Opinion

Bragg, Robert v. Premium Services, LLC

  • 2023 TN WC App. 34
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 1, 2023
Status
Published
On the bench
Pele I. Godkin, Timothy W. Conner, Meredith B Weaver
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 23.7%

The opinion

FILED

Aug 01, 2023

02:39 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Robert Bragg ) Docket No. 2020-07-0020

)

v. ) State File No. 10723-2018

)

Premium Services, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ ) Heard June 26, 2023

Compensation Claims ) via Microsoft Teams

Allen Phillips, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

In this appeal, the employer asserts the trial court erred by failing to address in its

compensation order the employer’s potential entitlement to an offset against permanent

partial disability payments arising from the employee’s anticipated future social security

benefits. The employee was not receiving social security benefits at the time of

maximum medical improvement or as of the date of trial. In addition, the employee

asserts the trial court erred by limiting the employer’s liability for unpaid medical

expenses to the amounts mandated by Tennessee’s medical fee schedule and by not

awarding attorneys’ fees on the amount of unpaid medical expenses to be paid by the

employer. After careful consideration, we conclude the issue of a potential social

security offset is not ripe for adjudication, and we affirm the trial court’s order in all other

respects and certify it as final.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

Neil M. McIntire, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Premium Services,

LLC

Jeffrey P. Boyd, Jackson, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Robert Bragg

Factual and Procedural Background

The underlying facts of this case are largely undisputed for purposes of this

appeal. On January 11, 2018, Robert Bragg (“Employee”) was injured while “using a

vice [sic] to manually bend 3/4 [inch] steel into customer specifications” in the course

1

and scope of his employment with Premium Services, LLC (“Employer”). He

complained of pain in his right elbow, right arm, and right shoulder and reported the

incident to Employer. Employee received medical treatment for his right elbow with his

authorized physician, Dr. Nicholas Vance, who performed a lateral epicondylitis release.

He also received medical treatment for his right shoulder, including surgery, with his

authorized physician, Dr. Adam Smith. Following his shoulder surgery, Employee began

to complain of neck pain, and Dr. Smith recommended diagnostic testing, which

Employer authorized to determine whether Employee’s cervical complaints were causally

related to his 2018 work incident. Upon review of Employee’s diagnostic studies, Dr.

Smith determined he could not conclude that Employee’s cervical symptoms were

directly related to the January 2018 incident. He placed Employee at maximum medical

improvement on October 15, 2019, assigned a 2% impairment rating to the whole body,

and stated, “I do not believe I can directly attribute his arm and numbness and tingling

and his cervical degenerative change to his elbow or his shoulder based on our findings.”

Subsequently, Dr. Smith referred Employee to a pain specialist “outside of Worker’s

Compensation.”

In December 2019, Dr. Smith responded to an inquiry from Employee’s counsel in

which he opined that Employee’s cervical symptoms were related to his January 2018

work incident. Employee filed a petition for benefit determination on January 9, 2020,

requesting medical treatment for his neck. Employer provided a panel from which

Employee selected neurosurgeon Dr. Fereidoon Parsioon. Prior to his appointment with

Dr. Parsioon, Employee chose to see orthopedic surgeon Dr. Patrick Curlee on his own.

In his records, Dr. Curlee noted that he was seeing Employee based on a referral from Dr.

Smith and documented a “two-year history” of neck and arm pain with some numbness

and tingling in his arms and hands. Based upon his review of the cervical MRI, Dr.

Curlee diagnosed Employee with severe degenerative disc disease. He recommended a

cervical spine fusion at three levels and opined that Employee’s work injury had

aggravated or exacerbated his cervical pathology, resulting in the need for surgery. In

June 2020, Employee saw Dr. Parsioon, who agreed that Employee had degenerative disc

disease but did not agree that the condition or the need for surgery were work related.

Dr. Parsioon offered to perform the surgery under Employee’s personal insurance, and

Employer denied Employee’s neck claim based on Dr. Parsioon’s opinion. Eventually,

Dr. Curlee performed the cervical spine surgery under Employee’s private insurance.

At the March 2, 2023 trial, all four doctors’ depositions were entered into

evidence, and Employee testified live. On March 14, the trial court issued an order

finding by a preponderance of the evidence that Employee injured his neck while turning

the vise at work. In doing so, the court attached greater weight to Dr. Curlee’s opinions. 1

1

Employer argued that Dr. Parsioon’s opinion should be presumed correct because he was chosen from a

panel. The trial court determined that even if Dr. Parsioon had been entitled to a presumption of

correctness, Dr. Curlee’s opinion was sufficient to rebut any presumption that would have attached.

