Opposition Brief — Tex Tan Welhausen Co. v. National Labor Relations Board
Supreme Court brief1970
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
* "INDEX
REL SNES EAA Oe ee ee Z
EES Rat ee
Questions presented . cere ath Bact assmibe Seutinedlaessaindeowied
Sanaa a C
Statement_...____ oa ha DO EX
A. The Board’s findings of Se
1.. The negotiations prior to the strike_
2. The strike and subsequent negotia-
BREE AD 20a Beene gn a |
B. The decisions I eles acini rp
<A ETESEES IESE AGS a
Conclusion -__________- eee a ad
CITATIONS
Cases:
—H. J. Heinz Co. v. National Labor Rela- |
tions Board, 311 U.S. 514 ___________
‘ ~ H.K. Porter Co. v. National Labor Rela-
tions Board, No. 230, 1969 Term, de-
cided March 2, 1970 ____-__________ :
National Labor Relations Board v. Acme
Industrial Co., 385 U.S. 482._________
National Labor Relations Board v. Amer-
ican National Insurance Co., 343 USS.
a Eh a ne
National Labor Relations Board v. Great
Dane Trailers, Inc., 388 U.S. 26 ___-
Roegelein Provision Co., 181 NLRB No.
ta, 10 lueeeee 1906...
oir BS OGAD Gin Sa Pe stenst aman: ve! +i. LED OES
20
20
21
18
21
22
AA RCNA ihn 0 Tat i OD Bh A Me) et BO Bie 8 ARES Nea, ie
Statutes:
II
National Labor Relations Act, as amended.
- (61 Stat. 136, 73 Stat. 519, 29 U.S.C.
ND fips ntemrsctsi im ncnetetirennd : 2
Section 8(a)(1).--_-___________-_ 2,16
SE ED citar mwanenn nice 3,16
Section 8(a) (5) ..--....-___.._ 3, 16
OE nk ee ec eeae 2, 20
64 | on! ons
In the Supreme Court af the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1969
No. 1288 .
' Tex TAN WELHAUSEN COMPANY AND TEX TAN
WESTERN LEATHER COMPANY, DIVISION OF
TANDY. CORPORATION, PETITIONER
Vv.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE —
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
_ THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS |
BOARD IN OPPOSITION
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
Al-Ail) is reported at 419 F. 2d 1265. The Board’s
decision and*order (Pet. App. A12-A171) are re-.
ported at 172 NLRB No. 93.
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on December 31, 1969, and a petition for rehearing
| sir |
(1)
2.
_ was denied on January 12, 1970 (Pet. 2). The pe-
tition| for a writ of certiorari was filed on March 6,
1970. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked un-
der 28 U, S.C. 1254(1). ,
satiate PRESENTED
1. Whether substantial evidence supports the find-
ing of the National Labor Relations Board that the
‘Company violated Section 8(a)(5)-and (1) of the
~
National Labor Relations Act by manifesting overall
bad faith in its negotiations with the Union repre-
sentative of its employees, by ‘refusing to bargain in.
good faith conce rning piecework standards and griev
“ance procedures, and by other conduct.
2. .Whethér the Board’s order remedying the un-
lawful refusal to bargain is reasonable and, proper.
3.. Whether the Board properly. concluded that the
Company violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1) -of the
Act by refusing to reinstate to their former positions
employees who had engaged in an unfair labor prac-
‘tice strike, and by denying vacation benefits to the
employees who participated in the strike.
‘STATUTES INVOLVED
The relevant provisions of the National Labor Re-:
' lations Act, as amended (61 Stat, 136, 73 Stat. 519.
