Jurisdictional Statement — Nostrand v. Little

Supreme Court brief1962

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

NOV 24 196]

no. 57 1 coneoe

eee eee eee eee eee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1961

Howarp L. Nostranp and Max SaveELLe, Appellants,

> ; “wo -

Hensert S. Lirrie, HArowp S. SHEFELMAN, Mrs. J. HER-

BERT GARDNER, Cartes M. Harris, Joun L. Kinc and

JoserpH DrumHeELter, as the Board of Regents of the

University of Washington, Caartes E. Opecaarp, Presi-

dent, University of Washington, and Joun J. O’ConnELL,

Attorney General, State of Washington, Respondents.

On APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF

WASHINGTON

STATEMENT AS TO JURISDICTION

KENNETH A. MacDoNALD

LaNnpDon R. Estep

Francis HoAGUE

820 Alaska Building

Seattle 4, Washington

Attorneys for Appellants

See

cnauniiennaeial

AE. METROPOLITAN PRESS AND WESTERN

___ SREEIES DE pees inom .

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTosBEerR TERM, 1961

Howarp L. Nostranp and Max SaveELLe, Appellants,

vs.

HERBERT S. Litrce, HARoip S. SHEFELMAN, Mrs. J. HEr-

BERT GARDNER, CHARLES M. Harris, Joun L. Kinc and

JosepH DruMHELLER, as the Board of Regents of the

University of Washington, CHarLes E. Opecaarp, Presi-

dent, University of Washington, and Joun J. O'ConNELL,

Attorney General, State of Washington, Respondents.

On APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF

WASHINGTON

STATEMENT. AS TO JURISDICTION

KENNETH A. MacDonaALp

LANDON R. Estep

Francis HOAGUE

320 Alaska Building

Seattle 4, Washington

Attorneys for Appellants

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

Serrtnatinnnal: Deanna iiss ee

Opinions Below ... pay re ee Beier

I os re ekg Kn eon tG yo

Cs SII os 5

Statement of the Case 00 eae 6

The Questions Are Substantial ......0.00000000000.00000000coe... 9

A. The First, Second and Third Questions

Presented Are Substantial .............. Rida ete. 9

B. The Fourth Question Is Substantial ................... 12

C. The Sixth and Seventh Questions Present

Substantial Problems ................ “ifs eae CLE Ieee 45

D. The Eighth Question Presents a

Samanal PHGNON en. ae. 17

ERR eas 2 on Pie SSO ees Nel SORRY UIE 20 ©

Appendices:

Appendix A. Decision of the Washington

State Supreme Court, 53 Wn. (2d)

460, 335 P.(2d) 10...0..00........ App. p. 1

Appendix B. Decision of the Washington

State Supreme Court, 158

Wash. Dec. 10] .................... App. p. 47

Appendix C. Journal and Judgment in the

Supreme Court of the State

of Washington .............0......... App. p. 86

Page

Appendix D. Journal and Judgment in the

Supreme Court of the State

of Washington ........................ App. p. 88

Appendix E. Statutes Involved .................... App. p. 90

Appendix F. The Oath ..............-.-.-.- App. p. 96

TABLE OF CASES

Adler v. Board of Education, 342 U.S. 485,

72 S. Ct. 380, 96 L. ed. 517 (1952) .......0.0.0.2...... 11, 18

American Civil Liberties Union of Southern

California v. the Board of Education of Los

Angeles, 10 Cal. Rptr. 647, 359 P.(2d) 45

(1961) pet. for cert. granted, U. S. Supreme

Court Docket No. 108 (1961) ...........0...0.0..eeceeeeese 19

Barenblatt v. U. S., 360 U.S. 109, 79 S. Ct. 1081,

SU. OR CR Fe Ce Fira ecicieeececces 12

Beilan v. Board of Education, 357 U.S. 399, 78

S. Ct. 1817, 2 L. ed.(2d) 1414 (1958) 0000... 11

Braden v. U. S., 365 U.S. 48, 81 S. Ct. 584,

Sh. Oe Cee Ce sae... 12

Bridges v. Wixon, 326 U. S. 135, 65 S. Ct. 1443,

Sg GRE SS 1

Danskin v. San Diego Unified School District,

28 Cal.(2d) 536, 171 P.(2d) 885 (1946) ............ 18, 19

Elston v. McGlauflin, 79 Wash. 355, 140 Pac. 396 (1914) 13

#ee

Page

First Unitarian Church of Los Angeles v. County

of Los Angeles, 357 U.S. 545, 78 S. Ct. 1350,

2 L. ed.(9d) 1484 (1058) cele cece ee 19

Garner vc Beard of Public Works, 341 U.S. 716,

71 S. Ct. 909, 95 L. ed. 1317 (1951) 20... 11

Gnecchi v. State of Weshington, 158 Wash.

il PTO 13

In re Young's Estate, 40 Wn.( 2d) 582,

et 1 Bo Bd. : Sanna pete tenet e enemas 14°

Konigsberg v. State Bar of California, 353 U. S.

252, 77 S. Ct. 722, 1 L. ed.(2d) 810 (1957), 366

U. S. 36, 81 S. Ct. 997, 1 L. ed.(2d) 105 (1961)... 12, 16

Larson v. Department of Labor and Industries,

174 Wash. 618, 25 P.(2d) 1040 (1933) 2.000000... 18

Lawson v. Housing Authority of the City of

Milwaukee, 270 Wisc. 269, 70 N.W.(2d) 605 (1955) 18

Lerner v. Casey, 357 U.S. 468, 78 S. Ct. 1311,

2 L. ed.(2d) 1423 (1958) 2... SEE Ee 1]

Nelson v. County of Los Angeles, 362 U. S. 1,

80 S. Ct. 527, 4 L. ed.(2d) 494 (1960).......... _ 11-12, 15

Schware v. Board of Examiners, 353 U.S. 232,

77 S. Ct. 752, 1 L. ed.(2d) 796 (1957) 00... 12

Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479, 81 S. Ct. 287,

BF OER) Bee 8 Ce arisen. 10, 16

Slochower v. Board of Education, 350 U.S. 551,

76 S. Ct. 637, 100 L. ed. 692 (1955) ............ 5, 10, 11, 12

Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 78 S. Ct. 637,

2 L. ed.(2d) 1460 (1958) _...5, 10, 18

Swak v. Department of Labor and Industries,

41 Wn.(2d) 51, 240 P.(2d) 560 (1952) 000... 13-14

iv

Page

Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354 U. S. 234,

77 S. Ct. 1208, 1 L. ed.(2d) 1311 (1957)..10, 12, 16, 19

Uphaus v. W 360 U.S. 72, 79 S. Ct. 1040,

BL. ed.(2d) 1090 (1959) se-ecvseccesessoncseesessceesevenseeee 12

Uphaus v. Wyman, 364 U. S. 388, 81 S. Ct. 153,

S L. ed.(2d) 148 (1960) oocecccccsscccccccncssceeceeseceeceeee 12

West v. Keith, 154 Wash. 682, 283 Pac. 198 (1929). ... 13

West Virginia State Board of Education v. Barnette,

319 U.S. 624, 63 S. Ct. 1178, 87 L. ed.

TO MI ibis rctoesedaaiacticienenthoeceincnpeasircdieacde 17-18

Wieman v. Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183, 73 S. Ct. 215,

eae Ff =| Bana Ree remcnec anata 4-5, 16, 18

Wilkinson v. U. S., 365 U. S. 399, 81 S. Ct. 567,

SL. od. (88) G66 C1900) ..........- ncn... 12

STATUTES

Laws of 1955, Chap. 377, §§ 1, 2,3, 4.0.20... 7, 8,10

Laws of Washington of 1955, Chap. 377, § 1...... 2, 4,5, 10

R.C.W. 2.04.220 (1951 200000000 .. LES a Ree aa 3

Tee Heme nance sino 2

Sn 4

a 17

Fok RR RRR AiR IS eee a nN ek 10

R.C.W. 9.81.070 through 9.81.088 20. cecceeceeen 4

Sie Se 4

i eS ee es

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1961

Howarp L. Nostranp and Max Save.ie, Appellants,

vs.

Herrert S. Litr_e, HAroip S. SHEFELMAN, Mrs. J]. Her-

BERT GARDNER, CHARLES M. Harris, JoHN L. Kine and

JoserH DruMHELLER, as the Board of Regents of the

University of Washington, CHarLes E. Opecaarp, Presi-

deut, University of Washington, and Joun J. O'ConneLt,

Attorney General, State of Washington, Respondents.

On APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF

WASHINGTON

STATEMENT AS TO JURISDICTION

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Appellants’ appeal from the Order of the Supreme

Court of the State of Washington entered in this action

on June 28, 1961, whereby it was ordered that the Judg-

ment entered by said Court on March 20, 1959, and

vacated by this Court on June 17, 1960, be reinstated and

from the Judgment entered June 29, 1961, which reversed

in part the Judgment of the Superior Court of the State

of Washington for Thurston County. Appellants submit

this statement in support of their contention that the

2

Supreme Court of the United States has jurisdiction of

this appeal and that substantial questions are presented.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Superior Court of the State of Washington for

Thurston County did not render an official or unofficial

opinion. The first opinion of the Supreme Court of the

State of Washington (January 29, 1959) is reported in 53

Wn.(2d) 460, 335 P.(2d) 10 (1959), and is annexed

hereto as Appendix A. The second opinion of the Court

below (April 20, 1961), rendered subsequent to remand

by this Court has not yet been officially reported; it ap-

pears unofficially at 158 Wash. Dec. 101, 361 P.(2d) 551

(1961), and is annexed hereto as Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

Appellants Howard L. Nostrand and Max Savelle, two

professors employed by the State of Washington under

yearly contract to teach at the University of Washington,

commenced this action pursuant to Section 7.24.010 et

seq., Revised Code of Washington, for the purpose of

obtaining a declaratory judgment adjudicating Chapter

377, Laws of Washington of 1955, which required execu-

tion of a non-subversive oath of all state employees on

penalty of dismissal, to be violative of several provisions

of the Constitution of the United States and of the State

of Washington, and seeking a permanent injunction en-

joining the enforcement thereof (Tr. 1-6). The Superior

Court found that Chapter 377 violated the Constitution

of the State of Washington and issued an injunction per-

manently restraining the enforcement or administration

3

of its provisions (Tr. 29). The Supreme Court of the State

reversed in part, upholding the validity of all of Chapter

377 under both the United States and Washington Con-

stitutions with the exception of Section 3 of said Chapter,

and remanded the case to the Superior Court with direc-

tions to dissolve the permanent injunction except as to

Section 3 and to dismiss the action (Tr. 39). A copy of

the Judgment of the Supreme Court of Washington

is annexed as Appendix C. Judgments of ‘the Supreme

Court of Washington are final as to all parties. RCW

9.04.220 (1951). On February 26, 1959, a petition for

rehearing (Tr. 33-37) was filed with the Supreme Court

of Washington, which was denied on March 20, 1959

(Tr. 38). Notice of Appeal to this Court was filed in the

Supreme Court of Washington on May 28, 1959 (Tr.

84-87). This Court by order dated June 13, 1960 vacated

the Judgment of the Supreme Court of Washington and

remanded the case to it to determine whether Chapter

377 afforded appellants a hearing, and to redetermine

the constitutionality of said Chapter (Tr. 78-79). The

Supreme Court of Washington ordered that the Judgment

entered by said Court on March 20, 1959 be reinstated

and directed the Superior Court to dissolve the permanen:

injunction and to dismiss the action. A copy of the Judg-

ment of the Supreme Court of Washington is annexed as

Appendix D. On May 19, 1961, a petition for rehearing

(Tr. 123-182) was filed with the Supreme Court of Wash-

ington, which was denied on June 9, 1961 (Tr. 183).

Notice of appeal to this Court was filed in the Supreme

4

Court of Washington on September 25, 1961 (Tr. 140-

143). ;

The statute drawn into question on the ground that it

is repugnant to the United States Constitution is Chapter

377, Laws of Washington, 1955, Revised Code of Wash-

ington, Sections 9.81.070 through 9.81.083. The most per-

tinent parts of this Chapter are as follows:

“Sec. 1. Every person and every board, commis-

sion council, department, court or other agency of

the State of Washington or any political subdivision

thereof, who or which appoints or employs or super-

vises in any manner the appointment or emplovment

of public officials or employees . . . shall require

every employee . . . to state under oath whether or

not he or she is a member of the Communist Party

or other subversive organization, and refusal to

answer on any grounds shall be cause for immediate

termination of such employee’s employment. . . .”

(Emphasis supplied. )

“Sec. 4. The Communist Party is a subversive or-

ganization within the purview of RCW 9.81 and

membership in the Communist Party is a subversive

activity thereunder.”

This Act has reference to and is defined by other sec-

tions of RCW 9.81. These Statutory provisions are

lengthy and therefore- are set f in Appendix E. The

oath demanded of appellants is set forth in Appendix F.

The decision of the highest court of the State of Wash-

ington sustained the validity of Chapter 377 under the

United States and Washington Constitutions (with the

exception of Section 3). For this reason, this Court has=

jurisdiction on appeal. 28 USC Sec. 1257 (2): Wieman v.

+

TE a a TTT ie we er “ m4 v

w

5

Updegraff, 344 U.S. 183, 73 S. Ct. 215, 97 L. ed. 216

(1952); Slochower v. Board of Education, 350 U.S. 591,

76 S. Ct. 637, 100 L. ed. 692 (1955); Speiser v. Randall,

357 U. S. 513, 78 S. Ct. 637, 2 L. ed.(2d) 1460 (1958).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The following questions are presented by this appeal:

1. Does the State’s requirement of an oath pursuant

to Chapter 377, Laws of Washington, 1955, of non-mem-

bership in the Communist Party or other subversive organ-

ization as a condition for any employment by the state, vio-

late the due process guarantee of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment to the United States Constitution, because no hear-

ing is afforded the employee wherein ap inquiry may be

made as to the character of the subversive organization or

the character of his membership therein, and where the

employee can explain or defend his refusal to take the oath?

2. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment of the Constitution of the United States in

that it requires immediate discharge of a state employee

solely upon refusal to subscribe the oath and without

notice, charges and hearing?

3. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States in

that it deprives respondent of property without due process

of law? |

4. Does the consideration by the Supreme Court of

Washington of the 1956 Faculty Handbook as a basis

for the Order and Judgment appealed from, secured

6

sua sponte by that Court after the filing of all briefs and

presentation of oral arguments following the remand of

the case from the United States Supreme Court, violate

the due process guarantee of the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution, because of the denial

to the parties of a hearing or opportunity to present evi-

dence concerning the said Handbook?

5. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States in

that it penalizes a state emplovee for membership in a sub-

versive organization rather than for acts constituting a sub-

stantive evil, even in the absence of his knowledge that

the subversive organization has for its purpose the forceful

overthrow of the government?

6. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States in

that it conclusively presumes that membership in a sub-

versive organization is grounds for dismissal of a state em-

ployee?

7. Does such oath requirement violate the First and

Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United

States in that it abridges freedom of speech, freedom of

association and assembly?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The appellants are two professors, employed under

contract by the State of Washington to teach at the

University of Washington (Tr. 26). The respondents,

the University Board of Regents, president of the Uni-

eS .

e3

-

versity, and the State Attorney General are charged

with the duty of establishing, enforcing, carrying out

and administering the provisions of Chapter 377, Laws

of 1955 (Tr. 26-27)°. The respondents have demanded

that appellants sign and swear to an oath, a copy of

which appears at Appendix F hereto (Tr. 27). The ap-

pellants in their petition allege that unless they comply

with such demands, their employment contracts with

the University will be terminated as required by Chapter

377 (Tr. 3). The statute provides no opportunity for

explanation or hearing.

Chapter 377, Laws of 1955 is comprised of four sections

which’ amended the Subversive Activities Act of 1951.

The first section requires every appointing or emploving

official of the State or political subdivision thereof to

“require every employee . . . to state under oath whether

he or she is a member of the Communist Party or other

subversive organization and refusal to answer on any

grounds shall be cause for immediate termination of such

emplovee's employinent.” The fourth section provides as

follows:

“The communist party is a subversive organization

within the purview of RC.W. 9.81 [The Subversive

Activities Control Act of 1951] and membership in

the Communist Party is a subversive activity there-

under.”

The federal questions sought to be reviewed here were

*Because the incumbents in their various offices have changed from time

to time during the course of this litigation. the names of the respond.

ents have been changed by stipulation and order to accord with the

facts

§

first raised in the Complaint (Tr. 3) and the federal

and state constitutional issues were the only matters in

controversy at all stages of the Proceeding in the trial

court and the State Supreme Court. There were no factual

controversies in this action. The trial court found that

Section 4 of Chapter 377 violated the State Constitution

in that it embraced a subject not set forth in the title

to Chapter 377, that Section 3 of the Chapter, which

declared “subversive” all organizations on the U. §. At-

tumey General's list of subversive organizations, was an

"constitutional delegation of legislative authority. That

court held that Sections 1 and 2 were inseparable from

Sections 3 and 4 and that therefore all of Chapter 377

was unconstitutional and void (Tr. 28). An injunction

Was issued restraining the enforcement of the provisions

of this chapter (Tr. 29) From. this injunction the re-

spondents appealed to the State Supreme Court (Tr. 30).

