Opinion

Marcus Heade v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Company

Court
Michigan Court of Appeals
Filed
Sep 29, 2022
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 7.0%

The opinion

If this opinion indicates that it is “FOR PUBLICATION,” it is subject to

revision until final publication in the Michigan Appeals Reports.

STATE OF MICHIGAN

COURT OF APPEALS

MARCUS HEADE and TERI JORDAN, as Special UNPUBLISHED

Fiduciary of JASMINE REGINIA LIP HEADE, a September 29, 2022

legally incapacitated person, and NATHANIEL

HEADE and NAOMI HEADE, Minors,

Plaintiffs-Appellants/Cross-Appellees,

v No. 359422

Wayne Circuit Court

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY, LC No. 17-005480-NF

doing business as LM GENERAL INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee/Cross-Appellant,

and

MICHIGAN ASSIGNED CLAIMS PLAN,

Defendant.

Before: GLEICHER, C.J., and MARKEY and PATEL, JJ.

PER CURIAM.

At issue in this first-party no-fault case is the priority of no-fault, health, and disability

insurance policies with coordination-of-benefits (COB) provisions. The circuit court determined

that the injured parties’ self-funded health insurance plan was first in line to pay medical bills. The

court further concluded that any wage-loss claims paid by the no-fault insurer would be set off by

amounts paid out by a disability policy, but not through Social Security Disability Insurance

(SSDI) as the disability policy payments were already reduced by those amounts. We reverse and

remand for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

-1-

I. BACKGROUND

The members of the Heade family were injured in a serious motor vehicle accident on

September 16, 2016. During the accident, Jasmine Heade was driving a 2009 Pontiac G6, which

she insured with Liberty Mutual Insurance Company. Jasmine received a discounted rate by

coordinating the no-fault benefits with her health insurance coverage. The policy declarations

page indicates that “Coordination of Medical Expenses And Work Loss Applies” to personal injury

protection (PIP) benefits. The policy describes:

If there is any other insurance plan providing coverage for expenses or loss covered

under [PIP] Coordination of Benefits or primary Benefits shall be coordinated with

the coverage available under all such policies and plans so that up to, but no more

than, one hundred percent (100%) of any such expenses or loss shall be recoverable

under this and all such policies and plans combined.

When Jasmine first secured the Liberty Mutual policy, the Heade family was covered by

health insurance through her employer. By the time of the accident, however, the Heade family

was covered by a Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Michigan (BCBSM) plan through Marcus Heade’s

employer, Fiat Chrysler Automobile (FCA). That plan is self-funded under the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 USC 1001 et seq., and states, in relevant

part:

Benefits payable under the Plan will be coordinated with and secondary to

benefits provided or required by any group or individual automobile, homeowner’s

or premises insurance including medical payments, [PIP], or no-fault coverage.

Coordination by the Plan shall be contingent upon the enrollee having first right of

recovery from any such no-fault coverage available.

In a section entitled “Determining Priority,” the FCA/BCBSM plan states:

The program which, under the rules of this subsection has the first obligation to pay

benefits is termed the “primary” program, and the coverages it provides are

“primary.” The program (and the coverages it provides) is termed “secondary.”

a. Any other program which provides group or individual automobile,

homeowner’s, or premises insurance, including medical payments, [PIP], or no-

fault coverage, is primary to the extent that either the enrollee’s out-of-pocket

expenses have been firs[t] satisfied or the coverage is unlimited.

b. When the other program does not contain a COB provision, that program is

always primary.

c. When the other program contains a COB provision and the order of benefit

determination under both programs’ COB provisions establish this Plan as

primary, the provisions of this program determine the Plan’s liability, regardless

of any payment the other program may have made.

-2-

d. When the other program contains a COB provision, the following order of

benefit determination will be used.

i. The program covering the enrollee [as] an employee will be primary

over the program covering the enrollee as a dependent.

ii. When the enrollee is a dependent child whose parents are not divorced

or separated,

 The program covering the enrollee as a dependent of the parent whose

birthday occurs earlier in the calendar year will be primary over the

program covering the enrollee as a dependent of the parent whose

birthday occurs later in the calendar year.

* * *

iv. When rules (i), and (ii), and (iii) above do not establish an order of

benefit determination,

 The program which has covered the enrollee for the longer period of

time will be primary. . . .

