Opinion

Otis Holt v. City of Detroit

Court
Michigan Court of Appeals
Filed
Apr 29, 2021
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 15.4%

The opinion

If this opinion indicates that it is “FOR PUBLICATION,” it is subject to

revision until final publication in the Michigan Appeals Reports.

STATE OF MICHIGAN

COURT OF APPEALS

OTIS HOLT, UNPUBLISHED

April 29, 2021

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v No. 352163

Wayne Circuit Court

CITY OF DETROIT and ERIC JONES, LC No. 18-013236-CD

Defendants-Appellants.

Before: TUKEL, P.J., and SERVITTO and RICK, JJ.

PER CURIAM.

Defendants appeal, by leave granted, the partial denial of their motion for summary

disposition.1 We reverse and remand for entry of summary disposition in favor of defendants on

all of plaintiff’s claims.2

Plaintiff held the position of Second Deputy Fire Commissioner with the City. He took a

leave of absence from his position under the FMLA from June 7, 2016 to September 7, 2016.

When his FMLA leave period ended, the medical professional who was treating plaintiff provided

a letter to the City that plaintiff should be allowed to remain on “extended medical leave.” Pursuant

to the City’s Human Resources Rules, the City began to investigate the request for a medical leave

1

Holt v Detroit, unpublished order of the Court of Appeals, entered February 12, 2020 (Docket

No. 352163).

2

In his responsive brief on appeal, plaintiff asserts that the trial court erred by dismissing his claim

for age discrimination. Plaintiff did not file his own application for leave to appeal that decision

or file a cross-appeal. This Court’s order granting defendants’ application for leave to appeal

limited the issues to those raised in that application and supporting brief. Moreover, as an appellee

who has not sought to cross-appeal, plaintiff cannot obtain a decision more favorable than was

rendered by the trial court. Reidenbach v Kalamazoo, 327 Mich App 174, 181-182; 933 NW2d

335 (2019). Accordingly, this Court does not have jurisdiction to review the dismissal of plaintiff’s

claim for age discrimination.

-1-

of absence and plaintiff was asked to appear for an independent medical examination (IME) by

Dr. Gerald Shiener on October 13, 2016. Plaintiff appeared for that examination and Dr. Shiener

requested that plaintiff submit to a complete blood count (CBC) test.

While arrangements were made to set up the CBC test, on October 21, 2016, plaintiff

informed the City that he would be retiring and, for that reason, he would not need to appear for

the CBC test. During the interim, plaintiff inquired whether he could use accumulated sick leave

to remain off work until he reached his 25th work anniversary in March 2017, so he could retire

with 25 years of service. It is unclear whether plaintiff received appropriate responses or guidance

from the Human Resources staff about the use of sick leave. The only written request concerning

sick time that was provided as evidence was dated November 9, 2016—after plaintiff had

submitted his retirement notice. Plaintiff was also in communication with the Pension Board about

his retirement, but his supervisor, Eric Jones, denied being aware that plaintiff was under the care

of a doctor because plaintiff did not communicate about his absence with Jones or the executive

staff.

The Human Resources representative working with the Fire Department also was not

officially notified of plaintiff’s retirement until after November 2016. Consequently, in November

2016, Jones sent plaintiff a letter advising him that his appointment as Second Deputy Fire

Commissioner was withdrawn, which meant that plaintiff reverted back to the last position he held.

The Human Resources representative also sent plaintiff a letter in November 2016, advising him

that he was considered absent without leave for not appearing for the CBC test. Plaintiff was able

to retire, but he had less than 25 years of service and he did not retire from the position of Second

Deputy Fire Commissioner, resulting in a lower pension. Instead of using his accumulated sick

leave to extend his years of service, plaintiff was paid for the value of his accumulated sick leave

after he retired.

Thereafter, plaintiff brought this action against the City and his former supervisor, Eric

Jones, alleging violations of the FMLA and the Persons With Disabilities Civil Rights Act

(PWDCRA), MCL 37.1101 et seq., age discrimination under the Elliott-Larsen Civil Rights Act,

MCL 37.2101 et seq., public-policy violations, and violation of his rights under the Fourteenth

Amendment, contrary to 42 USC 1983. The trial court granted defendants’ motion for summary

disposition with respect to the age discrimination claim, but denied the motion with respect to

plaintiff’s remaining claims.3 This appeal followed.

I. STANDARD OF REVIEW

This Court reviews de novo a trial court’s decision to grant or deny summary disposition.

Spiek v Dep’t of Transp, 456 Mich 331, 337; 572 NW2d 201 (1998). A motion under MCR

2.116(C)(8) tests the legal sufficiency of a complaint by the pleadings alone. Patterson v Kleiman,

447 Mich 429, 432; 526 NW2d 879 (1994). All well-pleaded factual allegations are accepted as

true, as well as any reasonable inferences or conclusions that can be drawn from the allegations.

