Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma, Inc., dba Goodwill Career Pathways Institute, Petitioner v. Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company

Supreme Court briefApr 14, 2022

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 21-___

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

————

GOODWILL INDUSTRIES OF CENTRAL OKLAHOMA, INC.

D/B/A GOODWILL CAREER PATHWAYS INSTITUTE,

Petitioner,

v.

PHILADELPHIA INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

————

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit

————

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

————

JIM T. PRIEST

Counsel of Record

316 S. Blackwelder Avenue

Oklahoma City, OK 73108

(405) 278-7111

jpriest@okgoodwill.org

Counsel for Petitioners

April 14, 2022

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. – (202) 789-0096 – WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

There is a centrally compelling reason dealing

with principles of federalism that calls for this Court

to take action in this case. The question is this:

Whether federal courts are violating Erie R. Co. v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938), and principles of federalism in uniformly refusing to seek guidance from

a state’s highest court on state law questions relating

to COVID-related insurance coverage. Tellingly, state

courts have dismissed COVID-19 coverage cases

51.8% of the time while federal courts have dismissed them at the astonishing rate of 92.5%. The

odds of surviving a motion to dismiss are 5 times

greater in state court than in federal court. This is a

statistically significant variation (similar to what is

encountered in employment discrimination cases),

raising a rebuttable presumption of unequal treatment. This disparity is inexplicable, and a return to

Erie compliance is mandated.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, state and local

governments forced business to close their doors in

order to slow the spread of the virus. Many of those

business, including Goodwill Industries of Central

Oklahoma, Inc. (“Goodwill”), filed claims for business

interruption coverage under their commercial lines

insurance policies. These policies typically provide

coverage for “loss of Business Income” when the

insured is required to suspend operations during the

“period of restoration” due to “direct physical loss of or

damage to” covered property. They often also contain

virus exclusions which preclude coverage for loss or

damage “caused by or resulting from any virus . . . that

induces or is capable of inducing physical distress,

illness, or disease.”

(i)

ii

In Goodwill’s case, the Tenth Circuit affirmed the

Western District of Oklahoma’s dismissal of Goodwill’s

claim for declaratory relief, finding that “direct physical loss of or damage to” requires tangible damage

to property. It further affirmed the validity and

application of the Virus Exclusion to the policy. It did

so despite the fact that phrase “direct physical loss or

damage” does not have a settled meaning under

Oklahoma law, and the Oklahoma Supreme Court

stands poised to enter a ruling in pending cases on

accelerated appeal where the meaning of such language is in dispute.

The questions presented here are:

(1) Whether federal courts are violating Erie R.

Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938), as

well as principles of federalism, in uniformly

refusing to seek answers from a state’s

highest court on state law questions relating

to COVID-related insurance coverage;

(2) Whether the phrase “direct physical loss of

or damage to” requires an immediate, perceptible, and tangible destruction or deprivation of property;

(3) Whether the courts below properly applied

Oklahoma’s rules of contract construction

with respect to insurance policies;

(4) Whether the phrase “direct physical loss of or

damage to” is ambiguous; and

(5) Whether the Virus Exclusion precludes

coverage.

iii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

All parties to the proceedings are listed in the

caption. The Petitioner is Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma, Inc. d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways

Institute (“Goodwill”). The Respondent is Philadelphia

Indemnity Insurance Company (“PIIC”).

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, the undersigned counsel states that Petitioner Goodwill is a

not-for-profit corporation duly incorporated under the

laws of Oklahoma. It has no parent company. Goodwill

has no stock; as such, there is no publicly-held

corporation which ten percent or more of Goodwill’s

stock.

LIST OF PROCEEDINGS

Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma, Inc.

d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways Institute v.

Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company,

Court of Cleveland County, State of Oklahoma,

CV-2020-798. Notice of Removal filed June 30,

2020.

Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma, Inc.

d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways Institute v.

Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company,

United States District Court for the Western

District of Oklahoma, CIV-20-511-R. Order

Granting PIIC’s Motion to Dismiss and corresponding Judgment entered November 9, 2020;

Order Denying Motion to Alter or Amend

Judgment entered March 11, 2021.

iv

Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma, Inc.

d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways Institute v.

Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company,

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit, Case No. 21-6045. 10th Circuit Opinion

affirming dismissal issued December 21, 2021;

Order Denying Goodwill’s Petition for Rehearing entered January 14, 2022; Mandate issued

January 24, 2022.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...............................

i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ..................

iii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT .....

iii

LIST OF PROCEEDINGS...................................

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................................

viii

OPINIONS BELOW ............................................

1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ....................

1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..........

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............................

2

A.

Factual Background .................................

2

B.

Procedural Background ............................

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..

6

I.

THE COURT SHOULD ENSURE FEDERAL COURTS ARE COMPLYING

WITH THE ERIE DOCTRINE.................

6

WHERE POSSIBLE, CIRCUIT COURTS

SHOULD ABATE RULING ON AN

ISSUE PENDING A DECISION IN

THE STATE’S HIGHEST COURT OR

SHOULD CERTIFY THE ISSUE ............

9

III. THE LOWER COURTS FAILED TO

PROPERLY INTERPRET OKLAHOMA

LAW ...........................................................

14

A. The Term “Direct Physical Loss”. .......

14

II.

(v)

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

B. Goodwill Sufficiently Pled a Claim

for Declaratory Relief and Coverage

Under Its All-Risk Policy with PIIC ...

16

1. Goodwill Suffered a Covered Loss .

16

2. Policy Provisions Relating To “Direct

Physical Loss” Are Ambiguous

And Must Be Construed In

Goodwill’s Favor .............................

25

3. The Lower Courts Failed to Consider the Reasonable Expectations

of Goodwill ......................................

28

4. Goodwill’s Loss Was Fortuitous ....

30

C. Goodwill Sufficiently Pled the Inapplicability of the Virus Endorsement..

31

CONCLUSION ....................................................

34

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A – ORDER OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

TENTH CIRCUIT, Filed January 14, 2022 ..

1a

APPENDIX B – OPINION

OF

THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT, Filed

December 21, 2021 .........................................

2a

APPENDIX C – ORDER OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA,

Filed March 11, 2021 .....................................

18a

vii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

APPENDIX D – ORDER OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA,

Filed November 9, 2020 .................................

32a

APPENDIX E — JUDGMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF

OKLAHOMA, Filed November 9, 2020 ...........

43a

APPENDIX F — 28 U.S.C.A § 1446 .............

44a

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page(s)

Adair State Bank v. Am. Cas. Co. of

Reading, Pa., 949 F.2d 1067 (10th Cir.

1991), overruled on other grounds by

Stauth v. Nat’l Union Fire Ins. Co. of

Pittsburgh, 236 F.3d 1260 (10th Cir.

2001) .......................................................... 16-17

Am. Econ. Ins. Co. v. Bogdahn,

89 P.3d 1051 (Okla. 2004) ........................

30

Am. Guar. & Liab. Ins. Co. v. Ingram

Micro, Inc., No. 99-185 TUC ACM, 2000

WL 726789 (D. Ariz. Apr. 18, 2000) .........

21

Arizonans for Official English v. Arizona,

520 U.S. 43 (1997) .....................................

10

Aston v. Cunningham,

216 F.3d 1086, 2000 WL 796086

(10th Cir. June 21, 2000) .......................... 31, 33

Branch v Farmers Ins. Co.,

No. 00-6385, 2001 WL 1028385

(10th Cir. 2001), certified question

answered, 55 P.3d 1023 (Okla. 2002) .......

13

Castaneda v. Partida

430 U.S. 482 (1977) ...................................

9

Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma v.

Lexington Ins. Co.,

Okla. Sup. Ct. Docket 119413 .................. 9-10

Cherokee Nation v. Lexington Ins. Co.,

Okla. Sup. Ct. Docket 119359 ..................

10

Delaney v. Cade,

986 F.2d 387 (10th Cir.1993) .................... 11, 12

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Dodson v. St. Paul Ins. Co.,

812 P.2d 372 (Okla. 1991) ........................

26

Edens v. The Netherlands Ins. Co.,

834 F.3d 1116 (10th Cir. 2016) .................

30

Elegant Massage, LLC v. State Farm

Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,

No. 2:20-CV-265, 2020 WL

7249624 (E.D. Va. Dec. 9, 2020) ...............

33

Erie R.R. Co. v. Tompkins,

304 U.S. 64 (1938) .....................................

6, 8

Erik Scott Media, LLC v. Owners

Ins. Co., No. 2:16-CV-35, 2018 WL

4146608 (D. Utah. Aug. 20, 2018) ............ 26, 27

First United Methodist Church

of Stillwater, Inc. v.

Philadelphia Indem. Ins. Co.,

423 P.3d 29 (Okla. Civ. App. 2016) ..........

25

Goodwill Industries of Central

Oklahoma v. Philadelphia

Indemnity Insurance Co.,

31 F.4th 704 (10th Cir. 2021) ..................passim

Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma

v. Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Co.,

499 F.Supp.3d 1098 (W.D. Okla. 2020) ....

1

Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma,

Inc. d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways

Institute v. Philadelphia Indemnity

Insurance Co,

Case No. 21-6045 ...................................... 1, 34

x

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Hazelwood School District

v. United States,

433 U.S. 299 (1977) ...................................

9

Henderson Road Rest. Sys., Inc. v. Zurich

Am. Ins. Co., No. 1:20-CV-1239, 2021 WL

168422 (N.D. Ohio Jan. 19, 2021) ............ 22, 33

Houston v. Nat’l Gen. Ins. Co.,

817 F.2d 83 (10th Cir. 1987) .....................

17

Houston Gen. Ins. Co. v. Am. Fence Co., Inc.,

115 F.3d 805 (10th Cir. 1997) ................... 14, 15

IDG, Inc. v. Cont’l Cas. Co.,

275 F.3d 916 (10th Cir. 2001) ...................

14

In re: Society Ins. Co. COVID-19 Bus.

Interruption Prot. Ins. Litig.,

MDL No. 2964, 2021 WL 679109

(N.D. Ill. Feb. 22, 2021) ............................

20

Lehman Bros. v. Schein,

416 U.S. 386, 391, 94 S. Ct. 1741,

40 L.Ed.2d 215 (1974) ......................... 10, 11, 12

Max True Plastering Co. v. U.S. Fid. &

Guar. Co., 912 P.2d 861 (Okla. 1996). 15, 29, 30

Morgan v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co.,

819 F. App’x 614 (10th Cir 2020),

certified question answered No. 118881,

2021 WL 2099602 (Okla. May 25, 2021) ..

13

Nat’l Indem. Co. v. U.S.

Pollution Control, Inc.,

717 F. Supp. 765 (W.D. Okla. 1989) .........

17

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Nautilus Grp., Inc. v.

Allianz Global Risks US,

No. C11-5281BHS, 2012 WL 760940

(W.D. Wash. Mar. 8, 2012) .......................

22

Neuro-Commc’n Servs., Inc.

v. Cincinnati Ins. Co.,

No. 4:20-cv-1275, 2021, WL

274318 (N.D. Ohio, Jan. 19, 2021),

certified question accepted,

162 Ohio St. 3d 1427 (2021) .....................

12

North State Deli, LLC v.

Cincinnati Ins. Co.,

20-CVS-02569, 2020 WL 6281507

(N.C. Super. Ct. Oct. 9, 2020) ....... 18, 20, 27, 28

Oklahoma Sch. Risk Mgmt. Tr. v.

McAlester Pub. Sch.,

457 P.3d 997 (Okla. 2019),

reh’g denied (Apr. 29, 2019) ......................

14

One Place Condo., LLC v. Travelers

Prop. Cas. Co. of Am.,

No. 11 C 2520, 2015 WL 2226202

(N.D. Ill. Apr. 22, 2015) ............................

21

Order from Cajun Conti LLC v. Certain

Underwriters at Lloyd’s, London,

No. 2020-02558 (La. Dist. Ct.

Nov. 4, 2020) .............................................

20

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Order from Cherokee Nation v.

Lexington Ins. Co.,

CV-20-150, Cherokee Cnty.

Dist. Ct. Okla. (Jan. 29, 2021) .................passim

Order from Choctaw Nation of

Oklahoma v. Lexington Ins. Co.,

CV-20-42, Bryan Cnty. Dist. Ct.

Okla. (Feb. 15, 2021) ....................... 17-18, 28, 33

Order from MacMiles, LLC d/b/a

Grant Street Tavern v. Erie Ins. Exch.,

No. GD-20-7753, Court of Common

Pleas of Allegheny County, Pa.

(May 25, 2021)...........................................

23

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. McCormick,

211 F.2d 361 (10th Cir. 1954) ...................

21

Pino v. United States,

507 F.3d 1233 (10th Cir. 2007) ................. 11, 12

Pitco Prod. Co. v. Chaparral Energy, Inc.,

63 P.3d 541 (Okla. 2003) ..........................

26

Poland v. Martin,

761 F.2d 546 (9th Cir. 1985) .....................

17

Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins.

Co. v. Lillard-Roberts,

No. CV-01-1362-ST, 2002

WL 31495830 (D. Or. Jun. 18, 2002)........

21

Sandy Point Dental, PC v. Cincinnati Ins.

Co., 488 F. Supp. 3d 690 (N.D. Ill. 2020),

reconsideration denied, No. 20 CV 2160,

2021 WL 83758 (N.D. Ill. Jan. 10, 2021)..

23

xiii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Shaw v. Grumbine,

278 P. 311 (Okla. 1929) ............................

17

Source Food Tech., Inc. v.

U.S. Fid. Guar. Co.,

465 F.3d 834 (8th Cir. 2006) .....................

24

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. v. Fisher,

609 F.3d 1051 (10th Cir. 2010) .................

13

Stewart v. Adolph Coors Co.,

217 F.3d 1285 (10th Cir. 2000) .................

15

Studio 417, Inc. v. Cincinnati Ins. Co.,

No. 20-CV-03127-SRB, 2020 WL

4692385 (W.D. Mo. Aug. 12, 2020) ...........

23

Texas E. Transmission Corp. v. Marine

Office-Appleton & Cox Corp.,

579 F.2d 561 (10th Cir. 1978) ................... 14, 31

Turek Enters., Inc. v. State

Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,

484 F. Supp. 3d 492 (E.D. Mich. 2020) .... 24, 25

U.S. Fid. & Guar. Co. v. Guenther,

281 U.S. 34 (1930) .....................................

26

United Air Lines, Inc. v.

Ins. Co. of State of PA,

439 F.3d 128 (2d Cir. 2006) ......................

28

VBF, Inc. v. Chubb Grp.

of Ins. Companies,

263 F.3d 1226 (10th Cir. 2001) .................

15

xiv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

STATUTES

Page(s)

28 U.S.C. § 1254 ...........................................

1

28 U.S.C. § 1446 ...........................................

2

15 O.S. § 151, et seq, .....................................

14

Okla. Admin. Code 365:15-1-3 .....................

32

Okla. Stat. tit. 20, § 1602 .............................

11

RULES

10th Cir. R. 27.1 ...........................................

13

Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e) ......................................

5

Sup. Ct. R. 10(b) ...........................................

1

Sup. Ct. R. 13 ................................................

1

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

4 Appleman Insurance Law and Practice,

§ 2329 ........................................................

28

17A C. Wright, A. Miller et al., Federal

Practice & Procedure, § 4248 (1988) ........

11

Carl Salisbury, Federal Covid-19 Insurance

Decisions Ignore State Law (April 6,

2021, 4:12 PM EDT), https://www.law

360.com/articles/1372499/federal-covid19-insurance-decisions-ignore-state-law ....

6, 7

Direct, Merriam-Webster (Online ed. 2020)

18

Fortuitous, Merriam-Webster (Online ed.

2020), https://www.merriamwebster.com

/dictionary/fortuitous ................................

31

xv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

INTENTIONAL JOB DISCRIMINATION

IN METROPOLITAN AMERICA (Alfred

W. Blumrosen & Ruth G. Blumrosen,

1999), http://www.eeo1.com/1999_NR/Ch

apter06.pdf#:~:text ...................................

9

John Koch, COVID Insurance Cases

Highlight Federal-State Court Tension,

Law360 (Nov. 24, 2021, 12:39 PM EST),

https://www.law360.com/articles/144118

5/covid-insurance-cases-highlight-feder

al-state-court-tension................................

7, 8

Law and Practice of Insurance Coverage

Litigation (West Group & ABA 2000) ......

17

Loss, Merriam-Webster (Online ed. 2020)...

19

Loss, Random House Unabridged Dictionary

(Online ed. 2020) .......................................

19

N.Y. Jur. Insurance, § 539 (2005) ................

28

Okla. Executive Order 2020-07 (March 15,

2020) ..........................................................

4

Physical, Black’s Law Dictionary (11th ed.

2019) ..........................................................

19

Physical, Merriam-Webster (Online ed.

2020) ..........................................................

18

Physical, Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (2020) ............................

19

To, Merriam-Webster, https://www/merr

iam-webster.com/dictionary/to (last visited

Aug. 31, 2020) ...........................................

24

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Goodwill respectfully asks the Court to

issue a writ of certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in Goodwill Industries

of Central Oklahoma, Inc. d/b/a Goodwill Career

Pathways Institute v. Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company, Case No. 21-6045.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Tenth Circuit’s Order denying Goodwill’s Petition for Hearing is reprinted in the Appendix at App.

