Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Clinton Siples, Petitioner v. Douglas A. Collins, Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Supreme Court briefNov 19, 2025
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No.
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
________________
CLINTON SIPLES,
v.
Petitioner,
DOUGLAS A. COLLINS, SECRETARY OF VETERANS
AFFAIRS,
Respondent.
________________
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT
________________
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
________________
Kenneth H. Dojaquez
CARPENTER CHARTERED
P.O. Box 2099
Topeka, KS 66601
Geoffrey C. Shaw
ORRICK, HERRINGTON &
SUTCLIFFE LLP
355 S. Grand Ave.
Suite 2700
Los Angeles, CA 90071
Melanie L. Bostwick
Counsel of Record
Alexandra Bursak
Kamilyn Y. Choi
ORRICK, HERRINGTON &
SUTCLIFFE LLP
2100 Pennsylvania Ave.
NW
Washington, DC 20037
(202) 339-8400
mbostwick@orrick.com
Counsel for Petitioner
i
QUESTION PRESENTED
In the uniquely pro-claimant veterans-benefits
system, Congress has provided that an otherwisefinal agency decision is subject to revision if that decision was based on “clear and unmistakable error,”
or “CUE.” Regulations and longstanding agency
practice dictate that CUE is “the kind of error, of fact
or of law, that when called to the attention of later
reviewers compels the conclusion, to which reasonable minds could not differ, that the result would have
been manifestly different but for the error.” 38
C.F.R. §§ 3.105(a)(1)(i), 20.1403(a), (c). And, as this
Court confirmed in George v. McDonough, 596 U.S.
740 (2022), the error must be based on the law that
applied at the time of the original decision, not a later change in law or interpretation.
In the decision below, the Federal Circuit misread George to require more. It held that a CUE
claimant must show not only that a legal error had a
clear effect on the outcome of a benefits decision, but
also that the law itself was undebatably clear at the
time of the prior decision.
The question presented is: To establish “clear
and unmistakable error” based on legal error, must a
veteran show that there was an error of law at the
time of the challenged decision which undebatably
altered the outcome of the benefits decision, as the
regulatory text provides, or must a veteran also
show that the meaning of the law itself was undebatable, as the Federal Circuit held?
ii
RELATED PROCEEDINGS
Clinton Siples v. Douglas A. Collins, Secretary of
Veterans Affairs, No. 22-1528 (Fed. Cir. judgment
entered Feb. 7, 2025).
Clinton Siples v. Denis McDonough, Secretary of
Veterans Affairs, No. 19-7957 (Vet. App. judgment
entered Jan. 7, 2022).
iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTION PRESENTED ........................................ i
RELATED PROCEEDINGS ..................................... ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................................... vi
INTRODUCTION ..................................................... 1
OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW ........................ 3
JURISDICTION ........................................................ 4
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............... 4
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................................. 5
Congress Creates A Uniquely ProClaimant System For VeteransBenefits Adjudication.................................... 5
Erroneous Benefits Decisions May Be
Revised On Grounds Of Clear And
Unmistakable Error ...................................... 7
Mr. Siples Seeks CUE Revision Of His
Original Benefits Decision ............................ 9
The Federal Circuit Affirms, In Conflict
With Recent Precedent ............................... 13
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.............. 16
I.
The Decision Below Is Incorrect. ..................... 16
A. CUE calls for a two-step analysis. .............. 16
B. The Federal Circuit conflated the two
steps and misconstrued the CUE
standard. ..................................................... 21
iv
II. The Federal Circuit’s Decision Is Contrary
To Loper Bright. ............................................... 26
III. The Question Presented Is Important And
Recurring. ......................................................... 29
A. The Federal Circuit created and failed
to correct an intra-circuit conflict. .............. 30
B. The issues are critical to veterans and
certain to recur frequently. ......................... 32
IV. This Case Is A Clean Vehicle. .......................... 34
CONCLUSION ........................................................ 36
APPENDIX A
Opinion of the Federal
Circuit (Feb. 7, 2025) .............. 1a
APPENDIX B
Decision of the Court of
Appeals for Veterans Claims
(Dec. 15, 2021) ....................... 19a
APPENDIX C
Decision of Board of Veterans’
Appeals (July 23, 2019)......... 29a
APPENDIX D
Rating Decision of
Department of Veterans
Affairs (July 23, 2004) .......... 57a
APPENDIX E
Order of the Federal Circuit
Denying Rehearing
(Aug. 21, 2025) ...................... 67a
APPENDIX F
38 U.S.C. § 5109A ................. 69a
APPENDIX G
38 U.S.C. § 7111 .................... 70a
APPENDIX H
38 C.F.R. § 3.105 ................... 72a
v
APPENDIX I
38 C.F.R. § 20.1403 ............... 83a
APPENDIX J
38 C.F.R. § 4.59 ..................... 86a
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)
Cases
Berger v. Brown,
10 Vet. App. 166 (1997) .................................19, 25
Burton v. Shinseki,
25 Vet. App. 1 (2011) ............................... 11, 12, 35
Calderon v. Thompson,
523 U.S. 538 (1998)..............................................29
Comer v. Peake,
552 F.3d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2009) ............................33
Cook v. Principi,
318 F.3d 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2002) ......................19, 25
Fugo v. Brown,
6 Vet. App. 40 (1993) ............................... 19, 20, 25
George v. McDonough,
596 U.S. 740 (2022)....... 1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 14, 17, 18, 19,
21, 24, 26, 31
Harris v. Shinseki,
704 F.3d 946 (Fed. Cir. 2013) ................................6
Henderson v. Shinseki,
562 U.S. 428 (2011)..........................................6, 29
Look v. Derwinski,
2 Vet. App. 157 (1992) ...................................20, 24
vii
Loper Bright Enters. v. Raimondo,
603 U.S. 369 (2024)............................ 1, 2, 3, 27, 28
Mansell v. Mansell,
490 U.S. 581 (1989)..............................................34
Nat’l Org. of Veterans’ Advocs., Inc. v.