That court after briefs and argument, held that Section

3 was unconstitutional but upheld the constitutionality and

separability of Sections 1. 2 and 4 (Tr. 39). The decision

of the State Supreme Court was appealed to this Court

(Tr. 75-77). This Court vacated the judgment of the State

Supreme Court and remanded the case to it to determine

whether Chapter 377 afforded appellants a hearing and

to see what effect this determination had upon their

initial decision (Tr. 78-79). The Supreme Court of Wash-

ington after briefs and argument, held that Chapter

377 did not afford appellants a hearing, but decided that

they were not denied due Process of law under the United

i]

States Constitution or the Constitv ion of the State of

Washington, because the presently existing rules of the

University of Washington, acquired sua sponte by the

Cuurt after argument by counsel, provided that professors

having employment tenure must be given a hearing before

dismissal. That opinion is annexed hereto as Appendix B.

That Court thereafter ordered that the judgment entered

by it on March 20, 1959 be reinstated (Tr. 134). Due to

a temporary and later a permanent injunction, issued by

the trial court, respondenis have made no efforts to en-

force the provisions of this chapter with reference to

appellants. This final injunction is still in force pending

this appeal (Tr. 73-74, 136-137).

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL

A. The First, Second and Third Questions Presented

Are Substantial.

1. Does the State’s requirement of an oath pursuant

to Chapter 377, Laws of Washington of 1955, of

non-membership in the Communist Party or other

subversive organization as a condition for any

employment by the state, violate the due proc-

ess guarantee of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States Constitution, because no hearing

is afforded the employee wherein an inquiry may

be made as to the character of the subversive or-

ganization or the character of his membership there-

in, and where the employee can explain or defend

his refusal to take the oath?

2. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment of the Constitution of the United States

10

in that it requires discharge of a state oes

solely upon refusal to subscribe the oath and with-

out notice, charges and hearing?

3. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States

in that it deprives respondent of property without

due process of law?

Section 1, Chapter 377, Laws of Washington, 1955 pro-:

vides that refusal “on any grounds” to sign the oath shall be

cause for “immediate termination of employment.” RCW

9.81.060 provides that no subversive person as defined in

the Act, shall be eligible for employment by the state or

political subdivision. This, in connection with Section 4 of

Chapter 377, means that appellants are subject to immedi-

ate discharge without an opportunity to be heard or ex-

plain regardless of why they are unwilling or unable to

execute the oath, nor what reason they have for belonging

to the Communist Party or other subversive organization.

Such preemptory disnussal constitutes arbitrary action

punitive in nature and as such, constitutes a denial of due

process within the meaning of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Slochower v. Board of Education of New York, 350 U. S.

551, 76 S. Ct. 637, 100 L. Ed. 692 (1955); Sweezy v. New

Hampshire, 354 U. S. 234, 77 S. Ct. 1208, 1 L. Ed. (2d) 1311

(1957); Speiser v. Randall, 357 U. S. 513, 78 S. Ct. 1332,

2 L. Fd.(2d) 1460 (1958); and Shelton v. Tucker, 364

U. S. 479, 81 S. Ct. 287, 5 L. Ed.(2d) 231 (1960). For it

should not be presumed that every knowing membership

ll

in a subversive organization is necessarily a hostile or un-

lawful act rendering a member unfit for state employment,

and subject to punitive action. It should be noted that

the oath requirement is not directed at subversive ac-

tivities, but a mere membership in a subversive organiza.

tion. Cf. Bridges v. Wixon, 326 U. S. 135, 65 S. Ct. 1445,

89 L. Ed. 2103 (1943).

This statute requires that appellants, as a condition

of continued university employment, comply with terms

which are unreasonable, unlawful and discriminatory, and

its validity cannot be sustained by Garner v. Board

of Public Works, 341 U. S. 716, 71 S. Ct. 909, 95

L. Ed. 1317 (1951); Adler v. Board of Education, 342

U. §. 485. 72 S. Ct. 380, 96 L. Ed. 517 (1952); Lerner

r. Casey, 357 U. S. 468, 78 S. Ct. 1311, 2 L. Ed.( 2d)

1423 (1958) and Beilan v. Board of Education, 357 U. S.

399, 78 S. Ct. 1317, 2 L. Fd.(2d) 1414 (1958), which

were relied upon by the State Supreme Court in its first

opinion. Each of these cases involved hearings at

which the employee could appear and argue his case.

This factor was considered as distinquishing, by this

court in the Slochower case, supra, in which it was held

that the automatic and summary dismissal of the appel-

lant without an opportunity for explanation constitutes

a denial of due process of law.

The State Supreme Court held that immediate dismissal

of an employee who declines to sign the oath is not a viola-

tion of due process on the basis of Nelson v. County of

Los Angeles, 362 U. S. 1, 80 S. Ct. 527, 4 L. Ed.(2d)

12

494 (1960). That court misinterpreted the Nelson case,

supra, and improperly based its decision in the instant

case upon it. That court also cited Barenblatt v. U. S.,

360 U. S. 109, 79 S. Ct. 1081, 3 L. Ed.(2d) 1115 (1959);

Uphaus v. Wyman, 360 U. S. 72, 79 S. Ct. 1040, 3 L. Ed.

(2d) 1090 (1959); Uphaus v. Wyman, 364 U. S. 388,

81 S. Ct. 153, 5 L. Ed.(2d) 148 (1960); Wilkinson v.

U. S., 365 U. S. 399, 81 S. Ct. 567, 5 L. Ed.(2d) 633

(1960), and Braden v. U. S., 365 U. S. 43, 81 S. Ct. 584,

5 L. Ed.(2d) 653 (1960) as additional authority for their

original decision herein. These decisions concern the in-

vestigative authority of congressional committees and the

requisite concreteness of enabling rules and resolutions,

and do not support the state court's holding.

It is significant that both opinions of the Washington Su-

preme Court in the case at bar, failed to discuss, dis*iu-

guish, or even to refer to holdings of the United States

Supreme Court in the following cascs, although these

cases were cited to the court ..4 discussed extensively

b: the appellants in their brief: ‘hower v. Board of Ed-

ucation, supra; Konigsberg v. : Bar of California, 353

U. §. 252, 77 S. Ct. 722, 1 L. Ea.( 2d) 810 (1957); Schware

v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 282, 77 S. Ct. 752, 1 L.

Ed.(2d) 796 (1957); and Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354,

U. S. 234, 77 S. Ct. 1208, 1 L. Ed.(2d) 1311 (1957).

In the case at bar, as in Slochower, dismissal is auto-

matic and immediate; due process is consequently denied.

B. The Fourth Question Is Substantial.

4. Does the consideration by the Supreme Court of

j

13

Washington of the 1956 Faculty Handbook as a

basis for the Order of Judgment appealed from,

secured sua sponte by that Court after the filing

of all briefs and presentation of oral arguments

following the remand of the case from the United

States Supreme Court, violate the due process guar-

antee of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution, because of the denial to the

parties of a hearing or op rtunity to present evi-

dence concerning the sai Handbook?

The contents of the 1956 Faculty Handbook of the

University of Washington is not a matter of common

and general knowledge; neither is it an indisputable fact

so that the Supreme Court of Washington is justified in

taking judicial notice of it sua-sponte.—~

The Supreme Court of Washington must look only to

the record to obtain factual material upon which to base

its decision. Gnecchi v. State of Washington, 158 Wash.

Dec. 475 (1961), and West v. Keith, 154 Wash. 682, 255

Pac. 198 (1929). Similarly the decision of a trial judge

will be rejected on appeal if it is based upon his own

investigation of the facts. Elston v. McGlauflin, 79 Wash.

355. 140 Pac. 396 (1914). The appellate court will not

take judicial notice of the rules of the superior court,

Larson v. Department of Labor and Industries, 174 Wash.

618, 25 P.(2d) 1040 (1933), or of the proceedings of

the county commissioners even though recorded in the

County Auditor's Office, West t. Keith, 154 Wash. 682,

283 Pac. 198 (1929), or of records and decisions in other

actions between the same parties. Swak v. Department

of Labor and Industries, 41 Wn.(2d) 51, 240 P.(2d)

14

560 (1952); In re Young's Estate, 40 Wn.(2d) 582, 244

P.(2d) 1165 (1952).

Respondents, in answer to appellants’ request for ad-

missions of fact, which referred to the 1948 and 1952

Faculty Handbooks, denied that the handbooks were ap-

proved by the Board of Regents or that they governed

the relationship between the faculty and the administra-

tion of the University. Since that was denied, the cause

was thereafter tried without reference to such faculty

handbooks. The court below gave greater authority to

the handbooks than does the University.

The handbook provides that a professor may be re-

moved only “for cause,” which is defined as one or more

of the following:

(1) incompetency, (2) neglect of duty, (3) physical or

mental incapacity, (4) dishonesty or immorality, (5)

conviction of a felony. The refusal to sign the oath does

not appear to be within the ambit of any of these specifi-

cally enumerated causes. Accordingly, it is submitted that

the handbook causes do not contemplate the situation of

a professor who has refused to sign the necessary oath.

The Supreme Court of Washington, having averted

to the faculty handbook when it was not in the record

or argued by the parties, has caused endless confusion

and raised numerous unanswered questions such as: (a)

Are the tenure rights, once retained by the professors,

enduring? (b) May they be reviewed, modified, or elimi-

nated? (c) Is it important that the 1956 Faculty Hand-

15

book relied upon by the court below was promulgated

after the effective date of the 1955 Act? (d) Can the re-

gents, by the tenure code, modify the mandate of the

statute so that any person who refuses to sign the oath

“on any grounds” is not immediately discharged? (e) Does

the handbook prevent the discharge of a professor for any

reason other than the five stated grounds?

It is to be noted that neither the statute nor the hand-

book include a provision that a state employee refusing

to comply with the requirements of the Subversive Ac-

tivities Act is guilty of insubordination or any other vio-

lation of his employment contract, as was the case in

Nelson v. County of Los Angeles, supra. It is apparent

that the action by the court below securing the 1956

Faculty Handbook sua sponte denied appellants due proc-

ess of law by violating most basic and sacred rules of evi-

dence and procedure.

C. The Fifth and Sixth Questions Present Substantial

Problems.

5. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States

in that it penclizes a state employee for member-

ship in a subversive organization rather than for acts

constituting a substantive evil, even in the absence

of his knowledge that the subversive organization

has for its purpose the forceful overthrow of the

government?

6. Does such oath requirement violate the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States

16

in that it conclusively presumes that membership

in a subversive organization is grounds for dismissal

of a state employee?

In Konigsberg v. State Bar of California, 353 U. S. 252,

77 S. Ct. 722, 1 L. Ed.(2d) 810 (1957), this court held

that an appellant's refusal to answer questions concerning

affiliation with the Communist Party without anything

more is not a ground for denying him admission to the

Bar. The court stated that such membership alone is

not an adequate basis for concluding that the member

is disloyal or a person of bad character. This holding was

not reversed or qualified by this court’s second opinion

in that case. 366 U. S. 36, 81 S. Ct. 997, 1 L. Ed.(2d)

105 (1961).

The statute provides that a member of the Communist

Party or other subversive organization is conclusively

unfit and ineligible to hold public employment. It goes

far beyond what is necessary to accomplish any legitimate

governmental purpose. Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354

U. S. 234, 77 S. Ct. 1208, 1 L. Ed.(2d) 1811 (1957)

[concurring opinion by Justice Frankfurter], Shelton v.

Tucker, 364 U. S. 479, 81 S. Ct. 287, 5 L. Ed.(2d) 231

(1960).

This law presumes that any member no matter what

the qualifications or extenuating circumstances is disloyal

and unfit for government employment and that he must be

summarily discharged. The Act is directed at the clothing

of the traitor rather than his traitorous activity. It is thus

an indiscriminate and unreasonable classification upon

7

which to deny public employment. Wieman v. Updegraff.

supra. It must fall as an assertion of arbitrary power

offending due process.

Prior to 1955, the Subversive Activities Act specifically

required knowledge of the voluntary purposes of the

organization before one could be found to be a subversive

person through membership. RCW 9.81.010 (5). Section

4 of the 1955 Act specifically eliminated scienter (i.e.,

knowledge of the revolutionary nature of the organiza-

tion as distinguished from knowledge of his membership

in the organization) from the definition of a subversive

person. Even though the Supreme Court of Washing-

ton states that it finds that the element of scienter “is

implied in every clause (of the oath) and of the pertinent

statutory provisions,’ that court appears to hold that

since it is “common knowledge” that the Communist

Party is a subversive organization (Tr. 59), specific knowl-

edge of the Communist Party's purposes or activities is

universal and therefore to be presumed conclusively. It

is submitted that this holding is contrary to the specific

holding of this Court in Wieman v. Updegraff, supra.

D. The Seventh Question Presents a Substantial Prob-

lem.

7. Does such oath requirement violate the First and

Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the

United States in that it abridges freedom of speech,

freedom of association and assembly?

Mr. Justice Jackson in West Virginia State Board of

Education v. Barnette, 319 U. S. 624, 63 S. Ct. 1178, 87

18

L. Ed. 1628 (1943), which sustained the religious con-

victions of school children against saluting the flag, stated:

“If there is any fixed star in our constitutional

constellation it is that no official, high or petty,

can prescribe what shall be orthodox in politics, na-

tionalism, religion or other matters of opinion or

force citizens to confess by word or act their faith

therein. If there are any circumstances which per-

mit an exception, they do not now occur to us.”

319 U. S. 642

The freedoms protected by the First Amendment to

the Constitution can be limited or abridged only to correct

substantial evils with which the legislature has power io

deal. Adler v. Board of Education, 342 U. S. 485, 72

S. Ct. 380, 96 L. Ed. 517 (1952); Lawson v. Housing Au-

thority of the City of Milwaukee, 270 Wisc. 269, 70 N. W.

(2d) 605 (1955) Danskin v. San Diego Unified Sckool

District, 28 Cal.(2d) 536, 171 P.(2d) 885 (1946).

As applied to educators, as in the case at bar, the

need for freedom of expression and association is a funda-

mental requisite. Freedom of inquiry, advocacy and

association is probably more essential to the growth and

spread of academic knowledge than to any other area

of human activity. See concurring opinion of Mr. Justice

Frankfurter in Wieman v. Updegraff, supra; Sweezy v.

New Hampshire, 354 U. S. 234, 77 S. Ct. 1203, 1 L. Ed.

(2d) 1311 (1957); Speizer v. Randall, 357 U. S. 513,

78 S. Ct. 1332, 2 L. Ed.(2d) 1460 (1958).

The need for protecting college students from subver-

sive propaganda must be viewed in relation to legislative

19

steps taken to afford such protection. Here no effort is

made to inquire into the professor's loyalty, merely his

associations. While his associations may have bearing on

his loyalty, standing alone without more they are not

decisive. First Unitarian Church of Los Angeles v. County

of Los Angeles, 357 U. S. 545, 78 S. Ct. 1350, 2 L. Ed.

(2d) 1484 (1958) and American Civil Liberties Union of

Southern California v. The Board of Education of Los

Angeles, 10 Cal. Rptr. 647, 359 P.(2d) 45 (1961) pe-

tition for certiorari granted, U. S. Supreme Court Docket

No. 108 (1961).

The legislature attempts to deny employment to every-

one refusing to sign this oath not because it believes

that their employment would create a clear and present

danger to the community, but because it believes the

privilege of public employment should be denied to

those whose convictions and affiliations it does not choose

to accept or tolerate. “What it does not tolerate itsseeks to

censor.” Danskin v. San Diego Unified School District, 28

Cal.(2d) 536, 171 P.(2d) 885 (1946), at page 891. It is

submitted that this is an unwarranted abridgement of

freedom of association and assembly.

CONCLUSION

Appellants submit that the disregard of Federal con-

stitutional rights by the Legislature of the State of Wash=

ington and by the Supreme Court of Washington is clear

and that this appeal presents substantial questions re-

quiring consideration by this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

KENNETH A. MACDONALD

LANDON R. Estep

FrANcis HOAGUE

320 Alaska Building

Seattle 4, Washington

Attorneys for Appellants —

APPENDIX

. '—Q5500 2) Ae ea 4

SG Be BS ae

|

APPENDIX A

DECISION OF THE WASHINGTON STATE SUPREME

COURT

(53 Wn.( 2d) 460, 335 P.( 2d) 10]

[No. 34451. En Banc. January 29, 1959. |

Howarp L. Nosrranp et al., Respondents, v. “HoMAs

Baer et al., Appellants.

Appeal from a judgment of the superior court for

Thurston county, No. 28814, Wright, J., entered April

29, 1957, upon findings in favor of the plaintiffs, in an

action for a declaratory judgment and for injunctive relief.

Reversed.