1a. The Tenth Circuit’s Opinion affirming the district court’s dismissal of Goodwill’s lawsuit is published at 31 F.4th 704 and reprinted at App. 2a. The

district court’s Order denying Goodwill’s Motion to

Alter or Amend Judgment is reprinted at App. 18a.

The district court’s Order granting PIIC’s Motion to

Dismiss is published at 499 F.Supp.3d 1098 (W.D.

Okla. 2020) and reprinted at App. 32a. The district

court’s corresponding Judgment dismissing Goodwill’s

lawsuit is reprinted at App. 43a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Tenth Circuit denied Goodwill’s Petition for

Rehearing on January 14, 2022. App. 1a. This Court

has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254, having timely

filed this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari within ninety

(90) days pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 13.

Rule10(b) of the Supreme Court Rules provides for

review when a circuit court rules contrary to a state

court of last resort. Although the Oklahoma Supreme

Court has not yet ruled on the issue of the meaning

of the pertinent insurance phrase “direct physical

loss or damage,” the circuit court’s decision departed

from the “accepted and usual course of judicial pro-

2

ceedings” by ignoring extant law in Oklahoma district

court decisions and failed to await the imminent

decision of the Oklahoma Supreme Court or stay

proceedings pending that decision.

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

This case involves the removal statute, 28 U.S.C.

§ 1446, which is reproduced at App. 44a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background.

This case involves two important issues: (1) whether

federal courts should defer ruling on a case involving

state law when the state’s highest court is poised to

do so; and (2) an insured’s right to expect protection

from its insurance company when the government

forces it to close its doors in light of a worldwide

pandemic.

Goodwill is an Oklahoma not-for-profit corporation

which serves vulnerable populations of the State. In

2019, Goodwill renewed its all-risk policy with PIIC

for a term from May 1, 2019 to May 1, 2020. Therein

PIIC agreed to provide “Business Income” coverage

as follows:

We will pay for the actual loss of Business

Income you sustain due to the necessary

“suspension” of your operations during the

“period of restoration.” The suspension must

be caused by direct physical loss of or damage to property at the premises which are

described in the Declarations and for which a

Business Income Limit of Insurance is shown

in the Declarations. The loss or damage must

3

be caused by or result from a Covered Cause

of Loss.

“Covered Causes of loss” are defined as “risks of direct

physical loss” to covered property unless otherwise

excluded or limited under the policy. The Policy

defines “Suspension” and “Operations” as follows:

“Suspension” means:

a. The slowdown or cessation of your business activities; or

b. That a part of all of the described premises is rendered untenable, if coverage for

Business Income Including “Rental Value”

or “Rental Value” applies.

*

*

*

“Operations” means:

a. Your business activities occurring at the

described premises; and

b. The tenantability of the described premises, if coverage for Business Income

Including “Rental Value” or “Rental

Value” applies.

At some point, without notice or value given, PIIC

added a Virus Endorsement to the Policy, which

purports to exclude coverage for any “loss or damage

caused by or resulting from any virus, bacterium,

or other microorganism that induces or is capable

of inducing physical distress, illness or disease.”

Goodwill’s Petition disputes the applicability and

enforceability of this Endorsement.

In early 2020, the COVID-19 virus began infecting

citizens throughout the country, often with deadly

consequences. The pandemic quickly drew responses

4

from various civil authorities, including state-ordered

closures, stay-at-home/safer-at-home orders, mandatory

restrictions on gatherings, and required social distancing. On March 15, 2020, Oklahoma’s Governor

issued Executive Order 2020-07 and declared an emergency caused by the impending threat of COVID-19

to the people of Oklahoma and the public’s peace,

health and safety. Effective March 25, 2020, all businesses not identified as being within a critical infrastructure were ordered to close to the public. Goodwill

was not identified as being within a critical infrastructure sector. Mayors of the cities followed suit,

including Oklahoma City, Norman, Moore, Ardmore,

Guthrie, Stillwater, and Midwest Cities. Goodwill

has operations in each of these locales. Pursuant to

these orders, Goodwill temporarily closed its doors

and made a claim for business interruption coverage

with PIIC.

B. Procedural Background.

On May 6, 2020, Goodwill filed a claim for declaratory judgment in the District Court of Cleveland

County, State of Oklahoma, seeking a declaration that

it was entitled to business income coverage under the

Policy. On June 3, 2020, Goodwill filed its Notice of

Removal in the United States District Court for the

Western District of Oklahoma. On June 8, 2020, PIIC

filed its Motion to Dismiss, arguing Goodwill failed to

plead any facts showing it suffered a “direct physical

loss of or damage to” its premises because it suffered

no tangible, physical alteration to its property. PIIC

also argued the Virus Endorsement bars Goodwill’s

claim for declaratory judgment. Goodwill disagreed,

arguing that “direct physical loss of or damage to” its

premises does not require tangible loss, that the

policy language is ambiguous and must be construed

5

in its favor under Oklahoma law, and that it sufficiently pled lack of consideration and consent for the

Virus Endorsement, as well as its inapplicability to

Goodwill’s claim for business income coverage.

On November 9, 2020, the court granted PIIC’s

Motion to Dismiss, finding Goodwill failed to allege a

“direct physical loss” caused by the pandemic—a term

the court found unambiguous and requiring physical

alteration of or tangible damage to the property. App.

32a. The district court further held that even if it

applied Goodwill’s interpretation of “direct physical

loss” to include intangible loss, its claim is still subject

to dismissal because the Virus Endorsement precludes

coverage, and Goodwill failed to sufficiently state any

facts showing why the Virus Endorsement would not

apply. Id. The district court entered its Judgment in

PIIC’s favor on November 9, 2020. App. 43a.

On December 7, 2020, Goodwill filed its Motion to

Alter or Amend Judgment pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P.

59(e). The district court denied Plaintiff’s Motion,

restating its holding that no ambiguity exists in the

Policy and that any amendment was untimely and

futile. App. 18a. Goodwill appealed to the Tenth

Circuit asking the Circuit the district court to either

abate the case pending an imminent decision by the

Oklahoma Supreme Court which involved an interpretation of the insurance policy phrase “direct physical loss or damage,” or to certify questions to the

Oklahoma Supreme Court on this issue. The Tenth

Circuit declined to either abate or certify and affirmed

district court’s dismissal without even addressing the

only extant Oklahoma state court law on the issue

which favored Goodwill’s position. App. 2a. En Banc

review was requested but denied. App. 1a.

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE COURT SHOULD ENSURE FEDERAL COURTS ARE COMPLYING WITH

THE ERIE DOCTRINE.

From Erie R.R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938)

on, this Court has sought to promote uniform application of state law in state and federal courts. The

central and critical reason to grant this Petition is to

uphold this Court’s ruling in Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins,

304 U.S. 64 (1938). This court should exercise its

“supervisory power” to ensure federal courts are

properly complying with this Court’s decision in Erie.

The Tenth Circuit, as well as other federal courts,

have ignored Erie and dismissed cases without regard

to extant or imminent state court rulings. As was

explained by Carl Salisbury in an article entitled

Federal Covid-19 Insurance Decisions Ignore State

Law (April 6, 2021, 4:12 PM EDT):

Hundreds of lawsuits are pending in state

and federal courts nationwide in which policyholders seek business interruption insurance coverage as a result of COVID-19 lockdowns. Decisions on motions to dismiss and

for summary judgment are coming out of

those courts nearly every day, changing the

landscape. Nonetheless, a clear pattern has

emerged, and it shows that federal courts are

dismissing the cases at a far higher rate than

state courts. The pattern strongly suggests

that federal courts are ignoring state law.

As every law student knows, when a federal

court’s jurisdiction is based upon diversity

of citizenship, the Erie doctrine — from the

U.S. Supreme Court’s 1938 decision in Erie

7

R.R. Co. v. Tompkins — requires the court

to apply the substantive law of the state in

which the court sits. Insurance coverage is

uniquely a creature of state law. One would

expect, then, that state and federal court

decisions on substantive coverage issues

would be fairly consistent on motions to

dismiss COVID-19 business interruption

cases. But they are far from it.

The University of Pennsylvania maintains a

handy tracking site for COVID-19-related

coverage cases, broken down between state

and federal courts and sorted by the outcomes

of motions to dismiss or for summary

judgment.

The site reveals that state courts have

dismissed COVID-19 coverage cases 51.8% of

the time. Federal courts, however, have

dismissed them at the remarkable rate of

92.5%. It is not clear, at first, what accounts

for this discrepancy. A closer look suggests

that federal courts are not applying state law

faithfully, as the Erie doctrine requires.

John Koch, COVID Insurance Cases Highlight FederalState Court Tension, Law360 (Nov. 24, 2021, 12:39 PM

EST), https://www.law360.com/articles/1372499/federalcovid-19-insurance-decisions-ignore-state-law. And in

another publication, the following dire warning was

sounded:

For whatever reason, many federal courts

nationwide seem to be quick to predict state

law before state high courts have the chance

to weigh in, leaving both policyholders and

insurance companies uncertain as to whether

8

subsequent, binding state high court decisions will be in accord. This situation created

by the pandemic is unique and has the

potential to bring undesirable results.

The most undesirable potential result is

painfully obvious. If, for example, the federal district and appellate courts mostly rule

against policyholders on the physical loss or

physical damage issue, but even a few state

high courts ultimately disagree, we will witness probably the most egregious and widespread case of conflicting outcomes in our

nation’s history.

John Koch, COVID Insurance Cases Highlight FederalState Court Tension, Law360 (Nov. 24, 2021, 12:39 PM

EST), https://www.law360.com/articles/1441185/covidinsurance-cases-highlight-federal-state-court-tension.

As noted above, the odds of surviving a motion to

dismiss are 5 times greater in state court than in

federal court. This is a statistically significant variation, indicating something is amiss. This has led to

the question: Are federal courts ignoring Erie R. Co. v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) in litigation arising from

the COVID-19 pandemic? That is a question squarely

posed in the instant Petition.

In employment discrimination cases this Court has

recognized the “two standard deviation” rule, providing that where relevant statistics reveal a business

is two standard deviations or more below the average

in an occupation or industry, the law imposes major

consequences in a discrimination case.

. . . [T]he law treats the finding of two

standard deviations so seriously that it

requires employers to make the case that

9

they did not discriminate. As do the courts,

this study gives serious weight to the two

standard deviations principle to identify

apparent intentional discrimination. The two

standard deviation rule creates a presumption of discrimination . . .

INTENTIONAL JOB DISCRIMINATION IN METROPOLITAN AMERICA Chapter 6 – Intentional Discrimination Demonstrated by Statistics, page 49 (see

http://www.eeo1.com/1999_NR/Chapter06.pdf#:~:text).

In footnotes to two opinions, Castaneda v. Partida

430 U.S. 482 (1977) (grand jury discrimination) and

Hazelwood School District v. United States, 433 U.S.

299 (1977) (racial discrimination in employment), this

Court not only performed a few textbook calculations, but also spoke of “two or three standard

deviations” as being necessary to establish statistical

significance. Applying the “two standard deviation

rule” to the differing results in federal and state

court in COVID-related business interruption cases,

something is clearly disquieting—whether it be called

discrimination or not—and this Court must address

the statistical presumption of irregularity.

II. WHERE POSSIBLE, CIRCUIT COURTS

SHOULD ABATE RULING ON AN ISSUE

PENDING A DECISION IN THE STATE’S

HIGHEST COURT OR SHOULD CERTIFY

THE ISSUE.

The Oklahoma Supreme Court has two cases currently pending which involve whether a liability

policy with business interruption insurance provides

coverage for a closure of business due to COVIDrelated government orders: (1) Choctaw Nation of

Oklahoma v. Lexington Ins. Co., Oklahoma Supreme

10

Court Docket 119413; and (2) Cherokee Nation v.

Lexington Ins. Co., Oklahoma Supreme Court Docket

119359. These (now consolidated) cases are already

on the Oklahoma Supreme Court’s docket and raise

insurance policy issues comparable to the ones raised

by Goodwill. The Tenth Circuit should have abated

its ruling on Goodwill’s appeal pending a decision by

the Oklahoma Supreme Court, or certified the question to that court, especially on topic that is inherently a matter of state law. The basic idea of doctrines

such as abstention and certification is to discourage

federal courts from intruding on sensitive and

complicated issues of state law without giving state

courts a chance to review, and perhaps resolve, the

matter first.

This Court has long recognized that certification

“allows a federal court faced with a novel state-law

question to put the question directly to the State’s

highest court, reducing the delay, cutting the cost,

and increasing the assurance of gaining an authoritative response.” Arizonans for Official English v.

Arizona, 520 U.S. 43, 76 (1997). In Lehman Brothers

v. Schein, this Court “for the first time express its

view as to the use of certification procedures by the

federal courts.” 416 U.S. 386, 395 (1974) (Rehnquist,

J., concurring). The Court noted that certification is

not “obligatory,” but found it “particularly appropriate” in that case “in view of the novelty of the question and the great unsettlement of Florida law” and to

“help[] build cooperative judicial federalism.” Id. at

391 (majority). Accordingly, the Court vacated the

decision below and remanded the case so that the

lower court could “reconsider whether the controlling issue of Florida law should be certified.” The

same result should be reached here where the issues

presented in Goodwill’s appeal are distinctively state-

11

law issues, are indisputably novel, and their resolution will have broad implications.

In Pino v. United States, 507 F.3d 1233 (10th Cir.

2007), Judge (now Supreme Court Justice) Gorsuch

opined on the considerations affecting certification,

stating in pertinent part:

The standards governing our independent

analysis stem from both state and federal

law. Under Oklahoma law, the Oklahoma

Supreme Court has the power to answer a

question certified to it by any federal court

“if the answer may be determinative of an

issue in pending litigation in the certifying

court and there is no controlling decision of

the Supreme Court or Court of Criminal

Appeals, constitutional provision, or statute

of this state.” Okla. Stat. tit. 20, § 1602.

*

*

*

While we apply judgment and restraint before

certifying, however, we will nonetheless

employ the device in circumstances where

the question before us (1) may be determinative of the case at hand and (2) is sufficiently

novel that we feel uncomfortable attempting

to decide it without further guidance. Delaney

v. Cade, 986 F.2d 387, 391 (10th Cir.1993); see

Lehman Bros. v. Schein, 416 U.S. 386, 391, 94

S. Ct. 1741, 40 L.Ed.2d 215 (1974) (finding

certification particularly appropriate where

the legal question is novel and the applicable

state law is unsettled); 17A C. Wright, A.

Miller et al., Federal Practice & Procedure,

§ 4248, (1988), supra, § 4248. In making the

assessment whether to certify, we also seek to

12

give meaning and respect to the federal

character of our judicial system, recognizing

that the judicial policy of a state should be

decided when possible by state, not federal,

courts. See Lehman Bros., 416 U.S. at 391, 94

S. Ct. 1741 (noting federal certification of

state law questions “helps build a cooperative

judicial federalism”); Delaney, 986 F.2d at 391

(certifying because of “our judicial policy that

matters of state law should first be decided by

state courts”).

Id. at 1236-37 (internal footnote omitted).

On January 19, 2021, a federal court in the Northern District of Ohio certified questions similar to

those posed raised by Goodwill to its state Supreme

Court in Neuro-Commc’n Servs., Inc. v. Cincinnati Ins.

Co., No. 4:20-cv-1275, 2021 WL 274318 (N.D. Ohio,

Jan. 19, 2021), certified question accepted, 162 Ohio St.

3d 1427 (2021), stating:

Dozens, if not hundreds, of cases seeking

coverage for losses related to the pandemic

under policies similar or identical to that

at issue in this case have been filed in

both federal and state courts in Ohio. As these

cases wind through the various court

systems, differing interpretations of Ohio

contract law by different courts threaten to

undermine the uniform application of that

law to similarly situated litigants. The certification procedure invoked here will allow the

Supreme Court of Ohio to decide these questions and bring uniformity to the application

of state law to these policies.

Id. at *1.

13

In Branch v. Farmers Ins. Co., No. 00-6385, 2001 WL

1028385 (10th Cir. 2001), certified question answered,

55 P.3d 1023 (Okla. 2002), the Tenth Circuit emphasized the importance of allowing the state’s highest

court to determine issues of state laws:

. . . (w)e certify the above questions to the

Oklahoma Supreme Court on our motion

pursuant to 10th Cir. R. 27.1 because there

is a burgeoning number of similar cases

and the core question-the requirements of

Oklahoma insurance law in construing these

insurance contracts-is a matter of state law

likely to be finally resolved by the state’s

highest common law court. Because we do not

find the current Oklahoma case law dispositive and because the answers may be determinative of important issues in this and

other cases, we certify these questions for

instructions based on the facts as developed

in the cases discussed above.

Id. at *3; see also Morgan v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins.

Co., 819 F. App’x 614, 617 (10th Cir 2020), certified

question answered No. 118881, 2021 WL 2099602

(Okla. May 25, 2021) (certifying novel issues of

Oklahoma law regarding insurance contracts to the

Oklahoma Supreme Court, recognizing “the importance

of allowing [state courts] to decide questions of state

law and policy, and thus define state law”) (quoting

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. v. Fisher, 609 F.3d 1051,

1058-59 (10th Cir. 2010)). Put simply, state high

courts, rather than federal courts, should be given the

opportunity to determine unsettled matters of state

law. The lower courts should have abated its ruling

pending a ruling by the Oklahoma Supreme Court on

14

similarly situated cases, or it should have certified this

issue as Goodwill requested.

III. THE LOWER COURTS FAILED TO

PROPERLY INTERPRET OKLAHOMA

LAW.

