Memorandum in Opposition — United States v. California
Supreme Court brief1965
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
SUBJECT INDEX
: Page
The State of California has the exclusive right to
‘ represent all of its citizens as parens patriae .......... 2
ro dO ae om
If granted, the requested intervention, in effect, aia
would permit a suit against California by one of -
its citizens sini tesceitakgiceidies bck acsadidsinchaskahapa abana uicienabl ta aaas oo
a
Petitioner improperly. seeks to. broaden the scope of
the HithQation, .22:.-..--..ceseeecsecsseierncsepeenssneseesenssnseneceneee 4
os IV |
Petitioner failed to meet the procedural requirements
for intervention ................. so cahienaninionndionnt ary
V
Permission to appear as amicus curiae should be i
NIE hcsabiintniadstuicutiaien secceccocesssescososseccososeSoncrinpencesossseoss a 7
NII conschctssuchinsnitebicenedetdoicensaepbanciuemonil ss daa 8
te & 3 if
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
ss Cases . | Page
Cakéornia. v. Southern Pacific Company, 157 U. S.
2, SA aig cache aiaina ican claeldeedahsceadioanacasoesnidsepulbatiane 3
‘Chandler Co. v. Bradtjen, ih. 296 U.S. 53... ae
Commonwealth of Kentucky y. State of Indiana, 281
. Duhne v. State of New Jersey, 251.U. S. 311 ia mes
Garland Co. v. F ilmer, 1-F. Supp. 8 -.......-..:ss-s-icenees 7
Monaco v. Mississippi, 292 U.S. 313 -ecgpeoeereeeevie 4
_ Northern Securities Company v. United States, ‘191
Bs a TR inshsnssdeesirpadinidetinetaligieddcrnseiilbdaasibioanaibeicceananeiinn 7
_Perinsylvania v. Quicksilver Comaeen. 77 U. $. (10
Wall.) 553 ........ scpicsiuendistetasaothesiablbacicadtaiehbeitipiabeants 3
Raabe, Glissman & Co., Inc., In re, 71 F. Supp. 678 .. 3.
Slusarski v. United States Lines Co., 28 F.R.D. 388 5
State of Florida. v. State of Georgia, 58 U. S. (17
ET Re RIOR ae Mab arele ree SIE No ARS Romance » 4
State of New Jersey v. State of ‘New York, 345
Uv. § 3 ..... sss each aceite dearaliiapaapsinleosee 2
State of New York, No. 1, Ex parte, 256 U. S. S, 490 a
Thompson v. Deal, 49 F. Supp. 366 Susna a
United States v. Loew’s Incorporated; 20 F.R.D. 423 7
Rules Page .
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 24 a ree
‘Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 24(a) a «
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 24(b) ...2........ .
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 24(c) ............
oe of the sapretee Court, Rule 9(2) alae Lecnesnneeneens
) Statutes
67 Statutes at Large, p. 29 ......... DET A A
United States Code, Title 43, Secs. 1301- 1315
UM csi weenie
*
| +
|
the subject matter of this litigation
[|
IN THE
_Saprene Court of the United 8 Sates
October Term, 1963
~ No. 5, Original —
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ; ike
a9 | - Plaintiff,
US.
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Defendant.
Memorandum for tht State of California in Opposi-
tion to “Motion for Leave to File Petition in.
Intervention or File Amicus Curiae Brief” Filed
by Carl Whitson . 7
A “Motion for 7 to File Petition in Intervention
u
or File Amicus Cufgae Brief” was reteived by the At-
. _ torney General of ‘California on March 13, 1964. This
motion was filed by “Carl Whitson, Pre se” as a mu-
nicipal taxpayer of the City | of Long Beach, California.
Specifically, petitioner alleged: “That Carl Whitson, is
a taxpayer, citizen, and property owner of said city,
_and- institutes this action on behalf of all other tax-
payers‘of like circumstances.” (Motion, pp. 1-2.) Other
‘than the aforementioned status ‘and interest, t, Mr. Whit- _
son hhs allegdd ho definite and my Wis in
ai | 7 ds oo
——— - ,
The State of California opposes Mr. Whitson’s smo- .
tion for permission to intervene or to file an Amicus
Curiae Brief herein, on the following grounds:
The State of California Has the Exclusive Right to
Represent All of Its Citizens as Parens Patriae
The only interest in this suit alleged by petitioner is
“~that he “is a. taxpayer, citizen, and property owner of
said city [long Beach, California] and institutes this
action on behalf of all other taxpayers of like circum-
stances.” (Motion, pp. 1-2.) While petitioner does not
in so many wards state that he is a citizen of Cali-
fornia, this. conclusion . necessarily follows from his al-
’ legation that he is a citizen of the City of Long Beach
in the State of California, °
A state, when a party’ to a. suit involving a matter
of sovereign interest, niust be ‘deemed to represent all
a of its citizens.
