup and prior to the commingling of

the contraband with the trash of other persons?

2. Whether, in any event, application of the ex-

clusionary rule is constitutionally compelled under the

circumstances of the present case?

Constitutional Provisions Involved

United States Constitution, Amendment IV:

“The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against un-

reasonable searches and seizures, shall not be vio-

lated, and no warrants shall issue, but upon prob-

able cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and

particularly describing the place to be searched,

and the persons or things to be seized.”

— we

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV, section

1, in relevant part:

“No State shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of cit-

izens of the United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor deny to any per-

son within, its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.”

Statement of the Case

A. History of the Case

On September 18, 1968, the District Attorney of Los

Angeles County filed an information in the Superior

Court of the State of California for the County of Los

Angeles charging respondents Judith H. Krivda and

Rodger T. Minor with possession of marijuana in viola-

tion of section 11530 of the California Health and

Safety Code. (App. p. 2.) Respondents’ motion to

set aside the information pursuant to California Penal

Code section 995 was denied. (App. p. 3.) Respond-

ents thereafter entered pleas of not guilty. (App. p. 4.)

Respondents’ motion to suppress evidence pursuant

to California Penal Code section 1538.5 was submitted

on the transcript of the preliminary hearing’ and on

further testimony adduced at a hearing on that motion.”

(App. pp. 5-6.) The motion to suppress evidence was

denied at the conclusion of the hearing held on Oc-

tober 24, 1969. (App. p. 6.) On December 12, 1969,

'The Reporter's Transcript of the preliminary examination is

set forth verbatim at pages 10-76 of the Appendix.

"The transcript of the additional testimony presented at the

hearing on the motion to suppress evidence is set forth at pages

77-83 of the Appendix.

“ian

the trial court, with the same judge presiding, permitted

the respondents to reopen their motion to suppress evi-

dence. On the basis of the same evidence and arguments

previously presented, the trial court reversed its ruling

and granted the motion to suppress evidence. On peti-

tioners’ representation that no other additional evidence

existed, and on the court’s own motion, the action was

dismissed in the interests of justice. (App. p. 7.)

Petitioner appealed to the California Court of Ap-

peal, pursuant to California Penal Code section 1238,

subdivision 7,’ from the order of the superior court

suppressing evidence and dismissing this cause. (App.

p. 8.) On November 16, 1970, Division One of the

California Court of Appeal for the Second Appellate

District reversed the judgment and order of the superior

court in an opinion set forth in Appendix C to the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

The California Supreme Court granted respondents’

petition for hearing and, in a 4-3 decision rendered on

July 12, 1971, affirmed the superior court’s judgment

of dismissal and order suppressing the evidence. People

v. Krivda, 5 Cal. 3d 357, 96 Cal. Rptr. 62, 486 P.2d

1262 (1971). (See App. A, Petn. for Cert.) On Au-

gust 16, 1971, the California Supreme Court denied

petitioner’s petition for rehearing and application for

stay of the remittitur. (See App. B, Petn. for Cert.)

*Penal Code section 1238 provides:

“An appeal may be taken by the people from any of

ps hoses o8

“

“7, An order dismissing a case prior to trial made upon

motion of the court pursuant to Section 1385 whenever such

order is based upon an order granting defendant’s motion

to return or suppress ee ee me 8 ee

hearing as provided in this code. .

—_ a

B. Statement of Facts

On July 1, 1968, Officer Stephen C. Gates of the

Los Angeles Police Department received a telephone

call from an anonymous female informant who told

him that “Rodger” and “Judy” were engaging in nar-

cotic activities, i.e., smoking marijuana and injecting

methedrine. (App. pp. 12-13.) The informant indi-

cated that there were many sex parties at their 1901

Nolden residence in Los Angeles and that a Lesbian

named “Frankie” was living there. The informant also

indicated that both Rodger and Judy were injecting

the two children who resided at that location with

methedrine. The informant said that she had heard

this from Judy, who said she enjoyed the effects of

methedrine and that she also wanted her children to

experience the feeling of being under the influence

of methedrine. (App. pp. 12-13.)

After receiving this information, Officer Gates and

his partner, Officer William Marsden, located the ad-

dress and observed two young female children in front

of the premises. Officer Gates then ran a utility check

which indicated that Judy Krivda was paying for the

utilities at 1901 Nolden. (App. pp. 13, 48.) Officer

Gates also checked criminal records with the Los An-

geles Police Department and determined that three in-

dividuals with the last name of Krivda had been ar-

rested in Los Angeles. Upon further investigation Of-

ficer Gates discovered that one of these individuals,

Edward Joseph Krivda, had a wife named Judy. (App.

p. 13.) The records also indicated that Edward Joseph

Krivda had been arrested for possession of dangerous

drugs for sale and also for sale of dangerous drugs.

(App. p. 14.)

ae aan

At about 11 a.m. on July 9, 1968, Officer Gates

and his partner returned to the vicinity of 1901 Nolden.

The residence at that address was a single family

dwelling. (App. p. 14.) From their vantage point, the

officers observed several trash barrels directly in front

of the house at 1901 Nolden. (App. pp. 14-15, 17.)

The trash barrels were in the parkway adjacent to the

sidewalk, thirty to forty yards from the house. (App.

pp. 17, 28.) The home adjacent to 1901 Nolden was

approximately twenty feet down the hill. (App. p.

15.)

The officers observed refuse collectors approximately

a block away from the house at 1901 Nolden. (App.

p. 14.) Officer Gates stopped the collectors approxi-

mately half a block west of the premises. (App. pp.

14, 18.) After identifying himself as a police officer,

Officer Gates told the trash collectors that he was in-

terested in looking at the contents of the trash barrels

in front of 1901 Nolden. (App. pp. 14-18.) He asked

them to empty the well of their truck, to pick up the

trash in front of the house at 1901 Nolden, and then

to meet Officer Gates and his partner approximately

one block north of the location. (App. pp. 14, 18,

70.)

Officer Gates observed the refuse collectors drive

their truck to the front of the premises at 1901 Nolden.

He observed them go to the back of the truck, take the

trash barrels, place the contents of the trash barrels

in the well, and then drive north to where he and

Officer Marsden were waiting. Officer Gates had ex-

amined the well of the trash truck prior to the empty-

ing of these specific garbage cans into the well. There

had been no refuse at all in the well prior to the

emptying of the garbage cans at 1901 Nolden. Officer

- ee a

Gates did not observe the collectors empty any other

garbage cans into the well of the truck between the

time they placed the trash from those cans into the

well and the time the truck arrived at his location.

(App. pp. 18-19.)

When Officer Gates examined the contents of the

well of the trash truck, he observed approximately five

brown paper sacks among the refuse. Upon examining

the sacks, he found that they contained what appeared

to be marijuana debris and marijuana seeds. (App.

p. 19.) In one of the bags, Officer Gates found ap-

proximately four to six partially burned marijuana cig-

arettes. (App. pp. 20, 57.) Also among the contents in

the well of the trash truck, Officer Gates found an

envelope with the name Edward Krivda and the ad-

dress 1901 Nolden, a handwritten letter with the name

Frankie mentioned in it, and a three-by-five card with

the names Rodger and Judy written on it. (App. pp.

20-21.)

After Officer Gates had examined the contents of the

well of the trash truck, he went back to his former

vantage point. There he observed respondent Rodger

Minor come from the premises at 1901 Nolden and

pick up the trash barrels which had contained the

marijuana debris. Respondent Minor, wearing only a

towel around his waist, took the trash barrels to the

front porch of the house. (App. pp. 21-22, 81.)

At this point Officer Gates and his partner re-

quested the assistance of a uniformed sergeant. The

uniformed officer and Officer Gates approached the

front of the premises while Officer Marsden positioned

himself at the rear. When respondent Minor met Of-

ficer Gates at the front door, Officer Gates placed him

under arrest for possession of marijuana. (App. pp.

a

22, 40, 43.) The officers then effected entry, discoy-

ered respondent Krivda in the residence, and recovered

additional marijuana and paraphernalia. (App. pp. 23-

25, 46.)

Summary of Argument

When the police examined the respondents’ trash

in the well of the trash truck parked a block away

from respondents’ home, the trash was abandoned

property. The respondents’ acts of (1) discarding the

trash into their trash barrels and (2) then placing the

trash barrels on the parkway for collection unambigu-

ously demonstrated the requisite intent to abandon. It

is well established that “There can be nothing unlaw-

ful in the Government’s appropriation of abandoned

property.” Abel v. United States, 362 U.S. 217, 241

(1960).