29 U.S.C. 151 et 8eq.), in addition to Section’ 8(d)
(see Pet. 4), are as follows:
, Sec. 8. (a) It shall be an ‘eitaie labor practice
for an employer— ;
° 4
(1) to interfere with, réstrain, or coerce em-
ployees in the exercise of the" tights: guaranteed
in section 7;
om . . . * * *
(3) by diserimination in regard to hire or teri.
ure of employment or any term or condition of
employment to encourage or discourage meme.
ship in any labor organization: *.* *
e | . ‘ _ an
(5) to refuse to bargain collectively with the |
representatives of his employers, subject to the
provisions of section 9(a)
7 STATEMENT
A. The board's Findings of Fact: | ;
In March 1959, the Amalgamated Meat Cutters
and Butcher Workmen: of North ‘America, AFL-CIO.
was certified by the Board as the representative of |
the Company’ s production and maintenance employees
On May 10, 1963, after unfair labor practice pre.
ceedings, the Company and the Union entered inte
their first collective’ bargaining agreement, for a two
year term (Pet. App..Al8). At the Union's request,
. . Negotiations for a new contract began in April 1964.
(Pet. App. A119). | »
- : > ;
1. The. negotiations prior to the strike
Negotiations: proceeded for seven months hefore a
strike, was called (infra, p. 12), during which time
the parties held nine formal bargaining’ seasions with
. out reaching an agreement on anything except oné
minor point—that employees transferred from one de-.
4
partment to another for the convenience of the Com-
pany would not lose their seniority (Pet, App. A71-
A72). During these negotiations, the Company “re-
fused to incorporate into a contract matters which
were, or which it claimed were, the actual practice,
including the Union’s right to timestudy a job on
which there was a grievance, the Union’s right to file
grievances on the establishment of standards, and a
prohibition against retiming by reason of ‘high earn-
ings alone,” while “[a]t the same time it insisted
that the contract provide that the employees surren-
der their statutory right to bargain collectively about
piecerates, subcontracting, plant closing or moving,
-and other matters” (Pet. App. A126). The Company
refused to discuss economic matters until the Union
made substantial concessions on non-economic matters, —
but at the same time uttered “subtle threats” to move -
its operation to Puerto Rico because of financial con-
siderations (Pet. App. A123-A124). It engaged in
such delaying and dilatory tactics as using negotia-
tors without authority to commit the Company (Pet.
App. A129-A130), insisting on written proposals, and
reading undisputed provisions of the contract and
lengthy extracts from law. revjew articles during the
bargaining sessions (Pet. App. A128-A129). The
Company also used unreasonable’ and shifting argu-
ments to avoid. reaching any agreement on such sub-
jects as arbitration, overtime, ventilation, and incor-
poration in the contract of the Company’s own_lan-
guage regarding the retiming of job standards (Pet,
App. A132-A135). And it refused to give the Union’s
timestudy engineer sufficient data to study existing
jobs (Pet. App. A93-A94).
The bargaining over piecework standards and griev-
ances procedures illustrates the a bad faith
in the negotiations:
_ Under Article III of the prior contract, wages were
determined by quantity of production under the Com- ©
pany’s “Standard Hour System.” *, The Company, by
engineering stop-watch studies, unilaterally estab-
lished both’ the standard and classification rates for
particular. jobs (Pet. App, “A25-A27). During the
negotiations, the Union sought to obtain a contract
clause which would assure that the standards were -
fairly set .and provide a basis for judging the fair-
ness of the standard if a grievance should. arise.
- Thus, at the third bargaining session, the Union pro-
posed a clause which provided that “with the proper —
application of incentive effort employees will be able
to achieve a minimum of 30 percent above the time-_
study standard * * *” (Pet. App. A41-A42; R. 2730).
1 For a given job, a “standard” is established, which is the
number of decimal hours required to produce 100 units by a
normal operator working at a normal rate of speed under
normal working conditions. A classification rate is also
given to each job, for example, $1.31 per hour. Thus, if the
standard for a particular job is 2.00 hours, the average em-
ployee, working at a normal rate of speed under normal
working ‘conditions, should produce 100 units in exactly
2 hours. If, however, he completes 100 units in only 1.5 hours,
he would achieve 133 percent of “standard” (2 + 1.5) and,
therefore, would earn $1.75 per hour ($1.31 x 133). On the
other hand, if he took 3 hours to produce 100 units, he would
be producing at only 66 percent of standard (2+ 3) and
would only be entitled to 3.76 per hour, subject, however, to
the federal minimum wage floor (Pet. App. A28; R. 2725-
2730.) “R.” references, it should be noted, are to the joint
appendix printed by the parties for use in the court below.
