Opinion

Reed Shaffer Construction and Donegal Mutual Ins. Co. v. G. Smith (WCAB)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jul 6, 2022
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Covey, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 11.4%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Reed Shaffer Construction and :

Donegal Mutual Insurance Company, :

Petitioners :

:

v. :

:

Glynn Smith (Workers’ Compensation :

Appeal Board), : No. 1003 C.D. 2021

Respondent : Submitted: March 4, 2022

BEFORE: HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION BY

JUDGE COVEY FILED: July 6, 2022

Reed Shaffer Construction and Donegal Mutual Insurance Company

(collectively, Employer) petition this Court for review of the Workers’

Compensation (WC) Appeal Board’s (Board) August 23, 2021 order affirming the

WC Judge’s (WCJ) April 7, 2020 decision that denied Employer’s Petition to

Suspend Compensation Benefits (Suspension Petition).1 The sole issue before this

Court is whether the WCJ erred by denying the Suspension Petition despite the

evidence that Glynn Smith (Claimant) sustained a 50% loss of use of three right hand

fingers without any disability separate and apart from those three injured fingers.

After review, this Court affirms.

1

Section 413 of the Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736 (Act), as amended, 77 P.S. § 772,

authorizes a WCJ to suspend WC benefits upon proof that an injured employee’s disability has

temporarily or finally ceased.

On March 28, 2018, Claimant sustained lacerations to his right middle,

ring, and small fingers during the course and scope of his employment with

Employer as a full-time carpenter.2 On April 5, 2018, Employer issued a Notice of

Temporary Compensation Payable (NTCP) acknowledging the March 28, 2018

injury as “[l]aceration [[c]ut, scratches, abrasions, superficial wounds, calluses,

wound by tearing],” and began paying Claimant wage loss benefits at a weekly rate

of $512.50. Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 72a; see also R.R. at 73a. Thereafter, the

NTCP converted to a Notice of Compensation Payable.

On March 5, 2019, Employer filed the Suspension Petition, therein

alleging that, since Claimant suffered specific loss of use of only 50% of his right

third, fourth, and fifth fingers, without any injuries or disabilities separate and apart

from those three injured digits, Employer was only responsible for paying 58 weeks

of specific loss benefits through May 10, 2019. See R.R. at 4a. Employer also

requested a supersedeas. See R.R. at 5a.

The WCJ conducted hearings on April 23 and October 29, 2019. Based

on evidence presented at the April 23, 2019 hearing, by April 29, 2019 Interlocutory

Order, the WCJ denied Employer’s supersedeas request.3 See R.R. at 8a-10a. On

April 7, 2020, the WCJ denied Employer’s Suspension Petition because Employer

failed to sustain its burden of proving that Claimant suffered a specific loss limited

to only 50% use of his third, fourth, and fifth digits of his right hand, without injuries

2

Claimant had been a carpenter for over 30 years. See Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 22a.

As of March 28, 2018, he had worked for Employer doing residential and commercial carpentry

for a little over one year. See id. On that date, while cutting a two-by-four with a table saw, the

board “kicked back towards [him] and [his] hand kind of just followed the lumber through the saw

blade.” R.R. at 24a. Claimant is left-handed. See R.R. at 23a.

3

On May 7, 2019, the WCJ issued an Interlocutory Order, stating: “After review and

consideration of the subject matter which is reviewed in correspondence from counsel for

[Employer] dated April 29, 2019, the denial of the supersedeas request in the context of the pending

Suspension Petition, as reflected in the Interlocutory Order circulated April 29, 2019, is affirmed.”

R.R. at 13a.

2

separate and apart from his specific loss. See WCJ Dec. at 26. The WCJ found that

Claimant’s injuries also included ongoing right hand, wrist, and forearm pain that

rendered him physically incapable of performing his pre-injury job. Employer

appealed to the Board which affirmed the WCJ’s decision on August 23, 2021.

