Opinion

Morton, Dustin v. Morsey Constructors d/b/a Harper Industries

  • 2021 TN WC App. 76
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Oct 4, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
Pele I. Godkin, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 21.6%

The opinion

FILED

Oct 04, 2021

10:45 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Dustin Morton ) Docket No. 2021-06-0129

)

v. ) State File No. 5478-2020

)

Morsey Constructors d/b/a Harper )

Industries, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

Reversed and Remanded

The employee, an ironworker, was injured when a metal panel fell from a roof, hit the

ground, and struck him on the head and left shoulder, causing him to twist and fall on his

right knee. The employee received authorized medical treatment for the knee injury and

was eventually placed at maximum medical improvement and returned to work with no

restrictions by his authorized physician. Upon returning to work, the employee reported

experiencing pain in his neck and shoulder blades with numbness in his arms. The

employee did not request medical treatment for his neck, upper back, and arm symptoms

until more than one year after the work accident. The employer denied medical treatment

for those conditions, citing a lack of medical proof establishing causation. Following an

expedited hearing, the trial court determined that the employee was entitled to medical

benefits for his alleged neck, upper back, and arm injuries without coming forward with

any evidence of medical causation. The employer has appealed. Upon careful

consideration of the record, we reverse the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding Judge

Timothy W. Conner and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

J. Allen Callison, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Morsey Constructors

d/b/a Harper Industries

Jeffrey P. Boyd, Jackson, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Dustin Morton

1

Factual and Procedural Background

On January 17, 2020, Dustin Morton (“Employee”), an ironworker employed by

Morsey Constructors d/b/a Harper Industries (“Employer”), was injured in the course and

scope of his employment when a large metal panel fell from a roof, hit the ground, and

struck his left shoulder and head, causing his right knee to twist and him to fall. Employee

was transported to Fast Pace Urgent Care Clinic where he complained of “pain in the right

knee,” reporting that something “fe[ll] off of a building and hit him in the left shoulder and

his head and somehow he twisted his foot or leg and hurt his knee.” Employee denied

“back pain, muscle pain.” He was provided with a knee brace and instructed to return in a

week for a follow-up appointment if there was no resolution of his pain.

On January 24, 2020, Employee returned to Fast Pace Urgent Care Clinic with

continued complaints of knee pain and was referred for an MRI, which revealed a tear of

his anterior cruciate ligament (“ACL”). Employee was referred to an orthopaedic surgeon,

and Employer provided a panel of physicians from which Employee selected Dr. David

Moore. Dr. Moore first examined Employee on February 20, 2020, and diagnosed

Employee with acute right knee pain, “[b]ucket-handle tear of the medial meniscus of [the]

right knee,” and “[r]upture of anterior cruciate ligament of [the] right knee.” Dr. Moore

assigned work restrictions and, on February 24, 2020, performed surgery on his knee.

At Employee’s March 6, 2020 postoperative visit, Dr. Moore documented that

Employee “denie[d] any unusual complaints or new injury” and was undergoing physical

therapy. Employee continued physical therapy and remained on work restrictions for

several months afterward. On August 27, 2020, during a visit with Dr. Moore, Employee

complained of new lateral sided knee pain but “denied any [new] injury.” Dr. Moore

ordered a new MRI, which revealed an intact ACL graft and no new recurrent meniscal

tears. On November 10, 2020, approximately ten months after the accident, Dr. Moore

placed Employee at maximum medical improvement and allowed him to return to work

without restrictions.

Following his medical release, Employee returned to work with Employer for a brief

period of time before he was laid off. Employee found subsequent employment and

worked in a fabrication shop for “four or five weeks” until that job was concluded.

Employee stated he felt “more pain and that his arms would go numb” when he was “doing

stuff or in an awkward position welding or fabricating.” As a result, on February 2, 2021,

Employee submitted a request for medical care to Employer through his attorney. On

February 5, 2021, Employer sent a questionnaire to Dr. Moore, requesting further

clarification regarding Employee’s request for medical treatment, asking:

1. At any time, has [Employee] requested treatment for or otherwise

indicated that he sustained an injury to his neck or shoulder as a result

of the at-work accident that occurred on January 17, 2020?

2

2. At any point have you deemed it necessary to recommend any treatment

or evaluation for [Employee’s] neck or shoulder as it relates to the at-

work injury on January 17, 2020?

Dr. Moore replied “no” to both questions. As a result, Employer denied Employee’s

request for further medical treatment. On February 9, 2021, Employee filed a petition for

benefits requesting, in part, a panel of physicians to treat his neck and shoulders. Following

an unsuccessful mediation, a dispute certification notice was issued identifying medical

benefits as a disputed issue. In the dispute certification notice, Employer asserted that

Employee “never voiced any complaints until approximately [one] year after the accident”

and disputed “whether Employee’s neck and shoulder complaints are related to his work

injury.” Employee was later deposed and testified he did not personally request medical

care for his neck or shoulder from the workers’ compensation carrier, although he

“casually” mentioned soreness in his neck and shoulders to the nurse case manager and his

work supervisor. Employee agreed that any request for medical treatment “would have

gone through [his] attorney.”

