Opinion

State ex rel. Banks v. Indus. Comm.

  • 2023 Ohio 4672
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Dec 21, 2023
Status
Published
On the bench
Boggs
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 45.0%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Banks v. Indus. Comm., 2023-Ohio-4672.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Tanisha S. Banks, :

Relator, :

No. 21AP-341

v. :

(REGULAR CALENDAR)

Industrial Commission of Ohio et al., :

Respondents. :

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on December 21, 2023

On brief: Nager, Romaine & Schneiberg Co., LPA, Jerald A.

Schneiberg, and C. Bradley Howenstein, for relator.

On brief: Dave Yost, Attorney General, and Anna Isupova,

for respondent, Industrial Commission of Ohio.

On brief: Meyers Roman, Friedberg & Lewis, and Steven P.

Dlott, for respondent, AAA Stamping, Inc.

IN MANDAMUS

ON OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S DECISION

BOGGS, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, Tanisha S. Banks (“Banks”), has filed this original action requesting

a writ of mandamus ordering respondent, Industrial Commission of Ohio (“commission”),

to deny respondent, AAA Stamping, Inc.’s, motion to terminate Banks’s temporary total

disability (“TTD”) compensation or alternatively to issue a limited writ of mandamus and

remand this matter back to the commission for rehearing on the merits.

{¶ 2} Pursuant to Civ.R. 53 and Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of Appeals,

this court referred the matter to a magistrate of this court. The magistrate issued the

appended decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law. The magistrate found

that the commission did not abuse its discretion, that the commission’s order was

No. 21AP-341 2

supported by some evidence, and recommended that this court deny Banks’s petition for a

writ of mandamus. (Mar. 17, 2023 Mag.’s Decision at 9-13.)

{¶ 3} On March 22, 2023, Banks filed her objections to the magistrate’s decision.

Therefore, we must independently review the decision to ascertain whether “the magistrate

has properly determined the factual issues and appropriately applied the law.” Civ.R.

53(D)(4)(d).

I. FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

{¶ 4} On December 18, 2018, Banks was injured in the course of her employment

with AAA Stamping, Inc., (“AAA”) when her hand was caught in a press. Her workers’

compensation claim was allowed for the following physical conditions: avulsion fracture of

middle phalanx, left third finger; amputation through middle phalanx, left second finger;

two-thirds loss of use of left second finger. On the date of the injury, Dr. Nick Lukens

completed a Physician’s Report of Work Ability (“MEDCO-14”), which stated that Banks

could return to work on January 19, 2019 if cleared by orthopedics. The commission

awarded Banks TTD compensation from December 19, 2018 through February 12, 2019.

{¶ 5} On December 28, 2018, Banks was on her way to AAA when she encountered

the plant manager on the street. (Record at 244-52.) The plant manager inquired about

how Banks was doing after her injury, but Banks did not respond. Instead, Banks handed

her uniform to the plant manager and asked about obtaining her retirement funds. Id.

Banks later completed her retirement forms and obtained the money she had contributed

to her retirement account. (Record at 268-70.)

{¶ 6} On January 9, 2019, AAA mailed a certified letter to Banks offering her light-

duty employment in accordance with any work restrictions that may be imposed by her

physician. (Record at 237-38.) AAA offered her a sedentary office administrative position

that involved only right-handed work with pay identical to Banks’s prior terms of

employment. Id.

{¶ 7} On January 18, 2019, Banks’s treating physician, Dr. Harry Hoyen,

completed a MEDCO-14 that indicated that Banks could work with the restriction of no use

of her left hand.

No. 21AP-341 3

{¶ 8} On April 15, 2019, Kathryn Wozniak, PA-C, reported in a MEDCO-14 that

while Banks could not perform her former position she could return to work with

restrictions.

{¶ 9} After having received no response from Banks on their initial letter offering

light-duty employment, AAA mailed another letter to Banks on April 19, 2019, offering her

the same office assistant position it had offered her in January. Banks did not respond to

the letter.

{¶ 10} On June 4, 2019, AAA filed a motion to terminate Banks’s TTD

compensation. On August 1, 2019, a district hearing officer (“DHO”), granted AAA’s motion

and terminated Banks’s TTD compensation, effective December 28, 2018, the date she

turned in her uniform and asked about her retirement account.

{¶ 11} On July 15, 2019, Kathryn Wozniak, PA-C, completed another MEDCO-14

that indicated the allowed conditions in Banks’s claim did not cause Banks to be

temporarily and totally disabled and that she could return to appropriate work with

restrictions.

{¶ 12} On August 9, 2019, Banks appealed the DHO’s order granting the motion to

terminate TTD compensation. On October 1, 2019, a staff hearing officer (“SHO”), affirmed

the DHO’s order. The SHO found that Banks’s actions were consistent with abandonment

of her employment. The SHO found that Banks had no intention of returning to her

employer, and did not return any phone calls or respond to any documents or offers of

employment that were sent to her. Based on a totality of the circumstances, the SHO

determined that those findings support a voluntary abandonment of the workforce. The

SHO also found that there was insufficient medical evidence to support that Banks was

disabled as a result of the allowed conditions in her claim.

{¶ 13} On July 12, 2021, Banks filed a petition requesting this court issue a writ of

mandamus to order the commission to deny the motion to terminate her TTD

compensation and to issue an order denying that motion. Alternatively, Banks asks this

court to remand this issue to the commission for a rehearing on the merits. (Compl. at 4.)

{¶ 14} The magistrate recommended that this court deny Banks’s request for a writ

of mandamus. The magistrate rejected Banks’s argument that the commission erred in

terminating her TTD compensation based on the doctrine of voluntary abandonment

No. 21AP-341 4

because the newly enacted R.C. 4123.56(F) abrogates that doctrine. The magistrate noted

that Banks’s injury and final adjudication occurred before the effective date of the new

statute, which therefore does not apply. (Mag.’s Decision at 9.) The magistrate similarly

rejected Banks’s argument that the commission abused its discretion in terminating her

TTD compensation retroactively to December 28, 2018, because she had been completely

taken off work from December 18, 2018 to January 19, 2019, based on the allowed

conditions in the claim. The magistrate found that argument also to be based on R.C.

