Opinion

C.G. Jean v. Bloomin' Brands, Inc. (WCAB)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Sep 25, 2023
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Wojcik, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 13.2%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Carmel G. Jean, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 74 C.D. 2022

: Submitted: February 24, 2023

Bloomin’ Brands, Inc. (Workers’ :

Compensation Appeal Board), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, President Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: September 25, 2023

Carmel G. Jean (Claimant) petitions for review of an order of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) that affirmed a decision of the

Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) denying both her Review Petition to expand

the description of her work injury and Penalty Petition, and granting Bloomin’

Brands, Inc.’s (Employer) Termination Petition. Claimant contends that the WCJ’s

finding that Claimant’s work injury was limited to a lumbar strain and sprain and

post-traumatic headaches is not supported by substantial evidence because the WCJ

misconstrued the testimony of Employer’s medical expert. Upon review, we affirm.

I. Background

On September 7, 2019, Claimant sustained an injury in the course and

scope of her employment with Employer. Pursuant to a Notice of Temporary

Compensation Payable (NTCP), Employer recognized Claimant’s injury as a low

back strain and paid Claimant workers’ compensation benefits. The NTCP

converted to a Notice of Compensation Payable (NCP) by operation of law.

On December 27, 2019, Employer filed a Termination Petition alleging

that Claimant had fully recovered from her work-related low back strain as of

November 20, 2019. Claimant filed a timely answer denying the material

allegations.

On January 15, 2020, Claimant filed a Review Petition alleging an

incorrect injury description. Claimant sought to amend the description of her injury

to include lumbar radiculopathy, post-concussion syndrome, and post-traumatic

headaches. Employer filed a timely answer admitting that the injury description

should be amended to include post-traumatic headaches from which Claimant had

fully recovered as of January 3, 2020. However, Employer otherwise denied that

the description of her injury should be expanded to include lumbar radiculopathy or

post-concussion syndrome.

On February 26, 2020, Claimant filed a Penalty Petition alleging that

Employer violated the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act (Act)1 by

unilaterally modifying and stopping Claimant’s temporary total disability benefits

without Claimant’s agreement or an order from the court. Claimant sought penalties

in the amount of 50% of all outstanding benefits owed as well as unreasonable

1

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2710.

2

contest attorney’s fees. Employer filed a timely answer denying the material

allegations.

The petitions were consolidated and assigned to a WCJ for disposition.

Before the WCJ, Claimant testified and presented the deposition testimony of two

medical experts, Steven Diamond, D.O. (Dr. Diamond), and Adam Weinstein, M.D.

(Dr. Weinstein). Employer also presented the deposition testimony of two medical

experts, Amir Fayyazi, M.D. (Dr. Fayyazi), and Bryan X. DeSouza, M.D. (Dr.

DeSouza).

The WCJ summarized the evidence and made the following relevant

findings. Claimant testified that she worked for Employer as a kitchen manager for

11 years. On September 7, 2019, she slipped on plastic on the floor and fell, hitting

her head on the lower part of a sink and her low back on the floor. She also hit the

right side of her forehead. Claimant experienced headaches and was treated for a

concussion. Claimant receives therapy for her back, shoulder, head, and leg. Her

current complaints include dizziness, headaches, shoulder pain, lower back pain, and

right leg cramps. Claimant also complains of short-term memory, vision, and

dizziness issues. Claimant testified that she is unable to return to her pre-injury job

because she cannot sit, stand, or lay for long periods. Her job requires her to bend

down, lift, climb, and continuously move. Claimant testified that prior to the

September 7, 2019 work incident, she had occasional low back pain which she

attributed to either falling off a ladder in 2016 or being on her feet at work. WCJ’s

Op., 2/17/21, Finding of Fact (F.F.) No. 6(a)-(e).