Jasmine’s injuries left her completely disabled and unable to work. Jasmine received SSDI

wage-loss payments. She also had a disability policy through her employer with Sun Life

Assurance Company of Canada. Jasmine’s wage-loss disability payments from Sun Life were

reduced by the amount of SSDI benefits she received.1 And Liberty Mutual set off both the Sun

Life and SSDI receipts from its payout.

Following the accident, FCA/BCBSM paid a significant portion of the medical expenses

incurred by the Heade family members. The Heade family members also filed a claim for benefits

with Liberty Mutual. Equian, BCBSM’s subrogation vendor, then sought reimbursement from

Liberty Mutual. Liberty Mutual did not pay out on the Heades’ claims or reimburse BCBSM.

The Heade family filed suit against Liberty Mutual in 2017, seeking first-party no-fault

benefits. In its initial answer and affirmative defenses, Liberty Mutual asserted that it was not in

the highest order of priority to pay out benefits and that the Heades’ Liberty Mutual policy “has a

coordination clause that must be properly billed first before [Liberty Mutual] has any exposure to

pay benefits.” The lawsuit took many twists and turns, including a short trip to federal court.

Some issues were resolved through negotiation and settlement.

1

Specifically, § IV of the Sun Life Benefit Provisions applicable to Long Term Disability Income

Benefits provides that the policy payments will be adjusted to reflect SSDI payments received by

the injured party.

-3-

In relation to the medical bills incurred by the members of the Heade family, Liberty

Mutual sought partial summary disposition in its favor on the priority and COB issues. The Heade

family challenged the summary disposition motion and sought to strike the priority and COB

defenses, arguing that Liberty Mutual had not cited sufficient facts in its affirmative defenses and

thereafter had not presented evidence to support these defenses. The Heade family further asserted

that a no-fault policy cannot be coordinated with a self-funded ERISA healthcare plan like the

FCA/BCBSM plan.

Although a Zoom hearing was scheduled and the parties’ attorneys were in the virtual

waiting room, the circuit court declined to hear oral argument. Thereafter, the circuit court granted

Liberty Mutual’s motion for partial summary disposition in a short handwritten order. That order

states in full:

Regarding the affirmative defense, paragraph 16 is sufficient to state a

[COB] defense. Regarding the conflicting coordination clauses, a[n] ERISA clause

does not necessarily preempt a no[-]fault clause. In Citizens [Ins Co of America] v

MidMichigan [Health ConnectCare Network Plan], 449 F3[d] 688 [(CA 6, 2006),]

the court held unless the ERISA plan expressly disavows coverage for medical its

coordination provision does not make the no[-]fault policy primary.

Here we do not have such a disavowal. The coordination provision of [the]

ERISA plan by its terms only super[s]edes the no[-]fault policy if a certain

contingency exist[s]. [The Heades] must have the first right of recovery from the

no[-]fault policy. Here [the Heades] purchased a coordinated policy. In making

that election [they] surrendered [their] right of first recovery.

Liberty Mutual subsequently sought summary disposition in its favor on the remaining

issue—Jasmine’s wage-loss claim. Liberty Mutual asserted that it was entitled to set off the wage-

loss benefits Jasmine had received through SSDI and the Sun Life disability policy. It contended

that after set-offs, it owed Jasmine approximately $200. Jasmine retorted that her SSDI benefits

had already been offset from her Sun Life disability payments, limiting Liberty Mutual’s right to

adjust her benefits.

The circuit court entered its final opinion and order, determining:

In short, the SSD[I] Benefits that [Jasmine] returned (or is required to

2

return) to Sun Life pursuant to the terms of its short- and long-term disability

policy are not “provided” or “required to be provided,” i.e., they are not

permanently provided. It is the policy of this state and its courts to secure prompt

and full payment of economic losses, including wage loss benefits, to parties who

have been injured in an automobile accident. [Liberty Mutual’s] entitlement to set

off is only in the amount that Sun Life’s actual payments to [Jasmine] exceeded the

SSD[I] Benefits.

2

[Liberty Mutual’s] brief uses language of the requirement to refund to Sun Life.

Obviously, if [Jasmine] does not pay Sun Life any amount of the SSD[I] benefits,

-4-

such amounts would not be “duplicative recovery” and [Liberty Mutual] would be

entitled to [its] set-off.

However, the court then concluded: “The question of whether [Liberty Mutual] has any claim to

return of the SSD[I] benefits amount or any other portion thereof from Sun Life is not before this

Court.” The court denied Liberty Mutual’s motion for summary disposition and granted the

Heades’ summary disposition under MCR 2.116(I)(2).

