Amicus Curiae Brief — Maxwell v. Bishop

Supreme Court brief1970

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i A : > == >. > >. * »* « . . . 4

* aay : '

. . >.

. . 5 . ~ °

. . .

. . e

.

. . . . Ve .

7 .

.

as *. . és ®

. . . ~ “ e

. . ®

. ® °

. . . .

. . . «e =

. . . * «

. . =

.

7 . *

.

. .

>. FS .

> ‘4 c -

a x .

ad . e 7

° .

. . ~ . ~

: +

.

. .

. .

. .

. . ‘ . ° + 2

- . .

. . . “

. 7

$ » a * .

”

. 6 . .

. . . . . 7

.

. .

al . .

» ° . =

>. ® -« s .

. *& e

at

Litany | be. a ey,

| FILED.

“\ PREMES us

Ce

Wut Lb. Maxwaas. pie }

= |

O. B. Hesnor, Superurtendsut of etnies |

State Penitentiary.

af

Oe Wrn of Oeruaren « Ge Dunes State:

Overt of Appens ‘ar Ge Bigme .Orrewn

: 7

7 :

Peewee €. Sawn

Stones Ceememe « fee Meete @ | Bhiferere

inner © Biweem Ju.

oter teens feememe © fh Mreee of ( elifereie.

a a ae

vw Veer Seteemme femmem 6 fee Mere of eli ferme.

a

Uegete Aeterna deememe «! the Meets of Onhiforeis.

—~ Gee em,

~~ eee eee

Olfires ee Yer Remerws Carnac.

elie ee ee

Interest of Amicus Curiae .............:............--.... 1

Ce Se ee Sewanee 3

ES a a aL 5

“Argument EEE ES SS a Se 7

I. A Legislative Decision Not to Restriet by the Imposition

of Standards the Power of Juries to Spare the Lives of

Persons Convieted of Capital Crimes Denies Neither

Due Process Nor Equal Protection .................. 7

Il. If This Court Should Find the Standardless Penalty

Trial Unconstitutional in the Context of the Arkansas

Practice, Distinguishing Features of California Proce-

dure Would Warrant Refusal to Strike Down the Cali-

ERIS pT al A I a 22

Conclusion ....... EEE NS set ie Ee oe ea a 27

‘/ Fable of Authorities Cited

People v. Jackson, 67 Cal.2d 96, 429 P.2d 600, 60 Cal.Rptr.

ote (1967), facts reported at 59 Cal.2d 375, 379 P.2d 937,

WD Cal. Mipte. GOB (TRGB) occ cccessccccdsccssdsssavccee

P eaple v. Lara, 67, Cal.2d 365, 432 P.2d 202, 62 Cal. Rptr.

YR pies ones Say ppt pd sia pati, ibaa Je

People v. Lookadoo, 66 Cal.2d 307, 425 P.2d 208, 57 Cal.Rptr.

i CN ces Ue bee eh een ae eee :

People v. Love, 56 Cal.2d 720, 366 P.2d 33 (1961) .........

People ¥. Massie, 66 Cal.2d 899, 428 P.2d 569, 59 Cal. Rptr..

ee Re ee re ee care eleks

Cases Pages

Giaecio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399 (1966) .............. 19

In re Anderson, 69 A.C. 638, 447 P.2d 117, 73 Cal.Rptr. 21

(TBGB) .ccssce ch atitne weve wate eine e +» 4, 8, 9, 12, 17, 19, 21, 23

Johnson v. New Jersey, 384 U.S. 719 (1966) .............. 9

Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965) ...:............ 9

People v. Anderson, 70 A.C. 58; 447 P.2d 956, 73 Cal. Rpte.

ts Ae reyes © pny pee nr ae 14

People v. Bandhauer, 66 Cal.2d 524, 426 P.2d 900, 58 Cal.

SS HUD CIES a5 2escenewe cede bacnnaidoceens ehauetess 15

People v. Bassett, 69 A.C. 121, 447 P.2d 777, 70 Cal. Rptr. :

ee CUE) vc dde hb Tiddacadeus Cabececnenarseaeiians 14°

People v. Beivelman,.70 A.C. 37, 447 P.2d 913, 73 Cal. Rptr.

Bt rr rr rrr Rcauseamumaes 14

People v. Durham, 70 A.C. 179, P.2d . .., .... Cal. Rptr.

SOOT ods nep. ce cant seh sketeubetesba piers anes cee 14

People v. Gonzales, 66 Cal.2d 482, 426 P.2d 929, 58 Cal, Rptr:

GOR SUED cov ivecceses dcauaneadssdscevsisessebaceses 15

- People v. Green, 47 Cal. 209, 302 P.2d 307 (1956) .......... 16

People v. Griffin, 66 Cal.2d 459, 426 P.2d 507, 58 Cal. Rptr.

107 (1967) bP Ee PPT CF Te Pee MALT agape Are 15

People v. Hill, 66 Cal.2d 536, 426 P.2d 808, 58 Cal.Rptr. 340

CRUDE YD cicedengircetaNcanacaveccaetloacebineaiaeeares 15

People v. Hines, 61 Cal. 2d 164, 390 P. od 398, 37 Cal. Rptr. 62

MD Sc cn es cideacheaetielecsceddamned i dds 23

People v. Hines, 66 Cal.2d 348, 425 P.2d $57, 57 Cal-Rptr.

Be COED oo ndduns ta send bene tebeiereoebn PP 15

Tas_e or AvTuorities Citrep iii

Pages

People v. MeDowell, 69 A.C. 766, 447 P.2d 97, 73 Cal.Rptr. '

Be | APPS Rp ENO Be PE OP BR OL OE o oe 14

People v. Modesto, 66 Cal.2d 695, 427 P.2d 788; 59 Cal.Rptr.

Be CE op aul'se vs cone bb ue dene theese cieeaeee 15

People v. Morse, 60 Cal.2d 631, 32s P.2d 33, 36 Cal.Rptr.

201 (1964) Sa Veus Wes ee vi sbs5sbe6 cdeaenat waeabee is 16

People v. Pennington, 66 Cal. 2d 508, 426 P.2d 942, 58 Cal.

