Opinion

Lawson, Charles v. Amazon.com Services, LLC

  • 2022 TN WC App. 18
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
May 10, 2022
Status
Published
On the bench
Pele I. Godkin, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 8.4%

The opinion

FILED

May 10, 2022

09:13 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Charles Lawson ) Docket No. 2021-01-0213

)

v. ) State File No. 56752-2020

)

Amazon.com Services, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

The employee alleged he injured his back while lifting a case of merchandise from a pallet

to a tote bag. The authorized physician opined that the employee’s injury was not due to a

work incident, and the employer refused to authorize further medical care. The employee

sought treatment with an unauthorized provider, who opined that the employee’s injuries

arose primarily out of his employment and that the employment contributed more than fifty

percent in causing his injuries and need for medical treatment. Following an expedited

hearing, the trial court concluded that, based on its assessment of the competing medical

opinions and the employee’s lay testimony, the opinion of the unauthorized physician was

sufficient to rebut the presumption of correctness afforded to the authorized physician’s

causation opinion. As such, the trial court found that the employee is likely to prevail at

trial in proving the aggravation of his preexisting back condition arose primarily out of and

in the course and scope of his employment. The court designated the employee’s selected

physician as the authorized physician for ongoing care and awarded temporary disability

benefits. Upon careful review of the record on appeal, we affirm the trial court’s order and

remand the case for further proceedings.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding Judge

Timothy W. Conner joined.

W. Troy Hart, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Amazon.com, LLC

Brent Burks, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Charles Lawson

1

Factual and Procedural Background

This is the second interlocutory appeal in this case. A recitation of the full history

of the litigation is not necessary to address the present appeal, but, for context, we have set

out portions of the factual and procedural background from our earlier decision:

Charles Lawson (“Employee”) worked for Amazon.com Services,

LLC (“Employer”), as a fulfillment associate at one of its distribution centers

in Hamilton County. On August 31, 2020, Employee reported experiencing

low back pain radiating down his left lower extremity while lifting heavy

totes at work. He was initially seen at Employer’s onsite clinic, then selected

Dr. Robert Sass, an osteopathic doctor with Nova Medical Centers, from

Employer’s panel of physicians. During his initial visit with Dr. Sass, which

occurred on the date of the accident, Employee reported having experienced

prior low back problems. According to Dr. Sass’s August 31 report,

Employee described a “history of back problems including a pinched nerve

and has sciatic pain intermittently.” Employee also reportedly told Dr. Sass

of having “back pain once a month,” which he treated with pain medications.

According to Dr. Sass’s report, there was “[n]o specific incident . . . no slip,

trip[,] fall or faulty equipment.” 1 As a result of Dr. Sass’s examination, he

concluded “within a reasonable degree of medical certainty” that Employee

“is experiencing a flare of back pain” due to a “chronic back issue” and that

“no work injury has occurred.” Thereafter, Employer denied Employee’s

claim.

After leaving Dr. Sass’s office, Employee went to a local emergency

room, where he reported “low back pain and burning into his left leg and

foot.” He also reported a “history of spinal stenosis and a disc problem.”

With respect to his pre-existing condition, Employee “describe[d] having [a]

problem years ago [but] never had to have surgery and has not been having

pain since that time.” He reported the work incident as having occurred when

he “lifted some Gatorade and felt pain in his low back and down his left leg.”

A CT of the lumbar spine revealed “spinal stenosis from L3-S1.” Employee

was diagnosed with a lumbar strain, spinal stenosis, left sided sciatica, and

degenerative arthritis. A consultation was sought from Dr. Garrick Cason of

Comprehensive Spine Institute, who recommended Employee take steroidal

medication and undergo physical therapy.

1

We note, however, that earlier in the same paragraph of his August 31 report, Dr. Sass noted Employee

had described an incident on 8/31/2020 at 7:40 a.m. “while moving an item” in which Employee “developed

low back pain and left leg pain.”

2

Thereafter, Employee sought treatment on his own from Dr. Cason,

who he first saw on October 1, 2020. Employee reported that he “was injured

at work on 8/31/2020 picking up an item” and described “immediately

[feeling] pain in his lower back and down either side of his [left lower

extremity].” Dr. Cason noted that the “[c]ausative event at the time of

symptom onset [was] reported as picking up [an] item at work.” Under “past

medical history,” Dr. Cason indicated Employee had reported a history of

osteoarthritis, but there was nothing in his report indicating Employee had

described prior low back injuries or any significant treatment to the lumbar

spine.

