Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Atlas Engine Works, Inc. v. NLRB

Supreme Court brief1969

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

spies COURT U. & ry

JANG 1969

i}

WIS CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1968

No. ——

9 06

Turirt Druc Company oF PENNSYLVANIA,

Petitioner,

—vV.—

NationaL Lasor Rexiations Boarp,

Respondent. —

‘PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORAh. ©

TO THE. UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Rosert Lewis

Counsel for Petitioner

11 West 42nd Street

New York, N. Y. 10036.

Of Counsel:

Jackson, Lewis, ScHnitzLer & KrupmMan

New York, New York

ee ee

Av)

a et

eee a ee ess ees

.

— ee oe

- TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions Below .............. wnsesaninsocin SAE ES aM na Beebe 2

I ote ie ee ae Thee po

Questions Presented. ............................... Saslasinahincdioeabascinitians 2

Statutes OMT EN LONG RT AR KOON Oe TIO See

Statement of the Case -.............:...-c-ecscceeceees eee 6

Reason for Granting Review .........................s.scsscscscssesseseee 9

Pornt I—

This Court Is Presently hiviowing the Identical

Issue Involved in This Case .................. 9

Point II—

Assuming That ‘This Court Holds That Authoriza-

tion Cards May Be Used as a Basis for Certifying

a Union, Certiorari Should Be Granted in Order

to Resolve a Sharp Conflict Within the Circuits

With Respect to the Rule to Be Followed Where

“There Is: Evidence of Misrepresentation as to the

Purpose of the Cards ..... oamseiaai 11

Point. III—

The Decision of the Court Below Is in Conflict

With Decisions of the 7th and 8th Circuits With.

Respect to the Applicable Rules of Evidence and

Procedure to Be Followed in Determining the

Authenticity of Authorization Cards ......2............... 16

il

8

xy

Pornt [IV—

Certiorari Should Be Granted to Resolve a Con-

PAGE

flict in the Circuits as to Whether an Employer’s ©

Good Faith Doubt of a Union’s Majority Can Be’

Negated by Subsequent Unfair Labor Practices ....

Porst V—_

Certiorari Should Be Granted ‘to Determine

Whether the Policies of the Act Are Effectuated

by: the Issuance of a Bargaining Order in Every

18

-Case in Which an Employer Unlawfully Refuses -

to Recognize a Majority Union ......... satanacitninhainetamasions

SY Bet RS EEN SN RO a OT OO CT

APPENDIX A—

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth

TMI secs nis ci acinonsnrnnsonnnsnomennvencncetfamnstnnncenntn pantie

AppenDIx B— |

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor Rela-

tions Board and Trial Examiner ...........................-

Appenvix C—

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit -...................

20

la

Se ES een ie i ise - :

lil

Table of Cases

| PAGE

Automobile Workers v. Scofield, 382 U.S. 205 .2.......... 15

.Bauer. Welding and Metal Fabricators, Inc. v. NLRB,

358 F.2d 766 (8th Cir. 1966) 2. ececeeeeeees Se (14

Bryant Chucking Grinder Company v: NLRB, 389 F.2d °

_ 565 (2nd Cir. 1967), cert. denied 392 U.S. 908 .......... . 13

Colson Corp. v. NLRB, 347 F.2d 128 (8th Cir. 1965);°

I, I Te te I aati cnc cctttticiecmsctinnins 17

Crawford Mfg. Co. v. NLRB, 386 F.2d 367 ssaae Cir.

1967), cert. denied Rr ccrestcieeretnctees BB.

Engineers & Sidihietin. Inc. v. NLRB, 376 F.2d 482

(Sth Cir. 1967) ....... ieccsibinadiele | . 14

Franks Bros. -Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 702 jake ach ee 10

Furr’s Inc. v. NLRB, 381 F.2d 562 (10th Cir. 1967) ... 15

Garner v. siwmeueel Local 776, 346 U.S. 485 00... 15

NLRB v. isbn Shoe Corp., 351 F.2d 917 (6th.

BI SP seeecicesceisessteiapiiiensebiensiicheasteenien eissatibaaeios 12

NLRB vy. Dan Howard Mfg. Co., 390, F.2d 304° (7th

Ns TED uicssinicdeaitnoccspeimenonscsceegionatnadadanenieinistonaiamlaaians 14

NLRB vy. Economy Food Calas, 333 F.2d 468 (7th

Cir. 1964) ....... sacha tencecuseliiaeecigheahshanscnnalegiascajuapualbadaniagdaedibheres 17

NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., Inc., 398. F.2d 336 (4th

Cir. 1968), cert. granted December 16, 1968 (Case

es IE eeisitncrinsisepessrtntninecenniniabaidbeaniadtabiaiinsakeeeikalaabiometnniee 1,9

' NLRB v. Pembeck Oil Corp., — F.2d —, 69 LRRM

2811 (2nd Cir. November 27, 1968) 0.0.0.0 21

NLRB v. River Togs, Inc., 382 F.2d 198° (2nd_ Cir.

I aearacetia cased haclinanrataieransscenineismenelelaaciaiee 19:

iv

‘PAGE |

| NDIRB vy. Sandy’s Stores Inc., 398 ‘F.2d 268 dast Cir.

’ 1968) ..... sischeadidianisanibtnipiaamintipianniiint 14

NLRB v. S. E. Nichols Co, 380 F.2d 438 (2nd Cir.

1967) 7” RSE Tey Sh Be a eT LC Ce Ce nee 13

NLBB v. Sinclair Co., 397 F.2d 157 (Ist Cir. eae

cert. granted December 16, 1968 (Case No. 585). ..

NLRB v. S.S. Logan Packing Co., 386 F.2d 562° ~~

RE RRSSIEAREPIESE CASTE see nee nS ean eet ee, SERINE NO Dero 9

NLRB v. Swan Super Cleaners, Inc., 384 F.2d 609

(6th Cir. 1967) . lesibaiieiehiah iesdaaiaesseibtuiendodelabeinettbladecis ae

NLRB v. West Side Carpet . Cleaning Co., 329 F.2d

a III. cetedissenelhada sadtliaitdapisonteedsareinamianishrenepraiioiiniens 18

_ NEIRB v. World Carpets of New York, Inc., — F.2d —,

69 LRRM 2681 (2nd Cir. November 8, 1968) ............ 20

Textile Workers Union v. ‘NLRB, 386 F.2d 790 —

RE See” scidatienikensaembginnnacahipraidpeeninaninets . 19

- U.A.W. v. NLRB (Preston Products), 392 F.2d 801

(D.C. Cir. 1967), cert. denied October 1968 (Case No.

BED ihinienoinas idea dbdenteniantemnasamasamnntiicibies . a

Statutes and Authorities Cited

National Labor — Act, as amended (61 Stat.

136; 72 Stat. 945; 73 Stat. 544; 29 USC. § 141 et

GAD scetercsennnnsheninnentenmnnvicninnvitinlonsl secinigciisabaambnedaingueliaainiibe 3, 4,5

-Krupman, William, “The Joy Silk Rule—The Courts

- Weave A New Fabric,” 19 Lab. L.J. 603 (October, —

OES lh CR EET RO

PAGE _

~ Lewis, Robert, “NLRB Again Stretches Joy Silk’s

Tenuous Fabric,” 18 Lab. L.J. 222 (April, 1967) .... 12

Lewis, Robert, “The Use and Abuse of Authorization

Cards in Determining Union Majority,” 16 Lab. L.J.

434 (July, 1965) 2. cceecceecseeeeee. Mgiicktamescei ceded

IN THE

oe Court uf the United States

~ Ocroser Term, 1968

No. am

Turirt Drug Company OF PENNSYLVANIA, *

;

Petitioner, |

a —_—vV.—

?

aaa

NatronaL [japoR Retations Boarp,

fr; ee \ » Respondent.

PETITION FOR A’ WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Thrift Drug Company of Pennsylvania, Petitioner herein,

prays that a Writ of Certiorari be issued.to* review the

decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit, entered in the above-entitled ease on Decem-

ber 11, 1968, granting enforcement of an order issued

against Petitioner by the National Labor Relations Board.

On December 16, 1968, this Court granted certiorari in

Case Nos. 573, 585 and 691.’ The pivotal issue in these

eases is the reliability of union authorization cards. The

same issue is present in the instant matter. In addition,

this case presents important closely related subsidiary is-

sues. It therefore provides an appropriate vehicle for a

thorough consideration by this Court of the law pertaining

1 NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., Inc. (Case No. 573) ; The Sinclair

Co. v. NLRB (Case No. 585) ; and Local No. 347, Food Store Em-

ployees Union v. NLRB (Case No. 691).

-

wre 6 em

FRG LEIS Sut a * een Wrens

eaten: |

.

+

?- : +

; . ee.

2

to the se of authorization cards as a basis for certifying

ye |

unions. P es

-. Opiniens Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals has not yet been

officially reported. It is annexed as Appendix A, pp. 1a-6a.

- The findings of fact, conclusions of law and order of the

National Labor Relations Board are reported at 167 NLRB -

No. 57 ae B, pp.-7a-49a).

Pee eee ae

Jurisdiction. - er

~The jurisdiction of this,Court is invoked ‘under 28 U. S. C.

§1254 (1) and Section 10(e) of the National tel Relations -

Act, as amended, 29 U. 8.C. Section 160(e).

Questions Presented

1. Where an employer réfuses a union’s offer to prove

that a majority of employees signed authorization cards

' "on the ground that in its experience a card check is un-

) - ° reliable because it would not reveal whether employees had.

signed cards as a result of misrepresentation as to the pur-

‘pose Of the card, and the employees. subsequently reject

“union representation in an election, is the National Labor

Relations Board nevertheless lawfully entitled to certify

the union based upon such cards? |

‘

a .

BRAN RADI eet SOK RAS AE 8! OP OK ICES NS

| 2. Should authorization cards be counted in determining

4 a union’s majority, and as a basis for a bargaining order, .

4 where the solicitor told one employee that the card was an

| 7 ‘election card’, and stated to four additional employees that

a - they were under no obligation by signing the cards?-

2 Should this Court erent certiorari herein, Petitioner will file ©

its Brief. within a shorter period of time than provided in this-

Court’s Rules, in order to facilitate the review of this case at the

- game time as this Court reviews Case Nos. 573, 585 and 691.

A Se aged SIT < To oa en Uh an OP On are gle atten a i emptied Noe Amman

=

.

..3. Should authorization cards’ be admitted in evidence

in the absence of testimony from the signer or a witness

to their execution? ans “er, -

4. May an employer’s good faith doubt of a union’s

, majority status at the time the union demands recognition —

' be negated solely on the basis of unfair labor practices

committed subsequent ‘te the demand?

| d. Does it effectuate the policies of the Act to issue a

_ bargaining order in every case where an employer unlaw-

fully refuses to recognize a majority union? ees

Statutes Involved

-The National Labor Relations Act, as amended (61 Stat.

136; 72 Stat. 945; 73-Stat. 544; 29 U.S.C. dani et seq.),

insofar as is here pertinent, provides : .

Section 7:

* “Employees, Hall have the right.to self-organization,

. to form, join or assist labor organizations, to bargain

collectively through representatives of their own ghoos-

‘ing, and to engage in other concerted activities for the .

purpose of collective bargaining or other mutual aid ~

-or protection, and shall also have the right to réfrain |

from any or all of such activities except to the extent _

that such right may be affected by an agreement re-

.quiring membership in a labor organization as a con- 7

dition of employment as authorized in section 8(a)(3).” :

Section 8(a):

“Jt shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer— ,

“(1) to interfere with, restrain, hr coerce Se ie ”

in the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section 7 .

~~

A teak OO i CRRA CHE

DP EE UNS

POM ODI TOR oa « tors Sv Ree

4

“(5) to refuse to batgede: collectively with the repre:

sentatives of his employees, subject to the provisions

of section 9(a). % |

Section 9(c): a

“(e) (1) Wherever a petitin shall have been filed, in

. accordance with such regulations as may be prescribed

by the Board |

“(A) by an employee o or group, of employees or

any individual or labor organization acting -in their

behalf alleging that a substantial number of employees

(i) wish to be represented for collective bargaining and

that their employer. declines to recognize their repre-—

sentative as the representative defined in section 9(a),

or (ii) assert that the individual or labor organization,

which has been certified or is being currently -recog-

nized by their employer as the bargaining representa-

tive, is no longer a repr esentative as defined in section

9(a); or ae SSL RO en

“(B). by an employer, alleging that one or more

individuals or labor organizations have presented to

him a claim to be recognized as the representative

defined in section 9(a) ;

the Board shall investigate such petition and if it has

reasonable cause to believe that a question, of repre-

sentation affecting commerce exists shall provide for:

an appropriate hearing,pipon due notice. Such hearing.

may be conducted by an officer or employee of the

‘regional office, who shall not-make any recommenda-

tions with respect thereto. If the Board finds upon the

record of such:hearing that such. a question of repre- ©

sentation exists, it shall direct an election by secret

ballot and shall — Oe results thereof.” a

<a

Section 10(b):

“ee? Any such proceeding shail, so far as practicable,

be conducted i in accordance with ‘the rules of evidence

~ applicable in the district courts of the United States

under the rules*of civil procedure for the district courts

of the United States... .” 3

Section 10(e):

“«* * * The finding of the Board with vilinien to ques-

tions of fact if supported by ‘substantial. evidence on

the record considered as a ‘whole shall be conclusive.

ee Upon the filing of the record with it the jurisdic-

tion of the court shall be exclusive and its judgment

and decree shall be final; except that the same shall

be subject to review by the appropriate United States

court of appeals if application was made to the district .

court as hereinabove provided, and by the Supreme

Court of the. United States upon writ of certiorari or

~—-— ¢ertifieation as-provided—in section 1254 of title 28." —

ovr

Legit erie!

°

in the unit.

2 : 6

Statement of the Case

Thrift Drug ‘Company ef Pennsylvania, hereinafter re-

ferred to as the “Petitioner”, is a Pennsylvania corporation

having its principal office i in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

-- In May, 1966, the Retail Clerk’s Union, Local 526, Retail

‘Clerks’ International Association, hereinafter’ referred to

-as the “Union,” began organizing the employees of Peti-

tioner’s store in Kenosha, Wisconsin. | P

The Union’s organizer testified that he advised one em-

e ployee whose signature he solicited that she would be

signing “an election card” which “would not obligate her

in any way.” When asked what he explained to this em-

ployee, he responded “only the election is as far as I went.”

~ The organizer also testified that in obtaining cards from

four additional employees he advised them that they would

not be under any obligation by signing the cards.

After approximately four months of such solicitation, .

the Union signed up ten (10) of the sixteen (16) employees

= =

On August bE 1966, by mail, the Union requested recog-

nition as the bargaining representative for all of the em-

ployees. :

Petitioner, through its counsel, responded to the Union

‘by letter on August 29, stating i in part:

| ‘asians. your offer’ ‘of a card check is not @ suit-

able way to attempt to resolve the company’s doubt of

your claim of majority status. A mechanical check of -

alleged signatures would in no way indicate whether

an employee had signed a card under coercion or be-

cause of misrepresentation as to the’ purpose of the

" card. Our office knows, and you do, too, of many situ-

7

—_

ations where cards signed under the above.circum-

stances have been held to be intalid. A mechanical

ecard check would not reveal such shortcomings. We

are in agreement with you that the quegtions- raised

by yourleiters and petition can best be resolved under

the auspices of the National Labor Relations Board in.

a secret pemangs election among the employees of the >

company,”

On August 30, on received a notice of representa-

- tion hearing-from the Board. On,September 19, the parties

entered into a Stipulation for Certification Upon Consent

Election which was approved by the Regional Director of

the Board.’ On September 21, the Union filed unfair labor

practice charges, alleging that Petitioner had violated Sec--

tion 8(a) (1) - of the Act. On October 12, the election was

held. Out of fifteen (15) eligible votes cast in the election,

seven, (7) votes were for the Union, and eight (8) were |

against representation.

‘On October 18, the Union filed ‘opfibions to. conduct af-

fecting the results of the election and an amended charge. -

A complaint was issued by the Board on November 15. The -

- ease was heard on. December 12 and 13, 1966, in Kenosha,

Wisconsin.

Decision of the Trial Examiner Mes

- The decision ‘of the Trial Examiner, rendered on May

30, 1967, found that Petitioner had committed varius acts

lof interferezice and restraint in violation of Section 8(a)(1)

of the Act. He further found that the-Union represented

a majority of the employees based upon authorization

cards and that. the Petitioner’s refusal to recognize the

Union was in violation of Section 8(a)(5)' of the Act. He.

sp aknss to DAR” Sx atte ta Ee Aa

- and Order affirmin :

_and recommendations of the Trial’ Examiner. Petitioner

Jeiab eae ee SOO eee eseoooOrerr

therefore recommended that the election be set aside, the ©

representation petition be ‘dismissed, and that. Petitioner

commence. pelts © ad with the Union.

