Opinion

Ewing Construction Co., Inc. v. Amerisure Insuranc

  • 684 F.3d 512
  • 2012 U.S. App. LEXIS 12154
  • 2012 WL 2161134
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jun 15, 2012
Status
Published
On the bench
Jolly, Davis, Barksdale
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 24.8%

The opinion

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 1 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

FILED

June 15, 2012

No. 11-40512 Lyle W. Cayce

Clerk

EWING CONSTRUCTION COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

Plaintiff - Appellant

v.

AMERISURE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant - Appellee

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas

Before JOLLY, DAVIS, and BARKSDALE, Circuit Judges.

E. GRADY JOLLY, Circuit Judge:

This appeal calls upon us to interpret, under Texas law, a Commercial

General Liability (CGL) insurance policy. Although CGL policies are standard-

form documents, their terms are not interpreted uniformly nationwide. In many

jurisdictions, the term that is the subject of this appeal—the contractual liability

exclusion—is given a highly-technical, less-than-obvious meaning. In Texas, the

same term is given its plain meaning, and functions so as to exclude insurance

coverage for liabilities that the insured assumes by contract.

The district court held that a CGL policy’s contractual liability exclusion

applied in this case, and that no exception restored coverage. The insured

construction company faces liability, if at all, because it contracted to construct

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 2 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

usable tennis courts for a school district, and it has allegedly failed to perform.

We hold that the district court correctly interpreted the contractual liability

exclusion, and correctly applied that exclusion with respect to the insurer’s duty

to defend the construction company. We also hold, however, that the district

court was premature in applying the exclusion to the insurer’s duty to

indemnify. We AFFIRM in part, VACATE in part, and REMAND.

I.

In June 2008, Ewing Construction Company, Inc. (“Ewing”) entered a

contract with Tuloso-Midway Independent School District (“the School District”),

in which Ewing agreed to construct tennis courts at a school in Corpus Christi,

Texas. Soon after Ewing completed the tennis courts, the School District

complained that the courts were cracking and flaking, rendering them unfit for

playing tennis. On February 25, 2010, the School District filed a petition (“the

underlying lawsuit”) in Texas state court, seeking damages for defective

construction, and naming Ewing as a defendant. Ewing tendered defense of the

underlying lawsuit to Amerisure Insurance Company (“Amerisure”), its insurer

under a CGL policy. Amerisure denied coverage.

On July 29, 2010, Ewing filed the instant action against Amerisure in the

District Court for the Southern District of Texas, contending that Amerisure was

obligated to defend it in the underlying lawsuit. Ewing’s complaint seeks

declaratory relief, contract damages, relief under the Texas Prompt Payment of

Claims Statute, and attorney’s fees.

After Amerisure answered and counterclaimed, the parties filed cross-

motions for summary judgment and a joint stipulation of facts to aid the court

in its consideration of these motions.

On April 28, 2011, the district court denied Ewing’s motion, granted

Amerisure’s motion, and entered a final judgment dismissing the case. The

court held that Amerisure owed no duty to defend or indemnify Ewing in the

2

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 3 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

underlying lawsuit because the CGL policy’s contractual liability exclusion

excluded coverage, and no exception to that exclusion applied. For the same

reasons, the court held that Amerisure had not violated the Texas Prompt

Payment of Claims Statute. Ewing appeals.

II.

We review the district court’s grant of summary judgment de novo,

applying the same standards as the district court. Int’l Fid. Ins. Co. v. Sweet

Little Mexico Corp., 665 F.3d 671, 679 (5th Cir. 2011). Summary judgment is

appropriate if “there is no genuine dispute as to any material fact and the

movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a).

This case is a diversity action, so we apply the substantive law of Texas,

as interpreted by Texas courts. Gilbane Bldg. Co. v. Admiral Ins. Co., 664 F.3d

589, 593 (5th Cir. 2011). We must predict how the Texas Supreme Court would

resolve the controversy, using existing Texas Supreme Court precedent as

guidance. Id. at 593-94.

We note at the outset that an insurer in a CGL policy assumes two duties:

(1) to defend the insured against covered lawsuits and (2) to indemnify the

insured against all covered claims and judgments. D.R. Horton–Tex., Ltd. v.

Markel Int’l Ins. Co., Ltd., 300 S.W.3d 740, 743 (Tex. 2009). These duties are

distinct, and one may exist without the other. Id. We will consider them

separately.

A.

We first consider whether the Texas Supreme Court would, under the facts

of this appeal, determine that Amerisure owes a duty to defend Ewing in the

underlying lawsuit. An insurer’s duty to defend is determined by the eight-

corners rule, that is, by looking to the plaintiff’s pleading in the underlying

lawsuit and then to the insurance policy. King v. Dallas Fire Ins. Co., 85 S.W.3d

185, 187 (Tex. 2002). If the plaintiff’s pleading in the underlying lawsuit alleges

3

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 4 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

facts that might fall within the scope of the policy, then that pleading triggers

the insurer’s duty to defend. Id.

