Opinion

Knott, Rhonda v. Great Lakes Cheese of TN, Inc.

  • 2021 TN WC App. 86
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Dec 10, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
Timothy W. Conner, David F. Hensley, Pele I. Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 22.1%

The opinion

FILED

Dec 10, 2021

10:30 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Rhonda Knott ) Docket No. 2021-05-0288

)

v. ) State File No. 101548-2020

)

Great Lakes Cheese of TN, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Dale A. Tipps, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

The employee, a conveyor line attendant, reported falling onto her left side when she

slipped on a wet mat at work. Following the receipt of certain authorized medical care, the

employee sought treatment on her own for her left knee complaints. She subsequently

asked the court to deem her selected physician the authorized treating physician for her left

knee and to compel the employer to authorize treatment recommended by that physician.

She also asked the trial court to order reinstatement of temporary disability benefits and

assess certain penalties, attorney’s fees, and expenses against the employer. Following an

expedited hearing, the trial court declined to order the requested benefits, concluding the

employee was not justified in seeking treatment on her own under the circumstances

presented. The employee has appealed. Following the filing of Employee’s notice of

appeal, the parties filed additional documents indicating Employee had selected a physician

from Employer’s panel. Upon careful consideration of the record, we affirm the trial

court’s order in part, conclude part of the appeal is moot, and remand the case.

Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which

Judge Pele I. Godkin and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

Adam W. Selvidge, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Rhonda Knott

J. Allen Callison, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Great Lakes Cheese of

TN, Inc.

1

Factual and Procedural Background

Rhonda Knott (“Employee”), a Tennessee resident, worked for Great Lakes Cheese

of TN, Inc. (“Employer”), as a conveyor line attendant. On October 27, 2020, Employee

reported suffering injuries when she slipped on a wet floor mat and fell onto her left side.

The incident was witnessed and caught on surveillance video, and it was reported in a

timely manner. Employee reported pain and symptoms in her neck, left shoulder, left

elbow, back, and left knee. Approximately one week later, Employee was seen at

Physician’s Medical Care where she underwent several x-rays. After a second visit at that

clinic, Employee was referred for an orthopedic evaluation. As a result, Employer

provided her a panel of specialists from which she selected Dr. Richard Bowman of

Tennessee Orthopaedic Alliance.

During her first visit with Dr. Bowman, according to his January 6, 2021 report,

Employee complained of “pain radiating from her neck into her left arm and from her back

down into her left leg.” Employee testified she also complained during that visit of

shoulder pain, hip pain, left knee pain, and left elbow pain, but those specific complaints

are not reflected in Dr. Bowman’s report. Dr. Bowman indicated Employee “has been

dealing with left upper and lower extremity radiculopathy.” He noted weakness and

abnormal reflexes in her left arm and left leg, but he made no specific reference to

complaints, physical examination findings, or treatment recommendations for the left knee.

Following Employee’s second visit with Dr. Bowman, he noted lumbar MRI

findings he felt were “likely responsible for her radicular-type symptom.” He also noted

Employer had denied authorization for a cervical MRI. Dr. Bowman recommended an

epidural steroid injection to the lumbar region and reiterated his request for a cervical MRI.

He also recommended Employee remain out of work.

Dr. Bowman’s subsequent records indicate the cervical MRI revealed “mild spinal

canal stenosis at C3-C4 and moderate foraminal stenosis [at] C4-C5.” He also noted “a

nonspecific left T5 paraspinal lesion.” He indicated a “lack of response” to the lumbar

epidural steroid injection, and he treated Employee with medications and ordered EMGs.

In his final record, dated March 8, 2021, Dr. Bowman noted that “[h]er workup has been

overall unrevealing” and that her symptoms were not improving. He recommended a

surgical evaluation followed by a possible neurology referral.

As noted above, Dr. Bowman’s records do not reflect that Employee made specific

complaints or requested treatment for her left knee during the course of his treatment.

Conversely, Employee testified that she reported left knee symptoms at every visit with

Dr. Bowman and requested treatment for the left knee, but Dr. Bowman provided no such

treatment. She also testified she asked Dr. Bowman to refer her to a knee specialist, and

he made such a referral in early May 2021.

2

In the interim, Employee sought treatment for her left knee with Dr. Colin Looney

of the Bone and Joint Institute of Tennessee, who she first saw in April 2021. During her

expedited hearing testimony, Employee acknowledged she did not contact Employer or the

insurance adjuster prior to seeing Dr. Looney. He ordered an MRI of the left knee that he

reported revealed a complex tear of the lateral meniscus. Dr. Looney commented that “this

likely happened at the time of the fall and is probably work-related.” He recommended

surgical intervention.

In late May 2021, Employee attempted to see Dr. Roderick Vaughan, the physician

to whom Dr. Bowman had referred her. However, according to Employee’s testimony,

when she appeared at Dr. Vaughan’s office for the May 24 appointment, he refused to see

her. In early June, Employer offered Employee a panel of specialists, but she declined to

select a physician from the panel, preferring instead to continue treating with Dr. Looney.

As a result of her refusal to select a physician from the panel, Employer suspended

temporary disability benefits pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

204(d)(8).