Peters v Dep’t of Corrections, 215 Mich App 485, 486; 546 NW2d 668 (1996). Summary

3

The court did dismiss the 42 USC 1983 claim against the City, but denied dismissal of that claim

against defendant Jones

-2-

disposition is appropriate only if the claims are so clearly unenforceable as a matter of law that no

factual development could justify recovery. Dalley v Dykema Gossett, 287 Mich App 296, 305;

788 NW2d 679 (2010).

A motion under MCR 2.116(C)(10) tests the factual support for a claim. A court must

consider the pleadings, affidavits, depositions, admissions, and any other documentary evidence

submitted by the parties, and view that evidence in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party

to determine if a genuine issue of material fact exists. MCR 2.116(G)(5); Maiden v Rozwood, 461

Mich 109, 118-120; 597 NW2d 817 (1999). Summary disposition should be granted if, except as

to the amount of damages, there is no genuine issue of material fact and the moving party is entitled

to judgment as a matter of law. Babula v Robertson, 212 Mich App 45, 48; 536 NW2d 834 (1995).

“A genuine issue of material fact exists when the record, giving the benefit of reasonable doubt to

the opposing party, leaves open an issue upon which reasonable minds might differ.” West v Gen

Motors Corp, 469 Mich 177, 183; 665 NW2d 468 (2003).

II. FAMILY MEDICAL LEAVE ACT

Defendant first asserts that plaintiff did not establish a prima facie case of FMLA

discrimination. We agree.

The FMLA allows employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave during any 12-month

period “because of a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the

functions of the position of such employee.” 29 USC 2612(a)(1)(D). “The FMLA makes it

‘unlawful for any employer to interfere with, restrain, or deny the exercise of or the attempt to

exercise, any right provided under’ the FMLA.” Woodman v Miesel Sysco Food Serv Co, 254

Mich App 159, 166-167; 657 NW2d 122 (2002), quoting 29 USC 2615(a)(1).

The FMLA also provides that an employer may not “discharge or in any other manner

discriminate against any individual for opposing any practice made unlawful” by the FMLA, 29

USC 2615(a)(2). To establish a prima facie claim for retaliation under this provision of the FMLA,

a plaintiff is required to show that

(1) she availed herself of a protected right under the FMLA by notifying [her

employer] of her intent to take leave, (2) she suffered an adverse employment

action, and (3) that there was a causal connection between the exercise of her rights

under the FMLA and the adverse employment action. [Edgar v JAC Prod, Inc, 443

F3d 501, 508 (CA 6, 2006).]

It is appropriate to apply the burden-shifting test articulated in McDonnell Douglas Corp v Green,

411 US 792; 93 S Ct 1817; 36 L Ed 2d 668 (1973), to retaliation claims under the FMLA that are

based solely upon circumstantial evidence. Edgar, 443 F3d at 508. Under this approach, once a

plaintiff establishes a prima facie FMLA claim, the burden shifts to the employer to offer a

legitimate, nondiscriminatory rationale for the adverse employment action. Id. If the employer

succeeds, the burden shifts back to the employee to show that the employer’s proffered reason was

a pretext for discrimination. Bryson v Regis Corp, 498 F3d 561, 570 (CA 6, 2007).

When a retaliation claim is based on direct evidence, however, the employee is not required

to disprove other possible nonretaliatory reasons for the adverse action; the burden simply shifts

-3-

to the employer to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that it would have made the same

decision absent the impermissible motive. Daugherty v Sajar Plastics, Inc, 544 F3d 696, 707 (CA

6, 2008). Direct evidence is evidence that, if believed, requires a conclusion that unlawful

discrimination was at least a motivating factor in the employer’s actions. Kocak v Community

Health Partners of Ohio, Inc, 400 F3d 466, 470 (CA 6, 2005). Direct evidence must establish not

only that the plaintiff’s employer was predisposed to discriminate, but also that the employer acted

on that predisposition. Hein v All America Plywood Co, Inc, 232 F3d 482, 488 (CA 6, 2000).

Plaintiff argues that defendants violated the FMLA by failing to return him to his previous

position as a deputy commissioner after his FMLA leave expired, contrary to 29 USC 2614(a)(1)

(entitling a person who takes FMLA leave to be returned to his or her former position or an

equivalent position), or by retaliating against him for exercising his rights under the FMLA,

contrary to 29 USC 2615(a)(2).4 Plaintiff argues that he suffered an adverse employment action

when his appointment as a deputy commissioner was removed and when he was not allowed to

use accrued sick leave to reach his 25th work anniversary before retiring.

