Opinion

Brown v. Ament

  • 231 Mont. 158
  • 45 State Rptr. 508
  • 752 P.2d 171
  • 1988 Mont. LEXIS 44
Court
Montana Supreme Court
Filed
Mar 18, 1988
Status
Published
Author
Harrison
On the bench
Harrison, Sheehy, Weber, Hunt, Gulbrandson
Cited by
12 cases
Authority
More cited than 86.5%

The opinion

NO. 87-244

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

1988

DALLAS 0 BROWN,

.

Claimant and Appellant,

-vs-

DONALD AMENT, d/b/a

A & R TRANSPORT,

Employer,

and

STATE COMPENSATION INSURANCE FUND,

Defendant and Respondent.

APPEAL FROM: The Workers' Compensation Court, The Honorable Timothy

Reardon, Judge presiding.

COUNSEL OF RECORD:

For Appellant:

Whalen & Whalen; Michael J. Whalen, Billings, Montana

For Respondent:

Crowley, Haughey, Hanson, Toole & Dietrich; William

J. Mattix, Billings, Montana

Submitted on Briefs: Feb. 4, 1988

Decided: March 18, 1988

Mr. Justice John Conway Harrison delivered the Opinion of the

Court.

This is an appeal from the Workers' Compensation Court,

before the Honorable Timothy Reardon. Judgment was rendered

May 28, 1987 and it was determined that defendant, the State

Compensation Insurance Fund, was not liable for the

claimant's injury beyond the liability previously accepted

and the benefits previously paid. We affirm.

On July 31, 1978, the claimant, Dallas 0 . Brown,

suffered an accidental injury while at work. While unloading

bricks from a truck, Brown accidentally fell backwards and

injured his back. Both parties agree this injury was an

accidental injury arising out of and in the course of

employment. Brown's employer at that time was Donald Ament,

d/b/a A & R Transport. The employer carried workers'

compensation insurance through the State Compensation

Insurance Fund at the time of the injury. Liability was

accepted for the injury to Brown's back and temporary-total

disability benefits were paid starting August 1, 1978 and

ending October 27, 1978.

In January of 1986, claimant Brown was diagnosed as

having a herniated disk which required surgery. Brown

contends there is a causal connection between his back injury

sustained on July 31, 1978 and the back problems sustained in

1986, and therefore the State Compensation Insurance Fund is

responsible for paying certain Workers' Compensation

benefits. The relevant events occurring between these two

events are somewhat involved and difficult to trace. This

will be addressed in more detail under the first issue

discussed in this opinion.

The insurer denied liability and Brown filed a Workers'

Compensation petition to resolve the dispute. The Workers'

Compensation Court granted a motion by defendant to bifurcate

and trial proceeded as to the issues of liability and

claimant's entitlement to temporary total disability. All

other issues were dismissed without prejudice to the parties.

Trial was held September 16, 1986 and the Workers'

Compensation Court entered findings of fact, conclusions of

law, and a judgment on May 28, 1987 concluding that

"defendant is not liable for claimant's hack condition beyond

the liability accepted and the benefits paid in 1978."

Appellant raises six issues for our consideration on

appeal :

1. Did the Workers' Compensation Court correctly

conclude that claimant did not. provide sufficient proof to

establish a causal link between his 1978 injury and his back

condition experienced in 1986?

2. Did the Workers' Compensation Court commit error in

refusing to admit certain exhibits into evidence?

3. Did the Workers' Compensation Court commit error in

denying an award of attorney's fees and costs to claimant?

4. Is the claimant entitled to temporary-total

disability benefits for the three years that he was not

working by reason of his physical condition between July 31,

1978 and the time of trial, and a,-sointo the future?

5. Is the claimant entitled to be reimbursed, or have

paid, the medical expenses incurred by him for treatment of

his back injury between July 31, 1978 and the current date,

where they have not already been paid by the defendant?

6. Is the claimant entitled to receive a 20% penalty

for unreasonable delay or refusal to pay by the defendant?

Our determination of issues one and two will make it

unnecessary to determine the remaining issues.

1. Causal Connection.

Claimant contends that the back injury diagnosed in

1986 actually began with his injury on July 31, 1978, and

that he has experienced one continuous injury with periodic

manifestations. Brown states his back problems resulted in

the loss of a significant amount of employment from October

19?8 to 1986, and that he worked only sporadically for at

least seven different employers during that time. Brown

contends he lost a total of approximately three years

employment due to his back condition. Counsel for Brown

states that further workers' compensation claims were not

entered because Brown was told he was not eligible for

further benefits.