Our application of the eight-corners rule begins with the School District’s

petition1 in the underlying lawsuit, which alleges the following:

On March 20, 2008 Plaintiff entered into a contract with

Ewing in the amount of $2,168,000 for construction of tennis

courts for the Tuloso-Midway ISD High School and Middle

School, the work to commence on March 30, 2008 and

substantial completion of the entire work to be not later than

November 24, 2008. In fact, the notice of substantial

completion came on or about April 20, 2009 and change orders

increased the overall contract amount significantly. . . .

The petition goes on to allege the following failures:

Serious tennis court cracking and flaking problems began

shortly after completion of the work and have continued since.

Chunks of the court surfaces are coming loose. Flaking,

crumbling, and cracking make the courts unusable for their

intended purpose, competitive tennis events. . . .

It then alleges that Ewing breached its contract and performed negligently:

Defendant Ewing Construction has breached its contractual

commitments, proximately causing damages to Plaintiff. On

information and belief, Plaintiff says that Defendant Ewing

and/or its subcontractors breached its contract in the

following respects:

a) Failing to complete construction in accordance with

the contract plans and specifications;

b) Failing to exercise ordinary care in the preparation,

management and execution of construction;

c) Failing to perform in a good and workmanlike

manner; and

d) Failing to properly retain and supervise

subcontractors.

1

We draw from the “Plaintiff’s Second Amended Original Petition for Damages,” which

the parties’ joint stipulation of facts indicates is the live pleading in the underlying lawsuit.

4

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 5 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

Furthermore, Defendant Ewing Construction and/or its

subcontractors was/were guilty of negligence proximately

causing damage to Plaintiff in the following respects:

a) Failing to properly prepare for and manage the

construction;

b) Failing to properly retain and oversee subcontractors;

c) Failing to perform in a good and workmanlike

manner; and

d) Failing to properly carry out the construction so that

it was in [sic] completed in accordance with the plans

and specifications.

The petition also states that Ewing “breached [its] duty to Plaintiff to use

ordinary care in the performance of [its] contract[], proximately causing damages

to Plaintiff.”

In addition to this language from the School District’s pleading, we must

consider the terms of the CGL policy between Ewing and Amerisure. The CGL

policy states that Amerisure must defend Ewing against any suit seeking

“damages because of ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage’” if the “‘bodily injury’

or ‘property damage’ is caused by an ‘occurrence’ that takes place in the

‘coverage territory.’” The CGL policy then provides the following:

2. Exclusions

This insurance does not apply to:

...

b. Contractual Liability

‘Bodily injury’ or ‘property damage’ for which the insured is

obligated to pay damages by reason of the assumption of

liability in a contract or agreement. This exclusion does not

apply to liability for damages:

(1) That the insured would have in the absence of the contract

or agreement . . . .

Here, the parties agree that the alleged physical defects in the tennis

courts constitute property damage caused by an occurrence that took place in the

coverage territory. The parties dispute whether coverage is excluded by the

5

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 6 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

contractual liability exclusion and whether the liability alleged in the underlying

lawsuit is of the sort that Ewing would have in the absence of a contract.

1.

The district court, relying on the Texas Supreme Court’s decision in

Gilbert Texas Construction, L.P. v. Underwriters at Lloyd’s London, 327 S.W.3d

118 (Tex. 2010), held that the CGL policy’s contractual liability exclusion applied

in this case.

In Gilbert, the Dallas Area Rapid Transit Authority (DART) contracted

with a construction company (Gilbert) to construct a light rail system. Id. at

121-22. The contract required the company to protect the area surrounding its

work site, and the company contractually agreed with DART to repair damages

to the property of third parties caused by its construction. Id. at 122. During

construction, heavy rains caused flooding in a building near the work site, and

the third party building owner sued the construction company under several

theories. Id. The construction company’s primary insurer assumed its defense,

but its excess coverage insurer maintained that it had no duty to defend the

company and might ultimately have no duty to indemnify either. Id. at 122-23.

Only one legal theory, breach of contract based on the building owner’s third-

party beneficiary status, survived summary judgment, and the construction

company settled that claim. Id. at 123. The construction company then sought

indemnity from its excess coverage insurer, and sued when the excess insurer

denied coverage. Id. The Texas Supreme Court held that the excess insurer

owed no duty to its insured construction company because the CGL policy’s

contractual liability exclusion applied. Id. The court reasoned that in its

construction contract with DART, the construction company had undertaken

legal accountability to the third-party building owner by contract, and therefore

the contractual liability exclusion applied by its plain meaning. Id. at 126-27.

