Opinion

L.A. Carpenter v. Family Dollar Stores of PA, LLC (WCAB)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jan 14, 2022
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Wojcik, J.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 4.9%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Lori A. Carpenter, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 379 C.D. 2021

: Submitted: July 23, 2021

Family Dollar Stores of :

Pennsylvania, LLC :

(Workers’ Compensation :

Appeal Board), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge1

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE J. ANDREW CROMPTON, Judge2

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: January 14, 2022

Lori Carpenter (Claimant) petitions this Court for review of the March

10, 2021 order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board), which

affirmed the January 31, 2020 decision and order of the Workers’ Compensation

Judge (WCJ), which granted the termination petition of Family Dollar Stores of

1

This case was assigned to the opinion writer before January 7, 2022, when Judge Cohn

Jubelirer became President Judge.

2

The Court reached the decision in this case prior to the conclusion of Judge Crompton's

service on the Commonwealth Court.

Pennsylvania, LLC (Employer), and denied Claimant’s review and penalty petitions.

After careful review, we affirm.

The relevant facts as found by the WCJ are as follows.3 On February

18, 2017, Claimant sustained a work-related injury during the course of her

employment with Employer, when she was loading gallon water bottles on a shelf,

the top of the shelf broke, the display fell, and it knocked Claimant to the ground.

C.R. at 33. Employer issued a notice of temporary compensation payable, which

converted to a notice of compensation payable (NCP),4 accepting the injuries as

“multiple body parts; contusion to the face; right chest wall; and lower back injury.”

Id. Claimant received full indemnity and medical benefits, and she has not returned

to work. On November 20, 2018, Employer filed a termination petition alleging that

Claimant had fully recovered from her work injuries and was able to return to work

as of November 2, 2018, based on the independent medical examination (IME) and

opinions of Dr. Richard Bennett, who is board certified in neurology and

electromyography. Id. Claimant denied the allegations in Employer’s termination

petition. Id. On February 1, 2019, Claimant filed a penalty petition and a review

petition, alleging that certain medical bills were unpaid, and seeking to amend the

nature and description of her injury to include “traumatic brain injury; cervical

injury; psychological injury stemming from physical injury; and chronic pain

stemming from physical injury.” Id. Employer denied the allegations in Claimant’s

petitions, all the petitions were consolidated, and hearings were held before the WCJ.

3

The January 31, 2020 decision and order of the WCJ appears in the Certified Record

(C.R.) at 30-54.

4

Although Employer issued an amended, temporary NCP for medical expenses only,

counsel agreed before the WCJ that Claimant was receiving both medical and indemnity benefits

for the injuries as described.

2

With respect to its termination petition, Employer presented deposition

testimony of Dr. Bennett. With respect to her review and penalty petitions, Claimant

presented her own testimony, as well as deposition testimony from three of her

treating physicians: Dr. Paul Horchos, who treated Claimant for concussion

symptoms; Dr. Kenneth Zahl, who treated Claimant for various pain symptoms; and,

Dr. Marifel Estrada-Currie, a clinical psychologist who conducted a psychological

evaluation for purposes of evaluating Claimant’s suitability for a spinal cord

stimulator, and then continued to counsel her after the evaluation. In response to

Claimant’s review petition, Employer presented Dr. Bennett’s testimony and

deposition testimony of Dr. Gladys Fenichel, who is board certified in psychiatry

and neurology. Dr. Fenichel performed an IME of Claimant on June 25, 2019, in

light of Dr. Bennett being unable to comment on Claimant’s alleged psychological

injuries. C.R. at 38.

The WCJ summarized at length and in detail the testimony of all

witnesses and made the following relevant findings. Claimant testified that she had

not recovered from her work injuries; that she experienced memory and speech

difficulties, pain and tingling in her head, neck, back, left side of her body, and

“shocking” pain in her legs; that she has daily pain described as an “eight to a ten”

(out of a 10-point scale); and that she was only taking vitamins, and occasionally

medical marijuana to treat for her pain. C.R. at 34. The WCJ found Claimant’s

testimony “not persuasive and place[d] more weight on the medical evidence,” based

on his observation of Claimant’s “bearing and demeanor at the time of her

testimony.” Id. at 48. The WCJ found Dr. Bennett’s testimony more credible than

the testimony of Dr. Zahl and Dr. Horchos as to whether Claimant had fully

recovered from her accepted work injuries. Id. The WCJ’s detailed finding of fact

3

67 regarding Dr. Bennett’s testimony is at the heart of Claimant’s arguments against

Employer’s termination petition, and states as follows:

This Judge finds the testimony of Dr. Bennett more

credible than the testimony of Dr. Zahl and Dr. Horchos.

In that regard, Dr. Bennett opined that Claimant fully

recovered from her accepted injuries of a facial contusion,

chest wall contusion, and lumbar strain, as well as a closed

head injury and a possible cervical contusion based upon

his examination of the Claimant and his review of the

medical records. Dr. Bennett reviewed his examination

findings and the lack of objective findings. Dr. Bennett

noted that a CT scan [computed tomography (CT) scan] of

the lower spine dated March 7, 2017 as well as a March

21, 2017 MRI [magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan]

of Claimant’s cervical spine revealed nothing. Moreover,

Dr. Bennett testified that he reviewed a February 2017

MRI which indicated Claimant had a broad-based disc

protrusion at L2-L3 but Dr. Bennett clarified that it was a

degenerative age-related change and these were non-

trauma findings and nothing to do with Claimant’s work

injury. Conversely, Dr. Zahl opined Claimant had

spondylolisthesis of L4-S1 and also a herniation at L5-S1

which was hitting the L5 and S1 nerve roots. However,

Dr. Bennett opined there were several EMGs

[electromyography (EMG)] done of Claimant’s upper and

lower extremities and both studies were normal and there

was no evidence of any neuropathy or radiculopathy. In

fact, although Dr. Horchos acknowledged he was not

treating Claimant’s cervical and back complaints, Dr.

