Opinion

Williams, Lawrence v. Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare

  • 2022 TN WC App. 15
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Apr 29, 2022
Status
Published
On the bench
Timothy W. Conner, Pele I. Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 8.3%

“a statute treating the subject matter in a general manner should not be considered as intended to affect the more particular provision”

How later courts described this case

  • “a statute treating the subject matter in a general manner should not be considered as intended to affect the more particular provision”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

FILED

Apr 29, 2022

09:10 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Lawrence Williams, as Surviving Spouse ) Docket No. 2021-08-0034

of Linda Williams )

) State File No. 115680-2020

v. )

)

Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana C. Seymour, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

The employee-decedent, a healthcare worker, died after contracting COVID-19. The

employer and the decedent’s surviving spouse reached an agreement for the payment of

death benefits pursuant to Tennessee’s Workers’ Compensation Law. However, the trial

court declined to approve the settlement because the proposed agreement included a

calculation of the maximum total benefit that was not consistent with Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-102(15)(D). Thereafter, the trial court conducted a compensation

hearing in which the only issue was the meaning and correct calculation of the maximum

total benefit. The trial court concluded the maximum total benefit is calculated by

multiplying the state’s average weekly wage as of the date of the employee’s death by 450

weeks. The employer has appealed. Upon careful review of the statutes at issue and

relevant precedent, we affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final.

Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which

Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

Kevin Washburn, Memphis, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Methodist LeBonheur

Healthcare

Lawrence Williams, Memphis, Tennessee, surviving spouse-appellee, pro se

Factual and Procedural Background

Linda Williams (“Decedent”), worked for Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare

(“Employer”) as a sitter and transporter. On December 2, 2020, Decedent tragically passed

1

away due to “acute COVID-19 pneumonia” and “severe acute hypoxic respiratory failure.”

Thereafter, Lawrence Williams (“Surviving Spouse”) and Employer reached an agreement

for the payment of death benefits under Tennessee’s Workers’ Compensation Law.

Employer produced a wage statement showing an average weekly wage of $616.40 for the

fifty-two-week period preceding Decedent’s death. 1 The proposed settlement agreement

provided for the payment of fifty percent of Decedent’s average weekly wage to Surviving

Spouse as the sole dependent, in accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-

6-210(e)(1). It also provided that Employer’s maximum potential liability, termed the

“maximum total benefit,” was calculated by multiplying 66 2/3% of Decedent’s average

weekly wage by 450 weeks. In the circumstances of the present case, this calculation

would result in a maximum total benefit of $184,918.50.

When the parties presented the proposed settlement agreement to the trial court, it

declined to approve the settlement due to Employer’s proposed calculation of the

maximum total benefit. 2 Thereafter, Employer filed a petition and a legal argument

outlining the basis for its calculation, and the trial court scheduled a compensation hearing

to address the issue. Following the hearing, the court issued an order rejecting Employer’s

calculation of the maximum total benefit and awarding Surviving Spouse death benefits

with a maximum total benefit of $447,300.00, the calculation mandated by Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-102(15)(D). Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing the trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2021). The interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo. See Mansell v.

Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also

mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly,

impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way

that does not favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116

(2021).

Analysis

The sole issue presented in this appeal is whether the definition of “maximum total

benefit” contained in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(15)(D) is inconsistent

1

The calculations contained in the wage statement are not disputed in this appeal. Thus, we accept those

calculations as accurate and do not address them further.

2

Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-240, all workers’ compensation settlements must be

approved by a judge, and judges on the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims have the authority to

approve or reject a settlement.

2

with the provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated sections 50-6-209 and -210, which set

out the “maximum compensation” in death cases and the manner in which death benefits

are paid. Because the resolution of this issue requires consideration of principles of

statutory construction, we set out the relevant statutory language as follows:

(A) “Maximum total benefit” means the sum of all weekly benefits to which

a worker may be entitled;

....