4123.56(F), which cannot be retroactively applied to Banks’s case. Id. at 9. The magistrate

agreed with the DHO, who found that AAA sent Banks a bona fide offer of light-duty

employment, that Banks had never contacted AAA about returning to work, that the offer

properly identified the position offered and generally described its duties so that the

commission could determine whether the position was consistent with medical restrictions,

and that there was some evidence before the commission that Banks refused the good-faith

offer. Id. at 12. Finally, the magistrate found there was some evidence to support the

commission’s finding that Banks was not temporarily and totally disabled when the

employer made her a good-faith, light-duty job offer. The magistrate noted that the

commission weighed all the evidence in the record including several medical reports that

indicated that Banks could return to work, provided the restriction of no use of her injured

left hand. Id. at 13.

{¶ 15} In response to the magistrate’s decision, Banks submitted the following

objections:

(1) The magistrate erred as a matter of law in misinterpreting

the voluntary abandonment doctrine as discussed in [State

ex rel. Klein v. Precision Excavating & Grading Co., 155

Ohio St.3d 78, 2018-Ohio-3890] and [State ex rel. Ohio

State Univ. v. Pratt, 159 Ohio St.3d 527, 2022-Ohio-4111].

(2) The commission and magistrate never made a finding that

Banks voluntarily abandoned the work force and that there

is no evidence in the record that suggests she did.

(3) The magistrate erred in finding that the commission had

correctly determined that Relator was not disabled at the

time the employer made a good faith offer of suitable light

duty employment.

No. 21AP-341 5

(4) The magistrate incorrectly found that the January 18, 2019

and April 15, 2019 Medco-14s, indicating Relator could

work with just her right hand, was some evidence to support

the commission’s determination that Relator was not

temporary and totally disabled at the time the employer

made her a good-faith job offer.

II. ANALYSIS

{¶ 16} To be entitled to relief in mandamus, Banks must establish that she has a

clear legal right to relief, that the commission has a clear legal duty to provide such relief,

and that there is a lack of an adequate remedy in the ordinary course of law. State ex rel.

Pressley v. Indus. Comm., 11 Ohio St.2d 141, 152 (1967). To do so, Banks must demonstrate

that the commission abused its discretion in “that the commission’s decision was rendered

without some evidence to support it.” State ex rel. Burley v. Coil Packaging, Inc., 31 Ohio

St.3d 18, 20 (1987). Where the record contains some evidence to support the commission’s

findings, there has been no abuse of discretion, and mandamus is not appropriate. State

ex rel. Lewis v. Diamond Foundry Co., 29 Ohio St.3d 56, 58 (1987). Therefore, to be

entitled to a writ of mandamus, Banks must show that the commission’s decision is not

supported by some evidence in the record. State ex rel. Elliott v. Indus. Comm., 26 Ohio

St.3d 76, 79 (1986). We note that questions of credibility and the weight to be given to

evidence are clearly within the discretion of the commission as the fact finder. State ex rel.

Teece v. Indus. Comm., 68 Ohio St.2d 165, 169 (1981).

A. First and Second Objections to the Magistrate’s Decision

{¶ 17} Because they are related and dependent on one another, we now consider

Banks’s first two objections together. Banks argues that the magistrate erred as a matter of

law in misinterpreting the voluntary abandonment doctrine discussed in Klein and Pratt

and that neither the commission nor the magistrate made a finding that she voluntarily

abandoned the workforce.

{¶ 18} The laws governing workers’ compensation are set forth in Chapter 4123 of

the Ohio Revised Code for the general purpose of “provid[ing] that an employee who is

injured in the course of employment is entitled to receive ‘compensation for loss sustained

on account of the injury.’ ” State ex rel. Gross v. Indus. Comm., 115 Ohio St.3d 249, 2007-

Ohio-4916, ¶ 7, quoting R.C. 4123.54(A). R.C. 4123.56 controls compensation in cases of

No. 21AP-341 6

temporary disability and explicitly outlines circumstances when TTD payments will not be

made:

[P]ayment shall not be made for the period when any employee

has returned to work, when an employee’s treating physician

has made a written statement that the employee is capable of

returning to the employee’s former position of employment,

when work within the physical capabilities of the employee is

made available by the employer or another employer, or when

the employee has reached the maximum medical

improvement.

R.C. 4123.56(A).

{¶ 19} In Klein, the Supreme Court of Ohio interpreted R.C. 4123.56 and held that,

“when a claimant voluntarily removes himself from his former position of employment for

reasons unrelated to a workplace injury, he is no longer eligible for temporary-total-

disability compensation, even if the claimant remains disabled at the time of his separation

from employment.” Klein, 2018-Ohio-3890 at ¶ 29.

{¶ 20} In 2020, the Ohio legislature enacted 2020 Ohio Am.Sub.H.B. No. 81 (“H.B.

No. 81”) to, in part, supersede judicial decisions applying the voluntary abandonment

doctrine from Klein. H.B. No. 81 added an entirely new section to R.C. 4123.56, which

states:

If an employee is unable to work or suffers a wage loss as the

direct result of an impairment arising from an injury or

occupational disease, the employee is entitled to receive

compensation under this section, provided the employee is

otherwise qualified. If an employee is not working or has

suffered a wage loss as the direct result of reasons unrelated to

the allowed injury or occupational disease, the employee is not

eligible to receive compensation under this section. It is the

intent of the general assembly to supersede any previous

judicial decision that applied the doctrine of voluntary

abandonment to a claim brought under this section.

R.C. 4123.56(F).

{¶ 21} R.C. 4123.56(F) did not take effect until after Banks’s workplace injury and

after the commission’s final determination to terminate her TTD, and compensation cannot

be retroactively applied to this case. (Mag.’s Decision at 6, citing Pratt at ¶ 10, fn 2.)

