Brief for Petitioner — Creek Nation v. United States

Supreme Court brief1962

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- a Mw

RFIilLbkD

Office S_preme Court

MAR 21 1962

. JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

“J

JS.

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term. 1961

No. 124

Tue Creek Natron or INpbIaNs.

Petitioner

v.

Tue Unrirep Srates,

Respondent

BRIEF FOR THE CREEK NATION, PETITIONER

THE CREEK NATION, Petitioner

Pavi M. Nresen.

Attorney for Petitioner

!

WILSON - EPEs Printine Co - RE 7-6002 - Wasninctron 1 D C

INDEX

SUBJECT INDEX

Pag

Opinions REESE SNS Me GS NE er SE. NETO ]

BREST Ee LAL OEE eg I CE OE 1

Treaties and Statutes Involved 00000000. »

ENN tr UIE cicacalesetk Senescence ctcrsdnccnnectbenis daaoraandb nico Hs)

i et evita ice .

Ciaims Under Treaties of 1802 and 1805 6

Claim Under Article XIII, Treaty of March o4,

RRR a ie Ge PaTI Py ae OO ee Ae 18

Claim Under Treaty I ater 21-22

Claim Under the Treaty of 1856 —220 2... 95)

Summary of Argument ......................... rachcshatcmasiaiined 2 ae

MI peisctentacsttitcnncccnstecerniclablichpnctein aloe ess redtehece deci anipn 2 ies. 41

1. A Fiduciary Relationship Exists Between the

United States and the Indian Tribes, Requir-

ing the United States to Account Strictly to

the Indian Tribes for the Disbursements Made

by It in Fulfillment of Its Treaty Obligation-

with Them ..... SPU Coote Se” Rats ASI FM See EEE

2. Petitioner Was Entitled to Rely Upon the

Admissions Contained in’ the Government's

Accounting Report ......................... Sichisiaataves

The United States as the Fiduciary Has the

Burden of Proving the Credits it Claims |

4. The Majority of the Court of Claims Failed in

Its Duty as an Appellate Court Under Section

20(b) of the Indian Claims Commission Act to

Determine Whether the Findings of the Com

mission Are Supported by Substantial Fvi

dence When the Findings are Challenged on

NE acticin eee Gngicileis Hhene

*-

~~

41

il INDEX—Continued

PAGE

Claim Under Treaties of 1802 and 1805 ........ 64

Claim Under Treaty of 1832-00000... 65

Claim Under Treaty of 1833 _20220.0.....--.- 66

Claim Under Treaty of 1856 20.00.0000... 67

5. A Denial of a Writ of Certiorari by This

Court Does Not Constitute an Affirmance of

the Decision of the Lower Court -....................... 75

CII | acca a ciechiachcc ct echseeittinadeerlaceentntecbinonaticenninansbeaiis 77

TI baila initia caepeieretibii aac anieutiasacnstnenn 78

Text of Seeret Articles of the Treaty of August

Ba I cata eh caintiek bet aaeike hg cena, aca shantcescivceneig 78-82

Articles V, VI, and XXVI, Treaty of August 7,

1856, 11 Stat. 699, 2 Kapp. 756 _..................-... 82-84

Article XI, Treaty of June 14, 1866, 14 Stat. 785,

RN, I ic irri . 84

CITATIONS

Cases:

Akin v. Warner (1945, Mass.), 63 N.E.2d 566,

Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. v. Powe (1931), 285

U.S. 401, 402-404 2000. AES DS Rae ee ...... 40, 76

Benbow v. Benbow (1934, 117 Fla. 37), 157 So.

Bennett v. Weber (1936, 323 TIL. 288), 154 N.E.

Cherokee Nation vy. Georgia (1831), 5 Pet. 1.

OR AD ARRAS rear le ars FS eae ano aE RED 35, 42

Chickasaw Nation v. Tni'ed States (1945), 103

C. Cis. 1 (eert. granted 326 U.S. 217, but limited

to offsets, judgment reversed)... ............... 17, 69,

Chickasaw Nation v. United States (1955), 132

ee ees MG. II we octassicg wh cance bce hcip rund dhe hrs neeinbente 46

INDEX—-Continued 1

PAG

—- Nation v. United States, 21 . Fata no,

2-93, reversed (1886), ae S. 1, 27-28 .:.. 34, 43-44

Peas v. Scott ge (.C.A. 5), 102 F.! 7 (20 .... 39, 61

Colorado Coal Co, Peed aie (1887), 125

U.S. 307, 318-3 o. an Ee . oS, 61

Conners v United States (1898), 33 c. Cs, olf.

325, affirmed (1901) 180 U.S. 271, 275-2760... 40,75

Creck Nation v. United States (1988), 78 C. Cs.

re oe 52

Creek Nation v. United States (1948), 318 US.

KS ARTRIRESRS NR RU IRN AINE SACRO sO APP TN ED RAY Bl cera 36, 46

Creek Nation v. United States (1952), 2 Ind. Cl.

ea BR SI8 ci nid. ieee . 43

Creek Nation v. United States (19: 50). 7 Ind. Cl.

SI 2 rr i a 49,55, 76

Darr v. Buford (1950), 339 ULS. 220, 226-228 .. 40,76

Dick vy. Albers (1910, 248 Ill. 231). 90 NUE. 683.

Ria URES 2 SA in Ek a HR SR ge 37, 50-51

Dillman vy: Hastings (1892), 144 U.S. 126, 140-

ENC SERS RR SSE RES SA bret ee ee BEM, Fe 4

Florida Fruit Canners v. Walker (1927. ie & C A.)

90 F.2d 753, 758 ........... 32 Bi-ae, Oo, oe

Garrett v. First Nat. Sauk a Ted c 0, of Vicks.

burg, Miss. (1946, C.C.A, 5), 1523) F.2d oe).

Gila River Pima Mevicosa Indians Vv. Peaad

Stetes (1956), 135 ae Se Be sce, 46.47

Hamilton-Brown “— Co. v. Wolf Bros, and Co.

(1916), 240 U.S. 251, 958 a a 40.76

Harrison v. Remington eit Co, (1905), 140 .

385, 402 . ees iat ae

House v. Mayo (1945). 304 U. S. Pp. 48. : : Ai 76

Txqram v. Lewis (1930, C.C.A. 10), 37) Fie ,

I ns a I cs is, chain Ghsssitechsonanacecoovones en 2

In re Tretheway’s Estate (1989, Cal.), 89 P.2d

INDEX—Continned

PAGF

Kansas or Kaw Tribe of Indians vy. United States

— (1934), 80 C.Cls. 264, 301-302 (cert. den. 296

AE ia seas tcdbensiiipnb ape incectadpaitaccnseenaiia abcess 47

Kiowa, Comanche and Apache Tribes (1957), 5

Ind. Cl. Comm. 297, affirmed United States v.

Kiowa, Comanche and Apache Tribes (1958),

" ge, SE SF i ee

McComb v. Frink (1893), 149 U.S. 629, 644 ...... 37,54

Nenominee Tribe v. United States (1944), 101

a Ae i MIE heciicoedioctininsiettidaccennstie vesseeeee BO-et. 40-44, 51

Menominee Tribe v. United States (1945), 102

NE XE RAR aR TEE NAR MU ei Stal as Re 46

Menominee Tribe v. United States (1951), 118

5a RR ER ees en 39, 62

Merriam v. Venida Blouse Corgoration (S. D. NY.

1938) 23 F.Supp. 659, 660-661 . oe wee

Montoya v. United States (1897), 32, C. Cl. 349,

361-362, affirmed Montoya v. United States

te: Do ae RR eae ee 40, 74

Omaha Tribe of Nebraska v. United States

(1957), 6 Ind. Cl. Comm. 68, 71-74 .00..0022002 2. 47

Quick Bear v. Leupp (1908), 210 U.S. 50, 80-81... 35-36

45. 47

Rossi v. United States (1933), 289 U.S. 89,

Seminole Nation v. United States (1942), 316

OR Ss yal ate Cena 20, 36-37, 42. 44-46, 51.71

Seminole Nation v. United States (1942), 316

Rea ed 20, 37, 72

Sioux Tribe of Indians v. United States (1946),

BO ES GOD Sick consist rncruns 17, 37-38, 47-49, 52. 76

Snake or Piute Indians v. United States (1953),

135 C. Cle. 245, 255 ~..-.... ..... 20, 39, 66, 72

Smith v. Robinson (1914, 83 NJ. Eq. 384), 9 A.

wee. 1666 ........... me _ 38, 58

Smith v. Tolversen (1934. ‘Wise }, “959 NW. 423.

ERS SRB Shee srcdiens Samer aig Pca Se aR aes tera 38, 58

INDEX -- Continued v

PAGE

Sunal v. Large (1947), 382 U.S. 174. 181... .... 40, 76

Talbot v. Automobile Identification Underwriters,

Inc. (1931, Tenn.), 43 S.W.2d 220, 221 ........ . 38, 08

United States v. Bull Steamship Line (S.D.N.Y.

1956), 146: F.Supp. 220, 218 ............................... 4 39, 61

Onited States v. Carver (1928), 260 U. S. 482,

Nt EU TU DILL RAE EN LIS 7 EN 40, 76

United States v. Creek Nation (1935), 295 U.S.

Ws WERE el sctninccadechacccniPoe edsmeckcanses 35-36, 42. 47

United States v. Denver & R.G.R.R. Co. (1903),

Pe oT EE ics ech acbtaacnedeniuia uae, 38, 61

United States v. Kagama (1886), 118 U.S. 375,

STE TUR PIES DE SIRI rete OU ea AE Pe ERT PO 30, 43

United States v. Payne (1924), 264 U.S. 446,

UIE ececeachistiinenisinigasenuntbloult Hg sckdelieg’ Jadisisniatiay eckaboricicat a 30, 44

United States v. Seminole Nation (1959), 146 ¢

Cl. 171, 181-182, 178 F. Supp. 784,790... 36, 46-47

United States v. Shubert (1955), 348 U.S, 222,

UTR TERRI PA ghee: LACE Ne ented Nr 40), 76

Tilla Site Co. v. Copeland (1920, 91 N.J.Eq. 505),

BAe aie ey Oe DO icine ccc, 52

Statutes:

Act of—

July 7, 1638, ¢. clexevi, 5 Stat. 290 ........................ 2

June 17, 1844, ¢. eviii, 5 Stat. 704, 706 . Soir

May 27, 1902, ¢. 888, 32 Stat, 245, 249-250. ?

May 24, 1994, . 181, 43 Stat. 129 52

August 13, 1946, ¢. 949, 60 Star. 1049, 25 TLS.C,

eet a EMME PEA NMOS BRET Bata Merce Aecuecsins 15,52

INE Se toicsedccak oe ike Pncek inactcdensrees eg Ws ae

En CECE mene Ss Ee

SENSE REN ETERS TF

Resolution of —

February 22, 1862, 12 Stat. (14 33, 67.73

Joint Res. of May 19, 1926, 6. 341. 44 Stat. 56s 52

Joint Res. of Feb. 19, 1929, & 268, 45 Stat. 129. Be

vi INDEX—Continued

PAGE

Treaties:

August 7, 1790, 7 Stat. 35, 2 Kapp. 25 .. 11-13, 31-32,

42, 47, 59-60, 64-65

June 16, 1802, 7 Stat. 68, 2 Kapp. 58. 6-7, 31, 59, 62, 64

November 14, 1805, 7 Stat. 96, 2 Kapp. 85 ..... 9-10.31.

59, 62, 64

March 24, 1832, 7 Stat. 366, 2 Kapp. 341 ...... 18-20, 32,

62, 65-66

February 14, 1833, 7 Stat. 417, 2 Kapp. 388 ...... 21, 32,

62, 66

January 4, 1845, 9 Stat. 821, 2 Kapp. 550... 19

August 7, 1856, 11 Stat. 699, 2 Kapp. 756 .... 22, 25-26,

s 33, 40, 62,67, 72

June 14, 1866, 14 Stat. 785, 2 Kapp. 931 ........... 33, 68

Treaty with Confederate States, July 10, 1861... 33, 68

Miscellaneous:

ke te: | ssid suc naaieiaaoiaibeapimantcaneneian 1,2

Bogert, Trusts and Trustees (1948 nd.), Vol. 4,

Pt. 2, See. 962, pp. 239-242, 244-245... 38, 57

a Trusts and Trustees (1948 Ed.), Vol. 4,

PR, STR Fis Wii wicca cccnneriensennmennsinanrnsiennne 37,52

Bogert, Trusts and Trustees (1948 Ed.), Vol. 4,

Pt. 2, See, S960, np. 207, FOO ..............0......neeenrs 37,53

Bogert, Trusts and Trustees, See, 971, p. 828... 98

Pomeroy’s Equity Juris. (4th Ed.), Vol. 2, See.

> ce ees 38,98

Restatement of Law of Trusts, Amer, Law Inst.,

Vol. 1, See. 172, pp. 445-446 .................-.-.-.. 38,58

Seott on Trusts (2nd Ed.), See. 172, pp. 1287-

BO ccecemes shen. cntengnnstamanesiensnesenniuaeannanannnannmnnsannnnins 37,52

Vattel, Book ITT, Ch. XVITT, pars. s, 292, 293, Chitty

Bid., popr, 424, 427 nnn. see eeececeeeeeesenees ce teneneees 39-40, 73

Words & Phrases (Perm. Ed.), Vol. 8A, p. 103 2. 90

Supreme Court of tie Hnited States

Ocrorer Term, 1961

No. 124

Tae Creek Nation oF INpIANs,

Petitioner

We

Tre Unitep Srates.

Respondent

BRIEF FOR THE CREEK NATION, PETITIONER

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Indian Claims Commission is re-

ported at 7 Ind. Cl. Comm, 117, 127 (R. 264-283). The

opinion of the Court of Claims of Mareh 1, 1961 js not

yet reported (R. 292-315).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Claims was entered on

March 1, 1961 (R. 292). The petition for a writ of certi-

orari was filed on May 29, 1961, and was granted on

October 9, 1961 (R. 315).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1255 (1), and Section 20(c) of the Indian Claims

Commission Act (Act of August 13, 1946, ¢. 959, 60 Stat.

1049, 1055; 25 U.S.C. Section 70s).

>

TREATIES AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The Indian Claims Commission Act of August 13, 1946,

e. 959, 60 Stat. 1049 (25 ULS.C. 70-70v), provides in

pertinent part as follows:

“See, 2. The Commission shall hear and determine

the following claims against the United States on

behalf of any Indian tribe, band, or other identifiable

group of American Indians residing within the terri-

torial limits of the United States or Alaska: (1)

claims in law or equity arising under the Constitution,

laws, treaties of the United States, and Executive

orders of the President; (2) all other claims in law

or equity, including those sounding in tort, with re.

spect to which the claimant would have been entitled

to sue in a court of the United States if the United

States was subject to suit; (3) claims which would

result if the treaties, contracts, and agreements be-

tween the claimant and the United States were revised

on the ground of fraud, duress, unconscionable con-

sideration, mutual or unilateral mistake, whether of

law or fact, or any other ground cognizable by a

court of equity; (4) claims arising from the taking by

the United States, whether as the result of a treaty of

cession or otherwise, of lands owned or occupied by

the claimant without the age ag for such lands of

compensation agreed to by the claimant; and (5)

claims based upon fair and honorable dealings that

are not recognized hy any existing rule of law or

equity. No claim accruing after the date of the ap-

proval of this Act shall be considered by the Com

mission.

“All claims hereunder may be heard and deter-

mined by the Commission notwithstanding any statute

of limitations or laches, but all other defenses shall

be available to the United States.

“In determining the quantum of relief the Com-

mission shall make appropriate deductions for all

payments made by the United States on the claim,

and for all other offsets, counterclaims, and demands

that would be allowable in a suit brought in th: Court

of Claims under section 145 of the Judicial Code (36

Stat. 1136; 28 U. S. C. see. 250), as amended; the

3

Commission may also inquire into and consider all

money or property given to or funds expended

gratuitously for the benefit of the claimant and if

it finds that the nature of the claim and the entire

course of dealings and accounts between the United

States and the claimant in good conscience warrants

such action, may set off all or part of such expendi-

tures against any award made to the claimant, * *.”

“See. 20(b). When the final determination of the

Commission has been filed with the clerk of said

Commission the clerk shall give notice of the filing of

such determination to the parties to the proceeding

in manner and form as directed by the Commission.

At any time within three months from the date of

the filing of the determination of the Commission

with the clerk either party may appeal from the de-

termination of the Commission to the Court ef Claims,

which Court shall have exclusive jurisdiction to affirm,

modify, or set aside such final determination. On said

appeal the Court shall determine whether the findings

of fact of the Commission are supported by substan-

tial evidence, in which event they shall be conclusive,

and also whether the conclusions of law, including any

conclusions respecting ‘fair and honorable dealings’,

where applicable, stated by the Commission as a basis

for its final determination, are valid and supported

by the Commission’s findings of fact. In making the

foregoing determinations, the Court shall review the

whole record or such portions thereof as may be

cited by any party, and due account shall be taken

of the rule of prejudicial error. The Court may at

any time remand the cause to the Commission for

such further proceedings as it may direet, not. in-

consistent with the foregoing provisions of this sec-

tion. The Court shall promulgate such rules of prac-

tice as it may find necessary to carry out the fore

going provisions of this section.

“(¢) Determinations of questions of law by the

Court of Claims under this section shall be subject

to review by the Supreme Court of the United States

in the manner prescribed by section 3 of the Act of

February 13, 1925 (48 Stat. 939; 28 U.S. C., see, 288),

as amended.”

4

The pertinent provisions of the treaties and statutes

involved in the claims of petitioner are printed as a part

of the Statement, or are set forth in the Appendix, pp.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the United States has an obligation to

render a clear and accurate accounting of its dealings and

the fulfillment of its treaty obligations owing to an Indian

tribe in the manner of a fiduciary or of a superior and

learned power dealing with an unlettered and inferior

tribe or race; or whether the United States is merely

in the position of a debtor in its relationship under a

treaty with an Indian tribe.

