Opinion

Discover Property Cslty v. Blue Bell

  • 73 F.4th 322
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jul 11, 2023
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Private Civil Diversity
Cited by
17 cases
Authority
More cited than 69.3%

“[T]he intentional act requirement is easily met because there were no allegations that the directors or officers were acting involuntarily.”

How later courts described this case

  • “[T]he intentional act requirement is easily met because there were no allegations that the directors or officers were acting involuntarily.”
  • “[T]he inclusion of damages ‘for care, loss of services or death’ was meant to include claims ‘like loss of consortium claims by family members, and subrogation claims.’” (citation omitted)
  • construing an insurance policy that defined “occurrence” as an “accident”
  • shareholders’ suit did not seek damages “because of bodily injury” where it sought to recover shareholders’ own financial losses caused by a listeria outbreak, rather than “damages on behalf of customers who may have suffered ‘bodily injury’ from the . . . outbreak”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 1 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

____________ FILED

July 11, 2023

No. 22-50842 Lyle W. Cayce

____________ Clerk

Discover Property & Casualty Insurance Company; The

Travelers Indemnity Company of Connecticut,

Plaintiffs—Appellees,

versus

Blue Bell Creameries USA, Incorporated; Blue Bell

Creameries, L.P.; Blue Bell Creameries, Incorporated;

John W. Barnhill, Jr.; Greg A. Bridges; Richard

Dickson; Paul A. Ehlert; Jim E. Kruse; Paul W. Kruse; W.

J. Rankin; Howard W. Kruse; Patricia I. Ryan; Dorothy

McCleod MacInerney,

Defendants—Appellants.

______________________________

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Texas

USDC No. 1:21-CV-487

______________________________

Before King, Smith, and Elrod, Circuit Judges.

Jennifer Walker Elrod, Circuit Judge:

The Blue Bell Defendants appeal the district court’s grant of summary

judgment in favor of Discover Property & Casualty Insurance Company and

the Travelers Indemnity Company of Connecticut. Because the complaint

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 2 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

in the underlying shareholder lawsuit does not allege any “occurrence” or

seek “damages because of bodily injury,” we AFFIRM.

I

This case concerns an insurance coverage dispute. In 2015, a Listeria

outbreak led to a shut-down of Blue Bell factories and a nationwide recall of

its products. Consequently, Blue Bell suffered a substantial financial loss.

That financial loss led to a shareholder lawsuit against Blue Bell’s directors

and officers in the Delaware Court of Chancery. Marchand v. Barnhill, No.

2017-0586-JRS, 2018 WL 4657159 (Del. Ch. Sept. 27, 2018), rev’d, 212 A.3d

805 (Del. 2019). In that case, Jack L. Marchand II, a shareholder of Blue Bell

Creameries USA, Inc., brought a derivative action against Blue Bell’s

directors and officers, alleging breach of fiduciary duties. Blue Bell

Creameries USA, Inc. is a Delaware corporation, and the lawsuit is governed

by Delaware law. Id.

Relevant here, a shareholder derivative action is “an action brought

by a shareholder in the name or right of a corporation to redress an injury

sustained by, or to enforce a duty owed to, the corporation.” 13 Fletcher

Cyc. Corp. § 5939. Under Delaware law, directors and officers “owe

fiduciary duties of care and loyalty” to the corporation and its shareholders.

Gantler v. Stephens, 965 A.2d 695, 708–09 (Del. 2009). Broadly speaking, the

duty of loyalty requires fiduciaries “to advance the principal’s interests and

bars them from promoting their own interests at the principal’s expense,”

whereas the duty of care “requires fiduciaries to exercise power

competently.” Holger Spamann, Scott Hirst & Gabriel Rauterberg,

Corporations in 100 Pages 36 (3d ed. 2022).

Marchand, on behalf of Blue Bell, alleged that Blue Bell’s officers and

directors breached their fiduciary duties of care and loyalty by failing “to

comply with regulations and establish controls.” The complaint also alleged

2

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 3 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

that the directors and officers knew that Blue Bell’s manufacturing plants had

repeatedly and consistently tested positive for Listeria contamination, yet

they continued to manufacture and distribute ice cream products in

conscious disregard of the known risks. The complaint asserted that, “[a]s a

result of the breaches of fiduciary duty alleged [in the complaint], the

Company and its stockholders suffered injury in the amount of at least

hundreds of millions of dollars.”

As to liability, Marchand contended that the directors and officers are

personally liable for the violations against Blue Bell and its shareholders. As

compensation, he asked that the court award “Blue Bell the damages

sustained by it as a result of the breaches of fiduciary duties.” See Tooley v.

Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette, Inc., 845 A.2d 1031, 1036 (Del. 2004)

(“Because a derivative suit is being brought on behalf of the corporation, the

recovery, if any, must go to the corporation.”). The complaint also requested

that the court order “disgorgement and cancellation of stock in Blue Bell”

owned by the directors and officers.

Three years after the shareholder lawsuit was filed, the directors and

officers sought defense coverage under Blue Bell’s Commercial General

Liability insurance policies. In response, the Insurance Companies filed a

lawsuit in this case, seeking a declaration that they have no duty to defend or

indemnify1 the directors and officers in relation to the shareholder lawsuit.

_____________________

1

Although the Insurance Companies seek declaratory judgment as to both their

duty to defend and duty to indemnify, the parties have submitted a joint stipulation stating

that “If the [district court] finds there is no duty to defend, it may also find there is no duty

to indemnify, but otherwise the duty to indemnify will not be a subject of the Parties’

motions.”

3

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 4 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

The parties agree as to which policy governs.2 The applicable policy

states that, in addition to the company, “‘executive officers’ and directors

are insureds, but only with respect to their duties as [the company’s] officers

or directors.” As to the duty to indemnify, the insurer agreed to “pay those

sums that the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because of

‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage.’” The insurer also has a “duty to

defend the insured against any ‘suit’ seeking those damages.” But the duties

to defend and indemnify apply “only if the ‘bodily injury’ and ‘property

damage’ is caused by an ‘occurrence,’” which is defined as “an accident,

including continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general

harmful conditions.” Having stipulated that the policy was in effect at all

relevant times, both parties filed a motion for summary judgment.

The district court granted summary judgment in favor of the

Insurance Companies based on three independent grounds: (1) the directors

and officers are not “insureds” under the policy when sued for “breach of a

duty owed to the corporation”; (2) the shareholder lawsuit does not stem

from either an “accident” or “occurrence” because the alleged misconducts

were “undertaken with knowledge”; and (3) the shareholder suit does not

allege damages “because of bodily injury.” The Blue Bell Defendants timely

appealed.

II

This court reviews the grant of summary judgment de novo. Sweetin v.

City of Texas City, Texas, 48 F.4th 387, 391 (5th Cir. 2022). “Summary

_____________________

2

The Blue Bell Entities were covered at all relevant times by several different

Commercial General Liability policies. Here, the parties have stipulated that all of those

policies are identical in “all material respects to the 2015 Policy.” They also agreed that

their cross-motions for summary judgment in this case would be governed by “the eight-

corners rule [and] the terms and conditions of the 2015 Policy.”

4

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 5 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

judgment is proper if the movant shows that there is no genuine dispute of

material fact and that the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.”

Id. “On cross-motions for summary judgment, we review each party’s

motion independently, viewing the evidence and inferences in the light most

favorable to the nonmoving party.” Amerisure Ins. Co. v. Navigators Ins. Co.,

611 F.3d 299, 304 (5th Cir. 2010)

Texas law governs this diversity case. See Bayle v. Allstate Ins. Co., 615

F.3d 350, 355 (5th Cir. 2010). However, the Supreme Court of Texas has not

addressed the precise issues here. Thus, we must make an “Erie guess” as

to how the Supreme Court of Texas would decide the questions before us.

Gilbane Bldg. Co. v. Admiral Ins. Co., 664 F.3d 589, 593 (5th Cir. 2011). An

Erie guess must be based on: (1) decisions of the Supreme Court of Texas in

analogous cases, (2) the rationales and analyses underlying the Supreme

Court of Texas’s decisions on related issues, (3) dicta by the Supreme Court

of Texas, (4) lower state court decisions, (5) the general rule on the question,

(6) the rulings of courts of other states to which Texas courts look when

formulating substantive law, and (7) other available sources, such as treatises

and legal commentaries. Am. Int’l Specialty Lines Ins. Co. v. Rentech Steel

LLC, 620 F.3d 558, 564 (5th Cir. 2010) (citation and quotation marks

omitted); see Sanders v. Boeing Co., 68 F.4th 977, 981 (5th Cir. 2023).

Under Texas law, it is well established that the duty to defend and the

duty to indemnify are “distinct and separate duties.” King v. Dallas Fire Ins.

Co., 85 S.W.3d 185, 187 (Tex. 2002). An “insurer may have a duty to defend

but, eventually, no duty to indemnify.” Farmers Texas Cnty. Mut. Ins. Co. v.

Griffin, 955 S.W.2d 81, 82 (Tex. 1997). Likewise, an “insurer may have a

duty to indemnify its insured even if the duty to defend never arises.” D.R.