Employer appealed to this Court.4

Employer has been paying Claimant total disability benefits,5 but filed

the Suspension Petition asserting that, since Claimant’s March 28, 2018 work injury

was limited to a specific loss of his three digits on his right hand, his WC benefits

must cease when the amount of benefits Employer has paid equals the amount to

which Claimant would have been entitled for that specific loss. In this appeal,

Employer argues that the WCJ erred by denying the Suspension Petition despite

Employer’s uncontroverted medical evidence that Claimant only sustained a 50%

loss of use of three right fingers, without any disability separate and apart from those

three injured fingers.

Initially, “Section 306 of the [WC] Act (Act),[6] 77 P.S. §§ 511, 512[,]

513, recognizes three types of disability: total disability, partial disability[,] and

permanent disability, commonly known as ‘specific loss.’”7 Est. of Harris v.

4

On September 15, 2021, Employer filed an application for supersedeas, which the Board

denied on October 20, 2021. On October 22, 2021, Employer filed a petition for supersedeas in

this Court that Claimant opposed. Following argument, this Court denied Employer’s petition for

supersedeas on January 12, 2022. See January 12, 2022 Memorandum and Order.

“Our review is limited to determining whether the WCJ’s findings of fact were supported

by substantial evidence, whether an error of law was committed, or whether constitutional rights

were violated.” Pierson v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Consol Pa. Coal Co. LLC), 252 A.3d

1169, 1172 n.3 (Pa. Cmwlth.), appeal denied, 261 A.3d 378 (Pa. 2021).

5

The Court observes that the NTCP does not reference a specific loss, see R.R. at 72a-73a,

and there does not appear to have been a prior ruling that Claimant sustained a specific loss of use

of his right third, fourth, and fifth fingers.

6

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, 77 P.S. §§ 1-1041.4, 2501-2710.

7

“[T]he term ‘disability’ is a term of art in the [WC] context. Generally, ‘disability’ is

synonymous with loss of earning power resulting from a work-related injury.” Whitfield v.

3

Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Sunoco, Inc. & ESIS/SIGNA), 845 A.2d 239, 241 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2004) (footnotes omitted). “‘Specific loss’ does not appear in the Act; it is

the term popularly used to describe the disability payments to be made where a

claimant has suffered a permanent injury.” Id. at 242 n.6. “A specific loss is either

(1) the loss of a body part by amputation or (2) the permanent loss of use of an

injured body part for all practical intents and purposes.”8 Miller v. Workers’ Comp.

Appeal Bd. (Wal-Mart), 44 A.3d 726, 728 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2012) (quoting Jacobi v.

Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Wawa, Inc.), 942 A.2d 263, 264 n.1 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2008)).

Section 306(c) of the Act provides a schedule to compensate injured

employees for specific losses. See 77 P.S. § 513. Because “specific loss benefits

are recognized as compensation ‘for the loss of use of designated bodily members

rather than for general loss of earning power,’ Turner v. Jones & Laughlin Steel

Corp[.], . . . 389 A.2d 42, 43 ([Pa.] 1978) (emphasis in original),” they “are payable

without regard to whether the permanent injury has actually caused a wage loss.”

Allegheny Power Serv. Corp. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Cockroft), 954 A.2d

692, 702 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008).

Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Tenet Health Sys. Hahnemann LLC), 188 A.3d 599, 612 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2018).

8

A specific loss requires more than just limitations upon an injured

worker’s occupational activities; a loss of use for all practical intents

and purposes requires a more crippling injury than one that results

in a loss of use for occupational purposes. However, it is not

necessary that the injured body part be one hundred percent useless

in order for the loss of use to qualify as being for all practical intents

and purposes.

Miller v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Wal-Mart), 44 A.3d 726, 728 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2012) (quoting

Jacobi v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Wawa, Inc.), 942 A.2d 263, 267-68 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008)).

Evidence necessary to prove that a loss is permanent for all intents and purposes “hinges on the

findings of fact in each case, including those regarding credibility, the degree of the injury, and

the degree to which a claimant may continue to use the body part.” Kemps v. Steets (Workers’

Comp. Appeal Bd.), 257 A.3d 1271, 1278 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2021).