Horchos acknowledged that Claimant’s EMG nerve

conduction studies did not appear to show a pinched nerve.

Despite opining Claimant had a herniation at L5-S1 “that

was hitting the L5 and S1 nerves,” Dr. Zahl admitted that

the EMG/[n]erve [c]onduction studies of both the upper

and lower extremities failed to find evidence of

radiculopathy. Interestingly, Claimant reported to Dr.

Zahl she had tingling throughout the whole entire left arm

and left leg into the left fourth and fifth fingers as well as

to the left fourth and fifth toes but the EMG findings

revealed nothing. Dr. Zahl was not even aware that Dr.

4

Horchos found Claimant’s straight leg raising test was

negative throughout his examination of Claimant. This

Judge does not find the opinions of Dr. Zahl credible that

the MRI revealed a herniation hitting the L5 and S1 nerve

roots. In further support of Dr. Bennett’s testimony, on

April 19, 2017[,] Dr. Horchos documented his

examination findings noting that Claimant’s cervical

range of motion was good, bilateral upper extremity

strength was good, bilateral lower extremity strength was

good, and straight leg raising and femoral nerve stretch

testing were both negative. Following a July 2017

examination, Dr. Horchos did not see Claimant again until

January 2, 2018 and again Claimant’s bilateral extremities

strength was good and Claimant’s bilateral lower

extremities strength was also good. Claimant’s straight

leg raising and femoral stretch nerve testing were both

negative. After February 2018, Claimant did not return to

Dr. Horchos until May 2019 and again Dr. Horchos noted

Claimant’s cervical range of motion was good to forward

bending, extension, side bending, and rotation. Upper and

lower bilateral extremities were good. Claimant’s straight

leg raising and femoral nerve stretch testing were both

negative.

C.R. at 48-49.

As to Claimant’s review petition, in which she sought to amend her

work injuries to include traumatic brain injury, cervical injury, psychological injury

stemming from physical injury, and chronic pain stemming from physical injury,

Claimant presented the testimony of her treating physicians Dr. Zahl, Dr. Horchos,

and Dr. Estrada-Currie. Dr. Zahl opined that Claimant suffered from a traumatic

brain injury and post-concussion syndrome, as well as complex regional pain

syndrome (CRPS), as a result of the work injuries. Dr. Horchos opined that Claimant

suffered a cerebral concussion as a result of the work injuries. Dr. Estrada-Currie

opined that Claimant suffered from major depressive disorder and generalized

anxiety disorder as a result of the physical work injuries. C.R. at 42-43, 44, and 46.

The WCJ found Dr. Bennett’s opinion that Claimant did not sustain a traumatic brain

5

injury aside from a closed head injury more credible than Dr. Zahl’s diagnosis of

post-concussion syndrome, and Dr. Horchos’ diagnosis of cerebral concussion. Dr.

Bennett’s review of Claimant’s medical records revealed that Claimant denied loss

of consciousness, nausea, or vomiting when she was seen in the Pocono Medical

Center’s emergency department on the same day as the work incident, and that she

refused analgesics and could walk “without difficulty” down the hall when she was

seen at the St. Luke’s Hospital emergency room the next day. When Claimant

visited the Lehigh Valley Hospital emergency room in August 2017, the results of

various diagnostic testing “revealed nothing,” and the results of her neurological

exam were normal. The WCJ found “it significant that the contemporaneous

medical records indicate that Claimant did not lose consciousness and supports Dr.

Bennett’s opinions that Claimant suffered a closed head injury but was recovered by

the time of his examination on November 2, 2018.” C.R. at 49-50. The WCJ noted

that Dr. Horchos admitted “the medical records document that Claimant has a past

history of migraines and an ataxic gait.” Id. at 50. The WCJ also noted that Claimant

had a treatment gap with Dr. Horchos from February 2018 until May 2019, and that

his opinion that Claimant could not walk as a result of her work injury was not

consistent with contemporaneous medical records documenting that Claimant could

walk without difficulty. Id.

The WCJ further found Dr. Bennett credible when he opined that “he

found no evidence of [CRPS] or complex sympathetic dystrophy, as it relates to the

work injury.” C.R. at 50. Dr. Bennett testified that Claimant “does not have findings

consistent with the Budapest criteria,” which are based in part on subjective

complaints of pain used to diagnose CRPS. Id. at 50-51. Dr. Bennett also testified

that he found no objective indicators of CRPS when he examined Claimant, such as

6

changes in skin tone or color, changes in skin temperature, or changes in nails. Id.