The Attorney General and Michael R. Alfieri, Assist-

ant, for appellants.

Solie M. Ringold and Francis Hoague, for respondents.

Donwortn, J.—This action was commenced by two

professors (respondents), employed by the state of Wash-

ington to teach at the University of Washington for the

purpose of obtaining a declaratory judgment? adjudicating

Laws of 1955, chapter 377, p. 1545,’ to be violative of

several provisions of the constitutions of the United States

and of this state, and seeking a permanent injunction

enjoining the enforcement thereof.

*Pursuant to the provisions of RCW 7.24.010. et seq.

This act consists of four sections. the first two of which are amendatory

of provisions initially enacted in the subversive activities act. Laws of

1951. chapter 254. p. 793. and the last two of which are entirely new

legislation.

PRD EL EP

2

In their complaint, respondents alleged their employ-

ment under contract as professors of the University of

Washington; that appellants (the university board of re-

gents, president, and vice-president, and the state attorney

general) are charged with “the duty of establishing, en-

forcing, carrying out and administering the provisions of

...the Act”; that appellants have demanded that re-

spondents sign and swear to an oath; that, unless respond-

ents comply with such demands, their employment con-

tracts with the university will be terminated by appellants:

that, unless appellants be restrained from enforcing the

act and insisting upon the execution of the oath, respond-

ents will suffer irreparable injury not compensable in

monctary damages; and that respondents have no ade-

quate remedy at law.

In so far as is presently material, the affidavit which

appellants demanded that respondents subscribe, upon

oath, recites above the jurat and place provided for

signature:

“(2) That I am not a subversive person or a member

of the Communist Party or any subversive organization,

foreign or otherwise, which engages in or advocates,

abets, advises, or teaches the overthrow, destruction or

alteration of the constitutional form of the government

of the United States, or of the State of Washington, or

of anv political subdivision of either of them by revolution,

force or violence;

“That this statement is voluntarily made by me, pur-

suant to the provisions of Chapter 377, Laws of 1955,

3

with full knowledge that the same is subject to the

penalties of perjury.”

Prior to trial, respondents requested, in writing, and

obtained certain admissions of fact. Other facts which

respondents requested appellants to admit were denied.

The record before us does not reveal what disposition,

if any, the trial judge made of these disputed factual

matters.

Trial to the court resulted in the entry of findings

of fact (substantially in accord with the averments con-

tained in the complaint), conclusions of law, and a final

decree holding the entire act of 1955 to be violative of

the constitution of this state, and permanently restraining

appellants from administering and enforcing any of the

provisions therein contained.‘ This appeal followed.

Before considering the respective contentions advanced

by the parties, and because chapter 377, Laws of 1955,

is amendatory legislation, it is necessary, in order to place

it in its proper perspective, to analyze the act amended

thereby, i.e., the subversive activities act of 1951,” and

to consider its background and legislative history.

The 1951 act was a comprehensive statute enacted by

“It Is Heresy Orperep. Apjupcep avo Decreep that Chapter 377.

Laws of 1955 violates the Constitution of the State of Washington, and

is therefore void and of no effect; and

“Iv Is Further Orperep. Apjupcep anp Decreep that the above-

named defendants [appellants| be and they are hereby permanently

restrained from establishing. enforcing. carrying out. and administering

the provisions of Chapter 377. Laws of 1955 and from requiring the

plaintiffs [respondents | to execute any oath pursuant to said Chapter.”

*Chapter 254. Laws of 1951. p. 793.

4

result of the report of the joint fact-finding committee on

un-American activities in the state of Washington (other-

wise referred to as the Canwell committee). This com-

mittee was created by house concurrent resolution No.

10,6 adopted by the legislature at its 1947 session, and

was directed to investigate subversive activities in the

State of Washington and to file a report wth the thirty-

first (1949) legislature.

Acting pursuant to authority vested in it by this reso-

lution, the committee conducted its investigation and

held extensive public hearings in 1948.” As directed, the

committee reported its findings. conclusions, and recom-

mendations to the legislature at its 1949 session."

SLaws of 1947. p. 1378. Pertinent provisions of this resolution are quoted

at length in appendix A. The complete text of house concurrent resolu-

tion No. 10 may also be found in State ex rel. Robinson v. Fluent, 30

Wo.t2d) 194. 19) Pe2dd 2H (1948) Ccert. den. 355 U.S. 844, 93

1. Fed. 394. 69S. Ct. 66). wherein we upheld the validity of this

resolution.

"Other litigation resulted from these hearings. notably State v. James.

46 Wnt 2d) 882. 221 P.f2d) 182: 341 U.S. 911. 95 L. Fd. 1348. 71

S. Ct. 615 (cert. den.) : 341 US. 937. 95 L. Ed. 1365. 71S. Ct. 851 (re-

hearing den.). The defendant therein was charged. tried and convicted

for willfully refusing to answer a proper and material question put to

him by the committee after being duly summoned to give testimony. In

rejecting appellant's attack upon the constitutionality of house concur- |

rent resolution No. 10. we adhered to our prior decision in State ea rel.

Robinson v. Fluent. supra. Other cases involving witnesses before the

commitice who were similarly charged. tried. and convicted, were con-

solidated on appeal to this court: State v. Gundlach, State v. For-

schmiedt. State v. Ottenheimer. State v. Janes, 36 Wn.i2d) 918. 221

P.i2d) 502: cert. den. in Forschmiedt and James cases; 341 U.S. 910.

95 L. Ed. 1347. 71S. Ct. 615. rehearing den. 341 U.S. 937, 95 L. Fad.

1365.71 )S. Ct. 851.

®House Journal of the thirty-first legislature of the state of Washington

(1949). p. 1095. This report incorporated by reference two prior re-

ports (First Report. Un-American Activities in Washington State, 1948.

and Second Report. Un-American Activities in Washington State. 1948)

of the committee which contained testimony adduced at its hearings. to-

gether wi'h findings and conclusions drawn by the committee from that

EES =

5

After receiving and considering the committee's report,

the thirty-first (1949) legislature adopted, as part of its

general appropriations act, a proviso’ (similar to that

adopted by the 1947 legislature )'® designed to prevent

public funds from reaching public employees who ad-

vocated, or who were members of organizations that ad-

vocated, the overthrow of the government of the United

States by force or violence.

In his message to the thirty-second legislature at the

commencement of its regular session in January, 1951,

the governor pointed out the national emergency then

existing, its causes and potential effects, and the stra-

tegic geographical position of the state of Washington

in any such emergency.'' He further urged that appro-

oo —

testimony which appears as prefatory remarks therein. Pertinent ex-

cerpts from the committee's final report to the legislature. including

the committee's conclusions prefacing these prior reports, are set out

in appendix B,

*t aws of 1949, chapter 242. § 2. p. 948. thereof provided, in part:

. That no part of any enevepriation contained in this act shall he

used to pay the salary or wages of any person who . . . advocates, or is

a member of an organization that advocates. the overthrow of the gov:

ernment of the United States by force or violence... .”

Laws of 19147, chapter 287, § 2. p. 1534.

"House Journal of the thirty-second legislature of the state of Washing:

ton (1951). p. 23:

“Again we meet in a time of great national emergency.

“All of us had fervently hoped for a long respite from the v iste and

sacrifice of war and preparation for war. Our country had placed chief

reliance in the United Nations to maintain world peace and order. We

had disbanded our armies, decommissioned our fleets of ships and

planes, dismantled our war plants, and turned our attention to the

pressing problems of our civilian economy.

“But the evil menace of expanding communism would noth.» it

so. While the rest of the world pursued a peaceful path. the forces of

communism, bent upon a wholly different course. were gathering vast

strength and power. Their method was regimentation. suppression. in-

filtration. intimidation and aggression. Their purpose was to push the

6

priate legislation be immediately enacted in order to curb

subversive activities in this state, particularly in view of

the then existing national emergency and the disclosures

made through the efforts of the joint fact-finding commit-

tee on un-American activities (Canwell committee) cre-

ated by house concurrent resolution No. 10."

frontiers of that ideology so deeply into the territory and institutions

of free nations, that all the world would fall an easy prey. Then came

the day when the principles and authority of the United Nations were

openly defied in the halls at Lake Success, and physically challenged

on the Korean fields of battle.

“This nation and the world are now awake to the danger. We still

hope to avert World War III. But it is so perilously close that our na-

tion has already come virtually to a war footing. This is bringing with

it a fundamental change in our civilian economy, with resulting bur-

dens and sacrifices for all of us. If the emergency becomes more acute,

developing into a global war, we all face the risk of great loss and

suffering. We face these possibilities, not cheerfully, but with the

determination to do what must be done to preserve, for our children,

the way of life all of us so deeply cherish.

“It is in this setting that the Thirty-second Legislature of the State

of Washington meets to discharge its legislative duties.

“Our state occupies a position of great importance in this emer-

gency, as it did throughout World War II. It is a tremendous arsenal

for military might. Its strategic geographical location, moreover, has

special military signficance in any war with communism. .. .”

'2/ bid. p. 30:

“To further strengthen our civil defense program, we also must be

mindful of that small group of traitors within our citizenry «ho

would destroy our freedom from within. In this connection I strongly

urge that the legislature give thought to enactment of appropriate

provisions for the curbing of subversive activity, and to protect our

free institutions from perversion into weapons of aggression against

us in the hands of our enemies.

“By Concurrent Resolution No. 10 the Thirtieth Legislature created

the Joint Legislative Fact Finding Committee on Un-American Activ-

ities. Through the labors of this committee much was learned of the

degree to which disloyal groups had infiltrated into organizations of

our senior citizens, into various economic and educational groups. As

the result of these disclosures. some remedia! action was taken but in

the light of the grave emergency which we now face. additional action

must be taken immediately. Therefore a bill is being prepared calcu-

lated to give support at the state level to the efforts of our various

federal agencies charged with the responsibility of combating these

forces of tyranny and enslavement. . . .”

‘

The subversive activities act originally passed by the

legislature in 1951 consisted of twenty-two sections. Five

of these (§§ 6, 7, 8, 10, and 21), containing administrative

provisions, were vetoed by the governor.'’ The remain-

ing seventeen sections became effective on March 19.

1951, upon executive approval.'* Each of these sections

falls into one of three general classifications: pena!, ad-

ministrative, or regulatory.

Sections eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen and seven-

teen bear directly upon the problem before us and are

set out in the margin.’ These sections impose conditions

upon eligibility for public employment in sensitive oc-

cupations and require that all such state employees, or

applicants for state employment, take an oath, subject

to the penalties of perjury, as a prerequisite of public

employment or the continuance thereof.

“Laws of 1951. chapter 254. $$ 6. { and 8. pp. 797, 798. $ 10 p. 798.

$ 21. p. 802. Senate Journal of the thirty-second legislature of the

state of Washington, p. 842.

Laws of 1951, chapter 254. § 22. p. 803.

Laws of 1951. chapter 251;

“Sec. 11. No subversive person. as defined in this act. shall be

eligible for employment in. or appointment to any office. or any

position of trust or profit in the government. or in the administration

of the business. of this state. or of any county, municipality, or other

political subdivision of this state. (cf. ROW 9.811.060)

“Sec. 12. Every person and every board, commission, council, de-

partment, court or other agency of the state of Washington or any

political subdivision thereof. who or which appoints or employs or

supervises in any manner the appointment or employment of public

officials or employees shall establish by rules, regulations or other.

wise, procedures designed to ascertain whether any person is a sub

versive person. In securing any facts necessary to ascertain the infor.

mation herein required. the applicant shall be required to sign a

written statement containing answers to such inquiries as may he

material. which statement shall contain notice that it is sulsject to the

penalties of perjury. (Italics ours.) +ef. RCW 9.811.070)

§

The terms “subversive person,” “subversive organiza-

“Sec. 13. The inquiries prescribed in preceding sections, other than

the written statement to be executed by an applicant for employment,

shall not be required as a prerequisite to the employment of any per-

sons in any case in which the employing authority may determine.

and by rule or regulation specify the reasons why, the nature of the

work to be performed is such that employment of such persons will

not be dangerous to the health of the citizens ur the security of the

governinents of the United States. the state of Washington. or any

political subdivision thereof. (cf. RCW 9.81.080)

“Sec. 14. Every person who, on June 1, 1951, shall be in the em-'

ploy of the state of Washington or of any political subdivision

thereof. other than those now holding elective office shall be required

on or before July 1, !951. to make a w ‘ten statement which shall

contain notice that it is subject to the pena.ties of perjury, that he or

she is not a subversive person as defined in this act; namely, any

person who commits, attempts to commit, or aids in the commission.

or advocates, abets, advises or teaches by any means any person to

commit, attempt to commit, or aid in the commission of any act in-

tended to overthrow. destroy or alter. or to assist in the overthrow.

destruction or alteration of. the constitutional form of government

of the United States, or of the state of Washington, or any political

subdivision of either of them. by revolution, force, or violence; or

who is a member of a subversive organization or‘a foreign subversive

organization, as more fully defined in this act. Such statements shall

he prepared and execution required of and by every person and every

hoard. commission, council. code department, court or other agency

of the state of Washington or any subdivision thereof responsible

for the supervision of other employees. for the employees under the

jurisdiction thereof. Any such person failing or refusing to execute

such a statement or who adinits he is a subversive person as defined

in this act shall immediately be discharged. . . .

“Sec. 17. Every written statement made pursuant to this act by an

applicant for appointment or employment. or by any employee. shall

be deemed to have been made under oath if it contains a declaration

preceding the signature of the maker to the effect that it is made under

the penalties of perjury. Any person who wilfully makes a material

misstatement of fact (a) in any such written statement, or (b) in any

afidavit made pursuant to the provisions of this act. or (c) under

oath in any hearing conducted by any agency of the state. or of any

of its political subdivisions pursuant to this act, or (d) in any writ-

ten statement by an applicant for appointment or employment or by

an employee in any state aid or private institution of learning in this

state, intended to determine whether or not such applicant or em-

ployee is a subversive person as defined in this act, which statement

contains notice that it is subject to the penalties of perjury, shall be

subject to the penalties of perjury, as prescribed in chapter 9.72.

R.C.W.” (ef. RCW 9.81.110.)

9

tion,” and “foreign subversive organization” (used in

these five sections) are particularly defined in section

one of the act. The definition of “subversive person”

was amended in 1953'° to specifically provide that a

person must have knowledge that an organization is a

“subversive organization” or “foreign subversive organiza-

tion” (as elsewhere defined in section one) before such

person becoming or remaining a member thereof can be

deemed to be a “subversive person.” (This 1953 amend-

ment is a complete answer to respondents’ argument in

their brief concerning the alleged lack of scienter as an

essential element in this section.) Cf. Wieman v. ('pde-

graff, 344 U.S. 183, 97 L. Ed. 216, 73 S. Ct. 215 (1952).

With this legislative history and background in mind,

we now turn to the consideration of Laws of 1955, chapter

377, which was held by the trial court to be unconstitu-

tional in its entirety. As previously stated, this act con-

sists of only four sections, of which the first two purport

to amend sections twelve and thirteen of the 1951 act

(RCW 9.81.070 and .080), and the latter two purport

to add new sections thereto (cf. RCW 9.81.082 and .083).

These latter two sections will be considered in the order

ruled upon by the trial court and discussed by the re-

spective parties in their briefs.

Section three of the amendatory act provides:

“For the purpose of this act, membership in a sub-

versive orgenization shall be membership in any organ-

ization after it has been placed on the list of organizations

6] aws of 1953. chapter 142. p. 273.

10

designated by the attorney general of the United States

as being subversive pursuant to executive order No. 9835."

The trial court concluded that:

“Section 3 of chapter 377, Laws of 1955, constitutes an

unconstitutional delegation of legislative authority to an

officer of the United States over which the state govern-

ment has no control and without adequate standards

being set forth to guide such officer in the exercise of

such delegation.”

[1] Appellants first assign error to this conclusion. They

argue that section three was merely an adoption by our

legislature of a factual determination made by a foreign

administration agency (U.S. attorney general). This argu-

ment is unappealing for at least three reasons:

(1) Executive order No. 9835, promulgated by the

president of the United States on March 21, 1947 (5

U.S.C.A., § 631; 12 F.R. 1935; 3 C.F.R. 1943-1948 Comp.

p. 627), was specifically revoked by executive order No.

10450 (5 U.S.C.A., § 631, 18 F.R. 2489, 3 C.F.R., 1953

Supp., p. 72), issued April 27, 1953 (almost two years

prior to the enactment of § 3.

(2) The method followed by the attorney general

for listing subversive organizations pursuant to executive

order No. 9835 was held by the supreme court of the

United States to be violative of the due process clause

of the fifth amendmen: to the United States constitution

in Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committtee v. McGrath,

341 U.S. 123, 95 L. Ed. 817, 71 S. Ct. 624 (April 30,

1]

1951), which was almost four years prior to the enact-

ment of § 3.

