Brief for the Respondents in Opposition — Northwestern Oil Co. v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co.
Supreme Court brief1944
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
ih PRLS RENE 8 a
ene . > we: i
|e eae
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
Octoser Term, A. D. 1943.
No. 725
NORTHWESTERN OIL COMPANY, a corporation,
Petitioner,
vs.
SOCONY-VACUUM OIL COMPANY, INC., er at.,
Respondents.
BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS, SOCONY-VACUUM OIL COMPANY,
INC., CONTINENTAL OIL COMPANY, THE PURE OIL com-
PANY, SHELL OIL COMPANY, INC., SINCLAIR REFINING
COMPANY, MID-CONTINENT PETROLEUM CORPORATION AND
PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY, IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.
DAVID T. SEARLS,
VINSON, ELKINS, WEEMS & FRANCIS,
Esperson Building,
Houston, Texas,
LEON E. ISAKSEN,
H. H. THOMAS,
THOMAS, ORR & ISAKSEN,
122 West Washington Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin,
WILLIAM H. DOUGHERTY,
STANLEY M. RYAN,
NOLAN, DOUGHERTY, GRUBB & RYAN,
401 Jackman Building,
Janesville, Wisconsin,
J. H. MARSHUTZ,
FISH, MARSHUTZ & HOFFMAN,
1115 Wells Building,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin,
STURTEVANT HINMAN,
135 South La Salle Street,
Chicago, Illinois,
Attornens for Respondents,
Socony-Vacuum Oil Company, Inc.,
Continental Oil Company,
The Pure Oil Company,
Shell Oil Company, Inc.,
Sinclair Refining Company,
Mid-Continent Petroleum Corporation,
Phillips Petroleum Compeny.
eee eee re ae ere Super
INDEX.
PAGE
Reference to Opinion of Lower Court................ 1
ANU GE PURI ss cs vas hoc KS added kee ens 1
SOMONE GE SI i sie ss ik a ae cP Ae oe 2-10
ONES GE OI 5 ns dae ov ky we oe ca vk 11-13
eee haere re pir GAR repre apes Eanes 14-29
I. This Court Should Not Grant the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari Because It Would Be Neces-
sary, in Any Event, to Affirm the Judgment of
the Lower Court as the Petitioner Has Failed to
Bring Forward One of the Two Grounds Upon
Which the Cirenit Court of Appeals Based Tts
PD bye ev ue tana eles wih eevee. s
. The Cireuit Court of Appeals Was Correct in
Affirming the Judgment of the Trial Court Be-
cause a Person Cannot Recover Damages Under
the Clayton Act Unless He Has Shown Pecuniary
Loss in Business or Property as the Proximate
Result of a Violation of the Antitrust Laws....
A. Personal Pecuniary Damage in Business or
Property Is the Gist of an Action Under the
| RG aeeeenelae: Mok CoC uatrLN MUL RL NCTE ae
B. The Decision of the Seventh Cireuit Court of
Appeals in the Present Case Is in Accord
With Decisions in Other Jobber Treble Dam-
age Cases Arising Out of the Madison Oil
RM tisk geek 0h 0k REET YS EO eM eR
(. There Is No Conflict Between the Cases Cited
by Petitioner and the Decision of the Cireuit
Court of Appeals in the Present Case.......
14
16
III.
Le
il
Petitioner’s Evidence Failed to Establish Any
Injury in Its Business or Property............
A. Petitioner Did Not Bring Forward the Evi-
dence in Its Possession Which Would Have
Established Definitely Whether or Not the
Increase in Its Purchase Price Was Passed
Sn ase kd wee cad ROeN eee ee ee ares
B. The Oniy Reasonable Inference Which Can
Be Drawn from the Evidence Is That Peti-
tioner Sustained No Injury................
The Claim of Petitioner That Respondents Fixed
and Limited Its Margin, and Fixed, Reduced
and Limited the Retail Price Is Raised for the
First Time in the Supreme Court and Is With-
out Support in the Pleadings or Evidence.....
. Petitioner Cannot Maintain This Action Against
Respondents, Because Both Petitioner and Re-
spondents Were Participants in a Broad Stabili-
zation Program to Raise Prices in Petroleum
Markets, and Sueh Stabilization Program Was
Found to Be [legal in United States v. Socony-
Vaecunm Oil Co., Ine., et al., 310 U.S. 150 (1940)
24
26
28
a
CREA OAS allie VRE LE ELT PBI I, aly VBE ERE GEE POEM
ili
TabLe or Cases Crrep.
Bluefields S. 8. Co., Limited v. United Fruit Co., 243
F. 1, 13-14, 18-19 (C. C. A. 3rd, catg PETE Tee 29
Chattanooga Foundry and Pipe Works y. City of At-
lanta, 203 U.S. 390, 399, 27S. Ct. 69, 51 L. Ed. 241
“in ip OT OTTO ae On eae aes 18, 23
Davis v. Portland Seed Company, 264 U. S. 403, 44 S.
Ct. 380, 68 L. Ed. 762 (1924)...................... 20
Douglity-MceDonald Grocery Company, et al. vy. Atehi-
son, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company, et al.,
WIE Re Se sO MMR Raid ae 19
Eastman Kodak Co. v. Blackmore, 277 F. 694 (C. C. A.
My NOME eck ey cbs Edeain laa ghana, 29
Farmers Co-op. Oil Co. y. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Ine.,
et al., 183 F. (2d) 101, 103 (C. C. A. 8th, 1942)...... 17
Federal Trade Commission y. Pacifie States Paper
Trade Association, 273 U. S. 52, 66, 47 S. Ct. 255. 71
FoF Me BON doin deen os loony ie ui 15
Foster & Kleiser Co. y. Special Site Sien Co., 85 F. (2d)
742, 750 (C. C. A. 9th, 1936), certiorari denied 299
WAM MO wiSene elses taenpiceledsage oc oe 16
Fox Film Corp. v. Muller, 296 U.S. 207, 209, 210, 56
S. Ct. 183, 80 L. Ed. 158 cen CT eR OE RET 15
| Galloway, Joseph, by Freda Galloway, his Guardian,
Petitioner v. The United States of America, 319 U. 8,
372, 87 L. Fd. 1042, 1051 ee EEE ee era
General Talking Pictures Corp. v. Western Electric Co.,
et al., 304 U.S. 175, 177-178, 58S. Ct. 849, 82 L. Ed.
saa via dees ee Core RE 14
Glenn Coal Co. v. Dickinson Fuel Co., et al., 72 F. (2d)
885, 887 (C. C. A. ta ign, Re SE aE Ree 16
bo
wl
iv
Gunning v. Cooley, 281 U.S. 90, 98, 50S. Ct. 251, 74
igs: is Ie Se ie 55 ak OR a Ok eS eR bore 14
Harriman v. Northern Securities Company, 197 U.S.
944, 298, 25 S. Ct. 493, 49 L. Ed. 739 (1905)......... 29
Helvering, Commissioner of Internal Revenue v. Tay-
lor, 293 U. S. 507, 511, 55 S. Ct. 287, 79 L. Ed. 623
CERN eco oa Sie aces 8 he Be ek a ne ele 14
Interstate Circuit, Ine., et al. v. United States, 306
U. S. 208, 226, 59 S. Ct. 467, 83 L. Ed. 610 (1939)..... 25
Jack v. Armour & Co., et al., 291 F. 741, 745 (C. C. A.
>| eee Ree gree et ore Meta ase re ae ee et 16
Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern Railway Company,
et al, 271. 444, 447 (0. ©, Aah, TORR)... wee tes 16
Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern Railway Company,
et al., 260 U.S. 156, 164-165, 48 S. Ct. 47, 67 L. Ed.