The WCJ found it significant that “Claimant reports complaints with her back and

neck which are not supported by the MRI and EMG studies.” Id. at 51. The WCJ

also noted that Dr. Zahl testified that he did not treat Claimant from November 26,

2018, until April 17, 2019, even though he believed Claimant was suffering from

CRPS. The WCJ further noted that Dr. Zahl testified he could not recall Claimant

wearing fitted pants or socks to her appointments, but when she appeared before the

WCJ, Claimant was wearing fitted pants (not loose sweat pants) and socks. Thus,

the WCJ rejected the opinions of Dr. Zahl as “not credible when inconsistent with

the opinions of Dr. Bennett.” Id.

As to the psychological conditions stemming from her work injury, Dr.

Estrada-Currie opined that Claimant’s major depressive disorder, generalized

anxiety disorder, and cognitive deficits were related to her work injury. Dr. Estrada-

Currie also admitted that Claimant had multiple challenges in her life not related to

her work injury that could impact her psychological health, including trauma from

an automobile accident in 2008, stress over her younger autistic son, stress over her

older son dealing with legal and court issues, and a stressful relationship with her

partner. C.R. at 46-48.

In response, Employer presented the deposition testimony of Dr.

Fenichel, who performed an IME on June 25, 2019, during which she examined and

interviewed Claimant, and reviewed medical records. During the examination and

interview, Dr. Fenichel observed that Claimant described suffering from chronic and

severe pain in her head, neck, back and extremities, in what she described as

“shocking pain,” and that “even breathing (exhaling and inhaling) makes her feel

like her spine will break.” Id. at 38-39. During the IME, Dr. Fenichel gave Claimant

7

a mental status examination, on which Claimant scored 29 out of 30, meaning

Claimant had no cognitive problems based on the tests. Id. at 39. Based on her

examination and review of medical records, Dr. Fenichel opined that Claimant did

not suffer a psychiatric disorder or cognitive disorder as a result of the work injuries,

and did not currently suffer from major depressive disorder or generalized anxiety

disorder as a result of the work injuries. Id. at 39-41.

The WCJ found Dr. Fenichel’s testimony more credible than Dr.

Estrada-Currie’s testimony, based on Dr. Fenichel’s qualifications, her review of

Claimant’s medical records, her review of testimony from Claimant’s treating

physicians, and her review of Claimant’s testimony. C.R. at 51. The WCJ found

Dr. Fenichel’s testimony more credible because Dr. Fenichel is a medical doctor and

Dr. Estrada-Currie is a psychologist. Dr. Fenichel’s review of Claimant’s medical

records revealed that Claimant presented her symptoms differently to Dr. Fenichel

than she did to her treating physicians, and that Claimant displayed no signs of

anxiety or depression within three months of her work injury. Dr. Fenichel observed

that Claimant had “dramatic displays of pain,” during the IME, but did not

demonstrate problems as to concentration. Id. Dr. Fenichel further opined that

neither major depression nor generalized anxiety develop in response to a particular

life event such as the work injuries, and instead could be caused by the other stresses

admittedly present and ongoing in Claimant’s life. Id. Thus, the WCJ rejected Dr.

Estrada-Currie’s testimony to the extent her testimony was inconsistent with Dr.

Fenichel’s, and he found Dr. Fenichel’s testimony on this issue as more credible than

Dr. Estrada-Currie’s, finding it significant “that Dr. Fenichel performed testing and

reviewed the medical records.” Id. at 52.

8

Based on his findings, the WCJ concluded that Employer met its burden

to terminate Claimant’s benefits as of November 2, 2018, the date of Dr. Bennett’s

IME. The WCJ also concluded that Claimant failed to meet her burden of proof to

amend her work injuries to include traumatic brain injury, cervical injury,

psychological injury stemming from physical injury, and chronic pain stemming

from physical injury. Finally, on the issue of Claimant’s penalty petition, in which

she alleged that Employer failed to pay certain medical bills, the WCJ found that

Claimant failed to meet her burden of proof to show which bills had been paid or not

paid, and that Claimant failed to prove that certain bills for Dr. Zahl’s treatment

relating to her CRPS were related to her accepted work injuries. The WCJ also found

that Employer engaged in a reasonable contest. Id. at 52-53.

Claimant then appealed the WCJ’s order granting Employer’s

termination petition, and dismissing her review and penalty petitions to the Board,

which affirmed the WCJ.5 On appeal to the Board, Claimant questioned the WCJ’s

findings, especially regarding Dr. Bennett’s testimony. Claimant argued that Dr.

Bennett’s testimony ignored a January 2018 report from Dr. Peter Feinstein, who

performed an earlier IME, which found that Claimant could be suffering from CRPS

based on the history Claimant provided, but that she does not have skin mottling,

skin temperature changes, or other physical signs that could go along with CRPS.6

The Board stated that, on cross-examination, Dr. Bennett testified that as part of his

medical records review, he reviewed Dr. Feinstein’s report before he prepared his

5

The March 10, 2021 decision and order of the Board appears in the Certified Record at

78-97.

6

Neither Employer nor Claimant asked Dr. Feinstein to testify, and Dr. Feinstein did not

testify, before the WCJ. Dr. Feinstein’s report was discussed as part of Dr. Bennett’s review of

Claimant’s medical records for his IME. Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 176a-84a.