An all-risk policy is “a special type of insurance

extending to risks not usually contemplated.” Texas E.

Transmission Corp. v. Marine Office-Appleton & Cox

Corp., 579 F.2d 561, 564 (10th Cir. 1978). In order to

establish coverage under an all-risk policy, Oklahoma

law only required Goodwill to show: (1) it suffered a

covered loss; and (2) the loss was fortuitous. Oklahoma

Sch. Risk Mgmt. Tr. v. McAlester Pub. Sch., 457 P.3d

997, 1002 (Okla. 2019), reh’g denied (Apr. 29, 2019)

(“[a]n ‘all-risk’ policy [covers] a loss when caused by

any fortuitous peril not specifically excluded by the

policy.”). The lower courts misapplied Oklahoma’s

rules of contract construction with respect to insurance policies and improperly dismissed Goodwill’s

claim for declaratory judgment.

A. The Term “Direct Physical Loss”.

“The interpretation of an insurance contract is

governed by state law and, sitting in diversity, we

look to the law of the forum state diversity action,

interpretation of the insurance policy is controlled

by Oklahoma law.” Houston Gen. Ins. Co. v. Am. Fence

Co., Inc., 115 F.3d 805, 806 (10th Cir. 1997). Under

Oklahoma law, an insurance policy is a contract

subject to general contract interpretation principles

of ordinary contract law. IDG, Inc. v. Cont’l Cas. Co.,

275 F.3d 916, 921 (10th Cir. 2001).1 An unambiguous

1

The ordinary rules of contract interpretation are set forth in

15 O.S. § 151, et seq.

15

insurance policy is interpreted according to the plain

meaning of the language of the policy. VBF, Inc. v.

Chubb Grp. of Ins. Companies, 263 F.3d 1226, 1230

(10th Cir. 2001).

However, where the policy language is ambiguous—

that is, when it is reasonably susceptible to more than

one meaning—special interpretive rules are then

applied in favor of coverage. See Stewart v. Adolph

Coors Co., 217 F.3d 1285, 1290 (10th Cir. 2000) (ambiguity exists when a contract provision is “reasonably

susceptible to more than one meaning, or where there

is uncertainty as to the meaning of a term”) (internal

citations omitted). For example, it is well-established

that when policy language is ambiguous, it will be

construed against the insurer and in favor of the

insured. See, e.g., VBF, Inc., 263 F.3d at 1230-31 (if a

policy is ambiguous it will be construed against the

insurer); Houston Gen. Ins. Co. v. Am. Fence Co., 115

F.3d 805, 806 (10th Cir. 1997) (“We are mindful . . .

that where a genuine ambiguity exists in an insurance

policy, Oklahoma courts will interpret the contract

most favorably to the insured and against the carrier.”).

Oklahoma recognizes the “reasonable expectations”

doctrine with respect to insurance policies. See Max

True Plastering Co. v. U.S. Fid. & Guar. Co., 912 P.2d

861 (Okla. 1996). This doctrine, which is also employed

when policy provisions are found to be ambiguous,

seeks to honor the objectively reasonable expectations

of insureds concerning the terms of the insurance

contract “even though painstaking study of the policy

provisions might have negated those expectations.”

Id. at 862. Ordinary contract principles, therefore, are

simply the starting point for interpretation of an insurance policy. In the face of ambiguity, those principles give way to the application of these special rules.

16

B. Goodwill Sufficiently Pled a Claim for

Declaratory Relief and Coverage Under

Its All-Risk Policy with PIIC.

Goodwill’s all-risk Policy with PIIC provides for

business income coverage during the “suspension” of

operations, defined as a “slowdown or cessation of

business activities” caused by “direct physical loss of

or damage to property at [Goodwill’s] premises.” The

loss or damage must be caused by or result from

“Covered Causes of Loss,” which are defined as “risks

of direct physical loss” to covered property. However,

the lower courts misinterpreted “direct physical loss of

or damage to” property—a term which is not defined

anywhere in the Policy—in dismissing Goodwill’s

lawsuit.

1. Goodwill Suffered a Covered Loss.

The Tenth Circuit found Goodwill is not entitled to

business income coverage because the term “direct

physical loss” is unambiguous and requires “an immediate and perceptible destruction or deprivation of

property” which does not include intangible losses.

App. 9a. It further held that “[t]he requirement that

the loss be physical” is “widely held to exclude alleged

losses that are intangible or incorporeal.” Id. (internal

citation omitted). This is an incorrect reading of the

Policy language and contrary to Oklahoma law.

Because the phrase “direct physical loss” is not

defined in the Policy, the Tenth Circuit turned to

dictionary definitions “to supply the words’ common

meanings.” App. 8a.2 In doing so, the Circuit defined

2

Goodwill certainly does not object to the lower courts’ use of

dictionaries to ascertain the meaning of words, as it is a practice

well-established by Oklahoma courts, see, e.g., Adair State Bank

v. Am. Cas. Co. of Reading, Pa., 949 F.2d 1067 (10th Cir. 1991),

17

“physical” as “of or relating to natural material things

as opposed to things mental, moral spiritual, or

imaginary,” and a “loss” as “failure to keep possession: deprivation” or “destruction, ruin, or perdition.”

Id. (internal citation omitted). The ciecuit held that

“[a]lthough the COVID orders temporarily restricted

Goodwill’s use of its property, Goodwill never lost

physical control of its buildings or merchandise from

its stores.” Id. This is inaccurate. Goodwill did, in a

very real sense, lose “physical control” of its buildings.

It was forced to close its doors, albeit for a temporary

period. There is nothing about the definitions relied

upon which the Tenth Circuit which require any

structural damage or destruction to the buildings in

order to be deprived of a physical space.

Oklahoma courts have unambiguously interpreted

the phrase “direct physical loss” to include intangible

loss and/or property rendered unusable for its

intended purpose due to orders stemming from the

COVID-19 pandemic. See, e.g., Order from Choctaw

Nation of Oklahoma v. Lexington Ins. Co., CV-20-42,

overruled on other grounds by Stauth v. Nat’l Union Fire Ins. Co.

of Pittsburgh, 236 F.3d 1260 (10th Cir. 2001) (addressing the

meaning of the word “collusion,” the court noted the district

court’s reference to a dictionary to ascertain the popular meaning

of the term); Nat’l Indem. Co. v. U.S. Pollution Control, Inc., 717

F. Supp. 765 (W.D. Okla. 1989) (court resorted to dictionary to

ascertain a term’s plain, ordinary and accepted use in common

speech), as well as the consideration of the structure and

grammatical arrangement of the words used. See, e.g., Shaw v.

Grumbine, 278 P. 311, 315 (Okla. 1929); Law and Practice of

Insurance Coverage Litigation § 1.3 at pp. 1-75 (West Group &

ABA 2000). However, “if there is a range of reasonable [dictionary] meanings[,] the court must apply the meaning which

provides the most coverage for the insured.” Houston v. Nat’l Gen.

Ins. Co., 817 F.2d 83, 85 (10th Cir. 1987) (quoting Poland v.

Martin, 761 F.2d 546, 548 (9th Cir. 1985)).

18

Bryan Cnty. Dist. Ct. Okla. (Feb. 15, 2021) (“Choctaw

Nation Order”) (granting summary judgment in favor

of insured on business interruption coverage and

recognizing the reasonableness of the insured’s interpretation of “direct physical loss” to include intangible loss); Order from Cherokee Nation v. Lexington Ins.

Co., CV-20-150, Cherokee Cnty. Dist. Ct. Okla. (Jan.

29, 2021) (“Cherokee Nation Order”) (same). It is these

two orders which are currently on appeal before the

Oklahoma Supreme Court.

A recent decision in North Carolina is also instructive on this issue. In North State Deli, LLC v.

Cincinnati Ins. Co., 20-CVS-02569, 2020 WL 6281507

(N.C. Super. Ct. Oct. 9, 2020), the court granted summary judgment in favor of the insured on the same

issue before this Court.3 The court analyzed whether

the insured was entitled to business income coverage

due to COVID-19 related orders using a similar

analysis of what “direct physical loss” means under

standard Merriam-Webster and Black’s Law definitions. Id. However, the North State Deli court reached

the opposite (and correct) conclusion:

As an initial matter, the Policies do not define

the terms “direct,” “physical loss,” or “physical damage.” The Court must therefore turn

first to the ordinary meaning of those terms.

Merriam-Webster defines “direct” when used

as an adjective, as “characterized by close,

logical, casual, or consequential relationship”

3

Significantly, the policy language at issue in North State Deli

is actually more restrictive than the language here. The North

State Deli policies required “accidental physical loss or accidental

physical damage” “to property,” whereas the instant Policy

requires only “direct physical loss of or damage to property”—a

distinction which cannot be ignored.

19

as “stemming immediately from a source,” or

as “proceeding from one point to another in

time or space without deviation or interruption.” Direct, Merriam-Webster (Online ed.

2020). Merriam-Webster defines “physical” as

relating to “material things” that are “perceptible especially through the sense.” Physical,

Merriam-Webster (Online ed. 2020). The

term is also defined in a way that is tied to

the body: “of or relating to the body.” Id.

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary defines physical as “of or relating to natural or material things as opposed to things

mental, moral, spiritual, or imaginary.”

Physical, Webster’s Third New International

Dictionary (2020). The definition from Black’s

Law Dictionary comports: “Of, relating to,

or involving material things; pertaining to

real, tangible objects.” Physical, Black’s Law

Dictionary (11th ed. 2019). Finally, “loss” is

defined as “the act of losing possession,” “the

harm of privation resulting from loss or separation,” or the “failure to gain, win, obtain,

or utilize.” Loss, Merriam-Webster (Online

ed. 2020). Another dictionary defines the

term as “the state of being deprived of or

being without something that one has had.”

Loss, Random House Unabridged Dictionary

(Online ed. 2020).

Applying these definitions reveals that the

ordinary meaning of the phrase “direct physical loss” includes the inability to utilize or

possess something in the real, material, or

bodily world, resulting from a given cause

without the intervention of other conditions.

Id.

20

Accordingly, the North State Deli Court held that

“‘direct physical loss’ describes the scenario where

business owners and their employees, customers,

vendors, suppliers, and others lose the full range of

rights and advantages of using or accessing their

business property. This is precisely the loss caused

by the Government Orders.” Id. The court further

explained that because the plaintiff’s businesses “were

expressly forbidden by government decree from

accessing and putting their property to use for the

income-generating purposes for which the property

was insured,” such loss is “unambiguously a ‘direct

physical loss,’ and the Policies afford coverage.” Id.; see

also In re: Society Ins. Co. COVID-19 Bus. Interruption

Prot. Ins. Litig., MDL No. 2964, 2021 WL 679109, at

*1 (N.D. Ill. Feb. 22, 2021) (reasonable people could

determine a loss due to the pandemic was a “direct

physical loss” when the plaintiffs were unable to fully

use the physical space of their restaurants); Order

from Cajun Conti LLC v. Certain Underwriters at

Lloyd’s, London, No. 2020-02558 (La. Dist. Ct. Nov. 4,

2020) (insurer’s motion for summary judgment denied

where COVID-19 related orders caused insured

restaurant to “drastically change its operations to

exclude sit-down patrons, which was previously the

heart of its business, because the Orders restricted

their presence in the building”).

Two judges from different Oklahoma counties agree

with the North State Deli court that a “direct physical

loss” occurs when property is no longer rendered

usable for its intended purpose, stating that “the

ordinary meaning of the phrase ‘direct physical loss’

includes the inability to utilize or possess something

in the real, material or bodily world, resulting from

a given cause without the intervention of other

conditions.” See Choctaw Nation Order; Cherokee

21

Nation Order. The federal courts here should have

reached the same conclusion here, or as stated above,

it should have stayed any ruling until the Oklahoma

Supreme Court rules on the issue. 4 Remarkably, the

Tenth Circuit did not even cite to or attempt to

distinguish these state law cases.

The lower courts also failed to give meaning to each

word of the phrase “direct physical loss of or damage

to.” See Phillips Petroleum Co. v. McCormick, 211 F.2d

361, 364 (10th Cir. 1954) (“Every word, phrase or part

of a contract should be given a meaning and significance according to its importance in the context of

the contract.”). There is no point including both “loss

of” and “damage to” in this provision unless they are

intended to mean different things.

In a case in the Northern District of Ohio, the court

granted summary judgment in the insureds’ favor

concerning business interruption coverage triggered

4

Numerous other courts throughout the country have similarly held that “tangible damage” such as structural alteration is

not required to trigger coverage under insurance policies containing “direct physical loss” or “direct physical loss of or damage

to” policy language. See, e.g., One Place Condo., LLC v. Travelers

Prop. Cas. Co. of Am., No. 11 C 2520, 2015 WL 2226202, at *9

(N.D. Ill. Apr. 22, 2015) (“where a general all-risk commercial or

homeowner’s policy insureds against both ‘loss’ and ‘damage’ to

an existing structure, ‘physical’ damage may take the form of loss

of use of otherwise undamaged property, which in turn suffices

as a covered loss”); Prudential Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. v. LillardRoberts, No. CV-01-1362-ST, 2002 WL 31495830, at *9 (D. Or.

Jun. 18, 2002) (“the inability to inhabit a building [is] a ‘direct,

physical loss’ covered by insurance”); Am. Guar. & Liab. Ins. Co.

v. Ingram Micro, Inc., No. 99-185 TUC ACM, 2000 WL 726789, at

*2 (D. Ariz. Apr. 18, 2000) (holding that “physical damage” is “not

restricted to the physical destruction or harm of computer circuitry but includes loss of access, loss of use, and loss of

functionality.”).

22

by closure orders entered as a result of the COVID-19

pandemic. See Henderson Road Rest. Sys., Inc. v.

Zurich Am. Ins. Co., No. 1:20-CV-1239, 2021 WL

168422 (N.D. Ohio Jan. 19, 2021). As here, the insurer

argued “direct physical loss” required the property to

be damaged so that the property exhibit “physical

alteration or structural damage.” Id. at *5. However,

“Zurich’s Policy d[id] not state that ‘direct physical loss

of or damage to property’ required ‘physical alteration

or structural damage to any property at the Insured

Premises.’” Id. The court acknowledged the validity of

the plaintiffs’ argument “that physical loss of the real

property means something different than damage to

the real property . . . .” Id. at *10. “Otherwise, why

would both phrases appear side-by-side separated by

the disjunctive conjunction ‘or’? Plaintiffs argue that

they lost their real property when the state governments ordered that the properties could no longer be

used for their intended purpose—as dine-in restaurants. The Policy’s language is susceptible to this

interpretation.” Id (emphasis in original); see also

Nautilus Grp., Inc. v. Allianz Global Risks US, No.

C11-5281BHS, 2012 WL 760940, at *7 (W.D. Wash.

Mar. 8, 2012) (stating that “if ‘physical loss’ was

interpreted to mean ‘damage,’ then one or the other

would be superfluous.”).

A state court in Pennsylvania recently granted the

insured’s motion for summary judgment on its claim

for declaratory relief, analyzing this same language as

follows:

However, as noted above, in the context of

this insurance contract, the concepts of “loss”

and “damage” are separated by the disjunctive “or,” and, therefore, the terms must mean

something different from each other. Accord-

23

ingly, in this instance, the most reasonable

definition of “loss” is one that focuses on the

act of losing possession and/or deprivation of

property instead of one that encompasses

various forms of damage to property, i.e.,

destruction and ruin. Applying this definition gives the term “loss” meaning that is

different from the term “damage.” Specifically, whereas the meaning of the term

“damage” encompasses all forms of harm to

Plaintiff’s property (complete or partial), this

Court concluded that the meaning of the

term “loss” reasonably encompasses the act

of losing possession [and/or] deprivation,

which includes the loss of use of property

absent any harm to property.

Order from MacMiles, LLC d/b/a Grant Street Tavern

v. Erie Ins. Exch., No. GD-20-7753, Court of Common

Pleas of Allegheny County, Pa. (May 25, 2021)

(emphasis added).

Moreover, other courts deciding similar cases have

opined on the importance of the “physical loss of or

damage to” policy language present here, as opposed

to other more limiting language. For example, in

Sandy Point Dental, PC v. Cincinnati Ins. Co., 488 F.

Supp. 3d 690 (N.D. Ill. 2020), reconsideration denied,

No. 20 CV 2160, 2021 WL 83758 (N.D. Ill. Jan. 10,

2021), the court found a policy that covered only

“direct physical ‘loss’ to property” required tangible

damage, distinguishing the restrictive policy language

from that at issue in Studio 417, where the court

“rested its decision on that policy’s expansive language, language very different from the policy in the

instant case.” Id. at 694, n.2

24

Likewise, in Turek Enters., Inc. v. State Farm Mut.

Auto. Ins. Co., 484 F. Supp. 3d 492 (E.D. Mich. 2020)—

a case relied upon heavily by the district court in its

Order [see App. 38a, 41a]—the court rejected the

plaintiff’s claim for business income coverage due to

its closure in response to executive orders in Michigan,

construing the policy to require “tangible damage” to

trigger coverage. Id. at 500. However, the relevant

policy language in Turek provided coverage only for

“accidental direct physical loss to Covered Property.”

