Opinion

Wright, Tracy v. Joshua Cooper, d/b/a J&K Improvements

  • 2021 TN WC 259
Court
Tennessee Court of Workers' Compensation Claims
Filed
Dec 21, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
Robert Durham
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 22.3%

The opinion

FILED

Dec 21, 2021

07:48 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE COURT OF

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

CLAIMS

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

IN THE COURT OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLAIMS

AT COOKEVILLE

TRACY WRIGHT, ) Docket No. 2019-04-0270

Employee, )

v. ) State File No. 66044-2020

JOSHUA COOPER, d/b/a )

J&K IMPROVEMENTS, ) Judge Robert Durham

Uninsured Employer. )

COMPENSATION HEARING ORDER GRANTING BENEFITS

At a December 7, 2021Compensation Hearing, the Court considered Tracy

Wright’s claim for medical, temporary disability, and permanent partial disability

benefits. The employer, Joshua Cooper, d/b/a J&K Improvements, did not attend the

hearing. The determinative issue was whether Mr. Wright was an employee or an

independent contractor. The Court holds that Mr. Wright was Mr. Cooper’s employee

and awards medical, temporary total disability, and permanent partial disability benefits.

History of Claim

Mr. Wright, a Tennessee resident, began working as a roofer with Mr. Cooper on

May 18, 2020. He testified that he was hired as an employee and worked as a lead

carpenter. In support of his claimed employee status, Mr. Wright testified that Mr.

Cooper transported him to and from work and paid him hourly wages at the end of each

project. At the beginning of his employment, he worked forty hours per week at $14.00

per hour, and at the end of May, Mr. Cooper raised his pay to $16.00 per hour. He

continued to work forty hours per week until his injury.

On August 28, Mr. Wright fell from a roof and landed feet-first on concrete. Mr.

Cooper witnessed the accident. Two days later, Mr. Wright went to the emergency room,

where providers diagnosed a left calcaneal fracture. Dr. Jon Simpson performed surgery

to repair the fracture using a plate and screws. Mr. Cooper refused to provide benefits.

Mr. Wright filed a Petition for Benefit Determination on October 7, 2020.

Because Mr. Cooper admitted he did not have workers’ compensation insurance, a

1

Bureau compliance specialist investigated the case, including Mr. Wright’s employment

status.

During the investigation, Mr. Cooper asserted that he did not have any employees,

and he did all the work for JK Improvements himself. To the contrary, Mr. Wright stated

that Mr. Cooper hired him as “lead carpenter.” A co-worker corroborated this

information to the investigator. Mr. Wright also told the specialist that Mr. Cooper

controlled the conduct of the work, retained the right to hire and fire workers, scheduled

the working hours, and furnished tools and equipment. However, Mr. Wright was able to

offer his services to others when not employed by Mr. Cooper.

Regarding treatment of his injury, Dr. Simpson followed Mr. Wright after the

surgery. According to Dr. Simpson’s records, Mr. Wright’s fracture healed satisfactorily,

although he complained of continuing foot and ankle pain and swelling.

Dr. Simpson placed Mr. Wright at maximum medical improvement on January 7,

2021, and released him to return to work without restrictions. He stated later that Mr.

Wright would have been “completely and totally unable” to work as a roofer before

January 7.

Dr. Simpson prepared a C-32 Medical Report on July 15, 2021, to which he

attached an extensive note outlining Mr. Wright’s course of treatment. Dr. Simpson

observed that Mr. Wright’s fracture healed in a “good position although not perfect.” He

further noted that Mr. Wright complained of significant residual pain in his foot with

some “mild” limitations on motion that should improve over time. However, Mr. Wright

asserted that he could not get back on a roof due to his foot pain.

Significantly, Dr. Simpson stated that he had not seen or recommended treatment

for Mr. Wright since January 7. For this reason, he designated the date of his report, July

15, as Mr. Wright’s maximum medical improvement date. He did not assign any

permanent restrictions and stated Mr. Wright could return to normal work activities. He

also did not anticipate the need for further treatment other than possible “accommodative

shoe wear.” Finally, he assigned a permanent anatomical impairment of five percent to

the whole person under the AMA Guides, 6th edition.