Claimant’s first medical expert, Dr. Diamond, who is board certified in

family medicine, testified that he examined Claimant on October 7, 2019, and took

a medical history from her. Claimant reported that she fell backward and hit her

3

head and low back on September 7, 2019. Claimant complained of sharp and

throbbing headaches, low back pain, radiating pain to the right lower extremity, light

sensitivity, and dizziness. Dr. Diamond testified that his physical examination of

Claimant revealed reduced range of motion of the cervical spine and spasm and

reduced range of motion of the lumbar spine. Neurologically, Claimant’s gait and

balance were poor. Claimant’s Dix-Hallpike test was benign. Dr. Diamond

reviewed Claimant’s November 18, 2019 lumbar spine MRI, which revealed L5-S1

spondylolisthesis. However, he could not say when that happened. Dr. Diamond

acknowledged that the medical records immediately following the work incident do

not mention a cervical injury. Dr. Diamond diagnosed Claimant with post-

concussion syndrome with cervicalgia and lumbar strain and sprain. He saw

Claimant three more times; her symptoms and examinations were unchanged. F.F.

No. 4(a)-(d).

Claimant’s second medical expert, Dr. Weinstein, who is board

certified in adult neurology, testified that he first examined Claimant on November

21, 2019, for her September 7, 2019 work-related injury when she fell backward and

hit her low back and the back of her head. Claimant complained of headaches three

to four times per week, light sensitivity, nausea, dizziness, and low back pain that

radiates to the buttock on both sides and sometimes to the feet. Dr. Weinstein opined

that Claimant’s complaints of dizziness, balance issues, memory loss, and blurred

vision are subjective complaints. Dr. Weinstein found Claimant’s neurological

examination to be normal except for bilateral straight leg raising. Her mental status

examination, cranial nerves, coordination, reflexes, and sensory examination were

all normal. There was no aversion to light upon testing. Dr. Weinstein opined that

Claimant sustained a head contusion with concussion without loss of consciousness,

4

symptoms of post-concussive syndrome, post-traumatic headaches, low back

contusion with low back pain and radicular symptoms. He testified that Claimant’s

December 2, 2019 EMG did not clearly confirm lumbar radiculopathy but her

clinical symptoms supported lumbar radiculopathy. Dr. Weistein noted that the

November 18, 2019 brain MRI (brain MRI) was normal. F.F. No. 5(a)-(e).

Employer’s first medical witness, Dr. Fayyazi, who is a board-certified

orthopedic surgeon, testified that he performed an independent medical examination

(IME) of Claimant on November 20, 2019, for the September 7, 2019 injury.

Claimant relayed to him that the injury occurred when she slipped and fell and

landed on her back and hit her head. Claimant described her complaint level as 8/10

regarding her headaches and concussion, and 3/10 regarding her low back. Claimant

also complained of leg pain but said the back pain was worse than the leg pain and

the right leg was worse than the left leg. During his physical examination, Dr.

Fayyazi noted that Claimant was able to walk on her heels and her toes but acted as

if she was unsteady. She also demonstrated unsteadiness performing a single leg

stand. According to Dr. Fayyazi, Claimant appeared to be manipulating this part of

the examination because she had no unsteadiness when walking in place. Dr.

Fayyazi reported that Claimant’s lumbar extension was 50% of normal, which was

reasonable given her body size and age. Claimant complained of discomfort with

palpation of the lumbar spine, at the right posterior superior iliac spine, and on the

lateral aspect of the right hip running down the leg, consistent with bursitis. Overall,

Dr. Fayyazi found Claimant’s examination to be relatively benign. Dr. Fayyazi

reviewed Claimant’s medical records including the lumbar spine MRI and found

nothing to show trauma was creating the findings at L5-S1. Dr. Fayyazi opined that

Claimant sustained a lumbar strain and sprain from which she has fully recovered.

5

He did not offer an opinion regarding the concussion because it was outside the

scope of his practice. F.F. No. 2(a)-(d).

Notably, Dr. Fayyazi opined that if Claimant had no back complaints

prior to the September 7, 2019 injury, she may have aggravated her preexisting

chronic isthmic spondylolisthesis and neural proximal stenosis resulting in lower

extremity symptoms. Assuming that Claimant was completely asymptomatic prior

to the work incident, Dr. Fayyazi would opine that Claimant had reached maximum

medical improvement rather than fully recovered. F.F. No. 2(d).