6
Union negotiator Shapiro explained that sucha clause
would prohibit a timestudy engineer from requiring
employees to work at incentive to achieve standard
(Pet. App. A41; R. 259-262), and would indicate to
the employees that they are “expected and provided .
with the opportunity to earn above [standard]” (R.
350, 345-351). Company chief negotiator Weiss re-
sponded that the Union’s proposal would provoke
grievances (R, 346-347), and added (R. 351):
Your language doesn’t fit the system at all. The
system is that a normal man working at a nor-
mal speed achieves one hundred percent. You
say he has got to achieve one hundred and thirty
percent.
Shapiro replied (ibid.) :
No, I do not say that. I say with proper applica-
tion of incentive éffort. | .
Weiss then said this language was “getting into some-
thing too vague and indefinite to be practical * * *”
‘(R. 351). Shapiro suggested, instead, that the parties
‘incorporate language frorn the Company’s Informa-
tion Bulletin into the contract,’ but Weiss declined
(R. 851). ~
. ?The Company issued to its employees a booklet entitled
‘“Information Bulletin on Tex-Tan’s Standard Hour Plan for
Production Workers,” which explained the system as follows
(R. 2725-2729) :-
This unit of work is known as the Standard Hour and
represents the standard amount of Effective Effort which
is reasonable to expect from a worker during One Hour
by a Normal Operator working at a Normal Rate of
ee
At a later bargaining conference, the Union pro-
posed language on production standards, which was:
copied in its entirety from the Company’s bulletin
(note 2, supra) (Pet. App. A44):
Section 10. An operator working at normal speed
is rated one hundred percent (100%). One hun-
dred percent (100%) productivity is attained
without special effort if the operator is experi-
enced on the. operation and is applying himself
normally, - :
Weiss summarily rejected the new proposal, saying
it was the same as the other proposal with changed
percentages (Pet. App. A44; R. 1172). When Sha-
piro remarked that the proposal was new, taken com-
pletely from the Company’s bulletin, Weiss replied
that language appropriate for a bulletin was not suit-
able for a contract (Pet. App. A44; R. 1172-1174).
Speed under Normal Working Conditions. This includes
an allowance for Fatigue and Personal Needs.
= « ” o :
An operator working at normal speed is rated 100%.
* * a . *
100% Productivity is attained without special effort if
the operator is experienced on the operation and is apply-
ing himself normally.
- - oe - -
For extra effort or Productivity above 100%, a paid
premium is earned.
All time standards are set for the particular method used —
at the time the time study was. made and will not be
changed unless the method, procedure, layout, or material
is changed. |
\
8
Also at the third bargaining session, the Union pro-
posed the following revision of Article III of the prior
contract,. designed to limit the Company’s right arbi- -
_ trarily to retime jobs (Pet. App. A833; R. 2730):
The Company shall have the right to re-time any
job on which a substantial change has been made.
Any such retiming and the standard resulting
therefrom shall reflect a change in earnings only
to the extent of the actual change in the job con-
tent. Employees to be time studied shall be ad-
vised in advance that the study is to be taken. —
It also proposed the following (R. 2730-2731) :
The Company agrees that no job may be re-timed
for reason of high earnings alone.
When Company representatives expressed concern
that the word “substantial”: in the proposal might
cause disputes as to whether retiming was justified,
Union negotiator Shapiro agreed to drop the word
“substantial” (Pet. App, A. 34; R, 228-229). Com-
pany representatives then objected that the require-
ment that a new standard reflect only the change ac-
tually made would result in a grievance “every time”
as to the extent of the change and that the matter .
was too complicated to be spelled out in a contract
(Pet. App. A34; R. 243-247). Company negotiator
Weiss also objected to the provision prohibiting retim-
ing for high earnings, contending that it would pre-
vent correction of standards based on mistakes re-
vealed by the fact that earnings turned out to be far
out of line (Pet. App. A34; R. 360). When Shapiro
agreed to add the language “This does not preclude
the right of the Company to retime a job in which
4
‘9
an error has been made in the original study,” Weiss
replied that the proposal would sow the seed for griev-
ances (Pet. App. 34-35; R. 360-362).°
“On July 28, 1965, when the Company finally pre-
sented a complete contract proposal, it contained a
provision on production standards which was the same
as that set forth in the Company’s Information Bul-
- letin, except for the prefatory phrase: “Without in
‘ any way limiting the Company’s authority set forth
herein:and purely by way of explanation” (Pet. App.