During the hearing, Mr. Wright presented bills from Cumberland Medical Center,

Covenant Medical Group, Walgreens, MedStream Anesthesia, Radiology Imaging

Associates, Cookeville Regional Hospital, Tier One Institute, and Advanced Spine and

Pain Center, which he represented were incurred for his injury. These charges include

emergency room care, surgery and hospitalization, x-rays and other diagnostic exams,

post-surgical visits and orthopedic supplies. The charges for these bills total $19,974.05.

Dr. Simpson did not see Mr. Wright after January 7, and the expenses from Tier

2

One, Advanced Spine and Pain Center and Cookeville Regional Hospital were all

incurred after that date with no suggestion that Dr. Simpson recommended treatment at

the stated providers. Further, Mr. Wright did not offer any records from those providers.

Finally, Mr. Wright testified that he continues to have significant problems with

his foot. He suffers from pain, swelling, and limited range of motion that prevents him

from working as a roofer. His injury also prevents him from doing any work that

requires significant standing or walking, and he has only performed odd jobs since his

injury. Mr. Cooper did not offer to return him to work after Dr. Simpson released him,

and even if he had, he did not believe his injury would permit him to perform the work.

Mr. Wright’s wife corroborated his limitations and lack of employment.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Mr. Wright has the burden of proving the essential elements of his workers’

compensation claim by a preponderance of the evidence. Scott v. Integrity Staffing

Solutions, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 24, at *6 (Aug. 18, 2015).

Independent Contractor vs. Employee

The first issue is whether Mr. Wright was an independent contractor or employee

on the date of injury. Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(12)(D)(i) (2021) lists

the following factors for making this determination:

(a) The right to control the conduct of the work;

(b) The right of termination;

(c) The method of payment;

(d) The freedom to select and hire helpers;

(e) The furnishing of tools and equipment;

(f) Self-scheduling of working hours; and

(g) The freedom to offer services to other entities.

Mr. Wright testified he was Mr. Cooper’s employee, and Mr. Cooper did not offer

any contrary testimony at trial. Mr. Wright also offered undisputed testimony that Mr.

Cooper transported him to and from the jobsite and paid him by the hour upon

completion of each job. He also told the compliance specialist during his investigation

that Mr. Cooper hired him as lead carpenter and retained the right to control the work,

scheduled the work hours, hired and fired workers, and provided tools and equipment.

The only contrary evidence is Mr. Cooper’s statement to the investigator that he did not

have any employees, and he did all the work himself. Under these facts, the Court holds

Mr. Wright proved by a preponderance of the evidence that he was Mr. Cooper’s

employee.

3

Application of the Workers’ Compensation Law

The Court also holds Mr. Cooper was subject to the Workers’ Compensation Law,

regardless of the number of employees, because the uncontradicted evidence showed by a

preponderance of the evidence that J&K Improvements was in the construction industry

at the time of Mr. Wright’s accident. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-902(a). Thus, Mr.

Cooper must provide Mr. Wright with any benefits for an injury causally related to Mr.

Wright’s employment.

Causation

To prove causation, Mr. Wright must show that his accident arose “primarily out

of and in the course and scope of employment.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(A).

Mr. Wright’s undisputed testimony clearly established that he fell off a roof while

working for J&K Improvements on May 18, 2020. Further, Dr. Simpson’s undisputed

evidence proved “to a reasonable degree of medical certainty” that Mr. Wright sustained

a left calcaneal fracture as a result. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(C). Thus, the

Court holds Mr. Wright met his burden of proof on the issue of causation.

Medical Benefits

As for medical benefits, Mr. Cooper did not offer any medical treatment as

required by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(1)(A), so Mr. Wright sought

treatment on his own. Whether an employee is justified in seeking payment for

unauthorized medical expenses from an employer depends upon the circumstances of

each case. Buchanan v. Mission Ins. Co., 713 S.W.2d 654, 656 (Tenn. 1986). The Court

holds that Mr. Wright was justified in seeking emergency care for his injury. In support,

the Court notes that Mr. Wright underwent surgery on his foot shortly after receiving

emergency care.

In addition, Dr. Simpson’s records stated the fracture required the surgery he

performed as well as “extensive post-operative follow-up.” Thus, the Court holds the

post-surgical visits, diagnostic tests, and orthopedic appliances were reasonable and

necessary for treatment of Mr. Wright’s injury.

Mr. Wright testified that the medical expenses he submitted to the Court were

those incurred for treatment of his work injury. Based on the undisputed evidence, the

Court holds Mr. Cooper liable for the bills associated with the surgery and the treatment

that Mr. Wright received through January 7, the date Dr. Simpson last saw Mr. Wright.