SE; SR AMMOED bacco sebeae ac creceus ices deus reauaw eo 15

People v. Powell, 67 Cal.2d 32, 429 P.2d 137, 59 Cal. Rptr.

De GUND a pode cue cds eres okeukeedteourcinesesicerens 15

People v. Risenhoover, 70 A.C. 15, 447 P.2d 925, 73 Cal.Rptr.

ee SD pao. s Gob Cees te sake ee dein dbue ower cee kiens 14

People v. Spencer, 66 Cal.2d 158, 424 P.2d 715, 57 Cal. Rptr.

Sh RRR ea oe a RR ME rN he NE Re Ml pc Typ ple 15

People v. Varnum, 66 Cal.2d ‘808, 427 P. 2d 772, 59 Cal. Rptr.

he. Ba ere ane ene 15

People v. White, 69 A.C. 781, 446 P.2d 993, 72 Cal.Rptr.

Se CEE A vascaneSiotebecotve bea datadiede cede raaecss 14

People v. Wilson, 66 Cal.2d 749, 427 P.2d 820, 59 Cal. Rptr.

BGG (1GGT). onic ercccccccvecccbeccecvcccciceccccceces 15

Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S. 293 (1967) ....2............... i)

Tehan v. Shott, 382 U.S. 406 (1966) ..,............... ae 4

Winston v. United States, 172 U.S. 303, 312-313 (1899) .... 11

Witherspoon, vy. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968) 2.0.00... 6,7, 16,17

Codes

California Penal Code :

I URE ot ca udanccacrueetecigsseeh tectecs 2, 9, 22, 24

Model Penal Code : °

Section 210.6 (Proposed Official Draft 62) ..........

Texts

A. Koestler, Reflections on Hanging 166-167 (1956) 00... Ww

Noie, 109 U.Pa.L.Rev. 67 (1960) .......2... Spiers

Royal Commission on Capital Punishment, 1949-1955 Report

”?

he Gheterecs ‘age of the State of Cah-.

fornia ts a! —— Question set forth im the

order rant , “Theran, which reads as

fesevia.a

i Ww Vrkonsas’ practice of permitting .

the trea Howe te dyseretion, uncontrolled by

sturndard any kind, te impose

thie’ cheva! ‘ tex the Due Process ¢ Aaluse

Nw | A

Wittiaw L. Mave : ) :

: | Petitioner, |

Vs. |

4 op, L

: {

O. BE. Bisner. Super evient of Arkansas

Stu beng ,

Respondent, | _

—_

. On Writ of Cueiurer, to the United States

Court of Avinenis for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF FOK THE PEwrCr OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

AWICLS CLA IS SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INT SALE OF AMICUS CURIAE

- bs " " > 4 " , ‘“y wey ‘6

a |

» 2

Amicus. curiae has no interest in the disposition

of the second question relating to the constitutionality

of the procedure whereby issues of guilt and penalty °

are determined at a single hearing and upon a singte

‘verdict. California does not employ this. procedure,

but rather utilizes a two-stage trial with the issues of

guilt and penualty being determined in separate pro-

ceedings. Cal. Pen. Code § 190.1. |

We do, however, have a substantial interest in the

first question. California, like Arkansas, gives no

standards to juries to bind them in the determination

of whether to. impose the sentence of death or life

imprisonment upon a defendant convicted of .first-

degree murder. But California does have certain im-

portant safeguards against arbitrariness in the sen-,

tencing process which may or may not be present in

Arkansas. Furthermore, petttioner has vigorously al-

leged the existence of racial discrimination in the

capital sentencing process of Arkansas, and has used

this as a demonstration of alleged abuse of this sen-

tencing process attributable in part:to the lack of

standards binding the jury. Whether or ara claim

is valid, no possible claim of racial discrimination in

capital sentencing in California has been or could be

made, We fully support respondent in regard to the

‘general proposifion that a legislative scheme of eap-

ital sentencing which refuses to impose strictures.

upon the discretion of the sentencer, be it judge or

jury, denies no constitutional right whatever.

The sole common feature of the California and

v

Arkansas procedures is the absence’ of standards re-—

.

%

3

stricting the discretion of a jury in a capital case in

determining whether to spare the life of the defend-

ant. We believe that a sentencing procedure without

such standards is constitutional and is in fact an

ameliorative procedure which haxthe effect of mini-

mizing the number of death sentence verdicts actu-

ally returned.

It is the desire to uphold the validity of our Cali-

fornia practice that brings The People of the State

of California before this Honorable Court as amicus

curiae. :

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .

In asking this Court to strike down as unconstitu-

tional any procedure for capital sentencing which

does not provide standards to minimize the discretion

of jurors or judges in performing their sentencing |

function, petitioner makes a complex, highly theoreti-

eal argument, which entirely ignores the ‘practical eon-

sequences that should be uppermost in the mind.of

this Court in determining whether due process and ”

equal protection require the limitation of diseretion

in the capital sentencing procedure. His argument

has never been accepted by any court.

Our basie proposition is a simple one: penalty trials

conducted without standards ny neither due process

nor equal protection and as a practical matter result

in far fewer death sentences than would trials con- —

ducted with any reasonable set of standards. Death

is the de jure or de facto presumptive penalty, for first

\ +

: r . ; a ; m Z : —_

degree murder and other capital offenses. The effeet of -

the. standardless penalty trial is to give the jury Cand

in California, the judge as‘well) free rein te erant

merey. The imposition of fixed and limited standards

would tend to stifle the impulse to dispense merey by

at once diminishing each Juror’s individual responsi

bility to make a choice between life or death aecording

to his conscience, and by foreing him te justify, te

himself and his fellow jurors, upon some unknown

grounds, his compassionate inclination to. spare life,

This case comes up from a jurisdiction which em

plogs an unusual sentencing procedure. Ire Arkansas,

if petitioner is correct In his reading of the law of

a8 state, a jury and only a jury makes this Soles un

reviewable judicial decision between life and death in

a/capital case. dt ts thus élaimed that the stindardless

penalty trial mvites the jury to aet arbitrarthy, that

the single-verdiet procedure deprives the’ jury of fac

tual information it needs to act rationally, and that

the absencetat judicial review or even meaningful ju

- divial participation in the SURTONEIE Process provides

Ho safecuard against arbitrariness, Without coneediny

the validity of any of these arguments, we wish te

hote that the California procedure is radically differ

ent and clearly distinguishable, In California, a pen.