No. 21AP-341 7

{¶ 22} In Pratt, which was decided after the enactment of R.C. 4123.56(F), the

Supreme Court explained its prior decision in Klein. It held that voluntary abandonment

is not simply an employee abandoning their former position of employment but

abandoning the workforce. “[I]n other words,” the question is, “do the circumstances

indicate that the injured worker would be working—somewhere—but for the injury?” Pratt,

2022-Ohio-4111 at ¶ 24. In Pratt, the employee had submitted a resignation letter and

accepted a job offer with another employer shortly before sustaining an injury at her current

workplace. The employer moved the commission to terminate the employee’s TTD

compensation based on the employee’s resignation letter, as proof of her abandoning her

former position of employment. The Supreme Court found that the commission did not

abuse its discretion by finding no voluntary abandonment because “but for the work injury,

Pratt would have been gainfully employed at [the new employer] during the period for

which she sought TTD compensation.” Id. at ¶ 26.

{¶ 23} Here, Banks argues that the magistrate did not properly apply Klein and Pratt

because he looked only to whether Banks voluntarily abandoned her former position, rather

than the workforce. We do not agree.

{¶ 24} The magistrate correctly noted, “Pursuant to Klein and Pratt, the key

question is whether the injured worker who is no longer in the former position has

abandoned the workforce, not merely abandoned [her] former position.” (Mag.’s Decision

at 9-10.) The magistrate then found there was evidence in the record from which the

commission could determine there was a voluntary abandonment of both Banks’s prior

employment and the workforce. The determination of voluntary abandonment “requires

consideration of all relevant circumstances existing at the time of the alleged

abandonment.” Klein at ¶ 43, citing State ex rel. Diversitech Gen. Plastic Film Div. v. Indus.

Comm., 42 Ohio St.3d 381, 383 (1989). We note that Banks turned in her uniform shortly

after her injury and inquired about withdrawing funds from her retirement account. Banks

ultimately withdrew the funds from her retirement account and failed to respond to

multiple offers of light-duty employment that were consistent with her medical restrictions.

Banks admitted that she had received phone calls and documents from AAA but did not

respond. This is some evidence in the record for the magistrate and the commission to find

No. 21AP-341 8

that Banks’s wage loss was due to her voluntary abandonment of employment and was not

due to her workplace injury.

{¶ 25} We also agree with the magistrate that the absence of evidence that Banks

was working anywhere or planned to work anywhere suggests that there was a voluntary

abandonment of the workforce, unrelated to her work injury. (Mag.’s Decision at 10).

Banks does not contest the findings of both the DHO and the SHO that she did not intend

to return to work for AAA, but unlike the employee in Pratt, Banks did not offer evidence

of another job offer or acceptance of another job offer to signify she had not more broadly

abandoned the workforce. See Pratt at ¶ 26. While we do not anticipate or expect every

injured worker receiving TTD to have a job offer on hand should they choose not to return

to employment with their former employer, Banks does not offer any evidence, such as

submitted employment applications, that she had sought out alternative employment

consistent with her medical restrictions. This serves as further indication that she had

voluntarily abandoned the workforce.

{¶ 26} Banks argues that the magistrate and commission erred in finding that she

had voluntarily abandoned her former position on December 28, 2018 because she was

unable to work at that time as the result of the allowed conditions in her claim. However,

as the magistrate concluded, this argument is based on R.C. 4123.56(F), which we have

determined is inapplicable here, rather than on the law in effect at the time the commission

made its determination. Under Klein and Pratt, this court must look to whether Banks

would have been working, somewhere, but for her workplace injury. The magistrate found

some evidence to support the commission’s finding that Banks voluntarily abandoned the

workforce on December 28, 2018, and that her wage loss was due to her voluntary

abandonment and not her workplace injury. We agree. Accordingly, we overrule Banks’s

first and second objections to the magistrate’s decision.

B. Third and Fourth Objections to the Magistrate’s Decision

{¶ 27} We now turn to Banks’s objections regarding AAA’s job offers of light-duty

work. Under R.C. 4123.56(A), TTD payments shall not be made “when work within the

physical capabilities of the employee is made available by the employer or another

employer.” In State ex rel. Ellis Super Valu, Inc. v. Indus. Comm., 115 Ohio St.3d 224,

2007-Ohio-4920, ¶ 13, the Supreme Court held that R.C. 4123.56(A) must be read in pari

No. 21AP-341 9

materia with Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-32(A)(6), which provides, “ ‘[j]ob offer’ means a

proposal, made in good faith, of suitable employment within a reasonable proximity of the

injured worker’s residence.” “Suitable employment” simply means “work which is within

the employee’s physical capabilities.” Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-32(A)(3).

{¶ 28} Banks first argues that the magistrate erred in determining that there was

some evidence in the record to support the commission’s determination that Banks was not

temporarily and totally disabled at the time AAA made its offers of employment. Banks

also argues that the magistrate erred in finding that the January 18, 2019 and April 15, 2019

MEDCO-14s, which indicated that Banks could work with just her right hand, were some

evidence to support the commission’s determination that Banks was not temporarily and

totally disabled at the time the employer made her a good-faith job offer. We consider these

arguments together.

{¶ 29} Mandamus is an extraordinary remedy. It is well-established that mandamus

will not lie where there is some evidence to support the finding of the Industrial

Commission. See State ex rel. Mees v. Indus. Comm., 29 Ohio St.2d 128, 131 (1972). Where

there is no evidence upon which the commission could have based its factual findings, the

commission abuses its discretion and mandamus becomes appropriate. State ex rel.

Hutton v. Indus. Comm. 29 Ohio St.2d 9, 13 (1972), State ex rel. Kramer v. Indus. Comm.,

59 Ohio St.2d 39, 42 (1979). An abuse of discretion is present only “[w]here there is no

evidence upon which the commission could have based its factual conclusion.” State ex rel.

Teece v. Indus. Comm., 68 Ohio St.2d 165, 167 (1986).

{¶ 30} Banks has not met this high burden. The magistrate correctly concluded

there is no abuse of discretion here because there is some evidence in the record to suggest

that Banks was not temporarily and totally disabled when she was offered light-duty

employment consistent with her medical restrictions. The magistrate noted that the

commission is entitled to weigh evidence in the record and that, in doing so, it found the

MEDCO-14s from January 18, 2019 and April 15, 2019 to be credible. The DHO found that

those two reports indicated “that [Banks] was able to work with restrictions, having no use

of her left hand.” (Record at 282.) We agree with the magistrate that those reports

constitute some evidence to support the commission’s determination. While Banks points

to other MEDCO-14s that she argues show she was unable to work or return to her former

No. 21AP-341 10

position we will not endeavor to reweigh the evidence in place of the commission. “The

commission is solely responsible for evaluating evidentiary weight and credibility.” State

ex rel. Hart v. Indus. Comm., 66 Ohio St.3d 95, 97 (1993), citing Burley, 31 Ohio St.3d 18,

20-21; State ex rel. Ohio Bell Tel. Co. v. Krise, 42 Ohio St.2d 247, 254 (1975). Therefore,

we find no error in the magistrate’s decision and no abuse of discretion by the commission.