4

Moreover,

[i]t is well established that in matters involving specific

loss claims, a claimant who sustains an injury that is

compensable under Section 306(c) of the Act . . . (relative

to specific loss calculations), is not [also] entitled to

compensation beyond that specified in that section[,] even

though he may be totally disabled by the injury.

Pocono Mountain Sch. Dist. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Easterling), 113 A.3d

909, 914 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015) (quoting Sharon Steel Corp. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal

Bd. (Frantz), 790 A.2d 1084, 1088 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2002)). This is because “[i]njuries,

including those that result in a loss of earning power, that normally flow from the

specific loss injuries are considered compensated under specific loss benefits.”

Lindemuth v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Strishock Coal Co.), 134 A.3d 111, 121

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2016).

However, “[a]n exception to the general rule provides that a claimant

may also receive benefits for injuries that are separate and distinct from those that

flow from the specific loss injury.” Kemps v. Steets (Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.),

257 A.3d 1271, 1277 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2021). Thus, “if a claimant suffers an injury that

is separate and apart from a specific loss of a body part that results in a loss of earning

power, a claimant may receive compensation under Section 306(a) of the Act, 77

P.S. § 511[] (related to total disability), or Section 306(b) of the Act, 77 P.S. § 512[]

(related to partial disability), in addition to benefits for the specific loss of a body

part.” Lindemuth, 134 A.3d at 121.

Here, Employer presented the deposition testimony of orthopedic

surgeon Steven E. Kann, M.D. (Dr. Kann) in support of its Suspension Petition. Dr.

Kann conducted an independent medical evaluation (IME) of Claimant on January

5

9, 2019. Dr. Kann testified that he reviewed Claimant’s medical records,9 obtained

Claimant’s history, took right hand X-rays, and physically examined Claimant. See

R.R. at 173a-175a, 202a-206a. Dr. Kann recalled Claimant confirming at the IME

that his work injury was limited to the third, fourth, and fifth digits of his right hand,

and complaining of stiffness and decreased range of motion in those fingers, but

Claimant did not report any complaints about his right hand or wrist. See R.R. at

173a-174a, 187a.

During his examination, Dr. Kann observed that Claimant had limited

range of motion in the third, fourth, and fifth fingers of his right hand, full range of

motion in his right thumb and index finger, and normal nerve function of all five

digits. See R.R. at 175a, 184a-185a. Claimant’s X-rays confirmed healed fractures

and diffuse preexisting arthritis in Claimant’s right hand, and Dr. Kann determined

that Claimant’s grip was 60 pounds in his right hand (as opposed to 120 pounds in

his left hand).10 See R.R. at 175a-176a, 185a-187a. Dr. Kann confirmed that

Claimant has “arthrofibrosis, which means stiffness of the joints, and adhesions of

the extensor tendons” due to his March 28, 2018 work injury, which has “resulted in

permanent stiffness of digits 3, 4[,] and 5 of the right hand.” R.R. at 176a; see also

R.R. at 182a, 188a, 204a. Dr. Kann opined that Claimant could frequently lift/carry

up to 25 pounds (and occasionally up to 50 pounds) with both hands, Claimant is

able to “rarely” climb ladders, R.R. at 206a, Claimant “could not lift greater than 15

pounds with [his] right hand[, and his] right hand could be used for grasping of large

objects, but he would not be able to manipulate small objects with the right hand.”

9

Dr. Kann subsequently reviewed Rafael Diaz-Garcia, M.D.’s January 7, 2019 report, and

Stephen J. Thomas, M.D.’s April 10, 2019 report, that were not available to Dr. Kann at the IME.

See R.R. at 207a-208a. He declared that neither report altered his conclusion. See R.R. at 180a-

181a, 207a-208a.

10

Dr. Kann explained that a person’s non-dominant hand (here, the right) will typically

have 80% of the strength of the dominant hand (here, the left). See R.R. at 176a.

6

R.R. at 177a; see also R.R. at 178a, 182a, 206a. Dr. Kann stated that further

treatment will not change Claimant’s condition because his right hand condition will

never resolve. See R.R. at 182a, 188a-189a. Notwithstanding, Dr. Kann concluded

that Claimant “is capable of working 40 hours a week plus overtime in a modified[-

]duty capacity utilizing [his] right hand as a helper hand.” R.R. at 161a.