. | ; = +

‘ a aaragy « of the Board ’

On- September 15, 967, the Board bein its Decisiart |

and adopting the findings, conclusions

filed a petition for review with the Court of a for

the Sixth by eames on October, 2, 1967.

| "Decision of the Court of Appeals

Or December 11, 1968, the Court ‘of Appeals rendered

its decision enforcing in full the Board’s Order.

. OO tis ed < <r 5 a ot See SD ke Sots es

,

Reason for Granting Review . .

- This Court has already granted certiorari to resolve a

: ’ conflict between the circuits concerning - ‘the reliability of

poe GE ecards in deter mining a ‘union’ Ss majority

status. If certiorari is granted herein, this Court can

resolve additional conflicts concerning other aspects of —

the same question.- — ‘ _

POINTI ss *

~ This Conn Is Presently Reviewing the Identical Issue |

Invelved in This Case.

_ The issue in NLRB v. Sinclair Co, 397 F. 2d 157 (1st

Cir. 1967), cert. granted December 16, 1968, is identical to

the primary issue in the instant matter. In Sinclair, the

Court of Appeals for the-First Circuit relied upon author-

ization cards as a bagis for enforcing a bargaining order. |

The Sinclair decision is in conflict with the holding of the

Fourth Circuit in NLRB-v. Gissel Packing Co., 398 F.2d _

336 (4th Cir. 1968), cert. granted December 16, 1968. In

_ Gissel, the Court stated: .

?

“In recent cases we have had occasion to pblat out that

authorfvation cards are such unreliable indicators of

the desires of the employees’ that an-employer con-

fronted with a demand for recognition based solely

upon them is justified in -withholding recognition pend-

ing the result of a esemnares election. » 398 F. 2d at

337.

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir

cuit in the instant matter is similarly in conflict with the

Gissel decision .and the decision on which it was based,

NLBB v. S.S.. Logan Packing ‘Co., 386 F. 2d 562 (4th Cir.

ee eg ee ae ee ee

10.

1967). This conflict ions .the circuits was succinetly

stated by the sour) below:

“Appellant cites and relied on the Fourth Circuit view

of NLRB bargaining orders expressed in NLRB v.

S.S. Logan Packing Co,, 386 F. 2d 562 (4th Cir. 1967).

SRA an te 2 ae 7 4 t

¢

This court has, however,’ coftsidered and rejected the ©

Logan holding. NLRB v. Atco-Surgical Supports, Inc.,

394 F. 24 659 (6th Cir. 1968).” (Appenth

A, p. 6a).

It therefore would be iatineenitaiis to consider this mat- |

ter along with the Gissel and Sinclair cases.

th

Pd

.

3In Gissel and Sinclair the most significant issue presented is

whether the NLRB may certify a-union based upon authorization

eards. The resolution of this issue will depend in large part on

an interpretation of the Act and its legislative history. In Gissel,

counsel for the Union has indicated in its Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari that legislative history supports an interpretation of the :

Act that the Board may use authorization cards as a basis for

bargaining orders. There is no indication that any other party will

present a contrary interpretation.

In its Brief to the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, Peti-

tioner argued that the Board is restricted to the use of secret

ballots for the resolution of representation questions, Petitioner

cited legislative history and misinterpretation of this Court’s de-

cision in Franks Bros, Co. v. NLRB,-321 U.S. 702 (1944), in sup-

. port of its argument. Petitioner submits that this discussion would

be beneficial to this Court in resolving the. conflict between the.

circuits concerning the reliability of authorization cards. - The pertt- .

nent part of its Brief is attached nenete< as Appendiz C, pp. 50a-64a.

7

y,

11

| POINT ;

de Mag he This Court Holds That Authorization

Cards May Used as a Basis for Certifying a Union,

Certiorari Should Be Granted in Order to Resolve a

Shatp Conflict Within the Circuits With Respect to the

Rule to Be Followed. Where There Is Evidence of Mis-

representation as. to the Purpose of the Cards.

A. By Aihane To Its Cumberland Shoe Rule The : Court

Below Refused To Invalidate Authorization €ards Ob;

tai Through Misrepresentation.

“ The ist significant issue to be decided by this Court ~ f..

in Sinclair and Gissel is whether the N ational Labor Rela-. if

tions Board may certify a union based upon authorization. ° !

cards. Inextricably related to this question is another,

equally troublesome: Does a misrepresentation by the

solicitor as“fo-the card’s purpose invalidate the card?

Court that unions have in fact engaged in such misrepre-

sentation. -In its Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in

Gissel; the Board states:

“Although. there have ‘been. abuses in: the unions’ use of

authorization cards—primarily misrepresentations as

to whether by signing the cards! the employees were _ }

designating the union as their representative or mere- |

ly authorizing it to seek an election ‘to determine that

issue—it does not~follow that such cards are inher- ~

ently unreliable.” (p. 19).

- Counsel for Petitioner agrees with the Board that there

have been abuses in the use of authorization cards and }

have explicated their views in legal periodicals.‘

\The National Labor Relations Board has advised this

* See Robert Lewis, “The Use and Abuse of Authorization Cards F

in Determining Unior Majority,” 16 Lab. L.J. 434 (July, 1965) ;

ee’

12

: Y

- Inasmuch as this question is not presently before the

Court,’ we submit that this case presents a most appro-

priate vehicle to yesolve the conflict between the circuits,

as discussed below: -It presents the issue squarely.

The Union representative unequivocally testified that he

advised the employee whose signature he solicited that she

would be signing “an election card” which’ “would’ not.

obligate her in any way.” When asked what he explained

to this employee, he responded “only the election is as

far as I went.” (App. 73a, Record in Court of Appeals).

The Board counted. this ,card, and others similarly ob-

tained, towards determifing the Union’s. majority. The

- court below affirmed, in reliance on its “Cumberland rule.” °

(Appendix A, pp. 3a-4a).

_ The Sixth Circuit’s Cumberland rule holds that union

authorization cards will be invalidated on the grounds of

misrepresentation in only one situation: where the so-

licitor’s words “create in the mind of the one-solicited a

belief that the only purpose of the card is to obtain an_

election.” NLRB y. Swan Super Cleaners, Inc., 384 F. 2d

609, 618 (6th Cir. 1967) (emphasis in original).

.Accordingly, since the solicitor in the instant matter did

not represent that an election was the “only purpose” of

the card, the court below, relying on its “Cumberland rule”,

Robert Lewis, “NLRB Again Stretches Joy Silk’s Tenuous Fabrie,”

18 Lab. L.J. 222 (April, 1967) ; and William Krupman, “The Joy

Silk Rule—The Courts Weave "A New Fabric,” 19 Lab. LJ. 603

(October, 1968).

5In its Petition for a Writ ide Certiorari in Gissel, the Board

states:

“The standard 7” which the Board determines the validity of -

challenged cards .. . is not at issue in the present cases.” (at

pp. 20-21, n.20). —

‘NLRB v. Cumberland Shoe ton: 351 F. 2d 917 (6th Cir.

1965).

@

a 13

upheld the Board’s finding that the Union represented a

majority of the employees.

A different result would have been renicbed in the cir-

euits which do not follow Cumberland.

B. The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions In The 2nd,

4th oth, 7th and 8th Circuits Regarding The Rule To Be

Followed Where Cards Have Been Obtained Through Mis-

representation.

The Sixth Civoukt's Cumberland re has been rejected

by five other circuits.

The Second Circuit’s rejection of the rule’ of the Sixth -

Circuit was expressed in Bryant Chucking Grinder Com-

-pany v. NLRB, 389 F. 2d 565 (2nd Cir. 1967), cert. denied —

392 U.S. 908. Referring to an-earlier decision,” Judge

Friendly, in his. concurring opinion, stated:

eo oe rejected the rule announced by the Board

in Cumberland Shoe Corp., 144 N.L.R.B. 1268 (1963),

enforced 351 F. 2d 917 (6th Cir. 1965), that an au-

thorization card ‘clear’ on its face could be invalidated

for misrepresentation as to its purpose only by proof

that the solicitor had said that the ‘sole’ purpose of

the card was to secure an NLRB conducted election;

we held that cards were_invalid if ‘si Ss were in:

duced to affix their signatures by statements. causing

them to believe that the union would not achieve repre-

sentative status without an election.’ ” 389° F. 2d at

569 (emphasis added).

- The Fourth Circuit repudiated the Cumberland Shoe rule

in Crawford Mfg. Co. v. NLRB, 386 F. 2d 367 (4th Cir.

1967), cert. denied 390 U.S. 1028:

“Despite the regard we hold for the ‘contrary opinion,

eg., NLRB v. Cumberland Shoe Corp., 351 F. 2d 917,

’ NLRB v. 8..E. Nichols Co., 380 F. 24 438 (2nd Cir. 1967).

.

q .

EE EL SO I EY LOT

eerie Rhy

a

14°

920 (6th Cir. 1965) and cases there cited, we will not

» stick mechanically to the literal phrasing of the cards. -

_ A ghost of the parol evidence rule, such literalism sub-

ordinates what really counts: the actual understanding |

of the signers.” 386 F'.°2d at 372.

~The Fifth Circuit aes Shoe in Engi-

neers & Fabricators, Inc. v. NLRB, 376 F. 2d 482 (5th Cir.

1967) :

“The Trial Examiner and the Board rely on Cumber-

land Shoe Corp., 144 N.L.R.B. 1268 and Aero Corp.,

149\N.L.R.B. 1283 (1965) for the rule that if such

cards as.these are solicited by a statement that they

are to be used to get an election, but are later used

to prove. majority status, there is no misrepresenta-

tion.. According to the Board, it would require a state-

ment that the cards were to be used only to get an

election to constitute misrepresentation.

This Court’has previously shown its impatience with

such contentions.” 376 F: 2d at 486 (emphasis in

original). .

The Seventh Circuit in NLRB v. Dan Howard Mfg. Co.,

390 F. 2d 304 (7th Cir. 1968), and the Eighth Circuit in-

Bauer Welding and Metal Fabricators, Inc. v. NLRB, 358

F. 2d 766 (8th Cir. 1966), have refused to follow the Board’s

rule as enforced by the Sixth Circuit.*

8 The First Circuit has apparently lined up with the 2nd, 4th,

5th, 7th and 8th-Circuits in disapproving the Cumberland Shoe

rule. In NLRB v: Sandy’s Stores; Inc., 398 F. 2d 268, 271 (1st

Cir. 1968), the court stated :

“Moreover, affirmation of the card authorization findings would

require reliance in the most mechanical semse on the Cumber-

land rule, an approach rejected by a number of other circuits

and, we think, not necessarily commanded in the instant case

- by our own remarks in NLRB ‘v. Southbridge Sheet Metal |

Works, Ine., 380 F. 2d 851 a Cir. 1967).” -

C. The. Decision Below Is Canute With The Rule Of The |

Ib .

District Of Columbia And The Tenth Circuits.

The United States Court of ‘Appeals for the District of

Columbia in U.A.W. vy. NERB (Preston Products), 392

F. 2d 801 (D.C. Cir. 1967), cert. denied October, 1968 (Case

No. 160), held:

“This court has consistentiy upheld the rule, announced

by the Poard in N.L.R.B. v. Cumberland Shoe Corp.,

144 NLEB 1268 (1963), enforced, 6 Cir., 351 F. 2d 917

(1965), that where the cards are unambiguous on their

”

face, unless employees were told that an election was -

the only purpose of the cards, the employees would be

held to the terms of the cards which — ‘had signed.”

392 F. 2d at 807 (emphasis 1 in er

Accord: ‘Pews Inc. v. NLRB, 381 F. 2d 562 (1oth Cir.

1967). :

D. Uniformity Of Interpretation Of National Labor Policy

Is Desirable. _

_ The Sixth and Tenth Circuits, and the Distriet of Colum-

‘bia Cireuit, have one rule concerning misrepresentation.

The Second, Fourth, Fifth, Seventh, Eighth and, appar-

ently the First Circuits, have another rule. The resolution

of this continuing and ever-increasing conflict would be

beneficial. The continued existence of different rules on

this important issue in labor-management relations i impairs

the uniformity of national labor policy that the Act was

designed to achieve.’ Cf., Garner v. Teamsters Local 776,

346 U.S. 485, 490-91.

* Resolution of this conflict between the circuits would also lessen

‘the likelihood of “undersirable ‘circuit shopping’.” Automobile

Workers v. Scofield, 382 U.S. 205, 212-13 and 222, n. 20.

~

16

POINT Ill

The Decision of the Court Below Is'in Conflict With

Decisions of the 7th and 8th Circuits With Respect to

the Applicable Rules of Evidence and Procedure to

Be Followed in Determining the cane ‘end of Au-

thorization Cards.

The Petitioner argued before the court below that two

of the Union’s ten authorization eards should not be counted

. in determining the Union’s majority. Petitioner submitted

that the two cards were not properly authenticated because :

(1) The card signers did not testify, and .

(2) The person who authenticated the cards was not

a witness to the signing.

——

The Trial Examiner, upheld by the Board, found:

“IT merely restate the obvious, for emphasis, by point-

ing out that Crowe did not testify that the cards were

signed in her presence, or that- they had come into

her’ possession in connection with her duties as a

steward for the Union.

Of course, it was unnecessary for the Respondent to

put forth any effort to help the General Counsel prove

his case, and the question as to whether I was right

in receiving General Counsel’s Exhibits 9 and 10 is

whether the General Counsel’s submission, through

Crowe’s testimony, establishéd a prima facie case.”

(Appendix B, pp. 21a-22a).

“On the basis of the thin and barely adequate identifi-

cation by Crowe that she recognized’ the signatures

a

on General Counsel’s Exhibits 9 and 10 as being those

of Hix and McClelland, I affirm my ruling admitting

_- those exhibits in evidence, and find that the purported

signatures are genuine, and the authorization eards

valid.” (Appendix B, P. 26a).

General Counsel’s initia pf authentication was to call

upon a complete stranger to verify the signatures. The

Trial-Examiner and the Board approved this procedure.

The court below did not specifically ‘pass .on this issue.’

However, by refusing to invalidate the cards, it impliedly

affirmed the method used to authenticate them. Thus, the

Sixth Circuit placed itself in conflict with the decisions of .

the Seventh and Eighth Circuits.

The rule of the Seventh and Eighth Circuits is that

~ “authorization cards must be signed in the presence of the

witness who seeks to authenticate them. — |

In NLRB v. Economy Food Center, 333 F, 2d 468 (7th

Cir. 1964), the court stated:

“The signatures on the cards of the two employees

absent at the time of the hearing were authenticated

by Union representative Goss, who testified that both

cards were signed in his presence and that he wit-_

nessed each signature.” 333 F. 2d at 471.

The Eighth Circuit similarly held in Colson Corp. v.

NLRB, 347 F. 2d 128 (8th Cir. 1965), cert. denied 382

U.S. 904, that for the purpose of authenticating authori-

10 The court below did not resolve this issue because i in its opinion

“the two cards would not eliminate the union’s majority status.”

Appendix A, pp. 3a-4a, n. 3. However, these two cards would be

determinative of the union’s majority status if even one additional

card was obtained through misrepresentation. _ (See* Point II,

supra).

18

zation cards the witness must have been present when |

the card was signed:

“Petitioner argues that each employee who signed a

card should have personally authenticated his own

signature. The law permits alternative methods of -

authentication. Thus the courts have approved the_

authentication of such cards by a witness-to their

execution, N.L.R.B. v. Economy Food Center, 7 Cir.

1984, 333 F. 2d 468, 471, or by comparison with a

known specimen of the person’s handwriting, N.L.R.B.

v. Philamon Laboratories, 2 Cir. 1962, 298 F. 2d 176,

179-180, certiorari denied, 370 U.S. 919, 82 S. Ct. 1555,

8 L. Ed. 2d 498.” 347 F. 2d at 134 (emphasis added).

The manner by which authorization cards are authenti-

cated will often be determinative of the card’s reliability.

The proper method of authentication should therefore be

resolved by this Court.”

POINT IV ;

-Certiorari Should Be Granted to Resolve a Conflict

in the Circuits as to Whether an Employer’s Good Faith

Doubt of a Union’s Majority Can Be Negated by Sub-

sequent Unfair Labor’ Practices. |

_ The Trial Examiner and the Board resolved the ques-

tion of whether the Petitioner had a good faith doubt of

the Union’s majority solely on the basis of unfair labor

practices committed subsequent to the Union’s demand for

11 This Court may desire to pass upon the applicability of See-

tion 10(b) to the proper method of authentication. As noted by

the court below, (Appendix A, pp. 3a-4a, n. 3), varied interpreta-

tions have been placed on this section in different circuits. Cf.

NLRB v. West Side Carpet Cleaning Co., 329 F. 2d 758 (6th Cir.

1964). Er

\

19

recognition. Referring to the Petitioner’s reasons for re-

jecting the Union’s demand for recognition, the Trial Ex-

aminer stated: “ee

“The assertions malt. in other circumstances, have

established a good. faith doubt, but here their force

has been effectively blunted by its aggravated conduct

in coercing and intimidating its employees. . .” (Ap-

pendix B, pp, 37a-38a).