The court expressly rejected a technical meaning given to the exclusion in other

6

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 7 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

jurisdictions—that “assumption of liability” means only the assumption of

liability of another, as in a hold-harmless agreement—insisting that in Texas the

exclusion “means what it says.” Id. at 131-32.

Applying Gilbert’s plain meaning approach, the district court here found

that the School District’s complaint in the underlying lawsuit alleges contractual

liability, and thus triggers the contractual liability exclusion in the CGL policy

between Ewing and Amerisure. Ewing, however, argues that the district court’s

reliance on Gilbert was misplaced because entering a construction contract is not

the same as assuming liability for faulty workmanship performed under the

contract. In Ewing’s view, the construction company’s promise to repair third

party property in Gilbert was an assumption of liability, but the relevant

promise here—an implied promise to the School Board to perform the contract

with ordinary care—is not. Id. at 127. Ewing argues that the contractual

liability exclusion of the CGL policy cannot possibly be triggered by implied

promises, which are contained in every contract, because the Gilbert court stated

in dicta that the contractual liability exclusion does not “preclude[] liability for

all breach of contract claims.”2 Id. at 128. The defect in Ewing’s argument is

that it elevates ambiguous dicta from Gilbert while minimizing that opinion’s

clear holding.

Gilbert, principally, stands for the proposition that a CGL policy’s

contractual liability exclusion excludes coverage for property damage when “the

insured assumes liability for . . . property damage by means of contract . . . .” Id.

at 132. The School District’s complaint in the underlying lawsuit reflects that

2

Ewing reads a bit too much into the Gilbert court’s dicta. Although the contractual

liability exclusion does not operate to exclude coverage for all breach of contract claims, it

operates to exclude many. Compare Gilbert, 327 S.W.3d at 128 (“We do not hold that the

exclusion in Coverage A precludes liability for all breach of contract claims.”) with id. at 131

(approving of the principle that “breach of contract claims generally are not covered absent tort

liability.”).

7

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 8 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

the insured, Ewing, assumed liability for defective construction by agreeing in

a contract to complete a construction project, specifically to build tennis courts.

Whether the breached promise was implied or express, the promise was of a

contractual nature, all the same. We therefore hold that the CGL policy’s

contractual liability exclusion excludes coverage in the instant case.

We acknowledge that Gilbert contains some rather opaque language, and

that its particular facts make for imperfect comparisons to the instant case.

Nonetheless, Gilbert furnishes the Texas Supreme Court’s approach to the

contractual liability exclusion, and that approach is straightforward: Apply the

plain language of the exclusion, rather than grafting additional language to it.

Id. at 131-32. Ewing’s position, that the phrase, “assumption of liability in a

contract” means “assumption of a duty to repair third party property, but not

assumption of implied contractual duties,” is contrary to that approach.

Applying this plain meaning approach preserves the longstanding

principle that a CGL policy is not protection for the insured’s poor performance

of a contract. See Lamar Homes, Inc. v. Mid-Continent Cas. Co., 242 S.W.3d 1,

10 (Tex. 2007). Although other jurisdictions adopt this principle by holding that

poor contractual performance is not, under a CGL policy, an occurrence causing

property damage, Texas chooses to arrive at this holding through its

interpretation of coverage exclusions. See id. at 5 n.3, 10 (“More often, however,

faulty workmanship will be excluded from coverage by specific exclusions

because that is the CGL’s structure.”). Our holding today respects this choice.

2.

Having determined that the contractual liability exclusion applies, we now

ask whether any exception to that exclusion restores coverage. The district court

found inapplicable the exception that Ewing asserts, that is, the exception to the

contractual liability exclusion that allows coverage for liability that “the insured

would have in the absence of the contract or agreement.” Ewing contends that

8

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 9 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

the district court erred because the petition in the underlying lawsuit uses the

term “negligence,” and liability for negligence is liability that exists irrespective

of a contract.

The School District’s use of the term “negligence,” however, is not

dispositive. See Century Sur. Co. v. Hardscape Constr. Specialties, Inc., 578 F.3d

262, 267-70 (5th Cir. 2009). We must assess the substance of the School

District’s petition and determine whether it alleges an action in contract, tort,

or both. Id. at 267 (citing Jim Walter Homes, Inc. v. Reed, 711 S.W.2d 617,

617-18 (Tex.1986)). To do this, we look to the “source of liability and the nature

of the plaintiff’s loss . . . . When the only loss or damage is to the subject matter

of the contract, the plaintiff’s action is ordinarily on the contract.” Id. (quoting

Sw. Bell Tel. Co. v. DeLanney, 809 S.W.2d 493, 494-95 & n. 2 (Tex.1991)).

