Opinion

Baker, Tamatha v. ViacomCBS, Inc.

  • 2023 TN WC App. 37
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 11, 2023
Status
Published
On the bench
Meredith B Weaver, Timothy W. Conner, Pele I. Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 5.5%

The opinion

FILED

Aug 11, 2023

02:00 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tamatha Baker ) Docket No. 2022-07-0502

)

v. ) State File No. 33449-2022

)

ViacomCBS, Inc., et. al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employer appeals the trial court’s order for medical

benefits, including a total knee replacement, in light of evidence indicating the employee

had a pre-existing knee condition. The employee suffered a fall at work, resulting in

complaints of pain in the left knee. Following conservative treatment, the employee’s

authorized physician recommended a total knee replacement. The employer declined to

authorize the procedure based on questionnaire responses from the treating physician.

After the denial, the employer received medical records from two providers indicating the

employee had a history of left knee complaints within months of the work accident, as well

as a prior surgery to the left knee in 2012. At the expedited hearing, the employee presented

testimony from the authorized physician stating her work injury was the primary cause of

her need for surgery. The trial court found the employee was likely to prevail at a hearing

on the merits and ordered the employer to provide medical treatment, including the

recommended surgery, and temporary total disability benefits. The employer has appealed.

Upon careful consideration of the record, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the

case.

Judge Meredith B. Weaver delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

J. Allen Callison, Brentwood, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, ViacomCBS, Inc.

Rhoberta R. Orsland, Memphis, Tennessee, for the appellee, Tamatha Baker

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Tamatha Baker (“Employee”) was working for ViacomCBS, Inc. (“Employer”), on

May 2, 2022, when a co-worker’s forklift maneuver caused her left leg to be snagged and

pulled her down to the floor. Employee was initially seen at Physician’s Quality Care,

where she was diagnosed with a sprain of the left knee. Ultimately, that provider referred

her to an orthopedic specialist, and Employer provided a panel. Employee selected Dr.

Cameron Knight, whom she saw on May 27, 2022. At the initial appointment with Dr.

Knight, Employee completed intake forms indicating a prior surgery on her right knee. She

did not disclose any prior medical history related to her left knee, which she indicated was

in constant pain. Dr. Knight diagnosed Employee with “severe arthritis,” stating the injury

“stressed her left knee.” He performed a cortisone injection at the appointment, prescribed

physical therapy, and assigned light duty restrictions, which Employer was able to

accommodate.

Employee returned to Dr. Knight the following month and reported that the injection

only helped for a short period of time and that her pain was still constant. Dr. Knight

changed her prescribed medication, recommended continued physical therapy, and

discussed the possibility of an arthroscopy. At the following appointment in July 2022,

Employee asserted she was approved for treatment of both the right and left knee due to

frequent falls on the right knee from instability in her left knee. At that point, based on Dr.

Knight’s opinion that she had “failed conservative care,” he recommended a left total knee

arthroplasty.

Employer sent Dr. Knight a questionnaire dated September 12, 2022, regarding the

referral for surgery. 1 Dr. Knight responded in the affirmative to the following questions

on September 16, 2022:

Do you agree that the primary diagnosis that supports the need for the total

knee replacement is end-stage osteoarthritis?

Do you agree that the end-stage osteoarthritis was not primarily caused by

the at-work accident on [May 2, 2022]?

Dr. Knight added, “[t]he patient had a preexisting osteoarthritic knee that had previously

not been a source of functionally limiting pain until her work injury.” Meanwhile,

Employee returned to Dr. Knight on September 21, 2022, with complaints of continuing

pain. She had been working for Employer with restrictions, and Dr. Knight discussed

taking her out of work to alleviate her pain due to the delay in getting the surgery approved.

1

The copy of the questionnaire contained in the record as part of Collective Exhibit 2 is illegible.

Employer’s attorney read the responses into the record at the expedited hearing, stating, “our copy of the

questionnaire . . . is not ideal.” Employee did not object to the admissibility of the questionnaire or the

reading of Dr. Knight’s responses into the record.