Dr. Kann testified that patients who suffer the types of injuries Claimant

did typically experience resulting stiffness. See R.R. at 174a. He declared in his

IME report: “It is my opinion that [Claimant’s] injury was isolated to the [third],

[fourth], and [fifth] digit[s,] and there is no injury separate and apart, thus there is

no injury to the right wrist or the remainder of the hand that would be attributable to

the isolated table saw injury to digits 3, 4 and 5.” R.R. at 206a. By February 12,

2019 letter in response to Employer’s inquiry “[w]hether or not [Claimant] had

suffered a specific loss of use either 100% or 50% of digits 3, 4 and 5, and whether

there was any injury separate and apart in regard to the right hand[,]” Dr. Kann

confirmed, with a reasonable degree of medical certainty:

Given the fact that [Claimant] was able to achieve 60

pounds of grip strength in the right hand and that digits 3,

4[,] and 5 were neurovascularly intact with normal

sensation and normal canillary refill, but [Claimant] had a

profound deficit in active and passive range of motion of

digits 3, 4[,] and 5, it is my opinion that [Claimant] has

lost 50% use of digits 3, 4[,] and 5 of the right hand and

this 50% loss of use is permanent. In addition, it is my

opinion there is no injury separate and apart.

R.R. at 207a. Dr. Kann reiterated that opinion in his deposition. See R.R. at 178a-

180a.

Claimant testified that, after he was injured on March 28, 2018, he was

transported to the Jameson Hospital emergency room where he was told to go to

Allegheny General Hospital in Pittsburgh, where Rafael Diaz-Garcia, M.D. (Dr.

7

Diaz-Garcia) conducted extensive repair surgery, including inserting hardware in his

middle and ring fingers, the next day. See R.R. at 25a-26a, 74a-94a. Claimant

described that he underwent physical therapy thereafter. See R.R. at 26a-27a, 41a-

42a. He recalled that Dr. Diaz-Garcia removed the hardware on April 30, 2018, but,

due to significant tightening and stiffening in his hands, Dr. Diaz-Garcia performed

a second surgical procedure on August 3, 2018, after which Claimant again

underwent intensive physical therapy until October or November 2018. See R.R. at

27a-28a, 36a, 40a-43a, 75a, 78a-80a. On January 7, 2019, Dr. Diaz-Garcia

discharged Claimant from his care with a right hand 20-pound lifting restriction,

reporting: “It is unsafe for [Claimant] to climb a ladder. He cannot return to the

previous company he was working for.” R.R. at 85a; see also R.R. at 28a-29a, 37a,

43a-44a.

Claimant explained that his counsel referred him to orthopedic surgeon

Stephen J. Thomas, M.D. (Dr. Thomas), who examined Claimant on April 10, May

1, and June 26, 2019. See R.R. at 36a-37a, 68a, 95a-100a, 140a-141a. Claimant

further recalled Dr. Thomas referring him to Orientee Ditano, M.D. (Dr. Ditano),

who specializes in complex hand surgery, for a second opinion. See R.R. at 112a-

113a. Claimant described that Dr. Ditano examined him on August 20, 2019, and

ordered a computerized tomography (CT) scan of his right hand. See R.R. at 63a,

68a. According to Dr. Ditano’s report, Claimant had significant stiffness in his third,

fourth, and fifth fingers and he could not make a full fist. See R.R. at 166a. Dr.

Ditano concluded that Claimant “is disabled[,]” and he did not believe that any

additional surgical intervention would make Claimant’s situation better. Id.

Claimant asserted that Dr. Ditano did not release him to return to his pre-injury job.

See R.R. at 64a.

Claimant displayed his hand for the WCJ, who observed that

Claimant’s small and ring fingers were in a permanently bent position and there was

8

significant swelling in his right ring finger. See WCJ Dec. at 5; see also R.R. at 29a-

30a, 64a. Claimant pointed out that his laceration extends from the base of his small

finger at his hand to the top of his middle finger. See R.R. at 67a-68a. Claimant

demonstrated that severe stiffness and range of motion problems in all three

damaged fingers allow him only to make a half fist, and he cannot touch his injured

fingers to his right palm. See WCJ Dec. at 5; see also R.R. at 30a-31a, 34a, 64a-65a.