Ewing’s contract with the School District is the source of its potential

liability because Ewing’s duty to construct usable tennis courts arose out of

contractual undertakings. Further, the damage alleged in the School District’s

complaint is damage to the subject matter of the contract, the tennis courts, not

to any other property. The school district’s claim therefore sounds in contract,

regardless of the other labels that may be attached to it.3 Id. at 269-70. Because

the liability Ewing faces is contractual, it is not liability that would arise in the

absence of a contract. The exception, therefore, does not apply and coverage

remains excluded. We hold that Amerisure owes no duty to defend Ewing in the

underlying lawsuit.

3.

Before resolving the remaining issues on appeal, we pause to acknowledge

a somewhat troubling concern. If the contractual liability exclusion means what

3

Ewing argues that we may not make this assessment at this stage of litigation, when

the question is the duty to defend rather than the duty to indemnify. We note that the stage

of litigation was not a barrier in Century, a duty to defend case. See 578 F.3d at 265.

9

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 10 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

it says, then it will often exclude coverage under the same circumstances as

another CGL exclusion: the “your work” exclusion. The “your work” exclusion

excludes coverage for “property damage to [the insured’s] work arising out of it

or any part of it.” Because an insured ordinarily undertakes work through a

contract, the contractual liability exclusion will ordinarily accomplish the same

purpose, that is, exclude coverage for property damage to the insured’s work.

Troubled by this predicament, the dissent is persuaded by Ewing’s position

that “assumption of liability in a contract” encompasses promises to repair third

party property, but not other contractual promises. In essence, the dissent

narrows the influence of the contractual liability exclusion to preserve the

influence of the “your work” exclusion. Although we also would prefer to avoid

the confusion of overlapping exclusions, we cannot accept the dissent’s solution.

The solution is premised on the least clear passage of Gilbert: a

comparison of liability incurred under “general law principles” and liability

incurred when promising to repair third party property. See Gilbert, 327 S.W.3d

at 127. We view this passage as merely explaining why an obligation relating

to third party property—which ordinarily would arise in tort—arose in contract

under the unusual facts of the case. Whatever the passage means, it cannot call

for a hyper-technical interpretation of the contractual liability exclusion, like the

interpretation the dissent favors, without contradicting the rest of the Gilbert

opinion. The opinion’s bottom line is that “assumption of liability in a contract”

means to have “undertake[n]” the “quality or state of being legally obligated or

accountable” in a contract. Id. There is no question but that Ewing has

assumed liability in that sense, and we will not contradict what is clear by

seizing on what is not.4 In fact, the dissent’s interpretation—that only a promise

4

The secondary sources referenced by the dissent do not influence our position. The

dissent writes that no third party commentators “have interpreted [Gilbert] as the majority

does.” In fact, none of the sources referenced by the dissent interpret Gilbert at all; the

10

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 11 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

to repair the property of another is an assumption of liability—looks strikingly

like the interpretation that Gilbert expressly rejected, i.e., that only an

assumption of the liability of another is an assumption of liability. Id. at 126-27.

No matter how appropriate it may be to resolve cases like the instant case

under the “your work” exclusion, that judgment is not ours to make. If, under

Texas law, the contractual liability exclusion applies on the facts of this case,

then we are bound to apply it, regardless of our misgivings. We think that it

does.

B.

Still, there is the question whether the Texas Supreme Court would

determine that Amerisure owes a duty to indemnify Ewing in the underlying

lawsuit. Unlike the duty to defend, which is determined by the eight corners

rule, the duty to indemnify is determined by the facts actually established in the

underlying lawsuit. D.R. Horton, 300 S.W.3d at 744. Accordingly, the duty to

indemnify is ordinarily not justiciable until after the underlying lawsuit is

resolved because coverage may turn on facts that are proven, even if those facts

were not pled. Id. at 745.

The district court concluded that Amerisure owed no duty to indemnify

Ewing. Although the court acknowledged that the underlying lawsuit was

unresolved at the time, it concluded that “the same reasons that negate the duty

to defend likewise negate any possibility the insurer will ever have a duty to

indemnify.” Farmers Tex. Cnty. Mut. Ins. Co. v. Griffin, 955 S.W.2d 81, 84 (Tex.

1997).

This determination, we think, was premature. The Texas Supreme Court’s

holding in Griffin, on which the district court relied, is “fact-specific” and,

importantly, “not based on a rationale that if a duty to defend does not arise

sources are case summaries that describe Gilbert. Descriptions of the case and the promise

involved do not provide limitations on the case’s importance or scope.