Id. at 499-01. As the Turek court explained, “[t]he term

here is ‘direct physical loss,’ not ‘direct physical loss or

damage.’ Consequently, reading ‘direct physical loss’

to require tangible damage does not risk redundantly

interpreting ‘loss’ and ‘damage.’” Id. at 500 (italics in

original; bold added). The Turek court further stated:

Plaintiff suggests that “physical loss to Covered Property” includes the inability to use

Covered Property. This interpretation seems

consistent with one definition of “loss” but

ultimately renders the word “to” meaningless.

“To” is used here as a preposition indicating

contact between two nouns, “direct physical

loss” and “Covered Property.” To, MerriamWebster, https://www/merriam-webster.com/

dictionary/to (last visited Aug. 31, 2020).

Accordingly, the plain meaning of “direct

physical loss to Covered Property” requires

that there by a loss to Covered Property; and

not just any loss, a direct physical loss.

Plaintiff’s interpretation would be plausible

if, instead, the term at issue were “accidental

direct physical loss of Covered Property.” See

Source Food Tech., Inc. v. U.S. Fid. Guar. Co.,

465 F.3d 834, 838 (8th Cir. 2006) (“[T]he

policy’s use of the word ‘to’ in the policy lan-

25

guage ‘direct physical loss to property’ is

significant. [The claimant’s] argument might

be stronger if the policy’s language included

the word ‘of’ rather than ‘to,’ as in ‘direct

physical loss of property’ or even ‘direct loss

of property.’”) (emphasis original).

Id. at 500-01 (internal footnotes omitted) (emphasis in

original)). This more expansive policy language is

present here. Again, the Policy reads “direct physical

loss of or damage to,” and therefore demands the

opposite result reached by the district court.

Based on the foregoing, a plain reading of the

Policy’s language unambiguously demonstrates

Goodwill suffered a “direct physical loss of or damage

to property” due to the restrictions imposed on it by

the state and local orders. Goodwill sufficiently stated

a claim for declaratory relief.

2. Policy Provisions Relating To “Direct

Physical Loss” Are Ambiguous And

Must Be Construed In Goodwill’s

Favor.

“[I]f an insurer desires to limit its liability under a

policy, it must employ language that clearly and

distinctly reveals its stated purpose.” First United

Methodist Church of Stillwater, Inc. v. Philadelphia

Indem. Ins. Co., 423 P.3d 29, 40 (Okla. Civ. App. 2016)

(emphasis added). This entire lawsuit could have

been avoided had PIIC included a definition for the

term “direct physical loss of or damage to” within the

Policy, defining it to include only “physical alteration

to property.” It did not. The Policy leaves the words

undefined and left to their plain and ordinary meaning which, as stated above, includes intangible rights

such as the ability to possess something and use it for

26

its intended purpose. While such a reading supports

Goodwill’s interpretation of the Policy, at the very

least the Policy is susceptible of two different meanings, requiring application of Oklahoma contract law

governing ambiguity.

Language of a contract is considered ambiguous

when it is “fairly susceptible to two different constructions, so that reasonably intelligent men, on

reading the contract would honestly differ as to its

meaning.” Pitco Prod. Co. v. Chaparral Energy, Inc.,

63 P.3d 541, 545-46 (Okla. 2003) (citing U.S. Fid. &

Guar. Co. v. Guenther, 281 U.S. 34, 37 (1930)). When

a term in an insurance policy is reasonably susceptible

to more than one meaning, Oklahoma courts construe

the term in favor of the insured and against the

insurer. Dodson v. St. Paul Ins. Co., 812 P.2d 372, 37677 (Okla. 1991). In other words, in order to defeat

coverage, PIIC must show that its interpretation of

the language in question is the only reasonable one.

For the reasons set forth above, PIIC cannot make

this showing.

The holding in Erik Scott Media, LLC v. Owners

Ins. Co., No. 2:16-CV-35, 2018 WL 4146608 (D. Utah.

Aug. 20, 2018) is instructive regarding the presence

of ambiguity in the phrase “direct physical loss of or

damage to.” In Erik Scott Media, the insured sought

coverage under its commercial property coverage provision of its policy for the loss of unretrieved products

which were mis-shipped to its customers. The policy

provided the insurer would pay for “direct physical

loss of or damage to covered property at the premises

described in the declarations caused by or resulting

from any covered cause of [l]oss.” Id. at *2. The insurer

denied coverage under the provision, contending there

was “no direct physical loss of the property” because

27

“the term ‘loss’ requires the physical destruction of the

property.” Id. at *3. The court disagreed, stating:

The term “direct physical loss is not defined

in the Policy. Nor is it stated that “direct

physical loss” requires destruction of or any

physical impact altering the property itself.

“Direct physical loss” of the property is not

clear or unmistakable. A plain reading of the

term as used in the CPC provision could

include the loss of physical possession or

control of property that was not physically

destroyed or altered in any way. The term

“loss” is susceptible to different interpretations and under Utah law must therefore be

construed in favor of coverage. The Court

finds that [the insured] suffered a direct

physical loss of the products it sent to the

wrong customers or in the wrong amounts.

Id.

The court in North State Deli reached a similar

conclusion regarding the phrase “direct physical loss,”

explaining:

The parties sharply dispute the meaning of

the phrase “direct physical loss.” Cincinnati

argues that “the policies do not provide

coverage for pure economic harm in the

absence of direct physical loss to property,

which requires some form of physical alteration to property. Even if Cincinnati’s proffered ordinary meaning is reasonable, the

ordinary meaning set forth above [that “direct

physical loss” includes losing the full range of

right and advantages of using or accessing

the business property] is also reasonable,

28

rendering the Policies at least ambiguous.

Accordingly, in giving the ambiguous terms

the reasonable definition which favors coverage, the phrase “direct physical loss” includes

the loss of use or access to covered property

even where that property has not been

structurally altered.

2020 WL 6281507, at *3.

Further, the mere fact that courts have come down

on either side of this issue only highlights the term’s

ambiguity, which must be resolved in Goodwill’s favor.

This includes courts in Oklahoma which have granted

summary judgment in favor of the insured on this

issue. See Choctaw Nation Order; Cherokee Nation

Order.

3. The Lower Courts Failed to Consider the Reasonable Expectations

of Goodwill.

Business income provisions of all-risk policies “are

intended to do for the insured what the business itself

would have done had no interruption occurred.”

4 Appleman Insurance Law and Practice, § 2329. “In

other words, the goal is to preserve the continuity of

the insured’s earnings.” United Air Lines, Inc. v. Ins.

Co. of State of PA, 439 F.3d 128, 131 (2d Cir. 2006)

(quoting N.Y. Jur. Insurance § 539 (2005)). Goodwill

had a reasonable expectation its all-risk Policy with

PIIC would provide business income coverage in the

event it had to close its doors. The lower courts’ rulings

fail to take into account this reasonable expectation.

The Oklahoma Supreme Court expressly adopted

the reasonable expectations doctrine, recognizing a

departure from the ordinary rules of contract

construction when an ambiguity exists in an insurance

29

policy. In Max True Plastering, the Court analyzed the

reasoning of courts which have adopted the reasonable

expectations doctrine, stating:

These courts acknowledge that different

rules of construction have traditionally been

applied to insurance contracts because of

their adhesive nature. Tribunals embracing

the doctrine recognize that it is consistent

with numerous other interpretive rules

pertaining to adhesion contracts. Many of

these rules are a part of Oklahoma law. For

instance: 1) ambiguities are construed most

strongly against the insurer; 2) in cases of

doubt, words of inclusion are liberally applied

in favor of the insured and words of exclusion

are strictly construed against the insurer; 3)

an interpretation which makes a contract

fair and reasonable is selected over that

which yields a harsh or unreasonable result;

4)insurance contracts are construed to give

effect to the parties’ intentions; 5) the scope

of an agreement is not determined in a vacuum, but instead with reference to extrinsic

circumstances; and 6) words are given effect

according to their ordinary or popular

meaning.

912 P.2d at 865 (footnotes omitted). The Court goes on

to emphasize that the presence of ambiguous terms is

the springboard for the application of insurancespecific rules of interpretation, stating:

In Oklahoma, unambiguous insurance contracts are construed as are other contracts,

according to their terms. The interpretation

of an insurance contract and whether it is

30

ambiguous is determined by the court as a

matter of law.

*

*

*

The reasonable expectations doctrine comports with our case law and with the rules of

construction applied to insurance contracts.

Id. at 869-70 (footnotes omitted). As stated above, the

term “direct physical loss of or damage to” is, at the

very least, ambiguous. “Under the reasonable expectations doctrine, when construing an ambiguity or

uncertainty in an insurance policy, the meaning of

the language is not what the drafter intended it to

mean, but what a reasonable person in the position of

the insured would have understood it to mean.” Edens

v. The Netherlands Ins. Co., 834 F.3d 1116, 1121 (10th

Cir. 2016) (citing Am. Econ. Ins. Co. v. Bogdahn, 89

P.3d 1051, 1054 (Okla. 2004)).

Any reasonable insured would expect its insurance

company to step in and protect it from unexpected

losses over which it has no control. Goodwill followed

the State’s orders and closed its doors to protect the

safety and welfare of Oklahoma citizens from the

spread of COVID-19. It has a reasonable expectation

of protection from PIIC due to these closures—

an expectation the lower courts’ rulings failed to

acknowledge.

4. Goodwill’s Loss Was Fortuitous.

There is no question Goodwill’s losses due to the

pandemic and resulting executive orders were

fortuitous. The Tenth Circuit, interpreting Oklahoma,

defined a “fortuitous event” as follows:

A fortuitous event . . . is an event which so

far as the parties to the contract are aware, is

31

dependent on chance. It may be beyond the

power of any human being to bring the event

to pass; it may be within the control of third

persons; it may even be a past event, as the

loss of a vessel, provided that the fact is

unknown to the parties.

Texas E. Transmission Corp., 579 F.2d at 564. The

pandemic is an event that neither Goodwill nor PIIC

were aware could occur in 2020, rendering it a

fortuitous event. See also Merriam-Webster (Online

ed. 2020), https://www.merriam-webster.com/diction

ary/fortuitous (“fortuitous” defined as “occurring by

chance”). Because Goodwill sufficiently pled it suffered

a covered, fortuitous loss, Goodwill stated a claim for

coverage under its all-risk Policy and the district court

erred in dismissing its lawsuit.

C. Goodwill Sufficiently Pled the Inapplicability of the Virus Endorsement.

In its Order dismissing Goodwill’s lawsuit, the district court held that even if it applied a more

expansive meaning of the phrase “direct physical

loss,” Goodwill’s claim “is still subject to dismissal

because the Virus Endorsement expressly excludes

coverage.” App. 40a. The Tenth Circuit agreed, finding

the Virus Exclusion was “valid, enforceable, and

barred coverage both under its plain language and

under the efficient proximate cause doctrine.” App.

12a-13a. The lower courts are wrong for two reasons.

First, an appellate court can only uphold a dismissal

for failure to state a claim “when the plaintiff failed to

plead facts which, if proved, would entitle him to

relief.” Aston v. Cunningham, 216 F.3d 1086, 2000 WL

796086, at *2 (10th Cir. June 21, 2000) (unpublished).

Goodwill’s Complaint alleged:

32

At some point, [PIIC] added an endorsement

to the Policy that purports to exclude coverage for loss due to virus or bacteria. However,

no consideration was provided to Goodwill

in exchange for the addition of this endorsement. Therefore, the endorsement is void or

invalid. Furthermore, [PIIC] failed to obtain

consent from Goodwill to add the subject

endorsement. Because said endorsement is

void or invalid, [PIIC] cannot rely upon said

endorsement as a basis to limit or deny

coverage.

In addition, Goodwill argued a representative of PIIC

failed to sign the Endorsement in accordance with

Oklahoma Administrative Code 365:15-1-3. This is

certainly sufficient to put Goodwill on notice that the

Virus Endorsement was improperly added to the

Policy and its application to Goodwill’s claim was

questionable, at best. If Goodwill proves the facts

alleged—that PIIC improperly added the Virus

Endorsement to the Policy without proper consent or

consideration—then it would be rendered void and/or

invalid. These allegations are sufficient under the law,

and Goodwill should have survived a motion to

dismiss.

Second, the Virus Endorsement is not applicable to

Goodwill’s insurance claim. The Endorsement precludes coverage “for loss or damage caused by or

resulting from any virus, bacterium, or other microorganism that induces or is capable of inducing

physical distress, illness or disease.” In other words,

Goodwill’s claim was for losses due to the pandemicrelated Orders—not the presence of the virus itself.

To that point, Judge Campbell in the Choctaw

Nation case found the same exclusion before the

33

Court would not apply absent “proof of actual viral

presence.” Choctaw Nation Order (“Defendant Liberty

Mutual’s Excess Policy exclusion requires the virus

is ‘capable of inducing physical distress, illness or

disease,’ but to be capable of inducing such an effect

the virus would need to be on the premises.”). The lower

courts disregarded this ruling from an Oklahoma

court.5

Goodwill has not alleged the cessation of its operations was caused by the presence of COVID-19 at

Goodwill’s locations, but rather resulted from governmental orders. Had PIIC intended to exclude losses

caused by government-ordered closures arising from

a virus, it could have done so. It did not. Id. at *14

(“Going forward, Zurich could undoubtedly include

an exclusion for government closures in its policies.

But the Policy that Plaintiffs purchased did not

contain such an exclusion.”). As such, the lower

courts erred in finding the Virus Endorsement bars

Goodwill’s claims.

5

See also Elegant Massage, LLC v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins.

Co., No. 2:20-CV-265, 2020 WL 7249624, at *12-13 (E.D. Va. Dec.

9, 2020) (“Therefore, in applying the Virus Exclusion there must

be a direct connection between the exclusion and the claimed loss

and not, as the Defendants argue, a tenuous connection anywhere

in the chain of causation . . . Here, Plaintiff is neither alleging

that there is a presence of a virus at the covered property nor that

a virus is the direct cause of the property’s physical loss . . . .

Therefore, Defendants have failed to meet its burden to show that

the Virus Exclusion applies to Plaintiff’s claim.”); Henderson

Road, 2021 WL 168422, at *14-15 (“Here, Plaintiffs’ argument

prevails because the Microorganism exclusion does not clearly

exclude loss of property caused by a government closure. Plaintiffs’ restaurants were not closed because there was an outbreak

of COVID-19 at their properties; they were closed as a result of

governmental orders.”)

34

CONCLUSION

If the Tenth Circuit opinion is allowed to stand,

and Oklahoma’s Supreme Court issues a ruling in the

pending COVID-19 insurance cases that is favorable

to Goodwill’s position, Goodwill will have suffered a

wrong with no remedy. The Circuit should have abated

or certified questions so that Goodwill was not left

bereft of justice.

To avoid this injustice and affirm the principles of

federalism and the Erie doctrine, the Court should

grant the Petition and issue a writ of certiorari to

the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit in Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma,

Inc. d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways Institute v.

Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company, Case No.

21-6045.

Respectfully submitted,

JIM T. PRIEST

Counsel of Record

316 S. Blackwelder Avenue

Oklahoma City, OK 73108

(405) 278-7111

jpriest@okgoodwill.org

Counsel for Petitioners

April 14, 2022

APPENDIX

1a

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

[Filed January 14, 2022]

————

No. 21-6045

(D.C. No. 5:20-CV-00511-R)

(W.D. Okla.)

————

GOODWILL INDUSTRIES OF CENTRAL OKLAHOMA, INC.,

d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways Institute,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

PHILADELPHIA INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

AMERICAN PROPERTY CASUALTY

INSURANCE ASSOCIATION, et al.,

Amici Curiae.

————

ORDER

Before TYMKOVICH, Chief Judge, MATHESON, and

PHILLIPS, Circuit Judges.

Appellant’s petition for rehearing is denied.

The petition for rehearing en banc was transmitted

to all of the judges of the court who are in regular

active service. As no member of the panel and no judge

in regular active service on the court requested that

the court be polled, that petition is also denied.

Entered for the Court

/s/ Christopher M. Wolpert

CHRISTOPHER M. WOLPERT, Clerk

2a

APPENDIX B

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

[Filed December 21, 2021]

————

No. 21-6045

————

GOODWILL INDUSTRIES OF CENTRAL OKLAHOMA, INC.,

d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways Institute,

v.

Plaintiff-Appellant,

PHILADELPHIA INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

AMERICAN PROPERTY CASUALTY INSURANCE

ASSOCIATION; NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF

MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANIES

Amici Curiae.

————

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Oklahoma

(D.C. No. 5:20-CV-00511-R)

————

Jim T. Priest, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, for PlaintiffAppellant.

Stephen E. Goldman, Robinson & Cole LLP, Hartford,

Connecticut (Wystan M. Ackerman, Robinson & Cole

LLP, Hartford, Connecticut; Phil R. Richards and Joy

Tate, Richards & Connor, Tulsa, Oklahoma, with him

on the briefs) for Defendant-Appellee.

3a

Laura A. Foggan, Crowell & Morning LLP, Washington,

D.C., filed an amicus curiae brief on behalf of DefendantAppellee for the American Property Casualty Insurance Association and National Association of Mutual

Insurance Companies.

————

Before TYMKOVICH, Chief Judge, MATHESON, and

PHILLIPS, Circuit Judges.

MATHESON, Circuit Judge.

Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma, Inc., a

nonprofit organization, provides community services

and operates retail stores and donation centers in

central Oklahoma. It suspended operations on March

25, 2020, to comply with state and local orders

regarding the COVID-19 pandemic. After suffering

losses due to the shutdown, Goodwill sued its

insurer, Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company

(“Philadelphia”), under its commercial lines policy.