alty jury may be waived, ‘The trial judge has the dats

to res lew any death setitence recommended Ih ULES

- and to pass such a sentence only ify in his independent:

judement, tt ts justitied. Furthermore, the California

, y , re as ; |

“Supreme ‘Court, While lacking the formal power to

reduce a death sentence, retatis & very wirwe measure

on

a

cr

of contrel over the sentencing process by means. of

its power ‘to reverse, solely as to punishment, judy-

ments of death on the hasis of errors that. would be

insignitieant in the guilt phase. Furthermore, .Cali-

forma employs a ‘twoestage trial which, though we

‘

de not in any way concede, is constitutionally re-

quired, does ensure that all evidence relevant to pun-

ishrgent Cexeept that which the California Supreme

Court has held tke People may not present) is pre-

sented to the jury, and at no cost to the defendant's

privilere against self-inerimination. | |

We will leave to respondent the task_of rebutting

any inference of racial discrimination in the imposi-

‘tion of the death sentenee for rape in Arkansas which —

may arise from the statistics gathered by petitioners,

but we submit that if such discrimination is proved,

ne connection has been established between it and the

Tne k of standards in capital sentencing. It seems most

unlikely that juries determined to discriminate ‘on’

racial grounds will be deterred by any abstract stand-

“ards avhich the jJudge:may give them. ,

‘PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Before proceeding to our argument, we feel Oblivegince

to call to the attention of the Court that there is rea

sonable wround to beheve that Ae case or. Controverst

aetuall eNists in this t tnatter, The only issues embraced

-by the grant of certior ari in a case (see Appendix,

p. TH) concern the validity of ‘petitioner's death sen-

tenee, and not the validity of Ins gonvietion, If he is

>

;

*

han ileath wotite th " af i nbabe, anf “ue th oo '* : “3

‘* A te a . *.

")

.

ad .

—eptithad te Have hie» deaths wartatertneres mad ststale sngoeen

other emmitnads, ‘he Would appear te bave tee taastens

ee berfarper ‘thts Court the ecnte Wt bends wie he

has wnde. °° gla he pee .

Nitiee the” pure’ in feet 40 beetee: t's ‘ase tttapremmad the death

a ileniey Myon bam on “Wim? ave be Footer the legetetens

at this Cort on Ww ith. sapunem # Wim , “wit ts, bbe

mS) thete is “ subetantial prrenttenlite cated pale apr

a porestoabalits , thit the’ inev Wliieh mitered Pho teatl

~entetien Wim ehoesTattatenl pte wtelTiteens of the a wi iol.

hivaed downy us that wane, whet i ueer Tatly. wed et rae

UF, wm 4 in the Pima’, Pre et neotante went lal \ etebrthedt av? i

; seed

tapmats epepel neat beets tee tee eetnet sof ocettepeer deat Tr i‘

tits Fee Ohne shee tatene tet. Dearfactar Abaan QC seaelt peteticcent

wematonel btwe set eden lbetbead “7 the epeeccghedo

W ithe repre. enter i . : :

" . . .

Petitioner's wtleteee sel the peetred r titel Bieies

Vy te Deed thay th. WO sPdes appre pennte bet seine’ chats

’

*s ,

“Tre onde” nn the testinal wee,

this “Conant, he walt til} rr’ cutatleat tear | | i neat

i ste rapusion Ihe wn Deerde:, . bei r “

Metaesl A rude of creat sales nooo

tat tone tebe pebienal attaek ppaee ble cheat! ’

rl tuber Ve cttenitietanee we on t that the an

Theots sol wlether ti A) ee ee ee 0) ee 1

Peweeenl of getitiotwe’s (rial is prSper cuhbat ln 5

quan iy the Coat. te Thee pert We ahi a Bee

avwes tet the treal i vintece yp pet sth ova weete chet

fhoany vibeyeunt Obra Yornnstoalets of Widder way wad bea rr T

o*

eT i » | = H ‘ , ; lee

fF 68 te Fictateal te mine .° Depepetert Fag) ts sige? that

thi. (. EH Datopelad ceP ier dbnape ~ The. wernt of certierat

as; eet ba _ sy. yetees te tttend or “shel,

“wh at Pevennt Feels ' — sel tev thee erant of

ort heat ‘ike % fr. beers the ¢ muse af Ay

i" a). ahead im a a . rye watdeoration me

the theht ot 0 oe, ;

. . f » ° : ;

. °

oa

S LOM ISL ALIVE OfeleloN foe © get? ev THE IMPORI

TION OL STARWARON FH ewe OF FURIES TO SPARE

ets Oe errr op carrran, crimes |

AEN ibe Ser Et nn ee ee ea] _POUAL PROTECTION

ons) : very ote) equal pene

— rw lones on enpatal

i °* . Sey . ; . ~ the Acted

t's fermi oT ; ete cepdanentedd bey

“*

* o > od

- ofartal : . Bee ‘law hewn” sane

”

hh tpertenrive " i

LL ‘ ‘ ' ne . ‘ TL LLU LL

aa * ‘yee ibd ‘urn ort

; > ,* ateettte° Petitioner om

le ti : ' het = 1 hep then tt the

aitiaonee tate retaining

a oe - ‘ ree asl to oot

| . ‘ we teed New

: | sr vacheegi \. the Cah

hata . - "Pind: recon, “un

ie

“The diseretion conferred upon the penalty

jury is similar to that conferred upon the trial

court to punish certain erimes as either felonies

or misdemeanors, Many sections of ‘the Penal

Code. vest in the trial court diseretion to sentence

defendants convicted of crimes to state prison or

to jail without mention of standards for the exer-

cise of that discretion, [Citation] Such sections

have been held not to violate due process or equal

protection.” Id. ‘at G1, 447 P2d at 126, 73 Cal.