Sec’y of Veterans Affs.,
981 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2020) ............................32
Russell v. Principi,
3 Vet. App. 310 (1992) ............................. 20, 24, 25
Shinseki v. Sanders,
556 U.S. 396 (2009)................................................5
Smith v. Brown,
35 F.3d 1516 (Fed. Cir. 1994) ................................8
Spencer v. Brown,
17 F.3d 368 (Fed. Cir. 1994) ................................33
United States v. Oregon,
366 U.S. 643 (1961)................................................6
Walters v. Nat’l Ass’n of Radiation
Survivors,
473 U.S. 305 (1985)................................................7
Webb v. McDonough,
71 F.4th 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2023) ............................10
Statutes
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)..................................................4, 6
viii
28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)....................................................28
38 U.S.C. § 1110 ..........................................................5
38 U.S.C. § 1151 ..................................................20, 24
38 U.S.C. § 1155 ........................................................10
38 U.S.C. § 5108(a)......................................................7
38 U.S.C. § 5109A ............................... 1, 4, 7, 8, 10, 16
38 U.S.C. § 5109A(b) ...................................................7
38 U.S.C. § 5110(a)(1), (3) ...........................................7
38 U.S.C. § 5904(c)(1) ................................................33
38 U.S.C. § 7104(a)......................................................6
38 U.S.C. § 7105(b)(1) .................................................6
38 U.S.C. § 7111 ........................................ 1, 4, 7, 8, 16
38 U.S.C. § 7111(b)......................................................7
38 U.S.C. § 7252(a)......................................................6
38 U.S.C. § 7261 ..........................................................6
38 U.S.C. § 7266(a)......................................................6
38 U.S.C. § 7292(d)(1) .................................................6
Regulations
38 C.F.R. pt. 4 ...........................................................10
ix
38 C.F.R. § 3.105 .........................................................8
38 C.F.R. § 3.105(a)(1)(i) ............. 2, 4, 8, 17, 18, 23, 24
38 C.F.R. § 3.105(a)(1)(iii) .........................................17
38 C.F.R. § 3.400(k) .....................................................7
38 C.F.R. § 4.20 .........................................................10
38 C.F.R. § 4.40 .........................................................23
38 C.F.R. § 4.45 .........................................................23
38 C.F.R. § 4.59 ............. 5, 10-13, 15, 22-23, 33, 35-36
38 C.F.R. § 4.71a .......................................................10
38 C.F.R. § 20.1403(a), (c) ............... 2, 8, 17, 18, 23, 24
Veterans’ Bureau Reg. 187 § 7155
(1928) ......................................................................8
Other Authorities
Dep’t of Veteran Affs., Current
Veterans Disability Compensation
Rates (Dec. 1, 2024),
https://perma.cc/T77H-V3XL ...............................10
H.R. Rep. No. 105-52 (1997) .................................7, 20
Veterans Benefits Admin., Department
of Veterans Affairs Adjudication
Procedures Manual M21-1 (updated
May 2025), https://perma.cc/39ZYP42T ......................................................... 11, 19, 36
INTRODUCTION
This case presents an important question of veterans law that requires resolution following the
Court’s decision in George v. McDonough, 596 U.S.
740 (2022); that the Federal Circuit, which has exclusive jurisdiction over the issue, decided incorrectly and in a manner that contravenes Loper Bright
Enterprises v. Raimondo, 603 U.S. 369 (2024); and
that will, without this Court’s intervention, deprive
untold numbers of veterans of the benefits that they
earned through service.
In the strongly pro-claimant veterans-benefits
system, otherwise final decisions by the Department
of Veterans Affairs (VA) remain subject to revision
on grounds of “clear and unmistakable error,” or
“CUE.” 38 U.S.C. §§ 5109A, 7111. CUE might occur,
for example, if critical facts were not before the
agency, or if the agency misapplied the law. If a veteran demonstrates CUE, the original decision is corrected, and the veteran receives the benefits he
should have gotten all along.
Four terms ago, in George, this Court held that
CUE is a narrow form of error based solely on “the
law that existed at the time of the prior” adjudication. 596 U.S. at 747 (internal quotation marks omitted). So a veteran claiming CUE because of a legal
error in an earlier benefits decision must demonstrate that that decision was wrong based on the law
as it was then, and cannot invoke subsequent changes. Id.
2
The inquiry thus requires an assessment of what
the law was at the time of the challenged adjudication. In the opinion below, the Federal Circuit went
far beyond George and held that CUE requires the
veteran to establish that the meaning of the law at
the time of the prior adjudication not only favored
him, but was “undebatably” clear. Pet. App. 16a
(emphasis added). According to the Federal Circuit,
if there is any room for disagreement as to what the
meaning of a statute or regulation governing the
original benefits decision was, CUE revision is not
available.
That is not the standard. The text of the CUE
regulation and traditional agency practice establish
that this remedy is available when there was (1) an
error in the prior adjudication that (2) undebatably
altered the outcome of that adjudication. See 38
C.F.R. §§ 3.105(a)(1)(i), 20.1403(a), (c). In other
words, what must be “undebatable” is not the meaning of the governing law, but that the error in applying that law resulted in a less favorable benefits
determination. The Federal Circuit’s decision conflated the two parts of the analysis and erroneously
heightened the standard for showing what law governed the original decision.
The Federal Circuit’s holding is also contrary to
Loper Bright. The essential teaching of Loper Bright
is that the task of ascertaining what the law is—or
what the law was—does not end simply because the
law appears ambiguous or disagreement exists about
its meaning. See 603 U.S. at 392. Laws, “no matter
how impenetrable, do—in fact, must—have a single,
best meaning,” which adjudicators must pursue
3
through “independent judgment.” Id. at 398, 400.
Veterans deserve the benefit of “the unremarkable,
yet elemental proposition reflected by judicial practice dating back to Marbury: that courts decide legal
questions by applying their own judgment”—“even
those [questions] involving ambiguous laws.” Id. at
391-92. CUE adjudicators are not authorized to
abandon their inquiry into what the law was and
deny relief merely because there is room for debate.
The Federal Circuit’s decision threatens to raise
the bar for CUE so high that it is effectively unattainable. Whether legal meaning can fairly be debated is “in the eye of the beholder”; room for
disagreement can almost always be found if one goes
looking. Id. at 408 (quotation marks omitted). Barring CUE unless a veteran can establish that the law
was well and truly undebatable would inevitably result in denying countless veterans the benefits they
rightfully earned—the opposite of what Congress intended by creating a special path for veterans to correct erroneous benefits determinations. The decision
also threatens to sow systematic confusion in the
veterans-benefits system because it opens a conflict
with a recent decision of another Federal Circuit
panel, which the Federal Circuit declined to resolve
en banc. This Court’s review is thus urgently needed.
The Court should grant certiorari and reverse.
OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW
The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit is published at 127
F.4th 1325 and reproduced at Pet. App. 1a-18a. The
4
decision of the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
is unreported and reproduced at Pet. App. 19a-28a.
The decision of the Board of Veterans’ Appeals is unreported and reproduced at Pet. App. 29a-56a. The
2004 decision of the Roanoke Regional Office is unreported and reproduced at Pet. App. 57a-66a.
JURISDICTION
The Federal Circuit entered judgment on February 7, 2025. Pet. App. 1a. A timely petition for rehearing was denied on August 21, 2025. Pet. App.
67a-68a. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
38 U.S.C. § 5109A provides in pertinent part:
A decision by the Secretary under this chapter is subject to revision on the grounds of
clear and unmistakable error. If evidence establishes the error, the prior decision shall
be reversed or revised.
38 U.S.C. § 7111 provides in pertinent part:
A decision by the Board is subject to revision
on the grounds of clear and unmistakable error. If evidence establishes the error, the prior decision shall be reversed or revised.
38 C.F.R. § 3.105(a)(1)(i) provides in pertinent
part:
5
A clear and unmistakable error is a very specific and rare kind of error. It is the kind of
error, of fact or of law, that when called to
the attention of later reviewers compels the
conclusion, to which reasonable minds could
not differ, that the result would have been
manifestly different but for the error. If it is
not absolutely clear that a different result
would have ensued, the error complained of
cannot be clear and unmistakable.
38 C.F.R. § 4.59 provides in pertinent part:
The intent of the schedule is to recognize
painful motion with joint or periarticular pathology as productive of disability. It is the
intention to recognize actually painful, unstable, or malaligned joints, due to healed injury, as entitled to at least the minimum
compensable rating for the joint.
These statutes and regulations are reproduced in
full at Pet. App. 69a-86a.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Congress Creates A Uniquely Pro-Claimant System For Veterans-Benefits Adjudication
“The law entitles veterans who have served on
active duty in the United States military to receive
benefits for disabilities caused or aggravated by their
military service.” Shinseki v. Sanders, 556 U.S. 396,
400 (2009); see 38 U.S.C. § 1110. Congress designed
the system of veterans-benefits adjudication against
6
this “uniquely pro-claimant” backdrop. Harris v.