{¶ 31} Banks also argues that AAA’s offers of light-duty work were not made in good

faith, since one of the offers was made prior to when the December 18, 2018 MEDCO-14

cleared her for work. As the magistrate noted, however, Banks does not identify any case

law that indicates that in order for the job offer to be made in good faith it must be offered

at specific times. A “job offer” must be made in good faith and be of suitable employment

within a reasonable proximity of the injured worker’s home. Under Ohio Adm.Code 4121-

3-32(A)(6), the job offer “shall identify the position offered and shall include a description

of the duties required of the position and clearly specify the physical demands of the job.”

Here, there was ample evidence in the record to indicate that there was a good faith offer of

suitable employment in accordance with law. The light-duty position’s job duties were

consistent with Banks’s medical restrictions, and the job offers clearly specified the duties

and physical demands of the job. (Record 237-38, 217.) The job offers also indicated work

hours, pay, and allowed breaks. Id. The magistrate correctly determined that there was

some evidence before the commission to support that Banks, who failed to respond to the

job offers from AAA, refused a good-faith job offer.

{¶ 32} Ultimately, Banks has failed to demonstrate that she has a clear legal right to

the relief she has requested and that the commission had a clear legal duty to provide that

relief. See Klein at ¶ 44. Accordingly, we overrule Banks’s third and fourth objections to the

magistrate’s decision.

{¶ 33} While we do not agree with Banks’s objections to the magistrate’s decision

and do not issue a writ of mandamus here, we note that the magistrate’s findings of fact

stated that Banks’s requested relief was for “this court [to] issue a writ of mandamus

ordering the commission to vacate its order that denied claimant’s request for TTD

compensation, and to issue an order granting claimant’s request for TTD compensation.”

(Mag.’s Decision at 5.) However, Banks’s complaint requested this court to “issue a full

[w]rit of [m]andamus denying the [m]otion, or in the alternative, a [l]imited [w]rit,

No. 21AP-341 11

remand[ing] this issue back to the Industrial Commission for re-hearing on the merits.”

(Compl. at 4.) Thus, the magistrate’s findings of fact number 15 is inaccurate. Accordingly,

we strike the language “ordering the commission to vacate its order that denied claimant’s

request for TTD compensation, and to issue an order granting claimant’s request for TTD

compensation” and insert “denying employer’s motion, or in the alternative, remand this

issue back to the commission for rehearing on the merits.” Apart from said stricken phrase,

we adopt the remainder of the magistrate’s factual findings with the inserted language.

III. CONCLUSION

{¶ 34} Following an independent review of this matter, we find the magistrate has

properly determined the facts and applied the appropriate law. Therefore, we overrule

Banks’s four objections to the magistrate’s decision and adopt the magistrate’s decision,

including the findings of fact and conclusions of law contained therein, as our own with the

substitution of the finding of fact stating Banks’s requested relief as discussed above. In

accordance with the magistrate’s decision, we deny Banks’s request for a writ of mandamus.

Writ of mandamus denied.

JAMISON and LELAND, JJ., concur.

No. 21AP-341 12

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Tanisha S. Banks, :

Relator, :

v. : No. 21AP-341

Industrial Commission of Ohio et al., : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Respondents. :

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

Rendered on March 17, 2023

Nager, Romaine & Schneiberg Co., LPA, Jerald A.

Schneiberg, and C. Bradley Howenstein, for relator.

Dave Yost, Attorney General, and Anna Isupova, for

respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 35} Relator, Tanisha Banks ("claimant"), has filed this original action requesting

this court issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio

("commission") to vacate its order that denied claimant's request for temporary total

disability ("TTD") compensation, and to issue an order granting claimant's request for TTD

compensation. The commission has also filed a March 25, 2022, motion to strike portions

of claimant's reply brief that raised new arguments.

No. 21AP-341 13

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 36} 1. On December 18, 2018, claimant sustained an injury in the course of her

employment with respondent AAA Stamping, Inc. ("employer"), when her hand was caught

in a press. Her workers' compensation claim was allowed for the following conditions:

avulsion fracture of middle phalanx, left third finger; amputation through middle phalanx,

left second finger; two-thirds loss of use of left second finger; major depression disorder

moderate, single episode with anxious distress; and post-traumatic stress disorder.

{¶ 37} 2. On December 18, 2018, the date of the injury, Nick Lukens, M.D.,

completed a Physician's Report of Work Ability ("MEDCO-14"), which indicated claimant

could return to work on January 19, 2019, and claimant could not return to work until

cleared by orthopedics.

{¶ 38} 3. On December 28, 2018, while traveling to her employer's location, she

passed the plant manager on the street and handed her uniform to the manager and asked

for information to obtain retirement forms. Subsequently, claimant completed the

retirement forms and received the funds that she had contributed to her account.

{¶ 39} 4. On January 9, 2019, the employer mailed a certified letter to claimant

offering her a light-duty job, and described the position. The letter indicated that the days,

hours, and pay would be the same as her former position. Claimant refused the letter.

{¶ 40} 5. On January 18, 2019, claimant's treating physician, Harry A. Hoyen, M.D.,

completed a MEDCO-14, indicating claimant was able to work with restrictions, with no

use of her left hand.

{¶ 41} 6. Claimant applied for TTD compensation, and on February 11, 2019, the

Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation ("BWC") awarded TTD compensation from

December 19, 2018, through February 12, 2019, continuing upon submission of medical

evidence. The employer did not appeal this order, and claimant commenced receiving

compensation.

{¶ 42} 7. On April 15, 2019, Kathryn Wozniak, PA-C, completed a MEDCO-14, in

which she indicated that claimant could not return to her former position of employment

but could return to available and appropriate work with restrictions.