“Rptr. at 30, .

Indeed, the broadening of discretion in the matter

of sentencing has been noted as one of the progressive

devaopments in the eriminal Jaw in the. past half

century. Thus, provisions for indeterminate prison

sentences, the power of a trial court to reduce a felony

offense to a misdemeanor, and te grant probation in

an expanded number of cass, have appeared alony

With the substitution-of an unlimited power of a jury

fo crant a life sentence in a éapital case for the prior

practice of an ayutotuatic death sentence tipen the re-

‘then of a verdict of cuilty, Moreover, the broadening

of sentencing discretion cenerally and in capital cases

particularly has accompanied and in ne way has heen

ieAnsistent w ith the broadening of constitutional pro-

teetions for criminal defendants, We submit that the

arcnneat advanced by - petitioner's counsel exalts

theory over practicality, and ignores history,

This Court lias never shut its eyes te the practical

romseqiences of its far-reaching decisions, Notably,

this Court has shaped its retroactivity doctrines with

an eye to minimizing the negative practical conse-

9 .

° ,

quences to the state of applying retrospectively a

newly announced doctrine. See Stovall v. Denno, 388

U.S. 293 (1967); Johnson v. New Jersey, 384 U.S.”

719 (1966); Tehan v. Shott, 382 U.S! 406 (1966) ;

Linkletter v. Walker, 381 US. 618 (1965). When this

Court considers adoption of a new constitutional rul-

ing which deals exclusively with matters of life and

death, the probable practical results of the doctrine -

must be examined with the greatest care.

In support of the argument that standardless trials

work in favor of the defendant, we begin with the

proposition that death is the presumptive penalty for

capital offenses, usually murder in those English

speaking jurisdictions which retain capital punish-—

ment. It is not the preferred penalty in the sense of

being more frequently imposed than life imprison-

ment, for petitioner correctly notes that it is every-

where imposed in only a minority of capital cases, It

is, however, the presumptive penalty, in law, in fact,

or in both. In some states the Legislature has ex-

‘ pressed a preference for the death penalty ever its

alternative of life imprisonment. In others, such as

‘California, the Legislature’ has remained neutral as

hetween the two alternatives. See Cal. - Pen, Code

§ 190.1, But to-hold that a standardless proceeding is

constitutional in the former jurisdictions but not in

the latter would be to exalt form over substance. In re

Anderson, supra, 68 A.C, 638, 650, 447 P24 117, 125,

73 Cal.Rptr. 21, 29 (1968). But whatever the legisla-

tive prescription, it is undeniable that in the minds and

hearts of the lay juryman, death is the presumptive

10

penalty for murder. In our cultural heritage, from

the Old Testament, through the English common law,

modern erime tietion and motion pictures, through the

daily news media reports of A Manon Trial for His

Life,” the penalty for murder ts death. The principle

‘that wilful and deliberate killing is followed by. the

hoose Is inextricably a part of our collective conseious- |

ness. The juror thus brings with him to the jury box

the expectation that death will ordinarily follow Upon

a tinding of guilty.”

Why, then, is the death sentence in prosed With eom-

parative rarity ? The answer is thateno jury liehtly

asstimes the responsibility of ordering a man’s death,

The question confronting a jury avhieh has found an

aceused guilty of a capital erie is therefore not,

“Shall we kill him?" but Shall we spare hin 2 Lee

tslation which omits standards for the jury's determi

ation amounts tein affirmation that the jury should

be in ne Way tinpeded in answertne that question in

the affirinative.

In voting te spire tlhe life of a defendant convieted

of a eapital erime, the ry os aetine upon its feelings

of charity, benevolenes. sviipathy, pity, empathy, and

homanitv. See AL Noestler, Reflections on Manama,

Wt? CI9GG). These emotions are highly valued

incevery civilized culture, but they are, in the Vest

sense vel the word, nen rational This Court has put

the matter somewhat differently, bat quite aptly:

"The authority of the juinw tee deenle that the ae

cused shall onot be punished eapitally is not lin

ted to eases un whieh the court, or the jury, is of

/

ee |

opinion that they are palliating or mitigating

circumstances, But it extends to every case in

which, upon a view of the whole evidence, the

jury is of the opinion-that it would not be wise or

just to impose capital punishment. Hlow far con.

siderations of awe, sex, imnoranhee, illness, or in

toxication, of human passion or Weakness, of svi

pathy or clemency, or the irrevocableness of an

executed sentence of death, or an apprehension

that explanatory facts may exist which have not

been brought to light, or any other consideration

whatever, shouJd be allowed weight in deciding

the question whether the accused should or should

not be capitally punished, ts committed by the act

of Congress to the sound diseretion of the jury,

and of the jury alone.” Woiston vo United States,

172 U.S. 303, 312-313 (1899), | :

That any reasonable system of standards would in

deed ypesult in more death sentenees than the current

standardless procedure is a Proposition Which, theouseh

‘of necessity in part theoretical, can hardly be doubted

The Only conceivable type of standards whieh lesoshe

tures could enact would necessarily revolve around

ageravating and mitwating circumstances, The lew

islature might. simply identity: and enumerate such

ciremmstances, provide for them bem pread toe the

jury, and leave the matter in the jurv’s sele disere

thot. It would, of Orisa’, In totally Alar taer this -

Court fo inipose on the states, as a matter of comstitu

tional law, the requirement that juries be instructed

in terms of standards which they would) be entirets

free to disreward,

j = ” f

* bead * *

. * *

.