Shinseki, 704 F.3d 946, 948 (Fed. Cir. 2013); see
United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643, 647 (1961)
(“The solicitude of Congress for veterans is of long
standing.”). The system is “‘unusually protective’ of
claimants,” and the agency claims process is “nonadversarial.” Henderson v. Shinseki, 562 U.S. 428, 431,
437 (2011). Indeed, as this Court has observed, “[t]he
contrast between ordinary civil litigation … and the
system that Congress created for the adjudication of
veterans benefits claims could hardly be more dramatic.” Id. at 440.
A veteran seeking disability benefits “must first
file a claim with the VA,” after which a “regional office of the VA then determines whether the veteran
satisfies all legal prerequisites” for benefits. George,
596 U.S. at 743. Veterans can appeal the regional office’s decision to the Board of Veterans’ Appeals, an
agency tribunal whose members function like administrative law judges. 38 U.S.C. §§ 7104(a), 7105(b)(1).
If the Board denies relief, veterans may then appeal
to the Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (Veterans Court). 38 U.S.C. §§ 7252(a), 7266(a). Congress
established the Veterans Court in 1988 as part of the
Veterans’ Judicial Review Act, which also established judicial review over veterans-benefits claims
for the first time. The Veterans Court applies an
APA-like standard of review to Board decisions. 38
U.S.C. § 7261. Either party may appeal an adverse
Veterans Court decision to the Federal Circuit,
which has a more limited scope of review but “shall
decide all relevant questions of law,” 38 U.S.C.
§ 7292(d)(1), and ultimately may seek relief in this
Court, 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
7
Erroneous Benefits Decisions May Be Revised
On Grounds Of Clear And Unmistakable Error
Congress has also codified multiple avenues for
collateral review, reflecting its uniquely proclaimant approach to finality in the veterans’ context. In veterans’ cases, a “denial of benefits has no
formal res judicata effect.” Walters v. Nat’l Ass’n of
Radiation Survivors, 473 U.S. 305, 311 (1985); see
also H.R. Rep. No. 105-52, at 2 (1997) (“There is no
true finality of a decision” in “[t]he VA claim system.”). So, separate from the direct-review process
described above, a veteran at any time may seek revision or readjudication of a final benefits decision
on two different grounds.
First, a veteran can file a supplemental claim
based on “new and relevant evidence.” See 38 U.S.C.
§ 5108(a). In general, a veteran who prevails on a
supplemental claim is entitled to benefits dating
back to the date they filed the supplemental claim,
not the date of the original benefits decision. See 38
U.S.C. § 5110(a)(1), (3).
Second, a veteran can “ask the Board or regional
office to revise a final benefits decision on grounds of
‘clear and unmistakable error.’” George, 596 U.S. at
744; see 38 U.S.C. §§ 5109A (CUE by regional office),
7111 (same standard for CUE by Board). A veteran
can make this request “at any time” after the original benefits decision becomes final. 38 U.S.C.
§§ 5109A, 7111. If the veteran establishes CUE, she
is owed benefits from the time of the original, erroneous decision. 38 U.S.C. §§ 5109A(b), 7111(b); 38
C.F.R. § 3.400(k).
8
CUE review has deep roots in the veteransbenefits system, dating back at least to a 1928 regulation providing that “the rating board may reverse
or amend a decision … where such reversal or
amendment is obviously warranted by a clear and
unmistakable error.” Veterans’ Bureau Reg. 187
§ 7155 (1928). After undergoing revisions over some
decades, in 1959, the regulation was imported into
38 C.F.R. § 3.105, which has been the main regulation governing CUE review ever since. See Smith v.
Brown, 35 F.3d 1516, 1525 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Section 3.105 defines CUE as
the kind of error, of fact or of law, that when
called to the attention of later reviewers
compels the conclusion, to which reasonable
minds could not differ, that the result would
have been manifestly different but for the error. If it is not absolutely clear that a different result would have ensued, the error
complained of cannot be clear and unmistakable.
38 C.F.R. §§ 3.105(a)(1)(i) (CUE by regional office),
20.1403(a), (c) (CUE by Board, setting out substantively identical standard). Congress codified this
longstanding agency practice into statute in 1997.
See 38 U.S.C. §§ 5109A, 7111.
This Court recently addressed the CUE standard
in George. VA had denied a veteran’s claim for disability benefits “after concluding that his condition
predated his military service and was not aggravated by it.” 596 U.S. at 744-45. The statute at the time
9
required VA to prove non-aggravation, but VA’s regulation did not impose that burden on the agency;
VA adjudicators therefore did not require such proof
in Mr. George’s case. Decades later, the regulation
was invalidated, and Mr. George requested CUE relief. This Court held that CUE does not encompass a
subsequent “change in law … or a change in interpretation of law,” such as a later-invalidated regulation. Id. at 747. CUE relief is available only if a
veteran demonstrates that his benefits decision was
erroneous “based on the record and law that existed
at the time of the prior VA decision.” Id. (quotation
and alteration marks omitted).
Mr. Siples Seeks CUE Revision Of His Original
Benefits Decision
Clinton Siples joined the Air Force in 1978 and
served honorably for 25 years. CAFC App. 29. While
serving in the Air Force, Mr. Siples began to receive
treatment for bilateral shoulder dislocations. CAFC
App. 16. After his retirement, with the help of a nonlawyer representative, he sought benefits for shoulder disability connected to injuries that occurred
during service. CAFC App. 11-17, 64. VA’s medical
examination concluded that his “range of motion” in
both shoulders was “limited by pain and pain is the
major functional impact.” CAFC App. 20. The regional office granted him benefits for this serviceconnected disability. Pet. App. 57a-58a.
When the regional office grants a disabilitybenefits claim, it determines the relevant diagnostic
code (or “DC”). It then looks to VA’s Schedule for
Rating Disabilities, which “provides an extensive list
10
of disabilities identified by unique diagnostic codes,
each of which has at least one corresponding disability rating.” Webb v. McDonough, 71 F.4th 1377, 1378
(Fed. Cir. 2023) (citing 38 U.S.C. § 1155; 38 C.F.R.
pt. 4). That rating corresponds to the degree of severity of the veteran’s condition, 38 U.S.C. § 1155;
C.F.R. § 4.1, and determines the monthly compensation the veteran receives, see Dep’t of Veteran Affs.,
Current Veterans Disability Compensation Rates
(Dec. 1, 2024), https://perma.cc/T77H-V3XL. In some
cases, “it is possible that a particular veteran’s disability does not clearly fall under one of the delineated diagnostic codes.” Webb, 71 F.4th at 1378. In that
circumstance, the disability may be rated by analogy
to a “closely related” condition in which “the functions affected, … the anatomical localization[,] and
symptomatology are closely analogous.” 38 C.F.R.
§ 4.20.
In 2004, the regional office assigned Mr. Siples a
10% disability rating for each shoulder by analogy to
DC 5203. CAFC App. 25. That code relates to clavicle
or scapula impairment. 38 C.F.R. § 4.71a. But DC
5203 does not mention the limited range of motion
that the examiner had diagnosed. Mr. Siples did not
appeal the regional office’s decision, and that decision became final.
In 2017, Mr. Siples requested that VA revise its
decision on the basis of CUE. CAFC App. 26; see 38
U.S.C. § 5109A. His CUE claim relied on 38 C.F.R.
