Opinion

DeNardis v. Commonwealth, Unemployment Compensation Board of Review

  • 76 Pa. Commw. 212
  • 463 A.2d 116
  • 1983 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 1832
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Aug 5, 1983
Status
Published
Author
Doyle
On the bench
Craig, Doyle, Rogers
Cited by
4 cases
Authority
More cited than 73.6%

employer need not have a policy prohibiting the use of company property for personal use because no such policy is necessary for an employee to understand the wrongfulness of that conduct

How later courts described this case

  • employer need not have a policy prohibiting the use of company property for personal use because no such policy is necessary for an employee to understand the wrongfulness of that conduct
  • claimant did not meet his burden of proving that his unauthorized personal use of employer's vehicle was not contrary to a reasonable standard of behavior expected of an employee

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Opinion by

Judge Doyle,

Before this Court is an appeal by Antonio De-Nardis (Claimant) from a decision and order of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board) affirming a referee’s denial of benefits pursuant to Section 402(e) of the Unemployment Compensation Law (Law), Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S. §802(e) (the “willful misconduct” clause).

Claimant was employed by the Lawrence County CETA Office (Employer) as private sector coordinator. On March 3, 1981, the County Commissioners unanimously voted to discharge Claimant for using Employer’s stationery and postage meter for the purpose. of mailing non-work related literature. Claimant filed for unemployment compensation benefits but they were denied on the grounds that the activity which led to his discharge constituted willful misconduct. On appeal to this Court, Claimant asserts that there is not substantial evidence to support a. conclusion that his activities constituted “willful misconduct.” He also argues that he was actually fired because of his activities on behalf of his union, AFSCME.

The burden of establishing that an employee was discharged for “willful misconduct” such that will render him ineligible for unemployment compensation is on the employer. Bignell v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 61 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 568 , 434 A.2d 869 (1981). Whether certain conduct constitutes “willful misconduct” under the Law is a question of law subject to this Court’s review. *214 Nolan v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 57 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 186 , 425 A.2d 1203 (1981). An employee’s conduct will not be deemed to be disqualifying “willful misconduct” if there was good cause for his actions. Frumento v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 466 Pa. 81 , 351 A.2d 631 (1976).

In the case at bar, the incident which triggered Claimant’s discharge was the return to Employer’s office on February 20, 1981, of two letters mailed by Claimant to members of the local Jaycees. The letters were on Employer’s stationery and had been stamped on Employer’s postage meter. Claimant does not deny that these letters were not directly related to his employment. Instead, he asserts that, consistent with the function of his position, his working with the Jaycees was designed to improve the image of the CETA program and help establish contracts for it with private industry. Claimant also points out that he had received no prior warnings concerning non-work related activities and that he was active in his union’s interactions with Employer and that this had engendered some degree of hostility which he believes was the real reason for this discharge.

A review of the record, however, reveals testimony supportive of a finding that the letters mailed by Claimant bore no relationship whatsoever to Employer. Eather, they concerned a program exclusively related to the Jaycees. Also, representatives of Employer adamantly disclaimed any connection between Claimant’s union activities and his discharge. As it is the province of the Board, as the ultimate finder of fact, to resolve conflicts in the evidence and to assess the credibility of witnesses and the weight oí the evi *215 deuce presented, Taylor v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 61 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 5 , 432 A.2d 642 (1981), this Court is not free to reverse the Board’s findings that - Claimant’s use- .of Employer’s materials was not work related and that his firing was not for union activities. A prior warning that a course of conduct is improper is not necessary to a conclusion of willful misconduct, see Bollinger v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 68 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 575 , 449 A.2d 868 (1982), and as the misappropriation of Employer’s property for personal use can he willful misconduct as a matter of law, even absent the violation of a rule, Harmon v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 66 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 320 , 444 A.2d 806 (1982), we affirm the Board’s denial of benefits. 1

Order

Now, August 5, 1983, the decision and order of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review in the above captioned matter, No. B-199140, dated September 9,1981, is hereby affirmed.

Claimant also argues that, as only $.36 was involved (the postage for two letters), his activity was de minimis in nature, not detrimental to Employer and therefore not sufficient grounds for a conclusion of “willful misconduct.” See Gladkowslci v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 35 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 108 , 384 A.2d 1365 (1978). Aside from the fact the Claimant’s argu ment avoids the question of how many letters were sent out with the two that were returned, but were not returned because they had correct addresses, we must reject his argument. Where the misappropriation of an employer’s property is shown and there-is a corresponding pecuniary loss to the employer, as occurred in the case at bar, it is- clear that the employee’s' activity is in a real sense detrimental to the interest of the employer and a conclusion that there was disqualifying “willful misconduct” is warranted. See Id. See e.g. James v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 59 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 230 , 429 A.2d 782 (1981).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.