Employer’s second medical witness, Dr. DeSouza, a board-certified

neurologist, conducted an IME of Claimant on January 3, 2020, for her September

7, 2019 work-related injury. Dr. DeSouza testified that Claimant reported her initial

and follow up treatment in a detailed fashion, noting that she had a good, clear

memory, which showed how well her brain was working. Claimant complained of

headaches in the back of her head, which she rated at 7/10, dizziness, and nausea

with blurred vision. Claimant also reported back pain and leg pain one to two times

per week. Dr. DeSouza’s physical examination of Claimant revealed no positive

findings. Dr. DeSouza testified that the EMG revealed no evidence of radiculopathy

or plexopathy. The brain MRI was normal. Dr. DeSouza opined that Claimant may

have had post-traumatic headaches from when she fell backwards and hit her head,

but there was no evidence of concussion or post-concussion syndrome. He remarked

that both his evaluation and that of Dr. Weinstein were normal for cognition,

memory, attention, mood, cranial nerves, and gait. Dr. DeSouza opined that

Claimant was fully recovered from her post-traumatic headaches. F.F. No. 3(a)-(e).

The WCJ found Claimant less than credible. The WCJ explained that

Claimant did not disclose her 2016 fall from a ladder resulting in low back pain to

6

three of the medical experts in this matter. Claimant also complained about body

parts and symptoms, such as shoulder pain, about which none of her experts testified.

The WCJ also noted that Claimant’s description of a forehead injury was not

consistent with the mechanism of a backwards fall. F.F. No. 8.

As for the medical testimony, the WCJ found

Dr. Fayyazi’s opinion of full recovery of the accepted

injuries more competent and credible than the opinions of

Dr. Diamond based on the benign examination findings

and lack of relevant findings on objective studies. As for

Dr. Fayyazi’s potential expansion of Claimant’s injury, he

stated that would be so only if Claimant had no prior back

complaints, which according to her testimony was not the

case. Both Dr. DeSouza and Dr. Weinstein reported

normal neurological examinations supporting no ongoing

post-traumatic headache[s], and no finding of concussion

or concussion sequelae. Based on the lack of findings in

both examinations, Dr. DeSouza’s opinions are accepted.

F.F. No. 7 (emphasis added).

Ultimately, the WCJ found that Claimant had recovered from her

lumbar sprain and strain as of November 20, 2019, and from her post-traumatic

headaches as of January 3, 2020. F.F. Nos. 9-10. The WCJ further found that

Claimant sustained no additional injuries as a result of her September 7, 2019 work-

related injury. F.F. No. 11.

Accordingly, the WCJ concluded that Employer met its burden of

proving that Claimant had fully recovered from her accepted work-related injuries

sustained as a result of the September 7, 2019 incident. The WCJ concluded that

Claimant failed to meet her burden of proving that she sustained any additional

work-related injuries or that Employer violated the Act. Thus, the WCJ granted

Employer’s Termination Petition and denied Claimant’s Review and Penalty

Petitions.

7

Claimant appealed the WCJ’s decision to the Board, which affirmed.

Claimant now petitions this Court for review.2

II. Issue

Claimant argues that the WCJ erred or abused his discretion by denying

her Review Petition and granting Employer’s Termination Petition by misconstruing

Employer’s expert evidence. According to Claimant, Dr. Fayyazi testified that, if

Claimant did not have any prior lower extremity symptoms before the work incident,

the work-related injury should be expanded to include a work-related aggravation of

isthmic spondylolisthesis, which has not fully resolved. However, the WCJ

misconstrued Dr. Fayyazi’s testimony by finding that the doctor would support an

expansion of the injury description only if Claimant did not have any prior lower

back pain. The assessment of whether Claimant sustained a work-related

aggravation hinged on the presence or absence of prior lower extremity symptoms,

not simply lower back pain, as found by the WCJ. Although Claimant admitted to

occasional lower back pain prior to the work injury, she did not have any prior

symptoms. Claimant contends that Dr. Fayyazi’s testimony, if properly construed,

supports an expansion of the accepted work injury.