§ 4.59, VA’s regulation titled “Painful motion,” which
had been in place at the time of the 2004 regional office decision. Section 4.59 provides details on identifying painful motion of joints. And it states that the
11
“intent” of the rating schedule is “to recognize actually painful, unstable, or malaligned joints” and to
afford them “at least the minimum compensable rating for the joint.” 38 C.F.R. § 4.59. Mr. Siples contended that § 4.59 required the regional office in
2004 to assign him a rating for his painful shoulder
motion, and that the “minimum compensable rating”
for this disability would be 20% under the relevant
diagnostic code, DC 5201. CAFC App. 26; see Veterans Benefits Admin., Department of Veterans Affairs
Adjudication Procedures Manual M21-1 (“M21-1
Manual”), at V.iii.1.A.1.a (updated May 2025),
https://perma.cc/39ZY-P42T (explaining an “actually
painful joint” entitles veteran to minimum compensable rating regardless of whether “the specific criteria” in the DC are met).
The regional office and the Board both denied
Mr. Siples’s CUE claim. The Board concluded that it
was debatable in 2004 whether § 4.59 applied to
painful joint motion that, like Mr. Siples’s condition,
did not involve arthritis. Pet. App. 29a-66a. The first
sentence of the regulation reads: “With any form of
arthritis, painful motion is an important factor of
disability ….” 38 C.F.R. § 4.59; Pet. App. 3a-4a. And
the regulation contains one other mention of “arthritis of the spine.” Certain non-precedential Veterans
Court decisions had reached different outcomes on
whether the regulation was limited to arthritis
claims. The VA Secretary ultimately acknowledged
that § 4.59 applies in non-arthritis contexts. Burton
v. Shinseki, 25 Vet. App. 1, 2-3 (2011). And the Veterans Court agreed: Although “[e]xamining the first
sentence [of § 4.59] out of context can lead one to
consider that the regulation might apply only to the
12
evaluation of arthritis claims,” looking at the whole
regulation, “arthritis is explicitly mentioned only in
the first and third sentences and is not the subject of
the majority of the regulation.” Id. at 4.
The Board reasoned that Burton could not “provide a basis for finding CUE” because it was issued
after Mr. Siples’s initial benefits decision. Pet. App.
43a. But the Board also held that the text of § 4.59
alone was not enough, because in 2004 “VA understood § 4.59 to apply solely to cases of arthritis.” Pet.
App. 22a. In short, the Board required Mr. Siples to
show that the correct legal meaning of § 4.59 at the
time of the original benefits decision was undebatable. See Pet. App. 36a. (characterizing CUE as requiring an “undebatable” legal error).
Mr. Siples appealed, and the Veterans Court affirmed. Pet. App. 19a-28a. The CUE inquiry, it said,
asks whether “(1) the adjudicator … incorrectly applied statutes or regulations in effect at the time,”
“(2) the alleged error was undebatable, not merely a
disagreement as to how … the law was applied[,]”
and “(3) the commission of the alleged error … manifestly changed the outcome of the decision.” Pet.
App. 22a. The Veterans Court characterized Burton
as demonstrating that, before 2011, “there was a
prevailing interpretation that § 4.59 did not apply to
non-arthritis claims, or there was not yet a settled
interpretation that § 4.59 did apply to non-arthritis
claims.” Pet. App. 25a. “Either way,” the Veterans
Court reasoned, “it cannot be said that § 4.59 was
undebatably understood to apply to non-arthritis
claims in 2004.” Id.
13
The Federal Circuit Affirms, In Conflict With
Recent Precedent
Mr. Siples appealed to the Federal Circuit, arguing that the Veterans Court erred in requiring § 4.59
to have been “undebatably understood to apply to
non-arthritis claims in 2004.” CAFC Opening Br. 2.
That is because an adjudicator is not “require[d] …
to review CUE in the context of how a law could
have been understood; rather, CUE is an assessment
of what the law actually required.” Id. As Mr. Siples
explained, in the first step of the CUE analysis, VA
“must first determine what the regulation means,
and then determine whether the RO correctly applied that interpretation.” CAFC Reply Br. 6; see also
CAFC Opening Br. 7-8; CAFC Reply Br. 4. In other
words, Mr. Siples took the position that the agency’s
CUE assessment must start with a determination of
what the law was at the time of the original decision,
not whether the law was settled or undebatable.
After briefing was complete, the Federal Circuit
decided Perciavalle, holding that “the language of [a]
regulation itself can establish the existence of CUE.”
74 F.4th 1374, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2023). In Perciavalle,
the veteran requested CUE relief where, at the time
of his original benefits decision, there was no onpoint authority governing the issue in his case. Id. at
1377-78. It was only later that the Veterans Court
opined on the issue and VA’s General Counsel issued
a precedential opinion. Id. at 1378. But, citing
George, the Perciavalle panel explained that “the
correct CUE inquiry is simply whether the original
decision was a ‘correct application of a binding regulation’ or law, regardless of later changes in the law
14
or later decisions by the agency or a court.” Id. at
1382 (quoting George, 596 U.S. at 749). “In short, a
legal error may be clear for the purpose of CUE despite the fact that there was no preceding court or
agency decision on the precise legal question.” Id.
The panel in Mr. Siples’s case ordered supplemental briefing to address Perciavalle. CAFC Dkt.
32; see CAFC Dkt. 34 (Siples Supp. Br.); CAFC Dkt.
33 (Gov’t Supp. Br.). 1 In his supplemental brief, Mr.
Siples argued that the Veterans Court improperly
“requir[ed] an authoritative source to publish that
the plain meaning was the plain meaning” in order
to find CUE. CAFC Dkt. 34 at 4. As Mr. Siples
pointed out, Perciavalle rejected the notion that “unless or until ‘a court decision or VA publication’ identifies a legal error, ‘it cannot be CUE.’” CAFC Dkt.
34 at 4.
The Federal Circuit affirmed the denial of Mr.
Siples’s CUE claim. The first part of its opinion reaffirmed, at length, George’s holding that “a determination that there was ‘clear and unmistakable error’
must be based on the record and the law that existed
at the time of the prior VA decision”—something Mr.
Siples has never disputed. Pet. App. 11a (quoting
596 U.S. at 747); see generally Pet. App. 11a-14a.
The panel then turned to the “correct standard
for assessing a legal-based CUE,” Pet. App. 15a. It
1 The court did not have the benefit of supplemental brief-
ing regarding the significance of Loper Bright, because that decision issued after the panel’s decision. See infra 28 n.2.
15
framed that standard in terms of whether the law
“undebatably” favored Mr. Siples. Pet. App. 15a.
First, the panel concluded that, because of “the regulation’s express references to arthritis,” it could not
say that the “plain language of § 4.59 as a whole
clearly applies to cases beyond those involving arthritic painful motion.” Pet. App. 16a (emphasis added). It “emphasize[d]” that it was “not called upon in
this case to conclusively determine the correct interpretation of § 4.59.” Pet. App. 16a. Next, the panel
canvassed Veterans Court decisions issued prior to
or around the time of the original 2004 benefits decision. And it concluded there was a “lack of a settled
interpretation of § 4.59.” Pet. App. 16a. Finally, the
panel explained that a 1998 VA General Counsel
precedential opinion did not answer the question
whether § 4.59 applies to non-arthritis claims, either. Pet. App. 17a-18a. Thus, the Federal Circuit affirmed the CUE denial because “§ 4.59 was not
undebatably understood as applying to cases other
than arthritis, nor was it so clear on its face as to
compel applicability to non-arthritis claims.” Pet.