II. ANALYSIS

“We review de novo a trial court’s decision on a motion for summary disposition.” El-

Khalil v Oakwood Healthcare, Inc, 504 Mich 152, 159; 934 NW2d 665 (2019). “A motion under

MCR 2.116(C)(10) tests the factual support of a plaintiff’s claim” and should be granted when

after reviewing “the pleadings, admissions, affidavits, and other relevant documentary evidence of

record in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party,” there remains “no genuine issue

regarding any material fact” that could be sent to trial “and the moving party is entitled to judgment

as a matter of law.” Zaher v Miotke, 300 Mich App 132, 139; 832 NW2d 266 (2013) (quotation

marks and citations omitted). “A genuine issue of material fact exists when the record, giving the

benefit of reasonable doubt to the opposing party, leaves open an issue upon which reasonable

minds might differ.” Id. at 139-140 (quotation marks and citation omitted). “The trial court

appropriately grants summary disposition to the opposing party under MCR 2.116(I)(2) when it

appears to the court that the opposing party, rather than the moving party, is entitled to judgment

as a matter of law.” BC Tile & Marble Co, Inc v Multi Bldg Co, Inc, 288 Mich App 576, 590; 794

NW2d 76 (2010).

“The proper interpretation of a contract is a question of law, which this Court reviews de

novo.” Wilkie v Auto-Owners Ins Co, 469 Mich 41, 47; 664 NW2d 776 (2003). “If the contractual

language is unambiguous, courts must interpret and enforce the contract as written, because an

unambiguous contract reflects the parties’ intent as a matter of law.” Cadillac Rubber & Plastics,

Inc v Tubular Metal Sys, LLC, 331 Mich App 416, 422; 952 NW2d 576 (2020) (quotation marks

and citation omitted).

A. VIABILITY OF DEFENSES

The Heade family challenges the circuit court’s determination that Liberty Mutual

adequately alleged and supported its COB and priority defenses. Assuming for the sake of this

appeal that COB and priority are affirmative defenses, Liberty Mutual’s statement of those

defenses was adequate.

Under MCR 2.111(F)(3), affirmative defenses must be raised in the

responsive pleading, unless they previously have been raised in a motion for

summary disposition before the filing of a responsive pleading, MCR

2.111(F)(2)(a). The failure to raise an affirmative defense as required by the court

rule constitutes a waiver of that affirmative defense. [Stanke v State Farm Mut Auto

Ins Co, 200 Mich App 307, 312; 503 NW2d 758 (1993).]

Liberty Mutual clearly included the challenged defenses in its affirmative defenses.

Although the statements of defenses did not go into great detail, they were adequate to preserve

-5-

the defenses. See id. at 318 (“[A]n answer must be sufficiently specific so that a plaintiff will be

able to adequately prepare his case, just as the complaint must be sufficiently specific so that the

defendant may adequately prepare his defense. Just as the plaintiff must plead something beyond

a general ‘the defendant injured me,’ the defendant must plead something more specific than ‘I

deny I’m liable.’ ”). Liberty Mutual also adequately supported these defenses. All that was

required to analyze the COB issue and determine priority was the language of the various policies.

These policies were placed before the circuit court. Nothing more was required.

B. PRIORITY/COB

Fortunately, our review of the substance of the legal issue before us is de novo as the circuit

court’s order contains little for our consideration. “Under Michigan law, where no-fault coverage

and health coverage are coordinated, the health insurer is primarily liable for plaintiff’s medical

expenses.” American Med Security, Inc v Allstate Ins Co, 235 Mich App 301, 304; 597 NW2d

244 (1999), citing Federal Kemper Ins Co, Inc v Health Ins Admin, Inc, 424 Mich 537; 383 NW2d

590 (1986).2 Under federal preemption principles, however, self-funded ERISA health plans are

treated much more deferentially. As described in Auto Club Ins Ass’n v Frederick & Herrud, Inc

(After Remand), 443 Mich 358, 389-390; 505 NW2d 820 (1993):

[A]n unambiguous COB clause in an ERISA health and welfare benefit plan must

be given its plain meaning despite the existence of a similar clause in a no-fault

policy because any conflict created by the requirements of MCL 500.3109a and this

Court’s interpretation of the statute would have the direct effect of dictating the

terms of the ERISA plans. [Citation omitted.]

