Opinion

Dix, Jr., Jimmy v. Nyrstar Clarksville, Inc.

  • 2021 TN WC 222
Court
Tennessee Court of Workers' Compensation Claims
Filed
Sep 2, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
Kenneth M. Switzer
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

FILED

Sep 02, 2021

12:21 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE COURT OF

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

CLAIMS

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

IN THE COURT OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLAIMS

AT NASHVILLE

Jimmy Dix, Jr., ) Docket No. 2020-06-0716

Employee, )

) State File No. 41018-2019

v. )

Nyrstar Clarksville, Inc., ) Judge Kenneth M. Switzer

Self-Insured Employer. )

EXPEDITED HEARING ORDER

This case came before the Court on August 23, 2021, for an expedited hearing. The

issues are Jimmy Dix, Jr.’s entitlement to additional medical and temporary disability

benefits. He asserted that the authorized treating physician, Dr. Kurtis Kowalski, did not

treat an injured hamstring but rather his preexisting osteoarthritis. Nyrstar Clarksville, Inc.

countered that the doctor treated him for both conditions until placing him at maximum

medical improvement. For the reasons below, the Court agrees with Mr. Dix and grants

the requested medical benefits but denies temporary disability benefits at this time.

Claim History

Mr. Dix alleged that he injured his right hamstring while changing a pump for

Nyrstar on April 4, 2019. Nyrstar offered a panel, and he chose an urgent care clinic.

The doctor there ordered an MRI of his knee, which revealed a “full-thickness tear

of the distal biceps femoris tendon with approximately 3 cm of retraction of the tendon

margin” and osteoarthritis in the knee.1 The doctor referred him to an orthopedist, and Mr.

Dix chose Dr. Kowalski from a panel.

Mr. Dix saw Dr. Kowalski three times, and according to Mr. Dix, he did not treat

his hamstring tear but focused only on his knee arthritis. At the first visit, Dr. Kowalski

1

The medical proof showed that the tear was a hamstring tear, so the Court will refer to it in that manner.

1

diagnosed “right knee arthritis with probable biceps strain.” He injected the knee, and

prescribed Mobic. The diagnosis at the next visit was “right knee arthritis with underlying

muscle strain,” and Dr. Kowalski ordered physical therapy. The physical therapy order

states: “reason: primary osteoarthritis of right knee.” Mr. Dix underwent the physical

therapy, which he testified was almost exclusively geared toward his knee.

At the final visit on August 9, 2019, Dr. Kowalski diagnosed “muscle strain with

preexisting aggravation of underlying arthritis.” He placed Mr. Dix at maximum medical

improvement “in regards to the muscle strain,” writing that “greater than 50% of his

symptoms he is currently experiencing is due to the underlying arthritis of the knee.” He

removed all restrictions and wrote that Mr. Dix may return as needed.

Afterward, Mr. Dix told Nyrstar’s plant nurse that he needed to see another doctor.

She responded that Dr. Kowalski had placed him at maximum medical improvement and

would not change his mind. According to Mr. Dix, she then told him he could see “any

doctor he wanted.”

Mr. Dix then went on his own to Dr. Philip Karpos, a physician he had seen since

2015 for his knees.

At the first visit, Dr. Karpos noted preexisting osteoarthritis in the knees but also

said the “April 2019 injury represent[s] a significant hamstring tear.” He recommended

physical therapy for “hamstring strengthening.” He took Mr. Dix off work until October

4, 2019, and then Mr. Dix could work with restrictions of sitting work only. Mr. Dix did

not undergo physical therapy for hamstring strengthening, because the workers’

compensation carrier did not approve it.

Mr. Dix testified that he again spoke with the plant nurse, who suggested another

opinion, adding that she would arrange it. Mr. Dix attended an employer’s examination

with Dr. Chad Price, whose opinions mostly mirrored those of Dr. Kowalski. Dr. Price did

not mention whether he considered Dr. Karpos’s post-injury records.2

At a return visit in January 2020, Dr. Karpos again diagnosed a right hamstring tear.

He wrote, “While I do not disagree that the patient has severe underlying arthritis, his work

history demonstrates that he functioned at a high level despite his arthritis until his April

4, 2019, injury.” Dr. Karpos continued, “He had significant and sudden deterioration with

his April 2019 injury, which was [a] demonstrated hamstring tear on MRI. In my opinion,

the patient’s arthritis is not related to his work related injury, but his current deterioration

2

Dr. Kowalski signed a declaration repeating his conclusions and willingness to see Mr. Dix again in

support of Nyrstar’s motion for summary judgment, which the Court heard but deferred ruling upon. In

light of the conclusions reached in this order, the Court finds it appropriate to rule on that motion when Mr.