Furthermore, the respondents had no “reasonable

expectation of privacy” either as to the location of the

search or as to the items seized from the trash. The

well of a trash truck parked a block away from

respondents’ home is not within those areas immediate-

ly adjacent to the home which are protected by the

Fourth Amendment. After the barrels were placed on

the parkway, their contents were subject to numerous

risks of public exposure. Respondents had also given

the trash collector such complete and unrestricted con-

trol over their trash that they may be said to have

accepted the risk that he might permit the police to

examine the contents of their trash barrels. The Fourth

Amendment does not protect “. . . a wrongdoer’s mis-

placed belief that a person to whom he confides his

wrongdoing will not reveal it.” Hoffa v. United States,

385 U.S. 293, 302 (1966). There is no indication

that society generally expects garbage to remain pri-

ee be

vate after it has come to rest in the well of a trash

truck. To extend Fourth Amendment protection to the

trash abandoned by respondents would elevate the trash

barrel to the status of a constitutional sanctuary for the

concealment and disposal of evidence of crime.

Apart from the question of whether the Fourth

Amendment protects a right of privacy in one’s trash,

this case raises the issue of whether the exclusionary

rule should have any application to the type of police

conduct involved here. The law at the time of the

search clearly permitted the appropriation of abandoned

property. The exclusionary rule should not be used

to discipline police officers who have attempted to act

within the constitutional limits of the Fourth Amend-

ment. The entire deterrent rationale of the exclusionary

rule is open to serious question which may require its

abandonment. Short of a complete reconsideration of

the wisdom of retaining the exclusionary rule, petition-

er proposes that the rule be limited to flagrant violations

of the Fourth Amendment where the conduct of the

police is truly lawless.

ae

ARGUMENT

I

After the Contents of Respondents’ Trash Barrels Had

Been Deposited in the Well of the Trash Truck,

the Discovery and Seizure of the Discarded Contra-

band Did Not Violate the Fourth Amendment

Rights of Respondents

In sustaining the trial court’s suppression of evi-

dence in this case, the California Supreme Court held

that the conduct of the police officers in examining

respondents’ trash after it had been transferred from

the barrels on the curb to the well of the trash truck

contravened the Fourth Amendment’s prohibition against

unreasonable searches and seizures. The court rejected

petitioner’s argument that trash, as abandoned prop-

erty, was not within the scope of Fourth Amendment

protection. People v. Krivda, 5 Cal. 3d 357, 365-66,

96 Cal. Rptr. 62, 68, 486 P.2d 1262, 1268 (1971).

Instead, the court rested its decision on the premise

that respondents Krivda and Minor “. . . had a

reasonable expectation that their trash would not be

rummaged through and picked over by police officers

without a search warrant.” People v. Krivda, 5 Cal.

3d at 367, 96 Cal. Rptr. at 68, 468 P.2d at 1268.

This conclusion departs from established constitutional

principles governing the appropriation of abandoned

property and represents an unjustified extension of

the privacy interests protected by the Fourth Amend-

ment.

_—

A. No Issue of Search and Seizure Cognizable Under the

Fourth Amendment Arises From Police Examination of

Abandoned Trash

There have been only two prior occasions when this

Court has examined the concept of abandoned prop-

erty in relation to the law of search and seizure. In

both instances, this Court concluded that the exclu-

sionary proscriptions of the Fourth Amendment were

inapplicable to the seizure of the items found to have

been abandoned by a criminal defendant.

The first case in which this Court dealt with aban-

doned property in the context of search and seizure was

Hester v. United States, 265 U.S. 57 (1924). In that

case, this Court held that revenue officers had properly

retrieved several containers of illegally distilled whiskey

which they had seen petitioner and one Hender-

son discard in an open field as they were attempting

to flee from the federal officers. Writing for the Court,

Mr. Justice Holmes, in disposing of the claim of illegal

search and seizure, stated:

“The officers had no warrant for search or arrest,

and it is contended that this made their evidence

inadmissible, it being assumed, on the strength of

the pursuing officer’s saying that he supposed they

were on Hester’s land, that such was the fact. It is

obvious that even if there had been a trespass, the

above testimony was not obtained by an illegal

search or seizure. The defendant’s own acts, and

those of his associates, disclosed the jug, the

jar and the bottle—and there was no seizure in the

sense of the law when the officers examined the

contents of each after it had been abandoned.

.. .” Hester v. United States, supra, 265 U.S. at

58.

~ .

Mr. Justice Holmes then went on to hold that the

protection given to “ ‘persons, houses, papers, and ef.-

fects,’ did not extend to the open fields.” Id. at 59.

Although the “open fields” doctrine was tendered as

an alternative basis for the Court’s decision in Hester,

that decision was the origin of the principle that no

seizure in Fourth Amendment terms resulted from the

recovery of abandoned property by government

agents.

Subsequently, in Abel v. United States, 362 US.

217 (1960), this Court relied upon Hester as having

firmly established that principle in the law of search

and seizure. The issue of abandoned property in Abel

arose out of the search of the petitioner’s hotel room

immediately after he had paid his bill and had vacated

the room. An F.B.I. agent, who conducted the search

of the hotel room, found a hollowed-out pencil and a

wooden biock containing a “cipher pad” in a wastepaper

basket. These items were subsequently used as evi-

dence at petitioner’s trial for conspiracy to commit

espionage. With respect to the seizure of these items,

Mr. Justice Frankfurter wrote for the Court:

“Nor was it unlawful to seize the entire contents

of the wastepaper basket, even though some of its

contents had no connection with crime. So far as

the record shows, petitioner had abandoned these

articles. He had thrown them away. So far as he

was concerned, they were bona vacantia. There

can be nothing unlawful in the Government’s ap-

propriation of such abandoned property. See Hes-

ter v. United States, 265 U.S. 57, 58... .”

Id. at 241.

Hester and Abel thus established the guiding prin-

ciple that one’s personal right to Fourth Amendment

protection of property against unreasonable search an

_— oe

seizure is lost when that property is abandoned. See

United States v. Edwards, 441 F.2d 749, 752 (Sth

Cir. 1971). The owner of personal property brings his

right of privacy to an end by abandoning the property.

Corngold v. United States, 367 F.2d 1, 7 (9th Cir.

1966). When property has been abandoned, there is no

issue of search and seizure within the meaning ascribed

to those terms in the context of the Fourth Amendment.

Burton v. United States, 272 F.2d 473, 476-77 (9th

Cir. 1959), cert. denied, 362 U.S. 951 (1960); Jack-

son v. State, 235 So.2d 382, 385 (Ala. Crim. App.

1970); People v. Lopez, 22 App. Div. 2d 813, 254

N.Y.S. 2d 806 (1964). See also Caldwell v. United

States, 338 F.2d 385, 388 (9th Cir. 1964), cert. de-

nied, 380 U.S. 984 (1965). Thus, the inspection or

examination of abandoned property by police offi-

cers is not a search, and the appropriation of such

property may be effected without probable cause.

See Mascolo, The Role of Abandonment in the Law

of Search and Seizure: An Application of Misdirected

Emphasis, 20 Buff. L. Rev. 399, 401 (1971).

In analyzing whether the trash discarded by re-

spondents was abandoned property not subject to

Fourth Amendment protection, it is instructive to

examine the concept of abandonment as it has been

developed in the law of property. At the outset, one is

cautioned that “Inherent Fourth Amendment rights are

not inevitably measurable in terms cof ancient niceties

of tort or real property law. . . .” Silverman v. United

States, 365 U.S. 505, 511 (1961). The principal ob-

ject of the Fourth Amendment is the protection of

privacy rather than property, and this Court has in-

creasingly discarded fictional and procedural barriers

resting on property concepts. Warden v. Hayden, 387

(1969). Although

the capacity to claim Fourth Amendment protection

does not depend upon 4a property right in a place

subjected to governmental intrusion, Mancusi v. De

Forte, 392 US. 364, 368 (1968), this Court has never

held that a defendant may object to the seizure absent

some connection between the defendant and the

items seized at some point in time. One commentator

ps

The New York Court of Appeals has formulated the

test of abandonment, as a property law concept, in the

followang terms:

. The abandonment of property is the re-

linquishing of all title, possession, or claim to or of

it—a virtual intentional throwing away of it. It

is not presumed. Proof supporting it must be direct

or affirmative or reasonably beget the exclusive

inference of throwing away... .” Foulke v. New

York Consol. R. Co., 228 N.Y. 267, 273, 127 N.E.

237, 238 (1920).

Abandonment has also been defined as “the relinquish-

ment of a right or of property with the intention of

not reclaiming it or reassuming its ownership or en-

joyment.” Ellis v. Brown, 177 F.2d 677, 679 (6th Cir.

1949).

Abandonment has been held to be largely a

question of intent which, in turn, is a question of fact.

United States v. Minker, 312 F.2d 632, 634 (3d Cir.