The court on held that:

“The Trial Examiner and the Board had ample reason

to conclude that Petitioner’s course of conduct repre-

sented rejection of collective bargaining rather than a

good faith doubt of the ——— S majority status. ” (Ap-

pendix A, p. 6a).

ber

This holding ie in conflict with the decisions of the Sec-

ond Circuit. The Second Circuit does not rely on evidence

of a company’s “course of conduct” subsequent to a re-

quest for recognition to determine whether the company

acted in bad faith at the time it refused recognition.

‘In NLRB vy. River Togs, Inc., 382. F. 2d 198 ae Cir.

1967), the court. stated:

“.. . . We see no logical basis for the view that substan-

tial evidence of good faith doubt is negated solely by.

an employer’s desire to thwart unionization whether

by proper or even =? improper means.” 382 F. 2d at

206-07.

In Textile Workers Union v. NLRB, 386 F. 2d 790 (2nd

Cir. 1967), the court reaffirmied this doctrine:

“The use of (a): campaign speech as evidence to infer

bad faith at an earlier time is a hazardous business

™

as we pd@mted out in NLEB v. River Togs, Inc., supra,

382 F. 2d at 206-207 ; since votes may be oitead or lost

during a campaign, presenting anti-union arguments

- affords no logical basis for belief that the employer if

did not doubt the card majority.” 386 F. 2d at 794.

If certiorari were granted ‘herein, ®his conflict between

the Sixth and the Second Circuits could be resolved.

POINT V

- Certiorari Should Be Granted to Determine Whether

the Policies of the Act Are Effectuated by the Issuance

of a Bargaining Order in Every Case in Which an

Employer scalar Refuses to Recognize a ey

Union.

Almost immediately after the election seven of the ten

employees who signed authorization cards voluntarily ter-

minated their employment. (Appendix B, p. 38a). -Peti-

tioner argued before the Board and the court below that

a bargaining order therefore was not justified because it

‘ was an inappropriate remedy under the facts of this case.

(Appendix A, p. 3a).

‘The Board automatically adopted the Trial Examiner’s

recommended order that Petitioner bargain with the Union.

The court below enforced the Board’s order. It did not. .

consider whether the facts of this case warranted a dif-

ferent conclusion. (Appendix A, p. 62)..

The Second Circuit would have made such an inquiry.

In NLRB v. World Carpets of New York, Inc., —— F. 2d

—, 69 LRRM 2681 (2nd Cir. November 8, 1968) the

court stated:

\

\

NSE, OB OR tus FD MD CAP Bare ~

rte Petar n't

21

“On the other hand, if, on the remand we are directing,

the Board should find the facgs in a sense favorable

to the General Counsel, it should not proceed imme- -

diately to the issuance of a bargaingpg order but should

- consider whether such an. order in, this case will further

_. the policies of the National Labor Relftions Act,

notably ‘to provide orderly and peaceful procedures

for preventing the interference’ by employees and em-

ployers ‘with the legitimate rights of the other.’ § 1(b).

Cf. Phelps Dodge Corp. v. NLRB, 313 U:S. 177, 193-97,

8 LRRM 439 (1941). As said in NLRB v.. Flomatic

Corp., 347 F.2d 74, 78, 59 LRRM 2535 (2 Cir. 1965),

a bargaining order is ‘strong medicine’ whose ‘poten-

tially adverse effects on the employees’ §7 rights

_ must not be overlooked.’ While, despite the contrary

ruling of another circuit, NLRB v. S 5S. Logan Pack-

ing Co., 386 F.2d 562; 66 LRRM 2596 (4 Cir. 1967),

we continue to hold that a union validly authorized

by a majority of the employees in an appropriate

unit is generally entitled to recognition without hav-

ing to submit toa Board- -supervised election, the Board

should not automatically i issue a bargaining: order in

every such case without considering whether the poli-_

cies of the Act will be effectuated thereby. ‘The Act

does not create rights for individuals,’ or for unions,

‘which must be vindicated according to a rigid scheme

of remedies. It entrusts to an expert agency the main-

tenance and promotion of industrial péace.’ Phelps

Dodge Corp. v. NLRB, supra, 313 U.S. at 194, 8 LRRM

439.” 69 LRRM at 684.

To the same effect, NLRB v. Pembeck Oil Corp., ——

_ F.2d ——, 69 LRRM 2811 (2nd Cir. November 27, 1968).

22

If certiorari were granted herein, this Court could de-

termine whether the policies of the Act effectuate the, is-

suance of a bargaining order in every case.

- CONCLUSION

It is respectfully requested that this Court issue a Writ -

of Certiorari-to review the decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit and thereby resolve

significant conflicts in the circuits eoncerning the broad

and frequently litigated subject of authorization cards. -

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert Lewis

Counsel for Petitioner

11 West 42nd Street

New York, N. Y. 10036

my)

Of Counsel: +

_ Jacxson, Lewis, Scunirzter & Krupman ~

New York, New York

Dated: December 31, 1968. . .

Rh to

ut eee See:

a

°

' APPENDIX A

- Opinion of the Court of Appeals’

for the Sixth Circuit

FILED

’ Dec 11 1968

Cart W. Revss, Clerk

No. 18216\.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For tHe Sxuta Circurr

- Petition for Review of an Order of the

National Labor Relations Board.

. . .

Turirt Druc Company oF PENNSYLVANIA,

Petitioner,

v.

NationaL Lasor Reiations Boarp,

E Respondent.

Decided December 11, 1968.

Before: O’Sutuivan, Epwarps and McCnree, Circuit Judges.

Epwarps, Circuit Judge.. Petitioner in this case seeks to

set aside the findings and the bargaining order entered by

the National Labor Relations Board, and the Board in turn

seeks enforcement of its order. The conclusions of law, as

set forth in the Trial Examiner’s decision and as adopted

by the Board, are as follows:

OO xe

ESAT EO Er TT NEN note

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

2a.

Opinion of the Court of Appeals al the Siath Circuit

“a, All employees at —s Kenosha, Wis-

consin, store, excluding the store manager, assistant.

store manager, lunch counter manager, professional

employees, guards, and supervisors as defined in ‘the

Act,’ constitute an appr opriate unit for the’ purposes

of collective bargaining within the meaning of Section

9(b) of the Act. es

“2. At all times since August 24, 1966, the Union?

has been the duly designated bargaining representative

of the aforesaid collective-bargaining unit.

“<3. The Respondent has interfered with, restrained,

and coerced its employees in the exercise of their rights

guaranteed in Section 7 of the Act, in violation of

Section 8(a) (1), by threatening them.that the Kenosha

store or it®@fountain department would be closed down

or that they would lose their store or food discounts,

_by promising them wage increases and other benefits,

by coercively interrogating them as to how they were

going to vote, or if they had attended union meetings, —

by intimidating them through its orders to reject ap-

plications for employment from provfnion applicants,

and by telling them that ‘their. attendance at union ~

meetings had been observed and noted.

“4. By failing and refusing on August 26, 1966, and

at all times thereafter, to recognize and bargain with

tlie Union as the collective-bargaining representative

of the employees in the aforesaid unit, and by unilater-

ally changing the wages of employees in October 1966,

without notice to or consultation with the Union, the

1 National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 151-168 (1964).

2 Retail Clerks International Association, Local 526, AFL-CIO.

\

' 3a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

Respondent has engaged in unfair labor practices in

, violation of Section 8(a)(5) of the Act. :

“9. The aforesaid unfair labor practices affect com-

merce within the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of

_ the Act.”

f,

Petitioner does not contest the section 8(a)(1) violation

findings in this proceeding. It also concedes the fifth of

the conclusions above, reserving most of its argument for

three contentions :

1. The bargaining order was not justified because in

fact the union never had a valid card majority.

2. ‘The bargaining order was not justified because peti-

tioner had a good faith doubt of the union’s majority.

3. The bargaining order was not justified because under

the facts of this case it was an inappropriate remedy.

, The Board found that edu had ten authorization

cards out of an appropriate bargaining unit of fifteen when

it made its demand for bargaining rights on August 24,

1966. Petitioner’s primary argument attacking this ma-

jority is that a number of cards should be held to be in-

valid because of solicitor misrepresentations.? In this re-

3Two of these cards are also challenged by petitioner on the ground

that the witness who testified she “recognized” the signatures had not

been properly qualified to so testify. The statute under which NLRB -

hearings are authorized provides in part: “Any such proceeding shall,

so far as practicable, ‘be conducted in accordance with the rules of evi-

dence applicable in the district céurts of the> United States under the

rules of civil Procedure. ...” 29 U.S.C. §160(b) (1964). Some courts

looking at the “so far as “practicable” language have held that “the

Board is not required to observe the legal rules of evidence as are com-

a ash

es PIPES HONS KP MEY nen Eanes iene

POO Peele

ond

RAEN SnD iwc Be RI ctl PE CNM a Bn MB aS pe RL en ee ee

?

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Siath Circuit

gard petitioner relies upon this court’s holding in NLRB.

.v. Swan Super Cleaners, Inc., 384 F.2d 609 (6th Cir. 1967) :

“We think it right now to say that we do not con-

sider that we have announced a rule that only where

the solicitor of a card actually employs the specified

words ‘this card is for the sole and only purpose of

. having an election’ will a card be invalidated. We did

not intend such a narrow and mechanical rule. We

believe that whatever the style or actual words of the

solicitation, if it is clearly calculated to create in the

mind of the one solicited a belief that the only purpose

of the card is to obtain an election, an invalidation of

such card does not offend our Cumberland rule [VLRB

v. Cumberland Shoe Corp., 351 F.2d 917 (6th Cir.

1965)].” Id. at 618. (Emphasis in original.)

~~Tn. our instant case there is no claim that the eards them-

selves contained any ambiguity or misrepresentation. We

have examined the claimed misrepresentations of the so-

licitots. Taking into account our court’s limited function

in review of NLRB findings of fact and inferences based

thereon, we do not find any language which compelled the

Board to hold that a particular solicitor was ‘seeking to

convey “a belief that the only purpose of the card ts to

obtain an election.”

- We now turn to appellant’s second and third substantial

contentions pertaining to “good faith. doubt” and “inap-

mon law courts.” NLRB v. W. J. Jones Lumber Co., 245 F.2d 388 (9th

Cir. 1957). See also Sardis Luggage Co. v. NLRB, 234 F.2d 190 (5th

Cir. 1956). However, in view of the fact that the two cards would not

eliminate the union’s majority status, we do not find it necessary to pass

on petitioner’s contention that the Trial Examiner’s receipt of om in

evidence was error.

. ; oa °

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

propriate remedy.” These we believe to be closely related

and hence they will be considered together.

This record shows that close on the heels of the union’s

August 24, 1966, bargaining demand (and even before its

refusal by petitioner), one of the petitioner’s employees

heard the store manager say: “I don’t know what’s the

matter with these girls. They won’t believe me when I tell

them they’re going to close the store, if the union gets in,

and we'll all be out of a job.” This same witness also -

testified to another conversation with this same store man-

ager shortly before the NLRB election:

“Well, he asked me did I hear — he said, ‘You know,

the election is October 12th.’ And.I said, yes, I did.

And he said, ‘Well, maybe you’d like to come in and

work for a couple of hours on the 12th,’ because that -

was my day off. And he said, ‘You have to be in the

store to vote.’ And I said, ‘Well, don’t worry,.Tll

come in to vote.’ And he said, ‘Well, I thought you -

might like to get some time-in before the 12th, because

if the union gets in you’re not going to get any time

in after the 13th.’ ”

The record is replete with similar testimony from other

witnesses. It also contains support for the Trial’ Exam-.

iner’s finding of promises of wage increases. One witness

testified that midway in the election campaign the store

manager told three employees: “I’m planning to give you

a raise in October, or see you get a raise ia October; if.

‘the union doesn’t come in, and I’m thinking of a dollar

and a half.’ . :

All in all, the course of conduct shown on the part of

petitioner immediately after receipt of the union’s demand

fe RAK ns GRR ARE, die heh co NE aE 0 RIE RA ier POE Rf. +

6a

Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

for bargaining rights was that of an employer determined

‘to defeat unionization regardless of the wishes of the em- :

ployees and completely without regard to the law. The vio-

lation of the NLRA found in this case can by. no means be

characterized as “borderline” section 8(a)(1) violations as

in NLRB v. Ben Duthler, Inc., 395 F.2d 28-(6th Cir. 1968),

or as 8(a)(1) violations “without more” as in Lane. Drug |

Co. v: NLRB, 391 F.2d 812 (6th Cir. 1968). Indeed, it seems |

remarkable on this record that the union lost the election ed

by the close vote of seven votes for the union to eight |

against.. The Trial. Examiner and the Board had ample :

reason to conclude that petitioner’s course of conduct rep-

resented rejection of collective bargaining rather than a .

good faith doubt of the union’s majority status. |

Under the factual circumstances of this case, we believe

_ that the findings and conclusions of the Board have sub-

stantial support in this whole record. Universal Camera

Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474 (1951).

Enforcement of the bargaining order may well be the

only way. to remedy the illegal course of conduct deliber- -

ately chosen by petitioner. NLRB v. Winn-Diaie Stores,

_ Inc., 341 F.2d 750 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 830

(1965); NLRB v. Cumberland Shoe .Corp., 351 F.2d 917

_ (6th Cir. 1965); NLRB v. Delight Bakery, Inc., 353 F.2d

344 (6th Cir. 1965).

Appellant cites and relies on the Fourth Circuit view on

NLEB bargaining orders expressed in NV LRB v. 8.8. Logan

Packing Co., 386 F.2d 562 (4th Cir. 1967). This court has,

_ however, considered and: rejected the Logan holding.

NLRB vy. Atco-Surgical Supports, Inc., 394 F.2d 659 (6th

Cir. 1968).

- Enforcement of the Board’s order is granted.

6

Sm,

mA ae dnt ES RS ae Le ee gS se ee SD RAT RAAB

7a

APPENDIX B °

Decisions and Orders of the National Rahae *

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

DECISION OF THE NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD

On May 24, 1967, Trial Examiner Milton. Janus issued

his Decision in the above-entitled proceedings, finding that

the Respondent had engaged in and was engaging in cer-

tain unfair labor practices and recommending that. it cease

and desist ‘therefrom and take certain affirmative action,

as set forth in the attached Trial Examiner’s Decision.

He also found that the Respondent’ had not engaged -in

certain other unfair labor practices alleged in the com-

plaint and recommended that such allegations be dismissed.

The Trial Examiner further. recommended that the elec-

tion: held in Case No. 30-RC-508 be. set aside and the peti-

tion filed therein be dismissed. Thereafter, the Respondent

and the Charging Party filed exceptions to the Trial Ex-

aminer’s Decision and supporting briefs; the Respondent

- filed an answering brief to the exceptions of the Charging

Party, and the General ‘Counsel filed a reply brief.

Pursuant to, the provisions of Section 3(b) of the Na-

- tional Labor. Relations Act, as amended, the National Labor

_ Relations Board has delegated its powers in connection

with these cases to a three-member panel.

The Board has reviewed the rulings of the Trial Exam-

iner made at the hearing and finds that no prejudicial error

was committed. The rulings are herby affirmed. The Board

has considered the Trial Examiner’s Decision, the excep-

tions and briefs, and the entire record in these cases, and

hereby adopts the findings, conclusions, and recommenda-

tions of the Trial Examiner. —

A Sab rot taaci ae Basan: |

® .

Nelle FiO HA PINE AA, sethory: VEAL ah tee po ONS

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

“ORDER

Pursuant to Section 10(c) of the National tole Rela-

tions Act, as amended, the National Labor Relations Board

adopts as its Order the Recommended Order of the Trial

Examiner, and hereby orders that the Respondent, Thrift

Drug Company of Pennsylvania, Kenosha, Wisconsin, its |

officers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall take the action

set forth in the Trial Examiner’s Recommended Order.’

Dated, Washington, D.C. September 15, 1967.

Frank W. McCulloch, Chairman -

By ; ~ John H. Fanning, Member

ad

Sam Zagoria; Member

-Natronat Lasor Retations Boarp

(SEAL)

1 Delete from paragraph 2(b). of the Trial Examiner’s Recommended

Order that part thereof which reads “to be furnished” and substitute |

therefor “on ie provided. .

9a

_ Decisions and Orders of the National Labor .

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

‘TRIAL EXAMINER’S DECISION

; Statement of the ee ae

MILTON JANUS, Trial Examiner: These-Cases, involv-

ing unfair labor practice charges and objections to conduct

affecting the results of an election, were heard at-Kenosha,

‘Wisconsin, on December 12 and 13, 1966, pursuant to a

complaint issued on November 15, 1966, and upon a report

on objections issued the same date. The two cases were

consolidated for hearing. The complaint, against Thrift

Drug Company of Pennsylvania,. herein called the Respon- _

dent or the Company, alleges violations of Section 8(a) (1)

and (5) of the National Labor Relations Act, as amended.

