Opinion

Champion v. Employment Dept.

Court
Court of Appeals of Oregon
Filed
Mar 29, 2023
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 14.4%

The opinion

No. 151 March 29, 2023 71

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE

STATE OF OREGON

Ellen K. CHAMPION,

Petitioner,

v.

EMPLOYMENT DEPARTMENT,

Respondent.

Employment Appeals Board

2022EAB0554; A179360

Submitted January 6, 2023.

Ellen K. Champion filed the brief pro se.

Denise G. Fjordbeck, waived appearance for respondent.

Before Ortega, Presiding Judge, and Powers, Judge, and

Hellman, Judge.

HELLMAN, J.

Affirmed.

72 Champion v. Employment Dept.

HELLMAN, J.

Petitioner seeks judicial review of an Employment

Appeals Board (EAB) decision upholding the Oregon

Employment Department’s (OED) denial of her application

for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA). In three

assignments of error, petitioner argues that EAB erred

in making various findings of fact and conclusions of law.

Although EAB could have been more straightforward in

its reasoning, we conclude that that EAB’s decision was

supported by substantial evidence and substantial reason.

Accordingly, we affirm.

We will set aside or remand a board’s order if “the

order is not supported by substantial evidence in the record.

Substantial evidence exists to support a finding of fact when

the record, viewed as a whole, would permit a reasonable per-

son to make that finding.” ORS 183.482(8)(c). “Substantial

evidence” includes “substantial reason.” Put another way,

the board must provide an explanation for how it reached

its conclusion. Castro v. Board of Parole, 232 Or App 75, 83,

220 P3d 772 (2009).

On appeal, petitioner argues that she qualifies as a

“covered individual” under the CARES Act and was thus eli-

gible for PUA. Under the CARES Act, a person is considered a

“covered individual” if they are not eligible for other compen-

sation, including regular unemployment benefits, and if they

self-certify that they are “otherwise able to work and avail-

able to work within the meaning of applicable State Law,” but

cannot do so due to one of 11 reasons related to the COVID-19

pandemic. Pub L 116-136, § 2102(a)(3). Those reasons include

that “the individual has been diagnosed with COVID-19 or is

experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical

diagnosis,” or “has become the breadwinner or major support

for a household because the head of the household has died as a

direct result of COVID-19.” Pub L 116-136, § 2102(a)(3)(A)(ii)(I).

“Direct result” as used in section 2102 means that “the unem-

ployment is an immediate result of the major disaster itself,

and not the result of a longer chain of events precipitated or

exacerbated by the disaster.” 20 CFR § 625.5(c); U.S. Dept of

Labor, Unemployment Insurance Program Letter No. 16-20,

(Apr 5, 2020) (UIPL 16-20) at I-7.

Cite as 325 Or App 71 (2023) 73

The Continued Assistance for Unemployed Workers

Act (2020) (CAA) made certain changes to the CARES Act.

Among those changes was the removal of the language

allowing for self-certification in favor of language dictating

that, to qualify as a “covered individual,” the applicant must

submit documentation to substantiate their employment

or self-employment within 90 days of their application or

December 27, 2020, whichever date is later. CAA § 241(a);

UIPL 16-20, Change 4, (Jan 8, 2021) at I-10. Importantly,

section 201(f) of the CAA modified the CARES Act such that

claims filed after December 27, 2020, could be backdated to

no earlier than December 6, 2020. UIPL 16-20, Change 4,

(Jan 8, 2021) at I-19.

Petitioner argues that she qualifies as a “covered

individual” because beginning in March 2020, petitioner and

her fiancé lost income due to the Governor’s stay-at-home

order. Alternatively, she argues that she qualified after her

fiancé passed away due to complications from COVID-19.

The OED representative testified that if petitioner and her

fiancé did not qualify for regular unemployment insurance

(UI) payments at the time of the stay-at-home order, they

might have qualified for PUA if they had applied sometime

between March 2020 and December 27, 2020. Similarly,

petitioner might have qualified for PUA if she did not qual-

ify for UI after the death of her fiancé.