In other words, whether a fiduciary relationship exists

between the United States and an Indian tribe (in this

ease the Creck Nation of Indians) requiring the United

States to account strictly to the Indian tribe for the

amounts dishursed by the United States in fulfillment of

its treaty obligations; or whether the relationship is

mere'y that of debtor-creditor.

2. Whether an Indian tribe can rely upon admissions

contained in an accounting made by the accounting officers

of the United States showing that the United States had

failed to fulfill its treaty obligations to said tribe, and

that balances are due and owing to the tribe under said

treaty obligations of the United States.

3. Whether the United States has the burden of prov-

ing the credits it claims against amounts showr by its

accounting to be due and owing an Indian tribe under

treaty stipulations between the United States and an

Indian tribe.

4. Whether the Court of Claims has discharged its

duty as an appellate court under Section 20(b) of the

Indian Claims Commission Act, when it, by a mere per

4)

curiam statement, affirms the findings and opinion of the

Indian Claims Commission in a ease wherein appellant

raises serious objections with respect to the failure of

the Commission to find facts essential to the proper dis.

position of the claims presented, or found faets which

were not supported by substantial evidence, or which

were contrary to the record, when the above Act directs

that the Court “shall” review the whole reeord and settle

such questions.

5. Whether a denial of a writ of vertiorari by this

Court constitutes an approval of the decision of the Jower

court.

>

STATEMENT

The petitioner, the Creek Nation of Indians, brought an

action before the Indian Claims Commission under the

Indian Claims Commission Act of August 13, 1946, &. 959,

60 Stat. 1049 (25 U.S.C. §§ 70-70v), to reeover for certain

unfulfilled obligations of the United States under five

treaties between the Creek Nation and the United States.

Petitioner (plaintiff-appellant below) alleged that. the

full amounts which the United States was obligated to pay

to the Creek Nation as considerations due for cessions of

Creek lands under these treaties were not in faet paid

in full, and petitioner claimed the right to recover the

unpaid balances (R. 1-6).

The United States answered denying that any sums

were due, owing and unpaid under the treaties in ques-

tion, “and that all of said funds were paid, administered

and disposed of for the use and benefit of plaintiff. and

in fulfillment of the stipulations of the treaties referred

to by plaintiff’ (R. 7-14). It also presented defenses of

res judicata and release, which the Indian Claims Coi-

mission did not consider in deciding the case, beeause

it held that petitioner had not proved its case (R. 273,

282).

-

6

The Creek Nation relied upon and introduced in evi-

dence before the Indian Claims Commission pertinent

extracts from a report of the Government's own General

Accounting Office setting forth in detail all treaty pay-

ments made by the United States to the Creek Nation

under the treaties in question, shown by the records which

were maintained solely by the Government, and now in

the custody of the General Accounting Office. In other

words, the Creek Nation relied solely upon the accounting

of disbursements under these treaties made by the Gov-

ernment’s own accounting officers, and the admissions

made therein showing that balances were due the Creek

Nation under these treaties. The Government's account-

ing does not specifically show that the entire amounts

due under the treaties in issue were paid to the Creek

Nation in accordance with the stipulations of the United

States in these treaties (R. 15-138, 295).

The claims under the several Creek treaties are set

forth below.

Claims Under Treaties of 1802 and 1805

Petitioner originally presented independent claims under

the Creek Treaties of 1802 and 1805. However, in de-

ciding this case the Indian Claims Commission combined

these claims, and we will follow this course in reviewing

their treatment by the Commission, and Court of Claims.

Article IT of the Treaty of June 16, 1802, between the

Creek Nation and the United States, proclaimed January

11, 1803 (7 Stat. 68. 2 Kapp. 58) provided in part as

follows:

“The commissioners of the United States, for and

in consideration of the foregoing concession on the

part of the Creek Nation, and in full satisfaction for

the same do hereby covenant and agree with the said

nation, in behalf of the United States, that the said

states shall pay to the said nation, annually, and

every year, the sum of three thousand dollars, and

-

one thousand dollars for the term of ten years, to

the chiefs who administer. the government, agreeably

to a certificate under the hands and seals of the eom

missioners of the United States, of this date, and

also twenty-five thousand dollars in the manner and

form following, viz. Ten thousand dollars in goods

and merchandise, the receipt of which is hereby ac

knowledged; ten thousand dollars to satisfy certain

debts due from Indians and white persons of the

Creek country to the faetory of the United States;

the said debts, after the payment aforesaid, to become

the right and property of the Creek Nation, and to

be recovered for their use in such way and manner

as the President of the United States may think

proper to direct; five thousand dollars to. satisfy

claims for property taken by individuals of the said

nation, frem the citizens of the United States, subse-

quent to the treaty of Colerain, which has been or

may be claimed and established agreeably to the

provisions of the act for regulating trade and inter.

course with the Indian tribes, and to preserve peace

on the frontiers. * * *”

Article TV of said treaty provided:

“The contracting parties to these presents, do agree

that this treaty shall become obligatory and of full

effect so soon as the same shall be ratified by the

President of the United States of America, by and

with the advice and consent of the Senate thereof.”

This treaty became effective on January 11. TS802, th

date of its proclamation by the President (R. 266). Ther

under the United States was obligated te pay to the Creek

Nation said perpetual annuity of $23,000.00 per annum

beginning with the vear 1808 through the tiseal vear 1902

(R. 266), when this permanent annuity was funded under

the Act of May 27; 1902 (Ce, SSS. 32 Stat, 245. 249, 250)

a period of 100 vears, less the Civil War period of sis

years (fiscal vears 1862 through 1867).°

* The Creek Nation eliminated from this case ony clam for

annuity payments due from the United States during the Civil

War period, or for the fiscal years 1862-1867. 6 vears. this period

being covered by separate petition (R. 266).

8

The parties agreed that the total obligations of the

United States under said Article Il were as follows (R.

266-267) :

Permanent annuity of $3,000.00 per annum for

94 years .

$282,000.00

Annuity to chiefs, $1,000.00 per annum for 10

years

1

In goods and merchandise, receipt of which was

acknowledged

1

To satisfy certain debts due from Indians ard

white persons of the Creek country to tle

factory of the United States

To satisfy claims for property taken by indh-

viduals of the Creek Nation from citizens cf

the United States coast to the — of

Colerain (1796)...

Total

The report of the Government's

1

0,000.00

0,000.00

0,000.00

5,000.00

_ $317,000.00

General Accounting

Office shows that $254,690.25 only was disbursed by the

United States to the Creek Nation in fulfillment of its

treaty obligations under

said Article

Il,

below (R. 44-49, 119, 266-267, 274, 295-296) :

Depredations

Cash payments to Chiefs

Cash annuity

Cash payments to Creek Treasurer

Support of Creek Children at

Choctaw Academy, with con-

sent of Creek Chiefs

Disbursed for benefi: of Creek

Nation, 4 years at $3,000.00

Goods and merchandise distrib-

uted at treaty council and

receipted for in treaiy

1806-1811

1805, 1811

1819-1836

1837, 1839-1841,

1843, 1846-1861,

1868-1869

1844-1845

1861, 1868-1898

1831

1899-1902

1802

Total disbursed

$55,500.00

66,000.00

6,000.00

as set forth

$ 3,290.25

700.00

127,500.00

99,000.00

2,200.00

12,000.00

10,000.00

$254,690.25

9

The reeerd thus showed that the United States failed

to account to the Creek Nation ‘or the balance due under

said Article Tl. and the Creek Nation limited its claim

to the amount of $62,309.75 which the accounting report

showed was due and owing from the United States to

the Creek Nation under said treaty obligations of the

United States.

On this record the Indian Claims Commission made the

following finding of fact (R. 267):

“Plaintiff admits the payment and disbursement

by the United States to the Creek Nation on said

treaty obligation and in the amount of $254,690.25 (as

itemized in its Req. Find. No. 4) and claims a balance

due under said treaty obligation in the amount of

$62,309.75.”

Petitioner challenged the sufficiency of this finding on

appeal to the Court of Claims (R. 284, 286), because it

merely stated petitioner's claim without determining

whether or not the record supported the claim,

Article IIT of the Treaty of November 14, 1805, between

the Creek Nation and the United States, proclaimed June

2, 1806 (7 Stat. 96, 2 Kapp. 85), provided as follows:

“Tt is hereby stipulated and agreed, on the part

of the United States, as a full consideration for the

land ceded by the Creek nation in the first article

as well as by permission granted for a horse path

through their country, and the occupancy of the

reserved tract, at the old Oemulgee fields, that there

shall be paid annually to the Creek nation, by the

United States for the term of eight vears, twelve

thousand dollars in money or goods, and implements

of husbandry, at the option of the Creek nation, sea-

sonally signified from time to time, though the agent

of the United States, residing with said nation, to the

department of war; and eleven thousand dollars shall

be paid in like manner, annually, for the term of the

ten succeeding years, making in the whole, eighteen

payments in the course of cighteen years, without

interest. The first payment is to be made as soon

10

as practicable after the ratification of this convention

by the government of the United States, and each

payment shall be made at the reserved tract, on the

old Ocmulgee fields.”

Article V of said treaty provided in part:

“e * * and this convention shall be obligatory on

the contracting parties as soon as the same shall have

been ratified by the government of the United States.”

Said treaty became effective on June 2, 1806, when

proclaimed (2 Kapp. 85; R. 269).

The parties agreed that the total obligations of the

United States under said Article III were as follows

(R. 269):

$12,000.00 annually for & years in money, or

goods, and implements of husbandry, at the

option of the Creek Nation ‘ $ 96,000.00

$11,000.00 annually for 10 succeeding years, to

be paid in like manner 110,000.90

SES $206,000.00

The report of the Government's General Accounting

Office shows that $169,452.25 only was disbursed by the

Uniied States to the Creek Nation in fulfillment of its

treaty obligations under said Article TIT, as set forth

below (R. 51-52):

Cash annuities 1811, 1815, 1817-1823 $128,667.45

Annuities in goods 1811, 1815 40,784.80

Total disbursements $169,452.25

The United States thus failed to account to the Creek

Nation for the balance due under said Article ITT, and

the Creek Nation limited its claim to the amount of

$36,547.75, which the Government's accounting report

showed was due and owing from the United States to

the Creek Nation under said treaty obligations of the

United States.

On this record the Indian Claims Commission found

that (R. 269):

11

“The report of the Accounting Office shows annual

appropriations to fulfill the above obligation, but

disbursements definitely allocated to the fulfillment

of the obligations of this treaty are in the amount

of $169,452.25."

Although the Commission did not so find, it is obvious

that the amount due and owing to petitioner under said

Article II] was admittedly the difference between the

total treaty obligation of the United States, or $206,000.00,

and the total disbursements of the United States there-

under, or $169,452.25, leaving the balance of $36,547.75 -

due the Creek Nation under this treaty provision.

The total amount claimed by petitioner under the

Treaties of 1802 and 1805 was $98,857.50 (R. 267, 269,

274-275, 295-296).

In an endeavor to overcome the above balance of $98,-

897.90 shown by its accounting report to be due the Creek

Nation under the Treaties of 1802 and 1805, the United

States took out of context certain unallocated expendi.

tures for the vears 1808 threugh 1809, totaling $77,263.45,

for goods purchased and forwarded from Philadelphia

for Creek Indians, which the Government's own account-

ing report sets up as possible disbursements in fulfillment

of an earlier Treaty of August 7, 1790 (7 Stat. 35, 2

Kapp. 25), between the Creek Nation and the United

States, which was not in issue, and which expenditures

the accounting report did not and could not. specifically

allocate to the Treaties of 1802 and 1895 in issue (Rf.

_ 23-24).

The United States had assumed obligations to the Creek

Nation ‘under the Treaty of August 7, 1790, proclaimed

August 13. 1790 (7 Stat. 35, 2 Kapp. 25), which were as

follows:

“Article II. The undersigned Kings, Chiefs and

Warriors, for themselves and all parts of the Creek

Nation within the limits of the United States. do

12

acknowledge themselves, and the said parts of the

Creek Nation, to be under the protection of the

United States of America, and of no other sovereign

whosoever; * °

“Article IV. * * it is hereby agreed, in addition

to the considerations heretofore made for the said

land, that the United States will cause certain valu-

able Indian goods now in the state of Georgia, to

be delivered to the said Creek nation; and the said

United States will also cause the sum of one thousand

five hundred dollars to be paid annually to the said

Creek nation. * °

“Article XII. That the Creek nation may be led

to a greater degree of civilization, and to become

herdsmen and cultivators, instead of remaining in a

state of hunters, the United States will from time to

time furnish gratuitously the said nation with useful

domestic animals and implements of husbandry. And

further to assist the said nation in so desirable a

pursuit, and at the same time to establish a certain

mode of communication, the United States will send

such, and so many persons to reside in said nation

as they may judge proper, and not exceeding four in

number, who shall qualify themselves to act as inter-

preters. These persons shall have lands assigned

them by the Creeks for cultivation for themselves

and their successors in office; but they shall be pre-

cluded exercising any kind of traffic.

s se s a

“Article XIV. This treaty shall take effect and be

obligatory on the contracting parties, as soon as the

same shall have been ratified by the President of the

United States, with the advice and consent of the

Senate of the United States.”

This treaty became effective when proclaimed on August

13, 1790. (2 Kapp. 26).

Furthermore, the United States assumed other obliga-

tions under Secret Articles of said Treaty of August 7.

1790. and thereunder obligated itself to pay to each of

the 6 medal chiefs of the Creek Nation $100.00 annua!)

and to the Creek Chief. Alexander MeGi|! vray, for bis

Services as the agent of the United States. $1200 00

annually, during their lifetimes ¢ Appendix #22 ).

So the total definite obligations of the United States te

the Creek Nation under the Treaty of 1790, and the seere

article thereof, amounted te $3,706.00 annually (RO 1%

199); and under Article NIP the United States further

agreed to furnish the Creek Nation with domestic animal:

and implements of husbandry without fimetation as te

the amount for such disbursements.

The General” Accounting Offies report completely over

looked the obligations of the United States under th

secret article of the Treaty of 1790. and accounted only

for the perpetual annuity of $1,500.00. However. ot did

not begin to account regularly for the $1500.06 perma on

annuity until the year I8]] (Ro 25-24, 86). Tp endeave:

ing to explain its failure te account for this permanen

annuity during the period 1790 through ISTO. tie Genera’

Accounting Office: report stated (Ro 2928-24):

“In connection with the annuities duc the Creel

Nation of Indians under the aforesaid Treaty ot

August 7, 1790, it may be stated that while a earefius

search of the records of the General Accounting Offic:

failed to disclose the amounts disbursed in the pur

chase of annuity goods for the Creek Indians during

the years 1790 to 1809, said search did diselose that

some arnuity goods were furnished said Indians dis

ing said period. An examination of the ledgers sand

journals of the office of the Aecountant for the Wa:

Department, the records of the storekeeper at Phils

delphia (now on file in the General Accounting Office:

and various records found with the old museellaneou:

papers on file in the Office of Indian Affairs. mdicate-

that goods valued at $1.500.11 were shipped fron

Philadelphia to the Creek country, on May 20, 1797,

and that goods valued at $1.500 and $1,499.02 were

actually delivered to the Creek Nation of Indinan-

during the years 1798 and 1799, respectively. Said

a

l4

examination also discloses that goods of the following

values were forwarded from Philadelphia for the

Creek Indians during the following vears:

Year Value of goods * Remarks

Lave $1,500.34 Annuity for year 1800

1LROS 3.000.00 Annuity for Creeks

1803 1,008.08 Goods for Creek chiefs

1804 4,150.84 Annuities tor Creeks

1804 1,100.07 Goods for Creek chiefs

1au5 4,000.24 Annuities tor Creeks

1805 500.16 Gooes for Creek chiefs

1805 4,000.00 Annuity for vear 1805

1805 6,000.50 Annuity for vear 1806

1806 6,673.85 Annuity for year 1806

1807 1,000.08 Goods for Upper Creek chiefs

1807 499.05 Goods fur Lower Creek chiefs

1807 6,025.06 + Annuity for Upper Creeks

1807 5,999.39 Annuity for Lower Creeks

1808 7,646.46 Annuity for Upper Creeks

1808 8,250.45 Annuity for Lowe: Creeks

1808 501.38 Goods for Lower Creek chiefs

1808 499 90) Goods for Upper Creek chiefs

1809 500.41 Goods for Unper Creek chiefs

1809 348.98 Goods for Lower Creek chiefs

13809 7,300.40 Annuity for Upper Creeks

1809 7,749.64 Annuity for Lower Creeks

1809 508.51 Annuity for year 1809

Said examination also discloses that moneys were

advanced to disbursing officers for payment of. sal-

aries of interpreters for the Upper and Lower Creeks.

During the vears 1790 to 1809, various amounts were

advanced to disbursing officers for annuities, but due

to the facet that in most instances the names of the

tribes for which the annuities were intended are not

set out, it is impossible to state what portion, if any,

of the amounts set out in the foregoing tabulation

were in fulfillment of the aforesaid Treaty of August

7, 1790. It appears, however, that portions of said

amounts were ‘n fulfillment of treaties with said

Indians subsequent to the aforesaid Treaty of 1790,

as the value of the goods furnished said Indians

during the vears indicated was in excess of the $1,500

annuity due said Indians under said treaty.”

le

In addition toe the above dishursements under the Treaty

of 1790, and in search of further eredits against th

balance of $98.857.50 due the Creek Natien under th

Treaties of 1802 and 1805, the United States alse injected

into the case certain disbursements, totaling $22. 108.00,

Which the General Accounting Office report stated if could

not wdentitu with any specitic Creek treatu. These dis

bursements are set forth as follows (R. 122, 127-128, 206) :

1811 S15 1817 1818

Annuity, goods $3,350.00 $4,300.00

Annuity, cash S0.547 00

Claims (depredations } $2,000.00 5.2801-00

Cash payments to Chiefs — 200.00

The United States, nevertheless claimed these disburse

ments as eredits against the balances shown im the General

Accounting Office report te be due the Creek Nation under

the Treaties of L802 and 1805, without identitying them

with these treaties (R. 122, 246).