III. Discussion

It is well settled that, in workers’ compensation cases, “[t]he WCJ is

the ultimate finder of fact, and the exclusive arbiter of credibility and evidentiary

2

Our review is limited to determining whether the WCJ’s findings of fact were supported

by substantial evidence, whether an error of law was committed, or whether constitutional rights

were violated. Department of Transportation v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Clippinger), 38 A.3d 1037, 1042 n.3 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011).

8

weight.” LTV Steel Company, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Mozena), 754 A.2d 666, 676 (Pa. 2000). In executing his factfinding role, “the WCJ

is free to accept or reject, in whole or in part, the testimony of any witness.” Id.

Determinations as to witness credibility and evidentiary weight are generally not

subject to appellate review. Joy Global, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Hogue), 876 A.2d 1098, 1103 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005).

However, the WCJ’s evidentiary findings are not immune from review.

LTV Steel, 754 A.2d at 676. “The WCJ must base [his] decision on substantial

evidence.” Id. “Substantial evidence” is such

relevant evidence that a reasonable person might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion. In reviewing a decision

for substantial evidence, the court must view the evidence

in the light most favorable to the party [that] prevailed

before the WCJ and draw all reasonable inferences from

the evidence in favor of the prevailing party. . . . [I]t is

irrelevant whether the record contains evidence to support

findings other than those made by the WCJ; the critical

inquiry is whether there is evidence to support the findings

actually made.

Pocono Mountain School District v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Easterling), 113 A.3d 909, 918 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015) (internal citations and

quotations omitted).

With a review petition, the burden is on the claimant to establish the

existence of additional compensable injuries. Cinram Manufacturing, Inc. v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Hill), 975 A.2d 577, 582 (Pa. 2009).

Conversely, in a termination petition proceeding, it is the employer that bears the

burden of proving that the claimant has fully recovered from the work injury. Jones

v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (J.C. Penney Co.), 747 A.2d 430, 432 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2000). An employer can meet this burden by “proving either that the

9

employee’s disability has ceased, or that any current disability arises from a cause

unrelated to the [claimant’s] work injury.” Campbell v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Antietam Valley Animal Hospital), 705 A.2d 503, 506-07 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1998). Where the claimant complains of ongoing pain, there must be

unequivocal medical evidence, offered within a reasonable degree of medical

certainty, that “the claimant is fully recovered[ and] can return to work without

restrictions and that there are no objective medical findings which either substantiate

the claims of pain or connect them to the work injury.” Udvari v. Workmen’s

Compensation Appeal Board (USAir, Inc.), 705 A.2d 1290, 1293 (Pa. 1997).

Here, the WCJ found:

Dr. Fayyazi opined that if Claimant had no back

complaints prior to the September 7, 2019 injury, she may

have aggravated her pre-existing chronic isthmic

spondylolisthesis and neural proximal stenosis resulting in

lower extremity symptoms. Assuming Claimant was

completely asymptomatic prior to the injury, he would say

Claimant had reached maximum medical improvement

rather than saying she was fully recovered.

F.F. No. 2(d) (emphasis added). In addition, the WCJ found: “As for Dr. Fayyazi’s

potential expansion of Claimant’s injury, he stated that would be so only if Claimant

had no prior back complaints, which according to her testimony was not the case.”

F.F. No. 7.

Dr. Fayyazi testified that, based on his review of her MRI, Claimant

suffered from “chronic isthmic spondylolisthesis and neural foraminal stenosis.”

Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 92a. He opined, “assuming that she was asymptomatic

with respect to her back and lower extremity, that her September [7, 2019] injury

may have aggravated that condition and had resulted in her lower extremity

10

symptoms.” Id. Dr. Fayyazi stated that he “would need to confirm that she was not

symptomatic . . . prior to the injury.” Id. at 93a.