(D) For injuries occurring on or after July 1, 2014, the maximum total benefit

shall be four hundred fifty (450) weeks times one hundred percent (100%) of

the state’s average weekly wage . . . except in instances of permanent total

disability.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(15) (2021). When determining the benefits owed to surviving

dependents, the statute provides:

(1) In all cases of death of an employee covered by this chapter, sixty-six and

two-thirds percent (66 2/3%) of the average weekly wages shall be paid in

cases where the deceased worker leaves dependents, subject to the maximum

weekly benefit.

....

(3) The total amount of compensation payable under this subsection (b) shall

not exceed the maximum total benefit exclusive of medical, hospital, and

funeral benefits.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-209(b) (2021) (emphasis added). Lastly, when determining the

method of paying those benefits to the surviving dependents, the statute instructs that “[i]f

the deceased employee leaves a surviving spouse and no dependent children, there shall be

paid to the surviving spouse fifty percent (50%) of the average weekly wages of the

deceased.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-210(e)(1) (2021) (emphasis added).

We have previously addressed principles of statutory construction that guide our

analysis:

When construing a statute, our goal is to ascertain and give effect to the

legislative intent without unduly restricting or expanding a statute’s coverage

beyond its intended scope. We determine legislative intent from the natural

and ordinary meaning of the statutory language within the context of the

entire statute without any forced or subtle construction that would extend or

3

limit the statute’s meaning. . . . In addition, we must construe a statute so that

no part will be inoperative, superfluous, void[,] or insignificant. We are

required to give effect to every word, phrase, clause[,] and sentence of the

act in order to achieve the Legislature’s intent[,] and we must construe a

statute so that no section will destroy another.

Thompson v. Comcast Corp., No. 2017-05-0639, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

1, at *24-25 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 30, 2018) (internal quotation marks and

citations omitted).

In the present case, Employer asserts that the definition of “maximum total benefit”

contained in section 102(15)(D) is inconsistent with the maximum compensation

provisions applied to death cases in section 209(b). In Employer’s view, section 50-6-

209(b) “clearly attaches the proper death benefits to be paid to the dependent directly to

the earnings of the deceased worker, subject to the maximum weekly benefit.” Employer

then argues that because subsection 209(b) is a more specific provision applicable to death

cases, it trumps the more general definition of maximum total benefit contained in section

50-6-102(15). See, e.g., Woodroof v. City of Nashville, 192 S.W.2d 1013, 1015 (Tenn.

1946) (“a statute treating the subject matter in a general manner should not be considered

as intended to affect the more particular provision”). Contrary to Employer’s position, we

conclude that the statutory provisions at issue in this case are not in conflict.

In cases where the parties agree the employee’s death arose primarily from a

compensable work accident, two questions must be addressed when calculating a

dependent’s death benefits: (1) the weekly amount owed to the dependent; and (2) the

duration of the payments. The statutory provisions noted above address each of these

questions separately. With respect to the weekly amount owed to the dependent, section

50-6-210(e)(1) specifies that if the dependent is a surviving spouse and there are no

dependent children, the surviving spouse will receive fifty percent (50%) of the employee’s

average weekly wage, and subsection 209(b)(1) limits that weekly payment to no more

than the “maximum weekly benefit.” 3 Thus, we agree with Employer that, at least with

respect to the weekly amount owed, the calculation of the surviving spouse’s weekly

benefit is tied to the deceased employee’s average weekly wage.

However, the second question regarding the potential duration of payments is not

addressed in subsections 209(b)(1) or 210(e)(1). Instead, section 50-6-209(b)(3) states that

“[t]he total amount of compensation payable . . . shall not exceed the maximum total

benefit.” Further, section 50-6-210(e)(10) provides that “[t]his compensation shall be paid

during dependency not to exceed the maximum total benefit.” As noted by the trial court,

the definition of “maximum total benefit” contained in section 50-6-102(15)(D) expressly

3

The term “maximum weekly benefit” is defined in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(16).

4

ties the maximum total benefit to the state’s, not the employee’s, average weekly wage. 4

Because these provisions describe an employer’s maximum potential liability, but not the

rate at which periodic benefits are paid, these definitions impact the potential duration of

benefits only. Thus, certain terminating events, such as the death or remarriage of a

surviving spouse, or reaching the maximum total benefit, impact the duration of the

payments but not the calculation of the periodic amount owed.