The United States contended before the Commission

that beeause the petitioner did not shew that any of the

total amount of the eredits claimed by the Government

(the $77,263.45 of the unallocated expenditures set forth

by the General Accounting Office Report as possible dis

bursements under the Treaty of 1790 not in issue, and

the $22,198.00 unidentitied disbursements), or S40 461.45,

wax not paid in satisfaction of the obligations of the

United States under Treaties of TSO2 and TS05. the Gav

ernment was entitled to eredit the entire amount agains!

its obligations under those treaties. The S09 46145 ox

ceeded the $9S8897.50 claimed by petitioner te he the

balance due under the Treaties of Tse2 and DSQ). seas

to defeat petitiones’s recovery under these two treaties

(R. 296).

The Indian Claims Cominissien adopted the Govern.

ment’s position and determined that nething was due te

petitioner under the Treaties of TS8O2 and 1805 (R267

16

268, 296). In doing so the Commission found that the

Creek Nation was a tribe of American Indians within the

meaning of the Indian Claims Commission Ae, and was

authorized to bring this cause of action under Section 2

of said Act: that the claim was in the nature of an action

of debt, asking payment for sums allegedly owing and

unpaid and obligations unfulfilled, and due petitioner un

der the treaties in question; and that the relation of

guardian and ward as between the plaintiff and the de-

fendant had not been established by competent or rele

vant evidence (R. 264-265). The Commission further

applied the whole amount of $77,263.45 as possible dis

“rsements under the Treaty of 1790 not in issue, without

considering the obligations of the United States te the

Creek Nation under said Treaty of 1790, and the seeret

article thereof, and also the $22,198.00 whieh the Genera!

Accounting Office could not identify with any specific

Creek treaty, against the balance due under the Treaties

of 1802 and 1805, and found and held that petitioner had

not proven that any amounts were due the Creek Nation

oF »f- ”\

under said treaties (R. 267-269, 273, 277, BRR).

“* Let us point out to the Court that in eharging the

entire amount of $77,269.45 disbursed for goods pur

chased at Philadelphia for Creek Indians during the

period TS06.1809, against the balames due the Creek Na

tion under the Treaties of TRO2 and TSO5, the Comission

assumed that these goods were actually received by the

Creek Nation. However, the reeord shows that such

shipments were not made directly to the Creek Ageney,

but were shipped to the United States Faetor at Savan

nah, and held there for transportation overland by wagon

to the Creek Ageney on the Flint River, when requested

by the Indian Agent (R. 215-220, 222). The Govern

ment’s accounting report shows that only “goods valued

at $1.500 and $1,499.02 were actually delivered to. the

Creek Nation of Indians during the vears 1798 and 179°.

respectively.” (R. 23).

7

The Commission in dome so relied largely on a dee

ston of the Court of Claim. supportmg the Government’

position in Chickasau Nation \ United State . (145). TO

C.Cls. 1, certiorar) granted but limited te the question

of specitie designation of offset<. and judgment reversed,

326 USS. 2170 In relving upen this ease rather than

Upon mere recent decisions of the Court of Claums which

overrule it, the Commission stated that “The refusal of

the Supreme Court) to allow eceertiorar: on the matters

°° * specifically ealled te its attention ‘im Chiekasaw |

is evidence that i apnroved the holdings of the Court of

Claims in reference to sueh matters” (7 Ind. Cl. Comm.

at 185: Ro 278.280). The Commission further stated that

the deeision of the Court oof Clamms m Sioux Tribe of

Indians v. United States (1946), 105 Cl Cis. T25. “eould

not overrule the same | Chickasaw ease because the Sroux

ease ds a Court of Claims. opimion only, while the holding:

in the Chiekasaw case were approved by the Supreme

eof Ourt by its refusal te grant a writ ef certiorari” OR

PSI). We assigned this holding a. error because this

Court has made it clear in many instanees that me sueh

inference ds te be drawn from its demiul oof eertiorar

In any case (R200),

The main issues in this ease are thus presented.

Petitioner contended that a fiduciary relations os

isted between the United States and the Creek Natron,

an Indian tribe, and that the Government had the burden

or presenting an aceurat aevounting of ifs pavinent. tr

petitvoner purstlant te the treaties mn question Petitioner

maintained, therefore, that the Governmmient Was met en

titled te @redit for any amount. not specitically allocated

on its books te the fulfillment of these treaties: and that

the Government as the fiduciary had the clear burden of

proving the eredits it claimed against the balance. it

own accounting showed were due and owing petitioner

under said treaties (Ro 277-281).

i8

Petitioner further contended that the many decisions

of this Court have established that the fiduciary relation-

ship existing between the United States and the Indian

tribes is sufficiently similar to the relationship between

a guardian and its ward as to impose upon the United

States the burden of accounting clearly for the disburse-

ments made in fulfillment of its treaty obligations to an

Indian tribe (R. 277-278); that before the respondent

was entitled to credit against the amounts claimed by

petitioner under the Treaties of 1802 and 1805, it must

prove affirmatively that the credits claimed were payments

in fulfillment of the 1802 and 1805 Treaties, and were

not disbursements under the earlier Treaty of 1790, and

the secret article thereof.

Claim Under Article XIII, Treaty of March 24, 1832

Article XIII of the Treaty of March 24, 1332, between

the United States and the Creek Nation, proclaimed April

4, 18382 (7 Stat. 366, 2 Kapp. 341), provided in part as

follows:

“e ¢ * Three thousand dollars, to be expended as

the President may direct, shall be allowed for the

term of twenty years for teaching their children.* * * ”

Article XV of said treaty further provided:

“This treaty shall be obligatory on the contracting

parties, as soon as the same shall be ratified by the

United States.”

This treaty became obligatory upon the parties on April

4, 1832, when proclaimed (2 Kapp. 341; R. 269).

The parties agreed that the total obligation of the

United States to the Creek Nation under said Article

XITI, was $60,000.00 (R. 270).

The Report of the General Accounting Office shows that

the United States disbursed $49,938.99 only in fulfillment

of this treaty obligation to the Creek Nation under said

Articie XTII, as set forth below (R. 59-65) :

19

Education :

Support of Creek Children

at Choctaw Academy 1832-1836, 1838 $10,934.48

IS37-1845, 1845,

1849-1850 16,683.12 $27,617.60

Pay of superintendents

and teachers 1842-1846, 1848,

1850-1851 2,593.37

Furniture and equipment 1842, 1846,

1850-1851 580.54

Pay of miscellaneous

employees 1846-1548,

1850-1851 464.40

Provisions 1846, 1850-1851 2,511.15

Board and tuition 1846-1848,

1850-1851 7,998.48

Medical attention 1846-1848, 1850 105.12

Support of schools 1846-1847 3.40

Transportation of pupils 1848 365.00

Clothing 1850-1851 797.68

Transportation of supplies 1850-1851 1,081.93

Erection and repair of

school buildings 1850-1851 4,336.71

Livestock 1850-1851 541.50

School farm 1850-1851 908.07

Fuel and light 1851 19.24

Feed and care of livestock 1851 ; 15.00

Total disbursements $49,938.99

The United States failed to account to the Creek Na-

tion for the balanee due under said treaty obligation in

the amount of $10,061.01, which petitioner claimed as

being due and owing to it from the United States under

this treaty obligation.

Although petitioner asserted a claim under Article

XIII of the Treaty of March 24, 1832 only (R. 4). and

issue Was joined on this treaty obligation (R. 8), vet, at

the request of respondent the Commission injected into

its Finding 6 facts relating to an obligation cf the United

States incurred under Article 4 of the Treaty of Janu-

ary 4, 1845, between the Creek Nation and the United

States (9 Stat. 821; 2 Kapp. 550), not a part of peti-

20

tioner’s claim, and not material to it (R. 270, 275). We

assigned this action of the Commission as error (R. 286-

287).

The respondent admitted that its total obligation under

this 1832 Treaty provision was $60,000.00, as the Com-

mission found (R. 270), and the Commission further

found that the disbursements under Article XIII of the

Treaty of 1882, which began in 1832 and ended in 1851,

totaled $49,938.99, as shown by the General Accounting

Office Report (R. 59-64). However, the Commission sim-

ply made the following finding with respect to petitioner's

claim under the 1832 Treaty (R. 270):

“The plaintiff approves fulfillment by the defendant

of the obligations of the Treaty of 1832 in the amount

of $49,938.99 as itemized in its Requested Finding 6

and contends that there is a balance due from said

obligation in the amount of $10,061.01. This credit

in the amount of $49,938.99 is for disbursements up

to and including the year 1851 only; however, there

were disbursements for the period 1852 to 1861 in

the amount of $60,673.23 (Dft’s. Ex. 185, 186) in

fulfillment of the treaties of 1832 and 1845 that de-

fendant contends is in full settlement of its obliga-

tion made by the Treaty of 1832 and renewed and

enlarged by the Treaty of 1845.”

The Commission thus completely failed to find whether

or not the obligation of the United States under Article

XIII of the Treaty of 1832 had been fulfilled. Petitioner

assigned this failure as error (R. 286), beeause this was

an essential fact necessary to the proper disposition of

the claim asserted by petitioner; and that a finding merely

stating the contentions of the parties, without finding

which of the contentions was correct, was a failure on

the part of the Commission to make an essential and

material finding, and was error (Seminole Nation v.

United States (1942), 316 U.S. 286, 300; Seminole Nation

v. United States, (1942) 316 U.S. 310, 315-316; Snake or

Piute Indians v. United States (1953), 125 C. Cls. 241,

255).

2l

Claim Under Treaty of 1833

Article V of the Treaty of February 14, 1833, between

the United States and the Creek Nation, proclaimed April

12, 1834 (7 Stat. 417; 2 Kapp. 388), provided in part

as follows:

“As an evidence of the kind feeling of the United

States towards the Muskogee Indians, and as a testi-

monial of the [their] gratification with the present

amicabie and satisfactory adjustment of their diffi

culties with the Cherokees, experienced by the com-

missioners, they agree on behalf of the United State Sy

to furnish to the Creek Indians west of the Missis-

sippi, one blacksmith and one wheelwright or wagon-

maker, as soon as they may be required by the na-

tion, in addition to those already employed—also, to

erect shops and furnish tvols for the same, and supply

the smith shops with one ton of iron and two hun-

dred and fifty pounds of steel each; and allow the

said Creek Indians, annually, for education purposes,

the sum of one thousand dollars, to be e xpended under

the direction of the President of the United States—

the whole of the above grants to be continued so

long as the President may consider them conducive

to the interest and welfare of the Creek Indians:

e®*ee#ps

Article IX of said treaty provided:

“This agreement shall be binding and obligatory

upon the contracting parties, ax soon as the same

shall be ratified and confirmed by the President and

Senate of the United States.”

This treaty became binding upon the parties on April

12, 1834, when proclaimed (2 Kapp. 388; R. 271).

The amount to be disbursed annually for education was

definitely fixed in the treaty at $1,000.00, but the amount

to be disbursed annually for blacksmiths, ete. was not

definitely fixed in the treaty. However, Congress made

annual appropriations definitely uxing the amount of this

treaty provision for blacksmiths. ete, at $1,710.00 over a

, 22

long period of time (R. 135-136). The General Accounting

Office Report shows that payments under these treaty ob-

ligations began in the vear 1834 (R. 75). So the date of

beginning of these treaty obligations is definitely fixed by

the action of the United States. Specific annual appropria-

tions to fulfill these treaty obligations, from 1837 to 1878,

were made by Congress, generally in the amount of $2,-

710.00—$1,710.00 for blacksmiths, ete., and $1,000 for edu-

cation (Act of July 7, 1838, e.clxxxvi, 5 Stat. 299; R. 135-

136). The Act of June 17, 1844 c.eviii, 5 Stat. 704, 706,

provided:

“For blacksmith and assistant, and use of shop and

tools, during the pleasure of the President, stipulated

in the fifth article of the treaty of fourteenth Febru-

ary, eighteen hundred and thirty-three, eight hundred

and forty dollars:

“For iron and steel, two hundred and seventy

dollars;

“For wagonmaker, stipulated in the fifih article of

the treaty of fourteenth February, eighteen hundred

and thirty-three, 66 —" dollars;

“For education, sti nleted i in the fifth article cf the

treaty of fourteenth February, eighteen hundred and

thirty-three, one thousand dollars ;”

And Article V of the Creek Treaty of August 7, 1856

(11 Stat. 699; 2 Kapp. 756), continued these 1833 treaty

obligations in the definite amount of $2,710.00 annually,

in the following language:

“* * * one thousand dollars per annum during the

pleasure of the President for the same object [educa-

tion], under the fifth arcicle of the treaty of February

fourteenth, eighteen hundred anc thirty-three; services

of a wagonmaker, blacksmith and assistant, shop and

tools, iron and steel, during the pleasure of the Presi-

dent, under the same treaty and article, and costing

one thousand seven hundred and ten dollars an-

nually ; eee”

Pay of blacksmith

ys

The General Accounting Office report shows that. the

United States continued this annual treaty obligation

through the year 1878 (R. 136). So the respondent's own

records show th: t the payments on the 1833 Creek treaty

obligations began in 1834 and continued through the fiseal

year 1878 (R. 75-88). The United States thus acknowl-

edged its obligation to the Creek Nation under this treaty

provision in the amount of $2,710.00 annually, or $1,710.00

for blacksmiths, ete., and $1,000 for education, over the

period from 1834 through 1878, or for a period of 45

years, less the Civil War period of six vears (fiseal vears

1862 through 1867), leaving a net obligation of the United

States to pay said annuity to the Creek Nation over a

period of 39 years at $2,710.00 per annum, or a total obli-

gation of $105,690.00.

The report of respondent’s own General Accounting

Office shows that $76,285.45 only was disbursed by the

United States to the Creek Nation to fulfill the obligation

of the United States under this treaty provision, as set

forth below (R. 73):

1834, 1836, 1844-1846

$ 2,234.32

Pay of striker

Pay of blacksmith and striker

Iron, etc., for blacksmith shops

Pay of wagonmaker

Material for mechanical shop

Erection of shops

Cash payments to Creek Treasurer

Education:

Pay of superintendents and

teachers

Support of Creek children

at Choctaw Academy

Furniture and Equipment

1834-1836, 1844-1845

1838-1841, 1843, 1845-1860

1835-1839, 1841, 1843-1845,

1847-1849, 1851-1853,

1855-1860

1834-1837, 1839-1843,

1857, 1859-1860

1836

1839

1861, 1868-1875, 1877-1878

1837-1841, 1843-1846

1850, 1853

1844-1845

1849-1841, 1846. 1850

911.72

17.890 71

7,266.53

4,702.33

6.00

2,000.00

20,466.00

7,278 41

1.658.69

162.28

24

Pay of miscellaneous employees 1850, 1853 237.56

Medical attention 1850 9.24

Provisions 1850 302.13

Clothing 1850, 1853 @ 801.68

Erection and repair of .

school buildings 1844, 1850, 1853, 1868 2,059.26

Board and tuition 1851-1852, 1855-1860 8,171.31

Transportation of supplies 1853 5.36

Fuel and light 1853 12.60

Traveling expenses of school

officials, etc. 1844-1853 81.75

Manual training supplies 1853 33.57

Total disbursements $76,285.45

The United States failed to account to the Creek Nation

for the balance thus shown by its own accounting to be

due under said treaty obligation in the amount of $29,-

404.55, which petitioner claimed as being due and owing

from the United States to the Creek Nation (R. 270 2/1).

The Commission made the following findings relative to

petitioner’s claim (R. 271-272): |

“Petitioner contends that the obligation of the

United States under said treaty was for a period

of 29 years (omitting the Civil War years) at

$2,710.00 per annum or a total obligation of $108,-

690.00; and that the report of the General Accounting

Office showed expenditures in fulfillment of said treaty

obligation by the United States in the amount of

$80 981.45 (items appearing in its Req. Find. No. 7)

and that there is a balance due under said treaty

obligation of $24,708.55 (Pltf. in its reply brief claims

a credit of $4,696.00 was erroneously given defendant

and that the balance due is $29,404.55, Reply Brief

. Se |

“There is no proof in the record as to any pecuni-

ary loss suffered by the petitioner, nor as to the need

of services of blacksmiths or other equipment which

the treaty obligated the defendant to provide, nor is

there any evidence of any demand having been made

by petitioner for services or equipment not supplied.”

25

Petitioner on appeal assigned this portion of the Com

mission’s Finding 7 as error (R. 287). The petitioner

contended on appeal that the finding in the first paragraph

above quoted is wholly incomplete, and therein the Com-

mission failed to find the essential fact—whether or not

the total obligation of the United States to the Creek

Nation under Article V of the Creek Treaty of February

14, 1833 (7 Stat. 417, 2 Kapp. 38%}, had been fulfilled;

that such a finding, which the Commission failed to make,

is essential to the final disposition of this claim; and

that a mere finding of what the petitioner contended, with-

out a further finding of whether petitioner’s contention

was right or wrong meant nothing to the ultimate deci-

sion of the case.

Petitioner further contended that it was unnecessary

for the ward to prove a demand upon its guardian, the

United States, for the service and equipment not supplied,

before it was entitled to recover the amount shown by the

Government’s own accounting report to be due and owing

to petitioner under the above treaty obligation of the

United States; and that the United States was obligated

to fulfill its treaty obligation without a demand from its

ward that it do so.

Claim Under the Treaty of 1856

Article VI of the Treaty of August 7, 1856, between

the United States and the Creek Nation ratified August

16, 1856 and proclaimed August 28, 1896 (11 Stat. 699,

2 Kapp. 756), provided in part as follows:

“In consideration of the foregoing quit-claim, re-

linquishment, release, and discharge, and of the ces-

sion of a country for the Seminole Indians contained

in the first article of this agreement, the United States

do hereby agree and stipulate to allow and pay the

Creek Nation the sum of one million of dollars, which

shall be invested and paid as follows, viz: two hun-

dred thousand dollars to be invested in some safe

26

stocks, paving an interest of at least five per cent

per annum; which interest shall be regularly anid

faithfully applied toe purposes of education among

the Creeks; * °°”

Article XXVI of this treaty provided in part:

“This convention * * * shall take effect and be

obligatory on the contracting parties from the date

hereof, whenever it shall be ratified by the Senate

and President of the United States.”