‘

(3) Section three purported to include “membership

in any organization after it has been placed on the list

of organizations designated by the attorney general of

the United States as being subversive.” This would in-

clude organizations listed by him in futuro ad infinitum

Statutes attempting to adopt by reference future Federal

rules, regulations or statutes are unconstitutional. State

ex rel. Kirschner v. Urquhart, 50 Wn.(2d) 131, 310 P.

(2d) 261 (1957).

Thus it is apparent that section three purported to

adopt unconstitutional findings of the attorney general,

promulgated pursuant to an executive order, which had

been revoked and superseded long prior to the enact-

ment of the 1955 act. We cannot, under the guise of

judicial interpretation, interject executive order No. 10450

(and the due process procedure provided for the listing

of subversive organizations thereunder) into section three.

contrary to the express terms théreof. This section is,

therefore, unconstitutional and void. State ex rel. Kirsch-

ner v. Urquhart, supra. For these reasons, the result

reached by the trial court is correct, and appellants’ first

assignment of error cannot be sustained.

Appellants next assign error to the trial court’s con-

clusion that: S

%

“Section 4 of chapter 377, Laws of 1955, amends § 1,

chapter 254, Laws of 1951, in that it adds a new category

12

_ of subversive organization and of subversive activity. This

section, therefore, embraces subjects not set forth in the

title to chapter 377, Laws of 1955, and is, therefore, un-

constitutional.”

(It must be noted that the court’s reference in this

conclusion to “§ 1, chapter 254, Laws of 1951” is inac-

curate, in that it overlooks the fact that section one was

previously amended by Laws of 1953, chapter 142, § 1,

p. 273.)

Section four of the 1955 act provides:

“The communist party is a subversive organization

within the purview of RCW 9.81 and membership in

the communist party is a subversive activity thereunder.”

Apparently, the above quoted conclusion of the trial

court is based on Art. II, § 19, of the Washington con-

stitution, requiring that:

“No bill shall embrace more than one subject, and

that shall be expressed in the title.”

If section four is in fact amendatory of a prior section

of the subversive activities act, as the trial court concluded,

it would also violate Art. IT, § 37 of the Washington con-

stitution, which provides:

“No act shall ever be revised or amended by mere

reference to its title, but the act revised or the section

amended shall be set forth at full length.”

[2] Respondents’ argument is that section four amends

the definition of “subversive organization” (Laws of 1953,

13

chapter 142, § 1; RCW 9.81.010) by establishing con-

clusively that the communist party is such an organiza-

tion, thereby creating a “new and different crime” under

Laws of 1951, chapter 254, § 3 (RCW 9.81.030). This

contention is untenable.

Section four of the 1955 act is nothing more than the

legislature's declaration of its recognition that the com-

munist party falls within the definition of “subversive

organization” contained in Laws of 1953, chapter 142,

§ 1. As such, it is supplementary rather than amendatory.

Therefore, the sections of the act which it supplements

need not be set out in full in order to satisfy the last

mentioned constitutional requirement, because:

“... If the amendatory act only adds a new section to

the old act, only the new section need be set forth in

the body of the amendatory act.” 1 Sutherland, Statu-

tory Construction (3d ed.), 407, § 1928.

See, also, State v. Lawson, 40 Wash. 455, 82 Pac. 750

(1905); State ex rel. Washington Toll Bridge Authority

v. Yelle, 32 Wn.(2d) 13, 200 P.(2d) 467 (1948): Bell-

ingham v. Hite, 37 Wn.( 2d) 652, 225 P.(2d) 895 (1950).

[3] Laws of 1955, chapter 377, is entitled:

“An Act relating to subversive activities; requiring state,

county and municipal employers to ask employees under

oath concerning memberships in the communist party or

”

other subversive groups; and amending .. .” (Italics ours. )

The single subject of the entire act, “subversive activi-

ties,” is “expressed in the title” as required by Art. II,

14

§ 19, of the state constitution. That part of the title

above italicized characterized the communist party as

a “subversive group” and gives sufficient notice of the

contents of section four.

We are of the opinion that the title of the 1955 act

does not violate either of the constitutional provisions

above discussed and that the trial court’s conclusion,

holding to the contrary, is erroneous.

Error is next assigned to the trial court's conclusion that:

“Chapter 377, Laws of 1955, is unconstitutional in its

entirety ... because... §§ 3 and 4 of the chapter are

not separable from the first two sections.”

[4] In In re Hendrickson, 12 Wn.(2d) 600, 123 P.

(2d) 322 (1942), we recognized that the ultimate test

of separability is the intention of the legislature, as de-

termined by the court, and restated the rule to be:

“.. that the entire statute will fall where the con-

stitutional and unconstitutional provisions are so connected

and interdependent in subject matter, meaning, and pur-

pose that it cannot be believed that the legislature would

have passed the one without the other, or where the

portion eliminated is so intimately connected with the

rest of the statute as to make it useless to accomplish

any of the purposes of the legislature. [Citations. ]”

[5] Applying these principles to the 1955 act, we find

that when sections one and two thereof are substituted

for sections twelve and thirteen of the act of 1951.

15

which they amend, the legislature has stated its intention

in section eighteen of the original act that these sections

be considered separable. While such a saving clause is

not conclusive, it does give us assurance that the legis-

lature would have passed the act even though it knew

that section three were to be eliminated. See State ex rel.

King County v. State Tax Comm., 174 Wash. 336, 24

P.(2d) 1094 (1933). But apart from this, our analysis

of the purpose of the several sections of the 1955 act

clearly manifests the intention of the legislature that

these sections be separable and are capable of function-

ing independently of each other.

[6] Sections one, two, and four of the 1955 act relate

to subversive activities generally, and to the communist

party particularly. Section three, however, pertains to

subversive activities generally and, in particular, is noth-

ing more than an abortive attempt on the part of the

legislature to designate by reference about 250 other

organizations as subversive within the definition con-

tained in section one of the 1951 act, as amended by

Laws of 1953, chapter 142, § 1 (cf. RCW 9.81.010). By

designating the communist party as a subversive organ-

ization in section four, the legislature supplied the rea-

son why it required in section one, as a condition of

public employment, that every present and prospective

public employee state, under oath, whether he or she

was then a member of the communist party, except in

nonsensitive occupations, as provided in section two Ob-

viously, sections one and four were designed to prevent

16

any claim (which the legislature found to be entirely

unfounded in fact) that the communist party was not, and

is not, a “subversive organization” as defined in the 1951

act, as amended.

It is thus apparent that the invalidity of section three

does not vitiate the remainder of the 1955 act. Absent

section three, the entire subversive activities act (in-

cluding the amendments made by section one, two, and

four of the 1955 act) can be administered in precisely

the same manner as with section three, with the single

exception that no list of alleged subversive organizations

prepared by the United States attorney general may be

used to designate membership in proscribed organiza-

tions. Since section three of the 1955 act is clearly sep-

arable and a workable statute remains after its severance,

we cannot sustain the above quoted conclusion of the

trial court.

[7] Respondents further argue that “the state has no

power to enact a subversive activities control statute.”

They cite Pennsylvania v. Nelson, 350 U. S. 497, 100 L. Ed.

640, 76 S. Ct. 477 (1956), wherein the defendant was

charged and convicted in the Pennsylvania state court

with an attempt to overthrow the government of the

United States by force and violence contrary to the Penn-

sylvania sedition act of 1949. The United States supreme

court (affirming the decision of the supreme court of

Pennsylvania) there held that certain Federal legislation

had pre-empted the field of sedition against the United

17

States." As we understand that case, the court did not

hold, either expressly or by implication, that a sovereign

state was precluded from enacting laws designed to sup-

press acts of sedition against the state itself. Moreover,

the Nelson case had no relation whatever to, and did

not involve, the power of a state to enact state laws and

regulations prescribing qualifications prerequisite to pub-

lic employment. But even if we assume, arguendo, that

Federal legislation has pre-empted the field of sedition

against both Federal and state governments, stil] that

which has just been said above concerning separability

of the 1955 act applies with equal force to the separabil-

ity of the penal sections (§§ 2 and 3) of the 1951 act

from those sections (§§ 1 and 2 of the 1955 act) pre-

scribing qualifications for public employment.

Respondents complain that the statute’® which requires

them to execute the oath in question is a bill of attainder

and, as such, contravenes Art. I, § 23, of the state con-

stitution and Art. I, § 10, of the United States constitu-

tion.’ Their argument is substantially the same as that

rejected in this court in Huntamer v. Coe, 40 Wn.( 2d)

767, 246 P.(2d) 489 (1952), wherein we held that sec-

tion 16, as implemented by section 1(e), of the act of

/

"See State v. Diez ( Fla.) 97 So.1 2d) 105 (1957) for a comprehensive

discussion of the inapplicability of the Velson case to state statutes

prescribing conditions precedent to public employment.

'8Laws of 1951. chapter 254. § 12. as amended by Laws of 1955, chap-

ter 377. § 1.

'*No bill of attainder. ex post facto law . . . shall ever be passed.”

Art. L. § 23. of the Washington constitution.

“No state shall .. . pass any bill of attainder, ex post facto law.

..” Art. TE § 10. of the United States constitution.

18

1951 (requiring a similar oath as a condition precedent

to filing a declaration of candidacy for any public office )

was not unconstitutional for these reasons.

[8] Section twelve of the 1951 act, as amended by

Laws of 1955, chapter 377, § 1, requires only that every

present or prospective public employee state, under oath,

whether he or she is “a member of the communist party

or other subversive organization” at the time the oath

is taken. No punishment for past conduct or political

activity is involved. Only one qualification precedent to

public employment is imposed. In short, this section is

clearly neither ex post facto nor in the nature of a bill of

attainder. Huntamer v. Coe, supra; Garner v. Board of

Public Works of Los Angeles, 341 U. S. 716, 95 L. Ed.

1317, 71 S. Ct. 909 (1951); American Communications

Ass'n v. Douds, 339 U. S. 382, 413, 94 L. Ed. 925, 70

S. Ct. 674 (1949); Pickus v. Board of Education of

Chicago, 9 Ill.(2d) 599, 1388 N. E.(2d) 532 (1956).

[9] Nor do we find merit in respondents’ assertion

that section twelve, as amended, violates Art. I, § 9, of

the Washington constitution”? or that clause of the fifth

amendment to the United States constitution which pro-

vides that no person “shall be compelled in any criminal

case to be a witness against himself.” Respondents are

not compelled by section twelve to do anything. But,

if they desire to remain in public employment, they

must comply with the standards of eligibility established

20Ny person shall be compelled in any criminal case to give evidence

against himself, or be twice put in jeopardy for the same offense.”

Art. 1. § 9. of the Washington constitution.

19

by the legislature, and their refusal to do so renders them

ineligible for further employment.

Respondents also attack the oath requirement of the

act, contending that it abridges their rights of freedom

of speech and assembly protected by Art. I, §§ 4 and 5,

of the Washington constitution,”' and the first and four-

teenth amendments to the United States Constitution.”

Pickus v. Board of Education of Chicago, supra, was

an action for a declaratory judgment and an injunction

holding unconstitutional, and restraining the enforcement

of, that section of the Illinois finance act of 1955 which

required all public employees to execute a “non-com-

munist affidavit” as a condition precedent to receiving

compensation for their services from the state or its

political subdivisions. In the course of its opinion, hold-

ing the section involved to be constitutional, the Illinois

supreme court, speaking through Chief Justice Kling-

hiel, said:

“Plaintiffs assert that section 30b is an unwarranted

denial of the right to speak. They fail to point out,

however, the respect or way in which they consider such

right to be involved here. The statute simply provides

21The right of petition and of the people peacefully to assemble for

the common goud shal! never be abridged.” § 4.

“Every person may freely speak. write. and publish on all subjects.

heing responsible for the abuse of thet right.” § 5.

22“(Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion

or prohibiting the free exercise thereof: or abridging the freeden of

speech, or of the press: or the right of the people peaceably to assem-

ble. and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.”

Art I.

20

for the execution of an affidavit of fact. It does not

purport to limit or restrict the right of employees to

speak or assemble.”

And, in Albert Appeal, 372 Pa. 13, 92 A.(2d) 66% (1952),

a teacher in the Pittsburgh public school system was

dismissed and her contract terminated by the board of

education after a hearing on charges preferred by the

superintendent of schools of Pittsburgh that she was a

communist, and for “advocation of or participating in

un-American or subversive doctrines.” In affirming the

decision dismissing the teacher's appeal, the court said:

“All persons born or naturalized in the United States. and subject

to the jurisdiction thereof. are citizens of the United States and of

the state wherein they reside. No state shall make or enforce any law

which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of life. liberty.

or property. without due process of law. nor deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.” Art. XIV.

$1.

“There is no question of the right of free speech in-

volved in this case. Miss Albert is not being penalized

in her capacity as a private citizen because of any po-

litical, economic or social views she may entertain or

any expression she may care to give to those views. The

concern here is with her rights as a teacher, and the

legislature can certainly prescribe qualifications for teach-

ers in the public schools with respect not only to their

academic attainments but also to their moral characters

and their loyalty to the state and federal governments.

Judge (later Mr. Justice) Holmes, in a characteristically

epigrammatic phrase, said in McAuliffe v. Mayor of New

Bedford, 155 Mass. 216, 220, 29 N. E. 517: ‘The pe-

2!

titioner may have a constitutional right to talk politics,

but he has no constitutional right to be a policeman. To

the same effect, Mr. Justice Minton, speaking for the

United States Supreme Court, said in Adler v. Board

of Lducation of the City of New York, 342 U. S. 485,

492 [96 L. Ed. 517, 524, 27 A. L. R.(2d) 472, 476

(1952)]: ‘It is clear that such persons [employed or

seeking employment in the public schools} have the right

under our law to assemble, speak, think and believe as

they will....It is equally clear that they have no right

to work for the State in the school system on their own

terms. ...If they do not choose to work on such terms,

they are at liberty to retain their beliefs and associations

and go elsewhere. Has the State thus deprived them of

any right to free speech or assembly? We think not.”

After stating the matter just quoted, the United States

supreme court, in the Adler case, went on to say:

“If, under the procedure set up in the New York law, a

person is found to be unfit and is disqualified from

employment in the public school system because of mem-

bership in a listed [subversive] organization, he is not

thereby denied the right of free speech and assembly.

His freedom of choice between membership in the organ-

ization and employment in the school system might be

limited, but not his freedom of speech or assembly,

except in the remote sense that limitation is inherent

in every choice. Certainly such limitation is not one the

state may not make in the exercise of its police power to

protect the schools from pollution and thereby to defend

22

its own existence.”

In Fitzgerald v. Philadelphia, 376 Pa. 379, 102 A.(2d)

887 (1954), a nurse, who had been dismissed from her

employment in the Philadelphia General Hospital for

declining to take the oath required by section five of the

Pennsylvania loyalty act of 1951,?’ sought reinstatement.

In affirming a judgment adverse to her, the supreme

‘ court of Pennsylvania said:

“We do not understand that appellant ai gues—or indeed

could argue—that the Commonwealth or any of its po-

litical subdivisions cannot refuse employment, or discon-

tinue it, in the case of anyone who is knowingly a

member of a subversive organization. It would be in-

tolerable for any government to retain in its employ one

who advocates its overthrow by force or violence or

knowingly consorts with others in an organization having

such an ubjective. What we held in Albert Appeal, 372

Pa. 13, 92 A.(2d) 663, and what the Supreme Court of

the United States held in Adler v. Board of Education of

the City of New York, 342 U. S. 485, in regard to teach-

ers applies equally to all public employees, namely, that

the legislature, as a condition of their employment, may

prescribe qualifications with respect not only to their

general attainments but also to their moral character

and their loyalty to the state and federal government,

and, to that end, may deny them public employment

if they are knowingly members of a disloyal and seditious

?5It is significant to note that the statute there involved is strikingly

similar to section twelve of the subversive activities act which is

involved in this case.

23

organization.... That being so, the oath prescribed by

the 1951 Act is obviously justified for the purpose of in-

forming the appointing authority as to whether the em-

plovee is in fact a member of an organization which he

knows is subversive in character and therefore is not a

fit person to be entrusted with the duty of supporting

and advancing the interests of the very government whose

destruction he is seeking to accomplish.” °

Shortly after this case was argued in this court, the

supreme court of the United States rendered its decisions

in Beilan v. Board of Education, 357 U. S. 399, 2 L. Ed.

(2d) 1414, 78 S. Ct. 1317 (1958), and Lerner v. Casey,

357 U. S. 468, 2 L. Ed.(2d) 1423, 78 S. Ct. 1311 (1958).

In the former, a teacher was discharged by the board of

education on its finding of “incompetency” because of his

refusal to answer questions relating to his past com:

munistic affiliations and activities. In upholding the de-

cision of the Pennsylvania supreme court, sustaining the

board’s action, the United States supreme court carefully

pointed out that the teacher was discharged not for

disloyalty, but for “incompetency,” and that such dis-

charge did not violate the due process clause of the

fourteenth amendment.