Se Se cai ees rd eaeha etn awheee aren 12, 17, 21
Leonard v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Ine., et al, 42 F.
Supp. 369, 370 (D. C., W. D. Wis., 1942)............ 17
Locker, et al. v. American Tobacco Co., et al., 218 F.
57 SAG 0 KB Be Bn ees) eee ag ees 16
Louisville & Nashville Railroad Co. v. Sloss-Sheffield
Steel & Tron Company, 269 U. S. 217, 235, 46S. Ct.
Tay Oe Mh Wome Ne (TOR avs vtec vas tect reseute 19
Lynch, et al. v. New York ex rel Pierson, 293 U.S. 52,
64, 55, 55'S. Ct. 16, 79 L. Hid. 191 (1964)... . 2... .055 11, 15
Maltz v. Sax, et al., 134 F. (2d) 2,5 (C. C. A. 7th, 1943) 29
Miller, H. E.. Oil Co. v. Socony-Vaeuum Oil Co., Inc.,
et al. 37 F. Supp. 831 (D. C., E. D. Mo., FE. D. 1941) 17
Mills v. Green, 159 U.S. 651, 653, 16S. Ct. 132, 40 L. Ed.
et. | rr en minr rr sors aay rem 8 15
Missouri Portland Cement Company v. Director Gen-
eral, as Agent, 88 T, C. C@. 492, 495, 496 (1924) ....... eal
ny
eS
New York, N. H. & H.R. Co., et al. v. Ballou & Wright,
242 F. 862, 867 (C. C. A. 9th, gk gl SRUaR Aap Nueces ti 19
Nicola, Stone & Myers Company y. Louisville & Nash-
ville Railroad Company, et al., 14 1 (. C. 199, 209
GE Sas Soa senate vee pete catia sk ee 20
Palmer, et al. v. Connecticut Railway & Lighting Co.,
811 U.S. o44, 561, 61S. Ct. 379, 85 L. Ed. 336 (1941) 25
Pennsylvania Railroad Company vy. International Coal
Mining Company, 230 U. S. 184, 202-203, 204-205,
206, 33'S. Ct. 893, 57 L. Ed. 1446 CRWEMEy betkescheuk 20
Prudence Co., Ine., The vy. Fidelity & Deposit Company
of Marvland, et al., 297 U.S. 198, 208, 56 S. Ct. 387,
eile Maine Bit A sctane’ ELT ER RET ee 11, 15
Richardson v. MeChesney, Secretary of State of the
Commonwealth of Kentucky, 218 U. S. 487, 492, 31
S. Ct. 48, 54 L. Ed. 1121 RIPOET Sivas cn Ge eee eens 11,15
Shuell, et al. v. London Amusement Co., 123 F. (2d)
WZ, WG (CoC. A. Cth, 1089)... ieee cc. 25
Southern Pacifie Company, et al. y. Darnell-Taenzer
Lumber Company, et al., 245 U. S. 531, 534, 38 S. Ct.
186, 62 L. Ed. 45% (1918)................5....... 19, 21
State of Oklahoma v. State of Texas, 256 U. S. 70, 88,
41'S. Ct. 420, 65 L. Ed. 881 (1921).................. 6
Story Parchment Company y. Paterson Parchment
Paper Company, et al., 282 U.S. 555. 962, 51 8. Ct.
248, 76 L. Bed. GAG (1981) oe cove cece. 25
Straus, et al. v. Victor Talking Mach. Co., et al., 297 F.
FOR LO; SS, Be AOA oes bows jas eR 12, 22
Tennessee y. Condon, 189 U. §. 64, 70, 71, 23 S. Ct. 579,
OF ho, Set ARON Cos Ohrcc uke Sok gee eee lacn 15
Twin Ports Oil Co. v. Pure Oi] Co., 119 F. (2d) 747, 750,
791 (C. C. A. Sth. 1941), certiorari denied 314 1. S.
644, 86 L. Ed. 77, motion for rehearing denied 314
W. 8. 790, O02, Ol ME... eS 11, 16, 21, 22
vi
United States v. Pink, 315 U. S. 203, 62 S. Ct. 552, 86
Rae eT Re Ch ekg yoy bcs de seh eae e kone de
United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Ine., et al.,
310 U.S. 150, 190-192, 198-200, 60 S. Ct. 811, 84 L.
i RMI cen uae Syne cover a 2, 6, 18, 26, 28
Victor Talking Mach. Co. v. Kemeny, 271 F. 810, 816
ee a a ON ee ere ere 29
SratutTEs CITED.
Clayton Act, October 15, 1914, See. 4, 38 Stat. 750; Title
15 U.S.C. A. See. 15..... 1, 3, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 28
Interstate Commerce Act, Act of February 4, 1887,
Sees. 1, 2, 4, Title 49 U.S. C. A. Sees. 1, 2 and 4... .19, 20 F
Sherman Act, Act of July 2, 1890, 26 Stat. 209; Title 15 4
Bren cas SC cs AU ee Rae ee ddd Pa pis dad owe 15
Rvuwes Cirep.
Rule 38, Supreme Court Rules................... 11, 14, 28 :
ad Reataa c
ee Oe OR ee ee ee eRe ne eo ye eee ae ee eee
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
Ocroser Term, A. D, 1943.
No. 725
ee eee
NORTHWESTERN OIL COMPANY, a CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
VS.
SOCONY-VACUUM OIL COMPANY, INC., er an.
Respondents,
BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS, SOCONY-VACUUM OIL
COMPANY, INC., CONTINENTAL OIL COMPANY,
THE PURE OIL COMPANY, SHELL OIL COMPANY,
INC., SINCLAIR REFINING COMPANY, MID-CONTI.
NENT PETROLEUM CORPORATION AND PHILLIPS
PETROLEUM COMPANY, IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.
The opinion of the Cireuit Court of Appeals appears on
pages 1353 to 1358 of the record and is reported in 138 F.
(2d) 967 (Dee. 7, 1943),
JURISDICTION,
Petitioner asserts that the jurisdiction of this Court is
- invoked on the ground that the case is based upon an
» alleged violation of the Sherman and Clayton Antitrust
b Acts. Act of July 2, 1890, 26 Stat. 209,15 U.S.C. A. $1;
_ Act of October 15, 1914, 38 Stat. 730, 15 U.S. C. A. § 15.
| (Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 2.)
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.
1. The Proceedings in the Trial Court and the Circuit
Court of Appeals.
This action was brought by petitioner, Northwestern Oil
Company, to recover treble the damages alleged to have
been sustained by it as a result of the conspiracy for which
the respondents were convicted in United States v. Socony-
Vacuum Oil Co.. Inc., et al., 310 U.S. 150 (1940) (Madison
Oil Case).
Petitioner alleges in its complaint that if is a jobber
engaged in the business of purchasing and selling gasoline
(R. 5-6). Petitioner further alleges that as a result of
the conspiracy charged in the Madison Oil Case, there was
an increase in the tank ear price of gasoline resulting in pe
titioner paying a higher price for vasoline purchased by it,
and that it did not pass on the amount of this increase to
its customers (R. 6-9, 28-29).
Respondents denied that petitioner sustained any dam-
age, and alleged as a special defense that petitioner was
in pari delicto with them and had knowingly combined with
them and others to raise retail prices in certain parts of
the Middle West, which was the purpose of the conspiracy
charged in the Madison Oil Case (R. 39-41).