A. 35-36; R. 2728-2729). Shapiro asked what the
prefatory clause” meant—whether it meant that the
Company still reserved the right to restudy a job even
though there might have been a method change. Weiss
cryptically replied, “It means exactly what it says”
(Pet. App. A36-A38; R. 934-935).
The Union’s effort to obtain a contract provision ~
respecting piecework giievances received the same
treatment. Thus, under the old contract the Union
did not have the right to grieve over the establishment —
of piecework standards (Pet. App. A31-A32; R. 2710-
On another occasion, Company negotiators insisted that
jobs never were retimned by reason of high earnings alone.
Shapiro said that in that event there should be no objection
to so providing in the contract, and asked whether: the Com-
pany would be in violation of the old contract if it did retime
a job because of higher earnings (Pet. App. A39; R. 360-
366, 468-513). Weiss said that the proposed clause would be
an implied admission that it had happened. Shapiro then
proposed that the provision read, “Just as in the past our
policy will continue to be that we will not retime a job and
change standards on the basis of high earnings alone.” Weiss
replied that the Union was trying to wreck the Company’s .
piecework system (Pet. App. A38; R. 946-949).
10
2711). Several such grievances had been processed,
however, and the Company early in the negotiations
justified its rejection of the Union’s various proposals
relating to the wage system by claiming that the em-
ployees could grieve if they considered standards un-
_ fair (Pet. App. A32; R. 332, 616, 883-888). Accord-
'.ingly, in its contract proposal submitted on October
18, 1965, the Union attempted to revise the grievance
procedure to include specifically (R. 2747-2748):
“The establishment of * * * any piece-work rate es-_
tablished by the Company.” The Company objected,
stating that the old contract was not intended to per-
mit the processing of grievances as to the establish-
ment of piecework standards, but only as to mistakes
in their application. Weiss added that granting the
Union the right to grieve over the establishment of
. standards sounded “like the Union is going to insist
on being involved in the setting of every standard”
(Pet, App. A32; R. 1181-1182). Shapiro acknowl-
edged that the Company had the right to set a stand-
ard initially without ‘consulting the Union, but in-
quired whether, under the previous contract, the Un-
ion did not have the right to grieve over the establish-
ment of a standard if the Union felt the standard
was “not satisfactory.” Weiss declined to advance an
opinion. He then agreed “‘to try to draft something
* * *»” but stated that he was not promising to sub-
mit anything (Pet. App. A32; R. 1183-1185). When
an argument arose later about whether the Union ©
could grieve over the establishment of standards,
Production Manager Manning interjected that the
Union had “exercised the right in the past,” and
“ll
Shapiro agreed that a dozen grievances over piece-
' work standards had been processed (R. 1213). How- ©
ever, Weiss stated that the Union could grieve only |
_if the Company acted arbitrarily. But, when Shapiro
sought to pin down what “arbitrarily” meant, Weiss
replied, “We are trying to keep you from wrecking
' the system” (R, 1214-1217).
The Union also attempted to include in the con-
tract a provision guaranteeing it “the right to time
study any job on which there is a dispute” (Pet. App.
A45; R. 2750-2731). At the fourth conference, Sha-_
piro noted that the Company had permitted independ-
ent time studies in the past and asked if the same
- procedure would automatically be followed in the fu-
ture when a grievance arose over piecework. Shapiro
added that it had taken three weeks to get an answer
in the case of one grievance then pending, and said,
“* * * T don’t want to go through a lengthy proce-
dure in order to get a time study man.” Weiss re-
fused to make any arrangements for the future, stat-
ing only that the Company would agree to reasonable
requests (Pet. App. A45-A46; R. 315-320). When
the issue arose later, Weiss said that the matter was
adequately ‘covered by the old contract, because: the
right to file a grievance implied the right to do any-
thing necessary to process it (R. 356-360). Shapiro
relied, “Let’s say that in the contract,” but Weiss re-
joined, “I don’t think it is necessary to spell it out
any more specifically. The law implies that” (R.