Horton-Texas, Ltd. v. Markel Int’l Ins. Co., 300 S.W.3d 740, 741 (Tex. 2009).

5

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 6 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

As to the duty to defend, two documents are determinative: “the

insurance policy and the third-party plaintiff’s pleadings in the underlying

litigation, which the court must review ‘without regard to the truth or falsity

of those allegations.’” Amerisure, 611 F.3d at 309 (quoting GuideOne Elite

Ins. Co. v. Fielder Rd. Baptist Church, 197 S.W.3d 305, 308 (Tex. 2006)). In

contrast, the “duty to indemnify depends on the facts proven and whether

the damages caused by the actions or omissions proven are covered by the

terms of the policy.” D.R. Horton-Texas, 300 S.W.3d at 744. “Evidence is

usually necessary in the coverage litigation to establish or refute an insurer’s

duty to indemnify.” Id.

Here, only the duty to defend is at issue because the parties have

stipulated that “If the [district court] finds there is no duty to defend, it may

also find there is no duty to indemnify, but otherwise the duty to indemnify

will not be a subject of the Parties’ motions.” Accordingly, we are confined

by Texas’s “eight-corners rule,” which directs courts to determine an

insurer’s duty to defend based on: (1) the pleading against the insured in the

underlying litigation and (2) the terms of the insurance policy. Monroe Guar.

Ins. Co. v. BITCO Gen. Ins. Corp., 640 S.W.3d 195, 199 (Tex. 2022).

“Insurance policy interpretation principles emphasize a policy’s plain

language in determining its intended coverage.” Gilbert Texas Const., L.P. v.

Underwriters at Lloyd’s London, 327 S.W.3d 118, 131 (Tex. 2010). When there

is ambiguity, we “resolv[e] any doubt in favor of coverage.” Allstate Ins. Co.

v. Hallman, 159 S.W.3d 640, 643 (Tex. 2005). But a contract “is not

ambiguous simply because the parties to a lawsuit offer conflicting

interpretations of the contract’s provisions.” Nassar v. Liberty Mut. Fire Ins.

Co., 508 S.W.3d 254, 258 (Tex. 2017).

There are three issues on appeal. First, whether the directors and

officers qualify as additional insureds in relation to the shareholder lawsuit.

6

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 7 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

Second, whether the alleged injuries in the shareholder lawsuit were caused

by an “occurrence.” And third, whether the shareholder lawsuit seeks

“damages because of bodily injury.” The district court answered “no” to all

three questions. While we disagree with the district court’s determination as

to the first issue, we agree with its determination as to the second and third.

We discuss each issue in turn.

III

First, we address whether the directors and officers qualify as

additional insureds in relation to the shareholder lawsuit. The policy states

that Blue Bell’s directors and officers are insureds, but “only with respect to

their duties as [the company’s] officers or directors.”

The Insurance Companies argue, and the district court agreed, that

the directors and officers do not qualify as additional insureds. The district

court noted that the underlying allegation in the shareholder lawsuit is that

the directors and officers “knowingly disregarded contamination risk and

safety compliance” despite positive Lysteria tests and thus violated their

fiduciary duties to the corporation. Given that the lawsuit is for breach of

fiduciary duty, the district court rejected the proposition that the directors

and officers were sued for actions “with respect to their duties” when it is

alleged that they breached those very duties.

We disagree with the district court and hold that the directors and

officers are “insureds” in relation to the shareholder lawsuit. At first glance,

the argument adopted by the district court might sound like a logical

tautology. After all, how can the directors and officers be “acting with

respect to their duties” during the alleged violations of fiduciary duties?

Relevant here are two distinct meanings of the word “duty.” On the

one hand, “duty” can mean moral or legal “obligation” (e.g., “duty to

indemnify,” “duty to defend”). On the other hand, it can also mean

7

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 8 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

something that is more analogous to “job” or “role” (e.g., “the President’s

official duties,” “the scope of his duties”). Duty, Oxford Dictionary &

Thesaurus of Current English (2d ed. 2007) (“duty n. 1 responsibility,

obligation, commitment. 2 job, task, assignment, mission, function, charge,

role.”). With this distinction in mind, it is possible that a director or officer

breached his fiduciary duty (i.e., legal obligation) while still acting with

respect to his duties (i.e., role) as a director or officer of the corporation. Cf.

Alexander v. Walker, 435 S.W.3d 789, 789–90, 92 (Tex. 2014) (holding that a

lawsuit against two sheriffs alleging “false arrest, false imprisonment, and

malicious prosecution” was nonetheless “based on conduct within the

general scope of the officers’ employment”).