During the trial of the case, petitioner dismissed any
claim for damages on gasoline consumed and not resold by
it, and sought to maintain this action for damages solely
on gasoline bought and resold (R. 1313). |
At the conclusion of petitioner’s case in the trial court,
respondents moved for a directed verdict on two rounds:
(1) there was no evidence that petitioner had been injured
3
in its business or property; and (2) the undisputed evi-
dence established that petitioner participated in the eon-
spiracy and was in pari delicto with respondents (R. 1313-
1315). The trial court sustained respondents’ motion upon
the first ground and found it unnecessary to pass upon the
second ground (R. 987).
The Cireuit Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment of
the trial court upon both grounds (R. 1357-1358). The
Cireuit Court of Appeals made the following findings of
fact:
(1) Plaintiff wholly failed to prove any loss to its
property or business, and as the increases in plaintiff’s
buying price were followed by corresponding increases
in its selling price, the only reasonable inference from
the record is that plaintiff sustained no loss (R. 1354,
1357).
(2) The proof discloses that in the meetings and
conferences, as a result of which stabilization of prices
came about, plaintiff’s officers participated and co-
operated and were well advised that the program was
intended to establish an inereased tank car quotation
in order to maintain retail prices in plaintiff’s terri-
tory; and that the letters and testimony of plaintiff’s
officers clearly established that plaintiff was an active
agency in working out with defendants and others the
scheme of which it now complains and in raising and
maintaining prices (R. 1355). ;
The Court anounced two propositions of law:
(1) ‘**The Clayton Act does not permit recovery by
plaintiff in causes such as this for unlawful prices as
such but authorizes recovery only of pecuniary loss to
property or business.’’ (R. 1357.)
(2) ‘*Where parties stand in pari delicto, the law
leaves them where it finds them.’’ (R. 1358.)
The finding of fact and holding of the Cireuit Court of
Appeals on pari delicto are not brought forward by any
question in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.
2. The Facts.
(a) The Facts Relating to Petitioner's Claim of Injury.
Petitioner is a jobber, buying gasoline and reselling it
to other jobbers, retail dealers and consumers (R. 223,
369). Petitioner did not buy any gasoline from respond-
ents, but purchased from.a large jobber, W. H. Barber
Company, who in turn bought from the refiner, Tide Water
Oil Company (R. 400-4053).
The facts establish that petitioner’s buying price and
likewise its selling price to other jobbers, dealers and con.
sumers were all based upon the tank car spot market.
The W. H. Barber Company bought from Tide Water at
te per gallon below the published tank car market (Ex. 16,
R. 243, 559: Ex. 146, R. 508, 510), and resold to petitioner
at the low of this market with certain credits (R. 400-403,
993. Ex. 15, R. 243,559). Petitioner was assured a margin
by Barber of 546 and subsequently 526 per gatlon between
the tank car price plus freight and the service station price |
established from time to time by Standard Oil Company
of Indiana (Ex. 15, R. 243, 560, 563-564). Petitioner re-
sold gasoline in tank cars to other jobbers at the average
of the hieh and low quotations of the same tank car spot
market upon which it purchased (R. 369; Ex. 13, R. 242,
1051). It resold to dealers at tank wagon prices, which
until Anenst 1936 were determined by deducting a fixed
discount from established service station prices (R. 250-
951, 303-204). It resold to consumers at service station
prices or at the consumers’ tank wagon price (R. 250).
Petitioner’s selling price did not vary with each sale as a
result of bargaining between seller and buyer. The price
at which petitioner sold to consumers and dealers was de-
termined at all times hy the posted prices of the market
leader, Standard Oi] Company of Indiana, as it was eus-
tomary for petitioner and other jobbers to follow the posted
prices of this market leader (R. 252-253, 571). In 1935 and
1936 Standard’s service station and tank wagon prices fol-
lowed the increases and decreases in the tank car market
as they were based on that market. Commencing on Sep-
tember 11, 1934 and continuing during 1935 and 1936,
Standard’s formula for determining its retail price was:
tank car price, plus freight, plus taxes, and plus 5}¢ per
gallon (R. 160-161, 203-204, 214). This formula was
adopted by the Department of Agriculture and Markets of
Wisconsin in Order 23C, which fixed the minimum service
station price in Wisconsin during the period between Feb-
ruary and June 1935 (Ex. 61, R. 380, 382-384).
The facts sustain the finding of the Cireuit Court of
Appeals that petitioner sustained no pecuniary loss in busi-
ness or property. The increases in the tank car market
complained of by petitioner, commenced early in 1935, and
by June 1935 the tank car market had increased 1.25¢.
During this period, petitioner’s sales price to dealers and
consumers had inereased 1.3¢. There were no further
changes in either petitioner’s buying or selling prices in
the remainder of 1935. In January 1936, petitioner’s buy-
ing price increased .5é and its selling price inereased .5¢.
There were decreases in petitioner’s buying price in 1936
of .625¢ and there were decreases in its selling price of
e. In October and November 1936, petitioner’s buying
price increased .25¢€, and in December its selling price in-
creased .3¢. Since the tank car market moves in eighths
and the service station and tank wagon markets move in
tenths, there were times when the buying or selling price of
petitioner had increased slightly more than the other, but
on December 31, 1936, the net increase in the selling price
was .059¢ more than the net increase in the buyine price
(R. 329-826; Fixes. 155, 156, R. 667, 1270-1273: Ex. 25, R.
376, 1070)... .
6
The fact that an increase in the tank car market would
result directly in an increase in the retail market was the
basic principle of the Madison Oil Case.’ .
In the present case petitioner offered in evidence a
computation purporting to show the amount it paid for
gasoline in 1935 and 1936, as compared with the amount
it would have paid at the tank car price in effect on Feb-
ruary 19, 1935 (Ex. 165, R. 913, 1501). Petitioner did not
offer any computation of its increased income resulting
from increases in its selling price during those years, nor
did petitioner prove the amount of gasoline sold by it
during those vears or during any price period.
1. The indictment in the Madison Oil Case charged that an in-
crease in tank car prices will result directly in an increase in
retail prices of gasoline and that defendants intentionally increased
the tank car price of gasoline and in turn intentionally raised the
general level of retail prices prevailing in the Midwestern area
‘including the Western District of Wisconsin) (Ex. 1, R. 110.
1000-1001). The trial court, in its charge to the jury in that case,
instructed them to return a verdiet of ‘‘not guilty’’ unless they
found that the defendants had intentionally raised the tank ear
price of gasoline ‘‘and in turn have intentionally raised the gen-
eral level of retail prices prevailing in said Mid-Western area,
ineluding the Western District of Wisconsin’? (Ex. 1-A, R. 834,
1028).
See opening statements and closing arguments of Government
counsel in Madison Oil Case (R. 103, 105-106, 2309 in United States
v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Tne., et al., Nos. 346 and 347, 310 U.S.
150 (1940)). and opinion of the Supreme Court in United States
v. Socony-Vaenum Oil Co., Ine., et al. 310 U.S. 150. 190-192, 195-
200 (1940).
For the purpose of determining the extent of the judgment in
the Madison Oil Case as prima facie evidence in this case, the
court may examine the proceedings in that case, State of Ohlahoma
v. State of Texas, 256 U. 8..70, 88 (1921); and a court may take
judicial notice of its records, United States v. Pink, 315 U.S, 208
(1942).
“NI
(b) Price Stabilization Activities of Petitioner and Respondents.