858). The Union pressed its timestudy proposal at
several of the remaining pre-strike conferences (R.
513-514, 564-566, 580-581, 691-706, 926-934), but
. &
the Company continued to oppose such a contract pro-
vision because the Union had been accorded the right
to make timestudies in the past and it might use
such a clause to “disrupt and undermine the time ~
study” (R. 928). |
2. The’strike and subsequent negotiations
In mid-October 1965, the Union held a membership
meeting to discuss the progress of negotiations (Pet.
_ App. A94; R. 1983-1988). Shapiro advised the em-
ployees that ‘the bargaining committee had met and
‘voted to strike because of the Company’s. refusal to.
bargain. When employees asked whether they were
striking because the Company had not given a wage
increase,-Shapiro replied; “[N]o, we are striking be-
cause the Company has refused to negotiate on wages
and all the other items which have been reported to
you * * *” (Pet. App. A95; R. 1988-1989). After a
discussion about strike benefits, the employees, by a
secret vote of 212 to 9, authorized the committee to
‘eall a strike (Pet. App. A95; R. 1989-1990)..
The Company rejected the Union’s proposed con-—
tract on October 20, and on November 5 the Union
filed charges with the Board alleging, inter alia, an °
unlawful refusal to bargain (Pet. App. A16, n. 2).
That same day, 60 to 75 employees, representing each
départment-in the Company, met in the Union’s of-
fice. Shapiro f6ld them that the Company had con-
tinued its refusal to bargain, that the.Union had
filed unfair labor practice charges, and that the ©
strike was being called because of the Company’s un- .
fair labor practices. A motion that the Company be
18
declared on strike as of midnight November 7, 1965,
was carried unanimously (Pet. App. ns R.
2014-2017). :
The strike ents on Nove ember 8, 1965, and lasted
for seven months (Pet. App. A96, A104). During
' that period, the parties held two formal-and five ex-
ecutive bargaining sessions in the presence of a fed- *
eral mediator; the issue of a wage increase was dis-
cussed for the first time, but agreement was not
reached on that or any other issue (Pet. App. A96-
A104; R. 1285-1287, 1307, 1325- 1331, 1857-1865,
1345-1354, 2579-2583, 2031-2039).
On June 3, 1966, the Union notified the Company
by telegram that the strike was being terminated,
and the striking employees unconditionally offered to
return to work (Pet. App, A104; R. 2774-2775). On
June 7, however, the Company refused to reinstate
most of the striking employees until such time as the
Company “need[ed] them” and could “work them
‘into the work force” (Pet. App. A144; R. 1366).
Some employees were reinstated but not to theif for-
mer positions, and were thereafter issued warning ©
notices for. low production (Pet. ADD. A144-A155; R.
2273-2276, 2854-2855, 2860, 2865, 2158-2167, 2838-
2840, 2304-2306, 2298-2301, 2242, ‘2208-2212, 2249-
2253, 2262-2271, 2282-2290). }
The Company also announced, through Weiss, that
it would not pay vacation benefits to the strikers.
Weiss said that the terms of the old contract (R.
2703) with respect to vacations were being applied.
Under that contract, vacation pay was figured as a
percentage of the employee’s yearly salary, but there
14
was a further provision that, if an employee missed
_200 hours during the vacation year, he lost half, and
‘if he missed 280 hours, he lost all, of his vacation.
