Opinion

North Hills S.D. v. UCBR

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Apr 13, 2022
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Wojcik, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 8.1%

stating that “remedial legislation [] is to be liberally construed . . . and exclusions under the [a]ct should be narrowly, rather than broadly, determined”

How later courts described this case

  • stating that “remedial legislation [] is to be liberally construed . . . and exclusions under the [a]ct should be narrowly, rather than broadly, determined”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

North Hills School District, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 700 C.D. 2021

: Submitted: March 4, 2022

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: April 13, 2022

North Hills School District (Employer) petitions for review of the order

of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board) affirming the

decision of a Referee who determined that Erin Traynor (Claimant) is not ineligible

for benefits under Section 402.1(1) of the Unemployment Compensation Law

(Law).1 We affirm.

1

Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, added by the

Act of July 6, 1977, P.L. 41, 43 P.S. §802.1(1). Section 402.1(1) of the Law states, in pertinent

part:

(1) With respect to service performed after December 31, 1977, in

an instructional . . . capacity for an educational institution, benefits

(Footnote continued on next page…)

On August 10, 2020, Claimant filed an online application for benefits

for the waiting week ending August 15, 2020. Certified Record (CR) at 3, 6-10. On

December 10, 2020, the Department’s Office of Unemployment Compensation

Benefits issued a Notice of Determination (Determination) in which it found that

Claimant was not ineligible for benefits under Section 402.1 of the Law because

“Claimant d[id] not have reasonable assurance of returning [to work] following the

[summer] break.” Id. at 14. On December 23, 2020, Employer appealed the

Determination alleging, in relevant part:

shall not be paid based on such services for any week of

unemployment commencing during the period between two

successive academic years . . . to any individual if such individual

performs such services in the first of such academic years or terms

and if there is . . . a reasonable assurance that such individual will

perform services in any such capacity for any educational

institution in the second of such academic years or terms.

[(Emphasis added).]

In turn, Section 65.161(a) of the Department of Labor and Industry’s (Department)

regulations states, in relevant part:

(a) For purposes of [S]ection 402.1 of the [L]aw (43 P.S. §802.1), a

. . . reasonable assurance that an individual will perform services in

the second academic period exists only if both of the following

conditions are met:

(1) The educational institution . . . provides a bona fide offer of

employment for the second academic period to the individual.

(2) The economic terms and conditions of the employment offered

to the individual for the second academic period are not substantially

less than the terms and conditions of the individual’s employment

in the first academic period.

34 Pa. Code §65.161(a).

2

The reasonable assurance issue states that [C]laimant did

not return following the school break. The included

[September 4, 2020] letter [from Employer’s

Superintendent] demonstrates that [C]laimant was, in fact,

rehired as a substitute teacher for the 2020-2021 school

year.

CR at 20.

On January 28, 2021, a hearing was conducted before the Referee

during which Claimant testified, and Employer offered the testimony of Pamela

LaBrasca, Employer’s Administrative Assistant of Human Resources, along with

the Superintendent’s September 4, 2020 letter offering Claimant employment as a

substitute teacher for the 2020-2021 school year, effective August 25, 2020, and call

logs regarding Claimant’s substitute assignments during the 2020-2021 school year.

CR at 58-61, 65, 69-71, 74-81.2 LaBrasca testified, inter alia, that Claimant resigned

her employment as a teacher with Employer on January 10, 2020, and that she began

substitute teaching for Employer on January 13, 2020. Id. at 74. LaBrasca stated

that Claimant’s last day of work for Employer in the 2019-2020 school year was

March 11, 2020. Id. With respect to the Superintendent’s September 4, 2020 letter,

LaBrasca testified:

This letter is a letter that we send out to all of our

substitutes, they get a reasonable assurance letter over the

2

Specifically, the Superintendent’s September 4, 2020 letter states, in pertinent part:

Please accept this letter as an administrative appointment to the

position of substitute teacher at the rate of $95/day effective August

25, 2020, through the end of the 2020-21 school year. . . .

Your appointment was ratified at the September 3, 2020 meeting by

the Board of School Directors.

CR at 65.