Ina any event such a Fortnulation ot oat trad, nds, Deeats

. essentially uh Isery £ . could bee Gt tees salaks initial he hefit

to conv teted defendants, The Jey Wonk rence hin.

tally free te distesaril the “list of WPAN Ait ted

DUETS E Ete e ire TIS tees, Ana the. aneunt of haent to

a defendant. that stich a Portritihation rt shlaudinds

vouhd Work is enormous, bideeds the vor alutuera

Hon oof ageravatine and> matey Sebi Clb stnces

would tert stremely te Vtipel the pur: te Http thi

dleagth setiteniee Wherever thes cians stro endl sony et Phleets

Hoe ravatine CUretitbistitioes ittuad thee traits Ten) ereuby

stanees, Phe jurw's natural Jorealispuese TOT eet Tee

lite eun be Hiministed Is prertretane, tee on J cal pene

se ribald” stand: ibs bn ohetibettins and cite ' litte

ant’. Tithures te itheowt thavons stitidatds an - “stittoaty

Tor bettisinie toe spume tim 2 :

‘ é . ° .

7 . . y " .

he secunid Phhed fae? UM pm oof sPustadards 2) 1 i hy

lerivond Wotthe stitthanrts Phe tats age sv iatie biel

WTAE Tae” COPS t ties teat wonthl ms an al

or thhete uf the aehravaton CITC NEtaAtes , beaat

or tewel thie wll vf the Peett ave jatany it i? ' te

pitesetit i creer te THESTHEN tttbpreestticen . ' heal!

peernalty Woe wenthd susie that oh peste wi

°

eTittits Warrant the sleuth jeetialty | ewiitially o a

eostent - bag thre “oheeteal Peptesentativd 5 tts,

“See Cobeirein epettatets Of Nok dl ano: '

sn, supra, \r te is: tah Hh. 1 ni tt | ' |

Cul Rpt Sh. Mbt Mivteweqen hits G icktet

etly. at levest tee Obes an Pespgiette ' : 1 4

titel “letudene UT Stele stoped : ow

eetivelsy teat yeew the Piatiye : ye hy i

.

13":

clevat! Lrertada? ia

°

mised, This Court could hot

he oteust take place unless it

pwerealtn could “thot: be consti

; Fy s

Peat icetesval ly feet

my. tot before this Court in

fot has ne place in the

.

-

ttintoat AAA 2 ok °

a “i gested any specific lin

eo rine to binding stand

foros ever formally devised,

h tranny lave + found in -Model Code 4 2106

} : : ‘ ' wh ; "3 1 ii

‘| ‘neitivating cCiretmstances

son tenes may be imposed

he coreumstanees Is found

reiinstances: sufficient

nev. “These. averavating

committed Dyca conviet

reorient.

. — |

Was pres lousy comvieted

felons invelving’ the

mM the PMP,

murder was committed

vetted another murder,

nt knowingly created a

ryaragi' persons,

vee committed while the

or Was an accomplice in

otter ph te eommyt, or

Poattemipting fo eomnit

, fh oseNtal infereourse by

orenere nS eertam capital offense.”

This section -enumern.

ene ene oem

14

*

foree oy threat of force, arson, burglary or kid-

naping.

~"(f) The murder was commsefed for the pur-

pose of avoiding or preventeffg a lawful arrest or

effecting an escape from lawful custody,

*(¢) The murder was committed for pecuni-

ary gain, — | 2 ,

“(h) The murder was especially heinous,

atrocious or cruel, manifesting exceptional de-

pravity.” ~

The foregoing list of aggravating circumstances is

difficult. to quarrel with, and would probably command

a rough consensus among those who favor the death

penalty as to what may properly be considered agera-

vating. It is worth noting that in each of the last

twenty-two cases reviewed by the California Supreme

Court (which reviews all death sentences imposed in

California) in which a sentence of death was imposed

for first-degree murder, one or more of the ageta-

vating circumstances enumerated in the Model Penal

Code were present.’ We have no way of knowing, of

Ph opl r , Darhom. TO AC. 179; P 2d . Cal Rptr.

(1960) Cforeible resistance to arrest); People v. Anderson, 70 AL,

Ss, 447 P2d 956, 73 Cal Rptr. 550 (1968) Cexce ptic ‘nal heinousness

and depravity—60' stab wounds in body of vietim, a tet-year-old

girl); Ws ople ve, Beivelman, TOA. 37, 447 Pld O13, 75 ‘al. Rptr.

A21 (1968) (robbery); People v. Risenhoover, 70 AC. 15, 447 PL2d

W575 Cal Rptr. 533 (1968) (kidnaping); People v. White, 69 ALC,

7S, 446 P2d 995, 72 Cal Rptr. 875 (1968) Cburglary, robbery, and

rape); Prople ve McDowell, 69 A. 766, 447 Po2d 97, 73 Cal. Rpt a

1 (1968) (robbery ». Pe ople i, Bassett, 69 AC. 121, 445 Pid 777,

70 Cal Rptr. 193 (1968) (double murder); People v. Lara, 67 Cal.

¥4 365, 432- Pld 202, 62 Cal Rptr. 586 (1967) (kidnaping) ;

People v. Jackson, 67 Cal2d %, 429 P.2d 600, 60 -CalLRptr. 248

(1967) faets reported at 59 Cal.2d 375, 379 Pi2d 937, 29 Cal. Rptr.

505 (1963) (rape; prior convictions of crimes of violence); People

15

course, in how many cases. the jury, notwithstanding

the presence of aggravating circumstances, spared the .

defendant’s life for no reason other than the desire to

dispense mercy. 3 . ;

An .additional problem with any attempt to formu-

‘late standards is that any list of mitigating cireum-~

stances must necessarily be. ex*lusive; it canriot hope

to foresee and provide for all the possible mitigating

circumstances that could arise. in the context of. a

given case. Under the present standardless system,

the defendant’s attorney is able to seiae upon any |

circumstance and argue that it is mitigating, without

being forced to attempt to bring himself within a

prescribed list.