1962), cert. denied, 372 US. 953 (1963). An in-

tention to abandon may not be inferred “if the conduct

of the owner can be explained consistently with a con-

tinued claim.” Linscomb v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber

Co., 199 F.2d 431, 435 (8th Cir. 1952). Although

abandonment will not be presumed, the intent of one

in possession of property often cannot be directly

shown but must be inferred from his actions. See

United States v. Robinson, 430 F.2d 1141, 1143 (6th

Cir. 1970). Abandonment does not require perform-

ance of any particular ritual, and it may be inferred

from an unambiguous act of intentional discard. See

United States v. Cowen, 396 F.2d 83, 87 (2d Cir.

1968).*

~ Less proot be required to establish an abandonment in

the content of Fourth Amendment Amendment protections than would be re-

:

cod

—

Under these rules, the respondents’ act of discarding

contraband into their trash barrels was an act from

which one may reasonably infer an intent to abandon.

This conduct was inconsistent with any continued claim

over the items placed in the trash can. The only reason-

able conclusion inferable from the fact that items have

been placed in a wastepaper basket or a trash can is

that they have been thrown away and hence

abandoned.

This Court's opinion in Abel v. United States, supra,

implicitly recognizes the validity of drawing an infer-

ence of abandonment from a defendant's act of de-

paper basket or a garbage can. United States v.

Daialak, 441 F.2d 212, 215 (2d Cir. 1971) (seizure

of items from trash left between sidewalk and street

in front of appellant's home); United States v. Stroble,

431 F.2d 1273, 1276 (6th Cir. 1970) (items seized

ee...

(1968) (police examined items removed by maid

in usual course of cleaning a hotel room). Other

cases reach the same result by holding that a defendant

has no reasonable expectation of privacy in garbage

deposited in a public receptacle or turned over to the

trash collector. United States v. Jackson, 448 F.2d 963,

971 (9th Cir. 1971) (seizure of items of evidence

from a public trash can outside of defendants’ motel

room); Croker v. State, 477 P.2d 122, 125 (Wyo.

1970) (police examined contents of garbage collector's

barrel after defendant's garbage had been removed

from his garbage cans).° Cf. Marullo v. United States,

328 F.2d 361, 363 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 379 US.

850 (1964) (motel occupant had no right of privacy

as to stolen money orders removed from top of brick

pillar supporting the motel cabin).

Apart from the decision of the court below in this

case, there appear to be only two cases which have

rejected an inference of abandonment from the act of

depositing articles in a trash can. The first of these

cases was Work v. United States, 243 F.2d 660, 662-

63 (D.C. Cir. 1957), in which then Circuit Judge

Burger dissented. In Work police officers removed a

under the front porch of the defendant’s house. Upon

coming to the defendant’s house, the officers had ob-

anni Dis

as if putting something into it. The Court of Appeals

held that the articles seized were not abandoned so

as to lose the protection of the home provided by the

Fourth Amendment. The court stated:

“.. . The trash receptacle in which the phial

was found was in close proximity to the house.

It was an adjunct to the domestic use of the home

by appellant. It was within the curtilage or ‘gen-

eral enclosure surrounding the dwelling.’” Work

v. United States, supra, 243 F.2d at 662 (citations

omitted ).

The Court of Appeals found to be immaterial the

fact that the receptacle might have been partially

visible from the street. It further held that the placing

of the phial in the trash receptacle was not to be

construed “‘as an abandonment of the phial unless to

persons impliedly or expressly authorized to remove

the receptacle’s contents, such as the trashmen, for

purposes of destruction. ...’” Id. at 663.

The second case rejecting an inference of abandon-

ment as to the contents of trash can is a prior decision

by the same court that decided the instant case below.

People v. Edwards, 71 Cal. 2d 1096, 80 Cal. Rptr.

633, 458 P.2d 713 (1969). In Edwards, the California

Supreme Court adopted the reasoning of Work yv.

United States, supra, and held that the placement of

marijuana in a trash can located within a few feet

within the back door of defendants’ home was not

an abandonment unless as to persons, such as trash-

men, authorized to remove the receptacje’s contents.

Both Work and Edwards are distinguishable from

the instant case. Both cases involved trash receptacles

located adjacent to a defendant’s home. In Work, the

Court of Appeals apparently inferred from the circum-

pa eae

stances of that case that the defendant had merely in-

tended to hide the narcotics in the trash can, an

intent consistent with a continued claim of possession

and inconsistent with an intent to abandon. See Work

v. United States, 243 F.2d at 663. The circumstances

of the Edwards case are similarly susceptible of the

same inference.

In contrast, the facts of the present case will not

support any inference of continuing possessory rights.

The respondents’ conduct manifested an unequivocal

intent to relinquish all further rights over the contents

of their trash cans. Even if the act of depositing the

contraband in the trash barrels were insufficient by

itself to prove an abandonment, the further act of

placing the barrels on the parkway for collection es-

tablished the intent to abandon beyond question.

Work and Edwards are also distinguishable on the

ground that the trash cans were situated in very close

proximity to defendants’ houses. Even if the contents

of the trash can in these two cases had been found to

have been abandoned, the location of the trash

receptacles may have brought them within the con-

stitutional protection accorded to open areas immedi-

ately adjacent to a house. At common law, these areas

were denominated by the term “curtilage.” In Care vy.

United States, 231 F.2d 22, 25 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, 351 U.S. 932 (1956), the concept of the “cur-

tilage” was defined as follows:

“. . . Whether the place searched is within the

curtilage is to be determined from the facts, in-

cluding its proximity or annexation to the dwell-

ing, its inclusion within the general enclosure

surrounding the dwelling, and its use and enjoy-

ment as an adjunct to the domestic economy of the

family.”

= =

While both Work and Edwards are explainable in

terms of the protection accorded to areas immediately

adjacent to a house, the instant case involved activity

that was obviously beyond the furthest extension of the

curtilage surrounding the respondents’ home. The ex-

amination of trash located in the well of the trash truck

parked on a public street at least a block away from

the respondents’ home could hardly be considered an

intrusion into an area immediately adjacent to the

house whosc use and enjoyment was an adjunct to

the domestic economy of respondents Krivda and

Minor. Indeed, if the respondents had been arrested at

the location where the police officers inspected the

trash, the defendants’ house would have been beyond

the immediate vicinity of the arrest for purposes of an

incidental search of that house. See Vale v. Louisiana,

399 U.S. 30, 34-35 (1970).

Based upon the foregoing analysis, petitioner submits

that the inspection and appropriation of the contra-

band found in respondents’ trash was wholly outside

the protective ambit of the Fourth Amendment. Under

the facts of this case, the only reasonable inference to

be drawn from the respondents having deposited the

contraband in the trash barrels and then having placed

the trash barrels on the curb is that they intended to

relinquish all further claim over the items therein.

Such an inference is the essence of abandonment.

The only point remaining for discussion is whether this

Court’s shift of emphasis from constitutionally pro-

tected areas to reasonable expectations “of privacy re-

quires a different result than that reached under the

earlier constitutional approach. The next section of

this argument will demonstrate that the change in ap-

proach should not require a change in result.

=

B. Respondents Have No Reasonable Expectation of Privacy

With Respect to Their Abandoned Trash

Prior to Katz v. United States, 389 US. 347

(1967), the search and seizure decisions of this Court

tended to focus on whether the location searched was

a “constitutionally protected area.” See e.g., Berger v.

New York, 388 U.S. 41, 57, 59 (1967); Lopez v.

United States, 373 U.S. 427, 438-39 (1963); Silver-

man v. United States, 365 U.S. 505, 510, 512 (1961).

In Katz, the Court eschewed this phrase as a mode

of analysis, stating that “. . . the correct solution of

Fourth Amendment problems is not necessarily pro-

moted by incantation of the phrase ‘constitutionally

protected area.” 389 U.S. at 350. The Court ex-

plained that the term was only descriptive of a con-

clusion and was not meant to serve as a “talismanic

solution to every Fourth Amendment problem.” /d.

at 351 n. 9. Mr. Justice Stewart’s opinion for the Court

further states:

“[O]nce it is recognized that the Fourth Amend-

ment protects people—and not simply ‘areas’—

against unreasonable searches and seizures, it be-

comes clear that the reach of that Amendment

cannot turn upon the presence or absence of a

physical intrusion into any given enclosure.” Id.

at 353.

Rejecting the traditional formulation of the Fourth

Amendment, the Court found that the government's

electronic eavesdropping activities had violated the

privacy upon which the petitioner had justifiably relied

while using a telephone booth. Id. The Katz opinion

did tot elaborate on the concept of “justifiable re-

liance,” except to state that “. . . what [a per-

on} seeks to preserve as private, even in an area

a

accessible to the public, may be constitutionally pro-

tected.” Id. at 351-52.