{¶ 43} 8. Because claimant had not replied to the January 9, 2019, offer of

employment, the employer mailed another letter to claimant in April 2019, offering a light-

No. 21AP-341 14

duty job position as an office assistant. The letter described the duties, position title, work

hours, start date, location, and permitted breaks. Claimant did not respond to the letter.

{¶ 44} 9. On June 4, 2019, the employer filed a C-86 motion to terminate claimant's

TTD compensation.

{¶ 45} 10. On July 15, 2019, Wozniak completed another MEDCO-14, in which she

indicated that the allowed conditions did not cause claimant to be temporarily and totally

disabled. She also indicated that claimant could not return to her former position of

employment but could return to available and appropriate work with restrictions.

{¶ 46} 11. A hearing was held before a district hearing officer ("DHO") on July 25,

2019, and in an August 1, 2019, order, the DHO found the following: (1) the C-86 motion

filed by employer is granted; (2) TTD compensation is terminated effective December 28,

2018; (3) the evidence and testimony at the hearing supports a finding that claimant

voluntarily abandoned her former position of employment, effective December 28, 2018;

(4) on December 28, 2018, claimant was en route to employer's business in a vehicle when

she passed the plant manager on an auxiliary street, she handed the manager her uniforms

through the window, and inquired about obtaining forms for her retirement; (5) claimant

completed the retirement forms and received the money that she had contributed into her

retirement and cashed the check; (6) although claimant did not indicate to her manager at

that time that she had quit, the DHO is not persuaded that it was her intention to ever

return to her former position of employment; (7) the January 18 and April 15, 2019,

MEDCO-14 reports indicate that claimant was able to work with restrictions, having no use

of her left hand; (8) employer tendered a bona fide offer of light-duty employment to

claimant, and at no time from December 28, 2018, through the date of the DHO hearing

had claimant ever contacted employer about returning to employment within the

restrictions as set forth by her physician; (9) the evidence substantiates that claimant was

released to return to light-duty employment with restrictions on two separate dates, and

claimant never contacted employer with respect to the job offer; (10) claimant confirmed

that she had received the offers of light-duty employment and would have returned to work

when she felt she was fully able to resume her duties; (11) claimant testified she was very

upset by the way she had been treated by employer, advising them the day before the

accident that her machine was smoking; (12) claimant believed that if someone had tended

No. 21AP-341 15

to the machine when she complained about it smoking, her injury would not have

happened; (13) the April 15 and July 15, 2019, MEDCO-14 forms specifically indicate that

the allowed conditions were not causing claimant to be temporarily and totally disabled;

thus, in addition to the voluntary abandonment, the two MEDCO-14 forms fail to

substantiate the requested disability as being causally related to the industrial injury; (14)

the manifest weight of the evidence supports a finding of voluntary retirement, requiring

termination of TTD compensation effective December 28, 2018; and (15) the C-86 motion

is granted. Claimant appealed.

{¶ 47} 12. A July 31, 2019, MEDCO-14 from Dominic Haynesworth, M.D., indicated

that claimant was unable to work in any capacity from July 31 through October 31, 2019.

{¶ 48} 13. A hearing was held before a staff hearing officer ("SHO") on September 6,

2019. On October 1, 2019, the SHO issued an order affirming the DHO order and granting

the employer's motion to terminate TTD compensation, effective December 28, 2018,

finding the following: (1) employer's June 4, 2019, C-86 motion is granted; (2) employer

has met its burden of proof that claimant abandoned her place of employment effective

December 28, 2018, and TTD compensation is terminated as of that date; (3) claimant's

actions are consistent with abandonment of her employment, in that on December 28,

2018, claimant was on her way to work to turn in her uniform and resign, passed the plant

manager on the street, gave him her uniform, and asked about having her money

withdrawn into a retirement account; claimant also completed the necessary forms and

received her money from the account; (4) claimant had no intentions of returning to the

instant employer in the future; subsequently, the employer attempted to contact claimant

on more than one occasion regarding her intentions of returning to work, but claimant

never returned any phone calls or responded to any documents sent to her in the mail; (5)

when the employer received the January 18 and April 15, 2019, MEDCO-14 forms indicating

that claimant could return to work with restrictions, the employer contacted claimant about

returning to work, but claimant did not respond; (6) claimant confirmed at the hearing that

she received the phone calls and documents from the employer, but did not respond

because she intended never to return to work there again because of the injury; and (7)

there was insufficient medical evidence to support that claimant was disabled as a result of

the allowed conditions of the claim. Claimant appealed.

No. 21AP-341 16

{¶ 49} 14. On October 18, 2019, the commission refused claimant's appeal.

{¶ 50} 15. On July 12, 2021, claimant filed a complaint for writ of mandamus,

requesting that this court issue a writ of mandamus ordering the commission to vacate its

order that denied claimant's request for TTD compensation, and to issue an order granting

claimant's request for TTD compensation.

{¶ 51} 16. On March 25, 2022, the commission filed a motion to strike portions of

claimant's reply brief on the basis that the reply brief raised four new arguments not raised

in claimant's merit brief or in the commission's brief.

Conclusions of Law and Discussion:

{¶ 52} The magistrate recommends that this court deny the claimant's request for a

writ of mandamus.

{¶ 53} In order for this court to issue a writ of mandamus, a relator must ordinarily

show a clear legal right to the relief sought, a clear legal duty on the part of the respondent

to provide such relief, and the lack of an adequate remedy in the ordinary course of the law.

State ex rel. Pressley v. Indus. Comm., 11 Ohio St.2d 141 (1967).

{¶ 54} A clear legal right to a writ of mandamus exists where the relator shows that

the commission abused its discretion by entering an order that is not supported by any

evidence in the record. State ex rel. Elliott v. Indus. Comm., 26 Ohio St.3d 76 (1986). On

the other hand, where the record contains some evidence to support the commission's

findings, there has been no abuse of discretion and mandamus is not appropriate. State ex

rel. Lewis v. Diamond Foundry Co., 29 Ohio St.3d 56 (1987). Furthermore, questions of

credibility and the weight to be given evidence are clearly within the discretion of the

commission as fact finder. State ex rel. Teece v. Indus. Comm., 68 Ohio St.2d 165 (1981).