It is worth noting that in California the standard-

less penalty rial has evolved through a ‘series of court

decisions all of which, at the insistence of defendants

v. Powell, 67 Cal.2d 32, 429 P.2d 137, 59 Cal Rptr. S17 (1967)

(kidnaping); People v. Massie, 66 Cal.2d 899, 428 P.2d S69, 59

Cal. Rptr. 733 (1967) (robbery); People v. Varnum, 66 Cal.2d 808,

427 P.2d 772, 59 CalRptr. 108 (1967) (robbery, kidnaping);

People v. Wilson, 66 Cal2d 749, 427 P.2d 820, 59 Cal Rptr. 156

(1967) (double murder, possibly in the-course of perpetrating.a

burglary); People v. Modesto, 66 Calzd 695, 427° Po2d 788, 59 Cal

Rptr. 124 (1967) (double murder, possibly in the course of perpe

trating rape and burglary; prior murder conviction); People 4

Mill, 66 Cal.2d 536, 426 Pe2d 908, 58 Cal Rptr. 340 (1967) Crob

bery); People v. Pennington, 66 Cablld 508, 426 Po2d 942, 58 Cal

Rptr. 374 (1967) (kidnaping, rape, as indieated at 66 Calld 511

n. 1); People v. Bandhauer, 66 Cal2d 524, 426. P 2d 900, 58 Cal

Rptr 332 (1967) (robbery): People ve. Gonzaly, 66 Cabld 482, ~

426 P.2d 929, 58 CaLRptr. 361 (1967) Crobbery): People eo Griffin,

66 Cal2d 459, 426 P.2d 507, 5S Cal Rptr. 107 (1967) (rape

People v. Mines, 66 Cal2d 348, 425 Pld 557,07 Cal Rptr. 757

(1967) (robbery ) ; i ople '. Lookadoo, 66 Cal2d 807, °425 Pld

208, 57 Cal. Rptr. 60S (1967) (robbery) ; People r, Spencer, 66

Cab2d 158, 424 Pld 715, 57 Cal Rptr. 163° (1967) (robbery,

kidnaping).

it , we

and for their Denetit, removed Crome the jpv'’s con

sideration standards found riimical te’ detendant’s

interest, People eo Green, AT Cal. 2am, aoe Pd Be7

(E900), overritled Che Tee of cases aplioldime the pre

priety of Anstrneting the yury that at: stroudd beanie any

the death perialty aanless it found miatigatuns errpum

atiunees. Dae Bre opal ‘iy Lecvvy . 8 Cabld Ta, oo Dd

Oa, SOO CEMOL), Prosecutors wore forbidden: te: airgae

to the jury thatthe death pronalty “sa deterrent te

CPt, Peopl te. Morse, a0 Valo til, nas 1" Sd iki,

So Cal ipte 2ob beds, Neha that newhor by istrie

thote’ thor evidderiee coubd: the puny Lan infortiod that 1

person comvietedd of test deacree nrupder ad sent heed

to Tite traprtsetiment: eo te paapehed: within evn

Vears, The UN pebteties “ait thie Calitas fin monet this

Hetuls strona te beat (UE thee praprasition that stand

ards eat ons resull in hhh death weritenes

Vhe argument for the CORSE EL Tr anadity of standare

lens praca tril bas coed strenarth Pasean Aha ob

etstom of this Court ut itherspioon v- Pinos, WO

tS Sho 1S). where thi (iatinl Haba od thy

evens Last evel istot unt potential beeen thi capital:

cuses th the tiferest of tuaking thy HUEY Gas Peper 4

Hative ads possible of the comsernce amd valiios of th

COMDMENEEELEN Dey arestaein that reine: capsprenent tas Chee

haath prartnaa lt Walls vucet be onebictoal Picci Pans iigila

then ‘hus bs ose yen bens a uatts hi’ tas preter tinds thea -

Vaetutase faet the cleath porrealt Vhs C\uet ha iheolared

that “Ta pury (hat oust Choa between Fibs Thnk vibe

brent anal Capital panaestinient ean do Litthe teen 7

petal fas mart dery yb loae: threat “4 Vite. haa’ oaks athe rine ;

the community ate the yMestion at tite or dhewih Riat.

ath) bk reapolas ISIS ase ded.) Phe wrant of discretion toa.

sebiteheihiy ju WEVes the conseience of the COMET

the fullest appheation im any given case. ‘Thus ine

arcuineahist full ciseretion, petitioner's counsel

are oon reality stating that the conscience of the COM

munity shonld net be brought. fully te bear on the.

question of sentenee, Df a pe salty jury were required

tay sepopely prese ribed standards, then hy the authority

ant Woithe es each side wottld be able te exclude:

hy catse: those jirers Whe, though they would? not .

avtomatiead Vete qeaunst oa death sentence, stated

that thes Were in disdereement with the standards and

Wwarttla cota teapply them. Phe resultine jue woth.

there Dy he tess representative o f the COME thew

Wiis een isioned: hy the We the rs pron dleeaston,

Petitioner asserts that the standardless penalty pre

ceyting denies resuhurity and equality. "This is hot

correct, As ™ stated in Dai ote Anderson, suprd, uo

V.C..688, G1 47 Pid 117, 127-128, 73 CabLRptr. 2t,

bake. equal protection 1s afforded decease every per

on has the Suine ehanee for lenieney as well as the

ane possthrlity vat reece ine the maximuain penaley,

‘Thus there as nothine discriminatory in the pre

cedinns

Wee i

etatuotier on etYect derianmds that all capital defend’ j

e . . as oe ,

pits tv oqtadly: deprived of the benefleentetfeet. of a.

Hv s Wiestramed pity. sviipeatha. and other meres

r, - a y . ‘

abelypeetions Phe prinenite of equatity in eapitad

|

enteneipe mak be titelleetually satistvine.- but. we:

cantot believe that the Constitution requires Hirisedie

Litre Pelhainan eoptal prriritstinnecnit fo return to a seu.

. , .

"

o

» ,

.

> >.

a

7

>

4 ad

‘

>

’ 7

. ; *

*

:

*

> +

» ®

; 4

a7 .

>

‘ \

.

°

. = *

:

2

.

2

.

:

F *

.

’ ° ad "

7 r :

ol

7

7

*

’ ; 7 ’ '

* .

’

. >

°7

. . “

‘

.

*

7 ’

°

2

7

*

e

o@,

y

$

°

°

.

e-*

’

’

*

” -

>

.

*

wo

a

eee”

“

“*

°

.

>

v

oe

.

°

’

a*

.

o

;

ot

; ’

° °

e

o?

