Opinion

Barnes, Christopher v. Vanderbilt University Medical Center

  • 2021 TN WC 229
Court
Tennessee Court of Workers' Compensation Claims
Filed
Sep 21, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
Joshua Davis Baker
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

FILED

Sep 21, 2021

01:12 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE COURT OF

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

CLAIMS

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

IN THE COURT OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLAIMS

AT NASHVILLE

CHRISTOPHER BARNES, ) Docket No. 2021-06-0176

Employee, )

v. ) State File No. 800146-2021

VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY )

MEDICAL CENTER, ) Judge Joshua Davis Baker

Employer. )

)

____________________________________________________________________

EXPEDITED HEARING ORDER

____________________________________________________________________

This first standoff over a COVID-19 infection is reminiscent of a quote from

Stephen King’s The Stand, a horror story about a global pandemic: “The place where you

made your stand never mattered. Only that you were there . . . and still on your feet.” This

Court is relieved that Mr. Barnes is here, on his feet, and able to tell his story.

At a September 1, 2020 expedited hearing, Mr. Barnes requested temporary

disability benefits and alleged that he contracted COVID-19 from cleaning the hospital

rooms of discharged COVID-19 patients. The Court finds he did not present sufficient

evidence that he is likely to prevail on his claim for temporary disability benefits.

Claim History

Mr. Barnes, a janitor at Vanderbilt, alleged he contracted COVID-19 from cleaning

hospital rooms of discharged COVID-19 patients shortly after Christmas. Until that point,

Vanderbilt had accommodated his doctor’s request that he not clean those rooms because

of his partner’s high-risk pregnancy. After cleaning the rooms for two days, Mr. Barnes’s

symptoms emerged on December 30. Two days later, he tested positive for COVID-19.

Both Mr. Barnes’s testimony and his supervisors’ Rule 72 declarations described

the circumstances surrounding his potential exposure. The week that his symptoms

developed, he cleaned rooms for two days “where COVID-19 patients had been staying

after those patients were discharged.” He followed Vanderbilt’s safety protocol: he washed

1

his hands and used sanitizer before entering and after leaving, and wore personal protective

equipment (PPE), “including gloves, a gown, eye protection, and a proper mask.” His

manager maintained that no other employee reported an infection from cleaning these

rooms.

But Mr. Barnes said he did not go anywhere other than work during the week before

his symptoms manifested (December 23-30, 2020). His partner shopped for groceries; he

worked from 3 p.m. to 11 p.m. and slept until noon; and his partner never got sick, implying

that his exposure occurred outside his home.

Mr. Barnes said he told his supervisor, Antonio Dyson, from the outset that his

exposure happened at work. Mr. Dyson sent him directly to Occupational Health without

offering a panel of physicians. When Mr. Barnes told staff there that his illness was work-

related, they directed him back to Mr. Dyson to complete paperwork. When he again sought

help initiating a claim, Mr. Dyson told him to figure it out himself. In his declaration, Mr.

Dyson denied saying this but confirmed that Mr. Barnes reported a work injury. He

acknowledged, “Employee did report to me on or about January 3…that he had tested

positive for COVID-19 and that he thought he might have contracted it at work.”

Through a policy outside its workers’ compensation program, Vanderbilt provided

medical treatment for Mr. Barnes with its Occupational Health Clinic and paid him lost

wages until February 27, 2021.

Teresa Overton, Vanderbilt’s workers’ compensation manager, explained how

Vanderbilt’s COVID-19 policy is unrelated to its workers’ compensation program and did

not trigger notice of a claim. She said Vanderbilt had “a policy where it paid any employee

who tested positive . . . or who had to be quarantined . . . for a period of time that would

allow for recovery . . . regardless of whether the employee’s need to be out of work due to

COVID-19 was work-related or not.” Moreover, she contended that he “never followed

VUMC’s procedure for making a workers’ compensation claim, which required him to

complete a report on VUMC’s online veritas system.” So, she did not receive notice of a

work-injury allegation until Mr. Barnes filed his petition for benefit determination in

March. She denied the claim over lack of medical causation and notice.

When Mr. Barnes stopped receiving wages on February 27 and felt stymied from

initiating a workers’ compensation claim, he filed a petition on March 11 for temporary

disability benefits. Vanderbilt had stopped paying his wages after a nurse at Occupational

Health suggested on February 22 that he could work four hours per day.

However, that same medical record also suggested Mr. Barnes was developing

pneumonia from his COVID-19 illness. It documented the following impression from his

chest x-ray: “Patchy airspace opacities in the left lower lung could represent sequelae of

Covid infection versus developing bacterial pneumonia. Follow-up chest x-ray in 4-6

2

weeks is recommended to ensure resolution.” In fact, Mr. Barnes testified he developed

“COVID pneumonia” shortly after that, and Occupational Health referred him to a

specialist, who restricted him from working again until at least June.