{¶ 55} TTD compensation awarded pursuant to R.C. 4123.56 is compensation for

wages lost where a claimant's injury prevents a return to the former position of

employment. Upon that predicate, TTD compensation shall be paid to a claimant until one

of four things occurs: (1) the claimant has returned to work; (2) the claimant's treating

physician provides a written statement that the claimant is able to return to the former

position of employment; (3) work within the physical capabilities of the claimant is made

available by the employer or another employer; or (4) the claimant has reached maximum

No. 21AP-341 17

medical improvement. R.C. 4123.56(A); State ex rel. Ramirez v. Indus. Comm., 69 Ohio

St.2d 630 (1982).

{¶ 56} R.C. 4123.56, which was amended by H.B. No. 81, effective September 15,

2020, modified the prior version of R.C. 4123.56 by adding the following entirely new

language pertaining to voluntary abandonment:

(F) If an employee is unable to work or suffers a wage loss as

the direct result of an impairment arising from an injury or

occupational disease, the employee is entitled to receive

compensation under this section, provided the employee is

otherwise qualified. If an employee is not working or has

suffered a wage loss as the direct result of reasons unrelated

to the allowed injury or occupational disease, the employee is

not eligible to receive compensation under this section. It is

the intent of the general assembly to supersede any previous

judicial decision that applied the doctrine of voluntary

abandonment to a claim brought under this section.

R.C. 4123.56(F).

{¶ 57} R.C. 4123.56(F) does not apply to cases decided by the commission before the

effective date of September 15, 2020. State ex rel. Ohio State Univ. v. Pratt, __ Ohio St.3d

__, 2022-Ohio-4111, ¶ 10, fn. 2. As the court in Pratt explained, State ex rel.

Klein v. Precision Excavating & Grading Co., 155 Ohio St.3d 78, 2018-Ohio-3890, decided

September 27, 2018, applies to voluntary-abandonment cases in which the commission

issues its final order after Klein was decided. Id.

{¶ 58} In Klein, the claimant suffered an industrial accident on November 5, 2014,

and a physician's report indicated he was unable to work from that date through January 5,

2015. The claimant requested TTD compensation. The claimant testified before the DHO

that he had been planning to move to Florida prior to the injury, he had told others that he

planned to move to Florida prior to the injury, and claimant informed the employer that he

was moving to Florida on October 31, 2014, nearly one week before the injury. The DHO

granted claimant's TTD compensation claim for the closed period of November 6 through

19, 2014, finding that claimant voluntarily terminated his employment on November 20,

2014, for reasons unrelated to the workplace injuries. The order was affirmed by the SHO,

and the commission refused additional appeals. Upon a writ of mandamus, this court

No. 21AP-341 18

concluded that, because claimant was medically unable to return to work, he was unable to

voluntarily abandon his employment on that date.

{¶ 59} The Supreme Court of Ohio, overruling aspects of prior case law, reversed

this court's decision, reasserting the fundamental tenet of eligibility for TTD compensation

that the injury must cause the claimant's loss of earnings. The court in Klein explained that

"when a claimant removes himself from employment for reasons unrelated to the work-

related injury, he is no longer eligible for temporary-total-disability compensation." Id. at

¶ 19, citing State ex rel. McCoy v. Dedicated Transport, Inc., 97 Ohio St.3d 25, 2002-Ohio-

5305, ¶ 38. The court further explained that, "In those circumstances, the voluntary

abandonment—and not the injury—causes the loss of wages." Id. Thus, "an employee who

quit[s] his job for reasons unrelated to his workplace injury [i]s ineligible for temporary-

total-disability compensation." Id. at ¶ 20, citing State ex rel. McGraw v. Indus. Comm., 56

Ohio St.3d 137 (1990). "[I]t would not serve the purpose of temporary-total-disability

compensation to award compensation to a worker whose own actions, and not his

workplace injury, have prevented his return to his former position of employment." Id. at ¶

22, citing State ex rel. Ashcraft v. Indus. Comm., 34 Ohio St.3d 42, 43-44 (1987).

{¶ 60} The Supreme Court of Ohio clarified Klein in Pratt. In Pratt, on June 20,

2017, Pratt submitted a letter of resignation to her employer, the Ohio State University,

indicating that her last day of work would be July 5. On June 24, she sustained injuries

while working for Ohio State. Ohio State allowed her workers' compensation claim. On

June 28, Pratt received a written offer of employment from Sweet Carrot, with work to

commence in late summer/early fall of 2017, and Pratt accepted the offer. Pratt requested

TTD compensation commencing from the date of her injury, and although Ohio State

initially granted TTD compensation, Ohio State later asked the commission to terminate

TTD compensation based on her resignation letter. A district hearing officer ("DHO")

granted the request, finding that Pratt's voluntary departure from employment by virtue of

her resignation precluded receipt of TTD compensation. A staff hearing officer ("SHO")

vacated the DHO's order and denied Ohio State's request to terminate TTD compensation,

citing Sweet Carrot’s job offer. The SHO found that Pratt did not voluntarily abandon the

workforce when she announced her resignation from employment with Ohio State because,

prior to writing the resignation letter, Pratt had been in discussions with Sweet Carrot for

No. 21AP-341 19

a new job, demonstrating that Pratt did not intend to abandon the workforce. In a

mandamus action filed by Ohio State, this court interpreted Klein as premising voluntary

abandonment on an injured worker's departure from the former position of employment

rather than the workforce, and found that employment benefits cannot be provided to a

claimant who voluntarily removes herself from her former position of employment for

reasons unrelated to the workplace injury. This court granted a writ ordering the

commission to vacate its order, awarded TTD compensation through July 5, 2017 (the

effective date of Pratt's resignation from Ohio State), and denied compensation for periods

thereafter.

{¶ 61} On appeal, in Pratt, the Supreme Court of Ohio held that the key question is

whether an injured worker who is no longer in the former position has abandoned the

workforce, not merely abandoned the former position. Thus, a court must determine

whether the surrounding circumstances demonstrate a voluntary abandonment of the

workforce—permanent or temporary—such that the injured worker's wage loss is not the

result of the work injury. In other words, do the circumstances indicate that the injured

worker would be working—somewhere—but for the injury? In making this determination,

a court must look at the worker’s intent, which may be inferred from words spoken, acts

done, and other objective facts, and all relevant circumstances existing at the time of the

alleged abandonment.