The submitted evidence showed that plaintiff was permitted to use his full 12 weeks of

FMLA leave, which ended in September 2016. At that time, plaintiff could not return to work and

requested an additional medical leave of absence. The City took that request under advisement

and began the process to determine if plaintiff qualified for a medical leave of absence by asking

plaintiff to submit to an IME, which he did. On the basis of that examination, plaintiff was asked

to complete a CBC test. Thereafter, plaintiff notified the City of his intention to retire, and for that

reason he did not complete the CBC test. Approximately a month later, when plaintiff had not yet

formally completed the retirement process, and had also failed to obtain the requested CBC test or

return to work, defendants sent letters to plaintiff, dated November 22, 2016, advising him that his

appointment as deputy commissioner was being removed and he was considered absent without

leave from his position.

There is no evidence to support plaintiff’s claim that he suffered an adverse employment

action as a result of taking a leave of absence under the FMLA. Specifically, there is no evidence

that defendants would not allow plaintiff to return to work at his former position once his FMLA

leave expired. Rather, it was plaintiff who sought to extend his leave from work. Further, when

the City asked plaintiff to complete an IME in conjunction with his request for a medical leave of

absence, and plaintiff was asked to complete a CBC test, it was plaintiff who at that point informed

the City that he would be retiring, and therefore, a CBC test was unnecessary. Plaintiff never

demonstrated that he was capable of performing the duties of his former position, or an equivalent

position, after his FMLA leave expired. See Cehrs v Northeast Ohio Alzheimer’s Research Ctr,

155 F3d 775, 784-785 (CA 6, 1998) (holding that the plaintiff failed to establish a genuine issue

of material fact regarding her FMLA claim when it was undisputed that she was capable of

4

Although plaintiff alleged that his employment was terminated, he did not lose his employment.

Rather, appointment as a fire commissioner was withdrawn, which meant that he reverted back to

the last position he held. Also, the notice he received about being absent without leave from his

employment never went into effect.

-4-

performing the duties of her former position when her FMLA leave ended). See also Woodman,

254 Mich App at 190.

While the record shows that there were communication problems between plaintiff and

defendants regarding when plaintiff wanted to retire and the possible use of sick leave to extend

plaintiff’s retirement until he accumulated 25 years of service, there simply is no evidence that

defendants retaliated against plaintiff because of his earlier FMLA leave. It was plaintiff who

initiated the retirement plans and who refused to take the requested CBC test, a requirement for

his requested medical leave, on the basis of his intention to retire. Moreover, plaintiff never

showed that he was capable of performing the duties of his former position at the end of the FMLA

period. Therefore, he cannot prove a violation of the FMLA.

The record also shows that there is no genuine issue of material fact that plaintiff made a

voluntary decision to retire. Plaintiff relies on Schindewolf v City of Brighton, 107 F Supp 3d 804

(ED Mich, 2015), to argue that his decision to retire was not voluntarily made, and that he was

forced to retire because defendants violated the FMLA. In Schindewolf, the court addressed

whether the plaintiff’s claims under the FMLA and the PWDCRA were barred by his resignation,

which meant there was no adverse employment action by the defendant. Id. at 814-816. The

plaintiff argued that he resigned only because he was faced with an ultimatum to either resign or

face termination of his employment. Id. at 814. The court explained that an involuntary

resignation does not prevent a plaintiff from proving that he faced an adverse employment action:

Defendants also argue that whether or not a constructive discharge occurred

is a matter of state law, citing Weigold v. ABC Appliance Co., 105 Fed.Appx. 702,

708 (6th Cir.2004). Yet the Court finds a Sixth Circuit case instructive where it

considered whether an employee’s resignation was voluntary or involuntary in the

context of a claim for disability discrimination under Ohio law and a violation of

due process rights under section 1983. “In general, employee resignations are

presumed to be voluntary.” Rhoads v. Board of Educ. of Mad River Local Sch.

Dist., 103 Fed.Appx. 888, 895 (6th Cir.2004). However, “[a]n employee may rebut

this presumption by producing evidence indicating that the resignation was

involuntarily procured.” Id.

Relevant to this inquiry are “(1) whether the employee was given an

alternative to resignation, (2) whether the employee understood the

nature of the choice [he] was given, (3) whether the employee was

given a reasonable time in which to choose, and (4) whether the

employee could select the effective date of resignation.” The mere

fact that an employee is forced to choose between resignation and

termination does not alone establish that a subsequent choice to

resign is involuntary, provided that the employer had good cause to

believe there were grounds for termination. On the other hand, an

employee resigns involuntarily if, after being given a choice

between resignation and termination, [he] is not granted sufficient

time and opportunity to deliberate about the choice.

-5-

Id. at 895 (citations omitted); see also Dandridge v. North Am. Fuel Sys.