Claimant described that he experiences occasional tingling in his injured fingers, but

that he has “pretty severe stiffness” in those fingers that extends to the corner of his

hand at his wrist. R.R. at 33a; see also R.R. at 34a, 64a.

Claimant articulated that his pre-injury job consisted of all phases of

construction, including sawing, cutting, lifting, and regularly climbing ladders. See

R.R. at 22a-23a. He also used manual and electrical tools, including saws, screw

guns, hammers, and claws. See R.R. at 23a. In addition, Claimant had to lift, move,

and carry various items, such as full drywall buckets, plywood, drywall, and heavier

lumber like two-by-tens and two-by-twelves. See R.R. at 22a. Claimant pronounced

that his injuries have rendered him unable to grasp and use a hammer, screwdriver,

and other objects (boxes, etc.), and he can no longer safely climb a ladder. See R.R.

at 32a, 44a-45a, 64a-65a. Claimant stated that he has not worked since March 28,

2018. See R.R. at 34a, 62a. He represented that the condition of his hand did not

change from the April 2019 WCJ hearing to the October 2019 WCJ hearing; he still

has stiffness and a lack of range of motion that extends from his wrist across the

back of his hand, and no doctor has released him to return to his pre-injury carpentry

job. See R.R. at 35a, 64a-66a. Claimant declared that he cannot return to his pre-

injury job. See R.R. at 66a.

Claimant acknowledged that Dr. Diaz-Garcia’s surgical intervention

was only for his three fingers, not his hand or wrist, and Dr. Diaz-Garcia’s treatment

focused on the three fingers. See R.R. at 39a-40a, 43a. He explained that physical

9

therapy extended to an uninjured finger next to the three injured ones because it, too,

had gotten stiff due to immobilization of the other three. See R.R. at 38a-39a.

Claimant also presented the deposition testimony of Dr. Thomas, who

first examined Claimant on April 10, 2019. See R.R. at 97a-100a. At that time,

Claimant complained to Dr. Thomas of stiffness in all of the fingers of his right hand

(not his thumb), and decreased range of motion in the joints of his index and long

fingers on that hand.11 See R.R. at 107a, 109a-110a. Dr. Thomas also observed that

Claimant had decreased right hand grip strength. See R.R. at 119a, 121a-122a. Dr.

Thomas obtained an imaging study of Claimant’s right hand that revealed

deformities of the third and fourth fingers and mild, preexisting arthritis. See R.R.

at 110a. Dr. Thomas reported Claimant’s injury as a “[c]rushing injury of right wrist

and hand,” R.R. at 99a, because “the bone [wa]s broken, the skin [wa]s crushed, the

soft tissues [we]re crushed, [and] the extensor tendons [we]re not only cut but they

[were] macerated from the pressure going through the hand . . . [.]” R.R. at 117a;

see also R.R. at 112a-113a. Dr. Thomas prescribed anti-inflammatory medication

and cream to help decrease Claimant’s swelling and resultant discomfort, and

directed him to return in three weeks. See R.R. at 110a-111a.

Dr. Thomas recalled that Claimant’s complaints and condition were

unchanged at Claimant’s May 1, 2019 visit, and noted that Claimant had right hand

stiffness. See R.R. at 95a-96a, 111a. He recollected that Claimant had not obtained

the anti-inflammatory medication or cream because “[Employer was] not paying for

it[,]” R.R. at 111a, so he gave Claimant a heating pad to provide Claimant relief and

to decrease swelling. See R.R. at 112a.

Dr. Thomas summarized that, during Claimant’s follow-up visit on

June 26, 2019, Claimant reported the heating pad had afforded him some relief, but

11

Dr. Thomas acknowledged that his April 10, 2019 report erroneously referenced that

Claimant was right-handed. See R.R. at 99a, 108a.