This Court has further explained:

In [Auto Club Ins Ass’n, 443 Mich at 388-389], and its companion case, the plans

at issue were self-funded plans created pursuant to the ERISA, and the Court carved

an exception to the rule of law set out in Federal Kemper. It held that the

unambiguous [COB] clause found in the ERISA plans must be given their plain

meaning despite the clause in the no-fault policy. [American Med Security, Inc,

235 Mich App at 304.]

Accordingly, if a self-funded ERISA plan has an unambiguous COB clause, then the no-fault

policy will be primary.

The FCA/BCBSM plan is a self-funded ERISA plan with a COB provision making the no-

fault insurer primary, while Liberty Mutual is a no-fault insurer whose COB provision makes a

health insurer primary. As the two COB provisions conflict, the Liberty Mutual plan is primary.

2

Federal Kemper was overruled in part by Auto Club Ins Ass’n v Frederick & Herrud, Inc (After

Remand), 443 Mich 358, 389-390; 505 NW2d 820 (1993).

-6-

The circuit court cited Citizens Ins Co of America v MidMichigan Health ConnectCare

Network Plan, 449 F3d 688 (CA 6, 2006), in determining that the FCA/BCBSM plan was primary.

In MidMichigan Health, 449 F3d at 696, the federal Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals reasoned:

[W]hen a traditional insurance policy and a qualified ERISA plan contain

conflicting [COB] clauses, the terms of the ERISA plan, including its COB clause

must be given full effect. However, in instances when the ERISA plan does not

expressly disavow coverage for payment of medical benefits otherwise covered

under a no-fault policy, the [COB] clauses of each plan are given their full effect,

and the ERISA plan is not automatically deemed secondary. [Cleaned up.]

Here, the plain language of the FCA/BCBSM self-funded ERISA plan states that it is

secondary to any no-fault plan. It expressly disavows coverage for payment of medical expenses

otherwise covered by a no-fault policy. The circuit court failed to identify any language negating

the clear disavowal in the FCA/BCBSM plan. Liberty Mutual was not entitled to summary

disposition on the COB and priority issues and we therefore reverse the circuit court’s judgment

in this regard.

C. DISABILITY OFFSET

In its cross-appeal, Liberty Mutual challenges the circuit court’s determination that it could

offset the Sun Life disability policy payments to Jasmine, but not the SSDI payments from the no-

fault policy’s wage-loss obligation.

MCL 500.3109(1) states, “Benefits provided or required to be provided under the laws of

any state or the federal government shall be subtracted from the [PIP] benefits otherwise payable

for the injury under this chapter.” The Michigan Supreme Court has held that this provision

permits no-fault providers “to deduct social security disability benefits from work loss benefits.”

Mich Ed Employees Mut Ins Co v Morris, 460 Mich 180, 185; 596 NW2d 142 (1999); Profit v

Citizens Ins Co of America, 444 Mich 281, 283; 506 NW2d 514 (1993). MCL 500.3109a(1) further

permits no-fault insurers to set-off their wage-loss payments by “other health and accident

coverage.” This includes wage-loss benefits paid out by disability insurance policies or plans. See

Jarrad v Integon Nat’l Ins Co, 472 Mich 207, 218; 696 NW2d 621 (2005); Rettig v Hastings Mut

Ins Co, 196 Mich App 329, 333; 492 NW2d 526 (1992).

Liberty Mutual was clearly permitted to set off the wage-loss benefits paid to Jasmine by

the amounts Jasmine received from Sun Life and SSDI. The question is what effect Sun Life’s

previous setoff of the SSDI benefits has on Liberty Mutual. The COB provision of the Liberty

Mutual policy renders the Sun Life policy primary to pay wage-loss benefits. As the Sun Life

policy is not a self-funded ERISA plan, it cannot claim priority over Liberty Mutual despite the

no-fault policy’s COB provision. Accordingly, Liberty Mutual, not Sun Life, was entitled to off

set its wage-loss benefit obligation by the SSDI payments. We reverse the circuit court in this

regard as well.3

3

Jasmine Heade’s recourse is to seek reimbursement from Sun Life for the benefits it withheld.

-7-

We reverse and remand for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. We do not

retain jurisdiction.

/s/ Elizabeth L. Gleicher

/s/ Jane E. Markey

/s/ Sima G. Patel

-8-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.