The policy provided coverage for “loss of Business

Income” when the insured must suspend its operations due to “direct physical loss of or damage to”

covered property. App., Vol. 2 at 459.

The district court granted Philadelphia’s motion to

dismiss. It concluded the policy did not cover

Goodwill’s loss and that the policy’s Virus Exclusion

barred coverage. Exercising jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1291, we affirm.

I. BACKGROUND

A. Factual History

On March 15, 2020, the Governor of Oklahoma

issued an executive order declaring a state-wide

emergency due to COVID-19. Under the order, busi-

4a

nesses like Goodwill that were not part of the “critical

infrastructure sector” had to close to the public

beginning on March 25, 2020. App., Vol. 1 at 44.

Mayors in Oklahoma City, Norman, Moore, Ardmore,

Guthrie, Stillwater, and Midwest City also ordered

nonessential businesses to suspend operations. In

response to the state and local closure orders, Goodwill

halted its operations and suffered financial losses as a

result.

B. The Policy

Philadelphia insured Goodwill under a commercial

lines policy effective from May 1, 2019 to May 1, 2020.

Two key policy provisions governed the coverage

issue here. First, the “Business Income” provision

stated that “[Philadelphia] will pay for the actual loss

of Business Income [Goodwill] sustain[s] due to the

necessary ‘suspension’ of [Goodwill’s] ‘operations’ during the ‘period of restoration.’” App., Vol. 2 at 459. A

“suspension” “must be caused by direct physical loss

of or damage to property at [the covered] premises.” Id.

Second, the “Period of Restoration” clause provided

that the restoration period begins “72 hours after the

time of direct physical loss or damage . . . caused by

or resulting from any Covered Cause of Loss at

the [covered] premises” and “[e]nds on the earlier of:

(1) The date when the property at the described

premises should be repaired, rebuilt or replaced with

reasonable and similar quality; or (2) The date when

business is resumed at a new permanent location.” Id.

at 467.

The policy also contained a Virus or Bacteria

Exclusion. It stated that Philadelphia “will not pay

for loss or damage caused by or resulting from any

virus, bacterium or other microorganism that induces

5a

or is capable of inducing physical distress, illness or

disease.” Id. at 470.

C. Procedural History

In May 2020, Goodwill sued Philadelphia by filing

a petition in the state district court of Cleveland

County, Oklahoma. It sought a declaration that the

policy “covers Goodwill’s losses and expenses related

to the state and local mandated closures of Goodwill’s

stores.” App., Vol. 1 at 46. Philadelphia removed the

case to the Western District of Oklahoma and moved

to dismiss under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

12(b)(6).1

The district court granted Philadelphia’s motion to

dismiss on two grounds. First, it concluded that coverage for “a direct physical loss unambiguously

requires a showing of tangible damage.” Id. at 14.

Because “Goodwill failed to allege it suffered any

tangible damage,” which at a minimum required

that Goodwill “allege that a substance entered its

premises or attached to its surfaces,” the court determined Goodwill’s claim was “subject to dismissal.” Id.

Second, the court held the policy’s Virus Exclusion was

valid and excluded coverage. Goodwill moved to alter

or amend the judgment under Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 59(e), and the district court denied the

motion.

Goodwill timely appealed (1) the order granting

Philadelphia’s motion to dismiss and (2) the order

1

Goodwill brought suit by filing a “Petition for Declaratory

Judgment” in Oklahoma state district court. App., Vol. 1 at 39. It

did not file a complaint or amended complaint after Philadelphia

removed the case to federal district court. The petition is therefore the operative pleading here.

6a

denying Goodwill’s Rule 59(e) motion. Goodwill also

moved to abate proceedings and certify questions to

the Oklahoma Supreme Court related to the meaning

of the term “direct physical loss of or damage to” and

the applicability of the Virus Exclusion.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

“We review de novo the grant of a Rule 12(b)(6)

motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim.” Schell

v. Chief Just. & Justs. of Okla. Supreme Ct., 11 F.4th

1178, 1186 (10th Cir. 2021) (quotations omitted). “To

survive a motion to dismiss, a complaint must contain

sufficient factual matter, accepted as true, to ‘state a

claim to relief that is plausible on its face.’” Ashcroft v.

Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662, 678 (2009) (quoting Bell Atl. Corp.

v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 570 (2007)).

We typically consider “only the contents of the

complaint when ruling on a 12(b)(6) motion.” Berneike

v. CitiMortgage, Inc., 708 F.3d 1141, 1146 (10th Cir.

2013). But we also will consider “documents incorporated by reference in the complaint [and] documents

referred to in and central to the complaint, when no

party disputes [their] authenticity.” Id. (quotations

omitted).

B. Oklahoma Law

In this diversity suit, the substantive law of

Oklahoma applies. Edens v. The Netherlands Ins. Co.,

834 F.3d 1116, 1120 (10th Cir. 2016).

Under Oklahoma law, “[t]he interpretation of an

insurance contract and whether it is ambiguous is

determined by the court as a matter of law.” Serra v.

Estate of Broughton, 364 P.3d 637, 641 (Okla. 2015).

“When [the policy’s] terms are unambiguous and

7a

clear, the employed language is accorded its ordinary,

plain meaning and enforced so as to carry out the

parties’ intentions.” Bituminous Cas. Corp. v. Cowen

Constr., Inc., 55 P.3d 1030, 1033 (Okla. 2002) (emphasis removed). “The test for ambiguity is whether the

language is susceptible to two interpretations on its

face from the standpoint of a reasonably prudent lay

person, not from that of a lawyer.” Am. Econ. Ins. Co.

v. Bogdahn, 89 P.3d 1051, 1054 (Okla. 2004) (quotations and alterations omitted). “[A] split in authority

over whether a certain term is ambiguous will not, in

itself, establish an ambiguity nor will the fact that

the parties disagree.” BP Am., Inc. v. State Auto Prop.

& Cas. Ins., 148 P.3d 832, 836 (Okla. 2005) (footnote

omitted).

If, after application of these rules of construction,

there is a “genuine ambiguity,” courts construe the

insurance contract in a way that is “most favorabl[e]

to the insured and against the insurance carrier.”

Dodson v. St. Paul Ins. Co., 812 P.2d 372, 377 (Okla.

1991). But “neither forced nor strained construction

will be indulged, nor will any provision be taken out

of context and narrowly focused upon to create and

then construe an ambiguity so as to import a favorable

consideration to either party than that expressed in

the contract.” Id. at 376.

C. Analysis

We affirm the district court’s determination that (1)

the policy’s Business Income provision did not cover

Goodwill’s losses and (2) the Virus Exclusion applied.2

2

In its petition for declaratory judgment, Goodwill alleged

that its losses were covered under several of the policy’s provisions, including the “business interruption, extra expense, and

interruption by civil authority” provisions. App., Vol. 1 at 45. On

8a

1. Business Income Coverage

Goodwill does not claim “damage to property,” but

it does claim it suffered a “direct physical loss of”

property when it suspended operations in compliance

with COVID shutdown orders. It did not. The Business

Income provision unambiguously covered only losses

stemming from physical alteration or tangible dispossession of property. Neither occurred here. The policy’s

Period of Restoration clause reinforces this conclusion.

So do the decisions of every other circuit and the vast

majority of district courts to address this issue.

a. Business Income Coverage Provision

The policy does not define “direct physical loss,” and

the Oklahoma Supreme Court has not construed this

term. We may consult dictionaries to supply the

words’ common meanings. See Wiley v. Travelers Ins.

Co., 534 P.2d 1293, 1294 (Okla. 1974); Combs v.

Shelter Mut. Ins. Co., 551 F.3d 991, 997 (10th Cir.

2008) (applying Oklahoma law).3

Dictionary definitions inform us that “direct

physical loss” encompasses only tangible destruction

or deprivation of property. The Oxford English

Dictionary Online (3d ed. 2021) defines

appeal, Goodwill argues only that the policy’s Business Income

coverage applies. We therefore only address coverage under that

provision.

3

The Oklahoma Supreme Court has consulted the Oxford

English Dictionary and Webster’s Third New International Dictionary, among others, to derive the ordinary meaning of

statutory terms. See, e.g., Consol. Grain & Barge Co. v. Structural

Sys., Inc., 212 P.3d 1168, 1175 (Okla. 2009); Dean Bailey Olds,

Inc. v. Richard Preston Motor Co., Inc., 32 P.3d 816, 820 (Okla.

2000).

9a

“direct” as “[e]ffected or existing without

intermediation or intervening agency;

immediate”;

“physical” as “[o]f or relating to natural

phenomena perceived through the senses

(as opposed to the mind); . . . natural;

tangible, concrete”; and

“loss” as “[p]erdition, ruin, destruction.”

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary (2002)

defines

“direct” as “marked by absence of an

intervening agency, instrumentality, or

influence: immediate”;

“physical” as “of or relating to natural or

material things as opposed to things

mental, moral, spiritual, or imaginary”;

and

“loss” as “failure to keep possession: deprivation” or “destruction, ruin, perdition.”

Based on these definitions, a “direct physical loss”

requires an immediate and perceptible destruction or

deprivation of property.

Goodwill has not alleged it suffered such a loss.

Although the COVID orders temporarily restricted

Goodwill’s use of its property, Goodwill never lost

physical control of its buildings or merchandise from

its stores. It thus was not deprived of its property. Nor

did COVID destroy Goodwill’s property. The policy

therefore did not cover its loss.

Goodwill contends that the term “direct physical

loss” encompasses “intangible loss and/or property

rendered unusable for its intended purpose due to

10a

orders stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic.” Aplt.

Br. at 17. We disagree. The words “intangible” and

“physical” have opposite meanings. As one leading

insurance law treatise explains, “[t]he requirement

that the loss be ‘physical,’ given the ordinary definition

of that term, is widely held to exclude alleged losses

that are intangible or incorporeal.” 10A Steven Plitt

et al., Couch on Insurance § 148:46 (3d ed. 2021)

(footnotes omitted).

Goodwill also argues that the phrase “direct physical loss of or damage to” encompasses more than

physical damage to property because “loss of” and

“damage to” would otherwise be redundant. We

disagree. The phrase “loss of” refers to dispossession of

property—for example, via theft—and therefore has a

different meaning from the term “damage to.” As the

Sixth Circuit explained, “[t]here is no need to read

‘physical loss’ to include a deprivation of some particular use of a property in order to give the phrase

independent meaning. That possibility could occur

whenever a policy holder is deprived of property

without any damage to it, say a portable grill or a

delivery truck stolen without a scratch.” Santo’s

Italian Cafe LLC v. Acuity Ins. Co., 15 F.4th 398, 404

(6th Cir. 2021).

Goodwill’s temporary inability to use its property

for its intended purpose was not a “direct physical

loss.” To conclude otherwise would ignore the word

“physical” and violate the requirement that every part

of a policy be given meaning. See 15 Okla. Stat. § 157;

see also BP America, Inc., 148 P.3d at 839.

b. Period of Restoration clause

The Period of Restoration clause reinforces the conclusion that Goodwill did not suffer a “direct physical

11a

loss of or damage” to property. The Business Income

provision applied only “during the ‘period of restoration,’” which “[e]nds on the earlier of: (1) The date

when the property at the described premises should

be repaired, rebuilt or replaced with reasonable

speed and similar quality; or (2) The date when

business is resumed at a new permanent location.”

App., Vol. 2 at 459, 467.

The policy thus covered only “direct physical loss of

or damage to” property that could be remedied by the

physical acts of repairing, rebuilding, or replacing the

affected property or by relocating the insured’s business. “That the policy provides coverage until property

‘should be repaired, rebuilt or replaced’ or until business resumes elsewhere assumes physical alteration

of the property, not mere loss of use.” Oral Surgeons,

P.C. v. Cincinnati Ins. Co., 2 F.4th 1141, 1144 (8th

Cir. 2021); see also Sandy Point Dental, P.C. v.

Cincinnati Ins. Co., — F.4th —, 2021 WL 5833525, at

*4 (7th Cir. Dec. 9, 2021). After suspending business

due to COVID restrictions, Goodwill had nothing to

repair, rebuild, or replace before it could resume

operations. Nothing “physical” happened to its property—Goodwill simply had to wait until the government lifted the restrictions.

Goodwill’s attempt to harmonize its loss of use

theory with the Period of Restoration clause fails.

Turning to the dictionary, Goodwill notes that “repair”

means “restore to a sound or healthy state,” and

“restore” means to be “brought ‘back into existence

or use.’” Aplt. Reply Br. at 8-9 (quoting MerriamWebster).4 Relying on this definition of “restore,”

4

Goodwill does not indicate which version or edition of

Merriam-Webster it quotes.

12a

Goodwill contends the period of restoration ended

when it could “once again access and use its property.”

Id. at 9. This argument fails because it ignores the

dictionary definition of “repair,” the word used in

the policy, and instead depends on the definition of

“restore,” a word that is included in the dictionary

definition of “repair” but not used in the policy.

c. Other courts

Other courts have similarly construed the terms at

issue here. Every circuit to address the issue has held

that identical or nearly identical business income provisions did not cover losses caused by COVID closure

orders. See Mudpie, Inc. v. Travelers Cas. Ins. Co. of

Am., 15 F.4th 885 (9th Cir. 2021); Santo’s Italian Cafe,

15 F.4th 398; Oral Surgeons, P.C., 2 F.4th 1141; Sandy

Point Dental, P.C., — F.4th —, 2021 WL 5833525;

Gilreath Fam. & Cosm. Dentistry, Inc. v. Cincinnati

Ins. Co., 2021 WL 3870697 (11th Cir. Aug. 31, 2021)

(per curiam) (unpublished). And the overwhelming

majority of district courts to address the issue have

so held. See, e.g., Image Dental, LLC v. Citizens Ins.

Co. of Am., 2021 WL 2399988 (N.D. Ill. June 11,

2021); Michael Cetta, Inc. v. Admiral Indem. Co., 506

F. Supp. 3d 168 (S.D.N.Y. 2020); Till Metro Ent. v.

Covington Specialty Ins. Co., 2021 WL 2649479 (N.D.

Okla. June 28, 2021).

* * *

Goodwill has not alleged that it suffered a “direct

physical loss of or damage to” its property. We therefore affirm the district court’s conclusion that Goodwill’s

losses were not covered under the policy.

2. Virus Exclusion

In the alternative, the Virus Exclusion was valid,

enforceable, and barred coverage both under its plain

13a

language and under the efficient proximate cause

doctrine.

a. The Virus Exclusion was valid and

enforceable

Goodwill alleges the Exclusion was invalid or void

because (1) “no consideration was provided in

exchange for the addition of this endorsement,” and (2)

Philadelphia “failed to obtain consent from Goodwill

to add the [Exclusion.]” App., Vol. 1 at 43. We disagree.

i. Lack of consideration

Goodwill did not plead facts demonstrating lack of

consideration. Its allegation was therefore a legal conclusion, and the district court was correct to disregard

it. See Khalik v. United Air Lines, 671 F.3d 1188, 1191

(10th Cir. 2012) (“[W]hen legal conclusions are involved in the complaint ‘the tenet that a court must

accept as true all of the allegations contained in a

complaint is inapplicable to those conclusions.’” (quoting Iqbal, 556 U.S. at 663) (alterations omitted)).

Goodwill’s argument also fails because the 20192020 policy was a valid insurance contract supported

by consideration. When an insurer and insured renew

a policy containing a reduction in coverage, and the

insurer sufficiently “alert[s] the insured to the reduction in coverage,” then “the limitations [are] incorporated into the new policy,” and “the renewal . . . is a

new contract.” Wynn v. Avemco Ins. Co., 963 P.2d 572,

574 (Okla. 1998). When Philadelphia issued the 20192020 renewal policy, it included an “advisory notice

to Policyholders” explicitly alerting Goodwill to the

Virus Exclusion. See App., Vol. 1 at 70, 138.5 By

5

To the extent Goodwill’s state court petition for declaratory

judgment implied that Philadelphia added the Exclusion “[a]t

14a

renewing the policy, Goodwill and Philadelphia

entered a new contract supported by consideration—

Goodwill paid a premium, and Philadelphia provided

insurance coverage.

Philadelphia’s contractual promises to insure

Goodwill for losses covered by the policy and defend

claims brought against Goodwill constituted consideration for the entire policy, which contained the Virus

Exclusion. See 16 Williston on Contracts § 49:71 (4th

ed.) (explaining that the consideration received by the

insured includes “the dollar amount of protection set

forth in the policy” and “the obligation of a liability

insurer to defend claims brought against the insured

and to indemnify the insured against successful

claims”); see also Thompson v. Bar-S-Foods Co., 174

P.3d 567, 574 (Okla. 2007) (“As a general rule, consideration exists as long as there is a benefit to the

promisor or a detriment to the promisee.”).

ii. Lack of consent

Goodwill also alleges that the Virus Exclusion was

invalid or void because Philadelphia “failed to obtain

consent from Goodwill to add the [exclusion].” App.,

Vol. 1 at 43. The district court did not address this allegation. It fails (1) for lack of factual support and (2)

because Goodwill was not required to sign the

exclusion.

First, Goodwill’s petition for declaratory relief did

not allege facts that Philadelphia “failed to obtain

consent from Goodwill.” Eventually, in its opposition

to the motion to dismiss, Goodwill said Philadelphia

never obtained consent because Goodwill never signed

some point” after the parties entered their contract, App., Vol. 1

at 43, the record shows this was not the case, see id. at 138.