In 1934 all prices in the petroleum industry were de-
moralized as a result of the economic depression and the
unlawful production of crude oil from the largest field in
the world, the Kast Texas Oil Field (R. 122-129). The
sale of both hot and distress gasoline was bringing about
price wars in the tank car market, and many retailers
were buying this cheap gasoline and were cutting the
retail market, which was resulting in price wars in that
market (R. 123, 128-129). In order to solve these prob-
lems, Harold L. Ickes, the Petroleum Administrator, wrote
a letter to C. HK. Arnott (the principal individual defend-
ant in the Madison Oil Case) directing him to take action
to restore markets to normal conditions (Ex. 4, R. 162,
165). Pursuant to this letter, Arnott appointed a General
Stabilization Committee, which in turn brought about the
appointment of various state and county price stabiliza-
tion committees in the Middle West. All of the different
units in the marketing branch of the industry were repre-
sented on these committees, namely, major oil companies,
jobbers, dealers and others (R. 134). In December, 1934,
there was a meeting of the General Stabilization Commit-
tee in Chicago, which was attended by representatives of
the major oil companies, jobbers, dealers and other mar-
keters. At this meeting, it was agreed to raise many
subnormal markets to normal in the Middle West, and this
agreement was made effective by state price stabilization
committees, state jobbers’ associations and other (R. 137-
139). At a subsequent meeting in Chicago in January,
1935, of this same General Stabilization Committee, Arnott
stated that there could not be stabilization in the retail
market without having a firm tank ear market, and he
appointed a subcommittee, known as the Tank Car Stabili-
zation Committee, to study the problem of the tank car
»
market and to work out a plan that would enable the inde.
pendent refiner to make a profit and that would support a
normal retail price structure (R. 140-143). This Tank Car
Committee developed the buying program complained of by
petitioner in the present case (R. 144-149); and this Com-
mittee made reports of its activities from time to time
to the parent committee, the General Stabilization Com-
mittee (R. 154-155). The Tank Car Committee met
monthly until February, 1936, and at this last meeting it
was discontinued (R. 148, 150).
Petitioner was an active participant in the stabilization
plan of the General Stabilization Committee and knew of
the existence of the buying programs of 1935. Petitioner
knew that it was essential to stabilize the tank car market
in order to maintain normal retail prices in its territory
(R. 408-409, 442-444, 446). Its Vice President and Gen-
eral Manager, A. F. Podvin, complained to the Petroleum
Administrative Board in Washington of the tank car
market bringing about a demoralized condition in the
retail market (Ex. 83, R. 438, 445). Margold of the Petro-
leum Administrative Board replied to Podvin and stated
that they realized that it was essential to eliminate the
distress gasoline in order to achieve any degree of stabili-
zation (Ex. 84, R. 438, 446). After the appointment of the
various stabilization committees by Arnott in the summer
of 1934, Podvin requested petitioner’s employees to co-
operate with these committees (Ex. 68, R. 414, 415). He
knew of the Chicago meeting of the General Stabilization
Committee in December, 1934; he knew that Arnott had
recommended the restoration of subnormal prices in peti-
tioner’s marketing territory in Minnesota; and he worked
and combined with respondents and others to carry out
the agreement reached at this Chicago meeting (R. 452-
464). Podvin testified that he and other representatives
of petitioner attended stabilization meetings in 1934, 1935
i eae iG EL We ON Hin lp BE ae PED RDA Ne Aue i EMER SAS CALL NEE PR: OD
9
and 1936; that agreements were made at some of. these
mectings to restore subnormal prices to normal; and that
there were representatives of the major oil companies,
jobbers and others at these meetings (R. 463, 488-490).
Podvin testified that he knew that the Minnesota and
Wisconsin stabilization committees, with which he was
working, were functioning under the General Stabilization
Committee headed by Mr. Arnott (R. 457). Petitioner’s
President, H. M. MeKenzi«, testified that he learned of the
buying programs shortly after March, 1935, and that he
talked with other officers of the petitioner about these
programs (R. 492-493). The letters written by Podvin,
as well as his testimony, establish that petitioner, with
full knowledge of the seope of the stabilization program,
was active in working with respondents and others in
raising prices both before and after the NRA was invali-
dated by the Supreme Court (R. 472-489).
\
3. Factual Errors in Petitioner’s Brief.
There are many purported statements of fact in Peti-
tioner’s Brief without supporting record references; many
of these are misstatements. We call attention to the fol-
lowing: :
(1) On Page 21 petitioner states that ‘‘The Dis-
trict Court * * * did intimate that there was no proof
of pari delicto. * * *’? On the contrary the District
Court said: ‘‘While there may be evidence to sustain
a finding that the plaintiffs were active participants
in the stabilization plan, I don’t think that it is neces-
sary for the Court to pass upon that portion of the
motion at this time, * * *’’ (R. 987).
(2) Petitioner makes several references to the
fact that it consumed about 2% of the gasoline pur-
chased by it (Pet’s. Brief, pp. 7,13). Petitioner fails
to call attention to the fact that during the trial it
dismissed any claim for damages on gasoline con-
sumed or not resold by it (R. 1313).
10
(3) Petitioner sets out a schedule of margins in
the appendix to its brief and refers to them as if they
were the margins of petitioner. The exhibit showing
these margins for 1934 was excluded by the trial
court (R. 669), and the exhibits showing these mar-
gins for 1935 and 1936 were ordered corrected so that
the jury would not be confused into believing that they
were petitioner’s margins (R. 496-497, 667-672).
Petitioner received larger margins (R. 337-339).
(4) On Page 22 petitioner states:
‘‘Podvin’s- activities with reference to restoring
prices in areas where price wars existed, were dis-
continued upon becoming suspicious that Respond.
ents were rigging the market. * * *
“Tf it be said that Podvin took part in the con-
spiracy which raised prices, he did so innocently.
ee @ @))
Podvin testified that he took an active part in stabili-
zation activities in 1934, 1935 and 1936 (R. 463, 48%
489). With reference to his innocence, he concluded
a letter in August, 1935 in regard to raising prices
with this statement:
“‘Sinee the cancellation of the N. R. A. we are
not supposed to talk prices or come to any agree
ment between one another on prices, therefore, |
am not making a copy of this letter and will asi
you to kindly destroy same after reading it so it wil
not get into vour files’? (Ex. 103, R. 474, 478).
Since this is an appeal from a judgment sustaining re
spondents’ motion for a directed verdict at the conclusiot
of petitioner’s case, respondents must accept the facts
shown by the record for the purposes of this appeal.
1}
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.
I.
The Petition for Writ of Certiorari does not bring for-
ward any question relating to the holding of the Cireuit
Court of Appeals that petitioner was in pari delicto with
respondents. The Court held that this was a sufficient
vround to support the directed verdict for respondents.
As this question is not brought forward, it is not before this
Court (Rule 38, Supreme Court Rwes) and this Court, in
any event, would have to affirm the judgment of the Cir-
enit Court of Appeals. The Supreme Court will not take
jurisdiction to decide moot questions, or when it appears
that the decision of the lower court will have to be af-
firmed regardless of how this Court resolves the questions
raised by the petition. The Prudence Co., Inc. vy. Fidelity
& Deposit Company of Maryland, et al., 297 U.S. 198, 208
(1936) ; Lynch, et al. v. New York ex rel. Pierson, 293 U.S.
52, 54, 55 (1934): Richardson v. McChesney, Secretary of
State of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, 218 U. 8. 487, 492
(1910).
The Cireuit Court of Appeals properly affirmed the judg-
ment of the trial court because no one is entitled to recover
damages under the antitrust laws unless he has sustained
a pecuniary loss in business or property. This is a well
settled rule.