To be sure, some violations are wholly unrelated or contrary to one’s

role such that they render the person effectively acting outside the scope of

his role. See, e.g., Am. States Ins. Co. v. Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church

Outside of Russia, 170 F. App’x 869, 872 n.16 (5th Cir. 2006) (holding that

monks who are accused of sexual molestation “do not qualify as insureds

because clergy are considered insureds under the policy only ‘with respect to

their duties as such’”); Farr v. Farm Bureau Ins. Co. of Nebraska, 61 F.3d 677,

681 (8th Cir. 1995) (holding that corporate officers are not “carrying out their

duties” when acting “in a manner that is antagonistic toward the

corporation[]”).

Here, however, as the Blue Bell Defendants noted, the shareholder

did not allege that the directors and officers were taking any action that was

outside the scope of “managing and operating the ice cream company.” To

the contrary, the complaint alleged that the directors and officers violated

their fiduciary duties because they “continued the Company’s production

and distribution of ice-cream” when they should not have. While it is

possible that they violated their fiduciary duties by failing to stop production

8

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 9 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

and distribution of ice-cream, their deciding to continue is plainly within the

scope of their role.

Thus, based on the complaint, the alleged breach of fiduciary duty

occurred while the directors and officers were acting “with respect to their

duties” as such. Accordingly, we hold that they are “insureds” in relation

to the shareholder lawsuit. See Bitco Gen. Ins. Corp. v. Monroe Guar. Ins. Co.,

31 F.4th 325, 329 (5th Cir. 2022) (“If a complaint alleges at least one cause

of action that is ‘potentially’ within the policy’s coverage, the insurer must

defend the entire lawsuit.”). In the alternative, there is at least sufficient

uncertainty on this issue that we must choose an interpretation that favors

coverage. Id.

IV

Next, we address whether the alleged injuries in the underlying

lawsuit were caused by an “occurrence.” Under the policy, the Insurance

Companies have a duty to defend only if the alleged injury “is caused by an

‘occurrence.’” And “occurrence” is defined as “an accident, including

continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general harmful

conditions.”

Under Texas law, a person’s act is not an accident “when [1] he

commits an intentional act that [2] results in injuries that ordinarily follow

from or could be reasonably anticipated from the intentional act.” Am. States

Ins. Co. v. Bailey, 133 F.3d 363, 372 (5th Cir. 1998) (citing Trinity Universal

Ins. Co. v. Cowan, 945 S.W.2d 819, 827–28 (Tex. 1997)). We have noted that,

in this context, “an intentional act and the intent to cause injury are two

distinct concepts.” Id. at 372 n.11. To illustrate, “the hunter who

deliberately fires a gun at what he believes to be a deer but is actually a

person” committed an “intentional” act, even though the harm was not

intentional. Trinity, 945 S.W.2d at 828. As such, the “intentional acts”

9

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 10 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

requirement is concerned with the voluntariness of an action or omission, not

the actor’s intended outcome.

A

We agree with the Insurance Companies and the district court that the

alleged injuries were not caused by an “accident.” As an initial matter, the

intentional act requirement is easily met because there were no allegations

that the directors or officers were acting involuntarily. To the contrary, the

shareholder complaint alleged that they “knowingly disregarded

contamination risk and safety compliance” and “willfully failed to exercise”

their authority.

As to foreseeability, the shareholder complaint alleged several facts

showing that the Listeria outbreak and the attendant financial harm “could

be ‘reasonably anticipated.’” Trinity, 945 S.W.2d at 828 (quoting State Farm

Fire & Casualty Co. v. S.S., 858 S.W.2d 374, 377 (Tex.1993)). For example,

the complaint alleged that:

 In February 2015, Blue Bell received notification that the Texas

Department of State Health Services had positive tests for Listeria in

Blue Bell samples.

 In March 2015, health authorities reported that they suspected

connection between human Listeria infections in Kansas and products

made by Blue Bell’s Brenham facility.

 In April 2015, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention stated

that tests indicated Blue Bell products from the manufacturing plants

in Texas and Oklahoma were the source of a Listeria outbreak.

 Beginning in early 2013 and continuing into early 2015 . . ., Company

management received increasingly frequent and continuing positive

presumptive test results for Listeria.

10

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 11 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

 Positive tests also included repeated positive results from the

Company’s third-party laboratory in 2014, on consecutive samples.

Because our review is confined by the eight-corners rule, we assess the

shareholder’s allegations “without regard to the truth or falsity of those

allegations.” GuideOne, 197 S.W.3d at 308 (citations omitted). Having done

so, we agree with the district court that, as alleged in the shareholder

complaint, the breach of fiduciary duties stemmed from intentional acts, and

the Listeria outbreak and the resulting financial harm were natural and

probable consequences that could be reasonably anticipated.