Diagnostic scans ordered by Dr. Cason were interpreted as revealing

“retrolisthesis” at L4 through S1 and “neuroforaminal stenosis” at L4-S1.

Dr. Cason described these findings as “mild degenerative disc arthritis at L5-

S1” and “facet joint degenerative arthritis at L4-L5, moderate left and mild

right.” Dr. Cason diagnosed degenerative changes in the lumbar spine, as

well as “[l]umbar [r]adiculopathy on the left.” He opined that “[b]ased on

the patient’s history and clinical evaluation, the current problem is consistent

with the accident described by the patient.” Dr. Cason also signed a form on

October 1 indicating that Employee “is temporarily and totally disabled from

any gainful employment at the present time.” Later, Dr. Cason signed an

affidavit in which he stated, “within a reasonable degree of medical certainty,

and considering all causes, that Mr. Lawson’s lumbar injuries and the

aggravation of his pre-existing lumbar spine conditions, which he suffered

while lifting and moving a large . . . box on August 31, 2020, arose primarily

out of and in the course and scope of his employment.”

Employee filed a request for hearing and attached medical records,

Employee’s affidavit, and the affidavit from Dr. Cason. Prior to the hearing,

Employer filed a motion in limine seeking to exclude from evidence Dr.

Cason’s records and affidavit. In support of its motion, Employer asserted

Dr. Cason’s medical opinions were “fundamentally untrustworthy” because

Employee had failed to explain to Dr. Cason the extent and nature of his prior

injuries and pre-existing condition, as well as his chronic, intermittent low

back symptoms and his use of medications to treat those symptoms.

In its order denying Employer’s motion, the trial court noted that rules

governing the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims provide that medical

records and “letters or written statements addressing medical causation

signed by a physician” are admissible at an expedited hearing. See Tenn.

Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.15(2) and -.16(2)(b). The trial court then

determined that the objections raised by Employer go to the weight but not

the admissibility of the evidence in question.

3

Employer appealed, and we affirmed the trial court’s order on December 27, 2021,

agreeing with the trial court that Dr. Cason’s records and affidavit were admissible at the

expedited hearing, and remanded the case. Following our remand, Employee sought

medical and temporary disability benefits for his back injury, and the trial court held an

expedited hearing on February 15, 2022. In support of its denial of additional benefits,

Employer relied on the opinion of Dr. Sass, the authorized treating physician, who opined

Employee’s condition was not work-related. Employee relied on a competing causation

opinion from Dr. Cason. After the hearing, the trial court concluded Employee was likely

to prevail at trial in proving the aggravation of his preexisting back condition arose

primarily out of and in the course and scope of his employment. Specifically, the court

noted that Dr. Sass had only seen Employee on one occasion and that his opinion was

inconsistent, in part, because it was “based on factors contrary to and outside the statutory

definition of an injury by accident.” Conversely, the court observed that Dr. Cason

followed Employee over several months and formed his opinion with the benefit of

objective studies and “knowledge of [Employee’s] condition after receiving spinal

injections and therapy.” After considering these factors along with Employee’s testimony,

which it found credible, the trial court concluded that Dr. Cason’s causation opinion offered

the more probable explanation and was sufficient to overcome the presumption of

correctness afforded to Dr. Sass’s causation opinion as the authorized treating provider.

The trial court ordered Employer to provide additional medical benefits, designated Dr.

Cason as the treating physician for ongoing care, and awarded past due temporary disability

benefits. Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2021). When the trial judge has had the opportunity

to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable

deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn.,

Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need be

afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2021).

4

Analysis

On appeal, Employer asserts “the trial court erred in determining that Employee

overcame the presumption of correctness afforded to the authorized treating physician.”

Employee contends the presumption of correctness afforded to Dr. Sass was properly

rebutted and maintains Employer’s appeal is frivolous. Employee further asserts

Employer’s brief on appeal should not be considered because it was not filed within ten

(10) business days after the filing of its notice of appeal pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. and

Regs. 0800-02-22-.05(2).

With respect Employee’s objection to Employer’s brief, Rule 0800-02-22-.05(2)

provides, in pertinent part:

The appellant shall file a brief with the clerk of the court of workers’

compensation claims within ten (10) business days of the filing of a transcript

or joint statement of the evidence. If no transcript or statement of the

evidence is filed or if a dispute regarding a statement of the evidence or the

contents of the record is submitted to the trial court, the appellant shall file a

brief within ten (10) business days of the expiration of the time to file a

transcript or statement of the evidence or within ten (10) business days of the

date the trial court enters an order resolving any dispute concerning the

contents of the record or a joint statement of the evidence, whichever is later.