The decision in the present case that a jobber is not
entitled to recover the amount of an increased price as such
is in accord with decisions of the Eighth Cireuit Court of
Appeals, Twin Ports Oil Co. v. Pure Oil Co., 119 F. (2d)
boned ae
12
747, 750, 751 (C. C. A. 8th, 1941), certiorari denied 314
U.S. 644, rehearing denied 314 U.S. 711, and various Dis-
trict Courts in jobber cases arising out of the Madison Oil
Case. This is the rule adopted by the Supreme Court.
Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern Railway Company, et al.,
260 U.S. 156, 164-165 (1922).
Where, as here, and as charged in the Madison Oil Case,
the conspiracy has raised the whole market structure, the
jobber or middleman has not sustained any loss. Under
petitioner’s claim that any person who has paid an in-
creased price may recover, the Barber Company, the peti-
tioner, the subjobber, the dealer and the consumer, each
would be entitled to recover three times the amount of the
original increase upon the same gallon of gasoline.
The freight rate overcharge cases, relied upon by peti-
tioner, are not applicable because such cases hold that under
the Interstate Commerce Act there can be a recovery of an
overcharge without proof of pecuniary loss and the only
one who can recover is the one in privity with the carrier.
This Court has held that such cases are not applicable to an
action for damages under the antitrust laws. Keogh vy.
Chicago & Northwestern Railway Company, et al., 260 U.S.
156, 164-165 (1922). The decision in Straus, et al. v Victor
Talking Mach. Co., et al., 297 F. 791 (C. C. A. 2d, 1924)
does not conflict with the decision in the present case,
because in that case Strayg sustained a pecuniary loss
which was measured exactly by the increase in the purchase
price to him. Moreover, here the conspiracy has raised
both the buying and selling prices of petitioner. Since
petitioner has based its ease upon the Madison Oil Case, it
must accept the conspiracy and its total effect as charged
in that case and found to exist here, which was the raising
of both the tank car and retail prices of gasoline.
111.
>
Petitioner failed to prove any loss in business or prop-
erty and the only reasonable inference from the evidence,
which establishes that there were corresponding increases
in petitioner’s buying and selling prices as a result of the
couspiracy, is that petitioner sustained no loss.
LV.
The claim of petitioner that there was a conspiracy to
limit the jobber’s margins and to reduce or limit the retail
price is raised for the first time in the Supreme Court and
is without support in the pleadings or evidence.
%.
The undisputed evidence establishes that petitioner is in
pari delicto with respondents and as the finding of fact
of the Cireuit Court of Appeals on this point has not been
brought forward by any question in the petition for writ of
certiorari, such finding is binding on this Court. Where
parties are in pari delicto, the law leaves them where it
finds them.
EL eS ee eo SOS eRe a ee ee
14
ARGUMENT.
I.
This Court Should Not Grant the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari Because It Would Be Necessary, in Any Event,
to Affirm the Judgment of the Lower Court as the Pefi.
tioner Has Failed to Bring Forward One of the Two
Grounds Upon Which the Circuit Court of Appeals
Based Its Decision.
Respondents urged to the Cireuit Court of Appeals that
the directed verdict should be sustained upon the pari
delicto ground as well as upon the ground that the peti-
tioner had proved no damage in its business or property.
The Cireuit Court of Appeals found as a fact that the
petitioner had been a participant in the conspiracy and
held that:
‘Having participated in this illegal undertaking,
plaintiff may not recover; where parties stand in part
delicto. the law leaves them where it finds them * * *.”
(R. 1358.)
The Court held that this was a sufficient ground to support
the judgment for respondents.
The Petition for Writ of Certiorari does not question
the correctness of, and in fact does not even mention, the
decision of the Cireuit Court of Appeals that a verdict was
properly directed for the respondents on the ground that
the petitioner was in pari delicto. Not having brought this
question forward, it is not before this Court. Rule 38, Sw
preme Court Rules; Gunning v. Cooley, 281 U.S. 90, Qs
(1930): Helrering, Commissioner of Internal Revenue v.
Taylor, 293 U.S. 507, 511 (1955) ; General Talking Pictures
Corp. v. Western Electric Co., et al., 304 U.S. 175, 177-178
(1938). Therefore, this holding of the Cireuit Court of
s Li Want WING VM STORER MEAN ELS LL OI RES aE POLES ORME TEN GE TOE IAL TORIES ID
15
Appeals must be assumed to be correct, and the judgment
in this case, in any event, would have to be affirmed. The
Prudence Co., Ine. vy, Fidelity & Deposit Company of Mary-
land, et al., 297 U.S. 198, 208 (1936); Federal Trade Com-
mission V. Pacific States Paper Trade Association, 273 VU.
S. 52, 66 (1927).
This Court will not take jurisdiction when it appears,
as it does here, that the decision would have to be affirmed
regardless of how this Court resolves the point raised by
petitioner. Lynch, et al. v. New York ex rel. Pierson, 298
U.S. 02, 04, 55 (1954) and Fox Film Corp. v. Muller, 296
U.S. 207, 209, 210 (1935). It is the policy of this Court
to decide only actual controversies by a judgment that ean
be carried into effect, and not to give opinions upon moot
questions or abstract propositions, or to declare principles
or rules of law which cannot affect the rights of the parties
in the case before it. Richardson vy, MeChesney, Secretary
of State of the Commonwealth of Kentucky, 218 U. S. 487,
492 (1910); Mills v. Green, 159 U.S. 651, 653 (1895); T'en-
nessee V. Condon, 189 U.S. 64, 70, 71 (1903).
I].
The Circuit Court of Appeals Was Correct in Affirming
the Judgment of the Trial Court Because a Person Can-
not Recover Damages Under the Clayton Act Unless He
Has Shown Pecuniary Loss in Business or Property as
the Proximate Result of a Violation of the Antitrust
Laws.
A. Personal Pecuniary Damage in Business or Property Is the Gist
of an Action Under the Clayton Act.
Section 4 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S. C. A. $ 15), upon
Which this action is based, provides:
‘*Any person who shall be injured in his business
or property by reason of anything forbidden in the
16
antitrust laws may sue therefor * * * and shall recover
threefold the damages by him sustained, and the cost
of suit, including a reasonable attorney’s fee * * *.”
No one is entitled to recover under this section unless
he has suffered a pecuniary loss in his business or property
as a result of a violation of the antitrust law. The mere
fact that respondents have been convicted in a criminal
prosecution does not give petitioner a cause of action.
Pecuniary loss is the gist of the action. Meogh v. Chicago
& Northwestern Railway Company, ct al., 271 F. 444, 447
(C. C. A. 7th, 1921) affirmed 260 U. S. 156; Foster
Nleiser Co. v. Special Site Sign Co., 85 FF. (2d) 742, 750
(C. CL A. 9th, 1936), certiorari denied 299 U.S. 613; Glenn
Coal Co. v. Dickinson Fuel Co., et al., 72 F. (2d) 885, 887
(C. C. A. 4th, 1934); Jack vo Armour & Co., et al., 291 F.
741, 745 (C. C. A. 8th, 1928); Locker, et al. v. American To-
bacco Co., et al, 218 F. 447, 448 (C. C. A. 2d, 1914).
B. The Decision of the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in the Pres-
ent Case Is in Accord With Decisions in Other Jobber Treble Dan-
age Cases Arising Out of the Madison Oil Case.
The decision in the present case by the Seventh Cireuit
(‘ourt of Appeals is in aecord with decisions by the Eighth
Cireuit Court of Appeals and with decisions of various
District Courts in jobber cases arising out of the Madison
Oil Case. These courts have recognized that the eases
relied upon by petitioner here are not applicable to a
jobber action.
