Opinion

Schwechter v. D.C. Department of Employment Services

Court
District of Columbia Court of Appeals
Filed
Jan 5, 2023
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 22.3%

“Settlement agreements . . . are contractual in nature and are 7 interpreted under the same rules as contracts. . . . [T]he written language will govern the parties’ rights, unless it is not susceptible of clear meaning.”

How later courts described this case

  • “Settlement agreements . . . are contractual in nature and are 7 interpreted under the same rules as contracts. . . . [T]he written language will govern the parties’ rights, unless it is not susceptible of clear meaning.”
  • “It should also be noted that the Benefits Review Board is not a policymaking agency; its interpretation of the [federal workers’ compensation statute] thus is not entitled to any special deference from the courts.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in the Atlantic

and Maryland Reporters. Users are requested to notify the Clerk of the Court of

any formal errors so that corrections may be made before the bound volumes go

to press.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA COURT OF APPEALS

No. 22-AA-7

MELVIN SCHWECHTER, PETITIONER,

v.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT SERVICES, RESPONDENT,

and

BAKER & HOSTETLER, LLP and PACIFIC INDEMNITY COMPANY, INTERVENORS.

Petition for Review of an Order of the

District of Columbia Compensation Review Board

(CRB-78-21)

(Argued October 12, 2022 Decided January 5, 2023)

Adrian Gucovschi, with whom Dirk McClanahan was on the brief, for

petitioner.

Karl A. Racine, Attorney General for the District of Columbia, Caroline S.

Van Zile, Solicitor General, Ashwin P. Phatak, Principal Deputy Solicitor General,

and Richard S. Love, Senior Assistant Attorney General, filed a statement in lieu of

a brief for respondent.

Naureen R. Weissman, with whom Laura S. McKenzie was on the brief, for

intervenors.

Jose L. Estrada, Jillian M. Petrella, and John P. Rufe filed a brief for the

Association of Compensation Insurance Attorneys, amicus curiae, in support of

respondent.

2

Benjamin E. Douglas filed a brief for Steamfitters Local 602 and Teamsters

Local 639, amici curiae, in support of respondent.

Before EASTERLY, MCLEESE, and HOWARD, Associate Judges.

MCLEESE, Associate Judge: Petitioner Melvin Schwechter agreed to a lump-

sum settlement of a workers’ compensation claim against his employer, intervenor

Baker & Hostetler, LLP. He challenges an order of the Compensation Review Board

(CRB) affirming the denial of his application to modify the settlement. We affirm.

I. Factual and Procedural Background

The following facts appear to be undisputed for current purposes. Mr.

Schwechter was severely injured in a bicycle accident at a partners’ retreat held by

Baker & Hostetler, the law firm where he worked. The accident left him with

paraplegia. An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) denied Mr. Schwechter’s workers’

compensation claim, ruling that the accident did not arise out of and in the course of

Mr. Schwechter’s employment, as required by the District of Columbia Workers’

Compensation Act of 1979 (WCA), D.C. Code § 32-1501 et seq. Mr. Schwechter

appealed the ALJ’s decision to the CRB.

3

While that appeal was pending, Mr. Schwechter and Baker & Hostetler

entered into a lump-sum settlement of the claim. Lump-sum settlements under the

WCA are governed by D.C. Code § 32-1508(8), which provides in relevant part that:

[t]he Mayor may approve lump-sum settlements agreed to

in writing by the interested parties, discharging the

liability of the employer for compensation . . . in any case

where the Mayor determines that it is in the best interest

of an injured employee entitled to compensation . . . .

These settlements shall be the complete and final

dispositions of a case and shall be a final binding

compensation order.

The agreement provided that Baker & Hostetler would pay Mr. Schwechter a

lump sum of $1,050,000 in exchange for a “full, final and complete resolution of all

of [Mr. Schwechter’s] and his spouse’s/dependent’s indemnity and medical claims

arising out of the alleged work related accident.” The agreement also provided that

the settlement was “intended as full payment in compromise of any and all claims

that have been or could be presented.” The agreement stated that Mr. Schwechter

had been “fully advised of his rights under the [WCA] and acknowledges that by

settling this Claim, [he] has voluntarily agreed to close this matter and bar any and

all further efforts of recovering benefits or compensation pursuant to this claim other

than those set forth in this Agreement.”