App. 18a.
Mr. Siples sought rehearing, explaining that the
panel had misapplied the CUE standard in a manner inconsistent with both circuit and Supreme
Court precedent. Although Mr. Siples had consistently argued that CUE is not about “how a law could
have been understood”—that is, whether the meaning of the law was undebatable—but rather “of what
the law actually required,” CAFC Opening Br. 2, the
government’s primary argument against rehearing
was that Mr. Siples had forfeited this argument. The
16
Federal Circuit denied rehearing without explanation. Pet. App. 67a-68a.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
The Court should grant certiorari and correct the
Federal Circuit’s misconstruction of the CUE standard. CUE revision is available where (1) a benefits
decision was erroneous, and (2) that error undebatably altered the outcome of the original decision. But
the Federal Circuit’s opinion now requires the
claimant to show that the meaning of the law governing the original benefits decision was undebatable—a heightened standard for showing error that
appears nowhere in the text codifying the CUE
standard, is contrary to the traditional CUE inquiry,
and conflicts with Loper Bright’s instruction to determine the “best” meaning of the law. The Federal
Circuit’s holding requires this Court’s correction because it introduces conflict into the Federal Circuit’s
caselaw and represents a fundamental misunderstanding of this Court’s decision in George and the
application of Loper Bright in the veterans-benefits
context.
I.
The Decision Below Is Incorrect.
A. CUE calls for a two-step analysis.
1. The CUE statute provides broadly that “[a]
decision by the Secretary under this chapter is subject to revision on the grounds of clear and unmistakable error.” 38 U.S.C. § 5109A (regional office);
id. § 7111 (Board). The statute does not define what
the phrase “clear and unmistakable error” means.
17
But as the Court explained in George and as noted
above (at 8) a “robust regulatory backdrop” fills the
gap. 596 U.S. at 746.
The governing regulation, which codifies the
longstanding CUE standard, establishes two principal elements. A clear and unmistakable error that
can be corrected on collateral review is (1) a legal or
factual error (2) that is undebatably outcomedeterminative. The regulation defines CUE as “the
kind of error, of fact or of law, that when called to
the attention of later reviewers compels the conclusion, to which reasonable minds could not differ, that
the result would have been manifestly different but
for the error.” 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.105(a)(1)(i), 20.1403(a),
(c).
CUE is thus “narrower than error simpliciter.”
George, 596 U.S. at 746-47. Determining whether a
benefits decision is infected with CUE and eligible
for revision does not turn on the mere existence of
“garden-variety ‘error,’” id. at 746, but requires an
adjudicator to perform a sequential two-step analysis.
The first step asks whether the original decision
was infected with legal or factual error. Under
George, the existence of error is based “on the record
and the law that existed at the time of the prior VA
decision.” Id. at 747 (quotation and alteration marks
omitted); see also 38 C.F.R. § 3.105(a)(1)(iii) (“Review
for clear and unmistakable error in a prior final
decision of an agency of original jurisdiction must be
based on the evidentiary record and the law that
existed when that decision was made.”). The CUE
18
adjudicator must assess whether there was an error
solely based on the record, “binding regulation[s],”
and statutory law then in existence. George, 596 U.S.
at 749.
The second step requires a heightened showing
going beyond “error simpliciter.” George, 596 U.S. at
746-47. It asks whether an error identified at step
one was undebatably outcome-determinative—
meaning that reasonable minds could not dispute
that the error resulted in a benefits decision less favorable than the veteran otherwise would have received. Only errors for which “the result would have
been manifestly different but for the error” qualify as
CUE. 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.105(a)(1)(i), 20.1403(a), (c).
This second step of the inquiry presents a high
bar. A veteran must establish not only that the error
was outcome-determinative for his benefits case, but
that “reasonable minds could not differ” on that
question and that the significance of the error is “absolutely
clear.”
38
C.F.R.
§§ 3.105(a)(1)(i),
20.1403(a), (c). It must be undebatable that the error
was not harmless and that “the result would have
been manifestly different but for the error.” 38
C.F.R. §§ 3.105(a)(1)(i), 20.1403(a), (c). In colloquial
terms, a clear and unmistakable error is an obviously harmful error—one that clearly and unmistakably
affected the outcome of a veteran’s case.
2. The statutory and decisional background to
the CUE statute confirms the same two-step understanding of CUE set out in the regulatory text.
19
When Congress enacted the CUE statute in
1997, it was aware of and incorporated contemporaneous VA caselaw articulating the CUE standard.
See Cook v. Principi, 318 F.3d 1334, 1344-45 (Fed.
Cir. 2002) (en banc). These pre-codification decisions
repeatedly articulate the traditional two-step understanding of CUE. A CUE claim requires a showing of
error, plus “persuasive reasons … as to why the result would have been manifestly different but for the
alleged error.” Fugo v. Brown, 6 Vet. App. 40, 44
(1993). CUE requires an initial showing of error, after which the appellant must “demonstrate, bearing
in mind the extra burden of persuasion there is to do
so, that but for the error the result would have been
‘clearly and unmistakably’ different.” Berger v.
Brown, 10 Vet. App. 166, 169 (1997).
VA’s practices—similarly forming part of the
“robust regulatory backdrop” informing the meaning
of the CUE statute, George, 596 U.S. at 746—
confirm the same understanding. To this day, VA’s
Adjudication Procedures Manual states CUE “exists”
if “the statutory or regulatory provisions extant at
the time were incorrectly applied,” and that error
would have “manifestly changed the outcome.” M211 Manual, at X.ii.5.A.1.a, https://perma.cc/G4F97TWR. The Manual confirms that what it means for
an error to be “clear and unmistakable” is that it be
“undebatable” and “absolutely clear that a different
outcome would have resulted” if not for the error. Id.
The legislative history of the CUE statute supports the same conclusion. The House Report quoted
the regulatory language and reiterated that CUE is
“is the kind of error, of fact or of law, that when
20
called to the attention of later reviewers compels the
conclusion, to which reasonable minds could not differ, that the result would have been manifestly different but for the error.” H.R. Rep. 105-52, at 3
(quoting Russell v. Principi, 3 Vet. App. 310, 313
(1992)). The Report elaborated: “Even where the
premise of error is accepted, if it is not absolutely
clear that a different result would have ensued, the
error complained of cannot be, ipso facto, clear and
unmistakable.” Id.
3. The two-part analysis ensures that CUE focuses on correcting substantive errors that clearly
dictated the outcome of benefits decisions, and does
not invite later reviewers to parse mere process failures or adopt a “grading papers” approach to earlier
decisions.
Thus, according to the Veterans Court decisions
that informed Congress’s enactment of the CUE
statute in 1997, VA’s “failure to give reasons [or] bases” for a denial of benefits could not be CUE, even if
doing so obviously constituted legal error, without a
“compelling case that the result would have been
manifestly different.” Fugo, 6 Vet. App. at 44. But
the failure to apply governing law that entitled the
claimant to a more favorable benefits rating could.
E.g., Look v. Derwinski, 2 Vet. App. 157, 160 (1992)
(CUE where VA “erred in determining that appellant was not entitled to disability benefits for residuals of a herniated disc pursuant to 38 U.S.C.
§ 1151”). This Court in George highlighted “VA’s
failure to apply an existing regulation to undisputed
record evidence” as an exemplar of CUE—a scenario
that lends itself to the heightened showing of out-
21
come-determinativeness because the veteran’s legal
entitlement is clear, the record evidence is undisputed, and the significance of the error is obvious. 596
U.S. at 747.