The first treble damage case brought against respond-
ents, as a result of the Madison Oil Case, was a suit by a
Jobber reported in Twin Ports Oil Co. vy. Pure Oil Co., 119
I. (2d) 747, 750 (C. C. A. 8th, 1941), certiorari denied 314
U.S. 644, rehearing denied 314 U. 8. 711. The Court held
that the Clayton Act does not authorize the recovery of an
17
unlawfully increased price but only the recovery of dam-
ages resulting therefrom. ‘The same cases relied upon by
petitioner here were urged upon the Supreme Court in the
petition for certiorari in that case.
Other jobber treble damage cases to the same effect are:
Leonard v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., et al., 42 ¥. Supp.
369, 370 (D. C., W. D. Wis., 1942); H. E. Miller Oil Co. v.
Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., et al., 37 F. Supp. 831 (D. C.,
EK. D. Mo., E. D., 1941) ; Farmers Co-op. Oil Co. v. Socony-
Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., et al., 133 F. (2d) 101, 103 (C. C. A.
Sth, 1942).
These decisions are in accord with the rule adopted by
the Supreme Court. This Court in Keogh v. Chicago
Northwestern Railway Company, et al., 260 U.S. 156, 164-
169 (1922) held that the exaction of a higher freight rate
as the result of a conspiracy did not in and of itself estab-
lish any damage under the antitrust laws to the shipper.
The contention of petitioner that the Clayton Act au-
thorizes the recovery of the amount of an increased pay-
ment as such, irrespective of pecuniary damage, is not only
contrary to the express wording of the Clayton Act and the
decisions construing it, but would lead to most inequitable
and absurd results.
Witness the course of a gallon of gasoline from producer
to consumer under the facts of this case where the peti-
tioner is the second jobber in the chain from producer to
consumer,
The Tide Water Company, the producer, sold to the
Barber Company, a jobber, at }¢ under the low quotation
of the tank car price as published in the Chicago Journal
of Commerce (Ex. 15, R. 243, 909); the Barber Company
then sold the same gasoline to petitioner at an invoiced
price equal to the low of the tank car price as published
in the Chicago Journal of Commerce (R. 223, 254); the
18
petitioner then sold the same gasoline to its subjobbers
at the average of the high and low quotations of the tank
car prices as published in the Chicago Journal of Commerce
(R. 369; Ex. 13, R. 242, 1051); or it sold such gasoline to
dealers or consumers at the dealer tank wagon or service
station price posted by Standard Oil Company which was
based upon the tank ear price as published in the Chicago
Journal of Commerce (R. 160-161, 252, 387, 571). In other
words, the buying price of Barber, petitioner, subjobber,
dealer and consumer were all based upon the spot tank
ear price as published in the Chicago Journal of Com-
merece, As stated by the Supreme Court in United States
v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., et al., 310 U.S. 150 (1940);
“* * * the spot market was a ‘peg to hang the
price structure on’.”’ (p. 192)
Thus, upon any unlawful rise in the tank car price,
both petitioner’s buying and selling prices were increased.
The same was true as to the buying and selling prices of
Barber, and of petitioner’s subjobber and of petitioner’s
dealer. Only the consumer, who is not a reseller, found
himself bearing the increase in price. Where the consumer
has paid the amount of an unlawful increase, he, and he
alone, is the person who has sustained pecuniary loss
within the meaning of the Clayton Act. He is the one in-
jured, because his property has been diminished. In con-
struing the similar section of the Sherman Act, Mr. Jus-
tice Holmes, in Chattanooga Foundry and Pipe Works vy.
City of Atlanta, 203 U. S. 390 (1906), said:
s«* * * A man is injured in his property when his
property is diminished. * * *’? (p. 399)
Where, as here, the conspiracy has raised the whole mar-
ket structure, the jobber’s or middleman’s property has not
heen diminished.
Under petitioner’s claim that any person who has paid
an increased price may recover three times the amount of
eee. eee
19
that increase without proof of pecuniary loss, the Bar-
ber Company, the petitioner, the subjobber, the dealer and
the consumer, each, would be entitled to recover three times
the amount of the original increase upon the same gallon
of gasoline. This would create a total liability upon the
respondents of fifteen times the amount of the increase,
However, petitioner suggests that the consumer cannot
recover because he was not in privity with respondents
(Pet’s. Brief, p. 14). Neither was petitioner in privity
with respondents as it did not purchase gasoline from
them. But, of course, privity is not essential to a recovery
under the anti-trust laws and petitioner cannot deny the
consumer a right of recovery on this ground.
C. There Is No Conflict Between the Cases Cited by Petitioner and the
Decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals in the Present Case.
In support of its contention that it can recover the
amount of the increased price as such, petitioner relies
on certain freight rate cases. These freight rate cases
are not applicable. The recovery of a tariff overcharge
under the Interstate Commerce Act (49 U. S. C. A. $1)
differs from a recovery under the Clayton Act, in the fol-
lowing respects:
(1) A tariff overcharge is recoverable as a matter
of law, without showing a pecuniary loss. Louisville
& Nashville Railroad Co. vy. Sloss-Sheficld Steel &
Tron Company, 269 U. 8. 217, 235 (1925); New York,
N. HW. & H. R. Co., et al. v. Ballou d& Wright, 242 F.
862, 867 (C. C. A. 9th, 1917); Doughty-McDonald Gro-
cery Company, et al. y. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe
Railway Company, et al., 155 1. C. C. 47 (1929).
(2) As the recovery is of the tariff overcharge as
such, only persons in privity with the carrier are en-
titled to recover—thus, suit must be brought by the
one who paid the overcharge and against the carrier
which collected the overcharge. Southern Pacific Com-
20
pany, et al. v. Darnell-Tacnzer Lumber Company, et al.
245 U.S. 531, 534 (1918); Missourt Portland Cement
Company v. Director General, as Agent, 88 I. C. C. 492,
495, 496 (1924); Nicola, Stone & Myers Company Vv.
Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company, et al., 14
I. C. C. 199, 209 (1908).
(3) An action under the Clayton Act is a tort ae-
tion. Such action is not for recovery ofan overcharge
as such, but is ‘‘for threefold the damages by him sus-
tained.’? Recovery is not limited to persons in privity
with the wrongdoer but extends to all persons who
have suffered pecuniary loss as a natural and _ prob-
able result of the illegal act. The amount of damages
may be more or less than the amount of any increase in
price.
Thus, the Interstate Commerce Act authorizes the re-
covery of a tariff overcharge by the one who pays it in the
first instance; the Clayton Act authorizes the recovery of
damages sustained.
The distinctive character of the railroad rate overcharge
cases, which do not require proof of pecuniary loss, is
emphasized by the fact that in suits by persons under the
Interstate Commerce Act for a violation of Section 2 (un-
jus! liserimination provision) or for a violation of Section
4 (the long-and-short-haul provision), pecuniary loss must
be established. Pennsylvania Railroad Company v. lr
ternational Coal Mining Company, 230 U. S. 184, 202-208,
206 (1912); Davis v. Portland Seed Company, 264 U.S, 408
(1924).
The Clayton Act is subject to the same rules of proof
as announced in the Jnternational Coal Case, and the so-
ealled rate reparation cases construing Section 1 of the
Interstate Commerce Act are wholly inapplicable. The
Supreme Court has held that the rule requiring pecuniary
loss, as announced in the International Coal Case, is con-
j
3
E
&
:
trolling in a treble damage action under the anti-trust laws,
21
and that the rule of Southern Pacific Company, et al. v.