2

In October 2022, Employer denied the recommended knee replacement. Thereafter,

Employee’s counsel sent a questionnaire to Dr. Knight that asked whether the need for the

total knee replacement was hastened by the work accident and whether the pre-existing

condition was exacerbated by the work accident. Finally, the questionnaire asked if the

need for the left knee replacement arose primarily from the work accident. Employee also

filed a petition for benefit determination. Dr. Knight responded to the questionnaire in

December 2022 and answered all three inquiries in the affirmative. Employer then

scheduled an employer’s medical examination with Dr. Jeffrey Dlabach in January 2023.

Dr. Dlabach agreed with Dr. Knight that Employee had end-stage osteoarthritis and

needed a total knee replacement. However, he opined that the need for the knee

replacement was primarily due to the pre-existing arthritic condition, although the work

injury “led to the aggravation of some of the symptomology.” At the time of his

examination, Dr. Dlabach had copies of Employee’s medical records, including records

from a left knee medial meniscectomy and synovectomy performed by Dr. Barry

Hennessey in 2012. There is no indication in the medical records Employee ever discussed

this prior treatment with Dr. Knight.

The parties deposed Dr. Knight prior to the expedited hearing. Although he

admitted there was no indication in his records that Employee informed him of a prior left

knee surgery, it does appear he became aware of the prior surgery at some point during the

course of his treatment based on the following exchange that occurred between Employer’s

counsel and Dr. Knight:

Counsel: Doctor, were you surprised to learn that [Employee] had

undergone arthroscopic surgery in 2012 for her left knee?

Dr. Knight: Surprised?

Counsel: Yes.

Dr. Knight: Not surprised, no.

When asked, Dr. Knight stated that Employee’s prior knee surgery, age, and her

body mass index were “predictive” that she was “likely . . . on the path to [a knee

replacement].” He went on to state that he “would have expected her to be symptomatic

in some form or fashion leading up to an injury” despite Employee’s denial of any

subjective complaints prior to the work injury. On cross examination by Employee’s

counsel, Dr. Knight stated that he still believed, to a reasonable degree of medical certainty,

that the need for the recommended surgery was hastened and primarily caused by the work

injury, and that the recommended treatment was reasonable and necessary. On redirect,

Dr. Knight explained further:

3

This injury was the index for causing a pain level or dysfunction level that

has led to the need to proceed with a knee replacement, irrespective of not

being able to show that objectively on an x-ray.

When Employer’s counsel asked Dr. Knight to describe circumstances where the

work accident would not be the primary cause of the need for a total knee replacement, he

responded, “[i]f there is a known history of dysfunction of the knee and pain and

dysfunction leading up prior to that [work accident].” When asked to clarify the definition

of “dysfunction of the knee,” Dr. Knight stated, “I mean pain, activity, limitations, motion

restrictions attributable to their underlying knee arthritis.” Dr. Knight further stated that

the prior surgery was “evidence of the disease process.” He then explained:

But when someone’s telling me . . . they were not having problems with the

knee from a functional standpoint enough to cause an inability to perform

their job or [activities of daily living] or just day-to-day living until . . . this

injury and the failure to have the pain get better despite conservative care to

address such pain, then to me that injury exacerbated the underlying process

enough to fail conservative care, after which the only other decision is to

proceed with knee replacement.

At the May 18, 2023 expedited hearing, Employee sought an order compelling the

recommended surgery, ongoing temporary total disability beginning September 21, 2022,

a walker prescribed by Dr. Knight, and reimbursement for an unauthorized prescription. 2

By the time of the expedited hearing, Employer had obtained other medical records from

Dr. Misty Allen at Family Care Walk In Clinic (“Family Care”). The Family Care record

of a December 2021 visit, which was about six weeks before she started working for

Employer’s facility, states in “History of Present Illness” that Employee has “bil[ateral]

knee swelling” and “pain h/o trauma in both knees has had [surgery] in the past.” Dr. Allen

prescribed Celebrex for “unspecified knee pain.” Employee returned on January 5, 2022,

with complaints of insomnia. At that visit, she informed the provider that the medication

she was given at the last visit had not helped her knee pain, and Dr. Allen changed her

medication to diclofenac. When Employee returned on February 8, 2022, she complained

that her knee pain started after she had “[been] up on her feet for two hours [at work].” Dr.

