stating, in the context of ruling on a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, that “[i]n a class action, it is sufficient that a complaint generally give the *1239 defendant notice of the nature and scope of the plaintiffs’ claims; it is not necessary that the class representatives plead evidence or otherwise meet any burden beyond the minimal Rule 8 standard.”
How later courts described this case
- stating, in the context of ruling on a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, that “[i]n a class action, it is sufficient that a complaint generally give the *1239 defendant notice of the nature and scope of the plaintiffs’ claims; it is not necessary that the class representatives plead evidence or otherwise meet any burden beyond the minimal Rule 8 standard.”
- stating, in the context of ruling on a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, that“[i]n a class action, it is sufficient that a complaint generally give the defendant notice of the nature and scope of the plaintiffs’ claims; it is not necessary that the class representatives plead evidence or otherwise meet any burden beyond the minimal Rule 8 standard.”’
- holding that the government stated a subrogation claim under the MSP based on allegations that the defendants had constructive knowledge that some of the recipients of payments from a tort settlement fund had received treatment for which Medicare had already paid
- finding that a complaint “sufficiently alleges constructive knowledge” on behalf of the primary payer based on the primary payer’s entry into a settlement agreement with 32 Case: 18-12139 Date Filed: 09/04/2020 Page: 33 of 34 beneficiaries
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
[PUBLISH]
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT FILED
________________________
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
No. 01-16782 September 15, 2003
________________________ THOMAS K. KAHN
CLERK
D. C. Docket No. 00-00837-CV-N-S
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
BAXTER INTERNATIONAL, INCORPORATED; BAXTER HEALTHCARE
CORPORATION, et al.,
Defendants-Appellees,
PLAINTIFFS' STEERING COMMITTEE,
Defendant-Intervenor-
Appellee.
________________________
Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Alabama
_________________________
(September 15, 2003)
Before TJOFLAT, ANDERSON and CUDAHY*, Circuit Judges.
ANDERSON, Circuit Judge:
This case grows out of the 1995 settlement of a class-action products liability
suit against manufacturers of silicone breast implants. The settlement resulted in
the creation of a reimbursement mechanism by which several settling
manufacturers agreed to cover certain health care expenses incurred by or on behalf
of qualified members of the plaintiff class. The Government, as intervenor, sought
to recover for medical bills it paid on behalf of Medicare beneficiaries who
received treatment related to silicone breast implants. The district court dismissed
the Government's complaint in intervention for failure to state a claim. We
conclude that the dismissal was in error. We therefore reverse and remand.
I. BACKGROUND
A. Historical Background
The underlying case is result of an order by the Judicial Panel on Multi-
District Litigation, which consolidated all then-pending products liability claims
against the manufacturers of silicone breast implants into a single action before the
United States District Court for the Northern District of Alabama. The exact
*
Honorable Richard D. Cudahy, United States Circuit Judge for the Seventh Circuit,
sitting by designation.
2
details of the underlying claims are not of significance to the disposition of the
appeal before us. It is enough to observe that, in general, the plaintiffs allege that
they suffered, or fear that they will contract, a variety of systemic illnesses
traceable to silicone breast implants, necessitating in some instances that the
implants be surgically removed at considerable expense.
The litigation resulted in a settlement valued at $4.2 billion that initially
involved eight defendant manufacturers (the “Lindsey settlement”). On September
1, 1994, after conducting a fairness hearing, the district court approved the terms of
the Lindsey settlement, with modifications. See In re Silicone Gel Breast Implant
Litig., No. CV 92-P-10000-S, MDL No. 926, Civ. A. No. CV94-P-11558-S, 1994
WL 578353 (N.D. Ala. Sept. 1, 1994) (approving modified settlement and
redefining parameters of class membership). Subsequently, one of the larger
defendants, Dow Corning, declared bankruptcy, and several other defendants
(apparently dissatisfied with the court-imposed modifications) chose not to
participate in the settlement, leaving the following companies as appellees now
before us: Baxter International, Inc.; Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., Minnesota Mining
and Manufacturing Co. (“3M”); Union Carbide Corp.; and Union Carbide
Chemical & Plastics Co.
3
After the modifications were publicized to class members, and after the
settlement was restructured to take account of Dow Corning's bankruptcy filing, the
district court gave final approval to the settlement by order of December 22, 1995.
This became known as the “Revised Settlement Program,” or RSP. The
participating implant manufacturers are referred to collectively as “the RSP
Defendants,” 1 the appellees before us.
The revised settlement class covered personal injury or death claims by
members of a class consisting of: persons who received silicone breast implants
before June 1, 1993; all children born to mothers with breast implants before April
1, 1994; and their spouses or other relatives. The Government,2 as well as a
number of private insurers, moved to intervene prior to approval of the settlement
for purposes of asserting claims for reimbursement of medical claims paid on
behalf of class members. The district court denied these motions as premature. Its
1
The settlement agreement purported to make the class claimants, rather than the RSP
Defendants, liable for reimbursement claims by the Government or by other insurers. The
district court did not, however, render its decision based on any agreement by the parties that the
RSP Defendants were not liable. Wisely, none of the defendants attempts to argue here that
parties could override a statutory right of action afforded to the Government by a contractual
arrangement to which the Government was not a party.
2
When this case was initiated, the agency administering the Medicare program was
known as the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), a subunit of the Department of
Health and Human Services (HHS). Subsequently, the unit was renamed as the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). For simplicity, we refer to the intervenor/appellant
here as “HHS,” “the Government” or “Medicare.”
4
order stated, in pertinent part: “The court will consider these issues at a later time,
before any distributions... are made, and hopefully on the basis of motions that in
some appropriate manner identify the persons on whose behalf subrogation
claimants have paid medical expenses, rather than simply assert a general claim
against the class.”
In accordance with the settlement, the RSP Defendants created a Claims
Office to review the documentation submitted by prospective class members and
determine what level of benefits, if any, applicants were eligible to receive. Also
as part of the claims process, the district court appointed an Escrow Agent, who is
responsible for overseeing the investment and disbursement of the settlement
proceeds. The position has been held since its inception by Edgar C. Gentile, III.
The district court granted the Escrow Agent, as an agent of the court, “judicial
immunity” for actions taken in his quasi-judicial capacity, unless he acts in the
clear absence of jurisdiction.
The settlement resulted in the creation of two funds relevant to this case.
The principal fund, called the RSP Settlement Fund (or sometimes MDL 926
Settlement Fund) is the account from which claims are paid. The second, the
Common Benefit Fund, was created by a surcharge on the RSP Defendants for
5
purposes of paying legal fees and expenses incurred for the “common benefit” of
all claimants. Both funds are administered by the Escrow Agent.
The RSP Defendants made their first payment into the settlement fund in
January of 1996, and at the direction of the district court, the Escrow Agent began
issuing settlement payments to class members in mid-1996. According to the
Government's Complaint, about 81,000 claimants had received some payment from
the RSP as of April 1999. To date, more than 400,000 women have registered as
potential claimants, and the RSP Defendants have paid more than $1 billion into
the RSP Settlement Fund. More than 52,000 breast implant recipients opted out of
the settlement class, according to the Complaint, and the Defendants have made
payments outside the RSP process to an unspecified number of them.
It is not clear from the record to what extent the RSP Defendants carried
liability insurance coverage (other than “self insurance,” about which more will be
said shortly) for the events giving rise to the class members' claims, or to what
extent these defendants have received compensation from such insurance for
payments made into the two settlement funds. It is apparent that the implant
companies had at least some liability coverage, because the settlement agreement
expressly provides for the Defendants' insurers to have access to the otherwise
6
confidential records of class claimants. We therefore take as established for
purposes of this appeal that some third-party insurance coverage exists.
Beginning in 1995 and continuing through March of 2000, the Government
entered into a series of “tolling agreements” with the RSP Defendants while
negotiating over the Government's access to information about the settlement
participants, for purposes of determining which class members may have received
Government health benefits for which the Government was entitled to
reimbursement. Under these tolling agreements, the Defendants agreed that they
would not argue laches, statute of limitations or similar “timeliness” defenses if the
Government was forced to file suit. In exchange, the Government agreed to forego
filing suit during settlement negotiations. Negotiations between the Government
and the RSP Defendants did not produce an agreement. Consequently, in March of
2000, the Government filed the complaint in intervention giving rise to this appeal.
B. The Medicare Secondary Payer (MSP) Statute
The Government's Complaint initially relied on two distinct but related
statutes and their accompanying regulations: (1) the Medicare Secondary Payer
(“MSP”) statute, 42 U.S.C. § 1395y(b), and (2) the Medical Care Recovery Act
7
(“MCRA”), 42 U.S.C. § 2651. Although all of the Government's claims were
dismissed, it is appealing only the dismissal of the MSP claim. 3
The MSP is actually a collection of statutory provisions codified during the
1980s with the intention of reducing federal health care costs. See Zinman v.
Shalala, 67 F.3d 841, 845 (9th Cir. 1995) (“The transformation of Medicare from
the primary payer to the secondary payer with a right of reimbursement reflects the
overarching statutory purpose of reducing Medicare costs.”); Provident Life &
Accident Ins. Co. v. United States, 740 F. Supp. 492, 498 (E.D. Tenn. 1990) (“The
intent of Congress in shifting the burden of primary coverage from Medicare to
private insurance carriers was to place the burden where it could best be
absorbed.”). In a nutshell, the MSP declares that, under certain conditions,
Medicare will be the secondary rather than primary payer for its insureds.
Consequently, Medicare is empowered to recoup from the rightful primary payer
(or from the recipient of such payment) if Medicare pays for a service that was, or
should have been, covered by the primary insurer. Although the statute is
3
While the MSP statute is directed at recovery from “primary plans,” the MCRA statute is
directed at recovery from tortfeasors. It provides that, where the Government is obliged to pay
for the medical care of a person who is injured “under circumstances creating tort liability upon
some third person... to pay damages therefor,” the Government has the right to recover from the
tortfeasor (or their insurers) the “reasonable value” of the care it provides. 42 U.S.C. § 2651(a);
see United States v. Haynes, 445 F.2d 907, 908-09 (5th Cir. 1971) (discussing history and
purpose of MCRA statute).
8
structurally complex – a complexity that has produced considerable confusion
among courts attempting to construe it – the MSP's function is straightforward. As
we explained in Cochran v. HCFA, 291 F.3d 775, 777 (11th Cir. 2002):
[I]f payment for covered services has been or is reasonably
expected to be made by someone else, Medicare does not have to pay.
In order to accommodate its beneficiaries, however, Medicare does
make conditional payments for covered services, even when another
source may be obligated to pay, if that other source is not expected to
pay promptly.
Medicare originated as a series of amendments to the Social Security Act
enacted in 1965, providing a source of payment for hospital care for those over 65.
The program was, for the most part, the primary source of payment for its
beneficiaries even when another source of coverage existed. However, the 1965
amendments also provided that coverage would be secondary to workers'
compensation benefits, and that any payment to or on behalf of a Medicare
beneficiary eligible for workers' compensation benefits would be contingent upon
reimbursement. See S. Rep. No. 404 at § 1862, 89th Cong., 1st Sess. (1965),
reprinted at 1965 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1965, 2127-28 (“no payment may be made... for
any item or service for which payment has been made, or can reasonably be
expected to be made, under a workman's compensation law or plan of the United
States or a State. Any payment ... with respect to any [such] item or service must
9
be conditioned on reimbursement being made to the appropriate trust fund for such
payment if any when notice or other information is received that payment for such
item or service has been made under such a law or plan.”); see also Parkview
Hosp., Inc v. Roese, 750 N.E.2d 384, 388 (Ind. Ct. App. 2001) (discussing early
history and evolution of MSP statute). That language became the template for the
modern MSP provision.
In pertinent part, the MSP statute in its current form provides:
(A) In general
Payment under this subchapter may not be made, except as
provided in subparagraph (B), with respect to any item or service to
the extent that –
...(ii) payment has been made or can reasonably be
expected to be made promptly (as determined in accordance
with regulations) under a workmen's compensation law or plan
of the United States or a State or under an automobile or
liability insurance policy or plan (including a self-insured plan)
or under no-fault insurance.
In this subsection, the term “primary plan” means... a
workmen's compensation law or plan, an automobile or liability
insurance policy or plan (including a self-insured plan) or no
fault insurance, to the extent that clause (ii) applies.4
(B) Repayment required
4
Part of the dispute in this case revolves around the meaning and scope of the statutory
term “self-insured plan.” Two HHS regulations are pertinent. Under 42 C.F.R. § 411.50(b), a
“self-insured” plan “means a plan under which an individual, or a private or governmental entity,
carries its own risk instead of taking out insurance with a carrier.” Under 42 C.F.R. § 411.21, a
“plan” is defined as “any arrangement, oral or written, by one or more entities, to provide health
benefits or medical care or assume legal liability for injury or illness.”
10
(i) Primary plans
Any payment under this subchapter with respect to any
item or service to which subparagraph (A) applies shall be
conditioned on reimbursement to the appropriate Trust Fund
established by this subchapter when notice or other information
is received that payment for such item or service has been or
could be made under such paragraph.
(ii) Action by United States
In order to recover payment under this subchapter for
such an item or service, the United States may bring an action
against any entity which is required or responsible under this
subsection to pay with respect to such item or service (or any
portion thereof) under a primary plan (and may, in accordance
with paragraph (3)(A) collect double damages against that
entity), or against any other entity (including any physician or
provider) that has received payment from that entity with
respect to the item or service, and may join or intervene in any
action related to the events that gave rise to the need for the item
or service.
(iii) Subrogation rights
The United States shall be subrogated (to the extent of
payment made under this subchapter for such an item or service)
to any right under this subsection of an individual or any other
entity to payment with respect to such item or service under a
primary plan.
42 U.S.C. §1395y(b)(2)(A)-(B). Subparagraph (b)(3)(A), which is referenced
above, provides for a private right of action, with double damages available, if a
primary plan “fails to provide for primary payment (or appropriate reimbursement)
in accordance with” the preceding MSP regulations. See 42 U.S.C. §
1395y(b)(3)(A).
11
Pursuant to these provisions of the MSP statute, HHS has enacted
regulations setting forth the means by which the Government can bring an action to
recoup payments from a primary coverage plan. These regulations read, in
pertinent part:
If a Medicare conditional payment is made, the following rules
apply:
(a) Release of information. The filing of a Medicare claim
by or on behalf of the beneficiary constitutes an express
authorization for any entity, including State Medicaid and
workers' compensation agencies, and data depositories,
that possess information pertinent to the Medicare claim
to release that information to CMS. This information will
be used only for Medicare claims processing and for
coordination of benefit purposes.
(b) Right to initiate recovery. CMS may initiate recovery as
soon as it learns that payment has been made or could be
made under workers' compensation, any liability or no-
fault insurance, or an employer group health plan...