Yet Mr. Barnes did not present a clear picture of his pneumonia diagnosis, its

treatment, or his inability to work, as he did not file any medical records of treatment that

occurred after early March.

Meanwhile, Vanderbilt maintained Mr. Barnes is not owed temporary disability

benefits because its supervising physician at Occupational Health, Dr. Ana Nobis,

determined his illness was not work-related. Dr. Nobis said that assuming he wore PPE

appropriately and experienced no “known high-risk exposure,” “the risk of Mr. Barnes

contracting COVID-19 [at work] was less than, and certainly not greater than, his risk of

contracting COVID-19 in the community at the height of the pandemic.” She

acknowledged that “improper use [of PPE] could have potentially increased risk.” But she

concluded, “I cannot say that Mr. Barnes’ COVID-19 infection resulted primarily from his

work at VUMC versus from exposure outside the workplace.”

For his part, Mr. Barnes said Dr. Nobis never treated him, never examined him

physically, and never questioned him about the circumstances of his exposure or the events

leading up to his symptoms’ onset.

While grateful for medical treatment and wages, Mr. Barnes expressed frustration

over three points: his supervisor did not accept his report of a workers’ compensation

claim; he did not receive lost wages after February, when he was still disabled from

working; and Vanderbilt did not permit him an opportunity to select a physician from a

panel. Fortunately, Mr. Barnes recovered and no longer needs medical attention.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Mr. Barnes need only present sufficient evidence at this stage that he is likely to

prevail at a final hearing. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1) (2020); McCord v.

Advantage Human Resourcing, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Mar. 27,

2015).

He requested temporary disability benefits from February 27 until he could return

to work in June. Vanderbilt contended Mr. Barnes is not owed those benefits because he

did not give proper notice of his injury and because he cannot prove his exposure to

COVID-19 occurred at work, particularly given Dr. Nobis’s opinion.

3

Notice

Under Workers’ Compensation Law, an employee “shall, immediately upon the

occurrence of an injury . . . give or cause to be given to the employer who has no actual

notice, written notice of the injury[.]” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201(a)(1).

The Court finds Vanderbilt had actual notice of an alleged injury. Mr. Dyson

acknowledged that Mr. Barnes reported a work-related illness to him within days of testing

positive. He knew that Mr. Barnes had a known, potential exposure to the illness at work,

as he assigned Mr. Barnes to clean rooms recently vacated by COVID-19 patients, and he

knew Mr. Barnes then tested positive days later.

Because Vanderbilt had actual notice, Mr. Barnes did not have a statutory duty to

submit written notice. Further, he had no obligation to seek a tutorial from his supervisor

on Vanderbilt’s procedure for reporting a claim, nor did he have any obligation “to

complete a report on [its] online veritas system.”

Therefore, Mr. Barnes is likely to prevail at trial in proving that Vanderbilt received

actual notice of his claim as early as January 3, when he notified his supervisor that he had

tested positive for an illness he became exposed to at work.

Medical Causation

To prevail at a final hearing, Mr. Barnes must prove he suffered an injury caused by

a specific incident or set of incidents arising “primarily out of and in the course and scope

of employment,” which means the employment contributed more than fifty percent in

causing the injury, considering all causes. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(A)-(B).

Where an employer has presented expert medical proof that the employee’s

condition is not work-related, the employee must present expert medical proof that the

alleged injury is causally related to the employment when the case is not “obvious, simple

[or] routine.” Berdnik v. Fairfield Glade Com’ty Club, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 32, at *10-11 (May 18, 2017).

Because COVID-19 silently and unseeingly spreads, how a person contracts it is

often unclear.

Here, Vanderbilt presented expert proof concerning medical causation. Dr. Nobis

determined that Mr. Barnes’s risk of contracting COVID-19 at work was less than his risk

of contracting it in his community, assuming he wore PPE correctly. She also considered

that Mr. Barnes did not report a work-related “known high-risk exposure,” which

presumably would involve face-to-face, prolonged contact with an infectious person.

4

The Court is presented with a rather murky causation conundrum: whether he

contracted this illness during the course and scope of his employment, as opposed to in his

home (from a loved one or roommate) or from his community (at a store, church, restaurant,

social gathering, etc.).

While Mr. Barnes did not present expert medical proof, he cited a known and

identifiable, specific encounter with COVID-19 over two days at work. No one disputes

that patients infected by COVID-19 occupied the hospital rooms that he cleaned, or that he

contracted this illness. Vanderbilt also recognized that cleaning these rooms presented

some danger, as it provided PPE and implemented a safety protocol to mitigate his

exposure risk. And Dr. Nobis recognized it, acknowledging that improper use of PPE

would increase his risk of exposure.