. ’

eo ’ °

P :

F °

a

*

.

pot.

°

°

2

*

° ”

a

2

°

os

. .

+ .

ee

e

° ; %

. e

e

° ©

°

e

a

ae °

e . °

*

-

7 ie

J

2

°

+ >

o

*

*

°*e

e . a

© tow? “beer evans amd capt:

chupem fot the ha

Deter elparls pirohih

petetoabated Ao per

f eupital OMT etyee

shoe oh elvanee the

wt iy oumemmtnn bbe

potion bits cog,

ae

.

doctrine fer,

+ hee colanede

ee ie, Ker’

‘ E Pee Odes ‘slewtnneons,

Se ts ceenfent nem

+ Comet Of Append 7

<deld peotate a 4 N pope

P Gontil ratte Sree

1. > t. i; 0° Daf

~~,

ov bitigl 7 leinnts W bintever :

” votot panalty de

theo tbe.

ws ool, LT ning

the “dieteije whieh

rlacdt putuilty

he retire

of pecubarity

pe venel the tet renal

q stele

.

y* bee

fried tention .

ether trine, te °

: 20

‘and state levislatures from effectuating a substan-

five end net? comstitutionally denied them, by

Whatever pe raised files Hiettis these bodies consider

est appropriate.” Note, 109 C, "a. |. Rew. 67,

Str (DEW),

In this case, the national and state legislatures lees

‘ilesived to effectuate the substantive end of nizing

the actual incidence of the death penalty through

allowing juries free rem to exercise mermy rather than

te adhere to the demands of <triet justice, His incon:

eonvable that this end would be constitutionally denied

the lewislatures, and for that reason. the standardless

penalty trial is immune from the vagueness attack.

In addition, a ready answer has been provided to

petitioner's contention that the ad hoe judements

hecessariiy made Iny Juries in capital sentencing are

per se. unconstitutional : ;

“[T]nto the process of weighing .. . consider-

Hons Phearing upon vagueness} there enters that

principle whieh is always a force in the Court's

deliberations, precisely beeause the Court ix

charged with the preservation, in balance, of a

complex lot of social and individual values: the

principle of necessity. The maintenance of order

is the precondition of any freedom in a society,

and where the subject matter of regulation ix

stich as to make unfeasible modes of law adminis

tration other than those whieh involve ad hoe

judgments, considerable presstires are eréated in

faver of permitting an ad hoe judgement scheme.”

Id. at 9%,

Furthermore the sentencing function is no less par-

tieularized, i0:, ad hoc, when carried out by a judge

/

21

*

in any criminal case. Both jury sentencing in a eapi-

‘tal case and sentencing by a judge are similar in that

the Legislature has prescribed the punishments avail-

able; in both it has authorized a specified body to

make @ choice within legally preseribed limits. A de-

fendant’s potential for rehabilitation is only one of a

number of factors that a judge considers in determin-

‘ing what sentence to impose. He must also consider

the community's needs for protection. No specific

standard controls the exercise of a trial judge's dis-

cretion and no court has ever intimated, let alone held,

that the defendant's rights are thers ‘by violated. In re

Anderson, 69 A.C, 638, 652, 447 P2d 117 i, 126-127, 73

CaLRptr. 21, 30631. oignes =o = 0

‘In cone duding. this argument, we direct the at-

tention of the Court to-the conclusions of the body.

whieli has made the most authoritative and xhaustive

i to date of capital punishment :

here are strong reasons for believing that it

= st inevitably be found impracticable to define

a class of murders in which alone the infliction

of the death penalty is appropriate. The crux of

the matter ix that any ‘legal definition must be

expressed in terms of objec tive characteristics of

the offense, whereas the choice of the appropriate

penalty, must be based on a much wider range of

considerations, which cannot be defined but are

essentially a matter for the exercise ef disere-

- tion.” Roy al Commission “on Capital Punishment,

1949-1959 Report 173. ~ 4

, a

If THIS COURT SHOULD FIND THE STANDARDLESS PENALTY

TRIAL UNCONSTITUTIONAL IN THE CONTEXT OF THE

ARKANSAS PRACTICR DISTINGUISHING FEATURES oF

CALIFORNIA PROCEDURE WOULD WARRANT REFUSAL To

STRIKE DOWN THE CALIFORNIA PRACTICE

Net contentine batioel! with an attack om the stand

“s iMdless penalty determination jer ose, pretittonenr ta

nide tiueh of certian dspeets of Arhatisas petevoulinne

ted praetice Whieh te atlewed to retder the standard

lees penalty delerniniation Uneonstititional as pre

stim in Arhanes. We disnaree with thts eemteniticeny,

bat Daeliewe af A rte have te te preoticdenet the tisk

Jeb atewertie if Per our part, we will content ons

nahh ae with peereetan ait that Chee proetrbiorates ol

Vihatiogs proetion de net exist i Catitorniua TE

hat tnattes, are probably tet oenenral throuchout the-

beintnaen Weer ntisrureest that Thies Cited etige cel titeeceteetetent eon

lity et the Nthatieas practice Woetthel thet justify a

: setupelias thickens ite tee the stamdandh penpals preowned

iti ne si

Potithenien allewes that en Arhageas ondy a jury tenses

Deteeranntnne Whiether, ee ee et convicted oho euipiital

‘ renee tm ber statfen thy oils ath iv rialty iatul that a pany

vendiet of cheath - tietialls beeataatites Uhertgs giv faerie aa

Hidietal veview.s bo Culifoeuin, be contenant. a aan

- tendd cote Cheat teotae coh peetnsalt yy tpaae Lee wanted (‘al Pony

4 ah USOT Pan catew evened, pdtetal vewtew cst Teeliia

ilevsth) vewedtet ts ecdels uviuthiblh

a ti hi je ith sal i ‘ Finn me baacot he 1G oy The*Vhe

trial, the teoel iwilew bey ths shuts te review the

é wor ew te dedangentive whathe voite diet tnnels \* TOL

. ~~

f

23

Wedhettient the werht ot She ev ilenioe stipperte The

jury *s verdict, te tt te dhewteles at hows tot, ter

hits ghee paaver te teduce the potalty te tite un.

priscnmient.” Te re Ddorsen, GAC GS. GON.