Briefs were filed after the close of ‘the hearing by the

Respondent and the Charging Union.

Upon the entire record and my observation of the wit-

nesses, I make the following:

4 = ; = =~ we

Findings of Fact

I. The Business of the Respondent

The Respondent is a Pennsylvania corporation, engaged -

in operating retail drug stores in several states. The store

involved in these proceedings is located in Kenosha, Wis-

consin. During the past calendar year, a representative

‘ period, Respondent’s sales through -all its .retail stores,

-exceeded $500,000. During the same period, it pufchased

goods and material from points outside the State of Wis-

_consin in an amount in excess of $50,000, which were

shipped, ‘in interstate commerce, to the Kenosha store. I

find that the Respondent is engaged in commerce. within

the meaning of the Act, and that it will effectuate the

policies of the Act to assert jurisdiction herein.

ae

PERSP, AEs "

’

.

gr kieran Tey Chem nent mm

°

PRM RR INE ENTE DMT IPI CONEY SERB Ra me Sey em th

AUT CNY

a _ geist iL A Thee Se Sid ainlPale ails tps A Be ee

10a

"Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

* © TT, The Labor Organization Involved

~ Retail Clerks Union Local 526, Retail Clerks Interna-

tional Association, AFL-CIO, is a labor organization with-

in the meaning of Section 2(5) of the Act.

III. The Unfair Labor Practices

A. Sequence of Events'

The Union’s campaign to organize the employees at Re-

spondent’s drug store at Kenosha, Wisconsin, began in

May 1966 when it obtained three authorization cards and —

continued into, or was resumed, in August when it ob-—

tained another seven cards. With a total of 10 cards in its

possession, the. Union mailed Ahree separate communica-

tions on August 24 to the Respondeht’s president at the

home office in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. They were (1) a ©

- recognition letter, in which it claimed that it represented

a majority of the employees in the Kenosha store, re-

quested a meeting at a specified time and place to discuss

contract terms, and offered to prove its majority in an

appropriate unit at that time by submitting its cards to

an impartial third party for authentication of its claim;

(2) a so-called Warning Notice in which the Union in-

_ formed the Company that it was organizing its employees

and already represented a “substantial number” of them,

gave what it called official notice of its campaign and in-

terest in a storewide unit, and cautioned the Company

against intimidating its employees; and (3) a letter in

_which it enclosed a copy of a representation petition to. —

the Board. The original petition was received sid the Board

the next day.

1 All dates herein refer to the year 1966.

a

ee +

a

lia

re,

Decisions qnd Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner « |

’ The three letters were received by the Company on

Friday, August 26. The following Monday, August 29, the

Respondent’s attorney wrote the Union acknowledging re-

ceipt of the letters, stated’ that he considered the one

requesting recognition and the one informing the Company

of its organizational activity as “inconsistent and confus- :

ing,” that the Company had advised him of its doubts

=

whether the Union represented an uncoerced and informed

majority of its employees in an appropriate unit, and that

‘it doubted the appropriateness of ‘a single store unit. It

also rejected the offer of a cardcheck because of the possi-

bility of coercion or misrepresentation as to the purpose

of the cards, and agreed io-resolve the questions raised

by the union letters “in a secret ballot election ely

employees of the Company.”

A stipulation for certification upon consent election was

approved by the Regional Director on September 20; in,

which the appropriate unit was defined as all employees

at the Kenosha store, excluding store manager, assistant

. store manager, lunch counter manager, professional em-

ployees, guards and supervisors as defined in the Act. A

few days later, the Union filed its ofainsh charge in this

case, alleging that the Company had committed violations

of Section 8(a)(1). The next day, it requested the Board

to proceed with the stipulated election, notwithstanding

its charges. The election was held on October 12, and the

employees rejected the Union by a vote of eight to seven.

On October 18, the Union filed timely objections to. conduct _

| affecting the election, and on the same day it filed an

amended charge alleging that the Company had unlawfully

refused to bargain with it.

=

7—

12a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

‘ B. The Issues

The basic issue is whether the General Counsel has

established that the Company’s refusal to recognize and

bargain with the Union was undertaken in bad faith, for

the purpose of dissipating the Union’s majority, or in

rejection of the collective-bargaining principle. Resolu-

tion of that issue necessarily requires examination and de-

termination of other questions; whether there was a proper

request for recognition; the me ’s majority status, which ~

involves the composition of the-appropriate unit and the

validity of certain- authorization cards; and whether the

Company’s total conduct was sufficiently grave to warrant

setting aside the election and to direct a second election

_ or order the Company to wegen despite the Union’s loss

of the first election.

C. Adequacy of the Request for

Recognition and Bargaining

As noted above, on August 24, in separate letters the

_ Union advised the Company that it represented a major-

ity of the employees at the Kenosha store, that it was:

engaged in organizing and. already represented a substan-

tial number of the employees, and that it was filing a

petition. The Company argues that the Union’s demand

for. recognition Was defective and invalid because its com-

munications with the Company were inconsistent and con-

' fusing; it thereafter failed to clarify its position although

invited to do so; and its, offer to substantiate its majority

showing by a card check was meaningless since the cards °

were no longer in its possession, having Yeen submitted

to the Regional Director as its showing of interest to

accompany the petition.

13a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor |

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

i

Standing alone, the Union’s letter requesting recognition

for all employees at the Kenosha store and offering to

negotiate the terms of a bargaining contract upon proof

of its majority through examination of cards (General

Counsel’s Exhibit 2) is unambiguous and unequivocal, and/

satisfies the Board’s requirements in that regard. Nor

does the filing of a representation petition simultaneously

with a request for recognition and bargaining constitute

a withdrawal or qualification of the Union’s right to be

recognized if, in fact, the Employer has no good-faith’

doubt of the Union’s majority.”

The issue of the Company’s asserted good- faith doubt

wi!l be discussed later, in connection with the violations of

Section 8(a)(1) alleged in the complaint, and I limit my-

self for now to the Company’s assertion that the separate

communications of ‘August 24 were, taken together, so

inconsistent as to leave the Company in doubt as to how

to proceed. Its confusion seems to be self-engendered: and

without any rational basis in fact. There was surely no

real inconsistency between the claim in the recognition

letter that it already represented a majority of the store

employees, and the warning letter in which it called atten-

tion to its organizing campaign and claimed to represent

a substantial number of employees. In effect, the Union

was noting, perhaps superftuously but harmlessly, that it

intended to cgntinue its organizing drive’ in order to hold

on to, and to expand, the answer of its adherents. Nor

was the Union required to answer the attorney’s letter of

August 29 and thereby forego its claim to be the exclusive

representative of the employees, simply because it had

2 Midwestern Nuictdiuins Cope, Inc., 158 NLRB No. 144, and

cases cited in footnote 3 thereof.

PO PTT ee

yee anes peg:

Monte

NEQUE RA Sa MEP Rey PRS

14a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Tréal Examiner

also filed a petition, and was willing to rely on an election

as one of several appropriate means by which its paeny

status could be tested.

Finally, Respondent’s claim that the Union could not

establish its majority by means of cards because it no

longer. had them in its possession is without merit. If

Respondent had oii ered to examine the cards, instead of

rejecting that procedure in its letter of August 29, it would

have been in a better position to complain if the Union

. was unable to produce the cards which it had turned over

to the Regional Director. In any event, a bonafide offer

on the Company’s part to negotiate an agreement ifja |

ecard check substantiated the Union’s majority claim, would

‘have enabled the Union to withdraw the petition and to

reclaim its cards from the Regional Director.

D. The Union’s Majority Status

The unit: The only variation between the unit stipulated

as appropriate by the parties for purposes of the consent

election, and that described in the demand letter and peti-

tion, is that the. former specifically excluded professional

employees while the latter did not. There were three

pharmacists employed at the store at all times during the

relevant period who, the parties agree, were professional

employees within the meaning of Section 2(12) of the Act.

, . ‘ 2 a . oon

Two of these, were the manager and the assistant manager

of the store, who were therefore also excluded as super-

visory employees. The third pharmacist, Divjak, was a

regular part-time nonsupervisory employee.

Phe parties agreed on the names of 14 employees who

were employed on August 26, when the demand letter was

lia

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

received by Respondent. The Respondent also urges. that

Divjak, the nonsupervisory pharmacist, and Petersen,

classified as a merchandiser, must also be included in the .

count of employees against which the Union’s majority

status must be measured.

I am satisfied that Petersen must be included. Although

he may have had some additional responsibilities for a

short time between May 1966, when he came to work and

July, when a pharmacist was hired to act as store manager,

his duties in August and up to.the date of this leaving, .

around September 15, were clearly nonsupervisory. Al-

though he was not actually present at the store during parts

of these months because of an accident and service in an

Armed Forces Reserve camp, he was paid for those periods

of absence. ,

His duties as a merchandiser were ‘to display sundries,

. Such as toys, pet supplies, etc., in the selling areas of the.

store, to requisition- merchandise from the Company’s cen-

tral warehouse, take inventory, help unload trucks and put

orders away. His duties as to ordering, inventorying, and

stocking were no different in kind from those performed by

the women employees in the cosmetics, tobacco, or drug’

‘departments. The testimony of the Company’s personnel

director that Petersen exercised no supervisory functions

was not rebutted. Furthermore, his replacement after he

left about September 15, was.included on the eligibility list

for the October election. I find that Petersen was the 15th

employee in the unit described by the Union’s demand letter.

Divjak presents a more’ difficult problem, because it re-

quires a statutory interpretation which, to my knowledge,

has not heretofore been squarely decided. The question ig

whether the Board may issue a bargaining order encom-

.

SEA" SPR Ate Ape,

cere

16a

Decisions and Orders of the. National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner.

passing a unit in which a professional employee is included,

thereby depriving him of the right prescribed by the proviso

to Section 9(b)(1), of voting on whether he wishes to be

included in a unit with nonprofessional employees.’ Pre-

| —b—

liminarily, I call attention to the fact that my discussion

and holding on this issue will be dictum, since“f also hold

later on in this Decision, that the Union had 10° valid au-

thorization cards, sufficient to establish its majority whether

the appr /priate unit consists of 16 or 15 employees, that is,

whether Divjak is to be included or excluded. However, 2

cards, those of Hix and McClelland, are included in. that

majority of 10, and if I am wrong in counting them; the

resulting total of 8 is sufficient to prove majority only if

Divjak is excluded, and the unit is confined to 15 employees.

3 The relevant statutory provisions to which I will refer are set out

here. The italics in all cases is, of course, mine, for emphasizing par-

ticularly pertinent language.

See. 8. (a) It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer—

(5) to refuse to bargain collectively with the representatives of

his employees, subject to the provisions of section 9(a).

° .* « & ° ’ ;

Sec. 9. (a) Representatives designated ox selected for the purpose

of collective bargaining by the majority of jthe employees in a unit

appropriate for such purposes, shall be the ‘exclusive representatives

of all the ee in such unit for the sails f° collective

bargaining. . P

. (b) The Board shall decide in each case whether, Yin order to

assure to employees the fullest freedom in exercising the rights

guaranteed by this Act, the unit appropriate for the purposes of

collective bargaining shall be the employer unit, craft unit, plant

unit, or subdivision thereof: , Provided, that the Board shall not

(1) decide that any unit is appropriate for such purposes if such

unit includes both professional employees and employees who are

not professional employees unless a majority of such professional

employees vote for inclusion m such unit; .. .

17a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

The Respondent argues that the Union’s demand letter of

August 24, by claiming to represent all employees at the

Kenosha store, excluding only. supervisors, implicitly re-

quested that Divjak be included in the unit as a regular

part-time professional employee, and that it act as his

representative. It is true, as Respondent ‘points out, that

Section 9(b)(1) does not prohibit the establishment of

bargaining units composed of both professiotial and non-

_ professional employees, but requires only that the former —

be given a self-determination election on whether they wish

to be included in such a mixed unit.

‘ - —

The Respondent also points out, that if it had voluntarily -

) recognized the Union as the exclusive representative of the

employees claimed to be the appropriate unit in the Union’s

demand letter, the Union would have become Divjak’s bar-

gaining agent, and if an agreement had been entered into,

he would have been bound thereby, even though he had not

been given a choice between exclusion or inclusion. The case

cited by Respondent for this proposition, Retail- Clerks

Union Local No. 324 (Vincent Drugs), 144 NLRB 1247, as

well as the later International Telephone & Telegraph Cor-

poration (ITT Federal Laboratories), 159 NLRB No. 145,

hold that the Board will not strfke down a relationship,

voluntarily and consensually agreed to by the parties, in

which professional employees have been joined without

their prior consent, in a mixed unit with nonprofessional

employees.

There is, in each of those cases, language to the effect

that the Board is precluded by Section 9(b)(1) from es-

tablishing such a mixed unit,.without self-determination by

the professional employees, in a representation proceeding,

or from certifying such a unit, thereby giving rise to a pos-

THANE RII I MELT tO LAINE IPOS COINS UNS EN DEIN ey ma

18a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

sible inference that the Board may do otherwise in proceed- .

ings where a Board-directed election under Section 9(c) is

not invoked. Such an inference is not warranted because

the Act, in my opinion, precludes the Board from establish-

ing a ‘mixed unit of professional and nonprofessional em- ~

ployees, without self-determination for the former, as pre-

scribed by Section 9(b)(1) either in a representation pro-

ceeding under Section 9(¢), or in an unfair labor practice

proceeding under Section 8(a) (5) or 8(a) (1). |

A union may achieve the status of exclusive bargaining

representative for an appropriate unit, under Section 9(a),

without first winning a representation election under Sec-

tion 9(c).* The Board recognizes and validates the status

thus obtained under Section 9(a), by’a proceeding pursuant

to Section 8(a) (5), or under certain circumstances, pursuant

to Section 8(a)(1). But whichever paragraph of Section

8(a) is invoked, the Board must find that the unit in which

the Union has achieved majority status is appropriate, and

+t must follow the applicable mandates of Section 9(b). The

Board’ validation of .a unit as appropriate under Section

9(a) and (b) is necessarily quite different from a Board

holding that parties who have consensually agreed to bar-

gain with respect to an inappropriate unit may be permitted

(or required) to continue their past course of action. In the

former situation, the Board must affirmatively find a par-

ticular unit to be appropriate in all regards; in the latter

it simply allows the parties to resume their extended his-

‘tory of bargaining for an inappropriate unit, without con-

doning their action but without declaring their conduct to

be void ab initio? - al ,

4 United Mine Workers of America v. Arkansas Oak: Flooring Co., 351

U.S. 62, 71-72; Ray Brooks.v. N.L.R.B., 348 U.S. 96, 100-101.

19a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

I hold, therefore, that’ I am precluded from finding the

unit sought by the Union in its recognition letter to be ap-

propriate, because: the Board may not, under Section

9(b) (1), include a professional employee in any unit if he

| —§—

has not had the opportunity to decide whether he wishes

to be joined with nonprofessional employees.®

The unit for whith the Union requested recognition was

not inherently inappropriate, as I have mentioned above,

if the Company had voluntarily accorded recognition upon

being satisfied that the Union had valid authorization cards

from a majority of its employees, Since the Company re-

fused to do so, the Regional Director approved a stipula-.

tion for a consent election for a unit from which profes-

sional employees were excluded. The basic character of the

unit originally requested (all.store employees excluding

supervisors) was unchanged by the exclusion of a single _

nonsupervisory professional pharmacist, and the variation |

between the units defined in the original request and in the }

stipulation, is insubstantial.* I find, therefore, that the unit ‘

agreed to in the stipulation for certification upon consent

election is a unit appropriate for the purposes of collective

bargaining. |

Authentication of signatures: Ten dated and signed au-

thorization cards were offered and received in evidence.

ORE ROT ANT rt

. °

° The distinction between a Board finding and a Board certification of

an appropriate unit is explicitly drawn in Section 9(b)(3) with respect

to. the two separate standards for labor organizations which represent

- guards. See The William J. Burns International Detective Agency, Inc.,

134 NLRB 451, where the distinction between the two is discussed and

- specifically relied upon,

° Heck’s Inc., 156 NLRB 760, 765-767; Ottenheimer and Company,

_ Inc., 144 NLRB 38, 46; Galloway Manufacturing Corporation, 136 NLRB

405, 408; and The. Hamilton Plastic Molding Company, 135 NLRB 371,

373.

a eee ne

os ot otal

20a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor :

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

Four matinee (Alberta Story, Lana Pfeiffer, Wacol

Zellen, and Sophie Zebrowski) personally identified their -

own signatures, and no-question is raised as to the authen-

ticity of those cards. |

Paul Whiteside, JY., a: representative of Retail Clerks

' International Association, District: Council No. 14, testified

that he had witnessed the signing of four additional cards.