This treaty thus became effective on August 7, 1856,

when proclaimed by the President on August 28, 1856 (2

Kapp. 756).

The Government's accounting report shows that al-

though Congress annually appropriated the $10,000.00

interest due on said $200,000 fund from the fiseal vears

1857 through 1861, both inclusive, or for five vears, a total

of $50,000.00, vet the United States disbursed $21,000.00

only during said period under this treaty obligation (R.

108, 187). This accounting report thus shows that the

United States faiied to account to petitioner for the bal-

ance due under said treaty obligation in the amount of

$29,006.00, which petitioner claimed as due and owing to

it from the United States.

In its Finding § the Commission stated (R. 272):

“Plaintiff claims an obligation of defendant under

the above provision to pay $10,000 as interest to the

plaintiff for the vears 1857 to 1861, both inelusive—

a total of $50,000 upon which obligation the plaintiff

contends the defendant still owes $29,000. (Pet. Req.

Finding No. 8).”

On appeal petitioner assigned this part of said finding

as error in that the Commission failed to find whether

or not the United States had fulfilled its treaty obligation

to the Creek Nation in the amount claimed by petitioner:

and instead mere!, recited the petitioner’s claim, without

finding whether or not petitioner’s claim for $29,000.00

was right or wrong. (R. 287-288).

/ 27

Petitioner further assigned as error that part of Find.

ing S which stated (R. 272):

“The Confederate States paid the $29,000 and plain

tiff accepted the same. (Dft's Ex. 160, p. 2382; Dft's

Ex. 166-170, 173).

“The United States Congress also approved the

payment of the $29,000 involved in this claim for the

benefit of Indians remaining loval to the United

States during the Civil War, which expenditure the

plaintiff Indians approved and ratified in the Treaty

of June 14, 1866 (14 Stat. 785, 790).”

Petitioner on appeal challenged the above findings on

the ground that they were immaterial and not supported

by substantial evidence (R. 287-288): and contended that

there was no evidence in the reeord showing that the

$29,000 claimed was ever paid to the Creek Nation either

by the Confederate States of America, or by the United

States for the relief of refugee Indians in Kansas during

the Civil Waur; that the record showed that this amount

was due mnd owing by the United States to the Creek

Natiou under this treaty obligation before the Civil War

beg.n; and that the United States had simply failed te

poy it regularly and faithfully for the purposes of educa

ion among the Creeks, as provided by the treaty.

The petitioner further contended that soon after the

beginning of the Civil War the Creek Nation became

divided in its sympathies, and formed two independent

parties, and that from one-half to three-fourths of the

Creeks fled to Kansas where they remained as refugees

during the entire period of the War; and that any pay-

ment made by the Confederate States to the southern

portion of the Creek Nation would not be payment to the

Creek Nation, and would not satisfy the obligation of

the United States to the Creek Nation, under said Treaty

of 1856. And further, that the record did not show that

said $29,000 was actually diverted and paid for the relief

of refugee Indians in Kansas, and released by the previ-

28

sions of Article XI of the Treaty of June 14, 1866 (14

Stat. 785, 2 Kapp. 931; Appendix p. JH.),

Petitioner further challenged on appeal the following

ultimate finding of tne Commission, as not being sup-

ported by the substantial evidence in the reeord (R. 273,

288) :

“There is not sufi © evidence in the record to

show that any of the indebtedness claimed by the

plaintiff has not been discharged.”

Petitioner had contended that the admissions in the

Government's own accounting report showing that the

balances claimed were due the Creek Nation under the

treaties in question, were sufficient proof of the validity

of the claims herein presented; and that the burden was

upon the respondent to prove any credits it claimed

against the balances shown by its accounting to be due

and owing to petitioner under said treaties.

From the findings and holdings of the Commission

dismissing the several claims set forth in petitioner's

petition, the Creek Nation appealed to the Court of

Claims under Section 20(b) of the Indian Claims Com-

mission Act (R. 284-291). After full argument, the ma-

jority of the Court of Claims (3 Judges concurring), on

March 1, 196i, merely by a per curiam statement, affirmed

the findings and holdings of the Commission, without

analyzing and reviewing the issues raised on appeal (R.

292).

Judge Littleton, the Senior Judge of the Court (now

retired), who was joined by Judge Madden, wrote a dis-

senting opinion, the only opinion of the Court of Claims

in this case, analyzing the findings and holdings of the

Commission, and pointing out the errors of fact and

law made by the Commission, and upholding the claims

of petitioner in the instances set forth in the dissenting

opinion (R. 292-315).

29

The dissenting opinion pointed out (R. 292-294):

“This appeal, which the majority has disposed of

summarily in a per curiam statement which merely

affirms the determination of the Commission, concerns

an entirely novel question which has been raised for

the first time under the Indian Claims Commission

Act and goes to the proper administration c* that

Act in the general area of accounting suits, a num-

ber of which are now pending before the Commission.

While the instant suit was not brought strictly as a

suit for an accounting, it is very similar in nature

to the accounting suits now pending before the Com-

mission, and it will inevitably serve as a general

ide to their disposition. In general, the grounds

or this dissent from the position taken by the Com-

mission and affirmed by the majority of this court,

without analyzing the issues, are that the ruling of

the Commission that the Government has no obliga-

tion to render a clear and accurate accounting of

its dealings and the fulfillment of treaty obligations

in the manner of a fiduciary or of a superior and

learned power dealing with an unlettered and _in-

ferior tribe or race, but is merely in a position of a

debtor in its relationship under a treaty with the

Indians, is contrary to the decisions of the Supreme

Court, of this court, and of at least one of the Com-

mission’s own opinions. In the Jowa Tribe of the

Iowa Reservations in Kansas and Nebraska, et cetera

ease, Docket No. 70, decided June 19, 1952, 2 Ind.

Cl. Comm. 167, 176, the Commission stated that:

‘In its dealings with the Tribe the defendant

kept the only records of these transactions as a

self-imposed duty to its illiterate and incompe-

tent wards and thereby became accountable to

them for the manner in which it discharged its

treaty, other assumed and Congressionally im-

posed obligations.’

The Commission has erroneously placed great reliance

on the mistaken view that denial of certiorari by the

Supreme Court constitutes approval of the decision

of the case wherein certiorari is denied. Moreover.

I am of the opinion the Commission has not followed

30

the principles of the decided cases nor the rules of

this court with respect to burden of proof where the

Government sets up and relies on the affirmative de-

fense of payment (Rule 15(b) of the Rules of ihe

Court of Claims). Finally, the per curiam opinion

of this court falls far short of meeting the obligation

of an appellate court to give guidance to the court

below (the Indian Claims Commission) and to the

litigants in an appeal on a novel and important mat-

ter, an obligation which, until this time, the court

has conscientiously fulfilled. The appeal by the In-

dians in this case is in no sense frivolous and I am

of the opinion that the litigants are entitled to an

opinion showing that the court has not disregarded

or overlooked the very serious arguments of counsel

on both sides. Furthermore I believe that the ma-

jority mistakes this court’s function in claims ap-

pealed from the Indian Claims Commission to be like

that of the Circuit Courts of Appeals in appeals from

the District Courts. 28 U.S.C. $1291. Section 20(b)

of the Indian Claims Commission Act is quite ex-

licit with regard to the manner in which this court

is to review final determinations of the Commission.

eee

In the instant case there are serious objections earn-

estly and fully argued by the appellant regarding

the findings of the Commission and lack of findings

by the Commission. For these reasons I am forced

to state my views in some detail.”

“The dissenting opinion then reviewed the decisions of

this Court and those of the Court of Claims holding that

a fiduciary relationship does exist between an Indian

tribe and the United States; that this relationship is

sufficiently similar to the relationship between a guardian

and its ward to impose upon the United States the burden

of accounting clearly for amounts disbursed in fulllment

of its Indian treaties; that the relationship is not one

of debtor-creditor, or of parties on an equal footing deal-

ine at arms’ length with one another; that the United

States has the burden of proving affirmatively the credits

31

its claims against the balances shown by its own aecoun:

ing to be due the Indian tribe: and that the denial of s

writ of certiorari by this Court has no bearing on the

merits of the claim presented in the petition for a writ

of certiorari.

The dissenting opinion then analyzes the issues relating

to the claims of petitioner under the several treaties in

question, applying the law thereto in the light of the

decisions reviewed.

With respect to the petitioner's claim for the unpaid

balance of $98,857.50 under the Treaties of 1802 and 1805,

the dissenting opinion pointed out that some of the un-

allocated amount of $99,461.45, which was credited against

the $98,857.50 claimed, could be attributed to disburse-

ments under the Treaty of 1790, for it is clear from the

face of that treaty that there was an obligation of the

United States of at least $1,500.00 a vear due petitioner;

that for the years 1790 through 1797, and 1800 through

1809, a total of 18 vears, the Government's records do not

specifically show payment of this $1,500 annuity, and that

at least $27,000 of the payments made from 1803 to 1818

were made in fulfillment of the 1790 treaty obligation:

and, therefore, at most $72,461.45 of the unallocated

amount of $99,461.45, could properly be credited to the

Government as fulfillment of its obligations under the

Treaties of 1802 and 1805, leaving $26,396.05 which is

not shown to have been paid under the 1802 and 1805

treaty balances (R. 306-308). The dissenting opinion then

states (R. 307):

“In addition, I think that appellant should be per-

mitted, upon a remand to the Indian Claims Com-

mission, to show any other obligations of the United

States, in addition to the $1,500 under the 1790

Treaty, for which the payments shown for 1803

through 1818 could have been intended, so that the

amounts of such obligations could be subtracted from

the $72,461.45 which I find to be the maximum allow-

~

32

able to the Government against its 1802 and 1805

treaty obligations, given the state of its records.”

The dissent did not take into consideration the further

amounts paid by the United States under the secret article

of the Treaty of 1790, which petitioner also believes

should have been considered.

With respect to the balance of $10,061.01 claimed to be

due petitioner under Article XIII of the Treaty of March

24, 1832, the dissenting opinion pointed out that the

Indian Claims Commission did not find any additional

credits due the Government on this obligation, and that

the Commission failed to make any finding as to whether

or not the Government’s obligation undé@r the 1832 Treaty

was fulfilled (R. 308); and further stated (R. 308):

“I think that the Commission’s failure to find

whether the 1832 Treaty obligation was fulfilled re-

ee us to remand this portion of the case to the

ommission for such a finding. On its fact, the Com-

mission’s ‘finding’ is merely a restatement of the

Government’s contention, and not a finding at all.

“The Commission’s ‘ultimate’ finding that there was

not sufficient evidence in the record to show that any

of the indebtedness claimed by appellant had not

been discharged does not remedy its failure to make

a material finding of fact. Where required findings

are not made by the Commission, the court will set

aside the Commission’s final determination and re-

mand the case so that such findings may be made.

Snake or Piute Indians v. United States, 125 Ct. C1.

241, 255.”

With respect to the balance of $29,404.55 claimed to be

due petitioner under Article V of the Treaty of 1833 the

dissenting opinion pointed out that the United States did

not claim credit for more than the $76,285.45 which its

records show it had paid on this treaty obligation ($2,710

per year for 39 years, or a total of $105,690.00), but took

the position that the size of the obligation under the 1833

33

__ treaty was_not-adequately established; and further stated

Sey (R. 309-310) :

“The Indian Claims Commission concluded that it

was unnecessary for it to determine whether the basis

for establishing the treaty liability as contended for

by a was correct, in view of its holding that

appellant had ‘not proven the alleged failures of the

appellee tdé& fulfill its obligations * * **’. 7 Ind. Cl.

omm., 138. Since I would conclude that appellant

has laid sufficient basis for a conclusion that appellee

failed to fulfill its obhgations, I think that it was

necessary for the Indian Claims Commission to de-

termine the amount of the Government's obligetion

under the 1833 Treaty. [| would therefore remand

this portion of the case to the Commission for such

determination.”

With respect to the balance of $29,000 admittedly due

petitioner as interest at 5 per cent per annum on the

$260,000 trust, fund, during the period of the fiscal vears

1857 through 1861, which the Treaty of 1856 required the

United States to apply annually for education of the

Creeks, the Government before the Commission and Court

of Claims had contended (1) that under Article XLI of

its Treaty of 1861 with the Creek Nation the Confederate

States agreed to pay the $29,000.00 and did so on or about

January 28, 1862, and that such payment discharged the

obligation of the United States to the Creek Nation in

this amount; and (2) that under the Civil War Resolution

of February 22, 1862, 12 Stat. 614, authorizing the use

of Creek annuities which had not been disbursed, for the

benefit of refugee Indians in Kansas, that the $29,000 in

question was so used, and that this diversion of annuities

was ratified and confirmed by petitioner by Article XI

of the Treaty of June 14, 1866, 14 Stat. 785, 789-790;

2 Kapp. 931.

The dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton reviewed the

——== °

record, and answered the first contention of the Govern-

ment pointing out that there was no evidence in the record

34

te show that this balance was paid to the Creek Nation

as such (R. 311, 313); that the evidenee showed that soon

after the Civil War began the Creek Nation was about

evenly divided in its sympathies, and divided into two

independent and opposite factions—those in sympathy

with the North, and those in sympathy with the South;

that the Northern faction, under the leadership of Chief

Opoeth-le-yo-ho-la, met in convention on August 5, 1861

in the Creek Nation, and declared that the Creek chiefs

who had signed a treaty with the Confederate States had

done so without action of the Creek Council, the governing

body of the Creek Nation, and had thus forfeited their

administrative rank; that the Union-minded Creeks, esti-

mated to number 6,000, or from one-half to three-fourths

of the Creeks, fought several battles with the Confederate

forces composed partly of the Southern Creeks. along

the shores of the Arkansas and Verdegris Rivers through-

out November and December of 1861, and had withdrawn

farther north toward the southern border of Kansas, and

were then treating with United States agents for relief

for their refugees, and arranging for rendering military

assistanere by the Creeks to the United States (R. 139-

151, 157, 161-185); that in view of the fact that the Creek

Nation thus became divided into two independent entities

it cannot be said that the portion which remained in the

South constituted after November 1861, the Creck Na-

tion; and any payment by the Confederate States near

Little Rock, Arkansas, after January 28, 1862, to the

Southern portion encamped there “cannot be said to have

been payment of the obligation which was owed to the

Creek Nation”. (R. 310-313).

Judge Littleton analyzed the Government's second claim

of credit for the payment of $29,000.00 (R. 313-315), and

pointed out that there was no substantial evidence in the

record of this case to support a finding that “the $29,000

im issue was in fact paid to refugee Indians”: that the

Commission did not so ‘find. but found only “that the

35

United States Congress had approved such payment for

the benefit of refugee Indians, ‘which expenditure the

plaintiff Indians approved and ratified in the Treaty of

June 14, 1866 (14 Stat. 785, 790)"; that the Treaty of

1866 approved and confirmed only “erpenditures made”

by the United States for that purpose; and that. there

was no evidence to show that this particular $29,000.00

was ever so disbursed. The dissenting opinion then eon-

cluded (R. 314):

“Unless, upon remand to the Indian Claims Com-

mission, appellee could show that the $29,000 due

under the 1856 Treaty was among the sums disbursed

in 1862-1867, cither by pointing to an explicit account-

ing for that obligation, or by showing that the total

of the treaty obligations payable to the Creeks was

not greater than the amount of 1862-1867 expendi-

tures in excess of current obligations, or otherwise,

I think that appellant is entitled to recover the

$29,000.”

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. _The holding of the Indian Claims Commission, af-

firmed by the per curiam statement of the majority of

the Court of Claims—that the relationship between the

United States and the Indian tribes, in this case the

Creek Nation, is that of debtor and creditor, or one in

which the parties were dealing as equals and at arms

length—is contrary to the many decisions of this Court

and of the Court of Claims.

This Court has held in a long line of decisions that

a fiduciary relationship exists between the United States

and the Indian tribes, and that this relationship resem-

bles that of guardian and ward. Cherokee Nation vy.

Georgia (1831), 5 Pet. 1, 16-17; United States v. Kagama

(1886), 118 U.S. 375, 383: Choctaw Nation v. United

States (1886), 119 U.S. 1, 27-28; United States v. Payne

(1924), 264 U.S. 446, 448: Quick Bear v. Leupp (1908),

910 U.S. 59, 80-81: United States v. Creek Nation (1935),

36

295 U. S. 103, 109-110; Seminole Nation v. United States

(1942), 316 U. S. 286, 296-297; Creek Nation vy. United

States (1943), 318 U. S. 629, 642.

In Seminole Nation v. United States (1942), 316 U.S.

286, 296-297, this Court held that in carrying out its treaty

obligations with the Indian tribes the United States is

“something more than a mere contracting party,” and that

its dealings with the Indians should therefore be “judged

by the most exacting fiduciary standards”.

In United States v. Creek Nation (1935), 295 U.S. 103,

109-110, this Court held that the Creek Nation was under

the guardianship of the United States, that it was in a

state of tutelage and entitled to rely on the United States,

its guardian, for needed protection of its interests.

In Quick Bear-v. Leupp (1908), 210 U.S. 50, 80-81.

this Court held that treaty annuities due an Indian tribe

had “exactly the same characteristics” as a “trust fund.”

and that “they are monevs belonging really to the

Indians”.

The Court of Claims has held in Menominee Tribe v.

United States (1944), 101 C. Cl. 10, 19-20, that the United

States is “a debtor who stands in the position of a trustee

or fiduciary toward his creditor’, when the creditor is an

Tndian tribe, and that it would “test the conduct of the

Government, in its handling of the funds of the plaintiff

Indians, by the standards applicable to a trustee”.

In United States vz Seminole Nation (1959), 146 C. C1.

171, 181-182, the Court held that the relationship hetween

the United States and the Indian tribes in general is that

of “a fiduciary relationship”.

The Indian Claims Commission and the Court of Claims

should have taken judicial notice of the decisions of this

Court holding that a fiduciary relationship exists between

the United States and the Indian tribes. and that this

37

relationship need not be proven in litigation under the

Indian Claims Commission Act, which permits only Indian

tribes, bands or other identifiable groups of American

Indians to present their claims against the United States

for final determination.