Darnell-Taenzer Lumber Company, ct al., 245 U. S. 531
(1918), which is relied upon by petitioner, is not applica-
ble. In Keogh v. Chicago & North Western Railway Com-
pany, ct al., 260 U.S. 156 (1922), the Supreme Court said:
co’ * Under $7 of the Anti-Trust Act, as under
$8 of the Act to Regulate Commerce, Pennsylvania
R. R. Co. v. International Coal Mining Co., 230 U.S.
184, recovery cannot be had unless it is shown, that, as
a result of defendants’ acts, damages in some amount
susceptible of expression in figures resulted. These
damages must be proved by facts from which their
existence is logically and legally inferable. They can-
not be supplied by conjecture. To make proof of such
facts would be impossible in the case before us. It is
not like those cases where a shipper recovers from
the carrier the amount by which its exaction exceeded
the legal rate. Southern Pacific Co. v. Darnell-Taenzer
Co., 245 U. 8. 531. * * © (pp. 164-165)
Thus the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in the pres-
ent case and the Eighth Cireuit Court of Appeals in Twin
Ports Oil Co, v. Pure Oil Co., 119 F. (2d) 747, 750, 751 (C.
C. A. Sth, 1941), certiorari denied 314 U. S. 644, rehearing
denied 314 U. S. 711, followed the rule announced by the
Supreme Court in holding that the principle of the rate
overcharge cases was not applicable in a suit for damages
under the anti-trust laws.
Even if the rate reparation eases were applicable, peti-
tioner cannot recover under the very rule for which it con-
tends. Under those cases, the only one who can recover is
the one who paid the increased price in the first instance,
and the suit must be against the one who received the in-
creased price in the first instance. This petitioner is hot
the party who first paid the alleged increase and the re-
spondents are not the parties to whom the alleged increase
was paid. The alleged illegal increase in the tank ear price
22
was first paid by the W. H. Barber Company, who pur-
chased from Tide Water.
In addition to the rate reparation cases, petitioner re-
lies upon certain treble damage cases. A brief analysis
of these cases shows that they are not in conflict with the
decision in the present ease and that they do not in the
least depart from the long line of cases requiring pecu-
niary loss under the Clayton Act.
The plaintiff in Straus, et al. v. Victor Talking Mach.
Co.. et al., 297 F. 791 (C. C. A. 2d, 1924), was a retailer
who had been accustomed to buying Vietor products at
wholesale prices. Beeause plaintiff refused to abide by
certain trade practices imposed by the Victor Company,
that company refused to permit Straus to continue to buy
at wholesale. His competitors continued to receive the
benefit of the wholesale prices. In order to supply his
customers, Straus was foreed to buy Victor products on
the retail market.
This ease is neither applicable nor controlling here, be-
cause:
(1) Straus was forced from a wholesale to a retail
market. In other words, Straus was foreed to buy and
sell on the retail market. He thus suffered an actual
pecuniary loss which was measured exactly by the in.
crease inthe price to him.
(2) Only the price to Straus was raised and he
was the only one injured as a result of the conspiracy.
ITis selling price was not raised. Tn the present case
the whole market structure has been raised as a result
of the conspiracy and the consumer has borne the in-
erease in price.
(3) The Straus Case was urged upon the Circuit
Court of Appeals in Twin Ports Oil Co. v. Pure Oil Co.,
119 F. (2d) 747 (C. C. A. 8th, 1941). It was cited or
quoted from in the plaintiff's brief no less than a
dozen times. It was urged upon the Supreme Court in
the petition for writ of certiorari and the petition
OEE ONAN ARORA ED LINEN. SD The a CANORA 4 CONROE tS: tN a OE
23
was denied (314 U.S. 644). In view of the many anti-
trust decisions holding that pecuniary loss is essen-
tial to recovery under the anti-trust laws, statements
in the Straus Case must be considered in the light of
the facts of that case which established that a pecu-
niary loss had been sustained in the amount of the
increase in price which was the difference between the
wholesale price and the price paid by Straus.
It has already been pointed out that in Chattanooga
Foundry and Pipe Works v. City of Atlanta, 203 U.S. 390,
399 (1906), the plaintiff was injured because its property
was diminished. The City of Atlanta had purchased pipe
for its own use in its own city water system and the pipe
was not purchased for resale. Thus, the City was a con-
sumer and it bore the illegally increased price. The City
of Atlanta, therefore, actually sustained a pecuniary loss
which was measured by the amount of the illegally in-
creased price of the pipe.
The cases cited by petitioner are not controlling for a
still further reason:
In the Madison Oil Case, upon which petitioner bases
this case, the respondents were charged with and convicted
of raising the tank car and in turn the retail price of gaso-
line. Thus, under the theory of that case, both petitioner’s
buying and selling prices were raised as a result of this
conspiracy. As petitioner has based its case upon the eon-
spiracy established in the Madison Oil Case, it cannot at
its convenience take a part of this conspi~aecy and reject
the rest. It must accept the conspiracy and its total effect,
as charged in that case, which was the raising of both the
tank car and retail prices of gasoline. This fact in and of
itself is sufficient to distinguish this ease from the cases “
cited by petitioner.
24
III.
Petitioner’s Evidence Failed to Establish Any Injury in
Its Business or Property.
A. Petitioner Did Not Bring Forward the Evidence in Its Posses-
sion Which Would Have Established Definitely Whether or Not
the Increase in Its Purchase Price Was Passed On.
Petitioner did not sustain the burden of proof placed
upon it by the statute which requires proof of injury in
business or property. Although petitioner stood before
the Court strictly and solely as a reseller, seeking to re-
cover damages on only gasoline bought and resold as a
jobber, it did not attempt to establish that its cost of gaso-
line was increased more than the increase of income re-
sulting from the increase in the whole market structure.
Petitioner offered a tabulation of its increased cost (Ex.
165, R. 913, 1301), but failed to produce any computation
of increased income.
Petitioner has now set out a schedule of margins on
sales to dealers in the appendix to its brief and has re-
ferred to certain average margins on Pages 20 and 21 as
‘the jobber’s margin.’? These margins do not show any
damage to petitioner and, furthermore, they are not peti-
tioner’s margins (R. 496-497 ; 667-672). Reference is made
by petitioner to the fact that there was a higher average
margin for the vear 1934 than for the vears 1935 and 1936.
But, as shown by petitioner’s own schedule, the reduction
in margins occurred on September 11, 1934 as the result
of Standard’s action in reducing the service station price
994. This was several months prior to the commencement
of the conspiraey for which respondents were charged with
raising prices—not reducing them (Ex. 1, R. 110, 1001;
R.&). Even if petitioner had shown the margins received
by it at all of its bulk plants, it, also, wonld have been
necessary to prove the gallonage sold to jobbers, dealers
and consumers.
It would have been a simple matter for petitioner to have
ascertained its increased income. It had, as a part of its
records, price schedules showing the prices charged on
sales from its bulk plants (see Exs. 24, 25, 26, 27 & 28 [R.
376, 1069-1073] offered by respondents); and petitioner
also had sales analyses showing the gallonage sold to job-
bers, dealers and consumers (R. 920). It failed to produce
these price schedules or the sales analyses.
The burden was upon petitioner to prove the fact and
cause of injury with certainty. Story Parchment Company
v. Paterson Parchment Paper Company, et al., 282 U. 8.
599, 562 (1931); Palmer, et al. v. Connecticut Railway &
Lighting Co. 311 U. S. 544, 561 (1941); and its failure to
produce the evidence in its possession raises a presump-
tion that such evidence would have been adverse to it.