State of New pean v. State “ New York, 345
‘U.S. 369, 372:373 (1953) ; |
Commonwealth of Kentucky v. State of I ndiana, |
281 U.S. 163; 173- 174 (1930).
As stated by this Court in State of New" Jersey v.
State of New York, supra, 345 USS. at page 373:
“Our original jurisdiction should not be thus ex-
‘panded to the dimensions of ordinary class actions.
An intervenor whose state is already a party should
have’ the burden of showing some compelling in-
terest in his own right, apart from his interest in
a class with all other citizens and creatures of the’
state, which interest is not properly represented by
the state. ‘si if
_ Petitioner herein has not met this burden.
wile
II
If Granted, the Requested Intervention, in Effect,
Would Permit a Suit Against California by One
of Its Citizens :
Petitioner does not specifically ask to. be made a party
- plaintiff or a party defendant. However, the entire
tenor of his motion is adverse to the State of California.
Moreover, as heretofore stated, while petitioner does
‘not expressly allege that he is a citizen of California,
_- he does: allege that he is a citizen of the City of Long
Beach, California (Motion, pp. 1-2). It thus appears
that petitioner seeks to be made an adverse party to the
State in an original proceeding in _which California is
also a party.
Under .Rule 24 of ‘ae Federal Rules of Civil Proce- .
dure, an intervenor in an action or proceeding is, for
all intents’and purposes, an original party. Jn re Raabe,
- Glissman & Co., Inc., 71 F.Supp. 678, 680 (S.D. N.Y.
1947.) If petitioner is allowed to intervene this, in
effect, would permit him to maintain an original suit
against the, State of California. However, it is well .
settled that if petitioner’ is a citizen of the State of
California, this.Court would have no original jurisdic-
tion over a suit in which the State and one of its
citizens were adverse parties. Pennsylvania v. Quick-
silver Company, 77 U.S. (10 Wall.) 553, 556 (1870);
California v. Southern Pacific Company, 157 U.S. 229,
261-262: (1895); Duhne v. State of New Jersey, 251
U.S. 311, 313-314 (1920). Of course, an original
proceeding against California by.a citizen of another
State is barred by the Eleventh Amendment to the
United States Constitution. Ex Parte State of New
York, No. 1, 256 U.S. 490, 497 (1921); Monaco v.
o
a me
Mississippi, 292 U.S. 313, 329 (1934). Whether this
. Court has ‘power to grant an application for leave to
intervene in an original. proceeding, when that right is -
sought by one who could not have been made a party
at the outset, presents a question upon which ‘there ex-
ists considerable doubt. Cf State of Florida’y. State
of Georgia,:58 ies iid How.) 478 (1854).
. Ht
Petitioner Improperly Seeks to ecaten the Scope
of the Litigation
At its inception, the instant sitit was an original pro-
ceeding in this Court, brought by the United States in
1945 against the State of California, to obtain art ad=——~
judication of the ‘respective rights of the sovereign par-:
ties in and to the three mile belt of the Pacific Ocean
adjacent to the Coast of California.
In its present posture, the case presents a contro-
versy between the United States and the State as to the
precise location. of the seaward boundaries of California
under the Submerged Lands~Act. (67 Stat. 29, 43
U.S.C. §§ 1301-1315 (1953).)
Petitioner seeks to inject into this suit a completely
new issue -relating to an alleged title. controversy be-
tween-the City of Long Beach and the State of Cali-
fornia over submerged lands restored to -California by
the Submerged Lands Act, Moreover, petitioner asks
this Court to consider and rule upon the propriety of
the use of tidelands trust income by the City.of Long
_ Beach under California law. In this connection, peti-.
tioner, urges: rae :
“2. The title to said nis is such that the
income therefrom can be used by the City of ras
ig \
‘Beach for any munigipal purpose without trusts or
_restrictions by the State of California. es (Motion, -
p. 3.)
“4, It will be urged that the State of Califoriaih
is wrong in contending .that the. state has legal
_ power to establish trusts on the income by the ,city ©
or has legal power to take from Long: Beach all.
income from such submerged lands.” (Motion, p.
3.)