15a

the exclusion. But this allegation was not included in

Goodwill’s petition. “[W]e will not consider evidence

or allegations outside the four corners of the complaint

in reviewing the district court’s Rule 12(b)(6) dismissal.” Waller v. City & Cty. of Denver, 932 F.3d 1277,

1286 n.1 (10th Cir. 2019).

Second, the Virus Exclusion was valid without

Goodwill’s signature. The Oklahoma Administrative

Code requires the insured to sign an endorsement

that eliminates or restricts coverage when it is “issued

during the policy term.” Okla. Admin. Code § 365:151-3(b)(20). But here the Virus Exclusion was included

at the outset of the policy term, not added during it.

The code provision therefore does not apply.

b. The Virus Exclusion applied

Goodwill’s alleged losses

to

Goodwill contends that the Virus Exclusion did not

bar its claim because the provision only applied when

a virus was physically present at a covered property,

which was not the case here. But under the policy’s

plain language and the efficient proximate cause

doctrine, the Virus Exclusion applied to Goodwill’s

losses and excluded them from coverage.

i. Plain language

The Virus Exclusion unambiguously precluded coverage “for loss or damage caused by or resulting from

any virus, bacterium, or other microorganism that

induces or is capable of inducing physical distress,

illness or disease.” App., Vol. 2 at 316. “[A] reasonable

business person would plainly contemplate that an

exclusion for losses ‘caused by or resulting from any

virus’ would extend to losses caused by immediate

efforts to mitigate a viral outbreak.” 100 Orchard St.,

16a

LLC v. Travelers Indem. Ins. Co. of Am., 2021 WL

2333244, at *2 (S.D.N.Y. June 8, 2021).

As Goodwill conceded in its petition for declaratory

relief, “the impending threat of COVID-19 and/or the

COVID pandemic” led the Governor to issue the

shutdown order. App., Vol. 1 at 44. Thus, COVID-19

“caused” the restrictions that forced Goodwill to suspend its operations. No one disputes that COVID-19

is a virus “capable of inducing physical distress, illness

or disease.” The plain language of the Virus Exclusion

therefore applied to and barred coverage of Goodwill’s

losses incurred due to the COVID shutdown orders.

Goodwill counters that the Virus Exclusion did not

apply because its claim “was for losses due to the

pandemic-related Orders—not the presence of the

virus itself.” Aplt. Br. at 33. This argument assumes

that the Virus Exclusion applied only when the virus

was physically present at an insured’s property. But

the Exclusion’s text “in no way suggests that the

virus must be present at the insured property for the

exclusion to apply.” Causeway Auto., LLC v. Zurich

Am. Ins. Co., 2021 WL 486917, at *5 (D.N.J. Feb. 10,

2021). Under its plain language, the Virus Exclusion

was not limited to instances where the virus was

physically present at or on Goodwill’s property.

ii. Efficient proximate cause doctrine

Even if the government COVID restrictions and the

virus itself could be viewed as distinct causes of loss,

the efficient proximate cause doctrine would still

exclude Goodwill’s claim. Under this doctrine, embraced by the Oklahoma Supreme Court in Shirley

v. Tri-State Ins. Co., 274 P.2d 386, 388-89 (Okla. 1954),

the cause “of a loss for the purpose of fixing insurance

liability when concurring causes of the damage appear

17a

. . . is the dominant or efficient one that sets the other

causes in operation,” Duensing v. State Farm Fire &

Cas. Co., 131 P.3d 127, 133 (Okla. Civ. App. 2005)

(quotations omitted).

Here, the dominant cause of Goodwill’s losses—the

efficient proximate cause—was the outbreak and

spread of COVID-19. Goodwill acknowledges as much

in its petition for declaratory relief. See App., Vol. 1 at

44 (stating that “the impending threat of COVID-19

and/or the COVID pandemic” was the impetus for

the shutdown orders). Even if Goodwill’s claims were

“for losses due to the pandemic-related Orders,” Aplt.

Br. at 33, the spread of the virus triggered the

orders. Thus, the Virus Exclusion applied under the

efficient proximate cause doctrine. See Mudpie, Inc.,

15 F.4th at 894 (concluding an identical virus exclusion applied under the efficient proximate cause

doctrine because COVID triggered the downstream

forces that produced the plaintiff’s claimed losses);

Mashallah, Inc. v. W. Bend Mut. Ins. Co., 2021 WL

5833488, at *4-5 (7th Cir. Dec. 9, 2021) (same).

III. CONCLUSION

We affirm the district court’s orders (1) granting

Philadelphia’s motion to dismiss and (2) denying

Goodwill’s motion to alter or amend the judgment. We

deny Goodwill’s motion to certify questions of law

to the Oklahoma Supreme Court and grant amici’s

motion for leave to file an amicus curiae brief.

18a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF OKLAHOMA

[Filed March 11, 2021]

————

No. CV-20-511-R

————

GOODWILL INDUSTRIES OF CENTRAL OKLAHOMA, INC.,

d/b/a GOODWILL CAREER PATHWAYS INSTITUTE,

v.

Plaintiff,

PHILADELPHIA INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant.

————

ORDER

Before the Court is Plaintiff Goodwill Industries of

Central Oklahoma, Inc.’s (“Goodwill”) Motion to

Alter or Amend Judgment. Doc. No. 26. Defendant

Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company (“PIIC”)

filed a Response in Opposition. Doc. No. 27. Goodwill

then filed a Reply, Doc. No. 28, and PIIC filed a surReply. Doc. No. 31.

This dispute arises from Goodwill’s closure of its

central Oklahoma locations after the Governor of

Oklahoma issued an Executive Order declaring a

state of emergency due to rising cases of the novel

coronavirus (“COVID-19”) on March 15, 2020. Doc. No.

1-1, p. 6.

Goodwill purchased a Commercial Lines policy

underwritten by PIIC (“the Policy”), providing “Busi-

19a

ness Income” coverage [ ] for “the actual loss of Business Income [ ] sustain[ed] due to the necessary ‘suspension’ of [ ] ‘operations’ during the ‘period of restoration.’” Doc. No. 1-1, p. 2; Doc. No. 1-4, p. 169. The

Policy, which ran “from May 1, 2019, to May 1, 2020,”

only covers “‘suspension[s]’ [ ] caused by direct physical loss of or damage to property.” Doc. No. 1-4, p. 169;

Doc. No. 1-1, p. 2. Any coverage is conditioned on

Goodwill suffering a “direct physical loss of or damage

to property” operated by Goodwill throughout central

Oklahoma. Doc. No. 1-1, pp. 2–3.

Importantly, the Policy included an endorsement

that excludes coverage for “loss due to virus or bacteria.” Doc. No. 1-4, p. 26. The endorsement is titled

“Exclusion of Loss Due to Virus or Bacteria” (“Virus

Endorsement”), and it “applies to all coverage under

all forms and endorsements . . . , including . . . damage to buildings or personal property and . . . business

income, extra expense, or action of civil authority.”

Doc. No. 1-1, p. 100. It states that “[PIIC] will not pay

for loss or damage caused by or resulting from any

virus, bacterium or other microorganism that induces

or is capable of inducing physical distress, illness or

disease.” Doc. No. 1-1, p. 100.

After state-wide orders prompted Goodwill to

close its doors, Goodwill sought a declaratory judgment in state court on May 6, 2020 that “[it] sustained

a ‘direct physical loss’ and/or ‘risk of direct physical

loss’” from the mandated closures. Doc. No. 1-1. On

June 1, 2020, PIIC removed the action to this Court.

Doc. No. 1. PIIC then moved to dismiss the claims

against it on the grounds that Goodwill failed to

allege a “direct physical loss” under the Policy and

because the Virus Endorsement precluded coverage.

Doc. No. 8.

20a

On November 9, 2020, the Court granted PIIC’s

motion to dismiss in its entirety for two reasons. Doc.

No. 24. First, the Court explained that “[a]lleging a

direct physical loss unambiguously requires a showing

of tangible damage.” Doc No. 24, p. 8. Further, because

Goodwill did not allege any tangible damage to its

property, it failed to state a claim of a “direct physical

loss” under the Policy. Id. Second, the Court explained

that “[e]ven if [it] applied a more expansive definition

of direct physical loss, [ ] its claim [was] still subject to

dismissal because the Virus Endorsement expressly

excludes coverage.” Id.

On December 7, 2020, Goodwill filed a “Motion to

Alter or Amend” Judgment pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.

P. 59(e). Doc. No. 26. In its Motion, Goodwill argues

that the Court erred when it granted PIIC’s motion to

dismiss because i) it evaluated the plain meaning of

“direct physical loss” without accounting for the

modifier “risk of direct physical loss”; ii) it did not

adopt Goodwill’s construction of direct physical loss

when Goodwill offered a reasonable construction of

the phrase; and iii) amendment of the Complaint

would not be futile. Doc. No. 26, pp. 4, 6, 8.

Parties may file a motion to alter or amend a judgment under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e). “Rule 59(e) derives

from a common-law court’s plenary power to revise its

judgment during a single term of court, before anyone

could appeal.” Banister v. Davis, 140 S. Ct. 1698, 1709

(2020). “The Rule gives a district court the chance ‘to

rectify its own mistakes in the period immediately

following’ its decision.” Id. at 1703 (quoting White v.

N.H. Dep’t of Emp. Sec., 455 U.S. 445, 450 (1982)). The

time for filing a Rule 59(e) motion “is short—28 days

from entry of the judgment, with no possibility of an

21a

extension.” Id.; see also Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e); Fed. R.

Civ. P. 6(b)(2).

A Rule 59(e) motion may be granted when the

movant presents one of the following circumstances:

“(1) an intervening change in the controlling law, (2)

new evidence previously unavailable, and (3) the need

to correct clear error or prevent manifest injustice.”

Servants of the Paraclete v. Does, 204 F.3d 1005, 1012

(10th Cir. 2000) (citation omitted). In the Tenth

Circuit, “a motion for reconsideration is appropriate

where the court has misapprehended the facts, a

party’s position, or the controlling law.” Id. However,

a motion to reconsider “is not appropriate to revisit

issues already addressed or advance arguments that

could have been raised in prior briefing.” Ferluga v.

Eickhoff, 236 F.R.D. 546, 549 (D. Kan. 2006) (citing

Servants of the Paraclete, 204 F.3d at 1012); see also

Banister, 140 S. Ct. at 1703 (“[C]ourts will not address

new arguments or evidence that the moving party

could have raised before the decision issued.”).

Goodwill argues that under Servants of the Paraclete, the Court should amend its prior judgment to

correct clear error and prevent manifest injustice.

Doc. No. 26, p. 4. To begin with, Goodwill urges the

Court that it erred in its interpretation of the Policy

language when it interpreted “direct physical loss,”

rather than “risks of direct physical loss.” Doc. No. 26,

pp. 4–5 (emphasis in original). Goodwill reasons that

the threat of the spread of the virus, which was “the

entire purpose of the Governor’s Executive order . . .”,

should qualify as a “risk of direct physical loss.” Id.

at 5.

Goodwill argues it “is entitled to coverage if the “loss

or damage” is caused by or result[s] from Covered

Cause of Loss.” Doc. No. 26, p. 4. However, Goodwill

22a

overlooks the fact that prior to describing what qualifies as a “Covered Loss,” the Business Income Coverage Form states that the “‘suspension’ must be caused

by direct physical loss of or damage to property . . .”.

Doc. No. 1-4, at 169. Accordingly, while “risks of

direct physical loss” define what property qualifies

as a “covered loss,” loss of business due to the “necessary suspension of your operations” is only covered

if the period of suspension is caused by “direct physical

loss.” Id. (emphasis added). Thus, as PIIC explains,

and as the Court held in its previous Order, “the

Business Income, Extra Expense, and Civil Authority

Coverages [. . .] specifically require the insured to

establish direct physical loss or damage to property—

not merely a ‘risk of physical loss or damage.’” Doc.

No. 27, pp. 5–6 (citing Doc. No. 1–4, pp. 169–170).

Therefore, the Court did not err when it interpreted

“direct physical loss” rather than “risks of direct

physical loss.”

Next, Goodwill argues that the Court erred in its

interpretation of “direct physical loss” because it

did not “construe the ambiguous term most favorably

toward Goodwill and most strictly against PIIC.” Doc.

No. 26, pp. 6. However, the Court previously explained

that “[a]lleging a direct physical loss unambiguously

requires a showing of tangible damage. Goodwill

failed to allege it suffered any tangible damage, and

therefore, its claim is subject to dismissal.” Doc. No.

24, p. 8 (emphasis added).

Goodwill cites a recent decision from a state court in

North Carolina, which explains that when two proffered definitions are reasonable, the phrase is at least

ambiguous, and the Court should therefore utilize the

“reasonable definition which favors coverage.” Doc.

No. 26, pp. 6–7 (citing North State Deli, LLC v. The

23a

Cincinnati Insurance Company, Case No. 20-CVS02569 (N.C. Super. Ct. Oct. 9, 2020)). However, the

Court is bound by the laws of interpretation of the

state of Oklahoma, not North Carolina.

As the Court explained in its previous Order, in

Oklahoma,

[t]he interpretation of an insurance contract

and whether it is ambiguous is determined by

the Court as a matter of law. Serra v. Estate

of Broughton, 364 P.3d 637, 641 (Okla. 2015).

The Court shall not “force[ ] or constrain[ ]

interpretations to create [. . . or] construe

ambiguities. Max True Plastering v. U.S. Fid.

& Guar. Co., 912 P.2d 861, 869 (Okla. 1996).

Doc. No. 24, pp. 4–5.

Additionally, Goodwill relies on an Oklahoma trial

court summary judgment opinion for its proposition

that Goodwill properly pled a “direct physical loss”

under the policy. Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma v.

Lexington Ins. Co., et. al., Case No. CV-20-42, Order

(Okla. Dist. Ct., Bryan Cnty. Feb. 15, 2021), available

at Doc. No. 34-1. However, in Choctaw Nation, the

trial court explained the distinction in Goodwill’s

policy and Choctaw Nation’s policy. Id. The court

explained that

the Goodwill court noted numerous other

provisions in the [Goodwill Policy] that are

absent from [Choctaw Nation’s] Policy. The

Goodwill policy required “actual loss” due to

a “suspension” of “operation,” but such words

and requirements are absent from [Choctaw

Nation’s] Policy. See Goodwill Indus. of Cent.

Oklahoma, Inc., No. CV-20-511-R, at *1–2.

Meanwhile, [Choctaw Nation’s] Policy pro-

24a

vides coverage for “imminent loss.” See supra

at 8. To interpret these policies the same

would render those different words, definitions, and provisions meaningless, which this

Court will not do.

Choctaw Nation, Case No. CV-20-42, at 10. Accordingly, as the court explained, Choctaw Nation’s policy

used “different words, definitions, and provisions”

than Goodwill’s Policy. Id. Therefore, Goodwill’s reliance on Choctaw Nation is misplaced.

As PIIC notes, “the phrase ‘direct physical loss’ is

not ambiguous simply because it is not defined in the

Policy.” Doc. No. 27, p. 6 (citing Cranfill v. Aetna Life

Ins. Co., 49 P.3d 703, 706 (Okla. 2002)). While

Goodwill argues that a “direct physical loss” encompasses more than “an actual, or material, deprivation

of Plaintiff’s property,” the majority of district courts

across the country disagree.1 See generally Doc. No. 24,

1

A majority of district courts have found a “direct physical

loss” to require some form of tangible damage to property. See,

e.g. DAB Dental PLLC v. Main Street America Protection Ins. Co.,

No. 20-CA-5504 (Fla. Cir. Civ. Div. Nov. 10, 2020); Goodwill

Indus. of Central Okla., Inc. v. Phila. Indem. Ins. Co., ___ F. Supp.

3d ___, 2020 WL 6561315 (W.D. Okla. Nov. 9, 2020); Water Sports

Kauai, Inc. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co., ___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020

WL 6562332 (N.D. Cal. Nov. 9, 2020); Real Hospitality, LLC v.

Travelers Cas. Ins. Co. of Am., ___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020 WL

6503405 (S.D. Miss. Nov. 4, 2020); Raymond H. Nahmad DDS PA

v. Hartford Cas. Ins. Co., ___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020 WL 6392841

(S.D. Fla. Nov. 2, 2020); Travelers Cas. Ins. Co. v. Geragos and

Geragos, ___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020 WL 6156584 (C.D. Cal. Oct.

19, 2020); Seifert v. IMT Ins. Co., ___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020 WL

6120002 (D. Minn. Oct. 16, 2020); Harvest Moon Distributors,

LLC v. Southern-Owners Ins. Co., ___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020 WL

6018918 (M.D. Fla. Oct. 9, 2020); Vandelay Hosp. Group LP v.

Cincinnati Ins. Co., 2020 WL 5946863 (N.D. Tex. Oct. 7, 2020);

Henry’s Louisiana Grill, Inc. v. Allied Ins. Co., ___ F. Supp. 3d

25a

p. 7. Accordingly, the Court did not err when it chose

to apply the plain language of “direct physical loss”

rather than to “force[ ] or constrain [an] interpretation[ ] to create [. . .] ambiguit[y].” Max True Plastering v. Unites States Fid. & Guar. Co., 912 P.2d 861,

869 (Okla. 1996). Thus, because an ambiguity did

not exist, the Court need not defer to Goodwill’s

interpretation.