11

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 12 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

from the pleadings, no duty to indemnify could arise from proof of the

allegations.” D.R. Horton, 300 S.W.3d at 744, 745. If some fact outside of the

pleadings may arise in the course of the underlying lawsuit that would trigger

the duty to indemnify, then the duty to indemnify cannot be determined by the

pleadings and insurance policy alone. Id. Other than quoting from Griffin, the

district court did not specify why it considered the duty to indemnify justiciable

at this point in the proceedings; and of course, the mere absence of the duty to

defend, which has been described as the broader of the two duties, does not mean

that there ultimately could be no duty to indemnify. Colony Ins. Co. v. Peachtree

Const., Ltd., 647 F.3d 248, 253-54 (5th Cir. 2011).

Here, the School District might prove in the underlying lawsuit that

Ewing’s performance damaged property other than the tennis courts, thus

triggering tort liability and the exception to the contractual liability exclusion.

Coverage, to some extent at least, could be restored. Because we cannot rule out

this possibility, we cannot say whether Amerisure will have to indemnify Ewing.

See id. at 254-55. We therefore VACATE the district court’s judgment with

respect to the duty to indemnify and REMAND for consideration of whether the

duty to indemnify is ripe for adjudication at this time, based on the current

status of the underlying lawsuit.

C.

Finally, the district court also held that because Amerisure owed no duty

to defend or indemnify Ewing, it had not violated Texas’s Prompt Payment of

Claims Statute.5 That conclusion flows from the sensible rule that there can be

no liability for an insurer failing to pay a claim that is not covered by an

5

The Texas Prompt Payment of Claims Statute provides for civil liability when insurers

do not follow certain mandated procedures for investigating and paying insurance claims. Tex.

Ins. Code § 542.060.

12

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 13 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

insurance policy. Progressive Cnty. Mut. Ins. Co. v. Boyd, 177 S.W.3d 919, 922

(Tex. 2005).

With respect to the duty to defend, we find no error in the district court’s

holding. Amerisure may properly refuse to defend Ewing because it is under no

legal obligation to do otherwise. With respect to the duty to indemnify, however,

we must vacate in the light of our holding that the duty to indemnify was not

justiciable at the time of the district court’s judgment.

III.

We thus conclude: Based on the petition in the underlying lawsuit and the

terms of the CGL policy, Amerisure owes no duty to defend its insured, Ewing.

The School District alleges that Ewing breached its construction contract by

building deficient tennis courts. Deficient performance that constitutes a mere

breach of contract is not covered by the CGL policy because liability for deficient

performance is contractual liability excluded under the contractual liability

exclusion.

We cannot say whether Amerisure owes a duty to indemnify Ewing

because facts that would trigger a duty to indemnify might still be proven in the

underlying lawsuit, the status of which is uncertain on the record before us.

The district court’s judgment is AFFIRMED in part, VACATED in part,

and REMANDED with instructions to consider whether Amerisure’s duty to

indemnify Ewing and liability under the Prompt Payment of Claims Statute for

refusing to indemnify Ewing are now ripe for adjudication.

13

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 14 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

W. EUGENE DAVIS, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I respectfully disagree with my colleagues’ interpretation of the Texas

Supreme Court case of Gilbert Texas Construction, L.P. v. Underwriters at

Lloyd’s London, 327 S.W.3d 118 (Tex. 2010). They read that decision to say that

a contract to construct tennis courts carrying with it implied contractual

warranties amounts to an “assumption of liability” that is excluded under the

contractual liability exclusion of the contractor’s comprehensive general liability

(CGL) policy. Because the entire weight of the majority’s decision depends on

this interpretation of Gilbert, that decision requires a closer look.

In Gilbert, a building located adjacent to the construction site where the

Dallas Area Rapid Transit System (DART) was constructing a rail line was

damaged by flooding during an unusually heavy rain. The third party owner of

the building, RTR, sued Gilbert, DART’s general contractor, in tort, and for

breach of contract as a third party beneficiary to the contract between Gilbert

and DART. The tort claim was dismissed on immunity grounds leaving only

RTR’s breach of contract claim pending against Gilbert. Gilbert settled with

RTR and sought indemnity from its CGL carriers, one of which denied coverage.

In the instant case, the contractor, Ewing, undertook to build tennis courts

for a school district, and this work allegedly had defects rendering them unfit for

playing tennis.

There is a critical difference between the construction contract executed

by Gilbert and the contract executed by Ewing – Gilbert’s contract included the

following language that is absent in Ewing’s contract. Paragraph 10(b) of the

DART/Gilbert contract provided:

14

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 15 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

b. The Contractor shall protect from damage all existing

improvements and utilities (1) at or near the work site and (2) on

adjacent property of a third party . . . [and] repair any damage to

those facilities, including those that are the property of a third

party, resulting from failure to comply with the requirements of this

contract or failure to exercise reasonable care in performing the

work. If the Contractor fails or refuses to repair the damage

promptly, [DART] may have the necessary work performed and

charge the cost to the Contractor.

Gilbert, 327 S.W.3d at 122.