Because of absences of. more than 280 hours, the
Company thus disqualified for both 1965 and 1966,
as regards vacation pay, all employees who had re-
-mained on-strike throughout (Pet. App. A156-A158;
*R. 1472-1476). | | ny
On June 7, the parties held their twelfth formal
bargaining session. Shapiro brought up the subject
of piecework and asked if the Company “was willing.
to agree in the contract that the Union-has the right °
to study a job in dispute by sending in its own time-.
study man” (R. 1376). Weiss sail he thought the
right to timestudy ‘was implied -in the Company’s
proposed contract, but he was unable to point to a
specific section (R. 1383-1384). When Shapiro asked
why the contract could not explicitly state that the
Union had this right, Weiss responded that addition-
al language was “unnecessary verbiage” (R. 1387-
1388). When questioned further, Weiss said that the
Company’s basic objection was that it did not want
to give the Union any contract language which would
allow the Union to avreck its standard hour system
(R. 1389). an .
Shapiro then asked if the Union had the right to
- grieve on the establishment of a piecework standard.
- Weiss said he did not know and refused to incorpo-
rate this subject as a grievance item in the contract,
on the ground the Union. could use it to undermine
15.
the piecework system (R, 1400-1401). Union negoti-
ator Weldon replied that this and many other unions
_
* * © are satisfied with the principle of the in
centive System. They aie willing to. agree to the
principles of the incentive system, but they do
not wish to give up all contractual safeguards
over that incentive system. That is, in effect.
- surrender all the power over wages to. the Com-
pany—and this is just exactly what you ar
seeking: [R. 1401.) eae
Weldon then asked how the right to grieve over the
establishment of a standard would wreck the system
Weiss replied that such’ a grievance would suspend
the established standard (R, 1410-1411). When the
Union made clear that the standard w ould continue
‘in effect even after a grievance as to it was filed (R.
(1412-1415), Weiss reverted to his former position
that under the proposal the Union could file a griev-
ance over every. standard a ae. AN105-A106; R.
1414-1416), a |
Three more formal bargaining sessions were held,
but they were equally unproductive (Pet. App. 107-
109, ALIB-ALL1).. At one of these sessions, Shapiro
protested that the. ‘Company had unilaterally. promul-
_ gated new work rules and publistied. them in booklets
which were heing given to returning strikers, and
that this had been done. without consulting the Union
(Pet. App. A127-A128; R: 2922-2947). Company
negotiators insisted that the ne w booklets contained
no substantive changes (R, 1501-1510), but Shapiro
pointed to numerous differences between the old and
new rules (R. 1501-1510; compare R. 2922-2930 with
R. 2930-2947). | } ;
16
B. The Decisions Below
On these facts, the Board found that the jeaee
had violated Section 8(a) (5) of the Act by manifest-
ing overall bad ‘faith during the course of the negotia-
tions (Pet, App. A135-A136).° The Board found that .
the Company had further violated Section 8(a) (5)-
by refusing to bargaih in good faith about piecework
standards and grievance procedures (Pet. App.
A117-A123) ; * by instituting work rule changes with-
out notifying the Union (Pet. App. A127-A128);
‘and by refusing to supply the Union's timestudy mar
with necessary data (Pet. App. A93-A94). The
Board also found that the strike was caused and per-
petuated by the Company’s unfair labdér practices;
that the strikers were entitled to reinstatement when
the strike was terminated; and that the Company
had thus violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of the
Act ‘when, on June 7,.1966, it refused to reinstate to
their former positions most of the employees who had
unconditionally offered to return to work (Pet. App.
Al143-A150). Finally, the Board found that the Com-
pany further violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1) by
denying vacation benefits to the strikers (Pet: App.
A156-A158), and. Section 8(a)(1) by issuing warn-
* The Company's bad faith was shown by its insistence upon
unilateral control over the fixing of piecework rates, while at
the same time refusing to negotiate in good faith about a defi- .
nition as to productivity «peed rating on the basis of which
production standards would be established, refusing to in-
corporate the definition agreed to in principle into a written
agreement, and insisting that emplovees be denied the right
_to file grievances over the establishment of production stand-
ards (Pet. App. A1l18-A12%).
17
ing slips for low production to strikers who were
reinstated to jobs not _— own (Pet. App. A150-
A155). .