In the Lerner case, the court upheld a judgment of

the New York court of appeals, which had the effect of

sustaining the dismissal of a subway conductor, em-

ployed by the New York City Transit Authority, who,

when asked (by the commissioner of investigation of

New York City) whether he was then a member of the

24

communist party, refused to answer, claiming his priv-

ilege against self-incrimination under the fifth amend-

ment. He was subsequently suspended, and later dis-

charged. A finding “ ‘that, upon all the evidence, reason-

able grounds exist for belief that, because of his doubtful

trust and reliability . . .’ [his] continued employment would

endanger national and state security,” was based on his

refusal to answer the question asked. The supreme court

acepted the reasoning of the court of appeals that the

city employee had been discharged neither

“... because of any inference of Communist Party mem-

bership which was drawn from the exercise of the

Fifth Amendment privilege [which, the court pointed

out, was not available to appellant through the four-

teenth amendment in this city investigation], nor be-

cause of the assertion of that constitutional protection=

but rather because of the doubt created as to his ‘reli-

lity by—hi s relevant question-

put by his employer, ...” -

Like the Lerner case, supra, the question which sec-

tion twelve of our 1951 act, as amended in 1955, re-

quires respondents to answer is whether or not they

are members of the communist party, or other subversive

organization. :

That the communist party was, in fact, a subversive

organization, as defined in the 1951 act, at the time that

our legislature designated it as such (by § 4 of the 1955

act) can scarcely be doubted. (See appendix C. )

[10] Even prior to the commencement of hostilities

25

in Korea in 1950, numerous judges had recognized the

communist party as a part of a world conspiracy having

as its prime objective the overthrow of the United States

government by force and violence, or whatever means

possible, constitutional or otherwise.** Since then, Con-

gress, in 1950, enacted legislation designed to control

the communist party.?* and, in 1954, proscribed it.“* The

courts of New Jersey?” and Pennsylvania’ take judicial

notice of the fact. We can, and do now, hold likewise.

hecause the fact that the communist party is a subversive

organization is now a matter of common knowledge.

[11} It is settled law that the state may inquire of its

employees regarding matters .that may prove relevant

to their fitness and suitability for public service. Adler

v. Board of Education, supra; Garner v. Los Angeles

Board of Public Work, supra. Particularly is this true with

respect to the employment of teachers in its public schools

and institutions of higher learning. The reasons compell-

ing this conclusion are aptly pointed out by the New

Jersey supreme court in Laba v. Newark Board of Edu-

cation, 23. N. J. 364, 129 A.(2d) 273 (1957), which

4 g., Concurring opinion of Mr Justice Jackson in) Imerican Com

munications Assno+. Douds. 39 Us. 382. OLE. Fd. 925. TOS. 4

674; dissenting opinion of Mr. Chief Justice Stone in Schnerderman

vr. United States. 320 1. 8S. 118. 87 LL. Rd. 1796, 68 8. Ot. 1533

(1942); dissenting opimons in State ox rel. Huff +. Reeves. 5 Wo

(2d) 637, 106 P.t2dy 729. 130 ALL. RL 1405 1 1904)

25Title | ithe subversive activities control act of 19500 of the internal

security act of 1950 «the MeCarran act) of September 23. 1950. 64

Stat. 987. 50 | se i N 781. et seq.

26Communist control act of 1954 of August 24, 1054. 68 Stat. 775. 50

a. ae ees A. 8 Stl. et seq. ’

2?Laba v. Newark Board of Education. 23 N. J. 364. 129 A.t2ds 273

(1957).

28 4lhert Appeal, 372 Pa. 13. 92 A2d) 663 11952).

26

quoted with approval from Thorp v. Board of Trustees of

Schools for Industrial Education, 6 N. J. 498, 79 A.(2d)

462 (1951), judgment vacated as moot, 342 U. S. 803,

96 L. Ed. 608, 72 S. Ct. 35 (1951), as follows:

“The maintenance of the purity of the educational

process against corruption by subversive influences is of

the highest concern to society. It is in no real sense a

denial of academic freedom to require of a teacher, as a

condition to employment, a sworn disavowal of allegi-

ance to the doctrine of force or violence as a mode of

overthrowing government. That would seem to be axi-

omatic. Loyalty to government and its free democratic

institutions is a first requisite for the exercise of the teach-

ing function. Freedom from belief in force or violence

as a justifiable weapon for the destruction of government

is of the very essence of a teacher's qualifications. The

apprehended danger is real and abiding. We have long

had evidences of the pressure here of a godless ideology

ruthlessly fostered by a foreign power which has for

its aim the violent overthrow of government and free

society. And one of its weapons is the debasement of

teaching as a softening measure in the consummation

of the subversive process. The school system affords

the opportunity and means for subtle infiltration. There

is no intrusion upon personal freedoms « hen government

intervenes, as it has here, to avert this peril to its very

existence. A teacher who is bereft of the essential quality

of loyalty and devotion to his government and the fun-

damentals of our democratic society is lacking in a basic

qualification for teaching. The teacher is not obliged to

27

take the oath; but if he refuses to do so he is not entitled

to teach. In the current struggle for men’s minds, the

State is well within its province in ensuring the integrity

of the educational process against those who would per-

vert it to subversive ends.” (Italics ours. )

In Adler v. Board of Education, supra, the supreme

court said:

“...A teacher works in a sensitive area in a school-

room. There he shapes the attitude of young minds

towards the society in which they live. In this, the state

has a vital concern. It must presereve the integrity of the

schools. That the school authorities have the right and

the duty to screen the officials, teachers, and employees

as to their fitness to maintain the integrity of the schools

as a part of ordered society, cannot be doubted. One's

associates, past and present, as well as one's conduct,

may properly be considered in determining htness and

loyalty. From time immemorial, one’s reputation has been

determined in part by the company he keeps. In the

employment of officials and teachers of the school sys-

tem, the state may verv properly inquire into the com-

pany thev keep, and we know of no rule, constitutional

or otherwise, that prevents the state, when determining

the fitness and loyalty of such persons, from considering

the organizations and persons with whom they associate.”

(Italics ours. )

In this case, because of their positions in a “sensitive”

area, each respondent is required, by section twelve of

the 1951 act, as amended in 1955, to state, upon oath,

28

whether he is a member of the comumnist party or other

subversive organization.

[12] The foregoing authorities clearly hold that, with-

out violating any of the constitutional rights here invoked

by respondents, the state is entitled to ask this question

and to demand an answer as a condition of continued

employment. Refusal to answer is sufficient grounds for

discharge, whether it be for “incompetency” (Beilan v.

Board of Education, supra), or because by his lack of

candor he provides evidence of his “doubtful trust and

reliability.” (Lerner v. Casey, supra.)

[13] Respondents also contend that the form of oath

which appelants demanded that they sign violates the

due process clause of the fourteenth amendment” to the

United States constitution, and Art. I, §§ 3 and 12,” of

the state constitution, in failing.to include the element

of scienter of the subversive character of a subversive

organization on the part of the prospective affiant. As

we interpret the form >f oath, we find that this element

is implied in every clause thereof and of the perticnt

statutory provisions. See Garner v. Board of Public Works

of Los Angeles, supra. As so construed, the case for

Wieman v. Updegraff, supra, on which respondents rely.

has no application.

29See note 21. supra.

‘No person shall be deprived of life. liberty, or property without due

process of law.” Art. I. § 3. of the Washington constitution.

“No law shall be passed granting to any citizen. class of citizens. or

corporation, other than municipal, privileges or immunities which.

upon the same terms, shall! not equally belong to all citizens or cor-

porations.”” Art. I, § 12. of the Washington constitution.

29

Conclusion

No authority, state or Federal, has been called to our

attention (and we have discovered none from our own

research) holding either:

(a) That the states have been deprivec of their con-

trol over public schools or institutions of higher learning

operated by them, including the power to protect the

students therein against the possible exertion of sub-

versive influence by their teachers or other instructors; or

(b) That the states have been deprived of the right

to investigate the qualifications (including loyalty) of

their employees who are paid by public funds.

{14} In the absence of such authority, this court must

hold that all of the provisions of the Laws of 1955,

chapter 377, except section three thereof, are a valid

exercise of the sovereign power of the state for the pro-

tection of the state of Washington and its existing edu-

cational institutions, and their respective students, under

the tenth amendment to the United States constitution,

reading as follows:

“The powers not delegated to the United States by the

constitution, nor prohibited by it to the states, are reserved

to the states respectively, or to the people.”

We are further of the opinion that the 1955 act (ex-

cept for § 3) does not in any respect contravene any of

the provisions of our state constitution or of the United

States constitution which have been invoked by respond-

ents.

30

It follows from what has been said herein that the

action of appellants in demanding that respondents sign

the form of oath attached to the complaint was correct.

The decree of the trial court is reversed with direc-

tions to dissolve the permanent injunction restraining

appellants from performing their official duties under the

1955 act (except § 3) with respect to respondents and

to dismiss their action.

Neither party shall be allowed costs in this court.

ALL Concur.

APPENDIX A

Excerpts from House Concurrent Resolution No. 10,

Laws of 1947, p. 1378.

“Wuereas, These are times of public danger, subver-

sive persons and groups are endangering our domestic

unity, so as to leave us unprepared to meet aggression,

and under cover of the protection afforded by the bill

of rights these persons and groups seek to destroy our

liberties and our freedom by force, threats and sabotage,

and to subject us to the domination of foreign powers; and

“WuereEas, Recent announcements by responsible of-

ficers of the federal government indicate the seriousness

of the problem. J. Edgar Hoover, Director of the Fed-

eral Bureau of Investigation,’ recently said: ‘During the

*In 1957, after nearly forty years’ experience in dealing with commu-

nist activities in the United States. Mr. Hoover reported to the Amer-

ican public on this subject in “Masters of Deceit” (Librarw of Con-

gress Catalog Card No. 58-7643). For a description of communist

party operations in the United States. see parts IT. [1I. and IV.

31

past five years American Communists have made their

deepest inroads upon our national life. Their propaganda,

skillfully designed and adroitly executed has been pro-

jected into practically every phase of our national life.

The Communist influence has projected itself ‘nto some

newspapers, books, radio and the screen, some churches,

schools, colleges and even fraternal orders have been

penetrated, not with the approval of the rank and file,

but in spite of them’; and

“Wuerras, State legislation to meet the problem and

to assist law enforcement officers can best be based on

a thorough and impartial investigation by a competent

and active legislative committee;

“Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, That there is here-

by created a Joint Legislative Fact-finding Committee

on Un-American Activities in the State of Washington

which shall investigate, ascertain, collate and appraise

all facts concerning individuals, groups or organizations

whose activities are such as to indicate a purpose to

foment internal strife, discord and dissension; infiltrate

and undermine the stability of our American institutions;

confuse and mislead the people; and impede the normal

progress of our state and nation either in a war time or

a peace time economy; and

“Be It Further Resolved, That in addition to other

duties imposed upon the committee, the committee shall

investigate the activities of groups and organizations whose

membership includes persons who are communists, or

any other organization known or suspected to be dom-

ot ee

5 fy 2 ‘

32

inated or controlled by a foreign power, which activities

affect the conduct of this state, the functioning of any

state agency, unemployment relief and other forms of

public assistance, educational institutions of this state sup-

ported in whole or in part by state funds, or any political

program; and

“Be It Further Resolved, That the Committee shall con-

sist of four members of the House of Representatives,

appointed by the speaker thereof; and three members

of the Senate appointed by the president thereof and

they shall be subject to confirmation of their respective

bodies. The speaker of the House of Representatives shall

appoint the chairman of the board; and

“Be It Further Resolved, That the committee hereby

created ... shall have ... all powers necessary or conveni-

ent to accomplish the objects and purposes of this reso-

lution, including but not limited to the following duties

and powers: ...

“(5) To hold public hearings at any place in the State

of Washington at which hearings the people are to have

an opportunity to present their views to the committee;

“(6) To make a complete study, survey and investi-

gation of every phase of the subject of this resolution,

including but not limited to the operation, effect, ad-

ministration, enforcement, and needed revision of any

and all laws in anywise bearing upon or relating to the

subject of this resolution;

“(7) To meet at any and all places in this state, in

33

public or executive session;

“(8) To act during this session of the legislature, in-

cluding any recess hereof, and after final adjournment

hereof until commencement of the thirty-first legislature.

“(9) To file a report with the thirty-first legislature .

APPENDIX B

I.

Pertinent prefatory remarks of the Joint Fact-finding

Committee on Un-American Activities in the State of

Washington addressed to the Speaker of the House of

Representatives and the Thirtieth Legislature, contained

in the First Report, Un-American Activities in Wash-

ington State, 1948, are as follows:

“The testimony and evidence in the first hearings prove

conclusively, in the judgment of your Committee, that:

“1. Communists in the State of Washington operate

under, and undeviatingly follow, policies laid down for

them by the Soviet government.

“2. These policies are promulgated on a nation-wide

basis and that the activities of Communists in the State

of Washington are coordinated with Communist activities

in the other states of the union.

“3. The dovetailed nation-wide program is designed

to create distrust of their form of government in the

minds and hearts of the American people; create unrest

and civil strife, and impede the normal processes of

34

state and national government, all to the end of weak-

ening and ultimately destroying the United States as

a constitutional republic and thereby facilitating the

avowed Soviet purpose of substituting here a totalitarian

dictatorship.

“Fantastic as this may appear to the uninitiate and

the naive, the testimony produced at the public hearings

clearly brings into view the extreme danger of the Soviet

directed Communist conspiracy to the peace and security

of the people of the State of Washington and the United

States.”

Il.

Salient prefatory remarks of the above mentioned com-

mittee address to the Thirty-first Legislature of the State

of Washington, contained in the Second Report, Un-

American Activities in Washington State, 1948, are:

“The hearing, conducted by a legally appointed com-

mittee of the legislature, met with much resistance and

actual sabotage in its proceedings. Under the guise of

a ‘picket line’ Communist inspired marchers surrounded

the 146th Field Artillery Armory, scene of the hearing,

and raised their voices in shouting in an obvious attempt

to drown out the testimony of witnesses.

“Seattle police arrested ringleaders of the demonstra-

tions on charges of disorderly conduct. Joint efforts of

Seattle police and the State Patrol were necessary to

quell the disturbances so that your Committee could carry

on its hearings in an orderly manner.

f

35

“While the number of University faculty members ex-

posed as having or having had Communist Party affilia-

tions was relatively small compared with the actual size

of the faculty, the hearing developed that the pattern

of Communist infiltration was identical with that employed

by the Communists in other fields.

“In virtually every fief in which they ultimately have

been the dominating influence the Communists start with

a small but active minority who almost invariably con-

ceal their affiliations and operate as so-called ‘liberals.’

“Your Committee wishes to direct particular attention

to the testimony concerning not only the University of

Washington but to the proven Communist domination of

the Repertory Playhouse, an off-campus school of the

drama, which has drawn many of its students from the

University. Testimony concerning the affiliation of the

leadership of this school with Communist activities is pre-

ponderant, and, to the uninitiate, startling in the extreme.”

Il.

Excerpts from the Report of Un-American Activities

Committee to the Thirty-first Legislature of the State

of Washington (House Journal, 1949, P. 1095, et seq.):

“'..The State of Washington is acraw] with trained

and iron disciplined Communists. They have operated

here with seeming immunity. Many of them hold almost

impregnable positions of confidence and trust in their

communities. They have successfully infiltrated their con-

stant objectives, education, government, labor and mu-

36

nicipa! services. They effectively operate and manipulate

an incredible maze of propaganda outlets known as Com-

munist Front Organizations.

“If the Communists are permitted to work unhampered

a short time more in American education, the significance

of our historic background will be almost completely

lost to a generation of Americans. Our endeavors in un-

covering Communist activity in education were largely

confined to disclosure of evidence showing that Com-

munists agents are being employed by this state in :tax

supported institutions.

“We did not at this time investigate to any great ex-

tent the substance of any teaching. We felt it sufficient

to disclose the aims of the Communists in education and

point out the rigid discipline and control held by the

Party over its members. It then becomes obvious that a

member of the Communist Party could not possibly shed

his communism on entering the classroom. That as a Com-

munist he is dedicated to the overthrow of the system

and state employing him. That as a Communist he has

subordinated his belief in academic freedom to the will

of the Communist Party. By his own consent he is no

longer a free agent and when he talks of academic freedom

and civil rights it becomes the rankest hypocrisy. . . .

“Early in our investigations it became apparent that a

large and well-organized group of disciplined Communists

are operating in the State of Washington and have been

for many years. These Communists are agents of Soviet

37

Russia through their membership and strict loyalty to

the Communist Party. Some are aliens, more are Ameri-

can bom, but all are alike in their undeviating obedience

to the dictates of the Kremlin laid down to them in what

is known as the Party Line.

“Every Communist and Communist syinpathizer is a

a potential saboteur and spy and it is the rankest non-

sense to finance this program of self-destruction with

public funds. An alarming number of Communists are

on federal, state and municipal payrolls.