B

On appeal, the Blue Bell Defendants offer three reasons for why the

district court erred on this issue.

1

First, the Blue Bell Defendants assert that the district court ignored

the additional, relevant policy language stating that accident “includ[es]

continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general harmful

conditions.” The full definition reads as follows:

“Occurrence” means an accident, including continuous or

repeated exposure to substantially the same general harmful

conditions.

The Blue Bell Defendants argue that the second part of the definition is

relevant because the shareholder lawsuit alleged that Blue Bell’s plants

“contained harmful conditions that allowed the Listeria to multiply through

continuous exposure.” They contend that because such an allegation

signifies “continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general

harmful conditions,” the shareholder lawsuit alleged an “occurrence.” In

making this argument, the Blue Bell Defendants propose that we read the

dependent clause (i.e., “including continuous or repeated exposure to

11

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 12 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

substantially the same general harmful conditions”) as extending the scope

of the definition.

We refuse to do so, however, because that proposed interpretation is

unpersuasive when we apply the whole-text canon. See Antonin Scalia &

Bryan A. Garner, Reading Law: The Interpretation of Legal Texts 167 (2012)

(“The whole of a contract is to be taken together, so as to give effect to every

part, if reasonably practicable, each clause helping to interpret the other.”).

As the Supreme Court of Texas observed, when the definitional language is

read in context, it is evident that the function of the dependent clause is “to

limit the number of occurrences an insured can claim for what the policy

deems to be a single accident.” Don’s Bldg. Supply, Inc. v. OneBeacon Ins. Co.,

267 S.W.3d 20, 24 (Tex. 2008). Stated differently, the clause serves to

ensure that “continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same

general harmful conditions” is not counted as multiple accidents or

occurrences. “This limitation is sometimes important because the dollar

limits of the policy include an aggregate limit and also a lower dollar limit per

occurrence.” Id. For example, the policy at issue here has an “Each

Occurrence Limit” of $5,000,000.

Accordingly, we are unpersuaded by the Blue Bell Defendants’

proposed interpretation. The dependent clause functions “to limit the

number of occurrences,” not to enlarge the scope of the meaning of

“occurrence.” Id.

2

Second, the Blue Bell Defendants argue that, because the policy

includes an explicit exclusion for “bodily injury expected or intended,” some

12

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 13 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

intentional conduct3 must fall within the definition of “occurrence.” Or else,

they contend, the explicit exclusion would be rendered surplusage.

This argument is likewise unpersuasive because the “occurrence” /

“accident” analysis is meaningfully different from the exclusion for

“expected or intended” injuries. Under Texas law, whether the insured

“expect[s] or intend[s] [the injury] is of no consequence to our determination

of whether his actions were an ‘accident.’” Trinity, 945 S.W.2d at 827–28.

If the resulting injury ordinarily follows from or could be “reasonably

anticipated” from the intentional act, then the act is not an accident, and thus

not an occurrence. Id. at 828 (quoting S.S., 858 S.W.2d at 377).

To the extent that the Supreme Court of Texas’s understanding of

“accident” overlaps with the intentional-injury exclusion, such an overlap

should not be interpreted as an unintended surplusage because, as the Court

recognized, “there is a [historical] relationship between the policy’s

definition of ‘occurrence’ and the exclusion for intentional acts.” King, 85

S.W.3d at 192. That relationship arises from the fact that, before the 1986

modification to the Corporate General Liability Policy, the intentional-injury

exception was subsumed within the definition of “occurrence.” The

definition of “occurrence” in pre-1986 CGL policies read:

“Occurrence” means an accident, including continuous or

repeated exposure to substantially the same general harmful

condition, which results in bodily injury or property damage

neither expected nor intended from the standpoint of the insured.

Id. at 192 (citing 16 Eric Mills Holmes, Holmes’ Appleman On Insurance 2d

§ 117.5) (emphasis added). In 1986, however, “[t]he language ‘expected or

intended from the standpoint of the insured’ was removed from the

_____________________

3

We understand the phrase “intentional conduct” in the Blue Bell Defendants’

brief to mean a conduct that is intended to cause harm rather than mere voluntary action.

13

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 14 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

definition of ‘occurrence’ and reinserted as an exclusion from coverage.” Id.

The upshot of this historical fact is that any overlap between the definition of

“occurrence” and the intentional-injury exclusion is a byproduct of historical

practices rather than an unintended surplusage that ought to be excised.