...(e) Recovery from third parties. CMS has a direct right of
action to recover from any entity responsible for making
primary payment. This includes an employer, an
insurance carrier, plan, or program, and a third party
administrator...
...(g) Recovery from parties that receive third party payments.
CMS has a right of action to recover its payments from
any entity, including a beneficiary, provider, supplier,
physician, attorney, state agency, or private insurer that
received a third party payment.
12
(h) Reimbursement to Medicare. If the beneficiary or other
party receives a third party payment, the beneficiary or
other party must reimburse Medicare within 60 days.
(i) Special rules. (1) In the case of liability insurance
settlements and disputed claims under employer group
health plans and no-fault insurance, the following rule
applies: If Medicare is not reimbursed as required by
paragraph (h) of this section, the third party payer must
reimburse Medicare even though it has already
reimbursed the beneficiary or other party.
42 C.F.R. § 411.24. Additionally, the regulations define “prompt” or “promptly,”
when used in connection with third-party payments, to mean “payment within 120
days after receipt of the claim.” 42 C.F.R. § 411.21.
The MSP, in its present form, originated with enactment of the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act (“OBRA”) of 1980, Pub.L. No. 96-499, § 953, 94 Stat.
2599 (1980). OBRA amended the Medicare Act to provide that Medicare
payments “may not be made with respect to any item or service to the extent that
payment has been made, or can reasonably be expected to be made (as determined
in accordance with regulations) ... under an automobile or liability insurance policy
... or under no fault insurance.”5
5
As the measure was originally proposed in the House, Medicare would have been
secondary only to automobile insurance; a Senate amendment, adopted in conference, added no-
fault and liability insurance. See House Confc. Rep. No. 96-14, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 133,
reprinted in 1980 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5903, 5924.
13
Since enacting the MSP statute, Congress has expanded its reach several
times, making Medicare secondary to a greater array of primary coverage sources,
and creating a larger spectrum of beneficiaries who no longer may look to
Medicare as their primary source of coverage.6 More significantly for our
purposes, Congress has repeatedly clarified and augmented the Government's
powers to recoup conditional Medicare payments from primary sources.
The Deficit Reduction Act (“DERFA”) of 1984 conferred on the
Government a direct right of action to recover its payments from any entity “which
would be responsible for payment” under a “law, policy, plan or insurance,” and
provided that the Government would be subrogated to the right of any individual or
entity to receive payment. DERFA also modified the original wording of the
secondary payment provision by adding the modifier “promptly,” so that the
pivotal phrase dictated that a Medicare payment “may not be made with respect to
any item or service to the extent that payment has been made, or can reasonably be
6
In the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981, Congress augmented the MSP to
provide that Medicare would be secondary to group health coverage for end-stage renal patients.
H. Res. 3982, 97th Cong., 1st Sess., 95 Stat. 357 (1981) at § 2146. In the Tax Equity and Fiscal
Responsibility Act (“TERFA”) of 1982, Congress made Medicare the secondary payer for
“working aged” employees and their spouses between the ages of 65 and 69 belonging to large
employer group health plans (covering twenty or more workers). H. Res. 4961, 97th Cong., 2d
Sess., 96 Stat. 324 (1982) at § 116. In the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (“OBRA”) of
1986, Congress made Medicare the secondary payer for disabled individuals enrolled in large
employer group health plans. H. Res. 5300, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., 100 Stat. 1874 (1986) at §
9319.
14
expected to be made promptly ... with respect to such item or service, under a
workman's compensation plan or plan of the United States or a State or under an
automobile or liability insurance policy or plan (including a self-insured plan) or
no-fault insurance(.)” H. Res. 4170, 98th Cong., 2d Sess., 98 Stat. 494 (1984) at §
2344. In OBRA 1986, Congress added the private right of action for double
damages codified at 42 U.S.C. § 1395y(b)(3)(A). It also added the cross-reference
to that section in § 1395(b)(2)(B)(ii), which enables the Government to collect
double damages “in accordance with” the new private right of action. H. Res.
5300, 99th Cong., 2d Sess., 100 Stat. 1874 (1986) at § 9319.
II. THE DECISION BELOW
The Government's Complaint advanced nine counts: (1) a claim for
reimbursement against the RSP Defendants as third-party payers under the MSP;
(2) double damages against the RSP Defendants as third-party payers under the
MSP; (3) single damages under the MSP against the RSP Defendants as entities
that caused payments to be made, or received such payments, from product liability
insurers; (4) a subrogation claim under the MSP against disbursements from the
MDL Settlement Fund and/or the Common Benefit Fund; (5) a claim for
declaratory relief that the RSP Defendants are liable under the MSP to reimburse
Medicare for past payments to breast implant patients, and are obligated under 42
15
C.F.R. § 411.25 to provide Medicare with notice of all payments to Medicare
beneficiaries; (6) a single damages claim under the MSP against the Escrow Agent
as a person who received payment from the RSP Defendants and/or from product
liability insurers to pay the claimants; (7) a claim for injunctive relief under the
MSP to enjoin the Escrow Agent from making disbursements to Medicare patients
pending resolution of Medicare's MSP claims and to compel disclosure of
identifying information concerning all past or contemplated settlement payments to
Medicare beneficiaries; (8) a claim for injunctive relief similar to Count VII under
the MCRA, and (9) a demand under the MCRA for payment from the MDL
Settlement Fund of the Government's reasonable costs for paying for care of
Medicare patients for injuries alleged to be caused by a breast implant. Thus,
Counts I through VII arose under the MSP or its regulations, while counts VIII and
IX arose under the MCRA. 7
The district court (after first granting the Plaintiffs' Steering Committee the
right to intervene) granted the motions to dismiss filed by the RSP Defendants, the
Escrow Agent, and the Plaintiffs' Steering Committee, finding that the Government
had failed to state a claim upon which relief could be granted.8
7
As noted above, the Government has now abandoned its MCRA claims.
8
The opinion below was published as In re Silicone Gel Breast Implant Products Liability
Litig., 174 F. Supp. 2d 1242 (N.D. Ala. 2001).
16
The court first evaluated whether the Government had a claim for
reimbursement under 42 U.S.C. § 1395y(b), the MSP statute. The court found that
– whether the Government was bringing a direct action in its own right under the
statute or was acting as the subrogee to the patient's rights – an essential element to
state a claim under the MSP was to identify both the services provided and the
patient who received them. In addition to the need for the Defendants to know the
identity of the patients and the amount in dispute, the court noted that the
beneficiaries themselves are interested parties and have the right to challenge the
reimbursement request and to petition the Government to waive its claim.
The court rejected the Government's argument that it was unable to plead the
identity of the beneficiaries in question because of the settlement's confidentiality
provisions. The court found that the Defendants were under no statutory duty to
collect information about the identity of potential claimants, and that absent such a
duty, it was irrelevant whether the settlement was structured with the purpose of
evading disclosure. Because the Government had an alternative means of relief –
like any other insurer, it could file a petition for reimbursement with the RSP
Claims Office – the court found no need to relieve the Government from
compliance with the MSP statute or the pleading standards of Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a).
17
Next, the court considered whether the Government was entitled to
reimbursement under 42 C.F.R. § 411.24(i), the “double payment” regulation
adopted pursuant to the MSP. Under Section 411.24(i), a “third party payer” may
be required to reimburse Medicare if it paid a provider or a claimant when it knew,
or should have known, that Medicare had made a conditional primary payment as
provided by the MSP. The district court found this regulation inapplicable,
because the relevant portion of the MSP statute applies only to insurers or “self-
insured plans.” The court rejected the Government's contention that the implant
manufacturers could be viewed as “self-insured plans.” The RSP Defendants were
thus outside the coverage of the statute and not subject to the “double payment”
regulation.
Further, the court found that the Government had no direct right of action
against a third-party payer that had already made payment to its insured, because
such a payer was no longer “required or responsible... to pay” as provided by the
MSP statute, § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii). The Government may proceed against such an
insurer only in its role as subrogee, the court held. Relying on Health Ins. Ass'n of
America v. Shalala, 23 F.3d 412 (D.C. Cir. 1994) (“HIAA”), and on general
principles of common law, the court held that, as a subrogee, the Government was
required to “plead and prove [that] the third-party payer knew or should have
18
known of Medicare's conditional payments at the time payment was made to the
beneficiary.” Because, in the district court's view, the Government failed to do so,
its claims under the “double payment” provision were fatally flawed.
The court declined to adopt the Government's interpretation that the
existence of the MSP statute itself puts insurers on constructive notice that they
must inquire into whether Medicare has paid a beneficiary before they pay a claim.
Rather, citing HIAA, the court held that “knowledge” requires the Government to
show that, at the time it paid the claim, the insurer had “direct information... or
information necessary to draw the conclusion” that Medicare had made a
conditional payment to the particular recipient. It was insufficient, the court held,
that the Government's prior intervention in the case generally alerted the
Defendants that Medicare might have paid some claims.
The court rejected the Government's contention that the Defendants'
knowledge was a factual matter to be proven at trial. The court observed that the
Government's own complaint alleged that the RSP Defendants “did not ascertain”
whether Medicare had made payments on behalf of any of the RSP claimants. With
that assertion, the court felt that the Government had effectively pled itself out of
court.
19
Next, the court addressed whether the Government could bring a claim in
Count II against the RSP Defendants for double damages pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §
1395y(a)(3)(A) and 42 C.F.R. § 411.24(c)(2). Having held that the Defendants
were not liable even for single damages, the district court summarily rejected the
Government's claim for double damages.
Similarly, the district court summarily rejected the Government's claims for
declaratory relief (Count V) and injunctive relief (Count VII). The court then
considered whether any of the defendants could be liable under the MSP as entities
that “received payment,” as provided in 42 U.S.C. § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii). (Although
the court acknowledged that the Government's claim under this section ran against
both the RSP Defendants and the Escrow Agent, its discussion focused almost
exclusively on the role of the Escrow Agent.) First, the court – again relying on
HIAA – held that a mere “pass-through” could not be said to have “received”
payment under any ordinary understanding of that term, since “receipt” suggests a
degree of autonomous control. Further, the court observed that the term “recover”
in the statute suggested that the Government must proceed against an entity
actually in possession of the money – either the ultimate payer or the ultimate
payee – and not an entity that temporarily held the money and relinquished it.
Additionally, the court observed that the Defendants did not fit either the statute's
20
or HHS regulations' illustration of who qualifies as an entity that receives
payment: the statute uses the illustration “any physician or provider,” while 42
C.F.R. § 411.24(g) refers to “a beneficiary, provider, supplier, physician, attorney,
State agency or private insurer that has received a third party payment.” All of
those entities, the court observed, are likely to be ultimate recipients of payment
rather than mere conduits. Where an entity has merely remitted payment as a pass-
through, the court held, that entity is reachable only through 42 C.F.R. §§
411.24(i), which requires proof of knowledge of Medicare's prior payment that is
lacking in this case.
III. DISCUSSION
We review a district court's grant of a motion to dismiss for failure to state a
claim de novo. Abate of Georgia, Inc. v. Georgia, 264 F.3d 1315, 1315 (11th Cir.
2001). A motion to dismiss a complaint in intervention is reviewed under the same
standard applicable to consideration of a motion to dismiss the original plaintiffs'
complaint. Southwest Ctr. for Biological Diversity v. Berg, 268 F.3d 810, 819-20
(9th Cir. 2001). In evaluating the sufficiency of a complaint under Rule 12(b)(6),
courts must be mindful that the Federal Rules require only that the complaint
contain “a short and plain statement of the claim showing that the pleader is
entitled to relief(.)” Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a). In applying Rule 12(b)(6), "a complaint
21
should not be dismissed for failure to state a claim unless it appears beyond a doubt
that the [complainant] can prove no set of facts in support of his claim which would
entitle him to relief." Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46, 78 S.Ct. 99, 102
(1957).
The district court granted the motion on two grounds: first, that the
Government's Complaint was defective because it did not include the identity of
the recipients of federal health care benefits and the nature of the expenditures, and
second, that the MSP statute did not entitle the Government to proceed on its
chosen theories against these defendants. Thus, we must consider both whether the
Government has viable claims under the applicable law, and, if so, whether the
Government's pleading was sufficient to invoke the MSP.
A. Sufficiency of Complaint
The district court held that, “at a minimum,” a complaint under the MSP
statute must identify the Medicare beneficiaries for whose care reimbursement is
sought. Because the Complaint here failed to do so, the court held, the MSP counts
were subject to dismissal.
Because the Federal Rules embody the concept of liberalized “notice
pleading,” a complaint need contain only a statement calculated to “give the
defendant fair notice of what the plaintiff's claim is and the grounds upon which it
22
rests.” Conley, 355 U.S. at 47, 78 S.Ct. at 103; see also Caribbean Broad. Sys.,
Ltd. v. Cable & Wireless PLC, 148 F.3d 1080, 1086 (D.C. Cir. 1998) ("[A] plaintiff
need not allege all the facts necessary to prove its claim."). We have observed that
the threshold of sufficiency to which a complaint is held at the motion-to-dismiss
stage is “exceedingly low.” See In re Southeast Banking Corp., 69 F.3d 1539,
1551 (11th Cir. 1995) (“[F]or better or for worse, the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure do not permit district courts to impose upon plaintiffs the burden to
plead with the greatest specificity they can.”).
Rule 24 requires merely that an intervenor's petition “shall state the grounds
[for intervention] and shall be accompanied by a pleading setting forth the claim or
defense for which intervention is sought.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(e). “The
determination of whether the proposed intervenor's complaint states a cause of
action is controlled by the general rules on testing a pleading; the factual
allegations of the complaint are assumed to be true... and the pleading is construed
liberally in support of the pleader.” Pin v. Texaco, Inc., 793 F.2d 1448, 1450 (5th
Cir. 1986) (internal quotes and citation omitted); accord County of Santa Fe v.
Public Serv. Co. of N.M., 311 F.3d 1031, 1035 (10th Cir. 2002).
The Supreme Court has said in the context of a standing determination that
“[a]t the pleading stage, general factual allegations of injury resulting from the
23
defendant's conduct may suffice, for on a motion to dismiss we presume that
general allegations embrace those specific facts that are necessary to support the
claim.” Nat'l Org. for Women, Inc. v. Scheidler, 510 U.S. 249, 256, 114 S.Ct. 798,
803 (1994) (quoting Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 561, 112 S.Ct.
2130, 2137 (1992)). In Swierkiewicz v. Sorema, N.A., 534 U.S. 506, 511, 122
S.Ct. 992, 997 (2002), the Court held that in the employment discrimination
context, a complaint is not subject to dismissal for failure to state a claim merely
because it fails to “plead facts establishing a prima facie case” of discrimination.