4

Less than a year later, Mr. Schwechter filed an application for a formal hearing

with the Administrative Hearings Division (AHD), seeking to modify the agreement

pursuant to D.C. Code § 32-1524(a), which provides in relevant part that:

[a]t any time prior to 1 year after the date of the last

payment of compensation or at any time prior to 1 year

after the rejection of a claim . . . the Mayor may, upon [the

Mayor’s] own initiative or upon application of a party in

interest, order a review of a compensation case . . . where

there is reason to believe that a change of conditions has

occurred which raises issues concerning . . . [t]he fact or

the degree of disability or the amount of compensation

payable pursuant thereto . . . .

After a request for modification is filed, the Mayor must review the request and

“shall issue a new compensation order which may terminate, continue, reinstate,

increase, or decrease such compensation previously paid, or award compensation.”

D.C. Code § 32-1524(c).

Mr. Schwechter’s application rested on the claim that his medical condition

had worsened and expenses for his care had unexpectedly increased as a result of

lapses in treatment during the COVID-19 pandemic. Mr. Schwechter argued that

§ 32-1508(8)’s designation of lump-sum settlements as “final binding compensation

5

order[s]” meant that such agreements are subject to modification under

§ 32-1524(a).

An ALJ granted Baker & Hostetler’s motion to dismiss the application. The

CRB affirmed, ruling that lump-sum settlements entered into pursuant to

§ 32-1508(8) cannot be modified.

II. Analysis

The parties dispute whether this court should review the CRB’s ruling de novo

or with deference to the CRB’s reasonable interpretation of the relevant statutory

provisions. We have often given deference to the CRB’s reasonable interpretation

of the WCA. E.g., Howard Univ. Hosp. v. D.C. Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 267 A.3d

1068, 1070 (D.C. 2022). Recent decisions of this court, however, have raised some

questions about the extent to which the CRB is entitled to deference in its

interpretation of the WCA and the public-sector worker’s compensation statute. See,

e.g., D.C. Dep’t of Corr. v. D.C. Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 281 A.3d 588, 592 (D.C.

2022) (noting disagreement between parties about whether this court should defer to

Office of Risk Management or CRB on legal issue arising under public-sector

workers’ compensation statute, and declining to decide issue); Frazier v. D.C. Dep’t

6

of Emp. Servs., 229 A.3d 131, 148 (D.C. 2020) (McLeese, J., dissenting) (noting that

“under the federal workers’ compensation system, the Supreme Court has indicated

that special deference was not owed to the analogue of the CRB”) (citing Potomac

Elec. Power Co. v. Dir., Off. of Workers’ Comp. Programs, 449 U.S. 268, 278 n.18

(1980) (“It should also be noted that the Benefits Review Board is not a

policymaking agency; its interpretation of the [federal workers’ compensation

statute] thus is not entitled to any special deference from the courts.”)). We need not

address that issue, however, because we agree with the CRB’s conclusion as applied

to the circumstances of this case.

The agreement in this case provided that it was a “full, final and complete

resolution” of all claims arising out of the accident. Mr. Schwechter also explicitly

acknowledged that the agreement barred any and all future recovery of benefits or

compensation pursuant to the claim. The agreement thus unambiguously precluded

modification of the lump-sum amount. Mr. Schwechter does not challenge the

validity of the agreement. At least in those circumstances, we agree with the CRB

that it is not permissible under the WCA to modify a lump-sum settlement. See

generally, e.g., Grand Hyatt Wash. v. D.C. Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 963 A.2d 142, 146-

47 (D.C. 2008) (“Settlement agreements . . . are contractual in nature and are

7

interpreted under the same rules as contracts. . . . [T]he written language will

govern the parties’ rights, unless it is not susceptible of clear meaning.”).

In light of our holding, we need not and do not reach the broader question

whether lump-sum settlements can ever be modified under D.C. Code § 32-1524(a).

Mr. Schwechter also challenges the authority of the AHD under the WCA to

decide an employer’s motion to dismiss a claimant’s request for a hearing. We

decline to decide that issue. Whatever administrative body should have decided the

motion to dismiss in the first instance, it appears to be undisputed that the CRB had

jurisdiction to consider whether dismissal was warranted. It also appears to be

undisputed that this court has jurisdiction to review the ruling of the CRB. Further,

in the order now on review, the CRB did not directly address the ALJ’s authority

under the WCA to rule on a motion to dismiss. In the circumstances of this case,

therefore, we need not decide that question.

For the foregoing reasons, the order of the CRB is

Affirmed.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.