Allen made a referral to the West Tennessee Bone and Joint Clinic at that appointment.

Employer contended that it discovered these records after reviewing pharmacy records and

that Employee failed to disclose this treatment in either her discovery responses or her

deposition. 3 Employer asserted that this omission of relevant medical history from her

2

Of note, Dr. Knight’s medical records state that he considered taking Employee off work on September

21, 2022; however, in his deposition, he stated that she was not taken completely out of work until February

2, 2023. Neither party raised the date Employee was taken out of work as an issue at the hearing or on

appeal.

3

Neither the written discovery nor any portion of Employee’s deposition is part of the technical record.

4

recorded statement, discovery responses, and deposition, as well as her failure to inform

her treating physician, are indicia of a lack of credibility. Employer further argued

Employee’s failure to disclose any issues with her knees on her initial pre-employment

medical questionnaire calls into question her honesty. 4

In response to Employer’s argument, Employee testified her initial appointment

with Dr. Allen was because she believed she had COVID-19. She further testified she did

not provide the name of the clinic in her interrogatory responses because she believed the

facility was part of The Jackson Clinic, a group she had identified in those same responses.

She testified that she did not recall a referral to West Tennessee Bone and Joint and that

she did not schedule an appointment with them. Regarding her private life, Employee

testified that, prior to the work injury, she was able to work without any problems, as well

as walk her dog, spend time with her grandchildren, and go hiking, whereas, after the work

injury, she needs assistance with activities of daily living, including going to the bathroom

and getting in and out of the shower.

In assessing the expert medical proof, the trial court found that Dr. Knight’s opinion

regarding causation was entitled to a presumption of correctness pursuant to Tennessee

Code Annotated section 50-6-102(12)(E) because he was the authorized treating physician

chosen from a panel pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3). Based

on its review of that evidence, the court determined that the need for surgery was primarily

related to the work injury. The trial court further found Employee to be credible, stating

that “[h]er omission of a decade old meniscectomy and visits to a general practitioner do

not detract from the fact that she was not disabled until the accident” and that “no

connection exists between the preexisting conditions and the need for surgery.”

Accordingly, the court awarded the requested medical benefits and ongoing temporary

disability benefits beginning September 21, 2022, until Employee reaches maximum

medical improvement or is able to return to work. Employer has appealed. 5

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2022). When the trial judge has had the opportunity

to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable

deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn.,

4

Employee had been working directly for Employer for about a month after being placed there through a

temporary staffing agency in February 2022. Employer’s counsel stated at the hearing it was not currently

pursuing a willful misrepresentation defense but was instead using the form for impeachment purposes.

5

After filing the notice of appeal, Employer filed a “Motion for Remand” based on its purported discovery

of additional evidence. We denied that motion as the order from the trial court is interlocutory in nature

and, as such, is subject to amendment, revision, or reversal at any time. See Tenn. R. Civ. P. 54.02.

5

Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need be

afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2022).

Analysis

The appellant raises one issue on appeal, which we restate as follows: whether

Employee met her burden of proof regarding the primary cause of her need for a total knee

replacement given the evidence indicating symptomology prior to her employment not

considered by the authorized treating physician. Employer argues that because Employee

failed to disclose any of her prior medical treatment to the left knee to her authorized

physician, his causation opinion has been called into question and is not a sufficient basis

to award benefits. Specifically, Employer argues the trial court is “to consider the evidence

and make an informed decision on what it anticipates the evidence will be at a full

compensation hearing.” For the reasons explained below, we are unpersuaded.

“[A]n employee need not prove each and every element of his or her claim by a

preponderance of the evidence at an expedited hearing to be entitled to [benefits] but must

instead present evidence sufficient for the trial court to conclude that the employee would

likely prevail at a hearing on the merits.” McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No.

2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp.