The two-step standard also reflects Congress’s
goal of correcting errors in benefits adjudication
through an administrable process. Giving a veteran
the opportunity to point out an error in the first instance focuses the attention of the reviewing adjudicator on the original decision and facilitates an
evenhanded inquiry into whether that decision was
infected with error. Requiring the veteran then to
make the further showing that the error was undebatably outcome-determinative facilitates a manageable process for revising erroneous decisions. It
protects the agency’s resources by limiting the scope
of collateral review to consequential, substantive errors. And it saves adjudicators from the need to revisit stale records or reweigh evidence to make close
calls about harmlessness. Only errors that the CUE
adjudicator can easily tell obviously made a difference count.
B. The Federal Circuit conflated the two
steps and misconstrued the CUE
standard.
1. The Federal Circuit adopted the rule that, to
establish CUE, a veteran must demonstrate not just
that the original decision was incorrect, but also that
the applicable rule of law under which he should
have prevailed was undebatable. This holding conflates the two steps of the CUE standard and wrong-
22
ly transplants the undebatability showing to step
one.
The panel denied relief because Mr. Siples had
not shown that “§ 4.59 … undebatably appl[ied] to
non-arthritic conditions” at the time of his original
decision. Pet. App. 16a (emphasis added). The Court
skipped the task of determining what the governing
law had been at the time of the original decision, because it observed that there may have been room for
disagreement as to its meaning. The panel specifically stated that it was “not called upon in this case to
conclusively determine the correct interpretation of
§ 4.59,” Pet. App. 16a, and thus neither analyzed nor
decided whether the original decision denying benefits contained legal error.
The panel stopped its analysis of the text of
§ 4.59, applicable precedent, and other informative
materials as soon as it discerned that there were
multiple possible interpretations. The panel ended
its examination of the text once it concluded that it
“cannot say that the plain language of § 4.59 as a
whole clearly applies to cases beyond those involving
arthritic painful motion.” Pet. App. 16a (emphasis
added). The panel did not examine precedent regarding § 4.59 to determine the correct construction, but
simply noted that a handful of unpublished contemporaneous decisions had “diverged” over whether
§ 4.59 applies to non-arthritic claims, and that none
of these decisions had confronted the question directly. Pet. App. 17a.
The panel also brushed off other relevant sources
of meaning, deeming them further sources of ambi-
23
guity. A 1998 VA General Counsel’s opinion had
characterized “38 C.F.R. §§ 4.40, 4.45, and 4.59” as
applying to “arthritis and other musculoskeletal disabilities”—strongly supporting Mr. Siples’s position—but the panel merely stated that this decision
further “contribute[d] to the lack of clarity regarding
the applicability of § 4.59 to non-arthritis claims at
the time of the RO’s July 2004 decision.” Pet. App.
17a-18a.
In short, the Federal Circuit denied relief not because it rejected Mr. Siples’s claim of legal error, but
because it perceived room for disagreement about
what the law was.
2. This holding is wrong and conflates the two
components of the CUE analysis. While an undebatability requirement applies at step two—outcomedeterminativeness—there is no such requirement
bearing on the initial showing of error. At the first
step, the CUE standard directs the adjudicator to
evaluate whether the original benefits decision was
legally incorrect, not whether the law was subject to
any possible interpretive debate.
As explained above, the Federal Circuit’s error is
plain from the regulatory text, providing that CUE is
“the kind of error, of fact or of law, that when called
to the attention of later reviewers compels the conclusion, to which reasonable minds could not differ,
that the result would have been manifestly different
but for the error.” 38 C.F.R. §§ 3.105(a)(1)(i),
20.1403(a), (c). The phrase “to which reasonable
minds could not differ” applies only to the question
whether “the result would have been … different but
24
for the error.” Id. The text underscores that conclusion by requiring that the result must have been
“manifestly different but for the error,” and dictating
that, “[i]f it is not absolutely clear that a different result would have ensued, the error complained of
cannot be clear and unmistakable.” Id. What must
be “absolutely clear”—the thing on which “reasonable minds” must not “differ”—is that a “manifestly
different … result would have ensued” but for the error. Id. Nothing in the regulatory text imposes an
undebatability requirement on the showing of what
the law was at the time of the original decision.
The Federal Circuit’s error is also plain from the
decisional law forming the background of and baked
into the CUE statute itself—another important part
of the “robust regulatory backdrop” informing the
meaning of CUE, George, 596 U.S. at 746. Prior to
the enactment of the current statute in 1997, CUE
was understood to encompass a decision’s failure “to
conform to the ‘true’ state of … the law that existed
at the time of the original adjudication.” Russell, 3
Vet. App. at 313; see also Look, 2 Vet. App. at 160
(finding CUE in a Board decision that was contrary
to statute, describing the step-one inquiry as
“whether the [Board] erred in determining that appellant was not entitled to disability benefits for residuals of a herniated disc pursuant to 38 U.S.C.
§ 1151”).
The pre-1997 decisions focused the heightened
undebatability
showing
on
the
outcomedeterminativeness question, not the meaning of the
law. In Fugo, for example, the Veterans Court explained that once “the premise of error is accepted, if
25
it is not absolutely clear that a different result would
have ensued, the error complained of cannot be, ipso
facto, clear and unmistakable” 6 Vet. App. at 43-44.
That is, after establishing error, “persuasive reasons” and a “compelling case … must be given as to
why the result would have been manifestly different
but for the alleged error,” but no heightened standard applies to the demonstration of legal error in the
first place. Id. at 44.
Similarly in Berger, decided shortly before the
enactment of the CUE statute, the Veterans Court
reiterated that “[t]he error must be such that the
appellant is able to demonstrate, bearing in mind
the extra burden of persuasion there is to do so, that
but for the error the result would have been ‘clearly
and unmistakably’ different.” 10 Vet. App. at 169.
And Russell—one of the principal influences on Congress’s understanding of CUE as it considered the
1997 legislation, see Cook, 318 F.3d at 1344-45—
defined CUE as “the sort of error which, had it not
been made, would have manifestly changed the outcome at the time it was made.” Russell, 3 Vet. App.
at 313-14. Indeed, Russell appears to be the source of
the “undebatable” concept in the CUE context, and
the Veterans Court clearly used that term to refer to
the effect of the error, not the meaning of the law.
See id. (characterizing CUE as “errors that are undebatable, so that it can be said that reasonable
minds could only conclude that the original decision
was fatally flawed”).
The Federal Circuit thus fundamentally misconstrued the CUE standard as traditionally understood
and as incorporated into the statute: What must be
26
“undebatable,” “manifest,” “clear,” and “unmistakable” is not the meaning of the law under which error
is established, but that the error altered the outcome
of the benefits decision.
3. The Federal Circuit repeatedly invoked
George, Pet. App. 9a-13a, but George does not authorize VA or a court to impose an “undebatability”
hurdle on the initial showing of legal error. As noted
above (at 17-18), George held that the CUE analysis
is strictly limited to the law and facts as they existed
at the time of the original benefits decision. 596 U.S.
at 747. But George did not hold that a veteran faces
the additional burden of proving that the meaning of
the law was undebatable at that time. And nothing
in George establishes a deferential regime in which
CUE relief is available only if the law could not
possibly be read to support the agency’s original
decision. The Federal Circuit erroneously decided an
issue that George did not reach.