Joseph Galloway by Freda Galloway, his Guardian, Peti-
tioner v. The United States of America, 319 U. 8. 372
(1943); Interstate Circuit, Inc., et al. v. United States,
306 U. S. 208, 226 (1939); Shuell, et al. v. London Amuse-
ment Co., 123 F. (2d) 302, 306 (C. C. A. 6th, 1941).
B. The Only Reasonable Inference Which Can Be Drawn from the
Evidence Is That Petitioner Sustained No Injury.
We have set out in this brief the different increases in
the tank ear and retail markets during 1935 and 1936
(Brief, p. 5), and it appears that the increases in the
tank car market were followed by corresponding increases
in the retail market. Furthermore, the Barber Company
guaranteed petitioner a gross margin of profit of 53¢ and
subsequently 5i¢ per gallon, between the tank car price
plus freight and the normal service station price as posted
by the Standard Oil Company of Indiana less taxes (Ex.
15, R. 243, 560, 563-564).
OEP RO IO RAN ACR™ > PTE at =
RIE SW Ae RW Geib san aT
26
If petitioner paid an increased amount of $156,000.00
for gasoline as stated by it, it is clear that it received at
least this additional amount as the result of the increase
in the whole market structure, and undoubtedly it received
more as a result of buying and selling on a rising market.
Therefore, the only reasonable inference which can be
drawn from this evidence is that petitioner did not sus-
tain any injury in its business or property.
IV.
The Claim of Petitioner That Respondents Fixed and Lim-
ited Its Margin, and Fixed, Reduced and Limited the
Retail Price Is Raised for the First Time in the Supreme
Court and Is Without Support in the Pleadings or Evi-
dence.
Petitioner asserts that the contention of respondents
and the statements by the Supreme Court in United States
v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Ine., et al., 310 U.S. 150 (1940),
that the buying and selling prices of the jobber were in-
creased, prove the fact of damage to it. The fact is that
just the contrary is established. Comparable increases in
both the buying and selling prices of the jobber estab-
lish that he received no injury.
Petitioner refers to the margin schedule in the appendix
to its brief (which does wot represent its margins) to show
that the jobber’s sails were reduced and did not ex-
ceed approximately 2¢ per gallon in 1935 and 1936. Peti-
tioner points out that Standard reduced the retail price on
9 (Commencing on September 11, 1934 and continuing through
1985 and 1936 Standard’s retail price was determined by com-
puting the tank car market and adding freight, taxes and 5\%e.
This 51%4e was the equivalent of a 2c jobber margin and a 3%
service station margin (R. 160-161, 203-204, 214). United States
vy. Socany-Vaeuum Oil Co., Inc., et al., 310 U.S. 150, 192.
>
-s
September 11, 1934, 2.2¢ ‘‘cutting the jobber’s margin from
03773¢ to .01573¢ per gallon’ (Pet’s. Brief, p. 19). Peti-
tioner suggests that this was the result of a conspiracy be-
tween Standard and respondents, and concludes that. re-
spondents have limited the jobber’s margin by fixing both
the buying and selling prices of the jobber. This point is
made for the first time in the Supreme Court and is without
support in the pleadings or evidence in the trial court or
in the statement points in the Circuit Court of Appeals.
The Government charged in the Madison Oil Case and pe-
titioner alleged in this case that respondents entered into
a conspiracy to raise prices (not to reduce them), and
that such conspiracy began in February 1935 (not on Sep-
tember 11, 1934) (Ex. 1, R. 110, 1001; R. 6).
Petitioner recognizes that this was not an issue in the
trial court by the following statement in its brief:
‘Respondents cannot complain that this theory is
not now more specifically set out in the pleadings nor
insisted upon in the trial.’’ (Pet’s. Brief, p. 21)
Not only was it not set out in the pleadings or insisted upon
in the trial, but it was expressly disclaimed by petitioner
as being an issue in the case. In a colloquy between coun-
sel reference was made to the action of Standard on
September 11, 1934 in reducing retail prices as not being
an issue in this lawsuit, and Mr. Crawford, counsel for
petitioner, stated:
“es * * We are not claiming here any damage on
account of what the Standard Oil Company did in
1934. [am sure counsel understands that.’’ (R. 256)
28
¥.
Petitioner Cannot Maintain This Action Against Respond-
ents, Because Both Petitioner and Respondents Were
Participants in a Broad Stabilization Program to Raise
Prices in Petroleum Markets, and Such’ Stabilization
Program Was Found to Be Illegal in United States v.
Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., et al., 310 U. 8. 150 (1940).
There was no issue of fact for the jury on this question
because it was established in the trial court by undis-
puted evidence. The necessary and controlling facts to
establish this defense appear in the record from the follow-
ing three sources:
(a) Letters written by A. F. Podvin, Vice President
and General Manager of petitioner ;
(b) Testimony of officers of the petitioner ; and
(ce) The judgment in the Madison Oil Case which
was offered by the petitioner as prima facie evidence
under Section 5 of the Clayton Act.
We have heretofore set out briefly the evidence of pe-
titioner’s activities in participating in this stabilization
program (Brief, pp. 7-9). The record is replete with
letters and testimony of petitioner’s officers which estab-
lish that it was an active agency in working with respond-
ents and others to carry out the stabilization program
and to maintain prices during 1934, 1935 and 1936 (R. 463,
488-489, 433-434, 445-446, 457-458; EXxs. 67-106, R. 413, 414,
418, 419, 421, 427, 438, 448, 458, 466, 474, 412-481; Exs.
The Cireuit Court of Appeals has found as a fact that
petitioner participated in the illegal conspiracy and was
in pari delicto with respondents (R. 1355, 1358). As this
finding has not.been brought forward by any question in
the petition for writ of certiorari, this Court, of course,
29
must assume such finding to be correct, Rule 38, Supreme
Court Rules.
It is firmly established that a court will not aid a party
to recover on a cause of action that is founded on a wrong
in which the party took part. Harriman v. Northern Se-
curities Company, 197 U. S. 244, 298 (1905). This is a
well settled rule in treble damage actions under the anti-
trust laws. Hastman Kodak Co. v. Blackmore, 277 F. 694
(C. C. A, 2d, 1921); Vietor Talking Mach. Co. v. Kemeny,
271 F. 810, 816 (C. C. A. 3rd, 1921); Bluefields 8S. S. Co.,
Limited v. United Fruit Co., 248 F. 1, 13-14, 18-19 (C. (,
A. 3rd, 1917); Maltz v. Sax, cet al., 134 F. (aa) 2,6 (C.-C.
A. 7th, 1943).
Wuererore, the petition for writ of certiorari should be
denied.
DAVID T. SEARLS,
VINSON, ELKINS, WEEMS & FRANCIS.
Esperson Building,
Houston, Texas,
LEON E. ISAKSEN,
H. H. THOMAS,
THOMAS. ORR & ISAKSEN,
122 West Washington Avenue,
Madison, Wisconsin,
WILLIAM H. DOUGHERTY.
STANLEY M RYAN,
NOLAN, DOUGHERTY, GRUBB & RYAN.
401 Jackman Building. :
Janesville, Wisconsin,
J. H. MARSHUTZ,
FISH, MARSHUTZ & HOFFMAN.
1115 Wells Building,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin,
STURTEVANT HINMAN,
135 South La Salle Street,
Chicago, Mlinois,
Attorneys for Respondents,
Socony-Vacuum Oil Company, Inc.,
Continental Oil Company,
The Pure Oil Company,
Shell Oil Company, Inc..
Sinclair Refining Company,
Mid-Continent Petroleum Corporation,
Phillips Petroleum Company.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.