Remanufacturing, LLC, 2015 WL 1197541, at *5 (W.D.Mich. Mar. 16, 2015)

(applying Rhoads factors in a similar case, involving claims under FMLA).

The Court also considers Defendants’ reliance on Lagrow v. County of

Berrien, 2008 WL 5197120 (Mich.Ct.App. Dec. 11, 2008), to argue that a “forced

choice” does not transform Plaintiff’s resignation into an actionable discharge.

(Defs.’ Mot. Summ. J. 9.) In Lagrow, by the plaintiff’s account as the non-moving

party, she was told by the county administrator that “he was terminating plaintiff’s

employment with the county, offered plaintiff the opportunity to resign. Plaintiff,

not wanting a termination on her record, accepted the opportunity, and submitted a

letter, which she described as a ‘letter of resignation.’ Accordingly, the end of

plaintiff’s employment with the county was a result of a resignation, not a

termination.” Lagrow v. County of Berrien, 2008 WL 5197120, at *4

(Mich.Ct.App. Dec. 11, 2008). Plaintiff claimed that her resignation was the

product of duress, yet the court noted that Plaintiff’s boss ended the 9:00 a.m.

meeting to reconvene at 9:30 a.m., to allow her time to consider her options and

gave her access to an office in which she could use the telephone, where she

unsuccessfully attempted to contact an attorney. She submitted a letter of

resignation and told her boss that she did not want a termination on her record and

she wanted the board of commissioners “to know that she had been required to

make a choice between the two options.” Id. at *5. The court found that she

“clearly understood that she had the choice of being terminated or resigning.” Id.

The Court finds those factors the court considered in Lagrow not

inconsistent with the factors considered in Rhoads. In Lagrow the allowance of

time (less than a half hour) for the plaintiff to make a decision was among the

factors leading the court to conclude that the “plaintiff has presented no evidence

suggesting that [her boss], upon informing plaintiff that her employment with the

county had come to an end, acted unlawfully and deprived her of the exercise of

her free will.” Id. at *5. Plaintiff’s attempt to distinguish Lagrow because the

plaintiff had specifically requested the opportunity to resign as an alternative to

termination, and Mr. Schindewolf did not.

In Schindewolf, 107 F Supp 3d at 816, the court held that the plaintiff was not foreclosed from

proving his claim merely because he had resigned his position, stating:

Here, the evidence “is not so one-sided that Defendant[s] must prevail as a

matter of law.” Dandridge, 2015 WL 1197541, at *5. The parties do not dispute

that it was made clear in the July 23, 2013 meeting that “when the meeting was

concluded” Mr. Schindewolf “was no longer going to be working for the City of

Brighton” and that he “had the option to resign immediately and he chose to resign.”

(Foster Dep. 125 and Schindewolf Dep. 102, 108, Defs.’ Mot. Summ. J. Exs. 1, 2.)

Defendant Foster testified that he concluded the meeting by telling Mr.

Schindewolf that if he chose the option to resign, then Defendant Foster would

provide him with a letter of reference. (Foster Dep. 167.)

-6-

Taken in the light most favorable to the non-moving Plaintiff, the evidence

may support a finding that Plaintiff was given an alternative to resigning, which

was termination, yet also shows that a decision to terminate Plaintiff had already

been made at the time Plaintiff was given this option. There is no indication that

Plaintiff did not understand the nature of the choice he was given. Unlike Lagrow,

Mr. Schindewolf had no time, not even a few minutes, outside of the meeting to

consider the options of resigning or being terminated. Additionally, he was not

given the choice of a resignation date. Cf. Rhoads, 103 Fed.Appx. at 895 (the

plaintiff had requested resignation in lieu of termination and was given between

10:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. to make her decision; “[a]lthough this time frame was

perhaps not as lengthy as [the plaintiff] would have liked, she was not pressured to

make her decision immediately or otherwise coerced into making an uninformed

judgment.”).

Defendants’ first argument that Plaintiff cannot establish an adverse

employment action because he “resigned” does not alone warrant granting

judgment in favor of Defendants on the remaining claims where, considering the

evidence in the light most favorable to the non-moving party, there is a material

question of fact whether Plaintiff’s resignation was voluntary.

This case is factually distinguishable from Schindewolf. There is no evidence in this case

that plaintiff was presented with a choice between retirement and either demotion or termination.

On the contrary, it was plaintiff who initiated the retirement plans in October 2016, in response to

the City’s request that plaintiff submit to the CBC test. Plaintiff declined to submit to the CBC

test, stating that it was unnecessary in light of his plan to retire. It was approximately a month

later, when plaintiff still had not followed through with the requested CBC test, that defendants

sent plaintiff the letters in November 2016, advising him that his appointment as deputy

commissioner was withdrawn and he was considered absent without leave. To the extent that those

actions can be considered adverse employment actions, there is no factual support for plaintiff’s

claim that they forced him to make a choice about his employment future, given that he had already

announced his decision to retire well before then. There simply is no genuine issue of material

fact regarding whether plaintiff was forced to choose retirement under duress. The facts showed

that plaintiff initiated those plans and he was allowed ample time to make a decision about his

retirement before the alleged adverse employment decisions were made.