However, petitioner did not apply right after either

of those two events. Instead, petitioner waited to apply

until a year after the death of her fiancé and nearly one-

and-a-half years after the start of the stay-at-home order.

At the time of her application, the CAA was the law. And,

as set forth in the CAA, applications could only be back-

dated to December 6, 2020. That meant that many of the

events that petitioner referenced in her application, which

may have factually qualified her for PUA, occurred outside

the window of time that OED could consider in its decision.

In addition, when she did apply, petitioner provided very

little documentary support for her application. Because of

the lack of documentation in the record, OED was unable to

definitively determine that petitioner qualified as a “covered

individual.”

74 Champion v. Employment Dept.

On appeal, EAB also determined that petitioner

was not a “covered individual” because she had accepted and

then voluntarily separated from various jobs in the months

between the asserted “COVID reasons” and the weeks for

which she claimed PUA benefits.1

Having reviewed the record, we conclude that EAB’s

decision was supported by substantial evidence. Petitioner

does not contest that she held various jobs in the time

between the asserted “COVID reasons” for her unemploy-

ment and the weeks for which she claimed PUA coverage.

Nor does she contest that she voluntarily separated from

those positions. And while the record indicates that COVID-

19 related issues contributed to petitioner’s decision to leave

those jobs, substantial evidence supports EAB’s decision

that petitioner’s unemployment was “the result of a longer

chain of events precipitated or exacerbated by the disaster,”

which would disqualify petitioner from benefits. 20 CFR

§ 625.5(c); UIPL 16-20, (Apr 5, 2020) at I-7.

As to substantial reason, EAB explained that it was

petitioner’s voluntary separation from various employers,

which occurred after the asserted “COVID reasons,” that

caused petitioner’s unemployment and not, as petitioner

argues, the “COVID reasons” themselves. That reasoned

explanation, coupled with the evidence in the record, sat-

isfies EAB’s burden to provide substantial reason for its

conclusions.

We reach a similar conclusion regarding petitioner’s

argument that because she contracted COVID-19, she was

eligible for PUA. Although petitioner testified that she

entered her quarantine information into the OED filing sys-

tem, OED was unable to locate it, and petitioner testified

that she no longer had access to that information.

Under the CAA, an individual was no longer able to

self-certify eligibility for benefits. Thus, petitioner’s benefit

1

Given that the EAB ultimately based its decision on petitioner’s voluntary

separation from various jobs and not on whether petitioner was self-employed or

became the household’s primary breadwinner after the death of her fiancé, the

portions of its decision questioning her credibility complicated our review and,

indeed, caused us to wonder whether the agency’s ultimate decision was based on

something other than the articulated legal analysis. Ultimately, those concerns

did not affect the disposition of this case, though they did give us pause.

Cite as 325 Or App 71 (2023) 75

eligibility depended both on the fact that she contracted

COVID-19 and that she was able to provide documentary

proof of her illness. EAB’s denial of benefits was not due to

a determination that petitioner did not contract COVID-19.

Instead, it was because petitioner “did not offer evidence to

show when she was rendered unemployed or unavailable to

work during the weeks at issue as a direct result of COVID-

19.” Given the lack of documentary evidence in the record,

we conclude that EAB’s decision was based on substantial

evidence. And we find that the decision was supported by

substantial reason, given EAB’s explanation coupled with

the absence of evidence.

Our role as an appellate court reviewing a decision

of EAB is not to find facts, nor to relitigate what was liti-

gated below. Our role is one of error correction. In exercising

that role, we are bound by the record before us and our stan-

dard of review. On this record and reviewing for substantial

evidence and substantial reason, we conclude that EAB did

not err when it determined that petitioner did not qualify for

PUA under the CARES Act and CAA.

Affirmed.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.