Opinion

Arlene Ernstes v. Printpack, Inc.

  • 2022 TN WC App. 42
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Dec 15, 2022
Status
Published
On the bench
Pele I. Godkin, Meredith B Weaver, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 21.9%

The opinion

FILED

Dec 15, 2022

10:58 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Arlene Ernstes ) Docket No. 2020-07-0617

)

v. ) State File No. 66407-2020

)

Printpack, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ ) Heard December 2, 2022

Compensation Claims ) in Nashville, Tennessee

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge )

Reversed in Part, Vacated in Part, and Remanded

This dispute concerns an employee who was exposed to loud machinery over the course

of thirty-three years of employment. Although the employer provided annual hearing

tests, the employee testified she was not aware she may have work-related hearing loss

until meeting with an attorney in 2020, after which she notified her employer of her

alleged hearing loss. The employer denied her claim, asserting the employee knew or

should have known she had a work-related hearing loss, at the latest, when she was first

diagnosed with a hearing loss in 2019. Following a compensation hearing, the trial court

found the employee’s testimony to be credible regarding when she knew or reasonably

should have known she sustained work-related hearing loss, that her notice was timely,

and that her claim was not barred by the statute of limitations. The trial court also found

that the employee’s hearing loss arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of her

employment and awarded permanent disability benefits and future medical benefits made

reasonably necessary by the employee’s injury. Finally, the court ordered the employer

to provide a panel of physicians for the employee to select an authorized treating

physician for future care. The employer has appealed. Upon careful consideration of the

record in this case, we reverse the trial court’s finding that the employee provided timely

notice, vacate the trial court’s order for medical and disability benefits, and remand the

case.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

Gregory H. Fuller and Adam C. Brock-Dagnan, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-

appellant, Printpack, Inc.

1

Jeffrey Boyd, Jackson, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Arlene Ernstes

Factual and Procedural Background

Arlene Ernstes (“Employee”) worked for thirty-three years in various positions for

Printpack, Inc. (“Employer”) until 2016. Employee testified that she “did everything in

the plant . . . [f]rom loading trucks to maintenance, cleaning the dyes, and everything.”

Most of her time at work was spent on the plant floor around loud machines, where,

although Employee wore hearing protection, she testified that she could still hear loud

noises. Employer performed annual hearing screens during her employment, but

Employee testified she never received copies of her test results and never had the test

results explained to her. Instead, Employee was provided notes in her mailbox at work

indicating whether she passed or failed a test. She contended that noise exposure while

working for Employer resulted in binaural hearing loss, with an effective date of injury of

March 19, 2016, her last date of employment. 1

In December 2019, Employee was evaluated by Dr. Karl Studtmann, an ear, nose,

and throat physician, and his physician’s assistant at West Tennessee ENT Clinic.

Employee testified that she saw Dr. Studtmann in 2019 for dizziness and ear pain.

Medical records reflect Employee provided a history of “decreased hearing in both ears

for many years now. She states that it has progressively gotten worse. She denies any

sudden hearing changes or hearing worse in one ear than the other.” Employee reported

she had a sinus infection a few weeks prior to her visit and was told she had fluid in her

ears. She had experienced “some mild dizziness upon standing” that would eventually

pass and noted this had almost completely resolved. Employee was diagnosed with

bilateral sensorineural hearing loss and was referred to West Tennessee Speech and

Hearing for consultation regarding hearing aid use. She was advised to return to the

clinic if the dizziness returned or if she encountered any other issues.

Employee testified that she first noticed gradual hearing problems when she had to

regularly turn up the volume on her television. Employee’s granddaughters suggested

she get hearing aids, and Employee stated that she thought her hearing issues were related

to her age. Employee contended at trial that the first time she associated her hearing loss

with her employment was while attending a meeting with her husband and his attorney in

September 2020. Following this meeting, Employee, through counsel, sent notice of her

injury to Employer, and, on November 17, 2020, Employee filed a petition for workers’

compensation benefits.