An analogous issue was addressed by the Tennessee Supreme Court in Jones v.

General Accident Ins. Co., 856 S.W.2d 133 (Tenn. 1993). In Jones, the only dependent of

the deceased worker was a surviving spouse. Id. at 134. When the trial court awarded

death benefits, it specified the surviving spouse was entitled to fifty percent of the

employee’s average weekly wage until remarriage or the expiration of 400 weeks,

whichever occurred first. Id. On appeal, the Supreme Court rejected this calculation,

explaining:

[Tennessee Code Annotated] section 50-6-210 does not specifically limit

death benefits to dependents to any set number of weeks . . . . Thus, even

though death benefits to dependents are subject to the maximum and

minimum weekly benefits and maximum total benefit, [section] 50-6-210

does not place a limit on the number of weeks such benefits are to be paid.

Consequently, an award of death benefits should continue to be paid beyond

400 weeks until the maximum total benefit is reached which, in this case, is

$117,600.

Id. at 135. The Court then concluded, “We hold that the only limitation on death benefits

is that the compensation be paid during dependency and must not exceed the maximum

total benefit.” Id.

In Reynolds v. Free Service Tire Co., No. E2014-02233-SC-R3-WC, 2015 Tenn.

LEXIS 734 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Sept. 16, 2015), the Supreme Court’s Special

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel addressed the issue raised in this appeal. 5 In

rejecting the arguments of the employer in that case, which are similar to Employer’s

arguments here, the Appeals Panel explained:

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(13)(D) (Supp. 2009) provides

the maximum total benefit “[f]or injuries occurring on or after July 1,

4

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(16)(B) provides that the state’s average weekly wage will

be determined on an annual basis “and shall be adjusted annually using data from the bureau.”

5

We note Employer’s argument that, because Reynolds is an unpublished opinion, it is not controlling

authority. We agree it is not controlling authority, but we conclude it is nevertheless persuasive authority.

See Rule 4(G)(1) of the Rules of the Tennessee Supreme Court (“Unpublished opinions of the Special

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel shall likewise be considered persuasive authority.”).

5

2009 . . . shall be four hundred (400) times one hundred percent (100%) of

the state’s average weekly wage[.]” Thus, the maximum total benefit has

been detached from the individual employee’s earnings and is once again an

across-the-board figure.

Id. at *8. The 2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act retained the language from the

2009 version of the definition of “maximum total benefit” tying the calculation to the

state’s average weekly wage instead of the employee’s average weekly wage, but it

changed the multiplier from 400 weeks to 450 weeks. That definition has not been

amended since 2013 and is applicable to the present case.

We see no reason to depart from the rationale expressed in Jones and Reynolds, and

we find no basis to distinguish those cases from the present case. The calculation of the

rate at which a surviving spouse receives periodic payments of death benefits is governed

by different statutory provisions than those governing the duration of those payments. We

conclude those provisions are not in conflict. In accordance with accepted principles of

statutory construction, we are required to “give effect to every word, phrase, clause[,] and

sentence of the act in order to achieve the Legislature’s intent[,]” and we must “construe a

statute so that no section will destroy another.” Thompson, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App.

Bd. LEXIS 1, at *25. Therefore, we conclude that although the rate at which dependents

receive death benefits is based on the deceased employee’s average weekly wage, the

potential duration of those payments is not tied to the deceased employee’s wages but is

instead subject to an across-the-board limitation based on the state’s average weekly wage

as of the date of death. The trial court correctly interpreted the relevant statutory provisions

and, thus, we affirm.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final.

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Lawrence Williams, as Surviving Spouse ) Docket No. 2021-08-0034

of Linda Williams )

) State File No. 115680-2020

v. )

)

Methodist LeBonheur Healthcare )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Deana C. Seymour, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 29th day

of April, 2022.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Kevin Washburn X kwashburn@allensummers.com

kbrummel@allensummers.com

Lawrence Williams X acoach51@gmail.com

Deana C. Seymour, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.