II. The Federal Circuit’s Decision Is Contrary
To Loper Bright.
In imposing an undebatability hurdle on the initial showing of legal error, the Federal Circuit not
only erroneously construed the CUE standard and
misapplied George; it also contradicted Loper Bright.
The Federal Circuit’s holding that CUE relief is
available only if the law undebatably favored the
claimant at the time of the original decision requires
CUE adjudicators to stop their analysis of error and
deny relief when there is ambiguity or room for
disagreement about the meaning of the law. It
27
directs CUE adjudicators not to seek the correct
reading of regulations and statutes or the best
synthesis of other applicable legal resources, but
instead to end their inquiry if the meaning of those
authorities could reasonably be debated.
Loper Bright held that courts must set out to determine the “single, best meaning” of the law when
they are charged with deciding what the law is. 603
U.S. at 391-92, 400. The Court abolished Chevron
deference because the APA requires courts to decide
“all relevant questions of law”—“even those involving ambiguous laws”—and does not authorize courts
to end their inquiry because discerning the meaning
of the law is difficult. Id. at 391-92. When courts are
directed to “decide … ‘relevant questions of law,’” the
Court reasoned, they must do so “by applying their
own
judgment”—employing
“no
deferential
standard” unless separately required to do so by a
controlling authority. Id.; see also id. at 416
(Gorsuch, J., concurring) (courts must “offer
independent judgments about ‘what the law is’
without favor to either side”).
CUE adjudicators are required to decide whether
a prior benefits decision was infected with error.
Under Loper Bright, ascertaining what the law
binding on that prior decision was requires them to
evaluate it and offer their independent judgments,
“even” if it appears “ambiguous.” Id. at 391-92. CUE
adjudicators are not permitted to abandon their
inquiry once they encounter room for disagreement.
On the contrary, CUE adjudicators must
independently assess whether a challenged benefits
28
decision was contrary to then-prevailing
without favor to one side or the other.
law,
By directing the CUE adjudicator to rule against
the claimant whenever the law does not undebatably
favor him, the Federal Circuit adopted a rule analytically parallel to the Chevron regime Loper Bright
rejected: Where there is ambiguity or room for disagreement, the challenging party loses. Like Chevron,
the Federal Circuit’s decision requires the adjudicator “to ignore, not follow, ‘the reading [it] would have
reached’ had it exercised its independent judgment.”
Loper Bright, 603 U.S. at 398-99. Without a separate
statutory or regulatory command to adopt such a
stance, that holding cannot survive Loper Bright. 2
The Federal Circuit’s holding is especially
conspicuous because the CUE regime is designed to
be different from other collateral-review devices that
do impose an undebatability requirement on the
showing of legal error. See Loper Bright, 603 U.S. at
392 (noting that the “omission” of a “deferential
standard” in the text of the APA is “telling” because
it contrasts with other provisions). A prime example
is the familiar deferential regime governing federal
habeas petitions. A habeas petitioner must typically
demonstrate not just that a state court decision was
contrary to federal law, but that it was contrary to
“clearly established Federal law,” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)
(emphasis added)—in other words, that the law itself
Loper Bright was decided after the original briefing in
this case. At minimum, the Court should grant, vacate, and
remand for further consideration in light of Loper Bright.
2
29
was undebatable. In that context, an undebatability
requirement on the showing of legal error directly
follows from an independent statutory mandate.
With CUE, however, there is no such mandate.
This is by design: With habeas, Congress provided
for relief only if a state court decision was contrary
to “clearly established Federal law” as a way of balancing the importance of enforcing constitutional
rights with competing values like finality and the
rights of States. See Calderon v. Thompson, 523 U.S.
538, 554-55 (1998). By contrast, Congress adopted
the longstanding CUE doctrine as a special form of
collateral review to facilitate the correction of errors
in VA benefits decisions, in keeping with the goal of
an “informal[]” VA “adjudicatory ‘process’” affording
veterans special “solicitude,” Henderson, 562 U.S. at
431. Congress’s goal was to provide an affirmative
channel for veterans to obtain the benefits they
should have been receiving all along. Imposing an
undebatability hurdle on the initial showing of error
is inconsistent with that design.
Affording veterans the benefit of Loper Bright’s
promise of independent and neutral legal interpretation without a thumb on the scale against them if
the legal analysis turns out to be difficult thus fully
implements Congress’s goals for benefits adjudication.
III. The Question Presented Is Important And
Recurring.
The importance of this case amply warrants certiorari. Not only did the decision below tee up a con-
30
flict with prior Federal Circuit precedent that calls
for this Court’s review, but it also tests how that intra-circuit conflict should be harmonized with
George, Loper Bright, and the relevant statutory and
regulatory CUE provisions. Meanwhile, the question
presented will recur in the many CUE claims adjudicated each year, affecting a significant number of
veterans.
A. The Federal Circuit created and failed
to correct an intra-circuit conflict.
The panel’s decision created an intra-circuit conflict that will remain unresolved absent this Court’s
intervention. The ruling here squarely conflicts with
the Federal Circuit’s decision in Perciavalle, which
properly applied this Court’s decision in George and
is consistent with Loper Bright.
Perciavalle rejected what the panel here embraced: that whenever an error “has yet to be identified as erroneous by a court decision or VA
publication,” it cannot be CUE. 74 F.4th at 1382.
The panel in Mr. Siples’s case determined that, because he failed to show the precise legal question in
his case was “undebatably understood” by the agency
or courts at the time of the original benefits decision,
his CUE claim must fail. Pet. App. 18a. That flouts
Perciavalle’s holding that “a legal error may be clear
for the purpose of CUE despite the fact that there
was no preceding court or agency decision on the
precise legal question.” 74 F.4th at 1382.
Moreover, in Perciavalle, the Federal Circuit explained that the job of a CUE adjudicator is to de-
31
termine the “‘correct application of a binding regulation’ or law,” as of the time of the original benefits
decision. Id. at 1382. In fact, the court expressly
couched this conclusion as the application of George,
reasoning that George made “clear … that the correct CUE inquiry is simply whether the original decision was a ‘correct application of a binding
regulation’ or law, regardless of later changes in the
law or later decisions by the agency or a court.” Id.
This focus on the “correct” view of the law is also
consistent with this Court’s mandate in Loper
Bright: that adjudicators charged with deciding what
the law is (or was) must do so independently and
without deference unless directed otherwise by binding authority. See supra 26-29.
Applying that standard to this case underscores
the intra-circuit conflict. In both Perciavalle and this
case, “the alleged legal error or disputable question
of law was resolved by a court decision or official
Agency publication (such as a General Counsel precedential decision) issued after the decision the veteran seeks to collaterally attack became final.”
Perciavalle, 74 F.4th at 1382 (emphasis added). Still,
the Perciavalle court explained that a CUE claim
was permissible in that scenario because the “CUE
regulation does not prohibit CUE claims simply because the law at issue was the subject of a later decision.” Id. Perciavalle drew that principle directly
from George: “[R]egardless of … later decisions by
the agency or a court,” Perciavalle’s CUE inquiry
simply would have asked “whether the original decision was a ‘correct application of a binding regulation’ or law,” period. Id. (quoting George, 596 U.S. at
749). In rejecting the heightened standard the panel
32
below embraced, Perciavalle properly applied the
Supreme Court’s mandate in George, consistent with
Loper Bright.
B. The issues are critical to veterans and
certain to recur frequently.