In June 2021, Employee returned to Dr. Studtmann with complaints of hearing

loss, which she then believed was work-related. Employee noted that her hearing had

1

For purposes of this appeal, it is undisputed that Employee’s only exposure to loud noises occurred

while working for Employer on its premises.

2

gotten worse and that she was having difficulty with background noise, high-pitched

voices, and understanding what other individuals were saying when she could not see

their faces. An audiogram revealed “downsloping sensorineural hearing loss, starting in

the mild range and dropping to the severe range.” Dr. Studtmann noted the study was

nearly identical to the audiogram that had been performed in 2019. He opined that her

employment was “likely the etiology for the change in hearing while she was employed

there” and assigned a whole person impairment of ten percent based upon the American

Medical Association’s Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, Sixth Edition.

On November 15, 2021, Employee was seen by Dr. Rande Lazar at the request of

Employer for an independent medical examination. After undergoing a hearing test,

Employee was diagnosed with “sloping sensorineural hearing loss probably in

combination of noise exposure at work of many years on the job and from aging.” Dr.

Lazar noted Employee was wearing hearing aids and stated she could return to see him as

needed.

On November 17, 2021, the parties took Dr. Studtmann’s deposition, during which

he testified that, based upon Employee’s history and her test results, Employee had

“findings consistent with a noise-induced hearing loss and given that she has progression

of that noise-induced hearing loss over that time period, it’s likely related to noise

exposure that she was receiving during that time period.” Dr. Studtmann testified within

a reasonable degree of medical certainty that this was the primary cause of Employee’s

hearing damage and that she would retain a ten percent impairment to the whole body.

When questioned about Employee’s office visit in 2019, Dr. Studtmann testified

that Employee presented that day with complaints of dizziness and hearing loss and

explained that sometimes dizziness can be associated with hearing loss. Dr. Studtmann

confirmed Employee’s audiological exam in 2019 revealed downsloping high frequency

sensorineural hearing loss and mild low frequency sensorineural hearing loss. When

questioned with regard to how the results from 2019 corresponded with the audiological

exam conducted in 2021, Dr. Studtmann responded:

A: The pattern [is] very similar.

Q: I mean, you would go in so far to say they’re nearly identical. Correct?

A: Yes, sir.

Dr. Studtmann testified that he discussed Employee’s hearing loss during her 2019

visit but didn’t “recall that we specifically discussed the etiology for her hearing loss at

that point.” Dr. Studtmann testified that Employee’s hearing loss was significant but

noted that individuals can also have “natural hearing loss that is significant.” He

3

reiterated that the purpose of the second visit was to discuss the etiology of Employee’s

hearing loss, and this was different from the purpose of Employee’s initial visit in 2019.

At the trial in August 2022, Employee was questioned regarding her prior

deposition testimony, the 2019 hearing evaluation, and her beliefs concerning the cause

of her hearing loss. Employer cited this testimony in support of its assertion that

Employee was not entitled to workers’ compensation benefits because she failed to give

proper notice and her claim was time-barred. Following the trial, the court issued an

order in which it determined that Employee provided timely notice of her work-related

hearing loss to Employer in late 2020. As part of its analysis, the trial court noted that

Employer’s argument conflated “[Employee’s] knowledge that she had hearing loss with

knowledge that it was work-related.” The court determined Employee was credible,

noting her medical records and hearing screens supported her testimony. It also

concluded that although employee did not file her petition within one year of her last day

worked, notice was timely by application of the “discovery rule,” which suspended the

notice requirement and tolled the statute of limitations until such time that Employee

knew or reasonably should have known of her work-related injury. Under the facts

presented, including the causation opinion of Dr. Studtmann, the court concluded she had

proven her hearing loss arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of her

employment. The court awarded Employee permanent partial disability benefits based

upon the impairment rating provided by Dr. Studtmann and lifetime future medical

benefits. The court also ordered Employer to provide a panel of physicians for Employee

to select an authorized treating physician for future medical care. Employer has

appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2022). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland

Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar

deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and

application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with

no presumption of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are

also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a

way that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

116 (2022).