10

he was still unable to grasp a hammer or other tools necessary to perform his pre-

injury job. See R.R. at 113a, 140a-141a. Dr. Thomas referred Claimant to Dr.

Ditano, who evaluated Claimant on July 11, 2019, recommended a CT scan of

Claimant’s right hand12 to consider whether Claimant would benefit from an MCP

joint release13 of his third, fourth, and fifth fingers, and Dr. Ditano “was going to

keep [Claimant] off work.” R.R. at 114a; see also R.R. at 112a-115a, 119a, 122a-

123a, 142a-143a. Dr. Thomas did not examine Claimant again after referring

Claimant to Dr. Ditano. See R.R. at 119a, 123a.

Dr. Thomas acknowledged that Claimant did not mention his right wrist

on Dr. Thomas’s intake report, and that his treatment records did not reference right

wrist or hand fractures or abnormalities. See R.R. at 121a, 123a, 126a. However,

Dr. Thomas opined:

The force that goes through your fingers with a radial saw

and a two-by-four, to cause that amount of damage, puts

an excessive amount of pressure through the wrist and the

forearm, let alone the extensor tendons that were repaired

and revised by [Claimant’s] original hand surgeon;

starting at the elbow, they go by the wrist, and into the

hand. So they’re shortened at the fingers, they’re surely

irritated by the wrist. So I don’t think a wrist complaint is

uncommon at all.

R.R. at 116a-117a.

Dr. Thomas agreed with Dr. Kann’s assessment that Claimant lost 50%

of the use of this third, fourth, and fifth fingers on his right hand, but disagreed that

Claimant did not have an injury separate and apart from the three digits. See R.R. at

117a-118a. Rather, Dr. Thomas concluded that, “by definition, with the amount of

12

The CT scan results were not available at the time of Dr. Thomas’s deposition. See R.R.

at 122a.

13

Dr. Thomas described that MCP joint release surgery consists of “limited incisions where

[the surgeon] release[s] the adhesions or the scar tissue around the joints to increase motion.” R.R.

at 114a; see also R.R. at 115a.

11

force that it takes to create this trauma, there’s more than just those fingers that are

injured.” R.R. at 118a. Accordingly, Dr. Thomas declared with a reasonable degree

of medical certainty that Claimant

had a crush injury to his hand which involved the third,

fourth, and fifth fingers with resulting [] pain in the

wrist/forearm area, because the extensor tendons that are

involved in the hand start at the lateral aspect of the

humeral epicondyle and become shortened at the hand,

and then bother the entire wrist and arm.

R.R. at 119a; see also R.R. at 120a, 123a-124a.

When asked: “Doctor, looking through your notes, is it fair to say that

you’re [sic] diagnosis throughout your treatment has been a crush injury of the right

wrist and hand?” Dr. Thomas responded: “Yes.” R.R. at 119a; see also R.R. at 96a,

99a, 141a. He confirmed that, although his three examinations focused primarily on

Claimant’s three damaged fingers, they also included Claimant’s right wrist and

hand. See R.R. at 96a, 99a, 124a, 141a. Dr. Thomas further agreed with Dr. Kann

that Claimant could use his right hand as a helper hand. See R.R. at 125a.

At the October 29, 2019 WCJ hearing, the WCJ admitted into evidence

Dr. Ditano’s August 20, 2019 report, in which Dr. Ditano summarized that Claimant

still experienced stiffness in his injured fingers and could not make a full fist, and

diagnosed Claimant with right hand stiffness and crushing injuries to his right wrist

and hand. See R.R. at 165a-166a, 218a. Dr. Ditano concluded:

At this point, [Claimant] is pain free and he is disabled. I

don’t believe that surgical treatment would make his issue

much better. He may get some better motion at the MCP

joint, but it wouldn’t do more than that. I told [Claimant]

we can given [sic] it a try if he would like to not have

surgery at this point. Follow up with me if he changes his

mind.

R.R. at 166a.