The Board ordered the iia to cease and de-
sist from insisting, as a condition to entering into an
agreement with the. Union, “upon a provision depriv-
ing the employees of their right to file grievances on
the establishment of standards of piecework,” and
“upon excluding from such agreement any definition
or guiding principle as to productivity speed ratings
on the basis of which production standards for piece-
work are to be established”; from “[rJefusing to in-
corporate into a written contract with ‘the. Union its
agreement as to productivi ity speed ratings upon the
basis of which production standards for piecework are
to be established”; and from “in any other manner
insisting, as a condition to entering into an agree-
ment with the Union * * *, upon being given the right
to fix the rates of pay of its piecework employees
unilaterally” (Pet. App. A166-A167), The Board
further ordered the Company to bargain collectively
with the Union concerning terms and conditions of
employment, “including a definition or guiding prin-
. ¢iple to govern productivity speed ratings for piece-
work standards, and embody any understanding
' yeached in a signed agreement” (Pet. App. A168-
A169); to furnish the Union with information in its
possession necessary-for the Union to make original
timestudies or to check the Company's timestudies
(Pet. App. A169); to offer full reinstatement to
strikers. affected by the Company's unlawful refusal
to reinstate, and make such employees whole for any
18
loss of earnings suffered by reason of such refusal
(Pet. App. A169); to pay each striking employee the
1965 and 1966 vdeation pay due to him under the
May 10, 1963, contract, disregarding for this pur-
pose his absence from work between November 8,
1965, and June 3, 1966 (the period of the strike)
(Pet. App. A169-A170); and to expunge from the
Company’s records any warnings for low production
issued following the strike to employees reinstated to
jobs not their own (Pet. App. A170).
The court of appeals sustained the Board’s iad
and conclusions, as based upon substantial evidence,
and enforced its order in full (Pet. App. Al-A11).
ARGUMENT
1. The court below concluded that “there is ample
evidence in the record to sustain the Trial Examin-
er’s finding [which was adopted by the Board] that
Tex Tan did refuse to bargain in good faith regard-
ing the piecework standards and grievances, and that.
its overall approach to-bargaining was not indicative _
of a good faith attempt to reach contract terms” (Pet.
App. A4). Insofar as the petition seeks to challenge
this conclusion, it presents only an evidentiary issue
which does not warrant review by this Court. Na-
tional Labor Relations Board vy. Amcrican National
Insurance Co.; 343 U.S. 395, 409-410. Moreover, the
facts summarized in the Statement (supra, pp. 3-15)
show that the Board's findings are amply supported
by the record.’
* Petitioner’s contention that the Board’s refusal to bargain
finding is vulnerable because it rests, in part, on issues not
19
2. Nor is there merit to petitioner’s contention
that the order entered by the Board is beyond its
powers because it forces the Company to put matters
in the contract which have never been agreed upon.
The Board found that the Company unlawfully re-
fused to bargain concerning piecework standards and
grievance procedures by insisting upon unilateral con-
trol over the fixing of piecework rates, while at the
same time refusing to negotiate in good faith about
the underlying principle which would govern the Com-
pany in establishing production standards, and by in-
sisting that employees he denied the right to file griev-
_ ances over those standards (see note 4, supra). The
negative provisions of the Boayd’s order (supra, p.
17) do not require the Company to agree to any par-
ticular contract provision that had not already been
agreed to,” but merely to cease and desist from con-
tinuing to maintain the particular positions respect-
ing production standards and grievance procedures
which, in combination, constituted bad faith bargain-
ing on the subject of piecewolk rates.
alleged in the complaint (Pet. 17-18) likewise presents no issue
warranting review. As the court below found (Pet. App. A7):
“Both parties fully litigated the issue of good faith bargaining
_Lindeed, the record is over 3,000 pages) and assumed that
these issues were relevant and proper subjects of inquiry. °
In such a situation the Company has not been prejudiced by
the failure of the complaint to articulate in precise detail each
and every example of behavior which indicates that the Com-
pany negotiated in bad faith.” °
* The Board found that the Company had agreed in principle
with the Union that “[a]n operator working at normal speed
is rated 100 percent” (Pet. App. A117-Al118).