The concurring opinion of Mr. Justice Harlan has

served as a gloss to explain what the Court intended

by its reformulation in Katz of the approach to search

and seizure questions arising under the Fourth

Amendment. In Justice Harlan’s view, these questions

were to be resolved in terms of the individual’s “reason-

able expectation of privacy.” Jd. at 360. His concur-

ring opinion explains this phrase in these terms:

“. . . . My understanding of the rule that has

emerged from prior decisions is that there is a

twofold requirement, first that a person have

exhibited an actual (subjective) expectation of

privacy and, second, that the expectation be one

that society is prepared to recognize as ‘reason-

able.’ Thus a man’s home is, for most purposes,

a place where he expects privacy, but objects,

activities, or statements that he exposes to the

‘plain view’ of outsiders are not ‘protected’ be-

cause no intention to keep them to himself has

been exhibited. On the other hand, conversations

in the open would not be protected against being

overheard, for the expectation of privacy under

the circumstances would be unreasonable. (Ci-

tation omitted. )” Jd. at 361.

Justice Harlan’s test directed towards “reasonable

expectations of privacy” has since been adopted by the

majority of the Court in several subsequent decisions.

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 9 (1968); Alderman v.

United States, supra, 394 U.S. at 179 n.11. Other

decisions after Katz have contained variations on the

same theme. Mancusi v. De Forte, supra, 392 US. at

= =

368 (“reasonable expectation of freedom from govern-

mental intrusion”); United States vy. White, 401 US.

745, 752 (1971) (“what expectations of privacy are

constitutionally ‘justifiable’-—what expectations the

Fourth Amendment will protect in the absence of a

warrant”).

Although this Court’s emphasis has shifted from

places to person's, that change of outlook should not

compel a difference of result in cases involving the

government's seizure of abandoned property for use as

evidence in criminal cases. A reanalysis of these de-

cisions in terms of the individual’s “reasonable expec-

tation of privacy” should demonstrate the owner’s

right of privacy ends at the point he abandons his

property to the waste basket or the trash barrel.

At the outset, a person claiming Fourth Amendment

protection must be found to have an actual, subjective

expectation of privacy in the area searched or the thing

seized. An evaluation of subjective expectations will

serve to exclude from further analysis those cases where

the defendant has voluntarily relinquished control over

items of evidence which prove to be incriminatory upon

discovery by the police. The rationale for withdrawing

Fourth Amendment protection from this class of cases

is that the courts should not assign any greater im-

portance to discarded articles than their previous owner

attached to their possession. If he really wanted his

privacy interests to be protected, all he had to do was

safeguard their possession within an area demonstrably

intended to be private. In default of such precautions,

he should be held to the dictum in Katz that “What a

person knowingly exposes to the public, even in his

own home or office, is not a subject of Fourth Amend-

ment protection.” 389 U.S. at 351.

—

—"—

From the preceding discussion, it is readily apparent

that the instant case is subject to exclusion from the

scope of Fourth Amendment protection because the

circumstances of this case raise no supportable infer-

ence of the respondents’ having a subjective expec-

tation of privacy either in the place searched or in

the items seized. Yet even if this case were not

screened out at this initial stage, the respond-

ents’ pretensions to a subjective expectation of privacy

would not be recognized as reasonable by society. See

Katz v. United States, supra, 389 U.S. at 361 (Mr.

Justice Harlan concurring). Only when the purported

victim of an illegal search or seizure has a “reasonable

expectation of privacy” in the place searched or the

items seized can he be said to have “justifiably relied”

on privacy interests protected by the Fourth Amend-

ment. See id. at 353. The loosely defined reliance

standard in the Katz decision provides little in the way

of guidelines for determining when an individual’s ex-

pectations of privacy are reasonable in the constitution-

al sense. As with other areas in the law of search and

seizure, each case must be judged on its own particular

facts in determining the reasonableness of one’s expec-

tation of privacy. See Wong Sun v. United States, 371

U.S. 471, 479 (1963).

The student authors of an article written shortly

after the Katz decision have suggested that three

factors should be considered in determining whether

persons claiming Fourth Amendment protection have

a reasonable expectation of privacy warranting such

protection. The three factors are (1) the nature of the

intended area of private control, (2) the defendant's

right to exclusive use of that area or facility, and ( 3)

e to which society honors the intimac

=.

privacy of the activity normally carried on in such a

place. See Note, From Private Places to Personal

Privacy: A Post-Katz Study of Fourth Amendment

Protection, 43 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 968, 983-84 (1968).

By use of these three tests, the authors of the note

argue that the privacy due an individual in a given

place can be evaluated without relying on property

concepts. Jd. at 984.

The first factor, the nature of the intended area

of private control, is a logical point of departure. Al-

though we are now admonished that the Fourth

Amendment protects people, not places, Mr. Justice

Harlan noted in his concurring opinion that:

“. . +. The question, however, is what protection it

affords to those people. Generally, as here, the

answer to that question requires reference to a

‘place.’” Katz v. United States, supra, 389 USS.

at 361.

Apparently elaborating upon Justice Harlan’s obser-

vation, the authors of the New York University note

added this perspective:

“.... The degree of privacy offered by structural

characteristics, such as partitions or walls, is an

important determinant of an area’s character.

While it might be argued that walls and windows

should be weighed only as factors affecting the

reasonableness of the expectation of privacy and

not given additional emphasis, it is submitted that

an enclosed area exhibits to the world a clear

demarcation between inside and outside, private

and public, and, in so doing, visibly asserts the

right to have this boundary respected. . . .” Note,

supra, 43 N.Y.U. L. Rev. at 983-84.

—

=

In applying this analysis to the present case, it is

clear that the respondents erected no visible boundary

demarcating the privacy interests which they would

have this Court protect. In this case, the intended area

of private control is the well of the trash truck parked

a block away from the respondents’ home. The re-

spondents cannot seriously maintain that they had a

reasonable expectation of privacy with respect to the

locus of the search. The respondents’ trash left the

area of private control over which they had a reason-

able expectation of privacy as soon as it left the areas

immediately adjacent to their house within which con-

stitutional protection was accorded. See Care v. United

States, supra, 231 F.2d at 25. Once the abandoned

trash was placed on the public parkway, it was no

longer within a protected area of private control. After

it had been emptied into the well of the trash truck, all

possible claims of private control over the locus of the

search clearly had been dissipated. Since the search

of the contents of the trash cans took place in the well

of a trash truck parked on a public street, the respond-

ents lacked any connection, by property interest or

otherwise, which gave them a justifiable basis for

an expectation of privacy in the area searched.

A second consideration of importance in the privacy

interest approach to Fourth Amendment protection is

whether the claimant had a right to exclusive use of

the area searched or the things seized. The more an

individual exposes his personal affairs to others, the

less likelihood there is of constitutional protection. To

reiterate familiar language, “What a person knowingly

exposes to the public, even in his own home or office,

is not a subject of Fourth Amendment protection.”

Katz v. United States, supra, 389 U.S. at 351.

|, ae

an index of the Amendment’s protection of individual

privacy is the degree of risk of intrusion by other per-

sons including governmental agents.

In the instant case, the trash discarded by the re-

spondents was subject to the risk of exposure from the

moment the trash barrels were placed on the parkway

for collection. Nosy neighbors or curious passersby

might easily examine the contents of the garbage cans.

There was an ever-present danger that domestic ani-

mals, such as dogs and cats, might upset the trash con-

tainers and expose their contents to public view. The

trash collector himself was also free to examine the

trash before emptying it into the well of his truck. If

he were the least bit clumsy, there was the possibility

that he might spill a portion of the contents on the

roadway in front of the respondents’ house. When and

if the contents of the trash barrels reached the dump,

they would hardly have been private there. Trash de-

posited at a dump miay be picked over by scavengers

and is exposed to other members of the public who

bring their trash directly to the dump. In these days

of heightened interest in ecology, one cannot fully

anticipate how many persons may actually pour over

the contents of a householder’s trash barrels in quest

for recyclable materials. The opinion of the court below

concedes:

“Of course, one must reasonably anticipate

that under certain circumstances third persons

may invade his privacy to some extent. It is cer-

tainly not unforeseen that trash collectors or even

vagrants or children may rummage through one’s

trash barrels and remove some of its contents.

. . .” People v. Krivda, supra, 5 Cal. 3d at 367,

96 Cal. Rptr. at 69, 486 P.2d at 1269.

- =

Thus, an expectation of privacy as to one’s discarded

trash is hardly reasonable. In this context, privacy is

at best a faint hope. For this reason, the respondents

should not be permitted to cry “Foul” when police

officers conduct an examination the risk of which re-

spondents accepted from other members of the public.

The California Supreme Court concluded that an

abandonment of one’s trash to the trash collector was

not “. . . necessarily an abandonment of one’s trash to

the police or general public.” People v. Krivda, supra,

5 Cal. 3d at 366, 96 Cal. Rptr. at 68, 486 P.2d at

1268. Unfortunately, the California Supreme Court cites

no authority for the novel doctrine of partial abandon-

fibers matching those in the murder victim's clothing.

try to restrict the number of persons who handled it.