“The predatory nature of the world Communist Party

is well attested to by many former Communists in the

transcripts of our two public hearings which are ap-

pended to and made a part of this report. They are

identified as ‘First Report on Un-American Activities in

Washington State’ and ‘Second Report on Un-American

Activities in Washington State.’ /

,

“In addition to the printed reports of testimony taken

at our two public hearings, the Committee has accumu-

lated an index file of approximately 40,000 subjects deal-

ing with Communists, their Front Organizations and ac-

tivities and related materials. In the case of notorious

Communists such as... [certain persons named], their

cards may have scores of individual notations and cross ref-

erences. We have found a pattern of Communist intrigue

and conspiracy of alarming proportions extending over

the State of Washington and the Pacific Northwest like

a huge spider web. The cables of this web are imbedded

deep in federal, state, and municipal government, all levels

38

in education, state welfare programs, labor organizations

and religion. ...

“While engaged in an intensive investigation in these

two fields of Communist activity, it became increasingly

apparent that all Communist activity in all fields is inter-

related. That Communist agents while assigned to dif-

ferent projects are all dedicated to the same objective;

the softening up of our people for the eventual violent

overthrow of our government. That they work as a team

taking their orders from the top, and that they do not devi-

ate in the minutest detail from the Party Line and Party

instructions. This may involve the following out of some

minor Party assignment in a labor organization, outside

speaking engagements for a university professor, or obedi-

ence to accepted Party conduct before a legislative hear-

ing. No deviation from Party instructions is permitted—

”

none occurs....

(For the committee's remarks concerning “Academic

Freedom,” particularly with reference to its investiga-

tion of subversive activities at the University of Wash-

ington, see that subheading in its report commencing on

page 1110 (House Journal, 1949), and the letter of

Raymond B. Allen, then president of the University of

Washington, set out at length therein. )

Continuing the quote from the aforementioned report,

at page 1117 of the House Journal (1949):

“]. Edgar Hoover is one of the outstanding and most

vocal enemies of the Communists and has repeatedly

39

stated that the members of the Communist Party in Amer-

ica are fifth column agents representing a hostile govern-

ment....

“In reply to a question regarding the initiation of crim-

inal prosecutions by the FBI in cases where federal em-

ployees failed to disclose Communist Party affiliations,

Mr. Hoover stated:

““Criminal prosecutions are initiated in proper cases,

but not by the FBI. That is a responsibility of the

prosecuting officials of the Department of Justice and the

various United States attorneys. It’s not a simple matter

to prove that one is a Communist. In fact, the most

dangerous Communists in the nation today are not the

open, avowed card-carrying Party members. They seek

to attach themselves to liberal and progressive move-

ments. They conceal their real Communist affiliations,

because they know that once exposed they will outlaw

themselves in the hearts and minds of Loyal Americans.

A real Communist supporter can be identified by his acts

—he follows his party line, espouses the Party’s causes and

often furthers its aims by his overt acts.

““The Communist Partv has long regarded infiltration

of the government service as a project carrving highest

priority. They have sought to accomplish this under the

guise of secrecy. The menace of Communists in govern-

ment service is a threat to our national security because

of (1) opportunity to engage in espionage to the detri-

ment of our national defense; (2) opportunity to in-

fluence the formulation and carrving out of governmental

40

policies; (3) opportunity to promote Communist prop-

aganda, creating disruption and undermining public con-

fidence; (4) opportunity to recruit Party members in

government service, or soliciting the aid of innocent co-

workers in assisting them to carry out Party assignments;

and (5) opportunity to place other Communists in gov-

ernment service. One person whose loyalty to the Com-

munist cause exceeds his loyalty to the United States

could, if properly placed, do irreparable harm to our

security.

The committee recommended, inter alia:

“(11) To press with all vigor and energy and all its

resources the investigation into Communism in our tax-

supported schools, both common schools and institutions

of higher learning. Communists already have made salu-

tary inroads into our education system. Testimony, in-

cluding that of high ex-Communists, in the first and second

committee reports, disclose the alarming progress that

has been made.

“In the blue print for Communist infiltration the Com-

munist objective is summed up in these simple words:

““In destroying the capitalist monoply of the means

of production, the working class must also destroy the

capitalist monoply of education; that is, it must take

possession of all the schools.” *( Program of the Commu-

nist International, adopted by the Sixth World Congress,

Sept. 1, 1928, Moscow. “Blue Print for World Conquest,

page 206.)

4]

“As heretofore stated, your Committee had opportu-

nity merely to scratch the surface of Communist infiltra-

tion in our tax-supported school system.

“(12) The successor committee, or a separate com-

mittee be authorized to fully investigate the manner in

which textbooks and all other reading matter in our

schools is chosen and approved, and that the Legisla-

ture make it mandatory to either delegate existing agen-

cies or create a separate agency with the responsibility

of stemming the flow of subversive reading matter that

is finding its way into some of the classrooms of our

schools.

Appenpix C

I. ne

Schwartz, the Supreme Court, chapter 9, page 317:

“Perhaps the most striking judicial statement of the

actual character of the American Communist Party is

to be found in a 1950 opinion of Justice Jackson [con-

curring opinion in American Communications Ass'n vt.

Douds, 339 U. S. 382, 413, 94 L. Ed. 925, 70 S. Ct. 674

(1949)], which is remarkable for the breadth of its lan-

guage and its judicial notice of data not in evidence

before the Court.

“From information before its several Committees [reads

the opinion referred to], and from facts of general knowl-

edge, Congress could rationally conclude that, behind its

political partv facade, the Communist Party is a conspira-

torial and revolutionary junta, organized to reach ends

42

and to use methods which are incompatible with our con-

stitutional system. A rough and compressed grouping of

this data would permit Congress to draw these important

conclusions as to its distinguishing characteristics.

“1. The goal of the Communist Party is to seize pow-

ers of government by and for a minority rather than to

acquire power through the vote of a free electorate. . . .

“2. The Communist Party alone among American par-

ties past or present is dominated and controlled by a for-

eign government... .

“3. Violent and undemocratic means are the calculated

and indispensable methods to attain the Communist

Party's goal. It would be incredible naivete to expect the

American branch of this movement to forego the only

methods by which a Communist Party has anywhere

come into power.

“4. The Communist Party has sought to gain this lev-

erage and hold on the American population by acquiring

control of the labor movement. . . .

“5. Every member of the Communist Party is an agent

to execute the Communist program.

“Although unsupported by the kind of evidence that

would usually be required in a law court, the broad in-

dictment of the Communist Party in Justice Jackson's

“opinion comports with the common sense of the sub-

”

fect...

43

II.

Report of (United States) House of Representatives

Committee on Un-American Activities relative to the In-

ternal Security Act of 1950 (House Report No. 2980,

dated August 22, 1950):

“NECESSITY FOR LEGISLATION

“The need for legislation to control Communist activ-

ities in the United States cannot be questioned.

“Over 10 years of investigation by the Committee on

Un-American Activities and by its predecessor commit-

tee has established (1) that the Communist movement

in the United States is foreign-controlled; (2) that its

ultimate objective with respect to the United States is

to overthrow our free American institutions in favor of

a Communist totalitarian dictatorship to be controlled

from abroad; (3) that its activities are carried on by

secret and conspiratorial methods; and (4) that its activ-

ities, both because of the alarming march of Communist

forces abroad and because of the scope and nature of

Communist activities here in the United States, constitute

an immediate and powerful threat to the security of the

United States and to the American way of life.

“The Communist program of conquest through treach-

ery, deceit, infiltration, espionage, sabotage, corruption.

and terrorism has been carried out in country after coun-

try and is an ever-growing threat to the national security

of this and other countries. There is ample evidence that

one of the primary objectives of the world Communist

movement, directed from within the most powerful exist-

44

ing Communist totalitarian dictatorship, is to repeat this

pattern in the United States.

“There is incontrovertible evidence of the fact that the

Communist Party of the United States is dominated by

such totalitarian dictatorship and that it is one of the=

principal instrumentalities used by the world Communist

movement, in its ruthless and tireless endeavor to advance

the world march of communism.

“The findings which support these conclusions, and

the vast quantity of evidence on which they are based,

are set forth in detail in the numerous reports which this

committee and its predecessors have printed and circu-

lated. Corroboration has been supplied by independent

and exhaustive research by other committees of Congress.

“Concern over this threat is not limited to the legisla-

tive branch of our Government. At the present time 30

of the 70 major countries in the world have outlawed the

Communist Party. Many other countries have adopted

various legislative decrees against communism, and since

1947 the trend has been toward declaring all Communist

activities illegal. Panama was the latest to take such

action. This action came in April of this year. . . .

“Concern over the Communist threat has not been

overlooked by the different State legislatures. At the

present time 33 States have iaws against the displaying

of the ‘Red’ flag: 12 States have criminal anarchy laws;

16 have criminal svndicalism laws; 22 have sedition laws:

16 have laws against the Communist Party candidates

45

appearing on the election ballot; 19 States exclude Com-

munists from public employment; 28 States require loy-

alty oaths of all employees; and 20 States require teach-

ers to take loyalty oaths.”

ITI.

Communist Control Act of 1954, August 24, 1954, chap-

ter 886, § 2, 68 Stat. 775, 50 U. S.C. A., § 841.

“Sec. 2. The Congress hereby finds and declares that

the Communist Party of the United States, although pur-

portedly a political party, is in fact an instrumentality of

a conspiracy to overthrow the Government of the United

States. It constitutes an authoritarian dictatorship within

a republic, demanding for itself the rights and privileges

accorded to political parties, but denying to all others the

liberties guaranteed by the Constitution. Unlike political

parties, which evolve their policies and programs through

public means, by the reconciliation of a wide variety of

individual views, and submit those policies and programs

to the electorate at large for apnroval or disapproval, the

policies and programs of the Communist Party are secretly

prescribed for it by the foreign leaders of the world Com-

munist movement. Its members have no part in deter-

mining its goals, and are not permitted to voice dissent

to party objectives Unlike members of political parties,

members of the Communist Party are recruited for in-

doctrination with respect to its objectives a..d methods

and are organized, instructed, and disciplined to carry

into action slavishly the assignments given them by their

hierarchical chieftains. Unlike political parties, the Com-

46

munist Party acknowledges no constitutional or statutory

limitations upon its conduct or upon that of its members.

The Communist Party is relatively small numerically, and

gives scant indication of capacity ever to attain its ends

by lawful political means. The peril inherent in its opera-

tion arises not from its numbers, but from its failure to

acknowledge any limitation as to the nature of its activ-

ities, and its dedication to the proposition that the pres-

ent constitutional Government of the United States ulti-

mately must be brought to ruin by any available means,

including resort to force and violence. Holding that doc-

trine, its role as the agency of a hostile foreign power

renders its existence a clear present and continuing dan-

ger to the security of the United States. It is the means

whereby individuals are seduced into the service of the

world Communist movement, trained to do its bidding,

and directed and controlled in the conspiratorial perform-

ance of their revolutionary services. Therefore, the Com-

munist Party should be outlawed.”

47

APPENDIX B

DECISION OF THE WASHINGTON STATE SUPREME

COURT

[158 Wash. Dec. 101]

[No. 34451. En Banc. April 20, 1961]

Howarp L. Nostranp et al., Respondents, v. HERBERT

S. Lrrtte et al., Appellants.

This case was originally decided by this court January

29, 1959, and was then entitled Nostrand v. Balmer. Our

decision is reported in 53 Wn.(2d) 460, 335 P.(2d) 10,

to which reference is made for a preface to the present

opinion.

Thereafter, the case was appealed to the Supreme Court

of the United States and, after being argued and con-

sidered by that court, a per curiam opinion was filed

May 2, 1960 (two justices dissenting), which is reported

in. 362 U. S. 474, 4 L. Ed.(2d) 892, 80 S. Ct. 840.

The mandate of the Supreme Court received June 13,

1960, directed that our judgment, entered March 20, 1959,

be vacated and the cause remanded for further proceed-

ings not inconsistent with the per curiam opinion.

Accordingly, this court, by order entered Juae 17, 1960.

vacated its judgment of March 20, 1959, and set the

cause for further hearing en banc at its September, 1960,

session for a consideration of the following issues:

1. Whether the plaintiffs have raised, either in the

trial court or in this court, the claim that they should be

afforded such hearing to explain or defend their refusal

to take the oath; and |

4S

2. If such claim is properly before this court, whether

the pertinent statutes of the state of Washington do or

do not afford them such a hearing; and

3. If said statutes do not afford them such a hearing,

whether plaintiffs are thereby denied due process of law

under the constitution of the United States or the consti-

tution of the state of Washington.

For convenience, we shall in this opinion refer to the

plaintiffs Nostrand and Savelle as “the professors,” and

to the defendant state officers as “the regents.”

At this hearing which was held September 21, 1960.

counsel for the parties submitted briefs and presented

oral arguments bearing on these issues.

Before considering the issues above referred to, we

wish to refer to the per curiam opinion of the Supreme

Court, in which the reasons for remanding the case to

this court are stated.

We think that it will be helpful to have in mind the

circumstances under which this case has been remanded

to this court and, therefore, we quote the per curiam

opinion in full (omitting only the reference to Seattle v.

Ross, 54 Wn.(2d) 655, 344 P.(2d) 216 (1959), referred

to below):!

"In our opinion. our recent decision in the case of Seattle v. Ross, supra,

has no hearing on the issues involved in the present case. The reasons

therefor are stated in the dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice Douglas

(concurred in by Mr. Justice Black). Furthermore, the Seattle ordj-

nance defined a criminal offense of which Ross was convicted. The in-

stant case is a purely civil proceeding involving the right of a public

employee to continue his employment without signing the affidavit re-

quired by the statute. The act before us prescribes no presumption

a2

49

“Washington requires every public employee to

subscribe to an oath that he is ‘not a subversive per-

son or a member of the Communist Party or any

subversive organization, foreign or otherwise, which

engages in or advocates, abets, advises, or teaches

the overthrow, destruction or alteration of the con-

stitutional form of the government of the United

States, [or of the State of Washington], or of any

politica! subdivision of either of them, by revolution,

force or violence; ° °.°.’ Refusal so to do ‘on any

grounds shall be cause for immediate termination of

such employee’s employment.

“Appellants brought this declaratory judgment action

claiming the Act to be violative of due process as

well as other provisions of the Federal Constitution.

One of the claims is that no hearing is afforded at

which the employee can explain or defend his refusal

to take the oath. The Supreme Court of Washing-

ton did not pass on this point. The Attorney General

suggests in his brief that prior to any decision thereon

here, ‘the Supreme Court of Washington should be

first given an opportunity to consider and pass upon’

it... . In the light of these circumstances we cannot

say how the Supreme Court of Washington would

construe this statute on the hearing point.

“The declaratorv nature of the case, the fact that

the State’s statute here under attack supplements

previous statutory provisions raising questions con-

cerning the applicability of the latter, together with

the comity that should be afforded the State with

regard to the interpretation of its own laws, bring

us to the conclusion that we must remand the case

for further consideration. Cf. Williams v. State of

than an emplovee who fails to take the oath is a subversive person.

His refusal to answer the required question in afidavit form is ground

for discharge from public employment either for incompetency or in-

subordination or doubtful trust and reliability.

50

Georgia, 1955, 349 U. S. 375, 75 S. Ct. 814, 99 L. Ed.

1161.°? (Italics ours. )

We have italicized certain words in the foregoing quo-

tation because they have been erroneously construed by

some news commentators as implying that this court

did not do its full duty in the premises, and that the

remand was made necessary because we had negligently

failed to decide all the questions before us on the first

hearing. We do not so read the per curiam decision, but,

since the public has been so advised, we wish to take this

opportunity to record the fact that (as will more fully

appear below) we decided in our original opinion every

justiciable issue which was then before us for consideration.

2We have examined the case of Williams v. Georgia, to which our at-

tention has been called in the per curiam opinion of the Supreme

Court. The majority opinion in that case remanded it to the state

supreme court to reconsider the extraordinary motion for new trial

of a defendant convicted of first degree murder. The final paragraph

of the opinion stated the Supreme Court’s reasons for remanding the

case as follows:

“The facts of this case are extraordinary, particularly in view of

the use of yellow and white tickets by a judge of the Fulton County

Superior Court almost a year after the State’s own Supreme Court had

condemned the practice in the Avery case. That life is at stake is of

course another important factor in creating the extraordinary situa-

tion. The difference between capital and non-capital offenses is the

hasis of differentiation in law in diverse ways in which the distinction

hecomes relevant. We think that orderly procedure requires a remand

to the State Supreme Court for reconsideration of the case. Fair re-

gard for the principles which the Georgia courts have enforced in

numerous cases and for the constitutional commands binding on all

courts compels us to reject the assumption that the courts of Georgia

would allow this man to go to his death as the result of a conviction

secured from a jury which the State admits was unconstitutionally im-

paneled. Cf. Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U. S. 103.”

On the remand, the supreme court of Georgia declined to recon-

sider the case. Williams v. State, 211 Ga. 763, 88 S.E.(2d) 376. The

United States Supreme Court then denied a petition for certiorari to

review that decision, 350 U. S. 950, 100 L. Ed. 828, 76 S. Ct. 326. A

petition for rehearing was subsequently denied by the Supreme Court.