In a July 12, 2021 expedited hearing, Employee testified that he had received no

medical treatment for his neck, shoulder, or arms since the date of the work incident. On

cross-examination, he testified as follows regarding whether he reported his neck and

shoulder complaints:

Q: And you never told your supervisor during that time that you needed to

go see a doctor about your neck or shoulder; is that correct?

A: Not to the point of, like, we need to go have a scan done on this thing,

I’m in that much discomfort. But we talked about it being sore and stuff

once I got moving.

Q: You had the adjuster’s e-mail and phone number, correct?

A: Yes.

Q: You never sent her an e-mail or gave her a phone call saying, Hey,

Jeanie, I need to see the doctor about my neck, did you?

A: No, sir.

Q: After you got discharged by Dr. Moore in November of 2020, you

exchanged e-mails with Ms. Moxley, is that correct?

A: Yes, sir.

3

Q: During none of those e-mails did you ever say, Hey, Jeanie, I know

we’re talking about my knee here, but don’t forget about my neck? You

didn’t do that, did you?

A: No, sir.

Employee also testified that, while he had the ability to contact his nurse case manager and

adjuster, he did not request care through the workers’ compensation insurer for his neck

and shoulders until after he contacted an attorney.

The trial court determined Employee had presented sufficient evidence from which

it could conclude he was likely to prevail at trial regarding his request for additional

medical benefits and awarded medical benefits for Employee’s neck and shoulders, stating

that proof of medical causation is not required at an expedited hearing to obligate an

employer to provide treatment. Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2020). When the trial judge has had the opportunity

to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable

deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn.,

Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need be

afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2020).

Analysis

Employer asserts Employee failed to “[come] forward with sufficient evidence of a

compensable injury to his neck or shoulder based on his failure to report any injury to his

neck/shoulder to any medical provider or otherwise request medical care for those body

parts for over one year.” In support of its contention, Employer emphasizes that Employee

acknowledged that he did not experience any pain in his neck until he became more active

after surgery, and that he “did not report any pain in his neck to any of his medical

providers . . . [and] never even testified that he believes that his neck problems are related

4

to this fall.” Employer maintains that Employee’s proof is insufficient for him to carry his

burden of proof “even under the more relaxed McCord [v. Advantage Human Resourcing,

No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App.

Bd. Mar. 17, 2015)] standard.” Based upon our review of the record, we agree that

Employee failed to provide sufficient evidence at the expedited hearing to indicate he is

likely to prevail at trial in establishing entitlement to medical benefits for his alleged neck

and shoulder conditions.

Generally, to be compensable, an injury must arise primarily out of and in the course

and scope of employment and must cause disablement, death, and/or the need for medical

treatment of the employee. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14) (2020). An injury “arises

primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment” only if it has been shown by

a preponderance of the evidence that the employment contributed more than fifty percent

(50%) in causing the injury, considering all causes. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(B).

Here, there is no dispute regarding the compensability of Employee’s knee injury, and

Employer provided workers’ compensation benefits associated with treatment for that

injury. However, Employer disputed the compensability of Employee’s alleged neck and

shoulder injuries based on the significant delay from the occurrence of the accident to the

request for medical treatment.

As we have previously stated, an employee need not prove each and every element

of his or her claim by a preponderance of the evidence in order to obtain temporary

disability benefits or medical benefits at an interlocutory stage of a case. McCord, 2015

TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9. However, an employee does bear the burden

of coming forward with sufficient evidence from which the trial court can determine that

the employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(l). Id. Thus, an injured worker retains the burden of proof

at all stages of a workers’ compensation claim, and a trial court can grant relief at an

expedited hearing if the court is satisfied that an employee has met the burden of showing

that he or she is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits. Tenn. Code Ann.§ 50-6-

239(d)(l). Nevertheless, “[t]his lesser evidentiary standard, . . . does not relieve an

employee of the burden of producing evidence of an injury by accident that arose primarily

out of and in the course and scope of employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some

relief to be granted if that evidence does not rise to the level of a ‘preponderance of the

evidence.’” Buchanan v. Carlex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App.

Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015).

Here, it is undisputed that a large, heavy panel fell from a roof and, after hitting the

ground, struck Employee’s head and shoulder while he was in the course and scope of his

employment. Thus, we discern no error with the trial court’s determination that Employee

came forward with sufficient evidence to prove a work-related incident identifiable by time

and place of occurrence. However, that finding does not end the inquiry.