Dix completes treatment.

2

from work function is related to his injury/hamstring tear.” Dr. Karpos wrote an addendum

a few days later, stating:

[T]he sequelae of the patient’s hamstring injury causing some posterior knee

discomfort are in my opinion permanent. . . . The injury was in my opinion

greater than 50% responsible for him being unable to return to work;

however, in my opinion, the injury is not responsible for the osteoarthritis

involving the right knee.

Mr. Dix testified that he asked Dr. Karpos to complete a Form C-32 and paid the

fee, but the doctor, under the direction of an office manager, refused to do so because he

did not see Mr. Dix as a workers’ compensation patient.3

However, Dr. Karpos was willing to respond to a letter from Nyrstar’s attorney, in

which Nyrstar asked, “While you felt [Mr. Dix] could benefit from aggressive hamstring

therapy, you do not dispute Dr. Kowalski’s and Dr. Price’s finding that anatomically, he

was at maximum medical improvement as of August 9, 2019, correct?” Dr. Karpos

checked “yes.”4

Mr. Dix testified he has neither worked nor received temporary disability benefits

since August 10, 2019. He does not believe he would pass a “fit for duty” examination and

said he cannot do his job because it requires frequent stair climbing. He further stated that

the witnesses Nyrstar disclosed before the hearing could have supported his request, but

they did not appear. Mr. Dix did not subpoena them.

Mr. Dix requested that the Court order Nyrstar to pay for a return to either the urgent

care physician or designate Dr. Karpos as the authorized treating physician. He also

requested temporary disability benefits.5 He repeatedly contended that Dr. Kowalski only

treated his preexisting arthritis and not the hamstring tear.

3

As explained in an April 26, 2021 status hearing order, Dr. Karpos may complete form C-32. See Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-235(c)(1) (“Any party may introduce direct testimony from a physician[.]”) (2020). The

statute does not state that only physicians who are authorized under workers’ compensation may complete

the form.

4

The three-page letter contains eight paragraphs of background information. Mr. Dix objected to the letter’s

admissibility. The Court admitted it into evidence as a signed medical record. See Tenn. Comp. R. and

Regs. 0800-02-21.-15(2) (August, 2019). The Court gives the letter little weight, as it contains hearsay,

leading questions, and misstatements of law. For example, Nyrstar wrote in the letter that Dr. Karpos’s

opinion on medical necessity is presumed correct. It is not, because Mr. Dix did not choose Dr. Karpos

from a panel.

5

Mr. Dix additionally seeks lifetime medical benefits, which the Court may not award at an expedited

hearing. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1).

3

Nyrstar countered that it has provided all the benefits to which Mr. Dix is entitled.

It asserted that Dr. Kowalski appropriately treated the work-related “muscle strain” and

that Dr. Price agreed with Dr. Kowalski. Mr. Dix may return to Dr. Kowalski, but Nyrstar

is unwilling to either authorize treatment with Dr. Karpos or additional physical therapy.

As for temporary disability benefits, Nyrstar asserted that Mr. Dix chose not to attempt a

fit-for-duty exam, and it was under no obligation to offer accommodations because Dr.

Kowalski placed no restrictions when he assigned maximum medical improvement.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Mr. Dix must show he would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits. See Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(1); McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, 2015 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *7-8, 9 (Mar. 27, 2015).

Turning first to Mr. Dix’s request for additional medical benefits, under Tennessee

Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(1)(A), Nyrstar must provide medical treatment made

reasonably necessary by the work accident. To accomplish this, it must offer a panel of

three physicians. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(i). Mr. Dix chose Dr. Kowalski

from a panel.

As a panel physician, Dr. Kowalski’s opinion of medically necessary treatment is

presumed correct under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(H).6 So, his

opinion on the need for additional treatment for the “muscle strain” and preexisting

osteoarthritis is presumed correct. Dr. Kowalski has concluded the need no longer exists.

That conclusion does not mean that Nyrstar has satisfied its obligation to provide

treatment for Mr. Dix’s hamstring. Dr. Kowalski’s records contain no statements

suggesting that he treated the hamstring tear. Rather, Dr. Kowalski injected the knee and

prescribed Mobic. Moreover, the physical therapy order stated “reason: primary

osteoarthritis of right knee.” Dr. Kowalski’s focus on the knee and his opinion that Mr.