3

summer, stating that they are planning on coming back,

unless we do not hear from them at that time, we terminate

them, and [if] we do hear from them, then we Board

approve them and Board Administrative [sic] appoint

them to the position of a substitute teacher. We send them

this note to let them know that they were appointed to [be]

a substitute teacher for the entire school year and give

them their rate.

Id. at 75-76. Claimant denied that she received such reasonable assurance to return

to the same or similar position following the school break. Id. at 80-81.

On February 2, 2021, the Referee issued a Decision/Order affirming the

Determination that Claimant is not ineligible for benefits under Section 402.1 of the

Law. CR at 87-92. On February 17, 2021, Employer appealed the Referee’s

Decision/Order to the Board. Id. at 94-101.

On May 28, 2021, the Board issued a Decision and Order affirming the

Referee’s Decision/Order in which it made the following pertinent findings of fact:

1. [C]laimant was last employed as a substitute teacher

by [Employer] from January 13, 2020, at a final rate of

$95/day, and her last day of work was March 11, 2020.

2. [C]laimant previously worked for [E]mployer as a

teacher, resigned as a teacher effective January 10, 2020,

but continued to work as a substitute teacher beginning

January 13, 2020.

3. [E]mployer’s 2020-2021 school year began on

August 25, 2020.

4. [C]laimant did not receive reasonable assurance of

continuing work for [E]mployer as a substitute teacher in

the 2020-2021 school year until she was informed, by

letter dated September 4, 2020, that [E]mployer’s Board

of School Directors ratified her appointment as a substitute

teacher on September 3, 2020.

CR at 103.

4

Based on the foregoing, the Board determined:

Critically, this case involves [C]laimant’s eligibility for

benefits during the summer school break, beginning with

the week ending August 15, 2020-and not the weeks

beginning with the new school term. The computerized

call logs submitted by [E]mployer to show that [C]laimant

was contacted about substitute assignments from August

25, 2020-January 4, 2021, are not relevant to [C]laimant’s

eligibility for benefits for the waiting week ending August

15, 2020, under Section 402.1(1) of the Law, other than to

possibly prove that a previous offer of reasonable

assurance was not illusory. The real question in this case

is whether [E]mployer offered [C]laimant, who had been

in her first year as a substitute teacher, reasonable

assurance of returning to employment before or over the

summer break of returning to work in the same or similar

capacity in the next school year.

[E]mployer both maintained that its September 4, 2020

letter to [C]laimant establishes that she had reasonable

assurance that “all substitutes get a reasonable assurance

letter over the summer.” The reasonable assurance letter,

alluded to by [E]mployer’s witness, does not appear in the

record. Moreover, [C]laimant denied receiving reasonable

assurance of returning to work with [E]mployer in the

same or similar position.

The Board gives greater weight to [C]laimant’s testimony

on the question of reasonable assurance. A letter offering

reasonable assurance would seem to be critical in this type

of case. Therefore, the Board is unwilling to infer

reasonable assurance through a general reference to an

earlier letter not appearing in the record. As such,

[C]laimant cannot be denied benefits during the period

between two successive academic years or school terms,

as the record lacks credible or sufficient proof of

reasonable assurance having been extended to [C]laimant

before the beginning of the new school year.

CR at 104. Accordingly, the Board issued an order affirming the Referee’s

Decision/Order, id. at 105, and Employer filed the instant petition for review.

5

On appeal,3 Employer claims that the Board erred as a matter of law in

affirming the Referee’s Decision/Order and that the Board’s Decision and Order are

not supported by substantial evidence. Specifically, the entirety of Employer’s

argument is as follows:

In the instant matter, []Claimant received a letter

dated September 4, 2020[,] confirming that she had been

offered the position of a substitute teacher, as well as the

pay rate satisfying the economic terms as required by

statute. The September 4, 2020 letter states that the offer

is effective August 25, 2020 (CR 65), which corresponds

directly with the first day of school according to

[Employer’s] academic calendar. (CR 63) Boards of

education meet monthly, and in this matter [it] took

official action at [its] earliest opportunity to do so to

approve the substitute position and made the assurance of

the same effective the same day as the start of the

academic year.