427 F.2d at 1325.

The same reasoning should apply with even more

force in the instant case. For here the respondents

retained no property interests in the trash examined by

the police whereas the defendant in Clarke vy. Neil still

retained the rights of a bailor under implied bailment.

The rule adopted by the court below could only serve

to deprive the police of information and evidence pro-

vided by citizens, such as the dry cleaner in Clarke

aid of law enforcement. It is well recognized that

effective enforcement of our criminal law depends

large part on the voluntary cooperation of public

spirited citizens. See, ¢.g., Report of the President's

Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration

that the Fourth Amendment does not protect “.. . a

wrongdoer’s misplaced belief that a person to whom

voluntarily confides his wrongdoi will not reveal

— =

it.” Subsequently in United States v. White, 401 US.

745, 752 (1971), this Court further observed:

“Inescapably, one contemplating illegal activi-

ties must realize and risk that his companions

may be reporting to the police. If he sufficiently

doubts their trustworthiness, the association will

very probably end or never materialize. But if he

has no doubts, or allays them, or risks what doubt

he has, the risk is his... .”

It is hardly a meaningful distinction that the re-

spondents in this case confided the evidence of their

wrongdoing to a garbage collector instead of a police

informant or turncoat accomplice. Under the circum-

stances of this case, the respondents assumed the

risk that the garbage collectors might permit the police

to examine their trash upon request.

The third criterion of protectible privacy interests

under the Fourth Amendment is “the degree to which

society honors the intimacy or privacy of the activity

normally carried on in such a place.” (Footnote

omitted.) Note, supra, 43 N.Y.U. L. Rev. at 984. Since

virtually every governmental action interferes with per-

sonal privacy to some degree, the question in each case

is whether that interference violates a command of the

United States Constitution. Katz v. United States

supra, 389 U.S. 350 n. 5. For this reason, it is neces

sary that “. . . an individual's otherwise reasonable

expectation of privacy be buttressed by social norms;

the intended walls of privacy must have sgme objective

validity.” Note, supra, 43 N.Y.U. L. Rev. at 984.

There are several indications that society attaches no

special character of intimacy to trash deposited on the

curb for collection. It is common knowledge that the

—_— =

major credit card companies advise their cardholders

to mutilate their expired credit cards before discarding

them as trash. The obvious reason for such warnings

is that one’s trash can is not secure from the depre-

dations of criminals who might later alter and use such

cards. Similarly the average citizen is at the mercy of

potential forgers when he deposits cancelled checks

bearing specimen signatures into his garbage cans.

Furthermore, it is doubtful that few, if any, persons

harbor subjective expectations of privacy with respect

to their garbage. As Chief Justice Burger observed

while on the United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit:

“Honest citizens neither need nor, I think, want

protection for their privacy extended to these arti-

ficial limits, and a presently confessed, previously

convicted narcotics violator is not entitled to it.

Of course the guilty should have the same pro-

tective safeguards as the innocent and I would

afford them as much. But I refuse to join in what

I consider an unfortunate trend of judicial de-

cisions in this field which strain and stretch to

give the guilty, not the same, but vastly more pro-

tection than the law-abiding citizen. . . .” Work

v. United States, supra, 243 F.2d at 665 (dis-

enting opinion). (Footnote omitted. )

The extension of Fourth Amendment protection to

the trash abandoned by the respondents in this case

would be tantamount to making the garbage receptacle

an inviolate sanctuary for the concealment and dis-

posal of evidence of crime. The court below relied on

People v. Edwards, supra, 71 Cal. 2d at 1104, 80

Cal. Rptr. at 738, 458 P.2d at 718, in holding that

the privacy interests protected by the Fourth Amend-

iin,

ment did not terminate “. . . at least not until the trash

had lost its identity and meaning by becoming part of

a large conglomeration of trash elsewhere. . . .” People

v. Krivda, supra, 5 Cal. 3d at 366, 96 Cal. Rptr. at

68, 486 P.2d at 1268. Thus, the California Supreme

Court creates a new right to have one’s trash com-

mingled with the trash of others under the guise of

interpreting the Fourth Amendment. If that right is

upheld by this Court, a new means will have been

fashioned by which criminals may avoid detection

simply by depositing the instrumentalities and evidence

of crime in a wastepaper basket or garbage can. The

net effect of the decision will be to remove the crucial

link in the chain of evidence connecting the defend-

ant with the corpus of the crime. While the Fourth

Amendment is intended to protect a person’s papers

and effects from unreasonable searches and seizures

by government agents, it has never been construed as

protecting those papers and effects after they have

ceased to be the property of the defendant.

In summary, the respondents’ own acts of abandon-

ment negate any subjective expectation of privacy un-

der the circumstances of this case. The intended area

of private control was the well of a trash truck on a

public street, far beyond the open areas immediately

adjacent to respondents’ house which were entitled to

constitutional protection. The respondents’ rights with

respect to their abandoned trash were nonexclusive.

And lastly, it cannot be said that society honors the

intimacy or privacy of one’s garbage after it has

come to rest in the well of a trash truck. These reasons

all support the ultimate conclusion that one has no.

constitutionally justifiable expectation of privacy in the

items he abandons to the trash barrel placed on the

curb.

i ae

II

The Exclusionary Rule Should Not Be Applied Under

the Circumstances of the Present Case

Apart from the narrow question of whether the

Fourth Amendment protects a right of privacy in one’s

trash, the circumstances under which this case arose

present a more significant issue for decision by this

Court. That issue is whether the exclusionary rule

should have any application at all to the type of police

conduct involved in this case. Here the police had

apparent justification for their belief that an exami-

nation of respondents’ trash in the well of the trash

truck was not an unreasonable search. No less authori-

ty than this Court had held that there was nothing

unlawful in the government’s appropriation of aban-

doned property. Abel v. United States, supra, 362 U.S.

at 241. Thus, an application of the exclusionary rule

here would only serve to penalize the police officers

for their good-faith reliance on what appeared to be

settled law. Such a penalty is hardly consistent with

the often expressed dictum that the exclusionary

tule “. . . is calculated to prevent, not to repair.” Elkins

v. United States, 364 U.S. 206, 217 (1960).

The manner in which this case arose provides a

vivid illustration of the uncertainty which confronts

the average police officer seeking an answer to the

everyday question of whether he has probable cause

to arrest or search. The trial court first ruled that the

evidence challenged in this case was admissible. ( App.

p. 6.) After permitting respondents to reopen their

motion to suppress, the trial court reversed its previous

ruling based upon the same evidence and arguments

previously presented. (App. p. 7.) Thereafter all three

judges of the California Court of Appeal held the chal-

- =

lenged evidence to be admissible. That decision was

overturned when the California Supreme Court granted

a hearing and ruled, four to three, that the evidence

was inadmissible. (App. A & C, Pet. for Cert.) It

can scarcely be said that this monumental state of con-

fusion was the result contemplated when the exclusion-

ary rule was devised. It is therefore imperative that the

rule be re-examined in an attempt to eliminate the in-

tolerable state of uncertainty which faces every law

enforcement officer performing his day-to-day duties

in the field.

A. The Exclusionary Rule Has Proved Ineffective as a Safe-

guard of Fourth Amendment Rights While Diverting Critical

Resources From the Major Goals of the Criminal Process

The principal function of the exclusionary rule in

the field of search and seizure has been explained by

this Court on numerous occasions. In Elkins v. United

States, supra, at 217, the Court stated:

“The purpose of the exclusionary rule is to

deter—to compel respect for the constitutional

guaranty in the only effectively available way—

by removing the incentive to disregard it.”

When this Court applied the exclusionary rule to the

States in Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961), the

Elkins statement was quoted with approval in setting

forth the purpose of the rule as commanded by the due

process requirements of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Id. at 656. Subsequently in Linkletter v. Walker,

381 U.S. 618, 637 (1965), the Court reiterated that

“the purpose [of the Mapp decision] was to deter the

lawless action of the police.”

There has been growing skepticism as to whether

the exclusionary rule has more than a minimal effec

eaeeetiimaammet

= —35—

in deterring unlawful searches and seizures. The most

thorough study of this issue to date concluded:

ieee. foregoing findings represent the

largest fund of information yet assembled on the

effect of the exclusionary rule, but they obviously

fall short of an empirical substantiation or refuta-

tion of the deterrent effect of the exclusionary rule.

. . .” Oaks, Studying the Exclusionary Rule in

Search and Seizure, 37 U. Chi. L. Rev. 665, 709

(1970).