M7 Pd 17, PT CabRpte. tt, 2s Cae

Tu :

Vhs tidietal restew aets 4 ity cebes beets

sbosedel sauragist aehuteaey wars aetoon

.

While the Stripers titer Cecio bie tee peeve ns sttely te

readiioe the «heath whiten, glad coat refains a lari

Heeersentites aed eettigel oven -stheh ctite Biever thy the sethe

bisatael, thie Califor “a Shapers Hite Opeth. Deve titties

ats alecathy seiebactewetits ened is tee peetialty Vey VHA Eth Ske

Hihewenthy pre piebietal attest aay emner on thy protoalty -

polacaner aol an Crd, seu People: oe Mines OF Cabo dot

ee Pd IN, ie of ‘ul Ve jete ie’ (Uhl bwaith apeprt venta,

ter Chee eenelt poltiane fhe satiie stameband of barmilesso Vhyet

*

Which Apylion tn trials peomenatls

Viv cucbebitacae the tracking puaerate anctenond tor the

\ sotest at tionality ot Ole ttecle Veaebnet ee

petattertien trate thaat, wha coobenbeanigeel with the stand

tables pootalty Getal at das the You of vertiatly-

comply AL eee fee ke teat been tty nt it. jedi itty

“befertanttyation for wont of televandt Chetiial tutor

Cherte Coote b rete th elite ind i} mat lihehy teers Thibuect jiteoonnl

dhuiniuy a ottehe colt prety alta tes i! witbicnet mettticotsy

hts perty thee sttiet olf teeritatiation Whale wie ade

wot’ aces jet thes at anne Ot Wee theebe Oh “ Califieenia 4

aonee cel the tive atiates whieh ek b dertinmeuats tivial .

ith walt aad prrrielt ys beetnre dedowenetanoed op epeitali

pre oeadinny Nt thine peeamerabine * oViedetiwe of Che ets

‘ riteestistiee : Abi Pontadyy thy ory the ahels tobanet

a

~“’

However, thee extremely

de hondiints preelides any one.

ition aoainest Dodtane from

Wake the forecoine sta

— Hees? the faet that

teh oot firetidecwrme ton

7 ne how that the per

heathy rvhitences is jhe-

he peereentince Of whites

mee De coterall percentage,

ihe ehann af racial die

ol tthe death j" nalty oon

7 we stibet, that) those

penalty Cal owhitel) allow

hewn pores arbitra

resent Arkitusas are far

to pepeonit tn Californie

’ hel hebdine that thy

Hithoonetitutional Wy

a” ryt jrewnthe ath tas uphill

the -usstne af at eon

iv Othe Caniet. However,

hh come titurtrotiadl aaas de ye

wetarabdons Whiehl onibandpe

pepene oritiul fis thy Ciosnpet

copter Jrteceulire. on oat thy

jtdvvobdeate anf thee -onetitution

rilont the taek of rebuttine

i Peeeeber teen it) Arhoatren

>

26

capital sentencing that may arise frome the factual

data compiled by petitioner.’ We do, however, make

the observation that petitioner has sueceeded in estab

lishing no nexus whatseever between the claimed

racial discrimination and the-laek of standards char

“acterizing the procedure for determining penalty in

capital cases. PP Arkansas jurors are, as petitioner

has stiewested, bent on racial discrimination, there is

ne reason Whatever te believe that they wall be de

terved in earmyiig out sueh discrimination by any’§

dustrietion or combination of ist riet bons Which oa

idee may read to them,

Put fit be assumed that petitioner has established

Helo a nexus between the alleged) racial diserimina

thon and the standardless penalty trial as te show that

the latter catises, contributes teor tn ANY WAY eNreer,

bates the former, the anawer is te confine the renedy

tothe particular problem. We believe we have demen

trateal the overall amehorative affcdts of a stamdare

Jems penalty proceodime,. (iiven these effeets. the

ostandarctess proceeding shold be refained Hhsotar as

prosstble, cd abanidertiec! only to the extent necessary

to etiresthe possible sub tantive evil of racial «liserim

Haition. Perhaps the MSW er, then, is fe require stand

ards Cand perhaps Ditiiveated tials as well) only in

rape trials, where Vapes is eapatalls punishable, Vhe

restriction of a eonstituttonal requirement of lecishe

tively Hipaasedt standards for the ourdanee of partes

An penalty determinations te rape triads would of pe

Hitioner’s hypothesis about the tests betwern racial

dis@rimination and standardles: poenalts trigats { Trite,

¢

os

td

=

have the effect of surgically going to the root of racial

—Uiserimination in eapital sentencing without enmpley

dug the meat-axe procedure of requirtne standards tn.

all death pen: ty determinations or of unwarrauitedly

denying the general power of states to impose capital

purishinent for rape. ‘

* CONCLUSION

This Court should Uupliold thee Sota Practhee of al

lowing juries in capital « CuLSes free wremt te exercise

their natural tuelinations to spare the defendant, with

OLE Tpostniee on them standards Witch would tievtt

ably have the effect ot Melmine the jury ‘toward

Iiposing: strict justice rather Phan rantitie” meres

SIs any event, this Court) sheuld make no. broad

holding that standardless pemalt{ triads are’ uneotsts

tutional, resardless of local veiriations and: procedures

Which effectively guard avatost-arbiteary jury aetioty

Dated, San’ Mranetseo, Cabltornia,

Mebruary Po: 1969,

Respeethiully sabanitted,

Pitovas@. Lyxeu,

Attorney thenorel af the State I wll 1

, %

° Npue ie We Db avtes, die

Abstotant Attorney General of the Siate of Cale

.

rr rT

Ronni Ro Gian teen:

Fe jruts Attartes (reneral of the Stat finulit tie

Ciro RR. Nok,

Deputy \tt mney lietioral ef the Stateodt wl f wie

« e

' Allorme ys tor toes Caria,

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.