9

own report, but that he did not review it before conducting his examination of

Claimant. However, Dr. Bennett testified that “it would have made and makes no

difference in his opinion.” C.R. at 89. The Board stated that although “Claimant

makes much of Dr. Bennett’s focus on neurological testing and his neurological

point of view,” Dr. Bennett indicated several times that “based on his review of

[Claimant’s] records and his physical examination of Claimant, which revealed no

objective findings to suggest any ongoing work-related conditions, that she fully

recovered from her work injuries.” Id. at 93. The Board considered Claimant’s

various arguments and concluded that Dr. Bennett’s testimony was competent and

did not leave doubt. Id. at 93-94. The Board rejected Claimant’s argument that

Employer concealed the first IME report of Dr. Feinstein from the second IME

doctor, Dr. Bennett, and that Employer unilaterally stopped paying Claimant’s work-

related medical bills, concluding that Employer presented a reasonable contest.

Because Claimant was not successful on her review or penalty petitions, the Board

concluded that Claimant did not meet her burden to prove that Employer violated

Section 440 of the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act),7 and affirmed the WCJ’s

7

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, added by the Act of February 8, 1972, P.L.

25, 77 P.S. §996. Section 440 states in relevant part that where an insurer has contested liability,

including petitions to terminate or modify awards, and where claimant prevails in whole or in part,

claimant shall be awarded a reasonable sum for costs incurred, except that the cost for attorney’s

fees may be excluded when a “reasonable basis” for the contest has been established by the

employer or insurer.

10

denial of Claimant’s penalty petition.8 Claimant then petitioned our Court for

review.9

Claimant presents seven questions for our review, with the first six

relating to the WCJ’s findings regarding Dr. Bennett’s testimony, and the final

question relating to the WCJ’s finding that Employer presented a reasonable contest.

Claimant argues that Dr. Bennett’s testimony failed in several ways to provide

substantial evidence to support the WCJ’s findings, and that the WCJ committed

several errors of law in interpreting Dr. Bennett’s testimony. As we review the

issues presented by Claimant, we are mindful that in workers’ compensation cases,

the “WCJ is the ultimate fact-finder who must determine credibility and evidentiary

weight. In this role, the WCJ freely evaluates the evidence offered and can accept

or reject any [witnesses’] testimony, in whole or in part, including that of medical

witnesses.” Davis v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (City of Philadelphia),

753 A.2d 905, 909 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2000). As this Court further stated, “[w]hile this

Court can and should consider the competency and sufficiency of evidence presented

before a WCJ, the WCJ’s assessment of witness credibility is not subject to our

review on appeal.” Id.

8

Claimant’s petition to this Court seeks review of the WCJ’s order granting Employer’s

termination petition, and his denial of Claimant’s review petition only. Claimant did not seek

review of the substance of the WCJ’s denial of her penalty petition, so we will not address the

penalty petition further.

9

Our scope of review in a workers’ compensation appeal is limited to determining whether

an error of law was committed, whether constitutional rights were violated, or whether necessary

findings of fact are supported by substantial evidence. Bloom v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal

Board (Keystone Pretzel Bakery), 677 A.2d 1314, 1318 n.4 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1996). Substantial

evidence means such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support

a conclusion. Bethenergy Mines, Inc. v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Skirpan), 612

A.2d 434, 436 (Pa. 1992).

11

To prevail on a termination petition, “an employer bears the burden of

proving by substantial evidence that a claimant’s disability ceased, or any remaining

conditions are unrelated to the work injury.” Westmoreland County v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Bord (Fuller), 942 A.2d 213, 217 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008)

(internal citations omitted). An employer may satisfy its burden by presenting

“unequivocal and competent medical evidence of the claimant’s full recovery from

her work related injuries.” Id. As to Claimant’s review petition in which she sought

to modify the accepted injuries to include additional ones, the burden of proof rests

with Claimant to establish the existence of additional compensable injuries. Cinram

Manufacturing, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Hill), 975 A.2d 577,

582 (Pa. 2009). If the connection between the alleged disability and the work

accident is not obvious, a claimant must provide unequivocal medical testimony to

establish that the additional compensable injuries were caused by the work accident.

Fotta v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (U.S. Steel/USX Corporation

Maple Creek Mine), 626 A.2d 1144, 1146 (Pa. 1993).

Claimant first argues that the WCJ erred in finding that Employer met

its burden in the termination petition because Dr. Bennett testified that he could

opine on Claimant’s ability to return to work “from a neurological standpoint,” thus

failing to prove that Claimant was fully healed from all of her physical work-related

injuries. R.R. at 153a, 154a. Claimant argues that because Dr. Bennett limited his

opinion to Claimant’s recovery from a neurological point of view, that his opinion

failed to provide substantial evidence that Claimant was fully recovered from her

physical injuries, which were described as injuries to multiple body parts, contusion

to the face, right chest wall, and lower back injury.

12

Employer responds that Dr. Bennett’s testimony, when viewed as a

whole, provided substantial evidence that Claimant had recovered from all her

accepted work injuries and was able to return to work. Further, Employer argues

that Claimant’s attempt to take Dr. Bennett’s isolated comment out of context should

fail, when it was elicited on cross-examination in response to a hypothetical

question. Employer responds that Dr. Bennett did not testify that he would have to

refer Claimant to an orthopedist to assess whether she had recovered from her

physical injuries, but rather, answered a broadly worded hypothetical question on

cross-examination, as follows:

Q: Now, neurologically somebody could be, not have a

neurological issue, but could still have issues with her

back pain, correct?

A: Correct.