Mr. Barnes testified he had no other known, potential exposure in his community or

in his household in the week preceding symptom-onset. He became ill shortly after

Christmas and testified he did not go anywhere but work from December 23 to December

30. His partner went to the store, but she did not get sick. So, he argued that the exposure

that caused his illness had not happened within his household or community.

With that testimony, Vanderbilt’s expert proof is of limited use, especially when

considering the Appeals Board’s decision in Hawes v. McLane Company, Inc., 2021 TN

Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 30, *9 (Aug. 25, 2021).

In Hawes, the employer provided medical care without permitting the employee a

choice. As part of that care, the employee underwent a test that was performed by a

technician and supervised remotely by a physician. The physician then gave an unfavorable

causation opinion premised upon the test, finding “no acute pathology or change” in the

employee’s condition, suggesting his claim was not compensable.

Like Hawes, Vanderbilt’s expert proof refuting Mr. Barnes’s allegation of a work

injury arose from its failure to follow the law. And as in Hawes, the facts underpinning Mr.

Barnes’s work-injury allegation are undisputed: he cleaned rooms permeated by the same

illness he later contracted. Yet Vanderbilt funneled him directly to its Occupational Health

Clinic, where it controlled and directed his treatment, including decisions concerning his

restrictions, the work-relatedness of his illness, and a referral to a specialist.

Because Vanderbilt directed treatment without permitting Mr. Barnes any choice, it

failed in its obligation to provide him a panel of physicians. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-

204(a)(3)(A)(i). While “an employer has a right to investigate and deny an employee’s

claim based on its factual assertion that the alleged work accident did not occur as reported,

or as the result of asserting an affirmative defense[,] . . . an employer’s assertion that an

employee has no medical evidence supporting his or her claim does not, standing alone,

excuse it from [its] statutory obligations under section 50-6-204(a)(1)(A).” Hawes, at *9.

5

By failing to provide a panel, Vanderbilt effectively steered the medical care in this

claim, usurping Mr. Barnes’s privilege to control his choice of physician. Instead, he

received care only from nurses under Dr. Nobis’s supervision. She did not phsyically

examine him or consider his personal account during the relevant period before his

symptoms emerged. In other words, she considered and contributed weight to other causes

of his infection, like community exposure, without examining him to ensure those potential

exposures existed.

Because Vanderbilt eschewed its legal obligation to provide Mr. Barnes a panel of

physicians, the Court refers Vanderbilt to the Compliance Program of the Bureau of

Workers’ Compensation to determine whether it should be assessed a civil penalty.

Still, questions remain concerning what relief the Court can provide Mr. Barnes.

The answer at this time is none. At the hearing, he admitted he recovered and needs no

further treatment, so providing a panel seems futile. Also, the Court cannot find that he is

likely to prevail at a final hearing on temporary disability benefits because he did not

present proof of his disability from working or its duration. See Jones v. Crencor Leasing

and Sales, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 48, at *7 (Dec. 11, 2015).

While Mr. Barnes testified that he developed COVID-related pneumonia and saw a

specialist who restricted him from working until early June, he presented no medical

records supporting this hearsay testimony. Without accompanying expert medical proof,

his testimony cannot serve as the basis for an award of temporary disability benefits. The

Court notes, however, that this ruling does not foreclose Mr. Barnes from presenting

medical records from the specialist to support his claim for temporary disability benefits in

the course of his claim.

IT IS ORDERED as follows:

1. The Court denies Mr. Barnes’s request for temporary disability benefits and medical

benefits at this time.

2. The Court refers Vanderbilt to the Compliance Program of the Bureau of Workers’

Compensation for appropriate action, if any, based on Vanderbilt’s failure to

provide a panel of physicians as required by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-

6-204(a)(3)(A)(i) and Tennessee Compilation Rules and Regulations 0800-02-01-

.06 (1).

3. The Court sets a scheduling hearing on Monday, November 22, 2021, at 9:00

a.m. (CST). The parties must call (615) 741-2113 or toll-free at (855) 874-0474 to

participate. Failure to call might result in a determination of the issues without the

party’s participation.

6

ENTERED September 21, 2021.

___________________________________

Joshua Davis Baker, Judge

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

APPENDIX

Exhibits

1. Declaration of Teresa Overton, including attachments

2. Declaration of Antonio Dyson

3. Declaration of Troy Cole, including attachments

4. Declaration of Dr. Ana Nobis

5. Declaration of Angela Wells

6. Declaration of Christopher Barnes

7. Reasonable Accommodation Healthcare Provider Form

8. Medical Records

Technical Record

1. Petition for Benefit Determination

2. Dispute Certification Notice

3. Request for Expedited Hearing, decision on the record

4. Employer’s Response to Employee’s Request for Expedited Hearing

5. Employer’s motion to Amend DCN

6. Employer’s motion for evidentiary hearing

7. Order on motion to amend and motion for evidentiary hearing entered June 22,

2021

7

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of this Order was sent as indicated on September 21, 2021.