{¶ 62} In concluding that the circumstances in Pratt showed that claimant had not

abandoned the workforce and would have been working somewhere but for the injury, the

court noted that the commission cited the Sweet Carrot job offer, Pratt's acceptance of that

offer, and Pratt's hearing testimony in support of its finding. Thus, the court concluded,

because Ohio State failed to show that the commission's order was unsupported by

evidence in the record or that it was contrary to law, Ohio State did not establish that the

commission abused its discretion.

{¶ 63} R.C. 4123.56(A) provides that payment for TTD compensation "shall not be

made" for periods "when work within the physical capabilities of the employee is made

available by the employer." In State ex rel. Ellis Super Valu, Inc. v. Indus. Comm., 115 Ohio

St.3d 224, 2007-Ohio-4920, ¶ 13, the Supreme Court held that R.C. 4123.56(A) must be

read in pari materia with Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-32(A)(6), which provides, " '[j]ob offer'

No. 21AP-341 20

means a proposal, made in good faith, of suitable employment within a reasonable

proximity of the injured worker's residence." "Suitable employment" simply means "work

which is within the employee's physical capabilities." Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-32(A)(3). The

suitability of a light-duty job offer is a question of fact to be determined by the commission.

State ex rel. Pacheco v. Indus. Comm., 10th Dist. No. 15AP-1033, 2017-Ohio-8971, ¶ 17.

{¶ 64} Collateral estoppel, or issue preclusion, "prevents parties or their privies from

relitigating facts and issues in a subsequent suit that were fully litigated in a prior suit."

Thompson v. Wing, 70 Ohio St.3d 176, 183 (1994). The doctrine applies when the fact or

issue: (1) was actually and directly litigated in the prior action; (2) was passed upon and

determined by a court of competent jurisdiction; and (3) when the party against whom

collateral estoppel is asserted was a party in privity with a party to the prior action. Id.

{¶ 65} In the present case, claimant first argues that the commission abused its

discretion when it terminated TTD compensation on the basis of the judicially created

doctrine of voluntary abandonment that has been expressly abrogated by R.C. 4123.56(F).

However, as mentioned above, the amended provisions in R.C. 4123.56(F), as amended by

H.B. No. 81, do not apply to TTD compensation awards in which the injury and a final

adjudication by the commission occurred before the effective date of the new law. See Pratt

at¶ 10, fn. 2. These are the circumstances in the present case. Therefore, claimant's first

argument is without merit.

{¶ 66} Claimant next argues the commission abused its discretion when it

retroactively terminated TTD compensation to December 28, 2018, on the basis that

claimant had allegedly left work for reasons unrelated to the industrial injury on that date,

where the undisputed evidence is that claimant had already been taken completely off work

on December 18, 2018, through January 19, 2019, based solely on the allowed conditions

in the claim. Claimant asserts that when she turned in her uniform on December 28, 2018,

she was physically unable to work as the result of her industrial injuries, as evidenced by

the December 18, 2018, MEDCO-14 completed by Dr. Lukens that indicated she was not

cleared for work by orthopedics and was not able to return to work until January 19, 2019,

due to her second finger amputation.

{¶ 67} However, claimant's argument is based upon amended R.C. 4123.56(F),

which we have found is not applicable to this case. Notwithstanding, the SHO concluded

No. 21AP-341 21

claimant voluntarily abandoned her place of employment effective December 28, 2018.

Pursuant to Klein and Pratt, the key question is whether the injured worker who is no

longer in the former position has abandoned the workforce, not merely abandoned the

former position. Thus, a court must determine whether the surrounding circumstances

demonstrate a voluntary abandonment of the workforce—permanent or temporary—such

that the injured worker's wage loss is not the result of the work injury. As the court in Pratt

summarized the analysis: Do the circumstances indicate that the injured worker would be

working somewhere but for the injury, while looking at the worker’s intent, which may be

inferred from words spoken, acts done, and other objective facts, and all relevant

circumstances existing at the time of the alleged abandonment? In the present case, the

circumstances show that claimant abandoned the workforce as of December 28, 2018.

There is no evidence that claimant was working anywhere or planned to work anywhere.

The SHO found the evidence supporting a voluntary abandonment of employment was the

following: (1) claimant was on her way to work to turn in her uniform and resign, passed

the plant manager on the street, gave him her uniform, and asked about having her money

withdrawn into a retirement account; (2) claimant, in fact, completed the necessary forms

and received her money from the account; (3) claimant never returned any phone calls or

responded to any documents sent to her in the mail from the employer offering her

employment; and (5) claimant confirmed at the hearing that she received the phone calls

and documents from the employer, but did not respond. The evidence in the record in this

case supports the conclusion that claimant’s wage loss was due to her voluntary

abandonment of her employment and not her workplace injury. For these reasons,

claimant's argument, in this respect, is without merit.

{¶ 68} Claimant next argues that collateral estoppel precludes the commission from

retroactively terminating TTD compensation for the period from December 28, 2018,

through February 12, 2019. Claimant contends that, on February 11, 2019, a BWC order

awarded TTD compensation from December 19, 2018, through February 12, 2019, the order

was never appealed by the employer, and compensation was paid. Thus, according to

claimant, the BWC order became a final adjudication as to the issue of entitlement to TTD

compensation from December 19, 2018, through February 12, 2019. Claimant asserts that

the employer cannot fail to avail itself of its available administrative remedy of an appeal of

No. 21AP-341 22

the BWC order and then wait five months to file a motion that has the effect of setting aside

a prior order.