Whether a general fiduciary relationship or a_tech-

nica] and formal guardian and ward relationship exists

between the parties, the remedies available to the injured

party are the same. Dick v. Albers (1910, 243 IIl..231),

90 N.E. 683, 684-685; Memonime Tribe v. United States

(1944), 101 C. Cls. 10, 19-20; Seminole Nation v. United

States (1942), 316 U. S. 286, 296-297.

Under the well settled principles governing the fiduciary

relationship the United States, as the fiduciary, has the

burden of accounting strictly to an Indian tribe for the

amounts disbursed by it in the fulfillment of its treaty

obligations to the tribe. Dillman vy. Hastings (1892),

144 U.S. 136, 140-142; Villa Site Co. v. Copeland (1920,

N. J. Eq.), 111 A. 39, 43; Ingram v. Lewis (1930, C.C.A.

10), 37 F.2d 259, 260; Akin v. Warner (1945, Mass.), 63

N.E.2d 566, 569-570; Garrett v. First Nat. Bank & Trust

Co..of Vicksburg, Miss. (1946, C.C.A. 5), 153 F.2d 289,

292; Stour Tribe v. United States (1946), 105 C. Cl. 725,

802; Bogert, Trusts and Trustees (1948 Ed.), Vol. 4, Pt. 2,

Sec. 963, p. 243; Scott on Trusts (2nd Ed.). See. 172, pp.

1287-1288. 5

2. The burden of proof of petitioner with respect. to

the claims herein presented was satisfied when the Creek

Nation proved the total amount of the treaty obligations

due it from the United States, and that the admissions in

the Government’s own accounting showed that it had not

disbursed the full amonnts due under said treaty obliga-

tions, and that the balances elaimed by petitioner were

due and owing to it. Bogert on Trusts and Trustees,

(1948 Ed.) Vol. 4, Sec. 969, pp. 297, 299; McComb v. Frink

(1893), 149 U.S. 629, 644; In re Tretheway’s Estate (1939,

Cal.), 89 P.2d 679, 682; Florida Fruit Canners v. Walker

38

(1937, 5 C.C.A.), 90 F.2d 753, 758; Harrison v. Remington

Paper Co. (1905), 140 F. 385, 402.

3. The United States as the fiduciary has the burden

of proving the credits it claims on the unpaid balances

shown to be due petitioner, the United States alone having

kept the records of these transactions; and if the accounts

are not clearly kept, or the records are lost or missing,

all presumptions are resolved against the fiduciary, and

it must stand the resulting loss. Smith v. Robinson (1914,

83 N.J. Eq. 384). 90 A. 1063, 1065; Bennett v. Weber

(1926, 323 Ill. 283), 154 N. E. 105, 110; Talbot v. Auto-

mobile Identification Underwriters, Inc. (1931, Tenn.) 43

S.W.2d 220, 221; Smith v. Tolversen (1934 Minn.) 252

N. W. 423, 425; Benbow v. Benbow (1934, 117 Fla. 37).

157 So. 512, 519; Florida Fruit Canners v. Walker (1937),

90 F.2d 753, 758; Sioux Tribe v. United States (1946),

105 C. Cl. 725, 802; Bogert, Trusts and Trustees (1948

Ed.), Vol. 4, Pt. 2, Sec. 962, pp. 239-242, 244-245 (foot-

note), Sec. 971, p. 328; Restatement of Law of Trusts.

Amer. Law Inst., Vol. 1, Sec. 172, pp. 445-446; Pomeroy’s

Equity Juris. (4th Ed.), Vol. 2, See. 956, pp. 2038-2042.

Wholly apart from the principles governing the fidu-

ciary relationship, it is a general rule of evidence that

when the subject matter of a negative averment lies pecu-

liarly within the knowledge of the other party, the aver-

ment is taken as true, unless disproved by that party;

-and when petitioner’s case depends upon the establish-

ment of a negative, as it does here, and the means of

proving the facts are within the sole possession of the

opposite party, the latter party must produce such proof;

and upon his failure to do so, the presumption arises

that it does not exist, which of itself establishes a nega-

tive. United States v. Denver & R.G.R.R. Co. (1903),

191 U.S. 82, 92; Colorado Coal Co. v. United States

(1887), 123 U.S. 307, 318-320; Rossi v. United States

(1933), 289 U.S. 89, 91-92. This rule has been held to

39

a

apply to accounting cases. Cliett v. Seott (CCA. Sth.

1939), 102 F.2d 725; Merriam v. Venida Blouse Corpora-

tion (S.D.N.Y., 1938), 23 F. Supp. 659, 660-661; United

States v. Bull Steamship Line, S.D.N.Y., 1956), 146 F.

Supp. 210, 213.

Furthermore, the United States has the burden of prov-

ing the credits it asserts as payments made by the United

States on the claims of petitioner, under Section 2 of the

Indian Claiins Commission Act. Menominee Tribe v.

United States (1951), 118 C. Cls. 290, 326; Kiowa, Co-

manche and Apache Tribes, 5 Ind. Cl. Comm. 297, affirined

United States v. Kiowa, Comanche and Apache Tribes

(1958), 143 C.Cls. 534, 543.

4. The failure of the Indian Claims Commission to

make essential findings of fact necessary to the proper

disposition of the claims asserted by petitioner under

the 1802, 1805, 1832, 1833, and 1856 Treaties in question,

and also the payments made under the 1790 Treaty and

the secret article thereof, and making findings not sup-

ported by the substantial evidence in the record, are re-

versible errors. Seminole Nation v. United States (1942),

316 U.S. 310, 316; Snake or Piute Indians v. United States

(1953), 125 C. Cls. 241, 255.

The failure of the Court of Claims to review the record

when the findings of fact of the Commission are chal-

lenged upon appea! as not being supported by substantial

evidence, falls far short of its duty as an appellate eourt

under the provisions of Section 20(b) of the Indian Claims

Commission Act.

When a nation is divided into two independent factions.

who consider each other as enemies, and acknowledge no -

common judge, the nation is dissolved, and neither one

represents the nation, and the party in amity with the

United States cannot be held responsible for the acts of

the other adversary party. Vattel, Book IIT, Ch. XVIII,

|

40

pars. 292, 293, Chitty Ed., pp. 424, 427; Conners v. United

States (1898), 33 C. Cls. 317, 325, affirmed Conners v.

United States (1901), 180 U.S. 271, 275-276; Montoya v.

United States (1897), 32 C. Cls. 349, 361-362, affirmed

Montoya v. United States (1901), 180 U.S. 261, 268. The

majority of the Creek Nation as an ally of the United

States during the Civil War cannot be held responsible

for the action of that part of the Creek Nation that joined

with the South, and waged war against the United States

and the majority of the Creek Nation.

The Creek Nation being thus divided into two independ-

ent parties, payment of annuities by the Southern Con-

federacy to that portion of the Creek Nation that joined

the South, would not discharge the obligation of the

United States to pay the balance of $29,000 due the Creek

Nation under Article VI of the Treaty of August 7, 1856,

11 Stat. 699, here in issue.

The ratification by the Creek Nation of the diversion

of Creek annuities for the relief of refugee Indians during

the Civil War period in Article XI of the Treaty of June

14, 1866, 14 Stat. 785, applied to amounts actually paid

for such purpose, and would not apply to any Creek an-

nuities that had not been proven by the respondent to

have been paid for that purpose.

5. The denial of a writ of certiorari by this Court

does not constitute an affirmance of the decision of the

lower tribunal. United States v. Shubert (1955), 348

U.S, 222, 228-229; Sunal v. Large (1947), 332 U.S. 174,

181; Ffouse v. Mayo (1945), 324 U.S. 42, 48; Atlantic

Coast Line R. Co. v. Powe (1931), 283 U.S. 401, 403-404;

United States v. Carver (1923), 260 U.S. 482, 490; Hamil-

ton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. and Co. (1916), 240

U.S. 251, 258; Darr v. Burford (1950), 339 U.S. 200, 226-

228.

41

ARGUMENT

The majority of the Court of Claims merely affirmed

the findings and opinion of the Indian Claims Commission

by a per curiam statement, and wrote no opinion analyz-

ing the issues raised upon appeal to that Court. So we

must review the dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton

(Senior Judge now retired), joined in by Judge Madden

(now also retired) which carefully, and we believe correct-

ly, analyzed the issues raised upon the appeal in this

case.

A Fidcuiary Relationship Exists Between the United

States and the Indian Tribes, Requiring the United

States to Account Strictly to the Indian Tribes for

the Disbursements Made by It in Fulfillment of Its

Treaty Obligations With Them

It is well settled by the many decisions of this Court

and the Court of Claims that a fiduciary relationship does

in fact exist between the United States and the Indian

tribes, the Creek Nation in this case, and that this rela-

tionship resembles that of guardian and ward.

The dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton clearly re-

views the settled law on this issue as follows (R. 297-301):

“T think that the decisions of the Supreme Court

of the United States, and the prior decisions of this

court, establish that the relationship between the

United States and an Indian tribe is sufficiently simi-

lar to the relationship between a guardian and its

ward to impose upon the United States the burden

of clearly accounting for its fulfillment of its Indian

treaties. .

> . > .

“The Supreme Court has on numerous occasions

made clear that the duties owed by the Government

of the United States to the Indian tribes with which

it deals are of the most exacting nature, to ‘be judged

42

by the most exacting fiduciary standards.’ Seminolc

Nation v. United States, 316 U.S. 286, 297. The basis

for the high obligations owed by the Government was

established as early as 1831, in Cherokee Nation v.

Georgia, 5 Pet. 1, 16-17, where the Court, speaking

through Chief Justice Marshall, stated:

[The Indians} are in a state of pupilage. Their

relation to the United States resembles that of a

ward to his guardian.®

“With respect to the relationship between the Creek

Nation and the United States, the Supreme Court has

said, in Creek Nation v. United States, 295 U.S. 103,

109-110:

*In Cherokee Nation v. Georgia, supra, this Court stated the

reasons for its conclusion as follows:

“* * The condition of the Indians in relation to the United

States is unlike that of any other two people in existence.

In the general, nations not owing a common allegiance are

foreign to each other. The term foreign nation is, with

strict propriety, applicable by either to the cther. But the

relation of the Indians to the United States is marked by

peculiar and cardinal distinctions which exist nowhere else.

“* * They acknowledge themselves in their treaties to

be under the protection of the United States; they admit that

the United States shall have the sole and exclusive right of

regulating the trade with them, and managing their affairs as

they think proper; * * *

“* * They may. more correctly, perhaps, be denominated

domestic dependent nations. They occupy a territory to

which we assert a title independent of their will, which must

take effect in point of possession when their right of posses-

sion ceases. Meanwhile they are in a state of pupilage. Their

relation to the United States resembles that of a ward to

his guardian.

“They look to our government for protection; rely upon

its kindness and its power; appeal to it for relief to their

wants; and address the President as their great father. * *”

The Creek Nation, like the erokee Nation, acknowledged

itself “to be under the protection @ #he United States of America”

in Article II of the Treaty of August 7, 1790, 7 Stat. 35, the first

treaty between the Creek Nation and the United States (stpra,

pr. 11-12).

43

* * * the tribe was a dependent Indian commu-

_— under the guardianship of the United States,

and therefore its property and affairs were sub-

ject to the control and management of that gov-

ernment.

* * * It was in a state of tutelage and entitled

to rely on the United States, its guardian, for

needed protection of its interests.

“The Indian Claims Commission itself has recog-

nized that a ‘fiduciary relationship’ exists between the

Creek Nation and the United States. The Creek

Nation vy. United States, 2 Ind. Cl. Comm. 66, 114.

“The Supreme Court further defined and estab-

lished the nature of the relationship between the

Government and the Indian tribes as simitar to that

of guardian and-ward in United States v. Kagama,

118 U.S. 375, where the Court said, ‘These Indian

tribes are the wards of the Nation.’ 118 U.S. at 383.

“Appellee places great reliance upon an 1886 deci-

sion of this court, Choctaw Nation v. United States,

21 Ct. Cl. 59, where it was said that the cases ‘fall

far short of holding that the rules of law as ap-

“plicable to controversies between guardian and ward

are to prevail in suits between the United States

and the Indian tribes.’ 21 Ct. Cl. at 92-93. Appellee

has overloeked the fact that the decision wa§ reversed

by the Supreme Court, in Choctaw Nation v. United

States, 119 U.S. 1, and that the Supreme Court said:

As was said by this court recently in the case

of the United States v. Kagama, 118 U.S. 375,

383: ‘These Indian Tribes are the wards of the

Nation; they are communities dependent on the

United States; °° °’

e . . . f

The recognized relation between the parties to

this controversy, therefore, is that between a

superior and an inferior, whereby the latter is

placed under the care and control of the former,

and which, while it authorizes the adoption on the

part of the United States of such policy as their

H

own public interests may dictate, recognizes, on

the other hand, such an interpretation of their

acts and promises as justice and reason demand

in all cases where power is exerted by the strong

over those to whom they owe care and protection.

The parties are not on an equal footing, and that

inequality is to be made good by the superior

justice which looks only to the substance of the

right, without regard to technical rules framed

under a system of municipal jurisprudence, for-

mulating the rights and obligations of private

persons, equally subject to the same laws. 119

U.S. at 27-28.

“The Court repeated, in United States v. Payne,

264 U.S. 446, that, with regard to the Indians,

* * * the United States occupies the position and

assumes the responsibilities of virtual guardian-

ship, ° * *. 264 U.S. at 448.

“Of particular importance is the Supreme Court's

ruling in Seminole Nation v. United States, 316 U.S.

286, which involved the question of the handling of

annuity payments to lediane. It is true that the

treaty had set up a ‘trust fund’ out of the interest

from which the annuities were to-be paid. But the

Supreme Court did not base its conclusion upon the

‘trust nature’ of the particular fund involved. The

Court stated:

“<e * * this Court has recognized the distinctive

obligation of trust incumbent upon the Govern-

ment in its dealings with these dependent and

sometimes exploited people. [Citations omitted. ]

In carrying out its treaty obligations with the

Indian tribes, the Government is something more

than a mere contracting party. Under a humane

and self imposed policy which has found expres-

sion in many acts of Congress and numerous

decisions of this Court, it has charged itself with.

moral obligations of the highest responsibility

and trust. Its conduct, as disclosed in the acts

of those who represent it in dealings with the

Indians, should therefore be judged by the most

45

exacting fiduciary standards. 316 U.S. at 296-

“The Court made clear that the Government's

fiduciary responsibilities derive from the status of

the ‘dependent and sometinies exploited’ Indians, and

that the Government bears these responsibilities ‘in

its dealings’ with the Indians, not, as defendant would

have it, merely in connection with those particular

dealings which, when occurring between two equal

parties, would give rise to fiduciary duties.

eo os s e

“The Government strenuously urges that the fact

that appellant and the Government stand in a eredi-

tor-debtor relation precludes the conclusion that it

owes appellant the duties of a trustee. The Govern.

ment’s contention is expressly negatived by the lan-

guage of this court in Menominee Tribe v. United

States, 101 Ct. Cl. 10, 20, where the court stated that

the Government is ‘a debtor who stands in the position

of a trustee or fiduciary toward his creditor, when

the creditor is an Indian tribe. The Supreme Court,

in Quick Bear v. Leupp, 210 U.S. 50, 80, said that

the amounts there in question, a ‘Treaty Fund’ of

annual appropriations for payment of treaty stipu-

lations, i.e., for payment of a debt to the Indians,

had ‘exactly the same characteristies’ as a ‘Trust

Fund’ applied to the education of the Indians. The.

Court said, ‘They are moneys belonging really to

the Indians.” 210 U.S. at 81. That case clearly shows

that the treatment of payments of a debt may be

governed by fiduciary obligations when the debt is

one owed by the United States to an Indian tribe.

As the Supreme Court said in Seminole Nation v.

United States, supra, 316 U.S. at 297, ‘In carrving

out its treaty obligations with the Indian tribes, the

Government is something more than a mere contract-

ing party.’”

The dissenting opinion, in footnote 5, further pointed

out that ¢R. 302):

“The Government, in its brief in this case, acknow)]-

edges that the ‘treaty stipulations made the basis of

46

claim herein, and the allegations of the petition re-

specting them fall into’ the category which the Su-

reme Court in Quick Bear v. Leupp described 2. ‘the

ndians’ money’.”

The dissenting opinion continues (R. 302):

“This court has recognized that it is ‘settled doc-

trine that the United States, as regards its dealings

with the Property of the Indians, is a trustee.’ Me-

nominee Tribe v. United States, 101 Ct. Cl. 10,19. In

that case, the Government was merely a debtor, yet

the court held that it would ‘test the conduct of the

Government, in its handling of the funds of the plain-

tiff indians, by the standards applicable to a trustee.’

101 & Cl at 19. The duty there imposed on the

Government was that of seeing to it that the Indians’

roperty—claims against the Government—was pro-

uctive of an income. This is certainly more than

the duty of an ordinary debtor, and no less rigorous

than the duty of keeping a clear account of the In-

dians’ claims. The court characterized the Govern-

ment’s position as that of ‘debtor-with-the-duties-of-a-

trustee’, 101 Ct. Cl. at 19 (and has recently charac-

terized the Indians as ‘quasi wards’, Chickasaw Nation

v. United States, 132 Ct. Cl. 359, 362).”

In footnote 6 Judge Littleton further pointed out (R.

302-303) :

“This court’s language in Gila River Pima-Maricopa

Indians v. United States, 135 Ct. Cl. 180, 189, relied

on by the Government, is not to the contrary. All

that was said in that case was that the precise, formal

guardian-ward relationship between the United States

and an Indian tribe is created by treaty or other

specific provision, while in the absence of such ex-

ress provision, the relationship is one which is simi-

ar to or resembles the technical guardian-ward re-

lationship, as was held in Creek Nation v. United

States, 318 U.S. 629, 642; Seminole Nation v. United

States, 316 U.S. 286; and Menominee Tribe of In-

dians v. United States, 102 Ct. Cl. 555.