20
Nor does the affirmative portion of the Board’s or-
_ der (supra, pp. 17-18) require the Company to agree
to any particular contract provision. It merely re-
quires the Company to bargain in good faith. about
terms and conditions of employment, “including a |
definition or guiding principle to govern produc-_
tivity speed ratings for piecework standards,” and
to “embody any understanding reached”—if there
be one—‘‘in a signed agreement.” The order here is
thus tctally dissimilar from that invalidated in H. K.
Porter Co. v. National Labor Relations Board, No.
230, 1969 Term, decided March 2, 1970, which spe-
cifically required the employer to grant the union a
checkoff provision,-even though the employer had not
agreed to such a provision in collective bargaining.
As the court below correctly concluded (Pet.’ App.
‘A9): “The Board’s order does no more than require
the Company to bargain in good faith and cease its
surreptitious semantic ploys and maneuverings which
frustrated any hope of agreement on a contract defi-
nition which would be meaningful for purposes of
determining whether a specific standard was fair
* * *, Contrary to Tex Tan’s assertions the order
only requires that any agreement reached be incorpo-
rated into the contract. The Board did not attempt to
dictate what the agreement might be.” This is fully
consistent with the\ holding in H. J. Heinz Co. v. Na-
tional Labor Relations Board, 311 U.S. 514, and the
language in Section 8(d) of the Act (Pet. 4) to the
_effect that the obligation to bargain collectively en-
compasses “the execution of 2. written contract in-
MBB 6 we eS et
21
corporating any agreement reached if requested by
either party.” ’
‘3. Petitioner’s challenge (Pet. 13-14) to the
Board’s finding that the strike was attributable to
the Company’s unlawful refusal to bargain presents
another evidentiary issue which does not warrant fur-
ther review. In this regard, the court below found
that “there is substantial evidence in the record as a
whole that it was Tex Tan’s refusal to bargain in
good faith which prompted the workers to go out on
strike” (Pet. App. A5).
Nor is there merit to petitioner’s further conten-
tion (Pet. 14-17) that the denial of vacation benefits
to the unfair labor practice strikers did not constitute
unlawful discrimination against the:strikers. As this
Court held in National Labor Relations Board v.
Great Dane Trailers, Inc., 388 U.S. 26, the denial of
vacation benefits to strikers while paying such bene-
fits to non-strikers is discriminatory and hence viola-
tive of the Act, absent a substantial business justifi-.
eation for the action. Here the ¥ourt of appeals prop-
erly concluded that the Company had shown “no valid
_7 Petitioner’s contention (Pet. 9) that the Board’s order—
requiring it to “furnish the Union its written job descrip-
tions in advance of timestudies by the: Union in connection
with any grievances or in connection with the preparation for
the negotiation of contract” (Pet. App. A167)—*requires the
Company to rewrite a provision of its contract proposals”
totally misconceives the basis for the Board’s order. Peti-
tioner has a statutory obligation to provide the Union with
sufficient information for the intelligent discharge of its func-
tion as collective bargaining agent, and the order merely
implements that obligation. See National Labor Relatioks
Board v. Aeme Industrial Co., 385 U.S. 432. ;
22
business purpose for requiring a complete abrogation
of vacation pay in addition to the proportional reduc- |
‘tion already built into the system,”* particularly
since the strike was caused by the employer’s unfair
labor practices (Pet. App. A10).° |
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.
ERWIN N. GRISWOLD,
Solicitor General: .
ARNOLD ORDMAN,
General Counsel,
DOMINICK L. MANOLI,
Associate General Counsel,
Norton J. CoME, —
Assistant General Counsel,
LINDA SHER,
Attorney,
National Labor Relations Poard.
APRIL 1970.
* Vacation pay was figured as a ‘percentage of the wages
earned (supra, p. 13).
° Roegelein Provision Co., 181 NLRB No. 72,.73 LRRM °
1396, March 6, 1970 (Pet. Supp. 2) is distinguishable. There
the strike was not provoked by the employer’s unfair labor
practices, and the contract provision relating to loss of vacation
benefits had recently been negotiated with specific knowledge
_ by the union that it would apply to alsences due to the then
pending strike, no less than to othér absences.
wv. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING Office. 1970 361527 606
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.