2

Thus, the court determined that Employee had sustained a twenty-three percent

permanent partial disability and applied enhancement factors of 1.35 for Employee’s not

having returned to work, 1.2 for his being over the age of 40, and 1.45 for his lacking a

high school diploma or its equivalent. Based on a compensation rate of $419.19 per

week, Employee’s award of permanent partial disability benefits totaled $101,914.09.

The parties agreed that Employee reached maximum medical improvement on

January 21, 2021, and that the accrued benefits from that date to March 2, 2023, the date

of trial, were payable in a lump sum. The court noted that Employee’s counsel was

entitled to a fee of twenty percent of the recovery, payable in lump sum, and that the

remainder of Employee’s permanent partial disability award was payable to Employee in

periodic payments until paid in full. The trial court also ordered Employer to “pay the

medical bills for treatment of [Employee’s] neck injury pursuant to the fee schedule.” It

further noted that, pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-226(a)(1),

Employee’s attorneys’ fees are to be paid by Employee as a percentage of his recovery,

as he was the party who employed the attorney. The court concluded that Employee was

entitled to reasonable and necessary future medical treatment for his elbow, shoulder, and

neck under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(1)(A) and designated Dr.

Vance as the treating physician for the elbow, Dr. Smith for the shoulder, and Dr. Curlee

for the neck.

On March 16, Employee filed a Rule 59 Motion to Alter or Amend the Judgment

or in the Alternative Rule 60.04 Motion to Clarify Clerical Mistake. In its motion,

Employee requested that the court clarify the procedure by which it had ordered the

reimbursement of the medical expenses already paid by BlueCross/BlueShield (“BCBS”)

and attorneys’ fees to be paid based on those medical expenses. On April 18, the trial

court issued an order denying Employee’s motion to alter or amend, referencing its

March 14 order instructing Employer to pay the disputed medical bills pursuant to the

applicable fee schedule. In doing so, the court noted that Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(iii) provides that “[t]he liability of the employer for the

services provided to the employee shall be limited to the maximum allowable fees” under

the fee schedule. The court also relied on Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0800-02-18-.15(1),

which states that “providers shall not accept[,] and employers shall not pay” any bill for

medical services that exceed the maximum allowable payment under the fee schedule.

As such, the court reiterated the terms of its March 14 order: Employer was to pay the

disputed medical bills to the providers pursuant to the fee schedule, and Employee’s

attorney was entitled to an attorney’s fee, paid by Employee, not to exceed 20% of the

total recovery, including the amount attributable to the unpaid medical expenses. Both

Employee and Employer appealed.

3

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2022). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2022).

Analysis

Employer identifies three issues in its notice of appeal, which we restate as

follows: (1) whether Employee established medical causation of the cervical spine

condition by a preponderance of the evidence; (2) whether Employer is entitled to an

offset or credit for a portion of Employee’s social security retirement benefits he may

receive in the future against future payments of permanent partial disability benefits; and

(3) whether Employee’s attorney is entitled to a fee related to the court’s award of

medical benefits and, if so, who is responsible for payment of the fees and in what

amount. The issues raised by Employee on appeal are whether the trial court erred in

finding that Employer is only responsible for paying disputed medical expenses pursuant

to the medical fee schedule and whether counsel for Employee is entitled to an attorneys’

fee associated with his asserted protection of BCBS’s subrogation interest in those

medical bills to be paid by the Employer.

With respect to Employer’s first issue, we note that Employer did not address the

issue of medical causation in its brief on appeal or during oral argument. Accordingly,

we treat that issue as having been waived. See Moore & Seiferth v. Ingles Markets, Inc.,

No. 2015-02-0193, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 54, at *4 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. App. Bd. Nov. 4, 2015).

4

Social Security Offset

Employer asserts it is entitled to an offset or credit against future periodic

payments of Employee’s permanent partial disability benefits beginning March 22, 2023,

equal to fifty percent of Employee’s old age social security benefits. See, e.g., McCoy v.

T.T.C., Illinois, Inc., 14 S.W.3d 734, 738 (Tenn. 2000). It is requesting modification of

the trial court’s order or, alternatively, that we remand the matter to the trial court with

instructions that the court include language addressing Employer’s entitlement to the

offset in its order. As an initial matter, we note that we were not provided with a

transcript of the compensation hearing, and, thus, we cannot know the extent and

substance of the discussion or any testimony regarding this issue. Further, when

questioned during oral argument as to whether the issue of an offset was raised at trial,

counsel for Employer stated there was “general discussion,” but he could not recall “if

the offset was specifically addressed in terms of whether there was a dispute about it.”