As the Court emphasized there:
The liberal notice pleading of Rule 8(a) is the starting point of a
simplified pleading system. ... Rule 8(a) establishes a pleading
standard without regard to whether a claim will succeed on the merits.
<Indeed, it may appear on the face of the pleadings that a recovery is
very remote and unlikely but that is not the test.'
Id. at __, 122 S.Ct. at 999 (quoting Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 236, 94 S.Ct.
1683 (1974)).
Courts typically allow the pleader an extra modicum of leeway where the
information supporting the complainant's case is under the exclusive control of the
defendant. See Peters v. Amoco Oil Co., 57 F. Supp. 2d 1268, 1284-85 (M.D. Ala.
1999) (holding that complaint setting forth general allegations about nature of
conspiracy was sufficient despite heightened pleading standard applicable to
24
conspiracy claims under Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b), where information about extent of
alleged conspiracy was within defendants' exclusive control); see also Quality
Foods de Centro America, S.A. v. Latin American Agribusiness Dev. Corp., 711
F.2d 989, 995 (11th Cir. 1983) (holding that liberalized consideration of complaint
espoused in Conley “is particularly true in an antitrust suit where the proof and
details of the alleged conspiracy are largely in the hands of the alleged
co-conspirators.”).
The situation presented here – an intervenor bringing a claim on the basis of
injury to a large group of others, the identities of whom the intervenor claims
cannot be determined without discovery – is not unlike that commonly presented in
a class action, such as the one that underlies our case. In a class action, it is
sufficient that a complaint generally give the defendant notice of the nature and
scope of the plaintiffs' claims; it is not necessary that the class representatives plead
evidence or otherwise meet any burden beyond the minimal Rule 8 standard. See
7B WRIGHT, MILLER & KANE, FEDERAL PRACTICE & PROCEDURE § 1798 (2d ed.
1986) at 417-18 (“All of the pleading provisions of the federal rules are applicable
in class actions and operate in much the same fashion as they do in other litigation
contexts. ... No greater particularity is necessary in stating a claim for relief in a
class action than in other contexts.”); Alba Conte & Herbert B. Newberg, 6
25
NEWBERG ON CLASS ACTIONS § 18:46 (4th ed. 2003) (“It is not necessary... that
class members be specifically identified; the plaintiff need not name names. In
addition, the complaint need not set forth the exact number of class members. It is
sufficient to indicate the approximate size of the class and provide or describe facts
making ultimate identification of class members possible when that identification
becomes necessary.”). Indeed, the Supreme Court's seminal statement of the
standard for dismissal, Conley, involved a class action by African-American
railroad clerks who alleged that their union had breached its duty of fair
representation by discriminating against them.
In view of the foregoing, we find that the district court applied too exacting a
standard when it found the Government's Complaint fatally deficient for failing to
identify each member of the plaintiff class on whose behalf Medicare made a
conditional payment.9 The crucial information that the district court here found
9
In determining the required elements of a proper complaint, the district court placed
principal reliance on In re Dow Corning Corp., 244 B.R.705 (E.D. Mich 1999), which involved
Government claims under the MSP and MCRA seeking reimbursement from a manufacturer that
opted out of this litigation. See id. at 713 (detailing necessary contents of Government's claims).
Significantly, Dow Corning arose in the context of a Chapter 11 proceeding to validate the
cramdown of a plan of reorganization, pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 1129(b)(1), not in the context of a
Rule 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss. Consideration of a § 1129(b)(1) motion requires the court to
review evidence and resolve issues of fact. Thus, the Government did not have the benefit of the
deferential review afforded to allegations at the motion-to-dismiss stage. Dow Corning's
standard for what constitutes an adequately supported objection to the validation of a §
1129(b)(1) reorganization is of limited usefulness in determining what an ordinary civil
complaint in intervention must contain.
26
necessary to complete the Government's Complaint – “the Medicare beneficiaries
who have received benefits from the defendants” – is outside the Government's
control. At best, the Government may be able to generate a list of all patients who
received treatment for breast implant-related medical conditions during the period
covered by the RSP settlement.10 Such a list would be wildly over-inclusive, as it
could include: patients whose implants were not manufactured by any of the RSP
Defendants; patients who had their implants removed for reasons other than
tortiously inflicted injury; patients who opted not to participate in the settlement;
and patients participating in the class whose application for RSP benefits may (for
whatever reason) not be approved by the Claims Office so that they will never
receive payment. The Government could not in good faith purport to be bringing
its Complaint on behalf of such a patently inaccurate list of beneficiaries. See Fed.
R. Civ. P. 11(b) (“By presenting to the court... a pleading, written motion, or other
paper, an attorney or unrepresented party is certifying that to the best of the
person's knowledge, information, and belief, formed after an inquiry reasonable
under the circumstances... the allegations and other factual contentions have
10
Even this is a dubious assumption. Many women will doubtless have received
Medicare-compensated treatment for generic symptoms not specifically identified on their
providers' bills as related to breast implants, or perhaps not diagnosed as implant-related until
later in the course of treatment.
27
evidentiary support”). While the Government might be able to arrive at a rough
approximation, the RSP Defendants (either directly or through the Claims Office)
have access to: (1) the names of the approximately 400,000 registered potential
claimants, and (2) the approximately 81,000 people whose claims, to date, have
been deemed worthy of payment. They are, consequently, in the far more
advantageous position to compile an accurate list of Medicare patients for whom
MSP payments have been made or requested.11
The pleading standards urged by the RSP Defendants are akin to the
heightened requirements of Fed. R. Civ. P. 9, which apply to claims of fraud,
mistake, duress and other “special matters.” Where Rule 9 is implicated, plaintiffs
must plead not only the general nature of their injuries but also the specifics of how
and when they were injured. See, e.g., Brooks v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of
Florida, Inc., 116 F.3d 1364, 1380-81 (11th Cir. 1997) (under Rule 9(b), plaintiff
alleging fraud must plead “(1) the precise statements, documents, or
misrepresentations made; (2) the time, place, and person responsible for the
11
The district court believed that the Government was required to plead the names of
Medicare patients who have actually received payment from the Defendants. Because tens of
thousands of pending claims remain to be evaluated by the RSP Claims Office, even if the
Government were able to produce a perfectly accurate list in compliance with the district court’s
standards, such list would be obsolete essentially from the day of submission due to the ongoing
claims adjudication process. We fail to see how the conduct of this litigation would be aided by
forcing Medicare at this initial stage to produce what will necessarily be a grossly inaccurate and
constantly changing claimant list.
28
statement; (3) the content and manner in which these statements misled the
Plaintiffs; and (4) what the defendants gained by the alleged fraud”); Coffey v.
Foamex L.P., 2 F.3d 157, 161-62 (6th Cir. 1993) (Rule 9(b) requires plaintiff in
fraud case “at a minimum, to allege the time, place, and content of the alleged
misrepresentation on which he or she relied; the fraudulent scheme; the fraudulent
intent of the defendants; and the injury resulting from the fraud”). By implication,
then, a complaint governed by the ordinary standard of Rule 8 – and there is no
dispute that Rule 8 applies here – need not allege the particulars of each instance of
injury in order to survive a motion to dismiss.12
It is significant here that, out of a class of 400,000 potential claimants, it
appears beyond dispute that at least some class members will have received
conditional Medicare payments.13 No one suggests to the contrary. Therefore,
12
The Defendants argue that it would be inequitable to allow Medicare to proceed on the
basis of an unspecific complaint when the Government failed to request access to the names of
the RSP claimants – a request that the district court had indicated it might view favorably.
Whether or not the Government conducted itself with optimal diligence is not conclusive. A
complaint that is otherwise satisfactory under Rule 8 – as is this one – does not become
inadequate merely because the complainant had access to more detailed information but failed to
include it. (We note that the district court did not rely on the Government's failure to move for
disclosure of the identity of the RSP claimants as a basis for dismissing the Complaint.)
13
In a sworn declaration submitted to the district court in May 2000, the Government
reported that 457 people (140 who participated in the RSP settlement and 317 who opted out)
had identified themselves to HHS as having received payment from the breast implant litigation.
This number hints at the immense litigation management problems that would ensue if the
29
given the benefit of discovery, it appears not only possible but in fact inevitable
that the Government will turn up a number of claims eligible for reimbursement.
That the Government cannot now provide a name, date and dollar amount
corresponding to any particular Medicare payment for which reimbursement is
owed does not indicate beyond doubt that it has “no case,” which is what a court
must find to grant a motion to dismiss.14
Finally, we note that requiring the Government to plead with the specificity
Defendants seek would run counter to the intent of the MSP statute. In carrying
Government were forced to plead the individualized medical and payment histories of each of its
beneficiaries.
14
Our facts materially differ from those presented in City of Birmingham v. American
Tobacco Co., 10 F. Supp. 2d 1257 (N.D. Ala. 1998), on which the district court relied. In City of
Birmingham, which involved a somewhat analogous claim for recovery of health care expenses
under a state statute, the district court found that the plaintiffs were required to plead details
about each patient and each expenditure for which reimbursement was sought. In that non-class
action, however, there was considerable doubt as to whether the plaintiffs could identify even a
single person for whose care they were entitled to reimbursement, and information as to the
patients' identities and medical history was within the plaintiffs' exclusive control. It is also
noteworthy that, even in City of Birmingham, the court did not dismiss the complaint outright,
but rather, granted the plaintiffs leave to amend.
For similar reasons, we do not find the principal case cited by Defendants, Health Care
Serv. Corp. v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 208 F.3d 579 (7th Cir. 2000), to be on point.
In Brown & Williamson, the Seventh Circuit upheld the dismissal of a subrogatory claim by
various Blue Cross/Blue Shield associations suing tobacco companies to recover for smoking-
related health care expenses for their insureds. Although the court did find the complaint lacking
because it failed to plead the identity of the parties insured, its principal weakness was a failure
to show either a right to recovery or a basis for federal jurisdiction, both of which are supplied in
our case by the MSP statute. Moreover, as with City of Birmingham, Brown & Williamson did
not arise out of an underlying class action, which (in our case) itself serves to give the defendants
notice of the universe of patients for whose expenses reimbursement may be sought.
30
out its principal purpose of shifting the burden of paying for health care from
Medicare to private insurers, the MSP creates as a practical matter a need for
insurers to determine, before paying a disputed liability claim (involving among its
alleged damages medical expenses likely to have been paid by Medicare), whether
the Government has made a conditional payment, upon peril of being forced to pay
the same claim twice. As the second payer, such insurer is in a position to
determine which claim has been, or is at risk of being, paid twice, while Medicare,
as the first payer, is not. Because the statute is built on the recognition that
Medicare frequently will not know which of its payments has been subsequently
duplicated by an insurer, it would – in this unique setting of a class action
involving thousands of claimants – defeat the purpose of the statute to require that
the Government identify each patient, procedure, and payment amount at the
pleading stage without benefit of discovery.
We readily conclude that the district court erred in dismissing the complaint
for failure to identify the beneficiaries for whose care reimbursement is sought.
B. Scope of MSP Statute
1) Were Medicare's payments conditioned on reimbursement?
The RSP Defendants argue here that the Government’s right to recoup its
payments never arose, because under the terms of the MSP statute, Medicare's
31
payments were not “conditional” at all. The disputed statutory provisions, 42
U.S.C. §§ 1395y(b)(2)(A) and (b)(2)(B), provide:
(A) In general
Payment under this subchapter may not be made, except as
provided in subparagraph (B), with respect to any item or service to
the extent that –
(i) payment has been made, or can reasonably
expected to be made, with respect to the item or service as
required under [regulations governing group health
plans], or
(ii) payment has been made or can reasonably be expected
to be made promptly (as determined in accordance with
regulations) under a workmen's compensation law or plan of the
United States or a State or under an automobile or liability
insurance policy or plan (including a self-insured plan) or under
no-fault insurance. ...
In this subsection, the term “primary plan” means a group
health plan or large group health plan, to the extent that
clause (i) applies, and a workmen's compensation law or
plan, an automobile or liability insurance policy or plan
(including a self-insured plan) or no fault insurance, to
the extent that clause (ii) applies.
(B) Repayment required
(i) Primary plans
Any payment under this subchapter with respect to any
item or service to which subparagraph (A) applies shall be
conditioned on reimbursement to the appropriate Trust Fund
established by this subchapter when notice or other information
32
is received that payment for such item or service has been or
could be made under such paragraph.
Defendants argue that subparagraph (A) operates as a limitation on the right
of reimbursement in subparagraph (B), so that a Medicare payment is conditioned
on reimbursement only if “payment has been made or can reasonably be expected
to be made promptly” by another insurer. In other words, Defendants argue that
Medicare is entitled to reimbursement only if Medicare pays after payment from a
primary insurance source either has already been made or is expected promptly.
Otherwise, in Defendants' view, Medicare's payment is unconditional and may not
be recouped.
Grammatically, Defendants' interpretation is a possible reading of the statute.
However, we think the much more plausible interpretation of the statute is that
Medicare would endeavor not to pay where a “primary plan” has paid or is
expected to pay promptly, but any payment that Medicare does make is secondary
and is subject to reimbursement from sources of primary coverage under the
statute. This more plausible interpretation is also a grammatically correct
construction of the language of the statute. The crucial phrase in §
1395y(b)(2)(B)(i) – “to which subparagraph (A) applies” – plausibly modifies “any
item or service,” meaning any item or service covered by a primary plan as defined
33
in the last paragraph of §1395y(b)(2)(A). The court in Brown v. Thompson, 252 F.
Supp. 2d 312, 317 (E.D. Va. 2003) recently rejected Defendants’ interpretation,
and adopted the interpretation we adopt today. The Brown court held:
[T]he reference in subparagraph B to <item or service to which
subparagraph A applies' must refer only to that portion of
subparagraph A that defines a primary plan. In other words, the
reference to subparagraph A in subparagraph B serves simply to define
the universe of reimbursable payments to consist of those where
primary coverage exists. ... Properly construed, therefore,
subparagraph B requires reimbursement for a payment, as here, that
<has been made' from a <primary plan' as defined in subparagraph A.
It is clear that an item or service paid by a primary plan defined in the last
paragraph of subparagraph (A) is, in the language of subparagraph (B), an “item or
service to which subparagraph (A) applies.” In other words, subparagraph (A)
applies by defining the universe of reimbursable payments.
Our interpretation is further supported by a close examination of the
language of subparagraphs (A) and (B). Subparagraph (B) refers to payments
“with respect to any item or service to which subparagraph (A) applies.” This
would include any payments contemplated by subparagraph (A). Turning to
subparagraph (A) to ascertain what payments it contemplates, we see that it
contemplates that Medicare should not pay if payment has been made or is
reasonably expected from a group health plan (subparagraph (A)(i)), and that
34
Medicare should not pay if payment has been made or can reasonably be expected
to be made promptly under plans including liability insurance or self-insured plans
(subparagraph (A)(ii)). By contrast subparagraph (A) clearly contemplates
Medicare will pay when it does not reasonably expect prompt payment by such
primary obligors – precisely the payments which Defendants argue are not
reimbursable. We believe that the much more plausible interpretation of the
statutory language indicates that these payments are reimbursable. These are
payments “with respect to any item or service to which subparagraph (A) applies”
because subparagraph (A) defines their universe and contemplates Medicare paying
them.