{¶ 69} In State ex rel. Melott v. Indus. Comm., 10th Dist. No. 15AP-1065, 2016-

Ohio-8268, ¶ 35-37, the claimant argued that the BWC's failure to raise voluntary

abandonment in two instances where the BWC awarded TTD compensation was cause for

the application of collateral estoppel to bar the commission from later raising the issue of

voluntary abandonment. This court held that with respect to both of the BWC awards for

TTD compensation, workforce abandonment was not actually and necessarily litigated and

determined by the BWC nor was a finding that relator had not voluntarily abandoned the

workforce essential to the judgments of the BWC. This court reasoned that, in fact, the

BWC's two orders were not adjudications because the BWC has no authority to adjudicate

TTD compensation. The BWC issued its orders awarding TTD compensation rather than

referring the matters to the commission for adjudication because TTD compensation was

not disputed by the employer or the BWC. Thus, this court held that it is clear that collateral

estoppel cannot apply. Therefore, applying the holding in Melott to the present case, the

BWC's February 11, 2019, award of TTD compensation from December 19, 2018, through

February 12, 2019, and the employer's failure to appeal that determination, could not form

the basis for a claim of collateral estoppel against the commission to bar it from raising the

issue of voluntary abandonment. Thus, claimant's argument, in this respect, is without

merit.

{¶ 70} Claimant next argues that the employer's light-duty job offer did not

constitute a good-faith job offer of suitable employment that was refused by relator; thus,

the commission abused its discretion when it terminated TTD compensation on that basis.

Claimant asserts that the written job offer was not dated, no response time was given for

claimant to accept or decline the offer, the job offer was not provided to or approved by

claimant's physician of record, and there is no written or verbal evidence that claimant

refused the job offer.

{¶ 71} However, claimant's arguments belie the evidence. The DHO found the

employer tendered a bona fide offer of light-duty employment to claimant, and at no time

from December 28, 2018, through the date of the DHO hearing had claimant ever contacted

employer about returning to employment within the restrictions as set forth by her

No. 21AP-341 23

physician, despite her admission that she had received the employer's phone calls and

documents in the mail. Claimant testified before the DHO that she was very upset by the

way she had been treated by employer. Claimant confirmed in her testimony that she had

no intention of returning to the instant employer in the future. Claimant also fails to cite

any authority that a good-faith job offer requires that the written offer include a date or a

required response time. Furthermore, although claimant contends that the job offer was

not provided to or approved by claimant's physician of record, the offer of suitable

employment must only identify the position offered and generally describe the duties

required so that a claimant, his or her physician, and/or the commission can determine

whether the required duties are consistent with the medical restrictions. State ex rel.

Professional Restaffing of Ohio, Inc. v. Indus. Comm., 152 Ohio App.3d 245, 2003-Ohio-

1453 ¶ 3 (10th Dist.). Here, the offer letters in the record establish the employer identified

the position offered and generally described the duties so the commission could determine

whether the required duties were consistent with the medical restrictions. The letters

variously described the job title, duties, the location, the work hours, and permitted breaks.

In addition, insofar as claimant contends that there was no written or verbal evidence that

she refused the job offer, this contention is contrary to claimant's testimony that she had

no intention of returning to employment with the employer. Claimant also testified that

although she received the phone calls and mailed documents describing the offer of

employment, she did not answer them. Thus, there was some evidence before the

commission to make the determination that claimant refused a good-faith job offer.

{¶ 72} Claimant next argues the commission abused its discretion when it found

there was no evidence that claimant was disabled from December 28, 2018, through the

date of the SHO hearing on September 6, 2019. In support of the contention that she was

either totally disabled or, at a minimum, physically unable to return to her former position

of employment from the date of her industrial injury through the SHO hearing, based solely

on the allowed conditions in her claim, claimant points to the following: (1) at the time of

the September 6, 2019, SHO hearing, there was a July 31, 2019, MEDCO-14 from Dr.

Haynesworth that indicated claimant was completely unable to work in any capacity from

July 31 through October 31, 2019; (2) at the time of the July 25, 2019, DHO hearing, there

was a July 15, 2019, MEDCO-14 on file from Wozniak that indicated claimant was limited

to light-duty work from July 15 through December 30, 2019; and (3) MEDCO-14 forms

No. 21AP-341 24

dated April 15, 2019, January 18, 2019, and December 18, 2018, were on file that either had

claimant completely or unable to return to her former position of employment.

{¶ 73} However, the commission weighed all of the evidence in the record and

determined that claimant was not disabled at the time the employer made a good-faith offer

of suitable light-duty employment. The SHO specifically found credible the January 18,

2018, and April 15, 2019, MEDCO-14 forms that concluded claimant could work with the

restriction of no use of the left hand. As explained previously, questions of credibility and

the weight to be given evidence are clearly within the discretion of the commission as

factfinder. These two MEDCO-14 forms provide some evidence to support the

commission's determination that claimant was not temporarily and totally disabled at the

time the employer made her a good-faith job offer. Therefore, claimant's argument, in this

respect, is without merit.

{¶ 74} Finally, the magistrate must address the commission's motion to strike

portions of claimant's reply brief that raise new arguments not raised in her merit brief,

depriving the commission of an opportunity to reply. The purpose of a reply brief is to afford

the party an opportunity to respond to the opposing party's brief, not to raise a new

argument for the first time. Cullinan v. Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 10th Dist. No.

15AP-390, 2016-Ohio-1083, ¶ 19. As a result, a court generally will not consider an

argument or issue raised for the first time in a reply brief. State ex rel. Grounds v. Hocking

Cty. Bd. of Elections, 117 Ohio St.3d 116, 2008-Ohio-566, ¶ 24; Russell v. Ryan, 10th Dist.

No. 20AP-176, 2021-Ohio-2505, ¶ 34, citing State v. E.T., 10th Dist. No. 17AP-828, 2019-

Ohio-1204, ¶ 62, and State v. Shedwick, 10th Dist. No. 11AP-709, 2012-Ohio-2270, ¶ 6-7;

Ruf v. Ohio Pub. Emps. Retirement Sys., 10th Dist. No. 20AP-330, 2021-Ohio-4389, ¶ 54,

citing Grounds. Here, because claimant raised several new arguments for the first time in

her reply brief, the magistrate grants the commission's motion to strike those portions of

claimant's reply brief that raise these new arguments, and the magistrate has not

considered those arguments.

{¶ 75} Accordingly, it is the magistrate's decision and recommendation that this

court deny claimant's request for a writ of mandamus.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

THOMAS W. SCHOLL III

No. 21AP-341 25

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign as

error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding or

legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as a

finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(ii),

unless the party timely and specifically objects to that factual

finding or legal conclusion as required by Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.