Claimant's precise employment history between October

1978 and 1986 is somewhat difficult to trace and claimant

appears to have had mixed reasons for leaving each of his

jobs during this time period. Following his accident, Brown

first worked on an intermittent basis for P & S Trucking,

hauling hay and other various loads. In the spring of 1979,

Brown worked a short period for Hi-Ball Trucking and left

either because he was terminated or due to a difference of

opinion with a dispatcher. Brown then worked for

K & S Trucking for approximately six months. He stated he

worked exclusively as a driver and was working approximately

70 hours a week. His employment was terminated at K & S

Trucking when the business closed. Brown then worked loading

trucks for the Coca Cola Company from July 1980 to December

1980. He loaded trucks approximately 38 hours a week and was

apparently terminated due to a disagreement with a night

manager. Brown then commenced work driving a truck with E.R.

Young in January 1981. The job involved little loading or

unloading and Brown stated he hired help if he encountered a

problem. The employment with E.R. Young lasted approximately

one year, and ended when the company sold its trucks. Brown

also drove a truck for Robert Ganson for a short period and

left over a pay dispute. Finally, claimant worked for H & H

Lumber from December 1982 to September 1985. Brown states he

left H & H Lumber because he had difficulty performing his

job due to his back.

In addition to the above work history, the Workers'

Compensation Court entered a thorough statement in its

findings of fact regarding claimant's medical history between

July 31, 1978 and his injury in 1986. Claimant initially

sought chiropractic treatment from Dr. Gary V. Dols on August.

2, 1978. Dr. Dols treated claimant a number of times and

eventually referred him to Dr. John R. Dorr, an orthopedic

surgeon. Dr. Dorr treated claimant on several occasions and

prescribed a specially molded seat and a corset to assist

claimant in his work. Claimant last visited Dr. Dorr on

October 23, 1978 and Dr. Dorr believed it was unlikely

claimant would have any permanent physical impairment.

Claimant saw Dr. Dols on October 17, 1978 and Dr. Dols noted

claimant was doing "fair." After experiencing a strain while

stacking hay, claimant again visited Dr. Dols on December 1,

1978.

The claimant did not seek any medical attention for his

back from December 1, 1978 to June 18, 1982, at which time he

again consulted Dr. Dols. Claimant consulted Dr. Dols four

times in June 1982 and four times again in September 1982.

Claimant saw Dr. Dols again in June 1983, and the doctor

noted claimant was doing rather well. Claimant had a

physical exam on January 17, 1984 and the examination report

noted a "tender over lumbasac [sic] joint." Dr. Dols was

again visited on February 16, 1984 for claimant's back

problems. Claimant experienced back pain while assisting in

movi-ng a stuck truck and saw Dr. Dols again on September 24

and October 15, 1984. There is no claim that claimant sought

any medical attention again until January 1986.

On January 18, 1986, Dr. Dols noted that claimant's

condition was "far more severe than it had been in the past."

Apparently, claimant strained his back while unloading a

truck and shoveling snow. Claimant was eventually referred

to Dr. Maurice C. Smith, a neurosurgeon. Dr. Smith diagnosed

a herniated disc and performed surgery on claimant January

30, 1986. Following the surgery, Dr. Smith stated clai-mant

could not return to work as a truck driver.

In attempting to determine whether claimant's surgery

in January 1986 was the result of the injury on July 31,

1978, the Workers' Compensation Court considered deposition

testimony by the treating physicians. Dr. Dorr, who treated

claimant in September and October of 1978, stated he believed

it was unlikely that claimant suffered permanent physical

impairment at that time. At his deposition on September 3,

1986, Dr. Dorr stated he had not specifically identified a

disk problem in claimant during the treatment. Dr. Dols, the

treating chiropractor, was deposed and refused to state that

the back problem in 1986 was a direct result of the injury

sustained in 1978. Dr. Smith, claimant's surgeon, stated in

his deposition that it was "virtually impossible for [him] to

state with a degree of medical certainty that the herniated

disk that [he] operated on was a direct result of an injury

occurring in 1978."

In Rightnour v. Kare-Mor, Inc. (Mont. 1987), 732 P.2d

829, 830-831, 44 St.Rep. 141, 143, we stated:

The essential element to be proved by a

claimant is a direct relationship between

the claimant's employment and the injury.

- -

Schwartzkopf v. Industrial Accident Board

(1967), 149 Mont. 488, 493, 428 P.2d 468,

470. That is, a subsequent injury is

compensable if it is the direct and

natural result of a compensable primary

injury, and not the result of ai r

independent intervening cause

attributable to the claimant's own

intentional conduct. See Breen v.