As a doctrinal matter, the issues presented in
this case are inherently recurring and important.
They test how Loper Bright, George, Perciavalle, and
the applicable statutory and regulatory CUE provisions will be harmonized and applied going forward
in the extremely common CUE context.
Mr. Siples’s reading of the law easily harmonizes
these legal authorities. Under that reading, the
availability of CUE relief turns on (1) whether a
benefits decision is infected with error in light of the
correct understanding of the law as it existed at the
time of the original decision, without regard to
whether “reasonable minds could differ” on the matter and (2) whether it was “absolutely clear” (that is,
“undebatable”) that the error altered the outcome of
the original benefits decision.
As a practical matter, CUE relief is critical to
many veterans, and the Federal Circuit’s cramped
interpretation of what CUE requires will adversely
affect scores of veterans both now and in the future.
At the beginning of the benefits-claims process,
“nearly all veteran benefits claims are resolved at
the regional office stage” and go unappealed. See
Nat’l Org. of Veterans’ Advocs., Inc. v. Sec’y of Veterans Affs., 981 F.3d 1360, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (en
33
banc). At this stage, nearly all veterans (including
Mr. Siples) lack legal representation; in fact, they
are statutorily barred from paying an attorney to
represent them before the regional office. 38 U.S.C.
§ 5904(c)(1). And “[a]lthough aides from veterans’
service organizations provide invaluable assistance
to claimants seeking to find their way through the
labyrinthine corridors of the veterans’ adjudicatory
system, they are ‘not generally trained or licensed in
the practice of law.’” Comer v. Peake, 552 F.3d 1362,
1369 (Fed. Cir. 2009). So many veterans end up saddled with a decision that becomes final without the
benefit of proper legal argumentation. Moreover,
many CUE claims are bought by veterans whose
claims were denied during the period before judicial
review became available in 1988; CUE is the only
opportunity for these veterans to receive judicial
scrutiny of the lawfulness of VA’s denial.
Under the Federal Circuit’s erroneous ruling,
these veterans will be afforded CUE relief only if the
law that entitled them to benefits was not only clear
but undebatably so. Absent CUE, and absent some
new and relevant evidence warranting a supplemental claim, a veteran is left (at best) with the ability to file a new claim on a theory that the law has
changed since the prior denial. See Spencer v.
Brown, 17 F.3d 368, 373 (Fed. Cir. 1994). It is far
from clear that such an option would be available to
Mr. Siples or similarly situated veterans, given that
the law did not change—only VA’s and the judiciary’s recognition (in Burton) of § 4.59’s meaning did.
But even if this path were open, it provides benefits
only to the date of the new or supplemental claim—
not the original claim the veteran filed (and which
34
should have been granted). Supra 7. Given that
“[t]he amount of disability benefits a veteran is eligible to receive” is calibrated to the “degree to which
the veteran’s ability to earn a living has been impaired,” that money matters. Mansell v. Mansell, 490
U.S. 581, 583 (1989).
IV. This Case Is A Clean Vehicle.
This case is an excellent vehicle because Mr. Siples is entitled to relief under the correct analysis
and because there are no procedural obstacles to review.
To begin, contrary to the government’s contention at the rehearing stage, there is no forfeiture issue. Mr. Siples squarely preserved his argument
that the undebatability requirement applies only to
the question of outcome-determinativeness, not to
the correct understanding of the law at the time of
the original benefits decision. On appeal to the Federal Circuit, he argued that CUE must be “undebatable” in the sense that the “error … would have
‘manifestly changed the outcome at the time it was
made.’” CAFC Opening Br. 9. Further, he explained
that the CUE standard does not require asking “how
a law could have been understood; rather, CUE is an
assessment of what the law actually required” at the
time of the original decision. CAFC Opening Br. 2;
CAFC Reply Br. 5 (“An undebatable error occurs
when the [agency] fails to correctly apply the regulation or applies a misinterpretation of a regulation.”).
The panel cleanly addressed and erroneously decided the issue. In its opinion, the panel expressly
35
separated the issue of outcome-determinativeness
from the question of undebatability. Pet. App. 9a
(“[T]he error must be outcome determinative and
‘undebatable’ … such that ‘reasonable minds could
not differ.’” (emphasis added)). And it emphasized
that CUE is about whether the “understanding” of
the law was undebatable at the time of the original
benefits decision. Pet. App. 15a; see also Pet. App.
9a, 11a, 14a, 15a, 17a, 18a. In seeking rehearing,
Mr. Siples renewed his contrary argument and emphasized that the condition of undebatability applies
only to the outcome-determinativeness of the error.
CAFC Rehearing Pet. 2, 9, 11. The question presented is thus amply preserved and teed up for the
Court’s review.
Furthermore, the question presented would lead
to a different outcome in Mr. Siples’s case. The
flawed interpretation of the CUE standard—
requiring the law to be undebatable—was the sole
basis for both the Veterans Court’s and the Federal
Circuit’s rejection of Mr. Siples’s CUE claim. Pet.
App. 2a, 15a, 22a-25a. Had the courts applied the
proper CUE standard, they would have examined
Mr. Siples’s claim that VA failed to properly apply
§ 4.59 to his original decision. And the Veterans
Court has already recognized that a “proper interpretation” of § 4.59 requires applying it to nonarthritis claims like Mr. Siples’s; only by
“[e]xamining the first sentence out of context” could
one reach a contrary result. Burton, 25 Vet. App. at
4. It was therefore legal error for the VA in 2004 to
fail to apply § 4.59 to Mr. Siples’s claim, and to afford him the minimum 20% rating for painful motion
36
under DC 5201 (rather than the 10% rating it applied under DC 5203). Supra 11.
The Secretary has previously argued that, “even
assuming that the RO’s refusal to apply Section 4.59
in July 2004 was undebatably erroneous, this regulation can only help Mr. Siples if he was entitled to
additional benefits pursuant to DC 5201.” CAFC
Resp. Br. 23-24. And, in the Secretary’s view, Mr.
Siples would be entitled to a rating under DC 5201
only if his “arm’s motion is limited to shoulder level.”
CAFC Resp. Br. 24. The Federal Circuit did not
adopt that argument, so it should not deter this
Court from reviewing the important legal question
presented here, which drove the Federal Circuit’s
decision. In any event, the government’s argument is
wrong. As VA’s Adjudication Procedures Manual
confirms, an “actually painful joint can be [the] basis
for assignment of a compensable evaluation even
though the specific criteria for a compensable evaluation listed in a [DC] for the joint are not met.” M211 Manual, at V.iii.1.A.1.a, https://perma.cc/39ZYP42T. Section 4.59 provides the predicate condition
for benefits: painful motion. And so long as that condition is satisfied, the veteran is entitled to the “minimum compensable rating for the joint” under the
DC, which is 20% here.
CONCLUSION
The Court should grant the petition.
37
Respectfully submitted,
Kenneth H. Dojaquez
CARPENTER CHARTERED
P.O. Box 2099
Topeka, KS 66601
Geoffrey C. Shaw
ORRICK, HERRINGTON &
SUTCLIFFE LLP
355 S. Grand Ave.
Suite 2700
Los Angeles, CA 90071
November 19, 2025
Melanie L. Bostwick
Counsel of Record
Alexandra Bursak
Kamilyn Y. Choi
ORRICK, HERRINGTON &
SUTCLIFFE LLP
2100 Pennsylvania Ave.
NW
Washington, DC 20037
(202) 339-8400
mbostwick@orrick.com
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.