They are those of Evelyn Massie, Louis Vena, Lois Wasiu-

lewski, and Teresa Witt. In its brief, the Respondent urged

- that the four cards which Whiteside said had been signed’

in his presence, but which were not personally authenticated

by their signers should not be counted towards the Union’s

majority, because the General Counsel failed to eall tlie

four signers to identify their signatures or to establish that

they were unavailable to testify. The contention has been

uniformly held to be without merit. A card may be’ prop-

‘erly authenticated by a witness who testifies that he ob-

served its signing.’ Since Whiteside’s testimony was com-

ue ea

petent and probative, it is immaterial that the General

Counsel may have relied on other methods of proving the

authenticity of the cards. os

The last of the 10 cards are those purporting to be signed

by Hazel Hix and Nancy McClelland (General Counsel’s

Exhibits 9 and 10). The General Counsel called Beverly

. Crowe as his witness to vouch for the genuineness of Hix’s

and McClelland’s signatures on these two cards. Crowe is

not employed by the Respondent, and at her place of em-

‘7 Don the Beachcomber, 163 NLRB No. 36, footnote 2; Lifetime Door

Company, 158 NLRB No. 3; Colson Corporation v. N.L.R.B., 347 F.2d

128, 134 (C.A. 7); N.L.R.B. v. Economy Food Center, Inc., 333 F.2d

468, 471 (C.A. 7).

«

2la

‘ Dedlélons and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

ployment she serves as a steward for the Charging Union.

After preliminary questions as to her name and employ-

‘ment, Crowe testified as follows, in response to the ques-

tions of Mr. Selby, counsel for the General Counsel.

Q. I hand you what has been marked General Coun-.

sel’s Exhibit 9, for identification, and ask you if you

recognize the signature.

A. Yes.

Q. Whose is it?

A. Hazel Hix.

; *¢ *¢ © * «*

Q. When was that card signed? '

A.*May 26th, 1966.

~ Q. Ihand you what has been marked General: Coun-

sel’s Exhibit 10, for identification, which purports to be

an authorization for representation. Do you recognize

the signature on that card?

A. Yes. |

Q. Whose is it?

A. Nancy McClelland’s. |

Q. When was that card signed?

A. August 19th, 1966.

I admitted these two. cards over the objection of Respond-

_ ent’s counsel that they had not been properly identified.

He was afforded the opportunity to examine the witness on

voir dire and to cross-examine her, but chose not to do so. -

This was the extent of General Counsel’s efforts to es-_

tablish the genuineness of the signatures on\these cards. I

merely restate the obvious, for emphasis, by pointing out

that Crowe did not testify that the cards were signed in her

presence, or that they had come into her possession in con-

nection with her duties as a steward for the Union. On the

BRB.

moe heee aR -

ve al ed i fae

UT HD cae

hl eel hailed

: 1 EN aces SRR NN oe et te Saten Rm gear. Ne

22a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor y

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

other hand, the Company did not question her claim that

she recognized the eee and: McClelland. It

chose to forego examining her on her\basis for comparing »

these signatures with other signatures of Hix and McClel-

land which she kifew to be genuine. For all that appears

here, Crowe’s claim that she recognized the signatures might

_ have been supported by exact and detailed knowledge based

, on her prior examination of many known genuine signatures

of Hix and McClelland, or it might be an outright false-

‘hood, or else based on ridiculously inadequate opinion. But

neither the General Counsel nor the Company wished to ©

inquire further, for reasons best known to themselves.

Each was willing to rest his case on the barest minimum.

For example, neither party claimed that Hix or McClelland

was unavailable to testify, nor did Respondent attempt to

prove the falsity of the signatures by comparing them with.

samples of authentic signatures from tax withholding

forms, payroll records, ete., which tt, might have in its pos-

session. Of course, it was unnecessary for the Respondent

‘to put forth any effort to help the General Counsel prove his

case, and the question as. to whether I was right in receiv-

ing General Counsel’s Exhibits 9 and 10 is whether the il

General Counsel’s submission, through Crowe’s testimony,

established a prima.facte case. ,

Respondent’s brief states that “The Board and the

Courts have consistently held that, if authentication by

other than the signer is to be permitted, the party authenti-

‘eating must have been a witness to the execution.” The

statement is incorrect. The cases do not so hold, nor do the

three cases which Respondent cites in his brief for the

propdsition i in fact support his argument. The-Board will

accept as authentic, for example, authorization cards which

23a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

-

were returned to the person soliciting them even though the

‘solicitor did not witness the act of signing.

Turning to the three cases cited by Respondent as sup-

‘porting the contention set out above, in The Colson Corpo-

ration, 148 NLRB 827, the Trial Examiner rejected Stimel’s

card because he did not believe Crayne’s testimony that

Stimel had returned a signed card to him, rather than be-

cause Crayne had not seen Stimel sign the card. See foot-

~ - note 5 of the Trial Examiner’s Decision at page 840. In the

second case, Winn-Dixie Stores, lic., 153 NLRB 273, 306,

the Trial Examiner rejected Mobley’s card because the

' testimony of Johnson, the solicitor, as to when the card

was signed was not persuasive, rather than because he had

not seen Mobley sign.

Nor does Henry Colder Company, 163 NLRB No. 13, .

support Respondent’s argument that authentication of a

signature may be established only through the testimony

of the signer or of someone who witnessed the signing. It

may be that Colder casts doubt on the precedental value of —

‘the holding in I. Taitel and Sow, 119 NLRB 910, enfd. 211

F.2d 1 (C.A. 7), that cards may 4 authenticated by a union

were obtained in the course of the union’s organization

campaign from key employees who secured them and (b)

‘where opportunity is given the employer before or at the

trial to check their authenticity. But whatever maybe in-

ferred from the Board’s remand to the-Trial Examiner in

Colder, as to the Taitel holding, it Hoes not have the scope

which Respondent attributes to it, since in Colder itself the

8 Texas Electric Cooperatives, Inc., 160 NLRB No. 33 (ecards of

Christian, Whinery, and others); Gordon Manufacturing Company, 158

NLRB No. 131 (Oliver); and Lifetime Door Company, 158 NLRB No. 3

(Holmes). — .

. representative (a) where his testimony shows that they .

cm

Decistons and Orders of the .ational Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

Board approved the genuineness of the cards signed by

Arlene E. Locke whose authenticity was established through

. the comparison of the signature on the card with an ad-

mittedly genuine sample of the’ same person’s handwriting.

_In the Colder case, the comparison of Locke’s signature

with other samples of her- signature was made by a hand- .

writing expert, and the use ef .such experts has been ap-

proved. by the Board in other cases.° Furthermore, the

Board has ——— a comparison of signatures even by

nonexperts.”°

There is thus no reason te believe that signatures must

be authenticated in a more restrictive manner in Board pro-

ceedings than in other administratiye’ or in judicial pro-

ceedings. Wigmore’s treatise on EK idence (3d .ed. 1940)

supplies overwhelming precedent that the genuineness of.

signatures may be proved by the testimony of those who

did not witness the actual signing. Handwriting experts

may state-their opinion as-to whether A signed a particular

- dosument, by comparing A’s purported signature. thereon

with his known genuine signatures; and nonexperts may

state their opinions based on their: familiarity with A’s

handwriting. The competency of a nonexpert witness to

state an opinion as to the genuineness of A’s signature may

be. tested by examining him on his claim that he is familiar

with A’s handwriting. But if the party who contests the

; genuineness of A’s signature does not impugn the witness’

claim.of familiarity, the document is admissible in evidence,

; * Aero Corporation, 149 NLRB 1283, and Benson Vencer Company,

Inc., 156 NLRB 781, :792.

10 Philamon Laboratories, Inc., 131 NLRB 80, footnote 1 of I. R. enfa.

298 F.2d 176, 180; Tom’s Supermarket, Inc., 157: — No. 106

( Tweedie’s card). °

j 7 25a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

and the question of genuineness is then left for the trier of

fact." | :

—12—

To return to the specifie evidence in the instant case,

Crowe testified that she recognized Hix’s and McClelland’s

signatures. Her assertion of recognition -was in effect a

‘claim that she was familiar with their signatures and had

made a mental comparison of the .purported examples

_ shown to her with other examples which she knew to be’

genuine, and that in her opinion, the signatures on General

-Counsel’s Exhibits 9 and 10 were indeed those of Hix and

_McClelland. If Respondent believed that Crowe was not

competent to express an opinion because of her lack of

familiarity with the signatures of Hix and McClelland, it

need only have asked her on what she based her elaim of

being able to recognize these signatures. Its failure to do

‘so was a calculated gamble, not an oversight, since it had

already examined Whiteside on his claim of recognizing

11 See 7 Wigmore, Evidence § 2131 (3d ed. 1940). .

Modes of Authenticating Documents. Some of the various possible

modes of evidencing a document's genuineness are, of course, never

questioned to be sufficient ta entitle it to go to the jury. Those

about which question has arisen are only certain kinds of circum-

stantial evidence.

It will be necessary therefore to eliminate at the outset the kinds

of evidence as to which there is no dispute from the present point

of view.

o es s .

‘ (3) Circumstantial evidence is of various sorts; and first, of those

not here involved:

(a) Style of handwriting, i.c., similarity between that of the docu-

ment and that of the person alleged as its maker, is a sort of cir-

cumstantial evidence (ante, § 383) undisputed in its sufficiency; the

controversies have arisen over the proper modes of proving the fact

of similarity.‘

* The type of handwriting may be evidenced by persons familiar

with it (ante §§ 693, 2008); . . . (Underscoring in original.)

RL OE EER TOGO ¢ EE TE See PORTER AOL GLEE ALSO CRE RET PF SOE C2 FEES VE Ree =

26a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

the signatures on the cards which had been signed in his

presence, and was able to show the insubstantiality of his

opinion. Respondent might have been able to do the same

with. Crowe if it had tried, but it chose not to.

On the basis of the thin and barely adequate identification

by Crowe that she recognized the signatures on General

Counsel’s Exhibits 9 and 10 as being those of Hix and Me-

Clelland, I affirm my ruling admitting those exhibits in

evidence, and find that the purported signatures are genu-

ine, and the authorization cards valid. »

The a misrepresentations: The signed cards which

the Union obtained in its organizational campaign: are —

headed “Authorization for Representation.” The substan-

tive provisions of the cards authorize the Union to repre-

sent the employee signing it for the purposes of collective

bargaining in accordance with applicable law. Respondent’s

brief argues*that the Union made material misrepresenta-

tions to most of the employees who signed.

It argues that Lana Pfeiffer’s card should not be counted

because Zellen told her that the “only” purpose of the card

was to obtain an election, and that the Union needed cards

from a majority of the employees to insure an election.

Respondent’s contention loses, much of its force since its

inquiries were based on its understanding at that tyme that

Pfeiffer had signed a card on Zellen’s solicitation. Heiter s

- later testimony showed that this was not so. Pfeiffer said

_ghe had complained to Jackie Zellen that her wages were.

low, and Zellen had said the wages would be higher if they

hada union. Zellen then said they needed so many girls to

have a union, that she herself had signed up, and if Pfeiffer

wanted to sign up she could be a member to help the ma-

— Zellen did not have an authorization card with her

27a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

and did not solicit Pfeiffer’s signature. A few weeks later,

on her own initiative, Pfeiffer asked Nancy McClelland: to

bring her a card when McClelland went to get-hers. Pfeif-

fer’s answer to Respondent’s question as to whether Zellen .

had told her that the only purpose of the card was for an

election was, “for a union, yes, for higher wages.” The

_ answer, as well as Pfeiffer’s entire testimony, shows clearly

that Zellen nor anyone else misrepresented the purpose or

effect of the card. ~°

. —13—

Zellen testified at one point that Crowe had told her that

in order for the Union to obtain an election it needed cards

of two-thirds of the employees. Respondent alleges that

this is a material misrepresentation which should invali-

‘ date Zellen’s card. This is apparently a claim that Zellen

was misled into signing a card, but I fail to see why. Crowe

told Zellen, according to the latter’s testimony, that if the

Company did not recognize the Union voluntarily they

would then have an election if two-thirds of the employees

had signed cards. The misstatement, or Zellen’s misunder-

standing of what Crowe told her, was not material since

Zellen’s testimony also clearly shows that she was told that

an election would only be necessary if the Company re-

fused to recognize the Union on the basis of a card check.

Respondent also contends that the five cards solicited by ._

Union Representative Whiteside are invalid because “the

obvious intent and effect of Whiteside’s statements is that

the only purpose of the card is to obtain an election.” What

Whiteside actually said was that the authorization cards

would be used for a card check and if that failed, for an

election. He also told the employees who signed the cards

that companies usually do not agree to card checks, and if

their employer, did not, they could vote as they pleased in

©

saab ee vein ! 7

: ‘ tC > .

28a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

the election. He did not tell them, as Respondent contends

he should have, that their authorization cards might be used

to support a bargaining order or might supersede their

vote. It is this omission, Respondent contends, which

amounts to a representation that the only purpose of the

card was to obtain an election. It is obvious that Whiteside

was only soliciting cards, and not attempting to give a

quick course in labor law. What he said was accurate and

correct, and his basic point, that the cards could be used

to establish the Union’ s majority without an election, is an

accurate summary of what the cards themselves say.

In summary, I find that the Union had obtained 10 valid

authorization cards when it requested recognition, and that

this constituted a majority of the 15 employees in the unit

of all store employees, excluding professional employees,

. guards and supervisors, which I have found appropriate.

E. Alleged Violations of Section 8(a)(1)

| 1. Before the election

The Company’s supervisors immediately picninandiile for

- day-to-day operations at the Kenosha store during August

and September were Donald Schneider, store mauager ;

Charles Wearing, assistant store manager; and Dolores

Davis, fountain manager. E. A. Montini, food service direc- |

tor, and Donald Bell; the personnel director, were manage-

- ment and supervisory officials with the duties and respon-

sibilities indicated. by their titles, for operations at all

stores. Montini and Bell both visited the Kenosha store

during September and spoke to various employees there.

Schneider, Wearing, Davis, and Montini were not called

to testify, and their various conversations with store em-

Ae 8

. ma © — - ‘ , ‘ sal — Sua OEE begat NOra? tb pcos Bsn na ROS AaB

. +

« e

: -

29a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner -

ployees, as testified to by witnesses for the General Coun-

sel, are in effect uncontradicted. Story, Zebrowski, and .

—14—

Zellen testified that Store Manager Schneider had spoken

_ta each of them individually on many occasions between

August 26 and October 12, the date of the election, telling

them that the store would close down if the Union came in.

Pfeiffer also testified that Schneider had told her several {

times, in effect, that there was no need to worry about

little things because. if the Union got in, the store would

close down.

‘Story also testified that she participated in a conversa-

tion. with Schneider, Sophie Zebrowski and her husband,

and employee Evelyn Massie about September 10, when

Schneider said he was planning to. give everyone a raise

to $1.50 per hour. Mrs. Zebrowski then asked him what

guarantee they had that they would not be fired after the

election, and that Schneider had promised that none of ‘the

girls would be fired if the Union did not come in. On an- 7

other occasion, according to Story, Schneider asked her and 7

Pfeiffer if there wasn’t to be a union meeting the next day |

and when she said, “We know you’ve got your spies,” he

answered “Yes, I know everything that’s one on with the

union business.”

FET

A few days after the consent election was agreed to,

Schneider asked Story if she would like to come in to work

for a couple of hours on the day of the election, even though :

she was not scheduled to work that day. Story said she

would be in to vote election day, to which Schneider ‘said, © :

“I thought you’d like to get some time in before the 12th,

because if the Union = in, you’re not going to get any

time in after. the 13th.

Oeste n ctu

30a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board /and Tfial Examiner

Zellen testified that she had gone to the store on Sep-

tember 15 to meet Lana Pfeiffer and go with her to a union

meeting. Schneider said to them that he did not know why

‘they bothered going to a union meeting, it was not going

to do them any good anyway, but that he could get a job

anywhere.

Although Assistant Manager Wearing does not seem .

have been as active as Schneider during this period, Zeb-

rowski did testify that whenever she met him in the stock-

room he also said that if the Union got in, the store would

-close. ,

Based on their uncontradicted testimony and ‘their de-

meanor while testifying, I credit Story, Pfeiffer, Zellen, and

Zebrowski and find that Schneider and Wearing made the

statements recited above. I find that their remarks that

the store would be closed if the Union came in, Schneider’s -

offer to let Story work on a nonscheduled day, his state-

ment that he was planning to raise everyone to $1.50 per

hour, the threat implicit in his remark that none of the

girls would be fired if the Union did not come in, and his

statement implying that he knew what was going on with

_the union business, and that it would not do them any good

to go to a union meeting, all constituted illegal interfer- —

ence, SRR, and coercion within the meaning of Section

seaiatae

—)o—

Pfeiffer testified that Davis, the fountain manager, asked

her on two occasions in mid-September how she was going

to vote in the union election. During this period, Davis

also asked her if she had gone to a union meeting which

had been held the evening before.

Pfeiffer and Zellen testified that in separate conversa-

.tions with each of them Davis had told them that if any

3la

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

‘applicants for employment appeared in response to a help-

wanted advertisement which the Company had just run,

_-that they were to find out whether the applicant was for

a union, and if she was, to tell her that the job had already

been filled or that the manager was not in to take the

application.