“This court’s opinion in the recent case of United

States v. The Seminole Nation, Appeal No. 3-58, de-

47

cided June 3, 1959, —— Ct. Cl. ——, 173 F. Supp.

784, 790, makes clear that all the Gila River case said

was that while ‘preciseness’ in the relationship is

found in the particular treaty provision, the nature

of the relationship between the United States and

Indian tribes in general is that of ‘a fiduciary rela

tionship’. The court said (173 F. Supp. at 790):

‘Whatever the expression or term used, the rele

tionship is one founded upon a distinctive obligation

of trust. The obligation owed by the government

basically grows out of the dependent status of its

Indian “wards”.’

“IT am also aware of what was said in Kansas or

Kaw Tribe of Indians vy. United States, 80 Ct. Cl

264, 301-302, cert. denied, 296 U.S. 577, to the effect

that a treaty provision similar to that of Article II

of the 1790 Creek Treaty did not create a guardian-

ward relationship. That case was decided on Decem

ber 3, 1934, prior to the Supreme Court's deeision in

Creek Nation v. United States, supra, announced on

April 29, 1935. I think that the Creek ease vitiates

any broad force of this language in the Kansas case,

which can-mean only that o fechnical guardian-ward

relationship does not exist. See United States v.

Seminole Nation, supra, 173 i. Supp. 784,790. For

the same reason the languayse in Omuha Tribe of

Nebraska vy. United States, 6 Ind. Cl, Comm. 68, 71-74,

is of doubtful validity, and is based primarily on the

Kansas case and a misinterpretation of the Gila River

case.”

The dissenting opinion further stated (R. 308-305) -

“I think that the above discussion indicates that

the debt owed to an Indian tribe pursuant to a treaty

must be ‘dealt with by the Government as if it be-

longed to [the Indians], as morally it does’, Quick

Bear v. Leupp, 210 U.S. 50, 80, supra, and that the

Government is bound by duties of a trustee in dealing

with this money. Menominee Tribe v. United States,

101 Ct. Cl. 10, 19, supra. The decision of this court

in Stour Tribe v. United States, 105 Ct. Cl. 725

(certiorari granted, judgment vacated, and case re-

manded to Court of Claims for determination as to

whether plaintiff-petitioner could assert any addi-

tional claims, 329 U.S. 685; supplemental petition

dismissed, 112 Ct. Cl. 50; cert. dented, 337 U.S. 908).

is, therefore, directly applicable here.

‘The defendant is the trustee; it kept and has

all the records and evidence, and it has the burden

-. making a proper accounting. 105 Ct. Cl. at

“In the-Siour case, the Indians sought to recover

certain amounts disbursed by the Government from

trust funds which had arisen from the sale of land

belonging to the Indians. The disbursements had

been made by the Government for certain Indian

agency and educational expenses. The Indians

claimed that the disbursements were for obligations

of the Government, so that they should not bave been

paid out of the Indians’ funds. The Government

maintained that the expenditures were proper charges

against the Indians’ funds since they were expendi-

tures for the benefit of the Indians, and argued that

the Indians had the burden of showing what portion

of the disbursements were for obligations of the

Government. It said that in the voluminous account-

ing as to the claims presented it could not be expected

to detail with exactness the purposes and amounts

of the many disbursements, of that the burden rested

on the Indians to prove such details. The court held,

however, that the ‘primary duty to so classify and

report as to the nature and the amount of disburse.

ments rested on defendant.’ 105 Ct. Cl. at 802.

“The court said:

‘Since the Government obligated itself in the

treaty and the agreements of 1868, 1877, and 1889

to provide agencies, aid and assistance, schools,

and instruction, the burden is on defendant to

show what portion, if any, of such expenses has

not been assumed by it and should be charged

to the Indians. The Government cannot escape

its primary obligations by including, among im-

proper charges against the Indians, expenditures

which it now says, without proof, may have been

to some unknown and unascertainable extent prop-

49

er charges agamst the Indians. The defendant is

the trustee; it kept and has all the records and

evidence, and it has the burden of making a

proper accounting. 105 Ct. Cl. at 802.’ [| Empha-

Sis supplied. |

“The Indian Claims Coi:mission attempted to dis-

tinguish the Siour case on the grounds that it involved

a ‘trust fund’ whose handling was ‘governed by the

rules applying to trustee and guardian,’ while the

present case ‘only involves the relationship of * * *

ordinary debtor and creditor... 7 Ind. Cl. Comm. at

135-136. Since, as has heen demonstrated above, an

Indian tribe and the Government are not ‘ordinary

debtor and creditor’, and the Government's handling

of its debts to the Indians is in fact ‘governed by the

rules applying to trustee and guardian’, the Siour

case is Very much in point here.

“The relationship between the United States and

appellant is not precisely that of guardian and ward,

but their relationship is sufficiently similar thereto

to impose upon the United States the duty of main-

taining a clear and unambiguous account of its pav-

ments to appellant under its various treaty commit-

ments.

“The conclusion that the United States owes to an

Indian tribe the duty of maintaining a clear account

is in accord not only with the authoritatively estab-

lished nature of the relationship between the Govern-

ment and the Indian tribes, but also with a practical

understanding of the problems involved in this par-

ticular aspect of the dealings between these parties.

Throughout the time during which the treaty pay-

ments here in issue were due, the Indians were large.

ly illiterate and unskilled in the wavs of the men who

had arrived from Europe. Particularly unfamiliar

must have heen the wavs of bookkeening and account-

ing. To compare the facilities and capacity for main-

taining financial records possessed bv the United

States Government with those possessed by the Tn-

dians, whose life was oriented so differently, is to

reveal the reasonableness of the conclusion that the

United States is charged with keeping a clear account

30

of the payments-it-makes pursuant to its obligations

to the Indians.”

The cases reviewed in the dissenting opinion of Judge

Littleton support the view that a general fiduciary rela-

tionship does exist between the Indian tribes and the

United States, and that this relationship developed from

the great disparity of the parties, the complete dependence

of the Indian tribes upon the United States in the deal-

ings between them, and under the provisions of treaties

under which these tribes agreed to come under the pro-

tection of the United States.

In Words and Phrases (Perm. Ed.), Vol. 8A, p. 103,

it is stated:

“‘Confidential relationship’ exists when circum-

stances make it certain that parties do not deal on

equal terms, but on one side there is an overmaster-

ing influence, or, on the other, weakness, dependence

or trust, justifiably reposed and does not exist where

parties deal on terms of equality. In re Stroming’s

Will, 79 A.2d 492, 495, 12 N. J. Super. 217.”

Given a general fiduciary relationship, or a technical

formal guardian and ward relationship, the remedies

applicable to both are the same. In the ease of Dick v.

Albers (1910, 243 Ill. 231), 90 N. E. 683, 684-685, the Court

states:

“* © The terms ‘fiduciary relation’ and ‘confidential

relation’ have frequently been used interchangeably

by courts and law writers. In general, the relation-

ship is one in which if a wrong arise the same remedy

exists on behalf of the injured party as would exist

. against a trustee on behalf of the cestui que trust,

Central Nat. Bank v Connecticut Mutual Life Ins.

Co., 104 U.S. 54, 26 L. Ed. 693. A person is said

to stand in a fiduciary relation to another when he

has rights and duties which he is bound to exercise

for the benefit of that other person. In such case he

is not allowed to derive any profit or advantage from

the relation between them, except upon proof of full

knowledge and consent of the other person. The rela-

tions of attorney and client, principal and agent,

Jl

guardian and ward, are familiar illustrations of fidu-

ciary relations. The relation exists in all cases

where there has been 2 special confidence reposed in

One who in equity and good -econscience is bound to

act in good faith and with due regard to the interests

of the one reposing the confidence. The rule em-

braces both technical and fiduciary relations, and

those informal relations which exist wherever one man

trusts in and relies on another. fChe origin of the

confidence reposed is immaterial. Vhomas vy. Whitney,

186 Ill. 225, 57 N. EF. 808.”

See also Menominee Trihe v. United States (1944), 101

C.Cls. 10, 19-20. ;

This Court applied the above principle in Seminole

Nation v. United States, 316 U.S. 286, 296-297. and stated

that in carrying out its treaty obligations with the Indian

tribes, the Government is more than a mere contracting

party, and that its dealings with the Indians should “be

judged by the most exacting fiduciary standards.”

The Commission properly found that the petitioner

was an Indian tribe, and that it had authority te present

this claim under the Indian Claims Commission Act (R.

264). As this act applies solely to tribes, bands and

identifiable groups of American Indians, we submit that

the Commission erred in finding that the petitioner must

further prove affirmatively that a general fiduciary rela-

tionship existed between the Creek Nation and the United

States; and suggests that the Commission and the ma-

jority of the Court of Claims should have taken judicial

notice of the decisions of this Court, and their own deci

sions, holding that a fiduciary relationship does in fact

exist between the Indian tribes and the United States,

Clearly the dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton, con

eurred in by Judge Madden, correctly reflects the many

holdings of this Court that a fiduciary relationship doe-

exist between the Indian tribes and the United States,

and that the United States, as the fiduciary, has the bur-

ov

den of making a clear and precise accounting to petitioner

for the payments it made under its treaty obligations here .

brought into question. Diliman v. Hastings (1892), 144

U.S. 136, 140-142; Villa Site Co. v. Copeland (1920, 91

N.J. Eq. 503), 111 A. 39, 43, 13 A. L. R. 356; Ingram vy.

Lewis (1930, C.C.A. 10), 37 F.2d 259, 260, 70 A.L.R. 702;

Akin v. Warner (1945, Mass.) 63 N.E.2d 566, 569-570;

Garrett v. First Nat. Bank @ Trust Co. of Vickshury,

Miss. (1946, C.C.A. 5), 153 F.2d 289, 292; Stour Tribe v.

United States (1946), 105 C. Cls. 725, 802; Bogert, Trusts

and Trustees (1948 Ed.), Vol. 4, Pt. 2, See. 963, p. 243;

Scott on Trusts (2nd Ed.) Sec. 172, pp. 1287-1288.

2. —_—

Petitioner Was Entitled to Rely upon the Admissions

Contained in the Government’s Accounting Report

In 1932 the United States accounted to the Creek Nation

for the first time for the manner in which it performed its

treaty obligations to that tribe, and filed its accounting

report in Case H-510, Creek Nation v. United States, 78

C. Cls. 474, involving disbursements of Creek funds for

the period beginning July 1, 1898 (R. 15-16); This suit

was filed under the jurisdictional act of May 24, 1924

ce. 181, 48 Stat. 139, as amended by Joint Resolution

of May 19, 1926, ¢. 341, 44 Stat. 568, and by Joint Resolu

tion of February 19, 1929, ¢. 268, 45 Stat. 1229, limiting

the time for filing claims thereunder to June 30, 1930 (R.

16-17). As the accounting report was not filed in that

proceeding until August 10, 1932 (R. 15-16), after the

date for filing claims had expired, the claims now pre-

sented were not litigated in Case H-510, but petitioner

was required to wait until the passage of the Indian

Claims Commission Act of August 13, 1946, ¢. 959, 60

Stat. 1049, to do so.

The admissions in the accounting report of the Govern.

ment clearly show that the balances herein claimed to be

23

due the Creek Nation had not been disbursed by th:

United States in fulfillment of its treaty obligations te

tue Creek Nation in question. As the dissenting Opinion

of Judge Littleton, states (R. 295):

“Appellant introduced in evidenee before the Indian

Claims Commission the reeords of treaty payments to

appellant which were maintained by the Government

and are now in the custody of the General Account

ing Office. These records do not specifically show that

‘he entire amounts due under the various ‘reaties

In issue were paid to appellant.

“The amounts claimed by appellant are $62,309.75

under the Treaty of 1802, $36,547.75 under the Treaty

of 1805, $10,061.01 under the Treaty of 1832, $20).

404.55 under the Treaty of 1833, and $29,000 under

the Treaty of 1856. The total claimed is $167,323.06."

Petitioner has set forth above the balances shown hy

the Government’s accounting to be due and owing to

petitioner under the several treaties in’ issue.

Bogert on Trusts and Trustevs (1948 Ed.), Vol. 4. Pt.

2, Sec. 969, pp. 297, 299, states:

“It is elementary that the cestuis and other inter

ested parties should be given an opportunity to ex

amine the account and object to any item. * *

“The issues are framed by the account and the

objections thereto.”

See also In re Trethewan'’s Estate (1989, Cal.), 80 Pd

679, 682; Florida Fruit Canners vy. Walker (1987. 4

C.C.A.), 90 F.2d 753, 758; Harrison vy. Reminaton Pape

Co. (1905), 140 F. 385, 402. As was stated in Florida

Fruit Canners vy. Walker, supra, at p. 758:

“* * A trustee has the burden of establishing the

correctness of his account because either the charges

in that account are a matter of record, are adimitted

in the account, or are solely within the knowledge of

the trustee; and the trustee is undertaking to satisfy

those charges against him by proof of allowable ered

54

its in his favor. When it is established that a certain

value has come into his possession by virtue of the

trust relation, he has the burden of showing that that

value .s offset by a proper credit in his account. * * ”

See also McComb v. Frink (1893), 145 U.S. 629, 644.

The parties agreed, except with respect to the claim un-

der the 1833 Treaty, on the total amount of the obligations

of the United States to the Creek Nation under each of

the treaty provisions in question, and the Government's

accounting report clearly sets forth the total disburse-

ments made by the United States under these total treaty

obligations. The balances herein claimed constitute the

differences between the total treaty obligations owing to

the Creek Nation, and the total amounts actually disbursed

by the United States in fulfillment thereof, as disclosed

in the Government's accounting report. The petitioner

thus supported the claims herein presented, by the Govern

ment's own accounting report.

3.

The United States as the Fiduciary Has the Burden

of Proving the Credits It Claims

Petitioner contended before the Commission, and on

appeal in the Court of Claims, that the United States,

as the fiduciary, had the burden of proving the credits

it claimed against the specific balances shown by its own

accounting report to be due the Creek Nation under the

treaty obligations in issue.

The Indian Claims Commission stated in its opinion

(7 Ind. Cl. Comm. at p, 132; R. 277):

“°° * we think the disposition of the case, without

going into many of the contentions and controversies

as to items, is determined by where the burden of

oof lies—that is whether the burden is on the part

of the plaintiff to prove a failure to discharge the

obiigations undertaken by the defendant, or whether

vo

the burden is on the defendant to prove that it dis-

charged these obligations and is liabie to the plaintiff

upon its failure to do so. This question is determina-

ble by whether the defendant stands in relation to

the plaintiff as guardian or as trustee of funds be-

longing to the plaintiff, or whether the relationship

is that of debtor and ereditor.”

The dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton defined the

issue, as it relates to petitioner's claims under the Treaties

of 1802 and 1805, as follows (R. 296):

“Appellee’s contention is that, because appellant did

not show that any of this $99,461.45 was nof paid in

satisfaction of the obligations of the 1802 and 1805

Treaties, tle Government is entitled to credit the

entire amount against its obligations under those

treaties. The $99,461.45 exceeds the $98,857.50 claimed

by appellant to be due, so appellee's theory would

defeat recovery under these two treaties. The Indian

Claims Commission adopted the Government's posi-

tion and determined that nothing was due to appel-

lant. 7 Ind. Cl. Comm. 117.

“Appellant argues that the relationship between

the United States and an Indian tribe is such that the

Government has the burden of presenting an accuri te

accounting of its payments to appellants pursuant

to the treaties in question. Appe'lant maintains,

therefore, that the Government is not entitled to credit

for any amounts not specifically allocated on its books

to fulfillment of these treaties.”

The fallaey of the Commission's holding, affirmed by the

majority of the Court of Claims, is quite apparent: (1)

it denies the general fiduciary relationship existing be-

tween the parties which the decisions of this Court hold

arises out of the great disparity of the parties; (2) it

places upon petitioner the burden of proving the credits

claimed by the fiduciary, whereas the law places upon

the fiduciary the burden of proving its own claimed

credits; and (3) it charges petitioner with the entire

amount of disbursements made under the Treaty of 1790

56

against the Treaties of 1802 and 1805, without taking

into account the obligations of the United States under

the 1790 Treaty, and the Seeret Article thereof; and (4)

it requires the pecitioner to prove a negative, when the

proof of such facts is solely within the knowledge and

control of the respondent, and not within the knowledge

of petitioner.

The holding of the Indian Claims Commission, as af-

firmed, would impose upon the Indian tribe the burden of

proving a negative--that the tribe did not receive the

balances claimed to be due under the treaties in question,

when the Government’s own accounting report shows that

the United States failed to disburse said balances in ful-

fillment of the obligations it assumed under these treaties.

In other words, the iribe would be charged with explaining

the government’s accounting, and with endeavoring to

allocate the disbursements shown therein, which the Gov-

ernment’s own accounting officers cannot definitely allocate

to any particular Creek treaty obligation. It ean well be

wondered how an Indian tribe, unfamiliar with the ac-

counting methods of the United States, and ignorant of the

English language, could explain the ambiguities contained

in the Government's own accounting report, which defend-

ant’s own accounting officers state they are unable to do

themselves.

As Judge Littleton’s dissenting opinion pointed out, the

Sioux Case, supra, clearly settled the question of whether

the United States or an Indian tribe, has the burden of

proof in such accounting matters, Judge Littleton, also

wrote the decision of the Court of Claims in the Sioux

Case, and_in_hic <lissentinecpinien_in_the instant case,

Gase in which the Court of Claims clearly held that:

“* * The defendant is the trustee; it kept and has

all the reeords and evidence, and it has the burden

of making a proper accounting.” 105 C. Cl. at p. 802.