The entire focus of the Gilbert court was on whether the obligation

assumed by Gilbert in paragraph 10(b) of the DART/Gilbert contract quoted

above was excluded under the contractual liability exclusion found at section

2(b) of the policy. This provision excluded property damage “for which the

insured is obligated to pay damages by reason of the assumption of liability in

a contract or agreement.” Id. at 124. In other words, the sole question

considered by the Gilbert court was whether the obligation undertaken by

Gilbert in paragraph 10(b) of the contract fell within this exclusion, i.e., whether

it was “an assumption of liability in a contract or agreement.” Id.

The insured argued that paragraph 10(b) did not fall within the exclusion

for one reason: the exclusion only applied in the “limited situation in which the

insured has assumed the liability of another such as in a hold harmless or

indemnity agreement.” Id. at 125 (emphasis in original). This was a substantial

argument based on authorities from Texas courts as well as courts from around

the country. However, the Gilbert court disagreed with this argument and

accepted the underwriter’s argument that if the policy was designed to only

exclude assumption of liability of third persons, it should have said so. The court

therefore declined to read the exclusion as only excluding assumptions of

liability “of another.” The court concluded that the obligation undertaken by

Gilbert to protect from damage improvements on adjacent property, to repair

15

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 16 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

any such damage including that of a third party, and authorizing DART to have

the necessary work performed and charge the cost to the contractor if it refused

to repair the damage amounted to “an assumption of liability in a contract.”

The court then explained that the obligation Gilbert undertook in

paragraph 10(b) was independent of its general contractual obligation so as to

qualify as an “assumption of liability”:

The obligation to repair or pay for damage to RTR’s property

“resulting from a failure to comply with the requirements of this

contract” extends beyond Gilbert’s obligations under general law

and incorporates contractual standards to which Gilbert obligated

itself. . . . Thus RTR’s breach of contract claim was founded on an

obligation or liability contractually assumed by Gilbert within the

meaning of the policy exclusion.

Gilbert., 327 S.W.3d at 127.1 In its explanation, the Texas Supreme Court

plainly distinguished between two types of liability Gilbert could have under the

construction contract – (i) the liability “it had under general law principles,” and

1

The Texas Supreme Court’s full explanation is as follows:

Independent of its contractual obligations, Gilbert owed RTR the duty to comply

with law and to conduct its operations with ordinary care so as not to damage

RTR's property, and absent its immunity it could be liable for damages it caused

by breaching its duty. In its contract with DART, however, Gilbert undertook

a legal obligation to protect improvements and utilities on property adjacent to

the construction site, and to repair or pay for damage to any such property

"resulting from a failure to comply with the requirements of this contract or

failure to exercise reasonable care in performing the work." (emphasis added).

The latter obligation-to exercise reasonable care in performing its work-mirrors

Gilbert's duty to RTR under general law principles. The obligation to repair or

pay for damage to RTR's property "resulting from a failure to comply with the

requirements of this contract" extends beyond Gilbert's obligations under

general law and incorporates contractual standards to which Gilbert obligated

itself. The trial court granted summary judgment on all RTR's theories of

liability other than breach of contract, so Gilbert's only potential liability

remaining in the lawsuit was liability in excess of what it had under general

law principles. Thus, RTR's breach of contract claim was founded on an

obligation or liability contractually assumed by Gilbert within the meaning of

the policy exclusion.

Gilbert, 327 S.W.3d at 127.

16

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 17 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

(ii) “liability in excess of what it had under general law principles.” Id.

According to the court, only the latter category – “liability in excess of what [a

contractor] ha[s] under general law principles” – is contractually “assumed”

within the meaning of the contractual liability exclusion. The court further

explained that the ordinary contractual obligation “to exercise reasonable care

in performing” work under a construction contract is equivalent to the

contractor’s duty “under general law principles.” Id. Therefore, according to

Gilbert, liability arising out of a violation of that duty, though sounding in

contract, is not liability “assumed” by contract for purposes of the exclusion.

Thus, all Gilbert held was that when the insured affirmatively agreed in

paragraph 10(b) to be liable for damages in excess of what it would have been

liable for in tort or in contract “under general law” principles, then that liability

was “assumed” and excluded. Id.; see also Gilbert, 327 S.W.3d at 134 ("‘[W]here

the express contract actually adds nothing to the insured's liability, the

contractual liability exclusion clause is not applicable, but where [the] insured's

liability would not exist except for the express contract, the contractual liability

clause relieves the insurer of liability.'") (quoting Cagle v. Commercial Standard

Ins. Co., 427 S.W.2d 939, 943–44 (Tex.Civ.App.-Austin 1968, no writ)) (emphasis

added). The majority’s leap from this modest holding to say that any contractual

undertaking to perform a construction contract represents an “assumption of

liability” for all breaches of that contract cannot be squared with the court’s

careful language discussed above.