Q: So the fact that neurologically you didn’t find anything

wrong with her back, doesn’t mean that she didn’t have a

back condition that kept her from working?

A: If there is a significant problem, I refer that to an

orthopedic assessor.

R.R. at 154a. Employer further responds that in Dr. Bennett’s report and testimony,

and in his completion of a physician’s affidavit of recovery, Dr. Bennett opined

numerous times that Claimant had fully recovered from the accepted work injuries

of facial contusion, right chest wall contusion, and lower back injury, as well as from

a closed head injury. Id. at 140a, 172a-74a. Employer further responds that Dr.

Bennett did not admit that he could not evaluate any orthopedic injuries, such as the

Claimant’s rib contusion, but in fact testified that he could, because “[i]t’s a medical

issue. She had no complaints and no findings of a wrist [sic/rib] contusion.” Id. at

154a. Employer further notes that Dr. Bennett testified that he found no objective

13

evidence of Claimant’s work injuries during his examination or from his medical

records review, including lumbar strain, in support of his opinion of Claimant’s full

recovery. Id. at 136a-38a, 139a, 154a. Employer further responds that this Court

has previously held that although Dr. Bennett is a neurologist, he is also a medical

physician who is qualified to render opinions on medical conditions such as knee

pain, orthopedic injuries, and shoulder and back strains. See, e.g., Baumann v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Kellogg Company), 147 A.3d 1283 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2016); Senestant v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (HIS of PA at

Broomall) (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1852 C.D. 2007, filed February 12, 2008); 10 Rondolone

v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (SEPTA) (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1021 C.D.

2013, filed November 1, 2013); Barr v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(GMRI Inc. and LM Insurance Corporation) (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 741 C.D. 2020, filed

April 16, 2021). Employer further responds that it was not required to present

testimony from an orthopedist, such as Dr. Feinstein, to sustain its burden of proof

on the termination petition. Employer objects to Claimant’s mischaracterization of

Dr. Bennett’s testimony, which did not explicitly or implicitly concede that Dr.

Feinstein, as an orthopedist, was in a better position to opine on Claimant’s physical

injuries, but rather, acknowledged Dr. Feinstein’s earlier report and stated his

disagreement with it. R.R. at 147a, 159a.

As to Claimant’s first issue, we discern no error in the WCJ’s finding

that Employer met its burden to terminate benefits, as supported by Dr. Bennett’s

report and testimony. We are not persuaded that Dr. Bennett’s testimony on cross-

examination in response to a hypothetical question, limited his opinion of Claimant’s

10

See Pa.R.A.P. 126(b) (“As used in this rule, ‘non-precedential decision’ refers to . . . an

unreported memorandum opinion of the Commonwealth Court filed after January 15, 2008. []

Non-precedential decisions . . . may be cited for their persuasive value.”)

14

recovery from her physical injuries and her ability to return to work to “a

neurological standpoint” only. Answers given during cross-examination do not

destroy the effectiveness of a physician’s previous opinion. Rather, such statements

go to the weight and not the competency of the physician’s opinion. Corcoran v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Capital Cities/Times Leader), 725 A.2d

868, 872 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1999). Here, substantial evidence from Dr. Bennett’s entire

testimony supports the WCJ’s finding that Claimant fully recovered from her

accepted work injuries and was able to return to work. The “WCJ is the ultimate

fact-finder, who must determine the credibility and weight of [witnesses’] testimony,

in which the WCJ is free to accept or reject witness’ testimony, in whole or in part,

including that of medical witnesses.” Davis, 753 A.2d at 909. “Although this Court

can and should assess the competency and sufficiency of witness testimony, it may

not review on appeal a WCJ’s assessment of witness credibility.” Id.

Claimant argues in her second issue that the WCJ erred as a matter of

law when he misallocated the burden of proof on the termination petition to

Claimant, rather than on Employer. Claimant argues that, as part of the termination

petition, the WCJ erred by requiring Claimant to prove that she suffered from CRPS

despite the fact that Dr. Feinstein opined earlier that Claimant could be suffering

from CRPS. Claimant argues that Dr. Feinstein’s earlier IME should be treated as

Employer’s admission that Claimant suffers from CRPS, and that CRPS is related

to her accepted work injuries. Claimant relies on Murphy v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Mercy Catholic Medical Center), 721 A.2d 1167 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998),

to support this argument.

In Murphy, our Court was asked to evaluate whether substantial

evidence supported the employer’s termination petition, when the employer’s

15

psychiatrist testified that he diagnosed the claimant with depressant disorder over

one year before the termination petition was filed, and then recanted that diagnosis

after viewing a surveillance video that showed the claimant engaging in activities

that purportedly revealed no signs of the claimant’s physical or psychological

injuries. Murphy, 721 A.2d at 1170. The employer’s psychiatrist recanted his earlier

diagnosis without re-examining the claimant based solely on the video evidence. Id.

After reviewing the evidence as a whole, this Court reversed and remanded, stating

that “[t]his [C]ourt is not convinced that a medical expert can render a legally

competent opinion on a claimant’s medical condition after merely viewing selected

activities shown in two days of surveillance videotape,” thus, holding that the WCJ

erred in finding substantial evidence supported the claimant’s full recovery and

granting the employer’s termination petition. Id. at 1171. Here, Claimant argues

that the WCJ erred in crediting Dr. Bennett’s opinion of Claimant’s full recovery

when Dr. Feinstein’s prior IME concluded that Claimant could be suffering from

CRPS, urging our Court to view Dr. Bennett’s opinion as a recantation of Dr.