Lastly, Goodwill argues that it “should be provided

an opportunity to amend its Complaint to set forth

facts establishing a “tangible loss” and alternatively,

that “the Court’s [previous] Order implies that if these

facts were supplied (i.e., facts showing there was not

consideration for the [virus] endorsement), Goodwill’s

claim would not be dismissed.” Doc. No. 26, pp. 8–9.

However, the Court disagrees.

Goodwill did not properly file a motion for leave to

amend. Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a) gives parties a right to

___, 2020 WL 5938755 (N.D. Ga. Oct. 6, 2020); Mark’s Engine Co.

No. 28 Restaurant LLC v. The Travelers Indemn. Co., 2020 WL

5938689 (C.D. Cal., Oct. 2, 2020); Infinity Exhibits, Inc. v. Certain

Underwriters at Lloyd’s London, ___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020 WL

5791583, at *1 (M.D. Fla. Sept. 28, 2020); Mudpie, Inc. v.

Travelers Cas. Ins. Co. of America, 2020 WL 5525171 (N.D. Cal.

Sept. 14, 2020); Pappy’s Barber Shops, Inc. v. Farmers Grp., Inc.,

___ F. Supp. 3d ___, 2020 WL 5500221 (S.D. Cal. Sept. 11, 2020);

Plan Check Downtown III, LLC v. Amguard Ins. Co., 485 F. Supp.

3d 1225 (C.D. Cal., 2020); Turek Enterprises, Inc. v. State Farm

Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 484 F. Supp. 3d 492 (E.D. Mich. 2020); 10E,

LLC v. Travelers Indemnity Co., 483 F. Supp. 3d 828 (C.D. Cal.

2020); Diesel Barbershop, LLC, et al. v. State Farm Lloyds, 479 F.

Supp. 3d 353 (W.D. Tex. 2020); Rose’s 1, LLC v. Erie Ins. Exch.,

2020 WL 4589206 (D.C. Super. Aug. 06, 2020); The Inns by the

Sea v. California Mut. Ins. Co., Case No. 20-CV-001274 (Cal.

Super. Ct., Monterey Cnty. Aug. 6, 2020); Gavrilides Mgm’t Co.,

LLC v. Mich. Ins. Co., , 2020 WL 4561979 (Mich. Cir. Ct. July 21,

2020).

26a

amend pleadings once as a matter of course at any

time before a responsive pleading is served. Accordingly, Goodwill could have amended the Complaint

as of right after it received the motion to dismiss and

before the Court ruled on it. See, e.g., Glenn v. First

Nat. Bank in Grand Junction, 868 F.2d 368, 370 (10th

Cir. 1989). However, once the Court granted PIIC’s

motion to dismiss, Goodwill was required to obtain

leave of court or written consent from PIIC to amend

the Complaint. Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a)(2). The Tenth

Circuit has explained that

[a]fter a motion to dismiss has been granted,

plaintiffs must first reopen the case pursuant

to a motion under Rule 59(e) or Rule 60(b)

and then file a motion under Rule 15, and

properly apply to the court for leave to amend

by means of a motion which in turn complies

with Rule 7. In that event, in accordance with

Rule 15, “leave shall be freely given when

justice so requires.”

Glenn, 868 F.2d at 371 (internal citations omitted)

(emphasis added). Instead of properly following the

procedure laid out in Rule 15(a), in its Reply brief,

Goodwill requests that the Court provide an opportunity for it to amend its Complaint.2 Doc. No. 28, p. 2.

Further, though “Rule 59(e) permits a court to alter

or amend a judgment, [ ] it ‘may not be used to

relitigate old matters, or to raise arguments or present evidence that could have been raised prior to the

entry of judgment.’” Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, 554

U.S. 471, 485, n.5 (2008) (citing 11 C. Wright & A.

2

Goodwill first requests leave to amend in its initial Rule 59(e)

motion, Doc. No. 26, p. 1, but first provides its proposed amended

Complaint in its Reply brief. Doc. No. 28, pp. 8–9.

27a

Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure § 2810.1, pp.

127–128 (2d ed. 1995) (footnotes omitted)). Goodwill

did not follow the proper procedure for seeking leave

to amend because it did not seek leave prior to the

Court’s ruling on PIIC’s motion to dismiss and it

argued for leave within a motion to reconsider rather

than by filing a motion seeking leave to amend as

outlined in Rule 15(a).

Even though courts freely grant leave to amend

“when justice so requires,” Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a)(2),

leave to amend may not be granted when the party

opposing the motion shows “undue delay, bad faith or

dilatory motive on the part of the movant, repeated

failure to cure deficiencies by amendments previously

allowed, undue prejudice to the opposing party by

virtue of allowance of the amendment, [or] futility of

amendment.” Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 182

(1962); see also Castanon v. Cathey, 976 F.3d 1136,

1145 (10th Cir. 2020) (explaining limitations on the

general notion that amendment should be freely

given); Durham v. Xerox Corp., 18 F.3d 836, 840 (10th

Cir. 1994) (“[U]nexplained delay alone justifie[d] the

district court’s discretionary decision” to deny leave

to amend.). “A proposed amendment to a complaint is

futile if it would be subject to dismissal for any reason,

including that the amendment would not survive a

motion for summary judgment or a motion to dismiss.”

Weinstein v. U.S. Air Force, 468 F. Supp. 2d 1366, 1374

(D.N.M. 2006) (citing Watson ex rel. Watson v. Beckel,

242 F.3d 1237, 1239–40 (10th Cir. 2001); Gohier v.

Enright, 186 F.3d 1216, 1218 (10th Cir. 1999)).

Here, amending Goodwill’s Complaint would be

futile because it would not survive a motion to dismiss.

28a

As explained above, the Court found that a “direct

physical loss” unambiguously requires alleging some

tangible damage to property, and Goodwill did not

allege anything other than business closures due to

government orders. Doc. No. 24, p. 6. Plaintiff’s proposed amended complaint is no different. It alleges

that

closure orders [. . .] prohibited Goodwill from

accessing its property in response to dangerous physical conditions that constitute a

Covered Cause of Loss.

[. . .]

23. [. . .] Goodwill’s property was tangibly

damaged because it was likely customers,

employees, mail delivery persons, and/or

other visitors to the insured property prior to

Goodwill’s closure were infected with COVID19.

24. Goodwill’s property was also tangibly

damaged because it sustained tangible losses

of revenue as a result of the civil authority

mandated closure order.

25. As a result of the likely presence of

COVID-19 on or around Goodwill’s properties, Goodwill was deprived of the use of its

property.

26. Goodwill was required to suspend its

business operations to further prevent physical damages to the premises by the presence

or proliferation of COVID-19 and the physical

harm it could cause persons present on or

near Goodwill’s properties as COVID-19 is

physically transmitted by air and surfaces

29a

that remain infections (sic) for an extended

time.

Doc. No. 28-1, ¶¶ 20, 23–26.

Simply adding words such as “tangible” or “physical”

does not change the nature of Goodwill’s claims.

Just as this Court explained in its previous Order,

Goodwill is alleging that the closure orders rendered

its locations unusable. Doc. No. 24, p. 8. Goodwill does

not allege that any of its properties’ structures were

physically altered or damaged. Rather, the basis of

Goodwill’s claim is that it suffered economic loss

caused by government orders issued in response to

COVID-19. Such allegations are insufficient to state a

direct physical loss. See, e.g., Turek Enterprises, Inc. v.

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., No. 20-11655, 2020

WL 5258484 (E.D. Mich. Sept. 3, 2020) (economic loss

did not establish coverage under policy requiring

direct physical loss). Accordingly, granting Goodwill

leave to amend its allegations of a direct physical loss

would be futile because it still cannot plead a direct

physical loss under the Policy.

Alternatively, Goodwill argues it should be permitted to amend its Complaint in regard to the Virus

Endorsement as well.3 Specifically, Goodwill seeks to

plead that

no consideration was provided to Goodwill in

exchange for the addition of this endorsement. The endorsement was not part of the

3

Of the 113 federal district courts to consider a motion to

dismiss by an insurer with a virus endorsement in the policy, 108

granted the motion. See Outcome on Merits-Based Motions to

Dismiss, Covid Coverage Litigation Tracker, available at https://

cclt.law.upenn.edu/judicial-rulings, accessed March 11, 2021 (tracking district court rulings from July 15, 2020 to March 1, 2021).

30a

original Policy. By adding this endorsement,

Philadelphia limited Goodwill’s coverage with

no benefit conferred upon Goodwill in exchange.

Doc. No. 28-1, ¶ 14.

The parties do not dispute that Goodwill obtained

the Policy, No. PHPK1972850, underwritten by PIIC

“for a policy period from May 1, 2019 to May 1, 2020.”

Id. ¶ 5. Further, it is undisputed that the Virus

Endorsement was included in the Policy. Goodwill

apparently seeks to argue that the Virus Endorsement

was not part of “the original Policy.” Doc. No. 28-1,

¶ 14. Perhaps at one point in the relationship between

Goodwill and PIIC, Goodwill was insured under a

policy without a Virus Endorsement. However,

“Oklahoma courts have . . . held that ‘the renewal of

an insurance policy is a new contract.’” DalpaosLawrence v. Guideone Am. Ins. Co., 243 F. App’x 358,

363 (10th Cir. 2007) (citing Wynn v. Avemco Ins. Co., 963

P.2d 572, 574 (Okla. 1998)). Here, PIIC and Goodwill

renewed the Policy between the parties for the period

of May 1, 2019 to May 1, 2020. Doc. No. 28-1, ¶ 5. Once

the Policy was renewed, a new contract between the

parties was formed. This new contract clearly included

the Virus Endorsement. Doc. No. 1-1, p. 32. As this

Court stated previously, the “plain, unambiguous

meaning of the Virus [Endorsement] . . . [ ] negates

coverage.” Doc. No. 24, p. 10 (citing Turek, 2020 WL

5258484, at *9). For this reason, granting leave to

amend the Complaint would be futile.

In conclusion, the Court did not err in its interpretation of “direct physical loss” and amendment of the

Complaint would be futile. Therefore, Goodwill’s motion

to alter or amend judgment pursuant to Rule 59(e) is

hereby DENIED.

31a

IT IS SO ORDERED on this 11th day of March, 2021.

/s/ David L. Russell

DAVID L. RUSSELL

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

32a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF OKLAHOMA

[Filed November 9, 2020]

————

No. CV-20-511-R

————

GOODWILL INDUSTRIES OF CENTRAL OKLAHOMA, INC.,

d/b/a GOODWILL CAREER PATHWAYS INSTITUTE,

v.

Plaintiff,

PHILADELPHIA INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant.

————

ORDER

Before the Court is Defendant Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company’s (“PIIC”) Motion to Dismiss.

Doc. No. 8. Plaintiff, Goodwill Industries of Central

Oklahoma, Inc. (“Goodwill”), filed a Response to PIIC’s

Motion (Doc. No. 13), and PIIC filed a Reply in Support

of its Motion. Doc. No. 17. The Court finds as follows.

In considering a defendant’s Motion to Dismiss

under Rule 12(b)(6), the Court must determine

whether the plaintiff’s [Petition] contains enough

“facts to state a claim to relief that is plausible on its

face,” and whether the factual allegations “raise a

right to relief above the speculative level.” Bell Atl.

Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 555, 570 (2007)

(citations omitted).

33a

The Court must accept all the well-pleaded allegations of the Petition as true and must construe the

allegations in the light most favorable to Plaintiff.

Twombly, 550 U.S. at 555; Alvarado v. KOB–TV,

L.L.C., 493 F.3d 1210, 1215 (10th Cir. 2007). However,

the Court need not accept as true those allegations

that are conclusory in nature. Erikson v. Pawnee Cty.

Bd. of Cty. Comm’rs, 263 F.3d 1151, 1154–55 (10th Cir.

2001). “[C]onclusory allegations without supporting

factual averments are insufficient to state a claim

upon which relief can be based.” Hall v. Bellmon, 935

F.2d 1106, 1110 (10th Cir. 1991).

Goodwill is a not-for-profit corporation operating

in various locations throughout central Oklahoma.

Doc. No. 12, p. 2. PIIC is a Delaware corporation with

its principal place of business in Pennsylvania. Doc.

No. 1, ¶ 3.

Goodwill purchased a Commercial Lines Policy

(“the Policy”) underwritten by PIIC for the “period

from May 1, 2019 to May 1, 2020.” Doc. No. 1-1, p. 2.

The Policy provides “Business Income” coverage for

“the actual loss of Business Income you sustain due

to the necessary ‘suspension’ of your ‘operations’

during the ‘period of restoration.’” Doc. No. 1-4, p. 169.

The "‘suspension’ must be caused by direct physical

loss of or damage to property.” Id. It provides similar

coverage for “Extra Expenses” and for interruption

by means of “Civil Authority.” Id. at 169–70. The

parties agree that any coverage is conditioned on

Goodwill suffering a “direct physical loss of or damage

to property” operated by Goodwill throughout central

Oklahoma. Doc. No. 1-1, pp. 2–3.

Additionally, Goodwill alleges that “[PIIC] added an

endorsement to the Policy that purports to exclude

coverage for loss due to virus or bacteria.” Id. p. 5. The

34a

endorsement is titled “Exclusion of Loss Due to Virus

or Bacteria” (“Virus Endorsement”), and it “applies to

all coverage under all forms and endorsements . . .,

including . . . damage to buildings or personal property

and . . . business income, extra expense, or action of

civil authority.” Doc. No. 1-1, p. 100. It states that

“[PIIC] will not pay for loss or damage caused by or

resulting from any virus, bacterium or other microorganism that induces or is capable of inducing physical distress, illness or disease.” Doc. No. 1-1, p. 100.

On March 15, 2020, the Governor of Oklahoma

issued an Executive Order declaring a state of emergency as a result of the eighth case of the novel

coronavirus (“COVID-19”) in Oklahoma. Id. p. 3. Soon

after, mayors in cities across central Oklahoma required

the “suspension of non-essential businesses,” causing

Goodwill to close its locations in each respective city.

Id.

Goodwill sought a declaratory judgment in the

District Court of Cleveland County on May 6, 2020

that “[it] sustained a ‘direct physical loss’ and/or ‘risk

of direct physical loss’” from the mandated closures.

Doc. No. 1-1. On June 1, 2020, PIIC removed this

action from state court.

Goodwill argues that it alleged a direct physical

loss because the government-mandated COVID-19

closures caused it to “sustain[] direct physical loss or

damage to its property . . . covered by the Policy,” and

further, that PIIC cannot rely on the Virus Endorsement because it was added to the Policy without

consideration and is therefore void. Id. pp. 5, 7. PIIC

argues, however, that the Policy does not cover the

losses resulting from the closures because Goodwill

never suffered a direct physical loss, and even if it

35a

did, the Virus Endorsement excludes its recovery.1

Doc. No. 8, pp. 12, 14.

As discussed above, the Policy entitles Goodwill to

“various forms of coverage, such as business income,

extra expense, and interruption by civil authority,”

Doc. No. 13, p. 7, and Goodwill and PIIC agree that

“[a]ll of these coverages require direct physical loss

of or damage to Goodwill’s property.” Doc. No. 13, p. 7;

Doc. No. 1-1, ¶¶ 6–11. However, “[n]either ‘risk of

direct physical loss’ nor ‘direct physical loss’ is defined

in the Policy,” Doc. No. 1-1, ¶ 7, and the parties dispute

its definition.

PIIC argues that a direct physical loss is a “demonstrable, physical alteration of the property,” which

necessarily “exclude[s] alleged losses that are intangible or incorporeal and . . . unaccompanied by a distinct . . . alteration of the property.” Doc. No. 8, p. 15

(quoting 10A Couch on Ins. § 148:46) (emphasis in

original). Goodwill counters that a direct physical loss

results when “property is rendered unusable for its

intended purpose.” Doc. No. 13, p. 8 (citing Western

Fire Ins. Co. v. First Presbyterian Church, 437 P.2d

52, 39 (Colo. 1968); Matzner v. Seaco Ins. Co., No.

CIV.A.96-0498-B, 1998 WL 566658 at *4 (Mass. Super.

1998)).

1

PIIC also alleges that the Complaint fails to meet Rule 8’s

pleading requirement, arguing that a Complaint must contain “a

short and plaint statement of the claim showing that the pleader

is entitled to relief.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a)(2). The Court finds that

a short and plain statement was properly pled. PIIC also argues

that Goodwill’s “threadbare conclusions are insufficient to state

a claim,” Doc. No. 8, p. 10, and the Court addresses such allegations throughout its analysis of PIIC’s Rule 12(b)(6) discussion,

Doc. No. 8, pp. 12–20.

36a

Importantly, Goodwill does not allege that COVID19 infected its premises, but rather that its loss of

income arose from the suspension of its business in

compliance with the Governor’s Executive Order. Doc.

No. 1-1, ¶ 18. Without a definition in the policy, direct

physical loss “is accorded its ordinary, plain meaning

and enforced so as to carry out the parties’ intentions.”

Bituminous Cas. Corp. v. Cowen Const., Inc., 55 P.3d

1030, 1033 (Okla. 2002) (citing Phillips v. Estate of

Greenfield, 859 P.2d 1101, 1104 (Okla. 1993)).

“The interpretation of an insurance contract and

whether it is ambiguous is determined by the [C]ourt

as a matter of law.” Serra v. Estate of Broughton,

364 P.3d 637, 641 (Okla. 2015). The Court shall not

“force[ ] or constrain[ ] interpretations to create . . . [or]

construe ambiguities.” Max True Plastering v. U.S.