12

Based on the record evidence, the WCJ made the following relevant

finding:

1. After review and consideration of the testimony and

evidence of record, along with the arguments of counsel

for the respective parties, that which has been accepted

supports the denial of the Suspension Petition. The

testimony and evidence supportive of this determination

follows[:]

The most compelling reasons supporting the denial of

[Employer’s] request [sic] relief are [Claimant’s] age of

61 years (as reported during the course of the litigation on

the Suspension Petition), and his occupation as a

carpenter. Work as a carpenter requires the extensive use

of one’s hands, inclusive of relatively fine (neurological)

motor skills. Given the nature and extent of the injury to

[Claimant’s] hand, his contention that he continues to

sustain disability separate and apart to the specific loss of

use of the digits involved is accepted, and is supported by

the considerations reviewed above, as well as the

testimony of Dr. [] Thomas, his treating orthopod. Dr.

Thomas indicated that [Claimant] would have difficulty

grasping a hammer, and indicated that [Claimant] has

continued to remain subject to stiffness and pain in the

injured area of his hand, as well as up into his wrist and

arm. As such, Dr. Thomas concluded that [Claimant] has

continued to remain disabled from his pre-injury

employment, as he does not have the ability to grasp a

hammer or other tool[s] needed to perform his job duties,

and also indicated that [Claimant’s] pain and stiffness has

extended considerably beyond the injured area of his hand,

up into his wrist and arm, and these conclusions comport

very reasonably with the nature and extent of [Claimant’s]

injury to his right hand. Dr. Thomas’[s] opinions and

conclusions are supported by his clinical findings, as

described by him in his deposition testimony. These

include his clinical description of the injuries sustained to

[Claimant’s] right hand, as well as medical and surgical

treatment which has followed.

Dr. [] Kann, [Employer’s] consulting orthopod, has

indicated that he believes [Claimant] is only subject to the

loss of 50% of the third, fourth, and fifth digits of his right

13

hand, thus supporting [Employer’s] contention that

[Claimant] has sustained loss of use of these digits in this

amount. Dr. Kann’s conclusion is certainly reasonable,

but has been deemed less credible and persuasive than the

opinions and conclusions of Dr. Thomas, again, for the

reasons reviewed by him in his deposition testimony, as

well as those reviewed above.

WCJ Dec. at 25-26 (R.R. at 233a-234a).

The WCJ summarized:

Claimant’s credible testimony and the medical evidence of

record demonstrate that Claimant’s injury goes beyond

just his three fingers. That evidence shows that Claimant’s

crush injury involves an injury separate and apart going

down into Claimant’s hand and wrist. As such, Claimant

suffered a work injury on March 28, 2018[,] separate and

apart from the specific loss, and as such, the Suspension

Petition must fail.

WCJ Dec. at 22 (R.R. at 230a).

The WCJ concluded:

[Employer] has failed to sustain its burden of proof in the

context of its Suspension Petition . . . , and accordingly

said [Suspension P]etition has been denied.

More specifically, [Employer] has failed to sustain its

burden of establishing that [Claimant] has experienced

specific loss of use only of 50% of his third, fourth, and

fifth digits of his right hand, as the testimony of [Claimant]

has been deemed credible, and accepted, as it comports

very reasonably with the nature and extent of the injuries

sustained by him, as well as the opinions and conclusions

of Dr. Thomas[.]

WCJ Dec. at 26 (R.R. at 234a).

The law is well established:

The WCJ is the fact[-]finder, and it is solely for the

WCJ . . . to assess credibility and to resolve conflicts in the

evidence. Neither the Board nor this Court may reweigh

14

the evidence or the WCJ’s credibility determinations.[14]

In addition, it is solely for the WCJ, as the fact[-]finder, to

determine what weight to give to any evidence. . . . As

such, the WCJ may reject the testimony of any witness in

whole or in part, even if that testimony is uncontradicted.

W. Penn Allegheny Health Sys. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Cochenour), 251

A.3d 467, 475 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2021) (quoting Hawbaker v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal

Bd. (Kriner’s Quality Roofing Servs. & Uninsured Emp. Guar. Fund), 159 A.3d 61,

69 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2017) (internal citations, quotations, and brackets omitted)).