Industrial Accident Board (1968), 150

Mont. 463, 436 P.2d 701. When a

subsequent injury is compensable, the

claimant is entitled to receive those

benefits which are payable because of

medical treatment necessitated by the

original injury pursuant to S 39-71-407,

MCA, and § 39-71-704, MCA, including any

medical benefits reserved.

In Rightnour, the claimant's subsequent injury was found

compensable because the medical evidence demonstrated, with a

reasonable degree of medical certainty, that her subsequent

injury was the direct and natural result of her previous

injury. The claimant's previous injury was compensable under

workers' compensation.

Claimant Brown has the burden of proving a causal

connection by a preponderance of the evidence. Evidence

demonstrating only a medical possibility "does not mandate

the conclusion that the claimant has met his burden of proof

under the Act." Currey v. 10 Minute Lube (Mont, 1987), 736

P.2d 113, 116, 44 St.Rep. 790, 793 (citing, Wheeler v .

Carlson Transport (Mont. 1985), 704 P.2d 49, 53-54, 42

St.Rep. 1177, 1183). However, evidence demonstrating a

medical possibility is acceptable evidence and may be used by

the Workers' Compensation Court to support its decision if

supported by other independent evidence. Currey, 736 P.26 at

Both parties have devoted a significant amount of

argument as to the standard of our review in regards to

medical testimony submitted by deposition. In Currey we

stated:

This Court will not substitute its

judgment for that of the Workers'

Compensation Court concerning the

credibility of witnesses nor the weight

to be given their testimony except where

critical medical evidence is entered by

deposition. In cases where depositions

are the evidence, "this court, although

sitting in review, is in as good a

position as the Workers' Compensation

Court to judge the weight to be given

such record testimony, as distinguished

from oral testimony, where the trial

court actually observes the character and

demeanor of the witness on the stand."

Shupert v. Anaconda Aluminum Company

(Mont. 1985), 696 P.2d 436, 439, 42

St.Rep. 277, 281-282 citing Hert v. J.J.

Newberrv Co. (1978). 178 Mont. 355, 360,

Currey, 736 P.2d at 115, 44 St.Rep. at 792. This rule

remains unchanged.

Following a careful review of the medical testimony

submitted by deposition plus the remaining evidence

submitted, we find that the Workers' Compensation Court

correctly concluded that there was insufficient evidence to

establish a causal link between claimant's two injuries. The

medical evidence is inconclusive and, at best, establishes

only a possibility of a causal link. As noted by the

Workers' Compensation Court, this is a difficult case to

chart and "too much time has passed without explanation and

without a tracing of the injury through that time.''

Following December 1, 1978, claimant did not seek any medical

attention for his back for approximately three and one-half

years. The evidence presented fails to sufficiently

demonstrate that treatment rendered after that period was a

direct result of the injury received in 1978; and the

decision of the Workers ' Compensation Court is affirmed.

2. Evidence.

Claimant contends the Workers' Compensation Judge

improperly denied the admission of five exhibits into

evidence. Exhibits 1 and 2 consist of correspondence between

claimant's attorney and a claims examiner for the insurer.

Exhibit 3 is a letter from Dr. Smith's medical secretary to

the Workers' Compensation Division notifying the Division of

claimant's injury. Exhibit 4 is a "memorandum to file" by

Julie McGee noting that claimant requested "that the medical

[file] on his July 78 accident be re-opened." Finally,

exhibit 10 was denied admission and consisted of a letter

from claims examiner Smith to claimant's attorney,

accompanied with a "File Routing/Tracking Form" indicating

that the Division might have to assume responsibility for the

latter injury. Claimant asserts all of these exhibits should

have been admitted and relies on statutes governing the Rules

of Evidence, including statutes regarding hearsay and its

exceptions and limitations.

According to the statutory law in effect at the time of

the hearing, the Workers' Compensation Court was not bound by

the rules of evidence. Section 39-71-2903, MCA (1985).

Although it has no effect on this case, we note this statute

has been amended so as to apply the rules of evidence to

proceedings in the Workers' Compensation Court. Section

39-71-2903, MCA (1987). Claimant's arguments based on

statutes contained within the rules of evidence do not

control in this case.

We have stated that it is within the discretion of the

Workers' Compensation Judge to accept or reject "hearsay"

testimony. Tocco v. City of Great Falls (Mont. 1986), 714

P.2d 160, 166, 43 St.Rep. 310, 318 (citing, Krause v. Sears

Roebuck (1982), 197 Mont. 102, 641 P.2d 458). Even if the

exhibits had been admitted, claimant would not have

sufficiently established a causal connection as discussed in

part one of this opinion. We find no abuse of discretion by

the Workers' Compensation Court.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the decision of

the Workers' Compensation Court.

We concur:

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.