‘However, it is dent that petitioner cannot, by the de-
vice of intervention, enlarge the scope of: the litigation
_ framed by the original parties. Chandler Co. v. Brandt-—
jen, Inc., 296 U.S. 53, 58 (1935)-; Thompson v. Deal,
“49 F.Supp. 366, 369 (D.D.C. 1943); Slusarski v.
United States Lines Co,, 28 F.R.D. 388, 390 (E.D.
Pa. 1961). on |
| IV
' Petitioner Failed to Meet the Preceducel
Requirements for Intervention,
Rule 9(2) of the Supreme Court Rules, applicable -
to actions within the original jurisdiction. of the Court,
reads in part as follows:
“The forms of motions ‘in original ac-
tions shall:be governed, so far as may be, by the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, 28 U.S.C.A.,.. .”
Petitioner has failed to comply “with Rule 24(c) of
. the Rules of Federal Procedure which provides im part:
“|. . The motion [to intervene] _. ... shall
be accompanied by a pleading setting forth the
claim or defense for which intervention is sought.”
Petitioner has not filed such accompanying pleading:
Furthermore, petitioner has not complied with either
Rule 24(a). of the Federal Rules of. Civil Procedure,
ifiew
which deals with intervention as a matter of. right, or .
~ Rule 24(b), which relates to-permissive intervention.
— Clearly, no statute of thé United States ‘confers on peti- .
tioner an unconditional right to’ intervene., Moreover,
as a prerequisite to intervention under both Rule 24(a)
and Rule 24(b), an application must. be “‘timely”’.
4
‘California contends that Mr. Whitson’ s application is :
not timely. This suit was ‘commenced in October of
1945, a decision was rendered on-June 23, 1947, fol-
lowed by a decree entered October 27, 1947. . 332 U.S.
804. Thereafter, this Court appointed a Special Master
and by a series of references directed him to make rec-
_ ommendations relating to a-line of demarcation between
lands owned by the State and those in which the United
States had been held to have paramount rights. The
., third and. final Report of the Special Master was filed
_in November 1952, and although exceptions thereto were
filed by both parties, no”action-was taken thereon. This
case was reactivated in March 1963 when the United-—
_ States filed a-Motion-for Leave to F ile a a Supplemental
Complaint herein. Subsequently, the United States
was allowed to file its Supplemental Complaint to which.
’ California has filed its Answer. Thus, after this case
_ has been ‘pending for approximately .19 years, petitioner ~
- seeks to inject into the proceedings extraneous issues
unrelated to the basic controversy between the Nation
and the State, which is to fix the seaward boundaries
of California. | It is respectfully submitted that the in-
jection into this suit of an alleged collateral controversy
between the State of California and the City of Long
Beach would undoubtedly delay and prejudice thé ad-
judication of the rights of. the original parties yet to
be determined herein. i.
=
Permission to Appear as Amicus Curiae Should
| | Be Denied
As stated in Garland Co. v. Filmer, 1 F.Supp. 8, 13
" (N.D. Cal. 1932), amici curiae appear by permission
of the court to enlighten it by their assistance.
*
Liate to appear amicus curiae will be denied where
it does not appear that the applicant i is interested in any
. other case which will be affected by the decision and’
the parties are represented by. competent, counsel. Under
_ such- circumstances, the need of assistance will not be
assumed. : .
| Northern Securities Company v. ‘United RY tates,
191 U.S. 555, 556 (1903). :
Moreover, it has been held that the alternative of .
permitting a proposed intervenor to be heard as amicus
‘curiae should be denied where he has made it plain
that he seeks nothing short of the opportunity to con-
duct “a vigorous adversary proceeding” under circum- —
stances which would displace the Attorney General as
vindicator of the public interest. United States v. |
. Loew’s Incorporated, 20 F.R.D. 423, 425 (S.D.N.Y
1957). |
California urges that ‘permission is Mr. -Whitson to
file an amicus curiae brief should be denied, where it
is clear that he intends to use such a brief as a vehicle
- for injecting extraneous issues into this litigation, and.
where the interests of California are represented by its
| Attorney General, 3
- | . . 4 a os *
“er
Conclusion ark ee
“California requests that the Motion for ‘Leave to- File
Petition in Intervention or to File Amicus Curiae Brief
——
Respectfully submitted,
STANLEY Mosk, -s
ys . _ Attorney General,
Howarp S. Gotp1n,
Assistant Attorney General,
: .£ aint ad ‘ni State = ¢ oe, hae
Dated: March 30; 1964. “ vA
| BLANK
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.