There are, however, strong indications that the de-

terrent effect of the exclusionary rule is limited to a

narrow range of cases. First of all, the rule is structured

so that it applies only when the fruits of an unlawful

search are introduced at a criminal trial. When an un-

lawful search fails to reveal evidence of crime, the

victim of that search is not protected by the exclusion-

ary rule. Any deterrent effect as to this class of cases

depends solely upon the individual policeman’s re-

spect for the Constitution. In those cases where the

protections of the Fourth Amendment have been ap-

plied to invalidate administrative searches, the exclu-

sionary rule has not come into play. See Camara vy.

Municipal Court, 387 US. 523 (1967): See vy. City

of Seattle, 387 U.S. 541 ( 1967). Hence these cases do

not dilute the force of Chief Justice Warren’s obser-

vation in Terry v. Ohio, 392 US. 1, 14 (1968), that:

“Regardless of how effective the rule may be

where obtaining convictions is an important ob-

jective of the police, it is powerless to deter

invasions of constitutionally guaranteed rights

where the police either have no interest in prose-

cuting or are willing to forego successful prose-

cution in the interest of serving some other goal.”

(Footnote omitted. )

init,

In those instances where the police are motivated

by goals other than obtaining convictions, the exclu-

sionary rule cannot claim any truly deterrent effect.

Examples of such objections are found in the enforce-

ment of liquor, gambling and narcotics laws where

confiscation of contraband is at least as important as

securing the offender’s conviction. In these types of

cases, this Court has not removed the incentive for

potentially unlawful searches or seizures because the

confiscation is upheld regardless of whether the de-

fendant is convicted. As this Court has held on more

than one occasion, the suppression of evidence does

not in itself entitle the aggrieved person to the return

of contraband. Warden v. Hayden, 387 US. 294, 307-

08 (1967); Trupiano v. United States, 334 US. 699,

710 (1948).

Secondly, the deterrent effect that may exist appears

to be without real force. It does not operate directly as

a sanction on the police officers involved and its edv-

cational value is diminished by the great time lag be-

tween the challenged search and the ultimate decision

of the highest court to review the case. See Bivens y.

Six Unknown Named Agents of Fed. Bureau of Nar-

cotics, 403 U.S. 388, 416-18 (1971) (dissenting opin-

ion of Mr. Chief Justice Burger).

The trenchant criticisms of the exclusionary rule

are well known to this Court. As Mr. Justice Jackson

observed in Irvine v. California, 347 U.S. 128, 135-37

(1954):

“What actual experience teaches we really do

not know. Our cases evidence the fact that the

federal rule of exclusion and our reversal of

conviction for its violation are not sanctions

which put an end to illegal search and seizure

=

by federal officers. The rule was announced in

1914 in Weeks v. United States, 232 US. 383.

The extent to which the practice was curtailed, if

at all, is doubtful. The lower federal courts, and

even this Court, have repeatedly been constrained

to enforce the rule after its violation. There is

no reliable evidence known to us that inhabitants

of those states which exclude the evidence suffer

less from lawless searches and seizures than those

of states that admit it... . That the rule of ex-

clusion and reversal results in the escape of

guilty persons is more capable of demonstration

than that it deters invasions of right by the police.

. The disciplinary or educational effect of

the court’s releasing the defendant for police mis-

behavior is so indirect as to be no more than

a mild deterrent at best.” (Footnote omitted. )

This Court must eventually consider whether the

social cost of retaining the exclusionary rule outweighs

the minimal protection afforded by this approach to

enforcement of the Fourth Amendment. The tension

created by the rule stems from the fact that it serves

“neither to protect the victim nor to punish the offender

but rather to compensate the guilty victim by acquittal

and to punish the public by unloosing the criminal into

their midst. . . .” 8 Wigmore on Evidence § 2184, pp.

51-52 (McNaughton ed. 1961 i

Professor Oaks expressed similar concern in his

1970 study of the exclusionary rule:

“The use of the exclusionary rule imposes ex-

cessive costs on the criminal justice system. It

provides no recompense for the innocent and it

frees the guilty. It creates the occasion and in-

—

centive for large-scale lying by law enforcement

officers. It diverts the focus of the criminal pros-

ecution from the guilt or innocence of the defend-

ant to a trial of the police. Only a system with

limitless patience with irrationality could tolerate

the fact that where there has been one wrong, the

defendant’s, he will be punished, but where there

have been two wrongs, the defendant’s and the

officer’s, both will go free. This would not be an

excessive cost for an effective remedy against po-

lice misconduct, but it is a prohibitive price to

pay for an illusory one. . . .” Oaks, supra, 37 U.

Chi. L. Rev. at 755.

Other commentators have also concluded that the es-

sentials upon which the exclusionary rule depends

have not been adequately achieved. LaFave & Rem-

ington, Controlling the Police: The Judge’s Role in

Making and Reviewing Law Enforcement Decisions,

63 Mich. L. Rev. 987, 1003 (1965).

In the field of constitutional adjudication, it has

long been recognized that the policy considerations

favoring the doctrine of stare decisis are less compelling

than in other fields of law where “it is more impor-

tant that the applicable rule of law be settled than that

it be settled right.” Burnett v. Coronado Oil & Gas Co.,

285 U.S. 393, 406, 410 (1932) (dissenting opinion of

Mr. Justice Brandeis). When experience proves that a

rule created by judges should never have been created

at all, or that their rule, though originally sound, has

become unsuited to new social conditions* a reconsid-

eration of the old rule may reveal “the unwisdom of

its expansion or imperatively require its revision or

abandonment.” Francis v. Southern Pacific Co., 333

_— =

U.S. 445, 453 (1948). As Mr. Justice Douglas has

written, “So far as constitutional law is concerned

stare decisis must give way before the dynamic

component of history.” Douglas, Stare Decisis, 49 Col-

um. L. Rev. 735, 737 (1949).

Since this Court held in Mapp y Ohio, 367 USS.

643, 657 (1961) that the exclusionary rule was an

essential part of both the Fourth and Fourteenth

Amendments, any alteration of the rule must come

from this Court, rather than from Congress or any

State legislature. It is, of course, open to serious

question whether the exclusionary rule is constitution-

ally required as an inherent part of the Fourth Amend-

ment’s guarantee against unreasonable searches and

seizures. In Wolf v. Colorado, 338 U.S. 25, 28 (1949),

the Court noted that the initial application of the ex-

clusionary rule to the federal system “was not derived

from the explicit requirements of the Fourth Amend-

ment.” Mr. Justice Black expanded on this view of the

origin and requirements of the exclusionary rule with

these words:

“Had the framers of this Amendment desired

to prohibit the use in court of evidence secured

by an unreasonable search or seizure, they would

have used plain appropriate language to do so,

just as they did in prohibiting the use of en-

forced self-incriminatory evidence in the Fifth

Amendment. Since the Fourth Amendment con.

tains no ianguage forbidding the use of such

evidence, I think there is no such constitutional

rule. So I continue to believe that the exclusion-

ary rule formulated to bar such evidence in the

Weeks case is not rooted in the Fourth Amend-

ment but rests on the ‘supervisory power’ of this

a

Court over the other federal courts—the same

judicial power involved in McNabb v. United

States, 318 U.S. 332... .” Berger v. New York,

388 U.S. 41, 76 (1967) (dissenting opinion).

Mr. Justice Blackmun joined with Mr. Justice Black,

concurring and dissenting in Coolidge v. New Hamp-

shire, 403 U.S. 443, 497, 510, wherein it was said:

“The Weeks opinion made no express confes-

sion of a break with the past. But if it was

merely a proper reading of the Fourth Amend-

ment, it seems strange that it took this Court

nearly 125 years to discover the true meaning of

those words, The truth is that the source of the

exclusionary rule simply cannot be found in the

Fourth Amendment. . . .”

Against this backdrop, Mr. Chief Justice Burger

wrote in his Bivens dissent that:

“I do not propose, however, that we abandon

the Suppression Doctrine until some meaningful

alternative can be developed. In a sense our legal

system has become the captive of its own creation.

. . .” Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of

Fed. Bureau of Narcotics, supra, 403 U.S. at 420

(dissenting opinion).

Many alternatives to the exclusionary rule have

been suggested, most of which would also have some

deterrent effect upon Fourth Amendment violations.

See, e.g., Report of the Task Force oa Law and Law

Enforcement to the National Commission on the Causes

and Prevention of Violence, Law and Order Recon-

sidered, pp. 365-409 (1969); Cox, The Decline of the

Exclusionary Rule: An Alternative to Injustice, 4 Sw.

—

U. L. Rev. 68 (1972); Horowitz, Excluding the Ex-

clusionary Rule—Can There Be an Effective Alter-

native, 47 L.A. -Bar Bull. 91 (1972). The absence of

an effective alternative was one of the grounds of de-

cision in Mapp. v. Ohio, supra, 367 U.S. at 652. It

should be noted, however, that this Court’s almost ex-

clusive reliance upon the exclusionary rule as a means

of preserving Fourth Amendment rights may constitute

the principal obstacle to the development of effective

alternatives. Professor Oaks study concluded:

“The exclusionary rule cannot be replaced as

long as it remains a constitutional requirement.