Zellen also testified that a week or so before that con-

versation, Davis had told her, while Nancy McClelland was

also present, that she, Davis, was to find out how they were

going to vote.

Based on their uncontradicted testimony and their de-

meanor while testifying, I' credit Pfeiffer and Zellen, and

find that Davis made the statement reeited above. In-

quiries as to-how an employee is going to vote, and whether

she had gone to a union- meeting, and orders to turn-away

applicants who are favorable to a union reasonably tend

to intimidate employees in the exercise of their right to

support a union and are thereby violative of Section 8(a)

(1). I so find here.

Pfeiffer Testified as to ares conversations in September

with Montini, the food service director. In the first such

conversation, Montini asked her if she had been to union

meetings and if she had a personal gripe, since anyone who

wanted ‘the Union must have a personal gripe. He also said -

that the fountain employees would not necessarily get a

raise even though the other employees might, that they

might lose their separate store and food discounts, and

in the long run would loge more than they would gain if

the Union got in. She algo testified that Montini had said

in the same conversation, that the fountain was a separate

department in the ‘store, that it was not making as much

money as it should, and that he could close it any time.

a

PYRENEES RG ena D Fm ery +

Sa at, ee

ROO Oreo

Oe ee ee ee

32a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

_ Relations Board and Trial Examiner

In their second conversation, Montini told her he knew

that.she, Alberta (Story) and Jackie (Zellen) had been to —

a union meeting and asked her if she knew what wage rate

the Union was offering. She said she did not, and Montini

then said that if the Employer and Union decided on wages,

it would not be more than $1.15 per hour and that the

employees would lose their food and store discounts. Again

he asked her what her gripes were and she told him that

‘the employées. were interested in the Union because they

thought it could get them higher wages, to which he replied

that he was not allowed to make any promises then, be- |

cause it might look like a bribe but that in October the

Company would decide which employees were deserving of

a raise.

In! their third conversation; a few weeks later but before —

the election, Montini repeated some of the points he had

previously made, such as the loss of food discounts if the

Union got in. |

, —16---

Zellen’s testimony as to her conversations with Montini

substantially corroborates that of Pfeiffer. Zellen said that

Montini told her he was there because of the union activi-

ties, that the fountain employees were overpaid at $1.10

per hour because employees at other stores were not given

a store discount or a food allowancey and that if the em-

ployees obtained a union they would lose their discounts.

Based on their uncontradicted testimony and on their

demeanor while testifying, I-find, that Pfeiffer and Zellen

testified credibly as to what Montini said to them. I find

that Montini threatened them with loss of their store and

food discounts, and threatened Pfeiffer with closing down

the fountain department if the Union won. His statement

33a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

_ Relations Board and Trial Examiner

that the employees would not get more than $1.15 per hour

if the Union got in, accompanied by his statement that in

October the Company would decide on raises would reason-

ably tend to impress on Pfeiffer and the other employees

that their chances for wage raises would be improved if

they defeated the Union. Respondent violated Section 8(a)

(1) by Montini’s threats and promises of benefits detailed

above. —

Ini connection with lis duties as persoanel director, Bell

visited the Kenosha store about September 8 and:9 and

spoke to all the employees individually. He testified that

he did so because Kenosha was a fairly new operation and

he wanted to inform himself about the personal background

of the store employees, to explain the company benefits,

and to find out what’ problems the employees might be

having. Only Story and Zebrowski were called by the Gen-

eral Counsel to testify as to their interviews with Bell.

During Bell’s inquiry as to®*thkeir problems, both Story and

Zebrowski brought up thef® desire for more money. Bell

took advantage of the opening thus presented him by tell-

ing them in effect that his hands were tied while the union

business was unfinished, but that the Company was aware

of the problem. Story amplified this by testifying that Bell

also said everyone could count on a substantial raise in

October, while Zebrowski said. that Bell had told her the

-Company was in the process of talking about giving: raises

to the girls, but that their hands were tied now that the :

Union was talking about coming in. Bell testified that he

said only that. the Company reviewed wages in October.

E think it more likely that Bell limited himself to the re-

marks he testified to—that the Company reviewed wages

in October. Although Story and Zebrowski forthrightly

_

.

TROP Mat or peomean: ESSN RAY Ny oP NNN ee

ATT T Ree eer tet te AE OT OL rr

PRADA IE ne BA NES oS 8S od Set Oe I Re LS cee

34a

' Decisions and Orders ‘of the National Labor

r Relations Board and Trial Examiner

told him in their interviews that they wanted more money,

and thereby gave him a favorable opportunity to let them

know that raises might be forthcoming next month, neither

Story’s nor Zebrowski’s testimony indicates that the pos-

sibility or expectancy of a raise was conditioned on the.

Union’s defeat. I am satisfied that the Company’s annual

wage review for employees at all its stores did oecur in

October. I find that Bell’s implicit prémise that their com-

plaints about wages: would be considered was made pursu-

ant to the Company’s regular practice of reviewing em-

ployee wages every October, and was not conditioned on

their rejection of the Union. I therefore find no violation

_of Section 8(a)(1) 1 in, any of Bell’s remarks to wari and

Zebrowski.

} = =

2. After the election

About 2 weeks after the election, and while the Union’s

objections were pending before the Regional Director, the

Company granted wage increases to its employees. The

complaint alleges that the grant of increases at that time

was an independent violation of Section 8(a)(1), as well

as a violation of Section 8(a){5).

Within a week or so after the election, about_half the

employees at the store quit voluntarily. Some of these had

been earning less that $1.40 per hour. Their replacements

were hired at $1.40, and those old employees who remained

and who were not above that minimum were given raises

so that their new rates matched or exceeded the newly

established ‘ minimum. |

The Company argues that the erent of wage increases:

after the election was prompted by its normal policy of

reviewing all wages throughout its chain of more than 100

«

Decisions and Orders of. the National Labor

eee Board and Trial Examiner

stores each October ; that it had evade established a $1 .40

minimum at the stores it was currently opening, because

‘that was to be the new statutory minimum as of February,

1967, under the Federal Wage-Hour Laws, and because

many of the employees who had recently quit had been

dissatisfied with their low wages. .

I consider these to be legitimate business considerations

warranting the grant of wage increases at that time despite

the pendency of the objections to the election. I any aware

of those cases in which the Board has held that wage in-

creases or benefits granfed after an election while objec-

tions are pending, are in violation of Section 8(a)(1) as

being calculated to influence the employees’ choice of a bar-

gaining representative if-a second election were directed,

and as a reward for having rejected the Union.* These

were, howev€r, cases in which the benefits granted would:

have been illegal, under the rationale of N.L.R.B. v. Ex-

change Parts Company, 375 U.S..405, if they had been. be-

stowed before the election. In the instant case, on the

contrary, the evidence shows no deviation from the Com-

pany’s normal and regular practice of reviewing “wages

throughout its entire chain of stores in October, and to

make such adjustments as were called for by legitimate

business, considerations."*

On the basis of the~ evidence presented in this case, I

believe that the mee increases granted late in October

12 Amboz, a 146 NLRB 1520, 1521, enforcemerit denied on

this point, 357 F.2d. 138, 141 (C.A. 5); Northwest Engineering Company, —

- 148 NLRB 1136, 1144, enfd. 64 LRRM 2650 (C.A.D.C.) March 24, 1967;

Gal Tex Hotel Corporation, d/b/a Admiral Semmes Hotel and Motor

Hotel, 154 NLRB 338, 342; and Reiph Printing & Lithographing Co.,

158 NLRB No.. 128.

18 See Sheboygan Sausage Company, Inc., 156 NLRB 1490, 1497, and

True Temper Corporation, 127 NLRB 839, 842.

sway

* wv Z

g OPEL IL TLE (OW ET SA NE BE A FOE fy eld alae itaie hae a ea te pe Ay Sonera pee PINE New + a

° : .

.

4

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

were justified by the approaching ‘February 1967 deadline

for raising the minimum under the Wage-Hour Laws, and

eh were not, therefore, either premature or excessive. I find .

» cilia

no independent violation of Section 8(a) (1) thereby, but in.

. view of my intention to fiiid a. violation of Section 8(a) (5)

in the Company’s refusal te recognize and bargain . with |

. .the Union as the authorized representative of majority

of its employees i in an appropriate unit, I nevertheless find

that the. unilateral institution of these wage adjustments

. was a violation of the Respondent{’s obligation to bargain .

with the Union. | ae

F. Alleged Violation of ‘Section a a)(5 a

I have found that the Union represented a majority of

the employees in an appropriate unit at the Company’s

Kenosha store when. it requested recognition and: bargain- .

ing. The General Counsel, however, is also obligated, as

part of his case, to establish that the Respondent refused

in bad faith to recognize and bargain with the Union after

it attained its majority status or, as the principle is fre-~

quently. stated in expanded terms, because it rejected te.

ime

concept of collective bargaining or sought to use th

thus gained to undercut and destroy the. support of its

employees for ‘their chosen representative. The: indepen-

dent violations of Section 8(a)(1) which I found have

occurred were pervasive and substantial. They consisted

of threats by every one of the three supervisors in actual

charge of the store’s operations, and by Montini, who be-

cause he represented a higher level of management would

tend to impress upon the employees the concern which top

officials of the Company felt about their activities. Four

employees, out of a total of 16 nonsupervisory employees, :

7m. — ————E” ee ee eee

‘ 37a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

4

' testified credibly to the month-long effort of the Respond-

ent to convince them of the dire consequences likely to

result from their continued support of the Union, through

their threats and coercive interrogations.’ In circumstances

such as these, the Respondent’s reliance on cases in which

the Board found no: causal reldtionship between isolated

violations of Section 8(a)(1) and the loss of the Union’s

majority is misplaced."

Affirmatively, Respondent contends that it had a sad i

faith doubt as to the Union’s claim of majority representa-

tion.. Its argument tliat the Union’s conduct on August 24

in sending it three separate communications was ambiguous

and inconsistent, has already been considered and rejected.

It ‘also relies on the fact that the Kenosha store has been

in operation only 8 or 9 months, that it had had a high -

rate of employee turnoger, and that it had always at-

= a

: tempted to keep in close contact with its employees and

was therefore dubious of the Union’s claim on the extent

‘ of the support it had won at the store. It also urges, as

evidence of its good-faith doubts, that it was willing to

proceed with a consent- election to test the Union’s claims.

These assertians might, in other circumstances, have estab-

lished a good-faith doubt, but here their force has been

effectively blunted its aggravated conduct in coercing.

14 Compare Aaron BrotMcs Company of California, 158 NLRB No.

108, Hammond ¢ Irving, Wncorporated, 154 NLRB 1071, and Cameo

Lingerie, Inc., 148 NLRB 535, which the Respondent relies on, .with the

following cases in which the Board, with- court approval, held that the

employer had rejected the union’s request to bargain, in bad faith:

Elliott-Williams Co. Inc., 143 NLRB-811, enfd. 345 F.2d 460 (C.A. 7),

Boot-Ster Manufacturing Company, Inc., 149 NLRB 933, enfd. 361 F.2d

325 (C.A. 6), Gotham Shoe Manufacturing Co., Inc., 149 NLRB 862,

enfd 359 F.2d: 684 (C.A. 2), and Frank C. Varney Co. Inc., 151 NLRB

280, enfd. 359 F.2d 774 ae. 7. é

38a .

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor.

. Relations Board and Trial Examiner

and intimidating its employees, thereby making impossible

a fair test of the oe claims. |

‘The Respondent also conténds ‘that a Lersuininn order

against it would not be warranted: because the Union has

in the meantime lost the effective support of its former

adherents, and because the doctrine of the Bernel Foam.

case, 146 NLRB 1277, is not applicable here. I will con-

sider the contentions in that order.

Respondent expresses concern that its present employees

will be deprived of their right to refrain from self-organiz-

ing activities if a bargaining order is issued here. It is true

that seven employees left almost immediately after the

election, and that apparently none of them claimed that

the Union’s loss of the election was the reason for their

quitting. It is worthy of note, however,that-all-seven_had-

signed authorization cards. In any event, the Respondent

argues that the Union would have lost its majority without

regard to whether Respondent had committed some unfair |

labor practices. In effect, -it seeks to. benefit-from its own

illegal actions in thwarting. its former employees’ -desire.

for representation by advocating the right of its present

employees to refrain from such activities. The Supreme

Court’s decision in Franks Brothers Company v. N.L.R.B.,

321 U.S. 702, exposes the untenability of Respondent’s

argument.

_ Since the facts in no two cases are ever exactly: alike,

the Respondent is able to point out certain-factual differ-

ences between this case and Bernel Foam Products Co., I ne.

146 NLRB 1277." In Bernel, the petition was filed after a

15 In Bernel, the Board reverted to its former doctrine that a union may

"be entitled to a bargaiuing order based on its majority status even though

it had lost an election in =hizh it participated with knowledge of the em-

ployer’s commission of unfair le'sor practices. ;

39a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor a

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

request for recognition was refused; here, it was filed imul-

taneously with the request. Respondent argues that. ‘nel

does not govern this case since here the refusal to’ bargain

-did not induce the filing of the petition, ‘and consequently

that the Union had a genuine choice of remedies here, un-

like the union in’ Bernel. I think the factual differences

between: the two cases are immaterial. Before Bernel, a

union, knowing of an employet’s unfair labor practices, had

a one-time choice between proceeding with an election or - ’

seeking a bargaining order. The reversal of that doctrine

was intended to abolish the necessity of making that choice,

and to permit a union to go forward with the election and

thereafter, if it lost; to prove its preexisting majority in

' an unfair labor practice proveeding.. Respondent’s distinc-

tion based on which came first, the petition or the request,

would merely impose an illogical limitation on what the

Board clearly intended to accomplish. ie

Respondent also relies on another factual distinetion be-

tween this case and Bernel to argue that the Union should

be limited to a choice between an eleetion or an 8(a)(5)

proceeding. It-points out that here the Union filed charges

of 8(a)(1) violations after it filed’ its petition but .before —

. the election was held. In conformity with Board regula-

‘ tions, it also requested the Regional Director to proceed

with the election despite its pending charges. After the

election, it filed objections and an unfair labor. practice |

charge alleging a wrongful refusal to bargain. Respond-

ent contends that this gave the Union an even greater

advantage than it was entitled to under.the Bernel doctrine,

16 Midwestern Manufacturing Company, Inc., 158 NLRB No. 144, and

gases cited in footnote 3 thereof.

ait A MD

eT

40a

Decisions ‘and Ordéys of the National Labor

Relations our and Trial Examiner

in allowing it to keep its 3( ) (1). charges ‘in semanas until,

it knew whether it had won or lost the election, and then

‘to rely on those as the basis for its 8(a)(5). charge. This

is said to permit the Union to harass the Respondent and

to’ abuse Board processes. Like the previous argument, ~ ne

Respondent’s concern that the Union may act only ina .

fixed step-by-step fashion, is misplaced. That the Union —

filed 8(a) (1) charegs before, instead of after the election,

does not affect the Board’s .reasons for allowing a union

to participate in an election arid then prosecute a-tefusal-

to-bargain charge. The Respondent believes the Bernel

doctrine is unfair, and it is entitled to urge the Board to

overturn it, but its- attempt to pay. lip. service to it while

distinguishing this case from it factually, is no more =e

a roundabout attack on Bernel itself.

IV. Objections to the Election

The Union filed timely objections to the conduct of the

election. The Regional Director’s report on the objections

_ refers to evidence tending to s show that “between the filing _

of the-petition and the election, supervisors and agents of

the Respondent coercively interrogated employees concern-

ing their union activities, threatened them with the closing

of the Kenosha store and other reprisals, and, promised

them increases in wages and other benefits if they rejected.

the Union. I see no reason to consider other conduct which

was alleged in the objections as grounds for setting the

election aside since, in my opinion, the evidence at the con-

- solidated hearing before me amply supports the conclusion —

I have reached that the election should be set aside, and

that the Respondent should be required to bargain with

the Union as the exclusive representative of its employees

at the Kenosha store, based on its maperty status as of |

August 26, 1966.

-

* £148

Decisions and’ Orders of the National Labor |

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

ro

It is also immaterial that the objections did not ‘apedity

all the conduct which I have found to be grounds for setting

the election aside. The decision as to whether an election

should be set aside is properly made on the basis of the .

‘ ella

investigation or hearing, and not on the allegations speci-

fied in the objections to the election.” Here, moreover, the

complaint alleged in what respects Section 8(a) (1) had

been violated before the election, and such violations, if |

proved, are a fortiert grounds for setting the election aside,

so long as timely objections were filed.