My conclusion is supported by the interpretation of the decision by third-

party commentators. Gilbert was immediately recognized to be a significant

decision, and after it was handed down a number of secondary sources –

including reporters, treatises, and a law review – discussed its holding on the

contractual liability issue. None have interpreted it as the majority does here,

to hold that a contractor’s agreement to perform a construction contract amounts

17

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 18 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

to an “assumption of liability” for its faulty performance of that contract. All

read the case as I do: (1) to reject the insured’s argument that the contractual

liability exclusion was limited to the assumption of a third party’s liability, and

(2) to find that the liability in Gilbert was “assumed” under that exclusion

because, in addition to agreeing to perform its work under the contract, the

insured contractor also explicitly agreed to be responsible for the damage to

neighboring properties.2

Some of these sources expressly reference the court’s reasoning quoted

above concerning “obligations under ‘general law principles.’” They interpret it

as I do, to explain that the liability in Gilbert was found to be “assumed” because

Gilbert undertook an additional liability to pay for damages to a third party’s

structures resulting from its malperformance of the contract, in addition to the

duties it already owed in contract and tort under “general law principles.”3

2

E.g., C.T. Drechsler, American Law Reports, 63 A.L.R.2d 1122, §2[c] (updated weekly)

(“Contractual liability exclusion [in Gilbert] . . . barred coverage when contractor assumed

liability for damages in a contract, not just when contractor assumed the liability of a third

party through a contract, and thus the exclusion applied to breach of contract claim brought

by owner of damaged building adjacent to the construction site, which claim was based on

provision of construction contract in which contractor agreed to protect from damage all

improvements and utilities on adjacent property.”); Scott C. Turner, Insurance Coverage of

Construction Disputes § 10:8 (2011) (“Besides agreeing to perform the construction work, the

insured agreed to repair any damage done to adjacent properties of third parties.”); Hon. Craig

Enoch, Digest Texas Supreme Court Cases 2009-2010 Term, 54 The Advoc. (Texas) 1, XVII.A.1.

(2011) (“The primary issue in [Gilbert] was whether the contractual liability exclusion in a

Commercial General Liability policy excludes coverage for property damage when the only

basis for liability is that the insured contractually agreed to be responsible for the damage. .

. . The Court refused to interpret the provision to apply only where the insured assumed

another's liability in a contract, as argued by Gilbert.”); Craig B. Glidden, Business Litigation,

4 West's Tex. Forms, Business Litigation Ch. 13 Introduction (2011) (“In [Gilbert], the Texas

Supreme Court held that the contractual liability exclusion in a CGL policy excluded coverage

for property damage when the only basis for liability was that the insured contractually agreed

to be responsible for the damage.”)

3

E.g., J. Price Collins, et al, Insurance Law, 64 SMU L. Rev. 341, 354-356 (2011)

(“Discounting the proposition that ‘assumption' referred only to the assumption of another's

liability, the supreme court held that the exclusion applies in those situations in which the

insured is obligated to pay damages by reason of the contractual assumption of liability beyond

its obligations under general law. Because Gilbert already owed a duty to RTR under general

18

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 19 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

Again, no one interpreted this case as the majority does here, to hold that an

“assumption of liability” is inherent in every agreement to perform a

construction contract.

Finally, the majority’s expansion of the contractual liability exclusion is

apparently animated by the belief that unless coverage is excluded in this case

as a contractually assumed liability, the CGL policy will act as a performance

bond to cover all instances of the contractor’s faulty workmanship. This concern

that a CGL policy should not operate as a performance bond for the contractor

has also been expressed by the Texas Supreme Court. See Lamar Homes, Inc.

v. Mid-Continent Cas. Co., 242 S.W.3d 1, 10 (Tex. 2007) (“More often, however,

faulty workmanship will be excluded from coverage by specific exclusions

because that is the CGL's structure.”). Although this concern does not justify the

majority’s unduly expansive reading of Gilbert, I understand and share their

concern. However, this concern is adequately addressed by other policy

provisions that make the majority’s troublesome expansion of the contractual

liability exclusion unnecessary.

As noted above, other “business risk exclusions” will usually exclude

coverage in cases such as this one. This principle is illustrated by a recent

decision of this court, another post-Gilbert faulty workmanship case from Texas.

In VRV Development L.P. v. Mid-Continent Casualty Co., 630 F.3d 451 (5th Cir.

2011), a contractor was sued by a property developer for its faulty workmanship.

The contractor sought defense and indemnity coverage from its CGL insurer.

law principles to exercise reasonable care in performing its work, the supreme court concluded

that the obligation to pay for damages ‘resulting from a failure to comply with the

requirements of this contract' represented an additional liability Gilbert assumed by

contract.”); Mark M. Schneier, 31 No. 9 Construction Litigation Reporter 9 (2010), and 32 No.