57

The views of Judge Littleton are consistent with the

well settled principles governing an accounting by the

guardian to his ward. In Bogert, Trusts and Trustees

(1948 Ed.), Vol. 4, Part 2, See. 962, pp. 239-242, it is

stated:

“*To keep an accurate account is one of the pri-

mary duties of a trustee. The general rule of law

applicable to a trustee burdens him with the duty of

showing that the account which he renders and the

expenditures which he claims to have mado were cor-

rect, just and necessary. * * * He is bound to keep

clear and accurate accounts, and if he does not the

presumptions are all against him, obscurities and

doubts being resolved adversely to him.’ ”

“The principal penalty usually stated to apply to

a trustee who fails to keep proper records of his trust

is that ‘all presumptions are against him’ on his ae-

counting, or that ‘all doubts on the accounting are

resolved against him.’ * * *

“* * * If he claims that he made payments to

creditors or cestuis, these disbursements are disputed,

and the trustee has no written evidence to substantiate

his position due to a faulty record system, the court

will tend to disallow the item. Had the trustee per-

formed his duty by taking receipts of vouchers, he

could have made a clear case for the disbursements.

His failure to present such evidence casts suspicion

on the claim and renders the court unwilling to hold

that he has borne the burden of proving the payment

by a preponderance of the evidence,

“If the trustee claims that he kept an account book

but that he has lost it, it has been held that he must

bear the burden of proving the payments which he

alleges were shown by the book, and that doubts will

be resolved against him. * *”

In the footnote at pages 244-245 it is further stated:

“It is well settled that when a fiduciary relation is

shown to exist, and property or property interests

38

have been intrusted to an agent or trustee, the burden

is thrown upon such agent intrusted to render an ac-

count and to show that all his trust duties have been

fully performed, and the manner in which they have

veen performed. It is assumed that the agent or

trustee has means of knowing and does know what the

Ss or cestui que trust cannot know, and is

und to reveal the entire truth. * * * It is not nec-

essary in such a case as this that the plaintiff should

show that there will be something found due to her

on the accounting. That fact can never be known

with certzinty until the account has been taken. The

right to this accounting results from the facts that the

fiduciary relation has been created and assumed by

the agent or trustee and that the principal or cestui

que trust is not informed and does not know what

has been done with reference to the property or prop-

erty interests confided to the agent or trustee. Frethey

v. Durant, 48 N. Y. S. 839, 24 App. Div. 58, 61, 62.”

And Section 971, p. 328, states:

“The burden is on the accounting trustee to prove

to the satisfaction of the court the merit of all claims

for credit which he makes. * * *”

See also the Restatement of the Law of Trusts, Amer-

ican Law Institute, Vol. 1, See. 172, pp. 445-446; Pom-

eroy’s Equity Juris, (4th Ed.) Vol. 2, See. 956, pp. 2038-

9

~_e

It is well settled that the trustee has the burden of

proving the credits claimed by him. Talbot v. Automobile

Identification Underwriters, Inc. (1931, Tenn.) 43 S.W. 2d

220, 221; Smith v. Tolversen, (1934 Minn.) 252 N.W. 423,

425; Florida Fruit Canners v. Walker (1937), 90 F. 2d 753,

758; Smith v. Robinson, (1914, 83 N. J. Eq. 384), 90 A.

1063, 1065.

It is also well settled that if the trustee loses his ae-

counts he must bear any resulting damage, Benbow v.

Benbow, (1934, 117 Fla. 37), 157 So. 512, 519; and the diffi-

eulty in making proot of expenses and disbursements by

ov

the trustee is no reason why the rule of striet account-

ability should be relaxed. Bennet v. Weber (1926, 323 TI.

283), 154 N.E. 105, 110,

We submit that the petitioner has amply proven its

case by alleging and proving the total extent of the

Government's treaty obligations, and further showing by

the Government's own accounting records, that the total

obligations of the Government have not been fulfilled.

Clearly the Government must be held to be responsible

for the ambiguities in its own accounting, in view of its

duty as the fiduciary to render clear and aecurate accounts

of the amounts disbursed in fulfillment of its treaty obliga-

tions to an Indian tribe.

The dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton pointed out

that the obligation of the United States under the Treaty

of 1790 was at least $1,500 per year, and for the years

1790 through 1797, and 1800 through 1809, a total of

eighteen years, the Government's records do not specifical-

ly show payment of this $1,500 annuity, and that at least

$27,000 of the payments made from 1803 to 1818 were

made in fulfillment of the 1790 Treaty obligation; and

that of the $99,461.45 shown by the Government’s accounts

to have been paid to the Creeks, but not allocated to

specific treaties, at most $72,461.45 can be credited to the

Government as fulfillment of its obligations under the

Treaties of 1802 and 1805, leaving a balanee of $26,396.05

which is not shown to have been paid, (R, 307). llowever,

the dissenting opinion concludes (R. 307) :

“*° ° * In addition, IT think that appellant should

be permitted, upon a remand to the Indian Claims

Commission, to show any other obligations of the

United States, in addition to the $1,500 under the 1790

Treaty, for which the payments shown for 1803

through 1818 could have been intended, so that the

amounts of such obligations could be subtracted from

the $72,461.45 which I find to be the maximum allow-

able to the Government against its 1802 and 1805

treaty obligations, giver the state of its records.”

60

We believe that even this burden petitioner should not

bear, and in this instance petitioner differs from the dis-

senting opinion. It must be remembered that the respond-

ent injected into the case the disbursements under the

Treaty of 1790, in order to show credits due it on the

balances shown to be due petitioner under the Govern-

ment’s obligations under the Treaties of 1802 and 1805.

However, the Government had assumed obligations under

the 1790 Treaty, other than the $1,500 annual payment.

Under Article XII it obligated itself to furnish “from time

to time gratuitiously the said nation with useful domestic

animals and implements of husbandry”; and under the

secret article agreed to pay the Creek chiefs an annual

stipend for life, in the amount of $1,200 to Alexander

McGillivray, and to each of 6 other Chiefs $100 a year

for life, or $600.00 annually (R. 197). We submit that if

the respondent is entitled to credit in any amount shown

by its accounting as disbursements under the 1790 Treaty,

it must prove that it is entitled to further credits against

the Government's obligations under Treaties of 1802 and

1805 out of the net balance of $72,461.45. Certainly it is

better able to explain it own accounting records, and what

these disbursements were for than petitioner, and if it

cannot prove that it is entitled to further credits from

this amount of $72,461.45 the presumptions are against

the fiduciary, and it would be entitled to no further credits

against the 1802 and 1805 Treaty obligations.

As the statute of limitations is waived by the Indian

Claims Commission Act the claims are to be considered as

if they developed today.

Quite apart from:the duty of the United States as the

fiduciary to account as such, an independent. principle

places the burden upon the United States here. It is

established that the funds in question came into the Gov-

ernment’s hands; that it alone has the books of account

to explain what happened to the funds; and if the negative

61

averment of non-payment be not true, it is peculiarly with

in the Government's hands to ostablish the fact. As au

result, the burden is squarely on the United States for

se * * It is a general rule of evidence, noticed hy

the elementary writers upon that subject, 1 Greeni,

Ev. sec, 79, ‘that where the subject matter of a nega.

tive averment lies peculiarly within the knowledge of

the other party, the averment is taken as true, unless

disproved by that party.’ When a negative is averred

in pleading, or plaintiff's ease depends upon the estab-

lishment of a negative, and the means of proving the

fact are equally within the control of each party, then

the burden of proof is upon the party aver*ing the

negative; but we the opposite party must, from the

nature of the case, himself be in possession of full

and plenary proof to disprove the negative averment,

and the other party is not in possession of such proof,

then it is manifestly just and reasonable that the

party which is in possession of the proof should be

required to adduce it; or, upon his failure to do so,

we must presume it does not exist, which of itself

establishes a negative. * °°” United States v. Denver

& R.G.R.R. Co. (1903), 191 U.S. 84, 92.

To the same effect is Colorado Coal and Iron Co. vy.

United States (1887), 123 U.S. 307, 318-320. Rossi v.

United States (1933), 289 U.S. 89, 91-92.

As shown by the foregoing citations, the United States

is subject to this rule of evidence. And the rule has been

flatly held to apply in accounting cases, as where a sur-

Viving partner, with the books of account, has it peculiarly

within his knowledge or means to make the accounting.

Clieit v. Scott (CLCLA. Sth, 1939), 102 F.2d 725. See also,

Merriam v. Venida Blouse Corporation (S.D.N.Y., 1988),

23 F.Supp. 659, 660-661; United States v. Bull Steamship

Line, (S.D.N.Y., 1956), 146 F.Supp. 210, 213.

The dissenting opinion also pointed out (R. 293):

“° * * Moreover, I am of the opinion the Commis-

sion has not followed the principles of the decided

cases nor the rules of this court with respect to bur-

62

den of proof where the Government sets up and relies

on the affirmative defense of payment (Rule 15(b) of

the Rules of the Court of Claims, ”

Furthermore, Section 2 of the Indian Claims Commis-

sion Act, provides in part that “the Commission shall

make appropriate deductions for all payments made by the

United States on the claim”. It is now well settled that

under this provision of the Act the United States has the

burden of proving the credits it asserts against the claims

presented by the petitioner. Menominee Tribe v. United

States (1951), 118 C. Cls. 290, 326; Kiowa, Comanche and

Apache Tribes, 5 Ind. Cls. Comm. 297, affirmed United

States v. Kiowa, Comanche and Apache Tribes (1958) 143

C. Cls. 534, 543.

4.

The Majority of the Court of Claims Failed in Its Duty

as an Appellate Court under Section 20(b) of the

Indian Claims Commission Act to Determine Whether

the Findings of the Commission Are Supported by

Substantial Evidence When the Findings Are Chal-

lenged on Appeal

Petitioner assigned as error and contended before the

Court of Claims on appeal that the Indian Claims Com-

mission failed to make proper findings of fact essential to

the proper disposition of the claims under the Treaties

of 1802 and 1805, 1832, 1833, and 1856, and made findings

not supported by the substantial evidence in the record

with respect to petitioners claim under the 1856 Treaty

(R. 284-291).

The majority of the Court of Claims failed completely

to review the record and decide whether the findings of

the Commission were supported by substantial evidence,

or whether the Commission made findings essential to the

proper disposition of the claims herein presented, as it

was in duty bound to do under Section 20(b) of the Indian

Claims Commission Act.

63

The dissenting opinion states (R. 293-294) :

“* * Finally, the per curiam opinion of this

court falls far short of meeting the obligation of an

appellate court to give guidance to the court below

(the Indian Claims Commission) and to the litigants

in an appeal on a novel and important matter, an

obligation which, until this time, the court has con-

scientiously fulfilled. The appeat by the Indians in

this case is in no sense frivolous and I am of the

opinion that the litigants are entitled to an opinion

showing that the court has not disregarded or over-

looked the very serious arguments of counsel on both

sides. Furthermore I believe that the majority mis-

takes this court’s appellate function in claims ap-

pealed from the Indian Claims Commission to be like

that of the Circuit Court of Appeals in appeals from

the District Courts, 28 U.S.C. § 1291. Section 20())

of the Indian Claims Commission Act is quite explicit

with regard to the manner in which this court is to

review final determinations of the Commission. It

provides:

“On said appeal the Court shall determine

whether the findings of fact of the Commission

are supported by substantial evidence, in which

event they shall be conclusive, and also whether

the conclusions of law, including any conclusions

respecting ‘fair and honorable dealings’, where

applicable, stated by the Commission as a_ basis

for its final determination, are valid and support-

ed by the Coinmission’s findings of fact. In

making the foregoing determinations, the Court

shall review the whole record or such portions

thereof as may be cited by any party, and due

account shall be taken of the rule of prejudicial

error. © * © [Emphasis supplied.| 25 U.S.C. ‘

70s(b).

In the instant case there are serious objections earn-

estly and fully argued by the appellant regarding the

findings of the Commission and lack of findings by

the Commission. For these reasons I am foreed to

state my views in some detail.”

64

However, the dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton.

joined in by Judge Madden, did review the whole record

and pointed out the shortcomings of the findings of the

Commission with respect to each of the claims in question

(R. 307-315). We review the facts disclosed by the reeord

that should have been considered by the Commission in

determining this case.

Claim Under Treaties of 1802 and 1805

As pointed out by Judge Littleton, the Commission

charged against the balance of $98,857.50, shown by the

Government's accounting report to be due petitioner under -

the 1802 and 1805 Treaties, the total of the unallocated

items which could not be identified with these treaties,

or $99,461.45, and thus offset the amount due petitioner

under them; but in doing so failed to find facts relating to

the obligations under the Treaty of 1790, which were

shown not to have been fulfilled during the period 1790

through 1810 (R. 307). The dissenting opinion pointed

out that at least $26,396.05 was due petitioner under the

provision of the 1790 treaty requiring the Government

to pay $1,500.00 per annum as a permanent annuity over

this period (R. 307), leaving a balance of $72,461.45, of

the unallocated items, which possibly could be charged

against the balance of $98,857.50 due under the 1802 and

1805 Treaty obligations of the United States (R. 307-

308). Judge Littleton further suggested that the case

should be remanded to the Indian Claims Commission to

permit appellant to show any other obligations of the

United States, in addition to the $1,500 annuity under

the 1790 Treaty, for which the payments shown for the

years 1803 through 1818 could have been intended, so that

the amounts of such obligations could be subtracted from

the $72,461.45 which he found to be the maximum allow-

able to the Government against its 1802 and 1805 Treaty

obligations (R. 307-308).

bo

The dissenting opinion, therefore, recognizes that there

were other obligations of the United States under the

Article NIL of the 1790 Treaty requiring it to furnish

the Creek Nation with useful domestic animals and im-

plements of husbandry, and to supply interpreters; and

also the obligation under the secret article of this treaty

to pay yearly stipends to Creek Chiefs during the period

of their lives, which could make up considerable of the

$72,461.45 balance. (R. 197, 215). For instance, the record

shows that three of the medal chiefs were still living in

1811, and that the United States estimated payments due

them of $300.00 for that year (R. 219-220, 226, 230-231).

Also the letter of Benjamin Hawkins, United States Agent

for the Creek Nation, to the Secretary of War, dated July

9, 1807, states in part, “I have heard nothing of the goods

or articles deemed necessary for the plan of civilization

for the present vear. The agricultural part is retarded

for want of the hoes, however the supply will be equally

useful the ensuing year” (R. 215), indicating clearly that

such items were forwarded or expected to be forwarded

under Article XII of this treaty.

We submit that in view of the fact that the respondent

injected the 1790 Treaty payments into the case in order

to show credits due it, that it, as the fiduciary, has the

burden of showing that any of the $72,461.45, or the bal-

ance of the unallocated items, was due as a credit on the

halance of $98,857.50 shown to be due petitioner on the

Government's 1802 and 1805 Treaty obligations.

As the Commission made no findings with respect. to

the unfulfilled obligations of the United States under the

Treaty of 1790 and the secret article thereof, we submit

that the Court of Claims should have remanded the case

to the Commission for such essential findings,

Claim Under Treaty of 1832

Judge Littleton further pointed out that the Commission

failed to make essential findings of whether or not the

66

Government's obligation under Article XILI] of this treaty

had been fulfilled, and stated (R. 308) :

“1 think that the Commission’s failure to find wheth-

er the 1832 Treaty obligation was fulfilled requires us

to remand this portion of the case to the Commission

for such a finding. On its face, the Commission's

‘finding’ is merely a restatement of the Government's

contention, and not a finding at all.

“The Commission’s ‘ultimate’ finding that there was

not sufficient evidence in the record to show that any

of the indebtedness claimed by appellant had not

been discharged does not remedy its failure to make

a material finding of fact. Where required findings

are not made by the Commission, the court will set

aside the Commission’s final determination and _ re-

mand the case so that such findings may be made.

Snake or, Piute Indians v. United States, 125 Ct. Cl.

241, 255.”

Claim Under Treaty of 1833

With respect to the claim under the Treaty of 1835,

Judge Littleton stated (R. 309-310):

“The Indian Claims Commission concluded that it

was unnecessary for it to determine whether the basis

for establishing the treaty liability as contended for

by appellant was correct, in view of its holding that

appellant had ‘not proven the alleged failures of the

appellee to fulfill its obligations * * °°. 7 Ind. CL.

Comm., 138. Since | would conclude that appellant

has laid sufficient basis for a conclusion that appellee

failed to fulfill its obligations,-I] think that it was

necessary fur the Indian Claims Commission to deter-

mine the amount of the Government's obligation under

the 1833 Treaty. 1 wouid therefore remand this por-

tion of the case to the Commission for such deter-

mination.” ,

'

We submit that this is a correct conclusion to be reached

with respect to the Commission's failure to make essential

findings necessary to the proper disposition of this claim.

67

Claim Under Treaty of 1856

Judge Littleton pointed out in the dissent that wotl

respect to petitioner's claim under the Treaty of sae,

the Commission's finding—that the $20,000 balance due the

Creek Nation as interest on the $200,000 trust fund, pre

vided for in Article VI of the Treaty of August 7, 1856,

1] Stat. 699, was paid to the Creek Nation—was not supp

ported by substantial evidence, and that the evidenee in

the record does not support the finding that this payment

was made to the Creek Nation.

The respondent claimed credit for two separate pay

ments of the $29,000 due: (1) the payment made by the

Confederate States, and (2) payment of said) amount

to refugee Indians, not necessarily Creek refugee Indians

(R. 33-34), under the Civil War Resolution of February

22, 1862, 12 Stat. 614, and ratified by the Creek Nation

by Article XI of the Treaty of June 14. 1866, 14 Stat. 7&5.

789-790. (R. 310, 313).

Judge Littleton reviewed the entire record, compared it

with the findings of the Commission, and set forth the

facts as follows (R. 310-315):

Appellant claims that the stipulated interest

for the vears 1857 through 1861, inclusive, a total of

$90,000, was appropriated by Congress but that ap:

pellee’s records show distributions of only $21,000

pursuant to this obligation. Appellant claims the

balance of $29,000. Appelee claims credit for twe

separate payments of the $29,000,

“(1) First, appellee claims that the $29,000 was paid

to the Creek Nation by the Confederate States of

America, pursuant to the treaty, dated July 10, 1861,

between the Confederate States and the Creek Nation.

Appellee asserts that the Creek Nation's acceptance

of the payment bv the Confederate States of the

payment by the Confederate States of the United

States’ obligation discharged the United States lia-

bility.

6s

“Appellant does not contest appellee's proposition

of law, but denies that there was proper payment or,

if there was, that it was validly accepted by the Creek

Nation,

“The Indian Claims Commission found:

‘In a treaty dated July 10, 1861, between the

plaintiff and the Confederate States of America,

it was agreed that the Confederate States of

America would pay said sum of $29,000 due and

owing by the United States.