However, there is no legal obstacle to supplement-

ing the exclusionary rule, especially in areas

where it is admittedly ineffective. The obstacle is

a practical one. The enormous concentration and

reliance upon the exclusionary rule may forestall

the development of alternative mechanisms for

controlling improper behavior by the police. By

a peculiar form of federal preemption, the Mapp

decision may sap state officials’ energy and de-

termination to control law enforcement officials

in alternative ways that might prove just as ef-

fective and even more comprehensive than the

exclusionary rule. . . .” Oaks, supra, 37 U. Chi.

L. Rev. at 753. (Emphasis in original; footnote

omitted. )

While no one reasonably disagrees with the prop-

Osition that there should be some remedy for illegal

searches and seizures violative of the Fourth Amend-

ment, the real question “is whether Suppression of the

truth with consequent acquittal of the guilty is a fair

and an effective measure to that end.” State vy. Bisac-

cia, 58 N.J. 589, 590, 279 A.2d 675, 677 (1971).

ft Those Circumstances Which Gave Rise to the Need for

they

pleased for goods imported in violation of British tax

The Fourth Amendment to the Constitution of the

The exclusionary rule, or suppressifn doctrine,

found expression by the United States Supreme Court

in Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383, 398 (1914).

United States was ratified in 1791 against the “:mtel-

The words of the Fourth Amendmeni reflect the de-

Wilkes during the 1760s. Marcus v. Search Warrant,

367 US. 717, 728-29 (1961). An effective but abusive

tool of the Crown had been use of general warrants.

termination of the newly independent Americans to be

free “from intrusion and seizure by officers acting under

the unbridled authority of a general warrant,” which

was known as a writ of assistance and had given cus

tom officials blanket authority to search where

laws. Stanford v. Texas, 379 U.S. 476, 481 (1965).

Purely as “a matter of judicial implication” to protect

the “security of one’s privacy against arbitrary int

lectual matrix” of the struggle between the Crown and

the opposition press led by author and editor John

—_— =

sion by the police—which is at the core of the Fourth

free from unreasonable state intrusion. Mapp v. Ohio,

367 U.S. 643, 654-55 (1961).

From its inception the exclusionary rule “has had

only a precarious tenure in this Court.” Mancusi y.

DeForte, 392 U.S. 364, 373 (1968) (Justices Stewart

and Black dissenting). “[DJespite its impressive sup-

92.

the average citizen was described by Professor John

Waite as causing a deprecation of group ideals which

results in derogation of the potentiality that abstention

from crime will be achieved through conformity with

group idealism. Waite, Judges and the Crime Bur-

, 54 Mich. L. Rev. 169, 192-93 (1955). Judge

oe

Shirley M. Hufstedler of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has articulated the extent

to which the exclusionary rule exacts a high price in

terms of the respect for our institutions of justice.

in a civil proceeding because legis-

courts have not created effective

Eighth Annual

livered before

of New York, May 11, 1971, p. 20. (Foot-

omitted. )

the Association of the Bar of the

==

657 (1961), held that the exclusionary rule was an

essential part of both the Fourth and Fourteenth

Amendments. What due process requires, however, is

‘ not fixed adherence to standards of what has previously

been deemed reasonable and right. Due process is a

living principle which cannot be confined to what may

at a given time be deemed the limits or the essentials

of fundamental rights. Wolf y. Colorado, 338 US.

25, 27 (1948). ““Due process’ is an elusive concept.

Its exact boundaries are undefinable, and its content

varies according to specific factual contexts.” Hannah

v. Larche, 363 U.S. 420, 442 ( 1960). The question,

then, is whether the essentials of due process have at

all been altered by the eleven-year evolution following

the epic decision in Mapp.

In considering the interaction of due process and

Fourth Amendment violations, it is well to remember

the two basic aims suggested by Mr. Chief Justice

Warren E. Burger in his article entitled, “Who Will

Watch the Watchman?” 14 Am. U. L. Rev. 1, 10

(1964):

“Perhaps we can all agree on two basic aims:

first, that deterring official misconduct in law en-

forcement is a vital objective for society; and

second, that society and the administration of

justice are best served by vastly reducing, and if

possible eliminating, the need to exclude rele-

vant and probative evidence from a criminal trial

whose very truth-seeking function is necessarily

stultified to some degree by such exclusion. . me

At present the exclusionary rule fails in its princi-

pal objective of deterring official misconduct, and it

thereby fails to protect the individual substantially

_—

while at the same time it causes a disproportionate loss

of protection for society. But the major emphasis is not

one of contrasting interests between the individual aud

society, for the individual is society. What we are

actually considering is contrasting interests of the in-

dividual in society. The right to privacy can be violated

by the criminal as well as the police. This point was

recognized by Chief Justice Weintraub of the New

Jersey Supreme Court when he wrote:

“The first right of the individual is to be pro-

tected from attack. That is why we have govern-

ment, as the preamble to the Federal Constitution

plainly says... . The Bill of Rights was not in-

tended to deny that primary mission. This is not

to belittle the inestimable rights thus consecrated,

but rather to say that those rights may not be

read to defeat the very reason for government

itself.

“We must be mindful that the contest is not

between the State and the individual. The contest

is wholly between competing rights of the indi-

vidual—the right to be protected from criminal

attack and the several rights in the Amendments.

When the truth is suppressed and the criminal is

set free, the pain of suppression is felt, not by the

inanimate State or by some penitent policeman,

but by the offender’s next victims for whose pro-

tection we hold office. In that direct way, Mapp

denies the innocent the protection due them.”

State v. Bisaccia, 58 N.J. 586, 590, 279 A.2d

675, 677 (1971).

It is a consideration of these contrasting interests of

the individual which gives proper definition to the ex-

clusionary rule. What must be sought is a reconciliation

between the purpose of the rule and the pain of

—47—

suppression inflicted upon innocent victims by its per-

sistent application.

The exclusionary rule was created to protect the

privacy of the individual from certain specific conduct

on the part of police officers. The conduct sought to

be controlled in Mapp was described as “official law-

lessness in flagrant abuse” of the right to privacy, “un-

conscionable invasions of privacy,” and “utter dis-

regard of the enforceable Fourth Amendment.” Mapp

v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643, 655, 657, 658 (1961). The

conduct in Mapp was precisely that. Three police

_ Officers arrived at Miss Mapp’s residence pursuant

to information that a person was hiding in the home

who was wanted for questioning in connection with a

recent bombing. The officers knocked on the door and

demanded entrance, but Miss Mapp, after telephoning

her attorney, refused to admit them without a search

warrant. Three hours and four additional officers

later, the officers forcibly opened the door when Miss

Mapp did not respond immediately. Although Miss

Mapp’s attorney. arrived, he was not permitted to see

her or enter the house. When Miss Mapp demanded to

see a search warrant, a paper was held up by one of

the officers which she grabbed and placed into her

bosom. A struggle ensued in which the officers recovered

the paper, handcuffed Miss Mapp because she had

been belligerent, and twisted her hand, causing her to

yell and plead with the officers.

This conduct is similar to that which occurred in

other cases and engendered the following descriptions:

“flagrant disregard of the procedure which

Congress has commanded”—McNabb v. United

States, 318 U.S. 332, 345 (1943).

=_—

“arbitrary intrusion”—Wolf v. Colorado, 338

U.S. 25, 27-28 (1949).

“flagrantly, deliberately, and persistently vio-

lated the fundamental principles declared by the

Fourth Amendment—Irvine v. California, 347

US. 128, 132 (1954).

“willful disobedience of a Constitution they are

sworn to uphold”—Elkins v. United States, 364

US. 206, 223 (1960).

“arbitrary invasions by government officials” —

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 US. 523, 528

(1967).

The words of these courts in describing the prohib

ited action fall into two categories: first, deliberate,

willful, and utter disregard; second, flagrant, arbitrary,

and unconscionable. Thus, the activity to be deterred

by the exclusionary rule is that which deliberately’ or

flagrantly violates Fourth Amendment rights. To deter

this conduct the exclusionary rule should be applied

only in case of deliberate or flagrant violation.

It is contrary to the philosophy of the exclusionary

rule to apply it where the violation by the police officer

is at most imadvertent. In order for the deterrence

theory to have any validity, the police officer must be

able to discern right from wrong. He must be able to

perceive that conduct which he is to avoid. As was

stated by Mr. Justice Traynor im delineating the exclu-

sionary rule in People v. Cahan, supra, 44 Cal. 2d at

448, 282 P.2d at 913: “Police officers agd prosecuting

officials are primarily interested in convicting criminals.