350 U. S. 977, 100 L. Ed. 847. 76 S. Ct. 443.

5l

I.

In order to determine whether the constitutional ques-

tion, which is the subject of the Supreme Court's opinion,

was presented to us for decision at the original hearing

in this court, it is necessary to review the record from the

beginning.

The professors instituted this action under our declar-

atory judgment act (RCW 7.24.010 et seq.) by filing their

complaint, in which they alleged that the action was

brought

.for the purpose of testing and determining

the constitutionality of the Act, and the right of the

defendants (the regents ) to establish, enforce, carry

out, and administer the provisions thereof through

the insistence that plaintiffs and other state employees

execute the oath, or otherwise.” pfrownsta 9 of

the complaint. )

As to their status and rights as state emplovees to

challenge the act, the professors alleged, in paragraphs

1 and 2, that:

“They are residents of King County, Washington,

and are presently employed under contract as pro-

fessors by the University of Washington, hereinafter

called the University, an institution of higher learn-

ing owned and operated by the State of Washing-

ton, through the Sitiedeat Board of Regents.

“Through plaintiffs: employment contracts and pur-

suant to the terms of R.C.W. 28.76 and the rules and

regulations of the University, plaintiffs have employ-

ment tenure and certain retirement benefits.”

The allegations wherein they raised federal questions

52

are found in paragraphs 6 and 7, reading as follows:

“Pursuant to the Act, defendants have demanded

that plaintiffs sign and swear to an oath, a copy of

which is attached hereto, marked Exhibit ‘A’; and

unless plaintiffs comply with such demands, their

employment contracts with the University will be

terminated by the defendants.

“The terms, provisions, and requirements of the

Act and the oath are in violation of plaintiffs’ rights,

privileges and immunities under the Constitution of

the United States in the following particulars:

“1. They violate the rights guaranteed under the

First Amendment as made applicable to the States

by the Fourteenth Amendment:

“2. They violate the rights guaranteed under the

Fifth Amendment as made applicable to the States

by the Fourteenth Amendment;

“3. They deprive the plaintiffs of their rights with-

out due process of law and deny them the equal

protection of the laws as guaranteed by the Four-

teenth Amendment; and

“4. They constitute a Bill of Attainder contrarv

to Article I, Section 10.”

The regents, in their answer, denied all the allegations

of the complaint above referred to.

After the trial of the cause, the trial court entered

certain findings of fact and conclusions of law. The find-

ings which are pertinent to our present inquiry are:

“I. The plaintiffs are residents of King County,

Washington, and are presently employed under con-

tract as professors by the University of Washington,

hereinafter called the University, an institution of

53

higher learning owned and operated by the State ot

Washington, through the defendant Board of Re-

gents.

“II. Through the plaintiffs’ employment centracts

and pursuant to statute and the rules and regulations

of the University, plaintiffs have certain tenure rights

and certain retirements benefits.

“V. All defendants are charged with the duty of

establishing, enforcing, carrying out and administer-

ing the provisions of Chapter 377, Laws of 1955.

hereinafter called the Act, enacted by the Legislature

of the State of Washington on March 9, !955, ap-

proved by the Governor on March 21, 1955. The

Act provides that each department head in the State

of Washington must require that each emplovee

under his charge state under oath whether or not

he is a member of the Communist Party or other

subversive organization, or upon failure to execute

such oath, his employment be terminated.

“VI. Pursuant to the Act, defendants have de-

manded that plaintiffs sign and swear to an oath, a

copy of which is attached to the complaint herein.

marked Exhibit A, and have stated that unless the

plaintiffs complied with such demands, their em-

ployment contracts with the University would be

terminated by the defendants.”

The trial court, in its conclusions of law, held that the

act was invalid because it violated certain provisions of

the constitution of the state of Washington, and declared

that the professors were entitled to the declaratory relief

and the injunction prayed for. No federal question was

decided by the trial court.

The final decree granted the following declaratory relief:

54

“IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that Chapter 377, Laws of 1955 violates

the Constitution of the State of Washington, and is

therefore void and of no effect; .. .”

The decree also permanently enjoined the regents from

enforcing the act and from requiring the professors to

execute any oath pursuant thereto.

From this final decree the regents appealed to this

court, and, etter our consideration of the briefs and oral

arguments, we rendered the unanimous decision of Jan-

uarv 29, 1959, referred to above.

In this posture of the case, we turn to a consideration

of the first of the three questions set forth above, to wit,

whether the professors raised the “hearing” issue either

in the trial court or in this court.

We can find nothing in the complaint or elsewhere in

the record in the trial court indicating that this issue was

ever called to the court's attention. The portions of the

record which we have just quoted make it plain that the

issue was not raised or considered. The trial court's decree

granting declaratory relief to the professors is specifically

limited to the basis that the act violated certain pro-

visions of the state constitution. Neither the decree nor

the conclusions of law on which it was based mention

any federal question whatsoever. The only reference to

the United States constitution anywhere in the trial court

record is found in the allegations of paragraph 7 of the

complaint, quoted above. These allegations raised fou:

points, wherein it was claimed that their rights, privileges

and immunities under the United States constitution were

55

impaired by the act and the oath. However. these were

general in scepe and nothing was said about the lack

of a hearing being one of them.

Parenthetically, there is neither allegation nor finding

that the professors have ever refused to take the oath or

that they intend to do so in the future. In the absence

of such a showing it would seem premature, even in a

declaratory judgment action, for a court to rule on a hypo-

thetical situation. At least until the professors show that

they have refused to sign the oath, or intend to do so,

they are not entitled to de:nand an administrative hearing

on any ground.

Assuming that when the case first came to this court

the professors were in a position to raise the hearing

issue, the question remains: What did they do to alert

this court at that time as to their contention (now made

in the Supreme Court) that the act was violative of the

United States constitution upon the ground that no hearing

was afforded at which the emplovee could explain or

defend his refusal to take the oath.

In their brief on the last hearing before this court,

counsel for the professors frankly stated:

“As to presentation of this basis of unconstitution-

ality in the appeal to this Court, we acknowledge

that in respondents’ brief we did not present this

with the precision and definiteness that in retrospect

we would have liked. But this matter was sufficiently

presented in our brief to alert the Court to the prob-

6

lem of a ps due process as —— to the Act.

In our brief we cited and discussed Adler v. Board

of Education, 342 U. S. 485, 96 L. ed. 517, 72 S. Ct.

380, 27 ALR (2d) 472 (1952) (Resp. Br. 23, 24,

27-28, 31, 35, 36, 48, 53, 55); Slochower v. Board

of Education, 350 U. S. 551, 76 S. Ct. 637, 100 L. ed.

692 (1955) (Resp. Br. 35-36), and Rudder v. United

States, (C.A. D.C. 1955) 226 F.(2d) 51 (Resp. Br.

21-28)...”

It seems to us that, in a case which involved many

constitutional issues, both state and federal, the citation

of these three cases in connection with other points can-

not reasonably be held to be adequate notice that the

hearing issue was being relied upon.

In this connection, the professors further assert that,

because at that time the validity of another section of

the act was also challenged (Section 3, relating to the

United States Attorney General's list of subversive or-

ganizations), we should have, sua sponte, applied to sec-

tion 4 of the act the rule adopted by the Supreme Court

in Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341

U. S. 123, 95 L. Ed. 817, 71 S Ct. 624, relating to the

indispensability of hearings.

We do not think that we were called upon, after hav-

ing held that section 3 was invalid, to search the record

for other possible applications of the McGrath case to

situations not called to our attention by counsel. It is

the duty of counsel to be specific in presenting their con-

tentions to an appellate court. In the present case, this

was not done with regard to the hearing issue until

after we had decided the case.

57

The professors then filed a petition for hearing in

which, for the first time (as far as we were aware),

they raised the question of the invalidity of section 4

of the act on the ground that there was no provision

for a hearing at which an employee could explain or

defend his refusal to sign the oath (if he had refused

to do so).

This court has for many years adhered to its rule that

it will not consider questions presented to it for the first

time in a petition for rehearing. State v. Hazzard, 76

Wash. 586, 137 Pac. 143 (1913), and cases cited therein.

Were it not for the fact that this case has been re-

manded to this court by the Supreme Court with the re-

quest that we interpret the act with respect to the hear-

ing issue, we would dismiss the professors’ claim as not

being timely raised. That would, of course, terminate

our consideration of the case.

Nevertheless, as a matter of comity, we desire to com-

ply with the Supreme Court's request that we consider

the claim that the act does not provide for a hearing

‘at which the employee can explain or defend his refusal

to take the oath. We, of course, limit our consideration

of the problem to the facts before us. Even in a declara-

tory judgment action, there must be a justiciable contro-

versy. Washington Beauty College v. Huse, 195 Wash.

160, 80 P.(2d) 403 (1938).

The Supreme Court has also held that the requirements

58

for a justiciable case or controversy are no less strict in

a declaratory judgment proceeding than in any other type

of litigation.

Alabama State Federation of Labor v. McAdory, 325

U. S. 450, 89 L. Ed. 1725, 65 S. Ct. 1384.

Congress of Industrial Organizations v. McAdory, 325

U. S. 472, 89 L. Ed. 1741, 65 S. Ct. 1395.

In these two cases the Supreme Court had granted

writs of certiorari to review the decisions of the Supreme

Court of Alabama in declaratory judgment proceedings in-

stituted to obtain adjudications as to the constitutionality

of the Bradford Act (which regulated the conduct of

labor unions “functioning” within the state).

The state supreme court had upheld the validity of

certain portions of the act (and had held othe> vortions

unconstitutional). On reviewing the record ir case,

the Supreme Court dismissed the writ of ce ai be-

cause there was no concrete set of facts prese. a to the

court to indicate which statutory provisions were to be

applied. In dismissing the writ of certiorari in the case

first cited above, the Supreme Court said, in a unanimous

opinion by Chief Justice Stone:

“,..In advance of an authoritative construction

of a state statute, which the state court alone can

make, this Court cannot know whether the state

court, when called on to apply the statute to a

defined case or controversy, may not construe the

statute so as to avoid the constitutional question.

For us to decide the constitutional question by antici-

pating such an authoritative construction of the state

59

statute would be either to decide the question un-

necessarily or rest our decision on the unstable foun-

dation of our own construction of the state statute

which the state court would not be bound to follow.

— Motor Co. v. McLaughlin, supra, 105; see

also Vandenbark v. Owens-Illinois Co., 311 U. §

538, 543; Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U. §. 232. Such

is not the function of the declaratory judgment.

“The extent to which the declaratory judgment pro-

cedure may be used in the federal courts to control

state action lies in the sound discretion of the Court.

See Great Lakes Co. v. Huffman, supra. It would

be an abuse of discretion for this Court to make a

pronouncement on the constitutionality of a state

statute before it plainly appeared that the necessity

for it had arisen, or when the Court is left in un-

certainty, which it cannot authoritatively resolve, as

to the meaning of the statute when applied to anv

particular state of facts. In any event the parties

are free to litigate in the state courts the validity

of the statute when actually applied to any definite

state of facts, with the right of appellate review in

this Court. In the exercise of this Court's discretionary

power to grant or withhold the declaratory judgment

remedy it is of controlling significance that it is in

the public interest to avoid the needless determina-

tion of constitutional questions and the needless ob-

struction to the domestic policy of the states by fore-

stalling state action in construing and applying its

own statutes. See Great Lakes Co. v. Huffman, supra.

300, et seq.”

The reasoning of the Supreme Court in its opinion dis-

missing the writ in the second case above cited is seeming- —

ly applicable by analogy to the situation presented in the

case at bar. The court said:

“Further the contention that § 16 conflicts with

60

the National Labor Relations Act, cf. Hill v. Florida,

post, p. 538, was not passed on by the Circuit Court,

was not raised by assignment of error in the Ala-

bama Supreme Court, and that court did not pass

on that question either in its opinion in this case

or in its opinion in the Alabama State Federation of

Labor case which it adopted as controlling. The

Alabama Supreme Court will not consider errors

which have not been assigned, Rowland & Co. vt.

Plummer, 530 Ala. 182, 197, Pettibone-Taylor Co. v.

Farmers Bank, 156 Ala. 666, 46 So. 751; Malaney v.

Ladura Mines Co., 191 Ala. 655, 65 So. 666; Nichols

v. Hardegree, 202 Ala. 132, 79 S. 598; Halle v. Brooks,

209 Ala. 486, 96 So. 341, or which have not been

specifically and precisely raised in the assignments

of error, Kinnon v. Louisville & Nashville R. Co..

187 Ala. 480, 65 So. 397; Carney v. Kiser Co., 200 Ala.

527, 76 So. 853; Hall v. Pearce, 209 Ala. 397, 399,

96 So. 608; Jackson Lumber Co. v. Butler, 244 Ala.

348, 13 So. 2d 294, 298. Since the State Supreme

Court did not pass on the question now oat and

since it does not appear to have been properly

presented to that court for decision, we are without

jurisdiction to consider it in the first instance here.

Caperton v. Bowyer, 14 Wall. 216, 236; Hulbert v.

Chicago, 202 U. S. 275, 280, 281: Dorrance v. Penn-

sylvania, 287 U. S. 660; Chandler v. Manifold, 290

U. S. 665; see also Flournoy v. Wiener, 321 U. S.

253; Charleston Assn. v. Alderson, 324 U. S. 182,

185, and cases cited.”

The material facts shown by the record in the present

case as to this hearing issue are that these two professors

(who have never refused to take the oath) are presently

employed under contract as full professors by the Uni-

versity of Washington, which is operated by the regents.

Through their employment contracts, and pursuant to

‘61

statute and the rules and regulations of the university,

they have certain tenure rights.’ The regents have de-

manded that the professors sign and swear to an oath

(a copy of which is attached to their complaint), and

have further stated that, unless the professors complied

with such demand, their employment contracts with the

“university will be terminated by the regents.

This court has very recently held, in Yantsin v. Aber-

deen, 54 Wn.(2d) 787, 345 P.(2d) 178 (1959), that, in

the absence of civil service or other tenure rights, public

employees may be discharged by their employers without

any reason being assigned therefor. There is no vested

right to public employment in the state of Washington

unless the employee has some tenure rights provided by

law. Since the power to discharge is absolute except for

such tenure rights, the discharged public employee is

not entitled to a hearing regarding the reason for his

discharge.

As pointed out in our original decision, the definition of

subversive person in the 1951 act was amended in 1953

to provide that a person must have knowledge that an or-

ganization is a subversive organization before he can be

deemed to be a subversive person. Hence, the element

of scienter is essential to prove perjury in taking the oath.

This interpretation of the act and the oath is now the law

of the case. Therefore, the decision in Wieman v. Upde-

graff, 344 U. S. 183, 97 L. ed. 216, 73 S. Ct. 215, has no

application.

*For applicable rules and regulations regarding tenure rights, see ap-

pendix to this opinion. These are discussed later in this opinion.

62

It should be further noted that, under the Washington

act, there is no inquiry as to past acts or past associations

of the employee. The affidavit speaks in the present tense

only as of the date the employee takes the oath. If he is

now a member of the Communist party or other subver-

sive organization, he may resign today and execute the

affidavit tomorrow without incurring any penalty or risk-

ing a charge of perjury. Apparently, the New Jersey edu-

cational oath statute likewise applies only to the present

status of the teacher.‘

‘The supreme court of New Jersey recently rendered a unanimous deci-

sion in the case of Lowenstein v. Newark Board of Education, 33

N. J. 277. 163 A.(2d) 156, which concerned one of the same teachers

whose dismissal was set aside in Laba v. Vewark Board of Fducation,

23 N. J. 364, 129 A.42d) 273. (We ciied the Laba case in our orig-

inal opinion as holding that New Jersey took judicial notice that the

Communist party was part of a world.conspiracy whose prime objec-

tive was the overthrow of the United States government. )

In the Lowenstein case, Justice Hall. speaking for the court. referred

to the New Jersey educational oath statute as requiring present, not

past. allegiance. On this point. the policies of Washington and New

‘ersey appear to he the same. The opinion stated. in part. as follows:

“Here the inquiry was to aid in determining whether there was

sufficient basis to charge that appellant was unfit to teach because

subject to the ideologies and disciplines of Communism. Subjection

connotes such belief in the overthrow of our government by force or

other unlawful means and in the substitution of a totalitarian state

with destruction of all of our heritage of individual freedoms as to

he subservient to commands to act in any way directed to carry out

these nefarious purposes. It is essentially a state cf mind. admittedly

dificult to determine extrinsically hut generally evidenced sufficiently

by knowing membership and participation in true Communist organ-

izations and activities designed to further the basic aim of such violent

overthrow of our government.