Employer also acknowledged it did not obtain evidence regarding the amount of

Employee’s anticipated monthly social security benefit because Employee was not

eligible for those benefits until March 22, 2023. It further noted that the trial court had

not yet made a determination as to compensability of the claim at the time of trial.

Conversely, counsel for Employee argued that, to the best of his recollection, the issue

was not raised at trial “because [Employee] was not eligible for social security benefits at

that time.” Further, Employee claimed that even if the matter had been raised, the trial

court would have been unable to calculate the offset at the time of the hearing.

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(4)(A)(i), the relevant statute

concerning the social security offset, provides:

For permanent total disability as defined in subdivision (4)(B), [the

employee is entitled to] sixty-six and two-thirds percent (66 ⅔%) of the

wages received at the time of the injury, subject to the maximum weekly

benefit and minimum weekly benefit . . . . This compensation shall be paid

during the period of the permanent total disability until the employee is, by

age, eligible for full benefits in the Old Age Insurance Benefit Program

under the Social Security Act . . .; provided, that with respect to disabilities

resulting from injuries that occur less than five (5) years before the date

when the employee is eligible for full benefits in the Old Age Insurance

Benefit Program as referenced previously . . . or after the employee is

eligible for such benefits, permanent total disability benefits are payable for

a period of two hundred sixty (260) weeks. The compensation payments

shall be reduced by the amount of any old age insurance benefit payments

attributable to employer contributions . . . .

(Emphasis added.) Employer relies on McCoy in support of its contention that the social

security offset language applies to all injuries to the body as a whole, even if the

5

permanent disability is not total. Employer further contends the trial court erred by

omitting the statutory offset language in its compensation order and by failing to instruct

Employer to “pay those 105.96 [weeks of] periodic payments for permanent partial

disability benefits subject to the offset provided for in [Tennessee Code Annotated

section] 50-6-207(4)(A)(i).” In McCoy, the Tennessee Supreme Court held that the social

security offset contained in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(4)(A)(i) applies

to workers over the age of sixty who suffer injuries to the body as a whole regardless of

whether the injury rendered the injured worker totally or partially disabled. Id. at *13.

Employer also referenced Cummings v. Express Courier International, Inc., No.

E2020-00548-SC-R3-WC, 2021 Tenn. LEXIS 55 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Feb. 17,

2021), noting that the employee in that case was 62 years old when she reached

maximum medical improvement but was 69 at the time of trial. In Cummings, the trial

court found the employee permanently and totally disabled and concluded the employer

was entitled to an offset. Id. at *7. On appeal, the result was affirmed by the Tennessee

Supreme Court. Id. Employer argues that binding precedent and the unambiguous

language of the statute clearly establish that Employer is entitled to an offset and that it

should be applied regardless of whether the issue was raised at trial because it is simply a

mathematical calculation to be performed when the trial court enters its order.

Conversely, Employee asserts that the trial court did not err because he was not

eligible for social security retirement benefits and was not drawing those benefits on his

date of injury or on the date Employee was found to have reached maximum medical

improvement. Further, Employee argues that McCoy was statutorily overruled by the

passage of the 2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act because the legislature did not

include language addressing the social security offset in Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-207(3), the section that deals with permanent partial disability. Employee

contends that the legislature was aware that McCoy had expanded the entitlement to an

offset in cases of permanent partial disability and intentionally chose not to change or

move the language to adopt it statutorily with respect to permanent partial disability

benefits. Therefore, Employee argues McCoy is no longer good law. Finally, Employee

asserts Employer should not be entitled to disturb the trial court’s judgment because

parties will be incentivized to engage in gamesmanship with respect to the timing of

claims.

We first note that it is undisputed that Employee was not eligible for social

security retirement benefits at the time of his injury, at the time he reached maximum

medical improvement, or at the time of his compensation hearing. The compensation

hearing was held on March 2, 2023, and the trial court’s order was issued on March 14,

2023. The record indicates that Employee was born on November 22, 1956, and,

6

apparently, became eligible for Social Security old age benefits on March 22, 2023. 2

After the trial court entered its compensation order, Employer did not file a Rule 59

Motion to Alter or Amend the Judgment once Employee became eligible for social

security benefits. 3 As noted previously, the parties did not file a transcript of the hearing,

so we are unable to determine whether and to what extent the social security offset was

discussed at trial or whether Employer elicited any testimony or presented other evidence

regarding the extent of the offset. Nevertheless, it is clear the trial court was not afforded

an opportunity to address this issue prior to this appeal. Accordingly, we discern no error

by the trial court because this issue was not ripe for adjudication at the time of the

compensation hearing.