Name Certified Via Via Service sent to:

Mail Fax Email

Christopher Barnes, X chrisbarns93@icloud.com

Employee

Nate Cherry, X ncherry@howardtatelaw.com

Employer’s Attorney

____________________________________________

Penny Shrum, Court Clerk

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

Wc.courtclerk@tn.gov

8

Expedited Hearing Order Right to Appeal:

If you disagree with this Expedited Hearing Order, you may appeal to the Workers’

Compensation Appeals Board. To appeal an expedited hearing order, you must:

1. Complete the enclosed form entitled: “Notice of Appeal,” and file the form with the

Clerk of the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims within seven business days of the

date the expedited hearing order was filed. When filing the Notice of Appeal, you must

serve a copy upon all parties.

2. You must pay, via check, money order, or credit card, a $75.00 filing fee within ten

calendar days after filing of the Notice of Appeal. Payments can be made in-person at

any Bureau office or by U.S. mail, hand-delivery, or other delivery service. In the

alternative, you may file an Affidavit of Indigency (form available on the Bureau’s

website or any Bureau office) seeking a waiver of the fee. You must file the fully-

completed Affidavit of Indigency within ten calendar days of filing the Notice of

Appeal. Failure to timely pay the filing fee or file the Affidavit of Indigency will

result in dismissal of the appeal.

3. You bear the responsibility of ensuring a complete record on appeal. You may request

from the court clerk the audio recording of the hearing for a $25.00 fee. If a transcript of

the proceedings is to be filed, a licensed court reporter must prepare the transcript and file

it with the court clerk within ten business days of the filing the Notice of

Appeal. Alternatively, you may file a statement of the evidence prepared jointly by both

parties within ten business days of the filing of the Notice of Appeal. The statement of

the evidence must convey a complete and accurate account of the hearing. The Workers’

Compensation Judge must approve the statement before the record is submitted to the

Appeals Board. If the Appeals Board is called upon to review testimony or other proof

concerning factual matters, the absence of a transcript or statement of the evidence can be

a significant obstacle to meaningful appellate review.

4. If you wish to file a position statement, you must file it with the court clerk within ten

business days after the deadline to file a transcript or statement of the evidence. The

party opposing the appeal may file a response with the court clerk within ten business

days after you file your position statement. All position statements should include: (1) a

statement summarizing the facts of the case from the evidence admitted during the

expedited hearing; (2) a statement summarizing the disposition of the case as a result of

the expedited hearing; (3) a statement of the issue(s) presented for review; and (4) an

argument, citing appropriate statutes, case law, or other authority.

For self-represented litigants: Help from an Ombudsman is available at 800-332-2667.

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation

www.tn.gov/workforce/injuries-at-work/

wc.courtclerk@tn.gov | 1-800-332-2667

Docket No.: ________________________

State File No.: ______________________

Date of Injury: _____________________

___________________________________________________________________________

Employee

v.

___________________________________________________________________________

Employer

Notice is given that ____________________________________________________________________

[List name(s) of all appealing party(ies). Use separate sheet if necessary.]

appeals the following order(s) of the Tennessee Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims to the

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (check one or more applicable boxes and include the date file-

stamped on the first page of the order(s) being appealed):

□ Expedited Hearing Order filed on _______________ □ Motion Order filed on ___________________

□ Compensation Order filed on__________________ □ Other Order filed on_____________________

issued by Judge _________________________________________________________________________.

Statement of the Issues on Appeal

Provide a short and plain statement of the issues on appeal or basis for relief on appeal:

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

Parties

Appellant(s) (Requesting Party): _________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Address: ________________________________________________________ Phone: ___________________

Email: __________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: ______________________________________________ BPR#: _______________________

Attorney’s Email: ______________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellant *

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 1 of 2 RDA 11082

Employee Name: _______________________________________ Docket No.: _____________________ Date of Inj.: _______________

Appellee(s) (Opposing Party): ___________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Appellee’s Address: ______________________________________________ Phone: ____________________

Email: _________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: _____________________________________________ BPR#: ________________________

Attorney’s Email: _____________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellee *

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, _____________________________________________________________, certify that I have forwarded a

true and exact copy of this Notice of Appeal by First Class mail, postage prepaid, or in any manner as described

in Tennessee Compilation Rules & Regulations, Chapter 0800-02-21, to all parties and/or their attorneys in this

case on this the __________ day of ___________________________________, 20 ____.

______________________________________________

[Signature of appellant or attorney for appellant]

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 2 of 2 RDA 11082

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.