‘The Confederate States paid the $29,000 and

plaintiff accepted the same.

‘The United States Congress also approved the

payment of the $29,000 involved in this claim for

the benefit of Indians remaining loyal to the

United States during the Civil War, which ex-

penditure the plaintiff Indians approved and

ratified in the Treaty of June 14, 1866.

“Appellant argues that the Treaty of July 10, 1861,

between the Creek Nation and the Confederate States,

conciuded at North Fork Village on the North Fork of

the Canadian River, west of Arkansas, which provided

for the payment of the $29,000 by the Confederate

States, was only approved by some of the Creek chiefs

.ithout the action of the Creek Council, the governing

body of the Creek Nation, and that the Creek Nation

was about evenly divided in sympathies between the

Union and the Confederacy. [R. 145, 155-157, 161,

166),

“I do not think that there is any evidence that the

$20,000 was pd to the Creek Nation. The evidence

shows that in Article ALI of the 1861 Treaty the

Confederate States agreed to pay the $29,000 [R. 256-

257!: that the Provisional Congress of the Confed-

erate States appropriated the $29,000 on December 24,

1861 | R. 257): that on December 30, 1861, that amount

was requisitioned by J. P. Benjamin, the Confederate

Secretary of War, from the Confederate Secretary

of the Treasury [R. 259]; that on the same date C. G.

Memmenver, the Secretary of the Treasury, ordered

69

a War Department Warrant No. 16 to be issued in

favor of General Albert: Pike, a War Department

agent, for delivery to Major Elias Rector, Superin

tendent of indian Affairs | R. 259); that on January 1,

1862, S. S. Seott, Acting Commissioner of Indian

Affairs, wrote to Majer Rector at) Fort) Smith,

Arkansas, informing him that the money was in the

hands of General Pike for delivery to him [R. 261):

and that on January 2s, 1862, General Pike wrote to

Major Reetor from Little Rock, Arkansas, informing

him that he supposed he would reach Fort Smith in

six days |[R. 262-263]. It is true that there is no

receipt for the $29,000, but in the light of the evidence

which | have detailed, ] think it was not improper for

the Indian Claims Commission to conclude that the

money was received by the Indians. See Chickasaw

Nation v. United States, supra, 108 Ct. Cl. at do.

“However, although the evidence may be sufficient

to support a finding that a payment ef $29,000 was

made to some Creek Indians, there is no indication

that this payment was made to the Creek Nation, as

distiszuished from some portion thereof. The obliga-

tion here was owed to the Creek Nation, and could

not be satisfied by payment to any party other than

the Creek Nation. Debts can only be satistied when

paid to the creditors to whom they are due, or to

others by direction of lawful authority. Therefore, a

payment to any party other than the Creek Nation,

even if that party was some portion of the Creek

Nation, cannot have satisfied the obligation owed to

the Creek Nation unless the party receiving payment

was authorized to receive it on behalf of the Creek

Nation. The evidence upon which appellee relies to

show payment indicates that no payment was made

to any party before January 28, 1862. on which date

General Pike, the Confederate representative charged

with delivering the money to the Creeks, was still at

Little Rock, Arkansas [R. 262-262]. The evidence also

indicates that after the treaty with the Confederacy

had been signed on July 10, 1861, a considerable por

tion of the Creek Nation, under the leadership of

Opoeth-le-vo-ho-la, was in sympathy with the Union.

This group met in convention on August o and de-

70

clared that the chiefs who had signed the Confederate

treaty had forfeited their administrative rank [R.

161]. A ‘Non-Treaty Party’ moved westward to avoid

the reach of those who were sympathetic to the Con

federate cause, and sent messengers to confer with

representatives of the United States | R. 161-166]. The

evidence also shows that by November 15, the Union-

minded Creeks had withdrawn further north, toward

the southern border of Kansas, and that they fought

a series of battles with Confederate forces along the

shores of the Arkansas and Verdegris Rivers through-

out November and December of 1861 [R. 140-146, 165-

174). The size of the group with Opoeth-le-vo-ho-la

is estimated at around 2,000 men, plus women, chil-

dren, and the siek and aged, in a total number of

perhaps 6,000, estimated to be from one-half to three

fourths of the Creeks |R. 140-141, 145-146, 166, 183).

It also appears that during the months of November

and December representatives of the refugee Creek

groups were treating with United States agents for

relief for the refugees and arranging for the render-

ing of military assistance by the Creeks to the United

States [R. 142-144, 148, 175-184].

“Tt seems to me to be clearly established by the

evidence that the Creek Nation had become divided

into two independc -t entities. It cannot be said that

the portion which remained in the South constituted,

after some time in November of 1861, the Creek Na-

tion, Payment to this southern group cannot be said

to have been payment of the obligation which was

owed to the Creek Nation.

“The record is barren of any evidence to show pay-

ment te an entity which could be called the Creek

Nation, since it shows, as pointed out by appellee,

that payment was made somewhere in the vicinity of

Little Rock, Arkansas (that is, at the camp of the

Southern group) some time after January 28, 1862

(that is, when the Creeks remaining in that vicinity

no longer constituted the Creek Nation).

“(2) The basis for appellee's second claim of eredit

for a second payment of the $29,000 is that the United

States authorized payments, out of Creek annuities

j

71

Which had not vet been paid, for the benefit of refugee

Indians during the Civil War, Resolution of February

22, 1862, 12 Stat. 614: that the $29,000 here in ques.

ton Was so used: and that the use of the annuities

for that purpose was ratified and confirmed by ap-

pellant by Article Xi of the Treaty of June 14. 1866,

14 Stat. 785, 789-790.

“The Supreme Court's decision in Seminole Nation

v. United States, 316 Ul S. 286, 290-291, supports ap-

pellee’s legal position, if in fact the $29,000 here in

question has been shown to have been disbursed for

the benefit of refugee Indians. In the Seminole case

this court had found that the $61,563.42 in question

had been diverted and dishursed by the Government.

“While itfis clear that payments were made by the

United States for the benefit of refugee Indians, | do

not think that there is substantial evidence im this

case to support a finding that fhe S29.000 i issue was

in fact paid to refugee Indians. | note that the In

dian Claims Comission did not so find. 11 found only

that the United States Congress had approved such

payment for the benefit of refugee Indians.” ‘which

expenditure the plaintiff Indians approved and. rati-

fied in the Treaty of June 14, 1866 (14 Stat. 785,

790).

“The Treaty of 1866 approved and confirmed co

penditures made by the United States since the di-

version of annuities for that purpose. The facet that

other annuity money was diverted for payment to

the refugees does not establish that the United States’

obligation for this $29,000 was released.

“The evidence in this ease shows that $843,321.17

was disbursed by the United States, during the vears

1862 to 1867 for the relief of refugee Indians, under

the appropriation entitled ‘Fulfilling Treaties with

Creeks.” Appellee savs that Creek treaties in force

during that period provided for a total of $229,260 in

annuities pavable to the Creeks. This figure appears

“’ The approval was not specifically of the S29.000. but of all

‘annuities pavable te the * * * Creeks * * * and which have not

been paid.” Resoiution of February 22, 1862. 12 Stat 614"

72

to have been taken from the total amounts appro-

priated under Creek treaties by Congress in the fiscal

vears 1862-1866.

“Appellee argues that because the amount expended

for the relief of refugee Indians exceeded the total

of the United States’ obligations for the period in

question by more than $29,000, the $29,000 due under

Article VI of the Treaty of 1856 is shown to have

been expended for the refugee Indians. This does not

follow at all. There may well have been other out-

standing treaty obligations which formed the basis

for the 1862-1867 expenditures. Indeed there must

have been, since the excess of expenditures over cur-

rent treaty obligations was considerably more than

$29,000.

“Unless, upon remand to the Indian Claims Com-

- mission, appellee could show that the $29,000 due

under the 1856 Treaty was among the sums disbursed

in 1862-1867, either by pointing to an explicit account-

ing for that obligation, or by showing that the total

of the treaty obligations payable to the Creeks was

not greater than the amount of 1862-1867 expendi-

tures in excess of current obligations, or otherwise,

I think that appellant is entitled to recover fhe

$29,000.”

Therefore, the Commission failed to find the essential

facts set forth above in the dissenting opinion of Judge

Littleton, and found facts which were not supported by

the substantial evidence in the record.

It is well settled that the failure of the lower court

to make essential findings of fact, or makes findings not

supported by substantial evidence, are reversible errors.

Seminole Nation v. United States (1942), 316 U. S. 310,

316; Snake or Piute Indians vy. United States (1953), 125

C. Cls. 241, 255.

Therefore, we submit that this case should be reversed

and remanded for this further reason, and that the Com-

mission be directed to make proper findings essential to

73

the proper disposition of the claims herein presented, and

in accord with the substantial evidence in the record.

The views of the dissenting opinion above quoted are

supported by well settled principles of law. The Creek

Nation divided into two independent parties: one, con-

stituting the majority, that "naintained its loyalty to the

United States and became its ally; and the other, con-

stituting the minority, that joined the Southern cause.

Vattel states (Book II], Ch. XVID, pars. 292, 293;

Chitty Ed., p. 424):

“When a party is formed in a state, who no longer

obey the sovereign, and are possessed of sufficient

strength to oppese him,—or when, in a republic the

nation is divided into two opposite factions, and both

sides take up arms,—this is called a civil war. ° * °”

° . . .

“A civil war breaks the bands of society and gov-

ernment, or, at least, suspends their force and effect:

it produces in the nation two independent parties, who

consider each other enemies, and acknowledges no

common judge.”

And at page 427: he states:

“But, when a nation becomes divided into two parts

absolutely independent, and no longer acknowledging

a common superior, the state is dissolved, and the war

between the two parties stands on the same ground, in

every respect, as a public war between two different

nations.”

In Conners v. United States (1898), 33 C. Cls. 317, 325

the Court said:

“e ° * it must likewise be held that where the

United States engages in war with a distinct portion

of a tribe, acting independently of the tribe over

which the tribe can exercise no control, being in fact a

distinct military command, the tribe in amity can not

be held responsible for the act of the hostile Indians.”

In affirming this case this Court in Conners v. United

States (1901), 180 U.S. 271, 275-276, stated:

74

“While the ghastly facts of this case, which are set

forth with much greater detail in the opinion of the

Court of Claims, appeal strongly to the generosity of

Congress to recompense those who have suffered by

the inconsiderate and hasty action of the troops in

dividing these Indians into hostility, they afford no

ground whatever for a judgment against the tribes

to which these Indians originally boionged, but from

which they had separated and carried on independent

operations. In fact, it would be highly unjust to add

to their manifest sufferings the payment of these

damages from their annuities, or for other funds

standing to their eredit. * * That band itself was

beyond the control of the tribes to which it originally

belonged is equally clear. As stated by the court

below, ‘It was not the case of individual Indians

wandering from the main body, murdering and des-

troying, while the main body remained in amity with

the United States, but it was the case of an entire

body waging armed resistance, with all its might and

will all the ferocity of Indian warfare, against what-

ever power the United States could bring to bear upoi

them. ee aad ”

To the same effect is Montoya v. United States (1897),

32. C. Cls. 349, affirmed by this Court in Montoya v. United

States (1901), in 180 U.S. 261, 268, in which this Court

stated:

“e * © On the other hand, if the marauders are so

numerous and well erganized as to be able to dety

the efforts of the tribe to detain them, in other words,

to make them a separate and independent band, carry.

ing on hostilities against the United States, it wouid

be obvicusly unjust to hold the tribe responsible for

their acts. It can hardly be supposed that Congress

would impose a liability upon tribes in amity with the

United States, for the acts of an independent band,

strong enough to defy the authority of the tribe,

although it would not be inequitable to hold the tribe

liable for individual members whom it was able, but

had failed, to control.”

79

Clearly, the minority portion of the Creek Nation that

joined the South, and acted independently of the Ma JOTI

portion of the Creek Nation that remained loval to. the

United States and beeame its ally. and fought three battles

With the majority pertion of the Creek Nation. did not

constitute the Creek Nation. as Judge Littleton Clearly

pointed out in the dissenting opinion.

Furthermore, the respondent’. own aceonnting shows

that most of the S34352L17 of Creek annuity moneys

diverted for refugee Indians Garing the Civil War period,

Was not disbursed for Creek refucees. (R. 33-34).

vd.

A Denial of a Writ of Certiorari by This Court

Does Not Constitute an Affirmance of the Decision

of the Lower Court

The Indian Claims Commission relied largely upon

the decision of the Court of Claims in Chickasaw Nation

v. United States (1945), 1083 ©. Cls. 1. instead of later

opinions of the Court of Claims overruling the Chickasaw

Case, and gave as its reason that the Chickasaw Case

decision was affirmed by a denial of certiocari by this

Court.

In reviewing the Indian Claims Commission opinion, as

affirmed by the majority of the Court of Claims, the dis-

senting opinion of Judge Littleton stated (R. 800-301):

“The Indian Claims Commission relied heavily, in

its decision of this case, upon Chickasaw Nation v.

United States, 3 Ct. Cl. 1, certiorari granted, limit-

ed to question of specifie designation of offsets, and

judgment reversed, 326 U.S. 217. That case does sup

port appellee's position, but does not have the weight

attributed to it by the Indian Claims Commissicn as a

result of the Commission's misconception of the mean-

ing of the Supreme, Court's denial of certiorari as te

the issues relevant to this case,

76

“In Chickasaw the Government's records showed

that it had purchased annuity goods for various tribes,

but did not show how much of these goods had been

allocated to the Chickasaws as distinguished from the

other tribes. This court said, ‘Unless this allocation

is known, the shortage, if any, in the goods annuity

of $3,000 cannot be ascertained. The accounts show

no shortage for which judgment may be given.’ 103

Ct. Cl. at 35-36. It should be noted, however, that

the problem did not receive extended consideration

by this court in Chickasaw. The Indian Claims Com-

mission, however, in relying upon Chickasaw rather

than upon more recent decisions of this court which

support the conclusion which | would reach, stated

that ‘The refusal of the Supreme Court to allow cer-

tiorari on the matters * ° ° specifically called to its

attention [in Chickasaw] is evidence that it approved

the holdings of the Court of Claims in reference to

such matters.’ 7 Ind. Cl. Comm. at 135. The Commis-

sion went on to say that the decision of this court

in Sioux Tribe of Indians v. United States, 105 Ct. Cl.

725, infra, -econld not overrule the [Chickasaw case |

because the Stour case is a Court of Claims opinion

only, while the holdings in the Chickasaw case were

approved by the Supreme Court by its refusal to

grant a writ of certiorari.’ 7 Ind. Cl. Comm. at 137.

“The Supreme Court has made clear that no such

inference is to be drawn from its denial of certiorari

in any case.”

The dissenting opinion spports this point by citing the

following cases in which this point has been passed upon

by this Court (R. 501, footnote 4):

“United States v. Shubert, 348 U.S. 222, 228-229;

Sunal v. Large, 332 U. S. 174, 181; House v. Mayo,

324 U. S. 42, 48; Atlantic Coast Line R. Co. v. Powe.

283 U. S. 401, 403-404: United States v. Carcer, 260

U. S, 482, 490; Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf

Bros. and Co., 240 U. S. 251, 258. See also dissenting

opinion of Mr. Justice Frankfurter in Darr v. Bur-

forll, 339 U. S. 200, 226-228, where he stated at page

236:

“"The significance of a denial of a petition for cer

tiorari ought no longer to require discussion. This

Court has said again and again and again that such

a denial has no legal significance whatever bearing on

the merits of the claim. The denial means that this

Court has refused to take the case. It means nothing

else,

e s eo e

“Nothing is more basic to the functioning of this

Court than an understanding that denial of certiorari

is occasioned by a variety of reasons which precludes

the implication that were the case here the merits

would go against the petitioner.”

Clearly the dissenting opinion of Judge Littleton, con

eurred in by Judge Madden, is correct in its statement

of the law on this point, and the Indian Claims Commis

sion and the majority of the Court of Claims were in

erro?e. iY

CONCLUSION

For the reason set forth above we submit that the case

should be reversed and remanded with instructions to the

lower tribunals to follow the decisions of this Court

holding that a fiduciary relationship does exist between

the Umited States and the Indian tribes, in this ease the

Creek Nation: and with the further direction that) they

determine the issues in this case on the basis of the most

exacting fiduciary standards: and with further direction

to find facts which are essential to a proper disposition

of these claims, and in accordance with the substantia!

evidence in the reeord.

Respectfully submittea,

THE CREEK NATION, Petitioner

Pact M. Nrepens

Attorney for Petitioner

,

78

APPENDIX

SECRET ARTICLES OF THE TREATY OF

PEACK AND FRIENDSHIP

New York, August 7, 1790

George Washington, President of the United States of

America and the Creek Nation of Indians

Additional secret articles to the Treaty of Peace and

Friendship with the Upper Creeks, Lower Creeks, and

the Semanolees

Typescript of MS, Unpublished Treaty, Archives No. 17,

in U.S. Department of the Interior, Office of the Solici-

tor, Statutory compilation of the Indian law survey:

a compendium of Federal laws and treaties relatina

to Indians. Edited by Felix S. Cohen, Chief, Indian

Law Survey. Part 5: Indian Treaties (1778-1817).

Mimeo. Washington. 1940.

Unpublished Treaty

Archives No. 17

August 7, 1790

GEORGE WASHINGTON

PRESIDENT OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

TO ALL TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL.

COME, GREETINGS

WilEREAS the treaty of peace and friendship, between

the United States of America and the Creek Nation of

Indians made and concluded on the seventh day of the

present month of August, Contains certain secret articles,

which are in the form and words following:

SECRET ARTICLES OF THE TREATY OF.

PEACK AND FRIENDSHIP

Made and concluded on behalt of the United States ot

America on the on part, and the Creek nation of Indians

on the other part in the City of New Yort. on this seventh

day af Angus, one Shousand seve Ww hundred and wine ty.

ARTICLE 1.

The commerce necessary for the Creek mation sh

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.