Dix’s problems are primarily related to it does not mean that Mr. Dix did not injure the

hamstring as well.

Although Dr. Price agreed with Dr. Kowalski, the Court affords Dr. Price’s opinion

minimal weight because it is unclear whether he considered Dr. Karpos’s records. Further,

6

Both parties argued that Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(I) applies, so that Dr.

Kowalski’s opinion may be rebutted only by clear and convincing evidence. This is inaccurate because Dr.

Kowalski’s records did not state that his treatment follows the ODG Guidelines. See also Morgan v.

Macy’s, 2016 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *17-18 (Aug. 31, 2016) (where a party establishes

by expert medical evidence that the recommended treatment “explicitly follows the treatment guidelines,”

then the burden shifts to rebut the presumption of medical necessity by clear and convincing evidence).

4

Nyrstar’s counsel suggested that Dr. Kowalski’s references to Mr. Dix’s “muscle strain”

are synonymous to the hamstring tear. However, he offered no proof on that point. The

Appeals Board has stated that “parties and their lawyers cannot rely solely on their own

medical interpretations of the evidence to successfully support their arguments.” Lurz v.

Int’l Paper Co., 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 8, at *17 (Feb. 14, 2018). Dr.

Kowalski’s opinion is ambiguous on the issue of the “muscle strain.”

In contrast, Dr. Karpos, who treated Mr. Dix before and after the accident, found

that in addition to longstanding, non-work-related osteoarthritis, Mr. Dix needs aggressive

hamstring therapy for that separate and distinct injury. He noted that the arthritis did not

interfere with Mr. Dix’s ability to perform his job before the work accident. Dr. Karpos

described the tear as “significant” and said it was demonstrated by the MRI results. He

found that the hamstring injury was causing some posterior knee discomfort, it was

permanent, and was “greater than 50% responsible for him being unable to return to

work[.]” He also clarified that the hamstring injury did not cause the right knee

osteoarthritis. Dr. Karpos’s opinion is unambiguous.

In Limberakis v. Pro-Tech Security, Inc., 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 53

(Sept. 12, 2017), the Appeals Board affirmed the trial court’s decision to award additional

medical benefits. The Board held that an employer cannot “unilaterally terminate an

employee’s entitlement to reasonable and necessary medical benefits following a

compensable work injury.” Instead, an injured worker “remains entitled to reasonable and

necessary medical treatment causally-related to the work injury[.]” Id. at *6-7. The Board

concluded that, at an expedited hearing, a trial court may order additional medical benefits ̶

the provision of another panel ̶ where an employer has acknowledged that an employee’s

claim is compensable and is entitled to any reasonable and necessary medical treatment

causally-related to the work accident, but the designated authorized treating physician

refuses to see the employee. Id. at *9-10.

The facts here are somewhat similar to Limberakis. The Court finds that Mr. Dix

credibly testified that he injured his right hamstring, Dr. Kowalski never treated it, and the

need for treatment remains. Dr. Karpos’s opinion supports Mr. Dix’s contention that he

injured his hamstring and it was not treated. Nyrstar neither disputed compensability nor

Mr. Dix’s entitlement to reasonably necessary treatment. Though Dr. Kowalski has not

refused to see Mr. Dix, he has yet to provide treatment for the hamstring injury. Mr. Dix

requested that Dr. Karpos be designated the authorized treating physician. But Limberakis

makes it clear that when an authorized physician is willing to see the injured worker, then

that physician should provide further treatment.

Finally, Mr. Dix requested temporary disability benefits. He must show: (1) that he

became disabled from working due to a compensable injury; (2) that there is a causal

connection between the injury and the inability to work; and (3) the duration of the period

5

of disability. Woodard v. Freeman Expositions, LLC, 2021 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 21, at *6-7 (July 16, 2021).

Here, Dr. Kowalski has yet to give an opinion on whether Mr. Dix became disabled

from working due to the torn hamstring, he has not determined the duration of disability,

and he placed no restrictions beyond August 9, 2019. On this record, the Court cannot

order these benefits at this time.

In summary, the Court holds Mr. Dix would likely prevail at a hearing on the merits

that he is entitled to treatment of his hamstring injury, but he has yet to show entitlement

to temporary disability benefits.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED AS FOLLOWS:

1. Nyrstar shall authorize additional treatment for the hamstring injury with Dr.

Kowalski under Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(1)(A).