Moreover,

“[f]or purposes of appellate review, it is irrelevant whether

there is evidence to support contrary findings; if

substantial evidence supports the [fact-finder]’s necessary

findings, those findings will not be disturbed on

appeal.”[15] Verizon [Pa.] Inc. v. Workers’ Comp[.] Appeal

[Bd.] (Mills), 116 A.3d 1157, 1162 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015).

When “performing a substantial evidence analysis, this

14

Specifically, “Section 422(a) [of the Act, 77 P.S. § 834,] does not

permit a party to challenge or second-guess the WCJ’s reasons for

credibility determinations. [Thus, u]nless made arbitrarily or

capriciously, a WCJ’s credibility determinations will be upheld on

appeal.”[FN]16 Pa. Uninsured Emp’rs Guar. Fund v. Workers’

Comp. Appeal Bd. (Lyle), 91 A.3d 297, 303 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014)

(quoting Dorsey v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Crossing Constr.

Co.), 893 A.2d 191, 195 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006)).

Capricious disregard “occurs only when the fact-finder

[FN]16

deliberately ignores relevant, competent evidence.”

Williams v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (USX Corp.-

Fairless Works), 862 A.2d 137, 145 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2004).

Capricious disregard, by definition, does not exist where, as

here, the WCJ expressly considered and rejected the

evidence. Id.

Kimberly Clark Corp. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Bromley), 161 A.3d 446, 462 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2017).

15

“Substantial evidence is such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion.” Obimak Enter. v. Dep’t of Health, 200 A.3d 119, 126 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2018) (quoting B.B. Kim’s Mkt., Inc. v. Dep’t of Health, Div. of Women, Infants & Child.

(WIC), 762 A.2d 1134, 1135 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2000)).

15

Court must view the evidence in a light most favorable to

the party who prevailed before the fact-finder.” WAWA v.

Workers’ Comp[.] Appeal [Bd.] (Seltzer), 951 A.2d 405,

408 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008). Further, when determining

whether substantial evidence exists to support a finding of

fact, this Court must give to the party in whose favor the

appealed decision was decided “the benefit of all

inferences that can logically and reasonably be drawn

from the evidence.” B.J.K. v. Dep[’t] of Pub[.] Welfare,

773 A.2d 1271, 1276 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001).

Obimak Enter. v. Dep’t of Health, 200 A.3d 119, 126 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2018). In the

instant matter, the Board affirmed the WCJ’s decision on the basis that substantial

record evidence supported the WCJ’s factual findings. See Board Op. at 4-6 (R.R.

at 250a-252a).

In order to succeed on its Suspension Petition, Employer had to prove

that Claimant’s work injury was limited to the 50% loss of use of the third, fourth,

and fifth digits of his right hand. The WCJ concluded, based on the record evidence

he deemed credible, that Employer failed to meet its burden. Employer’s appeal

essentially is an attack on the WCJ’s credibility determinations. Because the WCJ’s

credibility determinations were clearly supported by the record, this Court may not

disturb them. See Verizon Pa. Inc.; see also Pocono Mountain Sch. Dist. Moreover,

giving Claimant “the benefit of all inferences that can logically and reasonably be

drawn from the evidence[,]” Obimak Enter., 200 A.3d at 126 (quoting B.J.K., 773

A.2d at 1276), as we must, this Court holds that substantial evidence supported the

WCJ’s findings that Claimant suffered disability due to the loss of use of his right

wrist and hand separate and apart from his accepted work injuries. See Pocono

Mountain Sch. Dist. Accordingly, the WCJ did not err by denying Employer’s

Suspension Petition.

16

Based on the foregoing, the Board’s order is affirmed.

_________________________________

ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

Judge Fizzano Cannon and Judge Dumas did not participate in the decision in this

matter.

17

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Reed Shaffer Construction and :

Donegal Mutual Insurance Company, :

Petitioners :

:

v. :

:

Glynn Smith (Workers’ Compensation :

Appeal Board), : No. 1003 C.D. 2021

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 6th day of July, 2022, the Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board’s August 23, 2021 order is affirmed.

_________________________________

ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.