4

Analysis

Employer raises a single issue on appeal: whether the trial court erred in finding

that Employee provided Employer timely notice of a gradually occurring injury as

required by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-201(b). 2 In its argument on appeal,

Employer asserts that the facts and circumstances are such “that a reasonable person in

Employee’s situation should have known that their hearing-related issues were work

related years prior to Employee’s notice to Employer.” Employee contends that she

attributed her hearing loss to old age and provided timely notice once she discovered the

potential causal connection between her hearing loss and her employment.

Because Employee alleges her hearing loss was due to cumulative trauma, certain

conditions set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-201(b) must be satisfied:

In those cases where the injuries occur as the result of gradual or

cumulative events or trauma, then the injured employee or the injured

employee’s representatives shall provide notice of the injury to the

employer within thirty (30) days after the employee:

(1) Knows or reasonably should know that the employee has

suffered a work-related injury that has resulted in permanent

physical impairment; or

(2) Is rendered unable to continue to perform the employee’s

normal work activities as the result of the work-related injury

and the employee knows or reasonably should know that the

injury was caused by work-related activities.

Thus, the determinative issue for our consideration is whether the trial court erred

in concluding Employee provided notice within thirty days of when she knew or

reasonably should have known that her hearing loss was work related and permanent. 3

As such, we must determine when Employee knew or should have known that her

hearing loss was causally related her employment. Employer maintains that notice was

not timely and, in support of this contention, asserts it provided yearly hearing tests for

Employee, the results of which were provided to her. Employer also notes it required

2

Although Employer raised issues regarding both timely notice and statute of limitations at the

compensation hearing, the only issue identified on appeal was notice pursuant to Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-201(b). Therefore, we need not determine in this appeal whether Employee’s

petition for benefit determination was timely filed.

3

As the trial court noted, the thirty-day notice period is applicable to injuries occurring between July 1,

2014 and June 30, 2016. Ms. Ernstes’s date of injury was March 19, 2016; therefore, the thirty-day notice

rule applies.

5

Employee to wear hearing protection and emphasizes it is undisputed that her only

exposure to loud noise was at the workplace. Finally, Employer points to Employee’s

office visit with Dr. Studtmann in 2019, when Employee was advised of her binaural

hearing loss but did not, at that time, question the doctor regarding its etiology.

Conversely, Employee asserts there is no evidence Employer ever provided her

with hearing test results, recommendations for medical treatment, or an explanation of the

results of her hearing tests. Employee also notes that although she was seen by Dr.

Studtmann in 2019 for complaints of dizziness, he never discussed the cause of her

hearing loss with her until 2021, after she had provided notice to Employer of her

condition. In her brief on appeal, Employee contends the trial court’s analysis was

correct in its “refusal to charge Employee, a non-physician, with knowledge that [her]

hearing loss was work-related.”

With respect to the issue of when Employee knew or reasonably should have

known her hearing loss was causally related to work, based on our review of the record,

including specific testimony from Employee at trial, we conclude that the preponderance

of the evidence supports a different determination than that made by the trial court. At

trial, Employee was asked to read an excerpt from her March 19, 2021 deposition in

which she testified that she first noticed her hearing loss “three or four years ago.”

After reading this excerpt, Employee was asked if she sought medical treatment

after first noticing her condition. In response, Employee testified she went to West

Jackson Hearing and had a hearing test performed. She then was asked:

Q: Okay. Do you remember doing any hearing screening?

A: Yeah, I did the screening and then he checked my ears.

Q: And what was the conclusion - - or what were the findings that were

provided to you at that particular - -

A: That I couldn’t hear.

Q: Okay. So, they informed you you had a hearing loss?

A: Yes.

Q: Was it pretty severe?

A: Yes.

Q: Okay. Did you ask them why?

6

A: No.

Q: And why is that?

A: I knew why. All the loud noises and everything with . . . .

Q: Okay. So, in 2019, you knew why you had hearing loss.