Feinstein’s prior IME.

Employer responds that CRPS was never an accepted work injury, and,

therefore, Employer was not required to show that Claimant had recovered from

CRPS. Employer responds that Dr. Bennett’s acknowledgement of, and

disagreement with, Dr. Feinstein’s earlier IME did not equate to Employer’s

acceptance of CRPS as a work-related injury. Employer argues that Murphy is

distinguishable, when, here, Dr. Feinstein did not testify before the WCJ, where

there was no video surveillance evidence present, and where Claimant’s CRPS was

not accepted as work-related through an amended NCP or as a finding by the WCJ

during any proceedings. Employer argues that Dr. Bennett was not barred from

16

rendering a different opinion than Dr. Feinstein, when Dr. Bennett’s opinion was

based on his independent examination and review 11 months after Dr. Feinstein’s

report.

As to Claimant’s second issue, we discern no error in the WCJ’s

allocation of the burden of proof on Employer’s termination petition as it relates to

Claimant’s diagnosis of CRPS as a work-related injury. The WCJ allocated the

burden on Employer in the termination petition, and on Claimant in the review and

penalty petitions. C.R. at 53. We disagree with Claimant that our Court’s holding

in Murphy compels a different result, because, unlike the employer’s expert in

Murphy, Dr. Feinstein did not testify in these proceedings, Claimant’s diagnosis of

CRPS was never accepted as a work injury, and Dr. Bennett’s opinion did not serve

as a recantation of a prior opinion accepting CRPS as a work-related injury.

Claimant argues in her third issue that the WCJ erred as a matter of law

when he credited Dr. Bennett’s testimony where Dr. Bennett did not recognize that

Claimant suffered from her accepted work injuries. Claimant argues that the

following testimony on cross-examination demonstrates that Dr. Bennett failed to

accept Claimant’s accepted work injuries, and, thus, renders incompetent his opinion

that Claimant fully recovered from them.

Q: Do you agree that the records clearly show that

[Claimant] suffered disabling injuries on February 18,

2017?

A: No.

Q: Not even in February of ‘17? She wasn’t disabled then

either?

A: I didn’t see her then. I’m not agreeing with anything.

All I can agree with is what I saw, November 2nd, 2018.

17

Q: I ask what the records show.

A: The records—

Q: (Employer’s counsel): They speak for themselves.

Q: (Claimant’s counsel): But those records are part of

what you formed your opinion on?

A: My records or my opinion is based upon my physical

examination, review of records and review of diagnostic—

Q: Exactly, so I get to ask about the records you reviewed

in forming your opinions.

A: I do not have any opinion of what her status was on

January 1st, 2018. All I can say is what is my opinion. My

opinion is based on my examination of November 2 nd,

2018.

R.R. at 160a.

Claimant argues that this Court has held that an employer cannot meet

its burden to terminate benefits where its own expert does not recognize that

Claimant was disabled by the accepted work injuries in the first place. Claimant

cites GA & FC Wagman, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Aucker),

785 A.2d 1087 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001), and Elberson v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Elwyn, Inc.), 936 A.2d 1195 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007), in support. In Wagman,

our Court held that the employer’s medical expert’s testimony could not support the

finding that the claimant fully recovered from his work injuries, when the

employer’s medical expert testified that he did not believe that the injury accepted

in the NCP ever occurred. Wagman, 785 A.2d at 1092. In Elberson, our Court held

that the employer’s medical expert’s testimony could not support the finding that the

claimant fully recovered from her work injuries when the employer’s medical expert

testified that he did not know what her work injuries were. Elberson, 936 A.2d at

18

1200. Claimant also argues that Dr. Bennett’s testimony is insufficient to support a

termination of benefits because Dr. Bennett failed to accept Dr. Feinstein’s prior

IME report that Claimant could be suffering from CRPS.

Employer responds that Dr. Bennett did not disagree that Claimant had

suffered from the accepted work injuries, and that Claimant mischaracterized Dr.

Bennett’s testimony on this issue. Employer responds that the above-quoted

testimony was elicited during cross-examination in response to a compound

question, and is being taken out of context. Employer characterizes Dr. Bennett’s

testimony as simply his affirmation that he formed his opinion based on his

November 2, 2018 IME, and not by relying on other medical reports. Employer

argues that whether a medical expert’s testimony is competent is a question of law,

citing Namani v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (A. Duie Pyle), 32 A.3d

850, 854 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011). Employer further responds that even if an expert

expresses skepticism as to the accepted work injury, when the expert’s opinion,

examined as a whole, is that the claimant recovered from the accepted work injuries,

such opinion is competent and can support a termination, citing O’Neill v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (News Corporation Ltd.), 29 A.3d 50 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2011). In O’Neill, our Court held that although the employer’s medical expert

testified that he was skeptical that the claimant suffered any particular injury when

working for the employer, his testimony, when viewed as a whole, revealed that he

“did not reject, or expressly refuse to recognize” the claimant’s accepted work

injury. O’Neill, 29 A.3d at 55. Therefore, the Court held that the medical expert’s

testimony was competent and legally sufficient to support termination. Id.