; Conclusions

Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, I conclude that

Respondent, by rejecting the. Union’s request on August 26, -

for recognition and bargaining, and thereafter engaging |

in-unfair labor practices designed to destroy the Union’s

majority, refused to bargain with the Union in violation of-

Section 8(a)(5) of the Act.’* I also find that by unilaterall

when the Union was entitled to exclusive recognition as

bargaining agent, Respondent violated the same section.’*

Furthermore, even if I were to assume that the Com-

pany acted in good faith in insisting. upon an election, a

17 International Shoe Company, 123 NLRB. 682.

8 NLRB. v. Joy Silk Mills, Inc., 185 F.2d 732 (C.A.D.C.).

19 V.L.R.B. v. Benne am, etc., d/b/a Williamsburg Steel Products Co.,

369 U.S. 736.

20 NLRB. v. Stow Manufacturing Co., or7 F.2d. 900 (C.A. bes and

irving. Air Chute Company, Inc., 350 F.2d 176 (C.A. 2).

raising the wages of its employees in October at a time

-. bargaining order is nonetheless appropriate in order to .

undo the effects ofits subsequent unfair labor practiées.2°

42a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

‘Finally, the Board and the courts have also held in a num-'

_ ber of cases, that where an employer’s violations of Section —

8(a)(1) have dissipated a‘union’s majority and prevented

the employees from freely exercising their choice of repre-

sentatives, the Board may, in order to remedy the unfair

‘labor practices, issue an order directing the employer. to

bargain with the union on request, provided that the union

had a majority at all relevant times.*! Under the doctrine

of these cases also, a bargaining order is appropriate in

this case. .

Conclusions of Law

1. All employees at Respondent’s Kenosha, Wisconsin,

store, excluding the store manager, assistant store mana-

ger, lunch counter manager, professional employees,

_- guards, and supervisors as defined in the Act, constitute an .

appropriate unit for the purposes of. collective bargaining

within the meaning of Section 9(b) of the Act. |

2. At all times since August 24, 1966, the Union has

‘been the duly designated bargaining representative: of the

employees in the aforesaid collective-bargaining unit. a

3. The Respondent has interfered with, restrained, dea

coerced its employees in the exercise of their rights guar-

anteed in Section 7 of the Act, in violation of Section

8(a)(1), by threatening them that the Kenosha:store or its

fountain department would be closed down or that they

would.lose their store or food discounts, by promising them

wage inftreases and other benefits, by coercively interrogat-

21 Pditorial “El henna Ine. v. N.L.R.B., 278 F.2d 184, 187 (C.A.1), |

and .B. v. Delight Bakery Inc., 353 F.2d 344 (C.A. 6).

43a

Deéisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board qnd Trial Examiner

ing them as to.how they were going to vote, or if they had

‘attended union meetings, by intimidating them through its

orders to’ reject applications for, employment from pro-

union applicants, and by telling them that their attendance

_at union meetings had been observed and noted.

4.. By failing and refusing on August 26, 1966, and’at all —

times thereafter, to recognize and bargain with the Union

as the collective-bargaining representative of the employ-

- ees in the aforesaid unit, and by unilaterally changing the

wages of employees in October’ 1966; without notice to or

- eonsultation with the Union, the Respondent has engaged

in unfair labor practices in violation of Section 8(a) (5) of .

the Act.

: ~ 5. The.aforesaid unfair labor practices affect commerce

within the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

The Remedy

Having found that the Respondent has engaged ‘in un-

fair labor practices in violation of Section 8(a) (1) and (5)

of the Act, my Recommended Order will provide that it

cease and desist therefrom and take certain affirmative ac-

tion designed to effectuate the policies of the Act.

As indicated. above, an order to bargain collectively with

the Union is appropriate to remedy the Company’s viola-

tions of the Act. Even in the absence of a refusal to bar- |

gain, I would find this remedy appropriate in the circum- -

stances of this case in view of the. Company’s extensive

' violations of Section 8(a)(1), which prevented -the em-

ployees from exercising a free choice in the election. In_ -

view of these conclusions, my Recommended Order will pro-

WALT) PT TIED Me pee OF

er

.

2) dawned

& te -

44a

‘ Decisions and Ordets of. the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

vide for dismissal of the pending representation seat oe

ings, Case 30—RC—508. pasos "ai Pe.

The unfair labor practices, found here are such as to

indicate an attitude of opposition to the purposes of the

Act generally. I find therefore that a broad cease-and-desist

provision is necessary to effectuate the policies of the Act.

In its brief, the Union has asked me to: recommend addi-

— tional remedial provisions to enable it to retrieve the losses

it sustained through the Company’s unfair labor practicee

which effectively denied it the support of the unit employ-

ees it had previously enjoyed. It asks for provisions giving

anal cat

it access to the Company’s bulletin boards and premises

under appropriate conditions, the opportunity to address

unit employees on Company time and property during the

compliance period, for additional relief of an unspecified

nature to restore its economic strength to what it was when

the Company refused to bargain with it, and to compensate —

it for its organizational expenses if the-parties are unable |

to reach an agreement under the bargaining order. As an

alternative,.the Union suggests a remedial provision re-

cently recommended by another Trial Examiner in a simi-

lar case, to make the employees whole by paying them the

difference between the compensation they actually received

and the rates received by employees in ‘comparable units

under union contracts for the period of the refusal to

bargain.

Although I appreciate the Union’s position that its bar- ~

gaining strength has been seriously eroded by. the Com-

pany’s unfair labor practives, and that it is entitled toa .

restoration of the situation as it would have been, absent

the unfair labor. practices, -it is nevertheless a question of —

~

a

45a

. " Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examiner .

judgment whether the remedy I si prescribed above is

in fact inadequate, Trial Examiners have, in the first in-

stance, a respoisibility to exercise their judgment in fitting

. the remedy to the violation, but with a proper regard. for

long-establistied Board practices in these matters. Since

some, if not all of the proposals suggested by the Union,

have been advanced in other cases now penditff before the

Board, I believe it would be a gratuitous gesture on my

part to order such novel remedies until the Board has

established guidelines in similar eases. I therefore deny

the Union’s request.

RECOMMEN DED ORDER

Upon the foregoing finding: and conclusions and the

entire record, and pursuant to Section 10(c) of the Act, it

is recommended that the National: Labor Relations Board

order that Thrift Drug Company of Pennsylvania, its offi-

cers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall:

1. Cease and desist from:

(a) Threatening employees that its Kenosha store or its

fountain department would be. closed down or that théy

would lose their store pr food discounts because of their

union activitie otal

(b) Promisigg employees wage incyeases and other bene-

fits in order to interfere with their free > choice of representa-

tives.

(c) Coercively interrogating them as to how they were

going to vote or if they had attended union meetings, in- .

timidating them by. ordering the rejection of applications.

for employment from prounion applicants, and telling them

_ that their attendance at union meetings had been observed

and noted.

46a |

‘ Decisions and Orders: of the National Labor

Relations Board and Trial Examixer '

ec —24--

_ (d) In any other manner interfering with, restraining,

or coercing its employees in the exercise of their right to

join, or assist Retail Clerks Union Local 526, Retail Clerks

International- Association, AFL-CIO, or any other labor

organization, to bargain collectively through . representa-

tives of their own choosing, and to engage in other con-

certed activities for the purpose of collective bargaining

or other mutual aid or protection, or to refrain from any

‘or all such activities.

(e) Refusing to sane and bargain collectively with _

Retail Clerks Union Local 526, Retail Clerks International

_ Association, AFL-C1IO;‘as the exclusive bargaining repre- -.

sentative of the employees in the appropriate unit set forth

in the conclusions of law above.

(f) Instituting changes in the wages, hours or other

conditions of employment .of its employees without notice —

_ to, or consultation with, Retail Clerks Union. Local 526, Re-

‘tail Clerks International Association, AFL-CIO, as their

exclusive bargaining representative.

2. Take the following affirmative action which is deemed

_ necessary to effectuate the policies of the Act:

(a) Upon request, bargain collectively with Retail Clerks .

Union Local 526, Retail Clerks International Association,

_ AFL-CIO, as the collective-bargaining representative of

all its employees in the appropriate unit sef forth in the

conclusions of law above, with respect to rates of pay,

wages, hours of employment, or other terms of employ-

ment, and if an understanding is reached, embody such

understanding i in a signed agreement. | '

47a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board and.Trial Examiner

(b) Post, at its store at Kenosha, Wisconsin, copies of

the attached notice marked “Appendix.”’*? Copies of said

notice, to be furnished by the Regional Director for Region

30, after being duly signed by Respondent’s representative,

shall be posted by Respondent immediately upon reéeipt

thereof, arid be maintained by it for 60 consecutive days

thereafter, in conspicuous places, including all places where.

notices to employees are customarily posted. Reasonable

steps shall be taken. by Respondent to insure that such

notices are not altered, defaced, or covered by any other —

material.

- (e) Notify the Regional Director for Region 30, in writ-

ing, within 20 days from the date of the receipt of this De-

essogps what steps Respondent has taken to comply here-

with. ; ;

The petition for certification of representatives j in Case

—30—RC—508 is hereby dismissed.

Dated at Washington, D.C. | *

Certiriep TruE Copy ~ aoe

O. W. Fievps | -

Executive Secretary NLRB

Date May 24 1967

22 In the event that this Recommended Order is een by the Board,

* the words “a Decision and Order” shall be substituted for the words “the

Recommended Order of a Trial Examiner” in the notice. In the further

event that the Board’s Order is enforced by a decree of a United States

Court of Appeals, the words “a Decree of the United States Court of

Appeals Enforcing an-Order” shall be substituted: for the words “a Deci-

-sion and Order.” ;

/ *%In the event that this Recommended Order is adopted by the Board,

this provision shall be modified to read: “Notify the Regional Director for

Region 30, in writing, within 10 days from the date of this Order, what

steps Respondent has taken to comply herewith.” .

Ee eee eee tee ee ee

PPE SPI ENE

- . 48a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor —

Relations Board and Trial Examiner

APPENDIX.

NOTICE TO ALL EMPLOYEES

Pursuant to the Recommended Order of a Trial Examiner

of the National Labor Relations Board, and in order to -

effectuate the policies of the National Labor Relations

Act, as amended, we hereby notify our employees that:

WE wi nor threaten employees that our Kenosha

store or its fountain department will be closed down

‘or that they will lose their store or food discounts be-

cause of their union activities.

WE WILL Nor promise wage increases or other benefits

in order to-interfere with a free choice of representa-

tives by our employees.

WE WILL NOT coercively interrogate our employees as

to how they are going to vote or if they have attended

union meetings, nor will we intimidate them by order-

ing: them to reject applications for employment from

prounion applicants, nor tell them that their attend-

ance at union meetings has been observed and noted.

We wit nor in any other manner interfere with, re-

strain, or coerce our employees in the exercise of their

right to join or assist Retail Clerks Union Local 526,

Retail Clerks International Association, AFL-CIO, or

any other labor organization, to bargain collectively

through representatives of their own choosing, and to

engage in other concerted activities for the purpose

of collective bargaining pr other mutual aid or protec- -

tion, or to refrain from any or all such activities. —

WE wiLL nor institute changes in the wages, hours or

other conditions of employment of our employees with-

out notice to, or consultation ‘with, Retail Clerks Union

49a

Decisions and Orders of the National Labor 2

- Relations Board and Trial Examiner

Local 526, Betail Clerks International Association,

AFL-CIO, as their exclusive bargaining representative.

WE WILL bargain, upon request, with the above-named

labor organization as the exclusive bargaining repre-

sentative of all employees irf the unit described below,

with respect to wages, rates of pay, hours of employ-

ment, or other terms of employment, and, if an under-

standing is reached, embody such understanding i in a

‘signed agreement. The bargaining unit is:

All employees at our store in Kenosha, Wisconsin,

excluding the store manager, assistant store qana-

ger, lunch counter manager, professional embloy- -

ees, guards and = as defined in the Act.

. AN our employees are free to become or reftain from -

becoming members of the above-named labor organization

or any other labor organization. ;

a

r

i

5 es Turirt Druc Company or .PENNSYLVANIA

l (Employer)

(Representative) (Title)

This notice must remain posted for 60 consecutive days

from the date of posting, and must not be altered, defaced,

or cavered by any other material.

If employees have any queston concerning this notice or

compliance with its provisions; they may communicate

directly with the Board’s Regional Office, Second Floor,

Commerce Building, 744 North Fourth Str eet, Milwaukee,

Wisconsin, 53203, Telephone 272-3861. |

ee bidahie’

7 OLE Oe xe

Wor eee see

50a”

APPENDIX C .

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

) In THE J

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

° For THE SixtH Circuit

6 " No. 18216

ae

J , . 7 .

~~ Turrt Druc Company oF PENNSYLVANIA,

~— ao Petitioner,

—_—V.——

Nationan Lasor Revarions BoArp,

_ Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR REVIEW AND SETTING ASIDE AN ORDER OF

THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD IN CASE NOS. —

30-CA-458 anp 30-CA-508

‘

_ Brier on Bewatr OF PETITIONER

Pornt VII

A Barcarntnc Orver Is an Improper AND INAPPROPRIATE

‘REMEDY. ;

A. The Board Is Restricted to the Use of Secret Ballots

for the Resolution of Representation Questions.

The legislative history of the National Labor Relations

Act, as amended, clearly establishes that it was the intent’

Sla

Excerpt From Petitioncr’s Brief Filed With the

‘ Court of Appeals for the Siath Circuit

~ of Congress to limit the methods used for the selection of .

a collective bargaining representative to the secret ballot

election and none other.’

The Board in support of its request for a bargaining -

order cites as authority cases decided prior to the Act’s

1947 amendments or decisions which themselves cite pre-

1947 decisions as coftrolling authority.‘ These amend-

ments radically changed the Board’s ° powers and responsi-

bilities under Section 9(c).“° Until recently a critical exam-

ination of the Beard’s powers under the Act, both before

and after the 1947 amendments, had never been made by

either the Courts or the Board.‘ An examination of the

policy changes. expressed i in the Taft-Hartley Amendments

reveals that the Board was stripped of its power to issue

a bargaining order where a question of representation has

‘been raised.

The relevant portions of Section 9(c) state:

“(1) Whenever a petition shall have been filed, in ac-

cordance with such regulations as may be prescribed

by the Board .. . the Board shall investigate such

petition... .If the Board finds upon the record of such

hearing that such a question of representation exists,

it shall direct an election by secret ballot and shall

certify the results thereof.” (Emphasis: added.)

This section requires that “Whenever a etition shall

have been filed” and the Board “finds ...a question of

43 NLRB v. -Logan Packing Co., supra.

‘4 See the analysis of cases, supra, pp. 69-71.

4561 Stat. 136 (1947), 29 U.S.C. §§151-168 (1964).

48 Logan Packing Co., supra, 66 LRRM at 2602.

il ati

52a, |

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

representation exists”, the Board “shall direct an “election

* by secret ballot and shall certify the results thereof.” The

c Board is without authority to determine representation

by other means once a petition has been filed and it has

found a question of representation exists.

1. The law prior to 1947.

Section 7 of the Wagner Act rrr the right of em-

ployees to belong to unions, but gave no protection to those

employees who wanted to refr ain from union activities..

Furthermore, under the Wagner Act, the Board had far

greater latitude in the methods it could use to determine

representation. The Wagner. Act stated that the Board

could determine representation by either “a secret. ballot .

of employees, or... any other suitable method.” Section

9(c) of the Wagner Act provided:

“Whenever a question affecting commerce arises con-

cerning the representation of employees, the Board

may investigate sucli controversy and certify to the

parties . . . the name or names of the representatives

that have been designated or selected. In any such

investigation, the Board shall provide for an appro-

priate hearing upon due notice, either in conjunction

with a proceeding under Section 10 or otherwise, and

may take a secret ballot of employees, ar utilize any

other suitable method to ascertain such pean

tives. ” (Emphasis added.)

Accordingly, under that Act, the Board used as alterna-

tives to elections, two informal non-election procedures:

the “recognition agreement” and the “consent cross-check”,

both of which it codified in its rules and regulations and

53a

Excerpt From Petitioner's Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Siath Circuit

statements of ‘procedures. In its last Wagner Act State-

ments of Procedure (29 C.F.R.—NLRB Statements of Pro-

cedure §§202.1-28, 11 Fed. Reg. 177A-619, eff. Aug. 28,

1946) Section 202.17 described the nop-election methods of

. determining representaffn as follows:

“(a) The recognition agreement.is used in a situation

in which the employer is satisfied that the claims of

the petitioner to representation rights are valid... .

“(b) In the consent cross-check agréément procedure,

the parties agree that a Board agent may determine

whether or not the union represents the majority by.

comparing the number of valid signed cards submitted

by the union with an appropriate payroll furnished

by: the employer. The agreement also describes the -

appropriate unit of employees involved and sets forth

--the understanding of the parties.”