3

Third, the Blue Bell Defendants assert that, even assuming arguendo

that their previous arguments fail, coverage still exists because “there are not

enough details in the Underlying Suit to conclude that a Listeria outbreak was

an expected result of Appellants’ actions.” As support, they observe that the

shareholder lawsuit fails to allege that “any regulatory authority took any

drastic action to stop the production of ice cream, which one might expect if

Listeria contamination was a natural and probable result of the conditions at

the facilities.” Given this deficiency, they conclude that the district court

erred because the shareholder lawsuit “does not conclusively show

scientifically that Listeria outbreak was the natural and probable result” of

the alleged misconducts.

But the relevant question is not whether the complaint “conclusively

show scientifically” that the injuries were probable. Under Texas law, so

long as the underlying complaint alleged facts showing that the injuries

“could be reasonably anticipated” to result from the misconduct, the

complaint did not allege an accident. Trinity, 945 S.W.2d at 828 (citation and

quotation marks omitted). “To hold otherwise would inappropriately

enhance rather than minimize the moral hazard inherent in insurance.” Id.;

see Steven Shavell, On Moral Hazard and Insurance, 93 Q.J. Econ. 541, 541

(1979) (“Moral hazard refers here to the tendency of insurance protection to

alter an individual’s motive to prevent loss.”).

Here, the underlying complaint alleged that the company

management had received “increasingly frequent and continuing positive

14

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 15 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

presumptive test results for Listeria” from several governmental authorities

and on multiple different occasions. And the complaint also alleged that the

company had received “repeated positive results . . . on consecutive

samples” from its own third-party laboratory. Because we assess the

shareholder’s allegations “without regard to [their] truth or falsity,” we hold

that the shareholder complaint does not allege any accident. GuideOne, 197

S.W.3d at 308.

Accordingly, we affirm the district court’s determination that the

shareholder complaint does not allege an “occurrence” under the terms of

the policy.

V

Finally, we address whether the shareholder lawsuit seeks “damages

because of bodily injury.” The insurance policy requires the insurer only to

“pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as damages

because of ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage,’” and “to defend the insured

against any ‘suit’ seeking those damages.” The Blue Bell Defendants do not

argue that there is any “property damage” at issue. And so, to maintain that

the Insurance Companies are obligated to defend the shareholder lawsuit, the

Blue Bell Defendants must show that the lawsuit seeks “damages because of

bodily injury.”

The Blue Bell Defendants argue that because the “damages

contemplated by the [shareholder lawsuit] are factually attributable to bodily

injuries suffered by Blue Bell customers,” the damages are therefore

“because of” bodily injury. In response, the Insurance Companies contend

that the lawsuit does not seek damages “because of bodily injury” because

the shareholder only seeks to recover “financial harm” that stemmed from

breach of fiduciary duties. Like the district court, they observe that any

reference to bodily injury is “merely informative” and “ancillary to the

15

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 16 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

dispute.” And so, they conclude that the district court was correct in holding

that the shareholder lawsuit does not seek damages because of bodily injury.

Because the Supreme Court of Texas has not addressed this precise

issue, we must make an “Erie guess” as to how the Supreme Court of Texas

would decide this issue. Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938). Relevant

here, the Supreme Court of Texas has “repeatedly stressed the importance

of uniformity when identical insurance provisions will necessarily be

interpreted in various jurisdictions.” Zurich Am. Ins. Co. v. Nokia, Inc., 268

S.W.3d 487, 496–97 (Tex. 2008) (citation and quotation marks omitted).

Thus, “[w]hen construing an insurance policy, [the Supreme Court of Texas

is] mindful of other courts’ interpretations of policy language that is identical

or very similar to the policy language at issue.” RSUI Indem. Co. v. The Lynd

Co., 466 S.W.3d 113, 118 (Tex. 2015).

This court has previously resolved the applicability of equivalent

contractual language in similar factual situations under Louisiana and

Mississippi law. Preau v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 645 F.3d 293 (5th

Cir. 2011); Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v. A.H. ex rel. Hunter, 444 F. App’x 753

(5th Cir. 2011). In both cases, we rejected the same argument the Blue Bell

Defendants assert here and concluded that the underlying lawsuit did not

seek damages because of bodily injury.

In Preau, Dr. Preau argued that his insurance company owed him

coverage for a misrepresentation lawsuit because that lawsuit requires him

“to pay damages for bodily injury.” 645 F.3d at 296. In that underlying

lawsuit, Kadlec Medical Center sought damages against Dr. Preau for alleged

misrepresentation in a letter of recommendation he wrote. Dr. Preau had

written a letter of recommendation on behalf of Dr. Berry, and that letter

failed to mention the fact that Dr. Berry had a history of drug abuse. In

reliance on that letter, Kadlec Medical Center allowed Dr. Berry to practice

16

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 17 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

at its hospital. While practicing at the hospital, Dr. Berry failed to properly

administer anesthesia to a patient because he was under the influence. As a

result, the patient remains in a permanent vegetative state.