Given the exclusionary rule and a choice between secur-

img evidence by legal rather than by illegal means.

officers will be impelled to obey the laws themselves

— wn

since not to do so will jeopardize their objectives.” (Em-

phasis added.) This will be true only where the police

officer knows that he has a choice, that is, only where he

knows that his proposed activity would be in violation

of Fourth Amendment rights.

Application of the exclusionary rule must be tem-

pered with the realization that a police officer is not

as well equipped 4s an appellate court justice to deal

with legal technicalities. See Brinegar v. United States,

338 U.S. 160, 175 (1949). The police officer does not

have the same education, training, or experience as that

of an appellate court justice, nor is the police officer

iM a position to devote as much time to making a legal

determination. Indeed, as to the disparity in education

alone, a 1961 survey of over 300 police departments

revealed that 24 percent of those departments had no

minimum educational prerequisite, while less than

ome percent required any level of college preparation.

The President's Commission on Law Enforcement and

Administration of Justice, Task Force Report: The

Police, p. 126 (1967).

Certainly it is illogical to require of a policeman a

standard of performance which would be unconsti-

tutionally void for vagueness if applied to the ordinary

citizen because the standard required an intricate

knowledge of the law and the expertise of a legal

technician. As Judge Friendly has suggested, “Tt

_ does not seem consistent with the objective of deter-

rence that the maximum penaity of exclusion

should be forced for an error of judgment by a police-

man, necessarily formed on the spot and without a set

of the United States Reports in his hands, which is

not apparent years later to several Justices of the

irene Court.” Friendly, The Bill of Rights as a

a

—

Code of Criminal Procedure, 53 Calif. L. Rev. 929,

952 (1965).

It is clear that many authorities believe that the ex-

Clusionary rule cannot work where there is no “dis-

tinct rule consensus” in that a “nine man rule of reason

almost seems destined for vagueness.” Burns, Mapp

v. Ohio: An All-American Mistake, 19 DePaul L. Rev.

80, 88 (1969). Professor Charles Alan Wright has

criticized the complexity of the laws relating to search

and seizure and noted that:

“A police officer will not be deterred from an

illegal search if he does not know that it is illegal.

The law of search and seizure is hopelessly com-

plicated and confused . . . It defies reality to think

that the average police officer could hold all of

that arcane learning in his head or that he could

always apply it correctly when he is required to

make quick decisions in the course of the

difficult and often dangerous business of law en-

forcement.” Wright, Must the Criminal Go Free

if the Constable Blunders?, 50 Texas L. Rev.

736, 740-41 (1972).

The exclusionary rule has been successful in pro-

viding police officers with a basis of knowledge upon

which they may make an educated determination that

specific conduct is not a search or that the search is

reasonable. The California Attorney General has pre-

pared and distributed pamphlets designed to inform

police officers of the laws relating to search and

seizure. Barrett, Exclusion of Evidence Obtained by

Illegal Searches—A Comment on People v. Cahan, 43

Calif. L. Rev. 565, 587-88 (1955).

—

_—

In applying this basic knowledge to a determination

of probable cause, the police officer must determine

whether there is more evidence for than against, sup-

ported by evidence which inclines the mind to believe

but which leaves some room for doubt. People v. Ingle,

53 Cal. 2d 407, 412-13, 2 Cal. Rptr. 14, 17, 348 P.2d

577, 580 (1960); see also, Berger v. New York, 388

U.S. 41, 59 (1967). It has been noted by this Court

that “sufficient probability, not certainty, is the touch-

stone of reasonableness under the Fourth Amendment.”

Hill v. California, 401 U.S. 797, 804 (1971). There-

fore, when it appears to the police officer that it is

sufficiently probable that the action he intends to take

does not violate Fourth Amendment rights, the exclu-

sionary rule should not be applied. There is no deliber-

ate or flagrant violation of Fourth Amendment rights

to deter, and it is contrary to the spirit of the common

law to apply a rule to a situation in which the reason

for the rule does not exist. Crandall v. Woods, 8 Cal.

136, 143 (1857).

Of central importance in developing the criteria with

which to determine whether a violation is deliberate or

flagrant is the ease with which a police officer may

apply these standards to his conduct. An elaborate

and intricate system of rules can do little but confuse

an already perplexed police officer. Therefore police

conduct should be measured by considering whether:

1. The conduct has clearly been proscribed

by a settled rul2;

2. When the conduct is not covered by a set-

tled rule, it should appear to a reasonable officer

in like circumstances that the rationale of exist-

ing rules would prohibit the particular conduct;

einlRicsic

3. The time in which the officer was reason-

ably required to act permitted the officer ade-

quately to reflect upon the propriety of the pro-

posed conduct.®

Application of this test to the facts of the present

case demonstrates that the action taken by Officers Gates

and Marsden in examining respondents’ trash in the

well of the truck did not constitute a deliberate or fla-

grant violation of Fourth Amendment rights. As shown

in Argument I, supra, no settled rule proscribed the

action they took, and it would not appear to a reason-

able officer in like circumstances that the rationale of

existing rules would prohibit their conduct. Three jus-

tices of the Court of Appeal and three justices of the

California Supreme Court have so held. (App. A and

C, Pet. for Cert.)

Therefore, it must be said that the action taken by

Officers Gates and Marsden was reasonable to a suf-

ficient probability and was not the type of flagrant or

deliberate violation of Fourth Amendment rights which

the exclusionary rule was designed to prevent. Appli-

cation of the exclusionary rule only to the situations

which it was designed to deter results in a benefit to

law enforcement by authenticating the fact-finding

process. “As against the minor peril to Fourth Amend-

ment protections, there is a major gain in effective law

enforcement.” Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S.

443, 467 (1971).

In view of the lack of perceptible logic inherent in

the exclusionary rule and its apparent ineffectiveness

*This formulation contains the substance of the criteria de-

veloped by the American Law Institute for application in the pro-

posed “substantial violation” test. ALI, Model Code of Pre-Ar-

a Procedure, § SS 8.02(2), p. 23 (Tent. Draft No. 4,

—

in directly deterring Fourth Amendment violations, it

is essential that the scope of the exclusionary rule be

limited to those circumstances which gave rise to its

existence. Application of the deliberate or flagrant

violation test strikes a proper balance between the

competing interests of the individual in society—the

right to be protected from criminal attack and the right

preserved by the Fourth Amendment.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons petitioner, the State of

California, submits that examination of abandoned

trash does not amount to an unreasonable search and

seizure proscribed by the Fourth Amendment and

that, in any event, the exclusionary rule should not be

applied under the circumstances of this case. Petition-

er urges that the judgment of the California Supreme

Court be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

EVELLE J. YOUNGER,

Attorney General of the State

of California,

EDWARD A. HINz, Jr.,

Chief Assistant Attorney General—

Criminal Division,

WILLIAM E. JAMEs,

Assistant Attorney General—A ppeals

Section,

S. CLARK Moore,

Deputy Attorney General,

RUSSELL IUNGERICH,

Deputy Attorney General,

WILLIAM R. POUNDERS,

Deputy Attorney General,

Atterneys for Petitioner.

7

The State of California has been authorized by the

Attorneys General of the following states and territo-

ries to list them as joining with us in our brief on the

merits.

Honorable William J. Baxley

Honorable Ray Thornton

Honorable Gary K. Nelson

Honorable Duke W. Dunbar

Alabama

Arkansas

Arizona

Colorado

Honorable John D. La Belle, Chairman

Council of State’s Attorneys

Honorable W. Laird Stabler, Jr.

Honorable Robert L. Shevin

Honorable Arthur K. Bolton

Honorable George Pai

Honorable W. Anthony Park

Honorable Theodore L. Sendak

Honorable Richard C. Turner

Honorable Jack P. F. Gremillion

Honorable Francis B. Burch

Honorable A. F. Summer

Honorable Robert L. Woodahl

Honorable Clarence A. H. Meyer

Honorable Robert List °.

Honorable Warren B. Rudinan

Honorable George F. Kugler, Ir.

Honorable Louis J. Lefkowitz

Honorable Helgi Johanneson

Honorable William J. Brown

Honorable J. Shane Creamer

Honorable Richard J. Israel

Connecticut

Delaware

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Indiana

Iowa

Louisiana

Maryland

Mississippi

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New, York

North Dakota

Ohio

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

a

Honorable Daniel R. McLeod South Carolina

Honorable Gordon Myland South Dakota

Honorable David M. Pack Tennessee

Honorable Crawford C. Martin. Texas

Honorable Vernon B. Romney Utah

Honorable James M. Jeffords Vermont

Honorable Ronald H. Tonkin Virgin Islands

Honorable Andrew P. Miller Virginia

Honorable Slade Gorton Washington

Honorable Robert W. Warren Wisconsin

Honorable Clarence A. Brimmer Wyoming

Ty tae ae on

thereof is hereby admitted this......7..~..

of July, A.D. 1972.

fusca hessien Zonder”

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.