Although only our more plausible interpretation comports with the purpose
of the statute, see infra, the two grammatically correct potential interpretations
mean that the statute might be considered ambiguous. Where such ambiguity
exists, the reasonable interpretation of the agency charged with implementing the
statute is entitled to judicial deference, under the principles enumerated by the
Supreme Court in Chevron USA, Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc.,
467 U.S. 937, 104 S.Ct. 2778 (1984).
The first step in the two-step Chevron review is to determine whether
Congress has “directly and unambiguously spoken to the precise question at issue.”
35
Georgia Dept. of Med. Assistance v. Shalala, 8 F.3d 1565, 1567 (11th Cir. 1993)
(“Georgia DMA”) (quoting Chevron, 467 U.S. at 842-43, 104 S.Ct. at 2781-82). If
so, the court's inquiry is at an end, for it must honor Congress' clearly expressed
intent. Determining whether Congress has unmistakably addressed the issue
requires looking at "the particular statutory language at issue, as well as the
language and design of the statute as a whole." Georgia DMA, 8 F.3d at 1567
(citing Sullivan v. Everhart, 494 U.S. 83, 89, 110 S.Ct. 960, 964 (1990)).
If Congress has not directly addressed the issue, or the statutory provision
is ambiguous, we come to the second stage of Chevron: whether the agency's
construction of the statute is reasonable and consistent with congressional intent.
If so, we must accede to it. See Dawson v. Scott, 50 F.3d 884, 887 (11th Cir. 1994)
(“Agency interpretation is reasonable and controlling unless it is <arbitrary,
capricious, or manifestly contrary to the statute.'”) (quoting Chevron, 467 U.S. at
844, 104 S.Ct. at 2782); Bigby v. INS, 21 F.3d 1059, 1063 (11th Cir. 1991) ("[W]e
defer to an agency's reasonable interpretation of a statute it is charged with
administering."). The consistency of an agency's interpretation over time is a factor
in determining the level of deference due. Good Samaritan Hosp. v. Shalala, 508
U.S. 402, 417, 113 S.Ct. 2151, 2161 (1993); see also Teamsters v. Daniel, 439 U.S.
551, 566 n. 20, 99 S.Ct. 790, 800 n. 20 (1979) ("It is commonplace in our
36
jurisprudence that an administrative agency's consistent, longstanding
interpretation of the statute under which it operates is entitled to considerable
weight.").
Here, we find that HHS – which was expressly delegated by Congress to
formulate rules implementing the MSP statute – has consistently taken the position
that Medicare payments are conditional and subject to recoupment regardless of
whether another insurer can be expected to render a prompt primary payment. We
start with the agency's notion of what it means for a Medicare payment to be
“secondary.” HHS regulations state that “<[s]econdary', when used to characterize
Medicare benefits, means that those benefits are payable only to the extent that
payment has not been made and cannot reasonably be expected to be made under
other insurance that is primary to Medicare.” 42 C.F.R. § 411.21. In other words,
the regulation rejects Defendants’ interpretation, and embraces our interpretation –
that conditional medical payments are made to beneficiaries whose primary
coverage has not yet paid and is not expected to pay promptly.
In updating its regulations to account for congressional revisions in 1984
through 1987, the agency stated its understanding that “Medicare makes
conditional primary payment only if the other insurer will not pay promptly.”
Medicare as Secondary Payer and Medicare Recovery Against Third Parties, 53
37
Fed. Reg. 22335, 22336 (proposed June 15, 1988). Similarly, in characterizing
Congress' 1987 revisions to the secondary payment provisions regarding coverage
for end-stage renal patients, HHS stated: “Medicare may not make conditional
primary payments on behalf of an ESRD beneficiary who is covered by an
employer group health plan if the plan <can reasonably be expected' to pay.”
Medicare as Secondary Payer and Medicare Recovery Against Third Parties, 54
Fed. Reg. 41716, 41717 (Oct. 11, 1989); see also Medicare Program, Services
Covered Under Automobile Medical, No-Fault, or Liability Insurance; Services
Furnished to ESRD Beneficiaries Who Are Covered Under Employer Group Health
Insurance, 48 Fed. Reg. 14802, 14807 (April 5, 1983) (“Congress clearly intended
that Medicare not pay first when there is a reasonable expectation that the employer
plan will pay as promptly as Medicare. ... Medicare will be primary payer for items
and services not covered by the employer plan and will make conditional primary
payments if the intermediary or carrier determines that the employer plan will not
pay promptly.”). These and other authoritative HHS interpretations evidence that
the agency has always understood that it will endeavor not to make payments
where a payment has already been made by, or can reasonably be expected to be
made by, a primary insurer, but that payment may be made conditionally under §
38
1395y(b)(2)(B) when Medicare does not reasonably expect prompt primary
coverage payment.
We find the agency's interpretation to be in accord with the structure, history
and purpose of the MSP statute, all of which plainly indicate that Congress wanted
Medicare's payments to be secondary and subject to recoupment in all situations
where one of the statutorily enumerated sources of primary coverage could pay
instead. It is readily apparent that the interpretation evidenced in the HHS
regulations, which we also adopt, correctly implements the statutory purpose. The
RSP Defendants do not deny that the clear statutory purpose of the Medicare
Secondary Payer statute was to make Medicare’s obligation secondary to that of
designated primary obligors, with the intention of reducing federal health care
costs. This statutory purpose is universally accepted. It is also clear that HHS’
interpretation would fulfill the congressional purpose, while Defendants’
interpretation would frustrate that purpose.15
Next we turn from the foregoing general purpose of the statute to the specific
language which Defendants argue supports their interpretation: “Any payment
15
If Medicare’s payments were conditional only if Medicare paid when the primary
obligor had already paid or was expected to pay promptly, as Defendants would have us hold,
then the vast majority of Medicare payments for services also covered by primary obligors would
not be conditional. This is so because the only payments Defendants want to label as conditional
are the very payments which § 1395y(b)(2)(A) provides Medicare should not make at all. Thus,
Congress’ cost-saving measures would have borne little or no fruit.
39
under this subchapter with respect to any item or service to which subparagraph
(A) applies shall be conditioned on reimbursement ....” § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(i).
Defendants argue that subparagraph (A) refers to situations where the primary
obligor has already paid or can be expected to pay promptly; thus, Defendants
argue that Medicare payments are conditional only in such situations. However,
subparagraph (A) makes is clear that those are the very situations in which
Medicare should endeavor not to pay. Thus, Defendants’ interpretation would
require us to indulge the illogical premise that Congress intended for Medicare to
pay claims that it knew for a fact had already been paid, or were about to be paid,
by the primary obligor – the very claims which the statute clearly contemplates that
Medicare would endeavor not to pay.
Thus, both the general statutory purpose, and the purpose evident in the very
language upon which Defendants rely, is manifestly inconsistent with Defendants’
interpretation. By contrast, our interpretation, and that adopted by the regulations,
fully implements the general congressional purpose, and is consistent with both the
purpose and the precise language of §§1395y(b)(2)(A) and (B). In our view,
Congress intended that Medicare would always be secondary to the sources of
primary coverage enumerated in the statute.
40
Our interpretation not only fulfills the statutory purpose, but is consistent
with the congressional intent as evidenced in the legislative history. Congress
quite clearly expressed its understanding of how the secondary payment
mechanism was designed to work in 1984, when enacting amendments that
clarified the government’s direct and subrogatory rights against third-party payors
The bill establishes the statutory right of medicare [sic] to recover
directly from a liable third party, if the beneficiary himself does not do
so, and to pay a beneficiary, or on the beneficiary's behalf pending
recovery where such third party is not expected to pay promptly.
H.R. Rep. No. 98-432, at 1803 (1984), reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 697, 1417
(emphasis added). Unmistakably, Congress intended that contingent payments
made because the primary payer was not expected to pay promptly would be
subject to recovery.
The legislative history of the MSP indicates that it originated as a device to
recoup payments from automobile insurance coverage. See Mason v. American
Tobacco Co., 212 F. Supp. 2d 88, 93 (E.D.N.Y. 2002) (quoting original House bill,
which referred only to “automobile insurance”). It is not at all uncommon for
automobile insurance claims to be litigated and thus to take more than 120 days to
be resolved. See, e.g., Waters v. Farmers Texas County Mut. Ins. Co., 9 F.3d 397
(5th Cir. 1993) (denying summary judgment on MSP claim arising out of
41
automobile accident three years earlier and remanding case for trial). The same is
true of workers' compensation claims, which have been included within the scope
of the MSP since its inception. Indeed, Medicare regulations specifically
contemplate recovery where the third-party payment is the result of a judgment or a
litigation settlement, which as a practical matter will almost always take more than
120 days. See 42 C.F.R. §411.37 (providing that Medicare will deduct from its
recovery a pro rata share of attorney fees and other “procurement expenses”
incurred to secure a judgment or settlement). Congress fully contemplated such
delays when it provided for Medicare to pay contingently. See H.R. Rep. No.
1167, 96th Con., 2d Sess., at 389 (1980) (“Medicare will ordinarily pay for the
beneficiary's care in the usual manner and then seek reimbursement from the
private insurance carrier after, and to the extent that, such carrier's liability under
the private policy for the services has been determined.”). If the Defendants'
interpretation were correct, it could well preclude recovery from automobile
liability or workers' compensation insurance – the very sources for which the MSP
was designed – since those sources routinely pay claims more than 120 days after
the provision of medical treatment.
The historical evolution of these statutory provisions also supports the
interpretation adopted by the agency. When Congress expanded the secondary
42
payer provision in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981 so that it would
include those enrolled in federal employee health plans and end-stage renal patients
covered by group health plans, the provision read as follows:
(2)(A) In the case of an individual who is entitled to benefits
under [Medicare] part A or is eligible to enroll under part B ...
payment under this title may not be made, except as provided in
subparagraph (B), with respect to any item or service furnished during
the period described in subparagraph (C) to the extent that payment
with respect to expenses for such item or service (i) has been made
under any group health plan ... or (ii) the Secretary determines will be
made under such a plan as promptly as would otherwise be the case if
payment were made by the Secretary under this title.
"(B) Any payment under this title with respect to any item or
service to an individual described in subparagraph (A) during the
period described in subparagraph (C) shall be conditioned on
reimbursement to the appropriate Trust Fund established by this title
when notice or other information is received that payment for such
item or service has been made under a plan described in subparagraph
(A).
See H. Res. 3982, 97th Cong., 1st Sess., 95 Stat. 357 (1981) (emphasis added).
Thus, in the 1981 version, it is clear that subparagraph (B) incorporates
subparagraph (A) only to indicate that the two subparagraphs apply to the same set
of individuals – those entitled to benefits under Medicare Part A or eligible to
enroll in Medicare Part B – not to the same set of payments.
In the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982 (TERFA), Congress
revised the MSP provision so as to make Medicare the secondary payer for
43
“working aged” recipients under age 70 and their spouses enrolled in employer
group health plans. TERFA added the following conditional payment provision to
42 U.S.C. § 1395y:
(3)(A)(i) Payment under this title may not be made, except as
provided in clause (ii), with respect to any item or service furnished ...
to an individual who is over 64 but under 70 years of age ... who is
employed at the time such item or service is furnished to the extent
that payment with respect to expenses for such item or service has
been made, or can reasonably be expected to be made, under a group
health plan ...
(ii) Any payment under this title with respect to any item or
service ... shall be conditioned on reimbursement to the appropriate
Trust Fund ... when notice or other information is received that
payment for such item or service has been made under a group health
plan.
H. Res. 4961, 97th Cong., 2nd Sess., 96 Stat. 324 (1982) (emphasis added). The
conditional payment provision, in this iteration, patently applied to any item or
service for which a group health plan might pay. It in no way limited the
Government’s right of recovery to those items or services for which a third-party
payment was made or reasonably anticipated before Medicare made its payment.
Congress again amended the MSP in 1986 with the purpose, inter alia, of
prohibiting employer group health plans from offering lesser benefits to senior
citizens based on their Medicare eligibility. At that point, the “secondary payer”
provision read:
44
(4)(A)(i) A large group health plan may not take into account
that an active individual is eligible for or receives benefits under this
title ...
"(ii) Payment may not be made under this title, except as
provided in clause (iii), with respect to any item or service to the
extent that payment has been made, or can reasonably be expected to
be made, with respect to the item or service as required under clause
(i).
"(iii) Any payment under this title with respect to any item or
service to which clause (i) applies shall be conditioned on
reimbursement to the appropriate Trust Fund established by this title.
See H. Res. 5300, 99th Cong., 2nd Sess.,100 Stat. 1974 (1986). In this incarnation,
Medicare's right of reimbursement in subparagraph (A)(iii) (what is now
subparagraph (B)) refers back to and incorporates subparagraph (A)(i), which
concerns the duty of large group health plans to render primary payment. Again,
this version makes clear that the reference to subparagraph (A) in Medicare's right
of reimbursement merely characterizes the broad category of coverage to which
Medicare will be secondary. It cannot possibly be read as limiting Medicare's right
of recovery to payments made after a group health plan has already paid or is
expected to pay.
The current wording of the MSP was adopted as part of the Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1989, H. Res. 3299, 101st Cong., 1st Sess., 103 Stat. 2186
(1989). There is no indication in the legislative history that, between 1986 and
45
1989, Congress changed its mind and decided that Medicare should cease being the
secondary payer for a substantial subset of claims.16 Although the 1989
amendments obscured the clarity of the prior versions of the conditional payment
provision, we cannot glean from this obscurity an unambiguous legislative purpose
to narrow the MSP in the way that Defendants urge.
Our view is further sharpened by Congress' addition of the modifier
“promptly” in 1984. Defendants have offered no logical explanation, and we can
discern none, for why Congress would have intended to divest Medicare of the
right to pursue recovery if payment from another insurer was probable, yet –
because of a coverage dispute – unlikely to occur within the 120-day window of
16
To the extent that there is any record of legislative intent at all, it indicates that Congress
was dissatisfied that Medicare was not recouping as much from primary payers as it could; there
is not the slightest indication of congressional sentiment that Medicare was recovering too much.
See 136 Cong. Rec. S13419-01 (daily ed. Sept. 19, 1990) (statement of Sen. Roth)
(“Unfortunately, performance under the MSP Program has not measured up. Failure to follow
the MSP law is costing the taxpayer billions of dollars. ... Studies by the General Accounting
Office and the inspector general of the Department of Health and Human Services have
repeatedly identified the MSP program as gushing with leaks of Federal tax dollars.”); 135 Cong.