Despite Employer not filing a motion to alter or amend after Employee became

eligible for social security old age benefits, Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

229(c) provides another mechanism for the modification of any award payable

periodically:

(c) All amounts paid by the employer and received by the employee or

the employee’s dependents, by lump sum payments, shall be final,

but the amount of any award payable periodically for more than

twenty-six (26) weeks may be modified as follows:

(1) At any time by agreement of the parties and approval

by the court; or

(2) If the parties do not agree, then at any time after

twenty-six (26) weeks from the date of the award,

either party may file an application to the court of

workers’ compensation claims, on the ground of

increase or decrease of incapacity due solely to the

injury.

Thus, there are statutory mechanisms for modification of disability awards to be paid

periodically for more than twenty-six weeks. Employer can seek modification of the

award pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotation section 50-6-229(c)(1). 4

2

For persons born in 1956, the “normal retirement age” is at 66 years and 4 months. See

https://www.ssa.gov/oact/progdata/nra.html (last visited July 26, 2023).

3

As noted previously, following the trial court’s order, Employee filed a Rule 59 Motion to Alter or

Amend the Judgment or in the Alternative Rule 60.04 Motion to Clarify Clerical Mistake.

4

Employer could also seek modification of the award at any time after twenty-six (26) weeks from the

date of the award pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotation section 50-6-229(c)(2) if there is a factual basis

for such a motion.

7

Moreover, Employer can seek relief from the trial court’s judgment or order via

Rule 60.02 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure, which provides that, “[o]n motion

and upon such terms as are just, the court may relieve a party . . . from a final judgment,

order or proceeding” for certain reasons, including “any other reason justifying relief

from the operation of the judgment.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 60.02. The motion must be made

within a “reasonable time” and “not more than one year after the judgment, order[,] or

proceeding was entered or taken.” Rule 60.02 also “does not limit the power of a court to

entertain an independent action to relieve a party from a judgment, order[,] or

proceeding.”

Thus, we conclude that, as of the date the trial court’s compensation order was

filed, the issue of a potential social security offset was not ripe for adjudication, and the

issue is not ripe for appeal. See, e.g., Foriest v. United Parcel Service, Inc., No. 2017-06-

0413, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6-8 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App.

Bd. Aug. 10, 2018) (“The central concern of the ripeness doctrine is whether the case

involves uncertain or contingent future events that may or may not occur as anticipated

or, indeed, may not occur at all.”). This, however, does not prevent Employer from

seeking relief pursuant to any applicable statute or rule.

With respect to Employee’s argument regarding the continued viability of the

Supreme Court’s holding in McCoy, we disagree that it has been statutorily overruled.

The relevant statute at issue in McCoy, Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

207(4)(A)(i), was unaltered by the 2013 reforms. That same language, which remains in

the Law presently, has been interpreted by the Tennessee Supreme Court to apply both to

permanent total and permanent partial disability benefits. One principle of statutory

construction states that a legislature is deemed to be aware of judicial interpretations of

statutes and, absent specific action to alter or amend the statute in question, is presumed

to have acquiesced in that judicial interpretation. See, e.g., Coffee Cty Bd. of Educ. v.

City of Tullahoma, 574 S.W.3d 832, 847 (Tenn. 2019). Employee has cited no legislative

action since the adoption of the Reform Act that limited, modified, or otherwise

abrogated this language. Accordingly, we conclude Employee’s argument is without

merit.

Medical Expenses and Attorneys’ Fees

Employee argues on appeal that the trial court erred in finding Employer was not

responsible for reimbursing BCBS the full amount of medical expenses it paid for

Employee’s work-related treatment. Employee also contends the court erred in not

ordering Employer to pay an attorneys’ fee equal to twenty percent of the full amount of

medical expenses paid by BCBS as a result of his attorney’s efforts to protect BCBS’s

subrogation interest. In support of its position, Employee relies on Reatherford v.

Lincoln Brass Works, No. 01S01-9707-CV-00145, 1998 Tenn. LEXIS 33 (Tenn.

8

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 26, 1998). In Reatherford, which is an unpublished opinion,

the employee’s recovery as awarded by the trial court included “all medical expenses,”

which totaled $11,438 for treatment provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs

(“VA”). In a prior appeal, the Supreme Court had affirmed the trial court’s judgment. 5

Thereafter, the employee filed a motion in the trial court seeking “judicial coercion” for

the employer to pay the benefits that were awarded, including interest on the judgment.