2. Mr. Dix’s request for temporary disability benefits is denied at this time.

3. This case is set for a status hearing on October 18, 2021, at 10:15 a.m. Central

Time. You must call 615-532-9552 or toll-free 866-943-0025 to participate.

Failure to call might result in a determination of the issues without your

participation.

4. Unless interlocutory appeal of the Expedited Hearing Order is filed, compliance

with this Order must occur no later than seven business days from the date of entry

of this Order as required by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(3). The

Insurer or Self-Insured Employer must submit confirmation of compliance with this

Order to the Bureau by email to WCCompliance.Program@tn.gov no later than the

seventh business day after entry of this Order. Failure to submit the necessary

confirmation within the period of compliance may result in a penalty assessment for

non-compliance. For questions regarding compliance, please contact the Workers’

Compensation Compliance Unit by email at WCCompliance.Program@tn.gov.

6

ENTERED September 2, 2021.

________________________________________

JUDGE KENNETH M. SWITZER

Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

APPENDIX

Technical record:

1. Petition for Benefit Determination and attached pleadings; no supporting

documentation.

2. Request for Scheduling Hearing

3. Dispute Certification Notice and Employee’s Additional Issues

4. Order on Scheduling Hearing

5. Request for Expedited Hearing

6. Pretrial Hearing Order

7. Employer’/Carrier’s Brief (Amended, July 13, 2021)

8. Order Continuing Expedited Hearing

9. In Response to Employer Expedited Hearing Statement

10. In Response to Order Continuing Expedited Hearing

11. Mr. Dix’s Objection to Dr. Karpos’s Causation Letter

Evidence:

1. Affidavit of Mr. Dix

2. Form C-42

3. MRI Right Knee (report only)

4. Medical records

5. Declaration, Dr. Kowalski

6. Declaration, Dr. Price

7. Declaration, Ms. Randle

11. Dr. Karpos’s causation letter

7

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of this Order was sent as indicated on September 2, 2021.

Name Certified Regular Email Sent to

Mail mail

Jimmy Dix, Jr., self- X X 493 Bellamy Ln.

represented Clarksville TN 37043

Employee meishadix@gmail.com

B. Duane Willis, X dwillis@morganakins.com

Employer’s Attorney plunny@morganakins.com

_______________________________________

Penny Shrum

Clerk, Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims

WC.CourtClerk@tn.gov

8

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Tennessee Bureau of Workers’ Compensation

www.tn.gov/workforce/injuries-at-work/

wc.courtclerk@tn.gov | 1-800-332-2667

Docket No.: ________________________

State File No.: ______________________

Date of Injury: _____________________

___________________________________________________________________________

Employee

v.

___________________________________________________________________________

Employer

Notice is given that ____________________________________________________________________

[List name(s) of all appealing party(ies). Use separate sheet if necessary.]

appeals the following order(s) of the Tennessee Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims to the

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board (check one or more applicable boxes and include the date file-

stamped on the first page of the order(s) being appealed):

□ Expedited Hearing Order filed on _______________ □ Motion Order filed on ___________________

□ Compensation Order filed on__________________ □ Other Order filed on_____________________

issued by Judge _________________________________________________________________________.

Statement of the Issues on Appeal

Provide a short and plain statement of the issues on appeal or basis for relief on appeal:

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

Parties

Appellant(s) (Requesting Party): _________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Address: ________________________________________________________ Phone: ___________________

Email: __________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: ______________________________________________ BPR#: _______________________

Attorney’s Email: ______________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellant *

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 1 of 2 RDA 11082

Employee Name: _______________________________________ Docket No.: _____________________ Date of Inj.: _______________

Appellee(s) (Opposing Party): ___________________________________________ ☐Employer ☐Employee

Appellee’s Address: ______________________________________________ Phone: ____________________

Email: _________________________________________________________

Attorney’s Name: _____________________________________________ BPR#: ________________________

Attorney’s Email: _____________________________________________ Phone: _______________________

Attorney’s Address: _________________________________________________________________________

* Attach an additional sheet for each additional Appellee *

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, _____________________________________________________________, certify that I have forwarded a

true and exact copy of this Notice of Appeal by First Class mail, postage prepaid, or in any manner as described

in Tennessee Compilation Rules & Regulations, Chapter 0800-02-21, to all parties and/or their attorneys in this

case on this the __________ day of ___________________________________, 20 ____.

______________________________________________

[Signature of appellant or attorney for appellant]

LB-1099 rev. 01/20 Page 2 of 2 RDA 11082

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.