However, the charges for treatment from Cookeville Regional, Tier 1 Institute, and

Advanced Spine Pain and Nerve Center were incurred after January 7 and were not

4

supported by medical records. Thus, the Court holds that Mr. Wright did not prove these

expenses were reasonable and necessary for treatment of his work injury.

The Court holds that Mr. Wright is entitled to reimbursement of $19,974.05 for

services received from the providers identified in the medical bills submitted by Mr.

Wright and proven by the uncontroverted evidence. See Russell v. Genesco, Inc., 651

S.W.2d 206, 211 (Tenn. 1983). Dr. Simpson is also designated as Mr. Wright’s

authorized physician for future medical care.

Temporary Total Disability Benefits

To receive temporary total disability benefits, Mr. Wright must show he is likely

to prove: (1) a disability from working as the result of a compensable injury; (2) a causal

connection between the injury and the inability to work; and (3) the duration of the period

of disability. Shepherd v. Haren Const. Co., Inc., 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

15, at *13 (Mar. 30, 2016).

In his January 7, 2021 record, Dr. Simpson placed Mr. Wright at maximum

medical improvement with no work restrictions. He also stated that from August 28,

2020, until January 7, Mr. Wright was totally unable to return to his previous

employment due to his injury. Based on this evidence, the Court holds that Mr. Wright

has proven entitlement to temporary total disability benefits from August 28, 2020, until

January 7, 2021.

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(1)(a) sets out that temporary total

disability benefits are based on two-thirds of the injured employee’s average weekly

wage. The Court finds the undisputed evidence proved Mr. Wright worked forty hours

per week during his employment with Mr. Cooper. He worked from May 18 through

May 31 at $14.00 per hour and from June 1 until August 28 at $16.00 per hour. Based on

this finding, the Court calculates Mr. Wright’s average weekly wage to be $629.86, and

two-thirds of this amount leads to a compensation rate of $419.91.

Thus, the Court holds that Mr. Cooper is obligated to pay Mr. Wright temporary

total disability benefits in the amount of $7,978.29.

Mr. Wright also asserted entitlement to temporary disability benefits through July

15, 2021, the date Dr. Simpson placed him at maximum medical improvement in his C-

32. Mr. Wright testified that Mr. Cooper never offered him employment after his injury,

and that even if he had, he could not have returned to work as a roofer. His only

employment since the injury has been occasional odd jobs.

Nevertheless, the Court holds that, given Dr. Simpson’s opinions, Mr. Wright

failed to prove entitlement to additional temporary disability benefits. While expert

5

medical testimony is not an “absolute prerequisite” to an award of temporary total

disability benefits, any award “must be consistent with the medical evidence in the

record.” Austin v. Genlyte Thomas Grp., LCC, No. M2009-01601-WC-R3-WC, 2010

Tenn. LEXIS 654, at *11 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel June 10, 2010).

The note attached to the C-32 by Dr. Simpson stated that July 15 was the date of

maximum medical improvement. But the only reason he gave was that he had not seen

Mr. Wright since January 7. Further, he did not revise his previous opinion that Mr.

Wright could return to work with no restrictions as of January 7 ̶ an opinion he gave not

only in January but also in April. Thus, the Court holds that Mr. Wright’s asserted

inability to work through July 15 is not consistent with Dr. Simpson’s expert opinion and

denies his claim for additional temporary disability benefits.

Permanent Partial Disability Benefits

Mr. Wright also claimed entitlement to permanent partial disability benefits under

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(3)(A). The statute provides that an original

award of permanent partial disability benefits shall be paid at the employee’s

compensation rate for the number of weeks calculated by multiplying the assigned

impairment rating by 450 weeks. Dr. Simpson assessed a permanent impairment of five

percent; thus, the Court holds that Mr. Wright proved entitlement to 22.5 weeks of

permanent partial disability benefits at a compensation rate of $419.91, for a total of

$9,447.98, which Mr. Wright is obligated to pay in a lump sum.

Section 50-6-207(3)(B) further provides that, if at the end of Mr. Wright’s

compensation period, which is calculated as 180 days after he reached maximum medical

improvement, he is making less than 100% of his pre-injury wages, then he may petition

the Court for additional permanent partial disability benefits. Dr. Simpson placed Mr.