1998 Tenn. LEXIS 33, at *2. The employer responded by stating that the interest had

been paid and that, with respect to the medical expenses, the VA agreed to accept $7,625

to fully resolve its subrogation lien. Id. The trial court ruled that the VA had a

subrogation interest in the total amount of $11,438 for the medical treatment it provided,

but that the “VA has compromised its subrogation interest to $7,625.00[,] which has been

paid in full.” Id. at *2-3. The court awarded the employee’s attorney a fee based on the

full subrogation lien for representing the VA “with such payment to be made by the

[employer].” Id. at *3.

The employer appealed again, questioning the award of attorneys’ fees. The

Supreme Court’s Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel affirmed the trial

court’s order, noting that the initial judgment directed the employer to pay “‘all medical

expenses,’ as contrasted to specific amounts to named providers.” Id. at *4. The Panel

affirmed the trial court’s order requiring the employer pay attorneys’ fees based on that

attorney’s representation of the VA’s subrogation interest, stating “[w]e know of no

authority, and none has been cited to us, for the proposition that under the circumstances

of this case the [employer] should be allowed to defeat the attorney[s’] fee in the manner

fashioned.” Id. at *5.

There are several critical differences between the circumstances of Reatherford

and the present case. First, it is important to note that the Panel issued its opinion in

Reatherford prior to Tennessee’s adoption of a medical fee schedule for workers’

compensation cases. Second, the General Assembly enacted a statute that requires

employers to pay medical expenses for work-related injuries pursuant to the terms of that

fee schedule. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(iii) (“[t]he liability of the

employer for the services provided to the employee shall be limited to the maximum

allowable fees” under the fee schedule); see also Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-18-

.01 et seq. In fact, employers are prohibited from paying any medical bill for a covered

injury outside the fee schedule. Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-18-.15(1). Those

requirements did not exist when Reatherford was decided.

Third, unlike in Reatherford, the court here did not order Employer to pay “all”

medical expenses but rather, relying on Bowlin v. Servall, LLC, No. 2017-07-0224, 2020

TN Work. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 70, at *16 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Nov. 25,

5

Reatherford v. Lincoln Brass Works, No. 01S01-9504-CV-00058, 1996 Tenn. LEXIS 313 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel May 17, 1996).

9

2020), ordered Employer to “pay the medical bills for treatment of [Employee’s] neck

injury pursuant to the fee schedule.” (Emphasis added.) 6 Fourth, there is no proof in the

record that BCBS retained counsel to protect its subrogation interest or that Employee’s

counsel had an attorney-client relationship with BCBS. Accordingly, we discern no error

with the trial court’s order requiring Employer to pay medical expenses to Employee’s

medical providers in amounts allowable under the applicable fee schedule. 7

Finally, as we have previously observed, the Tennessee Supreme Court has held

that contested medical expenses are part of the “recovery or award” upon which

attorneys’ fees may be based. See Langford v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co., 854 S.W.2d 100,

102 (Tenn. 1993). Here, the trial court noted that Tennessee allows an award of

attorneys’ fees for the recovery of disputed medical expenses and that, pursuant to

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-226(a)(1), this fee is to be paid by the party

employing the attorney from “the amount of the recovery.” Employee has cited no

statutory authority or binding precedent supporting the proposition that a trial court can

compel Employer to pay twenty percent of the amount of unpaid medical expenses to

Employee’s attorney as a fee separate and apart from its payment of medical bills to the

providers in accordance with the applicable fee schedule. Thus, we affirm the trial

court’s order regarding the award of attorneys’ fees.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm and certify as final the trial court’s March 14,

2023 order in all respects. Each party shall pay its own costs on appeal.

6

Our opinion in Bowlin was affirmed and adopted by the Tennessee Supreme Court’s Special Workers’

Compensation Appeals Panel in Bowlin v. Servall, LLC, No. W2020-01708-SC-R3-WC, 2021 Tenn.

LEXIS 532 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Aug. 13, 2021), which was, in turn, accepted and approved by

the Tennessee Supreme Court. Bowlin v. Servall, LLC, No. W2020-01708-SC-R3-WC, 2021 Tenn.

LEXIS 533 (Tenn. Aug. 13, 2021).

7

Thus, Employer is obligated by the terms of the trial court’s order to pay the providers pursuant to the

fee schedule, and BCBS’s claim for reimbursement would then be against the providers, not Employer.

10

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Robert Bragg ) Docket No. 2020-07-0020

)

v. ) State File No. 10723-2018

)

Premium Services, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 1st day

of August, 2023.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Neil M. McIntire X nmcintire@howell-fisher.com

Jeffrey P. Boyd X jboyd@borenandboyd.com

scallison@borenandboyd.com

dmyles@borenandboyd.com

Allen Phillips, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Matthew Keene

Acting Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-532-1564

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.