In addition, there is no evidence supporting plaintiff’s claim that he was forced to decide

between retiring or resigning. He had the option to continue to pursue a medical leave of absence

beyond his FMLA leave or request that he be able to use sick leave. Instead of pursuing either

option, he submitted his request to retire on October 21, 2016, before defendants made any decision

about extending his leave of absence.

Furthermore, even if defendants’ actions in November 2016, notifying plaintiff that his

appointment as deputy commissioner was withdrawn and he was considered absent without leave,

are considered adverse employment actions, there were legitimate, nondiscriminatory reasons for

those actions because it is undisputed that plaintiff neither returned to work nor submitted to the

requested CBC test, which was necessary for defendants to determine if a medical leave was

permissible. Defendants were investigating plaintiff’s request for a medical leave of absence as

-7-

required by the Human Resources Department’s Rule 14(4)(a). When plaintiff stopped

cooperating with that investigation, defendants had a legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for not

reinstating him after his FMLA leave period ended and he did not return to work. Plaintiff does

not dispute that he failed to return to work and did not obtain the requested CBC test.

It appears there was some confusion stemming largely from plaintiff’s initial request for a

medical leave of absence, which is different from an employee’s use of sick leave to remain off

work after FMLA leave expires. While plaintiff asserts that he wanted to use his accumulated sick

time rather than seek a medical leave, the letter submitted to defendants from plaintiff’s doctor

specifically requested “extended medical leave.” There is evidence that when plaintiff sought

clarification of the differences, the City’s Human Resources staff did not promptly respond to

plaintiff’s inquiries. However, there simply is no evidence that the handling of plaintiff’s situation

involved discrimination or retaliation related to plaintiff’s previous use of FMLA leave,

particularly when defendants were expecting plaintiff to return to his position and it was plaintiff,

not defendants, who initiated the retirement plans that led to plaintiff’s separation.

Accordingly, the trial court erred by denying defendants’ motion for summary disposition

of plaintiff’s FMLA claim.

III. PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES CIVIL RIGHTS ACT

Defendants also argue that the trial court erred by denying their motion for summary

disposition on plaintiff’s PWDCRA claim. We agree.

In his complaint, plaintiff alleged that defendants discriminated against him because of his

medical disability, contrary to MCL 37.1102. He argued that the City, as a place of public

accommodation and an institution providing a public service, had a duty not to deny him the full

and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, and accommodations

of a place of public accommodation or service because of his disability. Plaintiff alleged that he

was harassed and discriminated against because of his disability. He later clarified that this claim

involved his allegation that defendants refused to allow him to use his accumulated sick leave

because of his disability.

Defendants emphasized in their motion for summary disposition that plaintiff did not

produce any evidence that they denied him the use of his sick leave because he had a disability.

Instead of completing the process for approval of his medical leave of absence, plaintiff chose to

retire and did not request use of his sick leave. Moreover, he was fully paid for his unused sick

leave after his retirement. Defendants also argued that plaintiff could not prove that he had a

disability within the meaning of the PWDCRA because he admitted that he was unable to perform

the duties of his position, as required by MCL 37.1103(d)(i)(A). The trial court denied defendants’

motion on this claim without providing any analysis.

MCL 37.1102 provides:

(1) The opportunity to obtain employment, housing, and other real estate

and full and equal utilization of public accommodations, public services, and

educational facilities without discrimination because of a disability is guaranteed

by this act and is a civil right.

-8-

(2) Except as otherwise provided in article 2, a person shall accommodate a

person with a disability for purposes of employment, public accommodation, public

service, education, or housing unless the person demonstrates that the

accommodation would impose an undue hardship.

Plaintiff argues that defendants violated MCL 37.1102 by not allowing him to use his sick leave

after his FMLA leave expired. He contends that the City, as part of its obligation to accommodate

those with disabilities, owed him the right to allow him to use his accumulated sick leave and that

defendants discriminated against him by not allowing him to use his accrued leave until he reached

25 years of service. The problem with plaintiff’s argument is that MCL 37.1102 represents the

Legislature’s explanation of the purpose behind the PWDCRA. MCL 37.1102, standing alone,

does not set forth a claim for relief under the PWDCRA. Instead, plaintiff must refer to other

portions of that act to establish a cause of action under the PWDCRA.