That patient brought a tort lawsuit against Kadlec Medical Center,

seeking damages because of a bodily injury. The lawsuit settled for $7.5

million. To recover that loss, Kadlec then sued Dr. Preau and other

defendants for negligent misrepresentation. The jury “awarded total

damages of approximately $8,244,000, which represented the amount

Kadlec had paid to settle the [tort lawsuit] plus the attorney’s fees Kadlec

incurred in defending that suit.” Id. at 295. Dr. Preau was liable for a portion

of that total damages.

Like the Blue Bell Defendants here, Dr. Preau argued that the lawsuit

against him sought damages for bodily injury because the damages can

ultimately be traced back to the patient’s injury. And so, he contended that

the damages were covered under his insurance policy. The Preau panel

disagreed, holding that the “economic damages” sought against Dr. Preau

are distinct from the damages that the patient sought for her bodily injuries.

Id. at 296. And that is so even if “the amount of the damages . . . was directly

related to the amount [the hospital] paid to defend and settle the [tort

lawsuit].” Id.

The same is true here. The shareholder complaint seeks damages to

compensate for Blue Bell’s economic loss caused by its directors’ and

officers’ breach of fiduciary duties. It does not seek to recover any damages

on behalf of customers who may have suffered “bodily injury” from the

Lysteria outbreak. Accordingly, we hold that the damages in the shareholder

lawsuit are not covered under the plain terms of Blue Bell’s insurance policy.

Moreover, Preau is not the only case supporting our conclusion. In

Nationwide, for example, we applied our holding in Preau when addressing an

17

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 18 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

identical insurance provision under Mississippi law. Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co.

v. A.H. ex rel. Hunter, 444 F. App’x 753, 755 (5th Cir. 2011). There, appellant

Tri County argued that its insurer ought to indemnify the contempt judgment

against it because the judgment sought “damages because of bodily injury.”

Id.

As background, an automobile accident victim obtained a $ 2 million

tort judgment against John Hunter, a parent of the tortfeasor. To collect that

judgment, the victim filed a writ of execution against Tri County, a company

allegedly owned by John Hunter. Under a state statute, Tri County was

required to provide a sworn statement within ten days of the extent of

Hunter’s interest in the company. But it failed to do so. Consequently, the

state court held that Tri County had not complied with the statute and

entered judgment for the entire $2 million.

To recover that loss, Tri County argued that the $2 million judgment

was covered under its liability policy, which required the insurer to pay

“sums that the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because

of ‘bodily injury.’” Id. The Nationwide panel disagreed and held that “As in

Preau, Tri County had not become ‘legally obligated to pay’ any damages as

a result of a ‘bodily injury.’” Id.

Likewise, the Sixth Circuit, the Ninth Circuit, the Supreme Court of

Ohio, and the Supreme Court of Delaware have all addressed the meaning of

a similar provision under similar facts and come to the same conclusion.

Westfield Nat’l Ins. Co. v. Quest Pharms., Inc., 57 F.4th 558, 565 (6th Cir.

2023) (holding that liability insurance covering claims for damages “because

of bodily injury” provides coverage “only for claims requiring proof of an

actual bodily injury, not all claims tangentially related to bodily injuries”); id.

(“The claims, all of which are for economic damages, are simply beyond the

policies’ scope.”); Bliss Sequoia Ins. & Risk Advisors, Inc. v. Allied Prop. & Cas.

18

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 19 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

Ins. Co., 52 F.4th 417, 423 (9th Cir. 2022) (holding that “the phrase ‘because

of bodily injury’ in [appellant’s] insurance policy” does not automatically

include any “lawsuit connected in some way to someone’s injury.”); Acuity

v. Masters Pharm., Inc., 205 N.E.3d 460, 472 (Ohio 2022) (holding that “the

phrase ‘damages because of bodily injury’ in the policies before [the court]

requires more than a tenuous connection between the alleged bodily injury

sustained by a person and the damages sought”); ACE Am. Ins. Co. v. Rite

Aid Corp., 270 A.3d 239, 247 (Del. 2022) (“There must be more than some

linkage between the personal injury and damages to recover ‘because of’

personal injury: namely, bodily injury to the plaintiff, and damages sought

because of that specific bodily injury.”).