5

In its order, the trial court emphasized that the hearing was “about a request for

additional medical treatment [and] proof of medical causation is not required to obligate

an employer to provide treatment.” In addressing whether Employee’s injury arose

primarily out of and in the course and scope of his employment, the trial court relied, in

part, on Employee’s testimony that “he told [his] providers and in particular Dr. Moore that

a heavy roofing panel hit his head and left shoulder.” The trial court noted that Employee’s

testimony was “not necessarily incompatible” with that of Dr. Moore and stated that,

although Employee did not request medical treatment for his neck and shoulders, “the

possibility remains that he could have injured his neck and shoulders from the accident”

and “[t]hat will be for a doctor to decide.” (Emphasis added.) The court also “place[d]

little weight” on medical records that solely focused on Employee’s knee, finding they

“[did] not prove that his alleged injuries did not arise primarily from the work accident.” 1

In reaching this result, the court relied on our decision in McCord. However, the

facts of this case are distinguishable from those in McCord. In McCord, the employee

testified without contradiction that she felt symptoms in her lower back while lifting boxes

at work. McCord, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *15-16. The employee’s

job included lifting boxes, and she visited the emergency room twice over the following

two days with complaints of low back and right shoulder symptoms. Id. at *17. The

employee reported the work injury to her employer four days after the work incident and

attempted to give her on-site work supervisor “medical paperwork” that same day. Id. at

*18. Based upon the totality of the evidence and the particular circumstances of that case,

including that the request for medical treatment that occurred within a few days of the work

incident, we concluded that the employee had come forward with sufficient evidence

entitling her to a panel of physicians. Id.

The trial court also relied on our decision in Lewis v. Molly Maid, No. 2015-06-

0456, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 19, at *8-9 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd.

Apr. 20, 2016) for the proposition that medical proof is not required at an interlocutory

stage of the case. In Lewis, the employee provided unrefuted testimony that she

experienced back pain after operating a vacuum during her initial three days of training.

The employee informed her trainer of her back pain, and the employer acknowledged being

told of the employee’s complaints. Id. at *7. Further, the employer was aware that the

employee intended to go to an emergency room to obtain medical treatment for her back.

1

In its brief on appeal, Employer also contends the trial court’s “failure to make a finding of fact and

conclusion of law that the at-work injury was more likely than not the primary cause of the need for medical

care amounts to an order for a causation opinion ‘for a doctor to decide.’” We previously addressed this

issue in Pool v. Jarmon D&Q Transport, No. 2015-06-0510, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 1

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 4, 2016), when we stated: “While an injured worker who meets the

applicable statutory requirements is entitled to medical benefits, there is no ‘right to a causation opinion’

as such. If a trial court determines that medical benefits are appropriate, the court can order the initiation

of such benefits. However, it is the parties’ responsibility to secure expert opinions or other evidence

necessary to address any applicable burden of proof.” Id. at *9-10 (citations omitted).

6

Id. The medical evidence supported the employee’s allegation that she began suffering

severe back pain that she attributed to using the vacuum cleaner. Id. at *8. Again, as in

McCord, the request for medical treatment was close in time to the occurrence of the work

incident. Thus, under the circumstances presented in that case, we agreed the employee

had come forward with sufficient evidence to support the trial court’s order compelling the

employer to provide a panel of physicians. Id. at *9.

Here, unlike the employees in McCord and Lewis, Employee did not request

medical treatment for his alleged neck or shoulder injuries until 54 weeks after the work

incident, despite having access to an authorized physician, a nurse case manager, and an

adjuster for over a year. In addition, Employee acknowledged that he did not ask Employer

to provide medical treatment for his neck or shoulders during that 54-week period of time.

Moreover, Employee provided no testimony that he believed his neck and shoulder

problems were related to the work incident, and there is no medical proof in the record that

Employee’s neck and shoulder problems were causally related to the work incident. While

Employee need not prove each and every element of his claim by a preponderance of the

evidence to obtain medical benefits at an interlocutory stage of the case, given such a

significant delay before his request for medical treatment, we conclude he must come

forward with more than a mere allegation of alleged work-related injuries to support his

claim for authorized medical treatment. In short, the length of time between a work

accident and the request for medical treatment, while not dispositive, is a relevant factor to

consider in the court’s analysis of whether an employee is entitled to medical care at an

interlocutory stage of the case.

It is undisputed that a heavy panel hit Employee’s head and shoulder. However, it

is also undisputed that over one year elapsed prior to his request for medical treatment for

his neck, shoulders, and arms, during which time Employee could have discussed such

issues with his authorized treating physician, the adjuster, the nurse case manager, and/or

Employer. We are not persuaded that Employee’s vague descriptions of “discomfort”

months after the incident occurred is sufficient evidence at this stage of the proceedings to

support a conclusion that he is likely to prevail at trial in establishing an entitlement to

medical treatment for his neck and shoulders.

Conclusion

Based on the record before us, we conclude the evidence preponderates against the

trial court’s interlocutory award of medical benefits for Employee’s neck and shoulders.

We reverse the trial court’s expedited hearing order and remand the case. Costs on appeal

are taxed to Employee.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Dustin Morton ) Docket No. 2021-06-0129

)

v. ) State File No. 5478-2020

)

Morsey Constructors d/b/a Harper )

Industries, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 4th day

of October, 2021.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Allen Callison X allen.callison@mgclaw.com

Jeff Boyd X jboyd@borenandboyd.com

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.