As to Claimant’s third issue, we discern no error in the WCJ’s finding

that Employer met its burden to terminate benefits, as supported by Dr. Bennett’s

19

report and testimony. We are not persuaded that Dr. Bennett’s testimony on cross-

examination in response to a compound question rendered his opinion incompetent.

Answers given during cross-examination do not destroy the effectiveness of a

physician’s previous opinion. Rather, such statements go to the weight and not the

competency of the physician’s opinion. Corcoran, 725 A.2d at 872. Here, Dr.

Bennett’s entire testimony, including his affidavit of full recovery, in which he

acknowledged Claimant’s accepted work injuries and opined that she fully recovered

from all of them, is competent to support termination. R.R. at 140a, 172a-74a. As

previously discussed, Davis requires that the WCJ be the ultimate fact-finder who

must determine the credibility and weight of witness testimony; this Court may not

review a WCJ’s assessment of witness credibility on appeal. Davis, 753 A.2d at

909. “Although this Court can and should assess the competency and sufficiency of

witness testimony, it may not review on appeal a WCJ’s assessment of witness

credibility.” Id. Further, based on our analysis of Claimant’s second issue, we do

not agree that the WCJ erred in crediting Dr. Bennett’s testimony in support of

termination, even though Dr. Bennett did not accept CRPS as a work-related injury,

because CRPS was not an accepted injury.

Claimant argues in her fourth issue that the WCJ erred as a matter of

law when he credited Dr. Bennett’s opinion of Claimant’s full recovery from her

accepted injuries, when Dr. Bennett’s opinion was equivocal. Claimant argues that

Dr. Bennett’s opinion was equivocal because he could not offer an opinion on

Claimant’s ability to return to work from a physical standpoint, only from a

neurological standpoint. R.R. at 154a. Claimant also argues that Dr. Bennett’s

opinion was equivocal because although he did not agree with Dr. Feinstein’s

opinion regarding Claimant’s diagnosis of CRPS, Dr. Bennett did not disagree with

20

Dr. Feinstein’s observations that Claimant suffered from physical work injuries that

limited her motion and caused pain. Id. at 159a. Claimant argues that to meet its

burden for termination of benefits, an employer’s medical evidence must be

unequivocal, citing Westmoreland County, 942 A.2d at 217. Claimant further argues

that unequivocal testimony is capable of being understood in only one way, and must

leave no room for doubt, citing Miller v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Peoplease Corporation, Arch Insurance Company and Gallagher Bassett Services),

29 A.3d 869, 871 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011).

Employer responds that Dr. Bennett’s testimony, when viewed as a

whole, expresses no doubt as to Claimant’s recovery from the accepted work

injuries, and that Claimant mischaracterized Dr. Bennett’s testimony on this issue.

Employer argues that Dr. Bennett clearly testified that Claimant recovered from all

her physical, work-related injuries, and that he clearly testified that he disagreed with

Dr. Feinstein’s conclusions. Employer further argues that Dr. Bennett’s testimony

is not self-contradictory, but even if it was, the appearance of inconsistencies in a

medical expert’s testimony does not render that testimony equivocal, citing Somerset

Welding and Steel v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Lee), 650 A.2d 114,

119 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994).

As to Claimant’s fourth issue, we agree that Employer must present

unequivocal testimony to support termination. Westmoreland County, 942 A.2d at

217. However, we discern no error in the WCJ’s finding that Employer met its

burden to terminate benefits, as supported by Dr. Bennett’s report and testimony.

We are not persuaded that the portions of Dr. Bennett’s testimony pointed out by

Claimant render his testimony equivocal. Here, when viewing Dr. Bennett’s entire

testimony, as we are required to do, we find no error in the WCJ’s crediting of Dr.

21

Bennett’s testimony in support of termination. R.R. at 140a, 172a-74a. Our Court

has explained that “an employer’s expert need not say ‘magic words’ in providing

his opinion that claimant’s work injury is fully resolved such that he can return to

work.” Miller, 29 A.3d at 871. Our Court has further explained that “[h]owever,

medical testimony is equivocal if it is vague, leaves doubt, is less than positive or is

based upon possibilities.” Id. In Miller, we held that medical expert testimony was

equivocal when the expert testified that “it was hard to say” whether the claimant

sustained permanent damage from spinal surgery necessitated by a work injury, and

when he opined that the claimant’s pain was “nearly completely resolved for the

most part.” Id. at 872. Unlike the expert in Miller, here, we find no such vague or

less than positive statements, or expressions of possibility in Dr. Bennett’s

testimony. Dr. Bennett’s testimony when viewed as a whole is free from doubt, and

provides substantial evidence to support termination of benefits.

In her fifth issue, Claimant argues that the WCJ erred in relying on Dr.

Bennett’s opinion that Claimant did not suffer from CRPS because she did not

display certain objective criteria of the condition. Claimant argues that because Dr.

Feinstein and Claimant’s treating physician Dr. Zahl observed such objective criteria

at different times, Dr. Bennett’s opinion is incompetent because it is based on an

assumption contrary to facts established in the record. Claimant correctly argues

that a medical expert’s opinion is incompetent if it is based on an assumption that is

contrary to the established facts of record. Taylor v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Servistar Corp.), 883 A.2d 710, 713 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005). Claimant argues

that because Dr. Bennett assumed Claimant did not display objective symptoms of

CRPS, his opinion that she does not suffer from CRPS is legally incompetent.