“The focal point of the inquiry in the instant case was such subjec-

tion now rather than in the past. It is not suggested by the Board that

any past conduct of appellant would be of a nature that in itself

would justify dismissal even if there were no present subjection, so

we are not called upon to determine under what circumstances. if any.

the right to discipline would exist in such a situation and what we

are about to say further is directed particularly to the precise situa-

tion before us. In fact. the Board’s brief specifically says that the

‘fitness inquiry . . . involved not only the question of present party

63

Instead of being called in by his superior and being

asked orally if he belongs to a subversive organization,

the legislature has adopted the policy of asking each pub-

lic employee to state in writing, i.e. by affidavit, whether

he is at that time a member of such an organization. If

he signs the affidavit, that is the end of the matter. If he

declines to sign, the employee is subject to immediate dis-

charge. If he has no tenure rights, he has no vested right

to public employment, and the act affords him due proc-

ess. Nelson v. County of Los Angeles, 362 U.S. 1, 4 L.

Ed. (2d) 494, 80 S. Ct. 527. On the other hand, if he has

membership but also the question of present subservience to the

Party’s ‘ideologies and disciplines’ ‘emphasis supplied) and at oral

argument the board’s counsel expressly agreed with the proposition

that no right to dismiss exists merely because a teacher was a member

of the Communist Party in the past when it is clear that he is not

presently. Such a view follows state policy as expressed in the educa-

tional oath statute (N.J.S.A. 18:13-9.1 and 9.2) where the criterion

is present allegiance. . . .” (Last italies ours.)

It should also be noted that the court in that case approved its

1951 decision in Thorp v. Board of Trustees of Schools for Industrial

Education. 6 N. J. 498. 79 A.(2d) 462 (which we cited in our orig:

inal decision). stating as follows:

“Passing over the matter of any effect to be given to the fact

that the refusal did not extend to all prior event questions. it seems

clear that mere alleged invasion of privacy and personal dignity can

constitute no bar to an inquiry of this type. ifthe questions posed are

otherwise proper and appropriate. The subject is much too vital today

to depend upon such personal views, however sincerely held. The

matter is not simply one of academic freedom of thoucht and expres-

sion. As was so well said by Justice Heher in Thor, v. Board of

Trustees of Schools for Industrial Education, 6 N. J. 498 (1951):

‘The maintenance of the purity of the educational process against

corruption by subversive influences is of the highest concern to society.

. Loyalty to government and its free democratic institution: is a

first requisite for the exercise of the teaching function. Freedom from

helief in force or violence as a justifiable weapon for the destruction

of government is of the very essence of a teacher's qualifications’ (at

p. 513). See also Adler v. Board of Education. 342 U.S. 485, 493.

06 L. Ed. 517. 524. 72 S. Ct. 380 (1951). Any concept of individual

privilege against intrusion on privacy and conscience must give wav

in these times and these situations to the greater public interest.”

64

tenure rights, he must be accorded such a hearing as his

contract of employment calls for.

The Nelson case involved the dismissal of two county

employees because of their refusal to answer questions

put to them by a congressional subcommittee concerning

subversion. They both had been previously ordered by

the county board of supervisors to answer such questions.

The California district court of appeal had upheld the dis-

charges and the United States Supreme Court granted

certiorari. It should be noted that one employee (Nelson)

had a civil service status, and had been given a hearing

before the civil service commission; the other (Globe )

was a temporary employee and was not entitled to a

hearing under the civil service rules.

The decision of the Supreme Court affirmed the dis-

charge of Nelson by an equally divided court. Hence,

his case was not discussed in the opinion. As to Globe's

discharge, the majority upheld his dismissa] for insub-

ordination, three justices dissenting.

Since the majority opinion appears to have a pertinent

bearing on the problem presented for decision in this

case (especially because of the professors’ reliance on the

Slochower case discussed therein), we quote the follow-

ing portion of that opinion:

“We, therefore, reach Globe’s contention that his

summary discharge was nevertheless arbitrary and

unreasonable. In this regard he places his reliance on

Slochower v. Board of Education, 350 U.S. 551

(1956). However, the New York statute under which

Slochower was discharged specifically operated ‘to

65

discharge every city employee who invokes the Fifth

Amendment. In practical effect the questions asked

are taken as confessed and made the basis of the dis-

charge. Id., at 558. This ‘built-in’ inference of guilt,

derived solely from a Fifth Amendment claim, we

held to be arbitrary and unreasonable. But the test

here, rather than being the invocation of anv consti-

tutional privilege, is the failure of the employee to

answer. California has not predicated discharge on

any ‘built-in’ inference of guilt in its statute, but

solely on emplovee insubordination for failure to give

information which we have held that the State has

a legitimate interest in securing. See Garner v. Board

of Public Works of Los Angeles, 341 U.S. 716 (1951);

Adler v. Board of Education, 342 U. S. 485 (1952).

Morecver it must be remembered that here—unlike

Slochower—the Board had _ specifically ordered _ its

employees to appear and answer.

“We conclude that the case is controlled by Beilan

v. Board of Education of Philadelphia, 357 U.S. 399

(1958), and Lerner v. Casey, 357 U. S. 468 (1958).

It is not determinative that the interrogation here

was by a federal body rather than a state one,

as it was in those cases. Globe had been or-

dered by his employer as well as by California's

law to appear and answer questions before the

federal subcommittee. These mandates made no

reference to Fifth Amendment privileges. If Globe

had simply refused, without more, to answer the Sub-

committee’s questions, we think that under the prin-

ciples of Beilan and Lerner California could certainly

have discharged him. The fact that he chose to place

his refusal on a Fifth Amendment claim puts the

matter in no different posture, for as in Lerner, supra,

at 477, California did not employ that claim as the

basis for drawing an inference of guilt. Nor do we

think that this discharge is vitiated bv any deterrent

effect that California’s law might have had on Globe's

66

exercise of his federal claim of privilege. The State

may nevertheless legitimately predicate discharge on

refusal to give information touching on the field of

security. See Garner and Adler, supra. Likewise, we

cannot say as a matter of due process that the State's

choice of securing such information by means of tes-

timony before a federal body can be denied. Finally,

we do not believe that California’s grounds for dis-

charge constituted an arbitrary classification. See

Lerner, id., at 478. We conclude that the order of

the County Board was not invalid under the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.”

The Supreme Court also declined to pass upon Globe's

contention as to the privileges and immunities clause of

the fourteenth amendment, “since it was neither raised in

nor considered by the California courts.” It seems to us that

the quoted phrase is applicable to the professors’ conten-

tions regarding the hearing issue in the case at bar.

Before discussing the professors’ tenure rights, we de-

sire to refer to two companion cases decided by the

Supreme Court on December 12, 1960. They both in-

volved the validity of an Arkansas statute requiring all

public school teachers and professors in institutions of

higher learning supported by public funds, as a condition

precedent to their employment, to file an affidavit “as to

the names and addresses of all incorporated or unincor-

porated associations and organizations” to which they are

presently paying dues or are making contributions, or to

which they have paid dues or have made contributions

“within the past five years.”

One of these cases, Shelton v. Tucker, ——— U. §. ——--.

5 L. Ed. (2d) , 81 S. Ct. 247, was appealed from the

67

decision of a three-judge United States district court, 174

Fed. Supp. 351. The other case, Carr v. Young, ——— Ark.

———, 331 S.W.(2d) 701, was an appeal from the deci-

sion of the supreme court of Arkansas. The two lower

courts upheld the statute and the Supreme Court reversed

the decision in each case, four justices dissenting.

The majority opinion held that the Arkansas statute was

invalid because it was too broad.

“The question to be decided here is not whether

the State of Arkansas can ask certain of its teachers

about all their organizational relationships. It is not

whether the State can ask all of its teachers about

certain of their associational ties. It is not whether

teachers can be asked how many organizations they

belong to, or how much time they spend in organiza-

tional activity. The question is whether the State

can ask every one of its teachers to disclose every

single organization with which he has been associ-

ated over a five-vear period. The scope of the in-

quiry required by Act 10 is completely unlimited.

The statute requires a teacher to reveal the church to

which he belongs, or to which he has given financial

support. It requires him to disclose his political party,

and every political organization to which he may

have contributed over a five-vear period. It requires

him to list, without number, every conceivable kind

of associational tie—social, professional, political, avo-

cational, or religious. Manv such relationships could

have no possible bearing upon the teacher's occupa-

tional competence or fitness.

«“

“The unlimited and indiscriminate sweep of the

statute now before us brings it within the ban of our

prior cases. The statute's comprehensive interference

with associational freedom goes far beyond what

68

might be justified in the exercise of the State's a gol

oO

mate inquiry into the fitness and competence of its

teachers. The judgments in both cases must be re-

versed.”

Two separate opinions were written, in both of which

all four dissenting justices joined. Mr. Justice Harlan

stated in his dissent:

‘

‘. . . Where official action is claimed to invade

these rights [free speech and association], the con-

trolling inquiry is whether such action is justifiable

on the basis of a superior governmental interest to

which such individual rights must yield. When the

action complained of pertains to the realm of in-

vestigation, our inquiry has a double aspect: first,

whether the investigation relates to a legitimate gov-

ernmental purpose; second, whether, judged in the

light of that purpose, the questioned action has sub-

stantial relevance thereto. See Barenblatt v. United

States, 360 U.S. 109; Uphaus v. Wyman, 360 U. S. 72.

“In the two cases at hand, I think both factors are

satisfied. It is surely indisputable that a State has the

right to choose its teachers on the basis of fitness.

And I think it equally clear, as the Court appears to

recognize, that information about a teacher's asso-

ciations may be useful to school authorities in deter-

mining the moral, professional, and social qualifica-

tions of the teacher, as well as in determining the

type of service for which he will be best suited in

the educational system. See Adler v. Board of Edu-

cation, 342 U. S. 485; Beilan v. Board of Higher

Education, 357 U. S. 399; see also Slochower v. Board

of Education, 350 U. S. 551. Furthermore, I take the

Court to acknowledge that, agreeably to our previous

decisions, the State may enquire into associations to

the extent that the resulting information may be in

aid of that legitimate purpose. These cases therefore

69

do not present a situation such as we had in

N.A.A.C.P. v. Alabama, 357 U. S. 449, and Bates tv.

Little Rock, 361 U. S. 516, where the required dis-

closure bears no substantial relevance to a legitimate

state interest.

“Despite these consideratiun.s this statute is stricken

down hecause, in the Court's view, it is too broad,

because it asks more than may be necessary to eflec-

tuate the State’s legitimate interest. Such a statute.

it is said, cannot justity the inhibition on freedom

of association which so blanket an inquiry may en

tail. Cf. N.A.A.C.P. v. Alabama, supra; Bates v. Little

Rock, supra.”

We note parenthetically that the Arkansas statute does

not provide for a hearirg at which the teacher or the pro

fessor may explain or defend his refusai to file the re-

quired affidavit, nor is there any reference in any of the

opinions as to any constitutional necessity therefor

The Washington statute involved here is tailored to

the legislative determination as to what is necessary in

the premises to protect the state and its educational insti-

tutions from activities of subversive persons who are being

financially maintained by the state and its municipalities

Unlike the Arkansas statute, our act is not too broad in its

scope.

The Supreme Court. in remanding this case, has in

effect asked us to construe the subversive activities act of

1951 (as amended in 1953 and in 1955) with reference

to the hearing issue.

Since the professors in the present case (as the tra!

court found) are emploved by the regents under contract

70

as full professors and have certain tenure rights, we must

construe the subversive activities act in the light of the

tenure rights which they possess under the rules and

regulations adopted by the regents. The pertinent por-

tions of these rules and regulations are set forth in the

appendix to this opinion.

Briefly stated, the tenure rights of a professor include

the right to be given written notice of the alleged grounds

for his discharge from his position, a “trial” before a stand-

ing committee composed of eleven members of the faculty

known as the tenure committee, the right to be repre-

sented by any person of his choice, the right to be present

during the taking of testinony, to call witnesses, and to

cross-examine opposing ‘witnesses. The procedure pre-

scribed in the rules and regulations for the conducting of

the hearing is substantially the same as an accused per-

son ordinarily would receive in a court of law, except a

jury trial.

The committee, at the conclusion of the hearing, makes

written findings and recommendations, which, t: gether

with a transcript of the testimony, are filed with the presi-

dent of the university (who also attends the hearing but

not the deliberations of the committee ).

A professor may be removed from his position only “for

cause, which is defined as one or more of the following

reasons: (1) Incompetence, (2) neglect of duty, (3)

physical or mental incapacity, (4) dishonesty or immor-

ality, (5) conviction of a felony.

The president, after reviewing the findings and recom-

71

mendations of the tenure committee, makes his decision

as to whether or not a cause for removal has been estal-

lished in a particular case and reports to the regents.

We are of the opinion that the provision in the subver-

sive activities act to the effect that refusal to take the oath

“on any grounds” shall be cause for “immediate termina-

tion of employment,” should not be interpreted in the

case before us as meaning that a full professor having ten-

ure rights under his contract of employment is deprived

of the right to a hearing as provided in the rules and regu-

lations of the university. In other words, if the professors

should refuse to sign the affidavit (which they have not

vet refused to do), they, in our opinion, wil! be entitled

to the hearing before the tenure committee and to the

other procedures velating to termination of employment

prescribed in the university's rules and regulations, set

forth in the appendix to this opinion.

Counsel for both parties, in their respective briefs (filed

subsequent to the last argument in this court), referred

to the hearing provided for in § 15 of the 1951 act (RCW

9.81.090). In our opinion, this hearing provision does not

applv to persons refusing to sign the oath, because, under

Laws of 1957, chapter 377, § 1 (which amends § 12 of

the 195] act), refusal by a public emplovee or applicant

for public employment to sign the oath on any grounds

shall be cause for immediate termination of such emplov-

ment or refusal to accept an application therefor.

Declining to take the oath does not stamp a public

emplovee as a subversive person. There is no stain of dis-

72

loyalty attached thereto. If he does not wish to sign the

oath, he may seek private employment. On the other

hand, if he takes the oath and subsequently his superior

has bona fide grounds for investigating his qualifications

(including a charge that he is a subversive person), then

such employee is entitled to a hearing as provided in

§ 15 of the 1951 act. Such a hearing was afforded in the

Beilan, Lerner, Nelson and Lowenstein cases, supra.

We conclude that the professors are not entitled to a

hearing under § 15 of the 1951 act, but, as stated above,

are entitled to a hearing before the tenure committee,

because the rules and regulations adopted by the regents

(which form a part of their contracts of employment)

so provide.

The regents have urged, in their reply brief, that the

professors are entitled to a hearing under the model

state administrative code (Laws of 1959, chapter 234,

RCW 34.04.010 et seq.), citing Wong Yang Sung v. Mc-

Grath, 339 U.S. 33, 94 L. Ed. 616, 70 S. Ct. 445. How-

ever, we are of the opinion that this 1959 statute was

not intended to supersede established procedure adopted

by the regents pursuant to RCW 28.77.120 and 28.77.1390.

There is nothing in the administrative code which indi-

cates to us a legislative intent to amend or repeal the

statutes relating to the operation of the University of

Washington which have been in effect for fifty years.

Pursuant to the mandate of the Supreme Court received

by this court June 13, 1960, we construe the 1951 sub-

versive activities act of this state (as amended), with

73

reference to the question of whether it affords a hearing

to the professors in this case at which they may explain

or defend their refusal to take the oath required by the

act, as follows:

Assuming (a) that the professors timely raised this

hearing issue in the Washington courts, and (b) that

they have refused to take the oath or have proved that

they will refuse to do so, we are of the opinion that, before

they can be discharged for such refusal, the professors,

under their contract of employment, are entitled to a

hearing before the tenure committee conducted in the

manner prescribed in the applicable rules and regulations

adopted by the regents (see appendix) for the termina-

tion of the tenure of full professors emploved by the

University of Washington.

- As to all other issues involved in this case, we adhere

to the views expressed in our original opinion of January

29, 1959, and reported in 53 Wn.(2d) 460, 335 P.( 2d)

10,°*¢

Pursuant to the mandate of the Supreme Court, we

direct that the clerk of this court forthwith transmit to

that court a certified copy of this opinion.

5Mher decisions of the Supreme Court which have been rendered since

our original decision of January 29, 1959, and have a hearing on the

questions decided therein are: Barenblatt v. United States, 360 U.S.

109, 3 L. Ed.i2d) 1115, 79'S. Ct. 1081: Uphaus v. Wyman, 360 U.S.

72. 3 L. Ed.(2d) 1090. 79'S. Ct. 1040; Uphaus v. Wyman, U.S

. 5 L. Fd.i2d) . 81S. Ct. 153: Wilkinson v. United States

U. S. ; L. Fd. . 81S. Ct. 567; Braden +. United

States. U_S. ‘ L. Fad. . 81S. Ce. 584.

®The dissenting opinion (see below). as we read it. implies that the

rights of all state employees. in addition to those of the two profes-

v4

We Concur:

ROSELLINI, J.

SI ircpcck: be teten mec ass

WEaveER, J. FosTER, J.

HUvnTER, J.

sors who instituted this action, should be considered in this opinion.

Those questions are not before us. In the first place. the professors

alleged, and the trial court found, that they had employment con-

tracts and that, under the rules and regulatio

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.