Wright at maximum medical improvement on July 15, 2021; thus, he becomes eligible to

apply for additional benefits on January 11, 2022. Mr. Wright must file a Petition with

the Bureau no later than January 11, 2023, if he wishes to pursue this claim.

Uninsured Employers Fund

Finally, although this Court holds Mr. Cooper must provide Mr. Wright with

benefits, payment might not occur, since Mr. Cooper did not have workers’ compensation

insurance at the time of the accident. Therefore, the Court considers whether Mr. Wright

is eligible to apply for benefits from the Bureau’s Uninsured Employers Fund. Under

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-802(a), the Bureau has discretion to pay limited

benefits to Mr. Wright if he proves the following:

1) He worked for an employer who did not have workers’ compensation

insurance;

6

2) He suffered an injury arising primarily in the course and scope of employment

on or after July 1, 2015;

3) He was a Tennessee resident on the date he was injured;

4) He provided notice to the Bureau of the injury and of the failure of the

employer to secure payment of compensation within a reasonable period, but

no longer than 180 days after the date of his injury.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-801(d).

The Court finds that Mr. Wright worked for an employer that did not have

workers’ compensation insurance, and that he proved by a preponderance of the evidence

that he suffered an injury on August 28, 2020, arising primarily from his employment

with an uninsured employer. He was a Tennessee resident on the date he was injured,

and he provided notice to the Bureau of his injury and Mr. Cooper’s lack of insurance

within 180 days. Therefore, Mr. Wright satisfied all the requirements of section 50-6-

801(d). He must complete the enclosed form within sixty days of the date of this

Order for consideration of a discretionary payment through the Uninsured

Employers Fund. See, Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-801(a).

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that:

1. Mr. Cooper shall pay the medical bills Mr. Wright incurred for treatment of his

August 28, 2020 work injury in the amount of $19,974.05. He shall continue to

provide reasonable and necessary treatment for the injury under Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(1)(A). Dr. Jon Simpson is designated the authorized

treating physician.

2. Mr. Cooper shall pay Mr. Wright $7,978.29 in temporary total disability benefits, to

be paid in a lump sum. Mr. Wright’s claim for additional temporary total disability

benefits is denied.

3. Mr. Cooper shall pay Mr. Wright $9,447.98 in permanent partial disability benefits,

to be paid in a lump sum. Mr. Wright may petition the Court for additional

permanent partial disability benefits if, based on his employment circumstances on

January 11, 2022, he believes he is entitled to a resulting award. He must file the

petition with the Court no later than January 11, 2023.

4. Mr. Cooper is eligible to request benefits from the Uninsured Employers Fund at the

Administrator’s discretion. To do so, he must complete and file the attached form

within sixty days of the date of this Order.

5. This Compensation Order constitutes a final adjudication upon the merits of Mr.

Wright’s claim for benefits.

7

6. Mr. Cooper shall pay court costs of $150.00 to the Court Clerk within five business

days of this order becoming final.

7. Mr. Cooper shall prepare and file with the Court Clerk a Statistical Data Form

within ten business days of the date this order becomes final.

8. Unless appealed, this order shall become final in thirty days.

ENTERED December 21, 2021.

__________________________________

Robert V. Durham, Judge

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

APPENDIX

Exhibits:

1. Request for Investigation Report

2. Various photographs

3. Mr. Wright’s Wage Summary

4. C-32 Written Medical Report

5. C-30 Final Medical Report

6. Dr. Simpson’s Medical Records

7. Prescription receipts and medical bills

8. J&K Improvements Commercial Liability Policy

Technical Record:

1. Petition for Benefit Determination

2. Scheduling Order

3. Notice of Compensation Hearing

4. Dispute Certification Notice

5. Expedited Hearing Order Entered January 29, 2021

6. Expedited Hearing Order Entered March 9, 2021

8

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of this Order was sent as indicated on December 21, 2021.