2 Construction Litigation Reporter 8 (2011) (“Independent of the prime contract, Gilbert owed

RTR the duty to conduct its operations with ordinary care so as not to damage RTR's property

and, absent immunity, Gilbert may have been liable to RTR for breaching its duty. In the

prime contract, however, Gilbert undertook a legal obligation to protect properties adjacent

to the work site, and to repair or pay for damage to any such property . . .”).

19

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 20 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

The insurer denied coverage under the “your work”4 and contractual liability

exclusions,5 and a suit followed. The district court upheld the denial on

unrelated grounds.

On appeal, we found, consistent with Lamar Homes, 242 S.W.3d, at 4, that

the faulty workmanship was an occurrence giving rise to coverage under the

CGL policy. We found, however, that coverage was excluded under exclusion (l),

the “your work” exclusion for “property damage to your work arising out of it.”

We also found that the subcontractor exception to that exclusion did not revive

coverage, because the parties had included an endorsement in the policy

removing the exception.

This ruling was consistent with the guidance of the Texas Supreme Court

in two recent faulty workmanship cases, Lamar Homes, 242 S.W.3d at 12, and

Pine Oak Builders, Inc. v. Great Am. Lloyds Ins. Co., 279 S.W.3d 650, 653-55

(Tex. 2009). There, the Court found that coverage for a contractor's faulty

workmanship under the CGL depends on (i) whether the underlying petition

alleges faulty workmanship by the contractor or the subcontractor, and (ii) for

work performed by the subcontractor, whether the parties included the

endorsement eliminating the "subcontractor exception" to the "your work"

exclusion in the policy. In Lamar Homes and Pine Oak Builders the parties had

not included the endorsement, so coverage was excluded for the claims alleging

faulty workmanship by the contractor, but not for the claims arising out of the

subcontractor’s work. In VRV Development the parties had included the

4

A standard exclusion in CGL policies excludes coverage for “‘[p]roperty damage’ to

‘your work’ arising out of it or any part of it.” “Your work” means, inter alia, “[w]ork or

operations performed by you or on your behalf.” See VRV Development, 630 F.3d, at 455.

5

These were the bases for denying coverage for the claims that faulty workmanship

resulted in damage to the subject of the contract, as is the issue here. The contractor also

sought coverage for claims of damage to other property. This coverage was denied because the

damage occurred outside the effective period of the policy, a denial which we upheld on appeal.

See VRV Development, 630 F.3d at 458-59.

20

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 21 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

endorsement, so coverage was excluded even though the damage was allegedly

caused by the subcontractor’s work. In this case, the underlying petition alleges

faulty workmanship by the subcontractors and the contractor, and the policy

does not include the endorsement eliminating the subcontractor exception.

Thus, the well known endorsement discussed in the above cases was

available in this case to exclude coverage for defects caused by the

subcontractor’s work had the parties bargained to include it in the policy. They

did not do so. We should respect that bargain. More to the point, I read the

Texas cases (as did our panel in VRV Development) as having chosen to rely on

this “business risk” exclusion, in the form bargained for by the parties, to

prevent the contractor’s CGL policy from becoming a performance bond, without

the majority’s unnecessary and troublesome expansion of the contractual

liability exclusion.6

III

Conclusion

For all of these reasons, I would reverse the district court’s conclusion that

the Ewing contract amounted to an assumption of liability that excluded

Amerisure’s coverage.

6

The majority acknowledges this issue but endorses the contractual liability exclusion

as merely another way to resolve these types of cases. This position would be acceptable if

application of the contractual liability exclusion and the “your work” exclusion led to the same

result. However, the “your work” exclusion contains the “subcontractor exception,” for which

the contractual liability exclusion contains no equivalent. The majority thus reads this

exception out of existence. In my view, this renders a significant change in Texas insurance

law, upsetting parties’ settled expectations and dictating that these cases will henceforth be

decided differently in federal court than they have been decided in Texas.

Like the majority, despite this result, I would still interpret the contractual liability

exclusion to exclude coverage here if I thought that was the holding of Gilbert. I do not, for

the reasons explained above. My observation that this interpretation yields a more coherent

role for the contractual liability exclusion in the CGL policy merely reinforces this view. See

Gilbert, 327 S.W.3d at 126 (“We examine the entire agreement and seek to harmonize and give

effect to all provisions so that none will be meaningless.”).

21

Case: 11-40512 Document: 00511887665 Page: 22 Date Filed: 06/15/2012

No. 11-40512

Alternatively, because this decision expands the holding in Gilbert,

renders a major portion of the CGL superfluous, and is inconsistent with the way

Texas courts have decided this type of case in the past, I would certify the

question to the Texas Supreme Court.

Therefore, I respectfully dissent.

22

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.