Fid. & Guar Co., 912 P.2d 861, 869 (Okla. 1996). Each

party is free to contract as it wishes and is bound

by the terms of the agreement. See Bennett v. The

Preferred Acc. Ins. Co. of N.Y., 192 F.2d 748, 751

(10th Cir. 1951) (interpreting a liability policy in

Oklahoma). Further, “the Court will not undertake to

rewrite . . . nor make . . . either party a better contract

than the one . . . executed.” Bituminous, 55 P.3d 1030

at 1033 (citing Max True Plastering, 912 P.2d at 869).

The Oklahoma Supreme Court has explained that

“terms of an insurance policy must be considered

not in a technical but in a popular sense, and . . .

according to their . . . accepted use in common speech.”

Serra, 364 P.3d at 642 n. 6 (Okla. 2015) ((citing Houston

v. Nat’l Gen. Ins. Co., 817 F.2d 83, 85 (10th Cir. 1987)

(quoting Nat’l Aviation Underwriters, Inc. v. Altus

Flying Serv., Inc., 555 F.2d 778, 782 (10th Cir. 1977))).

PIIC’s proffered definition resembles the common

use of the terms “direct,” “physical,” and “loss.” The

37a

Oklahoma Supreme Court has relied on dictionary

definitions to provide the common usage of terms;

see, e.g., U. S. Fid. & Guar. Co. v. Briscoe, 239 P.2d

754, 757 (Okla. 1951), and Merriam-Webster defines

“direct” as “proceeding from one point to another . . .

without deviation or interruption” or as “stemming

immediately from a source,” implying that a causal

connection must exist. Merriam Webster, https://www.

merriam-webster.com/dictionary/direct (last visited

Oct. 29, 2020). “Physical” is defined as “having

material existence” or as “relating to material things,”

and a “loss” is defined as a “deprivation.” Merriam

Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/

physical (last visited Oct. 29, 2020); Merriam Webster,

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/loss (last

visited Oct. 29, 2020). Thus, a direct physical loss

results from an actual, or material, deprivation of

Plaintiff’s property, which closely aligns with PIIC’s

proffered definition explaining that the Policy only

covers a “demonstrable, physical alteration of the

property . . . [which] exclude[s] alleged losses that are

intangible.” Doc. No. 8, p. 15.

Goodwill urges the Court to adopt a more expansive

definition of “direct physical loss.” Doc. No. 13, p. 8. It

argues that a direct physical loss includes a loss that

renders “property unusable for its intended purpose.”

Id. (citing Western Fire Ins. Co. v. First Presbyterian

Church, 437 P.2d 52, 55 (Colo. 1968)). In Western Fire,

the Colorado Supreme Court explained that “because

of the accumulation of gasoline around and under the

church building[,] the premises became so infiltrated

and saturated as to be uninhabitable,” and thus

caused a direct physical loss. Western Fire, 437 P.2d at

55. In two additional cases cited by Goodwill, the

plaintiff alleged that a direct physical loss occurred

because a physical substance entered the covered

38a

premises or somehow otherwise materially affected it.

See, e.g., Travco Ins. Co. v. Ward, 504 F. App’x 251 (4th

Cir. 2013) (toxic gasses within drywall); Matzner, 1998

WL 566658, at *4 (carbon monoxide levels rendered

building uninhabitable). Here, Goodwill did not allege

that any substance entered its premises or damaged

it, but only that the mandated closures rendered its

premises unusable. Doc. No. 13, p. 8.

Goodwill did not allege a “direct physical loss” under

the Policy because it only alleged an intangible loss

to its property. Doc. No. 13, p. 8. Specifically, Goodwill

alleged that “[a]s a result of this COVID-19 pandemic,

Goodwill sustained direct physical loss of or damage

to its property and will continue to sustain direct

physical loss of or damage to its property covered by

the Policy . . . .” Doc. No. 1-1, ¶ 18. As PIIC explains,

Goodwill does not describe “how the spread of a communicable disease nationally caused tangible physical

loss of or damage to any of [Goodwill’s] premises.” Doc.

No. 8, p. 7.

In similar insurance coverage cases brought due to

COVID-19 closures, district courts have repeatedly

held that “direct physical loss” requires showing

some “tangible damage.” See, e.g., Turek Enterprises,

Inc. v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., No. 20-11655,

2020 WL 5258484, at *8 (E.D. Mich. Sept. 3, 2020)

(interpreting direct physical loss as requiring “some

tangible damage to Covered Property.”); Mudpie, Inc.

v. Travelers Cas. Ins. Co. of Am., No. 20-CV-03213JST, 2020 WL 5525171, at *4 (N.D. Cal. Sept. 14,

2020) (“the damage contemplated by the Policy is

physical in nature”) (quoting Philadelphia Parking

Auth. v. Fed. Ins. Co., 385 F. Supp. 2d 280, 287

(S.D.N.Y. 2005)); but see Studio 417, Inc. v. Cincinnati

Ins. Co., No. 20-CV-03127-SRB, 2020 WL 4692385, at

39a

*6 (W.D. Mo. Aug. 12, 2020) (finding that the plaintiffs adequately alleged a direct physical loss when

they stated that “COVID-19 particles attached to and

damaged their property, which made their premises

unsafe and unusable.”). In Malaube, LLC v. Greenwich

Ins. Co., No. 20-22615-CIV, 2020 WL 5051581, at *1

(S.D. Fla. Aug. 26, 2020), the plaintiff had a policy

providing business income and personal property

insurance. The plaintiff closed its doors due to citywide orders preventing restaurants from hosting

patrons indoors, id., and subsequently sought a declaratory judgment that it suffered a direct physical loss.

Id. at 6–7. The district court held that the plaintiff’s

allegations were insufficient because “interruption in

business must be caused by some physical problem

with the covered property,” and the plaintiffs alleged

only that the citywide orders caused its closure. Id.

at 7 (quoting Philadelphia Parking Authority, 385 F.

Supp. 2d at 288).

This Court agrees with the other district courts’

holdings, finding that at a minimum, a plaintiff must

allege that a substance entered its premises or

attached to its surfaces to plead a “direct physical

loss.” Studio 417, 2020 WL 4692385, at *6. The district

court in Studio 417 concluded that the plaintiffs pled

a “direct physical loss” when the plaintiffs alleged that

“COVID-19 . . . attached to and deprived [p]laintiffs of

their property.” Id. at *4. The court ultimately denied

the Defendant’s motion to dismiss because the

plaintiffs in Studio 417 alleged a tangible loss. Id.

Here, however, Goodwill only states that the government’s mandated closures rendered it unusable, not

that COVID-19 “attached to [or] deprived [it] of [its]

property.” Id.

40a

Alleging a direct physical loss unambiguously

requires a showing of tangible damage. Goodwill

failed to allege it suffered any tangible damage, and

therefore, its claim is subject to dismissal.

Even if the Court applied an expansive definition of

direct physical loss, as Goodwill requests, its claim is

still subject to dismissal because the Virus Endorsement expressly excludes coverage. The Virus Endorsement provides that “there is no coverage under such

insurance for loss or damage caused by or resulting

from any virus, bacterium or other microorganism

that induces or is capable of inducing physical distress, illness or disease.” Doc. No. 1-1, p. 32. By its

terms, the exclusion applies because COVID-19 is a

virus that “is capable of inducing physical distress,

illness or disease.” Id.

Goodwill alleges, however, that the unambiguous

exclusion is inapplicable because it lacked consideration and it applies only in the event of “actual

contamination” on the premises rather than “suspected contamination.” Doc. No. 13, p. 18.

First, Goodwill argues that the Virus Endorsement

lacks consideration. Id., p. 3. It explains that “[i]t is

unclear what additional facts PIIC would have liked

Goodwill to plead on this issue. It is not possible,

nor is it required, for Goodwill to plead facts proving

a negative.” Id. Notwithstanding whether it is

“required . . . to . . . prov[e] a negative,” Goodwill must

plead facts that underlie its allegations. See Hall v.

Bellmon, 935 F.2d 1106, 1110 (10th Cir. 1991).

Goodwill did not plead any facts explaining why

the Virus Endorsement lacked consideration. Instead,

Goodwill stated that “[a]t some point, [PIIC] added an

endorsement to the Policy that purports to exclude

41a

coverage for loss due to virus or bacteria,”2 Doc. No. 11, ¶ 12, followed by a legal conclusion—that “no consideration was provided to Goodwill.” Id. The Court

will not credit such conclusory allegations. See

Erikson, 263 F.3d at 1154–55.

Goodwill additionally argues that the Virus Endorsement only applies in the event of “actual contamination” on the premises rather than “suspected contamination,” Doc. No. 13, p. 18, but this argument defeats

itself. First, the Virus Endorsement precludes coverage “resulting from” any virus “capable of inducing

physical distress, illness or disease,” indicating it

would encompass a scenario where “suspected contamination” qualifies. Doc. No. 1-4, p. 26 (emphasis added).

The mandated closures, which caused Goodwill to

seek declaratory judgment, resulted from the ability,

or capability, of COVID-19 to “induc[e] physical

distress, illness or disease.” Thus, even if Goodwill

alleged a Covered Loss, the Virus Endorsement would

exclude coverage.

Other district courts have reached the same conclusion. In Turek Enterprises, Inc. v. State Farm Mut.

Auto. Ins. Co., No. 20-11655, 2020 WL 5258484, at *9

(E.D. Mich. Sept. 3, 2020), the district court held that

even “assuming [p]laintiff has suffered an ‘accidental

direct physical loss to Covered Property,’ the Virus

Exclusion negates any coverage for [p]laintiff’s loss of

income or extra expense.” The Virus Exclusion in

Turek barred coverage for a loss caused by “[v]irus,

bacteria or other microorganism that induces or is

capable of inducing physical distress, illness, or

2

The Complaint does not clearly state when the endorsement

was added.

42a

disease,” just like the Virus Endorsement here. Turek,

2020 WL 5258484, at *8.

Here, “the plain, unambiguous meaning of the Virus

[Endorsement] . . . [also] negates coverage.” Turek,

2020 WL 5258484, at *9. Therefore, COVID-19 clearly

qualifies as a “virus” that caused Goodwill to close

its doors, which bars coverage under the Virus

Endorsement.

PIIC also argues that under Katz v. Gerardi, 655

F.3d 1212 (10th Cir. 2011), Goodwill is attempting to

utilize improper claim-splitting. Doc. No. 8, p. 19. PIIC

alleges Goodwill is seeking a declaration that it suffered a covered loss and if it is successful, that it will

pursue a second action to determine the “amounts . . .

due and owing.” Doc. No. 8, p. 20. However, in Katz,

the Court explained that the “test for claim splitting

is [. . .] whether the first suit . . . would preclude the

second suit.” 655 F.3d at 1218. Thus, until a second

suit is pending, dismissing Goodwill’s suit on claim

splitting grounds is inappropriate.

In conclusion, Goodwill’s claim is, as a matter of

law, not covered by the Policy with PIIC because

Goodwill did not suffer a direct physical loss. Furthermore, even if it did suffer a direct physical loss, the

plain meaning of the Virus Endorsement expressly

excludes Goodwill’s claim from coverage. Therefore,

Goodwill is not entitled to relief and PIIC’s motion to

dismiss is GRANTED in its entirety.

IT IS SO ORDERED on this 9th day of November

2020.

/s/ David L. Russell

DAVID L. RUSSELL

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

43a

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF OKLAHOMA

[Filed November 9, 2020]

————

No. CV-20-511-R

————

GOODWILL INDUSTRIES OF CENTRAL OKLAHOMA, INC.,

d/b/a Goodwill Career Pathways Institute,

v.

Plaintiff,

PHILADELPHIA INDEMNITY INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant.

————

JUDGMENT

In accordance with the Court’s Orders entered this

date, Plaintiff’s action is dismissed, and judgment is

entered in favor of the Defendant. ENTERED this 9th

day of November 2020.

/s/ David L. Russell

DAVID L. RUSSELL

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

44a

APPENDIX F

United States Code Annotated

Title 28. Judiciary and Judicial Procedure

(Refs & Annos)

Part IV. Jurisdiction and Venue (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 89. District Courts; Removal of Cases

from State Courts (Refs & Annos)

28 U.S.C.A. § 1446

§ 1446. Procedure for removal of civil actions

(a) Generally.—A defendant or defendants desiring

to remove any civil action from a State court shall

file in the district court of the United States for the

district and division within which such action is pending a notice of removal signed pursuant to Rule 11 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and containing a

short and plain statement of the grounds for removal,

together with a copy of all process, pleadings, and

orders served upon such defendant or defendants in

such action.

(b) Requirements; generally.—(1) The notice of

removal of a civil action or proceeding shall be filed

within 30 days after the receipt by the defendant,

through service or otherwise, of a copy of the initial

pleading setting forth the claim for relief upon which

such action or proceeding is based, or within 30 days

after the service of summons upon the defendant if

such initial pleading has then been filed in court and

is not required to be served on the defendant,

whichever period is shorter.

(2)(A) When a civil action is removed solely under

section 1441(a), all defendants who have been properly joined and served must join in or consent to the

removal of the action.

45a

(B) Each defendant shall have 30 days after

receipt by or service on that defendant of the initial

pleading or summons described in paragraph (1) to

file the notice of removal.

(C) If defendants are served at different times,

and a later-served defendant files a notice of

removal, any earlier-served defendant may consent

to the removal even though that earlier-served

defendant did not previously initiate or consent to

removal.

(3) Except as provided in subsection (c), if the case

stated by the initial pleading is not removable, a notice

of removal may be filed within 30 days after receipt

by the defendant, through service or otherwise, of a

copy of an amended pleading, motion, order or other

paper from which it may first be ascertained that the

case is one which is or has become removable.

(c) Requirements; removal based on diversity of

citizenship.—(1) A case may not be removed under

subsection (b)(3) on the basis of jurisdiction conferred

by section 1332 more than 1 year after commencement

of the action, unless the district court finds that the

plaintiff has acted in bad faith in order to prevent a

defendant from removing the action.

(2) If removal of a civil action is sought on the basis

of the jurisdiction conferred by section 1332(a), the

sum demanded in good faith in the initial pleading

shall be deemed to be the amount in controversy,

except that—

(A) the notice of removal may assert the amount

in controversy if the initial pleading seeks—

(i) nonmonetary relief; or

(ii) a money judgment, but the State practice

either does not permit demand for a specific sum

46a

or permits recovery of damages in excess of the

amount demanded; and

(B) removal of the action is proper on the basis

of an amount in controversy asserted under subparagraph (A) if the district court finds, by the

preponderance of the evidence, that the amount in

controversy exceeds the amount specified in section

1332(a).

(3)(A) If the case stated by the initial pleading is

not removable solely because the amount in controversy does not exceed the amount specified in section 1332(a), information relating to the amount in

controversy in the record of the State proceeding, or in

responses to discovery, shall be treated as an “other

paper” under subsection (b)(3).

(B) If the notice of removal is filed more than 1

year after commencement of the action and the

district court finds that the plaintiff deliberately

failed to disclose the actual amount in controversy

to prevent removal, that finding shall be deemed

bad faith under paragraph (1).

(c) Notice to adverse parties and State court.—

Promptly after the filing of such notice of removal of a

civil action the defendant or defendants shall give

written notice thereof to all adverse parties and shall

file a copy of the notice with the clerk of such State

court, which shall effect the removal and the State

court shall proceed no further unless and until the

case is remanded.

(d) Counterclaim in 337 proceeding.—With

respect to any counterclaim removed to a district

court pursuant to section 337(c) of the Tariff Act of

1930, the district court shall resolve such counterclaim in the same manner as an original complaint

47a

under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, except

that the payment of a filing fee shall not be required

in such cases and the counterclaim shall relate back

to the date of the original complaint in the proceeding

before the International Trade Commission under

section 337 of that Act.

[(f) Redesignated (e)]

(g) Where the civil action or criminal prosecution

that is removable under section 1442(a) is a proceeding in which a judicial order for testimony or documents is sought or issued or sought to be enforced, the

30-day requirement of subsection (b) of this section

and paragraph (1) of section 1455(b) is satisfied if the

person or entity desiring to remove the proceeding

files the notice of removal not later than 30 days

after receiving, through service, notice of any such

proceeding.

CREDIT(S)

(June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 939; May 24, 1949, c.

139, § 83, 63 Stat. 101; Pub.L. 89-215, Sept. 29, 1965,

79 Stat. 887; Pub.L. 95-78, § 3, July 30, 1977, 91 Stat.

321; Pub.L. 100-702, Title X, § 1016(b), Nov. 19, 1988,

102 Stat. 4669; Pub.L. 102-198, § 10(a), Dec. 9, 1991,

105 Stat. 1626; Pub.L. 103-465, Title III, § 321(b)(2),

Dec. 8, 1994, 108 Stat. 4946; Pub.L. 104-317, Title VI,

§ 603, Oct. 19, 1996, 110 Stat. 3857; Pub.L. 112-51,

§ 2(c), Nov. 9, 2011, 125 Stat. 545; Pub.L. 112-63, Title

I, §§ 103(b), 104, Dec. 7, 2011, 125 Stat. 760, 762.)

28 U.S.C.A. § 1446, 28 USCA § 1446

Current through P.L. 117-102. Some statute sections

may be more current, see credits for details.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Goodwill Industries of Central Oklahoma, Inc., dba Goodwill Career Pathways Institute, Petitioner v. Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company | Frix