Although these cases did not address the issue under Texas law, we

nonetheless consider them highly persuasive because the Supreme Court of

Texas has emphasized the importance of “other courts’ interpretations of

policy language that is identical or very similar to the policy language at

issue.” RSUI Indem., 466 S.W.3d at 118.

On the other side, the Blue Bell Defendants do not present any

analogous cases that have adopted their contrary interpretation. They cite a

line of cases addressing lawsuits by cell phone consumers who suffered bodily

injury because of radiation exposure, see, e.g., Samsung Elecs. Am., Inc. v. Fed.

Ins. Co., 202 S.W.3d 372 (Tex. App.—Dallas 2006); Ericsson, Inc. v. St. Paul

Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 423 F. Supp. 2d 587 (N.D. Tex. 2006); Voicestream

Wireless Corp. v. Fed. Ins. Co., 112 F. App’x 553 (9th Cir. 2004), and two other

cases addressing damages from “prescription drug abuse,” Cincinnati Ins.

Co. v. H.D. Smith, L.L.C., 829 F.3d 771, 772 (7th Cir. 2016), and “increased

emergency medical care,” Scottsdale Ins. Co. v. Nat. Shooting Sports Found.,

226 F.3d 642, at *1 (5th Cir. 2000) (unpublished).

19

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 20 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

But none of those cases are analogous to the present case because they

relied on a materially different provision that states:

Damages because of bodily injury include damages claimed by

any person or organization for care, loss of services or death

resulting at any time from the bodily injury.

Samsung, 202 S.W.3d at 381; Ericsson, 423 F. Supp. 2d at 593; Voicestream,

112 F. App’x at 556 n.5; Cincinnati Ins., 829 F.3d at 773; Scottsdale, 226 F.3d

642, at *2 n.3.

The court in Ericsson, for example, considered an underlying lawsuit

where the plaintiffs requested damages in the form of “headsets” (or the

funds to purchase them). 423 F. Supp. 2d at 589. These headsets helped

reduce exposure to “radio frequency radiation,” which had caused the

plaintiffs “to sustain bodily injuries” in the form of cellular dysfunction. Id.

Because the applicable policy stated that damages because of bodily injury

included “damages . . . for care,” the court in Ericsson observed that damages

“in the form of a headset neither clearly falls within a policy provision, nor is

clearly excluded by the text of the policy.” Id. at 593–94 (quoting

Voicestream, 112 F. App’x at 556). And so, the court concluded that the

“ambiguity must be construed against [the insurer].” Id. Following the

holding in Ericsson, the court in Samsung also determined that the cost of

obtaining headsets to avoid radiation injury is damage “because of bodily

injury” because it might be encompassed as damages “for care.” Samsung,

202 S.W.3d at 381–82 (citing Ericsson, 423 F. Supp. 2d 587).

Similarly, in Cincinnati, the court considered an underlying suit that

sought damages based on the cost of “addressing and combating the

prescription drug abuse epidemic,” which can likewise be considered as

damages “for care.” 829 F.3d at 774–75; id. at 775 (emphasizing that “the

policy covers ‘damages claimed by any person or organization for care . . .

resulting . . . from the bodily injury.’”); see also Scottsdale Ins., 226 F.3d 642,

20

Case: 22-50842 Document: 00516816186 Page: 21 Date Filed: 07/11/2023

No. 22-50842

at *1 (addressing damages for “increased emergency medical care” from

bodily injuries). In all of these cases, the court determined that the damages

sought in the underlying lawsuits might be encompassed within the inclusion

of damages “for care, loss of services or death resulting at any time from the

bodily injury.”

Here, in contrast, there is no colorable argument that the shareholder

lawsuit seeks damages “for care, loss of services or death” because it only

seeks compensation for breach of fiduciary duties. Even the Blue Bell

Defendants do not argue that there are any such damages at issue. As the

Sixth Circuit observed, the inclusion of damages “for care, loss of services or

death” was meant to include claims “like loss of consortium claims by family

members, and subrogation claims.” Westfield, 57 F.4th at 566.

Thus, in accordance with our holding in Preau, we hold that the

economic damages sought in the shareholder lawsuit are not “damages

because of bodily injury” under the plain language of the contract. 645 F.3d

293.

* * *

While we disagree with the district court’s determination as to

whether the directors and officers are “insureds” in relation to the

shareholder lawsuit, we agree with its determination that the complaint in the

shareholder lawsuit does not allege any “occurrence” or seek “damages

because of bodily injury.” Because each issue is independently sufficient for

affirmance, we AFFIRM the district court’s grant of summary judgment in

favor of the Insurance Companies.

21

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.