A: I figured that was why.

Q: So, you - - okay. So, you did not think it was because of your age?

A: Yeah, I figured it was my age until I - - until he - - when he did the

test and he was telling what it was, I figured it was my age. And

then, I figured, no, it was all the noise.

(Emphases added.)

Based upon Employee’s trial testimony, we conclude that during her 2019 office

visit with Dr. Studtmann, she knew, or reasonably should have known, that her hearing

loss was permanent and was caused by noise exposure while working for Employer.

Therefore, we conclude notice of Employee’s alleged work-related hearing loss, which

was not provided to Employer until late 2020, was not timely provided pursuant to

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-201(b). 4

Although we conclude Employee’s notice was not timely, the inquiry does not end

there. Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-201(a)(1) also provides, in relevant part:

No compensation shall be payable under this chapter, unless written notice

is given to the employer within thirty (30) days after the occurrence of the

accident, unless reasonable excuse for failure to give the notice is made to

the satisfaction of the tribunal to which the claim for compensation may be

presented.

Because the trial court concluded Employee had provided timely notice, it did not reach

the issue of whether there was a reasonable excuse for late notice. Having found that

4

Employee argues that Employer should be charged with actual knowledge of her work-related hearing

loss because it required that she wear hearing protection and undergo regular hearing tests. Without any

evidence in the record to suggest that Employer had retained a medical professional with appropriate

expertise to conduct the tests and relate the results of those tests to Employer, we decline to impute

knowledge to an employer that an employee’s hearing loss was work-related based merely upon the fact

that it required employees to wear hearing protection and to undergo hearing tests.

7

notice was not timely, however, we must vacate the remaining aspects of the trial court’s

order and remand this case for the trial court to consider whether there was a reasonable

excuse for Employee’s failure to provide timely notice.

In addition, if the trial court determines Employee failed to provide a reasonable

excuse for her late notice, it must then consider whether and to what extent Employer was

prejudiced by Employee’s failure to provide timely notice within the framework of

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-201(a)(3), which provides:

No defect or inaccuracy in the notice shall be a bar to compensation, unless

the employer can show, to the satisfaction of the workers’ compensation

judge before which the matter is pending, that the employer was prejudiced

by the failure to give the proper notice, and then only to the extent of the

prejudice.

The Tennessee Supreme Court has held that “[t]he reasons for the requirement as

to notice of injury are to give the employer an opportunity to make an investigation while

the facts are accessible and also to enable [the employer] to provide timely and proper

treatment for the injured employee.” Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Long, 569 S.W.2d

444, 449 (Tenn. 1978). Section 50-6-201(a)(3) clearly places the burden on the employer

to show “that the employer was prejudiced by the failure to give proper notice.” Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-201(a)(3). Moreover, even if prejudice is shown, an employer is

entitled to relief “only to the extent of his prejudice.” Id.

Here, we conclude the preponderance of the evidence establishes that Employee

knew or, at a minimum, believed that her hearing loss was work related at the time of her

appointment with Dr. Studtmann in 2019. Thus, we reverse the trial court’s finding that

Employee provided timely notice of her work-related hearing loss, vacate the trial court’s

order for disability and medical benefits, and remand the case to the trial court to consider

whether Employee had a reasonable excuse for her failure to provide timely notice and, if

no reasonable excuse is provided to the satisfaction of the court, whether and to what

extent Employer was prejudiced by the failure to give proper notice.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we reverse in part and vacate in part the trial court’s

order, and we remand the case for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs

on appeal are taxed to Employer.

8

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Arlene Ernstes ) Docket No. 2020-07-0617

)

v. ) State File No. 66407-2020

)

Printpack, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ ) Heard on December 2, 2022

Compensation Claims ) in Nashville, Tennessee

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 15th day

of December, 2022.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Adam C. Brock-Dagnan X acbrock-dagnan@mijs.com

ghfuller@mijs.com

Jeffrey P. Boyd X jboyd@borenandboyd.com

scallison@borenandboyd.com

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.