Name Certified Via Via Service sent to:

Mail Fax Email

Tracy Wright X X 123 Stone Avenue, Apt. 2

Crossville, TN 3855

wrightnormantracy@gmail.com

Joshua Cooper X X 150 Grandview Drive,

Crossville, TN 38555

Jkimprovements20@gmail.com

Uninsured Employers X Lashawn.pender@tn.gov

Fund Amanda.Terry@tn.gov

_____________________________________

Penny Shrum, Clerk of Court

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

WC.CourtClerk@tn.gov

9

Compensation Hearing Order Right to Appeal:

If you disagree with this Compensation Hearing Order, you may appeal to the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board or the Tennessee Supreme Court. To appeal to the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board, you must:

1. Complete the enclosed form entitled: “Notice of Appeal,” and file the form with the

Clerk of the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims within thirty calendar days of the

date the compensation hearing order was filed. When filing the Notice of Appeal, you

must serve a copy upon the opposing party (or attorney, if represented).

2. You must pay, via check, money order, or credit card, a $75.00 filing fee within ten

calendar days after filing of the Notice of Appeal. Payments can be made in-person at

any Bureau office or by U.S. mail, hand-delivery, or other delivery service. In the

alternative, you may file an Affidavit of Indigency (form available on the Bureau’s

website or any Bureau office) seeking a waiver of the filing fee. You must file the fully-

completed Affidavit of Indigency within ten calendar days of filing the Notice of

Appeal. Failure to timely pay the filing fee or file the Affidavit of Indigency will

result in dismissal of your appeal.

3. You bear the responsibility of ensuring a complete record on appeal. You may request

from the court clerk the audio recording of the hearing for a $25.00 fee. A licensed court

reporter must prepare a transcript and file it with the court clerk within fifteen calendar

days of the filing the Notice of Appeal. Alternatively, you may file a statement of the

evidence prepared jointly by both parties within fifteen calendar days of the filing of the

Notice of Appeal. The statement of the evidence must convey a complete and accurate

account of the hearing. The Workers’ Compensation Judge must approve the statement

of the evidence before the record is submitted to the Appeals Board. If the Appeals

Board is called upon to review testimony or other proof concerning factual matters, the

absence of a transcript or statement of the evidence can be a significant obstacle to

meaningful appellate review.

4. After the Workers’ Compensation Judge approves the record and the court clerk transmits

it to the Appeals Board, a docketing notice will be sent to the parties. The appealing

party has fifteen calendar days after the date of that notice to submit a brief to the

Appeals Board. See the Practices and Procedures of the Workers’ Compensation

Appeals Board.

To appeal your case directly to the Tennessee Supreme Court, the Compensation Hearing

Order must be final and you must comply with the Tennessee Rules of Appellate

Procedure. If neither party timely files an appeal with the Appeals Board, the trial court’s

Order will become final by operation of law thirty calendar days after entry. See Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7).

For self-represented litigants: Help from an Ombudsman is available at 800-332-2667.

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation

www.tn.gov/workforce/injuries-at-work/

wc.courtclerk@tn.gov | 1-800-332-2667

Docket No.: ________________________

State File No.: ______________________

Date of Injury: _____________________

___________________________________________________________________________

Employee

v.

___________________________________________________________________________

Employer

Notice is given that ____________________________________________________________________

[List name(s) of all appealing party(ies). Use separate sheet if necessary.]

appeals the following order(s) of the Tennessee Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims to the

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (check one or more applicable boxes and include the date file-

stamped on the first page of the order(s) being appealed):

□ Expedited Hearing Order filed on _______________ □ Motion Order filed on ___________________

□ Compensation Order filed on__________________ □ Other Order filed on_____________________

issued by Judge _________________________________________________________________________.

Statement of the Issues on Appeal

Provide a short and plain statement of the issues on appeal or basis for relief on appeal:

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

Parties

Appellant(s) (Requesting Party): _________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Address: ________________________________________________________ Phone: ___________________

Email: __________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: ______________________________________________ BPR#: _______________________

Attorney’s Email: ______________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellant *

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 1 of 2 RDA 11082

Employee Name: _______________________________________ Docket No.: _____________________ Date of Inj.: _______________

Appellee(s) (Opposing Party): ___________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Appellee’s Address: ______________________________________________ Phone: ____________________

Email: _________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: _____________________________________________ BPR#: ________________________

Attorney’s Email: _____________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellee *

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, _____________________________________________________________, certify that I have forwarded a

true and exact copy of this Notice of Appeal by First Class mail, postage prepaid, or in any manner as described

in Tennessee Compilation Rules & Regulations, Chapter 0800-02-21, to all parties and/or their attorneys in this

case on this the __________ day of ___________________________________, 20 ____.

______________________________________________

[Signature of appellant or attorney for appellant]

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 2 of 2 RDA 11082

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.