Rec. S11848-01 (daily ed. Sept. 26, 1989) (statement of Sen. Durenberger) (discussing, in
context of FY 1990 appropriations bill for health agencies, inadequacy of expenditures by
Medicare intermediaries on MSP recoupment activity). In the 1989 OBRA legislation containing
the confusing passage which is the subject of this dispute, Congress simultaneously enacted
measures augmenting Medicare's ability to identify the existence of primary coverage, by giving
HHS access to data from the IRS and the Social Security Administration. In so doing, Congress
indicated in its statement of intent that “[u]nder current law, HHS is unable to identify all
Medicare secondary payer situations, principally because HHS is unable to identify cases in
which Medicare beneficiaries have primary coverage through a spouse's plan.” H.R. Rep. 101-
247, at 1021, reprinted in 1989 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1906, 2492 (1989). Nothing in the statement of
intent indicates a desire to restrict Medicare's ability to recover conditional payments, or a
realization that the 1989 amendments would be so construed.
46
“promptness.”17 Rather, it is apparent that the concern for “promptness” is
motivated by a desire to prevent either the health care provider or the patient from
going without compensation for a prolonged period while an insurance dispute is
being resolved. Indeed, that is exactly how Congress – in enacting an earlier
iteration of the MSP – explained its insertion of the term “promptly” in determining
when Medicare may pay conditionally. See H.R.Rep. No. 208, 97th Cong., 1st
Sess. 955, 956 (1981), reprinted in 1981 U.S.C.C.A.N. 396, 1318 (“The payment
arrangements contemplated by the conferees are intended to minimize patient
anxiety about the source of payment and to avoid delays in reimbursement for
expenses incurred in connection with the use of [medical] equipment, supplies or
services.”); see also Nat'l Ass'n of Patients on Hemodialysis & Transplantation,
Inc. v. Heckler, 588 F.Supp. 1108, 1128 (D.D.C. 1984) (explaining that Congress'
decision to allow Medicare to pay conditionally when group health plan was not
expected to render prompt payment “was a response to the conferees' concern about
patient anxiety regarding the source of promptness of payment and delays in
reimbursement”); Brown, 252 F. Supp. 2d at 319 (“The sole purpose of the phrase
17
Suppose, for instance, that a Medicare patient was injured as the result of a multi-party
automobile accident in which each motorist carried private insurance, yet each insurer refused to
pay until liability could be sorted out among the participants. Even though it was certain that
some insurer would ultimately pay – the only question being which – Defendants' interpretation
would deprive Medicare of the ability to lay claim to the insurance proceeds if Medicare made a
conditional payment on the basis that private payment was not “promptly” forthcoming.
47
<reasonably expected to be made promptly' in subparagraph A is to ensure that
needed Medicare payments are not delayed to the detriment of a Medicare
beneficiary”). It is for that reason that, even where Medicare reasonably anticipates
that another insurer will pay eventually, it may pay conditionally if the dispute over
primary coverage is likely to last more than 120 days.
Although the agency interpretation finds overwhelming support in the
congressional purpose and legislative history, the case law has been less uniform.
Several courts have accepted Defendants' view that Medicare's payment is
conditional and subject to recoupment only in the circumstances described in one
portion of subparagraph (A): the rightful primary insurer has paid, or is expected to
do so promptly. See In re Dow Corning Corp, 250 B.R. 298, 348 (Bankr. E.D.
Mich. 2000); In re Diet Drugs, No. MDL 1203, Civ.A. 99-20593, 2001 WL 283163
at * 11 n.20 (E.D. Pa. March 21, 2001); In re Orthopedic Bone Screw Prod.
Liability Litig., 202 F.R.D. 154, 167-68 (E.D. Pa. 2001).18
18
In Thompson v. Goetzmann, 315 F.3d 457 (5th Cir. 2002), the Fifth Circuit originally
accepted the premise that the Government's right of recovery under the MSP was limited to
situations in which another primary coverage source had paid or was expected to pay promptly.
See id. at 468. Upon the Government's petition for rehearing en banc, however, the panel
withdrew its opinion and issued an amended opinion which, while reaching the same ultimate
result, no longer relied upon the limited construction of subparagraph (A) that Defendants
advance here. See Thompson v. Goetzmann, 337 F.3d 489 (5th Cir. 2003) (amending initial
Goetzmann decision). In a preface to the amended opinion, the court stated that, while it
remained convinced that the statute's wording supported its original conclusion that the
Government may not collect from a primary plan unless such plan is expected to pay promptly, it
48
However, in Cochran v. HCFA, 291 F.3d 775 (11th Cir. 2002), our dicta
read the statute in accordance with the Government's more expansive view. See id.
at 777 (“In order to accommodate its beneficiaries ... Medicare does make
conditional payments for covered services, even when another source may be
obligated to pay, if that other source is not expected to pay promptly.”). That is the
way most other courts have interpreted it. See Rybricki v. Hartley, 792 F.2d 260,
262 (1st Cir. 1986) (Breyer, J.) (“Taken literally, [the MSP] simply says (in respect
to a Medicare subscriber with a private source of insurance), <if we can be
reasonably certain that the insurance company will pay, Medicare won't pay; if we
cannot be certain, Medicare will pay, but then, if the company pays you, you must
reimburse Medicare.'”) (parenthetical in original); accord Evanston Hosp. v.
Hauck, 1 F.3d 540, 544 (7th Cir. 1993) (citing Rybricki, “[t]he Medicare law ...
forbids payment where a third party can reasonably be expected to make prompt
payment,” and conversely, Medicare is allowed to pay conditionally where
contested tort litigation cannot be expected to yield prompt payment); Smith v.
recognized that its interpretation risked producing an “absurd result ... [that] precludes the right
to reimbursement from any disputed or potentially disputed funds,” since a disputed fund could
never be expected to pay promptly. See id. at 492. We agree with the most recent Fifth Circuit
opinion that the interpretation urged by Defendants, and accepted by the courts cited above,
produces an absurd result. Moreover, we point out in the text above that this result is not
indicated by the plain language of the statute. Rather, our construction is a much more plausible
construction of the plain language of the statute.
49
Farmers Ins. Exchange, 9 P.2d 335, 338-39 (Colo. 2000) (en banc); Brown, 252 F.
Supp. 2d at 317; Oregon Ass'n of Hospitals v. Bowen, 708 F. Supp. 1135, 1140-41
(D. Ore. 1989); Vogt v. Wausau Hosp., Inc., No. 93-2707, 1994 WL 246552 at * 2
(Wis. Ct. App. 1994); see also Thomas J. Nyzio, Medicare Recovery in Liability
Cases, S.C. LAWYER , May/June 1996, at 20, 21-22 (“Under the statute, payment
may not be made with respect to any item or service to the extent that payment has
been made, or prompt payment... can reasonably be expected to be made, under a
liability or no fault insurance policy or plan. However, payments can be made in
the event that a provider will not receive prompt payment from a third party payer
or from the proceeds of a liability settlement or judgment. These payments,
however, are conditioned on reimbursement to Medicare in the event that payment
for the same services is received from a liability or no fault insurer.”) (citations
omitted); Susan G. Haines & Tomas D. Begley, Jr., Workers' Compensation
Medicare Set-Aside Trusts, ABA Brief/Practice Tips (Fall 2001) (“Medicare may
make a conditional payment for services if Medicare does not reasonably expect
the third-party insurer to make its primary payment promptly.”).
In summary, we conclude that the agency’s interpretation is eminently
reasonable. Indeed, the agency’s interpretation follows the most plausible
interpretation of the statutory language, and is the only construction of the
50
language which is consistent with the clear statutory purpose. Both the legislative
history and the uninterrupted history of revisions to the MSP statute support this
interpretation. We have no doubt that payments made by Medicare on behalf of
breast-implant patients were conditioned upon reimbursement if the patients later
recovered from one of the primary sources enumerated in 42 U.S.C. §
1395y(b)(2)(A).
2) Do the RSP Defendants qualify as “self-insured,” so that their
payments to the class members were made “under a primary
plan” and thus subject to a recoupment action under the MSP
statute?
The Government contends that the RSP Defendants are liable under the MSP
statute on the basis that they operated under a “self-insured plan.” 19 The parties
dispute whether the Government's Complaint alleged the existence of a self-insured
plan with sufficient detail. In its opinion, 174 F. Supp. 2d at 1254-55, the district
court expressed its relevant holdings in several articulations, which we number for
ready reference:
(1) that a “<self-insured plan’ connotes some type of formal arrangement ...”
(2) “ ... by which funds are set aside and accessed to cover future liabilities;”
19
The Government concedes that the RSP settlement mechanism, which antedated the
Government's Medicare payments, is not a “self-insured plan” as that term is understood in 42
U.S.C. § 1395y(b)(2)(A)(iii). Rather, the Government's theory is that the individual companies
were each operating under a plan of self-insurance in which they arranged to purchase third-party
liability coverage and self-insure up to the amount of their policies' deductibles.
51
(3) “[P]ayments [by a tortfeasor], without more, [do not] constitute a <plan' of
self-insurance;”
(4) “The mere absence of insurance purchased from a carrier does not
necessarily constitute a <plan' of self-insurance” (quoting 54 Fed. Reg. 41727 (Oct.
11, 1989); and
(5) “Payments of deductibles ... do not constitute a <plan' of self-insurance.”
We agree with the district court as to the first, third and fourth holdings, but not as
to the second and fifth.
There is remarkably little legal authority (none binding in our Circuit)
categorically defining what it means to operate a “self-insurance plan.” Black's
Law Dictionary defines “self-insurance” as: “The practice of setting aside a fund to
meet losses instead of insuring against such through insurance. A common practice
of businesses is to self-insure up to a certain amount, and then to cover any excess
with insurance.” BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY 1220 (5th ed. 1979). The first
sentence of the dictionary definition suggests that an advance set-aside of funds
would usually be a part of a self-insurance plan.20 See Jackson v. Donahue, 457
20
However, the second sentence is not inconsistent with the commonly understood
practice of self-insuring up to a certain amount, and then covering any excess with insurance,
often with no set-aside of funds.
A more recent edition of Black's defines “self-insurance” as simply: “A plan under which
a business sets aside money to cover any loss.” The same edition defines “self-insured retention”
as: “The amount of an otherwise-covered loss that is not covered by an insurance policy and that
52
S.E.2d 524, 528 (W.Va. 1995) (“The phrase <self-insurance' means, generally, the
assumption of one's own risk and, typically, involves the setting aside of a special
fund to meet losses and pay valid claims(.)”); COUCH ON INSURANCE 3D § 10:1
(stating that, while “[t]he term <self-insurance' has no precise legal meaning,” it
generally implies “the same sort of underwriting procedures that insurance
companies employ,” such as estimating likely losses and setting aside reserves).
Other authorities, however, suggest a more elastic definition. See In re
Amatex Corp., 107 B.R. 856, 872 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1989) (“Self insurance is best
compared to the familiar <deductible' amount referenced in most insurance policies.
It is common knowledge to anyone who has ever filed an insurance claim subject to
same that the deductible must be exhausted before the liability of the insurer
begins.”); 22 APPLEMAN ON INS. 2d § 140.5 (Eric Mills Holmes, ed., 2003) at 407
n.67 (“True self-insurance occurs when an entity retains all risks against which it
might otherwise insure. This type of self-insurance is popular among governmental
entities as a result of statutory immunity or costs. Another type of self-insurance
occurs when an entity purchases liability insurance for a certain limit and any
[usually] must be paid before the insurer will pay benefits.” BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY 807,
1365 (7th ed. 1999). This definition, like its predecessor, suggests that self-insurance can be
understood both as the practice of setting aside a reserve to pay claims, and the practice of paying
a deductible before third-party coverage becomes effective.
53
amount of exposure thereof is retained by the entity.”); see also Sears, Roebuck &
Co. v. IRS, 972 F.2d 858, 861 (7th Cir. 1992) (stating, in context of dispute over
tax treatment of insurance transaction between related corporate entities, that
“<[s]elf- insurance' is just a name for the lack of insurance – for bearing risks
oneself.”); Beech Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 797 F.2d 920, 922 (10th Cir.
1986) (stating, in tax case similar to Seventh Circuit’s Sears, Roebuck, that “[s]elf-
insurance is not the equivalent of insurance. If one having an insurable risk retains
the risk of his own loss, there is no risk transfer, and the arrangement is self-
insurance.”); In re North American Royalties, Inc., 276 B.R. 860, 864 (Bankr. E.D.
Tenn. 2002) (holding, in construing contract of insurance, that “[t]he term <self-
insured' means that the plan sponsor... does not have insurance; it pays the
expenses from its income.”). These and other authorities strongly indicate that
“self-insurance” is an unscientific and imprecise term, the interpretation of which
varies with the context.
Our understanding of what it means to operate under a “self-insured plan” is
informed by HHS regulations, to which – because of Congress' express delegation
and the agency's recognized expertise in the area – we are duty-bound to defer if
they are reasonable. For purposes of the MSP statute, HHS regulations define a
“plan” of insurance as including “any arrangement, oral or written, by one or more
54
entities, to ... assume legal liability for injury or illness.” 42 C.F.R. § 411.21.
Inclusion of the term “oral” suggests an intent to reach informal, ad hoc
arrangements in addition to traditional insurance policies; obviously, no standard
insurance company issues coverage verbally. In addition, the regulations provide
the following definition of a “self-insured” plan: a “[s]elf-insured plan means a
plan under which an individual, or a private or governmental entity, carries its own
risk instead of taking out insurance with a carrier.” 42 C.F.R. § 411.50(b).
HHS has purposefully adopted a broad definition of what it means to be self-
insured. For instance, the agency does not limit its definition to plans that are
certified to operate as self-insurers by state insurance regulators. In enacting its
inclusive definition, the agency explained that to do otherwise would enable a
responsible party to elude MSP liability by paying a claim out of pocket instead of
submitting the claim to its liability insurer – a mechanism not unlike the RSP
compensation process here. See Medicare as Secondary Payer and Medicare
Recovery Against Third Parties, 53 Fed. Reg. 22335, 22339-40 (proposed June 15,
1988). Of particular significance here, HHS has expressly defined a “liability
insurance payment” for purposes of the MSP statute to include: “A payment to
cover a deductible required by a liability insurance policy, by any individual or
55
other entity that carries liability insurance or is covered by a self-insured plan.” 42
C.F.R. § 411.50(b).