Employee filed a petition for benefits on June 4, 2021, asking the court to designate

Dr. Looney as her authorized treating physician for the left knee. Employee also asked the

court to order Employer to reinstate temporary disability benefits and to assess penalties,

attorney’s fees, and expenses related to Employer’s decision to suspend benefits.

Following an expedited hearing, the trial court concluded Employee had not met her burden

of showing she was likely to prevail at trial in proving her entitlement to medical treatment

with Dr. Looney, back or ongoing temporary disability benefits, penalties, attorney’s fees,

or expenses. Employee has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing the trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2021). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings and credibility determinations made by the trial

court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009).

However, “[n]o similar deference need be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon

documentary evidence.” Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC,

2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the

interpretation and application of statutes and regulations are questions of law that are

reviewed de novo. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d

393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our obligation to construe the workers’

compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in accordance with basic principles of

statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor either the employee or the

employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2021).

3

Analysis

On appeal, Employee raises a single issue, which is whether the trial court erred in

declining to award “back and ongoing temporary benefits.” Upon determining Employee

was not justified in seeking medical treatment on her own, the trial court considered

whether Employer had properly suspended temporary disability benefits based on

Employee’s refusal to choose a specialist physician from the panel it had provided. After

considering the evidence presented to date, the trial court determined Employee “does not

appear likely to prove entitlement to temporary disability benefits until she makes a panel

selection.”

It is well-settled that an employer is legally obligated to provide to an injured

employee reasonable and necessary medical treatment that is causally related to the work

accident. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(a)(1)(A) (2021). In this regard, Tennessee’s

Workers’ Compensation Law provides:

The injured employee shall accept the medical benefits afforded under this

section; provided that in any case when the employee has suffered an injury

and expressed a need for medical care, the employer shall designate a group

of three (3) or more independent reputable physicians, surgeons,

chiropractors or specialty practice groups if available in the injured

employee’s community . . . .

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(i). In addition, the law states:

If the injured employee refuses to comply with any reasonable request for

examination or to accept the medical or specialized medical services that the

employer is required to furnish under this chapter, the injured employee’s

right to compensation shall be suspended and no compensation shall be due

and payable while the injured employee continues to refuse.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(d)(8).

We addressed a similar scenario in Rhodes v. Amazon.com, LLC, No. 2018-01-0349,

2019 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 24 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. June 11,

2019). In that case, the panel-selected physician made a referral to a physician, but the

employee refused to attend the appointment because he felt the drive to the specialist

physician’s office was too far. Id. at *5. Thereafter, he sought treatment on his own with

a different physician. Id. In addressing a suspension of temporary benefits under section

204(d)(8), we concluded:

Employee testified that his decision not to attend his appointment was based

on his belief that it was too far from his home. As the trial court found, and

4

as we have affirmed, Dr. Hutcheson was located in Employee’s community.

Thus, Employee’s refusal to attend his . . . appointment with Dr. Hutcheson

based on location was unreasonable, and Employer appropriately suspended

his right to compensation as provided in section 50-6-204(d)(8).

Id. at *23-24.

Here, Employee admitted she did not contact Employer or its insurance adjuster

prior to seeing Dr. Looney, and she did not inform Employer of her treatment with Dr.

Looney until May 12. She admitted that the authorized physician, Dr. Bowman, referred

her to Dr. Vaughan for evaluation of her left knee. She admitted that when Dr. Vaughan

refused to see her, Employer provided a panel of specialists within approximately one

week. Finally, she admitted she declined to select a physician from the panel and indicated

her desire to continue treating with Dr. Looney. Under these circumstances, we cannot

conclude the trial court erred in determining Employee was not likely to prevail at trial in

establishing entitlement to temporary disability benefits during the period she declined to

select a physician from the specialist panel offered by Employer.

In her brief, Employee asserts that because she suffered from multiple injuries and

was entitled to temporary disability benefits “for more than one injury,” she has not

“refused to accept” the medical services offered for her neck and back injuries, and she

should have continued to receive temporary disability benefits regardless of her decision

not to accept medical services from a panel physician for her left knee condition. However,

following the filing of the notice of appeal in this case, Employee filed a motion to compel

medical treatment with Dr. Bowman. Attached as an exhibit to that motion was an email

from Employee’s counsel dated September 28 in which counsel indicated Employee had

selected a physician from Employer’s panel of knee specialists, and a signed panel was

attached to the email. Given the portion of the trial court’s order stating that benefits were

suspended “until she makes a panel selection,” we conclude the issue regarding entitlement

to ongoing temporary disability benefits is moot. We further conclude Employee has not

presented sufficient evidence at this stage of the case supporting her claim for the payment

of temporary disability benefits from the date Employer suspended those benefits until

September 28, the date she selected a physician from the panel. Given the interlocutory

nature of the trial court’s order, Employee can, at a future date, present additional proof

she may wish to offer in support of her claim for additional temporary disability benefits.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Rhonda Knott ) Docket No. 2021-05-0288

)

v. ) State File No. 101548-2020

)

Great Lakes Cheese of TN, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Dale A. Tipps, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 10th day

of December, 2021.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Adam W. Selvidge X adam@reasonoverlaw.com

Allen Callison X allen.callison@mgclaw.com

Dale A. Tipps, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.