Plaintiff appears to rely on the public accommodation section of the PWDCRA, MCL

37.1301 et seq. MCL 37.1301 defines the terms used in that portion of the act:

(a) “Place of public accommodation” means a business, educational

institution, refreshment, entertainment, recreation, health, or transportation facility

of any kind, whether licensed or not, whose goods, services, facilities, privileges,

advantages, or accommodations are extended, offered, sold, or otherwise made

available to the public.

(b) “Public service” means a public facility, department, agency, board, or

commission owned, operated, or managed by or on behalf of this state or a

subdivision of this state, a county, city, village, township, or independent or

regional district in this state or a tax exempt private agency established to provide

service to the public, except that public service does not include a state or county

correctional facility with respect to actions or decisions regarding an individual

serving a sentence of imprisonment.

MCL 37.1302 sets forth what conduct is prohibited:

Except where permitted by law, a person shall not:

(a) Deny an individual the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services,

facilities, privileges, advantages, and accommodations of a place of public

accommodation or public service because of a disability that is unrelated to the

individual’s ability to utilize and benefit from the goods, services, facilities,

privileges, advantages, or accommodations or because of the use by an individual

of adaptive devices or aids.

(b) Print, circulate, post, mail, or otherwise cause to be published a

statement, advertisement, or sign which indicates that the full and equal enjoyment

of the goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, and accommodations of a

place of public accommodation or public service will be refused, withheld from, or

denied an individual because of a disability that is unrelated to the individual’s

ability to utilize and benefit from the goods, services, facilities, privileges,

-9-

advantages, or accommodations or because of the use by an individual of adaptive

devices or aids, or that an individual’s patronage of or presence at a place of public

accommodation is objectionable, unwelcome, unacceptable, or undesirable because

of a disability that is unrelated to the individual’s ability to utilize and benefit from

the goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or accommodations or

because of the use by an individual of adaptive devices or aids.

A disability under this portion of the PWDCRA does not require evidence that the plaintiff can

perform the duties of his employment. Compare MCL 37.1103(d)(i)(A) and MCL

37.1103(d)(i)(B).

In Gazette v City of Pontiac, 212 Mich App 162, 167-168; 536 NW2d 854 (1995), this

Court addressed this type of claim under the former Handicappers’ Civil Rights Act (HCRA),

stating:

Article 3 of the HCRA prohibits the denial of access to public

accommodations or public services because of a handicap. In order to establish a

prima facie case of discrimination under Article 3, a plaintiff must allege that (1)

he is “handicapped” as defined in the statute, (2) the handicap is unrelated to his

ability to utilize and benefit from a place of public accommodation or public

service, and (3) he has been discriminated against in one of the ways set forth in

the statute. MCL 37.1103(e)(i)(B) . . . ; MCL 37.1302 . . . ; Miller v Detroit, 185

Mich App 789, 792, 462 NW2d 856 (1990).

Plaintiff is correct that the City, specifically its Fire Department, qualifies as a public

service. See Gazette, 212 Mich App at 169. As a place of public service, the City cannot

discriminate with regard to the services offered to individuals. See Haynes v Neshewat, 477 Mich

29, 37-39; 729 NW2d 488 (2007). However, plaintiff presented no evidence that he was denied

the use of his sick leave because of a disability. As previously discussed, the City was evaluating

plaintiff’s request for a medical leave of absence when plaintiff decided to retire. Because plaintiff

chose to end the process for obtaining a medical leave of absence before a decision was made on

that request, there is no support for his claim that he was denied the right to use sick leave due to

his disability. Accordingly, the trial court erred by denying defendant’s motion for summary

disposition of plaintiff’s PWDCRA claim.

IV. PUBLIC POLICY

Defendants also argue that the trial court erred by denying their motion for summary

disposition with respect to plaintiff’s claim regarding a public-policy violation. We also agree.

In Count IV of his complaint, plaintiff alleged that defendants violated the public policy of

Michigan by denying “[p]laintiff’s right to utilize accumulated and available sick time; and/or

[p]laintiff’s right to explore and seek to retire from his employment.” He alleged that defendants

discharged him because he was seeking to use available sick time and exploring retirement.

Defendants argued in their motion for summary disposition that plaintiff did not establish a prima

facie case for violation of this state’s public policy because this theory applies only to at-will

-10-

employment, subject to certain exceptions, none of which were demonstrated by plaintiff, who

also was not an at-will employee.