The agency's view is especially persuasive in the absence of a universally
accepted and authoritative definition of “self-insured plan” which Congress might
have contemplated in drafting the statute. Thus, the district court's first articulation
– that a self-insured plan connotes some type of ex ante arrangement to assume
legal liability for medical expenses – is consistent with the regulation, to which we
agree deference is due.21 For the same reason, we agree that the district court's
third articulation – that a tortfeasor's mere payment, without more, would not
constitute a plan of self-insurance – is consistent with the regulations, as is its
fourth – that the mere absence of insurance does not necessarily constitute a plan of
self-insurance. See Medicare as Secondary Payer and Medicare Recovery Against
Third Parties, 54 Fed. Reg. 41716, 41727 (Oct. 11, 1989) (“We note that the mere
absence of insurance purchased from a carrier does not necessarily constitute a
21
To the extent that the district court meant by its term “formal” arrangement something
more than that the arrangement must be ex ante and must be an arrangement, albeit oral, to
assume legal liability or pay for medical expenses, the district court would have required more
than the regulations; we see no warrant for requiring more.
56
<plan' of self-insurance.”). In other words, without a plan or prearrangement, there
can be no self-insured plan.22
However, it is apparent from the foregoing quotations from the regulations
that the district court's second and fifth holdings are inconsistent with the
regulations. The district court's fifth holding is squarely inconsistent with the
regulation's affirmative provision that a “liability insurance payment” includes “an
out-of-pocket payment, including a payment to cover a deductible required by a
liability insurance policy, by any entity that carries liability insurance or is covered
by a self-insured plan.” 42 C.F.R. § 411.50(b). There is nothing in the plain
meaning of the statute which might preclude the agency's interpretation to include
within the self-insured concept the commonly occurring circumstance of an
individual or entity planning ahead of time to assume responsibility and liability for
certain risks up to a designated amount, and to procure an insurance policy to cover
22
We see no tension between our position and that in the cases cited by Defendants,
United States v. Philip Morris, Inc., 116 F. Supp. 2d 131 (D.D.C. 2000), and Mason v. American
Tobacco Co., 212 F. Supp.2d 88 (E.D.N.Y. 2002). In each case, the district court dismissed MSP
claims seeking Medicare reimbursement from tobacco companies accused of tortiously injuring
their customers. In Philip Morris, the Government's claim was found flawed because it merely
made the conclusory allegation that the defendants were “responsible” for payment under the
MSP without advancing a basis – and, specifically, without alleging the existence of a coverage
plan. Id. at 146. In Mason, the plaintiffs' claim rested solely on the theory that a large
corporation without insurance that was accused of inflicting a tortious injury was, by definition,
operating a self-insured plan. There was no suggestion that the tortfeasor had purchased
supplemental insurance and made arrangements to cover the deductible out of its own funds. See
id. at 92. We agree with these courts to the extent that they hold that the MSP requires the
existence of some sort of plan as opposed to a mere post hoc assumption of liability.
57
the excess. As we have seen, the relevant statutory term “self-insured plan” has no
precise legal meaning, seems to be interpreted by some authorities more rigidly, but
is interpreted by other authorities to include precisely such a combination of self-
insurance up to a certain amount with the excess to be covered by an insurance
policy. Consistent with the latter authorities, common experience teaches us that
planning such a combination of deductibles and insurance policies is often referred
to as self-insurance. Because the statute has no unambiguous meaning in this
regard, deference is due to the regulation, and the district court's contrary holding
cannot stand.
We also disagree with the district court's second holding, that self-insurance
requires a set-aside of funds to cover the risks assumed. Even the sparse legal
authority which suggests that there usually will be a reserve for losses, also
indicates that “self insurance” has no precise legal meaning. Other authorities
suggest there is no absolute need for a set-aside of funds. We see no basis in the
statute or in any well-established meaning of the statutory term “self-insured plan”
to conclude that the term unambiguously requires a set-aside of funds. Thus, we
look to the regulations. We conclude that an absolute requirement that funds be set
aside is plainly inconsistent with the thrust of the regulations: that a self-insurance
plan encompasses any arrangement, even an oral one, to assume such risks, 42
58
C.F.R. § 411.21; and that it encompasses the combination of deductibles and
insurance policies discussed above, which in common experience often do not
include a set-aside of funds. 42 C.F.R. § 411.50(b). See also 42 C.F.R. §
411.50(b) (defining “self-insured plan” as a plan to carry one's “own risk instead of
taking out insurance,” a definition requiring only a “plan” and no other
formalities).23 There being no unambiguous requirement in the statutory term “self-
insured plan” that a set-aside of funds is necessary, and the same being plainly
inconsistent with the thrust of the regulations, we vacate the district court's holding
requiring a set-aside as a prerequisite for a “self-insured plan.”
We recognize that the Fifth Circuit in Thompson v. Goetzmann, 315 F.3d
457 (5th Cir. 2002); opinion withdrawn and reissued as amended on other
grounds, 337 F.3d 489 (5th Cir. 2003), extensively discussed the meaning of a self-
insured plan in this statute, and concluded that “a <primary plan' of <self-insurance'
requires an entity's ex ante adoption, for itself, of an arrangement for (1) a source of
23
The Defendants' suggestion that the word “instead” means that “self-insurance” can
exist only in an arrangement including no insurance is wholly without merit. Not only would that
be a grudging construction of the language, it would be inconsistent with the thrust of 42 C.F.R.
§ 411.50(b), which contemplates a combination of insurance policies and deductibles, and with
the clear weight of authority that an entity can self-insure for a designated amount and purchase
coverage for liability exceeding the designated amount. See, e.g., BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY
1220 (5th ed. 1979) (explaining, in defining self-insurance, that “[a] common practice of
businesses is to self-insure up to a certain amount, and then to cover any excess with
insurance.”).
59
funds, and (2) procedures for distributing these funds when claims are made against
the entity.” Id. at 463.
We note first that we fully agree with the Fifth Circuit that the term “plan” in
the statutory term “self-insured plan” clearly contemplates an ex ante arrangement.
This is clear in both the statute and the regulation. It is probable that this is the
extent of the holding in Goetzmann, and that the balance of the foregoing quotation
from the Fifth Circuit case is dicta. Apparently the only issue in Goetzmann was
whether a single, discreet, settlement by a tortfeasor with a single plaintiff whereby
the tortfeasor paid the plaintiff with its own funds, without more, constituted a
“self-insured plan.” 24 We agree with this holding because that circumstance would
not entail a “plan” or ex ante arrangement. It is probable therefore that what the
Fifth Circuit said about setting aside funds and procedures is dicta.
24
The following quotations from Goetzmann indicate that these were the facts, thus
defining the holding:
• “[W]e ... also agree with the other district courts that have concluded that an
alleged tortfeasor who settles with a plaintiff is not, ipso facto, a ‘self-insurer’
under the MSP statute.” Id. at 462.
• “[I]t is wrong for the government to contend that an entity’s negotiating of a
single settlement with an individual is sufficient, in and of itself, for such entity to
be deemed as having a ‘self-insurance plan.’” Id. at 463 (emphasis in original).
• “[N]owhere does the MSP statute mention or even suggest that an alleged
tortfeasor who settles a single claim with a single plaintiff falls within the ambit
of the statute’s category of a ‘self-insurance’ plan.” Id. at 464.
• “But [the defendant] has only negotiated a discreet settlement with a single
plaintiff and paid that plaintiff accordingly. It is simply a non sequitur for the
government to infer from ‘payment responsibility’ in tort a preexisting primary
plan of self-insurance.” Id. at 465 (emphasis in original).
60
We respectfully disagree with the Goetzmann dicta to the effect that there
cannot be a self-insured plan absent a setting aside of the funds and formal
procedures. We agree with Goetzmann that the statutory term “self-insured plan”
should be read in the context of a “primary plan.” However, especially because the
statutory definition of a primary plan expressly includes self-insured plans, we see
nothing in that context requiring either a set-aside of funds or formal procedures.
See 42 U.S.C. § 1395y(a)(2)A) (“In this subsection, the term ‘primary plan’ means
... a workman’s compensation law or plan, an automobile or liability insurance
policy or plan (including a self-insured plan) or no-fault insurance”) (parenthetical
in original). We gather from the Fifth Circuit opinion that it derived its concept of
the scope and limit of the term “self-insured” from the “ordinary meaning” of that
term, which it derived in turn from several legal authorities, principally the Couch
treatise. However, as noted above, even the legal authority relied upon by
Goetzmann acknowledged that there was no precise legal meaning, and while some
authorities suggest that a set-aside of funds and formal procedures often
accompany self-insured plans, other authorities, as noted above, suggest otherwise.
Goetzmann does not alter our conclusion that there is no precise legal meaning for
the statutory term “self-insured plan” that is well-established enough to rise to the
61
level of rendering a statutory term unambiguous.25 Accordingly, it is appropriate to
look to the regulations to which we owe deference.26
Applying the foregoing principles to the instant complaint, it is here alleged
that “the RSP defendants were self-insured against the risk of products liability
claims by breast implant recipients, and paid such claims from self-insured funds or
25
The Goetzmann court also rejected the Government’s argument that the statute was
ambiguous. Again, however, it appears likely that the court was focusing on the precise facts of
the case and its narrow holding – that a discreet settlement by a single tortfeasor out of its own
funds would not by itself (that is, without any prearrangement or plan) constitute a self-insured
plan. This seems likely because, as discussed above, there is no precise legal meaning of the
statutory term sufficiently well-established to rise to the level of rendering it unambiguous with
respect to the Goetzmann dicta to the effect that a set-aside of funds and formal procedures are
required. In other words, the statute may well be unambiguous with respect to the requirement of
a plan or ex ante arrangement, but it is not with respect to the Goetzmann dicta. To the extent the
Fifth Circuit intended to hold otherwise, we respectfully disagree.
26
We note that the Goetzmann court relied heavily on a questionable assumption
regarding the interaction of the MSP statute and the aforementioned Medical Care Recovery Act,
42 U.S.C. § 2651. Because the express purpose of the MCRA is to impose liability upon
tortfeasors to repay the Government for the reasonable value of health care furnished to a
tortiously injured party, the Goetzmann court found that reading tortfeasor liability into the MSP
“would, in effect, eliminate the need for the MCRA, or at least condemn some of Congress'
language in the MCRA to the scrap heap of surplusage.” Id. at 465. However, the Goetzmann
reasoning does not resolve this perceived conflict, as it would itself render superfluous that
portion of the MSP statute imposing liability on an entity “required or responsible” to pay under
a “primary plan” of self-insurance – i.e., a self-insured tortfeasor. The Goetzmann view would
also render superfluous a substantial portion of the Government’s subrogatory right conferred by
the MSP statute, because establishing the liability of the patient’s insurer to Medicare necessarily
may require bringing a subrogation action against the tortfeasor. Moreover, Goetzmann’s
perception of an overlap between the coverage of the MCRA and the MSP may be in error. See
United States v. Philip Morris, Inc., 116 F. Supp. 2d 131, 140-44 (D.D.C. 2000) (holding, after
extensive analysis of statute’s legislative history, that MCRA applies exclusively to federal
health care expenditures other than Medicare, such as coverage for military personnel and their
dependents); accord In re Diet Drugs, Nos. MDL 1203, CIV.A, 99-20593, 2001 WL 283163
(E.D. Pa. March 21, 2001) at *7-*8.
62
retained earnings.” The allegation that the Defendants self-insured “against the
risk ... of claims” indicates that the plan or arrangement existed before the claims
did, thus satisfying the requirement of an ex ante arrangement to assume legal
liability. Moreover, there are suggestions in the record that the plan or arrangement
may have included a combination of self-insurance with respect to certain amounts
and the purchase of insurance policies as to other amounts, precisely the kind of
combination of deductibles and insurance policies deemed by the regulations to
constitute a self-insured plan. We readily conclude that, with respect to the self-
insured plan issue, the allegations are sufficient to survive a challenge under Rule
12(b)(6).27
27
We discern no merit in the argument pressed by the Steering Committee intervenors that
the RSP Defendants' payments are excepted from the reach of the MSP statute because they are
not directly pegged to the amount of health care expenses incurred by the class members. Courts
have uniformly concluded that a settlement agreement that includes a non-itemized element of
compensation for a plaintiff's medical care is “for” medical expenses, even if the exact share or
amount is indeterminate. See Share Health Plan of Illinois, Inc. v. Alderson, 674 N.E.2d 69, 72
(Ill. App. Ct. 1996) (holding that HHS can recover Medicare payments from beneficiary's lump-
sum settlement of tort claim “regardless of whether and how amounts are designated”); see also
Wilson v. Washington, 10 P.3d 1061, 1067 (Wash. 2000) (en banc) (finding that state Medicaid
lien attached to entire amount of patient's medical malpractice settlement, not just amount
earmarked for medical expenses); accord Calvanese v. Calvanese, 710 N.E.2d 1079, 1082 (N.Y.
1999). That interpretation is consistent with HHS' own understanding. See Medicare Program;
“Without Fault” and Waiver of Recovery from an Individual as it Applies to Medicare
Overpayment Liability, 63 Fed. Reg. 14506, 14514 (proposed March 25, 1998) (“Since liability
payments are usually based on the injured or deceased person's medical expenses, liability
payments are considered to have been made <with respect to' medical services related to the
injury even when the settlement does not expressly include an amount for medical services.”).
63
3) Can the RSP Defendants be forced to repay Medicare, when it is
undisputed that they had no actual knowledge of Medicare's
specific payments on behalf of particular beneficiaries?28
The Government argues that the district court erred in dismissing the
Government’s subrogation claim pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6). As both parties and
the district court understood, the Government clearly has subrogation rights to
obtain reimbursement of its conditional payments. Section 1395y(b)(2)(B)(iii)
provides:
(iii) Subrogation rights
The United States shall be subrogated (to the extent of payment
made under this subchapter for an item or service) to any right under
this subsection of an individual or any other entity to payment with
respect to such item or service under a primary plan.
In granting the Rule 12(b)(6) dismissal, the district court rejected the Government’s
subrogation claim, apparently either requiring proof that the RSP Defendants
actually knew they were paying tort claimants whose medical expenses had already
28
At the outset, we agree with the district court that dismissal was not warranted on the
grounds that the Government failed to plead that it attempted to recoup its duplicate payments
from the Medicare beneficiaries in the plaintiff class before seeking recoupment from the
Defendants; it was adequately pled. We decline to address and express no opinion on the merits
of Defendants' argument that the Government is obligated to seek reimbursement first against
each member of the plaintiff class before pursuing reimbursement from the RSP Defendants,
because the issue is not necessary to our holding, and because the issue was inadequately
addressed by the district court and inadequately briefed on appeal. The Defendants are free to
assert this argument on remand, and the district court should address it anew after appropriate
development of the record and briefing with respect to the agency's policies and practices, and
with respect to the relevant statutes, regulations, and other authorities.