22

Employer responds that the WCJ’s findings on Claimant’s CRPS,

which were made in connection with Claimant’s review petition, were competent

and supported by substantial evidence. Employer argues that Dr. Bennett’s opinion

was not contrary to established facts of record, but was based on his examination of

Claimant where he observed no such objective symptoms of CRPS on November 2,

2018. Employer argues that although Dr. Feinstein or Dr. Zahl observed some

objective signs of CRPS at different times, those observations are not established

facts of record, and they do not render Dr. Bennett’s opinion incompetent because

he failed to agree with them.

As to Claimant’s fifth issue, we observe again that although Employer

has the burden of proof on a termination petition, on Claimant’s review petition in

which she seeks to modify the accepted injuries to include additional ones, the

burden rests with Claimant to establish the existence of additional compensable

injuries. Cinram, 975 A.2d at 582. If the connection between the alleged disability

and the work accident is not obvious, a claimant must provide unequivocal medical

testimony to establish that the additional compensable injuries were caused by the

work accident. Fotta, 626 A.2d at 1146. As previously discussed, Davis requires

that the WCJ be the ultimate fact-finder who must determine the credibility and

weight of witness testimony; this Court may not review a WCJ’s assessment of

witness credibility on appeal. Davis, 753 A.2d at 909. Here, we discern no error in

the WCJ’s finding crediting Dr. Bennett’s testimony over Dr. Zahl’s testimony on

the issue of whether Claimant suffered from CRPS, or in the WCJ’s finding that

Claimant failed to meet her burden to amend her work-related injuries through the

review petition. We agree with Employer that Dr. Bennett’s opinion that Claimant

did not suffer from CRPS because she did not display objective signs is not

23

incompetent because he disagreed with Dr. Feinstein or Dr. Zahl, both of whom

observed objective signs at other times. The WCJ found Dr. Bennett’s testimony

more credible than Dr. Zahl’s testimony on this issue, which we may not disturb on

appeal.

In her sixth issue, Claimant argues that the WCJ’s serial errors that

pervade his findings and conclusions undermine his adjudication that Employer met

its burden to terminate Claimant’s benefits, and, in the aggregate, constitute an error

of law. Claimant argues that Employer’s burden in a termination petition is

considerable, because disability is presumed to continue until demonstrated

otherwise, citing Giant Eagle, Inc. v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board

(Chambers), 635 A.2d 1123, 1127 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1993). Employer responds that

based on the WCJ’s findings as to Claimant’s first four issues presented, which relate

to the termination petition, Claimant cannot prevail by attempting to recap her

arguments in this issue.

As to Claimant’s sixth issue, based on our analysis of Claimant’s first

four issues presented, which relate to the termination petition, we discern no error in

the WCJ’s findings, or in his conclusion that Employer met its burden to terminate

benefits. We have already determined that the WCJ did not err in finding Dr.

Bennett’s opinion and testimony credible as to Claimant’s recovery from her

accepted work injuries, that the WCJ did not err in assigning the burden of proof for

the termination petition, and that the WCJ did not err in finding Dr. Bennett’s

testimony competent and unequivocal.

In her seventh issue, Claimant argues that if this Court reverses the WCJ

for any of the errors asserted by Claimant, then it should also reverse the WCJ’s

finding that Employer met its burden of demonstrating a reasonable contest.

24

Claimant argues that if she is wholly or partly successful in litigating her claims,

then reasonable costs must be awarded, which may include witness costs and

stenographic costs, among others, citing Section 440 of the Act, and various cases

interpreting the Act. Claimant further argues that, if successful here, she also should

be awarded attorney’s fees unless the Employer demonstrates that it presented a

reasonable contest, again citing Section 440 of the Act. Claimant argues that

Employer did not present a reasonable contest because it hid Dr. Feinstein’s earlier

IME report from Dr. Bennett, and engaged in opinion shopping until it found an

evaluation that supported a termination of benefits. Employer responds by denying

that it concealed Dr. Feinstein’s report from Dr. Bennett, or otherwise shopped for

another expert opinion. Employer responds that it did not hide any reports from Dr.

Bennett, who testified that he did not review Dr. Feinstein’s report before he

evaluated Claimant, but that he reviewed Dr. Feinstein’s report before he prepared

his own, and that Dr. Feinstein’s report “would have made and makes no difference

in his opinion.” C.R. at 89. Employer further responds that, under the plain language

of Section 440 of the Act, Claimant may not recover costs or attorney’s fees because

Claimant did not prevail in whole or in part on her claims.

As to Claimant’s seventh issue, we discern no error in the WCJ’s

finding that Claimant is not entitled to costs or attorney’s fees under Section 440 of

the Act, because she did not prevail in whole or in part on any of her claims. We

also find no error in the WCJ’s finding that Employer presented a reasonable contest.

For all the foregoing reasons, we affirm the Board’s March 10, 2021

order, which affirmed the WCJ’s January 31, 2020 decision and order granting

25

Employer’s termination petition and denying Claimant’s review and penalty

petitions.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

26

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Lori A. Carpenter, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 379 C.D. 2021

:

Family Dollar Stores of :

Pennsylvania, LLC :

(Workers’ Compensation :

Appeal Board), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 14th day of January, 2022, the order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board dated March 10, 2021, is AFFIRMED.

__________________________________

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.