On cross-examination, Dr. Fayyazi explained:

If she had lower extremity symptoms prior to this fall, then

the lower extremity symptoms at this time would not be

related to the fall. If those symptoms were not present

before the fall, then the fall resulted in aggravation of the

spondylolisthesis or isthmic spondylolisthesis.

R.R. at 110a-11a (emphasis added). He reiterated “if she was asymptomatic before

the fall, then the injury resulted in an aggravation of the isthmic spondylolisthesis.”

Id. at 112a (emphasis added).

Upon review, the WCJ did not misconstrue Dr. Fayyazi’s testimony.

Dr. Fayyazi’s potential expansion of Claimant’s work injury to include injuries

beyond a lumbar sprain and strain, namely an aggravation of isthmic

spondylolisthesis and neural foraminal stenosis, was dependent on whether Claimant

had no prior back complaints or symptoms. R.R. at 92a, 112a. Dr. Fayyazi testified

that low back pain is a symptom of isthmic spondylolisthesis and neural foraminal

stenosis. Id. at 103a-04a.

Claimant admitted that she had “some back issues” before the 2019

work incident. R.R. at 49a. Claimant explained that she fell off a ladder at work in

2016, and she reported the incident to Employer. Id. at 49a-50a, 58a-59a. Although

Claimant denied requiring medical attention for the 2016 ladder fall, she admitted to

experiencing backaches. Id. at 50a. Claimant was not sure if her pre-injury back

pain was attributable to the 2016 ladder fall or from being on her feet at work for

long periods of time. See id. at 50a, 64a. Claimant testified that her low back pain

intensified after the 2019 injury. Id. at 64a. By admitting that she had back

symptoms prior to the 2019 incident, Claimant negated the condition imposed by

11

Dr. Fayyazi for his testimony to support the expansion of the work injury to include

an aggravation of her underlying conditions. Consequently, Dr. Fayyazi’s testimony

does not support an expansion of Claimant’s injury description. Because the WCJ

rejected Claimant’s medical evidence, F.F. No. 7, Claimant did not satisfy her

burden of proving the existence of additional compensable injuries. We, therefore,

conclude that the WCJ did not err or abuse his discretion by denying her Review

Petition.

As for the Termination Petition, Employer’s medical experts both

credibly testified that Claimant had fully recovered from the accepted work-related

injuries -- lumbar strain and sprain and post-traumatic headaches -- and could return

to work without restrictions. F.F. No. 7; R.R. at 91a, 93a; Certified Record (C.R.)

at 408.3 Specifically, Dr. Fayyazi testified that Claimant was fully recovered from

the accepted lumbar strain and sprain injury. R.R. at 91a, 93a. Dr. DeSouza credibly

testified that Claimant was fully recovered from her post-traumatic headaches and

released her to her pre-injury job without restrictions. C.R. at 408. Although

Claimant presented conflicting medical testimony that she was not fully recovered

from her work injury, the WCJ rejected the opinions of Drs. Diamond and Weinstein

as not credible. F.F. No. 7. Although Dr. Fayyazi testified that Claimant has not

fully recovered from the isthmic spondylolisthesis, R.R. at 115a-16a, this injury was

not accepted as a compensable work injury. Upon review, the WCJ’s finding that

Claimant was fully recovered from her accepted work injuries is supported by

substantial evidence. We, therefore, conclude that the WCJ did not err or abuse his

discretion by granting Employer’s Termination Petition.

3

Because the Certified Record was filed electronically and was not paginated, the page

numbers referenced in this opinion reflect electronic pagination.

12

IV. Conclusion

Upon review, we affirm the Board’s order affirming the WCJ’s

decision.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

Judge Fizzano Cannon did not participate in the decision of this case.

13

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Carmel G. Jean, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 74 C.D. 2022

:

Bloomin’ Brands, Inc. (Workers’ :

Compensation Appeal Board), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 25th day of September, 2023, the order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board, dated December 29, 2021, is AFFIRMED.

__________________________________

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.