Employer timely filed its notice of appeal on February 28, 2022. The deadline for

Employer to file a transcript or a statement of the evidence was March 14, 2022, and

Employer’s brief was due, at the latest, on March 28, 2022. Employer did not timely file

a transcript, statement of the evidence, or a motion for an extension of time by the March

14 deadline. Instead, Employer filed a motion for an extension of time to file the technical

record on March 31, 2022, seventeen days after the March 14 deadline for filing a

transcript, citing problems obtaining the transcript. Because the responsibility for filing

the technical record rests with the Clerk of the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

rather than the parties, we denied Employer’s motion for an extension of time on April 5,

2022. Employer submitted its brief, which was due on or before March 28, on April 8.

The brief was not accompanied by a motion for an extension of time, and no appropriate

motion had previously been filed. Because Employer failed to file a brief or an appropriate

motion for an extension within the timeframe set forth in Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0800-

02-22-.05(2), we decline to consider its brief on appeal, as it is not properly before us. 2

2

In its order, the trial court designated Employee’s selected physician, Dr. Cason, to be the authorized

physician for continuing medical care. Because this issue was not raised directly by Employer in its notice

of appeal or brief, which we declined to consider, we need not address it here.

5

Turning to the issue raised by Employer in its notice of appeal, Employer contends

Employee failed to overcome the presumption of correctness afforded to Dr. Sass as the

authorized treating physician. The trial court found Dr. Cason’s opinion was sufficient to

rebut the presumption of correctness afforded to Dr. Sass’s opinion, and the trial court’s

conclusion is presumed correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (“There shall be a presumption that the findings and

conclusions of the workers’ compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of

the evidence is otherwise.”). After a careful review of the record on appeal, we conclude

that the evidence does not preponderate against the trial court’s decision.

It is well-settled that, when faced with competing expert opinions, a “trial judge has

the discretion to determine which testimony to accept.” Payne v. UPS, No. M2013-02363-

SC-R3-WC, 2014 Tenn. LEXIS 1112, at *18 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Dec. 30, 2014).

In doing so, the trial court can consider, among other things, “the qualifications of the

experts, the circumstances of their examination, the information available to them, and the

evaluation of the importance of that information by other experts.” Bass v. The Home

Depot U.S.A., Inc., No. 2016-06-1038, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 36, at *9

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 26, 2017). When a trial court evaluates expert

medical proof of causation, it must give the opinion of an authorized treating physician a

presumption of correctness, but this presumption can be rebutted by a preponderance of

the evidence. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(E) (2021).

Here, we cannot conclude that that trial court erred in accrediting the opinion of Dr.

Cason over that of Dr. Sass in determining Employee will likely prevail at a hearing on the

merits. The judge considered both medical opinions and accorded the causation opinion

of Dr. Cason greater weight. In doing so, the court noted that Employee was seen only

once by Dr. Sass, whose report was inconsistent in stating that Employee provided a history

of pain while moving an item at work but later indicated that “no specific incident

occurred.” The court also assigned little weight to Dr. Sass’s opinion because he “based

his opinion on factors contrary to and outside the statutory definition of an injury by

accident.”

In contrast, the court noted that Dr. Cason followed Employee over the course of

several months and provided his medical opinion with the benefit of diagnostic studies and

“knowledge of [Employee’s] condition after receiving spinal injections and therapy.” In

addition, the court also considered Employee’s testimony to be credible with regard to his

medical history and mechanism of injury. After considering these factors in conjunction

with Employee’s credible lay testimony, the court concluded Dr. Cason’s opinion was

sufficient to overcome the presumption of correctness afforded to Dr. Sass’s causation

opinion. Under the circumstances, we conclude that the preponderance of the evidence

supports the trial court’s determinations.

6

Finally, Employee has asked that we deem Employer’s appeal frivolous and award

attorneys’ fees and costs. Under the circumstances presented in this case, we conclude

Employer’s appeal is not frivolous, and we decline to award attorneys’ fees and costs.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s decision and remand the case

for further action as may be necessary. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Charles Lawson ) Docket No. 2021-01-0213

)

v. ) State File No. 56752-2020

)

Amazon.com Services, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 10th day

of May, 2022.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

W. Troy Hart X wth@mijs.com

dmduignan@mijs.com

Brent Burks X brentburks@mcmahanlawfirm.com

katiereed@mcmahanlawfirm.com

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.