64
been paid by Medicare, or applying an unrealistically strict perception of
constructive knowledge. At one point, the district court said that the Government
had affirmatively pled facts defeating its claim, in that its complaint acknowledged
that the RSP Defendants “did not ascertain” whether any of the tort claimants to be
paid had actually received Medicare benefits. We reject this ground without need
for further discussion; in effect, the district court required actual knowledge, and
we hold that constructive knowledge is sufficient. Our discussion henceforth will
focus on constructive knowledge.
We presume that Congress legislates against the backdrop of established
principles of state and federal common law, and that when it wishes to deviate from
deeply rooted principles, it will say so. See United States v. Texas, 507 U.S. 529,
534, 113 S.Ct. 1631, 1634-35 (1993) (“Statutes which invade the common law ...
are to be read with a presumption favoring the retention of long-established and
familiar principles, except when a statutory purpose to the contrary is evident. In
such cases, Congress does not write upon a clean slate. In order to abrogate a
common-law principle, the statute must speak directly to the question addressed by
the common law.”) (internal quotes and citations omitted). It is well established at
common law that a tortfeasor that pays a settlement to a claimant with knowledge –
actual or constructive – that another entity has a subrogation claim against the
65
proceeds is not insulated from suit by the subrogee by virtue of the incorrect
payment. See Dadeland Dodge, Inc. v. American Vehicle Ins. Co., 698 So.2d 929,
931 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1997) (holding that tortfeasor that has constructive
knowledge of insurer's perfected right of subrogation cannot rely on insured's
release to preclude insurer's claim for reimbursement); accord State Farm Fire &
Cas. Co. v. Pacific Rent-All, Inc., 978 P.2d 753, 770 (Hawaii 1999); Aetna Cas. &
Surety Co. v. Norwalk Foods, Inc., 480 N.Y.S.2d 851, 852 (N.Y. Civ. Ct. 1984);
see also Poole Truck Line, Inc. v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 294 S.E.2d 570,
571-72 (Ga. Ct. App. 1982) (because state law makes no-fault automobile coverage
mandatory, tortfeasor can be charged with constructive knowledge that motorist
carried insurance and that motorist’s insurer had a statutory right of subrogation,
thus precluding tortfeasor from invoking its settlement with injured motorist to bar
insurer’s subrogation claim).
In a case involving the Government’s subrogation rights under this same
statutory provision, the D.C. Circuit has held that a party, standing in the shoes
filled by the RSP Defendants in this case, can avoid reimbursing Medicare under
the instant statutory provisions only if its payment to the wrong party was made
without knowledge (either actual or constructive). HIAA, 23 F.3d at 418 (“If a
third party payor wants to avoid having to make two payments for the same service,
66
it should refrain from paying someone whom it knows or should know that HCFA
already has paid.”). Further defining the content of constructive knowledge in the
instant context, the D.C. Circuit cited with approval the agency’s interpretation that
constructive knowledge is satisfied when the third-party payor has in its possession
direct information that Medicare has made a conditional payment, or has in its
possession information necessary to draw the conclusion that Medicare has made
such a payment.29 The D.C. Circuit interpreted the latter reference to mean that
third-party payors would be expected to draw certain inferences based on published
Medicare procedures. Id.
We believe that the constructive knowledge standard is fully consistent with
the intent of the MSP statute, and indeed necessary if the statute is to fulfill its
purpose. The overriding purpose of the MSP statute was to allocate primary
responsibility for the payment of claims to private insurance, where available.
29
The HIAA definition of constructive knowledge is essentially identical to that proffered
by Defendants from the affidavit of HHS administrator Paul J. Olenick, which the Government
submitted in HIAA as its statement of when HHS will consider an insurer to have the requisite
knowledge to trigger liability under 42 C.F.R. § 411.24(i)(2). See Def. Ex. B (“A third party
payer <learns' of a Medicare conditional primary payment when it receives information which
makes it aware, or should make it aware, that Medicare has made a conditional primary payment.
This would be the case when the third party payer receives direct information that Medicare has
made a conditional payment or when it receives the information necessary to draw the conclusion
that Medicare has made a primary payment.”) (emphasis in original).
67
Between two sources of coverage, the insurer that pays second is in the
superior position to prevent an erroneous or misdirected payment. The first payer
can avoid such an outcome only by refusing to pay at all. Congress foreclosed that
option in 42 U.S.C. §§ 1395y(b)(2)(A) and (b)(2)(B) by providing for Medicare to
pay first where payment from the primary insurer was not reasonably forthcoming.
When Medicare pays, therefore, it is paying “in the dark” – it does not know, and
cannot know, whether someone else will pay.30 By contrast, when the primary
insurer later pays, Medicare's prior payment will normally be a matter of
ascertainable fact.
In light of the well-established common law of subrogation, consistent with
the purposes of the MSP statute, and following the D.C. Circuit, we hold that either
knowledge or constructive knowledge is sufficient. Thus, if the RSP Defendants
30
HHS and Congress have repeatedly flagged Medicare's inability to ascertain the
existence of alternative sources of coverage as a weakness in the secondary payer program. See,
e.g., Dept. of Health and Human Serv., Office of the Inspector Gen. (“HHS IG”), Survey of
Medicare Payments to Workers' Compensation Recipients in the State of Florida, No. A-04-01-
07003 (January 2003) at 6 (“Unfortunately, the system as currently structured does not provide a
standard procedure that ensures that Medicare is informed of all [workers' compensation]
settlements”); HHS IG, Medicare Prepayment Review: MSP Procedures at Carriers, No. OEI-07-
89-01683 (August 1991) at 2 (citing estimate that, based on random sampling of processed by
private contractors, “Medicare lost in excess of $600 million in FY 1988 due to unidentified
primary payment sources”). Overlapping coverage is particularly difficult to detect where, as
here, the Medicare payment and the insurance payment go to different recipients (Medicare's to
the doctor or hospital, and the alleged tortfeasors' directly to the patient). In light of this well-
recognized weakness, it is therefore reasonable for the agency to interpret the MSP, and
Congress' subsequent revisions of it, as imposing the risk of loss on the alternative payer for
failing to determine whether Medicare has already paid for the same service.
68
had either knowledge or constructive knowledge that some of the recipients of the
funds they were paying out had received breast implant-related medical treatment
for which Medicare already paid, then the RSP Defendants would be liable to
reimburse the Government pursuant to § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(iii).
We need not at this early stage of the litigation attempt to define the precise
scope of the constructive knowledge that will trigger liability, because we conclude
that the Government’s allegations in that regard survive Rule 12(b)(6).31 The
Government has alleged that the RSP Defendants structured the settlement in a
manner so as to avoid learning any identifying information about the class
members, including their Medicare eligibility. A party that willfully blinds itself to
a fact, as the Complaint here alleges occurred, can be charged with constructive
knowledge of that fact.32 See Williams v. Obstfeld, 314 F.3d 1270, 1278 (11th Cir.
31
We note that the Federal Rules provide that the defendants' knowledge is an element
that “may be averred generally,” thus eschewing the particularity standard that applies to other
mental-state elements (fraud, mistake) under Rule 9. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 9(b).
32
We need not at this stage decide the significance of the facts that might be developed in
this regard. However, it is clear that a party should not be able to avoid constructive knowledge
and shield itself from statutory liability by consciously avoiding information which would
constitute constructive knowledge and result in liability. In addition to facts that might be
developed in this regard on remand, the district court might also address the relevance and
significance of knowledge in fact obtained during the claims process, and whether such
knowledge should be imputed to the RSP Defendants or whether they should be deemed to have
consciously avoided same. At this early stage, and without development of the relevant facts,
analysis by the district court, or adequate briefing from the parties, we decline to address this
issue further and express no opinion as to its resolution.
In this regard, the parties have discussed whether an entity standing in the shoes of the
69
2002) (stating in context of civil RICO action that “[u]nder the doctrine of willful
blindness or deliberate ignorance, which is used more often in the criminal context
than in civil cases, knowledge can be imputed to a party who knows of a high
probability of illegal conduct and purposely contrives to avoid learning of it.”);
Commodity Futures Trading Commission v. Sidoti, 178 F.3d 1132, 1136-37 (11th
Cir. 1999) (holding, in context of commodities fraud action, that “the element of
knowledge may be inferred from deliberate acts amounting to willful blindness to
the existence of fact or acts constituting conscious purpose to avoid
RSP Defendants has a duty to investigate for the benefit for the Government to discover
Medicare’s involvement. The discussion of the parties revolved around 42 C.F.R. § 411.25(a)
(“If a third party payer learns that [HHS] has made a Medicare primary payment for services for
which the third party payer has made or should have made primary payment, it must give notice
to that effect to the Medicare intermediary or carrier that paid the claim.”). In light of our
decision that the Government’s allegations survive Rule 12(b)(6), and in light of the discovery
that will be available to the Government on remand that may reveal to the Government any
information that investigation by the Defendants could have yielded, thus possibly mooting the
duty-to-investigate issue, we decline to address it at this stage. To the extent that the district
court's discussion (see In re Silicone Gel, 174 F. Supp. 2d at 1257) constitutes a holding that
Medicare cannot interpret § 411.25(a) to require an insurer to inquire into the existence of a prior
Medicare payment, we note that the district court did not address whether the agency had
interpreted its regulation, or the significance thereof. See, e.g., Medicare Program; Medicare
Secondary Payment, 59 Fed. Reg. 4285, 4286 (Jan. 31, 1994) (explaining the statute and
regulations concerning third-party payors with primary obligations to which Medicare is
secondary, and suggesting pursuant to 42 C.F.R. § 411.25 that where there has been delay in
paying by the primary obligor, it should assume that Medicare made a conditional payment: “A
beneficiary who is eligible for Medicare files a claim for primary payment with a third party
payer, the claim is denied, the beneficiary appeals, and the denial is reversed. (The third party
payer should assume that Medicare made a conditional primary payment in the interim.)”). If the
duty to investigate issue should become a live one on remand, then the district court should
address the issue afresh conducting an appropriate analysis, e.g., ascertaining any relevant agency
interpretation and determining the extent of Chevron deference, if any.
70
enlightenment."). The Complaint therefore sufficiently alleges constructive
knowledge, despite the Government's concession that the Defendants did not
acquire actual knowledge of Medicare's conditional primary payments.33
For all of the foregoing reasons, we conclude that the Government’s
allegations of constructive knowledge are sufficient, and the Government’s
subrogation claim under §1395y(b)(2)(B)(iii) survives the Rule 12(b)(6)
challenge.34
33
In responding to the motion to dismiss, the Government asked the district court for
leave to amend its Complaint to plead knowledge with more detail if the court were to find that
knowledge was a required element at the pleading stage. The district court denied that motion,
having found that the Government had no viable claim under the MSP regardless of how it was
pled. Because we reverse the district court's legal determination as to the viability of the
Government's case, the district court's reason for denying leave to amend is no longer valid and
that denial is accordingly vacated.
34
The text of Part III.B(3) of this opinion has focused only on the Government’s §
1395y(b)(2)(B)(iii) subrogation claim for double payment (relating to the primary obligor’s
liability to reimburse Medicare even though it has already paid the Medicare beneficiary). In its
brief on appeal, the Government also argued, in somewhat summary fashion, that in such
situation it also has a direct cause of action for double payment pursuant to §1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii),
and that the “direct action for double payment” is not conditioned upon a determination that the
primary obligor paid the Medicare beneficiary even though it knew or should have known that
Medicare had already covered relevant expenses. In other words, the Government argues that §
1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii) creates a strict liability “direct cause of action for double payment.” We note
that the D.C. Circuit in HIAA, 23 F.3d at 417, apparently rejected this argument, inferring from
the language of the statute that the Government had a claim against the “required or responsible”
entity until that entity made payment, and thereafter had a claim against the person who received
such payment. See 42 U.S.C. §1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii) (“The Untied States may bring an action
against any entity which is required or responsible under this subsection to pay with respect to
such item or service ... under a primary plan ... or against any other entity (including any
physician or provider) that has received payment from that entity with respect to the item or
service”). The district court, following the D.C. Circuit, rejected the Government’s argument on
the same ground.
We need not in this case decide whether the inference drawn by the D.C. Circuit and the
71
district court is the only reasonable interpretation of the statute, because we reject the
Government’s argument in this case on other grounds. The only support for its position
proffered by the Government in this case is 42 C.F.R. §411.24(i), which provides in relevant
part:
(i) Special rules. (1) In the case of liability insurance settlements and
disputed claims under employer group health plans and no-fault insurance, the
following rule applies: If Medicare is not reimbursed [by the recipient of the
insurance payment] ... the third party payer must reimburse Medicare even though
it has already reimbursed the beneficiary or other party.
(2) The provisions of paragraph (i)(1) of this section also apply if a third
party payer makes its payment to an entity other than Medicare when it is, or
should be, aware that Medicare has made a conditional primary payment.
However, we do not believe that the regulation supports the Government's litigation position of
strict liability without regard to knowledge or constructive knowledge. The regulation indicates
that a third-party payor who pays the patient is still liable for a “double payment” to Medicare in
two situations: (1) when the source of the third-party payment is a liability insurance settlement
or a disputed claim under group insurance or no fault coverage, or (2) when other circumstances
give the third-party payor knowledge or constructive knowledge of Medicare’s prior payment.
Both the language of the regulation and the explanation provided by HHS in promulgating the
regulation suggest that the distinction between subparagraphs (1) and (2) is not between strict
liability and liability only if there is knowledge or constructive knowledge. Rather, the use of the
term “disputed claims” in subparagraph (1) indicates that HHS was singling out cases in which
the third party would not pay until after considerable delay – which delay, coupled with the
existence of the MSP statute and regulations, HHS apparently deems to be sufficient to constitute
constructive knowledge that Medicare will have made a conditional payment. The explanation
provided by HHS in promulgating its final version of the rule focuses upon constructive
knowledge or “awareness,” and bears out this interpretation:
We agree that when an employer group health plan (EGHP) or no-fault
insurer routinely pays primary benefits on behalf of a Medicare beneficiary
without knowledge of Medicare's primary payment, the insurer has acted
responsibly and should not be liable for reimbursing HCFA if HCFA is unable to
recover from the party that received the insurer's primary payment. However, if a
third party pays an entity other than Medicare even though it was, or should have
been, aware that Medicare had made a conditional primary payment, the third
party must reimburse Medicare. ... Liability insurers should be aware of Medicare
involvement, and therefore should not pay a claim without first checking to find
out if Medicare has made conditional payments. The EGHP or no-fault insurer
should be aware that, if the claim was disputed, Medicare may have made a
conditional payment.
72
4) Does the MSP's “double damages” provision apply to a payer
that has paid the beneficiary but fails to promptly pay the
Government's “double payment” reimbursement claim?