“Michigan law generally presumes that employment relationships are terminable at the will

of either party.” Landin v Healthsource Saginaw, Inc, 305 Mich App 519, 523; 854 NW2d 152

(2014). An exception to the at-will employment doctrine exists “ ‘based on the principle that some

grounds for discharging an employee are so contrary to public policy as to be actionable.’ ” Id.,

quoting Suchodolski v Mich Consol Gas Co, 412 Mich 692, 695; 316 NW2d 710 (1982). “Most

often these proscriptions are found in explicit legislative statements prohibiting the discharge,

discipline, or other adverse treatment of employees who act in accordance with a statutory right or

duty.” Suchodolski, 412 Mich at 695. There are three “public policy” exceptions to the general

rule of at-will employment. An employer may not terminate an employee for “exercising a right

guaranteed by law, executing a duty required by law, or refraining from violating the law.” Landin,

305 Mich App at 526.

Our Supreme Court has applied the public-policy exception for wrongful-discharge claims

only in at-will employment relationships. See also Phillips v Butterball Farms Co, Inc (After

Second Remand), 448 Mich 239; 531 NW2d 144 (1995); Clifford v Cactus Drilling Corp, 419

Mich 356, 360; 353 NW2d 469 (1984). The trial court agreed with defendants that pursuant to

MCL 38.514,5 plaintiff, a firefighter, was a just-cause employee. In light of that statute, plaintiff

has not shown that he was an at-will employee such that a public-policy exception can be applied

to his employment. Further, MCL 38.514 does not address any right to use accumulated sick leave.

Not only was plaintiff not an at-will employee, he also made the decision to retire before his earlier

request for medical leave was resolved. Accordingly, there is no factual basis for establishing a

claim involving termination of plaintiff’s employment for reasons that violate public policy.

To the extent that plaintiff’s appointment as deputy fire commissioner was at will, plaintiff

also has not shown that his removal from that position violated any public-policy based exception

to the general rule of at-will employment. Plaintiff failed to communicate with Jones’s office and,

in any event, that removal occurred approximately a month after plaintiff announced his intention

to retire. Moreover, there was no evidence that Jones was aware of plaintiff’s medical leave

5

MCL 38.514 provides, in relevant part:

The tenure of each person holding an office, place, position, or employment

under this act shall be only during good behavior and efficient service, and any

person may be removed or discharged, suspended without pay, and deprived of

vacation privileges or other special privileges by the civil service commission for

incompetency, inefficiency, dishonesty, drunkenness, immoral conduct,

insubordination, discourteous treatment to the public, neglect of duty, a violation

of this act or of the rules of the commission, or for any other failure of good

behavior, or for any other acts of misfeasance, malfeasance, or nonfeasance in

office. However, a member of any fire . . . department encompassed by this act

shall not be removed, discharged, reduced in rank or pay, suspended, or otherwise

punished except for cause, and in no event until he or she has been furnished with

a written statement of the charges and the reasons for the actions . . ..

-11-

request after the FMLA leave expired. There was no evidence supporting an inference that plaintiff

was removed from his deputy commissioner position for exercising any right guaranteed by law,

executing a duty required by law, or refraining from violating the law. Thus, plaintiff did not show

that his removal as deputy commissioner was for reasons contrary to public policy.

Plaintiff appears to alternatively argue that he had a property interest in his right to accrued

sick leave, citing Ramsey v Bd of Ed of Whitley Co, 844 F2d 1268 (CA 6, 1988). In that case, a

school board reduced a teacher’s accumulated sick leave days, which reduced her compensation

for sick leave days when she retired. The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals agreed that the plaintiff

had a property right in accumulated sick leave based on a state statute and the defendant’s

recording of accumulated sick leave on the plaintiff’s sick leave cards. Id. at 1272. The court

concluded, however, that she could not proceed with her action under 42 USC 1983 because “an

interference with a property interest in a pure benefit of employment, as opposed to an interest in

the tenured nature of the employment itself, is an interest that can be and should be redressed by a

state breach of contract action and not by a federal action under section 1983.” Id. at 1274-1275.

There is no dispute that plaintiff had an interest in accumulated sick leave, but plaintiff does not

explain how this interest supports a public-policy claim, especially where it is undisputed that

plaintiff was fully paid for his unused sick leave upon his retirement.

Accordingly, the trial court erred by failing to dismiss plaintiff’s claim that defendants

violated public policy with regard to plaintiff’s decision to leave his position with the City.

V. 42 USC 1983

Defendants also argue that the trial court erred by not dismissing plaintiff’s 42 USC 1983

claim against defendant Jones. We agree.

Defendants argued in their motion for summary disposition that plaintiff failed to present

evidence to show that similarly situated nondisabled employees were treated differently or that he

was denied the right to use sick leave because of his alleged disability. For the same reasons that

plaintiff’s claim under the PWDCRA failed, his claim under 42 USC 1983 could not succeed.

Plaintiff also failed to establish that a custom, policy, or practice of the City was the moving force

behind an alleged violation of his constitutional rights.