App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). At this stage in the litigation, Employee has presented both

questionnaire responses and deposition testimony from the authorized treating physician

stating that, although Employee does have pre-existing end-stage arthritis, her current need

for a total knee replacement is due primarily to the work injury. This opinion carries a

presumption of correctness that can be rebutted by the preponderance of the evidence. See

Tenn. Code. Ann. § 50-6-102(12)(E).

In rebuttal, Employer points to Dr. Knight’s statements that “a known history of

dysfunction in the knee” would indicate the work injury may not be the primary cause of

the need for the knee replacement; however, Dr. Knight clarified that his definition of the

term “dysfunction of the knee” is an “inability to perform their job or [activities of daily

living] or just day-to-day living.” Here, the unrefuted testimony at the expedited hearing

was that Employee was able to work without restrictions and perform activities of daily

living prior to the work accident. After the work accident, she required work restrictions

and testified to the difficulties she experienced performing activities of daily living.

6

Employer relies on the 2012 records of a meniscectomy, Dr. Dlabach’s written

report, and primary care records evidencing complaints of bilateral knee pain from

December 2021 to February 2022 in support of its argument that Employee’s pre-existing

condition was proof of prior dysfunction of the knee. In Employer’s view, this evidence

supports a finding that Employee is not likely to prove at trial that the work accident was

the primary cause of her need for a left knee replacement. However, neither Dr. Knight

nor Dr. Dlabach commented on whether the complaints of bilateral knee pain noted at three

visits to a primary care physician would constitute “dysfunction in the knee.” Moreover,

Dr. Dlabach agreed that the work accident aggravated Employee’s pre-existing knee

condition. Without evidence of dysfunction to the knee prior to the work accident and

medical proof supporting that the dysfunction is the primary cause for the need for surgery,

Employer has offered insufficient evidence rebutting Dr. Knight’s causation opinion. As

we have previously stated, “parties and their lawyers cannot rely solely on their own

medical interpretations of the evidence to successfully support their arguments.” Lurz v.

International Paper Co., No. 2015-02-0462, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 8, at

*17 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Feb. 14, 2018). Moreover, “[i]t is the responsibility

of each party to secure whatever expert opinions such party may deem appropriate in

support of its case.” Edwards v. The Job Shoppe U.S.A., No. 2016-05-0727, 2017 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 26, at *13 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Apr. 20, 2017).

At this preliminary stage of the case, we look at whether the preponderance of the

evidence presented supports the trial court’s finding that Employee is likely to prevail at a

hearing on the merits. Mace v. Express Services, No. 2015-06-0059, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 19, at *12 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. June 19, 2015). Employee

testified that prior to the work accident, she worked without restrictions forty hours a week

and overtime as allowed. She further testified that she received bonuses every month that

were partially based on attendance. This testimony was unrefuted by Employer. The trial

court, observing her closely, determined Employee to be a credible witness regarding

current complaints and physical restrictions. There was no proof presented that Employee

was unable to perform her work or had difficulty in her personal life performing activities

of daily living prior to the work accident. When a trial court has seen and heard the

witnesses, considerable deference must be afforded its credibility findings. Tryon v. Saturn

Corp., 254 S.W.3d 321, 372 (Tenn. 2008). Although we respectfully disagree with the trial

court’s conclusion that “no connection” exists between Employee’s pre-existing arthritis

and her need for the total knee replacement, her lay testimony combined with the opinion

of her treating physician are sufficient to support the trial court’s award of benefits at this

interlocutory stage. In short, Dr. Knight’s opinion that the work accident was the primary

cause of the need for the total knee replacement was not sufficiently rebutted. As such, we

do not find the evidence preponderates against the trial court’s determination that

Employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits.

7

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, we affirm the trial court’s award of medical and

temporary disability benefits and remand the case. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

8

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Tamatha Baker ) Docket No. 2022-07-0502

)

v. ) State File No. 33449-2022

)

ViacomCBS, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 11th day

of August, 2023.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

J. Allen Callison X allen.callison@mgclaw.com

cynthia.yeager@mgclaw.com

Rhoberta R. Orsland X rorsland@forthepeople.com

lwaite@forthepeople.com

Allen Phillips, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Matthew Keene

Acting Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-532-1564

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.