Medicare's right of action for double damages originates in Section
1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii), entitled “Action by United States.” It provides that “the United
States may bring an action against any entity which is required or responsible under
this subsection to pay with respect to such item or service (or any portion thereof)
Medicare as Secondary Payer and Medicare Recovery Against Third Parties, 54 Fed. Reg. 41716,
41721 (Oct. 11, 1989) (emphasis added). Thus, neither the language of the regulation nor the
official explanation at promulgation supports the Government’s assertion of strict liability in this
case. Rather, the regulation and official interpretation indicate that constructive knowledge is
required.
Having rejected the Government’s only authority for imposing strict liability with respect
to a “direct cause of action for double payment” under § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii), we conclude that this
case should proceed with the law of the case being that the Government must prove at least
constructive knowledge to prevail in its claim for double payment under either §
1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii) or § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(iii).
As we noted in the text with respect to our discussion of the subrogation claim for double
payment, we need not at this early stage of the litigation define the precise scope of constructive
knowledge that will trigger liability, because constructive knowledge in the form of willful
blindness has been amply pleaded in this case. Moreover, the contours of constructive
knowledge were not adequately addressed by the district court and have not been adequately
addressed in the briefs on appeal.
Although the district court opinion, the briefs on appeal, and this opinion have focused on
the “double payment” claim, nothing in this opinion precludes the district court on remand from
entertaining a Government claim pursuant to the “direct action for single payment,” i.e., where
the RSP Defendants have not yet paid or the RSP claimants have not yet received such payment.
See 42 U.S.C. § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii) (“In order to recover payment under this subchapter for ... an
item or service, the United States may bring an action against any entity which is required or
responsible ... to pay with respect to such item or service ... under a primary plan ... or against any
other entity (including any physician or provider) that has received payment from that entity with
respect to the item or service”) (parenthetical in original).
73
under a primary plan (and may, in accordance with paragraph (3)(A) collect double
damages against that entity)” (emphasis added). Paragraph (3)(A), which the
provision incorporates, then establishes a private cause of action for double
damages “in the case of a primary plan which fails to provide for primary payment
(or appropriate reimbursement) in accordance with such paragraphs (1) and
(2)(A).”35 There is no dispute that, under subparagraph (2)(B)(ii), the Government
can sometimes bring a double damages action. The only disagreement is whether
the qualifier “or appropriate reimbursement” empowers Medicare to recover double
damages from an entity that has made its primary payment to the beneficiaries but
fails to make a duplicate payment to Medicare on demand.
The district court ultimately rejected the Government's double damages
claim on the same rationale that it dismissed its single damages claim. However,
we have already reversed the district court's holding with respect to the
Government's single damages claim. See Part III.B., supra. Accordingly, we also
reverse the district court's dismissal of the Government's double damages claim and
vacate the district court's rulings in that regard. While we expect the district court
35
Paragraph (1) pertains to the responsibility of group health plans to assume primary
responsibility for the coverage of their Medicare-eligible beneficiaries, and is not implicated
here.
74
on remand to address the double damages claim on a clean slate, we offer a few
comments to call attention to several pertinent matters.
We note that the statute is not clear as to when the Government is entitled to
more than single damages. The statute gives the Government the right to seek
double damages “in accordance with paragraph (3)(A),” see 42 U.S.C. §
1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii). Paragraph (3)(A) in turn establishes a private cause of action
for double damages if a primary plan “fails to provide for primary payment (or
appropriate reimbursement) in accordance with ... paragraphs (1) and (2)(A).”
Paragraph (1) prohibits an employer group health plan from offering lesser
coverage to employees over 65 or their spouses on the basis of their Medicare
eligibility. Paragraph (2)(A) defines which sources of outside coverage will be
primary with respect to Medicare. The pivotal ambiguity is in the term
“reimbursement,” which can plausibly refer either to the insurer’s obligation to
reimburse Medicare (the Government’s view), or the insurer’s duty to reimburse
the injured party for out-of-pocket medical expenses (the Defendants’ view), or
both.
The pertinent regulations to which we owe deference are codified at 42
C.F.R. §§ 411.24(c)(1) and (c)(2). In these regulations, HHS draws a distinction
between claims in which the insurer willingly repays Medicare versus those in
75
which Medicare is forced to litigate. Only in the second category of cases,
according to the regulations, will the Government demand double damages. The
Government cited the regulations in its Complaint, but did not rely on § 411.24(c)
in its briefs to the district court or here. The district court did not pass on whether
the regulations were authorized by and consistent with the statute, nor – so far as
we can find – has any other federal court.
Another matter to which the district court should give attention is whether
the proof required to establish entitlement to double damages is the same as that
required for single damages, and if that seems suggested by the statutory language,
whether it makes sense in light of the statutory structure and purpose. Finally, if
the same proof or standard is suggested for both single and double damages, the
court should consider whether that would be inconsistent with the common-law
principle that an award of multiple damages usually requires a heightened showing
of wrongful intent.
5) Can either the MSP Defendants or the Escrow Agent be sued
under the MSP as an entity that “received payment” from a
primary plan?
The Government argues that the MSP Defendants can be sued under §
1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii) as entities that “received payment” from a primary plan, on the
basis that they received payment from their liability carriers. The Government
76
further argues that the Escrow Agent is reachable under the same provision because
it received payment from the MSP Defendants and/or their insurance companies.
The district court dismissed both contentions on the basis that, under the common
understanding of the term “received,” the statute covers only the ultimate recipient
of the payments – not someone merely handling the money as a conduit.
The pertinent statutory passage provides that “the United States may bring an
action against any entity which is required or responsible under this subsection to
pay... or against any other entity (including any physician or provider) that has
received payment from that entity with respect to the item or service(.)” 42 U.S.C.
§ 1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii). Under the doctrine of ejusdem generis, “when an
enumeration of specific things is followed by some more general word or phrase,
then the general word or phrase will usually be construed to refer to things of the
same kind or species as those specifically enumerated.” City of Delray Beach v.
Agricultural Ins. Co., 85 F.3d 1527, 1534 (11th Cir. 1996); see also Snapp v.
Unlimited Concepts, Inc., 208 F.3d 928, 934 (11th Cir. 2000) (“We must interpret
<a general statutory term ... in light of the specific terms that surround it.'”) (quoting
Hughey v. United States, 495 U.S. 411, 419, 110 S.Ct. 1979, 1984 (1990)).36
36
In Snapp, we examined a provision in the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. § 216(b),
providing that “[a]ny employer who violates the provisions of section 215(a)(3) of this title shall
be liable for such legal or equitable relief as may be appropriate... including without limitation
77
Applying ejusdem generis here, we can assume that Congress intended the term
“any other entity” to be understood with reference to “physician” and “provider,”
and to encompass only entities of like kind.
The agency's implementing regulation, 42 C.F.R. § 411.24(g), lists as
examples of entities liable as recipients: “a beneficiary, provider, supplier,
physician, attorney, State agency or private insurer that has received a third party
payment.” This list is broader than that furnished by the statute, but even the
agency's examples all are entities that would be receiving payment under a claim of
right or entitlement to retain it.
The Escrow Agent clearly is not of like kind to a doctor or provider. The
uncontested evidence is that the Escrow Agent acts in a purely ministerial role
serving the district court. All of the discretionary decisions about which claims to
honor are made by the Claims Office, which is a separate entity.37 The Escrow
Agent is limited to petitioning the court if he wishes to refrain from making a
payment. His only real power appears to be in making sure that the RSP
employment, reinstatement, promotion, and the payment of wages lost and an additional equal
amount as liquidated damages.” Applying the principle of ejusdem generis, the Snapp court held
that punitive damages were entirely unlike the remedies enumerated in the statute, all of which
were intended to compensate the plaintiff rather than punish the defendant; therefore, we held
that punitive damages were not intended by Congress as part of the remedial scheme. Id. at 935.
37
When a potential class member appeals the denial of her claim, the appeal goes first to
the Claims Administrator and then to the district court, not to the Escrow Agent.
78
Defendants continually contribute enough money to sustain the settlement fund,
which does not equate to discretion over the payment of claims.
In HIAA, the D.C. Circuit invalidated as exceeding HHS' statutory authority
the former 42 C.F.R. § 411.24(e), which provided that Medicare's direct right of
action under 42 U.S.C. § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii) extended to a third-party administrator
of an employer self-insurance plan as an entity charged with “making primary
payment.” The court held that the statute contemplated liability only for parties
who were responsible for payment, not merely responsible for the ministerial
function of making the payment. The court likened HCFA's interpretation to
extending liability to the bank on which the health insurers benefit checks were
drawn, even though the bank obviously had no discretion over whether and to
whom payment was made. Id. at 416-17.
In 1996, Congress amended the MSP, reinstating in part provisions struck
down by HIAA. Specifically, the 1996 amendments to § 1395y(b)(2)(B)(ii)
provide that the Government “may not recover from a third-party administrator
under this clause in cases where the third-party administrator would not be able to
recover the amount at issue from the employer or group health plan and is not
employed by or under contract with the employer or group health plan at the time
the action for recovery is initiated(.)” Although this legislation evidences
79
congressional intent to reach third-party administrators under certain
circumstances, it does not assist the Government here, since it is conceded that
Gentile is an agent of the court, neither employed by nor under contract with the
RSP Defendants.38
Finally, any analogy between the Escrow Agent and a third-party
administrator is inapt. While it is true that Congress has clarified that HHS can
sometimes lodge a claim against a third-party administrator even where the
administrator is merely a “pass-through” who is not ultimately responsible for
paying the claimant, the potential analog to a third-party administrator in our case
is the Claims Office, not the Escrow Agent. A self-insurer hires a third-party
administrator to do what the Claims Office is doing here: to decide who gets paid
and how much. The Government, however, did not name the Claims Office or its
38
The only case the Government cites supporting its position that a trustee-like entity
could be regarded as having “received” the money it handles is King v. United States, 379 U.S.
329, 85 S.Ct. 427 (1964). King arose under an entirely different statutory scheme – it evolved
out of a Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceeding. The court-appointed “distributing agent” in that case
(significantly, the president of the bankrupt company as opposed to a disinterested functionary)
was held to be personally liable for having depleted the bankruptcy estate by paying private
claims before paying the Government, because of his considerable authority to object to the way
the estate was distributed. The King court strictly limited the holding to its facts. See id., 379
U.S. at 339, 85 S.Ct. at 432 (“We are not prepared to articulate any general rule defining the
responsibility of distributing agents to make and press... objections [to a plan of distribution].
We hold only that King, on the facts of this case, did have such a responsibility. As president of
the debtor corporation he must have been aware of the Government's potential claim(.)”). It is a
considerable stretch to apply such a limited, fact-specific holding to our entirely different
context.
80
administrator as defendants. Consequently, the district court was correct in
dismissing Count VI against the Escrow Agent.39
We reach a different conclusion, however, as to the RSP Defendants.
Section 411.24(g) of the regulations lists an “insurer” as an example of a party that
may be liable as having received payment. As we have seen, the MSP treats self-
insured entities as “insurers.” The structure of the underlying transaction here – the
RSP manufacturers paid into the settlement fund out of their own earnings, then
submitted claims to their liability carriers for partial reimbursement – is not unlike
that commonly occurring in which one insurance carrier re-insures or carries excess
liability coverage, thus making it both a payer (to its insured) and a recipient (in
relation to its re-insurer). We believe that is the sort of arrangement HHS
contemplated in including insurers and state agencies among the class of parties
39
From the comments of counsel for the Government at oral argument, and from the
parties' discussion at the hearing before the district court on May 15, 2000, we discern that the
Government's main interest in laying a claim for reimbursement against the Escrow Agent was to
keep the Agent in the case as a party so that he would be subject to any order granting
appropriate injunctive relief. We note that Count VII, seeking injunctive relief against the
Escrow Agent, is still alive, see Part III.B.(6), infra. Thus, pending further developments in the
district court on remand, the Escrow Agent remains a party. In any event, we believe that the
district court would retain the ability to direct the Escrow Agent's management of the settlement
funds as required to preserve the Government's rights, whether or not substantive claims remain
against him, either pursuant to the court’s supervisory powers, or by retaining him or joining him
to afford appropriate relief to the parties.
81
that could be liable on the basis of receiving payment.40 The RSP Defendants do
not argue that the regulation is invalid, and we see nothing unreasonable in the
regulation as applied to this case.
The record is devoid of detail about the role of the Defendants' liability
insurance carriers. If our understanding is correct – that the RSP companies
initially financed the settlement, then filed claims with their insurers, which will
provide reimbursement based on their independent evaluation of the class
members' claims – then the district court's description of the RSP Defendants as
mere intermediaries between their insurance companies and the class members is
not accurate. Rather, it appears that the RSP Defendants would keep the insurance
companies' payments to reimburse them for what they paid the class members.
Consequently, it is conceivable that the Government could prove that the RSP
Defendants “received payment” from a third party within the meaning of the
statute.
6) Does the Government have a claim under the MSP statute for
declaratory and injunctive relief (Counts V and VII)?
40
The references to “a State agency” and “a private insurer” in § 411.24(g) indicate that
HHS believes a party can be a recipient of payment even if all it is receiving is reimbursement for
its own prior payments, rather than (as with a doctor) a fee for services rendered.
82
In addition to damages, the Government's Complaint sought: (1) a
declaratory judgment that the RSP Defendants are liable under the MSP to
reimburse Medicare for past payments to breast implant patients, and are obligated
to provide Medicare with notice of all payments to Medicare beneficiaries, and (2)
an injunction prohibiting the Escrow Agent from making disbursements to
Medicare patients pending resolution of the Government's claims, and to compel
disclosure of identifying information concerning all past or contemplated
settlement payments to Medicare beneficiaries.
Although both declaratory relief and injunctive relief may be unnecessary
depending on further developments on remand, the entire landscape of this case has
changed with our disposition of this appeal. We prefer for the district court to
evaluate the need for such relief in the first instance in light of the new landscape.41
We therefore vacate the dismissal of the Government’s claims for declaratory and
injunctive relief, which will enable the district court to fashion the most
appropriately tailored remedy. 42
41
For example, it is not beyond doubt that there may be need of injunctive relief to afford
complete relief to the parties.
42
We suspect that most of the Government’s requests for injunctive relief will be
effectively moot in any event. Because we reinstate the bulk of the Government’s substantive
claims for damages, discovery can now proceed and the Government will thereby gain access to
the information it sought by way of a declaratory or injunctive order. In light of this likely
mootness, we do not address the Defendants’ arguments regarding whether, and to what extent,
83
VII. CONCLUSION
We reverse the district court's dismissal of Counts I, II, III and IV as they
regard the RSP Defendants. We also vacate the district court's dismissal of the
Government's requests for declaratory and injunctive relief in Counts V and VII.
Finally, we affirm the district court's dismissal of Count VI, which sought
reimbursement from the Escrow Agent as an entity receiving payment.43
AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART, AND REMANDED.
the MSP statute allows for declaratory or injunctive relief as a remedy.
43
As noted, the Government has abandoned Counts VIII and IX.
84