Brief of Petitioner at 1.

As outlined above, Section 402.1(1) of the Law states, in pertinent part:

[B]enefits shall not be paid based on such services for any

week of unemployment commencing during the period

between two successive academic years . . . to any

individual if such individual performs such services in the

first of such academic years . . . and if there is . . . a

reasonable assurance that such individual will perform

services in any such capacity for any educational

institution in the second of such academic years or terms.

43 P.S §802.1(1) (emphasis added).

Considering Employer’s appellate claims, “[t]his case turns on the

intent of Section 402.1(1) of the Law, as expressed in its words. 1 Pa. C.S.

3

Our scope of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights were violated,

whether an error of law was committed, and whether necessary findings of fact are supported by

substantial evidence. Kirkwood v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 525 A.2d 841,

843-44 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1987).

6

§1921(a).” Kolenich v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 269 A.3d

615, 623 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2021). With respect to disqualification under Section

402.1(1), this Court has explained:

The basic principle is that “service for educational

institutions” qualifies for unemployment benefits. There

is an exception in subsection (1) for benefits that would

otherwise be payable during a school break, so long as the

employee receives “reasonable assurance” of a job after

the break. Where school employees are “reasonably

assured of resuming employment in a learning institution”

after a break, they are disqualified from receiving benefits

during the break. Penn Hills School District v.

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 437 A.2d

1213, 1217 (Pa. 1981).

269 A.3d at 619.

In construing Section 402.1(1)’s terms, this Court has observed:

[T]he Board gives a broad construction to the exception in

Section 402.1(1) from eligibility for benefits. However,

exceptions in a statute are to be narrowly construed. See

Phillips v. State Ethics Commission, 470 A.2d 659, 661

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1984) (stating that “remedial legislation [] is

to be liberally construed . . . and exclusions under the [a]ct

should be narrowly, rather than broadly, determined”); see

also, e.g., Penn Hills School District, 437 A.2d at 1215

(holding that an unemployed worker can be denied

benefits only by explicit language in the Law that clearly

and plainly excludes coverage).

269 A.3d at 622-23.

In light of the foregoing, it is clear that Employer’s construction of the

exception in Section 402.1(1) is untenable. By its plain terms, in order for Claimant

to be ineligible under Section 402.1(1), she must have received from Employer “a

reasonable assurance” of continued employment in “the second of such academic

years” before the expiration of “the period between two successive academic years,”

7

and before the commencement of “second of such academic years.” 43 P.S.

§802.1(1). Based on the Board’s factual findings,4 Claimant did not receive from

Employer any such “reasonable assurance” of continued employment in the 2020-

2021 academic year during the period of unemployment between the 2019-2020 and

the 2020-2021 academic years. Employer’s post hoc September 4, 2020 letter

simply cannot be relied upon to render Claimant ineligible to receive benefits for the

waiting week ending August 15, 2020, during the break between the academic years,

and before the beginning of the 2020-2021 academic year on August 25, 2020.

Accordingly, the Board’s order is affirmed.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

4

We will not accede to Employer’s request to review the Board’s credibility determinations

or to make additional findings based on assertions in its appellate brief. As this Court has stated:

[I]t is well settled that the Board is the ultimate finder of fact in

unemployment compensation proceedings. Thus, issues of

credibility are for the Board which may either accept or reject a

witness’ testimony whether or not it is corroborated by other

evidence of record. Findings of fact are conclusive upon review

provided that the record, taken as a whole, contains substantial

evidence to support the findings. This Court must examine the

evidence in the light most favorable to the party [that] prevailed

before the Board, and to give that party the benefit of all inferences

that can be logically and reasonably drawn from the testimony.

Chapman v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 20 A.3d 603, 607 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011)

(citations omitted). As outlined above, the Board’s findings are amply supported by evidence in

the certified record of this case, and these findings support the Board’s determination that Claimant

is not ineligible for benefits under Section 402.1(1).

8

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

North Hills School District, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 700 C.D. 2021

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 13th day of April, 2022, the order of the

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review dated May 28, 2021, is

AFFIRMED.

__________________________________

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.