After some years of experience the Board began to ques-

tion the conclusiveness of card checks*’ and found “that an

election is generally the most effective and satisfactory

method of resolving representation disputes.” ‘* Accord-

ingly, “the election was .the method almost invariably

*7 See Joe Hearin, Lumber, 66 NLRB 1276 (1946), where the Board

stated: “We do not feel, however, that a card check reflects employees’

true desires with the same degree of certainty as . . . an election.” (at 1283)

Electro Metallurgical Company, 69 NLRB 772 (1946), where the

Board stated, that it “will not consider the card check as satisfactory as

the election method of ascertaining the true desires of employees.” (at 774)

And, National Waste Material Corp., 93 NLRB 477 (1951), where the

Board observed: “We have heretofore held that a card check is nof en-

titled to the conclusive effect normally given to a certification of, repre-

sentatives based on a Board-directed election.” (at 478)

‘8§ NLRB Ann. Rep. 52 (1943).

in

Baa

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of aco for the Sixth Circuit

utilized by the Board in contested [representation] cases

ever since 1939.” *° In The Cudahy Packing Company, 13

NLRB 526 (1939), the Board explained its change of policy

by pointing out that its certification “looks to the initiation

of collective bargaining between the Company. and its em-

ploy ees... [and]... the bargaining relations which result

will be.more satisfactory from the beginning if the donbt

and disagreement of the parties regarding the wishes of

the employees is, as far as possible, eliminated. Although

‘in the past we have certified representatives without an —

election . . . we are persuaded by our experience that the

policies. of the Act will best be effectuated if the question.

of representation which has arisen is resolved in an election

by secret ballot.” (at 531-32) (Emphasis added. )

With the law giving no protection to employees who did

- not want union representation, and specifically authorizing

the NLRB to- resolve questions concerning representation: '

by any method it considered “suitable”, the Board and the

courts, in their decisions which preceded the 1947 Amend-

ments construed Section 8(a) (5) and Section 9(a) as giving

rise t a duty to bargain before election and before cer-

tification of the union. ,

It fWwas during this pre- 1947 asihie that the cornerstone

case of Franks Bros. Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 702, (1944),

was decided. Pursuant to the policy considerations then

manifest in the Act, the Board issued a bargaining order

after the withdrawal of an election petition and the. filing

of a. refusal to bargain charge. The Board deemed a bar-

gaining: | provision “necessary to effectuate the policies of

the Act” (at 704).

4913 NLRB Ann. Rep. 21, n..7 (1948).

= a 50a

| Excerpt From Petitioner's Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

4 1947, the policies set forth by the Act changed.

2. Changes wrought by the Taft-Hartley Amendments.

' The policy considerations manifest in the amendments

_to the Act in 1947 were in direct opposition to the policies

then existing. Section 7, the employees’ bill of rights, was

amended to protect the right of an employee “to refrain

from any or all” representation or activity. -

Iz addition, Congress. while leaving wnchanged Section

8(a)(5) and 9(a), eliminated from Section 9(c) the lan-

guage which had theretofore authorized the Board to re-

solve questions concerning representation by any “suitable

method”. This same deletion was made in Section 10. In

. place of these sections, Congress authorized “an election

by secret ballot” as the only method of resolving a } question

of representation.

The Taft-Hartley Act’s legislative history or be-

yond doubt that this was the specific Congressional intent.

The Hartley bill (H.R. 3020, 80th Cong. 1st Sess. (1947))

(Section 9 (c)(1) & 9 (c)(4)) eliminated the- ‘Wagner Act’

option to “utilize any other suitable method to ascertain .

representatives”. The House Committee Report on the

Hartley Bill (H.R. Rep. No. 245, 80th Cong. 1st Sess. 39

(1947)) had these comments on what was later adopted

verbatim as Section 9 (c) (4) of the-present Act:

“Section 9(h)—The present act does not, by its terms,

provide for so-called ‘consent elections’ but the Board

frequently holds them. The bill permits parties to

waive hearings before the Board (providing no other

5° Swigert, The Duty To Bargain In The Absence Of Certifeation Pro-

ceeding, 19 Ann. Conf. On Labor, N.Y.U. 61 (1967).

56a

Excerpt From Petitioner's Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit -

interested pevson intervenes and objects), but when

‘the parties waive a hearing, the Administrator must

conduct a secret ballot, not ‘check membership cards

as the Board sometimes has done in the scees , al

_~Phasis added.)

~The Senate Minority eek: on the Taft bill (. Rep.

No. 105, Part 2, 80th Cong. 1st Sess. 34 (1947)) confirms

that both proponents and opponents of the change agreéd

on its effect. It had these comments.on what was later

substantially adopted as present Section _ and

9(c) (4):

“Section 9(c)(4) provides that nothing in the section

shall be construed to prohibit ‘the. waiving of hearings

by stipulations for the purpose of a consent election

in conformity with the regulations and rules of deci-

sion of the Board. 4

“The effect of this“provision read senile with the

provisions of Section 9(c)(1)(B) would be to prohibit

the Board from determining an issue concerning rep-

resentatives by means of a consent card check. This

procedure is utilized only where the parties consent

and consists of a check of the union’s membership |

cards — the names appearing on the employer’s

bees

. the bill in this respect would paren the Board of

a proved and useful technique which the Board has

been able to utilize in over 20 per cent of the adjusted

_Fepresentation cases... .” (Emphasis added. )

Noting the changes in the basic policy of the Act, the

House Conference Report stated that:

. 57a

Excerpt From Petitioner's Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit .

“Both the House Bill and the Senate Amendment pro-

vided that if the Board found upon the hearing that

a question of representation existed, a secret ballot

should be held and the results thereof certified.” (H.R.

_ Rep. No. 510, 80th Cong., Ist Sess. 50 (1947))”

The Board agreed that its power had been changed,

stating in 13 NLRB Ann. Rep. (1948) : |

. “Section 9(c) of the Act, as amended nrasanihes ithe

5 election by secret ballot as the sole method of resolving

- a quesfion concerning representation, and leaves the

Board without the discretion it formerly possessed

(but rarely exercised) to utilize other ‘suitable means’

of ascertaining representatives.” (at 32) (Emphasis

added.)**

And, in General Box Co., 82 NLRB 678 (1949), the Board

explicitly rejected the concept of certification without an

election in the following language: =

“The concurring opinions of our colleagues propose that

_ the Board certify the Petitioner here without an elec-

tion, apparently after some other type of investigation

of its majority status. Aside from the fact:that such. :

a procedure might well stimulate collusion and raise

more problems than it would solve, we must point |

51 See also, 14 NLRB Ann. Rep, 26 (1949): “The Act as amended’

no longer leaves the Board with discretion to utilize any other suitable

method than the secret ballot election to resolve a question concerning

representation found to exist within the meaning of Section 9(c¢),” The

Board subsequently deleted all references to “recognition agreement” and

consent cross-check methods from its Statements of Procedure and its

Rules and Regulations. NLRB Statements of Procedure, 29 C.F.R.

§§202.1.36, Series 5; NLRB Rules and Regulations, 29 C.F-R. $§203.1-

97, 12 Fed. Reg. 5656 (eff., August 22, 1947). |

=<

OP

.

NATE A I WLR 8 erm

Poot : 58a

Excerpt From Petitioner's Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sizth Circuit

out that the 1947 amendments deprived the Board of

the power to ‘certify without an election.” (at 683)

(Emphasis added.)

In addition to the foregoing amendments, Congress. in

1947 amended Section 7 of the Act by Specifically adding

7” to the right to bargain collectively, theéqual and specific

right to not bargain collectively as the employees may. |

freely choose. The 1947 amendments also resulted in the

a’ enactment of Section 9(c) (1)(B) in which Congress specifi-

-- eally granted to an employer the right to request an election

whenever a union “presented to him a claim to be recog}

nized as the representative defined in Section 9(a).”

This legislative history abundantly proves the depth of

Congressional intent to establish as paramount federal pol-

icy the fact that employee rights ‘to bargain collectively

and to not bargain collectively are equal under the Act, and

that these rights would be protected to the maxinyum pos-

sible degree by making a secret ballot. election the sole

method of representation determination.** It would follow

that the law should have changed with respect to the _—

to bargain before election and certification.

. 3. Failure of the Board and the Courts to nr en to

new policy. .

After the mandate from Congress in 1947, questions eon-

cerning representation should have been decided by the

Board only by ‘secret ballot election, the determination

of majorities by card checks or by any device other than

secret ballot election should have ended. This seems partic-

51a Requiring elections before snes in all eases wo.ld preclude

the possibility of “sweetheart” contracts.

.

\

2 0 SAAT ci tt ged Wg NUS ACLREE,

59a

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the-Sixth Circuit

ularly true in view of the new requirement in Section 7 that

the Board give equal protection to the non-union em- 2

ployees.** To give full scope to this right, a secret ballot §

would appear to be uniquely appropriate. In the leading.

case after 1947, Joy Silk Mills v. NLRB,* the Court of |

Appeals for the District Af Columbia followed Franks

~Bros., supra, ignoring apeiiem changes of 1947.. In

Joy Silk Mills, supré, the Court held that the “decision

in Franks Bros. Co. v. NLRB .. . appears controlling, and

the order of the Board is entitled to be enforced in the

respect just discussed.” ™

RE Te ee en ee ee

~ Despite the clear change in policy manifest in the Act,

in virtually every authorization card case the Courts rely

on Franks Bros., supra, for the-propriety of the compulsory |

bargaining remedy, permitting a union to become an exclu-

FI aa So a

f

sive representative without a 9(c) election. The endorse- f

ment of this remedy in Franks Bros., supra; may have — =

effectuated the policies ef the Act in 1944, but in 1947 the g

policies changed. Nevertheless, pre-1947 precedent that .

secret ballot elections were not the exclusive method of

' determining representation has unjustifiably survived, un-

examined,’ screened by a myriad of inapplicable cross-

citations * thee

52 Swigert, supra, at 64. . fae?

53185 F. 2d. 732 (D.C. Cir. 1950) cert. den. 341 U.S. 914 (1951).

°* Joy Silk Mills, supra, at 745.

65-A clear acknowledgment of this lack of analysis in the past on the _ :

part of the various appeals courts in card decisions, is set forth in Logan —

Packing Co., supra. The Court stated: ‘

. “... with no reference to the change wrought by Taft-Hartley, bar-

gaining orders have been enforced in recent years on the authority

60a

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Siath Circuit

The authorities relied: upon in Joy Silk Mills, supra, were

four pre-1947 decisions. The decisions-cited in United Mine

Workers of America et al. v. Arkansas Oak Flooring Co.,

351 U.S. 62, 71,°72 (1956), another leading case, are either

pre-1947 cases or decision by Courts of Appeals which

similarly are supported by rote citation of old cases.

4. The Board’s legal authority does not support its case.

The Board supports its bargaining order by legal author-

ity which builds on the foundation of Franks Bros. Co. v.

NLRB, supra, which is the ultimate authority relied on

by all the other courts which have dismissed challenges to _

the Board’s power to obtain a bargaining order. Subse-

quent court decisions cite Joy Silk Mills Inc., supra, other

pre-1947 decisions, such as Franks Bros., supra, or NLRB

vy. P. Lorillard Co., 314 U.S. 512 (1941), or other court

decisions which rely on these cases.

All of the court cases which the Board consistently cites

as upholding its right-to utilize bargaining orders under

_ of cases decided under the Wagner Act before the 1947 amendments.

Those which are not supportable on the basis of the absence of any

litigible factual quéstion concerning representation should, at the very

least; have taken note of the 1947 amendment, but oddly, none of them

have. Cases holding that a refusal to bargain is a violation of 8(a) (5)

. when there is no question of representation have been lumped with

cases construing the original Wagner Act 9(c) to enforce bargain-

ing orders without regard to the essential predication of the earlier

decisions. ie

° e .

“Without reference to the current statutory provisions, however,

such decisions lack persuasive impact. Congressional enactments may

not be ignored by judges... .” (66 LLRM at 2602) (Emphasis

added.) Dare

6la

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit .

Berzel Foam Products Co. Inc.,** such as the instant matter,

share the common defect of depending on Franks Bros. Co.,

supra, or cases relying-on it, or on other pre-1947 decisions =

(1) Amalgmated Clothing Workers of America (Edro

Corp.) v. NLRB, 345 F. 2d 264 (2 Cir. 1965), cites

Joy Silk Mills, supra. — | |

» (2) L.U.E.R.M.W. (S.N.C.Mfg. Co.) v. NLRB, 352 F. 2d

361 (DC Cir 1965) cert. den. 382 U.S. 902 (1965)

cites Joy Silk Mills, supra, as “controlling here on

most aspects of the case.”

(3) Colson Corp. NLRB, 347 F. 2d 128 (8 Cir., 1965),

cited United Mine Workers v. Arkansas Oak Floor-

ing Co., supra, as upholding bargaining orders, but

the footnote in that decision dealing with the issue

primarily relies on NLRB v. Bradford Dyeing Ass’n.,

310 U.S. 318 (1940), which was before the Taft-

Hartley amendments. | aide

| (4) Irving Air Chute Co. v. NLRB, 350 F. 24 176 (2 Cir.,

1965), relied upon the pre-1947 P. Lorillard Co.,

supra. ; }

(5) NLRB v. Delight Bakery, Inc., 353 F. 2d 344 (6 Cir.,

1965), also relies on P. Lorillard Co., supra and

Franks Bros. Co., supra. es

Vee ee See eee mee ee ene

Se OO OR eT ee ee eee

_ Similarly, other cases frequently cited by the Board 3

have the common thread of reliance upon Franks, Bros. Co.,

' supra, other pre-1947 decisions, or each other:

:

°° 146 NLRB 1277 (1964). The Board there held that proceeding to an 4

election with knowledge of the employer’s unlawful refusal to bargain

does not preclude the union from seeking a bargaining order after the

election loss.

62a

_ Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

Court of Appeals for the Siath Circuit

(1) Texarkana, Bus Co., Inc., et al. v. NLRB, 119 F. 2d

- 480 (8 Cir.; 1941), was decided prior to the 1947

amendments and did not review the Board’s power

to issue a bargaining order. ae

(2) D. H. Holmes Co. Ltd. v. NLRB, 179 F. 2d 876 (5

Cir., 1950) relies on Franks Bros. Co., supra.

(3) NLRB v. Calderera, 209 F. 2d 265 (8 Cir., 1954),

rélies on Texarkana Bus, supra. —

(4) Summit Mining Corp. v. NLRB, 260 F. 2d 894 (3

Cir., 1958) relies on Texarkana, supra, D. H. Holmes

Co: Ltd., supra,.and Calderera, supra.

(5) NLRB v. Epstein, 203 F. 2d 482 (3 Cir., 1953), relies

on Joy Silk Mills, supra, and another decision which

itself relied on Joy Silk Mills, supra.

In the instant case, the Board, in arriving ‘at its decision,

relied upon Bernel Foam, supra. Petitioner submits that

Bernel Foam; supra, resting as it does on the authority’ of

. Joy Silk Mills, supra, and Franks Bros. Co., supra is not

controlling, as those’ decisions “lack persuasive impact”,

having been decided “without reference to the current.

‘ statutory. provisions.” *”

Obviously, neither Franks Bros. Co., supra, nor the other

pre-1947 decisions are apposite here for they were decided

- before the Taft-Hartley amendments establishing the pre-

eminence of employee voting choice as determinative of

union representation.

Nor can the Board claim its expertise and adminis-

trative discretion deprive this Court of power to review

57 Logan Packing Co., supra, 66 LRRM at 2602.

63a |

Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

‘Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

_ its conclusion that a bargaining order is the only remedy

for ‘Petitioner’s unfair labor practice. Since administrative ©

discretion is limited to the precise statutory language by

which Congress empowered the agency to act, the remedy

deemed appropriate must be consistent with the statutory:

policy; and this‘Court is empowered to keep the Board’s

_-. remedy within that policy.

Any Board argument to the contrary must be rejected on

the basis of the recent Supreme Court decision in NLRB v.

Brown, -380 U.S. 278, 85 S. Ct. 980 (1965) affirming the

Tenth Circuit’s refusal to enforce a Board order. “The

Board argued that. its “decision is within the area of its

expert judgment” and the Court of Appeals therefore “ex-

ceeded the authorized scope of judicial review.” The Su-

preme Court answered as follows: ;

“Reviewing courts are not obliged to stand aside,. and

rubber stamp their affirmance of administrative deci-

sions that they deem inconsistent with a statutory

mandate or that frustrate the congressional policy

underlying a statute. Such review is always properly

within the judicial province, and courts would abdicate _

their responsibility if.they did not fully review such

administrative décisions: Of course due deference is

_ to be rendered to agency determinations of fact, so

long as there is substantial evidence to be found in the

record as a whole. But where, as here, the review is

not a question of fact, but of a judgment as to the

proper balance to be struck between conflicting inter-

ests, ‘[t]he deference owed to an expert tribunal can-

not be allowed to slip into a judicial inertia which re-

sults in the unantherized assumption by an agency of

Po

64a

"Excerpt From Petitioner’s Brief Filed With the

_ Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit —

major policy decisions properly made by Congress’.”

- (Citations omitted) (at 291)

The language of the Court could not be more in point,

and the*compelling requirements of the statutory policy

require the same result herein: rejection of the Board

bargaining order. .

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.