Plaintiff responded that defendants were liable under 42 USC 1983 for not providing the

proper supervision and training to prevent the type of unlawful, discriminatory behavior that

occurred, and that there was no rational basis for plaintiff to be treated differently because of his

disability. He argued that defendants could not articulate any rational basis for denying him the

right to use his accumulated sick days and for his subsequent termination from employment,

although plaintiff did not lose his position with the Fire Department, but only was removed from

his appointment as a fire commissioner.

At the hearing on defendant’s motion, plaintiff changed or clarified his argument. There,

he argued that Jones was the person who sent the letter informing him that he was being treated as

absent without leave because he did not complete the process for a medical leave, even though

Kemia Crosson, the City’s Human Resources representative, signed the letter and she testified that

she sent it. Plaintiff argued that because Crosson worked on behalf of the Fire Department and

-12-

her office was near Jones’s office, Jones must have been involved in the decision, conveyed by

Crosson, to require plaintiff to submit to an IME and to deny plaintiff’s request to use his sick

days.

The trial court dismissed plaintiff’s claim under 42 USC 1983 against the City, but not

Jones, stating:

Right, and as I was beginning to say, and I don’t know if I completed my

thought, that taking the evidence in a light most favorable to the nonmoving party,

as it relates to the claim against Mr. Jones, the Court finds that there is a viable

claim that should be submitted to the trier of fact on the 14th Amendment, based on

the US—42 USC 1983, however, the Court doesn’t find that it’s—there’s a viable

claim against the City of Detroit. So, that is it’s granted as to the City of Detroit

only.

To pursue a claim under 42 USC 1983, a plaintiff must prove a violation of a federal

constitutional right. Mettler Walloon, LLC v Melrose Twp, 281 Mich App 184, 196; 761 NW2d

293 (2008). Plaintiff appears to argue that he was the victim of discrimination with regard to his

disability and his request to use sick leave to extend his service time before he retired, contrary to

the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

As previously discussed, while plaintiff was disabled from work and was seeking approval

for a medical leave of absence, he chose to retire instead of completing the process for obtaining

approval of his medical leave request. Plaintiff made the request to use sick leave after he had

already requested to retire. Because plaintiff made the decision to retire before any decision could

be made on his request for a medical leave, and before he made any request to use sick leave, there

is no evidence that his disability was a factor in the decision not to allow him to use sick days.

Moreover, in Payton v Detroit, 211 Mich App 375, 402-403; 536 NW2d 233 (1995), this

Court explained that additional evidence is required to prove a claim under 42 USC 1983 against

a supervisor:

With regard to defendant Hart, as a supervisory official, his liability under

§1983 must be based on more than his right to control employees. Bellamy v

Bradley, 729 F2d 416, 421 (CA6, 1984). A supervisory official’s liability under

§1983 cannot be based solely on the theory of respondeat superior. Id. In order for

plaintiff to hold Hart liable for violations of his civil rights,

[t]here must be a showing that the supervisor encouraged the

specific incident of misconduct or in some other way directly

participated in it. At a minimum, a § 1983 plaintiff must show that

a supervisory official at least implicitly authorized, approved or

knowingly acquiesced in the unconstitutional conduct of the

offending subordinate. [Id.]

For example, in Smith v Heath, 691 F2d 220 (CA 6, 1982), a police

supervisory officer was liable under § 1983 because he, as the officer in charge of

-13-

the investigation, was directly responsible for and personally participated in the

unconstitutional search of the plaintiff’s home.

In this case, Hart was not directly involved in the investigation or

prosecution of plaintiff. At trial, plaintiff’s evidence showed that defendant Hale

informed Hart of plaintiff’s arrest and confessions. However, this evidence is

insufficient to support a finding that Hart authorized, approved, or knowingly

acquiesced in the alleged unconstitutional conduct of Hale, Ridling, and the other

Squad 7 officers. Accordingly, plaintiff’s judgment against Hart under § 1983 is

reversed and the case is remanded for entry of a judgment in favor of defendant

Hart.

Plaintiff did not produce evidence to support a claim under 42 USC 1983 against Jones.

This claim involves plaintiff’s argument that he was not allowed to use sick leave to extend his

service time so that he would reach 25 years of service before he retired. There is no evidence that

Jones had any involvement in handling the request for sick leave or how his pension was

calculated. Those matters were handled by Human Resources and the Pension Board. Although

plaintiff argues that Crosson’s office was near Jones’s office, that is not enough to show that Jones

had any involvement in plaintiff’s request to use sick leave to extend his years of service. Thus,

plaintiff has not shown that he has a claim against Jones under 42 USC 1983. Accordingly, we

reverse the trial court’s decision denying summary disposition of this claim with respect to Jones.

Reversed and remanded.

/s/ Jonathan Tukel

/s/ Deborah A. Servitto

/s/ Michelle M. Rick

-14-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.